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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 
pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Thomas M. Moncure, 
Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; 
Malfourd W. Trumbo; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 
Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2019 through August 2020 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

36:1 August 14, 2019 September 2, 2019 

36:2 August 28, 2019 September 16, 2019 

36:3 September 11, 2019 September 30, 2019 

36:4 September 25, 2019 October 14, 2019 

36:5 October 9, 2019 October 28, 2019 

36:6 October 23, 2019 November 11, 2019 

36:7 November 6, 2019 November 25, 2019 

36:8 November 18, 2019 (Monday) December 9, 2019 

36:9 December 4, 2019 December 23, 2019 

36:10 December 18, 2019 January 6, 2020 

36:11 January 1, 2020 January 20, 2020 

36:12 January 15, 2020 February 3, 2020 

36:13 January 29, 2020 February 17, 2020 

36:14 February 12. 2020 March 2, 2020 

36:15 February 26, 2020 March 16, 2020 

36:16 March 11, 2020 March 30, 2020 

36:17 March 25, 2020 April 13, 2020 

36:18 April 8, 2020 April 27, 2020 

36:19 April 22. 2020 May 11, 2020 

36:20 May 6, 2020 May 25, 2020 

36:21 May 20, 2020 June 8, 2020 

36:22 June 3, 2020 June 22, 2020 

36:23 June 17, 2020 July 6, 2020 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 
Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 
and Chiropractic. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Dr. Luke Vetti. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To include the American 
Board of Podiatric Medicine in regulations for endorsement 
and informed consent for podiatrists. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on June 13, 
2019, the board decided to initiate the rulemaking by 
amending 18VAC85-20-141 and 18VAC85-20-350 using a 
fast-track rulemaking action. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 
or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-30; Filed June 13, 2019, 2:46 p.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 
Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Nursing. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Linda Thurby-Hay. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To revise all regulations 
relating to the registration and practice of clinical nurse 
specialists. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Board of Nursing 
considered the request at its meeting on May 21, 2019, and 
decided to initiate rulemaking. Working with the draft of 
proposed regulations submitted with the petition, the board 
will issue a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for those 
amendments that are consistent with provisions of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 
or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-28; Filed June 7, 2019, 9:14 a.m. 

 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers intends to consider amending 18VAC65-40, 
Regulations for the Funeral Service Internship Program. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to (i) require training to 
be completed within not less than 18 months nor more than 
60 months, and that the board only consider extensions for 
extenuating circumstances; (ii) require supervisors to register 
for supervision of each funeral service intern, with an 
expiration for the registration after 60 months or at the 
completion of the intern's training, whichever occurs first, in 
order to allow the board to track active supervisors and make 
sure supervisors are in good standing; and (iii) add a 
requirement that interns be identified to the public as interns 
in titles, correspondence, and communications with the 
public. Amendments for clarifications and to reduce the 
number of internship hours currently required also may be 
considered. 

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 
report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2817 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman-Wolf, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 
corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6053; Filed June 14, 2019, 12:38 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 
consider amending 18VAC115-20, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Professional Counseling, 18VAC115-30, 
Regulations Governing the Certification of Substance 
Abuse Counselors and Substance Abuse Counseling 
Assistants, 18VAC115-50, Regulations Governing the 
Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy, and 

18VAC115-60, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to (i) specify in the 
regulations that the standard of practice requiring persons 
licensed, certified, or registered by the board to "Practice in a 
manner that is in the best interest of the public and does not 
endanger the public health, safety, or welfare" precludes the 
provision of conversion therapy and (ii) define what 
comprises conversion therapy and what does not. The goal is 
to align regulations of the board with the stated policy and 
ethics for the profession of counseling. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 
email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5842; Filed June 14, 2019, 12:37 p.m.  

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Psychology intends to 
consider amending 18VAC125-20, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Psychology. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to align regulations of the board with stated policy 
and ethics for the profession by (i) specifying in 18VAC125-
20-150 that the standard of practice requiring licensed 
psychologists to "avoid harming patients or clients, research 
participants, students and others for whom they provide 
professional services and minimize harm when it is 
foreseeable and unavoidable," precludes conversion therapy 
and (ii) defining what comprises conversion therapy and what 
does not. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 
email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5824; Filed June 14, 2019, 12:43 p.m.  
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BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Social Work intends to 
consider amending 18VAC140-20, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to (i) specify in the regulation that the requirement 
that a person licensed or registered by the board not conduct 
"one's practice in such a manner so as to make the practice a 
danger to the health and welfare of one's clients or to the 
public" precludes the provision of conversion therapy and (ii) 
define what comprises conversion therapy and what does not. 
The goal is to align regulations of the board with the stated 
policy and ethics for the profession of social work. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-
4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5872; Filed June 14, 2019, 12:43 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 
Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of General 
Services is claiming an exemption pursuant to Item 74 C 3 a 
of Chapter 854 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 
Appropriation Act, which provides that a revision to certain 
fees is exempt from the requirements of the Administrative 
Process Act provided that the department provides notice and 
opportunity to submit written comments on the revised fees. 

Titles of Regulations: 1VAC30-45. Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories (amending 
1VAC30-45-130). 

1VAC30-46. Accreditation for Commercial 
Environmental Laboratories (amending 1VAC30-46-150).  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 8, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 
Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 
1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 
rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Background: The Division of Consolidated Laboratory 
Services (DCLS) is seeking comment on the revision to fees 
charged for certifying laboratories under 1VAC30-45 and 
accrediting environmental laboratories under 1VAC30-46. 
Section 2.2-1105 C of the Code of Virginia, the law 
authorizing these programs, requires DCLS to establish a fee 
system to offset the programs costs. The current fees are 
inadequate to offset costs and must be revised. The proposed 
increase is only the second one since the regulations first 
became effective in 2009. 

The current fees were developed based on a mid-2013 
analysis of the financial costs of the programs. Although 
proposed by DCLS in August 2013, the fees were not 
effective for 1VAC30-46 until November 1, 2015, and for 
1VAC30-45 until September 1, 2016, after completion of 
executive branch review and other requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act (Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the 
Code of Virginia). By the effective date of the regulations, the 

fees were already somewhat inadequate in offsetting program 
costs. 

During the intervening six years since the current fees were 
developed in 2013, the cost of living has increased. As an 
indication of how costs have changed, the Consumer Price 
Index Inflation Calculator indicates the cost of living has 
increased 10% since January 2013, which is reflected in the 
increased cost of both labor and nonlabor items for the 
operation of the programs.  

The current staffing needs and number of accredited 
laboratories for the programs are reflected in the revised fees. 
The revised fees also include the statewide salary adjustments 
for Fiscal Year 2020.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments increase fees related to 
certification for noncommercial environmental 
laboratories and accreditation for commercial 
environmental laboratories. 

1VAC30-45-130. Fees. 

A. General. 

1. Environmental laboratories shall pay a fee with all 
applications, including reapplications, for certification. 
DCLS shall not designate an application as complete until 
it receives payment of the fee. 

2. Each certified environmental laboratory shall pay an 
annual fee to maintain its certification. DCLS shall send an 
invoice to the certified environmental laboratory. 

3. Fees shall be nonrefundable. 

B. Environmental laboratories performing only simple test 
procedures shall pay an annual fee of $600 $690. 

C. Fee computation for general environmental laboratories. 

1. Fees shall be applied on an annual basis. 

2. Environmental laboratories shall pay the total of the base 
fee and the test category fees set out in subsections D and 
E of this section. 

D. Base fees for general environmental laboratories.  

1. DCLS determines the base fee for a laboratory by taking 
into account both the total number of methods and the total 
number of field of certification matrices for which the 
laboratory would be certified. 
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2. DCLS shall charge the base fees set out in Table 1. The 
base fee for a laboratory is located by first finding the row 
for the total number of methods to be certified and then 
finding the box on that row located in the column headed 
by the total number of matrices to be certified. For 
example, DCLS charges a base fee of $1300 $1495 to a 
laboratory performing a total of eight methods for one 
matrix. 

TABLE 1: BASE FEES 

Number of 
Methods 

1 Matrix 2 Matrices 

1 - 9 $1300 $1495 $1430 $1645 

10 - 29 $1400 $1610 $1575 $1811 

30 - 99 $1550 $1783 $1825 $2099 

E. Test category fees for general environmental laboratories. 

1. The test category fees cover the types of testing for 
which a laboratory may be certified as specified in the 
laboratory's application or as certified at the time of annual 
billing. 

2. Fees shall be charged for each category of tests to be 
certified. 

3. Fees shall be charged for the total number of field of 
certification matrices to be certified under the specific test 
category. For example, if a laboratory is performing 
inorganic chemistry for both nonpotable water and solid 
and chemical materials matrices, the fee for this test 
category would be found in the column for two matrices. 

4. The fee for each category includes one or more 
analytical methods unless otherwise specified.  

5. DCLS shall charge the test category fees set out in Table 
2. The test category fees for a laboratory are located by 
first finding the row with the total number of test methods 
for the test category to be certified. The fee to be charged 
for the test category will be found on that row in the 
column headed by the total number of matrices to be 
certified. A laboratory performing four test methods for 
inorganic chemistry in nonpotable water and solid and 
chemical materials (two matrices) would be charged a test 
category fee of $375 $431. 

6. Noncommercial environmental laboratories that perform 
toxicity, radiochemical, or asbestos testing shall pay the 
test category fees established for these types of testing in 
1VAC30-46-150. 

 

 

 

 

TABLE 2: TEST CATEGORY FEES 

Test Category Fees by Number of Matrices  

 

One  Two  

Oxygen demand $225 $259  $335 $385 

Bacteriology, 1 - 3 
total methods $175 $201 $265 $305  

Bacteriology, 4 or 
more total 
methods $220 $253  $330 $380 

Physical, 1 - 5 
total methods $175 $201  $265 $305 

Physical, 6 - 10 
total methods $220 $253  $330 $380 

Inorganic 
chemistry, 1 - 10 
total methods $250 $288 $375 $431 

Inorganic 
chemistry, 11 - 20 
total methods $315 $362 $475 $546  

Inorganic 
chemistry, 21 - 49 
total methods $394 $453 $590 $679  

Chemistry metals, 
1 - 5 total methods $325 $374 $490 $564 

Chemistry metals, 
6 - 20 total 
methods $410 $472 $615 $707 

Organic 
chemistry, 1 - 5 
total methods $400 $460  $600 $690 

Organic 
chemistry, 6 - 20 
total methods $500 $575  $750 $863 

7. Fee examples. Three examples are provided. 

a. Example 1: 

Base Fee 
One matrix and 
four test 
methods 

$1300 
$1495 

Test Category 
Fees   

One Matrix 
  

Nonpotable 
Water 

Bacteriology (2 
methods) $175 $201 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Oxygen 
demand (1 
method) 

$225 $259 
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Nonpotable 
Water Physical (1) $175 $201 

TOTAL 
 

$1875 
$2156 

b. Example 2: 

Base Fee One matrix and 
15 test methods 

$1400 
$1610 

Test Category 
Fees   

One Matrix 
  

Nonpotable 
Water 

Bacteriology (2 
methods) 

$175 
$201 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Inorganic 
chemistry (9 
methods) 

$250 
$288 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Chemistry 
metals (2 
methods) 

$325 
$374 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Oxygen demand 
(1 method) 

$225 
$259 

Nonpotable 
Water Physical (1) $175 

$201 

TOTAL 
 

$2550 
$2933 

c. Example 3: 

Base Fee Two matrices and 
27 test methods 

$1575 
$1811 

Test Category Fees 
  

One Matrix 
  

Nonpotable 
Water 

Bacteriology (4 
methods) 

$220 
$253 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Oxygen demand 
(1 method) 

$225 
$259 

Solid and 
Chemical 
Materials 

Chemistry metals 
(1 method) 

$325 
$374 

Two Matrices 
  

Nonpotable 
Water and 
Solid and 
Chemical 
Materials 

Inorganic 
chemistry (13 
methods) 

$475 
$546 

Nonpotable 
Water and 
Solid and 
Chemical 
Materials 

Physical (7 
methods) 

$330 
$380 

TOTAL 
 

$3150 
$3623 

F. Additional fees. Additional fees shall be charged to 
laboratories applying for the following: (i) modification to 
scope of certification under 1VAC30-45-90 B, (ii) transfer of 
ownership under 1VAC30-45-90 C, (iii) exemption under 
1VAC30-45-120, or (iv) petition for a variance under 
1VAC30-45-140.  

1. For any certified environmental laboratory that applies 
to modify its scope of certification as specified under 
1VAC30-45-90 B, DCLS shall assess a fee determined by 
the method in subsection G of this section. 

2. Under 1VAC30-45-90 C, DCLS may charge a transfer 
fee to a certified laboratory that transfers ownership. A fee 
shall be charged if DCLS (i) needs to review 
documentation sent by the laboratory about the transfer of 
ownership or (ii) determines that an on-site assessment is 
necessary to evaluate the effect of the transfer of 
ownership. DCLS shall assess a fee determined by the 
method in subsection G of this section. If, under 1VAC30-
45-90 C, DCLS determines that the change of ownership or 
location of laboratory requires recertification of or 
reapplication by the laboratory, the laboratory shall pay the 
application fees required under this section. 

3. General environmental laboratories applying for an 
exemption under 1VAC30-45-120 shall pay an initial 
application fee of $700 plus an additional fee based on the 
actual time needed for DCLS to assess the exemption 
request. The total fee shall not exceed the actual time 
DCLS takes to assess the exemption request. Laboratories 
performing only simple test procedures applying for an 
exemption under 1VAC30-45-120 shall pay an initial 
application fee of $300 plus an additional fee based on the 
actual time needed for DCLS to assess the exemption 
request. The total fee shall not exceed the actual time 
DCLS takes to assess the exemption request. The fee 
assessed shall be calculated using the method in subsection 
G of this section. 

4. Under 1VAC30-45-140, any person regulated by this 
chapter may petition the director to grant a variance from 
any requirement of this chapter. DCLS shall charge an 
initial fee of $700 plus an additional fee based on the 
actual time needed for DCLS to review the petition, 
including any on-site assessment required. The total fee 
shall not exceed the actual time DCLS takes to review and 
make a determination on the request for a variance. The fee 
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shall be determined by the method specified in subsection 
G of this section.  

G. Fee determination. 

1. The fee shall be the sum of the total hourly charges for 
all reviewers plus any on-site review costs incurred. 

2. An hourly charge per reviewer shall be determined by (i) 
obtaining a yearly cost by multiplying the reviewer's 
annual salary by 1.35 (accounts for overhead such as taxes 
and insurance) and then (ii) dividing the yearly cost by 
1,642 (number of annual hours established by Fiscal 
Services, DGS the Department of General Services, for 
billing purposes).  

3. The charge per reviewer shall be determined by 
multiplying the number of hours expended in the review by 
the reviewer's hourly charge. 

4. If an on-site review is required, travel time and on-site 
review time shall be charged at the same hourly charge per 
reviewer, and any travel expenses shall be added. 

H. Out-of-state laboratories - travel costs. The owner of an 
environmental laboratory located in another state who applies 
for certification under this chapter shall also pay a fee equal 
to the reasonable travel costs associated with conducting an 
on-site assessment at the laboratory. Reasonable travel costs 
include transportation, lodging, per diem, and telephone and 
duplication charges. 

I. DCLS shall derive the travel costs charged under 
subsections G and H of this section from the Commonwealth 
of Virginia reimbursement allowances and rates for lodging, 
per diem, and mileage.  

1VAC30-46-150. Fees. 

A. General. 

1. Environmental laboratories shall pay a fee with all 
applications, including reapplications, for accreditation. 
DCLS shall not designate an application as complete until 
it receives payment of the fee. 

2. Each accredited environmental laboratory shall pay an 
annual fee to maintain its accreditation. DCLS shall send 
an invoice to the accredited environmental laboratory. 

3. An environmental laboratory applying for secondary 
accreditation under 1VAC30-46-140 shall pay the same fee 
as other laboratories subject to this chapter. 

4. Fees shall be nonrefundable. 

B. Fee computation. 

1. Fees shall be applied on an annual basis. 

2. Environmental laboratories shall pay the total of the base 
fee and the test category fees set out in subsections C and 
D of this section. 

C. Base fee.  

1. DCLS determines the base fee for a laboratory by taking 
into account both the total number of methods and the total 
number of field of accreditation matrices for which the 
laboratory would be accredited. 

2. DCLS shall charge the base fees set out in Table 1. The 
base fee for a laboratory is located by first finding the row 
for the total number of methods to be accredited and then 
finding the box on that row located in the column headed 
by the total number of matrices to be accredited. For 
example, DCLS charges a base fee of $1300 $1625 to a 
laboratory performing a total of eight methods for one 
matrix. 

TABLE 1: BASE FEES 

Number 
of 

Methods 
One 

Matrix 
Two 

Matrices 
Three 

Matrices 

Four or 
more 

Matrices 

1 - 9 $1300 
$1625 

$1430 
$1788 

$1575 
$1969 

$1730 
$2163 

10 - 29 $1400 
$1750 

$1575 
$1969 

$1750 
$2188 

$1950 
$2438 

30 - 99 $1550 
$1938 

$1825 
$2281 

$2150 
$2688 

$2550 
$3188 

100 - 149 $1650 
$2063 

$1980 
$2475 

$2375 
$2969 

$2850 
$3563 

150+ $1800 
$2250 

$2250 
$2813 

$2825 
$3531 

$3525 
$4406 

D. Test category fees. 

1. The test category fees cover the types of testing for which a 
laboratory may be accredited as specified in the laboratory's 
application or as accredited at the time of annual billing. 

2. Fees shall be charged for each category of tests to be 
accredited. 

3. Fees shall be charged for the total number of field of 
accreditation matrices to be accredited under the specific test 
category. For example, if a laboratory is performing inorganic 
chemistry for both nonpotable water and solid and chemical 
matrices, the fee for this test category would be found in the 
column for two matrices. 

4. The fee for each category includes one or more analytical 
methods unless otherwise specified.  

5. Test category fees. DCLS shall charge the test category fees 
set out in Table 2. The test category fees for a laboratory are 
located by first finding the row with the total number of test 
methods for the test category to be accredited. The fee to be 
charged for the test category will be found on that row in the 
column headed by the total number of matrices to be 
accredited. A laboratory performing four test methods for 
bacteriology in both nonpotable and drinking water (two 
matrices) would be charged a test category fee of $330 $413. 
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TABLE 2: TEST CATEGORY FEES 

 

Fees by Number of Matrices 

Test Category One  Two  Three or More 

Aquatic toxicity, acute methods only $400 $740 N/A N/A 

Aquatic toxicity, acute and chronic methods $600 $990 N/A N/A 

Oxygen demand $225 $281 $335 $419 $435 $544 

Bacteriology, 1 - 3 total methods $175 $219 $265 $331 $345 $431 

Bacteriology, 4 or more total methods $220 $275 $330 $413 $430 $538 

Physical, 1 - 5 total methods $175 $219 $265 $331 $345 $431 

Physical, 6 - 10 total methods $220 $275 $330 $413 $430 $538 

Physical, 11 or more total methods $275 $344 $415 $519 $540 $675 

Inorganic chemistry, 1 - 10 total methods $250 $313 $375 $469 $490 $613 

Inorganic chemistry, 11 - 20 total methods $315 $394 $475 $594 $620 $775 

Inorganic chemistry, 21 - 49 total methods $394 $493 $590 $738 $767 $959 

Inorganic chemistry, 50 or more total methods $492 $615 $740 $925 $962 $1203 

Chemistry metals, 1 - 5 total methods $325 $406 $490 $613 $637 $796 

Chemistry metals, 6 - 20 total methods $410 $513 $615 $769 $800 $1000 

Chemistry metals, 21 or more total methods $512 $640 $770 $963 $1000 $1250 

Organic chemistry, 1 - 5 total methods $400 $1020 $600 $1270 $780 $1495 

Organic chemistry, 6 - 20 total methods $500 $1145 $750 $1458 $975 $1739 

Organic chemistry, 21 - 40 total methods $625 $1301 $940 $1695 $1222 $2048 

Organic chemistry, 41 or more total methods $780 $1495 $1170 $1983 $1520 $2420 

Radiochemical, 1 - 10 total methods $600 $990 $900 $1365 $1170 $1703 

Radiochemical, 11 or more total methods $725 $1146 $1090 $1603 $1420 $2015 

Asbestos $725 $1146 $1090 $1603 $1420 $2015 
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6. Fee examples. Three examples are provided. 

a. Example 1: 

Base Fee 
One matrix and 
four test methods 

$1300 
$1625 

Test Category Fees 

 

  

One Matrix 

 

  

Nonpotable 
Water 

Bacteriology  
(2 methods) $175 $219 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Oxygen demand 
(1 method) $225 $281 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Physical  
(1 method) $175 $219 

TOTAL 

 

$1875 
$2344 

b. Example 2: 

Base Fee 
One matrix and 15 
test methods 

$1400 
$1750 

Test Category Fees     

One Matrix     

Nonpotable 
Water 

Bacteriology  
(2 methods) $175 $219 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Inorganic 
chemistry  
(9 methods) $250 $313 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Metals  
(2 methods) $325 $406 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Oxygen demand 
(1 method) $225 $281 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Physical  
(1 method) $175 $219 

TOTAL 

 

$2550 
$3188 

c. Example 3: 

Base Fee 
Two matrices and 
27 test methods 

$1575 
$1969 

Test Category Fees     

One Matrix     

Nonpotable 
Water 

Bacteriology  
(4 methods) $220 $275 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Oxygen demand 
(1 method) $225 $281 

Solid and 
Chemical 
Materials Metals (1 method) $325 $406 

Two Matrices     

Nonpotable 
Water and 
Solid and 
Chemical 
Materials 

Inorganic 
chemistry  
(13 methods) $475 $594 

Nonpotable 
Water and 
Solid and 
Chemical 
Materials 

Physical  
(7 methods) $330 $413 

TOTAL 

 

$3150 
$3938 

E. Additional fees. Additional fees shall be charged to 
laboratories applying for the following: (i) modification to 
scope of accreditation under 1VAC30-46-90 B, (ii) transfer of 
ownership under 1VAC30-46-90 C, or (iii) petition for a 
variance under 1VAC30-46-160. 

1. For any accredited environmental laboratory that applies 
to modify its scope of accreditation as specified under 
1VAC30-46-90 B, DCLS shall assess a fee determined by 
the method in subsection F of this section. 

2. Under 1VAC30-46-90 C, DCLS may charge a transfer 
fee to a certified laboratory that transfers ownership. A fee 
shall be charged if DCLS (i) needs to review 
documentation sent by the laboratory about the transfer of 
ownership or (ii) determines that an on-site assessment is 
necessary to evaluate the effect of the transfer of 
ownership. DCLS shall assess a fee determined by the 
method in subsection F of this section. If, under 1VAC30-
46-90 C, DCLS determines that the change of ownership or 
location of laboratory requires reaccreditation of or 
reapplication by the laboratory, the laboratory shall pay the 
application fee required under this section. 

3. Under 1VAC30-46-160, any person regulated by this 
chapter may petition the director to grant a variance from 
any requirement of this chapter. DCLS shall charge a fee 
for the time needed to review the petition, including any 
on-site assessment required. The fee shall be determined 
by the method specified in subsection F of this section.  

F. Additional fees determination. 

1. The fee shall be the sum of the total hourly charges for 
all reviewers plus any on-site review costs incurred. 

2. An hourly charge per reviewer shall be determined by (i) 
obtaining a yearly cost by multiplying the reviewer's 
annual salary by 1.35 (accounts for overhead such as taxes 
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and insurance) and then (ii) dividing the yearly cost by 
1,642 (number of annual hours established by Fiscal 
Services, DGS Department of General Services, for billing 
purposes). 

3. The charge per reviewer shall be determined by 
multiplying the number of hours expended in the review by 
the reviewer's hourly charge. 

4. If an on-site review is required, travel time and on-site 
review time shall be charged at the same hourly charge per 
reviewer, and any travel expenses shall be added. 

G. Out-of-state laboratories applying for primary 
accreditation.  

1. The owner of an environmental laboratory located in 
another state who applies for primary accreditation under 
this chapter shall pay a surcharge of $5000 plus the labor 
costs of the on-site assessment and reasonable travel costs 
associated with conducting an on-site assessment at the 
laboratory. Reasonable travel costs include transportation, 
lodging, per diem, and telephone and duplication charges. 
These charges shall be in addition to the fees charged 
under subdivision A 1 and subsections B through D of this 
section. 

2. Once the laboratory is accredited, DCLS shall charge the 
annual fee specified in subdivision A 2 and subsections B 
through D of this section, the labor costs for the on-site 
assessment, and reasonable travel costs associated with 
conducting the on-site assessment. 

H. DCLS shall derive the travel costs charged under 
subsections F and G of this section from the Commonwealth 
of Virginia reimbursement allowances and rates for lodging, 
per diem, and mileage. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6058; Filed June 19, 2019, 1:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-317. Regulations for the 
Enforcement of the Noxious Weeds Law (amending 
2VAC5-317-10, 2VAC5-317-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-802 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 23, 2019 - 2 p.m. - Brent and Becky's Bulbs 
Chesapeake Lounge, 7900 Daffodil Lane, Gloucester, VA 
23061 

Public Comment Deadline: September 6, 2019. 

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 
Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 
board as a policy board with the authority to adopt regulations 
in accordance with the provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. Section 3.2-802 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the board to establish regulations under which certain plants 
can be listed as noxious weeds. 

Purpose: The intent of the regulatory action is to slow the 
spread of noxious weeds established in Virginia and prevent 
the introduction of those listed weed species that are not 
known to occur into the Commonwealth. The proposed 
regulatory action is necessary to protect the Commonwealth's 
agricultural and natural resources from the detrimental impact 
of noxious weeds. Listed noxious weeds are nonnative 
invasive plants with very few or no natural predators or 
existing environmental conditions to control their rapid rate 
of growth. As a result, noxious weeds can grow rapidly and 
displace native plants. In addition, the habitat of wildlife may 
be altered as these plants invariably change the ecosystem by 
out-competing and displacing native plants. As the spread of 
a noxious weed can lead to significant economic losses due to 
associated eradication and control costs, the amendments 
protect the economic welfare of citizens. 

Substance: The proposed regulatory action adds six plant 
species deemed by the board to meet the definition of 
"noxious weed" to the list in 2VAC5-317-20. The intent of 
listing these six plants as noxious weeds is to prevent further 
introductions or slow the spread of existing populations into 
the Commonwealth. In addition, the definition of "Tier 3 
noxious weed" in 2VAC5-317-10 clarifies the current 
definition. 

Issues: The six plant species recommended for listing as 
noxious weeds are all invasive plant species; the plant species 
are highly adaptable to their environment, are copious seed 
producers, and have an ability to displace native plant species 
through aggressive and rapid growth. Controlling invasive 
plants is costly and long term once they become established. 
Adding the six plants provides an advantage to citizens, as the 
regulation will serve to prevent the introduction of noxious 
weeds to uninfested areas or slow the spread from areas that 
are currently infested. Movement of a listed noxious weed 
will require that citizens obtain a Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) permit to 
minimize the risk associated with moving a listed noxious 
weed. Through the issuance of this permit, VDACS will 
provide suggested best practices for the movement of Tier 3 
noxious weeds that will prevent the inadvertent spread of 
these plants. There are no disadvantage to the public or the 
Commonwealth as a result of this proposed regulatory action. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
(Board) proposes to add six plant species to the noxious weed 
list. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to add six 
plant species to the noxious weed list. Noxious weeds are any 
living plant detrimental to crops, surface waters, including 
lakes, or other desirable plants, livestock, land, or other 
property, or that are determined to be injurious to public 
health, the environment, or the economy. According to the 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
(VDACS), newly added noxious weeds are non-native 
invasive plants with very few or no natural predators or 
existing environmental conditions to control their rapid rate 
of growth. As a result, noxious weeds can spread rapidly and 
displace native plants. In addition, the habitat of wildlife may 
be altered as these plants invariably change the ecosystem by 
outcompeting and displacing native plants. Once a plant 
deemed as a noxious weed by the Board, it cannot be 
transported without first obtaining a permit. A permit may be 
requested and issued using electronic means such as email 
and usually takes a few days for VDACS to evaluate the 
application. There is no fee required. The permit for the 
movement of a noxious weed will require compliance with 
specific best management practices to prevent the inadvertent 
spread. The primary intent of the permit is to reduce the 
spread of noxious weeds. For example, according to VDACS, 
Lake Gaston is currently infested by one of the added species. 
A boat owner wishing to transport a boat to another lake 
would be required to obtain a permit and in the process would 
be educated that the remnants of that plant on the boat could 
spread it to other surface waters and be advised that the 
outside of the boat should be thoroughly cleaned before it is 
transported. 

The proposed expansion of the list to include six new species 
should increase the number of applications for a transport 
permit as VDACS reports that they are widely present in 
Virginia. VDACS routinely relies on voluntary compliance to 
achieve its enforcement actions. As a result, to the extent 
citizens in infested areas are informed about the permit 
requirement and comply with it, the spread of these noxious 
weeds in Virginia should slow down or prevent their 
introduction in new areas in the first place. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. VDACS is unable to 
estimate the number of businesses and entities who may be 
required to obtain a permit by the expansion of the noxious 
weeds list. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments are 
unlikely to significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses: The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities: The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities: The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

____________________________ 
1Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost for any entity, 
even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments add six plant species to the 
current noxious weed list and amend the definition of "Tier 
3 noxious weed" to be "any noxious weed (i) that is present 
in the Commonwealth, (ii) whose spread may be slowed by 
restrictions on its movement, and (iii) for which successful 
eradication or suppression is not feasible."   

2VAC5-317-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services. 
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"Business day" means a day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, 
or legal holiday, or a day on which state government offices 
are closed. 

"Certificate" means a document issued or authorized by the 
commissioner indicating that a regulated article is not 
contaminated with a noxious weed. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

"Committee" means the Noxious Weeds Advisory 
Committee established pursuant to 2VAC5-317-100. 

"Compliance agreement" means a written agreement 
between a person engaged in handling, receiving, or moving 
regulated articles and the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services or the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture, or both, wherein the former agrees to fulfill the 
requirements of the compliance agreement and comply with 
the provisions of this chapter.  

"Consignee" means any person to whom any regulated 
article is shipped for handling, sale, resale, or any other 
purpose. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. 

"Infested" or "infestation" means the presence of a listed 
noxious weed or the existence of circumstances that make it 
reasonable to believe that life stages of a listed noxious weed 
are present. 

"Inspector" means an employee of the Virginia Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services or other person 
authorized by the Commissioner of the Virginia Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services to enforce the 
provisions of this chapter.  

"Listed noxious weed" means any plant listed in this chapter 
as either a Tier 1, Tier 2, or Tier 3 noxious weed. 

"Move" means to ship, offer for shipment, receive for 
transportation, carry, or otherwise transport, move, or allow 
to be moved. 

"Noxious weed" means the term as defined in § 3.2-800 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Noxious Weeds Law" means the statute set forth in Chapter 
8 (§ 3.2-800 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Permit" means a document issued by the commissioner to 
provide for movement of regulated articles to restricted 
destinations for limited handling, utilization, processing, or 
scientific purposes. 

"Person" means the term as defined in § 1-230 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

"Regulated article" means any listed noxious weed or any 
article carrying or capable of carrying a listed noxious weed. 

"Tier 1 noxious weed" means any noxious weed that is not 
known to be present in the Commonwealth.  

"Tier 2 noxious weed" means any noxious weed that is 
present in the Commonwealth and for which successful 
eradication or suppression is feasible.  

"Tier 3 noxious weed" means any noxious weed (i) that is 
present in the Commonwealth and not listed as a Tier 1 or 
Tier 2 noxious weed, (ii) whose spread may be slowed by 
restrictions on its movement, and (iii) for which successful 
eradication or suppression is not feasible. 

"Waybill" means a document containing the details of a 
shipment of goods. 

2VAC5-317-20. Tier 1, Tier 2, and Tier 3 noxious weeds. 

A. The following plants are hereby declared Tier 1 noxious 
weeds: 

1. Salvinia molesta, Giant salvinia. 

2. Solanum viarum, Tropical soda apple.  

3. Heracleum mantegazzianum, Giant hogweed.  

B. The following plants are hereby declared Tier 2 noxious 
weeds: 

1. Imperata cylindrica, Cogon grass.  

2. Lythrum salicaria, Purple loosestrife.  

3. Ipomoea aquatica, Water spinach.  

4. Vitex rotundifolia, Beach vitex.  

5. Oplismenus hirtellus spp. undulatifolius, Wavyleaf 
basketgrass. 

6. Corydalis incisa, Incised fumewort. 

C. No plant is hereby declared a Tier 3 noxious weed. The 
following plants are hereby declared Tier 3 noxious weeds: 

1. Ailanthus altissima, Tree of heaven. 

2. Ampelopsis brevipedunculata, Porcelain berry. 

3. Celastrus orbiculatus, Oriental bittersweet. 

4. Hydrilla verticillata, Hydrilla. 

5. Persicaria perfoliata, Mile-a-minute weed. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 
been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 
however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 
to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 
contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219.  
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FORMS (2VAC5-317) 

Noxious Weed Permit Application (eff. 6/2018) 
VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5605; Filed June 12, 2019, 12:18 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-320. Regulations for the 
Enforcement of the Endangered Plant and Insect Species 
Act (amending 2VAC5-320-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-1002 and 3.2-1005 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 23, 2019 - 2:15 p.m. - Brent and Becky's Bulbs 
Chesapeake Lounge, 7900 Daffodil Lane, Gloucester, VA 
23061 

Public Comment Deadline: September 6, 2019. 

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 
Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 
Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy 
board. Section 3.2-1002 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the board to adopt regulations, including the listing of 
threatened or endangered species, their taking, quotas, 
seasons, buying, selling, possessing, monitoring of 
movement, investigating, protecting, or any other need in 
furtherance of the purposes of the Endangered Plant and 
Insect Species Act (§ 3.2-1000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). Section 3.2-1002 states that based upon 
investigations by the Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, recommendations from the Director of 
the Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation 
regarding candidate species, and from other reliable data, the 
board shall approve proposed species (i) to be added to or 
deleted from the list of threatened species or the list of 
endangered species or (ii) to be transferred from one list to 
the other. 

Purpose: The proposed action is essential to the preservation 
of critically imperiled and imperiled natural resources in 
Virginia, which protects and promotes the public's health, 
safety, and welfare. Listing a species as threatened or 
endangered offers protection to plants and insects that are of 
aesthetic, ecological, educational, scientific, economic, or 
other value to the Commonwealth. It also provides for the 
development and implementation of protection, recovery, and 
conservation measures to ensure the survival of listed species 
while allowing projects that could impact those species to 
proceed in the most economical, biologically-sound, and 
environmentally-sensitive manner. 

Substance: The board proposes to amend the regulation to (i) 
remove one plant species that is no longer believed to occur 
in Virginia from the list of threatened species, (ii) add two 
insect and three plant species that are in danger of extinction 
to the list of endangered species, and (iii) add five plant 
species that are likely to become an endangered species 
within the foreseeable future throughout all or a significant 
portion of their native range to the list of threatened species. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed regulatory 
action is the protection of threatened or endangered plant and 
insect species that are of aesthetic, ecological, educational, 
scientific, economic, or other value and whose global 
populations are rare and imperiled. Once plants or insects are 
listed as threatened or endangered, the regulation enables the 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
to collaborate with landowners, at the landowner's discretion, 
to develop management plans that would support construction 
projects and other economic development activity on the 
landowner's property while minimizing the impact on these 
valuable, imperiled natural resources. Moreover, when good 
cause is shown and when necessary to alleviate damage to 
property, to alleviate the impact on progressive development, 
or to protect human health, a provision allows for the 
removal, taking, or destruction of a state listed species. The 
regulation does not apply to the owner of the property where 
listed species occur. There is no disadvantage to the 
landowner, public, or the Commonwealth associated with the 
proposed amendments to the regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 
proposes to amend the lists of endangered and threatened 
plant and insect species by: 1) removing from the regulation a 
plant species that is no longer believed to occur in the 
Commonwealth and 2) adding to the endangered and 
threatened lists certain plant and insect species that are 
considered in danger of extinction or that are likely to become 
endangered in the foreseeable future throughout all or a 
significant portion of their native range.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. 

Background: Virginia Code § 3.2-10032 specifies that it is 
"unlawful for any person to dig, take, cut, process, or 
otherwise collect, remove, transport, possess, sell, offer for 
sale, or give away any species native to or occurring in the 
wild in the Commonwealth that are listed in this chapter or 
the regulations adopted hereunder as threatened or 
endangered, other than from such person's own land, except 
in accordance with the provisions of this chapter or the 
regulations adopted hereunder." The Regulations for the 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7a8c005605%7E2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005605&mime=application/pdf
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Enforcement of the Endangered Plant and Insect Species Act, 
which lists endangered and threatened plant and insect 
species, qualifies as such a regulation. Virginia Code § 3.2-
10113 states that any person who violates the regulations is 
guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. According to the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
(VDACS), in practice the agency works with developers to 
find ways for construction projects, land development, etc. to 
proceed while mitigating the impact on endangered and 
threatened plant and insect species. Often the cost is not large; 
for example, it could entail moving and replanting plants. 

As alluded to in the Virginia Code § 3.2-1003 quotation, 
landowners are exempt from the regulations regarding 
threatened and endangered plant and insect species occurring 
on or within their property. Landowners who wish to mitigate 
harm to threatened and endangered species can benefit from 
voluntarily working with VDACS. Once plants or insects are 
listed as threatened or endangered, the regulation enables 
VDACS to collaborate with landowners, at the landowner's 
discretion, to develop management plans that would support 
construction projects and other economic development 
activity on the landowner's property while minimizing 
negative impact on the species added to the lists. 

Proposal: The Board proposes to add the following five 
species to the list of endangered species: (i) Clematis 
addisonii, (ii) Ludwigia ravenii, (iii) Phemeranthus 
piedmontanus, (iv) Bombus affinis, and (v) 
Pseudanophthalmus parvicollis. Further, the Board proposes 
to add the following five species to the list of threatened 
species: (i) Houstonia purpurea var. montana, (ii) Paxistima 
canbyi, (iii) Phlox buckleyi, (iv) Pycnanthemum torreyi, and 
(v) Rudbeckia heliopsidis. According to VDACS, all of these 
species are only found in remote isolated habitats where 
construction or other projects are unlikely to occur. Thus, 
adding these species to the regulation is not likely to have a 
significant impact. The Board proposes to remove 
Lycopodiella margueritiae from the list of threatened species 
because this plant species is no longer believed to occur in 
Virginia. This proposed amendment would also not likely 
have a significant impact. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect any businesses or other 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. Since the species proposed 
to be added to the regulation are in remote areas where 

VDACS does not believe land development or construction 
would be likely to occur, the proposed amendments are 
unlikely to significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Since the species proposed to be 
added to the regulation are in remote areas where VDACS 
does not believe land development or construction would be 
likely to occur, the proposed amendments are unlikely to 
significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses: The proposed amendments are unlikely to 
adversely affect businesses. 

Localities: 

The proposed amendments are unlikely to adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities: 

The proposed amendments are unlikely to adversely affect 
other entities. 

_______________________ 
1Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 
in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all 
entities combined. 
2See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter10/section3.2-1003/ 
3See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter10/section3.2-1011/ 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove one plant species 
from the list of threatened species that is no longer 
believed to occur in Virginia, (ii) add two insect and three 
plant species that are in danger of extinction to the list of 
endangered species, and (iii) add five plant species to the 
list of threatened species that are likely to become 
endangered species within the foreseeable future 
throughout all or a significant portion of their native 
range. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 8, 2019 

2661 

2VAC5-320-10. Listing of endangered and threatened 
plant and insect species.  

A. The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services hereby 
adopts the following regulation in order to protect designated 
plant and insect species that exist in this Commonwealth. All 
designated species are subject to all sections of the Virginia 
Endangered Plant and Insect Species Act (§ 3.2-1000 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia).  

B. The following plant and insect species are hereby 
declared an endangered species:  

1. Boltonia montana, valley doll's-daisy. 

2. Bombus affinis, rusty patch bumble bee. 

3. Cardamine micranthera, small-anthered bittercress.  

3. 4. Carex juniperorum, juniper sedge.  

4. 5. Clematis addisonii, Addison's leatherflower. 

6. Corallorhiza bentley, Bentley's coralroot.  

5. 7. Fimbristylis perpusilla, Harper's fimbristylis. 

6. 8. Helenium virginicum, Virginia sneezeweed. 

7. 9. Helonias bullata, swamp-pink. 

8. 10. Ilex collina, long-stalked holly. 

9. 11. Iliamna corei, Peter's Mountain mallow.  

10. 12. Isoetes virginica, Virginia quillwort. 

11. 13. Isotria medeoloides, small whorled pogonia. 

12. 14. Ludwigia ravenii, Raven's seedbox. 

15. Neonympha mitchellii, Mitchell's satyr butterfly.  

13. 16. Phemeranthus piedmontanus, Piedmont 
fameflower. 

17. Pseudanophthalmus holsingeri, Holsinger's cave beetle. 

18. Pseudanophthalmus parvicollis, Hupp's Hill cave 
beetle. 

14. 19. Pseudanophthalmus thomasi, Thomas' cave beetle. 

15. 20. Ptilimnium nodosum, harperella.  

16. 21. Puto kosztarabi, Buffalo Mountain mealybug.  

17. 22. Scirpus ancistrochaetus, Northeastern bulrush.  

18. 23. Sigara depressa, Virginia Piedmont water boatman.  

19. 24. Spiraea virginiana, Virginia spiraea.  

20. 25. Trifolium calcaricum, running glade clover.  

C. The following plant and insect species are hereby 
declared a threatened species:  

1. Aeschynomene virginica, sensitive-joint vetch.  

2. Amaranthus pumilus, seabeach amaranth.  

3. Arabis serotina, shale barren rockcress.  

4. Cicindela dorsalis dorsalis, Northeastern beach tiger 
beetle.  

5. Clematis viticaulis, Millboro leatherflower. 

6. Echinacea laevigata, smooth coneflower.  

7. Houstonia purpurea var. montana, Roan Mountain bluet. 

8. Juncus caesariensis, New Jersey rush.  

8. Lycopodiella margueritiae, Northern prostrate clubmoss.  

9. Nuphar sagittifolia, narrow-leaved spatterdock. 

10. Paxistima canbyi, Canby's mountain-lover.  

11. Phlox buckleyi, sword-leaf phlox. 

12. Platanthera leucophaea, Eastern prairie fringed orchid. 

11. 13. Pycnanthemum torreyi, Torrey's mountain-mint. 

14. Pyrgus wyandot, Appalachian grizzled skipper.  

12. 15. Rhus michauxii, Michaux's sumac. 

13. 16. Rudbeckia heliopsidis, sun-facing coneflower. 

17. Scirpus flaccidifolius, reclining bulrush. 
VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5606; Filed June 12, 2019, 12:47 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 

RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., of 
Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendments authorize department-permitted wildlife 
rehabilitators to receive, possess, provide care for, 
including to humanely dispatch, and release wildlife.  

4VAC15-30-50. Possession, transportation, and release of 
wildlife by authorized persons.  

A. Department employees in the performance of their 
official duties; U.S. government agencies' employees whose 
responsibility includes fisheries and wildlife management; 
county, city, or town animal control officers in the 
performance of their official duties related to public health 
concerns or problem wildlife removal; and individuals 
operating under conditions of a commercial nuisance animal 
permit issued by the department pursuant to §§ 29.1-412 and 
29.1-417 of the Code of Virginia will be deemed to be 
permitted pursuant to this section to capture, temporarily hold 
or possess, transport, release, and when necessary humanely 
dispatch wildlife, provided that the methods of and 
documentation for the capture, possession, transport, release, 
and humane dispatch shall be in accordance with director 
policy.  

B. Local animal shelters operating under the authority of, or 
under contract with, any county, city, or town with animal 
control responsibilities shall be authorized to receive, 
temporarily confine, and humanely euthanize wildlife, except 
for state or federal threatened and endangered species;, 
federally protected migratory bird species;, black bear;, 
white-tailed deer;, and wild turkey, provided that the methods 
of and documentation for the possession, confinement, and 
euthanasia shall be in accordance with conditions defined by 
the agency director. Provided further that any person may 
legally transport wildlife, except for those species listed in 
this subsection, to an authorized animal shelter after 
contacting the facility to confirm the animal will be accepted. 

C. Wildlife rehabilitators permitted by the department shall 
be authorized to receive, temporarily confine, provide 
medical care to, release, and humanely dispatch wildlife 
provided that the methods of and documentation for such 
activities shall be in accordance with permit conditions 
defined by the department. Any person may capture and 
transport an injured, debilitated, sick, or orphaned wild 
animal without unnecessary delay directly to a permitted 
wildlife rehabilitator, department employee, or other person 
authorized by the department to possess and transport these 
animals, but only after contacting the facility, employee, or 
authorized person to confirm the animal will be accepted. 
Prior to transport, no care may be provided to a wild animal, 
except as directed by a permitted wildlife rehabilitator or 
department employee. Following rehabilitation, [ any person, 
under the direction of a permitted wildlife rehabilitator or 
department employee, may the ] transport and release 
[ certain species ] of native wildlife [ back into the wild in 
accordance with conditions defined by the department for 

permitted wildlife rehabilitators shall be allowed as long as 
such activities are conducted in accordance with permit 
conditions ]. 

C. D. Employees or agents of other state wildlife agencies 
while in the performance of their official duty in transporting 
wildlife through the Commonwealth will be deemed to be 
permitted pursuant to this section, provided that a list of 
animals to be transported, a schedule of dates and locations 
where those animals will be housed while in the 
Commonwealth, and a letter of authorization from both the 
forwarding and receiving state agencies are provided to the 
department 24 hours prior to the transporting of such animals, 
and further provided that such animals shall not be liberated 
within the Commonwealth.  

D. E. Employees or agents of government agencies, while in 
the performance of their official duties, may temporarily 
possess, transport, and dispose of carcasses of wild animals 
killed by vehicles, except for state or federal threatened and 
endangered species, and federally protected migratory bird 
species. 

E. F. With prior written approval from the director or his the 
director's designee and under conditions of an applicable 
department permit, institutions with bona fide accreditation 
from the Association of Zoos and Aquariums may possess, 
transport, have transported, export, or import native and 
naturalized species defined in the List of Native and 
Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, which is incorporated by 
reference into 4VAC15-20-50. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5932; Filed June 5, 2019, 2:45 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General 
(amending 4VAC15-40-60, 4VAC15-40-70, 4VAC15-40-
270, 4VAC15-40-275, 4VAC15-40-285; adding 4VAC15-
40-276, 4VAC15-40-300).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) require hunting weapons be cased or 
dismantled on certain public lands outside of hunting 
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season; (ii) define "hunting weapon" to include all hunting 
weapon types; (iii) update the definition of a loaded 
muzzleloader; (iv) define loaded arrowgun; (v) clarify 
where the possession of firearms and the shooting of 
properly marked mallards and pigeons is allowed and 
remove the Sunday exception; (vi) open three new wildlife 
management areas for training dogs on quail; (vii) 
authorize the sale of unclaimed black bear mounts or 
processed hides by taxidermists and the sale of nutria, 
coyote, and certain small game parts; (viii) prohibit 
feeding cervids in any county within 25 miles of a Chronic 
Wasting Disease detection; and (ix) make providing 
incorrect harvest information unlawful. 

4VAC15-40-60. Hunting with dogs or possession of 
weapons in certain locations during closed season. 

A. Department-owned lands west of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains and national forest lands statewide. It shall be 
unlawful to have in possession a bow, crossbow, or any 
firearm or any hunting weapon that is not unloaded and cased 
or dismantled on all national forest lands statewide and on 
department-owned lands and on other lands managed by the 
department under cooperative agreement located in counties 
west of the Blue Ridge Mountains except during the period 
when it is lawful to take bear, deer, grouse, pheasant, quail, 
rabbit, raccoon, squirrel, turkey, or waterfowl, or migratory 
gamebirds on these lands. 

B. Department-owned lands east of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a bow, 
crossbow, or any firearm that is not unloaded and cased or 
dismantled on department-owned lands and on other lands 
managed by the department under cooperative agreement 
located in the counties east of the Blue Ridge Mountains 
except during the period when it is lawful to take bear, deer, 
grouse, pheasant, quail, rabbit, raccoon, squirrel, turkey, 
waterfowl or migratory gamebirds on these lands. 

C. B. Certain counties. Except as otherwise provided in 
4VAC15-40-70, it shall be unlawful to have either a shotgun 
or a rifle in one's possession when accompanied by a dog in 
the daytime in the fields, forests or waters of the counties 
Counties of Augusta, Clarke, Frederick, Page, Shenandoah, 
and Warren, and in the counties east of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains, except Patrick, at any time except the periods 
prescribed by law to hunt game birds and animals. 

D. C. Shooting ranges and authorized activities. The 
provisions of this section shall not prohibit the conduct of any 
activities authorized by the board or the establishment and 
operation of archery and shooting ranges on the lands 
described in subsections A, B and C B of this section. The use 
of firearms, crossbows, and bows or any hunting weapon in 
such ranges during the closed season period will be restricted 
to the area within the established range boundaries. Such 
weapons shall be required to be unloaded and cased or 
dismantled in all areas other than the range boundaries. The 

use of firearms, crossbows, or bows any hunting weapon 
during the closed hunting period in such ranges shall be 
restricted to target shooting only, and no birds or animals 
shall be molested. 

E. D. It shall be unlawful to chase with a dog or train dogs 
on national forest lands or department-owned lands except 
during authorized hunting, chase, or training seasons that 
specifically permit these activities on these lands or during 
raccoon hound field trials on these lands between September 
1 and March 31, both dates inclusive, that are sanctioned by 
bona fide national kennel clubs and authorized by permits 
required and issued by the department and or the U.S. Forest 
Service. 

F. E. It shall be unlawful to possess or transport any loaded 
firearm, or loaded crossbow hunting weapon in or on any 
vehicle at any time on national forest lands or department-
owned lands. 

G. F. The provisions of this section shall not prohibit the 
possession, transport, and use of loaded firearms by 
employees of the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 
while engaged in the performance of their authorized and 
official duties, nor shall it prohibit possession and transport of 
loaded concealed handguns where the individual possesses a 
concealed handgun permit as defined in § 18.2-308 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

H. G. Meaning of "possession" of bow, crossbow, or firearm 
any hunting weapon and definition of "loaded crossbow," 
"loaded arrowgun," "loaded muzzleloader," and "loaded 
firearm." For the purpose of this section, the word 
"possession" shall include, but not be limited to, having any 
bow, crossbow, or firearm or weapon used for hunting in or 
on one's person, vehicle, or conveyance. For the purpose of 
this section, a "loaded firearm" shall be defined as means a 
firearm in which ammunition is chambered or loaded in the 
magazine or clip when such magazine or clip is engaged or 
partially engaged in a firearm. The definition of a loaded 
muzzleloading firearm muzzleloader will include a 
muzzleloading firearm rifle, pistol, or shotgun that is capped, 
or has a charged pan, or has a primer or battery installed in 
the firearm muzzleloader. The definition of a A "loaded 
crossbow" is means a crossbow that is cocked and has either a 
bolt or arrow engaged or partially engaged on the shooting 
rail or track of the crossbow, or with a "trackless crossbow" 
when the crossbow is cocked and a bolt or arrow is nocked. 
"Loaded arrowgun" means an arrowgun that has an arrow or 
bolt inserted on the arrow rest or in the barrel. "Hunting 
weapon" means any weapon allowable for hunting as defined 
in § 29.1-519 of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC15-40-70. Open dog training season.  

A. Private lands and certain military areas. It shall be lawful 
to train dogs during daylight hours on squirrels and 
nonmigratory game birds on private lands, and on rabbits and 
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nonmigratory game birds on Fort A. P. Hill, Fort Pickett, and 
Quantico Marine Reservation. Participants in this dog training 
season shall not have any weapons other than starter pistols in 
their possession, must comply with all regulations and laws 
pertaining to hunting, and no game shall be taken; provided, 
however, that weapons may be in possession on private lands 
when training dogs on captive raised and properly marked 
mallards and pigeons so that they may be immediately shot or 
recovered, except on Sunday.  

B. It shall be lawful to train dogs on rabbits on private lands 
from 1/2 hour before sunrise to midnight. 

C. Designated portions of certain department-owned lands. 
It shall be lawful to train dogs on quail on designated portions 
of the Amelia Wildlife Management Area, Cavalier Wildlife 
Management Area, Chester F. Phelps Wildlife Management 
Area, Chickahominy Wildlife Management Area, and Dick 
Cross Wildlife Management Area, Mattaponi Wildlife 
Management Area, and White Oak Mountain Wildlife 
Management Area from September 1 to the day prior to the 
opening date of the quail hunting season, both dates inclusive. 
Participants in this dog training season shall not have any 
weapons other than starter pistols in their possession, shall 
not release pen-raised birds, must comply with all regulations 
and laws pertaining to hunting, and no game shall be taken.  

