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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 
pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; Rita 
Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; 
Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; 
Malfourd W. Trumbo; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 
Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2019 through August 2020 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:22 June 5, 2019 June 24, 2019 

35:23 June 19, 2019 July 8, 2019 

35:24 July 3, 2019 July 22, 2019 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

36:1 August 14, 2019 September 2, 2019 

36:2 August 28, 2019 September 16, 2019 

36:3 September 11, 2019 September 30, 2019 

36:4 September 25, 2019 October 14, 2019 

36:5 October 9, 2019 October 28, 2019 

36:6 October 23, 2019 November 11, 2019 

36:7 November 6, 2019 November 25, 2019 

36:8 November 18, 2019 (Monday) December 9, 2019 

36:9 December 4, 2019 December 23, 2019 

36:10 December 18, 2019 January 6, 2020 

36:11 January 1, 2020 January 20, 2020 

36:12 January 15, 2020 February 3, 2020 

36:13 January 29, 2020 February 17, 2020 

36:14 February 12. 2020 March 2, 2020 

36:15 February 26, 2020 March 16, 2020 

36:16 March 11, 2020 March 30, 2020 

36:17 March 25, 2020 April 13, 2020 

36:18 April 8, 2020 April 27, 2020 

36:19 April 22. 2020 May 11, 2020 

36:20 May 6, 2020 May 25, 2020 

36:21 May 20, 2020 June 8, 2020 

36:22 June 3, 2020 June 22, 2020 

36:23 June 17, 2020 July 6, 2020 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) intends to consider amending 9VAC15-60, 
Small Renewable Energy Projects (Solar) Permit 
Regulation by Rule, which establishes criteria, procedures, 
and permit requirements as required by § 10.1-1197.5 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia for solar energy projects of 
150 megawatts or fewer. The purpose of the proposed action 
is to clarify specific definitions, establish clear timeframes for 
data submittals and recordkeeping activities, provide clarity 
for natural and cultural resource studies, clarify the public 
participation procedures, and address the fee structure to 
adequately fund the program. The goals of the proposed 
action are to clarify the requirements for applicants, 
operators, and permitted facilities; improve permitting 
procedures; and streamline the regulations for ease of use 
while still protecting natural resources and human health.  

In addition, pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 
16, 2018) and § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, DEQ is 
conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of this regulation to determine whether this regulation 
should be terminated, amended, or retained in its current 
form. Public comment is sought on the review of any issue 
relating to this regulation, including whether the regulation (i) 
is necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 
welfare or for the economical performance of important 
governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact 
on small businesses in a manner consistent with the stated 
objectives of applicable law; (iii) is designed to achieve its 
intended objective in the most efficient, cost-effective 
manner; (iv) is clearly written and easily understandable; (v) 
overlaps, duplicates, or conflicts with federal or state law or 
regulation; and (vi) is impacted by changes in technology, 
economic conditions, or other factors in the area affected by 
the regulation since the last review. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1197.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5818; Filed May 6, 2019, 7:43 a.m.  

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management 
Board intends to consider amending 9VAC20-120, 
Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to modernize the standards 
for general handling and treatment of regulated medical waste 
based on current industry best management practices. The 
goals of the proposed action are to clarify the requirements 
for generators and permitted facilities, improve permitting 
procedures, and streamline the regulations for ease of use 
while still protecting natural resources and human health.  

In addition, pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and § 2.2-
4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the agency is conducting a 
periodic review and small business impact review of this 
regulation to determine whether this regulation should be 
terminated, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 
comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 
regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 
for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 
the economical performance of important governmental 
functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 
businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 
of applicable law; (iii) is designed to achieve its intended 
objective in the most efficient, cost-effective manner; (iv) is 
clearly written and easily understandable; (v) overlaps, 
duplicates, or conflicts with federal or state law or regulation; 
and (vi) is impacted by changes in technology, economic 
conditions, or other factors in the area affected by the 
regulation since the last review. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 6941 et seq.; 40 CFR Part 257. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Debra A. Harris, Planning and Policy 
Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, FAX 
(804) 698-4019, or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5395; Filed May 6, 2019, 7:49 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending 12VAC5-71, Regulations Governing 
Virginia Newborn Screening Services. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to amend the existing newborn screening 
regulation to add spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) and X-
linked adrenoleukodystrophy (X-ALD) to the newborn 
screening panel. SMA is a genetic disorder that is estimated 
to occur in approximately 9.1 out of every 100,000 live 
births. X-ALD is a genetic disorder that is estimated to occur 
in approximately six out of every 100,000 live births. 
Treatment for both X-ALD and SMA is available if detected 
early. Screening is necessary as these disorders cannot be 
detected at birth through physical examinations. The addition 
of SMA and X-ALD to the newborn screening panel has been 
recommended by the Virginia Genetics Advisory Committee. 
On the national level, these disorders have been added to the 
core panel of 35 genetic disorders included in the 
Recommended Uniform Screening Panel of the U.S. 
Secretary of Health and Human Services Advisory 
Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-67 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 27, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Joseph Hilbert, Deputy Commissioner, 
Governmental and Regulatory Affairs, Virginia Department 
of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7001, FAX (804) 864-7022, or email 
joe.hilbert@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5996; Filed May 2, 2019, 4:49 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending 12VAC5-613, Regulations for 
Alternative Onsite Sewage Systems. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to review the entire regulation for 
necessary modifications, clarifications, and updates to 
provisions, including provisions relating to the general 
approval process for manufacturers of alternative onsite 
sewage systems (AOSS), performance requirements of the 
AOSS, and sampling requirements for owners. Other 
amendments may be proposed based on comments from the 
periodic review conducted in 2016, on feedback from the 
technical advisory committees and from the general public, 
and as authorized by the Code of Virginia. 

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 
report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-164 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 28, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Lance Gregory, Director, Division of Onsite 
Sewage and Water Services, Virginia Department of Health, 
109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
864-7491, or email lance.gregory@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5991; Filed April 30, 2019, 4:36 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to consider amending 
13VAC5-21, Virginia Certification Standards. The purpose 
of the proposed action is to update the regulation to 
coordinate with the building (13VAC5-63) and fire 
(13VAC5-51) regulations, which are being updated to 
reference the newest available nationally recognized model 
codes and standards. As the national codes are comprehensive 
in scope, the agency will accept comments on all provisions 
of the Virginia Certification Standards to ensure compatibility 
with the latest codes. 

In addition, this regulation will undergo a periodic review 
pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018) 
and a small business impact review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia to determine whether this regulation 
should be terminated, amended, or retained in its current 
form. Public comment is sought on the review of any issue 
relating to this regulation, including whether the regulation (i) 
is necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 
welfare or for the economical performance of important 
governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact 
on small businesses in a manner consistent with the stated 
objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and 
easily understandable. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 36-137 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 
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Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 
TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5980; Filed April 25, 2019, 8:30 a.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to consider amending 
13VAC5-63, Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to lower to 77° 
Fahrenheit the required cooling temperature as provided in 
the Uniform Statewide Building Code (USBC). Currently, the 
Virginia Maintenance Code (VMC), a part of the USBC, 
requires that when cooling is provided to tenants of certain 
multifamily buildings, it must be provided to a temperature of 
at least 80° Fahrenheit. The current threshold has been 
identified as a public health concern in multiple localities that 
adopt the VMC.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 
TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5869; Filed May 14, 2019, 4:47 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Housing and 
Community Development intends to consider amending 
13VAC5-95, Virginia Manufactured Home Safety 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to update 
the regulations to include the most current federal installation 
standard based on current construction standards of the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development and to 
amend any administrative or enforcement provision of the 
regulation as determined necessary.  

In addition, pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 
16, 2018) and § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of 
Housing and Community Development is conducting a periodic 
review and small business impact review of this regulation to 
determine whether this regulation should be terminated, 
amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 
sought on the review of any issue relating to this regulation, 
including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes 
the economic impact on small businesses consistent with the 
stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and 
easily understandable.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 36-85.7 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 
TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5981; Filed April 25, 2019, 8:31 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers intends to consider amending 18VAC65-20, 
Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend the 
regulations governing the practice of funeral services to include 
clarifying certain provisions, updating the regulations, and 
strengthening the provisions for surface transportation, removal 
service, and courtesy cards. 

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the report of 
the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, Board 
of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4479, FAX 
(804) 527-4471, or email fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5988; Filed April 30, 2019, 1:06 p.m. 
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Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers intends to consider amending 18VAC65-30, 
Regulations for Preneed Funeral Planning. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to ensure greater protections for the public, 
including disclosures of information regarding the content of a 
contract, retention of documentation, and notification when a 
funeral home closes or changes ownership. 

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the report of 
the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, Board 
of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4546, 
FAX (804) 527-4637, or email corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5826; Filed April 30, 2019, 1:07 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

OFFICE OF THE STATE INSPECTOR GENERAL 
Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC42-30. Fraud and Abuse Whistle 
Blower Reward Fund (adding 1VAC42-30-10 through 
1VAC42-30-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-3014 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 27, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Mark Courtney, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Office of the State Inspector General, P.O. Box 1151, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 625-3255, FAX (804) 
371-0165, or email mark.courtney@osig.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation defines the Fraud and Abuse Whistle 
Blower Reward Fund and its administration by the Office 
of the State Inspector General, including (i) eligibility 
requirements, (ii) amount and distribution, (iii) process for 
leftover moneys at the end of the fiscal year, and (iv) the 
fund's establishment on the books of the Comptroller. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 30 
FRAUD AND ABUSE WHISTLE BLOWER REWARD 

FUND 

1VAC42-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Abuse" means an employer's or employee's conduct or 
omissions that result in substantial misuse, destruction, waste, 
or loss of funds or resources belonging to or derived from 
federal, state, or local government sources. 

"Commonwealth" means the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Disclosure" means a voluntary formal or informal 
communication or transmission of (i) any violation of any 
law, rule, or regulation; (ii) gross mismanagement; (iii) a 
gross waste of funds; (iv) an abuse of authority; or (v) a 
substantial and specific danger to public health or safety. 

"Employee" means any individual who is employed on 
either a salaried or wage basis, whose tenure is not restricted 

as to temporary or provisional appointment, in the service of 
and whose compensation is payable no more often than 
biweekly in whole or in part by a Virginia governmental 
agency. 

"Employer" means a person supervising one or more 
employees, including the employee filing a good faith report, 
a superior of that supervisor, or an agent of the governmental 
agency. 

"Executive branch agency" or "agency" means any agency, 
institution, board, bureau, commission, council, public 
institution of higher education, or instrumentality of state 
government in the executive department listed in the 
appropriation act. 

"Fraud" means the intentional deception perpetrated by an 
individual or an organization, either internal or external to 
state government, that could result in a tangible or intangible 
benefit to themselves, others, or the Commonwealth, 
including local government, or could cause detriment to 
others or the Commonwealth. Fraud includes a false 
representation of the facts, whether by words or by conduct. 
Fraud also includes false or misleading statements, the 
concealment of essential information, or information or 
actions that deceive or are intended to deceive.  

"Fraud and Abuse Whistle Blower Protection Act Program" 
or "WBPA Program" means the policy of the Commonwealth 
that Commonwealth citizens and employees of state 
government are freely able to report instances of wrongdoing 
or abuse committed by their employing agency, other state 
agencies, or independent contractors of state agencies. 

"Fraud and Abuse Whistle Blower Reward Fund" or "fund" 
means the fund used solely to provide monetary rewards to 
Commonwealth citizens who have disclosed information of 
wrongdoing or abuse under the WBPA Program that results 
in a recovery of at least $5,000.  

"Good faith report" means a reported incident of possible 
wrongdoing or abuse made without malice, for which the 
person reporting has reasonable cause to believe wrongdoing 
or abuse occurred. 

"Governmental agency" means (i) any agency, institution, 
board, bureau, commission, council, or instrumentality of 
state government in the executive branch listed in the 
appropriation act and any independent agency; (ii) any 
county, city, town, or local or regional governmental 
authority; and (iii) any local school division as defined in 
§ 22.1-280.2:2 of the Code of Virginia. 
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"Hotline coordinator" means a qualified employee, 
designated by a governmental agency director or chief 
administrator, responsible for conducting State Fraud, Waste 
and Abuse Hotline investigations referred to the agency by 
OSIG.  

"Internal audit director" means a director of a governmental 
agency internal audit program. 

"Misconduct" means conduct or behavior by an employee 
that is inconsistent with state, local, or agency standards for 
which specific corrective or disciplinary action is warranted. 

"Nonstate agency" means any public or private foundation, 
authority, institute, museum, corporation, or similar 
organization that is (i) not a unit of state government or a 
political subdivision of the Commonwealth as established by 
general law or special act and (ii) wholly or principally 
supported by state funds. "Nonstate agency" shall not include 
any such entity that receives state funds (a) as a subgrantee of 
a state agency; (b) through a state grant-in-aid program 
authorized by law; (c) as a result of an award of a competitive 
grant or a public contract for the procurement of goods, 
services, or construction; or (d) pursuant to a lease of real 
property as described in subdivision 5 of § 2.2-1149 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Office of the State Inspector General" or "OSIG" means the 
governmental agency that conducts independent 
investigations, performance audits, and other services 
designed to provide objective and useful information to the 
Commonwealth and those charged with its governance and 
promotes efficiency and effectiveness in state government 
executive branch agencies in accordance with Article 1 
(§ 2.2-307 et seq.) of Chapter 13.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Public body" means any legislative body; any authority, 
board, bureau, commission, district, agency, or political 
subdivision of the Commonwealth, including counties, cities, 
towns, city councils, boards of supervisors, school boards, 
planning commissions, and boards of visitors of institutions 
of higher education; and other organizations, corporations, or 
agencies in the Commonwealth supported wholly or 
principally by public funds. "Public body" includes any 
committee, subcommittee, or other entity however designated 
of the public body or formed to advise the public body, 
including those with private sector or citizen members and 
corporations organized by the Virginia Retirement System. 
For the purposes of this chapter, the term "public body" does 
not include the courts of the Commonwealth. 

"Reward" means a monetary benefit payable from the fund 
by OSIG to an eligible whistle blower.  

"Screening process" means OSIG's internal review to ensure 
reports of information or disclosures of wrongdoing fall 
within the authority of the WBPA Program.  

"State Fraud, Waste and Abuse Hotline" or "hotline" means 
the program (i) that provides Commonwealth citizens with a 
confidential and anonymous method to report suspected 
occurrences of fraud, waste, and abuse in state agencies and 
institutions and (ii) that provides the Commonwealth a way to 
investigate such occurrences to determine their validity and 
make appropriate recommendations to address deficiencies. 

"Whistle blower" means a Commonwealth employee or 
citizen who witnesses or has evidence of wrongdoing or 
abuse and who makes a good faith, open, and public report of 
the wrongdoing or abuse to one of the employee's superiors, 
an agent of the employer, or an appropriate authority. 

"Wrongdoing" means a violation, which is not of a merely 
technical or minimal nature, of a federal or state law or 
regulation or a formally adopted code of conduct or ethics of 
a professional organization designed to protect the interests of 
the public or an employee. "Wrongdoing" includes (i) any 
violation of any law, rule, or regulation; (ii) gross 
mismanagement; (iii) a gross waste of funds; (iv) an abuse of 
authority; or (v) a substantial and specific danger to public 
health or safety. 

1VAC42-30-20. Office of the State Inspector General 
responsibilities. 

A. OSIG is responsible for administering the WBPA 
Program and fund and the following tasks:  

1. Notifying annually Commonwealth employees, citizens, 
and governmental bodies, including state agencies, of the 
WBPA Program and fund regulations and procedures for 
submitting information regarding wrongdoing or abuse. 

2. Protecting the identity of Commonwealth employees and 
citizens who make allegations of wrongdoing or abuse 
through the WBPA Program. OSIG will keep this 
information confidential to the extent allowed by law. 

3. Conducting appropriate investigations and preparing 
official reports. 

4. Receiving and evaluating fund claims. 

5. Ensuring payment of approved fund moneys to whistle 
blowers. 

6. Submitting an annual report on WBPA Program 
activities to the Governor and General Assembly. 

7. Notifying individuals making allegations of the possible 
incentives as a result of moneys recovered and available 
through the fund. 

B. OSIG is responsible for assigning, coordinating, and 
investigating alleged wrongdoing or abuse reported to OSIG 
under the WBPA Program. OSIG may work with executive 
branch agency internal audit directors, executive branch 
agency hotline coordinators, or representatives of public 
bodies when performing WBPA Program investigations. 
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1VAC42-30-30. Fraud and Abuse Whistle Blower 
Protection Act Program and Reward Fund notification. 

A. Annually, the State Inspector General will communicate 
with all state agency heads. The communication will:  

1. Publicize the WBPA Program and fund. 

2. Explain the protections afforded to individuals who 
report instances of wrongdoing or abuse committed within 
executive branch agencies and nonstate agencies. 

3. Notify state agency heads of relevant statutory 
amendments or program changes. 

4. Contain the requirements for reporting allegations to 
OSIG and the incentives under the WBPA Program. 

5. Clarify pertinent differences between the WBPA 
Program and the hotline regarding the rules governing 
anonymity and confidentiality. 

6. Provide available materials to assist agency heads in 
promoting the WBPA Program and fund, as well as 
available training for Commonwealth employees regarding 
the WBPA Program and fund. 

B. Annually, OSIG will publicize the WBPA Program and 
fund on the OSIG website and to Commonwealth citizens 
through the distribution of a news release to Virginia media, 
as well as to state employees through an electronic 
communication in partnership with the Department of Human 
Resource Management. The communication will: 

1. Contain the requirements for reporting allegations to 
OSIG and the incentives under the WBPA Program. 

2. Clarify pertinent differences between the WBPA 
Program and the hotline regarding the rules governing 
anonymity and confidentiality.  

1VAC42-30-40. Reporting alleged fraud, abuse, or 
wrongdoing. 

A. A Commonwealth employee or citizen with an allegation 
of wrongdoing or abuse under the WBPA Program may 
contact OSIG by phone, email, online complaint form, United 
States Postal Service, or FAX. 

B. OSIG staff is available to advise citizens on what to 
report that meets the definition of wrongdoing or abuse. 

C. If an investigation results in recoverable funds, and the 
whistle blower seeks to file a fund claim under the WBPA 
Program, the whistle blower will be required to provide his 
name and lawful residence. 

While not anonymous, OSIG will keep this information 
confidential to the extent allowed by law. 

1VAC42-30-50. Office of the State Inspector General 
receipt of an allegation. 

A. Allegations of wrongdoing or abuse received by OSIG 
undergo the hotline screening process. 

B. Allegations submitted by an individual who is not a 
Commonwealth employee or citizen will be referred to the 
appropriate governmental agency or organization.  

C. If the agency or organization reported is not an executive 
branch or independent state agency or entity or a local 
governmental agency or entity or school division, the 
information will be forwarded to that entity where possible 
for informational purposes only. 

1VAC42-30-60. Allegation investigative process. 

A. OSIG will prepare a detailed written summary that 
describes the allegation of wrongdoing or abuse submitted 
through the WBPA Program. 

B. The hotline manager or designee will create a 
confidential tracking number for each case and assign it for 
formal investigation.  

C. OSIG will monitor the progress of each investigation and 
provide the State Inspector General with regular status 
updates of the assignment. 

D. Upon completion of an investigation, the investigator will 
prepare and submit a case report for management review and 
approval. When appropriate, recommendations for corrective 
action to address procedural deficiencies disclosed during the 
investigation will be included in the case report. 

E. Formal case reports will describe all financial recovery 
realized on behalf of the Commonwealth as a result of the 
information received from the whistle blower and the 
subsequent investigation.  

F. Case reports will be forwarded to the State Inspector 
General for review. Upon authorization by the State Inspector 
General, the investigator will prepare an executive summary 
that recaps the findings of the investigation, the 
recommendations, the recovery of funds, and the status of 
applicable fund claims. Upon signature approval of the State 
Inspector General, the executive summary will be forwarded 
to the subject state executive branch agency head, respective 
secretariat, and the Chief of Staff of the Governor. 

1VAC42-30-70. Nonreverting fund. 

A. OSIG will coordinate with the State Comptroller to 
establish a special nonreverting fund.  

B. The fund will be established on the books of the State 
Comptroller and administered by the State Inspector General. 

C. All moneys recovered by an OSIG investigation as a 
result of whistle blower activity shall be deposited in the 
fund. 
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D. Except for the moneys described in subsection F of this 
section, moneys remaining in the fund at the end of each 
fiscal year, including interest, shall not revert to the general 
fund, but shall remain in the fund.  

E. Moneys in the fund shall solely be used to:  

1. Provide monetary rewards to Commonwealth employees 
and citizens who have disclosed information of 
wrongdoing or abuse under the WBPA Program (§ 2.2-
3009 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and the disclosure 
resulted in a recovery of at least $5,000. 

2. Support the administration of the fund, defray fund 
advertising costs, or subsidize the operation of the hotline.  

F. Per the State Inspector General's authorization by the end 
of each calendar quarter, 85% of all sums recovered by an 
OSIG investigation will be remitted to the institutions or 
agencies concerned, unless otherwise directed by a court of 
law.  

1VAC42-30-80. Fund payments to whistle blowers. 

A. Within 10 working days, excluding state holidays and 
weekends, of the closing of a WBPA Program investigation 
that verifies a final recovery and deposit in the fund of $5,000 
or more, the State Inspector General will review and certify 
the fund claim. Within five working days after the State 
Inspector General's verification, the whistle blower will be 
notified of the award amount he is eligible to receive. Upon 
approval of the fund claim, the State Inspector General will 
submit a written request to the State Comptroller to make a 
reward payment from the fund to the whistle blower.  

B. The State Treasurer will make reward payments from the 
fund based on a warrant issued by the State Comptroller and a 
written request signed by the State Inspector General. 

C. Award amounts.  

1. The amount of the fund reward shall be up to 10% of the 
actual sums recovered by the Commonwealth as a result of 
the disclosure of the wrongdoing or abuse. 

2. OSIG will consider many factors in determining the 
amount of an award based on the unique facts and 
circumstances of each case. OSIG may increase the award 
percentage up to the maximum allowed based on the 
following factors: (i) the significance of the information 
provided to OSIG to the success of any proceeding brought 
against wrongdoers; (ii) the extent of the assistance 
provided to OSIG in its investigation and any resulting 
findings; (iii) OSIG's law-enforcement interest in deterring 
violations of the applicable laws by making awards to 
whistle blowers who provide information that leads to the 
successful enforcement of these laws; and (iv) whether and 
the extent to which the whistle blower participated in his 
agency's internal compliance systems, such as, for 
example, reporting the possible violations through internal 

whistle blower, legal, or compliance procedures, before or 
at the same time the possible violations were reported to 
OSIG. 

3. OSIG may reduce the amount of an award based on the 
following: (i) if the whistle blower was a participant in or 
culpable for the violations reported; (ii) if the whistle 
blower unreasonably delayed reporting the violations to 
OSIG; and (iii) if the whistle blower interfered with his 
agency's internal compliance and reporting systems, such 
as, for example, making false statements to the compliance 
department that hindered its efforts to investigate possible 
wrongdoing or abuse. 

4. The amount of the reward will not exceed the balance of 
the fund, regardless of the sums recovered.  

5. In the event that multiple whistle blowers have 
simultaneously reported the same fund-eligible occurrence 
of wrongdoing or abuse, the fund moneys may be split up 
to 10% among the whistle blowers at the State Inspector 
General's discretion. The State Inspector General's decision 
regarding the allocation of fund moneys is final and 
binding upon all parties and cannot be appealed. 

6. The request for payment will include the name and 
address of the whistle blower and the payment amount. 
OSIG will provide documentation supporting the amount 
of the payment to the State Comptroller. 

7. Once approved, the State Comptroller shall forward the 
request to Finance and Administration of the Department 
of Accounts (DOA) with a request that Finance and 
Administration process the payment to the whistle blower. 

8. DOA will ensure the amount of the fund reward is 
properly included in the whistle blower's federal and state 
tax records (i.e., W-2 for employees; 1099 for 
Commonwealth citizens). 

9. OSIG will confirm that DOA processes the fund request 
and that the reward payment is made to the whistle blower 
for the amount approved by the State Inspector General. 

D. Five percent of all sums recovered on behalf of the 
Commonwealth will be retained in the fund to support the 
administration of the fund, defray advertising costs, and 
subsidize the operation of the hotline. Expenditures for 
administrative costs for management of the fund will be 
approved by the State Inspector General.  

1VAC42-30-90. Whistle blower protections. 

A. Employee protections. 

1. No employer may discharge, threaten, or otherwise 
discriminate or retaliate against a whistle blower, whether 
acting individually or under the direction of another 
individual. 

2. No employer may discharge, threaten, or otherwise 
discriminate or retaliate against a whistle blower who is 
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requested or subpoenaed by an appropriate authority to 
participate in an investigation, hearing, or inquiry. 

3. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit an employer from 
disciplining or discharging a whistle blower for 
misconduct or violation of criminal law. 

4. If an employee has, in good faith, exhausted existing 
internal procedures for reporting and seeking recovery of 
falsely claimed sums through official channels, and if the 
Commonwealth failed to act on the information provided in a 
reasonable period of time, no court shall have jurisdiction 
over an action brought under § 8.01-216.5 of the Code of 
Virginia based on information discovered by a present or 
former employee of the Commonwealth during the course of 
his employment. 

5. Any whistle blower covered by the state grievance 
procedure may initiate a grievance alleging retaliation for 
reporting wrongdoing or abuse through the WBPA Program 
and may request relief throughout that procedure. 

B. Commonwealth citizen protections. 

1. No governmental agency may threaten or otherwise 
discriminate or retaliate against a citizen whistle blower 
because the whistle blower is requested or subpoenaed by an 
appropriate authority to participate in an investigation, 
hearing, or inquiry. 

2. Except for the provisions of § 2.2-3011 E of the Code of 
Virginia, the WBPA Program does not limit the remedies 
provided by the Virginia Fraud Against Taxpayers Act 
(§ 8.01-216.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

C. Protection against discrimination and retaliation - good faith 
required.  

1. To be protected by the provisions of this chapter, an 
employee or Commonwealth citizen who discloses 
information about suspected wrongdoing or abuse shall do so 
in good faith and upon a reasonable belief information 
provided is accurate.  

2. Reckless disclosures or disclosures the employee or citizen 
knows or should have known were false, confidential by law, 
or malicious are not deemed good faith reports and are not 
protected. 

1VAC42-30-100. Whistle Blower Protection Act Program 
and Reward Fund annual report. 

A. OSIG shall submit an annual report to the Governor and 
the General Assembly of Virginia summarizing the activities 
of the fund.  

B. OSIG will provide a copy of the WBPA Program annual 
report to the Chief of Staff to the Governor, the Secretary of 
Finance, and the State Comptroller. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4186; Filed May 7, 2019, 10:34 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
13 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes the board when 
promulgating regulations pursuant to § 3.2-5206 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-490. Regulations Governing 
Grade "A" Milk (amending 2VAC5-490-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 27, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 
Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 786-8899, FAX (804) 371-7792, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In response to a petition for rulemaking, the amendments 
reduce maximum bacteria count to 50,000 bacteria per 
milliliter of milk and reduce maximum somatic cell count 
to 500,000 per milliliter of milk as standards that must be 
met for milk to be considered grade A in Virginia. 
Additional amendments since publication of the proposed 
regulation clarify that these reductions only apply to cow's 
milk.  

Part VI  
Standards for Milk and Milk Products  

2VAC5-490-50. Quality standards for milk and milk 
products.  

A. No person may produce, provide, manufacture, sell, offer 
for sale, or store in the Commonwealth, or bring, send, or 
receive into the Commonwealth, any milk, milk product, 
condensed milk product, or dry milk product for use in the 
commercial preparation of grade A pasteurized, ultra-
pasteurized, or aseptically processed milk or milk products 
that do not comply with the following:  

1. Grade A raw milk for pasteurization or ultra-
pasteurization, aseptic processing and packaging, or retort 
processed after packaging and all grade A pasteurized, 
ultra-pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or 
retort processed after packaged milk or milk products shall 
be produced, processed, manufactured and pasteurized, 
ultra-pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or 
retort processed after packaged to conform with the 
following chemical, physical, bacteriological, somatic cell, 
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and temperature standards, and with the requirements of 
this chapter;  

2. No process or manipulation other than (i) pasteurization; 
(ii) ultra-pasteurization; (iii) aseptic processing and 
packaging; (iv) retort processed after packaging; or (v) 
processing methods integral with pasteurization, ultra-
pasteurization, aseptic processing and packaging, or retort 
processed after packaging; and refrigeration may be 
applied to milk or milk products for the purpose of 
removing or deactivating microorganisms provided that 
filtration, bactofugation, or filtration and bactofugation 
may be performed in the plant in which the milk or milk 
product is pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, aseptically 
processed and packaged, or retort processed after 
packaged. Nothing in this chapter is deemed to prohibit 
any grade A permit holder who operates a milk plant from 
preparing bulk shipments of cream, skim milk, reduced fat 
or lowfat milk labeled as "heat treated"; if the raw milk, 
raw cream, skim milk, reduced fat or lowfat milk is heated, 
one time, to a temperature warmer than 125°F but cooler 
than 161°F for separation purposes. In the case of heat 
treated cream, the cream may be further heated to less than 
166°F in a continuing heating process and immediately 
cooled to 45°F or less when necessary for enzyme 
deactivation (such as lipase reduction) for a functional 
reason;  

3. Grade A raw milk and milk products for pasteurization, 
ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing and packaging, or 
retort processed after packaging shall comply with the 
following standards:  

a. The temperature of the raw milk shall be cooled to 
40°F or cooler, but not frozen, within two hours after 
milking and the temperature after the first or any 
subsequent milking shall not be warmer than 50°F;  

b. The bacteria count of [ the ] raw [ cow's ] milk shall 
not exceed 100,000 50,000 bacteria per milliliter prior to 
commingling with any other milk; and the bacteria count 
of [ the ] raw [ cow's ] milk that is commingled shall not 
exceed 300,000 bacteria per milliliter prior to 
pasteurization;  

c. [ The bacteria count of raw sheep's milk, raw goat's 
milk, raw water buffalo's milk, or raw milk from any 
other hooved mammal shall not exceed 100,000 bacteria 
per milliliter prior to commingling with any other milk; 
and the bacteria count of raw sheep's milk, raw goat's 
milk, raw water buffalo's milk, or raw milk from any 
other hooved mammal that is commingled shall not 
exceed 300,000 bacteria per milliliter prior to 
pasteurization; 

d. ] Raw milk shall freeze at or below -0.530° Hortvet;  

[ d. e. ] Raw milk shall have no positive results of tests 
for drug residues by detection methods reported to the 

State Regulatory Authority by official laboratories, 
officially designated laboratories, milk plants, receiving 
stations, or transfer stations;  

[ e. f. ] The somatic cell count of raw cow's milk [ , raw 
water buffalo's milk, or raw sheep's milk ] shall not 
exceed 750,000 500,000 somatic cells per milliliter. 
[ The somatic cell count of raw water buffalo's milk, raw 
sheep's milk, or raw milk from any other hooved 
mammal shall not exceed 750,000 somatic cells per 
milliliter. ] The somatic cell count of raw goat's milk 
shall not exceed 1,500,000 somatic cells per milliliter;  

[ f. g. ] Raw milk shall not exceed the actionable level, 
tolerance level, or safe level for any chemical residue or 
pesticide residue specified in 40 CFR Part 180 and 
21 CFR Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 130, 131, 133, 170, 
172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 556, 570, 573, 
and 589. In the event that no actionable level, tolerance 
level, or safe level for a chemical residue or pesticides 
residue has been established in 40 CFR Part 180 and 
21 CFR Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 130, 131, 133, 170, 
172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 556, 570, 573, 
and 589, the tolerance level shall be deemed to be zero; 
and  

[ g. h. ] Raw milk shall not contain aflatoxin residues 
equal to or greater than 0.50 parts per billion as 
determined by the Charm II aflatoxin test or other 
equivalent method;  

4. Grade A pasteurized or ultra-pasteurized milk and milk 
products shall comply with the following standards:  

a. The temperature of milk products shall be cooled to 
45°F or cooler (but not frozen) and maintained at that 
temperature;  

b. The bacteria count for any milk or milk products 
(except acidified or cultured milk or milk products, 
eggnog, cottage cheese, and other milk or milk products 
as identified in FDA M-a-98) shall not exceed 20,000 
bacteria per milliliter;  

c. Except for commingled milk shipped in a transport 
tank the coliform count for any milk or milk products 
shall not exceed 10 coliform organisms per milliliter. 
Commingled milk shipped in a transport tank shall not 
exceed 100 coliform organisms per milliliter;  

d. The phenol value of test samples of pasteurized 
finished product shall be no greater than the maximum 
specified for the particular product as determined and 
specified by (i) any phosphatase test method prescribed 
in the Official Methods of Analysis, 19th Edition, 2012, 
published by the Association of Official Analytical 
Chemists; (ii) the Fluorometer test method; (iii) the 
Charm ALP test method; or (iv) other equivalent method 
as determined by the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
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and Consumer Services. A phenol value greater than the 
maximum specified for the particular product shall mean 
that the product was not properly pasteurized. A phenol 
value less than the maximum specified for the particular 
product shall not be deemed to mean that the product was 
properly pasteurized, unless there is evidence of proper 
pasteurization equipment in conformance with this 
chapter and records to determine an adequate 
pasteurization process has been completed for each 
separate batch or lot of milk, milk product, condensed 
milk, condensed milk product, dry milk, or dry milk 
product; 

e. Milk or milk products shall have no positive results of 
tests for drug residues by detection methods reported to 
the State Regulatory Authority by official laboratories, 
officially designated laboratories, milk plants, receiving 
stations, or transfer stations;  

f. Milk or milk products shall not exceed the actionable 
level, tolerance level, or safe level for any chemical 
residue or pesticide residue specified in 40 CFR Part 180 
and 21 CFR Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 130, 131, 133, 
170, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 556, 570, 
573, and 589. In the event that no actionable level, 
tolerance level, or safe level for a chemical residue or 
pesticides residue has been established in 40 CFR Part 
180 and 21 CFR Parts 70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 130, 131, 
133, 170, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 556, 
570, 573, and 589, the tolerance level shall be deemed to 
be zero; and  

g. Milk or milk products shall not contain aflatoxin 
residues equal to or greater than 0.50 parts per billion as 
determined by the Charm II aflatoxin test or other 
equivalent method; 

5. Grade A pasteurized concentrated (condensed) milk or 
milk product shall comply with the following standards:  

a. The temperature of milk products shall be cooled to 
45°F or cooler (but not frozen) and maintained thereat 
unless drying is commenced immediately after 
condensing;  

b. Except for commingled milk shipped in a transport 
tank, the coliform count for any milk or milk product 
shall not exceed 10 coliform organisms per gram. 
Commingled milk shipped in a transport tank shall not 
exceed 100 coliform organisms per gram;  

6. Grade A aseptically processed and packaged milk and 
milk products shall comply with the following standards:  

a. Aseptically processed and packaged milk and milk 
products shall be commercially sterile;  

b. Aseptically processed and packaged milk and milk 
products shall have no positive results of tests for drug 
residues by detection methods reported to the State 

Regulatory Authority by official laboratories, officially 
designated laboratories, milk plants, receiving stations, or 
transfer stations;  

c. Aseptically processed and packaged milk and milk 
products shall not exceed the actionable level, tolerance 
level, or safe level for any chemical residue or pesticide 
residue specified in 40 CFR Part 180 and 21 CFR Parts 
70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 130, 131, 133, 170, 172, 173, 174, 
175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 556, 570, 573, and 589. In the 
event that no actionable level, tolerance level, or safe 
level for a chemical residue or pesticides residue has 
been established in 40 CFR Part 180 and 21 CFR Parts 
70, 71, 73, 74, 80, 82, 130, 131, 133, 170, 172, 173, 174, 
175, 176, 177, 178, 189, 556, 570, 573, and 589, the 
tolerance level shall be deemed to be zero; and  

d. Aseptically processed and packaged milk and milk 
products milk shall not contain aflatoxin residues equal 
to or greater than 0.05 parts per billion; 

7. Grade A nonfat dry milk and dry milk or milk products 
shall comply with the following standards: 

a. The bacteria count shall not exceed 10,000 bacteria per 
gram, and 

b. The coliform count shall not exceed 10 coliform 
organisms per gram; 

8. Grade A whey for condensing or drying shall be 
maintained at a temperature of 45°F (7°C) or less, or 135°F 
(57°C) or greater; provided that, acid-type whey with a 
titratable acidity of 0.40% or above or a pH of 4.6 or below 
shall be exempt for the requirements of this subdivision; 

9. Grade A pasteurized condensed whey and whey 
products shall be cooled to 50°F (10°C) or less during 
crystallization and within 72 hours of condensing. The 
coliform count of grade A pasteurized condensed whey and 
whey products shall not exceed 10 coliform organisms per 
gram; and 

10. The coliform count of grade A dry whey, grade A dry 
whey products, grade A dry buttermilk, and grade A dry 
buttermilk products shall not exceed 10 coliform 
organisms per gram. 

B. Sanitation requirements for grade A raw milk.  

1. Each person who holds a grade A permit to produce raw 
milk for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic 
processing and packaging, or retort processed after 
packaging shall comply with:  

a. The following administrative procedures contained in 
the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 
Revision": Section 4; Section 7, Items 1r, 2r, 3r, 4r, 5r, 
6r, 7r, 8r, 9r, 10r(1), 10r(2), 11r, 12r, 13r, 14r, 15r, 16r, 
17r, 18r(2), 18r(3), and 19r; Section 8; Section 10; and 
Section 13;  
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b. The following appendices contained in the "Grade "A" 
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision": 
Appendices A, B, C, D, F, G, H, N, Q, and R;  

c. Item 1r. Abnormal milk. Each person who holds a 
grade A permit to produce raw milk for pasteurization, 
ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing and packaging, or 
retort processed after packaging shall:  

(1) Milk last or with separate equipment cows, sheep, 
goats, water buffalo, or other mammals that show 
evidence of the secretion of abnormal milk in one or 
more quarters (based upon bacteriological, chemical, or 
physical examination) and discard the milk obtained 
from cows, sheep, goats, water buffalo, or other 
mammals that show evidence of the secretion of 
abnormal milk in one or more quarters based upon 
bacteriological, chemical, or physical examination; and  

(2) Milk last or with separate equipment cows, sheep, 
goats, water buffalo, or other mammals treated with, or 
that have consumed, chemical, medicinal, or radioactive 
agents that are capable of being secreted in the milk and 
that may be deleterious to human health; and dispose of 
in a manner that will not pollute the environment or any 
human food the milk obtained from cows, sheep, goats, 
water buffalo, or other mammals treated with, or that 
have consumed, chemical, medicinal, or radioactive 
agents that are capable of being secreted in the milk and 
that may be deleterious to human health;  

d. Item 2r. Milking barn, stable, or parlor; construction. 
Each person who holds a grade A permit to produce raw 
milk for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic 
processing and packaging, or retort processed after 
packaging shall:  

(1) Provide on the person's dairy farm a milking barn, 
stable, or parlor in which the milking herd shall be 
housed during milking time;  

(2) Provide on the grade A permit holder's dairy farm a 
milking barn, stable, or parlor, which milking barn, 
stable, or parlor shall:  

(a) Have floors constructed of concrete or equally 
impervious material;  

(b) Have walls and ceiling that are smooth, painted, or 
finished in an approved manner, and in good repair and 
have a ceiling which is dust tight;  

(c) Have separate stalls or pens for horses, calves, and 
bulls;  

(d) Have natural or artificial light, well distributed for 
day or night milking;  

(e) Have sufficient air space and air circulation to prevent 
condensation and excessive odors;  

(f) Have dust-tight covered boxes or bins, or separate 
storage facilities for ground, chopped, or concentrated 
feed; and  

(g) Not be overcrowded; and 

(3) Provide and use only an "automatic milking 
installation" that complies with the requirements of 
Appendix Q of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 
Ordinance, 2013 Revision" if the person milks any cows, 
goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other mammals (except 
humans) using robots or other automated means in the 
absence of any human; 

e. Item 3r. Milking barn, stable, or parlor; cleanliness. 
Each person who holds a grade A permit to produce raw 
milk for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic 
processing and packaging, or retort processed after 
packaging shall:  

(1) Keep the interior of the milking barn, stable, or parlor 
clean;  

(2) Keep the floors, walls, ceilings, windows, pipelines, 
and equipment in the milking barn, stable, or parlor free 
of filth or litter and clean;  

(3) Keep swine and fowl out of the milking barn, stable, 
and parlor;  

(4) Keep surcingles, belly straps, milk stools, and 
antikickers clean and stored above the floor; and 

(5) Store feed in a manner that will not increase the dust 
content of the air or interfere with the cleaning of the 
floor; 

f. Item 4r. Cow yard, sheep yard, goat yard, water buffalo 
yard, or other milking mammal yard. Each person who 
holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk for 
pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall: 

(1) Provide and maintain the cow yard, sheep yard, goat 
yard, water buffalo yard or other milking mammal yard, 
to be graded and drained, and to have no standing pools 
of water or accumulations of organic wastes;  

(2) In the cow loafing, goat loafing, sheep loafing, water 
buffalo loafing, or other milking mammal loafing, cattle-
housing, sheep-housing, goat-housing, water buffalo-
housing, or other milking mammal-housing areas remove 
cow droppings, sheep droppings, goat droppings, water 
buffalo droppings, and other milking mammal droppings 
and remove soiled bedding or add clean bedding at 
sufficiently frequent intervals to prevent the soiling of the 
cow's, sheep's, goat's, water buffalo's, or other milking 
mammal's udder and flanks;  

(3) Assure that waste feed does not accumulate in the 
goat yard, cow yard, sheep yard, water buffalo yard, 
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other milking mammal yard, cow loafing, sheep loafing, 
goat loafing, water buffalo loafing, other milking 
mammal loafing, cattle-housing, sheep-housing, goat-
housing, water buffalo-housing, or other milking 
mammal-housing area; 

(4) Maintain any manure packs so as to be properly 
drained and so as to provide a reasonably firm footing; 
and  

(5) Keep swine and fowl out of the cow yard, sheep yard, 
goat yard, water buffalo yard, other milking mammal 
yard, cow loafing, sheep loafing, goat loafing, water 
buffalo loafing, other milking mammal loafing, cattle-
housing, sheep-housing, goat-housing, water buffalo-
housing, or other milking mammal-housing area; 

g. Item 5r. Milkhouse or room; construction and 
facilities. Each who holds a grade A permit to produce 
raw milk for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic 
processing and packaging, or retort processed after 
packaging shall:  

(1) Provide a milkhouse or milkroom of sufficient size in 
which the cooling, handling, and storing of milk and the 
washing, sanitizing, and storing of milk containers and 
utensils shall be conducted except as provided under 
subdivision 1 n of this subsection; 

(2) Provide a milkhouse with a smooth floor, constructed 
of concrete or equally impervious material graded to 
drain, and maintained in good repair;  

(3) Dispose of in a sanitary manner all liquid waste 
generated in the milkhouse;  

(4) Provide one or more floor drains in the milkhouse, 
which floor drains shall be accessible, and if connected to 
a sanitary sewer system trapped;  

(5) Provide in the milkhouse walls and ceilings 
constructed of a smooth material, in good repair, well 
painted, or finished in an equally suitable manner;  

(6) Provide adequate natural or artificial light and 
ventilation in the milkhouse;  

(7) Use the milkhouse for no other purpose than 
milkhouse operations;  

(8) Provide no direct opening from the milkhouse into 
any barn, stable, or into any room used for domestic 
purposes, other than a direct opening between the 
milkhouse and milking barn, stable, or parlor provided 
with a tight-fitting, self-closing, solid door, which door 
has been hinged to be single or double acting. Screened 
vents in the wall between the milkhouse and a 
breezeway, which separates the milkhouse from the 
milking parlor, are permitted, provided animals are not 
housed within the milking facility;  

(9) Provide in the milkhouse water under pressure which 
has been piped into the milkhouse;  

(10) Provide in the milkhouse a two-compartment wash 
vat and adequate hot water heating facilities; 

(11) Except as provided for under subdivision 1 g (12) of 
this subsection provide a suitable shelter for the receipt 
of milk when the grade A permit holder uses a 
transportation tank for the cooling or storage of milk on 
the grade A permit holder's dairy farm, which shelter 
adjacent to, but not a part of, the milkroom; and with the 
requirements of the milkroom shall comply with respect 
to construction, light, drainage, insect and rodent control, 
and general maintenance. In addition to providing a 
suitable shelter as required by this subsection, the grade 
A permit holder shall: 

(a) Install an accurate, accessible temperature-recording 
device in the milk line used to fill the transportation tank 
downstream from an effective cooling device capable of 
cooling the milk to 40°F or less before the milk enters the 
transportation tank. Electronic records that comply with 
the applicable provisions as referred to in Sections IV 
and V of Appendix H of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized 
Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision," with or without hard 
copy, may be used in place of temperature-recording 
records; 

(b) Install an indicating thermometer as close as possible 
to the temperature-recording device in the milk line used 
to fill the transportation tank to be used for verification of 
recording temperatures, which indicating thermometer 
shall: 

(i) Have a temperature span of not less than 50°F 
including normal storage temperatures plus or minus 5°F, 
with an extension of the scale on either side permitted 
and graduated in not more than 2°F divisions; 

(ii) Have temperature scale divisions spaced not less than 
0.0625 inches apart between 35°F and 55°F; 

(iii) Have an accuracy within plus or minus 2°F 
throughout the scale range; and 

(iv) Have the stem fitting installed in a pressure-tight seat 
or other sanitary fitting with no threads exposed; 

(c) Provide an effective means to agitate the transport 
tank or an approved in-line sampling device in order to 
collect a representative milk sample; 

(12) If the State Regulatory Authority determines 
conditions exist whereby the milk transport tank may be 
adequately protected and sampled without contamination, 
a shelter need not be provided if the grade A permit 
holder: 
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(a) Provides a means to make all milk hose connections 
to the transport tank accessible from within the 
milkhouse; 

(b) Provides a means to completely protect the milk hose 
connection to the transport tank from the outside 
environment. With approval of the State Regulatory 
Authority, the direct loading of milk from the milkhouse 
to the milk tank truck may be conducted through a 
properly designed hose port that adequately protects the 
milkhouse opening or by stubbing the milk transfer and 
associated CIP cleaned lines outside the milkhouse wall 
in accordance with Item 5r, Administrative Procedure 
#15, of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 
2013 Revision"; 

(c) Ensures only milk transport tanks the manholes of 
which have been sealed after cleaning and sanitizing are 
utilized; 

(d) Ensures only milk transport tanks that have been 
washed and sanitized at permitted dairy plants or a 
permitted milk tank truck cleaning facilities acceptable to 
the State Regulatory Agency are utilized; 

(e) Installs an accurate, accessible temperature-recording 
device in the milk line used to fill the transportation tank 
downstream from an effective cooling device capable of 
cooling the milk to 40°F or less before the milk enters the 
transportation tank. Electronic records that comply with 
the applicable provisions as referred to in Sections IV 
and V of Appendix H of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized 
Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision," with or without hard 
copy, may be used in place of temperature-recording 
records; 

(f) Installs an indicating thermometer as close as possible 
to the temperature-recording device in the milk line used 
to fill the transportation tank to be used for verification of 
recording temperatures, which indicating thermometer 
shall: 

(i) Have a temperature span of not less than 50°F 
including normal storage temperatures plus or minus 5°F, 
with an extension of the scale on either side permitted 
and graduated in not more than 2°F divisions; 

(ii) Have temperature scale divisions spaced not less than 
0.0625 inches apart between 35°F and 55°F; 

(iii) Have an accuracy within plus or minus 2°F 
throughout the scale range; and 

(iv) Have the stem fitting installed in a pressure-tight seat 
or other sanitary fitting with no threads exposed; 

(g) Provides an effective means to agitate the transport 
tank or an approved in-line sampling device in order to 
collect a representative milk sample; and 

(h) Provides a self-draining concrete or equally 
impervious surface on which the transport tank can be 
parked during filling and storage; 

h. Item 6r. Milkhouse or milkroom; cleanliness. Each 
person who holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk 
for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall:  

(1) Keep clean the floors, walls, ceilings, windows, 
tables, shelves, cabinets, wash vats, nonproduct contact 
surfaces of milk containers, utensils, equipment, and 
other milkroom equipment in the milkroom;  

(2) Place in the milkroom only those articles directly 
related to milkroom activities; and  

(3) Keep the milkroom free of trash, animals, and fowl; 

i. Item 7r. Toilets. Each person who holds a grade A 
permit to produce raw milk for pasteurization, ultra-
pasteurization, aseptic processing and packaging, or 
retort processed after packaging shall:  

(1) Provide on the person's grade A dairy farm one or 
more toilets, which shall be conveniently located and 
properly constructed, and operated, and maintained in a 
sanitary manner;  

(2) Prevent the access of flies to the waste contained in or 
from the toilet;  

(3) Prevent the waste contained in or from the toilet from 
polluting the soil surface or contaminating any water 
supply; and  

(4) Assure that there is no direct opening from the toilet 
into any milkroom; 

j. Item 8r. Water supply. Each person who holds a grade 
A permit to produce raw milk for pasteurization, ultra-
pasteurization, aseptic processing and packaging, or 
retort processed after packaging shall:  

(1) Provide water for milkhouse and milking operations 
from a water supply properly located, protected, and 
operated. The water supply shall be easily accessible, 
adequate, of a safe, sanitary quality, and meet the 
construction standards of Appendix D of the "Grade "A" 
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision";  

(2) Construct the water supply so that no cross 
connections between a safe water supply and any unsafe 
or questionable water supply or other source of pollution 
exists; and 

(3) Construct the water supply so that no submerged 
inlets exist through which a safe water supply may be 
contaminated; 

k. Item 9r. Utensils and equipment-construction. Each 
person who holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk 
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for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall:  

(1) Provide multiuse containers, equipment, and utensils 
for use in the handling, storage, or transportation of any 
milk, which multiuse containers, equipment, and utensils, 
shall be made of smooth, nonabsorbent, corrosion-
resistant, and nontoxic materials; constructed as to be 
easily cleaned; and maintained in good repair;  

(2) Provide milk pails that are constructed to be seamless 
and of the hooded type if the grade A permit holder does 
hand milking and stripping;  

(3) Abstain from using multiple-use woven material for 
straining any milk;  

(4) Use only single-service articles that have been 
manufactured, packaged, transported, stored, and handled 
in a sanitary manner and that comply with the 
requirements of subdivision C 1 of this section;  

(5) Abstain from reusing any article intended for single-
service use; and  

(6) Provide farm holding or cooling tanks, welded 
sanitary piping, and transportation tanks that comply with 
the requirements of subdivisions C 1 l and C 1 m of this 
section on any grade A dairy farm;  

l. Item 10r. Utensils and equipment; cleaning. Each 
person who holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk 
for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall:  

(1) Clean after each use, or once every 24 hours in the 
case of continuous operations, the product-contact 
surfaces of all multiuse containers, multiuse equipment, 
and multiuse utensils used in the handling, storage, or 
transportation of any milk;  

(2) Offer for sale or sell no milk that has passed through 
any equipment if the milk-contact surfaces of the 
equipment are no longer visible or are covered or 
partially covered by an accumulation of milk solids, milk 
fat, cleaning compounds, or other soils. Any milk that 
passes through equipment, the milk-contact surfaces of 
which are no longer visible, or are covered or partially 
covered by an accumulation of milk solids, milk fat, 
cleaning compounds, or other soils shall be deemed 
adulterated; and 

(3) Construct a separate wash manifold for all CIP 
cleaned milk pipelines in all new or extensively 
remodeled facilities; 

m. Item 11r. Utensils and equipment; sanitization. Each 
person who holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk 
for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall 
sanitize before each use the product-contact surfaces of 

all multiuse containers, equipment, and utensils used in 
the handling, storage, or transportation of any milk;  

n. Item 12r. Utensils and equipment; storage. Each 
person who holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk 
for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall 
store containers, utensils, and equipment used in the 
handling, storage, or transportation of any milk in a 
sanitizing solution or store the containers, utensils, and 
equipment used in the handling, storage, or transportation 
of any milk to assure complete drainage, and protected 
from contamination prior to use. Nothing in this 
requirement shall be deemed to prohibit a grade A permit 
holder from storing in a milking barn or milking parlor a 
milk pipeline, or the following pipeline milking 
equipment: milker claw, inflation, weigh jar, meter, milk 
hose, milk receiver, tubular cooler, plate cooler, or milk 
pump; if the milk pipeline or pipeline milking equipment 
specified in this subdivision is designed for mechanical 
cleaning; and designed, installed, and operated to protect 
the milk product and solution-contact surfaces from 
contamination at all times;  

o. Item 13r. Milking; flanks, udders, and teats. Each 
person who holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk 
for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall: 

(1) Milk all cows, sheep, goats, water buffalo, and other 
mammals in a milking barn, stable, or parlor; 

(2) Trim the hair from the udder and tail of all milking 
cows, sheep, goats, water buffalo, and other mammals to 
facilitate cleaning of the udder and tail; 

(3) Keep the flanks, udders, bellies, and tails of all 
milking cows, sheep, goats, water buffalo, and other 
mammals free of visible dirt; 

(4) Keep the hair on the udders of all milking cows, 
sheep, goats, water buffalo, and other mammals to a 
length that the hair on the udder of any cow, sheep, goat, 
water buffalo, or other mammal cannot be incorporated 
with the teat in the inflation during milking; 

(5) Abstain from milking any cow, sheep, goat, water 
buffalo, or other mammal whose udder or teats is not 
clean and dry; 

(6) Treat with a sanitizing solution, just prior to milking, 
the teats of each milking cow, sheep, goat, water buffalo, 
and other mammal and dry the teats of each milking cow, 
sheep, goat, water buffalo, and other mammal before 
milking; and 

(7) Milk all cows, sheep, goats, water buffalo, and other 
mammal with dry hands; 
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p. Item 14r. Protection from contamination. Each person 
who holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk for 
pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall: 

(1) Locate and operate the milking and milk house 
operations, equipment, and facilities to prevent any 
contamination of the milk, equipment, containers, or 
utensils; 

(2) Transfer immediately from the milking barn, stable, 
or parlor to the milkhouse each pail or container of milk; 

(3) Strain, pour, transfer, or store any milk unless it is 
protected from contamination;  

(4) Handle all containers, utensils and equipment that 
have been sanitized in such a manner as to prevent 
contamination of any product-contact surfaces; 

(5) Transport from the grade A permit holder's dairy farm 
to a milk plant or receiving station all milk in cans, using 
vehicles that are constructed and operated to protect the 
milk from sun, freezing, and contamination; 

(6) Keep clean the inside and outside of each vehicle 
used to transport from the grade A permit holder's dairy 
farm to a milk plant or receiving station any milk in cans; 
and 

(7) Transport no substance capable of contaminating the 
milk when transporting milk; 

q. Item 15r. Drug and chemical control. Each person who 
holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk for 
pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall: 

(1) Store all drugs and medicinals in such a manner that 
neither the drugs nor the medicinals can contaminate any 
milk or the milk product-contact surface of any 
equipment, containers, or utensils; 

(2) Abstain from using unapproved or improperly labeled 
medicinals or drugs to treat any dairy animals or store 
unapproved or improperly labeled medicinals or drugs in 
the milkhouse, milking barn, stable or parlor. Except for 
topical antiseptics, wound dressings (unless intended for 
direct injection into the teat), vaccines and other 
biologics, and dosage form vitamins and mineral 
products, a drug or medicinal is properly labeled only if 
the drug or medicinal is labeled with the following: 

(a) For over-the-counter medicinals or drugs, the name 
and address of the manufacturer or distributor, or for 
prescription and extra-label use medicinals or drugs, the 
name of the veterinary practitioner dispensing the 
product; 

(b) Directions for use of the drug or medicinal and the 
prescribed holding time; 

(c) Any cautionary statement for the drug or medicinal, if 
needed; and 

(d) The active ingredient or ingredients in the drug or 
medicinal; 

(3) Except for topical antiseptics, wound dressings 
(unless intended for direct injection into the teat), 
vaccines and other biologics, and dosage form vitamins 
and mineral products, segregate all medicinals and drugs 
used for lactating dairy animals from any medicinals and 
drugs used for nonlactating dairy animals to include dairy 
calves, dairy heifers, and dairy bulls; 

(4) Except for topical antiseptics, wound dressings 
(unless intended for direct injection into the teat), 
vaccines and other biologics, and dosage form vitamins 
and mineral products, provide separate shelves in a 
cabinet, refrigerator, or other storage facility for the 
storage of all medicinals and drugs for treatment of 
nonlactating dairy animals, to include dairy calves, dairy 
heifers, and dairy bulls, separate from those medicinals 
or drugs used for lactating dairy animals; and 

(5) Store topical antiseptics, wound dressings (unless 
intended for direct injection into the teat), vaccines and 
other biologics, and dosage-form vitamins and mineral 
products in a manner that does not contaminate any milk 
or the milk-product surfaces of any containers or utensils; 

r. Item 16r. Personnel; hand-washing facilities. Each 
person who holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk 
for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall 
provide hand-washing facilities that are convenient to the 
milkhouse, milking barn, stable, or parlor, and flush toilet 
and that include separate hot and cold running water; 
soap or detergent; and individual sanitary towels or other 
approved hand-drying devices. When individual sanitary 
towels are used, covered trash containers shall be 
provided;  

s. Item 17r. Personnel; cleanliness. Each person who 
holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk for 
pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall:  

(1) Wash clean and dry with an individual sanitary towel 
or other approved hand drying device the person's hands 
immediately before milking, before performing any 
milkhouse function, and immediately after the 
interruption of milking or performing any milkhouse 
function; and  

(2) Wear clean outer garments while milking or handling 
any milk, milk containers, utensils, or equipment. Bulk 
milk haulers shall wear clean outer garments while 
handling any milk, milk containers, utensils, or 
equipment;  
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t. Item 18r. Cooling. Each person who holds a grade A 
permit to produce raw milk for pasteurization, ultra-
pasteurization, aseptic processing and packaging, or 
retort processed after packaging shall:  

(1) Cool to 40°F or cooler (but not freeze) all raw milk 
for pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging within 
two hours after the grade A permit holder completes 
milking and assure that the temperature of the grade A 
permit holder's raw milk is not warmer than 50°F after 
the first milking or any subsequent milking. Raw milk for 
pasteurization that is warmer than a temperature of 50°F 
after the first milking or any subsequent milking shall be 
deemed a public health hazard and shall not be offered 
for sale or sold;  

(2) Assure that circular recording charts are operated 
continuously and maintained in a properly functioning 
manner. Circular charts shall not overlap; and  

(3) Agitate all raw milk for pasteurization for not less 
than five minutes at least once every hour; assure that the 
milk in the farm's bulk milk cooling or holding tank 
covers the agitator paddle sufficiently to facilitate proper 
cooling and sampling after the completion of the first 
milking; and abstain from selling or offering for sale 
milk that does not cover the agitator paddle sufficiently 
to facilitate proper cooling and sampling after the 
completion of the first milking;  

u. Item 19r. Insect and rodent control. Each person who 
holds a grade A permit to produce raw milk for 
pasteurization, ultra-pasteurization, aseptic processing 
and packaging, or retort processed after packaging shall:  

(1) Take effective measures to prevent the contamination 
of any milk, containers, equipment, and utensils by 
insects, rodents, and other animals, and by chemicals 
used to control insects, rodents, and other animals;  

(2) Maintain the milkroom free of insects, rodents and 
other animals;  

(3) Keep the areas surrounding the milkhouse; milking 
barn; milking stable; milking parlor; cattle, sheep, water 
buffalo, other mammal, or goat housing; cattle, sheep, 
water buffalo, other mammal, or goat loafing area; water 
supply; or other facilities on the grade A permit holder's 
dairy farm neat, clean, and free of conditions that might 
harbor or be conducive to the breeding of insects and 
rodents; and 

(4) Store all feed in such a manner that the feed will not 
attract birds, rodents, or insects. 

C. Sanitation requirements for grade A pasteurized, ultra-
pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or retort 
processed after packaged milk or milk products.  

