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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Joanne 

Frye; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don 

L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 
Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

February 2022 through February 2023 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022 

39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022 

39:3 September 7, 2022 September 26, 2022 

39:4 September 21, 2022 October 10, 2022 

39:5 October 5, 2022 October 24, 2022 

39:6 October 19, 2022 November 7, 2022 

39:7 November 2, 2022 November 21, 2022 

39:8 November 14, 2022 (Monday) December 5, 2022 

39:9 November 30, 2022 December 19, 2022 

39:10 December 14, 2022 January 2, 2023 

39:11 December 27, 2022 (Tuesday) January 16, 2023 

39:12 January 11, 2023 January 30, 2023 

39:13 January 25, 2023 February 13, 2023 

39:14 February 8, 2023 February 27, 2023 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 



PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1169 

PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-26. Regulations for Nurse 

Aide Education Programs. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Gary Bahena. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to allow 

for the following: (i) the use of licensed hospitals for clinical 

education rather than nursing homes; (ii) the elimination of 

requirement that RNs and LPNs serving as clinical instructors 

have experience working in nursing homes; and (iii) an 

allowance for clinical instructors to be on site and to perform 

their regular work at the same time but reduce the ratio from 

10 to one to four to one for students to instructor. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition will be published on January 31, 

2022, in the Virginia Register of Regulations and also posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment ending 

February 20, 2022. 

Following receipt of all comments on the petition to amend 

regulations, the board will decide whether to make any changes 

to the regulatory language. This matter will be on the board's 

agenda for its first meeting after the comment period, which is 

scheduled for March 22, 2022. The board will inform the 

petitioner of its decision after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 20, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA, 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, or email 

jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-16; Filed January 10, 2022, 2:20 p.m. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of General Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

1VAC30-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated January 6, 

2022, to support this decision. 

This regulatory change is necessary for the Department of 

General Services (DGS) to comply with § 2.2- 4007.02 B of 

the Administrative Process Act that requires of an agency, 

"pursuant to its public participation guidelines shall afford 

interested persons an opportunity to…be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative" when an 

agency formulates a regulation. This regulatory change is 

essential to protect the health, safety, or welfare of citizens by 

requiring the department to provide an opportunity for the 

public to be represented by counsel or other representatives 

when the department promulgates a regulatory action. 

DGS will amend this regulation to conform with 1VAC30-11, 

Public Participation Guidelines to Chapter 795 of the 2012 

Acts of Assembly, which amended § 2.2-4007.02 B on public 

participation guidelines. The regulation has no impact on small 

business. 

Contact Information: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 

Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-3311. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 6VAC20-230, Regulations 

Relating to Special Conservator of the Peace. 

The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to amend 6VAC20-

230, which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the agency notice of the review.  

Public comment period begins January 31, 2022, and ends 

March 2, 2022. 

Contact Information: Kristi Shalton, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-7801, or email kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Environmental Quality conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

9VAC15-30, Regulations for the Certification of Recycling 

Machinery and Equipment for Local Tax Exemption 

Purposes, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained as is. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated January 3, 2022, to support this decision. 

Section 58.1-3661 of the Code of Virginia specifies that 

recycling machinery and equipment certified by the 

Department of Environmental Quality may be eligible for a 

local property tax exemption. Section 58.1-3661 of the Code 

of Virginia allows the governing body of any county, city, or 

town to exempt or partially exempt qualifying machinery or 

equipment from local taxation. This regulation promulgated by 

the Department of Environmental Quality establishes the 

procedure and rules for the certification to avoid confusion 

concerning equipment that is eligible for reduced tax rates. The 

regulation has been effective in protecting public health and 

welfare with the least possible cost and intrusiveness to the 

citizens and businesses of the Commonwealth, ensuring that 

certified recycling equipment is eligible for reduced tax rates. 

The department has determined that the regulation is clearly 

written and easily understandable by the individuals and 

entities affected. It is written so as to permit only one 

reasonable interpretation, is written to adequately identify the 

affected entity, and, insofar as possible, is written in 

nontechnical language. 

This regulation satisfies the provisions of state law and is 

effective in meeting its goals; therefore, the regulation is being 

retained without amendment. This regulation continues to be 

needed. It provides recycling facilities with criteria concerning 

equipment that is eligible for reduced tax rates. No complaints 

or comments were received concerning the regulation from the 

public during the comment period. The regulation's level of 

complexity is appropriate to ensure that the regulated entities 

are able to provide the necessary information for the 

department to review recycling equipment and certify it is 

eligible for reduced tax rates. This regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with any state law or other state 

regulation. This regulation provides a means for persons 

mailto:kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov
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(businesses) to claim a unique tax exemption for costs incurred 

for recycling equipment. This regulation was last reviewed in 

2017. Technology, economic conditions, and other factors 

have not changed in ways that would make this regulation less 

efficient and cost-effective in terms of protecting human health 

and the environment or meeting legal mandates. 

The department, through examination of the regulation, has 

determined that the regulatory requirements currently 

minimize the economic impact of this regulation on small 

businesses and thereby minimize the impact on existing and 

potential Virginia employers and those employers' ability to 

maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 

Commonwealth. If a small business purchases eligible 

recycling equipment, that business's tax rates assessed by the 

governing body of any county, city, or town may be reduced. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Virginia Waste Management Board conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

9VAC20-120, Regulated Medical Waste Management 

Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 

amended. 

The proposed regulatory action to repeal 9VAC20-120 and 

replace it with newly promulgated 9VAC20-121, which is 

published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings. 

Contact Information: Priscilla D. Rohrer, Guidance and 

Regulation Coordinator, Department of Environmental 

Quality, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 

(540) 574-7852, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

priscilla.rohrer@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Water Control Board conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 9VAC25-880, 

General VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater 

from Construction Activities, and determined that this 

regulation should be amended. The department is publishing 

its report of findings dated October 26, 2021, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation continues to be needed. This regulation is 

necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. The general permit is scheduled to expire on 

June 30, 2024. This regulation will be amended to reissue the 

general permit. 

The general permit regulates stormwater discharges from 

construction activities. The term "construction activity" is 

defined in 9VAC25-870-10 as "…any clearing, grading or 

excavation associated with large construction activity or 

associated with small construction activity." This general 

permit authorizes discharges of stormwater from regulated 

construction activities to surface waters within the boundaries 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia and includes enhanced 

criteria for impaired and exceptional waters. Construction 

activities that disturb one acre or greater or less than one acre 

but part of a common plan of development are required to 

obtain coverage under this general permit prior to commencing 

land disturbing activities. If this regulation were repealed, 

individual permits would be required to conduct these 

activities. 

No public comments were received during the periodic review. 

This regulation establishes procedures for obtaining coverage 

under this general permit, and portions of the regulation may 

be viewed as complex due to the technical requirements 

included in the regulation. This regulation is clearly written 

and easily understandable. The regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation as 

the State Water Control Board is the delegated authority to 

regulate point source discharges to surface water. The State 

Water Control Board last reissued this regulation in 2019. This 

regulation is evaluated and necessary changes are made to the 

regulation when the permit is reissued. 

The reissuance of the general VPDES permit accomplishes the 

objectives of applicable law, minimizes the costs to a small 

business owner and simplifies the application process. Without 

the general permit, a small business owner would be required 

to obtain an individual permit, which would increase the 

complexity of a permit application and the costs to obtain 

permit coverage. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Health conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 12VAC5-600, 

mailto:priscilla.rohrer@deq.virginia.gov
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Waterworks Operation Fee, and determined that this 

regulation should be amended. 

The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to amend 12VAC5-

600, which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: Nelson Daniel, Policy and Program 

Director, Office of Drinking Water, Virginia Department of 

Health, 109 Governor Street, 6th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-7210, FAX (804) 864-7521, or email 

nelson.daniel@vdh.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Counseling conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 18VAC115-20, 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Professional 

Counseling; 18VAC115-50, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy; and 

18VAC115-60, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners, and 

determined that these regulations should be amended. 

The proposed regulatory action to amend 18VAC115-20, 

18VAC115-50, and 18VAC115-60, which is published in this 

issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board 

of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 22VAC30-70, The Virginia Public 

Guardian and Conservator Program, and determined that 

this regulation should be amended. 

The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to amend 

22VAC30-70, which is published in this issue of the Virginia 

Register, serves as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Advisor, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7093, FAX (804) 662-7663, TDD (800) 464-9950, or 

email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 22VAC30-120, Adult Services Approved 

Providers, and determined that this regulation should be 

amended. 

The proposed regulatory action to amend 22VAC30-120, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves 

as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: Paige L. McCleary, Adult Services 

Program Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7605, or email 

paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

22VAC40-901, Community Services Block Grant 

Program, and determined that this regulation should be 

amended. 

The fast-track regulatory action to amend 22VAC40-901, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves 

as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: Matt Fitzgerald, Community Service 

Program Manager, Department of Social Services, 801 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7088, 

FAX (800) 726-7088, or email 

matt.fitzgerald@dss.virgnia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-451, Airport Access Fund Policy, and determined 

that this regulation should be repealed. 

The final regulatory action to repeal 24VAC30-451, which is 

published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings. 

Contact Information: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Regulator 

Coordinator, Policy Division, Department of Transportation, 

1401 East Broad Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 225-4700, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board intends 

to consider amending 6VAC20-230, Regulations Relating to 

Special Conservator of the Peace. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to amend and revise the compulsory minimum training 

standards, make technical amendments, and increase the number 

of training hours required. Training requirements are established 

in § 9.1-150.2 of the Code of Virginia, and this action's goal is to 

simplify the regulation by repealing sections and replacing them 

with a document incorporated by reference that houses the various 

categories of training that must be met by all special conservators 

of the peace (SPOCs) in the Commonwealth. All amendments will 

reflect newly-revised compulsory minimum training standards for 

law-enforcement officers so that the two professions have 

consistency across all regulations. 

In addition, pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 

2018) and § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the agency is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact review of 

this regulation to determine whether this regulation should be 

terminated, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses consistent with the stated 

objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-150.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Kristi Shalton, Law Enforcement Program 

Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 

Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-7801, 

or email kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7064; Filed January 6, 2022, 2:09 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends to 

consider repealing 8VAC20-770, Background Checks for Child 

Day Programs and Family Day Systems and promulgating 

8VAC20-771, Background Checks for Child Day Programs 

and Family Day Systems. The purpose of the proposed action is 

to repeal and replace the current chapter in order to (i) ensure that 

the regulation aligns with federal and state laws and (ii) clarify and 

update the regulatory requirements. By repealing the current 

chapter and promulgating a new chapter in its place, the board 

anticipates greater flexibility in aligning the regulatory structure 

to federal and state law, which has changed since the current 

chapter became effective. The board also anticipates changes to 

format and language. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-289.046 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Tatanishia Armstrong, Legislative 

Consultant, Department of Education, James Monroe 

Building, 101 North 14th Street, 16th Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 382-5047, or email 

tatanishia.armstrong@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7027; Filed December 29, 2021, 1:14 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends to 

consider repealing 8VAC20-820, General Procedures and 

Information for Licensure, and promulgating 8VAC20-821, 

General Procedures and Information for Licensure. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to repeal the current chapter and 

promulgate a new chapter in order to implement statutory 

requirements, clarify existing regulatory requirements, and update 

practices and procedures. The General Procedures and 

Information for Licensure applies to child day centers, family day 

homes, and family day systems that are licensed by the State 

Board of Education. The chapter sets out requirements and 

procedures for the licensure process, including the application 

process, license maintenance, inspections, and enforcement of 

violations. The current regulation was originally promulgated by 

the Virginia Department of Social Services in 1984 and adopted 

by the board in 2021. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-289.046 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Tatanishia Armstrong, Legislative 

Consultant, Department of Education, James Monroe 

Building, 101 North 14th Street, 16th Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 382-5047, or email 

tatanishia.armstrong@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7028; Filed December 29, 2021, 1:15 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

mailto:kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov
mailto:tatanishia.armstrong@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:tatanishia.armstrong@doe.virginia.gov


Notices of Intended Regulatory Action 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1175 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 

consider amending 9VAC25-190, Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

Regulation for Nonmetallic Mineral Mining. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to amend and reissue the existing 

VPDES general permit regulation that addresses wastewater 

and stormwater discharges from nonmetallic mineral mines. 

The existing general permit will expire June 30, 2024, and this 

action will reissue the general permit for another five-year 

term. In addition, any updates or necessary changes will be 

made to the general permit. Amendments may be identified 

following the submittal of public comments on this notice and 

by the technical advisory committee during deliberations on 

this general permit regulation. Some issues that may need to be 

addressed include (i) effluent limitations and monitoring 

requirements; (ii) electronic reporting, once this is made 

available for this industry; (iii) total maximum daily load 

requirements; (iv) special conditions to ensure they are updated 

and protective of water quality; (v) conforming changes based 

on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's most recent 

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Multi-Sector 

General Permit; and (vi) clarifying other aspects of the permit, 

regulation, forms, or instructions, as needed. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Peter Sherman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4044, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7006; Filed January 10, 2022, 1:26 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 

consider amending 9VAC25-210, Virginia Water Protection 

Permit Regulation, and 9VAC25-610, Ground Water 

Withdrawal Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to require that any application for a permit to withdraw 

surface water (9VAC25-210) or groundwater (9VAC25-610) 

include (i) a water auditing plan and (ii) a leak detection and 

repair plan. This regulatory proposal will establish 

requirements for such plans as required by Chapter 100 of the 

2021 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 401 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Joseph Grist, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4031, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email joseph.grist@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6942; Filed January 10, 2022, 2:47 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 

consider amending 12VAC5-600, Waterworks Operation 

Fee. The purpose of the proposed action is to review (i) how 

the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) provides technical 

and regulatory assistance to different types and sizes of 

waterworks, including those serving disadvantaged 

communities and (ii) how waterworks support that assistance 

through operation fees. VDH will also consider equity and 

environmental justice issues as they relate to the operation fees 

waterworks pay. VDH intends to amend fees so that they more 

accurately reflect the benefit members of the regulated 

community receive from the agency through technical and 

regulatory assistance. The intended amendments are a result of 

the periodic review. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-170 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Nelson Daniel, Policy and Program Director, 

Office of Drinking Water, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, 6th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 864-7210, FAX (804) 864-7521, or email 

nelson.daniel@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7059; Filed December 29, 2021, 4:39 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board for Architects, Professional 

Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers, and 

Landscape Architects intends to consider amending 

18VAC10-20, Board for Architects, Professional 

Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers, 

and Landscape Architects Regulations. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to adjust its licensing fee structure. The 

board must establish fees adequate to support the costs of board 

operations and pay a proportionate share of the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation operations. By the 

close of the next biennium, fees will not provide adequate 

revenue for those costs. The board has no other source of 

revenue from which to fund its operations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-404 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers, and Landscape Architects, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or email 

apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6512; Filed December 29, 2021, 2:31 p.m. 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Auctioneers Board intends to 

consider amending 18VAC25-21, Rules and Regulations of 

the Virginia Auctioneers Board. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to adjust the board's licensing fee structure. The board 

must establish fees adequate to support the costs of board 

operations and pay a proportionate share of the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation operations. By the 

close of the next biennium, fees will not provide adequate 

revenue for those costs. The board has no other source of 

revenue from which to fund its operations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Auctioneers Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 

465-6206, or email auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6589; Filed December 29, 2021, 2:38 p.m. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 

consider amending 18VAC60-30, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Assistants. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to eliminate the practice of pulp capping 

from the practices for which a dental assistant II can be trained 

and delegated to perform in a dental office. Pulp capping is the 

covering of an exposed dental pulp with some material to 

provide protection against external influences and to 

encourage healing. The board's intent is to delete pulp capping 

from the procedures for which a dental assistant II can be 

trained and certified to perform. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7061; Filed December 30, 2021, 1:32 p.m. 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Real Estate Board intends to consider 

amending 18VAC135-20, Virginia Real Estate Board 

Licensing Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is 

to adjust license application, renewal, and reinstatement fees 

for real estate licenses. The board must establish fees adequate 

to support the costs of its operations and pay a proportionate 

share of the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation operations. By the close of the next biennium, fees 

will not provide adequate revenue for those costs. The board 

has no other source of revenue from which to fund its 

operations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 
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Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2105 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, or 

email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6767; Filed December 29, 2021, 2:35 p.m. 

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS, 
WETLAND PROFESSIONALS, AND GEOLOGISTS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board for Professional Soil 

Scientists, Wetland Professionals, and Geologists intends to 

consider amending 18VAC145-20, Board for Professional 

Soil Scientists Regulations; 18VAC145-30, Wetland 

Delineators Certification Regulations; and 18VAC145-40, 

Regulations for the Geology Certification Program. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to adjust the board's licensing 

fee structure. The board must establish fees adequate to support 

the costs of board operations and pay a proportionate share of 

the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

operations. By the close of the next biennium, fees will not 

provide adequate revenue for those costs. The board has no 

other source of revenue from which to fund its operations. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, 

and Geologists, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 527-4294, 

or email soilscientist@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7058; Filed December 29, 2021, 2:32 p.m. 

BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY 
OPERATORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board for Waste Management 

Facility Operators intends to consider amending 18VAC155-

20, Waste Management Facility Operators Regulations. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to increase licensing fees 

for regulants of the Board for Waste Management Facility 

Operators. The board must establish fees adequate to support 

the costs of board operations and pay a proportionate share of 

the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

operations. By close of the next biennium, the current fee 

structure will not provide adequate revenue for those costs. The 

Board for Waste Management Facility Operators has no other 

source of revenue from which to fund its operations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2211 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Marjorie King, Administrator, Board for 

Waste Management Facility Operators, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, 

FAX (866) 430-1033, TDD (804) 527-4290, or email 

contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6804; Filed December 29, 2021, 2:34 p.m. 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board for Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals intends to consider amending 18VAC160-30, 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators Licensing 

Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to adjust 

license application, renewal, and reinstatement fees for 

waterworks and wastewater works operator licenses. The 

board must establish fees adequate to support the costs of board 

operations and pay a proportionate share of the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation operations. By the 

close of the next biennium, fees will not provide adequate 

revenue for those costs. The board has no other source of 

revenue from which to fund its operations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-201 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Lindsey, Executive Director, Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 

350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6627; Filed December 29, 2021, 2:40 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board for Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals intends to consider amending 18VAC160-40, 

Onsite Sewage System Professionals Licensing 

Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to adjust 

license application, renewal, and reinstatement fees for onsite 

sewage system operator, onsite sewage system installer, and 

onsite soil evaluator licenses. The board must establish fees 
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adequate to support the costs of board operations and pay a 

proportionate share of the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation operations. By the close of the next 

biennium, fees will not provide adequate revenue for those 

costs. The board has no other source of revenue from which to 

fund its operations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Lindsey, Executive Director, Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 

350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6628; Filed December 29, 2021, 2:36 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services (DARS) intends to consider amending 

22VAC30-70, The Virginia Public Guardian and 

Conservator Program. The Virginia Public Guardian and 

Conservator Program provides public guardian and 

conservator services for adults who are incapacitated, indigent, 

and for whom no other proper or suitable person can be 

identified who is willing and able to serve as the individual's 

guardian, or conservator, or both, as applicable. The program 

has capacity to provide public guardianship services, public 

conservatorship services, or both to 1,049 incapacitated adult 

residents of Virginia who are found by a Virginia circuit court 

to be (i) incapacitated, and (ii) who meet the criteria for public 

guardianship as set forth in § 64.2-2010 of the Code of 

Virginia. These services are provided by 13 local public 

guardian programs, which are operated by local public 

guardian program contractors under contract with the 

department. 

The proposed regulatory action is prompted by a periodic 

review. The purpose of the proposed action is a comprehensive 

review of the chapter. Revision to all areas of the regulation 

will be considered. DARS intends to amend sections that may 

be determined to be outdated or inconsistent with policy and 

practice. Other revisions to the regulation content may also be 

proposed based on public comment or from discussions with 

the Virginia Public Guardian and Conservator Advisory Board, 

the 13 public guardian program contractors, and other 

stakeholders and advocates. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Advisor, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7093, FAX (804) 662-7663, TDD (800) 464-9950, or 

email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7060; Filed December 30, 2021, 10:25 a.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 1VAC30-45. Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories (amending 

1VAC30-45-40, 1VAC30-45-95, 1VAC30-45-100, 1VAC30-

45-130, 1VAC30-45-520, 1VAC30-45-650, 1VAC30-45-730, 

1VAC30-45-750, 1VAC30-45-760, 1VAC30-45-771). 

1VAC30-46. Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories (amending 1VAC30-46-15, 1VAC30-46-40, 

1VAC30-46-70, 1VAC30-46-95, 1VAC30-46-100, 1VAC30-

46-140, 1VAC30-46-150, 1VAC30-46-200, 1VAC30-46-210, 

1VAC30-46-220). 

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 

Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the regulations to the 2016 TNI 

standards, including adding (i) as a cause for suspension, 

laboratory failure to submit an acceptable corrective 

action plan after two opportunities; (ii) as a reason to 

withdraw accreditation or certification, laboratory failure 

to correct the causes for suspension within the term of 

suspension; (iii) as a reason to withdraw accreditation in 

part or in total, when a laboratory fails three consecutive 

proficiency testing (PT) studies; (iv) as a reason to 

withdraw accreditation or certification, when a 

laboratory fails to meet the provisions concerning 

communicating with other laboratories with regard to 

proficiency testing; (v) a statement that the agency will 

regularly review its budget to determine if the fees 

charged under the program offset its costs; and (vi) a 

provision requiring a laboratory to pay the cost of 

compliance determination when the agency has suspended 

accreditation or certification in total and the laboratory 

wishes to demonstrate that reasons for suspension have 

been resolved. 

In 1VAC30-45, the amendments revise the time between 

PT supplemental studies, delete the requirement for an 

access log to archived records, require a successful 

performance of the demonstration of capability procedure 

when the laboratory has not performed this procedure 

within 12 months, and conform to the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency's 2017 Methods Update Rule. 

Changes since the proposed regulation (i) clarify 

decertification and withdrawal of accreditation when a 

laboratory has failed PT studies three times in succession 

and (ii) make technical edits to make the regulation more 

understandable. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

1VAC30-45-40. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Acceptance criteria" means specified limits placed on 

characteristics of an item, process, or service defined in 

requirement documents. 

"Accuracy" means the degree of agreement between an 

observed value and an accepted reference value. Accuracy 

includes a combination of random error (precision) and 

systematic error (bias) components that are due to sampling 

and analytical operations. Accuracy is an indicator of data 

quality. 

"Algae" means simple single-celled, colonial, or multicelled, 

mostly aquatic plants, containing chlorophyll and lacking 

roots, stems and leaves that are either suspended in water 

(phytoplankton) or attached to rocks and other substrates 

(periphyton). 

"Aliquot" means a portion of a sample taken for analysis. 

"Analyte" means the substance or physical property to be 

determined in samples examined, organism, physical 

parameter, or chemical constituent for which an environmental 

sample is being analyzed. 

"Analytical method" means a technical procedure for 

providing analysis of a sample, defined by a body such as the 

Environmental Protection Agency or the American Society for 

Testing and Materials [ , ] that may not include the sample 

preparation method. 

"Assessment" means the evaluation process used to measure 

or establish the performance, effectiveness, and conformance 

of an organization and its systems or both to defined criteria 

mailto:rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov
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(i.e., to the standards and requirements of laboratory 

certification). 

"Assessor" means the person assigned by DCLS to perform, 

alone or as part of an assessment team, an assessment of an 

environmental laboratory. 

"Audit" means a systematic evaluation to determine the 

conformance to quantitative and qualitative specifications of 

some operational function or activity. 

"Authority" means, in the context of a governmental body or 

local government, an authority created under the provisions of 

the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act, Chapter 51 

(§ 15.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Batch" means environmental samples that are prepared 

together or analyzed together or both with the same process 

and personnel, using the same lot or lots of reagents. 

"Analytical batch" means a batch composed of prepared 

environmental samples (extracts, digestates, or concentrates) 

that are analyzed together as a group. An analytical batch can 

include prepared samples originating from various 

environmental matrices and can exceed 20 samples. 

"Preparation batch" means a batch composed of one to 20 

environmental samples of the same matrix that meets the 

criteria in this definition for "batch" and with a maximum time 

between the start of processing of the first and last sample in 

the batch to be 24 hours. 

"Benthic macroinvertebrates" means bottom dwelling 

animals without backbones that live at least part of their life 

cycles within or upon available substrates within a body of 

water. 

"Blank" means a sample that has not been exposed to the 

analyzed sample stream in order to monitor contamination 

during sampling, transport, storage or analysis. The blank is 

subjected to the usual analytical and measurement process to 

establish a zero baseline or background value and is sometimes 

used to adjust or correct routine analytical results. Blanks 

include the following types: 

1. Field blank. A blank prepared in the field by filling a clean 

container with pure deionized water and appropriate 

preservative, if any, for the specific sampling activity being 

undertaken. 

2. Method blank. A sample of a matrix similar to the batch 

of associated samples (when available) that is free from the 

analytes of interest and is processed simultaneously with and 

under the same conditions as samples through all steps of the 

analytical procedures, and in which no target analytes or 

interferences are present at concentrations that impact the 

analytical results for sample analyses. 

"Calibration" means to determine, by measurement or 

comparison with a standard, the correct value of each scale 

reading on a meter, instrument or other device. The levels of 

the applied calibration standard should bracket the range of 

planned or expected sample measurements. 

"Calibration curve" means the graphical relationship between 

the known values, such as concentrations, of a series of 

calibration standards and their instrument response. 

"Calibration standard" means a substance or reference 

material used to calibrate an instrument. 

"Certified reference material" means a reference material one 

or more of whose property values are certified by a technically 

valid procedure, accompanied by or traceable to a certificate or 

other documentation that is issued by a certifying body. 

"Client" or "customer" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) when used in the context of 

quality assurance and specific quality control provisions. 

"Commercial environmental laboratory" means an 

environmental laboratory where environmental analysis is 

performed for another person. 

"Corrective action" means the action taken to eliminate the 

causes of an existing nonconformity, defect or other 

undesirable situation in order to prevent recurrence. 

"DCLS" means the Division of Consolidated Laboratory 

Services of the Department of General Services. 

"Demonstration of capability" means the procedure to 

establish the ability of the analyst to generate data of 

acceptable accuracy and precision. 

"Detection limit" means the lowest concentration or amount 

of the target analyte that can be determined to be different from 

zero by a single measurement at a stated degree of confidence. 

"Environmental analysis" or "environmental analyses" means 

any test, analysis, measurement, or monitoring used for the 

purposes of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, the 

Virginia Waste Management Act or the State Water Control 

Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq., § 10.1-1400 et seq., and § 62.1-44.2 

et seq., respectively, of the Code of Virginia). For the purposes 

of these regulations, any test, analysis, measurement, or 

monitoring required pursuant to the regulations promulgated 

under these three laws, or by any permit or order issued under 

the authority of any of these laws or regulations is "used for the 

purposes" of these laws. The term shall not include the 

following: 

1. Sampling of water, solid and chemical materials, 

biological tissue, or air and emissions. 

2. Field testing and measurement of water, solid and 

chemical materials, biological tissue, or air and emissions, 

except when performed in an environmental laboratory 

rather than at the site where the sample was taken. 

3. Taxonomic identification of samples for which there is no 

national accreditation standard such as algae, benthic 
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macroinvertebrates, macrophytes, vertebrates, and 

zooplankton. 

4. Protocols used pursuant to § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 

Virginia to determine soil fertility, animal manure nutrient 

content, or plant tissue nutrient uptake for the purposes of 

nutrient management. 

5. Geochemical and permeability testing for solid waste 

compliance. 

6. Materials specification for air quality compliance when 

product certifications specify the data required by an air 

permit such as fuel type, Btu content, sulfur content, or VOC 

content. 

"Environmental laboratory" or "laboratory" means a facility 

or a defined area within a facility where environmental analysis 

is performed. A structure built solely to shelter field personnel 

and equipment from inclement weather shall not be considered 

an environmental laboratory. 

"Establishment date" means the date set for the accreditation 

program under 1VAC30-46 and the certification program to be 

established under this chapter. 

"Establishment of certification program" or "established 

program" means that DCLS has completed the initial 

accreditation of environmental laboratories covered by 

1VAC30-46 and the initial certification of environmental 

laboratories covered by 1VAC30-45. 

"Facility" means something that is built or installed to serve a 

particular function. 

"Field of certification" or "FoC" means those matrix, 

technology/method, and analyte combinations for which 

DCLS offers certification. 

"Field of proficiency testing" or "FoPT" means analytes for 

which a laboratory is required to successfully analyze a PT 

sample in order to obtain or maintain certification, collectively 

defined as the matrix, technology/method, and analyte 

combinations for which the composition spike concentration 

ranges and acceptance criteria have been established by the 

Proficiency Testing Program Executive Committee of TNI. 

"Field testing and measurement" means any of the following: 

1. Any test for parameters under 40 CFR Part 136 for which 

the holding time indicated for the sample requires immediate 

analysis; or 

2. Any test defined as a field test in federal regulation. 

The following is a limited list of currently recognized field 

tests or measures that is not intended to be inclusive: 

continuous emissions monitoring; online monitoring; flow 

monitoring; tests for pH, residual chlorine, temperature and 

dissolved oxygen; and field analysis for soil gas. 

"Finding" means an assessment conclusion referenced to a 

laboratory certification standard and supported by objective 

evidence that identifies a deviation from a laboratory 

certification standard requirement. 

"Governmental body" means any department, agency, 

bureau, authority, or district of the United States government, 

of the government of the Commonwealth of Virginia, or of any 

local government within the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Holding time" means the maximum time that can elapse 

between two specified activities. 

"International System of Units (SI)" means the coherent 

system of units adopted and recommended by the General 

Conference on Weights and Measures. 

"Laboratory control sample" or "LCS" means a sample 

matrix, free from the analytes of interest, spiked with verified 

known amounts of analytes or a material containing known and 

verified amounts of analytes. It is generally used to establish 

intra-laboratory or analyst specific precision and bias or to 

assess the performance of all or a portion of the measurement 

system. "Laboratory control sample" or "LCS" may also be 

named laboratory fortified blank, spiked blank, or QC check 

sample. 

"Laboratory manager" means the person who has overall 

responsibility for the technical operation of the environmental 

laboratory and who exercises actual day-to-day supervision of 

laboratory operation for the appropriate fields of testing and 

reporting of results. The title of this person may include but is 

not limited to laboratory director, technical director, laboratory 

supervisor, or laboratory manager. 

"Legal entity" means an entity, other than a natural person, 

who that has sufficient existence in legal contemplation that it 

can function legally, be sued or sue, and make decisions 

through agents as in the case of corporations. 

"Limit of detection" or "LOD" means an estimate of the 

minimum amount of a substance that an analytical process can 

reliably detect. An LOD is analyte and matrix specific and may 

be laboratory dependent. 

"Limit of quantitation" or "LOQ" means the minimum levels, 

concentrations, or quantities of a target variable (e.g., target 

analyte) that can be reported with a specified degree of 

confidence. 

"Local government" means a municipality (city or town), 

county, sanitation district, or authority. 

"Macrophytes" means any aquatic or terrestrial plant species 

that can be identified and observed with the eye, unaided by 

magnification. 

"Matrix" means the component or substrate that may contain 

the analyte of interest. A matrix can be a field of certification 

matrix or a quality system matrix. 
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1. Field of certification matrix. These matrix definitions 

shall be used when certifying a laboratory. 

a. Nonpotable water. Any aqueous sample that has not 

been designated a potable or potential potable water 

source. Includes surface water, groundwater, effluents, 

water treatment chemicals, and TCLP or other extracts. 

b. Solid and chemical materials. Includes soils, sediments, 

sludges, products, and byproducts of an industrial process 

that results in a matrix not previously defined. 

c. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin 

such as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such 

samples shall be grouped according to origin. 

d. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples 

including those contained in flexible or rigid wall 

containers and the extracted concentrated analytes of 

interest from a gas or vapor that are collected with a 

sorbent tube, impinger solution, filter or other device. 

2. Quality system matrix. For purposes of batch and quality 

control requirement determinations, the following matrix 

types shall be used: 

a. Drinking water. Any aqueous sample that has been 

designated a potable or potential potable water source. 

b. Aqueous. Any aqueous sample excluded from the 

definition of drinking water matrix or saline/estuarine 

source. Includes surface water, groundwater, effluents, 

and TCLP or other extracts. 

c. Saline/estuarine. Any aqueous sample from an ocean or 

estuary, or other salt water source. 

d. Nonaqueous liquid. Any organic liquid with less than 

15% settleable solids. 

e. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin 

such as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such 

samples shall be grouped according to origin. 

f. Solids. Includes soils, sediments, sludges, and other 

matrices with more than 15% settleable solids. 

g. Chemical waste. A product or byproduct of an industrial 

process that results in a matrix not previously defined. 

h. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples 

including those contained in flexible or rigid wall 

containers and the extracted concentrated analytes of 

interest from a gas or vapor that are collected with a 

sorbent tube, impinger solution, filter, or other device. 

"Matrix spike (spiked sample or fortified sample)" means a 

sample prepared by adding a known mass of target analyte to 

a specified amount of matrix sample for which an independent 

estimate of target analyte concentration is available. Matrix 

spikes are used, for example, to determine the effect of the 

matrix on a method's recovery efficiency. 

"Matrix spike duplicate (spiked sample or fortified sample 

duplicate)" means a second replicate matrix spike prepared in 

the laboratory and analyzed to obtain a measure of the 

precision of the recovery for each analyte. 

"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Conference (NELAC)" or "NELAC" means a voluntary 

organization of state and federal environmental officials and 

interest groups with the primary purpose to establish mutually 

acceptable standards for accrediting environmental 

laboratories. NELAC preceded the formation of The NELAC 

Institute or TNI. 

"National Institute of Standards and Technology" or "NIST" 

means an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce's 

Technology Administration that is working with EPA, states, 

NELAC, and other public and commercial entities to establish 

a system under which private sector companies and interested 

states can be certified by NIST to provide NIST-traceable 

proficiency testing (PT) samples. 

"Negative control" means measures taken to ensure that a test, 

its components, or the environment do not cause undesired 

effects, or produce incorrect test results. 

"Noncommercial environmental laboratory" means either of 

the following: 

1. An environmental laboratory where environmental 

analysis is performed solely for the owner of the laboratory. 

2. An environmental laboratory where the only performance 

of environmental analysis for another person is one of the 

following: 

a. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a local government for an owner of a 

small wastewater treatment system treating domestic 

sewage at a flow rate of less than or equal to 1,000 gallons 

per day. 

b. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory operated by a corporation as part of a general 

contract issued by a local government to operate and 

maintain a wastewater treatment system or a waterworks. 

c. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a corporation as part of the 

prequalification process or to confirm the identity or 

characteristics of material supplied by a potential or 

existing customer or generator as required by a hazardous 

waste management permit under 9VAC20-60. 

d. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a Publicly Owned Treatment Works 

(POTW) for an industrial source of wastewater under a 

permit issued by the POTW to the industrial source as part 

of the requirements of a pretreatment program under Part 

VII (9VAC25-31-730 et seq.) of 9VAC25-31. 

e. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a county authority for any 

municipality within the county's geographic jurisdiction 
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when the environmental analysis pertains solely to the 

purpose for which the authority was created. 

f. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by an authority or a sanitation district 

for any participating local government of the authority or 

sanitation district when the environmental analysis 

pertains solely to the purpose for which the authority or 

sanitation district was created. 

"Owner" means any person who owns, operates, leases, or 

controls an environmental laboratory. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 

legal entity. 

"Physical," for the purposes of fee test categories, means the 

tests to determine the physical properties of a sample. Tests for 

solids, turbidity, and color are examples of physical tests. 

"Positive control" means measures taken to ensure that a test 

or its components are working properly and producing correct 

or expected results from positive test subjects. 

"Precision" means the degree to which a set of observations 

or measurements of the same property, obtained under similar 

conditions, conform to themselves. Precision is an indicator of 

data quality. Precision is expressed usually as standard 

deviation, variance, or range, in either absolute or relative 

terms. 

"Primary accreditation body" means the accreditation body 

responsible for assessing a laboratory's total quality system, 

on-site assessment, and PT performance tracking for fields of 

accreditation. 

"Proficiency test or testing (PT)" or "PT" means evaluating a 

process to evaluate a laboratory's performance under 

controlled conditions relative to a given set of criteria through 

analysis of unknown samples provided by an external source. 

"Proficiency test (PT) sample" means a sample, the 

composition of which is unknown to the laboratory and is 

provided to test whether the laboratory can produce analytical 

results within specified acceptance criteria. 

"Proficiency testing (PT) program" means the aggregate of 

providing rigorously controlled and standardized 

environmental samples to a laboratory for analysis, reporting 

of results, statistical evaluation of the results, and the collective 

demographics and results summary of all participating 

laboratories. 

"Program," in the context of a regulatory program, means the 

relevant U.S. Environmental Protection Agency program such 

as the water program under the Clean Water Act (CWA), the 

air program under the Clean Air Act (CAA), the waste program 

under the Comprehensive Environmental Response, 

Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA or Superfund), or 

the waste program under the Resource Conservation and 

Recovery Act (RCRA). 

"Publicly Owned Treatment Works (POTW)" or "POTW" 

means a treatment works as defined by § 212 of the CWA, 

which is owned by a state or municipality (as defined by 

§ 502(4) of the CWA). This definition includes any devices 

and systems used in the storage, treatment, recycling, and 

reclamation of municipal sewage or industrial wastes of a 

liquid nature. It also includes sewers, pipes, and other 

conveyances only if they convey wastewater to a POTW 

treatment plant. The term also means the municipality as 

defined in § 502(4) of the CWA, which has jurisdiction over 

the indirect discharges to and the discharges from such a 

treatment works. 

"Quality assurance" or "QA" means an integrated system of 

management activities involving planning, implementation, 

assessment, reporting, and quality improvement to ensure that 

a process, item, or service is of the type and quality needed and 

expected by the client. 

"Quality assurance officer" means the person who has 

responsibility for the quality system and its implementation. 

Where staffing is limited, the quality assurance officer may 

also be the laboratory manager. 

"Quality control" or "QC" means the overall system of 

technical activities that measures the attributes and 

performance of a process, item, or service against defined 

standards to verify that they meet the stated requirements 

established by the customer; operational techniques and 

activities that are used to fulfill requirements for quality; and 

also the system of activities and checks used to ensure that 

measurement systems are maintained within prescribed limits, 

providing protection against "out of control" conditions and 

ensuring that the results are of acceptable quality. 

"Quality manual" means a document stating the management 

policies, objectives, principles, organizational structure and 

authority, responsibilities, accountability, and implementation 

of an agency, organization, or laboratory, to ensure the quality 

of its product and the utility of its product to its users. 

"Quality system" means a structured and documented 

management system describing the policies, objectives, 

principles, organizational authority, responsibilities, 

accountability, and implementation plan of an organization for 

ensuring quality in its work processes, products (items), and 

services. The quality system provides the framework for 

planning, implementing, and assessing work performed by the 

organization and for carrying out required quality assurance 

and quality control activities. 

"Range" means the difference between the minimum and 

maximum of a set of values. 

"Reference material" means a material or substance one or 

more properties of which are sufficiently well established to be 
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used for the calibration of an apparatus, the assessment of a 

measurement test method, or for assigning values to materials. 

"Reference standard" means a standard, generally of the 

highest metrological quality available at a given location, from 

which measurements made at that location are derived. 

"Responsible official" means one of the following, as 

appropriate: 

1. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a private 

corporation, "responsible official" means (i) a president, 

secretary, treasurer, or a vice-president of the corporation in 

charge of a principal business function, or any other person 

who performs similar policy-making or decision-making 

functions for the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or 

more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

employing more than 250 persons or having gross annual 

sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in second-

quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents has 

been assigned or delegated in accordance with corporate 

procedures. 

2. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a partnership, 

association, or a sole proprietor, "responsible official" means 

a general partner, officer of the association, or the proprietor, 

respectively. 

3. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a governmental 

body, "responsible official" means a director or highest 

official appointed or designated to oversee the operation and 

performance of the activities of the environmental 

laboratory. 

4. Any person designated as the responsible official by an 

individual described in subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this 

definition, provided the designation is in writing, the 

designation specifies an individual or position with 

responsibility for the overall operation of the environmental 

laboratory, and the designation is submitted to DCLS. 

"Sampling" means the act of collection for the purpose of 

analysis an activity related to obtaining a representative sample 

of the object of conformity assessment, according to a 

procedure. 

"Sanitation district" means a sanitation district created under 

the provisions of Chapters 3 (§ 21-141 et seq.) through 5 (§ 21-

291 et seq.) of Title 21 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Selectivity" means the ability to analyze, distinguish, and 

determine a specific analyte from another component that may 

be a potential interferent or that may behave similarly to the 

target analyte within the measurement system. 

"Sewage" means the water-carried human wastes from 

residences, buildings, industrial establishments, or other places 

together with such industrial wastes and underground, surface, 

storm, or other water as may be present. 

"Simple test procedures" or "STP" means any of the 

following: 

1. Field testing and measurement performed in an 

environmental laboratory. 

2. The test procedures to determine: 

a. Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD) or carbonaceous 

BOD (CBOD); 

b. Fecal coliform; 

c. Total coliform; 

d. Fecal streptococci; 

e. E. coli; 

f. Enterococci; 

g. Settleable solids (SS); 

h. Total dissolved solids (TDS); 

i. Total solids (TS); 

j. Total suspended solids (TSS); 

k. Total volatile solids (TVS); and 

l. Total volatile suspended solids (TVSS). 

"Standard operating procedure" or "SOP" means a written 

document that details the method for an operation, analysis, or 

action with thoroughly prescribed techniques and steps. An 

SOP is officially approved as the method for performing 

certain routine or repetitive tasks. 

"Standardized reference material" or "SRM" means a 

certified reference material produced by the U.S. National 

Institute of Standards and Technology or other equivalent 

organization and characterized for absolute content, 

independent of analytical method. 

"System laboratory" means a noncommercial laboratory that 

analyzes samples from multiple facilities having the same 

owner. 

"Test" means a technical operation that consists of the 

determination of one or more characteristics or performance of 

a given product, material, equipment, organism, physical 

phenomenon, process, or service according to a specified 

procedure. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means any method 

of analysis required by the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law 

(§ 10.1-1300 et seq.); by the regulations promulgated under 

this law (9VAC5) including any method of analysis listed 

either in the definition of "reference method" in 9VAC5-10-

20, or listed or adopted by reference in 9VAC5; or by any 

permit or order issued under and in accordance with this law 

and these regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Waste Management Act" means any method of 

analysis required by the Virginia Waste Management Act 
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(§ 10.1-1400 et seq.); by the regulations promulgated under 

this law (9VAC20), including any method of analysis listed or 

adopted by reference in 9VAC20; or by any permit or order 

issued under and in accordance with this law and these 

regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Water Control Law" means any method of 

analysis required by the Virginia Water Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.2 et seq.); by the regulations promulgated under this law 

(9VAC25), including any method of analysis listed or adopted 

by reference in 9VAC25; or by any permit or order issued 

under and in accordance with this law and these regulations. 

"Test method" means an adoption of a scientific technique for 

performing a specific measurement as documented in a 

laboratory standard operating procedure or as published by a 

recognized authority. 

"The NELAC Institute" or "TNI" means the organization 

whose standards environmental laboratories must meet to 

become accredited under 1VAC30-46, the regulation 

governing commercial environmental laboratories in Virginia. 

"Toxicity characteristic leachate procedure" or "TCLP" 

means Test Method 1311 in "Test Methods for Evaluating 

Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication 

SW-846, as incorporated by reference in 40 CFR 260.11. This 

method is used to determine whether a solid waste exhibits the 

characteristic of toxicity (see 40 CFR 261.24). 

"Traceability" means the property of a result of a 

measurement whereby it can be related to appropriate 

standards, generally international or national standards, 

through an unbroken chain of comparisons. 

"U.S. Environmental Protection Agency" or "EPA" means the 

federal government agency with responsibility for protecting, 

safeguarding, and improving the natural environment (i.e., air, 

water, and land) upon which human life depends. 

"Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means Chapter 13 

(§ 10.1-1300 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

which is titled "Air Pollution Control Board." 

"Virginia Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program" 

or "VELAP" means the program DCLS operates to certify 

environmental laboratories under this chapter. 

"Wastewater" means liquid and water-carried industrial 

wastes and domestic sewage from residential dwellings, 

commercial buildings, industrial and manufacturing facilities, 

and institutions. 

"Waterworks" means each system of structures and 

appliances used in connection with the collection, storage, 

purification, and treatment of water for drinking or domestic 

use and the distribution thereof to the public, except 

distribution piping. 

"Zooplankton" means microscopic animals that float freely 

with voluntary movement in a body of water. 

1VAC30-45-95. Suspension of certification. 

A. DCLS may suspend certification from an environmental 

laboratory in total or in part to allow the laboratory time to 

correct the reason for which DCLS may withdraw certification. 

Suspension is limited to the reasons listed in subsection B of 

this section. 

B. DCLS may suspend certification from an environmental 

laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory has failed to 

do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of this 

chapter. 

2. Satisfactorily complete proficiency testing studies as 

required by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of 

this chapter. 

3. Submit an acceptable corrective action plan after two 

opportunities as specified in 1VAC30-45-390. 

4. Maintain a quality system as defined in Article 4 

(1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

4. 5. Employ staff that meets the personnel qualifications of 

Article 1 (1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

5. 6. Notify DCLS of any changes in key certification criteria 

as set forth in 1VAC30-45-90. 

C. Process to suspend certification. 

1. When DCLS becomes aware of a cause to suspend a 

laboratory, the agency shall send notification to the 

responsible official and the laboratory manager stating it 

appears to DCLS that the laboratory has failed to meet the 

1VAC30-45 standards for one or more of the reasons listed 

in subsection B of this section. DCLS shall send the 

notification by certified mail. 

2. The DCLS notification shall do the following: 

a. Require the laboratory to provide DCLS with 

documentation of the corrective action already taken with 

regard to its failure to meet a standard under subsection B 

of this section. 

b. State the corrective action the laboratory must take and 

the time allowed for this corrective action to be completed 

in order to retain certification. 

3. The environmental laboratory may proceed to correct the 

deficiencies for which DCLS may suspend the laboratory's 

certification. 

4. Alternatively the laboratory may state in writing that 

DCLS is incorrect in its observations regarding potential 

suspension and give specific reasons why the laboratory 

believes DCLS should not suspend certification. The 
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laboratory has the right to due process as set forth in 

1VAC30-45-110, the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and Part 2A of the 

Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

5. With the exception of subdivision B 4 of this section, 

DCLS may allow the laboratory up to 60 days to correct the 

problem for which it may have its certification suspended. 

6. DCLS shall set a date for suspension that follows the 

period provided under subdivision 5 of this subsection to 

restore certification. 

7. If the laboratory does not correct its deficiencies within 

the time period allowed or pursue options under subdivision 

4 of this subsection, DCLS may suspend a laboratory in part 

or in total. 

8. DCLS shall notify the laboratory by letter if the 

laboratory's certification is suspended in part or in total. 

DCLS shall send the notification by certified mail. DCLS 

shall also notify the pertinent Virginia state agency of the 

laboratory's suspension status. 

9. The laboratory may provide information demonstrating 

why suspension is not warranted in accordance with 

subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DCLS when certification has been suspended. 

1. The term of suspension shall be limited to six months or 

the period of certification whichever is longer. 

2. The environmental laboratory shall not continue to 

analyze samples or report analysis for the fields of 

certification for which DCLS has suspended certification. 

3. The environmental laboratory shall retain certification for 

the fields of certification, methods, and analytes where it 

continues to meet the requirements of this chapter. 

4. The laboratory's suspended certification status shall 

change to certified when the laboratory demonstrates to 

DCLS that the laboratory has corrected the deficiency or 

deficiencies for which its certification was suspended. 

5. An environmental laboratory with suspended certification 

shall not have to reapply for certification if the cause or 

causes for suspension are corrected within the term of 

suspension. 

6. An environmental laboratory that DCLS has suspended in 

total shall pay the cost of any necessary follow-up on-site 

assessments or data review or both to determine compliance. 

This cost shall be calculated under the provisions of 

1VAC30-45-130 F and G. 

7. If the laboratory fails to correct the causes of suspension 

within the term of suspension, DCLS shall decertify the 

laboratory in total or in part. 

1VAC30-45-100. Decertification. 

A. DCLS shall decertify an environmental laboratory in total 

if the laboratory is found to be falsifying any data or providing 

false information to support certification. 

B. DCLS may decertify an environmental laboratory in part 

or in total when the laboratory has failed to do any of the 

following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of this 

chapter. 

2. Satisfactorily complete proficiency testing studies as 

required by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of 

this chapter. 

[ 3. Successfully complete three consecutive PT studies, 

either by failure to participate in the required PT study or by 

failure to obtain acceptable results for the same field of 

certification. ] 

[ 4. 3. ] Maintain a quality system as defined in Article 4 

(1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

[ 4. 5. ] Employ staff that meets the personnel qualifications 

in Article 1 (1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of Part II of this 

chapter. 

[ 5. 6. ] Submit an acceptable corrective action plan after two 

opportunities as specified in 1VAC30-45-390. 

[ 6. 7. ] Implement corrective action specified in the 

laboratory's corrective action plan as set out under 1VAC30-

45-390. 

[ 7. 8. ] Correct the causes of suspension within the term of 

suspension. 

[ 9. 8. ] Notify DCLS of any changes in key certification 

criteria as set forth in 1VAC30-45-90. 

[ 8. 10. 9. ] Use accurate references to the laboratory's 

certification status in the laboratory's documentation. 

[ 9. 11. 10. ] Allow a DCLS assessment team entry during 

normal business hours to conduct an on-site assessment 

required by Article 2 (1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of 

this chapter. 

[ 10. 12. 11. ] Pay the required fees specified in 1VAC30-

45-130. 

[ 13. 12. ] Meet the provisions regarding communication 

with others in 1VAC30-45-510 C. 

C. [ DCLS may decertify an environmental laboratory in part 

or in total when the laboratory has failed three consecutive 

proficiency testing studies for the same field of certification 

either by failure to participate in the proficiency testing study 

or by failure to obtain acceptable results. 
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D. ] DCLS shall follow the process specified in 1VAC30-45-

110 when decertifying an environmental laboratory. 

[ D. E. ] Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DCLS when certification has been withdrawn. 

1. Laboratories that lose their certification in full shall return 

their certificate to DCLS. 

2. If a laboratory loses certification in part, DCLS shall issue 

a revised certificate to the laboratory. 

3. When the environmental laboratory has lost certification 

in full or in part, the laboratory shall not continue to analyze 

samples or report analyses for the fields of certification that 

DCLS has decertified. 

[ E. F. ] After correcting the reason or cause for decertification 

under subsection A or B of this section, the laboratory owner 

may reapply for certification under 1VAC30-45-70. 

1VAC30-45-130. Fees. 

A. General. 

1. Environmental laboratories shall pay a fee with all 

applications, including reapplications, for certification. 

DCLS shall not designate an application as complete until it 

receives payment of the fee. 

2. Each certified environmental laboratory shall pay an 

annual fee to maintain its certification. DCLS shall send an 

invoice to the certified environmental laboratory. 

3. Fees shall be nonrefundable. 

4. DCLS, as part of its regular budgetary review of the 

program, shall determine whether the fees charged under this 

section offset the program costs as required under § 2.2-1105 

of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Environmental laboratories performing only simple test 

procedures shall pay an annual fee of $690. 

C. Fee computation for general environmental laboratories. 

1. Fees shall be applied on an annual basis. 

2. Environmental laboratories shall pay the total of the base 

fee and the test category fees set out in subsections D and E 

of this section. 

D. Base fees for general environmental laboratories. 

1. DCLS determines the base fee for a laboratory by taking 

into account both the total number of methods and the total 

number of field of certification matrices for which the 

laboratory would be certified. 

2. DCLS shall charge the base fees set out in Table 1. The 

base fee for a laboratory is located by first finding the row 

for the total number of methods to be certified and then 

finding the box on that row located in the column headed by 

the total number of matrices to be certified. For example, 

DCLS charges a base fee of $1495 to a laboratory 

performing a total of eight methods for one matrix. 

TABLE 1: BASE FEES 

Number of 

Methods 

1 Matrix 2 Matrices 

1 - 9 $1495 $1645 

10 - 29 $1610 $1811 

30 - 99 $1783 $2099 

E. Test category fees for general environmental laboratories. 

1. The test category fees cover the types of testing for which 

a laboratory may be certified as specified in the laboratory's 

application or as certified at the time of annual billing. 

2. Fees shall be charged for each category of tests to be 

certified. 

3. Fees shall be charged for the total number of field of 

certification matrices to be certified under the specific test 

category. For example, if a laboratory is performing 

inorganic chemistry for both nonpotable water and solid and 

chemical materials matrices, the fee for this test category 

would be found in the column for two matrices. 

4. The fee for each category includes one or more analytical 

methods unless otherwise specified. 

5. DCLS shall charge the test category fees set out in Table 

2. The test category fees for a laboratory are located by first 

finding the row with the total number of test methods for the 

test category to be certified. The fee to be charged for the 

test category will be found on that row in the column headed 

by the total number of matrices to be certified. A laboratory 

performing four test methods for inorganic chemistry in 

nonpotable water and solid and chemical materials (two 

matrices) would be charged a test category fee of $431. 

6. Noncommercial environmental laboratories that perform 

toxicity, radiochemical, or asbestos testing shall pay the test 

category fees established for these types of testing in 

1VAC30-46-150. 

TABLE 2: TEST CATEGORY FEES 

Test Category Fees by Number of Matrices 

 One Two 

Oxygen demand $259 $385 

Bacteriology, 1 - 3 

total methods $201 $305 

Bacteriology, 4 or 

more total methods $253 $380 

Physical, 1 - 5 total 

methods $201 $305 
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Physical, 6 - 10 total 

methods $253 $380 

Inorganic chemistry, 

1 - 10 total methods $288 $431 

Inorganic chemistry, 

11 - 20 total methods $362 $546 

Inorganic chemistry, 

21 - 49 total methods $453 $679 

Chemistry metals, 1 - 

5 total methods $374 $564 

Chemistry metals, 6 - 

20 total methods $472 $707 

Organic chemistry, 1 

- 5 total methods $460 $690 

Organic chemistry, 6 

- 20 total methods $575 $863 

7. Fee examples. Three examples are provided. 

a. Example 1: 

Base Fee 

One matrix and 

four test 

methods 

$1495 

Test Category 

Fees   

One Matrix   

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology (2 

methods) 
$201 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen 

demand (1 

method) 

$259 

Nonpotable 

Water 
Physical (1) $201 

TOTAL  $2156 

b. Example 2: 

Base Fee 
One matrix and 

15 test methods 
$1610 

Test Category 

Fees   

One Matrix   

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology (2 

methods) 
$201 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Inorganic 

chemistry (9 

methods) 

$288 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Chemistry 

metals (2 

methods) 

$374 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen 

demand (1 

method) 

$259 

Nonpotable 

Water 
Physical (1) $201 

TOTAL  $2933 

c. Example 3: 

Base Fee 

Two matrices 

and 27 test 

methods 

$1811 

Test Category 

Fees   

One Matrix   

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology (4 

methods) 
$253 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen 

demand (1 

method) 

$259 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials 

Chemistry 

metals (1 

method) 

$374 

Two Matrices   

Nonpotable 

Water and 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials 

Inorganic 

chemistry (13 

methods) 

$546 

Nonpotable 

Water and 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials 

Physical (7 

methods) 
$380 

TOTAL  $3623 

F. Additional fees. Additional fees shall be charged to 

laboratories applying for the following: (i) modification to 

scope of certification under 1VAC30-45-90 B, (ii) transfer of 

ownership under 1VAC30-45-90 C, (iii) review of compliance 

following total suspension, (iv) exemption under 1VAC30-45-

120, or (iv) (v) petition for a variance under 1VAC30-45-140. 

1. For any certified environmental laboratory that applies to 

modify its scope of certification as specified under 1VAC30-

45-90 B, DCLS shall assess a fee determined by the method 

in subsection G of this section. 
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2. Under 1VAC30-45-90 C, DCLS may charge a transfer fee 

to a certified laboratory that transfers ownership. A fee shall 

be charged if DCLS (i) needs to review documentation sent 

by the laboratory about the transfer of ownership or (ii) 

determines that an on-site assessment is necessary to 

evaluate the effect of the transfer of ownership. DCLS shall 

assess a fee determined by the method in subsection G of 

this section. If, under 1VAC30-45-90 C, DCLS determines 

that the change of ownership or location of laboratory 

requires recertification of or reapplication by the laboratory, 

the laboratory shall pay the application fees required under 

this section. 

3. Under 1VAC30-45-95 D 6, an environmental laboratory 

that DCLS has suspended in total shall be charged the cost 

of any necessary follow-up on-site assessments or data 

review or both to determine compliance. This charge shall 

be calculated under the method specified in subsection G of 

this section. 

4. General environmental laboratories applying for an 

exemption under 1VAC30-45-120 shall pay an initial 

application fee of $700 plus an additional fee based on the 

actual time needed for DCLS to assess the exemption 

request. The total fee shall not exceed the actual time DCLS 

takes to assess the exemption request. Laboratories 

performing only simple test procedures applying for an 

exemption under 1VAC30-45-120 shall pay an initial 

application fee of $300 plus an additional fee based on the 

actual time needed for DCLS to assess the exemption 

request. The total fee shall not exceed the actual time DCLS 

takes to assess the exemption request. The fee assessed shall 

be calculated using the method in subsection G of this 

section. 

4. 5. Under 1VAC30-45-140, any person regulated by this 

chapter may petition the director to grant a variance from 

any requirement of this chapter. DCLS shall charge an initial 

fee of $700 plus an additional fee based on the actual time 

needed for DCLS to review the petition, including any on-

site assessment required. The total fee shall not exceed the 

actual time DCLS takes to review and make a determination 

on the request for a variance. The fee shall be determined by 

the method specified in subsection G of this section. 

G. Fee determination. 

1. The fee shall be the sum of the total hourly charges for all 

reviewers plus any on-site review costs incurred. 

2. An hourly charge per reviewer shall be determined by (i) 

obtaining a yearly cost by multiplying the reviewer's annual 

salary by 1.35 (accounts for overhead such as taxes and 

insurance) and then (ii) dividing the yearly cost by 1,642 

(number of annual hours established by Fiscal Services, the 

Department of General Services, for billing purposes). 

3. The charge per reviewer shall be determined by 

multiplying the number of hours expended in the review by 

the reviewer's hourly charge. 

4. If an on-site review is required, travel time and on-site 

review time shall be charged at the same hourly charge per 

reviewer, and any travel expenses shall be added. 

H. Out-of-state laboratories - travel costs. The owner of an 

environmental laboratory located in another state who applies 

for certification under this chapter shall also pay a fee equal to 

the reasonable travel costs associated with conducting an on-

site assessment at the laboratory. Reasonable travel costs 

include transportation, lodging, per diem, and telephone and 

duplication charges. 

I. DCLS shall derive the travel costs charged under 

subsections G and H of this section from the Commonwealth 

of Virginia reimbursement allowances and rates for lodging, 

per diem, and mileage. 

1VAC30-45-520. PT criteria for laboratory certification. 

A. Result categories. 

1. The criteria described in this section apply individually to 

each FoPT, as defined by the laboratory seeking to obtain or 

maintain certification in its certification request. These 

criteria apply only to the PT portion of the overall 

certification standard. 

2. There are two PT result categories: "acceptable" and "not 

acceptable." 

B. Initial and continuing certification. 

1. A laboratory seeking to obtain or maintain certification 

shall successfully complete one PT study for each requested 

FoC. 

2. Once a laboratory has been granted certification status, it 

shall continue to complete PT studies for each FoPT and 

maintain a history of at least one acceptable PT study each 

calendar year. The laboratory shall complete its PT studies 

by September 30 of each calendar year. 

3. When the PT sample used for initial certification was 

analyzed by the laboratory prior to the date of application, 

the analysis date of the PT sample shall be no more than 12 

months prior to the application date of certification. 

4. For a laboratory performing supplemental testing, the PT 

studies shall be at least 15 seven calendar days apart from 

the closing date of one study to the shipment opening date of 

another study for the same FoPT. 

5. When the PT study result is reported by the PT provider 

as "acceptable" the environmental laboratory has satisfied 

the PT requirement. 
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6. When the PT study result is "not acceptable," the 

environmental laboratory shall follow the procedure in 

subsection C of this section. 

7. DCLS shall consider a laboratory's analytical result for a 

FoPT not acceptable when the laboratory makes any 

reporting error or omission that results in a nonspecific 

match between the analytical result for the FoPT and any 

criterion that identifies the laboratory or the field of 

certification for which the PT sample was analyzed for the 

purpose of initial or continued certification. 

C. Procedure and requirements for "not acceptable" PT study 

results. 

1. When a laboratory receives a PT study result of "not 

acceptable," the laboratory shall determine the cause for the 

failure and perform and document corrective action. The 

corrective action documentation shall be completed within 

30 days of receiving the "not acceptable" PT study result and 

be submitted to DCLS upon request. DCLS may extend the 

time for corrective action and documentation. 

2. Upon completion of the corrective action the laboratory 

shall perform another PT study for each FoPT that had a "not 

acceptable" result. 

3. If the laboratory successfully completes the makeup PT 

study by receiving an "acceptable" result before December 

31, DCLS shall not suspend the laboratory's certification for 

the pertinent FoC. 

4. If the laboratory receives a "not acceptable" result on the 

makeup PT study, DCLS shall notify the laboratory that 

there is cause to suspend the laboratory's certification for the 

FoC for which the PT study was "not acceptable." 

5. DCLS shall not extend the period for annual PT study 

completion beyond December 31 each year. Failure to 

satisfactorily complete a PT study, including any corrective 

action and makeup PT study, by December 31 shall result in 

suspension of certification in total or in part. 

6. If the laboratory receives a "not acceptable" result on three 

successive PT studies, DCLS shall decertify the laboratory 

for the pertinent FoC until such time that the laboratory: 

a. Completes corrective action for all failed studies and 

submits its corrective action report to DCLS; 

b. Obtains an "acceptable" result for the PT studies; and 

c. Applies for a change to its scope of certification and 

pays applicable fees required by 1VAC30-45-90 B and 

1VAC30-45-130 F. 

7. DCLS shall follow the provisions of 1VAC30-45-110 in 

decertifying the laboratory. 

D. Withdrawal from PT studies. A laboratory may withdraw 

from a PT study for any FoPT on or before the close date of 

the study. Withdrawing from a study shall not exempt the 

laboratory from meeting the annual analysis requirements 

necessary for continued certification. 

1VAC30-45-650. Records management and storage. 

A. The laboratory shall keep all records, certificates, and 

reports as required by applicable state and federal 

recordkeeping laws and regulations. The laboratory shall 

safely store these records and hold them secure. 

B. The laboratory shall retain all records for a minimum of 

three years from generation of the last entry in the records, or 

longer, if required by an applicable regulatory program, 

whichever is greater. The laboratory shall maintain all 

information necessary for the historical reconstruction of data, 

including all original observations, calculations and derived 

data, calibration records and a copy of the test report. 

C. Records that are stored only on electronic media shall be 

supported by the hardware and software necessary for their 

retrieval. Records that are stored or generated by computers or 

personal computers shall have hard copy or write-protected 

backup copies. 

D. The laboratory shall establish a record management 

system for control of laboratory notebooks, instrument 

logbooks, standards logbooks, and records for data reduction, 

validation storage and reporting. 

E. Access to archived information shall be documented with 

an access log. The laboratory shall protect these records against 

fire, theft, loss, environmental deterioration, vermin and, in the 

case of electronic records, electronic or magnetic sources. 

F. The laboratory shall have a plan to ensure that the records 

are maintained or transferred in the event that a laboratory 

transfers ownership or goes out of business. In addition, in 

cases of bankruptcy, the laboratory shall follow appropriate 

regulatory and state legal requirements concerning laboratory 

records. 

1VAC30-45-730. Test methods and standard operating 

procedures. 

A. Methods documentation. 

1. The laboratory shall have documented instructions on the 

use and operation of all relevant equipment, on the handling 

and preparation of samples, and for calibration or testing, 

where the absence of such instructions could jeopardize the 

calibrations or tests. 

2. All instructions, standards, manuals, and reference data 

relevant to the work of the laboratory shall be maintained up 

to date and be readily available to the staff. 

B. Standard operating procedures (SOPs). 

1. Laboratories shall maintain SOPs that accurately reflect 

all phases of current laboratory activities such as assessing 

data integrity, corrective actions, handling customer 

complaints, and all test methods. These documents, for 
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example, may be equipment manuals provided by the 

manufacturer or internally written documents. The test 

methods may be copies of published methods as long as any 

changes or selected options in the methods are documented 

and included in the laboratory methods manual. 

2. The SOPs shall be organized. Each SOP shall clearly 

indicate the effective date of the document, the revision 

number, and the signature or signatures of the responsible 

laboratory manager or managers. 

3. Copies of all SOPs shall be accessible to all personnel. 

C. SOPs for laboratory methods. 

1. The laboratory shall have and maintain an SOP for each 

certified analyte or test method. 

2. This SOP may be a copy of a published or referenced 

method or may be written by the laboratory. In cases where 

modifications to the published method have been made by 

the laboratory or where the referenced test method is 

ambiguous or provides insufficient detail, these changes or 

clarifications shall be clearly described. Each test method 

shall include or reference where applicable: 

a. Identification of the test method; 

b. Applicable matrix or matrices; 

c. Limits of detection or quantitation; 

d. Scope and application, including parameters to be 

analyzed; 

e. Summary of the test method; 

f. Definitions; 

g. Interferences; 

h. Safety; 

i. Equipment and supplies; 

j. Reagents and standards; 

k. Sample collection, preservation, shipment, and storage; 

l. Quality control; 

m. Calibration and standardization; 

n. Procedure; 

o. Data analysis and calculations; 

p. Method performance; 

q. Pollution prevention; 

r. Data assessment and acceptance criteria for quality 

control measures; 

s. Corrective actions for out-of-control data; 

t. Contingencies for handling out-of-control or 

unacceptable data; 

u. Waste management; 

v. References; and 

w. Any tables, diagrams, flowcharts, and validation data. 

D. Test methods. 

1. Laboratories shall use (i) promulgated test methods in 

accordance with the Code of Federal Regulations; (ii) test 

methods stated in any current permit issued by the State Air 

Pollution Control Board, the Virginia Waste Management 

Board, or the State Water Control Board; or (iii) alternate 

test procedures approved by the board issuing the permit or 

the Department of Environmental Quality, including 

applicable quality assurance requirements, and sample 

preservation, container, storage, and holding time 

requirements. 

2. The laboratory shall use appropriate test methods and 

procedures for all tests and related activities within its 

responsibility (including sample handling, transport and 

storage, preparation, and analysis). The method and 

procedures shall be consistent with the accuracy required 

and with any standard specifications relevant to the 

calibrations or tests concerned. 

3. When the use of reference test methods for a sample 

analysis is mandated, only those methods shall be used. 

4. Where test methods are employed that are not required, as 

in the Performance Based Measurement System approach, 

the methods shall be fully documented and validated (see 

subsection E of this section). 

E. Demonstration of capability. 

1. Prior to acceptance and institution of any test method, 

satisfactory initial demonstration of method capability is 

required. In general, this demonstration does not test the 

performance of the method in real world samples, but in the 

applicable and available clean quality system matrix sample 

(a quality system matrix in which no target analytes or 

interferences are present at concentrations that impact the 

results of a specific test method), for example, drinking 

water, solids, biological tissue, and air. Laboratories shall 

follow the procedure in subsection F of this section to 

demonstrate capability. 

2. Thereafter, ongoing demonstration of method 

performance, such as laboratory control samples, is required. 

3. In cases where a laboratory analyzes samples using a test 

method that has been in use by the laboratory for at least one 

year prior to applying for certification, and there have been 

no significant changes in instrument type, personnel or test 

method, the continuing demonstration of method 

performance and the analyst's documentation of continued 

proficiency shall be acceptable. The laboratory shall have 

records on file to demonstrate that an initial demonstration 

of capability is not required. 

4. In cases where a laboratory analyzes samples using a test 

method that has not been in use by an individual in the 

laboratory for at least one 12-month period, another 

successful demonstration of capability in accordance with 
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subsection F of this section shall be required for that 

individual to resume testing by the method. 

5. In all cases, the laboratory shall document each 

demonstration of capability as required by subsection G of 

this section. 

5. 6. The laboratory shall complete a demonstration of 

capability each time there is a change in instrument type, 

personnel or test method, including the addition of an 

analyte to a certified test method. 

F. Procedure for demonstration of capability. The following 

steps shall be performed for mandated test methods. However, 

before any results are reported using this method, actual 

sample spike results may be used to meet this standard (i.e., at 

least four consecutive matrix spikes within the last 12 months). 

For analytes that do not lend themselves to spiking (e.g., TSS) 

the demonstration of capability may be performed using 

quality control samples. The laboratory may document that 

other approaches to demonstration of capability are adequate. 

This documentation shall be included in the laboratory's 

quality manual: 

1. A quality control (QC) sample may be obtained from an 

outside source or may be prepared by the laboratory using 

alternate source stock standards that are prepared 

independently from those used in instrument calibration. 

2. The analyte or analytes shall be diluted in a volume of 

clean quality system matrix sufficient to prepare four 

aliquots at the concentration specified, or if unspecified, to a 

concentration of 1-4 times the limit of quantitation. 

3. At least four aliquots shall be prepared and analyzed 

according to the test method either concurrently or over a 

period of days. 

4. Using all of the results, calculate the mean recovery in the 

appropriate reporting units (such as g/L) and the standard 

deviations of the population sample (n-1) (in the same units) 

for each parameter of interest. When it is not possible to 

determine mean and standard deviations, such as for 

presence or absence of the analyte and logarithmic values, 

the laboratory shall assess performance against established 

and documented criteria. 

5. Compare the information from subdivision 4 of this 

subsection to the corresponding acceptance criteria for 

precision and accuracy in the test method (if applicable) or 

in laboratory-generated acceptance criteria (if there are not 

established mandatory criteria). If all parameters meet the 

acceptance criteria, the analysis of actual samples may 

begin. If any one of the parameters do not meet the 

acceptance criteria, the performance is unacceptable for that 

parameter. 

6. When one or more of the tested parameters fail at least 

one of the acceptance criteria, the analyst shall proceed 

according to either subdivision 6 a or 6 b of this subsection. 

a. Locate and correct the source of the problem and repeat 

the test for all parameters of interest beginning with 

subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

b. Beginning with subdivision 3 of this subsection, repeat 

the test for all parameters that failed to meet criteria. 

Repeated failure, however, confirms a general problem 

with the measurement system. If this occurs, locate and 

correct the source of the problem and repeat the test for all 

compounds of interest beginning with subdivision 3 of this 

subsection. 

G. Documentation of demonstration of capability. The 

laboratory shall document each demonstration of capability so 

that the following information shall be readily available for 

each employee: 

1. Analyst or analysts involved in preparation and analysis. 

2. Matrix. 

3. Analytes, class of analytes, measured parameters, or 

organisms. 

4. Identification of methods performed. 

5. Identification of laboratory-specific SOP used for 

analysis, including revision number. 

6. Date or dates of analysis. 

7. All raw data necessary to reconstruct and validate the 

analyses. 

8. Data evaluation required by subsection F of this section. 

H. Sample aliquots. Where sampling (as in obtaining sample 

aliquots from a submitted sample) is carried out as part of the 

test method, the laboratory shall use documented procedures 

and appropriate techniques to obtain representative 

subsamples. 

I. Data verification. Calculations and data transfers shall be 

subject to appropriate checks. The laboratory shall establish 

standard operating procedures to ensure that (i) the reported 

data are free from transcription and calculation errors and (ii) 

all quality control measures are reviewed and evaluated before 

data are reported. The laboratory also shall establish standard 

operating procedures addressing manual calculations including 

manual integrations. 

J. Documentation and labeling of standards and reagents. 

Documented procedures shall exist for the reception and 

storage of consumable materials used for the technical 

operations of the laboratory. 

1. The laboratory shall retain records for all standards, 

reagents, reference materials, and media including the 

manufacturer/vendor, the manufacturer's Certificate of 

Analysis or purity (if available), the date of receipt, 

recommended storage conditions, and an expiration date 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1193 

after which the material shall not be used unless its reliability 

is verified by the laboratory. 

2. Original containers (such as provided by the manufacturer 

or vendor) shall be labeled with an expiration date if this date 

is provided by the manufacturer or vendor. 

3. Records shall be maintained on standard and reference 

material preparation. These records shall indicate 

traceability to purchased stocks or neat compounds, 

reference to the method of preparation, date of preparation, 

expiration date and preparer's initials. 

4. Sufficient identification of containers of prepared reagents 

and standards shall be provided to ensure proper 

performance of tests. 

K. Computers and electronic data related requirements. 

Where computers, automated equipment or microprocessors 

are used for the capture, processing, manipulation, recording, 

reporting, storage or retrieval of test data, the laboratory shall 

ensure the following: 

1. Computer software developed by the user is documented 

in sufficient detail and is suitably validated as being 

adequate for use. 

2. Procedures are established and implemented for 

protecting the integrity of data, such as integrity of data entry 

or capture, data storage, data transmission and data 

processing. 

3. Computer and automated equipment are maintained to 

ensure proper functioning and provided with the 

environmental and operating conditions necessary to 

maintain the integrity of calibration and test data. 

4. Appropriate procedures are established and implemented 

for the maintenance of security of data including the 

prevention of unauthorized access to, and the unauthorized 

amendment of, computer records. 

1VAC30-45-750. Quality assurance. 

A. General. The laboratory shall have quality control 

procedures for monitoring the validity of environmental tests 

undertaken. The resulting data shall be recorded in such a way 

that trends are detectable and, where practicable, statistical 

techniques shall be applied to the reviewing of the results. This 

monitoring shall be planned and reviewed and may include, but 

not be limited to, the following: 

1. Regular use of certified reference materials or internal 

quality control using secondary reference materials or both. 

2. Participation in interlaboratory comparison or proficiency 

testing program. 

3. Replicate tests using the same or different methods. 

4. Retesting of retained samples. 

5. Correlation of results for different characteristics of a 

sample (e.g., total phosphate should be greater than or equal 

to orthophosphate). 

B. Essential quality control procedures. The general quality 

control principles in subsection C of this section shall apply, 

where applicable, to all environmental laboratories. The 

manner in which they are implemented is dependent on the 

types of tests performed by the laboratory. 1VAC30-45-770 

through 1VAC30-45-775, 1VAC30-45-790 through 1VAC30-

45-798, and 1VAC30-45-810 through 1VAC30-45-818 

specify quality control requirements for chemical testing, 

microbiological testing, and air testing, respectively. 

Noncommercial environmental laboratories that analyze 

environmental samples using other types of testing such as 

toxicity, radiochemical, or asbestos testing shall meet the 

quality control standards for the specific method and the 

specific type of testing in the 2009 Modules 3, 6, and 7 of 

Volume 1 of the 2016 TNI Standards for Environmental 

Laboratories. The standards for any given test type shall assure 

that the applicable principles are addressed. 

C. All laboratories shall have detailed written protocols in 

place to monitor the following quality controls: 

1. Positive and negative controls to monitor tests such as 

blanks, spikes, reference toxicants. 

2. Tests to define the variability or repeatability of the 

laboratory results or both such as replicates. 

3. Measures to assure the accuracy of the test method 

including calibration or continuing calibrations or both, use 

of certified reference materials, proficiency test samples, or 

other measures. 

4. Measures to evaluate test method capability, such as 

method detection limits and quantitation limits or range of 

applicability such as linearity. 

5. Selection of appropriate formulae to reduce raw data to 

final results such as regression analysis, comparison to 

internal and external standard calculations, and statistical 

analyses. 

6. Selection and use of reagents and standards of appropriate 

quality. 

7. Measures to assure the selectivity of the test for its 

intended purpose. 

8. Measures to assure constant and consistent test conditions 

(both instrumental and environmental) where required by the 

test method such as temperature, humidity, light, or specific 

instrument conditions. 

1VAC30-45-760. Quality control requirements. 

A. General. 

1. The quality control protocols specified by the laboratory's 

SOPs shall be followed (1VAC30-45-730 C). The laboratory 
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shall ensure that either the (i) applicable essential standards 

outlined in this section through 1VAC30-45-775, 1VAC30-

45-790 through 1VAC30-45-798, and 1VAC30-45-810 

through 1VAC30-45-818 or (ii) mandated methods or 

regulations, whichever are more stringent, are incorporated 

into their method SOPs. When it is not apparent which is 

more stringent, the quality controls in the mandated method 

or regulations are to be followed. 

2. All quality control measures shall be assessed and 

evaluated on an ongoing basis and quality control 

acceptance criteria shall be used to determine the validity of 

the data. The laboratory shall have procedures for the 

development of acceptance/rejection criteria where no 

method or regulatory criteria exists. 

B. Initial test method evaluation. For all test methods other 

than microbiology, the requirements of subdivisions 1 and 2 of 

this subsection apply. For microbiology testing, the initial test 

method evaluation requirements are contained in 1VAC30-45-

790 through 1VAC30-45-798. For the evaluation of precision 

and bias (subdivision 3 of this subsection), the requirements of 

subdivision 3 a of this subsection apply to standard methods. 

The requirements of subdivision 3 b of this subsection apply to 

the methods referenced in that subdivision. 

1. Limit of detection (LOD). 

a. The laboratory shall determine the LOD for the method 

for each target analyte of concern in the quality system 

matrices. All when the testing is [ done in accordance with 

the federal Clean Water Act conducted ] using approved 

methods listed in 40 CFR Part 136 [ for a program under 

the federal Clean Water Act ], except when the procedure 

for Determination of Method Detection Limit at 40 CFR 

Part 136 Appendix B states the procedure is not applicable 

to a measurement. 

b. The laboratory shall determine the LOD for the method 

for each target analyte of concern in the quality system 

matrices when test results are to be reported to the LOD 

(versus the limit of quantitation or working range of 

instrument calibration), according to 1VAC30-45-771 and 

1VAC30-45-814. Where an LOD study is not performed, 

the laboratory may not report a value below the limit of 

quantitation. 

c. When the LOD is required under subdivision 1 a or 1 b 

of this subsection, all sample processing steps of the 

analytical method shall be included in the determination 

of the LOD. 

b. d. The validity of the LOD shall be confirmed as 

described in 40 CFR Part 136 Appendix B as applicable, 

or by qualitative identification of the analyte or analytes in 

a quality control sample in each quality system matrix 

containing the analyte at no more than two to three times 

the LOD for single analyte tests and one to four times the 

LOD for multiple analyte tests. This verification shall be 

performed on every instrument that is to be used for 

analysis of samples and reporting of data. 

c. An LOD study is not required for any component for 

which spiking solutions or quality control samples are not 

available such as temperature, or, when test results are not 

to be reported to the LOD (versus the limit of quantitation 

or working range of instrument calibration), according to 

1VAC30-45-771 and 1VAC30-45-814. Where an LOD 

study is not performed, the laboratory may not report a 

value below the limit of quantitation. 

2. Limit of quantitation (LOQ). 

a. The laboratory shall determine the LOQ for each analyte 

of concern according to a defined, documented procedure. 

b. The LOQ study is not required for any component or 

property for which spiking solutions or quality control 

samples are not commercially available or otherwise 

inappropriate (e.g., pH). 

c. The validity of the LOQ shall be confirmed by 

successful analysis of a QC sample containing the analytes 

of concern in each quality system matrix one to at a 

concentration at or below the LOQ or no more than two 

times the concentration of the claimed LOQ. A successful 

analysis is one where the recovery of each analyte is 

within the established test method acceptance criteria or 

client data quality objectives for accuracy. This single 

analysis is not required if the bias and precision of the 

measurement system is evaluated at the LOQ. 

3. Evaluation of precision and bias. 

a. Standard methods. The laboratory shall evaluate the 

precision and bias of a standard method for each analyte 

of concern for each quality system matrix according to 

either of the following: 

(1) The single-concentration four-replicate recovery study 

procedures in 1VAC30-45-730 F; or 

(2) An alternate procedure documented in the quality 

manual when the analyte cannot be spiked into the sample 

matrix and quality control samples are not commercially 

available. 

b. Nonstandard methods. 

(1) For laboratory-developed test methods or nonstandard 

test methods that were not in use by the laboratory before 

July 2003, the laboratory shall have a documented 

procedure to evaluate precision and bias. The laboratory 

shall also compare results of the precision and bias 

measurements with criteria given in the reference method 

or criteria established by the laboratory. 

(2) Precision and bias measurements shall evaluate the 

method across the analytical calibration range of the 

method. The laboratory shall also evaluate precision and 

bias in the relevant quality system matrices and shall 

process the samples through the entire measurement 

system for each analyte of interest. 
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(3) The following are examples of a systematic approach 

to evaluate precision and bias: 

(a) Example 1. Analyze QC samples in triplicate 

containing the analytes of concern at or near the limit of 

quantitation, at the upper-range of the calibration (upper 

20%) and at a mid-range concentration. Process these 

samples on different days as three sets of samples through 

the entire measurement system for each analyte of interest. 

Each day one QC sample at each concentration is 

analyzed. A separate method blank shall be subjected to 

the analytical method along with the QC samples on each 

of the three days. (Note that the three samples at the LOQ 

concentration can demonstrate sensitivity as well.) For 

each analyte, calculate the mean recovery for each day, for 

each level over days, and for all nine samples. Calculate 

the relative standard deviation for each of the separate 

means obtained. Compare the standard deviations for the 

different days and the standard deviations for the different 

concentrations. If the different standard deviations are all 

statistically insignificant (e.g., F-test), then compare the 

overall mean and standard deviation with the established 

criteria from above. 

(b) Example 2. A validation protocol such as the Tier I, 

Tier II, and Tier III requirements in U.S. EPA Office of 

Water's Alternate Test Procedure (ATP) approval process. 

4. Evaluation of selectivity. The laboratory shall evaluate 

selectivity by following the checks established within the 

method. These checks may include mass spectral tuning, 

second column confirmation, ICP inter-element interference 

checks, chromatography retention time windows, sample 

blanks, spectrochemical absorption or fluorescence profiles, 

co-precipitation evaluations, and electrode response factors. 

1VAC30-45-771. Chemical testing: limit of detection and 

limit of quantitation. 

A. General. All procedures used shall be documented. 

Documentation shall include the quality system matrix type. 

All supporting data shall be retained. 

B. Limit of detection (LOD). The laboratory shall utilize a 

test method that provides an LOD that is appropriate and 

relevant for the intended use of the data. An LOD is not 

required for a test method when test results are not reported 

outside of the calibration range. LOD determination and 

validation are required as specified by 1VAC3045-760 B 1. 

LODs shall be determined by the protocol in the mandated test 

method or applicable regulation. If the protocol for 

determining LODs is not specified, the selection of the 

procedure shall reflect instrument limitations and the intended 

application of the test method. 

1. The LOD shall be initially determined for the compounds 

of interest in each test method in a quality system matrix in 

which there are no target analytes or interferences at a 

concentration that would impact the results. Alternatively 

the LOD shall be determined in the quality system matrix of 

interest (see definition of matrix). 

2. LODs shall be determined each time there is a change in 

the test method that affects how the test is performed, or 

when a change in instrumentation occurs that affects the 

sensitivity of the analysis. 

3. The LOD shall be verified annually for each quality 

system matrix, method and analyte according to the 

procedure as specified in 1VAC30-45-760 B 1. 

C. Limit of quantitation (LOQ). 

1. Any established LOQ shall be above the LOD. 

2. The LOQ shall be verified annually for each quality 

system matrix, method and analyte according to the 

procedure specified in 1VAC30-45-760 B 2. Alternatively, 

the annual LOQ verification is not required if the LOD is 

reevaluated or verified according to subdivision B 3 of this 

section. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (1VAC30-45) 

Application for Certification of Environmental Laboratories 

DGS-21-156 (eff. 1/2009) (Application for Certification 

Laboratories applying for certification under 1VAC30-45 must 

be obtained obtain the application from DCLS program staff at 

Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(1VAC30-45) 

The Standards for Environmental Laboratories and 

Accreditation Bodies, 2009 2016, The NELAC Institute (TNI), 

P.O. Box 2439, Weatherford, TX 76086; www.nelac-

institute.org: 

Volume 1: Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis (EL-V1-

2009) 

Volume 2: General Requirements for Accreditation Bodies 

Accrediting Environmental Laboratories (EL-V2-2009) 

Volume 1: Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis (EL-V1-

2016, rev. 2.1). Modules 3, 6, and 7 only 

1VAC30-46-15. Standards for accreditation transition. 

A. Commercial environmental laboratories are accredited 

under the standards of the National Environmental Laboratory 

mailto:Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov
http://www.nelac-institute.org/
http://www.nelac-institute.org/
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Accreditation Conference (NELAC), now The NELAC 

Institute (TNI). 

B. DCLS shall accredit commercial environmental 

laboratories under the 2003 NELAC 2009 TNI Standards as 

specified by the provisions of this chapter that became 

effective on January 1, 2009 November 1, 2015, for the first 10 

six months following November 1, 2015 [ (insert the effective 

date of this chapter) April 1, 2022 ]. 

C. DCLS shall accredit commercial environmental 

laboratories under the 2009 2016 TNI Standards as specified 

by the provisions of this chapter effective on November 1, 

2015 [ (insert the effective date of this chapter) April 1, 2022 

], beginning on the first day of the 11th seventh month 

following November 1, 2015 [ (insert the effective date of this 

chapter) April 1, 2022 ]. 

1VAC30-46-40. Definitions. 

A. The definitions contained in the 2009 2016 TNI Standards 

are incorporated by reference into this section. Some of these 

definitions are included in this section because the terms are 

used throughout this chapter. 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acceptance criteria" means specified limits placed on 

characteristics of an item, process, or service defined in 

requirement documents. 

"Accreditation" means the process by which an agency or 

organization evaluates and recognizes a laboratory as meeting 

certain predetermined qualifications or standards, thereby 

accrediting the laboratory. "Accreditation" is the term used as 

a substitute for the term "certification" under this chapter. 

"Accreditation body" or "AB" means the territorial, state, or 

federal agency having responsibility and accountability for 

environmental laboratory accreditation and which grants 

accreditation. 

"Algae" means simple single-celled, colonial, or multicelled, 

mostly aquatic plants, containing chlorophyll and lacking 

roots, stems and leaves that are either suspended in water 

(phytoplankton) or attached to rocks and other substrates 

(periphyton). 

"Analyte" means the substance or physical property to be 

determined in samples examined, organism, physical 

parameter, or chemical constituent for which an environmental 

sample is being analyzed. 

"Analytical method" means a technical procedure for 

providing analysis of a sample, defined by a body such as the 

Environmental Protection Agency or the American Society for 

Testing and Materials, that may not include the sample 

preparation method. 

"Assessment" means the evaluation process used to measure 

or establish the performance, effectiveness, and conformance 

of an organization and its systems or both to defined criteria 

(i.e., to the standards and requirements of laboratory 

accreditation). 

"Assessor" means the person assigned by DCLS to perform, 

alone or as part of an assessment team, an assessment of an 

environmental laboratory. 

"Authority" means, in the context of a governmental body or 

local government, an authority created under the provisions of 

the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act, Chapter 51 

(§ 15.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Benthic macroinvertebrates" means bottom dwelling 

animals without backbones that live at least part of their life 

cycles within or upon available substrates within a body of 

water. 

"Commercial environmental laboratory" means an 

environmental laboratory where environmental analysis is 

performed for another person. 

"Corrective action" means the action taken to eliminate the 

causes of an existing nonconformity, defect or other 

undesirable situation in order to prevent recurrence. 

"DCLS" means the Division of Consolidated Laboratory 

Services of the Department of General Services. 

"Environmental analysis" or "environmental analyses" means 

any test, analysis, measurement, or monitoring used for the 

purposes of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, the 

Virginia Waste Management Act or the State Water Control 

Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq., § 10.1-1400 et seq., and § 62.1-44.2 

et seq., respectively, of the Code of Virginia). For the purposes 

of these regulations, any test, analysis, measurement, or 

monitoring required pursuant to the regulations promulgated 

under these three laws, or by any permit or order issued under 

the authority of any of these laws or regulations is "used for the 

purposes" of these laws. The term shall not include the 

following: 

1. Sampling of water, solid and chemical materials, 

biological tissue, or air and emissions. 

2. Field testing and measurement of water, solid and 

chemical materials, biological tissue, or air and emissions, 

except when performed in an environmental laboratory 

rather than at the site where the sample was taken. 

3. Taxonomic identification of samples for which there is no 

national accreditation standard such as algae, benthic 

macroinvertebrates, macrophytes, vertebrates, and 

zooplankton. 

4. Protocols used pursuant to § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 

Virginia to determine soil fertility, animal manure nutrient 

content, or plant tissue nutrient uptake for the purposes of 

nutrient management. 
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5. Geochemical and permeability testing for solid waste 

compliance. 

6. Materials specification for air quality compliance when 

product certifications specify the data required by an air 

permit such as fuel type, Btu content, sulfur content, or 

volatile organic chemical (VOC) content. 

"Environmental laboratory" or "laboratory" means a facility 

or a defined area within a facility where environmental analysis 

is performed. A structure built solely to shelter field personnel 

and equipment from inclement weather shall not be considered 

an environmental laboratory. 

"Establishment date" means the date set for the accreditation 

program under this chapter and the certification program under 

1VAC30-45 to be established. 

"Establishment of accreditation program" or "established 

program" means that DCLS has completed the initial 

accreditation of environmental laboratories covered by this 

chapter and the initial certification of environmental 

laboratories covered by 1VAC30-45. 

"Facility" means something that is built or installed to serve a 

particular function. 

"Field of accreditation" means those matrix, 

technology/method, and analyte combinations for which 

DCLS offers accreditation. 

"Field of accreditation matrix" means the following when 

accrediting a laboratory: 

1. Drinking water. Any aqueous sample that has been 

designated a potable or potential potable water source. 

2. Nonpotable water. Any aqueous sample excluded from 

the definition of drinking water matrix. Includes surface 

water, groundwater, effluents, water treatment chemicals, 

and TCLP or other extracts. 

3. Solid and chemical materials. Includes soils, sediments, 

sludges, products and byproducts of an industrial process 

that results in a matrix not previously defined. 

4. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin such 

as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such samples shall 

be grouped according to origin (i.e., by species). 

5. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples including 

those contained in flexible or rigid wall containers and the 

extracted concentrated analytes of interest from a gas or 

vapor that are collected with a sorbent tube, impinger 

solution, filter or other device. 

"Field of proficiency testing" or "FoPT" means analytes for 

which a laboratory is required to successfully analyze a PT 

sample in order to obtain or maintain accreditation, collectively 

defined as: the matrix, technology/method, and analyte 

combinations for which the composition spike concentration 

ranges and acceptance criteria have been established by the 

Proficiency Testing Program Executive Committee of TNI. 

"Field testing and measurement" means any of the following: 

1. Any test for parameters under 40 CFR Part 136 for which 

the holding time indicated for the sample requires immediate 

analysis; or 

2. Any test defined as a field test in federal regulation. 

The following is a limited list of currently recognized field 

tests or measures that is not intended to be inclusive: 

continuous emissions monitoring; online monitoring; flow 

monitoring; tests for pH, residual chlorine, temperature and 

dissolved oxygen; and field analysis for soil gas. 

"Finding" means an assessment conclusion referenced to a 

laboratory accreditation standard incorporated by reference or 

contained in this chapter and supported by objective evidence 

that identifies a deviation from a laboratory accreditation 

standard requirement. 

"Governmental body" means any department, agency, 

bureau, authority, or district of the United States government, 

of the government of the Commonwealth of Virginia, or of any 

local government within the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Holding time" means the maximum time that can elapse 

between two specified activities. 

"Legal entity" means an entity, other than a natural person, 

who has sufficient existence in legal contemplation that it can 

function legally, be sued or sue and make decisions through 

agents as in the case of corporations. 

"Local government" means a municipality (city or town), 

county, sanitation district, or authority. 

"Macrophytes" means any aquatic or terrestrial plant species 

that can be identified and observed with the eye, unaided by 

magnification. 

"Matrix" means the substrate of a test sample. 

"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Conference (NELAC)" or "NELAC" means a voluntary 

organization of state and federal environmental officials and 

interest groups with the primary purpose to establish mutually 

acceptable standards for accrediting environmental 

laboratories. NELAC preceded the formation of The NELAC 

Institute or TNI. 

"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program" 

or "NELAP" means the program under TNI the purpose of 

which is to establish and implement a program for the 

accreditation of environmental laboratories. This program is 

comprised in part of NELAP Accreditation Bodies which are 

recognized and approved under the program to implement the 

TNI standards. The NELAP accreditation bodies currently are 

state programs such as the one in Virginia. 
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"Noncommercial environmental laboratory" means either of 

the following: 

1. An environmental laboratory where environmental 

analysis is performed solely for the owner of the laboratory. 

2. An environmental laboratory where the only performance 

of environmental analysis for another person is one of the 

following: 

a. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a local government for an owner of a 

small wastewater treatment system treating domestic 

sewage at a flow rate of less than or equal to 1,000 gallons 

per day. 

b. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory operated by a corporation as part of a general 

contract issued by a local government to operate and 

maintain a wastewater treatment system or a waterworks. 

c. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a corporation as part of the 

prequalification process or to confirm the identity or 

characteristics of material supplied by a potential or 

existing customer or generator as required by a hazardous 

waste management permit under 9VAC20-60. 

d. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a Publicly Owned Treatment Works 

(POTW) for an industrial source of wastewater under a 

permit issued by the POTW to the industrial source as part 

of the requirements of a pretreatment program under Part 

VII (9VAC25-31-730 et seq.) of 9VAC25-31. 

e. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a county authority for any 

municipality within the county's geographic jurisdiction 

when the environmental analysis pertains solely to the 

purpose for which the authority was created. 

f. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by an authority or a sanitation district 

for any participating local government of the authority or 

sanitation district when the environmental analysis 

pertains solely to the purpose for which the authority or 

sanitation district was created. 

"Owner" means any person who owns, operates, leases, or 

controls an environmental laboratory. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture or other 

legal entity. 

"Physical," for the purposes of fee test categories, means the 

tests to determine the physical properties of a sample. Tests for 

solids, turbidity, and color are examples of physical tests. 

"Pretreatment requirements" means any requirements arising 

under Part VII (9VAC25-31-730 et seq.) of 9VAC25-31 

including the duty to allow or carry out inspections, entry, or 

monitoring activities; any rules, regulations, or orders issued 

by the owner of a POTW; or any reporting requirements 

imposed by the owner of a POTW or by the regulations of the 

State Water Control Board. Pretreatment requirements do not 

include the requirements of a national pretreatment standard. 

"Primary accreditation body" or "primary AB" means the 

accreditation body responsible for assessing a laboratory's total 

quality system, on-site assessment, and PT performance 

tracking for fields of accreditation. 

"Proficiency test," "proficiency testing," or "PT" means 

evaluating a process to evaluate a laboratory's performance 

under controlled conditions relative to a given set of criteria 

through analysis of unknown samples provided by an external 

source. 

"Proficiency test sample" or "PT sample" means a sample, the 

composition of which is unknown to the laboratory and is 

provided to test whether the laboratory can produce analytical 

results within specified acceptance criteria. 

"Proficiency testing program" or "PT program" means the 

aggregate of providing rigorously controlled and standardized 

environmental samples to a laboratory for analysis, reporting 

of results, statistical evaluation of the results and the collective 

demographics and results summary of all participating 

laboratories. 

"Publicly Owned Treatment Works" or "POTW" means a 

treatment works as defined by § 212 of the CWA, which is 

owned by a state or municipality (as defined by § 502(4) of the 

CWA). This definition includes any devices and systems used 

in the storage, treatment, recycling, and reclamation of 

municipal sewage or industrial wastes of a liquid nature. It also 

includes sewers, pipes, and other conveyances only if they 

convey wastewater to a POTW treatment plant. The term also 

means the municipality as defined in § 502(4) of the CWA, 

which has jurisdiction over the indirect discharges to and the 

discharges from such a treatment works. 

"Quality assurance" or "QA" means an integrated system of 

management activities involving planning, implementation, 

assessment, reporting, and quality improvement to ensure that 

a process, item, or service is of the type and quality needed and 

expected by the client. 

"Quality assurance officer" means the person who has 

responsibility for the quality system and its implementation. 

Where staffing is limited, the quality assurance officer may 

also be the technical manager. 

"Quality control" or "QC" means the (i) overall system of 

technical activities that measures the attributes and 

performance of a process, item, or service against defined 

standards to verify that they meet the stated requirements 

established by the customer; (ii) operational techniques and 

activities that are used to fulfill requirements for quality; and 

(iii) system of activities and checks used to ensure that 

measurement systems are maintained within prescribed limits, 
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providing protection against "out of control" conditions and 

ensuring that the results are of acceptable quality. 

"Quality manual" means a document stating the management 

policies, objectives, principles, organizational structure and 

authority, responsibilities, accountability, and implementation 

of an agency, organization, or laboratory, to ensure the quality 

of its product and the utility of its product to its users. 

"Quality system" means a structured and documented 

management system describing the policies, objectives, 

principles, organizational authority, responsibilities, 

accountability, and implementation plan of an organization for 

ensuring quality in its work processes, products (items), and 

services. The quality system provides the framework for 

planning, implementing, and assessing work performed by the 

organization and for carrying out required quality assurance 

and quality control activities. 

"Quality system matrix," for purposes of batch and quality 

control requirements, means the following: 

1. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples, including 

those contained in flexible or rigid wall containers and the 

extracted concentrated analytes of interest from a gas or 

vapor that are collected with a sorbent tube, impinger 

solution, filter, or other device. 

2. Aqueous. Any aqueous sample excluded from the 

definition of drinking water matrix or saline/estuarine 

source. Includes surface water, groundwater, effluents, and 

TCLP or other extracts. 

3. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin such 

as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such samples shall 

be grouped according to origin. 

4. Chemical waste. A product or byproduct of an industrial 

process that results in a matrix not previously defined. 

5. Drinking water. Any aqueous sample that has been 

designated a potable or potential potable water source. 

6. Non-aqueous liquid. Any organic liquid with less than 

15% settleable solids. 

7. Saline/estuarine. Any aqueous sample from an ocean or 

estuary, or other salt water source such as the Great Salt 

Lake. 

8. Solids. Includes soils, sediments, sludges, and other 

matrices with more than 15% settleable solids.  

"Responsible official" means one of the following, as 

appropriate: 

1. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a private 

corporation, "responsible official" means (i) a president, 

secretary, treasurer, or a vice-president of the corporation in 

charge of a principal business function, or any other person 

who performs similar policy-making or decision-making 

functions for the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or 

more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

employing more than 250 persons or having gross annual 

sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in second-

quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents has 

been assigned or delegated in accordance with corporate 

procedures. 

2. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a partnership, 

association, or a sole proprietor, "responsible official" means 

a general partner, officer of the association, or the proprietor, 

respectively. 

3. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a governmental 

body, "responsible official" means a director or highest 

official appointed or designated to oversee the operation and 

performance of the activities of the governmental laboratory. 

4. Any person designated as the responsible official by an 

individual described in subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this 

definition provided the designation is in writing, the 

designation specifies an individual or position with 

responsibility for the overall operation of the laboratory, and 

the designation is submitted to DCLS. 

"Sampling" means the act of collection for the purpose of 

analysis an activity related to obtaining a representative sample 

of the object of conformity assessment, according to a 

procedure. 

"Sanitation district" means a sanitation district created under 

the provisions of Chapters 3 (§ 21-141 et seq.) through 5 (§ 21-

291 et seq.) of Title 21 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Secondary accreditation body" or "secondary AB" means the 

accreditation body that grants TNI accreditation to laboratories 

based on their accreditation by a TNI-recognized primary 

accreditation body laboratory accreditation for a field of 

accreditation based on recognition of accreditation from a 

primary accreditation body for the same field of accreditation. 

"Sewage" means the water-carried human wastes from 

residences, buildings, industrial establishments, or other places 

together with such industrial wastes and underground, surface, 

storm, or other water as may be present. 

"Standard operating procedure" or "SOP" means a written 

document that details the method for an operation, analysis, or 

action with thoroughly prescribed techniques and steps. An 

SOP is officially approved as the method for performing 

certain routine or repetitive tasks. 

"TCLP" or "toxicity characteristic leachate procedure" means 

Test Method 1311 in "Test Methods for Evaluating Solid 

Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication SW-

846, as incorporated by reference in 40 CFR 260.11. This 

method is used to determine whether a solid waste exhibits the 

characteristic of toxicity (see 40 CFR 261.24). 

"Technical manager (however named)" means the person 

who has overall responsibility for the technical operation of the 
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environmental laboratory and who exercises actual day-to-day 

supervision of laboratory operation for the appropriate fields 

of testing and reporting of results. The title of this person may 

include but is not limited to laboratory director, technical 

manager, laboratory supervisor, or laboratory manager. 

"Technology" means a specific arrangement of analytical 

instruments, detection systems, or preparation techniques, or 

any combination of these elements. 

"Test" means a technical operation that consists of the 

determination of one or more characteristics or performance of 

a given product, material, equipment, organism, physical 

phenomenon, process, or service according to a specified 

procedure. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means any method 

of analysis required by the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law 

(§ 10.1-1300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); by the regulations 

promulgated under this law (9VAC5), including any method of 

analysis listed either in the definition of "reference method" in 

9VAC5-10-20, or listed or adopted by reference in 9VAC5; or 

by any permit or order issued under and in accordance with this 

law and these regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Waste Management Act" means any method of 

analysis required by the Virginia Waste Management Act 

(§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); by the 

regulations promulgated under this law (9VAC20), including 

any method of analysis listed or adopted by reference in 

9VAC20; or by any permit or order issued under and in 

accordance with this law and these regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Water Control Law" means any method of 

analysis required by the Virginia Water Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); by the regulations 

promulgated under this law (9VAC25), including any method 

of analysis listed or adopted by reference in 9VAC25; or by 

any permit or order issued under and in accordance with this 

law and these regulations. 

"Test method" means an adoption of a scientific technique for 

performing a specific measurement, as documented in a 

laboratory standard operating procedure or as published by a 

recognized authority. 

"The NELAC Institute (TNI)" or "TNI" means the 

organization whose standards environmental laboratories must 

meet to be accredited in Virginia. 

"TNI standards" means the 2009 2016 Standards for 

Environmental Laboratories and Accreditation Bodies 

approved by TNI. 

"Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means Chapter 13 

(§ 10.1-1300 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

is titled "Air Pollution Control Board." 

"Virginia Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program" 

or "VELAP" means the program DCLS operates to accredit 

environmental laboratories under this chapter. 

"Wastewater" means liquid and water-carried industrial 

wastes and domestic sewage from residential dwellings, 

commercial buildings, industrial and manufacturing facilities, 

and institutions. 

"Waterworks" means each system of structures and 

appliances used in connection with the collection, storage, 

purification, and treatment of water for drinking or domestic 

use and the distribution thereof to the public, except 

distribution piping. 

"Zooplankton" means microscopic animals that float freely 

with voluntary movement in a body of water. 

1VAC30-46-70. Process to apply and obtain accreditation. 

A. Duty to apply. All owners of (i) commercial environmental 

laboratories and (ii) TNI-accredited commercial 

environmental laboratories applying for secondary 

accreditation shall apply for accreditation as specified by the 

provisions of this section. Applications for accreditation must 

be obtained from DCLS program staff by email at 

Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov. 

B. Initial applications. Owners of commercial environmental 

laboratories applying for accreditation under this chapter for 

the first time shall submit an application to DCLS as specified 

under subsection F of this section. 

C. Renewal and reassessment. 

1. DCLS shall renew accreditation annually for the 

accredited laboratory provided the laboratory does the 

following: 

a. Maintains compliance with this chapter. 

b. Attests to this compliance by signing the certificate of 

compliance provided under subdivision F 3 of this section. 

c. Reports acceptable proficiency test values as required 

by 1VAC30-46-210 B. 

d. Pays the fee required by 1VAC30-46-150. 

2. DCLS shall reassess the accredited environmental 

laboratory during an on-site assessment as required by 

1VAC30-46-220. 

D. Responsibilities of the owner and operator when the 

laboratory is owned by one person and operated by another 

person. 

1. When an environmental laboratory is owned by one 

person but is operated by another person, the operator may 

submit the application for the owner. 

2. If the operator fails to submit the application, the owner is 

not relieved of his responsibility to apply for accreditation. 
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3. While DCLS may notify environmental laboratories of the 

date their applications are due, failure of DCLS to notify 

does not relieve the owner of his obligation to apply under 

this chapter. 

E. Submission of applications for modifications to 

accreditation. An owner of an accredited environmental 

laboratory shall follow the process set out in 1VAC30-46-90 B 

to modify the laboratory's scope of accreditation. 

F. Contents of application. 

1. Applications shall include but not be limited to the 

following information and documents: 

a. Legal name of laboratory; 

b. Name of owner of laboratory; 

c. Name of operator of laboratory, if different than owner; 

d. Street address and description of location of laboratory; 

e. Mailing address of laboratory, if different from street 

address; 

f. Address of owner, if different from laboratory address; 

g. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number, 

and email, as applicable, of responsible official; 

h. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number, 

and email, as applicable, of technical manager; 

i. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number, 

and email, as applicable, of designated quality assurance 

officer; 

j. Name and telephone number of laboratory contact 

person; 

k. Laboratory type (e.g., commercial, public wastewater 

system, mobile); 

l. Laboratory hours of operation; 

m. Fields of accreditation for which the laboratory is 

seeking accreditation; 

n. The results of two successful unique TNI-compliant PT 

studies for each accreditation field of proficiency testing 

as required by 1VAC30-46-210 B (for primary 

accreditation only); 

o. Quality assurance manual (for primary accreditation 

only); 

p. Copy of the primary certificate of accreditation for 

secondary accreditation applications; and 

q. For mobile laboratories, a unique vehicle identification 

number, such as a manufacturer's vehicle identification 

number (VIN #), serial number, or license number. 

2. Fee. The application shall include payment of the fee as 

specified in 1VAC30-46-150. 

3. Certification of compliance. 

a. The application shall include a "Certification of 

Compliance" statement signed and dated by (i) the quality 

assurance officer, and (ii) the responsible official or the 

technical manager, or both. 

b. The certification of compliance shall state: "The 

applicant understands and acknowledges that the 

laboratory is required to be continually in compliance with 

the Virginia environmental laboratory accreditation 

program regulation (1VAC30 Chapter 46) and is subject 

to the provisions of 1VAC30-46-100 in the event of 

noncompliance. Specifically the applicant: 

(1) Shall commit to fulfill continually the requirements for 

accreditation set by DCLS for the areas where 

accreditation is sought or granted. 

(2) When requested, shall afford such accommodation and 

cooperation as is necessary to enable DCLS to verify 

fulfillment of requirements for accreditation. This applies 

to all premises where laboratory services take place. 

(3) Shall provide access to information, documents, and 

records as necessary for the assessment and maintenance 

of the accreditation. 

(4) Shall provide access to those documents that provide 

insight into the level of independence and impartiality of 

the laboratory from its related bodies, where applicable. 

(5) Shall arrange the witnessing of laboratory services 

when requested by DCLS. 

(6) Shall claim accreditation only with respect to the scope 

for which it has been granted accreditation. 

(7) Shall pay fees as shall be determined by the 

accreditation body. 

(8) Shall have access to a copy of the TNI standards 

incorporated by reference into this chapter. 

I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the laboratory or 

those persons directly responsible for gathering and 

evaluating the information, the information submitted is, 

to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate and 

complete. Submitting false information or data shall result 

in denial or withdrawal of accreditation. I further certify 

that I am authorized to sign this application." 

G. Completeness determination. 

1. DCLS shall determine whether an application is complete 

and notify the laboratory of the result of such determination. 

DCLS shall provide this notice within 90 calendar days of 

its receipt of the application. 

2. An application shall be determined complete if it contains 

all the information required pursuant to subsection F of this 

section and is sufficient to evaluate the laboratory prior to 

the on-site assessment. Designating an application complete 
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does not preclude DCLS from requesting or accepting 

additional information. 

3. If DCLS determines that an application is incomplete, the 

DCLS notification of such determination shall explain why 

the application is incomplete and specify the additional 

information needed to make the application complete. 

4. If DCLS makes no determination within 90 calendar days 

of its receipt of either (i) the application or (ii) additional 

information, in the case of an application determined to be 

incomplete, the application shall be determined to be 

complete. 

5. If the laboratory has not submitted the required additional 

information within 90 days of receiving a notice from DCLS 

requesting additional information, DCLS may inform the 

laboratory that the application cannot be processed. The 

laboratory may then submit a new application. 

H. Grant of interim accreditation pending final determination 

on application. 

1. DCLS shall grant interim accreditation status to 

laboratories applying initially under the following 

conditions: 

a. The laboratory's application is determined to be 

complete; 

b. The laboratory has satisfied all the requirements for 

accreditation, including all requests for additional 

information, with the exception of on-site assessment; and 

c. DCLS is unable to schedule the on-site assessment 

within 120 days of its determination that the application is 

complete. 

2. A laboratory with interim accreditation status shall have 

the same rights and status as a laboratory that has been 

granted accreditation by DCLS. 

3. Interim accreditation status shall not exceed 12 months. 

I. On-site assessment. An on-site assessment shall be 

performed and the follow-up and reporting procedures for such 

assessments shall be completed in accordance with 1VAC30-

46-220 prior to issuance of a final determination on 

accreditation. 

J. Final determination on accreditation. Upon completion of 

the accreditation review process and corrective action, if any, 

DCLS shall grant accreditation in accordance with subsection 

K of this section or deny accreditation in accordance with 

subsection L of this section. 

K. Grant of accreditation. 

1. When a laboratory meets the requirements specified for 

receiving accreditation, DCLS shall issue a certificate to the 

laboratory. The certificate shall be sent to the technical 

manager, and the responsible official shall be notified. 

2. The director of DCLS or his designee shall sign the 

certificate. 

3. The certificate shall include the following information: 

a. Name of owner of laboratory; 

b. Name of operator of laboratory, if different from owner; 

c. Name of responsible official; 

d. Address and location of laboratory; 

e. Laboratory identification number; 

f. Fields of accreditation (matrix, technology/method, and 

analyte) for which accreditation is granted; 

g. Any addenda or attachments; and 

h. Issuance date and expiration date. 

4. TNI accreditation status. 

a. Laboratories accredited under this chapter are 

accredited under the standards of TNI. 

b. The certificate of accreditation shall contain the TNI 

insignia. 

c. Accredited laboratories shall comply with the 

provisions of 1VAC30-46-130 with regard to the use of 

these certificates and their status as TNI-accredited 

laboratories. 

5. The laboratory shall post the most recent certificate of 

accreditation and any addenda to the certificate issued by 

DCLS in a prominent place in the laboratory facility. 

6. Accreditation shall expire one year after the date on which 

accreditation is granted. 

L. Denial of accreditation. 

1. DCLS shall deny accreditation to an environmental 

laboratory in total if the laboratory is found to be falsifying 

any data or providing false information to support 

accreditation. 

2. Denial of accreditation in total or in part. 

a. DCLS may deny accreditation to an environmental 

laboratory in total or in part if the laboratory fails to do 

any of the following: 

(1) Pay the required fees; 

(2) Employ laboratory staff to meet the personnel 

qualifications as required by 1VAC30-46-210 A; 

(3) Successfully analyze and report proficiency testing 

samples as required by 1VAC30-46-210 B; 

(4) Submit a corrective action plan in accordance with 

1VAC30-46-220 in response to a deficiency report from 

the on-site assessment team within the required 30 

calendar days; 

(5) Implement the corrective actions detailed in the 

corrective action plan within the time frame specified by 

DCLS; 
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(6) Pass required on-site assessment as specified in 

1VAC30-46-220; or 

(7) Implement a quality system as defined in 1VAC30-46-

210 C. 

b. DCLS may deny accreditation to an environmental 

laboratory in total or in part if the laboratory's application 

is not determined to be complete within 90 days following 

notification of incompleteness because the laboratory is 

delinquent in submitting information required by DCLS in 

accordance with this chapter. 

c. DCLS may deny accreditation to an environmental 

laboratory in total or in part if the DCLS on-site 

assessment team is unable to carry out the on-site 

assessment pursuant to 1VAC30-46-220 because a 

representative of the environmental laboratory denied the 

team entry during the laboratory's normal business hours 

that it specified in the laboratory application. 

3. DCLS shall follow the process specified in 1VAC30-46-

110 when denying accreditation to an environmental 

laboratory. 

M. Reapplication following denial of accreditation. DCLS 

shall not waive application fees for a laboratory reapplying for 

accreditation. 

1VAC30-46-95. Suspension of accreditation. 

A. Before withdrawing accreditation, DCLS may suspend 

accreditation from an environmental laboratory in total or in 

part to allow the laboratory time to correct the reason for which 

DCLS may withdraw accreditation. Suspension is limited to 

the reasons listed in subsection B of this section. 

B. DCLS may suspend accreditation from an environmental 

laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory has failed to 

do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by 1VAC30-46-210 B. 

2. Complete proficiency testing studies and maintain a 

history of at least two successful proficiency testing studies 

for each accredited field of testing out of the three most 

recent proficiency testing studies as defined in 1VAC30-46-

210 B. 

3. Submit an acceptable corrective action plan after two 

opportunities as specified in 1VAC30-46-220 L. 

4. Maintain a quality system as defined in 1VAC30-46-210 

C. 

4. 5. Employ staff that meets the personnel qualifications of 

1VAC30-46-210 A. 

5. 6. Notify DCLS of any changes in key accreditation 

criteria as set forth in 1VAC30-46-90. 

C. Process to suspend accreditation. 

1. When DCLS determines that cause exists to suspend a 

laboratory, the agency shall send notification to the 

responsible official and the technical manager stating the 

agency's determination that the laboratory has failed to meet 

the 1VAC30-46 standards for one or more of the reasons 

listed in subsection B of this section. DCLS shall send the 

notification by certified mail. 

2. In its notice, DCLS shall request the laboratory to notify 

DCLS in writing if the laboratory believes the agency is 

incorrect in its determination. 

3. The notification shall state that the laboratory is required 

to take corrective action whenever a failure occurs and to 

document the corrective action. The notification shall 

require the laboratory to provide DCLS with documentation 

of the corrective action taken with regard to its failure to 

meet a standard under this chapter. 

4. The notification shall state what the laboratory is required 

to do to restore its accreditation status and the time allowed 

to do so. 

5. The environmental laboratory may proceed to correct the 

deficiencies for which DCLS has suspended the laboratory's 

accreditation. 

6. Alternatively the laboratory may state in writing that 

DCLS is incorrect in its determination regarding suspension, 

giving specific reasons why the laboratory believes DCLS 

should not suspend accreditation. 

7. With the exception of subdivision B 4 of this section, 

DCLS may allow the laboratory up to 60 days to correct the 

problem for which it may have its accreditation suspended. 

8. DCLS shall set a date for suspension that follows the 

period provided under subdivision 7 of this subsection to 

restore accreditation. 

9. If the laboratory does not correct its deficiencies within 

the time period allowed, DCLS shall suspend a laboratory in 

part or in total. 

10. DCLS shall notify the laboratory by letter of its 

suspension status. DCLS shall send the notification by 

certified mail. DCLS shall also notify the pertinent Virginia 

state agency of the laboratory's suspension status. 

11. The laboratory may provide information demonstrating 

why suspension is not warranted in accordance with the 

standard referenced in the initial DCLS notification. If such 

information is not provided prior to the suspension date, the 

laboratory accepts the DCLS decision to suspend. 

12. The laboratory has the right to due process as set forth in 

1VAC30-46-110. 

D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DCLS when accreditation has been suspended. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1204 

1. The term of suspension shall be limited to six months or 

the period of accreditation whichever is longer. 

2. The environmental laboratory shall not continue to 

analyze samples or report analysis for the fields of 

accreditation for which DCLS has suspended accreditation. 

3. The environmental laboratory shall retain accreditation 

for the fields of accreditation, methods, and analytes where 

it continues to meet the requirements of this chapter. 

4. The laboratory's suspended accreditation status shall 

change to accredited when the laboratory demonstrates to 

DCLS that the laboratory has corrected the deficiency or 

deficiencies for which its accreditation was suspended. 

5. An environmental laboratory with suspended 

accreditation shall not have to reapply for accreditation if the 

cause or causes for suspension are corrected within the term 

of suspension. 

6. An environmental laboratory that DCLS has suspended in 

total shall pay the cost of any necessary follow-up on-site 

assessments or data review or both to determine compliance. 

This cost shall be calculated under the provisions of 

1VAC30-46-150 E and F. 

7. If the laboratory fails to correct the causes of suspension 

within the term of suspension, DCLS shall withdraw the 

laboratory's accreditation in total or in part. 

1VAC30-46-100. Withdrawal of accreditation. 

A. DCLS shall withdraw accreditation from an environmental 

laboratory in total if the laboratory is found to be falsifying any 

data or providing false information to support accreditation. 

B. DCLS may withdraw accreditation from an environmental 

laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory has failed to 

do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by 1VAC30-46-210 B. 

2. Complete proficiency testing studies and maintain a 

history of at least two successful proficiency testing studies 

for each affected accredited field of testing out of the three 

most recent proficiency testing studies as defined in 

1VAC30-46-210 B. 

[ 3. Successfully complete three consecutive PT studies, 

either by failure to participate in the required PT study or by 

failure to obtain acceptable results for the same field of 

accreditation. ] 

[ 4. 3. ] Maintain a quality system as defined in 1VAC30-46-

210 C. 

[ 4. 5. ] Employ staff that meets the personnel qualifications 

of 1VAC30-46-210 A. 

[ 5. 6. ] Submit an acceptable corrective action plan after two 

opportunities as specified in 1VAC30-46-220. 

[ 6. 7. ] Implement corrective action specified in the 

laboratory's corrective action plan as set out under 1VAC30-

46-220. 

[ 7. 8. ] Correct the causes of suspension within the term of 

suspension. 

[ 9. 8. ] Notify DCLS of any changes in key accreditation 

criteria as set forth in 1VAC30-46-90. 

[ 8. 10. 9. ] Use correct and authorized references to the 

laboratory's accreditation status or that of DCLS in the 

laboratory's documentation and advertising as set forth in 

1VAC30-46-130. 

[ 9. 11. 10. ] Allow a DCLS assessment team entry during 

normal business hours to conduct an on-site assessment 

required by 1VAC30-46-220. 

[ 10. 12. 11. ] Pay required fees specified in 1VAC30-46-

150. 

[ 13. 12. ] Meet the provisions regarding communication 

with others in Volume 1, Module 1, Section 4.1.5 of the 2016 

TNI Standards. 

C. [ DCLS may withdraw accreditation from an 

environmental laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory 

has failed three consecutive proficiency testing studies for the 

same field of accreditation either by failure to participate in the 

proficiency testing study or by failure to obtain acceptable 

results. 

D. ] DCLS shall follow the process specified in 1VAC30-46-

110 when withdrawing accreditation from an environmental 

laboratory. 

[ D. E. ] Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DCLS when accreditation has been withdrawn. 

1. Laboratories that lose their accreditation in full shall 

return their certificate to DCLS. 

2. If a laboratory loses accreditation in part, DCLS shall 

issue a revised certificate to the laboratory. 

3. The laboratory shall discontinue the use of all materials 

that contain either a reference to the environmental 

laboratory's past accreditation status or that display the TNI 

logo. These materials may include catalogs, advertising, 

business solicitations, proposals, quotations, laboratory 

analytical reports, or other materials. 

4. The environmental laboratory shall not continue to 

analyze samples or report analyses for the fields of 

accreditation for which DCLS has withdrawn accreditation. 

[ E. F. ] After correcting the reason or cause for the 

withdrawal of accreditation under 1VAC30-46-100 A or B, the 

laboratory owner may reapply for accreditation under 

1VAC30-46-70 B and E. 
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1VAC30-46-140. Secondary accreditation. 

A. DCLS may grant secondary accreditation to an 

environmental laboratory that holds a current accreditation 

from another TNI-recognized NELAP-recognized primary 

accreditation body. 

B. The owner of a TNI-accredited environmental laboratory 

that seeks accreditation under this chapter shall apply as 

specified in 1VAC30-46-70 with the exception of 1VAC30-

46-70 F 1 n and o. 

C. The owner of the applicant laboratory shall pay the fee 

required by 1VAC30-46-150. 

D. DCLS shall not require a TNI-accredited environmental 

laboratory that seeks accreditation under this section to meet 

any additional proficiency testing, quality assurance, or on-site 

assessment requirements for the fields of accreditation for 

which the laboratory holds primary TNI accreditation. 

E. DCLS shall consider only the current certificate of 

accreditation issued by the TNI-recognized primary 

accreditation body. 

F. DCLS shall grant secondary accreditation for only the 

fields of accreditation offered under this chapter for which the 

laboratory holds current primary TNI accreditation. 

1VAC30-46-150. Fees. 

A. General. 

1. Environmental laboratories shall pay a fee with all 

applications, including reapplications, for accreditation. 

DCLS shall not designate an application as complete until it 

receives payment of the fee. 

2. Each accredited environmental laboratory shall pay an 

annual fee to maintain its accreditation. DCLS shall send an 

invoice to the accredited environmental laboratory. 

3. An environmental laboratory applying for secondary 

accreditation under 1VAC30-46-140 shall pay the same fee 

as other laboratories subject to this chapter. 

4. Fees shall be nonrefundable. 

5. DCLS, as part of its regular budgetary review of the 

program, shall determine whether the fees charged under this 

section offset the program costs as required under § 2.2-1105 

of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Fee computation. 

1. Fees shall be applied on an annual basis. 

2. Environmental laboratories shall pay the total of the base 

fee and the test category fees set out in subsections C and D 

of this section. 

C. Base fee. 

1. DCLS determines the base fee for a laboratory by taking 

into account both the total number of methods and the total 

number of field of accreditation matrices for which the 

laboratory would be accredited. 

2. DCLS shall charge the base fees set out in Table 1. The 

base fee for a laboratory is located by first finding the row 

for the total number of methods to be accredited and then 

finding the box on that row located in the column headed by 

the total number of matrices to be accredited. For example, 

DCLS charges a base fee of $1625 to a laboratory 

performing a total of eight methods for one matrix. 

TABLE 1: BASE FEES 

Number 

of 

Methods 

One 

Matrix 

Two 

Matrices 

Three 

Matrices 

Four or 

more 

Matrices 

1 - 9 $1625 $1788 $1969 $2163 

10 - 29 $1750 $1969 $2188 $2438 

30 - 99 $1938 $2281 $2688 $3188 

100 - 

149 

$2063 $2475 $2969 $3563 

150+ $2250 $2813 $3531 $4406 

D. Test category fees. 

1. The test category fees cover the types of testing for which 

a laboratory may be accredited as specified in the 

laboratory's application or as accredited at the time of annual 

billing. 

2. Fees shall be charged for each category of tests to be 

accredited. 

3. Fees shall be charged for the total number of field of 

accreditation matrices to be accredited under the specific test 

category. For example, if a laboratory is performing 

inorganic chemistry for both nonpotable water and solid and 

chemical matrices, the fee for this test category would be 

found in the column for two matrices. 

4. The fee for each category includes one or more analytical 

methods unless otherwise specified. 

5. Test category fees. DCLS shall charge the test category 

fees set out in Table 2. The test category fees for a laboratory 

are located by first finding the row with the total number of 

test methods for the test category to be accredited. The fee 

to be charged for the test category will be found on that row 

in the column headed by the total number of matrices to be 

accredited. A laboratory performing four test methods for 

bacteriology in both nonpotable and drinking water (two 

matrices) would be charged a test category fee of $413. 
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TABLE 2: TEST CATEGORY FEES 

 Fees by Number of Matrices 

Test Category One Two 

Three 

or 

More 

Aquatic toxicity, 

acute methods only $740 N/A N/A 

Aquatic toxicity, 

acute and chronic 

methods $990 

N/A N/A 

Oxygen demand $281 $419 $544 

Bacteriology, 1 - 3 

total methods $219 $331 $431 

Bacteriology, 4 or 

more total methods $275 $413 $538 

Physical, 1 - 5 total 

methods $219 $331 $431 

Physical, 6 - 10 total 

methods $275 $413 $538 

Physical, 11 or more 

total methods $344 $519 $675 

Inorganic chemistry, 

1 - 10 total methods $313 $469 $613 

Inorganic chemistry, 

11 - 20 total 

methods $394 $594 $775 

Inorganic chemistry, 

21 - 49 total 

methods $493 $738 $959 

Inorganic chemistry, 

50 or more total 

methods $615 $925 $1203 

Chemistry metals, 1 

- 5 total methods $406 $613 $796 

Chemistry metals, 6 

- 20 total methods $513 $769 $1000 

Chemistry metals, 

21 or more total 

methods $640 $963 $1250 

Organic chemistry, 1 

- 5 total methods $1020 $1270 $1495 

Organic chemistry, 6 

- 20 total methods $1145 $1458 $1739 

Organic chemistry, 

21 - 40 total 

methods $1301 $1695 $2048 

Organic chemistry, 

41 or more total 

methods $1495 $1983 $2420 

Radiochemical, 1 - 

10 total methods $990 $1365 $1703 

Radiochemical, 11 

or more total 

methods $1146 $1603 $2015 

Asbestos $1146 $1603 $2015 

6. Fee examples. Three examples are provided. 

a. Example 1: 

Base Fee 

One matrix and four 

test methods $1625 

Test Category 

Fees 
  

One Matrix   

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology (2 

methods) $219 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen demand (1 

method) $281 

Nonpotable 

Water Physical (1 method) $219 

TOTAL  $2344 

b. Example 2: 

Base Fee 

One matrix and 15 

test methods $1750 

Test Category Fees   

One Matrix   

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology (2 

methods) $219 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Inorganic chemistry 

(9 methods) $313 

Nonpotable 

Water Metals (2 methods) $406 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen demand (1 

method) $281 

Nonpotable 

Water Physical (1 method) $219 

TOTAL  $3188 
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c. Example 3: 

Base Fee 

Two matrices and 

27 test methods $1969 

Test Category 

Fees   

One Matrix   

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology  

(4 methods) $275 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen demand  

(1 method) $281 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials Metals (1 method) $406 

Two Matrices   

Nonpotable 

Water and 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials 

Inorganic 

chemistry  

(13 methods) $594 

Nonpotable 

Water and 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials 

Physical  

(7 methods) $413 

TOTAL  $3938 

E. Additional fees. Additional fees shall be charged to 

laboratories applying for the following: (i) modification to 

scope of accreditation under 1VAC30-46-90 B, (ii) transfer of 

ownership under 1VAC30-46-90 C, (iii) review of compliance 

following total suspension, or (iii) (iv) petition for a variance 

under 1VAC30-46-160. 

1. For any accredited environmental laboratory that applies 

to modify its scope of accreditation as specified under 

1VAC30-46-90 B, DCLS shall assess a fee determined by 

the method in subsection F of this section. 

2. Under 1VAC30-46-90 C, DCLS may charge a transfer fee 

to a certified laboratory that transfers ownership. A fee shall 

be charged if DCLS (i) needs to review documentation sent 

by the laboratory about the transfer of ownership or (ii) 

determines that an on-site assessment is necessary to 

evaluate the effect of the transfer of ownership. DCLS shall 

assess a fee determined by the method in subsection F of this 

section. If, under 1VAC30-46-90 C, DCLS determines that 

the change of ownership or location of laboratory requires 

reaccreditation of or reapplication by the laboratory, the 

laboratory shall pay the application fee required under this 

section. 

3. Under 1VAC30-46-95 D 6, an environmental laboratory 

that DCLS has suspended in total shall be charged the cost 

of any necessary follow-up on-site assessments or data 

review or both to determine compliance. This charge shall 

be calculated under the method specified in subsection F of 

this section. 

4. Under 1VAC30-46-160, any person regulated by this 

chapter may petition the director to grant a variance from 

any requirement of this chapter. DCLS shall charge a fee for 

the time needed to review the petition, including any on-site 

assessment required. The fee shall be determined by the 

method specified in subsection F of this section. 

F. Additional fees determination. 

1. The fee shall be the sum of the total hourly charges for all 

reviewers plus any on-site review costs incurred. 

2. An hourly charge per reviewer shall be determined by (i) 

obtaining a yearly cost by multiplying the reviewer's annual 

salary by 1.35 (accounts for overhead such as taxes and 

insurance) and then (ii) dividing the yearly cost by 1,642 

(number of annual hours established by Fiscal Services, 

Department of General Services, for billing purposes). 

3. The charge per reviewer shall be determined by 

multiplying the number of hours expended in the review by 

the reviewer's hourly charge. 

4. If an on-site review is required, travel time and on-site 

review time shall be charged at the same hourly charge per 

reviewer, and any travel expenses shall be added. 

G. Out-of-state laboratories applying for primary 

accreditation. 

1. The owner of an environmental laboratory located in 

another state who applies for primary accreditation under 

this chapter shall pay a surcharge of $5000 plus the labor 

costs of the on-site assessment and reasonable travel costs 

associated with conducting an on-site assessment at the 

laboratory. Reasonable travel costs include transportation, 

lodging, per diem, and telephone and duplication charges. 

These charges shall be in addition to the fees charged under 

subdivision A 1 and subsections B through D of this section. 

2. Once the laboratory is accredited, DCLS shall charge the 

annual fee specified in subdivision A 2 and subsections B 

through D of this section, the labor costs for the on-site 

assessment, and reasonable travel costs associated with 

conducting the on-site assessment. 

H. DCLS shall derive the travel costs charged under 

subsections F and G of this section from the Commonwealth 

of Virginia reimbursement allowances and rates for lodging, 

per diem, and mileage. 
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1VAC30-46-200. Incorporation by reference of TNI 

standards. 

A. The following TNI standards are incorporated by reference 

into this chapter: The Standards for Environmental 

Laboratories and Accreditation Bodies, 2009 2016 (The 

NELAC Institute (TNI)), Volume 1: Management and 

Technical Requirements for Laboratories Performing 

Environmental Analysis, and Volume 2: General 

Requirements for Accreditation Bodies Accrediting 

Environmental Laboratories, except for section Section 6.6 of 

Module 3 concerning confidential business information. 

B. Environmental laboratories applying for accreditation and 

accredited under this chapter shall comply with the TNI 

standards incorporated by reference into subsection A of this 

section. For convenience these standards are specified by 

accreditation component in 1VAC30-46-210 and 1VAC30-46-

220. 

C. The TNI standards are organized by volume and module. 

1. Volume 1 - Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis includes 

the following modules: 

a. Proficiency Testing. 

b. Quality Systems General Requirements. 

c. Quality Systems for Asbestos Testing. 

d. Quality Systems for Chemical Testing. 

e. Quality Systems for Microbiological Testing. 

f. Quality Systems for Radiochemical Testing. 

g. Quality Systems for Toxicity Testing. 

2. Volume 2 - General Requirements for Accreditation 

Bodies Accrediting Environmental Laboratories includes 

the following modules: 

a. General Requirements. 

b. Proficiency Testing. 

c. On-Site Assessment. 

1VAC30-46-210. Standards for accreditation. 

A. Standards for personnel. The standards for personnel are 

found in Section 5.2 of Volume 1, Module 2 of the TNI 

standards. 

B. Standards for proficiency testing. 

1. The standards for proficiency testing are found in (i) 

Module 1 and (ii) section 4.11 of Module 2 of Volume 1 of 

the TNI standards. 

2. Additional requirements from Volume 2, Module 2 of the 

TNI standards. 

a. A laboratory shall perform two proficiency test studies 

each calendar year for each FoPT. These proficiency 

testing studies shall be performed at least five months 

apart and no longer than seven months apart within the 

calendar year. 

b. The following proficiency testing studies shall not apply 

when meeting the requirements of subdivision 2 a of this 

subsection: 

(1) Studies used for corrective action to reestablish 

successful history in order to maintain accreditation; and 

(2) Studies used to reinstate accreditation after DCLS 

suspends accreditation. 

c. DCLS shall consider a laboratory's analytical result for 

a FoPT not acceptable for the following reasons: 

(1) When the laboratory does not report the results within 

the time frames specified in Volume 1, Module 1 of the 

TNI standards. 

(2) When the laboratory makes any reporting error or 

omission that results in a nonspecific match between the 

analytical result for the FoPT and any criterion that 

identifies the laboratory or the field of accreditation for 

which the PT sample was analyzed for the purpose of 

initial or continued accreditation. 

d. If DCLS requests a corrective action plan from a 

laboratory, the laboratory shall provide the plan within 30 

calendar days of the request. 

e. A laboratory may withdraw from a study for any FoPT 

on or before the close date of the study. Withdrawing from 

a study shall not exempt the laboratory from meeting the 

semiannual analysis requirements necessary for continued 

accreditation. 

C. Standards for quality systems. 

1. General requirements for all environmental laboratories 

are found in Volume 1, Module 2 of the TNI standards. 

2. Requirements for the specific types of testing that may be 

performed by an individual environmental laboratory are 

found in Volume 1, Modules 3 through 7 of the TNI 

standards. 

3. Drinking water laboratories obtaining certification under 

this chapter shall meet the reporting requirements set out in 

1VAC30-41 for compliance with 12VAC5-590-530 and 

12VAC5-590-540. 

1VAC30-46-220. On-site assessment. 

A. The standards for on-site assessment are found in Volume 

2, Module 3 of the TNI standards. The requirements specific to 

environmental laboratories are set out in this section. 

B. DCLS shall conduct a comprehensive on-site assessment 

of an environmental laboratory prior to granting final primary 

accreditation to the laboratory. 
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C. Frequency of on-site assessment. 

1. DCLS shall reassess each accredited laboratory every two 

years starting from the date of the previous assessment plus 

or minus six months. 

2. Other on-site assessments. 

a. If DCLS identified a deficiency on a previous on-site 

assessment, the agency may conduct a follow-up on-site 

assessment. 

b. DCLS may conduct an on-site assessment under the 

following circumstances: 

(1) A laboratory applies to modify its scope of 

accreditation; 

(2) A transfer of ownership occurs that affects personnel, 

equipment, or the laboratory facilities; or 

(3) A laboratory applies for an exemption or a variance. 

c. Any other change occurring in a laboratory's operations 

that might reasonably be expected to alter or impair 

analytical capability and quality may trigger an on-site 

assessment. 

D. Announced and unannounced on-site assessments. DCLS, 

at its discretion, may conduct either announced or 

unannounced on-site assessments. Advance notice of an 

assessment shall not be necessary. 

E. Preparation for the on-site assessment. 

1. Prior to the actual site visit, DCLS may request in writing 

from a laboratory those records required to be maintained by 

this chapter. 

2. DCLS may opt not to proceed with an on-site assessment 

based on nonconformities found during document and 

record review. 

F. Areas to be assessed. 

1. DCLS shall assess the laboratory against the standards 

incorporated by reference and specified in 1VAC30-46-200 

and 1VAC30-46-210. 

2. The laboratory shall ensure that its quality manual, 

analytical methods, quality control data, proficiency test 

data, laboratory SOPs, and all records needed to verify 

compliance with the standards specified in 1VAC30-46-200 

and 1VAC30-46-210 are available for review during the on-

site assessment. 

G. National security considerations. 

1. Assessments at facilities owned or operated by federal 

agencies or contractors may require security clearances, 

appropriate badging, or a security briefing before the 

assessment begins. 

2. The laboratory shall notify DCLS in writing of any 

information that is controlled for national security reasons 

and cannot be released to the public. 

H. Arrival, admittance, and opening conference. 

1. Arrival. DCLS and the laboratory shall agree to the date 

and schedule for announced on-site assessments. 

2. Admittance of assessment personnel. A laboratory's 

refusal to admit the assessment personnel for an on-site 

assessment shall result in an automatic failure of the 

laboratory to receive accreditation or loss of an existing 

accreditation by the laboratory, unless there are extenuating 

circumstances that are accepted and documented by DCLS. 

3. Health and safety. Under no circumstance, and especially 

as a precondition to gain access to a laboratory, shall 

assessment personnel be required or even allowed to sign 

any waiver of responsibility on the part of the laboratory for 

injuries incurred during an assessment. 

4. Opening conference. An opening conference shall be 

conducted and shall address the following topics: 

a. The purpose of the assessment; 

b. The identification of assessment personnel; 

c. The test methods that will be examined; 

d. Any pertinent records and procedures to be examined 

during the assessment and the names of the individuals in 

the laboratory responsible for providing assessment 

personnel with such records; 

e. The roles and responsibilities of laboratory staff and 

managers; 

f. Any special safety procedures that the laboratory may 

think necessary for the protection of assessment 

personnel; 

g. The standards and criteria that will be used in judging 

the adequacy of the laboratory operation; 

h. Confirmation of the tentative time for the exit 

conference; and 

i. Discussion of any questions the laboratory may have 

about the assessment process. 

I. On-site laboratory records review and collection. 

1. Records shall be reviewed by assessment personnel for 

accuracy, completeness, and the use of proper methodology 

for each analyte and test method to be evaluated. 

2. Records required to be maintained pursuant to this chapter 

shall be examined as part of an assessment for accreditation. 

J. Observations of and interviews with laboratory personnel. 

1. As an element of the assessment process, the assessment 

team shall evaluate an analysis regimen by requesting that 

the analyst normally conducting the procedure give a step-

by-step description of exactly what is done and what 

equipment and supplies are needed to complete the regimen. 

Any deficiencies shall be noted and discussed with the 
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analyst. In addition, the deficiencies shall be discussed in the 

closing conference. 

2. Assessment personnel may conduct interviews with 

appropriate laboratory personnel. 

3. Calculations, data transfers, calibration procedures, 

quality control, and quality assurance practices, adherence to 

test methods, and report preparation shall be assessed for the 

complete scope of accreditation with appropriate laboratory 

analysts. 

K. Closing conference. 

1. Assessment personnel shall meet with representatives of 

the laboratory following the assessment for a closing 

conference. 

2. During the closing conference, assessment personnel shall 

inform the laboratory of the preliminary findings and the 

basis for such findings. The laboratory shall have an 

opportunity to provide further explanation or clarification 

relevant to the preliminary findings. If the laboratory objects 

to the preliminary findings during the closing conference, all 

objections shall be documented by the assessment personnel 

and included in the final report to DCLS. 

3. Additional problem areas may be identified in the final 

report. 

L. Follow-up and reporting procedures. 

1. DCLS shall provide an on-site assessment report to the 

laboratory documenting any deficiencies found by DCLS 

within 30 calendar days of the last day of the on-site 

assessment. 

2. When deficiencies are identified in the assessment report, 

the laboratory shall have 30 calendar days from the date of 

its receipt of the on-site assessment report to provide a 

corrective action plan to DCLS. 

3. The laboratory's corrective action plan shall include the 

following: 

a. Any objections that the laboratory has with regard to the 

on-site assessment report; 

b. The action that the laboratory proposes to correct each 

deficiency identified in the assessment report; 

c. The time period required to accomplish the corrective 

action; and 

d. Documentation of corrective action that the laboratory 

has already completed at the time the corrective action 

plan is submitted. 

4. If the corrective action plan, or a portion of the plan, is 

determined to be unacceptable to remedy the deficiency, 

DCLS shall provide written notification to the responsible 

official and technical manager of the laboratory, including a 

detailed explanation of the basis for such determination. 

Following receipt of such notification, the laboratory shall 

have an additional 30 calendar days to submit a revised 

corrective action plan acceptable to DCLS. 

5. DCLS may suspend accreditation from a laboratory under 

1VAC30-46-95 B 3 or withdraw accreditation from a 

laboratory under 1VAC30-46-100 B 5 if DCLS finds the 

second revised corrective action plan to be unacceptable. 

6. The laboratory shall submit documentation to DCLS that 

the corrective action set out in its plan has been completed 

within the time period specified in the plan. 

7. DCLS, under 1VAC30-46-100 B 6, may withdraw 

accreditation from a laboratory if the laboratory fails to 

implement the corrective actions set out in its corrective 

action plan. 

8. DCLS shall grant final accreditation as specified in 

1VAC30-46-70 K upon successful completion of any 

required corrective action following the on-site assessment. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(1VAC30-46) 

The Standards for Environmental Laboratories and 

Accreditation Bodies, 2009 2016, The NELAC Institute (TNI), 

P.O. Box 2439, Weatherford, TX 76086; www.nelac-

institute.org: 

Volume 1: Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis (EL-V1-

2009) 

Volume 2: General Requirements for Accreditation Bodies 

Accrediting Environmental Laboratories (EL-V2-2009) 

Volume 1: Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis (EL-V1-

2016, rev. 2.1) 

Volume 2: General Requirements for Accreditation Bodies 

Accrediting Environmental Laboratories (EL-V2-2016, rev. 

2.0)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6196; Filed January 3, 2022, 11:47 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-405. Regulations for the 

Application of Fertilizer to Nonagricultural Lands 

(amending 2VAC5-405-110). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3602.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

http://www.nelac-institute.org/
http://www.nelac-institute.org/
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Public Comment Deadline: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 

Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy board 

with the authority to adopt regulations in accordance with the 

provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. Section 3.2-

3602.1 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to adopt 

regulations to certify the competence of contractor-applicators; 

licensees; and employees, representatives, or agents of state 

agencies, localities, or other governmental entities that apply 

regulated products to nonagricultural property and to impose 

civil penalties upon any contractor-applicator or licensee who 

fails to comply with the regulations. 

Purpose: The application of excessive fertilizer nutrients, 

primarily phosphorus and nitrogen, can result in runoff of these 

nutrients into Virginia's waterways, including the Chesapeake 

Bay, causing excess levels of algae. The excess algae 

negatively affects the level of dissolved oxygen in the water 

needed by oysters, fish, crabs, and other aquatic animals. 

Applying lawn and turf fertilizers at proper rates can result in 

reduced runoff of nitrogen and phosphorus into Virginia's 

waters. Compliance with the provisions of this regulation 

supports the health of Virginia's waters, which can positively 

impact the health and economic welfare of Virginia citizens. 

The board determined that additional penalties for violations 

of the regulation are necessary to ensure fertilizer applicators 

are applying fertilizer to nonagricultural lands in compliance 

with provisions of the regulation, thereby protecting Virginia's 

natural waterways. 

Substance: Through this regulatory action, the board is 

proposing to amend the current penalty and add two new 

penalties for violations of Regulations for the Application of 

Fertilizer to Nonagricultural Lands (2VAC5-405). The board 

is also proposing to change the person responsible for 

compliance with the regulation's existing requirement that an 

individual be certified before offering services as a certified 

fertilizer applicator or supervising the application of fertilizer 

on nonagricultural land. 

The proposed amendments (i) change the responsible party 

from an individual to the contractor-applicator or licensee who 

employs an individual who must be certified; (ii) replace the 

existing civil penalty that is assessed when a person offers 

services as a certified fertilizer applicator without obtaining 

such certification from the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (VDACS) with a penalty that increases 

with repeat violations; (iii) establish a penalty for a contractor-

applicator or licensee who does not maintain records or fails to 

submit the annual report for fertilizer applied to more than 50 

acres of nonagricultural lands; and (iv) establish a penalty for 

a contractor-applicator or licensee who fails to apply fertilizer 

in compliance with the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation's nutrient management standards. 

Issues: The proposed amendments will increase compliance 

with provisions of the Regulations for the Application of 

Fertilizer to Nonagricultural Lands (2VAC5-405), thereby 

reducing runoff of excess nitrogen and phosphorus from 

nonagricultural land into Virginia's waterways, which is an 

advantage to the public. In addition, ensuring the reporting of 

nonagricultural lands to which fertilizer was applied will allow 

Virginia to receive credit in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed 

Implementation Plan for properly applying lawn and turf 

fertilizer, which is an advantage to the Commonwealth. 

The proposed amendments will only negatively impact those 

contractor-applicators or licensees who are not in compliance 

with the regulation. There are no disadvantages to the public 

or the Commonwealth associated with the proposed 

amendments. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic 

impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) proposes 

to (i) require that a contractor-applicator2 or licensee3 be 

responsible for ensuring its employees obtain a Certified 

Fertilizer Applicator registration, rather than penalizing an 

employee for not being a Certified Fertilizer Applicator,4 (ii) 

amend the current penalty structure from a one-time, $250 

penalty, to a penalty that increases with repeat offenses, (iii) 

create a new penalty for a contractor-applicator or licensee who 

fails to maintain certain records documenting applicator 

training and each application of fertilizer to nonagricultural 

land, or who fails to submit the required annual acreage report 

to Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

(VDACS), and (iv) create a new penalty for failure to apply 

lawn or lawn maintenance fertilizers in compliance with the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's (DCR) nutrient 

management standards for lawns.  

Background. VDACS states that the Board promulgated 

2VAC5-405, Regulations for the Application of Fertilizer to 

Nonagricultural Lands (regulation) to ensure the proper 

application of fertilizer to nonagricultural lands (i.e., lawn and 

turf), thereby protecting the environment. Specifically, the 

regulation accomplishes this by requiring that lawn fertilizers 

applied for commercial purposes or by governmental entities 

are applied by a certified fertilizer applicator or a person under 

the control and instruction of a certified fertilizer applicator 

and at rates, times, and methods that reduce the runoff of 

nitrogen and phosphorus into Virginia's waterways.  

mailto:david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov
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In order to become a certified fertilizer applicator, the applicant 

must successfully complete Board-approved training. The 

current Board-approved training is an online course (with a $10 

fee) that is a joint effort of the Virginia Cooperative Extension, 

VDACS, and DCR.5 There are ten self-paced training modules 

and each are accompanied by a test that must be passed at a 

minimum 70% level. Certification helps ensure that the 

fertilizer applicator understands the rates, times, and methods 

that reduce the runoff of nitrogen and phosphorus. An online 

recertification course (also with $10 fee) must be taken every 

four years. 

Chapter 413 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly amended the 

Fertilizer Law, in part, by increasing from $250 to $1,000 the 

maximum civil penalty that the Board may impose upon any 

fertilizer contractor-applicator or licensee who fails to comply 

with provisions of the regulation.6  

Failure to Obtain Certification. Under the current regulation, 

"Any individual who offers his services as a certified fertilizer 

applicator or who supervises the application of any fertilizer on 

nonagricultural land without obtaining prior registration 

certification from the commissioner shall be assessed a penalty 

of $250." The Board proposes to amend that sentence to the 

following, with new language in bold: 

Any contractor-applicator or licensee that employs an 

individual who offers his services as a certified fertilizer 

applicator or who supervises the application of any fertilizer on 

nonagricultural land without obtaining prior registration 

certification from the commissioner shall be assessed a penalty 

of (i) $250 for the first offense, (ii) $500 for the second offense 

within any five year period, and (iii) $1,000 for the third 

offense within any five year period. 

Failure to Maintain Records or Send Report. The regulation 

requires that licensees and contractor-applicators maintain 

records of each application of fertilizer to nonagricultural land 

for at least three years following the application.7 Contractor-

applicators and licensees who apply lawn fertilizer and lawn 

maintenance fertilizer to more than a total of 50 acres of 

nonagricultural lands must submit an annual report on or 

before February 1 indicating the total acreage or square footage 

by zip code of the land receiving lawn fertilizer and lawn 

maintenance fertilizer in the preceding calendar year. 