D. Designated department-owned lands. It shall be lawful to 
train dogs during daylight hours on rabbits and nonmigratory 
game birds on the Weston Wildlife Management Area from 
September 1 to March 31, both dates inclusive. Participants in 
this dog training season shall not have any weapons other 
than starter pistols in their possession, shall not release pen-
raised birds, must comply with all regulations and laws 
pertaining to hunting, and no game shall be taken.  

4VAC15-40-270. Sale of unclaimed taxidermy specimens 
by licensed taxidermists.  

Unclaimed mounted native wildlife specimens or their 
processed hides, when taken in accordance with the 
provisions of law and regulations, may be sold by a Virginia 
licensed taxidermist with the exception of black bears, 
migratory waterfowl, migratory birds, and state and federally 
listed threatened and endangered species.  

A mount or processed hide shall be considered unclaimed if 
it has been left in a taxidermy place of business for more than 
30 days beyond the period the mount was to remain on the 
premises pursuant to a contract. This contract must inform the 
owner of the possibility of such sale. After the 30-day period 
a notice by registered or certified mail with a return receipt 
requested must be mailed to the owner of record therein, 
instructing him the owner to reclaim the mount within 15 
days of the notice. This notice shall identify the species and 
the date it was received, set forth the location of the 
taxidermist facility where it is held, and inform the owner of 
his rights to reclaim the mount with 15 days of this notice 

after payment of the specified costs. This notice shall state 
that the failure of the owner to reclaim the mount or hide 
within this 15-day time frame timeframe may result in the 
sale of the unclaimed mount or hide.  

If a mount or hide is not claimed after the return of a signed 
certified receipt and within the 15-day period, then the 
taxidermist may sell the mount for an amount not to exceed 
the remainder of the amount of the original invoice plus 
reasonable administrative and storage costs. Within seven 
days of the sale of any unclaimed mount the taxidermist shall 
notify the department in writing of the name, telephone 
number, and address of the purchaser, invoice price, species 
sold, taxidermist, and previous owners' name, telephone 
number, and address. Upon receipt of such paperwork for a 
bear mount or hide, a conservation police officer will review 
the paperwork and will provide the purchaser a form that will 
remain with the mount. 

For the purposes of this section, "mount" means the 
processed hide, pelt, or skin of an animal affixed to a form for 
display. A processed hide, pelt, or skin is one that has been 
tanned, cured, chemically preserved, or converted to any 
usable form beyond initial cleaning, stretching, and drying by 
the taxidermist or the taxidermist's agent. Nothing in this 
section shall permit the sale of skulls, claws, teeth, 
unprocessed hides, or any other parts of a bear that are not a 
legitimate part of the mount. 

4VAC15-40-275. Sale of furbearer, coyote, and nutria 
pelts, carcasses, and parts. 

It shall be unlawful to buy, sell, barter, traffic or trade in, 
bargain for, or solicit for purchase raw pelts and unskinned 
carcasses of fur-bearing animals defined in § 29.1-100 of the 
Code of Virginia, coyotes, and nutria without having first 
obtained a fur dealer permit in accordance with §§ 29.1-400 
through 29.1-407 of the Code of Virginia, except that a 
permit shall not be required of: 

1. Any hunter or trapper, or any person lawfully engaged in 
the business of fur farming, to sell or dispose of legally 
taken or possessed raw pelts and unskinned carcasses of 
fur-bearing animals [ , coyotes, and nutria ] at any time.  

2. Any person to purchase legally taken or possessed raw 
pelts or unskinned carcasses of fur-bearing animals, 
coyotes, and nutria at any time if the pelts are to be tanned 
or used in taxidermy mounts for personal use and not for 
resale, trade, or other commercial purposes. 

3. Any person to buy or sell at any time pelts that are not 
defined as being raw, skinned carcasses, such as taxidermy 
mounts, or any other parts of legally taken and possessed 
fur-bearing animals defined in § 29.1-100 of the Code of 
Virginia, coyotes, and nutria. Such parts shall include 
skulls, teeth, claws, bones, glands, and secretions. For the 
purposes of this section, "raw pelt" shall be defined as 
means any pelt with its hair or fur intact that has not been 
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tanned, cured, chemically preserved, or converted to any 
usable form beyond initial cleaning, stretching, and drying. 
Salt-cured and sun-cured pelts shall be considered raw 
pelts.  

4VAC15-40-276. Sale of small game animals and parts. 

It shall be lawful for any person to purchase or sell skins, 
pelts, skulls, bones, teeth, claws, feet, tails, hair, feathers, 
taxidermy mounts, and other nonmeat parts of legally taken 
and possessed rabbits, squirrels, bobwhite quail, ruffed 
grouse, and pheasants.  

4VAC15-40-285. Unauthorized feeding of cervids.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to place or distribute 
food, salt, minerals, or similar substances to feed or attract 
cervids (i) at any time in the counties Counties (including the 
cities and towns within) of Buchanan, Clarke, Dickenson, 
Frederick, Shenandoah, Warren, and Wise, and in any county 
designated by the department within 25 miles of a confirmed 
detection of Chronic Wasting Disease; (ii) during any deer or 
elk season within any county, city, or town that allows deer or 
elk hunting; and (iii) from September 1 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, elsewhere in the 
Commonwealth.  

B. Any food, salt, minerals, or similar substances placed or 
distributed to feed or attract cervids prior to September 1 
must be completely removed by September 1, and any area 
where food, salt, minerals, or similar substances were placed 
or distributed to feed or attract cervids shall be considered to 
be baited for 10 days following the complete removal of the 
items listed in this subsection. 

C. Upon written notification by department personnel, no 
person shall continue to place or distribute any food, salt, 
mineral, or similar substances for any purpose if the 
placement of these materials results in the attraction of and/or 
or feeding of cervids. After such notification, such person 
shall be in violation of this section if the placing, distribution, 
or presence of such food, salt, minerals, or similar substances 
continues.  

D. No part of this regulation shall be construed to restrict 
bona fide agronomic plantings (including wildlife food plots), 
bona fide distribution of food to livestock, or wildlife 
management activities conducted or authorized by the 
department.  

4VAC15-40-300. Falsifying harvest information 
prohibited. 

It shall be unlawful to provide false statements or record 
false information when tagging, checking, or reporting the 
harvest of any wild animal to the department, any agent of the 
department, or any taxidermist.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5924; Filed June 5, 2019, 1:52 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 
4VAC15-50-11, 4VAC15-50-12, 4VAC15-50-71, 4VAC15-
50-81, 4VAC15-50-91, 4VAC15-50-110, 4VAC15-50-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add the three-day early open season to 
the Counties of Albemarle, Amherst, Bedford, Frederick, 
and Nelson; (ii) remove references to Augusta County 
north and south of U.S. Route 250; (iii) add two weeks of 
open season to 35 counties in south-central and eastern 
Virginia; (iv) add two weeks of open season to 11 counties 
or portions of counties in southwestern Virginia south of I-
81; (v) add one week of open season to seven counties or 
portions of counties in southwestern Virginia north of I-81; 
(vi) extend the duration of bear hunting within 
incorporated cities and allow towns to have the same 
season; (vii) correct a boundary line distinction along 
Route 16 in Grayson and Smyth Counties; (viii) update the 
definition of a muzzleloader to current technological 
standards to match those found in 4VAC15-90-80; (ix) 
allow for harvested black bears to be checked using the 
automated harvest reporting system; (x) describe how 
hunters exempted from needing a license may check black 
bear harvests; (xi) limit the prohibition on the use of 
hounds to hunt black bear to only the first two weeks of 
open deer season should deer season be lengthened to four 
weeks in Amherst, Bedford, or Nelson County; and (xii) 
define where bear hound training season is allowed 
instead of prohibited. 

4VAC15-50-11. Open season; generally. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bears in the following localities, 
including the cities and towns therein, during the following 
seasons:  
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Location Season 

Accomack County  Closed 

Albemarle County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Alleghany County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Amelia County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Amherst County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Appomattox County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Arlington County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Augusta County  
(North of US-250)  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Augusta County 
(South of US-250)  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the fourth 
Monday in November through the 
first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Bath County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Bedford County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Bland County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Botetourt County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Brunswick County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Buchanan County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the first 
fourth Monday in December 
November through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Buckingham County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Campbell County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Caroline County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Carroll County  

First Monday in nearest 
December and for 19 days 
following 2 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 
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Charles City County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Charlotte County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Chesapeake (City of)  
October 1 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Chesterfield County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Clarke County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Craig County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Culpeper County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Cumberland County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Dickenson County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the first 
fourth Monday in December 
November through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Dinwiddie County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Essex County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Fairfax County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Fauquier County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Floyd County  

First Monday in nearest 
December and for 19 days 
following 2 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Fluvanna County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Franklin County  

First Monday in nearest 
December and for 19 days 
following 2 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Frederick County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Giles County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Gloucester County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Goochland County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Grayson County  

First Monday in nearest 
December and for 19 days 
following 2 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Greene County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 
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Greensville County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Halifax County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Hanover County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Henrico County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Henry County  

First Monday in nearest 
December and for 19 days 
following 2 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Highland County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Isle of Wight County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

James City County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

King and Queen 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

King George County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

King William 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Lancaster County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Lee County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the first 
fourth Monday in December 
November through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Loudoun County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Louisa County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Lunenburg County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Madison County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Mathews County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Mecklenburg County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Middlesex County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Montgomery County 
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in nearest 
December and for 19 days 
following 2 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Montgomery County 
(northwest of I-81)  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Nelson County  

Fourth Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

New Kent County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Northampton County  Closed 
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Northumberland 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Nottoway County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Orange County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Page County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Patrick County  

First Monday in nearest 
December and for 19 days 
following 2 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Pittsylvania County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Powhatan County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Prince Edward 
County 

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Prince George 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Prince William 
County  

Monday following the last Saturday 
in September and for 2 two days 
following; and the fourth Monday 
in November through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Pulaski County  
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in nearest December 
and for 19 days following 2 through 
the first Saturday in January, both 
dates inclusive. 

Pulaski County  
(northwest of I-81)  

Monday following the last Saturday 
in September and for 2 two days 
following; and the fourth Monday 
in November through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Rappahannock 
County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Richmond County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Roanoke County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Rockbridge County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Rockingham County  

Monday following the last Saturday 
in September and for 2 two days 
following; and the fourth Monday 
in November through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Russell County 
(except on the 
Channels State Forest 
and Clinch Mountain 
WMA) 

Monday following the last Saturday 
in September and for 2 days 
following; and the first Monday in 
December through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Russell County (on 
the Channels State 
Forest and Clinch 
Mountain WMA) 

Monday following the last Saturday 
in September and for 2 two days 
following; and the fourth Monday 
in November through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Scott County  

Monday following the last Saturday 
in September and for 2 two days 
following; and the first fourth 
Monday in December November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Shenandoah County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 
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Smyth County 

(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in nearest 
December and for 19 days 
following 2 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Smyth County  

(northwest of I-81)  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Southampton County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Spotsylvania County  
Fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Stafford County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Suffolk (City of)  
October 1 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Surry County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Sussex County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Tazewell County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Virginia Beach (City 
of)  

October 1 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Warren County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

Washington County  
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in nearest 
December and for 19 days 
following 2 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Washington County 
(northwest of I-81 
and east of Route 19) 
I-81) 

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the first 
fourth Monday in December 
November through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Washington County 
(northwest of I-81 
and west of Route 
19)  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
days following; and the first 
Monday in December and for 19 
days following. 

Westmoreland 
County  

Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

Wise County  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the first 
fourth Monday in December 
November through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Wythe County  
(southeast of I-81)  

First Monday in nearest 
December and for 19 days 
following 2 through the first 
Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive. 

Wythe County  
(northwest of I-81)  

Monday following the last 
Saturday in September and for 2 
two days following; and the 
fourth Monday in November 
through the first Saturday in 
January, both dates inclusive. 

York County  
Monday nearest December 2 and 
for 5 consecutive hunting 19 days 
following. 

B. [ Except as provided in the Notwithstanding provisions 
of ] subsection A of this section, bears may be hunted from 
the first Saturday prior to the fourth Monday in November 
October through the first Saturday in January, both dates 
inclusive, within the incorporated limits of any town or city 
that allows bear hunting.  
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4VAC15-50-12. Youth and apprentice hunter bear 
hunting weekend. 

It shall be lawful for hunters 15 years of age and under 
younger and holders of a valid apprentice hunting license, 
when in compliance with all applicable laws and license 
requirements, to hunt bears on the second Saturday in 
October and the following calendar day when accompanied 
and directly supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia 
hunting license on his person or is exempt from purchasing a 
hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying youth or 
apprentice bear hunters on this weekend may not carry or 
discharge weapons. Bear bag limit, weight limits, and all 
other take restrictions specifically provided in the sections 
appearing in this chapter apply to this youth weekend. Bear 
hunting with dogs is prohibited in the counties Counties of 
Accomack, Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), 
Fairfax, Grayson (east (west of Route 16), Henry, Loudoun, 
Northampton, Patrick, Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern 
Railroad), Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), Smyth (south of 
Interstate 81 and east west of Route 16), Washington (south 
of Interstate 81), and; in the city City of Lynchburg; and on 
Amelia, Chester F. Phelps, G. Richard Thompson, and 
Pettigrew Wildlife Management Areas. Tracking dogs as 
described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be 
used. 

4VAC15-50-71. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bears during the special 
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 
Saturday prior to the second Monday in November through 
the Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 
inclusive, except in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and 
Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt bear with dogs during any 
special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 
that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 
Virginia may be used. 

C. A muzzleloading gun, for the purpose of this section, 
means a single shot weapon, [ .45 caliber or larger, ] firing a 
single projectile or sabot (with a .38 .35 caliber or larger 
projectile) of the same caliber [ where the propellant and 
projectile are ] loaded from the muzzle of the weapon and 
propelled by at least 50 grains of black powder (or black 
powder equivalent or smokeless powder). 

D. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 
firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 
muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season. 

4VAC15-50-81. Validating tags and checking bear and 
tooth submission by licensee or permittee.  

A. Any person killing a bear shall, before removing the 
carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 
their special license for hunting bear or special permit by 

completely removing the designated notch area from the tag. 
Place of kill shall be defined as the location where the animal 
is first reduced to possession. It shall be unlawful for any 
person to validate (notch) a bear tag from any special license 
for hunting bear or special permit prior to the killing of a 
bear. A bear tag that is mistakenly validated (notched) prior to 
the killing of a bear must be immediately voided by the 
licensee or permittee by writing, in ink, the word "VOID" on 
the line provided on the license tag.  

B. Upon killing a bear and validating (notching) a license 
tag or special permit, as provided in subsection A of this 
section, the licensee shall, upon vehicle transport of the 
carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever 
occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, present the 
carcass and validated (notched) license tag or special permit 
to an authorized bear checking station or to an appropriate 
representative of the department in the county or adjoining 
county in which the bear was killed or report the kill through 
the department's automated harvest reporting system. Upon 
presentation of the carcass and validated (notched) license tag 
or special permit to the bear checking station, the licensee 
shall surrender or allow to be removed one premolar tooth 
from the carcass. At such time, the person checking the 
carcass will be given a game check card. The successful 
hunter shall then immediately record the game check card 
number, in ink, on the line provided adjacent to the license 
tag that was validated (notched) in the field. The game check 
card must be kept in possession with the carcass until the 
carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, the 
game check card must be securely attached to the carcass At 
such time, the person checking or reporting the carcass will 
be given a black bear check card furnished by the department 
or a confirmation number from the automated reporting 
system. The successful hunter shall then immediately record 
the game check card number or confirmation number, in ink, 
on the line provided on the tag that was validated (notched) in 
the field. If checked at an authorized bear check station, the 
black bear check card must be kept in possession with the 
carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left 
unattended, the bear check card must be securely attached to 
the carcass. If the kill is reported using the automated harvest 
reporting system, no check card is required as long as the 
hunter who killed the animal is in possession of the carcass. If 
the automated harvest reported carcass is left unattended or 
transferred to the possession of another individual, written 
documentation including the successful hunter's full name, 
the date the animal was killed, and the confirmation number 
must be created and kept in possession with the carcass until 
the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, this 
written documentation must be securely attached to the 
carcass. Processed carcass parts of a bear killed legally in 
Virginia may be transported; however, upon request of any 
authorized law-enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or 
written information necessary to properly establish legal 
possession must be furnished immediately. 
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C. If the carcass is checked at a bear check station, upon 
presentation of the carcass and validated (notched) license tag 
or special permit to the bear checking station, the licensee 
shall surrender or allow to be removed one premolar tooth 
from the carcass. If the kill is reported through the 
department's automated harvest reporting system, a premolar 
must be removed by the hunter immediately after reporting 
the kill. The premolar shall be placed in an envelope 
furnished by the department and labeled with the hunter's full 
name, check confirmation number, date of kill, and the sex of 
the harvested bear. This envelope with premolar and 
accompanying information must be mailed or delivered to the 
department no later than 14 days after the close of the bear 
harvest season.  

C. D. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the 
identity (sex) of the sex of any bear killed unless and until the 
license tag or special permit is validated (notched) and 
checked as required by this section. Successful bear hunters 
are allowed to dismember the carcass to pack it out from the 
place of kill, after an appropriate license tag has been 
validated (notched) as required above in subsection A of this 
section, as long as they do not destroy the identity of the sex 
of the animal remains identifiable, and all the parts of the 
carcass are present when the bear is checked at an authorized 
bear checking station or reported through the automated 
harvest reporting system. Any bear found in the possession of 
any person without a validated (notched) license tag or 
documentation that the bear has been checked at an 
authorized bear checking station or automated harvest 
reporting system as required by this section shall be forfeited 
to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law.  

4VAC15-50-91. Checking bear and tooth submission by 
persons exempt from license requirements or holding a 
license authorization number.  

A. Upon killing a bear, any person (i) exempt from license 
requirements as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of 
Virginia, or (ii) issued a complimentary license as prescribed 
in § 29.1-339, or the holder of the Code of Virginia, (iii) 
holding a permanent license issued pursuant to § 29.1-301 E 
of the Code of Virginia, or (iv) the holder of a Virginia 
license authorization number issued by a telephone or 
electronic media agent pursuant to § 29.1-327 B of the Code 
of Virginia shall, upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at 
the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever occurs first, 
and without unnecessary delay, present the carcass to an 
authorized bear checking station or to any appropriate 
representative of the department in the county or adjoining 
county in which the bear was killed, or report the kill through 
the department's automated harvest reporting system. At such 
time, the person checking or reporting the carcass shall be 
given a black bear check card furnished by the department or 
a confirmation number from the automated reporting system. 
If checked at a bear check station, the black bear check card 
must be kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass 

is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, the black bear 
check card must be securely attached to the carcass. If the kill 
is reported using the automated harvest reporting system, the 
successful hunter shall immediately create written 
documentation including the successful hunter's full name, 
the date the animal was killed, and the confirmation number. 
This written documentation must be kept in possession with 
the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the automated 
harvest reported carcass is transferred to the possession of 
another individual, the written documentation must be 
transferred with the carcass to the individual and kept in 
possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 
the carcass is left unattended, this written documentation 
must be securely attached to the carcass. Processed carcass 
parts of a black bear killed legally in Virginia may be 
transported; however, upon request of any authorized law-
enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or written information 
necessary to properly establish legal possession must be 
furnished immediately.   

Upon presentation of the carcass to the B. If the bear is 
checked at a bear checking station, the person checking the 
carcass shall surrender or allow to be removed one premolar 
tooth from the carcass. At such time, the person checking or 
reporting the carcass shall be given a game check card 
furnished by the department. The game check card must be 
kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is 
processed. If the carcass is left unattended, the game check 
card must be securely attached to the carcass If the kill is 
reported through the department's automated harvest 
reporting system, a premolar must be removed by the hunter 
immediately after reporting the kill. The premolar shall be 
placed in an envelope furnished by the department and 
labeled with the hunter's full name, check confirmation 
number, date of kill, and the sex of the harvested bear. This 
envelope with premolar and accompanying information must 
be mailed or delivered to the department no later than 14 days 
after the close of the bear harvest season. 

B. C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the 
identity of the sex of any bear killed until the bear is checked 
as required by this section. Successful bear hunters are 
allowed to dismember the carcass to pack it out from the 
place of kill as long as they do not destroy the identity of the 
sex and all the parts of the carcass are present when the bear 
is checked at a big game an authorized bear check station or 
reported through the automated harvest reporting system. Any 
bear that has not been checked, via an authorized bear check 
station or the automated harvest reporting system as required 
by this section, found in the possession of any person exempt 
from the license requirements or holding a license 
authorization number shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth 
to be disposed of as provided by law.  
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4VAC15-50-110. Use of dogs in hunting bear. 

A. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 
during the open season for hunting deer in the counties west 
of the Blue Ridge Mountains and during the first 16 days of 
the deer open season in the counties Counties of Amherst 
(west of Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its 
intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the town of Amherst 
continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, and 
Nelson (west of Route 151); and within the boundaries of the 
national forests, except that tracking dogs as described in 
§ 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

B. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 
during the first 14 days of the open season for hunting deer in 
the counties Counties of Greene and Madison, except that 
tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 
Virginia may be used. 

C. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 
during the open season prescribed in 4VAC15-50-11 in the 
counties Counties of Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern 
Railroad), Carroll (east of the New River), Fairfax, Floyd, 
Franklin, Grayson (east of the New River), Henry, Loudoun, 
Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), Patrick, Pittsylvania 
(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski (south of 
Interstate 81), Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), and Wythe 
(southeast of the New River or that part bounded by Route 21 
on the west, Interstate 81 on the north, the county line on the 
east, the New River on the southeast, and Cripple Creek on 
the south); in the city City of Lynchburg; and on Amelia, 
Chester F. Phelps, G. Richard Thompson, and Pettigrew 
Wildlife Management Areas, except that tracking dogs as 
described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be 
used. 

4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season.  

A. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, from August 1 through the last Saturday 
in September, both dates inclusive, in all counties and cities 
or in the portions in which bear hunting is permitted except in 
the Counties of Accomack, Amelia, Appomattox, 
Buckingham, Campbell, Caroline, Charles City, Chesterfield, 
Clarke, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, 
Fluvanna, Frederick, Gloucester, Goochland, Grayson (west 
of Route 16), Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, Isle of 
Wight, James City, King and Queen, King George, King 
William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Mathews, Middlesex, 
New Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, 
Orange, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, 
Prince George, Prince William, Richmond, Roanoke (south of 
Interstate 81), Smyth (that part south of Interstate 81 and west 
of Route 16), Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, 
Sussex, Westmoreland, and York, Albemarle, Alleghany, 
Amherst, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, 
Brunswick, Buchanan, Carroll, Charlotte, Craig, Culpeper, 
Dickenson, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Grayson (east of Route 

16), Greene, Greensville, Highland, Lee, Lunenburg, 
Madison, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Nelson, Page, Pulaski, 
Rappahannock, Roanoke (west of I-81), Rockbridge, 
Rockingham, Russell, Scott, Shenandoah, Smyth (except for 
the part southeast of I-81 and west of State Route 16), 
Tazewell, Warren, Washington (northwest of I-81), Wise, and 
Wythe and in the cities Cities of Hampton, Newport News 
and Norfolk Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 
capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third 
Monday in November and for 14 days following, both dates 
inclusive, in the Counties of Amelia, Appomattox, 
Buckingham, Brunswick, Campbell (east of the Norfolk 
Southern Railroad), Charles City, Charlotte, Cumberland, 
Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, Halifax, Isle of Wight, James 
City, King and Queen, King George, King William, 
Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, 
New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, Pittsylvania (east of 
the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince Edward, Prince 
George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, 
Westmoreland, and York. 

C. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, bow, 
crossbow, or any weapon capable of taking a black bear while 
participating in the bear hound training season. The meaning 
of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall include 
having a firearm, bow, crossbow, or any weapon capable of 
taking a black bear in or on one's person, vehicle, or 
conveyance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5908; Filed June 5, 2019, 1:32 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 
Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 
management of wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-290. Game: Permits 
(amending 4VAC15-290-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the department's Richmond office 
mailing address. 
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4VAC15-290-60. Holding wild animals for exhibition 
purposes.  

A. Where an exhibit is educational and purposeful in nature, 
wild animals may be exhibited with a permit provided for in § 
29.1-417 of the Code of Virginia, under such restrictions and 
conditions as the board may prescribe.  

B. Elementary or secondary school teachers may possess 
and display wildlife for educational purposes without a permit 
to exhibit wildlife, provided that: 

1. Notification of the display is made to the department by 
mail to Permits Section, VDGIF, P.O. Box 11104, 
Richmond 3337, Henrico, VA 23230-1104 23228-3337. 
This notification shall be made within 48 hours of the 
beginning of the display, shall be updated any time that 
additional wildlife is added to the display, and shall 
include: 

a. Number and species of wildlife held for display; 

b. Physical address of the location of the display; and 

c. Duration for which the display is intended to be 
maintained.  

2. Species allowed to be possessed and displayed pursuant 
to this subsection shall be limited to those species included 
in the List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, 
which is incorporated by reference in 4VAC15-20. In 
addition, in no case shall the following species be 
possessed and displayed without a permit to exhibit 
wildlife: 

a. Those species included on the list contained in 
4VAC15-30-40, whether of native or exotic origin. 

b. Fur-bearing animals as defined in § 29.1-100 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

c. Those species defined as nonnative or exotic animals 
pursuant to 4VAC15-20-50. 

d. Migratory birds protected by the federal Migratory 
Bird Treaty Act (16 USC §§ 703-711). 

e. Federal and state threatened and endangered species 
pursuant to 4VAC15-20-130. 

f. Nuisance species designated by § 29.1-100 of the Code 
of Virginia or 4VAC15-20-160, or nonindigenous 
aquatic nuisance species designated by § 29.1-571 of the 
Code of Virginia or 4VAC15-20-210. 

g. Predatory or undesirable animals or birds for which a 
permit is required by 4VAC15-30-20.  

3. Any person bitten by mammalian wildlife must report 
the injury to the local health department. The offending 
animal must be segregated and housed separately from 
other animals and humans until the health department is 
notified.  

4. Wildlife must be confined under sanitary and humane 
conditions that are appropriate for the species in captivity. 
All cages and enclosures shall be locked at all times when 
wildlife is not under the immediate control or direct 
supervision of the handler to prevent wildlife escape and 
unauthorized contact with individuals.  

5. No wildlife held, possessed, or displayed may be 
released for any purpose without the written authorization 
of the department. 

6. The department shall be notified within 24 hours of an 
instance of wildlife sickness or disease or in the event of an 
escape.  

7. Teachers possessing and displaying wildlife for 
educational purposes in accordance with this section shall 
comply with all other local, state, and federal laws and 
regulations pertaining to species possessed and displayed.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5934; Filed June 5, 2019, 2:36 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 
Process Act pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, 
which provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 
supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 
Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et 
seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-400. Watercraft: Accident 
and Casualty Reporting (amending 4VAC15-400-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 
Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-
8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the reference to the department's 
Richmond location, which is no longer accurate, and 
updates the regulation with the headquarters reference. 

4VAC15-400-20. Immediate notification of reportable 
accident.  

When an accident occurs that requires a written report in 
accordance with 4VAC15-400-30, the operator shall, without 
delay, by the quickest means available, notify the department 
in Richmond, Virginia headquarters, or the most immediately 
available member of the department, of:  

1. The date, time, and exact location of the occurrence;  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 8, 2019 

2675 

2. The major details of the accident including the name of 
each person who died or disappeared;  

3. The number and name of the vessel; and  

4. The names and addresses of the owner and operator.  

When the operator of a vessel cannot give the notice 
required by the foregoing, each person, on board the vessel 
shall notify the department or a member of its law-
enforcement force, or determine that the notice has been 
given.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5935; Filed June 5, 2019, 2:48 p.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Crabbing 
(amending 4VAC20-270-40, 4VAC20-270-51).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 
Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments increase the November bushel limits to 
match bushel limits in all other months except March and 
change the seasonal dates for 2019 and 2020 pertaining to 
blue crab commercial harvest and crab pot removal. 

CHAPTER 270  
PERTAINING TO CRABBING BLUE CRAB FISHERY 

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits.  

A. In 2018 2019, the lawful season for the commercial 
harvest of crabs by crab pot shall be March 17 through 
November 30. In 2019 2020, the lawful season for the 
commercial harvest of crabs by crab pot shall be March 17 
through November 30. For all other lawful commercial gear 
used to harvest crabs, as described in 4VAC20-1040, the 
lawful seasons for the harvest of crabs shall be April 1 
through October 31. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 
possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 
season, as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 
set, fish, or leave any hard crab pot in any tidal waters of 

Virginia from December 1, 2018 2019, through March 16, 
2019 2020. It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly 
place, set, fish, or leave any lawful commercial gear used to 
harvest crabs, except any hard crab pot or any gear as 
described in 4VAC20-460-25, in any tidal waters of Virginia 
from November 1, 2018 2019, through March 31, 2019 2020. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 
set, fish, or leave any fish pot in any tidal waters from March 
12 through March 16, except as provided in subdivisions 1 
and 2 of this subsection.  

1. It shall be lawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 
fish pot in those Virginia waters located upriver of the 
following boundary lines:  

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 
connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 
mouth of College Creek.  

b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the 
Route 33 bridges at West Point.  

c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 
the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock.  

d. In the Potomac River the boundary line shall be the 
Route 301 bridge that extends from Newberg, Maryland 
to Dahlgren, Virginia. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel 
pots as described in 4VAC20-500-50.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish 
any number of fish pots in excess of 10% of the amount 
allowed by the gear license limit, up to a maximum of 30 fish 
pots per vessel, when any person on that vessel has set any 
crab pots. 

1. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots set in the 
areas described in subdivision D 1 of this section. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel 
pots as described in 4VAC20-500.  

3. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots constructed 
of a mesh less than one-inch square or hexagonal mesh. 

4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 
harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 
amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 
3 three bushels of crabs. 

B. From July 5, 2018 2019, through October 31, 2018 
November 30, 2019, and April 1, 2019 2020, through July 4, 
2019 2020, any Commercial Fisherman Registration Licensee 
commercial fisherman registration licensee legally licensed 
for any crab pot license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, 
shall be limited to the following maximum daily harvest and 
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possession limits for any of the following crab pot license 
categories: 

1. 10 bushels, or 3 three barrels and 1 one bushel, of crabs 
if licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 14 bushels, or 4 four barrels and 2 two bushels, of crabs 
if licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 18 bushels, or 6 six barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 
170 crab pots. 

4. 29 bushels, or 9 nine barrels and 2 two bushels, of crabs 
if licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 47 bushels, or 15 barrels and 2 two bushels, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From November 1, 2018, through November 30, 2018, 
and March 17, 2019 2020, through March 31, 2019 2020, any 
Commercial Fisherman Registration Licensee commercial 
fisherman registration licensee legally licensed for any crab 
pot license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be 
limited to the following maximum daily harvest and 
possession limits for any of the following crab pot license 
categories: 

1. 8 Eight bushels, or 2 two barrels and 2 two bushels, of 
crabs if licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 10 bushels, or 3 three barrels and 1 one bushel, of crabs 
if licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 13 bushels, or 4 four barrels and 1 one bushel, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 170 crab pots. 

4. 21 bushels, or 7 seven barrels, of crabs if licensed for up 
to 255 crab pots. 

5. 27 bushels, or 9 nine barrels, of crabs if licensed for up 
to 425 crab pots. 

D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 
board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 
limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 
limit, as described in subsections B and C of this section, and 
that daily limit shall correspond to the highest harvest and 
possession limit of only one licensee on board that vessel. 

E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 
licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 
possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab 
pot licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot 
licensee's name, address, Commercial Fisherman Registration 
License commercial fisherman registration license number, 
date, and amount of bushels or barrels of crabs to be sold. 

F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 
daily bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this 
section, that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned 
immediately to the water by the licensee or licensees who 
possess that excess over lawful daily harvest or possession 

limit. The refusal to return crabs, in excess of any lawful daily 
harvest or possession limit, to the water shall constitute a 
separate violation of this chapter. 

G. When any person on board any boat or vessel possesses a 
crab pot license, it shall be unlawful for that person or any 
other person aboard that boat or vessel to possess a seafood 
buyers boat license and buy any crabs on any day.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6061; Filed June 25, 2019, 11:55 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-670. Pertaining to 
Recreational Gear Licenses (amending 4VAC20-670-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 
Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments correct a cross reference regarding daily 
time limits and remove text that does not accurately 
describe current gear restrictions. 

4VAC20-670-30. Gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to use any gill net 
greater than 300 feet in length when licensed for recreational 
purposes under this chapter except as described in subsection 
B of this section. Any person licensed to use a recreational 
gill net up to 300 feet in length shall stay within 100 yards of 
such net when it is overboard. Failure to attend such net in 
this fashion is a violation of this chapter.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to use any anchored 
gill net when licensed for recreational purposes under this 
chapter that is greater than 110 feet in length in any of the 
tidal waters upriver of the saltwater-freshwater boundaries. 
Any anchored gill net set or placed in areas upriver of the 
saltwater-freshwater boundaries shall be retrieved within one 
hour of setting or placing that gill net. Any person licensed to 
use a recreational anchored gill net shall stay within 100 
yards of such net when it is overboard. Failure to attend such 
net in this fashion is a violation of this chapter, and any 
unattended anchored gill net shall be confiscated by the 
marine police officer.  
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C. It shall be unlawful for any person to use more than five 
crab pots or more than two eel pots when licensed for 
recreational purposes under this chapter.  

D. Any law or chapter applying to the setting or fishing of 
commercial gill nets, cast nets, dip nets, crab pots, crab traps, 
or crab trot lines shall also apply to the gear licensed under 
this chapter when set or fished for recreational purposes, 
except that (i) certain commercial gear used for recreational 
purposes shall be marked in accordance with the provisions 
described in 4VAC20-670-40, and (ii) the daily time limits 
for commercial crab potting and peeler potting established in 
this section 4VAC20-270-30 shall not apply to the setting and 
fishing of recreational crab pots licensed under this chapter, 
and (iii) the area established in § 28.2-709 of the Code of 
Virginia shall not apply to the setting and fishing of 
recreational crab pots licensed under this chapter.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to use any recreational 
gill net to catch and possess any species of fish whose 
commercial fishery is regulated by an annual harvest quota.  

F. It shall be unlawful for any person using a recreational 
gill net, fish cast net, or fish dip net to take and possess more 
than the recreational possession limit for any species 
regulated by such a limit. When fishing from any boat, using 
gear licensed under this chapter, the total possession limit 
shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally 
eligible to fish multiplied by the individual possession limit 
for the regulated species, and the captain or operator of the 
boat shall be responsible for adherence to the possession 
limit.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any person using a recreational 
gill net, fish cast net, or fish dip net to take and possess any 
fish which that is less than the lawful minimum size 
established for that species. When the taking of any fish is 
regulated by different size limits for commercial and 
recreational fishermen, that size limit applicable to 
recreational fishermen or to hook-and-line fishermen shall 
apply to the taking of that species by persons licensed under 
this chapter.  

H. It shall be unlawful for any person to use any ordinary 
crab trot line greater than 300 feet in length when licensed for 
recreational purposes under this chapter.  

I. It shall be unlawful for any person licensed to use five 
crab pots under this chapter to fish those pots on Sunday or to 
fish those pots from September 16 through May 31. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6064; Filed June 25, 2019, 11:56 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1040. Pertaining to Crabbing 
Licenses (amending 4VAC20-1040-10, 4VAC20-1040-20, 
4VAC20-1040-35; repealing 4VAC20-1040-25).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 
Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments (i) change the term "crabbing" to 
"commercial crab fishery," (ii) repeal the process to 
appeal license eligibility status, and (iii) add the transfer 
of eligibility of a crab license to the transferability 
provision. 

CHAPTER 1040  
PERTAINING TO CRABBING COMMERCIAL CRAB 

FISHERY LICENSES  

4VAC20-1040-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter is to cap and control effort in the 
commercial crab fisheries.  

4VAC20-1040-20. License sales moratorium and license 
ineligibility conditions. 

A. For any lawful crabbing crab fishery season, commercial 
licenses for crab pot, peeler pot, crab scrape, crab trap, 
ordinary trot line, patent trot line, and dip net shall be sold 
only to those registered commercial fishermen who have been 
determined by the commission to be eligible to purchase any 
of these licenses in 2010, except as described in subsection B 
of this section.  

B. For any lawful crabbing commercial crab fishery season, 
those registered commercial fishermen who were eligible 
from 2004 through 2008 for any crab pot or peeler pot 
licenses, but reported no harvest from 2004 through 2007, 
were placed on a waiting list in 2009 and shall remain 
ineligible to purchase a commercial crab pot or peeler pot 
license, in accordance with subsection C of this section. 

C. At such time as results from the Chesapeake Bay Bay-
wide Blue Crab Winter Dredge Survey indicate that an 
abundance of 215 million age 1+ female blue crabs (blue 
crabs 2.4 inches and greater, in carapace width) has been 
attained in three consecutive, seasonal (December – March) 
surveys, Bay-wide Blue Crab Winter Dredge Surveys, those 
registered commercial fishermen on the waiting list as 
described in subsection B of this section shall resume their 
eligibility to purchase their commercial crab pot or peeler pot 
licenses according to a limited and delayed access system 
established by the Commission commission. 
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D. Any person receiving a commercial crab license by 
lawful transfer also establishes his eligibility to purchase that 
specific license; however, any person either failing to register 
as a commercial fisherman in any year or lawfully 
transferring his commercial crab license to another person 
shall forfeit his eligibility to purchase that specific crab 
license. 

E. Commercial licenses for crab pots, peeler pots, crab 
scrapes, crab traps, ordinary trot lines, patent trot lines, and 
crab dip nets may be transferred Any person eligible to 
purchase any commercial crab license as described in 
subsection A of this section may transfer that eligibility to an 
immediate family member of the that eligible licensee at any 
time and, in. In the case of death or incapacitation of the 
eligible licensee, eligibility for any and all commercial crab 
licenses may be transferred to a registered commercial 
fisherman at any time. Crabbing Eligibility for commercial 
crab licenses also may also be transferred to another 
registered commercial fisherman, except that not more than 
100 licenses shall be transferred in the any current year. All 
such transfers shall be documented on forms provided by the 
commission and shall be subject to the approval of the 
commissioner or his designee. 

F. Any commercial crab pot or peeler pot license that is was 
purchased by the commission through the 2008 Federal Crab 
Disaster Relief Program shall be permanently retired and 
shall not be available for sale to any fisherman at any time. 
Any person whose license is was purchased under the 2008 
Federal Crab Disaster Relief Program may re-enter the 
fishery only through the transfer of another commercial crab 
pot or peeler pot license as authorized by regulations in effect 
at the time of the transfer. 

4VAC20-1040-25. Appeal process. (Repealed.) 

Any registered commercial fisherman described in 
4VAC20-1040-20 B 2 may appeal the status of his license 
ineligibility, to the commission, provided he documents one 
of the following conditions: (i) a health condition that 
prevented the registered commercial fisherman from 
harvesting any crabs during the 2004 through 2007 lawful 
crabbing seasons; (ii) an active military service that prevented 
the registered commercial fisherman from harvesting any 
crabs during the 2004 through 2007 lawful crabbing seasons; 
or (iii) a substantial error in his mandatory harvest reporting 
records. The deadline for submission to the commission of 
any appeal under this section shall be June 9, 2009. 

4VAC20-1040-35. Control date. 

The commission hereby establishes December 17, 2007, as 
the control date for management of all blue crab fisheries in 
Virginia. Participation by any individual in a commercial crab 
fishery after the control date will not be considered in the 
calculation or distribution of crabbing rights should further 
entry limitations be established. Any individual entering the 

commercial crab fishery after the control date will have no 
right to future participation in the commercial crab fishery 
should further entry limitations be established. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6062; Filed June 25, 2019, 11:55 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1140. Prohibition of Crab 
Dredging in Virginia Waters (amending 4VAC20-1140-
20).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 
Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment continues the closure of the 2019–2020 
winter crab dredge season. 

4VAC20-1140-20. Crab dredging prohibited. 

In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of the Code 
of Virginia, the crab dredging season of December 1, 2018 
2019, through March 31, 2019 2020, is closed, and it shall be 
unlawful to use a dredge for catching crabs from the waters of 
the Commonwealth during that season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6063; Filed June 25, 2019, 11:56 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 

CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-101. Regulation Governing 
Juvenile Secure Detention Centers (adding 6VAC35-101-
45).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-322.7 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019.  
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Agency Contact: Kristen Peterson, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 600 East Main Street, 20th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 588-3902, 
FAX (804) 371-6490, or email 
kristen.peterson@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 66-10 of the Code of Virginia grants the Board 
of Juvenile Justice the authority to "promulgate such 
regulations as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of 
this title and other laws of the Commonwealth." Section 16.1-
309.9 of the Code of Virginia requires the board to approve 
"minimum standards for the construction and equipment of 
detention homes or other facilities and for food, clothing, 
medical attention, and supervision of juveniles to be housed 
in these facilities and programs." 

Purpose: The Regulation Governing Juvenile Secure 
Detention Centers (6VAC35-101) applies to detention 
centers, defined in 6VAC35-101-10 as "local, regional, or 
state, publicly or privately operated secure custody facilities 
that house individuals who are ordered to be detained 
pursuant to the Code of Virginia." Virginia law allows 
residents to be detained in secure detention centers pending 
court hearings for allegations of delinquency (predispositional 
programs) and for up to six months as ordered by a judge 
(postdispositional programs). In all such cases, the regulation 
requires detention centers to comply with the department's 
certification regulations, which are set out in Regulation 
Governing the Monitoring, Approval, and Certification of 
Juvenile Justice Programs and Facilities (6VAC35-20). 
Currently, neither chapter addresses programs in which 
secure detention centers enter into agreements to house 
residents under the custody of an outside entity. This 
omission prevents the department from fully carrying out its 
monitoring, audit, and certification responsibilities with 
respect to programs that house youth under custody of a 
separate entity. Under existing regulations, the department 
does not have express authority to interview these residents, 
and the department cannot review these residents' files or 
other documentation unless authorized to do so by the outside 
entity. 

This gap in oversight prevents the department from properly 
exercising its monitoring, audit, and certification authority 
over the one juvenile detention center that currently has a 
contract with the federal government to house residents under 
federal custody. Additionally, it creates ambiguity with 
respect to certification requirements for programs that are a 
product of similar contractual arrangements between 
detention centers and the department to operate alternative 
direct care programs such as community placement programs 
(CPPs) and detention reentry programs.  

The proposed amendment will give the department the same 
oversight authority of these programs and the residents placed 
in these programs as it currently possesses for 
predispositional and postdispositional programs by 

compelling the contracting parties to include certain 
provisions in their agreements. First, the agreement must 
subject the program to the department's certification 
regulations. Second, the agreement must give the department 
the same access to these residents for purposes of monitoring, 
audit, and compliance as the department has under the 
certification regulations for all other residents placed in 
predispositional and postdispositional programs operated by 
the detention centers. 

This regulatory change is essential to protect the health, 
safety, and welfare of residents under the custody of separate 
entities and placed in detention centers pursuant to these 
agreements. The department cannot ensure that the detention 
centers are supervising and caring for these residents within 
the parameters of its regulations and in a manner that 
promotes safety and security if the department cannot 
question the residents or access their files or other documents. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: On 
September 5, 2018, at the request of the department, the board 
voted to approve an amendment to the Regulation Governing 
Juvenile Secure Detention Centers for submission through the 
fast-track rulemaking process. The department identified a 
gap in its oversight authority with respect to detention centers 
that enter into agreements to house residents who are under 
the custody of a separate entity. The proposed amendment 
will require detention centers, when entering into such 
agreements with outside entities, to include provisions in the 
agreement that subject these programs to the department's 
regulations and that give the department express authority to 
interview residents, review files, and perform all other 
activities necessary to determine compliance with department 
regulation.  

The department is not expecting this rulemaking to be 
controversial. All juvenile secure detention centers operating 
in the Commonwealth of Virginia, including those that have 
agreements with outside entities to house youth in the outside 
entity's custody, currently are subject to department detention 
center and certification regulations by virtue of their 
predispositional or postdispositional programs. As a matter of 
practice, these facilities already seek to comply with the 
Regulation Governing Juvenile Secure Detention Centers for 
all residents, even those who are in separate programs or units 
in the detention center in accordance with these agreements.  

The proposed amendment will give the department the 
authority necessary to determine whether all programs 
operated in detention centers regulated by the department are 
complying with state regulations. This authority will assist 
the department in its efforts to ensure the safety, security, and 
health of the residents placed in these programs. 

Substance: The proposal adds 6VAC35-101-45 to 6VAC35-
101, Regulation Governing Juvenile Secure Detention 
Centers. The new section requires juvenile detention centers, 
when entering into agreements with separate entities to detain 
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a juvenile in the separate entity's custody, to ensure that the 
agreement subjects the program to the department's 
certification regulations and gives the department the same 
access to the detained juvenile and the juvenile's records as to 
all other residents in the detention center. The purpose of this 
change is to ensure that the department will be able to 
conduct full audits and have full certification authority over 
all programs operated in the facility. The proposed 
amendment is intended to apply to all agreements that meet 
the criteria set out in the proposal, whether written or oral. 
The text of the proposed amendment, as initially submitted, 
erroneously limited the application of the proposal to written 
agreements. The department has amended the language to 
correct this error.  

As a result of this proposal, the department will have 
expanded certification authority over these separately-
operated programs to carry out any of the following: (i) 
through the regulatory authority, seek whatever reports and 
information necessary to establish compliance with the 
regulatory requirements; (ii) respond to health, welfare, or 
safety violations in the facility by withholding funds, 
removing juveniles from the program or facility, placing the 
program or facility on probationary certification status, or 
summarily suspending the facility's certificate; (iii) administer 
periodic, scheduled monitoring visits or monitoring reviews; 
(iv) perform periodic certification audits; (v) require the 
program to conduct annual self-audits; (vi) compel the 
program to develop a corrective action plan for each finding 
of noncompliance discovered during an audit; or (vii) certify 
or decertify the facility for a specified period of time in 
response to a certification audit. 

Issues: This proposal is expected to benefit the public by 
giving the department a vehicle to monitor residents in 
detention center programs who are under the custody of 
separate entities. The department will ensure that detention 
centers are administering these programs in accordance with 
applicable state regulations and operating them in a manner 
that protects the safety and security of the residents, staff, and 
others in these facilities. 

The proposal also will benefit other parties to these 
agreements, including the department, by providing an 
additional level of monitoring and oversight that will help to 
ensure that these programs are operating safely and 
effectively. 

The department does not expect this amendment to 
disadvantage the general public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Juvenile Justice (Board) proposes to eliminate a gap 
in its authority with respect to juvenile detention centers 
(JDCs) that enter into agreements to house residents who are 

under the custody of a separate entity. Currently, the 
Regulation Governing Juvenile Secure Detention Centers is 
silent as to agency oversight over these third-party 
agreements. 

Result of Analysis. Overall, the benefits likely exceed the 
costs for the proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. All JDCs operating in the 
Commonwealth are subject to the Department of Juvenile 
Justice's (DJJ's) detention center1 and certification2 
regulations by virtue of their predispositional or 
postdispositional programs. But not all juvenile detainees 
within those facilities are covered. The current Regulation 
Governing Juvenile Secure Detention Centers does not 
address contracts between JDCs and separate entities for 
purposes of detaining juveniles under the separate entity's 
custody.  

There is currently one JDC in Virginia with such a contract 
with the federal government's Office of Refugee Resettlement 
(ORR). It has 22 federal migrant children detained. There are 
also multiple JDCs that have contracts with DJJ to operate 
detention reentry, community placement, or other similar 
programs. In FY 2017, nine JDCs operated community 
placement programs and 13 operated detention reentry 
programs. Technically, in addition to ORR, DJJ also counts 
as a separate entity (from the JDCs). 

DJJ does currently have express authority to monitor juvenile 
residential facilities and audit them for compliance with the 
Regulations Governing Juvenile Secure Detention Centers; 
however, there is no express statutory or regulatory 
mechanism giving the DJJ access to the files of residents who 
are housed in a detention center under these contractual 
arrangements. Nor is the DJJ authorized to interview these 
residents to assess the facility's compliance with the 
regulation without authorization by the outside entity. 

Accordingly, the Board proposes to create a new section of 
the Regulations Governing Juvenile Secure Detention Centers 
entitled "Contracts between juvenile detention centers and 
separate entities" that would add language to require JDCs 
that agree to house residents under the custody of a separate 
entity to mandate that the programs be subject to the agency's 
certification regulations. This provision would be included in 
the contract. In addition, the contract would also authorize 
DJJ to monitor, audit, and certify these programs using the 
same criteria as existing predispositional and 
postdispositional programs operated in the JDC for state-
assigned residents. By mandating that these contractual 
arrangements include an express provision giving the 
Department this authority, DJJ's certification unit will have 
the same level of access to these residents and their files as it 
has currently for residents in predispositional and 
postdispositional programs. The proposed new language 
enables the agency to effectively monitor, audit, and certify 
programs housing youth under a separate entity's custody. 
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In practice for the juveniles at JDCs through contracts with 
DJJ for detention reentry, community placement, or other 
similar programs, the facilities grant DJJ the same level of 
access to these residents and their files as it has currently for 
residents in predispositional and postdispositional programs. 
Thus, the proposed amendments would not likely 
significantly affect these children and programs. 

DJJ does not have such access to the migrant children and 
their files. The proposed amendments may help the agency 
ensure that the detention centers are supervising and caring 
for these residents within the parameters of its regulations and 
in a manner that promotes safety and security. DJJ staff 
would spend some additional time reviewing files and 
interviewing residents. The potential benefits likely exceed 
the small cost. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect DJJ, juvenile detention centers, and outside entities that 
enter into contracts to allow juvenile detention centers to 
house residents under that outside entity's custody. The 
federal Office of Refugee Resettlement currently has a 
written agreement with a juvenile detention centers in 
Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionally affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments would not affect the use and value of 
private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
would not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would 
not affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

___________________________ 
1Regulation Governing Juvenile Secure Detention Centers: 
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title6/agency35/chapter101/ 
2Regulation Governing the Monitoring, Approval, and Certification of 
Juvenile Justice Programs and Facilities: 
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title6/agency35/chapter20/ 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Juvenile Justice has reviewed the Department of Planning 
and Budget's economic impact analysis and concurs with the 
analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments add required provisions for contracts 
between juvenile detention centers and separate entities 
detaining juveniles under the separate entity's custody. The 
contract must include provisions that (i) subject the 
program to the department's certification regulations and 
(ii) authorize the department to monitor, audit, and certify 
the program in the same manner as existing 
predispositional and postdispositional programs operated 
in the detention center for state-assigned residents. 

6VAC35-101-45. Contracts between juvenile detention 
centers and separate entities. 

When a detention center enters into an agreement with a 
separate entity for the purpose of detaining a juvenile in the 
separate entity's custody, the agreement shall provide that the 
program housing the juvenile shall be subject to 6VAC35-20, 
Regulation Governing the Monitoring, Approval, and 
Certification of Juvenile Justice Programs and Facilities. 

1. For purposes of demonstrating compliance with this 
chapter, the agreement shall allow the department the same 
access to the detained juvenile and to the records and 
reports for the detained juvenile as is authorized currently 
under § 16.1-309.10 of the Code of Virginia and 6VAC35-
20 for all other residents in the detention center. 

2. Nothing in this section shall prevent the detention center 
and the separate entity from agreeing that services and 
treatment shall exceed the requirements of this chapter for 
those youth in the custody of the separate entity. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5649; Filed June 7, 2019, 9:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title6/agency35/chapter101/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title6/agency35/chapter20/
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TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 
being published; however, online users of this issue of the 
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 
form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 
available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 
Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 
11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-880. General VPDES Permit 
for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 
Activities. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4103, or 
email gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-880) 

Construction Activity Operator Permit Fee Form (rev. 9/14) 

Notice of Termination - General VPDES Permit for 
Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities 
(VAR10) (rev. 1/14) 

Registration Statement - General VPDES Permit for 
Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities 
(VAR10) (rev. 7/14) 

Transfer of Ownership Agreement Form - General VPDES 
Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 
Activities (VAR10) (rev. 1/14) 

Annual Standards & Specification (AS&S) Entity 
Information Sheet (rev. 4/2019) 

Construction Activity Operator Permit Fee Form 2019 (rev. 
4/2019) 

Notice of Termination 2019 (rev. 4/2019) 

Registration Statement 2019 (rev. 4/2019) 

Transfer of Ownership Agreement 2019 (rev. 4/2019) 
VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6037; Filed June 7, 2019, 8:57 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 
State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-110. Regulations for the 
Immunization of School Children (amending 12VAC5-
110-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-271.2, 32.1-12, and 32.1-46 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 9, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Kristin Collins, Policy Analyst, Office of 
Epidemiology, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7298, or 
email kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 222 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendment changes the requirement for acellular pertussis 
booster for school children to be prior to seventh grade. 