1. Each person who holds a grade A permit to produce 
grade A pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, aseptically 
processed and packaged, or retort processed after packaged 
milk or milk products shall comply with:  

a. The following administrative procedures contained in 
the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 
Revision": Section 7, Items 1p, 2p, 3p, 4p, 5p, 6p, 7p, 8p, 
9p, 10p, 11p, 12p, 13p, 14p, 15p, 16p, 17p, 18p, 19p, 
20p, 21p, and 22p (provided in the case of milk plants or 
portions of milk plants that are IMS Listed to produce 
aseptically processed and packaged milk or milk 
products, the APPS or RPPS, respectively, as defined in 
the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 
Revision," shall be exempt from Items 7p, 10p, 11p, 12p, 
13p, 15p, 16p, 17p, 18p, and 19p of the "Grade "A" 
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision" and shall 
comply with the applicable portions of 21 CFR Parts 108, 
110, and 113); Section 13; and Section 14; 

b. The following appendices contained in the "Grade "A" 
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision": 
Appendices D, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, N, O, R, and S; 

c. Item 1p. Floors; construction. Each person who holds a 
grade A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-
pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or retort 
processed after packaged milk or milk products shall:  

(1) Except as specified in subdivision C 1 c (2) of this 
section, provide floors for all rooms in which milk or 
milk products are processed, handled, packaged, or 
stored, or in which milk containers, equipment, or 
utensils are washed, constructed of concrete or other 
equally impervious and easily cleaned material and that 
are smooth, properly sloped, provided with trapped 
drains, and kept in good repair;  

(2) The floor in any cold-storage room used for storing 
milk and milk products need not be provided with floor 
drains if the floors are sloped to drain to one or more 
exits from the cold-storage room. The floor in any 
storage room used for storing dry ingredients or 
packaging materials need not be provided with drains, 
and the floor in any storage room used for storing dry 
ingredients or packaging materials may be constructed of 
tightly joined wood;  

d. Item 2p. Walls and ceilings; construction. Each person 
who holds a grade A permit to produce grade A 
pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, aseptically processed and 
packaged, or retort processed after packaged milk or milk 
products shall provide walls and ceilings of rooms in 
which milk or milk products are handled, processed, 
packaged, or stored, or in which milk containers, utensils, 
or equipment are washed, that have a smooth, washable, 
light-colored surface, and that are in good repair;  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations May 27, 2019 

2326 

e. Item 3p. Doors and windows. Each person who holds a 
grade A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-
pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or retort 
processed after packaged milk or milk products shall 
provide:  

(1) Effective means to prevent the access of insects and 
rodents to any part of a milk plant, receiving station, or 
transfer station; and  

(2) Solid doors or glazed windows for all openings to the 
outside of any milk plant, receiving station, or transfer 
station and keep the doors and windows closed during 
dusty weather;  

f. Item 4p. Lighting and ventilation. Each person who 
holds a grade A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, 
ultra-pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or 
retort processed after packaged milk or milk products 
shall provide rooms in which any milk or milk products 
are handled, processed, packaged, or stored, or in which 
any milk containers, equipment, or utensils are washed, 
that are well lighted and well ventilated;  

g. Item 5p. Separate rooms. Each person who holds a 
grade A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-
pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or retort 
processed after packaged milk or milk products shall:  

(1) Provide separate rooms for: (i) pasteurizing, 
processing, cooling, reconstituting, condensing, drying, 
and packaging of milk, dry milk, and milk products; (ii) 
cleaning milk cans, containers, bottles, cases, and dry 
milk or dry milk product containers; (iii) the fabrication 
of containers and closures for milk and milk products, 
except for aseptically processed and packaged milk and 
milk products, or retort processed after packaging milk 
and milk products in which the containers and closures 
are fabricated within the APPS or RPPS, respectively; 
(iv) cleaning and sanitizing facilities for bulk milk 
transport tanks if the grade A permit holder receives any 
milk or milk product in bulk milk transport tanks; and (v) 
receiving cans of milk and milk products separate from 
clauses (i), (ii) and (iii) of this subdivision, unless all of 
the grade A permit holder's milk or milk products are 
received in bulk milk transport tanks;  

(2) Not use any room with a direct opening into any 
stable or room used for domestic purposes to handle, 
process, or store any milk or milk products or to wash or 
store any milk containers, utensils, or equipment;  

(3) Use rooms of sufficient size so as not to be crowded 
to handle, process, or store any milk or milk products or 
to wash or store any milk containers, utensils, or 
equipment; and 

(4) Provide designated areas or rooms for the receiving, 
handling, and storage of returned packaged milk and 

milk products if the permit holder receives any returned 
packaged milk or milk products; 

h. Item 6p. Toilet-sewage disposal facilities. Each person 
who holds a grade A permit to produce grade A 
pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, aseptically processed and 
packaged, or retort processed after packaged milk or milk 
products shall provide each milk plant with toilet 
facilities conforming with the regulations of the 
Commonwealth and the following requirements: no toilet 
room may open directly into any room in which milk or 
milk products are processed; the toilet room shall be 
completely enclosed and shall have tight-fitting, self-
closing doors; the dressing room, toilet room, and 
fixtures shall be kept in a clean condition, in good repair, 
and shall be well ventilated and well lighted; and sewage 
and other liquid wastes from the toilet room shall be 
disposed of in a sanitary manner;  

i. Item 7p. Water supply. Each person who holds a grade 
A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-
pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or retort 
processed after packaged milk or milk products shall:  

(1) Provide water for each milk plant from a supply that 
is properly located, protected, and operated; and  

(2) Provide water from a supply that is easily accessible 
for inspection by the State Regulatory Authority, 
adequate, and of a safe, sanitary quality;  

j. Item 8p. Hand-washing facilities. Each person who 
holds a grade A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, 
ultra-pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or 
retort processed after packaged milk or milk products 
shall:  

(1) Provide hand-washing facilities, including separate 
hot and cold running water, mix valve, soap, and 
individual sanitary towels or other approved hand-drying 
devices, convenient in any area where milk or milk 
products are handled, processed, or stored, and any area 
where containers, utensils, or equipment, are washed or 
stored; and  

(2) Keep the hand-washing facilities clean and in good 
repair;  

k. Item 9p. Milk plant cleanliness. Each person who 
holds a grade A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, 
ultra-pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or 
retort processed after packaged milk or milk products 
shall:  

(1) Keep clean, neat, and free of any evidence of animals, 
insects, or rodents all rooms in which milk or milk 
products are handled, processed, or stored or in which 
containers, utensils, or equipment are washed or stored; 
and 
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(2) Permit only equipment directly related to processing 
operations or to the handling of containers, utensils, and 
equipment, in pasteurizing, processing, cooling, 
condensing, drying, packaging, bulk milk, or milk 
product storage rooms;  

l. Item 10p. Sanitary piping. Each person who holds a 
grade A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-
pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or retort 
processed after packaged milk or milk products shall:  

(1) Use only sanitary piping, fittings, and connections 
consisting of smooth, impervious corrosion-resistant, 
nontoxic, easily cleanable materials that are exposed to 
any milk or milk products, or from which liquids may 
drip, drain, or be drawn into any milk or milk products;  

(2) Keep all piping in good repair;  

(3) Except as specified in subdivision 1 l of this 
subsection, use only sanitary piping to transfer any 
pasteurized or ultra-pasteurized milk or milk products 
from one piece of equipment to another piece of 
equipment; and  

(4) Transport cottage cheese, cheese dressings, or cheese 
ingredients by methods that protect the product from 
contamination;  

m. Item 11p. Construction and repair of containers and 
equipment. Each person who holds a grade A permit to 
produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, 
aseptically processed and packaged, or retort processed 
after packaged milk or milk products shall:  

(1) Use only multiuse containers and equipment, that 
may come in contact with any milk or milk products 
constructed of smooth, impervious, corrosion-resistant, 
and nontoxic materials; constructed for ease of cleaning; 
and kept in good repair;  

(2) Use only single-service containers, closures, gaskets, 
and other articles that may come in contact with any milk 
or milk products that are nontoxic and have been 
manufactured, packaged, transported, and handled in a 
sanitary manner;  

(3) Abstain from using more than once any articles 
intended for single-service use; and  

(4) Use only single-service containers, closures, caps, 
gaskets, and similar articles manufactured, packed, 
transported, and handled in a manner that complies with 
the requirements of Appendix J, "Standards for the 
Fabrication of Single-Service Containers and Closures 
for Milk and Milk Products" contained in the "Grade "A" 
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision"; 

n. Item 12p. Cleaning and sanitizing of containers and 
equipment. Each person who holds a grade A permit to 
produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, 

aseptically processed and packaged, or retort processed 
after packaged milk or milk products shall:  

(1) Effectively clean and sanitize before each use the 
product-contact surfaces of all multiuse containers and 
equipment, utensils, and equipment used in the 
transportation, processing, handling, and storage of any 
milk or milk products;  

(2) Use only multiuse containers for packaging 
pasteurized milk and milk products that comply with the 
following: (i) the residual bacteria count on multiuse 
containers may not exceed one per milliliter of capacity 
when the rinse test is used, or the residual bacteria count 
on multiuse containers shall not exceed 50 colonies per 
eight square inches (one per square centimeter) of 
product-contact surface when the swab test is used; in 
three-out-of-four samples taken at random on a given 
day; and (ii) all multiuse containers shall be free of 
coliform organisms; and  

(3) Use only single-service containers for packaging 
pasteurized milk and milk products that comply with the 
following: (i) the residual bacteria count of single-service 
containers shall not exceed 50 per container when the 
rinse test is used, except that in containers less than 100 
milliliters, the count shall not exceed 10, or the residual 
bacteria count of single-service containers shall not 
exceed 50 colonies per eight square inches (one per 
square centimeter) of product contact surface when the 
swab test is used; in three-out-of-four samples taken at 
random on a given day; and (ii) all single-service 
containers shall be free of coliform organisms;  

o. Item 13p. Storage of cleaned containers and 
equipment. Each person who holds a grade A permit to 
produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, 
aseptically processed and packaged, or retort processed 
after packaged milk or milk products, shall after cleaning 
any multiuse milk or milk product containers, utensils, or 
equipment, transport or store the multiuse milk or milk 
product containers, utensils, or equipment in a manner 
that assures complete drainage and in a manner that 
protects the multiuse milk or milk product containers, 
utensils, or equipment from contamination before use;  

p. Item 14p. Storage of single-service containers, 
utensils, and materials. Each person who holds a grade A 
permit to produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, 
aseptically processed and packaged, or retort processed 
after packaged milk or milk products shall:  

(1) Purchase all single-service caps, cap stock, parchment 
paper, containers, gaskets, and other single-service 
articles for use in contact with milk or milk products in 
sanitary tubes, wrappings, or cartons;  

(2) Store in a clean dry place until used, single-service 
caps, cap stock, parchment paper, containers, gaskets, 
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and other single-service articles for use in contact with 
milk or milk products;  

(3) Store single-service caps, cap stock, parchment paper, 
containers, gaskets, and other single-service articles for 
use in contact with milk or milk products in sanitary 
tubes, wrappings, or cartons; and  

(4) Handle single-service caps, cap stock, parchment 
paper, containers, gaskets, and other single-service 
articles for use in contact with milk or milk products in a 
sanitary manner;  

q. Item 15p. Protection from contamination. Each person 
who holds a grade A permit to produce grade A 
pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, aseptically processed and 
packaged, or retort processed after packaged milk or milk 
products shall:  

(1) Locate the person's equipment and facilities and 
conduct milk plant operations to prevent any 
contamination of any milk or milk products, ingredients, 
equipment, containers, or utensils;  

(2) Discard all milk, milk products, or ingredients that 
have been spilled, overflowed, or leaked;  

(3) Perform the processing and handling of products 
other than grade A milk and milk products in the person's 
milk plant to preclude the contamination of any grade A 
milk or milk products;  

(4) Store, handle, or use any poisonous or toxic material 
to preclude the contamination of any milk, milk product, 
or ingredient and the milk product contact surfaces of all 
equipment, containers, or utensils; and  

(5) Clean, prior to use, all multiuse cases used to encase 
packaged milk or milk product containers;  

r. Item 16p. Pasteurization and ultra-pasteurization. Each 
person who holds a grade A permit to produce grade A 
pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, aseptically processed and 
packaged, or retort processed after packaged milk or milk 
products shall: 

(1) Perform pasteurization or ultra-pasteurization as 
defined in 2VAC5-490-10, and Item 16p of the "Grade 
"A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision"; and 

(2) Perform aseptic processing and packaging and retort 
processed after packaging in accordance with the 
applicable requirements of 21 CFR Parts 108, 110, and 
113; 

s. Item 17p. Cooling of milk. Each person who holds a 
grade A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-
pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or retort 
processed after packaged milk or milk products shall:  

(1) Maintain all raw milk and milk products at a 
temperature of 45°F or cooler, but not frozen, until 
processed;  

(2) Maintain all whey and whey products for condensing, 
drying, or condensing and drying at a temperature of 
45°F (7°C) or cooler; or 135°F (57°C) or greater until 
processed, except that acid-type whey with a titratable 
acidity of 0.40% or above, or a pH of 4.6 or below, is 
exempted from these temperature requirements; 

(3) Completely empty and clean the tanks and vessels 
used to blend and hold all milk or milk product flavoring 
slurries that contain milk and milk products after each 
four hours of operation or less if such tanks are not 
intended to be injected within a HTST pasteurization 
system as part of a liquid ingredient injection system as 
outlined in Appendix H of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized 
Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision" or unless the slurry is 
stored at a temperature of 45°F (7°C) or cooler, or at a 
temperature of 150°F (66°C) or greater and maintained 
thereat; 

(4) Immediately cool, except for the following milk or 
milk products, all pasteurized or ultra-pasteurized milk or 
milk products prior to filling or packaging in approved 
cooling equipment to a temperature of 45°F or cooler, 
but not frozen, unless drying is commenced immediately 
after condensing: 

(a) Those milk or milk products to be cultured; 

(b) Cultured sour cream at all milkfat levels with a pH of 
4.70 or below; 

(c) Acidified sour cream at all milkfat levels with a pH of 
4.60 or below; 

(d) All yogurt products at all milkfat levels with an initial 
pH of 4.80 or below at filling; 

(e) Cultured buttermilk at all milkfat levels with a pH of 
4.60 or below;  

(f) All condensed whey and whey products shall be 
cooled during the crystallization process to 50°F (10°C) 
or less within 72 hours of condensing, including the 
filling and emptying time, unless filling occurs above 
135°F (57°C), in which case, the 72-hour time period 
begins when cooling started; and 

(g) All cultured cottage cheese at all milkfat levels with a 
pH of 5.2 or below shall be cooled as per specifications 
of Item 17p (6a-6e) of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 
Ordinance, 2013 Revision"; 

(5) Store, transport, and deliver at a temperature of 45°F 
or cooler, but not frozen, all pasteurized or ultra-
pasteurized milk or milk products with the following 
exceptions: 
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(a) Cultured sour cream at all milkfat levels with a pH of 
4.70 or below shall be cooled to 45°F (7°C) or cooler 
within 168 hours of filling; 

(b) Acidified sour cream at all milkfat levels with a pH of 
4.60 or below shall be cooled to 45°F (7°C) or cooler 
within 168 hours of filling; 

(c) All yogurt products at all milkfat levels with an initial 
pH of 4.80 or below at filling and with a subsequent pH 
of 4.60 or below within 24 hours after filling shall be 
cooled to 45°F (7°C) or cooler within 96 hours after 
filling;  

(d) Cultured buttermilk at all milkfat levels with a pH of 
4.60 or below shall be cooled to 45°F (7°C) or cooler 
within 24 hours after filling; and 

(e) Cultured cottage cheese at all milkfat levels with a pH 
of 5.2 or below shall be stored as per specifications of 
item 17p (5a-5d) of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 
Ordinance, 2013 Revision"; 

(6) Store all pasteurized milk and milk products to be 
condensed, dried, or condensed and dried at a 
temperature of 50°F (10°C) or cooler until further 
processed; 

(7) Equip with an accurate indicating thermometer each 
of the rooms or tanks in which any milk, milk products, 
whey, or whey products are stored;  

(8) Maintain the temperature on delivery vehicles of milk 
and milk products at 45°F (7°C) or cooler. Aseptically 
processed and packaged milk and milk products and 
retort processed after packaged milk and milk products to 
be packaged in hermetically sealed containers shall be 
exempt from the cooling requirements of this item; and 

(9) Provide ready access at the plant to cleaning records 
and product storage temperature records stored 
electronically for review by the State Regulatory 
Authority. Electronic records of cleaning shall comply 
with the applicable provisions of Appendix H, Sections 
IV and V of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 
2013 Revision";  

t. Item 18p. Bottling and packaging. Each person who 
holds a grade A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, 
ultra-pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or 
retort processed after packaged milk or milk products 
shall:  

(1) Bottle or package all milk or milk products at the 
place of pasteurization in the grade A permit holder's 
milk plant and in approved mechanical equipment;  

(2) Package and store in a sanitary manner all dry milk 
products in new containers, which protect the contents 
from contamination; and 

(3) Transport and store in a sanitary manner all 
condensed and dry milk products in sealed containers 
from one milk plant to another milk plant for further 
processing or packaging;  

u. Item 19p. Capping. Each person who holds a grade A 
permit to produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, 
aseptically processed and packaged, or retort processed 
after packaged milk or milk products shall:  

(1) Cap or close all milk or milk product containers in a 
sanitary manner by use of approved mechanical capping 
or closing and sealing equipment; and  

(2) Use only caps or closures for all milk or milk 
products that protect the pouring lip of a milk or milk 
product container to at least its largest diameter and, use 
with respect to fluid product containers, only caps or 
closures that the removal of the cap or closure cannot be 
made without detection;  

v. Item 20p. Personnel; cleanliness. No person who holds 
a grade A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-
pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or retort 
processed after packaged milk or milk products shall:  

(1) Permit any person in a milk plant to commence any 
plant function before the person has thoroughly washed 
the person's hands to remove soil and contamination or to 
permit any person in a milk plant to continue any plant 
function if the person's hands are not clean;  

(2) Permit any person in a milk plant to resume work 
after the person has visited the toilet room before the 
person has thoroughly washed the person's hands;  

(3) Permit any person in a milk plant to engage in the 
processing, pasteurization, handling, storage, or 
transportation of any milk, milk products, containers, 
equipment or utensils, unless the person is wearing clean 
outer garments;  

(4) Permit any person in a milk plant to engage in the 
processing of any milk or milk products unless the 
person wears adequate hair covering; or  

(5) Permit any person in a milk plant to engage in the 
processing of any milk or milk products if the person is 
using tobacco;  

w. Item 21p. Vehicles. Each person who holds a grade A 
permit to produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, 
aseptically processed and packaged, or retort processed 
after packaged milk or milk products shall use vehicles to 
transport pasteurized and ultra-pasteurized milk and milk 
products that are constructed and operated so that the 
milk or milk products are maintained at a temperature of 
45°F or cooler, but not frozen, and protected from 
sunlight, from freezing, and from contamination;  
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x. Item 22p. Surroundings. Each person who holds a 
grade A permit to produce grade A pasteurized, ultra-
pasteurized, aseptically processed and packaged, or retort 
processed after packaged milk or milk products shall 
keep neat, clean, and free from conditions that might 
attract or harbor flies, other insects, rodents, or other 
pests that otherwise constitute a nuisance, the area 
surrounding any milk plant;  

y. Each grade A permit holder's receiving station shall 
comply with subdivisions C 1 a through q of this section, 
inclusive, and subdivisions C 1 s, v, and x of this section, 
except that the partitioning requirement of subdivision C 
1 g of this section shall not be deemed to apply;  

z. Each grade A permit holder's transfer station shall 
comply with subdivisions C 1 c, f, h through n, p, q, s, v, 
and x of this section, and as climatic and operating 
conditions require, the provisions of subdivisions C 1 d 
and e of this section; except that each person shall 
provide overhead protection for a transfer station; and 

a1. Each grade A permit holder's facilities for the 
cleaning and sanitizing of bulk tanks that transport milk 
and milk products shall comply with subdivisions C 1 a, 
f, h through n, p, q, v, and x of this section, and as 
climatic and operating conditions require, the provisions 
of subdivisions C 1 d and e of this section except that 
each grade A permit holder shall provide overhead 
protection for facilities for the cleaning and sanitizing of 
bulk tanks which transport milk and milk products in the 
grade A permit holder's milk plant, receiving station, or 
transfer station. 

D. Minimum facilities requirements for milk processing 
plant. Each person who holds a grade A permit to produce 
grade A pasteurized, ultra-pasteurized, aseptically processed 
and packaged, or retort processed after packaging milk or 
milk products shall: 

1. Provide a separate receiving room meeting the 
requirements of subdivision C 1 y of this section from any 
other area of the plant for the receipt of milk or milk 
products in bulk if the plant receives any milk or milk 
products in bulk; 

2. Provide cleaning and sanitizing facilities for milk tank 
trucks as part of the plant's receiving room facilities if the 
plant receives any milk or milk products in bulk; 

3. Provide a separate receiving room from any other area 
of the plant for the receipt of milk or milk product in cans 
or other containers if the plant receives any milk or milk 
product in cans or other containers; 

4. Provide a separate room from any other area of the plant 
for the cleaning of milk cans or containers, bottles, milk 
cases, and dry milk or milk product containers if the plant 

receives any milk in cans or containers or washes any 
bottles, milk cases, or dry milk or milk product containers; 

5. Provide a separate room for the fabrication of containers 
and closures for milk and milk products if the plant 
fabricates any containers or closures; 

6. Provide a separate room for the packaging of dry milk or 
milk products if the plant packages any dry milk or milk 
product; and 

7. Provide separate rooms from any other area of the plant 
for each of the following operations performed on any 
milk, milk product, or condensed and dry milk product: (i) 
pasteurization; (ii) processing; (iii) cooling; (iv) 
reconstitution; (v) condensing; (vi) drying; and (vii) 
packaging, if the operation is performed in the plant. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-34; Filed May 6, 2019, 4:35 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
or the appropriation act where no agency discretion is 
involved. The Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 
(amending 3VAC5-50-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal Liaison, 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 
Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-
4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-
watkins@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 706 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendments provide that the Board of Directors of the 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority may suspend the 
privilege of a mixed beverage licensee to purchase spirits 
from the board if the licensee fails to submit records or 
other documents necessary to verify the licensee's 
compliance with applicable minimum food sale 
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requirements within 30 days of the date such records or 
documents are due.  

3VAC5-50-60. Procedures for mixed Mixed beverage 
licensees generally; mixed beverage restaurant licensees; 
sales of spirits in closed containers; suspension of 
purchase privileges.  

A. No mixed beverage restaurant or carrier licensee shall:  

1. Serve as one drink the entire contents of a container of 
spirits in its original container for on-premises 
consumption except as provided by subsections C, D, and 
E of this section.  

2. Sell any mixed beverage to which alcohol has been 
added.  

B. No mixed beverage restaurant licensee shall:  

1. Allow to be kept upon the licensed premises any 
container of alcoholic beverages of a type authorized to be 
purchased under his license that does not bear the required 
mixed beverage stamp imprinted with his license number 
and purchase report number.  

2. Use in the preparation of a mixed beverage any 
alcoholic beverage not purchased from the board or a 
wholesale wine licensee.  

3. Fail to obliterate the mixed beverage stamp immediately 
when any container of spirits is emptied.  

4. Allow any patron to possess more than two drinks of 
mixed beverages at any one time, except that a mixed 
beverage licensee may sell to a patron who may lawfully 
purchase mixed beverages a flight of distilled spirits 
products consisting of samples of not more than five 
different spirits products. Each distilled spirits product 
shall contain no more than one-half ounce of distilled 
spirits.  

C. If a restaurant for which a mixed beverage restaurant 
license has been issued under § 4.1-210 of the Code of 
Virginia is located on the premises of a hotel or motel, 
whether the hotel or motel be under the same or different 
ownership, sales of mixed beverages, including sales of 
spirits packaged in original closed containers purchased from 
the board, as well as other alcoholic beverages, for 
consumption in bedrooms and private rooms of such hotel or 
motel, may be made by the licensee subject to the following 
conditions in addition to other applicable laws:  

1. Spirits sold by the drink as mixed beverages or in 
original closed containers must have been purchased under 
the mixed beverage restaurant license upon purchase forms 
provided by the board;  

2. Delivery of sales of mixed beverages and spirits in 
original closed containers shall be made only in the 
bedroom of the registered guest or to the sponsoring group 

in the private room of a scheduled function. This section 
shall not be construed to prohibit a licensee catering a 
scheduled private function from delivering mixed beverage 
drinks to guests in attendance at such function;  

3. Receipts from the sale of mixed beverages and spirits 
sold in original closed containers, as well as other alcoholic 
beverages, shall be included in the gross receipts from 
sales of all such merchandise made by the licensee; and  

4. Complete and accurate records of sales of mixed 
beverages and sales of spirits in original closed containers 
to registered guests in bedrooms and to sponsors of 
scheduled private functions in private rooms shall be kept 
separate and apart from records of all mixed beverage 
sales.  

D. Carrier licensees may serve miniatures not in excess of 
two fluid ounces or 50 milliliters, in their original containers, 
for on-premises consumption.  

E. A mixed beverage restaurant may serve as one drink the 
entire contents of a container of soju in its original container 
for on-premises consumption under the following conditions:  

1. The container may be no larger than 375 milliliters.  

2. Each container of soju served must be served for 
consumption by at least two patrons legally eligible to 
consume alcoholic beverages.  

F. A mixed beverage restaurant licensee may infuse, store, 
and sell flavored distilled spirits under the following 
circumstances:  

1. If infused in the original spirits container, the mixed 
beverage stamp must remain affixed to the bottle. 

2. If infused in a container other than the original spirits 
container, the substitute container, which shall not exceed 
20 liters in volume, will be labeled with the following 
information:  

a. Date of infusion; 

b. Brand of spirits; and 

c. Amount of spirits used. 

3. Accurate records must be kept by the mixed beverage 
licensee as to the spirits used in any spirits infusion 
process. 

4. Licensees infusing distilled spirits shall comply with all 
applicable state and federal food safety regulations. 

G. Mixed beverage licensees may premix containers of 
sangria and other mixed beverages and serve such alcoholic 
beverages in pitchers subject to the following limitations: 

1. Pitchers of mixed beverages may only be sold in 
containers with a maximum capacity of 32 fluid ounces or 
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one liter if the container is in metric size containing a 
spirits product mixed with nonalcoholic beverages. 

2. A pitcher of mixed beverages may only be served to two 
or more patrons. A licensee shall not allow any two patrons 
to possess more than one pitcher at any one time. 

3. Containers of premixed sangria and other mixed 
beverages must be labeled as to the type of mixed beverage 
and the quantities of the products used to produce the 
mixed beverage. 

H. The board may suspend the privilege of a mixed 
beverage licensee to purchase spirits from the board upon 
such licensee's failure to submit any records or other 
documents necessary to verify the licensee's compliance with 
applicable minimum food sale requirements within 30 days of 
the date such records or documents are due. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5972; Filed May 1, 2019, 9:43 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 
Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-140. Regulation for Emissions 
Trading Programs (adding 9VAC5-140-6010 through 
9VAC5-140-6440).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1308 and 10.1-1322.3 of the 
Code of Virginia; §§ 108, 109, 110, and 302 of the Clean Air 
Act; 40 CFR Part 51. 

Effective Date: June 26, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4426, FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 
karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action establishes the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading 
Program. The regulation includes provisions to (i) 
implement a declining cap on carbon emissions and 
establish an allowance that will be issued for each ton of 
carbon emitted by an electricity generating facility, which 
can then decide whether to reduce carbon emissions and 
sell the resulting additional allowances or not reduce 
carbon emissions and make up the difference with 
purchased allowances; (ii) establish a consignment 
auction as the mechanism for determining the cost of 
allowances; (iii) provide cost containment reserve 
allowances and emission containment reserve allowances 
to ensure market stability; (iv) implement monitoring, 
recording, and recordkeeping requirements; and (v) 

allocate conditional allowances to the Department of 
Mines, Minerals and Energy. 

Amendments since publication of the revised proposed 
regulation in 35:12 VA.R. 1404-1438 February 4, 2019, 
include (i) modifying several definitions, (ii) adding a 
section to address program implementation, (iii) modifying 
9VAC5-140-6040 and 9VAC5-140-6050 regarding 
applicability, (iv) removing 2031–2040 budget reductions 
from 9VAC5-140-6190, and (v) providing that post-2031 
base budgets may be modified as a result of program 
review and regulatory action. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part VII 
CO2 Budget Trading Program 

Article 1 
CO2 Budget Trading Program General Provisions 

9VAC5-140-6010. Purpose. 

This part establishes the Virginia component of the CO2 
Budget Trading Program, which is designed to reduce 
anthropogenic emissions of CO2, a greenhouse gas, from CO2 
budget sources in an economically efficient manner a manner 
that is protective of human health and the environment and is 
economically efficient. 

9VAC5-140-6020. Definitions. 

A. As used in this part, all words or terms not defined here 
shall have the meanings given them in 9VAC5-10 (General 
Definitions), unless otherwise required by the context. 

B. For the purpose of this part and any related use, the words 
or terms shall have the meanings given them in this section. 

C. Terms defined. 

"Account number" means the identification number given 
by the department or its agent to each COATS account.  

"Acid rain emission limitation" means, as defined in 
40 CFR 72.2, a limitation on emissions of sulfur dioxide 
(SO2) or nitrogen oxides (NOX) under the Acid Rain 
Program under Title IV of the CAA. 

"Acid Rain Program" means a multistate SO2 and NOX air 
pollution control and emission reduction program 
established by the administrator under Title IV of the CAA 
and 40 CFR Parts 72 through 78. 

"Adjustment for banked allowances" means an adjustment 
applied to the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base 
budget for allocation years 2021 through 2025 to address 
allowances held in general and compliance accounts, 
including compliance accounts established pursuant to the 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol35/iss12/v35i12.pdf
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CO2 Budget Trading Program, but not including accounts 
opened by participating states, that are in addition to the 
aggregate quantity of emissions from all CO2 budget 
sources in all of the participating states at the end of the 
[ initial ] control period in 2020 and as reflected in the CO2 
Allowance Tracking System on March [ 17 15 ], 2021. 

"Administrator" means the administrator of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency or the administrator's 
authorized representative. 

"Allocate" or "allocation" means the determination by the 
department of the number of [ CO2 ] conditional 
allowances [ allocated to a CO2 budget unit recorded in the 
conditional allowance account of a CO2 budget unit ] or to 
the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME) 
pursuant to 9VAC5-140-6211. 

"Allocation year" means a calendar year for which the 
department allocates [ CO2 ] conditional allowances 
pursuant to Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this 
part. The allocation year of each [ CO2 ] conditional 
allowance is reflected in the unique identification number 
given to the allowance pursuant to 9VAC5-140-6250 C. 

"Allowance" means an allowance up to one ton of CO2 
purchased from the consignment auction in accordance 
with Article 9 (9VAC5-140-6410 et seq.) of this part and 
that may be deposited in the compliance account of a CO2 
budget source.  

"Allowance auction" or "auction" means an auction in 
which the department or its agent offers [ CO2 conditional ] 
allowances for sale. 

"Alternate CO2 authorized account representative" means, 
for a CO2 budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the 
source, the alternate natural person who is authorized by 
the owners and operators of the source and all CO2 budget 
units at the source, in accordance with Article 2 (9VAC5-
140-6080 et seq.) of this part, to represent and legally bind 
each owner and operator in matters pertaining to the CO2 
Budget Trading Program or, for a general account, the 
alternate natural person who is authorized, under Article 6 
(9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) of this part, to transfer or 
otherwise dispose of CO2 allowances held in the general 
account. If the CO2 budget source is also subject to the 
Acid Rain Program, CSAPR NOX Annual Trading 
Program, CSAPR NOX Ozone Season Trading Program, 
CSAPR SO2 Group 1 Trading Program, or CSAPR SO2 
Group 2 Trading Program then, for a CO2 Budget Trading 
Program compliance account, this alternate natural person 
shall be the same person as the alternate designated 
representative as defined in the respective program. 

"Attribute" means a characteristic associated with 
electricity generated using a particular renewable fuel, such 
as its generation date, facility geographic location, unit 
vintage, emissions output, fuel, state program eligibility, or 

other characteristic that can be identified, accounted for, 
and tracked. 

"Attribute credit" means a credit that represents the 
attributes related to one megawatt-hour of electricity 
generation. 

"Automated Data Acquisition and Handling System" or 
"DAHS" means that component of the Continuous 
Emissions Monitoring System (CEMS), or other emissions 
monitoring system approved for use under Article 8 
(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part, designed to 
interpret and convert individual output signals from 
pollutant concentration monitors, flow monitors, diluent 
gas monitors, and other component parts of the monitoring 
system to produce a continuous record of the measured 
parameters in the measurement units required by Article 8 
(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

"Billing meter" means a measurement device used to 
measure electric or thermal output for commercial billing 
under a contract. The facility selling the electric or thermal 
output shall have different owners from the owners of the 
party purchasing the electric or thermal output. 

"Boiler" means an enclosed fossil or other fuel-fired 
combustion device used to produce heat and to transfer 
heat to recirculating water, steam, or other medium. 

"CO2 allowance" means a limited authorization by the 
department or another participating state under the CO2 
Budget Trading Program to emit up to one ton of CO2, 
subject to all applicable limitations contained in this part. 
CO2 offset allowances generated by other participating 
states will be recognized by the department. 

"CO2 allowance deduction" or "deduct CO2 allowances" 
means the permanent withdrawal of CO2 allowances by the 
department or its agent from a COATS compliance account 
to account for the number of tons of CO2 emitted from a 
CO2 budget source for the [ initial control period, ] a 
control period [ , ] or an interim control period [ , ] 
determined in accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-
6330 et seq.) of this part, or for the forfeit or retirement of 
CO2 allowances as provided by this part. 

"CO2 Allowance Tracking System" or "COATS" means 
the system by which the department or its agent records 
allocations, deductions, and transfers of CO2 allowances 
under the CO2 Budget Trading Program. The tracking 
system may also be used to track CO2 allowance prices and 
emissions from affected sources. 

"CO2 Allowance Tracking System account" means an 
account in COATS established by the department or its 
agent for purposes of recording the allocation, holding, 
transferring, or deducting of CO2 allowances. 

"CO2 allowance transfer deadline" means midnight of 
March 1 occurring after the end of the [ relevant initial 
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control period, the ] control period [ , ] and each 
[ relevant ] interim control period [ , ] or [ , ] if that March 
1 is not a business day, midnight of the first business day 
thereafter and is the deadline by which CO2 allowances 
shall be submitted for recordation in a CO2 budget source's 
compliance account for the source to meet the CO2 
requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C for the [ initial 
control period, a ] control period [ , ] and each interim 
control period immediately preceding such deadline. 

"CO2 allowances held" or "hold CO2 allowances" means 
the CO2 allowances recorded by the department or its 
agent, or submitted to the department or its agent for 
recordation, in accordance with Article 6 (9VAC5-140-
6220 et seq.) and Article 7 (9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of 
this part, in a COATS account. 

"CO2 authorized account representative" means, for a CO2 
budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the source, the 
natural person who is authorized by the owners and 
operators of the source and all CO2 budget units at the 
source, in accordance with Article 2 (9VAC5-140-6080 et 
seq.) of this part, to represent and legally bind each owner 
and operator in matters pertaining to the CO2 Budget 
Trading Program or, for a general account, the natural 
person who is authorized, under Article 6 (9VAC5-140-
6220 et seq.) of this part, to transfer or otherwise dispose 
of CO2 allowances held in the general account. If the CO2 
budget source is also subject to the Acid Rain Program, 
CSAPR NOX Annual Trading Program, CSAPR NOX 
Ozone Season Trading Program, CSAPR SO2 Group 1 
Trading Program, or CSAPR SO2 Group 2 Trading 
Program, then for a CO2 Budget Trading Program 
compliance account, this natural person shall be the same 
person as the designated representative as defined in the 
respective program. 

"CO2 authorized alternate account representative" means, 
for a CO2 budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the 
source, the alternate natural person who is authorized by 
the owners and operators of the source and all CO2 budget 
units at the source, in accordance with Article 2 (9VAC5-
140-6080 et seq.) of this part, to represent and legally bind 
each owner and operator in matters pertaining to the CO2 
Budget Trading Program or, for a general account, the 
alternate natural person who is authorized, under Article 6 
(9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) of this part, to transfer or 
otherwise dispose of CO2 allowances held in the general 
account. If the CO2 budget source is also subject to the 
Acid Rain Program, CSAPR NOX Annual Trading 
Program, CSAPR NOX Ozone Season Trading Program, 
CSAPR SO2 Group 1 Trading Program, or CSAPR SO2 
Group 2 Trading Program then, for a CO2 Budget Trading 
Program compliance account, this alternate natural person 
shall be the same person as the alternate designated 
representative as defined in the respective program. 

"CO2 budget emissions limitation" means, for a CO2 
budget source, the tonnage equivalent, in CO2 emissions in 
[ the initial control period, ] a control period [ , ] or an 
interim control period [ , ] of the CO2 allowances available 
for compliance deduction for the source for a control 
period or an interim control period. 

"CO2 budget permit" means the portion of the legally 
binding permit issued by the department pursuant to 
9VAC5-85 (Permits for Stationary Sources of Pollutants 
Subject to Regulation) to a CO2 budget source or CO2 
budget unit that specifies the CO2 Budget Trading Program 
requirements applicable to the CO2 budget source, to each 
CO2 budget unit at the CO2 budget source, and to the 
owners and operators and the CO2 authorized account 
representative of the CO2 budget source and each CO2 
budget unit. 

"CO2 budget source" means a source that includes one or 
more CO2 budget units. 

"CO2 Budget Trading Program" means the Regional 
Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI), a multistate CO2 air 
pollution control and emissions reduction program 
established according to this part and corresponding 
regulations in other states as a means of reducing 
emissions of CO2 from CO2 budget sources. 

"CO2 budget unit" means a unit that is subject to the CO2 
Budget Trading Program requirements under 9VAC5-140-
6040. 

"CO2 cost containment reserve allowance" or "CO2 CCR 
allowance" means [ a conditional CO2 allowance that is 
offered for sale an allowance that has been sold ] at an 
auction for the purpose of containing the cost of CO2 
allowances. CO2 CCR allowances offered for sale at an 
auction are separate from and additional to CO2 allowances 
allocated from the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base and adjusted budgets. CO2 CCR allowances are 
subject to all applicable limitations contained in this part. 

"CO2 cost containment reserve trigger price" or "CCR 
trigger price" means the minimum price at which CO2 
CCR allowances are offered for sale at an auction. 
Beginning in 2020 and each calendar year thereafter, the 
CCR trigger price shall be 1.025 multiplied by the CCR 
trigger price from the previous calendar year, rounded to 
the nearest whole cent. The CCR trigger price in calendar 
year 2020 shall be $10.77. The CCR trigger price in 
calendar year 2021 shall be $13. Each calendar year 
thereafter, the CCR trigger price shall be 1.07 multiplied 
by the CCR trigger price from the previous calendar year, 
rounded to the nearest whole cent, as shown in Table 140-
1A. 
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Table 140-1A 

CO2 CCR Trigger Price 

2020 $10.77 

2021 $13.00 

2022 $13.91 

2023 $14.88 

2024 $15.93 $15.92 

2025 $17.04 $17.03 

2026 $18.23 $18.22 

2027 $19.51 $19.50 

2028 $20.88 $20.87 

2029 $22.34 $22.33 

2030 $23.90 $23.89 

"CO2 [ emission emissions ] containment reserve 
allowance" or "CO2 ECR allowance" means a [ CO2 
conditional ] allowance that is withheld from sale at an 
auction by the department for the purpose of additional 
emission reduction in the event of lower than anticipated 
emission reduction costs. 

"CO2 [ emission emissions ] containment reserve trigger 
price" or "ECR trigger price" means the price below which 
[ CO2 conditional ] allowances will be withheld from sale 
by the department or its agent at an auction. The ECR 
trigger price in calendar year 2021 shall be $6.00. Each 
calendar year thereafter, the ECR trigger price shall be 
1.07 multiplied by the ECR trigger price from the previous 
calendar year, rounded to the nearest whole cent, as shown 
in Table 140-1B. 

Table 140-1B 

CO2 ECR Trigger Price 

2021 $ 6.00 

2022 $ 6.42 

2023 $ 6.87 

2024 $ 7.35 

2025 $ 7.86 

2026 $ 8.42 $8.41 

2027 $ 9.00 

2028 $ 9.63 

2029 $10.31 $10.30 

2030 $11.03 $11.02 

"CO2 offset allowance" means a CO2 allowance that is 
awarded to the sponsor of a CO2 emissions offset project 
by a participating state and is subject to the relevant 
compliance deduction limitations of the participating 
state's corresponding offset regulations as a means of 
reducing CO2 from CO2 budget sources. 

"Combined cycle system" means a system comprised of 
one or more combustion turbines, heat recovery steam 
generators, and steam turbines configured to improve 
overall efficiency of electricity generation or steam 
production. 

"Combustion turbine" means an enclosed fossil or other 
fuel-fired device that is comprised of a compressor (if 
applicable), a combustor, and a turbine, and in which the 
flue gas resulting from the combustion of fuel in the 
combustor passes through the turbine, rotating the turbine. 

"Commence commercial operation" means, with regard to 
a unit that serves a generator, to have begun to produce 
steam, gas, or other heated medium used to generate 
electricity for sale or use, including test generation. For a 
unit that is a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 on 
the date the unit commences commercial operation, such 
date shall remain the unit's date of commencement of 
commercial operation even if the unit is subsequently 
modified, reconstructed, or repowered. For a unit that is 
not a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 on the date 
the unit commences commercial operation, the date the 
unit becomes a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 
shall be the unit's date of commencement of commercial 
operation. 

"Commence operation" means to begin any mechanical, 
chemical, or electronic process, including, with regard to a 
unit, start-up of a unit's combustion chamber. For a unit 
that is a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 on the 
date of commencement of operation, such date shall 
remain the unit's date of commencement of operation even 
if the unit is subsequently modified, reconstructed, or 
repowered. For a unit that is not a CO2 budget unit under 
9VAC5-140-6040 on the date of commencement of 
operation, the date the unit becomes a CO2 budget unit 
under 9VAC5-140-6040 shall be the unit's date of 
commencement of operation.  

"Compliance account" means a COATS account, 
established by the department or its agent for a CO2 budget 
source under Article 6 (9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) of this 
part, in which [ are held ] CO2 allowances available for use 
by the source for [ the initial control period, ] a control 
period [ , ] and each interim control period [ are held ] for 
the purpose of meeting the CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-
140-6050 C. 

"Conditional allowance" means an allowance allocated by 
the department to [ a ] CO2 budget [ sources and source 
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or ] to DMME. Such conditional allowance shall be 
consigned by the entity to whom it is allocated to the 
consignment auction as specified under Article 9 (9VAC5-
140-6410 et seq.) of this part, after which the conditional 
allowance becomes an allowance to be used for 
compliance purposes. a CO2 allowance once it is sold to an 
auction participant. [ A conditional allowance may also be 
contained in the CCR and may be auctioned. ] 

 "Conditional [ allowance account" means a general 
COATS account established by the department for CO2 
budget sources and DMME or its contractor where 
conditional allowances allocated to CO2 budget sources 
and DMME are held until auction. 

"Conditional cost containment reserve allowance" or 
"conditional ] CCR allowance" means [ a CCR an ] 
allowance that may be offered for sale when the CCR is 
triggered. If any [ conditional ] CCR allowances are 
unsold, they [ shall be returned to the CCR account and ] 
may be offered for sale in future auctions during the same 
year. [ Conditional CCR allowances offered for sale at an 
auction are separate from and additional to conditional 
allowances allocated from the Virginia CO2 Budget 
Trading Program base and adjusted budgets. Conditional 
CCR allowances are subject to all applicable limitations 
contained in this part. ] 

"Consignment auction" or "auction" means the CO2 
auction conducted on a quarterly basis by RGGI, Inc. the 
CO2 Budget Trading Program, in which CO2 budget 
sources and DMME are allocated a share of allowances by 
the department that CO2 budget sources and the holder of a 
public contract with DMME consign into the auction, and 
auction revenue is returned to CO2 budget sources and the 
holder of a public contract with DMME in accordance with 
procedures established by the department. 

"Continuous Emissions Monitoring System" or "CEMS" 
means the equipment required under Article 8 (9VAC5-
140-6330 et seq.) of this part to sample, analyze, measure, 
and provide, by means of readings recorded at least once 
every 15 minutes (using an automated DAHS), a 
permanent record of stack gas volumetric flow rate, stack 
gas moisture content, and oxygen or carbon dioxide 
concentration (as applicable), in a manner consistent with 
40 CFR Part 75 and Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of 
this part. The following systems are types of CEMS 
required under Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this 
part: 

a. A flow monitoring system, consisting of a stack flow 
rate monitor and an automated DAHS and providing a 
permanent, continuous record of stack gas volumetric 
flow rate, in standard cubic feet per hour (scf); 

b. A NOX emissions rate (or NOX-diluent) monitoring 
system, consisting of a NOX pollutant concentration 

monitor, a diluent gas (CO2 or O2) monitor, and an 
automated DAHS and providing a permanent, continuous 
record of NOX concentration, in parts per million (ppm), 
diluent gas concentration, in percent CO2 or O2, and NOX 
emissions rate, in pounds per million British thermal 
units (lb/MMBtu); 

c. A moisture monitoring system, as defined in 40 CFR 
75.11(b)(2) and providing a permanent, continuous 
record of the stack gas moisture content, in percent H2O; 

d. A CO2 monitoring system, consisting of a CO2 
pollutant concentration monitor (or an O2 monitor plus 
suitable mathematical equations from which the CO2 
concentration is derived) and an automated DAHS and 
providing a permanent, continuous record of CO2 
emissions, in percent CO2; and 

e. An O2 monitoring system, consisting of an O2 
concentration monitor and an automated DAHS and 
providing a permanent, continuous record of O2, in 
percent O2. 

"Control period" means a three-calendar-year time period. 
The [ first fifth ] control period is from January 1, 2021, to 
December 31, 2023, inclusive [ . Each subsequent 
compliance control period shall be a sequential three-
calendar-year period. , which is the first control period of 
Virginia's participation in the CO2 Budget Trading 
Program. ] The first two [ compliance calendar ] years of 
each control period are each defined as an interim control 
period, beginning on January 1, [ 2022 2021 ]. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) NOX Annual 
Trading Program" means a multistate NOX air pollution 
control and emission reduction program established in 
accordance with Subpart AAAAA of 40 CFR Part 97 and 
40 CFR 52.38(a), including such a program that is revised 
in a SIP revision approved by the administrator under 
40 CFR 52.38(a)(3) or (4) or that is established in a SIP 
revision approved by the administrator under 40 CFR 
52.38(a)(5), as a means of mitigating interstate transport of 
fine particulates and NOX. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) NOX Ozone 
Season Trading Program" means a multistate NOX air 
pollution control and emission reduction program 
established in accordance with Subpart BBBBB of 40 CFR 
Part 97 and 40 CFR 52.38(b), including such a program 
that is revised in a SIP revision approved by the 
administrator under 40 CFR 52.38(b)(3) or (4) or that is 
established in a SIP revision approved by the administrator 
under 40 CFR 52.38(b)(5), as a means of mitigating 
interstate transport of ozone and NOX. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) SO2 Group 1 
Trading Program" means a multistate SO2 air pollution 
control and emission reduction program established in 
accordance with Subpart CCCCC of 40 CFR Part 97 and 
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40 CFR 52.39(a), (b), (d) through (f), (j), and (k), including 
such a program that is revised in a SIP revision approved 
by the administrator under 40 CFR 52.39(d) or (e) or that is 
established in a SIP revision approved by the administrator 
under 40 CFR 52.39(f), as a means of mitigating interstate 
transport of fine particulates and SO2. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) SO2 Group 2 
Trading Program" means a multistate SO2 air pollution 
control and emission reduction program established in 
accordance with Subpart DDDDD of 40 CFR Part 97 and 
40 CFR 52.39(a), (c), and (g) through (k), including such a 
program that is revised in a SIP revision approved by the 
administrator under 40 CFR 52.39(g) or (h) or that is 
established in a SIP revision approved by the administrator 
under 40 CFR 52.39(i), as a means of mitigating interstate 
transport of fine particulates and SO2. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

"DMME" means the Virginia Department of Mines, 
Minerals and Energy. 

"Excess emissions" means any tonnage of CO2 emitted by 
a CO2 budget source during [ the initial control period or ] 
a control period that exceeds the CO2 budget emissions 
limitation for the source. 

"Excess interim emissions" means any tonnage of CO2 
emitted by a CO2 budget source during an interim control 
period multiplied by 0.50 that exceeds the CO2 budget 
emissions limitation for the source. 

"Fossil fuel" means natural gas, petroleum, coal, or any 
form of solid, liquid, or gaseous fuel derived from such 
material. 

"Fossil fuel-fired" means the combustion of fossil fuel, 
alone or in combination with any other fuel, where the 
fossil fuel combusted comprises, or is projected to 
comprise, more than 10% 5.0% of the annual heat input on 
a Btu basis during any year. 

"General account" means a COATS account [ , ] 
established under Article 6 (9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) of 
this part that is not a compliance account. 

"Gross generation" means the electrical output in MWe at 
the terminals of the generator. 

"Initial control period" means the period beginning January 
1, 2020, and ending December 31, 2020. 

"Interim control period" means a one-calendar-year time 
period [ , ] during each of the first and second calendar 
years of each three-year control period. The first interim 
control period starts January 1, 2021, and ends December 
31, 2021, inclusive. The second interim control period 
starts January 1, 2022, and ends December 31, 2022, 
inclusive. Each successive three-year control period will 

have two interim control periods, comprised of each of the 
first two calendar years of that control period. 

"Life-of-the-unit contractual arrangement" means a unit 
participation power sales agreement under which a 
customer reserves, or is entitled to receive, a specified 
amount or percentage of nameplate capacity or associated 
energy from any specified unit pursuant to a contract: 

a. For the life of the unit; 

b. For a cumulative term of no less than 30 years, 
including contracts that permit an election for early 
termination; or 

c. For a period equal to or greater than 25 years or 70% 
of the economic useful life of the unit determined as of 
the time the unit is built, with option rights to purchase or 
release some portion of the nameplate capacity and 
associated energy generated by the unit at the end of the 
period. 

"Maximum design heat input" means the ability of a unit to 
combust a stated maximum amount of fuel per hour on a 
steady state basis, as determined by the physical design and 
physical characteristics of the unit. 

"Maximum potential hourly heat input" means an hourly 
heat input used for reporting purposes when a unit lacks 
certified monitors to report heat input. If the unit intends to 
use Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75 to report heat input, 
this value shall be calculated, in accordance with 40 CFR 
Part 75, using the maximum fuel flow rate and the 
maximum gross calorific value. If the unit intends to use a 
flow monitor and a diluent gas monitor, this value shall be 
reported, in accordance with 40 CFR Part 75, using the 
maximum potential flow rate and either the maximum CO2 
concentration in percent CO2 or the minimum O2 
concentration in percent O2. 

"Minimum reserve price" means, in calendar year 2020, 
$2.00 $2.32. Each calendar year thereafter, the minimum 
reserve price shall be 1.025 multiplied by the minimum 
reserve price from the previous calendar year, rounded to 
the nearest whole cent. 

"Monitoring system" means any monitoring system that 
meets the requirements of Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et 
seq.) of this part, including a CEMS, an excepted 
monitoring system, or an alternative monitoring system. 

"Nameplate capacity" means the maximum electrical 
output in MWe that a generator can sustain over a specified 
period of time when not restricted by seasonal or other 
deratings as measured in accordance with the U.S. 
Department of Energy standards.  

"Net-electric output" means the amount of gross generation 
in MWh the generators produce, including output from 
steam turbines, combustion turbines, and gas expanders, as 
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measured at the generator terminals, less the electricity 
used to operate the plant (i.e., auxiliary loads); such uses 
include fuel handling equipment, pumps, fans, pollution 
control equipment, other electricity needs, and transformer 
losses as measured at the transmission side of the step up 
transformer (e.g., the point of sale).  

"Non-CO2 budget unit" means a unit that does not meet the 
applicability criteria of 9VAC5-140-6040. 

"Operator" means any person who operates, controls, or 
supervises a CO2 budget unit or a CO2 budget source and 
shall include any holding company, utility system, or plant 
manager of such a unit or source. 

"Owner" means any of the following persons: 

a. Any holder of any portion of the legal or equitable title 
in a CO2 budget unit; 

b. Any holder of a leasehold interest in a CO2 budget 
unit, other than a passive lessor, or a person who has an 
equitable interest through such lessor, whose rental 
payments are not based, either directly or indirectly, upon 
the revenues or income from the CO2 budget unit; 

c. Any purchaser of power from a CO2 budget unit under 
a life-of-the-unit contractual arrangement in which the 
purchaser controls the dispatch of the unit; or 

d. With respect to any general account, any person who 
has an ownership interest with respect to the CO2 
allowances held in the general account and who is 
subject to the binding agreement for the CO2 authorized 
account representative to represent that person's 
ownership interest with respect to the CO2 allowances. 

"Participating state" means a state that has established a 
corresponding regulation as part of participates in the CO2 
Budget Trading Program.  

"Receive" or "receipt of" means, with regard to CO2 
allowances, the movement of CO2 allowances by the 
department or its agent from one COATS account to 
another, for purposes of allocation, transfer, or deduction 
when referring to the department or its agent, to come into 
possession of a document, information, or correspondence 
(whether sent in writing or by authorized electronic 
transmission) as indicated in an official correspondence 
log, or by a notation made on the document, information, 
or correspondence by the department or its agent in the 
regular course of business. 

"Recordation," "record," or "recorded" means, with regard 
to CO2 allowances, the movement of CO2 allowances by 
the department or its agent from one COATS account to 
another, for purposes of allocation, transfer, or deduction. 

"RGGI, Inc." means the 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation 
created to support development and implementation of the 
Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI). Participating 

RGGI states use RGGI, Inc., as their agent to conduct the 
consignment auction and to operate and manage COATS.  

"Reserve price" means the minimum acceptable price for 
each [ CO2 conditional ] allowance in a specific auction. 
The reserve price at an auction is either the minimum 
reserve price or the CCR trigger price, as specified in 
Article 9 (9VAC5-140-6410 et seq.) of this part. 

"Serial number" means, when referring to CO2 allowances, 
the unique identification number assigned to each CO2 
allowance by the department or its agent under 9VAC5-
140-6250 C. 

"Source" means any governmental, institutional, 
commercial, or industrial structure, installation, plant, 
building, or facility that emits or has the potential to emit 
any air pollutant. A source, including a source with 
multiple units, shall be considered a single facility. 

"State" means the Commonwealth of Virginia. The term 
"state" shall have its conventional meaning where such 
meaning is clear from the context. 

"Submit" or "serve" means to send or transmit a document, 
information, or correspondence to the person specified in 
accordance with the applicable regulation: 

a. In person; 

b. By U.S. United States Postal Service; or 

c. By other means of dispatch or transmission and 
delivery. 

Compliance with any "submission," "service," or "mailing" 
deadline shall be determined by the date of dispatch, 
transmission, or mailing and not the date of receipt. 

"Ton" or "tonnage" means any short ton, or 2,000 pounds. 
For the purpose of determining compliance with the CO2 
requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C, total tons for [ the 
initial control period, an interim control period, or ] a 
control period shall be calculated as the sum of all recorded 
hourly emissions, or the tonnage equivalent of the recorded 
hourly emissions rates, in accordance with Article 8 
(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part, with any remaining 
fraction of a ton equal to or greater than 0.50 ton deemed 
to equal one ton and any fraction of a ton less than 0.50 ton 
deemed to equal zero tons. A short ton is equal to 0.9072 
metric tons. 

"Total useful energy" means the sum of gross electrical 
generation and useful net thermal energy. 

"Undistributed [ CO2 conditional ] allowances" means 
[ CO2 conditional ] allowances originally allocated to a set 
aside account as pursuant to 9VAC5-140-6210 that were 
not distributed.  

"Unit" means a fossil fuel-fired stationary boiler, 
combustion turbine, or combined cycle system. 
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"Unit operating day" means a calendar day in which a unit 
combusts any fuel. 

"Unsold [ CO2 conditional ] allowances" means [ CO2 
conditional ] allowances that have been made available for 
sale in an auction conducted by the department or its agent, 
but not sold. 

"Useful net thermal energy" means energy: 

1. In the form of direct heat, steam, hot water, or other 
thermal form that is used in the production and beneficial 
measures for heating, cooling, humidity control, process 
use, or other thermal end use energy requirements, 
excluding thermal energy used in the power production 
process (e.g., house loads and parasitic loads); and 

2. For which fuel or electricity would otherwise be 
consumed. 

"Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted budget" 
means an adjusted budget determined in accordance with 
9VAC5-140-6210 and is the annual amount of CO2 tons 
available in Virginia for allocation in a given allocation 
year, in accordance with the CO2 Budget Trading Program. 
[ CO2 Conditional ] CCR allowances offered for sale at an 
auction are separate from and additional to [ CO2 
conditional ] allowances allocated from the Virginia CO2 
Budget Trading Program adjusted budget. 

"Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget" 
means the budget specified in 9VAC5-140-6190. [ CO2 
Conditional ] CCR allowances offered for sale at an 
auction are separate from and additional to [ CO2 
conditional ] allowances allocated from the Virginia CO2 
Budget Trading Program base budget. 

 9VAC5-140-6030. Measurements, abbreviations, and 
acronyms. 

Measurements, abbreviations, and acronyms used in this 
part are defined as follows:  

Btu - British thermal unit. 

CAA - federal Clean Air Act. 

CCR - cost containment reserve. 

CEMS - Continuous Emissions Monitoring System. 

COATS - CO2 Allowance Tracking System. 

CO2 - carbon dioxide. 

DAHS - Data Acquisition and Handling System. 

EEM - efficiency measure.  

H2O - water. 

lb - pound. 

LME - low mass emissions. 

MMBtu - million British thermal units. 

MW - megawatt. 

MWe - megawatt electrical. 

MWh - megawatt hour. 

NOX - nitrogen oxides. 

O2 - oxygen. 

ORIS - Office of Regulatory Information Systems. 

QA/QC - quality assurance/quality control. 

ppm - parts per million. 

scf - standard cubic feet per hour.  

SO2 - sulfur dioxide. 

9VAC5-140-6040. Applicability. 

A. Any fossil fuel-fired unit that serves an electricity 
generator with a nameplate capacity equal to or greater than 
25 MWe shall be a CO2 budget unit, and any source that 
includes one or more such units shall be a CO2 budget source, 
subject to the requirements of this part.  

B. Exempt from the requirements of this part is any [ fossil 
fuel ] power generating unit owned by an individual facility 
and located at that individual facility that generates electricity 
and heat from fossil fuel for the primary use of operation of 
the facility CO2 budget source located at or adjacent to and 
physically interconnected with a manufacturing facility that, 
prior to January 1, 2019, and in every subsequent calendar 
year, met either of the following requirements: 

1. Supplies less than or equal to 10% of its annual net 
electrical generation to the electric grid; or  

2. Supplies less than or equal to 15% of its annual total 
useful energy to any entity other than the manufacturing 
facility to which the CO2 budget source is interconnected. 

For the purpose of subdivision 1 of this subsection, annual 
net electrical generation shall be determined as follows: 

(ES – EP) / EG x 100 

Where: 

ES = electricity sales to the grid from the CO2 budget 
source 

EP = electricity purchases from the grid by the CO2 budget 
source and the manufacturing facility to which the CO2 
budget source is interconnected 

EG = electricity generation 

Such CO2 budget source shall have an operating permit 
containing the applicable restrictions under this subsection. 
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[ 9VAC5-140-6045. CO2 Budget Trading Program 
implementation. 

In the event the allocation of conditional allowances by the 
department as required by 9VAC5-140-6190 B has not 
occurred by January 1, 2020, the program will be considered 
to be operating and effective as of the calendar year following 
the date on which the department allocates the conditional 
allowances as it corresponds to the schedule of 9VAC5-140-
6190 A. Permitting and compliance dates, including the due 
date for a permit as required by 9VAC5-140-6150, shall be 
adjusted to be in force six months after the date the 
department allocates the conditional allowances. Any excess 
emissions tonnage identified by the new program 
implementation date may be addressed through program 
review and regulatory action as necessary to ensure 
compliance with the final compliance date. The department 
will notify the board and each affected CO2 budget source 
accordingly. ] 

9VAC5-140-6050. Standard requirements. 

A. Permit requirements shall be as follows. 

1. The CO2 authorized account representative of each CO2 
budget source required to have an operating permit 
pursuant to 9VAC5-85 (Permits for Stationary Sources of 
Pollutants Subject to Regulation) and each CO2 budget unit 
required to have an operating permit pursuant to 9VAC5-
85 shall: 

a. Submit to the department a complete CO2 budget 
permit application under 9VAC5-140-6160 in 
accordance with the deadlines specified in 9VAC5-140-
6150; and 

b. Submit in a timely manner any supplemental 
information that the department determines is necessary 
in order to review the CO2 budget permit application and 
issue or deny a CO2 budget permit. 

2. The owners and operators of each CO2 budget source 
required to have an operating permit pursuant to 9VAC5-
85 (Permits for Stationary Sources of Pollutants Subject to 
Regulation) and each CO2 budget unit required to have an 
operating permit pursuant to 9VAC5-85 for the source 
shall have a CO2 budget permit and operate the CO2 budget 
source and the CO2 budget unit at the source in compliance 
with such CO2 budget permit. 

B. Monitoring requirements shall be as follows. 

1. The owners and operators and, to the extent applicable, 
the CO2 authorized account representative of each CO2 
budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall 
comply with the monitoring requirements of Article 8 
(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

2. The emissions measurements recorded and reported in 
accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of 

this part shall be used to determine compliance by the unit 
with the CO2 requirements under subsection C of this 
section. 

