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REGISTER INFORMATION  PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes 

first publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 

action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia 

Register, the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 

minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to 

determine if it is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare, and if it is clearly written and easily understandable. If the 

Governor chooses to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments 

must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar of Regulations no 

later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public 

comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in 

the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of 

the 60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 

regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate 

standing committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet 

during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection 

with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection will be 

published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the 

agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with 

the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made 

after publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public 

comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional public 

comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person may request that the agency solicit additional public comment on 

certain changes made after publication of the proposed regulation. The 

agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days upon such 

request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency determines that 

the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 

process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 

be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 

10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer 

from its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is 

required.  The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 

of the Code of Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more 

than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six months 

under the circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations 

are published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 

Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 

regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 

expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Ryan T. McDougle; Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; 

Charles S. Sharp; Marcus B. Simon; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd 

W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol36/Iss18/register.dls.virgina.gov
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PUBLIC ATION SCH EDU LE AND D EADLINES  

July 2020 through August 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

36:26 July 29, 2020 August 17, 2020 

37:1 August 12, 2020 August 31, 2020 

37:2 August 26, 2020 September 14, 2020 

37:3 September 9, 2020 September 28, 2020 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

37:10 December 14, 2020 (Monday) January 4, 2021 

37:11 December 28, 2020 (Monday) January 18, 2021 

37:12 January 13, 2021 February 1, 2021 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

37:20 May 5, 2021 May 24, 2021 

37:21 May 19, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PERIODIC  REVIEWS AND SMALL BU SIN ESS IMPACT R EVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC5-85, Permits for 

Stationary Sources of Pollutants Subject to Regulation 

and 9VAC5-510, Nonmetallic Mineral Processing General 

Permit. The review of these regulations will be guided by the 
principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether these 

regulations should be repealed, amended, or retained in their 

current forms. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to these regulations, including whether each 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins June 22, 2020, and ends July 

13, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

findings of both reviews will be posted on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall and published in the Virginia Register 

of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 689-
4103, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC25-415, Policy for the 

Potomac River Embayments. The review of this regulation 

will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as 

amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins June 22, 2020, and ends July 
13, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Virginia Board of Accountancy conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

18VAC5-22, Board of Accountancy Regulations, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended to achieve 

consistency with new federal requirements. 

The proposed regulatory action to amend 18VAC5-22, which 
is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as 

the report of findings.  

Contact Information: Nancy Glynn, Executive Director, 

Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8540, FAX (804) 

527-4409, TTY (804) 367-9753, or email 

nancy.glynn@boa.virginia.gov. 

mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:nancy.glynn@boa.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTEND ED R EGU LATOR Y AC TION  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health has 

WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 

12VAC5-412, Regulations for Licensure of Abortion 

Facilities, which was published in 35:21 VA.R. 2444 June 
10, 2019. That NOIRA stated "The purpose of the proposed 

action is to assess all current regulation content and determine 

whether it should be amended or retained in its current form." 

Subsequently, Chapters 898 and 899 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly repealed the statutory provision classifying a 

facility that performs five or more first-trimester abortions per 

month as a category of hospital, thereby removing such a 

facility from the State Board of Health's regulatory authority. 

Therefore, this action is withdrawn. A separate regulatory 

action repealing 12VAC5-412 was published in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations on June 8, 2020 (36:21 VA.R. 2299 
June 8, 2020). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102,  

FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 
regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5664; Filed June 2, 2020, 10:35 a.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol35/iss21/v35i21.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol35/iss21/v35i21.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=8043
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=8043
mailto:regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov
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REGU LAT ION S 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-317. Regulations for the 

Enforcement of the Noxious Weeds Law (amending 

2VAC5-317-10, 2VAC5-317-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-802 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 23, 2020.  

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 

Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add six plant species to the current 

noxious weed list and amend the definition of "Tier 3 

noxious weed" to be "any noxious weed (i) that is present 

in the Commonwealth, (ii) whose spread may be slowed by 

restrictions on its movement, and (iii) for which successful 
eradication or suppression is not feasible."  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

2VAC5-317-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services. 

"Business day" means a day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, 

or legal holiday, or a day on which state government offices 
are closed. 

"Certificate" means a document issued or authorized by the 

commissioner indicating that a regulated article is not 
contaminated with a noxious weed. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

"Committee" means the Noxious Weeds Advisory 
Committee established pursuant to 2VAC5-317-100. 

"Compliance agreement" means a written agreement 

between a person engaged in handling, receiving, or moving 

regulated articles and the Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services or the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture, or both, wherein the former agrees to fulfill the 

requirements of the compliance agreement and comply with 
the provisions of this chapter.  

"Consignee" means any person to whom any regulated 

article is shipped for handling, sale, resale, or any other 
purpose. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. 

"Infested" or "infestation" means the presence of a listed 

noxious weed or the existence of circumstances that make it 

reasonable to believe that life stages of a listed noxious weed 
are present. 

"Inspector" means an employee of the Virginia Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services or other person 
authorized by the Commissioner of the Virginia Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services to enforce the 
provisions of this chapter.  

"Listed noxious weed" means any plant listed in this chapter 
as either a Tier 1, Tier 2, or Tier 3 noxious weed. 

"Move" means to ship, offer for shipment, receive for 

transportation, carry, or otherwise transport, move, or allow 
to be moved. 

"Noxious weed" means the term as defined in § 3.2-800 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Noxious Weeds Law" means the statute set forth in Chapter 

8 (§ 3.2-800 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Permit" means a document issued by the commissioner to 

provide for movement of regulated articles to restricted 

destinations for limited handling, utilization, processing, or 
scientific purposes. 

"Person" means the term as defined in § 1-230 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

"Regulated article" means any listed noxious weed or any 

article carrying or capable of carrying a listed noxious weed. 

"Tier 1 noxious weed" means any noxious weed that is not 

known to be present in the Commonwealth.  

"Tier 2 noxious weed" means any noxious weed that is 

present in the Commonwealth and for which successful 
eradication or suppression is feasible.  

mailto:david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov
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"Tier 3 noxious weed" means any noxious weed (i) that is 

present in the Commonwealth and not listed as a Tier 1 or 

Tier 2 noxious weed, (ii) whose spread may be slowed by 

restrictions on its movement, and (iii) for which successful 
eradication or suppression is not feasible. 

"Waybill" means a document containing the details of a 

shipment of goods. 

2VAC5-317-20. Tier 1, Tier 2, and Tier 3 noxious weeds. 

A. The following plants are hereby declared Tier 1 noxious 
weeds: 

1. Salvinia molesta, Giant salvinia. 

2. Solanum viarum, Tropical soda apple.  

3. Heracleum mantegazzianum, Giant hogweed.  

B. The following plants are hereby declared Tier 2 noxious 
weeds: 

1. Imperata cylindrica, Cogon grass.  

2. Lythrum salicaria, Purple loosestrife.  

3. Ipomoea aquatica, Water spinach.  

4. Vitex rotundifolia, Beach vitex.  

5. Oplismenus hirtellus spp. undulatifolius, Wavyleaf 
basketgrass. 

6. Corydalis incisa, Incised fumewort. 

C. No plant is hereby declared a Tier 3 noxious weed. The 
following plants are hereby declared Tier 3 noxious weeds: 

1. Ailanthus altissima, Tree of heaven. 

2. Ampelopsis brevipedunculata, Porcelain berry. 

3. Celastrus orbiculatus, Oriental bittersweet. 

4. Hydrilla verticillata, Hydrilla. 

5. Persicaria perfoliata, Mile-a-minute weed. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 
contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (2VAC5-317) 

Noxious Weed Permit Application (eff. 6/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5605; Filed May 27, 2020, 9:43 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 

(amending 3VAC5-50-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 23, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 8, 2020.  

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal Liaison, 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email 
latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Board of Directors of the Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority to adopt regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) and § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. Section 4.1-

111 provides the board with the authority to adopt reasonable 

regulations to carry out the provisions of the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), including the authority to promulgate regulations 

that require mixed beverage licensees to have food, cooked or 

prepared on the licensed premises, available for on-premises 

consumption until at least 30 minutes prior to an 

establishment's closing and that such food shall be available 

in all areas of the licensed premises in which spirits are sold 
or served. 

Purpose: The purpose of this amendment is to be in 

compliance with the Code of Virginia as well as provide 

mixed beverage licensees with guidance as to the food 

availability requirements associated with their license. The 

amendment is essential to protect public health, safety, or 

welfare because it corresponds to the provisions of the Code 

of Virginia and reinforces the correlation between 

consumption of food and mitigating the intoxicating effects of 

alcohol as well as helping to ensure that mixed beverage 
licensees are meeting minimum food sales requirements. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

action is expected to be noncontroversial because it aligns 
exactly with § 4.1-111 B 22 of the Code of Virginia, which 

has been in force since 2018. Licensees have been complying 

with this standard now for some time already and therefore 
promulgating this regulation should not be controversial. 

Substance: Subdivision D 4 is added to 3VAC5-50-110 and 

states that mixed beverage licensees shall have food, cooked 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7a8c005605~2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005605&mime=application/pdf
mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov
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or prepared on the licensed premises, available for on-

premises consumption until at least 30 minutes prior to an 

establishment's closing and that such food shall be available 

in all areas of the licensed premises in which spirits are sold 
or served. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and to the agency 

of this regulation change is that it will fulfill the requirements 

of the legislative mandate and ensure that the regulations are 
consistent with statute. There are no disadvantages to the 
public or the Commonwealth by promulgating this regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 

Directors (Board) proposes to require that mixed beverage 

restaurant licensees have food, cooked or prepared on the 

licensed premises, available for on-premises consumption 

until at least 30 minutes prior to an establishment's closing. 

Such food would have to be available in all areas of the 
licensed premises in which spirits are sold or served. 

Background. Mixed beverage restaurant licensees must 

already serve food that is prepared on the premises. The 

proposed amendment defines when the food must be 

available. The proposed text is essentially identical to Chapter 

744 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, which required the Board 
to promulgate this regulation.1 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Of the 5,347 restaurants in the 

Commonwealth that have a mixed beverage restaurant 

license, it is not known how many already regularly serve 

food cooked or prepared on the premises until at least 30 

minutes prior to closing. To the degree that costs or benefits 
result from this regulation, they are largely attributable to the 
2017 legislative mandate. 

Costs. Restaurants that have a mixed beverage restaurant 

license and do not already serve food cooked or prepared on 

the premises until at least 30 minutes prior to closing would 

have to either pay for food preparers or cooks to work longer, 

or close (and stop selling alcohol) earlier. Employing food 

preparers or cooks longer would increase costs for the 
restaurants, while closing earlier would reduce revenue.  

Benefits. Food consumed in close proximity to drinking can 

lower the peak blood alcohol concentration.2 To the extent 
that there are licensees that do not meet the current 

requirement and would meet it once the rule is in effect, and 

to the extent that patrons choose to take advantage of the 

availability of food when or near when they are drinking, the 

proposed amendment could lead to some patrons leaving the 

premises and driving with a lower blood alcohol 

concentration than they otherwise would have. Decreasing the 
degree of driver impairment would be beneficial.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment affects the share of the 5,347 restaurants in the 

Commonwealth that have a mixed beverage restaurant license 

and do not already regularly serve food cooked or prepared 

on the premises until at least 30 minutes prior to closing. 

These restaurants would have to either pay for food preparers 

or cooks to work longer, or close (and stop selling alcohol) 

earlier. Since adverse impact is indicated if there is any 
increase in net cost or reduction in net revenue for any entity, 

even if the benefits of the proposal exceed the costs for all 
entities combined, adverse impact is indicated for this action. 

Small Businesses3 Affected: Types and Estimated Number of 

Small Businesses Affected. As stated above, the proposed 

amendment affects the share of the 5,347 restaurants in the 

Commonwealth that have a mixed beverage restaurant license 

and do not already regularly serve food cooked or prepared 

on the premises until at least 30 minutes prior to closing. Data 

are not available to determine how many meet the statutory 
definition of a small business.4 

Costs and Other Effects. The affected small restaurants would 

have to either pay for food preparers or cooks to work longer, 
or close (and stop selling alcohol) earlier. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There 

are no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse 
impact and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendment does not 

disproportionately affect any particular localities or introduce 
costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

may moderately increase work hours for food preparers and 

cooks at restaurants that have a mixed beverage restaurant 
license and do not already serve food cooked or prepared on 
the premises until at least 30 minutes prior to closing. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal would require affected restaurants to either pay for 

food preparers or cooks to work longer, or close (and stop 

selling alcohol) earlier. Employing food preparers or cooks 

longer would increase costs for the restaurants, while closing 

earlier would reduce revenue. Consequently, the value of 

these businesses may be moderately reduced. The proposed 
amendment does not affect real estate development costs.  

______________________________ 

1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?171+sum+SB1216 

2See https://www.bgsu.edu/recwell/wellness-connection/alcohol-education/ 

factors-that-affect-intoxication.html 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

4Ibid 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?171+sum+SB1216
https://www.bgsu.edu/recwell/wellness-connection/alcohol-education/factors-that-affect-intoxication.html
https://www.bgsu.edu/recwell/wellness-connection/alcohol-education/factors-that-affect-intoxication.html
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5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 

the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 744 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendment adds a provision requiring a mixed beverage 

licensee to have food available for on-premises 

consumption until at least 30 minutes prior to the 
establishment closing. 

3VAC5-50-110. Definitions and qualifications for retail 

on-premises and on-premises and off-premises licenses 

generally; mixed beverage licensee requirements; 

exceptions; temporary licenses.  

A. The following definitions shall apply to retail licensees 

with on-premises consumption privileges and mixed beverage 
licensees where appropriate:  

1. "Bona fide, full-service restaurant" means an established 

place of business where meals are regularly sold to persons 

and that has adequate facilities and sufficient employees 

for cooking, preparing, and serving such meals for 
consumption at tables in dining areas on the premises. 

2. "Counter" means a long, narrow surface with stools or 

chairs along one side for the patrons, behind which 
refreshments or meals are prepared and served. 

3. "Designated area" means a room or an area in which a 

licensee may exercise the privilege of his license, the 
location, equipment and facilities of which room or area 

have been approved by the board. The facilities shall be 

such that patrons may purchase food prepared on the 

premises for consumption on the premises at substantially 

all times that alcoholic beverages are offered for sale 
therein.  

4. "Dining area" means a public room or area in which 

meals are regularly sold at substantially all hours that 
alcoholic beverages are offered for sale therein. 

5. "Meal" means a selection of foods for one individual, 

served and eaten especially at one of the customary, 
regular occasions for taking food during the day, such as 

breakfast, lunch, or dinner, that consists of at least one 

main dish of meat, fish, poultry, legumes, nuts, seeds, 

eggs, or other protein sources, accompanied by vegetable, 
fruit, grain, or starch products. 

6. "Table" means an article of furniture supported by one 

or more vertical legs or similar supports and having a flat 

horizontal surface suitable for the service of meals, not 

immediately adjacent to the area where refreshments or 
meals are prepared. 

B. Wine and beer. Retail on-premises or on-premises and 

off-premises licenses may be granted to persons operating the 

following types of establishments provided that meals or 

other foods are regularly sold at substantially all hours that 

wine and beer are offered for sale and the total monthly food 
sales for consumption in dining areas and other designated 
areas on the premises are not less than those shown:  

1. "Boat" (on premises only). A common carrier of 

passengers for which a certificate as a sight-seeing carrier 

by boat, or a special or charter party by boat has been 

issued by the State Corporation Commission, habitually 
serving food on the boat:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

2. "Restaurant." A bona fide dining establishment regularly 

selling meals with entrees and other foods prepared on the 
premises:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

3. "Hotel." Any duly licensed establishment, provided with 

special space and accommodation, where, in consideration 

of payment, meals and other food prepared on the premises 

and lodging are habitually furnished to persons and which 
has four or more bedrooms:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

In regard to both restaurants and hotels, at least $1,000 of 

the required monthly sales must be in the form of meals.  

4. "Gourmet Oyster House." Any duly licensed 

establishment, located on the premises of a commercial 

marina and permitted by the Department of Health to serve 
oysters and other fresh seafood for consumption on the 

premises, where the licensee also offers to the public 

events for the purpose of featuring oysters and other 
seafood products: 

Monthly sales of oysters and other seafood….....$1,000 

C. Beer. Retail on-premises or on-premises and off-premises 

licenses may be granted to persons operating the following 

types of establishments provided that food is regularly sold at 

substantially all hours that beer is offered for sale and the 

total monthly food sales for consumption in dining areas and 

other designated areas on the premises are not less than those 
shown:  

1. "Boat" (on-premises only). See subdivision B 1 of this 
section:  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

2. "Restaurant." An establishment regularly selling food 
prepared on the premises:  
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Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

3. "Hotel." See subdivision B 3 of this section;  

Monthly sales .........................................................$2,000 

D. Mixed beverage licenses. Mixed beverage restaurant 

licenses may be granted to persons operating bona fide, full-
service restaurants. 

1. Service of food in a bona fide, full-service restaurant 

shall consist of serving the food to the table on plates or 
appropriate dinnerware, accompanied by appropriate 

tableware. The board may approve the issuance of a mixed 

beverage restaurant license to a buffet restaurant if (i) both 

alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverage service is provided at 

the table and (ii) actual sales show that the requirements of 
subdivision D 2 of this section are met. 

2. Monthly sales of food prepared on the premises of a 

mixed beverage restaurant licensee shall not be less than 

$4,000, of which at least $2,000 shall be in the form of 
meals. 

3. A mixed beverage restaurant licensee must have at least 

as many seats at tables as at counters. 

4. A mixed beverage restaurant licensee shall have food, 

cooked or prepared on the licensed premises, available for 

on-premises consumption until at least 30 minutes prior to 

an establishment's closing. Such food shall be available in 

all areas of the licensed premises in which spirits are sold 
or served. 

E. The board may grant a license to an establishment not 

meeting the qualifying figures in this section, provided the 

establishment otherwise is qualified under the applicable 

provisions of the Code of Virginia and this section, if it 

affirmatively appears that there is a substantial public demand 
for such an establishment and that the public convenience will 
be promoted by the issuance of the license.  

F. Notwithstanding the above subsections A through E of 

this section, the board may issue a temporary license for any 

of the above retail operations in subsections A through E of 

this section. Such licenses may be issued only after 

application has been filed in accordance with § 4.1-230 of the 

Code of Virginia, and in cases where the sole objection to 

issuance of a license is that the establishment will not be 

qualified in terms of the sale of food or edible items. If a 

temporary license is issued, the board shall conduct an audit 
of the business after a reasonable period of operation not to 

exceed 180 days. Should the business be qualified, the license 

applied for may be issued. If the business is not qualified, the 

application will become the subject of a hearing if the 

applicant so desires. No further temporary license shall be 

issued to the applicant or to any other person with respect to 

the establishment for a period of one year from expiration 

and, once the application becomes the subject of a hearing, no 
temporary license may be issued.  

G. An outside terrace or patio, the location, equipment, and 

facilities of which have been approved by the board, may be 

approved as a "dining area" or as a "designated area" in the 
discretion of the board. 

H. Limited mixed beverage licenses may be granted to 

persons operating restaurants as defined in § 4.1-100 of the 

Code of Virginia, provided that food is regularly sold at 

substantially all hours that alcoholic beverages are offered for 
sale, and the total monthly food sales of food cooked or 

prepared on the premises for consumption in dining areas and 

other designated areas on the premises are not less than 
$2,000. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6256; Filed May 22, 2020, 4:01 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations (adding 

3VAC5-50-250).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 23, 2020.  

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal Liaison, 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-
watkins@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The action implements the confectionery license created by 

Chapters 173 and 334 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which 
authorizes the licensee to prepare and sell confectionery 

on the licensed premises for off-premises consumption. The 

provisions require that the confectionery contain 5.0% or 

less alcohol by volume and that any alcohol contained in 

such confectionery shall not be in liquid form at the time 

such confectionery is sold. The regulation defines the term 

"confectionery" and includes labeling requirements for 
such confectionery. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

3VAC5-50-250. Confectionery; definition; restrictions; 

labeling. 

A. "Confectionery" means baked goods and candies having 
an alcohol content not more than 5.0% by volume. 

B. Any alcohol contained in such confectionery shall not be 

in liquid form at the time such confectionery is sold. Such 

alcohol shall be fully integrated or blended into the 
confectionery product. 

C. Any such confectionery shall only be sold to those 

individuals who can lawfully consume alcohol. 

mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov
mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov
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D. Any establishment licensed to sell confectioneries for 

off-premises consumption shall properly label the product 
with such label including: 

1. Notice that the product contains alcohol; 

2. Notice that the product can only be consumed off 

premises; and 

3. Warning that the product should not be consumed by 

anyone younger than 21 years of age. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5486; Filed May 22, 2020, 4:07 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions 

(amending 3VAC5-70-220).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 23, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 8, 2020.  

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal Liaison, 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 Hermitage 

Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-4698, FAX 

(804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-
watkins@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Board of Directors of the Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority to adopt regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) and § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia. Section 4.1-

111 provides the board with the authority to adopt reasonable 

regulations to carry out the provisions of the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). 

Purpose: The Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority has 

undertaken this action as a measure to establish regulations 

that will allow persons located within or outside the 

Commonwealth to sell and ship beer in closed containers to 

persons in the Commonwealth to whom beer may be lawfully 

sold for off-premises consumption. The amendment is 
essential to protect the public health, safety, or welfare 

because without it, there is nothing regulating Internet beer 
retailers as required by the Code of Virginia.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking change should be noncontroversial because it is in 

line with established code and incorporates requirements that 
have already been in effect. 

Substance: The substantive changes include changing the 

language throughout the existing regulation such that 

"Internet beer retailer," or a variation thereof, is added to the 

text in any instance where a variation of "Internet wine 
retailer" appears.  

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the agency of 

this regulation change is that it will provide guidance for 

Internet beer retailer licensees. There are no disadvantages to 

the public or the Commonwealth by promulgating this 
regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) seeks to 

create a new Internet beer retailer license to authorize sales 

and shipments of beer to consumers in Virginia. Hence, ABC 

proposes to amend 3VAC5-70-220 Wine or Beer Shipper's 

Licenses and Internet Wine Retailer Licenses; Application 

Process; Common Carriers; Records and Reports to insert 

Internet Beer Retail Licenses to the section title as well as the 

text of the section. As such, all provisions that currently apply 

to wine or beer shipper's licenses and Internet wine retail 
licenses would be extended to Internet beer retail licenses. 

Background. The 2018 Acts of Assembly (Chapter 337) 

created and defined an Internet beer retail license.1 

Accordingly, § 4.1-208(A)(10) of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes persons licensed as Internet beer retailers and 

located within or outside the Commonwealth to sell and ship 

beer in accordance with Virginia Code § 4.1-209.1 and board 

regulations.2 The language of § 4.1-208(A)(10) mirrors that 

of § 4.1-207(6) regarding the Internet wine retail license.3 In 

2008, ABC amended 3 VAC 5-70-220 to incorporate Internet 

wine retail licenses and now proposes to incorporate Internet 
beer retail licenses in an identical manner.4 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Allowing Internet beer retailers 

to sell, and ship, directly to individual consumers is likely to 

benefit businesses engaged in beer retail as well as beer 

consumers by providing the flexibility to conduct their 

transactions online. Internet beer retailers would likely be 

able to earn greater revenue, and likely greater profits, from 

selling directly to individuals who want their product. 

Consumers would benefit from the convenience of purchasing 

beer online. Expanding the market for beer in this way would 

likely increase competition among beer retailers, which 

would in turn benefit consumers to the extent that it leads to 
lower prices, better quality, greater variety, or any 

combination thereof. On the other hand, to the extent that 

individual consumers substitute Internet purchases for local 

retail purchases, brick-and-mortar stores that have been, until 

now, the only source of beer for off-site consumption would 
likely experience decreases in revenue.  

Those applying for an Internet beer license would have to pay 

a (statutorily set) $150 annual licensure fee (in addition to a 

nonrefundable application fee of $195) and would have to 

meet the same recordkeeping requirements that currently 

mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov
mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov
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apply to beer and wine shippers and Internet wine retail 

licensees. As per current regulation, these licensees "shall 

maintain for two years complete and accurate records of all 

shipments made under the privileges of such licenses, 
including for each shipment: 

1. Number of containers shipped; 

2. Volume of each container shipped; 

3. Brand of each container shipped; 

4. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

5. Price charged." 

Further, on or before the 15th of each month, licensees are 

also required to file a report with the Tax Management 

Section of ABC indicating whether any shipments were made 

during the month, and if so, provide all the information listed 
for each shipment.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. ABC reported that 

since the statute came into effect in 2018, they have already 

granted two Internet beer licenses, although they could not 

clarify if these licensees had previously held a shipper's 
license or a retail license. The proposed amendments would 
benefit current and future Internet beer retail licensees.  

Grocery stores, convenience stores, and other brick-and-

mortar locations selling beer would likely be adversely 

affected if their consumers opt to make purchases on the 

Internet instead of buying from the stores, unless they engage 

in online retail and choose to obtain an Internet beer retail 
license. 

Small Businesses5 Affected. Types and Estimated Number of 

Small Businesses Affected. Although ABC does not track its 

small businesses, they report that the majority of their 

licensees are likely to be small businesses. Virginia has 151 
breweries, 71 beer and ale wholesalers, 1,308 supermarkets 

and grocery stores, 1,055 convenience stores, and 99 beer and 

wine stores that are considered small businesses.6 However, 

the effect of the proposed amendments on any particular 

small business would depend on their own decision, as well 

as the decisions made by their competitors, about the extent 

to which they engage in Internet beer retail. Grocery stores 

and convenience stores that do not currently engage in any 
beer retail may not be affected at all.  

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would 

likely benefit small independent breweries and beer, wine and 
liquor stores by allowing them to advertise online and expand 

their sales in parts of the state where they do not currently 

ship their product. However, this benefit could be limited 

depending on the competitiveness of Internet beer retail. 

Conversely, small supermarkets, grocery stores and 

convenience stores that sell beer may see decreased revenues 

from beer sales in brick-and-mortar locations. However, 

brick-and-mortar locations provide consumers with the 

convenience of immediate access to a wide variety of 

domestic and imported beers without additional shipping 

costs, so any adverse impact is unlikely to be substantive in 
nature at least in the short run. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There 

are no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse 
impact and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionately affect particular localities or introduce new 
costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
are unlikely to affect total employment in the industry.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Real estate 
development costs do not appear to be affected. 

______________________________ 

1See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0337 

2See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter2/section4.1-208/ 

(Beer License) and 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter2/section4.1-209.1/ (Direct 

shipment of wine and beer; shipper's license.) 

3See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter2/section4.1-207/ 

(Wine License) 

4See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=2517, which 

became effective May 1, 2008. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

6Data source: Virginia Employment Commission 

7"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

8§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 

the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

Chapter 337 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly creates an 

Internet beer retailer license and sets the fee for such 

license. This regulatory action implements Chapter 337 
and establishes license requirements, including 
application, shipping, record keeping, and reporting. 

3VAC5-70-220. Wine or beer shipper's licenses, and 

Internet wine retailer licenses, and Internet beer retailer 

licenses; application process; common carriers; records 

and reports. 

A. Any person or entity qualified for a wine shipper's license 

or beer shipper's license pursuant to § 4.1-209.1 of the Code 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0337
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter2/section4.1-208/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter2/section4.1-209.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter2/section4.1-207/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=2517
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of Virginia, or an Internet wine retailer license pursuant to 

subdivision 6 of § 4.1-207 of the Code of Virginia, or an 

Internet beer retailer license pursuant to subdivision A 10 of 

§ 4.1-208 of the Code of Virginia, must apply for such license 

by submitting form 805-52, Application for License. In 

addition to the application, each applicant shall submit as 

attachments a list of all brands of wine or beer sought to be 

shipped by the applicant, along with the board-assigned code 
numbers for each brand or a copy of the label approval by the 

appropriate federal agency for any brand not previously 

approved for sale in Virginia pursuant to 3VAC5-40-20 or 

3VAC5-40-50 that will be sold only through direct shipment 
to consumers. 

If the applicant is not also the brand owner of the brands 

listed in the application, the applicant shall obtain and submit 

with the application a dated letter identifying each brand, 

from the brand owner or any wholesale distributor authorized 

to distribute the brand, addressed to the Supervisor, Tax 

Management Section, Virginia Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority, indicating the brand owner's or 

wholesale distributor's consent to the applicant's shipping the 
brand to Virginia consumers. 

The applicant shall attach (i) a photocopy of its current 

license as a winery, farm winery, brewery, or alcoholic 

beverage retailer issued by the appropriate authority for the 

location from which shipments will be made and (ii) evidence 

of the applicant's registration with the Virginia Department of 
Taxation for the collection of Virginia retail sales tax. 

B. Any brewery, winery, or farm winery that applies for a 

shipper's license or consents to the application by any other 

person, other than a retail off-premises licensee, for a license 
to ship such brewery's, winery's, or farm winery's brands of 

wine or beer shall notify all wholesale licensees that have 

been authorized to distribute such brands in Virginia that an 

application for a shipper's license has been filed. Such 

notification shall be by a dated letter to each such wholesale 

licensee, setting forth the brands that wholesaler has been 

authorized to distribute in Virginia for which a shipper's 

license has been applied. A copy of each such letter shall be 

forwarded to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, by 
the brewery, winery, or farm winery. 

C. Any holder of a wine or beer shipper's license or, Internet 

wine retailer's license, or Internet beer retailer's license may 

add or delete brands to be shipped by letter to the Supervisor, 

Tax Management Section, designating the brands to be added 

or deleted. Any letter adding brands shall be accompanied by 

any appropriate brand-owner consents or notices to 
wholesalers as required with an original application. 

D. Any brand owner that consents to a holder of a wine 

shipper's license, beer shipper's license, or Internet wine 

retailer's license, or Internet beer retailer's license shipping its 

brands to Virginia consumers may withdraw such consent by 

a dated letter to the affected wine or beer shipper's licensee 

or, Internet wine retailer's licensee, or Internet beer retailer's 

licensee. Copies of all such withdrawals shall be forwarded 

by the brand owner, by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section. 

Withdrawals shall become effective upon receipt of the copy 

by the Tax Management Section, as evidenced by the 
postmark on the return receipt. 

E. Wine shipper's licensees, beer shipper's licensees, and 

Internet wine retailer's licensees, and Internet beer retailer's 

licensees shall maintain for two years complete and accurate 

records of all shipments made under the privileges of such 
licenses, including for each shipment: 

1. Number of containers shipped; 

2. Volume of each container shipped; 

3. Brand of each container shipped; 

4. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

5. Price charged. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the 
board or its special agents upon request. 

F. On or before the 15th day of each month, each wine 

shipper's licensee, beer shipper's licensee, or Internet wine 

retailer's licensee, or Internet beer retailer's licensee shall file 

with the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, either in paper 

form or electronically as directed by the department, a report 

of activity for the previous calendar month. Such report shall 
include: 

1. Whether any shipments were made during the month; 

and 

2. If shipments were made, the following information for 

each shipment: 

a. Number of containers shipped; 

b. Volume of each container shipped; 

c. Brand of each container shipped; 

d. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

e. Price charged. 

Unless otherwise paid, payment of the appropriate beer or 

wine tax shall accompany each report. 

G. All shipments by holders of wine shipper's licenses, beer 

shipper's licenses, or Internet wine retailer's licenses, or 

Internet beer retailer's licenses shall be by approved common 

carrier only. Common carriers possessing all necessary 

licenses or permits to operate as common carriers in Virginia 

may apply for approval to provide common carriage of wine 

or beer, or both, shipped by holders of wine shipper's 

licenses, beer shipper's licenses, or Internet wine retailer's 

licenses, or Internet beer retailer's licenses by dated letter to 

the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, requesting such 
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approval and agreeing to perform deliveries of beer or wine 

shipped, maintain records, and submit reports in accordance 

with the requirements of this section. The board may refuse, 

suspend, or revoke approval if it shall have reasonable cause 

to believe that a carrier does not possess all necessary licenses 

or permits, that a carrier has failed to comply with the 

regulations of the board, or that a cause exists with respect to 

the carrier that would authorize the board to refuse, suspend, 
or revoke a license pursuant to Title 4.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Before refusing, suspending, or revoking such 

approval, the board shall follow the same administrative 

procedures accorded an applicant or licensee under Title 4.1 
of the Code of Virginia and regulations of the board. 

H. When attempting to deliver wine or beer shipped by a 

wine shipper's licensee, beer shipper's licensee, or Internet 

wine retailer's licensee, or Internet beer retailer's licensee, an 
approved common carrier shall require: 

1. The recipient to demonstrate, upon delivery, that he the 

recipient is at least 21 years of age; and 

2. The recipient to sign an electronic or paper form or other 

acknowledgement acknowledgment of receipt that allows 
the maintenance of the records required by this section. 

The approved common carrier shall refuse delivery when the 

proposed recipient appears to be under the age of younger 

than 21 years of age and refuses to present valid 

identification. All licensees shipping wine or beer pursuant to 

this section shall affix a conspicuous notice in 16-point type 

or larger to the outside of each package of wine or beer 

shipped within or into the Commonwealth, in a conspicuous 

location stating: "CONTAINS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES; 

SIGNATURE OF PERSON AGED 21 YEARS OR OLDER 
REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY." Such notice shall also 

contain the wine shipper's, beer shipper's, or Internet wine 

retailer's license, or Internet beer retailer's license number of 

the shipping licensee. No approved common carrier shall 

accept for shipment any wine or beer to be shipped to anyone 

other than a licensee of the board unless the package bears the 
information required by this subsection. 

I. Approved common carriers shall maintain for two years 

complete and accurate records of all shipments of wine or 

beer received from and delivered for wine or beer shipper's 

licensees, or Internet wine retailer's licensees, or Internet beer 
retailer's licensees, including for each shipment: 

1. Date of shipment and delivery; 

2. Number of items shipped and delivered; 

3. Weight of items shipped and delivered; 

4. Acknowledgement signed by recipient; and 

5. Names and addresses of shippers and recipients. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the 
board or its special agents upon request. 