Currently, no penalties are assessed for a contractor-applicator 

or licensee who fails to maintain records or submit annual 

reports. In § 3.2-3625, the Virginia Fertilizer Law provides that 

a person convicted of a violation of a provision of the law or a 

regulation adopted thereunder is subject to a Class 3 

misdemeanor; however, in practice VDACS has not pursued a 

criminal charge against anyone for failing to maintain the 

records required by the regulation or for failing to submit the 

required annual report. 

The Board proposes to add the following text to the regulation: 

"Any contractor-applicator or licensee who does not 

maintain records as required by this chapter or submit the 

required annual report to the commissioner in accordance 

with 2VAC5-405-100 shall be (i) issued a warning for the 

first offense, (ii) assessed a penalty of $250 for the second 

offense within any five year period, (iii) assessed a penalty 

of $500 for the third offense within any five year period, 

and (iv) assessed a penalty of $1,000 for the fourth offense 

within any five year period." 

Violating Standards and Criteria for Nutrient Management. 

The regulation requires that licensees and contractor-

applicators apply fertilizer at rates, times, and methods that are 

consistent with standards and criteria for nutrient management 

promulgated pursuant to § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia 

(DCR's lawn nutrient management standards). Currently, 

though, no penalties are assessed for a contractor-applicator or 

licensee who applies lawn fertilizer at rates, times, or methods 

that are inconsistent with DCR's lawn nutrient management 

standards. As stated above, § 3.2-3625 of the Virginia 

Fertilizer Law provides that a person convicted of a violation 

of a provision of the law or a regulation adopted thereunder is 

subject to a Class 3 misdemeanor; however, in practice 

VDACS has not pursued a criminal charge against anyone for 

applying lawn fertilizer at rates, times, or methods that are 

inconsistent with DCR's lawn nutrient management standards. 

The Board proposes to add the following text to the regulation: 

"Any contractor-applicator or licensee who applies lawn 

fertilizer or lawn maintenance fertilizer at a rate, time, or 

method inconsistent with the standards and criteria for 

nutrient management promulgated pursuant to § 10.1-

104.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be (i) issued a warning 

for the first offense, (ii) assessed a penalty of $250 for the 

second offense within any five year period, (iii) assessed 

a penalty of $500 for the third offense within any five year 

period, and (iv) assessed a penalty of $1,000 for the fourth 

offense within any five year period." 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. All of the proposed amendments 

are intended to make it more likely that licensees and 

contractor-applicators comply with the requirements of the 

regulation. Making the businesses responsible (and 

punishable) for ensuring their employees obtain a Certified 

Fertilizer Applicator registration prior to applying fertilizer, 

and increasing the fines, may make it less likely that uncertified 

individuals do this work. This could reduce occurrences where 

there is excessive runoff of nitrogen and phosphorus due to the 

applicator's lack of knowledge on how to minimize runoff. 

Establishing financial penalties for contractor-applicators or 

licensees who apply lawn fertilizer at rates, times, or methods 

that are inconsistent with DCR's lawn nutrient management 

standards may encourage compliance with the standards, 

which would reduce nitrogen and phosphorus runoff. 

Establishing financial penalties for contractor-applicators or 

licensees who fail to maintain records or submit annual reports 

may encourage these firms to comply with these requirements. 

This information is needed to help understand how much and 

where fertilizer is being applied in the Commonwealth. 
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Reducing runoff of nitrogen and phosphorus is beneficial for 

Virginia's waterways. According to the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency, too much nitrogen and phosphorus in the 

water causes algae to grow faster than ecosystems can handle. 

Significant increases in algae harm water quality, food 

resources and habitats, and decrease the oxygen that fish and 

other aquatic life need to survive. Large growths of algae are 

called algal blooms and they can severely reduce or eliminate 

oxygen in the water, leading to illnesses in fish and the death 

of large numbers of fish. Some algal blooms are harmful to 

humans because they produce elevated toxins and bacterial 

growth that can make people sick if they come into contact 

with polluted water, consume tainted fish or shellfish, or drink 

contaminated water.8 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments potentially affect the 408 fertilizer contractor-

applicators and the 739 licensed fertilizer distributors in the 

Commonwealth.9  

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.10 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. Contractor-

applicators and licensees who do not comply with the 

regulation would encounter higher costs. Thus, an adverse 

impact is indicated.  

Small Businesses11 Affected.12  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

VDACS believes that the majority of affected firms would 

qualify as small businesses, but a specific number is not 

available.  

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments increase 

costs for small lawn care/fertilizer firms that do not comply 

with the regulations. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities13 Affected.14 The proposed amendments are not 

expected to disproportionately affect any particular localities 

or substantively affect costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would not affect the use and value of private firms 

that comply with the requirements of the regulation. The 

proposal would increase costs for firms that do not comply, and 

may moderately reduce their value. For firms that comply with 

the regulation's requirements when creating lawns for 

developing real estate, costs would not increase. 

____________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 
2"Contractor-applicator" is defined in the regulation as "any person required to 

hold a permit to apply any fertilizer pursuant to § 3.2-3608 of the Code of 
Virginia." The Code essentially defines that as any person, other than a 

licensee or an agent of a licensee, who intends to apply fertilizer, specialty 

fertilizer, soil amendment, or horticultural growing medium for profit. 
3"Licensee" is defined in the regulation as "the person who receives a license 

to distribute any fertilizer under the provisions of § 3.2-3606 of the Code of 

Virginia." Section 3.2-3600 of the Code of Virginia, defines "distribute" as "to 
import, consign, manufacture, produce, compound, mix, blend, or in any way 

alter, the chemical or physical characteristics of a regulated product, or to offer 

for sale, sell, barter, warehouse or otherwise supply regulated product in the 

Commonwealth." 
4"Certified fertilizer applicator" is defined in the regulation as "any individual 

who has successfully completed board-approved training." 
5See https://ext.vt.edu/agriculture/commercial-horticulture/greenhouse-

nursery/fertilizer-application.html 

6See https://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?201+ful+CHAP0413 
7The records must contain: 1. Name, mailing address, and telephone number 

of customer, as well as address of application site if different from customer's 

mailing address; 2. Name of the person making or supervising the application; 
3. Day, month, and year of application; 4. Weather conditions at the start of 

the application; 5. Acreage, area, square footage, or plants treated; 6. Analysis 

of fertilizer applied; 7. Amount of fertilizer used, by weight or volume; and 8. 

Type of application equipment used.  
8See https://www.epa.gov/nutrientpollution/issue 

9Data source: VDACS 
10Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 
11Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
12If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
13"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
14§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

https://ext.vt.edu/agriculture/commercial-horticulture/greenhouse-nursery/fertilizer-application.html
https://ext.vt.edu/agriculture/commercial-horticulture/greenhouse-nursery/fertilizer-application.html
https://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0413
https://www.epa.gov/nutrientpollution/issue
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the economic impact analysis of the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) change the responsible 

party to the contractor-applicator or licensee who 

employs an individual who must be certified; (ii) replace 

the existing civil penalty that is assessed when a person 

offers services as a certified fertilizer applicator without 

obtaining such certification from the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services with a penalty that 

increases with repeat violations; (iii) establish a penalty 

for a contractor-applicator or licensee who does not 

maintain records or fails to submit the annual report for 

fertilizer applied to more than 50 acres of nonagricultural 

lands; and (iv) establish a penalty for a contractor-

applicator or licensee who fails to apply fertilizer in 

compliance with the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation's nutrient management standards. 

2VAC5-405-110. Violations and penalties for 

noncompliance. 

A. Any contractor-applicator or licensee that employs an 

individual who offers his services as a certified fertilizer 

applicator or who supervises the application of any fertilizer on 

nonagricultural land without obtaining prior registration 

certification from the commissioner shall be assessed a penalty 

of (i) $250 for the first offense, (ii) $500 for the second offense 

within any five-year period, and (iii) $1,000 for the third 

offense within any five-year period. 

B. Any contractor-applicator or licensee that does not 

maintain records as required by this chapter or submit the 

required annual report to the commissioner in accordance with 

2VAC5-405-100 shall be (i) issued a warning for the first 

offense, (ii) assessed a penalty of $250 for the second offense 

within any five-year period, (iii) assessed a penalty of $500 for 

the third offense within any five-year period, and (iv) assessed 

a penalty of $1,000 for the fourth offense within any five-year 

period. 

C. Any contractor-applicator or licensee that applies lawn 

fertilizer or lawn maintenance fertilizer at a rate, time, or 

method inconsistent with the standards and criteria for nutrient 

management promulgated pursuant to § 10.1-104.2 of the Code 

of Virginia shall be (i) issued a warning for the first offense, 

(ii) assessed a penalty of $250 for the second offense within 

any five-year period, (iii) assessed a penalty of $500 for the 

third offense within any five-year period, and (iv) assessed a 

penalty of $1,000 for the fourth offense within any five-year 

period. 

D. Violations of the provisions of these regulations this 

chapter shall be handled in accordance with the provisions of 

the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia). 

C. E. Any penalties assessed for violations of this regulation 

chapter shall be handled in accordance with a board-approved 

administrative process. 

D. F. In addition to any monetary penalties provided in this 

section, certified fertilizer applicators who violate any 

provision of this regulation chapter may also be subject to the 

provisions of § 3.2-3621 of the Code of Virginia regarding the 

cancellation of certification. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6716; Filed January 5, 2022, 9:17 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 2VAC5-675. Regulations Governing 

Pesticide Fees Charged by the Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services (amending 2VAC5-675-30, 

2VAC5-675-40). 

2VAC5-685. Regulations Governing Pesticide Applicator 

Certification under Authority of Virginia Pesticide Control 

Act (amending 2VAC5-685-130). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 17, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Liza Fleeson Trossbach, Program Manager, 

Office of Pesticide Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 371-2283, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy board 

with the authority to adopt regulations in accordance with the 

provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. Section 3.2-

3906 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to adopt 

regulations establishing a fee structure for licensure, 

registration, and certification to defray the costs of 

implementing the act. 

Purpose: The agency has determined that current fees provide 

more than adequate funding for the Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services (VDACS) pesticide program. The fees 

prescribed in 2VAC5-675 and 2VAC5-685 are utilized to 

operate VDACS's pesticide programs, which protect human 

health and the environment by ensuring the proper use of 

pesticides used to control pests that adversely affect crops, 

structures, health, and domestic animals. Pesticide program 

activities include the certification of approximately 24,000 

pesticide applicators, licensing of approximately 3,000 

pesticide businesses, registration of approximately 16,000 

pesticide products, and conducting routine inspections and 

investigations. VDACS is able to ensure compliance with all 

applicable laws and regulations related to the use of pesticides, 

thereby protecting human health, while eliminating the fee for 

pesticide applicator renewals, which will support the economic 

mailto:liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov
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welfare of the businesses currently responsible for paying these 

renewal fees. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed amendments eliminate certification renewal fees 

charged to industry and, as such, are expected to be 

noncontroversial and appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking 

process. 

Substance: The proposed amendments eliminate the 

certification renewal fee for (i) commercial applicators, which 

is currently $100 every two years; and (ii) registered 

technicians, which is currently $50 every two years. 

Issues: The proposed regulatory action is advantageous to the 

public, the regulated industry, and the agency as the amended 

fee structure eliminates fees assessed on the regulated industry, 

thereby reducing the costs to pesticide applicators and 

pesticide businesses while allowing for the continuation of 

VDACS's pesticide program services, which protect human 

health and the environment by ensuring the proper use of 

pesticides used to control pests that adversely affect crops, 

structures, health, and domestic animals. Eliminating the 

pesticide applicator renewal fees does not add any additional 

regulatory requirements to pesticide applicators or pesticide 

businesses. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic 

impacts.1  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) proposes 

to remove the biennial renewal fees for commercial pesticide 

applicator2 certifications ($100) and registered pesticide 

technician3 certifications ($50). 

Background. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services' (VDACS) pesticide programs protect 

human health and the environment by ensuring the proper use 

of pesticides used to control pests that adversely affect crops, 

structures, health, and domestic animals. Pesticide program 

activities include the certification of approximately 24,000 

pesticide applicators, licensing of approximately 3,000 

pesticide businesses, registration of approximately 16,000 

pesticide products, and conducting routine inspections and 

investigations.4 

VDACS has determined that current fees provide more than 

adequate funding for its pesticide programs. The agency states 

that it is able to ensure compliance with all applicable laws and 

regulations related to the use of pesticides, while eliminating 

the fees for the specified certification renewals. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. VDACS estimates that the 

proposed removal of renewal fees would result in an annual 

revenue loss of approximately $600,000; however, their long-

term projection is that the remaining revenue is sufficient to 

carry out the program's mission. Commercial pesticide 

applicators and registered pesticide technicians would benefit 

by saving $100 and $50 biennially, respectively. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments would affect the approximate 3,000 licensed 

pesticide businesses and 17,000 certified pesticide applicators, 

including commercial applicators and registered technicians, 

in Virginia.5  

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.6 With 

one exception, an adverse impact is indicated if there is any 

increase in net cost or reduction in net revenue for any entity, 

even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined. 

The exception is when agencies choose to reduce their fees 

since revenues are projected to exceed their needs. Thus, no 

adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities9 Affected.10The proposed amendments potentially 

affect all localities, but may particularly affect those that are 

agriculturally oriented. Since § 3.2-3931 of the Code provides 

an exemption from certification fees for government entities, 

the proposal would not directly affect local governments and 

their costs. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments modestly reduce costs for pesticide applicators, 

which may commensurately increase the value of their 

businesses. The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

_____________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2Section 3.2-3900 of the Code of Virginia defines "commercial applicator" as 
"any person who has completed the requirements for certification to use or 

supervise the use of any pesticide for any purpose or on any property other 

than as provided in the definition of private applicator." 
3Section 3.2-3900 defines "registered technician" as "an individual who has 

satisfactorily completed the Board requirements for certification to apply 

general use pesticides, and to apply restricted use pesticides while under the 
direct supervision of a certified commercial applicator. Registered technicians 

render services similar to those of a certified commercial applicator, but have 

not completed all the requirements to be eligible for certification as a 

commercial applicator." 
4Source: VDACS 
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5Data source: VDACS 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 

7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
8If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
9"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
10§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the economic impact analysis of the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove the renewal fee for commercial 

applicator renewal certifications and registered 

technician renewal certifications. 

2VAC5-675-30. Commercial applicator certificate fee. 

Any person applying for a certificate as a commercial 

applicator shall pay to the department an initial nonrefundable 

certificate fee of $100 and a biennial nonrefundable renewal 

fee of $100 thereafter. All certificates shall expire at midnight 

on June 30 in the second year after issuance unless suspended 

or revoked for cause. All certificates A certificate not 

suspended or revoked for cause will be renewed upon receipt 

of the biennial renewal fee. If the applicator does not file an 

application for renewal of his certificate prior to COB 

submitted by June 30, the commissioner shall assess a late 

filing fee of 20% that shall be added to the renewal fee. The 

applicant shall pay the total fee prior to the commissioner's 

issuance of the renewal. However, if If the certificate is not 

renewed within 60 days following the expiration of the 

certificate, then such certificate holder shall be required to take 

another examination. The fee for this reexamination or for any 

commercial applicator reexamination pursuant to subsection C 

of § 3.2-3930 of the Code of Virginia shall be $100 and shall 

be nonrefundable. Any person applying to add a category or 

subcategory to his certificate shall pay to the department a 

nonrefundable fee of $35. Federal, state, and local government 

employees certified to use, or supervise the use of, pesticides 

in government programs shall be exempt from any certification 

fees. 

2VAC5-675-40. Registered technician certificate fee. 

Any person applying for a certificate as a registered 

technician shall pay to the department an initial nonrefundable 

certificate fee of $50 and a biennial nonrefundable renewal fee 

of $50 thereafter. All certificates shall expire at midnight on 

June 30 in the second year after issuance unless suspended or 

revoked for cause. A certificate not suspended or revoked for 

cause will be renewed upon receipt of the biennial renewal fee. 

If the an application for renewal of any certificate is not filed 

prior to COB submitted by June 30, a late filing fee of 20% 

shall be assessed and added to the renewal fee and shall be paid 

by the applicant before the renewal shall be issued. If the 

certificate is not renewed within 60 days following the 

expiration of the certificate, then such certificate holder shall 

be required to take another examination. The fee for this 

reexamination pursuant to subsection C of § 3.2-3930 of the 

Code of Virginia shall be $50 and shall be nonrefundable. 

Federal, state, and local government employees certified to use 

pesticides in government programs shall be exempt from any 

certification fees. 

2VAC5-685-130. Renewal of certification. 

A. Any certified private or commercial applicator or 

registered technician who desires to renew his certification 

shall do so biennially for the category or subcategory for which 

he is certified. A certified private or commercial applicator or 

registered technician must first attend board-approved 

recertification courses and submit proof of attendance at such 

courses, or be reexamined in basic pesticide safety and the 

categories desired for recertification. In addition to the 

requirement in this subsection, commercial applicators and 

registered technicians shall also pay the biennial certificate fee 

and submit an application for renewal before the commissioner 

will renew their certification. 

B. A certified commercial applicator or registered technician 

must complete a board-approved recertification course that, at 

a minimum, addresses the following topics: 

1. Legal aspects including: 

a. A reminder to follow label directions including those on 

use, storage, disposal, and transportation; 

b. A review of possible consequences of violating the law; 

c. A reminder that restricted use pesticides purchased 

under an applicator's certificate number must be for use by 

certified commercial applicators only; 

d. A review of a certified commercial applicator's 

responsibilities in supervising the use of restricted use 

pesticides by noncertified applicators; and 
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e. A review of recordkeeping responsibilities of certified 

commercial applicators for restricted use pesticide 

applications; and 

2. Category-related training including: 

a. A review of general safety for the applicator, coworkers, 

and the public; 

b. A review of the environmental aspects of pesticide use, 

including impact on nontarget organisms, wildlife, 

domestic animals, groundwater, etc.; 

c. A review of application techniques, including 

equipment, calibration, and maintenance; 

d. A review of hazards, both personal safety and 

environmental, unique to that specific category; 

e. A review of pertinent information regarding new 

chemistry or new formulations available that would be of 

use to applicators certified in the category; 

f. A review of integrated pest management programs 

applicable to the category; and 

g. A review of pests specific to category, including in-

depth training on identification and control of selected 

specific pests. This section may be tailored to local needs. 

C. A certified private applicator must complete a board-

approved recertification course that, at a minimum, addresses 

the following topics: 

1. General safety; 

2. Legal update; and 

3. Pest management and application technology, including: 

a. A review of category-specific pest management and 

pesticide use patterns; and 

b. A review of category-specific pesticide application and 

handling technology. 

D. A certified private or commercial applicator or registered 

technician may accumulate up to four years of credit by 

attending board-approved recertification courses. 

E. Upon expiration of certification, the certificate of a private 

applicator, commercial applicator, or registered technician 

shall become invalid. Any private applicator, commercial 

applicator, or registered technician who desires to renew his 

certification, but fails to do so within 60 days after its 

expiration, shall be reexamined. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6869; Filed December 30, 2021, 9:09 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC5-30. Virginia State Parks 

Regulations (amending 4VAC5-30-10 through 4VAC5-30-

32, 4VAC5-30-50, 4VAC5-30-150, 4VAC5-30-160, 4VAC5-

30-170, 4VAC5-30-190, 4VAC5-30-220, 4VAC5-30-230, 

4VAC5-30-250, 4VAC5-30-260, 4VAC5-30-274 through 

4VAC5-30-300, 4VAC5-30-370, 4VAC5-30-390 through 

4VAC5-30-420; adding 4VAC5-30-95; repealing 4VAC5-

30-180). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning Director, 

Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main 

Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

4378, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add 4VAC5-30-95, prohibiting public 

urination or defecation, and repeal 4VAC30-180 regarding 

dressing and undressing; (ii) prohibit the use of generators 

at campsites and in the campground at all times; (iii) update 

definitions to reflect current statutory definitions; (iv) 

update procedures to accurately reflect current 

technologies; and (v) clarify rules for individuals visiting 

department properties or using department facilities. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

4VAC5-30-10. Definition of terms Definitions. 

Whenever used in this chapter, the following respective 

words and terms, unless otherwise therein expressly defined, 

shall mean and include each of have the following meanings 

herein respectively set forth. unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Bathing area" means any beach or water area designated by 

the department as a bathing area.  

"Bicycle path" means any path or trail maintained for 

bicycles. 

"Bridle path or trail" means any path or trail maintained for 

persons riding on horseback. 

"Camping Unit unit" means a tent, tent trailer, travel trailer, 

camping trailer, pick-up camper, motor homes home, or any 

other portable device or vehicular-type structure as may be 

developed, marketed, or used for temporary living quarters or 

mailto:lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov
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shelter during periods of recreation, vacation, leisure time, or 

travel. 

"Department" means the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation. 

"Electric power assisted bicycle" means a vehicle that travels 

on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground and 

is equipped with (i) pedals that allow propulsion by human 

power, (ii) a seat for the use of the rider, and (iii) an electric 

motor with an input of no more than 750 watts. 

"Foot path or trail" means any path or trail maintained for 

pedestrians or disabled persons. 

"Immediate family" means relatives living at the same 

common household of residence.  

"Motor vehicle" means any vehicle which that possesses a 

motor of any description used for propulsion or to assist in the 

propulsion of the vehicle. 

"Owner" means any person, firm, association, copartnership, 

or corporation owning, leasing, operating, or having the 

exclusive use of a vehicle, animal, or any other property under 

a lease or otherwise. 

"Park" means, unless specifically limited, all designated state 

parks, recreational areas, parkways, historical and natural 

areas, natural area preserves, sites, and other areas under the 

jurisdiction or management of the Department of Conservation 

and Recreation. 

"Permits" means any all written license licenses issued by or 

under authority of the department, permitting the performance 

of a specified act or acts. 

"Person" means any corporation, company, association, firm, 

an individual, proprietorship, partnership, joint venture, joint 

stock company, syndicate, business trust, estate, club, 

committee, organization, or group of persons acting in concert. 

"Power-driven mobility device" means any mobility device 

powered by batteries, fuel, or other engines, whether or not 

designed primarily for use by individuals with mobility 

disabilities, that is used by individuals with mobility 

disabilities for the purpose of locomotion, including golf carts, 

electronic personal assistance mobility devices (EPAMDs), 

such as the Segway® PT, or any mobility device designed to 

operate in areas without defined pedestrian routes, but that is 

not defined as a "wheelchair." 

"Swimming area" means any beach or water area designated 

by the department as a swimming area. 

"Wheelchair" means a manually-operated or power-driven 

device designed primarily for use by an individual with a 

mobility disability for the main purpose of both indoor and 

outdoor locomotion.  

4VAC5-30-20. Construction of regulations. 

In the interpretation of the Virginia State Parks Regulations 

this chapter, their the provisions shall be construed as follows: 

(i) any terms in the singular shall include the plural; (ii) any 

term in the masculine shall include the feminine and the neuter; 

(iii) any requirements or prohibition of any act shall, 

respectively, extend to and include the causing or procuring, 

directly or indirectly, of such act; (iv) no provision hereof shall 

make unlawful any act necessarily performed by any law-

enforcement officer as defined by § 9.1-101 of the Code of 

Virginia or employee of the department in line of duty or work 

as such, or by any person, his agents or employees, in the 

proper and necessary execution of the terms of any agreement 

with the department; (v) any act otherwise prohibited by 

Virginia State Parks Regulations this chapter, provided it is not 

otherwise prohibited by law or local ordinance, shall be lawful 

if performed under, by virtue of, and strictly within the 

provisions of a permit so to do, and to the extent authorized 

thereby,; and (vi) this chapter are is in addition to and a 

supplement to the state vehicle and traffic laws set out in the 

Code of Virginia, which are in force in all parks and which are 

incorporated herein and made a part hereof. 

4VAC5-30-30. Territorial scope. 

All Virginia State Parks Regulations This chapter shall be 

effective within and upon all state parks, recreational areas, 

historical and natural areas, natural area preserves, roads, sites, 

and other areas in the Commonwealth which that may be under 

the management or control of the Department of Conservation 

and Recreation and shall regulate the use thereof by all persons. 

This chapter shall also be effective in any lands operated as 

Breaks Interstate Park in accordance with the Compact entered 

into pursuant to § 10.1-205.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC5-30-32. General. 

Failure to comply with the Virginia State Parks Regulations 

this chapter, as well as other applicable laws and regulations, 

and agency signage, may result in revocation of permits or 

registrations, forfeiture of applicable prices paid, a Virginia 

uniform summons, arrest, and prosecution. 

4VAC5-30-50. Flowers, plants, minerals, etc. 

No person shall remove, destroy, cut down, scar, mutilate, 

injure, deface, take, or gather in any manner any tree, flower, 

fern, shrub, rock or plant, historical artifact, or mineral in any 

park unless a special permit has been obtained for scientific 

collecting. Edible fruits, berries, fungi, or nuts may be 

collected for personal or individual use only. To obtain a 

special permit for scientific collecting in a state park, a natural 

area, or a natural area preserve, a Research and Collecting 

Permit Application must be completed and provided to the 

department at: in a manner specified by the department. 

Department of Conservation and Recreation 

203 Governor Street, Suite 306 
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Richmond, Virginia 23219-2010. 

To obtain a special permit for scientific collecting in a natural 

area or natural area preserve, a Research and Collecting Permit 

Application must be completed and provided to the department 

at: 

Department of Conservation and Recreation 

Division of Natural Heritage 

217 Governor Street, Third Floor 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

4VAC5-30-95. Public urination or defecation.  

Urinating or defecating other than at the places provided 

therefore is prohibited, with the exception for path or trail areas 

or other remote sites that may not have utilities provided. In 

such cases, urinating or defecating should not be seen by the 

public and should take place at least 200 feet from any 

waterway or trail. 

4VAC5-30-150. Camping. 

A. Permit Reservation. Camping will be conducted only 

under permit a valid reservation. A permit reservation is 

obtained by completing a valid Virginia State Parks Camping 

Permit Form or Honor Camping Application and submitting 

payment from the individual park office, through the 

department's designated reservation system, or through the 

completion of the self-pay process. Payment must be submitted 

in accordance with all applicable prices and payment policies. 

A camping permit can only be issued by the park management. 

Only an individual 18 years of age or older who is a member 

of and accepts responsibility for the camping party may be 

issued a camping permit reservation. The act of placing a 

reservation through the state parks reservation center does not 

constitute a camping permit. 

Camping may only be performed in strict accordance with the 

terms and conditions of the permit reservation. Any violation 

of the permit by the permittee or terms of the reservation by 

any member of the party shall constitute grounds for permit 

reservation revocation by the department, or by its authorized 

representative, whose action shall be final. In case of 

revocation of any permit reservation, all moneys paid for or on 

account thereof shall at the option of the department be 

forfeited and retained by the department. 

B. Occupancy. Occupancy of each campsite shall be limited 

to not more than six persons or one immediate family, or other 

maximum occupancy permitted through an approved special 

use permit. The term immediate family shall mean relatives 

living at the same common household of residence. 

C. Camping units, equipment, and vehicles. All camping 

units, equipment, and vehicles shall be placed within the 

perimeter of the designated campsite without infringing on 

adjoining campsites or vegetation. Where high impact areas 

have been designated, all camping units, equipment, and 

vehicles shall be placed within the defined borders of the high 

impact area. There is a maximum of two camping units allowed 

per campsite; no more than one axled camping unit is allowed 

per campsite. 

D. Camping periods. No camping shall be permitted in excess 

of 14 nights within a 30-day period. Park managers shall have 

the authority to increase the number of nights permitted by an 

approved special use permit. Check-in time shall be 4 p.m. 

Check-out time is 3 p.m. Campers may be permitted to occupy 

campsites prior to 4 p.m., but no earlier than 8 a.m., if 

campsites are available. Any personal property left at the 

campsite after the reservation period check-out time shall be 

removed by park staff at the owner's expense. 

E. Motor vehicles. Only two motor vehicles in addition to the 

camping unit allowed under subsection C of this section are 

permitted on a campsite with no additional prices. All motor 

vehicles shall be parked in the designated parking area of each 

campsite. Any additional vehicles beyond two are subject to 

daily parking prices and shall be parked at designated overflow 

parking areas. 

F. Visitors. All visitors shall register on the visitors register. 

No visitor shall be allowed before 6 a.m. and all visitors must 

leave the campground area by 10 p.m. All visitors shall be 

charged the appropriate daily parking or admissions prices 

prior to entering the park. 

G. Quiet hours. Quiet hours in the campgrounds shall be from 

10 p.m. to 6 a.m. Generators Excessive noise, amplified music, 

or other disturbances that can be heard outside the perimeters 

of the user's campsite are prohibited during the designated 

quiet hours. 

H. Pets. Domestic and household pets are permitted in 

campgrounds only with payment of all applicable prices. 

Owners are responsible for cleaning up after their pets and for 

ensuring their pets do not disturb other campers. Horses and 

other livestock are not permitted unless facilities are 

specifically provided for them. 

I. Generators. The use of combustion generators at campsites 

and in the campground is prohibited except when used by the 

department to perform necessary construction, maintenance, or 

repairs or for an activity approved by special permit. 

J. Damage to any campground or campsite, not considered 

normal wear and tear, may be billed to the person registering 

for the campground or campsite on an itemized cost basis in 

accordance with the reservation acknowledgment or 

reservation confirmation.  

4VAC5-30-160. Cabins. 

A. Use of state park cabins, camping cabins, lodges, and yurts 

shall only be permitted pursuant to the reservation 

acknowledgment, reservation confirmation, or established 

department regulations (4VAC5-36) and policy dealing with 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1220 

reservations, registration, occupancy, prices, length of stay, 

and rental period. 

B. Damage to any park cabin, camping cabin, lodge, or yurt 

not considered normal wear and tear may be billed to the 

person registering for the cabin on an itemized cost basis in 

accordance with the reservation acknowledgment or 

reservation confirmation.  

4VAC5-30-170. Bathing Swimming, where permitted. 

No person shall bathe, wade, or swim in any department-

owned waters in any park except at such times, and in such 

places, as the department may designate as bathing swimming 

areas, and unless so covered with a bathing suit as to prevent 

any indecent exposure of the person. 

4VAC5-30-180. Dressing and undressing. (Repealed.) 

Dressing and undressing, except in bathhouses, camping units 

or cabins is prohibited.  

4VAC5-30-190. Boating. 

Boating of any kind in a bathing swimming area is prohibited. 

4VAC5-30-220. Fires. 

No person shall kindle, build, maintain, or use a fire other 

than in places provided or designated for such purposes in any 

park. Any fire shall be continuously under the care and 

direction of a competent person over sixteen older than 16 

years of age from the time it is kindled until it is extinguished. 

No person within the confines of any park shall throw away or 

discard any lighted match, cigarette, cigar, charcoal, or other 

burning object. Any lighted match, cigarette, cigar, charcoal, 

or other burning object must be entirely extinguished before 

being thrown away or discarded. 

4VAC5-30-230. Smoking. 

No person shall smoke or use electronic vaporizing devices 

in any structure or place in any park where smoking is 

prohibited. Smoking or the use of electronic vaporizing devices 

may be forbidden by the department or its authorized agent in 

any part of any park. 

4VAC5-30-250. Fishing. 

The taking of fish by hook and line, the taking of bait fish by 

cast net, and crabbing by line and net is permitted in the 

designated areas in each park, the only stipulations being that 

persons taking fish by hook and line must have a state fishing 

license required by law and comply with the applicable 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries Wildlife Resources 

or Marine Resources Commission rules and regulations. This 

is intended to be a complete list of authorized fishing activities 

in parks and does not allow other activities requiring fishing 

licenses such as bow-fishing or the taking of amphibians, 

which are prohibited. 

4VAC5-30-260. Animals at large. 

No person shall cause or permit any animal owned by him, in 

his custody, or under his control, except an animal restrained 

by a leash not exceeding six feet in length, to enter any park, 

and each such animal found at large may be seized and 

disposed of as provided by the law or ordinance covering 

disposal of stray animals on highways or public property then 

in effect at the place where such stray animals may be seized. 

No animal shall be left unattended by its owner in any park at 

any time, except for animals in designated stables. Animals 

shall not be allowed in bathing swimming areas under any 

circumstances, except for service or hearing dogs identifiable 

in accordance with § 51.5-44 of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC5-30-274. Foot path or trail use. 

Persons shall only use paths, trails, or other designated areas 

in any park. No person shall engage in an activity expressly 

prohibited by a trail safety sign. With the exception of 

wheelchairs, power-driven mobility devices are only allowed 

on those paths or trails that have been designated by the 

department as appropriate for such use. 

4VAC5-30-276. Bicycle path use. 

No person shall use a bicycle, an electric power-assisted 

bicycle, or a similarly propelled devices device in any area 

other than designated bicycle paths in any park. Any 

authorized use of an electric power-assisted bicycle will be 

limited to class one or class two bicycles as defined in § 46.2-

100 of the Code of Virginia. No person shall engage in an 

activity expressly prohibited by a trail safety sign park rules 

and regulations. 

4VAC5-30-280. Bridle path use. 

No person shall use, ride, or drive a horse or other animal in 

any park except along a bridle path, to or from a parking area 

associated with such bridle path, or other designated area. No 

person shall engage in an activity expressly prohibited by a 

trail safety sign park rules and regulations. 

4VAC5-30-290. Vehicles; where prohibited. 

No person shall drive a motor vehicle in any park within or 

upon a safety zone, walk, bicycle or bridle path, fire truck trail, 

service road or any part of any park not designated for, or 

customarily used by motor vehicles, except properly 

authorized individuals engaged in fire control management, 

park maintenance, or other necessary park-related activities. 

4VAC5-30-300. Parking. 

No owner or driver shall cause or permit a vehicle to stand 

anywhere in any park outside of designated parking spaces, 

except a reasonable time in a drive to receive or discharge 

passengers in a reasonable amount of time in areas where 

standing vehicles are not prohibited. Parking in designated 

camping or cabin parking spaces is prohibited unless the 
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individual is registered as an occupant of or a visitor to that 

specific campsite or cabin [ . ]  

4VAC5-30-370. Advertising. 

No sign, notice, or advertisements of any nature shall be 

erected or posted at any place within any park, nor shall any 

noise be made for the purpose of attracting attention to any 

exhibition of any kind except for services, programs, and 

events approved by the park management. 

4VAC5-30-390. Alms and contributions. 

No person or organization shall within any park solicit alms 

or contributions for any purpose unless approved by the park 

management. 

4VAC5-30-400. Aviation. 

No person shall voluntarily bring, land, or cause to descend 

or alight unlawfully operate within or upon any park, any 

airplane, remote control model aircraft, flying machine 

helicopter, unmanned aerial system, drone, balloon, parachute, 

or other apparatus for aviation. "Voluntarily" in this connection 

shall mean anything other than a forced landing. Rescue and 

evacuation aircraft are exempt for emergencies and approved 

training exercises. 

4VAC5-30-410. Importation of firewood. 

A. The Director of the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation may prohibit the importation of firewood or certain 

types of firewood into any park or allow such entry only under 

specified conditions when such firewood may be infected or 

infested with a species of concern. Any firewood transported 

to the park by a person found to be in violation of such 

prohibition shall be confiscated and destroyed. Should any 

person charged under this section be found not guilty, the 

person shall be reimbursed for only the cost of the firewood. 

B. When the director makes a written determination to 

implement subsection A of this section, the following 

minimum requirements apply: 

1. Such determination shall be posted to the department's 

website and posted at the park where applicable. 

2. Firewood to be used by any person within a park must be 

purchased from the park, must be proven to be from a 

certified source in accordance with subdivision 3 of this 

subsection if transported to the park, or may be collected 

from within the confines of the park in accordance with park 

policy. The department may allow for the sale or distribution 

of firewood within the park with prior written agreement that 

it has been treated in accordance with subdivision 3 of this 

subsection. Firewood includes all wood, processed or 

unprocessed, meant for use in a campfire. Such ban shall not 

include scrap building materials, such as 2x4s; two-by-fours, 

but may extend to wood pallets and other wood product 

packing materials as determined by the director. 

3. Firewood certified to be sold and distributed within the 

park by a firewood dealer shall be subject to at least one of 

the following conditions: 

a. Exclude all ash tree material quarantined tree species from 

the firewood production area. Dealers will have to 

demonstrate ability to identify and separate firewood species. 

b. Remove bark and outer half inch of sapwood off of all 

nonconiferous firewood. 

c. Kiln dry all nonconiferous firewood to USDA 

specifications. 

d. Heat treat all nonconiferous firewood to USDA 

specifications. 

e. Fumigate all nonconiferous firewood to USDA 

specifications. 

f. Offer conclusive proof demonstrating to the satisfaction of 

the department that the origin of the wood was from a 

noninfected area. 

g. Offer conclusive proof demonstrating to the satisfaction of 

the department that the wood containing the infecting or 

infesting species of concern has been properly treated and the 

species is controlled by an alternative control mechanism. 

The director may eliminate or restrict conditions offered in 

this subsection as determined to be necessary to properly 

address the infecting or infesting species of concern to the 

satisfaction of the department. 

4VAC5-30-420. Release of domestic animals or wildlife on 

park property. 

No person shall release domestic animals, fish, or wildlife 

captured or propagated elsewhere into any park, unless 

approved by the park management. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC5-30) 

[ Natural Area Preserve Research and Collecting Permit 

Application, DCR 199-003 (11/07). 

Research and Collecting Permit Application, DCR 199-043 

(12/00).  

Cabin & Camping Permit (1/10). 

Research and Collecting Permit Application, DCR 199-043 

(rev. 7/2014) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-4581; Filed January 11, 2022, 3:07 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cbf2004581~13.pdf&typ=40&actno=004581&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7cbf2004581~13.pdf&typ=40&actno=004581&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-210. Compulsory Minimum 

Training Standards for Direct Care and Security 

Employees in Juvenile Correctional Centers (adding 

6VAC35-210-10 through 6VAC35-210-90). 

Statutory Authority:§ 66-10 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Ken Davis, Regulatory Affairs Coordinator, 

Department of Juvenile Justice, 600 East Main Street, 20th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 807-0486, FAX 

(804) 371-6490, or email kenneth.davis@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 66-10 of the Code of Virginia vests the Board 

of Juvenile Justice with the authority to establish compulsory 

minimum entry-level, in service, and advanced training 

standards and the time required for completion of such training 

for persons employed as juvenile correctional officers at a 

juvenile correctional facility and requires such training to 

address various topics related to pregnant residents. 

Purpose: The new regulation is essential to meet the statutory 

directives and to ensure that direct care and security employees 

in state-operated juvenile correctional centers receive 

adequate, timely, and relevant training to execute their duties 

in juvenile correctional centers safely and efficiently. 

Additionally, the new regulation will ensure that staff are 

prepared to supervise any pregnant youth who may be assigned 

to a juvenile correctional center. Finally, the new regulation 

will authorize department staff to apply appropriate sanctions 

for direct care and security staff who fail to satisfy the training 

requirements. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

department does not expect these regulatory provisions to 

generate controversy. The proposal complies with the statutory 

mandate by identifying the various training requirements and 

topics for direct care employees in state-operated juvenile 

correctional centers. The proposal was developed with 

consensus among representatives from the department's 

Training and Development Unit, Division of Residential 

Services, and Executive Staff, and the department believes 

these minimum standards will ensure that entry-level and 

seasoned direct care and security staff are sufficiently trained 

to perform their roles competently and safely. 

Substance: The new regulatory chapter: (i) provides the new 

chapter's scope as applying exclusively to direct care and 

security employees in state-operated and certain privately 

operated juvenile correction centers (JCCs); (ii) requires 

department-approved instructors to provide the applicable 

training; (iii) breaks down the 180 hours of training required 

for direct care and security employees to include a combination 

of academy and unit training, orientation, and staff 

observation, along with additional training regarding pregnant 

residents; (iv) establishes the required volume of annual 

training for such employees and imposes advanced or 

specialized training before authorized staff may use certain 

equipment; (v) outlines the time requirements for completion 

of training; (vi) sets out testing and attendance requirements 

for the successful completion of training and establishing 

sanctions for staff who fail to meet such requirements; (vii) 

directs the department to develop and the board to approve 

performance outcomes that identify the competencies and 

knowledge that should result from training; and (viii) directs 

the department to maintain documentation for a three-year 

period demonstrating each applicable employee's compliance 

with these requirements. 

Issues: The proposed regulation is expected to provide 

numerous benefits to the public and the department. Ensuring 

that staff receive sufficient and proper training helps to reduce 

the number of facility incidents and creates an environment 

more conducive to resident growth and rehabilitation, which 

ultimately increases the likelihood of the resident's success 

after release. Applicants for direct care or security positions in 

JCCs will have clear guidance as to the expectations regarding 

training, which may decrease staff turnover and conserve 

training resources. The department does not anticipate any 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth associated 

with the proposed new regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic 

impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Juvenile Justice (Board) proposes to promulgate a 

new regulation, 6VAC35-210 Compulsory Minimum Training 

Standards for Direct Care Employees (regulation). 

Background. The Board's existing 6VAC35-71 Regulation 

Governing Juvenile Correctional Centers contains 

requirements for initial and annual training for direct care and 

security employees in juvenile correctional centers (JCCs).2  

Chapter 526 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly added that for 

juvenile correctional officers who may have contact with 

pregnant inmates, such standards shall include training on the 

general care of pregnant women, the impact of restraints on 

pregnant inmates and fetuses, the impact of being placed in 

restrictive housing or solitary confinement on pregnant 

inmates, and the impact of body cavity searches on pregnant 

mailto:kenneth.davis@djj.virginia.gov
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inmates. Consequently, the proposed regulation includes such 

training. 

The Board proposes to further specify the training required at 

JCCs by promulgating 6VAC35-210 Compulsory Minimum 

Training Standards for Direct Care Employees. The proposed 

regulation works in concert with 6VAC35-71 Regulation 

Governing Juvenile Correctional Centers and includes 

requirements pertaining to Chapter 526. 

The proposed regulation consists of the following sections: 

Section 10 Definitions 

Section 20 Applicability - Limits the proposed regulation's 

scope to apply exclusively to direct care employees3 and 

security employees4 working full-time or part-time in 

state-operated and certain privately operated JCCs. 

Section 30 Training providers - States that all training 

required by the regulation be provided by Department of 

Juvenile Justice (DJJ) approved general instructors unless 

otherwise specified. 

Section 40 Compulsory minimum training standards - 

States that individuals hired as direct care employees or 

security employees shall successfully complete: (i) a 

minimum of 120 hours of DJJ-approved initial training in 

accordance with 6VAC35-71-160 Regulation Governing 

Juvenile Correctional Centers; (ii) facility orientation in 

accordance with 6VAC35-71-150 Regulation Governing 

Juvenile Correctional Centers; (iii) a minimum of 24 hours 

of juvenile correctional center staff observation; and (iv) 

at least 36 hours of training on a juvenile correctional 

center housing unit. States that direct care employees and 

security employees shall receive training by medical staff 

on the topics specified in Chapter 526. States that existing 

direct care employees and security employees shall 

complete a minimum of 40 hours of DJJ-approved annual 

training in accordance with 6VAC35-71-170 Regulation 

Governing Juvenile Correctional Centers. States that 

advanced or specialized training shall be required only for 

direct care and security employees authorized to use 

mechanical restraints, the mechanical restraint chair, and 

protective devices. 

Section 50 Time requirements for completion of training - 

States that a direct care or security employee may not work 

directly with a resident until the employee has completed 

all training and orientation required in Section 40 or unless 

at least one other employee who has completed all 

applicable facility-based orientation and training is 

present and supervising the resident. States that required 

advanced or specialized training shall be completed before 

direct care or security employees may apply mechanical 

restraints, the mechanical restraint chair, or protective 

devices. 

Section 60 Testing and attendance requirements - States 

that direct care employees and security employees shall be 

deemed to have successfully completed training upon 

satisfying the following testing requirements:(i) 

successful passage of all administered written and 

practical tests, and (ii) demonstrated mastery in all 

physical restraint techniques. States that direct care 

employees and security employees shall be deemed 

noncompliant with these minimum standards and subject 

to the sanctions set out in Section 70 if they are absent 

from training for a cumulative period of 32 hours or more 

during the first five weeks of initial training, regardless of 

the topic addressed. 

Section 70 Failure to comply with minimum standards - 

States that a direct care or security employee who fails to 

comply with the minimum attendance requirements or to 

successfully complete the compulsory initial training shall 

be removed from service with the department and required 

to repeat the application and training process in order to 

qualify for a direct care or security employee position in 

the future. 

Section 80 Development and approval of performance 

outcomes - Directs DJJ to develop and the Board to 

approve performance outcomes that identify the 

competencies and knowledge that should result from 

training. 

Section 90 Training documentation - Directs DJJ to 

maintain documentation for a three-year period 

demonstrating each applicable employee's compliance 

with these requirements. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Currently there is only one JCC, 

a state-operated facility in Chesterfield County (Bon Air 

Juvenile Correctional Center). There are no current plans to 

open or use additional JCCs.5  

According to DJJ, with the exception of training for pregnant 

residents, all of the requirements in the proposed regulation are 

consistent with current practice at the JCC. All training is 

conducted by DJJ employees (Section 30). Pursuant to the 

existing 6VAC35-71-160 Regulation Governing Juvenile 

Correctional Centers, there are already 120 hours of initial 

classroom/academic training provided (Section 40). There is 

facility orientation in accordance with 6VAC35-71-150 

Regulation Governing Juvenile Correctional Centers (Section 

40). Existing employees annually complete a minimum of 40 

hours of training in accordance with 6VAC35-71-170 

Regulation Governing Juvenile Correctional Centers (Section 

40). The requirements concerning advanced or specialized 

training for employees authorized to use mechanical restraints, 

the mechanical restraint chair, and protective devices is 

consistent with 6VAC35-71-1180 Regulation Governing 

Juvenile Correctional Centers (Section 40). Time requirements 

for completion of training (Section 50) is consistent with 

6VAC35-71-160 and 6VAC35-71-170 Regulation Governing 

Juvenile Correctional Centers. The proposed requirement that 

DJJ maintain documentation for a minimum period of three 

years demonstrating that each direct care employee and 

security employee has complied with the requirements 
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(Section 90) is consistent with 6VAC35-71-30 Regulation 

Governing Juvenile Correctional Centers. 

Requirements for a minimum of 24 hours of JCC staff 

observation (watching, not hands-on) and at least 36 hours of 

training on a JCC housing unit (hands-on) are not currently 

specified in regulation or statute, but are consistently done in 

practice according to DJJ (Section 40). The testing and 

attendance requirements of proposed Section 60 are consistent 

with what DJJ applies in practice, but the specific requirements 

are not currently in regulation or statute. The proposed Section 

70 formalizes DJJ's current process for addressing JCC direct 

care and security staff who fail to meet the initial training 

requirements and thus is not expected to have a substantive 

impact on facility operations. DJJ has already produced, and 

the Board has already approved, a document with performance 

outcomes that identify the competencies and knowledge that 

should result from training (Section 80). 

DJJ states that it does not currently include the training 

concerning pregnant residents in its curriculum since the JCC 

does not currently have any female residents (Section 40). The 

agency states that if in the future there were to be female 

residents, the medical staff would then provide the training. 

None of the proposed requirements would likely substantively 

produce additional or reduced expenditures, as with the 

exception of the training concerning pregnant residents, all of 

the proposed requirements reflect current practice. The agency 

believes the training regarding pregnant residents can be 

provided by their medical staff, and the additional time and 

effort required would be minimal. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

regulation would affect the one existing state-operated JCC. 

There current are no privately-operated JCCs. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.6 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. No adverse impact 

is indicated for this proposal. 

Small Businesses7 Affected. The proposal is unlikely to affect 

costs for small businesses.  

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed regulation would affect the 

one state-operated JCC, which is located in Chesterfield 

County. The proposal does not require additional expenditures 

for this or any other localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation is 

unlikely to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

regulation is unlikely to substantively affect the use and value 

of private property or real estate development costs. 

_______________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 
2"Juvenile correctional center" is a public or private facility operated by or 

under contract with the department where care is provided to residents under 
the direct care of the Department of Juvenile Justice 24 hours a day, seven days 

a week. 

3"Direct care employee" is an employee whose primary job responsibilities are 
(i) maintaining the safety, care, and well-being of residents; (ii) implementing 

the structured program of care and the behavior management program; and (iii) 

maintaining the security of juvenile correction center facility. For purposes of 
this regulation, the term "direct care employee" shall include a security 

employee assigned, either on a primary or as-needed basis, to perform the 

duties of clauses (i) through (iii) of this definition and who is required to 
receive initial and annual training in these areas in order to carry out the 

responsibilities in clauses (i) through (iii) of this definition. 

4"Security employee" means an employee who is responsible for maintaining 
the safety, care, and well-being of residents and the safety and security of the 

facility. 

5Source: DJJ 
6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 
7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
8"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
9§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

responsible Board of Juvenile Justice agency representatives 

have reviewed the Department of Planning and Budget's 

(DPB's) economic impact analysis, and the agency is in 

agreement with DPB's analysis.  

Summary: 

The action establishes a new regulation providing 

compulsory training requirements for direct care and 

security employees in juvenile correctional centers 

operated by the Department of Juvenile Justice. In 

addition, the new regulation satisfies requirements of 

Chapter 366 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly and Chapter 

526 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly by requiring the 

standards include training on various topics involving 

pregnant residents. 
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Chapter 210 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Direct Care 

and Security Employees in Juvenile Correctional Centers 

6VAC35-210-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Board" means the Board of Juvenile Justice.  

"Department" means the Department of Juvenile Justice. 

"Direct care employee" means an employee whose primary 

job responsibilities are (i) maintaining the safety, care, and 

well-being of residents; (ii) implementing the structured 

program of care and the behavior management program; and 

(iii) maintaining the security of the facility. For purposes of 

this chapter, the term "direct care employee" shall include a 

security employee assigned, either on a primary or as-needed 

basis, to perform the duties of clauses (i), (ii), and (iii) of this 

definition and who is required to receive initial and annual 

training in these areas in order to carry out the responsibilities 

in clauses (i), (ii), and (iii) of this definition.  

"Director" means the director of the department. 

"Juvenile correctional center" means a public or private 

facility operated by or under contract with the department 

where care is provided to residents under the direct care of the 

department 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

"Mechanical restraint" means an approved mechanical device 

that involuntarily restricts the freedom of movement or 

voluntary functioning of a limb or portion of an individual's 

body as a means of controlling his physical activities when the 

individual being restricted does not have the ability to remove 

the device.  

"Mechanical restraint chair" means an approved chair used to 

restrict the freedom of movement or voluntary functioning of 

a portion of an individual's body as a means of controlling the 

individual's physical activities while seated and either 

stationary or being transported.  

"Protective device" means an approved device placed on a 

portion of a resident's body to protect the resident or staff from 

injury.  

"Security employee" means an employee who is responsible 

for maintaining the safety, care, and well-being of residents 

and the safety and security of the facility. 

6VAC35-210-20. Applicability.  

This chapter applies exclusively to direct care employees and 

security employees working full-time or part-time in a state-

operated juvenile correctional center or in a privately operated 

juvenile correctional center governed by the Juvenile 

Corrections Private Management Act (§ 66-25.3 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). Staff employed in juvenile boot camps or 

locally, regionally, or privately operated alternative direct care 

programs for juveniles are not subject to the requirements of 

this chapter.  

6VAC35-210-30. Training providers.  

All training required by this chapter shall be provided by 

department-approved general instructors unless otherwise 

specified.  

6VAC35-210-40. Compulsory minimum training 

standards.  

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 9 of § 66-10 of 

the Code of Virginia, the board establishes these compulsory 

minimum training standards. 

B. Individuals hired as direct care employees or security 

employees shall successfully complete the following: 

1. A minimum of 120 hours of department-approved initial 

training in accordance with 6VAC35-71-160; 

2. Facility orientation in accordance with 6VAC35-71-150; 

3. A minimum of 24 hours of juvenile correctional center 

staff observation, during which time the trainee shall not be 

counted in coverage for purposes of meeting the staffing 

ratio requirements in 6VAC35-71-830; and 

4. At least 36 hours of training on a juvenile correctional 

center housing unit.  

C. Direct care employees and security employees shall 

receive training by medical staff on the following topics: (i) the 

general care of pregnant residents; (ii) the impact of placement 

in restrictive housing or room confinement, body cavity 

searches, and restraints on pregnant residents; and (iii) the 

impact of restraints on fetuses.  

D. Direct care employees and security employees shall 

complete a minimum of 40 hours of department-approved 

annual training in accordance with 6VAC35-71-170. 

E. Advanced or specialized training shall be required only for 

direct care and security employees authorized to use 

mechanical restraints, the mechanical restraint chair, and 

protective devices. The department shall make other advanced 

or specialized training available to direct care employees and 

security employees as a means of enhancing job skills and 

competencies but shall not require direct care or security 

employees to complete advanced or specialized training in 

order to assume position responsibilities.  

6VAC35-210-50. Time requirements for completion of 

training.  

A. A direct care or security employee may not work directly 

with a resident until the employee has completed all training 

and orientation required in 6VAC35-210-40 or unless at least 

one other employee who has completed all applicable facility-
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based orientation and training is present and supervising the 

resident. 

B. Direct care and security employees shall successfully 

complete additional refresher training on a recurring basis in 

accordance with subsection D of 6VAC35-210-40.  

C. Required advanced or specialized training shall be completed 

before direct care or security employees may apply mechanical 

restraints, the mechanical restraint chair, or protective devices.  

6VAC35-210-60. Testing and attendance requirements.  

A. Direct care employees and security employees shall be 

deemed in successful completion of training upon satisfying 

the following testing requirements: 

1. Successful passage of all administered written and 

practical tests, and  

2. Demonstrated mastery in all physical restraint techniques.  

B. Direct care employees and security employees shall be 

deemed noncompliant with these minimum standards and 

subject to the sanctions set out in 6VAC35-210-70 if they are 

absent from training for a cumulative period of 32 hours or 

more during the first five weeks of initial training, regardless 

of the topic addressed.  

6VAC35-210-70. Failure to comply with minimum 

standards.  

A direct care or security employee who fails to comply with the 

minimum attendance requirements or to successfully complete the 

compulsory initial training shall be removed from service with the 

department and required to repeat the application and training 

process in order to qualify for a direct care or security employee 

position in the future. The department shall follow all applicable 

policies, rules, and regulations of the Virginia Department of 

Human Resource Management before imposing this sanction.  

6VAC35-210-80. Development and approval of 

performance outcomes.  

A. The department shall develop a performance outcomes 

document that describes the knowledge and competencies the 

department expects an employee to demonstrate after 

completing the training required in this chapter.  

B. The performance outcomes shall be approved by the board. 

The board shall have the authority to amend these outcomes at any 

time and to establish a practicable timeline for implementation.  

6VAC35-210-90. Training documentation.  

The department shall maintain documentation for a minimum 

period of three years demonstrating that each direct care 

employee and security employee has complied with the 

requirements in this chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6594; Filed January 5, 2022, 2:07 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-23. Licensure Regulations 

for School Personnel (amending 8VAC20-23-40, 8VAC20-

23-110, 8VAC20-23-390). 

8VAC20-543. Regulations Governing the Review and 

Approval of Education Programs in Virginia (amending 

8VAC20-543-20, 8VAC20-543-80, 8VAC20-543-340, 

8VAC20-543-570). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-298.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Leslie Sale, Director of Policy, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

225-2092, or email leslie.sale@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

State Board of Education's authority to promulgate regulations, 

generally, allowing the board to promulgate such regulations 

as may be necessary to carry out its powers and duties. 

Additionally, § 22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

board prescribe by regulation the requirements for the 

licensure of teachers and other school personnel. 

Purpose: This regulatory change is to conform regulations to 

legislation of 2021 Special Session I of the General Assembly. 

The bills that initiated these regulatory changes were each 

offered to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens. 

Regulatory changes related to requirements for earning or 

renewing a license with a history and social science 

endorsement are the result of recommendations from the 

Virginia African American History Education Commission 

which sought to ensure that content in Virginia schools is 

accurate, inclusive, and relatable for all Virginia students. 

Many educators employed by the Commonwealth's school 

divisions have not taken a course or received professional 

development on teaching African American history and thus 

may not have the knowledge necessary to present students with 

a full and comprehensive representation of African American 

voices. Additional robust professional development is needed 

that outlines specific knowledge required to teach African 

American history. 

Regulatory changes related to special education respond to 

recommendations from Joint Legislative Audit and Review 

Commission's K-12 Special Education in Virginia. In Virginia 

and nationally, approximately 95% of students with disabilities 

are served in public schools, and a majority of students with 

disabilities spend most, and increasingly more, of their time in 

mailto:leslie.sale@doe.virginia.gov
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the general education classroom. Seventy-one percent of 

students with disabilities receive instruction for most of their 

day in the general education classroom. As such, general 

education teachers play a critical role in educating students 

with disabilities, but many general education teachers do not 

know how to effectively teach and support students with 

disabilities. Additionally, there seems to be inconsistent 

knowledge among key school staff about individualized 

education programs (IEPs) and staff roles in developing them. 

These regulatory changes help to address these gaps in teacher 

preparation and training. Amending the requirements for 

teacher licensure and endorsement help to guarantee that those 

qualified to teach are even better-equipped to serve their 

students in the classroom. As a result, public school 

environments will be more inclusive and prepared to meet the 

needs of all students, giving more students an opportunity to 

thrive and succeed in the public school setting. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

board is initiating this regulatory change at the direction of the 

General Assembly. During its 2021 Special Session I, the 

General Assembly passed several bills related to requirements 

for teacher licensure and endorsements as well as educator 

preparation programs in Virginia, each of which required a 

change in the regulations. The board expects this action to be 

noncontroversial and therefore appropriate for the fast-track 

process because the changes were required by legislative 

mandate and the board has exercised minimal discretion in 

effectuating the requirements. 

Substance: This regulatory action amends 8VAC20-23-40, 

8VAC20-23-110, and 8VAC20-23-390, outlining the new 

requirements for initial license or a renewal of a license with 

an endorsement in history and social science as well as the 

renewal of a license, generally. This action also amends 

8VAC20-543-20 and 8VAC20-543-80, adding the 

requirement that approved education preparation programs 

provide instruction in African American history and certain 

topics related to students with disabilities. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory change is the 

assurance that those teachers trained in Virginia-approved 

educator programs or licensed by the State Board of Education 

will be even better-equipped to serve their students. This in 

turn, will create cultures of learning and inclusiveness that 

improve the student experience. In turn, students will have a 

well-rounded knowledge and skillsets to thrive in school and 

beyond. 

While this does add a few new training requirements for 

individuals in the profession, the Virginia African American 

History Commission and Joint Legislative Audit and Review 

Commission highlighted the importance and necessity of these 

amendments. Additionally, the impact the relevant changes 

will have on approved educator preparation programs will be 

marginal as many have already begun to incorporate these 

types of instruction or training opportunities into their course 

maps. Lastly, both teachers and preparation programs will be 

able to leverage resources provided by the Department of 

Education in order to meet these new requirements. 

As a result of this regulatory action, the Commonwealth can 

expect to benefit from future cohorts of students who have a 

more complete understanding of Virginia and United States 

history, and more students with disabilities will be better 

positioned to take on their postsecondary goals, whether that 

be in career or college. There were no disadvantages to the 

agency or Commonwealth identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic 

impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to legislation from the 2021 Special Session I, the 

Board of Education (Board) proposes to add requirements 

concerning teacher training on the instruction of students with 

disabilities and teacher training on African American history. 

Background. 

Legislation on Education for Students with Disabilities. 

Chapters 451 and 452 (Chapters 451 and 452) of the 2021 

Special Session I Acts of Assembly2 specify that: 

"regulations shall include requirements that: 9. Every 

person seeking renewal of a license as a teacher shall 

complete training in the instruction of students with 

disabilities that includes (i) differentiating instruction for 

students depending on their needs; (ii) understanding the 

role of general education teachers on the individualized 

education program team; (iii) implementing effective 

models of collaborative instruction, including co-

teaching; and (iv) understanding the goals and benefits of 

inclusive education for all students." 

Starting with "Every person," the Board proposes to add this 

exact language to 8VAC20-23 Licensure Regulations for 

School Personnel. These requirements would pertain to all 

teachers who seek to renew their license. 

Additionally, the 5th enactment clause of Chapters 451 and 

452 adds four areas of proficiency, stating that: 

"5. That the Board of Education shall review and amend 

its regulations governing general education teacher 

preparation programs for kindergarten through twelfth 

grade to ensure graduates are required to demonstrate 

proficiency in (i) differentiating instruction for students 

depending on their needs; (ii) understanding the role of 

general education teachers on the individualized education 

program team;3 (iii) implementing effective models of 

collaborative instruction, including co-teaching; and (iv) 

understanding the goals and benefits of inclusive 

education for all students." 
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Consequently, the Board proposes to state in 8VAC20-543 

Regulations Governing the Review and Approval of Education 

Programs in Virginia that all educator preparation programs 

must ensure that graduates of candidates in general education 

teacher preparation programs for K-12 demonstrate 

proficiency in the four specified areas noted in the enactment 

clause. 

Additionally, the 6th enactment clause of Chapters 451 and 

452 adds requirements for the Board's regulations, stating that: 

"6. That the Board of Education shall review and amend 

its regulations governing administrator preparation 

programs to ensure graduates are required to demonstrate 

comprehension of (i) key special education laws and 

regulations, (ii) individualized education program 

development, (iii) the roles and responsibilities of special 

education teachers, and (iv) appropriate behavior 

management practices." 

The current Regulations Governing the Review and Approval 

of Education Programs in Virginia include the following: 

"The program in administration and supervision preK-12 

shall ensure that the candidate has completed three years 

of successful, full-time experience in a public school or 

accredited nonpublic school in an instructional personnel 

position that requires licensure in Virginia and 

demonstrated the following competencies: f. Knowledge, 

understanding, and application of the federal and state 

regulatory requirements, and expectations associated with 

identification, education, and evaluation of students with 

disabilities;" 

Due to the 6th enactment clause of Chapters 451 and 452, the 

Board proposes to append the following text, which is identical 

to the text in the legislation: 

"comprehension of (i) key special education laws and 

regulations, (ii) individualized education program 

development; (iii) the roles and responsibilities of special 

education teachers, and (iv) appropriate behavior 

management practices;" 

Legislation on Instruction in African American History. 

Chapters 23 and 24 (Chapters 23 and 24) of the 2021 Special 

Session I Acts of Assembly4 specify that: 

"regulations shall include requirements that: 10. Every 

person seeking initial licensure or renewal of a license 

with an endorsement in history and social sciences shall 

complete instruction in African American history, as 

prescribed by the Board." 

In response, the Board proposes to add the following 

discretionary text to 8VAC20-23 Licensure Regulations for 

School Personnel: 

"Every person seeking initial licensure or renewal of a 

license with an endorsement in history and social sciences 

shall complete instruction in African American history, 

which shall include (i) an understanding of African 

origins; (ii) the African diaspora; (iii) developments of the 

Black experience in North America; (iv) the institution of 

slavery in the United States, including historical 

perspectives of the enslaved; and (v) how African 

Americans helped shape and have been shaped by 

American society." 

These requirements would pertain to all teachers with an 

endorsement in history and social sciences who seek to become 

licensed or renew their license. 

The Board also proposes to add the following discretionary text 

to 8VAC20-543 Regulations Governing the Review and 

Approval of Education Programs in Virginia:5 

"The program in history and social sciences shall ensure 

that the candidate has demonstrated the following 

competencies: (8) The history, culture, contributions, and 

agency of African Americans including (i) an 

understanding of African origins; (ii) the African diaspora; 

(iii) developments of the Black experience in North 

America; (iv) the institution of slavery in the United 

States, including historical perspectives of the enslaved; 

and (v) how African Americans helped shape and have 

been shaped by American society." 

Professional Development Points. Teacher licensure may be 

renewed upon the completion of 270 professional development 

points within a 10-year validity period. Individuals renewing a 

five-year renewable license must complete 180 professional 

development points.6 The Board is not proposing any changes 

to the professional development point requirements for license 

renewal, but as discussed, the proposed required training 

would count toward teachers' professional development points. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. 

Licensure Regulations for School Personnel. According to the 

Department of Education (DOE), the agency will provide free 

online modules for the four requirements pertaining to 

instruction of students with disabilities, and for the five 

requirements about African American history. Thus, the 

proposed requirements stating that for license renewal all 

teachers must complete training in the four instruction of 

students with disabilities categories, and that teachers with an 

endorsement in history and social sciences must complete 

training in the five African American history categories, would 

not require teachers to spend additional money on training. 

Additionally, training through the modules would count 

toward teachers' professional development points.7 For those 

teachers who substitute the new required training for other 

professional development activities that would have taken the 

same or more time, the proposed new requirements would also 

not require more of the teachers' time in net. Those teachers 

who choose to not eliminate other activities that could count 

toward professional development points would be spending 

more time due to the proposed requirements. DOE estimates 

that the online training for African American history would 

take up to five hours. The agency does not yet have an estimate 

for the time it would take to complete the modules for the 

instruction of students with disabilities. 
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The proposed required training likely would provide some 

benefit. The magnitude of the likely benefit would vary 

depending on the effectiveness of the required instruction and 

the policy views of the observer. 

Regulations Governing the Review and Approval of Education 

Programs in Virginia. DOE believes that educator preparation 

programs already provide instruction in (i) differentiating 

instruction for students depending on their needs; (ii) 

understanding the role of general education teachers on the 

individualized education program team; (iii) implementing 

effective models of collaborative instruction, including co-

teaching; and (iv) understanding the goals and benefits of 

inclusive education for all students, in existing required 

courses. For programs that already provide such instruction, 

adding the requirement that programs must ensure that 

graduates demonstrate proficiency in the four categories to the 

Regulations Governing the Review and Approval of Education 

Programs in Virginia would have no impact beyond better 

informing the public that such requirements exist. 

According to DOE, the educator preparation programs would 

have flexibility in how the instruction of students with 

disabilities competencies are addressed, whether as stand-

alone courses, part of existing specialized courses, or through 

workshops/seminars, etc. The educator preparation programs 

would be responsible for making sure the syllabi for courses 

within approved programs include this content. If there are 

educator preparation programs that are not already providing 

instruction in the four categories, the requirement that 

programs must ensure that graduates demonstrate proficiency 

in the four categories may reduce time spent in other areas due 

to the limits of time for lectures, etc., or require that students 

in the programs spend additional time receiving instruction. 

Concerning the proposed requirement that programs in history 

and social sciences ensure that the candidate has demonstrated 

competencies in the five African American history categories, 

DOE states that the programs would have flexibility in or 

options for how the competencies are addressed, that is, stand-

alone courses, major or minor in African American history, 

workshops or seminars, or embedded within secondary history 

methods courses. The proposed requirement may reduce time 

spent in other areas due to the limits of time for lectures, etc., 

or require that students in the programs spend additional time 

receiving instruction. 

The proposal to append "comprehension of (i) key special 

education laws and regulations, (ii) individualized education 

program development; (iii) the roles and responsibilities of 

special education teachers, and (iv) appropriate behavior 

management practices" to the existing requirement that 

programs in administration and supervision preK-12 ensure 

that the candidate demonstrates competency in "Knowledge, 

understanding, and application of the federal and state 

regulatory requirements, and expectations associated with 

identification, education, and evaluation of students with 

disabilities" essentially brings more specificity to the existing 

requirement rather than adding to the requirement. 

As with the proposed requirements for the Licensure 

Regulations for School Personnel, the proposed requirements 

for the Regulations Governing the Review and Approval of 

Education Programs in Virginia would likely produce some 

benefit. The magnitude of the likely benefit would vary 

depending on the effectiveness of the required instruction and 

the policy views of the observer. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect public school teachers in the 

Commonwealth as well as colleges and universities with 

educator preparation programs and their students. The Virginia 

colleges and universities with approved educator preparation 

programs are: Averett University, Bluefield College, 

Bridgewater College, Christopher Newport University, 

Eastern Mennonite University, Emory and Henry College, 

Ferrum College, George Mason University, Hampton 

University, Hollins University, James Madison University, 

Liberty University, Longwood University, Mary Baldwin 

University, Marymount University, Norfolk State University, 

Old Dominion University, Radford University, Randolph 

College, Randolph-Macon College, Regent University, 

Roanoke College, Shenandoah University, Southern Virginia 

University,8 Sweet Briar College, University of Lynchburg, 

University of Mary Washington, University of Richmond, 

University of Virginia, University of Virginia's College at 

Wise, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia State 

University, Virginia Tech, Virginia Union University, Virginia 

Wesleyan University, Washington and Lee University,9 and 

William & Mary. 

The Code of Virginia requires the Department of Planning and 

Budget to assess whether an adverse impact may result from 

the proposed regulation. An adverse impact is indicated if there 

is any increase in net cost or reduction in net revenue for any 

entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. Since, as described, some students in educator 

preparation programs would need to spend additional time 

receiving instruction, or receive less instruction on other 

topics, and the educator preparation programs would need to 

prepare and present additional instruction, the proposal would 

produce some cost.10 Thus, an adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses11 Affected. The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities12 Affected.13 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionately affect particular localities. The proposed 

amendments do not introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would not likely substantively affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Some of the 

private colleges and universities that have educator preparation 

programs would need to add instruction on new topics. 

Additional staff would not likely be needed though. The 
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proposed amendments do not affect real estate development 

costs. 

______________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2Chapters 451 and 452 of the 2021 Special Session I Acts of Assembly are 

identical. 
3Chapter 173 of the 2021 Special Session I Acts of Assembly also specifies 

that he Board shall amend its Regulations Governing the Review and Approval 
of Education Programs in Virginia to ensure that each education preparation 

program graduate in a K-12 demonstrates proficiency in understanding the role 

of general education teachers on the IEP team. 
4Chapters 23 and 24 of the 2021 Special Session I Acts of Assembly are 

identical. 

5Chapters 23 and 24 do not address the regulations governing education 

teacher preparation programs. 
6See 8VAC20-23-110 for more detail. 
7DOE has not yet determined the number of professional development points 

that completing the modules would earn. 

8Washington and Lee University and Southern Virginia University have 
partnered to form the Rockbridge Teacher Education Consortium. See 

https://columns.wlu.edu/rockbridge-county-universities-form-teacher-

education-consortium/ 

9Ibid 
10It is acknowledged that much of the costs stem from the legislation rather 

than from discretionary decisions of the Board. 
11Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
12"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
13§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

largely concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. However, the 

agency reiterates that the broader reason for these regulatory 

changes is to ensure the teacher workforce in Virginia is best 

equipped to serve all of Virginia's public school students. 

Moreover, although this action is in response to legislative 

mandates, these changes were originally proposed by the Joint 

Legislative Audit and Review Commission and the African 

American History Commission after a thorough and 

comprehensive review of special education and history 

education in Virginia public schools. 

Summary: 

The amendments to teacher and administrator 

preparation requirements (i) add the requirement of 

completion of instruction in African American history for 

initial license or a renewal of a license with an 

endorsement in history and social science as well as the 

renewal of a license generally, (ii) add the requirement 

that approved education preparation programs provide 

instruction in African American history, and (iii) add the 

requirement that approved education preparation 

programs provide instruction in certain topics related to 

students with disabilities. The amendments conform the 

regulations to Chapters 23 and 24, 173, and 451 and 452 

of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I.  

8VAC20-23-40. Conditions for licensure. 

A. Applicants for licensure shall: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Pay the appropriate fees as determined by the Virginia 

Board of Education and complete the application process; 

3. Have earned a baccalaureate degree, with the exception of 

the Technical Professional License, from a regionally 

accredited college or university and meet requirements for 

the license sought. Persons seeking initial licensure through 

approved programs from Virginia institutions of higher 

education shall only be licensed as instructional personnel if 

the education endorsement programs have approval by the 

Virginia Board of Education; individuals who have earned a 

degree from an institution in another country shall hold the 

equivalent of a regionally accredited college or university 

degree in the United States, as verified by a Virginia 

Department of Education-approved credential evaluation 

agency, for the required degree for the license; and 

4. Possess good moral character and be free of conditions 

outlined in Part VII (8VAC20-23-720 et seq.) of this chapter. 

B. All candidates who hold at least a baccalaureate degree 

from a regionally accredited college or university and who seek 

an initial Virginia teaching license shall obtain passing scores 

on professional teacher's assessments prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education. With the exception of the career 

switcher program that requires assessments as prerequisites, 

individuals shall complete the professional teacher's 

assessment requirements within the three-year validity of the 

initial provisional license. Candidates seeking a Technical 

Professional License, International Educator License, School 

Manager License, or Pupil Personnel Services License are not 

required to take the professional teacher's assessments. 

Individuals who hold a valid out-of-state license (full 

credential without deficiencies) and who have completed a 

minimum of three years of full-time, successful teaching 

experience in a public or an accredited nonpublic school, 

kindergarten through grade 12, outside of Virginia are exempt 

from the professional teacher's assessment requirements. 

Documentation shall be submitted to verify the school's status 

as a public or an accredited nonpublic school. 

C. All individuals seeking an initial endorsement in 

early/primary education preK-3, elementary education preK-6, 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title8/agency20/chapter23/section110/
https://columns.wlu.edu/rockbridge-county-universities-form-teacher-education-consortium/
https://columns.wlu.edu/rockbridge-county-universities-form-teacher-education-consortium/
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special education-general curriculum, special education-deaf 

and hard of hearing, special education-blindness and visual 

impairments, and individuals seeking an endorsement as a 

reading specialist shall obtain passing scores on a reading 

instructional assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

D. Licensure by reciprocity is set forth in 8VAC20-23-100. A 

school leaders licensure assessment prescribed by the Virginia 

Board of Education shall be met for all individuals who are 

seeking an endorsement authorizing them to serve as principals 

and assistant principals in the public schools. Individuals 

seeking an initial administration and supervision endorsement 

who are interested in serving as central office instructional 

personnel are not required to take and pass the school leaders 

licensure assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

E. Individuals seeking initial licensure shall demonstrate 

proficiency in the relevant content area, communication, 

literacy, and other core skills for educators by achieving a 

qualifying score on professional assessments or meeting 

alternatives evaluation standards as prescribed by the board; 

complete study in attention deficit disorder; complete study in 

gifted education, including the use of multiple criteria to 

identify gifted students; complete study in methods of 

improving communication between schools and families and 

ways of increasing family involvement in student learning at 

home and at school. 

F. Every person seeking initial licensure shall (i) complete 

awareness training, provided by the Department of Education 

on the indicators of dyslexia, as that term is defined by the 

board pursuant to regulations, and the evidence-based 

interventions and accommodations for dyslexia; (ii) complete 

study in child abuse recognition and intervention in accordance 

with curriculum guidelines, developed by the Virginia Board 

of Education in consultation with the Virginia Department of 

Social Services; and (iii) provide evidence of completion of 

certification or training in emergency first aid, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of automated 

external defibrillators. The certification or training program 

shall (a) be based on the current national evidenced-based 

emergency cardiovascular care guidelines for 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an automated 

external defibrillator, such as a program developed by the 

American Heart Association or the American Red Cross; and 

(b) include hands-on practice of the skills necessary to perform 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation. The Virginia Board of 

Education shall provide a waiver for this requirement for any 

person with a disability whose disability prohibits such person 

from completing the certification or training. 

G. Every person seeking initial licensure as a teacher who has 

not received the instruction described in subsection D of 

§ 23.1-902 of the Code of Virginia shall receive instruction or 

training on positive behavior interventions and supports; crisis 

prevention and de-escalation; the use of physical restraint and 

seclusion, consistent with regulations of the Virginia Board of 

Education; and appropriate alternative methods to reduce and 

prevent the need for the use of physical restraint and seclusion. 

H. The teacher of record for verified credit courses for high 

school graduation shall hold a Virginia license with the 

appropriate content endorsement. 

I. Every teacher seeking an initial license in the 

Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of career and 

technical education shall have an industry certification 

credential, as defined in 8VAC20-23-10, in the area in which 

the teacher seeks endorsement. If a teacher seeking an initial 

license in the Commonwealth has not attained an industry 

certification credential in the area in which the teacher seeks 

endorsement, the Virginia Board of Education may, upon 

request of the employing school division or educational 

agency, issue the teacher a provisional license to allow time for 

the teacher to attain such credential. 

J. Every person seeking renewal of a license shall complete 

awareness training, provided by the Virginia Department of 

Education, on the indicators of dyslexia, as that term is defined 

by the Virginia Board of Education pursuant to regulations, 

and the evidence-based interventions and accommodations for 

dyslexia. 

K. Every person seeking renewal of a license as a teacher 

shall complete training in the instruction of students with 

disabilities that includes (i) differentiating instruction for 

students depending on their needs; (ii) understanding the role 

of general education teachers on individual education program 

teams; (iii) implementing effective models of collaborative 

instruction, including co-teaching; and (iv) understanding the 

goals and benefits of inclusive education for all students.  

L. No teacher who seeks a provisional license shall be 

required to meet any requirement set forth in subdivision F, G, 

or I as a condition of such licensure, but each teacher shall 

complete each such requirement during the first year of 

provisional licensure. 

L. M. Every person seeking initial licensure of a license with 

an endorsement as a school counselor shall complete training 

in the recognition of mental health disorder and behavioral 

distress, including depression, trauma, violence, youth suicide, 

and substance abuse. 

N. Every person seeking initial licensure or renewal of a 

license with an endorsement in history and social sciences shall 

complete instruction in African American history, which shall 

include (i) an understanding of African origins; (ii) the African 

diaspora; (iii) developments of the Black experience in North 

America; (iv) the institution of slavery in the United States, 

including historical perspectives of the enslaved; and (v) how 

African Americans helped shape and have been shaped by 

American society.  
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8VAC20-23-110. Requirements for renewing a license. 

A. The Division Superintendent, Postgraduate Professional, 

Collegiate Professional, Technical Professional, Pupil 

Personnel Services, Online Teacher, and School Manager 

Licenses may be renewed upon the completion of 270 

professional development points within a 10-year validity 

period based on an individualized professional development 

plan that includes ongoing, sustained, and high-quality 

professional development. Individuals renewing a five-year 

renewable license must complete 180 professional 

development points. Every person seeking renewal of a license 

shall complete all renewal requirements, including 

professional development in a manner prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education, except that no person seeking 

renewal of a license shall be required to satisfy any such 

requirement by completing coursework and earning credit at 

an institution of higher education. 

B. An individual seeking renewal shall submit a completed 

licensure application at the time a renewal request is submitted. 

C. Any individual licensed and endorsed to teach (i) middle 

school civics or economics or (ii) high school government or 

history who is seeking renewal of such license is required to 

demonstrate knowledge of Virginia history or state and local 

government by completing a module or professional 

development course specifically related to Virginia history or 

state and local government that has a value of five professional 

development points. 

D. Every person seeking renewal of a license shall provide 

evidence of completion of certification or training in 

emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the 

use of automated external defibrillators. The certification or 

training program shall (i) be based on the current national 

evidence-based emergency cardiovascular care guidelines for 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an automated 

external defibrillator, such as a program developed by the 

American Heart Association or the American Red Cross, and 

(ii) include hands-on practice of the skills necessary to perform 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation. The Virginia Board of 

Education shall provide a waiver for this requirement for any 

person with a disability whose disability prohibits such person 

from completing the certification or training. 

E. Every person seeking renewal of a license with an 

endorsement as a school counselor shall complete training in 

the recognition of mental health disorder and behavioral 

distress, including depression, trauma, violence, youth suicide, 

and substance abuse. 

F. Every person seeking renewal of a license shall complete 

awareness training, provided by the Virginia Department of 

Education, on the indicators of dyslexia, as that term is defined 

by the Virginia Board of Education pursuant to regulations, 

and the evidence-based interventions and accommodations for 

dyslexia. 

G. Every person seeking renewal or initial license shall 

complete a study in child abuse recognition and intervention in 

accordance with curriculum guidelines developed by the 

Virginia Board of Education in consultation with the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. 

H. Every person seeking renewal of a license with an 

endorsement in history and social science shall complete 

instruction in African American history, which shall include (i) 

an understanding of African origins; (ii) the African diaspora; 

(iii) developments of the Black experience in North America; 

(iv) the institution of slavery in the United States, including 

historical perspectives of the enslaved; and (v) how African 

Americans helped shape and have been shaped by American 

society. 

I. Every person seeking renewal of a license as a teacher shall 

complete training in the instruction of students with disabilities 

that includes (i) differentiating instruction for students 

depending on their needs; (ii) understanding the role of general 

education teachers on the individualized education program 

team; (iii) implementing effective models of collaborative 

instruction, including co-teaching; and (iv) understanding the 

goals and benefits of inclusive education for all students.  

J. When provided by the state, individuals shall complete 

other professional development activities prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education. 

I. K. Professional development points may be accrued by the 

completion of professional development activities to improve 

and increase instructional personnel's knowledge of the 

academic subjects the teachers teach or the area assigned from 

one or more of the following eight options, in accordance with 

Virginia Board of Education guidelines set forth in the Virginia 

Licensure Renewal Manual. 

1. College credit. Acceptable coursework offers content that 

provides new information and is offered on campus, off 

campus, or through extension by any regionally accredited 

two-year or four-year college or university. College 

coursework shall develop further experiences in subject 

content taught, teaching strategies, uses of technologies, 

leadership, and other essential elements in teaching to high 

standards and increasing student learning. No person 

seeking renewal of a license shall be required to complete 

coursework and earn credit at an institution of higher 

learning. 

2. Professional conference. A professional conference is a 

workshop, institute, or seminar of four or more hours that 

contributes to ongoing, sustained, and high-quality 

professional development. 

3. Curriculum development. Curriculum development is a 

group activity in which the license holder contributes to the 

improvement of the curriculum of a school, a school 

division, or an educational institution in the teaching area 

assigned. This includes the alignment of curriculum 
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frameworks, instructional materials, and assessments to 

provide a system with clear expectations of what is to be 

taught and learned. 

4. Publication of article. The article shall contribute to the 

education profession or to the body of knowledge of the 

license holder's teaching area or instructional position. This 

article shall be published in a recognized professional 

journal. Grant reports that present the results of educational 

research are acceptable provided the license holder had an 

active role in planning, analyzing, interpreting, 

demonstrating, disseminating, or evaluating the study or 

innovation. 

5. Publication of book. Books shall be published for 

purchase and shall contribute to the education profession or 

to the body of knowledge of the license holder's teaching 

area or instructional position. The published book shall 

increase the field of content knowledge; provide information 

on planning and assessment for evaluating and providing 

students with feedback that encourages student progress and 

measures student achievement; reference instruction, safety, 

and learning environment; expand upon and communication 

and community relations working with students, parents, 

and members of the community to promote broad support 

for student learning. Points will not be awarded for self-

published books. 

6. Mentorship. Mentoring is the process by which an 

experienced professional who has received mentorship 

training provides assistance to one or more persons for the 

purpose of improving their performance. Assistance may 

involve role modeling, direct instruction, demonstration, 

observation with feedback, developing of plans, and 

consultation to promote instructional excellence and 

increased student achievement. Mentoring may include the 

supervision of a field experience of a pre-service student 

teacher or an intern in an approved teacher or principal 

preparation program, as well as mentoring as part of the 

induction process for a beginning teacher or a first-year 

administrator. Individuals serving in this role and submitting 

documentation for license renewal based on the mentorship 

option shall receive training as a mentor prior to the 

assignment and at least once during the 10-year renewal 

cycle. 

7. Educational project. Educational projects shall be 

planned, focused projects based on high standards of 

teaching and learning. Projects shall result in a written report 

or other tangible product. Projects shall contribute to the 

education profession or to the body of knowledge of the 

license holder's teaching area or instructional position. A 

project could include participation in new professional 

responsibilities, such as leading a school improvement 

initiative. 

8. Professional development activity. Professional 

development activities shall focus on student learning and 

achievement, schoolwide educational improvement, 

leadership, subject content, teaching strategies, and use of 

technologies or other essential elements in teaching to high 

standards. Activities shall be planned, rigorous, systematic, 

and promote continuous inquiry and reflection. Local 

employing educational agencies are encouraged to design 

professional development activities that are conducted in 

school settings and linked to student learning and 

achievement. 

J. L. The 270 points may be accrued by activities drawn from 

one or more of the eight renewal options. Individuals renewing 

a five-year renewable license must complete 180 professional 

development points as prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. Renewal work is designed to provide licensed 

personnel with opportunities for professional development 

relative to the grade levels or teaching fields to which they are 

assigned or for which they seek an added endorsement. Such 

professional development encompasses (i) responsible 

remediation of any area of an individual's knowledge or skills 

that fails to meet the standards of competency and (ii) 

responsible efforts to increase the individual's knowledge of 

new developments in his field and to respond to new curricular 

demands within the individual's area of professional 

competence. 

K. M. The proposed work toward renewal in certain options 

shall be approved in advance by the chief executive officer or 

designee of the employing educational agency. Persons who 

are not employed by an educational agency may renew their 

license by submitting to the Office of Professional Licensure, 

Virginia Department of Education, a renewal application, fee, 

the individualized renewal record, and verification of the 

completion of all renewal requirements, including official 

student transcripts of coursework taken at a regionally 

accredited two-year or four-year college or university. 

L. N. Virginia school divisions and accredited nonpublic 

schools shall recommend renewal of licenses using the renewal 

point system. 

8VAC20-23-390. History and social sciences. 

A. Endorsement requirements. The candidate shall have: 

1. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and graduated from an 

approved teacher preparation program in history and social 

sciences; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and completed 51 semester 

hours of coursework distributed in each of the following 

areas: 

a. History: a major in history or 18 semester hours in 

history (shall include coursework in American history, 

Virginia history, and world history and may include 

African American history); 
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b. Political science: a major in political science or 18 

semester hours in political science, which shall include 

coursework in American government (state and local 

government); 

c. Geography: 9 nine semester hours; and 

d. Economics: 6 six semester hours. 

All candidates shall have also completed instruction in 

African American history, either as part of the degree program 

or through other department-approved alternatives, which shall 

include (i) an understanding of African origins; (ii) the African 

diaspora; (iii) developments of the Black experience in North 

America; (iv) the institution of slavery in the United States, 

including historical perspectives of the enslaved; and (v) how 

African Americans helped shape and have been shaped by 

American society. 

B. Add-on endorsement requirements in history, political 

science, geography, and economics. The candidate shall have: 

1. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and hold a teaching license 

with an endorsement in history, political science, geography, 

or economics; and 

2. Completed 21 semester hours of coursework in the 

additional social science area - history, political science, 

geography, or economics for which the add-on endorsement 

is sought; and 

3. Completed instruction in African American history, either 

as part of the degree program or through other department-

approved alternatives, which shall include (i) an 

understanding of African origins; (ii) the African diaspora; 

(iii) developments of the Black experience in North 

America; (iv) the institution of slavery in the United States, 

including historical perspectives of the enslaved; and (v) 

how African Americans helped shape and have been shaped 

by American society. 

8VAC20-543-20. Accreditation and administering this 

chapter. 

A. Institutions of higher education seeking approval of an 

education endorsement program shall be accredited by a 

regional accrediting agency. 

B. Professional education programs in Virginia shall obtain 

and maintain national accreditation from the Council for the 

Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). Professional 

education programs in Virginia seeking accreditation through 

CAEP shall adhere to procedures and timelines established by 

CAEP and the CAEP/Virginia Partnership Agreement. 

Professional education programs shall ensure and document 

that programs are aligned with standards set forth in 8VAC20-

543-40 through 8VAC20-543-50 and meet competencies 

outlined in 8VAC20-543-60 through 8VAC20-543-640. 

C. If a professional education program fails to maintain 

accreditation, enrolled candidates shall be permitted to 

complete their programs of study. Professional education 

programs that fail to maintain accreditation shall not admit new 

candidates. Candidates shall be notified of the education 

endorsement program's approval status. 

D. Teacher candidates may complete academic degrees in the 

arts and sciences, or equivalent. "Education preparation 

program" includes four-year bachelor's degree programs in 

teacher education. Candidates in early/primary education 

(preK-3), elementary education (preK-6), middle education (6-

8), and special education programs may complete a major in 

interdisciplinary studies or its equivalent. Candidates seeking 

a secondary endorsement area must have earned a major, or the 

equivalent, in the area sought. 

E. Professional studies coursework and methodology, 

including field experiences, required in this chapter shall be 

designed for completion within an approved program. 

F. Professional education programs shall ensure that 

candidates demonstrate proficiency in the use of educational 

technology for instruction; complete study in child abuse 

recognition and intervention; and complete training or 

certification in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and the use of automated external defibrillators. 

Candidates in education endorsement programs must 

demonstrate an understanding of competencies, including the 

core concepts and facts of the disciplines and the Virginia 

Standards of Learning, for the content areas they plan to teach. 

Professional education programs shall ensure that candidates 

demonstrate skills needed to help preK-12 students achieve 

college and career performance expectations. 

G. Each education preparation program graduate in a K-12 

general education endorsement area is required to demonstrate 

proficiency in (i) differentiating instruction for students 

depending on their needs; (ii) understanding the role of general 

education teachers on the individualized education program 

team; (iii) implementing effective models of collaborative 

instruction, including co-teaching; and (iv) understanding the 

goals and benefits of inclusive education for all students. 

H. Standards and procedures for the review and approval of 

each education endorsement program shall adhere to 

procedures for administering the chapter as defined in this 

section and in 8VAC20-543-40, 8VAC20-543-50, and 

8VAC20-543-60. These procedures shall result in biennial 

recommendations to the Board of Education for one of the 

following three ratings: "approved," "approved with 

stipulations," or "approval denied." 

H. I. Education endorsement programs shall be approved 

under this chapter biennially based on compliance with the 

criteria described in 8VAC20-543-40, 8VAC20-543-50, and 

8VAC20-543-60. 
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I. J. The Department of Education will determine the timeline 

and procedures for applying for education endorsement 

program approval. 

J. K. Education endorsement programs in Virginia shall 

address the competencies set forth in this chapter, and the 

curriculum for each program must be documented and 

submitted to the Department of Education for approval. 

K. L. Professional education programs shall submit to the 

Department of Education on behalf of each education 

endorsement program under consideration a biennial 

accountability measurement report and an annual professional 

education program profile to include data prescribed by the 

Board of Education on education endorsement programs in 

accordance with department procedures and timelines. 

L. M. The professional education program authorized 

administrator shall maintain copies of approved education 

endorsement programs and required reports. 

M. N. The Department of Education may conduct onsite visits 

to review education endorsement programs and verify data. 

N. O. The Advisory Board on Teacher Education and 

Licensure (ABTEL) is authorized to review and make 

recommendations to the Board of Education on approval of 

Virginia education endorsement programs for school 

personnel. The Board of Education has final authority on 

education endorsement program approval. 

O. P. In administering this chapter, licensure requirements for 

Virginia are outlined in the Licensure Regulations for School 

Personnel (8VAC20-23). This document should be referenced 

for detailed information regarding requirements for Virginia 

licensure. An individual must meet licensure requirements set 

forth in the Code of Virginia. 

P. Q. Modifications may be made by the Superintendent of 

Public Instruction in the administration of this chapter. 

Proposed modifications shall be made in writing to the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction, Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

Q. R. Upon the effective date of this chapter, the Board of 

Education grants colleges and universities two years to align 

their existing approved programs with this chapter and allows 

only college and universities that on the effective date of this 

chapter are accredited by the Board of Education process four 

years to become accredited by the Council for the 

Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) with the option 

of submitting a progress report to the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction to request an additional year, if needed. 

8VAC20-543-80. Competencies and requirements for 

endorsement areas professional education programs. 

A. The professional education program develops, maintains, 

and continuously evaluates high quality education 

endorsement programs that are collaboratively designed and 

based on identified needs of the preK-12 community. 

Candidates in education endorsement programs shall 

demonstrate competence in the areas in which they plan to 

practice and complete professional studies requirements and 

applicable assessments, in addition to meeting requirements 

for specific licenses, pursuant to the Licensure Regulations for 

School Personnel (8VAC20-23). The Licensure Regulations 

for School Personnel set forth the required degrees from 

regionally accredited colleges or universities for licenses, 

endorsements, and prerequisite licenses or endorsements for 

add-on endorsements. 

B. All educator preparation programs must ensure that 

graduates of candidates in general education teacher 

preparation programs for kindergarten through 12th grade 

demonstrate proficiency in (i) differentiating instruction for 

students depending on their needs; (ii) understanding the role 

of general education teachers on the individualized education 

program team; (iii) implementing effective models of 

collaborative instruction, including co-teaching; and (iv) 

understanding the goals and benefits of inclusive education for 

all students. 

C. All education endorsement programs in early/primary 

education preK-3, elementary education preK-6, middle 

education 6-8, and history and social sciences must include 

local government and civics instruction specific to Virginia. 

C. D. Candidates in education endorsement programs 

demonstrate an understanding of competencies, including the 

core concepts and facts of the disciplines and the Virginia 

Standards of Learning, for the content areas in which they plan 

to teach where required. 

D. E. Candidates in early/primary education preK-3, 

elementary education preK-6, and special education complete 

a minimum of six semester hours of reading coursework as 

outlined in the reading competencies. 

E. F. Candidates seeking an early/primary education preK-3 

or an elementary education preK-6 endorsement must 

complete a minimum of 12 semester hours each in English, 

history and social sciences, mathematics, and science 

addressing competencies set forth in this chapter or complete 

the following: 

1. English: complete six semester hours in English and pass 

a rigorous assessment in elementary English prescribed by 

the Board of Education. 

2. History and social sciences: complete six semester hours 

in history and social sciences, complete a methods of 

teaching elementary history and social sciences course, and 

pass a rigorous assessment in elementary history and social 

sciences prescribed by the Board of Education. 

3. Mathematics: complete six semester hours in 

mathematics, complete a methods of teaching elementary 

mathematics course, and pass a rigorous assessment in 
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elementary mathematics prescribed by the Board of 

Education. 

4. Science: complete six semester hours in laboratory 

sciences in two science disciplines, complete a methods of 

teaching elementary science course, and pass a rigorous 

assessment in elementary science prescribed by the Board of 

Education. 

F. G. Candidates seeking a middle education endorsement 

must have an area of concentration in English, history and 

social sciences, mathematics, or science with 21 semester 

hours in the concentration area. 

H. Candidates seeking an endorsement in history and social 

sciences must complete instruction in African American 

history, which shall include (i) an understanding of African 

origins; (ii) the African diaspora; (iii) developments of the 

Black experience in North America; (iv) the institution of 

slavery in the United States, including historical perspectives 

of the enslaved; and (v) how African Americans helped shape 

and have been shaped by American society.  

8VAC20-543-340. History and social sciences. 

The program in history and social sciences shall ensure that 

the candidate has demonstrated the following competencies: 

1. Understanding of the knowledge, skills, and processes of 

history and the social science disciplines as defined by the 

Virginia History and Social Sciences Standards of Learning 

and how the standards provide the foundation for teaching 

history and the social sciences, including in: 

a. United States history. 

(1) The evolution of the American constitutional republic 

and its ideas, institutions, and practices from the 

philosophical origins in the Enlightenment through the 

debates of the colonial period to the present; the American 

Revolution, including ideas and principles preserved in 

significant Virginia and United States historical 

documents as required by § 22.1-201 of the Code of 

Virginia (the Declaration of American Independence; the 

general principles of the Constitution of the United States; 

the Virginia Statute of Religious Freedom; the charters of 

The Virginia Company of April 10, 1606, May 23, 1609, 

and March 12, 1612; and the Virginia Declaration of 

Rights); Articles of Confederation; and historical 

challenges to the American political system; 

(2) The influence of religious traditions on American 

heritage and contemporary American society; 

(3) The influence of immigration on American political, 

social, cultural, and economic life; 

(4) The origins, effects, aftermath, and significance of the 

two world wars, the Korean and Vietnam conflicts, and the 

post-Cold War era; 

(5) The social, political, and economic transformations in 

American life during the 20th century; 

(6) The tensions between liberty and equality, liberty and 

order, region and nation, individualism and the common 

welfare, and cultural diversity and national unity; and 

(7) The difference between a democracy and a republic 

and other types of economic and political systems; and 

(8) The history, culture, contributions, and agency of 

African Americans, including (i) an understanding of 

African origins; (ii) the African diaspora; (iii) 

developments of the Black experience in North America; 

(iv) the institution of slavery in the United States, 

including historical perspectives of the enslaved; and (v) 

how African Americans helped shape and have been 

shaped by American society. 

b. World history. 

(1) The political, philosophical, and cultural legacies of 

ancient American, Asian, African, and European 

civilizations; 

(2) The origins, ideas, and institutions of Judaism, 

Christianity, Hinduism, Confucianism and Taoism, and 

Shinto, Buddhist, and Islamic religious traditions; 

(3) Medieval society, institutions, and civilizations; 

feudalism; and the evolution of representative 

government; 

(4) The social, political, cultural, and economic 

innovations of selected civilizations in Africa, Asia, 

Europe, and the Americas; 

(5) The ideas of the Renaissance and the Reformation, 

European exploration, and the origins of capitalism and 

colonization; 

(6) The cultural ideas of the Enlightenment and the 

intellectual and political revolution of the 17th and 18th 

centuries; 

(7) The sources, results, and influences of the American, 

French, and Latin American revolutions; 

(8) The social and economic consequences of the 

Industrial Revolution and its impact on politics, culture, 

and the lives of everyday people; 

(9) The influence of global ideologies of the 19th and 20th 

centuries; 

(10) The origins, effects, aftermath, and significance of the 

two world wars, the Korean and Vietnam conflicts, and the 

post-Cold War era; and 

(11) The development of globalization and the growing 

interdependence and inter-relationship among countries 

and cultures in the world. 

c. Civics, government, and economics. 

(1) The essential characteristics of governments; 

(2) The importance of the rule of law for the protection of 

individual rights and the common good; 

(3) The rights and responsibilities of American 

citizenship; 
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(4) The nature and purposes of constitutions and 

alternative ways of organizing constitutional 

governments; 

(5) American political culture; 

(6) Principles of the American constitutional republic; 

(7) The idea of federalism and states' rights; 

(8) The structures, functions, and powers of local and state 

government; 

(9) Importance of citizen participation in the political 

process in local and state government; 

(10) Local government and civics instruction specific to 

Virginia; 

(11) The structures, functions, and powers of the national 

government; 

(12) The role of the United States government in foreign 

policy and national security; 

(13) The structure and role of the local, state, and federal 

judiciary; 

(14) The structure and function of the United States 

market economy as compared with other economies; 

(15) Knowledge of the impact of the government role in 

the economy and individual economic and political 

freedoms; 

(16) Knowledge of economic systems in the areas of 

productivity and key economic indicators; 

(17) The analysis of global economic trends; and 

(18) Knowledge of international organizations, both 

political and economic, such as the United Nations, 

International Court in the Hague, and the International 

Monetary Fund. 

d. Geography. 

(1) Relationship between human activity and the physical 

environment, the ways in which geography governs 

human activity, and the effects of human activity on 

geographic features; 

(2) Use of maps and other geographic representations, 

tools, and technologies to acquire, process, and report 

information; 

(3) Physical and human characteristics of places; 

(4) Physical processes that shape the surface of the earth; 

(5) Characteristics, distribution, and migration of human 

populations; 

(6) Patterns and networks of economic interdependence; 

(7) Processes, patterns, and functions of human 

settlement; 

(8) How the forces of conflict and cooperation influence 

the division and control of the earth's surface; 

(9) Changes that occur in the meaning, use, distribution, 

and importance of resources; 

(10) Applying geography to interpret the past and the 

present and to plan for the future; and 

(11) Impact of geospatial technologies on the study of 

geography, physical and human. 

2. Understanding of history and social sciences to appreciate 

the significance of: 

a. Diverse cultures and shared humanity; 

b. How things happen, how they change, and how human 

intervention matters; 

c. The interplay of change and continuity; 

d. How people in other times and places have struggled 

with fundamental questions of truth, justice, and personal 

responsibility; 

e. The importance of individuals and groups who have 

made a difference in history and the significance of 

personal character to the future of society; 

f. The relationship among history, geography, civics, and 

economics; 

g. The difference between fact and conjecture, evidence 

and assertion, and the importance of framing useful 

questions; 

h. How ideas have real consequences; and 

i. The importance of primary documents and the potential 

problems with second-hand accounts. 

3. Understanding of the use of the content and processes of 

history and social sciences instruction, including: 

a. Fluency in historical thinking and geographic analysis 

skills; 

b. Skill in debate, discussion, and persuasive writing; 

c. The ability to organize key social science content into 

meaningful units of instruction based on historical 

thinking skills; 

d. The ability to provide instruction using a variety of 

instructional techniques; 

e. The ability to evaluate primary and secondary 

instructional resources, instruction, and student 

achievement; 

f. The ability to incorporate appropriate technologies into 

social science instruction; and 

g. The development of digital literacy skills while 

recognizing the influence of the media. 

4. Understanding of the content, processes, and skills of one 

of the social sciences disciplines at a level equivalent to an 

undergraduate major, along with proficient understanding of 

supporting disciplines to ensure: 

a. The ability to teach the processes and organizing 

concepts of social science; 

b. An understanding of the significance of the social 

sciences; and 
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c. Student achievement in the social sciences. 

5. Understanding of and proficiency in grammar, usage, and 

mechanics and their integration in writing and 

communications. 

6. Understanding of and proficiency in pedagogy to 

incorporate writing as an instructional and assessment tool 

for candidates to generate, gather, plan, organize, and 

present ideas in writing to communicate for a variety of 

purposes. 

7. Skills necessary to teach research including use of primary 

and secondary sources, ethical accessing, evaluating, 

organizing, crediting, and synthesizing information. 

8VAC20-543-570. Administration and supervision preK-

12. 

A. The program in administration and supervision preK-12 

shall ensure that the candidate has completed three years of 

successful, full-time experience in a public school or 

accredited nonpublic school in an instructional personnel 

position that requires licensure in Virginia and demonstrated 

the following competencies: 

1. Knowledge, understanding, and application of planning, 

assessment, and instructional leadership that builds 

collective professional capacity, including; 

a. Principles of student motivation, growth, and 

development as a foundation for age-appropriate and 

grade-appropriate curriculum, instruction, and 

assessment; 

b. Collaborative leadership in gathering and analyzing 

data to identify needs to develop and implement a school 

improvement plan that results in increased student 

learning; 

c. Planning, implementation, and refinement of standards-

based curriculum aligned with instruction and assessment; 

d. Collaborative planning and implementation of a variety 

of assessment techniques, including examination of 

student work, that yield individual, class, grade level, and 

school level data as a foundation for identifying existing 

competencies and targeting areas in need of further 

attention; 

e. Incorporation of differentiated and effective instruction 

that responds to individual learner needs including 

appropriate response to cultural, ethnic, and linguistic 

diversity; 

f. Knowledge, understanding, and application of the 

federal and state regulatory requirements, and 

expectations associated with identification, education, and 

evaluation of students with disabilities; comprehension of 

(i) key special education laws and regulations; (ii) 

individualized education program development; (iii) the 

roles and responsibilities of special education teachers; 

and (iv) appropriate behavior management practices; 

g. Collaboratively working with parents and school 

personnel to ensure that students with disabilities are 

included as a valued part of the school community, and 

that they receive effective and appropriately intensive 

instruction to assist them in meeting the standards set for 

all students, as well as individual goals outlined in their 

individualized education plans (IEPs); 

h. Integration of technology in curriculum and instruction 

to enhance learner understanding; 

i. Identification, analysis, and resolution of problems 

using effective problem-solving techniques; and 

j. Development, articulation, implementation, and 

stewardship of a vision of excellence linked to mission and 

core beliefs that promote continuous improvement 

consistent with the goals of the school division. 

2. Knowledge, understanding, and application of leadership 

and organizations, including; 

a. The change process of systems, organizations, and 

individuals using appropriate and effective adult learning 

models; 

b. Aligning organizational practice, division mission, and 

core beliefs for developing and implementing strategic 

plans; 

c. Information sources and processing, including data 

collection and data analysis strategies; 

d. Using data as a part of ongoing program evaluation to 

inform and lead change; 

e. Developing a change management strategy for 

improved student outcomes; 

f. Developing distributed leadership strategies to create 

personalized learning environments for diverse schools; 

and 

g. Effective two-way communication skills including 

consensus building, negotiation, and mediation skills. 

3. Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

management and leadership skills that achieve effective and 

efficient organizational operations and sustain an 

instructional program conducive to student academic 

progress, including; 

a. Alignment of curriculum and instruction and 

assessment of the educational program to achieve high 

academic success at the school and division or district 

level; 

b. Principles and issues of supervising and leading others 

to ensure a working and learning climate that is safe, 

secure, and respectful of a diverse school community; 

c. Management decisions that ensure successful teaching 

and learning including human resources management and 

development, theories of motivation, change in school 

culture, innovation and creativity, conflict resolution, 

adult learning, and professional development models; 
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d. Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

Virginia's Guidelines for Uniform Performance Standards 

and Evaluation Criteria for Teachers and the Guidelines 

for Uniform Performance Standards and Evaluation 

Criteria for Principals; 

e. Principles and issues related to fiscal operations of 

school management; 

f. Principles and issues related to school facilities and use 

of space and time for supporting high-quality school 

instruction and student learning; 

g. Legal issues impacting school operations and 

management; 

h. Technologies that support management functions; and 

i. Application of data-driven decision-making to initiate 

and continue improvement in school and classroom 

practices and student achievement. 

4. Knowledge, understanding, and application of the 

conditions and dynamics impacting a diverse school 

community, including: 

a. Emerging issues and trends within school and 

community relations; 

b. Working collaboratively with staff, families, and 

community members to secure resources and to support 

the success of a diverse population; 

c. Developing appropriate public relations and public 

engagement strategies and processes for building and 

sustaining positive relationships with families, caregivers, 

and community partners; and 

d. Integration of technology to support communication 

efforts. 

5. Knowledge, understanding, and application of the purpose 

of education and the role of professionalism in advancing 

educational goals, including: 

a. Philosophy of education that reflects commitment to 

principles of honesty, fairness, caring, and equity in day-

to-day professional behavior; 

b. Integration of high quality, content rich, job-embedded 

professional learning that respects the contribution of all 

faculty and staff members in building a diverse 

professional learning community; 

c. Reflective understanding of potential moral and legal 

consequences of decision-making in the school setting; 

d. Intentional and purposeful effort to model professional, 

moral, and ethical standards, as well as personal integrity 

in all interactions; and 

e. Intentional and purposeful effort to model continuous 

professional learning and to work collegially and 

collaboratively with all members of the school community 

to support the school's goals and enhance its collective 

capacity. 

6. Knowledge, understanding, and application of basic 

leadership theories and influences that impact schools 

including: 

a. Concepts of leadership including systems theory, 

change theory, learning organizations, and current 

leadership theory; 

b. Ability to identify and respond to internal and external 

forces and influences on a school; 

c. Ability to identify and apply the processes of 

educational policy development at the state, local, and 

school level; and 

d. Ability to identify and demonstrate ways to influence 

educational policy development at the state, local, and 

school level. 

B. Complete a deliberately structured and supervised 

internship that is focused on student academic progress for all 

students and 

1. Provides significant experiences within a school 

environment for candidates to synthesize and apply the 

content knowledge and develop professional skills through 

school-based leadership experiences; 

2. Shall occur in a public or accredited nonpublic school; 

3. Provides exposure to five different multiple sites, 

including elementary, middle, high, central office, and 

agency with diverse student populations; and 

4. Documents a minimum of 320 clock hours of 

administration and supervision internship, of which at least 

120 clock hours are embedded as experiential field-based 

opportunities experienced during coursework. 

C. Satisfy the requirements for the school leaders licensure 

assessment prescribed by the Board of Education. Individuals 

seeking an initial administration and supervision endorsement 

who are interested in serving as central office instructional 

personnel are not required to take and pass the school leaders 

assessment prescribed by the Board of Education. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6895; Filed January 10, 2022, 12:47 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-543. Regulations Governing 

the Review and Approval of Education Programs in 

Virginia (amending 8VAC20-543-90; adding 8VAC20-543-

275 through 8VAC20-543-279). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-298.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Tara McDaniel, Director of Teacher 

Education, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 
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101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-2475, or email tara.mcdaniel@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia gives the State 

Board of Education authority to promulgate regulations to 

carry out its statutory powers and duties. Pursuant to the § 22.1-

298.2 of the Code of Virginia, the board has the authority to 

prescribe by regulation the requirements for accreditation and 

approval of education preparation programs. Section 22.1-

200.03 of the Code of Virginia requires the board to develop 

and approve objectives for economics education and financial 

literacy to be required of all students at the middle and high 

school levels. 

Purpose: The regulatory action is to establish an add-on 

endorsement to teach economics and personal finance. The 

add-on endorsement will expand the number of teachers who 

may teach economics and personal finance and ensure that 

such teachers have completing training in economics and 

personal finance. Students who gain knowledge and skills in 

economics and personal finance are more productive citizens 

in society. 

The regulatory action also establishes endorsements in dual 

language so that individuals who had expertise in elementary 

education or world languages can teach in dual language 

programs and seek a specific endorsement addressing the area 

in which they are teaching. This will allow someone who has 

world language preparation to teach in an elementary dual 

language program without seeking both a world language 

endorsement and an elementary endorsement. 

Substance: The substantive provision is the addition of the add-

on endorsement in economics and personal finance to provide 

assurances that teachers instructing the courses have 

preparation in economics and personal finance. The 

amendments also include the following plan related to the 

implementation of the new add-on endorsement. Upon the 

effective date of the establishment of the economics and 

personal finance endorsement, individuals who hold a teaching 

license may be eligible for the economics and personal finance 

add-on endorsement if the individual completed one year of 

successful teaching experience in Virginia as the teacher of 

record in economics and personal finance prior to the effective 

date of this endorsement and receives the recommendation 

from the Virginia school division superintendent where the 

individual is employed at the time of the request. Individuals 

who are teaching in Virginia public schools and meet 

grandfathering requirements will receive the economics and 

personal finance endorsement at no additional cost. The $50 

fee to apply for an additional endorsement would be waived 

because these individuals currently may teach economics and 

personal finance with the endorsements on their license. A 

transition period of two years should be implemented from the 

effective date of the endorsement for individuals to complete 

the requirements to add the endorsement. As of the effective 

date of the endorsement, those currently teaching the course 

and those receiving the endorsement through grandfathering, 

will be endorsed to teach the course. 

The amendments also make revisions to professional studies 

requirements and add the following new endorsements: 

Professional Studies Requirements for Dual Language, Dual 

Language (English) Endorsement PreK-6, Dual Language 

English PreK-6 Add-on Endorsement, Dual Language Target 

Language Endorsement PreK-6, Dual Language Target 

Language PreK-6 Add-on Endorsement. 

Issues: The advantages include that by requiring teachers to 

obtain training in economics and personal finance will better 

prepare them to teach courses in economics and personal 

finance to students who take the course. Experienced teachers 

who have been teaching the course, as specified by the board, 

may be recommended for the add-on endorsement by the 

employing school division superintendent. The advantages of 

the endorsements allow additional options for individuals 

seeking endorsements to teach elementary dual language 

classes. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Education (Board) proposes to amend the 

Regulations Governing the Review and Approval of Education 

Programs in Virginia in order to establish an add-on 

endorsement1 to teach economics and personal finance, as well 

as endorsements and add-on endorsements to teach in dual 

language instruction in pre-kindergarten through grade six 

(preK-6). These proposed amendments to the regulations 

governing teacher education programs would complement 

concurrent actions that amend the regulations governing 

teacher licensure. 

Background. The Licensure Regulations for School Personnel 

(Licensure Regulations) include teacher licensure 

endorsements (and add-on endorsements) to teach in various 

specified fields.2 The requirements for each specified field 

typically state that to earn the particular endorsement, the 

teacher must either complete an approved teacher preparation 

program in the specified field, or alternatively complete 

coursework or training that is spelled out in the Licensure 

Regulations. In two other concurrent actions, the Board is 

proposing to amend the Licensure Regulations to add the 

Economics and Personal Finance Add-on Endorsement 

(Action 5233)3 and also add endorsements and add-on 

endorsements in dual language instruction in pre-kindergarten 

through grade six (Action 5258).4 

In the action addressed in this analysis, the Board proposes to 

establish in the Regulations Governing the Review and 

Approval of Education Programs in Virginia the requirements 

for teacher preparation programs at colleges and universities 

for those same endorsements. 

Economics and Personal Finance. In order to earn a Standard 

or Advanced Studies Diploma, public high school students 

mailto:tara.mcdaniel@doe.virginia.gov
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must pass a course on economics and personal finance. 

Currently, there is no specific endorsement to teach courses in 

economics and personal finance in either the Licensure 

Regulations or in the Regulations Governing the Review and 

Approval of Education Programs in Virginia. According to the 

Department of Education (DOE), teachers holding valid 

Virginia licenses with endorsements in specific areas of 

agricultural education, business and information technology, 

family and consumer sciences, history and social science, 

marketing, and mathematics may teach the courses.5 

The proposed requirements for the Economics and Personal 

Finance Add-on Endorsement in the Regulations Governing 

the Review and Approval of Education Programs in Virginia 

are as follows: 

"The program in Economics and Personal Finance shall 

ensure that the candidate holds an active license 

(Collegiate Professional License, Postgraduate 

Professional License, or a Provisional License leading to 

a Collegiate Professional or Postgraduate Professional 

License) with a teaching endorsement or endorsements 

issued by the Virginia Board of Education and has 

demonstrated the following competencies: 

1. Understanding and demonstration of the required 

knowledge, skills, and processes to support learners in 

achievement of the Economics and Personal Finance 

Virginia Standards of Learning, including: 

a. integration of economic concepts and structures, 

including how consumers, businesses and governments 

face scarcity of resources and make trade-offs and incur 

opportunity costs; 

b. role of producers and consumers in a market economy 

including response to incentives, the role of entrepreneurs 

and how costs and revenues affect profit and supply; 

c. the price system; 

d. factors that affect income; 

e. nation's economic goals, including full employment, 

stable prices, and economic growth; 

f. nation's financial system; 

g. monetary and fiscal policy; 

h. role of government in a market economy; 

i. global economy including trade and comparative 

advantage; 

j. consumer skills; 

k. planning for living and leisure expenses; 

l. banking transactions; 

m. credit and loan functions; 

n. role of insurance in risk management; 

o. income earning, taxes, and reporting; 

p. personal financial planning; 

q. investment and savings planning; 

r. financing postsecondary education (including the Free 

Application for Federal Student Aid); and 

2. Understanding and knowledge of teaching in an online 

or blended learning environment. 

The proposed text does not specify the course structure, 

number of courses, or time to be spent on the 

competencies." 

Further, the proposed amendments in this action (as well as 

Action 5233) do not specify whether or not the Economics and 

Personal Finance Add-on Endorsement would be required for 

teaching courses in economics and personal finance. 

According to DOE, however, two years after the effective date 

of Action 5233, the endorsement would be required to teach 

the courses.6 Also according to DOE, there would be a 

grandfathering exception such that upon the effective date of 

Action 5233, individuals who hold a teaching license 

(Collegiate Professional, Postgraduate Professional License, or 

a Provisional License leading to a Collegiate Professional or 

Postgraduate Professional License) may be eligible for the 

economics and personal finance add-on endorsement if the 

individual: 

completed one year of successful teaching experience 

(satisfactory performance rating on summative 

evaluation) in Virginia as the teacher of record in 

economics and personal finance prior to the effective date 

of this endorsement; and 

receives the recommendation from the Virginia school 

division superintendent where the individual is employed 

at the time of the request. 

Dual Language. Chapter 391 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly7 

requires that the Board "provide for licensure of teachers with 

an endorsement in dual language instruction pre-kindergarten 

through grade six." The legislation defines "dual language 

instruction" as "instruction that is delivered in English and in a 

second language." There are currently elementary school dual 

language programs in ten school divisions.8 According to 

DOE, other school divisions have expressed interest in adding 

such programs. 

Currently, in order to teach in an elementary school dual 

language program in a foreign language, the teacher must have 

endorsements in both the foreign language and elementary 

education. In contrast, teaching in an elementary school dual 

language program in English only requires the elementary 

education endorsement. The Board proposes to establish 

separate endorsements for dual language instruction in pre-

kindergarten through grade six in the "target language" and in 

English, where the target language would be a foreign 

language (such as Spanish, French, etc.) as noted on the 

endorsement. 

The Board also proposes to establish separate add-on 

endorsements for dual language instruction in pre-kindergarten 

through grade six, in both the target language and in English. 

An add-on endorsement, only available for some fields, can be 
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earned when a teacher already has at least one other 

endorsement. Add-on endorsements are not available for the 

majority of fields. For example, foreign languages and 

elementary education do not have add-on endorsements. The 

proposed dual language add-on endorsements include fewer 

competencies than the comparable proposed dual language 

endorsements since it is presumed that skills required for 

teaching across different fields would be covered in in the 

initial endorsement for someone obtaining an add-on 

endorsement. 

The proposed requirements for the Dual Language (Target 

Language) preK-6 Add-on Endorsement in the Regulations 

Governing the Review and Approval of Education Programs in 

Virginia include several specific elements that programs must 

meet, such as holding an active teaching license with an 

endorsement in the Target Language, completion of a 45-

clock-hour practicum in dual language (Target Language),9 

eight listed competencies that the candidate must demonstrate, 

and either passing the rigorous elementary education 

assessment prescribed by the Board or completion of math, 

laboratory science, history and social science courses 

(including methods of teaching the specific subjects). 

The proposed requirements for the Dual Language (English) 

PreK-6 Add-on Endorsement in the Regulations Governing the 

Review and Approval of Education Programs in Virginia 

include several specific elements that programs must meet, 

such as holding an active teaching license with an elementary 

education endorsement, completion of a 45-clock-hour 

practicum in dual language (English),10 and eight listed 

competencies that the candidate must demonstrate. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs Economics and Personal 

Finance. Though the proposed text for the establishment of the 

Economics and Personal Finance Add-on Endorsement does 

not directly affect who may teach economics and personal 

finance courses, as stated above, DOE has indicated that the 

endorsement would effectively be required to teach such 

courses two years after the effective date of Action 5233. 

Colleges and universities that wish to develop an add-on 

endorsement program in economics and personal finance 

would have the discretion to design it as they wish concerning 

number of courses and credits, as long as all of the proposed 

required competency topics are covered. The program would 

be subject to Board approval.11 The proposed alternative route 

of obtaining the Economics and Personal Finance Add-on 

Endorsement in Action 5233 would require six semester hours 

of economics12 and three semester hours of personal finance.13 

Notwithstanding those who would be grandfathered in, earning 

the Economics and Personal Finance (Add-on Endorsement) 

would provide much greater assurance that future teachers of 

economics and personal finance courses would be 

knowledgeable in the subject matter that they are teaching. 

This in turn would likely have a positive impact on students 

obtaining and retaining economics and personal finance 

knowledge and skills, perhaps positively affecting their 

productivity, job prospects, and personal finances. 

Dual Language (Target Language). As alluded to in the 

Background section, currently a teacher with a foreign 

language endorsement would have to also obtain an elementary 

education endorsement to teach in an elementary school dual 

language program in the foreign language. Once the Dual 

Language (Target Language) PreK-6 Add-on Endorsement is 

established, a teacher with a foreign language endorsement 

could qualify to teach in an elementary school dual language 

program in the foreign language by either obtaining the Dual 

Language (Target Language) PreK-6 Add-on Endorsement or 

the elementary education endorsement. 

Colleges and universities have much discretion in how they 

structure their elementary education endorsement programs. 

All of the competencies must be covered, and the Board must 

approve the program, but there are no set number of courses or 

credits required for these programs in the Regulations 

Governing the Review and Approval of Education Programs in 

Virginia. Thus, a direct comparison of the number of courses 

or credits in elementary education endorsement programs 

versus Dual Language (Target Language) PreK-6 Add-on 

Endorsement programs cannot be made; but as would be 

expected when comparing an add-on endorsement to an 

endorsement, the list of proposed required competencies is 

considerably shorter for the Dual Language (Target Language) 

PreK-6 Add-on Endorsement. DOE has indicated that the 

agency would expect that approved Dual Language (Target 

Language) PreK-6 Add-on Endorsement programs developed 

by colleges would entail fewer courses and less time to 

complete than would elementary education endorsement 

programs. 

Thus, the proposed Dual Language (Target Language) PreK-6 

Add-on Endorsement would likely reduce the cost for a teacher 

with a foreign language endorsement to teach in an elementary 

school dual language program in the foreign language. This 

reduced cost may make it easier for school districts to find 

qualified teachers to teach in existing or planned elementary 

school dual language programs. 

Dual Language (English). Individuals who hold a valid 

Virginia teaching license with an elementary education 

endorsement may t each in an elementary school dual language 

program in English without the proposed Dual Language 

(English) Endorsement or Add-on Endorsement. The proposed 

Dual Language (English) PreK-6 Add-on Endorsement has a 

prerequisite of an endorsement in elementary education. So the 

establishment of the Dual Language (English) PreK-6 Add-on 

Endorsement does not reduce the cost of becoming qualified to 

teach in an elementary school dual language program in 

English. Nevertheless, as it contains dual language specific 

content, it could be useful for teachers who wish to distinguish 

themselves as candidates for teaching positions (in English) in 

an elementary school dual language program. 
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Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Virginia colleges and 

universities with approved educator preparation programs 

would be affected if they are interested in adding one or more 

of the proposed endorsements. The Virginia colleges and 

universities with approved educator preparation programs are: 

Averett University, Bluefield College, Bridgewater College, 

Christopher Newport University, Eastern Mennonite 

University, Emory and Henry College, Ferrum College, 

George Mason University, Hampton University, Hollins 

University, James Madison University, Liberty University, 

Longwood University, Mary Baldwin University, Marymount 

University, Norfolk State University, Old Dominion 

University, Radford University, Randolph College, Randolph-

Macon College, Regent University, Roanoke College, 

Shenandoah University, Southern Virginia University,14 Sweet 

Briar College, University of Lynchburg, University of Mary 

Washington, University of Richmond, University of Virginia, 

University of Virginia's College at Wise, Virginia 

Commonwealth University, Virginia State University, 

Virginia Tech, Virginia Union University, Virginia Wesleyan 

University, Washington and Lee University,15 and William & 

Mary. 

The 132 local public school divisions in the Commonwealth 

would be affected as well. 

Small Businesses16 Affected. The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities17 Affected.18 All Virginia localities would be 

affected by the proposed Economics and Personal Finance 

Add-on Endorsement. Albemarle, Alexandria, Arlington, 

Chesterfield, Fairfax County, Harrisonburg, Newport News, 

Stafford, Winchester, and Virginia Beach would be 

particularly affected by the proposed dual language add-on 

endorsements and endorsements as these localities have school 

divisions with elementary school dual language programs. 

Localities considering adding elementary school dual language 

programs would also be particularly affected. The proposed 

amendments would not increase costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. To the extent that colleges 

and universities choose to establish some or all of the proposed 

new endorsements, there would likely be some additional 

positions created to teach and administer the new endorsement 

programs. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Some private 

colleges and universities with approved educator preparation 

programs may choose to add an Economics and Personal 

Finance Add-on Endorsement program and/or dual language 

add-on endorsement and endorsement programs. 

_______________________________________ 
1An add-on endorsement, only available for some fields, can be earned when 

a teacher already has at least one other endorsement. 
2See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title8/agency20/chapter23/ 

3See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5233 

4See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5258 

5See 

https://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/economics_personal_finance/resour

ces/faq.shtml 
6DOE stated that this requirement would be established through a 

Superintendent's Memo and possibly further regulatory action. 

7See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0391 
8The 10 school divisions are Albemarle, Alexandria, Arlington, Chesterfield, 

Fairfax County, Harrisonburg, Newport News, Stafford, Winchester, and 

Virginia Beach. 
9One year of successful, full-time teaching experience in a public school or 

accredited nonpublic school in dual language (Target Language) may be 

accepted in lieu of the practicum. 
10One year of successful, full-time teaching experience in a public school or 

accredited nonpublic school in dual language (English) may be accepted in lieu 

of the practicum. 
11See 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincodefull/title8/agency20/chapter543/partIII/ 
12The proposed text also allows the following in lieu of the six semester hours 

of economics: "or a non-college credit institute in economics. The non-college 

credit institute in economics must be a minimum of 45 clock hours and offered 
by a Virginia school division or a regionally accredited college or university. 

The institute must include the economics content set forth in the Virginia 

Standards of Learning for economics and personal finance and be approved by 

the Department of Education." 
13The proposed text also allows the following in lieu of the three semester 

hours of personal finance: "or a non-college credit institute in finance. The 
non-college credit institution in finance must be a minimum of 45 clock hours 

and offered by a Virginia school division or a regionally accredited college or 

university. The institute must include the personal finance content set forth in 
the Standards of Learning for economics and personal finance and be approved 

by the Department of Education." 

14Washington and Lee University and Southern Virginia University have 
partnered to form the Rockbridge Teacher Education Consortium. See 

https://columns.wlu.edu/rockbridge-county-universities-form-teacher-

education-consortium/ 

15Ibid 
16Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

17"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

18§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the economic impact analysis completed by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulatory action (i) establishes dual 

language endorsements and an economics and personal 

finance add-on endorsement and (ii) prescribes how 

teachers will qualify for the endorsements.  

8VAC20-543-90. Professional studies requirements for 

early/primary education, elementary education, dual 

language, and middle education. 

Professional studies requirements for early/primary 

education, elementary education, dual language, and middle 

education: 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title8/agency20/chapter23/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5233
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5258
https://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/economics_personal_finance/resources/faq.shtml
https://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/economics_personal_finance/resources/faq.shtml
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181%20ful%20CHAP0391
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincodefull/title8/agency20/chapter543/partIII/
https://columns.wlu.edu/rockbridge-county-universities-form-teacher-education-consortium/
https://columns.wlu.edu/rockbridge-county-universities-form-teacher-education-consortium/
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1. Human development and learning (birth through 

adolescence). 

a. Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding 

of the physical, social, emotional, speech and language, 

and intellectual development of children and the ability to 

use this understanding in guiding learning experiences and 

relating meaningfully to students. 

b. The interaction of children with individual differences - 

economic, social, racial, ethnic, religious, physical, and 

cognitive - should be incorporated to include skills 

contributing to an understanding of developmental 

disabilities and developmental issues related, but not 

limited to, low socioeconomic status; attention deficit 

disorders; developmental disorders; gifted education, 

including the use of multiple criteria to identify gifted 

students; substance abuse; trauma, including child abuse, 

and neglect and other adverse childhood experiences; and 

family disruptions. 

2. Curriculum and instruction. 

a. Early/primary education preK-3 or elementary 

education preK-6 curriculum and instruction. 

(1) Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding 

of the principles of learning; the application of skills in 

discipline-specific methodology; varied and effective 

methods of communication with and among students; 

selection and use of materials, including media and 

contemporary technologies; and selection, development, 

and use of appropriate curricula, methodologies, and 

materials that support and enhance student learning and 

reflect the research on unique, age-appropriate, and 

culturally relevant curriculum and pedagogy. 

(2) Understanding of the principles of online learning and 

online instructional strategies and the application of skills 

to deliver online instruction shall be included. 

(3) Instructional practices that are sensitive to culturally 

and linguistically diverse learners, including English 

learners, gifted and talented students, and students with 

disabilities; and appropriate for the level of endorsement 

(preK-3 or preK-6) sought shall be included. 

(4) Teaching methods shall be tailored to promote student 

engagement and student academic progress and effective 

preparation for the Virginia Standards of Learning 

assessments. 

(5) Study in (i) methods of improving communication 

between schools and families,; (ii) communicating with 

families regarding social and instructional needs of 

children,; (iii) ways of increasing family engagement in 

student learning at home and in school,; (iv) the Virginia 

Standards of Learning, and; (v) English Language 

Development Standards (WIDA); and (vi) Virginia 

Foundation Blocks for Early Learning: Comprehensive 

Standards for Four-Year-Olds, or their successor 

standards, prepared by the department's Virginia 

Department of Education's Office of Humanities and Early 

Childhood shall be included. 

(6) Early childhood educators must understand the role of 

families in child development and in relation to teaching 

educational skills. 

(7) Early childhood educators must understand the role of 

the informal and play-mediated settings for promoting 

students' skills and development and must demonstrate 

knowledge and skill in interacting in such situations to 

promote specific learning outcomes as reflected in 

Virginia's Foundation Blocks for Early Learning: 

Comprehensive Standards for Four-Year-Olds, or their 

successor standards. 

(8) Demonstrated proficiency in the use of educational 

technology for instruction shall be included. Study in child 

abuse recognition and intervention in accordance with 

curriculum guidelines developed by the Virginia Board of 

Education in consultation with the Virginia Department of 

Social Services and training or certification in emergency 

first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of 

automated external defibrillators must be included. 

(9) Pre-student teaching experiences (field experiences) 

should be evident within these skills. 

b. Dual language preK-6 curriculum and instruction.  

(1) Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding 

of the principles of learning; dual language acquisition; 

theories of second language acquisition; the application of 

skills in discipline-specific methodology; varied and 

effective methods of communication with and among 

students; selection and use of materials, including media 

and contemporary technologies; and selection, 

development, and use of appropriate curricula, 

methodologies, and materials that support and enhance 

student learning and reflect the research on unique, age-

appropriate, and culturally relevant curriculum and 

pedagogy.  

(2) Understanding of the principles of online learning and 

online instructional strategies and the application of skills 

to deliver online instruction shall be included.  

(3) Instructional practices that are sensitive to culturally 

and linguistically diverse learners, including English 

learners, gifted and talented students, and students with 

disabilities, and appropriate for the preK-3 or preK-6 

endorsement shall be included.  

(4) Teaching methods shall be tailored to promote student 

engagement and student academic progress and effective 

preparation for the Virginia Standards of Learning 

assessments.  

(5) Study in (i) methods of improving communication 

between schools and families; (ii) communicating with 

families regarding social and instructional needs of 

children; (iii) ways of increasing family engagement in 

student learning at home and in school; (iv) the Virginia 
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Standards of Learning; and (v) Virginia Foundation 

Blocks for Early Learning: Comprehensive Standards for 

Four-Year-Olds, or their successor standards, prepared by 

the Virginia Department of Education's Office of Early 

Childhood shall be included.  

(6) Early childhood educators shall understand the role of 

families in child development and in relation to teaching 

educational skills.  

(7) Early childhood educators shall understand the role of 

the informal and play-mediated settings for promoting 

students' skills and development and shall demonstrate 

knowledge and skill in interacting in such situations to 

promote specific learning outcomes as reflected in 

Virginia's Foundation Blocks for Early Learning: 

Comprehensive Standards for Four-Year-Olds, or their 

successor standards. 

(8) Demonstrated proficiency in the use of educational 

technology for instruction shall be required. 

(9) Pre-student teaching experiences (field experiences) 

should be evident within these skills. 

c. Middle education 6-8 six to eight curriculum and 

instruction. 

(1) Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding 

of the principles of learning; the application of skills in 

discipline-specific methodology; effective 

communication with and among students,; selection and 

use of materials, including media and contemporary 

technologies,; and evaluation of pupil performance. 

(2) Understanding of the principles of online learning and 

online instructional strategies and the application of skills 

to deliver online instruction shall be included. 

(3) Instructional practices that are sensitive to culturally 

and linguistically diverse learners including English 

learners, gifted and talented students, and students with 

disabilities, and must be appropriate for the middle 

education endorsement shall be included. 

(4) Teaching methods shall be tailored to promote student 

engagement and student academic progress and effective 

preparation for the Virginia Standards of Learning 

assessments. 

(5) Study in methods of improving communication 

between schools and families, ways of increasing family 

engagement in student learning at home and in school, and 

the Virginia Standards of Learning shall be included. 

(6) Demonstrated proficiency in the use of educational 

technology for instruction shall be included. Study in child 

abuse recognition and intervention in accordance with 

curriculum guidelines developed by the Virginia Board of 

Education in consultation with the Virginia Department of 

Social Services and training or certification in emergency 

first aid cardiopulpmonary resuscitation and the use of 

automatic external defibrillators shall be included. 

(7) Pre-student teaching experiences (field experiences) 

should be evident within these skills. 

3. Classroom and behavior management. Skills in this area 

shall contribute to an understanding and application of 

research-based classroom and behavior management 

techniques, classroom community building, positive 

behavior supports, and individual interventions, including 

techniques that promote emotional well-being and teach and 

maintain behavioral conduct and skills consistent with 

norms, standards, and rules of the educational environment. 

This area shall address diverse approaches based upon 

culturally responsive behavioral, cognitive, affective, social, 

and ecological theory and practice. Approaches should 

support professionally appropriate practices that promote 

positive redirection of behavior, development of social 

skills, and development of self-discipline. Knowledge and 

an understanding of various school crisis management and 

safety plans and the demonstrated ability to create a safe, 

orderly classroom environment shall be included. The link 

between classroom management and students' ages must be 

understood and demonstrated in techniques used in the 

classroom. 

4. Assessment of and for learning. 

a. Skills in this area shall be designed to develop an 

understanding and application of creating, selecting, and 

implementing valid and reliable classroom-based 

assessments of student learning, including formative and 

summative assessments. Assessments designed and 

adapted to meet the needs of diverse learners shall be 

addressed. 

b. Analytical skills necessary to inform ongoing planning 

and instruction, as well as to understand, and help students 

understand their own progress and growth shall be 

included. 

c. Skills also include the ability to understand the 

relationships among assessment, instruction, and 

monitoring student progress to include student 

performance measures in grading practices; the ability to 

interpret valid assessments using a variety of formats in 

order to measure student attainment of essential skills in a 

standards-based environment; and the ability to analyze 

assessment data to make decisions about how to improve 

instruction and student performance. 

d. Understanding of state assessment programs and 

accountability systems, including assessments used for 

student achievement goal setting as related to teacher 

evaluation and determining student academic progress 

must be included. 

e. Knowledge of legal and ethical aspects, and skills for 

developing familiarity with assessments used in preK-12 

education (including diagnostic, college admission exams, 

industry certifications, placement assessments). 
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5. Foundations of education and the teaching profession. 

a. Skills in this area shall be designed to develop an 

understanding of the historical, philosophical, and 

sociological foundations underlying the role, 

development, and organization of public education in the 

United States. 

b. Attention must be given to the legal status of teachers 

and students, including federal and state laws and 

regulations; school as an organization and culture; and 

contemporary issues and current trends in education, 

including the impact of technology on education. Local, 

state, and federal governance of schools, including the 

roles of teachers and schools in communities, shall be 

included. 

c. Professionalism and ethical standards, as well as 

personal integrity shall be addressed. 

d. Knowledge and understanding of Virginia's Guidelines 

for Uniform Performance Standards and Evaluation 

Criteria for Teachers shall be included. 

6. Language and Literacy literacy. 

a. Early/primary education preK-3 and elementary 

education preK-6 language acquisition and reading and 

writing. Skills listed for these endorsement areas represent 

the minimum competencies that a beginning teacher must 

be able to demonstrate. These skills are not intended to 

limit the scope of a beginning teacher's program. 

Additional knowledge and skills that add to a beginning 

teacher's competencies to deliver instruction and improve 

student achievement should be included as part of a 

quality learning experience. 

(1) Language acquisition: Skills in this area language 

acquisition shall be designed to impart a thorough 

understanding of the Virginia English Standards of 

Learning, as well as the complex nature of language 

acquisition as a precursor to literacy. Language acquisition 

shall follow the typical development of linguistic 

competence in the areas of phonetics, semantics, syntax, 

morphology, phonology, and pragmatics. 

(2) Reading and writing: Skills in this area reading and 

writing shall be designed to impart a thorough 

understanding of the Virginia English Standards of 

Learning, as well as the reciprocal nature of reading and 

writing. Reading shall include phonemic and other 

phonological awareness, concept of print, phonics, 

fluency, vocabulary development, and comprehension 

strategies. Writing shall include writing strategies and 

conventions as supporting the composing and written 

expression and usage and mechanics domains. Additional 

skills shall include proficiency in understanding the stages 

of spelling development, and the writing process, as well 

as the ability to foster appreciation of a variety of fiction 

and nonfiction text and independent reading. 

b. Dual language (English) preK-6 language acquisition 

and reading and writing. Skills listed for these 

endorsement areas represent the minimum competencies 

that a beginning teacher shall be able to demonstrate. 

These skills are not intended to limit the scope of a 

beginning teacher's program. Additional knowledge and 

skills that add to a beginning teacher's competencies to 

deliver instruction and improve student achievement 

should be included as part of a quality learning experience. 

(1) Skills in language acquisition shall be designed to 

impart a thorough understanding of the Virginia English 

Standards of Learning, as well as the complex nature of 

language acquisition as a precursor to literacy. Language 

acquisition shall follow the typical development of 

linguistic competence in the areas of phonetics, semantics, 

syntax, morphology, phonology, and pragmatics. 

(2) Skills in literacy development (reading and writing) 

shall be designed to impart a thorough understanding of 

strategies for integration of content, literacy, and language 

development, researched-based strategies for 

differentiating instruction for language development; and 

language and cognitive support or scaffolding bases on the 

various strategies of the language and literacy acquisition 

process. Skills in this area shall be designed to impart a 

thorough understanding of the Virginia English Standards 

of Learning, as well as the reciprocal nature of reading and 

writing. Reading shall include phonemic and other 

phonological awareness, concept of print, phonics, 

fluency, vocabulary development, and comprehension 

strategies. Writing shall include writing strategies and 

conventions as supporting composing and written 

expression and usage and mechanics domains. Additional 

skills shall include proficiency in understanding the stages 

of spelling development and the writing process, as well 

as the ability to foster appreciation of a variety of fiction 

and nonfiction texts and independent reading. 

c. Dual language (target language) preK-6 language 

acquisition and bilingual literacy development. Skills 

listed for these endorsement areas represent the minimum 

competencies that a beginning teacher shall be able to 

demonstrate. These skills are not intended to limit the 

scope of a beginning teacher's program. Additional 

knowledge and skills that add to a beginning teacher's 

competencies to deliver instruction and improve student 

achievement should be included as part of a quality 

learning experience. 

(1) Skills in language acquisition shall be designed to 

impart a thorough understanding of the Virginia English 

Standards of Learning, as well as the complex nature of 

language acquisition as a precursor to literacy. Language 

acquisition shall follow the typical development of 

linguistic competence in the areas of phonetics, semantics, 

syntax, morphology, phonology, and pragmatics. 
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(2) Skills in bilingual literacy development shall be 

designed to impart a thorough understanding of strategies 

for integration of content, literacy, and language 

development, researched-based strategies for 

differentiating instruction for dual language; and language 

and cognitive support or scaffolding bases on the various 

strategies of the second language acquisition process. 

Reading shall include phonemic and other phonological 

awareness, concept of print, phonics, fluency, vocabulary 

development, and comprehension strategies. Writing shall 

include writing strategies and conventions as supporting 

composing and written expression and usage and 

mechanics domains. Additional skills shall include 

proficiency in understanding the stages of spelling 

development and the writing process, as well as the ability 

to foster appreciation of a variety of fiction and nonfiction 

texts and independent reading. 

d. Middle education - language acquisition and reading 

development and literacy in the content areas. 

(1) Language acquisition and reading development: Skills 

in this area language acquisition and reading development 

shall be designed to impart a thorough understanding of 

the complex nature of language acquisition and reading, to 

include phonemic and other phonological awareness, 

phonics, fluency, vocabulary development, and 

comprehension strategies for adolescent learners. 

Additional skills shall include proficiency in writing 

strategies, as well as the ability to foster appreciation of a 

variety of fiction and nonfiction text and independent 

reading for adolescent learners. 

(2) Literacy in the content areas: Skills in this area literacy 

in the content areas shall be designed to impart an 

understanding of vocabulary development and 

comprehension skills in areas of English, mathematics, 

science, history and social science, and other content 

areas. Strategies include teaching students how to ask 

effective questions, summarize and retell both verbally 

and in writing, and to listen effectively. Teaching 

strategies include literal, interpretive, critical, and 

evaluative comprehension, as well as the ability to foster 

appreciation of a variety of fiction and nonfiction text and 

independent reading for adolescent readers. 

7. Supervised clinical experiences. The supervised clinical 

experiences shall be continuous and systematic and 

comprised of early field experiences with a minimum of 10 

weeks of successful full-time student teaching in the 

endorsement area sought under the supervision of a 

cooperating teacher with demonstrated effectiveness in the 

classroom. The summative supervised student teaching 

experience shall include at least 150 clock hours spent in 

direct teaching at the level of endorsement in a public or 

accredited nonpublic school. One year of successful full-

time teaching experience in the endorsement area in any 

public school or accredited nonpublic school may be 

accepted in lieu of the supervised student teaching 

experience. A fully licensed, experienced teacher shall be 

available in the school building to assist a beginning teacher 

employed through the alternate route. 

8VAC20-543-275. Dual language (English) endorsement 

preK-6.  

The programs in dual language (English) preK-6 shall ensure 

that the candidate has demonstrated the following 

competencies. National standards in dual language are to be 

addressed in the program. 

1. Methods. 

a. Understanding of the needed knowledge, skills, 

dispositions, and processes to support learners in 

achievement of Virginia's Foundation Blocks for Early 

Learning: Comprehensive Standards for Four-Year-Olds, 

or their successor standards, and the Virginia Standards of 

Learning in English, mathematics, history and social 

science, science, and computer technology; 

b. Understanding of current research on the brain, its role 

in learning, and implications for instruction; 

c. The ability to integrate English, mathematics, science, 

health, history and social sciences, art, music, drama, 

movement, and technology in learning experiences; 

d. The use of differentiated instruction and flexible 

groupings to meet the needs of learners at different stages 

of development, abilities, and achievement; 

e. The use of appropriate methods, including those in 

visual and performing arts, to help learners develop 

knowledge and basic skills, sustain intellectual curiosity, 

and problem-solve; 

f. The ability to utilize effective classroom and behavior 

management skills through methods that build 

responsibility and self-discipline promote self-regulation, 

and maintain a positive learning environment; 

g. The ability to modify and manage learning 

environments and experiences to meet the individual 

needs of children, including children with disabilities, 

gifted children, children who are English learners, and 

children with diverse cultural needs; 

h. The ability to use formal and informal assessments to 

diagnose needs, plan and modify instruction, and record 

student progress; 

i. A commitment to professional growth and development 

through reflection, collaboration, and continuous learning; 

j. The ability to analyze, evaluate, and apply quantitative 

and qualitative research; 

k. Understanding of the Virginia Standards of Learning for 

Computer Technology and the ability to use technology as 

a tool for teaching, learning, research, and 

communication; and 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1248 

l. The ability to adapt task and interactions to maximize 

language development, conceptual understanding, and 

skill competence within each child's zone of proximal 

development. 

2. Knowledge and skills. 

a. Reading and English. Understanding of the content, 

knowledge, skills, and processes for teaching Virginia's 

Foundation Blocks for Early Learning: Comprehensive 

Standards for Four-Year-Olds, or their successor 

standards, and the Virginia Standards of Learning for 

English, including communication (speaking, listening, 

and media literacy), reading, writing, and research and 

how these standards provide the core for teaching English 

in elementary. 

(1) Assessment and diagnostic teaching. The individual 

shall: 

(a) Be proficient in the use of both formal and informal 

assessment as screening diagnostic, and progress 

monitoring measures for the components of reading: 

phonemic awareness, letter recognition, decoding, 

fluency, vocabulary, reading level, and comprehension; 

and 

(b) Be proficient in the ability to use diagnostic data to 

inform instruction for acceleration, intervention, 

remediation, and differentiation. 

(2) Communication: speaking, listening, and media 

literacy. The individual shall: 

(a) Be proficient in the knowledge, skills, and processes 

necessary for teaching communication, such as speaking, 

listening, and media literacy; 

(b) Be proficient in developing students' phonological 

awareness skills; 

(c) Demonstrate the ability to teach students to identify the 

characteristics of and apply critical thinking to media 

messages and to facilitate students' proficiency in using 

various forms of media to collaborate and communicate; 

(d) Demonstrate effective strategies for facilitating the 

learning of standard English by speakers of other 

languages and dialects; and 

(e) Demonstrate the ability to promote creative thinking 

and expression, such as through storytelling, drama, 

choral, and oral reading. 

(3) Reading and literature. The individual shall: 

(a) Be proficient in explicit and systematic phonics 

instruction, including an understanding of sound and 

symbol relationships, syllables, phonemes, morphemes, 

word analysis, and decoding skills; 

(b) Be proficient in strategies to increase vocabulary and 

concept development; 

(c) Be proficient in the structure of the English language, 

including an understanding of syntax and semantics; 

(d) Be proficient in reading comprehension strategies for 

both fiction and nonfiction text, including questioning, 

predicting, inferencing, summarizing, clarifying, 

evaluating, and making connections; 

(e) Demonstrate the ability to support students to read with 

fluency, accuracy, and meaningful expression (prosody); 

(f) Demonstrate the ability to develop comprehension 

skills in all content areas; 

(g) Demonstrate the ability to foster appreciation of a 

variety of literature; 

(h) Understand the importance of promoting independent 

reading by selecting fiction and nonfiction texts of 

appropriate yet engaging topics and reading levels; and 

(i) Demonstrate effective strategies for teaching students 

to view, interpret, analyze, and represent information and 

concepts in visual form with or without the spoken or 

written word. 

(4) Writing. The individual shall: 

(a) Be proficient in the knowledge, skills, and processes 

necessary for teaching writing, including the domains of 

composing and written expression, usage and mechanics 

and the writing process of planning, drafting, revising, 

editing, and publishing; 

(b) Understand the stages of spelling development, 

promoting the generalization of spelling study to writing, 

and be proficient in systematic spelling instruction, 

including awareness of the purpose and limitations of 

"invented spelling"; 

(c) Demonstrate the ability to teach students to write 

cohesively for a variety of purposes and to provide 

instruction on the writing process: planning, drafting, 

revising, editing, and publishing in the narrative, 

descriptive, persuasive, and explanative modes; and 

(d) Demonstrate the ability to facilitate student research 

and related skills such as accessing information, 

evaluating the validity of sources, citing sources, and 

synthesizing information. 

(5) Technology. The individual shall demonstrate the 

ability to guide students in their use of technology for both 

process and product as they work with reading, writing, 

and research. 

b. Mathematics. 

(1) Understanding of the mathematics relevant to the 

content identified in Virginia's Foundation Blocks for 

Early Learning: Comprehensive Standards for Four-Year-

Olds, or their successor standards, and the Virginia 

Standards of Learning and how the standards provide the 

foundation for teaching mathematics in grades preK-6. 

Experiences with practical applications and the use of 

appropriate technology and concrete materials should be 

used within the following content: 
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(a) Number systems and their structure, basic operations, 

and properties; 

(b) Elementary number theory, ratio, proportion, and 

percent; 

(c) Algebra: fundamental idea of equality; operations with 

monomials and polynomials; algebraic fractions; linear 

and quadratic equations and inequalities and linear 

systems of equations and inequalities; radicals and 

exponents; arithmetic and geometric sequences and series; 

algebraic and trigonometric functions; and 

transformations among graphical, tabular, and symbolic 

forms of functions; 

(d) Geometry: geometric figures, their properties, 

relationships, and the Pythagorean Theorem; deductive 

and inductive reasoning; perimeter, area, and surface area 

of two-dimensional and three-dimensional figures; 

coordinate and transformational geometry; and 

constructions; and 

(e) Probability and statistics: permutations and 

combinations; experimental and theoretical probability; 

data collection and graphical representations, including 

box-and-whisker plots; data analysis and interpretation for 

predictions; measures of center, spread of data, variability, 

range, and normal distribution. 