C. CO2 requirements shall be as follows. 

1. The owners and operators of each CO2 budget source 
and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall hold CO2 
allowances available for compliance deductions under 
9VAC5-140-6260, as of the CO2 allowance transfer 
deadline, in the source's compliance account in an amount 
not less than the total CO2 emissions [ that have been 
generated as a result of combusting fossil fuel ] for the 
[ initial control period, an interim control period, or ] 
control period from all CO2 budget units at the source, less 
the CO2 allowances deducted to meet the requirements of 
subdivision 2 of this subsection, with respect to the 
previous two interim control periods as determined in 
accordance with Article 6 (9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) and 
Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

2. The owners and operators of each CO2 budget source 
and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall hold CO2 
allowances available for compliance deductions under 
9VAC5-140-6260, as of the CO2 allowance transfer 
deadline, in the source's compliance account in an amount 
not less than the total CO2 emissions [ that have been 
generated as a result of combusting fossil fuel ] for the 
[ initial control period, an interim control period, or ] for 
the interim control period from all CO2 budget units at the 
source multiplied by 0.50, as determined in accordance 
with Article 6 (9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) and Article 8 
(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

3. Each ton of CO2 emitted in excess of the CO2 budget 
emissions limitation for [ the initial control period or ] a 
control period shall constitute a separate violation of this 
part and applicable state law. 

4. Each ton of excess interim emissions shall constitute a 
separate violation of this part and applicable state law. 

5. A CO2 budget unit shall be subject to the requirements 
under subdivision 1 of this subsection starting on the later 
of January 1, 2020, or the date on which the unit 
commences operation. 

6. CO2 allowances shall be held in, deducted from, or 
transferred among COATS accounts in accordance with 
Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.), Article 6 (9VAC5-
140-6220 et seq.), and Article 7 (9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) 
of this part. 

7. A CO2 allowance shall not be deducted, to comply with 
the requirements under subdivision 1 or 2 of this 
subsection, for a control period that ends prior to the year 
for which the CO2 allowance was allocated. 

8. A CO2 allowance under the CO2 Budget Trading 
Program is a limited authorization by the department to 
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emit one ton of CO2 in accordance with the CO2 Budget 
Trading Program. No provision of the CO2 Budget Trading 
Program, the CO2 budget permit application, or the CO2 
budget permit or any provision of law shall be construed to 
limit the authority of the department or a participating state 
to terminate or limit such authorization. 

9. A CO2 allowance under the CO2 Budget Trading 
Program does not constitute a property right. 

D. The owners and operators of a CO2 budget source that 
has excess emissions in [ any an initial control period or a ] 
control period shall: 

1. Forfeit the CO2 allowances required for deduction under 
9VAC5-140-6260 D 1; and 

2. Pay any fine, penalty, or assessment or comply with any 
other remedy imposed under 9VAC5-140-6260 D 2. 

E. Recordkeeping and reporting requirements shall be as 
follows: 

1. Unless otherwise provided, the owners and operators of 
the CO2 budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the 
source shall keep on site at the source each of the 
following documents for a period of 10 years from the date 
the document is created. This period may be extended for 
cause, at any time prior to the end of 10 years, in writing 
by the department. 

a. The account certificate of representation for the CO2 
authorized account representative for the source and each 
CO2 budget unit at the source and all documents that 
demonstrate the truth of the statements in the account 
certificate of representation, in accordance with 9VAC5-
140-6110, provided that the certificate and documents 
shall be retained on site at the source beyond such 10-
year period until such documents are superseded because 
of the submission of a new account certificate of 
representation changing the CO2 authorized account 
representative. 

b. All emissions monitoring information, in accordance 
with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part and 
40 CFR 75.57. 

c. Copies of all reports, compliance certifications, and 
other submissions and all records made or required under 
the CO2 Budget Trading Program. 

d. Copies of all documents used to complete a CO2 
budget permit application and any other submission 
under the CO2 Budget Trading Program or to 
demonstrate compliance with the requirements of the 
CO2 Budget Trading Program. 

2. The CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 
budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall 
submit the reports and compliance certifications required 

under the CO2 Budget Trading Program, including those 
under Article 4 (9VAC5-140-6170 et seq.) of this part. 

F. Liability requirements shall be as follows. 

1. No permit revision shall excuse any violation of the 
requirements of the CO2 Budget Trading Program that 
occurs prior to the date that the revision takes effect. 

2. Any provision of the CO2 Budget Trading Program that 
applies to a CO2 budget source, including a provision 
applicable to the CO2 authorized account representative of 
a CO2 budget source, shall also apply to the owners and 
operators of such source and of the CO2 budget units at the 
source. 

3. Any provision of the CO2 Budget Trading Program that 
applies to a CO2 budget unit, including a provision 
applicable to the CO2 authorized account representative of 
a CO2 budget unit, shall also apply to the owners and 
operators of such unit. 

G. No provision of the CO2 Budget Trading Program, a CO2 
budget permit application, or a CO2 budget permit shall be 
construed as exempting or excluding the owners and 
operators and, to the extent applicable, the CO2 authorized 
account representative of the CO2 budget source or CO2 
budget unit from compliance with any other provisions of 
applicable state and federal law or regulations. 

9VAC5-140-6060. Computation of time. 

A. Unless otherwise stated, any time period scheduled, 
under the CO2 Budget Trading Program, to begin on the 
occurrence of an act or event shall begin on the day the act or 
event occurs.  

B. Unless otherwise stated, any time period scheduled, 
under the CO2 Budget Trading Program, to begin before the 
occurrence of an act or event shall be computed so that the 
period ends the day before the act or event occurs.  

C. Unless otherwise stated, if the final day of any time 
period, under the CO2 Budget Trading Program, falls on a 
weekend or a state or federal holiday, the time period shall be 
extended to the next business day. 

9VAC5-140-6070. Severability. 

If any provision of this part, or its application to any 
particular person or circumstances, is held invalid, the 
remainder of this part, and the application thereof to other 
persons or circumstances, shall not be affected thereby.  
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Article 2 
CO2 Authorized Account Representative for CO2 Budget 

Sources 

9VAC5-140-6080. Authorization and responsibilities of 
the CO2 authorized account representative. 

A. Except as provided under 9VAC5-140-6090, each CO2 
budget source, including all CO2 budget units at the source, 
shall have one and only one CO2 authorized account 
representative, with regard to all matters under the CO2 
Budget Trading Program concerning the source or any CO2 
budget unit at the source. 

B. The CO2 authorized account representative of the CO2 
budget source shall be selected by an agreement binding on 
the owners and operators of the source and all CO2 budget 
units at the source and must act in accordance with the 
[ account ] certificate of representation under 9VAC5-140-
6110. 

C. Upon receipt by the department or its agent of a complete 
account certificate of representation under 9VAC5-140-6110, 
the CO2 authorized account representative of the source shall 
represent and, by his representations, actions, inactions, or 
submissions, legally bind each owner and operator of the CO2 
budget source represented and each CO2 budget unit at the 
source in all matters pertaining to the CO2 Budget Trading 
Program, notwithstanding any agreement between the CO2 
authorized account representative and such owners and 
operators. The owners and operators shall be bound by any 
decision or order issued to the CO2 authorized account 
representative by the department or a court regarding the 
source or unit. 

D. No CO2 budget permit shall be issued, and no COATS 
account shall be established for a CO2 budget source, until the 
department or its agent has received a complete account 
certificate of representation under 9VAC5-140-6110 for a 
CO2 authorized account representative of the source and the 
CO2 budget units at the source. 

E. Each submission under the CO2 Budget Trading Program 
shall be submitted, signed, and certified by the CO2 
authorized account representative for each CO2 budget source 
on behalf of which the submission is made. Each such 
submission shall include the following certification statement 
by the CO2 authorized account representative: "I am 
authorized to make this submission on behalf of the owners 
and operators of the CO2 budget sources or CO2 budget units 
for which the submission is made. I certify under penalty of 
law that I have personally examined, and am familiar with, 
the statements and information submitted in this document 
and all its attachments. Based on my inquiry of those 
individuals with primary responsibility for obtaining the 
information, I certify that the statements and information are 
to the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and 
complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false statements and information or omitting 
required statements and information, including the possibility 
of fine or imprisonment." 

F. The department or its agent will accept or act on a 
submission made on behalf of owners or operators of a CO2 
budget source or a CO2 budget unit only if the submission has 
been made, signed, and certified in accordance with 
subsection E of this section. 

9VAC5-140-6090. Alternate CO2 authorized alternate 
account representative. 

A. An account certificate of representation may designate 
one and only one alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative who may act on behalf of the CO2 authorized 
account representative. The agreement by which the alternate 
CO2 authorized alternate account representative is selected 
shall include a procedure for authorizing the alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative to act in lieu of the 
CO2 authorized account representative.  

B. Upon receipt by the department or its agent of a complete 
account certificate of representation under 9VAC5-140-6110, 
any representation, action, inaction, or submission by the 
alternate CO2 authorized alternate account representative 
shall be deemed to be a representation, action, inaction, or 
submission by the CO2 authorized account representative.  

C. Except in this section and 9VAC5-140-6080 A, 9VAC5-
140-6100, 9VAC5-140-6110, and 9VAC5-140-6230, 
whenever the term "CO2 authorized account representative" is 
used in this part, the term shall be construed to include the 
alternate CO2 authorized alternate account representative. 

9VAC5-140-6100. Changing the CO2 authorized account 
representatives and the alternate CO2 authorized 
alternate account representative; changes in the owners 
and operators. 

A. The CO2 authorized account representative may be 
changed at any time upon receipt by the department or its 
agent of a superseding complete account certificate of 
representation under 9VAC5-140-6110. Notwithstanding any 
such change, all representations, actions, inactions, and 
submissions by the previous CO2 authorized account 
representative or alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative prior to the time and date when the department 
or its agent receives the superseding account certificate of 
representation shall be binding on the new CO2 authorized 
account representative and the owners and operators of the 
CO2 budget source and the CO2 budget units at the source. 

B. The alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative may be changed at any time upon receipt by 
the department or its agent of a superseding complete account 
certificate of representation under 9VAC5-140-6110. 
Notwithstanding any such change, all representations, 
actions, inactions, and submissions by the previous or 
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alternate CO2 authorized alternate account representative or 
alternate CO2 authorized alternate account representative 
prior to the time and date when the department or its agent 
receives the superseding account certificate of representation 
shall be binding on the new alternate CO2 authorized alternate 
account representative and the owners and operators of the 
CO2 budget source and the CO2 budget units at the source.  

C. Changes in the owners and operators shall be addressed 
as follows. 

1. In the event a new owner or operator of a CO2 budget 
source or a CO2 budget unit is not included in the list of 
owners and operators submitted in the account certificate 
of representation, such new owner or operator shall be 
deemed to be subject to and bound by the account 
certificate of representation, the representations, actions, 
inactions, and submissions of the CO2 authorized account 
representative and any alternate CO2 authorized alternate 
account representative of the source or unit, and the 
decisions, orders, actions, and inactions of the department, 
as if the new owner or operator were included in such list.  

2. Within 30 days following any change in the owners and 
operators of a CO2 budget source or a CO2 budget unit, 
including the addition of a new owner or operator, the CO2 
authorized account representative or alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative shall submit a 
revision to the account certificate of representation 
amending the list of owners and operators to include the 
change. 

9VAC5-140-6110. Account certificate of representation. 

A. A complete account certificate of representation for a 
CO2 authorized account representative or an alternate a CO2 
authorized alternate account representative shall include the 
following elements in a format prescribed by the department 
or its agent:  

1. Identification of the CO2 budget source and each CO2 
budget unit at the source for which the account certificate 
of representation is submitted;  

2. The name, address, email address, telephone number, 
and facsimile transmission number of the CO2 authorized 
account representative and any alternate CO2 authorized 
alternate account representative;  

3. A list of the owners and operators of the CO2 budget 
source and of each CO2 budget unit at the source;  

4. The following certification statement by the CO2 
authorized account representative and any alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative: "I certify that I 
was selected as the CO2 authorized account representative 
or alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative, as applicable, by an agreement binding on 
the owners and operators of the CO2 budget source and 
each CO2 budget unit at the source. I certify that I have all 

the necessary authority to carry out my duties and 
responsibilities under the CO2 Budget Trading Program on 
behalf of the owners and operators of the CO2 budget 
source and of each CO2 budget unit at the source and that 
each such owner and operator shall be fully bound by my 
representations, actions, inactions, or submissions and by 
any decision or order issued to me by the department or a 
court regarding the source or unit."; and  

5. The signature of the CO2 authorized account 
representative and any alternate CO2 authorized alternate 
account representative and the dates signed.  

B. Unless otherwise required by the department or its agent, 
documents of agreement referred to in the account certificate 
of representation shall not be submitted to the department or 
its agent. Neither the department nor its agent shall be under 
any obligation to review or evaluate the sufficiency of such 
documents, if submitted.  

9VAC5-140-6120. Objections concerning the CO2 
authorized account representative. 

A. Once a complete account certificate of representation 
under 9VAC5-140-6110 has been submitted and received, the 
department and its agent will rely on the account certificate of 
representation unless and until the department or its agent 
receives a superseding complete account certificate of 
representation under 9VAC5-140-6110.  

B. Except as provided in 9VAC5-140-6100 A or B, no 
objection or other communication submitted to the 
department or its agent concerning the authorization, or any 
representation, action, inaction, or submission of the CO2 
authorized account representative shall affect any 
representation, action, inaction, or submission of the CO2 
authorized account representative or the finality of any 
decision or order by the department or its agent under the CO2 
Budget Trading Program.  

C. Neither the department nor its agent will adjudicate any 
private legal dispute concerning the authorization or any 
representation, action, inaction, or submission of any CO2 
authorized account representative, including private legal 
disputes concerning the proceeds of CO2 allowance transfers. 

9VAC5-140-6130. Delegation by CO2 authorized account 
representative and alternate CO2 authorized alternate 
account representative. 

A. A CO2 authorized account representative may delegate, 
to one or more natural persons, his authority to make an 
electronic submission to the department or its agent under this 
part. 

B. An alternate A CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative may delegate, to one or more natural persons, 
his authority to make an electronic submission to the 
department or its agent under this part. 
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C. To delegate authority to make an electronic submission to 
the department or its agent in accordance with subsections A 
and B of this section, the CO2 authorized account 
representative or alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative, as appropriate, shall submit to the department 
or its agent a notice of delegation, in a format prescribed by 
the department that includes the following elements: 

1. The name, address, email address, telephone number, 
and facsimile transmission number of such CO2 authorized 
account representative or alternate CO2 authorized 
alternate account representative; 

2. The name, address, email address, telephone number, 
and facsimile transmission number of each such natural 
person, referred to as the "electronic submission agent"; 

3. For each such natural person, a list of the type of 
electronic submissions under subsection A or B of this 
section for which authority is delegated to him; and  

4. The following certification statement by such CO2 
authorized account representative or alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative: "I agree that 
any electronic submission to the department or its agent 
that is by a natural person identified in this notice of 
delegation and of a type listed for such electronic 
submission agent in this notice of delegation and that is 
made when I am a CO2 authorized account representative 
or alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative, as appropriate, and before this notice of 
delegation is superseded by another notice of delegation 
under 9VAC5-140-6130 D shall be deemed to be an 
electronic submission by me. Until this notice of 
delegation is superseded by another notice of delegation 
under 9VAC5-140-6130 D, I agree to maintain an email 
account and to notify the department or its agent 
immediately of any change in my email address unless all 
delegation authority by me under 9VAC5-140-6130 is 
terminated." 

D. A notice of delegation submitted under subsection C of 
this section shall be effective, with regard to the CO2 
authorized account representative or alternate CO2 authorized 
alternate account representative identified in such notice, 
upon receipt of such notice by the department or its agent and 
until receipt by the department or its agent of a superseding 
notice of delegation by such CO2 authorized account 
representative or alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative as appropriate. The superseding notice of 
delegation may replace any previously identified electronic 
submission agent, add a new electronic submission agent, or 
eliminate entirely any delegation of authority. 

E. Any electronic submission covered by the certification in 
subdivision C 4 of this section and made in accordance with a 
notice of delegation effective under subsection D of this 
section shall be deemed to be an electronic submission by the 

CO2 authorized account representative or alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative submitting such 
notice of delegation. 

F. A CO2 authorized account representative may delegate, to 
one or more natural persons, his authority to review 
information in the CO2 allowance tracking system under this 
part. 

G. An alternate A CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative may delegate, to one or more natural persons, 
his authority to review information in the CO2 allowance 
tracking system under this part. 

H. To delegate authority to review information in the CO2 
allowance tracking system in accordance with subsections F 
and G of this section, the CO2 authorized account 
representative or alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative, as appropriate, must shall submit to the 
department or its agent a notice of delegation, in a format 
prescribed by the department that includes the following 
elements: 

1. The name, address, email address, telephone number, 
and facsimile transmission number of such CO2 authorized 
account representative or alternate CO2 authorized 
alternate account representative; 

2. The name, address, email address, telephone number, 
and facsimile transmission number of each such natural 
person, referred to as the "reviewer"; 

3. For each such natural person, a list of the type of 
information under subsection F or G of this section for 
which authority is delegated to him; and 

4. The following certification statement by such CO2 
authorized account representative or alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative: "I agree that 
any information that is reviewed by a natural person 
identified in this notice of delegation and of a type listed 
for such information accessible by the reviewer in this 
notice of delegation and that is made when I am a CO2 
authorized account representative or alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative, as appropriate, 
and before this notice of delegation is superseded by 
another notice of delegation under subsection I of this 
section shall be deemed to be a reviewer by me. Until this 
notice of delegation is superseded by another notice of 
delegation under subsection I of this section, I agree to 
maintain an email account and to notify the department or 
its agent immediately of any change in my email address 
unless all delegation authority by me under this section is 
terminated." 

I. A notice of delegation submitted under subsection H of 
this section shall be effective, with regard to the CO2 
authorized account representative or alternate CO2 authorized 
alternate account representative identified in such notice, 
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upon receipt of such notice by the department or its agent and 
until receipt by the department or its agent of a superseding 
notice of delegation by such CO2 authorized account 
representative or alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative as appropriate. The superseding notice of 
delegation may replace any previously identified reviewer, 
add a new reviewer, or eliminate entirely any delegation of 
authority. 

Article 3 
Permits 

9VAC5-140-6140. CO2 budget permit requirements. 

A. Each CO2 budget source shall have a permit issued by the 
department pursuant to 9VAC5-85 (Permits for Stationary 
Sources of Pollutants Subject to Regulation).  

B. Each CO2 budget permit shall contain all applicable CO2 
Budget Trading Program requirements and shall be a 
complete and distinguishable portion of the permit under 
subsection A of this section. 

9VAC5-140-6150. Submission of CO2 budget permit 
applications. 

For any CO2 budget source, the CO2 authorized account 
representative shall submit a complete CO2 budget permit 
application under 9VAC5-140-6160 covering such CO2 
budget source to the department by the later of January 1, 
2020, or 12 months before the date on which the CO2 budget 
source, or a new unit at the source, commences operation. 

9VAC5-140-6160. Information requirements for CO2 
budget permit applications. 

A complete CO2 budget permit application shall include the 
following elements concerning the CO2 budget source for 
which the application is submitted, in a format prescribed by 
the department: 

1. Identification of the CO2 budget source, including plant 
name and the ORIS (Office of Regulatory Information 
Systems) or facility code assigned to the source by the 
Energy Information Administration of the U.S. Department 
of Energy if applicable;  

2. Identification of each CO2 budget unit at the CO2 budget 
source; and  

3. The standard requirements under 9VAC5-140-6050. 

Article 4 
Compliance Certification 

9VAC5-140-6170. Compliance certification report. 

A. For [ the initial control period and ] each control period 
in which a CO2 budget source is subject to the CO2 
requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C, the CO2 authorized 
account representative of the source shall submit to the 
department by March 1 following the relevant control period, 

a compliance certification report. A compliance certification 
report is not required as part of the compliance obligation 
during an interim control period. 

B. The CO2 authorized account representative shall include 
in the compliance certification report under subsection A of 
this section the following elements, in a format prescribed by 
the department: 

1. Identification of the source and each CO2 budget unit at 
the source; 

2. At the CO2 authorized account representative's option, 
the serial numbers of the CO2 allowances that are to be 
deducted from the source's compliance account under 
9VAC5-140-6260 for the control period; and 

3. The compliance certification under subsection C of this 
section. 

C. In the compliance certification report under subsection A 
of this section, the CO2 authorized account representative 
shall certify, based on reasonable inquiry of those persons 
with primary responsibility for operating the source and the 
CO2 budget units at the source in compliance with the CO2 
Budget Trading Program, whether the source and each CO2 
budget unit at the source for which the compliance 
certification is submitted was operated during the calendar 
years covered by the report in compliance with the 
requirements of the CO2 Budget Trading Program, including: 

1. Whether the source was operated in compliance with the 
CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C; 

2. Whether the monitoring plan applicable to each unit at 
the source has been maintained to reflect the actual 
operation and monitoring of the unit, and contains all 
information necessary to attribute CO2 emissions to the 
unit, in accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et 
seq.) of this part; 

3. Whether all the CO2 emissions from the units at the 
source were monitored or accounted for through the 
missing data procedures and reported in the quarterly 
monitoring reports, including whether conditional data 
were reported in the quarterly reports in accordance with 
Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. If 
conditional data were reported, the owner or operator shall 
indicate whether the status of all conditional data has been 
resolved and all necessary quarterly report resubmissions 
have been made; 

4. Whether the facts that form the basis for certification 
under Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part of 
each monitor at each unit at the source, or for using an 
excepted monitoring method or alternative monitoring 
method approved under Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et 
seq.) of this part, if any, have changed; and 
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5. If a change is required to be reported under subdivision 
4 of this subsection, specify the nature of the change, the 
reason for the change, when the change occurred, and how 
the unit's compliance status was determined subsequent to 
the change, including what method was used to determine 
emissions when a change mandated the need for monitor 
recertification. 

9VAC5-140-6180. Action on compliance certifications. 

A. The department or its agent may review and conduct 
independent audits concerning any compliance certification 
or any other submission under the CO2 Budget Trading 
Program and make appropriate adjustments of the information 
in the compliance certifications or other submissions.  

B. The department or its agent may deduct CO2 allowances 
from or transfer CO2 allowances to a source's compliance 
account based on the information in the compliance 
certifications or other submissions, as adjusted under 
subsection A of this section. 

Article 5  
CO2 Allowance Allocations 

Editor's Note: Two versions of 9VAC5-140-6190 are 
provided for comment. The board seeks comment on whether 
the base budget should be 33 million tons or 34 million tons, 
with corresponding 3.0% per year reductions. The first 
version (Version 1) represents a 33 million ton base budget, 
and the second version (Version 2) represents a 34 million ton 
base budget.  

9VAC5-140-6190. Base budgets. 

Version 1, 33 million ton base budget:  
A. The Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget 

shall be as follows: 

1. For 2020, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 33 28 million tons. 

2. For 2021, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 32.01 27.16 million tons. 

3. For 2022, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 31.02 26.32 million tons. 

4. For 2023, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 30.03 25.48 million tons. 

5. For 2024, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 29.04 24.64 million tons. 

6. For 2025, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 28.05 23.80 million tons. 

7. For 2026, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 27.06 22.96 million tons. 

8. For 2027, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 26.07 22.12 million tons. 

9. For 2028, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 25.08 21.28 million tons. 

10. For 2029, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 24.09 20.44 million tons. 

11. For 2030, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 23.10 19.60 million tons. 

B. The department will allocate conditional allowances to 
CO2 budget units and to DMME. After a conditional 
allowance has been consigned in an auction by a CO2 budget 
unit [ and or ] the holder of a public contract with DMME as 
specified under Article 9 (9VAC5-140-6410 et seq.) of this 
part, the conditional allowance becomes [ an allowance to be 
used for compliance purposes a CO2 allowance once it is sold 
to an auction participant ]. 

C. For 2031 and each succeeding calendar year, the Virginia 
CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget is 23.10 million 
tons [ the department will review the Virginia CO2 Budget 
Trading Program base budget and recommend to the board 
appropriate adjustments in the base budget for such 
succeeding years. The department will consider the best 
available science and all relevant information and policies 
available from any CO2 multistate trading program in which 
Virginia is participating when considering further reductions. 
Absent any adjustment, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading 
Program base budget for each year of the decade 2031-2040 
shall be reduced by 840,000 tons from the preceding year the 
Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget is 19.60 
million tons unless modified as a result of a program review 
and future regulatory action ]. 

Version 2, 34 million ton base budget: 
A. The Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget 

shall be as follows: 

1. For 2020, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 34 million tons. 

2. For 2021, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 32.98 million tons. 

3. For 2022, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 31.96 million tons. 

4. For 2023, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 30.94 million tons. 

5. For 2024, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 29.92 million tons. 

6. For 2025, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 28.90 million tons. 

7. For 2026, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 27.88 million tons. 

8. For 2027, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 26.86 million tons. 
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9. For 2028, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 25.84 million tons. 

10. For 2029, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 24.82 million tons. 

11. For 2030, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base budget is 23.80 million tons. 

B. The department will allocate conditional allowances to 
CO2 budget units and to DMME. After a conditional 
allowance has been consigned in an auction by a CO2 budget 
unit and the holder of a public contract with DMME as 
specified under Article 9 (9VAC5-140-6410 et seq.) of this 
part, the conditional allowance becomes an allowance to be 
used for compliance purposes. 

C. For 2031 and each succeeding calendar year, the Virginia 
CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget is 23.80 million 
tons.  

9VAC5-140-6200. Undistributed and unsold [ CO2 
conditional ] allowances. 

A. The department may will retire undistributed CO2 
conditional allowances at the end of [ the initial control 
period and ] each [ subsequent ] control period.  

B. The department may will retire unsold CO2 conditional 
allowances at the end of [ the initial control period and ] each 
[ subsequent ] control period. 

Editor's Note: Two versions of 9VAC5-140-6210 are 
provided for comment. The board seeks comment on whether 
the base budget should be 33 million tons or 34 million tons, 
with corresponding 3.0% per year reductions. The first 
version (Version 1) represents a 33 million ton base budget, 
and the second version (Version 2) represents a 34 million ton 
base budget. 
9VAC5-140-6210. [ CO2 Conditional ] allowance 
allocations. 

Version 1, 33 million ton base budget: 
A. The department will allocate 95% of the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program base budget [ conditional ] 
allowances to CO2 budget sources to be consigned to auction 
to the Virginia Consignment Auction Account. 

B. The department will allocate 5.0% of the Virginia CO2 
Budget Trading Program base budget to DMME to be 
consigned to auction by DMME to assist the department for 
the abatement and control of air pollution, specifically, CO2. 

C. B. For allocation years 2020 through 2031, the Virginia 
CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted budget shall be the 
maximum number of allowances available for allocation in a 
given allocation year, except for [ CO2 conditional ] CCR 
allowances. 

D. C. [ Conditional allowances allocated for a calendar year 
will be automatically transferred to the Virginia Consignment 
Auction Account to be consigned to auction. Following each 
auction, all conditional allowances sold at the auction will be 
transferred from the Virginia Consignment Auction Account 
to winning bidders' accounts as CO2 allowances. 

D. ] The cost containment reserve (CCR) allocation shall be 
managed as follows. The department will allocate [ CO2 
conditional ] CCR allowances, separate from and additional to 
the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget set forth 
in 9VAC5-140-6190 [ , ] to the Virginia [ Consignment ] 
Auction Account. The CCR allocation is for the purpose of 
containing the cost of CO2 allowances. The department will 
allocate [ CO2 conditional ] CCR allowances as follows [ .: ] 

1. The Beginning in calendar year 2020, the department will 
initially allocate 3.3 million [ CO2, ] on a pro rata basis to CO2 
budget sources, 2.8 million [ conditional ] CO2 CCR 
allowances for calendar year 2020. 

2. On or before January 1, 2021, and each year thereafter, the 
department will allocate, on a pro rata basis to CO2 budget 
sources, current vintage year [ conditional ] CCR allowances 
equal to the quantity in Table 140-5A [ , and withdraw the 
number of CO2 CCR allowances that remain in the Virginia 
Auction Account at the end of the prior calendar year ]. 

Table 140-5A 
[ Conditional ] CCR Allowances from 2021 

Forward 

2021 3.201 2.716 million tons 

2022 3.102 2.632 million tons 

2023 3.003 2.548 million tons 

2024 2.904 2.464 million tons 

2025 2.805 2.380 million tons 

2026 2.706 2.296 million tons 

2027 2.607 2.212 million tons 

2028 2.508 2.128 million tons 

2029 2.409 2.044 million tons 

2030 and each year 
thereafter 

2.310 1.960 million tons 

3. The pro rata calculation to be used for the distribution of 
[ CO2 conditional ] CCR allowances is as follows: 

SAA/TAA * CCR = SCCR 

Where: 

SAA = source adjusted allocation 

TAA = total adjusted allocation 

SCCR = source CCR 
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[ 4. Conditional CCR allowances allocated for a calendar 
year will be automatically transferred to the Virginia 
Consignment Auction Account to be consigned to auction. 
Following each auction, all conditional CCR allowances 
sold at auction will be transferred to winning bidders' 
accounts as CO2 CCR allowances. 

5. Unsold conditional CCR allowances will remain in the 
Virginia Consignment Auction Account to be re-offered 
for sale at auction within the same calendar year. 
Conditional CCR allowances remaining unsold at the end 
of the calendar year in which they were originated will be 
made unavailable for sale at future auctions. ] 

[ E. ] Annual base budgets as described in subsections A and B 
of this section may be decreased in any year as necessary to 
account for transfers to the Virginia Emission Containment 
Reserve (ECR) account and adjustments for banked allowances 
[ D. ] In the event that the ECR is triggered during an auction, 
the department will authorize its agent to withhold conditional 
allowances as needed. The department will further authorize its 
agent to convert and transfer any CO2 conditional allowances 
that have been withheld from any auction in the prior year into 
the Virginia ECR account. The ECR withholding is for the 
purpose of additional emission reduction in the event of lower 
than anticipated emission reduction costs. The department 
department's agent will withhold CO2 ECR allowances as 
follows: 

1. If the condition in 9VAC5-140-6420 D 1 is met at an 
auction, then the maximum number of CO2 ECR 
allowances that will be withheld from that auction will be 
equal to the quantity shown in Table 140-5B minus the 
total quantity of CO2 ECR allowances that have been 
withheld from any prior auction in that calendar year. Any 
CO2 ECR allowances withheld from an auction will be 
transferred into the Virginia ECR account. 

Table 140-5B 
ECR Allowances from 2021 Forward 

2021 3.201 2.716 million tons 

2022 3.102 2.632 million tons 

2023 3.003 2.548 million tons 

2024 2.904 2.464 million tons 

2025 2.805 2.380 million tons 

2026 2.706 2.296 million tons 

2027 2.607 2.212 million tons 

2028 2.508 2.128 million tons 

2029 2.409 2.044 million tons 

2030 and each year 
thereafter 

2.310 1.960 million tons 

2. Allowances that have been transferred into the Virginia 
ECR account shall not be withdrawn. 

F. E. The adjustment for banked allowances shall will be as 
follows. On March [ 15 17 ], 2021, the department will may 
determine the third adjustment for banked allowances 
quantity for allocation years 2021 through 2025 through the 
application of the following formula:  

TABA = ((TA – TAE)/5) x RS% 

Where:  

TABA is the adjustment for banked allowances quantity in 
tons.  

TA, adjustment, is the total quantity of allowances of 
vintage years prior to 2021 held in general and compliance 
accounts, including compliance accounts established 
pursuant to the CO2 Budget Trading Program but not 
including accounts opened by participating states, as 
reflected in the CO2 Allowance Tracking System on March 
15, 2021.  

TAE, adjustment emissions, is the total quantity of 2018, 
2019, and 2020 emissions from all CO2 budget sources in 
all participating states, reported pursuant to CO2 Budget 
Trading Program as reflected in the CO2 Allowance 
Tracking System on March [ 15 17 ], 2021.  

RS% is Virginia budget divided by the regional budget. 

G. F. CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted budgets for 
2021 through 2025 shall be determined as follows [ . On: on 
April 15, 2021, the department will determine the Virginia 
CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted budgets for the 2021 
through 2025 allocation years by the following formula: 

AB = BB – TABA 

Where: 

AB is the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted 
budget.  

BB is the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base 
budget.  

TABA is the adjustment for banked allowances quantity in 
tons. 

H. G. The department or its agent will publish the CO2 
trading program adjusted budgets for the 2021 through 2025 
allocation years.  

I. H. Timing requirements for [ CO2 conditional ] allowance 
allocations shall be as follows.: 

1. By [  May 1 August 25 ], 2019, the department will 
submit to RGGI, Inc., its agent the CO2 conditional 
allowance allocations, in a format prescribed by RGGI, 
Inc., and in accordance with 9VAC5-140-6215 A and B, 
for the initial control period, 2020. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations May 27, 2019 

2349 

2. By [ May 1 the month and day established by 
subdivision 1 of this subsection ], 2020, the department 
will submit to its agent 50% of the conditional allowance 
allocations in accordance with 9VAC5-140-6215 A and B, 
for the 2021 control period. By [ April 1 the month and day 
one month before the date established by subdivision 1 of 
this subsection ], 2021, the department will submit to its 
agent the remainder of the conditional allowance 
allocations in accordance with 9VAC5-140-6215 A and B, 
for 2021. 

3. By [ May 1, ] 2020 [ the month and day established by 
subdivision 1 of this subsection, ] 2021, and [ May 1 the 
month and day established by subdivision 1 of this 
subsection ] of every third subsequent year thereafter, the 
department will submit to RGGI, Inc., its agent the [ CO2 
conditional ] allowance allocations, in a format prescribed 
by RGGI, Inc., for the applicable control period, and in 
accordance with 9VAC5-140-6215 A and B. 

I. J. Implementation of the CCR (subsection C of this 
section), the ECR (subsection D of this section) and the 
banking adjustment (subsection E of this section) shall be 
determined based on the extent of the CO2 trading program. 

[ K. Conditional allowances and conditional CCR 
allowances allocated for a calendar year will be automatically 
transferred to the Virginia Consignment Auction Account to 
be consigned to auction. Following each auction, all 
conditional allowances sold at the auction will be transferred 
from the Virginia Consignment Auction Account to winning 
bidders' accounts as CO2 allowances. Conditional CCR 
allowances sold at auction will be transferred to winning 
bidders' accounts as CO2 CCR allowances. Unsold 
conditional CCR allowances will remain in the Virginia 
Consignment Auction Account to be re-offered for sale at 
auction within the same calendar year. Conditional CCR 
allowances remaining unsold at the end of the calendar year 
in which they were originated will be made unavailable for 
sale at future auctions. ] 

Version 2, 34 million ton base budget: 
A. The department will allocate 95% of the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program base budget to CO2 budget sources 
to be consigned to auction to the Virginia Consignment 
Auction Account. 

B. The department will allocate 5.0% of the Virginia CO2 
Budget Trading Program base budget to DMME to be 
consigned to auction by the holder of a public contract with 
DMME to assist the department for the abatement and control 
of air pollution, specifically CO2. 

C. For allocation years 2020 through 2031, the Virginia CO2 
Budget Trading Program adjusted budget shall be the 
maximum number of allowances available for allocation in a 
given allocation year, except for CO2 CCR allowances. 

D. The cost containment reserve (CCR) allocation shall be 
managed as follows. The department will allocate CO2 CCR 
allowances, separate from and additional to the Virginia CO2 
Budget Trading Program base budget set forth in 9VAC5-
140-6190, to the Virginia Auction Account. The CCR 
allocation is for the purpose of containing the cost of CO2 
allowances. The department will allocate CO2 CCR 
allowances as follows. 

1. The department will initially allocate 3.4 million CO2 
CCR allowances for calendar year 2020. 

2. On or before January 1, 2021, and each year thereafter, 
the department will allocate current vintage year CCR 
allowances equal to the quantity in Table 140-5A, and 
withdraw the number of CO2 CCR allowances that remain 
in the Virginia Auction Account at the end of the prior 
calendar year. 

Table 140-5A 
CCR Allowances from 2021 Forward 

2021 3.298 million tons 

2022 3.196 million tons 

2023 3.094 million tons 

2024 2.992 million tons 

2025 2.890 million tons 

2026 2.788 million tons 

2027 2.686 million tons 

2028 2.584 million tons 

2029 2.482 million tons 

2030 and each year 
thereafter 

2.390 million tons 

E. Annual base budgets as described in subsections A and B 
of this section may be decreased in any year as necessary to 
account for transfers to the Virginia Emission Containment 
Reserve (ECR) account and adjustments for banked 
allowances. The department will convert and transfer any 
CO2 allowances that have been withheld from any auction in 
the prior year into the Virginia ECR account. The ECR 
withholding is for the purpose of additional emission 
reduction in the event of lower than anticipated emission 
reduction costs. The department will withhold CO2 ECR 
allowances as follows: 

1. If the condition in 9VAC5-140-6420 D 1 is met at an 
auction, then the maximum number of CO2 ECR 
allowances that will be withheld from that auction will be 
equal to the quantity shown in Table 140-5B minus the 
total quantity of CO2 ECR allowances that have been 
withheld from any prior auction in that calendar year. Any 
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CO2 ECR allowances withheld from an auction will be 
transferred into the Virginia ECR account. 

Table 140-5B 
ECR Allowances from 2021 Forward 

2021 3.298 million tons 

2022 3.196 million tons 

2023 3.094 million tons 

2024 2.992 million tons 

2025 2.890 million tons 

2026 2.788 million tons 

2027 2.686 million tons 

2028 2.584 million tons 

2029 2.482 million tons 

2030 and each year 
thereafter 

2.390 million tons 

2. Allowances that have been transferred into the Virginia 
ECR account shall not be withdrawn. 

F. The adjustment for banked allowances shall be as 
follows. On March 15, 2021, the department will determine 
the third adjustment for banked allowances quantity for 
allocation years 2021 through 2025 through the application of 
the following formula: 

TABA = ((TA – TAE)/5) x RS% 

Where:  

TABA is the adjustment for banked allowances quantity in 
tons.  

TA, adjustment, is the total quantity of allowances of 
vintage years prior to 2021 held in general and compliance 
accounts, including compliance accounts established 
pursuant to the CO2 Budget Trading Program but not 
including accounts opened by participating states, as 
reflected in the CO2 Allowance Tracking System on March 
15, 2021. 

TAE, adjustment emissions, is the total quantity of 2018, 
2019, and 2020 emissions from all CO2 budget sources in 
all participating states, reported pursuant to CO2 Budget 
Trading Program as reflected in the CO2 Allowance 
Tracking System on March 15, 2021. 

RS% is Virginia budget divided by the regional budget. 

G. CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted budgets for 2021 
through 2025 shall be determined as follows. On April 15, 
2021, the department will determine the Virginia CO2 Budget 
Trading Program adjusted budgets for the 2021 through 2025 
allocation years by the following formula:  

AB = BB – TABA 

Where: 

AB is the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted 
budget. 

BB is the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base 
budget. 

TABA is the adjustment for banked allowances quantity in 
tons. 

H. The department or its agent will publish the CO2 trading 
program adjusted budgets for the 2021 through 2025 
allocation years.  

I. Timing requirements for CO2 allowance allocations shall 
be as follows: 

1. By May 1, 2019, the department will submit to RGGI, 
Inc., the CO2 conditional allowance allocations, in a format 
prescribed by RGGI, Inc., and in accordance with 9VAC5-
140-6215 A and B, for the initial control period, 2020. 

2. By May 1, 2020, and May 1 of every third year 
thereafter, the department will submit to RGGI, Inc., the 
CO2 allowance allocations, in a format prescribed by 
RGGI, Inc., for the applicable control period, and in 
accordance with 9VAC5-140-6215 A and B.  

9VAC5-140-6211. [ CO2 Conditional ] allowance 
allocations, DMME allowances. 

Notwithstanding 9VAC5-140-6210, the department will 
allocate 5.0% of the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 
base or adjusted budget allowances, as applicable, to DMME 
to be consigned to auction by the holder of a public contract 
with DMME to assist the department for the abatement and 
control of air pollution, specifically CO2, by the 
implementation of programs that lower base and peak 
electricity demand and reduce the cost of the program to 
consumers and budget sources. 

9VAC5-140-6215. [ CO2 Conditional ] allocation 
methodology. 

A. The net-electric output in MWh used with respect to 
[ CO2 conditional ] allowance allocations under subsection B 
of this section for each CO2 budget unit shall be: 

1. For units operating on or before January 1, 2020, the 
average of the three amounts of the unit's net-electric 
output during 2016, 2017, and 2018 to determine 
allocations for the initial control period. 

2. For all units operating in each control period after 2020, 
the average of the three amounts of the unit's total net-
electric output during the three most recent years for which 
data are available prior to the start of the control period. 

B. 1. For each control period beginning in 2020 and 
thereafter, the department will allocate to all CO2 budget units 
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that have a net-electric output, as determined under 
subsection A of this section, a total amount of [ CO2 ] 
conditional allowances equal to the CO2 base budget. 

2. The department will allocate [ CO2 ] conditional 
allowances to each [ CO2 conditional ] budget unit under 
subdivision 1 of this subsection in an amount determined 
by multiplying the total amount of CO2 allowances 
allocated under subdivision 1 of this subsection by the ratio 
of the baseline electrical output of such CO2 budget unit to 
the total amount of baseline electrical output of all such 
CO2 budget units and rounding to the nearest whole 
allowance as appropriate. 

3. New CO2 budget units will be allocated [ CO2 ] 
conditional allowances once they have established 
electrical output data to be used in the conditional 
allowance allocation process. 

C. For the purpose of the allocation process as described in 
subsections A and B of this section, CO2 budget units shall 
report the unit's net-electric output to the department on a 
yearly basis as follows: 

1. By [ March 1 August 25 ], 2019, each CO2 budget unit 
shall report yearly net-electric output data during 2016, 
2017, and 2018. 

2. By [ March 1, the month and day established by 
subdivision 1 of this subsection, ] 2020, and each year 
thereafter, each CO2 budget unit shall report yearly net-
electric output data for the previous year. 

Article 6 
CO2 Allowance Tracking System 

9VAC5-140-6220. CO2 Allowance Tracking System 
accounts. 

A. Consistent with 9VAC5-140-6230 A, the department or 
its agent will establish one compliance account for each CO2 
budget source. Allocations of [ CO2 ] conditional allowances 
pursuant to Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part 
and deductions or transfers of [ CO2 ] conditional allowances 
pursuant to 9VAC5-140-6180, 9VAC5-140-6260, 9VAC5-
140-6280, or Article 7 (9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part 
will be recorded in the compliance accounts in accordance 
with this section. 

B. Consistent with 9VAC5-140-6230 B, the department or 
its agent will establish, upon request, a general account for 
any person. Transfers of CO2 allowances pursuant to Article 7 
(9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part will be recorded in the 
general account in accordance with this article. 

9VAC5-140-6230. Establishment of accounts. 

A. Upon receipt of a complete account certificate of 
representation under 9VAC5-140-6110, the department or its 
agent will establish a conditional allowance account and a 
compliance account for each CO2 budget source [ for which 

an account certificate of representation was submitted ] and a 
conditional [ compliance allowance ] account for DMME 
[ for which the account certificate of representation was 
submitted ]. 

B. General accounts shall operate as follows. 

1. Any person may apply to open a general account for the 
purpose of holding and transferring CO2 allowances. An 
application for a general account may designate one and 
only one CO2 authorized account representative and one 
and only one alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative who may act on behalf of the CO2 
authorized account representative. The agreement by 
which the alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative is selected shall include a procedure for 
authorizing the alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative to act in lieu of the CO2 authorized account 
representative. A complete application for a general 
account shall be submitted to the department or its agent 
and shall include the following elements in a format 
prescribed by the department or its agent: 

a. Name, address, email address, telephone number, and 
facsimile transmission number of the CO2 authorized 
account representative and any alternate CO2 authorized 
alternate account representative; 

b. At the option of the CO2 authorized account 
representative, organization name and type of 
organization; 

c. A list of all persons subject to a binding agreement for 
the CO2 authorized account representative or any 
alternate CO2 authorized alternate account representative 
to represent their ownership interest with respect to the 
CO2 allowances held in the general account; 

d. The following certification statement by the CO2 
authorized account representative and any alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative: "I certify that 
I was selected as the CO2 authorized account 
representative or the CO2 alternate authorized alternate 
account representative, as applicable, by an agreement 
that is binding on all persons who have an ownership 
interest with respect to CO2 allowances held in the 
general account. I certify that I have all the necessary 
authority to carry out my duties and responsibilities 
under the CO2 Budget Trading Program on behalf of 
such persons and that each such person shall be fully 
bound by my representations, actions, inactions, or 
submissions and by any order or decision issued to me by 
the department or its agent or a court regarding the 
general account."; 

e. The signature of the CO2 authorized account 
representative and any alternate CO2 authorized alternate 
account representative and the dates signed; and 
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f. Unless otherwise required by the department or its 
agent, documents of agreement referred to in the 
application for a general account shall not be submitted 
to the department or its agent. Neither the department nor 
its agent shall be under any obligation to review or 
evaluate the sufficiency of such documents, if submitted. 

2. Authorization of the CO2 authorized account 
representative shall be as follows: 

a. Upon receipt by the department or its agent of a 
complete application for a general account under 
subdivision 1 of this subsection: 

(1) The department or its agent will establish a general 
account for the person for whom the application is 
submitted. 

(2) The CO2 authorized account representative and any 
alternate CO2 authorized alternate account representative 
for the general account shall represent and, by his 
representations, actions, inactions, or submissions, 
legally bind each person who has an ownership interest 
with respect to CO2 allowances held in the general 
account in all matters pertaining to the CO2 Budget 
Trading Program, notwithstanding any agreement 
between the CO2 authorized account representative or 
any alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative and such person. Any such person shall be 
bound by any order or decision issued to the CO2 
authorized account representative or any alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative by the 
department or its agent or a court regarding the general 
account. 

(3) Any representation, action, inaction, or submission by 
any alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative shall be deemed to be a representation, 
action, inaction, or submission by the CO2 authorized 
account representative. 

b. Each submission concerning the general account shall 
be submitted, signed, and certified by the CO2 authorized 
account representative or any alternate CO2 authorized 
alternate account representative for the persons having an 
ownership interest with respect to CO2 allowances held 
in the general account. Each such submission shall 
include the following certification statement by the CO2 
authorized account representative or any alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative: "I am 
authorized to make this submission on behalf of the 
persons having an ownership interest with respect to the 
CO2 allowances held in the general account. I certify 
under penalty of law that I have personally examined, 
and am familiar with, the statements and information 
submitted in this document and all its attachments. Based 
on my inquiry of those individuals with primary 
responsibility for obtaining the information, I certify that 

the statements and information are to the best of my 
knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I am 
aware that there are significant penalties for submitting 
false statements and information or omitting required 
statements and information, including the possibility of 
fine or imprisonment." 

c. The department or its agent will accept or act on a 
submission concerning the general account only if the 
submission has been made, signed, and certified in 
accordance with subdivision 2 b of this subsection. 

3. Changing CO2 authorized account representative and 
alternate CO2 authorized alternate account representative, 
and changes in persons with ownership interest, shall be 
accomplished as follows: 

a. The CO2 authorized account representative for a 
general account may be changed at any time upon receipt 
by the department or its agent of a superseding complete 
application for a general account under subdivision 1 of 
this subsection. Notwithstanding any such change, all 
representations, actions, inactions, and submissions by 
the previous CO2 authorized account representative, or 
the previous alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative, prior to the time and date when the 
department or its agent receives the superseding 
application for a general account shall be binding on the 
new CO2 authorized account representative and the 
persons with an ownership interest with respect to the 
CO2 allowances in the general account. 

b. The alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative for a general account may be changed at 
any time upon receipt by the department or its agent of a 
superseding complete application for a general account 
under subdivision 1 of this subsection. Notwithstanding 
any such change, all representations, actions, inactions, 
and submissions by the previous CO2 authorized account 
representative, or the previous alternate CO2 authorized 
alternate account representative, prior to the time and 
date when the department or its agent receives the 
superseding application for a general account shall be 
binding on the new alternate CO2 authorized account 
representative and the persons with an ownership interest 
with respect to the CO2 allowances in the general 
account. 

c. In the event a new person having an ownership interest 
with respect to CO2 allowances in the general account is 
not included in the list of such persons in the application 
for a general account, such new person shall be deemed 
to be subject to and bound by the application for a 
general account, the representations, actions, inactions, 
and submissions of the CO2 authorized account 
representative and any alternate CO2 authorized alternate 
account representative, and the decisions, orders, actions, 
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and inactions of the department or its agent, as if the new 
person were included in such list. 

d. Within 30 days following any change in the persons 
having an ownership interest with respect to CO2 
allowances in the general account, including the addition 
or deletion of persons, the CO2 authorized account 
representative or any alternate CO2 authorized alternate 
account representative shall submit a revision to the 
application for a general account amending the list of 
persons having an ownership interest with respect to the 
CO2 allowances in the general account to include the 
change. 

4. Objections concerning CO2 authorized account 
representative shall be governed as follows: 

a. Once a complete application for a general account 
under subdivision 1 of this subsection has been submitted 
and received, the department or its agent will rely on the 
application unless and until a superseding complete 
application for a general account under subdivision 1 of 
this subsection is received by the department or its agent. 

b. Except as provided in subdivisions 3 a and 3 b of this 
subsection, no objection or other communication 
submitted to the department or its agent concerning the 
authorization, or any representation, action, inaction, or 
submission of the CO2 authorized account representative 
or any alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative for a general account shall affect any 
representation, action, inaction, or submission of the CO2 
authorized account representative or any alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative or the finality 
of any decision or order by the department or its agent 
under the CO2 Budget Trading Program. 

c. Neither the department nor its agent will adjudicate 
any private legal dispute concerning the authorization or 
any representation, action, inaction, or submission of the 
CO2 authorized account representative or any alternate 
CO2 authorized alternate account representative for a 
general account, including private legal disputes 
concerning the proceeds of CO2 allowance transfers. 

5. Delegation by CO2 authorized account representative 
and alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative shall be accomplished as follows: 

a. A CO2 authorized account representative may 
delegate, to one or more natural persons, his authority to 
make an electronic submission to the department or its 
agent provided for under this article and Article 7 
(9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part. 

b. An alternate A CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative may delegate, to one or more natural 
persons, his authority to make an electronic submission 
to the department or its agent provided for under this 

article and Article 7 (9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this 
part. 

c. To delegate authority to make an electronic submission 
to the department or its agent in accordance with 
subdivisions 5 a and 5 b of this subsection, the CO2 
authorized account representative or alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative, as 
appropriate, shall submit to the department or its agent a 
notice of delegation, in a format prescribed by the 
department that includes the following elements: 

(1) The name, address, email address, telephone number, 
and facsimile transmission number of such CO2 
authorized account representative or alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative; 

(2) The name, address, email address, telephone number, 
and facsimile transmission number of each such natural 
person, referred to as "electronic submission agent"; 

(3) For each such natural person, a list of the type of 
electronic submissions under subdivision 5 c (1) or 5 c 
(2) of this subsection for which authority is delegated to 
him; and 

(4) The following certification statement by such CO2 
authorized account representative or alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative: "I agree that 
any electronic submission to the department or its agent 
that is by a natural person identified in this notice of 
delegation and of a type listed for such electronic 
submission agent in this notice of delegation and that is 
made when I am a CO2 authorized account representative 
or alternate CO2 authorized alternate account 
representative, as appropriate, and before this notice of 
delegation is superseded by another notice of delegation 
under 9VAC5-140-6230 B 5 d shall be deemed to be an 
electronic submission by me. Until this notice of 
delegation is superseded by another notice of delegation 
under 9VAC5-140-6230 B 5 d, I agree to maintain an 
email account and to notify the department or its agent 
immediately of any change in my email address unless 
all delegation authority by me under 9VAC5-140-6230 B 
5 is terminated." 

d. A notice of delegation submitted under subdivision 5 c 
of this subsection shall be effective, with regard to the 
CO2 authorized account representative or alternate CO2 
authorized alternate account representative identified in 
such notice, upon receipt of such notice by the 
department or its agent and until receipt by the 
department or its agent of a superseding notice of 
delegation by such CO2 authorized account 
representative or alternate CO2 authorized alternate 
account representative as appropriate. The superseding 
notice of delegation may replace any previously 
identified electronic submission agent, add a new 
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electronic submission agent, or eliminate entirely any 
delegation of authority. 

e. Any electronic submission covered by the certification 
in subdivision 5 c (4) of this subsection and made in 
accordance with a notice of delegation effective under 
subdivision 5 d of this subsection shall be deemed to be 
an electronic submission by the CO2 authorized account 
representative or alternate CO2 authorized alternate 
account representative submitting such notice of 
delegation. 

C. The department or its agent will assign a unique 
identifying number to each account established under 
subsection A or B of this section. 

9VAC5-140-6240. CO2 Allowance Tracking System 
responsibilities of CO2 authorized account representative. 

Following the establishment of a COATS account, all 
submissions to the department or its agent pertaining to the 
account, including submissions concerning the deduction or 
transfer of CO2 allowances in the account, shall be made only 
by the CO2 authorized account representative for the account. 

9VAC5-140-6250. Recordation of [ CO2 conditional ] 
allowance allocations. 

A. By January 1 of each calendar year, the department or its 
agent will record in the following accounts: 

1. In each CO2 budget source's and DMME's conditional 
allowance account, the [ CO2 ] conditional allowances 
allocated to those sources and DMME by the department 
prior to being consigned to auction; and  

2. In each CO2 budget source's compliance account, the 
CO2 allowances purchased at auction by CO2 budget units 
at the source under 9VAC5-140-6210 A.  

B. Each year the department or its agent will record [ CO2 
conditional ] allowances, as allocated to the unit under Article 
5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part, in the compliance 
account for the year after the last year for which [ CO2 
conditional ] allowances were previously allocated to the 
compliance account. Each year, the department or its agent 
will also record [ CO2 conditional ] allowances, as allocated 
under Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part, in an 
allocation set-aside for the year after the last year for which 
[ CO2 conditional ] allowances were previously allocated to 
an allocation set-aside.  

C. Serial numbers for allocated [ CO2 conditional ] 
allowances shall be managed as follows. When allocating 
[ CO2 conditional ] allowances to and recording them in an 
account, the department or its agent will assign each [ CO2 
conditional ] allowance a unique identification number that 
will include digits identifying the year for which the [ CO2 
conditional ] allowance is allocated. 

9VAC5-140-6260. Compliance. 

A. CO2 allowances that meet the following criteria are 
available to be deducted for a CO2 budget source to comply 
with the CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C for [ the 
initial control period, ] a control period [ , ] or an interim 
control period. 

1. The CO2 allowances are of allocation years that fall 
within [ an initial control period, ] a prior control period, 
the same control period, or the same interim control period 
for which the allowances will be deducted. 

2. The CO2 allowances are held in the CO2 budget source's 
compliance account as of the CO2 allowance transfer 
deadline for that [ initial control period, ] control period 
[ , ] or interim control period or are transferred into the 
compliance account by a CO2 allowance transfer correctly 
submitted for recordation under 9VAC5-140-6300 by the 
CO2 allowance transfer deadline for that [ initial control 
period, ] control period [ , ] or interim control period. 

3. For CO2 offset allowances generated by other 
participating states, the number of CO2 offset allowances 
that are available to be deducted in order for a CO2 budget 
source to comply with the CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-
140-6050 C for a control period [ or an ] initial control 
period [ , or an interim control period ] shall not exceed 
3.3% of the CO2 budget source's CO2 emissions for that 
control period, or may not exceed 3.3% of 0.50 times the 
CO2 budget source's CO2 emissions for an interim control 
period, as determined in accordance with this article and 
Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

3. 4. The CO2 allowances are not necessary for deductions 
for excess emissions for a prior [ initial control period or 
a ] control period under subsection D of this section. 

B. Following the recordation, in accordance with 9VAC5-
140-6310, of CO2 allowance transfers submitted for 
recordation in the CO2 budget source's compliance account by 
the CO2 allowance transfer deadline for [ the initial control 
period, ] a control period [ , ] or [ an ] interim control period, 
the department or its agent will deduct CO2 allowances 
available under subsection A of this section to cover the 
source's CO2 emissions, as determined in accordance with 
Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part, for the 
[ initial control period, ] control period [ , ] or interim control 
period, as follows: 

1. Until the amount of CO2 allowances deducted equals the 
number of tons of total CO2 emissions, or 0.50 times the 
number of tons of total CO2 emissions for an interim 
control period, determined in accordance with Article 8 
(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part, from all CO2 
budget units at the CO2 budget source for the [ initial 
control period, ] control period [ , ] or interim control 
period; or 
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2. If there are insufficient CO2 allowances to complete the 
deductions in subdivision 1 of this subsection, until no 
more CO2 allowances available under subsection A of this 
section remain in the compliance account. 

C. Identification of available CO2 allowances by serial 
number and default compliance deductions shall be managed 
as follows: 

1. The CO2 authorized account representative for a source's 
compliance account may request that specific CO2 
allowances, identified by serial number, in the compliance 
account be deducted for emissions or excess emissions for 
[ the initial control period, ] a control period [ , ] or interim 
control period in accordance with subsection B or D of this 
section. Such identification shall be made in the 
compliance certification report submitted in accordance 
with 9VAC5-140-6170. 

2. The department or its agent will deduct CO2 allowances 
for [ the initial control period, an interim control period, 
or ] a control period from the CO2 budget source's 
compliance account, in the absence of an identification or 
in the case of a partial identification of available CO2 
allowances by serial number under subdivision 1 of this 
subsection, as follows: Any CO2 allowances that are 
available for deduction under subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. CO2 allowances shall be deducted in 
chronological order (i.e., CO2 allowances from earlier 
allocation years shall be deducted before CO2 allowances 
from later allocation years). In the event that some, but not 
all, CO2 allowances from a particular allocation year are to 
be deducted, CO2 allowances shall be deducted by serial 
number, with lower serial number allowances deducted 
before higher serial number allowances. 

D. Deductions for excess emissions shall be managed as 
follows. 

1. After making the deductions for compliance under 
subsection B of this section, the department or its agent 
will deduct from the CO2 budget source's compliance 
account a number of CO2 allowances equal to three times 
the number of the source's excess emissions. In the event 
that a source has insufficient CO2 allowances to cover 
three times the number of the source's excess emissions, 
the source shall be required to immediately transfer 
sufficient allowances into its compliance account. 

2. Any CO2 allowance deduction required under 
subdivision 1 of this subsection shall not affect the liability 
of the owners and operators of the CO2 budget source or 
the CO2 budget units at the source for any fine, penalty, or 
assessment, or their obligation to comply with any other 
remedy, for the same violation, as ordered under applicable 
state law. The following guidelines will be followed in 
assessing fines, penalties, or other obligations: 

a. For purposes of determining the number of days of 
violation, if a CO2 budget source has excess emissions 
for a control period, each day in the control period 
constitutes a day in violation unless the owners and 
operators of the unit demonstrate that a lesser number of 
days should be considered. 

b. Each ton of excess emissions is a separate violation. 

c. For purposes of determining the number of days of 
violation, if a CO2 budget source has excess interim 
emissions for an interim control period, each day in the 
interim control period constitutes a day in violation 
unless the owners and operators of the unit demonstrate 
that a lesser number of days should be considered. 

d. Each ton of excess interim emissions is a separate 
violation. 

3. The propriety of the department's determination that a 
CO2 budget source had excess emissions and the 
concomitant deduction of CO2 allowances from that CO2 
budget source's account may be later challenged in the 
context of the initial administrative enforcement, or any 
civil or criminal judicial action arising from or 
encompassing that excess emissions violation. The 
commencement or pendency of any administrative 
enforcement, or civil or criminal judicial action arising 
from or encompassing that excess emissions violation will 
not act to prevent the department or its agent from initially 
deducting the CO2 allowances resulting from the 
department's original determination that the relevant CO2 
budget source has had excess emissions. Should the 
department's determination of the existence or extent of the 
CO2 budget source's excess emissions be revised either by 
a settlement or final conclusion of any administrative or 
judicial action, the department will act as follows: 

a. In any instance where the department's determination 
of the extent of excess emissions was too low, the 
department will take further action under subdivisions 1 
and 2 of this subsection to address the expanded 
violation. 

b. In any instance where the department's determination 
of the extent of excess emissions was too high, the 
department will distribute to the relevant CO2 budget 
source a number of CO2 allowances equaling the number 
of CO2 allowances deducted which are attributable to the 
difference between the original and final quantity of 
excess emissions. Should such CO2 budget source's 
compliance account no longer exist, the CO2 allowances 
will be provided to a general account selected by the 
owner or operator of the CO2 budget source from which 
they were originally deducted. 

E. The department or its agent will record in the appropriate 
compliance account all deductions from such an account 
pursuant to subsections B and D of this section. 
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F. Action by the department on submissions shall be as 
follows: 

1. The department may review and conduct independent 
audits concerning any submission under the CO2 Budget 
Trading Program and make appropriate adjustments of the 
information in the submissions. 

2. The department may deduct CO2 allowances from or 
transfer CO2 allowances to a source's compliance account 
based on information in the submissions, as adjusted under 
subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

9VAC5-140-6270. Banking. 

Each CO2 allowance that is held in a compliance account or 
a general account will remain in such account unless and until 
the CO2 allowance is deducted or transferred under 9VAC5-
140-6180, 9VAC5-140-6260, 9VAC5-140-6280, or Article 7 
(9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part. 

9VAC5-140-6280. Account error. 

The department or its agent may, at its sole discretion and on 
its own motion, correct any error in any COATS account. 
Within 10 business days of making such correction, the 
department or its agent will notify the CO2 authorized account 
representative for the account. 

9VAC5-140-6290. Closing of general accounts. 

A. A CO2 authorized account representative of a general 
account may instruct the department or its agent to close the 
account by submitting a statement requesting deletion of the 
account from the COATS and by correctly submitting for 
recordation under 9VAC5-140-6300 a CO2 allowance transfer 
of all CO2 allowances in the account to one or more other 
COATS accounts. 