12VAC5-110-70. Immunization requirements. 

Every student enrolling in a school shall provide 
documentary proof of adequate immunization with the 
prescribed number of doses of each of the vaccines and 
toxoids listed in the following subdivisions, as appropriate for 
his the child's age according to the immunization schedules. 
Spacing, minimum ages, and minimum intervals shall be in 
accordance with the immunization schedules. A copy of every 
student's immunization record shall be on file in his school 
record. 

1. Diphtheria Toxoid. A minimum of four properly spaced 
doses of diphtheria toxoid. One dose shall be administered 
on or after the fourth birthday and prior to entering 
kindergarten.  

2. Tetanus Toxoid. A minimum of four properly spaced 
doses of tetanus toxoid. One dose shall be administered on 
or after the fourth birthday and prior to entering 
kindergarten.  

mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f6b08006037%7E6t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006037&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f6b08006037%7E6t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006037&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c008c006037%7E69.pdf&typ=40&actno=006037&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c008c006037%7E69.pdf&typ=40&actno=006037&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7c7be006037%7E64.pdf&typ=40&actno=006037&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aaa47006037%7E64.pdf&typ=40&actno=006037&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8583c006037%7E6m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006037&mime=application/pdf
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3. Pertussis Vaccine. A minimum of four properly spaced 
doses of pertussis vaccine. One dose shall be administered 
on or after the fourth birthday. A booster dose shall be 
administered prior to entering the sixth seventh grade. 

4. Poliomyelitis Vaccine. A minimum of four doses of 
poliomyelitis vaccine with one dose administered on or 
after the fourth birthday and prior to entering kindergarten. 

5. Measles (Rubeola) Vaccine. One dose of live measles 
vaccine administered at age 12 months or older, and a 
second dose administered prior to entering kindergarten.  

6. Rubella Vaccine. A minimum of one dose of rubella 
virus vaccine administered at age 12 months or older.  

7. Mumps Vaccine. One dose of mumps virus vaccine 
administered at age 12 months or older and a second dose 
administered prior to entering kindergarten.  

8. Haemophilus Influenzae Type b (Hib) Vaccine. A 
complete series of Hib vaccine (i.e., up to a maximum of 
four doses of vaccine as appropriate for the age of the child 
and the age at which the immunization series was 
initiated). The number of doses administered shall be in 
accordance with current immunization schedule 
recommendations. Attestation by the physician or his 
designee, registered nurse, or an official of a local health 
department on that portion of Form MCH 213G pertaining 
to Hib vaccine shall mean that the child has satisfied the 
requirements of this section. This section shall not apply to 
children older than 60 months of age or for admission to 
any grade level, kindergarten through grade 12.  

9. Hepatitis B Vaccine. A minimum of three doses of 
hepatitis B vaccine for all children. The FDA has approved 
a two-dose schedule only for adolescents 11 through 15 
years of age and only when the Merck brand 
(RECOMBIVAX HB) Adult Formulation Hepatitis B 
vaccine is used. The two RECOMBIVAX HB adult doses 
must be separated by a minimum of four months. The two 
dose schedule using the adult formulation must be clearly 
documented in the Hepatitis B section on Form MCH 
213G.  

10. Varicella (Chickenpox) Vaccine. All children born on 
and after January 1, 1997, shall be required to have one 
dose of chickenpox vaccine on or after 12 months of age 
and a second dose administered prior to entering 
kindergarten. 

11. Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV). A complete 
series of PCV (i.e., up to a maximum of four doses of 
vaccine as appropriate for the age of the child and the age 
at which the immunization series was initiated). The 
number of doses administered shall be in accordance with 
current immunization schedule recommendations. 
Attestation by the physician or his designee, registered 
nurse, or an official of a local health department on that 

portion of Form MCH 213G pertaining to PCV vaccine 
shall mean that the child has satisfied the requirements of 
this section. This section shall not apply to children older 
than 60 months of age or for admission to any grade level, 
kindergarten through grade 12. 

12. Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Vaccine. Three doses of 
properly spaced HPV vaccine for females, effective 
October 1, 2008. The first dose shall be administered 
before the child enters the sixth grade. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6007; Filed June 7, 2019, 10:20 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Housing and 
Community Development is claiming an exemption from 
Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with (i) § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes 
in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 
involved and (ii) § 2.2-4006 A 3 of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that consist only of changes in 
style or form or corrections of technical errors. The board will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-112. Enterprise Zone Grant 
Program Regulation (amending 13VAC5-112-10, 
13VAC5-112-290, 13VAC5-112-340, 13VAC5-112-420, 
13VAC5-112-460, 13VAC5-112-530).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-541 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 7, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 
TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) conform the Enterprise Zone Grant 
Program Regulation to Chapters 119 and 496 of the 2019 
Acts of Assembly, which allow all zones an additional five-
year renewal period for a maximum zone duration of 25 
years, and to Item 107 of the 2019 Appropriation Act, 
which allows inclusion of solar panels, as standalone or as 
part of new construction or rehabilitation projects, as a 
permitted activity under the program and lowers the 
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threshold at which solar projects are eligible to receive 
funding, and (ii) make technical changes updating a 
mailing address, correcting an incorrect reference, fixing a 
typo, and conforming text to style guidelines.  

Part I  
Definitions  

13VAC5-112-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Agreed-upon procedures engagement" means an 
engagement between an independent certified public 
accountant licensed by the Commonwealth and the business 
or zone investor seeking to qualify for Enterprise Zone 
incentive grants pursuant to § 59.1-549 of the Code of 
Virginia, whereby the independent certified public 
accountant, using procedures specified by the department, 
will test and report on the assertion of the business or zone 
investor as to their qualification to receive the Enterprise 
Zone incentive.  

"Assumption or acquisition" means, in connection with a 
trade or business, that the inventory, accounts receivable, 
liabilities, customer list, and good will of an existing Virginia 
company has been assumed or acquired by another taxpayer, 
regardless of a change in federal identification number or 
employees.  

"Average number of permanent full-time employees" means 
the number of permanent full-time employees during each 
payroll period of a business firm's taxable year divided by the 
number of payroll periods. This definition applies only for the 
purpose of qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant 
to 13VAC5-112-20:  

1. In calculating the average number of permanent full-
time employees, a business firm may count only those 
permanent full-time employees who worked at least half of 
their normal workdays during the payroll period. Paid 
leave time may be counted as work time.  

2. For a business firm that uses different payroll periods for 
different classes of employees, the average number of 
permanent full-time employees of the firm shall be defined 
as the sum of the average number of permanent full-time 
employees for each class of employee.  

"Base taxable year" means either of two taxable years 
immediately preceding the first year of qualification, at the 
choice of the business firm. This definition applies only for 
the purpose of qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives 
pursuant to 13VAC5-112-20.  

"Base year" means either of the two calendar years 
immediately preceding a qualified business firm's first year of 
grant eligibility, at the choice of the business firm.  

"Building" means any construction meeting the common 
ordinarily accepted meaning of the term (building, a usually 
roofed and walled structure built for permanent use) where (i) 
areas separated by interior floors or other horizontal 
assemblies and (ii) areas separated by fire walls or vertical 
assemblies shall not be construed to constitute separate 
buildings, irrespective of having separate addresses, 
ownership or tax assessment configurations, unless there is a 
property line contiguous with the fire wall or vertical 
assembly.  

"Business firm" means any corporation, partnership, electing 
small business (subchapter S) corporation, limited liability 
company, or sole proprietorship authorized to do business in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia. This shall also include 
business and professional organizations and associations 
whose classification falls under sectors 813910 and 813920 of 
the North American Industry Classification Systems and that 
generate the majority of their revenue from customers outside 
the Commonwealth.  

"Capital lease" means a lease that meets one or more of the 
following criteria and as such is classified as a purchase by 
the lessee: the lease term is greater than 75% of the property's 
estimated economic life; the lease contains an option to 
purchase the property for less than fair market value; 
ownership of the property is transferred to the lessee at the 
end of the lease term; or the present value of the lease 
payments exceed 90% of the fair market value of the 
property.  

"Common control" means those firms as defined by Internal 
Revenue Code § 52(b).  

"Department" means the Department of Housing and 
Community Development.  

"Establishment" means a single physical location where 
business is conducted or where services or industrial 
operations are performed.  

1. A central administrative office is an establishment 
primarily engaged in management and general 
administrative functions performed centrally for other 
establishments of the same firm.  

2. An auxiliary unit is an establishment primarily engaged 
in performing supporting services to other establishments 
of the same firm. This definition applies only for the 
purpose of qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives 
pursuant to 13VAC5-112-110.  

"Existing business firm" means one a business firm that was 
actively engaged in the conduct of trade or business in an area 
prior to such an area being designated as an enterprise zone or 
that was engaged in the conduct of trade or business in the 
Commonwealth and relocates to begin operation of a trade or 
business within an enterprise zone. An existing business firm 
is also one that was not previously conducted in the 
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Commonwealth by such taxpayer who acquires or assumes a 
trade or business and continues its operations. This definition 
applies only for the purpose of qualifying for Enterprise Zone 
incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-20.  

"Expansion" means an increase in square footage or the 
footprint of an existing nonresidential building via a shared 
wall, or enlargement of an existing room or floor plan. 
Pursuant to real property investment grants this shall include 
mixed-use buildings.  

"Facility" means a complex of buildings, co-located at a 
single physical location within an enterprise zone, all of 
which are necessary to facilitate the conduct of the same trade 
or business. This definition applies to new construction, as 
well as to the rehabilitation and expansion of existing 
structures.  

"Federal minimum wage" means the minimum wage 
standard as currently defined by the U.S. Department of 
Labor in the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 USC § 201 et seq. 
Such definition applies to permanent full-time employees 
paid on an hourly or wage basis.  

"Food and beverage service" means a business whose 
classification falls under subsector 722 Food Services and 
Drinking Places of North American Industry Classification 
System.  

"Full month" means the number of days that a permanent 
full-time position must be filled in order to count in the 
calculation of the grant amount under 13VAC5-112-260. A 
full month is calculated by dividing the total number of days 
in calendar year by 12. A full month for the purpose of 
calculating job creation grants is equivalent to 30.416666 
days.  

"Grant-eligible position" means a new permanent full-time 
position created above the threshold number at an eligible 
business firm. Positions in retail, personal service, or food 
and beverage service shall not be considered grant-eligible 
positions.  

"Health benefits" means that at a minimum medical 
insurance is offered to employees, and the employer shall 
offer to pay at least 50% of the cost of the premium at the 
time of employment and annually thereafter.  

"High unemployment area" means enterprise zone localities 
with unemployment rates one and one-half times or more than 
the state average based on the most recent annualized 
unemployment data published by the Virginia Employment 
Commission. 

"Household" means all the persons who occupy a single 
housing unit. Occupants may be a single family, one person 
living alone, two or more families living together, or any 
group of related or unrelated persons who share living 
arrangements. This definition applies only for the purpose of 

qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 
13VAC5-112-20.  

"Household income" means all income actually received by 
all household members over the age of older than 16 years of 
age from the following sources. This definition applies only 
for the purpose of qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives 
pursuant to 13VAC5-112-20:  

1. Gross wages, salaries, tips, commissions, etc. (before 
deductions);  

2. Net self-employment income (gross receipts minus 
operating expenses);  

3. Interest and dividend earnings; and  

4. Other money income received from net rents, Old Age 
and Survivors Insurance, social security benefits, pensions, 
alimony, child support, and periodic income from 
insurance policy annuities and other sources.  

The following types of income are excluded from household 
income:  

1. Noncash benefits such as food stamps and housing 
assistance;  

2. Public assistance payments;  

3. Disability payments;  

4. Unemployment and employment training benefits;  

5. Capital gains and losses; and  

6. One-time unearned income.  

When computing household income, income of a household 
member shall be counted for the portion of the income 
determination period that the person was actually a part of the 
household.  

"Household size" means the largest number of household 
members during the income determination period. This 
definition applies only for the purpose of qualifying for 
Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-20.  

"Housing unit" means a house, apartment, group of rooms, 
or single room that is occupied or intended for occupancy as 
separate living quarters. This definition applies only for the 
purpose of qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant 
to 13VAC5-112-20.  

"Income determination period" means the 12 months 
immediately preceding the month in which the person was 
hired. This definition applies only for the purpose of 
qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 
13VAC5-112-20.  

"Independent certified public accountant" means a public 
accountant certified and licensed by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia who is not an employee of the business firm seeking 
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to qualify for state tax incentives and grants under this 
program.  

"Job creation grant" means a grant provided under § 59.1-
547 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Joint enterprise zone" means an enterprise zone located in 
two or more adjacent localities. 

"Jurisdiction" means the city or county that made the 
application to have an enterprise zone. In the case of a joint 
application, it means all parties making the application. 
Pursuant to enterprise zone designations made prior to July 1, 
2005, this shall include towns.  

"Large qualified business firm" means a qualified business 
firm making qualified zone investments in excess of $15 
million when such zone investments result in the creation of 
at least 50 permanent full-time positions. This definition 
applies only for the purpose of qualifying for Enterprise Zone 
incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-20.  

"Large qualified zone resident" means a qualified zone 
resident making qualified zone investments in excess of $100 
million when such qualified zone investments result in the 
creation of at least 200 permanent full-time positions. This 
definition applies only for the purpose of qualifying for 
Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-110.  

"Local zone administrator" means the chief executive of the 
city or county, in which an enterprise zone is located, or his 
designee. Pursuant to enterprise zone designations made prior 
to July 1, 2005, this shall include towns.  

"Low-income" means household income was less than or 
equal to 80% of area median household income during the 
income determination period. Persons who meet the 
definition of both low-income and zone resident may not be 
counted as both for purposes of meeting employment 
requirements for the general tax credit. Instead, qualifying 
business firms must claim these persons as either low-income 
or zone resident. This definition applies only for the purpose 
of qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 
13VAC5-112-20.  

"Median household income" means the dollar amount, 
adjusted for household size, as determined annually by the 
department for the city or county in which the zone is located. 
This definition applies only for the purpose of qualifying for 
Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-20.  

"Mixed use" means a building incorporating residential uses 
in which a minimum of 30% of the useable floor space will 
be devoted to commercial, office, or industrial use. Buildings 
where less than 30% of the useable floor space is devoted to 
commercial, office, or industrial use shall be considered 
primarily residential in nature and shall not be eligible for a 
grant under 13VAC5-112-330. This definition applies only 
for the purpose of qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives 
pursuant to 13VAC5-112-330.  

"Net loss" applies to firms that relocate or expand operations 
and means (i) after relocating into a zone, a business firm's 
gross permanent employment is less than it was before 
locating into the zone, or (ii) after a business firm locates or 
expands within a zone, its gross employment at its nonzone 
location or locations is less than it was before the zone 
location occurred.  

"New business" means a business not previously conducted 
in the Commonwealth by such taxpayer and that begins 
operation in an enterprise zone after the zone was designated. 
A new business is also one created by the establishment of a 
new facility and new permanent full-time employment by an 
existing business firm in an enterprise zone and does not 
result in a net loss of permanent full-time employment 
outside the zone. This definition applies only for the purpose 
of qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 
13VAC5-112-20.  

"New construction" means a single, nonresidential facility 
built on previously undeveloped land of or a nonresidential 
structure built on the site or parcel of a previously razed 
structure with no remnants of the prior structure or physical 
connection to existing structures or outbuildings on the 
property. Pursuant to real property investment grants this 
shall include mixed-use buildings.  

"Number of eligible permanent full-time positions" means 
the amount by which the number of permanent full-time 
positions at a business firm in a grant year exceeds the 
threshold number. This definition applies only for the purpose 
of qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 
13VAC5-112-260.  

"Payroll period" means the period of time for which a 
business firm normally pays its employees.  

"Permanent full-time employee" means a person employed 
by a business firm who is normally scheduled to work (i) a 
minimum of 35 hours per week for the entire normal year of 
the business firm's operations, which normal year must 
consist of at least 48 weeks, (ii) a minimum of 35 hours per 
week for a portion of the taxable year in which the employee 
was initially hired for, or transferred to the business firm, or 
(iii) a minimum of 1,680 hours per year if the standard fringe 
benefits are paid by the business firm for the employee. 
Permanent full-time employee also means two or more 
individuals who together share the same job position and 
together work the normal number of hours a week as required 
by the business firm for that one position. Seasonal, 
temporary, leased, or contract labor employees or employees 
shifted from an existing location in the Commonwealth to a 
business firm location within an enterprise zone shall not 
qualify as permanent full-time employees. This definition 
only applies to business firms for the purpose of qualifying 
for enterprise zone incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-20.  
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"Permanent full-time position" (for the purpose of qualifying 
for grants pursuant to § 59.1-547 of the Code of Virginia) 
means a job of indefinite duration at a business firm located 
within an enterprise zone requiring the employee to report to 
work within the enterprise zone; and requiring (i) a minimum 
of 35 hours of an employee's time per week for the entire 
normal year of the business firm's operation, which "normal 
year" must consist of at least 48 weeks, (ii) a minimum of 35 
hours of an employee's time per week for the portion of the 
calendar year in which the employee was initially hired for or 
transferred to the business firm, or (iii) a minimum of 1,680 
hours per year. Such position shall not include (a) seasonal, 
temporary or contract positions, (b) a position created when a 
job function is shifted from an existing location in the 
Commonwealth to a business firm located with an enterprise 
zone, (c) any position that previously existed in the 
Commonwealth, or (d) positions created by a business that is 
simultaneously closing facilities in other areas of the 
Commonwealth.  

"Personal service" means such positions classified under 
NAICS 812.  

"Placed in service" means the final certificate of occupancy 
has been issued or the final building inspection has been 
approved by the local jurisdiction for real property 
improvements or real property investments, or in cases where 
a project does not require permits, the licensed third party 
inspector's report that the project was complete; or pursuant 
to 13VAC5-112-110, the first moment that machinery 
becomes operational and is used in the manufacturing of a 
product for consumption; or in the case of tools and 
equipment, the first moment they are used in the performance 
of duty or service.  

"Qualification year" the calendar year for which a qualified 
business firm or qualified zone investor is applying for a 
grant pursuant to 13VAC5-112-260.  

"Qualified business firm" means a business firm meeting the 
business firm requirements in 13VAC5-112-20 or 13VAC5-
112-260 and designated a qualified business firm by the 
department.  

"Qualified real property investment" (for purposes of 
qualifying for a real property investment grant) means the 
amount expended for improvements to rehabilitate, expand, 
or construct depreciable real property placed in service during 
the calendar year within an enterprise zone provided that the 
total amount of such improvements equals or exceeds (i) 
$100,000 with respect to a single building or a facility in the 
case of rehabilitation or expansion or (ii) $500,000 with 
respect to a single building or a facility in the case of new 
construction. "Qualified real property investment" includes 
any such expenditure regardless of whether it is considered 
properly chargeable to a capital account or deductible as a 
business expense under federal Treasury regulations. 
Qualified real property investments include expenditures 

associated with (a) any exterior, interior, structural, 
mechanical, or electrical improvements necessary to 
construct, expand, or rehabilitate a building for commercial, 
industrial or mixed use; (b) excavations; (c) grading and 
paving; (d) installing driveways; and (e) landscaping or land 
improvements. Qualified real property investments shall 
include, but not be limited to, costs associated with 
demolition, carpentry, sheetrock, plaster, painting, ceilings, 
fixtures, doors, windows, fire suppression systems, roofing, 
flashing, exterior repair, cleaning and cleanup, and 
installation of solar panels consistent with the provisions of 
§ 59.1-548 of the Code of Virginia and 13VAC5-112-340 A.  

Qualified real property investment shall not include:  

1. The cost of acquiring any real property or building.  

2. Other costs including (i) the cost of furnishings; (ii) any 
expenditure associated with appraisal, architectural, 
engineering, surveying, and interior design fees; (iii) loan 
fees, points, or capitalized interest; (iv) legal, accounting, 
realtor, sales and marketing, or other professional fees; (v) 
closing costs, permits, user fees, zoning fees, impact fees, 
and inspection fees; (vi) bids, insurance, signage, utilities, 
bonding, copying, rent loss, or temporary facilities incurred 
during construction; (vii) utility connection or access fees; 
(viii) outbuildings; (ix) the cost of any well or septic or 
sewer system; and (x) roads.  

3. The basis of any property (i) for which a grant under this 
section was previously provided; (ii) for which a tax credit 
under § 59.1-280.1 of the Code of Virginia was previously 
granted; (iii) that was previously placed in service in 
Virginia by the qualified zone investor, a related party as 
defined by Internal Revenue Code § 267(b), or a trade or 
business under common control as defined by Internal 
Revenue Code § 52(b); or (iv) that was previously in 
service in Virginia and has a basis in the hands of the 
person acquiring it, determined in whole or in part by 
reference to the basis of such property in the hands of the 
person from whom it was acquired or Internal Revenue 
Code § 1014(a).  

"Qualified zone improvements" (for purposes of qualifying 
for an Investment Tax Credit) means the amount expended 
for improvements to rehabilitate or expand depreciable 
nonresidential real property placed in service during the 
taxable year within an enterprise zone, provided that the total 
amount of such improvements equals or exceeds (i) $50,000 
and (ii) the assessed value of the original facility immediately 
prior to the rehabilitation or expansion. "Qualified zone 
expenditures" includes any such expenditure regardless of 
whether it is considered properly chargeable to a capital 
account or deductible as a business expense under federal 
Treasury regulations. Qualified zone improvements include 
expenditures associated with any exterior, structural, 
mechanical, or electrical improvements necessary to 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 8, 2019 

2688 

construct, expand or rehabilitate a building for commercial or 
industrial use.  

1. Qualified zone improvements include the costs 
associated with excavation, grading, paving, driveways, 
roads, sidewalks, landscaping or other land improvements, 
demolition, carpentry, sheetrock, plaster, painting, ceilings, 
fixtures, doors, windows, fire suppression systems, roofing 
and flashing, exterior repair, cleaning, and clean-up.  

2. Qualified zone improvements do not include (i) the cost 
of furnishings; (ii) any expenditure associated with 
appraisal, architectural, engineering, and interior design 
fees; (iii) loan fees, points, or capitalized interest; (iv) 
legal, accounting, realtor, sales, and marketing or other 
professional fees; (v) closing costs, permits, user fees, 
zoning fees, impact fees, or inspection fees; (vi) bids 
insurance, signage, utilities, bonding, copying, rent loss, or 
temporary facilities incurred during construction; (vii) 
utility hook-up or access fees; (viii) outbuildings; (ix) the 
cost of any well, septic, or sewer system; or (x) cost of 
acquiring land or an existing building.  

3. In the case of new nonresidential construction, qualified 
zone improvements also do not include land, land 
improvements, paving, grading, driveway, and interest. 
This definition applies only for the purposes of qualifying 
for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-
110.  

"Qualified zone investment" means the sum of qualified 
zone improvements and the cost of machinery, tools, and 
equipment used in manufacturing tangible personal property 
and placed in service on or after July 1, 1995. Machinery, 
equipment, tools, and real property that are leased through a 
capital lease and that are being depreciated by the lessee or 
that are transferred from out-of-state to a zone location by a 
business firm may be included as qualified zone investment. 
Such leased or transferred machinery, equipment, tools, and 
real property shall be valued using the depreciable basis for 
federal income tax purposes. Machinery, tools, and 
equipment shall not include the basis of any property: (i) for 
which a credit was previously granted under § 59.1-280.1 of 
the Code of Virginia; (ii) that was previously placed in 
service in Virginia by the taxpayer, a related party, as defined 
by Internal Revenue Code § 267(b), or a trade or business 
under common control, as defined by Internal Revenue Code 
§ 52(b); or (iii) that was previously in service in Virginia and 
has a basis in the hands of the person acquiring it, determined 
in whole or in part by reference to the basis of such property 
in the hands of the person whom acquired it, or Internal 
Revenue Code § 1014(a). This definition applies only for the 
purposes of qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives 
pursuant to 13VAC5-112-110.  

"Qualified zone investor" means an owner or tenant of real 
property located within an enterprise zone who expands, 
rehabilitates, or constructs such real property for commercial, 

industrial, or mixed use. In the case of a tenant, the amounts 
of qualified zone investment specified in this section shall 
relate to the proportion of the building or facility for which 
the tenant holds a valid lease. In the case of an owner of an 
individual unit within a horizontal property regime, the 
amounts of qualified zone investments specified in this 
section shall relate to that proportion of the building for 
which the owner holds title and not to common elements. 
Units of local, state, and federal government or political 
subdivisions shall not be considered qualified zone investors.  

"Qualified zone resident" means an owner or tenant of 
nonresidential real property located in an enterprise zone who 
expands or rehabilitates such real property to facilitate the 
conduct of a trade or business by such owner or tenant within 
the enterprise zone. In the case of a partnership, limited 
liability company, or S corporation, the term "qualified zone 
resident" means the partnership, limited liability company, or 
S corporation. This definition applies only for the purposes of 
qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 
13VAC5-112-110.  

"Real property investment grant" means a grant made under 
§ 59.1-548 of the Code of Virginia. This definition applies 
only for the purposes of qualifying for Enterprise Zone 
incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-330.  

"Reduced wage rate threshold" means 150% of the federal 
minimum wage pursuant to 13VAC5-112-270, 13VAC5-112-
280, and 13VAC5-112-285 and high unemployment areas. 

"Rehabilitation" means the alteration or renovation of all or 
part of an existing nonresidential building without an increase 
in square footage. Pursuant to real property investment grants 
this shall include mixed-use buildings.  

"Regular basis" means at least once a month. This definition 
applies only for the purposes of qualifying for Enterprise 
Zone incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-260.  

"Related party" means those as defined by Internal Revenue 
Code § 267(b).  

"Report to work" means that the employee filling a 
permanent full-time position reports to the business' zone 
establishment on a regular basis.  

"Retail" means a business whose classification falls under 
sectors 44-45 Retail Trade of North American Industry 
Classification System.  

"Same trade or business" means the operations of a single 
company or, related companies, or companies under common 
control.  

"Seasonal employee" means any employee who normally 
works on a full-time basis and whose customary annual 
employment is less than nine months. For example, 
individuals hired by a CPA certified public accountant firm 
during the tax return season in order to process returns and 
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who work full-time over a three-month period are seasonal 
employees.  

"Small qualified business firm" means any qualified 
business firm other than a large qualified business firm. This 
definition applies only for the purpose of qualifying for 
Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-20.  

"Small qualified zone resident" means any qualified zone 
resident other than a large qualified zone resident. This 
definition applies only for the purpose of qualifying for 
Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-350 C.  

"Subsequent base year" means the base year for calculating 
the number of grant-eligible positions in a second or 
subsequent five consecutive calendar year grant period. If a 
second or subsequent five-year grant period is requested 
within two years after the previous five-year grant period, the 
subsequent base year will be the last grant year. The 
calculation of this subsequent base year employment will be 
determined by the number of permanent full-time positions in 
the preceding base year, plus the number of threshold 
positions, plus the number of grant-eligible positions in the 
final year of the previous grant period. If a business firm 
applies for subsequent five consecutive calendar-year grant 
periods beyond the two years immediately following the 
completion of the previous five-year grant period, the 
business firm shall use one of the two preceding calendar 
years as subsequent base year, at the choice of the business 
firm.  

"Tax due" means the amount of tax liability as determined 
by the Department of Taxation or the State Corporation 
Commission. This definition applies only for the purpose of 
qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 
13VAC5-112-20 and 13VAC5-112-110.  

"Tax year" means the year in which the assessment is made. 
This definition applies only for the purpose of qualifying for 
Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-110.  

"Taxable year" means the year in which the tax due on state 
taxable income, state taxable gross receipts, or state taxable 
net capital is accrued. This definition applies only for the 
purpose of qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant 
to 13VAC5-112-20 and 13VAC5-112-110.  

"Threshold number" means an increase of four permanent 
full-time positions over the number of permanent full-time 
positions in the base year or subsequent base year.  

"Transferred employee" means an employee of a firm in the 
Commonwealth that who is relocated to an enterprise zone 
facility owned or operated by that firm.  

"Useable floor space" means all space in a building finished 
as appropriate to the use of the building as represented in 
measured drawings. Unfinished basements, attics, and 
parking garages would not constitute useable floor space. 
Finished common areas such as stairwells and elevator shafts 

should be apportioned appropriately based on the majority 
use (51%) of that floor.  

"Wage rate" means the hourly wage paid to an employee 
inclusive of shift premiums and commissions. In the case of 
salaried employees, the hourly wage rate shall be determined 
by dividing the annual salary, inclusive of shift premiums and 
commissions, by 1,820 hours. Bonuses, overtime, and tips are 
not to be included in the determination of wage rate.  

"Zone" means an enterprise zone declared by the Governor 
to be eligible for the benefits of this program.  

"Zone real property investment tax credit" means a credit 
provided to a large qualified zone resident pursuant to § 59.1-
280.1 J of the Code of Virginia. This definition applies only 
for qualifying for Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 
13VAC5-112-110.  

"Zone resident" means a person whose principal place of 
residency is within the boundaries of any enterprise zone. 
Persons who meet the definition of both low-income and zone 
resident may not be counted as both for purposes of meeting 
employment requirements for the general tax credit. Instead, 
qualifying business firms must claim these persons as either 
low-income or zone resident. Zone residency must be verified 
annually. This definition applies only for qualifying for 
Enterprise Zone incentives pursuant to 13VAC5-112-20.  

13VAC5-112-290. Application submittal and processing.  

A. In order to claim the grant, an application must be 
submitted to the department on a prescribed form or forms. 
Applicants shall provide other documents as prescribed by the 
department.  

B. Local zone administrators must verify that the location of 
the business is in the enterprise zone in a manner prescribed 
by the department.  

C. The accuracy and validity of information provided in 
such applications, including that related to permanent full-
time positions, wage rates and provision of health benefits are 
to be attested to by an independent certified public accountant 
licensed in Virginia through an agreed-upon procedures 
engagement conducted in accordance with current attestation 
standards established by the American Institute of Certified 
Public Accountants, using procedures provided by the 
department as assurance that the firm has met the criteria for 
qualification prescribed in this section.  

D. Business firms with base year employment of 100 or 
fewer permanent full-time positions and that create in a 
qualification year 25 or fewer grant eligible positions seeking 
to qualify for job creation grants as provided for in § 59.1-547 
of the Code of Virginia shall be exempt from the attestation 
requirement for that qualification year. The permanent full-
time positions, wage rates, and provision of health benefits of 
such business firms shall be subject to verification by the 
department. 
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E. In order to request job creation grants, business firms 
shall submit the application form, final attestation report, if an 
attestation is required, and all required documentation to the 
department by no later than April 1 of the calendar year 
subsequent to the qualification year.  

F. If the April 1 due date falls on a weekend or holiday, 
applications are due the next business day.  

G. Applications submitted by April 1 without the required 
attestation report shall be considered late applications and 
processed according to subsection H I of this section.  

H. The department shall notify the business in writing of any 
incomplete or missing required documentation or request 
written clarification from the business firm on information 
provided by no later than May 15. Business firms must 
respond to any unresolved issues by no later than June 1. If 
the department does not meet its May 15 date for notification, 
then businesses must respond to any unresolved issues within 
10 calendar days of the actual notification.  

I. Any applications with the required final attestation report 
and required documentation submitted after the April 1 due 
date but before May 15 of the calendar year subsequent to the 
qualification year will be held until the department 
determines that funds remain and it will not have to prorate 
grant awards. At such time, the department will review and 
process such applications and any applications pursuant to 
subsection F of this section on a first-come first served basis.  

J. The department shall award job creation grants and notify 
all applicants by June 30 as to the amount of the grant they 
shall receive.  

K. Applications must either be hand-delivered by the date 
specified in this section or sent by certified mail with a return 
receipt requested and postmarked no later than the date 
specified in this section.  

L. Applicants may only apply for grants that they are 
otherwise eligible to claim for such calendar year, subject to 
the limitations provided by 13VAC5-112-400.  

13VAC5-112-340. Computation of grant amount. 

A. For any qualified zone investor, the amount of the grant 
shall be equal to 20% of the amount of qualified real property 
investment in excess of $500,000 in the case of the 
construction of a new building or facility. In the case of the 
rehabilitation or expansion of an existing building or facility 
grants shall be equal to 20% of the amount of qualified real 
property investment in excess of $100,000. Beginning on 
January 1, 2019, the installation of solar panels shall be 
considered eligible investments for the purposes of the real 
property investment grant. A qualified zone investor may 
receive a grant for the installation of solar panels provided 
that such solar installation investment is in an amount of at 
least $50,000 and the grant shall be calculated at a rate of 
20% of the amount of qualified real property investments in 

excess of $450,000 in the case of construction of a new 
building or facility. Grants shall be calculated at a rate of 20% 
of the amount of qualified real property investment in excess 
of $50,000 in the case of the rehabilitation or expansion of an 
existing building or facility. In the case where the grant is 
awarded based solely on solar investment, the grant shall be 
calculated at a rate of 20% of the amount of total qualified 
real property investments made in solar installation. For such 
properties eligible for real property investment grants made 
solely on the basis of solar installation investments of at least 
$50,000 but not more than $100,000, awards shall not exceed 
$1 million in aggregate in any fiscal year. Qualified zone 
investments are defined as below in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 
this subsection: 

1. Qualified zone investments include expenditures 
associated with (i) any exterior, interior, structural, 
mechanical, or electrical improvements necessary to 
construct, expand, or rehabilitate a building for 
commercial, industrial, or mixed use; (ii) excavations; (iii) 
grading and paving; (iv) installing driveways; and (v) 
landscaping or land improvements. These can include, but 
not be limited to, costs associated with demolition, 
carpentry, sheetrock, plaster, painting, ceilings, fixtures, 
doors, windows, fire suppression systems, roofing, 
flashing, exterior repair, cleaning and cleanup, and solar 
panels. 

2. Qualified real property investments do not include: 

a. The cost of acquiring any real property or building. 

b. Other costs, including: (i) the cost of furnishings; (ii) 
any expenditure associated with appraisal, architectural, 
engineering, surveying, and interior design fees; (iii) loan 
fees, points, or capitalized interest; (iv) legal, accounting, 
realtor, sales and marketing, or other professional fees; 
(v) closing costs, permits, user fees, zoning fees, impact 
fees, and inspection fees; (vi) bids, insurance, signage, 
utilities, bonding, copying, rent loss, or temporary 
facilities incurred during construction; (vii) utility 
connection or access fees; (viii) outbuildings; (ix) the 
cost of any well or septic or sewer system; and (x) roads. 

c. The basis of any property: (i) for which a grant under 
this section was previously provided; (ii) for which a tax 
credit under § 59.1-280.1 of the Code of Virginia was 
previously granted; (iii) which was previously placed in 
service in Virginia by the qualified zone investor, a 
related party as defined by § 267(b) of the Internal 
Revenue Code, or a trade or business under common 
control as defined by § 52(b) of the Internal Revenue 
Code) Code; or (iv) that was previously in service in 
Virginia and has a basis in the hands of the person 
acquiring it, determined in whole or in part by reference 
to the basis of such property in the hands of the person 
from whom it was acquired or § 1014(a) of the Internal 
Revenue Code. 
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B. For any qualified zone investor making less than $5 
million in qualified real property investment, the cumulative 
grant will not exceed $100,000 within any five-year period 
for any building or facility. 

1. In cases where subsequent qualified real property 
investment within the five-year period results in the total 
qualified real property investment equaling $5 million or 
more then the qualified investor(s) investors shall be 
eligible to receive a grant(s) grants provided that the total 
of all grants received within the five-year period does not 
exceed a maximum of $200,000 per building or facility. 

2. In such cases the grant will be available to the qualified 
zone investor or investors whose qualified real property 
investment application(s) application results in the total 
qualified real property investment for the building or 
facility to equal $5 million or more for the calendar year in 
which the $5 million threshold is met. The grant will be 
equal to 20% of the amount of qualified real property 
investment in excess of $500,000 in the case of the 
construction of a new building or facility, or in the case of 
the rehabilitation or expansion of an existing building or 
facility 20% of the amount of qualified real property 
investment in excess of $100,000 notwithstanding the 
$200,000 cap per building or facility pursuant to 
subsection D of this section. 

C. For any qualified zone investor making $5 million or 
more in qualified real property investments, the cumulative 
grant will not exceed $200,000 within any five-year period 
for any building or facility. 

D. Notwithstanding subsection E of this section, in the case 
of a building with multiple tenants and/or or owners, the 
maximum amount of the real property investment grant to 
each tenant and/or or owner shall relate to the proportion of 
the property for the tenant holds a valid lease or the owner 
has a deed of trust. 

1. This maximum shall be determined by the cumulative 
level of qualified real property investment made within the 
five consecutive year period. The first five consecutive 
year period starts with the first real property investment 
grant issued pursuant to § 59.1-548 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

2. If the total of all qualified real property investments up 
to and including those made in the current grant year are 
less than $5 million then the maximum real property 
investment grant that any one qualified zone investor shall 
receive shall be equal to the qualified zone investor's 
proportion of the building or facility's useable floor space 
times $100,000 or 20% of the amount of qualified real 
property investment in excess of $500,000 in the case of 
the construction of a new building or facility, or in the case 
in the case of the rehabilitation or expansion of an existing 
building or facility 20% of the amount of qualified real 

property investment in excess of $100,000, whichever is 
less.  

3. If the total of all qualified real property investments up 
to and including those made in the current grant year are 
$5 million or more then the maximum real property 
investment grant that any one qualified zone investor shall 
receive shall be equal the qualified zone investor's 
proportion of the building or facility's useable floor space 
times $200,000 or 20% of the amount of qualified real 
property investment in excess of $500,000 in the case of 
the construction of a new building or facility, or in the case 
of the rehabilitation or expansion of an existing building or 
facility, 20% of the amount of qualified real property 
investment in excess of $100,000, whichever is less. 

E. The total grant amount per building or facility within a 
five-year period shall not exceed $200,000. 

Part VII  
Enterprise Zone Designation  

13VAC5-112-420. Status of enterprise zones designated 
prior to July 1, 2005.  

All enterprise zones designated pursuant to §§ 59.1-274, 
59.1-274.1, and 59.1-274.2 of the Code of Virginia as those 
that were in effect prior to July 1, 2005, shall continue in 
effect until the end of their 20-year designation period. Such 
zones shall be governed by the provisions of Chapter 49 
(§ 59.1-438 et seq.) of Title 59.1, exclusive of § 59.1-542 E 
of the Code of Virginia.  

Part VIII  
Procedures and Requirements for Zone Designations  

13VAC5-112-460. Procedures for zone application and 
designation.  

A. Upon recommendation of the Director of the Department 
of Housing and Community Development, the Governor may 
designate up to 30 enterprise zones in accordance with the 
provisions of this section. Such designations are to be done in 
coordination with the expiration of existing zones designated 
under earlier Enterprise Zone Program provisions or the 
termination of designations pursuant to 13VAC5-112-510, 
13VAC5-112-520, and 13VAC5-112-530 D.  

B. Applications for zone designation will be solicited by the 
department on a competitive basis in accordance with the 
following procedures and requirements:  

1. An application for zone designation must be submitted 
on Form EZ-1 to the Director, Virginia Department of 
Housing and Community Development, 501 North Second 
Street 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, Virginia 
23219, on or before the submission deadline established by 
the department.  

2. Each applicant jurisdiction(s) jurisdiction must hold at 
least one public hearing on the application for zone 
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designation prior to submission of the application to the 
department. Notification of the public hearing is to be in 
accordance with § 15.2-2204 of the Code of Virginia 
relating to advertising of public hearings. An actual copy 
of the advertisement must be included in the application.  

3. In order to be considered in the competitive zone 
designation process an application from a jurisdiction(s) 
jurisdiction must include all the requested information, be 
accompanied by a resolution(s) resolution of the local 
governing body(s) body and be signed by the chief 
administrator(s) administrator or the clerk(s) clerk to 
county board of supervisors where there is no chief 
administrator. The chief administrator(s) administrator or 
clerk(s) clerk, in signing the application, must certify that 
the applicant jurisdiction(s) jurisdiction held the public 
hearing required in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

C. Within 60 days following the application submission 
deadline, the department shall review and the Director 
director shall recommend to the Governor those applications 
that meet a minimum threshold standard as set by the 
department and are competitively determined to have the 
greatest potential for accomplishing the purposes of the 
program.  

D. Enterprise zones designated pursuant to § 59.1-542 of the 
Code of Virginia will be designated for an initial 10-year 
period except as provided for in 13VAC5-112-510 and 
13VAC5-112-520. Upon recommendation of the director of 
the department, the Governor may renew zones for up to two 
five-year renewal periods.  

E. A local governing body whose application for zone 
designation is denied shall be notified and provided with the 
reasons for denial.  

Part XII  
Procedures for Enterprise Zone Renewal  

13VAC5-112-530. Procedures for zone renewal.  

A. Enterprise zones designated pursuant to 13VAC5-112-
460 are in effect for an initial 10-year period with up to two 
three five-year renewal periods, except as provided for in 
13VAC5-112-510 and 13VAC5-112-520. Enterprise zones 
designated prior to July 1, 2005, are eligible for one five-year 
renewal. Recommendations for five-year renewals shall be 
based on the locality's performance of its enterprise zone 
responsibilities, the continued need for such a zone, and its 
effectiveness in creating jobs and capital investment. The 
following procedures shall be used in considering such an 
enterprise zone for renewal.  

B. In anticipation of the tenth and fifteen 10th, 15th, and 
20th anniversaries of an enterprise zone's designation, the 
locality(s) locality shall submit to the department on the 
prescribed form information regarding, but not limited to, (i) 
the area conditions; (ii) the continued need for the enterprise 

zone; and (iii) its long-term effectiveness in creating jobs and 
capital investment. The department shall also consider the 
locality(s) locality's long-term performance of enterprise zone 
responsibilities.  

C. A jurisdiction that has shown satisfactory performance 
and effectiveness, or that is making steady improvement in 
performance and effectiveness, or has a continued need for an 
enterprise zone will be recommended to the Governor by the 
department for an additional five-year designation period. No 
enterprise zone designation shall be in effect more than 20 25 
years.  

D. A jurisdiction that has shown consistently poor 
performance and effectiveness or that no longer needs an 
enterprise zone will not be recommended for renewal and will 
be notified of such in writing by the department.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5966; Filed June 18, 2019, 10:45 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 
of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 
Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 
of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-235. Rules Governing Health 
Insurance Balance Billing (adding 14VAC5-235-10, 
14VAC5-235-20, 14VAC5-235-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 9, 2019. 

Agency Contact: James Young, Insurance Policy Advisor, 
Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commissioin, P.O. 
Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9612, 
FAX (804) 371-9944, or email 
james.young@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 432 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 
action promulgates Rules Governing Health Insurance 
Balance Billing (14VAC5-235). The proposed provisions of 
the new chapter remove the burden of surprise balance 
billing from the covered person and allow the covered 
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person to actively choose whether to receive health care 
services from an in-network or out-of-network provider at 
an in-network facility for nonemergency services. 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 6, 2019 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2019-00081 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting New 
Rules Governing Health Insurance Balance Billing  

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 
that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 
have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 
Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 
appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 
38.2 of the Code. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 
pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 
the Virginia Administrative Code. A copy also may be found 
at the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 
Commission a proposal to promulgate new rules at Chapter 
235 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled 
"Rules Governing Health Insurance Balance Billing," which 
are recommended to be set out at 14 VAC 5-235-10 through 
14 VAC 5-235-30. 

The proposed new rules are necessary in light of the 
enactment of § 38.2-3445.1 of the Code, which takes effect 
on July 1, 2019, by the 2019 General Assembly and based on 
the complaints the Bureau has received related to surprise 
balance billing.  The provisions of the new chapter are 
intended to remove the burden from the covered person and 
allow them to actively choose whether they receive health 
care services from an in-network or out-of-network provider 
at an in-network facility for non-emergency services. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 
proposal to adopt new rules recommended to be set out at 
Chapter 235 in the Virginia Administrative Code as submitted 
by the Bureau should be considered for adoption with a 
proposed effective date of October 1, 2019.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed new rules entitled "Rules Governing 
Health Insurance Balance Billing," recommended to be set 
out at 14 VAC 5-235-10 through 14 VAC 5-235-30, are 
attached hereto and made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 
of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to consider the 
adoption of, proposed Chapter 235 shall file such comments 
or hearing request on or before August 9, 2019, with Joel H. 
Peck, Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 
Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218. 
Interested persons desiring to submit comments electronically 
may do so by following the instructions at the Commission's 
website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. All comments 
shall refer to Case No. INS-2019-00081. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the adoption of the 
proposed new rules as outlined in this Order is received on or 
before August 9, 2019, the Commission, upon consideration 
of any comments submitted in support of or in opposition to 
the proposal, may adopt the rules as submitted by the Bureau. 

(4) The Bureau forthwith shall provide notice of the 
proposal to all health carriers licensed in Virginia to offer a 
managed care health insurance plan and to all interested 
persons. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 
proposed rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall make available this Order and the attached proposal on 
the Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 
an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 
Ordering Paragraph (4) above. 

(8) This matter is continued.  

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to:  

Office of the Attorney General, Division of Consumer 
Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 
23219-3424; and a copy hereof shall be delivered to the 
Commission's Office of General Counsel and the Bureau of 
Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner Julie S. Blauvelt.  

CHAPTER 235 
RULES GOVERNING HEALTH INSURANCE BALANCE 

BILLING 

14VAC5-235-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Cost-sharing requirement," "in-network provider," and 
"provider group" shall have the meanings set forth in § 38.2-
3445.1 of the Code of Virginia.  
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"Covered benefits," "covered person," "emergency 
services," "facility," "health benefit plan," "health care 
provider," "health carrier," "managed care plan," and 
"network" shall have the meanings set forth in § 38.2-3438 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Elective health care services" means covered benefits 
rendered to a covered person that are not emergency services. 

"Out-of-network provider" means a health care provider or 
provider group that is not contracted with a health carrier to 
provide health care services to a covered person under a 
health benefit plan as a member of the health benefit plan's 
network.  

14VAC5-235-20. Balance billing of provider services. 

A. Any provider contract entered into by and between a 
facility and a health carrier offering a managed care plan shall 
contain a provision that requires the facility to notify a 
covered person no later than at the time of preadmission or 
preregistration if the covered person will or is likely to 
receive elective health care services from an out-of-network 
provider and document in writing that this notice was 
provided to the covered person. Prior to the covered person's 
receipt of elective health care services, the facility shall 
obtain written consent from the covered person to either (i) 
accept any necessary health care services from in-network 
providers only or (ii) accept any necessary health care 
services from out-of-network providers. The notice provided 
to the covered person shall state that elective health care 
services received from an out-of-network provider may result 
in amounts owed in addition to any cost-sharing 
requirements.  

B. Any provider contract entered into by and between a 
facility and a health carrier offering a managed care plan shall 
also contain a provision that notifies a facility that failure to 
comply with requirements of subsection A of this section 
shall result in the facility being financially responsible for any 
elective health care services rendered by the out-of-network 
provider to the extent that the cost of these services exceeds 
the covered person's in-network cost-sharing requirements. 

C. A health carrier offering a managed care plan shall seek 
to amend its provider contracts to comply with the provisions 
of subsections A and B of this section as soon as practicable 
but no later than (insert date 90 days after the effective date of 
this regulation). 

D. The notice requirement contained in subsection A of this 
section applies notwithstanding the provisions of § 38.2-
3445.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

14VAC5-235-30. Severability. 

If any provision of this chapter or its application to any 
person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid by 
a court, the remainder of this chapter and the application of 

the provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be 
affected.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6030; Filed June 6, 2019, 11:43 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC10-20. Board for Architects, 
Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 
Designers and Landscape Architects Regulations (amending 
18VAC10-20-10, 18VAC10-20-20, 18VAC10-20-25, 
18VAC10-20-35, 18VAC10-20-50 through 18VAC10-20-75, 
18VAC10-20-110 through 18VAC10-20-160, 18VAC10-20-
200 through 18VAC10-20-270, 18VAC10-20-295 through 
18VAC10-20-382, 18VAC10-20-392, 18VAC10-20-420 
through 18VAC10-20-460, 18VAC10-20-490, 18VAC10-20-
495, 18VAC10-20-505, 18VAC10-20-627 through 18VAC10-
20-683, 18VAC10-20-740, 18VAC10-20-760, 18VAC10-20-
790, 18VAC10-20-795; adding 18VAC10-20-345; repealing 
18VAC10-20-190, 18VAC10-20-215, 18VAC10-20-510 
through 18VAC10-20-620, 18VAC10-20-750).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-404 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 12, 2019 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, Virginia Commonwealth 
Conference Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor, Board 
Room 3, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: September 6, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 
Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 
Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or email 
apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia states that the 
board has the power and duty to promulgate regulations 
necessary to assure continued competency, to prevent deceptive 
or misleading practices by practitioners, and to effectively 
administer the regulatory system administered by the regulatory 
board. Section 54.1-404 of the Code of Virginia requires the 
board to promulgate regulations governing the professional 
qualifications of applicants, the requirements necessary for 
passing examinations in whole or in part, the proper conduct of 
its examinations, the implementation of exemptions from license 
requirements, and the proper discharge of its duties. 
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Purpose: The licensing and certification requirements for board-
regulated design professionals are complex regarding entry and 
professional conduct due to the public health and safety aspects 
inherent in the practice of the applicable professions. The 
proposed regulatory action addresses questions that arise from 
applicants and regulants and ensures regulations of the board are 
more understandable and up-to-date with what is necessary for 
each profession.  

Although the last general review of the board's regulations 
became effective on January 1, 2016, that regulatory action 
was first initiated in 2010. In the time elapsed since that final 
action became effective, professional and industry standards 
have changed enough to warrant another review. Ensuring 
that board regulations remain consistent with current 
professional practice standards is essential for establishing 
minimum qualifications for regulants to perform their duties 
while protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens 
of the Commonwealth. 

Substance: For individuals, the proposed amendments add a 
reference component for land surveyor applicants to align 
their application requirements with the other regulants. The 
amendments also allow engineers-in-training and surveyors-
in-training to sit for the fundamentals exam prior to 
submitting an application to the board.  

For business entities, the proposed regulations streamline the 
registration process into one category of business entity, 
allowing companies looking to conduct business in Virginia 
to complete the process more expeditiously. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that buildings 
and site plans will continue to be developed by minimally 
competent professionals. The proposed regulatory action will 
allow applicants and regulants to understand the board 
regulations with greater clarity, facilitating more efficient 
licensing, and better aligning with industry standards of 
practice. The proposed amendments benefit applicants and 
regulants by ensuring the regulations are clearly written, 
consistent, and easily understandable. The action will 
facilitate more efficient application and licensing processing, 
and better align with industry standards of practice, all of 
which protects the public's health, safety, and welfare. No 

disadvantages to the public have been identified. The primary 
advantage to the Commonwealth will be the continued 
successful regulation of minimally competent design 
professionals. Another advantage is that the proposed 
regulatory action reflects the importance Virginia places on 
ensuring regulations are the least burdensome but also 
provide protection to the citizens of the Commonwealth. 
There are no disadvantages posed by these proposed 
regulations to the board, the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation, or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 
Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape 
Architects (Board) proposes numerous changes primarily to 
reduce the burdens on regulants and to clarify the regulation. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation applies to 
architects, professional engineers, land surveyors, certified 
interior designers, and landscape architects as well as 
businesses offering the services of these professionals. The 
Board proposes numerous changes generally to reduce the 
burdens on regulants and to clarify the regulation. The 
substantive provisions are discussed below. 

One of the proposed changes will consolidate treatment of 
various categories of business formations under one single 
category. Current regulation has separate fees, language, and 
requirements for professional corporations, foreign 
corporations, professional limited liability corporations, and 
foreign professional limited liability companies. The Board 
proposes to consolidate the regulatory language and the fees 
under only one category for all types of business entities. 
There is no known logical reason to distinguish the fees and 
language among entities based on their business formation. 
The proposed change will reduce the regulatory language and 
bring consistency among all business entities. The current and 
proposed fee structure is as follows: 

  Current Professional 
Corporation 

Current Professional 
Limited Liability 

Company 

Current Any Other 
Business Type 

Proposed for All 
Business Types 

Registration $30 $100 $100 $90 

Branch Office 
Registration 

$30 $50 $50 $45 

Registration 
Renewal/2 years 

$25 $50 $50 $45 

Branch Office 
Registration 

Renewal/2 years 

$25 $50 $50 $45 
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The proposed single fee schedule for all business formation 
types is budget neutral. The Board staff estimates that in 
fiscal year 2020 there would be 374 new business 
applications and 3,516 business renewals including branch 
offices. Of the new businesses 18% would pay a higher fee 
and 82% would pay a lower fee. Of the renewals 25% would 
pay a higher fee and 75% would pay a lower fee. 