J. On or before the 15th day of each January, April, July, 

and October, each approved common carrier shall file with 

the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, a report of activity 
for the previous calendar quarter. Such report shall include: 

1. Whether any shipments were delivered during the 

quarter; and 

2. If shipments were made, the following information for 

each shipment: 

a. Dates of each delivery; and 

b. Names and address of shippers and recipients for each 
delivery. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6257; Filed May 22, 2020, 3:59 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD  

Final Regulation 

EDITOR'S NOTE: This final action makes effective changes 

proposed in 31:22 VA.R. 1949-2045 June 29, 2015, and in 

34:2 VA.R. 193-236 September 18, 2017.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality 

Standards (amending 9VAC25-260-155).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 the Code of Virginia; Clean 
Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR 131. 

Effective Date: Effective upon the filing of notice of approval 

by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency with the 
Registrar of Regulations. 

Agency Contact: David Whitehurst, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4121, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 
david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments, which originally were part of the 

Triennial Review of the water quality standards, update the 

freshwater ammonia water quality criteria for the 

protection of freshwater aquatic life to the latest 

recommendations of the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency and provide for implementation of the new criteria 
by regulated dischargers. 

Changes to the proposed regulation include (i) prohibiting 

the four-day average ammonia concentration in freshwater 

to exceed 2.5 times the chronic criterion within a 30-day 

period more than once every three years on the average; 

and (ii) adding a phased implementation plan for 
regulated dischargers that meets the funding and timing 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5024
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5024
mailto:david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov
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requirements consistent with the federal Clean Water Act 

pursuant to Chapters 510 and 511 of the 2018 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

9VAC25-260-155. Ammonia surface water quality 

criteria. 

A. The Department of Environmental Quality, after 

consultation with the Virginia Department of [ Game and 

Inland Fisheries Wildlife Resources ] and the U.S. Fish and 

Wildlife Service, has determined that the majority of Virginia 

freshwaters are likely to contain, or have contained in the 

past, freshwater mussel species in the family Unionidae and 

contain early life stages of fish during most times of the year. 

Therefore, the ammonia criteria presented in subsections B 

and C of this section are designed to provide protection to 

these species and life stages. In an instance where it can be 

adequately demonstrated that either freshwater mussels or 

early life stages of fish are not present in a specific 
waterbody, potential options for alternate, site-specific 

criteria are presented in subsection D of this section. Acute 

criteria are a one-hour average concentration not to be 

exceeded more than once every three years1 on the average, 

and chronic criteria are 30-day average concentrations not to 

be exceeded more than once every three years on the 

average.2 [ In addition, the four-day average concentration of 

total ammonia nitrogen (in mg N/L) shall not exceed 2.5 

times the chronic criterion within a 30-day period more than 
once every three years on the average. ]  

[ 1The default design flow for calculating steady state 

wasteload allocations for the acute ammonia criterion for 
freshwater is the 1Q10 (see 9VAC25-260-140 B footnote 6) 

unless statistically valid methods are employed that 

demonstrate compliance with the duration and return 
frequency of the water quality criteria. 

2The default design flow for calculating steady state 

wasteload allocations for the chronic ammonia criterion for 

freshwater is the 30Q10 (see 9VAC25-260-140 B footnote 

6) unless statistically valid methods are employed which 

demonstrate compliance with the duration and return 
frequency of the water quality criteria. ] 

B. The one-hour average concentration of total ammonia 

nitrogen (in mg N/L) in freshwater shall not exceed, more 

than once every three years on the average1, the acute criteria 

for total ammonia (in mg N/L) for freshwaters with trout 
absent or present are [ below in the following tables ]:  

Acute Ammonia Freshwater Criteria  
Total Ammonia Nitrogen (mg N/L)  

pH Trout Present Trout Absent 

6.5 32.6 48.8 

6.6 31.3 46.8 

6.7 29.8 44.6 

6.8 28.1 42.0 

6.9 26.2 39.1 

7.0 24.1 36.1 

7.1 22.0 32.8 

7.2 19.7 29.5 

7.3 17.5 26.2 

7.4 15.4 23.0 

7.5 13.3 19.9 

7.6 11.4 17.0 

7.7 9.65 14.4 

7.8 8.11 12.1 

7.9 6.77 10.1 

8.0 5.62 8.40 

8.1 4.64 6.95 

8.2 3.83 5.72 

8.3 3.15 4.71 

8.4 2.59 3.88 

8.5 2.14 3.20 

8.6 1.77 2.65 

8.7 1.47 2.20 

8.8 1.23 1.84 

8.9 1.04 1.56 

9.0 0.885 1.32 
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The acute criteria for trout present shall apply to all Class V-Stockable Trout Waters and Class VI-Natural Trout Waters as 
listed in 9VAC25-260-390 through 9VAC25-260-540. The acute criteria for trout absent apply to all other fresh waters.  

To calculate total ammonia nitrogen acute criteria values in freshwater at different pH values than those listed in this 
subsection, use the following formulas equations and round the result to two significant digits: 

Where trout are present absent: 

Acute Criterion Concentration (mg N/L) =  

  0.275 
+ 

39.0 

  (1 + 107.204-pH) (1 + 10pH-7.204) 

  

  
0.7249 X ( 

0.0114 
+ 

1.6181 
) X MIN 

  1 + 107.204-pH 1 + 10pH-7.204 

Where MIN = 51.93 or 23.12 X 100.036 X (20 – T), whichever is less  

T = Temperature in oC 

Or where trout are absent present, whichever of the [ below following ] calculation results is less:  

Acute Criterion Concentration (mg N/L) =  

  0.411 
+ 

58.4 

  (1 + 107.204-pH) (1 + 10pH-7.204) 

1The default design flow for calculating steady state waste load allocations for the acute ammonia criterion is the 1Q10 (see 

9VAC25-260-140 B footnote 10) unless statistically valid methods are employed which demonstrate compliance with the 
duration and return frequency of the water quality criteria.  

  
( 

0.275 
+ 

39.0 
) 

  1 + 107.204-pH 1 + 10pH-7.204 

or 

  
0.7249 X ( 

0.0114 
+ 

1.6181 
) X (23.12 X 100.036X(20 – T)) 

  1 + 107.204-pH 1 + 10pH-7.204 

T = Temperature in oC 

B. C. The 30-day average concentration of chronic criteria for total ammonia nitrogen (in mg N/L) where freshwater mussels 

and early life stages of fish are present in freshwater shall not exceed, more than once every three years on the average2, the 
chronic criteria are [ below in the following table ]:  

Chronic Ammonia Freshwater Criteria  

Early Life Stages of Fish Present  
Total Ammonia Nitrogen (mg N/L)  

  Temperature (°C) 

pH 0 14 16 18 20 22 24 26 28 30 

6.5 6.67 6.67 6.06 5.33 4.68 4.12 3.62 3.18 2.80 2.46 

6.6 6.57 6.57 5.97 5.25 4.61 4.05 3.56 3.13 2.75 2.42 

6.7 6.44 6.44 5.86 5.15 4.52 3.98 3.50 3.07 2.70 2.37 

6.8 6.29 6.29 5.72 5.03 4.42 3.89 3.42 3.00 2.64 2.32 

6.9 6.12 6.12 5.56 4.89 4.30 3.78 3.32 2.92 2.57 2.25 
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7.0 5.91 5.91 5.37 4.72 4.15 3.65 3.21 2.82 2.48 2.18 

7.1 5.67 5.67 5.15 4.53 3.98 3.50 3.08 2.70 2.38 2.09 

7.2 5.39 5.39 4.90 4.31 3.78 3.33 2.92 2.57 2.26 1.99 

7.3 5.08 5.08 4.61 4.06 3.57 3.13 2.76 2.42 2.13 1.87 

7.4 4.73 4.73 4.30 3.78 3.32 2.92 2.57 2.26 1.98 1.74 

7.5 4.36 4.36 3.97 3.49 3.06 2.69 2.37 2.08 1.83 1.61 

7.6 3.98 3.98 3.61 3.18 2.79 2.45 2.16 1.90 1.67 1.47 

7.7 3.58 3.58 3.25 2.86 2.51 2.21 1.94 1.71 1.50 1.32 

7.8 3.18 3.18 2.89 2.54 2.23 1.96 1.73 1.52 1.33 1.17 

7.9 2.80 2.80 2.54 2.24 1.96 1.73 1.52 1.33 1.17 1.03 

8.0 2.43 2.43 2.21 1.94 1.71 1.50 1.32 1.16 1.02 0.897 

8.1 2.10 2.10 1.91 1.68 1.47 1.29 1.14 1.00 0.879 0.773 

8.2 1.79 1.79 1.63 1.43 1.26 1.11 0.973 0.855 0.752 0.661 

8.3 1.52 1.52 1.39 1.22 1.07 0.941 0.827 0.727 0.639 0.562 

8.4 1.29 1.29 1.17 1.03 0.906 0.796 0.700 0.615 0.541 0.475 

8.5 1.09 1.09 0.990 0.870 0.765 0.672 0.591 0.520 0.457 0.401 

8.6 0.920 0.920 0.836 0.735 0.646 0.568 0.499 0.439 0.386 0.339 

8.7 0.778 0.778 0.707 0.622 0.547 0.480 0.422 0.371 0.326 0.287 

8.8 0.661 0.661 0.601 0.528 0.464 0.408 0.359 0.315 0.277 0.244 

8.9 0.565 0.565 0.513 0.451 0.397 0.349 0.306 0.269 0.237 0.208 

9.0 0.486 0.486 0.442 0.389 0.342 0.300 0.264 0.232 0.204 0.179 
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To calculate total ammonia nitrogen chronic criteria values in freshwater when fish freshwater mussels and early life stages of 

fish are present at different pH and temperature values than those listed in this subsection, use the following formulas equation 
and round the result to two significant digits:  

Chronic Criteria Concentration =  

( 
0.0577 

+ 
2.487 

 ) x MIN 
(1 + 107.688-pH) (1 + 10pH-7.688) 

Where MIN = 2.85 or 1.45 x 100.028(25-T), whichever is less.  

 
0.8876 X ( 

0.0278 
+ 

1.1994 
) X (2.126 X 100.028 X (20 - MAX(T,7))) 

  1 + 107.688-pH 1 + 10pH-7.688 

Where MAX = 7 or temperature in degrees Celsius, whichever is greater 

T = temperature in °C  

2The default design flow for calculating steady state waste load allocations for the chronic ammonia criterion where early life 

stages of fish are present is the 30Q10 (see 9VAC25-260-140 B footnote 10) unless statistically valid methods are employed 
which demonstrate compliance with the duration and return frequency of the water quality criteria.  

D. Site-specific considerations and alternate criteria. If it can be adequately demonstrated that freshwater mussels or early life 

stages of fish are not present at a site, then alternate site-specific criteria can be considered using the information provided in 

this subsection. Recalculated site-specific criteria shall provide for the attainment and maintenance of the water quality 
standards of downstream waters. 

1. Site-specific modifications to the ambient water quality criteria for ammonia to account for the absence of freshwater 

mussels or early life stages of fish shall be conducted in accordance with the procedures contained in this subdivision. 

Because the department presumes that most state waterbodies have freshwater mussels and early life stages of fish present 

during most times of the year, the criteria shall be calculated assuming freshwater mussels and early life stages of fish are 

present using subsections B and C of this section unless the following demonstration that freshwater mussels or early life 
stages of fish are absent is successfully completed. Determination of the absence of freshwater mussels requires special field 

survey methods. This determination must be made after an adequate survey of the waterbody is conducted by an individual 

certified by the Virginia Department of [ Game and Inland Fisheries (DGIF) Wildlife Resources ] for freshwater mussel 

identification and surveys. Determination of absence of freshwater mussels will be done in consultation with the [ DGIF 

Department of Wildlife Resources ]. Early life stages of fish are defined in subdivision 2 of this subsection. Modifications to 

the ambient water quality criteria for ammonia based on the presence or absence of early life stages of fish shall only apply 
at temperatures below 15°C.  

a. During the review of any new or existing activity that has a potential to discharge ammonia in amounts that may cause or 

contribute to a violation of the ammonia criteria contained in subsection B of this section, the department may examine 

data from the following approved sources in subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this subsection or may require the 

gathering of data in accordance with subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) on the presence or absence of early life stages of fish 
in the affected waterbody.  

(1) Species and distribution data contained in the Virginia Department of [ Game and Inland Fisheries Wildlife Resources ] 
Wildlife Information System database.  

(2) Species and distribution data contained in Freshwater Fishes of Virginia, 1994.  

(3) Data and fish species distribution maps contained in Handbook for Fishery Biology, Volume 3, 1997.  

(4) Field data collected in accordance with U.S. EPA's Rapid Bioassessment Protocols for Use in Streams and Wadeable 
Rivers, Second Edition, EPA 841-B-99-002. Field data must comply with all quality assurance and quality control criteria.  

(5) The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Standard E-1241-88, Standard Guide for Conducting Early 

Life-Stage Toxicity Tests with Fishes.  

b. If data or information from sources other than subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this subsection are considered, then any 

resulting site-specific criteria modifications shall be reviewed and adopted in accordance with the site-specific criteria 
provisions in 9VAC25-260-140 D and submitted to EPA for review and approval.  
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c. If the department determines that the data and information obtained from subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this 

subsection demonstrate that there are periods of each year when no early life stages are expected to be present for any 

species of fish that occur at the site, the department shall issue a notice to the public and make available for public 

comment the supporting data and analysis along with the department's preliminary decision to authorize the site-specific 
modification to the ammonia criteria. Such information shall include, at a minimum:  

(1) Sources of data and information.  

(2) List of fish species that occur at the site as defined in subdivision 3 of this subsection.  

(3) Definition of the site. Definition of a "site" can vary in geographic size from a stream segment to a watershed to an 

entire eco-region.  

(4) Duration of early life stage for each species in subdivision 1 c (2) of this subsection.  

(5) Dates when early life stages of fish are expected to be present for each species in subdivision 1 c (2) of this subsection.  

(6) Based on subdivision 1 c (5) of this subsection, identify the dates (beginning date, ending date), if any, where no early 
life stages are expected to be present for any of the species identified in subdivision 1 c (2) of this subsection.  

d. If, after reviewing the public comments received in subdivision 1 c of this subsection and supporting data and 

information, the department determines that there are times of the year [ where when ] no early life stages are expected to 

be present for any fish species that occur at the site, then the applicable ambient water quality criteria for ammonia for 

those time periods shall be calculated using the table in this subsection, or the formula for calculating the chronic criterion 
concentration for ammonia when early life stages of fish are absent.  

e. The department shall maintain a comprehensive list of all sites where the department has determined that early life 

stages of fish are absent. For each site the list will identify the waterbodies affected and the corresponding times of the year 

that early life stages of fish are absent. This list is available either upon request from the Office of Water Quality Programs 

at [ 629 1111 ] East Main Street, [ Suite 1400 ] Richmond, VA 23219, or from the department website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/waterqualityinformationtmdls/waterqualitystandards.aspx.  

2. The duration of the "early life stages" extends from the beginning of spawning through the end of the early life stages. The 

early life stages include the prehatch embryonic period, the post-hatch free embryo or yolk-sac fry, and the larval period, 

during which the organism feeds. Juvenile fish, which are anatomically similar to adults, are not considered an early life 

stage. The duration of early life stages can vary according to fish species. The department considers the sources of 

information in subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this subsection to be the only acceptable sources of information for 
determining the duration of early life stages of fish under this procedure.  

3. "Occur at the site" includes the species, genera, families, orders, classes, and phyla that are usually present at the site; are 

present at the site only seasonally due to migration; are present intermittently because they periodically return to or extend 
their ranges into the site; or were present at the site in the past or are present in nearby bodies of water, but are not currently 

present at the site due to degraded conditions, and are expected to return to the site when conditions improve. "Occur at the 

site" does not include taxa that were once present at the site but cannot exist at the site now due to permanent physical 
alteration of the habitat at the site.  

4. Any modifications to ambient water quality criteria for ammonia in subdivision 1 of this subsection shall not likely 

jeopardize the continued existence of any federal or state listed, threatened, or endangered species or result in the destruction 
or adverse modification of such species' critical habitats.  

5. Site-specific modifications to the ambient water quality criteria for ammonia to account for the absence of freshwater 

mussels shall be conducted in accordance with the procedures contained in this [ subdivision subsection ]. Because the 

department presumes that most state waterbodies have freshwater mussel species, the criteria shall be calculated assuming 

mussels are present using subsections B and C of this section unless the demonstration that freshwater mussels are absent is 
successfully completed and accepted by DEQ and [ DGIF the Department of Wildlife Resources ]. 

6. Equations for calculating ammonia criteria for four different site-specific scenarios are provided [ below in subdivisions 6 

a through d of this subsection ] as follows: (i) acute criteria when mussels are absent but trout are present, (ii) acute criteria 

when mussels and trout are absent, (iii) chronic criteria when mussels are absent and early life stages of fish are present, and 

(iv) chronic criteria when mussels and early life stages of fish are absent. Additional information regarding site-specific 

criteria can be reviewed in appendix N (pages 225-242) of the EPA Aquatic Life Ambient Water Quality Criteria to 
Ammonia--Freshwater 2013 (EPA 822-R-13-001). 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/programs/water/waterqualityinformationtmdls/waterqualitystandards.aspx
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a. Acute criteria: freshwater mussels absent and trout present. To calculate total ammonia nitrogen acute criteria values (in 

mg N/L) in freshwater with freshwater mussels absent (procedures for making this determination are in subdivisions 1 

through 5 of this subsection) and trout present, use the [ following ] equations [ below ]. The acute criterion is the lesser of 
the [ following ] calculation results [ below ]. Round the result to two significant digits. 

  
( 

0.275 
+ 

39 
)  

  1 + 107.204-pH 1 + 10pH-7.204 

or 

  
0.7249 X ( 

0.0114 
+ 

1.6181 
) X (62.15 X 100.036X(20 – T)) 

  1 + 107.204-pH 1 + 10pH-7.204 

b. Acute criteria: freshwater mussels absent and trout absent. To calculate total ammonia nitrogen acute criteria values (in 

mg N/L) in freshwater where freshwater mussels are absent and trout are absent, use the following equation. Round the 
result to two significant digits. 

  
0.7249 X ( 

0.0114 
+ 

1.6181 
) X MIN  

  1 + 107.204-pH 1 + 10pH-7.204 

Where MIN = 51.93 or 62.15 X 100.036 X (20 – T), whichever is less  

T = Temperature in oC 

C. The 30-day average concentration of c. Chronic criteria: freshwater mussels absent and early life stages of fish present. 

The chronic criteria for total ammonia nitrogen (in mg N/L) where early life stages of fish freshwater mussels are absent 

(procedures for making this determination are in subdivisions 1 through 4 5 of this subsection) in freshwater shall not 

exceed, more than once every three years on the average3, the chronic criteria [ below: ] concentration values calculated 
using the [ following ] equation. Round the result to two significant digits. 

Chronic Ammonia Freshwater Criteria  

Early Life Stages of Fish Absent  
Total Ammonia Nitrogen (mg N/L)  

 

Temperature (°C) 

pH 0-7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 

6.5 10.8 10.1 9.51 8.92 8.36 7.84 7.35 6.89 6.46 6.06 

6.6 10.7 9.99 9.37 8.79 8.24 7.72 7.24 6.79 6.36 5.97 

6.7 10.5 9.81 9.20 8.62 8.08 7.58 7.11 6.66 6.25 5.86 

6.8 10.2 9.58 8.98 8.42 7.90 7.40 6.94 6.51 6.10 5.72 

6.9 9.93 9.31 8.73 8.19 7.68 7.20 6.75 6.33 5.93 5.56 

7.0 9.60 9.00 8.43 7.91 7.41 6.95 6.52 6.11 5.73 5.37 

7.1 9.20 8.63 8.09 7.58 7.11 6.67 6.25 5.86 5.49 5.15 

7.2 8.75 8.20 7.69 7.21 6.76 6.34 5.94 5.57 5.22 4.90 

7.3 8.24 7.73 7.25 6.79 6.37 5.97 5.60 5.25 4.92 4.61 

7.4 7.69 7.21 6.76 6.33 5.94 5.57 5.22 4.89 4.59 4.30 

7.5 7.09 6.64 6.23 5.84 5.48 5.13 4.81 4.51 4.23 3.97 

7.6 6.46 6.05 5.67 5.32 4.99 4.68 4.38 4.11 3.85 3.61 

7.7 5.81 5.45 5.11 4.79 4.49 4.21 3.95 3.70 3.47 3.25 

7.8 5.17 4.84 4.54 4.26 3.99 3.74 3.51 3.29 3.09 2.89 
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7.9 4.54 4.26 3.99 3.74 3.51 3.29 3.09 2.89 2.71 2.54 

8.0 3.95 3.70 3.47 3.26 3.05 2.86 2.68 2.52 2.36 2.21 

8.1 3.41 3.19 2.99 2.81 2.63 2.47 2.31 2.17 2.03 1.91 

8.2 2.91 2.73 2.56 2.40 2.25 2.11 1.98 1.85 1.74 1.63 

8.3 2.47 2.32 2.18 2.04 1.91 1.79 1.68 1.58 1.48 1.39 

8.4 2.09 1.96 1.84 1.73 1.62 1.52 1.42 1.33 1.25 1.17 

8.5 1.77 1.66 1.55 1.46 1.37 1.28 1.20 1.13 1.06 0.990 

8.6 1.49 1.40 1.31 1.23 1.15 1.08 1.01 0.951 0.892 0.836 

8.7 1.26 1.18 1.11 1.04 0.976 0.915 0.858 0.805 0.754 0.707 

8.8 1.07 1.01 0.944 0.885 0.829 0.778 0.729 0.684 0.641 0.601 

8.9 0.917 0.860 0.806 0.756 0.709 0.664 0.623 0.584 0.548 0.513 

9.0 0.790 0.740 0.694 0.651 0.610 0.572 0.536 0.503 0.471 0.442 

At 15°C and above, the criterion for fish early life stages absent is the same as the criterion for fish early life stages present.  

To calculate total ammonia nitrogen chronic criteria values in freshwater when fish early life stages are absent at different pH 

and temperature values than those listed in this subsection, use the following formulas:  

Chronic Criteria Concentration =  

( 
0.0577 

+ 
2.487 

) x 1.45(100.028(25-MAX)) 
(1 + 107.688-pH) (1 + 10pH-7.688) 

MAX = temperature in °C or 7, whichever is greater. 

3The default design flow for calculating steady state waste load allocations for the chronic ammonia criterion where early life 

stages of fish are absent is the 30Q10 (see 9VAC25-260-140 B footnote 10) unless statistically valid methods are employed that 
demonstrate compliance with the duration and return frequency of the water quality criteria.  

1. Site-specific modifications to the ambient water quality criteria for ammonia to account for the absence of early life stages 

of fish shall be conducted in accordance with the procedures contained in this subdivision. Because the department presumes 

that most state waterbodies have early life stages of fish present during most times of the year, the criteria shall be calculated 

assuming early life stages of fish are present using subsection B of this section unless the following demonstration that early 

life stages are absent is successfully completed. Early life stages of fish are defined in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

Modifications to the ambient water quality criteria for ammonia based on the presence or absence of early life stages of fish 
shall only apply at temperatures below 15°C.  

a. During the review of any new or existing activity that has a potential to discharge ammonia in amounts that may cause or 

contribute to a violation of the ammonia criteria contained in subsection B of this section, the department may examine 

data from the following approved sources in subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this subsection or may require the 

gathering of data in accordance with subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) on the presence or absence of early life stages of fish 
in the affected waterbody.  

(1) Species and distribution data contained in the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries Wildlife Information 
System database.  

(2) Species and distribution data contained in Freshwater Fishes of Virginia, 1994.  

(3) Data and fish species distribution maps contained in Handbook for Fishery Biology, Volume 3, 1997.  

(4) Field data collected in accordance with U.S. EPA's Rapid Bioassessment Protocols for Use in Streams and Wadeable 

Rivers, Second Edition, EPA 841-B-99-002. Field data must comply with all quality assurance/quality control criteria.  

(5) The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Standard E-1241-88, Standard Guide for Conducting Early 
Life-Stage Toxicity Tests with Fishes.  
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b. If data or information from sources other than subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this subsection are considered, then any 

resulting site-specific criteria modifications shall be reviewed and adopted in accordance with the site-specific criteria 
provisions in 9VAC25-260-140 D, and submitted to EPA for review and approval.  

c. If the department determines that the data and information obtained from subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this 

subsection demonstrate that there are periods of each year when no early life stages are expected to be present for any 

species of fish that occur at the site, the department shall issue a notice to the public and make available for public 

comment the supporting data and analysis along with the department's preliminary decision to authorize the site-specific 
modification to the ammonia criteria. Such information shall include, at a minimum:  

(1) Sources of data and information.  

(2) List of fish species that occur at the site as defined by subdivision 3 of this subsection.  

(3) Definition of the site. Definition of a "site" can vary in geographic size from a stream segment to a watershed to an 
entire eco-region.  

(4) Duration of early life stage for each species in subdivision 1 c (2) of this subsection.  

(5) Dates when early life stages of fish are expected to be present for each species in subdivision 1 c (2) of this subsection.  

(6) Based on subdivision 1 c (5) of this subsection, identify the dates (beginning date, ending date), if any, where no early 
life stages are expected to be present for any of the species identified in subdivision 1 c (2) of this subsection.  

d. If, after reviewing the public comments received in subdivision 1 c of this subsection and supporting data and 

information, the department determines that there are times of the year where no early life stages are expected to be present 

for any fish species that occur at the site, then the applicable ambient water quality criteria for ammonia for those time 
periods shall be calculated using the table in this subsection, or the formula for calculating the chronic criterion 
concentration for ammonia when fish early life stages are absent.  

e. The department shall maintain a comprehensive list of all sites where the department has determined that early life 

stages of fish are absent. For each site the list will identify the waterbodies affected and the corresponding times of the year 

that early life stages are absent. This list is available either upon request from the Office of Water Quality Programs at P.O. 
Box 1105, Richmond, Virginia 23218 or from the department website http://www.deq.virginia.gov/wqs.  

2. The duration of the "early life stages" extends from the beginning of spawning through the end of the early life stages. The 

early life stages include the prehatch embryonic period, the post-hatch free embryo or yolk-sac fry, and the larval period, 

during which the organism feeds. Juvenile fish, which are anatomically similar to adults, are not considered an early life 

stage. The duration of early life stages can vary according to fish species. The department considers the sources of 

information in subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this subsection to be the only acceptable sources of information for 
determining the duration of early life stages of fish under this procedure.  

3. "Occur at the site" includes the species, genera, families, orders, classes, and phyla that: are usually present at the site; are 

present at the site only seasonally due to migration; are present intermittently because they periodically return to or extend 

their ranges into the site; were present at the site in the past or are present in nearby bodies of water, but are not currently 

present at the site due to degraded conditions, and are expected to return to the site when conditions improve. "Occur at the 

site" does not include taxa that were once present at the site but cannot exist at the site now due to permanent physical 
alteration of the habitat at the site.  

4. Any modifications to ambient water quality criteria for ammonia in subdivision 1 of this subsection shall not likely 

jeopardize the continued existence of any federal or state listed, threatened or endangered species or result in the destruction 
or adverse modification of such species' critical habitat. 

 
0.9405 X ( 

0.0278 
+ 

1.1994 
) X MIN 

  1 + 107.688-pH 1 + 10pH-7.688 

Where MIN = 6.920 or 7.547 X 100.028 x (20 – T) whichever is less 

T = temperature in °C 

d. Chronic criteria: freshwater mussels absent and early life stages of fish absent. The chronic criteria for total ammonia 

nitrogen (in mg N/L) where freshwater mussels are absent and early life stages of fish are absent (procedures for making 
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this determination are in subdivisions 1 through 5 of this subsection) in freshwater shall not exceed concentration values 
calculated using the [ following ] equation [ below ]. Round the result to two significant digits. 

 
0.9405 X ( 

0.0278 
+ 

1.1994 
) X(7.547 X 100.028 X (20 - MAX(T,7)))  

  1 + 107.688-pH 1 + 10pH-7.688 

Where MAX = 7 or temperature in degrees Celsius, whichever is greater 

T = temperature in °C 

D. E. The one-hour average concentration of total ammonia nitrogen (in mg N/L) in saltwater shall not exceed, more than 

once every three years on the average, the acute criteria [ below in the following table ]:  

Acute Ammonia Saltwater Criteria  

Total Ammonia Nitrogen (mg N/L)  
Salinity = 10 g/kg  

  Temperature °C 

pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 

7.00 231.9 159.8 110.1 75.88 52.31 36.08 24.91 17.21 

7.20 146.4 100.9 69.54 47.95 33.08 22.84 15.79 10.93 

7.40 92.45 63.73 43.94 30.32 20.94 14.48 10.03 6.97 

7.60 58.40 40.28 27.80 19.20 13.28 9.21 6.40 4.47 

7.80 36.92 25.48 17.61 12.19 8.45 5.88 4.11 2.89 

8.00 23.37 16.15 11.18 7.76 5.40 3.78 2.66 1.89 

8.20 14.81 10.26 7.13 4.97 3.48 2.46 1.75 1.27 

8.40 9.42 6.54 4.57 3.20 2.27 1.62 1.18 0.87 

8.60 6.01 4.20 2.95 2.09 1.50 1.09 0.81 0.62 

8.80 3.86 2.72 1.93 1.39 1.02 0.76 0.58 0.46 

9.00 2.51 1.79 1.29 0.95 0.71 0.55 0.44 0.36 

Salinity = 20 g/kg  

  Temperature °C 

pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 

7.00 247.6 170.5 117.5 80.98 55.83 38.51 26.58 18.36 

7.20 156.3 107.7 74.21 51.17 35.30 24.37 16.84 11.66 

7.40 98.67 68.01 46.90 32.35 22.34 15.44 10.70 7.43 

7.60 62.33 42.98 29.66 20.48 14.17 9.82 6.82 4.76 

7.80 39.40 27.19 18.78 13.00 9.01 6.26 4.37 3.07 

8.00 24.93 17.23 11.92 8.27 5.76 4.02 2.83 2.01 

8.20 15.80 10.94 7.59 5.29 3.70 2.61 1.86 1.34 

8.40 10.04 6.97 4.86 3.41 2.41 1.72 1.24 0.91 

8.60 6.41 4.47 3.14 2.22 1.59 1.15 0.85 0.65 

8.80 4.11 2.89 2.05 1.47 1.07 0.80 0.61 0.48 

9.00 2.67 1.90 1.36 1.00 0.75 0.57 0.46 0.37 
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Salinity = 30 g/kg  

  Temperature °C 

pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 

7.00 264.6 182.3 125.6 86.55 59.66 41.15 28.39 19.61 

7.20 167.0 115.1 79.31 54.68 37.71 26.03 17.99 12.45 

7.40 105.5 72.68 50.11 34.57 23.87 16.50 11.42 7.92 

7.60 66.61 45.93 31.69 21.88 15.13 10.48 7.28 5.07 

7.80 42.10 29.05 20.07 13.88 9.62 6.68 4.66 3.27 

8.00 26.63 18.40 12.73 8.83 6.14 4.29 3.01 2.13 

8.20 16.88 11.68 8.10 5.64 3.94 2.78 1.97 1.42 

8.40 10.72 7.44 5.18 3.63 2.56 1.82 1.31 0.96 

8.60 6.83 4.77 3.34 2.36 1.69 1.22 0.90 0.68 

8.80 4.38 3.08 2.18 1.56 1.13 0.84 0.64 0.50 

9.00 2.84 2.01 1.45 1.06 0.79 0.60 0.47 0.39 

To calculate total ammonia nitrogen acute criteria values in saltwater at different pH and temperature values than those listed 
in this subsection, use the following formulas:  

I = 
19.9273S 

(1000 - 1.005109S) 

Where I = molal ionic strength of water  

S = Salinity ppt (g/kg)  

The regression model used to relate I to pKa (negative log of the ionization constant) is  

pKa = 9.245 + 0.138(I) 

pKa as defined by these equations is at 298 degrees Kelvin (25°C).  

T °Kelvin = °C + 273  

To correct for other temperatures:  

pKaS
T = pKaS

298 + 0.0324(298 - T °Kelvin) 

The unionized ammonia fraction (UIA) is given by:  

UIA =  
1 

1 + 10(pKaS
T-pH) 

The acute ammonia criterion in saltwater is given by:  

Acute =  
0.233 

UIA 

Multiply the acute value by 0.822 to get the ammonia-N acute criterion.  