B. If a general account shows no activity for a period of one 
year or more and does not contain any CO2 allowances, the 
department or its agent may notify the CO2 authorized 
account representative for the account that the account will be 
closed in the COATS 30 business days after the notice is sent. 
The account will be closed after the 30-day period unless 
before the end of the 30-day period the department or its 
agent receives a correctly submitted transfer of CO2 
allowances into the account under 9VAC5-140-6300 or a 
statement submitted by the CO2 authorized account 
representative demonstrating to the satisfaction of the 
department or its agent good cause as to why the account 
should not be closed. The department or its agent will have 
sole discretion to determine if the owner or operator of the 
unit demonstrated that the account should not be closed. 

Article 7 
CO2 Allowance Transfers 

9VAC5-140-6300. Submission of CO2 allowance transfers. 

The CO2 authorized account representatives seeking 
recordation of a CO2 allowance transfer shall submit the 
transfer to the department or its agent. To be considered 
correctly submitted, the CO2 allowance transfer shall include 
the following elements in a format specified by the 
department or its agent:  

1. The numbers identifying both the transferor and 
transferee accounts;  

2. A specification by serial number of each CO2 allowance 
to be transferred;  

3. The printed name and signature of the CO2 authorized 
account representative of the transferor account and the 
date signed;  

4. The date of the completion of the last sale or purchase 
transaction for the allowance, if any; and 

5. The purchase or sale price of the allowance that is the 
subject of a sale or purchase transaction under subdivision 
4 of this section. 

9VAC5-140-6310. Recordation. 

A. Within five business days of receiving a CO2 allowance 
transfer, except as provided in subsection B of this section, 
the department or its agent will record a CO2 allowance 
transfer by moving each CO2 allowance from the transferor 
account to the transferee account as specified by the request, 
provided that: 

1. The transfer is correctly submitted under 9VAC5-140-
6300; and  

2. The transferor account includes each CO2 allowance 
identified by serial number in the transfer.  

B. A CO2 allowance transfer into or out of a compliance 
account that is submitted for recordation following the CO2 
allowance transfer deadline and that includes any CO2 
allowances that are of allocation years that fall within a 
control period prior to or the same as the control period to 
which the CO2 allowance transfer deadline applies will not be 
recorded until after completion of the process pursuant to 
9VAC5-140-6260 B.  

C. Where a CO2 allowance transfer submitted for 
recordation fails to meet the requirements of subsection A of 
this section, the department or its agent will not record such 
transfer. 

9VAC5-140-6320. Notification. 

A. Within five business days of recordation of a CO2 
allowance transfer under 9VAC5-140-6310, the department 
or its agent will notify each party to the transfer. Notice will 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations May 27, 2019 

2357 

be given to the CO2 authorized account representatives of 
both the transferor and transferee accounts. 

B. Within 10 business days of receipt of a CO2 allowance 
transfer that fails to meet the requirements of 9VAC5-140-
6310 A, the department or its agent will notify the CO2 
authorized account representatives of both accounts subject to 
the transfer of (i) a decision not to record the transfer and (ii) 
the reasons for such nonrecordation.  

C. Nothing in this section shall preclude the submission of a 
CO2 allowance transfer for recordation following notification 
of nonrecordation. 

Article 8 
Monitoring, Reporting, and Recordkeeping 

9VAC5-140-6330. General requirements. 

A. The owners and operators, and to the extent applicable, 
the CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 budget 
unit shall comply with the monitoring, recordkeeping, and 
reporting requirements as provided in this section and all 
applicable sections of 40 CFR Part 75. Where referenced in 
this article, the monitoring requirements of 40 CFR Part 75 
shall be adhered to in a manner consistent with the purpose of 
monitoring and reporting CO2 mass emissions pursuant to this 
part. For purposes of complying with such requirements, the 
definitions in 9VAC5-140-6020 and in 40 CFR 72.2 shall 
apply, and the terms "affected unit," "designated 
representative," and "CEMS" in 40 CFR Part 75 shall be 
replaced by the terms "CO2 budget unit," "CO2 authorized 
account representative," and "CEMS," respectively, as 
defined in 9VAC5-140-6020. For units not subject to an acid 
rain emissions limitation, the term "administrator" in 40 CFR 
Part 75 shall be replaced with "the department or its agent." 
Owners or operators of a CO2 budget unit who monitor a non-
CO2 budget unit pursuant to the common, multiple, or bypass 
stack procedures in 40 CFR 75.72(b)(2)(ii), or 40 CFR 75.16 
(b)(2)(ii)(B) pursuant to 40 CFR 75.13, for purposes of 
complying with this part, shall monitor and report CO2 mass 
emissions from such non-CO2 budget unit units according to 
the procedures for CO2 budget units established in this article. 

B. The owner or operator of each CO2 budget unit shall meet 
the following general requirements for installation, 
certification, and data accounting. 

1. Install all monitoring systems necessary to monitor CO2 
mass emissions in accordance with 40 CFR Part 75, except 
for equation G-1. Equation G-1 in Appendix G shall not be 
used to determine CO2 emissions under this part. This may 
require systems to monitor CO2 concentration, stack gas 
flow rate, O2 concentration, heat input, and fuel flow rate. 

2. Successfully complete all certification tests required 
under 9VAC5-140-6340 and meet all other requirements of 
this section and 40 CFR Part 75 applicable to the 
monitoring systems under subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

3. Record, report, and quality-assure the data from the 
monitoring systems under subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

C. The owner or operator shall meet the monitoring system 
certification and other requirements of subsection B of this 
section on or before the following dates. The owner or 
operator shall record, report, and quality-assure the data from 
the monitoring systems under subdivision B 1 of this section 
on and after the following dates: 

1. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit, except for a 
CO2 budget unit under subdivision 2 of this subsection, 
shall comply with the requirements of this section by 
January 1, 2020. 

2. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit that 
commences commercial operation July 1, 2020, shall 
comply with the requirements of this section by (i) January 
1, 2021, or (ii) the earlier of 90 unit operating days after 
the date on which the unit commences commercial 
operation, or 180 calendar days after the date on which the 
unit commences commercial operation. 

3. For the owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit for 
which construction of a new stack or flue installation is 
completed after the applicable deadline under subdivision 
1 or 2 of this subsection by the earlier of (i) 90 unit 
operating days after the date on which emissions first exit 
to the atmosphere through the new stack or flue or (ii) 180 
calendar days after the date on which emissions first exit to 
the atmosphere through the new stack or flue. 

D. Data shall be reported as follows: 

1. Except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection, 
the owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit that does not 
meet the applicable compliance date set forth in subsection 
C of this section for any monitoring system under 
subdivision B 1 of this section shall, for each such 
monitoring system, determine, record, and report 
maximum potential, or as appropriate minimum potential, 
values for CO2 concentration, CO2 emissions rate, stack 
gas moisture content, fuel flow rate, heat input, and any 
other parameter required to determine CO2 mass emissions 
in accordance with 40 CFR 75.31(b)(2) or (c)(3) or Section 
2.4 of Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75 as applicable. 

2. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit that does 
not meet the applicable compliance date set forth in 
subdivision C 3 of this section for any monitoring system 
under subdivision B 1 of this section shall, for each such 
monitoring system, determine, record, and report substitute 
data using the applicable missing data procedures in 
Subpart D, or Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75, in lieu of the 
maximum potential, or as appropriate minimum potential, 
values for a parameter if the owner or operator 
demonstrates that there is continuity between the data 
streams for that parameter before and after the construction 
or installation under subdivision C 3 of this section. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations May 27, 2019 

2358 

a. CO2 budget units subject to an acid rain emissions 
limitation or CSAPR NOX Ozone Season Trading 
Program that qualify for the optional SO2, NOX, and CO2 
(for acid rain) or NOX (for CSAPR NOX Ozone Season 
Trading Program) emissions calculations for low mass 
emissions (LME) units under 40 CFR 75.19 and report 
emissions for such programs using the calculations under 
40 CFR 75.19, shall also use the CO2 emissions 
calculations for LME units under 40 CFR 75.19 for 
purposes of compliance with these regulations. 

b. CO2 budget units subject to an acid rain emissions 
limitation that do not qualify for the optional SO2, NOX, 
and CO2 (for acid rain) or NOX (for CSAPR NOX Ozone 
Season Trading Program) emissions calculations for 
LME units under 40 CFR 75.19 shall not use the CO2 
emissions calculations for LME units under 40 CFR 
75.19 for purposes of compliance with these regulations. 

c. CO2 budget units not subject to an acid rain emissions 
limitation shall qualify for the optional CO2 emissions 
calculation for LME units under 40 CFR 75.19, provided 
that they emit less than 100 tons of NOX annually and no 
more than 25 tons of SO2 annually. 

3. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall report 
net-electric output data to the department as required by 
Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part. 

E. Prohibitions shall be as follows. 

1. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall use any 
alternative monitoring system, alternative reference 
method, or any other alternative for the required CEMS 
without having obtained prior written approval in 
accordance with 9VAC5-140-6380. 

2. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall operate 
the unit so as to discharge, or allow to be discharged, CO2 
emissions to the atmosphere without accounting for all 
such emissions in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of this article and 40 CFR Part 75. 

3. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall disrupt 
the CEMS, any portion thereof, or any other approved 
emissions monitoring method, and thereby avoid 
monitoring and recording CO2 mass emissions discharged 
into the atmosphere, except for periods of recertification or 
periods when calibration, quality assurance testing, or 
maintenance is performed in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of this article and 40 CFR Part 75. 

4. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall retire or 
permanently discontinue use of the CEMS, any component 
thereof, or any other approved emissions monitoring 
system under this article, except under any one of the 
following circumstances: 

a. The owner or operator is monitoring emissions from 
the unit with another certified monitoring system 

approved, in accordance with the applicable provisions of 
this article and 40 CFR Part 75, by the department for use 
at that unit that provides emissions data for the same 
pollutant or parameter as the retired or discontinued 
monitoring system; or 

b. The CO2 authorized account representative submits 
notification of the date of certification testing of a 
replacement monitoring system in accordance with 
9VAC5-140-6340 D 3 a. 

9VAC5-140-6340. Initial certification and recertification 
procedures. 

A. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall be 
exempt from the initial certification requirements of this 
section for a monitoring system under 9VAC5-140-6330 B 1 
if the following conditions are met: 

1. The monitoring system has been previously certified in 
accordance with 40 CFR Part 75; and  

2. The applicable quality-assurance and quality-control 
requirements of 40 CFR 75.21 and Appendix B and 
Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75 are fully met for the 
certified monitoring system described in subdivision 1 of 
this subsection. 

B. The recertification provisions of this section shall apply 
to a monitoring system under 9VAC5-140-6330 B 1 exempt 
from initial certification requirements under subsection A of 
this section. 

C. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, if the 
administrator has previously approved a petition under 
40 CFR 75.72(b)(2)(ii), or 40 CFR 75.16(b)(2)(ii)(B) as 
pursuant to 40 CFR 75.13 for apportioning the CO2 emissions 
rate measured in a common stack or a petition under 40 CFR 
75.66 for an alternative requirement in 40 CFR Part 75, the 
CO2 authorized account representative shall submit the 
petition to the department under 9VAC5-140-6380 A to 
determine whether the approval applies under this program. 

D. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, the 
owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall comply with the 
following initial certification and recertification procedures 
for a CEMS and an excepted monitoring system under 
Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75 and under 9VAC5-140-6330 
B 1. The owner or operator of a unit that qualifies to use the 
low mass emissions excepted monitoring methodology in 
40 CFR 75.19 or that qualifies to use an alternative 
monitoring system under Subpart E of 40 CFR Part 75 shall 
comply with the procedures in subsection E or F of this 
section, respectively. 

1. For initial certification, the owner or operator shall 
ensure that each CEMS required under 9VAC5-140-6330 
B 1, which includes the automated DAHS, successfully 
completes all of the initial certification testing required 
under 40 CFR 75.20 by the applicable deadlines specified 
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in 9VAC5-140-6330 C. In addition, whenever the owner or 
operator installs a monitoring system to meet the 
requirements of this article in a location where no such 
monitoring system was previously installed, initial 
certification in accordance with 40 CFR 75.20 is required. 

2. For recertification, the following requirements shall 
apply. 

a. Whenever the owner or operator makes a replacement, 
modification, or change in a certified CEMS under 
9VAC5-140-6330 B 1 that the administrator or the 
department determines significantly affects the ability of 
the system to accurately measure or record CO2 mass 
emissions or to meet the quality-assurance and quality-
control requirements of 40 CFR 75.21 or Appendix B to 
40 CFR Part 75, the owner or operator shall recertify the 
monitoring system according to 40 CFR 75.20(b). 

b. For systems using stack measurements such as stack 
flow, stack moisture content, CO2 or O2 monitors, 
whenever the owner or operator makes a replacement, 
modification, or change to the flue gas handling system 
or the unit's operation that the administrator or the 
department determines to significantly change the flow 
or concentration profile, the owner or operator shall 
recertify the CEMS according to 40 CFR 75.20(b). 
Examples of changes that require recertification include 
replacement of the analyzer, change in location or 
orientation of the sampling probe or site, or change of 
flow rate monitor polynomial coefficients. 

3. The approval process for initial certifications and 
recertification shall be as follows: Subdivisions 
subdivisions 3 a through 3 d of this subsection apply to 
both initial certification and recertification of a monitoring 
system under 9VAC5-140-6330 B 1. For recertifications, 
replace the words "certification" and "initial certification" 
with the word "recertification," replace the word "certified" 
with "recertified," and proceed in the manner prescribed in 
40 CFR 75.20(b)(5) and (g)(7) in lieu of subdivision 3 e of 
this subsection. 

a. The CO2 authorized account representative shall 
submit to the department or its agent, the appropriate 
EPA Regional Office and the administrator a written 
notice of the dates of certification in accordance with 
9VAC5-140-6360. 

b. The CO2 authorized account representative shall 
submit to the department or its agent a certification 
application for each monitoring system. A complete 
certification application shall include the information 
specified in 40 CFR 75.63. 

c. The provisional certification date for a monitor shall be 
determined in accordance with 40 CFR 75.20(a)(3). A 
provisionally certified monitor may be used under the 
CO2 Budget Trading Program for a period not to exceed 

120 days after receipt by the department of the complete 
certification application for the monitoring system or 
component thereof under subdivision 3 b of this 
subsection. Data measured and recorded by the 
provisionally certified monitoring system or component 
thereof, in accordance with the requirements of 40 CFR 
Part 75, will be considered valid quality-assured data, 
retroactive to the date and time of provisional 
certification, provided that the department does not 
invalidate the provisional certification by issuing a notice 
of disapproval within 120 days of receipt of the complete 
certification application by the department. 

d. The department will issue a written notice of approval 
or disapproval of the certification application to the 
owner or operator within 120 days of receipt of the 
complete certification application under subdivision 3 b 
of this subsection. In the event the department does not 
issue such a notice within such 120-day period, each 
monitoring system that meets the applicable performance 
requirements of 40 CFR Part 75 and is included in the 
certification application will be deemed certified for use 
under the CO2 Budget Trading Program. 

(1) If the certification application is complete and shows 
that each monitoring system meets the applicable 
performance requirements of 40 CFR Part 75, then the 
department will issue a written notice of approval of the 
certification application within 120 days of receipt. 

(2) If the certification application is incomplete, then the 
department will issue a written notice of incompleteness 
that sets a reasonable date by which the CO2 authorized 
account representative shall submit the additional 
information required to complete the certification 
application. If the CO2 authorized account representative 
does not comply with the notice of incompleteness by the 
specified date, then the department may issue a notice of 
disapproval under subdivision 3 d (3) of this subsection. 
The 120-day review period shall not begin before receipt 
of a complete certification application. 

(3) If the certification application shows that any 
monitoring system or component thereof does not meet 
the performance requirements of 40 CFR Part 75, or if 
the certification application is incomplete and the 
requirement for disapproval under subdivision 3 d (2) of 
this subsection is met, then the department will issue a 
written notice of disapproval of the certification 
application. Upon issuance of such notice of disapproval, 
the provisional certification is invalidated by the 
department and the data measured and recorded by each 
uncertified monitoring system or component thereof shall 
not be considered valid quality assured data beginning 
with the date and hour of provisional certification. The 
owner or operator shall follow the procedures for loss of 
certification in subdivision 3 e of this subsection for each 
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monitoring system or component thereof, which is 
disapproved for initial certification. 

(4) The department may issue a notice of disapproval of 
the certification status of a monitor in accordance with 
9VAC5-140-6350 B. 

e. If the department issues a notice of disapproval of a 
certification application under subdivision 3 d (3) of this 
subsection or a notice of disapproval of certification 
status under subdivision 3 d (3) of this subsection, then: 

(1) The owner or operator shall substitute the following 
values for each disapproved monitoring system, for each 
hour of unit operation during the period of invalid data 
beginning with the date and hour of provisional 
certification and continuing until the time, date, and hour 
specified under 40 CFR 75.20(a)(5)(i) or 40 CFR 
75.20(g)(7): (i) for units using or intending to monitor for 
CO2 mass emissions using heat input or for units using 
the low mass emissions excepted methodology under 
40 CFR 75.19, the maximum potential hourly heat input 
of the unit; or (ii) for units intending to monitor for CO2 
mass emissions using a CO2 pollutant concentration 
monitor and a flow monitor, the maximum potential 
concentration of CO2 and the maximum potential flow 
rate of the unit under Section 2.1 of Appendix A of 
40 CFR Part 75 [ .; ]  

(2) The CO2 authorized account representative shall 
submit a notification of certification retest dates and a 
new certification application in accordance with 
subdivisions 3 a and 3 b of this subsection; and 

(3) The owner or operator shall repeat all certification 
tests or other requirements that were failed by the 
monitoring system, as indicated in the department's 
notice of disapproval, no later than 30 unit operating days 
after the date of issuance of the notice of disapproval. 

E. The owner or operator of a unit qualified to use the low 
mass emissions excepted methodology under 9VAC5-140-
6330 D 3 shall meet the applicable certification and 
recertification requirements of 40 CFR 75.19(a)(2), 40 CFR 
75.20(h), and this section. If the owner or operator of such a 
unit elects to certify a fuel flow meter system for heat input 
determinations, the owner or operator shall also meet the 
certification and recertification requirements in 40 CFR 
75.20(g). 

F. The CO2 authorized account of each unit for which the 
owner or operator intends to use an alternative monitoring 
system approved by the administrator and, if applicable, the 
department under Subpart E of 40 CFR Part 75 shall comply 
with the applicable notification and application procedures of 
40 CFR 75.20(f). 

9VAC5-140-6350. Out-of-control periods. 

A. Whenever any monitoring system fails to meet the 
quality assurance/quality control (QA/QC) requirements or 
data validation requirements of 40 CFR Part 75, data shall be 
substituted using the applicable procedures in Subpart D or 
Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75.  

B. Whenever both an audit of a monitoring system and a 
review of the initial certification or recertification application 
reveal that any monitoring system should not have been 
certified or recertified because it did not meet a particular 
performance specification or other requirement under 
9VAC5-140-6340 or the applicable provisions of 40 CFR 
Part 75, both at the time of the initial certification or 
recertification application submission and at the time of the 
audit, the department or administrator will issue a notice of 
disapproval of the certification status of such monitoring 
system. For the purposes of this subsection, an audit shall be 
either a field audit or an audit of any information submitted to 
the department or the administrator. By issuing the notice of 
disapproval, the department or administrator revokes 
prospectively the certification status of the monitoring 
system. The data measured and recorded by the monitoring 
system shall not be considered valid quality-assured data 
from the date of issuance of the notification of the revoked 
certification status until the date and time that the owner or 
operator completes subsequently approved initial certification 
or recertification tests for the monitoring system. The owner 
or operator shall follow the initial certification or 
recertification procedures in 9VAC5-140-6340 for each 
disapproved monitoring system. 

9VAC5-140-6360. Notifications. 

The CO2 authorized account representative for a CO2 budget 
unit shall submit written notice to the department and the 
administrator in accordance with 40 CFR 75.61. 

9VAC5-140-6370. Recordkeeping and reporting. 

A. The CO2 authorized account representative shall comply 
with all recordkeeping and reporting requirements in this 
section, the applicable recordkeeping and reporting 
requirements under 40 CFR 75.73, and the requirements of 
9VAC5-140-6080 E. 

B. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall submit 
a monitoring plan in the manner prescribed in 40 CFR 75.62. 

C. The CO2 authorized account representative shall submit 
an application to the department within 45 days after 
completing all CO2 monitoring system initial certification or 
recertification tests required under 9VAC5-140-6340, 
including the information required under 40 CFR 75.63 and 
40 CFR 75.53(e) and (f). 

D. The CO2 authorized account representative shall submit 
quarterly reports, as follows: 
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1. The CO2 authorized account representative shall report 
the CO2 mass emissions data for the CO2 budget unit, in an 
electronic format prescribed by the department unless 
otherwise prescribed by the department for each calendar 
quarter. 

2. The CO2 authorized account representative shall submit 
each quarterly report to the department or its agent within 
30 days following the end of the calendar quarter covered 
by the report. Quarterly reports shall be submitted in the 
manner specified in Subpart H of 40 CFR Part 75 and 
40 CFR 75.64. Quarterly reports shall be submitted for 
each CO2 budget unit, or group of units using a common 
stack, and shall include all of the data and information 
required in Subpart G of 40 CFR Part 75, except for 
opacity, heat input, NOX, and SO2 provisions. 

3. The CO2 authorized account representative shall submit 
to the department or its agent a compliance certification in 
support of each quarterly report based on reasonable 
inquiry of those persons with primary responsibility for 
ensuring that all of the unit's emissions are correctly and 
fully monitored. The certification shall state that: 

a. The monitoring data submitted were recorded in 
accordance with the applicable requirements of this 
article and 40 CFR Part 75, including the quality 
assurance procedures and specifications; 

b. For a unit with add-on CO2 emissions controls and for 
all hours where data are substituted in accordance with 
40 CFR 75.34(a)(1), the add-on emissions controls were 
operating within the range of parameters listed in the 
QA/QC program under Appendix B of 40 CFR Part 75 
and the substitute values do not systematically 
underestimate CO2 emissions; and 

c. The CO2 concentration values substituted for missing 
data under Subpart D of 40 CFR Part 75 do not 
systematically underestimate CO2 emissions. 

9VAC5-140-6380. Petitions. 

A. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, the 
CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 budget unit 
that is subject to an acid rain emissions limitation may submit 
a petition to the administrator under 40 CFR 75.66 and to the 
department requesting approval to apply an alternative to any 
requirement of 40 CFR Part 75. Application of an alternative 
to any requirement of 40 CFR Part 75 is in accordance with 
this article only to the extent that the petition is approved in 
writing by the administrator, and subsequently approved in 
writing by the department. 

B. Petitions for a CO2 budget unit that is not subject to an 
acid rain emissions limitation shall meet the following 
requirements. 

1. The CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 
budget unit that is not subject to an acid rain emissions 

limitation may submit a petition to the administrator under 
40 CFR 75.66 and to the department requesting approval to 
apply an alternative to any requirement of 40 CFR Part 75. 
Application of an alternative to any requirement of 40 CFR 
Part 75 is in accordance with this article only to the extent 
that the petition is approved in writing by the administrator 
and subsequently approved in writing by the department. 

2. In the event that the administrator declines to review a 
petition under subdivision 1 of this subsection, the CO2 
authorized account representative of a CO2 budget unit that 
is not subject to an acid rain emissions limitation may 
submit a petition to the department requesting approval to 
apply an alternative to any requirement of this article. That 
petition shall contain all of the relevant information 
specified in 40 CFR 75.66. Application of an alternative to 
any requirement of this article is in accordance with this 
article only to the extent that the petition is approved in 
writing by the department. 

C. The CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 
budget unit that is subject to an acid rain emissions limitation 
may submit a petition to the administrator under 40 CFR 
75.66 and to the department requesting approval to apply an 
alternative to a requirement concerning any additional CEMS 
required under the common stack provisions of 40 CFR 75.72 
or a CO2 concentration CEMS used under 40 CFR 
75.71(a)(2). Application of an alternative to any such 
requirement is in accordance with this article only to the 
extent the petition is approved in writing by the administrator 
and subsequently approved in writing by the department. 

9VAC5-140-6390. (Reserved.) 

9VAC5-140-6400. (Reserved.) 

Article 9 
Auction of CO2 CCR and ECR Allowances 

9VAC5-140-6410. Purpose. 

The following requirements shall apply to each allowance 
auction. The department or its agent may specify additional 
information in the auction notice for each auction. Such 
additional information may include the time and location of 
the auction, auction rules, registration deadlines, and any 
additional information deemed necessary or useful. 

9VAC5-140-6420. General requirements. 

A. The department's agent will include the following 
information in the auction notice for each auction: 

1. The number of [ CO2 conditional ] allowances offered 
for sale at the auction, not including any [ CO2 
conditional ] CCR allowances; 

2. The number of [ CO2 conditional ] CCR allowances that 
will be offered for sale at the auction if the condition of 
subdivision [ B ] 1 of this [ subsection section ] is met; 
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3. The minimum reserve price for the auction;  

4. The CCR trigger price for the auction; 

5. The maximum number of [ CO2 conditional ] allowances 
that may be withheld from sale at the auction if the 
condition of subdivision D 1 of this section is met; and 

6. The ECR trigger price for the auction. 

B. The department's agent will follow these rules for the sale 
of [ CO2 conditional ] CCR allowances. 

1. [ CO2 Conditional ] CCR allowances shall only be sold 
at an auction in which total demand for allowances, above 
the CCR trigger price, exceeds the number of [ CO2 
conditional ] allowances available for purchase at the 
auction, not including any [ CO2 conditional ] CCR 
allowances. 

2. If the condition of subdivision 1 of this subsection is met 
at an auction, then the number of [ CO2 conditional ] CCR 
allowances offered for sale by the department or its agent 
at the auction shall be equal to the number of [ CO2 
conditional ] CCR allowances in the Virginia [ auction 
account Consignment Auction Account ] at the time of the 
auction.  

3. After all of the [ CO2 conditional ] CCR allowances in 
the Virginia [ auction Consignment Auction Account ] 
account have been sold in a given calendar year, no 
additional [ CO2 conditional ] CCR allowances will be sold 
at any auction for the remainder of that calendar year, even 
if the condition of subdivision 1 of this subsection is met at 
an auction. 

4. At an auction in which [ CO2 conditional ] CCR 
allowances are sold, the reserve price for the auction shall 
be the CCR trigger price. 

5. If the condition of subdivision 1 of this subsection is not 
satisfied, no [ CO2 conditional ] CCR allowances shall be 
offered for sale at the auction, and the reserve price for the 
auction shall be equal to the minimum reserve [ prices 
price ]. 

C. The department's agent shall implement the reserve price 
as follows: (i) no allowances shall be sold at any auction for a 
price below the reserve price for that auction and (ii) if the 
total demand for allowances at an auction is less than or equal 
to the total number of allowances made available for sale in 
that auction, then the auction clearing price for the auction 
shall be the reserve price. 

D. The department's agent will meet the following rules for 
the withholding of CO2 ECR allowances from an auction. 

1. CO2 ECR allowances shall only be withheld from an 
auction if the demand for allowances would result in an 
auction clearing price that is less than the ECR trigger 

price prior to the withholding from the auction of any ECR 
allowances. 

2. If the condition in subdivision 1 of this subsection is met 
at an auction, then the maximum number of CO2 ECR 
allowances that may be withheld from that auction will be 
equal to the quantity shown in Table 140-5B of 9VAC5-
140-6210 E minus the total quantity of CO2 ECR 
allowances that have been withheld from any prior auction 
in that calendar year. Any CO2 ECR allowances withheld 
from an auction will be transferred into the Virginia ECR 
Account. 

9VAC5-140-6430. Consignment auction. 

In accordance with Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of 
this part, one quarter of the annual conditional allowances 
allowance allocation shall be consigned by the CO2 budget 
source to whom they are allocated or the holder of a public 
contract with DMME to each auction on a quarterly pro rata 
basis in accordance with procedures specified by the 
department. At the completion of the consignment auction, a 
conditional allowance sold at auction shall become an 
allowance to be used for compliance purposes a CO2 
allowance. 

9VAC5-140-6435. Other auction. 

Notwithstanding the requirements of 9VAC5-140-6430, the 
department may participate in a direct auction of allowances 
without consignment in accordance with requirements 
established by the Virginia General Assembly. A "direct 
auction" means a CO2 auction conducted by a CO2 Budget 
Trading Program in which Virginia is a participating state.  

Article 10 
Program Monitoring and Review 

9VAC5-140-6440. Program monitoring and review. 

In conjunction with the CO2 Budget Trading Program 
program monitoring and review process, the department will 
evaluate impacts of the program specific to Virginia, 
including economic, energy, and environmental impacts and 
impacts on vulnerable and environmental justice and 
underserved communities. The department will, in evaluating 
the impacts on environmental justice communities, including 
low income, minority, and tribal communities, develop and 
implement a plan to ensure increased participation of 
environmental justice communities in the review.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5140; Filed May 1, 2019, 3:08 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 
being published; however, online users of this issue of the 
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 
form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 
available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 
Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 
11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-115. Virginia Immunization 
Information System. 

Contact Information: Kristin Collins, Policy Analyst, Office 
of Epidemiology, Virginia Department of Health, 109 
Governor Street, Office 642, Richmond, VA 23219-3623, 
telephone (804) 864-7298, or email 
kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC5-115) 

Administrator Information, VIISADM (eff. 10/2012) 

Electronic Data Exchange with VIIS (eff. 10/2012) 

Information Systems Security Access Agreement (eff. 
10/2012) 

Organization Information, VIISORG (eff. 10/2012) 

VIIS Security Policy and User Confidentiality Agreement 

Memorandum of Agreement between Virginia Department 
of Health/Division of Immunization (VDH/DOI) and VIIS 
Organization Interested in Data Exchange (8/2011) 

Virginia Immunization Information System (VIIS) Opt-In of 
VIIS (reviewed 6/2015) 

Virginia Immunization Information System (VIIS) Opt-Out 
of VIIS (reviewed 6/2015)  

VIIS Security Policy and User Confidentiality Agreement 
(rev. 5/2019) 

VIIS User Acknowledgement Page 

VIIS User Signature Page 
VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5998; Filed May 10, 2019, 4:01 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-141. Family Access to 
Medical Insurance Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-
141-10 through 12VAC30-141-70, 12VAC30-141-100, 
12VAC30-141-110, 12VAC30-141-150, 12VAC30-141-160, 
12VAC30-141-175, 12VAC30-141-500, 12VAC30-141-660 
through 12VAC30-141-760, 12VAC30-141-790, 12VAC30-
141-800, 12VAC30-141-880; repealing 12VAC30-141-
120).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-351 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: June 26, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Effective January 1, 2014, the Affordable Care Act 
required eligibility for health coverage under all health 
insurance affordability programs to be based on a new 
modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) methodology. 
Calculating MAGI eligibility entails defining household 
composition and executing income counting procedures 
based on Internal Revenue Service rules. Federal law 
requires these changes to be made in the State Child 
Health Plan under Title XXI of the Social Security Act.  

The amendments incorporate the required changes in 
eligibility determination standards and update operational 
processes supporting eligibility and renewal actions, 
including (i) adding new definitions and modifying existing 
definitions pertinent to MAGI and operational processes; 
(ii) updating operational processes to reflect current 
practice; (iii) updating the reference to the Children's 
Health Insurance Program Advisory Committee; (iv) 
specifying financial and nonfinancial eligibility standards 
consistent with MAGI requirements and updating 
operational processes pertinent to the Virginia Department 
of Social Services (VDSS) and Cover Virginia, the central 
processing unit (CPU); (v) clarifying that inpatient status 
in an institution for mental disease is a factor for 
ineligibility at initial enrollment or renewal; (vi) updating 
terminology regarding VDSS and CPU consistent with 
implementation of MAGI standards; (vii) streamlining 
application, case documentation, and maintenance 
processes in implementation of MAGI standards; and (viii) 
specifying that a choice of managed care organization may 
be made at the time of application. 

mailto:kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf21b001776%7E1&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43582001776%7E2&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad4e6001776%7E3&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad4e6001776%7E3&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28f39001776%7E4&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20e93001776%7E6&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20e93001776%7E6&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20e93001776%7E6&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cd04001776%7E12&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cd04001776%7E12&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba2cb001776%7E12&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba2cb001776%7E12&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=330ff005998%7E19.pdf&typ=40&actno=005998&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=330ff005998%7E19.pdf&typ=40&actno=005998&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e56b001776%7E8&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d4c07001776%7E9&typ=40&actno=001776&mime=application/pdf
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Technical, nonsubstantive amendments to conform to style 
guidelines were made for publication of the final 
regulation.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

12VAC30-141-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means the Social Security Act.  

"Adult caretaker relative" or "caretaker relative" means an 
individual who is age 18 or older, who is not the parent of, 
but who is related to, the child by blood or marriage, and who 
lives with and assumes responsibility for day-to-day care of 
the child in a place of residence maintained as his or their 
own home.  

"Adverse action," consistent with 42 CFR 457.1130, means 
the denial of eligibility; failure to make a timely 
determination of eligibility; suspension or termination of 
enrollment, including disenrollment for failure to pay cost 
sharing; or delay, denial, reduction, suspension, or 
termination of health services, in whole or in part, including a 
determination about the type or level of services; and failure 
to approve, furnish, or provide payment for health services in 
a timely manner; provided, however, that determination of 
eligibility to participate in and termination of participation in 
the FAMIS Select program shall not constitute an adverse 
action.  

"Adverse benefit determination," consistent with 42 CFR 
438.400, means the denial or limited authorization of a 
requested service; the failure to take action or timely take 
action on a request for service; the reduction, suspension, or 
termination of a previously authorized service; denial in 
whole or in part of a payment for a service; failure to provide 
services within the timeframes required by the state; for a 
resident of a rural exception area with only one MCO, the 
denial of a enrollee's request to exercise the enrollee's right 
under 42 CFR 438.52(b)(2)(ii) to obtain services outside of 
the network; the denial of a enrollee's request to dispute a 
financial liability as provided in 42 CFR [ 438(b)(7) 
438.400(b)(7) ]; or the failure of an MCO to act within the 
timeframes provided in 42 CFR 438.408(b). 

"Agency" means a local department of social services, the 
central processing unit, or other entity designated by DMAS 
to make eligibility determinations for FAMIS.  

"Agency error" means a person or persons received benefits 
to which they were not entitled as a result of an error on the 

part of an eligibility worker at a local department of social 
services or the central processing unit.  

"Agent" means an individual designated in writing to act on 
behalf of a FAMIS Plan applicant or enrollee during the 
administrative review process.  

"Appeal" means an enrollee's request for review of an 
adverse benefit determination by an MCO or an adverse 
action by the LDSS, CPU, or DMAS. 

"Applicant" means a child who has filed an application (or 
who has an application filed on his behalf) for child health 
insurance and is awaiting a determination of eligibility. A 
child is an applicant until his eligibility has been determined.  

"Application for health insurance" means the form or forms 
developed and approved by the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services that are used for determining eligibility 
for Family Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan 
(FAMIS), FAMIS Plus (Children's Medicaid), for Medicaid 
for pregnant women, and for FAMIS MOMS. single 
streamlined application for determining eligibility in public 
health insurance programs operated by the Commonwealth. 

"Authorized representative" means a person, 18 years of age 
or older, who is authorized to conduct the personal or 
financial affairs for an individual who is 18 years of age or 
older.  

"Board" or "BMAS" means that policy board created by 
§ 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia to administer the plans 
established by the Social Security Act.  

"CMSIP" means that original child health insurance program 
that preceded FAMIS.  

"Central processing unit" or "CPU" means Cover Virginia, 
which is the private contractor that will determine eligibility 
for and administer part of the Family Access to Medical 
Insurance Security Plan or FAMIS centralized entity 
supported by DMAS to accept and act on applications for 
health insurance. 

"Child" means an individual under the age of younger than 
19 years of age.  

"Competent individual" means a person who has not been 
judged by a court to be legally incapacitated.  

"Comprehensive health insurance coverage" means health 
benefits coverage, which includes the following categories of 
services at a minimum: inpatient and outpatient hospital 
services; physician's surgical and medical services; and 
laboratory and radiological services.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by a court of 
competent jurisdiction to manage the estate and financial 
affairs of an incapacitated individual.  

"Continuation of enrollment coverage" means ensuring an 
enrollee's benefits are continued until completion of the 
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review process, with the condition that should the enrollee not 
prevail in the review process, the enrollee shall be liable for 
the repayment of all benefits received during the review 
process.  

"Director" means the individual, or his designee, specified in 
§ 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia with all of the attendant 
duties and responsibilities to administer the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance and the State Plan for FAMIS.  

"DMAS" or "department" means the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services.  

[ "Eligibility worker" means an individual who, under 
supervision, applies regulations, policies, and procedures to 
determine eligibility for public assistance programs, including 
FAMIS and FAMIS MOMS."Enrollee" means a child who 
has been determined eligible to participate in FAMIS and is 
enrolled in the FAMIS program. ]  

"Ex parte review" means the review of administratively 
available information pertinent to the application or renewal 
process, conducted by eligibility staff, in order to expediently 
process the applicant's renewal without seeking that 
information from the applicant. 

"External quality review organization" means the 
independent contractor assigned by DMAS to handle quality 
reviews and to conduct final review of MCHIP adverse 
actions for FAMIS.  

"Family" means parents, including adoptive and stepparents, 
and their children under the age of 19, who are living in the 
same household. Family shall not mean grandparents, other 
relatives, or legal guardians.  

"Family," when used in the context of the FAMIS Select 
component, means a unit or group that has access to an a 
private or employer's group health plan. Thus, it includes the 
policyholder or employee and any dependents who can be 
covered under the employer's plan.  

"Family income" means the total income of all family 
members in a household. Income includes, but is not 
necessarily limited to, before-tax earnings from a job, 
including cash, wages, salary, commissions, tips, self-
employment net profits, Social Security, Retirement Survivor 
Disability Insurance (RSDI), veterans benefits, Railroad 
Retirement, disability workers' compensation, unemployment 
benefits, child support, alimony, spousal support, pensions, 
retirement benefits, settlement benefits, rental income, and 
lottery/bingo winnings. Income excludes public assistance 
program benefits such as SSI and TANF payments, foster 
care payments, general relief, loans, grants, or scholarships 
for educational expenses or earned income of a child who is a 
student.  

"FAMIS" means the Family Access to Medical Insurance 
Security Plan.  

"FAMIS Select" means an optional program available to 
children determined eligible for FAMIS, whereby DMAS 
provides premium assistance to the family to cover the child 
through a private or employer-sponsored health plan instead 
of directly through the FAMIS program.  

"Federal poverty level" or "FPL" means that income 
standard as published annually by the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services in the Federal Register.  

"Fee-for-service" means the traditional Medicaid health care 
delivery and payment system in which physicians and other 
providers receive a payment for each unit of service they 
provide.  

"Fixed premium assistance amount" means a predetermined 
amount of premium assistance that DMAS will pay per child 
to a family who chooses to enroll its FAMIS eligible child in 
a private or employer-sponsored health plan. The fixed 
premium assistance amount will be determined annually by 
DMAS to ensure that the FAMIS Select program is cost-
effective as compared to the cost of covering a child directly 
through the FAMIS program.  

"Fraud" means an intentional deception or misrepresentation 
made by a person with the knowledge that the deception 
could result in some unauthorized benefit to himself or some 
other person. It includes any act that constitutes fraud under 
applicable federal or state laws.  

"Group health plan" or "health insurance coverage" means 
that health care coverage as defined in § 2791 of the Public 
Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and (b)(1)).  

"Guardian" means a person appointed by a court of 
competent jurisdiction to be responsible for the affairs of an 
incapacitated individual, including responsibility for making 
decisions regarding the person's support, care, health, safety, 
habilitation, education, and therapeutic treatment, and if not 
inconsistent with an order of commitment, residence.  

"Household" means the household composition and follows 
the federal tax rules through the use of modified adjusted 
gross income (MAGI) methodology. An individual's 
household is based upon the tax filing relationships of 
applicant, persons living with the individual, and those 
claimed as dependents and as outlined in 42 USC 
§ 435.603(3)(f)(1) through (f)(4) [ ,. ]  

"Household income" means the sum of MAGI-based income 
as outlined in 42 USC § 435.603(3)(d) through (3)(e) to 
include every individual in the household. 

"Incapacitated individual" means a person who, pursuant to 
an order of a court of competent jurisdiction, has been found 
to be incapable of receiving and evaluating information 
effectively or responding to people, events, or environments 
to such an extent that the individual lacks the capacity to (i) 
meet the essential requirements of his health, care, safety, or 
therapeutic needs without the assistance or protection of a 
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guardian, or (ii) manage property or financial affairs or 
provide for his support or for the support of his legal 
dependents without the assistance or protection of a 
conservator.  

"Internal appeal" means a request to the MCO by an 
enrollee, an enrollee's authorized representative, or a 
provider, acting on behalf of the enrollee and with the 
enrollee's written consent, for review of an MCO's adverse 
benefit determination. The internal appeal is the only level of 
appeal with the MCO and must be exhausted by an enrollee 
or deemed exhausted according to 42 CFR 438.408(c)(3) 
before the enrollee may initiate a state fair hearing. 

"Lawfully residing" means the individual is lawfully present 
in the United States. 

"Legally emancipated" means that the parents and child 
have gone through the court and a judge has declared that the 
parents have surrendered the right to care, custody, and 
earnings of the child and have renounced parental duties. A 
married minor is not emancipated unless a court has declared 
the married minor emancipated from his parents.  

"LDSS" or "local department" means the local department of 
social services.  

"Managed care health insurance plan" or "MCHIP" as 
defined in § 32.1-137.1 of the Code of Virginia means an 
arrangement for the delivery of health care in which a health 
carrier means under contract with DMAS for Title XXI 
delivery systems, undertakes to provide, arrange and pay for, 
or reimburse any of the costs of health care services for a 
covered person on a prepaid or insured basis, which contains 
one or more incentive arrangements, including any credential 
requirements intended to influence the cost of the health care 
services between the health carrier and one or more providers 
and requires or creates benefit payment differential incentives 
for covered persons to use providers that are directly or 
indirectly managed, owned, under contract with or employed 
by the health carrier.  

"Maternal and child health insurance application" means the 
form or forms developed and approved by the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services that are used by local 
departments of social services and the FAMIS CPU for 
determining eligibility for Medicaid for poverty-level 
children and for the Family Access to Medical Insurance 
Security Plan (FAMIS).  

"Member of a family," for purposes of determining whether 
the child is eligible for coverage under a state employee 
health insurance plan, means a parent or parents, including 
stepparents with whom the child is living if the stepparent 
claims the child as a dependent on the employee's federal tax 
return.  

 

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an 
organization that offers managed care health insurance plans 
(MCHIPs) as [ "MCHIP" is ] defined in [ this section § 32.1-
137.1 of the Code of Virginia ].  

[ "Notice of reasonable opportunity" means the written 
notice that is sent to the applicant to inform the applicant that 
the applicant must provide verification of citizenship and 
identity within 90 calendar days. ]  

"Premium assistance" means the portion of the family's cost 
of participating in a private or employer's health plan that 
DMAS will pay to cover the FAMIS-eligible children under 
the private or employer-sponsored plan if DMAS determines 
it is cost effective to do so.  

"Private or employer-sponsored health insurance coverage 
plan" means a health insurance policy that is either purchased 
by an individual directly or through an employer. This 
component of FAMIS refers to the ability of DMAS to 
provide coverage to FAMIS-eligible children by providing 
premium assistance to families who enroll the FAMIS-
eligible children in a private or employer-sponsored health 
plan.  

"Provider" means the individual, facility or other entity 
registered, licensed, or certified, as appropriate, and enrolled 
by an MCHIP or in fee-for-service to render services to 
FAMIS enrollees eligible for services.  

"Supplemental coverage" means coverage provided to 
FAMIS-eligible children covered under the FAMIS Select 
component so that they can receive all childhood 
immunizations included in the FAMIS benefits.  

"Reasonable opportunity period" means a 90-calendar-day 
period given to applicants to supply verification of citizenship 
and identity. 

"State fair hearing" means, consistent with 42 CFR 438.400, 
the process set forth in 42 CFR 431 Subpart E. 

"Targeted low-income child" means an uninsured child 
younger than age 19 years whose household income is within 
the FAMIS eligibility standards established by the 
Commonwealth. 

[ "Targeted low-income pregnant woman" means an 
uninsured pregnant woman whose household income is 
within the Medicaid or FAMIS MOMS eligibility standards 
established by the Commonwealth. ]  

"Title XXI" means the federal State Children's Health 
Insurance Program as established by Subtitle J of the 
Balanced Budget Act of 1997.   

"Virginia State Employee Health Insurance Plan" means a 
health insurance plan offered by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia to its employees.  
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12VAC30-141-20. Administration and general 
background.  

A. The state shall use funds provided under Title XXI for 
obtaining coverage that meets the requirements for a State 
Child Health Insurance Plan (also known as Title XXI).  

B. The DMAS director will have the authority to contract 
with entities for the purpose of establishing a centralized 
processing site, determining eligibility, enrolling eligible 
children into health plans, performing outreach, data 
collection, reporting, and other services necessary for the 
administration of the Family Access to Medical Insurance 
Security Plan and for employing state staff to perform 
Medicaid eligibility determinations on children referred by 
FAMIS staff.  

C. Health care services under FAMIS shall be provided 
through MCHIPs and through fee-for-service or through any 
other health care delivery system deemed appropriate by the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services.  

12VAC30-141-30. Outreach and public participation.  

A. DMAS will work cooperatively with other state agencies 
and contractors to ensure that federal law and any applicable 
federal regulations are met.  

B. Pursuant to § 32.1-351.2 of the Code of Virginia, DMAS 
shall establish an Outreach Oversight Committee (committee) 
to discuss strategies to improve outreach activities. The 
committee members shall be selected by DMAS and shall be 
composed of representatives from community-based 
organizations engaged in outreach activities, social services 
eligibility workers, the provider community, health plans, and 
consumers. The committee shall meet on a quarterly basis. As 
may be appropriate, the committee shall make 
recommendations regarding state-level outreach activities, the 
coordination of regional and local outreach activities, and 
procedures for streamlining and simplifying the application 
process, brochures, other printed materials, forms, and 
applicant correspondence. 

C. The board, in consultation with the committee, shall 
develop a comprehensive, statewide community-based 
outreach plan to enroll children in the FAMIS program and, if 
so eligible, in Medicaid. The outreach plan shall include 
specific strategies for: (i) improving outreach and enrollment 
in those localities where enrollment is less than the statewide 
average and (ii) enrolling uninsured children of former 
Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) recipients. 

D. B. DMAS shall develop a comprehensive marketing and 
outreach effort. The marketing and outreach efforts will be 
aimed at promoting the FAMIS and Medicaid programs and 
increasing enrollment, and may include contracting with a 
public relations firm, nonprofit agencies, and foundations; 
coordination with other state agencies,; coordination with the 

business community,; and coordination with health care 
associations and providers.  

C. DMAS shall ensure consultation by Native American 
tribes on the development and implementation of enrollment 
processes and procedures to exempt cost-sharing for 
American Indian and Alaskan Native children in compliance 
with 42 CFR 457.120 and 42 CFR 457.125. 

Part II  
Review Appeal of Adverse Actions  

12VAC30-141-40. Review Appeal of adverse actions or 
adverse benefit determinations.  

A. Upon written request, all FAMIS Plan applicants and 
enrollees shall have the right to a review state fair hearing of 
an adverse action made by the MCHIP, local department of 
social services, CPU, or DMAS and to an internal appeal of 
an adverse benefit determination made by an MCO.  

B. During review the appeal of a suspension or termination 
of enrollment or a reduction, suspension, or termination of 
services, the enrollee shall have the right to continuation of 
coverage if the enrollee requests review an internal appeal 
with the MCO or an appeal to DMAS prior to the effective 
date of the suspension or termination of enrollment or 
suspension, reduction, or termination of services.  

C. Review An appeal of an adverse action made by the local 
department of social services, CPU, or DMAS shall be heard 
and decided by an agent of DMAS who has not been directly 
involved in the adverse action under review appeal.  

D. Review An internal appeal of an adverse action benefit 
determination made by the MCHIP MCO must be conducted 
by a person or agent of the MCHIP MCO who has not been 
directly involved in the adverse action benefit determination 
under review appeal.  

E. After final review by the MCHIP, Pursuant to 42 CFR 
438.402(c)(1)(B), after exhausting the MCO's internal appeals 
process, there shall also be opportunity for final independent 
the enrollee to request an external medical review by the an 
independent external quality review organization. [ "External 
quality review organization" means the independent 
contractor assigned by DMAS to handle quality reviews and 
to conduct final review of MCHIP adverse actions for 
FAMIS. ] The review is optional and shall not be required 
before proceeding to a state fair hearing. The review shall not 
extend any of the timeframes for issuing a decision and shall 
not disrupt any continuation of coverage granted to the 
enrollee. 

F. There will be no opportunity for review appeal of an 
adverse action to the extent that such adverse action is based 
on a determination by the director that funding for FAMIS 
has been terminated or exhausted. There will be no 
opportunity for review based on which type of delivery 
system (i.e., fee-for-service, MCHIP) is assigned. There will 
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be no opportunity for review appeal if the sole basis for the 
adverse action is a state or federal law or regulation requiring 
an automatic change that affects all applicants or enrollees or 
a group of applicants or enrollees without regard to their 
individual circumstances. decision is a provision in the State 
Plan or in a state or federal law requiring an automatic change 
in eligibility or enrollment or is a change in coverage under 
the health benefits package that affects all applicants or 
enrollees or a group of applicants or enrollees without regard 
to their individual circumstances. 

G. The burden of proof shall be upon the applicant or 
enrollee to show that an adverse action or adverse benefit 
determination is incorrect.  

H. At no time shall the MCHIP's, local department's 
department of social services, the CPU's, or DMAS' MCO, 
CPU, or DMAS failure to meet the time frames timeframes 
set in this chapter or set in the MCHIP's MCO or DMAS' 
DMAS written review appeal procedures constitute a basis 
for granting the applicant or enrollee the relief sought.  

I. Adverse actions related to health benefits covered through 
the FAMIS Select program shall be resolved between the 
insurance company or employer's plan and the FAMIS Select 
enrollee, and are not subject to further review appeal by 
DMAS or its contractors. Adverse actions made by an 
MCHIP, the local department of social services, the CPU, or 
DMAS shall be subject to the review process set forth in Part 
II (12VAC30-141-40 et seq.) of this chapter.  

12VAC30-141-50. Notice of adverse action or adverse 
benefit determination.  

A. The local department of social services, the CPU, or 
DMAS shall send written notification to enrollees at least 10 
calendar days prior to suspension or termination of 
enrollment.  

B. DMAS or the MCHIP MCO shall send written 
notification to enrollees at least 10 calendar days prior to 
reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously 
authorized health service.  

C. The local department of social services, the CPU, DMAS, 
or the MCHIP MCO shall send written notification to 
applicants and enrollees of all other adverse actions within 10 
calendar days of the adverse action.  

D. Notice shall include the reasons for determination, an 
explanation of applicable rights to a review of that 
determination, the standard and expedited time frames for 
review, the manner in which a review can be requested, and 
the circumstances under which enrollment or services may 
continue pending review.: 

1. The determination the LDSS, CPU, DMAS, or MCO has 
made or intends to make; 

2. The reasons for the determination, including the right of 
the enrollee to be provided, upon request and free of 
charge, reasonable access to and copies of all documents, 
records, and other information relevant to the 
determination; 

3. An explanation of applicable rights to request an appeal 
of that determination. For adverse benefit determinations 
by an MCO, this shall include information on the MCO's 
internal appeal process and, after the internal appeal 
process is exhausted, a state fair hearing pursuant to 
42 CFR 402(b) and 42 CFR 402(c); 

4. The procedure for exercising these appeal rights; 

5. The circumstances under which an appeal process can be 
expedited and how to request it; and 

6. The circumstances under which enrollment or services 
may continue pending appeal, how to request benefits be 
continued, and the circumstances, consistent with state 
policy, under which the enrollee may be required to pay 
the costs of these services. 

12VAC30-141-60. Request for review appeal. 

A. Requests for review internal appeal of MCHIP MCO 
adverse actions benefit determinations shall be submitted 
orally or in writing to the MCHIP MCO. Unless the enrollee 
requests an expedited appeal, an oral appeal request must be 
followed by a written appeal request. The enrollee must 
exhaust the MCO's internal appeals process before appealing 
to DMAS. 

B. If the MCO fails to adhere to the notice or timing 
requirements set forth in this part, the enrollee is deemed to 
have exhausted the MCO's internal appeals process and may 
initiate a state fair hearing. 

C. Requests for review appeal of adverse actions made by 
the local department of social services, the CPU, or DMAS or 
of internal appeal decisions by the MCO shall be submitted in 
writing to DMAS. 

C. D. Any written communication clearly expressing a 
desire to have an adverse action benefit determination by an 
MCO reviewed shall be treated as a request for review an 
internal appeal. Any communication expressing a desire to 
have an adverse action by the LDSS, CPU, or DMAS 
reviewed shall be treated as a request for a state fair hearing. 
Any communication expressing a desire to have an MCO's 
internal appeal decision reviewed shall be treated as a request 
for a state fair hearing. 

D. E. To be timely, requests for review internal appeal of a 
MCHIP an MCO's adverse benefit determination shall be 
received by the MCHIP MCO no later than 30 60 calendar 
days from the date of the MCHIP's MCO's notice of adverse 
action benefit determination. 
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E. F. To be timely, a request for an appeal of an adverse 
benefit determination upheld in whole or in part by the 
MCO's internal appeal decision shall be received by DMAS 
within 120 calendar days from the date of the internal appeal 
decision.  

G. To be timely, requests for review appeal of a local 
department of social services, DMAS, or CPU determination 
adverse action shall be filed with DMAS no later than 30 
calendar days from the date of the CPU's, LDSS' or DMAS' 
notice of adverse action. Requests for review appeal of a local 
department of social services, DMAS, or CPU an agency 
determination shall be considered filed with DMAS on the 
date the request is postmarked, if mailed, or on the date the 
request is received, if delivered other than by mail, by 
DMAS.  

12VAC30-141-70. Review Appeal procedures.  

A. At a minimum, the MCHIP review MCO internal appeal 
shall be conducted pursuant to written procedures as defined 
in § 32.1-137.6 of the Code of Virginia and as may be further 
defined by DMAS 42 CFR 438.400 et seq. Such procedures 
shall be subject to review and approval by DMAS.  

B. Any adverse benefit determination upheld in whole or in 
part by the internal appeal decision issued by the MCO may 
be appealed by the enrollee to DMAS in accordance with the 
DMAS client appeals regulations at 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-370. DMAS shall conduct an 
evidentiary hearing in accordance with the 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-370 and shall not base any appealed 
decision on the record established by any internal appeal 
decision of the MCO. The MCO shall comply with the 
DMAS appeal decision. The DMAS decision in these matters 
shall be final and shall not be subject to appeal by the MCO. 

The DMAS review C. Appeals of adverse actions by the 
LDSS, CPU, or DMAS shall be conducted pursuant to written 
procedures developed by DMAS 12VAC30-110.  

C. The procedures in effect on the date a particular request 
for review is received by the MCHIP or DMAS shall apply 
throughout the review.  

D. Copies of the procedures shall be promptly mailed 
provided by the MCHIP MCO or DMAS to applicants and 
enrollees upon receipt of timely requests for review internal 
appeals or state fair hearings. Such written procedures shall 
include but not be limited to the following:  

1. The right to representation by an attorney or other agent 
of the applicant's or enrollee's choice, but at no time shall 
the MCHIP MCO, local department of social services, 
DSS, or DMAS be required to obtain or compensate 
attorneys or other agents acting on behalf of applicants or 
enrollees;  

2. The right to timely review of their files and other 
applicable information relevant to the review of the 
internal appeal or state fair hearing decision;  

3. The right to fully participate in the review internal 
appeal or state fair hearing process, whether the review 
internal appeal or state fair hearing is conducted in person 
or in writing, including the presentation of supplemental 
information during the review internal appeal or state fair 
hearing process;  

4. The right to have personal and medical information and 
records maintained as confidential; and  

5. The right to a written final decision within 90 calendar 
days of receipt of the request for review, unless the 
applicant or enrollee requests or causes a delay.: 

a. For internal appeals to the MCO, within 30 calendar 
days of receipt of the request for an internal appeal; or 

b. For state fair hearings, within the time limitations for 
appeals imposed by federal regulations and as permitted 
in 12VAC30-110-30; 

6. For eligibility and enrollment matters, if the applicant's 
or enrollee's physician or health plan determines that the 
90-calendar-day timeframe could seriously jeopardize the 
applicant's or enrollee's life or health or ability to attain, 
maintain, or regain maximum function, an applicant or 
enrollee will have the opportunity to request an expedited 
review appeal. Under these conditions, a request for review 
an expedited appeal shall result in a written final decision 
within three business days 72 hours after DMAS receives, 
the expedited appeal request from the physician or health 
plan, with the case record and information indicating that 
taking the time for a standard resolution of the review 
appeal request could seriously jeopardize the applicant's or 
enrollee's life or health or ability to attain, maintain, or 
regain maximum function, unless the applicant or enrollee 
or his authorized representative causes a delay. requests an 
extension;  

7. For health services matters for FAMIS enrollees 
receiving services through MCHIPs, if an MCO:  

a. If the enrollee's physician or health plan determines 
that the 90-calendar-day 30-calendar-day timeframe for a 
standard internal appeal could seriously jeopardize the 
enrollee's life or health or ability to attain, maintain, or 
regain maximum function, an enrollee will have the 
opportunity to request an expedited review internal 
appeal. Under these conditions, a request for review an 
internal appeal shall result in a written decision by the 
external quality review organization MCO within 72 
hours from the time an enrollee requests the expedited 
review internal appeal is requested, unless the applicant, 
enrollee, or authorized representative requests or causes a 
delay. If a delay is requested or caused by the applicant, 
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enrollee, or authorized representative, then the expedited 
review internal appeal may be extended up to 14 calendar 
days.  

b. If the adverse benefit determination is upheld in whole 
or in part by the expedited internal appeal decision issued 
by the MCO, and if the enrollee's physician or health 
plan determines that the timeframe for a standard appeal 
to DMAS could seriously jeopardize the enrollee's life or 
health or ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum 
function, and enrollee will have the opportunity to 
request an expedited appeal to DMAS. Under these 
conditions, a request for a state fair hearing shall result in 
a written decision within 72 hours from the time an 
enrollee requests the expedited appeal, unless the 
applicant, enrollee, or authorized representative requests 
a delay. If a delay is requested by the applicant, enrollee, 
or authorized representative, then the expedited appeal 
may be extended up to 14 calendar days; and 

8. For health services matters for FAMIS enrollees 
receiving services through fee-for-service, if the enrollee's 
physician or health plan determines that the 90-calendar-
day timeframe for a standard appeal could seriously 
jeopardize the enrollee's life, health, or ability to attain, 
maintain, or regain maximum function, an enrollee will 
have the opportunity to request an expedited review. Under 
these conditions, a request for review an expedited appeal 
shall result in a written decision within 72 hours from the 
time an enrollee requests the expedited review appeal is 
requested, unless the applicant, enrollee, or authorized 
representative requests or causes a delay. If a delay is 
requested or caused by the applicant, enrollee, or 
authorized representative, then expedited review appeal 
may be extended up to 14 calendar days.  

Part III  
Eligibility Determination and Application Requirements  

12VAC30-141-100. Eligibility requirements General 
conditions of eligibility. 

A. This section shall be used to determine eligibility of 
children for FAMIS. An LDSS, DMAS, or the CPU 
determines eligibility for Title XXI services. 

B. FAMIS shall be in effect statewide.  

C. Eligible children must: FAMIS serves targeted low-
income children consistent with requirements at 42 CFR 
457.310, 42 CFR 457.315, and 42 CFR 457.320. 

1. Be determined ineligible for Medicaid by a local 
department of social services or be screened by the FAMIS 
central processing unit and determined not Medicaid 
likely;  

2. Be under 19 years of age;  

3. Be residents of the Commonwealth;  

4. Be either United States citizens, United States nationals 
or qualified noncitizens;  

5. Be uninsured, that is, not have comprehensive health 
insurance coverage; and  

6. Not be an inpatient in an institution for mental diseases 
(IMD), or an inmate in a public institution that is not a 
medical facility.  

D. Income. 

1. Screening. All child health insurance applications 
received at the FAMIS central processing unit must be 
screened to identify applicants who are potentially eligible 
for Medicaid. Children screened and found potentially 
eligible for Medicaid cannot be enrolled in FAMIS until 
there has been a finding of ineligibility for Medicaid. 
Children who do not appear to be eligible for Medicaid 
shall have their eligibility for FAMIS determined. Children 
determined to be eligible for FAMIS will be enrolled in the 
FAMIS program. Child health insurance applications 
received at a local department of social services shall have 
a full Medicaid eligibility determination completed. 
Children determined to be ineligible for Medicaid due to 
excess income will have their eligibility for FAMIS 
determined. If a child is found to be eligible for FAMIS, 
the local department of social services will enroll the child 
in the FAMIS program.  