Another substantive proposed change is to revise what is 
considered full-time for determining length of experience. 
Under the proposed regulation, thirty hours per week will be 
considered full-time. Thirty-five hours per week is considered 
full-time under the current regulation. Reducing the amount 
of hours considered full-time will make it easier for 
applicants to meet the experience requirements. 

The proposed regulation will also allow a landscape architect 
applicant to qualify for a license by obtaining a minimum of 
48 months of experience under the direct control and personal 
supervision of a licensed architect, professional engineer, or 
land surveyor. Under the current regulation, an applicant is 
required to have at least 12 of the 36 required months of 
experience under the direct supervision of a certified or 
licensed landscape architect. The proposed regulation makes 
it possible to obtain a license without any direct supervision 
of a landscape architect albeit it requires an additional 12 
months of supervision. According to the Department of 
Professional Occupational Regulation (DPOR), the 
population of certified or licensed landscape architects is 
limited. The experience requirement has been a barrier to 
licensure as they could not obtain credit for experience they 
acquired in a practice or under an individual that did not have 
a licensed or certified landscape architect. The addition of this 
provision will provide an additional avenue for an applicant 
to meet the experience requirement. Since licensure 
applicants still must complete all landscape architecture-
specific education requirements, applicants taking advantage 
of the proposed new experience option should be well-
qualified to practice safely. 

Another proposed change will provide additional options to 
applicants who have been living and practicing in the United 
States in addition to taking Test of English as a Foreign 
Language (TOEFL) to demonstrate their competency in 
English. TOEFL has been considered a barrier to licensure or 
certification for comity applicants. Currently, applicants 
whose primary language has not always been English, or who 
have not graduated from a college or university in which 
English is the medium of instruction, are required to take the 
TOEFL. Under the proposed changes, other evidence such as 
significant academic or work experience in English may be 
acceptable as determined by the Board. 

Two proposed changes are related to references. First, the 
proposed regulation will require submission of three 
references from land surveyor licensure applicants to align 
their application requirements with the other professions. 

Second, the proposed regulation will allow two of the 
landscape architect references to be from a professional 
engineer, an architect or a land surveyor. Currently, all 
references are required to be from landscape architects. These 
changes will align reference requirements across different 
professions; make sure assertions of land surveyors are 
accurate; and make it easier to obtain references for landscape 
architects. 

The proposed amendments will incorporate in the regulation 
language allowing engineers-in-training and surveyors-in-
training to sit for the fundamentals exam prior to submitting a 
licensure application to the Board. According to DPOR, this 
reflects current Board practice since January 1, 2014. The 
proposed process is also in line with what is occurring in 
other states. The engineer-in-training and surveyors-in-
training designations will not be issued until applicants have 
met the Board's requirements. This change gives more 
flexibility to the applicants. 

Overall, the proposed changes discussed above will reduce 
the burdens on regulants by making it easier to register 
businesses and to meet experience and other requirements. 
There are numerous other less substantive or non-substantive 
changes not discussed above that will also provide additional 
regulatory relief or improve the clarity of the language. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 4,412 businesses, 
7,309 architects, 28,510 professional engineers, 1,364 land 
surveyors, 125 photogrammetrists, and 899 landscape 
architects regulated under these rules. 

Localities Particularly Affected. There are no localities 
particularly affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 
total employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 
significant impact on the use and value of private property is 
expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as “a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million.” 

Costs and Other Effects. Most of the 4,412 registered 
businesses are small with the exception of several. The 
proposed change in business registration fees is budget 
neutral. Of the new businesses 18% would pay a higher fee 
and 82% would pay a lower fee. Of the renewals 25% would 
pay a higher fee and 75% would pay a lower fee. 
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Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No net 
adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts:   

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have a 
significant adverse impact on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with approval of the economic Impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments include (i) adding a reference 
component to align landscape architects and land surveyor 
application requirements with other board regulants, (ii) 
allowing engineers-in-training and surveyors-in-training 
to take the fundamentals exam prior to submitting an 
application, (iii) considering 30 hours per week full-time 
employment for determining length of experience, (iv) 
providing additional options to applicants who have been 
living and practicing in the United States to demonstrate 
their competency in English, and (v) streamlining the 
registration process by having one category for all types of 
business entities with a single fee schedule. The proposed 
amendments also simplify explanations of requirements, 
streamline processes, and clarify the regulation.  

Part I  
General  

18VAC10-20-10. Definitions.  

Section 54.1-400 of the Code of Virginia provides 
definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 
chapter:  

Architect  

Board  

Certified interior designer  

Interior design. When used in this chapter, interior design 
shall only be applicable to interior design performed by a 
certified interior designer. 

Land surveyor. When used in this chapter, land surveyor 
shall include surveyor photogrammetrist unless stated 
otherwise or the context requires a different meaning. 

Landscape architect 

Practice of architecture  

Practice of engineering  

Practice of land surveying  

Practice of landscape architecture  

Professional engineer  

The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 
chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them except 
where the context clearly indicates or requires different 
meanings:  

"Application" means a completed application with the 
appropriate fee and any other required documentation 
including, but not limited to, references, experience 
verification, degree verification, and verification of 
examination and licensure or certification.  

"Certified" means an individual holding a valid certification 
issued by the board and in good standing.  

"Comity" means the recognition of licenses or certificates 
issued by other states or other jurisdictions of the United 
States as permitted by § 54.1-103 C of the Code of Virginia.  

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation.  

"Direct control and personal supervision" means supervision 
by a professional who oversees and is responsible for the 
work of another individual. 

"Good moral character" may be established if the applicant 
or regulant:  

1. Has not been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in 
the last 10 years or has ever been convicted of a felony that 
would render the applicant unfit or unsuited to engage in 
the occupation or profession applied for in accordance with 
§ 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Has not committed any act involving dishonesty, fraud, 
misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary duty, negligence, or 
incompetence reasonably related to: 

a. The proposed area of practice within 10 years prior to 
application for licensure, certification, or registration,; or 

b. The area of practice related to licensure, certification, 
or registration by the board while under the authority of 
the board.; 

3. Has not engaged in fraud or misrepresentation in 
connection with the application for licensure, certification, 
or registration, or related examination exam;  

4. Has not had a license, certification, or registration 
revoked or suspended for cause or been disciplined by this 
the Commonwealth or by any other jurisdiction, or 
surrendered or has surrendered a license, certificate, or 
registration in lieu of disciplinary action; or 

5. Has not practiced without the required license, 
registration, or certification in this the Commonwealth or 
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in another jurisdiction within the five years immediately 
preceding the filing of the application for licensure, 
certification, or registration by this the Commonwealth. 

"Good standing" means that the regulant holds a current or 
active license, certificate, or registration issued by a any 
regulatory body that is not revoked, suspended, or 
surrendered subject to a current sanction. The regulant shall 
be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, 
certified, or registered.  

"Licensed" means an individual who holds a valid license 
issued by the board. 

"Place of business" means any location that, through 
professionals, offers or provides the services of architecture, 
engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture, certified 
interior design, or any combination thereof. A temporary field 
office established and utilized for the duration of a specific 
project shall not qualify as a place of business under this 
chapter.  

"Profession" means the practice of architecture, engineering, 
land surveying, landscape architecture, or certified interior 
design.  

"Professional" means an architect, professional engineer, 
land surveyor, landscape architect, or certified interior 
designer who holds a valid license or certificate issued by the 
board pursuant to the provisions of this chapter and is in good 
standing with the board to practice his profession in this the 
Commonwealth.  

"Registrant" means a business holding a valid registration 
issued by the board, and in good standing, to offer or provide 
one or more of the professions regulated by the board.  

"Regulant" means an architect, professional engineer, land 
surveyor, or landscape architect holding a valid license issued 
by the board an and is in good standing; a certified interior 
designer holding a valid certification issued by the board and 
is in good standing; or a registrant.  

"Resident" means physically present at the place of business 
a majority of its operating hours.  

"Responsible person" means the professional named by the 
registrant to be responsible and have control of the registrant's 
regulated services offered, rendered, or both. A professional 
can only be the responsible person for the professions 
profession indicated on his license licenses or certification 
certifications. 

"Surveyor photogrammetrist" means a person who by reason 
of specialized knowledge in the area of photogrammetry has 
been granted a license by the board to survey land in 
accordance with Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 
of the Code of Virginia for the determination of topography, 
contours, or location of planimetric features using 

photogrammetric methods or similar remote sensing 
technology. 

Part II  
General Entry Requirements  

18VAC10-20-20. General application requirements.  

A. Applicants must be of good moral character.  

B. Applications shall be completed in accordance with 
instructions contained in this section chapter and on the 
application.  

C. Applications for licensure requiring an exam shall be 
received in the board's office by the application deadline 
established in Part III (18VAC10-20-90 et seq.) of this 
chapter for each profession's exam. The date the fully 
documented application is received in the board's office shall 
determine if the application has been received on time. 
Applications, accompanying materials, and references 
become the property of the board upon receipt by the board. 

D. Applicants shall meet all entry requirements at the time 
application is made.  

E. Applicants shall provide the board with all required 
documentation and fees to complete the application for 
licensure or certification no later than three years from the 
date of the board's receipt of the initial application fee. 
Applications that remain incomplete after that time will no 
longer be processed by the board and the applicant shall 
submit a new application. 

F. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 
with respect to an applicant's qualifications and 
documentation to confirm or amplify information supplied.  

G. Failure of an applicant to comply with a written request 
from the board for additional evidence or information within 
60 days of receiving such notice, except in such instances 
where the board has determined ineligibility for a clearly 
specified period of time, may be sufficient and just cause for 
disapproving the application.  

H. Applicants who do not meet the requirements of 
18VAC10-20-20 or 18VAC10-20-40 may be approved 
following consideration by the board in accordance with the 
provisions of the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 

18VAC10-20-25. References.  

In addition to the requirements found in 18VAC10-20-130, 
18VAC10-20-220, 18VAC10-20-345, and 18VAC10-20-425, 
as applicable, references that are submitted as part of an 
application must comply with the following:  

1. Written references shall be on the board-approved form 
and shall be no more than one year old at the time the 
application is received in the board's office; and 
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2. The individual providing the this reference must have 
known the applicant within the last five years from the date 
of this application and for at least one year;. 

3. The individual providing the reference must have known 
the applicant within the last five years from the date of 
application to the board; and 

4. Individuals who provide references shall not also verify 
experience. 

18VAC10-20-35. Experience.  

All experience or training requirements contained in this 
chapter shall be on the board-approved form and will be 
evaluated based on the rate of an applicant working a 
minimum of 35 hours per week applicant working a 
minimum of 30 hours per week. Any experience gained at a 
rate of less than 35 less than 30 hours per week may be 
prorated at the sole discretion of the board.  

18VAC10-20-50. Transfer of scores to other boards.  

The board, at its discretion and upon proper application, 
may forward the grades scores achieved by an applicant in the 
various exams given under the board's jurisdiction to any 
other duly constituted registration board for use in evaluating 
the applicant's eligibility for registration within another 
board's jurisdiction or evaluation of the applicant's national 
certification. An applicant requesting that his score be 
transferred to another registration board shall state his reason 
for the request in writing.  

18VAC10-20-55. Language and comprehension.  

Applicants for licensure or certification shall be able to 
speak and write English to the satisfaction of the board. 
Applicants whose primary language has not always been 
English, or who have not graduated from a college or 
university in which English is the language of instruction, 
shall submit to the board a Test of English as a Foreign 
Language Internet-based Test (TOEFL iBT) score report. 
Score reports shall not be over two years old at the time of 
application and must reflect a score acceptable to the board. 
In lieu of the TOEFL, other evidence such as significant 
academic or work experience in English may be acceptable as 
determined by the board. 

18VAC10-20-70. Modifications to examination 
administration.  

The board and the department support and comply with the 
provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), 
42 USC § 12101 et seq. Contracts between the board, 
department, and vendors for examinations exams contain 
provisions for compliance with the ADA. Requests for 
accommodations must be in writing and received in the 
board's office within a reasonable time before the 
examination exam. The board may require a report from a 
medical professional along with supporting data confirming 

the nature and extent of the disability. The applicant is 
responsible for providing the required information in a timely 
manner including the costs for providing the information. The 
board or its agents designee will determine, consistent with 
applicable law, any accommodations to be made.  

18VAC10-20-75. Conduct at examination.  

Applicants approved for an exam will be given specific 
instructions as to the conduct of each division of the exam at 
the exam site. Applicants are required to follow these 
instructions to assure ensure fair and equal treatment to all 
applicants during the course of the exam. Evidence of 
misconduct Misconduct may result in removal from the exam 
site, voided exam scores, or both and restriction from future 
exam access. 

18VAC10-20-110. Education.  

A. Applicants for original licensure shall hold a professional 
degree in architecture from a program accredited by the 
National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) or be 
actively participating in an integrated path accepted by the 
National Council of Architectural Registration Boards 
(NCARB) to architectural licensure option within a NAAB-
accredited professional degree program in architecture. The 
degree program must have been accredited by NAAB no later 
than two years after the date of the applicant's graduation 
from the program. 

B. Applicants seeking credit for a degree or coursework that 
is not NAAB-accredited, whether foreign or domestic, shall 
establish an NCARB record and have that degree or 
coursework evaluated for equivalency to a NAAB-accredited 
professional degree in architecture through NAAB's 
evaluation service. The board reserves the right to reject, for 
good cause, any evaluation submitted. Any cost of translation 
and any evaluation submitted. Any costs attributable to 
evaluation shall be borne by the applicant. 

18VAC10-20-120. Experience. 

A. Applicants for original licensure shall successfully 
complete the National Council of Architectural Registration 
Boards (NCARB) Intern Development Program (IDP) IDP 
training requirements shall be in accordance with NCARB's 
Intern Development Program Guidelines, December 2013 
Edition. administered architectural experience program. 

B. Applicants must have a minimum of 36 months 
experience/training experience or training in architecture. 
Any experience/training of less than eight consecutive weeks 
will not be considered in satisfying this requirement, which 
shall be obtained in an organization offering architectural 
services that is led by a licensed architect in charge of the 
organization's architectural practice. The experience must be 
verified by a licensed architect in the organization's 
architectural practice on the board's experience verification 
form. 
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C. Of the 36 months of required experience/training in 
architecture, at least 12 months shall have been obtained as an 
employee in the office of a licensed architect. An 
organization will be considered to be an office of a licensed 
architect if: 

1. The architectural practice of the organization in which 
the applicant works is under the charge of a person 
practicing as a principal, where a principal is a licensed 
architect in charge of an organization's architectural 
practice either alone or with other licensed architects, and 
the applicant works under the direct supervision of a 
licensed architect; and 

2. The practice of the organization encompasses the 
comprehensive practice of architecture including the 
categories set forth in the NCARB IDP requirements. 

D. C. Applicants with a NAAB-accredited degree or who 
are actively participating in or who have completed the 
NCARB-accepted integrated path to architectural licensure 
option are required to document their experience or training 
in architecture before licensure. 

18VAC10-20-130. References.  

Applicants shall submit three references with the 
application, all of which shall be from currently licensed 
architects in a state or other jurisdiction of the United States 
or a province of Canada, country in which a mutual 
recognition agreement has been executed between itself and 
NCARB and accepted by the board. In addition to the 
requirements found in 18VAC10-20-25, the applicant shall 
only submit references from licensed architects who have 
personal knowledge of the applicant's architectural experience 
that demonstrates the applicant's competence and integrity. 

18VAC10-20-140. Examination. 

A. The board is a member board of NCARB and is 
authorized to make available the NCARB-prepared exam. 
Applicants for original licensure are required to pass this 
exam.  

B. Applications for original licensure shall be approved by 
the board before applicants will be allowed to sit for the 
exam. Applicants who have satisfied the requirements of 
18VAC10-20-110 and 18VAC10-20-130 and who are 
currently enrolled in the NCARB IDP or have completed the 
NCARB-administered architectural experience program shall 
be admitted to the exam.  

C. Applicants approved by the board to sit for the exam shall 
register and submit the required exam fee and follow NCARB 
procedures when taking the exam. Applicants not properly 
registered will not be allowed to sit for the exam. 

D. Applicants approved to sit for the exam shall be eligible 
for a period of three years from the date of their initial 
approval. Applicants who do not pass all sections of the exam 

during their eligibility period are no longer eligible to sit for 
the exam. To become exam-eligible again, applicants shall 
reapply to the board as follows: 

1. Applicants who have taken at least one section of the 
exam and who reapply to the board no later than six 
months after the end of their eligibility may be approved to 
sit for the exam for an additional three years. The original 
application requirements shall apply. 

2. Applicants who do not meet the criteria of subdivision 1 
of this subsection shall reapply to the board and meet all 
entry requirements current at the time of reapplication. 

E. Applicants will be notified by the board of whether they 
passed or failed the exam. The exam may shall not be 
reviewed by applicants. Unless authorized by NCARB rules 
and procedures, exam Exam scores are final and not subject 
to change. 

F. Grading Scoring of the exam shall be in accordance with 
the national grading procedure administered by NCARB. The 
board shall utilize the scoring procedures recommended by 
NCARB. Grades for each division of the exam passed on or 
after January 1, 2006, shall be valid in accordance with the 
procedure established by NCARB. 

G. The board may approve transfer credits for parts of the 
exam taken and passed in accordance with national standards. 

H. Applicants who have been approved for and subsequently 
pass the exam and who have satisfied 18VAC10-20-110, 
18VAC10-20-120, and 18VAC10-20-130 shall be issued an 
architect license. 

18VAC10-20-150. Licensure by comity.  

A. Applicants who hold a valid active license in another 
state or other jurisdiction of the United States, a province of 
Canada, or another foreign country or a country in which a 
mutual recognition agreement has been executed between 
itself and NCARB and accepted by the board may be granted 
a license provided that they meet the requirements of 
18VAC10-20-25 and: 

1. They possess an NCARB certificate; or 

2. They met the requirements for licensure that were 
substantially equivalent to those in effect in Virginia that 
were in effect at the time they were originally licensed. 

B. Applicants who do not satisfy the requirements of 
subsection A of this section shall meet the entry requirements 
for initial licensure pursuant to this chapter. 
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Part IV  
Qualifications for Licensing of Professional Engineers  

18VAC10-20-160. Definitions.  

The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 
part shall have the meanings ascribed to them except where 
the context clearly indicates or requires different meanings:  

"ABET" means the Accreditation Board for Engineering and 
Technology.  

"Approved engineering curriculum" program" means an 
undergraduate engineering curriculum program of four years 
or more, or a graduate engineering curriculum, program 
approved by the board. ABET-approved engineering EAC 
curricula EAC programs are approved by the board. Curricula 
Programs that are accredited by ABET not later than two 
years after an applicant's graduation shall be deemed as 
ABET-approved.  

"Approved engineering technology curriculum" program" 
means an undergraduate engineering technology curriculum 
program of four years or more approved by the board. ABET-
approved engineering technology TAC curricula ETAC 
programs of four years or more are approved by the board. 
Curricula Programs that are accredited by ABET not later 
than two years after an applicant's graduation shall be deemed 
as ABET-approved.  

"EAC" means Engineering Accreditation Commission. 

"Engineer-in-training" or "EIT" means an applicant who has 
completed any one of several combinations of education, or 
education and experience, and has passed the Fundamentals 
of Engineering exam.  

"ETAC" means Engineering Technology Accreditation 
Commission. 

"Related science curriculum" includes, but is not limited to, 
program" means a four-year curriculum program in biology, 
chemistry, geology, geophysics, mathematics, physics, or 
other curriculum approved by the board. Curriculums 
programs approved by the board. Programs must have a 
minimum of six semester hours of mathematics courses 
beyond algebra and trigonometry and a minimum of six 
semester hours of science courses in calculus-based physics 
in order to be considered a related science curriculum 
program. 

"Qualifying engineering experience" means a record of 
progressive experience on engineering work during which the 
applicant has made a practical utilization of acquired 
knowledge and has demonstrated progressive improvement, 
growth, and development through the utilization of that 
knowledge as revealed in the complexity and technical detail 
of the applicant's work product or work record. The applicant 
must show progressive assumption of greater individual 
responsibility for the work product over the relevant period. 

The progressive experience on engineering work shall be of a 
grade and character type and quality that indicates to the 
board that the applicant is minimally competent to practice 
engineering. Qualifying engineering experience shall be 
progressive in complexity and based on a knowledge of 
engineering mathematics, physical and applied sciences, 
properties of materials, and fundamental principles of 
engineering design.  

"TAC"means" Technology Accreditation Commission. 

18VAC10-20-190. Requirements for the Fundamentals of 
Engineering (FE) exam. (Repealed.) 

In order to be approved to sit for the Fundamentals of 
Engineering (FE) exam, applicants must satisfy one of the 
subsections (A through E) of this section. Applicants shall:  

EDUCATIONAL 
REQUIREMENTS 

NUMBER OF 
REQUIRED 
YEARS OF 

QUALIFYING 
ENGINEERING 
EXPERIENCE 

A. Student applicants. 

1. Be enrolled in an ABET-
accredited undergraduate EAC 
or TAC curriculum, have 12 
months or less remaining before 
completion of the degree, and 
provide a certificate of good 
standing from the dean of the 
engineering school or his 
designee; 

2. Be enrolled in an ABET-
accredited graduate or doctorate 
EAC or TAC curriculum, have 
six months or less remaining 
before completion of the degree, 
and provide a certificate of good 
standing from the dean of the 
engineering school or his 
designee; or 

3. Be enrolled in a graduate 
curriculum that is ABET-
accredited TAC or EAC at the 
undergraduate level at the 
institution at which the graduate 
degree is being sought, have six 
months or less remaining before 
completion of the degree, and 
provide a certificate of good 
standing from the dean of the 
engineering school or his 
designee. 

0 
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B. Have graduated from an 
approved engineering or an 
approved engineering technology 
curriculum. 

0 

C. Dual degree holders. 

1. Have graduated from a non-
ABET-accredited undergraduate 
engineering curriculum of four 
years or more; and 

2. Have graduated from a 
graduate or doctorate 
engineering curriculum that is 
ABET accredited at the 
undergraduate level. 

0 

D. Have graduated from a 
nonapproved engineering 
curriculum or from a related science 
curriculum of four years or more. 

2 

E. Have obtained, by documented 
academic coursework, the 
equivalent of education that meets 
the requirements of ABET 
accreditation for the baccalaureate 
engineering technology curricula. 
Whether an education is considered 
to be equivalent shall be determined 
by the judgment of the board. 

6 

18VAC10-20-200. Requirements for engineer-in-training 
(EIT) designation.  

Upon passing the FE exam, an applicant who qualified for 
the exam under 18VAC10-20-190 A will receive the EIT 
designation only after he provides verification of his degree to 
the board. All other applicants will receive the EIT 
designation upon passing the FE exam. The EIT designation 
will remain valid indefinitely.  

In order to receive the EIT designation, applicants shall: 

1. Graduate from an engineering program of four years or 
more accredited by the Engineering Accreditation 
Commission of ABET (EAC/ABET), graduate from an 
engineering master's program accredited by EAC/ABET, 
or meet the requirements of the NCEES Engineering 
Education Standard; 

2. Pass the NCEES Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) 
exam; and 

3. Apply to the board.  

18VAC10-20-210. Requirements for the Principles and 
Practice of Engineering (PE) exam licensure as a 
professional engineer.  

A. In order to be approved to sit for the Principles and 
Practice of Engineering (PE) exam, applicants shall satisfy 
one of the subsections (A through F) within this section. 
Applicants shall licensed as a professional engineer, 
applicants shall:  

1. Satisfy one requirement of subdivisions B 1 through B 4 
of this section;  

2. Pass the Principles and Practice of Engineering (PE) 
exam; 

3. Meet all the requirements of this chapter; and 

4. Apply to and be approved by the board. 

B. In general, the required education shall be applied as 
follows: 

EDUCATIONAL 
REQUIREMENTS 

EIT 
REQUIRED? 

NUMBER OF 
REQUIRED 
YEARS OF 

QUALIFYING 
ENGINEERING 
EXPERIENCE 

A. 1. Have 
graduated from an 
approved 
engineering 
curriculum 
program. 

YES 4 

B. 2. Dual degree 
holders. 

1. a. Have 
graduated from 
an ABET-
accredited 
undergraduate 
engineering 
curriculum 
program; and 

2. b. Have 
graduated from 
a doctorate 
engineering 
curriculum 
program that is 
ABET 
accredited at the 
undergraduate 
level. 

NO 4 
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C. 3. Have 
graduated from a 
nonapproved 
engineering 
curriculum program 
of four years or 
more, a related 
science curriculum 
program, or an 
approved 
engineering 
technology 
curriculum 
program. 

YES 6 

D. 4. Have 
graduated from a 
nonapproved 
engineering 
technology 
curriculum program 
of four years or 
more. 

YES 10 

E. Have obtained, 
by documented 
academic 
coursework, the 
equivalent of 
education that 
meets that 
requirements of 
ABET accreditation 
for the 
baccalaureate 
engineering 
technology 
curricula. Whether 
an education is 
considered to be 
equivalent shall be 
determined by the 
judgment of the 
board. 

YES 10 

F. Have graduated 
from an 
engineering, 
engineering 
technology, or 
related science 
curriculum of four 
years or more. 

NO 20 

18VAC10-20-215. Requirements for the PE license. 
(Repealed.)  

An applicant who has satisfied the requirements of this 
chapter will receive the professional engineer license upon 
successful completion of the PE exam. 

18VAC10-20-220. References.  

In addition to the requirements found in 18VAC10-20-25, 
applicants shall satisfy one of the following:  

1. An applicant for the Fundamentals of Engineering exam 
engineer-in-training designation shall provide one 
reference that indicates his the applicant's personal 
integrity from one of the following: 

a. A professional engineer; 

b. The dean, or his the dean's designee, of the 
engineering school attended by the applicant; or 

c. An immediate work supervisor. 

2. An applicant for the Principles and Practice of 
Engineering exam licensure as a professional engineer 
shall submit three references from professional engineers 
currently licensed in a state or other jurisdiction of the 
United States. The applicant shall only submit references 
given by professional engineers who have personal 
knowledge of the applicant's competence and integrity 
relative to his engineering experience.  

3. An applicant for licensure by comity shall submit three 
references from professional engineers currently licensed 
in a state or other jurisdiction of the United States. The 
applicant shall only submit references given by 
professional engineers who have personal knowledge of 
the applicant's competence and integrity relative to his 
engineering experience. 

18VAC10-20-230. Education.  

A. An applicant who is seeking credit for a degree that is not 
ABET accredited TAC as ETAC or EAC and was earned 
from an institution outside the United States, shall have the 
degree authenticated and evaluated by an educational 
credential evaluation service. If the evaluation is rigorous and 
meets appropriate ABET accreditation standards, the The 
board may consider the degree as an approved engineering 
curriculum or approved engineering technology curriculum 
program or approved engineering technology program. The 
board reserves the right to reject, for good cause, any 
evaluation submitted by the applicant. 

B. Degrees earned within the United States for any 
nonapproved engineering curriculum, related science 
curriculum, or nonapproved engineering technology 
curriculum program, related science program, or nonapproved 
engineering technology program of four years or more shall 
be from an accredited college or university that is approved or 
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accredited by the Commission on Colleges, a regional or 
national accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency 
that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education. 

18VAC10-20-240. Experience.  

A. Each applicant shall complete the board's Professional 
Engineer and Engineer-in-Training Experience Verification 
Form, documenting all of his engineering experience. The 
information provided on the form shall clearly describe the 
engineering work or research that he the applicant personally 
performed; delineate his role in any group engineering 
activity; provide an overall description of the nature and 
scope of his work; and include a detailed description of the 
engineering work personally performed by him. The 
experience must be obtained in an organization with an 
engineering practice and must be verified on the board's 
experience verification form by a licensed professional 
engineer in the organization's engineering practice. 

B. In general, the required experience shall be applied as 
follows:  

Type of 
Experience Qualifying Nonqualifying 

1. Design 
experience. 

A demonstrated 
use of 
engineering 
computation and 
problem-solving 
skills. 

Drafting of design 
by others. 

1. 2. 
Construction 
experience. 

A demonstrated 
use of 
engineering 
computation and 
problem-solving 
skills. 

The mere 
execution as a 
contractor of 
work designed by 
others, the 
supervision of 
construction, and 
similar 
nonengineering 
tasks. 

2. 3. Military 
experience. 

Engineering of a 
character 
substantially 
equivalent to 
that required in 
the civilian 
sector for similar 
work. 

Nonengineering 
military training 
and supervision. 

3. 4. Sales 
experience. 

A demonstrated 
use of 
engineering 
computational 
and problem-
solving skills. 

The mere 
selection of data 
or equipment 
from a company 
catalogue, similar 
publication, or 

database. 

4. 5. Industrial 
experience. 

Work directed 
toward the 
identification 
and solution of 
practice 
problems in the 
applicant's area 
of engineering 
specialization 
including 
engineering 
analysis of 
existing systems 
or the design of 
new ones. 

The mere 
performance of 
maintenance of 
existing systems, 
replacement of 
parts or 
components, and 
other 
nonengineering 
tasks. 

5. 6. Graduate 
or doctorate's 
doctoral 
degree. 

The successful 
completion of a 
graduate or 
doctorate degree 
in an 
engineering 
curriculum may 
be accepted as 
one year of 
equivalent 
engineering 
experience 
credit. Only one 
year of 
qualifying 
experience will 
be given for any 
combination of 
advanced 
degrees in an 
engineering 
program. In 
addition, if a 
degree is used to 
satisfy the 
education 
requirement, it 
cannot also be 
used toward 
satisfying the 
experience 
requirement. 

Research 
conducted as part 
of a graduate or 
doctorate doctoral 
degree shall not 
count as 
additional 
experience if 
credit for the 
degree is granted 
pursuant to 
18VAC10-20-190 
or 18VAC10-20-
210. 

6. 7. Teaching. 

For teaching 
experience to be 
considered 
qualifying by the 
board, the 
applicant shall 
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have taught in an 
engineering 
curriculum 
program 
approved by the 
board and shall 
have been 
employed in the 
grade level of 
instructor or 
higher. 

7. Co-op 
program 8. Co-
op or 
internship. 

Engineering 
experience 
gained during a 
board-approved 
co-op program 
co-op or 
internship may 
be deemed 
qualifying 
engineering 
experience to a 
maximum of one 
year of credit. 

 

8. 9. General. 
 

Experience in 
claims consulting, 
drafting, 
estimating, and 
field surveying. 

C. The board, in its sole discretion, may permit partial credit 
for approved qualifying engineering experience obtained 
prior to graduation from an engineering curriculum program. 
Partial credit shall not exceed one-half of that required for 
any method of initial licensure. 

18VAC10-20-260. Examinations.  

A. Applications for original licensure or EIT designation 
shall be received by the board in accordance with the 
following deadlines Applicants who do not complete their 
application and receive their designation within the three 
years from the date that they apply must reapply to the board 
as follows: 

1. Students applying pursuant to 18VAC10-20-190 A shall 
submit their applications to be received in the board's 
office no later than 60 days prior to the scheduled exam 
Applicants who reapply to the board no later than six 
months after the end of their eligibility may be approved to 
sit for the exam for an additional three years. The original 
application requirements shall apply. 

2. All other applications shall be received in the board's 
office no later than 130 days prior to the scheduled exam 
Applicants who do not meet the criteria of subdivision 1 of 

this subsection shall reapply to the board and meet all entry 
requirements current at the time of reapplication. 

3. All professional engineer applications shall be received 
in the board's office no later than 130 days prior to the 
scheduled exam. 

B. The board is a member board of the National Council of 
Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) and is 
authorized to administer the NCEES exams including the 
Fundamentals of Engineering exam and the Principles and 
Practice of Engineering exam. 

C. Applicants approved by the board to sit for an exam shall 
register and submit the required exam fee to be received by 
the board's designee and shall follow NCEES procedures. 
Applicants not properly registered will not be allowed to sit 
for the exam.  

D. Applicants eligible for admission to both exams must 
first successfully complete the Fundamentals of Engineering 
exam before being admitted to the Principles and Practice of 
Engineering exam. 

E. C. The exam may not be reviewed by applicants. Unless 
authorized by NCEES rules and procedures, exam scores are 
final and are not subject to change. 

F. Applicants approved to sit for the exam shall be eligible 
for a period of three years from the date of their initial 
approval. Applicants who do not pass the exam during their 
eligibility period are no longer eligible to sit for the exam. To 
become exam-eligible again, applicants shall reapply to the 
board and meet all current entry requirements at the time of 
reapplication. In addition to meeting current entry 
requirements upon reapplication, applicants shall demonstrate 
successful completion of 16 hours of educational activities 
that meet the requirements of 18VAC10-20-683 E and F.  

18VAC10-20-270. Licensure by comity.  

A. Applicants holding a valid license to practice engineering 
in other states or jurisdictions of the United States may be 
licensed provided they satisfy the provisions of this 
subsection. Applicants shall: 

1. Submit to the board verifiable documentation that the 
education, experience, and exam requirements by which 
they were first licensed in the original jurisdiction were 
substantially equivalent to the requirements in Virginia at 
the same time; 

2. Have passed an exam in another jurisdiction that was 
substantially equivalent to that approved by the board at 
the time of their original licensure; 

3. Be in good standing in all jurisdictions where they are 
currently licensed; and 

4. Submit three references from professional engineers 
currently licensed in a state or other jurisdiction of the 
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United States. The applicant shall only submit references 
given by professional engineers who have personal 
knowledge of the applicant's competence and integrity 
relative to his engineering experience; and 

5. Satisfy all other applicable requirements of this chapter. 

B. Applicants who do not meet the requirements for 
licensure in Virginia that were in effect at the time of their 
original licensure shall be required to meet the entry 
requirements current at the time the completed application for 
comity is received in the board's office.  

18VAC10-20-295. Definitions.  

"Absolute horizontal positional accuracy" means the value 
expressed in feet or meters that represents the uncertainty due 
to systematic and random errors in measurements in the 
location of any point on a survey relative to the defined datum 
at the 95% confidence level. 

"Approved land surveying experience" means progressive 
and diversified office and field training and experience under 
the direct control and personal supervision of a licensed land 
surveyor. This experience shall have been acquired in 
positions requiring the exercise of independent judgment, 
initiative, and professional skill in the office and field and 
written. Written verification of such work experience shall be 
on forms provided by the board. Experience may be gained 
either prior to or after education is obtained. Notwithstanding 
the definition of "approved land surveying experience," the 
requirements set forth in 18VAC10-20-310 shall not be 
waived. 

"Approved photogrammetric surveying or similar remote 
sensing technology experience" means progressive and 
diversified office and field training and experience in 
photogrammetric surveying or similar remote sensing 
technology under the direct control and personal supervision 
of a licensed land surveyor or licensed surveyor 
photogrammetrist. This experience shall have been acquired 
in positions requiring the exercise of independent judgment, 
initiative, and professional skill in the office and field and 
written. Written verification of such work experience shall be 
on forms provided by the board. Experience may be gained 
either prior to or after education is obtained. Notwithstanding 
the definition of "approved photogrammetric surveying or 
similar remote sensing technology experience," the 
requirements set forth in 18VAC10-20-310 shall not be 
waived. 

"Relative horizontal positional accuracy" means the value 
expressed in feet or meters that represents the uncertainty due 
to random errors in measurements in the location of any point 
on a survey relative to any other point on the same survey at 
the 95% confidence level. 

18VAC10-20-300. Requirements for surveyor-in-training 
(SIT) designation.  

A. In order to be approved to sit for the Fundamentals of 
Land Surveying (FLS) exam, applicants must Applicants who 
do not complete their applications and receive their 
designations within the three years from the date that they 
apply must reapply and satisfy one of the following:  

1. Be enrolled in a board-approved or ABET-accredited an 
EAC/ABET-accredited surveying or surveying technology 
curriculum program acceptable to the board, have 12 
months or less remaining before completion of degree 
requirements, and provide a certificate of good standing 
from the dean of the school or his the dean's designee;  

2. Have earned an undergraduate degree from a board-
approved or ABET-accredited an EAC/ABET-accredited 
surveying or surveying technology curriculum program 
acceptable to the board; 

3. Have earned a board-approved an undergraduate degree 
related to surveying acceptable to the board and possess a 
minimum of one year of approved land surveying 
experience;  

4. Have earned an undergraduate degree in a field 
unrelated to surveying in conjunction with an additional 30 
credit hours in an approved surveying program acceptable 
to the board and possess a minimum of two years of 
approved land surveying experience; 

5. Have earned a board-approved undergraduate degree in 
a field unrelated to surveying and possess a minimum of 
two years of approved land surveying experience;  

5. 6. Have earned a board-approved associate's degree 
related to surveying and possess a minimum of four years 
of approved land surveying experience;  

6. 7. Have successfully completed a board-approved 
survey apprenticeship program. The apprenticeship 
program shall include a minimum of 480 hours of 
surveying-related classroom instruction with a minimum of 
six years of approved land surveying experience; or  

7. 8. Have graduated from high school with evidence of 
successful completion of courses in algebra, geometry, and 
trigonometry, and possess a minimum of eight years of 
approved land surveying experience.  

B. Applicants seeking approval to sit for the FLS 
Fundamentals of Surveying (FS) exam pursuant to 
subdivisions A 3 through 7 A 8 of this section may apply 
board-approved college credits to help meet the experience 
requirement. The maximum rate of college credit substitution 
for experience shall be one year of experience credit for each 
40 credit hours of board-approved college credits completed. 
College credits applicable toward the completion of any 
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degree used to satisfy a requirement of subsection A of this 
section shall not be eligible for experience substitution. 

C. An applicant who qualified for the FLS exam under 
subdivision A 1 of this section will be issued the SIT 
designation upon the board's receipt of the applicant's degree 
verification. All other applicants shall receive the SIT 
designation upon passing the FLS FS exam, receiving 
approval from a board reviewed application, and meeting all 
other board requirements. 

18VAC10-20-310. Requirements for the land surveyor 
and surveyor photogrammetrist licenses. 

A. Land surveyor license. 

1. An SIT A surveyor-in-training (SIT) who has met the 
requirements of 18VAC10-20-300 and has a minimum of 
four years of approved land surveying experience shall be 
approved to sit for an exam in the Principles and Practice 
of Land Surveying and the Virginia-specific land 
surveying exam: 

a. The Principles and Practice of Land Surveying exam; 

b. The Virginia-specific land surveying exam; and  

c. The board supplied exam on regulations. 

2. A qualified applicant shall be granted a license to 
practice land surveying upon passing both exams all three 
exams and meeting all other board requirements. 

B. Surveyor photogrammetrist license. 

1. An SIT who has met the requirements of 18VAC10-20-
300 and has a minimum of four years of approved 
photogrammetric surveying or similar remote sensing 
technology experience shall be approved to sit for the 
board-approved surveyor photogrammetrist exam and the 
Virginia-specific photogrammetrist exam. the following 
board-approved exams: 

a. The Principles and Practice of Land Surveying; 

b. The Virginia-specific land surveying exam; and 

c. The board supplied exam on regulations. 

2. A qualified applicant shall be granted a license to 
practice photogrammetric surveying upon passing both 
exams all three exams and meeting all other board 
requirements. 

18VAC10-20-320. Requirements for the land surveyor B 
license.  

A. An applicant shall: 

1. Hold a valid Virginia license as a land surveyor for two 
years; 

2. Present satisfactory evidence of a minimum of two years 
of land surveying experience that is progressive in 

complexity in land surveyor B land surveying, as provided 
in § 54.1-408 of the Code of Virginia, under the direct 
control and personal supervision of a licensed land 
surveyor B or professional engineer; 

3. Present satisfactory evidence of having passed college-
level courses in hydrology and hydraulics that are 
acceptable to the board; and 

4. Pass an exam developed by the board. 

B. A qualified applicant shall be issued a land surveyor B 
license upon passing the board-developed exam. 

18VAC10-20-330. Education.  

An applicant who is seeking credit for a degree earned from 
an institution outside of the United States shall have his 
degree authenticated and evaluated by an education 
evaluation service approved by the board. The board reserves 
the right to reject, for good cause, any evaluation submitted 
by the applicant. Any cost of evaluation shall be borne by the 
applicant. 

18VAC10-20-340. Experience standards.  

In order to demonstrate meeting the experience requirements 
of 18VAC10-20-300, 18VAC-10-20-310, and 18VAC10-20-
320, applicants shall document experience that has been 
gained under the direct control and personal supervision of a 
licensed land surveyor or licensed surveyor photogrammetrist 
on the appropriate board-provided forms. Experience shall be 
verified by a licensed land surveyor or licensed surveyor 
photogrammetrist in an organization with a surveying practice 
and will be evaluated by the board in accordance with 
18VAC10-20-35. 

18VAC10-20-345. References. 

Applicants shall submit three references on a board-
approved form with the application, all of which shall be from 
currently licensed land surveyors in a state or other 
jurisdiction of the United States. In addition to the 
requirements found in 18VAC10-20-25, the applicant shall 
only submit references from licensed land surveyors who 
have personal knowledge of the applicant's surveying 
experience that demonstrates the applicant's competence and 
integrity. 

18VAC10-20-350. Examinations.  

A. Applications for original initial licensure shall be 
received by the board in accordance with the following 
deadlines: 

1. Applications Applicants for the SIT surveyor-in-training 
designation submitted pursuant to 18VAC10-20-300 A 
shall be received in the board's office no later than 60 days 
prior to the scheduled exam are eligible to sit for the 
Fundamentals of Surveying (FS) exam. 
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2. Upon successful completion of the FS exam, applicants 
who qualify may apply to sit for the other surveying 
exams. 

3. All other applications for the Virginia-specific exam 
shall be received in the board's office no later than 130 
days prior to the scheduled exam. 

B. The board is a member board of the National Council of 
Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) and is 
authorized to administer the NCEES exams including the 
Fundamentals of Land Surveying exam and the Principles and 
Practice of Land Surveying exam Applicants approved to sit 
authorizes NCEES to administer the national surveying 
related exam. Applicants sitting for the exam shall follow 
NCEES procedures.  

C. The exam exams for Virginia board regulations, the 
Virginia-specific, the surveyor photogrammetrist, and the 
land surveyor B shall be given at times designated by the 
board. 

D. Unless otherwise stated, applicants approved to sit for an 
exam must register and submit the required exam fee to be 
received by the board or the board's designee at a time 
designated by the board. Applicants not properly registered 
will not be allowed to sit for the exam. 

E. The exam shall not be reviewed by applicants. Unless 
authorized by NCEES rules and procedures, exam scores are 
final and are not subject to change. 

F. Applicants approved to sit for the exam shall be eligible 
for a period of three years from the date of their initial 
approval. Applicants who do not pass the exam during their 
eligibility period are no longer eligible to sit for the exam. To 
become exam-eligible again, applicants shall reapply to the 
board and meet all current entry requirements at the time of 
reapplication. In addition to meeting the current entry 
requirements upon reapplication, applicants shall, meet all 
current entry requirements, and demonstrate successful 
completion of 16 hours of educational activities that meet the 
requirements of 18VAC10-20-683 E and F. 

18VAC10-20-360. Licensure by comity.  

A. Applicants holding a valid license to practice land 
surveying in another state or other jurisdiction of the United 
States may be licensed as a land surveyor in Virginia. To 
become licensed, applicants shall: 

1. Submit to the board verifiable documentation that the 
education, experience, and exam requirements by which 
they were first licensed in the original jurisdiction were 
substantially equivalent to the requirements in Virginia at 
the same time; 

2. Have passed an exam in another jurisdiction that was 
substantially equivalent to that approved by the board at 
the time of the original licensure; 

3. Be in good standing in all jurisdictions where licensed; 

4. Pass a the Virginia-specific exam; and 

5. Satisfy all other applicable requirements of this chapter. 

B. Applicants who do not meet the requirements for 
licensure in Virginia that were in effect at the time of their 
original licensure shall be required to meet the entry 
requirements current at the time the completed application for 
comity is received in the board's office; 

C. Applicants holding a current license to practice land 
surveying or photogrammetric surveying issued by another 
state or other jurisdiction of the United States may be licensed 
in Virginia as a surveyor photogrammetrist provided they 
meet one of the following criteria: 

1. Applicants who were originally licensed prior to 
December 1, 2009, shall meet the requirements of the 
board's regulations effective December 1, 2008, and pass 
the Virginia-specific exam; or 

2. Applicants who were originally licensed on or after 
December 1, 2009, shall meet the requirements of the 
board's regulations effective at the time of original 
licensure and pass the Virginia-specific exam. 

18VAC10-20-370. Minimum standards and procedures 
for land boundary surveying practice.  

A. The minimum standards and procedures set forth in this 
section are to be used for land boundary surveys performed in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia. The application of the 
professional's seal, signature, and date as required by these 
regulations shall be evidence that the land boundary survey is 
correct to the best of the professional's knowledge, 
information, and belief, and complies with the minimum 
standards and procedures set forth in this chapter.  

B. Research procedure. The professional shall search the 
land records for the proper description of the land to be 
surveyed and obtain the description of adjoining land(s) land 
as it pertains to the common boundaries. The professional 
shall have the additional responsibility to utilize such other 
available data pertinent to the survey being performed from 
any other known sources. Evidence found, from all known 
sources, including evidence found in the field, shall be 
carefully compared in order to aid in the establishment of the 
correct boundaries of the land being surveyed. The 
professional shall clearly identify on the plats, maps, and 
reports inconsistencies found in the research of common 
boundaries between the land being surveyed and the 
adjoining land(s) land. It is not the intent of this regulation to 
require the professional to research the question of title or 
encumbrances on the land involved.  

C. Minimum field procedures.  

1. Angular measurement. Angle measurements made for 
traverse or land boundary survey lines will be made by 
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using a properly adjusted transit-type instrument which 
that allows a direct reading to a minimum accuracy of 30 
20 seconds of arc or metric equivalent. The number of 
angles turned at a given station or corner will be the 
number which that, in the judgment of the professional, 
can be used to substantiate the average true angle 
considering the condition of the instrument being used and 
the existing field conditions.  

2. Linear measurement. Distance measurement for the lines 
of traverse or lines of the land boundary survey shall be 
made (i) with metal tapes which that have been checked 
and are properly calibrated as to incremental distances, or 
(ii) with properly calibrated electronic distance measuring 
equipment following instructions and procedures 
established by the manufacturer of such equipment. All 
linear measurements shall be reduced to the horizontal 
plane, and other necessary corrections shall be performed 
before using such linear measurements for computing 
purposes.  

3. Field traverse and land boundary closure and accuracy 
standards. For a land boundary survey located in a rural 
area, the maximum permissible error of closure for a field 
traverse shall be one part in 10,000 (1/10,000). The 
attendant angular closure shall be that which will sustain 
the one part in 10,000 (1/10,000) maximum error of 
closure. For a land boundary survey located in an urban 
area, the maximum permissible error of closure for a 
traverse shall be one part in 20,000 (1/20,000). The 
attendant angular closure shall be that which will sustain 
the one part in 20,000 (1/20,000) maximum error of 
closure.  

The maximum permissible positional uncertainty based on 
the 95% confidence level of any independent boundary 
corner or independent point located on a boundary that has 
been established by utilizing global positioning systems 
shall not exceed the positional tolerance of 0.07 feet (or 20 
mm + 50 ppm).  

4. Monumentation. As a requisite for completion of the 
work product, each land boundary survey of a tract or 
parcel of land shall be monumented with objects made of 
permanent material at all corners and changes of direction 
on the land boundary with the exceptions of meanders, 
such as meanders of streams, tidelands, lakes, swamps and 
prescriptive rights-of-way, and each such monument, other 
than a natural monument, shall, when physically feasible, 
be identified by a temporary witness marker. Where it is 
not physically feasible to set actual corners, appropriate 
reference monuments shall be set, preferably on line, and 
the location of each shall be shown on the plat or map of 
the land boundary.  

All boundaries, both exterior and interior, of the original 
survey for any division or partition of land shall be 
monumented in accordance with the provisions of this 

subdivision, when such monumentation is not otherwise 
regulated by the provisions of a local subdivision 
ordinance.  

5. For land boundary surveys providing for a division 
when only the division, in lieu of the entire parcel, is being 
surveyed, any new corners established along existing 
property lines shall require that those existing property 
lines be established through their entire length. This shall 
include the recovery or reestablishment of the existing 
corners for each end of the existing property lines.  

D. Office procedures.  

1. Computations. The computation of field work data shall 
be accomplished by using the mathematical routines that 
produce closures and mathematical results that can be 
compared with descriptions and data of record. Such 
computations shall be used to determine the final land 
boundary of the land involved.  

2. Plats and maps. The following information shall be 
shown on all plats and maps used to depict the results of 
the land boundary survey:  

a. The title of the land boundary plat identifying the land 
surveyed and showing the district, town, and county or 
city in which the land is located and scale of drawing.  

b. The name of the owner of record and recording 
references.  

c. Names of all adjoining owners of record with 
recording references, or with subdivision name and lot 
designations and recording references.  

d. Inconsistencies found in the research of common 
boundaries between the land being surveyed and the 
adjoining land(s) land. The inconsistencies shall be 
clearly noted by the professional.  

e. Names of highways and roads with route number, and 
widths of right-of-way, or distance to the center of the 
physical pavement and pavement width, name of 
railroads, streams adjoining, crossing, or in close 
proximity to the boundary and other prominent or well-
known objects that are informative as to the location of 
the land boundary.  

f. A distance to the nearest road intersection, or 
prominent or well-known object. In cases of remote 
areas, a scaled position with the latitude and longitude 
must be provided.  

g. Items crossing any property lines such as, but not 
limited to, physical encroachments, and evidence of 
easements such as utilities and other physical features 
pertinent to the boundary of the property.  

h. Bearings of all property lines and meanders to nearest 
10 seconds one second of arc or metric equivalent.  
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i. Adequate curve data to accomplish mathematical 
closures.  

j. Distances of all property lines and meanders to the 
nearest one hundredth (.01) of a foot or metric 
equivalent.  

k. Pursuant to subdivision C 5 of this section, the bearing 
and distances from the new corners to the existing 
corners on each end of the existing property lines.  

l. For property located in rural areas, area to the nearest 
hundredth (.01) of an acre or metric equivalent.  

m. For property located in urban areas, area to the nearest 
square foot or thousandth (0.001) of an acre or metric 
equivalent.  

n. North arrow and source of meridian used for the 
survey.  

o. For interior surveys, a reference bearing and distance 
to a property corner of an adjoining owner or other 
prominent object, including, but not limited to, 
intersecting streets or roads.  

p. Tax map designation or geographic parcel 
identification number if available, for surveyed parcel 
and adjoining parcels.  

q. Description of each monument found and each 
monument set by the professional.  

r. A statement that the land boundary survey shown is 
based on a current field survey or a compilation from 
deeds, plats, surveys by others, or combination thereof. If 
the land boundary shown is a compilation from deeds or 
plats, or a survey by others, the title of the plat shall 
clearly depict that the plat does not represent a current 
land boundary survey.  

s. A statement as to whether a current title report has 
been furnished to the professional.  

t. A statement as to whether any or all easements, 
encroachments, and improvements are shown on the plat.  

u. Name and, address of, and contact information for the 
land surveyor or the registered business.  

v. The professional's seal, signature and date.  

3. Metes and bounds description. The professional shall 
prepare a metes and bounds description in narrative form, 
if requested by the client or his the client's agent, for 
completion of any newly performed land boundary survey. 
The description shall reflect all metes and bounds, the area 
of the property described, all pertinent monumentation, 
names of record owners or other appropriate identification 
of all adjoiners, and any other data or information deemed 
as warranted to properly describe the property. 
Customarily, the metes and bounds shall be recited in a 

clockwise direction around the property. The professional 
shall clearly identify in the metes and bounds description 
any inconsistencies found in the research of common 
boundaries between land being surveyed and the adjoining 
land or lands. For subdivisions, the professional shall 
prepare a metes and bounds description in narrative form 
for only the exterior boundaries of the property.  

No metes and bounds description shall be required for the 
verification or resetting of the corners of a lot or other 
parcel of land in accordance with a previously performed 
land boundary survey, such as a lot in a subdivision where 
it is unnecessary to revise the record boundaries of the lot.  

18VAC10-20-380. Minimum standards and procedures 
for surveys determining the location of physical 
improvements; field procedures; office procedures.  

A. The following minimum standards and procedures are to 
be used for surveys determining the location of physical 
improvements on any parcel of land or lot containing less 
than two acres or metric equivalent (sometimes also known as 
"building location survey," "house location surveys," 
"physical surveys," and the like) etc.) in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. The application of the professional's seal, 
signature, and date as required by these regulations this 
chapter shall be evidence that the survey determining the 
location of physical improvements is correct to the best of the 
professional's knowledge, information, and belief, and 
complies with the minimum standards and procedures set 
forth in this chapter. 

B. The professional shall determine the position of the lot or 
parcel of land in accordance with the intent of the original 
survey and shall set or verify permanent monumentation at 
each corner of the property, consistent with the 
monumentation provisions of subdivision C 4 of 18VAC10-
20-370. All such monumentation, other than natural 
monumentation shall, when physically feasible, be identified 
by temporary witness markers. 