E. F. The 30-day average concentration of total ammonia nitrogen (in mg N/L) in saltwater shall not exceed, more than once 
every three years on the average, the chronic criteria [ below in the following table ]:  
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Chronic Ammonia Saltwater Criteria  

Total Ammonia Nitrogen (mg N/L)  
Salinity = 10 g/kg  

  Temperature °C 

pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 

7.00 34.84 24.00 16.54 11.40 7.86 5.42 3.74 2.59 

7.20 21.99 15.15 10.45 7.20 4.97 3.43 2.37 1.64 

7.40 13.89 9.57 6.60 4.55 3.15 2.18 1.51 1.05 

7.60 8.77 6.05 4.18 2.88 2.00 1.38 0.96 0.67 

7.80 5.55 3.83 2.65 1.83 1.27 0.88 0.62 0.43 

8.00 3.51 2.43 1.68 1.17 0.81 0.57 0.40 0.28 

8.20 2.23 1.54 1.07 0.75 0.52 0.37 0.26 0.19 

8.40 1.41 0.98 0.69 0.48 0.34 0.24 0.18 0.13 

8.60 0.90 0.63 0.44 0.31 0.23 0.16 0.12 0.09 

8.80 0.58 0.41 0.29 0.21 0.15 0.11 0.09 0.07 

9.00 0.38 0.27 0.19 0.14 0.11 0.08 0.07 0.05 

Salinity = 20 g/kg    

  Temperature °C   

pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35   

7.00 37.19 25.62 17.65 12.16 8.39 5.78 3.99 2.76   

7.20 23.47 16.17 11.15 7.69 5.30 3.66 2.53 1.75   

7.40 14.82 10.22 7.04 4.86 3.36 2.32 1.61 1.12   

7.60 9.36 6.46 4.46 3.08 2.13 1.47 1.02 0.71   

7.80 5.92 4.08 2.82 1.95 1.35 0.94 0.66 0.46   

8.00 3.74 2.59 1.79 1.24 0.86 0.60 0.43 0.30   

8.20 2.37 1.64 1.14 0.79 0.56 0.39 0.28 0.20   

8.40 1.51 1.05 0.73 0.51 0.36 0.26 0.19 0.14   

8.60 0.96 0.67 0.47 0.33 0.24 0.17 0.13 0.10   

8.80 0.62 0.43 0.31 0.22 0.16 0.12 0.09 0.07   

9.00 0.40 0.28 0.20 0.15 0.11 0.09 0.07 0.06   

Salinity = 30 g/kg    

  Temperature °C   

pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35   

7.00 39.75 27.38 18.87 13.00 8.96 6.18 4.27 2.95   

7.20 25.09 17.29 11.91 8.21 5.67 3.91 2.70 1.87   

7.40 15.84 10.92 7.53 5.19 3.59 2.48 1.72 1.19   
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7.60 10.01 6.90 4.76 3.29 2.27 1.57 1.09 0.76   

7.80 6.32 4.36 3.01 2.08 1.44 1.00 0.70 0.49   

8.00 4.00 2.76 1.91 1.33 0.92 0.64 0.45 0.32   

8.20 2.53 1.75 1.22 0.85 0.59 0.42 0.30 0.21   

8.40 1.61 1.12 0.78 0.55 0.38 0.27 0.20 0.14   

8.60 1.03 0.72 0.50 0.35 0.25 0.18 0.14 0.10   

8.80 0.66 0.46 0.33 0.23 0.17 0.13 0.10 0.08   

9.00 0.43 0.30 0.22 0.16 0.12 0.09 0.07 0.06   

To calculate total ammonia nitrogen chronic criteria values in saltwater at different pH and temperature values than those 
listed in this subsection, use the following formulas:  

I = 
19.9273S 

(1000 - 1.005109S) 

Where I = molal ionic strength of water  

S = Salinity ppt (g/kg)  

The regression model used to relate I to pKa (negative log of the ionization constant) is  

pKa = 9.245 + 0.138(I) 

pKa as defined by these equations is at 298 degrees Kelvin (25°C).  

T °Kelvin = °C + 273  

To correct for other temperatures:  

pKaS
T = pKaS

298 + 0.0324(298 - T °Kelvin) 

The unionized ammonia fraction (UIA) is given by:  

UIA =  
1 

1 + 10(pKaS
T-pH) 

The chronic ammonia criterion in saltwater is given by:  

Chronic =  
 0.035 

UIA 

Multiply the chronic value by 0.822 to get the ammonia-N chronic criterion.  

[ 1The default design flow for calculating steady state wasteload allocations for the acute ammonia criterion for freshwater is 

the 1Q10 (see 9VAC25-260-140 B footnote 10  unless statistically valid methods are employed which demonstrate 
compliance with the duration and return frequency of the water quality criteria. 

2The default design flow for calculating steady state wasteload allocations for the chronic ammonia criterion for freshwater is 

the 30Q10 (see 9VAC25-260-140 B footnote 10 unless statistically valid methods are employed which demonstrate 
compliance with the duration and return frequency of the water quality criteria. ] 

G. [ Implementation of ammonia criteria through Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permits. The 

ammonia criteria in subsections A, B, and C of this section shall be addressed during individual VPDES permit reissuance for 

existing dischargers subject to new or more restrictive water quality-based ammonia effluent limits in accordance with the 
department's standard permitting practices except as follows: 

1. Notwithstanding any other regulatory requirement, a compliance schedule may be established that exceeds the term of the 

permit, subject to a demonstration by the permittee that a longer period is necessary to allow a reasonable opportunity to 
attain compliance with the new or more restrictive ammonia discharge requirements. The department's consideration for such 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 22, 2020 

2357 

a demonstration shall be made on a case-by-case basis and shall require compliance as soon as possible, but not later than the 
applicable statutory deadline under the Clean Water Act. 

2. Information to be provided under subdivision 1 of this subsection may include such factors as (i) opportunities to 

minimize costs to the public or facility owners by phasing in the implementation of multiple projects, (ii) time needed for 
freshwater mussel habitat determinations, and (iii) other relevant factors. 

3. If a permit establishes a schedule of compliance that exceeds the term of the permit, the compliance schedule shall set 

forth interim requirements and the dates for their achievement. 

a. The time between interim dates shall not exceed one year. 

b. If the time necessary for completion of any interim requirement is more than one year and is not readily divisible into 

stages for completion, the permit shall specify interim dates for the submission of reports of progress toward completion of 
the interim requirements and indicate a projected completion date. 

c. The permit shall be written to require that no later than 14 days following each interim date and the final date of 

compliance, the permittee shall notify the department in writing of its compliance or noncompliance with the interim or 
final requirements, or submit progress reports if subdivision 3 b of this subsection is applicable. 

d. Any change to an interim compliance date in the schedule of compliance will be deemed to be a minor modification of 

the permit, provided the new date is not more than 120 days after the date specified in the existing permit and does not 
interfere with attainment of the final compliance date requirement. 

Implementation of freshwater ammonia water quality criteria in subsections B and C of this section through VPDES permits 

issued pursuant to Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31).  

1. The criteria in subsections B and C of this section shall be implemented in VPDES permits that are being reissued to 
facilities in accordance with the following schedule:  

a. Major municipal facilities with design flows greater than or equal to five million gallons per day and major industrial 
facilities - 12 months following the Water Quality Standards effective date.  

b. Municipal facilities with design flows greater than or equal to 500,000 gallons per day and less than five million gallons 
per day and all minor industrial facilities - 24 months following the Water Quality Standards effective date. 

c. Minor municipal facilities with design flows that are less than 500,000 gallons per day - 36 months following the Water 
Quality Standards effective date. 

2. VPDES permits shall not be revoked and reissued to avoid or delay being subject to the freshwater ammonia water quality 

criteria in subsections B and C of this section in accordance with the schedule in subdivision G 1 of this section. 

3. The provisions of 9VAC25-31-250 A 3 notwithstanding, a permittee may request and the board may authorize, as 

appropriate, an extended schedule of compliance, which exceeds the term of the VPDES permit and may include multiple 
permit cycles to achieve effluent limits based on the freshwater ammonia water quality criteria in subsections B and C of this 
section.  

a. Any extended schedule of compliance necessary for the implementation of the freshwater ammonia water quality criteria 

shall require compliance as soon as possible in accordance with 9VAC25-31-250 A 1. The board may consider the 

following factors on a case-by-case basis, relying on information provided by the permittee, in making a determination of 
the timeframe that meets the standard of "as soon as possible": 

(1) The relative priority of freshwater ammonia water quality criteria and other water quality and water infrastructure needs 
of the local community or permittee; 

(2) Availability of grant funding pursuant to § 10.1-2131 of the Code of Virginia and other treatment facility expansion and 

upgrade plans; 

(3) Whether an extended schedule of compliance is appropriate for facilities or classes of facilities; and 

(4) Appropriate mechanisms to address affordability limitations and financial hardship situations remaining 
notwithstanding subdivisions G 1 a, G 1 b, and G 1 c of this section. 

b. Any request by the permittee for an extended schedule of compliance shall include at the time of permit application at a 
minimum the following information: 
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(1) Documentation of other water quality and water infrastructure projects that are in the planning, design, or construction 

process and the relative priority of the projects in relation to compliance with the freshwater ammonia water quality 
criteria. 

(2) A preliminary engineering analysis of treatment facility upgrade or source reduction alternatives necessary to meet the 

freshwater ammonia criteria. The analysis may include any additional upgrade or expansion plans currently under 

consideration. The analysis shall be prepared by a professional engineer registered in Virginia and shall include an 
estimation of the capital and operations and maintenance costs.  

(3) An assessment of project affordability and identification of all potential sources of funding for enhanced ammonia 

treatment. In the case of publicly owned treatment works, include an evaluation of the required sewer use fees versus 
median household income. 

(4) Documentation that demonstrates the minimum estimated time required and schedule to design, fund, and construct the 
selected treatment or source reduction alternative. 

(5) An evaluation prepared by a professional engineer registered in Virginia of the highest achievable condition (HAC) 

regarding nitrification capabilities of the existing treatment facility under the influent loading conditions expected during 
the term of the VPDES permit as well as under design loading conditions. 

c. Any VPDES permit that authorizes an extended schedule of compliance for meeting the freshwater ammonia water 

quality criteria that exceeds the permit term shall include interim effluent limitations based on the HAC attainable during 
the term of the permit, final effluent limitations, and a final compliance date.  

d. New dischargers defined in 9VAC25-31 are not eligible for extended schedules of compliance under this section; 

however, they remain eligible for schedules of compliance consistent with 9VAC25-31-250. 

A permittee may seek a site-specific modification or variance to the freshwater ammonia water quality criteria under 
9VAC25-260-140 D or E as applicable. ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5530; Filed June 2, 2020, 8:30 a.m.  

Withdrawal of Forms Action 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-210. Virginia Water 

Protection Permit Program Regulation. 

9VAC25-660. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 

for Impacts Less Than One-Half Acre.  

9VAC25-670. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 

for Facilities and Activities of Utility and Public Service 

Companies Regulated by the Federal Energy Regulatory 

Commission or the State Corporation Commission and 

Other Utility Line Activities.  

9VAC25-680. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 

for Linear Transportation Projects.  

9VAC25-690. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 

for Impacts from Development and Certain Mining 

Activities. 

The State Water Control Board has WITHDRAWN the 

Forms revision action that was published in 36:21 VA.R. 

2298 June 8, 2020. This action would have amended two 

forms. The action is being withdrawn because the State Water 

Control Board will be updating additional forms for these 

chapters and incorporating the updated forms from this action 

into that future consolidated Forms revision action. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
698-4103, or email gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6373; Filed June 3, 2020, 11:05 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 

for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (amending 12VAC35-

105-20, 12VAC35-105-30, 12VAC35-105-50, 12VAC35-

105-120, 12VAC35-105-150, 12VAC35-105-155, 

12VAC35-105-160, 12VAC35-105-170, 12VAC35-105-320, 

12VAC35-105-330, 12VAC35-105-400, 12VAC35-105-440, 

12VAC35-105-450, 12VAC35-105-460, 12VAC35-105-500, 

12VAC35-105-520, 12VAC35-105-530, 12VAC35-105-580, 

12VAC35-105-590, 12VAC35-105-620, 12VAC35-105-650, 

12VAC35-105-660, 12VAC35-105-665, 12VAC35-105-675, 

12VAC35-105-691, 12VAC35-105-800, 12VAC35-105-830, 

12VAC35-105-1140, 12VAC35-105-1250, 12VAC35-105-

1360; adding 12VAC35-105-1245).  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=8038
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=8038
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
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Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-302 and 37.2-400 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Emily Bowles, Legal Coordinator, Office of 

Licensing, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 1797, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-3281, FAX (804) 

692-0066, TTY (804) 371-8977, or email 
emily.bowles@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action addresses several items necessary 

for compliance with the U.S. Department of Justice's 

Settlement Agreement with Virginia, including facilitating 

the submission of necessary information by providers after 

a serious incident occurs, establishing the required quality 

and risk management processes, and strengthening case 
management services. 

The amendments to provider provisions include requiring 

(i) the person leading risk management activities to have 
certain training and experience in investigations, root 

cause analysis, and data analysis; (ii) annual risk 

assessments, to include review of the environment, staff 

competence, seclusion and restraint, serious incidents, and 

risk triggers and thresholds; (iii) policies and procedures 

for a quality improvement program that includes a quality 

improvement plan reviewed and updated at least annually; 

(iv) a root cause analysis of serious incidents that occur 

during the provision of a service or on the provider's 

premises; and (v) case management direct assessments. 

The amendments also establish three levels of patient 
incidents to improve reporting of serious incidents. 

Changes to the proposed regulation were made for 

consistency, clarification purposes, and for improved 
organization.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Article 2  

Definitions  

12VAC35-105-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Abuse" (§ 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia) means any act 

or failure to act by an employee or other person responsible 

for the care of an individual in a facility or program operated, 

licensed, or funded by the department, excluding those 

operated by the Virginia Department of Corrections, that was 

performed or was failed to be performed knowingly, 

recklessly, or intentionally, and that caused or might have 

caused physical or psychological harm, injury, or death to a 

person an individual receiving care or treatment for mental 

illness, mental retardation (intellectual disability) 

developmental disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use 
disorders). Examples of abuse include acts such as:  

1. Rape, sexual assault, or other criminal sexual behavior;  

2. Assault or battery;  

3. Use of language that demeans, threatens, intimidates, or 
humiliates the person individual;  

4. Misuse or misappropriation of the person's individual's 
assets, goods, or property;  

5. Use of excessive force when placing a person an 
individual in physical or mechanical restraint;  

6. Use of physical or mechanical restraints on a person an 

individual that is not in compliance with federal and state 

laws, regulations, and policies, professional accepted 

standards of practice, or the person's his individualized 
services plan; or 

7. Use of more restrictive or intensive services or denial of 

services to punish the person an individual or that is not 

consistent with the person's his individualized services 
plan.  

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

activities and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, 

toileting, grooming, hygiene, feeding, and eating. An 

individual's degree of independence in performing these 

activities is part of determining the appropriate level of care 
and services.  

"Admission" means the process of acceptance into a service 

as defined by the provider's policies.  

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by 

law or 12VAC35-115 to authorize the disclosure of 

information or consent to treatment and services or 
participation in human research. 

"Behavior intervention" means those principles and methods 

employed by a provider to help an individual receiving 

services to achieve a positive outcome and to address 

challenging behavior in a constructive and safe manner. 

Behavior intervention principles and methods must shall be 

employed in accordance with the individualized services plan 

and written policies and procedures governing service 
expectations, treatment goals, safety, and security.  

"Behavioral treatment plan," "functional plan," or 

"behavioral support plan" means any set of documented 

procedures that are an integral part of the individualized 

services plan and are developed on the basis of a systematic 

data collection, such as a functional assessment, for the 
purpose of assisting individuals to achieve the following: 
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1. Improved behavioral functioning and effectiveness; 

2. Alleviation of symptoms of psychopathology; or 

3. Reduction of challenging behaviors. 

"Brain injury" means any injury to the brain that occurs after 

birth, but before age 65, that is acquired through traumatic or 

nontraumatic insults. Nontraumatic insults may include 

anoxia, hypoxia, aneurysm, toxic exposure, encephalopathy, 

surgical interventions, tumor, and stroke. Brain injury does 
not include hereditary, congenital, or degenerative brain 
disorders or injuries induced by birth trauma.  

"Care" or "treatment" "Care," "treatment," or "support" 

means the individually planned therapeutic interventions that 

conform to current acceptable professional practice and that 

are intended to improve or maintain functioning of an 
individual receiving services delivered by a provider. 

"Case management service" or "support coordination 

service" means services that can include assistance to 

individuals and their family members in assessing accessing 

needed services that are responsive to the person's individual 
individual's needs. Case management services include 

identifying potential users of the service; assessing needs and 

planning services; linking the individual to services and 

supports; assisting the individual directly to locate, develop, 

or obtain needed services and resources; coordinating services 

with other providers; enhancing community integration; 

making collateral contacts; monitoring service delivery; 

discharge planning; and advocating for individuals in 

response to their changing needs. "Case management service" 

does not include assistance in which the only function is 

maintaining service waiting lists or periodically contacting or 
tracking individuals to determine potential service needs.  

"Clinical experience" means providing direct services to 

individuals with mental illness or the provision of direct 

geriatric services or special education services. Experience 

may include supervised internships, practicums, and field 
experience.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services. 

"Community gero-psychiatric residential services" means 

24-hour care provided to individuals with mental illness, 

behavioral problems, and concomitant health problems who 
are usually age 65 or older in a geriatric setting that is less 

intensive than a psychiatric hospital but more intensive than a 

nursing home or group home. Services include assessment 

and individualized services planning by an interdisciplinary 

services team, intense supervision, psychiatric care, 

behavioral treatment planning and behavior interventions, 
nursing, and other health related services.  

"Community intermediate care facility/mental retardation" 

or "ICF/MR" means a residential facility in which care is 

provided to individuals who have mental retardation 

(intellectual disability) or a developmental disability who 

need more intensive training and supervision than may be 

available in an assisted living facility or group home. Such 

facilities shall comply with Title XIX of the Social Security 

Act standards and federal certification requirements, provide 

health or rehabilitative services, and provide active treatment 

to individuals receiving services toward the achievement of a 
more independent level of functioning or an improved quality 
of life.  

"Complaint" means an allegation of a violation of this 

chapter or a provider's policies and procedures related to this 
chapter.  

"Co-occurring disorders" means the presence of more than 

one and often several of the following disorders that are 

identified independently of one another and are not simply a 

cluster of symptoms resulting from a single disorder: mental 

illness, mental retardation (intellectual disability) a 

developmental disability, or substance abuse (substance use 
disorders);, or brain injury; or developmental disability. 

"Co-occurring services" means individually planned 

therapeutic treatment that addresses in an integrated 

concurrent manner the service needs of individuals who have 
co-occurring disorders.  

"Corrective action plan" means the provider's pledged 

corrective action in response to cited areas of noncompliance 

documented by the regulatory authority. A corrective action 
plan must be completed within a specified time.  

"Correctional facility" means a facility operated under the 

management and control of the Virginia Department of 
Corrections.  

"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation often 

developing suddenly or rapidly that produces acute, 

heightened, emotional, mental, physical, medical, or 

behavioral distress or any situation or circumstance in which 

the individual perceives or experiences a sudden loss of the 

individual's ability to use effective problem-solving and 
coping skills.  

"Crisis stabilization" means direct, intensive nonresidential 

or residential direct care and treatment to nonhospitalized 

individuals experiencing an acute crisis that may jeopardize 

their current community living situation. Crisis stabilization is 
intended to avert hospitalization or rehospitalization; provide 

normative environments with a high assurance of safety and 

security for crisis intervention; stabilize individuals in crisis; 

and mobilize the resources of the community support system, 

family members, and others for ongoing rehabilitation and 
recovery.  

"Day support service" means structured programs of activity 

or training services training, assistance, and specialized 

supervision in the acquisition, retention, or improvement of 
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self-help, socialization, and adaptive skills for adults with an 

intellectual disability or a developmental disability, generally 

in clusters of two or more continuous hours per day provided 

to groups or individuals in nonresidential community-based 

settings. Day support services may provide opportunities for 

peer interaction and community integration and are designed 

to enhance the following: self-care and hygiene, eating, 

toileting, task learning, community resource utilization, 
environmental and behavioral skills, social skills, medication 

management, prevocational skills, and transportation skills. 

The term "day support service" does not include services in 

which the primary function is to provide employment-related 

services, general educational services, or general recreational 
services.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services.  

"Developmental disabilities" disability" means autism or a 

severe, chronic disability that meets all of the following 

conditions identified in 42 CFR 435.1009: 1. Attributable to 
cerebral palsy, epilepsy, or any other condition, other than 

mental illness, that is found to be closely related to mental 

retardation (intellectual disability) because this condition 

results in impairment of general intellectual functioning or 

adaptive behavior similar to behavior of individuals with 

mental retardation (intellectual disability) and requires 

treatment or services similar to those required for these 

individuals; 2. Manifested before the individual reaches age 

18; 3. Likely to continue indefinitely; and 4. Results in 

substantial functional limitations in three or more of the 

following areas of major life activity: a. Self-care; b. 

Understanding and use of language; c. Learning; d. Mobility; 
e. Self-direction; or f. Capacity for independent living of an 

individual that (i) is attributable to a mental or physical 

impairment or a combination of mental and physical 

impairments other than a sole diagnosis of mental illness; (ii) 

is manifested before the individual reaches 22 years of age; 

(iii) is likely to continue indefinitely; (iv) results in 

substantial functional limitations in three or more of the 

following areas of major life activity: self-care, receptive and 

expressive language, learning, mobility, self-direction, 

capacity for independent living, or economic self-sufficiency; 

and (v) reflects the individual's need for a combination and 
sequence of special interdisciplinary or generic services, 

individualized supports, or other forms of assistance that are 

of lifelong or extended duration and are individually planned 

and coordinated. An individual from birth to nine years of 

age, inclusive, who has a substantial developmental delay or 

specific congenital or acquired condition may be considered 

to have a developmental disability without meeting three or 

more of the criteria described in clauses (i) through (v) if the 

individual without services and supports has a high 
probability of meeting those criteria later in life. 

"Developmental services" means planned, individualized, 

and person-centered services and supports provided to 

individuals with developmental disabilities for the purpose of 

enabling these individuals to increase their self-determination 

and independence, obtain employment, participate fully in all 

aspects of community life, advocate for themselves, and 
achieve their fullest potential to the greatest extent possible. 

"Direct care position" means any position that includes 

responsibility for (i) treatment, case management, health, 

safety, development, or well-being of an individual receiving 
services or (ii) immediately supervising a person in a position 
with this responsibility. 

"Discharge" means the process by which the individual's 

active involvement with a service is terminated by the 
provider, individual, or authorized representative.  

"Discharge plan" means the written plan that establishes the 

criteria for an individual's discharge from a service and 

identifies and coordinates delivery of any services needed 
after discharge.  

"Dispense" means to deliver a drug to an ultimate user by or 

pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the 
prescribing and administering, packaging, labeling, or 

compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that 
delivery (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Emergency service" means unscheduled and sometimes 

scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, and referral 

assistance provided over the telephone or face-to-face, if 

indicated, available 24 hours a day and seven days per week. 

Emergency services also may include walk-ins, home visits, 

jail interventions, and preadmission screening activities 
associated with the judicial process.  

"Group home or community residential service" means a 

congregate service providing 24-hour supervision in a 
community-based home having eight or fewer residents. 

Services include supervision, supports, counseling, and 

training in activities of daily living for individuals whose 

individualized services plan identifies the need for the 
specific types of services available in this setting.  

"HCBS Waiver" means a Medicaid Home and Community 
Based Services Waiver. 

"Home and noncenter based" means that a service is 

provided in the individual's home or other noncenter-based 

setting. This includes noncenter-based day support, 
supportive in-home, and intensive in-home services.  

"IFDDS Waiver" means the Individual and Family 
Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver.  

"Individual" or "individual receiving services" means a 

person receiving services that are licensed under this chapter 

whether that person is referred to as a patient, consumer, 

client, resident, student, individual, recipient, family member, 

relative, or other term current direct recipient of public or 

private mental health, developmental, or substance abuse 
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treatment, rehabilitation, or habilitation services and includes 

the terms "consumer," "patient," "resident," "recipient," or 

"client". When the term is used in this chapter, the 

requirement applies to every individual receiving licensed 
services from the provider.  

"Individualized services plan" or "ISP" means a 

comprehensive and regularly updated written plan that 

describes the individual's needs, the measurable goals and 
objectives to address those needs, and strategies to reach the 

individual's goals. An ISP is person-centered, empowers the 

individual, and is designed to meet the needs and preferences 

of the individual. The ISP is developed through a partnership 

between the individual and the provider and includes an 

individual's treatment plan, habilitation plan, person-centered 

plan, or plan of care, which are all considered individualized 
service plans.  

"Informed choice" means a decision made after considering 

options based on adequate and accurate information and 

knowledge. These options are developed through 
collaboration with the individual and his authorized 

representative, as applicable, and the provider with the intent 

of empowering the individual and his authorized 

representative to make decisions that will lead to positive 
service outcomes.  

"Informed consent" means the voluntary written agreement 

of an individual, or that individual's authorized representative, 

to surgery, electroconvulsive treatment, use of psychotropic 

medications, or any other treatment or service that poses a 

risk of harm greater than that ordinarily encountered in daily 

life or for participation in human research. To be voluntary, 

informed consent must be given freely and without undue 
inducement; any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress; or 
any form of constraint or coercion. 

"Initial assessment" means an assessment conducted prior to 

or at admission to determine whether the individual meets the 

service's admission criteria; what the individual's immediate 

service, health, and safety needs are; and whether the provider 
has the capability and staffing to provide the needed services. 

"Inpatient psychiatric service" means intensive 24-hour 

medical, nursing, and treatment services provided to 

individuals with mental illness or substance abuse (substance 

use disorders) in a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the 
Code of Virginia or in a special unit of such a hospital.  

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 

money. A person's degree of independence in performing 

these activities is part of determining appropriate level of care 
and services.  

"Intellectual disability" means a disability originating before 

18 years of age, characterized concurrently by (i) significant 

subaverage intellectual functioning as demonstrated by 

performance on a standardized measure of intellectual 

functioning administered in conformity with accepted 

professional practice that is at least two standard deviations 

below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in adaptive 

behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and practical 
adaptive skills. 

"Intensive community treatment service" or "ICT" means a 

self-contained interdisciplinary team of at least five full-time 

equivalent clinical staff, a program assistant, and a full-time 
psychiatrist that:  

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 

treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 

individuals with severe and persistent mental illness, 

especially those who have severe symptoms that are not 

effectively remedied by available treatments or who 

because of reasons related to their mental illness resist or 
avoid involvement with mental health services;  

2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service 

providers;  

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 

continuity of caregivers over time;  

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 
offices; and  

5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 
individualization of services.  

"Intensive in-home service" means family preservation 

interventions for children and adolescents who have or are at-

risk of serious emotional disturbance, including individuals 

who also have a diagnosis of mental retardation (intellectual 

disability) developmental disability. Intensive in-home 

service is usually time-limited and is provided typically in the 

residence of an individual who is at risk of being moved to 
out-of-home placement or who is being transitioned back 

home from an out-of-home placement. The service includes 

24-hour per day emergency response; crisis treatment; 

individual and family counseling; life, parenting, and 

communication skills; and case management and coordination 
with other services.  

"Intermediate care facility/individuals with intellectual 

disability" or "ICF/IID" means a facility or distinct part of a 

facility certified by the Virginia Department of Health as 

meeting the federal certification regulations for an 

intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual 
disability and persons with related conditions and that 

addresses the total needs of the residents, which include 

physical, intellectual, social, emotional, and habilitation, 

providing active treatment as defined in 42 CFR 435.1010 
and 42 CFR 483.440.  

"Investigation" means a detailed inquiry or systematic 

examination of the operations of a provider or its services 

regarding an alleged violation of regulations or law. An 

investigation may be undertaken as a result of a complaint, an 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 22, 2020 

2363 

incident report, or other information that comes to the 
attention of the department.  

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means a 

physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed 

professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner, licensed 

marriage and family therapist, certified psychiatric clinical 

nurse specialist, licensed behavior analyst, or licensed 
psychiatric/mental health nurse practitioner.  

"Location" means a place where services are or could be 
provided. 

"Medically managed withdrawal services" means 

detoxification services to eliminate or reduce the effects of 
alcohol or other drugs in the individual's body. 

"Mandatory outpatient treatment order" means an order 

issued by a court pursuant to § 37.2-817 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Medical detoxification" means a service provided in a 

hospital or other 24-hour care facility under the supervision of 
medical personnel using medication to systematically 

eliminate or reduce effects of alcohol or other drugs in the 
individual's body.  

"Medical evaluation" means the process of assessing an 

individual's health status that includes a medical history and a 

physical examination of an individual conducted by a 

licensed medical practitioner operating within the scope of his 
license.  

"Medication" means prescribed or over-the-counter drugs or 

both.  

"Medication administration" means the direct application of 

medications by injection, inhalation, ingestion, or any other 
means to an individual receiving services by (i) persons 

legally permitted to administer medications or (ii) the 

individual at the direction and in the presence of persons 
legally permitted to administer medications.  

"Medication assisted treatment (Opioid treatment service)" 

means an intervention strategy that combines outpatient 

treatment with the administering or dispensing of synthetic 

narcotics, such as methadone or buprenorphine (suboxone), 

approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration for 

the purpose of replacing the use of and reducing the craving 
for opioid substances, such as heroin or other narcotic drugs.  

"Medication error" means an error in administering a 

medication to an individual and includes when any of the 

following occur: (i) the wrong medication is given to an 

individual, (ii) the wrong individual is given the medication, 

(iii) the wrong dosage is given to an individual, (iv) 

medication is given to an individual at the wrong time or not 

at all, or (v) the wrong method is used to give the medication 
to the individual.  

"Medication storage" means any area where medications are 

maintained by the provider, including a locked cabinet, 
locked room, or locked box.  

"Mental Health Community Support Service (MHCSS)" or 

"MCHSS" means the provision of recovery-oriented services 

to individuals with long-term, severe mental illness. MHCSS 

includes skills training and assistance in accessing and 

effectively utilizing services and supports that are essential to 
meeting the needs identified in the individualized services 

plan and development of environmental supports necessary to 

sustain active community living as independently as possible. 

MHCSS may be provided in any setting in which the 

individual's needs can be addressed, skills training applied, 
and recovery experienced.  

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, 

emotion, perception, or orientation that significantly impairs 

judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to 

address basic life necessities and requires care and treatment 

for the health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the 
safety of others. 

"Mental retardation (intellectual disability)" means a 

disability originating before the age of 18 years characterized 

concurrently by (i) significantly subaverage intellectual 

functioning as demonstrated by performance on a 

standardized measure of intellectual functioning administered 

in conformity with accepted professional practice that is at 

least two standard deviations below the mean; and (ii) 

significant limitations in adaptive behavior as expressed in 

conceptual, social, and practical adaptive skills (§ 37.2-100 of 
the Code of Virginia).  

"Missing" means a circumstance in which an individual is 

not physically present when and where he should be and his 

absence cannot be accounted for or explained by his 
supervision needs or pattern of behavior. 

"Neglect" means the failure by an individual a person, or a 

program or facility operated, licensed, or funded by the 

department, excluding those operated by the Department of 

Corrections, responsible for providing services to do so, 

including nourishment, treatment, care, goods, or services 

necessary to the health, safety, or welfare of a person an 

individual receiving care or treatment for mental illness, 

mental retardation (intellectual disability) developmental 
disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use disorders).  

"Neurobehavioral services" means the assessment, 

evaluation, and treatment of cognitive, perceptual, behavioral, 

and other impairments caused by brain injury that affect an 
individual's ability to function successfully in the community.  

"Outpatient service" means treatment provided to 

individuals on an hourly schedule, on an individual, group, or 

family basis, and usually in a clinic or similar facility or in 

another location. Outpatient services may include diagnosis 

and evaluation, screening and intake, counseling, 
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psychotherapy, behavior management, psychological testing 

and assessment, laboratory and other ancillary services, 

medical services, and medication services. "Outpatient 
service" specifically includes:  

1. Services operated by a community services board or a 

behavioral health authority established pursuant to Chapter 

5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of 
Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Services contracted by a community services board or a 

behavioral health authority established pursuant to Chapter 

5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of 
Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; or  

3. Services that are owned, operated, or controlled by a 

corporation organized pursuant to the provisions of either 

Chapter 9 (§ 13.1-601 et seq.) or Chapter 10 (§ 13.1-801 et 
seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Partial hospitalization service" means time-limited active 

treatment interventions that are more intensive than outpatient 

services, designed to stabilize and ameliorate acute 
symptoms, and serve as an alternative to inpatient 

hospitalization or to reduce the length of a hospital stay. 

Partial hospitalization is focused on individuals with serious 

mental illness, substance abuse (substance use disorders), or 

co-occurring disorders at risk of hospitalization or who have 
been recently discharged from an inpatient setting.  

"Person-centered" means focusing on the needs and 

preferences of the individual; empowering and supporting the 

individual in defining the direction for his life; and promoting 
self-determination, community involvement, and recovery. 

"Program of assertive community treatment service" or 

"PACT" means a self-contained interdisciplinary team of at 
least 10 full-time equivalent clinical staff, a program 
assistant, and a full- full-time or part-time psychiatrist that:  

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 

treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 

individuals with severe and persistent mental illnesses, 

including those who have severe symptoms that are not 

effectively remedied by available treatments or who 

because of reasons related to their mental illness resist or 
avoid involvement with mental health services; 

2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service 

providers;  

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 
continuity of caregivers over time;  

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 
offices; and  

5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 
individualization of services.  

"Provider" means any person, entity, or organization, 

excluding an agency of the federal government by whatever 

name or designation, that delivers (i) services to individuals 

with mental illness, mental retardation (intellectual disability) 

developmental disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use 

disorders), or (ii) services to individuals who receive day 

support, in-home support, or crisis stabilization services 

funded through the IFDDS Waiver, or (iii) residential services 
for individuals with brain injury. The person, entity, or 

organization shall include a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 

of the Code of Virginia, community services board, 

behavioral health authority, private provider, and any other 

similar or related person, entity, or organization. It shall not 

include any individual practitioner who holds a license issued 

by a health regulatory board of the Department of Health 

Professions or who is exempt from licensing pursuant to 

§§ 54.1-2901, 54.1-3001, 54.1-3501, 54.1-3601, and 54.1-
3701 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Psychosocial rehabilitation service" means a program of 

two or more consecutive hours per day provided to groups of 

adults in a nonresidential setting. Individuals must 

demonstrate a clinical need for the service arising from a 

condition due to mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that 

results in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities. This service provides education to teach the 

individual about mental illness, substance abuse, and 

appropriate medication to avoid complication and relapse and 

opportunities to learn and use independent skills and to 

enhance social and interpersonal skills within a consistent 

program structure and environment. Psychosocial 

rehabilitation includes skills training, peer support, vocational 
rehabilitation, and community resource development oriented 
toward empowerment, recovery, and competency. 