2. Standards. Income standards for FAMIS are based on a 
comparison of countable income to 200% of the federal 
poverty level for the family size, as defined in the State 
Plan for Title XXI as approved by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services. Children who have 
income at or below 200% of the federal poverty level, but 
are ineligible for Medicaid due to excess income, will be 
income eligible to participate in FAMIS.  

3. Grandfathered CMSIP children. Children who were 
enrolled in the Children's Medical Security Insurance Plan 
at the time of conversion from CMSIP to FAMIS and 
whose eligibility determination was based on the 
requirements of CMSIP shall continue to have their income 
eligibility determined using the CMSIP income 
methodology. If their income exceeds the FAMIS standard, 
income eligibility will be based on countable income using 
the same income methodologies applied under the Virginia 
State Plan for Medical Assistance for children as set forth 
in 12VAC30-40-90. Income that would be excluded when 
determining Medicaid eligibility will be excluded when 
determining countable income for the former CMSIP 
children. Use of the Medicaid income methodologies shall 
only be applied in determining the financial eligibility of 
former CMSIP children for FAMIS and for only as long as 
the children meet the income eligibility requirements for 
CMSIP. When a former CMSIP child is determined to be 
ineligible for FAMIS, these former CMSIP income 
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methodologies shall no longer apply and income eligibility 
will be based on the FAMIS income standards.  

4. Spenddown. Deduction of incurred medical expenses 
from countable income (spenddown) shall not apply in 
FAMIS. If the family income exceeds the income limits 
described in this section, the individual shall be ineligible 
for FAMIS regardless of the amount of any incurred 
medical expenses.  

E. Residency. The requirements for residency, as set forth in 
42 CFR 435.403, will be used when determining whether a 
child is a resident of Virginia for purposes of eligibility for 
FAMIS. A child who is not emancipated and is temporarily 
living away from home is considered living with his parents, 
adult relative caretaker, legal guardian, or person having legal 
custody if the absence is temporary and the child intends to 
return to the home when the purpose of the absence (such as 
education, medical care, rehabilitation, vacation, visit) is 
completed.  

F. United States citizen or nationality. Upon signing the 
declaration of citizenship or nationality required by § 1137(d) 
of the Social Security Act, the applicant or recipient is 
required under § 2105(c)(9) to furnish satisfactory 
documentary evidence of United States citizenship or 
nationality and documentation of personal identity unless 
citizenship or nationality has been verified by the 
Commissioner of Social Security or unless otherwise exempt.  

G. Qualified noncitizen. The requirements for qualified 
aliens set out in Public Law 104-193, as amended, and the 
requirements for noncitizens set out in subdivisions 3 b, c, 
and e of 12VAC30-40-10 will be used when determining 
whether a child is a qualified noncitizen for purposes of 
FAMIS eligibility.  

H. Coverage under other health plans.  

1. Any child covered under a group health plan or under 
health insurance coverage, as defined in § 2791 of the 
Public Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and 
(b)(1)), shall not be eligible for FAMIS.  

2. No substitution for private insurance.  

a. Only uninsured children shall be eligible for FAMIS. 
A child is not considered to be insured if the health 
insurance plan covering the child does not have a 
network of providers in the area where the child resides. 
Each application for child health insurance shall include 
an inquiry about health insurance. Each redetermination 
of eligibility shall also document inquiry about current 
health insurance.  

b. Health insurance does not include Medicare, Medicaid, 
FAMIS, or insurance for which DMAS paid premiums 
under Title XIX through the Health Insurance Premium 
Payment (HIPP) Program or under Title XXI through the 
SCHIP premium assistance program  

D. Each individual covered under the plan shall be: 

1. Financially eligible to receive services as established 
using the methods and standards described in subsection F 
of this section; and  

2. Meet the applicable nonfinancial eligibility conditions. 

E. Nonfinancial eligibility conditions. 

1. Eligible individuals shall be younger than 19 years of 
age. 

2. Eligible individuals shall be residents of the 
Commonwealth. A child is considered to be a resident of 
the Commonwealth under the following conditions:  

a. A noninstitutionalized child if capable of indicating 
intent and who is emancipated or married if the child is 
living in the state and intends to reside in the state, 
including without a fixed address; 

b. A noninstitutionalized child not described in 
subdivision E 2 a of this section and who is not in the 
custody of the state: 

(1) Residing in the state, with or without a fixed address; 
or 

(2) The state of residency of the parent or caretaker, in 
accordance with 42 CFR.435.403(h)(1), with whom the 
individual resides; 

c. An institutionalized child who is not a ward of the state 
if the state is the state of residence of the child's custodial 
parent or caretaker at the time of placement; 

d. A child who is in the custody of the state regardless of 
where the child lives; or 

e. A child physically located in the state when there is a 
dispute with one or more states as to the child's actual 
state of residence. 

3. FAMIS eligibility is open to:  

a. United States citizens; 

b. United States nationals; 

c. Qualified noncitizens as defined in § 431 of the 
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity 
Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) (8 USC § 1641) or 
whose eligibility is required by § 402(b) of PRWORA 
(8 USC § 1612(b)) and is not prohibited by § 403 of 
PRWORA (8 USC § 1613); 

d. Individuals who have declared themselves to be 
citizens or nationals of the United States or an individual 
having satisfactory immigration status, during a 
reasonable opportunity period pending verification of 
their citizenship, nationality, or satisfactory immigration 
status consistent with requirements of §§ 1903(x), 
1137(d), and 1902(ee) of the Social Security Act and 
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42 CFR 435.407, 42 CFR 407, [ 42 CFR 956 42 CFR 
435.956 ], and 42 CFR 457.380. 

(1) The reasonable opportunity period begins on and 
extends 90 calendar days from the date the notice of 
reasonable opportunity is received by the individual. 
[ "Notice of reasonable opportunity" means the written 
notice that is sent to the applicant to inform the applicant 
that the applicant must provide verification of citizenship 
and identity within 90 calendar days. ]  

(2) An extension of the reasonable opportunity period is 
allowed if the individual is making a good faith effort to 
resolve any inconsistencies or obtain any necessary 
documentation, or the agency determining eligibility 
needs more time to complete the verification process.  

(3) The agency will provide benefits to otherwise eligible 
individuals during the reasonable opportunity period; 

e. Lawfully residing in the United States, as provided in 
§ 2107(e)(1)(J) of the Social Security Act (§ 214 of 
CHIPRA 2009, P.L. 111-3). An individual is considered 
to be lawfully residing in the United States if the person 
is: 

(1) A qualified noncitizen as defined in 8 USC § 1641(b) 
and (c); 

(2) A noncitizen in a valid nonimmigrant status as 
defined in 8 USC § 1101(a)(15) or otherwise under the 
immigration laws (as defined in 8 USC § 1101 (a)(17)); 

(3) A noncitizen who has been paroled into the United 
States in accordance with 8 USC § 1182(d)(5) for less 
than one year, except for an individual paroled for 
prosecution, for deferred inspection, or pending removal 
proceedings; 

(4) A noncitizen who belongs to one of the following 
classes: 

(a) Granted temporary resident status in accordance with 
8 USC § 1160 or 1255a, respectively; 

(b) Granted temporary protected status (TPS) in 
accordance with 8 USC § 1254a and individuals with 
pending applications for TPS who have been granted 
employment authorization; 

(c) Granted employment authorization under 8 CFR 
§ 274a.12(c); 

(d) Family unity beneficiaries in accordance with § 301 
of P.L. 101-649, as amended; 

(e) Under deferred enforced departure in accordance with 
a decision made by the President; 

(f) Granted deferred action status; 

(g) Granted an administrative stay of removal under 
8 CFR 241; or 

(h) Beneficiary of approved visa petition who has a 
pending application for adjustment of status; 

(5) Is an individual with a pending application for asylum 
under 8 USC § 1158, for withholding of removal under 
8 USC § 1231, or under the Convention Against Torture 
who: 

(a) Has been granted employment authorization; or 

(b) Is younger than 14 years of age and has had an 
application pending for at least 180 calendar days;  

(6) Has been granted withholding of removal under the 
Convention Against Torture; 

(7) Is a child who has a pending application for Special 
Immigrant Juvenile Status as described in 8 USC 
§ 1101(a)(27)(J); 

(8) Is lawfully present in American Samoa under the 
immigration laws of American Samoa; or 

(9) Is a victim of severe trafficking in persons, in 
accordance with the Victims of Trafficking and Violence 
Protection Act of 2000, P.L. 106-386, as amended (22 
USC § 7105(b)). 

f. An individual with deferred action under the 
Department of Homeland Security's deferred action for 
the childhood arrivals process, as described in the 
Secretary of Homeland Security's June 15, 2012, 
memorandum, shall not be considered to be lawfully 
present with respect to any of the categories in 
subdivision E 3 e of this section.  

4. Eligible individuals shall be uninsured, that is, not have 
creditable health insurance coverage. [ "Creditable health 
insurance coverage" means coverage that meets the 
definition of 42 CFR 457.10. ]  

a. Individuals eligible for FAMIS shall not be found 
eligible or potentially eligible for Medicaid under 
policies of the State Plan determined through the 
screening process described at 42 CFR 457.350. 

b. Any child covered under a group health plan or under 
health insurance coverage, as defined in § 2791 of the 
Public Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and 
(b)(1)), shall not be eligible for FAMIS. 

(1) FAMIS shall not be a substitution for private 
insurance. 

(2) Only uninsured children shall be eligible for FAMIS. 
A child is not considered to be insured if the health 
insurance plan covering the child does not have a 
network of providers in the area where the child resides. 
Each application for child health insurance shall include 
an inquiry about health insurance. Each redetermination 
of eligibility shall also document inquiry about current 
health insurance. 
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(3) Health insurance does not include Medicare, 
Medicaid, FAMIS, or insurance for which DMAS paid 
premiums under Title XIX through the Health Insurance 
Premium Payment Program or under Title XXI through 
the state children's health insurance program premium 
assistance program known as FAMIS Select.  

5. Residents of an institution. Eligible individuals may not 
be an inpatient in an institution for mental diseases or an 
inmate in a public institution that is not a medical facility 
at the time of the initial eligibility determination or 
redetermination.  

6. Social Security Number.  

a. All eligible individuals shall furnish their Social 
Security Numbers (SSNs), with the following exceptions: 
(i) individuals refusing to obtain a SSN because of well-
established religious objections [ ;, ] (ii) individuals who 
are not eligible for a SSN [ ;, ] or (iii) individuals who are 
issued a SSN only for a valid nonwork purpose. 

b. DMAS or its designee shall: 

(1) Assist individuals who are required to provide their 
SSN to apply for or obtain an SSN from the Social 
Security Administration if the individuals do not have or 
forgot their SSNs; 

(2) Inform individuals required to provide their SSNs (i) 
by what statutory authority the number is required to be 
provided; and (ii) how the Commonwealth will use the 
SSN; 

(3) Verify each SSN furnished by applicants or 
beneficiaries with the Social Security Administration; 
and 

(4) Not deny or delay services to an otherwise eligible 
applicant pending issuance or verification of the 
individual's SSN by the Social Security Administration. 

c. The utilization of the SSN is consistent with §§ 205 
and 1137 of the Social Security Act and the Privacy Act 
of 1974. 

d. DMAS requests nonapplicant household members to 
voluntarily provide their SSNs. When requesting an SSN 
for nonapplicant household members, DMAS (i) informs 
the nonapplicant that this information is voluntary and 
provides information regarding how the SSN will be used 
and (ii) uses the SSN for determination of eligibility for 
Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) or other 
insurance affordability programs or for a purpose directly 
connected with the administration of the state plan. 

F. Financial eligibility. 

1. Screening. All applications shall have a Medicaid 
income eligibility screen completed. Children determined 

to be ineligible for Medicaid due to excess income will 
have their eligibility for FAMIS determined.  

2. Standards.  

a. The Commonwealth shall apply modified adjusted 
gross income (MAGI) methodologies for all separate 
CHIP covered groups, consistent with 42 CFR 457.315 
and 435.603(b) through (i). FAMIS shall be available for 
targeted low-income children. Income standards shall be 
applied statewide. Children from birth to age 19 years 
who have income above the Medicaid-eligible limit at or 
below 200% of the federal poverty level, with a 5% 
income disregard, shall be income eligible to participate 
in FAMIS.  

b. In determining family size for the eligibility 
determination of other individuals in the household that 
includes a pregnant woman, the pregnant woman is 
counted just as herself.  

c. Financial eligibility is determined consistent with the 
following provisions: 

(1) For new applicants, financial eligibility is based on 
the monthly income and family size. 

(2) When determining eligibility for current 
beneficiaries, financial eligibility is based on current 
monthly household income and family size. 

(3) In determining current household income, the agency 
will use reasonable methods to account for current 
income and reasonable prediction of changes in future 
income or family size. 

d. Unless an exception exists, as provided at 42 CFR 
457.315 and 42 CFR 435.603(d)(2) through (d)(4), 
household income is the sum of the MAGI-based income 
for every person counted in the individual's MAGI 
household. 

3. Spenddown. The Commonwealth shall not apply a 
spenddown process for FAMIS where household income 
exceeds the income eligibility limit for FAMIS. 

I. G. Eligibility of newborns.  

1. If a child otherwise eligible for FAMIS is born within 
the three months prior to the month in which a signed 
application is received, the eligibility for coverage is 
effective retroactive to the child's date of birth if the child 
would have met all eligibility criteria during that time.  

A child born to a mother who is enrolled in FAMIS, under 
either the XXI Plan or a related waiver (such as FAMIS 
MOMS), on the date of the child's birth shall be deemed 
eligible for FAMIS for one year from birth unless the child is 
otherwise eligible for Medicaid. 

2. A child born to a targeted low-income pregnant woman 
is deemed to have applied for and be eligible for FAMIS or 
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Medicaid until the child turns age one year in accordance 
with § 2112 of the Social Security Act. [ "Targeted low-
income pregnant woman" means an uninsured pregnant 
woman whose household income is within the Medicaid or 
FAMIS MOMS eligibility standards established by the 
Commonwealth. ]  

a. The child is deemed to have applied for and been 
found eligible for FAMIS or Medicaid, as appropriate, as 
of the date of the child's birth and remains eligible 
without regard to changes in circumstances until the 
child's first birthday. 

b. DMAS shall cover as a deemed newborn a child born 
to a mother who is covered under Medicaid or CHIP 
through the authority of the state's § 1115 demonstration 
on the date of the newborn's birth. 

12VAC30-141-110. Duration of eligibility and renewal. 

A. The effective date of FAMIS eligibility shall be the date 
of birth for a newborn deemed eligible under 12VAC30-141-
100 I G. Otherwise For all other children, the effective date of 
FAMIS eligibility shall be the first day of the month in which 
a signed completed application was received by either the 
FAMIS central processing unit or a local department of social 
services LDSS or CPU if the applicant met all eligibility 
requirements in that month. In no case shall a child's 
eligibility be effective earlier than the date of the child's birth.  

B. Eligibility for FAMIS will continue for 12 months so 
long as the child remains a resident of Virginia and the child's 
countable income does not exceed 200% of the federal 
poverty level. A child born to a mother who was enrolled in 
FAMIS, under either the Title XXI Plan or a related waiver 
(such as FAMIS MOMS), on the date of the child's birth shall 
remain eligible for one year regardless of income unless 
otherwise found to be eligible for Medicaid. A change in 
eligibility will be effective the first of the month following 
expiration of a 10-day 10-calendar-day advance notice. 
Eligibility based on all eligibility criteria listed in 12VAC30-
141-100 C D will be redetermined no less often than 
annually.  

C. Renewal of coverage. 

1. Renewal of coverage for individuals whose financial 
eligibility is based on the applicable modified adjusted 
gross income (MAGI) standard are performed as follows, 
consistent with 42 CFR 457.343: 

a. Renewal of coverage is completed once every 12 
months, and 

b. Without requiring information from the individual if 
able to do so based on an ex parte review of reliable 
information contained in the individual's account or other 
more current information available to the agency. 

2. If the agency cannot determine eligibility solely on the 
basis of the ex parte review or otherwise needs additional 
information to complete the redetermination, the individual 
is provided with a renewal form that is prepopulated with 
information contained in the individual's case. The 
individual shall be allowed 30 calendar days to return the 
renewal form and the necessary verifications. 

If the individual's coverage is canceled because the 
renewal was not completed (either electronically, by 
phone, or on paper) or because verifications needed to 
complete the renewal were not returned, the individual has 
90 calendar days after the coverage is canceled to provide 
the information necessary to complete the renewal without 
having to file a new application. This 90-calendar-day 
period is called the reconsideration period. If all necessary 
information is provided during the reconsideration period 
and the individual found eligible, enrollment will be 
restored without any lapse in coverage. 

12VAC30-141-120. Children ineligible for FAMIS. 
(Repealed.) 

A. If a child is:  

1. Eligible for Medicaid, or would be eligible if he applied 
for Medicaid, he shall be ineligible for coverage under 
FAMIS. A child found through the screening process to be 
potentially eligible for Medicaid but who fails to complete 
the Medicaid application process for any reason, cannot be 
enrolled in FAMIS;  

2. An inmate of a public institution as defined in 42 CFR 
§435.1009, he shall be ineligible for FAMIS; or  

3. An inpatient in an institution for mental disease (IMD) 
as defined in 42 CFR §435.1010, he shall be ineligible for 
FAMIS.  

B. If a child's parent or other authorized representative does 
not meet the requirements of assignment of rights to benefits 
or requirements of cooperation with the agency in identifying 
and providing information to assist the Commonwealth in 
pursuing any liable third party, the child shall be ineligible for 
FAMIS.  

C. If a child, if age 18, or if under age 18, a parent, adult 
relative caretaker, guardian, or legal custodian obtained 
benefits for a child or children who would otherwise be 
ineligible by willfully misrepresenting material facts on the 
application or failing to report changes, the child or children 
for whom the application is made shall be ineligible for 
FAMIS. The child, if age 18, or if under age 18, the parent, 
adult relative caretaker, guardian, or legal custodian who 
signed the application shall be liable for repayment of the cost 
of all benefits issued as the result of the misrepresentation.  
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12VAC30-141-150. Application requirements.  

A. Availability of program information. DMAS or its 
designee shall furnish the following information in written 
form and orally as appropriate to all applicants and to other 
individuals who request it:  

1. The eligibility requirements;  

2. Summary of covered benefits;  

3. Copayment amounts required; and  

4. The rights and responsibilities of applicants and 
enrollees.  

B. Opportunity to apply. DMAS or its designee must afford 
an individual, wishing to do so, the opportunity to apply for 
child health insurance. Applications for health insurance will 
be accepted at a central site designated by DMAS and at local 
departments of social services throughout the 
Commonwealth. Applicants may file an application for child 
health insurance by mail, by fax, by phone, via the internet, or 
in person at local departments of social services. Applications 
filed at the FAMIS CPU can be submitted by mail, by fax, via 
the Internet, or by phone. Face-to-face interviews for the 
program are not required. Eligibility determinations for 
FAMIS shall occur at either local departments of social 
services or at the, DMAS designated central site, or the CPU.  

C. Application. DMAS or its designee shall require an 
application from the applicant if the applicant is at least 18 
years of age or older, or from a parent, adult relative 
caretaker, guardian, legal custodian, or authorized 
representative if the applicant is younger than 18 years of age 
or the applicant is incapacitated. [ "Incapacitated” means a 
person who, pursuant to an order of a court of competent 
jurisdiction, has been found to be incapable of receiving and 
evaluating information effectively or responding to people, 
events, or environments to such an extent that the individual 
lacks the capacity to (i) meet the essential requirements of his 
health, care, safety, or therapeutic needs without the 
assistance or protection of a guardian, or (ii) manage property 
or financial affairs or provide for his support or for the 
support of his legal dependents without the assistance or 
protection of a conservator. ] 

1. DMAS employs a single, streamlined application 
developed by the state and approved by the Secretary of 
the Department of Health and Human Services in 
accordance with § 1413(b)(I)(B) of the Affordable Care 
Act. 

2. DMAS may employ an alternative application used to 
apply for multiple human service programs approved by 
the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human 
Services, provided that the agency makes readily available 
the single or alternative application used only for insurance 
affordability programs to individuals seeking assistance 
only through such programs. 

C. D. Right to apply. An individual who is 18 years of age 
shall not be refused the right to complete an application for 
health insurance for himself and shall not be discouraged 
from asking for assistance for himself under any 
circumstances.  

D. E. Applicant's signature. The applicant must sign state-
approved application forms submitted, even if another person 
fills out the form, unless the application is filed and signed by 
the applicant's parent, adult relative caretaker, legal guardian 
or conservator, attorney-in-fact or authorized representative.  

E. F. The authorized representative for an individual 18 
years of age or older shall be those individuals as set forth in 
12VAC30-110-1380.  

F. G. The authorized representative for children younger 
than 18 years of age shall be those individuals as set forth in 
12VAC30-110-1390.  

G. H. Persons prohibited from signing an application. An 
employee of, or an entity hired by, a medical service provider 
who stands to obtain FAMIS payments shall not sign an 
application for health insurance on behalf of an individual 
who cannot designate an authorized representative.  

H. Written application. DMAS or its designee shall require a 
written application from the applicant if he is at least 18 years 
of age or older, or from a parent, adult relative caretaker, 
guardian, legal custodian, or authorized representative if the 
applicant is less than 18 years of age or the applicant is 
incapacitated. The application must be on a form prescribed 
by DMAS, and must be signed under a penalty of perjury. 
The application form shall contain information sufficient to 
determine Medicaid and FAMIS eligibility.  

I. Assistance with application. DMAS or its designee shall 
allow an individual or individuals of the applicant's choice to 
assist and represent the applicant in the application process, 
or a redetermination renewal process for eligibility, or both.  

J. Timely determination of eligibility. The time processing 
standards for determining eligibility for child health insurance 
begin with the date a signed an application is submitted 
online, by telephone, by fax, or received in hard copy either at 
a local department of social services LDSS or the FAMIS 
CPU. An application for health insurance received at local 
departments of social services must shall have a full Medicaid 
eligibility determination and, when a child is determined to be 
ineligible for Medicaid due to excess income, a FAMIS 
eligibility determination an eligibility determination 
performed, within the same Medicaid established federal case 
processing time standards.  

Except in cases of unusual circumstances as described 
below, an application for health insurance received at the 
FAMIS CPU and screened as ineligible for Medicaid, shall 
have a FAMIS eligibility determination completed within 10 
business days of the date the complete application was 
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received at the CPU. Applications that are screened as 
Medicaid likely will be processed within Medicaid case 
processing time standards.  

1. Unusual circumstances include: administrative or other 
emergency beyond the agency's control. In such case, 
DMAS, or its designee, or the LDSS must document, in the 
applicant's case record, the reasons for delay. DMAS or its 
designee or the local department of social services must 
not use the time standards as a waiting period before 
determining eligibility or as a reason for denying eligibility 
because it has not determined eligibility within the time 
standards.  

2. Incomplete applications shall be held open for a period 
of 30 calendar days to enable applicants to provide 
outstanding information needed for an eligibility 
determination. Any applicant who fails to provide, within 
30 calendar days of the receipt of the initial application, 
information or verifications necessary to determine 
eligibility, shall have his application for FAMIS eligibility 
denied.  

K. Notice of DMAS', its designee's or the local department 
of social services' decision concerning eligibility. DMAS, its 
designee or the local department of social services must The 
determining agency shall send each applicant a written notice 
of the agency's/designee's agency's or designee's decision on 
his the applicant's application, and, if approved, his the 
applicant's obligations under the program. If eligibility for 
both FAMIS and Medicaid is denied, notice must be given 
concerning the reasons for the action and an explanation of 
the applicant's right to request a review of the adverse actions, 
as described in 12VAC30-141-50.  

L. Case documentation. DMAS, its designee, or the local 
department of social services must The determining agency 
shall include in each applicant's record all necessary facts to 
support the decision on his the applicant's application, and 
must dispose of each application by a finding of eligibility or 
ineligibility, unless (i) there is an entry in the case record that 
the applicant voluntarily withdrew the application and that the 
agency or its designee sent a notice confirming his the 
applicant's decision; or (ii) there is a supporting entry in the 
case record that the applicant cannot be located.  

M. Case maintenance. All cases approved for FAMIS shall 
be maintained at the FAMIS CPU local departments of social 
services or another entity designated by DMAS. Children 
determined by local departments of social services to be 
eligible for FAMIS shall have their cases transferred to the 
FAMIS CPU for ongoing case maintenance. The FAMIS 
CPU The determining agency will be responsible for 
providing newly enrolled recipients with program 
information, benefits available, how to secure services under 
the program, a FAMIS handbook, and for processing changes 
in eligibility and annual renewals within established time 

frames timeframes. DMAS outreach resources may also 
provide information or assistance to the enrollee. 

N. Redetermination Renewal of eligibility. DMAS, LDSS, 
or the FAMIS CPU must shall redetermine the eligibility of 
enrollees with respect to circumstances that may change at 
least every 12 months. During the 12-month period of 
coverage, enrollees must make timely and accurate reports if 
an enrollee no longer resides in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia or when changes in income exceed 200% of the 
federal poverty level plus a 5.0% income disregard. DMAS or 
the FAMIS CPU must The agency responsible for managing 
the case shall promptly redetermine eligibility when it 
receives information about changes in a FAMIS enrollee's 
circumstances that may affect eligibility. DMAS or its 
designee may assist with documenting changes reported by 
the enrollee.  

O. Notice of decision concerning eligibility. DMAS or the 
FAMIS CPU must The agency responsible for managing the 
case shall give enrollees timely notice of proposed action to 
terminate their eligibility under FAMIS. The notice must 
meet the requirements of 42 CFR 457.1180.  

Part IV  
Cost Sharing  

12VAC30-141-160. Copayments for families not 
participating in FAMIS Select.  

A. Copayments shall apply to all enrollees in an MCHIP.  

B. These cost-sharing provisions shall be implemented with 
the following restrictions:  

1. Total cost sharing for each 12-month eligibility period 
shall be limited to (i) for families with incomes equal to or 
less than 150% of FPL federal poverty level (FPL), the 
lesser of (a) $180 and (b) 2.5% of the family's income for 
the year (or 12-month eligibility period); and (ii) for 
families with incomes greater than 150% of FPL, the lesser 
of $350 and 5.0% of the family's income for the year (or 
12-month eligibility period).  

2. DMAS or its designee shall ensure that the annual 
aggregate cost sharing for all FAMIS enrollees in a family 
does not exceed the aforementioned caps.  

3. Families will be required to submit documentation to 
DMAS or its designee showing that their maximum 
copayment amounts are met for the year.  

4. Once the cap is met, DMAS or its designee will issue a 
new eligibility card excluding such families from paying 
additional copays for the 12-month enrollment period.  

C. Exceptions to the above cost-sharing provisions:  

1. Copayments shall not be required for [ well-child well 
child ], well baby, and pregnancy-related services. This 
shall include:  
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a. All healthy newborn inpatient physician visits, 
including routine screening (inpatient or outpatient);  

b. Routine physical examinations, laboratory tests, 
immunizations, and related office visits;  

c. Routine preventive and diagnostic dental services (i.e., 
oral examinations, prophylaxis and topical fluoride 
applications, sealants, and x-rays);  

d. Services to pregnant females related to the pregnancy; 
and  

e. Other preventive services as defined by the 
department.  

2. Enrollees are not held liable for any additional costs, 
beyond the standard copayment amount, for emergency 
services furnished outside of the individual's managed care 
network. Only one copayment charge will be imposed for a 
single office visit.  

3. No cost sharing will be charged to American Indians and 
Alaska Natives.  

12VAC30-141-175. FAMIS Select.  

A. Enrollees in FAMIS may, but shall not be required to, 
enroll in a private or employer-sponsored health plan if 
DMAS or its designee determines that such enrollment is cost 
effective, as defined in this section.  

B. Eligibility determination. FAMIS children may elect to 
receive coverage under a health plan purchased privately or 
through an employer and DMAS may elect to provide 
coverage by paying all or a portion of the premium if all of 
the following conditions are met:  

1. The children are determined to be eligible for FAMIS;  

2. The cost of coverage for the child [ or children ] under 
FAMIS Select is equal to or less than the Commonwealth's 
cost of obtaining coverage under FAMIS only for the 
eligible targeted low-income children involved. The cost-
effectiveness determination methodology is described in 
subsection E of this section;  

3. The policyholder agrees to assign rights to benefits 
under the private or [ employer's employer-sponsored 
health ] plan to DMAS to assist the Commonwealth in 
pursuing these third-party payments for childhood 
immunizations. When a child is provided coverage under a 
private or [ employer's employer-sponsored health ] plan, 
that plan becomes the payer for all other services covered 
under that plan; and  

4. The policyholder is not under a court order to provide 
medical support for the applicant child.  

C. DMAS will continually verify the child's or [ or 
children's ] coverage under the private or [ employer's 
employer-sponsored health ] plan and will redetermine the 

eligibility of the child [ or children ] for the FAMIS Select 
component when it receives information concerning an 
applicant's or enrollee's circumstances that may affect 
eligibility.  

D. Application requirements.  

1. DMAS shall furnish the following information in written 
form and orally, as appropriate, to the families of FAMIS 
children who have indicated an interest in FAMIS Select:  

a. The eligibility requirements for FAMIS Select;  

b. A description of how the program operates, the 
amount of premium assistance available, and how 
children can move from FAMIS Select into FAMIS if 
requested;  

c. A summary of the covered benefits and cost-sharing 
requirements available through FAMIS;  

d. A guide to help families make an informed choice by 
comparing the FAMIS plan to their private or employer-
sponsored health plan. Such guide shall include a notice 
to the effect that children covered by FAMIS Select will 
not receive FAMIS-covered services, but only those 
health services covered by their private or employer-
sponsored health plan, and that the FAMIS Select 
enrollee shall be responsible for any and all costs 
associated with their chosen health plan;  

e. Information on coverage for childhood immunizations 
through FAMIS; and  

f. The rights and responsibilities of applicants and 
enrollees.  

2. DMAS will provide interested families with applications 
for FAMIS Select.  

3. A An electronic or written application for the FAMIS 
Select component shall be required from interested 
families.  

4. DMAS shall determine eligibility for the FAMIS Select 
component promptly, within 45 calendar days from the 
date of receiving an application that contains all 
information and verifications necessary to determine 
eligibility, except in unusual circumstances beyond the 
agency's control. Actual enrollment into the FAMIS Select 
component may not occur for extended periods of time, 
depending on the ability of the family to enroll in the 
employer's plan.  

5. Incomplete FAMIS Select applications shall be held for 
a period of 30 calendar days to enable applicants to provide 
outstanding information needed for a FAMIS Select 
eligibility determination. Any applicant who, within 30 
calendar days of the receipt of the initial application, fails 
to provide information or verifications necessary to 
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determine FAMIS Select eligibility shall have his 
application denied.  

6. DMAS must send each applicant a written notice of the 
agency's decision on his application for FAMIS Select and, 
if approved, his obligations under the program. If 
eligibility is denied, notice will be given concerning the 
reasons for the denial.  

E. Cost effectiveness. DMAS may elect to provide coverage 
to FAMIS children by paying all or a portion of the family's 
private or employer-sponsored health insurance premium if 
the cost of such premium assistance under FAMIS Select is 
equal to or less than the Commonwealth's cost of obtaining 
coverage under FAMIS only for the eligible, targeted, low-
income child [ or children ] involved. Providing premium 
assistance for the FAMIS-eligible children may result in the 
coverage of an adult or other relative/dependent relative or 
dependent; however, this coverage shall be solely incidental 
to covering the FAMIS child.  

1. To ensure that the FAMIS Select program remains cost 
effective, DMAS will establish a fixed premium assistance 
amount per child that will be paid to a family choosing to 
enroll their FAMIS-eligible child in FAMIS Select. The 
fixed premium assistance amount will be determined 
annually by:  

a. Determining the cost of covering a child under 
FAMIS. The cost will be determined by using the 
capitated payment rate paid to MCHIPs, or an average 
cost amount developed by DMAS;  

b. Determining the administrative costs associated with 
the FAMIS Select program; and  

c. Establishing a fixed premium assistance amount that 
includes administrative costs and is less than or equal to 
the cost of covering the FAMIS child [ or children ] 
under FAMIS.  

DMAS will ensure that the total of the fixed premium 
assistance amounts for all the FAMIS-eligible children per 
family do not exceed the total cost of the family's health 
insurance premium payment for the private or employer-
sponsored [ coverage health plan ]. If the total fixed premium 
assistance amounts do exceed the family's premium payment, 
then the family premium assistance will be reduced by an 
amount necessary to ensure the premium assistance payment 
is less than or equal to the family's premium payment.  

F. Enrollment and disenrollment.  

1. FAMIS children applying for FAMIS Select will receive 
coverage under FAMIS until their eligibility for coverage 
under the FAMIS Select component is established and until 
they are able to enroll in the private or employer-sponsored 
health plan.  

2. The timing and procedures employed to transfer FAMIS 
children's coverage to the FAMIS Select component will 
be coordinated between DMAS and the CPU agency 
managing the case to ensure continuation of health plan 
coverage.  

3. Participation by families in the FAMIS Select 
component shall be voluntary. Families may disenroll their 
child [ or children ] from the FAMIS Select component as 
long as the proper timing and procedures established by 
DMAS are followed to ensure continued health coverage.  

G. Premium assistance. When a child is determined eligible 
for coverage under the FAMIS Select component, premium 
assistance payments shall become effective the month in 
which the FAMIS child [ or children are is ] enrolled in the 
employer's plan. Payment of premium assistance shall end:  

1. On the last day of the month in which FAMIS eligibility 
ends;  

2. The last day of the month in which the child [ or 
children lose loses ] eligibility for coverage under the 
private or [ employer's employer-sponsored health ] plan;  

3. The last day of the month in which the family notifies 
DMAS that it wishes to disenroll its child [ or children ] 
from the FAMIS Select component; or  

4. On the next business day following a request by the 
family to immediately transfer the child from FAMIS 
Select into the FAMIS program. The request must include 
notification that the child's private or employer-sponsored 
[ coverage health plan ] has been terminated as of the date 
of transfer and an agreement by the family to return to 
DMAS the premium assistance payment prorated for that 
portion of the month in which the child was not enrolled in 
the private or employer-sponsored [ health ] plan.  

H. Supplemental health benefits coverage will be provided 
to ensure that FAMIS children enrolled in the FAMIS Select 
component receive all childhood immunizations available 
under the FAMIS benefits. FAMIS children can obtain these 
supplemental benefits through Medicaid providers.  

I. Cost sharing. FAMIS Select families will be responsible 
for all copayments, deductibles, coinsurance, fees, or other 
cost-sharing requirements of the private or employer-
sponsored health plan in which they enroll their children. 
There is no Title XXI family cost-sharing cap applied to 
families with children enrolled in FAMIS Select.  

There is no copayment required for the supplemental 
immunization benefits provided through FAMIS.  

12VAC30-141-500. Benefits reimbursement.  

A. Reimbursement for the services covered under FAMIS 
fee-for-service and MCHIPs shall be as specified in this 
section.  
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B. Reimbursement for physician services, surgical services, 
clinic services, prescription drugs, laboratory and radiological 
services, outpatient mental health services, early intervention 
services, emergency services, home health services, 
immunizations, mammograms, medical transportation, organ 
transplants, skilled nursing services, well baby and well child 
care, vision services, durable medical equipment, disposable 
medical supplies, dental services, case management services, 
physical therapy/occupational therapy/speech-language 
therapy, occupational therapy, or speech-language therapy 
services, hospice services, school-based health services, 
behavioral therapy services including but not limited to 
applied behavior analysis, and certain community-based 
mental health services shall be based on the Title XIX rates.  

C. Reimbursement to MCHIPs shall be determined on the 
basis of the estimated cost of providing the MCHIP benefit 
package and services to an actuarially equivalent population. 
MCHIP rates will be determined annually and published 30 
days prior to the effective date.  

D. Exceptions.  

1. Prior authorization is required after five visits in a fiscal 
year for physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech 
speech-language therapy provided by home health 
providers and outpatient rehabilitation facilities and for 
home health skilled nursing visits. Prior authorization is 
required after 26 visits for outpatient mental health visits in 
the first year of service and prior authorization is required 
for the following nonemergency outpatient procedures: 
Magnetic Resonance Imaging, including Magnetic 
Resonance Angiography (MRA), Computerized Axial 
Tomography (CAT) scans, including Computed 
Tomography Angiography (CTA), or Positron Emission 
Tomography (PET) scans performed for the purpose of 
diagnosing a disease process or physical injury. Prior 
authorization for dental services will be based on the Title 
XIX prior authorization requirements for dental services.  

2. Reimbursement for inpatient hospital services will be 
based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. 
Reimbursement shall not include payments for 
disproportionate share or graduate medical education 
payments made to hospitals. Payments made shall be final 
and there shall be no retrospective cost settlements.  

3. Reimbursement for outpatient hospital services shall be 
based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. 
Payments made will be final and there will be no 
retrospective cost settlements.  

4. Reimbursement for inpatient mental health services 
other than by free standing psychiatric hospitals will be 
based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each hospital. 
Reimbursement will not include payments for 
disproportionate share or graduate medical education 

payments made to hospitals. Payments made will be final 
and there will be no retrospective cost settlements.  

5. Reimbursement for outpatient rehabilitation services 
will be based on the Title XIX rates in effect for each 
rehabilitation agency. Payments made will be final and 
there will be no retrospective cost settlements.  

6. Reimbursement for outpatient substance abuse treatment 
services will be based on rates determined by DMAS for 
children ages six through 18 years. Payments made will be 
final and there will be no retrospective cost settlements.  

7. Reimbursement for prescription drugs will be based on 
the Title XIX rates in effect. Reimbursements for Title 
XXI do not receive drug rebates as under Title XIX.  

8. Reimbursement for covered prescription drugs for 
noninstitutionalized FAMIS recipients receiving the fee-
for-service benefits will be subject to review and prior 
authorization when their current number of prescriptions 
exceeds nine unique prescriptions within 180 calendar 
days, and as may be further defined by the agency's 
guidance documents for pharmacy utilization review and 
the prior authorization program. The prior authorization 
process shall be applied consistent with the process set 
forth in 12VAC30-50-210 A 7.  

12VAC30-141-660. Assignment to managed care. 

A. Except for children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 
pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of 
the Code of Virginia, all eligible enrollees shall be assigned 
in managed care through the department or the central 
processing unit (CPU) under contract to DMAS CPU. FAMIS 
individuals, during the preassignment period to an MCHIP, 
shall receive Title XXI benefits via fee-for-service utilizing a 
FAMIS card issued by DMAS. After assignment to an 
MCHIP, benefits and the delivery of benefits shall be 
administered specific to the managed care program in which 
the individual is enrolled. DMAS shall contract with MCHIPs 
to deliver health care services for infants born to mothers 
enrolled in FAMIS for the month of birth plus two additional 
months regardless of the status of the newborn's application 
for FAMIS. If federal funds are not available for those 
months of coverage, DMAS shall use state funding only. 

1. MCHIPs shall be offered to enrollees in all areas. 

2. All enrollees shall be assigned to the contracted 
MCHIPs. 

3. Enrollees Applicants for FAMIS may choose an MCHIP 
at the time of application. If a choice is not made at 
application, enrollees shall be assigned through a random 
system algorithm; provided however, all children within 
the same family shall be assigned to the same MCHIP. 
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4. All children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program shall be 
assigned to the fee-for-service component. 

5. Enrolled individuals will receive a letter indicating that 
they may select one of the contracted MCHIPs that serve 
such area. Enrollees who do not select an MCHIP as 
described above, shall be assigned to an MCHIP as 
described in subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

6. Individuals assigned to an MCHIP who lose and then 
regain eligibility for FAMIS within 60 days will be 
reassigned to their previous MCHIP. 

B. Following their initial assignment to an MCHIP, those 
enrollees shall be restricted to that MCHIP until their next 
annual eligibility redetermination, unless appropriately 
disenrolled by the department. 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of managed care 
assignment, an enrollee may request reassignment for any 
reason. Such reassignment shall be effective no later than 
the first day of the second month after the month in which 
the enrollee requests reassignment. 

2. Enrollees may only request reassignment to another 
MCHIP serving that geographic area.  

3. After the first 90 calendar days of the assignment period, 
the enrollee may only be reassigned from one MCHIP to 
another MCHIP upon determination by DMAS that good 
cause exists pursuant to subsection C of this section or for 
any reason at annual renewal. 

C. Disenrollment for good cause, defined in 12VAC30-120-
370, may be requested at any time. 

1. After the first 90 calendar days of assignment in 
managed care, enrollees may request disenrollment from 
DMAS based on good cause. The request must be made in 
writing to DMAS and cite the reasons why the enrollee 
wishes to be reassigned. The department shall establish 
procedures for good cause reassignment through written 
policy directives.  

2. DMAS shall determine whether good cause exists for 
reassignment. 

Part VII  
FAMIS MOMS  

12VAC30-141-670. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means the Social Security Act.  

"Adult caretaker relative" or "caretaker relative" means an 
individual who is 18 years of age or older, who is not the 
parent of but who is related to the child applicant by blood or 

marriage, and who lives with and assumes responsibility for 
day-to-day care of the child applicant in a place of residence 
maintained as his or their own home.  

"Adverse action," consistent with 42 CFR 457.1130, means 
the denial of eligibility; failure to make a timely 
determination of eligibility; suspension or termination of 
enrollment, including disenrollment for failure to pay cost 
sharing; or delay, denial, reduction, suspension, or 
termination of health services, in whole or in part, including a 
determination about the type or level of services; and failure 
to approve, furnish, or provide payment for health services in 
a timely manner; provided, however, that determination of 
eligibility to participate in and termination of participation in 
the FAMIS Select program shall not constitute an adverse 
action.  

"Adverse benefit determination," consistent with 42 CFR 
438.400, means the denial or limited authorization of a 
requested service; the failure to take action or timely take 
action on a request for service; the reduction, suspension, or 
termination of a previously authorized service; denial in 
whole or in part of a payment for a service; failure to provide 
services within the timeframes required by the state; for a 
resident of a rural exception area with only one MCO, the 
denial of a enrollee's request to exercise the enrollee's right 
under 42 CFR 438.52(b)(2)(ii) to obtain services outside of 
the network; the denial of a enrollee's request to dispute a 
financial liability as provided in 42 CFR [ 438(b)(7) 
438.400(b)(7) ]; or the failure of an MCO to act within the 
timeframes provided in 42 CFR 438.408(b). 

"Agency" means a local department of social services, the 
central processing unit, or other entity designated by DMAS 
to make eligibility determinations for FAMIS MOMS. the 
same as defined in 12VAC30-141-10. 

"Agency error" means a person or persons received benefits 
to which they were not entitled as a result of an error on the 
part of an eligibility worker at a local department of social 
services or the central processing unit.  

"Agent" means an individual designated in writing to act on 
behalf of a FAMIS MOMS Plan applicant or enrollee during 
the administrative review process.  

"Appeal" means an enrollee's request for review of an 
adverse benefit determination by an MCO or an adverse 
action by the LDSS, CPU, or DMAS. 

"Applicant" means a pregnant woman who has filed an 
application (or who has an application filed on her behalf) for 
health insurance and is awaiting a determination of eligibility. 
A pregnant woman is an applicant until her eligibility has 
been determined.  

"Application for health insurance" means the form or forms 
developed and approved by the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services that are used for determining eligibility 
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for Medicaid for poverty level children, for the Family 
Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan (FAMIS) for 
children, for Medicaid for pregnant women, and for FAMIS 
MOMS coverage for pregnant women single streamlined 
application for determining eligibility in public health 
insurance programs operated by the Commonwealth. 

"Authorized representative" means a person who is 
authorized to conduct the personal or financial affairs for an 
individual who is 18 years of age or older.  

"Board" or "BMAS" means that policy board created by 
§ 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia to administer the plans 
established by the Social Security Act.  

"Central processing unit" or "CPU" means Cover Virginia, 
which is the private contractor that will determine eligibility 
for and administer part of the FAMIS MOMS Plan same as 
defined in 12VAC30-141-10. 

"Child" means an individual under the age of younger than 
19 years of age.  

"Competent individual" means a person who has not been 
judged by a court to be legally incapacitated.  

"Comprehensive health insurance coverage" means health 
benefits coverage, which includes the following categories of 
services at a minimum: inpatient and outpatient hospital 
services, physician's surgical and medical services, and 
laboratory and radiological services.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by a court of 
competent jurisdiction to manage the estate and financial 
affairs of an incapacitated individual.  

"Continuation of enrollment coverage" means ensuring an 
enrollee's benefits are continued until completion of the 
review process, with the condition that should the enrollee not 
prevail in the review process, the enrollee shall be liable for 
the repayment of all benefits received during the review 
process.  

"Director" means the individual, or his designee, specified in 
§ 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia with all of the attendant 
duties and responsibilities to administer the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance and the State Plan for Title XXI.  

"DMAS" or "department" means the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services.  

"Enrollee" means a pregnant woman who has been 
determined eligible to participate in FAMIS MOMS and is 
enrolled in the FAMIS MOMS program.  

"External quality review organization" means the 
independent contractor assigned by DMAS to handle quality 
reviews and to conduct final review of MCHIP adverse 
actions for FAMIS MOMS.  

"Family" for a pregnant woman under the age of 21, means 
parents, including adoptive parents, if they are all residing 

together and the spouse of the pregnant woman if the woman 
is married and living with her spouse, as well as any children 
under the age of 21 the woman may have.  

For a pregnant woman over the age of 21, "family" means 
her spouse, if married and living together, as well as any 
children under the age of 21 the pregnant woman may have.  

"Family income" means the total income of all family 
members in a household. Income includes, but is not 
necessarily limited to, before-tax earnings from a job, 
including cash, wages, salary, commissions, tips, self-
employment net profits, Social Security, Retirement Survivor 
Disability Insurance (RSDI), veterans benefits, Railroad 
Retirement, disability workers' compensation, unemployment 
benefits, child support, alimony, spousal support, pensions, 
retirement benefits, settlement benefits, rental income, and 
lottery/bingo winnings. Income excludes public assistance 
program benefits such as SSI and TANF payments, foster 
care payments, general relief, loans, grants, or scholarships 
for educational expenses or earned income of a child who is a 
student.  

"FAMIS" means the Family Access to Medical Insurance 
Security Plan.  

"FAMIS MOMS" means the Title XXI program available to 
eligible pregnant women.  

"Federal poverty level" or "FPL" means that income 
standard as published annually by the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services in the Federal Register.  

"Fee-for-service" means the traditional Medicaid health care 
delivery and payment system in which physicians and other 
providers receive a payment for each unit of service they 
provide.  

"Fraud" means an intentional deception or misrepresentation 
made by a person with the knowledge that the deception 
could result in some unauthorized benefit to herself or some 
other person. It includes any act that constitutes fraud under 
applicable federal or state laws.  

"Group health plan" or "health insurance coverage" means 
that health care coverage as defined in § 2791 of the Public 
Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and (b)(1)).  

"Guardian" means a person appointed by a court of 
competent jurisdiction to be responsible for the affairs of an 
incapacitated individual, including responsibility for making 
decisions regarding the person's support, care, health, safety, 
habilitation, education, and therapeutic treatment, and, if not 
inconsistent with an order of commitment, residence.  

"Incapacitated individual" means a person who, pursuant to 
an order of a court of competent jurisdiction, has been found 
to be incapable of receiving and evaluating information 
effectively or responding to people, events, or environments 
to such an extent that the individual lacks the capacity to (i) 
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meet the essential requirements of her health, care, safety, or 
therapeutic needs without the assistance or protection of a 
guardian, or (ii) manage property or financial affairs or 
provide for her support or for the support of her legal 
dependents without the assistance or protection of a 
conservator.  

"Legally emancipated" means that the parents and child 
have gone through the court and a judge has declared that the 
parents have surrendered the right to care, custody, and 
earnings of the child and have renounced parental duties. A 
married minor is not emancipated unless a court has declared 
the married minor emancipated from her parents.  

[ "Lawfully residing" means the individual is lawfully 
present in the United States and meets state residency 
requirements. ]  

"LDSS" or "local department" means the local department of 
social services.  

"Managed care health insurance plan" or "MCHIP," as 
defined in § 32.1-137.1 of the Code of Virginia, means an 
arrangement for the delivery of health care in which a health 
carrier under contract with DMAS for Title XXI delivery 
systems undertakes to provide, arrange and pay for, or 
reimburse any of the costs of health care services for a 
covered person on a prepaid or insured basis, which contains 
one or more incentive arrangements, including any credential 
requirements intended to influence the cost of the health care 
services between the health carrier and one or more providers 
and requires or creates benefit payment differential incentives 
for covered persons to use providers that are directly or 
indirectly managed, owned, under contract with, or employed 
by the health carrier.  

"Member of a family," for purposes of determining whether 
the applicant is eligible for coverage under a state employee 
health insurance plan, means a spouse, parent or parents, 
including stepparents with whom the child is living if the 
stepparent claims the child as a dependent on the employee's 
federal tax return.  

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an 
organization that offers managed care health insurance plans 
(MCHIPs) as defined in [ this section § 32.1-137.1 of the 
Code of Virginia ]. 

"Pregnant woman" means a woman of any age who is 
medically determined to be pregnant. The pregnant woman 
definition is met from the first day of the earliest month that 
the medical practitioner certifies as being a month in which 
the woman was pregnant, through the last day of the month in 
which the 60th day occurs, following the last day of the 
month in which her pregnancy ended, regardless of the reason 
the pregnancy ended.  

"Provider" means the individual, facility, or other entity 
registered, licensed, or certified, as appropriate, and enrolled 

by an MCHIP or in fee-for-service to render services to 
FAMIS MOMS enrollees eligible for services.  

"State fair hearing" means, consistent with 42 CFR 438.400, 
the process set forth in 42 CFR 431 Subpart E. 

"Title XXI" means the federal State Children's Health 
Insurance Program as established by Subtitle J of the 
Balanced Budget Act of 1997.  

"Virginia State Employee Health Insurance Plan" means a 
health insurance plan offered by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia to its employees.  

12VAC30-141-680. Administration and general 
background.  

A. The state shall use funds provided under Title XXI for 
obtaining coverage that meets the requirements of Title XXI 
of the Social Security Act and any waiver of federal 
regulations approved by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services.  

B. The DMAS director will have the authority to contract 
with entities for the purpose purposes of establishing a 
centralized processing site, determining eligibility, enrolling 
eligible pregnant women into health plans, performing 
outreach, data collection, reporting, and other services 
necessary for the administration of the FAMIS MOMS 
program; and for employing state staff to perform Medicaid 
eligibility determinations on pregnant women referred by the 
contractor's staff. 

C. Health care services under FAMIS MOMS shall be 
provided through MCHIPs and fee-for-service or through any 
other health care delivery system deemed appropriate by the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services.  

12VAC30-141-690. Outreach and public participation.  

A. DMAS will work cooperatively with other state agencies 
and contractors to ensure that state and federal law and any 
applicable state and federal regulations are met.  

B. DMAS shall develop a comprehensive marketing and 
outreach effort. The marketing and outreach efforts will be 
aimed at promoting FAMIS MOMS and Medicaid for 
pregnant women and increasing enrollment, and may include 
contracting with a public relations firm, nonprofit agencies, 
and foundations, and coordination with other state agencies, 
coordination with the business community, and coordination 
with health care associations and providers.  

12VAC30-141-700. Review Appeal of adverse actions or 
adverse benefit determinations.  

A. Upon written request, all FAMIS MOMS program 
applicants and enrollees shall have the right to a review state 
fair hearing of an adverse action made by the MCHIP, local 
department of social services, CPU, or DMAS, or an internal 
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appeal of an adverse benefit determination made by the 
MCO.  

B. During review the appeal of a suspension or termination 
of enrollment or a reduction, suspension, or termination of 
services, the enrollee shall have the right to continuation of 
coverage if the enrollee requests review an internal appeal 
with the MCO or an appeal to DMAS prior to the effective 
date of the suspension or termination of enrollment or 
suspension, reduction, or termination of services.  

C. Review An appeal of an adverse action made by the local 
department of social services, CPU, or DMAS shall be heard 
and decided by an agent of DMAS who has not been directly 
involved in the adverse action under review appeal.  

D. Review An internal appeal of an adverse action benefit 
determination made by the MCHIP MCO must be conducted 
by a person or agent of the MCHIP MCO who has not been 
directly involved in the adverse action benefit determination 
under review appeal.  

E. After final review by Pursuant to 42 CFR 
438.402(c)(1)(B), after exhausting the MCHIP MCO's 
internal appeals process, there shall also be opportunity for 
final independent the enrollee to request an external medical 
review by the an independent external quality review 
organization. [ "External quality review organization" means 
the independent contractor assigned by DMAS to handle 
quality reviews and to conduct final review of MCHIP 
adverse actions for FAMIS MOMS. ] The review is optional 
and shall not be required before proceeding to a state fair 
hearing. The review shall not extend any of the timeframes 
for issuing a decision and shall not disrupt any continuation 
of coverage granted to the enrollee. 

F. There will be no opportunity for review appeal of an 
adverse action to the extent that such adverse action is based 
on a determination by the director that funding for FAMIS 
MOMS has been terminated or exhausted. There will be no 
opportunity for review based on which type of delivery 
system (i.e., fee-for-service, MCHIP) is assigned. There will 
be no opportunity for review appeal if the sole basis for the 
adverse action decision is a provision in the State Plan or in a 
state or federal law or regulation requiring an automatic 
change in eligibility or enrollment or a change in coverage 
under the health benefits package that affects all applicants or 
enrollees or a group of applicants or enrollees without regard 
to their individual circumstances.  

G. The burden of proof shall be upon the applicant or 
enrollee to show that an adverse action or adverse benefit 
determination is incorrect.  

H. At no time shall the MCHIP's, local department's of 
social services, the CPU's MCO, LDSS, CPU, or DMAS' 
DMAS failure to meet the time frames timeframes set in this 
chapter or set in the MCHIP's MCO or DMAS' DMAS 

written review procedures appeal procedure constitute a basis 
for granting the applicant or enrollee the relief sought.  

12VAC30-141-710. Notice of adverse action or adverse 
benefit determination.  

A. The CPU or LDSS, CPU, DMAS, or DMAS contractor 
shall send written notification to enrollees at least 10 calendar 
days prior to suspension or termination of enrollment.  

B. DMAS or the MCHIP MCO shall send written 
notification to enrollees at least 10 calendar days prior to 
reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously 
authorized health service.  

C. The local department of social services, the CPU, DMAS, 
or the MCHIP MCO shall send written notification to 
applicants and enrollees of all other adverse actions within 10 
calendar days of the adverse action.  

D. Notice shall include the reasons for determination, an 
explanation of applicable rights to a review of that 
determination, the standard and expedited time frames for 
review, the manner in which a review can be requested, and 
the circumstances under which enrollment or services may 
continue pending review.: 

1. The determination the LDSS, CPU, DMAS, or MCO has 
made or intends to make; 

2. The reasons for the determination, including the right of 
the enrollee to be provided upon request and free of charge 
reasonable access to and copies of all documents, records, 
and other information relevant to the determination; 

3. An explanation of applicable rights to request an appeal 
of that determination. For adverse benefit determinations 
by an MCO, this shall include information on the MCO's 
internal appeals process and, after the internal appeals 
process is exhausted, a state fair hearing pursuant to 
42 CFR 402(b) and 42 CFR 402(c); 

4. The procedures for exercising these appeal rights; 

5. The circumstances under which an appeal process can be 
expedited and how to request it; and 

6. The circumstances under which enrollment or services 
may continue pending appeal, how to request benefits be 
continued, and the circumstances, consistent with state 
policy, under which the enrollee may be required to pay 
the costs of these services. 

12VAC30-141-720. Request for review appeal. 

A. Requests for review internal appeal of MCHIP MCO 
adverse actions benefit determinations shall be submitted 
orally or in writing to the MCHIP MCO. Unless the enrollee 
requests an expedited appeal, an oral appeal request must be 
followed by a written appeal request. The enrollee must 
exhaust the MCO's internal appeals process before appealing 
to DMAS. 
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B. If the MCO fails to adhere to the notice or timing 
requirements set forth in this part, the enrollee is deemed to 
have exhausted the MCO's internal appeals process and may 
initiate a state fair hearing. 

[ B. ] C. Requests for review appeal of adverse actions made 
by the local department of social services, LDSS, the CPU, or 
DMAS, or of internal appeal decisions by the MCO shall be 
submitted in writing to DMAS. 

C. D. Any written communication clearly expressing a 
desire to have an adverse action benefit determination by an 
MCO reviewed shall be treated as a request for review an 
internal appeal. Any communication expressing a desire to 
have an adverse action by the LDSS, CPU, or DMAS 
reviewed shall be treated as a request for a state fair hearing. 
Any communication expressing a desire to have an MCO 
internal appeal decision reviewed shall be treated as a request 
for a state fair hearing. 

D. E. To be timely, requests for review an internal appeal of 
a MCHIP an MCO's adverse benefit determination shall be 
received by the MCHIP MCO no later than 30 60 calendar 
days from the date of the MCHIP's MCO's notice of adverse 
action benefit determination. 

E. F. To be timely, requests for an appeal of an adverse 
benefit determination upheld in whole or in part by the 
MCO's internal appeal decision shall be received by DMAS 
within 120 calendar days from the date of the internal appeal 
decision. 

G. To be timely, requests for review appeal of a local 
department of social services, DMAS, or CPU determination 
adverse action shall be filed with DMAS no later than 30 
calendar days from the date of the CPU's, LDSS' or DMAS' 
notice of adverse action. Requests for review appeal of a local 
department of social services, DMAS, or CPU an agency 
determination shall be considered filed with DMAS on the 
date the request is postmarked, if mailed, or on the date the 
request is received, if delivered other than by mail, by 
DMAS. 

12VAC30-141-730. Review Appeal procedures.  

A. At a minimum, the MCHIP review MCO internal appeal 
shall be conducted pursuant to written procedures as defined 
in § 32.1-137.6 of the Code of Virginia and as may be further 
defined by DMAS 42 CFR 438.400 et seq. Such procedures 
shall be subject to review and approval by DMAS.  

B. Any adverse benefit determination upheld in whole or in 
part by the internal appeal decision issued by the MCO may 
be appealed by the enrollee to DMAS in accordance with the 
DMAS client appeals regulations at 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-370. DMAS shall conduct an 
evidentiary hearing in accordance with 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-370 and shall not base any appealed 
decision on the record established by any internal appeal 

decision of the MCO. The MCO shall comply with the 
DMAS appeal decision. The DMAS decision in these matters 
shall be final and shall not be subject to appeal by the MCO.  

The DMAS review C. Appeals of adverse actions by the 
LDSS, CPU, or DMAS shall be conducted pursuant to written 
procedures developed by DMAS 12VAC30-110. 

C. The procedures in effect on the date a particular request 
for review is received by the MCHIP or DMAS shall apply 
throughout the review.  

D. Copies of the procedures shall be promptly mailed 
provided by the MCHIP MCO or DMAS to applicants and 
enrollees upon receipt of timely requests for review internal 
appeals or state fair hearings. Such written procedures shall 
include but not be limited to the following:  

1. The right to representation by an attorney or other agent 
of the applicant's or enrollee's choice, but at no time shall 
the MCHIP, local department of social services, MCO, 
LDSS, DSS, or DMAS be required to obtain or 
compensate attorneys or other agents acting on behalf of 
applicants or enrollees;  

2. The right to timely review of their files and other 
applicable information relevant to the review internal 
appeal or state fair hearing of the decision;  

3. The right to fully participate in the review internal 
appeal or state fair hearing process, whether the review 
internal appeal or state fair hearing is conducted in person 
or in writing, including the presentation of supplemental 
information during the review internal appeal or state fair 
hearing process;  

4. The right to have personal and medical information and 
records maintained as confidential; and  

5. The right to a written final decision within 90 calendar 
days of receipt of the request for review, unless the 
applicant or enrollee requests or causes a delay.: 

a. For internal appeals to the MCO, within 30 calendar 
days of receipt of the request for an internal appeal; or 

b. For state fair hearings, within the time limitations for 
appeals imposed by federal regulations and as permitted 
in 12VAC30-110-30;  

E. 6. For eligibility and enrollment matters, if the 
applicant's or enrollee's physician or health plan determines 
that the 90-calendar-day timeframe could seriously 
jeopardize the applicant's or enrollee's life or health or 
ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum function, an 
applicant or enrollee will have the opportunity to request 
an expedited review appeal. Under these conditions, a 
request for review an expedited appeal shall result in a 
written final decision within three business days 72 hours 
after DMAS receives, the expedited appeal request from 
the physician or health plan, with the case record and 
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information indicating that taking the time for a standard 
resolution of the review appeal request could seriously 
jeopardize the applicant's or enrollee's life or health or 
ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum function, 
unless the applicant or enrollee or her authorized 
representative causes a delay. requests an extension; 

F. 7. For health services matters for FAMIS MOMS 
enrollees receiving services through MCHIPs, if an MCO:  

a. If the enrollee's physician or health plan determines 
that the 90-calendar-day 30-calendar-day timeframe for a 
standard internal appeal could seriously jeopardize the 
enrollee's life or, health, or ability to attain, maintain, or 
regain maximum function, an enrollee will have the 
opportunity to request an expedited review internal 
appeal. Under these conditions, a request for review an 
internal appeal shall result in a written decision by the 
external quality review organization MCO within 72 
hours from the time an enrollee requests the expedited 
review internal appeal is requested, unless the applicant, 
enrollee, or authorized representative requests or causes a 
delay. If a delay is requested or caused by the applicant, 
enrollee, or authorized representative, then expedited 
review internal appeal may be extended up to 14 calendar 
days.  

b. If the adverse benefit determination is upheld in whole 
or in part by the expedited internal appeal decision issued 
by the MCO, and if the enrollee's physician or health 
plan determines that the timeframe for a standard appeal 
to DMAS could seriously jeopardize the enrollee's life or 
health or ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum 
function, an enrollee will have the opportunity to request 
an expedited appeal to DMAS. Under these conditions, a 
request for a state fair hearing shall result in a written 
decision within 72 hours from the time an enrollee 
requests the expedited appeal, unless the applicant, 
enrollee, or authorized representative requests or causes a 
delay. If a delay is requested by the applicant, enrollee, 
or authorized representative, then the expedited appeal 
may be extended up to 14 calendar days; and 

G. 8. For health services matters for FAMIS MOMS 
enrollees receiving services through fee-for-service, if the 
enrollee's physician or health plan determines that the 90-
calendar-day timeframe for a standard appeal could 
seriously jeopardize the enrollee's life, health, or ability to 
attain, maintain, or regain maximum function, an enrollee 
will have the opportunity to request an expedited review. 
Under these conditions, a request for review an expedited 
appeal shall result in a written decision within 72 hours 
from the time an enrollee requests the expedited review 
appeal is requested, unless the applicant, enrollee, or 
authorized representative requests or causes a delay. If a 
delay is requested or caused by the applicant, enrollee, or 

authorized representative, then expedited review appeal 
may be extended up to 14 calendar days.  