(2) Understanding of the sequential nature of mathematics 

and vertical progression of mathematical standards. 

(3) Understanding of the multiple representations of 

mathematical concepts and procedures. 

(4) Understanding of and the ability to use the five 

processes of reasoning mathematically, solving problems, 

communicating mathematics effectively, making 

mathematical connections, and using mathematical 

models and representations at different levels of 

complexity. 

(5) Understanding of the contributions of different 

cultures toward the development of mathematics and the 

role of mathematics in culture and society. 

(6) Understanding of the appropriate use of calculators and 

technology in the teaching and learning of mathematics, 

including virtual manipulatives. 

(7) Understanding of and the ability to use strategies to 

teach mathematics to diverse learners. 

c. History and social sciences. 

(1) Understanding of the knowledge, skills, and processes 

of history and the social sciences disciplines as defined in 

Virginia's Foundation Blocks for Early Learning: 

Comprehensive Standards for Four-Year-Olds, or their 

successor standards, and the Virginia Standards of 

Learning and how the standards provide the necessary 

foundation for teaching history and social sciences, 

including in: 

(a) History. 

(i) The contributions of ancient civilizations to modern 

social and political institutions; 

(ii) Major events in Virginia history from 1607 to the 

present; 

(iii) Key individuals, documents, and events in United 

States history; and 

(iv) The evolution of America's constitutional republic and 

its ideas, institutions, and practices. 

(b) Geography. 

(i) The use of maps and other geographic representations, 

tools, and technologies to acquire, process, and report 

information; 

(ii) The relationship between human activity and the 

physical environment in the community and the world; 

and 

(iii) Physical processes that shape the surface of the earth. 

(c) Civics. 

(i) The privileges and responsibilities of good citizenship 

and the importance of the rule of law for the protection of 

individual rights; 

(ii) The process of making laws in the United States and 

the fundamental ideals and principles of a republican form 

of government; 

(iii) The understanding that Americans are a people of 

diverse ethnic origins, customs, and traditions who are 

united by basic principles of a republican form of 

government and a common identity as Americans; and 

(iv) Local government and civics instruction specific to 

Virginia. 

(d) Economics. 

(i) The basic economic principles that underlie the United 

States market economy; 

(ii) The role of the individual and how economic decisions 

are made in the market place; and 

(iii) The role of government in the structure of the United 

States economy. 

(2) Understanding of the nature of history and social 

sciences and how the study of the disciplines assists 

students in developing historical thinking, geographical 

analysis, economic decision-making, and responsible 

citizenship by: 

(a) Using artifacts and primary and secondary sources to 

understand events in history; 

(b) Using geographic skills to explain the interaction of 

people, places, and events to support an understanding of 

events in history; 

(c) Using charts, graphs, and pictures to determine 

characteristics of people, places, and events in history; 

(d) Asking appropriate questions and summarizing points 

to answer a question; 
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(e) Comparing and contrasting people, places, and events 

in history; 

(f) Recognizing direct cause and effect relationships in 

history; 

(g) Explaining connections across time and place; 

(h) Using a decision-making model to identify costs and 

benefits of a specific choice made; 

(i) Practicing good citizenship skills and respect for rules 

and laws, and participating in classroom activities; and 

(j) Developing fluency in content vocabulary and 

comprehension of verbal, written, and visual sources. 

d. Science. 

(1) Understanding of the knowledge, skills, and practices 

of the four core science disciplines of Earth science, 

biology, chemistry, and physics as defined in Virginia's 

Foundation Blocks for Early Learning: Comprehensive 

Standards for Four-Year-Olds, or their successor 

standards, and the Virginia Science Standards of Learning 

and how these standards provide a sound foundation for 

teaching science in the elementary grades. 

(2) Understanding of the nature of science and scientific 

inquiry, including the following: 

(a) Function of research design and experimentation; 

(b) Role and nature of the theory in explaining and 

predicting events and phenomena; 

(c) Practices required to provide empirical answers to 

research questions, including data collection and analysis, 

modeling, argumentation with evidence, and constructing 

explanations; 

(d) Reliability of scientific knowledge and its constant 

scrutiny and refinement; 

(e) Self-checking mechanisms used by science to increase 

objectivity, including peer review; and 

(f) Assumptions, influencing conditions, and limits of 

empirical knowledge. 

(3) Understanding of the knowledge, skills, and practices 

for conducting an active elementary science program 

including the ability to: 

(a) Design instruction reflecting the goals of the Virginia 

Science Standards of Learning; 

(b) Implement classroom, field, and laboratory safety rules 

and procedures and ensure that students take appropriate 

safety precautions; 

(c) Conduct research projects and experiments, including 

applications of the design process and technology; 

(d) Conduct systematic field investigations using the 

school grounds, the community, and regional resources; 

(e) Organize key science content, skills, and practices into 

meaningful units of instruction that actively engage 

students in learning; 

(f) Design instruction to meet the needs of diverse learners 

using a variety of techniques; 

(g) Evaluate instructional materials, technologies, and 

teaching practices; 

(h) Conduct formative and summative assessments of 

student learning; 

(i) Incorporate instructional technology to enhance student 

performance in science; and 

(j) Ensure student competence in science. 

(4) Understanding of the content, skills, and practices of 

the four core science areas, including Earth sciences, 

biology, chemistry, and physics supporting the teaching of 

preK-6 science as defined by the Virginia Science 

Standards of Learning and equivalent course work 

reflecting each of the four core science areas. 

(5) Understanding of the core scientific disciplines of 

Earth science, biology, chemistry, and physics to ensure: 

(a) The placement of the four core scientific disciplines in 

an appropriate interdisciplinary context; 

(b) The ability to teach the skills, practices, and 

crosscutting concepts common to the natural and physical 

sciences; 

(c) The application of key science principles to solve 

practical problems; and 

(d) A "systems" understanding of the natural world. 

(6) Understanding of the contributions and significance of 

science including: 

(a) The social, cultural, and economic significance of 

science; 

(b) The relationship of science to mathematics, the design 

process, and technology; and 

(c) The historical development of scientific concepts and 

scientific reasoning. 

8VAC20-543-276. Dual language (English) preK-6 (add-on 

endorsement).  

A. The dual language (English) preK-6 endorsement is to 

teach dual language (English). Individuals who hold a valid 

Virginia teaching license with an elementary education 

endorsement may teach in dual language (English) in the 

corresponding grade levels noted on the license (such as 

early/primary education preK-3 or elementary education preK-

6). Even though individuals holding a valid Virginia teaching 

license with an elementary education endorsement in the 

assigned dual language (English) assignment do not need the 

dual language (English) preK-6 add-on endorsement, the 

endorsement recognizes the candidate's additional preparation 

in dual language (English) preparation. 

B. The program in dual language (English) preK-6 add-on 

endorsement shall ensure that the candidate holds a 

baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college or 
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university and an active teaching license with an elementary 

education endorsement issued by the State Board of Education 

and has demonstrated the following competencies and 

completed a 45-clock-hour practicum in dual language 

(English) from a regionally accredited college or university. 

One year of successful, full-time teaching experience in a 

public school or accredited nonpublic school in dual language 

(English) may be accepted in lieu of the practicum. 

1. Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding of 

the principles of learning; dual language acquisition; 

theories of second language acquisition; the application of 

skills in discipline-specific methodology; varied and 

effective methods of communication with and among 

students; selection and use of materials, including media and 

contemporary technologies; and selection, development, and 

use of appropriate curricula, methodologies, and materials 

that support and enhance student learning and reflect the 

research on unique, age-appropriate, and culturally relevant 

curriculum and pedagogy.  

2. Understanding of the principles of online learning and 

online instructional strategies and the application of skills to 

deliver online instruction shall be included.  

3. Instructional practices that are sensitive to culturally and 

linguistically diverse learners, including English learners, 

gifted and talented students, and students with disabilities, 

and appropriate for the preK-3 or preK-6 endorsement shall 

be included.  

4. Teaching methods shall be tailored to promote student 

engagement and student academic progress and effective 

preparation for the Virginia Standards of Learning 

assessments.  

5. Study in (i) methods of improving communication 

between schools and families; (ii) communicating with 

families regarding social and instructional needs of children; 

(iii) ways of increasing family engagement in student 

learning at home and in school; (iv) the Virginia Standards 

of Learning; (v) English Language Development Standards 

(WIDA); and (vi) Virginia Foundation Blocks for Early 

Learning: Comprehensive Standards for Four-Year-Olds, or 

their successor standards, prepared by the Virginia 

Department of Education's Office of Early Childhood shall 

be included.  

6. Early childhood educators shall understand the role of 

families in child development and in relation to teaching 

educational skills.  

7. Early childhood educators shall understand the role of the 

informal and play-mediated settings for promoting students' 

skills and development and shall demonstrate knowledge 

and skill in interacting in such situations to promote specific 

learning outcomes as reflected in Virginia's Foundation 

Blocks for Early Learning: Comprehensive Standards for 

Four-Year-Olds, or their successor standards. 

8. Demonstrated proficiency in the use of educational 

technology for instruction shall be required. 

8VAC20-543-277. Dual language (target language) 

endorsement preK-6.  

A. The programs in dual language (target language) preK-6 

shall ensure that the candidate has demonstrated the following 

competencies. National standards in dual language are to be 

addressed in the program. 

B. Individuals must have demonstrated proficiency in the 

world language by completing a major in the target language; 

or 12 semester hours in the target language above the 

intermediate level that must include composition, literature, 

and conversation; or a qualifying score on a foreign language 

assessment in the target language as prescribed by the State 

Board of Education. 

1. Methods. 

a. Understanding of the needed knowledge, skills, 

dispositions, and processes to support learners in 

achievement of Virginia's Foundation Blocks for Early 

Learning: Comprehensive Standards for Four-Year-Olds, 

or their successor standards, and the Virginia Standards of 

Learning in English, mathematics, history and social 

science, science, and computer technology; 

b. Understanding of current research on the brain, its role 

in learning, and implications for instruction; 

c. The ability to integrate English, mathematics, science, 

health, history and social sciences, art, music, drama, 

movement, and technology in learning experiences; 

d. The use of differentiated instruction and flexible 

groupings to meet the needs of learners at different stages 

of development, abilities, and achievement; 

e. The use of appropriate methods, including those in 

visual and performing arts, to help learners develop 

knowledge and basic skills, sustain intellectual curiosity, 

and problem-solve; 

f. The ability to utilize effective classroom and behavior 

management skills through methods that build 

responsibility and self-discipline promote self-regulation, 

and maintain a positive learning environment; 

g. The ability to modify and manage learning 

environments and experiences to meet the individual 

needs of children, including children with disabilities, 

gifted children, children who are English learners, and 

children with diverse cultural needs; 

h. The ability to use formal and informal assessments to 

diagnose needs, plan and modify instruction, and record 

student progress; 

i. A commitment to professional growth and development 

through reflection, collaboration, and continuous learning; 

j. The ability to analyze, evaluate, and apply quantitative 

and qualitative research; 
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k. Understanding of the Virginia Standards of Learning for 

Computer Technology and the ability to use technology as 

a tool for teaching, learning, research, and 

communication; and 

l. The ability to adapt task and interactions to maximize 

language development, conceptual understanding, and 

skill competence within each child's zone of proximal 

development. 

2. Knowledge and skills. 

a. Reading and English. Understanding of the content, 

knowledge, skills, and processes for teaching Virginia's 

Foundation Blocks for Early Learning: Comprehensive 

Standards for Four-Year-Olds, or their successor 

standards, and the Virginia Standards of Learning for 

English, including communication (speaking, listening, 

and media literacy), reading, writing, and research and 

how these standards provide the core for teaching English 

in elementary . 

(1) Assessment and diagnostic teaching. The individual 

shall: 

(a) Be proficient in the use of both formal and informal 

assessment as screening diagnostic and progress 

monitoring measures for the components of reading: 

phonemic awareness, letter recognition, decoding, 

fluency, vocabulary, reading level, and comprehension; 

and 

(b) Be proficient in the ability to use diagnostic data to 

inform instruction for acceleration, intervention, 

remediation, and differentiation. 

(2) Communication: speaking, listening, and media 

literacy. The individual shall: 

(a) Be proficient in the knowledge, skills, and processes 

necessary for teaching communication, such as speaking, 

listening, and media literacy; 

(b) Be proficient in developing students' phonological 

awareness skills; 

(c) Demonstrate the ability to teach students to identify the 

characteristics of and apply critical thinking to media 

messages and to facilitate students' proficiency in using 

various forms of media to collaborate and communicate; 

(d) Demonstrate effective strategies for facilitating the 

learning of standard English by speakers of other 

languages and dialects; and 

(e) Demonstrate the ability to promote creative thinking 

and expression, such as through storytelling, drama, 

choral, and oral reading. 

(3) Reading and literature. The individual shall: 

(a) Be proficient in explicit and systematic phonics 

instruction, including an understanding of sound and 

symbol relationships, syllables, phonemes, morphemes, 

word analysis, and decoding skills; 

(b) Be proficient in strategies to increase vocabulary and 

concept development; 

(c) Be proficient in the structure of the English language, 

including an understanding of syntax and semantics; 

(d) Be proficient in reading comprehension strategies for 

both fiction and nonfiction text, including questioning, 

predicting, inferencing, summarizing, clarifying, 

evaluating, and making connections; 

(e) Demonstrate the ability to support students to read with 

fluency, accuracy, and meaningful expression (prosody); 

(f) Demonstrate the ability to develop comprehension 

skills in all content areas; 

(g) Demonstrate the ability to foster appreciation of a 

variety of literature; 

(h) Understand the importance of promoting independent 

reading by selecting fiction and nonfiction texts of 

appropriate yet engaging topics and reading levels; and 

(i) Demonstrate effective strategies for teaching students 

to view, interpret, analyze, and represent information and 

concepts in visual form with or without the spoken or 

written word. 

(4) Writing. The individual shall: 

(a) Be proficient in the knowledge, skills, and processes 

necessary for teaching writing, including the domains of 

composing and written expression, usage and mechanics 

and the writing process of planning, drafting, revising, 

editing, and publishing; 

(b) Understand the stages of spelling development, 

promoting the generalization of spelling study to writing, 

and be proficient in systematic spelling instruction, 

including awareness of the purpose and limitations of 

"invented spelling"; 

(c) Demonstrate the ability to teach students to write 

cohesively for a variety of purposes and to provide 

instruction on the writing process: planning, drafting, 

revising, editing, and publishing in the narrative, 

descriptive, persuasive, and explanative modes; and 

(d) Demonstrate the ability to facilitate student research 

and related skills, such as accessing information, 

evaluating the validity of sources, citing sources, and 

synthesizing information. 

(5) Technology. The individual shall demonstrate the 

ability to guide students in their use of technology for both 

process and product as they work with reading, writing, 

and research. 

b. Mathematics. 

(1) Understanding of the mathematics relevant to the 

content identified in Virginia's Foundation Blocks for 

Early Learning: Comprehensive Standards for Four-Year-

Olds, or their successor standards, and the Virginia 

Standards of Learning and how the standards provide the 

foundation for teaching mathematics in grades preK-6. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1253 

Experiences with practical applications and the use of 

appropriate technology and concrete materials should be 

used within the following content: 

(a) Number systems and their structure, basic operations, 

and properties; 

(b) Elementary number theory, ratio, proportion, and 

percent; 

(c) Algebra: fundamental idea of equality; operations with 

monomials and polynomials; algebraic fractions; linear 

and quadratic equations and inequalities and linear 

systems of equations and inequalities; radicals and 

exponents; arithmetic and geometric sequences and series; 

algebraic and trigonometric functions; and 

transformations among graphical, tabular, and symbolic 

forms of functions; 

(d) Geometry: geometric figures, their properties, 

relationships, and the Pythagorean Theorem; deductive 

and inductive reasoning; perimeter, area, and surface area 

of two-dimensional and three-dimensional figures; 

coordinate and transformational geometry; and 

constructions; and 

(e) Probability and statistics: permutations and 

combinations; experimental and theoretical probability; 

data collection and graphical representations including 

box-and-whisker plots; data analysis and interpretation for 

predictions; and measures of center, spread of data, 

variability, range, and normal distribution. 

(2) Understanding of the sequential nature of mathematics 

and vertical progression of mathematical standards. 

(3) Understanding of the multiple representations of 

mathematical concepts and procedures. 

(4) Understanding of and the ability to use the five 

processes of reasoning mathematically, solving problems, 

communicating mathematics effectively, making 

mathematical connections, and using mathematical 

models and representations at different levels of 

complexity. 

(5) Understanding of the contributions of different 

cultures toward the development of mathematics and the 

role of mathematics in culture and society. 

(6) Understanding of the appropriate use of calculators and 

technology in the teaching and learning of mathematics, 

including virtual manipulatives. 

(7) Understanding of and the ability to use strategies to 

teach mathematics to diverse learners. 

c. History and social sciences. 

(1) Understanding of the knowledge, skills, and processes 

of history and the social sciences disciplines as defined in 

Virginia's Foundation Blocks for Early Learning: 

Comprehensive Standards for Four-Year-Olds, or their 

successor standards, and the Virginia Standards of 

Learning and how the standards provide the necessary 

foundation for teaching history and social sciences, 

including in: 

(a) History. 

(i) The contributions of ancient civilizations to modern 

social and political institutions; 

(ii) Major events in Virginia history from 1607 to the 

present; 

(iii) Key individuals, documents, and events in United 

States history; and 

(iv) The evolution of America's constitutional republic and 

its ideas, institutions, and practices. 

(b) Geography. 

(i) The use of maps and other geographic representations, 

tools, and technologies to acquire, process, and report 

information; 

(ii) The relationship between human activity and the 

physical environment in the community and the world; 

and 

(iii) Physical processes that shape the surface of the earth. 

(c) Civics. 

(i) The privileges and responsibilities of good citizenship 

and the importance of the rule of law for the protection of 

individual rights; 

(ii) The process of making laws in the United States and 

the fundamental ideals and principles of a republican form 

of government; 

(iii) The understanding that Americans are a people of 

diverse ethnic origins, customs, and traditions, who are 

united by basic principles of a republican form of 

government and a common identity as Americans; and 

(iv) Local government and civics instruction specific to 

Virginia. 

(d) Economics. 

(i) The basic economic principles that underlie the United 

States market economy; 

(ii) The role of the individual and how economic decisions 

are made in the market place; and 

(iii) The role of government in the structure of the United 

States economy. 

(2) Understanding of the nature of history and social 

sciences and how the study of the disciplines assists 

students in developing historical thinking, geographical 

analysis, economic decision-making, and responsible 

citizenship by: 

(a) Using artifacts and primary and secondary sources to 

understand events in history; 

(b) Using geographic skills to explain the interaction of 

people, places, and events to support an understanding of 

events in history; 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1254 

(c) Using charts, graphs, and pictures to determine 

characteristics of people, places, and events in history; 

(d) Asking appropriate questions and summarizing points 

to answer a question; 

(e) Comparing and contrasting people, places, and events 

in history; 

(f) Recognizing direct cause and effect relationships in 

history; 

(g) Explaining connections across time and place; 

(h) Using a decision-making model to identify costs and 

benefits of a specific choice made; 

(i) Practicing good citizenship skills and respect for rules 

and laws, and participating in classroom activities; and 

(j) Developing fluency in content vocabulary and 

comprehension of verbal, written, and visual sources. 

d. Science. 

(1) Understanding of the knowledge, skills, and practices 

of the four core science disciplines of Earth science, 

biology, chemistry, and physics as defined in Virginia's 

Foundation Blocks for Early Learning: Comprehensive 

Standards for Four-Year-Olds, or their successor 

standards, and the Virginia Science Standards of Learning 

and how these standards provide a sound foundation for 

teaching science in the elementary grades. 

(2) Understanding of the nature of science and scientific 

inquiry, including the following: 

(a) Function of research design and experimentation; 

(b) Role and nature of the theory in explaining and 

predicting events and phenomena; 

(c) Practices required to provide empirical answers to 

research questions, including data collection and analysis, 

modeling, argumentation with evidence, and constructing 

explanations; 

(d) Reliability of scientific knowledge and its constant 

scrutiny and refinement; 

(e) Self-checking mechanisms used by science to increase 

objectivity, including peer review; and 

(f) Assumptions, influencing conditions, and limits of 

empirical knowledge. 

(3) Understanding of the knowledge, skills, and practices 

for conducting an active elementary science program 

including the ability to: 

(a) Design instruction reflecting the goals of the Virginia 

Science Standards of Learning; 

(b) Implement classroom, field, and laboratory safety rules 

and procedures and ensure that students take appropriate 

safety precautions; 

(c) Conduct research projects and experiments, including 

applications of the design process and technology; 

(d) Conduct systematic field investigations using the 

school grounds, the community, and regional resources; 

(e) Organize key science content, skills, and practices into 

meaningful units of instruction that actively engage 

students in learning; 

(f) Design instruction to meet the needs of diverse learners 

using a variety of techniques; 

(g) Evaluate instructional materials, technologies, and 

teaching practices; 

(h) Conduct formative and summative assessments of 

student learning; 

(i) Incorporate instructional technology to enhance student 

performance in science; and 

(j) Ensure student competence in science. 

(4) Understanding of the content, skills, and practices of 

the four core science areas, including Earth sciences, 

biology, chemistry, and physics supporting the teaching of 

preK-6 science as defined by the Virginia Science 

Standards of Learning and equivalent course work 

reflecting each of the four core science areas. 

(5) Understanding of the core scientific disciplines of 

Earth science, biology, chemistry, and physics to ensure: 

(a) The placement of the four core scientific disciplines in 

an appropriate interdisciplinary context; 

(b) The ability to teach the skills, practices, and 

crosscutting concepts common to the natural and physical 

sciences; 

(c) The application of key science principles to solve 

practical problems; and 

(d) A "systems" understanding of the natural world. 

(6) Understanding of the contributions and significance of 

science including: 

(a) The social, cultural, and economic significance of 

science; 

(b) The relationship of science to mathematics, the design 

process, and technology; and 

(c) The historical development of scientific concepts and 

scientific reasoning. 

8VAC20-543-278. Dual language (target language) preK-6 

(add-on endorsement).  

A. The dual language (target language) preK-6 add-on 

endorsement is to teach dual language in a World Language 

other than English. The target language will be noted on the 

endorsement. 

B. The program in dual language (target language) preK-6 

add-on endorsement shall ensure that the candidate holds a 

baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college or 

university and an active teaching license with an endorsement 

in a target language issued by the State Board of Education and 

has demonstrated the following competencies and completed a 
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45-clock-hour practicum in dual language (target language) 

from a regionally accredited college or university. One year of 

successful, full-time teaching experience in a public school or 

accredited nonpublic school in dual language (target language) 

may be accepted in lieu of the practicum. 

1. Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding of 

the principles of learning; dual language acquisition; 

theories of second language acquisition; the application of 

skills in discipline-specific methodology; varied and 

effective methods of communication with and among 

students; selection and use of materials, including media and 

contemporary technologies; and selection, development, and 

use of appropriate curricula, methodologies, and materials 

that support and enhance student learning and reflect the 

research on unique, age-appropriate, and culturally relevant 

curriculum and pedagogy.  

2. Understanding of the principles of online learning and 

online instructional strategies and the application of skills to 

deliver online instruction shall be included.  

3. Instructional practices that are sensitive to culturally and 

linguistically diverse learners, including English learners, 

gifted and talented students, and students with disabilities, 

and appropriate for the preK-3 or preK-6 endorsement shall 

be included.  

4. Teaching methods shall be tailored to promote student 

engagement and student academic progress and effective 

preparation for the Virginia Standards of Learning 

assessments.  

5. Study in (i) methods of improving communication 

between schools and families; (ii) communicating with 

families regarding social and instructional needs of children; 

(iii) ways of increasing family engagement in student 

learning at home and in school; (iv) the Virginia Standards 

of Learning; (v) English Language Development Standards 

(WIDA); and (vi) Virginia Foundation Blocks for Early 

Learning: Comprehensive Standards for Four-Year-Olds, or 

their successor standards, prepared by the Virginia 

Department of Education's Office of Early Childhood shall 

be included.  

6. Early childhood educators shall understand the role of 

families in child development and in relation to teaching 

educational skills.  

7. Early childhood educators shall understand the role of the 

informal and play-mediated settings for promoting students' 

skills and development and shall demonstrate knowledge 

and skill in interacting in such situations to promote specific 

learning outcomes as reflected in Virginia's Foundation 

Blocks for Early Learning: Comprehensive Standards for 

Four-Year-Olds, or their successor standards. 

8. Demonstrated proficiency in the use of educational 

technology for instruction shall be required. 

C. The candidate must pass the rigorous elementary education 

assessment prescribed by the State Board of Education or 

completed the following coursework: 

1. Mathematics- nine semester hours in mathematics that 

must include methods of teaching elementary mathematics; 

2. Laboratory sciences (in two science disciplines)- nine 

semester hours that must include methods of teaching 

elementary science; 

3. History and Social Sciences: United States history- three 

semester hours; geography, economics, or United States or 

comparative government- three semester hours; and 

methods of teaching elementary history and social sciences 

- three semester hours. 

8VAC20-543-279. Economics and personal finance (add-on 

endorsement).  

The program in economics and personal finance shall ensure 

that the candidate holds an active license (Collegiate 

Professional License, Postgraduate Professional License, or a 

Provisional License leading to a Collegiate Professional or 

Postgraduate Professional License) with a teaching 

endorsement or endorsements issued by the State Board of 

Education and has demonstrated the following competencies: 

1. Understanding and demonstration of the required 

knowledge, skills, and processes to support learners in 

achievement of the Economics and Personal Finance 

Virginia Standards of Learning, including: 

a. Integration of economic concepts and structures, 

including how consumers, businesses, and governments 

face scarcity of resources and make trade-offs and incur 

opportunity costs; 

b. Role of producers and consumers in a market economy 

including response to incentives, the role of entrepreneurs, 

and how costs and revenues affect profit and supply; 

c. The price system; 

d. Factors that affect income; 

e. Nation's economic goals, including full employment, 

stable prices, and economic growth; 

f. Nation's financial system; 

g. Monetary and fiscal policy; 

h. Role of government in a market economy; 

i. Global economy including trade and comparative 

advantage; 

j. Consumer skills; 

k. Planning for living and leisure expenses; 

l. Banking transactions; 

m. Credit and loan functions; 

n. Role of insurance in risk management; 

o. Income earning, taxes, and reporting; 
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p. Personal financial planning;  

q. Investment and savings planning; and 

r. Financing postsecondary education (including the Free 

Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA); and  

2. Understanding and knowledge of teaching in an online or 

blended learning environment.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6234; Filed January 10, 2022, 12:36 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-671. Regulations Governing 

the Operation of Private Schools for Students with 

Disabilities (amending 8VAC20-671-10). 

8VAC20-750. Regulations Governing the Use of Seclusion 

and Restraint in Public Elementary and Secondary Schools 

in Virginia (amending 8VAC20-750-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Regulatory and Legal 

Coordinator, Department of Education, James Monroe 

Building, 101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Board of Education's overall regulatory 

authority is found in § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia, which 

authorizes the board to promulgate such regulations as may be 

necessary to carry out its powers and duties. The board's 

regulatory authority over schools for students with disabilities 

is found in § 22.1-321 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The regulatory change is essential to maintain 

consistency across the public and private school contexts in 

both the application of regulations and the protections afforded 

to students with disabilities. The goal of the regulatory change 

is to maintain consistency across the public and private school 

contexts in both the application of regulations and the 

protections afforded to students with disabilities. The 

regulatory change is essential to protect the health, safety, and 

welfare of students because it maintains consistency across the 

public and private school contexts in both the application of 

regulations and the protections afforded to students with 

disabilities. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Rulemaking Process: The board 

expects that this action will be noncontroversial and therefore 

appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process because it is 

important that the classification of students and the application 

of regulations remains consistent across the public and private 

school contexts. 

Substance: This regulatory action will amend the definition of 

"traumatic brain injury" in 8VAC20-671-10 to conform to the 

definition of the same term in 8VAC20-81-10 and add a 

definition of "traumatic brain injury" to 8VAC20-750-20 to 

mirror the definition set by the General Assembly for 

8VAC20-81-10. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the regulatory change to the 

public and the agency or Commonwealth are that the board will 

ensure consistency across the public and private school 

contexts in both the application of its regulations and the 

protections afforded to children with disabilities. There are no 

disadvantages to the regulatory change nor are there other 

pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, 

government officials, or the public. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic 

impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Education (Board) proposes to amend the definition 

of "traumatic brain injury" (TBI) in 8VAC20-671 Regulations 

Governing the Operation of Private Schools for Students with 

Disabilities, and create a definition of TBI in 8VAC20-750 

Regulations Governing the Use of Seclusion and Restraint in 

Public Elementary and Secondary Schools in Virginia. 

Background. Chapter 170 of the 2021 Special Session I Acts 

of Assembly2 directed the Board to amend the definition of 

TBI in 8VAC20-81 Regulations Governing Special Education 

Programs for Children with Disabilities in Virginia to add new 

text (in bold) as follows: 

"Traumatic brain injury" means an acquired injury to the 

brain caused by an external physical force or by other 

medical conditions, including stroke, anoxia, infectious 

disease, aneurysm, brain tumors, and neurological insults 

resulting from medical or surgical treatments, resulting in 

total or partial functional disability or psychosocial 

impairment, or both, that adversely affects a child's 

educational performance. Traumatic brain injury applies 

to open or closed head injuries resulting in impairments in 

one or more areas, such as cognition; language; memory; 

attention; reasoning; abstract thinking; judgment; 

problem-solving; sensory, perceptual, and motor abilities; 

psychosocial behavior; physical functions; information 

processing; and speech. Traumatic brain injury does not 

apply to brain injuries that are congenital or degenerative, 

or to brain injuries induced by birth trauma." (34 CFR 

300.8(c)(12)). 

The Board subsequently amended 8VAC20-81 in this manner 

via an exempt action to incorporate the new text.3 Otherwise, 

the definition remained the same. 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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The current definition of TBI in 8VAC20-671 is the same as it 

was in 8VAC20-81 prior to the amendments directed by the 

legislative mandate.4 The Board proposes to amend the 

definition in 8VAC20-671 so that it is identical to the newly-

amended definition in 8VAC20-81.5 

The current 8VAC20-750 does not have a definition of TBI. 

The Board proposes to add the post-mandate definition in 

8VAC20-81 to 8VAC20-750. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The Department of Education 

(DOE) believes that the proposed change to the definition of 

TBI in 8VAC20-671 Regulations Governing the Operation of 

Private Schools for Students with Disabilities would result in 

more students being identified under the TBI category for 

special education services. Additionally, the agency believes 

that many of the students that would be identified under the 

new TBI definition are already receiving services under 

another classification (such as "other health impairment"). The 

nature of this disability often requires significant and 

customizable supports, and so it is thought that many students 

are already receiving them under a different classification. 

DOE believes this would result in the re-designation and 

classification of students already receiving services, and only 

a very small number of students, if any, would be newly 

identified as needing services. The agency does not know if 

there would be a difference in costs of having students newly 

identified under the TBI category for special education 

services.  

The proposed addition of the definition of TBI to 8 VAC 20-

750 Regulations Governing the Use of Seclusion and Restraint 

in Public Elementary and Secondary Schools in Virginia 

provides information for the reader of the regulation, but DOE 

does not believe it otherwise would have a substantive impact. 

The Regulations Governing the Operation of Private Schools 

for Students with Disabilities apply to both private day schools 

for students with disabilities and schools in private residential 

facilities for students with disabilities (including group 

homes). The costs for students at both the private day schools 

and the schools in private residential facilities are covered by 

the Children's Services Act (CSA). For the private day schools, 

approximately 63% of the CSA funds are provided by the 

Commonwealth; the remaining 37% are provided by local 

government. For the schools in private residential facilities, 

approximately 65%of the CSA funds are provided by the 

Commonwealth; the remaining 35% are provided by local 

government. If there are differences in costs for re-designation 

and classification of students due to the proposal, it would thus 

affect expenditures by the Commonwealth and local 

governments commensurately. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments would affect the 87 private day schools for 

students with disabilities and the 31 schools in private 

residential facilities for students with disabilities (including 

group homes) in the Commonwealth that are licensed by 

DOE,6 as well as students with an injury to the brain caused by 

medical conditions, including stroke, anoxia, infectious 

disease, aneurysm, brain tumors, and neurological insults 

resulting from medical or surgical treatments, resulting in total 

or partial functional disability or psychosocial impairment. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.7 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted above, 

DOE does not know whether the proposal would affect cost (or 

in which direction). Thus, an adverse impact indication cannot 

be determined. 

Small Businesses8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities10 Affected.11 Because local governments pay part of 

the cost for students to go to private day schools for students 

with disabilities and schools in private residential facilities for 

students with disabilities, local governments may be affected 

by the proposal. It would be the locality/public school district 

where the student's family resides, not the location of the 

private school, which would be paying. So, it could apply to 

any locality. Officially, the students are only supposed to be 

sent to the private schools when the public schools lack the 

resources to sufficiently serve the student's disability. Since 

DOE cannot determine whether the cost of paying for services 

would increase, decrease or stay the same, it cannot be 

determined whether there would be an adverse impact for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal is unlikely to 

substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Since DOE 

cannot determine how services would change under the 

proposal, it cannot be determined how demand for services 

from private day schools for students with disabilities and 

schools in private residential facilities would change. Thus, the 

effects on the use and value of these private entities cannot be 

determined. 

The proposal does not affect real estate development costs. 

_____________________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212+ful+CHAP0170 
3See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?StageID=9433 

4There is one exception. The definition in 8VAC20-81 ends with a federal 

citation, (34 CFR 300.8(c)(12)). The definition in 8VAC20-671 does not. 
5Ibid. 

6Data source: DOE 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212%20ful%20CHAP0170
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?StageID=9433
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7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 
on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 
House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 
8Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 

9If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 
of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
10"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
11§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the economic impact analysis completed by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update the definition of "traumatic brain 

injury" in 8VAC20-671 and (ii) add the definition of 

"traumatic brain injury" to 8VAC20-750 to be consistent with 

8VAC20-81, which was amended pursuant to Chapter 170 of 

the 2021 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I. 

8VAC20-671-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"504 Plan" means a written plan required under § 504 of the 

Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 701 et seq.), as amended. 

A student's 504 Plan details modifications, accommodations, 

and services that are needed for the student with a disability to 

participate in and enjoy the benefits of school programs at the 

same level as his peers without disabilities. 

"Applicant" means the person, partnership, corporation, or 

association that has completed and submitted an application to 

the department for approval for a license to operate a school 

for students with disabilities in Virginia. 

"Autism" means a developmental disability significantly 

affecting verbal and nonverbal communication and social 

interaction, generally evident before age three, that adversely 

affects a child's educational performance. Other characteristics 

often associated with autism are engagement in repetitive 

activities and stereotyped movements, resistance to 

environmental change or change in daily routines, and unusual 

responses to sensory experiences. Autism does not apply if a 

child's educational performance is adversely affected primarily 

because the child has an emotional disturbance. A child who 

manifests the characteristics of autism after age three could be 

identified as having autism if the criteria in this definition are 

satisfied. 

"Aversive stimuli" means any action used to punish a student 

or to eliminate, reduce, or discourage the problem behavior by 

use of any of the following or any other actions that are painful, 

humiliating, degrading, or abusive: 

1. Noxious odors and tastes. 

2. Water and other mists or sprays. 

3. Blasts of air. 

4. Corporal punishment as defined in § 22.1-279.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

5. Verbal and mental abuse. 

6. Placement of a student alone in a room, where the door is 

locked or held shut and the student is prevented from leaving 

the room. 

7. Forced exercise where: 

a. The student's behavior is related to his disability; 

b. The exercise would have a harmful effect on the 

student's health; or 

c. The student's disability prevents participation in 

activities. 

8. Deprivation of necessities, including: 

a. Food or liquid at a time when it is customarily served; 

b. Medication; or 

c. Use of restroom. 

"Behavioral intervention plan" means a plan that utilizes 

positive behavioral interventions and supports to address (i) 

behaviors that interfere with the learning of students with 

disabilities or with the learning of others or (ii) behaviors that 

require disciplinary action. 

"Board" means the State Board of Education. 

"Business day" means Monday through Friday, 12 months of 

the year, exclusive of federal and state holidays (unless 

holidays are specifically included in the designation of 

business days). 

"Calendar days" means consecutive days, inclusive of 

Saturdays and Sundays. Whenever any period of time fixed by 

this chapter shall expire on a Saturday, Sunday, or federal or 

state holiday, the period of time for taking such action under 
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this chapter shall be extended to the next day that is not a 

Saturday, Sunday, or federal or state holiday. 

"Complaint" means an accusation that a school has violated 

one or more of the requirements of this chapter or other 

applicable regulation. 

"Consent" means: 

1. The parent(s) parent or eligible student has been fully 

informed of all information relevant to the activity for which 

consent is sought in the parent's or eligible student's native 

language or other mode of communication; 

2. The parent(s) parent or eligible student understands and 

agrees in writing to the carrying out of the activity for which 

consent is sought, and the consent describes that activity and 

lists the records (if any) that will be released and to whom; 

and 

3. The parent(s) parent or eligible student understands that 

the granting of consent is voluntary on the part of the 

parent(s) parent or eligible student and may be revoked any 

time. 

If a parent or eligible student revokes consent, that revocation 

is not retroactive (i.e., it does not negate an action that has 

occurred after the consent was given and before the consent 

was revoked.) Revocation ceases to be relevant after the 

activity for which consent was obtained was completed. 

The meaning of the term "consent" is not the same as the 

meaning of the term "agree" or "agreement." "Agree" or 

"agreement" refers to an understanding between the parent or 

eligible student and the school about a particular matter and as 

required in this chapter. There is no requirement that an 

agreement be in writing, unless stated in this chapter. The 

school should document its agreement. 

"Controlled substance" means a drug or other substance 

identified under Schedules Schedule I, II, III, IV, or V of the 

Controlled Substances Act, 21 USC § 812(c). 

"Corrective action plan" means the school's plan of action to 

correct a finding of noncompliance applicable to this chapter 

or other applicable regulations. The plan must identify specific 

timelines and the person(s) person responsible for 

implementation. 

"Deaf-blindness" means simultaneous hearing and visual 

impairments, the combination of which causes such severe 

communication and other developmental and educational 

needs that they cannot be accommodated in special education 

programs solely for children with deafness or children with 

blindness. 

"Deafness" means a hearing impairment that is so severe that 

the child is impaired in processing linguistic information 

through hearing, with or without amplification, that adversely 

affects the child's educational performance. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Education. 

"Developmental delay" means a disability affecting a child 

age two by September 30 through six, inclusive: 

1. Who (i) is experiencing developmental delays, as 

measured by appropriate diagnostic instruments and 

procedures, in one or more of the following areas: physical 

development, cognitive development, communication 

development, social or emotional development, or adaptive 

development; or (ii) has an established physical or mental 

condition that has a high probability of resulting in 

developmental delay; 

2. The delay is not primarily a result of cultural factors, 

environmental or economic disadvantage, or limited English 

proficiency; and 

3. The presence of one or more documented characteristics 

of the delay has an adverse effect on educational 

performance and makes it necessary for the student to have 

specially designed instruction to access and make progress 

in the general educational activities for this age group. 

"Disability category" means a listing of special education 

eligibility classifications for students served including: autism, 

deaf-blindness, developmental delay, emotional disability, 

hearing impairment (including deafness), intellectual 

disability, multiple disabilities, orthopedic impairment, other 

health impairment, specific learning disability, speech or 

language impairment, traumatic brain injury, and visual 

impairment (including blindness). 

"Education records" means those records that are directly 

related to a student and maintained by the school or by a party 

acting for the school. Education records may be recorded in 

any manner including, but not limited to, handwriting, print, 

computer media, video or audiotape, film, microfilm, or 

microfiche. Education records include discipline and medical 

records. Education records include electronic exchanges 

between school personnel and parent(s) the parent regarding 

matters associated with the child's educational program. 

"Eligible student" means a student who has reached 18 years 

of age. 

"Emotional disability" or "emotional disturbance" means a 

condition exhibiting one or more of the following 

characteristics over a long period of time and to a marked 

degree that adversely affects a child's educational 

performance: 

1. An inability to learn that cannot be explained by 

intellectual, sensory, or health factors; 

2. An inability to build or maintain satisfactory interpersonal 

relationships with peers and teachers; 

3. Inappropriate types of behavior or feelings under normal 

circumstances; 
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4. A general pervasive mood of unhappiness or depression; 

or 

5. A tendency to develop physical symptoms or fears 

associated with personal or school problems. 

Emotional disability or emotional disturbance includes 

schizophrenia. The term does not apply to children who are 

socially maladjusted, unless it is determined that they have an 

emotional disturbance or emotional disability as defined in this 

section. 

"Funding agency" means a community policy and 

management team under the Children's Services Act, Chapter 

52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

local school division; or local department of social services. 

"Guaranty instrument" means a surety bond, irrevocable letter 

of credit, or certificate of deposit. 

"Hearing impairment" means an impairment in hearing in one 

or both ears, with or without amplification, whether permanent 

or fluctuating, that adversely affects a child's educational 

performance but that is not included under the definition of 

deafness in the Regulations Governing Special Education 

Programs for Children with Disabilities in Virginia (8VAC20-

81). 

"Illegal drug" means a controlled substance or a prescription 

drug not prescribed for the person but does not include a 

controlled substance that is legally possessed or used under the 

supervision of a licensed health care professional or that is 

legally possessed or used under any other authority under the 

Controlled Substances Act, 21 USC § 812(c), or under any 

other provision of federal law. 

"Individualized Education Program" or "IEP" means a written 

statement for a child with a disability that is developed, 

reviewed, and revised at least annually in a team meeting in 

accordance with the Regulations Governing Special Education 

for Children with Disabilities in Virginia (8VAC20-81). The 

IEP specifies the individual educational needs of the child and 

what special education and related services are necessary to 

meet the child's educational needs. 

"Individualized Instruction Plan" or "IIP" means a written 

statement for a child who is privately placed or for a child who 

has not been determined eligible for special education services 

that is developed, reviewed, and revised at least annually in a 

team meeting that includes the parent and student when 

appropriate. The IIP specifies the student's academic level, 

course of study, individual educational needs, and the 

educational services the child will receive. 

"Intellectual disability" means the definition formerly known 

as "mental retardation" and means significantly subaverage 

general intellectual functioning, existing concurrently with 

deficits in adaptive behavior and manifested during the 

developmental period that adversely affects a child's 

educational performance. 

"Licensee," also known as the sponsor, means the person, 

partnership, corporation, or association to whom a license is 

issued and who is legally responsible for compliance with this 

chapter. 

"License to operate" or "license" means a document issued by 

the state Superintendent of Public Instruction that authorizes 

approval to operate a school for students with disabilities. 

"Mechanical restraint" means the use of any device or 

equipment to restrict a student's freedom of movement. This 

term does not include devices implemented by trained school 

personnel or utilized by a student that have been prescribed by 

an appropriate medical or related services professional and are 

used for the specific and approved purposes for which such 

devices were designed, such as: 

1. Adaptive devices or mechanical supports used to achieve 

proper body position, balance, or alignment to allow greater 

freedom of mobility than would be possible without the use 

of such devices or mechanical supports; 

2. Vehicle safety restraints when used as intended during the 

transport of a student in a moving vehicle; 

3. Restraints for medical immobilization; or 

4. Orthopedically prescribed devices that permit a student to 

participate in activities without risk of harm. 

"Multiple disabilities" mean simultaneous impairments (such 

as intellectual disability with blindness or intellectual disability 

with orthopedic impairment), the combination of which causes 

such severe educational needs that they cannot be 

accommodated in special education programs solely for one of 

the impairments. The term does not include deaf-blindness. 

"Orthopedic impairment" means a severe orthopedic 

impairment that adversely affects a child's educational 

performance. The term includes impairments caused by 

congenital anomaly, impairments caused by disease (e.g., 

poliomyelitis, bone tuberculosis, etc.), and impairments from 

other causes (e.g., cerebral palsy, amputations, and fractures or 

burns that cause contractures). 

"Other health impairment" means having limited strength, 

vitality, or alertness, including a heightened alertness to 

environmental stimuli, that results in limited alertness with 

respect to the educational environment, that is due to chronic 

or acute health problems such as asthma, attention deficit 

disorder or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, diabetes, 

epilepsy, a heart condition, hemophilia, lead poisoning, 

leukemia, nephritis, rheumatic fever, sickle cell anemia, and 

Tourette syndrome, and that adversely affects a child's 

educational performance. 

"Paraprofessional," also known as paraeducator, means an 

appropriately trained employee who assists and is supervised 

by qualified professional staff in meeting the requirements of 

this chapter. 
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"Parent" means: 

1. A person who is: 

a. A biological or adoptive parent of a child; 

b. A foster parent, even if the biological or adoptive 

parent's rights have not been terminated, but subject to 

subdivision 3 of this definition; 

c. A guardian generally authorized to act as the child's 

parent or make educational decisions for the child (but not 

the Commonwealth if the child is a ward of the 

Commonwealth); 

d. An individual acting in the place of a biological or 

adoptive parent (including grandparent, stepparent, or 

other relative) with whom the child lives, or an individual 

who is legally responsible for the child's welfare; or 

e. If no party qualified under subdivisions 1 a through 1 d 

of this definition can be identified, or those parties are 

unwilling to act as parent, a surrogate parent who has been 

appointed in accordance with 8VAC20-81-220. 

2. The biological or adoptive parent, when attempting to act 

as the parent pursuant to this section and when more than 

one party is qualified under subdivision 1 of this definition 

to act as a parent, must be presumed to be the parent for 

purposes of this section unless the biological or adoptive 

parent has had his residual parental rights and 

responsibilities terminated pursuant to § 16.1-277.01, 16.1-

277.02, or 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia or a comparable 

law in another state. 

3. The local school division shall provide written notice to 

the biological or adoptive parents at their last known address 

that a foster parent is acting as the parent pursuant to this 

section, and the local school division is entitled to rely upon 

the actions of the foster parent pursuant to this section until 

such time that the biological or adoptive parent attempts to 

act as the parent. 

4. If a judicial decree or order identifies a specific person or 

persons among subdivisions 1 a through 1 e of this definition 

to act as the "parent" of a child or to make educational 

decisions on behalf of a child, then such person or persons 

shall be determined to be the "parent" for purposes of the 

special education identification, evaluation, and placement 

of a child and the provision of a free appropriate public 

education to a child. 

"Pat down" means a thorough external body search of a 

clothed student. 

"Personally identifiable information" means information that 

includes, but is not limited to: 

1. The student's name, the child's parent, or other family 

member; 

2. The address of the child; 

3. A personal identifier, such as the child's social security 

number or student number; or 

4. A list of personal characteristics that would make the 

student's identity easily traceable. 

"Pharmacological restraints" means a drug or medication 

used on a student to control behavior or restrict freedom of 

movement that is not (i) prescribed by a licensed physician or 

other qualified health professional acting under the scope of 

the professional's authority for the standard treatment of a 

student's medical or psychiatric condition and (ii) administered 

as prescribed by the licensed physician or other qualified health 

professional acting under the scope of the professional's 

authority. 

"Physical restraint" means the use of approved physical 

interventions or "hands-on" holds by trained staff to prevent a 

student from moving his body to engage in a behavior that 

places him or others at risk of physical harm. Physical restraint 

does not include: 

1. Briefly holding a student in order to calm or comfort the 

student; or 

2. Holding a student's hand or arm to escort the student 

safely from one area to another. 

"Placing agency" means the community policy and 

management team under the Children's Services Act, Chapter 

52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia; the 

local school division; or the local department of social services. 

"Privately placed student" means a student placed in a private 

school for students with disabilities by the parent. 

"Publicly placed student" means a student placed in a private 

school for students with disabilities by a local school division, 

family assessment and planning team under the Children's 

Services Act, or court order. 

"Qualified personnel" or "qualified staff" means personnel 

who have met the state-approved or state-recognized 

certification, licensing, or other comparable requirement 

applicable to a specific discipline. 

"Regular basis" means more than twice a month. 

"Related services" means transportation and such 

developmental, corrective, and other supportive services as are 

required to assist a child with a disability to benefit from 

special education and includes speech-language pathology and 

audiology services; interpreting services; psychological 

services; physical and occupational therapy; recreation, 

including therapeutic recreation; early identification and 

assessment of disabilities in children; counseling services, 

including rehabilitation counseling; orientation and mobility 

services and medical services for diagnostic or evaluation 

purposes. Related services also include school health services 

and school nurse services; social work services in schools; and 

parent counseling and training. Related services do not include 
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a medical device that is surgically implanted including 

cochlear implants, the optimization of device functioning (e.g., 

mapping), maintenance of the device, or the replacement of 

that device. The list of related services is not exhaustive and 

may include other developmental, corrective, or supportive 

services (such as artistic and cultural programs, and art, music, 

and dance therapy, if they are required to assist a child with a 

disability to benefit from special education). 

"School" means a school for students with disabilities that has 

a license to operate issued by the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction. 

"School for students with disabilities " disabilities" or 

"schools" means a privately owned and operated preschool, 

school, or educational organization, no matter how titled, 

maintained, or conducting classes for the purpose of offering 

instruction, for a consideration, profit or tuition, to persons 

determined to have autism, deaf-blindness, developmental 

delay, a hearing impairment including deafness, intellectual 

disability, multiple disabilities, orthopedic impairment, other 

health impairment, an emotional disturbance, a specific 

learning disability, a speech or language impairment, a 

traumatic brain injury, or a visual impairment including 

blindness. 

"Seclusion" means the confinement of a student alone in a 

room from which the student is physically prevented from 

leaving. 

"Serious incident" means: 

1. Any accident or injury requiring medical attention by a 

licensed physician; 

2. Any illness that requires hospitalization; 

3. Any runaway; or 

4. Any event that affects, or potentially may affect, the 

health, safety, or welfare of any student being served at the 

school or school-related activity. 

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 

damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 

licensed physician. 

"Special education" means specially designed instruction to 

meet the unique needs of a child with a disability. 

The term includes: 

1. Speech-language pathology services or any other related 

service, if the service is considered special education rather 

than a related service under state standards; 

2. Vocational education; and 

3. Travel training. 

"Specially designed instruction" means adapting, as 

appropriate, to the needs of an eligible child under this chapter, 

the content, methodology, or delivery of instruction to: 

1. Address the unique needs of the child that result from the 

child's disability; and 

2. Ensure access of the child to the general curriculum so 

that the child can meet the educational standards that apply 

to all children within the jurisdiction of the local educational 

agency. 

"Specific learning disability" means a disorder in one or more 

of the basic psychological processes involved in understanding 

or in using language, spoken or written, that may manifest 

itself in the imperfect ability to listen, think, speak, read, write, 

spell, or do mathematical calculations, including conditions 

such as perceptual disabilities, brain injury, minimal brain 

dysfunction, dyslexia, and developmental aphasia. Specific 

learning disability does not include learning problems that are 

primarily the result of (i) visual, hearing, or motor disabilities; 

(ii) intellectual disabilities; (iii) emotional disabilities; or (iv) 

environmental, cultural, or economic disadvantage. 

Dyslexia is distinguished from other learning disabilities due 

to its weakness occurring at the phonological level. Dyslexia is 

a specific learning disability that is neurobiological in origin. 

It is characterized by difficulties with accurate and/or or fluent 

word recognition and by poor spelling and decoding abilities. 

These difficulties typically result from a deficit in the 

phonological component of language that is often unexpected 

in relation to other cognitive abilities and the provision of 

effective classroom instruction. Secondary consequences may 

include problems in reading comprehension and reduced 

reading experience that can impede growth of vocabulary and 

background knowledge. 

"Speech or language impairment" means a communication 

disorder, such as stuttering, impaired articulation, expressive 

or receptive language impairment, or voice impairment, that 

adversely affects a child's educational performance. 

"Standard precautions" mean universal precautions designed 

to prevent transmission of HIV, hepatitis B virus (HBV), and 

other bloodborne pathogens when providing first aid or health 

care. Standard precautions apply to blood; all body fluids, 

secretions, and excretions except sweat, regardless of whether 

or not they contain blood; nonintact skin; and mucous 

membranes. The precautions are designed to reduce the risk of 

transmission of microorganisms from both recognized and 

unrecognized sources of infection when providing first aid or 

health care. Standard precautions include protective barriers 

such as gloves, gowns, aprons, masks, or protective eye wear 

that can reduce the risk of exposure with materials that may 

contain infectious microorganisms. 

"Standards of Learning" or "SOL" means Virginia's rigorous 

academic standards established by the Board of Education. 

"Strip search" means a visual inspection of the body of a 

student when that student's outer clothing or total clothing is 

removed, and there is an inspection of the removed clothing. 

Strip searches are conducted for the detection of contraband. 
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"Substantial compliance" means that while there may be 

noncompliance with one or more regulations that represent 

minimum risk, compliance clearly and obviously exists with 

most of the regulations as a whole. 

"Superintendent" means the state Superintendent of Public 

Instruction. 

"Teacher of record" means the teacher who is responsible for 

the delivery of instruction. The teacher of record shall hold a 

license issued by the Virginia Board of Education. 

"Time-out" means assisting a student to regain control by 

removing the student from his immediate environment to a 

different open location until the student is calm or the problem 

behavior has subsided. 

"Traumatic brain injury" means an acquired injury to the 

brain caused by an external physical force or by other medical 

conditions, including stroke, anoxia, infectious disease, 

aneurysm, brain tumors, and neurological insults resulting 

from medical or surgical treatments, resulting in total or partial 

functional disability or psychosocial impairment, or both, that 

adversely affects a child's educational performance. Traumatic 

brain injury applies to open or closed head injuries resulting in 

impairments in one or more areas, such as cognition; language; 

memory; attention; reasoning; abstract thinking; judgment; 

problem solving; sensory, perceptual, and motor abilities; 

psychosocial behavior; physical functions; information 

processing; and speech. Traumatic brain injury does not apply 

to brain injuries that are congenital or degenerative or to brain 

injuries induced by birth trauma. 

"Visual impairment including blindness" means an 

impairment in vision that, even with correction, adversely 

affects a child's educational performance. The term includes 

both partial sight and blindness. 

"Volunteer" means any individual who of his own free will 

and without compensation provides goods or services to the 

school. 

"Virtual learning" means the delivery of instruction through 

emerging technologies such as satellite, streaming video, or the 

Internet. 

8VAC20-750-20. General definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Behavioral intervention plan" or "BIP" means a plan that 

utilizes positive behavioral interventions and supports to 

address (i) behaviors that interfere with a student's learning or 

that of others or (ii) behaviors that require disciplinary action. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Education. 

"Business day" means Monday through Friday, 12 months of 

the year, exclusive of federal and state holidays (unless 

holidays are specifically included in the designation of 

business days). 

"Chapter" means these regulations, that is, Regulations 

Governing the Use of Seclusion and Restraint in Public 

Elementary and Secondary Schools in Virginia, 8VAC20-750. 

"Calendar days" means consecutive days, inclusive of 

Saturdays and Sundays. Whenever any period of time fixed by 

this chapter expires on a Saturday, Sunday, federal holiday, or 

state holiday, the period of time for taking such action shall be 

extended to the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, federal 

holiday, or state holiday. 

"Child with a disability" or "student with a disability" means 

a public elementary or secondary school student evaluated in 

accordance with the provisions of 8VAC20-81 as having an 

intellectual disability, a hearing impairment (including 

deafness), a speech or language impairment, a visual 

impairment (including blindness), a serious emotional 

disability (referred to in 8VAC20-81 as an emotional 

disability), an orthopedic impairment, autism, traumatic brain 

injury, other health impairment, a specific learning disability, 

deaf-blindness, or multiple disabilities who, by reason thereof, 

requires special education and related services. This also 

includes developmental delay if the school division recognizes 

this category as a disability under 8VAC20-81-80 M 3. If it is 

determined through an appropriate evaluation that a child has 

one of the disabilities identified but only needs related services 

and not special education, the child is not a child with a 

disability under 8VAC20-81. If the related service required by 

the child is considered special education rather than a related 

service under Virginia standards, the child would be 

determined to be a child with a disability. As used in this 

chapter, the disability categories set forth in this definition and 

the terms "special education" and "related services" shall have 

the meanings set forth in 8VAC20-81-10. 

"Day" means calendar day unless otherwise designated as 

business day or school day. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Education. 

"Evaluation" means procedures used in accordance with 

8VAC20-81 to determine whether a child has a disability and 

the nature and extent of the special education and related 

services the child needs. 

"Functional behavioral assessment" or "FBA" means a 

process to determine the underlying cause or functions of a 

student's behavior that impede the learning of the student or the 

learning of the student's peers. A functional behavioral 

assessment may include a review of existing data or new 

testing data or evaluation as determined as set forth in 

8VAC20-750-70. 

"Individualized education program" or "IEP" means a written 

statement for a child with a disability that is developed, 

reviewed, and revised at least annually in a team meeting in 
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accordance with the Regulations Governing Special Education 

Programs for Children with Disabilities in Virginia (8VAC20-

81). The IEP specifies the individual educational needs of the 

child and what special education and related services are 

necessary to meet the child's educational needs. 

"Individualized education program team" or "IEP team" 

means a group of individuals described in 8VAC20-81-110 

that is responsible for developing, reviewing, or revising an 

IEP for a child with a disability. 

"School day" means any day, including a partial day, that 

students are in attendance at school for instructional purposes. 

The term has the same meaning for all students in school, 

including students with and without disabilities. 

"School personnel" means individuals employed by the 

school division on a full-time or part-time basis or as 

independent contractors or subcontractors as instructional, 

administrative, and support personnel and include individuals 

serving as a student teacher or intern under the supervision of 

appropriate school personnel. 

"Section 504 plan" means a written plan of modifications and 

accommodations under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 

of 1973 (29 USC § 794). 

"Student" means any student, with or without a disability, 

enrolled in a public elementary or secondary school as defined 

in § 22.1-1 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. For purposes of this chapter, the term "student" shall also 

include those students (i) attending a public school on a less-

than-full-time basis, such as those students identified in 

§ 22.1-253.13:2 N of the Code of Virginia; (ii) receiving 

homebound instruction pursuant to 8VAC20-131-180 and as 

defined in 8VAC20-81-10, without regard to special 

education status; (iii) receiving home-based instruction 

pursuant to 8VAC20-81-10; and (iv) who are preschool 

students enrolled in a program operated by a school division 

or receiving services from school personnel. 

2. As used in this chapter, "student" shall not include 

children meeting compulsory attendance requirements of 

§ 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia by (i) enrollment in 

private, denominational, or parochial schools; (ii) receipt of 

instruction by a tutor or teacher of qualifications prescribed 

by the Board of Education and approved by the relevant 

division superintendent; [ ] (iii) receipt of home instruction 

pursuant to § 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia [ or (iv) 

receipt of instruction in a secure facility or detention home 

as defined in § 16.1-228 of the Code of Virginia or in a 

facility operated by the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services ]. With regard to 

restraint and seclusion, students placed through public or 

private means in a private day or residential school for 

students with -disabilities shall be afforded the protections 

set forth in 8VAC20-671. 

"Traumatic brain injury" means an acquired injury to the 

brain caused by an external physical force or by other medical 

conditions, including stroke, anoxia, infectious disease, 

aneurysm, brain tumors, and neurological insults resulting 

from medical or surgical treatments, resulting in total or partial 

functional disability or psychosocial impairment, or both, that 

adversely affects a child's educational performance. 

"Traumatic brain injury" applies to open or closed head injuries 

resulting in impairments in one or more areas, such as 

cognition; language; memory; attention; reasoning; abstract 

thinking; judgment; problem-solving; sensory, perceptual, and 

motor abilities; psychosocial behavior; physical functions; 

information processing; and speech. "Traumatic brain injury" 

does not apply to brain injuries that are congenital or 

degenerative, or to brain injuries induced by birth trauma.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6983; Filed January 10, 2022, 12:26 p.m. 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-31. Regulations Governing 

Certification of Certain Institutions to Confer Degrees, 

Diplomas and Certificates (adding 8VAC40-31-125). 

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-215 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Beverly Rebar, Senior Associate for 

Academic and Legislative Affairs, State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia, 101 North 14th Street, 9th Floor, 

Monroe Building, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

0571, or email beverlyrebar@schev.edu. 

Basis: Section 23.1-215 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) to 

adopt, pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia), such regulations as may be 

necessary to implement the provisions for standards for certain 

private and out-of-state institutions of higher education. 

Section 23.1-215 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the State 

Council of Higher Education for Virginia to adopt, pursuant to 

the Administrative Process Act, such regulations as may be 

necessary to implement the provisions of Chapter 2 (§ 23.1-

200 et seq.) of Title 23.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: This regulation is essential to protect the welfare of 

citizens who are enrolled in programs by out-of-state distance 

education providers. The national education landscape has 

changed such that online education programs have 

proliferated. While it may once have been a common 

operational model to offer distance learning through 

telecommunications equipment that was located at a site within 

the state, technological advancements have rendered that 

model obsolete. Out-of-state postsecondary schools can and do 

mailto:beverlyrebar@schev.edu
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conduct business with Virginia citizens from locations entirely 

outside of Virginia. Those citizens are entitled to the same 

protections afforded to Virginia students enrolled in Virginia 

schools through SCHEV certification processes. 

The regulation will not have any effect on institutions that are 

members in good standing of the National State Authorization 

Reciprocity Agreement (NC-SARA) it imposes no 

certification requirements on State Authorization Reciprocity 

Agreement (SARA) members from other states. The NC-

SARA framework ensures adequate consumer protections for 

students of SARA schools nationwide. Certification for 

schools that are not members of NC-SARA is more complex 

and will require a separate process that has been outlined in the 

proposed language. 

Substance: The regulation will provide that any degree-

granting postsecondary school providing distance learning to 

residents of the Commonwealth from a location outside of the 

Commonwealth shall be certified to operate in the 

Commonwealth or shall be a participant in a reciprocity 

agreement to which the Commonwealth belongs. Schools that 

are members of the NC-SARA reciprocity agreement are not 

subject to the regulation as according to NC-SARA, Virginia 

reciprocally honors their home states' authorization. 

The regulation provides criteria that must be fulfilled by 

schools that are not members of NC-SARA in order to be 

certified to operate, addressing (i) aspects of the school's 

current status, such as accreditation, being in good standing in 

its home state, and providing certain disclosures to the public 

and (ii) the school's obligations to the Commonwealth 

regarding maintenance of student records and payment of fees. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth is that SCHEV will be able to protect Virginia 

citizens who are enrolled in out-of-state postsecondary schools 

in distance education programs. There are no disadvantages to 

the public or the Commonwealth from the regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 380 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) 

proposes to add certification requirements for out-of-state 

schools offering distance learning in Virginia. Out-of-state 

schools that are members of the National Council for State 

Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) would be 

exempt from these certification requirements. The proposed 

amendments would require out-of-state schools that are not 

members of NC-SARA to: (i) apply for SCHEV authorization 

by demonstrating authorization and good standing in the state 

where the school has legal domicile, (ii) provide certain 

disclosures to Virginia students seeking to enroll in a distance 

learning program, and (iii) pay a certification fee.  

Background. Chapter 380 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly added 

a definition of "distance learning" and amended § 23.1-219 of 

the Code of Virginia to add: Any degree-granting 

postsecondary school providing distance learning to residents 

of the Commonwealth from a location outside of the 

Commonwealth shall be certified to operate in the 

Commonwealth or shall be a participant in a reciprocity 

agreement to which the Commonwealth belongs for the 

purpose of consumer protection.1 Accordingly, out-of-state 

schools that are part of NC-SARA would not require 

certification. Schools that do require certification would have 

to demonstrate that they meet the following criteria: (i) the 

institution is authorized to operate by the appropriate entity in 

the state where the institution has legal domicile, (ii) the 

institution is accredited by an accrediting body approved by the 

U.S. Department of Education with a scope of authority that 

includes distance learning, (iii) the institution is in good legal 

standing, including having no current or pending show cause 

or probationary actions against it, and (iv) the institution 

demonstrates minimum financial stability to qualify for 

certification.  

Upon receiving certification, out-of-state schools seeking to 

enroll Virginia students would be required to provide 

prospective enrollees with a notification that the school is 

certified, a notification outlining the procedures a student may 

follow to file a complaint against the school, including 

contacting SCHEV as a last resort, and a notification stating 

that the transferability of credits earned at the school is at the 

sole discretion of the receiving institution. Further, institutions 

offering programs leading to professional licensure would be 

required to provide prospective students with a notification 

regarding whether completion of the program would be 

sufficient to meet licensure requirements in Virginia. Lastly, 

the institution would be required to inform SCHEV and 

enrolled students in Virginia of "any adverse action by the U.S. 

Department of Education or by its accrediting agency that 

threatens a disruption of the operation of the institution and/or 

exposes students to a loss of course or degree credit or financial 

loss."  

Institutions would have to pay SCHEV a nonrefundable initial 

and renewal authorization fee as provided in 8VAC40-31-

260.2 The proposed amendments include a requirement that 

applications for annual renewal be submitted at least 90 days 

prior to the expiration date specified on the certificate of 

authorization. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed changes to fees 

would increase costs for out-of-state institutions providing 

distance learning programs in Virginia while providing greater 

protections to students in Virginia seeking to enroll in distance 

learning programs from out-of-state institutions. As long as the 

demand for distance learning programs from out-of-state 

schools remains robust, these institutions would most likely 

absorb the costs of the application and renewal fees. Schools 

may also pass on all or part of these costs to students, either 

spreading out the cost across all students, or specifically across 

Virginia residents. Out-of-state schools that choose not to 

apply for certification would have two options: they may join 
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NC-SARA instead of going through the certification process, 

or choose not to enroll students from Virginia.3  

Virginia students and their families would benefit from greater 

oversight of distance learning programs, particularly those not 

part of NC-SARA. In particular, the proposed amendments 

would require that distance learning programs provide 

notifications to prospective students regarding the certification 

status, transferability of credits, and if applicable, whether the 

program meets licensing requirements in Virginia. Students 

and families would benefit from greater transparency and 

SCHEV could take action if certified schools are found to not 

provide these notifications. However, such consumer 

protection benefits would be limited if uncertified schools are 

able to enroll Virginia students undetected, and if students and 

their families are unaware of the certification and notification 

requirements.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments would not impact any postsecondary educational 

institutions in Virginia; they apply only to out-of-state schools 

that do not participate in NC-SARA. The number of such 

schools is unknown. Virginia students seeking to enroll in 

distance learning programs would benefit from greater 

oversight of out-of-state schools' distance learning programs. 

An adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net 

cost or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the 

benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined. The 

proposal would increase costs for out-of-state schools offering 

distance learning in Virginia that are not members of NC-

SARA. Thus, an adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected. The proposed amendments would 

not affect small businesses in Virginia. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments and are unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect employment in Virginia since they only 

apply to certain out-of-state schools. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments increase costs for out-of-state private schools 

offering distance learning in Virginia that are not members of 

NC-SARA. The value of such private schools may be modestly 

reduced. Real estate development costs are not affected. 

_______________________________________ 
1See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP0380+hil. 

2In a separate regulatory action, SCHEV has set the initial fee and renewal fee 

at $10,000. See 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5391 for details. 
3This applies for schools with legal domicile in 49 states (all but California), 

the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. California 

schools would not have the option of joining NC-SARA since their state is not 

party to the agreement. See https://www.nc-sara.org/sara-states.  
4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The State 

Council of Higher Education for Virginia concurs with the 

economic impact analysis submitted by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 380 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed amendments require out-of-state postsecondary 

schools offering distance education to Virginia citizens to 

be certified by the State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia or be participants in a reciprocity agreement to 

which the Commonwealth belongs. This action establishes 

certification requirements for schools that do not 

participate in a reciprocity agreement. 

8VAC40-31-125. Certification required for schools offering 

distance learning in Virginia.  

A. Any degree-granting postsecondary school providing 

distance learning to residents of the Commonwealth from a 

location outside of the Commonwealth shall be certified to 

operate in the Commonwealth or shall be a participant in a 

reciprocity agreement to which the Commonwealth belongs, in 

accordance with council's authority pursuant to § 23.1-211 of 

the Code of Virginia, for the purpose of consumer protection. 

B. Any degree-granting postsecondary institution seeking 

initial or renewal authorization to offer distance education 

programs or courses to residents of the Commonwealth from a 

location outside of the Commonwealth that is not a participant 

in a reciprocity agreement to which the Commonwealth 

belongs must demonstrate that it meets the following eligibility 

criteria: 

1. The institution is properly authorized to operate by and in 

good standing with the appropriate entity in the state where 

the institution has legal domicile. 

2. The institution is a United States degree-granting 

institution that is accredited by an accrediting agency that is 

recognized by the U.S. Department of Education with a 

scope of authority, as specified by the U.S. Department of 

Education, that includes distance education. 

3. The institution is in good standing, including having no 

current or pending show cause or probation actions against 

it. 

4. The institution demonstrates minimum financial stability 

to qualify for certification defined as a federal Financial 

Responsibility Composite Score of 1.5 or better. 

C. An institution certified pursuant to this section shall 

provide proof of the following disclosures to Virginia 

residents: 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0380%20hil
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5391
https://www.nc-sara.org/sara-states
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1. A notification that the school is certified to operate by 

council. 

2. A notification outlining the procedures a student may 

follow to file a complaint against the school. The disclosure 

must include a statement that if the complaint is not resolved 

to the student's satisfaction, the student may contact the 

council as a last resort. The school must provide contact 

information for council and must ensure that the student will 

not be retaliated against for filing a complaint. 

3. A notification stating that the transferability of credits 

earned at the school is at the sole discretion of the receiving 

institution. 

4. For institutions offering programs or courses leading to or 

advertised as leading to professional licensure, a notification 

regarding whether completion of the program is sufficient to 

meet licensure requirements in Virginia. If the institution is 

unable to determine whether a program will meet the 

professional licensure requirements in Virginia, the 

notification shall provide current contact information for any 

applicable licensing boards and advise the student or 

applicant to determine whether the program meets 

requirements for licensure in Virginia prior to enrollment. 

D. An institution certified pursuant to this section shall pay a 

nonrefundable initial and renewal authorization fee as 

provided in 8VAC40-31-260. 

E. An institution certified pursuant to this section shall 

immediately inform the council and current enrolled students 

who are residents of the Commonwealth of any adverse action 

by the U.S. Department of Education or by its accrediting 

agency that threatens a disruption of the operation of the 

institution or exposes students to a loss of course or degree 

credit or financial loss. 

F. The certificate of authorization for an institution certified 

pursuant to this section shall expire on the stated expiration 

date. Applications for annual renewals must be submitted to 

council at least 90 days prior to the expiration date of the 

current authorization. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5770; Filed December 29, 2021, 2:30 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC20-120. Regulated Medical 

Waste Management Regulations (repealing 9VAC20-120-

10 through 9VAC20-120-1000). 

9VAC20-121. Regulated Medical Waste Management 

Regulations (adding 9VAC20-121-10 through 9VAC20-

121-420). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 6941 et seq.; 40 CFR Part 257. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Priscilla D. Rohrer, Guidance and Regulation 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 574-7852, 

FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

priscilla.rohrer@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Virginia Waste Management Board to supervise and control 

waste management activities in the Commonwealth and to 

promulgate regulations necessary to carry out its powers and 

duties. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to modernize 

the standards for general handling and treatment of regulated 

medical waste (RMW) based on current industry best 

management practices. This regulatory action is necessary in 

order to update the requirements for RMW transfer stations and 

RMW treatment facilities, provide clarity for the regulated 

universe, remove redundancies, and eliminate overlap with 

other regulations. The goals of this action are to clarify the 

requirements for generators and permitted facilities, improve 

permitting procedures, and streamline the regulation for ease 

of use while still protecting the health, safety, and welfare of 

citizens. Proposed validation and operating parameters for 

treatment technologies were evaluated during the regulatory 

development phase. 

Substance: This regulation is for the general handling, storage, 

transfer, treatment, and disposal of regulated medical waste. 

Rules for packaging, labeling and transporting RMW, as well 

as exemptions from regulation, are also included. Additional 

substantive revisions include (i) providing conditional 

exemptions to encourage safe collection and proper 

management of specific types of regulated medical waste, such 

as sharps; (ii) clarifying RMW storage requirements for 

generators and permitted facilities; (iii) streamlining the permit 

structure and clarifying activities exempt from permitting; (iv) 

specifying the siting, design, operation, recordkeeping, and 

reporting requirements of RMW transfer stations and treatment 

facilities; (v) requiring validation and periodic challenge 

testing for treatment technologies; (vi) clarifying procedures 

for the management of Category A wastes; (vii) improving the 

alternate treatment technology petition process; and (viii) 

improving regulatory structure, procedures, and use. Currently, 

Virginia has 14 regulated medical waste management facilities 

that have transfer stations or that treat regulated medical waste. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action is that 

the proposed regulatory action will provide for clarity and 

mailto:priscilla.rohrer@deq.virginia.gov
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certainty for the management and treatment of RMW. This is 

an advantage to the regulated community, the public, and the 

Commonwealth as proper management and treatment of RMW 

will provide protections for human health and the environment. 

In working with the regulatory advisory panel to develop the 

proposed regulation, the agency was careful to provide for 

greater clarity for those that implement the regulation. This 

proposed regulatory action should pose no disadvantages to the 

public or to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Waste Management Board (Board) proposes 

numerous changes to the Regulated Medical Waste 

Management Regulations, including how the chapter is 

organized. Due to the length and complexity of the proposed 

changes, instead of amending the current chapter the Board 

proposes to repeal chapter 9VAC20-120 and promulgate new 

chapter 9VAC20-121, keeping the name Regulated Medical 

Waste Management Regulations.  

Significant changes include: 1) introducing best management 

practices for Category A Waste, 2) requiring that all regulated 

medical waste (RMW) transfer stations and treatment facilities 

submit new permit applications within six months of the 

effective date of the regulation, 3) eliminating the option for an 

on-site permit-by-rule, 4) eliminating expiration dates for 

permits and renewal requirements, 5) requiring the installation 

of a fixed radiation detector, 6) new specification requirements 

for cart tippers, slides, or conveyors, 7) new validation testing1 

requirements prior to operation of treatment systems or 

devices, 8) enhanced periodic challenge testing2 requirements, 

9) requiring periodic self-inspection of RMW treatment 

facilities, 10) requiring RMW generators to maintain shipping 

records, 11) eliminating requirement to shred treated RMW, 

12) increasing flexibility for treatment facilities to establish 

operating parameters specific to the treatment unit and waste 

stream rather than defaulting to general regulatory 

performance standards for a particular treatment method, 13) 

increasing the allowed options for cleaning and disinfection of 

reusable containers, 14) increasing the allowed options for 

packaging of treated RMW, and 15) longer storage timeframes 

for RMW without refrigeration. 

Background. The Regulated Medical Waste Management 

Regulations establish standards and procedures pertaining to 

RMW management, including permit requirements for the 

storage, transfer, treatment and disposal of RMW. Rules for 

packaging, labeling and transporting RMW, as well as 

exemptions from regulation, are also included. Standards for 

approved treatment processes are provided as well as 

provisions for establishing alternate treatment technologies. 

During and after the 2014-2015 Ebola virus disease outbreak, 

the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) assisted 

healthcare facilities and other state and local agencies with 

planning for the management of Ebola-contaminated waste, 

which is considered a Category A waste. "Category A waste" 

means wastes that are contaminated with a Category A 

infectious substance and must be packaged and transported in 

accordance with the United States Department of 

Transportation (USDOT) Hazardous Materials Regulations 

(HMR) or an applicable USDOT special permit. "Category A 

infectious substance" means an infectious substance in a form 

capable of causing permanent disability or life-threatening or 

fatal disease in otherwise healthy humans or animals when 

exposure to the substance occurs. Category A infectious 

substances are defined by 49 CFR 173.134 of the USDOT 

HMR.3 

Category A waste must be managed in accordance with more 

stringent handling, storage, transport, and treatment 

requirements than other types of RMW in order to prevent the 

spread of highly infectious disease. The existing Regulated 

Medical Waste Management Regulations do not specifically 

address the management of Category A waste. Therefore, 

during the 2014-2015 Ebola virus disease outbreak DEQ relied 

on interim guidance from the Centers for Disease Control 

(CDC), the federal Environmental Protection Agency, 

USDOT, and other entities while working one-on-one with 

facilities to ensure that management would protect human 

health and the environment. 

Following the Ebola virus disease outbreak, the CDC awarded 

a grant to the Virginia Department of Health (VDH). Under a 

memorandum of understanding, VDH administered the grant 

funds to DEQ in 2016 to contract subject matter experts to 

perform a systematic review of the Regulated Medical Waste 

Management Regulations in order to identify existing 

regulatory gaps and propose revisions to address current 

industry best management practices for Category A waste and 

other types of RMW. The subject matter experts proposed 

changes to streamline RMW management requirements for 

generators and permitted facilities, update performance 

standards for treatment technologies, and clarify specific 

protocols for validation and periodic challenge testing. DEQ 

received a report with proposed regulatory revisions in 2017 

and formed an internal RMW workgroup to evaluate the 

proposal prior to submitting the current action. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs.  

Management of Category A waste. According to DEQ, no 

Category A waste has been known to be present in the 

Commonwealth, including during the Ebola virus disease 

outbreak. The proposed new regulation includes a section, 

9VAC20-121-160, on the management of Category A waste. 

In addition to stating that, "Every effort shall be made to 

minimize the amount of Category A waste generated," the 

proposed section delineates the procedures to be followed if it 

is present. The proposed text does not introduce substantive 

cost, and is beneficial in that facilities would likely be more 

knowledgeable on how to most safely handle Category A waste 

if it is present. 
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Permits. The Board proposes to require that all RMW transfer 

stations and treatment facilities in Virginia submit new permit 

applications within six months of the effective date of the 

regulation. There are four RMW transfer stations and ten 

RMW treatment facilities in the Commonwealth. Each of these 

14 entities would be required to pay a $390 permit fee. DEQ 

estimates that it would take each entity from 24 to 40 hours to 

assemble the information necessary to submit the application. 

The agency estimates that it would spend approximately 12 

hours of staff time per permit application for review and 

processing. The Board believes that given the magnitude of 

proposed changes, a full review associated with permit 

application is necessary. 

The current regulation includes a permitting option called on-

site permit-by-rule. The Board proposes to eliminate this 

option, which would affect nine of the 14 permitted facilities. 

As a result, these facilities would incur additional costs from 

the staff time needed to compile additional submission 

documents for the permit application. According to DEQ the 

facilities should already have all of the information needed to 

complete and submit the additional documents. The agency 

believes that by eliminating the on-site permit-by-rule option 

it would receive better information on treatment units. 

Improved information would allow DEQ to better ensure that 

RMW is treated effectively and appropriately, and thereby 

provide better protections for the public and consistency in 

permitting procedures for all fourteen facilities. 

Under the current regulation, permits expire and need to be 

renewed every ten years. Under the proposed regulation, 

permits do not expire and do not need to be renewed. For each 

of the 14 RMW facilities and any other future RMW facilities, 

this would save $390 in fees and approximately 24 to 40 hours 

of staff time in application preparation every ten years. It 

would also save approximately 12 hours of DEQ staff time in 

application review and processing for each facility every ten 

years as well. 

Other New Requirements. The proposed regulation requires 

that RMW transfer stations and treatment facilities have fixed 

radiation detectors in a location as close as practicable to the 

incoming waste loads and in proximity to monitor all waste 

prior to storage, transfer, or treatment. The fixed radiation 

detectors are not required at captive regulated medical waste 

management facilities4 if the facility demonstrates that there is 

no potential for generation or management of radioactive 

materials or wastes. Radiation detectors cost from $6,000 to 

$8,000 for fixed devices depending on the configuration (floor 

mounted or door mounted).5 According to DEQ, a number of 

permitted facilities (including at least two state university 

hospitals) have already installed fixed radiation detectors. 

The proposed regulation includes new specification 

requirements for cart tippers, slides, or conveyors to ensure that 

movement of RMW is controlled to maintain the integrity of 

the RMW packaging (i.e. to avoid damage to packaging that 

could cause releases of RMW). Based on a DEQ survey of 

treatment facilities, modifications to existing cart tippers, if 

needed, may cost anywhere from a nominal maintenance 

charge (to adjust hydraulic pressure) up to $2,000 (to install a 

non-porous barrier). 

"Validation testing" means procedures conducted at the site of 

a regulated medical waste treatment facility prior to initial 

operation of a treatment system or device, the purpose of which 

is to demonstrate, through established operating parameters, 

the effective treatment of regulated medical waste. The 

proposed regulation includes new validation requirements 

prior to operation, with criteria for when repeat validation is to 

occur (at least once every five years) to ensure treatment units 

are operating effectively. The additional costs for the initial 

validation include costs for four to 12 biological indicators for 

each of three validation test runs (at $3 to $4 per indicator) and 

approximately 8 hours of staff time to complete the testing 

(usually 30 to 90 minutes per test plus incubation time for 

biological indicators).6 These are costs per treatment unit. Of 

the ten RMW treatment facilities in the Commonwealth, five 

have one unit ($36 to $144 in indicators and 8 hours of staff 

time), one has two units ($72 to $288 in indicators and 16 hours 

of staff time), two have three units ($108 to $432 in indicators 

and 24 hours of staff time), one has four units ($144 to $576 in 

indicators and 32 hours of staff time), and one has nine units 

($324 to $1,296 in indicators and 72 hours of staff time). 

"Challenge Testing" means periodic monitoring or testing of a 

regulated medical waste treatment device or system that 

employs the use of biological indicators to demonstrate 

continued, effective operation of the device or system. The 

proposed regulation includes enhanced periodic challenge 

testing requirements. The proposed enhanced challenge testing 

includes the costs of zero to three additional biological 

indicators ($3 to $4 per indicator) per month beyond the 

current requirement, depending on the volume of waste treated. 

The number of biological indicators required per month 

corresponds to the volume of waste treated per load. Staff time 

for performing challenge tests is not anticipated to be 

lengthened by the use of additional biological indicators. 

The proposed regulation also requires that each facility 

conduct monthly inspections of all major aspects of facility 

operations necessary to ensure compliance with the regulation. 

Records of the self-inspections are required to be kept and be 

available for review. DEQ estimates that this would take one 

hour of one employee's time per month. 

Not all generators of RMW are required to maintain records 

under the current regulation. The Board proposes to require 

that all RMW generators maintain records, including copies of 

all shipping papers, specifying the date of shipment, amount of 

waste removed from the site, and the names, addresses, and 

telephone numbers of the transporter and the destination 

facility receiving the shipment for treatment or disposal. Under 

both the current and proposed regulations, the records are to be 

kept for a minimum of three years following treatment or 

shipment. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1270 

All of these new requirements are intended to reduce risk to 

health and safety. 

Other Eliminated Requirements or Increased Flexibility. The 

current regulation requires RMW waste to be shredded to 

indicate that it has been treated. According to DEQ, this is no 

longer necessary and the Board proposes to eliminate this 

requirement. Some facilities have already obtained a variance 

from the requirement. For those that still are shredding this 

change would be beneficial in that they will not be affected by 

down time or the repairs that are required by the shredding 

units, including the cost to replace blades and other 

components damaged by clogging. In addition, this would 

eliminate unnecessary safety and health risks posed to workers 

who repair shredders, which typically fail mid-cycle and could 

expose workers to pathogens from untreated RMW no longer 

contained in intact packaging. 

The proposed regulation also introduces potential cost savings 

in time and materials by: a) increasing the flexibility for 

treatment facilities to establish operating parameters specific 

to the treatment unit and waste stream rather than defaulting to 

general regulatory performance standards for a particular 

treatment method, b) increasing the allowed options for 

cleaning and disinfection of reusable containers, c) increasing 

the allowed options for packaging of treated RMW, and d) 

allowing RMW to be stored for longer timeframes without 

refrigeration. All of the above were deemed safe, while 

potentially reducing costs. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments primarily affect the ten permitted RMW 

treatment facilities and the four permitted RMW transfer 

stations in the Commonwealth. RMW generators are also 

affected. The ten permitted RMW treatment facilities consist 

of four public universities, three hospitals, one state agency, 

one private laboratory, and one private treatment business. All 

four permitted RMW transfer stations are private entities. 

RMW generators include hospitals, doctors' offices, dentists' 

offices, clinics, and other healthcare facilities as well as 

veterinary establishments, laboratories, research facilities, etc. 

Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. While the benefits 

to public health may be large, there would likely be some 

increases in net costs for some of the affected entities as 

described in the section above. Thus, adverse impact is 

indicated for this action. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected.  

Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia defines small 

business as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is 

independently owned and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 

500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less than 

$6 million." One or two of the ten permitted RMW treatment 

facilities may qualify as a small business. Employment and 

revenue data is not available for those entities or the four 

permitted RMW transfer stations. Thus it is not known which 

if any qualify as a small business. Many, but not all of the 

health care facilities are likely small business, but specific data 

are not available. 

Costs and Other Effects. The costs and other effects as 

described in the Estimated Benefits and Costs section of this 

report would apply to the affected entities that qualify as small 

businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed regulation affects all 

localities in that all localities have healthcare facilities. The 14 

permitted RMW facilities are located in Arlington, 

Charlottesville, Chesterfield, Fairfax, Fredericksburg, Norfolk, 

Petersburg, Prince William, Richmond, Roanoke, Sandston, 

Sterling, and Warrenton. The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes 

associated with the repeal of 9VAC20-120 and promulgation 

of 9VAC20-121 are not likely to substantially affect total 

employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.10 The 

proposed changes associated with the repeal of 9 VAC 20-120 

and promulgation of 9 VAC 20-121 increase some costs and 

reduce other costs for the two privately-owned permitted 

RMW treatment facilities and four privately-owned permitted 

RMW transfer stations. There would likely be some increase 

in net costs for some of these firms, which may moderately 

reduce their net value. 

_________________________________ 
1"Validation testing" means procedures conducted at the site of a regulated 
medical waste treatment facility prior to initial operation of a treatment system 

or device, the purpose of which is to demonstrate, through established 

operating parameters, the effective treatment of regulated medical waste. 
2Challenge Testing" means periodic monitoring or testing of a regulated 

medical waste treatment device or system that employs the use of biological 

indicators to demonstrate continued, effective operation of the device or 

system. 
3See https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/49/173.134 

4"Captive regulated medical waste management facility" means a regulated 
medical waste management facility that is located on property owned or 

controlled by the generator of all waste managed or disposed of at that facility. 

5Source: DEQ 

6Ibid 
7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

8"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

9§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 
10Private property is interpreted to include all private assets including private 

businesses. 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/49/173.134
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulatory action repeals and replaces 

Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-120), which provides for the general handling, 

storage, transfer, treatment, disposal of, packaging, 

labeling, transporting, and exemptions from all of these 

provisions for regulated medical waste (RMW). 

Substantive revisions included in the new chapter (i) 

provide conditional exemptions to encourage safe 

collection and proper management of specific types of 

regulated medical waste, such as sharps; (ii) clarify RMW 

storage requirements for generators and permitted 

facilities; (iii) streamline the permit structure and 

clarifying activities exempt from permitting; (iv) specify 

the siting, design, operation, recordkeeping, and 

reporting requirements of RMW transfer stations and 

treatment facilities; (v) require validation and periodic 

challenge testing for treatment technologies; (vi) clarify 

procedures for the management of Category A wastes; 

(vii) improve the alternate treatment technology petition 

process; and (viii) improve regulatory structure, 

procedures, and use.  

Chapter 121 

Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 

Part I 

Definitions 

9VAC20-121-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 

10.1 of the Code of Virginia defines words and terms that 

supplement those in this chapter. The Solid Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-81) define additional 

words and terms that supplement those in the statutes and this 

chapter. When the statutes, as cited, and the solid waste 

management regulations, as cited, conflict, the definitions of 

the statutes are controlling. 

"Approved sanitary sewer system" means a network of 

sewers serving a facility that has been approved in writing by 

the Virginia Department of Health, including affiliated local 

health departments. Such sewer systems may be approved 

septic tank or drainfield systems and onsite treatment systems, 

or they may be a part of a collection system served by a VPDES 

permitted treatment works. 

"Ash" means the residual waste material produced from an 

incineration process or any combustion. 

"ASTM" means the American Society for Testing and 

Materials. 

"Autoclave" means a wet thermal sterilization process that 

uses saturated steam under a specified amount of pressure for 

a specified exposure time and at a specific temperature. 

"Bioaerosol" means a suspension of airborne particles, 

generally comprised of microorganisms (e.g., bacteria, viruses) 

or materials of biological origin released from humans, 

animals, plants, soil, water, or other sources. Particles range in 

size from very small to very large, and could include liquid 

droplets and materials left behind after such droplets evaporate 

(known as "droplet nuclei"). 

"Bioburden" means the degree of microbial contamination, 

including the type and total population of organisms, the 

number of spore formers present, and their resistance on any 

material and in a given amount of waste material prior to 

undergoing treatment. 

"Biohazard" means biological substances that pose a threat to 

the health of living organisms, primarily that of humans, but 

can include substances harmful to animals. 

"Biological indicator" means a preparation of a specific 

microorganism of a known concentration and resistance to a 

specific treatment process or to a known physical or chemical 

condition and is used to evaluate the capability of a process to 

effectively treat regulated medical waste. "Biological 

indicators" include bacterial spores or other microorganisms 

inoculated onto carriers (such as spore strips), spore 

suspensions, and self-contained biological indicators.  

"Biological toxin" or "toxin" means a poison, especially a 

protein or conjugated protein produced by certain animals, 

plants, and pathogenic bacteria that is highly poisonous for 

other living organisms. 

"Biologicals" means any preparations (sera, nonviable 

vaccines, vaccines attenuated in a manner that prevents 

propagation, antigens, toxins, and antitoxins) derived from a 

living organism or its products for use in diagnosis, 

immunization, or treatment of human beings or animals. 

"Blood" means human blood, human blood components (e.g., 

serum and plasma), and products made from human blood. 

"Bloodborne pathogen" means pathogenic microorganisms 

that are present in human blood (including human blood 

components and products made from human blood) that can 

cause disease in humans. 

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board. 

"Body fluids" means liquid emanating or derived from 

humans, including blood; cerebrospinal, synovial, pleural, 

peritoneal, and pericardial fluids; semen and vaginal 

secretions; amniotic fluid; and any other body fluids that are 

contaminated with blood, mixed or combined with body fluids, 

or suspected by the health care professional in charge of being 

capable of producing an infectious disease in humans. This 

term does not include toenail and skin clippings, breast milk, 
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sputum, semen, teeth, sweat, tears, urine, vomitus, or saliva 

that are not contaminated with visible blood unless 

transmission of an infectious disease is possible as determined 

by a health care professional. 

"Calibration" means the demonstration that a measuring 

device produces accurate results within specified limits of its 

operating range. 

"Captive regulated medical waste management facility" 

means a regulated medical waste management facility that is 

located on property owned or controlled by the generator of all 

waste managed or disposed of at that facility. 

"Category A infectious substance" means an infectious 

substance in a form capable of causing permanent disability or 

life-threatening or fatal disease in otherwise healthy humans or 

animals when exposure to the substance occurs. Category A 

infectious substances are defined by 49 CFR 173.134 of the 

U.S. Department of Transportation Hazardous Materials 

Regulations. 

"Category A waste" means wastes that are contaminated with 

a Category A infectious substance and must be packaged and 

transported in accordance with the U.S. Department of 

Transportation Hazardous Materials Regulations or an 

applicable DOT special permit. 

"Challenge testing" means periodic monitoring or testing of a 

regulated medical waste treatment device or system that 

employs the use of biological indicators to demonstrate 

continued, effective operation of the device or system.  

"Closure" means the act of securing a regulated medical waste 

management facility and terminating use of the facility for 

management of regulated medical waste pursuant to the 

requirements of this chapter. 

"Container" means any portable enclosure in which a material 

is stored, transported, treated, or otherwise handled. 

"Contaminated" means the presence or the reasonably 

anticipated presence of blood or other body fluids, infectious 

agent, biohazard, or biological toxin on an item or surface.  

"Cremains" means the ash or bone shadows that remain after 

cremation. 

"Culture" means an infectious substance containing a 

pathogen that is intentionally propagated. "Culture" does not 

include a human or animal patient specimen. 

"Cultures and stock" means materials derived from the 

management (e.g., the systems used to grow and maintain 

infectious agents in vitro, including nutrient agars, gels, broths, 

and cell lines) of agents infectious to humans, and associated 

biologicals, from medical or pathological laboratories, from 

research and industrial laboratories, or from the production of 

biologicals and includes discarded live or attenuated vaccines 

capable of propagation, or culture dishes and devices used to 

transfer, inoculate, or mix cultures. 

"Cycle" means the total operating time required for a device 

to treat regulated medical waste, and for an autoclave, includes 

warm-up, residence time, and cool down time.  

"D-value" or "decimal reduction value" means the thermal 

resistance or time in minutes at a specific temperature that is 

required for a one-log or 90% reduction of a specific microbial 

population under specified treatment conditions.  

"Decontamination" means the use of physical or chemical 

means to remove, inactivate, or destroy human pathogens on a 

surface or item to the point where they are no longer capable 

of transmitting disease and the surface or item is rendered safe 

for handling, use, or disposal. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality or the director's designee. 

"Discard" means to throw away or reject. When a material is 

soiled, contaminated, or no longer usable, and it is placed in a 

waste receptacle for disposal or treatment prior to disposal, it 

is considered discarded. 

"Discharge" or "waste discharge" means the accidental or 

intentional spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring, emitting, 

emptying, or dumping of regulated medical waste into or on 

any land or state waters. 

"Disinfectant" means an antimicrobial product used on hard 

inanimate surfaces and objects to destroy or irreversibly 

inactivate infectious agents, such as bacteria, fungi, and 

viruses, but not necessarily bacterial spores. There are three 

types of disinfectants registered by EPA based on the type of 

efficacy data submitted: limited, general or broad-spectrum, 

and hospital grade. 

"Disinfection" means any procedure that involves the 

application of an antimicrobial agent (disinfectant) registered 

with EPA that is consistent with its approved use in accordance 

with the manufacturer's instructions. Disinfection shall not be 

considered a form of treatment, and appropriate handling of 

disinfected materials, as well as health and safety precautions, 

shall still be required to achieve protection of public health and 

the environment.  

"Disposal" means the discharge, deposit, injection, dumping, 

spilling, leaking, or placing of any solid waste into or on any 

land or water so that such solid waste or any constituent of it 

may enter the environment or be emitted into the air or 

discharged into any waters, including groundwaters. 

"Disposal facility" means a facility or part of a facility at 

which solid waste is intentionally placed into or on any land or 

water, and at which the solid waste will remain after closure. 

"Domestic sewage" means untreated sanitary wastes that pass 

through a sewer system. 
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"Efficacy testing" means testing of a treatment method, 

system, or device, conducted by a laboratory, independent of 

the system manufacturer, in conformance with generally 

recognized scientific principles, microbiologic examinations, 

or other pertinent assessments of waste material to establish 

operating parameters for effective treatment of regulated 

medical waste. 

"Effluent" means liquid waste such as spills, wash water, and 

wastewater emanating from regulated medical waste storage, 

transfer, and treatment areas.  

"Empty" means wastes have been removed from a container 

using the practices commonly employed to remove materials 

of that type such as pouring, pumping, or aspirating. 

"EPA" means the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Exposure time" or "residence time" means the length of time 

at which the treatment method is held at a specific temperature, 

pressure, irradiation level, or chemical concentration for 

effective treatment of regulated medical waste.  

"Federal agency" means any department, agency, or other 

instrumentality of the federal government, any independent 

agency, or establishment of the federal government, including 

any government corporation and the Government Printing 

Office. 

"Generate" means to cause waste to become subject to 

regulation. At the point a regulated medical waste is discarded, 

it has been generated. Timeframes associated with storage and 

refrigeration are linked to the date the waste is placed in 

storage, not the date the waste is generated. 

"Generator" means any person, by site location, whose act or 

process produces regulated medical waste identified or defined 

in this chapter or whose act first causes a regulated medical 

waste to become subject to this chapter. 

"Hazardous material" means a substance or material that has 

been so designated under 49 CFR Parts 171 and 173. 

"Hazardous waste" means any solid waste defined as a 

"hazardous waste" by the Virginia Hazardous Waste 

Management Regulations. 

"Health care professional" means a medical doctor or nurse 

practicing under a license issued by the Department of Health 

Professions. 

"Household sharps" means any needles, syringes with 

attached needles, lancets, auto injectors, pen needles, and any 

other devices that are used to penetrate the skin for the delivery 

of medications that are derived from households through self-

care, rather than under the care of a home health care 

professional or at a health care facility. "Household sharps" are 

sharps that, except for the fact that they are derived from a 

household, would otherwise be classified as a regulated 

medical waste in accordance with this chapter.  

"Household waste" means any waste material, including 

garbage, trash, and refuse, derived from households. 

Households include single and multiple residences, hotels and 

motels, bunkhouses, ranger stations, crew quarters, 

campgrounds, picnic grounds, and day-use recreation areas. 

"Household waste" does not include sanitary waste in septic 

tanks (septage) that is regulated by other state agencies. Waste 

generated by a health care professional or nonstationary health 

care provider administering care in a household, mobile unit, 

or commercially operated residence, or outpatient recovery 

facility that meets the definition of regulated medical waste is 

not household waste and must be managed as regulated 

medical waste. 

"Inactivated" or "inactivation" means having reached the 

point, through autoclaving, incineration, or other validated 

treatment process, where the waste material is no longer 

infectious, does not pose an infection risk, and is not 

considered to be a regulated medical waste. 

"Infectious agent" means any organism or agent, including a 

synthetic agent, that causes disease or an adverse health impact 

in humans or can be transferred to humans, as well as animals 

that have an economic impact on human society.  

"Infectious substance" means a material known or reasonably 

expected to contain a pathogen, including bacteria, viruses, 

rickettsiae, parasites, fungi, or prions, that can cause disease in 

humans or animals. 

"Inner packaging" means a packaging that is the primary 

container, such as a red bag or sharps container, for which an 

outer packaging is required for transport.  

"Nonstationary health care provider" means those persons 

who routinely provide health care at locations that change each 

day or frequently. This term includes traveling doctors, nurses, 

midwives, and others providing care in patients' homes, first 

aid providers operating from emergency vehicles, and mobile 

blood service collection stations. 

"Offsite" means any site that does not meet the definition of 

onsite, as defined in this part, including areas of a facility that 

are not on geographically contiguous property or outside of the 

boundary of the site.  

"Onsite" means the same or geographically contiguous 

property, which may be divided by public or private right-of-

way, provided the entrance and exit to the facility are 

controlled by the owner or the operator of the facility. 

Noncontiguous properties owned by the same person but 

connected by a right-of-way that he controls and to which the 

public does not have access are also considered onsite 

property. 

"Operating parameters" means the specific conditions of 

pressure, temperature, residence time, chemical concentration, 

and other physical or engineering condition established 

through efficacy testing of a treatment method and verified 
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through validation testing to be effective for treatment of 

regulated medical waste. 

"Outer packaging" means packaging that is the secondary 

container or the outermost enclosure, such as a disposable or 

reusable rigid pail, fiberboard carton, drum, or portable bin that 

is under normal conditions of use leak-resistant, strong enough 

to prevent tearing or bursting, puncture resistant, impervious to 

moisture, has leak proof sides and bottom, has a tight fitting 

cover or is otherwise closable, and is in good repair, of a 

composite or combination packaging together with any 

absorbent materials, cushioning and any other components 

necessary to contain and protect inner packaging.  

"Overpack" means an enclosure that is used to provide 

protection or convenience in handling of a package or to 

consolidate two or more packages. "Overpack" does not 

include a vehicle, freight container, or aircraft unit load device. 

Examples of overpacks are one or more packages (i) placed or 

stacked onto a load board such as a pallet and secured by 

strapping, shrink wrapping, stretch wrapping, or other suitable 

means; or (ii) placed in a protective outer packaging such as a 

box or crate.  

"Packaging" means the assembly of one or more containers 

and any other components necessary to assure compliance with 

minimum packaging requirements under Regulations 

Governing the Transportation of Hazardous Materials 

(9VAC20-110) or this chapter. 

"Parametric controls" or "parametric monitoring device" 

means real time monitoring instrumentation integral to the 

treatment unit that is designed to quantitatively measure 

operational parameters, such as temperature, pressure, or other 

parameter, and provide an electronic or paper record of 

measurements that can be correlated to treatment. Parametric 

controls may be used to regulate or maintain preset operating 

parameters. 

"Pathogen" means a microorganism, including bacteria, 

viruses, rickettsiae, parasites or fungi, or other agent, such as a 

proteinaceous infectious particle (prion), that can cause disease 

in humans or animals. 

"Patient specimen" means human or animal materials 

collected directly from humans or animals and transported for 

research, diagnosis, clinical or investigational activities, or 

disease treatment or prevention. "Patient specimen" includes 

excreta, secreta, blood and its components, tissue and tissue 

swabs, body parts, and specimens in transport media (e.g., 

transwabs, culture media, and blood culture bottles) until such 

time that the patient specimen is discarded. 

"Prion" means a pathogenic agent that is able to cause 

abnormal folding of specific normal cellular proteins called 

"prion proteins," which are found most abundantly in the brain. 

This abnormal folding is associated with neurological disease. 

Prions are proteinaceous infectious particles that are highly 

resistant to all but the most destructive methods of inactivation. 

They require specific inactivation, disposal, and containment 

procedures. 

"Process rate" means the maximum rate of waste acceptance 

that a regulated medical waste management facility can 

process for transfer, treatment, or storage. This rate is limited 

by the capabilities of equipment, personnel, and infrastructure. 

"Processing" means preparation, treatment, or conversion of 

regulated medical waste by a series of actions, changes, or 

functions that bring about a decided result. 

"Regulated medical waste" or "RMW" means solid wastes 

defined to be regulated medical wastes in Part II (9VAC20-

121-90) this chapter. 

"Regulated medical waste management facility" means a site 

used for planned transfer, treatment, or disposal of regulated 

medical waste. A regulated medical waste management facility 

may consist of more than one transfer, treatment, or disposal 

unit. A regulated medical waste management facility is a type 

of solid waste management facility. 

"Regulated medical waste transfer station" means a regulated 

medical waste management facility where regulated medical 

waste is received for the purpose of its subsequent 

consolidation, over-packing, storage, trans-loading, or 

subsequent transfer to another regulated medical waste 

management facility for further processing, treatment, transfer, 

or disposal. Parking a vehicle containing regulated medical 

waste during transportation for 24 hours or more is considered 

a regulated medical waste transfer station. 

"Regulated medical waste treatment facility" means a 

regulated medical waste management facility where regulated 

medical waste is treated so that it no longer constitutes a threat 

to public health and the environment, and the waste is 

subsequently managed as solid waste. 

"Reusable medical device" means a device, including surgical 

forceps, endoscopes, and stethoscopes, that is designed and 

labeled for multiple uses and is reprocessed by thorough 

cleaning followed by high-level disinfection or sterilization 

between patients.  

"Sanitizer" means a substance, or mixture of substances, that 

reduces the bacterial population in the inanimate environment 

by significant numbers, (e.g., 3 log10 reduction) or more but 

does not destroy or eliminate all bacteria. 

"Select agent or toxin" means a subset of biological agents 

and toxins that the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services and U.S. Department of Agriculture have determined 

have the potential to pose a severe threat to public health and 

safety, to animal or plant health, or to animal or plant products. 

Select agents and toxins are specified under 42 CFR §§ 73.3 

and 73.4, 9 CFR §§ 121.3 and 121.4, and 7 CFR § 331.3. 

"Sharps" means needles, scalpels, knives, lancets, syringes 

with attached needles, suture needles, pasteur pipettes, broken 
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glass, broken rigid plastic, and similar items having a point or 

sharp edge or that are likely to cause percutaneous injury or 

break during transportation and result in a point or sharp edge 

that may puncture or compromise the integrity of the container. 

"Sharps drop box" means a secure, tamper-proof sharps 

container for the temporary storage of only household sharps 

provided for the convenience of individual home generators 

who choose to transport their own household sharps to the 

collection point and where collected sharps are packaged, 

labeled, and managed as regulated medical waste.  

"Shipment" means the movement or quantity conveyed by a 

transporter of a regulated medical waste between a generator 

and a designated facility or a subsequent transporter. 

"Shipping paper" means a shipping order, bill of lading, 

manifest, or other shipping document serving a similar purpose 

and containing the information required by the U.S. 

Department of Transportation Hazardous Materials 

Regulations. 

"Site" means all land or water and structures, other 

appurtenances, and improvements on them used for treating, 

storing, and disposing of regulated medical waste. This term 

includes adjacent land within the facility boundary used for the 

utility systems such as repair, storage, shipping or processing 

areas, or other areas incident to the management of regulated 

medical waste. 

"Solid waste" means any of those materials defined as "solid 

waste" in 9VAC20-81-95 of the Virginia Solid Waste 

Management Regulations. Regulated medical waste that has 

been treated in accordance with this chapter is considered solid 

waste. 

"Spill" means any accidental or unpermitted discharge, 

leaking, pumping, pouring, emitting, or dumping of wastes or 

materials that, when spilled, become wastes. 

"Spore" means a dormant form of a microorganism that is 

more resistant to adverse conditions. 

"Sterilize" means to inactivate all microorganisms on 

materials or waste. 

"Storage" means the holding, including during transportation, 

of regulated medical waste. 

"Surrogate waste load" means a load of noninfectious 

material used in validation test runs of treatment units that 

represents materials and packaging that would be found in the 

regulated medical waste stream to be treated by the facility. 

"Transportation" or "transport" means the movement of 

regulated medical waste by air, rail, highway, or water. 

"Transporter" means a person authorized in accordance with 

federal and state regulations and engaged in transportation or 

movement of regulated waste. 

"Treatment" means any method, technology, or process 

designed to change the character or composition of any 

regulated medical waste so that it is inactivated and no longer 

constitutes a threat to public health and the environment. 

Treatment does not include compaction or disinfection.  

"Treatment method" means a process including wet thermal 

sterilization (such as autoclaving) or dry thermal sterilization, 

chemical sterilization, combustion or incineration, and 

alternate technologies used to treat regulated medical waste. 

"Thermochemical indicator" means a device (e.g., tape, paper 

strips, integrators, or small ampoules) that responds to the 

treatment process parameters in some measurable fashion, 

such as changing color or becoming striped when subjected to 

temperatures intended to provide sterilization of materials. 

"Thermochemical recording device" means a device (e.g., 

thermocouple, wireless data loggers, or chemical monitoring 

probes) that reacts in response to one or more critical treatment 

parameters (such as temperature) and yields a quantifiable 

value that correlates to microbial lethality or predictable 

inactivation of microbial spore populations. 

"Unauthorized waste" means waste that is not authorized by 

the department to be managed by a regulated medical waste 

management facility. Examples are dependent upon the 

treatment technology and permit but may include 

chemotherapeutic, pathological, pharmaceutical, radioactive, 

chemical, hazardous, or other wastes. 

"Used health care product" means a medical, diagnostic, or 

research device or piece of equipment, or personal care product 

used by consumers, medical professionals, or pharmaceutical 

providers that does not otherwise meet the definition of patient 

specimen, biological product, or regulated medical waste, but 

is contaminated with potentially infectious body fluids or 

materials and is not decontaminated or disinfected to remove 

or mitigate the infectious hazard prior to transportation.  

"Validation testing" means procedures conducted at the site 

of a regulated medical waste treatment facility prior to initial 

operation of a treatment system or device, the purpose of which 

is to demonstrate, through established operating parameters, 

the effective treatment of regulated medical waste.  

"Vector" means a living animal, insect, or other arthropod that 

is capable of transmitting a pathogen or infectious disease from 

one organism to another. 

"VPDES" means Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System, the Virginia system for the issuance of permits 

pursuant to the Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31), the State 

Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), and § 402 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 

et seq.). 

"Waste management" means the entire process of managing 

waste from the point of generation to final disposition. For 

regulated medical waste, the process includes collection and 
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segregation, characterization, classification, packaging, 

labeling, processing, staging, storing, decontamination, 

treatment, transportation, and disposal, as well as monitoring 

of waste management operations and sites to ensure that the 

management of these wastes is protective of human health and 

the environment. 

"Waste management facility" means all contiguous land and 

structures, other appurtenances, and improvements on them 

used for treating, storing, or disposing of waste. 

"Z-value" means the temperature change required for the D-

value to change by 1 log (i.e., by a factor of 10) for a specific 

microbial population under specified treatment conditions. 

Part II 

General Information 

9VAC20-121-20. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards and 

procedures pertaining to regulated medical waste management 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia in order to protect the public 

health and public safety, and to enhance the environment and 

natural resources. 

9VAC20-121-30. Administration.  

A. The Virginia Waste Management Board promulgates and 

enforces regulations that it deems necessary to protect the 

public health and safety, the environment, and natural 

resources. 

B. The director is authorized and directed to administer this 

chapter in accordance with the Virginia Waste Management 

Act (§§ 10.1-1400 through 10.1-1457 of the Code of Virginia). 

C. Nothing in this chapter shall limit or affect the power of 

the director, by the director's order, to prohibit storage, 

transfer, treatment, or disposal of any waste or require special 

handling requirements the director determines are necessary to 

protect the public health or the environment. 

9VAC20-121-40. Applicability.  

A. This chapter applies (i) to all persons who generate or 

transport, store, transfer, process, treat, dispose, or otherwise 

manage regulated medical waste; own or operate a regulated 

medical waste management facility; or allow a regulated 

medical waste management facility to be operated on their 

property in the Commonwealth of Virginia; and (ii) to those 

who seek approval to engage in these activities, except those 

specifically exempted or excluded elsewhere in this chapter. A 

"person" may include an individual, firm, company, 

corporation, partnership, association, state or federal 

government and any agency thereof, municipality, 

commission, political subdivision of a state, or any interstate 

body. 

B. All existing regulated medical waste management facilities 

must comply with this chapter. Existing facilities, including 

those with an existing permit, must submit a complete permit 

application by (insert date six months after the effective date 

of this regulation) to come into compliance with this chapter.  

9VAC20-121-50. Prohibitions.  

A. No person shall operate any regulated medical waste 

management facility for the transfer, treatment, or disposal of 

regulated medical waste without a permit from the director. 

B. No person shall allow regulated medical waste to be stored, 

disposed, or otherwise managed on the person's property 

except in accordance with this chapter. 

C. It shall be the duty of all persons to manage their regulated 

medical waste in a legal manner. Untreated regulated medical 

waste, including its packaging, shall not be used, reused, or 

reclaimed.  

D. No person shall: 

1. Allow regulated medical waste to drain or discharge into 

surface waters except when treated onsite and discharged 

into surface water as authorized under a Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit (9VAC25-

31). 

2. Cause the discharge of pollutants into waters of the United 

States, including wetlands, that violates any requirements of 

the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.), including the 

VPDES requirements and Virginia Water Quality Standards 

(9VAC25-260). 

3. Cause the discharge of a nonpoint source of pollution to 

waters of the United States, including wetlands, that violates 

any requirement of an area wide or statewide water quality 

management plan that has been approved under § 208 or 319 

of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) or violates 

any requirement of the Virginia Water Quality Standards 

(9VAC25-260). 

4. Allow regulated medical waste to be deposited in or to 

enter any surface waters, groundwaters, or storm drains. 

E. Any person who violates subsection A, B, C, or D of this 

section shall immediately cease the activity of improper 

management and shall initiate waste removal, cleanup, or 

closure. 

9VAC20-121-60. Enforcement and appeal.  

A. All administrative enforcement and appeals taken from 

actions of the director relative to the provisions of this chapter 

shall be governed by the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

B. The Virginia Waste Management Board or the director 

may enforce the provisions of this chapter utilizing all 

applicable procedures under the law. The powers of the board 

and the director include those established under Chapter 11.1 

(§ 10.1-1182 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); in Article 8 

(§ 10.1-1455 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 10.1 of the Code of 

Virginia; and particularly in § 10.1-1186 of the Code of 
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Virginia. These sections describe the right of entry for 

inspections; the issuance of orders, penalties, injunctions; and 

other provisions and procedures for enforcement of this 

chapter. 

9VAC20-121-70. Public participation and information.  

A. All permits for regulated medical waste management 

facilities are subject to public participation, as specified in Part 

V (9VAC20-121-300 et seq.) of this chapter. 

B. Modifications to regulated medical waste management 

facility permits shall be subject to public participation in 

accordance with Part V (9VAC20-121-300 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

C. Dockets of all permitting actions, enforcement actions, and 

administrative actions relative to this chapter shall be available 

to the public for review, consistent with the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act, Virginia Freedom of Information 

Act (§ 2.2-3700 of the Code of Virginia), and the provisions of 

this chapter. 

D. Public participation in the compliance evaluation and 

enforcement programs is encouraged. The department will: 

1. Investigate all citizen complaints and provide written 

responses to all signed, written complaints from citizens, 

concerning matters within the board's purview; 

2. Not oppose intervention by any citizen in a suit brought 

before a court by the department as a result of the 

enforcement action; and 

3. Provide notice on the department's internet website and 

provide at least 30 days of public comment on proposed 

settlements of civil enforcement actions, except where the 

settlement requires some immediate action. Where a public 

comment period is not held prior to the settlement of an 

enforcement action, public notice will still be provided 

following the settlement.  

9VAC20-121-80. Relationship to other bodies of regulation.  

A. The Solid Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-81) 

address other requirements for solid waste management. If 

there is a conflict between the provisions of this chapter and 

the solid waste management regulations, this chapter is 

controlling. 

B. Regulated medical waste management facilities must also 

comply with any applicable sections of the Hazardous Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-60). If there is a conflict 

between the provisions of this chapter and the hazardous waste 

management regulations, 9VAC20-60 is controlling. 

C. Intrastate shipment of hazardous materials is subject to the 

Regulations Governing the Transportation of Hazardous 

Materials (9VAC20-110). If there is a conflict between the 

provisions of this chapter and the hazardous materials 

transportation regulations, 9VAC20-110 is controlling. 

D. Generators of regulated medical waste and regulated 

medical waste management facilities may be subject to the 

general industry standard for occupational exposure to 

bloodborne pathogens in 16VAC25-90-1910.1030 (29 CFR 

1910.1030). 

E. Persons transporting regulated medical waste are subject 

to the federal requirements in the U.S. Department of 

Transportation Hazardous Material Regulations at 49 CFR 

Parts 171 through 180. 

F. Facilities managing select agents or toxins are subject to 

the Regulations for Disease Reporting and Control (12VAC5-

90) as administered by the Virginia Department of Health. 

Facilities that possess, use, or transfer select agents or toxins 

are also subject to registration, reporting, inactivation, 

destruction, and compliance with the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services and U.S. Department of 

Agriculture's Federal Select Agent Program and the federal 

select agent regulations at 7 CFR Part 331, 9 CFR Part 121, 

and 42 CFR Part 73. 

G. If there is a conflict between provisions of this chapter and 

adopted regulations of another agency of the Commonwealth, 

the provisions of these regulations are set aside to the extent 

necessary to allow compliance with the regulations of the other 

agency. If neither regulation controls, the more stringent 

standard applies. 

H. Nothing in this chapter either precludes or enables a local 

governing body to adopt ordinances. Compliance with one 

body of regulation does not ensure compliance with the other, 

and normally, both bodies of regulation must be fully complied 

with. 

I. The Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste 

Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment Facilities (9VAC20-70) 

shall be applicable in all parts to regulated medical waste 

management facilities. Nothing in this chapter governing 

regulated medical waste management shall be considered to 

delete or alter any requirements of the department as set out in 

Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Facilities. 

J. The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, 10 CFR, 

regulates management of radioactive materials. The Virginia 

Department of Health has established other requirements in 

accordance with Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. No 

regulated medical waste containing radioactive materials, 

regardless of amount or origin, shall be treated unless its 

management and treatment are in full compliance with these 

two bodies of regulations and are deemed by both regulations 

to represent no threat to public health and the environment. 

9VAC20-121-90. Identification of regulated medical waste.  

A. A solid waste is a regulated medical waste subject to this 

chapter if it meets the criteria under subsection B of this 

section, unless specifically excluded or exempted by 

subsection C or D of this section. Claims that materials are not 
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regulated medical wastes or are conditionally exempt from 

regulation shall demonstrate that the material meets the terms 

of an exemption. In doing so, appropriate documentation shall 

be provided to demonstrate that the material is not a regulated 

medical waste or is exempt from regulation. 

B. A solid waste is a regulated medical waste if it meets either 

of the two criteria of this subsection: 

1. The solid waste is suspected by the health care 

professional in charge of being capable of producing an 

infectious disease in humans. A solid waste shall be 

considered to be capable of producing an infectious disease 

if it has been or is likely to have been contaminated by an 

organism likely to be pathogenic to healthy humans, such 

organism is not routinely and freely available in the 

community, and if such organism has a significant 

probability of being present in sufficient quantities and with 

sufficient virulence to transmit disease. If the exact cause of 

a patient's illness is unknown, but the health care 

professional in charge suspects a contagious disease is the 

cause, the likelihood of pathogen transmission shall be 

assessed based on the pathogen suspected of being the cause 

of the illness.  

2. The solid waste or solid waste stream is identified in the 

following list:  

a. Discarded cultures, stocks, specimens, vaccines, and 

associated items likely to have been contaminated by them 

are regulated medical wastes if they are likely to contain 

organisms likely to be pathogenic to healthy humans. 

Wastes from the production of biologicals and antibiotics 

likely to have been contaminated by organisms likely to 

be pathogenic to healthy humans are regulated medical 

wastes; 

b. Wastes consisting of human blood or body fluids, 

containers of human blood or body fluids, and items 

contaminated with human blood or body fluids are 

regulated medical waste. Human blood and body fluids 

solidified by absorbent gel, powder, or similar means are 

also regulated medical waste. 

c. Human pathological and anatomical waste, including 

tissues, organs, body parts, and other pathological or 

anatomical wastes; 

d. Sharps likely to be contaminated with organisms that 

are pathogenic to healthy humans, and all needles, 

scalpels, lancets, syringes with attached needles, suture 

needles, regardless of whether they have been used in 

patient care, are regulated medical wastes. This also 

includes sharps generated through veterinary practice, 

acupuncture needles, and household sharps collected in a 

sharps drop box; 

e. When animals are intentionally infected with organisms 

likely to be pathogenic to healthy humans for the purposes 

of research, in vivo testing, production of biological 

materials, or any other reason, the animal carcasses, body 

parts, bedding material, and all other wastes likely to have 

been contaminated are regulated medical wastes when 

discarded, disposed of, or placed in storage;  

f. Wastes that are contaminated with a Category A 

infectious substance are regulated medical waste that shall 

be managed in accordance with 9VAC20-121-160;  

g. Any residue or contaminated soil, water, or other debris 

resulting from the cleanup of a spill of any regulated 

medical waste; and 

h. Any solid waste contaminated by or mixed with 

regulated medical waste, including solid wastes that are 

packaged as regulated medical wastes. 

C. The following materials are not solid wastes or regulated 

medical wastes: 

1. Domestic sewage, including wastes that are not stored and 

are disposed of in a sanitary sewer system (with or without 

grinding). 

2. Any mixture of domestic sewage and other wastes that 

pass through a sewer system to a wastewater treatment 

works permitted by the State Water Control Board or the 

Virginia Department of Health. 

3. Sanitary waste from septic tanks (septage) and sewage 

holding tanks that is regulated by other state agencies. 

4. Human remains when: 

a. Under the control of a licensed physician or dentist, 

when the remains are being used or examined for medical 

purposes and are not solid wastes; 

b. Provided to qualified educational programs as 

anatomical gifts; 

c. Removed during a medical procedure and retained by 

the patient for religious or other purposes provided that the 

remains are not a source of disease transmission, as 

determined by a health care professional; and 

d. Properly interred in a cemetery or in preparation by a 

licensed funeral director or embalmer for such interment 

or cremation.  

5. Individual human and animal cremains.  

6. Dead or diseased animals subject to regulation by the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

7. Bed linen, instruments, medical care equipment, and other 

materials that are routinely cleaned and reused for their 

original purpose are not subject to this chapter until they are 

discarded and are a solid waste unless a health care 

professional has determined these items to be to be capable 

of producing an infectious disease in humans in accordance 

with 9VAC20-121-90 B 1. These items do not include 

reusable carts or containers used in the management of 

regulated medical waste, which shall be managed in 

accordance with 9VAC20-121-130. 
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8. Used health care products and reusable medical devices, 

being returned to a manufacturer or third party for 

reprocessing (cleaning and disinfecting or sterilizing) and 

reuse if packaged and labeled in accordance with 49 CFR 

173.134(b)(12)(ii)(A) through (D) and reprocessed in 

accordance with applicable U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration requirements. Used health care products and 

contaminated medical devices or equipment being sent 

offsite for recycling or disposal are regulated medical waste 

and shall be managed in accordance with this chapter. These 

items do not include reusable carts or containers used in the 

management of regulated medical waste, which shall be 

managed in accordance with 9VAC20-121-130. 

9. The following items while in use: samples for laboratory 

tests, patient specimens, and criminal evidence items taken 

during enforcement procedures that meet the definition of 

regulated medical waste. Once these items are no longer 

needed for their intended purpose, they shall be managed as 

regulated medical waste unless exempt under 9VAC20-121-

90 D. 

10. Tissue blocks of organs or tissues (except those 

associated with prions) that have been fixed in paraffin or 

similar embedding materials for cytological or histological 

examinations. Once these items are no longer needed for 

their intended purpose, they shall be managed as solid waste. 

D. The following solid wastes are not regulated medical 

wastes for purpose of this chapter: 

1. Wastes that have been treated in accordance with this 

chapter are no longer regulated medical waste and may be 

used, reused, or reclaimed in accordance with the provisions 

of the Virginia Solid Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-81), provided the following requirements are met:  

a. Treated waste that was once regulated but is no longer 

regulated medical waste shall not be packaged as regulated 

medical waste. Solid waste packaged as regulated medical 

waste is regulated medical waste.  

b. If the solid waste is no longer regulated medical waste 

because of treatment, the generator and the permitted 

treatment facility shall maintain a record of the treatment 

for three years after treatment. Generators treating 

regulated medical waste onsite shall maintain records in 

accordance with applicable provisions of Part V 

(9VAC20-121-300 et seq.) of this chapter. Generators 

shipping regulated medical waste offsite for treatment 

shall maintain records in accordance with 9VAC20-121-

100 I. 

c. The generator or proposed user of treated regulated 

medical waste may request that the department make a 

case-specific determination that the solid waste may be 

beneficially used in a manufacturing process to make a 

product or as an effective substitute for a commercial 

product. The requestor shall submit a beneficial use 

demonstration in accordance with the requirements of 

9VAC20-81-97.  

2. Household waste, including household sharps. Household 

sharps shall be placed in an opaque, leak proof, puncture 

resistant container that is closed, tightly sealed, and labeled 

for home use before being mixed with other solid wastes or 

disposed. Household sharps may be placed in U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration-cleared sharps containers if 

specifically designed and labeled for home use. Household 

sharps containers shall be labeled "HOUSEHOLD SHARPS 

– DO NOT RECYCLE" or "HOME GENERATED 

SHARPS – DO NOT RECYCLE" printed in large legible 

text and permanent ink. Household sharps centrally 

collected in a sharps drop box shall be managed as regulated 

medical waste in accordance with 9VAC20-121-300 E 1. 

Medical waste generated by a health care professional 

administering care in a household is regulated medical waste 

and must be managed in accordance with this chapter.  

3. Toenail and skin clippings, breast milk, sputum, semen, 

teeth, sweat, tears, urine, vomitus, or saliva, unless 

contaminated with visible blood or a health care professional 

has determined these items to be capable of producing an 

infectious disease in humans in accordance with 9VAC20-

121-90 B 1. 

4. Dental amalgam managed in accordance with the Dental 

Rule (40 CFR Part 441). 

5. Meat or other food items being discarded because of 

spoilage, contamination, or recall. 

6. The following discarded items, when they are unused or 

expired: health care products, medical equipment, medical 

devices, or other materials, unless a health care professional 

has determined these items to be to be capable of producing 

an infectious disease in humans in accordance with 

9VAC20-121-90 B 1. This does not apply to unused or 

expired sharps, which are a regulated medical waste in 

accordance with 9VAC20-121-90 B 2 d. 

7. Used products for personal hygiene, such as diapers, facial 

tissues, underpads, adult incontinence products, sanitary 

napkins, and feminine hygiene items, unless a health care 

professional has determined these items to be capable of 

producing an infectious disease in humans in accordance 

with 9VAC20-121-90 B 1. 

8. The following discarded items when they are empty: urine 

collection bags and tubing, suction canisters and tubing, IV 

solution bags and tubing, colostomy bags, ileostomy bags, 

urostomy bags, plastic fluid containers, enteral feeding 

containers and tubing, hemovacs, urine bottles, and urine 

specimen cups, unless the items are subject to regulation 

under 16VAC25-90-1910.1030 (29 CFR 1910.1030) or a 

comparable state or federal standard.  
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9. The following discarded items: urinary catheters, suction 

catheters, plastic cannula, IV spikes, nasogastic tubes, 

oxygen tubing and cannula, ventilator tubing, enema bags 

and tubing, enema bottles, thermometer probe covers, 

irrigating feeding syringes, and bedpans or urinals, unless 

the items are subject to 16VAC25-90-1910.1030 (29 CFR 

1910.1030) or a comparable state or federal standard.  

10. Items such as bandages, gauze, or cotton swabs or other 

similar absorbent materials, unless at any time following use 

the items are saturated or would release human blood or 

human body fluids in a liquid or semiliquid state if 

compressed. Items that contain or that are caked with dried 

human blood or human body fluids and are capable of 

releasing these materials during handling are regulated 

medical waste. An item would be considered caked if it 

could release flakes or particles when handled.  

11. Human blood and body fluids when solidified by 

absorbent gel, powder, or similar means as part of a spill 

cleanup at establishments engaged in operations other than 

health care or management of regulated medical waste. This 

category includes waste generated by stores, markets, office 

buildings, restaurants, businesses, schools, manufacturers, 

and commercial or industrial operations. 

12. Waste generated from the care of an animal at a 

household or a farm when care is provided by the owner of 

the animal. Waste generated by a veterinarian, such as 

sharps, must be managed as regulated medical waste. 

13. Waste from cosmetology, ear and body piercing, nail 

salons, and tattoo establishments, except for sharps and 

unabsorbed human blood or body fluids. 

14. Plant or animal wastes, such as bat guano, removed from 

construction or demolition projects when actions are taken 

to avoid worker exposure, including use of appropriate 

personal protective equipment, and the waste is managed in 

accordance with any applicable best management practice, 

special handling, and other precautions for processing or 

disposal. 

15. Waste from food, drug, and cosmetics testing 

laboratories (except research laboratories) using 

microbiological methods for the detection of human 

infectious agents, microbial toxins, or chemical residuals as 

part of routine quality assurance testing of food, drugs, or 

cosmetic products. 

16. Wastes regulated by the Virginia Department of Health, 

the State Water Control Board, the Air Pollution Control 

Board, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 

Federal Drug Administration, U.S. Department of 

Agriculture, or any other state or federal agency with such 

authority. 

Part III 

Standards for Management of All Regulated Medical Waste 

9VAC20-121-100. General handling and generator 

requirements.  

A. Any person or facility handling, generating, storing, 

transporting, transferring, treating, or disposing of regulated 

medical waste shall comply with the general management 

requirements of this section. 

B. Regulated medical waste shall be identified and segregated 

from other waste, including radioactive waste, hazardous 

waste, and other solid waste, at the point of origin or as soon 

as practicable after generation. If practical, regulated medical 

waste shall also be segregated based on the anticipated 

treatment method.  

C. All generators must comply with the packaging, labeling, 

storage, reusable container, spill cleanup, transportation, and 

Category A waste management requirements for regulated 

medical waste outlined in Part III (9VAC20-121-100 et seq.) 

of this chapter, as applicable. 

D. Anyone handling or packaging regulated medical waste 

and loading, unloading, or handling containers of regulated 

medical waste shall wear appropriate personal protective 

equipment in accordance with the standards for occupational 

exposure to bloodborne pathogens in the general industry 

standard in 16VAC25-90-1910.1030 (29 CFR 1910.1030).  

E. All regulated medical waste shall be handled in a manner 

that maintains the integrity of the packaging at all times, 

prevents damage, leakage, and spills and provides protection 

from the elements, vectors, and trespassers.  

F. Trash chutes shall not be used to manage regulated medical 

waste. If slides, cart tippers, conveyors, or similar equipment 

are used to move regulated medical waste from the point of 

generation to storage areas, between containers, or to vehicles 

or treatment devices, the movement and impact shall be 

controlled to maintain the integrity of the regulated medical 

waste packaging and prevent damage, leaks, and spills. Waste 

shall not be thrown, dumped, walked upon, or handled in any 

other manner that could result in spills or releases of regulated 

medical waste or damage to the packaging.  

G. Except in accordance with 9VAC20-121-240 B, regulated 

medical waste shall not be manually or mechanically 

compacted, compressed, or subjected to violent mechanical 

stress prior to treatment; however, after regulated medical 

waste is fully treated and is no longer regulated medical waste, 

it may be compacted in a closed container in a safe and sanitary 

manner.  

H. All regulated medical waste generated shall either be 

treated onsite in accordance with Part IV (9VAC20-121-200 et 

seq.) of this chapter or packaged, labeled, and transported 

offsite to a facility permitted to receive the waste for transfer, 

treatment, or disposal. 
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I. Generators of regulated medical waste are subject to the 

following recordkeeping requirements: 

a. The generator shall maintain all records of onsite 

treatment or shipment offsite for a minimum of three years 

following treatment or shipment. All records shall be 

available for review by the department upon request. 

b. Generators treating regulated medical waste onsite, 

regulated medical waste transfer stations, and all other 

regulated medical waste treatment or disposal facilities shall 

maintain records in accordance with applicable provisions of 

Part V (9VAC20-121-300 et seq.) of this chapter.  

c. Generators shipping regulated medical waste offsite for 

transfer, treatment, or disposal shall maintain records, 

including copies of all shipping papers, specifying the date 

of shipment, amount of waste removed from the site, and the 

names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the transporter 

and the destination facility receiving the shipment for 

treatment or disposal. 

d. If regulated medical waste is received from offsite, 

records shall be maintained for three years following receipt 

of the waste and shall include the date of receipt, name of 

each offsite generator (except for generators of household 

sharps using sharps drop boxes), amount of waste received, 

and dates of subsequent treatment or shipment offsite. 

9VAC20-121-110. Packaging and labeling of regulated 

medical waste.  

A. All regulated medical waste shall be appropriately 

packaged, labeled, and managed as required by this section. 

B. The generator of regulated medical waste is responsible for 

the packaging and labeling of regulated medical waste. 

Contractors or other agents may provide services to the 

generator, including packaging and labeling of regulated 

medical waste; however, no contract or other relationship shall 

relieve the generator of the responsibility for packaging and 

labeling the regulated medical waste as required by this 

chapter. 

C. No person shall receive for transportation, transfer, 

storage, or treatment any regulated medical waste that is not 

packaged and labeled in accordance with this chapter. 

Contractors or other agents may package or label regulated 

medical wastes to comply with this chapter, so long as the 

packaging and labeling is performed onsite where the regulated 

medical waste was generated and no transportation, storage, 

treatment, or disposal occurs prior to the packaging. Nothing 

in this section shall prevent the proper repackaging and further 

transportation of regulated medical waste that has spilled 

during transportation.l 

D. All regulated medical waste shall be packaged and labeled 

onsite prior to storage, treatment, transport, or other 

management and at a minimum must conform with the 

following:  

1. When regulated medical wastes are first discarded, they 

shall be placed directly in bags or containers meeting the 

requirements of the standards for occupational exposure to 

bloodborne pathogens in the general industry standard in 

16VAC25-90-1910.1030 (29 CFR 1910.1030). The general 

industry standard requires the packaging to be closable, 

constructed to contain all contents and prevent leakage of 

fluids, labeled, and closed prior to removal. Red bags shall 

be used for the packaging of all regulated medical waste 

except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

2. Sharps shall be placed directly in puncture resistant 

containers as required by the general industry standards in 

16VAC25-90-1910.1030(d)(4)(iii)(A). Sharps containers 

must not be filled beyond the fill line indicated on the 

container. 

3. Waste packages must not be overfilled. As a bag or 

container becomes full at the point of generation, and prior 

to moving, it shall be closed, capped, or sealed so that no 

waste materials can leak, spill, or protrude during handling, 

storage, or transport. 

4. Once closed, capped, and sealed, bags and containers of 

regulated medical waste shall not be opened, unsealed, 

unpackaged, or repackaged. If damage, spills, or outside 

contamination of the regulated medical waste packaging 

occurs, the bag or container shall be placed in a secondary 

packaging that meets all requirements of this subsection. 

5. All regulated medical waste packaging shall be labeled. 

The label shall be securely attached to or printed on 

packaging. The label may be a tag or sticker securely affixed 

to the package. Permanent ink shall be used to complete the 

information on the label. The label and the information 

provided on the label must be clearly legible. The following 

information shall be included: 

a. The name, address, and business telephone number of 

the generator. For hospitals, the label shall identify the 

specific department or lab where the waste originated; 

b. The words "Regulated Medical Waste," "Biohazard," or 

"Infectious Waste" in large print; and 

c. The universal biohazard symbol. 

 

E. When regulated medical waste is conveyed in reusable 

carts or containers, the waste in the cart or container shall be 

packaged and labeled in accordance with this section. 

F. When not being filled and prior to moving, wheeled carts 

and other items used to move regulated medical waste shall be 

secured, locked, or sealed so that no waste materials can leak 
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and labeled with the universal biohazard symbol or color-

coded red to indicate that the contents contain regulated 

medical waste. 

G. Wheeled carts and roll-off containers shall not be used for 

the holding of liquids, sharps, animal carcasses or body parts, 

and human anatomical waste, including tissues, organs, or 

body parts, unless the regulated medical waste is: 

1. Properly contained in rigid containers capable of retaining 

liquids with enough absorbent material to absorb all liquid 

present, and 

2. Separated from other types of regulated medical waste by 

a leak-proof rigid barrier, divider, or separate compartment.  

H. Prior to transporting regulated medical waste offsite for 

treatment, transfer, or disposal, waste shall be packaged and 

labeled for transportation in accordance with the standards of 

49 CFR Part 173 of the U.S. Department of Transportation 

Hazardous Materials Regulations or packaged in accordance 

with an exemption approved by the U.S. Department of 

Transportation. 

9VAC20-121-120. Storage of regulated medical waste.  

A. The requirements of this section apply to storage of 

regulated medical waste, including storage (i) in soiled utility 

rooms and other accumulation areas; (ii) at a generating 

facility; (iii) during transportation; (iv) at a regulated medical 

waste transfer stations; and (v) at a regulated medical waste 

treatment or disposal facility. This section also applies to areas 

used to transfer a load of regulated medical waste from one 

vehicle to another or when a vehicle containing regulated 

medical waste is parked for 24 hours or more during 

transportation. 

B. All regulated medical waste shall be stored in a manner 

that: 

1. Maintains the integrity of the packaging at all times, 

prevents damage, leakage, and spills and provides protection 

from the elements, vectors, and trespassers; 

2. Maintains the packaging in an upright and stable 

configuration to minimize the potential for spills. If 

packages or containers are stacked, except during transport, 

the top of the stacked containers must not be more than six 

feet above the level of the floor. The integrity of the 

containers must not be compromised by the stacking 

arrangement; 

3. Is clean and orderly and located in areas free of standing 

liquid and debris;  

4. Provides security from unauthorized access and protects 

workers and the general public. Regulated medical waste 

shall be stored in areas where access is limited to only those 

persons specifically designated to manage regulated medical 

waste; 

5. Meets the packaging and labeling requirements of 

9VAC20-121-110; and 

6. Meets the requirements of 9VAC20-121-130 when 

regulated medical waste is stored in reusable carts or 

containers. 

C. Regulated medical waste transfer stations, treatment 

facilities, and generators of 250 gallons or more of regulated 

medical waste per calendar month are subject to the following 

storage requirements: 

1. All regulated medical waste shall be stored on surfaces 

that are cleanable and impermeable to liquids. Carpets and 

floor coverings with cracks or gaps shall not be used in 

storage areas. Where tile floors are used and seams are 

present in the tile, the floor must be sealed with wax or other 

floor coatings in order to meet this requirement. 

2. In areas used to store regulated medical waste, all floor 

drains shall discharge directly to an approved sanitary sewer 

system, and all ventilation shall discharge so as to minimize 

human exposure to the waste. 

3. Signage shall be displayed to indicate any areas used to 

store regulated medical waste.  

D. All regulated medical waste shall be stored in accordance 

with the following timeframes: 

1. Generators of less than 250 gallons of regulated medical 

waste per calendar month shall arrange for the removal of all 

regulated medical waste stored onsite at least once per 

calendar month and provide shipment to a facility permitted 

to receive it for transfer, treatment, or disposal. No regulated 

medical waste shall be stored onsite for more than 45 

calendar days, and no more than 250 gallons of regulated 

medical waste shall be stored onsite at any given time. 

Records shall be maintained in accordance with 9VAC20-

121-100 I. 

2. Generators of 250 gallons or more of regulated medical 

waste per calendar month shall arrange for the removal of all 

regulated medical waste stored onsite at least once per 

calendar week and provide shipment to a facility permitted 

to receive it for transfer, treatment, or disposal. No regulated 

medical waste shall be stored onsite for more than 10 

calendar days. Records shall be maintained in accordance 

with 9VAC20-121-100 I. 

3. Regulated medical waste treatment facilities shall provide 

treatment or removal of all regulated medical waste stored 

onsite on at least a weekly basis. No regulated medical waste 

shall be stored onsite for more than 10 calendar days. 

Records shall be maintained in accordance with 9VAC20-

121-340. 

4. Regulated medical waste transfer stations shall store 

unrefrigerated regulated medical waste onsite for no more 

than seven calendar days. All regulated medical waste stored 
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for more than seven calendar days must be refrigerated and 

stored in an ambient temperature between 35°F and 45°F 

(2°C and 7°C). No regulated medical waste shall be stored 

onsite for more than a total of 15 calendar days. Records 

shall be maintained in accordance with 9VAC20-121-340. 

5. Regulated medical waste transfer stations and treatment 

facilities shall clearly demonstrate the length of time that 

regulated medical waste is accumulated onsite by marking 

the outer packaging in permanent ink or maintaining an 

inventory, barcode, or other recordkeeping system. 

E. Except in accordance with a permit: 

1. No more than 25% of the regulated medical waste stored 

onsite each month shall be generated or received from 

offsite, except for emergency cleanups conducted in 

accordance with 9VAC20-121-300 E 5 and household 

sharps collected at sharps drop boxes in accordance with 

9VAC20-121-300 E 1; 

2. Regulated medical waste shall not be treated onsite; and 

3. Regulated medical waste that is stored on a loading dock 

or in areas designated for loading shall be packaged, marked, 

and labeled for transport and shall not be stored in loading 

areas for more than 24 hours. 

9VAC20-121-130. Reusable container requirements.  

A. The requirements of this section shall be implemented 

whenever regulated medical waste is conveyed in reusable 

carts or containers. 

B. The waste in the cart or container shall be packaged and 

labeled in accordance with 9VAC20-121-110. 

C. Reusable carts and containers must be constructed of 

smooth, easily cleanable materials that are impervious to 

liquids and made of materials designed to withstand exposure 

to hot water or chemical disinfectants. A plastic bag shall not 

be reused. 

D. Use of reusable carts and containers and any automated or 

mechanical cleaning and disinfection systems shall maintain 

the integrity of the packaging at all times, prevent damage, 

leakage, and spills and provide protection from the elements, 

vectors, and trespassers. 

E. Persons cleaning and disinfecting reusable carts and 

containers shall wear appropriate personal protective 

equipment. 

F. Immediately following each time a container is emptied 

and prior to being reused, all reusable carts and containers, 

including reusable suction canisters and fluid carts that receive 

blood, shall be both thoroughly cleaned and disinfected. 

Cleaning shall be conducted with detergent and water using an 

agitation method or by pressure and movement to remove all 

waste and visible contamination from all inner and outer 

surfaces of the container. At least one of the following methods 

shall be used for disinfection: 

1. Utilizing an EPA-registered general or broad-spectrum 

disinfectant following manufacturer's label instructions; 

2. Exposure to heated rinse water at a minimum of 180°F 

(82°C) and a maximum 195°F (90°C) for a minimum of 15 

seconds, or until the surface reaches a temperature of 160°F 

(71°C); or 

3. Immersion in or rinsing with, one of the following 

chemical sanitizers for a minimum of three minutes: 

a. Hypochlorite solution (500 ppm available chlorine); 

b. Phenolic solution (500 ppm active agent); 

c. Iodophor solution (100 ppm available iodine); 

d. Quaternary ammonium solution (400 ppm active 

agent); or 

e. Other organic, plant-based, or nonchemical disinfectant 

registered by EPA. 

G. All wash water from cleaning and disinfection shall be 

contained and discharged directly to an approved sanitary 

sewer system. 

H. Reusable carts and containers shall not be reused if there 

are cracks, holes, damage, or other defects, including to a lid 

or locking mechanism or if contamination or waste residuals 

are present. 

I. Reusable carts or containers used for the holding or storage 

of regulated medical waste shall not be used for any other 

purpose. 

J. When reusable carts or containers containing regulated 

medical waste are used for offsite transport, all aspects of the 

cart or container management shall comply with federal 

Department of Transportation Hazardous Material 

Regulations, 49 CFR Parts 171 through 180, as applicable. 

K. Reusable carts or containers that are damaged, defective, 

or ready to be discarded shall not be disposed of as solid waste 

unless they are cleaned and disinfected in accordance with this 

section, and all regulated medical waste labeling is removed or 

covered, prior to disposal. Containers unable to be cleaned and 

disinfected must be treated as regulated medical waste. 

9VAC20-121-140. Management of spills of regulated 

medical waste.  

A. Any person or facility handling, generating, storing, 

transporting, transferring, treating, or disposing of regulated 

medical waste shall immediately address all spills of regulated 

medical waste, incidents or emergencies, maintenance events, 

and nonconformances that could have an impact on the 

management of regulated medical waste at the facility. 

B. Anyone handling regulated medical waste shall maintain a 

spill containment and cleanup kit onsite within the vicinity of 
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any area where regulated medical waste is managed, and the 

location of the kit shall provide for rapid and efficient cleanup 

of spills anywhere within the area. All vehicles transporting 

regulated medical wastes are required to carry a spill 

containment and clean up kit in the vehicle whenever regulated 

medical wastes are conveyed. A spill containment and cleanup 

kit shall consist of at least the following items: 

1. Material designed to absorb spilled liquids, and the 

amount of absorbent material shall be that having a capacity, 

as rated by the manufacturer, of one gallon of liquid for 

every cubic foot of regulated medical waste that is normally 

managed in the area for which the kit is provided or 10 

gallons, whichever is less; 

2. In a sprayer capable of dispersing its charge in a mist and 

a stream at a distance, at least one gallon of an EPA-

registered hospital grade disinfectant effective against 

mycobacteria, unless it can be demonstrated that an alternate 

EPA-registered disinfectant is protective of human health 

and the environment and is appropriate for the type of 

regulated medical waste managed and surfaces being 

disinfected;  

3. Enough red plastic bags to double enclose at least 150% 

of the maximum load managed (up to a maximum of 500 

bags) that meet the applicable requirements of 49 CFR Part 

173, including the ASTM 125 pound drop test for filled bags 

(D959) or an exemption approved by the U.S. Department 

of Transportation and are accompanied by seals and labels. 

These bags shall be large enough to overpack any box or 

container normally used for regulated medical waste 

management by that generator, handler, or facility; 

4. Appropriate personal protective equipment, such as 

puncture and leak resistant gloves, safety glasses or face 

shield, protective coveralls or bib, protective footwear, and 

mask or respiratory protection as needed; and 

5. For vehicles only, a first aid kit, fire extinguisher, 

boundary marking tape, lights, and other appropriate safety 

equipment. 

C. Following any spill or release of regulated medical waste 

or its discovery, the following procedures shall be 

implemented: 

1. Take appropriate precautions to ensure personnel do not 

come into contact with any contaminants by wearing 

appropriate personal protective equipment. 

2. Repackage spilled regulated medical waste in accordance 

with the packaging requirements in 9VAC20-121-110. 

3. Transport any regulated medical waste by a transporter 

that meets the requirements of 9VAC20-121-150. 

4. Clean and disinfect all areas and materials having been 

contacted by regulated medical waste using an EPA-

registered hospital grade disinfectant effective against 

mycobacteria in accordance with manufacturer's label 

instructions, unless it can be demonstrated that an alternate 

EPA-registered disinfectant is protective of human health 

and the environment and is appropriate for the type of 

regulated medical waste managed and surfaces being 

disinfected. 

5. Take necessary steps to replenish the spill containment 

and cleanup kit. 

9VAC20-121-150. Transportation of regulated medical 

waste.  

A. The requirements of this section apply to the transportation 

of regulated medical waste including by intermediate 

transporters and generators who transport their own waste 

offsite.  

B. All transporters of regulated medical waste must comply 

with the general handling requirements in 9VAC20-121-100. 

C. Regulated medical waste shall be transported in 

accordance with the applicable requirements for shipping 

papers, packaging, labeling, marking and vehicle placarding in 

accordance with the U.S. Department of Transportation 

Hazardous Materials Regulations, 49 CFR Parts 171 through 

180. No person shall transport or receive for transport any 

regulated medical waste that is not packaged and labeled fully 

in accordance with the U.S. Department of Transportation 

Hazardous Materials Regulations. Reusable carts or containers 

used to transport regulated medical waste shall meet the 

requirements of the U.S. Department of Transportation 

Hazardous Materials Regulations and must be sealed, puncture 

resistant, and leak proof. 

D. Transportation of regulated medical waste shall maintain 

the packaging in an upright and stable configuration to 

minimize the potential for spills. The integrity of the containers 

must not be compromised by the stacking arrangement. 

E. All vehicles and equipment used in the transportation of 

regulated medical waste must have access control that limits 

access to those persons specifically designated to manage 

regulated medical waste, and the cargo carrying body must be 

secured except when loading and unloading. 

F. Surfaces of vehicles and equipment used to transport 

regulated medical waste must be clean and impermeable to 

liquids if those areas are involved with the management of the 

waste. Carpets and floor coverings with cracks or gaps shall 

not be used. Vehicles used to transport regulated medical waste 

shall be clean and maintained in an orderly condition, free of 

standing liquid and debris, in those areas involved with the 

management of the waste.  

G. Storage, transport, and transfer to, from, and between 

vehicles and equipment shall be under a cover or packaged in 

a container that protects the waste from the elements and over 

a floor or bermed pavement that will contain leaks and spills 

of liquid from the waste. All effluent, wash water, and other 
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runoff shall discharge directly to or through a holding tank to 

an approved sanitary sewer system. A cover, floor, or 

pavement is not required if the activity is transient in nature, 

such as in the case of spill cleanup or collection of waste 

packages from professional offices for transport. 