When the professional finds discrepancies of sufficient 
magnitude to warrant, in his opinion, the performance of a 
land boundary survey (pursuant to the provisions of 
18VAC10-20-370), he shall so inform the client or the client's 
agent that such land boundary survey is deemed warranted as 
a requisite to completion of the physical improvements 
survey. 

The location of the following shall be determined in the 
field: 

1. Fences in near proximity to the land boundary lines and 
other fences which that may reflect lines of occupancy or 
possession. 

2. Other physical improvements on the property and all 
man-made or installed structures, including buildings, 
stoops, porches, chimneys, visible evidence of 
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underground features (such as manholes, catch basins, 
telephone pedestals, power transformers, etc.), utility lines, 
and poles. 

3. Cemeteries, if known or disclosed in the process of 
performing the survey; roads or travelways traveled ways 
crossing the property which that serve other properties; and 
streams, creeks, and other defined drainage ways. 

4. Other visible evidence of physical encroachment on the 
property. 

C. The plat reflecting the work product shall be drawn to 
scale and shall show the following, unless requested 
otherwise by the client and so noted on the plat: 

1. The bearings and distances for the boundaries and the 
area of the lot or parcel of land shall be shown in 
accordance with record data, unless a current, new land 
boundary survey has been performed in conjunction with 
the physical improvements survey. If needed to produce a 
closed polygon, the meander lines necessary to verify 
locations of streams, tidelands, lakes, and swamps shall be 
shown. All bearings shall be shown in a clockwise 
direction, unless otherwise indicated. 

2. North arrow, in accordance with record data. 

3. Fences in the near proximity to the land boundary lines 
and other fences which that may reflect lines of occupancy 
or possession. 

4. Improvements and other pertinent features on the 
property as located in the field pursuant to subsection B of 
this section. 

5. Physical encroachment, including fences, across a 
property line shall be identified and dimensioned with 
respect to the property line. 

6. The closest dimension (to the nearest 0.1 foot or metric 
equivalent) from the front property line, side property line, 
and if pertinent, rear property line to the principal walls of 
each building. Also, all principal building dimensions (to 
the nearest 0.1 foot or metric equivalent). 

7. Building street address numbers, as displayed on the 
premises, or so noted if no numbers are displayed. 

8. Stoops, decks, porches, chimneys, balconies, floor 
projections, and other similar type features. 

9. Street name(s) names, as posted or currently identified, 
and as per record data, if different from posted name. 

10. Distance to nearest intersection from a property corner, 
based upon record data. If not available from record data, 
distance to nearest intersection may be determined from 
best available data, and so qualified. 

11. Building restriction or setback line(s) lines per 
restrictive covenants, if shown or noted on the record 
subdivision plat. 

12. The caption or title of the plat shall include the type of 
survey performed; lot number, block number, section 
number, and name of subdivision, as appropriate, or if not 
in a subdivision, the name(s) names of the record owner; 
town or, county, or city; date of survey; and scale of 
drawing. 

13. Adjoining property identification. 

14. Easements and other encumbrances set forth on the 
record subdivision plat, and those otherwise known to the 
professional. 

15. A statement as to whether or not a current title report 
has been furnished to the professional. 

16. Inconsistencies found in the research or field work of 
common boundaries between the land being surveyed and 
the adjoining land or lands shall be clearly noted. 

17. Name, address, and contact information for the 
individual or entity for whom the survey is being 
performed. 

18. Professional's seal, signature, and date. 

18. 19. Name and, address of, and contact information for 
the land surveyor or registered business. 

D. In performing a physical improvements survey, a 
professional shall not be required to set corner 
monumentation on any property when: 

1. It is otherwise required to be set pursuant to the 
provisions of a local subdivision ordinance as mandated by 
§ 15.2-2240 of the Code of Virginia or by subdivision A 7 
of § 15.2-2241 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Its Eventual placement is covered by a surety bond, cash 
escrow, set-aside letter, letter of credit, or other 
performance guaranty; or 

3. Exempt by § 54.1-407 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. A professional performing a physical improvements 
survey when monumentation is not required as stated in 
subsection D of this section shall clearly note on the plat "no 
corner markers set," the reason why it is not required, and the 
name of guarantors. 

18VAC10-20-382. Minimum standards and procedures 
for surveys determining topography; field procedures; 
office procedures. 

A. The minimum standards and procedures set forth in this 
section are to be used for topographic surveys performed in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia pursuant to Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-
400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The 
application of the professional's seal, signature, and date as 
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required by these regulations this chapter shall be evidence 
that the topographic survey is correct to the best of the 
professional's knowledge and belief and complies with the 
minimum standards and procedures. 

B. Minimum field and office procedures. The following 
information shall be shown on, or contained in, all plats, 
maps, or digital geospatial data including metadata used to 
depict the results of the topographic survey: 

1. Physical improvements on the property, all man-made or 
installed structures, as well as visible evidence of 
underground features (such as manholes, catch basins, 
telephone pedestals, power transformers, etc.), and utility 
lines and poles shall be shown or depicted when they are 
visible based on the methodology and scale. If the 
methodology or scale prevents depiction of the above 
improvements as described in this subdivision, then notice 
shall be clearly stated on or contained in the map, plat, or 
digital geospatial data including metadata indicating the 
improvements that are not depicted. 

2. Elevations shall be provided as spot elevations, 
contours, or digital terrain models. 

3. Onsite, or in close proximity, bench mark(s) benchmarks 
shall be established with reference to vertical datum, 
preferably North American Vertical Datum (NAVD), and 
shown in the correct location. 

4. The title of the topographic survey identifying the land 
surveyed and showing the state, county, or city in which 
property is located. 

5. Name, address, and contact information of the individual 
or entity for whom the survey is being performed. 

6. Name, address, and contact information for the land 
surveyor or registered business. 

7. Date, graphic scale, numerical scale, and contour 
interval of plat, map, or digital geospatial data including 
metadata. 

7. 8. North arrow and source of meridian used for the 
survey. 

8. 9. Names or route numbers of highways, streets and 
named waterways shall be shown. 

9. 10. The horizontal and vertical unit of measurement, 
coordinate system, and data, including adjustments if 
applicable. 

10. 11. A statement, in the following form, shall be shown 
on or contained in plats, maps, or digital geospatial data 
including metadata: 

This ________________ (provide description of the 
project) was completed under the direct and responsible 
charge of _______________________________ (Name 
of Professional) from an actual � Ground or � Airborne 

Remote Sensing (check the one that is applicable) survey 
made under my supervision; that the imagery and/or 
original data was obtained on ______________ (Date); 
and that this plat, map, or digital geospatial data 
including metadata meets minimum accuracy standards 
unless otherwise noted. 

C. Minimum positional accuracies shall be met in 
accordance with the tables in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this 
subsection. These tables are not intended to be acceptable in 
all situations, and the professional shall be responsible to 
perform the work to the appropriate quality and extent that is 
prudent or warranted under the existing field conditions and 
circumstances. Metric or other unit of measurements shall 
meet an equivalent positional accuracy. Map or plat scales, or 
contour intervals, other than those defined in these tables 
shall meet an equivalent positional accuracy. The minimum 
positional accuracy tables are as follows:  

1. Scale and contour interval combinations. 

Map or Plat Scale Contour Interval 

1" = 20' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 30' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 40' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 50' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 100' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 200' 2, 4, or 5 feet 

1" = 400' 4, 5, or 10 feet 

2. Vertical accuracy standards. 

  

Contours - 
Vertical 

Positional 
Accuracy 

Spot Elevations - 
Vertical 

Positional 
Accuracy 

Contour line 1' 
interval 

± 0.60 feet ± 0.30 feet 

Contour line 2' 
interval 

± 1.19 feet ± 0.60 feet 

Contour line 4' 
interval 

± 2.38 feet ± 1.19 feet 

Contour line 5' 
interval 

± 2.98 feet ± 1.49 feet 

Contour line 10' 
interval 

± 5.96 feet ± 2.98 feet 

Positional Accuracy is given at the 95% confidence level. 
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3. Horizontal accuracy standards. 

Well defined ground points - Horizontal (Radial) Positional 
Accuracy 

Map or Plat 
Scale 

Absolute 
Horizontal 
Positional 
Accuracy 

Relative 
Horizontal 
Positional 
Accuracy 

1" = 20' ± 0.8 feet ± 0.20 feet 

1" = 30' ± 1.1 feet ± 0.30 feet 

1" = 40' ± 1.5 feet ± 0.40 feet 

1" = 50' ± 1.9 feet ± 0.50 feet 

1" = 100' ± 3.8 feet ± 1.00 feet 

1" = 200' ± 7.6 feet ± 2.00 feet 

1" = 400' ± 15.2 feet ± 4.00 feet 

Positional Accuracy is given at the 95% confidence level. 

18VAC10-20-392. Photogrammetric surveys or similar 
remote sensing technology. 

The use of photogrammetric methods or similar remote 
sensing technology to perform any part of the practice of land 
surveying as defined in Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia, shall be performed under the 
direct control and supervision of a licensed land surveyor or a 
licensed surveyor photogrammetrist. 

18VAC10-20-420. Requirements for licensure.  

A. Applicants for licensure as a landscape architect shall 
satisfy the requirements of subsection B or C subdivision 1 or 
2 of this section. 

B. 1. An applicant who has graduated from a landscape 
architecture curriculum program accredited by the 
Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board (LAAB) 
shall have: 

1. a. Obtained a minimum of 36 months of experience as 
follows: 

a. (1) A minimum of 12 months of experience under the 
direct control and personal supervision of a licensed or 
certified landscape architect; and 

b. (2) The remaining 24 months of experience under the 
direct control and personal supervision of a licensed or 
certified landscape architect or a licensed architect, 
professional engineer, or land surveyor, in accordance 
with the Landscape Architects Experience Credit Table; 
and or 

(3) In lieu of the provision in subdivisions 1 a (1) and 1 a 
(2) of this section, a minimum of 48 months of 
experience under the direct control and personal 

supervision of a licensed architect, professional engineer, 
or land surveyor; and 

2. b. Passed all sections of the Council of Landscape 
Architectural Registration Board (CLARB)-prepared 
exam. 

C. 2. Applicants who have not graduated from a LAAB-
accredited landscape architecture curriculum program shall 
have obtained a minimum of eight years of combined 
education and work experience in accordance with this 
subsection. 

1. a. Only semester and quarter hours with passing grades 
scores shall be accepted. Credit shall be calculated as 
follows: 

a. (1) 32 semester credit hours or 48 quarter credit hours 
shall be worth one year. 

b. (2) Fractions greater than or equal to one half-year, but 
less than one year, will be counted as one-half year. 

c. (3) Fractions smaller than one half-year will not be 
counted. 

2. b. The maximum years indicated in subdivisions a 
through d of the LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS 
EDUCATION CREDIT TABLE Landscape Architects 
Education Credit Table shall apply regardless of the 
length of the degree program. 

3. c. All applicants shall have a minimum of two years of 
experience under the direct control and personal 
supervision of a licensed or certified landscape architect. 

4. d. Education and experience shall be evaluated against 
the LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS EDUCATION 
CREDIT TABLE Landscape Architects Education Credit 
Table and the LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS 
EXPERIENCE CREDIT TABLE Landscape Architects 
Experience Credit Table to determine if an applicant has 
met the minimum eight years required in this subsection. 

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS EDUCATION CREDIT 
TABLE 

Categories Values Examples 

a. (1) Credits 
completed 
applicable toward 
a LAAB-
accredited degree. 

Credit shall 
be given at 
the rate of 
100% with a 
maximum of 
four years 
allowable. 

An applicant has 
86 semester 
hours of credit. 

Calculation: 

♦ 86/32 = 2.6875 
years 
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b. (2) A degree in 
landscape 
architecture, or 
credits completed 
applicable toward 
a degree in 
landscape 
architecture, from 
a non-LAAB-
accredited 
curriculum 
program. 

♦ 100% credit for 
a maximum of 
four years 
(2.6875 x 100% 
= 2.6875 years). 

♦ 0.6875 is ≥ 0.5 
years, which is 
worth 0.5 years. 

Final result: 86 
semester hours 
equals 2.5 years. 

c. (3) A degree, or 
credits completed 
applicable toward 
a degree, in an 
allied professional 
discipline 
approved by the 
board (i.e., 
architecture, civil 
engineering, 
environmental 
science). 

Credit shall 
be given at 
the rate of 
75% for the 
first two 
years and 
100% for 
succeeding 
years with a 
maximum of 
three years 
allowable. 

An applicant has 
101 semester 
hours of credit. 

Calculation: 

♦ 101/32 = 
3.15625 years 

♦ 75% credit for 
the first two 
years (2 x 75% = 
1.5 years). 

♦ 100% credit for 
succeeding years 
(1.15625 x 100% 
= 1.15625 years). 

♦ 1.5 + 1.15625 = 
2.65625 years. 

♦ 0.65625 is ≥ 
0.5 years, which 
is worth 0.5 
years. 

Final result: 101 
semester hours 
equals 2.5 years. 

d. (4) Any other 
undergraduate 
degree or credits 
completed 
applicable toward 
that degree. 

Credit shall 
be given at 
the rate of 
50% for the 
first two 
years and 
75% for 
succeeding 
years with a 
maximum of 
two years 
allowable. 

An applicant has 
95 semester 
hours of credit. 

Calculation: 

♦ 95/32 = 
2.96875 years 

♦ 50% credit for 
the first two 
years (2 x 50%= 
1 year). 

♦ 75% credit for 
succeeding years 
(.96875 x 75%= 

.72656 years). 

♦ 1 +.72656 = 
1.72656 years. 

♦ 0.72656 is ≥ 
0.5 years, which 
is worth 0.5 
years. 

Final result: 95 
semester hours 
equals 1.5 years. 

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS EXPERIENCE CREDIT 
TABLE 

Categories Values Examples 

e. (5) Experience 
gained under the 
direct control and 
personal 
supervision of a 
licensed or 
certified landscape 
architect. 

Credit shall 
be given at 
the rate of 
100% of 
work 
experience 
gained with 
no maximum. 

An applicant 
worked under a 
landscape 
architect for 3.7 
years. 

Calculation: 

3.7 years x 100% 
= 3.7 years (no 
maximum). 

Final result: An 
applicant with 
3.7 years of work 
experience will 
be credited for 
the entire 3.7 
years. 

f. (6) Experience 
gained under the 
direct control and 
personal 
supervision of a 
licensed architect, 
professional 
engineer, or land 
surveyor. 

Credit shall 
be given at 
the rate of 
50% of work 
experience 
gained with a 
maximum of 
four years 
allowable. 

An applicant has 
worked under a 
land surveyor for 
eight years or 
more. 

Calculation: 

8 years x 50% = 
4 years. 

Final result: eight 
years or more of 
experience is 
worth only four 
years based on 
the maximum 
allowable. 

18VAC10-20-425. References. 

In addition to the requirements found in 18VAC10-20-25, 
applicants shall submit three references with the application, 
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each from a currently licensed one of which shall be from a 
currently licensed, certified, or registered landscape architect 
in another a state or other jurisdiction of the United States. An 
applicant shall only submit references from landscape 
architects who have a licensed professional engineer, 
architect, land surveyor, or a landscape architect who has 
personal knowledge of his the applicant's competence and 
integrity relative to his landscape architectural experience. 

18VAC10-20-430. Experience standard.  

Qualifying landscape architectural training and experience 
shall be progressive in complexity and based on knowledge 
of natural, physical and mathematical sciences, and the 
principles and methodology of landscape architecture.  

The experience must be obtained in an organization with a 
landscape architecture practice and must be verified on the 
board experience verification form by a licensed landscape 
architect, professional engineer, architect, or land surveyor in 
the organization's practice. 

18VAC10-20-440. Examination.  

A. Applicants with a LAAB-accredited degree may be 
approved to sit for the exam prior to completing the 36-month 
experience requirement contained in subdivision 1 a of 
18VAC10-20-420 B 1. 

B. The Virginia board is a member of the Council of 
Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB) and is 
authorized to administer the CLARB make available the 
CLARB prepared exams. All applicants for original licensure 
in Virginia are required to pass the CLARB-prepared exam. 

C. Applicants approved to sit for the exam shall register and 
submit the required exam fee to be received in the board 
office, or by the board's designee. Applicants not properly 
registered will not be allowed to sit for the exam. 

D. Grading of the exam shall be in accordance with the 
national grading procedures established administered by 
CLARB. The board shall adopt utilize the scoring procedures 
recommended by CLARB. 

E. Applicants shall be advised only of their passing or 
failing score and the CLARB minimum passing score. 

F. Upon written request to the board within 30 days of 
receiving exam results, applicants will be permitted to view 
the performance problems contained within the section that 
they failed. Exam appeals are permitted in accordance with 
the CLARB score verification process. The board may 
approve transfer credits for parts of the exam taken and 
passed in accordance with national standards. 

G. Applicants approved to sit for the exam shall be eligible 
for a period of three years from the date of their initial 
approval. Applicants who do not pass all sections of the exam 
during their eligibility period are no longer eligible to sit for 

the exam. To become exam-eligible again, applicants shall 
reapply to the board as follows: 

1. Applicants who have taken at least one section of the 
exam and who reapply to the board no later than six 
months after the end of their eligibility may be approved to 
sit for the exam for an additional three years. The original 
application requirements shall apply. 

2. Applicants who do not meet the criteria of subdivision 1 
of this subsection shall reapply to the board and meet all 
entry requirements current at the time of reapplication. 

18VAC10-20-450. Licensure by comity.  

A. Applicants with a valid license in good standing to 
practice landscape architecture issued by another state or 
other jurisdiction of the United States may be licensed by the 
board without further examination provided they: 

1. Were issued the original license based on requirements 
that do not conflict with and that are substantially 
equivalent to the board's regulations that were in effect at 
the time of original licensure; and 

2. Passed an exam in another jurisdiction that was 
substantially equivalent to that approved by the board at 
that time; or met the regulations in effect at that time; and 

3. Possess a CLARB certificate. 

B. Applicants who do not qualify under subsection A of this 
section shall be required to meet current entry requirements at 
the time the application for comity is received in the board's 
office. 

Part VII  
Qualifications for Certifying of Interior Designers  

18VAC10-20-460. Definitions.  

The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 
part shall have the meanings ascribed to them except where 
the context clearly indicates or requires different meanings. 

"CIDA" means the Council for Interior Design Accreditation 
(CIDA), formerly known as the Foundation of Interior Design 
Education Research (FIDER). 

"Diversified experience" includes the identification, 
research, and creative solution of problems pertaining to the 
function and quality of the interior environment including, 
but not limited to, code analysis, fire safety consideration, and 
barrier free evaluations that relate to the health, safety, and 
welfare of the public. 

"Monitored experience" means diversified experience in 
interior design under the direct control and personal 
supervision of a certified or licensed interior designer, an 
architect, or a professional engineer.  
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"Professional program approved by the board" means an 
evaluated degree or combination of evaluated degrees as 
follows: 

1. A minimum of an undergraduate degree in an interior 
design program that is deemed by the board to be 
substantially equivalent to an undergraduate degree in 
interior design from a CIDA-accredited institution at the 
time of the applicant's graduation program; or 

2. A graduate degree from a CIDA-accredited program; or 

3. A graduate degree in interior design plus an 
undergraduate degree that is a in combination are deemed 
by the board to be substantially equivalent to an 
undergraduate degree program from a CIDA-accredited 
institution program at the time of the applicant's 
graduation. 

For the purposes of this definition, a degree program that 
met CIDA accreditation requirements not later than two years 
after the date of the applicant's graduation shall be determined 
to be CIDA accredited. 

18VAC10-20-490. Requirements for certification.  

A. Applicants shall meet one of the following education 
requirements: A degree from a professional program 
approved by the board. 

1. Have graduated from a program accredited by CIDA; 

2. Have graduated from a program accredited by an 
organization equivalent to CIDA; or 

3. Have graduated from a professional degree program 
approved by the board. 

B. The board reserves the right to reject any evaluation 
submitted. Any costs attributable to evaluation shall be borne 
by the applicant. 

C. Applicants shall possess a minimum of two years of 
monitored experience. Any monitored experience gained 
under the direct control and personal supervision of a 
professional engineer shall be reduced by 50% and shall not 
account for more than six months of the two years required by 
this subsection. 

C. D. Applicants shall have passed the board-approved exam 
and provide documentation acceptable to the board verifying 
that the exam has been passed. 

D. Any cost of evaluation of degrees shall be borne by the 
applicant. The board reserves the right to reject, for good 
cause, any evaluation submitted. 

18VAC10-20-495. Examination. 

A. The National Council of Interior Design Qualification 
(NCIDQ) exam is approved by the board. 

B. Applicants shall apply directly to NCIDQ the Council for 
Interior Design Qualifications for the exam. 

18VAC10-20-505. Certification by comity.  

An applicant with a valid license or certificate in another 
state or country or the District of Columbia may be issued a 
certificate if he provides satisfactory evidence to the board 
that: 1. The Applicants who hold a license or certificate in 
good standing in another jurisdiction of the United States or 
province of Canada may be issued a certificate if the board is 
provided with satisfactory evidence that the license or 
certificate was issued based on qualifications equal to those 
required by this chapter as of the date the application is 
received by the board; and 2. The license or certificate is in 
good standing. 

Part VIII  
Qualifications for Registration as a Professional Corporation  

18VAC10-20-510. Definitions. (Repealed.)  

Section 13.1-543 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
definition of the following term:  

Professional Corporation ("P.C.")  

The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 
part shall have the meanings ascribed to them except where 
the context clearly indicates or requires different meanings:  

"Employee" of a corporation, for purposes of stock 
ownership, is a person regularly employed by the corporation 
who devotes 60% or more of his gainfully employed time to 
that of the corporation.  

"Registration" means a certificate of authority issued by the 
board to transact business in Virginia pursuant to § 13.1-549 
of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC10-20-520. Fee schedule. (Repealed.)  

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

Application for professional corporation 
registration 

$30 

Application for professional corporation 
branch office registration 

$30 

Renewal of professional corporation 
registration 

$25 

Renewal of professional corporation branch 
office registration 

$25 

18VAC10-20-530. Application requirements. (Repealed.)  

A. All applicants shall be incorporated in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia or, if a foreign professional 
corporation, shall have a certificate of authority to conduct 
business in Virginia from the State Corporation Commission 
in accordance with § 13.1-544.2 of the Code of Virginia. The 
corporation shall be in good standing with the State 
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Corporation Commission at the time of application to the 
board office and at all times when the board registration is in 
effect.  

B. Each application shall include: 

1. For applicants incorporated in Virginia, the applicant 
shall provide a copy of its articles of incorporation, bylaws, 
or charter, and the certificate of incorporation issued by the 
Virginia State Corporation Commission. 

2. For applicants incorporated in a state other than 
Virginia, the applicant shall provide a copy of its articles of 
incorporation, bylaws, or charter, the certificate of 
incorporation issued by the foreign state of incorporation, 
and the certificate of authority issued by the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission. 

C. Articles of incorporation or bylaws.  

1. The articles of incorporation or bylaws shall specifically 
state that cumulative voting is prohibited.  

2. The bylaws shall affirmatively state that the professional 
corporation meets the requirements of § 13.1-549 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

3. The bylaws shall state that nonlicensed or noncertified 
individuals will not have a voice or standing in any matter 
affecting the practice of the corporation requiring 
professional expertise, in any matter constituting 
professional practice, or both.  

D. The board of directors shall meet the following 
requirements: 

1. A corporation may not elect to its board of directors 
more than one-third of its members who are employees of 
the corporation and are not authorized to render 
professional services; 

2. At least two-thirds of the board of directors shall be 
licensed to render the services of an architect, professional 
engineer, land surveyor, or landscape architect or be duly 
certified to use the title of certified interior designer, or any 
combination thereof; and 

3. At least one director, currently licensed or certified in 
each profession offered or practiced, shall be resident at the 
business to provide effective supervision and control of the 
final professional product. 

E. Joint ownership of stock. Any type of joint ownership of 
the stock of the corporation is prohibited. Ownership of stock 
by nonlicensed or noncertified employees shall not entitle 
those employees to vote in any matter affecting the practice 
of the professions herein regulated.  

F. The name of the business and any assumed, fictitious, 
trading as, or doing business as names of the firm shall be 
disclosed on the application.  

G. Any branch office offering or rendering professional 
services shall complete a branch office registration 
application from the board. Each branch office shall have a 
responsible person resident at the branch office for each 
profession offered or rendered.  

18VAC10-20-550. Foreign corporations. (Repealed.)  

A. The bylaws shall state that the foreign corporation's 
activities in Virginia shall be limited to rendering the services 
of architects, professional engineers, land surveyors, 
landscape architects, certified interior designers, or any 
combination thereof.  

B. Foreign corporations shall not be required to have two-
thirds of its stockholders be licensed or certified to perform 
professional services in Virginia but must meet all other 
requirements of this chapter. 

C. Foreign corporations shall provide the name, address, and 
Virginia license or certificate number of each stockholder or 
employee of the corporation who will be offering or 
providing the professional services in Virginia. 

18VAC10-20-560. Amendments and changes. (Repealed.)  

A. Amendments to charter, articles of incorporation or 
bylaws. A corporation holding a registration to practice in one 
or in any combination of the professions covered in these 
regulations shall file with the board, within 30 days of its 
adoption, a copy of any amendment to the articles of 
incorporation, bylaws or charter.  

B. Change in directors or shareholders. The following shall 
apply to the board-issued registration upon the event of any 
change in directors or shareholders whether the change is 
temporary or permanent, caused by death, resignation, or 
otherwise: 

1. The professional corporation shall notify the board 
within 30 days of any change in its directors or 
shareholders; 

2. In the event of a change in the corporate directors or 
shareholders, the board-issued registration shall be limited 
to the professional practices permitted by those pertinent 
licenses or certificates held by the remaining directors and 
shareholders of the corporation unless an employee of the 
firm holds the appropriate license or certificate and is 
competent to render such professional services; and 

3. In the event that a change results in the professional 
corporation's noncompliance with the requirements of this 
chapter and applicable statutes relating to ownership of 
capital stock or composition of the board of directors, the 
board-issued registration shall be automatically suspended 
until such time as the corporation comes into compliance 
with this chapter. 

C. Change of name, address and place of business. The 
professional corporation shall notify the board, in writing, 
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within 30 days of any of the following changes at each place 
of business: 

1. Any change of name (including assumed names), 
address, place of business in Virginia, or responsible 
person of the profession offered or practiced; and 

2. Any change in the employment status of a licensed or 
certified employee responsible for professional practice. 

Part IX  
Qualifications for Registration as a Professional Limited 

Liability Company  

18VAC10-20-570. Definitions. (Repealed.)  

A. Section 13.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
definition of the following term:  

Professional Limited Liability Company ("P.L.C.," "PLC," 
"P.L.L.C.," or "PLLC")  

B. The following words, terms, and phrases when used in 
this part shall have the meanings ascribed to them except 
where the context clearly indicates or requires different 
meanings:  

"Manager" is a person or persons designated by the 
members of a limited liability company to manage the 
professional limited liability company as provided in the 
articles of organization or an operating agreement, and who is 
duly licensed or otherwise legally authorized to render one or 
more of the professional services of architects, professional 
engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, or certified 
interior designers in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Member" means an individual or professional business 
entity that owns an interest in a professional limited liability 
company.  

"Registration" means a certificate of authority issued by the 
board to transact business in Virginia pursuant to § 13.1-1111 
of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC10-20-575. Registration required. (Repealed.) 

Any professional limited liability company offering or 
rendering professional services in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia shall register with the board. Professional services 
shall include architecture, engineering, land surveying, 
landscape architecture, and interior design.  

18VAC10-20-580. Fee schedule. (Repealed.)  

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

Application for professional limited 
liability company registration 

$100 

Application for professional limited 
liability company branch office registration 

$50 

Renewal of professional limited liability 
company registration 

$50 

Renewal of professional limited liability 
company branch office registration 

$50 

18VAC10-20-590. Application requirements. (Repealed.)  

A. All applicants shall have a certificate of organization in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia or, if a foreign professional 
limited liability company, shall have a certificate of authority 
to conduct business in Virginia from the State Corporation 
Commission, in accordance with § 13.1-1105 of the Code of 
Virginia. The company shall be in good standing with the 
State Corporation Commission at the time of application to 
the board and at all times when the board registration is in 
effect.  

B. Each application shall include a copy of the articles of 
organization or operating agreement. Applications shall also 
include additional information as follows: 

1. Applicants organized as a professional limited liability 
company in Virginia shall provide a copy of the certificate 
of organization. 

2. Applicants organized as a professional limited liability 
company in a state other than Virginia shall provide a copy 
of the certificate of authority issued by the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission. 

C. Articles of organization or operating agreement.  

1. The articles of organization or operating agreement shall 
state the specific purpose of the professional limited 
liability company.  

2. The articles of organization or operating agreement shall 
affirmatively state that the professional limited liability 
company meets the requirements of § 13.1-1111 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

3. The articles of organization or operating agreement shall 
attest that all members, managers, employees and agents 
who render professional services of architects, professional 
engineers, land surveyors, or landscape architects, or use 
the title of certified interior designers, are duly licensed or 
certified to provide those services.  

4. The person executing the affidavit shall sign it and state 
beneath his signature his name and the capacity in which 
he signs. If the person signing the affidavit is not a 
manager of the PLLC, the affidavit shall also state that the 
individual has been authorized by the members of the 
PLLC to execute the affidavit for the benefit of the 
company.  

D. Management of the PLLC. 

1. Pursuant to § 13.1-1118 of the Code of Virginia, unless 
the articles of organization or operating agreement 
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provides for management of the PLLC by a manager or 
managers, management shall be vested in its members.  

2. Any manager or member must be licensed to render the 
same professional services within the Commonwealth for 
which the company was formed. These members or 
managers shall be the only members or managers 
authorized to supervise and direct the provision of 
professional services within the Commonwealth.  

3. At least one member or manager currently licensed or 
certified in each profession offered or practiced shall be 
resident at the business to provide effective supervision 
and control of the final professional product.  

E. The name of the business and any assumed, fictitious, 
trading as, or doing business as names of the firm shall be 
disclosed on the application.  

F. Any branch office offering or rendering professional 
services shall complete a branch office registration 
application from the board. Each branch office shall have a 
resident responsible person at the branch office for each 
profession offered or rendered. 

18VAC10-20-610. Foreign professional limited liability 
companies. (Repealed.) 

A. The articles of organization or operating agreement shall 
state that the PLLC's activities in Virginia shall be limited to 
rendering the professional services of architects, professional 
engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, certified 
interior designers, or any combination thereof. 

B. The foreign PLLC shall meet every requirement of § 
13.1-1111 of the Code of Virginia except for the requirement 
that two-thirds of its members and managers be licensed or 
certified to perform the professional service in this 
Commonwealth.  

C. The PLLC shall provide the name, address, and Virginia 
license or certificate number of each manager or member who 
will be providing the professional service(s) in Virginia.  

18VAC10-20-620. Amendments and changes. (Repealed.) 

A. A PLLC holding a registration to practice in any 
combination of the professions covered in these regulations 
shall file with the board a copy of any amendment to the 
articles of organization, operating agreement, or certificate of 
organization within 30 days of its adoption.  

B. Change of managers or members of the PLLC. The 
following shall apply to the board-issued registration upon the 
event of any change in members or managers whether the 
change is temporary or permanent, caused by death, 
resignation, or otherwise: 

1. The PLLC shall notify the board within 30 days of any 
change in its members or managers; 

2. In the event of a change in the members or managers, 
the board-issued registration shall be limited to the 
professional practices consistent with the licenses or 
certificates held by the remaining members or managers of 
the PLLC unless an employee of the firm holds the 
appropriate license or certificate and is competent to render 
such professional services; and 

3. In the event that a change results in the PLLC's 
noncompliance with the requirements of this chapter and 
applicable statutes relating to ownership of the 
membership interests, the board-issued registration shall be 
automatically suspended until such time as the PLLC 
comes into compliance with this chapter. 

C. Change of name, address, or place of business. The PLLC 
shall notify the board, in writing, within 30 days of any of the 
following changes at each place of business: 

1. Any change of name (including assumed names), 
address, place of business in Virginia, or responsible 
person of the profession offered or practiced; and 

2. Any change in the employment status of a licensed or 
certified employee responsible for professional practice. 

Part X Part VIII  
Qualifications for Registration as a Business Entity Other 
Than a Professional Corporation and Professional Limited 

Liability Company 

18VAC10-20-627. Registration required. 

Any business entity, which is not a professional corporation 
or professional limited liability company but is offering or 
practicing architectural, engineering, surveying, landscape 
architectural, or interior design offering or rendering 
professional services in the Commonwealth of Virginia, shall 
register with the board. Professional services shall include 
architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape 
architecture, or interior design. 

18VAC10-20-630. Fee schedule.  

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

Application for business entity 
registration 

$100 $90 

Application for business entity branch 
office registration 

$50 $45 

Renewal of business entity registration $50 $45 

Renewal of business entity branch office 
registration 

$50 $35 

18VAC10-20-640. Application requirements.  

A. In accordance with § 54.1-411 of the Code of Virginia, 
any entity that is not a PC, PLLC, or sole proprietorship that 
does not employ other individuals for which licensing is 
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required shall register with the board. This includes, but is not 
limited to, any corporation, partnership, limited liability 
company, joint ventures, or nonprofit.  

B. Partnerships. Applications for registration as a 
partnership shall include a copy of the partnership agreement, 
which shall state that all professional services of the 
partnership shall be under the direct control and personal 
supervision of a licensed or certified professional. 

C. Limited partnerships. Applications for registration as a 
limited partnership shall include: 

1. A copy of the partnership agreement that shall state that 
all professional services of the limited partnership shall be 
under the direct control and personal supervision of duly 
licensed or certified professionals; and 

2. A copy of the certificate of limited partnership issued by 
the Virginia State Corporation Commission for applicants 
organized in Virginia or, if organized as a foreign limited 
partnership, a certification of registration issued by the 
Virginia State Corporation Commission.  

D. Corporations. Applications for registration as a 
corporation shall include: 

1. A copy of the articles of incorporation, bylaws, or 
charter; and 

2. A copy of the certificate of incorporation issued by the 
Virginia State Corporation Commission if organized in 
Virginia or, if organized as a foreign corporation, a copy of 
the certificate of authority issued by the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission.  

E. Limited liability companies. Applications for registration 
as a limited liability company shall include a copy of the 
certificate of organization issued by the State Corporation 
Commission if organized in Virginia or, if organized as a 
foreign limited liability company, a copy of the certificate of 
authority issued by the Virginia State Corporation 
Commission.  

F. If architectural, engineering, surveying, landscape 
architectural, or interior design services are offered or 
rendered in a branch office, a separate branch office 
designation form shall be completed for each branch office. 
Resident responsible persons shall be designated for each 
branch office in accordance with this chapter. 

G. The name of the business and any assumed, fictitious, 
trading as, or doing business as names of the firm shall be 
disclosed on the application. 

A. All applicants shall be appropriately credentialed to do 
business in the Commonwealth of Virginia by the State 
Corporation Commission in accordance with the Code of 
Virginia. The business entity shall be in good standing with 
the State Corporation Commission at the time of application 

to the board office, at the time of board approval, and at all 
times when the board registration is in effect. 

B. The name of the business and any assumed, fictitious, 
trading as, or doing business as names of the firm shall be 
disclosed on the application. 

C. Any branch office offering or rendering professional 
services shall complete a branch office registration 
application from the board. Each branch office shall have a 
responsible person resident at the branch office for each 
professional offered or rendered. 

18VAC10-20-650. Registration certification. 

The application shall contain an affidavit by an authorized 
official in the corporation, partnership, sole proprietorship, 
limited liability company, or other business entity unit that 
the practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying, 
landscape architecture, or certified interior design to be done 
by that entity shall be under the direct control and personal 
supervision of the licensed or certified full-time employees or 
licensed or certified resident principals identified in the 
application as responsible persons for the practice. In 
addition, the licensed or certified employees or principals 
responsible for the practice shall sign their names indicating 
that they are responsible persons who are resident, and that 
they understand and shall comply with all statutes and 
regulations of the board.  

Part XI IX  
Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC10-20-670. Renewal. 

A. Individuals and organizations Regulants shall not practice 
with an expired license, certificate, or registration. The 
following timeframes shall determine the required fees for 
renewal based on the date the fee is received in the board's 
office: 

1. If the renewal fee is received by the board by the 
expiration date of the license, certificate, or registration, no 
additional fee shall be required to renew. 

2. If the renewal fee is not received by the board within 30 
days following the expiration date of the branch office 
registration, the registration shall be subject to the 
requirements of 18VAC10-20-680. 

3. If the renewal fee is not received by the board within 30 
days following the expiration date of the license, 
certificate, or nonbranch office registration, a $25 late fee 
shall be required in addition to the renewal fee. 

4. If the renewal fee and applicable late fee are not 
received by the board within six months following the 
expiration date of the license, certificate, or nonbranch 
office registration, the reinstatement fee shall be required 
pursuant to 18VAC10-20-680. 
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B. Upon receipt of the required fee, licenses, certificates, 
and registrations not currently sanctioned by the board shall 
be renewed for a two-year period from their previous 
expiration date. 

C. Branch offices shall not renew or reinstate until the main 
office registration is properly renewed or reinstated. 

D. The board may deny renewal of a license, certificate, or 
registration for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 
licensure, certification, or registration or for the same reasons 
that it may discipline a regulant for noncompliance with the 
standards of practice and conduct as well as the continuing 
education requirements contained in this chapter. The 
regulant has the right to request further review of any such 
action by the board under the Administrative Process Act (§ 
2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

E. By submitting the renewal fee, the regulant is certifying 
continued compliance with the standards of practice and 
conduct as established by the board. In addition, by 
submitting the renewal fee, licensees are certifying their 
compliance with the continuing education requirements as 
contained in this chapter. 

F. Failure to receive a renewal notice shall not relieve the 
regulant of the responsibility to renew. In the absence of a 
renewal notice, the regulant may submit a copy of the license, 
certificate, or registration with the required fee for renewal. 

G. A license, certificate, or registration that is renewed shall 
be regarded as having been current without interruption and 
under the authority of the board. 

H. Failure to pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of 
cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order 
shall result in a delay or withholding of services provided by 
the department such as, but not limited to, renewal, 
reinstatement, processing a new application, or exam 
administration. 

18VAC10-20-680. Reinstatement. 

A. Applicants whose license, certificate, or nonbranch main 
office registration has expired for more than six months, and 
applicants whose branch office registration has expired for 
more than 30 days, shall be required to submit a reinstatement 
application, which shall be evaluated by the board to 
determine if the applicant remains qualified to be a regulant 
of the board. 

B. Applicants whose license or certificate has expired for 
more than five years shall be required to reapply for licensure 
or certification on the initial application and document 
experience from the date of expiration of the license or 
certificate to the present. 

C. The board may require an exam, additional continuing 
education, or experience for architects, professional 
engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, and interior 

designers whose license or certificate has expired for more 
than five years. 

D. The board may deny reinstatement of a license, 
certificate, or registration for the same reasons as it may 
refuse initial licensure, certification, or registration or for the 
same reasons that it may discipline a regulant for 
noncompliance with the standards of practice and conduct, as 
well as the continuing education requirements, contained in 
this chapter. The applicant has the right to request further 
review of any such action by the board under the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

C. E. The date the reinstatement fee is received in the 
board's office shall determine the amount to be paid pursuant 
to the following requirements: 

1. Branch office registrations that have expired for more 
than 30 days shall require a reinstatement fee that shall 
equal the renewal fee plus $30. 

2. Licenses, certificates, and nonbranch main office 
registrations that have expired for more than six months, 
but less than five years, shall require a reinstatement fee 
that shall equal the renewal fee plus $100. 

3. Licenses, certificates, and nonbranch main office 
registrations that have expired for more than five years 
shall require a reinstatement fee that shall equal the 
renewal fee plus $250. 

D. Architects, professional engineers, land surveyors, 
surveyor photogrammetrists, and landscape architects 
applying for reinstatement shall provide evidence of 
compliance with the continuing education requirements of 
this chapter. 

E. The board may require an exam for architects, 
professional engineers, land surveyors, surveyor 
photogrammetrists, landscape architects, and interior 
designers whose license or certificate has expired for more 
than five years. 

F. Licensees shall remain under the disciplinary authority of 
the board at all times, regardless of whether the license is 
reinstated, pursuant to § 54.1-405 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. A certificate or registration holder who reinstates shall be 
regarded as having been current and without interruption and 
under the authority of the board. 

H. Failure to pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of 
cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order 
shall result in a delay or withholding of services provided by 
the department such as, but not limited to, renewal, 
reinstatement, processing a new application, or exam 
administration. 
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18VAC10-20-683. Continuing education requirements for 
renewal or reinstatement. 

A. Licensees are required to complete 16 hours of 
continuing education (CE) pursuant to the provisions of this 
section § 54.1-404.2 of the Code of Virginia for any renewal 
or reinstatement. 

B. CE for renewal shall be completed during the two-year 
license period immediately prior to the expiration date of the 
license and shall be valid for that renewal only; additional 
hours over 16 hours shall not be valid for subsequent renewal. 

C. CE for reinstatement shall be completed during the two 
years immediately prior to the date of the board's receipt of a 
reinstatement application and shall be valid for that 
reinstatement only; additional hours over 16 hours shall not 
be valid for subsequent reinstatement renewal. 

D. Licensees shall maintain records of completion of CE 
used to renew a license for three years from the date of 
expiration of the license. Licensees shall provide those 
records to the board or its authorized agents upon request. 

E. CE activities completed by licensees may be accepted by 
the board provided the activity: 

1. Consists of content and subject matter related to the 
practice of the profession; 

2. Has a clear purpose and objective that will maintain, 
improve, or expand the skills and knowledge relevant to 
the licensee's area of practice and may be in areas related 
to business practices, including project management, risk 
management, and ethics, and public health, safety, and 
welfare that have demonstrated relevance to the licensee's 
area of practice as defined in § 54.1-400 of the Code of 
Virginia; 

3. Is taught by instructors who are competent in the subject 
matter, either by education or experience, for those 
activities involving an interaction with an instructor; 

4. If self-directed, contains an assessment by the sponsor at 
the conclusion of the activity that verifies that the licensee 
has successfully achieved the purpose and objective of the 
activity; and 

5. Results in documentation that verifies the licensee's 
successful completion of the activity. 

F. Computation of credit. 

1. Fifty contact minutes shall equal one hour of CE. For 
activities that consist of segments that are less than 50 
minutes, those segments shall be totaled for computation of 
CE for that activity. 

2. One semester hour of college credit shall equal 15 hours 
of CE and one-quarter hour of college credit shall equal 10 
hours of CE. 

3. The number of hours required to successfully complete 
any CE activity must have been predetermined determined 
by the sponsor. A licensee shall not claim more credit for 
any CE activity than the number of hours that was 
predetermined by the sponsor at the time the activity was 
completed. 

4. CE may be granted for the initial development, 
substantial updating, or the initial teaching of a CE activity 
that meets the requirements of this chapter at twice the 
amount of credit that participants receive. CE claimed 
pursuant to this subdivision shall not be claimed for 
subsequent offerings of the same activity. 

5. A licensee applying for renewal shall not receive credit 
for completing a CE activity with the same content more 
than once during the two years prior to license expiration. 

6. A licensee applying for reinstatement shall not receive 
credit more than once for completing a CE activity with the 
same content during the two years immediately prior to the 
date of the board's receipt of his reinstatement application. 

G. The board may periodically conduct a random audit of its 
licensees who have applied for renewal to determine 
compliance. Licensees who are selected for audit shall 
provide all documentation of all CE activities utilized to 
renew their license within 21 calendar days of the date of the 
board's notification of audit. 

H. If the board determines that CE was not obtained 
properly to renew or reinstate a license, the licensee shall be 
required to make up the deficiency to satisfy the 16-hour CE 
requirement for that license renewal or reinstatement. Any CE 
activity used to satisfy the deficiency shall not be applied to 
his current license CE requirement or any subsequent renewal 
or reinstatement. 

18VAC10-20-740. Professional responsibility.  

A. Unless exempt by statute, all architectural, engineering, 
land surveying, landscape architectural, and interior design 
work must be completed by a professional or a person 
performing the work who is under the direct control and 
personal supervision of a professional. 

B. A professional shall be able to clearly define his scope 
and degree of direct control and personal supervision, clearly 
define how it was exercised, and demonstrate that he was 
responsible within that capacity for the work that he has 
sealed, signed, and dated. For the work prepared under his 
supervision, a professional shall: 

1. Have detailed professional knowledge of the work; 

2. Exercise the degree of direct control over work that 
includes: 

a. Having control over decisions on technical matters of 
policy and design; 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 8, 2019 

2723 

b. Personally making professional decisions or the review 
and approval of proposed decisions prior to 
implementation, including the consideration of 
alternatives to be investigated and compared for designed 
work, whenever professional decisions are made that 
could affect the health, safety, and welfare of the public 
involving permanent or temporary work; 

c. The selection or development of design standards and 
materials to be used; and 

d. Determining the validity and applicability of 
recommendations prior to incorporation into the work, 
including the qualifications of those making the 
recommendations; 

3. Have exercised his professional judgment in all 
professional matters that are embodied in the work and the 
drawings, specifications, or other documents involved in 
the work; and 

4. Have exercised critical examination and evaluation of an 
employee's, consultant's, subcontractor's, or project team 
member's work product, during and after preparation, for 
purposes of compliance with applicable laws, codes, 
ordinances, regulations, and usual and customary standards 
of care pertaining to professional practice. 

C. The regulant shall not knowingly associate in a business 
venture with, or permit the use of his name, by any person or 
firm when there is reason to believe that person or firm is 
engaging in activity of a fraudulent or dishonest nature or is 
violating statutes or any of these regulations.  

D. A regulant who has direct knowledge or reason to believe 
that any individual or firm person may have violated or may 
currently be violating any of these provisions, or the 
provisions of Chapters 7 (§ 13.1-542.1 et seq.) and 13 
(§ 13.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 13.1 or Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 
et seq.) through 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, shall immediately inform the board in 
writing and shall cooperate in furnishing any further 
information or assistance that may be required by the board or 
any of its agents.  

E. Upon request by the board or any of its agents, the 
regulant shall produce any plan, plat, document, sketch, book, 
record, or copy thereof concerning a transaction covered by 
this chapter and shall cooperate in the investigation of a 
complaint filed with the board against a regulant.  

F. Except as authorized by 18VAC10-20-760 A 2, a regulant 
shall not utilize the design, drawings, specifications, or work 
of another regulant to complete or to replicate any work 
without the written consent of the person or organization that 
owns the design, drawings, specifications, or work. 

G. Utilization and modification of work. 

1. A regulant who utilizes the designs, drawings, 
specifications, or work of another regulant pursuant to 
subsection F of this section or 18VAC10-20-760 A 2, or 
who modifies any plats or surveys, shall conduct a 
thorough review of the work to verify that it has been 
accomplished to the same extent that would have been 
done under the direct control and personal supervision of 
the regulant affixing the professional seal, signature, and 
date. The regulant shall assume full responsibility for the 
utilization of any unsealed work or any changes or 
modifications to previously sealed work. 

2. The information contained in recorded plats or surveys 
may be utilized by another regulant without permission. 
Information from recorded plats or surveys may be utilized 
without permission. However, the modification of the 
actual recorded plat or survey is prohibited without written 
permission of the regulant. 

18VAC10-20-750. Good standing. (Repealed.)  

A. A regulant licensed, certified, or registered to practice 
architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape 
architecture, or interior design in any jurisdiction shall be in 
good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, 
or registered.  

B. A regulant who has received a reprimand, civil penalty, 
or monetary penalty, or whose license, certificate or 
registration is revoked, suspended, denied, or surrendered as a 
result of a disciplinary action by any jurisdiction, shall notify 
the board of such action within 30 days. 

18VAC10-20-760. Use of seal. 

A. Affixing of a professional seal, signature, and date shall 
indicate that the professional has exercised direct control and 
personal supervision over the work to which it is affixed. 
Affixing of the seal, signature, and date also indicates the 
professional's acceptance of responsibility for the work 
shown thereon. 

1. No professional shall affix a seal, signature, and date or 
certification to a plan, plat, document, sketch, or other 
work plans, plats, documents, drawings, or other works 
constituting the practice of the professions regulated that 
has been prepared by an unlicensed or uncertified person 
unless such work was works were performed under the 
direct control and personal supervision of the professional 
while the unlicensed or uncertified person was an 
employee of the same firm as the professional or was under 
written contract to the same firm that employs the 
professional. 

2. If the original professional of record is no longer able to 
seal, sign, and date completed professional work, such 
work may be sealed, signed, and dated by another qualified 
professional pursuant to the standards established in 
18VAC10-20-740 G 1. 
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B. Documents to be sealed. 

1. All final documents, including original cover sheet of 
plans, plats, documents, sketches, technical reports, and 
specifications, and each original sheet of plans, cover sheet 
of plans, plats, documents, drawings, technical reports, and 
specifications, and each sheet of plans or plats, or drawings 
prepared by the professional, or someone under his direct 
control and personal supervision, shall be sealed, signed, 
and dated by the professional. All final documents shall 
also bear the professional's name or firm name, address, 
and project name. Final documents are completed 
documents or copies submitted on a client's behalf for 
approval by authorities, for construction, or for 
recordation. 

2. For projects involving multiple sets of plans from 
multiple professionals professional services involved in the 
same project, each professional shall seal, sign, and date 
the final documents for the work component that he 
completed or that was completed under his direct control 
and personal supervision. The professional responsible for 
the compilation of the project shall seal, sign, and date the 
cover sheet of the aggregate collection of final documents 
for the project. 

C. An electronic seal, signature, and date are permitted to be 
used in lieu of an original seal, signature, and date when the 

following criteria, and all other requirements of this section, 
are met:  

1. It is a unique identification of the professional;  

2. It is verifiable; and  

3. It is under the professional's direct control.  

D. Incomplete plans, plats, documents, and sketches 
drawings, whether advance or preliminary copies, shall be so 
identified on the plan, plat, document, or sketch plans, plats, 
documents, or drawings and need not be sealed, signed, or 
dated. Advance or preliminary copies of incomplete plans, 
plats, documents, and sketches drawings, must be clearly 
identified as not complete but need not be sealed, signed, or 
dated. 

E. All work performed by a professional who is licensed or 
certified by this board, including work that is exempt from 
licensure pursuant to § 54.1-402 of the Code of Virginia, shall 
be sealed, signed, and dated pursuant to subsection B of this 
section. 

F. The original seal shall conform in detail and size to the 
design illustrated below in this subsection and shall be two 
inches in diameter. The designs below illustrated may not be 
shown to scale:  
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*The number referred to is the last six-digit number as shown on the license or certificate. The number is permanent. Leading 
zeros contained in the six-digit number may be omitted from the seal. 

18VAC10-20-790. Sanctions. 

A license, certificate, or registration shall not be sanctioned 
unless a majority of the eligible voting members of the entire 
board vote for the action. The board may discipline or 
sanction any regulant if the board finds that: 

1. The regulant failed to maintain good moral character 
pursuant to the definition in 18VAC10-20-10; 

2. The license, certification, or registration was obtained or 
renewed through fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. The regulant has been found guilty by the board, or by a 
court of competent jurisdiction, of any material 
misrepresentation in the course of professional practice, or 
has been convicted, pleaded guilty, or has been found 
guilty, regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, 
of any felony or misdemeanor that, in the judgment of the 
board, adversely affects the regulant's ability to perform 
satisfactorily within the regulated discipline. Any plea of 
nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 
purposes of this chapter. The board shall review the 
conviction pursuant to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the 
Code of Virginia; 

4. The regulant is guilty of has committed acts constituting 
professional incompetence, negligence, or gross 
negligence; 

5. The regulant has abused drugs or alcohol to the extent 
that professional competence is adversely affected; 

6. The regulant fails to comply, or misrepresents any 
information pertaining to their compliance, with any of the 
continuing education requirements as contained in this 
chapter; 

7. The regulant violates any standard of practice and 
conduct as defined in this chapter; or  

8. The regulant violates or induces others to violate any 
provision of Chapters 7 (§ 13.1-542.1 et seq.) and 13 (§ 
13.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 13.1 or Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 
et seq.) through 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, or any other statute applicable to the 
practice of the professions regulated by this chapter.; 

9. The regulant has been disciplined by any county, city, 
town, state, or federal governing body. For purposes of this 
section "discipline" means reprimand; civil or monetary 
penalty; probation, suspension, or revocation of a license; 
or cease and desist order. The board will review such 
discipline before taking any disciplinary action of its own; 
or 

10. The regulant fails to notify the board within 30 days of 
having been disciplined by any county, city, town, state, or 
federal governing body as stipulated in subdivision 9 of 
this section. 

18VAC10-20-795. Change of address.  