12VAC30-141-740. Eligibility requirements General 
conditions of eligibility. 

A. This section shall be used to determine eligibility of 
pregnant women for FAMIS MOMS. 

B. FAMIS MOMS shall be in effect statewide. 

C. Eligible pregnant women must: 

1. Be determined ineligible for Medicaid due to excess 
income by a local department of social services or LDSS, 
by DMAS eligibility staff co-located at the FAMIS, or by 
the CPU; 

2. Be a pregnant woman at the time of application;  

3. Be a resident of the Commonwealth as described in 
12VAC30-141-100 E; 

4. Be either a U.S. United States citizen, U.S. United States 
national, lawfully residing, or a qualified noncitizen as 
described in 12VAC30-141-100 E; 

5. Be uninsured, that is, not have comprehensive creditable 
health insurance coverage; and 

6. Not be an inpatient in an institution for mental diseases 
(IMD), or an inmate in a public institution that is not a 
medical facility.   

[ "Lawfully residing" means the individual is lawfully 
present in the United States and meets state residency 
requirements. "Creditable health insurance coverage" means 
coverage that meets the definition at 42 CFR 457.10. ]  

D. Income Financial eligibility. 

1. Screening. All applications for FAMIS MOMS coverage 
received at the FAMIS central processing unit must be 
screened to identify applicants who are potentially eligible 
for Medicaid shall have a Medicaid income eligibility 
screen completed. Pregnant women screened and found 
potentially eligible for Medicaid cannot be enrolled in 
FAMIS MOMS until there has been a finding of 
ineligibility for Medicaid. Pregnant women who do not 
appear to be eligible for Medicaid due to excess income 
determined to be ineligible for Medicaid due to excess 
income shall have their eligibility for FAMIS MOMS 
determined and, if eligible, will be enrolled in the FAMIS 
MOMS program. Applications for FAMIS MOMS 
received at a local department of social services shall have 
a full Medicaid eligibility determination completed. 
Pregnant women determined to be ineligible for Medicaid 
due to excess income will have their eligibility for FAMIS 
MOMS determined and, if eligible, the local department of 
social services will enroll the pregnant woman in the 
FAMIS MOMS program. 
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2. Standards. Income standards for FAMIS MOMS are 
based on a comparison of countable income to 200% of the 
federal poverty level for the family size. Countable income 
and family size are based on the methodology utilized by 
the Medicaid program as defined in 12VAC30-40-100 B 1 
b. Pregnant women who have income at or below 200% of 
the federal poverty level, but are ineligible for Medicaid 
due to excess income, will be income eligible to participate 
in FAMIS MOMS the same as those described at 
12VAC30-141-100 F 2, applied to pregnant women. For 
purposes of income determination, the family size of the 
pregnant woman will count the unborn child. 

3. Spenddown. Deduction of incurred medical expenses 
from countable income (spenddown) shall not apply in 
FAMIS MOMS. If the family income exceeds the income 
limits described in this section, the individual shall be 
ineligible for FAMIS MOMS regardless of the amount of 
any incurred medical expenses DMAS does not apply a 
spenddown process for FAMIS MOMS where household 
income exceeds the income eligibility limit for FAMIS 
MOMS. 

E. Residency. The requirements for residency, as set forth in 
42 CFR 435.403, will be used when determining whether a 
pregnant woman is a resident of Virginia for purposes of 
eligibility for FAMIS MOMS. A child who is not 
emancipated and is temporarily living away from home is 
considered living with her parents, adult relative caretaker, 
legal guardian, or person having legal custody if the absence 
is temporary and the child intends to return to the home when 
the purpose of the absence (such as education, medical care, 
rehabilitation, vacation, visit) is completed. 

F. U.S. citizenship or nationality. Upon signing the 
declaration of citizenship or nationality required by § 1137(d) 
of the Social Security Act, the applicant or recipient is 
required under § 2105(c)(9) to furnish satisfactory 
documentary evidence of U.S. citizenship or nationality and 
documentation of personal identity unless citizenship or 
nationality has been verified by the Commissioner of Social 
Security or unless otherwise exempt. 

G. Qualified noncitizen. The requirements for qualified 
aliens set out in Public Law 104-193, as amended, and the 
requirements for noncitizens set out in subdivisions 3 b, c, 
and e of 12VAC30-40-10 will be used when determining 
whether a pregnant woman is a qualified noncitizen for 
purposes of FAMIS MOMS eligibility. 

H. E. Coverage under other health plans. 

1. Any pregnant woman covered under a group health plan 
or under health insurance coverage, as defined in § 2791 of 
the Public Health Services Act (42 USC § 300gg-91(a) and 
(b)(1)), shall not be eligible for FAMIS MOMS. 

2. No FAMIS MOMS shall not be a substitution for private 
insurance. 

a. Only uninsured pregnant women shall be eligible for 
FAMIS MOMS. A pregnant woman is not considered to 
be insured if the health insurance plan covering the 
pregnant woman does not have a network of providers in 
the area where the pregnant woman resides. Each 
application for FAMIS MOMS coverage shall include an 
inquiry about health insurance the pregnant woman has at 
the time of application. 

b. Health insurance does not include Medicare, Medicaid, 
FAMIS or insurance for which DMAS paid premiums 
under Title XIX through the Health Insurance Premium 
Payment (HIPP) Program or under Title XXI through the 
SCHIP premium assistance program. 

12VAC30-141-750. Duration of eligibility.  

A. The effective date of FAMIS MOMS eligibility shall be 
the first day of the month in which a signed an application 
was received by either the FAMIS central processing unit or a 
local department of social services LDSS, DMAS, or the 
CPU if the applicant met all eligibility requirements in that 
month.  

B. Eligibility for FAMIS MOMS will continue through the 
last day of the month in which the 60th day occurs, following 
the last day the woman was pregnant, regardless of the reason 
the pregnancy ended. Eligibility will continue until the end of 
the coverage period, regardless of changes in circumstances 
such as income or family size.  

12VAC30-141-760. Pregnant women ineligible for FAMIS 
MOMS.  

A. If a pregnant woman is:  

1. Eligible for Medicaid, or would be eligible if she applied 
for Medicaid, she shall be ineligible for coverage under 
FAMIS MOMS. A pregnant woman found through the 
screening process to be potentially eligible for Medicaid 
but who fails to complete the Medicaid application process 
for any reason, cannot be enrolled in FAMIS MOMS;  

2. An inmate of a public institution as defined provided in 
42 CFR 435.1009 435.1009(a)(1), she shall be ineligible 
for FAMIS MOMS at the initial determination of 
eligibility; or  

3. An inpatient in an institution for mental disease (IMD) 
as [ defined provided ] in [ 42 CFR 435.1010 42 CFR 
435.1010(a)(2) ], she shall be ineligible for FAMIS 
MOMS at the initial determination of eligibility.  

B. If a pregnant woman age 18 years or older or, if younger 
than age 18 years, a parent or other authorized representative 
does not meet the requirements of assignment of rights to 
benefits or requirements of cooperation with the agency in 
identifying and providing information to assist the 
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Commonwealth in pursuing any liable third party, the 
pregnant woman shall be ineligible for FAMIS MOMS.  

C. If a pregnant woman age 18 years or older, or if younger 
than age 18 years, a parent, adult relative caretaker, guardian, 
or legal custodian obtained benefits for a pregnant woman 
who would otherwise be ineligible by willfully 
misrepresenting material facts on the application or failing to 
report changes, the pregnant woman for whom the application 
is made shall be ineligible for FAMIS MOMS. The pregnant 
woman age 18 years or older, or if younger than age 18 years, 
the parent, adult relative caretaker, guardian, or legal 
custodian who signed the application shall be liable for 
repayment of the cost of all benefits issued as the result of the 
misrepresentation.  

12VAC30-141-790. Application requirements.  

A. Availability of program information. DMAS or its 
designee shall furnish the following information in written 
form and orally as appropriate to all applicants and to other 
individuals who request it:  

1. The eligibility requirements;  

2. Summary of covered benefits;  

3. Copayment amounts required; and  

4. The rights and responsibilities of applicants and 
enrollees.  

B. Opportunity to apply. DMAS or its designee must afford 
a pregnant woman, wishing to do so, the opportunity to apply 
for the FAMIS MOMS program. Applications from pregnant 
women will be accepted at a central site designated by DMAS 
and at local departments of social services throughout the 
Commonwealth. Applicants may file an application for health 
insurance by mail, by fax, by phone, via the internet, or in 
person at local departments of social services. Applications 
filed at the FAMIS CPU can be submitted by mail, by fax, by 
the Internet, or by phone. Face-to-face interviews for the 
program are not required. Eligibility determinations for 
FAMIS MOMS shall occur at either local departments of 
social services or at the DMAS-designated central site LDSS, 
DMAS, or the CPU. 

C. Application. DMAS or its designee shall require an 
application from the applicant if the applicant is at least 18 
years of age or older, or from a parent, adult relative 
caretaker, guardian, legal custodian, or authorized 
representative if the applicant is younger than 18 years of age 
or the applicant is incapacitated. 

1. DMAS employs a single, streamlined application 
developed by the state and approved by the Secretary of 
the Department of Health and Human Services in 
accordance with § 1413(b)(1)(B) of the Affordable Care 
Act.  

2. DMAS may employ an alternative application used to 
apply for multiple human service programs approved by 
the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human 
Services, provided that the agency makes readily available 
the single or alternative application used only for insurance 
affordability programs to individuals seeking assistance 
only through such programs. 

D. Right to apply. An individual who is 18 years of age or 
older shall not be refused the right to complete an application 
for health insurance for herself and shall not be discouraged 
from asking for assistance for herself under any 
circumstances.  

D. E. Applicant's signature. The applicant must sign state-
approved application forms submitted, even if another person 
fills out the form, unless the application is filed and signed by 
the applicant's parent, spouse, adult relative caretaker, legal 
guardian or conservator, attorney-in-fact or authorized 
representative.   

E. F. The authorized representative for an individual 18 
years of age or older shall be those individuals as set forth in 
12VAC30-110-1380.  

F. G. The authorized representative for children younger 
than 18 years of age shall be those individuals as set forth in 
12VAC30-110-1390.  

G. H. Persons prohibited from signing an application. An 
employee of, or an entity hired by, a medical service provider 
who stands to obtain FAMIS MOMS payments shall not sign 
an application for health insurance on behalf of an individual 
who cannot designate an authorized representative.  

H. Written application. DMAS or its designee shall require a 
written application from the applicant if she is at least 18 
years of age or older, or from a parent, adult relative 
caretaker, guardian, legal custodian, or authorized 
representative if the applicant is less than 18 years of age or 
the applicant is incapacitated. The application must be on a 
form prescribed by DMAS and must be signed under a 
penalty of perjury. The application form shall contain 
information sufficient to determine Medicaid and FAMIS 
MOMS eligibility.  

I. Assistance with application. DMAS or its designee shall 
allow an individual or individuals of the applicant's choice to 
assist and represent the applicant in the application process, 
or a redetermination renewal process for eligibility.  

J. Timely determination of eligibility. The time processing 
standards for determining eligibility for FAMIS MOMS 
coverage begin with the date a signed an application is 
submitted online, by telephone, by fax, or received either in 
hard copy at a local department of social services or the 
FAMIS CPU. All Applications received at local departments 
of social services must applications shall have a full Medicaid 
an eligibility determination and, when a pregnant woman is 
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determined to be ineligible for Medicaid due to excess 
income, a for pregnant women and FAMIS MOMS eligibility 
determination performed, within the same Medicaid case 
processing time standards (10 business days) if all 
information necessary to make the determination has been 
received.  

Except in cases of unusual circumstances as described 
below, health insurance applications for pregnant women 
received at the local department of social services shall have a 
Medicaid eligibility determination completed and, if denied 
Medicaid for excess income, a FAMIS MOMS eligibility 
determination completed within 10 business days of the date 
the signed application was received at the local department. 
An application from a pregnant woman received at the 
FAMIS CPU and screened as ineligible for Medicaid, shall 
have a FAMIS MOMS eligibility determination completed 
within 10 business days of the date the complete application 
was received at the CPU. Complete applications that are 
screened as Medicaid likely will be processed within the 10 
business day time standard. If the application cannot be 
processed within this standard, a notice will be sent to the 
applicant explaining why a decision has not yet been made.  

1. Unusual circumstances include administrative or other 
emergency beyond the agency's control. In such case, 
DMAS or its designee or the LDSS must document, in the 
applicant's case record, the reasons for delay. DMAS or its 
designee or the local department of social services must 
not use the time standards as a waiting period before 
determining eligibility or as a reason for denying eligibility 
because it has not determined eligibility within the time 
standards.  

2. Applications filed at the CPU that are incomplete shall 
be held open for a period of 30 calendar days to enable 
applicants to provide outstanding information needed for 
an eligibility determination. Incomplete applications 
determined complete by the receipt of additional 
information required to determine FAMIS MOMS 
eligibility will be processed in an expedited manner upon 
receipt of the additional information. Any applicant who 
fails to provide, within 30 calendar days of the receipt of 
the initial application, information or verifications 
necessary to determine eligibility, shall have her 
application for FAMIS MOMS eligibility denied.  

K. Notice of DMAS', its designee's or the local department 
of social services' decision concerning eligibility. DMAS, its 
designee or the local department of social services must an 
LDSS, or the CPU shall send each applicant a written notice 
of the agency's/designee's agency's or designee's decision on 
her the applicant's application, and, if approved, her the 
applicant's obligations under the program. If eligibility for 
FAMIS MOMS is denied, notice must shall be given 
concerning the reasons for the action and an explanation of 

the applicant's right to request a review of the adverse actions, 
as described in 12VAC30-141-50.  

L. Case documentation. DMAS, its designee, or the local 
department of social services must, or the CPU shall include 
in each applicant's record all necessary facts to support the 
decision on her the applicant's application, and must shall 
dispose of each application by a finding of eligibility or 
ineligibility, unless (i) there is an entry in the case record that 
the applicant voluntarily withdrew the application and that the 
agency or its designee sent a notice confirming her the 
applicant's decision; or (ii) there is a supporting entry in the 
case record that the applicant cannot be located.  

M. Case maintenance. All cases approved for FAMIS 
MOMS shall be maintained at the FAMIS CPU departments 
of social services or the CPU. Pregnant women determined by 
local departments of social services to be eligible for FAMIS 
MOMS shall have their cases transferred to the FAMIS CPU 
for ongoing case maintenance. The FAMIS CPU The LDSS 
or the agency determining eligibility will be responsible for 
providing newly enrolled recipients with program 
information, benefits available, how to secure services under 
the program, a FAMIS MOMS handbook, and for processing 
changes in eligibility within established time frames 
timeframes. DMAS outreach resources may also provide 
information or assistance to the enrollee. 

N. Notice of decision concerning eligibility. DMAS or the 
FAMIS CPU LDSS, DMAS, or the CPU must give enrollees 
timely notice of proposed action to terminate their eligibility 
under FAMIS MOMS. The notice must meet the 
requirements of 42 CFR 457.1180.  

12VAC30-141-800. Copayments.  

A. Pregnant women enrolled in FAMIS MOMS will be 
subject to copayments for medical services in the same 
manner and amount as pregnant women covered by the 
Medicaid program as defined in 12VAC30-10-570 B and C.  

B. These cost-sharing provisions shall be implemented with 
the following restrictions:  

1. Total cost sharing for a pregnant woman shall be limited 
to the lesser of (i) $180 and (ii) 2.5% of the family's 
income (i) for families with incomes equal to or less than 
150% of federal poverty level (FPL), the lesser of (a) $180 
and (b) 2.5% of the family's income for the year; and (ii) 
for families with incomes greater than 150% of FPL, the 
lesser of $350 and 5.0% of the family's income for the year 
for the duration of her the pregnant woman's enrollment in 
FAMIS MOMS.  

2. If a family includes a pregnant woman enrolled in 
FAMIS MOMS and a child or children enrolled in FAMIS, 
DMAS or its designee shall ensure that the annual 
aggregate cost sharing for all Title XXI enrollees in a 
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family does not exceed the cost sharing caps as defined in 
12VAC30-141-160 B.  

3. Families will be required to submit documentation to 
DMAS or its designee showing that their maximum 
copayment amounts are met for the year.  

4. Once the cap is met, DMAS or its designee will issue a 
new eligibility card or written documentation excluding 
such families from paying additional copays.  

C. Exceptions to the above cost-sharing provisions. No cost 
sharing will be charged to American Indians and Alaska 
Natives.  

12VAC30-141-880. Assignment to managed care.  

A. All eligible enrollees shall be assigned in managed care 
through the department or the central processing unit (CPU) 
under contract to DMAS. FAMIS MOMS individuals, during 
the preassignment period to an MCHIP, shall receive 
Medicaid-like benefits via fee-for-service utilizing a FAMIS 
MOMS card issued by DMAS. After assignment to an 
MCHIP, benefits and the delivery of benefits shall be 
administered specific to the managed care program in which 
the individual is enrolled.  

1. MCHIPs shall be offered to enrollees in all areas.  

2. All enrollees shall be assigned to that contracted 
MCHIP.  

3. Enrollees shall be assigned through a random system 
algorithm.  

4. Enrolled individuals will receive a letter indicating that 
they may select one of the contracted MCHIPs that serve 
such area. Enrollees who do not select an MCHIP as 
described above, shall be assigned to an MCHIP as 
described in subdivision 3 of this subsection.  

5. Individuals assigned to an MCHIP who lose and then 
regain eligibility for FAMIS MOMS within 60 calendar 
days will be reassigned to their previous MCHIP.  

B. Following their initial assignment to an MCHIP, those 
enrollees shall be restricted to that MCHIP until their next 
annual eligibility redetermination, unless appropriately 
disenrolled by the department.  

1. During the first 90 calendar days of managed care 
assignment, an enrollee may request reassignment for any 
reason from that MCHIP to another MCHIP serving that 
geographic area. Such reassignment shall be effective no 
later than the first day of the second month after the month 
in which the enrollee requests reassignment.  

2. After the first 90 calendar days of the assignment period, 
the enrollee may only be reassigned from one MCHIP to 
another MCHIP upon determination by DMAS that good 
cause exists pursuant to subsection C of this section.  

C. Disenrollment for good cause may be requested at any 
time.  

1. After the first 90 calendar days of assignment in 
managed care, enrollees may request disenrollment from 
DMAS based on good cause. The request must be made in 
writing to DMAS and cite the reasons why the enrollee 
wishes to be reassigned. The department shall establish 
procedures for good cause reassignment through written 
policy directives.  

2. DMAS shall determine whether good cause exists for 
reassignment.  

D. Exclusion for assignment to a MCHIP. The following 
individuals shall be excluded from assignment to a MCHIP. 
Newly eligible individuals who are in the third trimester of 
pregnancy and who request exclusion within a department-
specified time frame timeframe of the effective date of their 
MCHIP enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if the 
member's obstetrical provider (physician or hospital) does not 
participate with the enrollee's assigned MCHIP. Exclusion 
requests made during the third trimester may be made by the 
enrollee, MCHIP, or provider. DMAS shall determine if the 
request meets the criteria for exclusion. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4662; Filed April 30, 2019, 4:22 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code (amending 13VAC5-63-540). 

Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: May 14, 2019, through November 12, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 
TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 A of the Code of Virginia states that 
regulations that an agency finds are necessitated by an 
emergency situation may be adopted upon consultation 
with the Attorney General, which approval shall be 
granted only after the agency has submitted a request 
stating in writing the nature of the emergency, and the 
necessity for such action shall be at the sole discretion of 
the Governor.  
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Currently, the Virginia Maintenance Code (VMC), a part 
of the Uniform Statewide Building Code (USBC), requires 
that when cooling is provided to tenants of certain 
multifamily buildings, it must be provided to a temperature 
of at least 80° Fahrenheit. The current threshold has been 
identified as a public health concern in multiple localities 
that adopt the VMC. The amendment lowers the required 
cooling temperature as provided in the USBC to to 77° 
Fahrenheit. 

13VAC5-63-540. Chapter 6 Mechanical and electrical 
requirements.  

A. Delete the following sections from Chapter 6 of the 
IPMC: 

1. Section 601.2 Responsibility. 

2. Section 603.6 Energy conservation devices. 

3. Section 604.2 Service. 

4. Section 604.3.2 Abatement of electrical hazards 
associated with fire exposure. 

B. Change the following sections in Chapter 6 of the IPMC 
to read: 

1. Section 601.1 General. The provisions of this chapter 
shall govern the maintenance of mechanical and electrical 
facilities and equipment. 

2. Section 602 Heating and cooling facilities. 

3. Section 602.2 Heat supply. Every owner and operator of 
a Group R-2 apartment building or other residential 
building who rents, leases, or lets one or more dwelling 
unit, rooming unit, dormitory, or guestroom on terms, 
either expressed or implied, to furnish heat to the 
occupants thereof shall supply heat during the period from 
October 15 to May 1 to maintain a temperature of not less 
than 68°F (20°C) in all habitable rooms, bathrooms, and 
toilet rooms. The code official may also consider 
modifications as provided in Section 104.5.2 when 
requested for unusual circumstances or may issue notice 
approving building owners to convert shared heating and 
cooling piping HVAC systems 14 calendar days before or 
after the established dates when extended periods of 
unusual temperatures merit modifying these dates. 

Exception: When the outdoor temperature is below the 
winter outdoor design temperature for the locality, 
maintenance of the minimum room temperature shall not 
be required provided that the heating system is operating at 
its full design capacity. The winter outdoor design 
temperature for the locality shall be as indicated in 
Appendix D of the IPC. 

4. Section 602.3 Occupiable work spaces. Indoor 
occupiable work spaces shall be supplied with heat during 
the period from October 1 to May 15 to maintain a 

minimum temperature of 65°F (18°C) during the period the 
spaces are occupied. 

Exceptions: 

1. Processing, storage, and operation areas that require 
cooling or special temperature conditions. 

2. Areas in which persons are primarily engaged in 
vigorous physical activities. 

5. Section 602.4 Cooling supply. Every owner and operator 
of a Group R-2 apartment building who rents, leases, or 
lets one or more dwelling units, rooming units, or 
guestrooms on terms, either expressed or implied, to 
furnish cooling to the occupants thereof shall supply 
cooling during the period from May 15 to October 1 to 
maintain a temperature of not more than 80°F (27°C) 77°F 
(25°C) in all habitable rooms. The code official may also 
consider modifications as provided in Section 104.5.2 
when requested for unusual circumstances or may issue 
notice approving building owners to convert shared heating 
and cooling piping HVAC systems 14 calendar days before 
or after the established dates when extended periods of 
unusual temperatures merit modifying these dates. 

Exception: When the outdoor temperature is higher than 
the summer design temperature for the locality, 
maintenance of the room temperature shall not be required 
provided that the cooling system is operating at its full 
design capacity. The summer outdoor design temperature 
for the locality shall be as indicated in the IECC. 

6. Section 603.1 Mechanical equipment and appliances. 
Required or provided mechanical equipment, appliances, 
fireplaces, solid fuel-burning appliances, cooking 
appliances, chimneys, vents, and water heating appliances 
shall be maintained in compliance with the code under 
which the appliances, system, or equipment was installed, 
kept in safe working condition, and capable of performing 
the intended function. 

7. Section 603.2 Removal of combustion products. Where 
required by the code under which installed, fuel-burning 
equipment and appliances shall be connected to an 
approved chimney or vent. 

8. Section 603.5 Combustion air. Where required by the 
code under which installed, a supply of air for complete 
combustion of the fuel shall be provided for the fuel-
burning equipment. 

9. Section 604.1 Electrical system. Required or provided 
electrical systems and facilities shall be maintained in 
accordance with the applicable building code. 

10. Section 604.3 Electrical system hazards. Where it is 
found that the electrical system in a structure constitutes a 
hazard to the occupants or the structure by reason of 
deterioration or damage or for similar reasons, the code 
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official shall require the defects to be corrected to 
eliminate the hazard. 

11. Section 604.3.1.1 Electrical equipment. Electrical 
distribution equipment, motor circuits, power equipment, 
transformers, wire, cable, flexible cords, wiring devices, 
ground fault circuit interrupters, surge protectors, molded 
case circuit breakers, low-voltage fuses, luminaires, 
ballasts, motors, and electronic control, signaling, and 
communication equipment that have been exposed to water 
shall be replaced in accordance with the provisions of the 
VCC. 

Exception: The following equipment shall be allowed to be 
repaired or reused where an inspection report from the 
equipment manufacturer, an approved representative of the 
equipment manufacturer, a third party licensed or certified 
electrician, or an electrical engineer indicates that the 
exposed equipment has not sustained damage that requires 
replacement:  

1. Enclosed switches, rated 600 volts or less;  

2. Busway, rated 600 volts or less;  

3. Panelboards, rated 600 volts or less;  

4. Switchboards, rated 600 volts or less;  

5. Fire pump controllers, rated 600 volts or less;  

6. Manual and magnetic motor controllers;  

7. Motor control centers;  

8. Alternating current high-voltage circuit breakers;  

9. Low-voltage power circuit breakers;  

10. Protective relays, meters, and current transformers;  

11. Low-voltage and medium-voltage switchgear;  

12. Liquid-filled transformers;  

13. Cast-resin transformers;  

14. Wire or cable that is suitable for wet locations and 
whose ends have not been exposed to water;  

15. Wire or cable, not containing fillers, that is suitable 
for wet locations and whose ends have not been exposed 
to water;  

16. Luminaires that are listed as submersible;  

17. Motors; or 

18. Electronic control, signaling, and communication 
equipment. 

12. 604.3.2.1 Electrical equipment. Electrical switches, 
receptacles and fixtures, including furnace, water heating, 
security system and power distribution circuits, that have 
been exposed to fire shall be replaced in accordance with 
the provisions of the Virginia Construction Code. 

Exception: Electrical switches, receptacles and fixtures that 
shall be allowed to be repaired or reused where an 
inspection report from the equipment manufacturer or an 
approved representative of the equipment manufacturer, a 
third party licensed or certified electrician, or an electrical 
engineer indicates that the equipment has not sustained 
damage that requires replacement. 

13. Section 605.1 Electrical components. Electrical 
equipment, wiring, and appliances shall be maintained in 
accordance with the applicable building code. 

14. Section 605.2 Power distribution and receptacles. 
Required or provided power circuits and receptacles shall 
be maintained in accordance with the applicable building 
code, and ground fault and arc-fault circuit interrupter 
protection shall be provided where required by the 
applicable building code. All receptacle outlets shall have 
the appropriate faceplate cover for the location when 
required by the applicable building code. 

15. Section 605.3 Lighting distribution and luminaires. 
Required or provided lighting circuits and luminaires shall 
be maintained in accordance with the applicable building 
code. 

16. Section 605.4 Flexible cords. Flexible cords shall not 
be run through doors, windows, or cabinets or concealed 
within walls, floors, or ceilings. 

17. Section 606.1 General. Elevators, dumbwaiters, and 
escalators shall be maintained in compliance with ASME 
A17.1. The most current certificate of inspection shall be 
on display at all times within the elevator or attached to the 
escalator or dumbwaiter, be available for public inspection 
in the office of the building operator, or be posted in a 
publicly conspicuous location approved by the code 
official. Where not displayed in the elevator or attached on 
the escalator or dumbwaiter, there shall be a notice of 
where the certificate of inspection is available for 
inspection. An annual periodic inspection and test is 
required of elevators and escalators. A locality shall be 
permitted to require a six-month periodic inspection and 
test. All periodic inspections shall be performed in 
accordance with Section 8.11 of ASME A17.1. The code 
official may also provide for such inspection by an 
approved agency or through agreement with other local 
certified elevator inspectors. An approved agency includes 
any individual, partnership, or corporation who has met the 
certification requirements established by the VCS. 

C. Add the following sections to Chapter 6 of the IPMC: 

1. Section 602.2.1 Prohibited use. In dwelling units subject 
to Section 602.2, one or more unvented room heaters shall 
not be used as the sole source of comfort heat in a dwelling 
unit. 
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2. Section 607.2 Clothes dryer exhaust duct. Required or 
provided clothes dryer exhaust systems shall be maintained 
in accordance with the applicable building code. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5869; Filed May 14, 2019, 4:47 p.m.  

VIRGINIA MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD 
Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC6-20. Manufactured Housing 
Licensing and Transaction Recovery Fund Regulations 
(amending 13VAC6-20-10, 13VAC6-20-30, 13VAC6-20-
50, 13VAC6-20-60, 13VAC6-20-80, 13VAC6-20-90, 
13VAC6-20-100, 13VAC6-20-170, 13VAC6-20-320).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-85.18 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, 600 
East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY (804) 371-7089, 
or email kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments include (i) clarifying the parameters for 
warranties on manufactured homes, (ii) eliminating 
unnecessary individual biographical information of license 
applicants, (iii) expanding the list of specific items that 
must be included on a sales contract, and (iv) providing 
when and what disclosures must be given to buyers. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  
General  

13VAC6-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.  

"Board" means the Virginia Manufactured Housing Board.  

"Buyer" means the person who purchases at retail from a 
dealer or manufacturer a manufactured home for personal use 
as a residence or other related use.  

"Claimant" means any person who has filed a verified claim 
under Chapter 4.2 (§ 36-85.16 et seq.) of Title 36 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

"Code" means the appropriate standards of the Virginia 
Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) and the 
Manufactured Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95) 
adopted by the Board of Housing and Community 
Development and administered by the Department of 
Housing and Community Development pursuant to the 

National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety 
Standards Act of 1974 (42 USC § 5401 et seq.) for 
manufactured homes.  

"Controlling financial interest" means the direct or indirect 
ownership or control of a firm. 

"Date of delivery" means the date on which all terms or 
conditions of the sales contract agreed to or required of the 
regulant have been completed. 

"Dealer/manufacturer sales agreement" means a written 
contract or agreement between a manufactured housing 
manufacturer and a manufactured housing dealer whereby the 
dealer is granted the right to engage in the business of 
offering, selling, and servicing new manufactured homes of a 
particular line or make of the stated manufacturer of such line 
or make. The term shall include any severable part [ or parts ] 
of such sales agreement which separately provides for selling 
or servicing different lines or makes of the manufacturer.  

"Defect" means any deficiency in or damage to materials or 
workmanship occurring in a manufactured home which has 
been reasonably maintained and cared for in normal use. The 
term also means any failure of any structural element, utility 
system or the inclusion of a component part of the 
manufactured home which fails to comply with the Code.  

"Department" means the Department of Housing and 
Community Development.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of Housing 
and Community Development, or his the director's designee.  

"Fund" or "recovery fund" means the Virginia Manufactured 
Housing Transaction Recovery Fund.  

"HUD" means the United States U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development.  

"Imminent safety hazard" means a hazard that presents an 
imminent and unreasonable risk of death or severe personal 
injury that may or may not be related to failure to comply 
with an applicable federal manufactured home construction or 
safety standard. 

"Licensed" means the regulant has met all applicable 
requirements of this chapter, paid all required fees, and been 
authorized by the board to manufacture or offer for sale or 
sell manufactured homes in accordance with this chapter.  

"Manufactured home" means a structure constructed to 
federal standards, transportable in one or more sections, 
which, in the traveling mode is eight feet or more in width 
and is 40 feet or more in length, or when erected on site, is 
320 or more square feet, and which is built on a permanent 
chassis and designed to be used as a dwelling with or without 
a permanent foundation when connected to the required 
utilities, and includes the plumbing, heating, air conditioning, 
and electrical systems contained therein.  
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"Manufactured home broker" or "broker" means any person, 
partnership, association or corporation, resident or 
nonresident, who, for compensation or valuable 
consideration, sells or offers for sale, buys or offers to buy, 
negotiates the purchase or sale or exchange, or leases or 
offers to lease used manufactured homes that are owned by a 
party other than the broker.  

"Manufactured home dealer" or "dealer" means any person 
engaged in the business of buying, selling, or dealing in 
manufactured homes or offering or displaying manufactured 
homes for sale in Virginia. Any person who buys, sells, or 
deals in three or more manufactured homes in any 12-month 
period shall be presumed to be a manufactured home dealer. 
The terms "selling" and "sale" include lease-purchase 
transactions. The term "manufactured home dealer" does not 
include banks and finance companies that acquire 
manufactured homes as an incident to their regular business.  

"Manufactured home manufacturer" or "manufacturer" 
means any persons, resident or nonresident, who manufacture 
or assemble manufactured homes for sale in Virginia.  

"Manufactured home salesperson" or "salesperson" means 
any person who for compensation or valuable consideration is 
employed either directly or indirectly by, or affiliated as an 
independent contractor with, a manufactured home dealer to 
sell or offer to sell; or to buy or offer to buy; or to negotiate 
the purchase, sale or exchange; or to lease or offer to lease 
new or used manufactured homes.  

"New manufactured home" means any manufactured home 
that (i) has not been previously sold except in good faith for 
the purpose of resale, (ii) has not been previously occupied as 
a place of habitation, (iii) has not been previously used for 
commercial purposes such as offices or storage, and (iv) has 
not been titled by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles 
and is still in the possession of the original dealer. If the home 
is later sold to another dealer and then sold to a consumer 
within two years of the date of manufacture, the home is still 
considered new and must continue to meet all state warranty 
requirements. However, if a home is sold from the original 
dealer to another dealer and it is more than two years after the 
date of manufacture, and it is then sold to a consumer, the 
home must be sold as "used" for warranty purposes. Notice of 
the "used" status of the manufactured home and how this 
status affects state warranty requirements must be provided, 
in writing, to the consumer prior to the closing of the sale.  

"Person" means any individual, natural person, firm, 
partnership, association, corporation, legal representative, or 
other recognized legal entity.  

"Regulant" means any person, firm, corporation, association, 
partnership, joint venture, or any other legal entity required 
by Chapter 4.2 (§ 36-85.16 et seq.) of Title 36 of the Code of 
Virginia to be licensed by the board.  

"Regulations" or "these regulations" means this chapter, the 
Virginia Manufactured Housing Licensing and Transaction 
Recovery Fund Regulations.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 
effectiveness after the expiration date has passed or license 
has been revoked or not renewed by the board. 

"Relevant market area" means the geographical area 
established in the dealer/manufacturer sales agreement and 
agreed to by both the dealer and the manufacturer in the 
agreement.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 
for another period of time. 

"Responsible management" means the following 
individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 
the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 
responsibility to the firm. 

"Responsible party" means a manufacturer, dealer, or 
supplier of manufactured homes.  

"Set-up" means the operations performed at the occupancy 
site which render a manufactured home fit for habitation. 
Such operations include, but are not limited to, transportation, 
positioning, blocking, leveling, supporting, anchoring, 
connecting utility systems, making minor adjustments, or 
assembling multiple or expandable units. Such operations do 
not include lawful transportation services performed by 
public utilities operating under certificates or permits issued 
by the State Corporation Commission.  

"Standards" means the Federal Manufactured Home 
Construction and Safety Standards adopted by the U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development.  

"Statement of Compliance" means the statement found on 
the initial license application and on the renewal application, 
that the regulant licensed by the board will comply with the 
Manufactured Housing Licensing and Transaction Recovery 
Fund Law, this chapter, and the orders of the board.  

"Substantial identity of interest" means (i) a controlling 
financial interest by the individual or corporate principals of 
the manufactured home broker, dealer, or manufacturer 
whose license has been revoked or not renewed for cause by 
the board or (ii) substantially identical principals or officers 
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as the manufactured home broker, dealer, or manufacturer 
whose license has been revoked or not renewed for cause by 
the board. 

"Supplier" means the original producers of completed 
components, including refrigerators, stoves, water heaters, 
dishwashers, cabinets, air conditioners, heating units, and 
similar components, and materials such as floor coverings, 
paneling, siding, trusses, and similar materials, which are 
furnished to a manufacturer or a dealer for installation in the 
manufactured home prior to sale to a buyer.  

"Used manufactured home" means any manufactured home 
other than a new home as defined in this section.  

"Warranty" means any written assurance of the 
manufacturer, dealer, or supplier or any promise made by a 
regulant in connection with the sale of a manufactured home 
that becomes part of the basis of the sale. The term 
"warranty" pertains to the obligations of the regulant in 
relation to materials, workmanship, and fitness of a 
manufactured home for ordinary and reasonable use of the 
home for the term of the promise or assurance.  

13VAC6-20-30. Application for licensing; renewal.  

A. Application for license or renewal shall be on forms 
supplied by the department and may be submitted as 
designated in hard copy or by electronic means. All 
information required on the form shall be furnished by the 
applicant for the board's review.  

B. Each application for original licensure shall be 
accompanied by the following:  

1. Deposit in the Transaction Recovery Fund required by 
13VAC6-20-420 A 1.  

2. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 1.  

3. Copy of the manufacturer's homeowner and installation 
manual or manuals.  

4. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

5. List of salespeople licensed in Virginia with the 
following biographical information for each:.  

Date of birth  

Sex  

Weight  

Height  

Eye/hair color  

C. The Department of Housing and Community 
Development will mail a notice of renewal to the licensee at 
the last known address of record.  Licensees may submit 
renewals by mail or electronically.  Failure to receive this 
notice shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to 
renew.  If the licensee does not receive the notice of renewal, 

a copy of the license may be substituted with the required fee. 
Each application for renewal shall be accompanied by the 
following:  

1. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 2.  

2. If revised, a copy of the revised homeowner and 
installation manual or manuals.  

3. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

4. Updated list of salespeople employed.  

Article 2  
Dealers  

13VAC6-20-50. License required; annual renewal.  

A. Any person located in or outside of the Commonwealth 
buying or selling or offering or displaying manufactured 
homes for sale in Virginia and meeting the definition of a 
dealer in 13VAC6-20-10 shall apply to the board for a 
license. The license shall be displayed in a conspicuous place 
accessible to the public in the office of the business location. 
The license shall be issued for a term of one year from the 
date of issuance.  

B. Each licensed dealer shall apply for license renewal 
annually, by application and accompanied by the required fee. 
Applicants for license renewal shall meet all the criteria for 
original licensing. Upon failure to renew, the license shall 
automatically expire.  

C. Should the department fail to receive a licensed dealer's 
renewal form and appropriate fee within 30 days of the 
license expiration date, the dealer shall be required to 
reinstate the license according to the terms and conditions of 
Article 8 (13VAC6-20-201 et seq.) of this part. 

D. For licensing purposes, a dealer operating more than one 
retail location shall have each location treated as a separate 
entity and shall adhere to all requirements for dealer licensing 
including posting a license at each location.  

E. Each dealer licensed under this chapter shall also obtain a 
certificate of dealer registration from the Virginia Department 
of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB). The 
certificate of registration shall be renewed annually and shall 
be maintained in effect with the Department of Motor 
Vehicles MVDB as long as the dealer is licensed under this 
chapter.  

13VAC6-20-60. Application for licensing; renewal.  

A. Application for license or renewal shall be on forms 
supplied by the department and may be submitted as 
designated in hard copy or by electronic means. All 
information required on the form shall be furnished by the 
applicant for the board's review.  

B. Each application for original licensure shall be 
accompanied by the following:  
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1. Deposit in the Transaction Recovery Fund required by 
13VAC6-20-420 A 2.  

2. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 3.  

3. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

4. Verification of a business office with all utilities, 
including a business telephone, and where the required 
business records are maintained.  

5. Verification of a permanent business sign, in view of 
public traffic, bearing the name of the firm.  

6. List of salespeople employed with the following 
biographical information for each:.  

Date of Birth  

Sex  

Weight  

Height  

Eye/hair color  

7. Name of the owner, principal, manager, agent, or other 
person designated as the holder of the dealer's license for 
the specific location and the names of other partners or 
principals in the dealership.  

Photographs of the front of the business office and required 
sign may be considered as verification required by this 
subsection.  

C. The Department of Housing and Community 
Development will mail a notice of renewal to the licensee at 
the last known address of record. Licensees may submit 
renewals by mail or electronically. Failure to receive this 
notice shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew. 
If the licensee does not receive the notice of renewal, a copy 
of the license may be substituted with the required fee. Each 
application for renewal shall be accompanied by the 
following:  

1. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 4.  

2. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

3. Notification of any significant changes to the office or 
the business sign.  

4. Updated list of salespeople employed.  

5. Any changes of officers or directors of the company or 
corporation.  

6. A copy of the dealer's current certificate of registration 
from the Department of Motor Vehicles Virginia Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board. 

D. Any change in the form of ownership of the dealer or any 
changes (deletions or additions) in the partners or principals 
of the dealer shall be submitted to the board with an 

application and fee for a new license. If the new owner or 
owners assume the liabilities of the previous owner or 
owners, then a new recovery fund assessment is not required. 
New recovery fund assessments shall be required when the 
new owner or owners do does not assume the liabilities of the 
previous owner or owners. The board shall be notified 
immediately by the dealer of any change in the operating 
name of the dealer. The director shall endorse the change on 
the license without requiring an additional fee. The board 
shall be notified immediately by the dealer of any change in 
the location of the dealer. The dealer shall pay a fee of $50 
for the change of location on the license, but shall not be 
required to pay an additional assessment to the recovery fund 
for the change of location only.  

13VAC6-20-80. Dealer responsibility for inspections; 
other items. 

A. The dealer shall inspect every new manufactured home 
unit upon delivery from a manufacturer. If a dealer becomes 
aware of a noncompliance or an imminent safety hazard in a 
manufactured home, the dealer shall contact the 
manufacturer, provide full information concerning the 
problem, and request appropriate action by the manufacturer. 
No dealer shall sell a new manufactured home if he becomes 
aware that it contains a noncompliance defect or an imminent 
safety hazard.  

B. The dealer shall inspect every new manufactured home 
unit prior to selling to determine that all items of furniture, 
appliances, fixtures, and devices are not damaged and are in 
place and operable.  

C. A dealer shall not alter or cause to be altered any 
manufactured home to which a HUD label has been affixed if 
such alteration or conversion causes the manufactured home 
to be in violation of the standards.  

D. If the dealer provides for the installation of any 
manufactured home he the dealer sells, the dealer shall be 
responsible for making sure the installation of the home 
meets the manufacturer's installation requirements and the 
Code.  

E. On each home sold by the dealer, the dealer shall collect 
the applicable title fees and title tax for the manufactured 
home, to include an additional $30 inspection/administrative 
fee, and forward such fees and taxes to the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles.  

The above fees shall be submitted to the Virginia 
Department of Motor Vehicles within 30 days from the 
completion date of the sale. 

F. On each home sold by the dealer, the dealer shall provide 
the owner with information to file a claim supplied by the 
department. 
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Article 3  
Brokers  

13VAC6-20-90. License required; annual renewal. 

A. Any person located in or outside of the Commonwealth 
(i) buying or selling, negotiating the purchase or sale or 
exchange of, or leasing used manufactured homes and (ii) 
meeting the definition of broker in 13VAC6-20-10 shall 
apply to the board for a license. The license shall be displayed 
in a conspicuous place accessible to the public in the office of 
the business location. The license shall be issued for a term of 
one year from the date of issuance.  

B. Each licensed broker shall apply for license renewal 
annually, by application and accompanied by the required fee. 
Applicants for license renewal shall meet all the criteria for 
original licensing. Upon failure to renew, the license shall 
automatically expire.  

C. Should the department fail to receive a licensed broker's 
renewal form and appropriate fee within 30 days of the 
license expiration date, the broker shall be required to 
reinstate the license according to the terms and conditions of 
Article 8 (13VAC6-20-201 et seq.) of this part. 

D. For licensing purposes, a broker operating more than one 
business location shall have each location treated as a 
separate entity and shall adhere to all requirements for broker 
licensing, including posting a license, at each location.  

E. Each broker licensed under this chapter shall also obtain a 
certificate of dealer registration from the Virginia Department 
of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB). The 
certificate of registration shall be renewed annually and shall 
be maintained in effect with the Department of Motor 
Vehicles MVDB as long as the broker is licensed under this 
chapter.  

13VAC6-20-100. Application for licensing; renewal.  

A. Application for license or renewal shall be on forms 
supplied by the department and may be submitted as 
designated in hard copy or by electronic means. All 
information required on the form shall be furnished by the 
applicant for the board's review.  

B. Each application for original licensure shall be 
accompanied by the following:  

1. Deposit in the Transaction Recovery Fund required by 
13VAC6-20-420 A 3.  

2. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 5.  

3. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

4. Verification of a business office with all utilities, 
including a business telephone, and where the required 
business records are maintained.  

5. Verification of a permanent business sign, in view of 
public traffic, bearing the name of the firm.  

6. Name of the owner, principal, manager, agent or other 
person designated as the holder of the broker's license for 
the specific location and the names of the partners or 
principals in the broker's firm.  

7. List of salespeople employed with the following 
biographical information for each:.  

Date of birth  

Sex  

Weight  

Height  

Eye/hair color  

Photographs of the front of the business office and required 
sign may be considered as verification required by this 
subsection.  

C. The Department of Housing and Community 
Development will mail a notice of renewal to the licensee at 
the last known address of record.  Licensees may submit 
renewals by mail or electronically.  Failure to receive this 
notice shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to 
renew.  If the licensee does not receive the notice of renewal, 
a copy of the license may be substituted with the required fee. 
Each application for renewal shall be accompanied by the 
following:  

1. Licensing fee required by 13VAC6-20-200 A 6.  

2. Statement of Compliance compliance.  

3. Notification of any significant changes to the office or 
the business sign.  

4. Any changes of officers or directors of the company or 
corporation.  

5. A copy of the broker's current certificate of registration 
from the Department of Motor Vehicles Virginia Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board.  

6. Updated list of salespeople employed.  

D. Any change in the form of ownership of the broker or 
any changes (deletions or additions) in the partners or 
principals of the broker shall be submitted to the board with 
an application and fee for a new license. If the new owner(s) 
owner assume the liabilities of the previous owner(s) owner, 
then a new recovery fund assessment is not required. New 
recovery fund assessments shall be required when the new 
owner(s) do owner does not assume the liabilities of the 
previous owner(s) owner.  

The board shall be notified immediately by the broker of any 
change in the operating name of the broker. The director shall 
endorse the change on the license without requiring an 
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additional fee. The board shall be notified immediately by the 
broker of any change in location of the broker. The broker 
shall pay a fee of $50 for the change of location on the 
license, but shall not be required to pay an additional 
assessment to the recovery fund for the change of location 
only.  

Article 6  
Violations and Hearings  

13VAC6-20-170. Prohibited conduct; grounds for 
denying, suspending or revoking license.  

A. The following acts by regulants are prohibited and may 
be considered by the board as grounds for action against the 
regulant:  

1. Engaging in business as a manufactured home 
manufacturer, dealer, or broker without first obtaining a 
license from the board.  

2. Engaging in business as a manufactured home 
salesperson without first applying to the board for a 
license.  

3. Making a material misstatement in an application for 
license.  

4. Failing to pay a required assessment to the Transaction 
Recovery Fund.  

5. Failing to comply with the warranty service obligations 
and claims procedures required by this chapter.  

6. Failing to comply with the set-up and tie-down 
requirements of the Code.  

7. Knowingly failing or refusing to account for or pay over 
money or other valuables belonging to others which have 
come into the regulant's possession due to the sale of a 
manufactured home.  

8. Using unfair methods of competition or unfair or 
deceptive commercial acts or practices.  

9. Failing to comply with the advertising provisions in Part 
IV of this chapter (13VAC6-20-270 et seq.) of this chapter.  

10. Defrauding any buyer to the buyer's damage, and any 
other person in the conduct of the regulant's business.  

11. Employing an unlicensed salesperson.  

12. Knowingly offering for sale a manufactured home 
produced by a manufacturer which that is not licensed as a 
manufacturer under this chapter.  

13. Knowingly selling a manufactured home to a dealer 
who is not licensed as a dealer under this chapter.  

14. Failing to appear before the board upon due notice.  

15. Failing to comply with orders issued by the board 
pursuant to this chapter.  

16. Failing to renew a license and continuing to engage in 
business as a manufacturer, dealer, broker, or salesperson 
after the expiration of any license.  

17. A salesperson selling, exchanging, or offering to sell or 
exchange a manufactured home for any dealer or broker 
other than the licensed dealer or broker employing the 
salesperson.  

18. A salesperson offering, transferring, or assigning any 
negotiated sale or exchange of a manufactured home to 
another dealer, broker, manufacturer, or salesperson.  

19. Failing to comply with the Statement statement of 
Compliance compliance.  

20. Failing to notify the board of a change of location or 
address of the business office.  

21. Failing to comply with any provisions of this chapter. 

a. The board may revoke or deny renewal of an existing 
license or refuse to issue a license to any manufactured 
home broker, dealer, manufacturer, or salesperson who is 
shown to have a substantial identity of interest with a 
manufactured home broker, dealer, or manufacturer 
whose license has been revoked or not renewed by the 
board. 

b. Any person whose license is revoked or not renewed 
for cause by the board shall not be eligible for a license 
under any circumstances or under any name, except as 
provided by regulations of the board pursuant to § 36-
85.18 of the Code of Virginia. 

22. Failing to comply with the regulations of state or 
federal agencies regarding the financing, titling, taxation, 
or transporting of manufactured homes.  

23. Failing to perform a written contract between the 
regulant and seller or buyer that contains the following 
minimum requirements: 

a. A statement of the total cost of the contract and the 
amounts, including specific statement on the cost of the 
home, any additional costs for work to be performed, and 
the amount of the down payment, taxes, and titling fees. 

b. A listing of specified materials and work to be 
performed and who is to supply the materials and 
perform that work. 

c. Contract to identify the business name as shown on the 
license issued per this chapter and to include the address 
and the phone number of the business. 

d. Specify the make and model of the home. 

e. Specify if the home is new or used. 

f. Specify the length and width of the home as defined by 
the HUD Standards. 
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g. Specify the date of manufacture and the serial number, 
except when the home is specially ordered from the 
manufacturer for the buyer and this information is not 
known. 

24. Failing to provide a statement notifying consumers of 
the limitations on damages retained by dealer disclosure to 
the buyer. 

25. Failing to provide a statement notifying consumers of 
the dispute resolution program available to resolve disputes 
concerning defects in manufactured homes. 

B. The board may deny, suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew 
or reinstate the license of a regulant because of, but not 
limited to, one or more of the following grounds:  

1. Having had a license previously denied, revoked, or 
suspended under this chapter.  

2. Having a license denied, suspended, or revoked by a 
similar licensing entity in another state.  

3. Engaging in conduct in another state which that would 
have been a violation of this chapter if the actions were 
committed in Virginia.  

4. Failing to obtain a required certification of registration 
from the Department of Motor Vehicles Vehicle Dealer 
Board (MVDB), failing to renew the annual certificate of 
registration from the MVDB, or having the certificate of 
registration suspended or revoked by the Department of 
Motor Vehicles MVDB.  

5. Having been convicted or found guilty in any 
jurisdiction of a felony.  

13VAC6-20-320. Duration of warranties.  

All warranties provided by regulants as required by 
13VAC6-20-310 shall be for a period of not less than 12 
months, measured from the date of delivery of the home to 
the buyer. The date of delivery shall be the date on which all 
terms or conditions of the sales contract agreed to or required 
of the regulant have been completed.  

NOTICE: The forms used in administering the regulation were filed 
by the agency. The forms are not being published; however, online 
users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click 
on the accompanying web address to access the online forms. 
Contact the State Building Codes office, (804) 371-7060 or 
sbco@dhcd.virginia.gov, with questions regarding the online 
application. 

FORMS (13VAC6-20) 

Complete license registration application forms for broker, 
dealer, manufacturer, salesperson, and special licensing online at 
https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/BFR/Main/LogOn.aspx.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5104; Filed May 1, 2019, 3:25 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-20. Virginia Asbestos 
Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC15-20-10, 
18VAC15-20-20, 18VAC15-20-33, 18VAC15-20-52, 
18VAC15-20-53, 18VAC15-20-454, 18VAC15-20-456, 
18VAC15-20-459.4; adding 18VAC15-20-33.1, 18VAC15-
20-33.2, 18VAC15-20-456.1).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify requirements for entities 
required to obtain a license for asbestos-related work by 
amending the definition of "person," the licensure 
requirements for asbestos analytical laboratories with 
multiple locations, the asbestos firm entry requirements for 
consistency with other similar regulations applicable to 
firms, and the information applicants need to be licensed; 
(ii) specify that firm licenses may not be transferred and 
are valid only so long as the business entity holding the 
license is in existence and when asbestos analytical 
laboratories must notify the board of changes to 
responsible personnel and types of analysis performed at 
laboratory locations; (iii) expand the responsibilities of 
asbestos project monitors to include changes to air sample 
reporting requirements; and (iv) add language (a) 
detailing specific entry requirements for asbestos 
contractors and asbestos analytical laboratories, 
respectively and (b) pertaining to conduct during onsite 
analysis.  

Amendments since publication of the proposed regulation 
clarify that to qualify for onsite phase contrast microscopy 
analysis a laboratory must maintain a training and quality 
control document demonstrating the competency of each 
onsite analyst who performs onsite analysis.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

file://legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol35/Iss20/sbco@dhcd.virginia.gov%20
https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/BFR/Main/LogOn.aspx
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Part I  
Scope  

18VAC15-20-10. Scope.  

The purpose of this section is to identify individuals and 
firms persons, as defined in 18VAC15-20-20, who need to be 
licensed.  

Asbestos Contractor's License: Required for firms that 
contract with another person, for compensation, to carry 
out an asbestos abatement project that exceeds 10 linear or 
10 square feet.  

Asbestos Worker's License: Required for individuals who 
remove or otherwise engage in an asbestos project.*  

Asbestos Supervisor's License: Required for individuals 
who supervise an asbestos abatement project. The 
Commonwealth of Virginia National Emission Standards 
for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) Program 
recognizes the "competent person" as an individual 
licensed under this classification.*  

Asbestos Inspector's License: Required for individuals who 
inspect buildings to identify asbestos-containing material.*  

Asbestos Management Planner's License: Required for 
individuals who prepare or update an asbestos management 
plan.*  

Asbestos Project Monitor's License: Required for 
individuals who act as a project monitor on asbestos 
abatement sites. Project monitors who analyze Phase 
Contrast Microscopy (PCM) asbestos air samples on an 
asbestos abatement project shall be employed by a firm 
that holds a valid Virginia Asbestos Analytical Laboratory 
license, and shall have National Institute of Occupational 
Safety and Health (NIOSH) 582 training, or equivalent.  

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License: Required for 
firms serving as laboratories that analyze air or bulk 
samples for the presence of asbestos by Polarized Light 
Microscopy polarized light microscopy (PLM), phase 
contrast microscopy (PCM), or Transmission Electron 
Microscopy transmission electron microscopy (TEM). A 
laboratory that has multiple locations shall obtain an 
asbestos analytical laboratory license for the main office, 
and submit the remaining offices as branch offices in 
accordance with this chapter.  

Asbestos Project Designer's License: Required for 
individuals who prepare or update an asbestos abatement 
project design, specifications for asbestos abatement 
projects, and addenda to the specifications.*  

Accredited Asbestos Training Program: Required 
Approval from the board is required for those who offer 
asbestos training programs to individuals seeking licensure 
as an asbestos worker, supervisor, inspector, management 
planner, project monitor or project designer.  

*Employees who conduct asbestos response actions, 
inspections, prepare management plans or project designs 
for their employer, on property owned or leased by the 
employer, are exempt from Virginia asbestos licensure; 
however, they are required to meet all OSHA and EPA 
training requirements.  

Part II  
Definitions and General  

18VAC15-20-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"AAR" means the Asbestos Analyst Analysts Registry 
program offered by the AIHA Registry Programs.  

"AAT" means Asbestos Analyst Testing.  

[ "ACM" means asbestos-containing material. ]  

"Accredited asbestos training program" means a training 
program that has been approved by the board to provide 
training for individuals to engage in asbestos abatement, 
conduct asbestos inspections, prepare management plans, 
prepare project designs or act as a project monitor.  

"Accredited asbestos training provider" means a firm or 
individual who has been approved by the board to offer an 
accredited asbestos training program.  

"AHERA" means Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response 
Act, 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E.  

"AIHA" means American Industrial Hygiene Association.  

"Approval letter" means a written notice confirming the firm 
or individual applicant's licensure or accreditation by the 
board.  

"Asbestos" means the asbestiform varieties of actinolite, 
amosite, anthophyllite, chrysotile, crocidolite, and tremolite.  

"Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License" means an 
authorization issued by the board to perform phase contrast, 
polarized light, or transmission electron microscopy on 
material known or suspected to contain asbestos.  

"Asbestos-containing material" or "ACM" means any 
material or product which contains more than 1.0% asbestos 
or such percentage as established by EPA final rule.  

"Asbestos contractor" means any person who has met the 
board's requirements and has been issued an asbestos 
contractor's license by the board to enter into contracts to 
perform asbestos projects.  

"Asbestos Contractor's License" means an authorization 
issued by the board permitting a person to enter into contracts 
to perform an asbestos abatement project.  
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"Asbestos inspector" means any person who performs an 
inspection as defined in this chapter.  

"Asbestos Inspector's License" means an authorization 
issued by the board permitting a person to perform on-site 
onsite investigations to identify, classify, record, sample, test 
and prioritize by exposure potential asbestos-containing 
materials.  

"Asbestos Management Plan" means a program designed to 
control or abate any potential risk to human health from 
asbestos.  

"Asbestos management planner" means any person 
preparing or updating a management plan.  

"Asbestos Management Planner's License" means an 
authorization issued by the board permitting a person to 
prepare or update an asbestos management plan.  

"Asbestos project" or "asbestos abatement project" means an 
activity involving job set-up for containment, removal, 
encapsulation, enclosure, encasement, renovation, repair, 
construction or alteration of asbestos-containing materials. An 
asbestos project or asbestos abatement project shall not 
include nonfriable asbestos-containing roofing, flooring and 
siding material which when installed, encapsulated or 
removed does not become friable.  

"Asbestos project design" means any descriptive form 
written as instructions or drafted as a plan describing the 
construction of an asbestos abatement area or site, response 
action or work practices to be utilized on the asbestos 
abatement project.  

"Asbestos project designer" means any person providing an 
asbestos project design or specifications for an asbestos 
abatement project.  

"Asbestos Project Designer's License" means an 
authorization issued by the board permitting a person to 
design an asbestos abatement project.  

"Asbestos project monitor" means any person hired by a 
building owner, lessee or his agent to monitor, inspect, 
provide visual clearance or clearance monitoring of an 
asbestos abatement project.  

"Asbestos Project Monitor's License" means an 
authorization issued by the board permitting a person to 
monitor an asbestos project, subject to board regulations.  

"Asbestos supervisor" means any person so designated by an 
asbestos contractor who provides on-site onsite supervision 
and direction to the workers engaged in asbestos projects.  

"Asbestos Supervisor's License" means an authorization 
issued by the board permitting an individual to supervise and 
work on an asbestos project.  

"Asbestos worker" means any person who engages in an 
asbestos abatement project.  

"Asbestos Worker's License" means an authorization issued 
by the board permitting an individual to work on an asbestos 
project.  

"ASHARA" means Asbestos School Hazard Abatement 
Reauthorization Act, 40 CFR Part 763, Subpart E.  

"BAPAT" means the Bulk Asbestos Proficiency Analytical 
Testing Program of the AIHA Proficiency Analytical Testing 
Programs. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and 
Home Inspectors.  

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation.  

"Direct supervision" means a licensed or accredited 
inspector, management planner, project monitor or project 
designer, who undertakes to supervise the activities of an 
unlicensed inspector, management planner, project monitor or 
project designer, shall be physically present on the premises 
at all times while any unlicensed inspector, management 
planner, project monitor or project designer under his 
supervision is engaged in the activities of an inspector, 
management planner, project monitor or project designer.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation.  

"Employee" means all persons in the service of another 
under any contract of hire, express or implied, oral or written.  

"Encapsulation" means the treatment of asbestos-containing 
material (ACM) with a material that surrounds or embeds 
asbestos fibers in an adhesive matrix to prevent the release of 
fibers, as the encapsulant creates a membrane over the surface 
(bridging encapsulant) or penetrates the material and binds its 
components together (penetrating encapsulant).  