H. All vehicles transporting regulated medical waste must 

carry a spill containment and cleanup kit in the vehicle as 

specified in 9VAC20-121-140 B, whenever regulated medical 

wastes are conveyed. Following a spill of regulated medical 

waste or its discovery, the procedures specified in 9VAC20-

121-140 C shall be implemented. 

I. Any vehicle parked 24 hours or more during transport will 

be considered a regulated medical waste transfer station 

subject to the requirements of Part IV (9VAC20-121-200 et 

seq.) of this chapter. Unless exempt under 9VAC20-121-300 

E, no storage during transport will be allowed without a permit 

issued in accordance with the procedures in Part V (9VAC20-

121-300 et seq.) of this chapter. 

J. All vehicles and equipment used to transport regulated 

medical waste must be thoroughly cleaned and disinfected 

before being used for any other purpose and prior to any 

transfer of ownership. Disinfection shall include using an 

EPA-registered hospital grade disinfectant effective against 

mycobacteria in accordance with manufacturer's label 

instructions, unless it can be demonstrated that an alternate 

EPA-registered disinfectant is protective of human health and 

the environment and is appropriate for the type of regulated 

medical waste managed and surfaces being disinfected. Any 

areas of vehicles or equipment that are visibly contaminated, 

or that become contaminated as a result of a spill, must be 

immediately decontaminated in accordance with 9VAC20-

121-140. 

K. Transport of regulated medical waste by the United States 

Postal Services that fully complies with 39 CFR 111 shall be 

considered to be transportation in compliance with this chapter 

if: 

1. The generator maintains a complete and legible copy of 

the manifest or mail disposal service shipping record for a 

period of three years. Disposer's certification and other 

tracking items must be completed and shown on the copy; 

2. The addressee is a facility permitted by all the appropriate 

agencies of the Commonwealth or the host state; and 

3. No package shall be more than 35 pounds by weight. 

L. Category A waste shall be managed in accordance with the 

requirements of 9VAC20-121-160.  

9VAC20-121-160. Management of Category A waste.  

A. Category A waste shall be managed in accordance with the 

requirements of this section. 

B. Overarching Planning Considerations and Waste 

Generator Information and Responsibilities for Category A 

waste are specified in Sections 3 and 5 of Managing Solid 

Waste Contaminated with a Category A Infectious Substance. 

In addition to the general management requirements for 

regulated medical waste in Part III (9VAC20-121-100 et seq.), 

all Category A waste shall be handled in accordance with the 

following additional requirements: 

1. Every effort shall be made to minimize the amount of 

Category A waste generated. Category A waste shall be 

physically separated, if practical, from other types of waste 

at the point of origin. When other types of regulated medical 

waste are mixed with Category A waste, the mixture shall be 

managed as Category A waste. Category A waste not 

suitable for conventional treatment methods, such as 

batteries, electronics, and oxygen cylinders, shall be 

segregated from other waste at the point of generation for 

special handling. 

2. All handling, storage, transfer, and treatment of Category 

A waste must be conducted in areas with cleanable and 

impermeable surfaces. Carpets and floor coverings with 

cracks or gaps shall not be used. Where tile floors are used 

and seams are present in the tile, the floor must be sealed 

with wax or other floor coatings in order to meet this 

requirement.  

3. Equipment and handling techniques that could potentially 

cause bioaerosols, such as cart tipping, slides, conveyors, 

and mechanical cleaning or disinfection systems, shall not 

be used for Category A waste unless the movement and 

impact is controlled to maintain the integrity of the 

packaging, prevent exposure to the waste, and any aerosol, 

bioaerosol, or mist caused by the process is collected and 

treated or filtered. 

4. Category A waste shall not be conveyed in reusable carts 

or containers unless the containers are subsequently cleaned 

and disinfected in accordance with 9VAC20-121-130 using 

an EPA-registered disinfectant appropriate for the type of 

Category A waste managed and materials being disinfected. 

5. All spills of Category A waste shall be cleaned and 

disinfected in accordance with 9VAC20-121-140 using an 

EPA-registered disinfectant appropriate for the type of 

Category A waste managed and materials being disinfected. 

6. Category A waste shall be stored in accordance with the 

requirements of 9VAC20-121-120 B and C. Packages or 

containers of Category A waste shall not be stacked. 

7. A generator storing 250 gallons or more of Category A 

waste shall notify the department within 24 hours of 

exceeding 250 gallons. At least once per calendar week, 

accumulated Category A waste shall be treated onsite in 

accordance with this section or shipped offsite to a facility 

permitted to receive it for treatment or disposal. No Category 

A waste shall be stored onsite for more than 10 calendar days 

unless an extended storage timeframe is approved by the 
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department. Records shall be maintained in accordance with 

9VAC20-121-100 I. 

8. The regulated medical waste transfer station or treatment 

facility shall notify DEQ of receipt of any Category A waste 

in accordance with 9VAC20-121-340. 

C. Waste Transporter Information and Responsibilities for 

Category A waste are specified in Section 6 of Managing Solid 

Waste Contaminated with a Category A Infectious Substance. 

Packaging and labeling of Category A waste for transport must 

comply with the more stringent packaging standards of 49 CFR 

Parts 171 through 180 of the HMR, or may require a DOT 

special permit for an exception to the HMR requirements to 

allow for alternative packaging to accommodate the waste.  

D. Waste Treatment Information and Responsibilities for 

Category A waste are specified in Section 7 of Managing Solid 

Waste Contaminated with a Category A Infectious Substance. 

In addition to the general treatment requirements for regulated 

medical waste in Part IV (9VAC20-121-200 et seq.), all 

Category A waste shall be treated in accordance with the 

following additional requirements: 

1. A facility shall only receive Category A waste for 

processing or treatment upon specific approval from the 

director or by specific provisions within the facility's permit. 

2. Prior to treatment of any Category A waste, the facility 

shall notify DEQ and conduct additional validation testing 

in accordance with 9VAC20-121-260 and an approved 

treatment plan that is specific to the Category A waste 

stream and packaging types that will be received. 

3. The treatment method and operating parameters shall be 

appropriate and effective for the type of Category A waste 

being managed. Treatment units that employ a mechanical 

process, such as grinding or shredding, prior to treatment or 

integral to the treatment unit, may not be appropriate for 

Category A waste streams. The facility shall demonstrate 

that the process prevents employee exposure to the waste; 

contains any aerosol, bioaerosol, or mist caused by the 

process; and treats or filters any air evacuated from the 

chamber during processing.  

4. The facility shall not receive or treat Category A waste 

until the department has reviewed and approved the 

validation results, operating parameters, and protocols to be 

used for the treatment unit. 

5. Treatment of Category A waste shall only be in 

accordance with the operating parameters and protocols 

approved by the department. 

6. Challenge testing shall be performed and documented for 

every load containing Category A waste. The facility may 

request an alternate challenge test frequency once a high 

level of confidence is established that the Category A waste 

is being effectively treated. 

7. The owner or operator shall provide a certification that the 

regulated medical waste management plan demonstrates 

protocols specific to the Category A waste stream to be 

treated and meets all additional standards of Part III 

(9VAC20-121-100 et seq.) and Part IV (9VAC20-121-200 

et seq.), as applicable, in accordance with 9VAC20-121-330. 

The plan shall specify if and how management protocols for 

Category A waste differ from existing protocols for 

routinely received regulated medical waste, including how 

treated wastes will be disposed. The certification shall also 

include a statement that the emergency contingency plan has 

been provided to the local police and fire departments, local 

emergency manager, and local emergency health 

coordinator. 

E. Final Disposal Information and Responsibilities for 

Category A waste are specified in Section 8 of Managing Solid 

Waste Contaminated with a Category A Infectious Substance. 

Category A waste shall be disposed of in accordance with the 

following requirements: 

1. Category A waste that has been treated in accordance with 

the special requirements of this section is no longer Category 

A waste or regulated medical waste. Category A waste 

treated in accordance with this section is solid waste and 

shall be disposed of at a permitted solid waste disposal 

facility, provided the disposal is in accordance with the Solid 

Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-81) and the 

facility's permit.  

2. Category A waste not treated in accordance with this 

chapter shall not be transported to, received for transport, or 

disposal by, or disposed of in, any solid waste management 

facility. 

Part IV 

Standards for Regulated Medical Waste Transfer Stations and 

Treatment Facilities 

9VAC20-121-200. General and applicability.  

A. Any person who designs, constructs, or operates any 

regulated medical waste transfer station or treatment facility 

not otherwise exempt under 9VAC20-121-300 E shall obtain a 

permit-by-rule pursuant to this chapter prior to operation and 

comply with the requirements of this part. Further, all 

applications pursuant to this chapter shall demonstrate specific 

means proposed for compliance with requirements set forth in 

this part.  

B. All facilities, except exempted facilities, shall be 

maintained and operated in accordance with the permit-by-rule 

status pursuant to this chapter. All facilities shall be maintained 

and operated in accordance with the approved design and 

intended use of the facility. 

C. Hazardous wastes shall not be managed or disposed in 

facilities subject to this regulation unless specifically 

authorized by the facility permit or the director and managed 

in accordance with 9VAC20-60. Any material from a state 
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other than Virginia that is classified as a hazardous waste in 

that state shall be managed as hazardous waste in accordance 

with 9VAC20-60. 

9VAC20-121-210. Siting requirements.  

A. The siting of all regulated medical waste transfer stations 

or treatment facilities shall be governed by the standards as set 

forth in this section. These facilities shall: 

1. Be adjacent to or have direct access to roads that are paved 

or surfaced and capable of withstanding anticipated load 

limits;  

2. Not be sited or constructed in areas subject to base floods; 

3. Shall not be closer than: 

a. 50 feet to any property boundary;  

b. 50 feet to any perennial stream or river; 

c. 200 feet to any residence or recreational park area; or 

d. 200 feet to any health care facility, school, or similar 

type public institution, unless the facility is located at the 

health care facility, school, or similar type public 

institution. 

B. The site of a regulated medical waste transfer station or 

treatment facility shall provide room to minimize traffic 

congestion and allow for safe management of regulated 

medical waste and safe operation of the facility. 

9VAC20-121-220. Design and construction requirements.  

A. The design and construction of all regulated medical waste 

transfer stations or treatment facilities shall be governed by the 

standards as set forth in this section. These facilities shall have: 

1. An access road suitable for loaded collection vehicles in 

all weather conditions from the entrance to the unloading or 

receiving area of the facility. 

2. Onsite queuing capacity for the expected traffic so that the 

waiting collection vehicles do not back up onto the public 

road. 

3. Unloading and loading areas of an adequate size and 

design to facilitate efficient transfer of regulated medical 

waste to and from collection vehicles and the unobstructed 

movement of vehicles. 

4. Access controls such as perimeter security fencing, gates, 

locks, badge systems, or other controls to limit access to 

areas used to store, transfer, or treat regulated medical waste 

to only those persons specifically designated to manage 

regulated medical waste. 

5. Adequate lighting so that operating personnel can exercise 

site control. Lighting may be provided by portable 

equipment as necessary. 

6. Covered areas with cleanable and impermeable surfaces 

for handling, storage, transfer, and treatment of regulated 

medical waste and the cleaning and disinfection of reusable 

containers. These areas shall not be carpeted or have floor 

coverings with cracks or gaps. Where tile floors are used and 

seams are present in the tile, the floor must be sealed with 

wax or other floor coatings in order to meet this requirement. 

7. Bermed pavement, a liquid retaining lip, or equivalent 

controls at loading docks and near rolling or bay doors to 

contain potential leaks and spills of regulated medical waste 

or other liquids. 

8. Floors sloped or graded to drain such that all effluent, 

wash water, and other runoff from storage and processing 

areas, treatment equipment, waste compactors, and reusable 

container cleaning and disinfection areas is contained and 

discharged directly to an approved sanitary sewer system.  

9. Ventilation that discharges to minimize human exposure 

to the waste. 

10. A water supply shall be provided for cleaning purposes. 

11. Fire alarm and protection systems capable of detecting, 

controlling, and extinguishing any and all fires. 

12. Fixed radiation detectors in a location as close as 

practicable to the incoming waste loads and in an appropriate 

geometry to monitor all waste prior to storage, transfer, or 

treatment. A fixed radiation detector is not required at 

captive regulated medical waste management facility if the 

facility demonstrates that there is no potential for generation 

or management of radioactive materials or wastes. 

Demonstration shall include a certification that there is no 

radiation producing equipment or material onsite. 

B. Effluent, wash water, and other runoff from the facility 

shall not be permitted to drain or discharge into surface waters 

except when authorized under a VPDES permit issued 

pursuant to 9VAC25-31. 

C. Slides, cart tippers, conveyors, and similar equipment used 

to move regulated medical waste must be designed and 

constructed such that the movement and impact is controlled 

to maintain the integrity of the packaging at all times and 

prevent damage, leakage, and spills. Trash chutes shall not be 

used to manage regulated medical waste. 

D. Any areas used for the storage of regulated medical waste 

shall be designed in accordance with 9VAC20-121-120 and 

have sufficient storage capacity for the maximum anticipated 

storage amount based on the amount of daily incoming waste 

and maximum length of time in storage. 

E. All facilities that manage reusable containers or carts for 

regulated medical waste shall have designated areas for manual 

or mechanical cleaning and disinfection that comply with the 

requirements of 9VAC20-121-130.  
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9VAC20-121-230. Operation requirements.  

A. The operation of regulated medical waste transfer stations 

or treatment facilities shall be governed by the standards as set 

forth in this section. 

B. The regulated medical waste transfer station or treatment 

facility shall maintain and operate in accordance with a 

regulated medical waste management plan that meets all 

requirements of 9VAC20-121-330. This plan shall be reviewed 

and recertified annually, within one year from the date of the 

last certification, to ensure consistency with current operations 

and regulatory requirements, and shall be made available for 

review by the department upon request. If the applicable 

standards of this chapter and the facility's operations plan 

conflict, this chapter shall take precedence. 

C. The facility must operate to comply with the general 

handling requirements of 9VAC20-121-100. 

D. All regulated medical waste shall be packaged, labeled in 

accordance with 9VAC20-121-110 and managed in 

accordance with the storage conditions and timeframes 

required by 9VAC20-121-120. The facility shall employ 

methods to track and document specific incoming waste 

throughout the duration of storage, treatment or transfer, and 

shipment offsite. 

E. All facilities that manage reusable carts or containers for 

regulated medical waste shall comply with the requirements of 

9VAC20-121-130 and maintain onsite an adequate water 

supply and sufficient quantity of detergent and EPA-registered 

disinfectant or other approved materials, as applicable. 

F. Except for reusable containers authorized by the 

department to be opened, regulated medical waste containers 

must not be opened or unpackaged unless approved as part of 

the consolidation or treatment process.  

G. The facility shall immediately address all spills of 

regulated medical waste, incidents or emergencies, 

maintenance events, and nonconformances that could have an 

impact on the management of regulated medical waste. Spill 

containment and cleanup kits shall be maintained as required 

by 9VAC20-121-140 B, and immediately following a spill of 

regulated medical waste or its discovery, the procedures 

specified in 9VAC20-121-140 C shall be implemented.  

H. Damaged or leaking packages of regulated medical waste 

shall either be properly repackaged prior to storage and 

subsequent shipment offsite or contained and treated onsite 

within 24 hours if the facility is permitted for treatment 

operations. 

I. Transportation of regulated medical waste is subject to the 

requirements of 9VAC20-121-150. 

J. Waste must not be accepted unless it is allowed in 

accordance with the permit-by-rule issued and the regulated 

medical waste management plan and there is sufficient storage, 

transfer, or treatment capacity. The amount of regulated 

medical waste received and stored at the facility shall not 

exceed the permit process rate and designed storage capacity. 

K. Regulated medical waste transfer stations and treatment 

facilities regulated under this part shall implement an 

unauthorized waste control program in accordance with their 

written plan as required by 9VAC20-121-330 and the 

following provisions:  

1. Prior to managing regulated medical waste or using 

process equipment, and at least annually, within one year 

from the date of the last training, the facility shall provide 

training to staff to recognize, segregate, properly manage, 

document, and report receipt of waste not authorized to be 

managed by the facility's permit.  

2. If unauthorized waste is observed in the waste delivered 

to the facility prior to unloading, the owner or operator must 

refuse to accept the waste.  

3. If the unauthorized waste is observed in the waste at the 

facility or delivered to the facility, the owner or operator 

shall segregate it, notify the generator (if applicable), 

document the incident in the operating record, make 

necessary arrangements to have the material managed in 

accordance with applicable federal and state laws, and notify 

the department of the incident to include the means of proper 

handling, in accordance with the reporting procedures of 

9VAC20-121-340.  

4. Any unauthorized waste accepted by the owner or 

operator shall be managed in accordance with applicable 

federal or state laws and regulations. The facility must 

carefully store the waste in a designated storage area within 

the facility separate from untreated regulated medical waste 

and treated regulated medical waste. Unauthorized waste 

that has been segregated and stored shall be adequately 

secured and contained to prevent leakage or contamination 

to the environment. The facility shall have the unauthorized 

waste removed or properly managed as soon as practicable, 

but no later than 10 calendar days after discovery or an 

alternate timeframe as approved by the department for 

certain waste types. Handling and management of the 

unauthorized waste, including segregation, removal, and 

transportation, shall be by a person authorized to manage 

such waste and shall be transferred, treated, or disposed of 

at a permitted waste management facility approved to 

receive it. 

5. The facility must maintain a record of all unauthorized 

waste accepted at the facility, the date accepted, the type of 

waste, date of transfer, treatment, or disposal, management 

method, and the name, address, and telephone number of the 

final treatment or disposal facility. 

L. Radiation detection equipment shall be operated and 

maintained in a manner that ensures all incoming waste is 

screened and the measurements are meaningful and fulfill the 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1289 

objectives for detecting radiologically contaminated waste. If 

fixed radiation detectors become inoperable, repairs shall be 

made as soon as practicable, and appropriate portable 

equipment shall be used to screen incoming waste loads until 

the equipment is repaired.  

M. Untreated waste, radioactive waste, hazardous waste, and 

any unauthorized waste must be segregated and stored in 

clearly identified containers. Category A waste shall be 

managed in accordance with the requirements of 9VAC20-

121-160. 

N. The facility shall be operated to maintain the design and 

construction standards as required by 9VAC20-121-220. 

O. All areas used to transfer or treat regulated medical waste 

shall have prominent signage or markings displayed on the 

door or access point to indicate that the space is used to manage 

regulated medical waste, and those areas shall be secured to 

prevent unauthorized access. 

P. Floors and areas used for the handling, tipping, storage, 

transfer, or treatment of regulated medical waste and reusable 

container cleaning must be kept clean, in an orderly condition, 

and free of standing liquid and debris.  

Q. Effluent, wash water, and other runoff from facility floors, 

storage and processing areas, treatment equipment, waste 

compactors, and reusable container cleaning and disinfection 

areas shall be contained and discharged directly to an approved 

sanitary sewer system. Effluent, wash water, and other runoff 

from the facility shall not be permitted to drain or discharge 

into surface waters except when authorized under a VPDES 

permit issued pursuant to 9VAC25-31. 

R. All infrastructure and equipment shall be properly 

maintained and operated as designed and approved in the 

facility's permit. Facility maintenance must include annual 

calibrations of parametric controls, including recording 

devices and temperature and pressure gauges; overall cleaning 

(the facility, vehicles, and processing systems); servicing of 

exhaust lines and drains; ensuring the proper functioning of 

pressure and safety valves, and water, steam, disinfectant and 

electrical lines; replacing gaskets as needed to ensure a 

complete seal at all times; ensuring floor drains are maintained 

such that liquid is free-draining at all times; and maintaining 

proper functioning of mechanical waste handling systems, 

conveyors and shredders, HEPA, and other ventilation and 

filtration devices, and radiation monitoring devices, as 

applicable.  

S. Adequate numbers and types of properly maintained 

equipment shall be available for operation. Provision shall be 

made for substitute equipment to be available, except for 

treatment units which must be approved by the department, or 

the emergency contingency plan implemented to achieve 

compliance with this chapter, as applicable, within 24 hours 

should the former become inoperable or unavailable. Operators 

with training appropriate to the tasks they are expected to 

perform and in sufficient numbers for the complexity of the site 

shall be on the site whenever it is in operation. 

T. Safety hazards to operating personnel shall be controlled 

through an active safety program consistent with the 

requirements of 29 CFR Part 1910, as amended. 

U. Each facility shall conduct monthly inspections of all 

major aspects of facility operations necessary to ensure 

compliance with the requirements of this chapter. Records of 

these inspections must be maintained in the operating record 

and available for review in accordance with 9VAC20-121-340. 

If a deficiency or release is identified during an inspection, the 

owner or operator must document it on the self-inspection 

checklist, provide a remedy for the issue as soon as feasible, 

and document repairs and remedial actions, including the date 

implemented. The following aspects of the facility shall be 

inspected on a monthly basis whenever the facility is in 

operation:  

1. Each component of the processing equipment, treatment 

system, and infrastructure;  

2. Spill containment and cleanup kit and any other 

decontamination materials; 

3. Safety and emergency equipment, including radiation 

detection equipment, fire alarm and protection systems, fire 

extinguishers, eyewash stations, or other equipment; 

4. Waste storage areas and loading and unloading areas; 

5. All floors and floor drains and any areas and inventory for 

managing, cleaning, and disinfecting reusable carts or 

containers;  

6. Proper use of personal protective equipment by all 

employees;  

7. Monitoring for pests and vermin, litter, blowing debris, 

odor, dust, breached containers, and spills; and 

8. Any areas in which significant adverse environmental or 

health consequences may result if breakdown occurs. 

V. Prior to managing regulated medical waste or using 

process equipment, and at least annually, within one year from 

the date of the last training, the facility shall provide all 

operators with training on the procedures for managing 

regulated medical waste specific to the transfer or treatment 

process used, including: 

1. General handling of regulated medical waste and use of 

personal protective equipment;  

2. Packaging, labeling, and storage of regulated medical 

waste; 

3. Cleaning and disinfection of reusable containers; 

4. Facility housekeeping and management of spills; 
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5. Overall process and mechanical operation of any 

equipment used, including operation of any treatment units 

and procedures for conducting periodic challenge testing; 

and 

6. Emergency contingency plan procedures, in case of 

system failure or other emergency. 

W. The facility shall retain records in accordance with 

9VAC20-121-340. Records shall be retained for three years 

and available for review as requested by the department.  

9VAC20-121-240. Treatment standards.  

A. Prior to disposal or recycling, all regulated medical waste, 

including its packaging, must be treated by a department 

approved regulated medical waste treatment process. Any 

method used for the treatment of regulated medical waste must 

be verifiable to render the waste noninfectious in a manner that 

is protective of human health and the environment. Untreated 

regulated medical waste shall not be recycled or disposed of in 

a solid waste landfill or other solid waste management facility. 

B. The requirements in this subsection are applicable to all 

treatment methods. Additional requirements are provided in 

subsections C through I of this section and are dependent on 

the type of treatment used. 

1. The treatment method and operating parameters shall be 

appropriate and effective for the type of waste being 

managed.  

a. Human pathological and anatomical waste, including 

tissues, organs, body parts, and other related waste and 

animal carcasses shall not be treated by a noncombustion 

process unless approved by the department. Alkaline 

hydrolysis is an alternative treatment process that may be 

considered for treatment. Pathological waste in a liquid 

fixative may require special management, such as 

decanting the liquid for separate disposal, incineration, or 

management as hazardous waste if applicable.  

b. Thermally resistant waste, including solidified liquids 

and bulk animal bedding, requires approval of treatment 

operating parameters on a case-by-case basis. 

c. Category A waste shall be managed in accordance with 

the requirements of 9VAC20-121-160. 

d. Waste contaminated with toxins and toxin waste 

solutions (depending on the toxin) can be inactivated by 

incineration or extensive autoclaving, or by soaking in 

suitable decontamination solutions. Toxin inactivation 

procedures shall not be assumed to be 100% effective 

without validation using specific toxin bioassays. 

2. Treatment equipment shall include built-in automatic 

controls and fail safe mechanisms to ensure the waste cannot 

bypass the treatment process.  

3. Size reduction, grinding, shredding, or puncturing of 

containers is permissible if integral to the treatment unit and 

shall be done with safe and sanitary methods. Nothing in this 

section shall prevent the use of devices that grind, shred, or 

compact to reduce volume at the point of generation and 

prior to enclosing the regulated medical waste in plastic bags 

and other required packaging; however, the waste remains 

regulated medical waste. The facility shall demonstrate that 

devices are constructed and operated in a manner that 

prevents employee exposure to the waste; contains any 

aerosol, bioaerosol, or mist caused by the process; and treats 

or filters any air evacuated from the chamber during 

processing. Appropriate means must be employed to 

appropriately protect workers and contain the waste when 

unloading regulated medical wastes from such a device.  

4. If grinding, shredding, or size reduction or puncturing of 

packaging takes place prior to treatment, it shall occur in a 

closed unit immediately preceding the treatment unit. If 

grinding, shredding, or size reduction takes place following 

treatment, it must occur within 24 hours of leaving the 

treatment unit. Transfer from a grinder or shredder to or from 

a treatment unit shall be under forced draft ventilation that 

removes fumes from the operations area to a safe discharge. 

5. All process units for the preparation or treatment of 

regulated medical waste shall be in closed vessels designed 

to operate under a negative pressure atmospheric control that 

filters all vents, discharges, and fugitive emissions of air 

from the process units through a high efficiency particulate 

air (HEPA) filter with efficiency of 99.97% for 0.3 microns. 

Proper installation of filters shall be documented. Air and 

gases which have themselves been sterilized by the process 

are not required to pass through a filter. 

6. All effluent must be discharged to an approved sanitary 

sewer system. Effluent from the facility shall not be 

permitted to drain or discharge into surface waters except 

when authorized under a VPDES permit issued pursuant to 

9VAC25-31. 

7. Only the types of regulated medical waste specified in the 

facility's permit shall be treated using the approved treatment 

unit. Treatment methods include:  

a. Autoclaves (steam sterilization); 

b. Microwaves; 

c. Dry heat treatment; 

d. Chemical treatment; 

e. Alkaline hydrolysis; 

f. Incineration; and 

g. Alternate treatment technologies as reviewed and 

approved by the department in accordance with this 

chapter. 

8. Prior to operation of any treatment unit, the facility must 

conduct validation testing in accordance with 9VAC20-121-

260 and an approved treatment plan to establish the 

appropriate operating parameters for effective treatment of 
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regulated medical waste. The results of the testing must be 

submitted to the department for review and approval in 

accordance with 9VAC20-121-320. The facility shall not 

receive or treat regulated medical waste until the department 

has approved the validation results, operating parameters, 

and protocols to be used for the treatment unit. Revalidation 

shall be conducted as required by 9VAC20-121-260. 

9. Treatment units shall operate in accordance with the 

specified operating parameters and protocols set forth in 

subsections C through I of this section or alternate standards 

established through validation testing and approved by the 

department. Records of treatment shall be maintained in 

accordance with 9VAC20-121-340. 

10. Periodic challenge testing shall be performed under full 

loading in accordance with 9VAC20-121-270 to evaluate the 

effectiveness of each treatment unit and treatment method. 

11. Effective treatment of regulated medical waste must 

achieve a 6 log10 or greater reduction of the viable spore 

concentrations of the most appropriate bacterial species for 

the treatment method. Effective treatment is demonstrated 

by no growth in all treated biological indicators and growth 

in all untreated biological indicators during validation and 

periodic challenge testing. 

12. The selection of the most appropriate biological indicator 

to utilize during validation and challenge testing of a 

treatment process shall be supported by referenced 

standards, guidelines, or information from peer reviewed 

journals related to the process. 

a. Biological indicators shall utilize spores from one of the 

following bacterial species: 

(1) Geobacillus stearothermophilus (G.s.); 

(2) Bacillus atrophaeus (B.a.); 

(3) Bacillus subtilis (B.s.); 

(4) Other Bacillus species or spore forming bacteria from 

domestic or international culture collections; or 

(5) Organisms that demonstrate the necessary resistance 

for the treatment method, as approved by the department. 

b. The facility shall use commercially prepared biological 

indicators, such as spore strips, spore suspensions, and 

self-contained biological indicators. 

c. Biological indicators shall be placed in the most 

challenging location during validation and periodic 

challenge testing. Indicator ports, chambers, or other 

mechanisms shall be used for placement of the biological 

indicator when placement directly into the waste may be 

compromised by the treatment method, such as when 

shredding, grinding, or other mechanism is used. Ports and 

chambers shall be accessible by the operator. 

d. When using the appropriate biological indicator, the 

number to be used shall be based upon the amount of 

waste to be processed in accordance with 9VAC20-121-

260 D 7 (for validation) and 9VAC20-121-270 B (for 

periodic challenge testing). 

13. Parametric controls shall be used to monitor critical 

operational treatment parameters and provide a record of 

measurements that can be correlated to effective treatment.  

14. Door alignment, gaskets, locking mechanisms, and other 

components of any treatment unit that utilizes a pressure 

vessel (such as an autoclave) shall achieve a complete seal 

during operation to prevent leaking of steam, liquid, or waste 

and avoid decreases in pressure or temperature that could 

cause isolated cold spots inside the unit. 

15. In the event of power failure, interrupted, or incomplete 

treatment cycle, the facility shall investigate the cause of the 

failure and make any necessary repairs to resolve the issue 

prior to the next treatment cycle. Any waste in the treatment 

unit shall either be removed and managed as regulated 

medical waste or subjected to another full treatment cycle 

once repairs are made. 

16. Reusable treatment carts and containers (such as 

autoclave carts) shall be clean and free of treated waste 

residuals before reuse.  

C. The requirements in this subsection are applicable to 

autoclave treatment methods. 

1. All autoclaves shall be operated at 100% saturated steam 

conditions at a minimum operating temperature of 250oF 

(121oC) at no less than 15 pounds per square inch of gauge 

pressure. Autoclaves shall maintain the minimum operating 

temperature and pressure for an uninterrupted cycle of 90 

minutes. Alternate combinations of operating temperatures, 

pressures, and cycle times may be demonstrated through 

validation testing to achieve a reliable and complete kill of 

all microorganisms in regulated medical waste at design 

capacity. Longer steam sterilization times are required when 

a load contains a large quantity of liquid. 

2. All autoclaves shall be equipped with continuous time, 

temperature, and pressure monitoring and recording. 

3. For vacuum autoclaves, pre-vacuum cycles shall be 

conducted such that all system air is fully evacuated a 

minimum of three times at the beginning of each treatment 

cycle and held with all air evacuated to ensure adequate 

steam exposure throughout the waste.  

4. For gravity autoclaves, pressure pulsing must be 

performed to evacuate all air in the unit. 

5. Validation and periodic challenge testing shall be 

performed using biological indicators utilizing spores from 

the bacterial species Geobacillus stearothermophilus.  

D. The requirements in this subsection are applicable to 

microwave treatment methods. 
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1. Microwaving treatment shall incorporate pretreatment by 

shredding and steam injection or induction. 

2. All microwaves shall be operated between 203oF and 

212oF (95oC and 100oC) for a minimum of 45 minutes. 

Alternate operating temperatures and cycle times may be 

demonstrated through validation testing. 

3. Microwave radiation power of the treatment process shall 

be at least six units each having a power of 1,200 watts or 

the equivalent power output. 

4. Each microwave treatment unit shall be equipped to sense, 

display, and continuously record the temperature at the start, 

middle, and end of the treatment chamber.  

5. Process temperatures at the exposure chamber entry and 

exit and the waste flow rate shall be continuously monitored, 

displayed, and recorded. 

6. Validation and periodic challenge testing shall be 

performed using biological indicators utilizing spores from 

the bacterial species Bacillus atrophaeus. 

E. The requirements in this subsection are applicable to dry 

heat treatment methods. 

1. Dry heat systems shall be operated per the following 

operational standards:  

a. Temperature of not less than 320oF (160°C) for 120 

minutes;  

b. Temperature of not less than 340oF (170°C) for 60 

minutes; or  

c. Temperature of not less than 360oF (180°C) for 30 

minutes.  

Alternate operating temperatures and cycle times may be 

demonstrated through validation testing.  

2. Each treatment unit shall be equipped to sense, display, 

and continuously record the temperature of the treatment 

chamber. 

3. Unless otherwise approved by the department, no 

treatment unit employing dry heat as the main treatment 

process shall have a treatment chamber capacity greater than 

1.0 cubic foot in volume. 

4. Validation and periodic challenge testing shall be 

performed using biological indicators utilizing spores from 

the bacterial species Bacillus atrophaeus. 

F. The requirements in this subsection are applicable to 

chemical treatment methods. 

1. Operating standards for chemical treatment systems are 

dependent on the chemical concentration and exposure time. 

Facilities wishing to employ a chemical treatment system 

shall submit an alternate treatment technology petition per 

9VAC20-121-250 to justify the proposed operating 

parameters. Once the petition is approved, chemical 

concentration and treatment time operating parameters shall 

be demonstrated through validation testing in the presence 

of the maximum anticipated organic waste content. 

2. The facility shall maintain registration for the chemical 

used in the treatment system in accordance with the Federal 

Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act, if required. 

3. Containers holding chemicals shall be labeled in 

accordance with 40 CFR 156 (Labeling Requirements for 

Pesticides and Devices), and the facility shall maintain 

Safety Data Sheets for all chemicals related to the chemical 

treatment system. 

4. Validation and periodic challenge testing shall be 

performed using biological indicators utilizing spores from 

the bacterial species Bacillus subtilis or Bacillus atropheus. 

G. The requirements in this subsection are applicable to 

alkaline hydrolysis treatment methods. Alkaline hydrolysis is 

a process by which heat and pressure dissolve and sterilize 

regulated medical waste in a strong solution of sodium or 

potassium hydroxide (NaOH or KOH, respectively). 

1. Alkaline hydrolysis shall only be used for treatment of 

human pathological and anatomical waste, including tissues, 

organs, body parts, other related waste, and animal 

carcasses. 

2. Systems that operate above atmospheric pressure must 

employ a dissolution chamber that is a certified pressure 

vessel by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers' 

(ASME). 

3. Operating parameters for alkaline hydrolysis systems vary 

depending on the amount of regulated medical waste to be 

treated and the type of contamination:  

a. To inactivate microbial pathogens, the waste must be 

heated to 212oF (100oC), and pressurized at 15 pounds per 

square inch for three hours; 

b. To destroy transmissible spongiform encephalopathy 

(TSE), including bovine spongiform encephalopathy, the 

waste must be heated to 300oF (150oC) and pressurized at 

70 pounds per square inch for six to eight hours. 

c. Chemical concentration and treatment time shall be 

demonstrated through validation testing in the presence of 

the worst case organic material waste content. 

4. Treatment shall ensure the complete dissolution of all 

tissue remains, if applicable, and any solids left shall be 

disposed of at a solid waste management facility permitted 

to receive it. 

5. Validation and periodic challenge testing shall be 

performed using biological indicators utilizing spores from 

the bacterial species Geobacillus stearothermophilus.  

H. The requirements in this subsection are applicable to 

incineration treatment methods. 
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1. All incinerators shall be permitted under regulations of the 

State Air Pollution Control Board and be in compliance with 

the regulations of that body. 

2. All combustible regulated medical waste shall be 

converted by the incineration process into ash that is not 

recognizable as to its former character.  

3. Analysis of ash and air pollution control residues: 

a. Incinerator bottom ash and residues collected from air 

pollution control equipment shall be collected separately 

in leak resistant containers with runoff controls to prevent 

releases from the ash storage. Incinerator bottom ash and 

air pollution control residues shall be stored separately 

until sample testing per subdivision 3 b of this subsection 

is performed and the waste streams are determined to be a 

solid waste. 

b. Testing requirements: 

(1) Representative samples consisting of 250 milliliters of 

each waste stream shall be collected once every eight 

hours of operation of a continuously fed incinerator and 

once every batch or 24 hours of operation of a batch fed 

incinerator. Samples shall be collected during each 1,000 

hours of operation or quarterly, whichever is more often, 

and samples shall be thoroughly mixed and seven random 

portions of equal volume shall be composited into one 

sample for laboratory analysis. This sample shall be tested 

in accordance with the methods established by the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-60) for determining if a solid waste is a 

hazardous waste. 

(2) In addition to subdivision 3 b (1) of this subsection, 

composite samples of incinerator bottom ash shall be 

tested for total organic content. 

c. If ash or air pollution control residues are found to be 

hazardous waste (based on a sample and a confirmation 

sample) the waste ash shall be managed of as a hazardous 

waste in accord with the Virginia Hazardous Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-60). The operator 

shall notify the department within 24 hours. No later than 

15 calendar days following, the permittee shall submit a 

plan for treating and disposing of the waste on hand at the 

facility and all unsatisfactorily treated waste that has left 

the facility. The permittee shall include with the plan a 

description of the corrective actions to be taken to prevent 

further unsatisfactory performance. No ash or air pollution 

control residues subsequently generated from the 

incinerator waste stream found to be hazardous waste shall 

be sent to a nonhazardous solid waste management facility 

in the Commonwealth unless written approval of the 

director is obtained in accordance with Solid Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-81). 

d. If ash or air pollution control residues are found not to 

be hazardous waste by analysis, they may be disposed of 

in a solid waste landfill that is permitted to receive 

municipal solid waste or incinerator ash, provided the 

disposal is in accordance with the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-81). 

e. A log shall document the ash sampling, to include the 

date and time of each sample collected; the date, time, and 

identification number of each composite sample; and the 

results of the analyses, including laboratory identification. 

Results of analyses must be returned from the laboratory 

and recorded within four weeks following collection of the 

composite sample. The results and records described in 

this part shall be maintained for a period of three years, 

and shall be available for review. 

I. Alternate treatment technologies as reviewed and approved 

by the department. All alternate treatment technologies 

approved by the director shall conform to the general treatment 

standards in subsection B of this section and any additional 

requirements the department imposes at the time of approval. 

1. Any person who desires to use a chemical treatment 

technology per subsection F of this section or treatment 

technology, other than those described in subsections C, D, 

and E or subsections G and H of this section, shall petition 

the director for a review under 9VAC20-121-250. 

2. If the director finds that the technology and application is 

in accordance with this part, the department may consider 

the facility for permitting. 

9VAC20-121-250. Alternate treatment technologies.  

A. In accordance with 9VAC20-121-240 I, chemical 

treatment and other alternate treatment technologies may be 

approved for permitting if the department reviews the process 

and determines that the technology provides treatment in 

accordance with this chapter and protects public health and the 

environment, and if the department establishes appropriate 

conditions for their siting, design, and operation. This section 

establishes the criteria, protocols, procedures, and processes to 

be used to petition the director for review and to demonstrate 

the suitability of the proposed technology for the treatment of 

regulated medical waste. 

B. Alternate treatment technologies are subject to the general 

treatment standards of 9VAC20-121-240 and the additional 

requirements of this section. To ensure effectiveness of the 

proposed chemical or alternate treatment technology, the 

applicant must demonstrate effective microbial and bacterial 

inactivation at a 6 log10 or greater reduction for the 

microorganisms and spores listed in subsections C and D of 

this section through validation testing that meets the 

requirements of 9VAC20-121-260. 

C. Microbial inactivation shall be demonstrated using one or 

more representative microorganisms from each microbial 

group:  

1. For vegetative bacteria: either Staphylococcus aureus 

(ATCC 6538) or Pseudomonas aeruginosa (ATCC 15442). 
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2. For fungi: either Candida albicans (ATCC 18804), 

Penicillium chrysogenum (ATCC 24791), or Aspergillus 

niger.  

3. For viruses: either Polio 2 or Polio 3, or MS-2 

Bacteriophage (ATCC 15597-B1).  

4. For parasites: either Cryptosporidium spp. oocysts or 

Giardia spp. Cysts. 

5. For Mycobacteria: either Mycobacterium terrae, 

Mycobacterium phlei, Mycobacterium bovis (BCG) (ATCC 

35743).  

D. Bacterial inactivation shall be demonstrated for chemical, 

thermal, and irradiation treatment systems using spores from 

either B. stearothermophilus (ATCC 7953) or B. subtilis 

(ATCC 19659). 

E. For those treatment processes that can maintain the 

integrity of the biological indicator carrier (i.e., ampules, 

plastic strips) of the desired microbiological test strain, 

biological indicators of the required strain and concentration 

shall be used to demonstrate effective treatment. Effective 

treatment is demonstrated by no growth in all treated biological 

indicators and growth in all untreated biological indicators 

during validation and periodic challenge testing. 

F. For those treatment mechanisms that cannot ensure or 

provide integrity of the biological indicator (i.e., chemical 

inactivation or grinding), quantitative measurement of 

effective treatment requires a two-step approach: Step 1, 

"Control"; Step 2, "Test." The purpose of Step 1 is to account 

for the reduction of test microorganisms due to loss by dilution 

or physical entrapment.  

1. Step 1 is: 

a. Use microbial cultures of a predetermined concentration 

necessary to ensure a sufficient microbial recovery at the 

end of this step.  

b. Add suspension to a standardized medical waste load 

that is to be processed under normal operating conditions 

without the addition of the microbial inactivation agent 

(i.e., heat, chemicals).  

c. Collect and wash waste samples after processing to 

recover the biological indicator organisms in the sample.  

d. Plate recovered microorganism suspensions to quantify 

microbial recovery. (The number of viable 

microorganisms recovered serves as a baseline quantity 

for comparison to the number of recovered 

microorganisms from wastes processed with the microbial 

inactivation agent).  

e. The required number of recovered viable indicator 

microorganisms from Step 1 must be equal to or greater 

than the number of microorganisms required to 

demonstrate a 6 log10 or greater reduction.  

2. Step 2 is: 

a. Use microbial cultures of the same concentration as in 

Step 1.  

b. Add suspension to the standardized medical waste load 

that is to be processed under normal operating conditions 

with the addition of the microbial inactivation agent.  

c. Collect and wash waste samples after processing to 

recover the biological indicator organisms in the sample.  

d. Plate recovered microorganism suspensions to quantify 

microbial recovery.  

3. From data collected from Step 1 and Step 2, the level of 

microbial and bacterial inactivation shall be calculated based 

on the: 

a. Number of viable "Test" microorganisms (in colony 

forming units per gram of waste solids) introduced into the 

treatment unit,  

b. Number of "Control" microorganisms (in colony 

forming units per gram of waste solids) that were not 

recovered after processing, and 

c. Number of viable "Test" microorganisms (in colony 

forming units per gram of waste solids) recovered in 

treated processed waste residue.  

G. To initiate the technology review process the applicant 

shall complete and submit DEQ Form RMWTP-01, 

Application for Evaluation and Approval of Regulated 

Medical Waste Treatment Technology to the department. The 

application shall be accompanied by:  

1. A detailed description of the chemical or alternate 

treatment technology. The description must include:  

a. A discussion of operating procedures and conditions, 

including, as applicable, treatment times, pressure, 

temperatures, chemical concentrations, irradiation doses, 

feed rates, and wasteload composition;  

b. A discussion of parametric controls, verifying effective 

treatment, and ensuring operator noninterference; and 

c. A discussion of waste residues and by-products 

generated and methods of disposal or recycling. 

d. The description shall be accompanied by the 

manufacturer's operations manual or equipment usage 

instructions, equipment specifications, and maintenance 

manual.  

2. Documentation demonstrating the chemical or alternate 

treatment technology meets microbial and bacterial 

inactivation criteria specified under subsections B through F 

of this section. The documentation must include a 

description of the test procedures and calculations used in 

fulfilling required performance standards verifying effective 

treatment, of user verification methodology, and of 

microbial culturing protocols that ensure traceability, purity 

and concentration, and copy of all test results.  
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3. A chemical management plan describing all chemicals to 

be stored on site and include copies of Safety Data Sheets 

for all chemicals used for regulated medical waste treatment 

and EPA pesticide registration, if applicable. 

4. Documentation providing occupational safety and health 

assurance.  

H. The applicant shall demonstrate that all required surrogate 

pathogens and resistant bacterial endospores are inactivated to 

criteria specified in subsections B through F of this section 

under the representative surrogate waste load compositions.  

I. The applicant shall demonstrate where the relationship 

between effective treatment, biological indicator data, and data 

procured from real-time parametric monitoring devices for the 

treatment unit.  

J. The review of the application will occur in accordance with 

this subsection.  

1. After receiving an application that includes the 

information and demonstrations required in subsections A 

through I of this section, the department will perform an 

administrative review and determine whether the 

information received is sufficient to approve the proposed 

chemical or alternate treatment technology. If the 

information is deemed to be insufficient, the department will 

request that additional information be furnished. 

2. The applicant may submit the additional information 

requested or may demonstrate that the additional 

information should not be required. If the department agrees 

that the additional information is not required, the 

department will determine if the application is complete. 

3. After the application is deemed complete, the director may 

then issue a treatment technology approval. The approval 

shall be issued under the conditions specified in the 

manufacturer's instructions and equipment specifications, 

operating procedures, and conditions as outlined in the 

application, including, as applicable, treatment times, 

temperatures, pressure, chemical concentrations, irradiation 

doses, feed rates, and waste load composition. Any 

significant revision to these conditions will require 

reapplication for approval in accordance with this section. 

4. Following technology approval, any facility wishing to 

use the approved technology to treat regulated medical waste 

shall apply for and obtain the necessary permits in 

accordance with Part V (9VAC20-121-300 et seq.). 

9VAC20-121-260. Validation testing.  

A. Prior to using any treatment system, the facility must 

conduct validation testing that employs the use of process 

controls, biological indicators, and process monitoring to 

establish operating parameters to demonstrate effective 

treatment of regulated medical waste. 

B. Prior to validation testing, the owner or operator shall 

submit to the department a treatment plan containing the 

information required by 9VAC20-121-330 E. The plan shall 

demonstrate that the validation protocols for each treatment 

unit meet the standards of this section and shall indicate any 

additional protocols specific to the regulated medical waste to 

be treated, such as the use of packaging types that may affect 

treatment of the waste. Validation testing must be conducted in 

accordance with an approved treatment plan and the 

requirements of this section. The validation test results and 

operating parameters must be submitted to the department for 

review prior to acceptance of regulated medical waste for 

treatment. 

C. To demonstrate reproducibility, a minimum of three 

separate treatment runs must be performed on three separate 

days, using three distinct loads, during which the department 

is present to witness at least one complete validation test run. 

All test runs shall meet the following requirements:  

1. Operating parameters used during the tests must be 

consistent with the parameters that will be used during 

routine operation of the treatment process (e.g., cycle 

duration, temperature, pressure, chemical concentration, 

irradiation exposure time, or other treatment parameters as 

applicable).  

2. Surrogate waste load composition (e.g., porosity, liquids, 

solids, moisture content, organic matter, thermal resistance, 

and type of packaging or containers) and wasteload 

configuration (e.g., packing density and orientation) used 

during the tests must be consistent with the waste properties 

and loading process that will be used during routine 

operation. The surrogate waste load shall represent the most 

difficult waste anticipated to be treated during routine 

operation. 

3. The weight and volume of the surrogate waste loads used 

during the tests must be consistent with the amount of waste 

that will be treated during routine operation. Validation 

testing must be performed at the treatment unit's full capacity 

unless an alternate load size is approved.  

D. To assess treatment performance, the system must employ 

commercially-prepared biological indicators from the same lot 

or batch, each containing spores that demonstrate the necessary 

resistance for the treatment method, as determined by the 

department. The indicators must:  

1. Have a minimum concentration of 6 log10 spores per 

biological indicator. The concentration must be higher and 

more thermally resistant than the bioburden routinely 

associated with the waste; 

2. Include a supplier's certificate of performance (or 

certificate of analysis) that identifies the organism (genus, 

species, strain, and population) and, for thermal treatment 

systems (including autoclaves), the D-value and Z-value. 

The D-value must be 1.5 to 3.0 minutes, unless otherwise 
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approved by the department, and the Z-value must be no less 

than 50°F (10°C); 

3. Be appropriate for the type of waste and device (i.e., self-

contained, suspension, or spore strip), including the shelf 

life, the carrier material and primary packaging, the culture 

medium (for self-contained biological indicators) and the 

media, growth, and culture conditions (for non-self-

contained biological indicators);  

4. Be compatible with the treatment process and have a 

resistance relative to the temperature, pressures, conditions, 

chemicals, or irradiation used in the process; the infectious 

agents on a substrate; the type and density of the waste to be 

treated; and its packaging;  

5. Be placed in a carrier system (e.g., net bags, wrapped in a 

paper towel and encased in cotton batting or inside tennis 

balls, socks, or alloy containers with holes in them) designed 

to mimic the thermal resistance of the waste before 

placement into the package to be treated. Materials used to 

hold biological indicators must be similar to the waste to be 

treated, provide effective protection from damage or 

breakage or from otherwise being compromised, be loose in 

the bulk of the waste, and be easily retrievable at the end of 

each validation test run. Indicators shall not be placed in 

carrier systems that would enhance treatment or produce 

erroneous results (such as metal containers that would 

conduct heat); 

6. Be placed throughout the waste load during each 

validation test at the coldest or most challenging locations 

within the treatment unit, where the sum of all influences on 

the microorganisms results in minimal inactivation for a 

defined waste load; 

7. Be used in accordance with the quantity specified as 

follows, for each test run:  

a. Three biological indicators per cycle for 0 to 110 pounds 

of waste per load; 

b. Five biological indicators per cycle for 111 to 550 

pounds of waste per load; 

c. Seven biological indicators per cycle for 551 to 1,100 

pounds of waste per load; 

d. Nine biological indicators per cycle for 1,101 to 1,650 

pounds of waste per load; 

e. Eleven or more biological indicators per cycle, as 

determined by the department, for greater than 1,650 

pounds of waste per load; and 

f. One or more biological indicators from the same lot or 

batch to be left untreated and used as a control; 

8. Be stored in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications when not in use. Expired biological indicators 

shall not be utilized. 

9. Biological indicators in the form of paper strips must not 

be used in devices or areas where fluids can pool or puddle 

around the indicator. Self-contained biological indicators 

with vent caps must not be used where liquids may 

accumulate and contaminate the indicators. 

10. Qualitative or quantitative biological indicators shall be 

used provided the operator or vendor of the technology 

provides evidence from such sources as peered reviewed 

journals that support the use of that particular indicator. 

Biological indicators requiring microbial bioassay to 

confirm effective treatment must be quantitatively analyzed 

after the treatment cycle. All self-contained biological 

indicators used for test runs must be evaluated for growth 

(e.g. qualitatively analyzed for color change) following 

incubation in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions. 

E. Concurrent with biological indicators, the process must 

employ devices or instrumentation that demonstrates the 

treatment unit is achieving critical operating parameters for 

effective treatment. Process monitoring shall include: 

1. Thermochemical indicators (e.g., tape, paper strips, or 

integrators) that demonstrate that the waste has been 

exposed to a certain temperature or chemical concentration; 

2. Thermochemical recording devices (e.g., wireless data 

loggers, thermocouples, or chemical monitoring probes) that 

are placed in or on waste packages and that provide a 

measurable record of actual treatment conditions of the 

waste; and 

3. Parametric controls or monitoring devices integral to the 

treatment system that record critical operational treatment 

parameters and provide a record of measurements that can 

be correlated to effective treatment.  

F. Effective treatment of regulated medical waste must 

achieve a 6 log10 or greater reduction of the viable spore 

concentrations of the most appropriate bacterial species for the 

treatment method. Effective treatment is demonstrated by no 

growth in all treated biological indicators and growth in all 

untreated biological indicators during each test run. In certain 

situations where the waste poses a greater risk (e.g., a higher 

bioburden waste), the department may require a greater 

reduction.  

G. The facility shall submit to the department for approval a 

summary of the validation test results demonstrating the 

treatment effectiveness and specifying the operating 

parameters based on the results of all validation test runs. The 

report shall describe the results of all validation test runs, 

including: 

1. Date and time of all test runs, including the operator's 

name and cycle start and end times; 

2. Surrogate waste load composition, configuration, and 

size; 
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3. Number, type, batch or lot number, expiration date, and 

placement of biological indicators, thermochemical 

indicators, and thermochemical recording devices; and  

4. Results of all methods used to monitor operating 

parameters achieved throughout the treatment cycle and the 

accuracy of parametric monitoring devices, including copies 

of charts, graphs, or other read-outs from the treatment 

equipment and growth results of all treated indicators and 

untreated controls. 

H. Validation testing must be repeated when any of the 

following occurs: 

1. Failure of any treatment process to achieve operational 

parameters, such as time, temperature, or pressure during 

validation testing; 

2. Failure to achieve microbial inactivation in any biological 

indicator during any treatment cycle during validation 

testing; 

3. Failure of the untreated control indicator to show growth 

of the viable spore concentration; 

4. Any modifications to any of the treatment process 

operational parameters, bioburden, waste mass, chemical 

type, concentration, irradiation or exposure time, type of 

waste to be treated, or mechanical or engineering changes to 

the treatment system from those assessed during the 

validation testing;  

5. A failure identified in subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this 

subsection during periodic challenge testing as identified by 

biological or process monitoring that occurs three or more 

times in a calendar year or during the first 30 days of actual 

operation;  

6. A treatment device has been operational without a repeat 

validation for at least five years; or 

7. A treatment device has not been used for at least one year.  

9VAC20-121-270. Periodic challenge testing.  

A. After initial validation testing and during routine 

operation, a regulated medical waste treatment facility shall 

perform periodic challenge testing under full loading to 

evaluate the effectiveness of each treatment device in 

accordance with procedures outlined in the facility's approved 

treatment plan.  

B. Periodic challenge testing shall be performed in 

accordance with the following requirements: 

1. Biological indicators shall be used to periodically 

challenge test a load of regulated medical waste and must 

comply with all requirements of 9VAC20-121-260 D, with 

the exception of the quantity of biological indicators 

required under 9VAC20-121-260 D 7. 

2. Periodic challenge testing must include at least one-third 

of the number of appropriate biological indicators that are 

required for the validation test, or two indicators, whichever 

is greater, unless otherwise determined by the department. 

One or more additional biological indicators from the same 

lot or batch shall be left untreated and used as a control. 

3. The results of all periodic challenge testing shall be 

maintained for three years in accordance with 9VAC20-121-

340 and shall include: 

a. Date and time of all challenge tests, including the 

operator's name and cycle start and end times; 

b. Number, type, batch or lot number, expiration date, and 

placement of biological and thermochemical indicators; 

and  

c. Results of all methods used to monitor operating 

parameters achieved throughout the treatment cycle, 

including copies of charts, graphs, or other read-outs from 

the treatment equipment and growth results of all treated 

indicators and untreated controls. 

4. Effective treatment of regulated medical waste must be 

demonstrated by a 6 log10 or greater reduction of spore 

concentrations in all biological indicators in each periodic 

challenge test. A challenge test is considered a failure if any 

of the following occurs: 

a. Failure of any treatment process to achieve operational 

parameters such as time, temperature, or pressure; 

b. Failure to achieve microbial inactivation in any 

biological indicator during any treatment cycle. All 

biological indicators must show passing results (no growth 

in the viable spore concentration) after treatment or the 

challenge test is considered a failure; or 

c. Failure of the untreated control indicator to show growth 

of the viable spore concentration. 

C. Any regulated medical waste treated during or after a 

challenge test shall be stored temporarily until challenge test 

results are obtained. Regulated medical waste shall not be 

shipped offsite until the challenge test is complete and shows 

passing results for all biological indicators. 

D. Unless otherwise approved by the department, for the first 

30 days of actual operation, each treatment unit shall undergo 

challenge testing twice per day. The first load of each day shall 

be used for one of the required challenge tests. 

E. Following the first 30 days of actual operation, periodic 

challenge testing must be conducted at a minimum of once per 

week or every 40 hours of operation, whichever is greater.  

F. After six months of successful operation with no challenge 

test failures in weekly or 40- hour testing, challenge testing 

shall be conducted at least once per month.  

G. Any challenge test failures during the first six months of 

actual operation shall require a return to daily challenge testing 
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for at least 30 operating days. After the first six months of 

actual operation, any challenge test failure shall require a 

return to challenge testing once per week or every 40 hours of 

operation, whichever is greater. 

H. Following any challenge test failure: 

1. The waste shall continue to be managed as regulated 

medical waste and shall be retreated, stored temporarily until 

retreatment, or diverted to another approved facility for 

treatment or disposal. Regulated medical waste shall not be 

considered treated until a subsequent challenge test is 

conducted with passing results; 

2. The facility shall evaluate and correct any issues with the 

treatment cycle and unit prior to treating any additional 

waste; 

3. The facility shall notify the department of the failure in 

accordance with 9VAC20-121-340; and 

4. The facility shall increase the frequency of challenge 

testing in accordance with subsection G of this section.  

9VAC20-121-280. Disposal of treated regulated medical 

waste.  

A. Regulated medical waste that has been treated in 

accordance with this part is no longer a regulated medical 

waste. Treated regulated medical waste is a solid waste. 

Treated waste may be compacted in a closed container in a safe 

and sanitary manner. 

B. Treated waste shall be disposed of at a permitted solid 

waste disposal facility in accordance with the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-81) and the solid waste 

disposal facility's permit. Regulated medical waste not treated 

in accordance with this chapter remains a regulated medical 

waste and shall not be transported to, received for transport or 

disposal by, or disposed in any solid waste management 

facility. 

C. Where non-bulk treatment is used, treated waste shall be 

placed in sealed bags or containers that allow for visible 

assessment of treatment, such as clear bags or bags marked 

with sterilization indicators. The bags shall not be red in color. 

Opaque bags and bags with special labels are permissible if 

agreed upon in writing by the solid waste management facility 

receiving the treated waste. Treatment cart liners that are 

resistant to treatment conditions (such as temperature) may be 

used to package treated waste. Where bulk treatment is used 

and the solid waste is immediately placed or compacted in 

closed bulk solid waste management containers that are more 

than 64 gallons in volume, the repackaging of the solid waste 

in bags is not required. Treated waste shall not be repackaged 

as regulated medical waste. 

D. The regulated medical waste treatment facility shall have 

a written agreement with each permitted solid waste 

management facility that will transfer, store, or dispose of the 

treated waste. The agreement shall specify and include the 

following: 

1. A description of how the treated waste will be packaged 

and transported to each solid waste management facility, 

including the types and colors of bags or containers used, 

and any special labeling if applicable; 

2. The type of regulated medical waste treated, treatment 

method, and name, address, and telephone number of the 

treatment facility; and 

3. The name, address, and telephone number of any transfer 

stations or other intermediate facilities or locations where 

the treated waste will be transferred or temporarily stored 

prior to transport to a permitted solid waste disposal facility. 

E. If treated residuals are determined to be hazardous, then 

the waste must be managed in accordance with the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-60).  

9VAC20-121-290. Closure requirements.  

A. The owner or operator of a regulated medical waste 

management facility shall close the facility in a manner that 

minimizes the need for further maintenance, and controls, 

minimizes, or eliminates, to the extent necessary to protect 

human health and the environment, the post-closure escape of 

regulated medical waste, uncontrolled effluent, surface runoff, 

or waste decomposition products to the groundwater, surface 

water, or atmosphere.  

1. When a unit that has been used for regulated medical 

waste management is to cease operations involving 

regulated medical waste, the unit and all related equipment, 

structures, and surfaces shall be thoroughly cleaned and 

disinfected. Cleaning shall be conducted with detergent and 

water. At a minimum, disinfection shall include using an 

EPA-registered hospital grade disinfectant effective against 

mycobacteria in accordance with manufacturer's label 

instructions, unless it can be demonstrated to the satisfaction 

of the department that an alternate EPA-registered 

disinfectant will be protective of human health and the 

environment and is appropriate for the type of regulated 

medical waste managed and surfaces being disinfected. 

2. All regulated medical waste, materials contaminated with 

waste constituents, and treatment residue shall be removed 

and disposed of in accordance with this chapter. 

B. Closure plan and modification of plan.  

1. The owner or operator of a regulated medical waste 

management facility shall have a written closure plan that 

meets the requirements of 9VAC20-121-330 G.  

2. The owner or operator may amend the closure plan at any 

time during the active life of the facility. The owner or 

operator shall so amend the plan any time changes in 

operating plans or facility design affects the closure plan. 
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The amended closure plan shall be placed in the operating 

record. 

3. The owner or operator shall submit to the department the 

amended closure plan that was placed in the operating 

record. 

4. At least 180 days prior to beginning closure of each unit, 

the owner or operator shall notify the director of the intent 

to close. 

5. The owner or operator shall provide to the department a 

certification that the facility has been closed in accordance 

with the closure plan. 

C. The owner or operator shall complete closure activities in 

accordance with the closure plan and within six months after 

receiving the final volume of wastes. The director may approve 

a longer closure period if the owner or operator can 

demonstrate that the required or planned closure activities will 

take longer than six months to complete, and that the owner or 

operator has taken all steps to eliminate any significant threat 

to human health and the environment from the unclosed but 

inactive facility. 

D. The owner or operator shall post one sign notifying all 

persons of the closing and providing a notice prohibiting 

further receipt of waste materials. The sign shall remain in 

place until closure activities are complete. Further, suitable 

barriers shall be installed at former accesses to prevent new 

waste from being delivered. 

E. The department shall inspect the facility to confirm that the 

closure is complete and adequate in accordance with this 

chapter. The department shall notify the owner of a closed 

facility in writing if the closure is satisfactory, or if 

unsatisfactory, shall require any necessary construction or such 

other steps as may be necessary to bring unsatisfactory sites 

into compliance with this chapter. Notification by the 

department that the closure is satisfactory does not relieve the 

operator of responsibility for corrective action to prevent or 

abate problems caused by the facility.  

Part V 

Permitting of Regulated Medical Waste Management 

Facilities 

9VAC20-121-300. Applicability.  

A. Any facility operated for the transfer or treatment of 

regulated medical waste that is not exempt in accordance with 

this chapter, must hold a permit-by-rule from the department 

prior to commencement of operations. 

B. Each regulated medical waste management facility permit-

by-rule shall be limited to one site and shall be nontransferable 

between sites. 

C. A new permit-by-rule is required when there is: 

1. Any new regulated medical waste management facility; or 

2. Any change in design or process of a regulated medical 

waste management facility that will, in the opinion of the 

department, result in a substantially different type of facility. 

D. The director may grant a variance from any provision 

contained in this part to a permittee provided the requirements 

of Part VI (9VAC20-121-400 et seq.) of this chapter are met.  

E. The following regulated medical waste management 

activities are conditionally exempt from the requirements of 

this part provided no open dump, hazard, or public nuisance is 

created and wastes are managed in accordance with the 

requirements promulgated by other applicable state or federal 

regulations or the conditions provided in this section. 

1. Household sharps may be collected in a sharps drop box 

located in a public restroom, airport, train station, health 

clinic, pharmacy, health department, police or fire station, 

community organization building, permitted solid waste 

management facility, or other location as a convenience to 

the public, as long as the following requirements are met: 

a. Sharps drop boxes shall only receive household sharps 

from individual home generators who choose to transport 

household sharps to the drop box. Sharps drop boxes shall 

not receive waste from collection vehicles or other entities 

that have collected waste from more than one real property 

owner; 

b. All owners and operators of sharps drop boxes must 

comply with the general handling, packaging and labeling, 

storage, reusable container, spill cleanup, transportation, 

and Category A waste management requirements for 

regulated medical waste outlined in Part III (9VAC20-

121-100 et seq.) of this chapter; and 

c. Collected sharps shall be treated or disposed of as 

regulated medical waste in accordance with this chapter. 

Untreated sharps shall not be recycled or disposed of in a 

solid waste landfill or other solid waste management 

facility. Collected sharps that are shipped offsite as part of 

a mail-back program shall be transported in accordance 

with the requirements of 39 CFR 111 and 9VAC20-121-

150 K. 

2. Facilities that employ a treatment method to treat 

regulated medical waste onsite but subsequently package, 

label, and transport the waste offsite to be further managed 

as regulated medical waste are exempt from permitting in 

accordance with this chapter, but are subject to all other 

standards outlined in Part III (9VAC20-121-100 et seq.) for 

the management of regulated medical waste.  

3. Treatment systems (such as an effluent decontamination 

system) used to treat industrial or domestic sewage 

discharges in compliance with federal, state, or local 

pretreatment requirements as applicable. If the treatment 

unit separates solids from liquids prior to discharge, the 

solids shall be managed as regulated medical waste unless it 

meets an exemption in accordance with this chapter. 
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4. Combustion of up to 10% by weight of regulated medical 

waste in a Virginia Solid Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-81) permitted solid waste incinerator, thermal 

treatment, or waste to energy facility. Regulated medical 

waste must be an approved supplemental waste or included 

in an approved material review process in accordance with 

the State Air Pollution Control Board regulations and 

management of the regulated medical waste prior to addition 

to the incinerator, thermal treatment, or waste to energy unit 

must be in accordance with this chapter.  

5. Temporary offsite storage of regulated medical waste 

generated from an emergency cleanup for up to 72 hours, 

including in a locked vehicle, prior to transporting directly 

to a regulated medical waste management facility permitted 

to receive the waste for treatment, transfer, or disposal, 

provided that all regulated medical waste is: 

a. Generated from an emergency or unplanned sudden or 

nonsudden spill or release of regulated medical waste 

requiring immediate response in order to protect human 

health or the environment, and the regulated medical 

waste was not generated by a health care professional or 

nonstationary health care provider; 

b. Collected from not more than one individual regulated 

medical waste generator and is not received from 

collection vehicles or other entities that have collected 

waste from more than one real property owner; 

c. Managed, stored, and transported in accordance with all 

requirements of Part III (9VAC20-121-100 et seq.) of this 

chapter, except for the storage timeframe which shall be 

no more than 72 hours; and 

d. Not a Category A waste, hazardous waste, or 

radioactive waste. 

9VAC20-121-310. Permits by rule and emergency permits.  

A. This subsection contains the requirements for permits-by-

rule. The owner or operator of a facility described in 

subdivision A 1 of this section shall be deemed to have a 

regulated medical waste management facility permit if (i) the 

owner or operator submits the completed DEQ Form RMW 

PBR, Regulated Medical Waste Management Facility Permit-

by-Rule Form, and all required information and attachments as 

detailed in subdivision A 2 of this section, and (ii) the 

department acknowledges completeness of the submittal per 

subdivision A 4 of this section. 

1. Except for exempt facilities described in 9VAC20-121-

300 E, the owner or operator of the following regulated 

medical waste management facilities shall apply for a 

permit-by-rule:  

a. Regulated medical waste transfer stations as defined by 

this chapter, including when a vehicle transporting 

regulated medical waste will be parked for 24 hours or 

more during transport;  

b. Facilities treating regulated medical waste employing a 

treatment method described in 9VAC20-121-240; and  

c. Facilities treating regulated medical waste employing an 

alternate treatment method as described in 9VAC20-121-

250. 

2. The owner or operator of a regulated medical waste 

management facility shall submit the following information 

and documentation to the department: 

a. To initiate the permit-by-rule application process, any 

person who proposes to establish a new regulated medical 

waste management facility, or modify an existing 

regulated medical waste management facility shall file a 

notice of intent with the director stating the type of facility 

for which the permit-by-rule application is made, the 

precise location of the proposed facility, and the intended 

use of the facility. The notice shall be in letter form and be 

accompanied by the following documents: 

(1) A disclosure statement (DEQ Forms DISC-01 and 

DISC-02) identifying all key personnel as required by 

§ 10.1-1408.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

(2) A copy of the certification for at least one operator 

licensed by the Board for Waste Management Facility 

Operators as required by § 10.1-1408.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

(3) A certification (DEQ Form CERT-01) from the 

governing body of the county, city, or town in which the 

facility is to be located stating, without qualifications, 

conditions, or reservations, that the location and operation 

of the facility are consistent with all applicable ordinances. 

No certification shall be required for the application for a 

modification to an existing permit-by-rule.  

(4) The results of the public participation effort conducted 

in accordance with the requirements contained in 

subdivision A 3 of this section; 

b. A certification that the facility meets the siting 

standards, as applicable, of 9VAC20-121-210; 

c. A certificate signed by a professional engineer that the 

facility has been designed and constructed in accordance 

with the design and construction standards, as applicable, 

of 9VAC20-121-220; 

d. Design plans certified by a professional engineer 

consisting of at least the following:  

(1) A title sheet indicating the facility name, who prepared 

the plans, the person for whom the plans were prepared, a 

table of contents, and a location map showing the location 

of the site and area to be served. 

(2) An exterior site plan identifying building dimensions 

of the transfer or treatment facility and the location of 

property boundaries and building setbacks, fencing, 

loading or unloading areas, vehicle staging and queuing 

locations, and parking areas.  
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(3) An interior site plan identifying location and size of all 

receiving, storage, temporary storage, including storage 

areas to be used to segregate unauthorized waste, 

radioactive waste, hazardous waste, and other untreated 

waste from treated waste, and processing areas, and 

location of treatment units, reusable container washing 

stations, and floor drains. 

(4) A process flow diagram for all treatment units 

showing, piping and instrumentation, vents, and liquid 

discharge locations; 

e. Documentation of the authorization to discharge into an 

approved sanitary sewer system or publicly or privately 

owned treatment works;  

f. A certification that the facility meets the standards of 

Part III (9VAC20-121-100 et seq.) and Part IV (9VAC20-

121-200 et seq.), as applicable, in a regulated medical 

waste management plan to be maintained in the operating 

record in accordance with 9VAC20-121-330. The 

certification shall also include a statement that the 

emergency contingency plan has been provided to the 

local police and fire departments, local emergency 

manager, and local emergency health coordinator; 

g. Alternate treatment technologies shall provide a copy of 

the treatment technology approval; 

h. A treatment plan for each treatment unit in accordance 

with 9VAC20-121-330 E; 

i. For treatment facilities, a written agreement in 

accordance with 9VAC20-121-280 D with each permitted 

solid waste management facility that will transfer, store, 

or dispose of treated waste;  

j. A closure plan in accordance with 9VAC20-121-330 G; 

k. Demonstration of legal control over the site for the 

permit life; 

l. A certification from the State Corporation Commission 

that the business entity pursing the permit-by-rule status is 

a valid entity, authorized to transact its business in 

Virginia. This requirement does not apply to those 

facilities owned solely by governmental units; 

m. Closure cost estimates and proof of financial 

responsibility as required by the Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and 

Treatment Facilities (9VAC20-70). Proof of financial 

responsibility must be for the entity identified in 

subdivision A 2 l of this section. For treatment facilities, 

proof of financial responsibility is required prior to 

department approval to begin operation in accordance 

with 9VAC20-121-320; and 

n. The applicable permit fees under the provisions of 

9VAC20-90.  

3. Public participation. 

a. The applicant for a new regulated medical waste transfer 

station or treatment facility shall publish a notice once a 

week for two consecutive weeks in a major local 

newspaper of general circulation of the intent to construct 

and operate a facility eligible for a permit-by-rule. The 

notice shall include: 

(1) A statement of the applicant's intent to apply for a 

permit-by-rule to operate a regulated medical waste 

transfer station or treatment facility;  

(2) A brief description of the proposed facility and its 

location;  

(3) A statement that the purpose of the public participation 

is to identify issues of concern, to facilitate 

communication and to establish a dialogue between the 

applicant and persons who may be affected by the facility;  

(4) Announcement of a 30-day comment period, in 

accordance with subdivision A 3 d of this section;  

(5) Announcement of the date, time, and location for a 

public meeting to be held in accordance with subdivision 

A 3 c of this section;  

(6) The name, address, and telephone number of the 

owner's or operator's representative who can be contacted 

by interested persons to answer questions or receive 

comments on the siting and operation of the proposed 

regulated medical waste facility; and  

(7) Location where copies of the documentation to be 

submitted to the department in support of the permit-by-

rule notification can be viewed and copied in accordance 

with subdivision A 3 b of this section.  

b. The owner or operator shall place a copy of the 

documentation and support documents in a location 

accessible to the public in the vicinity of the proposed 

facility.  

c. The owner or operator shall hold a public meeting not 

earlier than 14 days after the publication of the notice 

required in subdivision A 3 a of this section and no later 

than seven days before the close of the 30-day comment 

period. The meeting shall be held to the extent practicable 

in the vicinity of the proposed facility at a time convenient 

for the public.  

d. The public shall be provided 30 days to comment on the 

technical and the regulatory aspects of the proposal. The 

comment period will begin on the date the owner or 

operator publishes the first notice in the local newspaper.  

e. The requirements of this section do not apply to the 

owners or operators of a regulated medical waste 

treatment unit that has received a permit from the 

department based on the regulations promulgated by the 

State Air Pollution Control Board or State Water Control 

Board that required facility-specific public participation 

procedures.  

4. Upon receiving the certifications and other required 

documents, including the results of the public meeting and 

the applicant's response to the comments received, the 
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department shall conduct a completeness review and 

respond within 30 days.  

a. If the applicant's submission for a regulated medical 

waste transfer station is administratively complete, the 

applicant shall be deemed to operate under permit-by-rule 

status.  

b. If the applicant's submission for a treatment unit is 

administratively complete, the applicant shall be deemed 

to operate under permit-by-rule status and granted 

authorization to initiate validation testing in accordance 

with an approved validation protocol and 9VAC20-121-

320. The facility shall not accept regulated medical waste 

for treatment until the results of validation testing and 

operating parameters are submitted and approved by the 

department.  

c. If the applicant's submission is administratively 

incomplete, the department will respond with a letter 

stating that the facility will not be considered to have a 

permit-by-rule or initiate the validation protocol until the 

missing certifications or other required documentation is 

submitted. At the time of the initial receipt or at a later 

date, the director may require changes in the documents 

designed to assure compliance with this chapter. Should 

such changes not be accomplished by the facility owner or 

operator, the facility will not be deemed to have a 

regulated medical waste management facility permit. 

5. A permit-by-rule shall not be transferred by the permittee 

to a new owner or operator. However, when the property 

transfer takes place without proper closure, the new owner 

shall notify the department of the sale and fulfill all the 

requirements contained in subdivision A 2 of this section. 

Upon presentation of the financial assurance proof required 

by Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste 

Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment Facilities (9VAC20-70) 

by the new owner, the department will release the former 

owner from the closure and financial responsibilities and 

acknowledge existence of the new permit-by-rule in the 

name of the new owner.  

6. The owner or operator of a facility operating under a 

permit-by-rule may modify its design and operation by 

furnishing the department a new certificate and applicable 

permit fees under the provisions of 9VAC20-90. For 

modifications of design, the new certificate shall be prepared 

by a professional engineer and shall include new 

documentation required under subdivision A 2 of this 

section, as applicable, and subdivision A 3 of this section. 

For modifications to the operations, the owner or operator 

shall submit to the department a new certificate and 

documentation required under subdivision A 2 of this 

section, as applicable. For treatment units, a new treatment 

plan and revalidation with department approval to begin 

operation will be required for design and operation changes 

that include changing the treatment unit type, changing the 

treatment unit operating parameters, changes in waste 

stream, and adding a new treatment unit. Whenever 

modifications in the design or operation of the facility affect 

the provisions of the closure plan, the owner or operator shall 

revise the closure plan and submit to the department a new 

certificate and documentation required under subdivision A 

2 of this section, as applicable. Should there be an increase 

in the closure costs, the owner or operator shall submit a new 

proof of financial responsibility as required by 9VAC20-70.  

7. The director may terminate a regulated medical waste 

management facility's coverage under a permit-by-rule and 

require closure of the facility when the director finds that:  

a. As a result of changes in key personnel, the 

requirements necessary for a permit-by-rule are no longer 

satisfied;  

b. The applicant has knowingly or willfully 

misrepresented or failed to disclose a material fact in the 

disclosure statement or any other report or certification 

required under this chapter or has knowingly or willfully 

failed to notify the director of any material change to the 

information in the disclosure statement;  

c. Any key personnel have been convicted of any of the 

crimes listed in § 10.1-1409 of the Code of Virginia, 

punishable as felonies under the laws of the 

Commonwealth or the equivalent under the laws of any 

other jurisdiction or has been adjudged by an 

administrative agency or a court of competent jurisdiction 

to have violated the environmental protection laws of the 

United States, the Commonwealth, or any other state, and 

the director determines that such conviction or 

adjudication is sufficiently probative of the permittee's 

inability or unwillingness to operate the facility in a lawful 

manner; or  

d. The operation of the facility is inconsistent with the 

facility's regulated medical waste management plan or the 

requirements of Part IV (9VAC20-121-200 et seq.) of this 

chapter.  

B. Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, in the 

event the director finds an imminent and substantial 

endangerment to human health or the environment, the director 

may issue a temporary emergency permit to a facility to allow 

transfer, treatment, or storage of regulated medical waste. Such 

permits:  

1. May be issued to allow: 

a. Transfer, treatment, or storage of regulated medical 

waste at a nonpermitted facility; 

b. Transfer, treatment, or storage of types of regulated 

medical waste not covered by the permit for a facility with 

an effective permit; 

c. Treatment of regulated medical waste by a new or 

temporary treatment unit or treatment unit or method not 

covered by the permit for a facility with an effective 

permit; or 
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d. Temporary transfer, treatment, or storage activities not 

covered by the permit for a facility with an effective 

permit. 

2. If oral, the emergency permit shall be followed within five 

calendar days by a written emergency permit.  

3. Shall not exceed 90 days in duration.  

4. Shall clearly specify:  

a. The regulated medical wastes to be received; 

b. The manner and location of their transfer, treatment, 

storage, or disposal; and 

c. For emergency treatment units, the treatment plan in 

accordance with 9VAC20-121-330 E. 

5. Shall be accompanied by a public notice including:  

a. Name and address of the office granting the emergency 

authorization;  

b. Name and location of the facility so permitted;  

c. A brief description of the wastes involved;  

d. A brief description of the action authorized and reasons 

for authorizing it; and 

e. Duration of the emergency permit.  

6. Shall incorporate, to the extent possible and not 

inconsistent with the emergency situation, all applicable 

requirements of this chapter, and shall include the applicable 

permit fees under the provisions of 9VAC20-90. 

7. For emergency treatment units, the facility shall not accept 

regulated medical waste for treatment until the results of 

validation testing and operating parameters are submitted 

and approved by the department. 

8. Any permit issued under this subsection may be renewed 

not more than three times if necessary and with appropriate 

justification. Each such renewal shall be for a period of not 

more than 90 days. 

9VAC20-121-320. Effect of the permit.  

A. A regulated medical waste treatment facility will be 

approved to perform its validation protocol following 

determination of a complete permit-by-rule application in 

accordance with the procedures outlined in 9VAC20-121-310. 

Before receipt of waste by the facility, the permittee must:  

1. Arrange for a department representative to inspect the site 

to observe at least one validation test run and perform 

validation testing in accordance with approved protocols. 

2. Submit to the department for approval a summary of the 

validation test results demonstrating the treatment 

effectiveness and specifying the operating parameters based 

on the results of all validation test runs. The report shall 

include the results of all validation test runs. 

B. Following approval by the department of the validation 

results, a regulated medical waste treatment facility may begin 

receiving and treating regulated medical waste as defined in 

the permit-by-rule. The facility shall comply with the operating 

parameters necessary to achieve treatment. A regulated 

medical waste treatment facility shall not receive or treat 

regulated medical waste until the department has approved the 

validation results and operating parameters to be used for the 

treatment unit.  

C. Each facility permitted to accept regulated medical waste 

requires periodic inspection and review of records and reports. 

By accepting coverage under a permit-by-rule in accordance 

with 9VAC20-121-310, the owner or operator agree to the 

specified periodic inspections.  

D. Compliance with a valid permit-by-rule and this chapter 

during its term constitutes compliance for purposes of 

enforcement with the Virginia Waste Management Act. 

However, a permit-by-rule may be modified or terminated for 

cause as set forth in 9VAC20-121-310 A 6 and A 7. 

E. A permit-by-rule does not convey any property rights or 

any sort or any exclusive privilege. 

F. A permit-by-rule does not authorize any injury to persons 

or property or invasion of other private rights or any 

infringement of federal, state, or local law or regulations. 

G. A permit-by-rule may be transferred by the permittee to a 

new owner or operator only if the permit-by-rule has been 

terminated and reissued or modified to identify the new owner 

or operator and incorporate such other requirements as may be 

necessary. Upon presentation of the financial assurance proof 

required by 9VAC20-70 by the new owner, the department will 

release the old owner from the old owner's closure and 

financial responsibilities and acknowledge existence of the 

new or modified permit-by-rule in the name of the new owner. 

9VAC20-121-330. Regulated medical waste management 

plan.  

A. All permitted regulated medical waste management 

facilities, such as regulated medical waste transfer stations or 

treatment facilities, shall prepare and maintain a written 

regulated medical waste management plan. The plan shall 

include a certification page signed by a responsible official. 

This signature shall certify the plan meets the requirements of 

this chapter. The plan shall be maintained in the operating 

record and shall be made available for review by the 

department upon request. The plan shall include, at a 

minimum, the items in subsections B through G of this section.  

B. A written waste acceptance plan, which includes, at a 

minimum: 

1. Types and quantities of regulated medical waste to be 

managed, including sources of the waste and proposed 

service areas (if waste is accepted from offsite). The plan 

shall identify: 
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a. Acceptable waste types for treatment onsite (if 

applicable); and 

b. Acceptable wastes types to be transferred to another 

approved facility for treatment or management offsite. The 

plan shall include a description of the offsite facility that 

will receive the waste, including name, address, and 

telephone number for the receiving facility and how 

specific waste types will be managed. 

2. Protocols for identification and segregation of regulated 

medical waste from other types of waste, including 

radioactive wastes, hazardous wastes, and other solid waste. 

The plan shall include a description of how incoming waste 

will be monitored to detect the presence of radioactive 

materials and actions that will be taken to verify the source 

of any alarm. 

3. Procedures for handling Category A waste in accordance 

with 9VAC20-121-160. 

4. Facilities that accept regulated medical waste from offsite 

shall include the following: 

a. A description of onsite traffic control, schedules, and 

routing for waste delivery vehicle flow and methods of 

enforcement of traffic flow plans for the waste delivery 

vehicles; 

b. Procedures for arrival confirmatory inspections of each 

delivery vehicle and their loads to ensure that the waste 

has been packaged and transported in accordance with the 

U.S. Department of Transportation Hazardous Materials 

Regulations and this chapter;  

c. A description of how the waste will be off-loaded, 

weighed, and compared to the shipping paper that 

accompanies the waste and how any discrepancies will be 

resolved; and 

d. For each generator or customer, the facility shall 

maintain a signed certificate, contract, or equivalent 

document for each load or inclusive of all loads received 

from the generator in which the generator affirms that the 

loads do not contain unauthorized waste. 

5. Procedures for handling regulated medical waste received 

from onsite or offsite that is not packaged, labeled, or 

marked correctly; leaking, dented, ripped, torn, bulging, or 

otherwise damaged; or not accompanied by a shipping 

paper. 

C. A written description of the procedures for the detection 

and management of unauthorized waste in accordance with 

9VAC20-121-230 K. The plan shall contain, at a minimum: 

1. A list of unauthorized waste types that are not acceptable 

for management at the facility. 

2. Methods used by the operator to prevent management of 

unauthorized wastes, such as routine monitoring and 

observation of incoming waste, generator agreements, and 

informational materials. 

3. Procedures to detect and address any unauthorized waste 

discovered at the facility, including the protocol for 

identifying and contacting the generator and to prevent 

recurrence. 

4. Procedures for containing and storing each type of 

unauthorized waste, such as radioactive or hazardous waste, 

until it is removed for proper management, including 

designated storage locations, storage timeframes, packaging, 

and labeling. 

5. Instructions for documenting and notifying the 

department of receipt and ultimate disposition of 

unauthorized waste. 

D. A written operations plan that includes, at a minimum: 

1. A general description of the overall process and 

equipment used. The plan shall include the following: hours 

of operation; process rate; procedures for daily startup; 

methods, containers, and other devices for the collection, 

off-loading, tipping, and conveyance of regulated medical 

waste from the point of generation or receipt to areas for 

processing; normal loading, unloading, and waste handling 

procedures; and timeframes for transfer or treatment. 

2. Protocols for packaging and labeling regulated medical 

waste for treatment onsite or transport offsite, including 

protocols for labeling or marking wheeled carts, containers, 

conveyance systems, or other items used for moving 

regulated medical waste. 

3. Procedures for temporary onsite storage of regulated 

medical waste until it is collected for treatment onsite or 

transport offsite. The plan shall identify each storage 

location and capacity, the maximum length of time the waste 

will be stored, and procedures used to document compliance 

with required storage timeframes. 

4. Methods and equipment used to empty, clean, and 

disinfect reusable containers in accordance with 9VAC20-

121-130, including types and quantities of reusable 

containers and disinfectant to be used, disinfection 

procedures utilized between uses, and final disposal in case 

of damage or wear and tear. The plan shall also include a 

description of appropriate personal protective equipment, 

such as puncture and leak resistant gloves, safety glasses or 

face shield, protective coveralls or bib, protective footwear, 

and mask or respiratory protection as needed, used to protect 

personnel when cleaning and disinfecting reusable 

containers. 

5. Procedures for spill prevention and response and how 

spilled waste will be collected, packaged, and the spill area 

decontaminated in accordance with 9VAC20-121-140. This 

includes locations and contents of all spill containment and 

cleanup kits. 

6. Names, addresses, and telephone number of final 

treatment or ultimate disposal facilities to be used for 
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untreated waste and treated residues, facility-generated 

wastes, unauthorized waste, hazardous waste, radioactive 

waste, and other waste bypassed or disposed. 

7. A description of equipment and procedures used to control 

access to areas used for the storage, transfer, and treatment 

of regulated medical waste. The plan shall identify all entry 

and exit points where access is controlled. 

8. Methods and equipment used for routine cleaning and 

disinfection of facility equipment, floors, vehicles, and other 

surfaces that come into contact with regulated medical 

waste. 

9. Measures used to control and monitor for fire, dust, noise, 

litter, odors, vectors, and blowing debris at the facility. 

10. Collection and management of effluent, wash water, and 

other runoff from facility floors, storage and processing 

areas, waste compactors, and reusable container cleaning 

and disinfection areas, including location and discharge of 

drains. 

11. Identification of all appropriate personal protective 

equipment, such as puncture and leak resistant gloves, safety 

glasses or face shield, protective coveralls or bib, protective 

footwear, and mask or respiratory protection as needed, and 

when the items are used to protect personnel managing 

regulated medical waste at the facility. The plan shall also 

include a description of donning and offing procedures for 

personal protective equipment. 

12. A self-inspection plan that at a minimum includes copies 

of the inspection checklists that comply with 9VAC20-121-

230 U of this chapter along with a description of the types of 

potential problems and corrective actions that may result 

from the inspections. 

13. A schedule and description of initial and annual refresher 

training to be provided to employees in-person, in a 

language they can understand, including interactive training, 

and the types and numbers of adequately trained personnel. 

Initial training shall be provided within seven working days 

of employment, and annual refresher training shall be 

provided within one year from the date of the last training. 

Training shall include: 

a. Operational procedures in accordance with 9VAC20-

121-230 V; 

b. Protocols to recognize, manage, document, and report 

unauthorized waste in accordance with 9VAC20-121-230 

K; 

c. Procedures for retraining staff when noncompliance or 

other incidents occur; and 

d. Any other specialized waste training specific to the job 

function.  

14. Procedures for recordkeeping in accordance with 

9VAC20-121-340. The procedures shall address how 

inventory will be managed and methods used to track, link, 

and document specific incoming waste loads to specific 

outgoing waste loads. 

15. A description of the type and estimated daily quantity of 

any facility-generated waste residues and procedures for 

handling and disposal of the residues. 

E. A written treatment plan for each unit used to treat 

regulated medical waste that meets the standards of 9VAC20-

121-240 and 9VAC20-121-250 and includes at a minimum: 

1. A detailed description of the treatment technology to be 

used, including: 

a. An overview of the treatment process and description of 

the treatment unit, including manufacturer, model name or 

number, and treatment capacity; 

b. Procedures for equipment startup and shut down 

including warm-up, loading and unloading wastes, and 

anticipated load size during routine operation;  

c. A description of built-in automatic controls and fail safe 

mechanisms to ensure the waste cannot bypass the 

treatment process;  

d. If applicable, methods used to grind, shred, or puncture 

containers or packaging before, during, or after treatment, 

along with the methods to prevent exposure to the waste; 

contain any aerosol, bioaerosol, or mists caused by the 

process; and treat or filter any air evacuated from the 

chamber during processing; 

e. If applicable, methods to transfer from a grinder or 

shredder to or from a treatment unit under forced draft 

ventilation that removes fumes from the operations area to 

a safe discharge; 

f. Methods for maintaining negative pressure atmospheric 

control in the vessel and filtering all vents, discharges, and 

fugitive emissions of air from the process units through a 

high efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filter with 

efficiency of 99.97% for 0.3 microns. Installation and 

maintenance of filters shall be specified; 

g. Methods to manage effluent including location and 

discharge of drains; and 

h. A description of preventative maintenance that is 

performed on the treatment unit, including on engineering 

and electronic controls. 

2. Identification of acceptable waste types to be treated and 

a listing of types of wastes that shall not be treated. 

3. Treatment unit operating parameters (e.g., cycle duration, 

temperature, pressure, chemical concentration, irradiation 

exposure time, or other treatment parameters as applicable) 

and a description of how the operating parameters will be 

monitored and recorded, including number, type, and 

location of parametric monitoring devices, thermochemical 

indicators, and thermochemical recording devices, as 

applicable for routine operation. 
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4. Identification of the biological indicators to be used and 

documentation that lack of growth in the treated indicator 

corresponds to a 6 log10 reduction of viable spores. An 

explanation of why each indicator is suitable for the 

treatment process and wastes to be treated, including 

referencing any standards, guidelines, or information from 

peer reviewed journals, shall be included. The facility shall 

also specify the:  

a. Type of biological indicators (spore strip, suspension, 

or self-contained), including a copy of the supplier's 

certificate of performance (or certificate of analysis) that 

identifies the organism (genus, species, strain, and 

population), purity, and for thermal treatment systems 

(including autoclaves) the D-value, and Z-value; 

b. Estimated shelf life and storage conditions to be 

maintained;  

c. Culture medium, incubation procedures, and incubation 

time (for self-contained biological indicators) and the 

media, growth, and culture conditions (for non-self-

contained biological indicators), including how the results 

are to be interpreted and recorded;  

d. Carrier system or material and primary packaging;  

e. Relative resistance to temperature, pressure, chemicals, 

irradiation, infectious agents, or any other conditions used 

in the treatment process; and  

f. Number, location, and placement of untreated (control) 

and treated indicators relative to the coldest spot in the 

treatment unit as identified by the manufacturer. 

5. Number, type, and placement of thermochemical 

indicators, including a description of how results will be 

interpreted and recorded. 

6. A validation plan that includes a detailed description of 

the validation testing protocol used to demonstrate effective 

treatment by each treatment unit that meets the standards of 

9VAC20-121-260 and includes: 

a. Surrogate waste load composition, including packaging 

type, porosity, relative percentages of inorganic and 

organic components, moisture content, thermal resistance, 

and a relative breakdown of solid components, such as 

blood culture bottles, plastics (including suction 

canisters), microbiological waste, and sharps; 

b. Load configuration including packing density, 

orientation, and load size; 

c. Number, type, and location or placement of biological 

indicators; thermochemical indicators; thermochemical 

recording devices; and any other methods used to monitor 

operating parameters and accuracy of parametric 

monitoring devices during validation runs to ensure that 

the gauge or electronic read-out is a true reflection of 

conditions inside the treatment unit; 

d. A description of how the results will be interpreted and 

documented; and 

e. Identification of who will conduct the validation testing. 

7. A detailed description of the periodic challenge testing 

procedures used to evaluate the effectiveness of each 

treatment device under full loading, which meets the 

standards of 9VAC20-121-270 and includes:  

a. Frequency of challenge testing to be performed; 

b. Number, type, and location or placement of biological 

and thermochemical indicators, and other methods used to 

monitor operating parameters; 

c. A description of how the results will be interpreted and 

documented; 

d. Procedures used to address challenge test failures, 

including evaluating and correcting any issues with the 

treatment cycle and unit, and management of untreated 

regulated medical waste to include temporary storage or 

diversion to another approved facility for treatment or 

disposal; and 

e. Procedures for reporting failing results of challenge 

testing to the department in accordance with 9VAC20-

121-340. 

8. Identification of all appropriate personal protective 

equipment, such as puncture and leak resistant gloves, safety 

glasses or face shield, protective coveralls or bib, protective 

footwear, and mask or respiratory protection as needed, and 

when the items are used to protect personnel.  

9. Safety procedures used to minimize occupational 

exposure and prevent physical injury to operators during 

loading, unloading, and treatment cycle. 

10. Procedures for handling and disposing of treated wastes, 

including packaging, labeling, and transport. 

11. A copy of the written agreement with each permitted 

solid waste management facility that will transfer, store, or 

dispose of the treated waste in accordance with 9VAC20-

121-280 D. 

F. A written emergency contingency plan that describes the 

organized, planned, coordinated courses of action to be 

followed in the event of emergencies and nonoperation. In 

addition to submission to the department, the plan shall be 

provided to the local police and fire departments, local 

emergency manager, and local emergency health coordinator. 

The plan shall include: 

1. Procedures to minimize hazards to human health and the 

environment from utility failure, fires or explosions, spills, 

leaks and releases, and exposure to regulated medical waste. 

2. A description of the actions facility personnel shall take 

in the event of various emergency situations (fire, explosion, 

catastrophic loss, temporary shutdown, release of regulated 

medical waste or regulated medical waste constituents, or 

other incident that could threaten human health or the 

environment), including evacuation procedures. 
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3. A list of available fire protection and emergency 

equipment, and appropriate uses, such as fire extinguishers, 

emergency safety showers, eye wash stations, spill control 

materials, and alarm systems. 

4. Procedures to be employed in the event of equipment 

breakdown or maintenance events, including standby 

equipment, extension of operating hours, or diversion of 

waste to another facility. 

5. A list of onsite and offsite backup equipment with names 

and telephone numbers where offsite equipment may be 

obtained. 

6. Provisions for loading, unloading, storage, transfer, 

treatment, or other disposal capabilities to be used during 

emergency situations, including when the facility downtime 

exceeds 24 hours.  

7. The designation of alternate treatment areas or plans for 

transfer of stored waste in the event facility or system 

downtime exceeds 72 hours. 

8. Procedures for spill cleanup and decontamination 

following a release of regulated medical waste. 

9. A description of arrangements made with the local police 

and fire department that allow for immediate entry into the 

facility by their authorized representatives should the need 

arise, such as in the case of response personnel responding 

to an emergency situation. 

10. The telephone numbers for local fire and police 

departments. 

11. An identification of personnel designated as emergency 

coordinators. A list of names, addresses, and phone numbers 

(office and home) of all persons qualified to act as an 

emergency coordinator for the facility. Where more than one 

person is listed, one shall be named as primary emergency 

coordinator and the other shall be listed in the order in which 

they will assume responsibility as alternates. The emergency 

coordinator must be onsite or on-call and is responsible for 

responding to emergencies and coordinating emergency 

response measures. 

12. A description of where and how emergency response 

information will be posted. 

G. A written closure plan that identifies the steps necessary to 

completely close the facility or unit at its full operation under 

the permit conditions, which includes: 

1. Procedures for removal of regulated medical waste, 

treated residue, and other materials for proper treatment or 

disposal;  

2. Methods for cleaning and disinfecting the unit or facility 

and all related equipment, structures, and surfaces;  

3. A description of any sampling to be conducted to ensure 

the facility has been decontaminated; 

4. A schedule for final closure including, as a minimum, the 

anticipated date when wastes will no longer be received, the 

date when completion of final closure is anticipated, and 

intervening milestone dates that will allow tracking of the 

progress of closure; and 

5. Actions necessary for facility abandonment or uses other 

than for regulated medical waste management. 

9VAC20-121-340. Recordkeeping and reporting required 

of a permittee.  

A. Regulated medical waste management facilities having 

coverage under a permit-by-rule shall maintain and retain 

records and reports as required by this chapter. 

B. A facility shall retain records whenever monitoring is 

required. 

1. The facility shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original recordings for continuous 

monitoring instrumentation, for at least three years from the 

sample or measurement date. The director may request that 

this period be extended. 

2. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements;  

c. The date analysis were performed; 

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 

analysis; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

C. The facility must maintain accurate written records as 

required by this chapter. Records shall include all records 

required by the facility permit, this chapter, or other applicable 

regulations. Records must be maintained at the facility or 

another location approved by the department for at least three 

years from the date of the record, sample or measurement date, 

treatment date, shipping date, or receipt date. The department 

may request that this period be extended. Records shall be 

available for review by the department as requested.  

D. The facility shall maintain a regulated medical waste 

management plan in the operating record in accordance with 

9VAC20-121-330. 

E. The owner or operator of a regulated medical waste 

management facility under a permit-by-rule that transfers or 

treats regulated medical waste, except for a captive regulated 

medical waste management facility, shall submit a Solid Waste 

Information and Assessment report to the department by 

March 31 of each year in accordance with 9VAC20-81-80. 
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F. A disclosure statement identifying all key personnel as 

required by § 10.1-1408.1 of the Code of Virginia shall be on 

file with the department and updated on a quarterly basis as 

necessary. At least one operator listed as key personnel on the 

facility's disclosure statement shall be licensed by the Board 

for Waste Management Facility Operators as required by 

§ 10.1-1408.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

G. If regulated medical waste is received from offsite, records 

shall be maintained for three years following receipt of the 

waste and shall include the date of receipt, name of each offsite 

generator, transporter, type and quantity (weight or volume) of 

waste received, and dates of subsequent treatment onsite or 

shipment offsite. The facility shall maintain a signed 

certificate, contract, or equivalent document for each load or 

inclusive of all loads received from offsite in which the 

generator affirms that the load does not contain hazardous 

waste or radioactive materials, unless the facility is permitted 

to receive those types of wastes. 

H. If regulated medical waste is shipped or transferred offsite, 

the facility shall maintain records, including copies of all 

shipping papers, specifying the date of shipment, type, and 

quantity (weight or volume) of waste removed from the site 

and the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of both the 

transporters and the destination facility receiving the 

shipments for treatment or disposal.  

I. A regulated medical waste treatment facility shall maintain 

an onsite treatment log at each treatment unit that is complete 

for the preceding three-year period. The log shall record the 

date, start time, end time, and operator of each treatment cycle; 

the type and quantity (weight or volume) of regulated medical 

waste treated onsite; monitoring records for the operating 

parameters (e.g. time, temperature, pressure, and chemical 

concentration) achieved throughout each treatment cycle; and 

the results of all validation and periodic challenge testing. 

Monitoring records shall include original recordings for 

continuous monitoring instrumentation and parametric 

controls as well as the results of all biological and 

thermochemical indicators. Where multiple treatment units are 

used, a working log can be maintained at each unit and such 

logs periodically consolidated at a central location as long as 

the records distinguish which treatment unit is applicable to 

each record. The consolidated logs shall be retained for three 

years and be available for review. 

J. The facility shall retain records of all unauthorized waste in 

accordance with 9VAC20-121-230 K. 

K. The facility must maintain a record of self-inspections in 

an inspection log. The log must include the date and time of 

the inspection, the name of the inspector, a description of the 

inspection, including the identity of the specific equipment and 

structures inspected, observations recorded, and the date and 

nature of any remedial actions implemented or repairs made. 

L. Written documentation of all training received by each 

employee, including the date and topics of the training, shall 

be maintained in the facility's operating record. 

M. A regulated medical waste management facility shall be 

subject to the following reporting requirements. The facility 

shall report to the department any noncompliance, emergency, 

or unusual condition that may endanger health, the 

environment, or the facility's operation. Any information shall 

be provided orally within 24 hours from the time the permittee 

becomes aware of the circumstances. A written submission 

shall also be provided within five working days of the time the 

facility becomes aware of the circumstances. The written 

report shall contain a description of the circumstances and its 

cause; the period of occurrence, including exact dates and 

times; and if the circumstance has not been corrected, the 

anticipated time it is expected to continue. It shall also contain 

steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent 

reoccurrence of the circumstances resulting in an unusual 

condition or noncompliance, to include retraining of staff as 

necessary. Reportable conditions include: 

1. Any interruption to operations that requires 

implementation of the facility's emergency contingency 

plan or diversion of regulated medical waste to another 

management facility; 

2. Releases or discharges of regulated medical waste from a 

fire, explosion, storm, or other emergency that could 

endanger human health or the environment outside the 

facility; 

3. Unauthorized discharge of effluent, wash water, waste, or 

other pollutant to surface water (i.e., offsite, natural water 

body or tributary, including wetlands); 

4. Spills of regulated medical waste in any areas not 

protected from the elements, such as outside of a building;  

5. Storage of regulated medical waste beyond capacity or 

storage timeframes;  

6. Failing results of periodic challenge testing; 

7. Receipt or discovery of unauthorized waste;  

8. Receipt of Category A waste; and 

9. Shipment of regulated medical waste offsite in 

inappropriate packaging. 

N. Copies of all reports required and records of all data used 

to complete the permit-by-rule application must be retained for 

at least three years from the date of the report or application. 

The director may request that this period be extended. 

O. When the permittee becomes aware that the permittee 

failed to submit any relevant facts or submitted incorrect 

information in a permit-by-rule application or in any report to 

the department, the permittee shall promptly submit such 

omitted facts or the correct information with an explanation. 
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Part VI 

Variance Application Procedures 

9VAC20-121-400. General.  

A. Any person affected by this chapter may apply to the 

department for a variance from any requirement of this chapter. 

Variance determinations shall be subject to the provisions of 

the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia). 

B. The department shall not accept any variance application 

relating to: 

1. Equivalent testing or analytical methods contained in EPA 

Publication SW-846;  

2. A change in the regulatory requirements that the applicant 

is currently violating until such time as the violation has 

been resolved through the enforcement process. 

9VAC20-121-410. Variance to requirements.  

A. The director may grant a variance from any regulation 

contained in Part III (9VAC20-121-20 et seq.) through Part V 

(9VAC20-121-300 et seq.) of this chapter to an applicant if the 

applicant demonstrates to the satisfaction of the director that:  

1. a. Strict application of the regulation to the facility will 

result in undue hardship that is caused by the applicant's 

particular situation; 

b. The alternate is equally protective of human health and 

the environment as that provided for in the regulations; or 

c. Technical conditions exist that make a strict application 

of the regulation difficult to achieve; and  

2. Granting the variance will not result in an unreasonable 

risk to the public health or the environment.  

B. Effects of the decisions.  

1. When the director renders a decision under this section in 

accordance with the procedures contained in 9VAC20-121-

420, the director may:  

a. Deny the application; 

b. Grant the variance as requested; or  

c. Grant a modified or partial variance.  

2. When a variance is granted, the director may:  

a. Specify the termination date of the variance; or  

b. Include a schedule for:  

(1) Compliance, including increments of progress, by the 

facility with each requirement of the variance; and  

(2) Implementation by the facility of such control 

measures as the director finds necessary in order that the 

variance may be granted. 

9VAC20-121-420. Administrative procedures.  

A. Persons requesting variance from a provision of this 

chapter shall submit an application for such variance in 

accordance with this section. 

1. All applications submitted to the director shall include:  

a. The applicant's name and address;  

b. A statement of applicant's interest in the proposed 

action;  

c. A description of the desired action and a citation to the 

regulation from which a variance is requested;  

d. A description of the need and justification for the 

proposed action;  

e. The duration of the variance, if applicable;  

f. The potential impact of the variance on public health or 

the environment;  

g. Other information believed by the applicant to be 

pertinent; and  

h. The following statements signed by the applicant or his 

authorized representative:  

"I certify that I have personally examined and am familiar 

with the information submitted in this application and all 

attached documents, and that, based on my inquiry of 

those individuals immediately responsible for obtaining 

the information, I believe that the submitted information 

is true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are 

significant penalties for submitting false information, 

including the possibility of fine and imprisonment."  

2. In addition to the general information required of all 

applicants under this part:  

a. To be successful the applicant shall address the 

applicable standards and criteria;  

b. An explanation of the applicant's particular situation 

that prevents the facility from achieving compliance with 

the cited regulation; and  

c. Other information as may be required by the 

department.  

B. The variance application shall be processed in accordance 

with this subsection.  

1. After receiving an application that includes the 

information required in subsection A of this section, the 

director will determine whether the information received is 

sufficient to render the decision. If the information is 

deemed to be insufficient, the director will request that 

additional information be furnished.  

2. The applicant may submit the additional information 

requested or may demonstrate that the additional 

information should not be required. If the director agrees that 

the additional information should not be required, the 
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director will act in accordance with subdivision 3 of this 

subsection.  

3. After the application is deemed complete:  

a. The director will make a tentative decision to grant or 

deny the variance request.  

b. If the variance request is tentatively denied, the director 

will offer the applicant the opportunity to withdraw the 

request, submit additional information, or proceed with 

the evaluation. 

c. The director will issue a notice tentatively granting the 

variance request. Notification of this tentative decision 

will be provided by newspaper advertisement in the 

locality where the applicant is located. The director will 

accept comment on the tentative decision for 30 days.  

d. After evaluating all public comments, the director will, 

within 15 days after the expiration of the comment period:  

(1) Notify the applicant of the final decision; and  

(2) Notify all persons who commented on the tentative 

decision. 

C. Decision resolution. 

1. In the case of a denial, the applicant has a right to request 

a formal hearing to challenge the rejection.  

2. If the director grants a variance request, the notice to the 

applicant shall provide that the variance may be terminated 

upon a finding by the director that the applicant has failed to 

comply with any variance requirements. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (9VAC20-121) 

Solid Waste Management Facility Permit Applicant's 

Disclosure Statement (Cover Sheet), DEQ Form DISC 01 (rev. 

9/2020) 

Solid Waste Management Facility Permit Applicant's 

Disclosure Statement - Key Personnel Statement, DEQ Form 

DISC 02 (rev. 9/2020) 

Local Government Certification Request, DEQ Form CERT 

01 (rev. 8/2018) 

Regulated Medical Waste Management Facility Permit-by-

Rule Form, DEQ Form RMW PBR (eff. 1/2022) 

Application for Evaluation and Approval of Regulated 

Medical Waste Treatment Technology, DEQ Form RMWTP 

01 (rev. 9/2018) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(9VAC20-121) 

Managing Solid Waste Contaminated with a Category A 

Infectious Substance (August 2019), approved for publication 

by the National Security Council (NSC)-led Domestic 

Resilience Group (DRG) on August 19, 2019. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5395; Filed January 5, 2022, 3:35 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-160. Voluntary Remediation 

Regulations (amending 9VAC20-160-10, 9VAC20-160-30, 

9VAC20-160-65, 9VAC20-160-70, 9VAC20-160-90 

through 9VAC20-160-120; adding 9VAC20-160-57; 

repealing 9VAC20-160-55, 9VAC20-160-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1232 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Meade Anderson, Voluntary Remediation 

Program and Brownfields Program Manager, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 659-

1341, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

j.meade.anderson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1232 of the Code of Virginia directs the 

Virginia Waste Management Board to promulgate regulations 

that facilitate voluntary cleanup of contaminated sites where 

remediation is not clearly mandated by federal or state law or 

other applicable authority. Section 10.1-1402 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the board to promulgate and enforce 

regulations necessary to carry out its powers and duties, the 

intent of the Virginia Waste Management Act, and the federal 

acts. 

Purpose: The goal of the Voluntary Remediation Program 

(VRP) is to facilitate the remediation of sites where 

remediation is not clearly mandated by the Comprehensive 

Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (42 

USC § 9601 et seq.) (CERCLA), the Resource Conservation 

and Recovery Act (42 USC § 6901 et seq.) (RCRA), the 

Virginia Waste Management Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia), the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia), or other applicable authority. The 

remediation of sites protects the health, safety, and welfare of 

citizens as well as resolving environmental liability issues 

while facilitating redevelopment of sites and economic 

development. Currently, sites enrolled prior to July 1, 2014, are 

not assessed annual fees for their continued participation in the 

VRP. Some of these sites have been enrolled in the VRP for 

over 23 years, and agency staff are continuing to expend time 

to oversee the activities of the site. Agency personnel costs for 

some individual sites are estimated to have cost the agency as 

much as $150,000. The purpose of this amendment is to require 

all sites enrolled in the program to pay an annual registration 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-01-20220105140830.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-01-20220105140830.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-01-20220105140830.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-02-20220105142057.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-02-20220105142057.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-02-20220105142057.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/Local%20Government%20Certification%20Request-20220105142258.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/Local%20Government%20Certification%20Request-20220105142258.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/RMW%20PBR%20App%20Form_01-2022-20220105142528.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/RMW%20PBR%20App%20Form_01-2022-20220105142528.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/Petition%20for%20Evaluation%20and%20Approval%20of%20Regulated%20Medical%20Waste%20Treatment%20Technology-20220105142734.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/Petition%20for%20Evaluation%20and%20Approval%20of%20Regulated%20Medical%20Waste%20Treatment%20Technology-20220105142734.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/Petition%20for%20Evaluation%20and%20Approval%20of%20Regulated%20Medical%20Waste%20Treatment%20Technology-20220105142734.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/dibr/cat-a-waste-planning-guidance-final-2019-08%20(1)-20220114155604.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/dibr/cat-a-waste-planning-guidance-final-2019-08%20(1)-20220114155604.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/dibr/cat-a-waste-planning-guidance-final-2019-08%20(1)-20220114155604.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/dibr/cat-a-waste-planning-guidance-final-2019-08%20(1)-20220114155604.pdf
mailto:j.meade.anderson@deq.virginia.gov
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fee to defray a portion of the department's costs of the program. 

VRP registration fees are proposed to increase and be annually 

adjusted for inflation. Additional proposed amendments 

include revisions to the definitions, clarifications of public 

notice requirements, and clarification to the language of the 

eligibility and waiver requirements to encourage additional 

sites participation in the program. 

Substance: Sites are eligible for participation in the program if 

remediation has not been clearly mandated by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency, the department, or a court 

pursuant to the CERCLA, the RCRA, the Virginia Waste 

Management Act, the Virginia State Water Control Law, or 

other applicable statutory or common law or jurisdiction of the 

statutes listed in clause has been waived. The agency proposes 

requiring all sites continuing to participate in the program to 

pay annual fees. The agency proposes raising the registration 

fee amount and adjusting the fees annually for inflation. The 

annual registration fee will defray a portion of the department's 

costs of the program. Additional proposed amendments 

include revisions to the definitions, clarifications of public 

notice requirements, and clarification to the language of the 

eligibility and waiver requirements to encourage additional 

sites participation in the program. 

Issues: This regulation is a voluntary program and has no 

negative economic impact on small businesses and poses no 

disadvantage to private citizens, the regulated community, or 

to the Commonwealth. The VRP provides the opportunity for 

reasonable cleanup goals and protects human health and the 

environment. These cleanups facilitate the sale and reuse of 

industrial and commercial properties, provide economic 

benefits for the buyer and seller, and reduce green space 

development. Communities in the Commonwealth benefit 

when these projects are completed. The cleanup of a 

contaminated site affects surrounding properties by increasing 

property values, tax revenues, employment opportunities, and 

community pride. The citizens, businesses, and local 

governments of the Commonwealth all derive benefits from 

the VRP. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Waste Management Board (Board) proposes to amend the fee 

structure in the voluntary remediation program to make it 

financially self-sufficient. 

Background. The voluntary remediation program (VRP) 

facilitates the cleanup of contaminated sites that might not 

otherwise occur. These are sites where remediation is not 

clearly mandated by the Comprehensive Environmental 

Response, Compensation and Liability Act, the Resource 

Conservation and Recovery Act, the Virginia Waste 

Management Act, State Water Control Law or other applicable 

authority. The program establishes procedures for owners or 

operators to voluntarily remedy contamination at their sites. 

When remediation is satisfactorily completed, the Department 

of Environmental Quality (DEQ) issues a "Certification of 

Satisfactory Completion of Remediation" or "certificate". This 

certificate provides immunity from enforcement of Virginia 

environmental laws. The immunity granted by the certificate is 

limited to the known releases described in the certificate and is 

conditional upon satisfactory performance by the participant of 

all obligations required by DEQ under the program. 

Site remediation protects the health, safety, and welfare of 

citizens and resolves environmental liability issues. As a result, 

DEQ notes that remediation facilitates the sale, reuse or 

redevelopment of affected sites, thereby providing economic 

benefits for the buyer and seller and reducing development of 

undeveloped ("green") space. Communities in the 

Commonwealth benefit because the cleanup of a contaminated 

site increases the value of surrounding properties, which in turn 

increases tax revenues, employment opportunities, and 

community pride. The citizens, businesses, and local 

governments of the Commonwealth all derive benefits from 

the program. 

DEQ reports that the program's administrative costs are 

approximately $1.4 million annually. Historically, federal 

funding has provided the bulk of the fiscal support for program 

operations. However, federal funding of Virginia's program 

has been steadily declining since 2002 because of the increased 

participation of other states, territories, and tribes in this 

program. Approximately $50 million was set aside nationwide 

in 2002 under the federal Brownfields legislation. This amount 

has not changed, but the number of recipients, particularly the 

tribes, has increased over time which decreased the amount 

available to each jurisdiction. The most Virginia received from 

the federal Brownfields grant was $1.18 million early in the 

program however by 2019, this amount had steadily decreased 

down to $486,000. 

This regulation provides for the collection of registration fees. 

The fee structure was last amended in 2014, in response to 

Chapter 366 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly,1 which amended 

the statute governing the VRP.2 As directed by statute, the 

Board removed a cap on registration fees that applied to sites 

that enrolled on or after July 1, 2014.3 This cap had limited the 

one-time registration fee to 1% of the total cost of remediation 

or a maximum of $5,000, whichever was less. At the end of the 

project, the program participant would provide DEQ with the 

total costs of remediation for the project. The registration fee 

would then be calculated based on 1% of the total cost of 

remediation and would be compared to the registration fee paid 

to date. Any overpayment of the registration fee would be 

refunded or in the case of an underpayment, the participant 

would pay the additional required registration fee, not to 

exceed the statutory maximum ($5,000). 

In addition to removing the registration fee cap for all sites that 

enrolled on or after July 1, 2014, the 2014 amendments put in 

place a three phase registration fee structure. Phase I is an 

application registration fee, Phase II is an enrollment 

registration fee, and Phase III is an annual registration fee. 
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According to DEQ, despite the additional fees authorized in 

2014, the fee structure covers only a fraction of the program's 

entire administrative costs. Moreover, the lack of annual 

registration fees for sites that registered before July 1, 2014, is 

problematic because DEQ continues to perform work on the 

pre-July 2014 sites without receiving additional funds from 

those sites. As a result, the program has been incurring costs 

for the continued oversight of sites that enrolled prior to July 

1, 2014, without receiving any annual revenue for these sites. 

DEQ has been heavily relying on federal funding to cover the 

funding shortage. DEQ also notes that even as federal funding 

has steadily declined, more sites have enrolled in the program. 

This has exacerbated the funding shortage, which DEQ states 

has reached an unsustainable level. Evaluations have 

determined an average cost per site to be relatively equal to the 

proposed Phase III fee. 

This action primarily proposes to make the voluntary 

remediation program financially self-sufficient. The proposal 

would require all sites continuing to participate in the program, 

regardless of their enrollment date, to pay annual registration 

fees. The Board would also adjust the fees so the program has 

enough resources to continue its operations. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The voluntary remediation 

program allows property owners to voluntarily clean up and 

obtain the "Certification of Satisfactory Completion of 

Remediation" which in turn provides immunity from 

enforcement unless new issues are discovered. Historically, 

program participants have been private property owners, real 

estate investors and developers, governmental organizations 

and corporations wishing to divest property and resolve 

liability. For example, the owner of a strip mall may wish to 

redevelop a store front that was previously used to operate a 

dry cleaner and now desires to run a day care center. In order 

to cleanup any residual chemicals such as the dry cleaning 

solvent, tetrachloroethylene released to the environment, and 

thereby obtain immunity from enforcement actions under 

Virginia's environmental laws, the owner may choose to 

participate in the program. 

While the project owners pay for the costs of the remediation 

itself, the program incurs administrative costs in terms of 

personnel, travel, and oversight of remediation of the sites. 

DEQ can withhold the certificate of completion for a project 

until all fees are paid, but has no recourse for recouping fees if 

a pre-2014 participant drops out of the program before his 

project is completed or has no interest in obtaining the 

certificate. In addition, the current fees cover only a fraction of 

the actual administrative costs. The costs to DEQ for individual 

pre-2014 sites are estimated to be between $20,000 and 

$150,000. DEQ has had some projects where participants have 

only paid several hundred dollars when the actual program 

administration costs were much more than that. As an example, 

a site enrolled in the year 2000 and paid a registration fee of 

$27.05 and this site is still enrolled in the program with 

minimal progress being made towards completion. Numerous 

sites paid a registration fee of $1,000 or less and have remained 

in the program for years. 

Currently, three types of registration fees are assessed to cover 

administrative costs: Phase I (application registration fee), 

Phase II (enrollment registration fee), and Phase III (annual 

registration fee). Phase I requires the submission of an 

application and the fee and, DEQ staff would review submitted 

materials, agency records and may visit the site. Once DEQ 

determines the site is eligible for participation, the owner is 

charged a Phase II or enrollment fee and then submits a 

voluntary remediation report, which consists of a site 

characterization report, a risk assessment, a remedial action 

plan, documentation of public notice and a demonstration of 

completion. The owner is responsible, at his own cost, to 

remediate environmental hazards on the property. For every 

subsequent year the property participates in the program 

beyond the first calendar year, the owner is charged a Phase III 

annual registration fee. Once remediation is completed and the 

certificate is issued then no further fees are incurred. 

According to DEQ, there are 143 enrolled sites. All of these 

sites have paid a registration fee to participate in the program. 

Seventy-two of the sites were enrolled prior to July 1, 2014, 

and were assessed only a single registration fee of one percent 

of the remediation costs, not to exceed $5,000; these sites are 

not currently assessed annual registration fees for their 

continued participation in the program. Some of these 72 sites 

have been enrolled in the program for over 23 years. Of the 71 

sites enrolled on or after July 1, 2014, 63 have not completed 

the remediation and remain enrolled and are assessed an annual 

registration fee of $4,500 for their continued participation after 

the first calendar year. Administrative costs that exceed the 

fees collected are paid from federal funds. 

Under the current fee structure, program participants do not 

share the full administrative costs of the program operation, but 

stand to directly gain from it. This may create a free-rider 

problem and some adverse incentives. This is particularly the 

case for the pre-2014 site owners who are no longer interested 

in remediating the site in a timely manner, but have no 

incentives to leave the program because they are not assessed 

any annual registration fees. The funding shortage is worsened 

by these incentives. Since federal funding continues to be 

reduced, this presents an unsustainable path for the program as 

funding is divided among more recipients. 

According to DEQ, most entities that participate in this 

program are in the process of trying to sell or develop their land 

and take part in the program in hopes of increasing the value 

of their holding by limiting the environmental liabilities their 

property may carry through the certificate. Simply, the 

participants stand to directly gain from participation in the 

program. 

An economically efficient allocation of limited resources (i.e. 

limited administrative funding for the program) calls for each 

participant to pay for the full administrative costs of their clean 

up. The Board proposes to adjust the fees to make the program 
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financially self-sustainable by the fees assessed. Once the new 

fees go into effect, DEQ plans to distribute a portion of the 

federal funding it receives under this program to the localities 

to assist with the environmental assessment of properties. The 

following table shows the estimated current and the proposed 

changes in the fee structure by site type. The proposed fees also 

include an annual adjustment for inflation according to the U.S. 

Department of Labor Consumer Price Index for all-urban 

consumers.4 

Sites Current annual 

registration fees 

Proposed annual 

registration fees to 

be adjusted by 

inflation 

Pre July 1, 

2014 sites 
None 

($0 X 72 sites) 

Phase III: $525,000 

($10,500 X 50 sites) 

Post July 1, 

2014 sites 
Phase I: $44,000 

($2,000 X 22 sites) 

Phase II: $165,000 

($7,500 X 22 sites) 

Phase III: 

$283,500 

($4,500 X 63 sites) 

Phase I: $66,000 

($3,000 X 22 sites) 

Phase II: $165,000 

($7,500 X 22 sites) 

Phase III: $661,500 

($10,500 X 63 sites) 

Estimated 

Annual 

Revenue 

$492,500 $1,417,500 

Source: Voluntary Remediation Program Regulatory 

Advisory Panel Presentation, DEQ, February 21, 2020. 

As a result of the proposed fee changes for the pre-2014 

projects, some project participants, particularly participants 

who remain dormant before project completion, would either 

chose to pay the additional fees or terminate from the program. 

Such an impact would improve the economic allocation of the 

program's administrative resources by either requiring dormant 

participants to pay for the costs they may be unnecessarily 

imposing on the program or eliminate such unnecessary costs 

if they terminate from the program. DEQ estimates that of the 

72 sites that entered the program prior to July 1, 2014, up to 22 

may terminate from the program rather than pay the proposed 

annual registration fee of $10,500. 

The proposed fee increase for post-2014 projects would raise 

participation costs, encourage speedy project completion, and 

free up federal funds to be used within the grant requirements 

to enhance the state programs with a portion to be utilized for 

environmental assessments in localities. In general, higher 

participation costs would be expected to discourage voluntary 

remediation activities; however, DEQ notes that the increase 

in fees would be relatively small compared to overall project 

costs and economic gains an owner may expect from his 

remediated property. Thus, this potential negative impact 

would likely be small. In addition, participation in the program 

is voluntary. We can reliably infer that by enrolling in the 

program, and maintaining enrollment, a project owner reveals 

that the expected economic gains exceed the likely costs. DEQ 

also expects about 22 new sites to register for the program 

annually. The amount that would likely be available to be used 

within the grant requirements to enhance the state programs 

with a portion available to be utilized for environmental 

assessments in localities which would be approximately 

$486,000 based on 2019 data, but that amount would likely be 

smaller in the future as more and more jurisdictions participate 

nationally in the federal Brownfields program and the amount 

of the federal grant decreases. 

Additional proposed amendments include revisions to the 

definitions, clarification of public notice requirements, and 

clarification to the language of the eligibility and waiver 

requirements. These amendments will not change the current 

practices and are unlikely to create monetary costs or benefits. 

However, to the extent these clarifying changes streamline 

processes and/or make these regulations easier to understand, 

affected entities would likely benefit. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments apply to site owners voluntarily participating in 

the program. Currently, 143 sites are enrolled.5 Approximately, 

72 site owners who enrolled in the program prior to July 1, 

2014, would be subject to the same annual registration fees as 

the 73 sites that are enrolled after this date. 

As noted above, the proposals to amend the fee structure would 

increase costs for site owners, but also make the program 

financially self-sufficient. An adverse economic impact6 on 

site owners is indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

DEQ estimates that of the 143 of sites currently participating 

in the program 100 are small businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed changes introduce the 

same fees to the sites owned by small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There 

does not appear to be a clear alternative method that both 

reduce the adverse impact and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities8 Affected.9 Once this program becomes financially 

self-sufficient with the proposed fee revenues, DEQ plans to 

use federal funds within the grant requirements to enhance the 

state programs with a portion to be utilized for environmental 

assessments within the localities. In 2019, this amount was 

$486,000, but the amount has been steadily decreasing and will 

likely continue to decrease. However, this regulation contains 

no language about such a distribution. Thus, the proposed 

amendments do not introduce costs or benefits for local 

governments, nor do they particularly affect any locality more 
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than others. Accordingly, no additional funds would be 

required. Any potential benefit to localities depends on how 

DEQ would implement the planned brownfield assistance to 

these organizations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

fee structure is expected to improve economic allocation of 

program's administrative costs and align site owner's 

incentives with the administrative costs the sites generate for 

DEQ. To the extent such effects speed up existing remediation 

programs and redirect DEQs existing administrative resources 

from dormant sites to active sites, we may see an increase in 

the remediated land areas or properties which in turn would 

add to the use and value of such properties and potentially 

reduce real estate development costs. 

___________________________________ 
1See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?141+sum+SB431  
2See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter12.1/section10.1-

1232/  
3See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7004  

4This CPI value changed from 254.943 to 255.548 from April 2019 to April 
2020 representing a 0.24% increase. The CPI can also decrease and cause a 

reduction in the fees. 

5Data source: DEQ 
6Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
8"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
9§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments require all sites continuing to 

participate in the Voluntary Remediation Program to pay 

annual fees. The agency proposes raising the registration 

fee amount and adjusting the fees annually for inflation to 

defray a portion of the department's costs of the program. 

Additional proposed amendments include revisions to the 

definitions, clarifications of public notice requirements, 

and clarification to the language of the eligibility and 

waiver requirements. 

9VAC20-160-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Adjacent property" means either properties meeting at a 

shared property boundary or parcels of land that are not widely 

separated, including at a point or corner, or separated only by 

one or more relatively narrow linear features. Such linear 

features may include roadways, railways, and narrow bodies of 

water. 

"Applicant" means a person who has applied to the program 

but is not a participant. 

"Authorized agent" means any person who is authorized in 

writing by the applicant, site owner, or participant to fulfill the 

requirements of this program. 

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board. 

"Carcinogen" means a chemical classification for the purpose 

of risk assessment as an agent that is known or suspected to 

cause cancer in humans, including a known or likely human 

carcinogen or a probable or possible human carcinogen under 

an U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) weight-of-

evidence classification system. 

"Certificate" means a written certification of satisfactory 

completion of remediation issued by the department pursuant 

to § 10.1-1232 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Completion" means fulfillment of the commitment agreed to 

by the participant as part of this program. 

"Contaminant" means any man-made or man-induced 

alteration of the chemical, physical, or biological integrity of 

soils, sediments, air and surface water, or groundwater 

including such alterations caused by any hazardous substance 

(as defined in the Comprehensive Environmental Response, 

Compensation, and Liability Act, 42 USC § 9601(14)), 

hazardous waste (as defined in 9VAC20-60), solid waste (as 

defined in 9VAC20-81), petroleum (as defined in Articles 9 

(§ 62.1-44.34:8 et seq.) and 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.) of the 

Virginia State Water Control Law), or natural gas. 

"Cost of remediation" means all costs incurred by the 

participant pursuant to activities necessary for completion of 

voluntary remediation at the site, based on an estimate of the 

net present value (NPV) of the combined costs of the site 

investigation, report development, remedial system 

installation, operation and maintenance, and all other costs 

associated with participating in the program and addressing the 

contaminants of concern at the site. 

"Covenant" means a servitude that imposes land use controls. 

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality of the Commonwealth of Virginia or its successor 

agency. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Engineering controls" means physical modification to a site 

or facility to reduce or eliminate potential for exposure to 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?141%20sum%20SB431
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter12.1/section10.1-1232/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter12.1/section10.1-1232/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7004
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contaminants. These include stormwater conveyance systems, 

pump and treat systems, slurry walls, vapor mitigation 

systems, liner systems, caps, monitoring systems, and leachate 

collection systems.  

"Environmental covenant" means a servitude arising under an 

environmental response project that imposes activity and use 

limitations pursuant to the Uniform Environmental Covenants 

Act (§ 10.1-1238 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Hazard index" or "HI" means the sum of more than one 

hazard quotient for multiple contaminants or multiple exposure 

pathways or both. The HI is calculated separately for chronic, 

subchronic, and shorter duration exposures. 

"Hazard quotient" means the ratio of a single contaminant 

exposure level over a specified time period to a reference dose 

for that contaminant derived from a similar period. 

"Hydraulic gradient" means the change in total hydraulic 

head, measured at two or more points within an underground 

layer of water-bearing permeable materials, divided by the 

distance over which the change occurs. 

"Incremental upper-bound lifetime cancer risk" means a 

conservative estimate of the incremental probability of an 

individual developing cancer over a lifetime as a result of 

exposure to the potential carcinogen. Upper-bound lifetime 

cancer risk is likely to overestimate "true risk." 

"Institutional controls" means legal or contractual restrictions 

on property use that remain effective after remediation is 

completed and are used to reduce or eliminate the potential for 

exposure to contaminants. The term may include deed, land 

use, and water use restrictions and environmental covenants.  

"Land use controls" means legal, contractual, or physical 

restrictions on the use of, or access to, a site property to reduce 

or eliminate potential for exposure to contaminants or prevent 

activities that could interfere with the effectiveness of 

remediation. Land use controls include engineering and 

institutional controls. 

"Monitored natural attenuation" means a remediation process 

that monitors the natural or enhanced attenuation process. 

"Natural attenuation" means the processes by which 

contaminants break down naturally in the environment. 

Natural attenuation processes include a variety of physical, 

chemical, or biological processes that, under favorable 

conditions, act without human intervention to reduce the mass, 

toxicity, mobility, volume, or concentrations of contaminants 

in soil or groundwater. 

"Noncarcinogen" means a chemical classification for the 

purposes of risk assessment as an agent for which there is either 

inadequate toxicological data or is not likely to be a carcinogen 

based on an EPA weight-of-evidence classification system. 

"Owner" means any person currently owning or holding legal 

or equitable title or possessory interest in a property, including 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, or a political subdivision 

thereof, including title or control of a property conveyed due 

to bankruptcy, foreclosure, tax delinquency, abandonment, or 

similar means. 

"Participant" means a person who has received confirmation 

of eligibility and has remitted payment of the phase 2 

registration fee. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation, or 

any other legal entity. 

"Post-certificate monitoring" means monitoring of 

environmental or site conditions stipulated as a condition of 

issuance of the certificate. 

"Program" means the Virginia Voluntary Remediation 

Program. 

"Property" means a parcel of land defined by the boundaries 

in the deed. 

"Reference dose" means an estimate of a daily exposure level 

for the human population, including sensitive subpopulations, 

that is likely to be without an appreciable risk of deleterious 

effects during a lifetime. 

"Registration fee" means the fees paid to apply for, obtain 

eligibility for, enroll in, and participate in the Voluntary 

Remediation Program. 

"Release" means any spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring, 

emitting, emptying, discharging, injecting, escaping, leaching, 

dumping, or disposing of any contaminant into the 

environment. 

"Remediation" means actions taken to clean up, mitigate, 

correct, abate, minimize, eliminate, control, contain, or prevent 

a release of a contaminant into the environment in order to 

protect human health and the environment. Remediation may 

include, when appropriate and approved by the department, 

land use controls, natural attenuation, and monitored natural 

attenuation. 

"Remediation level" means the concentration of a 

contaminant with applicable land use controls that is protective 

of human health and the environment. 

"Restricted use" means any use other than residential. 

"Risk" means the probability that a contaminant will cause an 

adverse effect in exposed humans or to the environment. 

"Risk assessment" means the process used to determine the 

risk posed by contaminants released into the environment. 

Elements include identification of the contaminants present in 

the environmental media, assessment of exposure and 

exposure pathways, assessment of the toxicity of the 

contaminants present at the site, characterization of human 

health risks, and characterization of the impacts or risks to the 

environment. 
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"Risk management" means the process of identifying, 

evaluating, and selecting actions to reduce risk to human health 

and the environment. 

"Site" means any property or portion thereof, as agreed to and 

defined by the participant and the department, which that 

contains or may contain contaminants being addressed under 

this program. 

"Termination" means the formal discontinuation of 

participation in the Voluntary Remediation Program without 

obtaining a certificate. 

"Unrestricted use" means the designation of acceptable future 

use for a site at which the remediation levels, based on either 

background or standard residential exposure factors, have been 

attained throughout the site in all media. 

9VAC20-160-30. Eligibility criteria. 

A. Applicants and proposed sites shall meet eligibility criteria 

as defined in this section. 

B. Eligible applicants are any persons who own, operate, have 

a security interest in, or enter into a contract for the purchase 

or use of an eligible site. Those who wish to voluntarily 

remediate a site may apply to participate in the program. Any 

person who is an authorized agent of any of the parties 

identified in this subsection may apply to participate in the 

program. 

Applicants who are not site owners must demonstrate that 

they have access to the property at the time of payment of the 

phase 2 registration fee in accordance with 9VAC20-160-60 

and must maintain such right of access until a certificate is 

issued or participation in the program is terminated pursuant to 

9VAC20-160-100. 

C. Sites are eligible for participation in the program if (i) 

remediation has not been clearly mandated by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency, the department, or a court 

pursuant to the Comprehensive Environmental Response, 

Compensation and Liability Act (42 USC § 9601 et seq.), the 

Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (42 USC § 6901 et 

seq.), the Virginia Waste Management Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia), the Virginia State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), or other 

applicable statutory or common law; or (ii) jurisdiction of the 

statutes listed in clause (i) has been waived. 

1. A site on which an eligible party applicant or another 

person has performed remediation of a release is potentially 

may be eligible for the program (i) if the actions can be 

documented in a way so that the actions are shown to be 

equivalent to the requirements for this chapter, and (ii) 

provided the site meets applicable remediation levels. 

2. Petroleum A site containing petroleum or oil releases not 

mandated for remediation under Articles 9 (§ 62.1-44.34:8 

et seq.) and 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.) of the Virginia State 

Water Control Law may be eligible for participation in the 

program. 

3. Where A site where an applicant raises establishes a 

genuine issue based on documented evidence as to the legal 

or factual applicability of regulatory programs in subsection 

D of this section, the site may be eligible for the program. 

Such evidence may include a demonstration that: 

a. It is not clear whether the release involved a waste 

material or a virgin material for which remediation has 

been clearly mandated; 

b. It is not clear that whether the release occurred after is 

subject to the relevant regulations became effective listed 

in subsection D of this section; or 

c. It is not clear that whether the release occurred at a 

regulated unit is a new release or an existing release. 

D. For the purposes of this chapter, remediation has been 

clearly mandated if any of the following conditions exist, 

unless jurisdiction for such mandate has been waived. Any 

such waiver is conditioned on and subject to the applicant 

enrolling in and completing the program and obtaining a 

certificate: 

1. Remediation of the release is the subject of a permit issued 

by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or the 

department, a closure plan, an administrative order, a court 

order, or a consent order, or the site is on the National 

Priorities List; 

2. The site is one at which the release occurred (i) one or 

more of the following exists: 

a. The release is subject to the Virginia Hazardous Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-60) (VHWMR), is; 

b. Is a permitted facility, is; 

c. Is applying for or should have applied for a permit, is 

under; or 

d. Is under interim status or should have applied for 

interim status, or was previously under interim status, and 

(ii) is thereby subject to requirements of the VHWMR; 

3. The site at which the release occurred has been determined 

by the department prior to the application submittal date to 

be an open dump or unpermitted solid waste management 

facility under 9VAC20-81-45 of the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations and such conditions still exist that 

made the site an open dump or unpermitted solid waste 

management facility; 

4. The department determines that the release poses an 

imminent and substantial threat to human health or the 

environment; or 

5. Remediation of the release is otherwise the subject of a 

response action or investigation required by local, state, or 

federal law or regulation. 
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E. The department may determine that a site under 

subdivision D 3 of this section may is eligible to participate in 

the program provided that if such participation complies with 

the substantive requirements of the applicable regulations is 

deemed acceptable under a memorandum of agreement 

between the department and the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency and such participation otherwise complies with the 

substantive requirements of the program. 

9VAC20-160-55. Registration fees for applications received 

prior to January 29, 2014. (Repealed.) 

A. For applicants that submitted an application that was 

received by the department prior to January 29, 2014, the 

registration fee submitted and any registration fee refund 

sought shall be in accordance with the requirements of this 

section. On and after July 1, 2014, any addition of acreage to a 

site participating in the program based upon an application 

subject to registration fees under this section shall require a 

new application for the additional acreage, which shall be 

subject to registration fees pursuant to the requirements of 

9VAC20-160-65. If the participant elects to subdivide the site 

or conduct a phased remediation project requiring multiple 

certificates for the site, the additional site shall be subject to 

phase 2 registration fees as required by 9VAC20-160-65 C 1 b 

and phase 3 registration fees as required by 9VAC20-160-65 

D 6.  

B. The registration fee shall be at least 1.0% of the actual cost 

of the remediation at the site, not to exceed $5,000. To 

determine the appropriate registration fee, the applicant shall 

provide an estimate of the anticipated total cost of remediation 

and remit that amount. As an alternative to providing an 

estimate, the applicant may elect to pay the maximum 

registration fee. 

C. If the participant did not elect to remit the maximum 

registration fee, the participant shall provide the department 

with the actual total cost of the remediation prior to issuance 

of a certificate. The department shall calculate any balance 

adjustment to be made to the initial registration fee. Any 

negative balance owed to the department shall be paid by the 

participant prior to the issuance of a certificate. Any 

overpayment to be refunded to the participant shall be remitted 

by the department with issuance of the certificate.  

D. If the participant elected to remit the maximum registration 

fee and an overpayment has been made, the department shall 

refund any balance owed to the participant after receiving the 

actual total cost of remediation. If no remedial cost summary 

is provided to the department within 60 days of the participant's 

receipt of the certificate, the participant will have waived the 

right to a refund.  

9VAC20-160-57. Transition to new fee structure for 

participants that paid registration fees for applications 

received prior to July 1, 2014.  

A. In accordance with § 10.1-1232 A 5 of the Code of 

Virginia, applications submitted prior to July 1, 2014, were 

required to submit a registration fee of at least 1.0% of the 

actual cost of remediation at the site, not to exceed $5,000. 

Registration fees submitted by participants prior to July 1, 

2014, are held in an account until a certificate is issued. 

Participants that submitted a registration fee prior to July 1, 

2014, shall notify the department by (insert date 60 days after 

effective date of the regulation) which of the following options 

they select: 

1. Continue participation in the program. 

a. If the participant remitted the maximum $5,000 

registration fee and an overpayment has been made, the 

participant shall provide the department with the actual 

costs of remediation by (insert date 60 days after the 

effective date of the regulation). The department shall 

refund any balance owed to the participant after receiving 

that actual cost of remediation. If no remedial cost 

summary is provided to the department by (insert date 60 

days after the effective date of this regulation), the 

participant will have waived the right to a refund; or 

b. If the participant did not remit the maximum $5,000 

registration fee, the participant shall provide the 

department with the actual total cost of remediation by 

(insert date 60 days after the effective date of this 

regulation). The department shall calculate any balance 

adjustment to be made to the registration fee. The 

department shall refund any balance owed to the 

participant after receiving that actual cost of remediation. 

Any negative balance owed to the department shall be paid 

by the participant within 60 days of notification by the 

department to continue to participate in the program. 

Continued participation in the program means the 

participant waives the right to a refund. 

2. Terminate participation in the program. The participant 

shall notify the department they are terminating participation 

in the program. No portion of the registration fee will be 

refunded if participation is terminated pursuant to 9VAC20-

160-100.  

B. Participants that submitted applications prior to July 1, 

2014, that have not been issued a certificate are required to 

submit phase 3 registration fees in accordance with 9VAC20-

160-65 D to continue participation in the program. 

9VAC20-160-60. Registration fees for applications received 

on or after January 29, 2014, and prior to July 1, 2014. 

(Repealed.) 

A. In accordance with § 10.1-1232 A 5 of the Code of 

Virginia, the applicant shall submit a registration fee to defray 

the cost of the program. For applicants submitting an 
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application that is received by the department on or after 

January 29, 2014, and prior to July 1, 2014, the registration fee 

submitted and any registration fee refund sought shall be in 

accordance with the requirements of this section. On and after 

July 1, 2014, any addition of acreage to a site participating in 

the program based upon an application subject to registration 

fees under this section shall require a new application for the 

additional acreage, which shall be subject to registration fees 

pursuant to the requirements of 9VAC20-160-65. If the 

participant elects to subdivide the site or conduct a phased 

remediation project requiring multiple certificates for the site, 

the additional site shall be subject to phase 2 registration fees 

as required by 9VAC20-160-65 C 1 b and phase 3 registration 

fees as required by 9VAC20-160-65 D 6. 

B. The preliminary registration fee shall be $5,000. Payment 

shall be required after eligibility has been verified by the 

department and prior to technical review of submittals pursuant 

to 9VAC20-160-80. Payment shall be made payable to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and remitted to Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1104, 

Receipts Control, Richmond, VA 23218.  

C. Failure to remit the required registration fee within 90 days 

of the date of eligibility determination shall result in the loss of 

eligibility status of the applicant. The applicant must 

reestablish applicant eligibility for participation in the program 

and the eligibility of the site, unless the department agrees to 

extend the period for remitting the registration fee. Once 

eligibility is lost for failure to remit the registration fee 

pursuant to this subsection, the applicant shall submit a new 

application in order to reestablish applicant eligibility for 

participation in the program and the eligibility of the site and 

shall be subject to the registration fees under the provisions of 

9VAC20-160-65.  

D. Upon completion of remediation and issuance of the 

certificate pursuant to 9VAC20-160-110, the participant 

whose final cost of remediation is less than $500,000 may seek 

a refund of a portion of the preliminary registration fee. The 

refund amount shall be reconciled as the difference between 

the preliminary registration fee and the final registration fee 

amounts. 

1. In order to receive a refund, the participant shall provide 

the department with a summary of the final cost of 

remediation within 60 days of issuance of a certificate. The 

final registration fee amount for such projects shall be 

calculated as 1.0% of the final cost of remediation. The 

department shall review the summary, calculate the refund 

amount due, and issue a refund to the participant.  

2. If no summary of the final cost of remediation is provided 

to the department within 60 days of issuance of the 

certificate, the final registration fee amount shall be equal to 

the preliminary registration fee amount, and no portion of 

the preliminary registration fee shall be refunded. 

3. Concurrence with the summary of the final cost of 

remediation does not constitute department verification of 

the actual cost incurred. 

E. No portion of the preliminary registration fee will be 

refunded if participation is terminated pursuant to the 

provisions of 9VAC20-160-100. 

9VAC20-160-65. Registration fees for applications received 

on or after July 1, 2014. 

A. In accordance with § 10.1-1232 A 5 of the Code of 

Virginia, the applicant shall submit a registration fee to defray 

the cost of the program. For applications received by the 

department on and after July 1, 2014, the The registration fee 

shall be remitted in three phases as required by this section. 

1. Registration fees shall be adjusted annually on November 

1 by the change in the Consumer Price Index. The annual 

adjustment of the registration fees shall be based upon the 

annual registration fee amount for the preceding calendar 

year and the change in the CPI value published by the U.S. 

Department of Labor for all-urban consumers over the 12-

month period ending on April 30 of the calendar year 

preceding the calendar year in which the registration fee is 

assessed. 

2. The Consumer Price Index for all-urban consumers is 

published by the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor 

Statistics, U.S. All items, CUUR0000SA0.  

3. Registration fees shall be rounded to the nearest dollar. 

4. All fees included in this regulation shall be adjusted 

annually using the process described in subdivisions 1, 2, 

and 3 of this subsection. 

5. Registration fees shall be rounded to the nearest dollar. 

6. All fees included in this chapter shall be adjusted annually 

using the process described in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this 

subsection. 

B. Phase 1 of the registration fee shall be an application fee 

in the amount of $2,000. The initial phase 1 registration fee is 

$3,000. 

1. Payment of the phase 1 registration fee is required for each 

application received by the department on or after July 1, 

2014. 

2. The phase 1 registration fee is due when the application is 

submitted and shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia. 

3. The phase 1 registration fee shall be submitted separately 

from the application package and remitted to Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1104, 

Receipts Control, Richmond, VA 23218. 

4. An application is not administratively complete until the 

phase 1 registration fee is received by the department. 
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Review of an application for eligibility in accordance with 

9VAC20-160-30 and 9VAC20-160-40 shall not commence 

until the application is administratively complete. 

C. Phase 2 of the registration fee shall be an eligibility fee in 

the amount of $7,500. The initial phase 2 registration fee is 

$7,500. 

1. Payment of the phase 2 registration fee shall be required 

after eligibility has been verified by the department and prior 

to technical review of submittals pursuant to 9VAC20-160-

80. Upon receipt of the phase 2 registration fee, the site and 

applicant shall be considered by the department to be 

participating in the program. 

a. A phase 2 registration fee shall be required from the 

applicant for each site that has been determined to be 

eligible for participation in the program based upon an 

application received by the department on or after July 1, 

2014. 

b. A separate phase 2 registration fee is required for each 

section of a phased remediation project that requires a 

separate eligibility determination or for any site that 

requires a separate certificate issued for that section 

pursuant to 9VAC20-160-110. In the event that the phased 

remediation work continues beyond November 1, then 

phase 3 registration fees shall also be billed and remitted 

annually until project completion in accordance with 

subsection D of this section. 

c. No phase 2 registration fee shall be required for a site 

that has been determined to be eligible for participation in 

the program based upon an application received by the 

department prior to July 1, 2014, unless the site requires 

more than a single certificate to be issued. 

d. If multiple certificates are issued at the same time for 

different portions of a project pursuant to 9VAC20-160-

110, a phase 1 fee shall be due for each certificate after the 

first. 

2. Payments of phase 2 registration fees shall (i) be made 

payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, (ii) include the 

Voluntary Remediation Program (VRP) ID number assigned 

by the department, and (iii) be remitted to Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1104, 

Receipts Control, Richmond, VA 23218. The phase 2 

registration fees shall be remitted to the department within 

90 days after date of the eligibility determination unless the 

department agrees to extend the period for remitting the 

phase 2 registration fee. 

3. Failure to remit the required phase 2 registration fee in 

accordance with subdivision 2 of this subsection within 90 

days after the date of eligibility determination shall result in 

the loss of eligibility status of the applicant and the site. After 

such loss of eligibility, the applicant must reestablish 

eligibility in order to participate in the program. 

a. The department shall mail notification of nonpayment 

of the phase 2 registration fee and pending loss of 

eligibility at least 30 days prior to loss of the applicant's 

and the site's eligibility. 

b. If eligibility is lost as a result of failure to remit a phase 

2 registration fee, the applicant shall pay new phase 1 and 

phase 2 registration fees as part of reestablishing 

eligibility. 

D. Phase 3 of the registration fee shall be an annual program 

cost defrayment fee in the amount of $4,500. If a The initial 

phase 3 registration fee is $10,500. Any site (i) that has been 

determined to be eligible for participation in the Voluntary 

Remediation Program based upon an application received by 

the department on or after July 1, 2014, and (ii) is participating 

in the Voluntary Remediation Program, shall be assessed a 

phase 3 registration fee shall be assessed for that site as 

follows: 

1. On November 1 of each calendar year, any site 

participating in the program on that day shall be assessed a 

phase 3 registration fee if the application on which the 

eligibility determination was based was received by the 

department in a calendar year prior to that year. 

a. For example, any eligible site participating in the 

program on November 1, 2017, based upon an application 

that had been received by the department in calendar year 

2016 will be assessed a phase 3 registration fee to be billed 

on March 1, 2018. 

b. For any site where the application was received prior to 

July 1, 2014, the site is not subject to a phase 3 registration 

fee unless the site requires multiple certificates (e.g., the 

original site was divided and certificates are issued at 

separate times). 

c. b. Sites that are not participating in the program, 

including sites that have not yet been determined to be 

eligible to participate in the program, sites that have had a 

certificate issued pursuant to 9VAC20-160-110 prior to 

November 1, and sites that have been terminated from 

participation in the program pursuant to 9VAC20-160-100 

prior to November 1 are not subject to a phase 3 

registration fee assessment for that calendar year and will 

not be billed on March 1 of the following year. 

2. The phase 3 registration fee is not prorated for 

participation in the program for portions of calendar years. 

3. The phase 3 registration fee assessed for an eligible site 

shall be billed to the applicant on March 1 of the calendar 

year following the November 1 assessment. 