All regulants shall notify the board in writing of any change 
of address of a change of mailing address on the designated 
address change form within 30 days of making the change. 
When submitting a change of address, regulants holding more 
than one license, certificate, or registration shall inform the 
board of each affected by the change. A post office box will 
not be accepted in lieu of a physical address.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 
forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 
the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 
of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 
The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 
be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 
Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC10-20) 

License/Certificate Renewal Form (Architect, Professional 
Engineer, Land Surveyor, Surveyor Photogrammetrist, 
Landscape Architect, Interior Designer), A415-04REN-v1 
(eff. 10/2011) 

Architect License Application (Architect Information 
Sheet), 0401LIC (rev. 4/2012) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf9d5002357%7E10&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf9d5002357%7E10&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf9d5002357%7E10&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf9d5002357%7E10&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
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Architect License Application, 0401LIC_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Verification of Architect Examination & Licensure Form, 
0401ELV (rev. 4/2012) 

Architect Experience Verification Form, 0401EXP (rev. 
4/2012) 

Architect Experience Verification Form, 0401LIC_2018, 
(rev. 7/2018) 

Architect Client Experience Verification Form, 0401CEXP 
(rev. 4/2012) 

Architect Degree Verification Form, 0401DEG (rev. 4/2012) 

Architect Reference Form, A416-0401REF-v1 (eff. 1/2016) 

Architect License Reinstatement Application, 0401REI (rev. 
4/2012) 

Professional Engineer License Application (Professional 
Engineer Information Sheet), 0402LIC (rev. 4/2012) 

Professional Engineer Reference Form, A416-0402REF-v1 
(eff. 1/2016) 

Professional Engineer License Reinstatement Application, 
0402REI (rev. 4/2012) 

Architect Reference Form, 0401REF_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Architect License Reinstatement Application, 
0401REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Professional Engineer License Application, 0402LIC_2018, 
(rev. 7/2018) 

Professional Engineer Reference Form, 0402REF_2018, 
(rev. 7/2018) 

Professional Engineer License Reinstatement Application, 
0402REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Professional Engineer & Engineer-in-Training Degree 
Verification Form, 0402_20DEG (rev. 4/2012) 

Professional Engineer & Engineer-in-Training Experience 
Verification Form, A416-0402_20EXP-v1 (eff. 11/2013) 

Professional Engineer & Engineer-in-Training Experience 
Verification Form, 0402_20EXP_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Engineer Verification of Examination and Licensure Form, 
0402_20ELV (rev. 4/2012) 

Engineer-in-Training Designation Application, (Engineer-
in-Training Information Sheet) A416-0420DES-v2 (rev. 
12/2013) 

Engineer-In-Training Reference Form, A416-0420REF-v1 
(eff. 1/2016) 

Engineer-in-Training Designation Application, 
0420DES_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Engineer-in-Training Reference Form, 0420REF_2018, 
(rev. 7/2018) 

Course Requirements for Engineering Technology Program, 
0402CREQ (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor License Application (Land Surveyor 
Information Sheet), 0403LIC (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor License Reinstatement Application, 0403REI 
(rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor B License Reinstatement Application, 
0404REI (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor B License Application (Land Surveyor B 
Information Sheet), 0404LIC (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor License Application, 0403LIC_2018, (rev. 
7/2018) 

Land Surveyor License Reinstatement Application, 
0403REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018)  

Land Surveyor B License Application, 0404LIC_2018, (rev. 
7/2018) 

Land Surveyor B License Reinstatement Application, 
0404REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Land Surveyor & Surveyor-in-Training Degree Verification 
Form, 0403_30DEG (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor Verification of Examination and Licensure 
Form, 0403_30ELV (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor & Surveyor-in-Training Experience 
Verification Form, 0403_30EXP (rev. 4/2012) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist License Application (Surveyor 
Photogrammetrist Information Sheet), 0408LIC (rev. 4/2012) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Reference Form, 0408REF (rev. 
9/2014) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Experience Verification Form, 
0408EXP (rev. 4/2012) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist License Reinstatement 
Application, 0408REI (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor & Surveyor-in-Training Experience 
Verification Form, 0403_30EXP_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist License Application, 
0408LIC_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Reference Form, 
0408REF_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Experience Verification Form, 
0408EXP_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist License Reinstatement 
Application, 0408REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b9bf5005025%7E3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=075a5002357%7E4&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=075a5002357%7E4&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8ed36005025%7E4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8ed36005025%7E4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dfc4f002357%7E6&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dfc4f002357%7E6&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31171002357%7E7&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f5f3f005025%7E5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bdf00005025%7E6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bdf00005025%7E6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00313005025%7E7f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00313005025%7E7f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=707b4005025%7E9f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=707b4005025%7E9f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ff1fd005025%7E12f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ff1fd005025%7E12f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42f39002357%7E15&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42f39002357%7E15&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8bd9b005025%7E11f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8bd9b005025%7E11f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5425002357%7E17&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5425002357%7E17&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ea28b005025%7E8f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ea28b005025%7E8f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71f7a005025%7E10f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71f7a005025%7E10f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71e85002357%7E20&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71e85002357%7E20&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2d709005025%7E13f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2d709005025%7E13f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28d73005025%7E16f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28d73005025%7E16f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d07c3005025%7E28f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d07c3005025%7E28f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b8cf4005025%7E17f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b8cf4005025%7E17f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1192002357%7E27&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1192002357%7E27&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c5f23002357%7E28&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c5f23002357%7E28&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96b98005025%7E15f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96b98005025%7E15f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa367005025%7E21f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa367005025%7E21f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4654a005025%7E23f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4654a005025%7E23f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1d7a005025%7E22f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1d7a005025%7E22f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2de0b005025%7E24f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2de0b005025%7E24f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
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Surveyor Photogrammetrist Degree Verification Form, 
0408DEG (rev. 4/2012)  

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Verification of Examination and 
Licensure Form, 0408elvf (eff. 4/2012) 

Surveyor-In-Training Designation Application (Surveyor-in-
Training Information Sheet), A416-0430DES-v3 (rev. 
12/2013)  

Landscape Architect License Application (Landscape 
Architect Information Sheet), 0406LIC (rev. 9/2014)  

Landscape Architect Reference Form, A416-0406REF-v1 
(eff. 1/2016) 

Surveyor-in-Training Designation Application, 
0430DES_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Landscape Architect License Application, 0406LIC_2018, 
(rev. 7/2018) 

Landscape Architects Reference Form, 0406REF_2018, 
(rev. 7/2018) 

Verification of Landscape Architect Examination and 
Licensure Form, 0406ELV (rev. 4/2012) 

Landscape Architect Experience Verification Form for 
Examination and Comity Applicants, 0406EXP (rev. 4/2012) 

Landscape Architect Degree Verification Form, 0406DEG 
(rev. 4/2012) 

Landscape Architect License Reinstatement Application, 
0406REI (rev. 4/2012) 

Interior Designer Certificate Application, (Interior Designer 
Information Sheet) 0412CERT (rev. 4/2012) 

Landscape Architect License Reinstatement Application, 
0406REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Interior Designer Certificate Application, 0412CERT_2018, 
(rev. 7/2018) 

Verification of Interior Designer Examination and 
Certification Form, 0412ELV (rev. 4/2012) 

Interior Designer Degree Verification Form, 0412DEG (rev. 
4/2012) 

Interior Designer Experience Verification Form, 0412EXP 
(rev. 4/2012) 

Interior Designer Certificate Reinstatement Application, 
0412REI (rev. 4/2012)  

Interior Designer Experience Verification Form, 
0412EXP_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Interior Designer Certificate Reinstatement Application, 
0412REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Professional Corporation Registration Application 
(Professional Corporation Information Sheet), 04PCREG 
(rev. 4/2012) 

Professional Corporation Branch Office Registration 
Application, 04BRPCREG (rev. 4/2012) 

Business Entity Registration Application (Business Entity 
Information Sheet) 04BUSREG, (rev. 4/2012)  

Business Entity Branch Office Registration Application, 
04BRBUSREG (rev. 4/2012) 

Business Entity Registration Application (Business Entity 
Information Sheet) 04BUSREG_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Business Entity Branch Office Registration Application, 
04BRBUSREG_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Professional Limited Liability Company Registration 
Application (Professional Limited Liability Company 
Information Sheet) 04PLCREG (rev. 4/2012) 

Professional Limited Liability Company Branch Office 
Registration Application, 04BRPLCREG (rev. 4/2012) 

Criminal Conviction Reporting Form, A406-01CCR-v1 (eff. 
5/2015) 

Disciplinary Action Reporting Form, A406-01DAR-v1 (eff. 
5/2015) 

Criminal Conviction - Supplemental Form, Requesting an 
Informal Fact Finding (IFF) Conference, A713-01IFF-v1 (eff. 
1/2016)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5025; Filed June 5, 2019, 6:08 p.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 
being published; however, online users of this issue of the 
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 
form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 
available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 
Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 
11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry. 

18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Dental Hygiene. 

18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Dental Assistants. 

Contact Information: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 
or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b3c87002357%7E36&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b3c87002357%7E36&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f57bf002357%7E37&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f57bf002357%7E37&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=538f2005025%7E14f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=538f2005025%7E14f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7597005025%7E18f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7597005025%7E18f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=535ec005025%7E19f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=535ec005025%7E19f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ada08002357%7E40&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ada08002357%7E40&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eaf95002357%7E41&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eaf95002357%7E41&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb81d002357%7E42&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb81d002357%7E42&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e049b005025%7E20f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e049b005025%7E20f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15af8005025%7E25f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15af8005025%7E25f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a21da002357%7E46&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a21da002357%7E46&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c142002357%7E47&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c142002357%7E47&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d7b6a005025%7E26f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d7b6a005025%7E26f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cb5e005025%7E27f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cb5e005025%7E27f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c1b08002357%7E51&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c1b08002357%7E51&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c1b08002357%7E51&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ec27002357%7E52&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ec27002357%7E52&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4905005025%7E1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4905005025%7E1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42151005025%7E2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42151005025%7E2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=61233002357%7E55&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=61233002357%7E55&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=61233002357%7E55&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c4901002357%7E56&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c4901002357%7E56&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8064004486%7E27&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8064004486%7E27&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=adc3e004486%7E28&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=adc3e004486%7E28&typ=40&actno=004486&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70154002357%7E60&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70154002357%7E60&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70154002357%7E60&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
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FORMS (18VAC60-21) 

Application for a Faculty License to Teach Dentistry (rev. 
1/2017) 

Instructions and Application for Registration for Volunteer 
Dental Practice (rev. 6/2017) 

Instructions and Application for a Temporary Resident's 
License (rev. 1/2017) 

Application for a Temporary Dental Permit (rev. 5/2017) 

Application for a Permit to Administer Moderate Sedation 
(rev. 12/2018) 

Application for a Permit to Administer Deep 
Sedation/General Anesthesia (rev. 5/2017) 

Application for Reinstatement of a Permit to Administer 
Moderate Sedation or Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia 
(rev. 12/2018) 

Application for Certification to Perform Cosmetic 
Procedures (rev. 12/2015) 

Application for Reinstatement of Certification to Perform 
Cosmetic Procedures (rev. 12/2015) 

Instructions and Application for Restricted Volunteer Dental 
License (rev. 1/2017) 

Application for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon Registration 
of Practice (rev. 12/2015) 

Application for Reinstatement of Oral and Maxillofacial 
Surgeon Registration of Practice (rev. 12/2015) 

Application for Registration of a Mobile Dental Facility or 
Portable Dental Operation (rev. 12/2015) 

Instructions and Application for Reactivation of Dental 
License (rev. 1/2017) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Dental 
License (rev. 6/2017) 

Instructions for Filing Online Application for Licensure by 
Examination or Credentials for Dentists (rev. 6/2016) 

Instructions and Application for a Faculty License to Teach 
Dentistry (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Registration for Volunteer 
Dental Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Temporary Resident's 
License (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Temporary Dental Permit 
(rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Permit to Administer 
Moderate Sedation (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Permit to Administer 
Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of a Permit 
to Administer Moderate Sedation or Deep Sedation/General 
Anesthesia (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Certification to Perform 
Cosmetic Procedures (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for for Reinstatement of 
Certification to Perform Cosmetic Procedures (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Restricted Volunteer Dental 
License (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Oral and Maxillofacial 
Surgeon Registration of Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Oral and 
Maxillofacial Surgeon Registration of Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Registration of a Mobile 
Dental Facility or Portable Dental Operation (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reactivation of Dental 
License (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Dental 
License (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions for Filing Online Application for Licensure by 
Examination or Credentials for Dentists (rev. 4/2019) 

FORMS (18VAC60-25) 

Instructions for Filing Online Application for Licensure by 
Examination or Credentials for Dental Hygienists (rev. 
6/2017) 

Instructions and Application for Registration for Dental 
Hygiene Volunteer Practice (undated) 

Instructions and Application for Reactivation of Dental 
Hygienist License (rev. 1/2017) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Dental 
Hygienist License (rev. 6/2017) 

Instructions and Application for Restricted Volunteer Dental 
Hygiene License (rev. 1/2017) 

Application for a Faculty License to Teach Dental Hygiene 
(rev. 1/2017) 

Application for a Temporary Dental Hygiene Permit (rev. 
2/2018) 

Instructions for Filing Online Application for Licensure by 
Examination or Credentials for Dental Hygienists (rev. 
5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Registration for Dental 
Hygiene Volunteer Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49b98006039%7E1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49b98006039%7E1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab858006039%7E2e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab858006039%7E2e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=854b1006039%7E3t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=854b1006039%7E3t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0824006039%7E4t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0824006039%7E4t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0051a006039%7E5n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0051a006039%7E5n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3ca14006039%7E6a.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3ca14006039%7E6a.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76b4c006039%7E7t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76b4c006039%7E7t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76b4c006039%7E7t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad6c5006039%7E8n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad6c5006039%7E8n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=93d92006039%7E9n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=93d92006039%7E9n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c312c006039%7E10l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c312c006039%7E10l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56209006039%7E11n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=56209006039%7E11n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2f313006039%7E12n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2f313006039%7E12n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2b35c006039%7E13y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2b35c006039%7E13y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2409a006039%7E14t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2409a006039%7E14t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eca5d006039%7E15t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eca5d006039%7E15t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03fa8006039%7E16s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03fa8006039%7E16s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43895006039%7E20s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43895006039%7E20s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43895006039%7E20s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f5460006039%7E21e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f5460006039%7E21e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
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Instructions and Application for Reactivation of Dental 
Hygienist (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Dental 
Hygienist License (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Restricted Volunteer Dental 
Hygiene License (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Faculty License to Teach 
Dental Hygiene (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Temporary Dental 
Hygiene Permit (rev. 5/2019) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 
Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

FORMS (18VAC60-30) 

Instructions and Application for Registration as a Dental 
Assistant II (rev. 1/2017) 

Instructions and Application for Reactivation of Dental 
Assistant II Registration (rev. 1/2017) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Dental 
Assistant II Registration (rev. 1/2017) 

Instructions and Application for Registration as a Dental 
Assistant II (rev.5/2019) 

Instructions and Application Reactivation of Dental 
Assistant II Registration (rev.5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Dental 
Assistant II Registration (rev.5/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6039; Filed June 7, 2019, 2:42 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 
Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 
being published; however, online users of this issue of the 
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 
form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 
available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 
Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 
11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-20. Regulations Governing 
the Prescription Monitoring Program. 

Contact Information: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 
or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC76-20)  

Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting (rev. 
9/07).  

Request to Register as an Authorized Agent to Receive 
Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 
7/08).  

Pharmacist Request for Information (rev. 7/08).  

Recipient Request for Discretionary Disclosure of Information 
from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 7/08).  

Prescriber Request for Discretionary Disclosure of Information 
from Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 3/2009).  

Request for Disclosure of Information from Prescription 
Monitoring Program (DHP/DDU/MEO) (rev. 7/08). 

Request for Disclosure of Information from Prescription 
Monitoring Program for Research (rev. 7/08). 

Regulatory Authority Request for Discretionary Disclosure of 
Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 
7/08).  

Investigation under Virginia Medicaid Program; Request for 
Discretionary Disclosure of Information from Prescription 
Monitoring Program (rev. 7/08).  

Prescription Monitoring Program Internet Datacenter 
Registration Form (rev. 7/08). 

Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting (rev. 
5/2018) 

Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting: 
Veterinarian (rev. 5/2018) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Agent to Receive 
Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 
7/2017) 

Recipient Request for Discretionary Disclosure of 
Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 
7/2017) 

Regulatory Authority Request for Discretionary Disclosure 
of Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program 
(rev. 4/2018) 

Application to Register as a Virginia Medicaid Managed 
Care Authorized Agent to Receive Information from 
Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Account Development Form for Reporting to Virginia’s 
Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 7/2018) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Parole or Probation 
Officer to Receive Information from the Prescription 
Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Drug Diversion 
Investigator to Receive Information from the Prescription 
Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6038; Filed June 7, 2019, 2:46 p.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e720d006039%7E22t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e720d006039%7E22t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=53d23006039%7E23t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=53d23006039%7E23t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2cfb2006039%7E24e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2cfb2006039%7E24e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=595cc006039%7E25y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=595cc006039%7E25y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=383ed006039%7E26t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=383ed006039%7E26t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=54ae2006039%7E27m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=54ae2006039%7E27m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88207006039%7E17I.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88207006039%7E17I.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb58a006039%7E18I.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb58a006039%7E18I.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=90d71006039%7E19I.pdf&typ=40&actno=006039&mime=application/pdf
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BOARD OF MEDICINE 
Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 
and Chiropractic (adding 18VAC85-20-91). 

18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Physician Assistants (adding 18VAC85-50-191).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 7, 2019.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 
(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Consistent with Chapter 390 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, 
the action (i) requires laser hair removal be performed by 
a "properly trained person" who is a licensee or by a 
"properly trained person under the direction and 
supervision" of a doctor, physician assistant, or nurse 
practitioner and (ii) provides a regulatory framework for 
such direction and supervision. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC85-20-91. Practice and supervision of laser hair 
removal. 

A. A doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine may 
perform or supervise the performance of laser hair removal 
upon completion of training in the following: 

1. Skin physiology and histology; 

2. Skin type and appropriate patient selection; 

3. Laser safety; 

4. Operation of laser device to be used; 

5. Recognition of potential complications and response to 
any actual complication resulting from a laser hair removal 
treatment; and 

6. A minimum number of 10 proctored patient cases with 
demonstrated competency in treating various skin types. 

B. Doctors of medicine or osteopathic medicine who have 
been performing laser hair removal prior to [ (the effective 
date of this regulation) August 7, 2019, ] are not required to 
complete training specified in subsection A of this section. 

C. A doctor who delegates the practice of laser hair removal 
and provides supervision to a person other than a licensed 
physician assistant or licensed nurse practitioner shall ensure 
that such person has completed the training required in 
subsection A of this section.  

D. A doctor who performs laser hair removal or who 
supervises others in the practice shall receive ongoing 
training as necessary to maintain competency in new 
techniques and laser devices. The doctor shall ensure that 
persons the doctor supervises also receive ongoing training to 
maintain competency. 

E. A doctor may delegate laser hair removal to a properly 
trained person under the doctor's direction and supervision. 
Direction and supervision shall mean that the doctor is readily 
available at the time laser hair removal is being performed. 
The supervising doctor is not required to be physically 
present but is required to see and evaluate a patient for whom 
the treatment has resulted in complications prior to the 
continuance of laser hair removal treatment. 

F. Prescribing of medication shall be in accordance with 
§ 54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC85-50-191. Practice and supervision of laser hair 
removal. 

A. A physician assistant, as authorized pursuant to § 54.1-
2952 of the Code of Virginia, may perform or supervise the 
performance of laser hair removal upon completion of 
training in the following: 

1. Skin physiology and histology; 

2. Skin type and appropriate patient selection; 

3. Laser safety; 

4. Operation of laser device to be used; 

5. Recognition of potential complications and response to 
any actual complication resulting from a laser hair removal 
treatment; and 

6. A minimum number of 10 proctored patient cases with 
demonstrated competency in treating various skin types. 

B. Physician assistants who have been performing laser hair 
removal prior to [ (the effective date of this regulation) 
August 7, 2019, ] are not required to complete training 
specified in subsection A of this section. 

C. A physician assistant who delegates the practice of laser 
hair removal and provides supervision for such practice shall 
ensure the supervised person has completed the training 
required in subsection A of this section.  

D. A physician assistant who performs laser hair removal or 
who supervises others in the practice shall receive ongoing 
training as necessary to maintain competency in new 
techniques and laser devices. The physician assistant shall 
ensure that persons the physician assistant supervises also 
receive ongoing training to maintain competency. 

E. A physician assistant may delegate laser hair removal to a 
properly trained person under the physician assistant's 
direction and supervision. Direction and supervision shall 
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mean that the physician assistant is readily available at the 
time laser hair removal is being performed. The supervising 
physician assistant is not required to be physically present but 
is required to see and evaluate a patient for whom the 
treatment has resulted in complications prior to the 
continuance of laser hair removal treatment. 

F. Prescribing of medication shall be in accordance with 
§ 54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5269; Filed June 14, 2019, 12:39 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physician Assistants (amending 18VAC85-
50-115, 18VAC85-50-130, 18VAC85-50-140).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 
527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate 
regulations to administer the regulatory system. The statutory 
provisions for practice of a physician assistant and 
prescriptive authority are found in § 54.1-2952 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Purpose: The amendments delete references to an outdated 
requirement for a practice agreement to be submitted and 
approved by the board and clarify the practice of physician 
assistants to further protect the health and safety of persons 
who receive treatment and care from such practitioners. The 
regulatory change is consistent with the principle that 
regulations should be clearly written and easily 
understandable. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: As 
required by Executive Order 14 (2018), the Board of 
Medicine conducted a periodic review of this chapter. The 
amendments are clarifying or intended for consistency with 
statutory provisions. There are no substantive changes, so the 
amendments are not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: Pursuant to its periodic review of 18VAC85-50, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Physician Assistants, 
the board has adopted amendments to delete outdated or 
unnecessary language. Chapter 450 of the 2016 Acts of 
Assembly made substantive changes to the statutory 
requirements for the practice and licensure of physician 

assistants. An exempt regulatory action was promulgated with 
an effective date of October 5, 2016. However, during its 
periodic review of regulations, the advisory board identified 
several sections inconsistent with the 2016 amendment for the 
requirement for a practice agreement with prescriptive 
authority to be submitted and approved by the board. 

Issues: There are no real advantages or disadvantages to the 
public. The amendments are clarifying and consistent with 
current practice and with the Code of Virginia. There are no 
advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 
Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-
track regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 
the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to a periodic review,1 the Board of Medicine 
(Board) proposes to remove regulatory language that is 
inconsistent with 2016 legislative changes and to eliminate a 
redundant regulatory requirement. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board is proposing to 
eliminate ancillary language related to a previously-
eliminated requirement that physician assistants (PAs) submit 
practice agreements to the Board for approval. The submittal 
requirement was eliminated in state statute with the passage 
of Chapter 450 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly (SB551) and 
implemented through an exempt regulatory action in 2016, 
but there still remains some language inadvertently 
suggesting that submittal to the Board is still required.2 
Further, the legislation removed the requirement that the PAs 
notify and provide information to the board prior to initiating 
practice. The legislation also required a PA to enter into a 
written or electronic practice agreement with at least one 
supervising physician or podiatrist, to maintain evidence of 
such agreement, and to provide it to the Board upon request 
rather than submit to the Board for approval.  

During the periodic review, the Physician Assistant Advisory 
Board identified several sections that are currently 
inconsistent with statute. In order to address these 
inconsistencies, the Board proposes to remove language 
requiring that a separate practice agreement be executed, 
remove language about Board forms for practice agreements 
which are no longer provided by the Board and no longer 
required to be submitted to the Board, etc.  

In addition to the changes required to conform the regulation 
to statute, the Board also discovered a redundant regulatory 
requirement during the periodic review. The regulation 
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currently requires applicants for prescriptive authority to 
submit evidence of successful passage of the National 
Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants exam 
while it is simultaneously required for licensure as a PA. This 
regulatory action would delete the exam requirement for 
prescriptive authority. 

Because none of the proposed changes would have any 
impact on current practices followed by the Board, they are 
not expected to create any economic impact beyond 
improving the accuracy of existing requirements and the 
consistency between the statute and the regulatory text. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
pertain to the 3,841 licensed physician assistants in the 
Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
would not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
would not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments would not affect the use and value of 
private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
would not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would 
not have costs or other effects on small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments would not impose adverse impacts on 
small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposed amendments would not impose 
adverse impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would not adversely 
affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments would not 
adversely affect other entities. 

________________________ 
1http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1649 
2http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7650 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove regulatory language that is 
inconsistent with § 54.1-2952.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
which does not require physician assistants to submit 
practice agreements to the Board of Medicine for approval 
and (ii) eliminate a redundant regulatory requirement. 

18VAC85-50-115. Responsibilities of the physician 
assistant.  

A. The physician assistant shall not render independent 
health care and shall:  

1. Perform only those medical care services that are within 
the scope of the practice and proficiency of the supervising 
physician as prescribed in the physician assistant's practice 
agreement. When a physician assistant is to be supervised 
by an alternate supervising physician outside the scope of 
specialty of the supervising physician, then the physician 
assistant's functions shall be limited to those areas not 
requiring specialized clinical judgment, unless a separate 
practice agreement has been executed for that alternate 
supervising physician is approved and on file with the 
board.  

2. Prescribe only those drugs and devices as allowed in 
Part V (18VAC85-50-130 et seq.) of this chapter.  

3. Wear during the course of performing his duties 
identification showing clearly that he is a physician 
assistant.  

B. An alternate supervising physician shall be a member of 
the same group or, professional corporation, or partnership of 
any licensee who supervises a physician assistant or shall be a 
member of the same hospital or commercial enterprise with 
the supervising physician. Such alternating supervising 
physician shall be a physician licensed in the Commonwealth 
who has registered with the board and who has accepted 
responsibility for the supervision of the service that a 
physician assistant renders. 

C. If, due to illness, vacation, or unexpected absence, the 
supervising physician or alternate supervising physician is 
unable to supervise the activities of his physician assistant, 
such supervising physician may temporarily delegate the 
responsibility to another doctor of medicine, osteopathic 
medicine, or podiatry.  

Temporary coverage may not exceed four weeks unless 
special permission is granted by the board.  

D. With respect to physician assistants employed by 
institutions, the following additional regulations shall apply:  

1. No physician assistant may render care to a patient 
unless the physician responsible for that patient has signed 
the practice agreement to act as supervising physician for 
that physician assistant. The board shall make available 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1649
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7650
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appropriate forms for physicians to join the practice 
agreement for an assistant employed by an institution.  

2. Any such practice agreement as described in subdivision 
1 of this subsection shall delineate the duties which said 
physician authorizes the physician assistant to perform.  

3. The physician assistant shall, as soon as circumstances 
may dictate, report an acute or significant finding or 
change in clinical status to the supervising physician 
concerning the examination of the patient. The physician 
assistant shall also record his findings in appropriate 
institutional records.  

E. Practice by a physician assistant in a hospital, including 
an emergency department, shall be in accordance with § 54.1-
2952 of the Code of Virginia.  

Part V  
Prescriptive Authority  

18VAC85-50-130. Qualifications for approval of 
prescriptive authority.  

An applicant for prescriptive authority shall meet the 
following requirements:  

1. Hold a current, unrestricted license as a physician 
assistant in the Commonwealth;  

2. Submit Maintain a practice agreement acceptable to the 
board as prescribed in 18VAC85-50-101. This practice 
agreement must be approved by the board prior to issuance 
of prescriptive authority and § 54.1-2952.1 of the Code of 
Virginia; and 

3. Submit evidence of successful passing of the NCCPA 
exam; and 4. Submit evidence of successful completion of 
a minimum of 35 hours of acceptable training to the board 
in pharmacology.  

18VAC85-50-140. Approved drugs and devices.  

A. The approved drugs and devices which the physician 
assistant with prescriptive authority may prescribe, 
administer, or dispense manufacturer's professional samples 
shall be in accordance with provisions of § 54.1-2952.1 of the 
Code of Virginia:  

B. The physician assistant may prescribe only those 
categories of drugs and devices included in the practice 
agreement as submitted for authorization. The supervising 
physician retains the authority to restrict certain drugs within 
these approved categories.  

C. The physician assistant, pursuant to § 54.1-2952.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, shall only dispense manufacturer's 
professional samples or administer controlled substances in 
good faith for medical or therapeutic purposes within the 
course of his professional practice.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5717; Filed June 14, 2019, 12:40 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 
Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 
the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (adding 18VAC90-
30-124).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 7, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Consistent with Chapter 390 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, 
the action (i) requires that laser hair removal must be 
performed by a "properly trained person" who is a licensee 
or by a "properly trained person under the direction and 
supervision" of a doctor, physician assistant, or nurse 
practitioner and (ii) provides a regulatory framework for 
such direction and supervision. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC90-30-124. Direction and supervision of laser hair 
removal. 

A. A nurse practitioner, as authorized pursuant to § 54.1-
2957 of the Code of Virginia, may perform or supervise the 
performance of laser hair removal upon completion of 
training in the following: 

1. Skin physiology and histology; 

2. Skin type and appropriate patient selection; 

3. Laser safety; 

4. Operation of laser device to be used; 

5. Recognition of potential complications and response to 
any actual complication resulting from a laser hair removal 
treatment; and 

6. A minimum number of 10 proctored patient cases with 
demonstrated competency in treating various skin types. 

B. Nurse practitioners who have been performing laser hair 
removal prior to [ (the effective date of this regulation) 
August 7, 2019, ] are not required to complete the training 
specified in subsection A of this section. 

C. A nurse practitioner who delegates the practice of laser 
hair removal and provides supervision for such practice shall 
ensure the supervised person has completed the training 
required in subsection A of this section.  
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D. A nurse practitioner who performs laser hair removal or 
who supervises others in the practice shall receive ongoing 
training as necessary to maintain competency in new 
techniques and laser devices. The nurse practitioner shall 
ensure that persons the nurse practitioner supervises also 
receive ongoing training to maintain competency. 

E. A nurse practitioner may delegate laser hair removal to a 
properly trained person under the nurse practitioner's 
direction and supervision. Direction and supervision shall 
mean that the nurse practitioner is readily available at the 
time laser hair removal is being performed. The supervising 
nurse practitioner is not required to be physically present but 
is required to see and evaluate a patient for whom the 
treatment has resulted in complications prior to the 
continuance of laser hair removal treatment. 

F. Prescribing of medication shall be in accordance with 
§ 54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5221; Filed June 14, 2019, 12:41 p.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 
being published; however, online users of this issue of the 
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 
form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 
available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 
Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 
11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Optometry. 

Contact Information: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 
or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC105-20) 

Application Instructions for Licensure/TPA Certification 
(rev. 7/08). 

Form A, Application for a License to Practice Optometry or 
TPA Certification (rev. 7/08). 

Diagnostic Pharmaceutical Agents Endorsement Application 
(rev. 7/08). 

Professional Designation Application (rev. 7/08). 

Professional Designation Application Letter (rev. 7/08). 

Application for Reinstatement (rev. 7/08). 

Form B, Licensure Verification (rev. 7/08). 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (9/07). 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (9/07). 

Form C, Approved Graduate Optometric Programs (12/06). 

Form D, Certificate of Training (rev. 7/08). 

Application Instructions for Licensure/TPA Certification 
(rev. 5/2019) 

Application for a License to Practice as a TPA-Certified 
Optometrist, online form available at 
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Optometry/optometry_forms.htm. 

Professional Designation Instructions and Application (rev. 
5/2019) 

Application for Reinstatement (rev. 5/2019) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 
5/2019) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 
5/2019) 

Certificate of Training (rev. 5/2019) 

Applicant License Verification Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Employment Verification Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Continuing Education Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Continuing Education Credit Form for Volunteer Practice 
(rev. 5/2019) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Professional Designation Change Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Written Evidence for Injections (rev. 5/2019) 
VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6043; Filed June 11, 2019, 11:19 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-140).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fd60c006043%7E1s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006043&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fd60c006043%7E1s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006043&mime=application/pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Optometry/optometry_forms.htm
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=caa80006043%7E2p.pdf&typ=40&actno=006043&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=caa80006043%7E2p.pdf&typ=40&actno=006043&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=98c98006043%7E3t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006043&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e160a006043%7E4n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006043&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e160a006043%7E4n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006043&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0c9a006043%7E5m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006043&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a0c9a006043%7E5m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006043&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4cc24006043%7E6G.pdf&typ=40&actno=006043&mime=application/pdf
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regulations to administer the regulatory system. The statutory 
authority for the board to regulate the security and integrity of 
drugs and devices is found in § 54.1-3307 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to prevent 
an entity from using a pharmacy permit without the intent of 
actually offering pharmacy services. In recent months, 
inspectors have identified three or four incidents in which a 
permit has been issued but the pharmacy remains closed 
indefinitely The concern is that there could be unscrupulous 
activity (e.g., ordering drugs) using the permit number. To 
address these concerns and to protect public health and safety, 
the board proposes to amend the section on issuance of a 
permit to require a pharmacy to be fully operational within 90 
days, unless there are circumstances beyond the control of the 
permit holder. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: While 
there are real concerns about public health and safety, there is 
no evidence that an emergency exists, so an emergency action 
is not warranted. However, the action should not be 
controversial and a fast-track rulemaking process is 
appropriate. 

Substance: 18VAC110-20-140 is amended to authorize the 
board to require a pharmacy to be operational within 90 days 
of issuance of a permit. If the pharmacy is in violation of the 
regulation, it would be subject to disciplinary action, 
including rescission of the permit. The board may grant an 
extension for circumstances beyond the control of the permit 
holder. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is less risk of a pharmacy 
permit being used for purposes other than to provide 
pharmacy services to the public. There are no disadvantages. 
There are no advantages or disadvantages to this agency or 
the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to require that once a 
permit has been issued, the pharmacy shall be fully 
operational within 90 days of issuance. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Department of Health 
Professions (DHP) inspectors have been concerned that a 
pharmacy permit may be used to order drugs for some 
purpose other than operating a pharmacy. To hinder that 
possibility, the proposed new text would authorize the Board 
to take action against the permit upon evidence that the 
pharmacy has not actually opened within 90 days of being 
issued a permit. The proposed language also states that for 
good cause shown, such as circumstances beyond the control 

of the permit holder, the Board could grant an extension. The 
proposed amendment would likely produce a net benefit since 
it should not significantly affect those who intend to use 
pharmacy permits for legitimate purposes, and may decrease 
the likelihood that drugs are illegally diverted. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 
potentially affects newly permitted pharmacies. Between 
December 1, 2017, and November 30, 2018, the Department 
of Health Professions issued 57 pharmacy permits. Currently 
1,850 pharmacies in the Commonwealth hold permits.1 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 
is unlikely to significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendment is unlikely to significantly affect the 
legitimate use and value of private property. It may impede 
illegal use of property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments are 
unlikely to significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect legitimate 
small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:   

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect legitimate businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

___________________________ 
1Data source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 
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Summary: 

The amendments authorize the board to (i) require a 
pharmacy to be operational within 90 days of issuance of a 
permit and (ii) grant an extension for circumstances 
beyond the control of the permit holder for failing to meet 
the 90-day requirement. 

18VAC110-20-140. New pharmacies, acquisitions, and 
changes to existing pharmacies.  

A. Any person wishing to open a new pharmacy, engage in 
the acquisition of an existing pharmacy, change the location 
of an existing pharmacy, move the location or make structural 
changes to an existing prescription department, or make 
changes to a previously approved security system shall file an 
application with the board.  

B. In the acquisition of an existing pharmacy, if prescription 
records are to be accessible to anyone for purposes other than 
for continuity of pharmacy services at substantially the same 
level offered by the previous owner or for the necessary 
transfer of prescription records, the owner of the pharmacy 
acquiring the records shall disclose such information in 
writing to each patient 14 days prior to the acquisition. Such 
release of prescription records shall be allowed only to the 
extent authorized by § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. The proposed location or structural changes shall be 
inspected by an authorized agent of the board prior to 
issuance of a permit.  

1. Pharmacy permit applications which that indicate a 
requested inspection date, or requests which that are 
received after the application is filed, shall be honored 
provided a 14-day notice is allowed prior to the requested 
inspection date.  

2. Requested inspection dates which that do not allow a 14-
day notice to the board may be adjusted by the board to 
provide 14 days for the scheduling of the inspection.  

3. At the time of the inspection, the dispensing area shall 
comply with 18VAC110-20-150, 18VAC110-20-160, 
18VAC110-20-170, 18VAC110-20-180, and 18VAC110-
20-190.  

4. If an applicant substantially fails to meet the 
requirements for issuance of a permit and a reinspection is 
required, or if the applicant is not ready for the inspection 
on the established date and fails to notify the inspector or 
the board at least 24 hours prior to the inspection, the 
applicant shall pay a reinspection fee as specified in 
18VAC110-20-20 prior to a reinspection being conducted.  

D. Drugs shall not be stocked within the proposed pharmacy 
or moved to a new location until approval is granted by the 
inspector or board staff.  

E. Once the permit is issued, prescription drugs may not be 
stocked earlier than two weeks prior to the designated 

opening date. Once prescription drugs have been placed in the 
pharmacy, a pharmacist shall be present on a daily basis to 
ensure the safety and integrity of the drugs. If there is a 
change in the designated opening date, the pharmacy shall 
notify the board office, and a pharmacist shall continue to be 
on site on a daily basis. 

F. Once a permit has been issued, the pharmacy shall be 
fully operational within 90 days of issuance. For good cause 
shown, such as circumstances beyond the control of the 
permit holder, the board may grant an extension. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5528; Filed June 14, 2019, 12:42 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing 
Pharmaceutical Processors (adding 18VAC110-60-10 
through 18VAC110-60-330).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-3442.6 and 54.1-3447 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 7, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 
527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 577 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, 
Chapter 613 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, and Chapters 
246 and 809 and Chapter 567 of the 2018 Acts of 
Assembly, the Board of Pharmacy is promulgating a new 
chapter, 18VAC110-60, governing the registration process 
for a patient who has been issued a written certification for 
the use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil and the issuance of 
a permit for a pharmaceutical processor to manufacture 
and provide cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil to a registered 
patient. The proposed chapter sets out the requirements for 
issuance of permits to pharmaceutical processors for the 
cultivation, production, and dispensing of cannabidiol oil 
or THC-A oil and establishes requirements for 
registrations of physicians for writing certification to 
registered patients, parents, or legal guardians for 
possession of such oils. 

The new chapter establishes (i) definitions and fees to be 
charged to applicants, registrants, and permitted 
processors; (ii) as specified in the legislation, 
requirements for issuance or denial of registration for 
certifying physicians, patients, parents, or legal guardians; 
(iii) the application and approval process for issuing a 
permit to a pharmaceutical processor, including the 
information that must be submitted, the requirements for 
issuing conditional and then final approval, the rules for 
notification to the board of any changes or of closure of 
the processor, and the causes for action against a 
processor; (iv) provisions for personnel at the 
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pharmaceutical processor, including a requirement that a 
pharmacist with a current, unrestricted Virginia license 
provide personal supervision on the premises at all times 
during hours of operation or whenever the processor is 
accessed and requirements for employee training and 
supervision of pharmacy technicians and responsibilities 
of the pharmacist-in-charge; (v) provisions for the 
operation of a pharmaceutical processor, including 
requirements for inventory, security, storage and handling, 
recordkeeping, and reportable events; and (vi) 
requirements for the cultivation, production, and 
dispensing of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, including 
labeling, laboratory and testing standards, handling 
dispensing errors, quality assurance, and proper disposal. 

The changes made to the proposed regulation clarify (i) 
the definition for "90-day supply" and add a definition for 
"batch," (ii) the requirements for a change of ownership of 
a pharmaceutical processor, (ii) that laboratory testing 
must be performed on the final product prior to dispensing, 
and (iii) laboratory testing and labeling standards. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 60 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING PHARMACEUTICAL 

PROCESSORS 

Part I 
General Provisions 

18VAC110-60-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3408.3 
and 54.1-3442.5 of the Code of Virginia, the following words 
and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"90-day supply" means the amount of cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil reasonably necessary to ensure an uninterrupted 
availability of supply for a 90-day period for registered 
patients [ , which cannot exceed 60 fluid ounces ]. 

[ "Batch" means a quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
from a production lot that is identified by a batch number or 
other unique identifier. ]  

"Board" means the Board of Pharmacy. 

"Certification" means a written statement, consistent with 
requirements of § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia, issued 
by a practitioner for the use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
for treatment of or to alleviate the symptoms of any 
diagnosed condition or disease determined by the practitioner 
to benefit from such use.  

"Dispensing error" means one or more of the following was 
discovered after the final verification by the pharmacist, 
regardless of whether the patient received the oil:  

1. Variation from the intended oil to be dispensed, 
including: 

a. Incorrect oil; 

b. Incorrect oil strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; 

d. Incorrect patient; or 

e. Inadequate or incorrect packaging, labeling, or 
directions. 

2. Failure to exercise professional judgment in identifying 
and managing: 

a. Known therapeutic duplication; 

b. Known drug-disease contraindications; 

c. Known drug-drug interactions; 

d. Incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug treatment; 

e. Known drug-allergy interactions; 

f. A clinically significant, avoidable delay in therapy; or 

g. Any other significant, actual, or potential problem with 
a patient's drug therapy. 

3. Delivery of an oil to the incorrect patient.  

4. An act or omission relating to the dispensing of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil that results in, or may 
reasonably be expected to result in, injury to or death of a 
registered patient or results in any detrimental change to 
the medical treatment for the patient. 

"Electronic tracking system" means an electronic radio-
frequency identification (RFID) seed-to-sale tracking system 
that tracks the Cannabis from either the seed or immature 
plant stage until the cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil are sold to 
a registered patient, parent, or legal guardian or until the 
Cannabis, including the seeds, parts of plants, and extracts, 
are destroyed. The electronic tracking system shall include, at 
a minimum, a central inventory management system and 
standard and ad hoc reporting functions as required by the 
board and shall be capable of otherwise satisfying required 
recordkeeping. 

"On duty" means that a pharmacist is on the premises at the 
address of the permitted pharmaceutical processor and is 
available as needed.  

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge. 

"Production" or "produce" means the manufacture, planting, 
preparation, cultivation, growing, harvesting, propagation, 
conversion, or processing of marijuana, (i) directly or 
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indirectly by extraction from substances of natural origin, (ii) 
independently by means of chemical synthesis, or (iii) by a 
combination of extraction and chemical synthesis. 
"Production" or "produce" includes any packaging or 
repackaging of the substance or labeling or relabeling of its 
container. 

"Qualifying patient" means a Virginia resident who has 
received from a practitioner, as defined in § 54.1-3408.3 of 
the Code of Virginia, a written certification for the use of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil for treatment of or to alleviate 
the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease. 

"Registered patient" means a qualifying patient who has 
been issued a registration by the board for the dispensing of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to such patient. 

"Registration" means an identification card or other 
document issued by the board that identifies a person as a 
practitioner or a qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian. 

"Resident" means a person whose principal place of 
residence is within the Commonwealth as evidenced by a 
federal or state income tax return or a current Virginia driver's 
license. If a person is a minor, residency may be established 
by evidence of Virginia residency by a parent or legal 
guardian. 

"Temperature and humidity" means temperature and 
humidity maintained in the following ranges: 

Room or Phase Temperature Humidity 

Mother room 65 - 75° 50% - 60% 

Nursery phase 71 - 85° F 65% - 75% 

Vegetation phase 71 - 85° F 55% - 65% 

Flower/harvest phase 71 - 85° F 55% - 60% 

Drying/extraction 
rooms 

< 75° F 55% - 60% 

18VAC110-60-20. Fees. 

A. Fees are required by the board as specified in this section. 
Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall not 
be refundable. 

B. Registration of practitioner. 

1. Initial registration. $50 

2. Annual renewal of registration. $50 

3. Replacement of registration for a 
qualifying practitioner whose information 
has changed or whose original registration 
certificate has been lost, stolen, or 
destroyed. 

$50 

C. Registration by a qualifying patient, parent, or legal 
guardian. 

1. Initial registration of a patient. $50 

2. Annual renewal of registration of a 
patient. 

3. Initial registration of a parent or legal 
guardian. 

4. Annual renewal of registration of a 
parent or guardian. 

$50 

$25 

$25 

5. Replacement of registration for a 
qualifying patient, parent, or legal 
guardian whose original registration 
certificate has been lost, stolen, or 
destroyed. 

$25 

D. Pharmaceutical processor permit. 

1. Application. $10,000 

2. Initial permit. $60,000 

3. Annual renewal of permit. $10,000 

4. Change of name of processor. $100 

5. Change of PIC or any other 
information provided on the permit 
application. 

$100 

6. [ Change of ownership not requiring a 
criminal background check. 

$100 

7. Change of ownership requiring a 
criminal background check.  

$250  

8. ] Any acquisition, expansion, 
remodel, or change of location requiring 
an inspection. 

$1,000 

[ 7. 9. ] Reinspection fee. 

[ 8. 10. ] Registration of each 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product. 

$1,000 

$25  

Part II 
Requirements for Practitioners and Patients 

18VAC110-60-30. Requirements for a practitioner issuing 
a certification. 

A. Prior to issuing a certification for cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil for any diagnosed condition or disease, the 
practitioner shall meet the requirements of § 54.1-3408.3 of 
the Code of Virginia, shall submit an application and fee as 
prescribed in 18VAC110-60-20, and shall be registered with 
the board.  

B. A practitioner issuing a certification shall: 

1. Conduct an assessment and evaluation of the patient in 
order to develop a treatment plan for the patient, which 
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shall include an examination of the patient and the patient's 
medical history, prescription history, and current medical 
condition, including an in-person physical examination; 

2. Diagnose the patient; 

3. Be of the opinion that the potential benefits of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil would likely outweigh the 
health risks of such use to the qualifying patient; 

4. Explain proper administration and the potential risks and 
benefits of the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to the 
qualifying patient and, if the qualifying patient lacks legal 
capacity, to a parent or legal guardian prior to issuing the 
written certification;  

5. Be available or ensure that another practitioner, as 
defined in § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia, is 
available to provide follow-up care and treatment to the 
qualifying patient, including physical examinations, to 
determine the efficacy of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil for 
treating the diagnosed condition or disease; 

6. Comply with generally accepted standards of medical 
practice, except to the extent such standards would counsel 
against certifying a qualifying patient for cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil;  

7. Maintain medical records in accordance with 18VAC85-
20-26 for all patients for whom the practitioner has issued 
a certification; and 

8. Access or direct the practitioner's delegate to access the 
Virginia Prescription Monitoring Program of the 
Department of Health Professions for the purpose of 
determining which, if any, covered substances have been 
dispensed to the patient. 

C. Patient care and evaluation shall not occur by 
telemedicine for at least the first year of certification. 
Thereafter, the practitioner shall use his professional 
judgment to determine the manner and frequency of patient 
care and evaluation. 

D. A practitioner shall not delegate the responsibility of 
diagnosing a patient or determining whether a patient should 
be issued a certification. Employees under the direct 
supervision of the practitioner may assist with preparing a 
certification, so long as the final certification is approved and 
signed by the practitioner before it is issued to the patient. 

E. The practitioner shall provide instructions for the use of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to the patient, parent, or 
guardian, as applicable, and shall also securely transmit such 
instructions to the permitted pharmaceutical processor. 

F. A practitioner shall not issue certifications for cannabidiol 
oil or THC-A oil to more than 600 patients at any given time. 
However, the practitioner may petition the Board of 
Pharmacy and Board of Medicine for an increased number of 
patients for whom certifications may be issued, upon 

submission of evidence that the limitation represents potential 
patient harm.  

G. Upon request, a practitioner shall make a copy of medical 
records available to an agent of the Board of Medicine or 
Board of Pharmacy for the purpose of enabling the board to 
ensure compliance with the law and regulations or to 
investigate a possible violation.   

18VAC110-60-40. Prohibited practices for practitioners. 

A. A practitioner who issues certifications shall not: 

1. Directly or indirectly accept, solicit, or receive anything 
of value from any person associated with a pharmaceutical 
processor or provider of paraphernalia, excluding 
information on products or educational materials on the 
benefits and risks of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; 

2. Offer a discount or any other thing of value to a 
qualifying patient, parent, or guardian based on the 
patient's agreement or decision to use a particular 
pharmaceutical processor or cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
product; 

3. Examine a qualifying patient for purposes of diagnosing 
the condition or disease at a location where cannabidiol oil 
or THC-A oil is dispensed or produced; or 

4. Directly or indirectly benefit from a patient obtaining a 
certification. Such prohibition shall not prohibit a 
practitioner from charging an appropriate fee for the 
patient visit. 

B. A practitioner who issues certifications, and such 
practitioner's coworker, employee, spouse, parent, or child, 
shall not have a direct or indirect financial interest in a 
pharmaceutical processor or any other entity that may benefit 
from a qualifying patient's acquisition, purchase, or use of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, including any formal or 
informal agreement whereby a pharmaceutical processor or 
other person provides compensation if the practitioner issues 
a certification for a qualifying patient or steers a qualifying 
patient to a specific pharmaceutical processor or cannabidiol 
oil or THC-A oil product. 

C. A practitioner shall not issue a certification for himself or 
for family members, employees, or coworkers. 

D. A practitioner shall not provide product samples 
containing cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil other than those 
approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 

18VAC110-60-50. Registration of a patient, parent, or 
legal guardian. 

A. A qualifying patient for whom a practitioner has issued a 
certification shall register with the board in accordance with 
this section. If the qualifying patient is a minor or an 
incapacitated adult, the qualifying patient's parent or legal 
guardian shall register with the board in accordance with this 
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section. For a registration application to be considered 
complete, the following items shall be submitted: 

1. A copy of the certification issued by a registered 
practitioner;  

2. Proof of residency of the qualifying patient and proof of 
residency of a parent or legal guardian, if applicable, such 
as a government-issued identification card or tax receipt;  

3. Proof of identity of the qualifying patient and, if the 
patient is a minor, proof of identity of the parent or legal 
guardian in the form of a government-issued identification 
card; 

4. Proof of the qualifying patient's age in the form of a 
birth certificate or other government-issued identification; 

5. Payment of the appropriate fees; and 

6. Such other information as the board may require to 
determine the applicant's suitability for registration or to 
protect public health and safety. 

B. A qualifying patient shall not be issued a written 
certification by more than one practitioner during a given 
time period. 

C. Patients, parents, and legal guardians issued a registration 
shall carry their registrations with them whenever they are in 
possession of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. 

18VAC110-60-60. Denial of a qualifying patient, parent, 
or legal guardian registration application. 

A. The board may deny an application or renewal of the 
registration of a qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian if 
the applicant: 

1. Does not meet the requirements set forth in law or 
regulation or fails to provide complete information on the 
application form; 

2. Does not provide acceptable proof of identity, residency, 
or age of the patient to the board; 

3. Provides false, misleading, or incorrect information to 
the board; 

4. Has had a qualifying registration of a qualifying patient, 
parent, or legal guardian denied, suspended, or revoked by 
the board in the previous six months;  

5. Has a certification issued by a practitioner who is not 
authorized to certify patients for cannabidiol oil or THC-A 
oil; or 

6. Has a prior conviction of a violation of any law 
pertaining to controlled substances. 

B. If the board denies an application or renewal of a 
qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian applicant, the 
board shall provide the applicant with notice of the grounds 
for the denial and shall inform the applicant of the right to 

request a hearing pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

18VAC110-60-70. Reporting requirements for 
practitioners, patients, parents, or legal guardians. 

A. A practitioner shall report to the board, on a form 
prescribed by the board, the death of a registered patient or a 
change in status involving a registered patient for whom the 
practitioner has issued a certification if such change affects 
the patient's continued eligibility to use cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil or the practitioner's inability to continue treating 
the patient. A practitioner shall report such death, change of 
status, or inability to continue treatment not more than 15 
days after the practitioner becomes aware of such fact. 

B. A patient, parent, or legal guardian who has been issued a 
registration shall notify the board of any change in the 
information provided to the board not later than 15 days after 
such change. The patient, parent, or legal guardian shall 
report changes that include a change in name, address, contact 
information, medical status of the patient, or change of the 
certifying practitioner. The patient, parent, or legal guardian 
shall report such changes on a form prescribed by the board. 

C. If a patient, parent, or legal guardian notifies the board of 
any change that results in information on the patient, parent, 
or legal guardian's registration being inaccurate, the board 
shall issue a replacement registration. Upon receipt of a new 
registration, the qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian 
shall destroy in a nonrecoverable manner the registration that 
was replaced. 

D. If a patient, parent, or legal guardian becomes aware of 
the loss, theft, or destruction of the registration of such 
patient, parent, or legal guardian, the patient, parent, or legal 
guardian shall notify the board not later than five business 
days after becoming aware of the loss, theft, or destruction, 
and submit the fee for a replacement registration. The board 
shall inactivate the initial registration upon receiving such 
notice and issue a replacement registration upon receiving the 
applicable fee, provided the applicant continues to satisfy the 
requirements of law and regulation. 