"Encasement" means any process by which an asbestos-
containing material (ACM) is sprayed with an insulating 
sealer which is then mechanically fastened to the asbestos 
covered substrate. The insulating sealer is then covered with a 
sealer to give structural strength and durability.  

"Enclosure" means the construction or installation over or 
around the asbestos-containing material (ACM) of any leak 
tight solid or flexible coverings, which will not deteriorate or 
decompose for an extended period of time, so as to conceal 
the ACM, contain ACM fibers, and render the ACM 
inaccessible.  

"Environmental remediation activity" means any activity 
planned or carried out for the purpose of reducing or 
eliminating any environmental hazard, including activities 
necessary to train individuals in the proper or lawful conduct 
of such activities, which are regulated by federal or state law 
or regulation.  
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"EPA" means United States U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency.  

"Financial interest" means financial benefit accruing to an 
individual or to a member of his immediate family. Such 
interest shall exist by reason of (i) ownership in a business if 
the ownership exceeds 3.0% of the total equity of the 
business; (ii) annual gross income that exceeds, or may be 
reasonably anticipated to exceed $1,000 from ownership in 
real or personal property or a business; (iii) salary, other 
compensation, fringe benefits, or benefits from the use of 
property, or any combination of it, paid or provided by a 
business that exceeds or may be reasonably expected to 
exceed $1,000 annually; (iv) ownership of real or personal 
property if the interest exceeds $1,000 in value and excluding 
ownership in business, income, salary, other compensation, 
fringe benefits or benefits from the use of property.  

"Firm" means any company, partnership, corporation, sole 
proprietorship, association, or other business entity.  

"Friable" means that the material when dry, may be 
crumbled, pulverized or reduced to powder by hand pressure 
and includes previously nonfriable material after such 
previously nonfriable material becomes damaged to the extent 
that when dry it may be crumbled, pulverized, or reduced to 
powder by hand pressure.  

"Guest instructor" means an instructor who is invited to 
instruct a specific topic or topics in an accredited asbestos 
training program and whose instruction is limited to two 
hours per day.  

"Hands-on experience" means the physical participation of 
students in an asbestos training program. The physical 
participation includes mock sampling and inspection 
techniques, report preparation, writing project specifications, 
glovebag demonstrations and containment construction.  

"IHLAP" means the Industrial Hygiene Laboratory 
Accreditation Program of the AIHA Laboratory Accreditation 
Programs, LLC. 

"IHPAT" means the Industrial Hygiene Proficiency 
Analytical Testing Program of the AIHA Proficiency 
Analytical Testing Programs [ , LLC ]. 

"Immediate family" means (i) a spouse, (ii) a sibling or step 
sibling, (iii) a parent or step parent, (iv) children or step 
children, or (v) any other person residing in the same 
household as the individual.  

"Inspection" means an activity undertaken to determine the 
presence or location, or to access the condition of, friable or 
nonfriable asbestos-containing material (ACM) or suspected 
ACM, whether by visual or physical examination, or by 
collecting samples of such material. This term includes 
reinspections of friable and nonfriable known or assumed 
ACM that has been previously identified. The term does not 
include the following:  

1. Periodic surveillance of the type described in 40 CFR 
763.92(b) solely for the purpose of recording or reporting a 
change in the condition of known or assumed ACM;  

2. Inspections performed by employees or agents of 
federal, state, or local governments solely for the purpose 
of determining compliance with applicable statutes or 
regulations; or  

3. Visual inspections solely for the purpose of determining 
completion of response actions.  

"Instructor" means a person who instructs one or more 
accredited asbestos training programs, to include the principal 
instructor, but excluding guest instructors.  

"Licensee" means any person, as [ "person" is ] defined by 
§ 54.1-500 of the Code of Virginia, who has been issued and 
holds a currently valid license as an asbestos worker, asbestos 
supervisor, asbestos inspector, asbestos management planner, 
asbestos project designer, asbestos project monitor or 
asbestos contractor under this chapter.  

"NIOSH" means National Institute of Occupational Safety 
and Health.  

"NIST" means National Institute of Standards and 
Technology.  

"NVLAP" means the Asbestos Fiber Analysis Program of 
the National Institute of Standards and Technology National 
Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program.  

"Occupied" means any area of any building designed or 
intended for human occupancy for any purpose.  

"OSHA" means the U.S. Department of Labor Occupational 
Safety and Health Administration.  

"OSHA Class III Work" means repair and maintenance 
operations where asbestos-containing material (ACM), 
including thermal system insulation and surfacing material, is 
likely to be disturbed.  

"PAT" means Proficiency Analytical Testing proficiency 
analytical testing.  

"PCM" means phase contrast microscopy.  

"Person" means a corporation, partnership, sole 
proprietorship, firm, enterprise, franchise, association or any 
other firm, individual, or any other entity.  

"PLM" means polarized light microscopy.  

"Preliminary review" means a review conducted by the 
department following the submission of training materials to 
ascertain if the proposed asbestos training program meets the 
standards established by this chapter.  

"Principal instructor" means an instructor whose main 
responsibility is to instruct accredited asbestos training 
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programs, supervise other instructors, and manage the overall 
asbestos training program curriculum.  

"Removal" means the physical removal of asbestos-
containing material (ACM) in accordance with all applicable 
regulations.  

"Renovation" means altering in any way, one or more 
facility components.  

"Repair" means returning damaged asbestos-containing 
material (ACM) to an undamaged condition or to an intact 
state so as to prevent fiber release.  

"Residential buildings" means site-built homes, modular 
homes, condominium units, mobile homes, manufactured 
housing, and duplexes, or other multi-unit dwellings 
consisting of four units or fewer that are currently in use or 
intended for use only for residential purposes.  

"Response action" means any method, including removal, 
encapsulation, enclosure, encasement, or operation and 
maintenance, that protects human health and the environment 
from friable asbestos-containing material. 

"Responsible individual" means the employee, officer, 
manager, owner, or principal of the firm who shall be 
designated by each firm to ensure compliance with Chapter 5 
(§ 54.1-500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and 
all regulations of the board and to receive communications 
and notices from the board that may affect the firm.  In the 
case of a sole proprietorship, the sole proprietor shall be the 
responsible individual.  

"Substantial change" means a change in overall asbestos 
training program, materials, principal instructors, training 
managers, directors, ownership, facilities, equipment, 
examinations, and certificates of completion. The addition of 
updated regulations, exam questions or news articles shall not 
be considered a substantial change.  

"TEM" means transmission electron microscopy.  

"Training manager" means the individual responsible for 
administering a training program and monitoring the 
performance of the instructors.  

"Visual inspection" means a process of looking for 
conditions [ , which that ] if not corrected during the asbestos 
abatement project, will lead to residual asbestos-containing 
dust or debris. Visual inspection includes examination of an 
asbestos abatement project area prior to clearance air 
monitoring for evidence that the project has been successfully 
completed as indicated by the absence of residue, dust and 
debris.  

18VAC15-20-33. Qualifications General qualifications for 
licensure—business entities licensure: firms.  

A. General. Every business entity shall secure a license 
before transacting business. Each firm applying for a license 
shall meet the requirements of this section. 

B. Name. The business name shall be disclosed on the 
application. The name under which the entity conducts 
business and holds itself out to the public (i.e., the trade or 
fictitious name) shall also be disclosed on the application. 
Business entities The applicant shall disclose the name under 
which the business entity conducts business and holds itself 
out to the public. The firm shall register their trade or 
fictitious names, when applicable, with the State Corporation 
Commission or the clerk of the circuit court in the county or 
jurisdiction locality where the business is to be conducted in 
accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 Chapter 5 
(§ 59.1-69 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia before 
submitting their an application to the board.  

C. Address. The applicant shall disclose the firm's mailing 
address, and the firm's physical address. A post office box is 
only acceptable as a mailing address when a physical address 
is also provided.  

D. Form of organization. Applicants shall meet the 
additional requirements listed below in this subsection for 
their business type the firm's form of organization:  

1. Corporations. All applicants Applicants shall have been 
incorporated in the Commonwealth of Virginia or, if a 
foreign corporation, shall have obtained a certificate of 
authority to conduct business in Virginia from the State 
Corporation Commission in accordance with § 13.1-544.2 
requirements governing corporations pursuant to Title 13.1 
of the Code of Virginia. The corporation Corporations 
shall be in good standing with the State Corporation 
Commission at the time of application to the board and at 
all times when the license is in effect.  

2. Limited liability companies. All applicants Applicants 
shall have obtained a certificate of organization in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia or, if a foreign limited liability 
company, shall have obtained a certificate of registration to 
do business in Virginia from the State Corporation 
Commission in accordance with § 13.1-1105 requirements 
governing limited liability companies pursuant to Title 
13.1 of the Code of Virginia. The company Companies 
shall be in good standing with the State Corporation 
Commission at the time of application to the board and at 
all times when the license is in effect.  

3. Partnerships. All applicants Applicants shall have a 
written partnership agreement. The partnership agreement 
shall state that all professional asbestos abatement services 
of the partnership shall be under the direction and control 
of a licensed or certified professional the appropriate 
asbestos abatement licensee.  
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4. Sole proprietorships. Sole proprietorships desiring to use 
an assumed or fictitious name, that is, a name other than 
the individual's full name, shall have their assumed or 
fictitious name recorded by the clerk of the court of the 
county or jurisdiction wherein the business is to be 
conducted.  

E. Qualifications.  

1. Asbestos contractor. Each applicant shall hold a valid 
Virginia contractor license issued by the Virginia Board for 
Contractors with an asbestos specialty and shall be in 
compliance with all other requirements found in Chapter 
11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia governing the regulation of contractors.  

2. Asbestos analytical laboratory. Each applicant shall 
submit evidence of meeting the standards to perform one 
or more of the following analysis:  

a. For PLM analysis, a current NVLAP accreditation for 
bulk asbestos fiber analysis or a current AIHA 
accreditation and proficiency in the AIHA bulk asbestos 
program. A copy of the NVLAP Certificate of 
Accreditation, Scope of Accreditation and documentation 
of NVLAP proficiency or a copy of an AIHA 
accreditation certificate and proof of proficiency in the 
AIHA bulk program shall be submitted with the 
application.  

b. For PCM analysis:  

(1) At fixed laboratory sites, a current accreditation by 
AIHA or evidence that each facility has been rated 
"proficient" in the PAT Program's most recent round of 
asbestos evaluations, or evidence that each analyst is 
listed or has applied for listing in the Asbestos Analyst 
Registry (AAR) and has a performance rating of 
"acceptable" for the most recent Asbestos Analyst 
Testing (AAT) round. Each analyst shall have completed 
the NIOSH 582 training program or equivalent.  

(2) For on-site analysis, each on-site analyst shall be 
listed or shall have applied for listing in the AAR and 
have a performance rating of "acceptable" for the most 
recent AAT round, or is accredited by AIHA or has been 
rated "proficient" in the PAT Program's most recent 
round of asbestos evaluations. Each analyst shall have 
completed the NIOSH 582 training program or 
equivalent.  

c. For TEM analysis, a current accreditation by NVLAP 
to analyze asbestos airborne fibers using TEM. A copy of 
the NVLAP Certificate of Accreditation, Scope of 
Accreditation and documentation of NVLAP proficiency 
shall be submitted with the application.  

F. Conviction or guilt. Neither E. In accordance with § 54.1-
204 of the Code of Virginia, the applicant shall disclose the 
following information about the firm nor the and its owners, 

officers or, managers, members, and directors shall have been 
convicted or found guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any 
jurisdiction of any felony or of any misdemeanor involving 
lying, cheating or stealing or of any violation while engaged 
in environmental remediation activity that resulted in the 
significant harm or the imminent and substantial threat of 
significant harm to human health or the environment, there 
being no appeal pending therefrom or the time of appeal 
having lapsed. Any plea of nolo contendre shall be considered 
a conviction for the purposes of this section. A certified copy 
of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or 
regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, 
decree or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie 
evidence of such conviction or discipline. The board, at its 
discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance 
with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, as applicable:  

1. All felony convictions; 

2. All misdemeanor convictions involving lying, cheating, 
or stealing; and 

3. Any conviction resulting from engaging in 
environmental remediation activity that resulted in the 
significant harm or the imminent and substantial threat of 
significant harm to human health or the environment. 

Any plea of nolo contendre or finding of guilt, regardless of 
adjudication or deferred adjudication, shall be considered a 
conviction for the purposes of this section. The board, at its 
discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance 
with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. The applicant has 
the right to request further review of any such action by the 
board under the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

G. Standards of practice and conduct. Applicants shall be in 
compliance with the standards of practice and conduct set 
forth 18VAC15-20-400 through 18VAC15-20-454 and 
18VAC15-20-459.2 through 18VAC15-20-459.5 at the time 
of application to the board, while the application is under 
review by the board, and at all times when the license is in 
effect.  

H. Standing. Both the firm and the owners, officers and 
directors shall be in good standing in every jurisdiction where 
licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license that 
was suspended, revoked or surrendered in connection with 
any disciplinary action in any jurisdiction prior to applying 
for licensure in Virginia. F. The applicant shall report (i) the 
suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license, certification, 
or registration in connection with a disciplinary action by any 
jurisdiction and (ii) whether the firm, owners, officers, 
managers, members, or directors have been the subject of 
discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 
and while the application is under review by the board. The 
board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any an 
applicant based on disciplinary action by any jurisdiction. 
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I. Denial of license. The board may refuse to issue a license 
to any asbestos contractor or asbestos analytical laboratory 
applicant if the applicant or its owners, officers or directors 
have a financial interest in an asbestos contractor whose 
asbestos license has been revoked, suspended, or denied 
renewal in any jurisdiction.  

G. The board may deny the application of an applicant who 
is shown to have a substantial identity of interest with a 
person whose license or certificate has been revoked or not 
renewed by the board. A substantial identity of interest 
includes (i) a controlling financial interest by the individual or 
corporate principals of the person whose license or certificate 
has been revoked or has not been renewed or (ii) substantially 
identical owners, officers, managers, members, or directors, 
as applicable. 

H. An applicant shall not knowingly make a materially false 
statement, submit falsified documents, or fail to disclose a 
material fact requested in connection with an application 
submitted to the board.  

18VAC15-20-33.1. Qualifications for asbestos contractor 
license. 

In addition to the requirements of 18VAC15-20-33, each 
applicant for an asbestos contractor license shall hold a valid 
Virginia contractor license issued by the Virginia Board for 
Contractors with an asbestos contracting specialty and shall 
be in compliance with all other requirements found in Chapter 
11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia 
governing the regulation of contractors. 

18VAC15-20-33.2. Qualifications for asbestos analytical 
laboratory license. 

A. In addition to the requirements of 18VAC15-20-33, each 
applicant for an asbestos analytical laboratory license shall 
submit evidence of meeting the standards to perform one or 
more of PLM, PCM, or TEM analysis. 

1. For PLM analysis, one of the following: 

a. Current NVLAP accreditation demonstrated by 
submittal of a copy of the Certificate of Accreditation, 
Scope of Accreditation, and documentation of 
proficiency with the application; 

b. The asbestos analytical laboratory is rated "proficient" 
in the BAPAT Program and maintains the training and 
quality control document such as is necessary to 
demonstrate competency in performing analysis; or  

c. The asbestos analytical laboratory is accredited under 
the IHLAP and maintains the training and quality control 
documentation such as is necessary to demonstrate 
competency. 

2. For PCM analysis, each analyst shall have completed the 
NIOSH 582 or NIOSH 582 Equivalency course. In 
addition, at least one of the following must be satisfied: 

a. At fixed laboratory sites, one of the following 
qualifications must be met: 

(1) The asbestos analytical laboratory is accredited under 
the IHLAP and maintains the training and quality control 
documentation such as is necessary to demonstrate 
competency; 

(2) The asbestos analytical laboratory is rated 
"proficient" in the IHPAT Program and maintains the 
training and quality control document such as is 
necessary to demonstrate competency in performing 
analysis; or 

(3) Each analyst is listed in the AAR and has a 
performance rating of "acceptable" for the most recent 
AAT round. 

b. For onsite analysis, one of the following qualifications 
must be met: 

(1) The asbestos analytical laboratory is rated 
"proficient" in the IHPAT Program and maintains the 
training and quality control document such as is 
necessary to demonstrate competency in performing 
onsite analysis [ for each onsite analyst ]; 

(2) The asbestos analytical laboratory is accredited under 
the IHLAP and maintains compliance with the 
requirements of its accreditation, as well as the training 
and quality control document such as is necessary to 
demonstrate competency in performing [ onsite ] analysis 
[ for each onsite analyst ]; or 

(3) Each analyst is listed in the AAR and has a 
performance rating of "acceptable" for the most recent 
AAT round. 

3. For TEM analysis, a current accreditation by NVLAP to 
analyze asbestos airborne fibers using TEM. A copy of the 
NVLAP Certificate of Accreditation, Scope of 
Accreditation, and documentation of NVLAP proficiency 
shall be submitted with the application. 

B. The applicant shall name a responsible individual for the 
asbestos analytical laboratory. 

C. Any branch office of an asbestos analytical laboratory 
shall complete a branch office application from the board. 
Each branch office shall name a resident responsible 
individual at each branch office. 

D. The branch office application shall provide the 
information contained in subsection A of this section for the 
applicable branch office. 

E. Any of the training and quality control documentation 
required to be maintained pursuant to this section shall be 
provided to the board upon request. 
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18VAC15-20-52. Application fees.  

Application fees are set out in this section.  

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Application for worker, 
supervisor, inspector, 
management planner, 
project designer or 
project monitor license 

$80 With 
application 

Application for asbestos 
analytical laboratory 
license 

$120 With 
application 

Application for asbestos 
analytical laboratory 
branch office 

$100 With 
application 

Application for an 
asbestos contractor 
license 

$110 With 
application 

Application for 
accredited asbestos 
training program 
approval 

$500 per 
day of 

training 

With 
application 

18VAC15-20-53. Renewal and late renewal fees.  

A. Renewal and late renewal fees are set out in this section.  

Fee Type Fee Amount When Due 

Renewal for worker, 
supervisor, inspector, 
management planner, 
project designer or 
project monitor license 

$45 With renewal 
application 

Renewal for asbestos 
analytical laboratory 
license 

$75 With renewal 
application 

Renewal for asbestos 
analytical laboratory 
branch office 

$55 With renewal 
application 

Renewal for asbestos 
contractor's license 

$70 With renewal 
application 

Renewal for accredited 
asbestos training program 
approval 

$125 With renewal 
application 

Late renewal for worker, 
supervisor, inspector, 
management planner, 
project designer or 
project monitor license 
(includes a $35 late 
renewal fee in addition to 
the regular $45 renewal 
fee) 

$80 With renewal 
application 

Late renewal for asbestos 
analytical laboratory 
license (includes a $35 
late renewal fee in 
addition to the regular 
$75 renewal fee) 

$110 With renewal 
application 

Late renewal for asbestos 
analytical laboratory 
branch office (includes 
$35 late renewal fee in 
addition to the regular 
$55 renewal fee) 

$90 With renewal 
application 

Late renewal for 
asbestos contractor's 
license (includes a $35 
late renewal fee in 
addition to the regular 
$70 renewal fee) 

$105 With renewal 
application 

Late renewal for 
accredited asbestos 
training program 
approval (includes a $35 
late renewal fee in 
addition to the regular 
$125 renewal fee) 

$160 With renewal 
application 

B. For licenses expiring after February 1, 2018, and before 
February 1, 2020, the renewal fees shall be as follows: 

Renewal for worker, supervisor, 
inspector, management planner, project 
designer, or project monitor license 

$25 

Renewal for asbestos analytical 
laboratory license 

$40 

Renewal for asbestos contractor's 
license 

$30 

Renewal for accredited asbestos 
training program approval 

$40 

For late renewals received after March 1, 2018, and on or 
before February 28, 2020, the late renewal fees shall be as 
follows: 

Late renewal for worker, supervisor, 
inspector, management planner, project 
designer, or project monitor license 

$60 

Late renewal for asbestos analytical 
laboratory license 

$75 

Late renewal for asbestos contractor's 
license 

$65 

Late renewal for accredited asbestos 
training program approval 

$75 
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18VAC15-20-454. Transfer of asbestos contractor license.  

The transfer of an asbestos contractor license is prohibited.  

Asbestos contractor licenses are issued to firms as defined in 
this chapter and are not transferable. Whenever the legal firm 
holding the license is dissolved or altered to form a new firm, 
the original license becomes void and shall be returned to the 
board within 30 days of the change. Additionally, the new 
firm shall apply for a new license, on a form provided by the 
board, within 30 days of the change in the firm. Such changes 
include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 
partnership or the managing partner in a limited 
partnership;  

3. Termination or cancellation of a corporation or limited 
liability company; and 

4. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 
limited liability company, or an association or any other 
firm recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia.  

18VAC15-20-456. Responsibilities.  

A. Asbestos project monitors shall conduct inspections of 
the contractor's work practices and inspections of the 
containment.  

B. Asbestos project monitors shall be present on the job site 
each day response actions are being conducted or in 
accordance with the owner-approved contractual agreement 
with the project monitor, shall perform the duties and 
functions established in 18VAC15-20-455, and shall maintain 
a daily log of all work performed. The daily log shall include, 
but not be limited to, inspection reports, air sampling data, 
type of work performed by the contractor, problems 
encountered and corrective action taken.  

C. Asbestos project monitors shall take final air samples on 
all abatement projects, except for abatement projects in 
residential buildings.  

D. Project monitors who analyze PCM air samples on site 
shall be employed by a licensed analytical laboratory and 
shall be listed or have applied for listing in the AAR and rated 
"acceptable" or is accredited by AIHA or has been rated 
"proficient" in the PAT Program's most recent round of 
asbestos evaluations. The asbestos project monitor shall 
include, prior to reoccupancy, the air sample report on the 
employing asbestos analytical laboratory's letterhead in the 
final clearance report. Such report shall include the licensed 
asbestos project monitor's signature.  

18VAC15-20-456.1. Onsite analysis by project monitors. 

Project monitors who analyze PCM air samples on site shall 
(i) be employed by a licensed asbestos analytical laboratory, 

(ii) have completed the NIOSH 582 or NIOSH 582 
Equivalency Course, and (iii) satisfy one of the following: 

1. The project monitor is listed in the AAR and rated 
"acceptable" for the most recent AAT round; 

2. The licensed asbestos analytical laboratory employing 
the project monitor is rated as "proficient" in the IHPAT 
Program and maintains training and quality control 
documentation necessary to demonstrate competency in 
performing onsite analysis; or 

3. The licensed asbestos analytical laboratory employing 
the project monitor is accredited under the IHLAP, remains 
in compliance with accreditation requirements, and 
maintains training and quality control documentation 
necessary to demonstrate competency in performing onsite 
analysis. 

18VAC15-20-459.4. Change of status.  

A. The licensee shall notify the department immediately 
within 10 days of any addition or deletion regarding 
employment of trained and experienced supervisors, and any 
changes regarding the signing officer's relationship with the 
company changes to the resident responsible individual for 
each laboratory location.  

B. The licensee shall notify the board within 10 business 
days upon the loss of accreditation or proficiency rating by 
NVLAP or AIHA, IHLAP, or IHPAT by any laboratory 
location. The asbestos analytical laboratory shall notify the 
board if an employed analyst or project monitor performing 
asbestos laboratory analysis is removed from the AAR.  

C. The licensee shall notify the board, in writing, if the type 
of analysis to be performed it will undertake is different from 
the type of analysis in for which the initial license was issued. 
The licensee shall submit a new application or branch office 
application, as applicable, reflecting the changes and submit 
evidence of meeting the qualifications required by this 
chapter to perform the analysis. The above information shall 
be submitted to the board prior to performing the analysis. 
The licensee must receive approval from the board prior to 
performing the analysis. No additional fees are required to 
upgrade amend the type of analysis performed by the 
analytical laboratory license licensee. 

D. The licensee shall notify the department within 10 days 
of any changes in the laboratory location. 

E. Asbestos analytical laboratory licenses are issued to firms 
as defined in this chapter and are not transferable. Whenever 
the legal firm holding the license is dissolved or altered to 
form a new firm, the original license becomes void and shall 
be returned to the board within 30 days of the change. 
Additionally, the new firm shall apply for a new license, on a 
form provided by the board, within 30 days of the change in 
the firm. Such changes include: 
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1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 
partnership or the managing partner in a limited 
partnership;  

3. Termination or cancellation of a corporation or limited 
liability company; and 

4. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 
limited liability company, or an association or any other 
firm recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia.  

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 
been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 
however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 
to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 
contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219.  

[ FORMS (18VAC15-20)  

Asbestos Worker License Application, A506-3301LIC-v4 
(rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Supervisor License Application, A506-3302LIC-
v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Inspector License Application, A506-3303LIC-v5 
(rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Management Planner License Application, A506-
3304LIC-v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Project Designer License Application, A506-
3305LIC-v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Project Monitor License Application, A506-
3309LIC-v5 (rev. 8/2015) 

Individual - Asbestos License Renewal Form, A506-
33AREN-v4 (rev. 2/2018) 

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License Renewal Form, 
A506-3333REN-v4 (rev. 2/2018) 

Contractor - Asbestos & Lead License Renewal Form, 
A506-33CONREN-v4 (rev. 2/2018) 

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License Renewal/Branch 
Office Renewal Form, A506-3333REN-v4 (rev. 9/2019) 

Contractor - Asbestos & Lead License Renewal Form, 
A506-33CONREN-v5 (rev. 9/2019) 

Asbestos - Experience Verification Application, A506-
33AEXP-v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos - Education Verification Application, A506-
33AED-v3 (rev. 8/2015) 

Virginia Asbestos Licensing Consumer Information Sheet, 
A506-33ACIS-v2 (rev. 8/2013) 

Inspector/Project Designer/Contractor Disclosure Form, 
A506-33DIS-v2 (rev. 8/2013) 

Asbestos Contractor License Application, A506-3306LIC-
v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License Application, A506-
3333LIC-v6 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Contractor License Application, A506-3306LIC-
v5 (rev. 9/2019) 

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License Application, A506-
3333LIC-v7 (rev. 9/2019) 

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory - Branch Office 
Application, A506-3333BR-v1 (rev. 9/2019) 

Change of Laboratory Analysis Type Form, A506-
3333COA-v1 (rev. 9/2019) 

Asbestos Training Program Review and Audit Application, 
A506-3331ACRS-v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Project Monitor - Work Experience Log, A506-
3309EXP-v3 (rev. 8/2015) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4855; Filed May 6, 2019, 3:55 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-25. Regulations Governing 
Certified Nurse Aides (amending 18VAC90-25-10, 
18VAC90-25-15, 18VAC90-25-70, 18VAC90-25-71, 
18VAC90-25-80 through 18VAC90-25-120; adding 
18VAC90-25-16; repealing 18VAC90-25-130, 18VAC90-
25-140).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 15, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. The specific 
statutory authority for registration of medication aides and 
approval of training programs is found in § 54.1-3005 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38871004539%7E5&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38871004539%7E5&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96ad6004539%7E6&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96ad6004539%7E6&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96d6a004539%7E7&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96d6a004539%7E7&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f908a004539%7E8&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f908a004539%7E8&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c13b004539%7E9&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c13b004539%7E9&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d5c05004539%7E10&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d5c05004539%7E10&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47016005313%7E1N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005313&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47016005313%7E1N.pdf&typ=40&actno=005313&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c403e004855%7E5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c403e004855%7E5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b9bb7004855%7E2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b9bb7004855%7E2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7058004539%7E13&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7058004539%7E13&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Boards/ALHI/A506-33AED.pdf
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Boards/ALHI/A506-33AED.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=334be004539%7E20&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=334be004539%7E20&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec4e3004539%7E21&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec4e3004539%7E21&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65462004855%7E1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65462004855%7E1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e72fb004855%7E3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e72fb004855%7E3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5adef004855%7E4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5adef004855%7E4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7345004855%7E6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7345004855%7E6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2124004539%7E17&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2124004539%7E17&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=279ce004539%7E18&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=279ce004539%7E18&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
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Purpose: It is necessary to retain the current chapter because 
its provisions protect the health and safety of a vulnerable 
population of patients or clients who receive services from a 
nurse aide. The regulatory changes are consistent with the 
principle that regulations should be clearly written and easily 
understandable. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: As 
required by Executive Order 14 (2018), the Board of Nursing 
conducted a periodic review of this chapter. The amendments 
are either less restrictive and clarifying or intended for 
consistency with similar regulations for medication aides or 
nursing. There are no substantive changes, so the 
amendments are not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: Pursuant to its periodic review of 18VAC90-25, 
the Board of Nursing has amended regulations to clarify 
certain provisions, make some rules less burdensome, and add 
requirements that are necessary for protection of the public or 
clients of nurse aides. Additional requirements include (i) a 
requirement for an applicant who does not take the state 
examination within two years of approval or who fails it three 
times to take another training program; (ii) a new subsection 
on reinstatement after revocation or suspension; and (iii) 
repeal of 18VAC90-25-130 and 18VAC90-25-140 and move 
of the requirements for an approved nurse aide advanced 
certification education program to 18VAC90-26. 

Issues: There are no substantive changes to the regulation, so 
there are no real advantages or disadvantages to the public. 
The consolidation of fees into one section and the nametag 
changes are advantageous to a certified nursing aide (CNA) 
or a person seeking registration as a CNA. Most of the 
amendments are technical and clarifying. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth, except clearer regulations may result in 
fewer inquiries to staff. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-
track regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 
the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to a periodic review,1 the Board of Nursing (Board) 
proposes to 1) require certified nurse aides (aides), who do 
not take the certification exam within two years of completing 
training or who fail it three times, repeat the training program 
before reapplying for certification, 2) incorporate in the 
regulations the option to send license renewal notices 
electronically, 3) allow facilities to establish their own policy 
for the name identification (nametags) of aides subject to 
certain requirements, and 4) clarify existing processes and 
requirements and change the location of some of the 
requirements. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to require 
that an aide who does not take the certification exam within 
two years of completing training or who fails the exam three 
times to repeat the training program before applying for 
certification. According to Department of Health Professions 
(DHP), it is highly unlikely that an applicant who has not 
taken the examination within two years of completion or who 
has failed three times would be able to pass the skills and 
written portions of the exam. Nurse aide training programs 
are usually offered by the community colleges. The training 
consists of seven credit hours and can be completed over a 
semester or an eight-week period. The costs include tuition 
($1,085 -$1,140), trainee's time (approximately 180 hours of 
class time), and other costs such as background check, drug 
screen, immunizations, textbooks, uniform, stethoscope, etc. 
($200 -$300). DHP does not have an estimate on the number 
of individuals who may have to repeat training. However, the 
proposed change would encourage the applicants to achieve 
certification and help ensure that they are competent to 
perform their tasks. 

The Board also proposes to incorporate in the regulations the 
option of sending license renewal notices electronically as has 
been the current practice. Currently, licensees are providing an 
email address for the purpose of receiving notices and 
communications from the Board. As with other boards under 
DHP, the Board's renewal notices are currently being sent to the 
email address on record. If a licensee fails to renew before the 
renewal deadline, a paper renewal notice is also sent as a 
courtesy to the licensee. 

According to DHP, each paper renewal notice costs $0.45 ($0.38 
for postage and $0.07 for tri-fold generic stock). Currently, there 
are 53,055 certified nurse aides who would likely renew their 
licenses every two years with a cost of about $11,937 per year 
which has been avoided by the electronic notifications. However, 
the cost savings from electronic notices would likely be less than 
this amount because the Board may not have an email address 
for some of the licensees, and a paper copy would still be sent if 
renewal does not occur 30 days prior to the expiration of the 
license. In addition to the savings, electronic notices are likely 
beneficial because they expedite the renewal process with an 
almost instantaneous delivery process and also mitigate potential 
issues that could result from the delivery of paper notices. Since 
the Board already sends electronic notices, the main impact of 
this change is providing consistency between the current practice 
and the regulatory text. 

Another amendment would replace the current requirement that 
the nametag include the aide's first and last name with a 
requirement that the facility employing the aide set the policy for 
identifying the aide on nametags. The requirement that the 
nametag must include the title under which the person is 
practicing would be retained. It should be noted that a similar 
change was made in the nursing regulations in response to a 
petition for rulemaking.2 
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In a survey of 320 nurses in the Commonwealth conducted by 
the Virginia Nurses Association, 81% preferred that that the 
nametag not include their full name.3 Those supporting the 
change cited concerns for safety and stalking as reasons to 
establish a more confidential method of identification. The 
proposal to allow flexibility to employers concerning name 
identification on the badge would potentially be beneficial due to 
the chance that some or many employers may elect to not list the 
full name, which may reduce the occurrences of stalking and 
harassment of aides. 

The proposed regulations maintain the requirement that the 
nametag have the person's appropriate title, but does not 
establish a minimum criteria for name identification. An 
employer could potentially choose to not have the name on the 
badge at all. It seems likely though, that most employers would 
prefer to have a form of name (first name and last initial for 
example) on the badge so that patients or family members could 
correctly identify an aide. 

The remaining amendments would provide clarification to 
existing board processes and regulatory requirements and change 
the location of existing requirements. These amendments would 
not reflect a change in current practice and would not create any 
significant economic impact beyond adding clarity to existing 
processes and expectations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 53,055 certified 
nurse aides in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
would not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed retraining 
requirement would likely add to the demand for nurse aide 
educators by a small amount. Switching from paper to electronic 
renewal notices may have reduced the demand for U.S. Postal 
Service workers by a negligible amount. However, the proposed 
amendments are unlikely to significantly affect total 
employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 
amendments would not significantly affect the use and value of 
private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
would not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual 
sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most training programs are offered by 
community colleges and large health care entities. Thus, 
proposed amendments would not significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments would not impose adverse impact on 
small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments would not impose 
adverse impact on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. Switching from paper to electronic renewal 
notices may have reduced the demand for U.S. Postal Service 
workers by a negligible amount. In addition, the demand for 
training offered by community colleges and large health care 
institutions may increase by a small amount. 

_____________________________ 
1http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1635 
2http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8139 
3http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewcomments.cfm?commentid=55675 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to a periodic review of 18VAC90-25, the 
amendments (i) require certified nurse aides who do not 
take the certification exam within two years of completing 
training or who fail it three times to repeat the training 
program before reapplying for certification, (ii) 
incorporate into the regulations an option to send license 
renewal notices electronically, (iii) allow a facility to 
establish its own policy for the name identification of aides 
subject to certain requirements, (iv) add a new subsection 
on reinstatement after revocation or suspension, and (v) 
remove the requirements for an approved nurse aide 
advanced certification education program from this 
chapter because they are being added to 18VAC90-26. 

Part I  
General Provisions 

18VAC90-25-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Nursing.  

"Client" means a person receiving the services of a certified 
nurse aide, to include a patient in a health care facility or at 
home or a resident of a long-term care facility.  

"Nurse aide education program" means a program designed 
to prepare nurse aides for certification that is approved by the 
board.  

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1635
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8139
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewcomments.cfm?commentid=55675
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18VAC90-25-15. Identification; accuracy of records. 

A. Any person regulated by this chapter who provides direct 
patient care shall, while on duty, wear identification that is 
clearly visible and indicates the person's first and last name 
and the appropriate title issued to such person by the board 
under which he is practicing in that setting. Any person 
practicing in hospital emergency departments, psychiatric and 
mental health units and programs, or in health care facilities 
units offering treatment for patients in custody of state or 
local law-enforcement agencies may use identification badges 
of first name and first letter only of last name and appropriate 
title. Name identification on a badge shall follow the policy of 
the facility in which the nurse aide is employed. 

B. A certificate holder who has changed his name shall 
submit as legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage 
certificate, a certificate of naturalization, or court order 
evidencing the change. A duplicate certificate shall be issued 
by the board upon receipt of such evidence. 

C. Each certificate holder shall maintain an address of 
record with the board. Any change in the address of record or 
in the public address, if different from the address of record, 
shall be submitted in writing or electronically to the board 
within 30 days of such change. All notices required by law 
and by this chapter to be mailed sent by the board to any 
certificate holder shall be validly given when mailed sent to 
the latest address of record on file with the board. 

18VAC90-25-16. Fees. 

A. The following fees shall apply: 

1. Annual renewal for certified nurse 
aide 

$30 

2. Returned check $35 

3. Application for certification as an 
advanced certified nurse aide 

4. Renewal of advanced certified nurse 
aide certification 

5. Reinstatement of advanced certified 
nurse aide certification 

$25 

$20 

$30 

B. Fees shall not be refunded once submitted. 

Part II  
Certification of Nurse Aides  

18VAC90-25-70. Initial certification for the nurse aide 
registry.  

A. The executive director of the board shall issue a 
certificate as a certified nurse aide to each applicant who 
qualifies for such a certificate under §§ 54.1-3024, 54.1-3025, 
54.1-3026, and 54.1-3028 of the Code of Virginia and 
provisions of this chapter. 

B. Nurse aide competency evaluation. 

1. The board may contract with a test service for the 
development and administration of a competency 
evaluation, which shall be a state examination. 

2. All individuals completing a nurse aide education 
program in Virginia shall successfully complete the 
competency evaluation state examination required by the 
board prior to being certified and to using the title Certified 
Nurse Aide. 

3. The board shall determine the minimum passing 
standard on the competency evaluation state examination. 

C. Initial certification shall be for two years. 

18VAC90-25-71. Certification by examination. 

A. To be placed on the registry and certified by examination, 
the nurse aide must: 

1. Have satisfactorily completed: 

a. A nurse aide education program approved by the 
board;  

b. At least one clinical nursing course that includes at 
least 40 hours of clinical experience involving direct 
client care within the past 12 months while enrolled in a 
nursing education program preparing for registered nurse 
or practical nurse licensure; or  

c. A nursing education program preparing for registered 
nurse licensure or practical nurse licensure; 

2. Pass the competency evaluation state examination 
required by the board; and 

3. Submit the required application and testing fee as 
prescribed by the board. 

B. An applicant who fails to take the board-approved skills 
and written portions of the state examination within two years 
of completion of the training or who has failed the 
examination in three attempts shall reenroll and successfully 
complete another approved nurse aide training program 
before reapplying. 

18VAC90-25-80. Renewal or reinstatement of 
certification.  

A. Renewal of certification. 

1. No less than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the 
current certification, a notice for renewal shall be mailed 
sent by the board to the address of record of each currently 
registered certified nurse aide. 

2. The certified nurse aide shall annually submit a 
completed renewal application with the required fee of $30 
and verification attestation of performance of nursing-
related activities for compensation within the two years 
immediately preceding the expiration date. 
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3. Failure to receive the application for renewal shall not 
relieve the certificate holder of the responsibility for 
renewing the certification by the expiration date. 

4. A certified nurse aide who has not performed nursing-
related activities for compensation during the two years 
preceding the expiration date of the certification shall 
repeat and pass the nurse aide competency evaluation state 
examination prior to applying for recertification renewal of 
certification. 

5. The board shall also charge a fee of $35 for a returned 
check. 

B. Reinstatement of certification. 

1. An individual whose certification has lapsed for more 
than 90 days shall submit the required application and 
renewal fee and provide: 

a. Verification of performance of nursing-related 
activities for compensation in the two years prior to the 
expiration date of the certificate and within the preceding 
two years; or 

b. Evidence of having repeated and passed the nurse aide 
competency evaluation state examination. 

2. An individual who has previously had a finding of 
abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of property is not 
eligible for reinstatement of his certification, except as 
provided in 18VAC90-25-81, which provides a process for 
removal of the finding of neglect based on a single 
occurance. 

C. A certified nurse aide whose certification has been 
suspended or revoked by the board and who is eligible for 
reinstatement may apply for reinstatement by filing a 
reinstatement application and fulfilling requirements of 
subsection B of this section.  

18VAC90-25-81. Removal of a finding of neglect. 

A. If a finding of neglect was made against a certificate 
holder based on a single occurrence, an individual may 
petition for removal of the finding of neglect provided: 

1. A period of at least one year has passed since the finding 
was made; and 

2. The individual seeking reinstatement demonstrates 
sufficient evidence that employment and personal history 
do not reflect a pattern of abusive behavior or neglect. 

B. A certificate holder can petition the board only once for 
removal of a finding of neglect.  

18VAC90-25-100. Disciplinary provisions for nurse aides.  

The board has the authority to deny, revoke, or suspend a 
certificate issued, or to otherwise discipline a certificate 
holder upon proof that he the certificate holder has violated 
any of the provisions of § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia. 

For the purpose of establishing allegations to be included in 
the notice of hearing, the board has adopted the following 
definitions: 

1. Fraud or deceit in order to procure or maintain a 
certificate shall mean, but shall not be limited to: 

a. Filing false credentials; 

b. Falsely representing facts on an application for initial 
certification, reinstatement or renewal of a certificate; or 

c. Giving or receiving assistance in taking the 
competency evaluation state examination. 

2. Unprofessional conduct shall mean, but shall not be 
limited to: 

a. Performing acts beyond those authorized for practice 
as a nurse aide or an advanced certified nurse aide as 
defined in Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 
of the Code of Virginia, and beyond those authorized by 
the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) or by provisions for delegation of nursing tasks 
in Part X (18VAC90-20-420 VI (18VAC90-19-240 et 
seq.) of 18VAC90-20 18VAC90-19. 

b. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the 
practice of a nurse aide or an advanced certified nurse 
aide without adequate training or when competency has 
not been maintained; 

c. Obtaining supplies, equipment or drugs for personal or 
other unauthorized use; 

d. Falsifying or otherwise altering client or employer 
records, including falsely representing facts on a job 
application or other employment-related documents; 

e. Abusing, neglecting, or abandoning clients; 

f. Having been denied a license or certificate or having 
had a license or certificate issued by the board revoked or 
suspended; 

g. Giving to or accepting from a client property or money 
for any reason other than fee for service or a nominal 
token of appreciation; 

h. Obtaining money or property of a client by fraud, 
misrepresentation, or duress; 

i. Entering into a relationship with a client or the client's 
family that constitutes a professional boundary violation 
in which the nurse aide uses his professional position to 
take advantage of the vulnerability of a client or his 
family, to include but not limited to actions that result in 
personal gain at the expense of the client, an 
inappropriate personal involvement or sexual conduct 
with a client; 
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j. Violating state laws relating to the privacy of client 
information, including but not limited to § 32.1-127.1:03 
of the Code of Virginia; or 

k. Providing false information to staff or board members 
during the course of an investigation or proceeding. 

3. For the purposes of interpreting provisions of 
subdivision 7 of § 54.1-3007 (7) of the Code of Virginia, a 
restriction on nurse aide certification shall be interpreted as 
having a finding of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of 
patient property made in another state or being placed on 
the abuse registry in another state. 

Part III  
Advanced Certification  

18VAC90-25-110. Requirements for initial certification as 
an advanced certified nurse aide.  

A. In order to be certified as and use the title of "Advanced 
Certified Nurse Aide," an applicant shall meet the following 
qualifications: 

1. Hold current certification as a certified nurse aide in 
Virginia; 

2. Have been certified for at least three years as a certified 
nurse aide; 

3. Have never had a finding of abuse, neglect, or 
misappropriation of patient property entered on a nurse 
aide registry in any jurisdiction and have not had any 
disciplinary actions taken by the board within the five 
years preceding application for advanced certification; 

4. Have a recommendation for advanced certification from 
a licensed nurse who has supervised the applicant in 
providing direct patient care for at least six months within 
the past year; and 

5. Have successfully completed a minimum of 120 hours 
of advanced training in an approved program that includes 
a competency evaluation acceptable to the board. 

B. An application for certification shall be accompanied by 
an application fee of $25 as specified in 18VAC90-25-16. 

18VAC90-25-120. Renewal and reinstatement of 
certification as an advanced certified nurse aide.  

A. Current certification as a nurse aide in Virginia must be 
maintained in order to hold certification as an advanced 
certified nurse aide. 

B. Renewal. If an individual is not eligible to renew as a 
certified nurse aide, certification as an advanced certified 
nurse aide may not be renewed. An advanced certification 
shall be renewed concurrently with the renewal of the basic 
certification as a nurse aide in Virginia by: 

1. Submitting a completed renewal form and renewal fee of 
$20 as specified in 18VAC90-25-16; and 

2. Attesting to completion of at least three contact hours 
per year of continuing education and training in any of the 
competency areas identified in the advanced certification 
training program. The board may grant an extension or 
waiver of the continuing education requirement based on 
good cause shown by the certified nurse aide. 

C. Late renewal. An advanced certified nurse aide may 
renew certification for 90 days following the expiration date 
by meeting the requirements of subsection A of this section. 

D. Reinstatement. If an advanced certification has not been 
renewed for 90 days following the expiration date, it shall 
only be reinstated if the applicant for reinstatement: 

1. Holds current certification as a nurse aide in Virginia; 

2. Submits a completed reinstatement application on a 
form provided by the board; 

3. Pays the reinstatement fee of $30 as specified in 
18VAC90-25-16; and 

4. Provides evidence that he the applicant has completed 
all required hours of continuing education and training. 

18VAC90-25-130. Requirements for an approved 
advanced certification education program. (Repealed.) 

A. The advanced certification education program shall be 
approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing. An approved 
advanced certification education program shall also be an 
approved nurse aide education program as set forth in 
18VAC90-25-20. 

B. An advanced certification education program shall 
consist of a minimum of 120 hours including a minimum of 
40 hours of clinical skills instruction in direct client care with 
on-site supervision by instructional personnel. When nurse 
aides are engaged in direct client care in the course of 
advanced certification training, the ratio shall not exceed 10 
students to one instructor. 

C. The instructional personnel in an approved advanced 
certification education program shall meet the requirements 
as set forth in 18VAC90-25-30. 

D. The curricula of an approved advanced certification 
education program shall, at a minimum, meet the 
requirements of 18VAC90-25-140. 

E. Each advanced certification program shall develop an 
individual record of major skills taught and the date of 
performance by the student. At the completion of the 
program, the program shall provide each nurse aide with a 
copy of this record and a certificate of completion. 

F. An advanced certification education program shall 
develop and submit to the board a competency evaluation 
based on the curriculum content required in 18VAC90-25-
140. Such an evaluation shall include both a written test on 
the curriculum and an assessment of manual skills. A record 
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of the reports of graduates' performance on the approved 
competency evaluation program shall be maintained for a 
minimum of three years. 

G. Program review shall be in accordance with requirements 
of 18VAC90-25-60 and shall be conducted concurrently with 
the on-site review of the basic nurse aide education program. 
Loss of board approval for the basic nurse aide education 
program shall automatically result in the loss of approval for 
the advanced certification education program. 

H. When an advanced certification education program 
closes, the provider shall notify the board of the date of 
closing and submit a list of all graduates with their date of 
graduation. 

18VAC90-25-140. Required curriculum content for an 
advanced certification education program. (Repealed.) 

A. An advanced certification education program shall 
include classroom and clinical instruction in the following 
curriculum:  

1. Leadership and mentoring skills.  

a. Principles of adult learning;  

b. Learning styles;  

c. Evaluation methods to assess learner knowledge;  

d. Communication techniques and communication 
barriers; emphasizing cultural diversity of coworkers and 
clients;  

e. Conflict management;  

f. Precepting and mentoring new certified nurse aides;  

g. Teamwork;  

h. Contributing to care plan development and 
implementation;  

i. Organizational responsibilities; and  

j. Principles of documentation.  

2. Care of the cognitively impaired client.  

a. Signs and symptoms of dementia;  

b. Concepts and techniques for addressing the unique 
needs and behaviors of individuals with dementia, 
including but not limited to agitation, combativeness, 
sundown syndrome, wandering, forgetfulness;  

c. Basic concepts of communication with cognitively 
impaired clients, including techniques to reduce the 
effects of cognitive impairment;  

d. Basic concepts of behavior management with 
cognitively impaired clients; and  

e. Recognizing changes in the client's condition and 
reporting and documenting such changes.  

3. Restorative care.  

a. Anatomy and physiology with emphasis on the effects 
of aging;  

b. Pathophysiology of common disorders of the elderly;  

c. Measures to assist clients with common medical 
problems;  

d. Recognizing changes in the client's condition and 
reporting and documenting such changes;  

e. Concepts to maintain or improve client mobility and 
ability to perform activities of daily living; and  

f. Rehabilitation procedures.  

4. Wound care.  

a. Prevention, identification and treatment of Stage I and 
Stage II pressure ulcers;  

b. Positioning;  

c. Sterile and clean technique;  

d. Dressing changes;  

e. Concepts of hydration;  

f. Nutrition and weight loss; and  

g. Recognizing changes in the client's condition and 
reporting and documenting such changes.  

B. Written objectives for each unit of instruction shall be 
stated in behavioral terms that are measurable and shall be 
reviewed with the students at the beginning of each unit.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5681; Filed April 30, 2019, 1:09 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-60. Regulations Governing 
the Registration of Medication Aides (amending 
18VAC90-60-20, 18VAC90-60-30, 18VAC90-60-40, 
18VAC90-60-60, 18VAC90-60-70, 18VAC90-60-90, 
18VAC90-60-91, 18VAC90-60-92, 18VAC90-60-100, 
18VAC90-60-120; adding 18VAC90-60-75).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 15, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. The specific 
statutory authority for registration of medication aides and 
approval of training programs is found in § 54.1-3005 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: It is necessary to retain the current chapter because 
its provisions protect the health and safety of a vulnerable 
population of residents in assisted living to whom 
medications are administered. The regulatory changes are 
consistent with the principle that regulations should be clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: As 
required by Executive Order 14 (2018), the Board of Nursing 
conducted a periodic review of this chapter. The amendments 
are either less restrictive and clarifying or intended for 
consistency with similar regulations for nurse aide or nursing 
education programs. There are no substantive changes, so the 
amendments are not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: Pursuant to its periodic review of 18VAC90-60, 
the Board of Nursing has amended regulations to clarify 
certain provisions, make some rules less burdensome, and add 
requirements that are necessary for protection of the public or 
the medication aide. Additional requirements include (i) more 
information on the certificate of completion; (ii) a process for 
conditional approval or withdrawal of approval of a 
medication aide training program; (iii) a new section on 
reinstatement after revocation or suspension; and (iv) 
language clarifying that the board may take disciplinary 
action for any violation of the chapter, including the standards 
of practice. 

Issues: There are no substantive changes to the regulation, so 
there are no real advantages or disadvantages to the public. 
The additional information on a certificate of completion and 
the additional year in which the applicant has to take the 
examination are advantageous to a person seeking registration 
as a medication aide. Most of the amendments are technical 
and clarifying. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth, except that clearer regulations may result in 
fewer inquiries to staff. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-
track regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 
the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to a periodic review,1 the Board of Nursing (Board) 
proposes to 1) allow an additional year for medication aides 
(aides) to take the certification exam, 2) add a fourth option 
for aides to meet the clinical training requirement, 3) allow 

assisted living facilities to establish their own policy for the 
name identification (nametags) of aides subject to certain 
requirements, and 4) clarify several existing processes and 
requirements. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, an aide has one year 
to pass the board-approved exam for registration after 
completing a training program. Those who cannot pass the 
exam in one year are required to repeat their training. The 
Board proposes to allow an additional year to pass the exam. 
The additional time afforded to the applicants would likely 
help them pass the exam (in terms of providing more time to 
study and/or flexibility to find the time to prepare) and avoid 
the costs of repeating training for some of them. 

The Board also proposes to provide an additional option for 
an aide to document training requirements in client/patient 
care that would include a clinical nursing course with at least 
40 hours of clinical experience in direct client care within the 
past 12 months. There are currently three pathways to provide 
documentation of training in client/patient care in the 
regulation; this fourth option would allow an applicant who 
has completed such a course to meet the criteria for 
documentation of training without incurring additional costs 
or repeating additional training in client care. 

Another amendment would replace the current requirement 
that the nametag include the aide's first and last name with a 
requirement that the assisted living facility employing the 
aide set the policy for identifying the aide on nametags. The 
requirement that the nametag must include the title under 
which the person is practicing would be retained. It should be 
noted that a similar change was made in the nursing 
regulations in response to a petition for rulemaking.2 

In a survey of 320 nurses in the Commonwealth conducted by 
the Virginia Nurses Association, 81% preferred that that the 
nametag not include their full name.3 Those supporting the 
change cited concerns for safety and stalking as reasons to 
establish a more confidential method of identification. The 
proposal to allow flexibility to employers concerning name 
identification on the badge would potentially be beneficial 
due to the chance that some or many employers may elect to 
not list the full name, which may reduce the occurrences of 
stalking and harassment of aides. 

The proposed regulation maintains the requirement that the 
nametag have the person's appropriate title, but does not 
establish a minimum criteria for name identification. An 
employer could potentially choose to not have the name on 
the badge at all. It seems likely though, that most employers 
would prefer to have a form of name (first name and last 
initial for example) on the badge so that patients or family 
members could correctly identify an aide. 
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The remaining amendments would provide clarification to 
existing board processes and regulatory requirements. The 
Board proposes to add language to describe the existing 
process for conditional approval and withdrawal of approval 
of an aide training program. Language would also be added to 
include the instructions for reinstatement of an aide after 
revocation or suspension of a registration. The proposal 
would add language to specify that the certificate of 
completion issued by training providers include the name of 
the program, the board approval number, and the signature of 
the instructor. An additional amendment would clarify that 
disciplinary action would result if an aide violated any 
provision of this chapter, rather than only including the 
standards of practice. Although all of these processes and 
requirements are currently reflected in practice, the Board is 
proposing to clarify them in regulation due to inquiries 
received from training programs or applicants. These 
amendments would not reflect a change in current practice 
and would not create any significant economic impact beyond 
adding clarity to existing processes and expectations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 284 medication 
aide training programs and 6,595 registered medication aides 
in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
would not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments would not affect the use and value of 
private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
would not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. While some training programs are 
offered by large health care entities that include assisted 
living facilities, most are operated by small businesses. The 
proposed amendments would not affect costs for them. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments would not impose adverse impact on 
small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments would not impose 
adverse impact on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would not adversely 
affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments would not 
adversely affect other entities. 

________________________________ 
1http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1637 
2http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8139 
3http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewcomments.cfm?commentid=55675 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to a periodic review of 18VAC90-60, 
amendments include (i) allowing an additional year for 
medication aides to take the certification exam; (ii) adding 
a fourth option for aides to meet the clinical training 
requirement; (iii) allowing assisted living facilities to 
establish their own policy for the name identification of 
aides, subject to certain requirements; (iv) requiring more 
information on the certificate of completion and a process 
for withdrawal of approval of a medication aide training 
program; (v) adding a new section on reinstatement after 
revocation or suspension; and (vi) clarifying that the 
board may take disciplinary action for any violation of the 
chapter, including the standards of practice. 

18VAC90-60-20. Identification; accuracy of records. 

A. Any person regulated by this chapter shall, while on duty, 
wear identification that is clearly visible to the client and that 
indicates the person's first and last name and the appropriate 
title issued to such person by the board under which he the 
person is practicing in that setting. Name identification on a 
badge shall follow the policy of the assisted living facility in 
which the medication aide is employed. 

B. A medication aide who has changed his name shall 
submit as legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage 
certificate, a certificate of naturalization, or a court order 
evidencing the change. A duplicate certificate shall be issued 
by the board upon receipt of such evidence. 

C. A medication aide shall maintain an address of record 
with the board. Any change in the address of record or in the 
public address, if different from the address of record, shall 
be submitted electronically or in writing to the board within 
30 days of such change. All notices required by law and by 
this chapter to be mailed sent by the board to any registrant 
shall be validly given when mailed sent to the latest address 
of record on file with the board. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1637
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8139
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewcomments.cfm?commentid=55675
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18VAC90-60-30. Fees. 

A. The following fees shall apply: 

1. Application for program approval $500 

2. Application for registration as a 
medication aide 

$50 

3. Annual renewal for medication 
aide 

$30 

4. Late renewal $15 

5. Reinstatement of registration $90 

6. Returned check $35 

7. Duplicate registration $15 

8. Reinstatement following 
suspension, mandatory suspension, or 
revocation 

$120 

B. Fees shall not be refunded once submitted. 

C. The fee for the competency evaluation state examination 
shall be paid directly to the examination service contracted by 
the board for its administration. 

D. For renewal of registration from July 1, 2017, through 
June 30, 2018, the following fee shall be in effect: 

Annual renewal for medication aide $22 

Part II  
Medication Aide Training Programs  

18VAC90-60-40. Establishing and maintaining a 
medication aide training program. 

A. Establishing a medication aide training program. 

1. A program provider wishing to establish a medication 
aide training program shall submit a completed application 
and pay the prescribed fee to the board at least 90 days in 
advance of the first expected offering of the program. 

2. Initial approval may be granted when all documentation 
of the program's compliance with requirements as set forth 
in this part has been submitted and deemed satisfactory to 
the board. 

3. If approval is denied, the applicant may request, within 
30 days of the mailing of the decision, an informal 
conference committee to be convened in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. If the committee's recommendation is to deny approval, 
no further action will be required of the board unless the 
program requests a hearing before the board or a panel 
thereof in accordance with § 2.2-4020 and subdivision 11 
of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Maintaining an approved medication aide training 
program. To maintain approval, the program shall: 

1. Continue to comply with requirements as set forth in this 
part. 

2. Document that the cumulative passing rate for the 
program's first-time test takers taking the competency 
evaluation required for registration over the past two years 
is not less than 80%. 

3. Report all substantive changes within 10 days of the 
change to the board to include, but not be limited to, a 
change in the program instructors, curriculum or program 
location. 

4. Cooperate with any unannounced visits to the program 
conducted by board representatives for the purpose of 
ensuring compliance with requirements for approval or in 
response to complaints about the program. 

5. Provide documentation that each student enrolled in 
such program has been given a copy of applicable Virginia 
law and regulation for the registration and practice of 
medication aides. 

6. Provide each student with a certificate of completion, 
which shall include the name of the program, the approval 
number provided by the board, and the signature of the 
instructor. 

18VAC90-60-60. Requirements for the program 
curriculum. 

A. Prerequisite for the program. A student seeking 
enrollment in a medication aide training program shall have 
successfully completed the direct care staff training required 
by the Department of Social Services for employment in an 
assisted living facility or an approved nurse aide education 
program. 

B. Hours of instruction. An approved program shall consist 
of a minimum of 68 hours of student instruction and training 
to include: 

1. At least 40 hours of classroom or didactic instruction 
over and above any facility orientation program or training 
in direct client care provided by the facility; 

2. At least 20 hours of supervised skills practice in 
medication administration to residents of an assisted living 
facility, after which the training program shall evaluate the 
student's minimal competency in the clinical skills of 
administering medications on a form provided by the 
board. Up to 20% of the supervised skills practice may be 
completed by a simulation experience in a simulation 
laboratory. The clinical evaluation shall be conducted one-
on-one with a qualified instructor with experience in 
medications in long-term care; and 
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3. An eight-hour module in facilitating client self-
administration or assisting with the administration of 
insulin to include instruction and skills practice in the 
administration of insulin as specified in the board-
approved curriculum. 

C. Content of the curriculum. An approved program shall 
use the curriculum developed and provided by the board, 
which shall, at a minimum, include the following topics: 

1. Preparing for safe administration of medications to 
clients in assisted living facilities; 

2. Maintaining aseptic conditions; 

3. Understanding of basic pharmacology; 

4. Facilitating client self-administration or assisting with 
medication administration; 

5. Following proper procedure for preparing, 
administering, and maintaining medications; and 

6. Following appropriate procedures for documentation 
and reporting to the licensed health care professional on 
duty at the facility or to the client's prescriber. 

D. In addition to the training curriculum, the program shall 
may provide one or more four-hour modules that can be used 
by facilities as refresher courses or by medication aides to 
satisfy requirements for continuing education. 

18VAC90-60-70. Other program requirements. 

A. Ratio. An approved training program shall maintain a 
ratio of no more than 10 students for one instructor for the 20 
hours of supervised skills practice as required by 18VAC90-
60-60 B. 

B. Records. 

1. Each medication aide training education program shall 
develop and maintain an individual record of major skills 
taught and the date of performance by the student. At the 
completion of the program, the medication aide must 
receive a copy of this record and a certificate of completion 
from the program, as specified in 18VAC90-60-40. 

2. A record of the reports of graduates' performance on the 
approved competency evaluation program shall be 
maintained. 

3. A record that documents the disposition of complaints 
against the program shall be maintained. 

4. All records required by this section shall be maintained 
for at least five years. 

C. Student identification. The medication aide students shall 
wear identification that clearly distinguishes them as a 
"medication aide student" while engaged in practical skills 
training under direct supervision by an instructor. Name 
identification shall follow the policy of the assisted living 

facility in which the medication aide is engaged in practical 
training. 

18VAC90-60-75. Conditional or withdrawal of approval 
of a medication aide training program. 

A. If the board determines that a medication aide training 
program is not maintaining the requirements of Part II 
(18VAC90-60-40 et seq.) of this chapter, the board may: 

1. Place the program on conditional approval with terms 
and conditions to be met within the timeframe specified by 
the board; or  

2. Withdraw program approval. 

B. If the board either places a program on conditional 
approval with terms and conditions to be met within a 
timeframe specified by the board or withdraws approval, the 
following shall apply: 

1. No further action will be required of the board unless the 
program requests an informal conference pursuant to 
§§ 2.2-4019 and 54.1-109 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. If withdrawal or continued program approval with terms 
and conditions is recommended following the informal 
conference, the recommendation shall be presented to the 
board or a panel of the board for review and action. 