"Qualified developmental disability professional" or 

"QDDP" means a person who possesses at least one year of 

documented experience working directly with individuals 

who have a developmental disability and who possesses one 

of the following credentials: (i) a doctor of medicine or 

osteopathy licensed in Virginia, (ii) a registered nurse 

licensed in Virginia, (iii) a licensed occupational therapist, or 

(iv) completion of at least a bachelor's degree in a human 

services field, including sociology, social work, special 
education, rehabilitation counseling, or psychology. 

[ "Quality improvement plan" means a detailed work plan 

developed by a provider that defines steps the provider will 

take to review the quality of services it provides and to 

manage initiatives to improve quality. A quality improvement 

plan consists of systematic and continuous actions that lead to 

measurable improvement in the services, supports, and health 
status of the individuals receiving services. ]  

"Qualified mental health professional" or "QMHP" means a 

person who by education and experience is professionally 

qualified and registered by the Board of Counseling in 
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accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide collaborative 

mental health services for adults or children. A QMHP shall 

not engage in independent or autonomous practice. A QMHP 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of the department or a provider licensed by the 
department. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means a person who by education and experience is 
professionally qualified and registered with the Board of 

Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide 

collaborative mental health services for adults. A QMHP-A 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of the department or a provider licensed by the 

department. A QMHP-A may be an occupational therapist 

who by education and experience is professionally qualified 

and registered with the Board of Counseling in accordance 
with 18VAC115-80. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means a person who by education and experience is 
professionally qualified and registered with the Board of 

Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide 

collaborative mental health services for children. A QMHP-C 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of the department or a provider licensed by the 

department. A QMHP-C may be an occupational therapist 

who by education and experience is professionally qualified 

and registered with the Board of Counseling in accordance 
with 18VAC115-80. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-

E" means a person receiving supervised training in order to 

qualify as a QMHP in accordance with 18VAC115-80 and 
who is registered with the Board of Counseling. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means a person who must meet at least one of the following 

criteria: (i) registered with the United States Psychiatric 

Association (USPRA) as an Associate Psychiatric 

Rehabilitation Provider (APRP); (ii) has an associate's degree 

in a related field (social work, psychology, psychiatric 

rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, vocational 

rehabilitation, human services counseling) and at least one 

year of experience providing direct services to individuals 

with a diagnosis of mental illness; (iii) licensed as an 
occupational therapy assistant, and supervised by a licensed 

occupational therapist, with at least one year of experience 

providing direct services to individuals with a diagnosis of 

mental illness; or (iv) has a minimum of 90 hours classroom 

training and 12 weeks of experience under the direct personal 

supervision of a QMHP-A providing services to individuals 

with mental illness and at least one year of experience 
(including the 12 weeks of supervised experience). 

[ "Quality improvement plan" means a detailed work plan 

developed by a provider that defines steps the provider will 

take to review the quality of services it provides and to 

manage initiatives to improve quality. A quality improvement 

plan consists of systematic and continuous actions that lead to 

measurable improvement in the services, supports, and health 
status of the individuals receiving services. ]  

"Recovery" means a journey of healing and transformation 

enabling an individual with a mental illness to live a 

meaningful life in a community of his choice while striving to 

achieve his full potential. For individuals with substance 
abuse (substance use disorders), recovery is an incremental 

process leading to positive social change and a full return to 

biological, psychological, and social functioning. For 

individuals with mental retardation (intellectual disability) a 

developmental disability, the concept of recovery does not 

apply in the sense that individuals with mental retardation 

(intellectual disability) a developmental disability will need 

supports throughout their entire lives although these may 

change over time. With supports, individuals with mental 

retardation (intellectual disability) a developmental disability 

are capable of living lives that are fulfilling and satisfying and 
that bring meaning to themselves and others whom they 
know. 

"Referral" means the process of directing an applicant or an 

individual to a provider or service that is designed to provide 
the assistance needed.  

"Residential crisis stabilization service" means (i) providing 

short-term, intensive treatment to nonhospitalized individuals 

who require multidisciplinary treatment in order to stabilize 

acute psychiatric symptoms and prevent admission to a 

psychiatric inpatient unit; (ii) providing normative 

environments with a high assurance of safety and security for 

crisis intervention; and (iii) mobilizing the resources of the 
community support system, family members, and others for 
ongoing rehabilitation and recovery.  

"Residential service" means providing 24-hour support in 

conjunction with care and treatment or a training program in a 

setting other than a hospital or training center. Residential 

services provide a range of living arrangements from highly 

structured and intensively supervised to relatively 

independent requiring a modest amount of staff support and 

monitoring. Residential services include residential treatment, 

group or community homes, supervised living, residential 

crisis stabilization, community gero-psychiatric residential, 
community intermediate care facility-MR ICF/IID, sponsored 

residential homes, medical and social detoxification, 

neurobehavioral services, and substance abuse residential 
treatment for women and children.  

"Residential treatment service" means providing an 

intensive and highly structured mental health, substance 

abuse, or neurobehavioral service, or services for co-

occurring disorders in a residential setting, other than an 
inpatient service. 
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"Respite care service" means providing for a short-term, 

time limited time-limited period of care of an individual for 

the purpose of providing relief to the individual's family, 

guardian, or regular care giver. Persons providing respite care 

are recruited, trained, and supervised by a licensed provider. 

These services may be provided in a variety of settings 

including residential, day support, in-home, or a sponsored 
residential home. 

"Restraint" means the use of a mechanical device, 

medication, physical intervention, or hands-on hold to 

prevent an individual receiving services from moving his 

body to engage in a behavior that places him or others at 
imminent risk. There are three kinds of restraints: 

1. Mechanical restraint means the use of a mechanical 

device that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict 

the individual's freedom of movement or functioning of a 

limb or portion of an individual's body when that behavior 
places him or others at imminent risk. 

2. Pharmacological restraint means the use of a medication 

that is administered involuntarily for the emergency 

control of an individual's behavior when that individual's 

behavior places him or others at imminent risk and the 

administered medication is not a standard treatment for the 
individual's medical or psychiatric condition. 

3. Physical restraint, also referred to as manual hold, means 

the use of a physical intervention or hands-on hold to 

prevent an individual from moving his body when that 
individual's behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Restraints for behavioral purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or a mechanical device to control behavior 

or involuntary restrict the freedom of movement of an 
individual in an instance when all of the following conditions 

are met: (i) there is an emergency; (ii) nonphysical 

interventions are not viable; and (iii) safety issues require an 
immediate response. 

"Restraints for medical purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or mechanical device to limit the mobility 

of an individual for medical, diagnostic, or surgical purposes, 

such as routine dental care or radiological procedures and 

related post-procedure care processes, when use of the 

restraint is not the accepted clinical practice for treating the 
individual's condition. 

"Restraints for protective purposes" means using a 

mechanical device to compensate for a physical or cognitive 

deficit when the individual does not have the option to 

remove the device. The device may limit an individual's 

movement, for example, bed rails or a gerichair, and prevent 

possible harm to the individual or it may create a passive 
barrier, such as a helmet to protect the individual. 

"Restriction" means anything that limits or prevents an 

individual from freely exercising his rights and privileges.  

"Risk management" means an integrated system-wide 

program to ensure the safety of individuals, employees, 

visitors, and others through identification, mitigation, early 
detection, monitoring, evaluation, and control of risks. 

"Root cause analysis" means a method of problem solving 

designed to identify the underlying causes of a problem. The 

focus of a root cause analysis is on systems, processes, and 
outcomes that require change to reduce the risk of harm. 

"Screening" means the process or procedure for determining 

whether the individual meets the minimum criteria for 
admission.  

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an 

individual alone in an area secured by a door that is locked or 

held shut by a staff person, by physically blocking the door, 

or by any other physical means so that the individual cannot 
leave it.  

"Serious incident" means any event or circumstance that 

causes or could cause harm to the health, safety, or well-being 

of an individual. The term "serious incident" includes death 
and serious injury.  

"Level I serious incident" means a serious incident that 

occurs or originates during the provision of a service or on 

the premises of the provider and does not meet the 

definition of a Level II or Level III serious incident. Level 

I serious incidents do not result in significant harm to 

individuals, but may include events that result in minor 

injuries that do not require medical attention or events that 

have the potential to cause serious injury, even when no 

injury occurs. "Level II serious incident" means a serious 

incident that occurs or originates during the provision of a 

service or on the premises of the provider that results in a 
significant harm or threat to the health and safety of an 

individual that does not meet the definition of a Level III 
serious incident.  

"Level II serious incident" includes a significant harm or 

threat to the health or safety of others caused by an 
individual. Level II serious incidents include:  

1. A serious injury;  

2. An individual who is or was missing;  

3. An emergency room visit;  

4. An unplanned psychiatric or unplanned medical 

hospital admission of an individual receiving services 
other than licensed emergency services [ , except that a 

psychiatric admission in accordance with the individual's 

Wellness Recovery Action Plan shall not constitute an 
unplanned admission for the purposes of this chapter ];  

5. Choking incidents that require direct physical 
intervention by another person; 

6. Ingestion of any hazardous material; or 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 22, 2020 

2367 

7. A diagnosis of: 

a. A decubitus ulcer or an increase in severity of level of 
previously diagnosed decubitus ulcer;  

b. A bowel obstruction; or 

c. Aspiration pneumonia. 

"Level III serious incident" means a serious incident 

whether or not the incident occurs while in the provision of 
a service or on the provider's premises and results in:  

1. Any death of an individual;  

2. A sexual assault of an individual; or 

3. A suicide attempt by an individual admitted for 

services, other than licensed emergency services, that 
results in a hospital admission. 

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 

damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 

licensed physician, doctor of osteopathic medicine, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner while the individual is 

supervised by or involved in services, such as attempted 

suicides, medication overdoses, or reactions from medications 
administered or prescribed by the service. 

"Service" means (i) planned individualized interventions 

intended to reduce or ameliorate mental illness, mental 

retardation (intellectual disability) developmental disabilities, 

or substance abuse (substance use disorders) through care, 

treatment, training, habilitation, or other supports that are 

delivered by a provider to individuals with mental illness, 

mental retardation (intellectual disability) developmental 

disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use disorders). 

Services include outpatient services, intensive in-home 

services, opioid treatment services, inpatient psychiatric 

hospitalization, community gero-psychiatric residential 
services, assertive community treatment and other clinical 

services; day support, day treatment, partial hospitalization, 

psychosocial rehabilitation, and habilitation services; case 

management services; and supportive residential, special 

school, halfway house, in-home services, crisis stabilization, 

and other residential services; and (ii) day support, in-home 

support, and crisis stabilization services provided to 

individuals under the IFDDS Waiver; and (iii) planned 

individualized interventions intended to reduce or ameliorate 

the effects of brain injury through care, treatment, or other 

supports or provided in residential services for persons with 
brain injury.  

"Shall" means an obligation to act is imposed.  

"Shall not" means an obligation not to act is imposed.  

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 

curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 

interventions. These interventions break down complex 

objectives for role performance into simpler components, 

including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 
learning and competency. 

"Social detoxification service" means providing nonmedical 

supervised care for the individual's natural process of 
withdrawal from use of alcohol or other drugs.  

"Sponsored residential home" means a service where 

providers arrange for, supervise, and provide programmatic, 

financial, and service support to families or persons 
(sponsors) providing care or treatment in their own homes for 
individuals receiving services.  

"State board" means the State Board of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services. The board has statutory 

responsibility for adopting regulations that may be necessary 

to carry out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and other laws of the Commonwealth administered 
by the commissioner or the department. 

"State methadone authority" means the Virginia Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services that is 

authorized by the federal Center for Substance Abuse 
Treatment to exercise the responsibility and authority for 

governing the treatment of opiate addiction with an opioid 
drug.  

"Substance abuse (substance use disorders)" means the use 

of drugs enumerated in the Virginia Drug Control Act 

(§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) without a compelling medical reason or 

alcohol that (i) results in psychological or physiological 

dependence or danger to self or others as a function of 

continued and compulsive use or (ii) results in mental, 

emotional, or physical impairment that causes socially 

dysfunctional or socially disordering behavior; and (iii), 

because of such substance abuse, requires care and treatment 
for the health of the individual. This care and treatment may 

include counseling, rehabilitation, or medical or psychiatric 
care.  

"Substance abuse intensive outpatient service" means 

treatment provided in a concentrated manner for two or more 

consecutive hours per day to groups of individuals in a 

nonresidential setting. This service is provided over a period 

of time for individuals requiring more intensive services than 

an outpatient service can provide. Substance abuse intensive 

outpatient services include multiple group therapy sessions 

during the week, individual and family therapy, individual 
monitoring, and case management.  

"Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 

children service" means a 24-hour residential service 

providing an intensive and highly structured substance abuse 
service for women with children who live in the same facility.  

"Suicide attempt" means a nonfatal, self-directed, potentially 

injurious behavior with an intent to die as a result of the 
behavior regardless of whether it results in injury. 
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"Supervised living residential service" means the provision 

of significant direct supervision and community support 

services to individuals living in apartments or other 

residential settings. These services differ from supportive in-

home service because the provider assumes responsibility for 

management of the physical environment of the residence, 

and staff supervision and monitoring are daily and available 

on a 24-hour basis. Services are provided based on the needs 
of the individual in areas such as food preparation, 

housekeeping, medication administration, personal hygiene, 
treatment, counseling, and budgeting.  

"Supportive in-home service" (formerly supportive 

residential) means the provision of community support 

services and other structured services to assist individuals, to 

strengthen individual skills, and that provide environmental 

supports necessary to attain and sustain independent 

community residential living. Services include drop-in or 

friendly-visitor support and counseling to more intensive 

support, monitoring, training, in-home support, respite care, 
and family support services. Services are based on the needs 

of the individual and include training and assistance. These 

services normally do not involve overnight care by the 

provider; however, due to the flexible nature of these 

services, overnight care may be provided on an occasional 
basis. 

"Systemic deficiency" means violations of regulations 

documented by the department that demonstrate multiple or 
repeat defects in the operation of one or more services. 

"Therapeutic day treatment for children and adolescents" 

means a treatment program that serves (i) children and 

adolescents from birth through age 17 years of age and under 
certain circumstances up to 21 years of age with serious 

emotional disturbances, substance use, or co-occurring 

disorders or (ii) children from birth through age seven years 

of age who are at risk of serious emotional disturbance, in 

order to combine psychotherapeutic interventions with 

education and mental health or substance abuse treatment. 

Services include: evaluation; medication education and 

management; opportunities to learn and use daily living skills 

and to enhance social and interpersonal skills; and individual, 
group, and family counseling. 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of an individual 

by a staff person from a source of reinforcement to a 

different, open location for a specified period of time or until 

the problem behavior has subsided to discontinue or reduce 
the frequency of problematic behavior.  

"Volunteer" means a person who, without financial 

remuneration, provides services to individuals on behalf of 
the provider.  

Part II  
Licensing Process  

12VAC35-105-30. Licenses. 

A. Licenses are issued to providers who offer services to 

individuals who have mental illness, mental retardation 

(intellectual disability) a developmental disability, or 

substance abuse (substance use disorders); have 

developmental disability and are served under the IFDDS 
Waiver; or have brain injury and are receiving residential 
services.  

B. Providers shall be licensed to provide specific services as 

defined in this chapter or as determined by the commissioner. 
These services include:  

1. Case management;  

2. Community gero-psychiatric residential;  

3. Community intermediate care facility-MR ICF/IID;  

4. Residential crisis stabilization;  

5. Nonresidential crisis stabilization; 

6. Day support;  

7. Day treatment, includes therapeutic day treatment for 
children and adolescents;  

8. Group home and community residential;  

9. Inpatient psychiatric;  

10. Intensive Community Treatment community treatment 
(ICT);  

11. Intensive in-home;  

12. Managed withdrawal, including medical detoxification 

and social detoxification;  

13. Mental health community support;  

14. Opioid treatment/medication assisted treatment;  

15. Emergency; 

16. Outpatient;  

17. Partial hospitalization;  

18. Program of assertive community treatment (PACT);  

19. Psychosocial rehabilitation;  

20. Residential treatment;  

21. Respite care;  

22. Sponsored residential home;  

23. Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 

children;  

24. Substance abuse intensive outpatient;  
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25. Supervised living residential; and  

26. Supportive in-home.  

C. A license addendum shall describe the services licensed, 

the disabilities of individuals who may be served, the specific 

locations where services are to be provided or administered, 

and the terms and conditions for each service offered by a 

licensed provider. For residential and inpatient services, the 

license identifies the number of individuals each residential 
location may serve at a given time. 

12VAC35-105-50. Issuance of licenses. 

A. The commissioner may issue the following types of 
licenses:  

1. A conditional license shall may be issued to a new 

provider for services that demonstrates compliance with 

administrative and policy regulations but has not 
demonstrated compliance with all the regulations.  

a. A conditional license shall not exceed six months.  

b. A conditional license may be renewed if the provider 

is not able to demonstrate compliance with all the 
regulations at the end of the license period. A conditional 

license and any renewals shall not exceed 12 successive 

months for all conditional licenses and renewals 
combined.  

c. A provider holding a conditional license for a service 
shall demonstrate progress toward compliance.  

d. A provider holding a conditional license shall not add 
services or locations during the conditional period. 

e. A group home or community residential service 

provider shall be limited to providing services in a single 

location, serving no more than four individuals during 
the conditional period.  

2. A provisional license may be issued to a provider for a 

service that has demonstrated an inability to maintain 

compliance with all applicable regulations, including this 

chapter and 12VAC35-115, has violations of human rights 

or licensing regulations that pose a threat to the health or 

safety of individuals being served receiving services, has 

multiple violations of human rights or licensing 

regulations, or has failed to comply with a previous 
corrective action plan.  

a. A provisional license may be issued at any time.  

b. The term of a provisional license shall not exceed six 

months.  

c. A provisional license may be renewed; but a 

provisional license and any renewals shall not exceed 12 

successive months for all provisional licenses and 
renewals combined.  

d. A provider holding a provisional license for a service 
shall demonstrate progress toward compliance.  

e. A provider holding a provisional license for a service 

shall not increase its services or locations or expand the 
capacity of the service. 

f. A provisional license for a service shall be noted as a 

stipulation on the provider license. The stipulation shall 

also indicate the violations to be corrected and the 
expiration date of the provisional license.  

3. A full license shall be issued after a provider or service 

demonstrates compliance with all the applicable 
regulations.  

a. A full license may be granted to a provider for service 

for up to three years. The length of the license shall be in 
the sole discretion of the commissioner.  

b. If a full license is granted for three years, it shall be 

referred to as a triennial license. A triennial license shall 

be granted to providers for services that have 

demonstrated full compliance with the all applicable 
regulations. The commissioner may issue a triennial 

license to a provider for service that had violations 

during the previous license period if those violations did 

not pose a threat to the health or safety of individuals 

being served receiving services, and the provider or 

service has demonstrated consistent compliance for more 

than a year and has a process in place that provides 
sufficient oversight to maintain compliance.  

c. If a full license is granted for one year, it shall be 

referred to as an annual license.  

d. The term of the first full renewal license after the 

expiration of a conditional or provisional license shall not 
exceed one year.  

B. The commissioner may add stipulations on a license 

issued to a provider that may place limits on the provider or 
to impose additional requirements on the provider.  

C. A license shall not be transferred or assigned to another 

provider. A new application shall be made and a new license 
issued when there is a change in ownership.  

D. A license shall not be issued or renewed unless the 

provider is affiliated with a local human rights committee.  

E. D. No service shall be issued a license with an expiration 

date that is after the expiration date of the provider license.  

F. E. A license shall continue in effect after the expiration 

date if the provider has submitted a renewal application 

before the date of expiration and there are no grounds to deny 

the application. The department shall issue a letter stating the 

provider or service license shall be effective for six additional 

months if the renewed license is not issued before the date of 
expiration. 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 22, 2020 

2370 

12VAC35-105-120. Variances.  

The commissioner may grant a variance to a specific 

regulation if he determines that such a variance will not 

jeopardize the health, safety, or welfare of individuals and 

upon demonstration by the provider requesting. A provider 

shall submit a request for such variance in writing to the 

commissioner. The request shall demonstrate that complying 

with the regulation would be a hardship unique to the 
provider and that the variance will not jeopardize the health, 

safety, or welfare of individuals. The department may limit 

the length of time a variance will be effective. A provider 

shall submit a request for a variance in writing to the 

commissioner. A variance may be time limited or have other 

conditions attached to it. The department must approve a 

variance prior to implementation The provider shall not 

implement a variance until it has been approved in writing by 
the commissioner. 

12VAC35-105-150. Compliance with applicable laws, 

regulations and policies. 

The provider including its employees, contractors, students, 
and volunteers shall comply with:  

1. These regulations This chapter;  

2. The terms and stipulations of the license;  

3. All applicable federal, state, or local laws and 
regulations including:  

a. Laws regarding employment practices including the 
Equal Employment Opportunity Act;  

b. The Americans with Disabilities Act and the 

Virginians with Disabilities Act;  

c. For home and community-based services waiver 

settings subject to this chapter, 42 CFR 441.301(c)(1) 
through (4) [ , contents of request for a waiver ];  

d. Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
regulations;  

d. e. Virginia Department of Health regulations;  

e. Laws and regulations of the f. Virginia Department of 
Health Professions regulations;  

f. g. Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 
regulations; 

g. h. Uniform Statewide Building Code; and  

h. i. Uniform Statewide Fire Prevention Code.  

4. Section 37.2-400 of the Code of Virginia and related 

human rights regulations adopted by the state board; and  

5. The provider's own policies. All required policies shall 
be in writing.  

12VAC35-105-155. Preadmission screening, discharge 

planning, involuntary commitment, and mandatory 

outpatient treatment orders. 

A. Providers responsible for complying with §§ 37.2-505 

and 37.2-606 of the Code of Virginia regarding community 

service services board and behavioral health authority 

preadmission screening and discharge planning shall 
implement policies and procedures that include: 

1. Identification, qualification, training, and responsibilities 

of employees responsible for preadmission screening and 
discharge planning. 

2. Completion of a discharge plan prior to an individual's 
discharge in consultation with the state facility that: 

a. Involves the individual or his authorized representative 

and reflects the individual's preferences to the greatest 
extent possible consistent with the individual's needs. 

b. Involves mental health, mental retardation (intellectual 

disability) developmental disability, substance abuse, 

social, educational, medical, employment, housing, legal, 
advocacy, transportation, and other services that the 

individual will need upon discharge into the community 

and identifies the public or private agencies or persons 
that have agreed to provide them. 

B. Any provider who serves individuals through an 

emergency custody order, temporary detention order, or 

mandatory outpatient treatment order shall implement 

policies and procedures to comply with §§ 37.2-800 through 
37.2-817 of the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC35-105-160. Reviews by the department; requests 

for information; required reporting. 

A. The provider shall permit representatives from the 

department to conduct reviews to:  

1. Verify application information;  

2. Assure compliance with this chapter; and  

3. Investigate complaints.  

B. The provider shall cooperate fully with inspections and 

investigations and shall provide all information requested to 

assist representatives from by the department who conduct 
inspections.  

C. The provider shall collect, maintain, and review at least 

quarterly all serious incidents, including Level I serious 

incidents, as part of the quality improvement program in 
accordance with 12VAC35-105-620 to include an analysis of 

trends, potential systemic issues or causes, indicated 

remediation, and documentation of steps taken to mitigate the 
potential for future incidents. 
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D. The provider shall collect, maintain, and report or make 
available to the department the following information:  

1. Each allegation of abuse or neglect shall be reported to 

the assigned human rights advocate and the individual's 

authorized representative within 24 hours from the receipt 

of the initial allegation. Reported information shall include 

the type of abuse, neglect, or exploitation that is alleged 

and whether there is physical or psychological injury to the 
individual department as provided in 12VAC35-115-230 
A. 

2. Each instance of death or serious injury Level II and 

Level III serious incidents shall be reported in writing to 

the department's assigned licensing specialist using the 

department's web-based reporting application and by 

telephone [ or email ] to anyone designated by the 

individual to receive such notice and to the individual's 

authorized representative within 24 hours of discovery and 

by phone to the individual's authorized representative 

within 24 hours. Reported information shall include the 
information specified by the department as required in its 

web-based reporting application, but at least the following: 

the date and, place, and circumstances of the individual's 

death or serious injury; serious incident. For serious 

injuries and deaths, the reported information shall also 

include the nature of the individual's injuries or 

circumstances of the death and the any treatment received; 

and the circumstances of the death or serious injury. For all 

other Level II and Level III serious incidents, the reported 

information shall also include the consequences [ or risk of 

harm ] that resulted from the serious incident. Deaths that 

occur in a hospital as a result of illness or injury occurring 
when the individual was in a licensed service shall be 
reported. 

3. Each instance Instances of seclusion or restraint that 

does not comply with the human rights regulations or 

approved variances or that results in injury to an individual 

shall be reported to the individual's authorized 

representative and the assigned human rights advocate 

within 24 hours shall be reported to the department as 
provided in 12VAC35-115-230 C 4.  

E. A root cause analysis shall be conducted by the provider 

within 30 days of discovery of Level II serious incidents and 
any Level III serious incidents that occur during the provision 
of a service or on the provider's premises.  

[ 1. ] The root cause analysis shall include at least the 
following information:  

[ (i) a a. A ] detailed description of what happened;  

[ (ii) an b. An ] analysis of why it happened, including 

identification of all identifiable underlying causes of the 
incident that were under the control of the provider; and  

[ (iii) identified c. Identified ] solutions to mitigate its 

reoccurrence [ and future risk of harm ] when applicable. 

[ A more detailed root cause analysis, including 

convening a team, collecting and analyzing data, 

mapping processes, and charting causal factors should be 
considered based upon the circumstances of the incident.  

2. The provider shall develop and implement a root cause 

analysis policy for determining when a more detailed root 
cause analysis, including convening a team, collecting and 

analyzing data, mapping processes, and charting causal 

factors, should be conducted. At a minimum, the policy 

shall require for the provider to conduct a more detailed 
root cause analysis when: 

a. A threshold number, as specified in the provider's 

policy based on the provider's size, number of locations, 

service type, number of individuals served, and the 

unique needs of the individuals served by the provider, of 

similar Level II serious incidents occur to the same 

individual or at the same location within a six-month 
period;  

b. Two or more of the same Level III serious incidents 

occur to the same individual or at the same location 
within a six-month period;  

c. A threshold number, as specified in the provider's 

policy based on the provider's size, number of locations, 

service type, number of individuals served, and the 

unique needs of the individuals served by the provider, of 

similar Level II or Level III serious incidents occur 

across all of the provider's locations within a six-month 
period; or  

d. A death occurs as a result of an acute medical event 

that was not expected in advance or based on a person's 
known medical condition. ]  

D. F. The provider shall submit, or make available and, 

when requested, submit reports and information that the 

department requires to establish compliance with these 
regulations and applicable statutes.  

E. G. Records that are confidential under federal or state law 

shall be maintained as confidential by the department and 

shall not be further disclosed except as required or permitted 

by law; however, there shall be no right of access to 

communications that are privileged pursuant to § 8.01-581.17 
of the Code of Virginia.  

F. H. Additional information requested by the department if 

compliance with a regulation cannot be determined shall be 

submitted within 10 business days of the issuance of the 

licensing report requesting additional information. Extensions 

may be granted by the department when requested prior to the 

due date, but extensions shall not exceed an additional 10 
business days. 
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G. I. Applicants and providers shall not submit any 
misleading or false information to the department. 

[ J. The provider shall develop and implement a serious 

incident management policy, which shall be consistent with 

this section and which shall describe the processes by which 

the provider will document, analyze, and report to the 
department information related to serious incidents. ]  

12VAC35-105-170. Corrective action plan. 

A. If there is noncompliance with any applicable regulation 

during an initial or ongoing review, inspection, or 

investigation, the department shall issue a licensing report 

describing the noncompliance and requesting the provider to 
submit a corrective action plan for each violation cited.  

B. The provider shall submit to the department [ and 

implement ] a written corrective action plan for each 

regulation with which it is found to be in violation as 
identified in the licensing report violation cited.  

C. The corrective action plan shall include a:  

1. Description Detailed description of the corrective 

actions to be taken that will minimize the possibility that 

the violation will occur again and correct any systemic 
deficiencies;  

2. Date of completion for each corrective action; and  

3. Signature of the person responsible for [ the service 

oversight of the implementation of the pledged corrective 
action ].  

D. The provider shall submit a corrective action plan to the 

department within 15 business days of the issuance of the 

licensing report. Extensions One extension may be granted by 

the department when requested prior to the due date, but 

extensions shall not exceed an additional 10 business days. 
An immediate corrective action plan shall be required if the 

department determines that the violations pose a danger to 
individuals receiving the service.  

E. Upon receipt of the corrective action plan, the department 

shall review the plan and determine whether the plan is 

approved or not approved. The provider has an additional 10 

business days to submit a revised corrective action plan after 

receiving a notice that the plan submitted has not been 

approved by the department has not approved the revised 

plan. If the submitted revised corrective action plan is [ still 

unacceptable not approved ], the provider shall follow the 
dispute resolution process identified in this section. 

F. When the provider disagrees with a citation of a violation 

or the disapproval of [ the a ] revised corrective action [ plans 

plan ], the provider shall discuss this disagreement with the 

licensing specialist initially. If the disagreement is not 

resolved, the provider may ask for a meeting with the 

licensing specialist's supervisor, in consultation with the 

director of licensing, to challenge a finding of 
noncompliance. The determination of the director is final.  

G. The provider shall implement [ and monitor 

implementation of the approved corrective action and include 

a plan for monitoring in. The provider shall monitor 

implementation and effectiveness of approved corrective 

actions as part of its quality assurance activities improvement 

program specified in required by 12VAC30-105-620 their 
written corrective action plan for each violation cited by the 
date of completion identified in the plan.  

H. The provider shall monitor implementation and 

effectiveness of approved corrective actions as part of its 

quality improvement program required by 12VAC35-105-

620. If the provider determines that an approved corrective 

action was fully implemented, but did not prevent the 

recurrence of a regulatory violation or correct any systemic 
deficiencies, the provider shall: 

1. Continue implementing the corrective action plan and 

put into place additional measures to prevent the 
recurrence of the cited violation and address identified 
systemic deficiencies; or 

2. Submit a revised corrective action plan to the 
department for approval. ]  

12VAC35-105-320. Fire inspections.  

The provider shall document at the time of its original 

application and annually thereafter that buildings and 

equipment in residential service locations [ serving more than 

eight individuals ] are maintained in accordance with the 

Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51). 

[ This section does not apply to correctional facilities or home 

and noncenter-based or sponsored residential home services. 
The provider shall evaluate each individual and, based on that 

evaluation, shall provide appropriate environmental supports 

and adequate staff to safely evacuate all individuals during an 
emergency. ]  

Article 3  

Physical Environment of Residential/Inpatient Residential 
and Inpatient Service Locations  

12VAC35-105-330. Beds.  

A. The provider shall not operate more beds than the 

number for which its service location or locations are is 
licensed.  

B. A community ICF/MR An ICF/IID may not have more 

than 12 beds at any one location. This applies to new 

applications for services and not to existing services or 
locations licensed prior to December 7, 2011.  
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12VAC35-105-400. Criminal registry background checks 

and registry searches.  

A. Providers shall comply with the requirements for 

obtaining criminal history background check requirements for 

direct care positions checks as outlined in §§ 37.2-416, 37.2-

506, and 37.2-607 of the Code of Virginia for individuals 
hired after July 1, 1999.  

B. Prior to a new employee beginning his duties, the 

provider shall obtain the employee's written consent and 

personal information necessary to obtain a search of the 

registry of founded complaints of child abuse and neglect 
maintained by the Virginia Department of Social Services. 

C. B. The provider shall develop a written policy for 

criminal history background checks and registry checks for 

all employees, contractors, students, and volunteers searches. 

The policy shall require at a minimum a disclosure statement 

from the employee, contractor, student, or volunteer stating 

whether the person has ever been convicted of or is the 

subject of pending charges for any offense and shall address 
what actions the provider will take should it be discovered 

that an employee, student, contractor, or volunteer a person 

has a founded case of abuse or neglect or both, or a 
conviction or pending criminal charge.  

D. C. The provider shall submit all information required by 

the department to complete the criminal history background 

checks and registry checks for all employees and for 

contractors, students, and volunteers if required by the 
provider's policy searches.  

E. D. The provider shall maintain the following 

documentation:  

1. The disclosure statement from the applicant stating 

whether he has ever been convicted of or is the subject of 
pending charges for any offense; and  

2. Documentation that the provider submitted all 

information required by the department to complete the 

criminal history background checks and registry checks 

searches, memoranda from the department transmitting the 

results to the provider, [ if applicable, ] and the results 
from the Child Protective Registry check search. 

12VAC35-105-440. Orientation of new employees, 

contractors, volunteers, and students. 

New employees, contractors, volunteers, and students shall 

be oriented commensurate with their function or job-specific 

responsibilities within 15 business days. The provider shall 

document that the orientation covers each of the following 
policies, procedures, and practices:  

1. Objectives and philosophy of the provider;  

2. Practices of confidentiality including access, 

duplication, and dissemination of any portion of an 
individual's record;  

3. Practices that assure an individual's rights including 
orientation to human rights regulations;  

4. Applicable personnel policies;  

5. Emergency preparedness procedures;  

6. Person-centeredness;  

7. Infection control practices and measures; and  

8. Other policies and procedures that apply to specific 

positions and specific duties and responsibilities; and  

9. Serious incident reporting, including when, how, and 

under what circumstances a serious incident report must be 

submitted and the consequences of failing to report a 

serious incident to the department in accordance with this 
chapter. 

12VAC35-105-450. Employee training and development. 

The provider shall provide training and development 

opportunities for employees to enable them to support the 

individuals served receiving services and to carry out the their 

job responsibilities of their jobs. The provider shall develop a 

training policy that addresses the frequency of retraining on 
serious incident reporting, medication administration, 

behavior intervention, emergency preparedness, and infection 

control, to include flu epidemics. Employee participation in 

training and development opportunities shall be documented 
and accessible to the department.  

12VAC35-105-460. Emergency medical or first aid 

training.  