18VAC110-60-80. Proper storage and disposal of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil by patients, parents, or legal 
guardians. 

A. A registered patient, parent, or legal guardian shall 
exercise reasonable caution to store cannabidiol oil or THC-A 
oil in a manner to prevent theft, loss, or access by 
unauthorized persons. 

B. A registered patient, parent, or legal guardian shall 
dispose of all usable cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil in the 
registered patient, parent, or legal guardian's possession no 
later than 10 calendar days after the expiration of the patient's 
registration if such registration is not renewed, or sooner 
should the patient no longer wish to possess cannabidiol oil or 
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THC-A oil. A registered patient, parent, or legal guardian 
shall complete such disposal by one of the following 
methods: 

1. By removing the oil from the original container and 
mixing it with an undesirable substance such as used 
coffee grounds, dirt, or kitty litter. The mixture shall be 
placed in a sealable bag, empty can, or other container to 
prevent the drug from leaking or breaking out of a garbage 
bag. 

2. By transferring it to law enforcement via a medication 
drop-box or drug take-back event if permissible under state 
and federal law. 

18VAC110-60-90. Revocation or suspension of a 
qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian registration. 

The board may revoke or suspend the registration of a 
patient, parent, or legal guardian under the following 
circumstances: 

1. The patient's practitioner notifies the board that the 
practitioner is withdrawing the written certification 
submitted on behalf of the patient, and 30 days after the 
practitioner's withdrawal of the written certification the 
patient has not obtained a valid written certification from a 
different practitioner; 

2. The patient, parent, or legal guardian provided false, 
misleading, or incorrect information to the board; 

3. The patient, parent, or legal guardian is no longer a 
resident of Virginia; 

4. The patient, parent, or legal guardian obtained more than 
a 90-day supply of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil in a 90-
day period; 

5. The patient, parent, or legal guardian provided or sold 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to any person, including 
another registered patient, parent, or legal guardian; 

6. The patient, parent, or legal guardian permitted another 
person to use the registration of the patient, parent, or legal 
guardian; 

7. The patient, parent, or legal guardian tampered, falsified, 
altered, modified, or allowed another person to tamper, 
falsify, alter, or modify the registration of the patient, 
parent, or legal guardian; 

8. The registration of the patient, parent, or legal guardian 
was lost, stolen, or destroyed, and the patient, parent, or 
legal guardian failed to notify the board or notified the 
board of such incident more than five business days after 
becoming aware that the registration was lost, stolen, or 
destroyed; 

9. The patient, parent, or legal guardian failed to notify the 
board of a change in registration information or notified 

the board of such change more than 14 days after the 
change; or 

10. The patient, parent, or legal guardian violated any 
federal or state law or regulation. 

Part III 
Application and Approval Process for Pharmaceutical 

Processors 

18VAC110-60-100. Publication of notice for submission of 
applications. 

A. The board shall publish a notice of open applications for 
pharmaceutical processor permits. Such notice shall include 
information on how to obtain and complete an application, 
the required fees, the criteria for issuance of a permit, and the 
deadline for receipt of applications. 

B. The board shall have the right to amend the notice of 
open applications prior to the deadline for submitting an 
application. Such amended notice shall be published in the 
same manner as the original notice of open applications. 

C. The board shall have the right to cancel a notice of open 
applications prior to the award of a pharmaceutical processor 
permit. 

18VAC110-60-110. Application process for 
pharmaceutical processor permits. 

A. The application process for permits shall occur in three 
stages: submission of initial application, award of conditional 
approval, and grant of a pharmaceutical processor permit. 

B. Submission of initial application. 

1. A pharmaceutical processor permit applicant shall 
submit the required application fee and form with the 
following information and documentation:  

a. The name and address of the applicant and the 
applicant's owners; 

b. The location within the health service area established 
by the State Board of Health for the pharmaceutical 
processor that is to be operated under such permit; 

c. Detailed information regarding the applicant's financial 
position indicating all assets, liabilities, income, and net 
worth to demonstrate the financial capacity of the 
applicant to build and operate a facility to cultivate 
Cannabis plants intended only for the production and 
dispensing of cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil pursuant to 
§§ 54.1-3442.6 and 54.1-3442.7 of the Code of Virginia, 
which may include evidence of an escrow account, letter 
of credit, or performance surety bond; 

d. Details regarding the applicant's plans for security to 
maintain adequate control against the diversion, theft, or 
loss of the Cannabis plants and the cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil; 
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e. Documents sufficient to establish that the applicant is 
authorized to conduct business in Virginia and that all 
applicable state and local building, fire, and zoning 
requirements and local ordinances are met or will be met 
prior to issuance of a permit; 

f. Information necessary for the board to conduct a 
criminal background check on the applicant; 

g. Information about any previous or current involvement 
in the medical cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil industry; 

h. Whether the applicant has ever applied for a permit or 
registration related to medical cannabidiol oil or THC-A 
oil in any state and, if so, the status of that application, 
permit, or registration, to include any disciplinary action 
taken by any state on the permit, the registration, or an 
associated license; 

i. Any business and marketing plans related to the 
operation of the pharmaceutical processor or the sale of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; 

j. Text and graphic materials showing the exterior 
appearance of the proposed pharmaceutical processor; 

k. A blueprint of the proposed pharmaceutical processor 
that shall show and identify (i) the square footage of each 
area of the facility; (ii) the location of all safes or vaults 
used to store the Cannabis plants and oils; (iii) the 
location of all areas that may contain Cannabis plants, 
cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil; (iv) the placement of 
walls, partitions, and counters; and (v) all areas of ingress 
and egress; 

l. Documents related to any compassionate need program 
the pharmaceutical processor intends to offer; 

m. Information about the applicant's expertise in 
agriculture and other production techniques required to 
produce cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil and to safely 
dispense such products; and 

n. Such other documents and information required by the 
board to determine the applicant's suitability for 
permitting or to protect public health and safety. 

2. In the event any information contained in the application 
or accompanying documents changes after being submitted 
to the board, the applicant shall immediately notify the 
board in writing and provide corrected information in a 
timely manner so as not to disrupt the permit selection 
process. 

3. The board shall conduct criminal background checks on 
applicants and may verify information contained in each 
application and accompanying documentation in order to 
assess the applicant's ability to operate a pharmaceutical 
processor.   

C. In the event the board determines that there are no 
qualified applicants to award conditional approval for a 
pharmaceutical processor permit in a health service area, the 
board may republish, in accordance with 18VAC110-60-100, 
a notice of open applications for pharmaceutical processor 
permits. 

D. No person who has been convicted of a felony or of any 
offense in violation of Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) or Article 
1.1 (§ 18.2-265.1 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the 
Code of Virginia shall have any form of ownership, be 
employed by, or act as an agent of a pharmaceutical 
processor. 

18VAC110-60-120. Conditional approval. 

A. Following the deadline for receipt of applications, the 
board shall evaluate each complete and timely submitted 
application and may grant conditional approval on a 
competitive basis based on compliance with requirements set 
forth in 18VAC110-60-110.  

B. The board shall consider, but is not limited to, the 
following criteria in evaluating pharmaceutical processor 
permit applications: 

1. The results of the criminal background checks required 
in 18VAC110-60-110 B 3 or any history of disciplinary 
action imposed by a state or federal regulatory agency; 

2. The location for the proposed pharmaceutical processor, 
which shall not be within 1,000 feet of a school or daycare; 

3. The applicant's ability to maintain adequate control 
against the diversion, theft, and loss of the Cannabis, to 
include the seeds, any parts or extracts of the Cannabis 
plants, the cannabidiol oil, or the THC-A oil; 

4. The applicant's ability to maintain the knowledge, 
understanding, judgment, procedures, security controls, 
and ethics to ensure optimal safety and accuracy in the 
dispensing and sale of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil;  

5. The extent to which the applicant or any of the 
applicant's pharmaceutical processor owners have a 
financial interest in another license, permit, registrant, or 
applicant; and 

6. Any other reason provided by state or federal statute or 
[ state or federal ] regulation that is not inconsistent with 
the law and regulations regarding pharmaceutical 
processors. 

C. The board may disqualify any applicant who: 

1. Submits an incomplete, false, inaccurate, or misleading 
application; 

2. Fails to submit an application by the published deadline;  

3. Fails to pay all applicable fees; or  
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4. Fails to comply with all requirements for a 
pharmaceutical processor.  

D. Following review, the board shall notify applicants of 
denial or conditional approval. The decision of the board not 
to grant conditional approval to an applicant shall be final.  

E. If granted conditional approval, an applicant shall have 
one year from date of notification to complete all 
requirements for issuance of a permit, to include employment 
of a PIC and other personnel necessary for operation of a 
pharmaceutical processor, construction or remodeling of a 
facility, installation of equipment, and securing local zoning 
approval.  

18VAC110-60-130. Granting of a pharmaceutical 
processor permit. 

A. The board may issue a pharmaceutical processor permit 
when all requirements of the board have been met, to include: 

1. Designation of a PIC; 

2. Evidence of criminal background checks for all 
employees and delivery agents of the processor to ensure 
compliance with § 54.1-3442.6 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. Evidence of utilization of an electronic tracking system; 
and 

4. A satisfactory inspection of the facility conducted by the 
board or its agents. 

B. The permit shall not be awarded until any deficiency 
identified by inspectors has been corrected and the facility has 
been satisfactorily reinspected if warranted.  

C. Before any permit is issued, the applicant shall attest to 
compliance with all state and local laws and ordinances. A 
pharmaceutical processor permit shall not be issued to any 
person to operate from a private dwelling or residence.  

D. If an applicant has been awarded a pharmaceutical 
processor permit and has not commenced operation of such 
facility within 180 days of being notified of the issuance of a 
pharmaceutical processor permit, the board may rescind such 
permit, unless such delay was caused by circumstances 
beyond the control of the permit holder.  

E. A pharmaceutical processor shall be deemed to have 
commenced operation if Cannabis plants are under cultivation 
by the processor in accordance with the approved application. 

F. In the event a permit is rescinded pursuant to this section, 
the board may award a pharmaceutical processor permit by 
selecting among the qualified applicants who applied for the 
pharmaceutical processor permit subject to rescission. If no 
other qualified applicant who applied for such pharmaceutical 
processor permit satisfied the criteria for awarding a permit, 
the board shall publish in accordance with this section a 
notice of open applications for a pharmaceutical processor 
permit. 

G. Once the permit is issued, Cannabis may not be grown or 
held in the pharmaceutical processor earlier than two weeks 
prior to the opening date designated on the application. Once 
Cannabis has been placed in the pharmaceutical processor, a 
pharmacist shall be present during hours of operation to 
ensure the safety, security, and integrity of the Cannabis. If 
there is a change in the designated opening date, the 
pharmaceutical processor shall notify the board office, and a 
pharmacist shall continue to be on site on a daily basis. 

18VAC110-60-140. Notification of changes by 
pharmaceutical processor. 

A. Unless otherwise provided in law or regulation, the PIC 
designated on the application to be in full and actual charge of 
the pharmaceutical processor shall provide any notification or 
information that is required from a pharmaceutical processor. 

B. Prior to making any change to the pharmaceutical 
processor name, the pharmaceutical processor shall submit an 
application for such change to the board and pay the fee. 

C. Any person wishing to engage in the acquisition of an 
existing pharmaceutical processor, change the location of an 
existing pharmaceutical processor, make structural changes to 
an existing pharmaceutical processor, or make changes to a 
previously approved security system shall submit an 
application to the board and pay the required fee. 

1. The proposed location or structural changes shall be 
inspected by an authorized agent of the board prior to 
issuance of a permit.  

2. Cannabis shall not be moved to a new location until 
approval is granted by the inspector or board staff.   

18VAC110-60-150. Pharmaceutical processor closings; 
going out of business; change of ownership. 

A. At least 30 days prior to the date a pharmaceutical 
processor closes, either temporarily or permanently, the 
owner shall: 

1. Notify the board;  

2. Send written notification to patients with current 
certification; and 

3. Post a notice on the window or door of the 
pharmaceutical processor.  

B. The proposed disposition of all Cannabis, dispensing 
records, patient information records, and other required 
records shall be reported to the board. If the Cannabis and 
records are to be transferred to another processor located in 
Virginia, the owner shall inform the board and the patients 
and include on the public notice the name and address of the 
processor to whom the Cannabis and records are being 
transferred and the date of transfer. 

C. Exceptions to the public notice shall be approved by the 
board and may include sudden closing due to fire, 
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destruction, natural disaster, death, property seizure, eviction, 
bankruptcy, or other emergency circumstances. If the 
pharmaceutical processor is not able to meet the notification 
requirements, the owner shall ensure that the board and public 
are properly notified as soon as [ he the owner ] knows of the 
closure and shall disclose the emergency circumstances 
preventing the notification within the required deadlines. 

D. In the event of an exception to the notice, the PIC or 
owner shall provide notice as far in advance of closing as 
allowed by the circumstances.  

E. At least 14 days prior to any change in ownership of an 
existing pharmaceutical processor, the owner shall notify the 
board of the pending change.  

1. Upon any change in ownership of an existing 
pharmaceutical processor, the dispensing records for the 
two years immediately preceding the date of change of 
ownership and other required patient information shall be 
provided to the new owners on the date of change of 
ownership in substantially the same format as previously 
used immediately prior to the transfer to provide continuity 
of services.  

2. The previous owner shall be held responsible for 
assuring the proper and lawful transfer of records on the 
date of the transfer. 

[ 3. If a new owner's share constitutes 5.0% or greater of 
the total ownership, the new owner shall submit to 
fingerprinting and the criminal history record search 
required by of § 54.1-3442.6 E of the Code of Virginia. ]  

18VAC110-60-160. Grounds for action against a 
pharmaceutical processor permit. 

In addition to the bases enumerated in § 54.1-3316 of the 
Code of Virginia, the board may suspend, revoke, or refuse to 
grant or renew a permit issued; place such permit on 
probation; place conditions on such permit; or take other 
actions permitted by statute or regulation on the following 
grounds:  

1. Any criminal conviction under federal or state statutes or 
regulations or local ordinances, unless the conviction was 
based on a federal statute or regulation related to the 
possession, purchase, or sale of cannabidiol oil or THC-A 
oil that is authorized under state law and regulations; 

2. Any civil action under any federal or state statute or 
regulation or local ordinance (i) relating to the applicant's, 
licensee's, permit holder's, or registrant's profession or (ii) 
involving drugs, medical devices, or fraudulent practices, 
including fraudulent billing practices; 

3. Failure to maintain effective controls against diversion, 
theft, or loss of Cannabis, cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, or 
other controlled substances; 

4. Intentionally or through negligence obscuring, 
damaging, or defacing a permit or registration card; 

5. Permitting another person to use the permit of a permit 
holder or registration of a qualifying patient, parent, or 
legal guardian; 

6. Failure to cooperate or give information to the board on 
any matter arising out of conduct at a pharmaceutical 
processor; or 

7. Discontinuance of business for more than 60 days, 
unless the board approves an extension of such period for 
good cause shown upon a written request from a 
pharmaceutical processor. Good cause includes exigent 
circumstances that necessitate the closing of the facility. 
Good cause shall not include a voluntary closing of the 
pharmaceutical processor or production facility. 

Part IV 
Requirements for Pharmaceutical Processor Personnel 

18VAC110-60-170. Pharmaceutical processor employee 
licenses and registrations. 

A. A pharmacist with a current, unrestricted license issued 
by the board practicing at the location of the address on the 
pharmaceutical processor application shall be in full and 
actual charge of a pharmaceutical processor and serve as the 
pharmacist-in-charge. 

B. A pharmacist with a current, unrestricted license issued 
by the board shall provide personal supervision on the 
premises of the pharmaceutical processor at all times during 
hours of operation or whenever the processor is being 
accessed. 

C. A person who holds a current, unrestricted registration as 
a pharmacy technician pursuant to § 54.1-3321 of the Code of 
Virginia and who has had at least two years of experience 
practicing as a pharmacy technician may perform the 
following duties under supervision of a pharmacist: 

1. The entry of drug dispensing information and drug 
history into a data system or other recordkeeping system;  

2. The preparation of labels for dispensing the oils or 
patient information;  

3. The removal of the oil to be dispensed from inventory;  

4. The measuring of the oil to be dispensed;  

5. The packaging and labeling of the oil to be dispensed 
and the repackaging thereof;  

6. The stocking or loading of devices used in the 
dispensing process;  

7. The selling of the oil to the registered patient, parent, or 
legal guardian; and 
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8. The performance of any other task restricted to 
pharmacy technicians by the board's regulations.  

D. A pharmacist with a current, unrestricted license; a 
registered pharmacy intern who has completed the first 
professional year of pharmacy school; or a pharmacy 
technician with a current, unrestricted registration issued by 
the board may perform duties associated with the cultivation, 
extraction, and dispensing of the oils as authorized by the PIC 
or as otherwise authorized in law. 

E. A person who does not maintain licensure as a pharmacist 
or registration as a pharmacy technician but has received a 
degree in horticulture or has at least two years of experience 
cultivating plants may perform duties associated with the 
cultivation of Cannabis as authorized by the PIC. 

F. A person who does not maintain licensure as a pharmacist 
or registration as a pharmacy technician, but has received a 
degree in chemistry or pharmacology or has at least two years 
of experience extracting chemicals from plants may perform 
duties associated with the extraction of cannabidiol oil and 
THC-A oil as authorized by the PIC. 

G. A pharmacist on duty shall directly supervise the 
activities in all areas designated for cultivation, extraction, 
and dispensing or have a process in place, approved by the 
board, that provides adequate supervision to protect the 
security of the Cannabis, seeds, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and 
THC-A oil and ensure quality of the dispensed oils. 

H. At no time shall a pharmaceutical processor operate or be 
accessed without a pharmacist on duty. 

I. No person shall be employed by or serve as an agent of a 
pharmaceutical processor without being at least 18 years of 
age. 

J. No person who has had a license or registration suspended 
or revoked or been denied issuance of such license or 
registration shall serve as an employee or agent of the 
pharmaceutical processor unless such license or registration 
has been reinstated and is current and unrestricted. 

18VAC110-60-180. Employee training. 

A. All employees of a pharmaceutical processor shall 
complete training prior to the employee commencing work at 
the pharmaceutical processor. At a minimum, the training 
shall be in the following areas: 

1. The proper use of security measures and controls that 
have been adopted for the prevention of diversion, theft, or 
loss of Cannabis, to include the seeds, any parts or extracts 
of the Cannabis plants, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil; 

2. Procedures and instructions for responding to an 
emergency;  

3. Professional conduct, ethics, and state and federal 
statutes and regulations regarding patient confidentiality; 
and 

4. Developments in the field of the medical use of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. 

B. Prior to regular performance of assigned tasks, the 
employee shall also receive on-the-job training and other 
related education, which shall be commensurate with the 
tasks assigned to the employee. 

C. The PIC shall assure the continued competency of all 
employees through continuing in-service training that is 
provided at least annually, is designed to supplement initial 
training, and includes any guidance specified by the board. 

D. The PIC shall be responsible for maintaining a written 
record documenting the initial and continuing training of all 
employees that shall contain: 

1. The name of the person receiving the training;  

2. The dates of the training; 

3. A general description of the topics covered; 

4. The name of the person supervising the training; and 

5. The signatures of the person receiving the training and 
the PIC. 

E. When a change of pharmaceutical processor PIC occurs, 
the new PIC shall review the training record and sign it, 
indicating that the new PIC understands its contents. 

F. A pharmaceutical processor shall maintain the record 
documenting the employee training and make it available in 
accordance with regulations. 

18VAC110-60-190. Pharmacy technicians; ratio; 
supervision and responsibility. 

A. The ratio of pharmacy technicians to pharmacists on duty 
in the areas of a pharmaceutical processor designated for 
production or dispensing shall not exceed four pharmacy 
technicians to one pharmacist. 

B. The pharmacist providing direct supervision of pharmacy 
technicians may be held responsible for the pharmacy 
technicians' actions. Any violations relating to the dispensing 
of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil resulting from the actions of 
a pharmacy technician shall constitute grounds for action 
against the license of the pharmacist and the registration of 
the pharmacy technician. As used in this subsection, "direct 
supervision" means a supervising pharmacist who: 

1. Is on duty where the pharmacy technician is performing 
routine cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil production or 
dispensing functions; and 

2. Conducts in-process and final checks on the pharmacy 
technician's performance. 
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C. Pharmacy technicians shall not: 

1. Counsel a registered patient or the patient's parent or 
legal guardian regarding (i) cannabidiol oil, THC-A oil, or 
other drugs either before or after cannabidiol oil or THC-A 
oil has been dispensed or (ii) any medical information 
contained in a patient medication record; 

2. Consult with the practitioner who certified the 
qualifying patient, or the practitioner's agent, regarding a 
patient or any medical information pertaining to the 
patient's cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil or any other drug 
the patient may be taking; 

3. Interpret the patient's clinical data or provide medical 
advice; 

4. Determine whether a different formulation of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil should be substituted for the 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product or formulation 
recommended by the practitioner or requested by the 
registered patient or parent or legal guardian; or 

5. Communicate with a practitioner who certified a 
registered patient, or the practitioner's agent, to obtain a 
clarification on a qualifying patient's written certification 
or instructions. 

18VAC110-60-200. Responsibilities of the PIC. 

A. No person shall be PIC for more than one pharmaceutical 
processor or for one processor and a pharmacy at any one 
time. A processor shall employ the PIC at the pharmaceutical 
processor for at least 35 hours per week, except as otherwise 
authorized by the board.  

B. The PIC or the pharmacist on duty shall control all 
aspects of the practice of the pharmaceutical processor. Any 
decision overriding such control of the PIC or other 
pharmacist on duty may be grounds for disciplinary action 
against the pharmaceutical processor permit.  

C. The pharmaceutical processor PIC shall be responsible 
for ensuring that:  

1. Pharmacy technicians are registered and all employees 
are properly trained; 

2. All record retention requirements are met; 

3. All requirements for the physical security of the 
Cannabis, to include the seeds, any parts or extracts of the 
Cannabis plants, the cannabidiol oil, and the THC-A oil are 
met; 

4. The pharmaceutical processor has appropriate 
pharmaceutical reference materials to ensure that 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil can be properly dispensed; 

5. The following items are conspicuously posted in the 
pharmaceutical processor in a location and in a manner so 

as to be clearly and readily identifiable to registered 
patients, parents, or legal guardians: 

a. Pharmaceutical processor permit; 

b. Licenses for all pharmacists practicing at the 
pharmaceutical processor; and 

c. The price of all cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil products 
offered by the pharmaceutical processor; and 

6. Any other required filings or notifications are made on 
behalf of the processor as set forth in regulation. 

D. When the PIC ceases practice at a pharmaceutical 
processor or no longer wishes to be designated as PIC, he 
shall immediately return the pharmaceutical processor permit 
to the board indicating the effective date on which he ceased 
to be the PIC.  

E. An outgoing PIC shall have the opportunity to take a 
complete and accurate inventory of all Cannabis, to include 
plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil on hand on the 
date he ceases to be the PIC, unless the owner submits written 
notice to the board showing good cause as to why this 
opportunity should not be allowed. 

F. A PIC who is absent from practice for more than 30 
consecutive days shall be deemed to no longer be the PIC. If 
the PIC knows of an upcoming absence of longer than 30 
days, he shall be responsible for notifying the board and 
returning the permit. For unanticipated absences by the PIC 
that exceed 15 days with no known return date within the 
next 15 days, the permit holder shall immediately notify the 
board and shall obtain a new PIC.  

G. An application for a permit designating the new PIC shall 
be filed with the required fee within 14 days of the original 
date of resignation or termination of the PIC on a form 
provided by the board. It shall be unlawful for a 
pharmaceutical processor to operate without a new permit 
past the 14-day deadline unless the board receives a request 
for an extension prior to the deadline. The executive director 
for the board may grant an extension for up to an additional 
14 days for good cause shown.  

Part V 
Operation of a Pharmaceutical Processor 

18VAC110-60-210. General provisions. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall sell cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil only in a child-resistant, secure, and light-resistant 
container. Upon a written request from the registered patient, 
parent, or legal guardian, the oil may be dispensed in a non-
child-resistant container so long as all labeling is maintained 
with the product. 

B. Only a pharmacist may dispense cannabidiol oil or THC-
A oil to registered patients or parents or legal guardians of 
patients who are minors or incapacitated adults and who are 
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registered with the board. A pharmacy technician who meets 
the requirements of 18VAC110-60-170 C may assist, under 
the direct supervision of a pharmacist, in the dispensing and 
selling of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. 

C. The PIC or pharmacist on duty shall restrict access to the 
pharmaceutical processor to: 

1. A person whose responsibilities necessitate access to the 
pharmaceutical processor and then for only as long as 
necessary to perform the person's job duties; or 

2. A person who is a registered patient, parent, or legal 
guardian, in which case such person shall not be permitted 
behind the service counter or in other areas where 
Cannabis plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil is 
stored. 

D. All pharmacists and pharmacy technicians shall at all 
times while at the pharmaceutical processor have their current 
license or registration available for inspection by the board or 
the board's agent. 

E. While inside the pharmaceutical processor, all 
pharmaceutical processor employees shall wear name tags or 
similar forms of identification that clearly identify them, 
including their position at the pharmaceutical processor. 

F. A pharmaceutical processor shall be open for registered 
patients, parents, or legal guardians to purchase cannabidiol 
oil or THC-A oil products for a minimum of 35 hours a week, 
except as otherwise authorized by the board. 

G. A pharmaceutical processor that closes during its normal 
hours of operation shall implement procedures to notify 
registered patients, parents, and legal guardians of when the 
pharmaceutical processor will resume normal hours of 
operation. Such procedures may include telephone system 
messages and conspicuously posted signs. If the 
pharmaceutical processor is or will be closed during its 
normal hours of operation for longer than two business days, 
the pharmaceutical processor shall immediately notify the 
board. 

H. A pharmacist shall counsel registered patients, parents, 
and legal guardians regarding the use of cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil. Such counseling shall include information related 
to safe techniques for proper use and storage of cannabidiol 
oil or THC-A oil and for disposal of the oils in a manner that 
renders them nonrecoverable. 

I. The pharmaceutical processor shall establish, implement, 
and adhere to a written alcohol-free, drug-free, and smoke-
free work place policy that shall be available to the board or 
the board's agent upon request. 

18VAC110-60-220. Pharmaceutical processor 
prohibitions. 

A. No pharmaceutical processor shall: 

1. Cultivate Cannabis plants or produce or dispense 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil in any place except the 
approved facility at the address of record on the application 
for the pharmaceutical processor permit; 

2. Sell, deliver, transport, or distribute Cannabis, including 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, to any other facility; 

3. Produce or manufacture cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
for use outside of Virginia; or  

4. Provide cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil samples. 

B. No pharmaceutical processor shall be open or in 
operation, and no person shall be in the pharmaceutical 
processor, unless a pharmacist is on the premises and directly 
supervising the activity within the pharmaceutical processor. 
At all other times, the pharmaceutical processor shall be 
closed and properly secured. 

C. No pharmaceutical processor shall sell anything other 
than cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil products from the 
pharmaceutical processor. 

D. A pharmaceutical processor shall not advertise 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil products, except it may post the 
following information on websites: 

1. Name and location of the processor; 

2. Contact information for the processor; 

3. Hours and days the pharmaceutical processor is open for 
dispensing cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil products;  

4. Laboratory results;  

5. Product information and pricing; and 

6. Directions to the processor facility. 

E. No cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil shall be consumed on 
the premises of a pharmaceutical processor, except for 
emergency administration to a registered patient. 

F. No person except a pharmaceutical processor employee 
or a registered patient, parent, or legal guardian shall be 
allowed on the premises of a processor with the following 
exceptions: laboratory staff may enter a processor for the sole 
purpose of identifying and collecting Cannabis, cannabidiol 
oil, or THC-A oil samples for purposes of conducting 
laboratory tests; the board or the board's authorized 
representative may waive the prohibition upon prior written 
request.  
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G. All persons who have been authorized in writing to enter 
the facility by the board or the board's authorized 
representative shall obtain a visitor identification badge from 
a pharmaceutical processor employee prior to entering the 
pharmaceutical processor. 

1. An employee shall escort and monitor an authorized 
visitor at all times the visitor is in the pharmaceutical 
processor.  

2. A visitor shall visibly display the visitor identification 
badge at all times the visitor is in the pharmaceutical 
processor and shall return the visitor identification badge to 
a pharmaceutical processor employee upon exiting the 
pharmaceutical processor. 

3. All visitors shall log in and out. The pharmaceutical 
processor shall maintain the visitor log that shall include 
the date, time, and purpose of the visit and that shall be 
available to the board. 

4. If an emergency requires the presence of a visitor and 
makes it impractical for the pharmaceutical processor to 
obtain a waiver from the board, the processor shall provide 
written notice to the board as soon as practicable after the 
onset of the emergency. Such notice shall include the name 
and company affiliation of the visitor, the purpose of the 
visit, and the date and time of the visit. A pharmaceutical 
processor shall monitor the visitor and maintain a log of 
such visit as required by this subsection. 

H. No cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil shall be sold, dispensed, 
or distributed via a delivery service or any other manner 
outside of a pharmaceutical processor, except that a registered 
parent or legal guardian [ or an agent of the processor ] may 
deliver cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to the registered patient 
or in accordance with 18VAC110-60-310 A. 

I. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection F of this 
section, an agent of the board or local law enforcement or 
other federal, state, or local government officials may enter 
any area of a pharmaceutical processor if necessary to 
perform their governmental duties. 

18VAC110-60-230. Inventory requirements. 

A. Each pharmaceutical processor prior to commencing 
business shall: 

1. Conduct an initial comprehensive inventory of all 
Cannabis plants, including the seeds, parts of plants, 
extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil, at the facility. 
The inventory shall include, at a minimum, the date of the 
inventory, a summary of the inventory findings, and the 
name, signature, and title of the pharmacist or pharmacy 
technician who conducted the inventory. If a facility 
commences business with no Cannabis on hand, the 
pharmacist shall record this fact as the initial inventory; 
and 

2. Establish ongoing inventory controls and procedures for 
the conduct of inventory reviews and comprehensive 
inventories of all Cannabis plants, including the seeds, 
parts of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil, 
that shall enable the facility to detect any diversion, theft, 
or loss in a timely manner. 

B. Upon commencing business, each pharmaceutical 
processor and production facility shall conduct a weekly 
inventory of all Cannabis plants, including the seeds, parts of 
plants, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil in stock, that shall 
include, at a minimum, the date of the inventory, a summary 
of the inventory findings, and the name, signature, and title of 
the pharmacist or pharmacy technician who conducted the 
inventory. The record of all cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil 
sold, dispensed, or otherwise disposed of shall show the date 
of sale; the name of the pharmaceutical processor; the 
registered patient, parent, or legal guardian to whom the 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil was sold; the address of such 
person; and the kind and quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-
A oil sold. 

C. The record of all cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil sold, 
dispensed, or otherwise disposed of shall show the date of 
sale or disposition; the name of the pharmaceutical processor; 
the name and address of the registered patient, parent, or legal 
guardian to whom the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil was sold; 
the kind and quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil sold or 
disposed of; and the method of disposal. 

D. A complete and accurate record of all Cannabis plants, 
including the seeds, parts of plants, cannabidiol oil, and THC-
A oil on hand shall be prepared annually on the anniversary 
of the initial inventory or such other date that the PIC may 
choose, so long as it is not more than one year following the 
prior year's inventory. 

E. All inventories, procedures, and other documents required 
by this section shall be maintained on the premises and made 
available to the board or its agent. 

F. Inventory records shall be maintained for three years from 
the date the inventory was taken.  

G. Whenever any sample or record is removed by a person 
authorized to enforce state or federal law for the purpose of 
investigation or as evidence, such person shall tender a 
receipt in lieu thereof and the receipt shall be kept for a 
period of at least three years. 

18VAC110-60-240. Security requirements. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall initially cultivate only 
the number of Cannabis plants necessary to produce 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil for the number of patients 
anticipated within the first nine months of operation. 
Thereafter, the processor shall: 
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1. Not maintain more than 12 Cannabis plants per patient 
at any given time based on dispensing data from the 
previous 90 days; 

2. Not maintain cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil in excess of 
the quantity required for normal, efficient operation;  

3. Maintain all Cannabis plants, seeds, parts of plants, 
extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil in a secure area or 
location accessible only by the minimum number of 
authorized employees essential for efficient operation; 

4. Store all cut parts of Cannabis plants, extracts, 
cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil in an approved safe or 
approved vault within the pharmaceutical processor and 
not sell cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil products when the 
pharmaceutical processor is closed; 

5. Keep all approved safes, approved vaults, or any other 
approved equipment or areas used for the production, 
cultivation, harvesting, processing, manufacturing, or 
storage of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil securely locked or 
protected from entry, except for the actual time required to 
remove or replace the Cannabis, seeds, parts of plants, 
extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil;  

6. Keep all locks and security equipment in good working 
order;  

7. Restrict access to keys or codes to all safes, approved 
vaults, or other approved equipment or areas to 
pharmacists practicing at the pharmaceutical processor; 
and 

8. Not allow keys to be left in the locks or accessible to 
non-pharmacists.  

B. The pharmaceutical processor shall have an adequate 
security system to prevent and detect diversion, theft, or loss 
of Cannabis seeds, plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A 
oil. A device for the detection of breaking and a back-up 
alarm system with an ability to remain operational during a 
power outage shall be installed in each pharmaceutical 
processor. The installation and the device shall be based on 
accepted alarm industry standards and subject to the 
following conditions:  

1. The device shall be a sound, microwave, photoelectric, 
ultrasonic, or other generally accepted and suitable device;  

2. The device shall be monitored in accordance with 
accepted industry standards, be maintained in operating 
order, have an auxiliary source of power, and be capable of 
sending an alarm signal to the monitoring entity when 
breached if the communication line is not operational;  

3. The device shall fully protect the entire processor 
facility and shall be capable of detecting breaking by any 
means when activated;  

4. The device shall include a duress alarm, a panic alarm, 
and an automatic voice dialer; and 

5. Access to the alarm system for the pharmaceutical 
processor shall be restricted to the pharmacists working at 
the pharmaceutical processor, and the system shall be 
activated whenever the pharmaceutical processor is closed 
for business.  

C. A pharmaceutical processor shall keep the outside 
perimeter of the premises well-lit. A processor shall have 
video cameras in all areas that may contain Cannabis plants, 
seeds, parts of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil 
and at all points of entry and exit, which shall be appropriate 
for the normal lighting conditions of the area under 
surveillance. 

1. The processor shall direct cameras at all approved safes, 
approved vaults, dispensing areas, cannabidiol oil or THC-
A oil sales areas, and any other area where Cannabis 
plants, seeds, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil are 
being produced, harvested, manufactured, stored, or 
handled. At entry and exit points, the processor shall angle 
cameras so as to allow for the capture of clear and certain 
identification of any person entering or exiting the facility; 

2. The video system shall have: 

a. A failure notification system that provides an audible, 
text, or visual notification of any failure in the 
surveillance system. The failure notification system shall 
provide an alert to the processor within five minutes of 
the failure, either by telephone, email, or text message; 

b. The ability to immediately produce a clear color still 
photo that is a minimum of 9600 dpi from any camera 
image, live or recorded; 

c. A date and time stamp embedded on all recordings. 
The date and time shall be synchronized and set correctly 
and shall not significantly obscure the picture; and  

d. The ability to remain operational during a power 
outage; 

3. All video recordings shall allow for the exporting of still 
images in an industry standard image format. Exported 
video shall have the ability to be archived in a proprietary 
format that ensures authentication of the video and 
guarantees that no alteration of the recorded image has 
taken place. Exported video shall also have the ability to be 
saved in an industry standard file format that can be played 
on a standard computer operating system. A 
pharmaceutical processor shall erase all recordings prior to 
disposal or sale of the facility; and 

4. The processor shall make 24-hour recordings from all 
video cameras available for immediate viewing by the 
board or the board's agent upon request and shall retain the 
recordings for at least 30 days. If a processor is aware of a 
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pending criminal, civil, or administrative investigation or 
legal proceeding for which a recording may contain 
relevant information, the processor shall retain an unaltered 
copy of the recording until the investigation or proceeding 
is closed or the entity conducting the investigation or 
proceeding notifies the pharmaceutical processor PIC that 
it is not necessary to retain the recording. 

D. The processor shall maintain all security system 
equipment and recordings in a secure location so as to prevent 
theft, loss, destruction, or alterations. All security equipment 
shall be maintained in good working order and shall be tested 
at least every six months. 

E. A pharmaceutical processor shall limit access to 
surveillance areas to persons who are essential to surveillance 
operations, law-enforcement agencies, security system service 
employees, the board or the board's agent, and others when 
approved by the board. A processor shall make available a 
current list of authorized employees and security system 
service employees who have access to the surveillance room 
to the processor. The pharmaceutical processor shall keep all 
onsite surveillance rooms locked and shall not use such 
rooms for any other function. 

F. If diversion, theft, or loss of Cannabis plants, seeds, parts 
of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil has occurred 
from a pharmaceutical processor, the board may require 
additional safeguards to ensure the security of the products. 

18VAC110-60-250. Requirements for the storage and 
handling of Cannabis, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall: 

1. Have storage areas that provide adequate lighting, 
ventilation, sanitation, temperature, and humidity as 
defined in 18VAC110-60-10 and space, equipment, and 
security conditions for the cultivation of Cannabis and the 
production and dispensing of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; 

2. Separate for storage in a quarantined area Cannabis 
plants, seeds, parts of plants, extracts, including 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, that is outdated, damaged, 
deteriorated, misbranded, or adulterated, or whose 
containers or packaging have been opened or breached, 
until such Cannabis plants, seeds, parts of plants, extracts, 
cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil are destroyed; 

3. Be maintained in a clean, sanitary, and orderly 
condition; and 

4. Be free from infestation by insects, rodents, birds, or 
vermin of any kind. 

B. A processor shall compartmentalize all areas in the 
facility based on function and shall restrict access between 
compartments. The processor shall establish, maintain, and 
comply with written policies and procedures regarding best 
practices for the secure and proper cultivation of Cannabis 

and production of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. These shall 
include policies and procedures that: 

1. Restrict movement between compartments; 

2. Provide for different colored identification cards for 
facility employees based on the compartment to which they 
are assigned at a given time so as to ensure that only 
employees necessary for a particular function have access 
to that compartment of the facility; 

3. Require pocketless clothing for all production facility 
employees working in an area containing Cannabis plants, 
seeds, and extracts, including cannabidiol oil or THC-A 
oil; and 

4. Document the chain of custody of all Cannabis plants, 
parts of plants, seeds, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A 
oil products. 

C. The PIC shall establish, maintain, and comply with 
written policies and procedures for the cultivation, 
production, security, storage, and inventory of Cannabis, 
including seeds, parts of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and 
THC-A oil. Such policies and procedures shall include 
methods for identifying, recording, and reporting diversion, 
theft, or loss, and for correcting all errors and inaccuracies in 
inventories. Pharmaceutical processors shall include in their 
written policies and procedures a process for the following: 

1. Handling mandatory and voluntary recalls of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. The process shall be 
adequate to deal with recalls due to any action initiated at 
the request of the board and any voluntary action by the 
pharmaceutical processor to (i) remove defective or 
potentially defective cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil from the 
market or (ii) promote public health and safety by 
replacing existing cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil with 
improved products or packaging; 

2. Preparing for, protecting against, and handling any 
crises that affect the security or operation of any facility in 
the event of strike, fire, flood, or other natural disaster, or 
other situations of local, state, or national emergency; 

3. Ensuring that any outdated, damaged, deteriorated, 
misbranded, or adulterated Cannabis, including seeds, parts 
of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil, is 
segregated from all other Cannabis, seeds, parts of plants, 
extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil and destroyed. 
This procedure shall provide for written documentation of 
the Cannabis, including seeds, parts of plants, extracts, 
cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil disposition; and 

4. Ensuring the oldest stock of Cannabis, including seeds, 
parts of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil 
product is used first. The procedure may permit deviation 
from this requirement if such deviation is temporary and 
appropriate. 
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D. The processor shall store all Cannabis, including seeds, 
parts of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil, in 
the process of production, transfer, or analysis in such a 
manner as to prevent diversion, theft, or loss; shall make 
Cannabis, including the seeds, parts of plants, extracts, 
cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil accessible only to the 
minimum number of specifically authorized employees 
essential for efficient operation; and shall return the 
aforementioned items to their secure location immediately 
after completion of the production, transfer, or analysis 
process or at the end of the scheduled business day. If a 
production process cannot be completed at the end of a 
working day, the pharmacist shall securely lock the 
processing area or tanks, vessels, bins, or bulk containers 
containing Cannabis, including the seeds, parts of plants, 
extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil, inside an area or 
building that affords adequate security. 

18VAC110-60-260. Recordkeeping requirements. 

A. If a pharmaceutical processor uses an electronic system 
for the storage and retrieval of patient information or other 
records related to cultivating, producing, and dispensing 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, the pharmaceutical processor 
shall use a system that: 

1. Guarantees the confidentiality of the information 
contained in the system; 

2. Is capable of providing safeguards against erasures and 
unauthorized changes in data after the information has 
been entered and verified by the pharmacist; and 

3. Is capable of being reconstructed in the event of a 
computer malfunction or accident resulting in the 
destruction of the data bank. 

B. All records relating to the inventory, laboratory results, 
and dispensing shall be maintained for a period of three years 
and shall be made available to the board upon request. 

18VAC110-60-270. Reportable events; security. 

A. Upon becoming aware of (i) diversion, theft, loss, or 
discrepancies identified during inventory; (ii) unauthorized 
destruction of any cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; or (iii) any 
loss or unauthorized alteration of records related to 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil or qualifying patients, a 
pharmacist or pharmaceutical processor shall immediately 
notify appropriate law-enforcement authorities and the board. 

B. A pharmacist or processor shall provide the notice 
required by subsection A of this section to the board by way 
of a signed statement that details the circumstances of the 
event, including an accurate inventory of the quantity and 
brand names of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil diverted, stolen, 
lost, destroyed, or damaged and confirmation that the local 
law-enforcement authorities were notified. A pharmacist or 
processor shall make such notice no later than 24 hours after 
discovery of the event. 

C. A pharmacist or pharmaceutical processor shall notify the 
board no later than the next business day, followed by written 
notification no later than 10 business days, of any of the 
following: 

1. An alarm activation or other event that requires a 
response by public safety personnel; 

2. A breach of security; 

3. The failure of the security alarm system due to a loss of 
electrical support or mechanical malfunction that is 
expected to last longer than eight hours; and 

4. Corrective measures taken if any. 

D. A pharmacist or pharmaceutical processor shall 
immediately notify the board of an employee convicted of a 
felony or any offense referenced in § 54.1-3442.6 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Part VI 
Cultivation, Production, and Dispensing of Cannabidiol Oil 

or THC-A Oil 

18VAC110-60-280. Cultivation and production of 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. 

A. No cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil shall have had pesticide 
chemicals or petroleum-based solvents used during the 
cultivation, extraction, production, or manufacturing process, 
except that the board may authorize the use of pesticide 
chemicals for purposes of addressing an infestation that could 
result in a catastrophic loss of Cannabis crops. 

B. Cultivation methods for Cannabis plants and extraction 
methods used to produce the cannabidiol oil and THC-A shall 
be performed in a manner deemed safe and effective based on 
current standards or scientific literature. 

C. Any Cannabis plant, seed, parts of plant, extract, 
cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil not in compliance with this 
section shall be deemed adulterated. 

18VAC110-60-285. Registration of products. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall assign a brand name to 
each product of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. The 
pharmaceutical processor shall register each brand name with 
the board on a form prescribed by the board prior to any 
dispensing and shall associate each brand name with a 
specific laboratory test that includes a terpenes profile and a 
list of all active ingredients, including: 

1. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

2. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

3. Cannabidiols (CBD); [ and ]  

4. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA) [ ; and 

5. Any other active ingredient that constitutes at least 1.0% 
of the batch used in the product ]. 
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B. A pharmaceutical processor shall not label two products 
with the same brand name unless the laboratory test results 
for each product indicate that they contain the same level of 
each active ingredient listed in subsection A of this section 
within a range of [ 97% to 103% 90% to 110% ]. 

C. The board shall not register any brand name that: 

1. Is identical to or confusingly similar to the name of an 
existing commercially available product; 

2. Is identical to or confusingly similar to the name of an 
unlawful product or substance; 

3. Is confusingly similar to the name of a previously 
approved cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product brand 
name; 

4. Is obscene or indecent; 

5. May encourage the use of marijuana, cannabidiol oil, or 
THC-A oil for recreational purposes; 

6. May encourage the use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
for a disease or condition other than the disease or 
condition the practitioner intended to treat; 

7. Is customarily associated with persons younger than the 
age of 18; or 

8. Is related to the benefits, safety, or efficacy of the 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product unless supported by 
substantial evidence or substantial clinical data.  

18VAC110-60-290. Labeling of batch of cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil products. 

A. Cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil produced as a batch shall 
not be adulterated. 

B. Cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil produced as a batch shall 
be: 

1. Processed, packaged, and labeled according to the U.S. 
Food and Drug Administration's Current Good 
Manufacturing Practice in Manufacturing, Packaging, 
Labeling, or Holding Operations for Dietary Supplements, 
21 CFR Part 111; and 

2. Labeled with: 

a. The name and address of the pharmaceutical 
processor; 

b. The brand name of the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
product that was registered with the board pursuant to 
18VAC110-20-285;  

c. A unique serial number that matches the product with 
the pharmaceutical processor batch and lot number so as 
to facilitate any warnings or recalls the board or 
pharmaceutical processor deem appropriate;  

d. The date of testing and packaging; 

e. The expiration date [ based on stability testing ];  

f. The quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil contained 
in the batch;  

g. A terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, 
including: 

(1) Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

(2) Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

(3) Cannabidiol (CBD); [ and ]  

(4) Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA); and  

[ (5) Any other active ingredient that constitutes at least 
1.0% of the batch used in the product; and ]  

h. A pass or fail rating based on the laboratory's 
microbiological, mycotoxins, [ and ] heavy metals 
[ , residual solvents, ] and pesticide chemical residue 
analysis. 

[ 18VAC110-60-295. Labeling of dispensed cannabidiol oil 
or THC-A oil. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall label each cannabidiol 
oil or THC-A oil product prior to dispensing by a pharmacist 
and shall securely affix to the package a label that states in 
legible English: 

1. The brand name of the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil that 
was registered with the board pursuant to 18VAC110-20-
285; 

2. A serial number as assigned by the pharmaceutical 
processor; 

3. The date of dispensing the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil;  

4. An appropriate expiration date, not to exceed six 
months; 

5. The quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil contained 
in the package; 

6. A terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, 
including:  

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); and 

c. Cannabidiol (CBD);  

7. A pass or fail rating based on the laboratory's 
microbiological, mycotoxins, heavy metals, and chemical 
residue analysis; 

8. The name and registration number of the qualifying 
patient;  

9. The name of the certifying practitioner;  
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10. Directions for use as may be included in the 
practitioner's written certification or otherwise provided by 
the practitioner;  

11. Name and address of the pharmaceutical processor; and 

12. Any cautionary statement required by statute or 
regulation.  

B. No person except a pharmacist or pharmacist technician 
under the direct supervision of a pharmacist at the 
pharmaceutical processor shall alter, deface, or remove any 
label so affixed. 

C. A pharmaceutical processor shall not label cannabidiol 
oil or THC-A oil products as "organic" unless the Cannabis 
plants have been organically grown and the cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil products have been produced, processed, 
manufactured, and certified to be consistent with organic 
standards in compliance with 7 CFR Part 205. ]   

18VAC110-60-300. Laboratory requirements; testing. 

A. No pharmaceutical processor shall utilize a laboratory to 
handle, test, or analyze cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil unless 
such laboratory:  

1. Is independent from all other persons involved in the 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil industry in Virginia, which 
shall mean that no person with a direct or indirect interest 
in the laboratory shall have a direct or indirect financial 
interest in a pharmacist, pharmaceutical processor, 
certifying practitioner, or any other entity that may benefit 
from the production, manufacture, dispensing, sale, 
purchase, or use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; and 

2. Has employed at least one person to oversee and be 
responsible for the laboratory testing who has earned from 
a college or university accredited by a national or regional 
certifying authority at least (i) a master's level degree in 
chemical or biological sciences and a minimum of two 
years of post-degree laboratory experience or (ii) a 
bachelor's degree in chemical or biological sciences and a 
minimum of four years of post-degree laboratory 
experience. 

B. [ Immediately prior to producing any After processing 
and before dispensing the ] cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
product, a pharmaceutical processor shall [ segregate all 
harvested Cannabis into homogenized batches. A 
pharmaceutical processor shall ]  make a sample available 
from each batch [ of product ] for a laboratory to (i) test for 
microbiological contaminants, mycotoxins, heavy 
metals, [ residual solvents, ] and pesticide chemical residue 
and (ii) conduct an active ingredient analysis [ and terpenes 
profile. The sample size shall be a statistically valid sample as 
determined by the board ]. 

C. From the time that a batch of [ Cannabis cannabidiol oil 
or THC-A oil product ] has been homogenized for sample 

testing [ and eventual packaging, ] until the laboratory 
provides the results from its tests and analysis, the 
pharmaceutical processor shall segregate and withhold from 
use the entire batch [ of Cannabis ], except the samples that 
have been removed by the laboratory for testing. During this 
period of segregation, the pharmaceutical processor shall 
maintain the [ Cannabis batch ] in a secure, cool, and dry 
location so as to prevent the [ Cannabis batch ] from 
becoming contaminated or losing its efficacy. 

D. Under no circumstances shall a pharmaceutical processor 
[ include Cannabis in a cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product 
or sell it sell a cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product ] prior to 
the time that the laboratory has completed its testing and 
analysis and provided a certificate of analysis to the 
pharmaceutical processor or other designated facility 
employee. 

E. The processor shall require the laboratory to immediately 
return or properly dispose of any [ Cannabis cannabidiol or 
THC-A oil ] products and materials upon the completion of 
any testing, use, or research.  

F. If a sample of [ Cannabis cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
product ] does not pass the microbiological, mycotoxin, 
heavy metal, or pesticide chemical residue test based on the 
standards set forth in this subsection, the pharmaceutical 
processor shall dispose of the entire batch from which the 
sample was taken. 

1. For purposes of the microbiological test, a cannabidiol 
oil or THC-A oil sample shall be deemed to have passed if 
it satisfies the standards set forth in Section 1111 of the 
United States Pharmacopeia. 

2. For purposes of the mycotoxin test, a [ Cannabis ] 
sample [ of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product ] shall be 
deemed to have passed if it meets the following standards: 

Test Specification   

Aflatoxin B1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin B2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Ochratoxin A <20 ug/kg of Substance 

3. For purposes of the heavy metal test, a [ Cannabis ] 
sample [ of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product ] shall be 
deemed to have passed if it meets the following standards: 

Metal [ Natural Health Products 
Acceptable Limits ug/kg 
body weight/Day Limits - 
parts per million (ppm) ]  

Arsenic [ <0.14 <10 ppm 
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Cadmium <0.09 <4.1 ppm 

Lead <0.29 <10 ppm 

Mercury <0.29 <2 ppm ]  

4. For purposes of the pesticide chemical residue test, a 
[ Cannabis ] sample [ of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
product ] shall be deemed to have passed if it satisfies the 
most stringent acceptable standard for a pesticide chemical 
residue in any food item as set forth in Subpart C of the 
federal Environmental Protection Agency's regulations for 
Tolerances and Exemptions for Pesticide Chemical 
Residues in Food, 40 CFR Part 180. 

[ 5. For purposes of the active ingredient analysis, a sample 
of the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product shall be tested 
for: 

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

c. Cannabidiols (CBD); and 

d. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA). 

6. For the purposes of the residual solvent test, a sample of 
the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product shall be deemed 
to have passed if it meets the standards and limits 
recommended by the American Herbal Pharmacopia for 
Cannabis Inflorescence. If a sample does not pass the 
residual solvents test, the batch can be remediated with 
further processing. After further processing, the batch must 
be retested for microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy metal, 
residual solvents, and pesticide chemical residue, and an 
active ingredient analysis and terpenes profile must be 
conducted. ]  

G. If a sample of [ Cannabis cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
product ] passes the microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy metal, 
[ residual solvent, ] and pesticide chemical residue test, the 
entire batch may be utilized by the processor for immediate 
[ manufacturing, ] packaging [ , ] and labeling for sale. [ An 
expiration date shall be assigned to the product that is based 
upon validated stability testing that addresses product 
stability when opened and the shelf-life for unopened 
products. ]  

H. The processor shall require the laboratory to file with the 
board an electronic copy of each laboratory test result for any 
batch that does not pass the microbiological, mycotoxin, 
heavy metal, [ residual solvents, ] or pesticide chemical 
residue test at the same time that it transmits those results to 
the pharmaceutical processor. In addition, the laboratory shall 
maintain the laboratory test results and make them available 
to the board or an agent of the board. 