3. If the recommendation of the informal conference 
committee is accepted by the board or a panel of the board, 
the decision shall be reflected in a board order, and no 
further action by the board is required unless the program 
requests a formal hearing within 30 days from entry of the 
order in accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

4. If the decision of the board or a panel of the board 
following a formal hearing is to withdraw approval or 
continue on conditional approval with terms or conditions, 
the program shall be advised of the right to appeal the 
decision to the appropriate circuit court in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4026 of the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the 
Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

Part III  
Registration of Medication Aides  

18VAC90-60-90. Requirements for initial registration. 

A. To be registered as a medication aide, an applicant shall: 

1. Provide documentation of successful completion of a:  

a. A staff training program in direct client care approved 
by the Department of Social Services, a;  

b. A nursing education program, or;  

c. An approved nurse aide education program, an; or  
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d. A clinical nursing course that includes at least 40 
hours of clinical experience involving direct client care 
within the past 12 months;  

2. Provide documentation of successful completion of one 
of the following: 

a. A medication aide training program approved by the 
board in accordance with this chapter; or 

b. A nursing education program preparing for registered 
nurse licensure or practical nurse licensure;  

3. Submit the required application and fee as prescribed by 
the board; 

4. Disclose whether there are grounds for denial of 
registration as specified in § 54.1-3007 of the Code of 
Virginia; and 

5. Provide documentation of successful completion of 
competency evaluations consisting of: 

a. A clinical evaluation of minimal competency in the 
skills of administering medications as specified in 
18VAC90-60-60 B 2; and 

b. A written examination as specified by the board with a 
passing score determined by the board. 

B. An applicant who fails to take the board-approved 
examination within one year two years of completion of the 
training or who has failed the examination in three attempts 
shall reenroll and successfully complete another approved 
medication aide training program before reapplying for 
registration. 

18VAC90-60-91. Requirements for provisional practice. 

A. An applicant for registration who wants to practice as a 
medication aide on a provisional basis shall: 

1. Submit the required application for registration and fee 
as prescribed by the board; and 

2. Provide evidence to the board of successful completion 
of the medication aide training course or a nursing 
education program. 

B. An applicant shall practice for no more than 120 days 
from the date of a letter from the board acknowledging 
receipt of the documentation required in subsection A of this 
section and granting provisional authorization.   

C. An applicant acting as a medication aide under 
provisional authorization shall be identified as a "provisional 
medication aide" on a nametag worn in the facility. 

D. An applicant with provisional authorization shall 
immediately cease acting as a medication aide at the 
conclusion of the 120-day period or upon notification of 
failure after three attempts to pass the written examination 
required for registration, whichever comes first. 

18VAC90-60-92. Requirements for registration by 
endorsement. 

An applicant applying for registration by endorsement who 
has met the requirements for registration or certification as a 
medication aide in another state or the District of Columbia 
may be deemed eligible to sit for the competency evaluation 
state examination if there are no grounds for denial of 
registration as specified in § 54.1-3007 of the Code of 
Virginia and upon submission of: 

1. A completed application and fee; and 

2. Verification of registration or certification as a 
medication aide in another state or the District of Columbia 
that is current or eligible for reinstatement.  

18VAC90-60-100. Renewal or reinstatement of 
registration. 

A. Renewal of registration. 

1. Registered medication aides shall renew by the last day 
of their birth month each year. 

2. The medication aide shall complete the application 
renewal notice and submit it with the required fee and an 
attestation that he has completed continuing education as 
required by subsection B of this section. 

3. Failure to receive the application notice for renewal shall 
not relieve the medication aide of the responsibility for 
renewing his registration by the expiration date. 

4. The registration shall automatically lapse if the 
medication aide fails to renew by the expiration date. 

5. Any person administering medications in an assisted 
living facility during the time a registration has lapsed shall 
be considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to 
prosecution under the provisions of § 54.1-3008 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

B. Continuing education required for renewal. 

1. In addition to hours of continuing education in direct 
client care required for employment in an assisted living 
facility, a medication aide shall have the following:  

a. Four hours each year of population-specific training in 
medication administration in the assisted living facility in 
which the aide is employed; or  

b. A refresher course in medication administration 
offered by an approved program. 

2. A medication aide shall maintain documentation of 
continuing education for a period of four years following 
the renewal period for which the records apply. 

3. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 
its registrants to determine compliance. A medication aide 
selected for audit shall provide documentation as evidence 
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of compliance within 30 days of receiving notification of 
the audit. 

4. The board may grant an extension for compliance with 
continuing education requirements for up to one year, for 
good cause shown, upon a written request from the 
registrant prior to the renewal deadline. 

C. Reinstatement of registration. 

1. An individual whose registration has lapsed for less than 
one renewal cycle may renew by payment of the renewal 
fee and late fee and attestation that he the individual has 
completed all required continuing education for the period 
since his last renewal. 

2. An individual whose registration has lapsed for more 
than one year shall: 

a. Apply for reinstatement of registration by submission 
of a completed application and fee; 

b. Provide evidence of completion of all required 
continuing education for the period since his last 
renewal, not to exceed eight hours of training in 
medication administration; 

c. Retake the written and practical competency 
evaluation as required by the board; and 

d. Attest that there are no grounds for denial of 
registration as specified in § 54.1-3007 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

D. A medication aide whose registration has been suspended 
or revoked by the board may apply for reinstatement by filing 
a reinstatement application, fulfilling requirements of 
subsection C of this section, and paying the fee for 
reinstatement after suspension or revocation. A medication 
aide whose registration has been revoked may not apply for 
reinstatement sooner than three years from entry of the order 
of revocation. 

18VAC90-60-120. Disciplinary provisions for medication 
aides. 

The board has the authority to deny, revoke, or suspend a 
registration issued, or to otherwise discipline a registrant 
upon proof that he the registrant has violated any of the 
provisions of § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia. For the 
purpose of establishing allegations to be included in the 
notice of hearing, the board has adopted the following 
definitions: 

1. Fraud or deceit in order to procure or maintain a 
registration shall mean, but shall not be limited to:  

a. Filing false credentials; 

b. Falsely representing facts on an application for initial 
registration, reinstatement or renewal of a registration; or 

c. Giving or receiving assistance in taking the 
competency evaluation. 

2. Unprofessional conduct shall mean, but shall not be 
limited to: 

a. Performing acts beyond those authorized by the Code 
of Virginia and this chapter for practice as a medication 
aide; 

b. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the 
practice of a medication aide without adequate training or 
when competency has not been maintained; 

c. Obtaining supplies, equipment or drugs for personal or 
other unauthorized use; 

d. Falsifying or otherwise altering client or drug records 
relating to administration of medication; 

e. Falsifying or otherwise altering employer records, 
including falsely representing facts on a job application 
or other employment-related documents; 

f. Abusing, neglecting or abandoning clients; 

g. Having been denied a license, certificate, or 
registration or having had a license, certificate, or 
registration issued by the board revoked or suspended; 

h. Giving to or accepting from a client property or money 
for any reason other than fee for service or a nominal 
token of appreciation; 

i. Obtaining money or property of a client by fraud, 
misrepresentation or duress; 

j. Entering into a relationship with a client that 
constitutes a professional boundary violation in which 
the medication aide uses his professional position to take 
advantage of a client's vulnerability, to include but not 
limited to actions that result in personal gain at the 
expense of the client, an inappropriate personal 
involvement or sexual conduct with a client; 

k. Violating state laws relating to the privacy of client 
information, including but not limited to § 32.1-127.1:03 
of the Code of Virginia; 

l. Failing to follow provisions of the Medication 
Management Plan for the assisted living facility in which 
the aide is employed; or 

m. Violating any provision of this chapter, including the 
standards of practice as set forth in 18VAC90-60-110. 

3. For the purposes of interpreting provisions of 
subdivision 5 of § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia, a 
pattern of medication errors may constitute practice that 
presents a danger to the health and welfare of clients or to 
the public. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5680; Filed April 30, 2019, 1:10 p.m.  
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BOARD OF PHARMACY 
Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-80, 
18VAC110-20-105; adding 18VAC110-20-22).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 26, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments require a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, 
or pharmacy technician applicant to provide an e-profile 
identification number from the National Association of 
Boards of Pharmacy in an application for a license, 
registration, or renewal or reinstatement of license or 
registration. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC110-20-22. Application to include e-profile 
number. 

An application for licensure as a pharmacist by examination 
or endorsement or for registration as a pharmacy intern or 
pharmacy technician shall include an e-profile number issued 
by NABP. 

18VAC110-20-80. Renewal and reinstatement of license.  

A. Pharmacist licenses expire on December 31 and shall be 
renewed annually prior to that date by the submission of a 
renewal fee, renewal form, an e-profile number issued by 
NABP, and statement of compliance with continuing 
education requirements.  

B. A pharmacist newly licensed on or after October 1 shall 
not be required to renew that license until December 31 of the 
following year.  

C. A pharmacist who fails to renew his license by the 
expiration date may renew his license at any time within one 
year of its expiration by submission of the renewal fee and 
late fee, renewal form, and statement of compliance with 
continuing education requirements.  

D. A pharmacist who fails to renew his license for more than 
one year following expiration and who wishes to reinstate 
such license shall submit an application for reinstatement, pay 
the current renewal fee and a reinstatement fee, and submit 
documentation showing compliance with continuing 
education requirements. Reinstatement is at the discretion of 
the board and may be granted by the executive director of the 
board provided no grounds exist to deny said reinstatement.  

E. A pharmacist who has been registered as inactive for 
more than one year must apply for reinstatement, submit 
documentation showing compliance with continuing 
education requirements, and pay the current year active 
renewal fee in order to resume active licensure.  

F. In order to reactivate or reinstate a license to active status, 
a pharmacist who holds an inactive license, who has allowed 
his license to lapse, or who has had his license suspended or 
revoked must submit evidence of completion of CEU's or 
hours equal to the requirements for the number of years in 
which his license has not been active, not to exceed a total of 
60 hours of CE.  

G. A pharmacist whose license has been lapsed, in inactive 
status, or suspended or revoked for more than five years shall, 
as a condition of reinstatement in addition to 60 hours CE, 
take and receive a passing score on the board-approved law 
examination and furnish acceptable documentation of one of 
the following:  

1. Active pharmacy practice within the past five years as a 
properly licensed pharmacist in another state; or  

2. Practical experience as a pharmacy intern registered 
with the board of at least 160 hours within six months 
immediately prior to being reinstated.  

H. The practice of pharmacy without a current, active 
pharmacist license is unlawful and shall constitute grounds 
for disciplinary action by the board.  

I. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee to 
inform the board of his current address. A licensee shall 
notify the board within 14 days in writing or electronically of 
any change of an address of record. Properly updating address 
of record directly through the board's web-based application 
or other approved means shall constitute lawful notification. 
All notices required by law or by these rules and regulations 
are deemed to be legally given when mailed to the address of 
record and shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to 
comply.  

18VAC110-20-105. Renewal and reinstatement of 
registration.  

A. Pharmacy technician registrations expire on December 31 
and shall be renewed annually prior to that date by the 
submission of a renewal fee, and renewal form, and an e-
profile number issued by NABP. A pharmacy technician 
newly registered on or after July 1 shall not be required to 
renew that registration until December 31 of the following 
year. Failure to receive the application for renewal shall not 
relieve the pharmacy technician of the responsibility for 
renewing the registration by the expiration date.  

B. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 
by the expiration date may renew his registration at any time 
within one year of its expiration by submission of the renewal 
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fee and late fee, renewal form, and attestation of having 
obtained required continuing education.  

C. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 
for more than one year following expiration and who wishes 
to reinstate such registration shall submit an application for 
reinstatement, pay the current renewal fee and a reinstatement 
fee, and submit documentation showing compliance with 
continuing education requirements. Reinstatement is at the 
discretion of the board and may be granted by the executive 
director of the board provided no grounds exist to deny said 
reinstatement. Conducting tasks associated with a pharmacy 
technician with a lapsed registration shall be illegal and may 
subject the registrant to disciplinary action by the board.  

D. A person who fails to reinstate a pharmacy technician 
registration within five years of expiration, shall not be 
eligible for reinstatement and shall repeat an approved 
training program and repeat and pass the examination, or hold 
current PTCB certification, before applying to be reregistered.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5278; Filed April 30, 2019, 12:18 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 
of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 
board to schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to 
subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The 
board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 26, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add three compounds into Schedule I of 
the Drug Control Act as recommended by the Virginia 
Department of Forensic Science pursuant to § 54.1-3443 
of the Code of Virginia. The compounds added by this 
regulatory action will remain in effect for 18 months or 
until the compounds are placed in Schedule I by legislative 
action of the General Assembly.  

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 2-(methylamino)-2-phenyl-cyclohexanone (other name: 
Deschloroketamine), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

2. 2-methyl-1-(4-(methylthio)phenyl)-2-
morpholinopropiophenone (other name: MMMP), its 
optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 
isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

3. Alpha-ethylaminohexanophenone (other name: N-
ethylhexedrone), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

4. N-ethyl-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexylamine (other 
name: 3-methoxy-PCE), its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 
existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

5. 4-fluoro-alpha-pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 4-
fluoro-alpha-PHP), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

6. N-ethyl-1,2-diphenylethylamine (other name: 
Ephenidine), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 
salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation. 

7. Synthetic opioids: 

a. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-1,3-
benzodioxole-5-carboxamide (other name: Benzodioxole 
fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 
isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 
whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 
and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

b. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(diethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-
methylbenzamide (other name: U-49900), its isomers, 
esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 
ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 
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c. 2-(2,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-[2-(dimethylamino) 
cyclohexyl]-N-methylacetamide (other name: U-48800), 
its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 
esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 
the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

8. Central nervous system stimulants: 

a. Methyl 2-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate 
(other name: 4-fluoromethylphenidate), including its 
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers. 

b. Isopropyl-2-phenyl-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate (other 
name: Isopropylphenidate), including its salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers.  

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until August 21, 2019, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act:  

1. Research chemicals:  

a. 2-(ethylamino)-2-phenyl-cyclohexanone (other name: 
deschloro-N-ethyl-ketamine), its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation.  

b. 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-tert-butylcathinone, its optical, 
position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 
isomers, whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation.  

c. 4-fluoro-N-ethylamphetamine, its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation.  

d. Beta-keto-4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine 
(other name: bk-2C-B), its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation.  

2. Synthetic opioids:  

a. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-
2butenamide (other name: Crotonyl fentanyl), its 
isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 
and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation.  

b. 2-(3,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-[2-(dimethylamino) 
cyclohexyl]-N-methylacetamide (other name: U-51754), 
its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 

esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 
the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation.  

c. N-phenyl-N-[4-phenyl-1-(2-phenylethyl)-
4piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: 
4phenylfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 
salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 
excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, 
esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the specific 
chemical designation.  

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until December 12, 2019, unless enacted into law in 
the Drug Control Act. 

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 2,5-dimethoxy-4-chloroamphetamine (other name: 
DOC), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, 
and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

2. Synthetic opioids: 

a. N-(2-fluorophenyl)-2-methoxy-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-
4-piperidinyl]-acetamide (other name: Ocfentanil), its 
isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 
and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(4-methoxyphenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-
piperidinyl]-butanamide (other name: 4-
methoxybutyrylfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 
and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 
specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 
isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 
specific chemical designation. 

c. N-phenyl-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-
piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: Isobutyryl 
fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 
isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 
whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 
and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

d. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-
cyclopentanecarboxamide (other name: Cyclopentyl 
fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 
isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 
whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 
and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 
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e. N-phenyl-N-(1-methyl-4-piperidinyl)-propanamide 
(other name: N-methyl norfentanyl), its isomers, esters, 
ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 
unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 
these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within 
the specific chemical designation. 

3. Cannabimimetic agent: 1-(4-cyanobutyl)-N-(1-methyl-1-
phenylethyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: 4-
cyano CUMYL-BUTINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts 
of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

4. Benzodiazepine: Flualprazolam, its salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until March 4, 2020, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid: N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-
methyl-1,3-benzodioxole-5-carboxamide (other names: 
3,4-methylenedioxy U-47700 or 3,4-MDO-U-47700), its 
isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 
and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

2. Cannabimimetic agent: N-(adamantanyl)-1-(5-
chloropentyl) indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: 5-
chloro-AKB48), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 
isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until May 27, 2020, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

E. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid: N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-
piperidinyl]-benzamide (other names: Phenyl fentanyl, 
Benzoyl fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 
salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 
excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 
ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

2. Research chemicals: 

a. 4-acetyloxy-N,N-diallyltryptamine (other name: 4-
AcO-DALT), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 
existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. 4-chloro-N,N-dimethylcathinone, its optical, position, 
and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers 
whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts 
of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

c. 4-hydroxy-N,N-methylisopropyltryptamine (other 
name: 4-hydroxy-MiPT), its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

d. 3,4-Methylenedioxy-alpha-pyrrolidinohexanophenone 
(other name: MDPHP), its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Cannabimimetic agent: Methyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-
1H-indole-3-carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other 
name: 5-Fluoro-MDMB-PICA), its salts, isomers, and salts 
of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until October 2, 2020, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

F. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-
isopropyl-benzamide (other name: Isopropyl U-47700), its 
isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 
and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation.  

2. Alpha-pyrrolidinoisohexiophenone (other name: alpha-
PiHP), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, 
and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

3. 1-[1-(3-hydroxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 
name: 3-hydroxy PCP), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 
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The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until December 25, 2020, unless enacted into law in 
the Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5898; Filed May 2, 2019, 8:20 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 
18VAC110-20-20, 18VAC110-20-121). 

18VAC110-30. Regulations for Practitioners of the 
Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances (amending 
18VAC110-30-15). 

18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing Wholesale 
Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers 
(amending 18VAC110-50-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 5, 2019 - 9:05 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
201, Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: July 26, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Pharmacy are promulgated 
under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 
Virginia. The proposed regulation is mandated by § 54.1-113 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Fees charged to applicants and licensees of the 
Board of Pharmacy have not been increased since 2002. 
During that time period, there have been three reductions in 
renewal fees, in 2005, 2006 and 2009. The number of 
regulated entities has substantially increased in recent years 
from 12,861 in 2002 to 37,608 in 2018, so the need for 
additional staff, six in 2002 to 12 in 2018, has increased costs 
to the board. Additionally, the cost of inspections has 
increased, as have expenditures for investigation and 
adjudication of disciplinary cases. Enforcement inspection 
and investigative hours have increased from 7,179.30 in fiscal 
year (FY) 2002 to 13,220.30 in FY17. The number of cases 
adjudicated have increased from 269 in 2002 to 651 in 2017. 
Additionally, the board's share of allocated expenditures has 
grown as costs to the department have increased. For 
example, in FY02, information technology costs were 
approximately $300,000; in FY17, they were $1.84 million. 

Expenditures are now projected to exceed revenues in the 
2018-2020 biennium. While the board has maintained a 
positive cash balance due to carry-over revenue, expenditures 

in FY18 of $3,745,630 are projected to exceed revenue of 
$3,131,895 by June 30, 2018. The imbalance will continue to 
grow in the next biennium and beyond. Therefore, the board 
will have a projected shortfall in its budget by 2021 of 
$648,614, which is projected to grow to $2,657,527 by June 
30, 2022. The Board of Pharmacy must amend regulations as 
soon as possible to avoid the additional fee assessments that 
other boards had to adopt or being forced to curtail vital 
functions of inspection and investigation. 

Without adequate revenue to support inspections of pharmacy 
facilities, licensing, and discipline functions, applicants for 
licensure or pharmacy permits cannot be approved in a timely 
manner, thus depriving the citizens of the Commonwealth 
with the pharmacy services needed. Additionally, if there is a 
substantial backlog of disciplinary cases, public health and 
safety may be at risk by allowing practitioners guilty of drug 
diversion or unprofessional conduct to continue in practice 
for several months while awaiting a review and adjudication 
of an investigative report. 

Substance: The board has proposed a 30% increase in all fees 
with the exception of those functions that require an 
inspection, including an initial pharmacy permit and changes 
in location or remodeling. Those fees are set at an amount to 
offset the actual charge to the board by the enforcement 
division of the department. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is avoidance of a 
reduction in investigations or inspections. There are no 
disadvantages to the public. The advantage to the agency is 
adequate revenue to offset expenditures so that a growing 
shortfall can be avoided, which would necessitate a one-time 
assessment for all regulated entities or an additional fee 
increase.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to raise fees. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely1 outweigh the costs for 
the proposed amendments. 

Estimated Economic Impact. 

Background: 

Fees charged to applicants and licensees of the Board of 
Pharmacy have not increased since December 2002.2 During 
that period, there have been three reductions in renewal fees 
(2005, 2006 and 2009), while the rate of price inflation has 
been 33 percent.3 The number of regulated entities has 
substantially increased in recent years (12,861 in 2002 to 
37,608 in 2018); so the need for additional staff (six in 2002 
to 12 in 2018) has increased costs to the Board. Additionally, 
the cost of inspections has increased, as have expenditures for 
investigation and adjudication of disciplinary cases. 
Enforcement inspection and investigative hours have 
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increased from 7,179.30 in Fiscal Year (FY) 2002 to 
13,220.30 in FY 2017. The number of cases adjudicated have 
increased from 269 in 2002 to 651 in 2017. Additionally, the 
Board's share of allocated expenditures has grown as costs to 
the Department of Health Professions (DHP) have increased. 
For example, in FY 2002, information technology (IT) costs 
were approximately $300,000; in FY 2017, IT costs were 
$1.84 million.4 

Code of Virginia § 54.1-113.A (commonly called the 
Callahan Act)5 states that:  

Following the close of any biennium, when the account 
for any regulatory board within the Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation or the 
Department of Health Professions maintained under 
§ 54.1-308 or 54.1-2505 shows expenses allocated to it 
for the past biennium to be more than 10 percent greater 
or less than moneys collected on behalf of the board, it 
shall revise the fees levied by it for certification, 
licensure, registration, or permit and renewal thereof so 
that the fees are sufficient but not excessive to cover 
expenses. 

In FY2017, the Board's expenditures were $3,272,687, while 
its revenues were $3,293,583. DHP projects that expenditures 
for FY2018 will be $3,745,630 and revenues will be 
$3,131,895. Thus, total expenditures for the biennium are 
projected to be $7,018,317, with revenues projected at 
$6,425,478. The projected expenditures are 9.2 percent higher 
than the projected revenues. This being less than 10 percent, 
the mandate to raise fees via the Callahan Act is not yet 
triggered. Nevertheless, DHP does anticipate that 
expenditures will continue to rise faster than revenues, 
necessitating higher fees to cover costs. 

Proposal: 
The Board proposes to increase 110 different fees in this 
regulatory action, primarily those paid by pharmacists, 
pharmacies, pharmacist interns, and pharmacy technicians. In 
addition, the Board is also proposing fee increases for 
practitioners of the healing arts and wholesale manufacturers, 
distributors, and warehousers. The minimum dollar value of 
the proposed fee increases is $5,6 while the maximum dollar 
value of the proposed fee increases is $230.7 

The majority of the fees would increase by approximately 
thirty percent.8 For the fees that result from an inspection, the 
Board plans to increase the current fees to an amount to offset 
the actual costs of enforcement. There are 91 separate fees 
that would be subject to the roughly thirty percent fee 
increase.9 For pharmacists, these cover such areas as initial 
application fees, annual renewal fees, late fees, reinstatement 
fees, facility change and inspection fees, and the innovative 
program approval fee. For practitioners of the healing arts, 
these cover initial application fees, annual renewal fees, late 
fees, and reinstatement fees. For manufacturers and 

distributors, these cover application fees, renewal fees, late 
fees, and reinstatement fees.  

The Board also proposes to increase the fee for facility 
permits where practitioners of the healing arts sell controlled 
substances, from $40 to $50. In addition, the Board proposes 
to repeal several fees related to humane society permits; these 
fees are no longer assessed since these facilities now pay a 
controlled substance registration fee. With the proposed fee 
increases, the DHP projects that the Board will have 
sufficient revenue to offset expenditures by June 30, 2021. 

Analysis: 

DHP points out that without adequate revenue to support 
inspections of pharmacy facilities, licensing and discipline 
functions, applicants for licensure or pharmacy permits 
cannot be approved in a timely manner. This may slow the 
growth of pharmacy services for the citizens of the 
Commonwealth. In addition, sufficient funding is needed to 
carry out the investigative and disciplinary activities of the 
board without creating significant delays in both activities.  If 
there is a substantial backlog of disciplinary cases, public 
health and safety may be at risk by allowing practitioners 
guilty of drug diversion, unprofessional conduct, or careless 
security to continue in practice for several months awaiting a 
review and adjudication of an investigative report. Thus, there 
are both clear benefits and clear costs introduced by the fee 
increases. 

It is not 100 percent certain whether or not the benefits 
exceed the costs. Since regulation of professions is not a 
market good, there is not an obvious market price at which 
speedier license processing and disciplinary investigations are 
valued. Nevertheless, since the proposed fee increases bring 
fees to approximately the same level as 15 years ago once 
inflation is taken into consideration, the benefits likely 
outweigh the costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect all entities that and individuals who are regulated by 
the Board, including: 1,857 pharmacies, 14,714 pharmacists, 
1,848 pharmacy interns, 14,552 pharmacy technicians, 140 
pharmacy technician-training programs, 727 physicians 
selling controlled substances, 175 physician selling drugs 
locations, 10 pilot programs, 2 repackaging training 
programs, 66 restricted manufacturers, 47 warehousers, 116 
wholesale distributors, 1,196 business controlled substance 
registrants, 9 continuing education course providers, 19 
limited use pharmacy technicians, 258 medical equipment 
suppliers, 335 nonresident medical equipment suppliers, 26 
nonresident outsourcing facilities, 732 nonresident 
pharmacies, 749 nonresident wholesale distributors, 29 non-
restricted manufacturers, and 1 permitted physician.10 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  
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Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed fee increases 
are not likely to significantly affect employment but may at 
the margin discourage the creation of a limited number of 
positions at affected firms. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed fee increases moderately increase costs for affected 
businesses and would have a commensurate moderate effect 
on their value. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed fee increases raise 
costs for small pharmacies and other small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. If 
decision makers were to decide that not all current functions 
of the Board were necessary, or necessary to perform at the 
frequency or speed supported by the revenue that would be 
raised by the proposed fee increases, then smaller fee 
increases could potentially be set. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed fee increases raise costs for 
pharmacies, pharmacy technician-training programs, 
repackaging training programs, manufacturers, warehousers, 
wholesale distributors, continuing education course providers, 
medical equipment suppliers, outsourcing facilities, and 
physician practices that sell drugs. 

Localities. The proposed fee increases would not likely 
significantly adversely affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed fee increases would not likely 
significantly adversely affect other entities. 

__________________________ 
1This is not 100 percent certain. See Analysis subsection for discussion. 
2This applies to fees that existed in 2002. There have been new fees 
introduced since then. Verification fees for the pharmacy professions were 
added in 2015 (http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm 
?actionid=3444), and permit fees for practitioners selling controlled 
substances were added in 2017 
(http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4451). 
3This rate of inflation is calculated using the Gross Domestic Product: 
Implicit Price Deflator. See https://fred.stlouisfed.org/series/GDPDEF 
4All data (other than inflation rate) provided by Department of Health 
Professions. 
5See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-113/ 

6Several fees are proposed to increase from $15 to $20 (the pharmacy intern 
registration fee, the late fee for an inactive pharmacist license, and the late 
fee for approval of a pharmacy technician training program), or from $10 to 
$15 (the late fee for approval of a repackaging training program, and the 
duplicate license or registration fee). 
7Some fees would increase from $270 to $500; these include the pharmacy 
permit application fee and the permit for a physician who is licensed to 
dispense drugs. This latter fee was just introduced in 2017. See 
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4451. 
8The actual percentages range from 28.57 percent to 33.33 percent for those 
fees that are increasing by approximately 30 percent. 
9For a more complete list of the proposed fee increases, see 
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewXML.cfm?textid=12504. 
10Data source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Pharmacy concurs with the Analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments increase Board of Pharmacy 
fees to cover expenses for essential functions of reviewing 
applications, licensing, inspecting, investigating 
complaints against licensees, and adjudicating and 
monitoring disciplinary cases. The board proposes a 30% 
increase in all fees, with the exception of those functions 
that require an inspection, including an initial pharmacy 
permit and changes in location or remodeling, which are 
set at the actual charge to the board by the enforcement 
division of the Department of Health Professions.  

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 
examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 
as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $180 $235 

2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 $20 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 $35 

4. Pharmacy permit $270 $500 

5. Permitted physician licensed to 
dispense drugs 

$270 $500 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit $180 $235 

7. Humane society permit $20 

8. 7. Outsourcing facility permit $270 $350 

9. 8. Nonresident pharmacy registration $270 $350 

10. 9. Nonresident outsourcing facility 
registration 

$270 $350 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=3444
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=3444
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4451
https://fred.stlouisfed.org/series/GDPDEF
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-113/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4451
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewXML.cfm?textid=12504
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11. 10. Controlled substances 
registrations  

$90 $120 

12. 11. Innovative program approval. 

If the board determines that a technical 
consultant is required in order to make 
a decision on approval, any consultant 
fee, not to exceed the actual cost, shall 
also be paid by the applicant in addition 
to the application fee. 

$250 $325 

13. 12. Approval of a pharmacy 
technician training program 

$150 $200 

14. 13. Approval of a continuing 
education program 

$100 $130 

15. 14. Approval of a repackaging 
training program 

$50 $65 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

1. Pharmacist active license – due no 
later than December 31 

$90 $120 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – due no 
later than December 31 

$45 $60 

3. Pharmacy technician registration – 
due no later than December 31 

$25 $35 

4. Pharmacy permit – due no later than 
April 30 

$270 $350 

5. Physician permit to practice 
pharmacy – due no later than February 
28 

$270 $350 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit – 
due no later than February 28 

$180 $235 

7. Humane society permit – due no later 
than February 28 

$20 

8. 7. Outsourcing facility permit – due 
no later than April 30 

$270 $350 

9. 8. Nonresident pharmacy registration 
– due no later than the date of initial 
registration 

$270 $350 

10. 9. Nonresident outsourcing facility 
registration – due no later than the date 
of initial registration 

$270 $350 

11. 10. Controlled substances 
registrations – due no later than 
February 28 

$90 $120 

12. 11. Innovative program continued 
approval based on board order not to 
exceed $200 $260 per approval period. 

  

13. 12. Approval of a pharmacy 
technician training program 

$75 $100 
every two 

years 

14. 13. Approval of a repackaging 
training program 

$30 $40 
every two 

years 

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 
to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within 
one year of the expiration date or within two years in the case 
of a pharmacy technician training program. In addition, 
engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 
or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 
board.  

1. Pharmacist license $30 $40 

2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 $20 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 $15 

4. Pharmacy permit $90 $120 

5. Physician permit to practice 
pharmacy 

$90 $120 

6. Medical equipment supplier permit $60 $80 

7. Humane society permit $5 

8. 7. Outsourcing facility permit $90 $120 

9. 8. Nonresident pharmacy 
registration 

$90 $120 

10. 9. Nonresident outsourcing facility 
registration 

$90 $120 

11. 10. Controlled substances 
registrations 

$30 $40 

12. 11. Approval of a pharmacy 
technician training program 

$15 $20 

13. 12. Approval of a repackaging 
training program 

$10 $15 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 
renew a license, permit, or registration more than one year 
after the expiration date, or more than two years after the 
expiration date in the case of a pharmacy technician training 
program, shall submit an application for reinstatement with 
any required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 
board and, except for reinstatement following license 
revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 
director of the board upon completion of an application and 
payment of any required fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $210 $275 

2. Pharmacist license after revocation 
or suspension 

$500 $650 
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3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 $45 

4. Pharmacy technician registration 
after revocation or suspension 

$125 $165 

5. Facilities or entities that cease 
operation and wish to resume shall not 
be eligible for reinstatement but shall 
apply for a new permit or registration. 
Facilities or entities that failed to 
renew and continued to operate for 
more than one renewal cycle shall pay 
the current and all back renewal fees 
for the years in which they were 
operating plus the following 
reinstatement fees: 

  

a. Pharmacy permit $240 $315 

b. Physician permit to practice 
pharmacy 

$240 $315 

c. Medical equipment supplier permit $210 $275 

d. Humane society permit $30 

e. d. Outsourcing facility permit $240 $315 

f. e. Nonresident pharmacy 
registration 

$115 $150 

g. f. Nonresident outsourcing facility 
registration 

$240 $315 

h. g. Controlled substances 
registration 

$180 $235 

i. h. Approval of a pharmacy 
technician training program 

$75 $100 

j. i. Approval of a repackaging 
training program 

$50 $65 

G. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or 
other entities.  

1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $50 $65 

2. Change of ownership for any facility $50 $65 

3. Inspection for remodeling or change 
of location for any facility 

$150 $300 

4. Reinspection of any facility $150 $300 

5. Board-required inspection for a 
robotic pharmacy system 

$150 $300 

6. Board-required inspection of an 
innovative program location 

$150 $300 

7. Change of pharmacist responsible 
for an approved innovative program 

$25 $35 

H. Miscellaneous fees.  

1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 $50 

2. Returned check $35 

3. Duplicate license or registration $10 $15 

4. Verification of licensure or registration $25 $35 

18VAC110-20-121. Innovative program approval.  

A. An informal conference committee of the board may 
approve an innovative or pilot program in accordance with § 
54.1-3307.2 of the Code of Virginia upon receipt of an 
application and fee specified in 18VAC110-20-20.  

B. If the informal conference committee determines that an 
inspection is necessary to adequately consider an application, 
it may require that the applicant pay a fee specified in 
18VAC110-20-20 to cover the cost of the inspection.  

C. If the informal conference committee determines that a 
technical consultant is necessary in order for the board to 
make an informed decision on approval of a program, the 
applicant shall pay a consultant fee, not to exceed the actual 
cost of the consultation.  

D. In the initial order granting approval of a program, the 
informal conference committee shall set the approval period 
with a schedule for submission of required reports and 
outcome data. The frequency of required reports shall not 
exceed four times a year.  

E. The informal conference committee shall determine the 
appropriate fee for continued approval of the program based 
on the requirements for review and monitoring. Such renewal 
fee shall not exceed $200 $260 per approval period.  

18VAC110-30-15. Fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable.  

B. Initial application fees. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 
controlled substances: $180 $235. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing 
arts sell controlled substances: $240 $315. 

C. Annual renewal fees. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 
controlled substances: $90 $120. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing 
arts sell controlled substances: $240 $315. 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 
addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired 
license within one year of the expiration date. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 
controlled substances: $30 $40. 
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2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing 
arts sell controlled substances: $40 $50. 

E. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 
renew a license or permit more than one year after the 
expiration date shall submit an application for reinstatement 
with any required fees. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 
controlled substances: $150 $195. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing 
arts sell controlled substances: $240 $315. 

3. Application fee for reinstatement of a license or permit 
that has been revoked or suspended indefinitely: $500 
$650. 

F. Facilities in which only one practitioner of the healing 
arts is licensed by the board to sell controlled substances shall 
be exempt from fees associated with obtaining and renewing 
a facility permit. Facilities that change from only one 
practitioner to more than one shall notify the board within 30 
days of such change.  

G. The fee for reinspection of any facility shall be $150 300.  

H. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

18VAC110-50-20. Fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable.  

B. Initial application fees.  

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 $350 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 $235 

3. Wholesale distributor license $270 $350 

4. Warehouser permit $270 $350 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor 
registration 

$270 $350 

6. Controlled substances registration $90 $120 

7. Third-party logistics provider permit $270 $350 

8. Nonresident manufacturer registration $270 $350 

9. Nonresident warehouser registration $270 $350 

10. Nonresident third-party logistics 
provider registration 

$270 $350 

C. Annual renewal fees shall be due on February 28 of each 
year.  

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 $350 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 $235 

3. Wholesale distributor license $270 $350 

4. Warehouser permit $270 $350 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor 
registration 

$270 $350 

6. Controlled substances registration $90 $120 

7. Third-party logistics provider permit $270 $350 

8. Nonresident manufacturer registration $270 $350 

9. Nonresident warehouser registration $270 $350 

10. Nonresident third-party logistics 
provider registration 

$270 $350 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 
addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired 
license within one year of the expiration date. In addition, 
engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 
or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 
board.  

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $90 $120 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $60 $80 

3. Wholesale distributor license $90 $120 

4. Warehouser permit $90 $120 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor 
registration 

$90 $120 

6. Controlled substances registration $30 $40 

7. Third-party logistics provider permit $90 $120 

8. Nonresident manufacturer registration $90 $120 

9. Nonresident warehouser registration $90 $120 

10. Nonresident third-party logistics 
provider registration 

$90 $120 

E. Reinstatement fees.  

1. Any entity attempting to renew a license, permit, or 
registration more than one year after the expiration date 
shall submit an application for reinstatement with any 
required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 
board and, except for reinstatement following license 
revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 
director of the board upon completion of an application 
and payment of any required fees.  

2. Engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 
registration after the expiration date of such license, 
permit, or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary 
action by the board. Facilities or entities that cease 
operation and wish to resume shall not be eligible for 
reinstatement, but shall apply for a new permit or 
registration.  

3. Facilities or entities that failed to renew and continued to 
operate for more than one renewal cycle shall pay the 
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current and all back renewal fees for the years in which 
they were operating plus the following reinstatement fees:  

a. Nonrestricted manufacturer 
permit 

$240 $315 

b. Restricted manufacturer 
permit 

$210 $275 

c. Wholesale distributor 
license 

$240 $315 

d. Warehouser permit $240 $315 

e. Nonresident wholesale 
distributor registration 

$240 $315 

f. Controlled substances 
registration 

$180 $235 

g. Third-party logistics 
provider permit 

$240 $315 

h. Nonresident manufacturer 
registration 

$240 $315 

i. Nonresident warehouser 
registration 

$240 $315 

j. Nonresident third-party 
logistics provider registration 

$240 $315 

F. Application for change or inspection fees.  

1. Reinspection fee $150 $300 

2. Inspection fee for change of 
location, structural changes, or 
security system changes 

$150 $300 

3. Change of ownership fee $50 $65 

4. Change of responsible party $50 $65 

G. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

H. The fee for verification of license, permit, or registration 
shall be $25 $35. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5322; Filed May 8, 2019, 2:58 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 
Reproposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physical Therapy (adding 18VAC112-20-
121).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 27, 2019 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health Professions, 
Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor 
Conference Center, Hearing Room 3 Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: July 6, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 
Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 
527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical 
Therapy (18VAC112-20) are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Physical Therapy the authority to 
promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The purpose of the action is to specify the qualifications 
for and limitations of the practice of dry needling as performed 
by physical therapists. For physical therapists, dry needling is not 
an entry level skill for which competency has been assured 
through an accredited educational program and national 
examination. It is an advanced procedure that requires additional 
training, referral and direction, and informed consent. Without a 
regulatory standard, the board cannot hold a physical therapist 
accountable for requirements specific to dry needling. Therefore, 
the board has determined that regulations are necessary to protect 
the health and safety of patients who may receive dry needling in 
the course of a physical therapy treatment. 

Substance: Upon recommendation of a regulatory advisory 
panel, which was convened to consider comment on proposed 
regulations and to identify any additional safeguards that 
should be included in regulation, the following clarifications 
and changes have been proposed: 

18VAC112-20-121 B states that dry needling is not an entry 
level skill but an advanced procedure that requires additional 
training. The term "post-graduate" is added to clarify that the 
additional training must occur subsequent to a physical 
therapist's graduate education in physical therapy. 

18VAC112-20-121 B 2 specifies that the training must 
consist of didactic and hands-on laboratory education and 
must include passage of a theoretical and practical 
examination. The hands-on laboratory education shall be 
face-to-face. 

18VAC112-20-121 B 3 specifies that the training must be in a 
course certified by the Federation of State Boards of Physical 
Therapy or approved or provided by a sponsor listed in 
regulations on continuing education. 

18VAC112-20-121 B 4 specifies that the practitioner shall 
not practice beyond the scope of the highest level of the 
practitioner's training. 

18VAC112-20-121 C is amended to delete a requirement that 
the informed consent must clearly state that the patient is not 
receiving an acupuncture treatment. 

18VAC112-20-121 D is added to provide that dry needling 
can only be performed by a physical therapist trained 
pursuant to 18VAC112-20-121 B and cannot be delegated to 
a physical therapist assistant or other support personnel. 
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Issues: The board believes the proposed regulation offers the 
advantage of protection for patients who receive a dry 
needling procedure during the course of physical therapy 
treatment. Regulatory requirements for referral, training, and 
informed consent provide greater assurance of competency 
and accountability than the guidance document that currently 
exists. The board does not believe there are disadvantages to 
the public as the procedure is limited in scope and relatively 
safe to perform. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Physical Therapy (the board) proposes to add to its 
main regulation provisions regarding the practice of dry 
needling including referral, training, informed consent, and 
disclosure requirements. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Dry needling is a technique used in 
the practice of physical therapy to treat muscle tension and pain 
by inserting a special type of needle into areas of the muscle 
known as trigger points. According to the board, dry needling 
has been performed by physical therapists in Virginia for more 
than a decade. Currently, physical therapists performing the 
procedure are subject to the board's guidance document 112-9, 
which sets out referral, training, informed consent, and 
disclosure requirements for practice of dry needling.1 The board 
proposes to add to this regulation provisions that are 
substantially similar to those in the guidance document. Adding 
these provisions to the regulation should not create any 
significant economic effects as there will be no change in 
practice. One notable exception is that 54 hours of post-
professional training is required under the guidance while the 
proposed regulation does not state a specific number of training 
hours. This provision is not being added because the scope and 
content of each training may be different. However, a 
practitioner is not permitted to perform dry needling beyond the 
scope of the highest level of his training. 

According to the board, if a physical therapist who has not 
received education and training in dry needling chooses to 
add it as a modality for his/her patients, there are a variety of 
courses offered. Most involve multi-day seminars with hands-
on training and cost approximately $1,000. Thus, under the 
regulations, some physical therapists may be able to obtain 
sufficient training at less than the current cost while some 
others may have to incur a larger cost. In any event, practice 
of dry needling is voluntary, and by choosing to offer it as a 
modality, a therapist reveals that expected benefits to him or 
her are greater than the expected costs. 

The board also notes that without a regulatory standard, a 
physical therapist cannot be held accountable for 

requirements specific to dry needling. Thus, having the 
requirements in regulations could improve enforcement, 
should there be a violation.2 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 7,786 
physical therapists licensed in Virginia. Not all of the 
physical therapists perform dry needling. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 
statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 
is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 
on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most if not all of the physical 
therapists work in offices that are small business.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

No adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 
adverse impact on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect other entities. 

________________________ 
1This guidance document posted on the Regulatory Town Hall on August 
2010 can be found at: 
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:\TownHall\docroot\Guida
nceDocs\223\GDoc_DHP_3650_v2.pdf 
2DHP is unaware of any complaints regarding the practice of dry needling by 
physical therapists at least since 2010 when the guidance was adopted. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Physical Therapy concurs with the analysis of the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

This action establishes the qualifications for and 
limitations of the performance of dry needling by physical 
therapists, including referral and direction from a medical 
practitioner, training, requirements for additional post-

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs%5C223%5CGDoc_DHP_3650_v2.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs%5C223%5CGDoc_DHP_3650_v2.pdf
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graduate training, the content of the post-graduate 
training, and informed consent. 

18VAC112-20-121. Practice of dry needling. 

A. Dry needling is an invasive procedure that requires 
referral and direction in accordance with § 54.1-3482 of the 
Code of Virginia. Referral should be in writing; if the initial 
referral is received orally, it shall be followed up with a 
written referral. 

B. Dry needling is not an entry level skill but an advanced 
procedure that requires additional [ post-graduate ] training.  

[ 1. ] The training shall be specific to dry needling and 
shall include emergency preparedness and response, 
contraindications and precautions, secondary effects or 
complications, palpation and needle techniques, and 
physiological responses. 

[ 2. The training shall consist of didactic and hands-on 
laboratory education and shall include passage of a 
theoretical and practical examination. The hands-on 
laboratory education shall be face-to-face. 

3. The training shall be in a course certified by FSBPT or 
approved or provided by a sponsor listed in subsection B of 
18VAC112-20-131. 

4. The practitioner shall not perform dry needling beyond 
the scope of the highest level of the practitioner's training. ]  

C. Prior to the performance of dry needling, the physical 
therapist shall obtain informed consent from the patient or his 
representative. The informed consent shall include the risks 
and benefits of the technique [ and shall clearly state that the 
patient is not receiving an acupuncture treatment ]. The 
informed consent form shall be maintained in the patient 
record. 

[ D. Dry needling shall only be performed by a physical 
therapist trained pursuant to subsection B of this section and 
shall not be delegated to a physical therapist assistant or other 
support personnel. ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4433; Filed April 30, 2019, 2:49 p.m.  
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the initial or 
additional public comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 
guidance document may be delayed for an additional comment period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies to initiate or extend a public 
comment period. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance 
document to access it. Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 
East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Policy and Procedure Manual 
Memorandum 19-01. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Advisor, 
Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 
Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 
662-7093, or email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Titles of Documents:  

Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund Reimbursement 
Guidance Manual, Volume VI. 

Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund Reimbursement 
Guidance Manual, Volume VII, Usual and Customary Rates. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main 
Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 698-4378, or email 
cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Titles of Documents:  

DMV 206 Military Guide. 

Sample Virginia Addendum. 

DMV 255 Troops to TrucksSM. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Effective Date: June 27, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Senior Policy 
Analyst, Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or 
email melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 
Title of Document: Guidance Document: Hybrid Appraisals. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Effective Date: June 27, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Mary Broz-Vaughan, Deputy Director for 
Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8537, or email 
mary.broz-vaughan@dpor.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Title of Document: Child Care Subsidy Program Guidance 
Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Room 
1507, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017, or 
email karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
Title of Document: Guidelines for Remote Sellers and 
Marketplace Facilitators. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2019. 

Effective Date: June 27, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 
23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, or email 
joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c0561005949%7E81.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c0561005949%7E81.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f98a005949%7E4I.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f98a005949%7E4I.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19ada005949%7E5I.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19ada005949%7E5I.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
mailto:cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=acd69005949%7E2e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20dc0005949%7E3m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b5044005949%7E1s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a057a005949%7E6s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
mailto:mary.broz-vaughan@dpor.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f2af005949%7E7l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f2af005949%7E7l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
mailto:karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19c34005949%7E9s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19c34005949%7E9s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005949&mime=application/pdf
mailto:joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 
Opportunity for Public Comment on the Proposed 

State Implementation Plan Revision - Northern 
Virginia Ozone Nonattainment Area Certifications 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 
proposed plan to attain and maintain the national ambient air 
quality standard (NAAQS) for ozone in the Northern Virginia 
Ozone Nonattainment Area. The Commonwealth intends to 
submit the plan as a revision to the Commonwealth of 
Virginia State Implementation Plan (SIP) in accordance with 
the requirements of § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act (the 
Act). The SIP is the plan developed by the Commonwealth in 
order to fulfill its responsibilities to attain and maintain the 
ambient air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking public comment on the 
overall plan and on the issue of whether the plan 
demonstrates Virginia's ability to implement EPA's emissions 
statement requirements and nonattainment new source review 
program for ozone nonattainment areas subject to the 2015 
NAAQS. 

Public comment period: May 27, 2019, to June 26, 2019. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a 
request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 
this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 
the full name, address, and telephone number of the person 
requesting the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last 
day of the public comment period. Notice of the date, time, 
and location of any requested public hearing will be 
announced in a separate notice, and another 30-day comment 
period will be conducted. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision consists of a 
certification for the Northern Virginia Ozone Nonattainment 
Area that Virginia's existing emissions statement 
requirements are at least as stringent as the requirements at 
§ 182(a)(3)(B) of the federal Clean Air Act. The 
nonattainment area consists of the Counties of Arlington, 
Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William; and the Cities of 
Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas 
Park. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 
public participation requirements of 40 CFR 51.102. The 
proposal will be submitted as a revision to the 
Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the federal 
Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. DEQ plans 
to submit all provisions of the proposal as a revision to the 
SIP. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 
must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ on the last 
day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 
the public record. 

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting 
documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 
Plans website at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air 
/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx. The documents 
may also be obtained by contacting the DEQ representative 
listed. The public may review the documents between 
8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business day until the close 
of the public comment period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070 and 2) Northern 
Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA, 
telephone (703) 583-3800. 

Contact Information: Doris A. McLeod, 1111 East Main 
Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1405, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 698-4197, FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 
doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 
Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Board for Contractors is conducting a periodic review and 
small business impact review of each listed regulation. The 
review of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 
Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

18VAC50-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC50-22, Board for Contractors Regulations 

18VAC50-30, Individual License and Certification 
Regulations 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 27, 2019, and ends June 
17, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board 
for Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
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VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, 
or email contractor@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 
on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of the 
small business impact review will be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Meherrin Solar LLC Revised Notice of Intent - Small 

Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Brink, 
Greensville County 

Meherrin Solar LLC, a wholly-owned subsidiary of 
Brookfield Renewable, has provided to the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Brink, Virginia pursuant 
to 9VAC15-60. The project has increased in size since the 
previous Notice of Intent was published in 33:24 VA.R. 2738 
July 24, 2017. The project is located on the east and west side 
of Pine Logging Road and south of Brink Road in Greensville 
County. The project will be sited on roughly 840 acres across 
multiple parcels. The solar array will connect up to 60 
megawatts alternating current (AC) to Dominion Virginia 
Power's grid via a new 115-kilovolt substation built off of a 
nearby Dominion-owned transmission line. The project will 
conceptually use 215,000 395-watt standard photovoltaic 
solar panels on a single axis tracker to follow the sun 
throughout the day.  

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Notice of Public Comment Opportunity - 2020 Water 
Quality Assessment Guidance Manual 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will release the draft 2020 Water Quality Assessment 
Guidance Manual on May 28, 2019. 

Virginia's 2020 Water Quality Assessment Guidance Manual 
contains the assessment procedures and methods to be used 
for the development of Virginia's 2020 § 305(b)/§ 303(d) 
Integrated (i.e., combined Water Quality Assessment and 
Impaired Waters) Report. The assessment guidance seeks to 
address all key elements of the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency's (EPA) 2006 Assessment Guidance and subsequent 
updates through April 2019. In addition, the assessment 
guidance includes the assessment methodology for the 
Chesapeake Bay Water Quality Standards established by EPA 

and adopted by Virginia (Ambient Water Quality Criteria for 
Dissolved Oxygen, Water Clarity, and Chlorophyll a for the 
Chesapeake Bay and Its Tidal Tributaries). 

A copy of the draft 2020 Water Quality Assessment Guidance 
Manual will be available for download on May 28, 2019, 
from the DEQ Water Quality Assessment webpage at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/WaterQualityAssessments.aspx. A hard 
copy can also be requested from Amanda Shaver, DEQ Water 
Quality Assessment Coordinator, using the contact 
information listed at the end of this notice. 

Modifications have been made to the guidance document 
since 2018. The most notable change pertains to the inclusion 
of the recently effective EPA Chesapeake Bay Technical 
Addendum. A complete list of significant guidance 
modifications are described in Part II of the manual. 

Section 62.1-44.19:5 C of the Code of Virginia requires DEQ 
to develop and publish the procedures used for defining and 
determining impaired waters and to provide for public 
comment on the procedures. The public is invited to submit 
written comments through June 27, 2019. Comments should 
include the name, address, telephone number, and, if 
applicable, the email address of each person or organization 
submitting comments. Comments and related correspondence 
should be addressed to Amanda Shaver. Responses to 
comments received will be made collectively, via a response 
document. The response document will be posted on the 
assessment webpage along with the final guidance manual. 

Contact Information: Amanda Shaver, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4181, FAX (804) 698-4032, or 
via email amanda.shaver@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
State Board of Health is conducting a periodic review and 
small business impact review of each listed regulation. The 
review of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 
Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss24/v33i24.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss24/v33i24.pdf
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12VAC5-90, Regulations for Disease Reporting and 
Control 

12VAC5-115, Virginia Immunization Information System 

Agency Contact: Kristin Collins, Policy Analyst, Virginia 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 864-7298, or email 
kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov. 

12VAC5-508, Regulations Governing the Virginia 
Physician Loan Repayment Program 

12VAC5-510, Regulations for General Assembly Nursing 
Scholarships 

12VAC5-540, Rules and Regulations for the Identification 
of Medically Underserved Areas in Virginia 

Agency Contact: Olivette Burroughs, Program Manager, 
Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7431, or email 
olivette.burroughs@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Public comment period begins May 27, 2019, and ends June 
17, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to the agency contacts listed in this notice. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 
on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of the 
small business impact review will be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 
Schedule for the Assessment of State and Federal 

Mandates on Local Governments 
Pursuant to the provisions of § 2.2-613 and subdivision 6 of 
§ 15.2-2903 of the Code of Virginia, the following schedule, 
established by the Commission on Local Government and 
approved by Secretary of Commerce and Trade, R. Brian 
Ball, and Governor Ralph S. Northam, represents the 
timetable that the listed executive agencies will follow in 
conducting their assessments of certain state and federal 
mandates that they administer that are imposed on local 
governments. Such mandates are new (in effect for at least 24 
months), newly identified, or have been significantly altered 
as to warrant a reassessment of the mandate (and have been in 
effect for 24 months). In conducting these assessments, 
agencies will follow the process established by Executive 
Order 58, which became effective October 11, 2007. These 
mandates are abstracted in the Catalog of State and Federal 
Mandates on Local Governments published by the 
Commission on Local Government. 

For further information, contact Kristen Dahlman, Senior 
Policy Analyst, Commission on Local Government, telephone 
(804) 371-7017, email kristen.dahlman@dhcd.virginia.gov, 
or visit the Commission's website at www.dhcd.virginia.gov. 

STATE AND FEDERAL MANDATES ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 

Approved Schedule of Assessment Periods – July 2019 through June 2020 

For Executive Agency Assessment of Cataloged Mandates 

AGENCY CATALOG ASSESSMENT 

Mandate Short Title NUMBER PERIOD 

   

AUDITOR OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS    

Local Stormwater Utility Program Reporting LEG.APA003 7/01/19 to 8/30/19 

   

AGING AND REHABILITATIVE SERVICES   

Adult Protective Services SHHR.DARS004 10/01/19 to 12/31/19 

   

EDUCATION, DEPARTMENT OF   

Vision and Hearing of Student to be Tested SOE.DOE088 8/01/19 to 9/30/19 

Student Code of Conduct  SOE.DOE 8/01/19 to 9/30/19 

Approved by the Commission on March 14, 2019 

mailto:kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov
mailto:olivette.burroughs@vdh.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Opportunity for Public Comment on Draft Durable 
Medical Equipment Provider Manual for  

Stakeholder Input 
Public comment period: April 30, 2019, through May 30, 
2019. 

Changes to the Durable Medical Equipment Provider Manual 
(Chapters 4 and 6) are now posted on the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services website at 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for public 
comment through May 30, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 
Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 
786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Opportunity for Public Comment on Draft Peer 
Recovery Support Services Supplement for 

Stakeholder Input 
Public comment period: May 8, 2019, through June 7, 2019. 

Changes to the Peer Recovery Support Services Supplement 
are now posted on the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services website at 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for public 
comment through June 7, 2019. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 
Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 
786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation is 
conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of 18VAC120-30, Regulations Governing 
Polygraph Examiners. The review of this regulation will be 
guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 
July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 27, 2019, and ends June 
17, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Eric L. Olson, Department of Professional 
and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-7226, FAX 
(866) 430-1033, or email polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
State Board of Social Services is conducting a periodic 
review and small business impact review of 22VAC40-890, 
Human Subjects Research Regulations. The review of this 
regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 
14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economic performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 27, 2018, and ends June 
17, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Eleanor Brown, IRB Administrator and 
Chair, Virginia Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7076, 
FAX (804) 726-7906, or email 
eleanor.brown@dss.virginia.gov. 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
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Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY 
OPERATORS 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Board for Waste Management Facility Operators is 
conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of each listed regulation. The review of each 
regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 
14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

18VAC155-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC155-20, Waste Management Facility Operators 
Regulations 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 27, 2019, and ends June 
17, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board 
for Waste Management Facility Operators, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-
8511, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email 
wastemgt@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 
on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of the 
small business impact review will be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Proposed Enforcement Action for Fauquier County 

Public Schools 
An enforcement action has been proposed for Fauquier 
County Public Schools for violations of the State Water 
Control Law at the H.M. Pearson Elementary School sewage 
treatment plant facility located in Fauquier County, Virginia. 
A description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office listed in this 
notice or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jim Datko will 
accept comments by email at james.datko@deq.virginia.gov 
or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 
VA 22193, from May 28, 2019, through June 27, 2019. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Fauquier County 
Public Schools 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Fauquier 
County Public Schools for violations of the State Water 
Control Law at the Mary Walter Elementary School sewage 
treatment plant facility located in Fauquier County, Virginia. 
A description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office listed in this 
notice or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jim Datko will 
accept comments by email at james.datko@deq.virginia.gov 
or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 
VA 22193, from May 28, 2019, through June 27, 2019. 

Proposed Consent Order for Forza Automotive 
Group Corporation 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Forza 
Automotive Group Corporation for violations of the State 
Water Control Law and regulations at the Forza Automotive 
facility located in Fredericksburg, Virginia. The State Water 
Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to resolve 
violations associated with the Forza Automotive facility. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office listed in this 
notice or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland 
will accept comments by email at 
benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or by postal mail at 
Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 
Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 
May 28, 2019, through June 27, 2019. 

Proposed Consent Order for Vistas at  
Lake Manassas LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Vistas at Lake 
Manassas LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law 
and regulations at the Vistas at Lake Manassas facility located 
in Gainesville, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to resolve violations 
associated with the Vistas at Lake Manassas facility. A 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
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description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office listed in this 
notice or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland 
will accept comments by email at 
benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or by postal mail at 
Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 
Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 
May 28, 2019, through June 27, 2019. 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
State Water Control Board is conducting a periodic review 
and small business impact review of each listed regulation. 
The review of each regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

9VAC25-31, Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (VPDES) Permit Regulation 

9VAC25-230, Procedural Rule No. 1 - Public and Formal 
Hearing Procedures 

9VAC25-401, Sewage Treatment in the Dulles Area 
Watershed 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 27, 2019, and ends June 
17, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Melissa Porterfield, Office of Regulatory 
Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 
(804) 698-4019, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 
on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of the 
small business impact review will be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Water Control Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC25-101, Tank Vessel Oil Discharge 
Contingency Plan and Financial Responsibility 
Regulation, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The State Water Control Board is 
publishing its report of findings dated March 4, 2019, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 
Code of Virginia. 

The regulation continues to be needed. This regulation 
requires operators of tank vessels transporting or transferring 
oil as cargo upon state waters to develop contingency plans. 
No comments were received during the periodic review. This 
is not a state specific requirement, and vessels are required to 
develop these plans to meet federal requirements found in the 
Oil Pollution Control Act of 1990. Virginia's regulation has 
been written to minimize the regulatory burden on the 
regulated community by maintaining consistency with the 
requirements of federal regulations. By complying with 
specific provisions of the Oil Pollution Control Act of 1990, a 
vessel operator is complying with Virginia's regulation, and 
no additional action is required by the vessel operator. This 
regulation was last amended in 2015 to maintain consistency 
with federal law and state statute. The regulation remains 
consistent with federal laws, regulation, and state statute. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 
Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Water Control Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC25-580, Underground Storage Tanks: 
Technical Standards and Corrective Action 
Requirements, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The State Water Control Board is 
publishing its report of findings dated March 15, 2019, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 
Code of Virginia. 

The regulation continues to be needed to protect human 
health and the environment. No comments were received 
during the public comment period for the periodic review. 
The regulation is complex and technical in nature and is 
based on federal regulatory language. The regulation 
incorporates both federal requirements for underground 
storage tanks (USTs) and also state building code 
requirements for USTs. By maintaining consistency with the 
federal UST and state building code requirements, confusion 
within the regulated community is minimized. This regulation 
was last amended in 2018 to maintain consistency with 
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40 CFR 280. The regulation is consistent with current federal 
requirements applicable to USTs. The state regulation is 
written to be only as stringent as the federal UST 
requirements that sought to minimize where possible the 
economic impact of regulations on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 
Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email  
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Water Control Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC25-590, Petroleum Underground Storage 
Tank Financial Responsibility Requirements, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The State Water Control Board is publishing its 
report of findings dated March 26, 2019, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 
Virginia. 

The regulation continues to be needed to protect human 
health and the environment. No comments were received 
during the public comment period for the periodic review. 
The regulation is complex and technical in nature due to the 
fact the regulation addresses financial assurance requirements 
for underground storage tanks (USTs) and the various 
mechanisms that may be used to demonstrate financial 
assurance. Virginia's regulation is similar to the federal 
regulation concerning the financial assurance mechanisms 
available to owners and operators; however, the state 
regulation provides an additional financial assurance 
mechanism not mentioned in the federal regulation and 
allows owners and operators the ability to use the Virginia 
Petroleum Storage Tank Fund to assist owners and operators 
with demonstrating financial assurance. This regulation was 
last amended in 2018 to maintain consistency with 40 CFR 
280. The regulation is consistent with current federal 
requirements applicable to USTs. The regulation, as currently 
written, minimizes the impact on small businesses, and 
Virginia's regulation is less obtrusive on small governments 
than the applicable federal regulation. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 
Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email  
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 
/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 
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