4. The assessed phase 3 registration fee is due on April 1 of 

the billing year and shall (i) be made payable to the Treasurer 

of Virginia, (ii) include the VRP ID number assigned by the 

department, and (iii) be remitted to Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1104, Receipts Control, 

Richmond, VA 23218. 
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5. The phase 3 registration fees shall be remitted to the 

department by the due date specified in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection unless extended by the department. 

a. Failure to remit a required phase 3 registration fee 

within 30 days of the due date shall be cause for 

termination from the program in accordance with 

9VAC20-160-100 A 4. 

b. The department shall mail notification of nonpayment 

of the phase 3 registration fee and intent to terminate 

participation in accordance with 9VAC20-160-100 to the 

participant at least 30 days prior to termination. 

6. No phase 3 registration fee shall be assessed for a site 

participating in the program based upon an application 

received by the department prior to July 1, 2014, unless the 

participant elected to subdivide the site or conduct a phased 

remediation project requiring multiple certificates for the 

site. Sites participating in the program that submitted an 

application to the department prior to July 1, 2014, are 

required to submit phase 3 annual registration fees assessed 

as of November 1 to participate in the program. 

7. Any assessed phase 3 fees shall be remitted to the 

department before a certificate is issued. 

E. The total amount of fees collected by the board shall defray 

the actual reasonable costs of the program. The director shall 

take whatever action is necessary to ensure that this limit is not 

exceeded. 

F. No portion of Voluntary Remediation Program registration 

fees collected pursuant to this section shall be refunded. 

G. If a site has been terminated from the program in 

accordance with 9VAC20-160-100, a new application shall be 

submitted before the site will be considered for a new 

eligibility determination and reenrollment into the program. 

The applicant shall also remit new phase 1 and phase 2 

registration fees in accordance with this section and no 

monetary credit will be given for any fees submitted prior to 

termination. 

H. Amendments to a site's certificate or the associated 

declaration of restrictive covenants issued by the department 

pursuant to 9VAC20-160-110 shall be subject to registration 

fees based on the amendments requested. The land owner shall 

submit a certificate amendment request to the department 

describing the changes being requested. The department will 

review the request and notify the land owner of any additional 

information required and the amount of the registration fee to 

be remitted as follows: 

1. For amendments to the certificate or the associated 

declaration of restrictive covenants not requiring a technical 

review by the department, only a phase 1 registration fee 

shall be required. 

2. For amendment requests that require technical review by 

the department, no phase 1 registration fee payment in the 

amount of one half of the phase 3 registration fee shall be 

required, but a reduced phase 2 registration fee in the amount 

of $4,500 shall be required. In the event that the amendment 

request also meets the phase 3 registration fee criteria in 

subsection D of this section based upon the date that the 

department received the amendment request being the date 

of the application for such purpose, phase 3 registration fees 

shall also be billed and remitted. 

I. For a site that has been determined to be eligible for 

participation in the program based upon an application 

received by the department, a request to change the participant 

for such site received by the department will not in and of itself 

subject the site to the fees under this section. 

9VAC20-160-70. Work to be performed. 

A. The Voluntary Remediation Report shall consist of the 

following components: a site characterization, a risk 

assessment, a remedial plan, a demonstration of completion, 

and documentation of public notice. Each separate component 

of the Voluntary Remediation Report shall be submitted as 

listed in this subsection: 

1. The site characterization component shall provide an 

understanding of the site conditions, including the 

identification and description of each area known or 

suspected areas of concern (or source) potential sources of 

contaminants); a determination of the sources; the nature and 

extent of releases to all media, including a map maps of 

hydraulic gradient and groundwater flow direction; the 

onsite and offsite vertical and horizontal extent extents of 

contaminants present at concentrations above levels 

consistent with 9VAC20-160-90; and a discussion of the 

potential risks posed by the release. If remedial activities 

have occurred prior to enrollment, this information shall be 

included. 

2. The risk assessment component shall contain an 

evaluation of the risks to human health and the environment 

posed by the release, including an assessment of risk to 

offsite properties; a proposed set of remediation level 

objectives consistent with 9VAC20-160-90 that are 

protective of human health and the environment; and either 

recommended remediation actions to achieve the proposed 

objectives; and recommended risk management activities or 

a demonstration that no action is necessary. The risk 

assessment shall include an uncertainty analysis that 

discusses any remaining risk. 

3. The remedial action plan component shall propose the 

specific remedial activities, a schedule for those activities, 

any permits required to initiate and complete the 

remediation, and specific design plans for implementing 

remediation that will achieve the remediation level 

objectives specified in the risk assessment component of the 

report. Control or elimination of continuing onsite sources 

of releases to the environment shall be discussed. Land use 
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controls and any permits required for the remediation 

process should be discussed as appropriate. If no remedial 

action is necessary, the remedial action plan shall discuss the 

reasoning for no action. 

4. The demonstration of completion component shall include 

the following, as applicable: 

a. A detailed summary of the remediation implemented at 

the site, including a discussion of the remediation systems 

installed and a description of the remediation activities 

that occurred at the site. 

b. A detailed summary of how the established site-specific 

objectives have been achieved, including (i) a description 

of how onsite releases (or sources) of contamination have 

been eliminated or controlled, and exposure pathways 

controlled; and (ii) confirmational sampling results 

demonstrating that the remediation level objectives have 

been achieved and that the migration of contamination has 

been stabilized. 

c. A description of any site restrictions including land use 

controls that are proposed for the certificate. 

d. A demonstration that all other criteria for completion of 

remediation have been satisfied. 

e. A statement signed by the participant or authorized 

agent that to the best of the participant's knowledge, the 

activities performed at the site pursuant to this chapter 

have been in compliance with applicable regulations. 

5. The documentation of public notice component is required 

to demonstrate that public notice has been provided in 

accordance with 9VAC20-160-120. Such documentation 

shall, at a minimum, consist of copies of all of the documents 

required pursuant to the provisions of subsection E of 

9VAC20-160-120. 

B. It is the participant's responsibility to ensure that the 

investigation and remediation activities (e.g., waste 

management and disposal, erosion and sedimentation controls, 

air emission controls, and activities that impact wetlands and 

other sensitive ecological habitats) comply with all applicable 

federal, state, and local laws and regulations. 

C. All work, to include sampling and analysis, shall be 

performed in accordance with Test Methods for Evaluating 

Solid Waste, USEPA SW-846, revised March 2009, or other 

media-specific methods approved by the department and 

completed using appropriate quality assurance and quality 

control protocols. All analyses shall be performed by 

laboratories certified by the Virginia Environmental 

Laboratory Accreditation Program (VELAP). Laboratory 

certificates of analysis shall be included with applicable 

reports. 

D. While participating in the program, the participant shall 

notify the department in writing within 30 days of any change 

in property ownership and if the participant changes, then the 

new participant shall notify the department within 30 days of 

the change. 

E. While participating in the program, the participant shall 

notify the department in writing within 30 days of any change 

in agent for the property owner or the participant the name or 

address of the participant, the authorized agent, or the site 

owner. 

9VAC20-160-90. Remediation levels. 

A. The participant, with the concurrence of the department, 

shall consider impacts to human health and the environment in 

establishing remediation levels. 

B. Remediation levels based on human health shall be 

developed after appropriate site characterization data have 

been gathered as provided in 9VAC20-160-70. Remediation 

levels may be derived from the three-tiered approach provided 

in this subsection. Any tier or combination of tiers may be 

applied to establish remediation levels for contaminants 

present at a given site. 

1. Tier I remediation levels are based on media backgrounds 

levels. These background levels shall be determined from a 

portion of the property or a nearby property or other areas as 

approved by the department that have not been impacted by 

the contaminants of concern. 

2. Tier II remediation levels are derived assuming that there 

will be no restrictions on the use of groundwater, surface 

water, and soil on the site. 

a. Tier II groundwater remediation levels shall be based on 

the most beneficial use of groundwater. The most 

beneficial use of groundwater is for a potable water 

source, unless demonstrated otherwise by the participant 

and accepted by the department. Therefore, they shall be 

based on (i) federal maximum contaminant levels (MCLs) 

or action levels for lead and copper as established by the 

Safe Drinking Water Act (42 USC § 300 (f)) and the 

National Primary Drinking Water Regulations (40 CFR 

Part 141) or, in the absence of a MCL, (ii) tap water values 

derived using the methodology provided in the Regional 

Screening Level Table, Region III, VI, and IX, United 

States Environmental Protection Agency, December 2009, 

using an acceptable individual carcinogenic risk of 1 X 10-

5 and an individual noncarcinogen hazard quotient of 0.1. 

b. Tier II soil remediation levels shall be determined as the 

lower of the ingestion or cross-media transfer values, 

according to the following: 

(1) For ingestion, values derived using the methodology 

provided in the Regional Screening Level Table, Region 

III, VI, and IX, United States Environmental Protection 

Agency, December 2009. 

(a) For carcinogens, the soil ingestion concentration for 

each contaminant, reflecting an individual upper-bound 

lifetime cancer risk of 1 X 10-5. 
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(b) For noncarcinogens, 0.1 of the soil ingestion 

concentration, to account for multiple systemic toxicants 

at the site. For sites where there are fewer than 10 

contaminants exceeding 0.1 of the soil ingestion 

concentration, the soil ingestion concentration may be 

divided by the number of contaminants such that the 

resulting hazard index does not exceed 1.0. 

(2) For cross-media transfer, values derived from the 

USEPA Soil Screening Guidance (OSWER, July 1996, 

Document 9355.4-23, EPA/540/R-96/018) and USEPA 

Supplemental Guidance for Developing Soil Screening 

Levels for Superfund Sites (OSWER, December 2002, 

Document 9355.4-24) shall be used as follows: 

(a) The soil screening level for transfer to groundwater, 

with adjustment to a hazard quotient of 0.1 for 

noncarcinogens, if the value is not based on a MCL; or 

(b) The soil screening level for transfer to air, with 

adjustment to a hazard quotient of 0.1 for noncarcinogens 

and a risk level of 1 X 10-5 for carcinogens, using default 

residential exposure assumptions. 

(c) For noncarcinogens, for sites where there are fewer 

than 10 contaminants exceeding 0.1 of the soil screening 

level, the soil screening level may be divided by the 

number of contaminants such that the resulting hazard 

index does not exceed 1.0. 

(3) Values derived under subdivisions 2 b (1) and (2) of 

this subsection may be adjusted to allow for updates in 

approved toxicity factors as necessary. 

c. Tier II remediation levels for surface water shall be 

based on the Virginia Water Quality Standards (WQS) as 

established by the State Water Control Board (9VAC25-

260), according to the following: 

(1) The chronic aquatic life criteria shall be compared to 

the appropriate human health criteria and the lower of the 

two values selected as the Tier II remediation level. 

(2) For contaminants that do not have a Virginia WQS, the 

federal Water Quality Criteria (WQC) may be used if 

available. The chronic federal criterion continuous 

concentration (CCC) for aquatic life shall be compared to 

the appropriate human health based criteria and the lower 

of the two values selected as the Tier II remediation level. 

(3) If neither a Virginia WQS nor a federal WQC is 

available for a particular contaminant detected in surface 

water, the participant should perform a literature search to 

determine if alternative values are available. If alternative 

values are not available, the detected contaminants shall 

be evaluated through a site-specific risk assessment. 

3. Tier III remediation levels are based upon site-specific 

assumptions about current and potential exposure scenarios 

for the population or populations of concern and 

characteristics of the affected media and can be based upon 

a site-specific risk assessment and risk management. Land-

use controls can be considered. 

a. In developing Tier III remediation levels, and unless the 

participant proposes other guidance an alternative 

methodology that is acceptable to the department, the 

participant shall use, for all media and exposure routes, the 

methodology specified in Risk Assessment Guidance for 

Superfund, Volume 1, Human Health Evaluation Manual 

(Part A), Interim Final, USEPA, December 1989 

(EPA/540/1-89/002) and (Part B, Development of 

Preliminary Remediation Goals) Interim, USEPA, 

December 1991 (Publication 9285.7-01B) with 

modifications as appropriate to allow for site-specific 

conditions. The participant may use other methodologies 

approved by the department.  

b. For a site with carcinogenic contaminants, the 

remediation goal for individual carcinogenic contaminants 

shall be an incremental upper-bound lifetime cancer risk 

of 1 X 10-5. The remediation levels for the site shall not 

result in an incremental upper-bound lifetime cancer risk 

exceeding 1 X 10-4 considering multiple contaminants and 

multiple exposure pathways, unless the use of a MCL for 

groundwater that has been promulgated under 42 USC § 

300g-1 of the Safe Drinking Water Act and the National 

Primary Drinking Water Regulations (40 CFR Part 141) 

results in a cumulative risk greater than 1 X 10-4. 

c. For noncarcinogens, the hazard index shall not exceed a 

combined value of 1.0. 

d. In setting remediation levels, the department may 

consider risk assessment methodologies approved by 

another regulatory agency and current at the time of the 

Voluntary Remediation Program site characterization. 

C. The participant shall determine if ecological receptors are 

present at the site or in the vicinity of the site and if they are 

impacted by releases from the site. 

1. At sites where ecological receptors are of concern and 

there are complete exposure pathways, the participant shall 

perform a screening level ecological evaluation 

demonstrating that remediation levels developed under the 

three-tiered approach described in this section are also 

protective of such ecological receptors. 

2. For sites where a screening level ecological evaluation has 

shown that there is a potential for ecological risks, the 

participant shall perform an ecological risk assessment 

demonstrating that remediation levels developed under the 

three-tiered approach described in this section are also 

protective of ecological receptors. If the remediation levels 

developed for human health are not protective of ecological 

receptors, the remediation levels shall be adjusted 

accordingly. 

9VAC20-160-100. Termination. 

A. Participation in the program shall be terminated: 

1. When evaluation of new information obtained during 

participation in the program results in a determination by the 
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department that the site is ineligible or that a participant has 

taken an action to render the site ineligible for participation 

in the program. If such a determination is made, the 

department shall notify the participant that participation has 

been terminated and provide an explanation of the reasons 

for the determination. Within 30 days, the participant may 

submit additional information, or accept the department's 

determination. 

2. Upon 30 days written notice of withdrawal by the 

participant. 

3. Upon the participant's failure to make reasonable progress 

towards completion of the program, as determined by the 

department, and the participant's subsequent failure to 

respond appropriately within 30 days to the department's 

written request for an update of program-related activities 

and a projected timeline to fulfill the program requirements. 

4. Upon failure to submit required registration fees in 

accordance with 9VAC20-160-55 (for applications received 

prior to January 29, 2014), 9VAC20-160-60 (for 

applications received on or after January 29, 2014, and prior 

to July 1, 2014), 9VAC20-160-57 or 9VAC20-160-65 (for 

applications received on or after July 1, 2014). The 

department shall mail notification of the department's intent 

to terminate participation in the program to the participant at 

least 30 days prior to terminating the site's participation in 

the program. If the participant fails to remit the required fee 

within 30 days of the date of such notification, the site's 

participation in the program shall be terminated. The 

department reserves the right to collect unpaid fees due to 

the department pursuant to 9VAC20-160-57 and 9VAC20-

160-65. 

B. The department shall be entitled to receive and use, upon 

request, copies of any and all information developed by or on 

behalf of the participant as a result of work performed pursuant 

to participation in the program, after application has been made 

to the program whether the program is satisfactorily completed 

or terminated. 

9VAC20-160-110. Certification of satisfactory completion 

of remediation. 

A. The department shall issue a certificate when: 

1. The participant has demonstrated that migration of 

contamination has been stabilized; 

2. The participant has demonstrated that the site has met the 

applicable remediation levels and will continue to meet the 

applicable remediation levels in the future for both onsite 

and offsite receptors; 

3. All provisions of the final remedial action plan as 

applicable have been completed implemented; 

4. All applicable requirements of this chapter have been 

completed; 

5. The department accepts all work submitted, as set forth in 

9VAC20-160-70; and 

6. All registration fees due to the department pursuant to 

9VAC20-160-55, 9VAC20-160-60, 9VAC20-160-57 and 

9VAC20-160-65 have been received by the department. 

B. The issuance of the certificate shall constitute immunity to 

an enforcement action under the Virginia Waste Management 

Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the Virginia 

State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law (§ 10.1-1300 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia), or other applicable Virginia 

law for the releases described in the certificate. 

C. A site shall be deemed to have met the requirements for 

unrestricted use if the remediation levels, based on either 

background or standard residential exposure factors, have been 

attained throughout the site and in all media. Attainment of 

these levels will allow the site to be given an unrestricted use 

classification. No remediation techniques or land use controls 

that require ongoing management may be employed to achieve 

this classification. 

D. For sites that do not achieve the unrestricted use 

classification, land use controls may be proffered in order to 

develop remediation levels based on restricted use. The 

restrictions imposed upon a site may be media-specific, may 

vary according to site-specific conditions, and may be applied 

to limit present and future use. All controls necessary to attain 

the restricted use classification shall be described in the 

certificate as provided in this section and defined in a 

declaration of restrictive covenants covenant. Land use 

controls accepted by the department for use at the site are 

considered remediation for the purposes of this chapter. 

E. If a use restriction is specified in the certificate, the 

participant shall cause the certificate and a declaration of 

restrictive covenants covenant to be recorded among the land 

records in the office of the clerk of the circuit court for the 

jurisdiction in which the site is located within 90 days of 

execution of the certificate by the department, unless a longer 

period is specified in the certificate. If the certificate does not 

include any use restriction, recordation of the certificate is at 

the option of the participant. The immunity accorded by the 

certificate shall apply to the participant and current or future 

property owner and shall run with the land identified as the site. 

F. The immunity granted by issuance of the certificate shall 

be limited to the known releases as described in the certificate. 

The immunity is further conditioned upon satisfactory 

performance by the participant of all obligations required by 

the department under the program and upon the veracity, 

accuracy, and completeness of the information submitted to the 

department by the participant relating to the site. Specific 

limitations of the certificate shall be enumerated in the 

certificate. The immunity granted by the certificate shall be 

dependent upon the identification of the nature and extent of 
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contamination as presented in the Voluntary Remediation 

Report. 

G. The certificate shall specify the conditions for which 

immunity is being accorded, including: 

1. A summary of the information that was considered; 

2. Any restrictions on future use; 

3. Any local land use controls on surrounding properties that 

were taken into account; 

4. Any proffered land use controls; and 

5. Any post-certificate monitoring. 

H. The certificate may be revoked by the department in any 

of the following situations, provided that (i) the department has 

given the owner written notice of the deficiency and (ii) the 

owner has failed to cure the deficiency within 60 days of the 

date of the written notice or some longer period granted by the 

department. 

1. In the event that conditions at the site, unknown at the time 

of issuance of the certificate, pose a risk to human health or 

the environment; 

2. In the event that the certificate was based on information 

that was false, inaccurate, or misleading; or 

3. In the event that the conditions of the certificate have not 

been met or maintained. 

I. The certificate is not and shall not be interpreted to be a 

permit or a modification of an existing permit or administrative 

order issued pursuant to state law, nor shall it in any way 

relieve the participant of its obligation to comply with any 

other federal or state law, regulation, or administrative order. 

Any new permit or administrative order, or modification of an 

existing permit or administrative order, must be accomplished 

in accordance with applicable federal and state laws and 

regulations. 

J. The issuance of the certificate shall not preclude the 

department from taking any action authorized by law for 

failure to meet a requirement of the program or for liability 

arising from future activities at the site that result in the release 

of contaminants. 

K. The issuance of the certificate by the department shall not 

constitute a waiver of the Commonwealth's sovereign 

immunity unless otherwise provided by law. 

9VAC20-160-120. Public notice. 

A. The participant shall give public notice of the voluntary 

remediation. The notice shall be made after the department 

accepts the site characterization component of the Voluntary 

Remediation Report and the proposed or completed 

remediation and shall occur prior to the department's issuing a 

certificate or prior to issuing an amendment to the certificate 

that has additional remedial work or changes in land use 

controls. Such notice shall be paid for by the participant. 

B. The participant shall: 

1. Provide written notice to the local government in which 

the facility is located; 

2. Provide written notice to all adjacent property owners and 

other owners whose property has been affected by 

contaminants as determined pursuant to the provisions of 

subdivision A 1 of 9VAC20-160-70; and 

3. Publish a notice once in a newspaper of general circulation 

in the area affected by the voluntary action. 

C. A comment period of at least 30 days must follow issuance 

of the notices pursuant to this section. The department, at its 

discretion, may increase the duration of the comment period to 

60 days. The contents of each public notice required pursuant 

to subsection B of this section shall include: 

1. The name and address of the participant and the location 

of the proposed voluntary remediation; 

2. A brief description of the general nature of the release, any 

remediation, and any proposed land use controls; 

3. The address and telephone number of a specific person 

familiar with the remediation from whom information 

regarding the voluntary remediation may be obtained; and 

4. A brief description of how to submit comments. 

D. The participant shall send all commenters a letter 

acknowledging receipt of written comments and providing 

responses to the same. 

E. The participant shall provide the following as 

documentation of public notice required in subdivision A 5 of 

9VAC20-160-70: 

1. A signed statement that the participant has provided 

public notice as required by subsection B of this section; 

2. A copy of the public notice and a list of names and 

addresses of all persons to whom the notice was sent; and 

3. Copies of all written comments received during the public 

comment period, copies of acknowledgment letters, and 

copies of any response to comments, as well as an evaluation 

of the comment's impact on the planned or completed 

remedial action or actions. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6078; Filed January 5, 2022, 3:42 p.m. 
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STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts adoption, amendment, or repeal of wasteload 

allocations by the State Water Control Board pursuant to State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 

if the board (i) provides public notice in the Virginia Register; (ii) if requested by the public during the initial public notice 30-

day comment period, forms an advisory group composed of relevant stakeholders; (iii) receives and provides summary response 

to written comments; and (iv) conducts at least one public meeting. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-720-50, 9VAC25-

720-80, 9VAC25-720-120). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Effective Date: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Justin L. Williams, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1125, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments to the Water Quality Management Planning Regulation include adding (i) one new total maximum daily load 

(TMDL) wasteload allocation in the Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin; (ii) two new TMDL wasteload allocations in the 

Roanoke River Basin; and (iii) 13 new TMDL wasteload allocations in the York River Basin. 

9VAC25-720-50. Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin. 

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL # 
Stream 

Name 
TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subdivisions 1 through 219 are not amended; therefore, that text is not set out. 

220. 
Lewis 

Creek 

PCB Total 

Maximum 

Daily Load 

Development 

for Lewis 

Creek, 

Staunton, 

Virginia 

Staunton B12R PCBs 3,040 mg/yr 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where 

the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

2There were no point source dischargers in the modeled TMDL area. 

 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-50 are not amended; therefore, that text is not set out. 

9VAC25-720-80. Roanoke River Basin. 

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL # 
Stream 

Name 
TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subdivisions 1 through 118 are not amended; therefore, that text is not set out. 

119. 
Lynch 

Creek 
Benthic TMDL 

Development for the 
Campbell L19R Sediment 8,069 lbs/year 

mailto:justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov
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Lynch Creek and Reed 

Creek Watersheds Located 

in Campbell and 

Pittsylvania Counties 

120. 
Reed 

Creek 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for the 

Lynch Creek and Reed 

Creek Watersheds Located 

in Campbell and 

Pittsylvania Counties 

Pittsylvania L19R Sediment 22,250 lbs/year 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where 

the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

2WLAs from the Dan River TMDL report represent the WLA for the watershed, which may include North Carolina waters in 

addition to Virginia waters. Virginia permits will be issued in accordance with the Virginia water quality standard. 

 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-80 are not amended; therefore, that text is not set out. 

9VAC25-720-120. York River Basin. 

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL 

# 

Stream 

Name 
TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subdivisions 1 through 51 are not amended; therefore, that text is not set out. 

52. 
Aylett 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, 

King William, and 

King and Queen 

Counties, Virginia 

King 

William 
F23R E. coli 2.42E+11 counts/year 

53. 
Courthouse 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, 

King William, and 

King and Queen 

Counties, Virginia 

King and 

Queen 
F24R E. coli 1.41E+11 counts/year 

54. 
Dickeys 

Swamp 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, 

King William, and 

King and Queen 

Counties, Virginia 

King and 

Queen 
F23R E. coli 2.22E+11 counts/year 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1327 

55. 
Dogwood 

Fork 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, 

King William, and 

King and Queen 

Counties, Virginia 

King and 

Queen 
F23R E. coli 1.79E+10 counts/year 

56. 
Dorrell 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, 

King William, and 

King and Queen 

Counties, Virginia 

King 

William 
F21R E. coli 5.75E+10 counts/year 

57. 
Garnetts 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, King 

William, and King and 

Queen Counties, 

Virginia 

King and 

Queen 
F23R E. coli 8.72E+10 counts/year 

58. Gravel Run 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, King 

William, and King and 

Queen Counties, 

Virginia 

King and 

Queen 
F21R E. coli 1.10E+11 counts/year 

59. 
Herring 

Creek 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, King 

William, and King and 

Queen Counties, 

Virginia 

King 

William 
F21R E. coli 6.30E+11 counts/year 

60. 
Market 

Swamp 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, King 

William, and King and 

Queen Counties, 

Virginia 

King and 

Queen 
F23R E. coli 1.10E+11 counts/year 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1328 

61. 

Mattaponi 

River 

(nontidal) 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, 

King William, and 

King and Queen 

Counties, Virginia 

King and 

Queen, 

King 

William 

F21R E. coli 1.00E+12 counts/year 

62. 

Mattaponi 

River 

(tidal) 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, 

King William, and 

King and Queen 

Counties, Virginia 

King and 

Queen, 

King 

William 

F23E E. coli 1.87E+11 counts/year 

63. 

XDN-

Garnetts 

Creek, 

unnamed 

tributary 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, 

King William, and 

King and Queen 

Counties, Virginia 

King and 

Queen 
F23R E. coli 2.65E+10 counts/year 

64. 

XJG-

Dickeys 

Swamp, 

unnamed 

tributary 

Bacteria Total 

Maximum Daily Load 

(TMDL) Development 

for the Mattaponi River 

and Tributaries Located 

in Caroline, Essex, 

King William, and 

King and Queen 

Counties, Virginia 

King and 

Queen 
F23R E. coli 2.01E+10 counts/year 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where 

the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

2There were no point source dischargers in the modeled TMDL area. 

 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-120 are not amended; therefore, that text is not set out. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7023; Filed January 3, 2022, 2:47 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-90. Regulations for Disease 

Reporting and Control (amending 12VAC5-90-80, 

12VAC5-90-90). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-35 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Kristin Collins, Policy Analyst, Office of 

Epidemiology, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7298, or 

email kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 32.1-12 and 32.1-35 of the Code of Virginia 

authorize the State Board of Health to promulgate the proposed 

regulation. Specifically, § 32.1-35 of the Code of Virginia 

directs the board to promulgate regulations specifying which 

diseases occurring in the Commonwealth are to be reportable 

and the method by which they are to be reported. 

Purpose: The proposed changes are essential to protect the 

health and safety of citizens because they will improve the 

ability of the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) to conduct 

surveillance and investigations, collect necessary public health 

information, and continue to implement disease control 

measures for COVID-19. The changes will position the agency 

to better detect and respond to these illnesses to protect the 

health of the public. 

Substance: Amendments to current regulations will for 

COVID-19: (i) require all suspect or confirmed COVID-19 

case report forms be submitted electronically to VDH; (ii) 

clarify that the category laboratory directors includes all 

entities that hold Clinical Laboratory Improvement 

Amendments Certificates of Waiver so that entities testing for 

COVID-19 are required to report to VDH; (iii) require all 

COVID-19 laboratory reports be submitted electronically to 

VDH; (iv) add the requirement that patient telephone number, 

email address, and ethnicity be included in the list of fields that 

are reported by physicians, laboratory directors, and directors 

of medical care facilities; and (v) add "coronavirus, severe" to 

the list of infectious diseases that shall be reported to persons 

practicing funeral services. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public are the improved 

ability of the agency to control the risk of disease in the 

community based on timelier reporting through VDH's online 

morbidity reporting portal and the improved ability to 

accurately report COVID-19 data. No disadvantages have been 

identified. 

The primary advantage to the agency is that the proposed 

changes improve the focus of surveillance and ability of VDH 

to conduct surveillance and implement disease control for 

conditions of public health concern in a timely manner. The 

changes will position the agency to better detect and respond 

to these illnesses to protect the health of the public. No 

disadvantages have been identified. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented below represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts.1  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (Board) proposes to make permanent a 

discretionary emergency regulation that would add COVID-19 

to the list of reportable diseases.2 Specifically, the proposed 

amendments would (i) specify the patient information to be 

collected and reported to the Virginia Department of Health 

(VDH), (ii) require COVID-19 case and laboratory reports to 

be submitted electronically, (iii) identify all entities 

(physicians, lab directors, and other non-traditional providers 

who conduct COVID testing) that are required to report 

COVID-19, and (iv) add "coronavirus, severe" to the list of 

infectious diseases that shall be reported to persons practicing 

funeral services at the time of transferring custody of a dead 

body.  

Background. The Regulations for Disease Reporting and 

Control provide information about the process and procedures 

for reporting diseases to VDH, including what diseases must 

be reported, who must report them, and other details.  

The 2020 federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic 

Security (CARES) Act requires that every laboratory that 

performs a test that is "intended to detect SARS-CoV-2 or to 

diagnose a possible case of COVID-19 shall report the results 

of each such test to the Secretary of Health and Human 

Services until the end of the Public Health Emergency 

declaration with respect to COVID-19 or any extension of such 

declaration.3 Details regarding who had to report testing data 

to whom, and what information had to be reported, were left to 

the Secretary's discretion. A federal public health emergency 

for COVID-19 was first declared on January 31, 2020, and has 

been renewed every three months since then, most recently on 

October 18, 2021.4  

In order to implement these requirements, the Centers for 

Disease Prevention and Control (CDC) has communicated 

specific requirements for laboratories, including details 

regarding who must make reports (what entities are considered 

"laboratories") and what data elements must be reported.5 The 

CDC requires all COVID-19 testing sites to have a Clinical 

Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) certificate and 

requires every CLIA-certified testing site to report data for all 

mailto:kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov
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diagnostic and screening testing completed, including 

molecular, antigen, and antibody testing for each individual 

tested, within 24 hours of test completion.6 These reporting 

requirements apply to all entities conducting COVID-19 

testing; VDH's reporting requirements described below 

separate reporters into two groups for the purposes of this 

regulation: (a) physicians and directors of medical care 

facilities, and (b) directors of laboratories, including other 

entities that hold CLIA Certificates of Waiver. The CDC has 

also directed all entities conducting COVID-19 testing to 

report testing data to state or local public health departments 

according to state law or policy.  

Subsequently, the Board promulgated emergency regulations 

to clarify and enforce the CARES Act reporting requirements 

and to collect necessary information to guide state-level policy 

making in response to COVID-19.7 Specifically, the Board 

added "Coronavirus, severe" to 12VAC5-90-80 List of 

diseases that shall be reported and a subsection specifying who 

would report COVID-19 tests and how. The proposed 

amendments at this stage largely preserve the changes made at 

the emergency stage, with the exception of one significant 

change that is discussed here.  

The proposed amendments require physicians and directors of 

medical care facilities to report COVID-19 testing data when a 

person who is infected with or is suspected of having COVID-

19 is treated or examined, hospitalized, or admitted to an 

intensive care unit. Physicians and directors of medical care 

facilities would be required to report "the person's name, 

telephone number, email address, address, age, date of birth, 

race, ethnicity, sex, and pregnancy status; name of disease 

diagnosed or suspected; the medical record number (if 

applicable); the date of onset of illness; available laboratory 

tests and results; and the name, address, and telephone number 

of the physician and medical facility where the examination 

was made.8 The proposed language also specifies that case 

reports shall be submitted immediately or within 24 hours by 

entering the information into VDH's online Confidential 

Morbidity Report portal or via electronic case reporting.9  

The proposed amendments include analogous reporting 

requirements for directors of laboratories, including other 

entities that hold CLIA Certificates of Waiver; while the 

patient data to be reported is the same as above, labs would 

also have to report the source of the specimen, the laboratory 

method and the result. Under the emergency regulation, lab 

directors were required to report both positive and negative test 

results; as per the proposed amendments at this stage, lab 

directors would only have to report positive test results. In 

practice, this change would only affect lab directors once the 

federal public health emergency declaration is lifted, since the 

CARES Act requires that every test be reported to the 

Secretary of Health and Human Services and VDH will 

continue to act as a conduit for that information. As for 

physicians, lab directors would also be required to report tests 

within 24 hours, either by entering information into VDH's 

online portals for lab reporting or via electronic lab reporting.10  

Lastly, 12VAC5-90-90 states that, "In accordance with § 32.1-

37.1 of the Code of Virginia, any person in charge of a hospital, 

nursing facility or nursing home, assisted living facility, or 

correctional facility shall, at the time of transferring custody of 

any dead body to any person practicing funeral services, notify 

the person practicing funeral services or his agent if the dead 

person was known to have had, immediately prior to death, an 

infectious disease which may be transmitted through exposure 

to any bodily fluids." COVID-19 was added to the list of 

infectious diseases subject to this requirement at the 

emergency stage; this change would be made permanent. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs.11 The primary benefits of timely 

data collection about COVID-19 suspected cases and test 

results were, and continue to be, the protection of public health. 

In the initial stages of the COVID-19 pandemic, this included 

critical decision making regarding the procurement of personal 

protective equipment for hospital staff and other frontline 

workers, the procurement and allocation of ventilators and 

oxygen and other critical supplies, and hiring and staffing 

decisions for hospitals, nursing homes, emergency rooms, and 

other providers. Funeral services workers would benefit from 

the addition of COVID-19 to the list of infectious diseases they 

are informed of so that they can take adequate precautions. 

In addition, collecting information on both positive and 

negative tests allowed public health experts to calculate and 

report the percent-positivity rate, which served as a leading 

indicator of community transmission at the local, regional, and 

state levels. This information was and continues to be used to 

guide public health policies such as social distancing, 

recommendations (and mandates) regarding masking, travel, 

capacity limits for various businesses, and lockdowns. Thus, in 

addition to meeting federal requirements, the proposed 

amendments have benefited and would likely continue to 

benefit the public, at least as long as the pandemic continues. 

The direct costs of the proposed amendments fall on physicians 

and lab directors who face a significant reporting burden and a 

binding time constraint. To the extent that this reporting is 

required by the CARES Act and the Secretary of Health and 

Human Services, these costs are unavoidable. VDH has 

attempted to mitigate this burden by providing multiple online 

portals and secure electronic transmission methods in order to 

reduce the time and paperwork costs of these requirements. As 

the pandemic has evolved, the criteria for testing have changed 

and tests have become more widely available; people may be 

more likely to get tested in order to travel or attend an event, 

or to get tested more frequently if they have to be present in-

person for work or education. Thus, as the number of negative 

tests increase in general, percent positivity may not be as 

informative or useful as it once was. In recognition of these 

trends, the Board proposes to remove the requirement to report 

negative COVID-19 tests, which would significantly reduce 

the reporting burden for labs, including entities with CLIA 

waivers. At the same time, requiring that positive cases and 

tests be reported would ensure that new "spikes" or "hotspots" 

can be identified quickly. 
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Many of the patient-specific data elements (such as 

biographical and contact information) that would be required 

by these proposed changes are already required for other 

reportable diseases. However, this proposed change is the first 

time that this regulation has required that the telephone 

number, email address, and ethnicity be reported. An indirect 

cost of the proposed amendments, therefore, relates to 

individuals' data privacy and the risk that one's personal 

biographical details, contact details, and health information 

may be accessed by unauthorized persons or entities and/or 

used for nefarious purposes. Such concerns may discourage 

individuals from getting tested even when they do exhibit 

symptoms, which would defeat the purpose of collecting this 

information. All the patient-related data fields included in the 

proposed amendments (except e-mail address) are currently 

required by the CARES Act, so VDH does not have much 

leeway in amending the scope of data collected.12 Further, the 

reported data are transmitted to the CDC and possibly other 

entities, which amplifies privacy concerns since data sharing 

increases the risk of a security breach, even if the data are de-

identified. 

In order to ameliorate these costs in the long run, the Board and 

VDH could revisit the scope of data collection and the list of 

data fields once the federal public health emergency is lifted 

and re-evaluate the proposed requirements. If COVID-19 ends 

up becoming more common and less dangerous, VDH could 

consider only requiring physicians to report cases that require 

hospitalization or admission to intensive care, or only requiring 

lab reports to include select demographic data but no 

personally identifiable information. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect roughly 20,000 physicians, 125 

laboratories, 100 hospitals, and 250 nursing homes in 

Virginia.13 There are currently 7,791 entities with CLIA 

certificates in Virginia (including the 125 laboratories 

mentioned previously) who are potentially impacted by the 

proposed amendments.14 Some of these entities may operate 

multiple testing locations, such as a school district with one 

certificate that covers 13 schools. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.15 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted above, the 

proposal to add new reporting requirements would increase 

costs for physicians, hospitals, nursing homes, labs and other 

testing centers. Thus, an adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses16 Affected.17 To the extent that some of the 

affected laboratories or nursing homes may be small 

businesses, the proposed amendments would appear to 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The number of small businesses impacted by the proposed 

amendments is unknown. Some of the affected laboratories or 

nursing homes may be small businesses and some small 

businesses (not necessarily connected to health care) may have 

acquired CLIA Waivers to offer on-site testing for employees 

or clients. To the extent that offering testing improves 

employee or client satisfaction for the latter category of small 

businesses, their costs may be offset by other gains. 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments increase 

reporting requirements, which requires staff time. An adverse 

economic impact18 on laboratories, including entities with 

CLIA Waivers is indicated because there do not appear to be 

any offsetting direct benefits to these small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet federal requirements and the intended policy goals. 

Localities19 Affected.20 The proposed amendments potentially 

affect all 132 localities, but localities with greater COVID-19 

prevalence may have higher rates of testing; thus, physicians, 

hospitals, nursing homes, and labs in those localities would be 

disproportionately affected. The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments. Accordingly, no 

additional funds would be required. Consequently, no adverse 

economic impact21 is indicated for any particular locality. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment directly. Some 

hospitals, nursing homes, or labs may have hired additional 

temporary staff in order to meet the reporting requirements. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

new reporting requirements for private hospitals, nursing 

homes, and laboratories, including entities with CLIA waivers 

moderately increase their costs. However, given the role 

played by such organizations in responding to the COVID-19 

pandemic and the public health benefits of the data collected, 

it would be unlikely to reduce the value of these firms. Some 

laboratories may have expanded the scale of their operations 

and become more valuable if they were able to hire personnel 

and use technology to more efficiently meet the reporting 

requirements while also performing more tests. The proposed 

amendments do not affect real estate development costs. 

_____________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 
2See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9040 for the 

Emergency/NOIRA stage, which became effective on January 20, 2021 and 

expires on July 19, 2022. 
3See https://www.congress.gov/116/bills/hr748/BILLS-116hr748enr.pdf, Sec. 

18115(a). The Act became effective March 27, 2020. 

4See https://www.phe.gov/emergency/news/healthactions/phe/Pages/ 
default.aspx. As of this writing, there is no indication as to when the emergency 

declaration will stop being renewed. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9040
https://www.congress.gov/116/bills/hr748/BILLS-116hr748enr.pdf
https://www.phe.gov/emergency/news/healthactions/phe/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.phe.gov/emergency/news/healthactions/phe/Pages/default.aspx
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5See https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/lab/reporting-lab-

data.html. 
6See https://www.cms.gov/Outreach-and-Education/Medicare-Learning-

Network-MLN/MLNProducts/downloads/cliabrochure.pdf. Anyone who 

performs testing of human specimens for the diagnosis, prevention or 
treatment of disease or health problems must apply for a CLIA certificate. This 

includes physicians who operate their own in-office laboratories and medical 

care facilities. There are 4 types of CLIA certificates: Certificate of Waiver, 
Provider Performed Microscopy, Compliance, and Accreditation. CLIA 

Certificate of Waiver holders may now include various entities that have 

started conducting some types of COVID tests, such as school districts, 
employers, sports teams, etc. Thus, "labs" and "directors of laboratories" are 

broad classifications in the context of CARES Act reporting requirements and 

this regulation. 
7See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9040. Although 

the emergency regulation became effective January 20, 2021, VDH reported 

that they had begun collecting COVID-19 data in March 2020, as required by 

the CARES Act. The emergency regulation expires on July 19, 2022. 
8Details regarding data elements appear in a new section 80-90 I., titled 

COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2), to specify that they are only required for COVID-
19. VDH has clarified that physicians would not be required to report patients' 

other diagnosed or suspected health conditions, nor be required to submit 

information on any lab tests that are not COVID-19 tests. 
9The proposed amendments include hyperlinks to these online portals. The 

emergency language requires physicians and directors of medical care 

facilities to report hospitalizations and intensive care unit admissions through 
the Emergency Department Care Coordination program. That requirement 

would be removed at this stage. Separately, VDH also created a point-of-care 

reporting portal in September 2020 due to the high volume of point-of-care 
tests that were being conducted for COVID-19 to make reporting easier. 

(https://apps.vdh.virginia.gov/pocreporting/login/login.aspx) 

10This deviates from the emergency stage, which allowed the use of paper Epi-
1 forms or the laboratory's own forms if it contained the required information, 

and computer generated reports containing the required information. 

11The Economic Impact Analysis compares the proposed regulation to the 
regulation in the Virginia Administrative Code. The emergency regulation is: 

1) not in the Virginia Administrative Code (see 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode) and 2) temporary. Thus, the Economic 
Impact Analysis assesses the impact of changing the permanent regulations. 

Consequently, to the extent that the proposed text matches the emergency text, 

some of the benefits and costs described here have likely already accrued. 
12See https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/covid-19-laboratory-data-

reporting-guidance.pdf from https://www.hhs.gov/coronavirus/testing/covid-

19-diagnostic-data-reporting/index.html. The list of data fields on pages 2-4 
contains all the data fields required by VDH in the proposed text, except the 

patient's email address. Individuals may choose not to disclose biographical or 

contact information when getting tested. Although testing sites are required to 
make every effort to collect this information, if individuals choose not to 

disclose certain information the testing site would still be able to submit 

incomplete records to VDH. 
13Agency Background Document, page 5: 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=58\5581\9399\AgencyState

ment_VDH_9399_v1.pdf. 
14VDH reported that in federal fiscal years 2020 and 2021, 1,429 new CLIA 

Certificates of Waiver were created for testing entities in Virginia. Not all of 
these were testing for COVID-19, but a large majority were. Further, there is 

no federal requirement for facilities with CLIA certificates to notify VDH or 

CLIA if they have added a test as long as the test of the same complexity and 
specialty of their certificate; thus all 7,791 entities with current certificates may 

be affected.  

15Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 
16Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 

17If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to Code § 2.2-
4007.1, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may have an adverse 

impact on small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules shall 

be notified. 
18Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
19"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
20§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

21Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 
in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) agrees with the findings 

of the economic impact analysis (EIA), with two caveats. 

The EIA prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

for the proposed stage amendment to the Disease Reporting 

and Control Regulations, (12VAC5-90) states that "the Board 

proposes to remove the requirement to report negative 

COVID-19 tests." This statement is true; however, VDH would 

like to clarify that this continues to be a federal reporting 

requirement in the CARES Act and all laboratories, including 

those with Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments 

waivers, will be required to continue reporting negative 

COVID-19 test results until the federal requirement is removed 

Further, the EIA indicates that an "indirect cost of the proposed 

amendments, therefore, relates to individuals" data privacy and 

the risk that one's personal biographical details, contact details, 

and health information may be accessed by unauthorized 

persons or entities and/or used for nefarious purpose." Data 

reported to VDH related to this action are required to be kept 

confidential per §§ 32.1-36, 32.-38, and 32.1-41of the Code of 

Virginia. Further, all of VDH's data systems are compliant with 

Commonwealth of Virginia security standards. With these 

controls in place, risk addressed here is extremely minimal. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments add to the reporting 

requirements for physicians and directors of medical care 

facilities for COVID-19 to (i) require physicians and 

directors of medical care facilities to report suspected or 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/lab/reporting-lab-data.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/lab/reporting-lab-data.html
https://www.cms.gov/Outreach-and-Education/Medicare-Learning-Network-MLN/MLNProducts/downloads/cliabrochure.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/Outreach-and-Education/Medicare-Learning-Network-MLN/MLNProducts/downloads/cliabrochure.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9040
https://apps.vdh.virginia.gov/pocreporting/login/login.aspx
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode
https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/covid-19-laboratory-data-reporting-guidance.pdf
https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/covid-19-laboratory-data-reporting-guidance.pdf
https://www.hhs.gov/coronavirus/testing/covid-19-diagnostic-data-reporting/index.html
https://www.hhs.gov/coronavirus/testing/covid-19-diagnostic-data-reporting/index.html
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=58/5581/9399/AgencyStatement_VDH_9399_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=58/5581/9399/AgencyStatement_VDH_9399_v1.pdf
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confirmed COVID-19 cases and COVID-19 

hospitalizations and intensive care unit admissions to the 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) through 

participation in the Emergency Department Care 

Coordination Program; (ii) require all suspected or 

confirmed COVID-19 case report forms be submitted 

electronically to VDH; (iii) clarify that the category 

"laboratory directors" includes pharmacies that hold 

Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments 

Certificates of Waiver so that pharmacies testing for 

COVID-19 are required to report to VDH; (iv) require 

laboratory directors report both positive and negative 

COVID-19 test results; (v) require patient telephone 

number, email address, and ethnicity be included in the 

list of fields that are reported by physicians, laboratory 

directors, and directors of medical care facilities; and (vi) 

add "coronavirus, severe" to the list of infectious diseases 

that shall be reported to persons practicing funeral 

services. 

12VAC5-90-80. Lists of diseases that shall be reported. 

A. Reportable disease list. The board declares suspected or 

confirmed cases of the following named diseases, toxic effects, 

and conditions to be reportable by the persons enumerated in 

12VAC5-90-90. Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) 

require immediate communication to the local health 

department by the most rapid means available upon suspicion 

or confirmation, as defined in subsection C of this section. 

Other conditions should be reported within three days of 

suspected or confirmed diagnosis, unless otherwise specified 

in this section. Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome shall be 

reported as specified in subsection E of this section. COVID-

19 (SARS-CoV-2) shall be reported as specified in subsection 

I of the section. 

Amebiasis (Entamoeba histolytica) 

*Anthrax (Bacillus anthracis) 

Arboviral infections (e.g., CHIK, dengue, EEE, LAC, SLE, 

WNV, Zika) 

Babesiosis (Babesia spp.) 

*Botulism (Clostridium botulinum) 

*Brucellosis (Brucella spp.) 

Campylobacteriosis (Campylobacter spp.) 

Candida auris, infection or colonization 

Carbapenemase-producing organism, infection or 

colonization 

Chancroid (Haemophilus ducreyi) 

Chickenpox (Varicella virus) 

Chlamydia trachomatis infection 

*Cholera (Vibrio cholerae O1 or O139) 

*Coronavirus infection, severe 

Cryptosporidiosis (Cryptosporidium spp.) 

Cyclosporiasis (Cyclospora spp.) 

*Diphtheria (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) 

*Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 

weapon 

Ehrlichiosis/Anaplasmosis (Ehrlichia spp., Anaplasma 

phagocytophilum) 

Giardiasis (Giardia spp.) 

Gonorrhea (Neisseria gonorrhoeae) 

Granuloma inguinale (Calymmatobacterium granulomatis) 

*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome 

Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS) 

*Hepatitis A 

Hepatitis B (acute and chronic) 

Hepatitis C (acute and chronic) 

Hepatitis, other acute viral 

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection 

Influenza, confirmed 

*Influenza-associated deaths if younger than 18 years of age 

Lead, blood levels 

Legionellosis (Legionella spp.) 

Leprosy (Hansen's disease) (Mycobacterium leprae) 

Leptospirosis (Leptospira interrogans) 

Listeriosis (Listeria monocytogenes) 

Lyme disease (Borrelia spp.) 

Lymphogranuloma venereum (Chlamydia trachomatis) 

Malaria (Plasmodium spp.) 

*Measles (Rubeola) 

*Meningococcal disease (Neisseria meningitidis) 

Mumps 

Neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS) 

Ophthalmia neonatorum 

*Outbreaks, all (including foodborne, health care-

associated, occupational, toxic substance-related, 

waterborne, and any other outbreak) 

*Pertussis (Bordetella pertussis) 
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*Plague (Yersinia pestis) 

*Poliovirus infection, including poliomyelitis 

*Psittacosis (Chlamydophila psittaci) 

*Q fever (Coxiella burnetii) 

*Rabies, human and animal 

Rabies treatment, post-exposure 

*Rubella, including congenital rubella syndrome 

Salmonellosis (Salmonella spp.) 

Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli infection 

Shigellosis (Shigella spp.) 

*Smallpox (Variola virus) 

Spotted fever rickettsiosis (Rickettsia spp.) 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive or toxic shock 

Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive if younger 

than five years of age 

Syphilis (Treponema pallidum) report *congenital, 

*primary, *secondary, and other 

Tetanus (Clostridium tetani) 

Toxic substance-related illness 

Trichinosis (Trichinellosis) (Trichinella spiralis) 

*Tuberculosis, active disease (Mycobacterium tuberculosis 

complex) 

Tuberculosis infection 

*Tularemia (Francisella tularensis) 

*Typhoid/Paratyphoid infection (Salmonella Typhi, 

Salmonella Paratyphi) 

*Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern 

*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event 

Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection 

*Vibriosis (Vibrio spp.) 

*Viral hemorrhagic fever 

*Yellow fever 

Yersiniosis (Yersinia spp.) 

B. Conditions reportable by directors of laboratories. 

Laboratories shall report all test results indicative of and 

specific for the diseases, infections, microorganisms, 

conditions, and toxic effects specified in this subsection for 

humans. Such tests include microbiological culture, isolation, 

or identification; assays for specific antibodies; and 

identification of specific antigens, toxins, or nucleic acid 

sequences. Additional condition-specific requirements are 

noted in this subsection and subsection D of this section. 

Conditions identified by an asterisk (*) require immediate 

communication to the local health department by the most 

rapid means available upon suspicion or confirmation, as 

defined in subsection C of this section. Other conditions should 

be reported within three days of suspected or confirmed 

diagnosis. 

Amebiasis (Entamoeba histolytica) 

*Anthrax (Bacillus anthracis) 

Arboviral infection, for example, CHIK, dengue, EEE, LAC, 

SLE, WNV, or Zika 

Babesiosis (Babesia spp.) 

*Botulism (Clostridium botulinum) 

*Brucellosis (Brucella spp.) 

Campylobacteriosis (Campylobacter spp.) 

Candida auris - Include available antimicrobial 

susceptibility findings in report. 

Carbapenemase-producing organism - Include available 

antimicrobial susceptibility findings in report. 

Chancroid (Haemophilus ducreyi) 

Chickenpox (Varicella virus) 

Chlamydia trachomatis infection 

*Cholera (Vibrio cholerae O1 or O139) 

*Coronavirus infection, severe (e.g., SARS-CoV, MERS-

CoV) 

Cryptosporidiosis (Cryptosporidium spp.) 

Cyclosporiasis (Cyclospora spp.) 

*Diphtheria (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) 

Ehrlichiosis/Anaplasmosis (Ehrlichia spp., Anaplasma 

phagocytophilum) 

Giardiasis (Giardia spp.) 

Gonorrhea (Neisseria gonorrhoeae) - Include available 

antimicrobial susceptibility findings in report. 

*Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Hantavirus pulmonary syndrome 

*Hepatitis A 

Hepatitis B (acute and chronic) - For All hepatitis B patients, 

also report available results of serum alanine 

aminotransferase (ALT) and all available results from the 

hepatitis panel. 
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Hepatitis C (acute and chronic) - For all patients with any 

positive HCV test, also report all results of HCV viral load 

tests, including undetectable viral loads and report available 

results of serum alanine aminotransferase (ALT) and all 

available results from the hepatitis panel. 

Hepatitis, other acute viral - Any finding indicative of acute 

infection with hepatitis D, E, or other cause of viral hepatitis. 

For any reportable hepatitis finding, submit all available 

results from the hepatitis panel. 

Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection - For HIV-

infected patients, report all results of CD4 and HIV viral load 

tests, including undetectable viral loads. For HIV-infected 

patients, report all HIV genetic nucleotide sequence data 

associated with HIV drug resistance tests by electronic 

submission. For children younger than three years of age, 

report all tests regardless of the test findings (e.g., negative 

or positive). 

Influenza, confirmed - By culture, antigen detection by 

direct fluorescent antibody (DFA), or nucleic acid detection. 

Lead, blood levels - All lead results from tests of venous or 

capillary blood performed by a laboratory certified by the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services in accordance 

with 42 USC § 263a, the Clinical Laboratory Improvement 

Amendment of 1988 (CLIA-certified). 

Legionellosis (Legionella spp.) 

Leptospirosis (Leptospira interrogans) 

Listeriosis (Listeria monocytogenes), invasive or if 

associated with miscarriage or stillbirth from placental or 

fetal tissue 

Lyme disease (Borrelia spp.) 

Malaria (Plasmodium spp.) 

*Measles (Rubeola) 

*Meningococcal disease (Neisseria meningitidis), invasive - 

Include identification of gram-negative diplococci. 

Mumps 

*Mycobacterial diseases - (See 12VAC5-90-225 B) Report 

any of the following: 

1. Acid fast bacilli; 

2. M. tuberculosis complex or any other mycobacteria; 

3. Antimicrobial susceptibility results for M. tuberculosis 

complex. 

*Pertussis (Bordetella pertussis) 

*Plague (Yersinia pestis) 

*Poliovirus infection 

*Psittacosis (Chlamydophila psittaci) 

*Q fever (Coxiella burnetii) 

*Rabies, human and animal 

*Rubella 

Salmonellosis (Salmonella spp.) 

Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli infection 

Shigellosis (Shigella spp.) 

*Smallpox (Variola virus) 

Spotted fever rickettsiosis (Rickettsia spp.) 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive or toxic shock 

Streptococcus pneumoniae infection, invasive if younger 

than five years of age 

*Syphilis (Treponema pallidum) 

Toxic substance-related illness - By blood or urine 

laboratory findings above the normal range, including heavy 

metals, pesticides, and industrial-type solvents and gases. 

When applicable and available, report speciation of metals 

when blood or urine levels are elevated in order to 

differentiate the chemical species (elemental, organic, or 

inorganic). 

Trichinosis (Trichinellosis) (Trichinella spiralis) 

Tuberculosis infection 

*Tularemia (Francisella tularensis) 

*Typhoid/Paratyphoid infection (Salmonella Typhi, 

Salmonella Paratyphi A, Salmonella Paratyphi B, 

Salmonella Paratyphi C) 

*Vaccinia, disease or adverse event 

Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection - Include available 

antimicrobial susceptibility findings in report. 

*Vibriosis (Vibrio spp., Photobacterium damselae, 

Grimontia hollisae), other than toxigenic Vibrio cholera O1 

or O139, which are reportable as cholera 

*Viral hemorrhagic fever 

*Yellow fever 

Yersiniosis (Yersinia spp.) 

C. Reportable diseases requiring rapid communication. 

Certain of the diseases in the list of reportable diseases because 

of their extremely contagious nature, potential for greater 

harm, or availability of a specific intervention that must be 

administered in a timely manner require immediate 

identification and control. Reporting of persons confirmed or 

suspected of having these diseases, listed in this subsection, 

shall be made immediately by the most rapid means available, 

preferably by telephone to the local health department. (These 
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same diseases are also identified by an asterisk (*) in 

subsections A and B, where applicable, of this section.) 

Anthrax (Bacillus anthracis) 

Botulism (Clostridium botulinum) 

Brucellosis (Brucella spp.) 

Cholera (Vibrio cholerae O1 or O139) 

Coronavirus infection, severe 

Diphtheria (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) 

Disease caused by an agent that may have been used as a 

weapon 

Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Hepatitis A 

Influenza-associated deaths if younger than 18 years of age 

Influenza A, novel virus 

Measles (Rubeola virus) 

Meningococcal disease (Neisseria meningitidis) 

Outbreaks, all 

Pertussis (Bordetella pertussis) 

Plague (Yersinia pestis) 

Poliovirus infection, including poliomyelitis 

Psittacosis (Chlamydophila psittaci) 

Q fever (Coxiella burnetii) 

Rabies, human and animal 

Rubella, including congenital rubella syndrome 

Smallpox (Variola virus) 

Syphilis, congenital, primary, and secondary (Treponema 

pallidum) 

Tuberculosis, active disease (Mycobacterium tuberculosis 

complex) 

Tularemia (Francisella tularensis) 

Typhoid/Paratyphoid infection (Salmonella Typhi, 

Salmonella Paratyphi (all types)) 

Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern 

Vaccinia, disease or adverse event 

Vibriosis (Vibrio spp., Photobacterium damselae, Grimontia 

hollisae), other than toxigenic Vibrio cholerae O1 or O139, 

which are reportable as cholera 

Viral hemorrhagic fever 

Yellow fever 

D. Submission of initial isolate or other specimen for further 

public health testing. A laboratory identifying evidence of any 

of the conditions in this subsection shall notify the local health 

department of the positive culture or other positive test result 

within the timeframes specified in subsection B of this section 

and submit the initial isolate (preferred) or other initial 

specimen to the Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services 

or other public health laboratory where specified in this 

subsection within seven days of identification. All specimens 

must be identified with the patient and physician information 

required in 12VAC5-90-90 B. 

Anthrax (Bacillus anthracis) 

Botulism (Clostridium botulinum) 

Brucellosis (Brucella sp.) 

Candida auris 

Candida haemulonii 

Carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae 

Carbapenem-resistant Pseudomonas aeruginosa 

Cholera (Vibrio cholerae O1 or O139) 

Coronavirus infection, severe (e.g., SARS-CoV, MERS-

CoV) 

Diphtheria (Corynebacterium diphtheriae) 

Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Influenza, unsubtypeable 

Listeriosis (Listeria monocytogenes) 

Meningococcal disease (Neisseria meningitidis) 

Plague (Yersinia pestis) 

Poliovirus infection 

Q fever (Coxiella burnetii) 

Salmonellosis (Salmonella spp.) 

Shiga toxin-producing E. coli infection (Laboratories that 

identify a Shiga toxin but do not perform simultaneous 

culture for Shiga toxin-producing E. coli should forward all 

positive stool specimens or positive enrichment broths to the 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services for 

confirmation and further characterization.) 

Shigellosis (Shigella spp.) 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive 

Tuberculosis (A laboratory identifying Mycobacterium 

tuberculosis complex (see 12VAC5-90-225) shall submit a 

representative and viable sample of the initial culture to the 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services or other 

laboratory designated by the board to receive such 

specimen.) 
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Tularemia (Francisella tularensis) 

Typhoid/Paratyphoid infection (Salmonella Typhi, 

Salmonella Paratyphi (all types)) 

Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection 

Vibriosis (Vibrio spp., Photobacterium damselae, Grimontia 

hollisae) 

Yersiniosis (Yersinia spp.) 

Other diseases as may be requested by the health department. 

E. Neonatal abstinence syndrome. Neonatal abstinence 

syndrome shall be reported by physicians and directors of 

medical care facilities when a newborn has been diagnosed 

with neonatal abstinence syndrome, a condition characterized 

by clinical signs of withdrawal from exposure to prescribed or 

illicit drugs. Reports shall be submitted within one month of 

diagnosis by entering the information into the Department of 

Health's online Confidential Morbidity Report portal 

(http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians). 

F. Outbreaks. The occurrence of outbreaks or clusters of any 

illness that may represent a group expression of an illness that 

may be of public health concern shall be reported to the local 

health department immediately by the most rapid means 

available, preferably by telephone. 

G. Toxic substance-related illnesses. All toxic substance-

related illnesses, including pesticide and heavy metal 

poisoning or illness resulting from exposure to an occupational 

dust or fiber or radioactive substance, shall be reported. 

If such illness is verified or suspected and presents an 

emergency or a serious threat to public health or safety, the 

report of such illness shall be made immediately by the most 

rapid means available, preferably by telephone. 

H. Unusual occurrence of disease of public health concern. 

Unusual or emerging conditions of public health concern shall 

be reported to the local health department immediately by the 

most rapid means available, preferably by telephone. In 

addition, the commissioner or the commissioner's designee 

may establish surveillance systems for diseases or conditions 

that are not on the list of reportable diseases. Such surveillance 

may be established to identify cases (delineate the magnitude 

of the situation), to identify the mode of transmission and risk 

factors for the disease, and to identify and implement 

appropriate action to protect public health. Any person 

reporting information at the request of the department for 

special surveillance or other epidemiological studies shall be 

immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

I. COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2). COVID-19 shall be reported 

by physicians and directors of medical care facilities when a 

person who is infected with or who is suspected of having 

COVID-19 is treated or examined, hospitalized, or admitted 

into the intensive care unit. Physicians and directors of medical 

care facilities shall report that person's name, telephone 

number, email address, address, age, date of birth, race, 

ethnicity, sex, and pregnancy status; name of disease 

diagnosed or suspected; the medical record number (if 

applicable); the date of onset of illness; available laboratory 

tests and results; and the name, address, and telephone number 

of the physician and medical facility where the examination 

was made. Case reports shall be submitted immediately or 

within 24 hours by entering the information into the 

Department of Health online Confidential Morbidity Report 

portal at http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians or via 

electronic case reporting 

(https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-use/meaningful-

use-submissions-of-electronic-case-reports/). 

Positive SARS-CoV-2 tests shall be reported by directors of 

laboratories, including other entities that hold Clinical 

Laboratory Improvement Amendments Certificates of Waiver. 

Each report shall give the source of the specimen and the 

laboratory method and result; the name, telephone number, 

email address, address, age, date of birth, race, ethnicity, sex, 

and pregnancy status (if known) of the person from whom the 

specimen was obtained; and the name, address, and telephone 

number of the physician at whose request and medical facility 

at which the examination was made. Reports shall be submitted 

immediately or within 24 hours to the department. Reports 

shall be made by entering information into the department's 

available portal for laboratory reporting at 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians or via electronic 

laboratory reporting at 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-

use/submissionofreportablelabresults.  

12VAC5-90-90. Those required to report. 

A. Physicians. Each physician who treats or examines any 

person who is suffering from or who is suspected of having a 

reportable disease or condition shall report that person's name, 

address, age, date of birth, race, sex, and pregnancy status for 

females; name of disease diagnosed or suspected; the date of 

onset of illness; available laboratory tests and results; and the 

name, address, and telephone number of the physician and 

medical facility where the examination was made, except that 

influenza should be reported by number of cases only (and type 

of influenza, if available). Reports are to be made to the local 

health department serving the jurisdiction where the physician 

practices. A physician may designate someone to report on his 

behalf, but the physician remains responsible for ensuring that 

the appropriate report is made. Any physician, designee, or 

organization making such report as authorized herein shall be 

immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Such reports shall be made on a Form Epi-1, a computer 

generated printout containing the data items requested on Form 

Epi-1, or a CDC or VDH surveillance form that provides the 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-use/meaningful-use-submissions-of-electronic-case-reports/
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-use/meaningful-use-submissions-of-electronic-case-reports/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/clinicians)
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-use/submissionofreportablelabresults/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/meaningful-use/submissionofreportablelabresults/
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same information and shall be made within three days of the 

suspicion or confirmation of disease except that those 

identified in 12VAC5-90-80 C shall be reported immediately 

by the most rapid means available, preferably by telephone, to 

the local health department serving the jurisdiction in which 

the facility is located. Reporting may be done by means of 

secure electronic transmission upon agreement of the 

physician and the department. 

Additional elements are required to be reported for 

individuals with confirmed or suspected active tuberculosis 

disease. Refer to Part X (12VAC5-90-225 et seq.) for details 

on these requirements. 

B. Directors of laboratories. Laboratory directors shall report 

any laboratory examination of any clinical specimen, whether 

performed in-house or referred to an out-of-state laboratory, 

which yields evidence, by the laboratory method(s) method 

indicated or any other confirmatory test, of a disease listed in 

12VAC5-90-80 B. 

Each report shall give the source of the specimen and the 

laboratory method and result; the name, address, age, date of 

birth, race, sex, and pregnancy status for females (if known) of 

the person from whom the specimen was obtained; and the 

name, address, and telephone number of the physician at whose 

request and medical facility at which the examination was 

made. When the influenza virus is isolated, the type should be 

reported, if available. Reports shall be made within three days 

of identification of evidence of disease, except that those 

identified in 12VAC5-90-80 C shall be reported immediately 

by the most rapid means available, preferably by telephone, to 

the local health department serving the jurisdiction in which 

the laboratory is located. Reports shall be made on Form Epi-

1 or on the laboratory's own form if it includes the required 

information. Computer generated reports containing the 

required information may be submitted. Reporting may be 

done by means of secure electronic transmission upon 

agreement of the laboratory director and the department. 

Reports of HIV genetic nucleotide sequence data associated 

with HIV drug resistance tests must be submitted 

electronically. Any person making such report as authorized 

herein shall be immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 

of the Code of Virginia. 

A laboratory identifying evidence of any of the following 

conditions shall notify the local health department of the 

positive culture or other positive test result within the 

timeframes specified in 12VAC5-90-80 and submit the initial 

isolate or other initial specimen to the Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services within seven days of identification. All 

specimens must be identified with the patient and physician 

information required in this subsection. 

Anthrax 

Botulism 

Brucellosis 

Cholera 

Diphtheria 

E. coli infection, Shiga toxin-producing. (Laboratories that 

use a Shiga toxin EIA methodology but do not perform 

simultaneous culture for Shiga toxin-producing E. coli 

should forward all positive stool specimens or positive 

enrichment broths to the Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services for confirmation and further 

characterization.) 

Haemophilus influenzae infection, invasive 

Influenza A, novel virus 

Listeriosis 

Meningococcal disease 

Pertussis 

Plague 

Poliovirus infection 

Q fever 

Salmonellosis 

Shigellosis 

Streptococcal disease, Group A, invasive 

Tuberculosis (A laboratory identifying Mycobacterium 

tuberculosis complex (see 12VAC5-90-225) shall submit a 

representative and viable sample of the initial culture to the 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services or other 

laboratory designated by the board to receive such 

specimen.) 

Tularemia 

Typhoid/Paratyphoid fever 

Vancomycin-intermediate or vancomycin-resistant 

Staphylococcus aureus infection 

Vibrio infection, including infections due to Photobacterium 

damselae and Grimontia hollisae 

Yersiniosis 

Other diseases as may be requested by the health department 

When a clinical specimen yields evidence indicating the 

presence of a select agent or toxin as defined by federal 

regulations in 42 CFR Part 73, the person in charge of the 

laboratory shall contact the Division of Consolidated 

Laboratory Services and arrange to forward an isolate for 

confirmation. If a select agent or toxin has been confirmed in 

a clinical specimen, the laboratory director shall consult with 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services or CDC 

regarding isolate transport or destruction. 
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Laboratories operating within a medical care facility shall be 

considered to be in compliance with the requirement to notify 

the local health department when the director of that medical 

care facility assumes the reporting responsibility; however, 

laboratories are still required to submit isolates to the Division 

of Consolidated Laboratory Services or other designated 

laboratory as noted in this subsection. 

C. Persons in charge of a medical care facility. Any person in 

charge of a medical care facility shall make a report to the local 

health department serving the jurisdiction where the facility is 

located of the occurrence in or admission to the facility of a 

patient with a reportable disease listed in 12VAC5-90-80 A 

unless he has evidence that the occurrence has been reported 

by a physician. Any person making such report as authorized 

herein shall be immune from liability as provided by § 32.1-38 

of the Code of Virginia. The requirement to report shall include 

all inpatient, outpatient, and emergency care departments 

within the medical care facility. Such report shall contain the 

patient's name, address, age, date of birth, race, sex, and 

pregnancy status for females; name of disease being reported; 

available laboratory tests and results; the date of admission; 

hospital chart medical record number; date expired (when 

applicable); and attending physician. Influenza should be 

reported by number of cases only (and type of influenza, if 

available). Reports shall be made within three days of the 

suspicion or confirmation of disease except that those 

identified in 12VAC5-90-80 C shall be reported immediately 

by the most rapid means available, preferably by telephone, to 

the local health department serving the jurisdiction in which 

the facility is located. Reports shall be made on Form Epi-1, a 

computer generated printout containing the data items 

requested on Form Epi-1, or a CDC or VDH surveillance form 

that provides the same information. Reporting may be done by 

means of secure electronic transmission upon agreement of the 

medical care facility and the department. 

A person in charge of a medical care facility may assume the 

reporting responsibility on behalf of the director of the 

laboratory operating within the facility. 

D. Persons in charge of a residential or day program, service, 

or facility licensed or operated by any agency of the 

Commonwealth, or a school, child care center, or summer 

camp. Any person in charge of a residential or day program, 

service, or facility licensed or operated by any agency of the 

Commonwealth, or a school, child care center, or summer 

camp as defined in § 35.1-1 of the Code of Virginia shall report 

immediately to the local health department the presence or 

suspected presence in his program, service, facility, school, 

child care center, or summer camp of persons who have 

common symptoms suggesting an outbreak situation. Such 

persons may report additional information, including 

identifying and contact information for individuals with 

communicable diseases of public health concern or individuals 

who are involved in outbreaks that occur in their facilities, as 

necessary to facilitate public health investigation and disease 

control. Any person so reporting shall be immune from liability 

as provided by § 32.1-38 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Local health directors. The local health director shall 

forward any report of a disease or report of evidence of a 

disease which has been made on a resident of his jurisdiction 

to the Office of Epidemiology within three days of receipt. This 

report shall be submitted immediately by the most rapid means 

available if the disease is one requiring rapid communication, 

as required in 12VAC5-90-80 C. All such rapid reporting shall 

be confirmed in writing and submitted to the Office of 

Epidemiology, by either a paper report or entry into a shared 

secure electronic disease surveillance system, within three 

days. Furthermore, the local health director shall immediately 

forward to the appropriate local health director any disease 

reports on individuals residing in the latter's jurisdiction or to 

the Office of Epidemiology on individuals residing outside 

Virginia. The Office of Epidemiology shall be responsible for 

notifying other state health departments of reported illnesses in 

their residents and for notifying CDC as necessary and 

appropriate. 

F. Persons in charge of hospitals, nursing facilities or nursing 

homes, assisted living facilities, and correctional facilities. In 

accordance with § 32.1-37.1 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person in charge of a hospital, nursing facility or nursing home, 

assisted living facility, or correctional facility shall, at the time 

of transferring custody of any dead body to any person 

practicing funeral services, notify the person practicing funeral 

services or his agent if the dead person was known to have had, 

immediately prior to death, an infectious disease which may be 

transmitted through exposure to any bodily fluids. These 

include any of the following infectious diseases: 

Coronavirus, severe 

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease 

Human immunodeficiency virus infection 

Hepatitis B 

Hepatitis C 

Rabies 

Smallpox 

Syphilis, infectious 

Tuberculosis, active disease 

Vaccinia, disease or adverse event 

Viral hemorrhagic fever 

G. Employees, conditional employees, and persons in charge 

of food establishments. 12VAC5-421-80 of the Food 

Regulations requires a food employee or conditional employee 

to notify the person in charge of the food establishment when 

diagnosed with certain diseases that are transmissible through 

food and requires the person in charge of the food 
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establishment to notify the regulatory authority. Refer to 

12VAC5-421-80 for further guidance and clarification 

regarding these reporting requirements. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6359; Filed January 5, 2022, 11:17 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-10, 

12VAC30-10-410; repealing 12VAC30-10-20). 

12VAC30-20. Administration of Medical Assistance 

Services (amending 12VAC30-20-205, 12VAC30-20-210). 

12VAC30-30. Groups Covered and Agencies Responsible 

for Eligibility Determination (amending 12VAC30-30-10). 

12VAC30-40. Eligibility Conditions and Requirements 

(adding 12VAC30-40-348). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 17, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services to administer and amend 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance and to promulgate 

regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance and to promulgate 

regulations according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority, as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a), provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

Purpose: This regulation is essential to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens in that it implements the General 

Assembly mandate to expand Medicaid coverage to new 

populations. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory package is expected to be noncontroversial because 

it describes changes that were approved by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) that went into effect 

on January 1, 2019. As of August 23, 2019, over 312,000 

individuals had enrolled in Medicaid expansion, and no formal 

or informal complaints or comments had been received about 

these changes from any Medicaid member, Medicaid provider, 

or member of the public. 

Substance: This regulatory action seeks to combine several of 

the expansion-related state plan amendments that were 

required by CMS into one regulatory package. The changes 

related to the expansion of Medicaid to the adult group are 

contained in 12VAC30-30-10. These changes amend 

mandatory eligibility categories to include adults with incomes 

below 138% of the federal poverty level. 

The changes related to the Health Insurance Premium Payment 

(HIPP) and HIPP for Kids programs are in 12VAC30-20-205 

and 12VAC30-20-210. The changes related to the HIPP 

program in 12VAC30-20-210 include (i) adding text related to 

the cost-effectiveness methodology; (ii) clarifying recipient 

eligibility criteria, application criteria, effective dates, 

termination dates, and rules for non-Medicaid eligible family 

members; and (iii) adding text relating to the cost-sharing wrap 

and provider participation and enrollment. The changes to the 

HIPP for Kids program in 12VAC30-20-2015 include adding 

text related to (i) the cost-effectiveness methodology, (ii) the 

cost-sharing wrap, and (iii) provider participation or 

enrollment. These changes update both the HIPP and the HIPP 

for Kids programs to meet CMS requirements. 

The changes related to the federal medical assistance 

percentage are in a new section, 12VAC30-40-348. This 

section describes the methodology used by DMAS to 

determine the increased federal medical assistance percentage 

(FMAP) rates associated with new enrollees in the expansion 

population. 

The changes related to the change from an assessment state to 

a determination state are in 12VAC30-10-10, 12VAC30-10-

20, and 12VAC30-10-410. These changes delegate DMAS 

authority to make eligibility determinations to the federally 

facilitated marketplace. (Under an assessment state, these 

eligibility determinations came to DMAS for verification; that 

will no longer be the case.) In addition, the changes delegate 

eligibility hearings that arise out of marketplace 

determinations to the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services appeals entity. 

The emergency regulation included changes related to the 

expedited enrollment of Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program (SNAP) recipients on a one-time basis for purposes 

of increasing enrollment in Medicaid expansion. This one-time 

enrollment has already occurred and will not occur again in the 

future without additional approval from CMS. Therefore, the 

text relating to the use of SNAP income was not included in 

this action replacing the emergency regulation with permanent 

regulations. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action to the 

public and the Commonwealth is that additional individuals 

will have access to comprehensive health insurance, which 

should help improve health measures and outcomes across the 

Commonwealth. There are no disadvantages to the agency or 

the public. 

mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS), on behalf of the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services, proposes to promulgate a permanent regulation to 

replace an emergency regulation that went into effect on 

September 19, 2019. As with the emergency regulation, the 

permanent regulation would incorporate the changes that were 

made to the Virginia State Plan in order to implement the 

Medicaid expansion that became effective on January 1, 2019. 

Background. The proposed regulation is part of the overall 

implementation process for Medicaid expansion in accordance 

with several legislative mandates: the 2018 Acts of Assembly, 

Chapter 2, Item 303.SS.4(a)(1); the 2019 Acts of Assembly, 

Chapter 854, Item 303.SS.4(a)(1); the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

Chapter 1289, Item 313.QQ.3(a)(1); and the 2021 Special 

Session 1 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 552, Item 

313.QQ.3(a)(1). These mandates direct DMAS to "amend the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance under Title XIX of the Social 

Security Act, and any waivers thereof, to implement coverage 

for newly eligible individuals pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 

§ 1396d(y)(1)[2010] of the Patient Protection and Affordable 

Care Act." 

The State Plan Amendments have already been made and 

approved by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services, and emergency regulations were subsequently 

adopted. This action permanently replaces several key 

elements of the regulation that effectuated the expansion. More 

specifically, the regulatory provisions being permanently 

adopted by this action include: incorporation of the new adult 

eligibility group as a group eligible for Medicaid coverage; 

incorporation of expansion-related changes to the federal 

medical assistance percentage; incorporation of the federal 

medical assistance percentage for expenditures associated with 

new enrollees; and clarification of the language for the Health 

Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) program and the HIPP for 

Kids program. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. According to DMAS, the 

primary effect of the proposed changes would be consistency 

between the Medicaid State Plan and the Virginia 

Administrative Code (VAC). It has long been a practice to 

amend the regulation to mirror the changes that were 

previously made to the Medicaid State Plan. In that sense, this 

regulatory action is a housekeeping measure. Under the 

General Assembly's multiple directives stated above, the 

expansion of Medicaid coverage to indigent adults addressed 

in this regulation has already been in effect for more than two 

years. 

As explained in the economic impact analysis for a separate 

regulatory action,1 the Medicaid expansion is completely 

funded by the provider coverage assessment and the payment 

rate assessment (both of which are non-state funding sources), 

plus the corresponding federal match. These funding sources 

made the coverage of indigent adults possible. According to 

DMAS, there are 400,000 Virginians estimated to be eligible 

under Medicaid expansion. More than 327,000 members are 

enrolled in expansion as of November 1, 2019, and more than 

375,000 members have been enrolled at some point since the 

beginning of the Medicaid expansion. 

Although permanently amending the Virginia Administrative 

Code to reflect what has already been implemented will not 

create any immediate economic impact, the practice still has 

value. The legislation has addressed important aspects of 

expansion in a piecemeal fashion. And though the State Plan 

stitched these directives together, its purpose is to provide a 

basis for federal authority. In contrast, the VAC is the basis for 

the state authority. To the extent that the proposed amendments 

help serve as a comprehensive repository for the General 

Assembly's multiple directives regarding expansion, the 

proposal should benefit Medicaid providers, recipients, and the 

public in general. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments should benefit Medicaid providers, recipients, 

and the public in general in terms of providing a 

comprehensive and permanent source for the rules governing 

expansion population as envisioned by the General Assembly. 

No adverse economic impact2 on any entity is indicated. 

Small Businesses3 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effects 

on the use and value of private property or real estate 

development costs is expected. 

______________________________________ 
1https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=64\5100\8442\EIA_DMAS

_8442_v1.pdf 

2Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 
net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget and raises no issues with 

this analysis. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=64/5100/8442/EIA_DMAS_8442_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=64/5100/8442/EIA_DMAS_8442_v1.pdf
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Summary: 

Chapter 2, Item 303 SS 4 a of the 2018 Acts of Assembly 

directs the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to "...amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance 

… to implement coverage for newly eligible individuals…" 

The amendments incorporate changes made to the State 

Plan for Medical Assistance to implement Medicaid 

expansion, including (i) establishing the adult eligibility 

group as a group eligible for Medicaid coverage, (ii) 

updating the Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) 

program and HIPP for Kids program, (iii) making 

expansion-related changes to the federal medical assistance 

percentage, and (iv) updating the federal medical assistance 

percentage for expenditures associated with new enrollees. 

12VAC30-10-10. Designation and authority. 

A. The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 

is the single state agency designated to administer or supervise 

the administration of the Medicaid program under Title XIX of 

the Social Security Act. (All references in this plan to "the 

Medicaid agency" mean the agency named in this subsection.) 

12VAC30-20-10 is a certification signed by the State 

Attorney General identifying the single state agency and citing 

the legal authority under which it administers or supervises 

administration of the program. 

B. The entire plan under Title XIX is administered or 

supervised by the state agency named in subsection A of this 

section. 

C. No waivers of the single state agency requirements have 

ever been granted. 

D. Determinations of eligibility for Medicaid under this plan 

are made by the agency or agencies specified in 12VAC30-30-

10. There is a written agreement between the agency named in 

subsection A of this section and other agencies making such 

determinations for specific groups covered under this plan. The 

agreement defines the relationships and respective 

responsibilities of the agencies. Eligibility determinations 

(including any delegations). 

1. The entities that conduct determinations of eligibility for 

families, adults, and individuals younger than 21 years of 

age are DMAS, the single state agency under Title IV-A 

(TANF), and the Exchange, which is a government agency 

established under § 1311(b)(1) or 1321(c)(1) of the Patient 

Protection and Affordable Care Act (42 USC § 18001). 

2. The entities that conduct determinations of eligibility 

based on age, blindness, and disability are DMAS and the 

single state agency under Title IV-A (TANF). 

3. DMAS makes the following assurances with regard to 

eligibility determinations: 

a. DMAS is responsible for all Medicaid eligibility 

determinations. 

b. There is a written agreement between DMAS, the 

Exchange, and the single state agency under Title IV-A. 

The Exchange and the single state agency under Title IV-

A have been delegated authority to determine eligibility 

for Medicaid eligibility in compliance with 42 CFR 

431.10(d). 

c. DMAS does not delegate authority to make eligibility 

determinations to entities other than government entities 

that maintain personnel standards on a merit basis. 

d. The delegated entity is capable of performing the 

delegated functions. 

E. All other provisions of this plan are administered by the 

Medicaid agency except for those functions for which final 

authority has been granted to a Professional Standards Review 

Organization under Title XI of the Act. 

F. All other requirements of 42 CFR 431.10 are met. 

12VAC30-10-20. Organization for administration. 

(Repealed.) 

A. 12VAC30-20-20 contains a description of the organization 

and functions of the Medicaid agency and an organization chart 

of the agency.  

B. Within the state agency, the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services has been designated as the medical 

assistance unit. 12VAC30-20-30 contains a description of the 

organization and functions of the medical assistance unit and 

an organization chart of the unit.  

C. 12VAC30-20-40 contains a description of the kinds and 

numbers of professional medical personnel and supporting 

staff used in the administration of the plan and their 

responsibilities.  

D. Eligibility determinations are made by state or local staff 

of an agency other than the agency named in 12VAC30-10-10 

A.  

12VAC30-10-410. Hearings for applicants and recipients. 

A. The Medicaid agency has a system of hearings that meets 

all the requirements of 42 CFR 431, Subpart E. 

No termination of coverage under § 1925 shall be effective 

earlier than 10 days after the date of mailing of the notice 

required by § 1925(b)(3)(B). The Medicaid agency is 

responsible for all Medicaid fair hearings. 

B. The entities that conduct fair hearings with respect to 

eligibility based on applicable modified adjusted gross income 

(MAGI) are the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) and the Health and Human Services appeals entity 

within the Exchange.  

C. The Commonwealth assures the following with respect to 

delegations of authority to conduct fair hearings regarding 

eligibility based on MAGI: 
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1. There is a written agreement between DMAS and the 

Exchange appeals entity that has been delegated authority to 

conduct Medicaid fair hearings in compliance with 42 CFR 

431.10(d). 

2. When authority is delegated to the Exchange appeals 

entity, individuals who have requested a fair hearing are 

given the option to have their hearing conducted instead by 

DMAS. 

3. DMAS does not delegate authority to conduct fair 

hearings to entities other than government agencies that 

maintain personnel standards on a merit basis. 

4. The delegated entity is capable of performing the 

delegated function.  

D. All fair hearings not related to an eligibility determination 

based on MAGI are conducted at DMAS. 

12VAC30-20-205. Health Insurance Premium Payment 

(HIPP) for Kids. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Case" means all family members who are eligible for 

coverage under the group health plan qualified employer-

sponsored insurance plan and who are eligible for Medicaid. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 

Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services consistent 

with Chapter 1 (§ 63.2-100 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Family member" means individuals an individual in the 

household, who is not a parent and who are is related by blood, 

marriage, or adoption, or legal custody. 

"Group health plan" means a plan which meets § 5000(b)(1) 

of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and includes 

continuation coverage pursuant to Title XXII of the Public 

Health Service Act (42 USC § 201 et seq.), § 4980B of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1986, or Title VI of the Employee 

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (42 USC § 200I et 

seq.). Section 5000(b)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code 

provides that a group health plan is a plan, including a self-

insured plan, of, or contributed to by, an employer (including 

a self-insured person) or employee association to provide 

health care (directly or otherwise) to the employees, former 

employees, or the families of such employees or former 

employees, or the employer. 

"High deductible health plan" means a plan as defined in 

§ 223(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, without 

regard to whether the plan is purchased in conjunction with a 

health savings account (as defined under § 223(d) of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1986). 

"HIPP" means the Health Insurance Premium Payment 

Program administered by DMAS consistent with § 1906 of the 

Act Social Security Act (42 USC § 301 et seq.) (the Act). 

"HIPP for Kids" means the Health Insurance Premium 

Payment Program administered by DMAS consistent with 

§ 1906A of the Act. 

"Member" means a person who is eligible for Medicaid as 

determined by DMAS, or a DMAS designated agent, or 

including the Department of Social Services. 

"Network provider" means a provider who is enrolled with a 

DMAS contracted managed care organization (MCO) as a 

provider and meets the requirement for an expedited 

enrollment as a fee-for-service (FFS) Medicaid provider for 

payment and billing purposes. 

"Parent" means the biological or adoptive parent or parents, 

or the biological or adoptive parent and the stepparent, living 

in the home with the Medicaid-eligible child. The health 

insurance policyholder shall be a parent as defined herein in 

this section. 

"Payee" means the insured employee who is the policy holder 

of the qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan who is 

paid the HIPP or HIPP for Kids premium and cost-sharing 

reimbursement. 

"Premium" means the fixed cost of participation in the group 

health plan qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan, 

which cost may be shared by the employer and employee or 

paid in full by either party. 

"Premium assistance subsidy" means the amount that DMAS 

will pay of the employee's cost of participating in the qualified 

employer-sponsored coverage insurance plan to cover the 

Medicaid eligible member or members under age younger than 

19 years of age if DMAS determines it is cost effective to do 

so. 

"Qualified employer-sponsored coverage" insurance" as 

defined in § 2105(c)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act means 

a group health plan or health insurance coverage offered 

through an employer: 

1. That qualifies as creditable coverage as a group health 

plan under § 2701(c)(1) of the Public Health Service Act; 

2. For which the employer contribution toward any premium 

for such coverage is at least 40%; and 

3. That is offered to all individuals in a manner that would 

be considered a nondiscriminatory eligibility classification 

for purposes of paragraph (3)(A)(ii) of § 105(h) 

§ 105(h)(3)(A)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (but 

determined without regard to clause (i) of subparagraph (B) 

of such paragraph) § 105(h)(3)(B)(i). 
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"State Plan" means the State Plan for Medical Assistance for 

the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. Program purpose. The purpose of the HIPP for Kids 

program shall be to: 

1. Enroll members who are eligible for coverage under a 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance plan. 

2. Provide premium assistance subsidy for payment of the 

employee share of the premiums and other cost-sharing 

obligations for the Medicaid eligible Medicaid-eligible child 

under age younger than 19 years of age. In addition, to 

provide cost sharing for the child's noneligible parent who is 

not Medicaid eligible for items and services covered under 

the qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance that 

are also covered services under the State Plan. There is no 

cost sharing for parents for services not covered by the 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance. 

3. Treat coverage under such employer group health plan 

qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan as a third party 

third-party liability consistent with § 1902(a)(25) 1906 of 

the Social Security Act. 

C. Cost effectiveness methodology.  

1. DMAS shall evaluate the member to determine the 

appropriate managed care organization (MCO) capitation 

rate to be used. The capitation rate will be determined based 

on aid category, nursing facility or waiver eligibility, age, 

gender, and region. 

2. DMAS shall adjust the capitation rate to exclude Medicaid 

services that are not available through commercial group 

health insurance policies. This requires that the capitation 

rate be adjusted to exclude services, including nursing 

facility and long-term services and supports provided in the 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care (CCC) Plus program as 

well as community mental health services and 

nonemergency transportation services available in CCC Plus 

and Medallion. 

3. DMAS shall adjust the reduced capitation rate from 

subdivision 2 of this subsection to reflect the higher prices 

employer plans pay. The Virginia price factor shall be based 

on the national factor of 1.3 that is published by the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

4. The qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan cost for 

the member shall be increased to reflect the amount of 

coinsurance and other member cost sharing typically 

imposed on HIPP members and paid by DMAS. Such 

amount shall be determined by averaging the aggregate 

amount of such expenditures by DMAS in the most recently 

completed fiscal year by the number of HIPP members 

covered during the fiscal year. 

5. The qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan cost 

determined in subdivision 4 of this subsection shall be 

increased to reflect the DMAS administrative expenses 

directly related to the HIPP program. This additional cost is 

determined based on the average total monthly 

compensation paid to each HIPP analyst employed by 

DMAS and divided by the anticipated caseload. 

6. The cost effectiveness shall be affirmed if the adjusted 

capitation rate from subdivision 3 of this subsection equals 

or exceeds the adjusted qualified employer-sponsored 

insurance plan cost from subdivision 5 of this subsection. 

D. Member eligibility. 

1. DMAS shall obtain specific information on qualified 

employer-sponsored coverage insurance available to the 

members in the case including, but not limited to, the 

effective date of coverage, the services covered by the plan, 

the deductibles and copayments required by the plan, and the 

amount of the premium paid by the employer and employee. 

Coverage that is not comprehensive shall be denied premium 

assistance. A qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan 

must provide the following services in order to be considered 

comprehensive: 

a. Physician services; 

b. Inpatient and outpatient hospitalization; 

c. Outpatient labs, shots, and x-rays; and 

d. Prescription drugs. 

2. All Medicaid eligible Medicaid-eligible family members 

under the age of younger than 19 years of age who are 

eligible for coverage under the qualified employer-

sponsored coverage insurance shall be eligible for 

consideration for HIPP for Kids except the following: 

1. a. The member who is Medicaid eligible due to 

"spenddown"; or 

2. b. The member who is currently enrolled in the qualified 

employer-sponsored coverage insurance and is only 

retroactively eligible for Medicaid. 

D. E. Application required. A completed HIPP for Kids 

application must be submitted to DMAS to be evaluated for 

program eligibility. The HIPP for Kids application consists of 

the forms prescribed by DMAS and any necessary information 

as required by the program to evaluate eligibility and determine 

if the plan meets the criteria for qualified employer-sponsored 

coverage insurance. 

E. F. Exceptions. The term "qualified employer-sponsored 

coverage" insurance" does not include coverage consisting of: 

1. Benefits provided under a health flexible spending 

arrangement (as defined in § 106(c)(2) of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1986) or; 

2. A high deductible health plan (as defined in § 223(c)(2) 

of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986), without regard to 

whether the plan is purchased in conjunction with a health 
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savings account (as defined under § 223(d) of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1986).; or 

3. For self-employed individuals, qualified employer-

sponsored coverage insurance obtained through self-

employment activities shall not meet the program 

requirements unless the self-employment activities are the 

family's primary source of income and the insurance meets 

the requirements of the definition of qualified employer-

sponsored coverage insurance in subsection A of this 

section. Family for this purpose includes family by blood, 

marriage, or adoption. 

F. G. Payments. When DMAS determines that a qualified 

employer-sponsored coverage insurance plan is eligible and 

other eligibility requirements have been met, DMAS shall 

provide for the payment of premium assistance subsidy and 

other cost-sharing obligations for items and services otherwise 

covered under the State Plan, except for the nominal cost-

sharing amounts permitted under § 1916 of the Social Security 

Act. 

1. Effective date of premium assistance subsidy. Payment of 

premium assistance subsidies and other cost-sharing 

obligations shall become effective on the first day of the 

month in which DMAS receives a complete HIPP 

application or the first day of the month in following an 

approved application for which qualified employer-

sponsored coverage insurance becomes effective, whichever 

is later. Payments shall be made to either the employer, the 

insurance company, or the individual who is carrying the 

group health plan qualified employer-sponsored insurance 

plan coverage. 

2. Payments for deductibles, coinsurances, and other cost-

sharing obligations. 

a. Medicaid eligible children under age younger than 19 

years of age pursuant to § 1906A of the Act. The Medicaid 

agency pays all premiums, deductibles, coinsurance, and 

other cost-sharing obligations for items and services 

covered under the State Plan, as specified in the qualified 

employer-sponsored coverage insurance, without regard 

to limitations specified in § 1916 or § 1916A of the Act, 

for eligible individuals under age younger than 19 years of 

age who have access to and elect to enroll in such 

coverage. The eligible individual is entitled to services 

covered by the State Plan that are not included in the 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance. 

b. In order to receive reimbursement, the individual shall 

submit to DMAS an explanation of benefits or similar 

documentation from the insurance company or doctor's 

office showing the date of service (DOS), that the expense 

is the responsibility of the member or parent, that the 

expense was paid prior to the submission of the request, 

and sufficient identification codes for the DOS to enable 

DMAS to determine if the service is reimbursable before 

applying the remaining cost sharing criteria. 

c. Reimbursement for cost sharing shall be processed on a 

quarterly basis. 

d. Ineligible family members. When coverage for 

Medicaid-eligible family members under age younger 

than 19 years of age is not possible unless an ineligible a 

parent who is not Medicaid eligible enrolls in qualified 

employer-sponsored health insurance, the Medicaid 

agency pays premiums only for enrollment of the 

ineligible parent who is not Medicaid eligible and, at the 

parent's option, other family members who are eligible for 

coverage under the qualified employer-sponsored 

coverage insurance. In addition, the agency provides cost 

sharing for the child's ineligible parent who is not 

Medicaid eligible for items and services covered under the 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance that are 

also covered services under the State Plan. There is no 

cost-sharing cost sharing for ineligible parents who are not 

Medicaid eligible for items and services not covered by 

the qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance. 

3. Documentation required for premium assistance subsidy 

reimbursement. A person payee to whom DMAS is paying a 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance premium 

assistance subsidy shall, as a condition of receiving such 

payment, provide documentation as prescribed by DMAS of 

the payment of the employer group health plan qualified 

employer-sponsored insurance plan premium, as well as 

payment of coinsurances, copayments, and deductibles for 

services received. 

H. Cost-sharing wrap. 

1. Premium assistance enrollment will be voluntary. 

Individuals enrolled in the Commonwealth's Health 

Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) program are afforded 

the same member protections provided to all other Medicaid 

enrollees. Cost sharing shall only be charged to Medicaid 

members as permitted under §§ 1916 and 1916A of the 

Social Security Act. Cost sharing shall not exceed 5.0% of 

household income. 

2. The Commonwealth will provide a cost-sharing wrap to 

any cost-sharing amounts of a Medicaid covered service that 

exceeds the cost-sharing limits described in the State Plan, 

regardless of whether individuals enrolled in a HIPP 

program receive care from a Medicaid participating provider 

or a nonparticipating provider. 

3. To effectuate the cost-sharing wrap, the Commonwealth 

will encourage nonparticipating providers to enroll by 

conducting targeted outreach to inform nonparticipating 

Medicaid providers on how to enroll in Medicaid for the 

purposes of receiving payment from the Commonwealth for 

cost-sharing amounts that exceed the Medicaid permissible 

limits. 

4. The Commonwealth will inform members regarding 

options available when the member obtains care from a 
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nonparticipating provider, including, as applicable, 

reimbursement for out-of-pocket, cost-sharing costs from 

this provider. 

5. In order to receive reimbursement, the individual shall 

submit to DMAS an explanation of benefits or similar 

documentation from the insurance company or doctor's 

office showing DOS, that the expense is the responsibility of 

the member or parent, that the expense was paid prior to the 

submission of the request, and sufficient identification codes 

for the DOS to enable DMAS to determine if the service is 

reimbursable before applying the remaining cost-sharing 

criteria. 

6. Reimbursement for cost-sharing shall be processed on a 

quarterly basis. 

G. I. Program participation requirements. Participants must 

comply with program requirements as prescribed by DMAS 

for continued enrollment in HIPP for Kids. Failure to comply 

with the following may result in termination from the program: 

1. Submission of documentation of any changes to the 

qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan, to include any 

changes to the employee share of the premium expense, 

within specified time frame in accordance with DMAS 

established policy 10 days of receipt of notice of the change. 

2. Report Any household changes in the qualified employer-

sponsored coverage, including income and individuals in the 

household, must be reported within 10 days of the family's 

receipt of notice of the change. 

3. Completion of annual redetermination. 

4. Completion of consent forms. Participants may be 

required to complete a consent form to release information 

necessary for HIPP for Kids participation and program 

requirements as required by DMAS. 

H. J. HIPP for Kids redetermination. DMAS shall 

redetermine the eligibility of the qualified employer-sponsored 

coverage insurance periodically, at least every 12 months. 

DMAS shall also redetermine eligibility when changes occur 

with the group health plan qualified employer-sponsored 

insurance plan information that was used in determining HIPP 

for Kids eligibility. 

I. K. Program termination. Participation in the HIPP for Kids 

program may be terminated for failure to comply or meet 

program requirements. Termination will be effective the last 

day of the month in which advance notice has been given 

(consistent with federal regulations) requirements at 42 CFR 

431.211). 

1. Participation may be terminated for failure to meet 

program requirements including, but not limited to, the 

following: 

a. Failure to submit documentation of payment of 

premiums; 

b. Failure to provide information required for reevaluation 

of the qualified employer-sponsored coverage 

(noncompliance) insurance; 

c. Loss of Medicaid eligibility for all household members; 

d. Medicaid household member no longer covered by the 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance; 

e. Medicaid-eligible child turns age 19 years of age; or 

f. Employer-sponsored health plan no longer meets 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance 

requirements. 

2. Termination date of premiums. Payment of premium 

assistance subsidy shall end on whichever of the following 

occurs the earliest: 

a. On the last day of the month in which eligibility for 

Medicaid ends; 

b. The last day of the month in which the member loses 

eligibility for coverage in the group health plan qualified 

employer-sponsored insurance plan; 

c. The last day of the month in which the child turns age 

19 years of age; 

d. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 

been given (consistent with federal requirements) at 

42 CFR 431.211) that DMAS has determined that the 

group health plan qualified employer-sponsored insurance 

plan no longer meets program eligibility criteria; or 

d. e. The last day of the month in which adequate notice 

has been given (consistent with federal requirements) at 

42 CFR 431.211) that HIPP for Kids participation 

requirements have not been met. 

J. L. Third-party liability. When members are enrolled in 

qualified employer-sponsored coverage health insurance plans, 

these plans shall become the first sources of health care 

benefits, up to the limits of such plans, prior to the availability 

of payment under Title XIX. 

K. M. Appeal rights. Members Applicants and members shall 

be given the opportunity to appeal adverse agency decisions 

consistent with agency regulations for client appeals 

(12VAC30-110) (12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-

370). 

L. N. Provider requirements. Providers shall be required to 

accept the greater of the group health qualified employer-

sponsored insurance plan's reimbursement rate or the Medicaid 

rate as payment in full and shall be prohibited from charging 

the member or the Medicaid program amounts that would 

result in aggregate payments greater than the Medicaid rate as 

required by 42 CFR 447.20. 

O. Provider participation or enrollment. The Commonwealth 

will enroll network providers as full Medicaid providers or 

enroll as fee-for-service Medicaid providers solely for the 

purpose of receiving cost sharing, similar to processes related 

to enrolling Medicare-participating providers that serve dually 
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eligible members. If the Commonwealth enrolls providers for 

the sole purpose of being reimbursed for cost sharing, the 

provider would make the decision to enroll knowing that the 

provider network would be the same as for other enrollees of 

the qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan. In either 

scenario, the member would never pay more than the 

permissible Medicaid copayment.  

12VAC30-20-210. State method on cost effectiveness of 

employer-based group health qualified employer-

sponsored insurance plans. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

these regulations this section shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Average monthly Medicaid cost" means average monthly 

medical expenditures based upon age, gender, Medicaid 

enrollment covered group, and geographic region of the state. 

"Average monthly wraparound cost" means the average 

monthly aggregate costs for services not covered by private 

health insurance but covered under the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance, also includes copayments, coinsurance, and 

deductibles. 

"Case" means all family members who are eligible for 

coverage under the group health plan qualified employer-

sponsored insurance plan and who are eligible for Medicaid. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Cost effective" and "cost effectiveness" mean the reduction 

in Title XIX expenditures, which are likely to be greater than 

the additional expenditures for premiums and cost-sharing 

items required under § 1906 of the Social Security Act (the 

Act), with respect to such enrollment. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 

Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services consistent 

with Chapter 1 (§ 63.2-100 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Family member" means individuals an individual in the 

household, who is not a parent and who are is related by blood, 

marriage, adoption, or legal custody. 

"Family health plan" and "family care coverage" means a 

group health plan that covers three or more individuals. Family 

health plans that cover three or more non-Medicaid eligible 

individuals are not eligible for the HIPP premium assistance 

subsidy. 

"Group health plan" means a plan which that meets 

§ 5000(b)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, and 

includes continuation coverage pursuant to Title XXII of the 

Public Health Service Act, § 4980B of the Internal Revenue 

Code of 1986, or Title VI of the Employee Retirement Income 

Security Act of 1974. Section 5000(b)(1) of the Internal 

Revenue Code provides that a group health plan is a plan, 

including a self-insured plan, of, or contributed to by, an 

employer (including a self-insured person) or employee 

association to provide health care (directly or otherwise) to the 

employees, former employees, or the families of such 

employees or former employees, or the employer. 

"High deductible health plan" means a plan as defined in 

§ 223(c)(2) of Internal Revenue Code of 1986, without regard 

to whether the plan is purchased in conjunction with a health 

savings account (as defined under § 223(d) of such Code) the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1986). 

"HIPP" means the Health Insurance Premium Payment 

Program administered by DMAS consistent with § 1906 of the 

Act. 

"Member" means a person who is eligible for Medicaid as 

determined by DMAS or a DMAS-designated agent, including 

the Department of Social Services.  

"Network provider" means a provider that is enrolled with a 

DMAS contracted managed care organization (MCO) as a 

provider and meets the requirement for an expedited 

enrollment as a fee-for-service (FFS) Medicaid provider for 

payment and billing purposes. 

"Parent" means the biological or adoptive parent, or the 

biological or adoptive parent and the stepparent, living in the 

home with the Medicaid-eligible child. The health insurance 

policyholder shall be a parent as defined in this section. 

"Payee" means the insured employee who is the policy holder 

of the qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan who is 

paid the HIPP or HIPP for Kids premium and cost-sharing 

reimbursement. 

"Premium" means the fixed cost of participation in the group 

health plan; such cost may be shared by the employer and 

employee or paid in full by either party. 

"Premium assistance subsidy" means the portion that DMAS 

will pay of the employee's cost of participating in an 

employer's health a qualified employer-sponsored insurance 

plan to cover the Medicaid eligible members under the 

employer-sponsored plan if DMAS determines it is cost 

effective to do so. 

"Recipient" means a person who is eligible for Medicaid as 

determined by the Department of Social Services.  

"Qualified employer-sponsored insurance" as defined under 

§ 2105(c)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act means a group 

health plan or health insurance coverage offered through an 

employer: 

1. That qualifies as creditable coverage as a group health 

plan under § 2701(c)(1) of the Public Health Service Act; 
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2. For which the employer contribution toward any premium 

for such coverage is at least 40%; and 

3. That is offered to all individuals in a manner that would 

be considered a nondiscriminatory eligibility classification 

for purposes of § 105(h)(3)(A)(ii) of the Internal Revenue 

Code of 1986 without regard to § 105(h)(3)(B)(i). 

"State Plan" means the State Plan for Medical Assistance for 

the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. Program purpose. The purpose of the HIPP Program shall 

be to: 

1. Enroll recipients members who have an available group 

health plan qualified employer-sponsored insurance plans 

that is are likely to be cost effective; 

2. Provide premium assistance subsidy for payment of the 

employee share of the premiums and other cost-sharing 

obligations for items and services otherwise covered under 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance (the Plan); and 

3. Treat coverage under such employer group health 

qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan as a third party 

third-party liability consistent with § 1906 of the Social 

Security Act. 

C. Application required. A completed HIPP application must 

be submitted to DMAS to be evaluated for HIPP program 

eligibility; if HIPP program eligibility is established, DMAS 

shall then evaluate the group health plan for cost effectiveness. 

The HIPP application consists of the forms prescribed by 

DMAS and any necessary information as required by the 

program to evaluate eligibility and perform a cost-

effectiveness evaluation. Cost effectiveness methodology. 

1. DMAS shall evaluate the individual to determine the 

appropriate managed care organization (MCO) capitation 

rate to be used. The capitation rate will be determined based 

on aid category, nursing facility or waiver eligibility, age, 

gender, and region. 

2. DMAS shall adjust the capitation rate to exclude Medicaid 

services that are not available through commercial group 

health insurance policies. This requires that the capitation 

rate be adjusted to exclude services, including nursing 

facility and long-term services and supports provided in the 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care (CCC) Plus program as 

well as community mental health services and 

nonemergency transportation services available in CCC Plus 

and Medallion. 

3. DMAS shall adjust the reduced capitation rate from 

subdivision 2 of this subsection to reflect the higher prices 

employer plans pay. The Virginia price factor shall be based 

on the national factor of 1.3 that is published by the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

4. The qualified employer-sponsored insurance cost for the 

individual shall be increased to reflect the amount of 

coinsurance and other member cost sharing typically 

imposed on HIPP members and paid by DMAS. Such 

amount shall be determined by averaging the aggregate 

amount of such expenditures by DMAS in the most recently 

completed fiscal year by the number of HIPP members 

covered during the fiscal year. 

5. The qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan cost 

determined in subdivision 4 of this subsection shall be 

increased to reflect the DMAS administrative expenses 

directly related to the HIPP program. This additional cost is 

determined based on the average total monthly 

compensation paid to each HIPP analyst employed by 

DMAS divided by the anticipated caseload. 

6. The cost effectiveness shall be affirmed if the adjusted 

capitation rate from subdivision 3 of this subsection equals 

or exceeds the adjusted qualified employer-sponsored 

insurance plan cost from subdivision 5 of this subsection. 

D. Recipient Member eligibility. 

1. DMAS shall obtain specific information on all group 

health plans available to the recipients in the case including, 

but not limited to, the effective date of coverage, the services 

covered by the plan, the deductibles and copayments 

required by the plan, the exclusions to the plan, and the 

amount of the premium. Coverage that is not comprehensive 

shall be denied premium assistance. A qualified employer-

sponsored insurance plan must provide the following 

services in order to be considered comprehensive: 

a. Physician services; 

b. Inpatient and outpatient hospitalization; 

c. Outpatient labs, shots, and x-rays; and 

d. Prescription drugs. 

Cases that result in a determination that the applicant is not 

eligible for the HIPP program shall be denied premium 

assistance and shall not undergo further review as described 

in subsection E of this section. 2. All family members 

persons who are eligible for coverage under the group health 

qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan and who are 

eligible for Medicaid shall be eligible for consideration for 

HIPP, except those who meet any one or more of the factors 

identified in subdivisions 1 2 a through 7 2 e of this 

subsection. 

1. a. The recipient is Medicaid eligible due to "spend-

down". "spenddown." 

2. b. The recipient is currently enrolled in the employer 

sponsored health qualified employee-sponsored insurance 

plan and is only retroactively eligible for Medicaid. 

3. c. The recipient is in a nursing home or has a deduction 

from patient pay responsibility to cover the insurance 

premium. 

4. d. Currently, Medicare beneficiaries who are enrolled in 

a MCO do not qualify for participation in the HIPP 
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Program. If a Medicaid beneficiary is enrolled in an MCO, 

the beneficiary must wait until he is disenrolled from the 

MCO to become eligible for HIPP. HIPP applications are 

not approved until the managed care eligibility has ended 

at the end of the month.  

e. The recipient is eligible for Medicare Part B but is not 

enrolled in Part B. 

5. The recipient's family has, or would have, family 

healthcare coverage for three or more members who are not 

Medicaid eligible. Exceptions to the family health care 

coverage exclusion are as follows: 

a. The family meets Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security (FAMIS) eligibility criteria but due to existing 

group health insurance cannot enroll in FAMIS for the 

non-Medicaid family members enrolled in the health care 

plan; or 

b. Medicaid eligibility is based upon family income 

(Medicaid family unit) and the family members enrolled 

in the health care plan are not Medicaid eligible due to 

Medicaid age restrictions (aged 19 or older).  

6. Medicare eligibility. Medicaid recipients eligible for, or 

enrolled in, Medicare Part A and/or Part B who are also 

covered by an employer group health plan are not eligible 

for HIPP. 

7. High Deductible Health Plans (HDHPs) are defined in 

§ 223(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. HDHPs 

are not cost effective for the HIPP program and shall be 

denied premium assistance and shall not undergo further 

review as described in subsection E of this section. The 

annual deductible amount for a HDHP is defined by the 

Department of Treasury and is updated annually. 

E. Cost-effectiveness evaluation. If the Medicaid eligible(s) 

is enrolled in the health plan and is not excluded from HIPP 

program participation under the criteria described in 

subsection D of this section, DMAS shall conduct the premium 

cost-effectiveness evaluation based upon the following 

methodology: 

1. Recipient information. DMAS shall obtain demographic 

information on each recipient in each case including, but not 

limited to, Medicaid enrollment covered group, age, gender, 

and geographic region of residence in the state. 

2. DMAS shall compute the average monthly Medicaid cost 

for each Medicaid enrollee on the group health insurance 

plan and compare the total cost to the employee's 

responsibility for the health insurance cost. 

3. Wraparound cost. DMAS shall total the average monthly 

wraparound cost for each Medicaid enrollee on the HIPP 

case and subtract the amount from the average monthly 

Medicaid cost for the cost-effectiveness evaluation. 

4. Administrative cost. DMAS shall total the administrative 

costs of the HIPP program and estimate an average 

administrative cost. DMAS shall subtract the administrative 

cost from the average monthly Medicaid cost for the cost-

effectiveness evaluation. 

5. Determination of premium cost effectiveness. DMAS 

shall determine that a group health plan is likely to be cost 

effective if subdivision a is less than subdivision b below:  

a. The employee's responsibility for the group health plan 

premium.  

b. The total of the average monthly Medicaid costs less the 

wraparound costs for each Medicaid enrollee covered by 

the group health plan and the administrative cost.  

6. For individuals who otherwise meet all HIPP eligibility 

criteria in subdivision 5 of this subsection, such individuals 

may elect to have DMAS reimburse them up to the amount 

determined in subdivision 5 b of this subsection, if 

subdivision 5 a of this subsection is not less than subdivision 

5 b of this subsection. 

F. Payments. When DMAS determines that a group health 

plan is likely to be cost effective based on the DMAS 

established methodology, DMAS shall provide for the 

payment of premium assistance subsidy and other cost-sharing 

obligations for items and services otherwise covered under the 

Plan, except for the nominal cost sharing amounts permitted 

under § 1916.  

1. Effective date of premium assistance subsidy. Payment of 

premium assistance subsidy shall become effective on the 

first day of the month following the month in which DMAS 

receives a complete HIPP application or the first day of the 

month in which the group health plan coverage becomes 

effective, whichever is later. Payments shall be made to 

either the employer, the insurance company or to the 

individual who is carrying the group health plan coverage.  

2. No payments for deductibles, coinsurances, and other 

cost-sharing obligations for non-Medicaid eligible family 

members shall be made by DMAS.  

3. Documentation required for premium assistance subsidy 

reimbursement. A person to whom DMAS is paying an 

employer group health plan premium assistance subsidy 

shall, as a condition of receiving such payment, provide 

documentation as prescribed by DMAS of the payment of 

the employer group health plan premium for the group health 

plan that DMAS determined to be cost effective.  

E. Application required. A completed HIPP application must 

be submitted to DMAS to be evaluated for HIPP program 

eligibility; if HIPP program eligibility is established, DMAS 

shall then evaluate the group health plan for cost effectiveness. 

The HIPP application consists of the forms prescribed by 

DMAS and any necessary information as required by the 

program to evaluate eligibility and perform a cost-

effectiveness evaluation. 
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1. Effective date of premium assistance subsidy. Payment of 

premium assistance subsidy shall become effective on the 

first day of the month following the month in which DMAS 

approves the application and makes the cost effectiveness 

determination. Payment shall be made to either the 

employer, the insurance company, or to the individual who 

is carrying the group health plan coverage. 

2. Termination date of premium assistance subsidy. Payment 

of premium assistance subsidy shall end on whichever of the 

following occurs the earliest: 

a. On the last day of the month in which eligibility for 

Medicaid ends; 

b. The last day of the month in which the recipient loses 

eligibility for coverage in the qualified employer-

sponsored insurance plan; or 

c. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 

been given (consistent with federal requirements at 

42 CFR 431.211) that DMAS has redetermined that the 

group health plan is no longer cost effective. 

3. Non-Medicaid-eligible family members. Payment of 

premium assistance subsidy for non-Medicaid-eligible 

family members may be made when their enrollment in the 

qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan is required in 

order for the recipient to obtain the qualified employer-

sponsored insurance plan coverage. Such payments shall be 

treated as payments for Medicaid benefits for the recipient. 

No payments for deductibles, coinsurances, and other cost-

sharing obligations for non-Medicaid-eligible family 

members shall be made by DMAS. 

4. Evidence of enrollment required. The payee to whom 

DMAS is paying the qualified employer-sponsored 

insurance plan premium assistance subsidy shall, as a 

condition of receiving such payment, provide to DSS or 

DMAS, upon request, written evidence of the payment of the 

employee's share of the plan premium for the qualified 

employer-sponsored insurance plan that DMAS determined 

to be cost effective. 

F. Cost-sharing wrap. 

1. Premium assistance enrollment is voluntary. Individuals 

enrolled in the HIPP program are afforded the same member 

protections provided to all other Medicaid enrollees. Cost 

sharing shall only be charged to Medicaid members as 

permitted under §§ 1916 and 1916A of the Social Security 

Act. Cost sharing shall not exceed 5.0% of household 

income. 

2. The Commonwealth will provide a cost-sharing wrap to 

any cost-sharing amounts of a Medicaid covered service that 

exceeds the cost-sharing limits described in the State Plan, 

regardless of whether individuals enrolled in a HIPP 

program receive care from a Medicaid participating provider 

or a nonparticipating provider. 

3. To effectuate the cost-sharing wrap, the Commonwealth 

will encourage nonparticipating providers to enroll by 

conducting targeted outreach to inform nonparticipating 

Medicaid providers on how to enroll in Medicaid for the 

purposes of receiving payment from the state for cost-

sharing amounts that exceed the Medicaid permissible 

limits. 

4. The Commonwealth will inform members regarding 

options available when the member obtains care from a 

nonparticipating provider, including, as applicable, 

reimbursement for out-of-pocket, cost-sharing costs from 

this provider. 

5. In order to receive reimbursement, the individual shall 

submit to DMAS an explanation of benefits or similar 

documentation from the insurance company or doctor's 

office showing DOS, that the expense is the responsibility of 

the member or parent, that the expense was paid prior to the 

submission of the request, and sufficient identification codes 

for the DOS to enable DMAS to determine if the service is 

reimbursable before applying the remaining cost-sharing 

criteria. 

6. Reimbursement for cost sharing shall be processed on a 

quarterly basis. 

G. Program HIPP program participation requirements. 

Participants must comply with the following program 

requirements as prescribed by DMAS for continued enrollment 

in HIPP. Failure to comply shall result in termination from the 

program. 

1. Submission of documentation of any change to the 

qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan, to include any 

changes to the employee share of the premium expense, 

within specified time frame in accordance with DMAS 

established policy 10 days of receipt of notice of the change. 

2. Changes that impact the cost-effectiveness evaluation 

Any household change, including income and individuals in 

household, must be reported within 10 days of the change. 

3. Completion of annual redetermination. 

4. Completion of consent forms. Participants may be 

required to complete a consent form to release information 

necessary for HIPP participation and program requirements 

as required by DMAS. 

5. Participants terminated for noncompliance under 

subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection shall be barred from 

reapplying to the HIPP program for three months from the 

date of cancellation.  

H. HIPP redetermination. DMAS shall redetermine the cost 

effectiveness of the group health qualified employer-sponsored 

insurance plan periodically, and at least every 12 months. 

DMAS shall also redetermine cost effectiveness when changes 

occur with the recipient's average Medicaid cost and/or or with 
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the group health qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan 

information that was used in determining the cost 

effectiveness. When only part of the household loses Medicaid 

eligibility, DMAS shall redetermine the cost effectiveness to 

ascertain whether payment of the premium assistance subsidy 

of the group health qualified employer-sponsored insurance 

plan continues to be cost effective. 

I. Program termination. Participation in the HIPP program 

shall be terminated for failure to comply with or meet program 

requirements. Termination will be effective the last day of the 

month in which advance notice has been given (consistent with 

42 CFR 431.211)]. 

1. In addition to the reasons listed in subsection G of this 

section, participation shall be terminated for: 

a. Loss of Medicaid eligibility for all household members; 

b. Medicaid household member no longer covered by 

employer health plan; or 

c. Employer group health plan is determined to be not cost 

effective. 

2. Termination date of premiums. Payment of premium 

assistance subsidy shall end on whichever of the following 

occurs the earliest:  

a. On the last day of the month in which eligibility for 

Medicaid ends; 

b. The last day of the month in which the recipient loses 

eligibility for coverage in the group health plan; 

c. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 

been given (consistent with federal requirements) that 

DMAS has determined that the group health plan is no 

longer cost effective; or 

d. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 

been given (consistent with federal requirements) that 

HIPP participation requirements have not been met. 

I. Multiple group health plans. When a member is eligible for 

more than one group health plan, DMAS shall perform the cost 

effectiveness determination on the group health plan in which 

the member is enrolled. If the member is not enrolled in a group 

health plan, DMAS shall perform the cost effectiveness 

determination on each group health plan available to the 

member. 

J. Third party Third-party liability. When recipients are 

enrolled in group health plans, these plans shall become the 

first sources of health care benefits, up to the limits of such 

plans, prior to the availability of Title XIX benefits. 

K. Appeal rights. Recipients Applicants and members shall 

be given the opportunity to appeal adverse agency decisions 

consistent with agency regulations for client appeals 

(12VAC30-110) (12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-

370). 

L. Provider requirements. Providers shall be required to 

accept the greater of the group health plan's reimbursement rate 

or the Medicaid rate as payment in full and shall be prohibited 

from charging the recipient or Medicaid amounts that would 

result in aggregate payments greater than the Medicaid rate as 

required by 42 CFR 447.20. 

M. Provider participation or enrollment. The Commonwealth 

will enroll network providers as full Medicaid providers or as 

fee-for-service Medicaid providers solely for the purpose of 

receiving cost sharing, similar to processes related to enrolling 

Medicare-participating providers that serve dually eligible 

members. If the state enrolls providers for the sole purpose of 

being reimbursed for cost sharing, the payee would make the 

decision to enroll knowing that the provider network would be 

the same as for other enrollees of the qualified employer-

sponsored insurance. In either scenario, the member would 

never pay more than the permissible Medicaid copayment.  

12VAC30-30-10. Mandatory coverage: categorically needy 

and other required special groups. 

The Title IV-A agency or the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services Central Processing Unit determines 

eligibility for Title XIX services. The following groups shall 

be eligible for medical assistance as specified: 

1. Parents and other caretaker relatives of dependent children 

with household income at or below a standard established by 

the state Commonwealth in 12VAC30-40-100 consistent 

with 42 CFR 435.110 and §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(l) and 

1931(b) of the Social Security Act. Individuals qualifying 

under this eligibility group shall meet the following criteria: 

a. Parents, other caretaker relatives (defined at 42 CFR 

435.4) including pregnant women, or dependent children 

(defined at 42 CFR 435.4) younger than the age of 18 

years of age. This group includes individuals who are 

parents or other caretaker relatives of children who are 18 

years of age provided the children are full-time students in 

a secondary school or the equivalent level of vocational or 

technical training and are expected to complete such 

school or training before their 19th birthday. 

b. Spouses of parents and other caretaker relatives shall 

include other relatives of the child based on blood 

(including those of half-blood), adoption, or marriage. 

Other relatives of a specified degree of the dependent child 

shall include any blood relative (including those of half-

blood) and including (i) first cousins; (ii) nephews or 

nieces; (iii) persons of preceding generations as denoted 

by prefixes of grand, great, or great-great; (iv) stepbrother; 

(v) stepsister; (vi) a relative by adoption following entry 

of the interlocutory or final order, whichever is first; (vii) 

the same relatives by adoption as listed in this subdivision 

1 b; and (viii) spouses of any persons named in this 

subdivision 1 b even after the marriage is terminated by 

death or divorce. 
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MAGI-based income methodologies in 12VAC30-40-100 

shall be used in calculating household income. 

2. Women who are pregnant or postpartum with household 

income at or below a standard established by the 

Commonwealth in 12VAC30-40-100, consistent with 

42CFR 42 CFR 435.116 and §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III) and 

(IV), 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(I) and (IX), and 1931(b) of the Act. 

Individuals qualifying under this eligibility group shall be 

pregnant or postpartum as defined in 42 CFR 435.4. 

a. A woman who, while pregnant, was eligible for, applied 

for, and received Medicaid under the approved state plan 

on the day her pregnancy ends. The woman continues to 

be eligible, as though she were pregnant, for all 

pregnancy-related and postpartum medical assistance 

under the plan for a 60-day period, beginning on the last 

day of her pregnancy, and for any remaining days in the 

month in which the 60th day falls. 

b. A pregnant woman who would otherwise lose eligibility 

because of an increase in income of the family in which 

she is a member during the pregnancy or the postpartum 

period that extends through the end of the month in which 

the 60-day period, beginning on the last day of pregnancy, 

ends. 

MAGI-based income methodologies in 12VAC30-40-100 

shall be used in calculating household income. 

3. Infants and children younger than the age of 19 years of 

age with household income at or below standards based on 

this age group, consistent with 42 CFR 435.118 and 

§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), (IV) and (VIII); 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(IV) and (IX); and 1931(b) of the Act. 

Children qualifying under this eligibility group shall meet 

the following criteria: 

a. They are younger than the age of 19 years of age; and 

b. They have a household income at or below the standard 

established by the Commonwealth. 

MAGI-based income methodologies in 12VAC30-40-100 

shall be used in calculating household income. 

4. The adult group as described at 42 CFR 435.119. 

5. Former foster care children younger than the age of 26 

years of age who are not otherwise mandatorily eligible in 

another Medicaid classification, who were on Medicaid and 

in foster care when they turned age 18 years of age, or who 

aged out of foster care. Individuals qualifying under this 

eligibility group shall meet the following criteria: 

a. They shall be younger than the age of 26 years of age; 

b. They shall not be otherwise eligible for and enrolled for 

mandatory coverage under the state plan; and 

c. They were in foster care under the responsibility of the 

state of Virginia Commonwealth or a federally recognized 

tribe and were enrolled in Virginia Medicaid under the 

state plan when they turned age 18 years of age or at the 

time of aging out of the foster care program. 

5. 6. Families terminated from coverage under § 1931 of the 

Act solely because of earnings or hours of employment shall 

be entitled to up to 12 months of extended benefits in 

accordance with § 1925 of the Act. 

6. 7. A child born to a woman who is eligible for and 

receiving Medicaid on the date of the child's birth. The child 

is deemed to have applied and been found eligible for 

Medicaid on the date of birth and remains eligible for one 

year from birth, as long as he remains a resident of the 

Commonwealth. A redetermination of eligibility must be 

completed on behalf of the deemed child at age one year and 

annually thereafter so long as he remains eligible. 

7. 8. Aged, blind, and disabled individuals receiving cash 

assistance. 

a. Individuals who meet more restrictive requirements for 

Medicaid than the SSI requirements. (This includes 

persons who qualify for benefits under § 1619(a) of the 

Act or who meet the eligibility requirements for SSI status 

under § 1619(b)(1) of the Act and who met the state's 

Commonwealth's more restrictive requirements for 

Medicaid in the month before the month they qualified for 

SSI under § 1619(a) or met the requirements under 

§ 1619(b)(1) of the Act. Medicaid eligibility for these 

individuals continues as long as they continue to meet the 

§ 1619(a) eligibility standard or the requirements of 

§ 1619(b) of the Act.) 

b. These persons include the aged, the blind, and the 

disabled. 

c. Protected SSI children (pursuant to 

§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(II) of the Act) (P.L. 105-33 § 4913). 

Children who meet the pre-welfare reform definition of 

childhood disability who lost their SSI coverage solely as 

a result of the change in the definition of childhood 

disability, and who also meet the more restrictive 

requirements for Medicaid than the SSI requirements. 

d. The more restrictive categorical eligibility criteria are 

described in 12VAC30-30-40. 

Financial criteria are described in 12VAC30-40-10. 

8. 9. Qualified severely impaired blind and disabled 

individuals under age younger than 65 years of age who: 

a. For the month preceding the first month of eligibility 

under the requirements of § 1905(q)(2) of the Act, 

received SSI, a state supplementary payment (SSP) under 

§ 1616 of the Act or under § 212 of P.L. 93-66 or benefits 

under § 1619(a) of the Act and were eligible for Medicaid; 

or 

b. For the month of June 1987, were considered to be 

receiving SSI under § 1619(b) of the Act and were eligible 

for Medicaid. These individuals must: 
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(1) Continue to meet the criteria for blindness or have the 

disabling physical or mental impairment under which the 

individual was found to be disabled; 

(2) Except for earnings, continue to meet all nondisability-

related requirements for eligibility for SSI benefits; 

(3) Have unearned income in amounts that would not 

cause them to be ineligible for a payment under § 1611(b) 

of the Act; 

(4) Be seriously inhibited by the lack of Medicaid 

coverage in their ability to continue to work or obtain 

employment; and 

(5) Have earnings that are not sufficient to provide for 

himself themselves a reasonable equivalent of the 

Medicaid, SSI (including any federally administered 

SSP), or public funded attendant care services that would 

be available if he they did have such earnings. 

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements for 

Medicaid than under SSI and under 42 CFR 435.121. 

Individuals who qualify for benefits under § 1619(a) of the 

Act or individuals described above in this section who meet 

the eligibility requirements for SSI benefits under 

§ 1619(b)(1) of the Act and who met the state's more 

restrictive requirements in the month before the month they 

qualified for SSI under § 1619(a) or met the requirements of 

§ 1619(b)(1) of the Act are covered. Eligibility for these 

individuals continues as long as they continue to qualify for 

benefits under § 1619(a) of the Act or meet the SSI 

requirements under § 1619(b)(1) of the Act. 

9. 10. Except in states that apply more restrictive 

requirements for Medicaid than under SSI, blind or disabled 

individuals who: 

a. Are at least 18 years of age; and 

b. Lose SSI eligibility because they become entitled to Old 

Age, Survivor, and Disability Insurance (OASDI) child's 

benefits under § 202(d) of the Act or an increase in these 

benefits based on their disability. Medicaid eligibility for 

these individuals continues for as long as they would be 

eligible for SSI, absence their OASDI eligibility. 

The state Commonwealth does not apply more restrictive 

income eligibility requirements than those under SSI. 

10. 11. Except in states that apply more restrictive eligibility 

requirements for Medicaid than under SSI, individuals who 

are ineligible for SSI or optional state supplements (if the 

agency provides Medicaid under § 435.230 of the Act), 

because of requirements that do not apply under Title XIX 

of the Act. 

11. 12. Individuals receiving mandatory state supplements. 

12. 13. Individuals who in December 1973 were eligible for 

Medicaid as an essential spouse and who have continued, as 

a spouse, to live with and be essential to the well-being of a 

recipient of cash assistance. The recipient with whom the 

essential spouse is living continues to meet the December 

1973 eligibility requirements of the state's Commonwealth's 

approved plan for Old Age Assistance, Aid to the Blind, Aid 

to the Permanently and Totally Disabled, or Aid to the Aged, 

Blind, and Disabled and the spouse continues to meet the 

December 1973 requirements for have his needs to be 

included in computing the cash payment. In December 1973, 

Medicaid coverage of the essential spouse was limited to the 

aged, the blind, and the disabled. 

13. 14. Institutionalized individuals who were eligible for 

Medicaid in December 1973 as inpatients of Title XIX 

medical institutions or residents of Title XIX intermediate 

care facilities, if, for each consecutive month after December 

1973, they: 

a. Continue to meet the December 1973 Medicaid State 

Plan eligibility requirements; 

b. Remain institutionalized; and 

c. Continue to need institutional care. 

14. 15. Blind and disabled individuals who: 

a. Meet all current requirements for Medicaid eligibility 

except the blindness or disability criteria; 

b. Were eligible for Medicaid in December 1973 as blind 

or disabled; and 

c. For each consecutive month after December 1973 

continue to meet December 1973 eligibility criteria. 

15. 16. Individuals who would be SSI/SSP SSI or SSP 

eligible except for the increase in OASDI benefits under P.L. 

92-336 (July 1, 1972), who were entitled to OASDI in 

August 1972, and who were receiving cash assistance in 

August 1972. This includes persons who would have been 

eligible for cash assistance but had not applied in August 

1972 (this group was included in this state's August 1972 

plan), and persons who would have been eligible for cash 

assistance in August 1972 if not in a medical institution or 

intermediate care facility (this group was included in this 

state's August 1972 plan). 

16. 17. Individuals who: 

a. Are receiving OASDI and were receiving SSI/SSP SSI 

or SSP but became ineligible for SSI/SSP SSI or SSP after 

April 1977; and 

b. Would still be eligible for SSI or SSP if cost-of-living 

increases in OASDI paid under § 215(i) of the Act 

received after the last month for which the individual was 

eligible for and received SSI/SSP SSI or SSP and OASDI, 

concurrently, were deducted from income. 

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements 

than those under SSI and the amount of increase that caused 

SSI/SSP SSI or SSP ineligibility and subsequent increases 

are deducted when determining the amount of countable 

income for categorically needy eligibility. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1354 

17. 18. Disabled widows and widowers who would be 

eligible for SSI or SSP except for the increase in their 

OASDI benefits as a result of the elimination of the 

reduction factor required by § 134 of P.L. 98-21 and who are 

deemed, for purposes of Title XIX, to be SSI beneficiaries 

or SSP beneficiaries for individuals who would be eligible 

for SSP only, under § 1634(b) of the Act. 

The state does not apply more restrictive income eligibility 

standards than those under SSI. 

18. 19. Disabled widows, disabled widowers, and disabled 

unmarried divorced spouses who had been married to the 

insured individual for a period of at least 10 years before the 

divorce became effective, who have attained the age of 50, 

who are receiving Title II payments, and who because of the 

receipt of Title II income lost eligibility for SSI or SSP 

which they received in the month prior to the month in which 

they began to receive Title II payments, who would be 

eligible for SSI or SSP if the amount of the Title II benefit 

were not counted as income, and who are not entitled to 

Medicare Part A. 

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements for 

its blind or disabled than those of the SSI program. 

19. 20. Qualified Medicare beneficiaries: 

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 

Medicare Part A (but not pursuant to an enrollment under 

§ 1818 of the Act); 

b. Whose income does not exceed 100% of the federal 

level; and 

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 

standard under SSI or, effective January 1, 2010, the 

resource limit set for the Medicare Part D Low Income 

Subsidy Program. 

Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare cost 

sharing as defined in item 3.2 of this plan. 

20. 21. Qualified disabled and working individuals: 

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 

Medicare Part A under § 1818A of the Act; 

b. Whose income does not exceed 200% of the federal 

poverty level; 

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 

standard under SSI; and 

d. Who are not otherwise eligible for medical assistance 

under Title XIX of the Act. 

Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare Part 

A premiums under §§ 1818 and 1818A of the Act. 

21. 22. Specified low-income Medicare beneficiaries: 

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 

Medicare Part A (but not pursuant to an enrollment under 

§ 1818A of the Act); 

b. Whose income for calendar years 1993 and 1994 

exceeds the income level in subdivision 25 b of this 

section, but is less than 110% of the federal poverty level, 

and whose income for calendar years beginning 1995 is 

less than 120% of the federal poverty level; and 

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 

standard under SSI or, effective January 1, 2010, the 

resource limit set for the Medicare Part D Low Income 

Subsidy Program. 

Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare Part 

B premiums under § 1839 of the Act. 

22. 23. a. Each person to whom SSI benefits by reason of 

disability are not payable for any month solely by reason of 

clause (i) or (v) of § 1611(e)(3)(A) § 1611(e)(3)(A)(i) or (v) 

shall be treated, for purposes of Title XIX, as receiving SSI 

benefits for the month. 

b. The state applies more restrictive eligibility standards 

than those under SSI. Individuals whose eligibility for SSI 

benefits are based solely on disability who are not payable 

for any months solely by reason of clause (i) or (v) of 

§ 1611(e)(3)(A) § 1611(e)(3)(A)(i) or (v) and who 

continue to meet the more restrictive requirements for 

Medicaid eligibility under the state plan, are eligible for 

Medicaid as categorically needy. 

12VAC30-40-348. Adult group individual income-based 

determinations.  

A. Methodology for identification of applicable federal 

medical assistance percentages (FMAP) rates. DMAS will 

determine the appropriate FMAP rate for expenditures for 

individuals enrolled in the adult group described in 42 CFR 

435.119 and receiving benefits in accordance with 42 CFR Part 

440 Subpart C. The adult group FMAP methodology consists 

of two parts: an individual-based determination related to 

enrolled individuals and, as applicable, appropriate population-

based adjustments. 

B. Adult group individual income-based determinations. For 

individuals eligible in the adult group, the Commonwealth will 

make an individual income-based determination for purposes 

of the adult group FMAP methodology by comparing 

individual income to the relevant converted income eligibility 

standards in effect on December 1, 2009, and included in the 

Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) Conversion Plan 

(Part 2) approved by Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) on February 11, 2014. In general, and subject 

to any adjustments described in this section, under the adult 

group FMAP methodology, the expenditures of individuals 

with incomes below the relevant converted income standards 

for the applicable subgroup are considered as those for which 

the newly eligible FMAP is not available.  

C. Population-based adjustments to the newly eligible 

population based on resource test, enrollment cap, or special 

circumstances. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1355 

1. The Commonwealth does not apply a resource proxy 

adjustment.  

2. The Commonwealth does not apply an enrollment cap. 

3. The Commonwealth does not apply a special 

circumstance adjustment. 

4. The Commonwealth does not apply any additional 

adjustment to the adult group FMAP methodology. 

D. Individuals previously eligible for Medicaid coverage 

through a § 1115 demonstration program or a mandatory or 

optional State Plan eligibility category will be transitioned to 

the new adult group described in 42 CFR 435.119 in 

accordance with a CMS-approved transition plan or a 

§ 1902(e)(14)(A) waiver. 

E. Applicability of special FMAP rates. 

1. The Commonwealth does not meet the definition of an 

expansion state in 42 CFR 433.204(b). 

2. The Commonwealth does not qualify for a temporary 

2.2% increase in FMAP under 42 CFR 433.10(c)(7).  

F. The Commonwealth attests to the following: 

1. The application of the adult group FMAP methodology 

will not affect the timing or approval of any individual's 

eligibility for Medicaid. 

2. The application of the adult group FMAP methodology 

will not be biased in such a manner as to inappropriately 

establish the numbers of, or medical assistance expenditures 

for, individuals determined to be newly or not newly 

eligible. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5692; Filed January 10, 2022, 2:25 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-130, 12VAC30-50-226). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-61, 

12VAC30-60-143). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 17, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services to administer and amend 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance and to promulgate 

regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance and to promulgate 

regulations according to the board's requirements. 

Purpose: This regulatory action is essential to protect the 

health, safety, or welfare of citizens in that it supports member 

access to care and efficiency by reducing the time and 

administrative burden on providers and members they serve. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

action is expected to be noncontroversial because it 

implements changes that were announced in a Medicaid Memo 

released on November 20, 2018, and that took effect on 

January 1, 2019. Providers subject to these changes have not 

submitted comments or complaints about the changes and have 

smoothly transitioned from the service specific provider intake 

(SSPI) to the comprehensive needs assessment (CNA). 

Substance: In the past, providers of community mental health 

services were required to conduct a separate SSPI for each 

community mental health service, even if the same provider 

offered more than one service. This regulatory package 

changes the SSPI to a CNA. The CNA will be used by 

providers to screen individuals for any service offered by a 

provider. Allowing one CNA in place of multiple SSPIs is 

intended to support member access to care and efficiency by 

reducing the time and administrative burden on providers and 

members they serve. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public, the agency, and 

the Commonwealth is that the CNA supports member access 

to care and efficiency by reducing the time and administrative 

burden on providers and members they serve. 

The primary disadvantage to Medicaid providers who offer 

more than one service is that they cannot bill for a separate 

intake for each community mental health service. Instead, one 

comprehensive needs assessment is used to determine which 

of the services offered by the provider may be needed by the 

individual. However, this is not likely to cause a decrease in 

the provider's total billing, because providers will initiate care 

more quickly, and the billing that might have come from an 

additional assessment is likely to be replaced by billing from 

service provision. In addition, individual treatment will not 

differ due to these changes. Even under the old SSPI process, 

providers can reassess individuals progress and needs and can 

bill for that using the billing code for the service. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS), on behalf of the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services, proposes to reflect in regulation the revised 

mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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community mental health intake process that has been in effect 

since 2019 in practice. 

Background. Prior to January 2019, Medicaid mental health 

providers were required to conduct a separate service-specific 

provider intake for each community mental health service they 

offered. For example, if a community mental health provider 

offered both intensive in-home treatment and therapeutic day 

treatment, the provider was required to complete two intake 

assessments for the same patient. At the request of Virginia 

Community Services Boards, DMAS revised the intake 

process to a comprehensive needs assessment approach, which 

allowed providers to screen individuals for any service offered 

by the provider and start providing the services needed by the 

individual based on that assessment. These changes were 

announced in a Medicaid Memo released on November 20, 

2018, and took effect on January 1, 2019.1 Thus, the proposed 

action aligns regulations with practices that were previously 

implemented at the agency's discretion. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The economic impact of the 

change implemented in 2019 includes a likely reduction in 

provider revenues due to a decrease in the number of needs 

assessments that are conducted, but a likely increase in 

revenues due to the ability to provide additional mental health 

services based on the same needs assessment. The degree to 

which one effect upon provider revenues affects the other 

cannot be determined with available data. 

An additional important factor to consider is the fact that 

community mental health services have been exclusively 

provided through managed care networks since a few months 

before the comprehensive needs assessment was implemented. 

Managed care services are those where the managed care 

provider is paid a fixed monthly capitation fee for providing 

the covered services the Medicaid enrollee needs. Therefore, 

unlike the fee-for-service reimbursement model, in the short 

run there is no direct correlation between the amount of 

services provided in a given month and the amount paid to the 

managed care network. In the long run, however, increased 

utilization in a managed care model may eventually lead to 

higher capitation rates if and when the actuary determines that 

higher capitation rates are indicated. 

DMAS believes that the increase in provider revenue due to 

the ability to provide additional services following a 

comprehensive needs assessment would have been offset by 

the reduction in provider revenues from the decrease in the 

number of assessments. Additionally, DMAS states that the 

managed care capitation rate was not adjusted based on this 

change, and on this basis concludes that there was no fiscal 

impact to the agency. 

In the end, the magnitude of these effects cannot be determined 

because insufficient data are available with which to ascertain 

the magnitude of opposing impacts on provider revenues, or 

whether there was (or will be) an impact on managed care 

capitation rates. Notwithstanding the lack of data on revenue 

impacts, it appears that the use of a single assessment would be 

administratively more efficient and improve access to needed 

services. Finally, aligning the regulatory text to reflect the 

practices that are actually followed in the provision of 

community mental health services would likely improve 

clarity regarding what the rules are that mental health providers 

must follow. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The use of a single 

comprehensive needs assessment has been part of the business 

practices of approximately 1,138 community mental health 

providers since 2019.2 Due to lack of data, it cannot be 

ascertained whether the 2019 change has had an adverse 

economic impact3 on community mental health providers. 

Small Businesses4 Affected. 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

Most of the 1,138 community mental health service providers 

are likely small businesses. However, whether the 2019 change 

in practice has had an adverse impact on these providers cannot 

be assessed due to lack of data. 

Costs and Other Effects. The change in needs assessment that 

occurred in 2019 would have likely had offsetting effects on 

provider revenues. However, the lack of data does not allow to 

assess magnitude and hence the net of the opposing potential 

revenue effects. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not appear 

to directly introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Given the inability to 

determine the net impact on provider revenues, the impact on 

employment also cannot be assessed. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Given the 

inability to determine the net impact on provider revenues, the 

impact on asset values of providers also cannot be assessed. 

The proposed changes do not appear to affect real estate 

development costs. 

_______________________________ 
1See https://www.magellanofvirginia.com/media/3777/11-21-18-updates-to-

cmhrs-memo-from-dmas.pdf 

2Data Source: DMAS 
3Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget and raises no issues with 

this analysis. 

https://www.magellanofvirginia.com/media/3777/11-21-18-updates-to-cmhrs-memo-from-dmas.pdf
https://www.magellanofvirginia.com/media/3777/11-21-18-updates-to-cmhrs-memo-from-dmas.pdf
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Summary: 

The amendments change the process by which a Medicaid 

provider gathers information about an individual so that 

an individual may receive a Department of Medical 

Assistance Services community mental health service. The 

new method, a comprehensive needs assessment (CNA) 

will be used by providers to screen individuals for any 

service offered by a provider, and one CNA will replace 

multiple service specific provider intake forms, which 

formerly served the same purpose.  

12VAC30-50-130. Nursing facility services, EPSDT, 

including school health services and family planning. 

A. Nursing facility services (other than services in an 

institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 

or older. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 

the healing arts. 

B. General provisions for early and periodic screening, 

diagnosis, and treatment (EPSDT) of individuals younger than 

21 years of age, and treatment of conditions found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 

behalf of individuals younger than 21 years of age who are 

Medicaid eligible for medically necessary stays in acute care 

facilities and the accompanying attendant physician care in 

excess of 21 days per admission when such services are 

rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health 

conditions identified through a physical examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as provided 

through EPSDT) are not covered except that well-child 

examinations in a private physician's office are covered for 

foster children of the local departments of social services on 

specific referral from those departments. Reserved.  

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if medically 

necessary to correct a visual defect identified by an EPSDT 

examination or evaluation. DMAS shall place appropriate 

utilization controls upon this service. 

4. Consistent with § 6403 of the Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act of 1989, early and periodic screening, 

diagnostic, and treatment services means the following 

services: screening services, vision services, dental services, 

hearing services, and such other necessary health care, 

diagnostic services, treatment, and other measures described 

in Social Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate 

defects and physical and mental illnesses and conditions 

discovered by the screening services and that are medically 

necessary, whether or not such services are covered under 

the State Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, 

applicable to recipients 21 years of age and older, provided 

for by § 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. 

C. Community mental health services provided through early 

and periodic screening diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT) for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age. These services in 

order to be covered (i) shall meet medical necessity criteria 

based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs, LMHP-Rs, LMHP-

RPs, and LMHP-Ss who are practicing within the scope of their 

licenses and (ii) are shall be reflected in provider records and 

on providers' claims for services by recognized diagnosis codes 

that support and are consistent with the requested professional 

services. 

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" means personal care activities 

and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 

feeding, and eating. 

"Adolescent" or "child" means the individual receiving the 

services described in this section. For the purpose of the use 

of these terms, adolescent means an individual 12 through 

20 years of age; child means an individual from birth up to 

12 years of age.  

"Behavioral health service" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Care coordination" means the collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers who are involved 

with an individual's health care to improve the care. 

"Caregiver" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority, or 

its designee, who is skilled in the assessment and treatment 

of mental illness and has completed a certification program 

approved by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Clinical experience" means providing direct behavioral 

health services on a full-time basis or equivalent hours of 

part-time work to children and adolescents who have 

diagnoses of mental illness and includes supervised 

internships, supervised practicums, and supervised field 

experience for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement of (i) 

intensive in-home services, (ii) day treatment for children 

and adolescents, (iii) community-based residential services 

for children and adolescents who are younger than 21 years 

of age (Level A), or (iv) therapeutic behavioral services 

(Level B). Experience shall not include unsupervised 

internships, unsupervised practicums, and unsupervised 

field experience. The equivalency of part-time hours to full-

time hours for the purpose of this requirement shall be as 

established by DBHDS in the document entitled Human 

Services and Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, 

issued March 12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013. 

"Child" means an individual ages birth through 11 years.  
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"Comprehensive needs assessment" means the face-to-face 

interaction in which the provider obtains information from 

the youth and parent or other family member, as appropriate, 

about the youth's mental health status. Requirements for the 

comprehensive needs assessment are set out in 12VAC30-

60-143. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Direct supervisor" means the person who provides direct 

supervision to the peer recovery specialist. The direct 

supervisor (i) shall have two consecutive years of 

documented practical experience rendering peer support 

services or family support services, have certification 

training as a PRS under a certifying body approved by 

DBHDS, and have documented completion of the DBHDS 

PRS supervisor training; (ii) shall be a qualified mental 

health professional (QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E) as 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20 with at least two consecutive 

years of documented experience as a QMHP, and who has 

documented completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor 

training; or (iii) shall be an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S who has documented completion of the DBHDS 

PRS supervisor training who is acting within his scope of 

practice under state law. An LMHP providing services 

before April 1, 2018, shall have until April 1, 2018, to 

complete the DBHDS PRS supervisor training. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and its contractors. 

"EPSDT" means early and periodic screening, diagnosis, 

and treatment. 

"Family support partners" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5170. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 

defined by DBHDS in the document entitled Human 

Services and Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, 

issued March 12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 

term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 

the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 

marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 for 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An LMHP-

resident shall be in continuous compliance with the 

regulatory requirements of the applicable counseling 

profession for supervised practice and shall not perform the 

functions of the LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" until 

the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 

Counseling. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to 

their supervisors for services provided by such residents, 

they shall use the title "Resident" in connection with the 

applicable profession after their signatures to indicate such 

status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as an individual in a residency, as that term is defined 

in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical psychologists. An 

LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 

experience as found in 18VAC125-20-65 and shall not 

perform the functions of the LMHP-RP or be considered a 

"resident" until the supervision for specific clinical duties at 

a specific site has been preapproved in writing by the 

Virginia Board of Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid 

reimbursement by supervisors for services provided by such 

residents, they shall use the title "Resident in Psychology" 

after their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," or 

"LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" as defined in 

18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. An 

LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 

practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and shall not perform 

the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered a "supervisee" 

until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific 

site is preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Social 

Work. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their 

supervisors for services provided by supervisees, these 

persons shall use the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after 

their signatures to indicate such status. 

"Peer recovery specialist" or "PRS" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC35-250-10 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Peer recovery support services" means the same as defined 

in 12VAC35-250-10. 

"Person centered" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation 

that contains the unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is 

also signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's 

professional staff who have prepared the notes. 

Individualized and member-specific progress notes are part 

of the minimum documentation requirements and shall 

convey the individual's status, staff interventions, and, as 

appropriate, the individual's progress, or lack of progress, 

toward goals and objectives in the ISP. The progress notes 

shall also include, at a minimum, the name of the service 

rendered, the date of the service rendered, the signature and 

credentials of the person who rendered the service, the 

setting in which the service was rendered, and the amount of 

time or units or hours required to deliver the service. The 
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content of each progress note shall corroborate the units or 

hours billed. Progress notes shall be documented for each 

service that is billed. 

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 

aimed at helping individuals youth who have mental illness 

and their family members or caregivers to access clear and 

concise information about mental illness and (ii) a way of 

accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental illness 

and its effects in order to design effective treatment plans 

and strategies. 

"Psychoeducational activities" means systematic 

interventions based on supportive and cognitive behavior 

therapy that emphasizes an individual's and his family's 

needs and focuses on increasing the individual's and family's 

knowledge about mental disorders, adjusting to mental 

illness, communicating and facilitating problem solving, and 

increasing coping skills. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20 

§ 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-

E" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-

20 and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-105-

590 "qualified mental health professional – trainee" as 

defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20 

and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-105-

1370. 