I. Each pharmaceutical processor shall have such laboratory 
results available upon request to registered patients, parents, 

or legal guardians and registered practitioners who have 
certified qualifying patients. 

18VAC110-60-310. Dispensing of cannabidiol oil or THC-
A oil. 

A. A pharmacist in good faith may dispense cannabidiol oil 
or THC-A oil to any registered patient, parent, or legal 
guardian as indicated on the written certification.  

1. Prior to the initial dispensing of oil pursuant to each 
written certification, the pharmacist or pharmacy 
technician at the location of the pharmaceutical processor 
shall view a current photo identification of the patient, 
parent, or legal guardian. The pharmacist or pharmacy 
technician shall verify in the Virginia Prescription 
Monitoring Program of the Department of Health 
Professions or other program recognized by the board that 
the registrations are current, the written certification has 
not expired, and the date and quantity of the last dispensing 
of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to the registered patient.  

2. The pharmacist or pharmacy technician shall make and 
maintain for [ two three ] years a paper or electronic copy 
of the current written certification that provides an exact 
image of the document that is clearly legible. 

3. Prior to any subsequent dispensing, the pharmacist, 
pharmacy technician, or delivery agent shall view the 
current written certification and a current photo 
identification and current registration of the patient, parent, 
or legal guardian and shall maintain record of such viewing 
in accordance with policies and procedures of the 
processor.  

B. A pharmacist may dispense a portion of a registered 
patient's 90-day supply of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. The 
pharmacist may dispense the remaining portion of the 90-day 
supply of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil at any time except 
that no registered patient, parent, or legal guardian shall 
receive more than a 90-day supply of cannabidiol oil or THC-
A oil in a 90-day period from any pharmaceutical processor. 

C. A dispensing record shall be maintained for three years 
from the date of dispensing, and the pharmacist or pharmacy 
technician under the direct supervision of the pharmacist shall 
affix a label to the container of oil that contains: 

1. A serial number assigned to the dispensing of the oil; 

2. The [ brand ] name [ or kind ] of cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil [ that was registered with the board pursuant to 
18VAC110-60-285 ] and its strength; 

3. The serial number assigned to the oil during production;  

4. The date of dispensing the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; 

5. The quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil dispensed 
[ which cannot exceed 60 fluid ounces ];  
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[ 6. A terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, 
including:  

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

c. Cannabidiol (CBD); and  

d. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA); 

7. A pass rating based on the laboratory's microbiological, 
mycotoxins, heavy metals, residual solvents, and pesticide 
chemical residue analysis;  

6. 8. ] The name and registration number of the registered 
patient; 

[ 7. 9. ] The name and registration number of the certifying 
practitioner; 

[ 8. 10. ] Directions for use as may be included in the 
practitioner's written certification or otherwise provided by 
the practitioner; 

[ 9. 11. ] The name or initials of the dispensing pharmacist; 

[ 10. 12. ] Name, address, and telephone number of the 
pharmaceutical processor; 

[ 11. 13. ] Any necessary cautionary statement; and 

[ 12. 14. ] A prominently printed expiration date based 
on [ stability testing and ] the pharmaceutical processor's 
recommended conditions of use and storage that can be 
read and understood by the ordinary individual. 

D. [ A pharmaceutical processor shall not label cannabidiol 
oil or THC-A oil products as "organic" unless the Cannabis 
plants have been organically grown and the cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil products have been produced, processed, 
manufactured, and certified to be consistent with organic 
standards in compliance with 7 CFR Part 205. 

E. ] The cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil shall be dispensed in 
child-resistant packaging, except as provided in 18VAC110-
60-210 A. A package shall be deemed child-resistant if it 
satisfies the standard for "special packaging" as set forth in 
the Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970 Regulations, 
16 CFR 1700.1(b)(4). 

[ E. F. ] No person except a pharmacist or a pharmacy 
technician operating under the direct supervision of a 
pharmacist shall alter, deface, or remove any label so affixed. 

[ F. G. ] A pharmacist shall be responsible for verifying the 
accuracy of the dispensed oil in all respects prior to 
dispensing and shall document that each verification has been 
performed. 

[ G. H. ] A pharmacist shall document a registered patient's 
self-assessment of the effects of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
in treating the registered patient's diagnosed condition or 
disease or the symptoms thereof. A pharmaceutical processor 

shall maintain such documentation in writing or electronically 
for [ two three ] years from the date of dispensing and such 
documentation shall be made available in accordance with 
regulation. 

[ H. I. ] A pharmacist shall exercise professional judgment 
to determine whether to dispense cannabidiol oil or THC-A 
oil to a registered patient, parent, or legal guardian if the 
pharmacist suspects that dispensing cannabidiol oil or THC-A 
oil to the registered patient, parent, or legal guardian may 
have negative health or safety consequences for the registered 
patient or the public. 

18VAC110-60-320. Dispensing error review and 
reporting; quality assurance program. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall implement and comply 
with a quality assurance program that describes, in writing, 
policies and procedures to detect, identify, and prevent 
dispensing errors. A pharmaceutical processor shall distribute 
the written policies and procedures to all pharmaceutical 
processor employees and shall make the written policies and 
procedures readily available on the premises of the 
pharmaceutical processor. The policies and procedures shall 
include: 

1. Directions for communicating the details of a dispensing 
error to the practitioner who certified a qualifying patient 
and to the qualifying patient, the patient's parent or legal 
guardian or appropriate family member if the patient is 
deceased or is unable to fully comprehend the 
communication. The communication shall describe 
methods of correcting the dispensing error or reducing the 
negative impact of the error on the qualifying patient; and 

2. A process to document and assess dispensing errors to 
determine the cause of the error and an appropriate 
response. 

B. A pharmaceutical processor shall use the findings of its 
quality assurance program to develop systems and workflow 
processes designed to prevent dispensing errors. A 
pharmaceutical processor PIC shall: 

1. Inform pharmaceutical processor employees of changes 
to policy, procedure, systems, or processes made as a result 
of recommendations generated by the quality assurance 
program; 

2. Notify all processor employees that the discovery or 
reporting of a dispensing error shall be relayed 
immediately to a pharmacist on duty; 

3. Ensure that a pharmacist performs a quality assurance 
review for each dispensing error. A pharmacist shall 
commence such review as soon as is reasonably possible, 
but no later than two business days from the date the 
dispensing error is discovered; and 
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4. Create a record of every quality assurance review. This 
record shall contain at least the following: 

a. The date of the quality assurance review and the names 
and titles of the persons performing the review; 

b. The pertinent data and other information relating to the 
dispensing error reviewed; 

c. Documentation of contact with the registered patient, 
parent, or legal guardian where applicable, and the 
practitioner who certified the patient; 

d. The findings and determinations generated by the 
quality assurance review; and 

e. Recommended changes to pharmaceutical processor 
policy, procedure, systems, or processes if any. 

C. A pharmaceutical processor shall maintain for three years 
a copy of the pharmaceutical processor's quality assurance 
program and records of all reported dispensing errors and 
quality assurance reviews in an orderly manner and filed by 
date. 

18VAC110-60-330. Disposal of cannabidiol oil or THC-A 
oil. 

A. To mitigate the risk of diversion, a pharmaceutical 
processor shall routinely and promptly dispose of undesired, 
excess, unauthorized, obsolete, adulterated, misbranded, or 
deteriorated Cannabis plants, including seeds, parts of plants, 
extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil by disposal in 
accordance with a plan approved by the board and in a 
manner as to render the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
nonrecoverable. 

B. The destruction shall be witnessed by the PIC and an 
agent of the board or another pharmacist not employed by the 
pharmaceutical processor. The persons disposing of the 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil shall maintain and make 
available a separate record of each such disposal indicating: 

1. The date and time of disposal;  

2. The manner of disposal; 

3. The name and quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 
disposed of; and 

4. The signatures of the persons disposing of the 
cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. 

C. The record of disposal shall be maintained at the 
pharmaceutical processor for three years from the date of 
disposal.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation are not being published. The forms are available in 
electronic form only online at the listed website. Questions 
regarding the agency forms should be directed to the agency 
contact. 

FORMS (18VAC110-60) 

Application for registration of a patient, online form 
available at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for registration of a parent or legal guardian, 
online form available at 
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for registration of a practitioner to issue 
certifications, online form available at 
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

[ Application for a pharmaceutical processor Application for 
Pharmaceutical Processor Permit (eff. 6/2019) 

Patient Parent or Legal Guardian Reporting Requirements 
(eff. 6/2019) 

Practitioner Reporting Requirements (eff. 6/2019) 

Registration of CBD or THC-A Oil Products (eff. 6/2019) ]  
VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4878; Filed June 14, 2019, 12:42 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 
being published; however, online users of this issue of the 
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 
form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 
available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 
Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 
11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Contact Information: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 
or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC150-20)  

Licensure Procedure for Veterinarians (rev. 8/07). 

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Medicine 
(rev. 8/09). 

Instructions to the Applicant for Licensure by Examination 
as a Veterinary Technician (rev. 4/09). 

Instructions to the Veterinary Technician Licensure 
Applicant (rev. 7/11). 

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Technology 
(rev. 8/09). 

Applicant Instructions for New, Upgrading to Full Service, 
or Change of Location Inspections (rev. 8/07). 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48323004878%7E1).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48323004878%7E1).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db532004878%7E2).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db532004878%7E2).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91500004878%7E3).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3140004878%7E4).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
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Application for Veterinary Establishment Permit (rev. 8/09). 

Application for Reinstatement (rev. 8/09). 

Licensure Verification - Veterinarian (rev. 7/11). 

Licensure Verification - Veterinary Technician (rev. 9/07). 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 8/07). 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Registration to Practice as an Equine Dental 
Technician (eff. 11/07). 

Recommendation for Registration as a Equine Dental 
Technician (eff. 11/07).  

Registrants Inventory of Drugs Surrendered, Form DEA-41 
(eff. 9/01). 

Instructions for Licensure to Practice Veterinary Medicine (rev. 
5/2019) 

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Medicine 
online form available at 
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/vet_forms.htm. 

Instructions for Licensure to Practice Veterinary Technology 
(rev. 5/2019) 

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Technology 
online form available at 
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/vet_forms.htm. 

Checklist and Application for Veterinary Establishment 
Permit (rev. 5/2019) 

Change in Veterinarian-in-Charge Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Veterinary Establishment Closure Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Application for Reinstatement (rev. 5/2019) 

Application Licensure Verification (rev. 5/2019) 

Employment Verification Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 
5/2019) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 
5/2019) 

Continuing Education Credit Form for Volunteer Practice 
(rev. 5/2019) 

Application for Registration to Practice as an Equine Dental 
Technician (rev. 5/2019) 

Recommendation for Registration as an Equine Dental 
Technician (rev. 5/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6045; Filed June 12, 2019, 11:00 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-730. Investigation of Child 
Abuse and Neglect in Out of Family Complaints 
(amending 22VAC40-730-10, 22VAC40-730-20, 
22VAC40-730-40, 22VAC40-730-70, 22VAC40-730-115, 
22VAC40-730-120, 22VAC40-730-130; adding 22VAC40-
730-140).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 23, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Shannon Hartung, Child Protective Services 
Program Manager, Department of Social Services, 801 East 
Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-
7554, FAX (804) 726-7499, or email 
shannon.hartung1@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia gives the 
State Board of Social Services the responsibility to make 
rules and regulations to administer social services in the 
Commonwealth under Chapter 15 (§ 63.2-1500 et seq.) of 
Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. Sections 63.2-1506, 63.2-
1511, and 63.2-1516.1 of the Code of Virginia provide 
additional legal mandates for child protective services 
investigations in out of family settings. 

Purpose: The regulatory action is essential to protect the 
health, safety, and welfare of citizens because it addresses 
provisions governing the investigation of child abuse and 
neglect in out of family settings. The regulation is being 
amended to be consistent with Child Protective Services 
(22VAC40-705), the Code of Virginia, and applicable federal 
law. The amendments update the regulation to provide 
clarification and conform with the requirements of "Form, 
Style, and Procedure Manual for Publication of Virginia 
Regulations." 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
fast-track rulemaking process is appropriate for this 
regulatory action because the changes being made are simple 
and intended to update and clarify language in the regulation. 
It is unlikely anyone would oppose these changes. 

Substance: The amendments to existing provisions and that 
add new provisions comport the regulation with 22VAC40-
705, the Code of Virginia, and applicable federal law.  

Substantive changes include:  

• Updating the definition of "child day program" to mirror the 
language in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia; 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e8c8006045%7E1s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e8c8006045%7E1s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/vet_forms.htm
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd3f3006045%7E3s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd3f3006045%7E3s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/vet_forms.htm
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b9dba006045%7E5m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b9dba006045%7E5m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95f58006045%7E6C.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79013006045%7E7m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1179006045%7E8t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf72a006045%7E9m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=399b8006045%7E10n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cf04006045%7E11T.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ea8c4006045%7E12d.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ea8c4006045%7E12d.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dc870006045%7E13d.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dc870006045%7E13d.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d7ca9006045%7E14t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d7ca9006045%7E14t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9c035006045%7E15p.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9c035006045%7E15p.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4069d006045%7E16m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4069d006045%7E16m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006045&mime=application/pdf
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• Adding a definition of "child-placing agency" and "foster 
home"; 

• Updating the definition of "facility" to clarify that child day 
programs include both licensed and religiously-exempt 
programs;  

• Updating language in the definition of "residential facility"; 

• Updating training requirements for staff qualified to conduct 
out of family (OOF) investigations;  

• Adding specific language from § 63.2-1511 A of the Code 
of Virginia regarding investigations involving school 
employees;  

• Repealing 22VAC40-730-120, Monitoring of cases for 
compliance;  

• Adding 22VAC40-730-140 on the protocol for OOF 
investigations consistent with 22VAC40-705; and  

• Adding specific language from § 63.2-1503 M of the Code 
of Virginia regarding the rights of an alleged abuser or 
neglector who has been criminally charged for the same 
conduct. 

Issues: This regulatory action clarifies and updates existing 
language, which is an advantage to the public and to the local 
departments of social services who are required to use this 
regulation when conducting investigations of child abuse or 
neglect in OOF settings. There are no disadvantages to the public 
or the Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-
track regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 
regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Following a periodic review,1 the State Board of Social 
Services proposes to clarify regulatory language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
the proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The proposed changes do not 
modify any of the current standards or procedures, but clarify 
them. The changes include updating the definition of "child day 
program" to mirror the language in § 63.2-100 of the Code of 
Virginia; adding a definition of "child-placing agency" and 
"foster home"; updating the definition of "facility" to clarify that 
child day programs include both licensed and religiously-exempt 
programs; updating language in the definition of "residential 
facility"; updating language on training requirements for staff 
qualified to conduct out of family investigations to reflect current 
practices; adding specific language from § 63.2-1511 A of the 
Code of Virginia regarding out of family investigations involving 
school employees; repealing duplicative language regarding 
monitoring of cases for compliance; adding new language to 

reflect the existing protocol for investigations; and adding 
specific language from § 63.2-1503 M of the Code of Virginia 
regarding the rights of an alleged abuser or neglector who has 
been criminally charged for the same conduct. These proposed 
amendments would be beneficial in that they improve the clarity 
of requirements and procedures in effect. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulation sets out 
criteria and procedures for 120 local departments of social 
services on how they conduct out of family investigations. 
There were 1,288 out of family investigations conducted in 
fiscal year 2018. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
would not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
would not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 
amendments would not affect the use and value of private 
property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
would not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual 
sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would not 
affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments would not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments would not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would not likely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments would not adversely 
affect other entities. 

_______________________ 
1http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1676 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 
impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 
Budget. 

Summary: 

Amendments (i) update the definition of "child day 
program" to mirror the language in § 63.2-100 of the Code 
of Virginia; (ii) add a definition of "child-placing agency" 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1676
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and a definition of "foster home"; (iii) update the definition 
of "facility" to clarify that child day programs include both 
licensed and religiously exempt programs; (iv) update the 
definition of "residential facility"; (v) update training 
requirements for staff qualified to conduct out of family 
investigations; (vi) add specific language from § 63.2-1511 
A of the Code of Virginia regarding investigations 
involving school employees; (vii) repeal 22VAC40-730-
120, which deals with monitoring out of family cases for 
compliance; (viii) add 22VAC40-730-140, which deals 
with the protocol for out of family investigations, 
consistent with 22VAC40-705; and (ix) add specific 
language from § 63.2-1503 M of the Code of Virginia 
regarding the rights of an alleged abuser or neglector who 
has been criminally charged for the same conduct. 

Part I  
Definitions  

22VAC40-730-10. Definitions.  

In addition to the definitions contained in 22VAC40-705-10, 
the following words and terms when used in conjunction with 
this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Child day program" means a regularly operating service 
arrangement for children where, during the absence of a 
parent or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to 
assume responsibility for the supervision, protection, and 
well-being of children as defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of 
Virginia a child younger than 13 years of age for less than a 
24-hour period. 

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 
children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 
living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 
Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 
or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and 
63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or 
agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within 
the scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain 
a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Facility" means the generic term used to describe the 
setting in out of family abuse or neglect and for the purposes 
of this regulation includes schools (public and private), 
private or state-operated hospitals or institutions, licensed or 
religiously exempted child day programs, and residential 
facilities.  

"Facility administrator" means the on-site individual 
responsible for the day-to-day operation of the facility.  

"Foster home" means a residence licensed by a child-placing 
agency in which any child, other than a child by birth or 
adoption of such person, resides as a member of the 
household. 

"Participate" means to take part in the activities of the joint 
investigation as per a plan for investigation developed by the 
CPS worker with the facility administrator or regulatory 
authority or both.  

"Physical plant" means the physical structure/premises 
structure or premises of the facility.  

"Regulatory authority" means the department or state board 
that is responsible under the Code of Virginia for the 
licensure or certification of a facility for children.  

"Residential facility" means a publicly or privately owned 
facility, other than a private family home, where 24-hour 
care, maintenance, protection, and guidance is provided to 
children separated from their parents or legal guardians, that 
is subject to licensure or certification pursuant to the 
provisions of the Code of Virginia and includes, but is not 
limited to, group homes, secure facilities, temporary care 
facilities, and respite care facilities.  

Part II  
Policy  

Article 1  
Out of Family Investigation Policy  

22VAC40-730-20. General.  

Valid For the purpose of this chapter, valid complaints of 
child abuse or neglect involving caretakers in out of family 
settings are for the purpose of this chapter valid complaints in 
state licensed and religiously exempted child day programs, 
private and public schools, residential facilities, hospitals, or 
institutions. These valid complaints in a facility or foster 
home shall be investigated by qualified staff employed by 
local departments of social services.  

Staff shall be determined to be qualified based on criteria 
identified completion of an out of family training course as 
approved by the department. All staff involved in 
investigating a valid complaint must be qualified.  

This regulation is limited in scope to the topics contained 
herein in this chapter. All issues regarding investigations, 
findings, and appeals are found in Child Protective Services, 
22VAC40-705, and as such are cross referenced and 
incorporated into and apply to out of family cases to the 
extent that they are not inconsistent with this regulation.  

In addition to the authorities and the responsibilities 
specified in department policy for all child protective services 
investigations, the policy for investigations in out of family 
settings is set out in 22VAC40-730-30 through 22VAC40-
730-130.  

22VAC40-730-40. Involvement of regulatory agencies.  

The authority of the local department to investigate valid 
complaints of alleged child abuse or neglect in regulated 
facilities or foster homes overlaps with the authority of the 
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public agencies which that have regulatory responsibilities for 
these facilities to investigate alleged violations of standards.  

1. For valid complaints in state regulated facilities and 
religiously exempted child day programs, the local 
department shall contact the appropriate regulatory 
authority and share the valid complaint information. The 
regulatory authority will appoint a staff person to 
participate in the investigation to determine if there are 
regulatory concerns.  

2. The CPS assigned child protective services (CPS) 
worker assigned to investigate and the appointed 
regulatory staff person will discuss their preliminary joint 
investigation plan.  

a. The CPS worker and the regulatory staff person shall 
review their respective needs for information and plan 
the investigation based on when these needs coincide and 
can be met with joint interviews or with information 
sharing.  

b. The investigation plan must keep in focus the policy 
requirements to be met by each party the CPS worker and 
regulatory authority as well as the impact the 
investigation will have on the facility's staff, the victim 
child or children, and the other children at the facility.  

22VAC40-730-70. Contact with the facility administrator.  

A. The CPS child protective services (CPS) worker shall 
initiate contact with the facility administrator or designee at 
the onset of the investigation.  

B. The CPS worker shall inform the facility administrator or 
his designee of the details of the valid complaint. When the 
administrator or designee chooses to participate in the joint 
investigation, he will be invited to participate in developing 
the plan for investigation, including decisions about who is to 
be present in interviews. If the administrator or designee is 
the alleged abuser or neglector, this contact should be 
initiated with the individual's superior, which may be the 
board of directors, etc. If or if there is no superior, the CPS 
worker may use discretion in sharing information with the 
administrator so long as such disclosure is consistent with and 
does not conflict with law or regulation.  

C. Arrangements are to be made for:  

1. Necessary interviews;  

2. Observations including the physical plant; and  

3. Access to information, including review of pertinent 
policies and procedures.  

D. The CPS worker shall keep the facility administrator or 
designee apprised of the progress of the investigation. In a 
joint investigation with a regulatory staff person, either party 
may fulfill this requirement.  

22VAC40-730-115. Procedures for conducting an 
investigation of a teacher, principal, or other person 
employed by a local school board or employed in a 
nonresidential school operated by the Commonwealth.  

A. Each local department of social services and local school 
division shall adopt a written interagency agreement as a 
protocol for investigating child abuse and neglect reports 
against school personnel. The interagency agreement shall be 
based on recommended procedures for conducting 
investigations developed by the Departments of Education 
and Social Services.  

B. These procedures for investigating school personnel 
amplify or clarify other Child Protection Services (CPS) 
regulations.  

1. In determining the validity of a report of suspected 
abuse or neglect pursuant to § 63.2-1511 of the Code of 
Virginia, the local department must consider whether the 
school employee used reasonable and necessary force. The 
use of reasonable and necessary force does not constitute a 
valid report If a teacher, principal, or other person 
employed by a local school board or employed in a school 
operated by the Commonwealth is suspected of abusing or 
neglecting a child in the course of his educational 
employment, the complaint shall be investigated in 
accordance with §§ 63.2-1503, 63.2-1505, and 63.2-1516.1 
of the Code of Virginia. Pursuant to § 22.1-279.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, no teacher, principal, or other person 
employed by a school board or employed in a school 
operated by the Commonwealth shall subject a student to 
corporal punishment. However, this prohibition of corporal 
punishment shall not be deemed to prevent (i) the use of 
incidental, minor, or reasonable physical contact or other 
actions designed to maintain order and control; (ii) the use 
of reasonable and necessary force to quell a disturbance or 
remove a student from the scene of a disturbance that 
threatens physical injury to persons or damage to property; 
(iii) the use of reasonable and necessary force to prevent a 
student from inflicting physical harm on himself; (iv) the 
use of reasonable and necessary force for self-defense or 
the defense of others; or (v) the use of reasonable and 
necessary force to obtain possession of weapons or other 
dangerous objects or controlled substances or 
paraphernalia that are upon the person of the student or 
within the student's control. In determining whether the 
actions of a teacher, principal, or other person employed by 
a school board or employed in a school operated by the 
Commonwealth are within the exceptions provided in this 
subsection, the local department shall examine whether the 
actions at the time of the event that were made by such 
person were reasonable.  

2. The local department shall conduct a face-to-face 
interview with the person who is the subject of the valid 
complaint or report.  
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3. At the onset of the initial interview with the alleged 
abuser or neglector, the local department shall notify him 
in writing of the general nature of the valid complaint and 
the identity of the alleged child victim regarding the 
purpose of the contacts.  

4. The written notification shall include the information 
that the alleged abuser or neglector has the right to have an 
attorney or other representative of his choice present 
during his interviews. However, the failure by a 
representative of the Department of Social Services to so 
advise the subject of the valid complaint shall not cause an 
otherwise voluntary statement to be inadmissible in a 
criminal proceeding.  

5. 2. If the local department determines that the alleged 
abuser's actions were within the scope of his employment 
and were taken in good faith in the course of supervision, 
care, or discipline of students, then the standard for 
determining a founded finding of abuse or neglect is 
whether such acts or omissions constituted gross 
negligence or willful misconduct.  

6. Written notification of the findings shall be submitted to 
the alleged abuser or neglector. The notification shall 
include a summary of the investigation and an explanation 
of how the information gathered supports the disposition.  

7. The written notification of the findings shall inform the 
alleged abuser or neglector of his right to appeal.  

8. The written notification of the findings shall inform the 
alleged abuser or neglector of his right to review 
information about himself in the record with the following 
exceptions:  

a. The identity of the person making the report.  

b. Information provided by any law-enforcement official.  

c. Information that may endanger the well-being of the 
child.  

d. The identity of a witness or any other person if such 
release may endanger the life or safety of such witness or 
person.  

No information shall be released by the local department in 
cases that are being criminally investigated unless the release 
is authorized by the investigating law-enforcement officer or 
his supervisor or the local attorney for the Commonwealth.  

22VAC40-730-120. Monitoring of cases for compliance. 
(Repealed.) 

A sample of cases will be reviewed by department staff to 
ensure compliance with policies and procedures.  

Article 2  
Local Staff Qualifications in Out of Family Investigations  

22VAC40-730-130. Requirements.  

A. In order to be determined qualified to conduct 
investigations in out of family settings, local CPS child 
protective services (CPS) workers shall meet minimum 
education standards established by the department including: 
1. Documented competency in designated general knowledge 
and skills and specified out of family knowledge and skills; 
and 2. Completion completion of an out of family policy 
training course as approved by the department.  

B. The department and each local department shall maintain 
a roster of personnel determined qualified to conduct these 
out of family investigations.  

22VAC40-730-140. Protocol for out of family 
investigations. 

For out of family investigations, the following shall be 
completed, which are consistent with 22VAC40-705:  

1. The local department shall conduct a face-to-face 
interview with the alleged abuser or neglector.  

2. At the onset of the initial interview with the alleged 
abuser or neglector, the local department shall notify him 
in writing of the general nature of the valid complaint and 
the identity of the alleged child victim regarding the 
purpose of the contacts.  

3. The written notification shall include the information 
that the alleged abuser or neglector has the right to have an 
attorney or other representative of his choice present 
during his interviews.  

4. If the alleged abuser or neglector has been arrested, 
statements, or any evidence derived therefrom, made to 
local department child protective services personnel, or to 
any person performing the duties of such personnel, by any 
person accused of the abuse, injury, neglect, or death of a 
child after the arrest of such person shall not be used in 
evidence in the case-in-chief against such person in the 
criminal proceeding on the question of guilt or innocence 
over the objection of the accused, unless the statement was 
made after such person was fully advised (i) of his right to 
remain silent; (ii) that anything he says may be used 
against him in a court of law; (iii) that he has a right to the 
presence of an attorney during any interviews; and (iv) that 
if he cannot afford an attorney, one will be appointed for 
him prior to any questioning. 

5. The written notification of the findings shall inform the 
alleged abuser or neglector of his right to appeal.  

6. The written notification of the findings shall inform the 
alleged abuser or neglector of his right to review 
information about himself in the record with the following 
exceptions:  
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a. The identity of the person making the report.  

b. Information provided by any law-enforcement official.  

c. Information that may endanger the well-being of the 
child.  

d. The identity of a witness or any other person if such 
release may endanger the life or safety of such witness or 
person.  

7. No information shall be released by the local department 
in cases that are being criminally investigated unless the 
release is authorized by the investigating law-enforcement 
officer or his supervisor or the local attorney for the 
Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5668; Filed June 10, 2019, 11:50 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT FOR THE BLIND AND VISION 
IMPAIRED 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 22VAC45-20. Regulations to Govern 
the Operation of Vending Facilities in Public Buildings 
and Other Property (amending 22VAC45-20-10, 
22VAC45-20-110, 22VAC45-20-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-65 and 51.5-78 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 23, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Susan K. Davis, MS, CRC, Policy and 
Regulatory Coordinator, Department for the Blind and Vision 
Impaired, 397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, VA 23235, 
telephone (804) 371-3184, FAX (804) 371-3157, TTY (800) 
371-3157, or email susan.davis@dbvi.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The regulation is promulgated under the authority of 
§§ 51.5-65, 51.5-78, and 51.5-97 of the Code of Virginia. 
Section 51.5-65 grants the Commissioner of the Department 
for the Blind and Vision Impaired (DBVI) the legal authority 
to adopt regulations necessary to carry out the applicable 
provisions of Chapter 12 of Title 51.5 of the Code of 
Virginia. Section 51.5-78 authorizes the department to 
operate vending stands and other business enterprises in 
public and private buildings for providing blind persons with 
employment, enlarging the economic opportunities of the 
blind, and stimulating the blind to make themselves self-
supporting. Section 51.5-97 directs the department to set 
aside or cause to be set aside from the net proceeds of the 
operations authorized by Article 4 (§§ 51.5-79 through 51.5-
100) of Chapter 12 of Title 51.5 of the Code of Virginia such 
funds as may be necessary for the purposes of (i) maintenance 
and replacement of equipment, (ii) purchase of new 

equipment, (iii) management services, (iv) assuring a fair 
minimum return to vendors, and (v) the establishment and 
maintenance of retirement or pension funds, health insurance 
contributions, and the provision for paid sick leave and 
vacation time in accordance with the Randolph-Sheppard Act 
Amendment of 1974 (P.L. 93-516). 

Purpose: The proposed amendments correct the definition of 
blind person, clarify the name of the agency to which the 
regulation refers, and improve the welfare of operators in the 
Virginia Enterprises for the Blind (VEB) by increasing the 
frequency of payments for their work from the current 
requirement of quarterly payments. Payments that are more 
frequent will allow for more timely cash flow management 
and income for the operators while not affecting the financial 
viability of the VEB. This change will enhance the mission of 
DBVI by allowing operators to be more independent and 
economically self-sufficient. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
agency, along with the VEB Vendors Council, recognized the 
importance of having flexibility to pay operators in a timelier 
manner that would be defined as "at least" quarterly rather 
than the more rigid payment schedule defined as "quarterly" 
in the existing regulations. Because this change is beneficial 
to operators, the regulatory action is expected to be 
noncontroversial. Though there is no specific mandate for this 
regulatory change, the phrase "at least" quarterly conforms to 
federal law. 

Substance: The proposed substantive change adds only the 
words "at least" to two sections of the regulation, 22VAC45-
20-110 and 22VAC45-20-120, providing for increased 
frequency of setting aside funds and distributing income to 
operators. 

Issues: The primary advantage for private citizens who are 
operators in the VEB is that they will be able to receive their 
income more rapidly and no longer have to budget and 
manage their cash flow over a three-month period. There is 
no disadvantage to the vendors. The primary advantage to 
DBVI is that this change enhances its mission to improve the 
independence of people who are blind and aligns state law as 
to vending machines located on state property to language in 
the federal law, 34 CFR 395.8(b), which governs vending 
machines located on federal property. There is no 
disadvantage to the agency. This change is fully supported by 
the VEB Vendors Council, the governing body elected to 
represent the operators. There is no disadvantage to operators, 
the general public, or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board for the Blind and Vision Impaired (Board) proposes to: 
1) change the stated frequency that the Department for the 
Blind and Vision Impaired (DBVI) will disburse vending 
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machine income to eligible blind vendors with prepared 
statements, 2) conform the definition of "blind person" in the 
regulation to the definition in the Code of Federal 
Regulations, and 3) update the name of the agency within the 
regulation. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Under the current regulation 
DBVI "will disburse vending machine income to eligible 
blind vendors on a quarterly basis." Further, statements 
pertaining to the disbursement are prepared and rendered 
quarterly as well. The Board proposes to amend the language 
to indicate that the income will be disbursed and the 
statements will be rendered "at least" quarterly. According to 
the Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired, the intent 
is to pay vendors monthly. This would be beneficial for the 
blind vendors in that it would improve their cash flow. 

The proposals to conform the definition of "blind person" to 
the definition in the Code of Federal Regulations and to 
update the name of the agency within the regulation do not 
change requirements in practice. Adopting these changes 
would improve clarity for the reader, but otherwise would 
have no impact. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
would particularly affect the approximate 48 licensed blind 
vending machine operators1 in the Commonwealth. All of 
these vendors are likely small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 
use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to effectively speed the 
payment of income owed to licensed blind vending machine 
operators would reduce their costs associated with waiting for 
funds to use in their business. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities.  

____________________________ 
1Data source: Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired concurs with 
the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) correct the agency name in regulation 
text, (ii) update the definition of "blind person," and (iii) 
align the frequency of disbursements to vendors with 
federal regulations. 

Part I  
Introduction  

22VAC45-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means the Randolph-Sheppard Vending Stand Act 
(P.L. 74-732), as amended by P.L. 83-565 and P.L. 93-516, 
20 USC, Chapter 6A, § 107.  

"Blind licensee" means a blind person licensed by the state 
licensing agency to operate a vending stand or vending 
facility on public or other property.  

"Blind person" means the condition as defined in §§ 63.1-
142 and 63.1-166 of the Code of Virginia a person who, after 
examination by a physician skilled in diseases of the eye or 
by an optometrist, whichever such person shall select, has 
been determined to have (i) not more than 20/200 central 
visual acuity in the better eye with correcting lenses, or (ii) an 
equally disabling loss of the visual field as evidenced by a 
limitation to the field of vision in the better eye to such a 
degree that its widest diameter subtends an angle of no 
greater than 20 degrees pursuant to 34 CFR 395.1(c).  

"Custodian" means any person or group of persons having 
the authority to grant permission for the installation and 
operation of vending facilities and vending stands.  

"Department" or "DBVI" means the Department for the 
Visually Handicapped Blind and Vision Impaired.  

"Direct competition" means the presence of an operation of 
a vending machine or a vending facility on the same premises 
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as a vending facility operated by a blind vendor. (Vending 
machines or vending facilities operated in areas where the 
majority of employees do not have direct access to the 
vending facility operated by a blind vendor, shall not be 
considered to be in direct competition with the vending 
facility operated by a blind vendor.)  

"DVH" means the Department for the Visually 
Handicapped.  

"License" means a written instrument issued by the state 
licensing agency to a blind person, authorizing such person to 
operate a vending facility or vending stand.  

"Management services" means supervision, inspection, 
quality control, consultation, accounting, regulating, in-
service training, and other related services provided on a 
systematic basis to support and improve vending facilities and 
vending stands operated by blind vendors. "Management 
services" does not include those services or costs which 
pertain to the on-going ongoing operating of an individual 
facility after the establishment period.  

"Net proceeds" means the amount remaining from the sale 
of articles or services of vending facilities, vending stands, or 
other income accruing to blind vendors after deducting the 
cost of such sale and other expenses.  

"Nominee" means a nonprofit agency or organization 
designated by a state licensing agency through a contractual 
arrangement to act as its agent in the provision of services to 
blind licensees.  

"Permit" means the official approval given to a state 
licensing agency by a department, agency, or instrumentality 
in control of maintenance operation and protection of federal 
property, or person in control of public and private buildings 
and other properties, whereby the state licensing agency is 
authorized to establish a vending facility or vending stand.  

"Program" means all the activities of the state licensing 
agency under this chapter related to public and private 
buildings and other properties throughout the 
Commonwealth.  

"Public and private buildings and other properties 
throughout the Commonwealth" means buildings, land, or 
other property owned by or leased to the Commonwealth or a 
political subdivision, including a municipality, or a 
corporation or individual.  

"Set aside funds" means funds which accrue to a state 
licensing agency from an assessment against the net proceeds 
of each vending facility or vending stand in the state's 
vending facility program and any income from vending 
machines on public and private buildings and other properties 
which accrue to the state licensing agency.  

"State vocational rehabilitation agency" means the state 
agency designated by the Secretary of Education to issue 

licenses to blind persons for the operation of vending 
facilities and vending stands on public and private buildings 
and other properties throughout the Commonwealth.  

"Vending facility" means automatic vending machines, 
cafeterias, snack bars, cart service, shelters, counters, and 
such other appropriate auxiliary equipment which that may be 
operated by blind licensees and which that is necessary for 
the sale of newspapers, periodicals, confections, tobacco 
products, foods, beverages, and other articles or services 
dispensed automatically or manually and prepared on or off 
the premises in accordance with all applicable health laws, 
and including the vending for any lottery authorized by state 
law and conducted by an agency of a state within such state.  

"Vending stand" means an installation in any public or 
private building for the sale of newspapers, periodicals, 
confections, tobacco products, soft drinks, ice cream, 
wrapped foods, and other such articles as may be approved by 
the custodian and the department.  

"Vending machine" means a coin or currency operated 
machine which that dispenses articles or services, except that 
those machines operated by the United States Postal Service 
for the sale of stamps or other postal products and services, 
machines providing services of a recreational nature, and 
telephones shall not be considered to be vending machines.  

"Vending machine income" means receipts from public, 
private, and other property after deducting applicable costs 
where: (i) the machines are operated by the property 
custodian, (ii) commissions are received by the property 
custodian, and (iii) an activity receives income from a 
commercial vending firm which that provides vending 
machines on the property with the approval of the property 
custodian.  

"Vendor" means a blind licensee who is operating a vending 
facility or vending stand on federal property, in a public or 
private building, or on other property throughout the 
Commonwealth.  

Part IV  
Fiscal: Income and Distribution of Funds  

22VAC45-20-110. Setting aside of funds  

A. Funds will be set aside from the net proceeds of the 
operations of the vending facilities under the program and 
from retained vending machine income according to the 
formula submitted to and approved by the U.S. Commissioner 
of Rehabilitation Services Administration and the U.S. 
Secretary of Education in an amount determined to be 
reasonable.  

B. These charges shall be assessed quarterly. Statements 
shall be prepared and rendered, along with settlement, to each 
blind vendor at least quarterly.  
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C. Moneys collected from the setting aside of funds shall be 
used solely for the following purposes:  

1. Maintenance and replacement of equipment;  

2. Purchase of new equipment;  

3. Management services;  

4. Assuring a fair minimum return to vendors; and  

5. The establishment and maintenance of retirement or 
pension funds, health insurance contributions, and 
provision for paid sick leave and vacation time, if it is so 
determined by a majority vote of blind vendors licensed by 
the state licensing agency, after such agency provides to 
each vendor information on all matters relevant to such 
proposed purposes.  

D. The charge for each of the listed purposes will be 
determined by the department on the basis of records or 
expenditures made for each of these purposes over a 
reasonable period of time, with allowances for reasonable 
charges for improving services, fluctuation in costs, and for 
program expansion. The charges shall be reviewed and 
approved by the commissioner of the department with the 
assistance of the operations management team. Charges will 
be reevaluated periodically and necessary adjustments made. 
Adequate records will be maintained by the department to 
support the reasonableness of the charge for each of the 
purposes listed, including any reserves necessary to assure 
that such purposes can be achieved on a consistent basis.  

E. The policy on setting aside of funds shall be reviewed 
annually with the active participation of the vending facility 
vendors council.  

22VAC45-20-120. Distribution and use of income from 
vending machines.  

A. Income from vending machines (with the exception of 
revenues derived from the state highway vending program), 
shall accrue to each vendor operating a vending facility on 
such property. The amount shall not exceed the average net 
income of the total number of blind vendors within the 
Commonwealth as determined each fiscal year on the basis of 
each prior year's operation, except that vending machine 
income shall not accrue to any blind vendor in any amount 
exceeding the average net income of the total number of blind 
vendors in the United States.  

B. No blind vendor shall receive less vending machine 
income than he that vendor was receiving during the calendar 
year prior to January 1, 1974, as a direct result of any 
limitation imposed on such income under this ceiling.  

C. No limitation shall be imposed on income from vending 
machines combined to create a vending facility when such 
facility is maintained, serviced, or operated by a blind vendor.  

D. The department will disburse vending machine income to 
eligible blind vendors on at least a quarterly basis.  

E. The department shall retain vending machine income 
which that is in excess of the amount eligible to accrue to a 
blind vendor in a facility. Funds received from these facilities 
will be used for:  

1. The establishment and maintenance of retirement or 
pension plan;  

2. Contributions toward a health insurance program; and  

3. The provision of paid sick leave and vacation time for 
blind licensees.  

The purposes stated must be approved by a majority vote of 
the licensed vendors after each licensee has been furnished 
information relevant to such purpose.  

F. Any vending machine income not necessary for such 
purposes shall be used for one or more of the following:  

1. Maintenance and replacement of equipment;  

2. Purchase of new equipment;  

3. Management services; and  

4. Assuring a fair minimum return to vendors.  

F. G. Any assessment charged to blind vendors shall be 
reduced pro rata in an amount equal to the total of such 
remaining vending machine income.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-4668; Filed June 18, 2019, 4:04 p.m.  
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the initial or 
additional public comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 
guidance document may be delayed for an additional comment period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies to initiate or extend a public 
comment period. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance 
document to access it. Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 
East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Document: 2020 Virginia Telecommunication 
Initiative Program Guidelines and Criteria. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 8, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
Title of Document: Field Operations Manual Chapter One 
Minimum Wage Act. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 8, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Holly Trice, Attorney, Department of Labor 
and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, or email 
holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Title of Document: 8 Hour Online Driver Manual Curriculum 
Vendor Application. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 8, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Senior Policy 
Analyst, Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or 
email melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 
Titles of Documents:  

Compliance with USP Standards for Compounding.  

Categories of Facility Licensure.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 8, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 
Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 
Title of Document: Virginia Occupational Safety and Health 
Field Operations Manual Version 3.3. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 7, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 8, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Holly Trice, Attorney, Department of Labor 
and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, or email 
holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov.

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7bbcf005952%7E1a.pdf&typ=40&actno=005952&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7bbcf005952%7E1a.pdf&typ=40&actno=005952&mime=application/pdf
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bccc7005952%7E2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005952&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bccc7005952%7E2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005952&mime=application/pdf
mailto:holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3e100005952%7E6l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005952&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3e100005952%7E6l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005952&mime=application/pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f43e3005952%7E3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005952&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=13306005952%7E4e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005952&mime=application/pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57deb005952%7E5l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005952&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57deb005952%7E5l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005952&mime=application/pdf
mailto:holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Whitehorn Solar LLC Notice of Intent for  
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar)  

Permit by Rule - Pittsylvania County 
Whitehorn Solar LLC has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in Gretna, Virginia.  

The project is located east of Route 29 and southeast of the 
town of Gretna in north-central Pittsylvania County, Virginia 
(approximate coordinates are 36°55'43" N, 79°21'21" W). 
The project will be sited on roughly 700 acres of agricultural 
land across multiple parcels. The project will have a 
maximum rated capacity of 50 megawatts alternating current 
(AC). It will deliver power to an existing 69-kilovolt 
transmission line owned by Virginia Electric and Power 
Company (VEPCO). The project area will contain 
approximately 200,000 conventional photovoltaic solar 
panels (depending on the final panel selection) mounted on 
single-axis trackers in north-south rows that rotate east-to-
west daily. The solar panels will produce direct current (DC) 
and deliver it to one of several inverters. The inverters will 
convert the power to AC, transformers will increase the 
voltage, and buried lines will deliver the electricity to a 
project substation in close proximity to the high-voltage 
transmission line. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Health is conducting a periodic review and 
small business impact review of 12VAC5-200, Regulations 
Governing Eligibility Standards and Charges for Medical 
Care Services to Individuals. The review of this regulation 
will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as 
amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 8, 2019, and ends July 29, 
2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Lisa Park, Health Care Reimbursement 
Manager, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 
Street, 13th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
864-7018, FAX (804) 864-7022, or email 
lisa.park@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Health is conducting a periodic review and 
small business impact review of each listed regulation. The 
review of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 
Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

12VAC5-215, Rules and Regulations Governing Health 
Data Reporting 

12VAC5-216, Methodology to Measure Efficiency and 
Productivity of Health Care Institutions 

12VAC5-217, Regulations of the Patient Level Data 
System 

12VAC5-218, Rules and Regulations Governing 
Outpatient Health Data Reporting 

12VAC5-407, Procedures for the Submission of Health 
Maintenance Organization Quality of Care Performance 
Information 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 8, 2019, and ends August 
8, 2019. 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:lisa.park@vdh.virginia.gov
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Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Mylam Ly, Policy Analyst, Virginia 
Department of Health, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
864-7128, or email mylam.ly@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 
on the Town Hall and a report of the small business impact 
review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Housing and Community Development 
conducted a small business impact review of 13VAC5-80, 
Virginia Standards for Individual and Regional Code 
Academies, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Department of Housing and 
Community Development is publishing its report of findings 
dated June 10, 2019, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

No public comments were received, and the regulation is 
currently only applicable to two localities. The regulation 
does not appear to be overly complex or duplicate or conflict 
with other federal or state law. The regulation underwent a 
regulatory review and update that became effective 
September 10, 2014. The regulation does not appear to have 
an impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Housing and Community Development 
conducted a small business impact review of 13VAC5-200, 
Solar Energy Criteria for Tax Exemption, and determined 
that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Department of Housing and Community Development is 
publishing its report of findings dated June 7, 2019, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 
Code of Virginia. 

No public comments were received and the regulation is 
applicable to limited localities that optionally adopt an 
ordinance for an exemption to certain local taxes. As noted, 
the regulation is required by the Code of Virginia. The 

regulation does not appear to be overly complex or duplicate 
or conflict with other federal or state law. The regulation was 
last reviewed in 2012. The regulation does not appear to have 
an impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Labor and Industry is conducting a periodic 
review and small business impact review of each listed 
regulation. The review of each regulation will be guided by 
the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 
2018). 

16VAC15-40, Virginia Hours of Work for Minors 

16VAC15-50, Regulation Governing the Employment of 
Minors on Farms, in Gardens and in Orchards 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 8, 2019, and ends July 29, 
2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Holly Trice, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main Street, 
Suite 207, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, 
FAX (804) 371-6524, or email holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 
on the Town Hall and a report of the small business impact 
review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:mylam.ly@vdh.virginia.gov
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov
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VIRGINIA SOIL AND  
WATER CONSERVATION BOARD 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, on behalf of the Virginia Soil 
and Water Conservation Board, is conducting a periodic 
review and small business impact review of 4VAC50-70, 
Resource Management Plans. The review of this regulation 
will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 
(2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 8, 2019, and ends 
September 6, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Christine Watlington, Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3319, FAX (804) 
371-2630, or email christine.watlington@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Taxation is conducting a periodic review and 
small business impact review of 23VAC10-55, Virginia 
Corn Excise Tax. The review of this regulation will be 
guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 
July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 8, 2019, and ends July 29, 
2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Joe Mayer, Lead Tax Policy Analyst, 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 
23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, FAX (804) 371-
2355, or email joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 
Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Waste Management Board conducted a small business impact 
review of 9VAC20-130, Solid Waste Planning and 
Recycling Regulations, and determined that this regulation 
should be retained in its current form. The Virginia Waste 
Management Board is publishing its report of findings dated 
May 8, 2019, to support this decision in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. The regulation 
contains requirements for the content of solid waste 
management plans and details the options localities have 
when developing solid waste management plans. Localities 
may choose to develop their own plans or may join with other 
localities to form solid waste planning units. These plans 
promote source reduction, reuse, and recycling of materials, 
thereby reducing the amount of solid waste that needs to be 
disposed of in landfills. 

No comments were received during the public comment 
period.  

The regulation provides details concerning the content of 
solid waste management plans, required recycling rates, and 
the formation of solid waste planning units. The regulation is 
written in nontechnical language.  

This regulation is a state-only regulation and there is no 
equivalent federal regulation. This regulation does overlap to 
an extent with the Solid Waste Management Regulation, 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:christine.watlington@dcr.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov
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9VAC20-81. Both regulations address solid waste and the 
need to properly manage solid waste at permitted facilities. 
Some facilities that manage solid waste receive permits from 
the department that are issued through the Solid Waste 
Management Regulation, 9VAC20-81.  

The regulation was amended in March 2019 to update 
terminology to be consistent with Virginia Hazardous Waste 
Management Regulations. The regulation was amended in 
February 2019 to clarify requirements and reorganize sections 
of the regulation to make the regulation easier to use.  

The regulation requires localities to develop solid waste 
management plans. Small businesses are not required to 
develop solid waste management plans. Localities may 
collect information from businesses and industries in their 
localities in developing and implementing their plans. This 
regulation has minimal impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 
Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Proposed Consent Order for Dominion Pallet Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Dominion 
Pallet Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law and 
regulations at the Dominion Pallet facility located in Mineral, 
Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 
consent order to resolve violations associated with the 
Dominion Pallet facility. A description of the proposed action 
is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 
office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin 
Holland will accept comments by email at 
benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or by postal mail at 
Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 
Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 
July 9, 2019, through August 8, 2019. 

Proposed Consent Order for E&A Call Inc. 
An enforcement action has been proposed for E&A Call Inc. 
for violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations 
at the Manchester subdivision located in Bumpass, Virginia. 
The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 
order to resolve violations associated with the Manchester 
subdivision. A description of the proposed action is available 
at the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will 
accept comments by email at 
benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or by postal mail at 
Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 
Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 
July 9, 2019, through August 8, 2019. 

Proposed Consent Order for  
Pilot Travel Centers LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Pilot Travel 
Centers LLC for violations at the Pilot Travel Center 4649 
facility in Raphine, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order with penalty to Pilot Travel 
Centers LLC to address noncompliance with State Water 
Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Tiffany Severs will 
accept comments by email at 
tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 574-7878, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 
Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, 
Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from July 8, 2019, to August 7, 
2019. 

Proposed Consent Order for Rhumb Line 
Navigation Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Rhumb Line 
Navigation Inc. for alleged violations that occurred at the 
Custom Yacht Service in Irvington, Virginia. The State Water 
Control Board proposes to issue a consent special order to 
Rhumb Line Navigation Inc. to address noncompliance with 
State Water Control Law. A description of the proposed 
action is available at the Department of Environmental 
Quality office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 
Cynthia Akers will accept comments by email at 
cynthia.akers@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-5106, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060, from July 8, 2019, to August 7, 2019. 

Public Meeting and Opportunity for Public Comment 
on Total Maximum Daily Load Implementation Plan 

for the McClure River Watershed, Dickenson County 
Public meeting: The first public meeting to initiate the 
development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
implementation plan (IP) for the McClure River Watershed 
will be held on Tuesday, July 16, 2019, from 6 p.m. until 
8 p.m. in the McClure River Kiwanis building, located at the 
intersection of State Route 63 (Dante Mountain Road) and 
State Route 773 (Herndon Road) in the McClure Community, 
Dickenson County, Virginia. 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) is seeking input from watershed stakeholders to 
address the best way to restore water quality in the McClure 
River Watershed. An IP will be developed to explain the 
pollutant reductions needed to meet the targets contained in 
the 2018 TMDL report prepared for the watershed. The IP 
will recommend a specific set of voluntary best management 
practices (BMPs) for agricultural lands, residential septic 
systems, and developed lands to reduce bacteria entering area 
streams. There will be a 30-day public comment period for 
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interested persons to submit comments on the development of 
the IP. Written comments will be accepted from July 17, 
2019, to August 15, 2019. Directions for how to submit a 
comment are provided here. 

Description of study: There are six different impaired stream 
segments in the McClure River Watershed, including three 
segments of the McClure River mainstem, Big Spraddle 
Branch, Buffalo Creek, and Roaring Fork. All segments are 
listed as impaired on Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List 
and Report due to violations of Virginia's recreational use 
water quality standard from excess levels of E. coli bacteria.  

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. In 
addition, § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires 
expeditious implementation of TMDLs when appropriate. 
The IP will provide measurable goals and the date of 
expected achievement of water quality objectives. The IP will 
also include the corrective actions needed and their associated 
costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. DEQ completed 
the bacteria TMDL for the McClure River in 2018. To obtain 
a copy of the TMDL report, use the contact information 
listed.  

How to comment and participate: This meeting is open to the 
public and all interested parties are welcome. A public 
comment period on the development of the TMDL IP will 
begin on July 17, 2019, and end August 15, 2019. All 
comments must be written and submitted via postal mail or 
email by 11:59 p.m. on August 15, 2019. Comments must 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments. Please submit comments to 
Stephanie Kreps, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Southwest Regional Office, 355A Deadmore Street, 
Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-4803, or email 
stephanie.kreps@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 
/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

ERRATA 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 
Title of General Notice: Administrative Letter 2019-01. 

Publication: 35:19 VA.R. 2303-2304, May 13, 2019 

Correction to Administrative Letter: 

Page 2303, column 2, on the line before the first line of text 
of the administrative letter add "April 16, 2019"; on the next 
line, add "Administrative Letter 2019-01" 

VA.R. Doc. No. C19-310; Filed April 16, 2019, 8:41 a.m. 
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