There shall be at least one employee or contractor on duty at 

each location who holds a current certificate (i) issued by the 

American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or 

comparable authority in standard first aid and 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) or (ii) as an emergency 
medical technician. A licensed medical professional who 

holds a current professional license shall be deemed to hold a 

current certificate in first aid, but not in CPR. The 

certification process shall include a hands-on, in-person 
demonstration of first aid and CPR competency. 

[ 12VAC35-105-500. Students and volunteers.  

A. The provider shall implement a written policy that clearly 

defines and communicates the requirements for the use and 

responsibilities of students and volunteers including selection 
and supervision.  

B. The provider shall not rely on students or volunteers for 

the provision of direct care services to supplant direct care 

positions. The provider staffing plan shall not include 
volunteers or students. ]  
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Article 5  
Health and Safety Management  

12VAC35-105-520. Risk management.  

A. The provider shall designate a person responsible for the 

risk management function who has [ completed department 

approved ] training [ and expertise in, which shall include 

training related to risk management, understanding of 

individual risk screening, ] conducting investigations, root 
cause analysis, and [ the use of ] data [ analysis to identify 
risk patterns and trends ]. 

B. The provider shall implement a written plan to identify, 

monitor, reduce, and minimize risks associated with harms 

and risk of harm, including personal injury, infectious 

disease, property damage or loss, and other sources of 
potential liability. 

C. The provider shall conduct systemic risk assessment 

reviews at least annually to identify and respond to practices, 

situations, and policies that could result in the risk of harm to 

individuals receiving services. The risk assessment review 
shall address [ at least the following:  

(i) the 1. The ] environment of care;  

[ (ii) clinical 2. Clinical ] assessment or reassessment 
processes;  

[ (iii) staff 3. Staff ] competence and adequacy of 
staffing;  

[ (iv) use 4. Use ] of high risk procedures, including 
seclusion and restraint; and  

[ (v) a 5. A ] review of serious incidents. [ This process 

shall incorporate uniform risk triggers and thresholds as 
defined by the department. 

D. The systemic risk assessment process shall incorporate 

uniform risk triggers and thresholds as defined by the 
department. ]  

C. [ D. E. ] The provider shall conduct and document that a 

safety inspection has been performed at least annually of each 

service location owned, rented, or leased by the provider. 

Recommendations for safety improvement shall be 
documented and implemented by the provider.  

D. [ E. F. ] The provider shall document serious injuries to 

employees, contractors, students, volunteers, and visitors that 

occur during the provision of a service or on the provider's 

property. Documentation shall be kept on file for three years. 
The provider shall evaluate serious injuries at least annually. 

Recommendations for improvement shall be documented and 
implemented by the provider.  

[ 12VAC35-105-530. Emergency preparedness and 

response plan. 

A. The provider shall develop a written emergency 

preparedness and response plan for all of its services and 

locations that describes its approach to emergencies 

throughout the organization or community. This plan shall 

include an analysis of potential emergencies that could 

disrupt the normal course of service delivery including 
emergencies that would require expanded or extended care 
over a prolonged period of time. The plan shall address:  

1. Specific procedures describing mitigation, preparedness, 

response, and recovery strategies, actions, and 
responsibilities for each emergency. 

2. Documentation of coordination with the local 

emergency authorities to determine local disaster risks and 

community-wide plans to address different disasters and 
emergency situations.  

3. The process for notifying local and state authorities of 

the emergency and a process for contacting staff when 
emergency response measures are initiated.  

4. Written emergency management policies outlining 

specific responsibilities for provision of administrative 

direction and management of response activities, 

coordination of logistics during the emergency, 

communications, life safety of employees, contractors, 

students, volunteers, visitors, and individuals receiving 

services, property protection, community outreach, and 
recovery and restoration.  

5. Written emergency response procedures for initiating the 

response and recovery phase of the plan including a 

description of how, when, and by whom the phases will be 
activated. This includes assessing the situation; protecting 

individuals receiving services, employees, contractors, 

students, volunteers, visitors, equipment, and vital records; 

and restoring services. Emergency procedures shall 
address:  

a. Warning and notifying individuals receiving services;  

b. Communicating with employees, contractors, and 
community responders;  

c. Designating alternative roles and responsibilities of 

staff during emergencies including to whom they will 

report in the provider's organization command structure 
and when activated in the community's command 
structure;  

d. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 
opening locked doors;  

e. Evacuation procedures, including for individuals who 
need evacuation assistance; 
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e. f. Conducting evacuations to emergency shelters or 

alternative sites and accounting for all individuals 
receiving services;  

f. g. Relocating individuals receiving residential or 

inpatient services, if necessary;  

g. h. Notifying family members or authorized 

representatives;  

h. i. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms;  

i. j Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; 
and 

j. k. Maintaining a 24 hour telephone answering 

capability to respond to emergencies for individuals 
receiving services. 

6. Processes for managing the following under emergency 
conditions: 

a. Activities related to the provision of care, treatment, 

and services including scheduling, modifying, or 

discontinuing services; controlling information about 

individuals receiving services; providing medication; and 
transportation services; 

b. Logistics related to critical supplies such as 
pharmaceuticals, food, linen, and water; 

c. Security including access, crowd control, and traffic 
control; and 

d. Back-up communication systems in the event of 
electronic or power failure. 

7. Specific processes and protocols for evacuation of the 

provider's building or premises when the environment 
cannot support adequate care, treatment, and services.  

8. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 

emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 
site maps necessary to shut off utilities, designated escape 

routes, and list of major resources such as local emergency 
shelters.  

9. Schedule for testing the implementation of the plan and 

conducting emergency preparedness drills. Fire and 
evacuation drills shall be conducted at least monthly. 

B. The provider shall evaluate each individual and, based on 

that evaluation, shall provide appropriate environmental 

supports and adequate staff to safely evacuate all individuals 
during an emergency.  

B. C. The provider shall implement annual emergency 

preparedness and response training for all employees, 

contractors, students, and volunteers. This training shall also 

be provided as part of orientation for new employees and 
cover responsibilities for:  

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms;  

2. Implementing evacuation procedures, including 

evacuation of individuals with special needs (i.e., deaf, 
blind, nonambulatory);  

3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 

equipment;  

4. Accessing emergency medical information for 

individuals receiving services; and  

5. Utilizing community support services.  

C. D. The provider shall review the emergency preparedness 

plan annually and make necessary revisions. Such revisions 

shall be communicated to employees, contractors, students, 

volunteers, and individuals receiving services and 

incorporated into training for employees, contractors, 

students, and volunteers and into the orientation of 
individuals to services.  

D. E. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency or any other 

condition that may jeopardize the health, safety, or welfare of 

individuals, the provider shall take appropriate action to 

protect the health, safety, and welfare of individuals receiving 
services and take appropriate actions to remedy the conditions 
as soon as possible.  

E. F. Employees, contractors, students, and volunteers shall 

be knowledgeable in and prepared to implement the 

emergency preparedness plan in the event of an emergency. 

The plan shall include a policy regarding regularly scheduled 

emergency preparedness training for all employees, 
contractors, students, and volunteers.  

F. G. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency, or any other 

condition that may jeopardize the health, safety, or welfare of 

individuals, the provider should first respond and stabilize the 

disaster or emergency. After the disaster or emergency is 
stabilized, the provider should report the disaster or 

emergency to the department, but no later than 24 hours after 
the incident occurs.  

G. H. Providers of residential services shall have at all times 

a three-day supply of emergency food and water for all 

residents and staff. Emergency food supplies should include 

foods that do not require cooking. Water supplies shall 
include one gallon of water per person per day. 

H. This section does not apply to home and noncenter-based 

services. I. All provider locations shall be equipped with at 

least one approved type ABC portable fire extinguisher with a 
minimum rating of 2A10BC installed in each kitchen. 

J. All provider locations shall have an appropriate number of 

properly installed smoke detectors based on the size of the 
location, which shall include at a minimum:  

1. At least one smoke detector on each level of multi-level 
buildings, including the basement;  
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2. At least one smoke detector in each bedroom in 
locations with bedrooms; 

3. At least one smoke detector in any area adjacent to any 
bedroom in locations with bedrooms; and 

4. Any additional smoke detectors necessary to comply 

with all applicable federal and state laws and regulations 
and local ordinances. 

K. Smoke detectors shall be tested monthly for proper 

operation. 

L. All provider locations shall maintain a floor plan 
identifying locations of: 

1. Exits; 

2. Primary and secondary evacuation routes; 

3. Accessible egress routes; 

4. Portable fire extinguishers; and  

5. Flashlights. 

M. This section does not apply to home and noncenter-based 

services. ]  

12VAC35-105-580. Service description requirements.  

A. The provider shall develop, implement, review, and 

revise its descriptions of services offered according to the 

provider's mission and shall make service descriptions 
available for public review.  

B. The provider shall outline how each service offers a 

structured program of individualized interventions and care 

designed to meet the individuals' physical and emotional 

needs; provide protection, guidance and supervision; and 

meet the objectives of any required individualized services 
plan.  

C. The provider shall prepare a written description of each 

service it offers. Elements of each service description shall 
include:  

1. Service goals;  

2. A description of care, treatment, training skills 
acquisition, or other supports provided;  

3. Characteristics and needs of individuals to be served 
receive services;  

4. Contract services, if any;  

5. Eligibility requirements and admission, continued stay, 

and exclusion criteria;  

6. Service termination and discharge or transition criteria; 

and  

7. Type and role of employees or contractors.  

D. The provider shall revise the written service description 
whenever the operation of the service changes.  

E. The provider shall not implement services that are 
inconsistent with its most current service description.  

F. The provider shall admit only those individuals whose 

service needs are consistent with the service description, for 

whom services are available, and for which staffing levels 

and types meet the needs of the individuals served receiving 
services. 

G. The provider shall provide for the physical separation of 

children and adults in residential and inpatient services and 

shall provide separate group programming for adults and 

children, except in the case of family services. The provider 

shall provide for the safety of children accompanying parents 

receiving services. Older adolescents transitioning from 

school to adult activities may participate in mental retardation 

(intellectual disability) developmental day support services 
with adults.  

H. The service description for substance abuse treatment 

services shall address the timely and appropriate treatment of 

pregnant women with substance abuse (substance use 
disorders).  

I. If the provider plans to serve individuals as of a result of a 

temporary detention order to a service, prior to admitting 

those individuals to that service, the provider shall submit a 

written plan for adequate staffing and security measures to 

ensure the individual can be served receive services safely 

within the service to the department for approval. If the plan 

is approved, the department will shall add a stipulation to the 

license authorizing the provider to serve individuals who are 
under temporary detention orders. 

12VAC35-105-590. Provider staffing plan.  

A. The provider shall implement a written staffing plan that 

includes the types, roles, and numbers of employees and 

contractors that are required to provide the service. This 
staffing plan shall reflect the:  

1. Needs of the individuals served receiving services;  

2. Types of services offered;  

3. Service description; and  

4. Number of people individuals to be served receive 

services at a given time; and 

5. Adequate number of staff required to safely evacuate all 

individuals during an emergency.  

B. The provider shall develop a written transition staffing 

plan for new services, added locations, and changes in 
capacity.  
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C. The provider shall meet the following staffing 
requirements related to supervision.  

1. The provider shall describe how employees, volunteers, 

contractors, and student interns will be supervised in the 
staffing plan and how that supervision will be documented.  

2. Supervision of employees, volunteers, contractors, and 

student interns shall be provided by persons who have 

experience in working with individuals receiving services 
and in providing the services outlined in the service 
description.  

3. Supervision shall be appropriate to the services provided 

and the needs of the individual. Supervision shall be 
documented.  

4. Supervision shall include responsibility for approving 

assessments and individualized services plans, as 

appropriate. This responsibility may be delegated to an 

employee or contractor who meets the qualification for 
supervision as defined in this section. 

5. Supervision of mental health, substance abuse, or co-

occurring services that are of an acute or clinical nature 

such as outpatient, inpatient, intensive in-home, or day 

treatment shall be provided by a licensed mental health 

professional or a mental health professional who is license-

eligible and registered with a board of the Department of 
Health Professions. 

6. Supervision of mental health, substance abuse, or co-

occurring services that are of a supportive or maintenance 

nature, such as psychosocial rehabilitation or mental health 

supports, shall be provided by a QMHP-A, a licensed 

mental health professional, or a mental health professional 

who is license-eligible and registered with a board of the 
Department of Health Professions. An individual who is a 
QMHP-E may not provide this type of supervision.  

7. Supervision of mental retardation (intellectual disability) 

developmental services shall be provided by a person with 

at least one year of documented experience working 

directly with individuals who have mental retardation 

(intellectual disability) or other developmental disabilities 

and holds at least a bachelor's degree in a human services 

field such as sociology, social work, special education, 

rehabilitation counseling, nursing, or psychology. 

Experience may be substituted for the education 
requirement.  

8. Supervision of individual and family developmental 

disabilities support (IFDDS) services shall be provided by 

a person possessing at least one year of documented 

experience working directly with individuals who have 

developmental disabilities and is one of the following: a 

doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in Virginia; a 

registered nurse licensed in Virginia; or a person holding at 

least a bachelor's degree in a human services field such as 

sociology, social work, special education, rehabilitation 

counseling, or psychology. Experience may be substituted 

for the education requirement. 9. Supervision of brain 

injury services shall be provided at a minimum by a 

clinician in the health professions field who is trained and 

experienced in providing brain injury services to 

individuals who have a brain injury diagnosis including: (i) 

a doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in Virginia; (ii) 
a psychiatrist who is a doctor of medicine or osteopathy 

specializing in psychiatry and licensed in Virginia; (iii) a 

psychologist who has a master's degree in psychology from 

a college or university with at least one year of clinical 

experience; (iv) a social worker who has a bachelor's 

degree in human services or a related field (social work, 

psychology, psychiatric evaluation, sociology, counseling, 

vocational rehabilitation, human services counseling, or 

other degree deemed equivalent to those described) from 

an accredited college or university with at least two years 

of clinical experience providing direct services to 
individuals with a diagnosis of brain injury; (v) a Certified 

Brain Injury Specialist; (vi) a registered nurse licensed in 

Virginia with at least one year of clinical experience; or 

(vii) any other licensed rehabilitation professional with one 
year of clinical experience. 

D. The provider shall employ or contract with persons with 

appropriate training, as necessary, to meet the specialized 

needs of and to ensure the safety of individuals being served 

receiving services in residential services with medical or 

nursing needs; speech, language, or hearing problems; or 
other needs where specialized training is necessary.  

E. Providers of brain injury services shall employ or contract 

with a neuropsychologist or licensed clinical psychologist 

specializing in brain injury to assist, as appropriate, with 

initial assessments, development of individualized services 
plans, crises, staff training, and service design.  

F. [ Direct care staff who provide Staff in direct care 

positions providing ] brain injury services shall have at least a 

high school diploma and two years of experience working 

with individuals with disabilities or shall have successfully 

completed an approved training curriculum on brain injuries 
within six months of employment.  

12VAC35-105-620. Monitoring and evaluating service 

quality.  

[ A. ] The provider shall develop and implement written 

policies and procedures to for a quality improvement program 

sufficient to identify, monitor, and evaluate clinical and 

service quality and effectiveness on a systematic and ongoing 
basis.  

[ B. ] The [ quality improvement ] program shall utilize 

standard quality improvement tools, including root cause 
analysis, and shall include a quality improvement plan [ . that  
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C. The quality improvement plan shall:  

(i) is 1. Be ] reviewed and updated at least annually;  

[ (ii) defines 2. Define ] measurable goals and objectives;  

[ (iii) includes 3. Include ] and [ reports report ] on 

statewide performance measures, if applicable, as required 
by DBHDS;  

[ (iv) monitors 4. Monitor ] implementation and 

effectiveness of approved corrective action plans pursuant 
to 12VAC35-105-170; and  

[ (v) includes 5. Include ] ongoing monitoring and 

evaluation of progress toward meeting established goals 
and objectives.  

[ D. ] The provider's policies and procedures shall include 
the criteria the provider will use to [ establish  

1. Establish ] measurable goals and objectives [ .;  

2. Update the provider's quality improvement plan; and 

3. Submit revised corrective action plans to the department 

for approval or continue implementing the corrective 

action plan and put into place additional measures to 
prevent the recurrence of the cited violation and address 

identified systemic deficiencies when reviews determine 

that a corrective action was fully implemented but did not 

prevent the recurrence of the cited regulatory violation or 

correct a systemic deficiency pursuant to 12VAC35-105-
170.  

E. ] Input from individuals receiving services and their 

authorized representatives, if applicable, about services used 

and satisfaction level of participation in the direction of 

service planning shall be part of the provider's quality 

assurance system improvement plan. The provider shall 
implement improvements, when indicated.  

12VAC35-105-650. Assessment policy.  

A. The provider shall implement a written assessment 

policy. The policy shall define how assessments will be 
conducted and documented.  

B. The provider shall actively involve the individual and 

authorized representative, if applicable, in the preparation of 

initial and comprehensive assessments and in subsequent 

reassessments. In these assessments and reassessments, the 

provider shall consider the individual's needs, strengths, 

goals, preferences, and abilities within the individual's 
cultural context.  

C. The assessment policy shall designate employees or 

contractors who are responsible for conducting assessments. 

These employees or contractors shall have experience in 

working with the needs of individuals who are being 

assessed, the assessment tool or tools being utilized, and the 
provision of services that the individuals may require.  

D. Assessment is an ongoing activity. The provider shall 

make reasonable attempts to obtain previous assessments or 
relevant history.  

E. An assessment shall be initiated prior to or at admission 

to the service. With the participation of the individual and the 

individual's authorized representative, if applicable, the 

provider shall complete an initial assessment detailed enough 

to determine whether the individual qualifies for admission 
and to initiate an ISP for those individuals who are admitted 

to the service. This assessment shall assess immediate 

service, health, and safety needs, and at a minimum include 
the individual's: 

1. Diagnosis; 

2. Presenting needs including the individual's stated needs, 

psychiatric needs, support needs, and the onset and 
duration of problems; 

3. Current medical problems; 

4. Current medications; 

5. Current and past substance use or abuse, including co-

occurring mental health and substance abuse disorders; and  

6. At-risk behavior to self and others. 

F. A comprehensive assessment shall update and finalize the 

initial assessment. The timing for completion of the 

comprehensive assessment shall be based upon the nature and 

scope of the service but shall occur no later than 30 days, 

after admission for providers of mental health and substance 

abuse services and 60 days after admission for providers of 

mental retardation (intellectual disability) and developmental 
disabilities services. It shall address:  

1. Onset and duration of problems;  

2. Social, behavioral, developmental, and family history 

and supports; 

3. Cognitive functioning including strengths and 
weaknesses;  

4. Employment, vocational, and educational background;  

5. Previous interventions and outcomes;  

6. Financial resources and benefits;  

7. Health history and current medical care needs, to 
include:  

a. Allergies; 

b. Recent physical complaints and medical conditions; 

c. Nutritional needs; 

d. Chronic conditions; 

e. Communicable diseases; 

f. Restrictions on physical activities if any; 
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g. Restrictive protocols or special supervision 
requirements;  

h. Past serious illnesses, serious injuries, and 
hospitalizations; 

h. i. Serious illnesses and chronic conditions of the 

individual's parents, siblings, and significant others in the 
same household; and  

i. j. Current and past substance use including alcohol, 

prescription and nonprescription medications, and illicit 
drugs.  

8. Psychiatric and substance use issues including current 

mental health or substance use needs, presence of co-

occurring disorders, history of substance use or abuse, and 

circumstances that increase the individual's risk for mental 
health or substance use issues; 

9. History of abuse, neglect, sexual, or domestic violence, 

or trauma including psychological trauma; 

10. Legal status including authorized representative, 

commitment, and representative payee status; 

11. Relevant criminal charges or convictions and probation 
or parole status; 

12. Daily living skills; 

13. Housing arrangements; 

14. Ability to access services including transportation 
needs; and 

15. As applicable, and in all residential services, fall risk, 

communication methods or needs, and mobility and 
adaptive equipment needs. 

G. Providers of short-term intensive services including 

inpatient and crisis stabilization services shall develop 

policies for completing comprehensive assessments within 
the time frames appropriate for those services. 

H. Providers of non-intensive nonintensive or short-term 

services shall meet the requirements for the initial assessment 

at a minimum. Non-intensive Nonintensive services are 

services provided in jails, nursing homes, or other locations 

when access to records and information is limited by the 

location and nature of the services. Short-term services 
typically are provided for less than 60 days. 

I. Providers may utilize standardized state or federally 

sanctioned assessment tools that do not meet all the criteria of 

12VAC35-105-650 as the initial or comprehensive 
assessment tools as long as the tools assess the individual's 

health and safety issues and substantially meet the 
requirements of this section. 

J. Individuals who receive medication-only services shall be 

reassessed at least annually to determine whether there is a 

change in the need for additional services and the 
effectiveness of the medication.  

12VAC35-105-660. Individualized services plan (ISP).  

A. The provider shall actively involve the individual and 

authorized representative, as appropriate, in the development, 

review, and revision of a person-centered ISP. The 

individualized services planning process shall be consistent 

with laws protecting confidentiality, privacy, human rights of 
individuals receiving services, and rights of minors.  

B. The provider shall develop and implement an initial 

person-centered ISP for the first 60 days for mental 

retardation (intellectual disability) and developmental 

disabilities services or for the first 30 days for mental health 

and substance abuse services. This ISP shall be developed 

and implemented within 24 hours of admission to address 

immediate service, health, and safety needs and shall continue 

in effect until the ISP is developed or the individual is 
discharged, whichever comes first.  

C. The provider shall implement a person-centered 

comprehensive ISP as soon as possible after admission based 

upon the nature and scope of services but no later than 30 

days after admission for providers of mental health and 

substance abuse services and 60 days after admission for 

providers of mental retardation (intellectual disability) and 
developmental disabilities services. 

D. The initial ISP and the comprehensive ISP shall be 

developed based on the respective assessment with the 

participation and informed choice of the individual receiving 
services.  

[ 1. ] To ensure the individual's participation and informed 

choice, the [ provider following ] shall [ explain be 
explained ] to the individual or the individual's authorized 

representative, as applicable, in a reasonable and 
comprehensible manner [ : 

the a. The ] proposed services to be delivered [ ,;  

b. Any ] alternative services that might be advantageous 
for the individual [ ,; ] and  

[ c. Any ] accompanying risks or benefits [ of the 

proposed and alternative services ]. [ The provider shall 

clearly document that the individual's information was 

explained to the individual or the individual's authorized 

representative and the reasons the individual or the 
individual's authorized representative chose the option 
included in the ISP.  

2. If no alternative services are available to the individual, 

it shall be clearly documented within the ISP, or within 

documentation attached to the ISP, that alternative services 

were not available as well as any steps taken to identify if 
alternative services were available.  
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3. Whenever there is a change to an individual's ISP, it 

shall be clearly documented within the ISP, or within 
documentation attached to the ISP that: 

a. The individual participated in the development of or 

revision to the ISP; 

b. The proposed and alternative services and their 

respective risks and benefits were explained to the 

individual or the individual's authorized representative, 
and; 

c. The reasons the individual or the individual's 

authorized representative chose the option included in the 
ISP. ]  

12VAC35-105-665. ISP requirements. 

A. The comprehensive ISP shall be based on the individual's 

needs, strengths, abilities, personal preferences, goals, and 

natural supports identified in the assessment. The ISP shall 
include: 

1. Relevant and attainable goals, measurable objectives, 

and specific strategies for addressing each need; 

2. Services and supports and frequency of services required 

to accomplish the goals including relevant psychological, 

mental health, substance abuse, behavioral, medical, 
rehabilitation, training, and nursing needs and supports;  

3. The role of the individual and others in implementing 
the service plan; 

4. A communication plan for individuals with 
communication barriers, including language barriers; 

5. A behavioral support or treatment plan, if applicable; 

6. A safety plan that addresses identified risks to the 

individual or to others, including a fall risk plan; 

7. A crisis or relapse plan, if applicable;  

8. Target dates for accomplishment of goals and 
objectives; 

9. Identification of employees or contractors responsible 

for coordination and integration of services, including 
employees of other agencies; and 

10. Recovery plans, if applicable; and 

11. Services the individual elects to self direct, if 
applicable. 

B. The ISP shall be signed and dated at a minimum by the 

person responsible for implementing the plan and the 

individual receiving services or the authorized representative 
in order to document agreement. If the signature of the 

individual receiving services or the authorized representative 

cannot be obtained, the provider shall document his attempt 

attempts to obtain the necessary signature and the reason why 

he was unable to obtain it. The ISP shall be distributed to the 
individual and others authorized to receive it. 

C. The provider shall designate a person who will shall be 

responsible for developing, implementing, reviewing, and 

revising each individual's ISP in collaboration with the 
individual or authorized representative, as appropriate. 

D. Employees or contractors who are responsible for 

implementing the ISP shall demonstrate a working 
knowledge of the objectives and strategies contained in the 

individual's current ISP [ , including an individual's detailed 
health and safety protocols ]. 

E. Providers of short-term intensive services such as 

inpatient and crisis stabilization services that are typically 

provided for less than 30 days shall implement a policy to 

develop an ISP within a timeframe consistent with the length 
of stay of individuals. 

F. The ISP shall be consistent with the plan of care for 

individuals served by the IFDDS Waiver. G. When a provider 

provides more than one service to an individual the provider 
may maintain a single ISP document that contains 

individualized objectives and strategies for each service 
provided. 

H. G. Whenever possible the identified goals in the ISP shall 
be written in the words of the individual receiving services. 

12VAC35-105-675. Reassessments and ISP reviews. 

A. Reassessments shall be completed at least annually and 

when any time there is a need based on changes in the 

medical, psychiatric, or behavioral, or other status of the 
individual. 

B. Providers shall complete changes to the ISP as a result of 

the assessments. 

C. The provider shall update the ISP at least annually and 

any time assessments identify risks, injuries, needs, or a 
change in status of the individual.  

D. The provider shall review the ISP at least every three 

months from the date of the implementation of the ISP or 

whenever there is a revised assessment based upon the 
individual's changing needs or goals.  

1. These reviews shall evaluate the individual's progress 

toward meeting the plan's ISP's goals and objectives and 

the continued relevance of the ISP's objectives and 

strategies. The provider shall update the goals, objectives, 
and strategies contained in the ISP, if indicated, and 
implement any updates made.  

2. These reviews shall document evidence of progression 

toward or achievement of a specific targeted outcome for 
each goal and objective. 

3. For goals and objectives that were not accomplished by 

the identified target date, the provider and any appropriate 
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treatment team members shall meet to review the reasons 

for lack of progress and provide the individual an 
opportunity to make an informed choice of how to proceed. 

12VAC35-105-691. Transition of individuals among 

service. 

A. The provider shall implement written procedures that 

define the process for transitioning an individual between or 

among services operated by the provider. At a minimum the 
policy shall address: 

1. The process by which the provider will assure continuity 
of services during and following transition;  

2. The participation of the individual or his authorized 

representative, as applicable, in the decision to move and 
in the planning for transfer; 

3. The process and timeframe for transferring the access to 
individual's record and ISP to the destination location; 

4. The process and timeframe for completing the transfer 

summary; and  

5. The process and timeframe for transmitting or accessing, 

where applicable, discharge summaries to the destination 
service. 

B. The transfer summary shall include at a minimum the 
following: 

1. Reason for the individual's transfer; 

2. Documentation of involvement informed choice by the 

individual or his authorized representative, as applicable, 
in the decision to and planning for the transfer; 

3. Current psychiatric and known medical conditions or 

issues of the individual and the identity of the individual's 
health care providers; 

4. Updated progress of the individual in meeting goals and 

objectives in his ISP; 

5. Emergency medical information; 

6. Dosages of all currently prescribed medications and 

over-the-counter medications used by the individual when 
prescribed by the provider or known by the case manager; 

7. Transfer date; and 

8. Signature of employee or contractor responsible for 
preparing the transfer summary. 

C. The transfer summary may be documented in the 

individual's progress notes or in information easily accessible 
within an electronic health record. 

Article 6  
Behavior Interventions 

12VAC35-105-800. Policies and procedures on behavior 

interventions and supports.  

A. The provider shall implement written policies and 

procedures that describe the use of behavior interventions, 

including seclusion, restraint, and time out. The policies and 
procedures shall:  

1. Be consistent with applicable federal and state laws and 
regulations;  

2. Emphasize positive approaches to behavior 
interventions;  

3. List and define behavior interventions in the order of 

their relative degree of intrusiveness or restrictiveness and 

the conditions under which they may be used in each 
service for each individual;  

4. Protect the safety and well-being of the individual at all 

times, including during fire and other emergencies;  

5. Specify the mechanism for monitoring the use of 

behavior interventions; and  

6. Specify the methods for documenting the use of 
behavior interventions.  

B. Employees and contractors trained in behavior support 

interventions shall implement and monitor all behavior 
interventions.  

C. Policies and procedures related to behavior interventions 

shall be available to individuals, their families, authorized 

representatives, and advocates. Notification of policies does 
not need to occur in correctional facilities.  

D. Individuals receiving services shall not discipline, 

restrain, seclude, or implement behavior interventions on 
other individuals receiving services.  

E. Injuries resulting from or occurring during the 

implementation of behavior interventions seclusion or 

restraint shall be recorded in the individual's services record 

and reported to the assigned human rights advocate and the 

employee or contractor responsible for the overall 

coordination of services department as provided in 
12VAC35-115-230 C.  

12VAC35-105-830. Seclusion, restraint, and time out.  

A. The use of seclusion, restraint, and time out shall comply 

with applicable federal and state laws and regulations and be 
consistent with the provider's policies and procedures.  

B. Devices used for mechanical restraint shall be designed 

specifically for emergency behavior management of human 
beings in clinical or therapeutic programs.  
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C. Application of time out, seclusion, or restraint shall be 

documented in the individual's record and include the 
following:  

1. Physician's order for seclusion or mechanical restraint or 

chemical restraint;  

2. Date and time;  

3. Employees or contractors involved;  

4. Circumstances and reasons for use including other 

emergency behavior management techniques attempted;  

5. Duration;  

6. Type of technique used; and  

7. Outcomes, including documentation of debriefing of the 
individual and staff involved following the incident.  

Article 3  
Services in Department of Corrections Correctional Facilities  

12VAC35-105-1140. Clinical and security coordination.  

A. The provider shall have formal and informal methods of 

resolving procedural and programmatic issues regarding 

individual care arising between the clinical and security 
employees or contractors.  

B. The provider shall demonstrate ongoing communication 

between clinical and security employees to ensure individual 
care.  

C. The provider shall provide cross-training for the clinical 
and security employees or contractors that includes:  

1. Mental health, mental retardation (intellectual disability) 
developmental disability, and substance abuse education;  

2. Use of clinical and security restraints; and  

3. Channels of communication.  

D. Employees or contractors shall receive periodic in-

service training, and have knowledge of and be able to 
demonstrate the appropriate use of clinical and security 
restraint.  

E. Security and behavioral assessments shall be completed 

at the time of admission to determine service eligibility and at 

least weekly for the safety of individuals, other persons, 
employees, and visitors.  

F. Personal grooming and care services for individuals shall 

be a cooperative effort between the clinical and security 
employees or contractors.  

G. Clinical needs and security level shall be considered 

when arrangements are made regarding privacy for individual 
contact with family and attorneys.  

H. Living quarters shall be assigned on the basis of the 
individual's security level and clinical needs.  

I. An assessment of the individual's clinical condition and 

needs shall be made when disciplinary action or restrictions 
are required for infractions of security measures.  

J. Clinical services consistent with the individual's condition 

and plan of treatment shall be provided when security 
detention or isolation is imposed.  

12VAC35-105-1245. Case management direct 

assessments. 

Case managers shall meet with each individual face-to-face 

as dictated by the individual's needs. At face-to-face 

meetings, the case manager shall (i) observe and assess for 

any previously unidentified risks, injuries, needs, or other 

changes in status; (ii) assess the status of previously identified 

risks, injuries, or needs, or other changes in status; (iii) assess 

whether the individual's service plan is being implemented 

appropriately and remains appropriate for the individual; and 

(iv) assess whether supports and services are being 

implemented consistent with the individual's strengths and 

preferences and in the most integrated setting appropriate to 
the individual's needs.  

12VAC35-105-1250. Qualifications of case management 

employees or contractors.  

A. Employees or contractors providing case management 
services shall have knowledge of:  

1. Services and systems available in the community 

including primary health care, support services, eligibility 

criteria and intake processes and generic community 
resources;  

2. The nature of serious mental illness, mental retardation 

(intellectual disability) developmental disability, substance 

abuse (substance use disorders), or co-occurring disorders 
depending on the individuals served receiving services, 
including clinical and developmental issues;  

3. Different types of assessments, including functional 
assessment, and their uses in service planning;  

4. Treatment modalities and intervention techniques, such 

as behavior management, independent living skills 

training, supportive counseling, family education, crisis 
intervention, discharge planning, and service coordination;  

5. Types of mental health, developmental, and substance 

abuse programs available in the locality;  

6. The service planning process and major components of a 

service plan;  

7. The use of medications in the care or treatment of the 
population served; and  

8. All applicable federal and state laws and regulations and 
local ordinances.  
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B. Employees or contractors providing case management 
services shall have skills in:  

1. Identifying and documenting an individual's need for 
resources, services, and other supports;  

2. Using information from assessments, evaluations, 

observation, and interviews to develop service plans;  

3. Identifying and documenting how resources, 

services, and natural supports such as family can be 
utilized to promote achievement of an individual's personal 
habilitative or rehabilitative and life goals; and  

4. Coordinating the provision of services by diverse public 
and private providers.  

C. Employees or contractors providing case management 
services shall have abilities to:  

1. Work as team members, maintaining effective inter- 
inter-agency and intra-agency working relationships;  

2. Work independently performing position duties under 

general supervision; and  

3. Engage in and sustain ongoing relationships with 

individuals receiving services.  

D. Case managers serving individuals with developmental 

disability shall complete the DBHDS core competency-based 
curriculum within 30 days of hire. 