"Recovery-oriented services" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Resiliency" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

"Self-advocacy" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face 

interaction in which the provider obtains information from 

the child or adolescent, and parent or other family member, 

as appropriate, about the child's or adolescent's mental health 

status. It includes documented history of the severity, 

intensity, and duration of mental health care problems and 

issues and shall contain all of the following elements: (i) the 

presenting issue or reason for referral, (ii) mental health 

history/hospitalizations, (iii) previous interventions by 

providers and timeframes and response to treatment, (iv) 

medical profile, (v) developmental history including history 

of abuse, if appropriate, (vi) educational or vocational status, 

(vii) current living situation and family history and 

relationships, (viii) legal status, (ix) drug and alcohol profile, 

(x) resources and strengths, (xi) mental status exam and 

profile, (xii) diagnosis, (xiii) professional summary and 

clinical formulation, (xiv) recommended care and treatment 

goals, and (xv) the dated signature of the LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP.  

"Services provided under arrangement" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-850. 

"Strength-based" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Supervision" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

"Youth" means an individual younger than 21 years of age. 

2. Intensive in-home services (IIH) to children and 

adolescents younger than 21 years of age youth shall be 

time-limited interventions provided in the individual's 

youth's residence and when clinically necessary in 

community settings. All interventions and the settings of the 

intervention shall be defined in the Individual Service Plan. 

All IIH services shall be designed to specifically improve 

family dynamics, and provide modeling, and the clinically 

necessary interventions that increase functional and 

therapeutic interpersonal relations between family members 

in the home. IIH services are designed to promote 

psychoeducational benefits in the home setting of an 

individual a youth who is at risk of being moved into an out-

of-home placement or who is being transitioned to home 

from an out-of-home placement due to a documented 

medical need of the individual youth. These services provide 

crisis treatment; individual and family counseling; 

communication skills (e.g., counseling to assist the 

individual youth and the individual's youth's parents or 

guardians, as appropriate, to understand and practice 

appropriate problem solving, anger management, and 

interpersonal interaction, etc.); care coordination with other 

required services; and 24-hour emergency response. 

a. Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement prior to the onset of services. Services 

rendered before the date of authorization shall not be 

reimbursed. 

b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at the 

onset of services and Services must be recommended as 

part of a comprehensive needs assessment prior to the start 

of services. ISPs shall be required during the entire 

duration of services. Services based upon incomplete, 

missing, or outdated service-specific provider intakes 

comprehensive needs assessments or ISPs shall be denied 

reimbursement. Requirements for service-specific 

provider intakes comprehensive needs assessments and 

ISPs are set out in this section 12VAC30-60-61. 
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c. These services shall only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-

C, or a QMHP-E. 

3. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided two or 

more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 

interventions (a unit is defined in 12VAC30-60-61 D 11). 

Day treatment programs provide evaluation; medication 

education and management; opportunities to learn and use 

daily living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal 

skills (e.g., problem solving, anger management, community 

responsibility, increased impulse control, and appropriate 

peer relations, etc.); and individual, group, and family 

counseling. 

a. Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at the 

onset of services, and Services must be recommended as 

part of a comprehensive needs assessment prior to the start 

of services. ISPs shall be required during the entire 

duration of services. Services based upon incomplete, 

missing, or outdated service-specific provider intakes 

comprehensive needs assessments or ISPs shall be denied 

reimbursement. Requirements for service-specific 

provider intakes comprehensive needs assessments and 

ISPs are set out in this section 12VAC30-60-61. 

c. These services shall be rendered only by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-

C, or a QMHP-E. 

D. Therapeutic group home services and psychiatric 

residential treatment facility (PRTF) services for early and 

periodic screening diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT) of 

individuals younger than 21 years of age youth. 

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this subsection shall have the following meanings: 

"Active treatment" means implementation of an initial plan 

of care (IPOC) and comprehensive individual plan of care 

(CIPOC). 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADL" means personal care 

activities and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, 

toileting, feeding, and eating. 

"Activities of daily living restoration" or "ADL restoration" 

means a face-to-face interaction provided on an individual 

or group basis to assist youth in the restoration of lost ADL 

skills that are necessary to achieve the goals established in 

the youth's plan of care. Services address performance 

deficits related to a lack of physical, cognitive, or 

psychosocial skills which hinder the ability of the youth to 

complete ADLs. Services include (i) restoring acceptable 

habits, behaviors, and attitudes related to daily health 

activities and personal care or hygiene and (ii) assisting the 

youth restoring and regaining functional ADL skills and 

appropriate behavior related to health and safety. 

"ADL supervisor" means a child care supervisor with a 

baccalaureate degree in social work or psychology and two 

years of professional experience working with children one 

year of which must have been in a residential facility for 

children; or a high school diploma or General Education 

Development Certificate (GED) and a minimum of five 

years professional experience working with children with at 

least two years in a residential facility for children. 

"ADL technician" means a child care worker at least 21 

years of age who has a baccalaureate degree in human 

services (as defined by the Department of Health 

Professions); has an associate's degree and three months 

experience working with children; or is a high school 

graduate or has a GED and has six months of experience 

working with children. A trainee with a high school diploma 

or a GED may count experience working directly alongside 

a staff member who is, at a minimum, an ADL technician 

with at least one year of professional experience with 

children if the trainee is within sight and sound of the 

supervising staff member and does not work alone. An 

individual can only be classified as an ADL technician if 

they are supervised by an ADL supervisor, QMHP-C, 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. 

"Assessment" means the face-to-face interaction by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S to obtain 

information from the child or adolescent youth and parent, 

guardian, or other family member, as appropriate, utilizing a 

tool or series of tools to provide a comprehensive evaluation 

and review of the child's or adolescent's youth's mental 

health status. The assessment shall include a documented 

history of the severity, intensity, and duration of mental 

health problems and behavioral and emotional issues. 

"Certificate of need" or "CON" means a written statement 

by an independent certification team that services in a 

therapeutic group home or PRTF are or were needed. 

"Combined treatment services" means a structured, 

therapeutic milieu and planned interventions that promote (i) 

the development or restoration of adaptive functioning, self-

care, and social skills; (ii) community integrated activities 

and community living skills that each individual requires to 

live in less restrictive environments; (iii) behavioral 

consultation; (iv) individual and group therapy; (v) skills 

restoration, the restoration of coping skills, family living and 

health awareness, interpersonal skills, communication skills, 

and stress management skills; (vi) family education and 

family therapy; and (vii) individualized treatment planning. 

"Comprehensive individual plan of care" or "CIPOC" means 

a person centered plan of care that meets all of the 

requirements of this subsection and is specific to the 

individual's youth's unique treatment needs and acuity levels 

as identified in the clinical assessment and information 

gathered during the referral process. 
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"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation that 

produces an acute, heightened emotional, mental, physical, 

medical, or behavioral event. 

"Crisis management" means immediately provided activities 

and interventions designed to rapidly manage a crisis. The 

activities and interventions include behavioral health care to 

provide immediate assistance to individuals youth 

experiencing acute behavioral health problems that require 

immediate intervention to stabilize and prevent harm and 

higher level of acuity. Activities shall include assessment 

and short-term counseling designed to stabilize the 

individual youth. Individuals Youth are referred to long-

term services once the crisis has been stabilized. 

"Daily supervision" means the supervision provided in a 

PRTF through a resident-to-staff ratio approved by the 

Office of Licensure at the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services with documented supervision 

checks every 15 minutes throughout a 24-hour period. 

"Discharge planning" means family and locality-based care 

coordination that begins upon admission to a PRTF or 

therapeutic group home with the goal of transitioning the 

individual youth out of the PRTF or therapeutic group home 

to a less restrictive care setting with continued, clinically-

appropriate, and possibly intensive, services as soon as 

possible upon discharge. Discharge plans shall be 

recommended by the treating physician, psychiatrist, or 

treating LMHP responsible for the overall supervision of the 

plan of care and shall be approved by the DMAS contractor. 

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Emergency admissions" means those admissions that are 

made when, pending a review for the certificate of need, it 

appears that the individual youth is in need of an immediate 

admission to a therapeutic group home or PRTF and likely 

does not meet the medical necessity criteria to receive crisis 

intervention, crisis stabilization, or acute psychiatric 

inpatient services. 

"Emergency services" means unscheduled and sometimes 

scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, acute psychiatric 

inpatient services, and referral assistance provided over the 

telephone or face-to-face if indicated, and available 24 hours 

a day, seven days per week. 

"Family engagement" means a family-centered and 

strengths-based approach to partnering with families in 

making decisions, setting goals, achieving desired 

outcomes, and promoting safety, permanency, and well-

being for children, adolescents, youth and families. Family 

engagement requires ongoing opportunities for an individual 

a youth to build and maintain meaningful relationships with 

family members, for example, frequent, unscheduled, and 

noncontingent telephone calls and visits between an 

individual the youth and family members. Family 

engagement may also include enhancing or facilitating the 

development of the individual's youth's relationship with 

other family members and supportive adults responsible for 

the individual's youth's care and well-being upon discharge. 

"Family engagement activity" means an intervention 

consisting of family psychoeducational training or coaching, 

transition planning with the family, family and independent 

living skills, and training on accessing community supports 

as identified in the plan of care. Family engagement activity 

does not include and is not the same as family therapy. 

"Family therapy" means counseling services involving the 

individual's youth's family and significant others to advance 

the treatment goals when (i) the counseling with the family 

member and significant others is for the direct benefit of the 

individual youth, (ii) the counseling is not aimed at 

addressing treatment needs of the individual's youth's family 

or significant others, and (iii) the individual youth is present 

except when it is clinically appropriate for the individual 

youth to be absent in order to advance the individual's 

youth's treatment goals. Family therapy shall be aligned with 

the goals of the individual's youth's plan of care. All family 

therapy services furnished are for the direct benefit of the 

individual youth, in accordance with the individual's youth's 

needs and treatment goals identified in the individual's 

youth's plan of care, and for the purpose of assisting in the 

individual's youth's recovery. 

"FAPT" means the family assessment and planning team. 

"ICD-10" means International Statistical Classification of 

Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th Revision, 

published by the World Health Organization. 

"Independent certification team" means a team that has 

competence in diagnosis and treatment of mental illness, 

preferably in child and adolescent psychiatry; has 

knowledge of the individual's youth's situation; and is 

composed of at least one physician and one LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. The independent certification 

team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with 

contractual or employment relationships with the required 

team members. 

"Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 

years of age who is receiving therapeutic group home or 

PRTF services. 

"Individual and group therapy" means the application of 

principles, standards, and methods of the counseling 

profession in (i) conducting assessments and diagnosis for 

the purpose of establishing treatment goals and objectives 

and (ii) planning, implementing, and evaluating plans of care 

using treatment interventions to facilitate human 

development and to identify and remediate mental, 

emotional, or behavioral disorders and associated distresses 

that interfere with mental health.  
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"Initial plan of care" or "IPOC" means a person centered 

plan of care established at admission that meets all of the 

requirements of this subsection and is specific to the 

individual's youth's unique treatment needs and acuity levels 

as identified in the clinical assessment and information 

gathered during the referral process. 

"Intervention" means scheduled therapeutic treatment such 

as included in the individualized plan of care to help the 

youth achieve the youth's plan of care goals and objectives. 

Interventions may include individual or group 

psychoeducation; skills restoration; ADL restoration; 

individual, group, and family therapy; structured behavior 

support and training activities; recreation, art, and music 

therapies; community integration activities that promote or 

assist in the child's or adolescent's youth's ability to acquire 

coping and functional or self-regulating behavior skills; day 

and overnight therapeutic passes; and family engagement 

activities. Interventions shall not include individual, group, 

and family therapy; medical or dental appointments;, or 

physician services, medication evaluation, or management 

provided by a licensed clinician or physician and shall not 

include school attendance. Interventions shall be are 

provided in the therapeutic group home or PRTF and, when 

clinically necessary, may occur in a community setting or as 

part of a therapeutic pass if the setting is documented in the 

plan of care. All interventions and settings of the 

intervention shall be established in the plan of care. 

"Plan of care" means the initial plan of care (IPOC) and the 

comprehensive individual plan of care (CIPOC). 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine in Virginia, as defined in 

§ 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Psychiatric residential treatment facility" or "PRTF" means 

the same as defined in 42 CFR 483.352 and is a 24-hour, 

supervised, clinically and medically necessary, out-of-home 

active treatment program designed to provide necessary 

support and address mental health, behavioral, substance 

abuse, cognitive, and training needs of an individual younger 

than 21 years of age a youth in order to prevent or minimize 

the need for more intensive treatment. 

"Psychotherapy" or "therapy" means the use of 

psychological methods in a professional relationship to 

assist a person to acquire great human effectiveness or to 

modify feelings, conditions, attitudes, and behaviors that are 

emotionally, intellectually, or socially ineffectual or 

maladaptive. 

"Recertification" means a certification for each applicant or 

recipient for whom therapeutic group home or PRTF 

services are needed. 

"Room and board" means a component of the total daily cost 

for placement in a licensed PRTF. Residential room and 

board costs are maintenance costs associated with placement 

in a licensed PRTF and include a semi-private room, three 

meals and two snacks per day, and personal care items. 

Room and board costs are reimbursed only for PRTF 

settings. 

"Services provided under arrangement" means services 

including physician and other health care services that are 

furnished to children while they are in a freestanding 

psychiatric hospital or PRTF that are billed by the arranged 

practitioners separately from the freestanding psychiatric 

hospital's or PRTF's per diem. 

"Skills restoration" means a face-to-face service to assist 

individuals youth in the restoration of lost skills that are 

necessary to achieve the goals established in the 

beneficiary's youth's plan of care. Services include assisting 

the individual youth in restoring self-management, 

interpersonal, communication, and problem solving skills 

through modeling, coaching, and cueing. 

"Therapeutic group home" means a congregate residential 

service providing 24-hour supervision in a community-

based home having eight or fewer residents. 

"Therapeutic pass" means time at home or time with family 

consisting of partial or entire days of time away from the 

therapeutic group home or psychiatric residential treatment 

facility as clinically indicated in the plan of care and as 

paired with facility-based and community-based 

interventions to promote discharge planning, community 

integration, and family engagement activities. Therapeutic 

passes are not recreational but are a therapeutic component 

of the plan of care and are designed for the direct benefit of 

the individual youth. 

"Therapeutic services" means the structured therapeutic 

program designed to restore appropriate skills necessary to 

promote prosocial behavior and healthy living to include: the 

restoration of coping skills; family living and health 

awareness; interpersonal skills; communication skills; and 

stress management skills. Therapeutic services also engage 

families and reflect family-driven practices that correlate to 

sustained positive outcomes post-discharge for youth and 

their family members. Therapeutic services include 

assessment, individualized treatment planning, and 

interventions.  

"Treatment planning" means development, implementing, 

monitoring, and updating of a person centered plan of care 

that is specific to the individual's unique treatment needs and 

acuity levels. 

"Youth" means an individual younger than 21 years of age.  

2. Therapeutic group home services pursuant to 42 CFR 

440.130(d). 

a. Therapeutic group home services for children and 

adolescents younger than 21 years of age youth shall 

provide therapeutic services to restore or maintain 
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appropriate skills necessary to promote prosocial behavior 

and healthy living, including skills restoration, family 

living and health awareness, interpersonal skills, 

communication skills, community integration skills, 

coping skills, and stress management skills. Therapeutic 

services shall also engage families and reflect family-

driven practices that correlate to sustained positive 

outcomes post-discharge for youth and their family 

members. Therapeutic services may occur in group 

settings, in one-on-one interactions, or in the home setting 

during a therapeutic pass. Each component of therapeutic 

group home services is provided for the direct benefit of 

the individual youth, in accordance with the individual's 

youth's needs and treatment goals identified in the 

individual's youth's plan of care, and for the purpose of 

assisting in the individual's youth's recovery. These 

services are provided under 42 CFR 440.130(d) in 

accordance with the rehabilitative services benefit. 

b. The plan of care shall include individualized activities, 

including a minimum of one intervention per 24-hour 

period in addition to individual, group, and family 

therapies. Daily interventions are not required when there 

is documentation to justify clinical or medical reasons for 

the individual's deviations from the plan of care. 

Interventions shall be documented on a progress note and 

shall be outlined in and aligned with the treatment goals 

and objectives in the IPOC and CIPOC. Any deviation 

from the plan of care shall be documented along with a 

clinical or medical justification for the deviation. 

Therapeutic group home services providers shall be 

licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services under the Regulations for 

Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-36). 

Therapeutic group home services may only be rendered by 

and within the scope of practice of an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-C, a 

QMHP-E, or a QPPMH as defined in 12VAC35-105-20, 

an ADL supervisor, or an ADL technician. 

c. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a therapeutic 

group home. The following requirements for severity of 

need and intensity and quality of service shall be met to 

satisfy the medical necessity criteria for admission. 

(1) Severity of need required for admission. All of the 

following criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for 

severity of need: 

(a) The individual's youth's behavioral health condition 

can only be safely and effectively treated in a 24-hour 

therapeutic milieu with onsite behavioral health therapy 

due to significant impairments in home, school, and 

community functioning caused by current mental health 

symptoms consistent with a DSM-5 diagnosis. 

(b) The certificate of need must demonstrate all of the 

following: (i) ambulatory care resources (all available 

modalities of treatment less restrictive than inpatient 

treatment) available in the community do not meet the 

treatment needs of the individual youth; (ii) proper 

treatment of the individual's youth's psychiatric condition 

requires services on an inpatient basis under the direction 

of a physician; and (iii) the services can reasonably be 

expected to improve the individual's youth's condition or 

prevent further regression so that the services will no 

longer be needed. 

(c) The state uniform assessment tool shall be completed. 

The assessment shall demonstrate at least two areas of 

moderate impairment in major life activities. A moderate 

impairment is defined as a major or persistent disruption 

in major life activities. A moderate impairment is 

evidenced by, but not limited to (i) frequent conflict in the 

family setting such as credible threats of physical harm, 

where "frequent" means more than expected for the 

individual's youth's age and developmental level; (ii) 

frequent inability to accept age-appropriate direction and 

supervision from caretakers, from family members, at 

school, or in the home or community; (iii) severely limited 

involvement in social support, which means significant 

avoidance of appropriate social interaction, deterioration 

of existing relationships, or refusal to participate in 

therapeutic interventions; (iv) impaired ability to form a 

trusting relationship with at least one caretaker in the 

home, school, or community; (v) limited ability to 

consider the effect of one's inappropriate conduct on 

others; and (vi) interactions consistently involving 

conflict, which may include impulsive or abusive 

behaviors. 

(d) Less restrictive community-based services have been 

given a fully adequate trial and were unsuccessful or, if 

not attempted, have been considered, but in either situation 

were determined to be unable to meet the individual's 

youth's treatment needs and the reasons for that are 

discussed in the certificate of need. 

(e) The individual's youth's symptoms, or the need for 

treatment in a 24 hours a day, seven days a week level of 

care (LOC), are not primarily due to any of the following: 

(i) intellectual disability, developmental disability, or 

autistic spectrum disorder; (ii) organic mental disorders, 

traumatic brain injury, or other medical condition; or (iii) 

the individual youth does not require a more intensive 

level of care. 

(f) The individual youth does not require primary medical 

or surgical treatment. 

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for 

admission. All of the following criteria shall be met to 

satisfy the criteria for intensity and quality of service: 

(a) The therapeutic group home service has been 

prescribed by a psychiatrist, psychologist, or other LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who has documented 

that a residential setting is the least restrictive clinically 
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appropriate service that can meet the specifically 

identified treatment needs of the individual youth. 

(b) The therapeutic group home is not being used for 

clinically inappropriate reasons, including (i) an 

alternative to incarceration or preventative detention; (ii) 

an alternative to a parent's, guardian's, or agency's capacity 

to provide a place of residence for the individual youth; or 

(iii) a treatment intervention when other less restrictive 

alternatives are available. 

(c) The individual's youth's treatment goals are included in 

the service specific provider intake plan of care and 

include behaviorally defined objectives that require and 

can reasonably be achieved within a therapeutic group 

home setting. 

(d) The therapeutic group home is required to coordinate 

with the individual's youth's community resources, 

including schools and FAPT as appropriate, with the goal 

of transitioning the individual youth out of the program to 

a less restrictive care setting for continued, sometimes 

intensive, services as soon as possible and appropriate. 

(e) The therapeutic group home program must incorporate 

nationally established, evidence-based, trauma-informed 

services and supports that promote recovery and 

resiliency. 

(f) Discharge planning begins upon admission, with 

concrete plans for the individual to transition back into the 

community beginning within the first week of admission, 

with clear action steps and target dates outlined in the plan 

of care. 

(3) Continued stay criteria. The following criteria shall be 

met in order to satisfy the criteria for continued stay: 

(a) All of the admission guidelines continue to be met and 

continue to be supported by the written clinical 

documentation. 

(b) The individual youth shall meet one of the following 

criteria: (i) the desired outcome or level of functioning has 

not been restored or improved in the timeframe outlined in 

the individual's youth's plan of care or the individual youth 

continues to be at risk for relapse based on history or (ii) 

the nature of the functional gains is tenuous and use of less 

intensive services will not achieve stabilization. 

(c) The individual youth shall meet one of the following 

criteria: (i) the individual youth has achieved initial 

CIPOC plan of care goals, but additional goals are 

indicated that cannot be met at a lower level of care; (ii) 

the individual youth is making satisfactory progress 

toward meeting goals but has not attained plan of care 

goals, and the goals cannot be addressed at a lower level 

of care; (iii) the individual youth is not making progress, 

and the plan of care has been modified to identify more 

effective interventions; or (iv) there are current indications 

that the individual youth requires this level of treatment to 

maintain level of functioning as evidenced by failure to 

achieve goals identified for therapeutic visits or stays in a 

nontreatment residential setting or in a lower level of 

residential treatment passes. 

(d) There is a written, up-to-date discharge plan that (i) 

identifies the custodial parent or custodial caregiver at 

discharge; (ii) identifies the school the individual youth 

will attend at discharge, if applicable; (iii) includes 

individualized education program (IEP) and FAPT 

recommendations, if necessary; (iv) outlines the aftercare 

treatment plan (discharge to another residential level of 

care is not an acceptable discharge goal); and (v) lists 

barriers to community reintegration and progress made on 

resolving these barriers since last review. 

(e) The active plan of care includes structure for combined 

treatment daily therapeutic services and activities to 

ensure the attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 

identified in the plan of care. Combined treatment services 

reinforce and practice skills learned in individual, group, 

and family therapy such as community integration skills, 

coping skills, family living and health awareness skills, 

interpersonal skills, and stress management skills. 

Combined treatment services may occur in group settings, 

in one-on-one interactions, or in the home setting during a 

therapeutic pass. In addition to the combined treatment 

services, the child or adolescent must also receive 

psychotherapy services, care coordination, family-based 

discharge planning, and locality-based transition 

activities. The child or adolescent shall receive intensive 

family interventions at least twice per month, although it 

is recommended that the intensive family interventions be 

provided at a frequency of one family therapy session per 

week. Family involvement begins immediately upon 

admission to therapeutic group home. If the minimum 

requirement cannot be met, the reasons must be reported, 

and continued efforts to involve family members must also 

be documented. Other family members or supportive 

adults may be included as indicated in the plan of care. 

(f) There is evidence of intensive family or support system 

involvement occurring at least once per week, unless there 

is an identified or valid reason why it is not clinically 

appropriate or feasible. 

(g) Less restrictive treatment options have been 

considered but cannot yet meet the individual's youth's 

treatment needs. There is sufficient current clinical 

documentation or evidence to show that therapeutic group 

home level of care continues to be the least restrictive level 

of care that can meet the individual's youth's mental health 

treatment needs. 

(4) Discharge shall occur if any of the following applies: 

(i) the level of functioning has improved with respect to 

the goals outlined in the plan of care, and the individual 

youth can reasonably be expected to maintain these gains 

at a lower level of treatment; (ii) the individual youth no 

longer benefits from service as evidenced by absence of 
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progress toward plan of care goals for a period of 60 days; 

or (iii) other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

d. The following clinical activities shall be required for 

each therapeutic group home resident: 

(1) An assessment shall be performed by an LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. 

(2) A face-to-face evaluation shall be performed by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S within 30 

calendar days prior to admission with a documented DSM-

5 or ICD-10 diagnosis. 

(3) A certificate of need shall be completed by an 

independent certification team according to the 

requirements of subdivision D 4 of this section. 

Recertification shall occur at least every 60 calendar days 

by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S acting 

within his scope of practice. 

(4) An IPOC that is specific to the individual's youth's 

unique treatment needs and acuity levels. The IPOC shall 

be completed on the day of admission by an LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall be signed by 

the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the 

individual youth and a family member or legally 

authorized representative. The IPOC shall include all of 

the following: 

(a) Individual Youth and family strengths and personal 

traits that would facilitate recovery and opportunities to 

develop motivational strategies and treatment alliance; 

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 

indicating the need for admission; 

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual 

youth; 

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 

goals; 

(e) Orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, dental, 

and any special health care needs whether or not provided 

in the facilities, treatments, restorative and rehabilitative 

services, activities, therapies, therapeutic passes, social 

services, community integration, diet, and special 

procedures recommended for the health and safety of the 

individual youth; 

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and 

modification to the plan of care; and 

(g) Plans for discharge. 

(5) A CIPOC shall be completed no later than 14 calendar 

days after admission. The CIPOC shall meet all of the 

following criteria: 

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 

examination of the medical, psychological, social, 

behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 

youth's situation and shall reflect the need for therapeutic 

group home care; 

(b) Be based on input from school, home, other health care 

providers, FAPT if necessary, the individual youth, and 

the family or legal guardian; 

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that include 

measurable short-term and long-term goals and objectives, 

with target dates for achievement; 

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, activities, 

and experiences designed to meet the treatment objectives 

related to the diagnosis; and 

(e) Include a comprehensive discharge plan with clear 

action steps and target dates, including necessary, 

clinically appropriate community services to ensure 

continuity of care upon discharge with the individual's 

youth's family, school, and community. 

(6) The CIPOC shall be reviewed, signed, and dated every 

30 calendar days by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S and the individual youth or a family member or 

primary caregiver. Updates shall be signed and dated by 

the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the 

individual youth or a family member or legally authorized 

representative. The review shall include all of the 

following: 

(a) The individual's youth's response to the services 

provided; 

(b) Recommended changes in the plan as indicated by the 

individual's youth's overall response to the CIPOC 

interventions; and 

(c) Determinations regarding whether the services being 

provided continue to be required. 

(7) The plan of care shall include individualized activities, 

including a minimum of one intervention per 24-hour 

period in addition to individual, group, and family 

therapies. Daily interventions are not required when there 

is documentation to justify clinical or medical reasons for 

the youth's deviations from the plan of care. Interventions 

shall be documented on a progress note and shall be 

outlined in and aligned with the treatment goals and 

objectives in the IPOC and CIPOC. Any deviation from 

the plan of care shall be documented along with a clinical 

or medical justification for the deviation. 

(8) Crisis management, clinical assessment, and 

individualized therapy shall be provided to address both 

behavioral mental health and substance use disorder needs 

as indicated in the plan of care to address intermittent 

crises and challenges within the therapeutic group home 

setting or community settings as defined in the plan of care 

and to avoid a higher level of care. 

(8) (9) Care coordination shall be provided with medical, 

educational, and other behavioral health providers and 

other entities involved in the care and discharge planning 

for the individual youth as included in the plan of care. 

Documentation of this care coordination shall be 

maintained by the facility or group home in the youth's 
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record. The documentation shall include who was 

contacted, when the contact occurred, what information 

was transmitted, and recommended next steps. 

(9) (10) Weekly individual therapy shall be provided in the 

therapeutic group home, or other settings as appropriate 

for the individual's youth's needs, by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements for 

progress notes in 12VAC30-60-61 B. 

(10) Weekly (or more frequently if clinically indicated) 

group (11) Group therapy shall be provided at a minimum 

of weekly and as documented in the plan of care by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which and 

shall be documented in progress notes in accordance with 

the requirements for progress notes in 12VAC30-60-61 

and as planned and documented in the plan of care B. 

(11) (12) Family involvement begins immediately upon 

admission to the therapeutic group home. Family 

treatment therapy shall be provided as clinically indicated, 

and as documented in the plan of care and shall be 

provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-

S, and documented in progress notes in accordance with 

the requirements for progress notes in 12VAC30-60-61 

and as planned and documented in the plan of care B. 

(12) (13) Family engagement activities shall be provided 

in addition to family therapy or counseling. Family 

engagement activities shall be provided at least weekly as 

outlined in the plan of care, and daily communication with 

the family or legally authorized representative shall be part 

of the family engagement strategies in the plan of care. For 

each service authorization period when family 

engagement is not possible, the therapeutic group home 

shall identify and document the specific barriers to the 

individual's youth's engagement with the individual's 

youth's family or legally authorized representatives. The 

therapeutic group home shall document on a weekly basis 

the reasons why family engagement is not occurring as 

required. The therapeutic group home shall document 

alternative family engagement strategies to be used as part 

of the interventions in the plan of care and request 

approval of the revised plan of care by DMAS or its 

contractor. When family engagement is not possible, the 

therapeutic group home shall collaborate with DMAS or 

its contractor on a weekly basis to develop individualized 

family engagement strategies and document the revised 

strategies in the plan of care. 

(13) (14) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically 

indicated in the plan of care and as paired with facility-

based and community-based interventions to promote 

discharge planning, community integration, and family 

engagement activities. 

(a) The provider shall document how the family was 

prepared for the therapeutic pass to include a review of the 

plan of care goals and objectives being addressed by the 

planned interventions and the safety and crisis plan in 

effect during the therapeutic pass. 

(b) If a facility staff member does not accompany the 

individual youth on the therapeutic pass and the 

therapeutic pass exceeds 24 hours, the provider shall make 

daily contacts with the family and be available 24 hours 

per day to address concerns, incidents, or crises that may 

arise during the pass. 

(c) Contact with the family shall occur within seven 

calendar days of the end date of the therapeutic pass to 

discuss the accomplishments and challenges of the 

therapeutic pass along with an update on progress toward 

plan of care goals and any necessary changes to the plan 

of care. 

(d) Twenty-four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per 

individual youth, per admission, without authorization as 

approved by the treating LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

and LMHP-S and documented in the plan of care. 

Additional therapeutic passes shall require service 

authorization. Any unauthorized therapeutic passes shall 

result in retraction for those days of service. 

(14) (15) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and 

continue throughout the individual's youth's stay at the 

therapeutic group home. The family or guardian, the 

community services board (CSB), the family assessment 

and planning team (FAPT) case manager, and the DMAS 

contracted care manager shall be involved in treatment 

planning and shall identify the anticipated needs of the 

individual youth and family upon discharge and available 

services in the community. Prior to discharge, the 

therapeutic group home shall submit an active and viable 

a comprehensive discharge plan to the DMAS contractor 

for review. Once the DMAS contractor approves the 

discharge plan, the provider shall begin actively 

collaborating with the family or legally authorized 

representative and the treatment team to identify 

behavioral health and medical providers and schedule 

appointments for service-specific provider intakes a 

comprehensive needs assessment as needed. The 

therapeutic group home shall request permission from the 

parent or legally authorized representative to share 

treatment information with these providers and shall share 

information pursuant to a valid release. The therapeutic 

group home shall request information from post-discharge 

providers to establish that the planning of pending services 

and transition planning activities has begun, shall establish 

that the individual youth has been enrolled in school, and 

shall provide individualized education program 

recommendations to the school if necessary. The 

therapeutic group home shall inform the DMAS contractor 

of all scheduled appointments within 30 calendar days of 

discharge and shall notify the DMAS contractor within 

one business day of the individual's youth's discharge date 

from the therapeutic group home. 
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(15) (16) Failure to perform any of the items described in 

this subsection shall result in a retraction of the per diem 

for each day of noncompliance. 

e. Service exclusions include the following: 

(1) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

Facilities that only provide independent living services or 

nonclinical services that do not meet the requirements of 

this subsection are not eligible for reimbursement. 

(16) Therapeutic group home services providers shall be 

licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) under the Regulations 

for Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(17) Individuals shall be discharged from this service (2) 

Therapeutic group home services shall not be covered 

when treatment goals are met or other less intensive 

services may achieve stabilization. 

(18) (3) Services that are based upon incomplete, missing, 

or outdated service-specific provider intakes or plans of 

care shall be denied reimbursement. 

(19) Therapeutic group home services may only be 

rendered by and within the scope of practice of an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-

C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH as defined in 12VAC35-105-

20. 

(20) The psychiatric residential treatment facility or 

therapeutic group home shall coordinate necessary 

services and discharge planning with other providers as 

medically and clinically necessary. Documentation of this 

care coordination shall be maintained by the facility or 

group home in the individual's record. The documentation 

shall include who was contacted, when the contact 

occurred, what information was transmitted, and 

recommended next steps. 

(21) Failure to perform any of the items described in this 

subsection shall result in a retraction of the per diem for 

each day of noncompliance.  

3. PRTF services are a 24-hour, supervised, clinically and 

medically necessary out-of-home program designed to 

provide necessary support and address mental health, 

behavioral, substance use, cognitive, or other treatment 

needs of an individual younger than 21 years of age a youth 

in order to prevent or minimize the need for more intensive 

inpatient treatment. Active treatment and comprehensive 

discharge planning shall begin prior to admission. In order 

to be covered for individuals younger than 21 years of age 

youth, these services shall (i) meet DMAS-approved 

psychiatric medical necessity criteria or be approved as an 

EPSDT service based upon a diagnosis made by an LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who is practicing within 

the scope of his license and (ii) be reflected in provider 

records and on the provider's claims for services by 

recognized diagnosis codes that support and are consistent 

with the requested professional services. 

a. PRTF services shall be covered for the purpose of 

diagnosis and treatment of mental health and behavioral 

disorders when such services are rendered by a psychiatric 

facility that is not a hospital and is accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of 

Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of 

Services for Families and Children, or by any other 

accrediting organization with comparable standards that is 

recognized by the state. 

b. Providers of PRTF services shall be licensed by 

DBHDS. 

c. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the 

treatment program is fully in compliance with (i) 42 CFR 

Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151 (a) and 

(b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 441.156 and (ii) 

the Conditions of Participation in 42 CFR Part 483 

Subpart G. Each admission must be service authorized, 

and the treatment must meet DMAS requirements for 

clinical necessity. 

d. The PRTF benefit for individuals younger than 21 years 

of age youth shall include services defined at 42 CFR 

440.160 that are provided under the direction of a 

physician pursuant to a certification of medical necessity 

and plan of care developed by an interdisciplinary team of 

professionals and shall involve active treatment designed 

to achieve the child's youth's discharge from PRTF 

services at the earliest possible time. The PRTF services 

benefit shall include services provided under arrangement 

furnished by Medicaid enrolled providers other than the 

PRTF, as long as the PRTF (i) arranges for and oversees 

the provision of all services, (ii) maintains all medical 

records of care furnished to the individual, and (iii) 

ensures that the services are furnished under the direction 

of a physician. Services provided under arrangement shall 

be documented by a written referral from the PRTF. For 

purposes of pharmacy services, a prescription ordered by 

an employee or contractor of the facility who is licensed 

to prescribe drugs shall be considered the referral.  

e. PRTFs, as defined at 42 CFR 483.352, shall arrange for, 

maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order these 

services: (i) medical and psychological services, including 

those furnished by physicians, licensed mental health 

professionals, and other licensed or certified health 

professionals (i.e., nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory 

therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners); 

(ii) pharmacy services; (iii) outpatient hospital services; 

(iv) physical therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy 

for individuals with speech, hearing, or language 

disorders; (v) laboratory and radiology services; (vi) 

durable medical equipment; (vii) vision services; and (viii) 

dental, oral surgery, and orthodontic services; (ix) 

nonemergency transportation services; and (x) emergency 

services. 
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f. e. PRTF services shall include assessment and 

reassessment; room and board; daily supervision; 

combined treatment therapeutic services; individual, 

family, and group therapy; care coordination; 

interventions; general or special education; medical 

treatment (, including medication, coordination of 

necessary medical services, and 24-hour onsite nursing) 

availability; specialty services; and discharge planning 

that meets the medical and clinical needs of the individual 

youth. 

g. f. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a PRTF. 

The following requirements for severity of need and 

intensity and quality of service shall be met to satisfy the 

medical necessity criteria for admission: 

(1) Severity of need required for admission. The following 

criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for severity of 

need: 

(a) There is clinical evidence that the individual youth has 

a DSM-5 disorder that is amenable to active psychiatric 

treatment. 

(b) There is a high degree of potential of the condition 

leading to acute psychiatric hospitalization in the absence 

of residential treatment. 

(c) Either (i) there is clinical evidence that the individual 

youth would be a risk to self or others if the individual 

youth were not in a PRTF or (ii) as a result of the 

individual's youth's mental disorder, there is an inability 

for the individual youth to adequately care for his own 

physical needs, and caretakers, guardians, or family 

members are unable to safely fulfill these needs, 

representing potential serious harm to self. 

(d) The individual youth requires supervision seven days 

per week, 24 hours per day to develop skills necessary for 

daily living; to assist with planning and arranging access 

to a range of educational, therapeutic, and aftercare 

services; and to develop the adaptive and functional 

behavior that will allow the individual youth to live 

outside of a PRTF setting. 

(e) The individual's youth's current living environment 

does not provide the support and access to therapeutic 

services needed. 

(f) The individual youth is medically stable and does not 

require the 24-hour medical or nursing monitoring or 

procedures provided in a hospital level of care. 

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for 

admission. The following criteria shall be met to satisfy 

the criteria for intensity and quality of service: 

(a) The evaluation and assignment of a DSM-5 diagnosis 

must result from a face-to-face psychiatric evaluation. 

(b) The program provides supervision seven days per 

week, 24 hours per day to assist with the development of 

skills necessary for daily living; to assist with planning 

and arranging access to a range of educational, 

therapeutic, and aftercare services; and to assist with the 

development of the adaptive and functional behavior that 

will allow the individual youth to live outside of a PRTF 

setting. 

(c) An individualized plan of active psychiatric treatment 

and residential living support is provided in a timely 

manner. This treatment must be medically monitored, with 

24-hour medical availability and 24-hour nursing services 

availability. This plan includes (i) at least once-a-week 

psychiatric reassessments; (ii) intensive family or support 

system involvement occurring at least once per week or 

valid reasons identified as to why such a plan is not 

clinically appropriate or feasible; (iii) psychotropic 

medications, when used, are to be used with specific target 

symptoms identified; (iv) evaluation for current medical 

problems; (v) evaluation for concomitant substance use 

issues; and (vi) linkage or coordination with the 

individual's youth's community resources, including the 

local school division and FAPT case manager, as 

appropriate, with the goal of returning the individual youth 

to his regular social environment as soon as possible, 

unless contraindicated. School contact should address an 

individualized educational plan as appropriate. 

(d) A urine drug screen is considered at the time of 

admission, when progress is not occurring, when 

substance misuse is suspected, or when substance use and 

medications may have a potential adverse interaction. 

After a positive screen, additional random screens are 

considered and referral to a substance use disorder 

provider is considered. 

(3) Criteria for continued stay. The following criteria shall 

be met to satisfy the criteria for continued stay: 

(a) Despite reasonable therapeutic efforts, clinical 

evidence indicates at least one of the following: (i) the 

persistence of problems that caused the admission to a 

degree that continues to meet the admission criteria (both 

severity of need and intensity of service needs); (ii) the 

emergence of additional problems that meet the admission 

criteria (both severity of need and intensity of service 

needs); or (iii) that disposition planning or attempts at 

therapeutic reentry into the community have resulted in or 

would result in exacerbation of the psychiatric illness to 

the degree that would necessitate continued PRTF 

treatment. Subjective opinions without objective clinical 

information or evidence are not sufficient to meet severity 

of need based on justifying the expectation that there 

would be a decompensation. 

(b) There is evidence of objective, measurable, and time-

limited therapeutic clinical goals that must be met before 

the individual youth can return to a new or previous living 

situation. There is evidence that attempts are being made 

to secure timely access to treatment resources and housing 

in anticipation of discharge, with alternative housing 

contingency plans also being addressed. 
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(c) There is evidence that the plan of care is focused on the 

alleviation of psychiatric symptoms and precipitating 

psychosocial stressors that are interfering with the 

individual's youth's ability to return to a less-intensive 

level of care. 

(d) The current or revised plan of care can be reasonably 

expected to bring about significant improvement in the 

problems meeting the criteria in subdivision 3 c g (3) (a) 

of this subsection, and this is documented in weekly 

progress notes written and signed by the provider. 

(e) There is evidence of intensive family or support system 

involvement occurring at least once per week, unless there 

is an identified valid reason why it is not clinically 

appropriate or feasible. 

(f) A discharge plan is formulated that is directly linked to 

the behaviors or symptoms that resulted in admission and 

begins to identify appropriate post-PRTF resources 

including the local school division and FAPT case 

manager as appropriate. 

(g) All applicable elements in admission-intensity and 

quality of service criteria are applied as related to 

assessment and treatment if clinically relevant and 

appropriate. 

(4) Discharge criteria. Discharge shall occur if any of the 

following applies: (i) the level of functioning has 

improved with respect to the goals outlined in the plan of 

care, and the individual youth can reasonably be expected 

to maintain these gains at a lower level of treatment; (ii) 

the individual youth no longer benefits from service as 

evidenced by absence of progress toward plan of care 

goals for a period of 30 days; or (iii) other less intensive 

services may achieve stabilization. 

h. g. The following clinical activities shall be required for 

each PRTF resident: 

(1) A face-to-face assessment shall be performed by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RS, or LMHP-S within 30 

calendar days prior to admission and weekly thereafter and 

shall document a DSM-5 or ICD-10 diagnosis. 

(2) A certificate of need shall be completed by an 

independent certification team according to the 

requirements of 12VAC30-50-130 D 4. Recertification 

shall occur at least every 30 calendar days by a physician 

acting within his scope of practice. 

(3) The initial plan of care (IPOC) shall be completed 

within 24 hours of admission by the treatment team. The 

IPOC shall include: 

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits that 

would facilitate recovery and opportunities to develop 

motivational strategies and treatment alliance; 

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 

indicating the need for admission; 

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual 

youth; 

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 

goals; 

(e) Any orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, 

dental, and any special health care needs, whether or not 

provided in the facility; education or special education; 

treatments; interventions; and restorative and 

rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, social 

services, diet, and special procedures recommended for 

the health and safety of the individual youth; 

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and 

modification to the plan of care; 

(g) Plans for discharge; and 

(h) Signature and date by the individual youth, parent, or 

legally authorized representative, a physician, and 

treatment team members. 

(4) The CIPOC shall be completed and signed no later than 

14 calendar days after admission by the treatment team. 

The PRTF shall request authorizations from families to 

release confidential information to collect information 

from medical and behavioral health treatment providers, 

schools, FAPT, social services, court services, and other 

relevant parties. This information shall be used when 

considering changes and updating the CIPOC. The CIPOC 

shall meet all of the following criteria: 

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 

examination of the medical, psychological, social, 

behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 

youth's situation and must reflect the need for PRTF care; 

(b) Be developed by an interdisciplinary team of 

physicians and other personnel specified in subdivision 3 

d 4 h of this subsection who are employed by or provide 

services to the individual youth in the facility in 

consultation with the individual youth, family member, or 

legally authorized representative, or appropriate others 

into whose care the individual youth will be released after 

discharge; 

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that shall include 

measurable, evidence-based, and short-term and long-

term goals and objectives; family engagement activities; 

and the design of community-based aftercare with target 

dates for achievement; 

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, 

interventions, activities, and experiences designed to meet 

the treatment objectives related to the individual youth and 

family treatment needs; and 

(e) Describe comprehensive transition plans and 

coordination of current care and post-discharge plans with 

related community services to ensure continuity of care 

upon discharge with the recipient's youth's family, school, 

and community. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1370 

(5) The CIPOC shall be reviewed every 30 calendar days 

by the team specified in subdivision 3 d 4 h of this 

subsection to determine that services being provided are 

or were required from a PRTF and to recommend changes 

in the plan as indicated by the individual's youth's overall 

adjustment during the time away from home. The CIPOC 

shall include the signature and date from the individual 

youth, parent, or legally authorized representative, a 

physician, and treatment team members. 

(6) Individual therapy shall be provided a minimum of 

three times per week (or more frequently based upon the 

individual's needs) provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall be documented in the 

plan of care and progress notes in accordance with the 

requirements in this subsection and the requirements for 

progress notes in 12VAC30-60-61 B. 

(7) Group therapy shall be provided as clinically indicated 

by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall 

be documented in the plan of care and progress notes in 

accordance with the requirements in this subsection and 

the requirements for progress notes in 12VAC30-60-61 B. 

(8) Family therapy shall be provided as clinically indicated 

by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall 

be as documented in the plan of care and progress notes in 

accordance with the individual and family or legally 

authorized representative's goals and the requirements in 

this subsection and requirements for progress notes in 

12VAC30-60-61 B. 

(9) Family engagement shall be provided in addition to 

family therapy or counseling. Family engagement shall be 

provided at least weekly as outlined in the plan of care and 

daily communication with the treatment team 

representative and the treatment team representative and 

the family or legally authorized representative shall be part 

of the family engagement strategies in the plan of care. For 

each service authorization period when family 

engagement is not possible, the PRTF shall identify and 

document the specific barriers to the individual's youth's 

engagement with his family or legally authorized 

representatives. The PRTF shall document on a weekly 

basis the reasons that family engagement is not occurring 

as required. The PRTF shall document alternate family 

engagement strategies to be used as part of the 

interventions in the plan of care and request approval of 

the revised plan of care by DMAS. When family 

engagement is not possible, the PRTF shall collaborate 

with DMAS on a weekly basis to develop individualized 

family engagement strategies and document the revised 

strategies in the plan of care. 

(10) Three non-psychotherapy interventions shall be 

provided per 24-hour period including nights and 

weekends. Family engagement activities are considered to 

be an intervention and shall occur based on the treatment 

and visitation goals and scheduling needs of the family or 

legally authorized representative. Interventions shall be 

documented on a progress note and shall be outlined in 

and aligned with the treatment goals and objectives in the 

plan of care. Any deviation from the plan of care shall be 

documented along with a clinical or medical justification 

for the deviation based on the needs of the individual 

youth. 

(11) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically 

indicated in the plan of care and as paired with 

community-based and facility-based interventions to 

promote discharge planning, community integration, and 

family engagement. Therapeutic passes include activities 

as listed in subdivision 2 d (13) of this section. Twenty-

four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per individual 

youth, per admission, without authorization as approved 

by the treating physician and documented in the plan of 

care. Additional therapeutic passes shall require service 

authorization from DMAS or its contractor. Any 

unauthorized therapeutic passes not approved by the 

provider or DMAS or its contractor shall result in 

retraction for those days of service. 

(12) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and 

continue throughout the individual's youth's placement at 

the PRTF. The parent or legally authorized representative, 

the community services board (CSB), the family 

assessment planning team (FAPT) case manager, if 

appropriate, and the DMAS contracted care manager shall 

be involved in treatment planning and shall identify the 

anticipated needs of the individual youth and family upon 

discharge and identify the available services in the 

community. Prior to discharge, the PRTF shall submit an 

active a comprehensive discharge plan to the DMAS 

contractor for review. Once the DMAS contractor 

approves the discharge plan, the provider shall begin 

collaborating with the parent or legally authorized 

representative and the treatment team to identify 

behavioral health and medical providers and schedule 

appointments for service-specific provider intakes 

comprehensive needs assessments as needed. The PRTF 

shall request written permission from the parent or legally 

authorized representative to share treatment information 

with these providers and shall share information pursuant 

to a valid release. The PRTF shall request information 

from post-discharge providers to establish that the 

planning of services and activities has begun, shall 

establish that the individual youth has been enrolled in 

school, and shall provide individualized education 

program recommendations to the school if necessary. The 

PRTF shall inform the DMAS contractor of all scheduled 

appointments within 30 calendar days of discharge and 

shall notify the DMAS contractor within one business day 

of the individual's youth's discharge date from the PRTF. 

(13) A urine drug screen is considered at the time of 

admission, when progress is not occurring, when 

substance misuse is suspected, or when substance use and 
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medications may have a potential adverse interaction. 

After a positive screen, additional random screens are 

considered and referral to a substance use disorder 

provider is considered. 

(14) Failure to perform any of the items as described in 

subdivisions 3 h g (1) through 3 h (12) g (13) of this 

subsection up until the discharge of the individual youth 

shall result in a retraction of the per diem and all other 

contracted and coordinated service payments for each day 

of noncompliance. 

i. h. The team developing the CIPOC shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) At least one member of the team must have expertise 

in pediatric behavioral health. Based on education and 

experience, preferably including competence in child or 

and adolescent psychiatry, the team must be capable of all 

of the following: assessing the individual's youth's 

immediate and long-range therapeutic needs, 

developmental priorities, and personal strengths and 

liabilities; assessing the potential resources of the 

individual's youth's family or legally authorized 

representative; setting treatment objectives; and 

prescribing therapeutic modalities to achieve the CIPOC's 

objectives. 

(2) The team shall include one of the following: 

(a) A board-eligible or board-certified psychiatrist; 

(b) A licensed clinical psychologist and a physician 

licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy; or 

(c) A physician licensed to practice medicine or 

osteopathy with specialized training and experience in the 

diagnosis and treatment of mental diseases and a licensed 

clinical psychologist. 

(3) The team shall also include one of the following: an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-

RP. 

4. Requirements for independent certification teams 

applicable to both therapeutic group homes and PRTFs: 

a. The independent certification team shall certify the need 

for PRTF or therapeutic group home services and issue a 

certificate of need document within the process and 

timeliness standards as approved by DMAS under 

contractual agreement with the DMAS contractor. 

b. The independent certification team shall be approved by 

DMAS through a memorandum of understanding with a 

locality or be approved under contractual agreement with 

the DMAS contractor. The team shall initiate and 

coordinate referral to the family assessment and planning 

team (FAPT) as defined in §§ 2.2-5207 and 2.2-5208 of 

the Code of Virginia to facilitate care coordination and for 

consideration of educational coverage and other supports 

not covered by DMAS. 

c. The independent certification team shall assess the 

individual's youth's and family's strengths and needs in 

addition to diagnoses, behaviors, and symptoms that 

indicate the need for behavioral health treatment and also 

consider whether local resources and community-based 

care are sufficient to meet the individual's youth's 

treatment needs, as presented within the previous 30 

calendar days, within the least restrictive environment. 

d. The LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or 

LMHP-RP, as part of the independent certification team, 

shall meet with an individual the youth and the individual's 

youth's parent or legally authorized representative within 

two business days from a request to assess the individual's 

youth's needs and begin the process to certify the need for 

an out-of-home placement. 

e. The independent certification team shall meet with an 

individual the youth and the individual's youth's parent or 

legally authorized representative within 10 business days 

from a request to certify the need for an out-of-home 

placement. 

f. The independent certification team shall assess the 

treatment needs of the individual youth to issue a 

certificate of need (CON) for the most appropriate 

medically necessary services. The certification shall 

include the dated signature and credentials for each of the 

team members who rendered the certification. Referring 

or treatment providers shall not actively participate during 

the certification process but may provide supporting 

clinical documentation to the certification team. 

g. The CON shall be effective for 30 calendar days prior 

to admission. 

h. The independent certification team shall provide the 

completed CON to the facility within one calendar day of 

completing the CON. 

i. The individual youth and the individual's youth's parent 

or legally authorized representative shall have the right to 

freedom of choice of service providers. 

j. If the individual youth or the individual's youth's parent 

or legally authorized representative disagrees with the 

independent certification team's recommendation, the 

parent or legally authorized representative may appeal the 

recommendation in accordance with 12VAC30-110. 

k. If the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, as part 

of the independent certification team, determines that the 

individual youth is in immediate need of treatment, the 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S shall refer the 

individual youth to an appropriate Medicaid-enrolled 

crisis intervention provider, crisis stabilization provider, 

or inpatient psychiatric provider in accordance with 

12VAC30-50-226 or shall refer the individual youth for 

emergency admission to a PRTF or therapeutic group 

home under subdivision 4 m of this subsection and shall 
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also alert the individual's youth's managed care 

organization. 

l. For individuals youth who are already eligible for 

Medicaid at the time of admission, the independent 

certification team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor 

with competence in the diagnosis and treatment of mental 

illness, preferably in child and adolescent psychiatry, and 

have knowledge of the individual's youth's situation and 

service availability in the individual's youth's local service 

area. The team shall be composed of at least one physician 

and one LMHP, including LMHP-S, LMHP-R, and or 

LMHP-RP. An individual's The youth's parent or legally 

authorized representative shall be included in the 

certification process. 

m. For emergency admissions, an assessment must be 

made by the team responsible for the comprehensive 

individual plan of care (CIPOC). Reimbursement shall 

only occur when a certificate of need is issued by the team 

responsible for the CIPOC within 14 calendar days after 

admission. The certification shall cover any period of time 

after admission and before claims are made for 

reimbursement by Medicaid. After processing an 

emergency admission, the therapeutic group home, PRTF, 

or institution for mental diseases (IMD) shall notify the 

DMAS contractor within five calendar days of the 

individual's youth's status as being under the care of the 

facility. 

n. For all individuals who apply and become eligible for 

Medicaid while an inpatient in a facility or program, the 

certification team shall refer the case to the DMAS 

contractor for referral to the local FAPT to facilitate care 

coordination and consideration of educational coverage 

and other supports not covered by DMAS. 

o. n. For individuals youth who apply and become eligible 

for Medicaid while an inpatient in the facility or program, 

the certification shall be made by the team responsible for 

the CIPOC and shall cover any period of time before the 

application for Medicaid eligibility for which claims are 

made for reimbursement by Medicaid. Upon the 

individual's youth's enrollment into the Medicaid 

program, the therapeutic group home, PRTF, or IMD shall 

notify the DMAS contractor of the individual's youth's 

status as being under the care of the facility within five 

calendar days of the individual youth becoming eligible 

for Medicaid benefits. 

5. Service authorization requirements applicable to both 

therapeutic group homes and PRTFs: 

a. Authorization shall be required and shall be conducted 

by DMAS or its contractor using medical necessity criteria 

specified in this subsection. 

b. An individual The youth shall have a valid psychiatric 

diagnosis and meet the medical necessity criteria as 

defined in this subsection to satisfy the criteria for 

admission. The diagnosis shall be current, as documented 

within the past 12 months. If a current diagnosis is not 

available, the individual youth will require a mental health 

evaluation prior to admission by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S affiliated with the independent 

certification team to establish a diagnosis and recommend 

and coordinate referral to the available treatment options. 

c. At authorization, an initial length of stay shall be agreed 

upon by the individual youth and parent or legally 

authorized representative with the treating provider, and 

the treating provider shall be responsible for evaluating 

and documenting evidence of treatment progress, 

assessing the need for ongoing out-of-home placement, 

and obtaining authorization for continued stay. 

d. Information that is required to obtain authorization for 

these services shall include: 

(1) A completed state-designated uniform assessment 

instrument approved by DMAS completed no more than 

30 calendar days prior to the date of submission; 

(2) A certificate of need completed by an independent 

certification team specifying all of the following: 

(a) The ambulatory care and Medicaid or FAPT-funded 

services available in the community do not meet the 

specific treatment needs of the individual youth; 

(b) Alternative community-based care was not successful; 

(c) Proper treatment of the individual's youth's psychiatric 

condition requires services in a 24-hour supervised setting 

under the direction of a physician; and 

(d) The services can reasonably be expected to improve 

the individual's youth's condition or prevent further 

regression so that a more intensive level of care will not 

be needed; 

(3) Diagnosis as defined in the DSM-5 and based on (i) an 

evaluation by a psychiatrist or LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, or LMHP-S that has been completed within 30 

calendar days of admission or (ii) a diagnosis confirmed 

in writing by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-

S after review of a previous evaluation completed within 

one year of admission; 

(4) A description of the individual's youth's behavior 

during the seven calendar days immediately prior to 

admission; 

(5) A description of alternate placements and community 

mental health and rehabilitation services and traditional 

behavioral health services pursued and attempted and the 

outcomes of each service; 

(6) The individual's youth's level of functioning and 

clinical stability; 

(7) The level of family involvement and supports 

available; and 

(8) The initial plan of care (IPOC). 
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6. Continued stay criteria requirements applicable to both 

therapeutic group homes and PRTFs. For a continued stay 

authorization or a reauthorization to occur, the individual 

youth shall meet the medical necessity criteria as defined in 

this subsection to satisfy the criteria for continuing care. The 

length of the authorized stay shall be determined by DMAS 

or its contractor. A current plan of care and a current (within 

30 calendar days) summary of progress related to the goals 

and objectives of the plan of care shall be submitted to 

DMAS or its contractor for continuation of the service. The 

service provider shall also submit: 

a. A state uniform assessment instrument, completed no 

more than 30 business days prior to the date of submission 

if updated since the last service authorization request; 

b. Documentation that the required services have been 

provided as defined in the plan of care; 

c. Current (within the last 14 calendar days) information 

on progress related to the achievement of all treatment and 

discharge-related goals; and 

d. A description of the individual's youth's continued 

impairment and treatment needs, problem behaviors, 

family engagement activities, community-based discharge 

planning and care coordination, and need for a residential 

level of care. 

7. EPSDT services requirements applicable to therapeutic 

group homes and PRTFs. Service limits may be exceeded 

based on medical necessity for individuals youth eligible for 

EPSDT. EPSDT services may involve service modalities not 

available to other individuals, such as applied behavioral 

analysis and neuro-rehabilitative services. Individualized 

services to address specific clinical needs identified in an 

EPSDT screening shall require authorization by a DMAS 

contractor. In unique EPSDT cases, DMAS or its contractor 

may authorize specialized services beyond the standard 

therapeutic group home or PRTF medical necessity criteria 

and program requirements, as medically and clinically 

indicated to ensure the most appropriate treatment is 

available to each individual youth. Treating service 

providers authorized to deliver medically necessary EPSDT 

services in therapeutic group homes and PRTFs on behalf of 

a Medicaid-enrolled individual youth shall adhere to the 

individualized interventions and evidence-based progress 

measurement criteria described in the plan of care and 

approved for reimbursement by DMAS or its contractor. All 

documentation, independent certification team, family 

engagement activity, therapeutic pass, and discharge 

planning requirements shall apply to cases approved as 

EPSDT PRTF or therapeutic group home service. 

8. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age youth for medically 

necessary stays in inpatient psychiatric facilities described in 

42 CFR 440.160(b)(1) and (b)(2) for the purpose of 

diagnosis and treatment of mental health and behavioral 

disorders identified under EPSDT when such services meet 

the requirements set forth in subdivision 7 of this subsection. 

a. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided under 

the direction of a physician. 

b. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided by (i) a 

psychiatric hospital that undergoes a state survey to 

determine whether the hospital meets the requirements for 

participation in Medicare as a psychiatric hospital as 

specified in 42 CFR 482.60 or is accredited by a national 

organization whose psychiatric hospital accrediting 

program has been approved by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services (CMS); or (ii) a hospital with an 

inpatient psychiatric program that undergoes a state 

survey to determine whether the hospital meets the 

requirements for participation in Medicare as a hospital, 

as specified in 42 CFR part 482 or is accredited by a 

national accrediting organization whose hospital 

accrediting program has been approved by CMS. 

c. Inpatient psychiatric admissions at general acute care 

hospitals and freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall also 

be subject to the requirements of 12VAC30-50-100, 

12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-25. 

d. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the 

treatment program is fully in compliance with (i) 42 CFR 

Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151(a) and 

42 CFR 441.151 (b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 

441.156 and (ii) the Conditions of Participation in 42 CFR 

Part 483 Subpart G. Each admission must be service 

authorized and the treatment must meet DMAS 

requirements for clinical necessity. 

e. The inpatient psychiatric benefit for individuals 

younger than 21 years of age youth shall include services 

that are provided pursuant to a certification of medical 

necessity and plan of care developed by an 

interdisciplinary team of professionals and shall involve 

active treatment designed to achieve the individual's 

youth's discharge from inpatient status at the earliest 

possible time. The inpatient psychiatric benefit shall 

include services provided under arrangement furnished by 

Medicaid enrolled providers other than the inpatient 

psychiatric facility, as long as the inpatient psychiatric 

facility (i) arranges for and oversees the provision of all 

services, (ii) maintains all medical records of care 

furnished to the individual, and (iii) ensures that the 

services are furnished under the direction of a physician. 

Services provided under arrangement shall be documented 

by a written referral from the inpatient psychiatric facility. 

For purposes of pharmacy services, a prescription ordered 

by an employee or contractor of the inpatient psychiatric 

facility who is licensed to prescribe drugs shall be 

considered the referral. 

f. State freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange for, 

maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 

pharmacy services and emergency services. Private 
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freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange for, 

maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order the 

following services: (i) medical and psychological services 

including those furnished by physicians, licensed mental 

health professionals, and other licensed or certified health 

professionals (i.e., nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory 

therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners); 

(ii) outpatient hospital services; (iii) physical therapy, 

occupational therapy, and therapy for individuals with 

speech, hearing, or language disorders; (iv) laboratory and 

radiology services; (v) vision services; (vi) dental, oral 

surgery, and orthodontic services; (vii) nonemergency 

transportation services; and (viii) emergency services. 

(Emergency services means the same as is set forth in 

12VAC30-50-310 B.) 

E. Mental health family support partners. 

1. Mental health family support partners are peer recovery 

support services and are nonclinical, peer-to-peer activities 

that engage, educate, and support the caregiver and an 

individual's the youth's self-help efforts to improve health 

recovery resiliency and wellness. Mental health family 

support partners is a peer support service and is a strength-

based, individualized service provided to the caregiver of a 

Medicaid-eligible individual youth (defined as an individual 

younger than 21 years of age) with a mental health disorder 

that is the focus of support. The services provided to the 

caregiver and individual youth must be directed exclusively 

toward the benefit of the Medicaid-eligible individual youth. 

Services are expected to improve outcomes for individuals 

younger than 21 years of age youth with complex needs who 

are involved with multiple systems and increase the 

individual's youth's and family's confidence and capacity to 

manage their own services and supports while promoting 

recovery and healthy relationships. These services are 

rendered by a PRS who is (i) a parent of a minor or adult 

child youth with a similar mental health disorder or (ii) an 

adult with personal experience with a family member with a 

similar mental health disorder with experience navigating 

behavioral health care services. The PRS shall perform the 

service within the scope of his knowledge, lived experience, 

and education. 

2. Under the clinical oversight of the LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S completing the assessment 

recommending making the recommendation for mental 

health family support partners, the peer recovery specialist 

in consultation with his direct supervisor shall develop a 

recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan based on the 

assessment of the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-

S for service, the individual's youth's and the caregiver's 

perceived recovery needs, and any clinical assessments or 

service specific provider intakes comprehensive needs 

assessments as defined in this section subsection C of this 

section within 30 calendar days of the initiation of service. 

Development of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan 

shall include collaboration with the individual youth and the 

individual's youth's caregiver. Individualized goals and 

strategies shall be focused on the individual's youth's 

identified needs for self-advocacy and recovery. The 

recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan shall also include 

documentation of how many days per week and how many 

hours per week are required to carry out the services in order 

to meet the goals of the plan. The recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan shall be completed, signed, and dated by (i) 

the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S; (ii) the PRS; 

(iii) the direct supervisor; (iv) the individual youth; and (v) 

the individual's youth's caregiver within 30 calendar days of 

the initiation of service. The PRS shall act as an advocate for 

the individual youth, encouraging the individual youth and 

the caregiver to take a proactive role in developing and 

updating goals and objectives in the individualized recovery 

planning. 

3. Documentation of required activities shall be required as 

set forth in 12VAC30-130-5200 C and E through J. 

4. Limitations and exclusions to service delivery shall be the 

same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5210. 

5. Caregivers of individuals younger than 21 years of age 

youth who qualify to receive mental health family support 

partners shall (i) care for an individual a youth with a mental 

health disorder who requires recovery assistance and (ii) 

meet two or more of the following: 

a. Individual The youth and his caregiver need peer-based 

recovery-oriented services for the maintenance of 

wellness and the acquisition of skills needed to support the 

individual youth. 

b. Individual The youth and his caregiver need assistance 

to develop self-advocacy skills to assist the individual 

youth in achieving self-management of the individual's 

youth's health status. 

c. Individual The youth and his caregiver need assistance 

and support to prepare the individual youth for a 

successful work or school experience. 

d. Individual The youth and his caregiver need assistance 

to help the individual youth and caregiver assume 

responsibility for recovery. 

6. Individuals Youth who are 18, 19, and 20 years of age 

who meet the medical necessity criteria in 12VAC30-50-226 

B 7 e, who would benefit from receiving peer supports 

directly and who choose to receive mental health peer 

support services directly instead of through their caregiver, 

shall be permitted to receive mental health peer support 

services by an appropriate PRS. 

7. To qualify for continued mental health family support 

partners, medical necessity criteria shall continue to be met, 

and progress notes shall document the status of progress 

relative to the goals identified in the recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan. 
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8. Discharge criteria from mental health family support 

partners shall be the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5180 

E. 

9. Mental health family support partners services shall be 

rendered on an individual basis or in a group. 

10. Prior to service initiation, an assessment shall be 

conducted and documented by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, or LMHP-S who is acting within his scope of practice 

under state law. The assessment shall verify that the 

individual youth meets the medical necessity criteria set 

forth in subdivision 5 of this subsection. The assessment 

shall be included as part of the recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan and medical record. Services shall be initiated 

within 30 calendar days from when the assessment was 

complete. 

11. Effective July 1, 2017, a peer recovery specialist shall 

have the qualifications, education, experience, and 

certification required by DBHDS in accordance with 

12VAC35-250. Peer recovery specialists shall be registered 

by the Virginia Board of Counseling registration of peer 

recovery specialists by the Board of Counseling shall be 

required. The PRS shall perform mental health family 

support partners services under the oversight of the LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who assessed the 

individual and made the recommendation for services and 

providing shall provide the clinical oversight of the 

recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan. 

12. The PRS shall be employed by or have a contractual 

relationship with the enrolled provider licensed for one of 

the following: 

a. Acute care general and emergency department hospital 

services licensed by the Department of Health. 

b. Freestanding psychiatric hospital and inpatient 

psychiatric unit licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

c. Psychiatric residential treatment facility licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

d. Therapeutic group home licensed by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

e. Outpatient mental health clinic services licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

f. Outpatient psychiatric services provider. 

g. A community mental health and rehabilitative services 

provider licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services as a provider of one of the 

following community mental health and rehabilitative 

services as defined in this section, 12VAC30-50-226, 

12VAC30-50-420, or 12VAC30-50-430 for which the 

individual younger than 21 years youth meets medical 

necessity criteria: (i) intensive in home; (ii) therapeutic 

day treatment; (iii) day treatment or partial hospitalization; 

(iv) crisis intervention; (v) crisis stabilization; (vi) mental 

health skill building; or (vii) mental health case 

management. 

13. Only the licensed and enrolled provider as referenced in 

subdivision (12) 12 of this subsection shall be eligible to bill 

and receive reimbursement from DMAS or its contractor for 

mental health family support partner services. Payments 

shall not be permitted to providers that fail to enter into an 

enrollment agreement with DMAS or its contractor. 

Reimbursement shall be subject to retraction for any billed 

service that is determined not to be in compliance with 

DMAS requirements. 

14. Supervision of the PRS shall meet the requirements set 

forth in 12VAC30-50-226 B 7 l and m. 

F. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger 

than 21 years of age according to medical necessity when 

provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the practice of 

fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of Virginia. 

G. Addiction and recovery treatment services shall be 

covered under EPSDT consistent with 12VAC30-130-5000 et 

seq. 

H. Services facilitators shall be required for all consumer-

directed personal care services consistent with the 

requirements set out in 12VAC30-120-935. 

I. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered for individuals 

younger than 21 years of age. 

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this subsection shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Behavioral therapy" means systematic interventions 

provided by licensed practitioners acting within the scope of 

practice defined under a Virginia Department of Health 

Professions regulatory board and covered as remedial care 

under 42 CFR 440.130(d) to individuals younger than 21 

years of age youth. Behavioral therapy includes applied 

behavioral analysis. Family training related to the 

implementation of the behavioral therapy shall be included 

as part of the behavioral therapy service. Behavioral therapy 

services shall be subject to clinical reviews and determined 

as medically necessary. Behavioral therapy may be provided 

in the individual's youth's home and community settings as 

deemed by DMAS or its contractor as medically necessary 

treatment. 

"Counseling" means a professional mental health service 

that can only be provided by a person holding a license 

issued by a health regulatory board at the Department of 

Health Professions, which includes conducting assessments, 

making diagnoses of mental disorders and conditions, 

establishing treatment plans, and determining treatment 

interventions. 
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"Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 

years of age who is receiving behavioral therapy services. 

"Primary care provider" means a licensed medical 

practitioner who provides preventive and primary health 

care and is responsible for providing routine EPSDT 

screening and referral and coordination of other medical 

services needed by the individual. 

"Youth" means an individual younger than 21 years of age 

who is receiving behavioral therapy services. 

2. Behavioral therapy services shall be designed to enhance 

communication skills and decrease maladaptive patterns of 

behavior, which if left untreated, could lead to more complex 

problems and the need for a greater or a more intensive level 

of care. The service goal shall be to ensure the individual's 

youth's family or caregiver is trained to effectively manage 

the individual's youth's behavior in the home using 

modification strategies. All services shall be provided in 

accordance with the ISP and clinical assessment summary. 

3. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered when 

recommended by the individual's youth's primary care 

provider or other licensed physician, licensed physician 

assistant, or licensed nurse practitioner and determined by 

DMAS or its contractor to be medically necessary to correct 

or ameliorate significant impairments in major life activities 

that have resulted from either developmental, behavioral, or 

mental disabilities. Criteria for medical necessity are set out 

in 12VAC30-60-61 F. Service-specific provider intakes A 

behavioral therapy assessment shall be required at the onset 

of prior to these services in order to receive authorization for 

reimbursement. Individual service plans (ISPs) shall be 

required throughout the entire duration of services. The 

services shall be provided in accordance with the individual 

service plan and clinical assessment summary. These 

services shall be provided in settings that are natural or 

normal for a child or adolescent youth without a disability, 

such as the individual's youth's home, unless there is 

justification in the ISP, which has been authorized for 

reimbursement, to include service settings that promote a 

generalization of behaviors across different settings to 

maintain the targeted functioning outside of the treatment 

setting in the individual's youth's home and the larger 

community within which the individual youth resides. 

Covered behavioral therapy services shall include: 

a. Initial and periodic service-specific provider intake 

behavioral therapy assessment as defined in 12VAC30-

60-61 F; 

b. Development of initial and updated ISPs as established 

in 12VAC30-60-61 F; 

c. Clinical supervision activities. Requirements for 

clinical supervision are set out in 12VAC30-60-61 F; 

d. Behavioral training to increase the individual's youth's 

adaptive functioning and communication skills; 

e. Training a family member in behavioral modification 

methods as established in 12VAC30-60-61 F; 

f. Documentation and analysis of quantifiable behavioral 

data related to the treatment objectives; and 

g. Care coordination. 

4. All personal care services rendered to children under the 

authority of 42 CFR 440.40(b) shall comply with the 

requirements of 12VAC30-60-65 with regard to electronic 

visit verification. 

J. School health services. 

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective July 

1, 2006. 

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child screening 

services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and treatment 

services that are otherwise covered under early and periodic 

screening, diagnosis and treatment services, shall not be 

covered for school divisions. School divisions to receive 

reimbursement for the screenings shall be enrolled with 

DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children Youth enrolled in managed care organizations 

shall receive screenings from those organizations. School 

divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 

from DMAS for these children individuals. 

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 

individualized education program (IEP) and covered 

under one or more of the service categories described in § 

1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 

necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 

mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Providers shall be licensed under the applicable state 

practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the Virginia 

Department of Education, and shall meet applicable 

qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. Identification of 

defects, illnesses or conditions and services necessary to 

correct or ameliorate them shall be performed by 

practitioners qualified to make those determinations within 

their licensed scope of practice, either as a member of the 

IEP team or by a qualified practitioner outside the IEP team. 

a. Providers shall be employed by the school division or 

under contract to the school division. 

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 

under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia law, 

regulations, and DMAS provider manuals. 

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but may 

also be available in the community from other providers. 

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 

control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456. 

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 

described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are medically 
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necessary and that the treatment prescribed is in 

accordance with standards of medical practice. Medical 

necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP providers. 

The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid providers to 

make the medical necessity determination in accordance 

with their scope of practice. The services must be 

described as to the amount, duration and scope. 

4. Covered services include: 

a. Physical therapy and occupational therapy and services 

for individuals with speech, hearing, and language 

disorders, performed by, or under the direction of, 

providers who meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 

440.110. This coverage includes audiology services. 

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance to 

the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia Board 

of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 

licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 

may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 

accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 

Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 

tasks and procedures. The licensed practical nurse is under 

the supervision of a registered nurse. 

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 

level of complexity and sophistication (based on 

assessment, planning, implementation, and evaluation) 

that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 

performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 

practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 

include dressing changes, maintaining patent airways, 

medication administration or monitoring, and urinary 

catheterizations. 

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active, written plan of care 

developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 

order from a physician, physician assistant, or nurse 

practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 

be recertified on an annual basis. 

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 

licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 

defined under state law or regulations and covered as 

physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 

other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 

outpatient services include individual medical 

psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 

and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 

neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 

purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 

admission, evaluation of an individual with intellectual or 

developmental disability prior to admission to a nursing 

facility, or any placement issue. These services are 

covered in the nonschool settings also. School providers 

who may render these services when licensed by the state 

include psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, 

school psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 

professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 

specialists, marriage and family therapists, and school 

social workers. 

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 

subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 

DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 

is acting within the scope of licensure. This professional 

develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the 

individual, which is implemented by the assistant. The 

assistant must have qualifications comparable to those for 

other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia 

Department of Medical Assistance Services. The assistant 

performs services such as assisting with toileting, 

ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve as an aide 

on a specially adapted school vehicle that enables 

transportation to or from the school or school contracted 

provider on days when the student is receiving a 

Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Individuals 

requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 

adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 

services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 

remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 

these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 

assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 

identify the nature or extent of an individual's medical or 

other health related condition. 

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 

431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D 

(12VAC30-50-530). Transportation shall be rendered 

only by school division personnel or contractors. 

Transportation is covered for a child an individual who 

requires transportation on a specially adapted school 

vehicle that enables transportation to or from the school or 

school contracted provider on days when the individual is 

receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. 

Transportation shall be listed in the individual's IEP. 

Individuals requiring an aide during transportation on a 

specially adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 

reassess the need for medical services in an individual's 

IEP and shall be performed by any of the above licensed 

practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments 

and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the 

individual shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 

that duplication of services will be monitored. School 

divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if an individual 

is receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that 

there will be coordination of services to avoid duplication of 

service. 
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K. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 

child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner of 

the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 

services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 

services shall not include services to treat infertility or 

services to promote fertility. Family planning services shall 

not cover payment for abortion services and no funds shall 

be used to perform, assist, encourage, or make direct 

referrals for abortions. 

3. Family planning services as established by 

§ 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Social Security Act include annual 

family planning exams; cervical cancer screening for 

women; sexually transmitted infection (STI) testing; lab 

services for family planning and STI testing; family 

planning education, counseling, and preconception health; 

sterilization procedures; nonemergency transportation to a 

family planning service; and U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration approved prescription and over-the-counter 

contraceptives, subject to limits in 12VAC30-50-210. 

12VAC30-50-226. Community mental health services. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating or feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining appropriate 

level of care and service needs. 

"Affiliated" means any entity or property in which a provider 

or facility has a direct or indirect ownership interest of 5.0% or 

more, or any management, partnership, or control of an entity. 

"Behavioral health service" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of either the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority or its 

designee who is skilled in the assessment and treatment of 

mental illness and who has completed a certification program 

approved by DBHDS. 

"Clinical experience" means, for the purpose of rendering (i) 

mental health day treatment/partial hospitalization, (ii) 

intensive community treatment, (iii) psychosocial 

rehabilitation, (iv) mental health skill building, (v) crisis 

stabilization, or (vi) crisis intervention services, practical 

experience in providing direct services to individuals with 

diagnoses of mental illness or intellectual disability or the 

provision of direct geriatric services or special education 

services. Experience shall include supervised internships, 

supervised practicums, or supervised field experience. 

Experience shall not include unsupervised internships, 

unsupervised practicums, and unsupervised field experience. 

The equivalency of part-time hours to full-time hours for the 

purpose of this requirement shall be established by DBHDS in 

the document titled Human Services and Related Fields 

Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, 

revised May 3, 2013. 

"Certified prescreener assessment" means an assessment for 

crisis intervention and crisis stabilization completed by a 

certified prescreener that meets the elements of a 

comprehensive needs assessment. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Comprehensive needs assessment" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-50-130 and also includes individuals 

who are older than 21 years of age. Requirements for the 

comprehensive needs assessment are set out in 12VAC30-60-

143. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services consistent with Chapter 3 (§ 37.2-300 

et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Direct supervisor" means the person who provides direct 

supervision to the peer recovery specialist. The direct 

supervisor (i) shall have two consecutive years of documented 

practical experience rendering peer support services or family 

support services, have certification training as a PRS under a 

certifying body approved by DBHDS, and have documented 

completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor training; (ii) shall 

be a qualified mental health professional (QMHP-A, QMHP-

C, or QMHP-E) as defined in 12VAC35-105-20 with at least 

two consecutive years of documented experience as a QMHP, 

and who has documented completion of the DBHDS PRS 

supervisor training; or (iii) shall be an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who has documented completion of 

the DBHDS PRS supervisor training who is acting within his 

scope of practice under state law. An LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S providing services before April 1, 

2018, shall have until April 1, 2018, to complete the DBHDS 

PRS supervisor training. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and its contractor consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-

323 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is defined 

by DBHDS in the guidance document entitled Human Services 

and Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, issued 

March 12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013. 

"Individual" means the patient, client, or recipient of services 

described in this section. 
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"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means a comprehensive 

and regularly updated treatment plan specific to the 

individual's unique treatment needs as identified in the service-

specific provider intake comprehensive needs assessment. The 

ISP contains, but is not limited to, the individual's treatment or 

training needs, the individual's goals and measurable 

objectives to meet the identified needs, services to be provided 

with the recommended frequency to accomplish the 

measurable goals and objectives, the estimated timetable for 

achieving the goals and objectives, and an individualized 

discharge plan that describes transition to other appropriate 

services. The individual shall be included in the development 

of the ISP and the ISP shall be signed by the individual. If the 

individual is a minor child, the ISP shall also be signed by the 

individual's parent or legal guardian. Documentation shall be 

provided if the individual, who is a minor child or an adult who 

lacks legal capacity, is unable or unwilling to sign the ISP. 

"Individualized training" means instruction and practice in 

functional skills and appropriate behavior related to the 

individual's health and safety, instrumental activities of daily 

living skills, and use of community resources; assistance with 

medical management; and monitoring health, nutrition, and 

physical condition. The training shall be rehabilitative and 

based on a variety of incremental (or cumulative) approaches 

or tools to organize and guide the individual's life planning and 

shall reflect what is important to the individual in addition to 

all other factors that affect the individual's functioning, 

including effects of the disability and issues of health and 

safety. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means the 

same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 

marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 for 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An LMHP-

resident shall be in continuous compliance with the regulatory 

requirements of the applicable counseling profession for 

supervised practice and shall not perform the functions of the 

LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" until the supervision for 

specific clinical duties at a specific site has been preapproved 

in writing by the Virginia Board of Counseling. For purposes 

of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors for services 

provided by such residents, they shall use the title "Resident" 

in connection with the applicable profession after their 

signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as an individual in a residency, as that term is defined in 

18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical psychologists. An 

LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 

experience as found in 18VAC125-20-65 and shall not perform 

the functions of the LMHP-RP or be considered a "resident" 

until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 

Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement by 

supervisors for services provided by such residents, they shall 

use the title "Resident in Psychology" after their signatures to 

indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," or 

"LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" is defined in 

18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. An 

LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 

practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and shall not perform 

the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered a "supervisee" 

until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

is preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Social 

Work. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their 

supervisors for services provided by supervisees, these persons 

shall use the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after their 

signatures to indicate such status. 

"Peer recovery specialist" or "PRS" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC35-250-10. 

"Peer recovery support services" means the same as defined 

in 12VAC35-250-10. 

"Person centered" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20 § 54.1-3500 

of the Code. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20 § 54.1-3500 

of the Code. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-E" 

means the same as the term defined in 12VAC35-105-20 

"qualified mental health professional – trainee" as defined in 

§ 54.1-3500 of the Code. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Recovery-oriented services" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Register" or "registration" means notifying DMAS or its 

contractor that an individual will be receiving services that do 

not require service authorization. 

"Resiliency" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

"Review of ISP" means that the provider evaluates and 

updates the individual's progress toward meeting the 

individualized service plan objectives and documents the 
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outcome of this review. For DMAS to determine that these 

reviews are satisfactory and complete, the reviews shall (i) 

update the goals, objectives, and strategies of the ISP to reflect 

any change in the individual's progress and treatment needs as 

well as any newly identified problems; (ii) be conducted in a 

manner that enables the individual to participate in the process; 

and (iii) be documented in the individual's medical record no 

later than 15 calendar days from the date of the review. 

"Self-advocacy" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Service authorization" means the process to approve specific 

services for an enrolled Medicaid, FAMIS Plus, or FAMIS 

individual by a DMAS service authorization contractor prior to 

service delivery and reimbursement in order to validate that the 

service requested is medically necessary and meets DMAS and 

DMAS contractor criteria for reimbursement. Service 

authorization does not guarantee payment for the service. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the same as defined 

in 12VAC30-50-130 and also includes individuals who are 

older than 21 years of age. 

"Strength-based" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Supervision" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

B. Mental health services. The following services, with their 

definitions, shall be covered: day treatment/partial 

hospitalization, psychosocial rehabilitation, crisis services, 

intensive community treatment (ICT), and mental health skill 

building. Staff travel time shall not be included in billable time 

for reimbursement. These services, in order to be covered, shall 

meet medical necessity criteria based upon diagnoses made by 

LMHPs, LMHP-Rs, LMHP-RPs, or LMHP-S an LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who are is practicing within 

the scope of their licenses license and that are reflected in 

provider records and on providers' claims for services by 

recognized diagnosis codes that support and are consistent with 

the requested professional services. These services are 

intended to be delivered in a person-centered manner. The 

individuals who are receiving these services shall be included 

in all service planning activities. All services which do not 

require service authorization require registration. This 

registration shall transmit service-specific information to 

DMAS or its contractor in accordance with service 

authorization requirements. 

1. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 

provided in sessions of two or more consecutive hours per 

day, which may be scheduled multiple times per week, to 

groups of individuals in a nonresidential setting. These 

services, include the major diagnostic, medical, psychiatric, 

psychosocial, and psychoeducational treatment modalities 

designed for individuals who require coordinated, intensive, 

comprehensive, and multidisciplinary treatment but who do 

not require inpatient treatment. One unit of service shall be 

defined as a minimum of two but less than four hours on a 

given day. Two units of service shall be defined as at least 

four but less than seven hours in a given day. Three units of 

service shall be defined as seven or more hours in a given 

day. Authorization is required for Medicaid reimbursement. 

a. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 

time limited interventions that are more intensive than 

outpatient services and are required to stabilize an 

individual's psychiatric condition. The services are 

delivered when the individual is at risk of psychiatric 

hospitalization or is transitioning from a psychiatric 

hospitalization to the community. The service-specific 

provider intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-130, 

comprehensive needs assessment shall document the 

individual's behavior and describe how the individual is at 

risk of psychiatric hospitalization or is transitioning from 

a psychiatric hospitalization to the community. 

b. Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

a clinical necessity for the service arising from mental, 

behavioral, or emotional illness that results in significant 

functional impairments in major life activities. Individuals 

must meet at least two of the following criteria on a 

continuing or intermittent basis: 

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 

they are at risk of hospitalization or homelessness or 

isolation from social supports; 

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized; 

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that the individual 

requires repeated interventions or monitoring by the 

mental health, social services, or judicial system that have 

been documented; or 

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 

unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 

significantly inappropriate social behavior. 

c. Individuals shall be discharged from this service when 

they are no longer in an acute psychiatric state and other 

less intensive services may achieve psychiatric 

stabilization. 

d. Admission and services for time periods longer than 90 

calendar days must be authorized based upon a face-to-

face evaluation by a physician, psychiatrist, licensed 

clinical psychologist, licensed professional counselor, 

licensed clinical social worker, or psychiatric clinical 

nurse specialist an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S. 

e. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-

A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 
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2. Psychosocial rehabilitation shall be provided at least two 

or more hours per day to groups of individuals in a 

nonresidential setting. These services include assessment, 

education to teach the patient about the diagnosed mental 

illness and appropriate medications to avoid complication 

and relapse, and opportunities to learn and use independent 

living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal skills 

within a supportive and normalizing program structure and 

environment. One unit of service is defined as a minimum of 

two but less than four hours on a given day. Two units are 

defined as at least four but less than seven hours in a given 

day. Three units of service shall be defined as seven or more 

hours in a given day. Authorization is required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. The service-specific provider intake, as 

defined at 12VAC30-50-130, comprehensive needs 

assessment shall document the individual's behavior and 

describe how the individual meets criteria for this service. 

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

a clinical necessity for the service arising from mental, 

behavioral, or emotional illness that results in significant 

functional impairments in major life activities. Services 

are provided to individuals (i) who without these services 

would be unable to remain in the community or (ii) who 

meet at least two of the following criteria on a continuing 

or intermittent basis: 

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 

they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 

homelessness, or isolation from social supports; 

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized; 

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that repeated 

interventions documented by the mental health, social 

services, or judicial system are or have been necessary; or 

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 

unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 

inappropriate social behavior. 

b. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-

A, a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

3. Crisis intervention shall provide immediate mental health 

care, available 24 hours a day, seven days per week, to assist 

individuals who are experiencing acute psychiatric 

dysfunction requiring immediate clinical attention. This 

service's objectives shall be to prevent exacerbation of a 

condition, to prevent injury to the client or others, and to 

provide treatment in the context of the least restrictive 

setting. Crisis intervention activities shall include assessing 

the crisis situation, providing short-term counseling 

designed to stabilize the individual, providing access to 

further immediate assessment and follow-up, and linking the 

individual and family with ongoing care to prevent future 

crises. Crisis intervention services may include office visits, 

home visits, preadmission screenings, telephone contacts, 

and other client-related activities for the prevention of 

institutionalization. The service-specific provider intake, as 

defined at 12VAC30-50-130, comprehensive needs 

assessment or certified prescreener assessment shall 

document the individual's behavior and describe how the 

individual meets criteria for this service. The provision of 

this service to an individual shall be registered with either 

DMAS or its contactor within one business day or of the 

completion of the service-specific provider intake 

comprehensive needs assessment or certified prescreener 

assessment to avoid duplication of services and to ensure 

informed care coordination. 

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

a clinical necessity for the service arising from an acute 

crisis of a psychiatric nature that puts the individual at risk 

of psychiatric hospitalization. Individuals must meet at 

least two of the following criteria at the time of admission 

to the service: 

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 

they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 

homelessness, or isolation from social supports; 

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized; 

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 

interventions documented by mental health, social 

services, or the judicial system are or have been necessary; 

or 

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 

unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 

inappropriate social behavior. 

b. A unit shall equal 15 minutes. 

c. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, an 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, or a 

certified prescreener. 

4. Intensive community treatment (ICT) shall be provided 

based on a written intake comprehensive needs assessment 

and certification of need by a licensed mental health provider 

( an LMHP), LMHP-S, LMHP-R, and or LMHP-RP and 

shall include medical psychotherapy, psychiatric 

assessment, medication management, and care coordination 

activities offered to outpatients outside the clinic, hospital, 

or office setting for individuals who are best served in the 

community. Authorization is required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

a. To qualify for ICT, the individual must meet at least one 

of the following criteria: 
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(1) The individual must be at high risk for psychiatric 

hospitalization or becoming or remaining homeless due to 

mental illness or require intervention by the mental health 

or criminal justice system due to inappropriate social 

behavior. 

(2) The individual has a history (three months or more) of 

a need for intensive mental health treatment or treatment 

for co-occurring serious mental illness and substance use 

disorder and demonstrates a resistance to seek out and 

utilize appropriate treatment options. 

b. A written, service-specific provider intake, as defined at 

12VAC30-50-130, comprehensive needs assessment that 

documents the individual's eligibility and the need for this 

service must be completed prior to the initiation of 

services. This intake comprehensive needs assessment 

must be maintained in the individual's records. 

c. An individual service plan shall be initiated at the time 

of admission and must be fully developed, as defined in 

this section, within 30 days of the initiation of services. 

d. A unit shall equal one hour. 

e. These services may only be rendered by a team that 

meets the requirements of 12VAC35-105-1370. 

f. ICT services shall be reviewed by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S for all individuals who have 

received at least six months of ICT to determine the 

continued need for this service.  

5. Crisis stabilization services for nonhospitalized 

individuals shall provide direct mental health care to 

individuals experiencing an acute psychiatric crisis which 

may jeopardize their current community living situation. 

Services shall be provided following a face-to-face service-

specific provider intake comprehensive needs assessment by 

an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-

RP or a certified prescreener assessment. Only one unit of 

service shall be reimbursed for this intake. The provision of 

this service to an individual shall be registered with either 

DMAS or its contractor within one business day of the 

completion of the service-specific provider intake initiation 

of services to avoid duplication of services and to ensure 

informed care coordination. 

a. The goals of crisis stabilization programs shall be to 

avert hospitalization or rehospitalization, provide 

normative environments with a high assurance of safety 

and security for crisis intervention, stabilize individuals in 

psychiatric crisis, and mobilize the resources of the 

community support system and family members and 

others for on-going maintenance and rehabilitation. The 

services must be documented in the individual's records as 

having been provided consistent with the ISP in order to 

receive Medicaid reimbursement. 

b. The crisis stabilization program shall provide to 

individuals, as appropriate, psychiatric assessment 

including medication evaluation, treatment planning, 

symptom and behavior management, and individual and 

group counseling. 

c. This service may be provided in any of the following 

settings, but shall not be limited to: (i) the home of an 

individual who lives with family or other primary 

caregiver; (ii) the home of an individual who lives 

independently; or (iii) community-based programs 

licensed by DBHDS to provide residential services but 

which are not institutions for mental disease (IMDs). 

d. This service shall not be reimbursed for (i) individuals 

with medical conditions that require hospital care; (ii) 

individuals with a primary diagnosis of substance abuse; 

or (iii) individuals with psychiatric conditions that cannot 

be managed in the community (i.e., individuals who are of 

imminent danger to themselves or others). 

e. Services must be documented through daily progress 

notes and a daily log of times spent in the delivery of 

services. The service-specific provider intake, as defined 

at 12VAC30-50-130, comprehensive needs assessment or 

certified prescreener assessment shall document the 

individual's behavior and describe how the individual 

meets criteria for this service. Individuals qualifying for 

this service must demonstrate a clinical necessity for the 

service arising from an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature 

that puts the individual at risk of psychiatric 

hospitalization. Individuals must meet at least two of the 

following criteria at the time of admission to the service: 

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing and maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that the 

individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 

homelessness, or isolation from social supports; 

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized; 

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 

interventions documented by the mental health, social 

services, or judicial system are or have been necessary; or 

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that the 

individual is unable to recognize personal danger or 

significantly inappropriate social behavior. 

g. f. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-

A, a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a certified prescreener. 

6. Mental health skill-building services (MHSS) shall be 

defined as goal-directed training to enable individuals to 

achieve and maintain community stability and independence 

in the most appropriate, least restrictive environment. 

Authorization is required for Medicaid reimbursement. 

Services that are rendered before the date of service 

authorization shall not be reimbursed. These services may be 

authorized up to six consecutive months as long as the 

individual meets the coverage criteria for this service. The 
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service-specific provider intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-

130, comprehensive needs assessment shall document the 

individual's behavior and describe how the individual meets 

criteria for this service. These services shall provide goal-

directed training in the following areas in order to be 

reimbursed by Medicaid or the DMAS contractor: (i) 

functional skills and appropriate behavior related to the 

individual's health and safety, instrumental activities of daily 

living, and use of community resources; (ii) assistance with 

medication management; and (iii) monitoring of health, 

nutrition, and physical condition with goals towards self-

monitoring and self-regulation of all of these activities. 

Providers shall be reimbursed only for training activities 

defined in the ISP and only where services meet the service 

definition, eligibility, and service provision criteria and this 

section. A review of MHSS services by an LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S shall be repeated for all 

individuals who have received at least six months of MHSS 

to determine the continued need for this service. 

a. Individuals qualifying for this service shall demonstrate 

a clinical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities. Services are provided to individuals who 

require individualized goal-directed training in order to 

achieve or maintain stability and independence in the 

community. 

b. Individuals 21 years of age and older shall meet all of 

the following criteria in order to be eligible to receive 

mental health skill-building services: 

(1) The individual shall have one of the following as a 

primary mental health diagnosis: 

(a) Schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder as set out in 

the DSM-5; 

(b) Major depressive disorder; 

(c) Recurrent Bipolar I or Bipolar II; or 

(d) Any other serious mental health disorder that a 

physician has documented specific to the identified 

individual within the past year and that includes all of the 

following: (i) is a serious mental illness; (ii) results in 

severe and recurrent disability; (iii) produces functional 

limitations in the individual's major life activities that are 

documented in the individual's medical record; and (iv) 

requires individualized training for the individual in order 

to achieve or maintain independent living in the 

community. 

(2) The individual shall require individualized goal-

directed training in order to acquire or maintain self-

regulation of basic living skills, such as symptom 

management; adherence to psychiatric and physical health 

medication treatment plans; appropriate use of social skills 

and personal support systems; skills to manage personal 

hygiene, food preparation, and the maintenance of 

personal adequate nutrition; money management; and use 

of community resources. 

(3) The individual shall have a prior history of any of the 

following: (i) psychiatric hospitalization; (ii) either 

residential or nonresidential crisis stabilization; (iii) 

intensive community treatment (ICT) or program of 

assertive community treatment (PACT) services; (iv) 

placement in a psychiatric residential treatment facility 

(PRTF) as a result of decompensation related to the 

individual's serious mental illness; or (v) a temporary 

detention order (TDO) evaluation, pursuant to § 37.2-809 

B of the Code of Virginia. This criterion shall be met in 

order to be initially admitted to services and not for 

subsequent authorizations of service. Discharge 

summaries from prior providers that clearly indicate (i) the 

type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the treatment 

previously provided, and (iii) the name of the treatment 

provider shall be sufficient to meet this requirement. 

Family member statements shall not suffice to meet this 

requirement. 

(4) The individual shall have had a prescription for 

antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 

medications within the 12 months prior to the service-

specific provider intake comprehensive needs assessment 

date. If a physician or other practitioner who is authorized 

by his license to prescribe medications indicates that 

antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 

medications are medically contraindicated for the 

individual, the provider shall obtain medical records 

signed by the physician or other licensed prescriber 

detailing the contraindication. This documentation shall 

be maintained in the individual's mental health skill-

building services record, and the provider shall document 

and describe how the individual will be able to actively 

participate in and benefit from services without the 

assistance of medication. This criterion shall be met upon 

admission to services and shall not be required for 

subsequent authorizations of service. Discharge 

summaries from prior providers that clearly indicate (i) the 

type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the treatment 

previously provided, and (iii) the name of the treatment 

provider shall be sufficient to meet this requirement. 

Family member statements shall not suffice to meet this 

requirement. 

c. Individuals 18 to 21, 19, and 20 years of age shall meet 

all of the following criteria in order to be eligible to receive 

mental health skill-building services: 

(1) The individual shall not be living in a supervised 

setting as described in § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. If the individual is transitioning into an 

independent living situation, MHSS shall only be 

authorized for up to six months prior to the date of 

transition. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1384 

(2) The individual shall have at least one of the following 

as a primary mental health diagnosis: 

(a) Schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder as set out in 

the DSM-5; 

(b) Major depressive disorder; 

(c) Recurrent Bipolar I or Bipolar II; or 

(d) Any other serious mental health disorder that a 

physician has documented specific to the identified 

individual within the past year and that includes all of the 

following: (i) is a serious mental illness or serious 

emotional disturbance; (ii) results in severe and recurrent 

disability; (iii) produces functional limitations in the 

individual's major life activities that are documented in the 

individual's medical record; and (iv) requires 

individualized training for the individual in order to 

achieve or maintain independent living in the community. 

(3) The individual shall require individualized goal-

directed training in order to acquire or maintain self-

regulation of basic living skills such as symptom 

management; adherence to psychiatric and physical health 

medication treatment plans; appropriate use of social skills 

and personal support systems; skills to manage personal 

hygiene, food preparation, and the maintenance of 

personal adequate nutrition; money management; and use 

of community resources. 

(4) The individual shall have a prior history of any of the 

following: (i) psychiatric hospitalization; (ii) either 

residential or nonresidential crisis stabilization; (iii) 

intensive community treatment (ICT) or program of 

assertive community treatment (PACT) services; (iv) 

placement in a psychiatric residential treatment facility as 

a result of decompensation related to the individual's 

serious mental illness; or (v) temporary detention order 

(TDO) evaluation pursuant to § 37.2-809 B of the Code of 

Virginia. This criterion shall be met in order to be initially 

admitted to services and not for subsequent authorizations 

of service. Discharge summaries from prior providers that 

clearly indicate (i) the type of treatment provided, (ii) the 

dates of the treatment previously provided, and (iii) the 

name of the treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet 

this requirement. Family member statements shall not 

suffice to meet this requirement. 

(5) The individual shall have had a prescription for 

antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 

medications, within the 12 months prior to the assessment 

date. If a physician or other practitioner who is authorized 

by his license to prescribe medications indicates that 

antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 

medications are medically contraindicated for the 

individual, the provider shall obtain medical records 

signed by the physician or other licensed prescriber 

detailing the contraindication. This documentation of 

medication management shall be maintained in the 

individual's mental health skill-building services record. 

For individuals not prescribed antipsychotic, mood 

stabilizing, or antidepressant medications, the provider 

shall have documentation from the medication 

management physician describing how the individual will 

be able to actively participate in and benefit from services 

without the assistance of medication. This criterion shall 

be met in order to be initially admitted to services and not 

for subsequent authorizations of service. Discharge 

summaries from prior providers that clearly indicate (i) the 

type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the treatment 

previously provided, and (iii) the name of the treatment 

provider shall be sufficient to meet this requirement. 

Family member statements shall not suffice to meet this 

requirement. 

(6) An independent clinical assessment, established in 

12VAC30-130-3020, shall be completed for the 

individual. 

d. Service-specific provider intakes Comprehensive needs 

assessments shall be required at the onset of services and 

individual service plans (ISPs) shall be required during the 

entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific provider 

intakes comprehensive needs assessment or ISPs shall be 

denied reimbursement. Requirements for service-specific 

provider intakes comprehensive needs assessments and 

ISPs are set out in 12VAC30-50-130 12VAC30-60-143. 

e. Only direct face-to-face contacts and services to the 

individual shall be reimbursable. One unit is 1 to 2.99 

hours per day, and two units is 3 to 4.99 or more hours per 

day. 

f. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, a QMHP-A, a QMHP-C, 

a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

g. The provider shall clearly document details of the 

services provided during the entire amount of time billed. 

h. The ISP shall not include activities that contradict or 

duplicate those in the treatment plan established by the 

therapeutic group home or assisted living facility. The 

provider shall coordinate mental health skill-building 

services with the treatment plan established by the group 

home or assisted living facility and shall document all 

coordination activities in the medical record. 

i. Limits and exclusions. 

(1) Therapeutic group home and assisted living facility 

providers shall not serve as the mental health skill-

building services provider for individuals residing in the 

provider's respective facility. Individuals residing in 

facilities may, however, receive MHSS from another 

MHSS agency not affiliated with the owner of the facility 

in which they reside. 

(2) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed for individuals who are receiving in-home 

residential services or congregate residential services 
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through the Intellectual Disability Waiver or Individual 

and Family Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver. 

(3) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed for individuals who are also receiving services 

under the Department of Social Services independent 

living program (22VAC40-151), independent living 

services (22VAC40-131 and 22VAC40-151), or 

independent living arrangement (22VAC40-131) or any 

Comprehensive Services Act-funded independent living 

skills programs. 

(4) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who are receiving treatment foster 

care (12VAC30-130-900 et seq.). 

(5) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who reside in intermediate care 

facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities or 

hospitals. 

(6) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who reside in nursing facilities, 

except for up to 60 days prior to discharge. If the 

individual has not been discharged from the nursing 

facility during the 60-day period of services, mental health 

skill-building services shall be terminated and no further 

service authorizations shall be available to the individual 

unless a provider can demonstrate and document that 

mental health skill-building services are necessary. Such 

documentation shall include facts demonstrating a change 

in the individual's circumstances and a new plan for 

discharge requiring up to 60 days of mental health skill-

building services. 

(7) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available for residents of psychiatric residential treatment 

centers except for the intake comprehensive needs 

assessment code H0032 (modifier U8) in the seven days 

immediately prior to discharge. 

(8) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed if personal care services or attendant care 

services are being received simultaneously, unless 

justification is provided why this is necessary in the 

individual's mental health skill-building services record. 

Medical record documentation shall fully substantiate the 

need for services when personal care or attendant care 

services are being provided. This applies to individuals 

who are receiving additional services through the 

Intellectual Disability Waiver (12VAC30-120-1000 et 

seq.), Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 

Support Waiver (12VAC30-120-700 et seq.), the Elderly 

or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver (12VAC30-

120-900 et seq.), and EPSDT services (12VAC30-50-

130). 

(9) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

duplicative of other services. Providers shall be required 

to ensure that if an individual is receiving additional 

therapeutic services that there will be coordination of 

services by either the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or QPPMH to 

avoid duplication of services. 

(10) Individuals who have organic disorders, such as 

delirium, dementia, or other cognitive disorders not 

elsewhere classified, will be prohibited from receiving 

mental health skill-building services unless their 

physicians issue signed and dated statements indicating 

that the individuals can benefit from this service. 

(11) Individuals who are not diagnosed with a serious 

mental health disorder but who have personality disorders 

or other mental health disorders, or both, that may lead to 

chronic disability shall not be excluded from the mental 

health skill-building services eligibility criteria provided 

that the individual has a primary mental health diagnosis 

from the list included in subdivision B 6 b (1) or B 6 c (2) 

of this section and that the provider can document and 

describe how the individual is expected to actively 

participate in and benefit from mental health skill-building 

services. 

7. Mental health peer support services. 

a. Mental health peer support services are peer recovery 

support services and are nonclinical, peer-to-peer 

activities that engage, educate, and support an individual's 

self-help efforts to improve health recovery, resiliency, 

and wellness. Mental health peer support services for 

adults is a person centered, strength-based, and recovery-

oriented rehabilitative service for individuals 21 years of 

age or older provided by a peer recovery specialist 

successful in the recovery process with lived experience 

with a mental health disorder, who is trained to offer 

support and assistance in helping others in the recovery to 

reduce the disabling effects of a mental health disorder 

that is the focus of support. Services assist the individual 

with developing and maintaining a path to recovery, 

resiliency, and wellness. Specific peer support service 

activities shall emphasize the acquisition, development, 

and enhancement of recovery, resiliency, and wellness. 

Services are designed to promote empowerment, self-

determination, understanding, and coping skills through 

mentoring and service coordination supports, as well as to 

assist individuals in achieving positive coping 

mechanisms for the stressors and barriers encountered 

when recovering from their illnesses or disorders. 

b. Under the clinical oversight of the LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S assessing the individual and 

making the recommendation for mental health support 

services, the peer recovery specialist in consultation with 

his direct supervisor shall develop a recovery, resiliency, 

and wellness plan based on the recommendation of the 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S for service, the 

individual's perceived recovery needs, and any clinical 

assessments or service specific provider intakes 

comprehensive needs assessments as defined in this 
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section within 30 calendar days of the initiation of service. 

Development of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness 

plan shall include collaboration with the individual. 

Individualized goals and strategies shall be focused on the 

individual's identified needs for self-advocacy and 

recovery. The recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan shall 

also include documentation of how many days per week 

and how many hours per week are required to carry out the 

services in order to meet the goals of the plan. The 

recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan shall be completed, 

signed, and dated by (i) the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

or LMHP-S; (ii) the PRS; (iii) the direct supervisor; and 

(iv) the individual within 30 calendar days of the initiation 

of service. The PRS shall act as an advocate for the 

individual, encouraging the individual to take a proactive 

role in developing and updating goals and objectives in the 

individualized recovery planning. 

c. Documentation of required activities shall be required 

as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5200 C and E through J. 

d. Limitations and exclusions to service delivery shall be 

the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5210. 

e. Individuals 21 years of age or older qualifying for 

mental health peer support services shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) Require recovery-oriented assistance and support 

services for the acquisition of skills needed to engage in 

and maintain recovery; for the development of self-

advocacy skills to achieve a decreasing dependency on 

formalized treatment systems; and to increase 

responsibilities, wellness potential, and shared 

accountability for the individual's own recovery. 

(2) Have a documented mental health disorder diagnosis. 

(3) Demonstrate moderate to severe functional 

impairment because of a diagnosis that interferes with or 

limits performance in at least one of the following 

domains: educational (e.g., obtaining a high school or 

college degree); social (e.g., developing a social support 

system); vocational (e.g., obtaining part-time or full-time 

employment); self-maintenance (e.g., managing 

symptoms, understanding his illness, living more 

independently). 

f. To qualify for continued mental health peer support 

services, medical necessity criteria shall continue to be 

met, and progress notes shall document the status of 

progress relative to the goals identified in the recovery, 

resiliency, and wellness plan. 

g. Discharge criteria from mental health peer support 

services is the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5180 E. 

h. Mental health peer support services shall be rendered on 

an individual basis or in a group. 

i. Prior to service initiation, an assessment shall be 

conducted and documented by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S within the scope of practice under 

state law. The assessment shall verify that the individual 

meets the medical necessity criteria set forth in 

subdivision 7 e of this subsection. The assessment shall be 

included as part of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness 

plan and medical record. Services shall be initiated within 

30 calendar days from when the assessment was complete. 

j. Effective July 1, 2017, a peer recovery specialist shall 

have the qualifications, education, experience, and 

certification established by DBHDS in accordance with 

12VAC35-250. Effective December 18, 2017, Peer 

Recovery Specialists shall also be registered with the 

Virginia Board of Counseling registration of peer recovery 

specialists by the Board of Counseling shall be required. 

The PRS shall perform mental health peer support services 

under the oversight of the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

or LMHP-S who assessed the individual and made the 

recommendation for services and providing shall provide 

the clinical oversight of the recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan. The PRS shall be employed by or have a 

contractual relationship with an enrolled provider licensed 

for one of the following: 

(1) Acute care general hospital licensed by the Department 

of Health. 

(2) Freestanding psychiatric hospital and inpatient 

psychiatric unit licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

(3) Outpatient mental health clinic services licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

(4) Outpatient psychiatric services provider. 

(5) Rural health clinics and federally qualified health 

centers. 

(6) Hospital emergency department services licensed by 

the Department of Health. 

(7) Community mental health and rehabilitative services 

provider licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services as a provider of one of the 

following community mental health and rehabilitative 

services defined in this section or 12VAC30-50-420 for 

which the individual meets medical necessity criteria: 

(a) Day treatment or partial hospitalization; 

(b) Psychosocial rehabilitation; 

(c) Crisis intervention; 

(d) Intensive community treatment; 

(e) Crisis stabilization; 

(f) Mental health skill building; or 

(g) Mental health case management. 

k. Only the licensed and enrolled provider referenced in 

subdivision 7 j of this subsection shall be eligible to bill 

mental health peer support services. Payments shall not be 

permitted to providers that fail to enter into an enrollment 
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agreement with DMAS or its contractor. Reimbursement 

shall be subject to retraction for any billed service that is 

determined to not to be in compliance with DMAS 

requirements. 

l. Supervision of the PRS shall be required as set forth in 

the definition of "supervision" in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

Supervision of the PRS shall also meet the following 

requirements: the direct supervisor shall perform direct 

supervision of the PRS as needed based on the level of 

urgency and intensity of service being provided. The 

direct supervisor shall have an employment or contract 

relationship with the same provider entity that employs or 

contracts with the PRS. Direct supervisors shall maintain 

documentation of all supervisory sessions. In no instance 

shall supervisory sessions be performed less than as 

provided in subdivisions 7 l (1) and 7 l (2) of this 

subsection: 

(1) If the PRS has less than 12 months of experience 

delivering peer support services or family support 

partners, the PRS shall receive face-to-face, one-to-one 

supervisory meetings of sufficient length to address 

identified challenges for a minimum of a 30-minute 

session, two times a month. The direct supervisor must be 

available at least by telephone while the PRS is on duty. 

(2) If the PRS has been delivering peer support services or 

family support partners for over 12 months and fewer than 

24 months, the PRS must receive monthly face-to-face, 

one-to-one supervision of sufficient length to address 

identified challenges for a minimum of 30 minutes. The 

direct supervisor must be available by telephone for 

consult within 24 hours of service delivery if needed. 

m. The supervisor shall be under the clinical oversight of 

the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who 

assessed the individual and made the recommendation for 

services, and the peer recovery specialist in consultation 

with his direct supervisor shall conduct and document a 

review of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan every 

90 calendar days with the individual and the caregiver, as 

applicable. The review shall be signed by the PRS and the 

individual and, as applicable, the identified family 

member or caregiver. Review of the recovery, resiliency, 

and wellness plan means the PRS evaluates and updates 

the individual's progress every 90 calendar days toward 

meeting the plan's goals and documents the outcome of 

this review in the individual's medical record. For DMAS 

to determine that these reviews are complete, the reviews 

shall (i) update the goals and objectives as needed to 

reflect any change in the individual's recovery as well as 

any newly identified needs, (ii) be conducted in a manner 

that enables the individual to actively participate in the 

process, and (iii) be documented by the PRS in the 

individual's medical record no later than 15 calendar days 

from the date of the review. 

12VAC30-60-61. Services related to the Early and Periodic 

Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment Program (EPSDT); 

community mental health and behavioral therapy services 

for children youth. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context indicates otherwise: 

"At risk" means one or more of the following: (i) within the 

two weeks before the intake, comprehensive needs assessment, 

the individual shall be screened by an a licensed mental health 

professional (LMHP), licensed mental health professional-

resident (LMHP-R), licensed mental health professional--

resident in psychology LMHP-RP, or licensed mental health 

professional-supervisee (LMHP-S) for escalating behaviors 

that have put either the individual or others at immediate risk 

of physical injury; (ii) the parent or guardian is unable to 

manage the individual's mental, behavioral, or emotional 

problems in the home and is actively, within the past two to 

four weeks, seeking an out-of-home placement; (iii) a 

representative of either a juvenile justice agency, a department 

of social services (either the state agency or local agency), a 

community services board/behavioral health authority, the 

Department of Education, or an LMHP, as defined in 

12VAC35-105-20, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, and 

who is neither an employee of nor consultant to the intensive 

in-home (IIH) services or therapeutic day treatment (TDT) 

provider, has recommended an out-of-home placement absent 

an immediate change of behaviors and when unsuccessful 

mental health services are evident; (iv) the individual has a 

history of unsuccessful services (either crisis intervention, 

crisis stabilization, outpatient psychotherapy, outpatient 

substance abuse services, or mental health support) skill-

building) within the past 30 calendar days; or (v) the treatment 

team or family assessment planning team (FAPT) recommends 

IIH services or TDT for an individual currently who is either: 

(a) transitioning out of psychiatric residential treatment facility 

(PRTF) services, (b) transitioning out of a therapeutic group 

home, (c) transitioning out of acute psychiatric hospitalization, 

or (d) transitioning between foster homes, mental health case 

management, crisis intervention, crisis stabilization, outpatient 

psychotherapy, or outpatient substance abuse services. 

"Failed services" or "unsuccessful services" means, as 

measured by ongoing behavioral, mental, or physical distress, 

that the services did not treat or resolve the individual's mental 

health or behavioral issues. 

"Individual" means the Medicaid-eligible person receiving 

these services and for the purpose of this section includes 

children from birth up to 12 years of age and adolescents ages 

12 through 20 years. 

"Comprehensive needs assessment" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 
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"Licensed assistant behavior analyst" means a person who has 

met the licensing requirements of 18VAC85-150 and holds a 

valid license issued by the Department of Health Professions. 

"Licensed behavior analyst" means a person who has met the 

licensing requirements of 18VAC85-150 and holds a valid 

license issued by the Department of Health Professions. 

"New service" means a community mental health 

rehabilitation service for which the individual does not have a 

current service authorization in effect as of July 17, 2011. 

"Out-of-home placement" means placement in one or more of 

the following: (i) therapeutic group home; (ii) regular foster 

home if the individual is currently residing with the 

individual's biological family and, due to his behavior 

problems, is at risk of being placed in the custody of the local 

department of social services; (iii) treatment foster care if the 

individual is currently residing with the individual's biological 

family or a regular foster care family and, due to the 

individual's behavioral problems, is at risk of removal to a 

higher level of care; (iv) psychiatric residential treatment 

facility; (v) emergency shelter for the individual only due 

either to his mental health or behavior or both; (vi) psychiatric 

hospitalization; or (vii) juvenile justice system or 

incarceration. 

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation 

that contains the unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is also 

signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's 

professional staff who have prepared the notes. Individualized 

progress notes are part of the minimum documentation 

requirements and shall convey the individual's status, staff 

interventions, and, as appropriate, the individual's progress or 

lack of progress toward goals and objectives in the plan of care. 

The progress notes shall also include, at a minimum, the name 

of the service rendered, the date of the service rendered, the 

signature and credentials of the person who rendered the 

service, the setting in which the service was rendered, and the 

amount of time or units required to deliver the service. The 

content of each progress note shall corroborate the time or units 

billed. Progress notes shall be documented for each service that 

is billed. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the evaluation that 

is conducted according to the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) intake definition set out in 

12VAC30-50-130. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Unsuccessful services" means, as measured by ongoing 

behavioral, mental, or physical distress, that the services did 

not treat or resolve the individual's mental health or behavioral 

issues. 

"Youth" means an individual younger than 21 years of age 

who is receiving community mental health or behavioral 

therapy services. 

B. Utilization review requirements for all services in this 

section. 

1. The services described in this section shall be rendered 

consistent with the definitions, service limits, and 

requirements described in this section and in 12VAC30-50-

130. 

2. Providers shall be required to refund payments made by 

Medicaid if they fail to maintain adequate documentation to 

support billed activities. 

3. Individual service plans (ISPs) shall meet all of the 

requirements set forth in 12VAC30-60-143 B 7 8. 

4. The provider shall meet the federal and state requirements 

for administrative and financial management capacity. The 

provider shall obtain, prior to delivery of services, and shall 

maintain and update periodically as the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) or its contractor 

requires, a current provider enrollment agreement for each 

Medicaid service the provider offers. DMAS shall not 

reimburse providers who do not enter into a provider 

enrollment agreement for a service prior to offering that 

service. 

5. The provider shall document and maintain individual case 

records in accordance with state and federal requirements. 

6. The provider shall ensure eligible individuals have free 

choice of providers of mental health services and other 

medical care under the individual service plan. 

7. The comprehensive needs assessment shall include 

documented history of the severity, intensity, and duration 

of mental health care problems and issues. all of the 

following elements: (i) the presenting issue or reason for 

referral; (ii) mental health history or history of 

hospitalizations; (iii) previous interventions by providers 

and timeframes and response to treatment; (iv) medical 

profile; (v) developmental history including history of 

abuse, if appropriate; (vi) educational or vocational status; 

(vii) current living situation and family history and 

relationships; (viii) legal status, (ix) drug and alcohol profile; 

(x) resources and strengths; (xi) mental status exam and 

profile; (xii) diagnosis; (xiii) professional summary and 

clinical formulation; (xiv) recommended care and treatment 

goals; and (xv) the dated signature of the LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP. 

8. Progress notes shall include, at a minimum, the name of 

the service rendered, the date of the service rendered, the 

signature and credentials of the person who rendered the 

service, the setting in which the service was rendered, and 

the amount of time or units or hours required to deliver the 

service. The content of each progress note shall corroborate 
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the units or hours billed. Progress notes shall be documented 

for each service that is billed. 

C. Utilization review of intensive in-home (IIH) services for 

children and adolescents youth. 

1. The service definition for intensive in-home (IIH) services 

is contained in 12VAC30-50-130. 

2. Individuals Youth qualifying for this service shall 

demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising from 

mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results in 

significant functional impairments in major life activities. 

Individuals Youth must meet at least two of the following 

criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis to be authorized 

for these services: 

a. Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal 

interpersonal relationships to such a degree that they are 

at risk of hospitalization or out-of-home placement 

because of conflicts with family or community. 

b. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that documented, 

repeated interventions by the mental health, social services 

or judicial system are or have been necessary. 

c. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 

unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 

significantly inappropriate social behavior. 

3. Prior to admission, an appropriate service-specific 

provider intake, as defined in 12VAC30-50-130, 

comprehensive needs assessment shall be conducted by the 

licensed mental health professional (LMHP), LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP, documenting the 

individual's youth's diagnosis and describing how service 

needs can best be met through intervention provided 

typically but not solely in the individual's youth's residence. 

The service-specific provider intake comprehensive needs 

assessment shall describe how the individual's youth's 

clinical needs put the individual youth at risk of out-of-home 

placement and shall be conducted face-to-face in the 

individual's residence. Claims for services that are based 

upon service-specific provider intakes that are incomplete, 

outdated (more than 12 months old), or missing shall not be 

reimbursed. Comprehensive needs assessments shall meet 

all of the requirements set forth in 12VAC30-60-143 B 7.  

4. An individual service plan (ISP) shall be fully completed, 

signed, and dated by either an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, 

LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a qualified mental health 

professional-child (QMHP-C), or a qualified mental health 

professional-eligible (QMHP-E) and the individual youth 

and individual's youth's parent or guardian within 30 

calendar days of initiation of services. The ISP shall meet all 

of the requirements as defined in 12VAC30-50-226. 

5. DMAS shall not reimburse for dates of services in which 

the progress notes are not individualized and child-specific 

to the specific youth. Duplicated progress notes shall not 

constitute the required child-specific individualized progress 

notes. Each progress note shall demonstrate unique 

differences particular to the individual's youth's 

circumstances, treatment, and progress. Claim payments 

shall be retracted for services that are supported by 

documentation that does not demonstrate unique differences 

particular to the individual youth. 

6. Services shall be directed toward the treatment of the 

eligible individual youth and delivered primarily in the 

family's residence with the individual youth present. As 

clinically indicated, the services may be rendered in the 

community if there is documentation, on that date of service, 

of the necessity of providing services in the community. The 

documentation shall describe how the alternative 

community service location supports the identified clinical 

needs of the individual youth and describe how it facilitates 

the implementation of the ISP. For services provided outside 

of the home, there shall be documentation reflecting 

therapeutic treatment as set forth in the ISP provided for that 

date of service in the appropriately signed and dated progress 

notes. 

7. These services shall be provided when the clinical needs 

of the individual youth put the individual youth at risk for 

out-of-home placement, as these terms are defined in this 

section: 

a. When services that are far more intensive than 

outpatient clinic care are required to stabilize the 

individual youth in the family situation; or 

b. When the individual's youth's residence as the setting 

for services is more likely to be successful than a clinic. 

The service-specific provider intake comprehensive needs 

assessment shall describe how the individual youth meets 

either subdivision 7 a or 7 b of this subsection. 

8. Services shall not be provided if the individual youth is no 

longer a resident of the home. 

9. Services shall also be used to facilitate the transition to 

home from an out-of-home placement when services more 

intensive than outpatient clinic care are required for the 

transition to be successful. The individual youth and 

responsible parent or guardian shall be available and in 

agreement to participate in the transition. 

10. At least one parent or legal guardian or responsible adult 

with whom the individual youth is living must be willing to 

participate in the intensive in-home services with the goal of 

keeping the individual youth with the family. In the instance 

of this service, a responsible adult shall be an adult who lives 

in the same household with the child youth and is 

responsible for engaging in therapy and service-related 

activities to benefit the individual youth. 

11. The enrolled provider shall be licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) as a provider of intensive in-home 
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services. The provider shall also have a provider enrollment 

agreement with DMAS or its contractor in effect prior to the 

delivery of this service that indicates that the provider will 

offer intensive in-home services. 

12. Services must only be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-C, or 

QMHP-E. Reimbursement shall not be provided for such 

services when they have been rendered by a QPPMH as 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

13. The billing unit for intensive in-home service shall be 

one hour. Although the pattern of service delivery may vary, 

intensive in-home services is an intensive service provided 

to individuals youth for whom there is an ISP in effect which 

demonstrates the need for a minimum of three hours a week 

of intensive in-home service, and includes a plan for service 

provision of a minimum of three hours of service delivery 

per individual youth or family per week in the initial phase 

of treatment. It is expected that the pattern of service 

provision may show more intensive services and more 

frequent contact with the individual youth and family 

initially with a lessening or tapering off of intensity toward 

the latter weeks of service. Service plans shall incorporate 

an individualized discharge plan that describes transition 

from intensive in-home to less intensive or nonhome based 

services. 

14. The ISP, as defined in 12VAC30-50-226, shall be 

updated as the individual's youth's needs and progress 

changes and signed by either the parent or legal guardian and 

the individual youth. Documentation shall be provided if the 

individual youth, who is a minor child, is unable or unwilling 

to sign the ISP. If there is a lapse in services that is greater 

than 31 consecutive calendar days without any 

communications from family members or legal guardian or 

the individual youth with the provider, the provider shall 

discharge the individual youth. If the individual continues to 

need services, then a new intake or admission shall be 

documented and a new service authorization shall be 

required. 

15. The provider shall ensure that the maximum staff-to-

caseload ratio fully meets the needs of the individual youth. 

16. If an individual youth receiving services is also receiving 

case management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or 

12VAC30-50-430, the provider shall contact the case 

manager and provide notification of the provision of 

services. In addition, the provider shall send monthly 

updates to the case manager on the individual's youth's 

status. A discharge summary shall be sent to the case 

manager within 30 calendar days of the service 

discontinuation date. Providers and case managers who are 

using the same electronic health record for the individual 

youth shall meet requirements for delivery of the 

notification, monthly updates, and discharge summary upon 

entry of the information in the electronic health records. 

17. Emergency assistance shall be available 24 hours per 

day, seven days a week. 

18. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing 

requirements at 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers that DMAS 

determines violate these marketing requirements shall be 

terminated as a Medicaid provider pursuant to 12VAC30-

130-2000 E. 

19. The provider shall determine who the primary care 

provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 

individual youth or guardian, shall inform the primary care 

provider of the individual's youth's receipt of IIH services. 

The documentation shall include who was contacted, when 

the contact occurred, and what information was transmitted. 

D. Utilization review of therapeutic day treatment for 

children and adolescents youth. 

1. The service definition for therapeutic day treatment (TDT) 

for children and adolescents youth is contained in 

12VAC30-50-130. 

2. Therapeutic day treatment is appropriate for children and 

adolescents youth who meet one of the following criteria: 

a. Children and adolescents Youth who require year-round 

treatment in order to sustain behavior or emotional gains. 

b. Children and adolescents Youth whose behavior and 

emotional problems are so severe they cannot be handled 

in self-contained or resource emotionally disturbed (ED) 

classrooms without: 

(1) This programming during the school day; or 

(2) This programming to supplement the school day or 

school year. 

c. Children and adolescents Youth who would otherwise 

be placed on homebound instruction because of severe 

emotional/behavior emotional or behavior problems that 

interfere with learning. 

d. Children and adolescents Youth who (i) have deficits in 

social skills, peer relations or dealing with authority; (ii) 

are hyperactive; (iii) have poor impulse control; or (iv) are 

extremely depressed or marginally connected with reality. 

e. Children in preschool enrichment and early intervention 

programs when the children's emotional or behavioral 

problems are so severe that the children cannot function in 

these programs without additional services. 

3. The service-specific provider intake comprehensive needs 

assessment shall document the individual's youth's behavior 

and describe how the individual youth meets these specific 

service criteria in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

4. Prior to admission to this service, a service-specific 

provider intake comprehensive needs assessment shall be 

conducted by the an LMHP as defined in 12VAC35-105-20, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who shall make and 

document the diagnosis. Comprehensive needs assessments 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1391 

shall meet all of the requirements set forth in 12VAC30-60-

143 B 7.  

5. An ISP shall be fully completed, signed, and dated by an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E and by the individual youth or the 

parent or guardian within 30 calendar days of initiation of 

services and shall meet all requirements of an ISP as defined 

in 12VAC30-50-226. Individual progress notes shall be 

required for each contact with the individual youth and shall 

meet all of the requirements as defined in this section. 

6. Such services shall not duplicate those services provided 

by the school. 

7. Individuals The youth qualifying for this service shall 

demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising from 

a condition due to mental, behavioral, or emotional illness 

that results in significant functional impairments in major 

life activities. Individuals The youth shall meet at least two 

of the following criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis: 

a. Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal 

interpersonal relationships to such a degree that they are 

at risk of hospitalization or out-of-home placement 

because of conflicts with family or community. 

b. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that documented, 

repeated interventions by the mental health, social 

services, or judicial system are or have been necessary. 

c. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 

unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 

significantly inappropriate social behavior. 

8. The enrolled provider of therapeutic day treatment for 

child and adolescent youth services shall be licensed by 

DBHDS to provide day support services. The provider shall 

also have a provider enrollment agreement in effect with 

DMAS prior to the delivery of this service that indicates that 

the provider offers therapeutic day treatment services for 

children and adolescents youth. 

9. Services shall be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-C, or a 

QMHP-E. 

10. The minimum staff-to-individual ratio as defined by 

DBHDS licensing requirements shall ensure that adequate 

staff is available to meet the needs of the individual youth 

identified on the ISP. 

11. The program shall operate a minimum of two hours per 

day and may offer flexible program hours (i.e., before or 

after school or during the summer). One unit of service shall 

be defined as a minimum of two hours but less than three 

hours in a given day. Two units of service shall be defined 

as a minimum of three but less than five hours in a given 

day. Three units of service shall be defined as five or more 

hours of service in a given day. 

12. Time required for academic instruction when no 

treatment activity is going on shall not be included in the 

billing unit. 

13. Services shall be provided following a service-specific 

provider intake that is conducted by an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP. An LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, or LMHP-resident shall make and 

document the diagnosis. The service-specific provider 

intake shall include the elements as defined in 12VAC30-

50-130. 

14. 13. If an individual a youth receiving services is also 

receiving case management services pursuant to 12VAC30-

50-420 or 12VAC30-50-430, the provider shall collaborate 

with the case manager and provide notification of the 

provision of services. In addition, the provider shall send 

monthly updates to the case manager on the individual's 

youth's status. A discharge summary shall be sent to the case 

manager within 30 calendar days of the service 

discontinuation date. Providers and case managers using the 

same electronic health record for the individual youth shall 

meet requirements for delivery of the notification, monthly 

updates, and discharge summary upon entry of this 

documentation into the electronic health record. 

15. 14. The provider shall determine who the primary care 

provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 

individual youth or the individual's youth's parent or legal 

guardian, shall inform the primary care provider of the 

individual's youth's receipt of community mental health 

rehabilitative services. The documentation shall include who 

was contacted, when the contact occurred, and what 

information was transmitted. The parent or legal guardian 

shall be required to give written consent that this provider 

has permission to inform the primary care provider of the 

child's or adolescent's youth's receipt of community mental 

health rehabilitative services. 

16. 15. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing 

requirements as set out in 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers 

that DMAS determines have violated these marketing 

requirements shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider 

pursuant to 12VAC30-130-2000 E. 

17. 16. If there is a lapse in services greater than 31 

consecutive calendar days, the provider shall discharge the 

individual youth. If the individual continues to need 

services, a new intake or admission documentation shall be 

prepared and a new service authorization shall be required. 

E. Utilization review of therapeutic group home for children 

and adolescents younger than 21 years of age services. 

1. The staff ratio must be approved by the Office of 

Licensure at the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. The clinical director shall be a 

licensed mental health professional. The caseload of the 
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clinical director must not exceed 16 individuals including all 

sites for which the same clinical director is responsible. 

2. The program director shall be full time and meet the 

requirements for a program director as defined in 12VAC35-

46-350. 

3. For Medicaid reimbursement to be approved, at least 50% 

of the provider's direct care staff at the therapeutic group 

home shall meet DBHDS qualified paraprofessional in 

mental health (QPPMH) criteria, as defined in 12VAC35-

105-20. The therapeutic group home shall coordinate 

services with other providers. 

4. All therapeutic group home services shall be authorized 

prior to reimbursement for these services. Services rendered 

without such prior authorization shall not be covered. 

5. Services must be provided in accordance with a 

comprehensive individual plan of care as defined in 

12VAC30-50-130, which shall be fully completed within 30 

calendar days of authorization for Medicaid reimbursement. 

6. Prior to admission, an assessment shall be performed 

using all elements specified by DMAS in 12VAC30-50-130. 

7. Such assessments shall be performed by an LMHP, an 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP. 

8. If an individual a youth receiving therapeutic group home 

services for children and adolescents younger than 21 years 

of age is also receiving case management services, the 

therapeutic group home services provider must collaborate 

with the care coordinator/case manager by notifying him of 

the provision of therapeutic group home services and the 

therapeutic group home services provider shall send monthly 

updates on the individual's youth's treatment status. 

9. The provider shall determine who the primary care 

provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 

individual or parent or legally authorized representative, 

shall inform the primary care provider of the individual's 

youth's receipt of therapeutic group home services. The 

documentation shall include who was contacted, when the 

contact occurred, and what information was transmitted. If 

these individuals are children or adolescents, then the parent 

or legally authorized representative shall be required to give 

written consent that this provider has permission to inform 

the primary care provider of the individual's receipt of 

community mental health rehabilitative services.  

F. Utilization review of behavioral therapy services for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age youth. 

1. In order for Medicaid to cover behavioral therapy 

services, the provider shall be enrolled with DMAS or its 

contractor as a Medicaid provider. The provider enrollment 

agreement shall be in effect prior to the delivery of services 

for Medicaid reimbursement. 

2. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age youth when 

recommended by the individual's youth's primary care 

provider, licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or 

licensed nurse practitioner and determined by DMAS or its 

contractor to be medically necessary to correct or ameliorate 

significant impairments in major life activities that have 

resulted from either developmental, behavioral, or mental 

disabilities. 

3. Behavioral therapy services require service authorization. 

Services shall be authorized only when eligibility and 

medical necessity criteria are met. 

4. Prior to treatment, an appropriate service-specific 

provider intake behavioral therapy assessment shall be 

conducted, documented, signed, and dated by a licensed 

behavior analyst (LBA), licensed assistant behavior analyst 

(LABA), LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, acting 

within the scope of his practice, documenting the 

individual's youth's diagnosis (including a description of the 

behaviors targeted for treatment with their frequency, 

duration, and intensity) and describing how service needs 

can best be met through behavioral therapy. The service-

specific provider intake behavioral therapy assessment shall 

be conducted face-to-face in the individual's youth's 

residence with the individual youth and parent or guardian. 

5. The ISP shall be developed upon admission to the service 

and reviewed within 30 days of admission to the service to 

ensure that all treatment goals are reflective of the 

individual's youth's clinical needs and shall describe each 

treatment goal, targeted behavior, one or more measurable 

objectives for each targeted behavior, the behavioral 

modification strategy to be used to manage each targeted 

behavior, the plan for parent or caregiver training, care 

coordination, and the measurement and data collection 

methods to be used for each targeted behavior in the ISP. 

The ISP as defined in 12VAC30-50-130 12VAC30-50-226 

shall be fully completed, signed, and dated by an LBA, 

LABA, LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. Every 

three months, the LBA, LABA, LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, or LMHP-S shall review the ISP, modify the ISP as 

appropriate, and update the ISP, and all of these activities 

shall occur with the individual youth in a manner in which 

the individual youth may participate in the process. The ISP 

shall be rewritten at least annually. 

6. Reimbursement for the initial service-specific provider 

intake behavioral therapy assessment and the initial ISP shall 

be limited to five hours without service authorization. If 

additional time is needed to complete these documents, 

service authorization shall be required. 

7. Clinical supervision shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement of behavioral therapy services that are 

rendered by an LABA, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S or 

unlicensed staff consistent with the scope of practice as 
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described by the applicable Virginia Department of Health 

Professions regulatory board. Clinical supervision of 

unlicensed staff shall occur at least weekly. As documented 

in the individual's youth's medical record, clinical 

supervision shall include a review of progress notes and data 

and dialogue with supervised staff about the individual's 

youth's progress and the effectiveness of the ISP. Clinical 

supervision shall be documented by, at a minimum, the 

contemporaneously dated signature of the clinical 

supervisor. 

8. Family training involving the individual's youth's family 

and significant others to advance the treatment goals of the 

individual youth shall be provided when (i) the training with 

the family member or significant other is for the direct 

benefit of the individual youth, (ii) the training is not aimed 

at addressing the treatment needs of the individual's youth 

family or significant others, (iii) the individual youth is 

present except when it is clinically appropriate for the 

individual youth to be absent in order to advance the 

individual's youth's treatment goals, and (iv) the training is 

aligned with the goals of the individual's youth's treatment 

plan. 

9. The following shall not be covered under this service: 

a. Screening to identify physical, mental, or 

developmental conditions that may require evaluation or 

treatment. Screening is covered as an EPSDT service 

provided by the primary care provider and is not covered 

as a behavioral therapy service under this section. 

b. Services other than the initial service-specific provider 

intake behavioral therapy assessment that are provided but 

are not based upon the individual's youth's ISP or linked 

to a service in the ISP. Time not actively involved in 

providing services directed by the ISP shall not be 

reimbursed. 

c. Services that are based upon an incomplete, missing, or 

outdated service-specific provider intake behavioral 

therapy assessment or ISP. 

d. Sessions that are conducted for family support, 

education, recreational, or custodial purposes, including 

respite or child care. 

e. Services that are provided by a provider but are rendered 

primarily by a relative or guardian who is legally 

responsible for the individual's youth's care. 

f. Services that are provided in a clinic or provider's office 

without documented justification for the location in the 

ISP. 

g. Services that are provided in the absence of the 

individual youth or a parent or other authorized caregiver 

identified in the ISP with the exception of treatment 

review processes described in subdivision 12 e of this 

subsection, care coordination, and clinical supervision. 

h. Services provided by a local education agency. 

i. Provider travel time. 

10. Behavioral therapy services shall not be reimbursed 

concurrently with community mental health services 

described in 12VAC30-50-130 C or 12VAC30-50-226 B, or 

behavioral, psychological, or psychiatric therapeutic 

consultation described in 12VAC30-120-756, 12VAC30-

120-1000, or 12VAC30-135-320. 

11. If the individual youth is receiving targeted case 

management services under the State Plan (defined in 

12VAC30-50-410 through 12VAC30-50-491), the provider 

shall notify the case manager of the provision of behavioral 

therapy services unless the parent or guardian requests that 

the information not be released. In addition, the provider 

shall send monthly updates to the case manager on the 

individual's youth's status pursuant to a valid release of 

information. A discharge summary shall be sent to the case 

manager within 30 days of the service discontinuation date. 

A refusal of the parent or guardian to release information 

shall be documented in the medical record for the date the 

request was discussed. 

12. Other standards to ensure quality of services: 

a. Services shall be delivered only by an LBA, LABA, 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, or clinically 

supervised unlicensed staff consistent with the scope of 

practice as described by the applicable Virginia 

Department of Health Professions regulatory board. 

b. Individual-specific services shall be directed toward the 

treatment of the eligible individual and delivered in the 

family's residence unless an alternative location is justified 

and documented in the ISP. 

c. Individual-specific progress notes shall be created 

contemporaneously with the service activities and shall 

document the name and Medicaid number of each 

individual youth; the provider's name, signature, and date; 

and time of service. Documentation shall include activities 

provided, length of services provided, the individual's 

youth's reaction to that day's activity, and documentation 

of the individual's youth's and the parent or caregiver's 

progress toward achieving each behavioral objective 

through analysis and reporting of quantifiable behavioral 

data. Documentation shall be prepared to clearly 

demonstrate efficacy using baseline and service-related 

data that shows clinical progress and generalization for the 

child youth and family members toward the therapy goals 

as defined in the service plan. 

d. Documentation of all billed services shall include the 

amount of time or billable units spent to deliver the service 

and shall be signed and dated on the date of the service by 

the practitioner rendering the service. 

e. Billable time is permitted for the LBA, LABA, LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S to better define 

behaviors and develop documentation strategies to 

measure treatment performance and the efficacy of the ISP 
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objectives, provided that these activities are documented 

in a progress note as described in subdivision 12 c of this 

subsection. 

13. Failure to comply with any of the requirements in 

12VAC30-50-130 or in this section shall result in retraction. 

12VAC30-60-143. Mental health services utilization 

criteria; definitions. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context indicates otherwise: 

"Child or adolescent" means the same as "adolescent or child" 

defined in 12VAC30-50-130.  

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of either the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority, or its 

designee, who is skilled in the assessment and treatment of 

mental illness and who has completed a certification program 

approved by DBHDS. 

"Certified prescreener assessment" means an assessment for 

crisis intervention and crisis stabilization completed by a 

certified prescreener that meets the elements of a 

comprehensive needs assessment. 

"Comprehensive needs assessment" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-50-130 and also includes individuals 

who are older than 21 years of age.  

"Emergency services" means unscheduled and sometimes 

scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, acute psychiatric 

inpatient services, and referral assistance provided over the 

telephone or face-to-face if indicated, and available 24 hours a 

day, seven days per week. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means the 

same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as defined 

in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," or 

"LMHP-S" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-E" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

B. Utilization reviews shall include determinations that 

providers meet the following requirements: 

1. The provider shall meet the federal and state requirements 

for administrative and financial management capacity. The 

provider shall obtain, prior to the delivery of services, and 

shall maintain and update periodically as the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) or its contractor 

requires, a current provider enrollment agreement for each 

Medicaid service that the provider offers. DMAS shall not 

reimburse providers who do not enter into a provider 

enrollment agreement for a service prior to offering that 

service. 

2. The provider shall document and maintain individual case 

records in accordance with state and federal requirements. 

3. The provider shall ensure eligible individuals have free 

choice of providers of mental health services and other 

medical care under the Individual Service Plan. 

4. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing 

requirements as set out in 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers 

that DMAS determines have violated these marketing 

requirements shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider 

pursuant to 12VAC30-130-2000 E. Providers whose 

contracts are terminated shall be afforded the right of appeal 

pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

5. If an individual receiving community mental health 

rehabilitative services is also receiving case management 

services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or 12VAC30-50-

430, the provider shall collaborate with the case manager by 

notifying the case manager of the provision of community 

mental health rehabilitative services and sending monthly 

updates on the individual's treatment status. A discharge 

summary shall be sent to the care coordinator/case manager 

within 30 calendar days of the discontinuation of services. 

Service providers and case managers who are using the same 

electronic health record for the individual shall meet 

requirements for delivery of the notification, monthly 

updates, and discharge summary upon entry of this 

documentation into the electronic health record. 

6. The provider shall determine who the primary care 

provider is and inform him of the individual's receipt of 

community mental health rehabilitative services. The 

documentation shall include who was contacted, when the 

contact occurred, and what information was transmitted. 

7. Prior to admission, an appropriate comprehensive needs 

assessment shall be conducted by the licensed mental health 

professional (LMHP), LMHP-S, LMHP-R, or LMHP-RP. 

The comprehensive needs assessment shall include 

documented history of the severity, intensity, and duration 

of mental health care problems and issues. all of the 

following elements: (i) the presenting issue or reason for 

referral; (ii) mental health history or history of 

hospitalizations; (iii) previous interventions by providers 

and timeframes and response to treatment; (iv) medical 
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profile; (v) developmental history including history of 

abuse, if appropriate; (vi) educational or vocational status; 

(vii) current living situation and family history and 

relationships; (viii) legal status, (ix) drug and alcohol profile; 

(x) resources and strengths; (xi) mental status exam and 

profile; (xii) diagnosis; (xiii) professional summary and 

clinical formulation; (xiv) recommended care and treatment 

goals; and (xv) the dated signature of the LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP. 

a. A single comprehensive needs assessment shall be used 

to document the medical necessity for one or more 

community mental health rehabilitative service provided 

by the same DBHDS licensed agency. 

b. The comprehensive needs assessment shall be: 

completed face to face and signed by the LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S; include all required elements 

as defined in 12VAC30-50-130; describe how each 

recommended community mental health rehabilitative 

service is medically necessary; and be reviewed and 

updated at a minimum of annually or as the individual's 

needs change.  

c. The comprehensive needs assessment shall be reviewed 

and updated by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S within 31 days if there is a clinical indication 

based on the medical, psychiatric, or behavioral symptoms 

of the individual. 

d. An LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S shall 

conduct an annual face to face review and update of the 

comprehensive needs assessment that includes: a review 

of the comprehensive needs assessment; any necessary 

updates to the 15 required elements of the comprehensive 

needs assessment to reflect the individual's current level 

of functioning; an updated description of how the 

individual meets medical necessity criteria for all 

recommended services; and a contemporaneously dated 

signature of the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-

S. 

e. The comprehensive needs assessment is outdated if any 

of the following occurs: an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

or LMHP-S has not completed the annual review and 

update; within the past 31 calendar days, the provider has 

not provided a community mental health rehabilitative 

service or a case management activity (as defined in 

12VAC30-50-420 or 12VAC30-50-430) as recommended 

by the comprehensive needs assessment, or, within the 

past 31 days, the comprehensive needs assessment has not 

been updated to reflect a change in the individual's current 

level of functioning. 

f. If the comprehensive needs assessment is outdated, a 

new comprehensive needs assessment is required prior to 

resuming a community mental health rehabilitative 

service that lapsed for more than 31 calendar days. If the 

comprehensive needs update is not outdated, it must, at a 

minimum, be updated to document the medical necessity 

for a community mental health rehabilitative service that 

lapsed for more than 31 calendar days. 

g. Providers shall only bill under the community mental 

health rehabilitative service assessment codes for the 

initial comprehensive needs assessment and for 

comprehensive needs assessments that replace an outdated 

assessment. Providers of multiple community mental 

health rehabilitative services shall only bill one 

community mental health rehabilitative service 

assessment code per individual. 

h. Claims for services that are based upon comprehensive 

needs assessments that are incomplete, outdated, or 

missing shall not be reimbursed. 

i. For crisis intervention and crisis stabilization services, a 

certified prescreener assessment may be used in place of 

the comprehensive needs assessment. 

8. The provider shall include the individual and the 

family/caregiver, as may be appropriate, in the development 

of the ISP. To the extent that the individual's condition 

requires assistance for participation, assistance shall be 

provided. The ISP shall be updated annually or as the needs 

and progress of the individual changes. An ISP that is not 

updated either annually or as the treatment interventions 

based on the needs and progress of the individual change 

shall be considered outdated. An ISP that does not include 

all required elements specified in 12VAC30-50-226 shall be 

considered incomplete. Claims for services that are based 

upon ISPs that are incomplete, outdated, or missing shall not 

be reimbursed. All ISPs shall be completed, signed, and 

contemporaneously dated by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E 

appropriate professional for the service, who is preparing the 

ISP within a maximum of 30 days of the date of the 

completed intake assessment unless otherwise specified. 

The child's or adolescent's A youth's ISP shall also be signed 

by the parent/legal guardian parent or legal guardian and the 

adult individual shall sign his own. If the individual, whether 

a child, adolescent, or an adult, is unwilling to sign the ISP, 

then the service provider shall document the clinical or other 

reasons why the individual was not able or willing to sign 

the ISP. Signatures shall be obtained unless there is a clinical 

reason that renders the individual unable to sign the ISP. 

(a) a. Every three months, the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E 

appropriate professional for the service shall review the 

ISP, modify the ISP as appropriate, and update the ISP, 

and all of these activities shall occur with the individual in 

a manner in which the individual may participate in the 

process. The ISP shall be rewritten at least annually. 

(b) b. The goals, objectives, and strategies of the ISP shall 

be updated to reflect any change or changes in the 

individual's progress and treatment needs as well as any 

newly-identified problems. 
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(c) c. Documentation of ISP review shall be added to the 

individual's medical record no later than 15 days from the 

calendar date of the review as evidenced by the dated 

signatures of the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, 

QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E, appropriate 

professional for the service and the individual. 

9. Progress notes shall include, at a minimum, the name of 

the service rendered, the date of the service rendered, the 

signature and credentials of the person who rendered the 

service, the setting in which the service was rendered, and 

the amount of time or units or hours required to deliver the 

service. The content of each progress note shall corroborate 

the units or hours billed. Progress notes shall be documented 

for each service that is billed. 

10. Services described in this section shall be rendered 

consistent with the definitions, service limits, and 

requirements described in this section and in 12VAC30-50-

226.  

C. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 

provided following a service-specific provider intake and be 

authorized comprehensive needs assessment completed by the 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. An ISP, as defined 

in 12VAC30-50-226, shall be fully completed, signed, and 

dated by either the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, 

the QMHP-A, QMHP-E, or QMHP-C and reviewed/approved 

reviewed or approved by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S within 30 days of service initiation. 

1. The enrolled provider of day treatment/partial 

hospitalization shall be licensed by DBHDS as providers of 

day treatment services. 

2. Services shall only be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, a QMHP-A, a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, 

or a qualified paraprofessional under the supervision of a 

QMHP-A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S as defined at 12VAC35-105-20, 

except for LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, and LMHP-S, which are 

defined in 12VAC30-50-226. 

3. The program shall operate a minimum of two continuous 

hours in a 24-hour period. 

4. Individuals shall be discharged from this service when 

other less intensive services may achieve or maintain 

psychiatric stabilization. 

D. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be provided to 

those individuals who have experienced long-term or repeated 

psychiatric hospitalization, or who experience difficulty in 

activities of daily living and interpersonal skills, or whose 

support system is limited or nonexistent, or who are unable to 

function in the community without intensive intervention or 

when long-term services are needed to maintain the individual 

in the community. 

1. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be provided 

following a service-specific provider intake comprehensive 

needs assessment that clearly documents the need for 

services. This intake The comprehensive needs assessment 

shall be completed by either an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, or LMHP-S. An ISP shall be completed by either the 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, or the QMHP-A, 

QMHP-E, or QMHP-C and be reviewed/approved reviewed 

or approved by either an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S within 30 calendar days of service initiation. At 

least every three months, the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

LMHP-S, the QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E must 

review, modify as appropriate, and update the ISP. 

2. Psychosocial rehabilitation services of any individual that 

continue more than six months shall be reviewed by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who shall 

document the continued need for the service. The ISP shall 

be rewritten at least annually. 

3. The enrolled provider of psychosocial rehabilitation 

services shall be licensed by DBHDS as a provider of 

psychosocial rehabilitation services. 

4. Psychosocial rehabilitation services may be provided by 

an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, 

QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or a qualified paraprofessional under 

the supervision of a QMHP-A, a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or 

an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. 

5. The program shall operate a minimum of two continuous 

hours in a 24-hour period. 

6. Time allocated for field trips may be used to calculate time 

and units if the goal is to provide training in an integrated 

setting, and to increase the individual's understanding or 

ability to access community resources. 

E. Initiation of crisis intervention services shall be indicated 

following a service-specific provider intake comprehensive 

needs assessment completed by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, or LMHP-S, or a certified prescreener assessment that 

documents a marked reduction in the individual's psychiatric, 

adaptive or behavioral functioning or an extreme increase in 

personal distress. In order to receive reimbursement, providers 

shall register this service with DMAS or its contractor within 

one business day of the completion of the service-specific 

provider intake comprehensive needs assessment to avoid 

duplication of services and to ensure informed care 

coordination. 

1. The crisis intervention services provider shall be licensed 

as a provider of emergency services by DBHDS. 

2. Client-related activities provided in association with a 

face-to-face contact are reimbursable. 

3. An individual service plan (ISP) shall not be required for 

newly admitted individuals to receive this service. Inclusion 

of crisis intervention as a service on the ISP shall not be 
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required for the service to be provided on an emergency 

basis. 

4. For individuals receiving scheduled, short-term 

counseling as part of the crisis intervention service, an ISP 

shall be developed or revised to reflect the short-term 

counseling goals by the fourth face-to-face contact. 

5. Reimbursement shall be provided for short-term crisis 

counseling contacts occurring within a 30-day period from 

the time of the first face-to-face crisis contact. There are no 

restrictions (regarding number of contacts or a given time 

period to be covered) for reimbursement for unscheduled 

crisis contacts. 

6. Crisis intervention services may be provided to eligible 

individuals outside of the clinic and reimbursed, provided 

the provision of out-of-clinic services is 

clinically/programmatically clinically or programmatically 

appropriate. Travel by staff to provide out-of-clinic services 

shall not be reimbursable. Crisis intervention may involve 

contacts with the family or significant others. If other clinic 

services are billed at the same time as crisis intervention, 

documentation must clearly support the separation of the 

services with distinct treatment goals. 

7. An LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, shall 

conduct a comprehensive needs assessment, or a certified 

prescreener shall conduct a face-to-face service-specific 

provider intake. The intake shall document comprehensive 

assessment that documents the need for and the anticipated 

duration of the crisis service. 

8. Crisis intervention shall be provided by either an LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, or a certified prescreener. 

9. For an admission to a freestanding inpatient psychiatric 

facility for individuals younger than age 21, federal 

regulations (42 CFR 441.152) require certification of the 

admission by an independent team. The independent team 

must include mental health professionals, including a 

physician. These preadmission screenings cannot be billed 

unless the requirement for an independent team certification, 

with a physician's signature, is met. 

10. Services shall be documented through daily notes and a 

daily log of time spent in the delivery of services. 

F. Case management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 

(seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed 

children) or 12VAC30-50-430 (youth at risk of serious 

emotional disturbance). 

1. Reimbursement shall be provided only for "active" case 

management clients, as defined. An active client for case 

management shall mean an individual for whom there is an 

ISP in effect that requires regular direct or client-related 

contacts or activity or communication with the individuals 

or families, significant others, service providers, and others 

including a minimum of one face-to-face individual contact 

within a 90-day period. Billing can be submitted only for 

months in which direct or client-related contacts, activity or 

communications occur. 

2. The Medicaid eligible individual shall meet the DBHDS 

criteria of serious mental illness, serious emotional 

disturbance in children and adolescents, or youth at risk of 

serious emotional disturbance. 

3. There shall be no maximum service limits for case 

management services. Case management shall not be billed 

for persons in institutions for mental disease. 

4. The ISP shall document the need for case management 

and be fully completed within 30 calendar days of initiation 

of the service. The case manager shall review the ISP at least 

every three months. The review will be due by the last day 

of the third month following the month in which the last 

review was completed. A grace period will be granted up to 

the last day of the fourth month following the month of the 

last review. When the review was completed in a grace 

period, the next subsequent review shall be scheduled three 

months from the month the review was due and not the date 

of actual review. 

5. The ISP shall also be updated at least annually. 

6. The provider of case management services shall be 

licensed by DBHDS as a provider of case management 

services. 

G. Intensive community treatment (ICT). 

1. A service-specific provider intake comprehensive needs 

assessment that documents eligibility and the need for this 

service shall be completed by either the LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S prior to the initiation of services. 

This intake The comprehensive needs assessment 

documentation shall be maintained in the individual's 

records. 

2. An individual service plan, based on the needs as 

determined by the service-specific provider intake 

comprehensive needs assessment, must be initiated at the 

time of admission and must be fully developed by either the 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-

C, or QMHP-E and approved by the LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S within 30 days of the initiation of 

services. 

3. ICT may be billed if the individual is brought to the 

facility by ICT staff to see the psychiatrist. Documentation 

must be present in the individual's record to support this 

intervention. 

4. The enrolled ICT provider shall be licensed by the 

DBHDS as a provider of intensive community services or as 

a program of assertive community treatment, and must 

provide and make available emergency services 24-hours 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1398 

per day, seven days per week, 365 days per year, either 

directly or on call. 

5. ICT services must be documented through a daily log of 

time spent in the delivery of services and a description of the 

activities/services provided. There must also be at least a 

weekly note documenting progress or lack of progress 

toward goals and objectives as outlined on the ISP. 

H. Crisis stabilization services. 

1. This service shall be initiated following a face-to-face 

service-specific provider intake comprehensive needs 

assessment by either an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

LMHP-S, or an assessment completed by a certified 

prescreener, as defined in 12VAC30-50-226 that documents 

the need for crisis stabilization services. 

2. In order to receive reimbursement, providers shall register 

this service with DMAS or its contractor within one business 

day of the completion of the service-specific provider intake 

provider's assessment to avoid duplication of services and to 

ensure informed care coordination. 

3. The service-specific provider intake must document the 

need for crisis stabilization services.  

4. The Individual Service Plan (ISP) must be developed or 

revised within three calendar days of admission to this 

service. The LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, 

certified prescreener, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E 

shall develop the ISP. 

5. 4. Room and board, custodial care, and general 

supervision are not components of this service. 

6. 5. Clinic option services are not billable at the same time 

crisis stabilization services are provided with the exception 

of clinic visits for medication management. Medication 

management visits may be billed at the same time that crisis 

stabilization services are provided but documentation must 

clearly support the separation of the services with distinct 

treatment goals. 

7. 6. Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

a clinical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature which puts the 

individual at risk of psychiatric hospitalization. 

8. 7. Providers of residential crisis stabilization shall be 

licensed by DBHDS as providers of residential or 

nonresidential crisis stabilization services. Providers of 

community-based crisis stabilization shall be licensed by 

DBHDS as providers of mental health nonresidential crisis 

stabilization. 

I. Mental health skill-building services as defined in 

12VAC30-50-226 B 6. 

1. At admission, an appropriate face-to-face service-specific 

provider intake comprehensive needs assessment must be 

conducted, documented, signed, and dated by the LMHP, 

LMHP-R, or LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. Providers shall be 

reimbursed one unit for each intake utilizing the appropriate 

billing code. Service-specific provider intakes shall be 

repeated upon any lapse in services of more than 30 calendar 

days. Services of any individual that continue more than six 

months shall be reviewed by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, or LMHP-S who shall document the continued need for 

the service in the individual's medical record. 

2. The primary psychiatric mental health diagnosis shall be 

documented as part of the intake. The comprehensive needs 

assessment by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-

S performing the intake shall document the primary mental 

health diagnosis on the intake form comprehensive needs 

assessment. 

3. The LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, 

QMHP-C, or QMHP-E shall complete, sign, and date the 

ISP within 30 days of the admission to this service. The ISP 

shall include documentation of how many days per week and 

how many hours per week are required to carry out the goals 

in the ISP. The total time billed for the week shall not exceed 

the frequency established in the individual's ISP. The ISP 

shall indicate the dated signature of the LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E 

and the individual. The ISP shall indicate the specific 

training and services to be provided, the goals and objectives 

to be accomplished, and criteria for discharge as part of a 

discharge plan that includes the projected length of service. 

If the individual refuses to sign the ISP, this shall be noted 

in the individual's medical record documentation. 

4. Every three months, the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E shall review 

with the individual in a manner in which he may participate 

with the process, modify as appropriate, and update the ISP. 

The ISP must be rewritten at least annually. 

a. The goals, objectives, and strategies of the ISP shall be 

updated to reflect any change or changes in the 

individual's progress and treatment needs as well as any 

newly identified problem. 

b. Documentation of this review shall be added to the 

individual's medical record no later than 15 calendar days 

from the date of the review, as evidenced by the dated 

signatures of the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, 

QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E and the individual. 

5. The ISP shall include discharge goals that will enable the 

individual to achieve and maintain community stability and 

independence. The ISP shall fully support the need for 

interventions over the length of the period of service 

requested from the service authorization contractor. 

6. Reauthorizations for service shall only be granted if the 

provider demonstrates to either DMAS or the service 

authorization contractor that the individual is benefitting 
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from the service as evidenced by updates and modifications 

to the ISP that demonstrate progress toward ISP goals and 

objectives. 

7. If the provider knows or has reason to know of the 

individual's nonadherence to a regimen of prescribed 

medication, medication adherence shall be a goal in the 

individual's ISP. If the care is delivered by the qualified 

paraprofessional, the supervising LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, or QMHP-C shall be informed of 

any nonadherence to the prescribed medication regimen. 

The LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, or 

QMHP-C shall coordinate care with the prescribing 

physician regarding any concerns about medication 

nonadherence (provided that the individual has consented to 

such sharing of information). The provider shall document 

the following minimum elements of the contact between the 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, or 

QMHP-C and the prescribing physician: 

a. Name and title of caller; 

b. Name and title of professional who was called; 

c. Name of organization that the prescribing professional 

works for; 

d. Date and time of call; 

e. Reason for the care coordination call; 

f. Description of medication regimen issue or issues to be 

discussed; and 

g. Whether or not there was a resolution of medication 

regimen issue or issues. 

8. Discharge summaries shall be prepared by providers for 

all of the individuals in their care. Documentation of prior 

psychiatric services history shall be maintained in the 

individual's mental health skill-building services medical 

record. 

9. Documentation of prior psychiatric services history shall 

be maintained in the individual's mental health skill-building 

services medical record. The provider shall document 

evidence of the individual's prior psychiatric services 

history, as required by 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 b (3) and 

12VAC30-50-226 B 6 c (4), by contacting the prior provider 

or providers of such health care services after obtaining 

written consent from the individual. Documentation of 

telephone contacts with the prior provider shall include the 

following minimum elements: 

a. Name and title of caller; 

b. Name and title of professional who was called; 

c. Name of organization that the professional works for; 

d. Date and time of call; 

e. Specific placement provided; 

f. Type of treatment previously provided; 

g. Name of treatment provider; and 

h. Dates of previous treatment. 

Discharge summaries from prior providers that clearly 

indicate (i) the type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of 

the treatment previously provided, and (iii) the name of the 

treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet this 

requirement. Family member statements shall not suffice to 

meet this requirement. 

10. The provider shall document evidence of the psychiatric 

medication history, as required by 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 b 

(4) and 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 c (5), by maintaining a 

photocopy of prescription information from a prescription 

bottle or by contacting the current or previous prescribing 

provider of health care services or pharmacy after obtaining 

written consent from the individual. Prescription lists or 

medical records, including discharge summaries, obtained 

from the pharmacy or current or previous prescribing 

provider of health care services that contain (i) the name of 

the prescribing physician, (ii) the name of the medication 

with dosage and frequency, and (iii) the date of the 

prescription shall be sufficient to meet these criteria. Family 

member statements shall not suffice to meet this 

requirement. 

11. In the absence of such documentation, the current 

provider shall document all contacts (i.e., telephone, faxes, 

electronic communication) with the pharmacy or provider of 

health care services with the following minimum elements: 

(i) name and title of caller, (ii) name and title of prior 

professional who was called, (iii) name of organization that 

the professional works for, (iv) date and time of call, (v) 

specific prescription confirmed, (vi) name of prescribing 

physician, (vii) name of medication, and (viii) date of 

prescription. 

12. Only direct face-to-face contacts and services to an 

individual shall be reimbursable. 

13. Any services provided to the individual that are strictly 

academic in nature shall not be billable. These include, but 

are not limited to, such basic educational programs as 

instruction or tutoring in reading, science, mathematics, or 

GED. 

14. Any services provided to individuals that are strictly 

vocational in nature shall not be billable. However, support 

activities and activities directly related to assisting an 

individual to cope with a mental illness to the degree 

necessary to develop appropriate behaviors for operating in 

an overall work environment shall be billable. 

15. Room and board, custodial care, and general supervision 

are not components of this service. 

16. Provider qualifications. The enrolled provider of mental 

health skill-building services must be licensed by DBHDS 

as a provider of mental health community support (defined 

in 12VAC35-105-20). Individuals employed or contracted 
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by the provider to provide mental health skill-building 

services must have training in the characteristics of mental 

illness and appropriate interventions, training strategies, and 

support methods for persons with mental illness and 

functional limitations. Mental health skill-building services 

shall be provided by either an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

LMHP-S, a QMHP-A, a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a 

QPPMH. The LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, 

QMHP-A, or QMHP-C will supervise the care weekly if 

delivered by the QMHP-E or QPPMH. Documentation of 

supervision shall be maintained in the mental health skill-

building services record. 

17. Mental health skill-building services shall be 

documented through a daily log of time involved in the 

delivery of services and a minimum of a weekly summary 

note of services provided. The provider shall clearly 

document services provided to detail what occurred during 

the entire amount of the time billed. 

18. If mental health skill-building services are provided in a 

therapeutic group home or assisted living facility, effective 

July 1, 2014, there shall be a yearly limit of up to 416 units 

per fiscal year and a weekly limit of up to 8 eight units per 

week, with at least half of each week's services provided 

outside of the group home or assisted living facility. There 

shall be a daily limit of a maximum of 2 two units. Prior to 

July 1, 2014, the previous limits shall apply. DMAS or its 

contractor may authorize additional units of mental health 

skill-building services that exceed this limit based on 

documented medical necessity. The ISP shall not include 

activities that contradict or duplicate those in the treatment 

plan established by the group home or assisted living 

facility. The provider shall attempt to coordinate mental 

health skill-building services with the treatment plan 

established by the group home or assisted living facility and 

shall document all coordination activities in the medical 

record. 

19. Limits and exclusions. 

a. Therapeutic group home and assisted living facility 

providers shall not serve as the mental health skill-

building services provider for individuals residing in the 

provider's respective facility. Individuals residing in 

facilities may, however, receive MHSS from another 

MHSS agency not affiliated with the owner of the facility 

in which they reside. 

b. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed for individuals who are receiving in-home 

residential services or congregate residential services 

through the Intellectual Disability Waiver or Individual 

and Family Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver. 

c. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed for individuals who are also receiving 

independent living skills services, the Department of 

Social Services independent living program (22VAC40-

151), independent living services (22VAC40-131 and 

22VAC40-151), or independent living arrangement 

(22VAC40-131) or any Comprehensive Services Act-

funded independent living skills programs. 

d. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who are receiving treatment foster 

care (12VAC30-130-900 et seq.). 

e. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who reside in intermediate care 

facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities or 

hospitals. 

f. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who reside in nursing facilities, 

except for up to 60 days prior to discharge. If the 

individual has not been discharged from the nursing 

facility during the 60-day period of services, mental health 

skill-building services shall be terminated and no further 

service authorizations shall be available to the individual 

unless a provider can demonstrate and document that 

mental health skill-building services are necessary. Such 

documentation shall include facts demonstrating a change 

in the individual's circumstances and a new plan for 

discharge requiring up to 60 days of mental health skill-

building services. 

g. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available for residents of psychiatric residential treatment 

centers except for the intake assessment code H0032 

(modifier U8) in the seven days immediately prior to 

discharge. 

h. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed if personal care services or attendant care 

services are being received simultaneously, unless 

justification is provided why this is necessary in the 

individual's mental health skill-building services record. 

Medical record documentation shall fully substantiate the 

need for services when personal care or attendant care 

services are being provided. This applies to individuals 

who are receiving additional services through the 

Intellectual Disability Waiver (12VAC30-120-1000 et 

seq.), Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 

Support Waiver (12VAC30-120-700 et seq.), the Elderly 

or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver (12VAC30-

120-900 et seq.), and EPSDT services (12VAC30-50-

130). 

i. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

duplicative of other services. Providers have a 

responsibility to ensure that if an individual is receiving 

additional therapeutic services that there will be 

coordination of services by either the LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E 

to avoid duplication of services. 

j. Individuals who have organic disorders, such as 

delirium, dementia, or other cognitive disorders not 

elsewhere classified, will be prohibited from receiving 
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mental health skill-building services unless their 

physicians issue a signed and dated statement indicating 

that the individuals can benefit from this service. 

k. Individuals who are not diagnosed with a serious mental 

health disorder but who have personality disorders or other 

mental health disorders, or both, that may lead to chronic 

disability, will not be excluded from the mental health 

skill-building services eligibility criteria provided that the 

individual has a primary mental health diagnosis from the 

list included in 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 b (1) or 12VAC30-

50-226 B 6 c (2) and that the provider can document and 

describe how the individual is expected to actively 

participate in and benefit from mental health support 

services. 

J. Except as noted in subdivision I 18 of this section and in 

12VAC30-50-226 B 6 e, the limits described in this section and 

in 12VAC30-50-226 shall apply to all service authorization 

requests submitted to either DMAS or the behavioral health 

services agency as of July 27, 2016. As of July 27, 2016, all 

annual limits, weekly limits, daily limits, and reimbursement 

for services shall apply to all services described in 12VAC30-

50-226 regardless of the date upon which service authorization 

was obtained. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-5564; Filed January 10, 2022, 2:16 p.m. 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-60. Standards Established 

and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care (amending 

12VAC30-60-301 through 12VAC30-60-315). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: February 16, 2022, through August 15, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations 

in which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

or federal law or federal regulation requires that a 

regulation be effective in 280 days or less from its 

enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under the 

provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

The amendments (i) allow qualified nursing facility staff 

to complete long-term services and supports (LTSS) 

screening for individuals who apply for or request LTSS 

and who are receiving non-Medicaid skilled nursing 

services in an institutional setting following discharge 

from an acute care hospital and (ii) include the protection 

of individual choice for the setting and provider of LTSS 

services for every individual who applies for or requests 

institutional or community based services. The 

amendments conform regulation to Chapters 304 and 365 

of the 2020 Acts of Assembly. 

12VAC30-60-301. Definitions. 

The following words and terms as used in 12VAC30-60-302 

through 12VAC30-60-315 shall have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating or feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining appropriate 

level of care and service needs. 

"Acute care hospital" or "hospital" means an acute care 

hospital, a rehabilitation hospital, a rehabilitation unit in an 

acute care hospital, or a psychiatric unit in an acute care 

hospital. 

"Adult" means a person age 18 years or older who may need 

Medicaid-funded long-term services and supports (LTSS) or 

who becomes functionally eligible to receive Medicaid-funded 

LTSS. 

"Appeal" means the processes used to challenge actions 

regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement provided by 

Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and Part XII (12VAC30-

20-500 et seq.) of 12VAC30-20. 

"At risk" means the need for the level of care provided in a 

hospital, or nursing facility, or an intermediate care facility for 

individuals with intellectual disability (ICF/IID) when there is 

reasonable indication that the individual is expected to need the 

services in the near future (that is, 30 days or less) within the 

next 30 days in the absence of home or community-based 

services. 

"Child" means a person up to the age of 18 years who may 

need Medicaid-funded LTSS or who becomes functionally 

eligible to receive Medicaid-funded LTSS. 

"Choice" means the individual is provided the option of either 

home and community-based waiver services the 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care (CCC) Plus Waiver, the 

Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE), if 

available and appropriate, or institutional services and 

supports, including the Program of All-Inclusive Care for the 

Elderly (PACE), if available and appropriate, after the 

individual has been determined likely to need LTSS. 

"Communication" means all forms of sharing information and 

includes oral speech and augmented or alternative 

communication used to express thoughts, needs, wants, and 

ideas, such as the use of a communication device, interpreter, 

gestures, and picture or symbol communication boards. 

"Community-based team" or "CBT" means (i) a registered 

nurse or nurse practitioner; (ii) a social worker or other 

assessor designated by DMAS; and (iii) a physician. The CBT 

mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1402 

members are employees of, or contracted with, the Virginia 

Department of Health or the local department of social 

services. The authorization or denial for Medicaid LTSS 

(DMAS-96 form) is signed and attested to by the screener and 

a physician. 

"CSB" means a local community services board. 

"DARS" means the Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. 

"Day" means calendar day unless specified otherwise. 

"DBHDS" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services. 

"DMAS designee" means the public or private entity with an 

agreement a contract with the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services to complete preadmission LTSS 

screenings pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia when 

a community-based hospital or nursing facility LTSS 

screening team cannot complete LTSS screenings within the 

required 30 days of the LTSS screening request date. 

"ePAS" "eMLS" means the DMAS automated system or a 

DMAS-approved electronic Medicaid long-term services and 

supports screening record system for use used by LTSS 

screening entities contracted by DMAS to perform record 

results from LTSS screenings pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face" means an in-person meeting with the 

individual seeking Medicaid-funded LTSS. 

"Feasible alternative" means a range of services that can be 

provided in the community via waiver or PACE, for less than 

the cost of comparable institutional care, in order to enable an 

individual to continue living in the community. 

"Functional capacity" means the degree of independence that 

an individual has in performing ADLs, ambulation, and 

instrumental ADLs as measured on the UAI and as used as a 

basis for differentiating levels of long-term care services and 

supports. 

"Functional eligibility" means the demonstrable degree to 

which an individual requires assistance with activities of daily 

living. 

"Home and community-based services" means community-

based waiver services or the Program of All-Inclusive Care for 

the Elderly (PACE). 

"Home and community-based services provider" means a 

provider or agency enrolled with Virginia Medicaid to offer 

services to individuals eligible for home and community-based 

waivers the Commonwealth Coordinated Care (CCC) Plus 

waiver services or PACE. 

"Home and community-based services waiver," "HCBS," or 

"waiver services" means the range of community services and 

supports, including PACE, approved by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) pursuant to § 1915(c) 

of the Social Security Act to be offered to individuals as an 

alternative to institutionalization. 

"Hospital team" means persons designated by the hospital 

who are responsible for conducting and submitting the LTSS 

screening documents for inpatients to ePAS eMLS. The 

authorization or denial for Medicaid LTSS (DMAS-96 form) 

is signed and attested to by the screener and a physician. 

"Inpatient" means an individual who has a physician's order 

for admission to an acute care hospital, rehabilitation hospital, 

or a rehabilitation unit in an acute care hospital and shall not 

apply to outpatients, patients in observation beds, and patients 

of the hospital's emergency department. 

"Local department of social services" or "LDSS" means the 

entity established under § 63.2-324 of the Code of Virginia by 

the governing city or county in the Commonwealth. 

"Local health department" or "LHD" means the entity 

established under § 32.1-31 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Long-term services and supports" or "LTSS" means a variety 

of services that help individuals with health or personal care 

needs and ADLs over a period of time that can be provided in 

the home, the community, or nursing facilities. 

"Long-term services and supports screening" or "LTSS 

screening" means the face-to-face process to (i) evaluate the 

functional, medical or nursing, and social support needs and at-

risk status of individuals referred for certain long-term services 

requiring nursing facility level of care eligibility; (ii) assist 

individuals in determining what specific services the 

individual needs; (iii) evaluate whether a service or a 

combination of existing community services are available to 

meet the individual's needs; and (iv) provide a list to 

individuals of appropriate providers for Medicaid-funded 

nursing facility, PACE plan services, or the Commonwealth 

Coordinated Care (CCC) Plus waiver for those individuals who 

meet nursing facility level of care.  

"Long-term services and supports screening team" or "LTSS 

team" means the hospital screening team, community-based 

team (CBT), nursing facility LTSS team, or DMAS designee 

contracted to perform screenings pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means a health plan 

selected to participate in the Commonwealth's CCC Plus 

program and that is a party to a contract with DMAS. 

"Medicaid" means the program set out in the 42 USC § 1396 

et seq. and administered by the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et 

seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
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"Medical or nursing need" means (i) the individual's 

condition requires observation and assessment to ensure 

evaluation of needs due to an inability for self-observation or 

evaluation; (ii) the individual has complex medical conditions 

that may be unstable or have the potential for instability; or (iii) 

the individual requires at least one ongoing medical or nursing 

service. 

"Medicare" means the Health Insurance for the Aged and 

Disabled program as administered by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services pursuant to 42 USC 1395ggg. 

"Minimum data set" or "MDS" means the evaluation 

assessment form used by nursing facilities, as federally 

required, for the purpose of documenting ongoing level of care 

required for all of an NF's residents. 

"Nursing facility" or "NF" means any nursing home as 

defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Nursing facility LTSS screening team" means nursing 

facility staff trained and certified in the use of the LTSS 

screening tools who are responsible for performing LTSS 

screenings for individuals who apply for or request LTSS while 

receiving skilled nursing services in a setting not covered by 

Medicaid and after discharge from a hospital. Nursing facility 

LTSS screening teams include at least one registered nurse and 

a certifying physician. The authorization or denial for 

Medicaid LTSS (DMAS-96 form) is signed and attested to by 

the screeners and a physician. 

"Ongoing" means continuous medical or nursing needs that 

shall not be temporary. 

"Other assessor designated by DMAS" means an employee of 

the local department of social services holding the 

occupational title of family services specialist or an employee 

of a DMAS designee. 

"Preadmission screening" or "screening" means the face-to-

face process to (i) evaluate the functional, medical or nursing, 

and social support needs of individuals referred for screening 

for certain long-term care services requiring NF eligibility; (ii) 

assist individuals in determining what specific services the 

individual needs; (iii) evaluate whether a service or a 

combination of existing community services are available to 

meet the individual's needs; and (iv) provide a list to 

individuals of appropriate providers for Medicaid-funded 

nursing facility or home and community-based services for 

those individuals who meet nursing facility level of care. 

"Private pay individual" means individuals who are not 

eligible for Medicaid or not expected to become eligible for 

Medicaid within six months following admission and have 

alternate payment sources for care. 

"Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly" or "PACE" 

means the community-based service pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Provider" means an individual professional or an agency 

enrolled with Virginia Medicaid to offer services to eligible 

individuals. 

"Referral for LTSS screening" means information obtained 

from an interested person or other third party having 

knowledge of an individual who may need Medicaid-funded 

LTSS and may include, for example, a physician, PACE 

provider, service provider, family member, or neighbor who is 

able to provide sufficient information to enable contact with 

the individual. 

"Representative" means a person who is legally authorized to 

make decisions on behalf of the individual. 

"Request date for LTSS screening" or "request date" means 

the date (i) that an individual, an emancipated child, the 

individual's representative, an adult protective services worker, 

child protective services worker, physician, or the managed 

care organization (MCO) (health plan) care coordinator 

contacts the LTSS screening entity in the jurisdiction where the 

individual resides asking for assistance with LTSS, or (ii) for 

hospital inpatients, that a physician orders case management 

consultation or a hospital's case management service 

determines the need for LTSS upon discharge from the 

hospital. 

"Request for LTSS screening" means (i) communication from 

an individual, an emancipated child, individual's 

representative, adult protective services worker, child 

protective services worker, physician, managed care 

organization (MCO) care coordinator, or CSB support 

coordinator, expressing the need for LTSS or (ii) for hospital 

inpatients, a physician order for case management consultation 

or case management determination of the need for LTSS upon 

discharge from a hospital. 

"Residence" means the location in which an individual is 

living, for example, an individual's private home, apartment, 

assisted living facility, nursing facility, jail or correctional 

facility. 

"Screening entity" means the employer of the hospital 

screening team, community-based team, nursing facility LTSS 

screening team, or DMAS designee contracted to perform 

screenings pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Significant change in condition" means a change in an 

individual's condition that is expected to last longer than 30 

days and shall not include (i) short-term changes that resolve 

with or without intervention; (ii) a short-term illness or 

episodic event; or (iii) a well-established, predictive, cyclic 

pattern of clinical signs and symptoms associated with a 

previously diagnosed condition where an appropriate course of 

treatment is in progress. 

"Submission" means the transmission of the LTSS screening 

findings via ePAS eMLS, the electronic portal for LTSS 

screenings. 
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"Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means the 

standardized multidimensional assessment instrument that is 

completed by the LTSS screening entity team that assesses an 

individual's physical health, mental health, and psycho/social 

and functional abilities to determine if the individual meets the 

nursing facility level of care. 

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

12VAC30-60-302. Access to Medicaid-funded long-term 

services and supports. 

A. Medicaid-funded long-term services and supports (LTSS) 

may be provided in either home and community-based or 

institutional-based settings. To receive LTSS, the individual's 

condition shall first be evaluated using the designated 

assessment instrument, the Uniform Assessment Instrument 

(UAI), and other DMAS-designated forms. Screening entities 

LTSS screening teams shall also use the DMAS-designated 

forms (DMAS-95, DMAS-96, and DMAS-97), if selecting 

nursing facility placement, the DMAS-95 Level I 

(MI/IDD/RC), as appropriate, the DMAS-108, and the DMAS-

109. If screening must be completed and if indicated by the 

DMAS-95 Level I results, the individual shall be referred to 

DBHDS for completion of the DMAS-95 Level II (for nursing 

facility placements only) evaluation and determination prior to 

admission to the nursing facility. For private duty nursing 

services under the Commonwealth Coordinated Care (CCC) 

Plus waiver, the DMAS-108 (adult), or the DMAS-109 

(pediatric), shall be used to document needs. 

1. An individual's need for LTSS shall meet the established 

criteria (12VAC30-60-303) before any authorization for 

reimbursement by Medicaid or its designee is made for 

LTSS. 

2. Appropriate home and community-based services shall be 

evaluated as an option for long-term services and supports 

prior to consideration of nursing facility placement. 

B. The evaluation shall be the LTSS screening as designated 

in § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia, which, if eligible, shall 

preauthorize a continuum of LTSS covered by Medicaid. 

These LTSS screenings shall be conducted face to face. 

1. Such LTSS screenings, using the UAI, shall be conducted 

by teams of representatives of (i) acute care hospitals for 

individuals (adults and children) who are inpatients; (ii) 

local departments of social services and local health 

departments, known herein in this part as CBTs, for adults 

and children residing in the community and who are not 

inpatients; (iii) a DMAS designee for adults and children 

residing in the community who are not inpatients; or are 

hospital inpatients and cannot be screened by the LTSS 

screening team within 30 days of the request date; and (iv) a 

DMAS designee for adults residing in the community who 

are not inpatients and who cannot be screened by the CBT 

within 30 days of the request date nursing facility LTSS 

screening teams for individuals who apply for or request 

LTSS while receiving skilled or rehabilitative nursing 

services in a setting not covered by Medicaid and after 

discharge from an acute care hospital. All of these entities 

Hospitals, CBTs, and DMAS designees shall be contracted 

with DMAS or authorized by DMAS to perform this activity 

and be reimbursed by DMAS. 

2. All LTSS screenings shall be comprehensive, accurate, 

standardized, and reproducible evaluations of individual 

functional capacities, medical or nursing needs, and whether 

the individual is at risk for institutional placement within 30 

days of the LTSS screening. 

C. Individuals shall not be required to be financially eligible 

for receipt of Medicaid or have submitted an application for 

Medicaid in order to be screened for LTSS for admission to 

either a an NF or home and community-based services. 

D. Pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia, individuals 

shall be screened if they are financially eligible for Medicaid 

or are anticipated to become financially eligible for Medicaid 

reimbursement of their NF care within six months of NF 

admission or Medicaid reimbursement of home and 

community-based services and supports every individual who 

applies for or requests Medicaid community or institutional 

long-term services and supports shall be screened prior to 

admission to such community or institutional LTSS to 

determine their need for long-term services and supports, 

including nursing facility services. 

E. Special circumstances. 

1. Private pay individuals who will not become financially 

eligible for Medicaid within six months from admission seek 

admission to a Virginia nursing facility shall not be required 

to have a an LTSS screening in order to be admitted to the 

NF. 

2. Individuals who reside out of state and seek direct 

admission to a Virginia nursing facility shall not be required 

to have a an LTSS screening. Individuals who need a an 

LTSS screening for HCBS waiver or PACE programs and 

request the LTSS screening shall be screened by the CBT or 

DMAS designee, as appropriate, serving the locality in 

which the individual resides once the individual has 

relocated to the Commonwealth. 

3. Individuals who are inpatients in an out-of-state hospital, 

in-state or out-of-state veteran's hospital, or in-state or out-

of-state military hospital and seek direct admission to a 

Virginia NF shall not be required to have a an LTSS 

screening. Individuals who need a an LTSS screening for 

HCBS waiver or PACE programs and request the LTSS 

screening shall be referred, upon discharge from one of the 

identified facilities, to the CBT or DMAS designee, as 

appropriate, serving the locality in which the individual 

resides once the individual has relocated to the 

Commonwealth. 
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4. Individuals who are patients or residents of a state owned 

or operated facility that is licensed by DBHDS and seek 

direct admission to a Virginia NF shall not be required to 

have a an LTSS screening. Individuals who need a an LTSS 

screening for HCBS waiver or PACE and request the LTSS 

screening shall be referred, upon discharge from the facility, 

to the CBT or DMAS designee, as appropriate, serving the 

locality in which the individual resides. 

5. A An LTSS screening shall not be required for enrollment 

in Medicaid hospice services as set out in 12VAC30-50-270 

or home health services as set out in 12VAC30-50-160. 

6. Wilson Workforce Rehabilitation Center (WWRC) staff 

shall perform screenings of the WWRC clients. 

F. Failure to comply with DMAS requirements, including 

competency and training requirements applicable to staff, may 

result in retraction of Medicaid payments. 

12VAC30-60-303. Screening criteria for Medicaid-funded 

long-term services and supports. 

A. Functional capacity alone shall not be deemed sufficient to 

demonstrate the need for nursing facility care admission or 

authorization for home and community-based services and 

supports. An individual shall be determined to meet the nursing 

facility level of care criteria when: 

1. The individual has both limited functional capacity, and 

medical or nursing needs, and is at risk of NF admission 

within 30 days according to the requirements of this section; 

or 

2. The individual is rated dependent in some functional 

limitations, but does not meet the functional capacity 

requirements, and the individual requires the daily direct 

services or supervision of a licensed nurse that cannot be 

managed on an outpatient basis (e.g., clinic, physician visits, 

home health services). 

B. In order to qualify for Medicaid-funded LTSS, the 

individual shall meet the following criteria: 

1. The criteria for screening an individual's eligibility for 

Medicaid reimbursement of NF services shall consist of 

three components: (i) functional capacity (the degree of 

assistance an individual requires to complete ADLs); (ii) 

medical or nursing needs; and (iii) the individual is at risk of 

NF admission within 30 days of the LTSS screening date. 

The rating of functional dependency on the UAI shall be 

based on the individual's ability to function in a community 

environment and exclude all institutionally induced 

dependencies. 

2. In order for Medicaid-funded community-based LTSS to 

be authorized, an individual shall not be required to be 

physically admitted to a an NF. The criteria for screening an 

individual's eligibility for Medicaid reimbursement of 

community-based services shall consist of three 

components: (i) functional capacity; (ii) medical or nursing 

needs; and (iii) the individual's risk of NF placement within 

30 days in the absence of community-based services. 

C. Functional capacity. 

1. When documented on a UAI that is completed in a manner 

consistent with the definitions of activities of daily living 

(ADLs) and directions provided by DMAS for the rating of 

those activities, individuals may be considered to meet the 

functional capacity requirements for nursing facility care 

when one of the following describes their functional 

capacity: 

a. Rated dependent in two to four or more of the ADLs, 

and also rated semi-dependent or dependent in Behavior 

Pattern and Orientation, and semi-dependent or dependent 

in Joint Motion or dependent in Medication 

Administration. 

b. Rated dependent in five to seven of the ADLs, and also 

rated dependent in Mobility. 

c. Rated semi-dependent or dependent in two to seven of 

the ADLs, and also rated dependent in Mobility and 

Behavior Pattern and Orientation. 

2. The rating of functional capacity on the LTSS screening 

instrument shall be based on the individual's ability to 

function in a community environment, not including any 

institutionally induced dependence. The following 

abbreviations shall mean: I = independent; d = semi-

dependent; D = dependent; MH = mechanical help; HH = 

human help. 

a. Bathing. 

(1) Without help (I) 

(2) MH only (d) 

(3) HH only (D) 

(4) MH and HH (D) 

(5) Performed by Others (D) 

(6) Is not Performed (D) 

b. Dressing. 

(1) Without help (I) 

(2) MH only (d) 

(3) HH only (D) 

(4) MH and HH (D) 

(5) Performed by Others (D) 

(6) Is not Performed (D) 

c. Toileting. 

(1) Without help day or night (I) 

(2) MH only (d) 

(3) HH only (D) 

(4) MH and HH (D) 

(5) Performed by Others (D) 
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(6) Is not Performed (D) 

d. Transferring. 

(1) Without help (I) 

(2) MH only (d) 

(3) HH only (D) 

(4) MH and HH (D) 

(5) Performed by Others (D) 

(6) Is not Performed (D) 

e. Bowel function. 

(1) Continent (I) 

(2) Incontinent less than weekly (d) 

(3) External/Indwelling Device/Ostomy -- self care self-

care (d) 

(4) Incontinent weekly or more (D) 

(5) Ostomy -- not self care self-care (D) 

f. Bladder function. 

(1) Continent (I) 

(2) Incontinent less than weekly (d) 

(3) External device/Indwelling Catheter/Ostomy -- self 

care self-care (d) 

(4) Incontinent weekly or more (D) 

(5) External device -- not self care self-care (D) 

(6) Indwelling catheter -- not self care self-care (D) 

(7) Ostomy -- not self care self-care (D) 

g. Eating/Feeding. 

(1) Without help (I) 

(2) MH only (d) 

(3) HH only (D) 

(4) MH and HH (D) 

(5) Spoon fed (D) 

(6) Syringe or tube fed (D) 

(7) Fed by IV or clysis (D) 

h. Behavior pattern and orientation. 

(1) Appropriate or Wandering/Passive less than weekly + 

Oriented (I) 

(2) Appropriate or Wandering/Passive less than weekly + 

Disoriented -- Some Spheres (I) 

(3) Wandering/Passive Weekly/or more + Oriented (I) 

(4) Appropriate or Wandering/Passive less than weekly + 

Disoriented -- All Spheres (d) 

(5) Wandering/Passive Weekly/Some or more + 

Disoriented -- All Spheres (d) 

(6) Abusive/Aggressive/Disruptive less than weekly + 

Oriented or Disoriented (d) (I) 

(7) Abusive/Aggressive/Disruptive weekly or more + 

Oriented (d) 

(8) Abusive/Aggressive/Disruptive + Disoriented -- All 

Spheres (D) 

i. Mobility. 

(1) Goes outside without help (I) 

(2) Goes outside MH only (d) 

(3) Goes outside HH only (D) 

(4) Goes outside MH and HH (D) 

(5) Confined -- moves about (D) 

(6) Confined -- does not move about (D) 

j. Medication administration. 

(1) No medications (I) 

(2) Self administered -- monitored less than weekly (I) 

(3) By lay persons, Administered/Monitored (D) 

(4) By Licensed/Professional nurse 

Administered/Monitored (D) 

k. Joint motion. 

(1) Within normal limits or instability corrected (I) 

(2) Limited motion (d) 

(3) Instability -- uncorrected or immobile (D) 

D. Medical or nursing needs. An individual with medical or 

nursing needs is an individual whose health needs require 

medical or nursing supervision or care above the level that 

could be provided through assistance with ADLs, medication 

administration, and general supervision and is not primarily for 

the care and treatment of mental diseases. Medical or nursing 

supervision or care beyond this level is required when any one 

of the following describes the individual's need for medical or 

nursing supervision: 

1. The individual's medical condition requires observation 

and assessment to ensure evaluation of the individual's need 

for modification of treatment or additional medical 

procedures to prevent destabilization, and the person has 

demonstrated an inability to self observe self-observe or 

evaluate the need to contact skilled medical professionals; 

2. Due to the complexity created by the individual's multiple, 

interrelated medical conditions, the potential for the 

individual's medical instability is high or medical instability 

exists; or 

3. The individual requires at least one ongoing medical or 

nursing service. The following is a nonexclusive list of 

medical or nursing services that may, but need not 

necessarily, indicate a need for medical or nursing 

supervision or care: 

a. Application of aseptic dressings; 

b. Routine catheter care; 

c. Respiratory therapy; 

d. Supervision for adequate nutrition and hydration for 

individuals who show clinical evidence of 
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malnourishment or dehydration or have recent history of 

weight loss or inadequate hydration that, if not supervised, 

would be expected to result in malnourishment or 

dehydration; 

e. Therapeutic exercise and positioning; 

f. Routine care of colostomy or ileostomy or management 

of neurogenic bowel and bladder; 

g. Use of physical (e.g., side rails, poseys, posey vests, 

geri-chairs, locked wards units) or chemical restraints 

(e.g., overuse of sedatives), or both; 

h. Routine skin care to prevent pressure ulcers for 

individuals who are immobile or whose medical condition 

increases the risk of skin breakdown; 

i. Care of small uncomplicated pressure ulcers and local 

skin rashes; 

j. Management of those with sensory, metabolic, or 

circulatory impairment with demonstrated clinical 

evidence of medical instability; 

k. Chemotherapy; 

l. Radiation; 

m. Dialysis, including observation of and care of the 

access port; 

n. Suctioning; 

o. Tracheostomy care; 

p. Infusion therapy; or 

q. Oxygen. 

E. When screening a child, the screening entity who is 

conducting the screening for LTSS shall utilize the electronic 

Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) interpretive guidance 

as referenced in DMAS' Medicaid Memo dated November 22, 

2016, entitled "Reissuance of the Pre-Admission provided in 

the Screening (PAS) Provider for Medicaid Long Term 

Services and Supports Manual, Chapter IV," which can be 

accessed on the DMAS website at 

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/

MedicaidMemostoProviders 

12VAC30-60-304. Requests and referrals for LTSS 

screening for adults and children living in the community 

and; adults and children in hospitals; and adults and 

children in nursing facilities. 

A. Screenings LTSS screenings for adults living in the 

community. Screenings LTSS screenings for adults who are 

residing in the community but and who are not hospital 

inpatients shall be completed and submitted by the CBT to 

ePAS eMLS. If the individual, or any of the other persons 

permitted to make such requests, requests a an LTSS screening, 

the CBT shall be required to perform the requested LTSS 

screening; otherwise, CBTs shall not be required to screen 

individuals who are not expected to become financially eligible 

for Medicaid-funded LTSS within six months of the screening. 

Every individual who applies for or request LTSS shall have 

the opportunity to choose the setting and provider of services, 

and have this choice documented. 

1. Requests for LTSS screenings shall be accepted from 

either an individual, the individual's representative, an adult 

protective service worker, the individual's physician, or an 

MCO care coordinator having an interest in the individual. 

The CBT in the jurisdiction where the individual resides 

shall conduct such LTSS screening. For the LTSS screening 

to be scheduled by the CBT, the individual shall either agree 

to participate or, if refusing, shall be under order of a court 

of appropriate jurisdiction to have a an LTSS screening. 

Medicaid payment for services cannot be considered without 

agreement of the individual or the individual's representative 

to participate in the LTSS screening. 

a. The LDSS or LHD in receipt of the request for a an 

LTSS screening shall contact the individual or his the 

individual's representative within seven days of the 

request date for screening to schedule a an LTSS screening 

with the individual and any other persons whom the 

individual selects to attend the screening. 

b. When the CBT has not scheduled a an LTSS screening 

to occur within 21 days of the request date for screening, 

and the LTSS screening is not anticipated to be complete 

within 30 days of the request date for screening due to the 

screening entity's inability to conduct the LTSS screening, 

the LDSS and LHD shall, no later than seven days after 

the request date for screening, notify DARS and VDH 

staff designated for technical assistance. 

2. Referrals for LTSS screenings may also be accepted by 

LDSS or LHD from an interested person having knowledge 

of an individual who may need LTSS. When the LDSS or 

LHD receives such a referral, the LDSS or LHD shall obtain 

sufficient information from the referral source to initiate 

contact with the individual or his the individual's 

representative to discuss the LTSS screening process. 

Within seven days of the referral date, the LDSS or LHD 

shall contact the individual or his the individual's 

representative to determine if the individual is interested in 

receiving LTSS and would participate in the LTSS 

screening. If the LDSS or LHD is unable to contact the 

individual or his the individual's representative, it the LDSS 

or LHD shall document the attempt to contact the individual 

or his the individual's representative using the method 

adopted by the CBT. 

a. After contact with the individual or his the individual's 

representative, or if the LDSS or LHD is unable to contact 

the individual or his the individual's representative, the 

LDSS or LHD shall advise the referring interested person 

that contact or attempt to contact has been made in 

response to the referral for an LTSS screening. 

b. Information about the results of the contact shall only 

be shared by the LDSS or LHD with the interested person 

who made the referral when the LDSS or LHD has the 

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/MedicaidMemostoProviders.
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/MedicaidMemostoProviders.
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individual's written consent or the written consent of his 

the individual's legal representative who has such 

authority on behalf of the individual. 

B. Screenings LTSS screenings for children living in the 

community. Screenings LTSS screenings for children who are 

residing in the community but and who are not hospital 

inpatients shall be completed and submitted via ePAS eMLS. 

If the individual or parent or guardian, or any of the other 

persons permitted to make such requests, requests a an LTSS 

screening, the DMAS community screening designee shall 

perform the requested LTSS screening; otherwise, the DMAS 

designee shall not be required to screen individuals who are not 

expected to become financially eligible for Medicaid-funded 

LTSS within six months of the screening. Every individual 

who applies for or requests LTSS shall have the opportunity to 

choose the setting and provider of services and have this choice 

documented. 

1. A child who is residing in the community and is not an 

inpatient shall receive a an LTSS screening from a DMAS 

community screening designee. The DMAS community 

screening designee may receive requests for LTSS 

screenings directly. Any requests for LTSS screenings for a 

child received by the CBT shall be forwarded directly to the 

DMAS designee. For the LTSS screening to be scheduled by 

the CBT DMAS community screening designee, the child 

shall either agree to participate or, if refusing, shall be under 

order of a court of appropriate jurisdiction to have a an LTSS 

screening. Medicaid payment for services cannot be 

considered without agreement of the individual or the 

individual's representative to participate in the LTSS 

screening. 

2. The request for LTSS screening of a child residing in the 

community shall be accepted from the parent, legal 

guardian, the entity having legal custody of that child, an 

emancipated child, a physician, an MCO care coordinator, 

or a child protective service worker having an interest in the 

child. 

3. Referrals for LTSS screenings may also be accepted from 

an interested person having knowledge of a child who may 

need LTSS. The process, timing, and limitations on the 

sharing of the results for referrals for LTSS screenings for 

children shall be the same as that set out for adults in 

subdivision A 2 of this section. 

C. Screenings LTSS screenings in hospitals for adults and 

children who are inpatients. Screenings LTSS screenings in 

hospitals shall be completed when an adult or child who is an 

inpatient is discharged directly to an NF or may need LTSS in 

the community upon discharge or when the individual, MCO, 

or representative requests a an LTSS screening. Medicaid 

payment for services cannot be considered without agreement 

of the individual or the individual''s representative to 

participate in the LTSS screening. Every individual who 

applies for or requests LTSS shall have the opportunity to 

choose the setting and provider of services and have this choice 

documented. 

1. As a part of the discharge planning process, the hospital 

team shall also complete a face-to-face LTSS screening 

when: 

a. The individual's physician, in collaboration with the 

individual or the individual's representative if there is one, 

makes a request of the hospital team. If the individual is a 

child, the LTSS screening shall be completed when the 

individual's physician, in collaboration with the child's 

parent, legal guardian, the entity having legal custody of 

the child, the emancipated child, adult protective services 

worker, child protective services worker, or MCO care 

coordinator makes a request of the hospital team; or 

b. The individual, the individual's representative if there is 

one, parent, legal guardian, entity having legal custody, 

emancipated child, adult protective services worker, child 

protective services worker, or MCO care coordinator 

requests a consultation with hospital case management. 

2. When there is a request, such individual shall receive a an 

LTSS screening conducted by the hospital team regardless 

of if he the individual is eligible for Medicaid or is 

anticipated to become eligible for Medicaid within six 

months after admission to a an NF. 

3. The hospital team shall exclude all institutionally-induced 

dependencies from the face-to-face LTSS screening 

documentation. 

D. LTSS screenings for individuals needing LTSS after a 

skilled or rehabilitation nursing facility services admission. 

LTSS screenings for individuals who need LTSS after 

receiving skilled or rehabilitation nursing facility services that 

are not covered by the Commonwealth's program of medical 

assistance services after discharge from an acute care hospital 

shall be completed and submitted via eMLS by NF LTSS 

screening teams. Medicaid payment for services cannot be 

considered without agreement of the individual or the 

individual's representative to participate in the LTSS 

screening. Every individual who applies for or requests LTSS 

shall have the opportunity to choose the setting and provider of 

services and have this choice documented. 

1. Requests for LTSS screening shall be accepted from either 

an individual, the individual's representative, the individual's 

physician, the NF LTSS screening team, or a MCO care 

coordinator having an interest in the individual. The nursing 

facility LTSS screening team shall contact the individual or 

the individual's representative prior to enrollment in LTSS 

to schedule an LTSS screening with the individual and any 

other persons whom the individual selects to attend the 

LTSS screening. 

2. Nursing facility LTSS screening teams must include at 

least one registered nurse and physician but may include a 

social worker or other members of the interdisciplinary 
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team. The authorization or denial for Medicaid LTSS 

(DMAS-96 form) must be signed and attested to by the 

nursing facility LTSS screener and a physician. 

D. Screenings E. LTSS screenings shall be submitted via e-

PAS eMLS within 30 days of the screening request. 

12VAC30-60-305. Screenings in the community and 

hospitals and nursing facilities for Medicaid-funded long-

term services and supports. 

A. Community LTSS screenings for adults. 

1. Medical or nursing and functional eligibility for 

Medicaid-funded LTSS shall be determined by the CBT 

after completion of a an LTSS screening of the individual's 

needs and available supports. The CBT shall consider all the 

supports available for that individual in the community (i.e., 

the immediate family, other relatives, other community 

resources), and other services in the continuum of LTSS. 

The LTSS screening shall be documented on the DMAS-

designated forms identified in 12VAC30-60-306. 

2. Screenings Upon receipt of an LTSS screening request, 

the CBT shall schedule an appointment to complete the 

requested LTSS screening. LTSS screenings shall be 

completed in the individual's residence unless the residence 

presents a safety risk for the individual or the CBT, or unless 

the individual or the representative requests that the LTSS 

screening be performed in an alternate location within the 

same jurisdiction. The individual shall be permitted to have 

another person present at the time of the screening. Other 

than situations when a court has issued an order for a 

screening, the individual shall also be afforded the right to 

refuse to participate. The CBT shall determine the 

appropriate degree of participation and assistance given by 

other persons to the individual during the screening and 

accommodate the individual's preferences to the extent 

feasible. Community settings where LTSS screenings may 

occur include the individual's residence, other residences, 

residential facilities, or other settings with the exception of 

inpatients in acute care hospitals, rehabilitation units of acute 

care hospitals, and rehabilitation hospitals. 

3. The individual shall be permitted to have another person 

present at the time of the screening. Other than situations 

when a court has issued an order for an LTSS screening, the 

individual shall also be afforded the right to refuse to 

participate. The CBT shall determine the appropriate degree 

of participation and assistance given by other persons to the 

individual during the LTSS screening and accommodate the 

individual's preferences to the extent feasible. 

4. The CBT shall: 

a. Observe the individual's ability to perform appropriate 

ADLs according to 12VAC30-60-303 and consider the 

individual's communication or responses to questions or 

his the individual's representative's communication or 

responses; 

b. Observe, assess, and report the individual's medical, 

nursing, and functional condition. This information shall 

be used to ensure accurate and comprehensive evaluation 

of the individual's need for modification of treatment or 

additional medical procedures to prevent destabilization 

even when the individual has demonstrated an inability to 

self-observe or evaluate the need to contact skilled 

medical professionals; 

c. Identify the medical or nursing needs, and functional 

needs of the individual; and 

d. Consider services and settings that may be needed by 

the individual in order for the individual to safely perform 

ADLs. 

4. 5. Upon completion of the LTSS screening and in 

consideration of the communication from the individual or 

his the individual's representative, if appropriate, and 

observations obtained during the LTSS screening, the CBT 

shall determine whether the individual meets the criteria set 

out in 12VAC30-60-303. If the individual meets the criteria 

for LTSS, the CBT shall inform the individual or his the 

individual's representative, if appropriate, of this 

determination in writing and provide choice of the feasible 

alternatives the setting and provider of LTSS, such as PACE 

or home and community-based Commonwealth Coordinated 

Care (CCC) Plus waiver services, as alternative options to 

placement in a an NF. 

5. 6. If waiver services or PACE, where available, are 

declined, the reason for declining shall be recorded on the 

DMAS-97, Individual Choice - Institutional Care or Waiver 

Services Form. The CBT shall have this document signed by 

either the individual or his the individual's representative, if 

appropriate. In addition to the electronic document, a paper 

copy of the DMAS-97 form with the individual's or his the 

individual's representative's signature shall be retained in the 

individual's record by the LTSS screening entity. 

6. 7. If the individual meets criteria and selects home and 

community-based services, the CBT shall also document 

that the individual is at risk of NF placement in the absence 

of home and community-based services by finding that at 

least one of the following conditions exists: 

a. The individual has been cared for in the home prior to 

the screening and evidence is available demonstrating a 

deterioration in the individual's health care condition, a 

significant change in condition, or a change in available 

supports. Examples of such evidence may include (i) 

recent hospitalizations, (ii) attending physician 

documentation, or (iii) reported findings from medical or 

social service agencies. 

b. There has been no significant change in condition or 

available support but evidence is available that 

demonstrates the individual's functional, medical, or 

nursing needs are not being met. Examples of such 

evidence may include (i) recent hospitalizations, (ii) 
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attending physician documentation, or (iii) reported 

findings from medical or social service agencies. 

7. 8. If the individual selects NF placement, the CBT shall 

follow the Level I identification and Level II evaluation 

process as outlined in Part III (12VAC30-130-140 et seq.) of 

12VAC30-130. 

8. 9. If the CBT determines that the individual does not meet 

the criteria set out in 12VAC30-60-303, the CBT shall notify 

the individual or the individual's representative, as may be 

appropriate, in writing that LTSS are being denied for the 

individual. The denial notice shall include the individual's 

right to appeal consistent with DMAS client appeals 

regulations (12VAC30-110). 

9. 10. For those LTSS screenings conducted in accordance 

with clause iv of 12VAC30-60-302 B 1, the DMAS designee 

CBT shall follow the process outlined in this subsection. 

B. Community LTSS screenings for children. 

1. Medical or nursing and functional eligibility for 

Medicaid-funded LTSS shall be determined by the DMAS 

community screening designee after completion of a an 

LTSS screening of the child's needs and available supports. 

The DMAS community screening designee shall consider all 

the supports available for that child in the community (i.e., 

the immediate family, other community resources), and 

other services in the continuum of LTSS. The LTSS 

screening shall be documented on the designated DMAS 

forms identified in 12VAC30-60-306. 

2. Upon receipt of a an LTSS screening request, the DMAS 

community screening designee shall schedule an 

appointment to complete the requested LTSS screening. 

LTSS screenings shall be completed in the child's residence 

unless the residence presents a safety risk for the child or the 

DMAS community screening designee, or unless the child's 

representative request that the LTSS screening be performed 

in an alternate location within the same jurisdiction. 

Community settings where LTSS screenings may occur 

include the child's residence, other residences, children's 

residential facilities, or other settings with the exception of 

acute care hospitals, rehabilitation units of inpatients in acute 

care hospitals, and rehabilitation hospitals. 

3. The child shall be permitted to have another person 

present at the time of the LTSS screening. The DMAS 

community screening designee shall determine the 

appropriate degree of participation and assistance given by 

other persons to the child during the LTSS screening and 

accommodate the individual's preferences to the extent 

feasible. 

4. The DMAS community screening designee shall: 

a. Determine the appropriate degree of participation and 

assistance given by other persons to the individual during 

the LTSS screening in recognition of the individual's 

preferences to the extent feasible; 

b. Observe the child's ability to perform appropriate ADLs 

according to 12VAC30-60-303 and consider the parent's, 

legal guardian's, or emancipated child's communications 

or responses to questions; 

c. Observe, assess, and report the child's medical or 

nursing and functional condition. This information shall 

be used to ensure accurate and comprehensive evaluation 

of the child's need for modification of treatment or 

additional medical procedures to prevent destabilization 

even when the child has demonstrated an inability to self-

observe or evaluate the need to contact skilled medical 

professionals; 

d. Identify the medical or nursing and the functional needs 

of the child; and 

e. Consider services and settings that may be needed by 

the child in order for the child to safely perform ADLs in 

the community. 

4. 5. Upon completion of the LTSS screening and in 

consideration of the communication from the child or his the 

child's representative, if appropriate, and observations 

obtained during the LTSS screening, the DMAS community 

screening designee shall determine whether the child meets 

the criteria set out in 12VAC30-60-303. If the child meets 

the criteria for Medicaid-funded LTSS, the DMAS 

community screening designee shall inform the child and his 

the child's representative, if appropriate, of this 

determination in writing and provide choice of the feasible 

alternatives setting and provider of LTSS, such as PACE or 

home and community-based Commonwealth Coordinated 

Care Plus waiver services, as alternative options to NF 

placement in an NF. 

5. 6. If waiver services are declined, the reason for declining 

shall be recorded on the DMAS-97, Individual Choice - 

Institutional Care or Waiver Services Form. The DMAS 

community screening designee shall have this document 

signed by either the emancipated child or his the child's 

representative. In addition to the electronic document, a 

paper copy of the DMAS-97 form with the child's or his the 

child's representative's signature shall be retained in the 

child's record by the LTSS screening entity. 

6. 7. If the child meets criteria and selects home and 

community-based services, the DMAS community 

screening designee shall also document that the individual is 

at risk of NF placement in the absence of home and 

community-based services by finding that at least one of the 

following conditions exists: 

a. The child has been cared for in the home prior to the 

LTSS screening and evidence is available demonstrating a 

deterioration in the child's health care condition, a 

significant change in condition, or a change in available 

supports. Examples of such evidence may include (i) 
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recent hospitalizations, (ii) attending physician 

documentation, or (iii) reported findings from medical or 

social service agencies. 

b. There has been no significant change in condition or 

available support but evidence is available that 

demonstrates the child's functional, medical, or nursing 

needs are not being met. Examples of such evidence may 

include (i) recent hospitalizations, (ii) attending physician 

documentation, or (iii) reported findings from medical or 

social service agencies. 

7. 8. If the parent, legal guardian, entity having legal custody 

of the child, or emancipated child selects NF placement, the 

DMAS community screening designee shall follow the 

Level I identification and Level II evaluation process as set 

out in Part III (12VAC30-130-140 et seq.) of 12VAC30-130. 

8. 9. If the DMAS community screening designee 

determines that the child does not meet the criteria to receive 

Medicaid-funded LTSS as set out in 12VAC30-60-303, the 

DMAS community screening designee shall notify the 

parent, legal guardian, entity having legal custody of the 

child, or the emancipated child and representative, as may 

be appropriate, in writing that Medicaid-funded LTSS are 

being denied for the child. The denial notice shall include 

the child's right to appeal consistent with DMAS client 

appeals regulations (12VAC30-110). 

C. Screenings for adults and children in hospitals. For the 

purpose of this subsection, the term "individual" shall mean 

either an adult or a child. 

1. Medical or nursing and functional eligibility for 

Medicaid-funded LTSS shall be determined by the hospital 

LTSS screening team after completion of a an LTSS 

screening of the individual's medical or nursing and 

functional needs and available supports. The hospital LTSS 

screening team shall consider all the supports available for 

that individual in the community (i.e., the immediate family, 

other relatives, other community resources), and other 

services in the continuum of LTSS. The LTSS screening 

shall be documented on the DMAS-designated forms 

identified in 12VAC30-60-306 and entered into the eMLS 

system. 

2. Screenings LTSS screenings shall be completed in the 

hospital prior to discharge. The individual shall be permitted 

to have another person present at the time of the screening. 

Except when a court has issued an order for a screening, the 

individual shall also be afforded the right to refuse to 

participate. The hospital screening team shall determine the 

appropriate degree of participation and assistance given by 

other persons to the individual during the screening and 

accommodate the individual's preferences to the extent 

feasible. 

3. The individual shall be permitted to have another person 

present at the time of the LTSS screening. Except when a 

court has issued an order for an LTSS screening, the 

individual shall also be afforded the right to refuse to 

participate. The hospital LTSS screening team shall 

determine the appropriate degree of participation and 

assistance given by other persons to the individual during the 

screening and accommodate the individual's preferences to 

the extent feasible. 

4. The hospital LTSS screening team shall: 

a. Observe the individual's ability to perform appropriate 

ADLs according to 12VAC30-60-303, excluding all 

institutionally induced dependencies, and consider the 

individual's communication or responses to questions or 

his the individual's representative's communication or 

responses; 

b. Observe, assess, and report the individual's medical or 

nursing and functional condition. This information shall 

be used to ensure accurate and comprehensive evaluation 

of the individual's need for modification of treatment or 

additional medical procedures to prevent destabilization 

even when the individual has demonstrated an inability to 

self-observe or evaluate the need to contact skilled 

medical professionals; 

c. Identify the medical, nursing, and functional needs of 

the individual; and 

d. Consider services and settings that may be needed by 

the individual in order for the individual to safely perform 

ADLs. 

4. 5. Upon completion of the LTSS screening and in 

consideration of the communication from the individual or 

his the individual's representative, if appropriate, and 

observations obtained during the LTSS screening, the 

hospital LTSS screening team shall determine whether the 

individual meets the criteria set out in 12VAC30-60-303. If 

the individual meets the criteria for Medicaid-funded LTSS, 

the hospital LTSS screening team shall inform the individual 

or his the individual's representative, if appropriate, of this 

determination in writing and provide choice of the feasible 

alternatives setting and provider of LTSS, such as PACE or 

home and community-based Commonwealth Coordinated 

Care (CCC) Plus waiver services, as alternative options to 

placement in a an NF. 

5. 6. If waiver services or PACE, where available, are 

declined, the reason for declining shall be recorded on the 

DMAS-97, Individual Choice - Institutional Care or Waiver 

Services Form. The hospital LTSS screening team shall have 

this document signed by either the individual or his the 

individual's representative, if appropriate. In addition to the 

electronic document, a paper copy of the DMAS-97 form 

with the individual's or his the individual's representative's 

signature shall be retained in the individual's record. 

6. 7. If the individual meets criteria and selects home and 

community-based services, the hospital LTSS screening 
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team shall also document that the individual is at risk of NF 

placement in the absence of home and community-based 

services by finding that at least one of the following 

conditions exists: 

a. Prior to the inpatient admission, the individual was 

cared for in the home and evidence is available 

demonstrating a deterioration in the individual's health 

care condition, a significant change in condition, or a 

change in available supports. Examples of such evidence 

may include (i) recent hospitalizations, (ii) attending 

physician documentation, or (iii) reported findings from 

medical or social service agencies. 

b. There has been no significant change in condition or 

available support but evidence is available that 

demonstrates the individual's functional, medical, or 

nursing needs are not being met. Examples of such 

evidence may include (i) recent hospitalizations, (ii) 

attending physician documentation, or (iii) reported 

findings from medical or social service agencies. 

7. 8. If the individual selects NF placement, the hospital 

LTSS screening team shall follow the Level I identification 

and Level II evaluation process as outlined in Part III 

(12VAC30-130-140 et seq.) of 12VAC30-130. 

8. 9. If the hospital LTSS screening team determines that the 

individual does not meet the criteria set out in 12VAC30-60-

303, the hospital LTSS screening team shall notify the 

individual or the individual's representative, as may be 

appropriate, in writing that LTSS are being denied for the 

individual. The denial notice shall include the individual's 

right to appeal consistent with DMAS client appeals 

regulations (12VAC30-110). 

D. LTSS screenings for individuals receiving skilled or 

rehabilitation nursing services in a setting not covered by 

Medicaid and after discharge from an acute care hospital.  

1. Medical or nursing and functional eligibility for 

Medicaid-funded LTSS shall be determined by the NF LTSS 

screening team after completion of an LTSS screening of the 

individual's medical or nursing and functional needs and 

available supports. The NF LTSS screening team shall 

consider all the supports available for that individual in the 

community (i.e., the immediate family, other relatives, other 

community resources) and other services in the continuum 

of LTSS. The LTSS screening shall be documented on the 

DMAS forms identified in 12VA30-60-306 and entered into 

the eMLS system. 

2. LTSS screenings shall be completed prior to the 

enrollment or initiation of LTSS.  

3. The individual shall be permitted to have another person 

present at the time of the LTSS screening. Except when a 

court has issued an order for an LTSS screening, the 

individual shall also be afforded the right to refuse to 

participate. The NF LTSS screening team shall determine 

the appropriate degree of participation and assistance given 

by other persons to the individual during the LTSS screening 

and accommodate the individual's preferences to the extent 

feasible. 

4. The nursing facility LTSS screening team shall: 

a. Observe the individual's ability to perform appropriate 

ADLs according to 12VAC30-60-303, excluding all 

institutionally induced dependencies, and consider the 

individual's communication or responses to questions or 

the individual's representative's communication or 

responses; 

b. Observe, assess, and report the individual's medical or 

nursing and functional condition. This information shall 

be used to ensure accurate and comprehensive evaluation 

of the individual's need for modification of treatment or 

additional medical procedures to prevent destabilization 

even when the individual has demonstrated an inability to 

self-observe or evaluate the need to contact skilled 

medical professionals;  

c. Identify the medical, nursing, and functional needs of 

the individual; and 

d. Consider services and settings that may be needed by 

the individual in order for the individual to safely perform 

ADLs.  

5. Upon completion of the LTSS screening and in 

consideration of the communication from the individual or 

the individual's representative, if appropriate, and 

observations obtained during the LTSS screening, the NF 

LTSS screening team shall determine whether the individual 

meets the criteria set out in 12VAC30-60-303. If the 

individual meets the criteria for Medicaid-funded LTSS, the 

NF LTSS screening team shall inform the individual or the 

individual's representative, if appropriate, of this 

determination in writing and provide choice of the setting 

and provider of LTSS, such as PACE or Commonwealth 

Coordinated Care (CCC) Plus waiver services, as alternative 

options to placement in an NF. 

6. If waiver services or PACE, where available, are declined, 

the reason for declining shall be recorded on the DMAS-97, 

Individual Choice - Institutional Care or Waiver Services 

Form. The NF LTSS screening team shall have this 

document signed by either the individual or the individual's 

representative, if appropriate. In addition to the electronic 

document, a paper copy of the DMAS-97 form with the 

individual's or the individual's representative's signature 

shall be retained in the individual's record.  

7. If the individual meets criteria and selects home and 

community-based services, the NF LTSS screening team 

shall also document that the individual is at risk of NF 

placement in the absence of home and community-based 

services by finding that at least one of the following 

conditions exists: 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1413 

a. Prior to the admission to the acute care hospital, the 

individual was cared for in the home and evidence is 

available demonstrating a deterioration in the individual's 

health care condition, a significant change in condition, or 

a change in available supports. Examples of such evidence 

may include (i) recent hospitalizations, (ii) attending 

physician documentation, or (iii) reported findings from 

medical or social service agencies.  

b. There has been no significant change in condition or 

available support but evidence is available that 

demonstrates the individual's functional, medical, or 

nursing needs are not being met. Examples of such 

evidence may include (i) recent hospitalizations, (ii) 

attending physician documentation, or (iii) reported 

findings from medical or social service agencies.  

8. If the individual selects NF placement, the NF LTSS 

screening team shall follow the Level I identification and 

Level II evaluation process as outlined in Part III 

(12VAC30-130-140 et seq.) of 12VAC30-130.  

9. If the NF LTSS screening team determines that the 

individual does not meet the criteria set out in 12VAC30-60-

303, the NF LTSS screening team shall notify the individual 

or the individual's representative, as may be appropriate, in 

writing that LTSS are being denied for the individual. The 

denial notice shall include the individual's right to appeal 

consistent with DMAS client appeals regulations 

(12VAC30-110). 

12VAC30-60-306. Submission of LTSS screenings. 

A. The LTSS screening entity shall complete and submit the 

following forms to DMAS electronically via ePAS eMLS: 

1. DMAS-95 - MI/IDD/RC MI/ID/RC (Supplemental 

Assessment Process Form Level I Screening for Mental 

Illness, Intellectual Disability, or Related Conditions form 

and follow up information), as appropriate; 

2. DMAS-96 (Medicaid-Funded Long-Term Care Service 

Services and Supports Authorization Form); 

3. DMAS-97 (Individual Choice - Institutional Care or 

Waiver Services Home and Community-Based or 

Institutional Care form), as applicable; 

4. UAI (Uniform Assessment Instrument); 

5. DMAS-108 (Tech Waiver Adult Referral Private Duty 

Nursing Adult form), as appropriate; and 

6. DMAS-109 (Tech Waiver Pediatric Referral Private Duty 

Nursing Pediatric form), as appropriate. 

B. For LTSS screenings performed in the community, the 

LTSS screening entity shall submit to DMAS via ePAS eMLS 

each applicable screening form listed in subsection A of this 

section within 30 days of the individual's request date for 

screening. 

C. For LTSS screenings performed in a hospital, the hospital 

team shall submit to DMAS via ePAS eMLS each applicable 

screening form listed in subsection A of this section, which 

shall be completed prior to the individual's discharge to LTSS. 

D. For LTSS screenings performed in a skilled or 

rehabilitation NF setting, the NF LTSS screening team shall 

submit to DMAS via eMLS each applicable screening form 

listed in subsection A of this section, which shall be completed 

prior to the individual's level of care change or enrollment in 

LTSS from skilled nursing or rehabilitation services. 

12VAC30-60-308. Nursing facility admission for LTSS and 

level of care determination requirements. 

Prior to an individual's for LTSS admission, the NF shall 

review the completed LTSS screening forms to ensure that 

applicable NF admission criteria have been met, documented, 

and submitted via e-PAS unless the individual meets any of the 

special circumstances set out in 12VAC30-60-302 E. NFs shall 

not accept paper handwritten LTSS screening forms as proof 

that admission criteria have been met and documented. 

The NF LTSS screening team shall be responsible for 

screening individuals admitted directly from a hospital for 

skilled nursing or rehabilitation not covered by the 

Commonwealth's program of medical assistance and have a 

change in level of care requiring LTSS. 

12VAC30-60-310. Competency training and testing 

requirements. 

By June 30, 2019, each person performing LTSS screenings 

on behalf of a screening entity shall complete required training 

and competency tests. A score of at least 80% on each module 

for each person who is required to give final approval on LTSS 

screenings on behalf of the screening entity shall constitute 

satisfactory competency test results. The most current 

competency test results shall be kept in the screening entity's 

personnel records for each person performing LTSS screenings 

for the screening entity. Such documentation results shall be 

provided to DMAS upon its request. 

1. All persons who are required by the screening entity to 

give final approval of LTSS screenings shall complete the 

DMAS-approved training and pass the corresponding 

competency tests with a score of at least 80% for each 

module of the training prior to performing LTSS screenings. 

Each LTSS Screener who has passed the competency 

training will be provided a certification number that shall be 

entered into the eMLS upon final approval of the Medicaid 

LTSS screening. 

2. Upon successful completion of the initial training, each 

person who is required to give final approval of LTSS 

screenings on behalf of the screening entity shall complete 

the shortened refresher course no less than every three years. 

A score of at least 80% on the refresher module shall be 

required for a person to continue to perform LTSS 
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screenings or give final approval of LTSS screenings on 

behalf of the screening entity. 

3. Failure to satisfy the training and competency tests 

requirements may result in the retraction of Medicaid 

payment. 

12VAC30-60-313. Individuals determined to not meet 

criteria for Medicaid-funded long-term services and 

supports. 

Notwithstanding 12VAC30-60-302 E, an individual shall be 

determined not to meet the medical or nursing and functional 

criteria level of care for Medicaid-funded LTSS when there is 

no LTSS screening or MDS to document the individual meets 

the medical or nursing and, functional, or risk criteria or when 

one of the following specific care needs solely describes the 

individual's condition: 

1. The individual requires minimal assistance with ADLs, 

including those individuals whose only need in all areas of 

functional capacity is for prompting to complete the activity; 

2. The individual independently uses mechanical devices 

such as a wheelchair, walker, crutch, or cane; 

3. The individual requires limited diets such as a 

mechanically altered, low-salt, low-residue, diabetic, 

reducing, or other restrictive diets; 

4. The individual requires medications that can be 

independently self-administered or administered by the 

caregiver; 

5. The individual requires protection to prevent him from 

obtaining alcohol or drugs or to address a social or 

environmental problem; 

6. The individual requires minimal staff observation or 

assistance for confusion, memory impairment, or poor 

judgment; or 

7. The individual's primary need is for behavioral 

management that can be provided in a community-based 

setting. 

12VAC30-60-315. Periodic evaluations for individuals 

receiving Medicaid-funded long-term services and 

supports. 

A. Once an individual is enrolled in home and community-

based services, the home and community-based services 

provider shall be responsible for conducting periodic 

evaluations to ensure that the individual meets, and continues 

to meet, the waiver program or PACE criteria, if appropriate. 

These periodic evaluations shall be conducted using the Level 

of Care Review tab in the Medicaid portal at 

(https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal). 

The home and community-based services provider shall 

promptly evaluate the individual after he experiences a 

significant change in his condition, as defined in 12VAC30-

60-301. 

B. Once an individual is admitted to a has been screened for 

LTSS and is enrolled in LTSS in an NF, the NF shall be 

responsible for conducting periodic evaluations to ensure that 

the individual meets, and continues to meet, the NF criteria. 

For this purpose, the NF shall use the federally required 

Minimum Data Set (MDS) form (see 

https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Quality-Initiatives-Patient-

Assessment-

Instruments/NursingHomeQualityInits/MDS30RAIManual.ht

ml). The post-admission evaluation shall be conducted For 

individuals screened for LTSS by hospitals teams and CBT's 

and admitted directly into NF LTSS, the individual shall be 

evaluated using the MDS no later than 14 days after the date of 

NF admission and promptly after an. All individual's receiving 

NF LTSS and experiencing a significant change in his 

condition, as defined in 12VAC30-60-301, shall be evaluated 

using the MDS. 

For individuals admitted to skilled or rehabilitation services 

in an NF, the NF shall be responsible for conducting periodic 

evaluations to ensure that the individual meets, and continues 

to meet criteria. For this purpose, the NF shall use the federally 

required MDS form (see 

https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Quality-Initiatives-Patient-

Assessment-

Instruments/NursingHomeQualityInits/MDS30RAIManual.ht

ml). The post enrollment evaluation shall be conducted no later 

than 14 days after the date of the NF admission and promptly 

after an individual's significant change in his condition, as 

defined in 12VAC30-60-301. 

C. For individuals who are enrolled in an MCO that is 

responsible for providing LTSS, the MCO shall conduct 

periodic evaluations by qualified MCO staff to ensure the 

individual continues to meet criteria for LTSS. The MCO shall 

promptly evaluate the individual after he experiences a 

significant change in his condition, as defined in 12VAC30-

60-301. 

D. If an individual has been screened for LTSS and 

enrollment in LTSS has not occurred within one year of the 

completion date of the LTSS screening, a new LTSS screening 

shall be conducted to document the level of care and assure 

continued need for services. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Quality-Initiatives-Patient-Assessment-Instruments/NursingHomeQualityInits/MDS30RAIManual.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Quality-Initiatives-Patient-Assessment-Instruments/NursingHomeQualityInits/MDS30RAIManual.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Quality-Initiatives-Patient-Assessment-Instruments/NursingHomeQualityInits/MDS30RAIManual.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Quality-Initiatives-Patient-Assessment-Instruments/NursingHomeQualityInits/MDS30RAIManual.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Quality-Initiatives-Patient-Assessment-Instruments/NursingHomeQualityInits/MDS30RAIManual.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Quality-Initiatives-Patient-Assessment-Instruments/NursingHomeQualityInits/MDS30RAIManual.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Quality-Initiatives-Patient-Assessment-Instruments/NursingHomeQualityInits/MDS30RAIManual.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Quality-Initiatives-Patient-Assessment-Instruments/NursingHomeQualityInits/MDS30RAIManual.html
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FORMS (12VAC30-60) 

DMAS-95, Level I Screening for Mental Illness, Intellectual 

Disability, or Related Conditions Form (rev. 4/2019) 

DMAS-95, MI/ID/RC Supplement: Level II (rev. 12/2015) 

DMAS-96, Medicaid Funded Long-Term Services and 

Supports (LTSS) Authorization Form (rev. 4/2019) 

DMAS-97, Individual Choice - Home and Community-Based 

Services or Institutional Care Form (rev. 4/2019) 

DMAS-108, Private Duty Nursing Adult Referral for the 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus (CCC Plus) Waiver 

(rev. 4/2019) 

DMAS-109, Private Duty Nursing Pediatric Referral for the 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus (CCC Plus) Waiver 

(rev. 4/2019) 

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Infants' Version, P235 (eff. 3/2016) 

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Children's Version, P236 (eff. 3/2016) 

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Adults' Version, P237 (eff. 3/2016) 

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument (rev. 5/2000) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6578; Filed December 22, 2021, 9:37 p.m. 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and 

Scope of Selected Services (amending 12VAC30-130-140 

through 12VAC30-130-260). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: February 16, 2022, through August 15, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations 

in which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

or federal law or federal regulation requires that a 

regulation be effective in 280 days or less from its 

enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under the 

provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Chapters 304 and 365 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly allow 

qualified nursing facility staff to complete the long-term 

services and supports (LTSS) screening for individuals 

who apply for or request LTSS and who are receiving non-

Medicaid skilled nursing services in an institutional 

setting following discharge from an acute care hospital. 

The amendments align the regulation with statute and 

update terminology, including (i) adding information 

about assess appropriateness of community setting in 

meeting an individual's needs; (ii) requiring that a 

preadmission screening and resident review evaluator 

prioritize the physical and mental needs of an individual's 

severity of condition in determining placement and 

confirm an individual is accurately assessed for nursing 

facility level of care; and (iii) requiring that nursing 

facility placement determining data include evaluation of 

physical status, mental status, and function.. 

12VAC30-130-140. Definitions. 

"Community Services Board (CSB)" or "CSB" means the 

local governmental agency responsible for local mental health, 

mental retardation intellectual disability, and substance abuse 

services. Boards function as service providers, client 

advocates, and community educators. 

"Dementia" means, as a major neurocognitive disorder, for 

the purposes described herein in this part, having a primary 

diagnosis of dementia, as described in the Diagnostic and 

Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 3rd 5th edition, revised 

in 1987, or a nonprimary diagnosis of dementia unless the 

primary diagnosis is a major mental disorder as defined herein 

in this part. 

"Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 3rd 

5th edition" or "DSM" means the 1987 2013 publication of the 

American Psychiatric Association classifying diagnoses of 

abnormal behavior for identifying and classifying mental 

disorders using common language and standard criteria. 

"Interfacility transfer" means when an individual is 

transferred from one nursing facility (NF) to another nursing 

facility NF, with or without an intervening hospital stay. 

Interfacility transfers are subject to annual resident review 

rather than preadmission screening. In cases of transfer of a 

resident with MI or MR, ID, or a related condition (MR/RC) 

(RC) from a an NF to a hospital or to another NF, the 

transferring NF is responsible for ensuring that copies of the 

resident's most recent preadmission screening and annual 

resident review (PASARR) (PASRR) and resident assessment 

reports shall accompany the transferring resident. 

"Intellectual disability" or "ID" means the individual has a 

disability, with onset before 18 years of age, that is 

characterized by significant limitations in both intellectual 

functioning and adaptive behavior. The American Association 

on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities document 

"Intellectual Disability: Definition, Classification, and 

Systems of Support, 11th edition" contains descriptions of 

significant limitations in both intellectual functioning and 

adaptive behavior. A person with related conditions (RCs) 

means the individual has a severe chronic disability that meets 

all of the following conditions: 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2095%20Level%201-20220117091211.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2095%20Level%201-20220117091211.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2095%20Level%202-20220117091330.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2096-20220117091635.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2096-20220117091635.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2097-20220117091841.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2097-20220117091841.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%20108-20220117092046.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%20108-20220117092046.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%20108-20220117092046.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%20109-20220117092154.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%20109-20220117092154.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%20109-20220117092154.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/0581c005099~1S.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/0581c005099~1S.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/b765f005099~2S.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/b765f005099~2S.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/f364e005099~3S.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/f364e005099~3S.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/UAI%20Assessment%20Instrustment-20220117092316.pdf
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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1. The severe chronic disability is attributable to: 

a. Cerebral palsy or epilepsy; or  

b. Any other condition, other than mental illness, found to 

be closely related to ID because this condition results in 

impairment of general intellectual functioning or adaptive 

behavior similar to that of people with intellectual 

disabilities and requires treatment or services similar to 

those required for these persons; 

2. The severe chronic disability is manifested before the 

person reaches 22 years of age;  

3. The severe chronic disability is likely to continue 

indefinitely; and  

4. The severe chronic disability results in substantial 

functional limitations in three or more of the following areas 

of major life activity: self-care, understanding and use of 

language, learning, mobility, self-direction, and capacity for 

independent living.  

"Level I screening or identification" means the process 

performed to identify nursing facility applicants with a 

condition of mental illness or mental retardation ID. 

"Level II evaluation and determination" means the evaluation 

and determination process for nursing facility (NF) applicants 

who are identified as having a condition of mental illness, or 

mental retardation ID, or related condition (RC) as defined 

herein in this section. The purpose of the Level II evaluation 

and determination is to recommend placement of and services 

to nursing facility applicants with statutorily defined mental 

illness or mental retardation confirm the existence of MI, ID, 

or RC and determine whether specialized services are needed, 

and if specialized services are needed, whether NF admission 

is the least restrictive environment and appropriate setting for 

receiving services. 

"Long-term services and supports screening team" or "LTSS 

screening team" means the hospital screening team, 

community-based team, nursing facility long-term services 

and supports screening team, or Department of Medical 

Assistance Services designee contracted to perform screenings 

pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Mental Illness (MI) illness" or "MI" means a serious mental 

illness meeting all of the following requirements: 

1. The individual has a major mental disorder diagnosable 

under, within the past year, had a serious and persistent 

mental disorder meeting the criteria specified within the 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 3rd 

5th edition, revised in 1987 2013 that is a schizophrenic, 

mood, paranoid, panic, or other severe anxiety disorder; 

somatoform disorder, personality disorder, other psychotic 

disorder, or another mental disorder that may lead to a 

chronic disability. The disorder is not a primary diagnosis of 

dementia, including Alzheimer's disease or a related 

disorder, or a non-primary diagnosis of dementia unless the 

primary diagnosis is a major mental disorder as defined here 

not secondary to dementia; 

2. The disorder results in functional limitations in major life 

activities within the past three to six months that would be 

appropriate for the individual's developmental stage. An 

individual typically has at least one of the following 

characteristics on a continuing or intermittent basis: 

a. Interpersonal functioning. The individual has serious 

difficulty interacting appropriately and communicating 

effectively with other persons, has a possible history of 

altercations, evictions, firing, fear of strangers, avoidance 

of interpersonal relationships, and social isolation; 

b. Concentration, persistence, and pace. The individual 

has serious difficulty in sustaining focused attention for a 

long enough period to permit the completion of tasks 

commonly found in work settings or in work-like 

structures, activities occurring in school or home settings, 

manifests difficulties in concentration, inability to 

complete simple tasks within an established time period, 

makes frequent errors, or requires assistance in the 

completion of these tasks; and 

c. Adaptation to change. The individual has serious 

difficulty in adapting to typical changes in circumstances 

associated with work, school, family, or social interaction, 

manifests agitation, exacerbated signs and symptoms 

associated with the illness, or withdrawal from the situation, 

or requires intervention by the mental health or judicial 

system. 2. The condition has been determined by a qualified 

clinician to be acute or in partial remission, has recurrent or 

persistent features, and if the DSM includes a severity scale 

for the disorder, the severity level of the disorder is moderate 

to severe; 

3. The treatment history indicates that the individual has 

experienced at least one of the following: 

a. Psychiatric treatment more intensive than outpatient 

care more than once in the past two years (e.g., partial 

hospitalization or inpatient hospitalization); or 

b. Within the last two years, due to the mental disorder, 

experienced an episode of significant disruption to the 

normal living situation, for which supportive services 

were required to maintain functioning at home, or in a 

residential treatment environment, or which resulted in 

intervention by housing or law enforcement officials. 

"Mental Retardation (MR)" means the presence of a level of 

retardation (mild, moderate, severe, or profound) described in 

the American Association on Mental Retardation's Manual on 

Classification in Mental Retardation (1983) or has a related 

condition. A person with related conditions (RC) means the 

individual has a severe chronic disability that meets all of the 

following conditions: 

1. It is attributable to cerebral palsy or epilepsy or any other 

condition, other than mental illness, found to be closely 
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related to mental retardation because this condition may 

result in impairment of general intellectual functioning or 

adaptive behavior similar to that of mentally retarded 

persons, and requires treatment or services similar to those 

required for these persons; 

2. It is manifested before the person reaches age 22; 

3. It is likely to continue indefinitely; and 

4. It results in substantial functional limitations in three or 

more of the following areas of major life activity: self-care, 

understanding and use of language, learning, mobility, self-

direction, and capacity for independent living. 3. The 

disorder results in functional impairment that has 

substantially interfered with or limited one or more major 

life activity, including activities of daily living; instrumental 

activities of daily living; or functioning in social, family, and 

academic or vocational contexts or would have caused 

functional impairment without the benefit of treatment or 

other support services; and 

4. A qualified clinician has found that the mental illness is 

not a secondary characteristic of a primary diagnosis of 

dementia or a neurocognitive disorder due to Alzheimer's 

disease or related conditions. 

"MI/MR "MI/ID Supplement" means the assessment form 

developed to meet the requirements of OBRA '87. Its purpose 

is to identify individuals with mental illness and mental 

retardation ID before their admission to a nursing facility. 

"New admission" means an individual who is admitted to any 

nursing facility for the first time or does not qualify as a 

readmission. New admissions are subject to shall receive 

preadmission screening. 

"Non-Medicaid-eligible Individuals" means persons who are 

not Medicaid eligible or are not expected to be Medicaid 

eligible within 180 days of admission to a nursing facility. 

"Nursing Home Preadmission Screening Committee 

(NHPASC)" means a committee established for the purpose of 

determining whether a Medicaid-eligible individual meets 

nursing facility criteria. 

"Qualified Mental Health Professional (QMHP) mental 

health professional" or "QMHP" means a clinician in the health 

profession who is trained and experienced in providing 

psychiatric or mental health services to individuals who have a 

psychiatric diagnosis. In the Commonwealth, authorized 

professionals and minimal qualifications for a QMHP are as 

follows: 

1. Physician: a doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in 

Virginia; 

2. Psychiatrist: a doctor of medicine or osteopathy, 

specializing in psychiatry and licensed in Virginia; 

3. Psychologist: an individual with a master's degree in 

psychology from an accredited college or university with at 

least one year of clinical experience; 

4. Social worker: an individual with a master's or bachelor's 

degree from a school of social work accredited or approved 

by the Council on Social Work Education with at least one 

year of clinical experience; 

5. Registered nurse: a registered nurse licensed in the State 

Commonwealth of Virginia with at least one year of clinical 

experience; and 

6. Mental health worker: an individual with professional 

education, training, and/or or a degree in human services or 

related field from an accredited college deemed equivalent 

to those described above in this definition and at least one 

year of clinical experience providing direct services to 

persons with a diagnosis of mental illness. 

QMHPs who are certified by the Board of Counseling differ 

in regulatory requirements and scope of practice as indicated 

in 18VAC115-80. QMHPs holding a certification through the 

Board of Counseling are regulated by the Board of Counseling. 

QMHPs are clinicians or licensed professionals who perform 

duties within their scope of practice pursuant to their licensing 

or credentialing board. 

"Readmission" means an individual who was readmitted to a 

facility from a hospital to which he or she the individual was 

transferred for the purpose of receiving care. Readmission 

includes being admitted to another nursing facility after a 

hospital admission. If an individual received a Level I 

screening or identification, and if needed, Level II evaluation 

and determination at the initial nursing facility admission, a 

new preadmission screening is not required. Readmissions are 

subject to annual resident review rather than preadmission 

screening. 

"State Mental Health mental health authority or Mental 

Retardation Authority (MH/MRA) intellectual disability 

authority" or "SMHA/SIDA" means the designated 

representative of the Department of Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse Services Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services who shall make determinations 

regarding placement of and services to nursing facility 

applicants who have conditions of mental illness or mental 

retardation intellectual disability. 

12VAC30-130-150. Persons subject to nursing home 

preadmission screening and identification of conditions of 

mental illness and mental retardation, intellectual 

disability, or related conditions (Level I). 

A. As a condition of a nursing facility's Medicaid 

participation, all persons, regardless of financial status, 

applying for admission to a Medicaid-certified nursing facility 

shall be screened to determine whether they have a condition 

of mental illness (MI) or mental retardation (MR) intellectual 
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disability (ID) or a related condition (RC), and if so, whether 

they require the level of services provided by a nursing facility 

(NF). Nursing facilities shall ensure that applicants for 

admission have been screened, and those who are identified as 

being MI or (MR/RC), ID, or RC are not admitted until 

determinations have been made by the State Mental Health or 

Mental Retardation Authority (MH/MHA) SMHA/SIDA with 

respect to their placement and specialty services. NHPASCs 

LTSS screening teams complete the Level I process for 

individuals who are Medicaid eligible or expect to become 

Medicaid eligible within 180 days participating in the 

Medicaid long-term services and supports screening process 

and will refer for Level II evaluation and determination as 

needed. Nursing facilities are responsible for screening all 

other individuals who are seeking admission to a Medicaid-

certified NF. Nursing facilities must ensure that the appropriate 

screenings are conducted for non-Medicaid eligible applicants 

prior to admitting an individual to a Medicaid-certified NF. 

B. No individual, regardless of pay status, may be admitted to 

a nursing facility unless the Level I screening or identification 

has been completed, and, if it is determined that the individual 

has a condition of MI or (MR/RC), ID, or RC as defined herein 

in this part, then he or she the individual shall not be admitted 

until the Level II evaluation and determination has been made. 

C. The Level I identification function shall provide at least, in 

the case of first time identifications, for the issuance of written 

notice to the individual or resident and his or her the 

individual's or resident's legal representative if the individual 

is suspected of having MI or (MR/RC), ID, or RC and is being 

referred to the MH/MRA SMHA/SIDA for Level II screening 

evaluation and determination. The NHPASC LTSS screening 

team shall send this notice to Medicaid-eligible individuals 

who participate in the Medicaid long-term services and 

supports screening process who are referred for a Level II 

screening evaluation and determination. The admitting NF 

shall send the notice to non-Medicaid all other individuals. 

D. All Level I and Level II determinations shall be recorded 

in the individual's medical record. 

E. When a preadmission screening has not been performed 

timely, prior to NF admission but is performed at a later date, 

federal financial participation (FFP) is available only for 

services furnished after the screening has been performed. 

F. The state in which the individual is a resident (or will be at 

the time he or she the individual becomes eligible for 

Medicaid) must pay for the PASARR preadmission screening 

and resident review process and make the required 

determinations. In the case of non-Medicaid eligible 

applicants, the receiving NF is responsible to ensure that the 

appropriate screenings have been completed prior to the 

individual's admission. 

12VAC30-130-160. Level II evaluation and determination. 

A. For each resident of a NF nursing facility (NF) who has a 

condition of MI or MR/RC, ID, or related conditions (RC), the 

MH/MRA, as appropriate, SMHA/SIDA must determine 

whether the individual requires the level of services provided 

by a an NF, an inpatient psychiatric hospital for individuals 

under age younger than 21 years of age, an institution for 

mental disease (IMD) providing medical assistance to 

individuals age 65 and older, an intermediate care facility for 

the mentally retarded (ICF/MR) intellectually disabled, or 

specialized services for either MI, ID, or MR/RC RC. 

B. When a Level II evaluation is required, a determination 

shall be made within an annual average of seven to nine 

working days of the Level I referral for screening evaluation 

and determination. The MH/MRA SMHA/SIDA shall convey 

determinations verbally to NFs Level I screeners and the 

individual and confirm them in writing. 

C. The MH/MRA SMHA/SIDA shall notify in writing the 

following entities of a Level II evaluation and determination: 

1. The evaluated individual and his or her the evaluated 

individual's legal representative; 

2. The admitting or retaining NF; 

3. The individual or resident's attending physician; and 

4. The discharging hospital or Level I screening or 

identification entity. 

D. Each notice described above in this section shall include 

the following: 

1. Whether a an NF level of services is needed; 

2. Whether specialized services are needed; 

3. The placement options available to the individual 

consistent with the determination; and 

4. The rights of the individual to appeal the determination. 

12VAC30-130-170. Categorical determinations. 

A. For each individual for whom the Level I screening or 

identification has resulted in the determination that the 

individual meets nursing facility level of care and has a 

condition of MI, ID, or MR/RC related conditions as defined 

herein in this part, a Level II evaluation and determination does 

not have to be completed if one of the following categorical 

determinations are met: 

1. The individual has a terminal illness in which a physician 

has documented that life expectancy is less than six months; 

or 

2. The individual has a severe illness such as coma, 

functioning at brain stem level, or other conditions which 

that result in a level of impairment so severe that the 

individual could not be expected to benefit from specialized 
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services. When this category is used, documentation shall be 

available which that fully describes the severity of the 

condition. 

B. These categorical determinations shall only be applied 

following the Level I review and only if existing data on the 

individual appear to be current and accurate and are sufficient 

to allow the evaluator readily to determine that the individual 

fits the category. 

12VAC30-130-180. Annual resident Resident review. 

A. A review and determination must be conducted for each 

resident of a NF nursing facility (NF) who has MI or MR/RC 

not less often than annually. "Annually" is defined as occurring 

within every fourth quarter after the previous preadmission 

screening or annual resident review, ID, or related conditions 

upon change in the resident's physical or mental condition. 

B. When an annual resident review has not been performed 

timely, but is performed at a later date, federal financial 

participation (FFP) is available only for services furnished 

after the review has been performed If an NF has notified the 

SMHA/SIDA that there has been a significant change in the 

resident's physical or mental condition, a review must be 

conducted promptly. 

12VAC30-130-190. Determinations and placement of 

individuals with MI or MR/RC mental illness, intellectual 

disability, or related condition. 

A. If the MH/MRA SMHA/SIDA determines that a resident 

or applicant for admission to a NF nursing facility (NF) 

requires a an NF level of services, the NF may admit or retain 

enroll the individual. If the MH/MRA SMHA/SIDA 

determines that a resident or applicant for admission requires 

both a an NF level of services and specialized services for MI, 

ID, or MR/RC related conditions (RC), the NF may admit or 

retain the individual and the state must provide or arrange for 

the provision of the specialized services needed by the 

individual while he the individual resides in the NF. 

B. If the MH/MRA SMHA/SIDA determines that an 

applicant for admission to a an NF does not require NF 

services, the applicant cannot be admitted. NF Nursing facility 

services are not a covered Medicaid service for that individual, 

and further screening is not required. 

C. If the MH/MRA SMHA/SIDA determines that a resident 

requires neither the level of services by a an NF nor specialized 

services for MI, ID, or MR/RC RC, regardless of the length of 

stay in the facility, the state must (i) arrange for the safe and 

orderly discharge of the resident from the facility; and (ii) 

prepare and orient the resident for discharge. 

D. For any resident who has continuously resided in a an NF 

for at least 30 months before the date of the determination, and 

who requires only specialized services, the state must, in 

consultation with the resident's family or legal representative 

and caregivers, (i) offer the resident the choice of remaining in 

the facility or of receiving services in an alternative appropriate 

setting; (ii) inform the resident of the institutional and 

noninstitutional alternatives available; (iii) clarify the effect on 

eligibility for Medicaid services if the resident chooses to leave 

the facility, including its effect on readmission to the facility 

or eligibility for community-based services; and (iv) regardless 

of the resident's choice to remain in the NF or to be discharged 

to a community setting, provide for, or arrange for the 

provision of specialized services for the MI or MR, ID, or RC. 

E. For any resident who has not continuously resided in a an 

NF for at least 30 months before the date of the determination, 

the state must, in consultation with the resident's family or 

legal representative and caregivers (i) arrange for the safe and 

orderly discharge of the resident from the facility; (ii) prepare 

and orient the resident for discharge; and (iii) provide for, or 

arrange for the provision of, specialized services for the MI or 

MR, ID, or RC. 

F. For the purposes of establishing length of stay in a an NF, 

the 30 months of continuous residence in the NF or longer is 

calculated back from the date of the first annual resident review 

determination which that finds that the individual is not in need 

of NF level of services. The 30 months of continuous residence 

in a an NF may include temporary absences for hospitalization 

and or therapeutic leave and may consist of consecutive 

residences in more than one NF. 

G. Placement of an individual with MI, ID, or MR/RC RC in 

a an NF may be considered appropriate only when the 

individual's needs are such that he or she the individual meets 

the minimum standards for admission and his or her needs for 

treatment the individual's treatment needs do not exceed the 

level of services which that can be delivered in the NF to which 

the individual is admitted either through NF services alone or, 

where necessary, through NF services supplemented by 

specialized services provided by or arranged for by the state. 

12VAC30-130-200. PASARR Preadmission screening and 

resident review evaluation criteria. 

A. The state's PASARR preadmission screening and resident 

review (PASRR) program must identify all individuals who are 

suspected of having MI, ID, or MR/RC related conditions 

(RCs) as defined herein in this part. The identification function 

and determination that NF criteria is met is termed Level I. 

Level II is the function of evaluating and determining whether 

NF placement is appropriate to meet the individual's 

MH/MR/RC needs and whether nursing facility (NF) level of 

services and specialized services are needed. 

B. Evaluations performed under PASARR PASRR and 

PASARR PASRR notices must be adapted to the cultural 

background, language, ethnic origin, and means of 

communication used by the individual being evaluated. 

PASARR Preadmission screening and resident review 

evaluations must involve the individual being evaluated, the 

individual's legal representative, if one has been designated 
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under state law, and the individual's family if available and the 

individual or the legal representative agrees to family 

participation. When parts of a PASARR PASRR evaluation are 

performed by more than one evaluator, there must be 

interdisciplinary coordination among the evaluators. 

C. All information that is necessary for determining whether 

it is appropriate for the individual with MI, ID, or MR/RC RC 

to be placed in a an NF or in another appropriate setting should 

be gathered throughout all applicable portions of the PASARR 

PASRR evaluation. The determinations relating to the need for 

NF level of care and specialized services are interrelated and 

must be based upon a comprehensive analysis of all data 

concerning the individual. 

D. Evaluators may use relevant evaluative data, obtained 

prior to initiation of preadmission screening or annual resident 

review, if the data are considered valid and accurate and reflect 

the current functional status of the individual. However, in the 

case of individualized evaluations, the PASARR PASRR 

program may need to gather additional information to 

supplement and verify the currency and accuracy of existing 

data and to assess proper placement and treatment. 

E. For individualized PASARR PASRR determinations, 

findings must be issued in the form of a written evaluative 

report which that (i) identifies the name and professional title 

of person(s) the person who performed the evaluation(s) 

evaluation and the date on which each portion of the evaluation 

was administered; (ii) provides a summary of the medical and 

social history, including the positive traits or developmental 

strengths and weaknesses or developmental needs of the 

evaluated individual; (iii) if NF services are recommended, 

identifies the specific services which that are required to meet 

the evaluated individual's needs; (iv) if specialized services are 

not recommended, identifies any specific MR/RC ID, RC, or 

MH mental health services which that are of a lesser intensity 

than specialized services that are required to meet the evaluated 

individual's needs; (v) if specialized services are 

recommended, identifies the specific MR/RC ID, RC, or MH 

mental health services required to meet the evaluated 

individual's needs; and (vi) includes the basis for the report's 

conclusions. 

F. For categorical PASARR PASRR determinations, findings 

must be issued in the form of an abbreviated written evaluative 

report which that (i) identifies the name and professional title 

of the person applying the categorical determination and the 

data on which the application was made; (ii) explains the 

categorical determination(s) determination that has (have) 

been made; (iii) identifies, to the extent possible, based on the 

available data, NF services, including any mental health or 

specialized psychiatric rehabilitative services, that may be 

needed; and (iv) includes the bases for the report's conclusions. 

G. For both categorical and individualized determinations, 

findings of the evaluation must correspond to the person's 

current functional status, mental health, and mental retardation 

ID status as documented in medical and social history records. 

Findings of the evaluation must be interpreted and explained 

to the individual and, where applicable, to a legal 

representative designed designated under state law by the 

assessment team or the MH/MRA SMHA/SIDA. The 

evaluation report must be sent to the individual and his the 

individual's legal representative, appropriate state authority in 

sufficient time to meet the required time frames timeframes, 

admitting or retaining NF, individual's attending physician, 

and the discharging hospital if the individual is seeking NF 

admission from a hospital. The determination decision must be 

provided to the Level I screener in a format enabling electronic 

entry and tracking of the results. The evaluation may be 

terminated at any time during the evaluation that the individual 

being evaluated does not have MI or MR/RC, ID, or RC or has 

a primary diagnosis of dementia, including Alzheimer's 

Disease or a related disorder, or a nonprimary diagnosis of 

dementia without a primary diagnosis that is a serious mental 

illness, and does not have a diagnosis of MR ID or a related 

condition. 

12VAC30-130-210. Specialized services. 

A. For mental illness, specialized services means the services 

specified by the state which that, combined with services 

provided by the NF nursing facility (NF), results result in the 

continuous and aggressive implementation of an 

individualized plan of care that: 

1. Is developed and supervised by an interdisciplinary team, 

which includes a physician, qualified mental health 

professionals, and as appropriate, other professionals; 

2. Prescribes specific therapies and activities for the 

treatment of persons experiencing an acute episode of 

serious mental illness which that necessitates supervision by 

trained mental health personnel; 

3. Is directed toward diagnosing and reducing the resident's 

behavioral symptoms that may necessitate 

institutionalization, improving his or her the resident's level 

of independent functioning, and achieving a functioning 

level that permits reduction in the intensity of mental health 

services to below the level of specialized services at the 

earliest possible time; and 

4. Prescribes inpatient psychiatric services for any individual 

determined to be a danger to self or others. For nursing 

facility NF residents who are determined to be a danger to 

self or others due to mental illness, the nursing facility NF 

must coordinate admission to an inpatient psychiatric 

hospital. 

B. For mental retardation ID or related conditions, specialized 

services means the services specified by the state which that, 

combined with services provided by the NF or other service 

providers, results in treatment which that includes aggressive, 

consistent implementation of a program of specialized and 
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generic training, treatment, health services, and related 

services that is directed toward the following; 

1. The acquisition of the behaviors necessary for the 

individual to function with as much self-determination and 

independence as possible; and 

2. The prevention or deceleration of regression or loss of 

current optimal functional status. 

C. The state must provide or arrange for the provision of 

specialized services to all NF residents with MI or MR/RC, ID, 

or RC whose needs are such that continuous supervision, 

treatment, and training by qualified MH/MR personnel is 

necessary as identified by their Level I and II assessments. The 

NF must provide MH or MR/RC MI, ID, or RC services which 

that are of a lesser intensity than specialized services to all 

residents who need such services. 

1. Services that shall be the responsibility of the nursing 

facility NF to provide to residents shall include, but are not 

limited to: 

a. Physical therapy; 

b. Speech-language pathology services; 

c. Occupational therapy; 

d. Restorative nursing; 

e. Behavior management interventions that do not require 

ongoing consultation and monitoring by a licensed 

psychiatrist or psychologist; 

f. Basic grooming and hygiene needs; 

g. Nutritional needs, including supplements and assistance 

with eating; 

h. Adjustment needs resulting from admission to a nursing 

facility an NF and ongoing psychosocial emotional 

support; and 

i. Noncustomized durable medical equipment and 

supplies. 

2. Specialized services for the purposes of PASARR 

preadmission screening and resident review shall include the 

following. The State Mental Health or Mental Retardation 

Authority SMHA/SIDA shall ensure the provision of 

specialized services when they are provided by a non-

Medicaid-enrolled provider or when the services are not 

covered by Medicaid. 

a. Partial hospitalization; 

b. Transportation to Medicaid-covered services or 

specialized services necessary to treat conditions of 

mental illness or mental retardation ID; 

c. Day health and rehabilitation; 

d. Psychosocial rehabilitation; 

e. Crisis intervention; 

f. Customized durable medical equipment, for residents 

without a patient pay, that would allow the resident to 

participate in specialized services; 

g. Behavior management interventions requiring ongoing 

consultation and monitoring by a licensed psychiatrist or 

psychologist; 

h. One-to-one supervision necessary for behavior 

management; 

i. Vision and hearing needs related to mental illness or 

mental retardation ID for persons over age older than 21 

years of age; 

j. Dental needs resulting from mental illness or mental 

retardation ID sequela for persons over age older than 21 

years of age; 

k. Habilitation; 

l. Supported employment for persons with mental illness 

or mental retardation ID; 

m. Case management services; 

n. Individual psychotherapy; 

o. Day treatment; 

p. Individual and group counseling; and 

q. Inpatient psychiatric care. 

12VAC30-130-220. Placement options. 

A. The placement options and required state actions resulting 

from PASARR preadmission screening and resident review 

(PASRR) are as follows: 

1. Can be admitted to a NF nursing facility (NF). Any 

applicant for admission to a an NF who has MI or MR/RC, 

ID, or related conditions (RCs) and who requires the level of 

services provided by a an NF, regardless of whether 

specialized services are also needed, may be admitted to a 

an NF, if the placement is appropriate. If specialized services 

are also needed, the state is responsible for providing or 

arranging for the provision of the specialized services. 

2. Cannot be admitted to a an NF. Any applicant for 

admission to a an NF who has MI or MR/RC, ID, or RC and 

who does not require the level of services provided by a an 

NF, regardless of whether specialized services are also 

needed, is inappropriate for NF placement and must be not 

be admitted. 

3. Can be considered appropriate for continued placement in 

a an NF. Any NF resident with MI or MR/RC, ID, or RC 

who requires the level of services provided by a an NF, 

regardless of the length of his or her the resident's stay or the 

need for specialized services, can continue to reside in the 

NF, if the placement is appropriate. 

4. May choose to remain in the NF even though the 

placement would otherwise be inappropriate. Any NF 

resident with MI or MR/RC, ID, or RC who does not require 

the level of services provided by the NF but does require 
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specialized services and who has continuously resided in a 

an NF for at least 30 consecutive months before the date of 

determination may choose to continue to reside in the facility 

or to receive covered services in an alternative appropriate 

institutional or noninstitutional setting. Wherever the 

resident chooses to reside, the state must meet his or her the 

resident's specialized services needs. The determination 

notice must provide information concerning how, when, and 

by whom the various placement options available to the 

resident will be fully explained to the resident. 

5. Cannot be considered appropriate for continued 

placement in a an NF and must be discharged (short-term 

residents). Any NF resident with MI or MR/RC, ID, or RC 

who does not require the level of services provided by a an 

NF but does require specialized services and who has resided 

in a an NF for less than 30 consecutive months must be 

discharged to an appropriate setting where the state must 

provide specialized services. The determination notice must 

provide information on how, when, and by whom the 

resident will be advised of discharge arrangements and of 

his/her the resident's appeal rights under both PASARR 

PASRR and discharge provisions. 

6. Cannot be considered appropriate for continued 

placement in a an NF and must be discharged (short-term or 

long-term residents). Any NF resident with MI or MR/RC, 

ID, or RC who does not require the level of services provided 

by a an NF and does not require specialized services 

regardless of his or her the resident's length of stay, must be 

discharged. The determination notice must provide 

information on how, when, and by whom the resident will 

be advised of discharge arrangements and of his or her the 

resident's appeal rights under both PASARR PASRR and 

discharge provisions. 

7. Specialized services needed in a an NF. If a determination 

is made to admit or allow to remain in a an NF any individual 

who requires specialized services, the determination must be 

supported by assurances that the specialized services that are 

needed can and will be provided or arranged for in a timely 

manner by the state in which the individual resides in the NF. 

B. The state PASARR PASRR system shall maintain records 

of evaluations and determinations, regardless of whether they 

are performed categorically or individually, in order to support 

its determinations and actions and to protect the appeal rights 

of individuals subjected to PASARR PASRR. The state 

PASARR PASRR system shall establish and maintain a 

tracking system for all individuals with MI or MR/RC, ID, or 

RC in NFs to ensure that appeals and future reviews are 

performed. 

12VAC30-130-230. Evaluating the need for NF nursing 

facility services and NF level of care (PASARR/NF). 

A. For each applicant for admission to a NF nursing facility 

(NF) and each NF resident who has MI or MR/RC, ID, or RC, 

the evaluator must assess whether (i) the applicant's or 

resident's total needs are such that his the applicant's or 

resident's needs can be met in an appropriate community 

setting; (ii) the individual's total needs are such that they can 

be met only on an inpatient basis, which may include the option 

of placement in a home and community-based services waiver 

program, but for which the inpatient care would be required; 

(iii) if inpatient care is appropriate and desired, the NF is an 

appropriate institutional setting for meeting those needs; or (iv) 

if the inpatient care is appropriate and desired but the NF is not 

the appropriate setting for meeting the individual's needs, 

another setting such as an ICF/MR intermediate care facility 

for persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities 

(including small, community-based facilities), an IMD 

intermediate care facility providing services to individuals 

ages 65 or older, or a psychiatric hospital is an appropriate 

institutional setting for meeting those needs. 

B. In determining appropriate placement, the evaluator must 

prioritize the physical and mental needs of the individual being 

evaluated, taking into account the severity of each condition. 

C. For individuals for whom NF placement is considered an 

appropriate option by the evaluator, per the evaluation in 

subsections A and B of this section, the evaluator must assess 

what services for MI or ID the individual may need that are 

offered as part of standard NF services, including behavioral 

health services and specialized rehabilitative services as 

described in 42 CFR 483.30 and 42 CFR 483.65. At a 

minimum the data relied on to make a determination must 

include: (i) evaluation of physical status (for example, 

diagnoses, date of onset, medical history, and prognosis); (ii) 

evaluation of mental status (for example, diagnoses, date of 

onset, medical history, likelihood that the individual may be a 

danger to himself/herself self or others); and (iii) functional 

assessment (activities of daily living). 

D. Based on the data compiled, the MH/MRA SMHA/SIDA 

must determine whether an NF level of services is needed. 

12VAC30-130-240. Evaluating whether an individual with 

MI requires specialized services (PASARR/MI) the need 

for specialized services. 

A. The purpose of this section is to identify the minimum data 

needs and process requirements for the state MHA 

SMHA/SIDA, which is responsible for determining whether or 

not the applicant or resident with MI needs a specialized 

services program for mental illness. 

B. Minimum data collected must include: 

1. A comprehensive history and physical examination of the 

person. If the history and physical examination are not 

performed by a physician, then a physician must review and 

concur with the conclusions. The following areas must be 

included (if not previously addressed): complete medical 

history; review of all body systems; specific evaluation of 

the person's neurological system in the areas of motor 
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functioning, sensory functioning, gait, deep tendon reflexes, 

cranial nerves, and abnormal reflexes; and in case of 

abnormal findings which that are the basis for a NF nursing 

facility (NF) placement, additional evaluations conducted by 

appropriate specialists. 

2. A comprehensive drug history, including current or 

immediate past use of medications that could mask 

symptoms or mimic mental illness. 

3. A psychological evaluation of the person, including 

current living arrangements and medical and support 

systems. 

4. A comprehensive psychiatric evaluation, including a 

complete psychiatric history, evaluation of intellectual 

functioning, memory functioning, and orientation, 

description of current attitudes and overt behaviors, affect, 

suicidal or homicidal ideation, paranoia, and degree of 

reality testing (presence and content of delusions) and 

hallucinations. 

5. A functional assessment of the individual's ability to 

engage in activities of daily living and the level of support 

that would be needed to assist the individual to perform these 

activities while living in the community. The assessment 

must determine whether this level of support can be provided 

to the individual in an alternative community setting or 

whether the level of support needed is such that NF 

placement is required. The functional assessment must 

address the following areas: Self-monitoring self-

monitoring of health status,; self-administering and 

scheduling of medical treatment, including medication 

compliance, or both,; and self-monitoring of nutritional 

status, handling money, dressing appropriately, and 

grooming. 

C. The state may designate the mental health professionals 

who are qualified to perform the evaluations required, 

including the comprehensive drug history;, psychosocial 

evaluation;, comprehensive psychiatric evaluation;, and 

functional assessment; and to make the determination required. 

D. Based on the data compiled, a qualified mental health 

professional, as designated by the state, must validate the 

diagnosis of mental illness and determine whether a program 

of psychiatric specialized services is needed. 

12VAC30-130-250. Evaluating whether an individual with 

MR/RC mental illness, intellectual disability, or related 

conditions requires specialized services (PASARR/MR). 

A. The purpose of this section is to identify the minimum data 

needs and process requirements for the state MRA 

SMHA/SIDA to determine whether or not the applicant or 

resident with mental retardation ID or a related condition needs 

a continuous specialized services program. Minimum data 

collected must include the individual's comprehensive history 

and physical examination results to identify the following 

information or, in the absence of data, must include 

information that permits a reviewer specifically to assess: 

1. The individual's medical problems; 

2. The level of impact these problems have on the 

individual's independent functioning; 

3. All current medications used by the individual and the 

current response of the individual to any prescribed 

medications in the following drug groups: hypnotics, 

antipsychotics (neuroleptics), mood stabilizers and 

antidepressants, antianxiety-sedative agents, and anti-

Parkinsonian agents.; 

4. Self-monitoring of health status; 

5. Self-administering and scheduling of medical treatments; 

6. Self-monitoring of nutritional status; 

7. Self-help development, such as toileting, dressing, 

grooming, and eating; 

8. Sensorimotor development, such as ambulation, 

positioning, transfer skills, gross motor dexterity, visual 

motor perception, fine motor dexterity, eye-hand 

coordination, and extent to which prosthetic, orthotic, 

corrective or mechanical supportive devices can improve the 

individual's functional capacity; 

9. Speech and language (communication) development, such 

as expressive language (verbal and nonverbal), receptive 

language (verbal and nonverbal), extent to which nonoral 

communication systems can improve the individual's 

function capacity, auditory functioning, and extent to which 

amplification devices (e.g., hearing aid) or a program of 

amplification can improve the individual's functional 

capacity; 

10. Social development, such as interpersonal skills, 

recreation-leisure skills, and relationships with others; 

11. Academic/educational Academic or educational 

development, including functional learning skills; 

12. Independent living development, such as meal 

preparation, budgeting and personal finances, survival skills, 

mobility skills (orientation to the neighborhood, town, city), 

laundry, housekeeping, shopping, bed making, care of 

clothing, and orientation skills (for individuals with visual 

impairments); 

13. Vocational development, including present vocational 

skills; 

14. Affective development, such as interests, and skills 

involved with expressing emotions, making judgments, and 

making independent decisions; and 

15. The presence of identifiable maladaptive or 

inappropriate behaviors of the individual based on 

systematic observation (, including, but not limited to, the 
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frequency and intensity of identified maladaptive or 

inappropriate behaviors). 

B. The state must ensure that a licensed psychologist 

identifies the intellectual functioning measurement of 

individuals with MR ID or a related condition. Based on the 

data compiled, the MRA SMHA/SIDA, using appropriate 

personnel as designated by the state, must validate that the 

individual has MR ID or is a person with a related condition 

and must determine whether specialized services for MR/RC 

ID and related conditions are needed. In making this 

determination, the MHA SMHA/SIDA must make a 

qualitative judgment on the extent to which the person's status 

reflects, singly and collectively, the characteristics commonly 

associated with the need for specialized services, including: 

1. Inability to take care of most personal care needs; 

understand simple commands; communicate basic needs and 

wants; be employed at a productive wage level without 

systematic long term supervision or support; learn new skills 

without aggressive and consistent training; apply skills 

learned in a training situation to other environments or 

settings without aggressive and consistent training; 

demonstrate behavior appropriate to the time, situation, or 

place without direct supervision; and make decisions 

requiring informed consent without extreme difficulty; 

2. Demonstration of severe maladaptive behavior(s) 

behavior that place the person or others in jeopardy to health 

and safety; and 

3. Presence of other skill deficits or specialized training 

needs that necessitate the availability of trained MR ID 

personnel, 24 hours per day, to teach the person functional 

skills. 

12VAC30-130-260. Appeals. 

A. Following notification to the NF nursing facility (NF) of 

the Level II assessment evaluation and determination by the 

state MH/MRA SMHA/SIDA, the NF must inform the 

individual of the decision indicating the reasons for acceptance 

or denial and the method of appeal. Any individual, regardless 

of method of payment, who wishes to appeal the decision of 

the Level II evaluation and determination may do so by 

sending written notification to the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS), Division of Client Appeals. 

B. Decisions made by the annual resident review teams shall 

also be appealable to DMAS. The reviewed individual shall 

send written notification to DMAS, Division of Client 

Appeals. 

C. All appeal requests must be made within 30 days of the 

individual's notification of the review decision. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6611; Filed December 22, 2021, 9:41 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, 

and Home Inspectors is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of 

the Administrative Process Act in accordance with (i) § 2.2-4006 

A 6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the 

regulatory boards served by the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and 

applicants; and (ii) § 2.2-4006 A 3 of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that consist only of changes in style or form 

or corrections of technical errors. The Virginia Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Home Inspector 

Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC15-40-32, 

18VAC15-40-35, 18VAC15-40-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) reduce the renewal and reinstatement 

fees for home inspector licenses and home inspector with 

new residential structures specialty licenses until February 

2024 to comply with § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia; and 

(ii) correct a technical error in regulatory text.  

18VAC15-40-32. Qualifications for licensure. 

A. An applicant for licensure as a home inspector shall furnish 

documentation acceptable to the board that one of the 

qualifications for licensure in Table 1 has been met. 

TABLE 1 

 Board-approved 

prelicense 

education course 

contact hours 

Experience 

Passed the 

board-

approved 

examination 

1. 35 Completion of 

100 home 

inspections 

prior to July 

1, 2017 

Yes 

mailto:alhi@dpor.virginia.gov
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2. 35 Completion of 

50 home 

inspections 

under the 

direct 

supervision of 

a home 

inspector 

Yes 

3. 70 Completion of 

50 home 

inspections 

prior to July 

1, 2017 

Yes 

4. 70 Completion of 

25 home 

inspections 

under the 

direct 

supervision of 

a home 

inspector 

Yes 

5. None Verification 

of 10 years' 

experience as 

a home 

inspector 

prior to July 

1, 2017, with 

a minimum of 

250 home 

inspections 

completed 

during such 

time period 

Yes 

B. Prelicense education courses must be approved by the 

board pursuant to Part VI (18VAC15-40-120 18VAC15-40-

200 et seq.) of this chapter. No more than half of the required 

hours may be completed using distance or online education 

technology. 

C. Verification of home inspections completed under the 

direct supervision of a home inspector must be provided by an 

individual who was properly licensed or certified by the board 

during the applicable time period. 

D. The National Home Inspector Examination provided by 

the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors is the 

board-approved examination pursuant to § 54.1-517.2 A 2 c of 

the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC15-40-35. Qualifications for the new residential 

structure specialty. 

To obtain the NRS specialty, the applicant shall submit the 

appropriate application form and fee pursuant to 18VAC15-

40-50 and meet the following qualifications: 

1. Hold a current and valid home inspector license. An 

applicant who does not hold a current and valid home 

inspector license shall apply for such licensure and meet the 

requirements contained in 18VAC15-40-30 and 18VAC15-

40-32. 

2. Submit proof of successful completion of an NRS training 

module approved by the board pursuant to Part VI 

(18VAC15-40-120 18VAC15-40-200 et seq.) of this chapter 

and completed no more than two years prior to the date of 

application. 

18VAC15-40-50. Fees. 

Fee type 
Fee 

amount 
When due 

Initial home 

inspector application 

$80 With 

application for 

home inspector 

Initial NRS specialty 

application 

$80 With 

application for 

NRS specialty 

designation 

Home inspector 

renewal 

$45 With renewal 

application 

Home inspector with 

NRS specialty 

renewal 

$90 
With renewal 

application 

Home inspector 

reinstatement 

$125 With 

reinstatement 

application 

Home inspector with 

NRS specialty 

reinstatement 

$170 With 

reinstatement 

application 

Prelicense education 

course approval 

$250 With prelicense 

education 

course approval 

application 

NRS training 

module approval 

$150 With NRS 

training module 

approval 

application 

NRS CPE course 

approval 

$150 With NRS CPE 

course approval 

application 

For licenses expiring after February 1, 2018, and before 

February 1, 2020, the renewal fees shall be as follows: 

Home inspector renewal $25 

Home inspector with NRS specialty renewal $50 
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For reinstatement applications received after March 1, 2018, 

and on or before February 29, 2020, the reinstatement fees 

shall be as follows: 

Home inspector reinstatement $105 

Home inspector with NRS specialty 

reinstatement 

$130 

For licenses expiring after February 1, 2020, and before 

February 1, 2022, the renewal fees shall be as follows: 

Home inspector renewal $40 

Home inspector with NRS specialty 

renewal 

$80 

For reinstatement applications received after March 1, 2020, 

and on or before February 28, 2022, the reinstatement fees 

shall be as follows: 

Home inspector reinstatement $120 

Home inspector with NRS specialty 

reinstatement 

$160 

For licenses expiring after February 1, 2022, and before 

February 1, 2024, the renewal fees shall be as follows: 

Home inspector renewal $25 

Home inspector with NRS specialty 

renewal 

$50 

For reinstatement applications received after March 1, 2022, 

and on or before February 29, 2024, the reinstatement fees 

shall be as follows: 

Home inspector reinstatement $105 

Home inspector with NRS specialty 

reinstatement 

$130 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (18VAC15-40) 

Home Inspector License Application, A506-3380LIC-v3 (eff. 

9/2017) 

Home Inspector NRS Specialty Designation Application, 

A506-3380NRS-v1 (eff. 7/2017) 

Home Inspector Experience Verification Form, A506-

3380EXP-v7 (eff. 9/2017) 

Home Inspectors – Inspection Log, A506-3380ILOG-v1 (eff. 

9/2017) 

Home Inspector Reinstatement Application, A506-3380REI-

v3 (eff. 2/2020) 

Home Inspector Reinstatement Application, A506-3380REI-

v4 (eff. 2/2022) 

Home Inspector - Course Approval Application, Prelicense 

Education Course/NRS Training Module/NRS CPE, A506-

3331HICRS-v3 (eff. 2/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6987; Filed January 3, 2022, 10:23 a.m. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-10, 

18VAC60-21-60; adding 18VAC60-21-165). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 18, 2022 - noon - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Building, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

2nd Floor, Board Room 4, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-2708.5 of the 

Code of Virginia provides for digital scans for use in the 

practice of dentistry and the practice of digital scan 

technicians. 

Purpose: Provisions of Chapters 37 and 220 of the 2020 Acts 

of the Assembly set out the safeguards that must be in place for 

the practice of teledentistry, including the training and 

supervision of a digital scan technician if used in the practice. 

The purpose of the regulation is to specify the responsibility of 

the dentist for such training and supervision in order to protect 

the safety and health of patients receiving dental care via 

teledentistry. 

Substance: The proposed regulation will establish 

requirements for a training program approved by the board to 

take digital scans of intraoral and extraoral hard and soft tissues 

for use in teledentistry; set out the responsibilities of the dentist 

for the practice of teledentistry and the training and supervision 

of a digital scan technician; and establish requirements for 

records that may be requested by the board. 

Issues: The primary advantage to private citizens is that digital 

scan technicians will be required to have board-approved 

training prior to performing digital scans on a patient, thereby 

ensuring the safety of patients who receive digital dental scans 

outside of a dentist's office. There are no disadvantages to the 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/c0dda005264~51.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/c0dda005264~51.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/79f02005264~22.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/79f02005264~22.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/19f80005264~33.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/19f80005264~33.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/41c4b005264~44.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/41c4b005264~44.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/A506-3380REI-v4_02-01-2022-20211129093720.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/A506-3380REI-v4_02-01-2022-20211129093720.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/A506-3331HICRS-vs3_02-21-2020_pdf-20210210093309.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/A506-3331HICRS-vs3_02-21-2020_pdf-20210210093309.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC15/forms/A506-3331HICRS-vs3_02-21-2020_pdf-20210210093309.pdf
mailto:sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov
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public. There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

response to Chapters 37 and 220 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly,1 the Board of Dentistry (Board) proposes to require 

dentists to ensure that digital scan technicians that engage in 

the practice of teledentistry are trained and supervised. 

Background. According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), the impetus for Chapters 37 and 220 was 

complaints expressed by Virginia residents who were 

improperly fitted for dental appliances provided by dental 

improvement companies. Dental scans taken of a patient's oral 

cavity serve as the blueprint for the fitting and fabricating of 

dental appliances. Improper or inaccurate dental scans often 

result in ill-fitting dental appliances, causing pain and 

discomfort. Although dental improvement companies fall 

under the Virginia definition of teledentistry, the Board does 

not regulate such businesses. 

In response to these concerns, the Virginia General Assembly 

enacted Chapters 37 and 220. The legislation requires dental 

scan technicians to practice under the supervision of a dentist 

licensed in Virginia and to complete training approved by the 

Board. Although the legislation authorizes the Board to 

approve training programs for digital scan technicians and 

require dentists to ensure technicians have received 

appropriate training, it does not authorize the direct regulation 

of digital scan technicians. According to DHP, "the board does 

not have the statutory authority to license, certify, or register 

digital scan technicians. The [Virginia] Code requires the 

board to approve training and does not grant authority to 

regulate digital scan technicians." 

Instead, the Board is authorized to regulate dentists and the 

Board proposes to require dentists to supervise and ensure that 

technicians complete training offered by any of the following: 

1) Any sponsor listed in subsection C of 18VAC60-21-250;2 2) 

The American Association of Orthodontists and their 

constituent and component/branch associations, including the 

Virginia Association of Orthodontists; or 3) A training 

program certified by the manufacturer of the digital scanner. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. As evident from the consumer 

complaints the Board has received, the use of digital scans in 

the dental industry is not new, though DHP does not have data 

to assess its extent. For a variety of concerns such as consumer 

satisfaction, liability, and productivity, it would be reasonable 

to assume that it is also in the best interests of dentists and 

manufacturers of the scans that such technicians are equipped 

with proper training. Thus, it is likely most digital scan 

technicians are already provided some basic skills. The main 

purpose and effect of the legislation and the proposed 

regulatory language is to strengthen enforcement. Currently, 

the Board does not have authority to take action against 

dentists who may be employing untrained technicians in the 

practice of teledentistry.3 To the extent the proposed changes 

deter unscrupulous or untrained individuals from participating 

in teledentistry, health and safety risks to patients should be 

mitigated to some degree. 

The proposed language does not specify the scope of training, 

only that the technician receive training provided by one of the 

entities listed above and is under the supervision of the dentist. 

Thus, there appears to be flexibility in designing the contents, 

length, and the method of training, which would ultimately 

determine its cost. It appears the most common form of training 

is by the manufacturers offered online free of charge to 

promote their equipment, and the Board is proposing to 

authorize this training and also the two additional sources 

noted above. There are no fees associated with this action, and 

no requirement for a scan technician to attend subsequent 

digital scan training sessions after initial training is complete. 

However, the Board currently does not have an estimate on 

what the training could cost. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments directly affect dentists who employ digital scan 

technicians in the practice of teledentistry, and indirectly 

affects the technicians themselves. The Board does not have 

information on the number of entities that are likely to be 

affected by the regulatory change. The 2020 legislation 

requires a Virginia license for any dentist who directs the 

taking of a digital scan via teledentistry, but there is no 

identifiable license for teledentistry. While the Board does not 

have specific data on dentists practicing by teledentistry, it 

notes that there was a substantial increase in the number of 

applicants for licensure from out-of-state in fiscal (FY) 2021; 

in FY 2020, there were 184 applicants from out-of-state and in 

FY 2021 there were 259 such applicants. No adverse economic 

impact4 on any entities is indicated. 

Small Businesses5 Affected. Although the proposed regulation 

applies to any dentist employing digital scan technicians in the 

practice of teledentistry, the Board reports that most dentists 

who are affected would likely be employees of a national 

corporation. No adverse economic impact on small businesses 

is indicated. 

Localities6 Affected.7 No effect on localities is expected. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes 

should deter untrained individuals from participating in 

teledentistry. Otherwise, no effect on total employment is 

expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

changes do not appear to have an effect on the use and value 

of private property or the real estate development costs. 

______________________________ 
1https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP0037 & 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP0220 
2https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency60/chapter21/ 

section250/ 
3It should be noted that the scope of the proposed changes is limited to use of 

digital scans in the practice of teledentistry (i.e., taking of digital dental scans 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0037
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0220
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency60/chapter21/section250/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency60/chapter21/section250/
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outside of a dentist's office). If the digital scans are taken at a dentist office, 

the Board already has authority to take action against the dentist. 
4Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Dentistry concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 37 and 220 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the proposed amendments (i) define a digital 

scan technician, as used in teledentistry, (ii) establish 

requirements for the training of technicians to practice 

under the direction of a dentist licensed in Virginia, and 

(iii) list the documentation a dentist providing direction to 

digital scan technician is responsible to make available to 

the board. 

18VAC60-21-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

"Appliance" 

"Board" 

"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"Digital scan" 

"Digital scan technician" 

"Digital work order" 

"License" 

"Maxillofacial" 

"Oral and maxillofacial surgeon" 

"Teledentistry" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"AAOMS" means the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons. 

"ADA" means the American Dental Association. 

"Advertising" means a representation or other notice given 

to the public or members thereof, directly or indirectly, by a 

dentist on behalf of himself, his facility, his partner or 

associate, or any dentist affiliated with the dentist or his 

facility by any means or method for the purpose of inducing 

purchase, sale, or use of dental methods, services, 

treatments, operations, procedures, or products, or to 

promote continued or increased use of such dental methods, 

treatments, operations, procedures, or products. 

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 

the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual serving 

in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical capacity. 

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction and 

direct supervision of a dentist who is registered by the board 

to perform reversible, intraoral procedures as specified in 

18VAC60-21-150 and 18VAC60-21-160. 

"Mobile dental facility" means a self-contained unit in which 

dentistry is practiced that is not confined to a single building 

and can be transported from one location to another. 

"Nonsurgical laser" means a laser that is not capable of 

cutting or removing hard tissue, soft tissue, or tooth 

structure. 

"Portable dental operation" means a nonfacility in which 

dental equipment used in the practice of dentistry is 

transported to and utilized on a temporary basis at an out-of-

office location, including patients' homes, schools, nursing 

homes, or other institutions. 

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral radiographic 

images of hard and soft tissues used for purposes of 

diagnosis. 

C. The following words and terms relating to supervision as 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Direct supervision" means that the dentist examines the 

patient and records diagnostic findings prior to delegating 

restorative or prosthetic treatment and related services to a 

dental assistant II for completion the same day or at a later 

date. The dentist prepares the tooth or teeth to be restored 

and remains immediately available in the office to the dental 

assistant II for guidance or assistance during the delivery of 

treatment and related services. The dentist examines the 

patient to evaluate the treatment and services before the 

patient is dismissed. 
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"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., immediate, 

direct, indirect, or general, or remote) that a dentist is 

required to exercise with a dental hygienist, a dental assistant 

I, a dental assistant II, or a certified registered nurse 

anesthetist or the level of supervision that a dental hygienist 

is required to exercise with a dental assistant to direct and 

oversee the delivery of treatment and related services. For 

the purpose of supervision of a digital scan technician, 

direction means the written or electronic instructions 

provided by a dentist licensed in Virginia to a digital scan 

technician in the form of a work order for a digital scan of a 

patient and the dentist's specified availability to consult with 

the technician while the scan is being taken. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and 

issues a written order for hygiene treatment that states the 

specific services to be provided by a dental hygienist during 

one or more subsequent appointments when the dentist may 

or may not be present. Issuance of the order authorizes the 

dental hygienist to supervise a dental assistant performing 

duties delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Immediate supervision" means the dentist is in the 

operatory to supervise the administration of sedation or 

provision of treatment. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 

patient at some point during the appointment and is 

continuously present in the office to advise and assist a 

dental hygienist , a dental assistant, or a certified registered 

nurse anesthetist who is (i) delivering hygiene treatment, (ii) 

preparing the patient for examination or treatment by the 

dentist, (iii) preparing the patient for dismissal following 

treatment, or (iv) administering topical local anesthetic, 

sedation, or anesthesia as authorized by law or regulation. 

"Remote supervision" means that a supervising dentist is 

accessible and available for communication and consultation 

with a dental hygienist during the delivery of dental hygiene 

services but such dentist may not have conducted an initial 

examination of the patients who are to be seen and treated 

by the dental hygienist and may not be present with the 

dental hygienist when dental hygiene services are being 

provided. For the purpose of practice by a public health 

dental hygienist, "remote supervision" means that a public 

health dentist has regular, periodic communications with a 

public health dental hygienist regarding patient treatment, 

but such dentist may not have conducted an initial 

examination of the patients who are to be seen and treated 

by the dental hygienist and may not be present with the 

dental hygienist when dental hygiene services are being 

provided. For the purpose of supervision of a digital scan 

technician, remote supervision means that a directing dentist 

is accessible and available for communication and 

consultation in the practice of teledentistry. 

D. The following words and terms relating to sedation or 

anesthesia as used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain. 

"Continual" or "continually" means repeated regularly and 

frequently in a steady succession. 

"Continuous" or "continuously" means prolonged without 

any interruption at any time. 

"Deep sedation" means a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness during which patients cannot be easily 

aroused but respond purposefully following repeated or 

painful stimulation. Reflex withdrawal from a painful 

stimulus is not considered a purposeful response. The ability 

to independently maintain ventilatory function may be 

impaired. Patients may require assistance in maintaining a 

patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be 

inadequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained. 

"General anesthesia" means a drug-induced loss of 

consciousness during which patients are not arousable, even 

by painful stimulation. The ability to independently maintain 

ventilator function is often impaired. Patients often require 

assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and positive 

pressure ventilation may be required because of depressed 

spontaneous ventilation or drug-induced depression of 

neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular function may be 

impaired. 

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which a 

gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 

introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary effect 

is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed. 

"Inhalation analgesia" means the inhalation of nitrous oxide 

and oxygen to produce a state of reduced sensation of pain 

with minimal alteration of consciousness. 

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Minimal sedation" means a drug-induced state during 

which patients respond normally to verbal commands. 

Although cognitive function and physical coordination may 

be impaired, airway reflexes, and ventilator and 

cardiovascular functions are unaffected. Minimal sedation 

includes the diminution or elimination of anxiety through the 

use of pharmacological agents in a dosage that does not 

cause depression of consciousness and includes "inhalation 

analgesia" when used in combination with any such sedating 

agent administered prior to or during a procedure. 

"Moderate sedation" means a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness, during which patients respond purposefully 

to verbal commands, either alone or accompanied by light 

tactile stimulation. Reflex withdrawal from a painful 
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stimulus is not considered a purposeful response. No 

interventions are required to maintain a patent airway, and 

spontaneous ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular 

function is usually maintained. 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and record 

appropriate physiologic functions of the body during 

sedative procedures and general anesthesia appropriate to 

the level of sedation as provided in Part VII (18VAC60-21-

260 et seq.) of this chapter. 

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 

the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 

intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 

subcutaneous, or intraocular). 

"Provide" means, in the context of regulations for moderate 

sedation or deep sedation/general anesthesia, to supply, give, 

or issue sedating medications. A dentist who does not hold 

the applicable permit cannot be the provider of moderate 

sedation or deep sedation/general anesthesia. 

"Titration" means the incremental increase in drug dosage to 

a level that provides the optimal therapeutic effect of 

sedation. 

"Topical oral anesthetic" means any drug, available in 

creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 

can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral 

cavity insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

18VAC60-21-60. General responsibilities to patients. 

A. A dentist is responsible for conducting his practice in a 

manner that safeguards the safety, health, and welfare of his 

patients and the public by: 

1. Maintaining a safe and sanitary practice, including 

containing or isolating pets away from the treatment areas of 

the dental practice. An exception shall be made for a service 

dog trained to accompany its owner or handler for the 

purpose of carrying items, retrieving objects, pulling a 

wheelchair, alerting the owner or handler to medical 

conditions, or other such activities of service or support 

necessary to mitigate a disability. 

2. Consulting with or referring patients to other practitioners 

with specialized knowledge, skills, and experience when 

needed to safeguard and advance the health of the patient. 

3. Treating according to the patient's desires only to the 

extent that such treatment is within the bounds of accepted 

treatment and only after the patient has been given a 

treatment recommendation and an explanation of the 

acceptable alternatives. 

4. Only delegating patient care and exposure of dental x-rays 

or taking of digital scans to qualified, properly trained, and 

supervised personnel as authorized in Part IV (18VAC60-

21-110 et seq.) of this chapter. 

5. Giving patients at least 30 days written notice of a decision 

to terminate the dentist-patient relationship. 

6. Knowing the signs of abuse and neglect and reporting 

suspected cases to the proper authorities consistent with state 

law. 

7. Accurately representing to a patient and the public the 

materials or methods and techniques to be used in treatment. 

B. A dentist is responsible for conducting his financial 

responsibilities to patients and third party payers in an ethical 

and honest manner by: 

1. Maintaining a listing of customary fees and representing 

all fees being charged clearly and accurately. 

2. Making a full and fair disclosure to his the dentist's patient 

of all terms and considerations before entering into a 

payment agreement for services. 

3. Not obtaining, attempting to obtain, or cooperating with 

others in obtaining payment for services by misrepresenting 

procedures performed, dates of service, or status of 

treatment. 

4. Making a full and fair disclosure to his the dentist's patient 

of any financial incentives he the dentist received for 

promoting or selling products. 

5. Not exploiting the dentist-patient relationship for personal 

gain related in nondental transactions. 

18VAC60-21-165. Delegation to digital scan technicians for 

use in teledentistry.  

A. Any digital scan technician taking intraoral digital scans 

for any appliance, prothesis, crown, or any other permanent or 

removable dental device for which a digital work order is 

required must complete a training program approved by the 

board. Training certification may be earned by verifiable 

participation in any course that is relevant to digital scanning 

that includes programs by any of the following sponsors: 

1. Any sponsor listed in subsection C of 18VAC60-21-250; 

or 

2. A training program certified by the manufacturer of the 

digital scanner. 

B. The dentist under whom a digital scan technician is 

directed to take digital scans shall establish written or 

electronic protocols for: 

1. The practice of teledentistry in compliance with 

subsection C of § 54.1-2711 of the Code of Virginia and any 

other provisions required by the board; and 

2. The performance of digital scans by digital scan 

technicians in compliance with subsection B of § 54.1-

2708.5 of the Code of Virginia.  
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C. The dentist under whom a digital scan technician is 

directed to take digital scans shall be: 

1. Licensed by the board to practice dentistry in the 

Commonwealth; 

2. Accessible and available for communication and 

consultation with the digital scan technician at all times 

during the patient interaction; 

3. Responsible for ensuring that the digital scan technician 

has a program of training approved by the board for such 

purpose; and 

4. Ultimately responsible for determining with the patient or 

the patient's representative the specific treatment the patient 

will receive, which aspects of treatment will be delegated to 

qualified personnel, and the direction required for such 

treatment, in accordance with this chapter and the Code of 

Virginia. 

D. The directing dentist shall make available to the board any 

requested: 

1. Protocols and procedures; 

2. Evidence that a digital scan technician has complied with 

the training requirements of the board; and  

3. All written or electronic work orders used for digital 

scans.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6525; Filed December 30, 2021, 2:22 p.m. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-40. Regulations for the 

Funeral Service Internship Program (amending 18VAC65-

40-90, 18VAC65-40-110, 18VAC65-40-130, 18VAC65-40-

220, 18VAC65-40-250, 18VAC65-40-280, 18VAC65-40-

320, 18VAC65-40-340, 18VAC65-40-640). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2817 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman-Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 

367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 

corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) reduce the number of hours required for 

an internship to 2,000; (ii) require supervisors to register 

for supervision of each intern with an expiration for the 

registration of 48 months or at the completion of the intern's 

training, whichever occurs first, in order to allow the board 

to track active supervisors and make sure supervisors are in 

good standing; (iii) require that interns be identified to the 

public as interns in titles, correspondence, and 

communications with the public; (iv) clarify that a notice of 

renewal may be transmitted electronically, consistent with 

legislation that became effective on July 1, 2018; (v) specify 

that supervision must be provided under a funeral service 

licensee with an unrestricted license and restrict approval of 

supervisors with previous board action within the previous 

two years; (vi) remove language related to deduction of 

credit hours for late intern reports; (vii) clarify that an 

intern may not receive credit for training if the intern fails 

to submit a training report, rather than forfeiting partial 

credit for training; and (viii) clarify that disciplinary action 

may be imposed for failure to comply with the statutes or 

regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC65-40-90. Renewal of registration. 

A. The funeral service intern registration shall expire on 

March 31 of each calendar year and may be renewed by 

submission of the renewal notice and prescribed fee. 

B. A person who fails to renew a registration by the expiration 

date shall be deemed to have an invalid registration. No credit 

will be allowed for an internship period served under an 

expired registration. 

C. The funeral service intern is responsible for notifying the 

board within 14 days of any changes in name, address, 

employment, or supervisor. Any notices shall be validly given 

when mailed to the address on record with the board. Renewal 

notices may be mailed or sent electronically. 

18VAC65-40-110. Reinstatement Renewal or 

reinstatement of expired registration. 

A. A funeral service intern whose registration has expired 

may be reinstated renewed within one year following 

expiration by payment of the current renewal fee and the late 

renewal fee. 

B. A funeral service intern whose registration has been 

expired for more than one year shall apply for reinstatement by 

submission of an application and payment of a reinstatement 

fee. The board may consider reinstatement of an expired 

registration for up to three years following expiration. 

C. When a registration is not reinstated within three years of 

its expiration date, a new application for registration shall be 

filed and a new internship begun. 

18VAC65-40-130. Funeral service internship. 

A. The internship shall consist of at least 3,000 2,000 hours 

of training to be completed within no less than 12 months and 

no more than 48 months. For good cause shown, the The board 

mailto:corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov
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may grant an extension of time for completion of an internship 

only for extenuating circumstances. 

B. The funeral service intern shall be assigned a work 

schedule of not less than 20 hours nor more than 60 hours per 

week in order to receive credit for such training. For good 

cause shown, the board may waive the limitation on an intern's 

work schedule. 

C. A funeral service intern shall receive training in all areas 

of funeral service. 

D. A funeral service intern shall be identified to the public as 

a funeral service intern in a title used, name tag worn, and any 

correspondence or communication in which the intern's name 

is used. 

18VAC65-40-220. Qualifications of training site. 

A. The board shall approve only an establishment or two 

combined establishments to serve as the training site or sites 

that: 

1. Have a full and unrestricted Virginia license; 

2. Have complied in all respects with the provisions of the 

regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers; and 

3. Have 50 or more funerals and 50 or more bodies for 

embalming over a 12-month period for each person to be 

trained. This total must be maintained throughout the period 

of training. If the establishment does not meet the required 

number of funerals or embalmings, the funeral service intern 

may seek approval for an additional training site. 

B. The board may grant approval for a resident trainee an 

intern to receive all or a portion of the embalming training at a 

facility of state or federal government or an accredited 

educational institution. 

18VAC65-40-250. Requirements for supervision. 

A. Training shall be conducted under the direct supervision 

of a licensee or licensees approved by the board. Credit shall 

only be allowed for training under direct supervision. 

B. The board shall approve only funeral service licensees, 

licensed funeral directors, or licensed embalmers to give 

funeral training who have a full and unrestricted Virginia 

funeral license, have at least two consecutive years in practice 

as a funeral service licensee, funeral director, or embalmer and 

are employed full time in or under contract with the 

establishment, facility, or institution where training occurs. 

The board will not approve registration of a supervisor who has 

been subject to board disciplinary action within the most recent 

two years. 

C. A supervisor licensed as an embalmer or a funeral director 

shall provide supervision only in the areas of funeral practice 

for which he is licensed. A supervisor shall ensure that [ a 

funeral service an ] intern receives training under the direct 

supervision of a licensee who has a current license in good 

standing. 

D. A supervisor shall register with the board for each [ funeral 

service ] intern for whom the supervisor is providing 

supervision. Such registration shall expire 48 months after 

registration or at the completion of the intern's training, 

whichever occurs first. If the intern has been granted an 

extension beyond 48 months for extenuating circumstances, 

the supervisor may continue to provide supervision for a time 

period specified by the board. 

D. E. Failure to register as a supervisor may subject the 

licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

E. F. If a supervisor is unable or unwilling to continue 

providing supervision, the funeral service intern shall obtain a 

new supervisor. Credit for training shall resume when a new 

supervisor is approved by the board and the intern has paid the 

prescribed fee for the change of supervisor. 

G. No more than two [ funeral service interns ] shall be 

concurrently registered under any one person licensed for the 

practice of funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming. 

18VAC65-40-280. Supervisor application package. 

A. A licensee seeking approval by the board as a supervisor 

of an intern shall submit a completed application and any 

additional documentation as may be required to determine 

eligibility for each intern to be supervised. 

B. The application for supervision of a funeral service intern 

shall be signed by the establishment manager and by the 

persons who will be providing supervision for embalming and 

for the funeral services. 

18VAC65-40-320. Reports to the board. 

A. The intern, the supervisor or supervisors, and the 

establishment shall submit a written report to the board at the 

end of every 1,000 hours of training. The report shall: 

1. Specify the period of time in which the 1,000 hours has 

been completed and verify that the intern has actually served 

in the required capacity during the preceding period; and 

2. Be received in the board office no later than 14 days 

following the end of the completion of 1,000 hours. Late 

reports may result in additional time being added to the 

internship. 

B. If the internship is terminated or interrupted prior to 

completion of 1,000 hours or if the intern is changing 

supervisors or training sites, the intern and the supervisor shall 

submit a partial report to the board with a written explanation 

of the cause of program termination or interruption or of the 

change in training or supervision. 

1. The partial report shall provide the amount of time served 

and the dates since the last reporting period. Credit for partial 
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reports shall be given for the number of hours of training 

completed. 

2. Partial reports shall be received in the board office no later 

than 14 days after the interruption or termination of the 

internship or after the change in supervisors or training sites. 

Credit may be deducted for late reports. 

18VAC65-40-340. Supervisors' responsibilities. 