Article 7  

Intensive Community Treatment and Program of Assertive 
Community Treatment Services  

12VAC35-105-1360. Admission and discharge criteria.  

A. Individuals must meet the following admission criteria:  

1. Diagnosis of a severe and persistent mental illness, 

predominantly schizophrenia, other psychotic disorder, or 

bipolar disorder that seriously impairs functioning in the 
community. Individuals with a sole diagnosis of substance 

addiction or abuse or mental retardation (intellectual 

disability) developmental disability are not eligible for 
services.  

2. Significant challenges to community integration without 

intensive community support including persistent or 
recurrent difficulty with one or more of the following:  

a. Performing practical daily living tasks;  

b. Maintaining employment at a self-sustaining level or 

consistently carrying out homemaker roles; or  

c. Maintaining a safe living situation.  

3. High service needs indicated due to one or more of the 
following:  

a. Residence in a state hospital or other psychiatric 

hospital but clinically assessed to be able to live in a 

more independent situation if intensive services were 

provided or anticipated to require extended 

hospitalization, if more intensive services are not 
available;  

b. Multiple admissions to or at least one recent long-term 

stay (30 days or more) in a state hospital or other acute 

psychiatric hospital inpatient setting within the past two 

years; or a recent history of more than four interventions 
by psychiatric emergency services per year;  

c. Persistent or very recurrent severe major symptoms 
(e.g., affective, psychotic, suicidal);  

d. Co-occurring substance addiction or abuse of 
significant duration (e.g., greater than six months);  

e. High risk or a recent history (within the past six 

months) of criminal justice involvement (e.g., arrest or 
incarceration);  

f. Ongoing difficulty meeting basic survival needs or 

residing in substandard housing, homeless, or at 
imminent risk of becoming homeless; or  

g. Inability to consistently participate in traditional 
office-based services.  

B. Individuals receiving PACT or ICT services should not 

be discharged for failure to comply with treatment plans or 

other expectations of the provider, except in certain 

circumstances as outlined. Individuals must meet at least one 
of the following criteria to be discharged:  

1. Change in the individual's residence to a location out of the 
service area;  

2. Death of the individual;  

3. Incarceration of the individual for a period to exceed a year or 
long term long-term hospitalization (more than one year); 

however, the provider is expected to prioritize these individuals 
for PACT or ICT services upon their the individual's anticipated 
return to the community if the individual wishes to return to 
services and the service level is appropriate to his needs;  

4. Choice of the individual with the provider responsible for 
revising the ISP to meet any concerns of the individual leading to 
the choice of discharge; or  

5. Significant sustained recovery by the individual in all major 
role areas with minimal team contact and support for at least two 
years as determined by both the individual and ICT or PACT 
team.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-4381; Filed May 28, 2020, 5:08 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Pursuant to 1VAC7-10-60, the 

Registrar of Regulations is updating certain regulations of the 

State Corporation Commission to correct an invalid web 

address in the Virginia Administrative Code. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-200. Rules Governing Long-

Term Care Insurance (amending 14VAC5-200-75).  

Effective Date: June 22, 2020.  

Contact Information: Bob Grissom, Chief Insurance Market 

Examiner, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 

Commission, 1300 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-9152, or email 
bob.grissom@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The Virginia Bureau of Insurance's webpage address for 

public access to insurance premium rate filings is being 

changed to https://scc.virginia.gov/boi/SERFFInquiry/ 
LtcFilings.aspx. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6331; Filed June 1, 2020, 1:03 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC5-22. Board of Accountancy 

Regulations (amending 18VAC5-22-20, 18VAC5-22-40, 

18VAC5-22-50, 18VAC5-22-70, 18VAC5-22-90, 18VAC5-

22-120, 18VAC5-22-170, 18VAC5-22-180; adding 

18VAC5-22-91).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4402 and 54.1-4403 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 4, 2020 - 10 a.m. - 9960 Mayland Drive, Second 
Floor Conference Center, Henrico, Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Nancy Glynn, Executive Director, Board of 

Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8540, FAX (804) 527-4409, 

TTY (804) 367-9753, or email 
nancy.glynn@boa.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Virginia Board of Accountancy (VBOA) regulations 

are promulgated under the general authority of § 54.1-4403 of 

the Code of Virginia, which gives the board the power and 

duty to promulgate regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) as necessary to ensure continued competency, to 

prevent deceptive or misleading practices by licensees, and to 
effectively administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The VBOA regularly receives informal and formal 

feedback about the agency's processes and rules. Feedback 

received includes concerns that the regulations are confusing. 

By simplifying the language where possible and making 

minor changes where appropriate, the proposed amendments 

should make the regulations more easily understandable. This 

includes making word choice and phrasing more consistent 

throughout the regulations so that the public and certified 

public accountants (CPAs) should be better able to 

understand the statutes and regulations associated with the 
VBOA. 

Substance: Simple corrections or additions to the language 

are made for the purpose of clarity and consistency in 
18VAC5-22-40, 18VAC5-22-50, and 18VAC-5-22-70. 

Reporting requirements are clarified as well as added to 

18VAC5-22-170; renewal requirements from 18VAC5-22-

170 are moved into 18VAC5-22-180, and initial and 
reinstatement licensure provisions are clarified. 

Three subsections of 18VAC5-22-90 are being moved to 

create new section 18VAC5-22-91, Documentation of 

continuing professional education. The language remaining in 
18VAC5-22-90 is amended for clarification purposes. 

Issues: The major advantage of the proposed amendments is 

that the regulation should be more clearly understood by the 

public, CPAs, and CPA applicants. Another advantage is that 

by requiring the disclosure of disciplinary sanctions against 

CPAs and CPA firms within 30 calendar days (18VAC5-22-

170), the public will be better protected and more informed 

when seeking services from a CPA or a CPA firm. In 

addition, the section regarding the annual renewal of licenses 

(18VAC5-22-180) is greatly reduced and provides further 

clarification for renewal dates, particularly for new and recent 
licensees. 

There are no known disadvantages to the public or businesses 

or for the agency or Commonwealth. 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review Report 

of Findings: This fast-track regulatory action serves as the 

report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to § 
2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Accountancy (Board) proposes to require that 

mailto:bob.grissom@scc.virginia.gov
https://scc.virginia.gov/boi/SERFFInquiry/LtcFilings.aspx
https://scc.virginia.gov/boi/SERFFInquiry/LtcFilings.aspx
mailto:nancy.glynn@boa.virginia.gov
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certified public accountant (CPA) licensees notify the Board 

within 30 days of 1) any administrative disciplinary action 

that the licensee is the subject of or party to before any court, 

agency of the state or federal government, branch of the U.S. 

armed forces, or before the American Institute of Certified 

Public Accountants, the Virginia Society of Certified Public 

Accountants or their successors, 2) any conviction concerning 

a felony or misdemeanor, regardless of whether sentence is 
imposed, suspended, or executed, 3) any guilty plea or plea of 

nolo contendere, 4) any final judgment rendered against the 

holder in a civil court of law, or 5) any receipt of a peer 

review report or a Public Company Accounting Oversight 

Board firm inspection report containing criticisms of or 

identifying potential defects in the firm's quality control 

systems. The Board also proposes to: a) have licensure 

applications expire after six years, b) have licenses that start 

on or after March 1 not expire until June 30 of the following 

year, c) add current guidance document text on continuing 

professional education (CPE) to the regulation, and d) add 
clarifying text. 

Background. The items the Board proposes to require 

licensees to report within 30 days are currently asked to be 

self-reported in various combinations when the following 

forms are filled out: exam application, license application, 

license renewal, and license reinstatement. The current 

regulation does not ask for such self-reporting outside of the 
forms. 

There is no current expiration date on licensure applications. 

Under the current regulation, all licenses expire on June 30, 
regardless of when they start. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. According to Board staff, the 

Board would use the information required to be reported 

within 30 days to make decisions on discipline. To the extent 

this proposed requirement is complied with,1 this would allow 

the Board to receive relevant information considerably 
sooner. 

Currently, the information is not requested before annual 

license renewal. Appropriate discipline to help protect the 

public could be meted out potentially several months sooner 
than without the proposed requirement. 

The Board's website has a CPA Licensure Lookup feature.2 

Members of the public considering hiring a CPA can check 
licensure status and any discipline received for CPAs being 

considered for hire. Since as described the proposal to report 

information within 30 days would likely result in discipline 

occurring considerably sooner, that information would also be 

recorded in CPA Licensure Lookup sooner. This would allow 

consumers to be better informed in considering potential 
CPAs to hire. 

According to Board staff, under the current regulation an 

applicant can submit an application for licensure before 

having completed all requirements for licensure. The Board's 

proposal to have licensure applications expire after six years, 

and thus require that a new application be submitted, would 

effectively allow the Board to require that the applicant 

demonstrate continued competence. To the extent that 

objective is achieved, this would be beneficial for the public, 

though costly for the applicant who would have to pay 

another application fee (currently $75) and perhaps complete 

additional activities or courses to demonstrate continued 
competence. 

Under the current regulation, by having all licenses expire on 

June 30 regardless of when they start, some new licenses are 

very short in duration and are not prorated. The proposal to 

have licenses that start on or after March 1 not expire until 

June 30 of the following year is substantially beneficial for 
affected CPAs. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the 30,000 CPAs3 in the Commonwealth, 

as well as CPA licensure applicants. Since adverse impact is 

indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in net 
revenue for any entity, even if the benefits of the proposal 

exceed the costs for all entities combined, adverse impact is 

indicated for this action because costs would increase for 

those applicants whose application for licensure expires after 

six years and who chose to submit a new application and pay 

the corresponding fees and demonstrate continued 

competence as instructed by the Board. Data are not available 

to indicate the number of persons who may be affected in this 
way. 

Small Businesses4 Affected: The proposed amendments do 

not appear to directly affect small businesses. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments neither 

disproportionately affect any particular locality nor introduce 
costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not substantially affect private 
property, and do not affect real estate development costs. 

__________________________ 

1The incentive to not report negative information may be countered by fines 

or harsher discipline than otherwise would be meted if found out by non-

reported means after 30 days. 

2See https://secure1.boa.virginia.gov/Verification/ 

3Approximate figures provided by the Board. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

https://secure1.boa.virginia.gov/Verification
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6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Board of Accountancy (VBOA) concurs with the 

proposed regulation to report disciplinary sanctions within 30 

days of the event, appropriate disciplinary action could be 
pursued sooner, helping to protect the public. The VBOA also 

concurs with the positive effects this would have with regard 

to the Certified Public Accountant (CPA) Licensure Lookup 
feature. 

The VBOA concurs that the proposal to have licensure 

applications expire after six years helps protect the public by 

ensuring the continued competence of the applicant. Although 

the additional application fee and potential additional 

activities to ensure compliance would be an increased cost to 

the applicant, the VBOA does not often encounter renewed 

efforts to seek licensure from applications who have reached 
this expiration mark. 

The VBOA concurs that the proposal to adjust the window 

for future license renewal from newly established licensees is 
substantially beneficial to affected CPAs. 

As the economic impact analysis states, the only adverse 

impact is for individuals whose application for licensure 

expires after six years and who wish to continue to pursue the 

license application at that point. The proposed regulation, 

however, should help to protect the public by ensuring 

continued competence. This is in line with the VBOA 

mission, which is to protect the citizens of the 

Commonwealth through a regulatory program of licensure 
and compliance of CPAs and CPA firms. 

Summary: 

As the result of a periodic review, the proposed 

amendments require that certified public accountant (CPA) 

licensees notify the board within 30 days of (i) any 

administrative disciplinary action that the licensee is the 

subject of or party to before any court, agency of the state 

or federal government, branch of the United States armed 

forces, or before the American Institute of Certified Public 

Accountants, the Virginia Society of Certified Public 

Accountants, or their successors; (ii) any conviction 
concerning a felony or misdemeanor, regardless of 

whether sentence is imposed, suspended, or executed; (iii) 

any guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere; (iv) any final 

judgment rendered against the holder in a civil court of 

law; or (v) any receipt of a peer review report or a Public 

Company Accounting Oversight Board firm inspection 

report containing criticisms of or identifying potential 
defects in the firm's quality control systems.  

In addition to clarifying text and reorganizing text, the 

proposed amendments also require licensure applications 

expire after six years, allow licenses that start on or after 

March 1 to expire June 30 of the following year, and add 

continuing professional education requirements that had 
formerly been only in guidance. 

18VAC5-22-20. Fees. 

A. The board shall charge the following fees for services it 

provides: 

Processing an initial application to take one 

or more sections of the CPA examination 

$120 

Processing additional applications to take one 

or more sections of the CPA examination 

$20 

Processing an application for issuance of a 
Virginia license to a person 

$75 

Processing an application for issuance of a 
Virginia license to a firm 

$100 

Processing an application for the timely 

renewal of a person's Virginia license except 

as provided in subsection B of 18VAC5-22-
180 

$60 

Processing an application for the timely 

renewal of a firm's Virginia license except as 
provided in subsection B of 18VAC5-22-180 

$75 

Additional fee for processing an application 

for the renewal of a person's Virginia license 
that is not timely 

$100 

Additional fee for processing an application 

for the renewal of a firm's Virginia license 
that is not timely 

$100 

Processing an application for reinstatement of 

a person's Virginia license 

$350 

Processing an application for reinstatement of 

a firm's Virginia license 

$500 

Processing an application for lifting the 

suspension of the privilege of using the CPA 
title in Virginia  

$350 

Processing an application for lifting the 

suspension of the privilege of providing attest 

services, compilation services, or financial 

statement preparation services for persons or 
entities located in Virginia  

$500 

Providing or obtaining information about a 

person's grades on sections of the CPA 
examination 

$25 

Processing requests for verification that a 

person or firm holds a Virginia license: 

  

1. Online request $25 

2. Manual request $50 
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Providing an additional CPA wall certificate $25 

Additional fee for not responding within 30 

calendar days to any request for information 

by the board under subsection A of 18VAC5-
22-170 

$100 

Additional fee for not using the online 

payment option for any service provided by 
the board 

$25 

B. All fees for services the board provides are due when the 
service is requested and are nonrefundable.  

C. Any original application for a CPA license in Virginia 

will expire six years from the original application date, and a 

new application with the corresponding fees and requirements 
will need to be submitted. 

18VAC5-22-40. Determining whether a person who holds 

a Virginia license is providing services to the public using 

the CPA title or to or on behalf of an employer using the 

CPA title. 

For the purpose of determining whether a person who holds 

a Virginia license is providing services to the public or to or 

on behalf of an employer, those terms are to be defined in 
accordance with § 54.1-4400 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC5-22-50. Determining whether the principal place 

of business of a person or of a firm is in Virginia. 

Complying with subdivision A 1 of § 54.1-4409.1, 

subsection B of § 54.1-4411, or subsection B of § 54.1-

4412.1 of the Code of Virginia requires the person or firm to 

use reasonable judgment in determining whether Virginia is 
the principal place of business in which: 

1. The person provides services to the public; or  

2. The firm provides attest services, or compilation 
services, or financial statement preparation services. 

The determination shall be reasonable considering the facts 

and circumstances and can be based on quantitative or 

qualitative assessments. The determination shall be 

reconsidered for changes in facts and circumstances that are 
not temporary. 

18VAC5-22-70. Education. 

A. In order for a person to take the CPA examination 

through Virginia, he must have obtained from one or more 

accredited institutions at least 120 semester hours of 

education, a baccalaureate or higher degree, and an 

accounting concentration or equivalent prior to taking any 
part of the CPA examination. 

B. For the purpose of complying with subsection A of this 

section and with subdivision A 1 a of § 54.1-4409.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, obtaining an accounting concentration or 
equivalent requires obtaining at a minimum: 

1. 24 semester hours of accounting courses, including that 

must include courses in auditing, financial accounting, 
management accounting, and taxation; and 

2. 24 semester hours of business courses, no more than six 

semester hours of which could be considered accounting 
courses. 

Principles or introductory accounting courses cannot be 

considered in determining whether a person has obtained the 
48 minimum number of semester hours required for an 
accounting concentration or equivalent.  

18VAC5-22-90. Continuing professional education. 

A. If during the current calendar year a person holds a 

Virginia license and has not been granted an exemption from 

meeting continuing professional education requirements by 

the board pursuant to subsection C of this section, he shall 

have obtained at least 120 hours of continuing professional 

education during the three-calendar-year period ending with 

the current calendar year. For each of the calendar years in 

that period, he shall have obtained at least 20 hours of 
continuing professional education, including an ethics course 

of at least two hours., which conforms to the requirements 

prescribed by the board. If a person holds an active license in 

another state and his principal place of business is not located 
in Virginia and: 

1. If the person also holds the license of another state and 

Virginia is not his principal place of business, the ethics 

course taken to comply with this subsection either shall 

conform with the requirements prescribed by the board or 

shall be an ethics course acceptable to the board of 

accountancy of another state in which the person holds a 

license. The other state has a continuing professional 
education requirement for ethics, he is eligible for an 

exemption from meeting the continuing professional 

education requirements of Virginia if he meets the 

continuing professional education requirements in the other 
state in which he holds an active license, or 

2. Otherwise, the ethics course shall conform to the 

requirements The other state does not have a continuing 

professional education requirement for ethics, he is eligible 

for an exemption from meeting the continuing professional 

education requirements of Virginia if he meets the 

continuing professional education requirements in the other 
state in which he holds an active license and in addition he 

meets the continuing professional education requirement 
for ethics in Virginia as prescribed by the board.  

B. If during the current calendar year a person who holds a 

Virginia license provided services to the public or to or on 

behalf of an employer, has not been granted an exemption by 

the board pursuant to subsection C of this section, and did not 

hold a Virginia license or the license of another state during 

one or both of the two preceding calendar years, he shall 
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determine whether he has complied with the requirements of 
subsection A of this section as follows: 

1. If the person became licensed during the current 

calendar year, he shall be considered to have met the 

requirements of subsection A of this section for the three-
calendar-year period ending with the current calendar year. 

2. If the person became licensed during the preceding 

calendar year, he shall be considered to have met the 
requirements of the subsection for the three-calendar-year 

period ending with the current calendar year if during the 

current calendar year he obtained at least the minimum 

number of hours of continuing professional education 

required by subsection A of this section for the current 

calendar year, including an ethics course of at least two 
hours. 

3. If the person became licensed during the calendar year 

prior to the preceding calendar year, he shall be considered 

to have met the requirements of the subsection for the 

three-calendar-year period ending with the current calendar 
year if during the current calendar year and the preceding 

calendar year he obtained at least the minimum number of 

hours of continuing professional education required by 

subsection A of this section for each of the years, including 
for each year an ethics course of at least two hours. 

C. If during the current calendar year a person who holds a 

Virginia license did not provide services to the public or to or 

on behalf of an employer, including on a volunteer basis, and 

has demonstrated to the board that he does not provide those 

services been granted an exemption from continuing 

professional education requirements in writing by the board, 

he is not required to have obtained meet the continuing 
professional education requirements during the three-

calendar-year period ending with the current calendar year for 

which the exemption was granted. Any person who holds a 

Virginia license to whom an exemption has been granted shall 

annually affirm and certify to the board his continued 

eligibility for the exemption in that he does not provide 

services to the public or to or on behalf of an employer. 

However, in order to begin providing those services to the 

public or to or on behalf of an employer, including on a 
volunteer basis: 

1. He is required to have obtained at least 120 hours of 

continuing professional education prior to providing the 
services, including an ethics course of at least two hours. 

2. The ethics course shall conform to the requirements 

prescribed by the board for the calendar year in which the 
person begins providing the services. 

Continuing professional education obtained during the three 

calendar years prior to the current calendar year and from the 

start of the current calendar year to when he begins providing 

the services shall be considered in determining whether the 
person has complied with the requirements of this subsection. 

D. If a person who has not held the license of any state 

applies for a Virginia license within the same calendar year in 

which he passes the CPA examination, he does not need to 

obtain continuing professional education for that calendar 

year. If a person who has not held the license of any state 

applies for a Virginia license after the end of the calendar 

year in which he passes the CPA examination, he shall obtain 

continuing professional education prior to applying for the 
license, including an ethics course of at least two hours. 

1. The required minimum number of hours of continuing 

professional education shall be 40, 80, or 120 depending 

on whether he applies for the Virginia license by the end of 

the first calendar year after the calendar year in which he 

passes the CPA examination, by the end of the second 
calendar year, or later. 

2. The ethics course shall conform to the requirements 

prescribed by the board for the calendar year in which the 
person applies for the license. 

Continuing professional education obtained subsequent to 

passing the CPA examination but during the three calendar 

years prior to the calendar year in which the person applies 

for the license and from the start of that calendar year to when 

he applies for the license shall be considered in determining 
whether he has complied with this requirement. 

E. Continuing professional education acceptable to the board 

may be obtained through a variety of forums, provided there 

is a means of demonstrating that the education was obtained. 
The acceptable forums are: 

1. Attending seminars and educational conferences, 

provided that the instructors have appropriate knowledge 

of the subject matter and use appropriate teaching materials 
and that attendance is monitored in a manner that can be 
verified by the board; 

2. Taking courses at an accredited institution for credit; 

3. Completing self-study courses, provided there is a 

method for determining that the person met the learning 
objectives; 

4. Making a presentation at a professional seminar, 

educational conference, or in a classroom setting, provided 

the person has appropriate knowledge of the subject matter 
and uses appropriate teaching materials;  

5. Writing material that is relevant to providing services to 

or on behalf of an employer or to the public that is formally 

reviewed by an independent party and that is published in a 
book, magazine, or similar publication; and 

6. Passing examinations and obtaining certifications that 
have been approved by the board. 

Whether other forums are acceptable shall be determined by 
the board on a case-by-case basis. 
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F. In determining whether a person has obtained the required 
number of hours of continuing professional education: 

1. Repeat presentations shall not be considered. 

2. No more than 30 hours from preparing for and making 

presentations shall be considered during each three-
calendar-year period. 

3. One semester-hour of credit for courses at an accredited 

institution constitutes 15 hours of continuing professional 
education, and one quarter-hour of credit constitutes 10 
hours of continuing professional education. 

4. Credit for examination and certification shall be 

awarded for the calendar year in which the examination 

was passed and certification was received. If passage of the 

examination and certification occur in different calendar 

years, credit shall be awarded for the calendar year in 

which the examination was passed. The board shall 
determine how many hours are credited per certification. 

5. No more than 60 hours from examination and 

certification shall be considered during each three-
calendar-year period. 

G. Depending on the facts and circumstances, the board may 

waive all or part of the continuing professional education 

requirement for one or more calendar years or grant 

additional time for complying with the continuing 

professional education requirement, provided that the waiver 
or deferral is in the public interest. 

18VAC5-22-91. Documentation of continuing professional 

education. 

A. Continuing professional education acceptable to the 

board may be obtained through a variety of forums, provided 

there is a means of demonstrating that the education was 
obtained. The acceptable forums are: 

1. Attending seminars and educational conferences, 

provided that the instructors have appropriate knowledge 

of the subject matter and use appropriate teaching materials 

and that attendance is monitored in a manner that can be 
verified by the board; 

2. Completing courses at an accredited institution for 
credit; 

3. Completing self-study courses, provided there is a 

method for determining that the person met the learning 
objectives; 

4. Making a presentation at a professional seminar, 

educational conference, or in a classroom setting, provided 

the person has appropriate knowledge of the subject matter 
and uses appropriate teaching materials; 

5. Writing material that is relevant to providing services to 

the public or to or on behalf of an employer that is formally 

reviewed by an independent party and that is published in a 
book, magazine, or similar publication; and 

6. Passing examinations and obtaining certifications that 
have been approved by the board. 

Whether other forums are acceptable shall be determined by 

the board on a case-by-case basis. 

B. In determining whether a person has obtained the 

required number of hours of continuing professional 
education: 

1. Repeat presentations, examinations, and courses shall 
not be considered. 

2. No more than 30 hours from preparing for and making 

presentations shall be considered during each three-
calendar-year period. 

3. One semester-hour of credit for courses at an accredited 

institution constitutes 15 hours of continuing professional 

education, and one quarter-hour of credit constitutes 10 
hours of continuing professional education. 

4. Credit for examination and certification shall be 

awarded for the calendar year in which the examination 

was passed and certification was received. If passage of the 

examination and certification occur in different calendar 

years, credit shall be awarded for the calendar year in 

which the examination was passed. The board shall 
determine how many hours are credited per certification. 

5. No more than 60 hours from examination and 

certification shall be considered during each three-
calendar-year period. 

C. Depending on the facts and circumstances, the board may 

waive all or part of the continuing professional education 

requirement for one or more calendar years or grant 
additional time for complying with the continuing 

professional education requirement, provided that the waiver 
or deferral is in the public interest. 

D. Evidence of satisfactory completion of the continuing 
professional education requirements shall include: 

1. Certificates of completion or some other form of 

documentation from the continuing professional education 

sponsor, including the sponsor's name, participant's name, 

course or content name, date taken, and hours of 
continuing professional education earned; 

2. Official transcripts of the college or university for 

earning course credit at an accredited college or university; 

3. A syllabus or agenda and a signed statement from the 

sponsoring individual or sponsoring organization 

indicating the length of the presentation for making a 
presentation; 
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4. A copy of the published article, book, written material, 

or other proof of publication for producing written material 

relevant to CPAs who provide services to the public or to 
or on behalf of an employer; or 

5. In the case of exams and certifications that have been 

approved by the board, a letter from the administering 

organization that identifies the passage of the exam or the 

certification, the participant's name, and the date of 
passage or certification; 

The board shall not accept receipts, registration 

confirmations, canceled checks, outlines, presentation slides, 

or sign-in sheets as valid evidence of satisfactory completion 

of the continuing professional education requirements. 

Whether other documentation is acceptable shall be 
determined by the board on a case-by-case basis. 

E. A person who holds a Virginia license shall retain 

evidence of his satisfactory completion of the continuing 

professional education requirements for a period of four years 
preceding the current calendar year. 

F. One continuing professional education hour is satisfied by 

50 minutes of participation in a program of continuing 
professional education. 

18VAC5-22-120. Supervision of firm personnel.  

To comply with subdivision C 2 of § 54.1-4412.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, a person's work must be planned, 

supervised, and reviewed by a person who either (i) holds a 

an active Virginia license or (ii) holds the active license of 

another state and complies with the substantial equivalency 
provisions of § 54.1-4411 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC5-22-170. Communication with the board. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-4425 of the Code of Virginia, each 

licensee or applicant shall respond within 30 calendar days to 

any board request for information regarding compliance with 

any statutes or regulations pertaining to the board or any of 

the programs that may be in another title of the Code of 

Virginia for which the board has regulatory responsibility. 

When the requested response is not produced by the licensee 

or applicant within 30 calendar days, this nonproduction shall 

be deemed a violation of this rule, unless otherwise 
determined by the board. 

B. Each holder of a Virginia license shall notify the board in 

writing within 30 calendar days of any: 

1. Any change in the holder's legal name or in the postal 

and electronic addresses where the person or firm may be 
reached; 

2. Any administrative disciplinary action that the holder is 

the subject of or party to before any court, agency of the 

state or federal government, branch of the armed forces of 

the United States of America, or before the American 

Institute of Certified Public Accountants, the Virginia 

Society of Certified Public Accountants, or their 
successors; 

3. Any conviction concerning a felony or misdemeanor, 

regardless of whether sentence is imposed, suspended, or 
executed; 

4. Any guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere; 

5. Any final judgment rendered against the holder in a civil 

court of law; or 

6. Any receipt of a peer review report or a PCAOB firm 

inspection report containing criticisms of or identifying 
potential defects in the firm's quality control systems. 

C. The board shall transmit license renewal notices 

electronically unless a person or firm is unable to 

communicate electronically. The responsibility for renewing a 

Virginia license is on its holder, and that responsibility is not 

affected by whether the holder receives a license renewal 

notice Upon the renewal, reinstatement of, or the application 

for a Virginia license each person or entity shall notify the 

board in writing if any of the sanctions in subsection B of this 
section have occurred. 

18VAC5-22-180. Issuance, renewal, and reinstatement of 

licenses. 

A. Any Virginia license issued, renewed, or reinstated on or 

after February 26, 2018, and on or before June 30, 2018, shall 

expire on June 30, 2019, and its holder shall pay the fee 

prescribed in 18VAC5-22-20 upon submission of a 
completed license application.  

B. Any Virginia license expiring between July 31, 2018, and 

on or before March 31, 2019, that is renewed pursuant to this 

subsection shall expire on June 30, 2019. Any Virginia 

license expiring between April 30, 2019, and on or before 
May 31, 2019, that is renewed pursuant to this subsection 
shall expire on June 30, 2020. 

1. A person who holds a Virginia license that expires 

between July 31, 2018, and May 31, 2019, shall pay a 

prorated renewal fee as prescribed in this subdivision upon 
submission of a completed license renewal application. 

Current 
Expiration Date 

Renewal 
Fee 

Expiration Date 

Following 
Renewal 

July 31, 2018 $55 June 30, 2019 

August 31, 2018 $50 June 30, 2019 

September 30, 

2018 

$45 June 30, 2019 

October 31, 

2018 

$40 June 30, 2019 
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November 30, 

2018 

$35 June 30, 2019 

December 31, 

2018 

$30 June 30, 2019 

January 31, 2019 $25 June 30, 2019 

February 28, 

2019 

$20 June 30, 2019 

March 31, 2019 $15 June 30, 2019 

April 30, 2019 $60 June 30, 2020 

May 31, 2019 $60 June 30, 2020 

2. A firm that holds a Virginia license that expires between 

July 31, 2018, and May 31, 2019, shall pay a prorated 

renewal fee as prescribed in this subdivision upon 
submission of a completed license renewal application. 

Current 
Expiration Date 

Renewal 
Fee 

Expiration Date 

Following 
Renewal 

July 31, 2018 $68 June 30, 2019 

August 31, 2018 $62 June 30, 2019 

September 30, 
2018 

$56 June 30, 2019 

October 31, 

2018 

$50 June 30, 2019 

November 30, 

2018 

$43 June 30, 2019 

December 31, 

2018 

$37 June 30, 2019 

January 31, 

2019 

$31 June 30, 2019 

February 28, 

2019 

$25 June 30, 2019 

March 31, 2019 $18 June 30, 2019 

April 30, 2019 $75 June 30, 2020 

May 31, 2019 $75 June 30, 2020 

C. Any Virginia license issued or reinstated from July 1, 

2018, to on or before March 31, 2019, shall expire on June 

30, 2019, and its holder shall pay the fee prescribed in 

18VAC5-22-20 upon submission of a completed license 

application. Beginning April 1, 2019, any Virginia license 

issued or reinstated during the months of April, May, or June 

shall expire on June 30 of the succeeding calendar year, and 

its holder shall pay the fee prescribed in 18VAC5-22-20 upon 
submission of a completed license application. 

D. A. For Virginia licenses expiring on June 30, 2019, or 

later, the holder of a Virginia license shall annually renew his 

license on or before June 30 of each calendar year by 

submitting a completed license renewal application and 

paying to the board a renewal fee as prescribed in 18VAC5-
22-20. 

B. If a person or entity applies for an initial license or 

reinstatement on or after March 1 of a calendar year, the 
license will not expire until June 30 of the following calendar 
year. 

C. The board shall transmit license renewal notices 

electronically unless a person or firm is unable to 

communicate electronically. The responsibility for renewing a 

Virginia license is on its holder, and that responsibility is not 

affected by whether the holder receives a license renewal 
notice. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5755; Filed May 28, 2020, 1:13 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 

18VAC90-30-10, 18VAC90-30-20, 18VAC90-30-50, 

18VAC90-30-85, 18VAC90-30-110, 18VAC90-30-120; 

adding 18VAC90-30-86). 

18VAC90-40. Regulations for Prescriptive Authority for 

Nurse Practitioners (amending 18VAC90-40-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 22, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 
(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 776 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, 

which permits a nurse practitioner who meets certain 

statutory requirements to practice without a practice 

agreement with a patient care team physician, the 
amendments set the qualifications for authorization for a 

nurse practitioner to practice without a practice 

agreement, including (i) the hours required to be the 

equivalent of five years of full-time clinical experience, (ii) 

the content of the attestation from the physician and the 

nurse practitioner, (iii) the submission of an attestation 

when the nurse practitioner is unable to obtain a physician 

attestation, (iv) the requirements for autonomous practice, 
and (v) the fee for authorization for autonomous practice. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
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response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC90-30-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Approved program" means a nurse practitioner education 

program that is accredited by the Council on Accreditation of 

Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs/Schools, American 

College of Nurse Midwives, Commission on Collegiate 

Nursing Education, or the National League for Nursing 

Accrediting Commission or is offered by a school of nursing 

or jointly offered by a school of medicine and a school of 

nursing that grant a graduate degree in nursing and which that 
hold a national accreditation acceptable to the boards.  

"Autonomous practice" means practice in a category in 

which a nurse practitioner is certified and licensed without a 
written or electronic practice agreement with a patient care 
team physician in accordance with 18VAC90-30-86. 

"Boards" means the Virginia Board of Nursing and the 
Virginia Board of Medicine.  

"Certified nurse midwife" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of nurse 

midwifery and who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 
§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Certified registered nurse anesthetist" means an advanced 

practice registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of 

nurse anesthesia, who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 
Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia, and who practices under 

the supervision of a doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, 

or dentistry but is not subject to the practice agreement 
requirement described in § 54.1-2957. 

"Collaboration" means the communication and decision-

making process among members of a patient care team 

related to the treatment and care of a patient and includes (i) 

communication of data and information about the treatment 

and care of a patient, including exchange of clinical 

observations and assessments, and (ii) development of an 
appropriate plan of care, including decisions regarding the 

health care provided, accessing and assessment of appropriate 

additional resources or expertise, and arrangement of 
appropriate referrals, testing, or studies. 

"Committee" means the Committee of the Joint Boards of 
Nursing and Medicine.  

"Consultation" means the communicating of data and 

information, exchanging of clinical observations and 

assessments, accessing and assessing of additional resources 

and expertise, problem solving, and arranging for referrals, 
testing, or studies. 

"Licensed nurse practitioner" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who has met the requirements for licensure 
as stated in Part II (18VAC90-30-60 et seq.) of this chapter.  

"National certifying body" means a national organization 

that is accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the 
U.S. Department of Education or deemed acceptable by the 

National Council of State Boards of Nursing and has as one 

of its purposes the certification of nurse anesthetists, nurse 

midwives, or nurse practitioners, referred to in this chapter as 

professional certification, and whose certification of such 
persons by examination is accepted by the committee.  

"Patient care team physician" means a person who holds an 

active, unrestricted license issued by the Virginia Board of 
Medicine to practice medicine or osteopathic medicine. 

"Practice agreement" means a written or electronic 

statement, jointly developed by the collaborating patient care 
team physician(s) physician and the licensed nurse 

practitioner(s) practitioner that describes the procedures to be 

followed and the acts appropriate to the specialty practice 

area to be performed by the licensed nurse practitioner(s) 

practitioner in the care and management of patients. The 

practice agreement also describes the prescriptive authority of 

the nurse practitioner, if applicable. For a nurse practitioner 

licensed in the category of certified nurse midwife, the 

practice agreement is a statement jointly developed with the 
consulting physician.  

18VAC90-30-20. Delegation of authority. 

A. The boards hereby delegate to the executive director of 

the Virginia Board of Nursing the authority to issue the initial 

licensure and the biennial renewal of such licensure to those 

persons who meet the requirements set forth in this chapter, 

to grant authorization for autonomous practice to those 

persons who have met the qualifications of 18VAC90-30-86, 

and to grant extensions or exemptions for compliance with 

continuing competency requirements as set forth in 

subsection E of 18VAC90-30-105. Questions of eligibility 

shall be referred to the Committee of the Joint Boards of 
Nursing and Medicine.  

B. All records and files related to the licensure of nurse 

practitioners shall be maintained in the office of the Virginia 
Board of Nursing.  

18VAC90-30-50. Fees.  

A. Fees required in connection with the licensure of nurse 
practitioners are:  

  1. Application $125 

  2. Biennial licensure renewal $80 
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  3. Late renewal $25 

  4. Reinstatement of licensure $150 

  5. Verification of licensure to another 
jurisdiction 

$35 

  6. Duplicate license $15 

  7. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

  8. Handling fee for returned check or 
dishonored credit card or debit card 

$50 

  9. Reinstatement of suspended or revoked 
license 

$200 

  10. Autonomous practice attestation $100 

B. For renewal of licensure from July 1, 2017, through June 

30, 2019, the following fee shall be in effect: 

  Biennial renewal $60 

18VAC90-30-85. Qualifications for licensure by 

endorsement. 

A. An applicant for licensure by endorsement as a nurse 
practitioner shall: 

1. Provide verification of licensure as a nurse practitioner 

or advanced practice nurse in another U.S. United States 

jurisdiction with a license in good standing, or, if lapsed, 
eligible for reinstatement; 

2. Submit evidence of professional certification that is 

consistent with the specialty area of the applicant's 

educational preparation issued by an agency accepted by 
the boards as identified in 18VAC90-30-90; and 

3. Submit the required application and fee as prescribed in 
18VAC90-30-50. 

B. An applicant shall provide evidence that includes a 

transcript that shows successful completion of core 

coursework that prepares the applicant for licensure in the 
appropriate specialty. 

C. An applicant for licensure by endorsement who is also 

seeking authorization for autonomous practice shall comply 
with subsection F of 18VAC90-30-86. 

18VAC90-30-86. Autonomous practice for nurse 

practitioners other than certified nurse midwives or 

certified registered nurse anesthetists. 

A. A nurse practitioner with a current, unrestricted license, 

other than someone licensed in the category of certified nurse 

midwife or certified registered nurse anesthetist, may qualify 

for autonomous practice by completion of the equivalent of 

five years of full-time clinical experience as a nurse 
practitioner. 

1. Five years of full-time clinical experience shall be 
defined as 1,800 hours per year for a total of 9,000 hours. 

2. Clinical experience shall be defined as the postgraduate 

delivery of health care directly to patients pursuant to a 
practice agreement with a patient care team physician.  

B. Qualification for authorization for autonomous practice 

shall be determined upon submission of a fee as specified in 

18VAC90-30-50 and an attestation acceptable to the boards. 
The attestation shall be signed by the nurse practitioner and 

the nurse practitioner's patient care team physician stating 
that: 

1. The patient care team physician served as a patient care 

team physician on a patient care team with the nurse 

practitioner pursuant to a practice agreement meeting the 

requirements of this chapter and §§ 54.1-2957 and 54.1-
2957.01 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. While a party to such practice agreement, the patient 

care team physician routinely practiced with a patient 

population and in a practice area included within the 
category, as specified in 18VAC90-30-70, for which the 
nurse practitioner was certified and licensed; and  

3. The period of time and hours of practice during which 

the patient care team physician practiced with the nurse 
practitioner under such a practice agreement. 

C. The nurse practitioner may submit attestations from more 

than one patient care team physician with whom the nurse 

practitioner practiced during the equivalent of five years of 

practice, but all attestations shall be submitted to the boards at 
the same time.  

D. If a nurse practitioner is licensed and certified in more 

than one category as specified in 18VAC90-30-70, a separate 
fee and attestation that meets the requirements of subsection 

B of this section shall be submitted for each category. If the 

hours of practice are applicable to the patient population and 

in practice areas included within each of the categories of 

licensure and certification, those hours may be counted 
toward a second attestation.  

E. In the event a patient care team physician has died, 

become disabled, retired, or relocated to another state, or in 

the event of any other circumstance that inhibits the ability of 

the nurse practitioner from obtaining an attestation as 

specified in subsection B of this section, the nurse practitioner 
may submit other evidence of meeting the qualifications for 

autonomous practice along with an attestation signed by the 

nurse practitioner. Other evidence may include employment 

records, military service, Medicare or Medicaid 

reimbursement records, or other similar records that verify 

full-time clinical practice in the role of a nurse practitioner in 

the category for which the nurse practitioner is licensed and 

certified. The burden shall be on the nurse practitioner to 

provide sufficient evidence to support the nurse practitioner's 
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inability to obtain an attestation from a patient care team 
physician. 

F. A nurse practitioner to whom a license is issued by 

endorsement may engage in autonomous practice if such 

application includes an attestation acceptable to the boards 

that the nurse practitioner has completed the equivalent of 

five years of full-time clinical experience as specified in 

subsection A of this section and in accordance with the laws 
of the state in which the nurse practitioner was previously 
licensed. 

G. A nurse practitioner authorized to practice autonomously 
shall: 

1. Only practice within the scope of the nurse practitioner's 

clinical and professional training and limits of the nurse 

practitioner's knowledge and experience and consistent 
with the applicable standards of care; 

2. Consult and collaborate with other health care providers 

based on the clinical conditions of the patient to whom 
health care is provided; and  

3. Establish a plan for referral of complex medical cases 

and emergencies to physicians or other appropriate health 
care providers. 

18VAC90-30-110. Reinstatement of license. 

A. A licensed nurse practitioner whose license has lapsed 

may be reinstated within one renewal period by payment of 
the current renewal fee and the late renewal fee. 

B. An applicant for reinstatement of license lapsed for more 

than one renewal period shall: 

1. File the required application and reinstatement fee; 

2. Be currently licensed as a registered nurse in Virginia or 

hold a current multistate licensure privilege as a registered 
nurse; and 

3. Provide evidence of current professional competency 
consisting of: 

a. Current professional certification by the appropriate 
certifying agency identified in 18VAC90-30-90; 

b. Continuing education hours taken during the period in 

which the license was lapsed, equal to the number 

required for licensure renewal during that period, not to 
exceed 120 hours; or  

c. If applicable, current, unrestricted licensure or 

certification in another jurisdiction. 

4. If qualified for autonomous practice, provide the 

required fee and attestation in accordance with 18VAC90-
30-86. 

C. An applicant for reinstatement of license following 
suspension or revocation shall: 

1. Petition for reinstatement and pay the reinstatement fee; 

2. Present evidence that he is currently licensed as a 

registered nurse in Virginia or hold a current multistate 
licensure privilege as a registered nurse; and 

3. Present evidence that he is competent to resume practice 

as a licensed nurse practitioner in Virginia to include: 

a. Current professional certification by the appropriate 
certifying agency identified in 18VAC90-30-90; or 

b. Continuing education hours taken during the period in 

which the license was suspended or revoked, equal to the 

number required for licensure renewal during that period, 
not to exceed 120 hours. 

The committee shall act on the petition pursuant to the 

Administrative Process Act, (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia).  

Part III  

Practice of Licensed Nurse Practitioners  

18VAC90-30-120. Practice of licensed nurse practitioners 

other than certified registered nurse anesthetists or 

certified nurse midwives.  

A. A nurse practitioner licensed in a category other than 

certified registered nurse anesthetist or certified nurse 

midwife shall be authorized to render care in collaboration 

and consultation with a licensed patient care team physician 

as part of a patient care team or if determined by the boards to 

qualify in accordance with 18VAC90-30-86, authorized to 

practice autonomously without a practice agreement with a 
patient care team physician.  

B. The practice shall be based on specialty education 

preparation as an advanced practice registered nurse in 

accordance with standards of the applicable certifying 
organization, as identified in 18VAC90-30-90.  

C. All nurse practitioners licensed in any category other than 

certified registered nurse anesthetist or certified nurse 

midwife shall practice in accordance with a written or 

electronic practice agreement as defined in 18VAC90-30-10 
or in accordance with 18VAC90-30-86.  

D. The written or electronic practice agreement shall include 

provisions for: 

1. The periodic review of patient charts or electronic 

patient records by a patient care team physician and may 

include provisions for visits to the site where health care is 

delivered in the manner and at the frequency determined 
by the patient care team; 

2. Appropriate physician input in complex clinical cases 
and patient emergencies and for referrals; and  
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3. The nurse practitioner's authority for signatures, 

certifications, stamps, verifications, affidavits, and 
endorsements provided it is:  

a. In accordance with the specialty license of the nurse 

practitioner and within the scope of practice of the 
patient care team physician;  

b. Permitted by § 54.1-2957.02 or applicable sections of 

the Code of Virginia; and  

c. Not in conflict with federal law or regulation.  

E. The practice agreement shall be maintained by the nurse 

practitioner and provided to the boards upon request. For 

nurse practitioners providing care to patients within a hospital 

or health care system, the practice agreement may be included 

as part of documents delineating the nurse practitioner's 

clinical privileges or the electronic or written delineation of 

duties and responsibilities; however, the nurse practitioner 

shall be responsible for providing a copy to the boards upon 
request.  

Part III  

Practice Requirements  

18VAC90-40-90. Practice agreement. 

A. With the exception of exceptions listed in subsection E of 

this section, a nurse practitioner with prescriptive authority 

may prescribe only within the scope of the written or 

electronic practice agreement with a patient care team 
physician. 

B. At any time there are changes in the patient care team 

physician, authorization to prescribe, or scope of practice, the 

nurse practitioner shall revise the practice agreement and 
maintain the revised agreement. 

C. The practice agreement shall contain the following: 

1. A description of the prescriptive authority of the nurse 

practitioner within the scope allowed by law and the 
practice of the nurse practitioner. 

2. An authorization for categories of drugs and devices 

within the requirements of § 54.1-2957.01 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

3. The signature of the patient care team physician who is 

practicing with the nurse practitioner or a clear statement 

of the name of the patient care team physician who has 
entered into the practice agreement.  

D. In accordance with § 54.1-2957.01 of the Code of 

Virginia, a physician shall not serve as a patient care team 

physician to more than six nurse practitioners with 
prescriptive authority at any one time. 

E. Exceptions. 

1. A nurse practitioner licensed in the category of certified 

nurse midwife and holding a license for prescriptive 

authority may prescribe in accordance with a written or 

electronic practice agreement with a consulting physician 

or may prescribe Schedule VI controlled substances 

without the requirement for inclusion of such prescriptive 
authority in a practice agreement. 

2. A nurse practitioner who is licensed in a category other 

than certified nurse midwife or certified registered nurse 

anesthetist and who has met the qualifications for 
autonomous practice as set forth in 18VAC90-30-86 may 

prescribe without a practice agreement with a patient care 
team physician.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5512; Filed May 26, 2020, 3:56 p.m.  
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GOVERN OR  

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-FOUR (2020) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency Due to Civil 
Unrest and Institution of a Curfew in the  

City of Richmond 

Importance of the Issue  

On this day, May 31, 2020, I declare that a state of emergency 

exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia due to past and 

potential future civil unrest that poses a danger to public 

safety. The Commonwealth of Virginia has experienced 

significant events in the past 48 hours that have required 

intervention to restore order, ensure the safety of protestors 

and the public, protect property, and provide additional 

resources to support our local and state partners. In the past 

24 hours alone, there have been numerous instances of 

unlawful activity resulting in injuries to peaceful protestors 
and first responders, significant property damage, and 

continued escalation of violent events. Specific incidents 

include unlawful assemblies declared in the City of 

Richmond, Prince William County, and Roanoke, extensive 

property damage in the City of Richmond including the 

burning of two buildings, vehicle fires, debris and dumpster 

fires, vandalism, looting, and the damage to law enforcement 

vehicles. 

The Commonwealth has a compelling interest to maintain 

peace and order in the face of escalating tension. The effects 

of this civil unrest constitute an emergency wherein human 
lives and public and private property are imperiled, as 

described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia (Code). 

Action is necessary to preserve life and property and to 

alleviate the conditions caused by this situation.  

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia, by §§ 44-146.17 and 44-

75.1 of the Code, and as Governor and Director of 

Emergency Management and Commander-in-Chief of the 

Commonwealth's armed forces, I proclaim that a state of 

emergency exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Accordingly, I direct state and local governments to render 

appropriate assistance to prepare for and respond to this 
situation, to alleviate any conditions resulting from the 

situation, and to implement recovery and mitigation 

operations and activities so as to return impacted areas to pre-

event conditions as much as possible. Emergency services 

shall be conducted in accordance with § 44-146.13 et seq. of 

the Code.  

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures, I order the 

following actions: 

A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia Emergency Operations Plan, as amended, along with 
other appropriate state plans.  

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

and the Virginia Emergency Support Team, as directed by the 

State Coordinator of Emergency Management, to coordinate 

the provision of assistance to state, local, and tribal 

governments and to facilitate emergency services assignments 

to other agencies.  

C. Authorization for the heads of executive branch agencies, 

on behalf of their regulatory boards as appropriate, and with 
the concurrence of their Cabinet Secretary, to waive any state 

requirement or regulation, and enter into contracts without 

regard to normal procedures or formalities, and without 

regard to application or permit fees or royalties. All waivers 

issued by agencies shall be posted on their websites.  

D. Activation of the Virginia National Guard to State Active 

Duty.  

E. Authorization of a maximum of $350,000 in state sum 

sufficient funds for state and local government mission 

assignments and state response and recovery operations 

authorized and coordinated through the Virginia Department 
of Emergency Management allowable by The Stafford Act, 

42 USC § 5121 et seq. Included in this authorization is 

$250,000 for the Department of Military Affairs.  

Further, I declare that the City of Richmond shall be under a 

curfew between the hours of 8 p.m. and 6 a.m. beginning 

May 31, 2020, and ending June 3, 2020. Unless extended by 

further executive order, the curfew shall end at 6 a.m., June 3, 

2020. While the curfew is in place no person shall be present 

on any street, road, alley, avenue, park, or other public place 

in the City of Richmond with the following exceptions:  

• Persons traveling to and from home, work, or places of 

worship;  

• Hospital personnel;  

• Members of the press;  

• State and City of Richmond employees and volunteers;  

• Military personnel including but not limited to national 

guard troops;  

• Private emergency medical transport workers;  

• Persons seeking emergency services; and  

• Other emergency workers  

Nothing in this Order shall be construed to prohibit or restrict 

travel to a hospital in the event of a medical emergency, nor 

shall such travel be considered in violation of this Order.  

Violation of this Order shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor 

pursuant to § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order  

This Order shall be effective immediately and with the 

exception to the provisions instituting a curfew, shall remain 



Governor 

Volume 36, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 22, 2020 

2397 

in full force and effect until June 29, 2020, unless amended or 

rescinded by further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 31st day of May, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

AMENDED EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-

FOUR (2020) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency Due to Civil 
Unrest and Institution of a Curfew in the City of 

Richmond and the City of Virginia Beach 

Importance of the Issue  

On this day, May 31, 2020, I declare that a state of emergency 

exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia due to past and 

potential future civil unrest that poses a danger to public 

safety. The Commonwealth of Virginia has experienced 

significant events in the past 48 hours that have required 

intervention to restore order, ensure the safety of protestors 

and the public, protect property, and provide additional 
resources to support our local and state partners. In the past 

24 hours alone, there have been numerous instances of 

unlawful activity resulting in injuries to peaceful protestors 

and first responders, significant property damage, and 

continued escalation of violent events. Specific incidents 

include unlawful assemblies declared in the City of 

Richmond, Prince William County, and Roanoke, extensive 

property damage in the City of Richmond and the City of 

Virginia Beach including the burning of two buildings, 

vehicle fires, debris and dumpster fires, vandalism, looting, 

and the damage to law enforcement vehicles. 

The Commonwealth has a compelling interest to maintain 
peace and order in the face of escalating tension. The effects 

of this civil unrest constitute an emergency wherein human 

lives and public and private property are imperiled, as 

described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia (Code). 

Action is necessary to preserve life and property and to 

alleviate the conditions caused by this situation.  

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia, by §§ 44-146.17 and 44-

75.1 of the Code, and as Governor and Director of 

Emergency Management and Commander-in-Chief of the 

Commonwealth's armed forces, I proclaim that a state of 
emergency exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Accordingly, I direct state and local governments to render 

appropriate assistance to prepare for and respond to this 

situation, to alleviate any conditions resulting from the 

situation, and to implement recovery and mitigation 

operations and activities so as to return impacted areas to pre-

event conditions as much as possible. Emergency services 

shall be conducted in accordance with § 44-146.13 et seq. of 

the Code.  

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures, I order the 

following actions:  

A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia Emergency Operations Plan, as amended, along with 

other appropriate state plans.  

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

and the Virginia Emergency Support Team, as directed by the 
State Coordinator of Emergency Management, to coordinate 

the provision of assistance to state, local, and tribal 

governments and to facilitate emergency services assignments 

to other agencies.  

C. Authorization for the heads of executive branch agencies, 

on behalf of their regulatory boards as appropriate, and with 

the concurrence of their Cabinet Secretary, to waive any state 

requirement or regulation, and enter into contracts without 

regard to normal procedures or formalities, and without 

regard to application or permit fees or royalties. All waivers 

issued by agencies shall be posted on their websites.  

D. Activation of the Virginia National Guard to State Active 

Duty.  

E. Authorization of a maximum of $350,000 in state sum 

sufficient funds for state and local government mission 

assignments and state response and recovery operations 

authorized and coordinated through the Virginia Department 

of Emergency Management allowable by The Stafford Act, 

42 USC § 5121 et seq. Included in this authorization is 

$250,000 for the Department of Military Affairs.  

Further, I declare that the City of Richmond and the City of 

Virginia Beach shall be under a curfew between the hours of 

8 p.m. and 6 a.m. With respect to the City of Richmond, the 
curfew shall begin on May 31, 2020, and end June 3, 2020. 

Unless extended by further executive order, that curfew shall 

end at 6 a.m., June 3, 2020. With respect to the City of 

Virginia Beach, the curfew shall begin on June 1, 2020 at 

8 p.m. and end on June 4, 2020, at 6 a.m. unless extended by 

further executive order. While the curfew is in place no 

person shall be present on any street, road, alley, avenue, 

park, or other public place in the City of Richmond and the 

City of Virginia Beach with the following exceptions: 

• Persons traveling to and from home, work, or places of 

worship;  

• Hospital personnel 

• Members of the press;  

• State, City of Richmond, and City of Virginia Beach 

employees and volunteers;  

• Military personnel including but not limited to national 

guard troops;  

• Private emergency medical transport workers;  
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• Travel to and from public meetings City of Virginia 

Beach City Council and School Board;  

• Persons seeking emergency services; and  

• Other emergency workers  

Nothing in this Order shall be construed to prohibit or restrict 

travel to a hospital in the event of a medical emergency, nor 

shall such travel be considered in violation of this Order.  

Violation of this Order shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor 
pursuant to § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Order shall be effective immediately and with the 

exception to the provisions instituting a curfew, shall remain 

in full force and effect until June 29, 2020, unless amended or 

rescinded by further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 1st day of June, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

SECOND AMENDED EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 
SIXTY-FOUR (2020) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency Due to Civil 
Unrest and Institution of a Curfew in the  

City of Richmond, the City of Virginia Beach and the 
City of Hampton 

Importance of the Issue  

On this day, May 31, 2020, I declare that a state of emergency 

exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia due to past and 

potential future civil unrest that poses a danger to public 

safety. The Commonwealth of Virginia has experienced 

significant events in the past 48 hours that have required 

intervention to restore order, ensure the safety of protestors 
and the public, protect property, and provide additional 

resources to support our local and state partners. In the past 

24 hours alone, there have been numerous instances of 

unlawful activity resulting in injuries to peaceful protestors 

and first responders, significant property damage, and 

continued escalation of violent events. Specific incidents 

include unlawful assemblies declared in the City of 

Richmond, Prince William County, and Roanoke, extensive 

property damage in the City of Richmond, the City of 

Virginia Beach, and the City of Hampton including the 

burning of two buildings, vehicle fires, debris and dumpster 
fires, vandalism, looting, and the damage to law enforcement 

vehicles. 

The Commonwealth has a compelling interest to maintain 

peace and order in the face of escalating tension. The effects 

of this civil unrest constitute an emergency wherein human 

lives and public and private property are imperiled, as 

described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia (Code). 

Action is necessary to preserve life and property and to 

alleviate the conditions caused by this situation.  

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia, by §§ 44-146.17 and 44-

75.1 of the Code, and as Governor and Director of 

Emergency Management and Commander-in-Chief of the 

Commonwealth's armed forces, I proclaim that a state of 
emergency exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Accordingly, I direct state and local governments to render 

appropriate assistance to prepare for and respond to this 

situation, to alleviate any conditions resulting from the 

situation, and to implement recovery and mitigation 

operations and activities so as to return impacted areas to pre-

event conditions as much as possible. Emergency services 

shall be conducted in accordance with § 44-146.13 et seq. of 

the Code.  

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures, I order the 
following actions:  

A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia Emergency Operations Plan, as amended, along with 

other appropriate state plans.  

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

and the Virginia Emergency Support Team, as directed by the 

State Coordinator of Emergency Management, to coordinate 

the provision of assistance to state, local, and tribal 

governments and to facilitate emergency services assignments 

to other agencies.  

C. Authorization for the heads of executive branch agencies, 

on behalf of their regulatory boards as appropriate, and with 
the concurrence of their Cabinet Secretary, to waive any state 

requirement or regulation, and enter into contracts without 

regard to normal procedures or formalities, and without 

regard to application or permit fees or royalties. All waivers 

issued by agencies shall be posted on their websites.  

D. Activation of the Virginia National Guard to State Active 

Duty.  

E. Authorization of a maximum of $350,000 in state sum 

sufficient funds for state and local government mission 

assignments and state response and recovery operations 

authorized and coordinated through the Virginia Department 
of Emergency Management allowable by The Stafford Act, 

42 USC § 5121 et seq. Included in this authorization is 

$250,000 for the Department of Military Affairs.  

Further, I declare that the City of Richmond, the City of 

Virginia Beach, and the City of Hampton shall be under a 

curfew between the hours of 8 p.m. and 6 a.m. With respect 

to the City of Richmond, the curfew shall begin on May 31, 

2020, and end June 3, 2020. Unless extended by further 

executive order, that curfew shall end at 6 a.m., June 3, 2020. 
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With respect to the City of Virginia Beach, the curfew shall 

begin on June 1, 2020 at 8 p.m. and end on June 4, 2020, at 

6 a.m. unless extended by further executive order. With 

respect to the City of Hampton, the curfew shall begin on 

June 3, 2020 at 8 p.m. and end on June 6, 2020, at 6 a.m. 

unless extended by further executive order. While the curfew 

is in place no person shall be present on any street, road, 

alley, avenue, park, or other public place in the City of 
Richmond, the City of Virginia Beach, and the City of 

Hampton with the following exceptions: 

• Persons traveling to and from home, work, or places of 

worship;  

• Hospital personnel;  

• Members of the press;  

• State, City of Richmond, City of Virginia Beach, and the 

City of Hampton employees and volunteers;  

• Military personnel including but not limited to national 

guard troops;  

• Private emergency medical transport workers;  

• Travel to and from public meetings City of Virginia 

Beach City Council and School Board;  

• Persons seeking emergency services; and  

• Other emergency workers  

Nothing in this Order shall be construed to prohibit or restrict 

travel to a hospital in the event of a medical emergency, nor 
shall such travel be considered in violation of this Order.  

Violation of this Order shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor 

pursuant to § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date of this Executive Order  

This Order shall be effective immediately and with the 

exception to the provisions instituting a curfew, shall remain 

in full force and effect until June 29, 2020, unless amended or 

rescinded by further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 3rd day of June, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-FIVE (2020) AND 

ORDER OF PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY SIX  

Phase Two Easing of Certain Temporary 
Restrictions Due to Novel Coronavirus  

(COVID-19) 

Excluding the City of Richmond and the Northern 
Virginia Region 

Importance of the Issue  

On May 8, 2020, Executive Order 61 and Order of Public 

Health Emergency Three began easing business, gathering, 

and traveling restrictions originally imposed by Executive 

Order 53 and Executive Order 55 issued in March of 2020. 

We did this because our health data metrics showed that we 

were increasing testing availability, we have adequate supply 

of personal protective equipment and hospital bed supply, the 

percentage of positive tests, hospitalizations, and positive 

tests were trending downward. The health data metrics for 

some jurisdictions, however, still presented sharper 
challenges. Therefore, pursuant to Executive Order 62 and 

Order of Public Health Emergency Four (2020), later 

amended, the Northern Virginia Region (as defined by that 

Order), the County of Accomack, and the City of Richmond 

remained in Phase Zero. On May 29, 2020, those jurisdictions 

moved into Phase One.  

During the weeks that the majority of Virginia has been in 

Phase One, the public health metrics have continued to show 

the same trends. Our testing is increasing, our supply of 

personal protective equipment is steady, our hospital bed 

capacity remains steady, our hospitalizations statewide have a 
slight downward trend, and the percentage of positive tests 

continue to trend downward.  

Now under this Order, the majority of the Commonwealth 

will move into Phase Two. The Northern Virginia Region and 

the City of Richmond will remain in Phase One under Third 

Amended Executive Order 61 and Third Amended Order of 

Public Health Emergency Three (2020). We have made 

remarkable progress over the past several weeks. As we move 

forward, we will remain vigilant, cautious, and measured. We 

will continue teleworking, whenever possible, to wash our 

hands frequently, to not touch our faces, and to wear face 

coverings. Through these efforts, we will continue to protect 
ourselves, our families, and our fellow Virginians as we 

respond to this emergency.  

Directive 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 of the Code 

of Virginia, by any other applicable law, and in furtherance of 

Amended Executive Order 51 (2020), and by virtue of the 

authority vested in the State Health Commissioner pursuant to 

§§ 32.1-13, 32.1-20, and 35.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following is ordered:  

A. EASING OF BUSINESS RESTRICTIONS  

1. All Businesses  

Any businesses, not listed in this section, should adhere to the 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors expressly incorporated by 

reference herein as best practices. This guidance is located 

here.  

2. Restaurants, Dining Establishments, Food Courts, 

Breweries, Microbreweries, Distilleries, Wineries, and 

Tasting Rooms  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-Two-Guidelines.pdf
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Restaurants, dining establishments, food courts, breweries, 

microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, and tasting rooms may 

operate delivery, take-out, and indoor and outdoor dining and 

beverage services, provided such businesses comply with the 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors, and sector-specific 

guidance for restaurant and beverage services incorporated by 

reference herein. Such guidance includes, but is not limited 

to, the following requirements: 

a. Occupancy may not exceed the 50% of the lowest 

occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy, if applicable.  

b. All parties, whether seated together or across multiple 

tables, must be limited to 50 patrons or less.  

c. Tables at which dining parties are seated must be 

positioned six feet apart from other tables. If tables are not 

movable, parties must be seated at least six feet apart.  

d. No self-service of food (except beverages), including 

condiments. Condiments should be removed from tables and 

dispensed by employees upon the request of a customer. 

Buffets must be staffed by servers. For self-service beverage 
areas, use beverage equipment designed to dispense by a 

contamination-free method.  

e. Bar seats and congregating areas of restaurants must be 

closed to patrons except for through-traffic. Non-bar seating 

in a bar area may be used for customer seating as long as a 

minimum of six feet is provided between parties at tables.  

f. Employees working in customer-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

g. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted every 60 minutes 

during operation. Tabletops, chairs, and credit card/bill 

folders must be cleaned in between patrons.  

h. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

3. Farmers Markets  

Farmers markets may continue to operate, provided such 

businesses comply with the Guidelines for All Business 

Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for farmers markets 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, but 

is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. On-site shopping is allowed, as long as physical distancing 

guidelines are followed. Configure operations to avoid 

congestion or congregation points.  

b. Employees and vendors in customer-facing areas must 

wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

c. Vendors must supply hand sanitizer stations or hand 

washing stations for patrons and employees.  

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

4. Brick And Mortar Retail Businesses Not Listed In Section 

C, Paragraph 1 (Non-Essential Retail)  

Any brick and mortar retail business not listed in section C, 

paragraph 1 may continue to operate, provided such business 

complies with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the 

sector-specific guidance for brick and mortar retail expressly 
incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, but 

is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy must be limited to no more than 50% of the 

lowest occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy.  

b. Employees working in customer-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

c. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

5. Fitness and Exercise Facilities  

Fitness centers, gymnasiums, recreation centers, sports 

facilities, and exercise facilities may reopen for indoor and 
outdoor activities, provided such businesses comply with the 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-specific 

guidelines for fitness and exercise facilities expressly 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, but 

is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. Patrons, members, and guests must remain at least ten feet 

apart during all activities.  

b. Instructors and all participants of group exercise and fitness 

classes must maintain at least ten feet of physical distancing 

between each other at all times.  

c. The total number of attendees (including both participants 

and instructors) in all group exercise and fitness classes 
cannot exceed the lesser of 30% of the minimum occupancy 

load on the certificate of occupancy or 50 patrons, members, 

and guests.  

d. Hot tubs, spas, splash pads, spray pools, and interactive 

play features must be closed.  

e. Outdoor and indoor swimming pools may be open for lap 

swimming, diving, exercise, and instruction only and must be 

limited to no more than three persons per lane with ten feet of 

physical distance per swimmer.  

f. Employees working in customer-facing areas are required 

to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

g. Employers must ensure cleaning and disinfection of shared 

equipment after each use.  

h. Facilities shall prohibit the use of any equipment that 

cannot be thoroughly disinfected between uses (e.g., climbing 

rope, exercise bands, etc.).  
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i. Businesses must supply hand sanitizer stations or hand 

washing stations for patrons, members, and guests.  

j. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

6. Personal Care and Personal Grooming Services  

Beauty salons, barbershops, spas, massage centers, tanning 

salons, tattoo shops, and any other location where personal 

care or personal grooming services are performed may 
continue to operate, provided such businesses comply with 

the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-

specific guidelines for personal care and personal grooming 

services expressly incorporated by reference herein. Such 

guidance includes, but is not limited to, the following 

requirements:  

a. Occupancy may not exceed 50% of the lowest occupancy 

load on the certificate of occupancy with at least six feet of 

physical distancing between work stations and no more than 

two appointments per service provider at a time.  

b. Service providers and employees working in customer-
facing areas must wear face coverings over their nose and 

mouth at all times.  

c. Provide face coverings for clients or ask that clients bring a 

face covering with them, which they must wear during the 

service. Limit services to only those that can be completed 

without clients removing their face covering.  

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted every 60 minutes in 

operations, while cleaning and disinfecting all personal care 

and personal grooming tools after each use. If that is not 

possible, such items must be discarded.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 
must close.  

7. Campgrounds  

Privately-owned campgrounds as defined in § 35.1-1 of the 

Code of Virginia may continue to operate, provided they 

comply with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the 

sector-specific guidelines for campgrounds, which are 

expressly incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance 

includes, but is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. A minimum of 20 feet must be maintained between units 

for all lots rented for short-term stays of less than 14 nights 

(and not owned by individuals).  

b. Employees working in public-facing areas are required to 

wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

c. It is recommended that campgrounds must strongly 

encourage customers to wear face coverings over their nose 

and mouth.  

d. The provision of hand washing in bath houses and 

sanitizing stations for guests and employees.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

8. Indoor Shooting Ranges  

Indoor shooting ranges may operate, provided they comply 

with the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy must be limited to 50% of the lowest 
occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy with at least 

six feet of physical distancing between individuals at all 

times. Use every other lane to achieve six feet of physical 

distancing.  

b. Employees working in customer-facing areas are required 

to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times. 

c. Perform thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces every 60 minutes in operation, while 

disinfecting all equipment between each customer use and 

prohibiting the use of equipment that cannot be thoroughly 

disinfected.  

d. Either thoroughly clean shared or borrowed equipment in 

between uses, or only allow the use of personal equipment at 

the range.  

e. If any such indoor shooting range cannot adhere to these 

requirements, it must close.  

9. Public Beaches  

All public beaches as defined in § 10.1-705 of the Code of 

Virginia may remain open to individual and family 

recreational activity, in addition to exercise and fishing. All 

such public beaches, with the exception of the beaches in the 

City of Virginia Beach, must comply with the requirements 

below.  

a. Require beachgoers to practice physical distancing of at 

least six feet between each person unless they are with 

members of the same household.  

b. Prohibit gatherings of more than 50 people.  

c. Prohibit group sports, alcohol, tents, groupings of 

umbrellas, and other activities and items that attract 

gatherings.  

d. Prohibit entertainment and programming that generate 

gatherings.  

e. All common areas that encourage gatherings, such as 

pavilions, gazebos, playsets, and picnic areas must remain 
closed. This does not apply to fishing piers.  

f. Implement a cleaning schedule for all high-touch surfaces 

made of plastic or metal such as benches and railings that 

includes cleaning at least every two hours between the hours 

of 9 a.m. and 6 p.m.  
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g. Establish, train, and deploy a team to educate and promote 

compliance with beach rules and refer cases of 

noncompliance to public safety personnel, if appropriate.  

h. Establish procedures for temporary beach closure or access 

limitations in the event of overcrowding.  

i. Ensure adequate personal protective equipment for all 

lifeguards.  

j. Perform a disinfectant-level cleaning of all public restrooms 
every two hours with an EPA-approved disinfectant by staff 

or volunteers trained to follow Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention (CDC) guidance on cleaning and disinfecting.  

k. For chair and umbrella rental companies, require vendors 

to set up chairs and umbrellas for customers, maintaining at 

least six feet of distance between groups, and to clean 

equipment between rentals following Environmental 

Protection Agency and CDC guidelines on cleaning and 

disinfecting.  

l. Post signage at all public access points to the beaches and 

other "cluster prone" areas providing health reminders 
regarding physical distancing, gathering prohibitions, options 

for high risk individuals, and staying home if sick. Messaging 

must be specific to location.  

m. Locality shall provide daily metrics to its local health 

department to include beach closures, complaint incidents, 

police reports of violence related to enforcement, and number 

of reports of noncompliance to be submitted each Monday.  

n. All employees and contract workers must wear a cloth face 

covering when not able to practice physical distancing 

following CDC Use of Face Cloth Coverings guidance.  

o. Employees and contract workers must have access to soap 

and water or hand sanitizer containing at least 60% alcohol, 
and locality should provide best hygiene practices to 

employees on a regular basis, including washing hands often 

with soap and water for at least 20 seconds and practicing 

respiratory etiquette protocols.  

p. Locality shall require all employees and contract workers 

to take their temperature before reporting to work and direct 

such employees not to report to work if they have a fever of 

over 100.4 degrees, have experienced chills, or have been 

feverish in the last 72 hours.  

q. Follow enhanced workplace safety best practices outlined 

in the Guidelines for All Business Sectors.  

Public beaches in the City of Virginia Beach may continue to 

operate provided activities on the public beaches are 

conducted in compliance with the requirements linked here 

and here.  

10. Racetracks  

Outdoor racetracks may remain open for racing events, 

provided such businesses comply with the Guidelines for All 

Business Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for 

racetracks expressly incorporated by reference herein and 

linked here and here. Such guidance includes, but is not 

limited to, the following requirements:  

a. The event must be held at locations with the ability to 

restrict access (i.e. barriers and gating that would preclude the 

general public from accessing the event).  

b. No tailgating and camping is allowed during these events, 
including staff or race participants.  

c. Entrances and exits must be staffed.  

d. No spectators or members of the public are permitted to 

attend the event. This includes owners, family (unless the 

guardian of a minor child), as well as outside vendors. Only 

individuals essential to the operation of the event are 

permitted to attend.  

e. All individuals must maintain at least six feet of physical 

distancing between themselves and other participants.  

f. Prior to each race event, participants must self-monitor their 

symptoms by taking their temperature to check for fever.  

g. No public-facing amenities will be provided, including 

concessions, food sales, merchandise sales, hospitality, or 

loitering on the property, or fan experiences.  

11. Recreational and Entertainment Businesses  

Outdoor performing arts venues, outdoor concert venues, 

outdoor sports venues, outdoor movie theaters, museums, 

aquariums, zoos, and botanical gardens may reopen, provided 

such businesses comply with the Guidelines for All Business 

Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines, which are 

expressly incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance 

includes, but is not limited to, the following requirement: 

a. The total number of attendees (including both participants 
and spectators) cannot exceed the lesser of 50% of the 

occupancy load of the venue, if applicable, or 50 persons.  

b. Install visible markers for queue lines that separate people 

by six feet of physical distance.  

c. Create a guest flow plan of modified queue lines into and 

within the facility. Determine areas likely to become 

bottlenecks or pinch points and adjust guest flow accordingly.  

d. Perform thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces including digital ordering devices, check 

presenters, self-service areas, tabletops, bathroom surfaces, 

and other common touch areas every 60 minutes during 
operation.  

e. Where possible, install sneeze guards in front of commonly 

used point-of-sale or guest service stations.  

f. Employees working in customer-facing areas are required 

to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth.  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/5-16-20-Virginia-Beach-COVID-19-Phase-1-Beach-Operating-Procedures--VB-Plan.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/City-of-Virginia-Beach-COVID-19-Phase-One-Beach-Opening-Operating-Procedures---ADDITIONAL-GUIDELINES.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Horse-Racing-Racetracks.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-Outdoor-Speedways-and-Racetracks.pdf
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g. Provide hand washing or sanitizing stations for guests and 

employees.  

h. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

12. Public and private social clubs  

Public and private social clubs may reopen, provided such 

establishments abide by the gathering ban in section B, 

paragraph 2 of this Order and comply with the Guidelines for 
All Business Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for 

public and private social clubs expressly incorporated by 

reference herein.  

13. Recreational Sports  

Indoor and outdoor recreational sports activities are 

permitted, provided participants and organizers of 

recreational sports activities comply with the Guidelines for 

All Business Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for 

recreational sports expressly incorporated by reference herein. 

Such guidance includes, but is not limited to, the following 

requirements:  

a. Ten feet of physical distance must be maintained by all 

instructors, participants, and spectators, with the exception of 

incidental contact or contact between members of the same 

household. This applies during instruction and practice and 

during competitive events. Competition that involves close 

contact with other athletes must be avoided.  

b. The total number of attendees (including both participants 

and spectators) of outdoor recreational sports cannot exceed 

the lesser of 50% of the occupancy load of the venue, if 

applicable, or 50 persons. For sports played on a field, 

attendees are limited to 50 persons per field.  

c. The total number of attendees for indoor recreational sports 
cannot exceed the lesser of 30% of the lowest occupancy load 

on the certificate of occupancy or 50 persons. For sports 

played on a field, attendees are limited to 50 persons per field.  

d. For indoor recreational sports, spectators may not be 

present except parents, guardians, or caretakers who are 

supervising children.  

14. Enforcement  

Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-specific 

guidelines appear here. The Virginia Department of Health 

shall have authority to enforce section A of this Order. Any 

willful violation or refusal, failure, or neglect to comply with 
this Order, issued pursuant to § 32.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia, is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant to 

§ 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. The State Health 

Commissioner may also seek injunctive relief in circuit court 

for violation of this Order, pursuant to § 32.1-27 of the Code 

of Virginia. In addition, any agency with regulatory authority 

over a business listed in section A may enforce this Order as 

to that business to the extent permitted by law.  

B. CONTINUED RESTRICTIONS  

1. Certain Recreational and Entertainment Businesses  

All public access to recreational and entertainment businesses 

set forth below shall remain closed:  

a. Indoor theaters, Indoor performing arts centers, indoor 

concert venues, and other indoor entertainment centers;  

b. Historic horse racing facilities; and  

c. Bowling alleys, skating rinks, arcades, amusement parks, 
trampoline parks, fairs, carnivals, arts and craft facilities, 

escape rooms, and other places of indoor public amusement.  

2. All Public and Private In-Person Gatherings  

All public and private in-person gatherings of more than 50 

individuals are prohibited. The presence of more than 50 

individuals performing functions of their employment is not a 

"gathering." A "gathering" includes, but is not limited to, 

parties, celebrations, or other social events, whether they 

occur indoors or outdoors.  

This restriction does not apply to the gathering of family 

members living in the same residence. "Family members" 
include blood relations, adopted, step, and foster relations, as 

well as all individuals residing in the same household. Family 

members are not required to maintain physical distancing 

while in their homes.  

a. Individuals may attend religious services subject to the 

following requirements:  

i. Religious services must be limited to no more than 50% of 

the lowest occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy of 

the room or facility in which the religious services are 

conducted.  

ii. Individuals attending religious services must be at least six 

feet apart when seated and must practice proper physical 
distancing at all times. Family members, as defined above, 

may be seated together.  

iii. Mark seating in six-foot increments and in common areas 

where attendees may congregate.  

iv. Attendees shall not pass items to other attendees, who are 

not family members, as defined above.  

v. Any items used to distribute food or beverages must be 

disposable, used only once, and discarded.  

vi. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted prior to and following 

any religious service.  

vii. Post signage at the entrance that states that no one with a 

fever or symptoms of COVID-19 is permitted in the 

establishment.  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-Two-Guidelines.pdf
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viii. Post signage to provide public health reminders 

regarding social distancing, gatherings, options for high risk 

individuals, and staying home if sick.  

ix. If religious services cannot be conducted in compliance 

with the above requirements, they must not be held in-person.  

Further, any social gathering held in connection with a 

religious service is subject to the public and private in-person 

gatherings restriction in section B, paragraph 2. Additional 
suggested guidance can be found here. 

3. Institutions of Higher Education  

Institutions of higher education are encouraged to continue 

remote learning where practical. However, such institutions 

may offer in-person classes and instruction, including labs 

and related practical training, provided they comply with all 

applicable requirements under the "Guidelines for All 

Business Sectors." No institutions of higher education shall 

hold or host gatherings of more than 50 individuals. Any 

postsecondary provider offering vocational training in a 

profession regulated by a Virginia state agency/board must 
also comply with any sector-specific guidelines relevant to 

that profession to the extent possible under the regulatory 

training requirements. Such professions may include, but are 

not necessarily limited to: aesthetician, barber, cosmetologist, 

massage therapist, nail technician, and practical nurse  

4. Overnight Summer Camps  

Overnight services of summer camps, as defined in § 35.1-1 

of the Code of Virginia, must remain closed.  

5. Enforcement  

Violations of section B paragraphs 1, 2, 3, and 4 of this Order 

shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant to § 44-146.17 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

C. CONTINUED GUIDANCE AND DIRECTION  

1. Essential Retail Businesses  

Essential retail businesses as set out below may remain open 

during their normal business hours. They should comply with 

the Guidelines for All Business Sectors expressly 

incorporated by reference and linked here, as best practices. 

Employers are required to provide face coverings to 

employees.  

a. Grocery stores, pharmacies, and other retailers that sell 

food and beverage products or pharmacy products, including 

dollar stores, and department stores with grocery or pharmacy 
operations;  

b. Medical, laboratory, and vision supply retailers;  

c. Electronic retailers that sell or service cell phones, 

computers, tablets, and other communications technology;  

d. Automotive parts, accessories, and tire retailers as well as 

automotive repair facilities;  

e. Home improvement, hardware, building material, and 

building supply retailers;  

f. Lawn and garden equipment retailers;  

g. Beer, wine, and liquor stores;  

h. Retail functions of gas stations and convenience stores;  

i. Retail located within healthcare facilities;  

j. Banks and other financial institutions with retail functions;  

k. Pet and feed stores;  

l. Printing and office supply stores; and  

m. Laundromats and dry cleaners.  

2. State Agencies  

All relevant state agencies shall continue to work with all 

housing partners to execute strategies to protect the health, 

safety, and well-being of Virginians experiencing 

homelessness during this pandemic and to assist Virginians in 

avoiding evictions or foreclosures.  

3. Face Coverings  

The waiver of § 18.2-422 of the Code of Virginia is 

continued, so as to allow the wearing of a medical mask, 
respirator, or any other protective face covering for the 

purpose of facilitating the protection of one’s personal health 

in response to the COVID-19 public health emergency 

declared by the State Health Commissioner on February 7, 

2020, and reflected in Amended Executive Order 51 (2020) 

declaring a state of emergency in the Commonwealth. 

Amended Executive Order 51 (2020) remains so amended. 

This waiver is effective as of March 12, 2020.  

Further, where a mandatory business sector requirement in 

this Order conflicts with a requirement to wear a face 

covering in Executive Order 63 and Order of Public Health 

Emergency Five (2020), the business sector-specific 
requirement governs.  

4. State Travel  

Continued cessation of all official travel outside of Virginia 

by state employees, with increased flexibility for inter-state 

commuters and essential personnel.  

5. Exceptions  

Nothing in the Order shall limit: (a) the provision of health 

care or medical services; (b) access to essential services for 

low-income residents, such as food banks; (c) the operations 

of the media; (d) law enforcement agencies; or (e) the 

operation of government.  

6. Expiration of Order  

Executive Order 55 (2020) shall expire at 11:59 p.m., June 4, 

2020.  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-Two-Guidelines.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-Two-Guidelines.pdf
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Effective Date of the Executive Order  

This Order shall be effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, June 5, 2020. 

This Executive Order shall remain in full force and effect 

until amended or rescinded by further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and the Seal of the Office of the 

State Health Commissioner of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, this 2nd day of June, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GUIDANC E D OCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 
guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Titles of Documents:  

Guidance on Corrective Action Plans (CAPs). 

Incident Reporting Requirements. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 22, 2020. 

Effective Date: July 23, 2020. 

Agency Contact: John Cimino, Legal and Regulatory 
Coordinator, Office of Licensing, Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services, P.O. Box 1797, 

Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 298-3279, or 

email john.cimino@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Changes to the Service Delivery Hour 

Requirements for Addiction and Recovery Treatment 

Services (ARTS) Intensive Outpatient Services (IOPs): 

Effective March 5, 2020. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 22, 2020. 

Effective Date: July 23, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy and Research 

Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-6043, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: New Underground Storage Tank (UST) 

Requirements Effective January 1, 2021. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 22, 2020. 

Effective Date: July 31, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Alicia Meadows, Underground Storage 

Tank Compliance Coordinator, Department of Environmental 

Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(540) 562-6729, or email alicia.meadows@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6397/0a8b7006397~4).pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6397/4baf3006397~3s.pdf
mailto:john.cimino@dbhds.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6397/a6757006397~2s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6397/a6757006397~2s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6397/a6757006397~2s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6397/a6757006397~2s.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6397/c8cb8006397~11.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6397/c8cb8006397~11.pdf
mailto:Alicia.Meadows@deq.virginia.gov
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GEN ERAL N OTIC ES/ERR ATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan Revision - Proposed 
2017 Base Year Inventory for Northern Virginia 

Ozone Nonattainment Area for Precursors to the 
Pollutant Ozone 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is seeking 

comments and announcing a public comment period on a 

proposed 2017 base year inventory for precursors to the 

pollutant ozone, which are carbon monoxide (CO), nitrogen 

oxides (NOX), and volatile organic compounds (VOC), in the 

Northern Virginia Ozone Nonattainment Area. The 

Commonwealth intends to submit the inventory as a revision 

to the Virginia State Implementation Plan (SIP) in accordance 

with the federal Clean Air Act. The SIP is the plan developed 

by Virginia in order to fulfill its responsibilities under the 
federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the National 

Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) promulgated by 

the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comments on the overall 2017 
inventory for the Northern Virginia portion of the Metropolitan 

Washington, DC-MD-VA Ozone Nonattainment Area, which is 
classified as marginal for the 2015 NAAQS, and consists of the 

counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William and 
the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and 

Manassas Park. 

Public comment period: June 22, 2020, to July 22, 2020. This 

comment period is in addition to the previously conducted 

public comment period of April 27, 2020, to May 27, 2020. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a 
request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 

this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 

the full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

requesting the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and 

location of any requested public hearing will be announced in 

a separate notice and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

Description of proposal: The proposal consists of a 

comprehensive inventory of actual emissions from all sources 

of relevant pollutants for the base year 2017. This inventory, 
once finalized, will be the basis for any future planning 

exercises that have as a goal compliance with the 2015 ozone 

NAAQS. The proposal was prepared by the Metropolitan 

Washington Air Quality Committee (MWAQC), which 

consists of elected officials from the affected localities and 

representatives of state transportation and air quality planning 

agencies. 

The complete proposal is available at 

https://www.mwcog.org/documents/2020/05/27/washington-

dc-md-va-2015-ozone-naaqs-nonattainment-area-base-year-

2017-emissions-inventory-updated-may-28-2020/. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102). The proposed inventory and supporting 

technical documents will be submitted as a revision to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the federal 

Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 
must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ no later than 

the last day of the comment period. A cover page with 

recipient designation must be part of each fax. DEQ prefers 

that comments be provided in writing, along with any the 

supporting documents or exhibits. Comments must be 

submitted to the contact person listed at the end of this notice. 

All materials received are part of the public record. 

To review the proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 

Plans and Programs website at 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/air

plansandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained 

by contacting the DEQ representative provided. The public 

may schedule an appointment to review the documents 

between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business day until 

the close of the public comment period at the following DEQ 

locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 22nd Floor, 1111 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4249; and  

2) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800. 

Contact Information: Doris A. McLeod, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4197, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 
doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, MAY 29, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUE-2013-00045 

Concerning the establishment of a renewable energy 

pilot program for third party power purchase agreements 

ORDER UPDATING GUIDELINES 

On March 14, 2013, the Virginia General Assembly enacted 

Chapter 382 of the 2013 Virginia Acts of Assembly ("2013 

Legislation") requiring the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") to conduct a renewable energy pilot program 

for third party power purchase agreements ("Pilot Program") 

https://www.mwcog.org/documents/2020/05/27/washington-dc-md-va-2015-ozone-naaqs-nonattainment-area-base-year-2017-emissions-inventory-updated-may-28-2020/
https://www.mwcog.org/documents/2020/05/27/washington-dc-md-va-2015-ozone-naaqs-nonattainment-area-base-year-2017-emissions-inventory-updated-may-28-2020/
https://www.mwcog.org/documents/2020/05/27/washington-dc-md-va-2015-ozone-naaqs-nonattainment-area-base-year-2017-emissions-inventory-updated-may-28-2020/
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
mailto:doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov
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within the service territory of Virginia Electric and Power 

Company and to establish certain guidelines regarding 

implementation of this Pilot Program. Pursuant to the 2013 

Legislation, on November 14, 2013, the Commission 

established the Pilot Program and developed Guidelines 

Regarding Notice Information for a Third Party Renewable 

Power Purchase Agreement ("Guidelines"). 

On April 5, 2017, the Virginia General Assembly approved 
Chapter 803 of the 2017 Virginia Acts of Assembly ("2017 

Amendments"), which, among other things, re-enacted the 

2013 Legislation with amendments requiring that the Pilot 

Program be conducted within the certificated service territory 

of each investor-owned electric utility in Virginia, excepting 

any utility described in § 56-580 G of the Code of Virginia. 

As a result, updates to the Applicability and Program Cap 

Management sections of the Guidelines were made by the 

Commission on June 29, 2017, in this docket. 

During its 2020 Session, the Virginia General Assembly 

enacted Chapters 1193 (HB 1526) and 1194 (SB 851) of the 
2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly which, inter alia, amended 

the Pilot Program ("2020 Amendments").1 The 2020 

Amendments require that the Pilot Program be conducted 

within the certificated service territory of each 

investor-owned electric utility in Virginia, now including 

Kentucky Utilities Company d/b/a Old Dominion Power 

Company in addition to Virginia Electric and Power 

Company and Appalachian Power Company. The 2020 

Amendments also: (i) increase the renewable generation 

capacities available for this program, (ii) increase the size of 

the renewable generation facilities eligible for inclusion in the 

program, and (iii) increase the overall caps of this program in 
the investor-owned utilities' service territories, based upon the 

utilities' peak load forecasts. As a result, updates to the 

Applicability, Contents of Filing and Program Cap 

Management sections of the Guidelines are necessary to 

reflect these legislative changes. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that the Guidelines should 

be updated as set forth in Attachment A to this Order to 

reflect the 2020 Amendments.2 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The instant case is moved from "closed" to "active" 
status in the records maintained by the Clerk of the 

Commission and is restored to the Commission's docket for 

the purpose of updating the Commission's Guidelines. 

(2) The Guidelines, which were established pursuant to the 

2013 Legislation and previously updated to reflect changes 

to the Pilot Program resulting from the 2017 Amendments, 

hereby are further updated as set forth in Attachment A to 

this Order to reflect the changes to the Pilot Program 

resulting from the 2020 Amendments.  

(3) On and after the effective dates of these updates, any 

renewable third-party power purchase agreement 

established pursuant to the Pilot Program shall be 

established in accordance with these Guidelines and shall 

comply with the attendant statutory requirements. 

(4) The updates to these Guidelines shall become effective 

on July 1, 2020. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation 
shall  provide copies of this Order by electronic 

transmission, or when electronic transmission is not 

possible, by mail, to: (i) all current Pilot Program 

participants; and (ii) individuals, organizations, and 

companies who (a) previously participated in the 

Commission's dockets establishing and updating the Pilot 

Program Guidelines, or (b) have otherwise been identified 

by the Commission Staff as interested in the development 

of solar and wind powered generation in the 

Commonwealth. This Order shall also be posted on the 

Commission's website. 

(6) This case is dismissed. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: Paul E. Pfeffer, Esquire, Dominion 

Resources Services, Inc., 120 Tredegar Street, Riverside 2, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219, 

paul.e.pfeffer@dominionenergy.com; Noelle J. Coates, 

Esquire, American Electric Power Service Corporation, 1051 

E. Cary Street, 3 James Center, Suite 1100, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219, njcoates@aep.com; Allyson K. Sturgeon, 

Esquire  LG&E and KU Energy LLC, 220 West Main Street, 

Louisville, Kentucky 40202, allyson.sturgeon@lge-ku.com; 
C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney General, 

Office of the Attorney General, Division of Consumer 

Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, Floor 8, Richmond, Virginia 

23219, mbrowder@oag.state.va.us; and a copy shall be 

delivered to the Commission's Office of General Counsel and 

Divisions of Public Utility Regulation and Utility Accounting 

and Finance. 

_____________________________ 

1These Acts of Assembly are duplicate enactments known as the "Virginia 

Clean Economy Act." The 2020 Amendments to the Pilot Program are also 

included in Chapters 1178 (HB 572), 1187 (SB 710), 1189 (HB 1184, and 

1239 (HB 1647) of the 2020 Acts of Assembly. 

2A copy of the Guidelines that highlights the updates included in Attachment 

A also is attached to this Order as Attachment B. A copy of the Guidelines 

set forth in Attachment A and Attachment B also may be viewed at 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Renewable-Energy-Pilot-Program. 

mailto:paul.e.pfeffer@dominionenergy.com
mailto:njcoates@aep.com
mailto:allyson.sturgeon@lge-ku.com
mailto:mbrowder@oag.state.va.us
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Renewable-Energy-Pilot-Program
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* * *  

AT RICHMOND, MAY 29, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. URS-2020-00052 

Ex Parte: In the matter 

concerning regulations required by Chapter 822 

of the 2020 Acts of Assembly 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING  

Chapter 822 of the 2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly ("Act") 

amends the Code of Virginia ("Code") by adding a provision 

directing the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") 

to promulgate regulations requiring that a licensed 

professional engineer exercise responsible charge over 

engineering projects that (i) involve gas pipeline facilities, as 

defined in the federal regulations promulgated under 49 USC 

§ 60101 et seq., as amended and adopted by the Commission, 

and the federal pipeline safety laws, and (ii) may present a 

material risk to public safety.1 These regulations are in 
furtherance of the Act's related amendment to a Code 

provision2 that, inter alia, exempts from professional engineer 

licensing, employees of Commission-regulated public service 

corporations when providing engineering services in 

connection with public service corporations' facilities 

regulated by the Commission.3 

The Act further directs the Commission to convene a 

stakeholder group to develop and propose to the Commission 

no later than December 1, 2020, recommendations concerning 

these regulations ("Stakeholder Group"). 4 The Stakeholder 

Group is to include representatives of natural gas utilities in 

the Commonwealth. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, hereby directs the Staff of the Commission's 

Division of Utility and Railroad Safety ("URS Division Staff" 

or "Staff") to furnish copies of this Order to individuals, 

organizations, and companies identified by Staff as 

potentially having an interest in this proceeding. We further 

direct the URS Division Staff to organize and convene the 

Stakeholder Group required by the Act. The Stakeholder 

Group shall include one representative from each of the 

following: individual local distribution companies in the 

Commonwealth, the Virginia Society of Professional 
Engineers, the Department of Professional Occupational 

Regulations, and other natural gas utilities in the 

Commonwealth. Finally, we will direct the URS Division 

Staff, utilizing input from the Stakeholder Group and its own 

inquiry, to submit to the Commission a report presenting draft 

regulations, findings, and recommendations ("Staff Report") 

corresponding to the directives to the Commission contained 

in the Act's Third Enactment Clause. 5 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission establishes Case No. URS-2020-

00052 for the purpose of developing regulations to be 

promulgated by the Commission regarding engineering 

projects involving gas pipeline facilities. 

(2) The URS Division Staff shall establish and coordinate 

the Stakeholder Group required by the Act, convening the 

group's first meeting by July 15, 2020. Requests for 
information concerning Stakeholder Group participation 

and meetings shall be directed to 

lauren.govoni@scc.virginia.gov. 

(3) On or before December 1, 2020, the URS Division 

Staff, utilizing input from the Stakeholder Group and its 

own inquiry, shall submit to the Commission a Staff Report 

presenting draft regulations, findings, and 

recommendations in response to the directives to the 

Commission contained in the Act's Third Enactment 

Clause. 

(4) The Staff shall also transmit electronically or by mail a 
copy of this Order to individuals, organizations, and 

companies identified by Staff as potentially having an 

interest in this proceeding. 

(5) This matter is continued. 

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF shall be sent by the Clerk 

of the Commission to: Richard S. Tyler, P.E., President, 

Virginia Society of Professional Engineers, P.O. Box 6087 

Fredericksburg, VA 22403, info@vspe.org; Mary Broz-

Vaughan, Director, Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, Virginia 23233, mary.broz-

vaughan@dpor.virginia.gov; Brently K. Archer, President, 
Columbia Gas of Virginia, Inc., 1809 Coyote Drive, Chester, 

Virginia 23836, barcher@nisource.com; Jim Kibler, 

President, Virginia Natural Gas, Inc., 544 S Independence 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, Virginia, 23452, 

jkibler@southernco.com; Donald "Blue" Jenkins, President, 

Washington Gas Light Company, 6801 Industrial Road, 

Springfield, Virginia 22151, blue.jenkins@washgas.com; 

Paul Nester, President & CEO, Roanoke Gas Company, 519 

Kimball Avenue NE, Roanoke, Virginia, 24016, 

paul_nester@rgcresources.com; James E. McClain, President, 

Southwestern Virginia Gas Company, 208 Lester Street, 
Martinsville, Virginia 24112, james@swvagas.com; John D. 

Jessee, President, Appalachian Natural Gas Distribution 

Company, 220 West Valley Street, NW, Abingdon, Virginia, 

24210, jjessee@appnatgas.com; J. Kevin Dobbs, President, 

Atmos Energy Corporation, 810 Crescent Center Drive Suite 

600, Franklin, Tennessee, 37067, 

kevin.dobbs@atmosenergy.com; Eric V. Taylor, Director, 

Pipeline Safety Management Systems, Dominion Energy 

Transmission, Inc., 925 White Oaks Blvd, Bridgeport, West 

Virginia 26330. eric.v.taylor@dominionenergy.com; 

mailto:lauren.govoni@scc.virginia.gov
mailto:info@vspe.org
mailto:Mary.Broz-Vaughan@dpor.virginia.gov
mailto:Mary.Broz-Vaughan@dpor.virginia.gov
mailto:barcher@nisource.com
mailto:jkibler@southernco.com
mailto:blue.jenkins@washgas.com
mailto:paul_nester@rgcresources.com
mailto:james@swvagas.com
mailto:JJessee@appnatgas.com
mailto:Kevin.Dobbs@atmosenergy.com
mailto:eric.v.taylor@dominionenergy.com
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Christopher J. Wagner, Director of Safety, AmeriGas 

Propane, Inc., 460 North Gulph Road, King of Prussia, 

Pennsylvania 19406, christopher.wagner@amerigas.com; 

Nicole Sullivan, Vice President, Anderson Propane Service, 

Inc., P.O. Box 300, 11905 Tidewater Trail, Fredericksburg, 

Virginia 22408, nicoles@andersonoil.com; Dennis 

Hochkamer, Propane Safety Manager, Holtzman Oil Corp., 

P.O. Box 8, Mt. Jackson, Virginia 22842, 
dennish@hotzmancorp.com; John Henry Jordan, Vice 

President of Facilities, Management Services Corporation, 

102 South First Street, Suite 301, P. O. Box 5306, 

Charlottesville, Virginia 22905, jjordan@msc-rents.com. A 

copy also shall be delivered to the Commission's Office of 

General Counsel and Division of Utility and Railroad Safety. 

___________________________________________ 

1New § 56-257.2:1 of the Code. 

2Section 54.1-401 of the Code. 

3The Act's Fourth Enactment Clause delays the effective date of the Act's 

First Enactment containing these Code amendments to January 1, 2021. 

However, the rulemaking process established herein is directed pursuant to 

the Act's Second and Third Enactments. 

4The Act's Second Enactment Clause establishes this stakeholder process. 

5The Act's Third Enactment Clause provides as follows: "3. That prior to 

promulgating the regulations required by § 56-257.2:1 of the Code of 

Virginia, as created by this act, the State Corporation Commission (the 

Commission) shall determine the extent to which engineering projects 

involving gas pipeline facilities present a material risk to public safety and 

thereby require the seal of a professional engineer. In making its 

determination, the Commission shall consider solutions that other states and 

the natural gas industry have proposed or used in addressing such risks and 

any other information it deems relevant. The Commission shall evaluate (i) 

the installation of new or replacement transmission class pipelines, 

distribution mains, distribution services, points of delivery, and district 

regulator stations; (ii) projects that involve a change in system pressure; (iii) 

any other projects that may present a material risk to public safety; and (iv) 

alternative procedures for emergency work." 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Apple Grove Solar Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Louisa County 

Apple Grove Solar has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a renewable 

energy project (solar) in the Louisa County. The project is to 

be located on up to 147 acres adjacent to Jefferson Highway. 

The project will have a maximum capacity of 20 megawatts 

alternating current and, depending on final design, consist of 

approximately 66,000 solar photovoltaic modules installed on 

single-axis tracking racking structures and inverters installed 

on approximately five separate concrete pads. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Grassfield Solar LLC Withdrawal of Notice of Intent 
for Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -  

City of Chesapeake 

Grassfield Solar LLC has withdrawn the notice of intent to 

submit the necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a 

small renewable energy project (solar) in the City of 

Chesapeake. The proposed solar farm was to be located on 

the west side of West Road approximately 1,000 feet south of 
the intersection of West Road and Airport Drive. The notice 

of intent was originally published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on August 5, 2019. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804)698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Medical Assistance Eligibility Manual Draft 
Transmittal 

Comment period: June 1, 2020, to June 30, 2020. 

The Medical Assistance Eligibility Manual draft transmittal 

(DMAS-17) is now available for review and public comment. 

The changes in this document are proposed to be effective on 

July 1, 2020. 

The notice is available at 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/files/links/5346/Draft%20TN

%20#DMAS-17%20Effective%207-1-20.pdf. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 
786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Nicholas Anoia 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Nicholas Anoia 

for violations of the State Water Control Law in Virginia 

Beach, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will 

accept comments by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from June 

22, 2020, to July 22, 2020. 

mailto:Christopher.Wagner@amerigas.com
mailto:nicoles@andersonoil.com
mailto:dennish@hotzmancorp.com
mailto:jjordan@msc-rents.com
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/56-257.2:1
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/files/links/5346/Draft%20TN#DMAS-17%20Effective%207-1-20.pdf
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/files/links/5346/Draft%20TN#DMAS-17%20Effective%207-1-20.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
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Proposed Consent Special Order for Hanover 
County Department of Public Utilities 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Hanover County Department of Public 

Utilities for alleged violation of the State Water Control Law 

at the Doswell wastewater treatment plant, 15468 Theme Park 

Way, Hanover, Virginia. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 
office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jeff Reynolds 

will accept comments by email at 

jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-

5106, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office (Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, 

Glen Allen, VA 23060 until July 22, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for  
Highway Express Inc. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Highway Express Inc. for alleged violation of the 
State Water Control Law at 25306 North James Madison 

Highway, New Canton, Virginia 23123. A description of the 
proposed action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Aree 
Reinhardt will accept comments by email at 

aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-5106, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office (Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, from June 22, 2020, to July 23, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Mil-Spec Abrasives LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mil-Spec 

Abrasives LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law 

in Norfolk, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will 

accept comments by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from June 
22, 2020, to July 22, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Tri M. Nguyen 

An enforcement action is proposed for Tri M. Nguyen for 

violations in Accomack County at the Anna Farm. Tri M. 

Nguyen withdrew groundwater without a permit in violation 

of the Groundwater Management Act of 1992. A description 

of the proposed action is available at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Enforcement/PublicN

otices.aspx. Lee Crowell will accept comments by email at 

lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, from June 22, 2020, to July 22, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Quarles Petroleum Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Quarles Petroleum 
Inc. for violations at the Valley Avenue Citgo in Winchester, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 
consent order with penalty to Quarles Petroleum Inc. to address 

noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A description of 
the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Eric Millard will accept comments by 

email at eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 574-7878, 
or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 

Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, 
VA 22801, from June 22, 2020, to July 22, 2020. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; Email: 
varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their websites and 
on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections 
Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing regulation 
sections that have been amended, added, or repealed in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations since the regulations were originally 

published or last supplemented in the print version of the Virginia 
Administrative Code is available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 
/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System (RIS) 
to file regulations and related items for publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works closely with 

the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the 
system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality Standards. 

Publication: 36:11 VA.R. 1255 January 20, 2020. 

Correction to Notice of Effective Date: 

Page 1255, as the last sentence in the notice, preceding the 

Agency Contact, add "Upon this notice of effective date, in 

subdivision bb of 9VAC25-260-310, after "effective date," insert 
", January 9, 2020," 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2932; Filed June 4, 2020. 
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