A. The supervisor shall provide the intern with all applicable 

laws and regulations or sections of regulations relating to the 

funeral industry. 

B. The supervisor shall provide the intern with copies of and 

instruction in the use of all forms and price lists employed by 

the funeral establishment. 

C. The supervisor shall provide the intern with instruction in 

all aspects of funeral services and shall allow the intern under 

direct supervision to conduct all necessary arrangements for 

assist in conducting a minimum of 25 funerals. 

D. The embalming supervisor shall provide instruction on all 

necessary precautions, embalming functions, and reporting 

forms and shall allow the intern under direct supervision to 

perform assist in the performance of a minimum of 25 

embalmings. 

E. The supervisor shall provide the intern with instruction in 

making preneed funeral arrangements and instruction on the 

laws and regulations pertaining to preneed funeral contracts 

and disclosures. 

F. The supervisor shall provide instruction on cremation and 

on the laws and regulations pertaining to cremation. 

G. If a training site does not offer preneed funeral planning or 

cremation services, the supervisor shall arrange for such 

training at another licensed funeral establishment that does. 

18VAC65-40-640. Disciplinary action. 

The board may refuse to issue or renew a license, registration, 

or approval to any applicant; and may suspend for a stated 

period of time or indefinitely, or revoke any license, 

registration, or approval, or reprimand any person, or place his 

license or registration on probation with such terms and 

conditions and for such time as it may designate or impose a 

monetary penalty for failure to comply with the laws [ or and ] 

regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6053; Filed December 29, 2021, 2:53 p.m. 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS AND 
OPTICIANS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC80-20. Hearing Aid Specialists 

Regulations (amending 18VAC80-20-70). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Stephen Kirschner, Executive Director, 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia requires 

regulatory boards to periodically review and adjust fees. Section 

54.1-201.4 of the Code of Virginia provides the authority to 

regulatory boards to levy and collect fees. Section 54.1-304.3 of 

the Code of Virginia describes the authority of the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) to collect and 

account for fees. Section 54.1-308 of the Code of Virginia requires 

costs to be paid by regulatory boards. 

Purpose: The Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians 

must establish fees adequate to support the costs of board 

operations and a proportionate share of the department's 

operations. Current fees do not provide adequate revenue for those 

costs. DPOR is funded entirely from revenue collected for license 

applications, renewal, examination fees, and other licensing fees 

and receives no general fund money. DPOR is self-supporting and 

must collect adequate revenue to support its mandated and 

approved activities and operations. Fee revenue collected on 

behalf of the various boards funds the department's authorized 

special revenue appropriation. The board's primary mission is to 

protect the citizens of the Commonwealth by prescribing 

requirements for minimal competencies, by prescribing standards 

of conduct and practice, and by imposing penalties for not 

complying with the regulations. 

Substance: The board reviewed the fees and based on projected 

revenues and expenses developed a fee schedule that meets the 

requirements of the applicable statutes while being the least 

burdensome to the regulant population. The following is the 

expected range of the proposed fee increases to be made in this 

regulatory action. 

Range of Fees: 

Fee Type 

 

Current 

Fee 

New 

Fees 

New Applicant Hearing Aid 

Specialist 

$30 $125 

New Applicant 

Temporary 

Permit 

Hearing Aid 

Specialist 

$30 $125 

Renewal Hearing Aid 

Specialist 

$20 $125 

Reinstatement Hearing Aid 

Specialist 

$20 $125 

mailto:hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov
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Issues: The advantages of this change to the public is that the 

board will continue to be financially solvent. The advantage 

for the agency is that the proposed fee adjustments will ensure 

that the board has sufficient revenues to fund its operating 

expenses, allowing the department to comply with § 54.1-113 

of the Code of Virginia. There are no disadvantages to the 

public or the Commonwealth in raising the board's fees as 

proposed here. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians (Board) 

proposes to increase the hearing aid specialist fees it levies for 

initial licensure, renewal, reinstatement, and temporary 

permits. All fees would be increased from their current levels 

(which range from $20 to $50) to $125. The Board proposes to 

increase its fees based on a current cash deficit, which is 

projected to keep growing unless fees are increased. 

Background. The Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation (DPOR) is funded entirely from 

revenue collected by the regulatory boards it supports for 

license applications, renewal, examination fees, and other 

licensing fees. Hence, DPOR must collect adequate revenue to 

support its mandated activities and operations. Fee revenue 

collected on behalf of the various Boards funds the 

Department's authorized special revenue appropriation. The 

Board determines the fees it collects based on the adequacy of 

the fees to provide sufficient revenue for upcoming operating 

cycles; it has no other source of income. 

Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia requires that the 

boards within DPOR "levy and collect fees for certification or 

licensure and renewal that are sufficient to cover all expenses 

for the administration and operation of the regulatory board 

and a proportionate share of the expenses' of DPOR.1 In 

addition, the Callahan Act (§ 54.1-113) requires that regulatory 

boards adjust their fees whenever the account shows that 

"expenses allocated to it for the past biennium to be more than 

10% greater or less than moneys collected on behalf of the 

board" so that "the fees are sufficient but not excessive."2 

The board has been working to increase fees since 2014. The 

board's fees were last adjusted effective February 1, 2017, (FY 

2017) through a regulatory action that was submitted for 

amendment in FY 2014.3 However, this action did not increase 

the license fees, but rather removed certain fees from the 

regulation and replaced them with language requiring the fees 

to be set in accordance with the Code of Virginia §2.2-4300 

(Virginia Procurement Act) and § 54.1- 201.4. Subsequently, 

DPOR was subject to a review by the Joint Legislative Audit 

and Review Commission (JLARC) in 2018. In its report, 

JLARC stated "DPOR should revise the fee change using more 

realistic expense projections." If, however, DPOR determines 

that the fee change is not needed in the near term, the fee 

change could be withdrawn."4 

Specifically, the Board proposes the following fee increases: 

Application Fee from $30 to $125 (317% increase) 

Temporary Permit Fee from $30 to $125 (317% increase) 

Renewal from $20 to $125 (525% increase) 

Reinstatement from $50 to $125 (150% increase). 

The other profession within the Board is Opticians, and the 

application and renewal fees for that profession are currently 

$100. With the effective date for new fees anticipated to be in 

FY2021, it will have been 18 years since fees for hearing aid 

specialists have been raised. This has allowed the Board to 

spend down an accumulated cash balance that it has retained. 

The Board reports that regulants have thus been anticipating a 

fee increase.5 Further, the license fee and temporary permit fee 

appear to have been $130 in December 2002, along with a 

renewal fee of $175 and a reinstatement fee of $350. Hence, 

although the increase seems sharp on a percentage basis, the 

amount is comparable the fees that prevailed before the Board 

lowered them to decrease its cash balances.6 

The Board reported its Callahan Act percentage (i.e., the ratio 

of cash balances to expenditures at the end of a biennium) to 

be -0.29% for the biennium ending in 2020. Unless a fee 

increase is implemented in the interim, the Board projects that 

the Callahan Act percentage would fall as low as -14.6% at the 

end of the 2020-2022 biennium, and -29.7% at the end of the 

2022-2024 biennium.7 Based upon these projections, it appears 

that the longer the Board postpones the fee increase, the higher 

the fee would have to be in order to close the deficit. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed fee increases 

would increase costs to currently licensed hearing aid 

specialists, and to temporary hearing aid specialist permit 

holders, who apply to renew their license once the increase 

became effective. The proposed fee increases would also affect 

future first-time applicants for licenses or permits, as well as 

those seeking to reinstate their license or permit after the fee 

increase became effective. 

The Board estimates that biennial revenue would increase by 

approximately $100,600 once the fee increases go into effect.8 

Thus, the proposed fee increases would benefit the Board by 

eliminating the current funding deficit as well as ensuring that 

it has adequate revenue to pay for ongoing operational 

expenses. Lastly, since the Board has been trying to increase 

the fees since 2014, regulants have had time to anticipate and 

prepare for future fee increases. 

DPOR considered three alternatives to the fee increases and 

found them to be non-viable and potentially more costly. First, 

a reduction in services would result in delays in issuing 

licenses, which would impose costs to regulants by creating 

barriers to their ability to work, broadly decrease the 

effectiveness of the Board in protecting public health, safety 

and welfare, and potentially decrease its revenues. Second, 

DPOR could obtain a Treasury loan; however, this would be a 

short-term solution that would require higher fee increases in 

the future to repay the loan. Finally, supplementing Board 

revenue with general funds would shift the Board's costs to 
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taxpayers at large, instead of regulants who more directly 

benefit from the activities of the Board. It would also impose 

significant delays and administrative costs since allocating 

general fund moneys to DPOR would require a change in the 

Code of Virginia and the Appropriations Act. Thus, although 

the proposed amendments increase costs to regulants, they 

impose a lower cost overall relative to these alternatives. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The Board had 814 

licensed hearing aid specialists and 48 temporary hearing aid 

specialist permit holders as of October 1, 2020.9 The Board 

estimates that there are approximately 73 first-time hearing aid 

specialist applicants and 53 temporary permit holder applicants 

annually. 

Small Businesses10 Affected. According to the Bureau of 

Labor Statistics, hearing aid specialists nationwide are most 

often employed by health and personal care stores, offices of 

other health practitioners, other ambulatory health care 

services, offices of physicians, and in general medical and 

surgical hospitals.11 Thus, the proposed amendments could 

affect such establishments either (i) if they are businesses that 

are independently owned and operated by hearing aid 

specialists, or (ii) if they are small businesses that hire hearing 

aid specialists and cover the cost of maintaining their license. 

However, the number of such small businesses in Virginia is 

unknown. 

Localities12 Affected.13 The proposed amendments would not 

likely disproportionately affect any particular localities, nor 

introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

could discourage some individuals pursuing licensure as 

hearing aid specialists due to the higher license fees, to the 

extent that they perceive the increase in fees to be greater than 

the benefits of employment in this profession. However, it is 

unlikely to affect the overall employment of licensed hearing 

aid specialists since employers would not be directly affected 

by the increase in license fees. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments moderately increase costs for hearing aid 

specialists. To the extent that businesses that employ hearing 

aid specialists pay for these fees, the proposal could decrease 

the value of such firms by the amount of the fees or any 

ancillary costs. Real estate development costs would not be 

affected. 

_____________________________ 

1See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter2/section54.1-201/ 

2See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-113/.  

3See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7560.  

4See http://jlarc.virginia.gov/pdfs/reports/Rpt509.pdf.  

5See page 3 of 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=13\5274\9051\AgencyState
ment_DPOR_9051_v1.pdf. 

6See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=13\808\2177\Text_ 

DPOR_2177_v2.pdf. Although the action did not affect fees, the final text 

shows the fees that were prevalent at the time. The fees were lowered through 

a separate exempt action: 
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=2407.  

7See Addendum 4 of the August 12, 2020 Board meeting minutes: 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting\13\29204\Minutes
_DPOR_29204_v1.pdf.  

8See page 6 of the ABD: 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=13\5274\9051\AgencyState
ment_DPOR_9051_v1.pdf. 

9See http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Records 

_and_Documents/REG_POP(1).pdf.  

10Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as “a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million.”  

11See https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes292092.htm.  

12"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

13§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 
material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the economic impact analysis performed by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments adjust the board's licensing fee 

structure to comply with § 54.1-113 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

18VAC80-20-70. Fees. 

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The 

date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date which will 

be used to determine whether or not it is on time. 

B. Application and examination fees must be submitted with 

the application for licensure. 

C. In the event that a check, money draft, or similar 

instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees 

sufficient to cover the original fee, plus the additional 

processing charge established by the department. 

The following fees apply: 

Application Fee $30 $125 To be paid by all 

applicants for initial 

licensure 

Temporary 

Permit Fee 

$30 $125  

Renewal $20 $125  

Reinstatement $50 $125  

D. The written examination fee shall be established in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter2/section54.1-201/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-113/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7560
http://jlarc.virginia.gov/pdfs/reports/Rpt509.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=13/5274/9051/AgencyStatement_DPOR_9051_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=13/5274/9051/AgencyStatement_DPOR_9051_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=13/808/2177/Text_DPOR_2177_v2.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=13/808/2177/Text_DPOR_2177_v2.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/13/29204/Minutes_DPOR_29204_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/13/29204/Minutes_DPOR_29204_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=13/5274/9051/AgencyStatement_DPOR_9051_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=13/5274/9051/AgencyStatement_DPOR_9051_v1.pdf
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Records_and_Documents/REG_POP(1).pdf
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Records_and_Documents/REG_POP(1).pdf
https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes292092.htm
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4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The practical 

examination fee shall be established by the department that is 

sufficient to cover expenses for the administration of the 

examination in compliance with subdivision A 4 of § 54.1-201 

of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5959; Filed December 29, 2021, 2:28 p.m. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-110. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Licensed Acupuncturists (amending 

18VAC85-110-10, 18VAC85-110-50, 18VAC85-110-60, 

18VAC85-110-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The regulatory change is necessary to maintain 

currency with national educational standards for the health and 

safety of patients who will be seeking treatment from licensed 

acupuncturists. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

impetus for this regulatory change was a recommendation from 

the Advisory Board on Acupuncture, which voted at its 

meeting on October 6, 2021, to request the amendments. The 

name changes are noncontroversial. 

Substance: The definition for the Accreditation Commission 

for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (ACAOM) is changed 

to the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Herbal 

Medicine (ACAHM). The definition for the Council of 

Colleges of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (CCAOM) is 

changed to the Council of Colleges of Acupuncture and Herbal 

Medicine (CCAHM). All sections of this chapter where those 

acronyms are used are amended accordingly. 

Issues: There is an advantage to the public if someone is 

looking for the updated names of accrediting bodies in Virginia 

regulation. There are no disadvantages. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic 

impacts.1 Summary of the Proposed Amendments to 

Regulation 

The Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to update the names 

of two organizations within 18VAC85-110 Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Licensed Acupuncturists 

(regulation). 

Background. The regulation contains education requirements 

that must be satisfied in order to obtain acupuncture licensure 

in the Commonwealth. One of the requirements in the current 

regulation is that the candidate complete the Clean Needle 

Technique course as administered by the Council of Colleges 

of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. Another is that the 

candidate graduate from a school or college for acupuncture 

accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture 

and Oriental Medicine or any other accrediting agency 

approved by the Board. 

The organization formerly called the Council of Colleges of 

Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine has changed its name to 

the Council of Colleges of Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine. 

The organization formerly called the Accreditation 

Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine has 

changed its name to the Accreditation Commission for 

Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine. The Board proposes to 

substitute the former names of the two organizations with their 

new names wherever they appear in the regulation. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

would have no impact on requirements in practice, but may be 

beneficial in that individuals seeking the names of the relevant 

organizations would be better informed. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments potentially affect applicants for acupuncture 

licensure. The Department of Health Professions reports that 

there are approximately 50 to 55 new licenses issued each year. 

The Code of Virginia requires the Department of Planning and 

Budget to assess whether an adverse impact may result from 

the proposed regulation.2 An adverse impact is indicated if 

there is any increase in net cost or reduction in net revenue for 

any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. No adverse impact is indicated for this proposal. 

Small Businesses3 Affected.4 The proposed amendments do 

not adversely affect small businesses.  

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments neither 

disproportionately affect any particular locality, nor introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to substantively affect the use and 

value of private property. The proposed amendments do not 

affect real estate development costs. 

__________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 
persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 
2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 
3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 
employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 

4If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 
businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 
and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 
effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to Code § 2.2-
4007.1, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may have an adverse 

impact on small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules shall 

be notified. 
5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the names and acronyms for 

accrediting organizations for acupuncturists.  

18VAC85-110-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Acupuncturist 

Board 

Licensed acupuncturist 

Practice of acupuncture 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"ACAOM" "ACAHM" means the Accreditation Commission 

for Acupuncture and Oriental Herbal Medicine. ACAOM 

replaces the National Accreditation Commission for Schools 

and Colleges of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. 

"CCAOM" "CCAHM" means the Council of Colleges of 

Acupuncture and Oriental Herbal Medicine. 

"CNT course" means a Clean Needle Technique Course as 

administered by the CCAOM CCAHM. 

"NCCAOM" means the National Certification Commission 

for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. 

18VAC85-110-50. Educational requirements: graduates of 

approved institutions or programs in the United States. 

A. Requirements for acupuncture education obtained prior to 

July 1, 1990, shall be as provided in this subsection. 

1. An applicant applying for licensure to practice as an 

acupuncturist on the basis of successful completion of 

education in a school or college of acupuncture accredited 

by the ACAOM ACAHM or other accrediting agencies 

approved by the Board of Medicine, which confers a degree 

or certificate in acupuncture in the United States, shall 

submit evidence of successful completion of an acupuncture 

course of study in an accredited school or college for 

acupuncture, providing evidence of not less than 1,000 hours 

of schooling in not less than a continuous 18-month period. 

2. The studies shall include not less than 700 didactic hours 

and not less than 250 clinical hours. Additional hours may 

be in either didactic or clinical hours based upon the school 

or college curriculum. 

B. Requirements for acupuncture education obtained after 

July 1, 1990, shall be as provided in this subsection. 

An applicant applying for licensure to practice as a licensed 

acupuncturist on the basis of successful completion of 

education in a school or college for acupuncture accredited by 

ACAOM ACAHM or any other accrediting agency approved 

by the Board of Medicine, which confers a degree or certificate 

in acupuncture in the United States, shall submit evidence of 

having a minimum of three academic years in length equivalent 

to 90 semester credit hours or 135 quarter credit hours. 

One academic year means full-time study completed in four 

quarters, two semesters, or three trimesters. A full-time 

continuous study program shall be a concentrated educational 

process in acupuncture that requires individual study with 

assigned materials in a classroom or clinical setting. 

C. Requirements for acupuncture education obtained after 

July 1, 1999, shall be as provided in this subsection. An 
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applicant applying for licensure to practice as a licensed 

acupuncturist on the basis of successful completion of 

education in a school or college for acupuncture accredited by 

ACAOM ACAHM or any other accrediting agency approved 

by the Board of Medicine, which confers a degree or certificate 

in acupuncture in the United States, shall submit evidence of 

having a minimum of 1,725 hours of entry-level acupuncture 

education to include at least 1,000 didactic hours and 500 

clinical hours. Clinical hours may include observation, as well 

as internship or treatment hours; the remaining 225 hours may 

be earned as either didactic or clinical. Correspondence 

programs or courses in acupuncture are excluded and may not 

be used to meet the requirements for acupuncture education. 

D. Requirements for acupuncture education obtained after 

February 1, 2011, shall be as provided in this subsection. An 

applicant applying for licensure to practice as a licensed 

acupuncturist on the basis of successful completion of 

education in a school or college for acupuncture accredited by 

ACAOM ACAHM or any other accrediting agency approved 

by the Board of Medicine, which confers a degree or certificate 

in acupuncture in the United States, shall submit evidence of 

having a minimum of 1,905 hours of entry-level acupuncture 

education to include at least 1,155 didactic hours and 660 

clinical hours. Clinical hours may include observation, as well 

as internship or treatment hours; the remaining 90 hours may 

be earned as either didactic or clinical hours. Correspondence 

programs or courses in acupuncture are excluded and may not 

be used to meet the requirements for acupuncture education. 

E. An applicant from an acupuncture program in a school or 

college that has achieved candidacy status for accreditation by 

ACAOM ACAHM shall be eligible for licensure provided the 

program meets the applicable requirements of subsection A, B, 

C, or D of this section, with the exception of full ACAOM 

ACAHM accreditation. 

18VAC85-110-60. Requirements of foreign graduates of 

nonaccredited educational programs in acupuncture. 

A. An applicant who has completed an educational course of 

study in a school or college outside the United States or Canada 

that is not accredited by ACAOM ACAHM or any other board-

approved accrediting agency shall: 

1. Submit a transcript from his educational course of study 

in acupuncture to a credential evaluation service approved 

by the board to determine equivalency in education and 

training to that required in 18VAC85-110-50. 

2. Meet the examination requirements as prescribed in 

18VAC85-110-80 and 18VAC85-110-90. 

B. All documents submitted to the board which are not in 

English must be translated into English and certified by the 

embassy of the issuing government or by a translating service. 

18VAC85-110-80. Examination requirements for 

licensure. 

The examination requirements for licensure shall consist of: 

1. Passing the NCCAOM comprehensive written 

examination, resulting in current, active certification by the 

NCCAOM at the time the application is filed with the board; 

2. Passing the Point Location Examination; and 

3. Completing the CNT course as administered by the 

CCAOM CCAHM. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6955; Filed December 29, 2021, 2:53 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-160. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Surgical Assistants and Certification of 

Surgical Technologists (amending 18VAC85-160-40, 

18VAC85-160-60; adding 18VAC85-160-65 through 

18VAC85-160-130). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 7, 2022 - noon - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

201, Training Room 2, Richmond, VA 23233-1463 

Public Comment Deadline: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. Regulations on surgical 

assistants and surgical technologists are promulgated in 

accordance with § 54.1-2956.12 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Currently, the regulation for surgical assistants and 

surgical technologists does not provide standards of practice 

relating to confidentiality and responsibilities of practitioners 

to their patients. Amendments are necessary to ensure there are 

standards for confidentiality, patient records, dual 

relationships, and informed consent to protect public health 

and safety. Additionally, there are currently no requirements 

for maintaining competency or continuing education for 

surgical assistants or surgical technologists. To protect patients 

who receive services during surgical procedures, it is essential 

for these practitioners to stay abreast of new techniques and 

information. 

Substance: In 2020, the level of regulation for surgical 

assistants was elevated by action of the General Assembly 

from voluntary registration to licensure. Amendments to 

regulation were adopted under an exemption to conform to 

statute, and a NOIRA was also published to announce the 

intent to adopt additional amendments to make regulations 

mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
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consistent with other licensed professions under the Board of 

Medicine. 

The proposed amendments will (i) add definitions as 

necessary; (ii) conform fees for licensure to other professions 

under the board; (iii) add requirements for continuing 

competency for surgical assistants licensed under a 

grandfathering provision; (iv) provide for an inactive license 

and for reactivation or reinstatement of a license; (v) provide 

for a restricted volunteer license or voluntary practice by out-

of-state practitioners; and (vi) provide for renewal of 

certification of surgical technologists, including requirements 

for continuing education. Finally, the board will adopt 

standards of practice similar to those for other licensed 

professions under its jurisdiction and will also consider the 

code of ethics specific to surgical assistants. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public are the addition 

of continuing education requirements for all surgical assistants 

and surgical technologists to ensure competency for 

continuation in practice and the standards of conduct by which 

licensees or certificate holders could be held accountable for 

unprofessional acts. There are no disadvantages. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

response to recent legislation, this action changes the means by 

which surgical assistants and surgical technologists are 

regulated. This action expands upon changes already made by 

the Board of Medicine (Board) in two exempt actions that are 

already in effect. 

Chapter 1222 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly1 changed the 

regulation of surgical assistants2 from registration to licensure. 

In an exempt action,3 the Board amended the Regulations 

Governing the Licensure of Surgical Assistants and 

Registration of Surgical Technologists (regulation) to conform 

to the 2020 legislation. In the current action, the Board 

proposes to: 1) raise the initial, renewal, and late renewal 

licensure fees for surgical assistants, 2) establish an inactive 

license with an accompanying fee and rules on reactivation, 3) 

establish reinstatement with an accompanying fee for when the 

license has been lapsed for two years or more, 4) establish 

reinstatement with an accompanying fee for when the license 

was revoked, 5) establish a fee for a letter of good standing or 

verification to another jurisdiction, and 6) require all licensees 

complete 38 hours of continuing education (CE) for license 

renewal. 

Chapter 230 of the 2021 Special Session 1 Acts of Assembly4 

changed the regulation of surgical technologists5 from 

registration to certification. In another exempt action,6 the 

Board amended the regulation to conform to the 2021 

legislation. In the current action, the Board proposes to require 

all certificate holders to complete 30 hours of CE every two 

years for certification renewal. The proposed 18VAC85-160-

40 Fees section includes fees for inactive certification and also 

for reinstatement of certification that has been lapsed for two 

years or more. However, unlike the changes proposed for 

surgical assistant licensure, the proposed regulation does not 

include text on the process for obtaining inactive certification 

and any associated rules, how to reactivate certification, or how 

to reinstate certification. 

Additionally, pertaining to both surgical assistants and surgical 

technologists, the Board proposes to add six new sections to 

the regulation, all of which contain text that is essentially 

identical to text in the Board's other regulations for other health 

care professionals. The proposed six new sections are: 

18VAC85-160-80 Confidentiality, 18VAC85-160-90 Patient 

records, 18VAC85-160-100 Communication with patients; 

termination of relationship, 18VAC85-160-110 Practitioner 

responsibility, 18VAC85-160-120 Sexual contact, and 

18VAC85-160-130 Refusal to provide information. 

Background. 

Fees, The table below compares current surgical assistant 

licensure fees with the proposed fees: 
 

Current Proposed 

Initial licensure $75 $130 

Renewal $70 $135 

Additional fee to process a late 

renewal application within one 

renewal cycle 

$25 $50 

The Board does not propose to change the initial certification, 

certification renewal, and the late renewal application within 

one renewal cycle fees for surgical technologists.  

The following table displays the proposed new fees for surgical 

assistants and surgical technologists: 
 

Surgical 

Assistants 

Surgical 

Technologists 

Renewal of inactive license 

or inactive certification 

$70 $35 

Reinstatement of license or 

certification that has been 

lapsed for two years or more 

$180 $90 

Fee for when the license was 

revoked 

$2,000 Not 

applicable 

Fee for a letter of good 

standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction for a 

license 

$10 Not 

applicable 
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Continuing Education for Surgical Assistants. In order to 

qualify for initial licensure as a surgical assistant, the candidate 

must provide evidence of: 

"1. A current credential as a surgical assistant or surgical 

first assistant issued by the National Board of Surgical 

Technology and Surgical Assisting or the National 

Commission for Certification of Surgical Assistants or 

their successors; 

2. Successful completion of a surgical assistant training 

program during the applicant's service as a member of any 

branch of the armed forces of the United States; or 

3. Practice as a surgical assistant in the Commonwealth at 

any time in the six months immediately prior to July 1, 

2020." 

Under the current regulation, in order for a surgical assistant 

who was initially licensed based on a credential (described in 

number one above) to renew his license, he must attest that the 

credential is current at the time of renewal (the renewal fee 

must also be paid). Both the National Board of Surgical 

Technology and Surgical Assisting, and the National 

Commission for Certification of Surgical Assistants, require 38 

hours of CE every two years for the credential to remain 

current. 

In contrast, besides paying the renewal fee, the current 

regulation does not specify any requirements for licensure 

renewal for surgical assistants who were initially licensed 

based on the second or third category above. The Board now 

proposes to add the following: 

A surgical assistant who was licensed based on successful 

completion of a surgical assistant training program during the 

person's service as a member of any branch of the armed forces 

of the United States or based on practice as a surgical assistant 

in the Commonwealth at any time in the six months 

immediately prior to July 1, 2020, shall attest to completion of 

38 hours of continuing education recognized by the National 

Surgical Assistant Association at the time of biennial renewal. 

Continuing Education for Surgical Technologists. In order to 

qualify for initial certification as a surgical technologist, the 

candidate must provide evidence of: 

"1. Successful completion of an accredited surgical 

technologist training program and a current credential as a 

certified surgical technologist from the National Board of 

Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting or its 

successor; or 

2. Successful completion of a training program for 

surgical technology during the applicant's service as a 

member of any branch of the armed forces of the United 

States." 

The current regulation lists a biennial fee for surgical 

technologist certification renewal, but does not state any other 

certification renewal requirements. The Board proposes to add 

the following: 

"A. A surgical technologist who was certified based on 

certification as a certified surgical technologist from the 

National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical 

Assisting or its successor shall attest that the credential is 

current at the time of renewal. 

B. A surgical technologist who was certified based on 

successful completion of a training program for surgical 

technology during the person's service as a member of any 

branch of the armed forces of the United States, or based 

on practice as a surgical technologist at any time in the six 

months prior to July 1, 2021 shall attest to completion of 

30 hours of continuing education recognized by the 

Association of Surgical Technologists at the time of 

biennial renewal." 

The National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical 

Assisting certification renewal requires 30 hours of CE 

recognized by the Association of Surgical Technologists 

(AST) every two years. Thus, the proposed requirements 

equate to all surgical technologists needing 30 hours of CE for 

Virginia certification renewal. 

Standard New Sections. The proposed 18VAC85-160-80 

Confidentiality in its entirety states that "A practitioner shall 

not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality between 

a practitioner and a patient. A breach of confidentiality that is 

required or permitted by applicable law or beyond the control 

of the practitioner shall not be considered negligent or willful." 

The proposed 18VAC85-160-90 Patient records: 1) provides 

reminders to comply with a specified section of the Code of 

Virginia § 32.1-127.1:03, 2) states that "Practitioners who are 

employed by a health care institution or other entity in which 

the individual practitioner does not own or maintain his own 

records shall maintain patient records in accordance with the 

policies and procedures of the employing entity," and 3) states 

that "Practitioners who are self-employed or employed by an 

entity in which the individual practitioner does own and is 

responsible for patient records shall "Maintain a patient record 

for a minimum of six years following the last patient 

encounter" with some exceptions specified. 

The proposed 18VAC85-160-100 Communication with 

patients; termination of relationship, states that the 

practitioner: shall not deliberately make false or misleading 

statements, should follow specified sections of the Code of 

Virginia, and shall not terminate the relationship or make his 

services unavailable without documented notice to the patient 

that allows for a reasonable time to obtain the services of 

another practitioner. 

The proposed 18VAC85-160-110 Practitioner responsibility 

states that the practitioner shall not: perform procedures or 

techniques that are outside the scope of his practice or for 

which he is not trained and individually competent, knowingly 

allow subordinates to jeopardize patient safety or provide 

patient care outside of the subordinate's scope of practice, 

engage in an egregious pattern of disruptive behavior or 
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interaction in a health care setting, or exploit the 

practitioner/patient relationship for personal gain. 

Section 54.1-2915 of the Code of Virginia. Unprofessional 

conduct; grounds for refusal or disciplinary action7 lists 

grounds for disciplinary action for which the Board may act, 

including sexual contact with a patient. The proposed 

18VAC85-160-120 Sexual contact provides greater detail on 

what constitutes unprofessional conduct and grounds for 

discipline through sexual contact. 

The proposed 18VAC85-160-130 Refusal to provide 

information in its entirety states that "A practitioner shall not 

willfully refuse to provide information or records as requested 

or required by the board or its representative pursuant to an 

investigation or to the enforcement of a statute or regulation." 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. 

Fee Increases. The fees in the current regulation for initial 

licensure, license renewal, and processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle are all the same as they 

were when surgical assistants were registered rather than 

licensed prior to 2020. As a registered profession, surgical 

assistants were not subject to disciplinary action under § 54.1-

2915. The existing regulation also does not specify disciplinary 

action. According to the Department of Health Professions 

(DHP), a large percentage of the revenue collected by the 

agency is used to cover the costs of investigations and 

disciplinary proceedings. Thus, as a licensed profession which 

is subject to disciplinary action under § 54.1-2915, the cost of 

regulating surgical assistants has become substantially higher. 

Prior to Chapter 1222 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, § 54.1-

2956.13 A stated that "No person shall use or assume the title 

"registered surgical assistant" unless such person is registered 

with the Board." In other words, people who were not 

registered with the Board could do the work of surgical 

assistants; they just could not use the title "registered surgical 

assistant." Chapter 1222 amended § 54.1-2956.13 A to "No 

person shall engage in the practice of surgical assisting or use 

or assume the title "surgical assistant" unless such person holds 

a license as a surgical assistant issued by the Board." As a 

result, it is now against the law to do the work of surgical 

assistants in the Commonwealth without being licensed by the 

Board. To the extent that no longer allowing individuals who 

have not met all of the requirements necessary to earn surgical 

assistant licensure to practice surgical assisting may reduce the 

likelihood of adverse surgical outcomes, switching from 

registration to licensure for surgical assistants may be 

beneficial. Additionally, it is potentially beneficial for those 

individuals who do meet the licensure requirements in that 

there is likely reduced competition for jobs. Thus, for at least 

some if not most licensed surgical assistants, if the higher fees 

are necessary for licensure rather than registration, then the 

benefits of licensure outweigh the additional cost. 

Continuing Education. Under both the current and proposed 

regulations, surgical assistants who were initially licensed 

based on a current credential as either a surgical assistant or 

surgical first assistant (issued by the National Board of 

Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting, or the National 

Commission for Certification of Surgical Assistants or their 

successors) may renew their license by paying the renewal fee 

and attesting that the credential is current at the time of 

renewal. In order to keep the credential current, 38 hours of CE 

have to be completed biennially. Thus, other than paying a 

higher renewal fee, there is no change for license renewal for 

these surgical assistants. 

For surgical assistants who were initially licensed based on a 

different method, the proposed regulation introduces a new 

requirement of 38 CE hours every two years. The National 

Surgical Assistant Association lists the following as methods 

to earn CE credits:8 

• Health care facility mandatory education 

• Health care facility sponsored in-services 

• Attending professional physician organization 

programs 

• Writing for health-related publications 

• Instruction of health professionals 

• College credit 

• Lecture 

• Clinical demonstration 

• Completion of enduring material activities.9 

One CE credit equals 50 to 60 minutes of activity when 

attending a program or viewing a recorded CE lectures and 

completing the post-lecture CE exam. All CE activities must 

be relevant to the practice of surgical assisting to qualify for 

CE credit. Since most surgical assistants work for hospital 

systems, some of the required CE hours would likely be 

covered by health care facility mandatory education and/or 

health care facility sponsored in-services for at least some 

surgical assistants. 

For those surgical assistants who have not been participating 

in activities that would qualify for 38 CE hours every two 

years, the proposed requirement may make it more likely that 

they remain up-to-date in advances and current skills in their 

profession, which could have a positive impact on public 

health. On the other hand, there may be individuals who remain 

up-to-date in their skills without participating in activities that 

meet the 38-hour requirement. These individuals would be 

required to spend time and potentially dollars differently than 

they otherwise would have chosen. 

The current regulation lists a biennial fee for surgical 

technologist certification renewal, but does not state any other 

certification renewal requirements. The proposed regulation 

effectively newly requires 30 hours of CE every two years for 

Virginia surgical technologist certification renewal. Surgical 

technologists who have chosen to keep current National Board 

of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting certification 

would not be practically affected, since such certification also 

requires 30 hours of CE every two years. 
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According to AST, the vast majority of all surgical 

technologist CE credits are earned through one or more of the 

ways listed below:10 

• AST distance CE (journal tests or CE packages); 

• Hospital internal training; 

• Live lectures at AST state assemblies, national 

conference and others, such as ACS Congress; 

• College courses; and  

• Healthcare manufacturers" live events. In order for the 

CE credits to be accepted by AST, the live program must 

be approved by AST and the program must be relevant to 

the practice of surgical technology or surgical first 

assisting. Live events are stand-alone events, such as 

forums or hands-on workshops. 

The AST website lists CE packages for members.11 Annual 

membership is $80 and 30 hours of CE credits through CE 

packages costs about $50, in addition to the time it takes to 

complete. Since most surgical technologists work for hospital 

systems,12 some of the required CE hours may be covered by 

hospital internal training for at least some surgical 

technologists. 

Similar to surgical assistants, for those surgical technologists 

who have not been participating in activities that would qualify 

for 30 CE hours every two years, the proposed requirement 

may make it more likely that they remain up-to-date in 

advances and current skills in their profession, which could 

have a positive impact on public health. On the other hand, 

there may be individuals who remain up-to-date in their skills 

without participating in activities that meet the 30-hour 

requirement. These individuals would be required to spend 

time and potentially dollars differently than they otherwise 

would have chosen. 

Inactive Licensure, Reactivation, and Reinstatement. The 

current regulation does not address reinstatement of lapsed or 

revoked licenses or certification or inactive licenses or 

certification. The proposed regulation includes text on 

obtaining inactive certification and associated rules, how to 

reactivate certification, and how to reinstate certification. 

Having this information spelled out in the regulation is 

beneficial for the public and regulated entities. 

Standard New Sections. The proposed new Confidentiality 

section does not appear to add requirements beyond what 

already exists in the Code of Virginia.13 Thus adding it would 

not likely have impact beyond improving clarity for someone 

who reads the regulation, but not the relevant part of the Code 

of Virginia. 

The reminders in the proposed Patient records section to 

comply with Code of Virginia requirements on confidentiality 

and patient records do not produce any new requirements, but 

may be beneficial for readers of the regulation who are 

unfamiliar with these Code requirements. The proposed 

statement that "Practitioners who are employed by a health 

care institution or other entity in which the individual 

practitioner does not own or maintain his own records shall 

maintain patient records in accordance with the policies and 

procedures of the employing entity" would not likely have a 

substantive impact since the employers would presumably 

already require this. There are not likely many, if any, surgical 

assistants and surgical technologists who are self-employed or 

own patient records. If there are any, and they do not currently 

keep records for a minimum of six years following the last 

patient encounter, the proposed statement that "Practitioners 

who are self-employed or employed by an entity in which the 

individual practitioner does own and is responsible for patient 

records shall "Maintain a patient record for a minimum of six 

years following the last patient encounter may have some 

impact. 

The language in the proposed Communication with patients; 

termination of relationship section indicating that the 

practitioner shall not deliberately make false or misleading 

statements and should follow specified sections of the Code of 

Virginia does not produce any new requirements, but may be 

beneficial for readers of the regulation who are unfamiliar with 

these Code requirements. Stating that the practitioner shall not 

terminate the relationship or make his services unavailable 

without documented notice to the patient that allows for a 

reasonable time to obtain the services of another practitioner 

would probably not have a substantial impact since surgical 

assistants and surgical technologists work under the 

supervision of a licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, or 

podiatry and not typically directly with patients.  

The statement in the proposed Practitioner responsibility 

section that the practitioner shall not perform procedures or 

techniques that are outside the scope of his practice or for 

which he is not trained and individually competent does not 

produce any new requirements, but may be beneficial for 

readers of the regulation who are unfamiliar with these Code 

requirements. The proposed language on the practitioner not 

knowingly allowing subordinates to jeopardize patient safety 

or providing patient care outside of the subordinate's scope of 

practice, engaging in an egregious pattern of disruptive 

behavior or interaction in a health care setting, or exploiting 

the practitioner/patient relationship for personal gain might 

help reduce the likelihood of these activities from occurring. 

The proposed Sexual contact section may be beneficial in that 

by providing greater detail on what constitutes unprofessional 

conduct and grounds for discipline through sexual contact, 

there may be greater clarity on what behavior is grounds for 

Board disciplinary action. 

The proposed Refusal to provide information section may help 

encourage practitioners to cooperate with the Board. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect surgical assistants, surgical technologists, 

and providers of continuing education. According to DHP, 

surgical assistants and surgical technologists typically practice 

in large hospital systems. As of June 30, 2021, there were 368 

surgical assistants licensed and 242 surgical technologists 
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registered with the Commonwealth.14 The switch from 

registration to certification for surgical technologists took 

place on July 1, 2021. 

The proposed fee increases for the initial, renewal, and late 

renewal of surgical assistant licenses would increase costs for 

all surgical assistants. The proposed minimum of 38 hours of 

CE for surgical assistant license renewal and 30 hours of CE 

for surgical technologist certification renewal every two years 

increases costs (whether in time or dollars) for those 

practitioners that would not have otherwise participated in 

activities that would meet those number of CE hours. An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. Thus, an adverse 

impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses15 Affected. The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities16 Affected.17 The proposed amendments neither 

disproportionately affect any particular locality nor introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. There may be a small 

increase in employment at providers of CE. Given the nature 

of the activities that qualify for CE, any such increase would 

likely be modest. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

CE requirements would likely prompt an increase in demand 

for CE activities. Given the nature of the activities that qualify 

for CE, any increase in demand for private outside provision 

of CE and an associated increase in business value would likely 

be modest. The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

____________________________________ 
1See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP1222 
2Section 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia defines "surgical assistant" as "an 

individual who has met the requirements of the Board for licensure as a 

surgical assistant and who works under the direct supervision of a licensed 
doctor of medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry." That section also defines the 

"practice of surgical assisting" as "the performance of significant surgical 

tasks, including manipulation of organs, suturing of tissue, placement of 
hemostatic agents, injection of local anesthetic, harvesting of veins, 

implementation of devices, and other duties as directed by a licensed doctor of 
medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry under the direct supervision of a licensed 

doctor of medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry." 

3See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9039 

4See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212+ful+CHAP0230 
5According to the Department of Health Professions, a surgical technologist is 

usually responsible for ensuring the sterility of the room, the equipment, the 
surgical instruments, the surgical towels, etc. and making sure everything 

needed is present and arranged for maximum efficiency prior to the procedure. 

6See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9312 

7See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2915/ 
8See http://www.nsaa.net/wp-content/uploads/2019/12/Continuing-

Education-Policy-Rev.-2019.pdf 
9Enduring material is defined as a non-live offering, including but not limited 

to, CE articles delivered hard-copy or electronically that have a post-article CE 

exam; health care facility mandatory education tests online; viewing a 

recorded CE lecture on-line, CD, or other electronic means that has a post-

article CE exam. 

10See https://www.ast.org/Members/Submit_Credits/ 
11See https://www.ast.org/Members/CE_Credit_Packages/ 

12Source: Department of Health Professions 

13See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-127.1:03/ 
14Source: Department of Health Professions. 

15Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as 'a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and 

operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million.' 
16"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
17§ 2.2-4007.04 defines 'particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add definitions; (ii) conform 

fees for licensure to other professions under the board; 

(iii) add requirements for continuing competency for 

surgical assistants licensed under a grandfathering 

provision; (iv) provide for an inactive license and for 

reactivation or reinstatement of a license; (v) provide for 

a restricted volunteer license or voluntary practice by out-

of-state practitioners; and (vi) provide for renewal of 

certification of surgical technologists, including 

requirements for continuing education. Finally, the board 

proposes standards of practice similar to those for other 

licensed professions under its jurisdiction and a code of 

ethics specific to surgical assistants. 

Part I 

General provisions 

18VAC85-160-40. Fees. 

A. The following fees have been established by the board: 

1. The fee for licensure as a surgical assistant shall be $130 

or certification as a surgical technologist shall be $75. 

2. The fee for renewal of licensure or certification as a 

surgical assistant shall be $70 $135 and for certification as a 

surgical technologist, it shall be $70. Renewals shall be due 

in the birth month of the licensee or certificate holder in each 

even-numbered year. For 2020, the renewal fee shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $25 $50 for a 

surgical assistant and $25 for a surgical technologist. 

4. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $50. 

5. The fees for inactive license renewal shall be $70 for a 

surgical assistant and $35 for inactive certification renewal 

for a surgical technologist.  

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP1222
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9039
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212%20ful%20CHAP0230
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9312
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2915/
http://www.nsaa.net/wp-content/uploads/2019/12/Continuing-Education-Policy-Rev.-2019.pdf
http://www.nsaa.net/wp-content/uploads/2019/12/Continuing-Education-Policy-Rev.-2019.pdf
https://www.ast.org/Members/Submit_Credits/
https://www.ast.org/Members/CE_Credit_Packages/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-127.1:03/
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6. The fee for reinstatement of a surgical assistant license 

that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be $180; for 

a surgical technologist certification, it shall be $90. 

7. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction for a license shall be $10. 

8. The fee for reinstatement of licensure as a surgical 

assistant pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia 

shall be $2,000. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

are not refundable. 

Part II 

Requirements for licensure or certification 

18VAC85-160-60. Renewal of licensure for a surgical 

assistant. 

A. A surgical assistant who was licensed based on a credential 

as a surgical assistant or surgical first assistant issued by the 

National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting 

or the National Commission for the Certification of Surgical 

Assistants or their successors shall attest that the credential is 

current at the time of renewal. 

B. A surgical assistant who was licensed based on successful 

completion of a surgical assistant training program during the 

person's service as a member of any branch of the armed forces 

of the United States or based on practice as a surgical assistant 

in the Commonwealth at any time in the six months 

immediately prior to July 1, 2020, shall attest to completion of 

38 hours of continuing education recognized by the National 

Surgical Assistant Association at the time of biennial renewal. 

18VAC85-160-65. Renewal of certification for a surgical 

technologist.  

A. A surgical technologist who was certified based on 

certification as a certified surgical technologist from the 

National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting 

or its successor shall attest that the credential is current at the 

time of renewal. 

B. A surgical technologist who was certified based on 

successful completion of a training program for surgical 

technology during the person's service as a member of any 

branch of the armed forces of the United States, or based on 

practice as a surgical technologist at any time in the six months 

prior to July 1, 2021, shall attest to completion of 30 hours of 

continuing education recognized by the Association of 

Surgical Technologists at the time of biennial renewal. 

18VAC85-160-70. Reinstatement or reactivation of 

surgical assistant licensure.  

A. A licensed surgical assistant who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a request on the 

renewal application and submission of the required fee, be 

issued an inactive license. The holder of an inactive license 

shall not be required to maintain hours of active practice or 

meet the continued competency requirements of 18VAC85-

160-60 and shall not be entitled to perform any act requiring a 

license to practice surgical assisting in Virginia. 

B. An inactive licensee may reactivate his license upon 

submission of the following: 

1. An application as required by the board; 

2. A payment of the difference between the current renewal 

fee for inactive licensure and the renewal fee for active 

licensure; and 

3. Documentation of completed continued competency 

hours as required by 18VAC85-160-60. 

C. A surgical assistant who allows his license to lapse for a 

period of two years or more and chooses to resume his practice 

shall submit a reinstatement application to the board and 

information on any practice and licensure or certification in 

other jurisdictions during the period in which the license was 

lapsed and shall pay the fee for reinstatement of licensure as 

prescribed in 18VAC85-160-40. 

D. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 

reactivation or reinstatement to any licensee who has been 

determined to have committed an act in violation of § 54.1-

2915 of the Code of Virginia or any provisions of this chapter. 

E. A surgical assistant whose license has been revoked by the 

board and who wishes to be reinstated shall make a new 

application to the board and payment of the fee for 

reinstatement of his license as prescribed in 18VAC85-160-40 

pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Part III 

Standards of conduct 

18VAC85-160-80. Confidentiality.  

A practitioner shall not willfully or negligently breach the 

confidentiality between a practitioner and a patient. A breach 

of confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful. 

18VAC85-160-90. Patient records.  

A. Practitioners shall comply with the provisions of § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality 

and disclosure of patient records. 

B. Practitioners shall provide patient records to another 

practitioner or to the patient or the patient's personal 

representative in a timely manner and in accordance with 

provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Practitioners shall properly manage and keep timely, 

accurate, legible, and complete patient records. 

D. Practitioners who are employed by a health care institution 

or other entity in which the individual practitioner does not 

own or maintain the practitioner's own records shall maintain 
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patient records in accordance with the policies and procedures 

of the employing entity. 

E. Practitioners who are self-employed or employed by an 

entity in which the individual practitioner does own and is 

responsible for patient records shall: 

1. Maintain a patient record for a minimum of six years 

following the last patient encounter with the following 

exceptions: 

a. Records of a minor child shall be maintained until the 

child reaches the age of 18 or becomes emancipated, with 

a minimum time for record retention of six years from the 

last patient encounter regardless of the age of the child; 

b. Records that have previously been transferred to 

another practitioner or health care provider or provided to 

the patient or the patient's personal representative; or 

c. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law may need to be maintained for a longer period 

of time. 

2. Post information or in some manner inform all patients 

concerning the timeframe for record retention and 

destruction. Patient records shall only be destroyed in a 

manner that protects patient confidentiality, such as by 

incineration or shredding. 

F. When a practitioner is closing, selling, or relocating his 

practice, the practitioner shall meet the requirements of § 54.1-

2405 of the Code of Virginia for giving notice that copies of 

records can be sent to any like-regulated provider of the 

patient's choice or provided to the patient. 

18VAC85-160-100. Communication with patients; 

termination of relationship.  

A. Communication with patients. 

1. Except as provided in § 32.1-127.1:03 F of the Code of 

Virginia, a practitioner shall accurately present information 

to a patient or the patient's legally authorized representative 

in understandable terms and encourage participation in 

decisions regarding the patient's care. 

2. A practitioner shall not deliberately make a false or 

misleading statement regarding the practitioner's skill or the 

efficacy or value of a treatment or procedure provided or 

directed by the practitioner in the treatment of any disease or 

condition. 

3. Practitioners shall adhere to requirements of § 32.1-

162.18 of the Code of Virginia for obtaining informed 

consent from patients prior to involving them as subjects in 

human research with the exception of retrospective chart 

reviews. 

B. Termination of the practitioner/patient relationship. 

1. The practitioner or the patient may terminate the 

relationship. In either case, the practitioner shall make the 

patient record available, except in situations where denial of 

access is allowed by law. 

2. A practitioner shall not terminate the relationship or make 

the practitioner's services unavailable without documented 

notice to the patient that allows for a reasonable time to 

obtain the services of another practitioner. 

18VAC85-160-110. Practitioner responsibility.  

A. A practitioner shall not: 

1. Perform procedures or techniques that are outside the 

scope of his practice or for which the practitioner is not 

trained and individually competent; 

2. Knowingly allow subordinates to jeopardize patient safety 

or provide patient care outside of the subordinate's scope of 

practice or the subordinate's area of responsibility. 

Practitioners shall delegate patient care only to subordinates 

who are properly trained and supervised; 

3. Engage in an egregious pattern of disruptive behavior or 

interaction in a health care setting that interferes with patient 

care or could reasonably be expected to adversely impact the 

quality of care rendered to a patient; or 

4. Exploit the practitioner/patient relationship for personal 

gain. 

B. Advocating for patient safety or improvement in patient 

care within a health care entity shall not constitute disruptive 

behavior provided the practitioner does not engage in behavior 

prohibited in subdivision A 3 of this section. 

18VAC85-160-120. Sexual contact.  

A. For purposes of § 54.1-2915 A 12 and A 19 of the Code of 

Virginia and this section, sexual contact includes sexual 

behavior or verbal or physical behavior that: 

1. May reasonably be interpreted as intended for the sexual 

arousal or gratification of the practitioner, the patient, or 

both; or 

2. May reasonably be interpreted as romantic involvement 

with a patient regardless of whether such involvement 

occurs in the professional setting or outside of it. 

B. Sexual contact with a patient. 

1. The determination of when a person is a patient for 

purposes of § 54.1-2915 A 19 of the Code of Virginia is 

made on a case-by-case basis with consideration given to the 

nature, extent, and context of the professional relationship 

between the practitioner and the person. The fact that a 

person is not actively receiving treatment or professional 

services from a practitioner is not determinative of this issue. 

A person is presumed to remain a patient until the patient-

practitioner relationship is terminated. 

2. The consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual 

behavior or involvement with a practitioner by a patient does 
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not change the nature of the conduct nor negate the statutory 

prohibition. 

C. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a former patient 

after termination of the practitioner-patient relationship may 

still constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a 

result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence of 

emotions derived from the professional relationship. 

D. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a key third party 

shall constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is 

a result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence 

derived from the professional relationship or if the contact has 

had or is likely to have an adverse effect on patient care. For 

purposes of this section, key third party of a patient means 

spouse or partner, parent or child, guardian, or legal 

representative of the patient. 

E. Sexual contact between a supervisor and a trainee shall 

constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a 

result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence 

derived from the professional relationship or if the contact has 

had or is likely to have an adverse effect on patient care. 

18VAC85-160-130. Refusal to provide information.  

A practitioner shall not willfully refuse to provide 

information or records as requested or required by the board or 

its representative pursuant to an investigation or to the 

enforcement of a statute or regulation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6696; Filed December 30, 2021, 2:33 p.m. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators (amending 

18VAC95-20-175, 18VAC95-20-310, 18VAC95-20-340, 

18VAC95-20-390, 18VAC95-20-400). 

18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Assisted Living Facility Administrators (amending 

18VAC95-30-70, 18VAC95-30-100, 18VAC95-30-160, 

18VAC95-30-170, 18VAC95-30-180, 18VAC95-30-190). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

March 4, 2022 - noon - Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor, Suite 

201, Board Room 4, Henrico, Virginia 

Public Comment Deadline: April 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 

367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

The specific mandate for the Board of Long-Term Care 

Administrators to license nursing home and assisted living 

facility administrators is found in § 54.1-3102 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to strengthen 

current training and supervision requirements for prospective 

administrator licensees in the nursing home and assisted living 

settings. Training is essential for prospective administrators 

not only as preparation for examination and licensure, but also 

as a means of ensuring safety and competency for practice 

within the long-term care setting, which in turn enhances 

public health and safety. The board has also strengthened 

training for current and prospective administrators in the area 

of mental impairments, including dementia and Alzheimer's, to 

ensure that administrators are adequately equipped to handle 

the needs of residents in their care who are facing these 

challenges. 

Substance: The board has amended its regulations to (i) clarify 

and enhance training and supervision requirements for 

prospective nursing home and assisted living facility 

administrators receiving pre-licensure training in an 

administrator-in-training (AIT) program; (ii) establish an 

additional pathway for individuals to qualify for AIT training 

in the assisted living setting and strengthen the current 

requirement for college or university coursework to include 

coursework in business or human services; (iii) offer 

continuing education credit for preceptors who supervise AITs 

and to enhance the training and continuing education received 

by both AITs and administrators related to mental 

impairments, including dementia and Alzheimer's; and (iv) 

specify limitations on the assisted living facilities that qualify 

for an AIT program. 

Issues: The primary advantages are more opportunity for 

persons to become administrators of assisted living facilities to 

alleviate shortages, incentive for administrators to serve as 

preceptors for persons in training, and more emphasis on 

training and education in mental or cognitive impairment to 

better serve an affected population. There are no disadvantages 

to the public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

board or the department. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic 

impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators (Board) proposes to: 

mailto:corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov
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1) establish an additional pathway for individuals to qualify for 

Administrator-in-Training (AIT) program in the Assisted-

Living Facility (ALF) setting and strengthen the current 

requirement for college or university coursework to include 

coursework in business and/or human services, 2) enhance 

training and supervision requirements for prospective nursing 

home and ALF administrators receiving pre-licensure training 

in an AIT program, 3) offer continuing education credit for 

preceptors2 who supervise AITs, 4) enhance the training and 

continuing education received by both AITs and administrators 

related to mental impairments, and 5) specify limitations on the 

assisted living facilities that qualify for an AIT program. 

Background. The Board issues licenses to nursing facility 

administrators as well as ALF administrators. Both 

administrator types have an AIT program. This regulatory 

action stems from a set of recommendations from a regulatory 

advisory panel on both types of AITs which was convened by 

the Board. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. One of the pathways to become 

an ALF administrator is through the completion of an AIT 

program. Requirements for entry into the AIT program vary. 

One of the proposed changes would allow individuals who lack 

the currently required 30 hours of postsecondary education or 

a degree as a nurse, but who have at least three years of health 

care experience, to include at least one consecutive year in a 

managerial or supervisory role in a health care setting within 

the five years prior to application to join an AIT program. In 

essence, this amendment would allow a person who has been 

performed certain roles in a health care setting, such as the food 

services manager, activities director, or human resources 

manager, to qualify for entry into an ALF AIT program to 

become an ALF administrator. 

According to the Department of Health Professions (DHP), 

with an increasingly aging population, there is an ongoing need 

for more administrators in the field. Also, workforce surveys 

conducted in 2021 show that the median age for nursing home 

and ALF administrators is 50 and 52, respectively.3 Thirty-

eight percent of nursing home administrators are 55 years or 

older, while 43% of ALF administrators are 55 years or older.4 

DHP believes these facilities will face a wave of retirements of 

administrators in the next few years and the ALF community 

believes this change is urgently needed to fill currently open 

positions and those that would be needed to meet future needs 

in long term care. 

The proposed additional pathway would open up opportunity 

for some individuals to climb the career ladder into the 

administrator role. This change would likely expand the pool 

of potential administrators and benefit those who currently lack 

30 hours of postsecondary education or a degree as a nurse to 

get into an ALF AIT program. The impact on residents would 

depend on whether basic, managerial, or supervisory 

experience in health care setting is a good substitute for 

postsecondary education or a degree as a nurse. 

At the same time, the Board proposes to strengthen AIT 

program educational requirements by targeting coursework 

subject matter areas that are more relevant to an ALF 

administrator. According to DHP, "Thirty hours at a 

community college without some specified coursework (plus 

the existing requirement of 640 hours in an AIT program) may 

not prepare an individual to handle the complexity of managing 

the health care needs, the financial and regulatory 

responsibilities, and the human resource issues of a facility." 

While the total number of hours (30 semester hours) would not 

change, the Board proposes to require at least 15 of the 30 

hours in business or human services or a combination thereof. 

Those who are at the beginning of their coursework may meet 

this requirement by carefully choosing their coursework. 

However, this change may disqualify those who completed 30 

hours of coursework but currently lack at least 15 of the 30 

hours in business or human services or a combination and may 

shrink the pool of potential administrators or force them to take 

more courses. The impact on residents would depend on 

whether targeted coursework would help improve their care. 

The Board also proposes to incentivize becoming a preceptor 

for AIT programs through continuing education requirements. 

Serving as a preceptor is a time-consuming responsibility and 

a learning experience for the preceptor as well as the trainee. 

Additional preceptors would be needed if there is an 

enrollment increase in AIT programs due to additional 

pathway proposed. A nursing facility or ALF administrator 

who serves as a registered preceptor in an approved AIT 

program would be allowed to receive one hour of continuing 

education credit for each week of training up to a maximum of 

ten hours (half of the total required hours). This change would 

not affect the required continuing education hours but only 

how credits could be earned by the administrators who are 

preceptors. The intent is to encourage and reward preceptors 

for AIT programs especially given the potential increase in 

enrollment in training programs. 

The Board proposes to strengthen training for current and 

prospective nursing home and ALF administrators in the area 

of mental impairments, including dementia and Alzheimer's 

disease, to ensure that administrators are adequately equipped 

to handle the needs of residents in their care who are facing 

these challenges. There is a strong correlation between aging 

and developing dementia, and according to demographers at 

the University of Virginia, one in five Virginians will be over 

65 years by 2030.5 Additionally, DHP notes that many 

residents of long term care facilities are affected by mental 

impairment and that continuous education is essential to 

appropriately plan for and execute their care. There are new 

and developing techniques and treatments that require 

administrators to stay current and knowledgeable. Therefore, 

the Board proposes that current administrators (both nursing 

home and ALF) complete at least two hours of continuing 

education for each renewal year shall relate to the care of 

residents with mental or cognitive impairments, including 

Alzheimer's disease and dementia and that AIT programs (both 
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nursing home and ALF) provide training on the care of 

residents with cognitive or mental impairments, including 

Alzheimer's disease and dementia. 

New continuing education and training requirements can be 

fulfilled by choosing such courses or training as part of existing 

hourly requirements. This change would likely help residents 

with cognitive or mental impairments. However, the impact on 

other residents would depend on the type of training or 

education that would have been taken instead, if any. 

Finally, the Board proposes to specify limitations on the 

assisted living facilities that qualify for an AIT program. 

Currently, the regulation states that an ALF AIT program 

cannot be conducted in an ALF with a provisional license, as 

determined by the Department of Social Services (DSS). The 

advisory panel recommended three additional limitations 

based on the need to train administrators with the competencies 

to safely run an ALF. Under the proposed changes, an AIT 

program cannot be operated in an ALF with a conditional 

license in which the AIT applicant is the owner of the facility; 

in a facility that is only licensed for residential care (not 

assisted living); and in a facility with resident capacity of less 

than 20 residents. 

If the person who wants to operate an ALF AIT is the owner 

of the facility and it has been given a conditional license by 

DSS, there are concerns that the owner would be serving as the 

acting AIT of their own new facility, thereby resulting in 

inadequate AIT training and/or supervision. If a facility is only 

licensed for residential care, a licensed administrator is not 

required and there would be insufficient oversight and training 

opportunities for an ALF AIT. For example, residents handle 

their own medications, rather than employing medication aides 

or nurses for that task. 

The panel used data estimates from DSS to make its 

recommendation about the bed capacity of an ALF facility in 

which an AIT program could be operated. It concluded that a 

facility with fewer than 20 beds did not have the breadth and 

depth of staff and experience to adequately prepare a person in 

training to safely and effectively operate an assisted living 

facility. 

According to data from DSS, of the 571 facilities licensed to 

provide assisted living care, there were approximately 100 that 

are in the range of three to 10 beds (73 of those are located in 

Fairfax and Central Virginia; none were located in the Western 

district of the state). Therefore the Board agreed with the 

recommendation of the panel that there was ample opportunity 

in all parts of the state for AIT programs in facilities with 

adequate bed capacity needed for training of competent 

administrators. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. According to data 

from DSS, there are 571 facilities licensed as ALFs; 

approximately 67 of those facilities are residential only (i.e., 

do not require a licensed administrator). The total licensed 

resident capacity across all ALFs is approximately 36,121. For 

nursing homes, there are nearly 300 licensed nursing homes 

containing over 32,000 beds. 

The proposed regulatory changes would primarily affect 

persons in AIT programs (nursing home and assisted living) 

and licensees who are registered as preceptors. There are six 

acting administrators in ALF AIT programs, 86 persons 

undergoing an ALF administrator-in-training program, 188 

ALF preceptors, 72 persons undergoing a nursing home 

administrator-in-training program, and 209 nursing home 

preceptors. 

No affected entity appears to be disproportionately affected. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.6 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted above, the 

proposal that at least 15 of the 30 hours required for entry into 

an ALF AIT program be in business or human services or a 

combination thereof may disqualify some individuals from 

enrollment in an AIT program or may force them to acquire 

more hours than other individuals who already completed 30 

hours of coursework in other areas. Although there is no 

information on whether any such AIT candidates exist, an 

adverse impact on them would be indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.8  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

According to DHP, most of the nursing home AIT programs 

are operated in large facilities that are part of a regional or 

national group. Many of the ALF AIT programs are in facilities 

that would be considered small businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. As discussed, the new rules may 

disqualify some assisted living facilities from operating an AIT 

program even if they wanted to. Although there is no 

information on whether there exists any such assisted living 

facility, an adverse impact on them would be indicated. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments do not 

appear to disproportionately affect any particular localities or 

affect costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. One of the proposed 

amendments would provide an additional pathway to become 

an administrator to existing assisted living facility employees. 

While that change may provide a new career opportunity for 

certain individuals, it does not appear to directly affect total 

employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant effect on the use and value of private property or 

real estate development costs is expected. 

___________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
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amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2A preceptor is an experienced practitioner who provides supervision during 

clinical practice. 
3https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/ltc/1706ALFA2021

.pdf and 
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/ltc/1701NHA2021. 

pdf 

4https://statchatva.org/2017/07/05/1-in-5-virginians-will-be-over-65-years-

by-2030/ 
5Ibid. 

6Pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 

7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
8If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
9"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
10§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Long-Term Care Administrators concurs with the economic 

impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify and enhance 

training and supervision requirements for prospective 

nursing home and assisted living facility administrators 

receiving pre-licensure training in an administrator-in-

training (AIT) program; (ii) establish an additional 

pathway for individuals to qualify for AIT training in the 

assisted living setting and strengthen the current 

requirement for college or university coursework to 

include coursework in business or human services; (iii) 

offer continuing education credit for preceptors who 

supervise AITs and to enhance the training and continuing 

education received by both AITs and administrators 

related to mental impairments, including dementia and 

Alzheimer's; and (iv) specify limitations on the assisted 

living facilities that qualify for an AIT program. 

18VAC95-20-175. Continuing education requirements. 

A. In order to renew a nursing home administrator license, an 

applicant shall attest on his renewal application to completion 

of 20 hours of approved continuing education for each renewal 

year. 

1. Up to 10 of the 20 hours may be obtained through Internet 

or self-study courses and up to 10 continuing education 

hours in excess of the number required may be transferred 

or credited to the next renewal year. 

2. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. 

3. At least two hours of continuing education for each 

renewal year shall relate to the care of residents with mental 

or cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease and 

dementia. 

4. A licensee who serves as the registered preceptor in an 

approved AIT or Assisted Living Facility AIT program may 

receive one hour of continuing education credit for each 

week of training up to a maximum of 10 hours of self-study 

course credit for each renewal year. 

5. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on the 

first renewal date following initial licensure. 

B. In order for continuing education to be approved by the 

board, it shall (i) be related to health care administration and 

shall be approved or offered by NAB, an accredited institution, 

or a government agency or (ii) as provided in subdivision A 2 

of this section. 

C. Documentation of continuing education. 

1. The licensee shall retain in his the licensee's personal files 

for a period of three renewal years complete documentation 

of continuing education including evidence of attendance or 

participation as provided by the approved sponsor for each 

course taken. 

2. Evidence of attendance shall be an original document 

provided by the approved sponsor and shall include: 

a. Date the course was taken; 

b. Hours of attendance or participation; 

c. Participant's name; and 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/ltc/1706ALFA2021.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/ltc/1706ALFA2021.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/ltc/1701NHA2021.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/ltc/1701NHA2021.pdf
https://statchatva.org/2017/07/05/1-in-5-virginians-will-be-over-65-years-by-2030/
https://statchatva.org/2017/07/05/1-in-5-virginians-will-be-over-65-years-by-2030/
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d. Signature of an authorized representative of the 

approved sponsor. 

3. If contacted for an audit, the licensee shall forward to the 

board by the date requested a signed affidavit of completion 

on forms provided by the board and evidence of attendance 

or participation as provided by the approved sponsor. 

D. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an 

exemption for all or part of the continuing education 

requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the 

administrator, such as a certified illness, a temporary disability, 

mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 

The request for an extension shall be received in writing and 

granted by the board prior to the renewal date. 

18VAC95-20-310. Required hours of training. 

A. The AIT program shall consist of 2,000 hours of 

continuous training in a facility as prescribed in 18VAC95-20-

330 to be completed within 24 months. An extension may be 

granted by the board on an individual case basis. The board 

may reduce the required hours for applicants with certain 

qualifications as prescribed in subsection subsections B and C 

of this section. 

B. An AIT applicant with prior health care work experience 

may request approval to receive a maximum 1,000 hours of 

credit toward the total 2,000 hours as follows: 

1. The applicant shall have been employed full time for four 

of the past five consecutive years immediately prior to 

application as an assistant administrator or director of 

nursing in a training facility as prescribed in 18VAC95-20-

330, or as the licensed administrator of an assisted living 

facility; 

2. The applicant with experience as a hospital administrator 

shall have been employed full time for three of the past five 

years immediately prior to application as a hospital 

administrator-of-record or an assistant hospital 

administrator in a hospital setting having responsibilities in 

all of the following areas: 

a. Regulatory; 

b. Fiscal; 

c. Supervisory; 

d. Personnel; and 

e. Management; or 

3. The applicant who holds a license as a registered nurse 

shall have held an administrative level supervisory position 

for at least four of the past five consecutive years, in a 

training facility as prescribed in 18VAC95-20-330. 

C. An AIT applicant with the following educational 

qualifications shall meet these requirements: 

1. An applicant with a master's or a baccalaureate degree in 

a health care-related field that meets the requirements of 

18VAC95-20-221 with no internship shall complete 320 

hours in an AIT program; 

2. An applicant with a master's degree in a field other than 

health care shall complete 1,000 hours in an AIT program; 

3. An applicant with a baccalaureate degree in a field other 

than health care shall complete 1,500 hours in an AIT 

program; or 

4. An applicant with 60 semester hours of education in an 

accredited college or university shall complete 2,000 hours 

in an AIT program. 

D. An AIT shall be required to serve weekday, evening, night 

and weekend shifts and to receive training in all areas of 

nursing home operation. An AIT shall receive credit for no 

more than 40 hours of training per week. 

E. An AIT shall complete training on the care of residents 

with cognitive or mental impairments, including Alzheimer's 

disease and dementia. 

18VAC95-20-340. Supervision of trainees. 

A. Training shall be under the supervision of a preceptor who 

is registered or recognized by a licensing board. 

B. A preceptor may supervise no more than two AIT's at any 

one time. 

C. A preceptor shall: 

1. Provide direct instruction, planning, and evaluation in the 

training facility; 

2. Shall be routinely present with the trainee for on-site 

supervision in the training facility as appropriate to the 

experience and training of the AIT and the needs of the 

residents in the facility; and 

3. Shall continually evaluate the development and 

experience of the AIT to determine specific areas in the 

Domains of Practice that need to be addressed. 

18VAC95-20-390. Training plan. 

Prior to the beginning of the AIT program, the preceptor shall 

develop and submit for board approval a training plan that shall 

include and be designed around the specific training needs of 

the administrator-in-training. The training plan shall address 

the Domains of Practice approved by NAB that is in effect at 

the time the training program is submitted for approval. An 

AIT program shall include training in each of the learning areas 

in the Domains of Practice as outlined in the NAB AIT 

Manual. 

18VAC95-20-400. Reporting requirements. 

A. The preceptor shall maintain progress reports on forms 

prescribed by the board for each month of training. The 

preceptor shall document in the progress report evidence of on-

site supervision of the AIT training. 
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B. The AIT's certificate final report of completion plus with 

the accumulated original monthly reports shall be submitted by 

the preceptor to the board within 30 days following the 

completion of the AIT program. 

18VAC95-30-70. Continuing education requirements. 

A. In order to renew an assisted living administrator license, 

an applicant shall attest on his the applicant's renewal 

application to completion of 20 hours of approved continuing 

education for each renewal year. 

1. Up to 10 of the 20 hours may be obtained through Internet 

or self-study courses and up to 10 continuing education 

hours in excess of the number required may be transferred 

or credited to the next renewal year. 

2. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. 

3. At least two hours of continuing education for each 

renewal year shall relate to the care of residents with mental 

or cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease and 

dementia. 

4. A licensee who serves as the registered preceptor in an 

approved ALF AIT program may receive one hour of 

continuing education credit for each week of training up to a 

maximum of 10 hours of self-study course credit for each 

renewal year. 

5. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements for the first renewal following initial 

licensure in Virginia. 

B. In order for continuing education to be approved by the 

board, it shall (i) be related to the Domains of Practice for 

residential care/assisted living and approved or offered by 

NAB, an accredited educational institution, or a governmental 

agency or (ii) be as provided in subdivision A 2 of this section. 

C. Documentation of continuing education. 

1. The licensee shall retain in his personal files for a period 

of three renewal years complete documentation of 

continuing education including evidence of attendance or 

participation as provided by the approved sponsor for each 

course taken. 

2. Evidence of attendance shall be an original document 

provided by the approved sponsor and shall include: 

a. Date the course was taken; 

b. Hours of attendance or participation; 

c. Participant's name; and 

d. Signature of an authorized representative of the 

approved sponsor. 

3. If contacted for an audit, the licensee shall forward to the 

board by the date requested a signed affidavit of completion 

on forms provided by the board and evidence of attendance 

or participation as provided by the approved sponsor. 

D. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an 

exemption for all or part of the continuing education 

requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the 

administrator, such as a certified illness, a temporary disability, 

mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 

The request for an extension shall be submitted in writing and 

granted by the board prior to the renewal date. 

18VAC95-30-100. Educational and training requirements 

for initial licensure. 

A. To be qualified for initial licensure as an assisted living 

facility administrator, an applicant shall hold a high school 

diploma or general education diploma (GED) and hold one of 

the following qualifications: 

1. Administrator-in-training program. 

a. Complete at least 30 semester hours of postsecondary 

education in an accredited college or university in any 

subject with at least 15 of the 30 semester hours in 

business or human services or a combination thereof and 

640 hours in an ALF AIT program as specified in 

18VAC95-30-150; 

b. Complete an educational program as a licensed practical 

nurse and hold a current, unrestricted license or multistate 

licensure privilege and 640 hours in an ALF AIT program; 

c. Complete an educational program as a registered nurse 

and hold a current, unrestricted license or multistate 

licensure privilege and 480 hours in an ALF AIT program; 

d. Complete at least 30 semester hours in an accredited 

college or university with courses in the content areas of 

(i) client/resident client or resident care, (ii) human 

resources management, (iii) financial management, (iv) 

physical environment, and (v) leadership and governance, 

and 480 hours in an ALF AIT program; 

e. Hold a master's or a baccalaureate degree in health care-

related field or a comparable field that meets the 

requirements of subsection B of this section with no 

internship or practicum and 320 hours in an ALF AIT 

program; or 

f. Hold a master's or baccalaureate degree in an unrelated 

field and 480 hours in an ALF AIT program; or 

g. Have at least three years of health care experience, to 

include at least one consecutive year in a managerial or 

supervisory role, in a health care setting within the five 

years prior to application and 640 hours in an ALF AIT 

program. For purposes of this qualification, these 

definitions shall apply: (i) "health care experience" means 
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full-time equivalency experience in providing care to 

residents or patients in a health care setting; (ii) "health 

care setting" means a licensed home health organization, 

licensed hospice program, licensed hospital or nursing 

home, licensed assisted living facility, licensed adult day 

program, or licensed mental health or developmental 

services facility; and (iii) "managerial or supervisory role" 

means an employment role that includes management 

responsibility and supervision of two or more staff. 

2. Certificate program. 

Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree in a field unrelated 

to health care from an accredited college or university and 

successfully complete a certificate program with a 

minimum of 21 semester hours study in a health care-

related field that meets course content requirements of 

subsection B of this section from an accredited college or 

university and successfully complete not less than a 320-

hour internship or practicum that addresses the Domains 

of Practice as specified in 18VAC95-30-160 in a licensed 

assisted living facility as part of the certificate program 

under the supervision of a preceptor; or 

3. Degree and practical experience. 

Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree in a health care-

related field that meets the course content requirements of 

subsection B of this section from an accredited college or 

university and have completed not less than a 320-hour 

internship or practicum that addresses the Domains of 

Practice as specified in 18VAC95-30-160 in a licensed 

assisted living facility as part of the degree program under 

the supervision of a preceptor. 

B. To meet the educational requirements for a degree in a 

health care-related field, an applicant must provide an official 

transcript from an accredited college or university that 

documents successful completion of a minimum of 21 

semester hours of coursework concentrated on the 

administration and management of health care services to 

include a minimum of six semester hours in the content area 

set out in subdivision 1 of this subsection, three semester hours 

in each of the content areas in subdivisions 2 through 5 of this 

subsection, and three semester hours for an internship or 

practicum. 

1. Customer care, supports, and services; 

2. Human resources; 

3. Finance; 

4. Environment; 

5. Leadership and management. 

18VAC95-30-160. Required content of an ALF 

administrator-in-training program. 

A. Prior to the beginning of the training program, the 

preceptor shall develop and submit for board approval a 

training plan that shall include and be designed around the 

specific training needs of the administrator-in-training. The 

training plan shall include the tasks and the knowledge and 

skills required to complete those tasks as approved by NAB as 

the domains of practice for residential care/assisted living in 

effect at the time the training is being provided. An ALF AIT 

program shall include training in each of the learning areas in 

the domains of practice as outlined in the NAB AIT Manual. 

B. An ALF AIT shall be required to serve weekday, evening, 

night, and weekend shifts and to receive training in all areas of 

an assisted living facility operation. 

C. An AIT shall receive credit for no more than 40 hours of 

training per week. 

D. An ALF AIT shall complete training on the care of 

residents with cognitive or mental impairments, including 

Alzheimer's disease and dementia.  

18VAC95-30-170. Training facilities. 

A. Training in an ALF AIT program or for an internship shall 

be conducted only in: 

1. An assisted living facility or unit licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Social Services or by a similar licensing body in 

another jurisdiction; 

2. An assisted living facility owned or operated by an agency 

of any city, county, or the Commonwealth or of the United 

States government; or 

3. An assisted living unit located in and operated by a 

licensed hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of 

Virginia, a state-operated hospital, or a hospital licensed in 

another jurisdiction. 

B. A new ALF AIT program or internship shall not be 

conducted in a Training in an ALF AIT program or for an 

internship shall not be conducted in:  

1. An assisted living facility with a provisional license as 

determined by the Department of Social Services in which 

the AIT program is a new ALF AIT program; 

2. An assisted living facility with a conditional license as 

determined by the Department of Social Services in which 

the AIT applicant is the owner of the facility; 

3. A facility that is licensed as residential only and does not 

require an administrator licensed by the Board of Long-

Term Care Administrators; or 

4. An assisted living facility with a licensed resident capacity 

of fewer than 20 residents. 

18VAC95-30-180. Preceptors. 

A. Training in an ALF AIT program shall be under the 

supervision of a preceptor who is registered or recognized by 

Virginia or a similar licensing board in another jurisdiction. 
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B. To be registered by the board as a preceptor, a person shall: 

1. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia assisted living 

facility administrator or nursing home administrator license; 

2. Be employed full time as an administrator in a training 

facility for a minimum of two of the past four years 

immediately prior to registration or be a regional 

administrator with on-site supervisory responsibilities for a 

training facility; 

3. Provide evidence that he has completed the online 

preceptor training course offered by NAB; and 

4. Submit an application and fee as prescribed in 18VAC95-

30-40. The board may waive such application and fee for a 

person who is already approved as a preceptor for nursing 

home licensure. 

C. A preceptor shall: 

1. Provide direct instruction, planning, and evaluation; 

2. Be routinely present with for on-site supervision of the 

trainee in the training facility as appropriate to the 

experience and training of the ALF AIT and the needs of the 

residents in the facility; and 

3. Continually evaluate the development and experience of 

the trainee to determine specific areas needed for 

concentration. 

D. A preceptor may supervise no more than two trainees at 

any one time. 

E. A preceptor for a person who is serving as an acting 

administrator while in an ALF AIT program shall be present in 

the training facility for face-to-face instruction and review of 

the trainee's performance for a minimum of four hours per 

week. 

F. To renew registration as a preceptor, a person shall: 

1. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia assisted living 

facility or nursing home license and be employed by or have 

an a written agreement with a training facility for a 

preceptorship; and 

2. Meet the renewal requirements of 18VAC95-30-60. 

18VAC95-30-190. Reporting requirements. 

A. The preceptor shall maintain progress reports on forms 

prescribed by the board for each month of training. The 

preceptor shall document in the progress report evidence of on-

site supervision of the AIT training. For a person who is 

serving as an acting administrator while in an ALF AIT 

program, the preceptor shall include in the progress report 

evidence of face-to-face instruction and review for a minimum 

of two four hours per week. 

B. The trainee's certificate final report of completion plus 

with the accumulated original monthly reports shall be 

submitted by the preceptor to the board within 30 days 

following the completion of the program. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6286; Filed December 29, 2021, 4:51 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-30. Regulations for 

Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled 

Substances (amending 18VAC110-30-10, 18VAC110-30-

20, 18VAC110-30-21, 18VAC110-30-40, 18VAC110-30-

270). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 527-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 609 and 610 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments (i) define the term "practitioner" 

to include nurse practitioners or physician assistants for the 

purpose of issuance of a limited-use license and (ii) include 

the allowance for issuance of a limited-use permit for 

nonprofit facilities for the sale of Schedule VI drugs and 

devices used in administration of such drugs. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC110-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 

"Controlled substance" means a drug, substance or immediate 

precursor in Schedules I through VI of the Drug Control Act. 

"Licensee" means a practitioner who is licensed by the Board 

of Pharmacy to sell controlled substances. 

"Personal supervision" means the licensee must be physically 

present and render direct, personal control over the entire 

service being rendered or acts being performed. Neither prior 

nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor shall supervision 

be rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by any 

mechanical or electronic methods. 

"Practitioner" or "practitioner of the healing arts" means a 

doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine or podiatry who 

possesses a current active license issued by the Board of 

Medicine. For the purpose of a limited-use permit for a 

nonprofit facility, a "practitioner" or "practitioner of the 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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healing arts" may also mean a physician assistant with a current 

active license issued by the Board of Medicine or a nurse 

practitioner with a current active license issued by the Joint 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine. 

"Sale" means barter, exchange, or gift, or offer thereof, and 

each such transaction made by any person, whether as an 

individual, proprietor, agent, servant or employee. It does not 

include the gift of manufacturer's samples to a patient. 

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 

constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five 

years of age to open or obtain a toxic or harmful amount of the 

controlled substance contained therein within a reasonable 

time and not difficult for normal adults to use properly, but 

does not mean packaging which all such children cannot open 

or obtain a toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time. 

"U.S.P.-N.F." means the United States Pharmacopeia-

National Formulary. 

18VAC110-30-20. Application for licensure. 

A. Prior to engaging in the sale of controlled substances, a 

practitioner shall make application on a form provided by the 

board and be issued a license. After June 7, 2016, the 

practitioner shall engage in such sale from a location that has 

been issued a facility permit. 

B. In order to be eligible for a license to sell controlled 

substances, a practitioner shall possess a current, active license 

to practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry issued 

by the Virginia Board of Medicine. Any disciplinary action 

taken by the Board of Medicine against the practitioner's 

license to practice shall constitute grounds for the board to 

deny, restrict, or place terms on the license to sell. Prior to 

engaging in the sale of Schedule VI controlled substances, 

excluding the combination of misoprostol and methotrexate, 

and hypodermic syringes and needles for the administration of 

prescribed controlled substances from a nonprofit facility, a 

doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry, a nurse 

practitioner, or a physician assistant shall make application on 

a form provided by the board and be issued a limited-use 

license. 

C. Any disciplinary action taken by the Board of Medicine, 

or in the case of a nurse practitioner, by the Joint Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine, against the practitioner's license to 

practice shall constitute grounds for the board to deny, restrict, 

or place terms on the license to sell. 

18VAC110-30-21. Application for facility permit. 

A. After June 7, 2016, any location at which practitioners of 

the healing arts sell controlled substances shall have a permit 

issued by the board in accordance with § 54.1-3304.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. A licensed practitioner of the healing arts 

shall apply for the facility permit on a form provided by the 

board. 

B. For good cause shown, the board may issue a limited-use 

facility permit when the scope, degree, or type of services 

provided to the patient is of a limited nature. The permit to be 

issued shall be based on conditions of use requested by the 

applicant or imposed by the board in cases where certain 

requirements of this chapter may be waived. 

1. The limited-use facility permit application shall list the 

regulatory requirements for which a waiver is requested, if 

any, and a brief explanation as to why each requirement 

should not apply to that practice. 

2. A policy and procedure manual detailing the type and 

volume of controlled substances to be sold and safeguards 

against diversion shall accompany the application. 

3. The issuance and continuation of a limited-use facility 

permit shall be subject to continuing compliance with the 

conditions set forth by the board. 

4. A limited-use facility permit may be issued to a nonprofit 

facility for the purpose of dispensing Schedule VI controlled 

substances, excluding the combination of misoprostol and 

methotrexate, and hypodermic syringes and needles for the 

administration of prescribed controlled substances. 

C. The executive director may grant a waiver of the security 

system when storing and selling multiple strengths and 

formulations of no more than five different topical Schedule 

VI drugs intended for cosmetic use. 

18VAC110-30-40. Acts to be performed by the licensee. 

A. The selection of the controlled substance from the stock, 

any preparation or packaging of a controlled substance or the 

preparation of a label for a controlled substance to be 

transferred to a patient shall be the personal responsibility of 

the licensee. 

1. Any compounding of a controlled substance shall be 

personally performed by the licensee or a registered 

pharmacy technician under the supervision of the licensee. 

2. A licensee may supervise one person who may be present 

in the storage and selling area to assist in performance of 

pharmacy technician tasks, as set forth in § 54.1-3321 of the 

Code of Virginia, provided such person is not licensed to sell 

controlled substances and is either: 

a. A pharmacy technician registered with the board; or 

b. A licensed nurse or physician assistant who has received 

training in technician tasks consistent with training 

required for pharmacy technicians. 

3. Unless using one of the board-approved training courses 

for pharmacy technicians, a licensee who uses a nurse or 

physician assistant to perform pharmacy technician tasks 

shall develop and maintain a training manual and shall 

document that such licensee has successfully completed 

general training in the following areas: 
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a. The entry of prescription information and drug history 

into a data system or other recordkeeping system; 

b. The preparation of prescription labels or patient 

information; 

c. The removal of the drug to be dispensed from inventory; 

d. The counting or measuring of the drug to be dispensed 

to include pharmacy calculations; 

e. The packaging and labeling of the drug to be dispensed 

and the repackaging thereof; 

f. The stocking or loading of automated dispensing 

devices or other devices used in the dispensing process, if 

applicable; and 

g. Applicable laws and regulations related to dispensing. 

4. A licensee who employs or uses pharmacy technicians, 

licensed nurses or physician assistants to assist in the storage 

and selling area shall develop and maintain a site-specific 

training program and manual for training to work in that 

practice. The program shall include training consistent with 

that specific practice to include, but not be limited to, 

training in proper use of site-specific computer programs 

and equipment, proper use of other equipment used in the 

practice in performing technician duties, and pharmacy 

calculations consistent with the duties in that practice. 

5. A licensee shall maintain documentation of successful 

completion of the site-specific training program for each 

pharmacy technician, nurse or physician assistant for the 

duration of the employment and for a period of two years 

from date of termination of employment. Documentation for 

currently employed persons shall be maintained on site or at 

another location where the records are readily retrievable 

upon request for inspection. After employment is 

terminated, such documentation may be maintained at an 

off-site location where it is retrievable upon request. 

B. Prior to the dispensing, the licensee shall: 

1. Conduct a prospective drug review and offer to counsel a 

patient in accordance with provisions of § 54.1-3319 of the 

Code of Virginia; and 

2. Inspect the prescription product to verify its accuracy in 

all respects, and place his initials on the record of sale as 

certification of the accuracy of, and the responsibility for, 

the entire transaction. 

C. If the record of sale is maintained in an automated data 

processing system as provided in 18VAC110-30-200, the 

licensee shall personally place his initials with each entry of a 

sale as a certification of the accuracy of, and the responsibility 

for, the entire transaction. 

18VAC110-30-270. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

In addition to those grounds listed in § 54.1-3316 of the Code 

of Virginia, the board may revoke, suspend, refuse to issue or 

renew a license to sell controlled substances or may deny any 

application if it finds that the licensee or applicant has had his 

license to practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry 

or license as a physician assistant or nurse practitioner 

suspended or revoked in Virginia or in any other state or no 

longer holds a current active license to practice in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6380; Filed January 12, 2022, 11:35 a.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 

(amending 18VAC115-20-10, 18VAC115-20-40, 

18VAC115-20-45, 18VAC115-20-51, 18VAC115-20-52, 

18VAC115-20-106 through 18VAC115-20-140). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-

10, 18VAC115-50-20, 18VAC115-50-40, 18VAC115-50-55, 

18VAC115-50-60, 18VAC115-50-70, 18VAC115-50-96 

through 18VAC115-50-120). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 

(amending 18VAC115-60-10, 18VAC115-60-20, 

18VAC115-60-40 through 18VAC115-60-90, 18VAC115-

60-116 through 18VAC115-60-140). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 18, 2022 - noon - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Counseling the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. Specific authority for 

regulation of the profession of counseling is found in §§ 54.1-

3503 and 54.1-3506 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The board has added more pathways to licensure by 

endorsement to encourage portability for licensees from other 

states. By doing so, Virginia citizens with mental health needs 

may have greater access to care. Additional standards of 

conduct and causes for disciplinary action will provide further 

guidance to licensees on the expectations for ethical practice 

and give the board more explicit grounds on which to 

discipline practitioners for the purpose of protecting the health, 

safety, and welfare of the public they serve. 

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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Substance: The intent of the amendments resulting from the 

periodic review is to update regulations, clarify language, 

achieve consistency among requirements for licensees, and 

facilitate obtaining license by endorsement. Additional 

standards of practice and ground for disciplinary action are 

included to address issues that have arisen or for consistency 

with other behavioral health professional regulations. 

Amendments for residents and residencies that are currently in 

effect through emergency action are incorporated into this 

periodic review to avoid confusion and conflict. Similar 

changes are recommended in all three chapters, with some 

specific amendments to 18VAC115-50 and 18VAC115-60, 

including elimination of the waiver of a licensing examination 

in marriage and family therapy or substance abuse treatment 

for counselors who want to obtain those specialized licenses. 

Issues: The advantages to the public include more 

accountability and transparency for residencies and additional 

standards of practice to facilitate ethical practice and 

professional conduct; there are no disadvantages for the public. 

Amendments to licensure by endorsement may benefit a small 

number of applicants who are now unable to be initially 

licensed in Virginia. There are no advantages or disadvantages 

to the agency or the Commonwealth, other than amendments 

are intended to clarify regulatory requirements. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to a periodic review,1 the Board of Counseling 

(Board) proposes to: 1) expand pathways to licensure by 

endorsement, depending in part on whether the applicant's 

degree was from a program accredited by the Council for 

Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational 

Programs (CACREP), 2) deem a degree from a CACREP-

accredited program to meet the current coursework 

requirements, 3) remove a waiver of examination requirements 

from licensed professional counselors who wish to obtain 

specialty licenses, 4) add a $75 fee for reinstating a resident 

license, 5) require maintenance of records relating to 

supervision for a period of five years, 6) amend the definition 

of "face-to-face" to include communications through visual, 

interactive, real-time technology, 7) add an allowance for up to 

two hours of continuing education credits, and 8) introduce 

additional standards of practice and grounds for disciplinary 

action. 

Background. The Board issues three types of licenses relevant 

to this action: general counseling, marriage and family therapy, 

and substance abuse treatment. A general counseling licensee 

can offer marriage and family therapy or substance abuse 

treatment, but not vice versa. In that sense, marriage and family 

therapy or substance abuse treatment licenses are specialty 

licenses. Also, an individual may have a specialty license, but 

may lack the general counseling license (i.e., cannot practice 

outside the specialty area). 

Estimated Benefits and Costs.  

Pathways to licensure by endorsement. The Board proposes to 

expand pathways to licensure by endorsement in several ways. 

In simple terms, licensure by endorsement allows a licensed 

professional in one state to obtain licensure in another state. 

Currently, licensure by endorsement in all three license 

categories requires evidence of either (i) the education and 

experience required for licensure by examination or (ii) post-

licensure clinical practice in 24 of the last 60 months 

immediately preceding licensure application in Virginia. 

However, the proposed changes for the three license categories 

differ slightly. 

For both general counselors and marriage and family therapists 

who lack the required evidence of post-licensure clinical 

practice,2 the Board would now accept applicants if they have 

either (a) three years of active licensure along with a National 

Certified Counselor (NCC) credential issued by the National 

Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC), or (b) a graduate-

level degree from a CACREP-accredited program. If the 

individual lacks an NCC credential or the degree from a 

CACREP-accredited program, he or she must then have ten 

years of active licensure. Although these are presently distinct 

options, after January 2022 only one option will effectively 

exist. At that point, the NBCC states that only those students 

graduating from a CACREP-accredited program will be 

eligible to apply for the NCC credential.3  

According to the Department of Health Professions (DHP), the 

Board included these two options to follow the October 2019 

recommendations of the National Portability Taskforce, 

comprised of the American Association of State Counseling 

Board, the Association for Counselor Education and 

Supervision, the American Mental Health Counselors 

Association, and the NBCC. The taskforce recommended 

several pathways, including that the applicant meet the current 

standards for endorsement set by the licensing board. 

Otherwise, the taskforce provided other options that it 

recommended for applicants who also have been actively 

licensed as a counselor for at least three years.4  

For the general counselors only, the Board proposes to accept 

verification of the Certified Clinical Mental Health Counselor 

(CCMHC) credential from the NBCC (this option replaces the 

credential registry of the American Association of State 

Counseling Boards because that registry no longer exists). 

After January of 2022, this option will also effectively require 

the applicant to have graduated from a CACREP-accredited 

program because the NCC credential is a prerequisite for the 

CCMHC. 

For the substance abuse practitioners, the Board would start 

accepting a mental health license in good standing from any 

other United States jurisdiction in addition to a Virginia mental 

health license, and a licensing examination deemed to be 

substantially equivalent by the Board if the applicant is 

licensed in another jurisdiction. 

The Board also proposes to count teaching graduate-level 

courses in counseling or marriage and family therapy toward 
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the required post-licensure clinical practice for the two relevant 

license types. 

The proposed additional pathways to licensure by endorsement 

would benefit a number of applicants who are now unable to 

be initially licensed in Virginia. Also, counting teaching 

graduate courses as active practice would make more 

individuals eligible. In 2019, DHP issued 201, 48, and 35 

licenses by endorsement respectively for general counseling, 

marriage and family therapy, and substance abuse treatment. 

The proposed amendments to licensure by endorsement would 

add to the supply of these services, improve accessibility, and 

be beneficial for the Commonwealth. 

Notwithstanding the clearly beneficial aspects of expanding 

pathways to licensure compared to the status quo, the 

differential treatment of graduate programs based upon their 

accreditation would likely directly affect the number of 

counselors who are eligible for licensure by endorsement, and 

indirectly affect the relative values of counseling degrees. 

Under the proposed regulations, a similarly situated counselor 

with a degree from a non-CACREP accredited institution 

would have to wait an additional seven years to access 

Virginia's mental health services market. This delay would 

likely decrease the number of persons who would otherwise be 

eligible to practice as counselors in Virginia, and diminish the 

relative value of degrees from non-CACREP accredited 

programs compared to those with CACREP accreditation. To 

the extent a benefit results from this differential treatment, this 

decrease in the number of eligible counselors and relative value 

may be offset, but the Board did not provide any information 

to indicate the basis for the differential treatment or the nature 

and extent of the benefits that would result. An assessment of 

the impact of this differential treatment, both benefits and 

costs, would also require information on the accreditation 

status of programs for applicants seeking licensure by 

endorsement, but the Board reports these data are not 

maintained. 

Although the Board reports that it is generally following the 

recommendations of the taskforce, it appears that the Board's 

proposal differs in certain aspects that limit the number of 

counselors who would have been eligible for licensure by 

endorsement under the taskforce's full recommendations. First, 

the taskforce recommended acceptance of degrees from a 

CACREP-accredited program as one pathway, but that this 

apply only to degrees awarded after January 1, 2025. In 

contrast, the Board proposes to implement this requirement 

when this regulation becomes effective. The Board's proposal 

would therefore appear to further decrease the number of non-

CACREP graduates who are eligible for licensure by 

endorsement, and reduce the time available to a potential 

counseling student to adjust his or her choices regarding 

graduate counseling programs in light of this change. Second, 

the taskforce recommended acceptance of degrees awarded by 

a regionally accredited program before January 1, 2025. Many 

counseling programs may not have a program specific 

accreditation, but rather rely on regional accreditation for the 

entire institution. Because this option is not included in the 

proposed regulation, there may be an additional reduction in 

the number of counselors who would have qualified for 

licensure by endorsement under the taskforce's 

recommendations. Third, the taskforce recommends that 

degrees from programs that lack either CACREP or regional 

accreditation be accepted, if the degree was awarded prior to 

December 1, 2014, and the applicant has three years of active 

licensure. Although this option is not included in the proposed 

regulation, the Board's proposal to require ten years of active 

licensure for any applicant from a non CACREP-accredited 

program would also appear to decrease the number of persons 

who would have been eligible for licensure by endorsement 

under the taskforce's recommendations. To the extent a benefit 

results from the Board's decision to not adopt all of the 

taskforce's recommendations, the likely decrease in the number 

of eligible counselors may be offset, but the Board did not 

provide any information to indicate the basis for their decision 

or the nature and extent of the benefits that would result. 

Qualifying coursework. The Board proposes to add language 

that would essentially deem that all applicants with degrees 

from CACREP-accredited programs meet the current 

coursework requirements.5 In contrast, current language 

contains specific coursework requirements for licensure for 

each of the three practice areas. For example, the coursework 

requirements for professional counseling are a minimum of 60 

semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate study with a 

minimum of three semester hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 12 

specific areas. The specific areas are: 1) professional 

counseling identity, function, and ethics, 2) theories of 

counseling and psychotherapy, 3) counseling and 

psychotherapy techniques, 4) human growth and development, 

5) group counseling and psychotherapy theories and 

techniques, 6) career counseling and development theories and 

techniques, 7) appraisal, evaluation, and diagnostic 

procedures, 8) abnormal behavior and psychopathology, 9) 

multicultural counseling theories and techniques, 10) research, 

11) diagnosis and treatment of addictive disorders, 12) 

marriage and family systems theory. In addition, 600 hours of 

supervised internship with 240 hours of face-to-face client 

contact is required. Similarly, the coursework requirements for 

licensed marriage and family therapy and substance abuse 

treatment are specifically listed in the regulation. 

Currently the Board reviews the applicant's transcript "course 

by course" often with a request for a syllabus to determine its 

concentration in counseling. According to DHP, the proposed 

change simply acknowledges that the Board has reviewed the 

requirements for a degree in clinical mental health counseling 

from a CACREP-accredited program and knows that it has met 

all such requirements. Thus, instead of a course-by-course 

review of a transcript, the proposal would allow the Board only 

to look at whether the degree is from a CACREP-accredited 

program. The coursework submitted from a non-CACREP-

accredited program would still need to be reviewed to ensure 

that it meets the specific coursework requirements. DHP states 
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that the proposal essentially reflects the current practice the 

Board follows in evaluating coursework submitted and 

therefore does not expect any significant economic impact 

from this change. 

However, as in the licensure by endorsement, this proposal too 

would likely decrease the relative value of degrees from non-

CACREP accredited institutions. Although this change would 

ensure that a coursework from a CACREP-accredited 

institution would always meet the Board's standards, 

coursework from a non-CACREP institution would continue 

to be reviewed on a case-by-case basis. The added certainty 

stemming from this change would likely make degrees from a 

CACREP-accredited institution relatively more valuable. 

Additionally, the Board proposes to allow an option to approve 

the completion of up to 100 of the 600 hours and up to 40 of 

the 240 hours of face-to-face client contact to be added to the 

hours required for residency if the academic course was less 

than 600 hours. The new language would facilitate licensure 

for some applicants from non-accredited programs. Currently, 

some applicants have to find an educational program that will 

allow them to enroll in an academic course that is comprised 

of internship hours. The amended language would permit 

graduates to obtain a resident license and complete the required 

internship hours in the residency. Since there is faculty 

oversight of an internship in an academic program, the Board 

believes it is still necessary for the vast majority of the 

internship to be completed as part of a student's educational 

program. 

Specialty license examination. Historically, the specialty 

license examination has been waived for general counseling 

licensees if they wished to obtain a specialty license. The 

Board proposes to remove that waiver so that a general 

counseling licensee would be required to pass the specialty 

examination for the area if they wished to obtain a specialty 

license. That does not mean that a general counseling licensee 

can no longer practice a specialty area, but rather it means that 

if they wish to get a specialty license issued (e.g. for marketing 

purposes), now they have to pass the specialty examination. 

Accordingly, this particular change would introduce additional 

burdens on general counselors who may wish to obtain a 

specialty license in terms of the time required to prepare for, 

take the specialty exam, and the exam fees. According to DHP, 

the cost for the marriage and family therapy specialty exam is 

$355 and the cost for the substance abuse treatment specialty 

exam is $150. 

Other changes.6 The Board proposes to add a $75 fee for 

reinstatement of a resident license. This fee is added to cover 

the administrative costs of reinstatement of resident licenses. 

A resident who fails to renew after one year would be able to 

reinstate within the six-year window allowed for completion of 

a residency. The requirements for reinstatement of a resident 

license are similar to the reinstatement of a full license. An 

applicant for reinstatement would have to submit a current 

report from a national practitioner databank at a cost of $4 per 

report to ensure the Board has more complete information 

about disciplinary actions in other states or malpractice 

judgements. The main intent of the amendment is to provide 

an allowance for a person who needs or wants a break in a 

residency (illness, family responsibility, etc.) to let the license 

lapse, but reinstate at a later time to complete the hours. 

Residency hours (3,400) can be completed in less than two 

years, so a person could have a lapse of some months and still 

complete the required hours within a six-year timeframe. The 

Board does not propose to allow reinstatement indefinitely, 

because there needs to be some continuity in the supervised 

experience of a residency and there is concern about 

"permanent" residents who would continuously lapse and 

reinstate. 

A proposed new provision specifies the maintenance of records 

relating to supervision for a period of five years after 

termination or completion of supervision. According to DHP, 

the five-year retention is necessary to ensure records are 

available to residents and to the Board within the timeframe in 

which the resident may be applying for licensure. The 

requirement for retention of records by a supervisor relating to 

a residency should not impose costs (other than retention of a 

file); a licensee typically only supervises a handful of residents. 

The definition for "face-to-face" is amended to include use of 

visual, interactive, real-time technology in the in-person 

delivery of clinical services. The amendment may enhance the 

ability to provide counseling services by telehealth and 

facilitate supervision of residents. 

The Board proposes to add an allowance for up to two hours of 

continuing education credits per renewal period for attendance 

at board meetings/hearings. Attendance at Board meetings or 

hearings may increase practitioner's knowledge concerning 

issues affecting their profession. 

Additional standards of practice and grounds for disciplinary 

action are proposed to be included to address issues that have 

arisen or for consistency with other behavioral health 

professional regulations. These amendments would provide 

further guidance to licensees on the expectations for ethical 

practice and give the Board more explicit grounds on which to 

discipline practitioners for the purpose of protecting the health, 

safety and welfare of the public they serve. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Persons likely to be 

affected by the proposed changes are residents in counseling 

and licensees. According to DHP, there are 9,156 residents in 

professional counseling, 352 residents in marriage and family 

therapy, and eight residents in substance abuse practice. There 

are 6,004 licensed professional counselors, 894 licensed 

marriage and family therapists, and 265 licensed substance 

abuse practitioners. 

The proposed changes remove the waiver for the specialty 

examination for those general counselors who wish to obtain a 

specialty license. However, it is not clear whether the costs 

associated with that change clearly outweigh the benefits from 
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other changes for the same individuals. Thus, no adverse 

economic impact7 is indicated on general counselors. 

However, the counselors who hold degrees from non-

CACREP accredited institutions would be negatively affected 

in terms of the lower relative value of their degrees compared 

to the value of degrees from CACREP-accredited institutions. 

Since there is no offsetting benefits, an adverse impact on 

counselors or students in non-CACREP accredited programs is 

indicated. 

Small Businesses8 Affected. The Board reports that some 

persons licensed for independent practice own or are employed 

by small professional practices. 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The Board does not maintain data on the number of applicants 

or licensees that meet the definition of a small business. 

Costs and Other Effects. Most of the proposed amendments are 

expected to be beneficial as discussed above, with the 

exception of those that provide differential treatment regarding 

portability and eligible coursework requirements for programs 

with CACREP accreditation. To the extent counselors with 

non-CACREP accredited degrees seek to, operate as, or work 

for small businesses, an adverse impact on them would be 

indicated. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

adverse impact on counselors or students with non-CACREP 

accredited degrees could be mitigated by adopting the 

additional pathways recommended by the taskforce. 

Specifically, the taskforce also recommended acceptance of (a) 

degrees from regionally-accredited programs, awarded before 

January 1, 2025, if the applicant also has three years of active 

licensure, and (b) degrees from programs without CACREP or 

regional accreditation if the degree was awarded prior to 

December 1, 2014, and the applicant has three years of active 

licensure. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments. Accordingly, no 

additional funds would be required. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would make it easier to obtain licensure by endorsement and 

may add to the supply of licensed counselors in Virginia 

compared to the status quo. As mentioned above, the proposed 

changes would likely have a negative impact on employment 

prospects of counselors and students with degrees in non-

CACREP accredited programs while improving the prospects 

of CACREP accredited program graduates. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would negatively affect the relative value of non-

CACREP degrees while enhancing the value of CACREP 

accredited degrees. 

____________________________________ 
1https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1673 
2According to DHP, there is no known NCC credential or CACREP accredited 

programs for substance abuse counseling specialty. 

3See https://www.nbcc.org/Assets/EducationalStandards.pdf  

4The taskforce's full recommendation can be found at 

https://www.amhca.org/advocacy/portability/portability2019 
5More precisely, for professional counseling, the applicant shall have 

successfully completed the requirements for a degree in a program accredited 
by CACREP in clinical mental health counseling or any other specialty 

approved by the Board; for marriage and family therapy the applicant shall 

have successfully completed the requirements for a marriage and family 
therapy program accredited by CACREP; for substance abuse treatment the 

applicant shall have successfully completed the requirements for a degree in a 

program accredited by CACREP in addiction counseling or any other specialty 

approved by the Board. 
6The proposed amendments for residents and residencies that are currently in 

effect through emergency action are incorporated into this periodic review to 
avoid confusion and conflict. The economic effects of those changes are 

discussed in the relevant action and are not repeated here. See the Economic 

Impact of https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewstage.cfm?stageid=8897 
7Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
8Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
9"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
10§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Board of Counseling would like to address some 

misinterpretations or mischaracterizations of the board's 

proposed endorsement provisions and coursework review. 

Page 1: The goal of the periodic review is to expand pathways 

to licensure by endorsement significantly beyond what the 

regulations currently allow. That is all. The board has 

expanded the options for all types of applicants and the board's 

actions have not limited any applicant's options. An applicant's 

own choices may limit the availability of options, but the board 

attempted to allow multiple scenarios for obtaining a license 

by endorsement. 

Page 2: Licensure by endorsement allows a licensed 

professional in one state to obtain a comparable license in 

another state potentially without having to retake the exam or 

meet all of Virginia's requirements for initial licensure in 

Virginia. Currently there are only two pathways to licensure by 

endorsement: (i) have clinically practiced for 24 out of the past 

60 months prior to submitting an application; or (ii) submit 

evidence of meeting the education and experience Virginia 

requires for licensure by examination. Now, the board 

proposes to significantly expand on those two pathways to 

licensure by endorsement in the following ways: If an applicant 

has not clinically practiced for 24 out of the past 60 months 

prior to submitting an application (in which case the applicant 

would not have to meet Virginia's education or experience 

requirements), then the applicant now can obtain licensure by 

endorsement if by meeting one of the following options: (i) 

three years of active licensure (which does not mean active 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1673
https://www.nbcc.org/Assets/EducationalStandards.pdf
https://www.amhca.org/advocacy/portability/portability2019
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewstage.cfm?stageid=8897
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practice) along with a National Certified Counselor (NCC) 

credential issued by the National Board for Certified 

Counselors (NBCC); (ii) hold a graduate degree from a 

CACREP-accredited program; or (iii) have 10 years of active 

licensure (which again does not mean active practice). The 

applicant just has to maintain a license in an active status. Even 

if after January 2022, NBCC requires graduation from a 

Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related 

Educational Programs (CACREP) program, the board still has 

expanded the pathways for endorsement, which is a positive 

step forward in this environment. Additionally, the board 

considered these options at the behest of the national 

organizations and considered public comment. 

Pages 3 and 4: An individual who did not graduate from a 

CACREP program would still have the same options as are 

currently available; that is, an applicant could obtain licensure 

in another state, practice for two years, and then apply by 

endorsement in Virginia. If the board did not expand the 

options for licensure then these individuals would still have the 

same opportunities for licensure in Virginia as they do now. At 

this point, all of Virginia's universities are either CACREP 

accredited or seeking accreditation. The board wants to 

encourage applicants to attend accredited programs, as all other 

health professions require graduation from accredited 

programs. Because CACREP is currently the only 

accreditation program, the board has left it open to allow 

acceptance of other programs. The board, unlike other health 

programs, has not required graduation from an accredited 

program. All graduates still have an opportunity to obtain 

licensure in Virginia. It helps applicants to know that 

graduation from a CACREP program will help ensure an easier 

path to licensure so the applicants do not find themselves 

spending money on a program that does nothing to further their 

pursuit of licensure. 

Page 6: Graduates from non-CACREP programs would still 

have their transcripts reviewed by staff, but having a degree 

from an accredited program ensures staff can trust the program 

has already required all of the coursework that the board 

requires in regulation. It does benefit the applicant to graduate 

from an accredited program for the same reasons it benefits all 

other professions to graduate from an accredited program. It 

protects the applicant from any uncertainty within the process. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) expand pathways to 

licensure by endorsement; (ii) provide that a degree from 

a Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related 

Educational Programs-accredited program meets the 

current coursework requirements; (iii) remove a waiver of 

examination requirements from licensed professional 

counselors who wish to obtain specialty licenses; (iv) add 

a $75 fee for reinstating a resident license; (v) require 

maintenance of records relating to supervision for a 

period of five years; (vi) amend the definition of "face-to-

face" to include communications through visual, 

interactive, real-time technology; (vii) add an allowance 

for up to two hours of continuing education credits; and 

(viii) introduce additional standards of practice and 

grounds for disciplinary action. 

18VAC115-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

"Counseling" 

"Professional counselor" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Ancillary counseling services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure as 

a professional counselor. 

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs. 

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 

satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 

requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by the 

board to sit for its examinations. 

"Clinical counseling services" means activities such as 

assessment, diagnosis, treatment planning, and treatment 

implementation. 

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"CORE" means Council on Rehabilitation Education. 

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 

licensure is not required to engage in the practice of counseling 

according to the conditions set forth in § 54.1-3501 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

counseling services for a client or the use of visual, real-time, 

interactive, secured technology for delivery of such services. 

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 

provided by a qualified supervisor. 
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"Internship" means a formal academic course from a 

regionally accredited college or university in which 

supervised, practical experience is obtained in a clinical setting 

in the application of counseling principles, methods, and 

techniques. 

"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province, or 

country that has granted a professional certificate or license to 

practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold oneself 

out as a practitioner of that profession. 

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting that does not meet the 

conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure to 

engage in the practice of counseling as set forth in § 54.1-3501 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education responsible for accrediting senior postsecondary 

institutions. 

"Residency" means a postgraduate, supervised, clinical 

experience. 

"Resident" means an individual who has a supervisory 

contract and has been issued a temporary license by the board 

to provide clinical services in professional counseling under 

supervision. 

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual or 

group consultation, guidance, and instruction that is specific to 

the clinical counseling services being performed with respect 

to the clinical skills and competencies of the person supervised. 

"Supervisory contract" means an agreement that outlines the 

expectations and responsibilities of the supervisor and resident 

in accordance with regulations of the board. 

18VAC115-20-40. Prerequisites for licensure by 

examination. 

Every applicant for licensure examination by the board shall: 

1. Meet the degree program requirements prescribed in 

18VAC115-20-49, the coursework requirements prescribed 

in 18VAC115-20-51, and the experience requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC115-20-52; 

2. Pass the licensure examination specified by the board; 

3. Submit the following to the board: 

a. A completed application; 

b. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 

completion of the degree program and coursework 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-20-49 and 

18VAC115-20-51. Transcripts previously submitted for 

board approval of a resident license do not have to be 

resubmitted unless additional coursework was 

subsequently obtained; 

c. Verification of supervision forms documenting 

fulfillment of the residency requirements of 18VAC115-

20-52 and copies of all required evaluation forms, 

including verification of current licensure of the 

supervisor if any portion of the residency occurred in 

another jurisdiction; 

d. Verification of any other mental health or health 

professional license or certificate ever held in another 

jurisdiction; 

e. The application processing and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-20-20; and 

f. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and 

4. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license or, certificate, or 

registration held in Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The 

board will consider history of disciplinary action on a case-

by-case basis. 

18VAC115-20-45. Prerequisites for licensure by 

endorsement. 

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall hold or 

have held a professional counselor license for independent 

clinical practice in another jurisdiction of the United States and 

shall submit the following: 

1. A completed application; 

2. The application processing fee and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-20-20; 

3. Verification of all mental health or health professional 

licenses or, certificates, or registrations the applicant holds 

or has ever held in any other jurisdiction. In order to qualify 

for endorsement the applicant shall have no unresolved 

action against a license or certificate. The board will 

consider history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case 

basis; 

4. Documentation of having completed education and 

experience requirements as specified in subsection B of this 

section; 

5. Verification of a passing score on an examination required 

for counseling licensure in the jurisdiction in which 

licensure was obtained; 

6. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB); 

and 

7. An affidavit attestation of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of professional 

counseling in Virginia. 

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet 

one of the following: 
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1. Educational requirements consistent with those specified 

in 18VAC115-20-49 and 18VAC115-20-51 and experience 

requirements consistent with those specified in 18VAC115-

20-52; or 

2. If an applicant does not have In lieu of documentation of 

educational and experience credentials consistent with those 

required by this chapter, he shall the applicant may provide: 

a. Documentation of education and supervised experience 

that met the requirements of the jurisdiction in which he 

was initially licensed as verified by an official transcript 

and a certified copy of the original application materials; 

and  

b. a. Evidence of post-licensure clinical practice in 

counseling, as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of 

Virginia, at the highest level for independent practice for 

24 of the last 60 months immediately preceding his 

licensure application in Virginia. Clinical practice shall 

mean the rendering of direct clinical counseling services 

or, clinical supervision of counseling services, or teaching 

graduate-level courses in counseling; or 

3. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 

documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 

may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 

other board-recognized entity. 

b. Verification of the Certified Clinical Mental Health 

Counselor credential from the National Board of Certified 

Counselors (NBCC) or any other board-recognized entity; 

c. Evidence of an active license at the highest level of 

counselor licensure for independent practice for at least 10 

years prior to the date of application; or 

d. Evidence of an active license at the highest level of 

counselor licensure for independent practice for at least 

three years prior to the date of application and one of the 

following: 

(1) The National Certified Counselor credential, in good 

standing, as issued by the NBCC; or 

(2) A graduate-level degree from a program accredited in 

clinical mental health counseling by CACREP. 

18VAC115-20-51. Coursework requirements. 

A. The applicant shall have successfully completed 60: 

1. The requirements for a degree in a program accredited by 

CACREP in clinical mental health counseling or any other 

specialty approved by the board; or 

2. Sixty semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate study 

in the following core coursework with a minimum of three 

semester hours or 4.0 quarter hours in each of subdivisions 

1 through 12 2 a through 2 l of this subsection: 

1. a. Professional counseling identity, function, and ethics; 

2. b. Theories of counseling and psychotherapy; 

3. c. Counseling and psychotherapy techniques; 

4. d. Human growth and development; 

5. e. Group counseling and psychotherapy theories and 

techniques; 

6. f. Career counseling and development theories and 

techniques; 

7. g. Appraisal, evaluation, and diagnostic procedures; 

8. h. Abnormal behavior and psychopathology; 

9. i. Multicultural counseling theories and techniques; 

10. j. Research; 

11. k. Diagnosis and treatment of addictive disorders; 

12. l. Marriage and family systems theory; and 

13. 3. Supervised internship as a formal academic course of 

at least 600 hours to include 240 hours of face-to-face client 

contact. Only internship hours earned after completion of 30 

graduate semester hours may be counted towards toward 

residency hours. If the academic course was less than 600 

hours, the board may approve the completion of up to 100 of 

the 600 hours and up to 40 of the 240 hours of face-to-face 

client contact to be added to the hours required for residency. 

B. If 60 graduate hours in counseling were completed prior to 

April 12, 2000, the board may accept those hours if they meet 

the regulations in effect at the time the 60 hours were 

completed. 

18VAC115-20-52. Resident license and requirements for a 

residency. 

A. Resident license. Applicants for temporary licensure as a 

resident in counseling shall: 

1. Apply for licensure on a form provided by the board to 

include the following: (i) verification of a supervisory 

contract, (ii) the name and licensure number of the clinical 

supervisor and location for the supervised practice, and (iii) 

an attestation that the applicant will be providing clinical 

counseling services; 

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree that meets the requirements specified in 

18VAC115-20-49 to include completion of the coursework 

and internship requirement specified in 18VAC115-20-51; 

3. Pay the registration resident licensure fee; 

4. Submit a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and 

5. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license, certificate, or 

registration in Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board 

will consider the history of disciplinary action on a case-by-

case basis. 

B. Residency requirements. 
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1. The applicant for licensure as a professional counselor 

shall have completed a 3,400-hour supervised residency in 

the role of a professional counselor working with various 

populations, clinical problems, and theoretical approaches in 

the following areas: 

a. Assessment and diagnosis using psychotherapy 

techniques; 

b. Appraisal, evaluation, and diagnostic procedures; 

c. Treatment planning and implementation; 

d. Case management and recordkeeping; 

e. Professional counselor identity and function; and 

f. Professional ethics and standards of practice. 

2. The 3,400-hour residency shall include a minimum of 200 

hours of in-person supervision between supervisor and 

resident in the consultation and review of clinical counseling 

services provided by the resident. Supervision shall occur at 

a minimum of one hour and a maximum of four hours per 40 

hours of work experience during the period of the residency. 

For the purpose of meeting the 200-hour supervision 

requirement, in-person may include the use of secured 

technology that maintains client confidentiality and provides 

real-time, visual contact between the supervisor and the 

resident. Up to 20 hours of the supervision received during 

the supervised internship may be counted toward the 200 

hours of in-person supervision if the supervision was 

provided by a licensed professional counselor. 

3. No more than half of the 200 hours may be satisfied with 

group supervision. One hour of group supervision will be 

deemed equivalent to one hour of individual supervision. 

4. Supervision that is not concurrent with a residency will 

not be accepted, nor will residency hours be accrued in the 

absence of approved supervision. 

5. The residency shall include at least 2,000 hours of face-

to-face client contact in providing clinical counseling 

services. The remaining hours may be spent in the 

performance of ancillary counseling services. 

6. A graduate-level internship in excess of 600 hours, which 

was completed in a program that meets the requirements set 

forth in 18VAC115-20-49, may count for up to an additional 

300 hours toward the requirements of a residency. 

7. Supervised practicum and internship hours in a CACREP-

accredited doctoral counseling program may be accepted for 

up to 900 hours of the residency requirement and up to 100 

of the required hours of supervision provided the supervisor 

holds a current, unrestricted license as a professional 

counselor. 

8. The residency shall be completed in not less than 21 

months or more than four six years. Residents who began a 

residency before August 24, 2016, shall complete the 

residency by August 24, 2020 2022. An individual who does 

not complete the residency after four years shall submit 

evidence to the board showing why the supervised 

experience should be allowed to continue. A resident shall 

meet the renewal requirements of subsection C of 

18VAC115-20-100 in order to maintain a license in current, 

active status. 

9. The board may consider special requests in the event that 

the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability that limits the resident's access to 

qualified supervision. 

10. Residents may not call themselves professional 

counselors, directly bill for services rendered, or in any way 

represent themselves as independent, autonomous 

practitioners or professional counselors. During the 

residency, residents shall use their names and the initials of 

their degree, their resident license number, and the title 

"Resident in Counseling" in all written communications. 

Clients shall be informed in writing that the resident does not 

have authority for independent practice and is under 

supervision and shall provide the supervisor's name, 

professional address, and phone number. 

11. Residents shall not engage in practice under supervision 

in any areas for which they have not had appropriate 

education. 

12. Residency hours shall be accepted if they were approved 

by the licensing board in another United States jurisdiction 

that meet and completed in that jurisdiction, and if those 

hours are consistent with the requirements of this section 

shall be accepted subsection. 

C. Supervisory qualifications. A person who provides 

supervision for a resident in professional counseling shall: 

1. Document two years of post-licensure clinical experience; 

2. Have received professional training in supervision, 

consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 

graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 hours 

of continuing education in supervision offered by a provider 

approved under 18VAC115-20-106; and 

3. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a professional 

counselor or a marriage and family therapist in the 

jurisdiction where the supervision is being provided. At least 

100 hours of the supervision shall be rendered by a licensed 

professional counselor. Supervisors who are substance 

abuse treatment practitioners, school psychologists, clinical 

psychologists, clinical social workers, or psychiatrists and 

have been approved to provide supervision may continue to 

do so until August 24, 2017. 

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 

resident compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 

prohibited. 
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2. The supervisor of a resident shall assume full 

responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident 

specified within the supervisory contract for the duration of 

the residency, regardless of whether the supervisor is onsite 

or offsite at the location where services are provided by the 

resident. 

3. The supervisor is accountable for the resident's 

compliance with residency requirements of this section. 

4. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period. 

4. 5. The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency 

and shall evaluate the applicant's competency in the six areas 

stated in subdivision B 1 of this section. 

5. 6. The supervisor shall provide supervision as defined in 

18VAC115-20-10. 

7. The supervisor shall maintain copies of supervisory 

contracts, quarterly reports, and the verification of 

supervision forms evaluating the applicant's competency for 

five years after termination or completion of supervision. 

E. Applicants shall document successful completion of their 

residency on the Verification of Supervision Form at the time 

of application. Applicants must receive a satisfactory 

competency evaluation on each item on the evaluation sheet. 

Supervised experience obtained prior to April 12, 2000, may 

be accepted toward licensure if this supervised experience met 

the board's requirements that were in effect at the time the 

supervision was rendered. 

18VAC115-20-106. Continuing competency activity 

criteria. 

A. Continuing competency activities must focus on 

increasing knowledge or skills in one or more of the following 

areas: 

1. Ethics, standards of practice, or laws governing behavioral 

science professions; 

2. Counseling theory; 

3. Human growth and development; 

4. Social and cultural foundations; 

5. The helping relationship; 

6. Group dynamics, processing, and counseling; 

7. Lifestyle and career development; 

8. Appraisal of individuals; 

9. Research and evaluation; 

10. Professional orientation; 

11. Clinical supervision; 

12. Marriage and family therapy; or 

13. Addictions. 

B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall 

be one of the following types: 

1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. 

Activities may be counted at their full hour value. Hours 

shall be obtained from one or a combination of the following 

board-approved, mental health-related activities: 

a. Regionally accredited university or college level 

academic courses in a behavioral health discipline. 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 

or colleges. 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by federal, state, or local 

governmental agencies or licensed health facilities and 

licensed hospitals. 

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by an individual or 

organization that has been certified or approved by one of 

the following: 

(1) The International Association of Marriage and Family 

Counselors and its state affiliates. 

(2) The American Association for Marriage and Family 

Therapy and its state affiliates. 

(3) The American Association of State Counseling 

Boards. 

(4) The American Counseling Association and its state and 

local affiliates. 

(5) The American Psychological Association and its state 

affiliates. 

(6) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification. 

(7) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction 

Professionals and its state and local affiliates. 

(8) National Association of Social Workers. 

(9) National Board for Certified Counselors. 

(10) A national behavioral health organization or 

certification body. 

(11) Individuals or organizations that have been approved 

as continuing competency sponsors by the American 

Association of State Counseling Boards or a counseling 

board in another state. 

(12) The American Association of Pastoral Counselors. 

2. Individual professional activities. 

a. Publication/presentation/new Publication, presentation, 

or new program development. 

(1) Publication of articles. Activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. Publication activities are limited 

to articles in refereed journals or a chapter in an edited 

book. 
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(2) Publication of books. Activity will count for a 

maximum of 18 hours. 

(3) Presentations. Activity will count for a maximum of 

eight hours. The same presentations may be used only 

once in a two-year period. Only actual presentation time 

may be counted. 

(4) New program development. Activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. New program development 

includes a new course, seminar, or workshop. New 

courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or 

university courses. 

(5) Attendance at board meetings or disciplinary 

proceedings. Activity shall count for actual time of 

meeting or proceeding for a maximum of two hours during 

one renewal period.  

b. Dissertation. Activity will count for a maximum of 18 

hours. Dissertation credit may only be counted once. 

c. Clinical supervision/consultation. Activity will count 

for a maximum of 10 six hours. Continuing competency 

can only be granted for clinical supervision/consultation 

received on a regular basis with a set agenda. Continuing 

competency cannot be granted for supervision provided to 

others. 

d. Leadership. Activity will count for a maximum of eight 

hours. The following leadership positions are acceptable 

for continuing competency credit: officer of state or 

national counseling organization; editor and/or or 

reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of 

state counseling licensure/certification licensure or 

certification board; member of a national counselor 

certification board; member of a national ethics 

disciplinary review committee rendering licenses; active 

member of a counseling committee producing a 

substantial written product; chair of a major counseling 

conference or convention; or other leadership positions 

with justifiable professional learning experiences. The 

leadership positions must take place for a minimum of one 

year after the date of first licensure. 

e. Practice related programs. Activity will count up to a 

maximum of eight hours. The board may allow up to eight 

contact hours of continuing competency as long as the 

regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 

justification of how the activity assists him the regulant in 

his the direct service of his the regulant's clients. Examples 

include language courses, software training, and medical 

topics, etc. 

18VAC115-20-107. Documenting compliance with 

continuing competency requirements. 

A. All licensees are required to maintain original 

documentation for a period of two years following renewal. 

B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may 

conduct a random audit of licensees to verify compliance with 

the requirement for that renewal period. 

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as 

follows: 

1. To document completion of formal organized learning 

activities, the licensee shall provide: 

a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 

b. Certificates of participation. 

2. Documentation of home study shall be made by 

identification of the source material studied, summary of 

content, and a signed affidavit attesting to completion of the 

home study. 

3. Documentation of individual professional activities shall 

be by one of the following: 

a. Certificates of participation; 

b. Proof of presentations made; 

c. Reprints of publications; 

d. Letters from educational institutions or agencies 

approving continuing education programs; 

e. Official notification from the association that sponsored 

the item writing workshop or continuing education 

program; or 

f. Documentation of attendance at formal staffing or 

participation in clinical supervision/consultation by a 

signed affidavit attestation on a form provided by the 

board. 

D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

18VAC115-20-110. Late renewal; reinstatement. 

A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within 

one year after its expiration date by paying the late fee 

prescribed in 18VAC115-20-20 as well as the license renewal 

fee prescribed for the year the license was not renewed and 

providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing 

competency requirements. 

B. A person who fails to renew a professional counselor 

license after one year or more and wishes to resume practice 

shall (i) apply for reinstatement,; (ii) pay the reinstatement fee 

for a lapsed license,; (iii) submit verification of any mental 

health license he the person holds or has held in another 

jurisdiction, if applicable,; (iv) provide a current report from 

the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services National 

Practitioner Data Bank; and (v) provide evidence of having met 

all applicable continuing competency requirements not to 

exceed a maximum of 80 hours. The board may require the 

applicant for reinstatement to submit evidence regarding the 

continued ability to perform the functions within the scope of 

practice of the license. 
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C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive professional 

counselor license shall submit (i) the renewal fee for active 

licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure 

renewal; (ii) documentation of continued competency hours 

equal to the number of years the license has been inactive not 

to exceed a maximum of 80 hours; and (iii) verification of any 

mental health license he holds or has held in another 

jurisdiction, if applicable. The board may require the applicant 

for reactivation to submit evidence regarding the continued 

ability to perform the functions within the scope of practice of 

the license. 

D. A person who fails to renew a resident license after one 

year or more and wishes to resume his residency within the six-

year limitation from the date of initial issuance of a resident 

license shall (i) apply for reinstatement; (ii) pay the initial 

licensure fee for a resident in counseling; and (iii) provide 

evidence of having met continuing competency requirements 

not to exceed a maximum of 12 hours. The board may require 

the applicant for reinstatement to submit evidence regarding 

the continued ability to perform the functions within the scope 

of practice of the resident license.  

18VAC115-20-130. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Regardless of the 

delivery method, whether in person, by phone, or 

electronically, these standards shall apply to the practice of 

counseling. 

B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the public 

and does not endanger the public health, safety, or welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience, 

and appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new counseling information, concepts, 

applications, and practices that are necessary to providing 

appropriate, effective professional services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the client 

is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements for 

the continuation of treatment for clients, when necessary, 

following termination of a counseling relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no way 

compromised in any experimentation or research involving 

those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is initiated 

and throughout the counseling process as necessary. Provide 

clients with accurate information regarding the implications 

of diagnosis, the intended use of tests and reports, fees, and 

billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable, 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider professional, and if 

so, refrain from providing services to the client without 

having an informed consent discussion with the client and 

having been granted communication privileges with the 

other professional document efforts to coordinate care; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the U.S. Department of Education, or credentials granted 

by a national certifying agency, and that are counseling in 

nature; 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in a 

manner that is not false, misleading, or deceptive, including 

compliance with 18VAC115-20-52 regarding the 

requirements for representation to the public by residents in 

counseling; and 

14. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age; 

15. Make appropriate referrals based on the interests of the 

client; and 

16. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or is beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful. 
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C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed or registered 

by the board shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include treatment dates and identifying information 

to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, client progress, 

and termination; 

2. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete client 

records securely, inform all employees of the requirements 

of confidentiality, and provide for the destruction of records 

that are no longer useful in a manner that ensures client 

confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with the client's 

expressed written consent or that of the client's legally 

authorized representative in accordance with § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from the 

client or the client's legally authorized representative before 

(i) videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third 

party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 

and clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 

presentations; and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the date of termination of the 

counseling relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client or his legally 

authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual or multiple relationships, persons licensed 

or registered by the board shall: 

1. Avoid dual or multiple relationships with clients that 

could impair professional judgment or increase the risk of 

harm to clients. Examples of such relationships include 

familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or close 

personal relationships with clients. Counselors shall take 

appropriate professional precautions when a dual 

relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 

consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 

judgment is not impaired and no exploitation or neglect 

occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or sexual 

intimacies with clients or those included in a collateral 

relationship with the client and not counsel persons with 

whom they have had a romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacy. Counselors shall not engage in romantic 

relationships or sexual intimacies with former clients within 

a minimum of five years after terminating the counseling 

relationship. Counselors who engage in such relationship or 

intimacy after five years following termination shall have 

the responsibility to examine and document thoroughly that 

such relations do not have an exploitive nature, based on 

factors such as duration of counseling, amount of time since 

counseling, termination circumstances, client's personal 

history and mental status, or adverse impact on the client. A 

client's consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual 

behavior or involvement with a counselor does not change 

the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacy or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee person under supervision or 

student. Counselors shall avoid any nonsexual dual 

relationship with a supervisee person under supervision or 

student in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential 

harm to the supervisee person under supervision or student 

or the potential for interference with the supervisor's 

professional judgment; and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed or registered by this board shall report to 

the board known or suspected violations of the laws and 

regulations governing the practice of professional counseling. 

F. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall advise 

their clients of their right to report to the Department of Health 

Professions any information of which the licensee may become 

aware in his professional capacity indicating that there is a 

reasonable probability that a person licensed or certified as a 

mental health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, 

fraudulent, or unprofessional conduct as defined by the 

pertinent licensing statutes and regulations. 

18VAC115-20-140. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 

probation, reprimand, censure, or denial of renewal of 

license or registration. 

A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend, deny issuance or 

renewal of a license, or take disciplinary action may be taken 

in accordance with the following: 

1. Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in violating 

any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to 

the practice of professional counseling, or any provision of 

this chapter; 

2. Procurement of Procuring, attempting to procure, or 

maintaining a license, including submission of an 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1468 

application or supervisory forms, or registration by fraud or 

misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it 

a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients or to the 

public, or if one is unable to practice counseling with 

reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of illness, 

abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or other 

type of material or result of any mental or physical 

condition; 

4. Demonstrating an inability to practice counseling with 

reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of illness or 

substance misuse or as a result of any mental, emotional, or 

physical condition; 

5. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely to 

cause injury to a client or clients; 

5. 6. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable 

areas of competency; 

6. 7. Failure to comply with the continued competency 

requirements set forth in this chapter; 

7. 8. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of 

any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 

counseling, or any part or portion of this chapter; or 

8. 9. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public.; 

10. Knowingly allowing persons under supervision to 

jeopardize client safety or provide care to clients outside of 

such person's scope of practice or area of responsibility; 

11. Having an action taken against a health or mental health 

license, certification, registration, or application in Virginia 

or other jurisdiction; 

12. Failing to cooperate with an employee of the Department 

of Health Professions in the conduct of an investigation; or 

13. Failing to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or abuse of 

aged or incapacitated adults as required in § 63.2-1606 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license, the 

licensee may petition the board for reinstatement upon good 

cause shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having 

been obtained that would alter the determination reached. 

18VAC115-50-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia: (i) "board," (ii) "marriage and family 

therapy," (iii) "marriage and family therapist," and (iv) 

"practice of marriage and family therapy." 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Ancillary counseling services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs. 

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 

Marriage and Family Therapy Education. 

"Clinical marriage and family services" means activities such 

as assessment, diagnosis, and treatment planning and treatment 

implementation for couples and families. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

marriage and family services for a client or the use of visual, 

real-time, interactive, secured technology for delivery of such 

services. 

"Internship" means a formal academic course from a 

regionally accredited university in which supervised practical 

experience is obtained in a clinical setting in the application of 

counseling principles, methods, and techniques. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education as responsible for accrediting senior post-secondary 

institutions and training programs. 

"Residency" means a postgraduate, supervised clinical 

experience. 

"Resident" means an individual who has a supervisory 

contract and has been issued a temporary license by the board 

approval to provide clinical services in marriage and family 

therapy under supervision. 

"Supervision" means an ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented, individual or 

group consultation, guidance, and instruction with respect to 

the clinical skills and competencies of the person or persons 

being supervised. 

"Supervisory contract" means an agreement that outlines the 

expectations and responsibilities of the supervisor and resident 

in accordance with regulations of the board. 

18VAC115-50-20. Fees. 

A. The board has established fees for the following: 

Application and initial licensure as a 

resident 

$65 

Pre-review of education only $75 
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Initial licensure by examination: 

Processing and initial licensure as a 

marriage and family therapist 

$175 

Initial licensure by endorsement: 

Processing and initial licensure as a 

marriage and family therapist 

$175 

Active annual license renewal for a 

marriage and family therapist 

$130 

Inactive annual license renewal for a 

marriage and family therapist 

$65 

Annual renewal for a resident in marriage 

and family therapy 

$30 

Penalty for late Late renewal for a 

marriage and family therapist 

$45 

Late renewal for resident in marriage and 

family therapy 

$10 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license for a 

marriage and family therapist 

$200 

Reinstatement of lapsed resident license $75 

Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction 

$30 

Additional or replacement licenses $10 

Additional or replacement wall certificates $25 

Returned check or dishonored credit or 

debit card 

$50 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$600 

B. All fees are nonrefundable. 

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as 

determined by the board. 

18VAC115-50-40. Application for licensure by 

endorsement. 

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall hold or 

have held a license for the independent clinical practice of 

marriage and family license therapy in another jurisdiction in 

the United States and shall submit: 

1. A completed application; 

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee 

prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20; 

3. Documentation of licensure as follows: 

a. Verification of all mental health or health professional 

licenses or, certificates, or registrations the applicant holds 

or has ever held in any other jurisdiction. In order to 

qualify for endorsement, the applicant shall have no 

unresolved action against a license or certificate. The 

board will consider history of disciplinary action on a 

case-by-case basis; and 

b. Documentation of a marriage and family therapy license 

obtained by standards specified in subsection B of this 

section; 

4. Verification of a passing score on a marriage and family 

therapy licensure examination in the jurisdiction in which 

licensure was obtained; 

5. An affidavit attestation of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of marriage and 

family therapy in Virginia; and 

6. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall meet 

one of the following: 

1. Educational requirements consistent with those specified 

in 18VAC115-50-50 and 18VAC115-50-55 and experience 

requirements consistent with those specified in 18VAC115-

50-60; 

2. If an applicant does not have In lieu of documentation of 

educational and experience credentials consistent with those 

required by this chapter, he shall the applicant may provide: 

a. Documentation of education and supervised experience 

that met the requirements of the jurisdiction in which he 

was initially licensed as verified by an official transcript 

and a certified copy of the original application materials; 

and 

b. a. Evidence of post-licensure clinical practice as a 

marriage and family therapist for 24 of the last 60 months 

immediately preceding his licensure application in 

Virginia. Clinical practice shall mean the rendering of 

direct clinical services in marriage and family therapy or, 

clinical supervision of marriage and family services, or 

teaching graduate level courses in marriage and family 

therapy; or 

3. In lieu of transcripts verifying education and 

documentation verifying supervised experience, the board 

may accept verification from the credentials registry of the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or any 

other board-recognized entity. 

b. Evidence of an active license at the highest level of 

licensure for independent practice of marriage and family 

therapy for at least 10 years prior to the date of application; 

or 

c. Evidence of an active license at the highest level of 

licensure for independent practice of marriage and family 

therapy for at least three years prior to the date of 

application and a graduate-level degree from a program 

accredited in marriage and family therapy by COAMFTE 

or CACREP.  
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18VAC115-50-55. Coursework requirements. 

A. The applicant shall have successfully completed: 

1. The requirements for a marriage and family therapy 

program accredited by CACREP; or 

2. The applicant shall have successfully completed 60 

semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate coursework 

with a minimum of six semester hours or nine quarter hours 

completed in each of the core areas identified in subdivisions 

1 and 2 of this subsection, and three semester hours or 4.0 

quarter hours in each of the core areas identified in 

subdivisions 3 through 9 of this subsection: 

1. Marriage and family studies (marital and family 

development; family systems theory); 

2. Marriage and family therapy (systemic therapeutic 

interventions and application of major theoretical 

approaches); 

3. a. A minimum of 12 semester hours or 18 quarter hours 

completed in marriage and family studies (marital and 

family development, family systems, systemic therapeutic 

interventions, and application of major theoretical 

approaches). 

b. Three semester hours or four quarter hours in each of 

the following core areas: 

(1) Human growth and development across the lifespan; 

4. (2) Abnormal behaviors; 

5. (3) Diagnosis and treatment of addictive behaviors; 

6. (4) Multicultural counseling; 

7. (5) Professional identity and ethics; 

8. (6) Research (research methods; quantitative methods; 

statistics); or 

9. (7) Assessment and treatment (appraisal, assessment 

and diagnostic procedures); and 

10. Supervised c. A supervised internship as a formal 

academic course of at least 600 hours to include 240 hours 

of direct client contact, of which 200 hours shall be with 

couples and families. Only internship hours earned after 

completion of 30 graduate semester hours may be counted 

towards residency hours. If the academic course was less 

than 600 hours, the board may approve the completion of 

up to 100 of the 600 hours and up to 40 of the 240 hours 

of direct client contact to be added to the hours required 

for residency. 

B. If the applicant holds a current, unrestricted license as a 

professional counselor, clinical psychologist, or clinical social 

worker, the board may accept evidence of successful 

completion of 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours of 

graduate study, including. However, the applicant must 

provide evidence of a minimum of six 12 semester hours or 

nine 18 quarter hours completed in marriage and family studies 

(marital and family development; family systems theory) and 

six semester hours or nine quarter hours completed in marriage 

and family therapy (systemic therapeutic interventions and 

application of major theoretical approaches) therapy (marital 

and family development, family systems, systemic therapeutic 

interventions, and application of major theoretical 

approaches). 

18VAC115-50-60. Resident license and requirements for a 

residency. 

A. Resident license. Applicants for temporary licensure as a 

resident in marriage and family therapy shall: 

1. Apply for licensure on a form provided by the board to 

include the following: (i) verification of a supervisory 

contract, (ii) the name and licensure number of the 

supervisor and location for the supervised practice, and (iii) 

an attestation that the applicant will be providing marriage 

and family services. 

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree as that meets the requirements specified in 

18VAC115-50-50 to include completion of the coursework 

and internship requirement specified in 18VAC115-50-55; 

3. Pay the registration resident license fee; 

4. Submit a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and 

5. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license, certificate, or 

registration in Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board 

will consider the history of disciplinary action on a case-by-

case basis. 

B. Residency requirements. 

1. The applicant for licensure as a marriage and family 

therapist shall have completed no fewer than 3,400 hours of 

supervised residency in the role of a marriage and family 

therapist, to include 200 hours of in-person supervision with 

the supervisor in the consultation and review of marriage and 

family services provided by the resident. For the purpose of 

meeting the 200 hours of supervision required for a 

residency, in-person may also include the use of technology 

that maintains client confidentiality and provides real-time, 

visual contact between the supervisor and the resident. At 

least one-half of the 200 hours of supervision shall be 

rendered by a licensed marriage and family therapist. 

a. Residents shall receive a minimum of one hour and a 

maximum of four hours of supervision for every 40 hours 

of supervised work experience. 

b. No more than 100 hours of the supervision may be 

acquired through group supervision, with the group 

consisting of no more than six residents. One hour of 

group supervision will be deemed equivalent to one hour 

of individual supervision. 
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c. Up to 20 hours of the supervision received during the 

supervised internship may be counted towards the 200 

hours of in-person supervision if the supervision was 

provided by a licensed marriage and family therapist or a 

licensed professional counselor. 

2. The 3,400-hour residency shall include documentation of 

at least 2,000 hours in face-to-face clinical marriage and 

family services of which 1,000 hours shall be face-to-face 

client contact with couples or families or both. The 

remaining hours of the 3,400-hour residency may be spent 

in the performance of ancillary counseling services. For 

applicants who hold current, unrestricted licensure as a 

professional counselor, clinical psychologist, or clinical 

social worker, the remaining hours may be waived. 

3. The residency shall consist of practice in the core areas set 

forth in 18VAC115-50-55. applicant for licensure shall have 

completed a 3,400-hour supervised residency in the role of a 

marriage and family therapist working with various 

populations, clinical problems, and theoretical approaches in 

the following areas:  

a. Assessment and diagnosis using psychotherapy 

techniques;  

b. Appraisal, evaluation, and diagnostic procedures;  

c. Treatment planning and implementation;  

d. Case management and recordkeeping;  

e. Marriage and family therapy identity and function; and  

f. Professional ethics and standards of practice.  

4. The residency shall begin after the completion of a 

master's degree in marriage and family therapy or a related 

discipline as set forth in 18VAC115-50-50. 

5. A graduate-level internship in excess of 600 hours, which 

was completed in a program that meets the requirements set 

forth in 18VAC115-50-50, may count for up to an additional 

300 hours towards the requirements of a residency. 

6. Supervised practicum and internship hours in a 

COAMFTE-accredited or a CACREP-accredited doctoral 

program in marriage and family therapy or counseling may 

be accepted for up to 900 hours of the residency requirement 

and up to 100 of the required hours of supervision provided 

the supervisor holds a current, unrestricted license as a 

marriage and family therapist or professional counselor. 

7. The board may consider special requests in the event that 

the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability that limits the resident's access to 

qualified supervision. 

8. Residents shall not call themselves marriage and family 

therapists, directly bill for services rendered, or in any way 

represent themselves as marriage and family therapists. 

During the residency, residents may use their names, the 

initials of their degree, their resident license number, and the 

title "Resident in Marriage and Family Therapy." Clients 

shall be informed in writing that the resident does not have 

authority for independent practice and is under supervision, 

along with the name, address, and telephone number of the 

resident's board-approved supervisor. 

9. Residents shall not engage in practice under supervision 

in any areas for which they do not have appropriate 

education. 

10. The residency shall be completed in not less than 21 

months or more than four six years from the start of 

residency. Residents who began a residency before August 

24, 2016, shall complete the residency by August 24, 2020 

2022. An individual who does not complete the residency 

after four years shall submit evidence to the board showing 

why the supervised experience should be allowed to 

continue. A resident shall meet the renewal requirements of 

subsection C of 18VAC115-50-90 in order to maintain a 

resident license in current, active status. 

11. Residency hours that are shall be accepted if they were 

approved by the licensing board in another United States 

jurisdiction and that meet completed in that jurisdiction and 

if those hours are consistent with the requirements of 

subsection B of this section shall be accepted. 

12. Supervision that is not concurrent with a residency will 

not be accepted, nor can residency hours be accrued in the 

absence of approved supervision. 

C. Supervisory qualifications. A person who provides 

supervision for a resident in marriage and family therapy shall: 

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a marriage and 

family therapist or professional counselor in the jurisdiction 

where the supervision is being provided; 

2. Document two years post-licensure marriage and family 

therapy experience; and 

3. Have received professional training in supervision, 

consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 

graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 hours 

of continuing education in supervision offered by a provider 

approved under 18VAC115-50-96. At least one-half of the 

200 hours of supervision shall be rendered by a licensed 

marriage and family therapist. Supervisors who are clinical 

psychologists, clinical social workers, or psychiatrists and 

have been approved to provide supervision may continue to 

do so until August 24, 2017. 

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period. 

The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency and 

evaluate the applicant's competency to the board. The 

supervisor shall maintain copies of supervisory contracts, 

quarterly reports, and verification of supervision forms 
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evaluating an applicant's competency for five years after 

termination or completion of supervision. 

2. Supervision by an individual whose relationship to the 

resident is deemed by the board to compromise the 

objectivity of the supervisor is prohibited. 

3. The supervisor shall provide supervision as defined in 

18VAC115-50-10 and shall assume full responsibility for 

the clinical activities of residents as specified within the 

supervisory contract for the duration until completion or 

termination of the residency, regardless of whether the 

supervisor is onsite or offsite at the location where services 

are provided by the resident. 

4. The supervisor is accountable for the resident's 

compliance with residency requirements of this section. 

18VAC115-50-70. General examination requirements. 

A. All applicants for initial licensure shall pass an 

examination, as prescribed by the board, with a passing score 

as determined by the board. The examination is waived for an 

applicant who holds a current and unrestricted license as a 

professional counselor issued by the board. 

B. An applicant is required to pass the prescribed examination 

within six years from the date of initial issuance of a resident 

license by the board. 

C. A resident shall remain in a residency practicing under 

supervision until the resident has passed the licensure 

examination and been granted a license as a marriage and 

family therapist. 

18VAC115-50-96. Continuing competency activity criteria. 

A. Continuing competency activities must focus on 

increasing knowledge or skills in one or more of the following 

areas: 

1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral 

science professions; 

2. Counseling theory; 

3. Human growth and development; 

4. Social and cultural foundations; 

5. The helping relationship; 

6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling; 

7. Lifestyle and career development; 

8. Appraisal of individuals; 

9. Research and evaluation; 

10. Professional orientation; 

11. Clinical supervision; 

12. Marriage and family therapy; or 

13. Addictions. 

B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall 

be one of the following types: 

1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. 

Activities may be counted at their full hour value. Hours 

shall be obtained from one or a combination of the following 

board-approved, mental health-related activities: 

a. Regionally accredited university or college level 

academic courses in a behavioral health discipline. 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 

or colleges. 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by federal, state, or local 

governmental agencies or licensed health facilities and 

licensed hospitals. 

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by an individual or 

organization that has been certified or approved by one of 

the following: 

(1) The International Association of Marriage and Family 

Counselors and its state affiliates. 

(2) The American Association for Marriage and Family 

Therapy and its state affiliates. 

(3) The American Association of State Counseling 

Boards. 

(4) The American Counseling Association and its state and 

local affiliates. 

(5) The American Psychological Association and its state 

affiliates. 

(6) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification. 

(7) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction 

Professionals. and its state and local affiliates. 

(8) National Association of Social Workers. 

(9) National Board for Certified Counselors. 

(10) A national behavioral health organization or 

certification body. 

(11) Individuals or organizations that have been approved 

as continuing competency sponsors by the American 

Association of State Counseling Boards or a counseling 

board in another state. 

(12) The American Association of Pastoral Counselors. 

2. Individual professional activities. 

a. Publication/presentation/new Publication, presentation, 

or new program development. 

(1) Publication of articles. Activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. Publication activities are limited 

to articles in refereed journals or a chapter in an edited 

book. 
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(2) Publication of books. Activity will count for a 

maximum of 18 hours. 

(3) Presentations. Activity will count for a maximum of 

eight hours. The same presentations may be used only 

once in a two-year period. Only actual presentation time 

may be counted. 

(4) New program development activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. New program development 

includes a new course, seminar, or workshop. New 

courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or 

university courses. 

(5) Attendance at board meetings or disciplinary 

proceedings. Activity shall count for actual time of 

meeting or proceeding for a maximum of two hours during 

one renewal period.  

b. Dissertation. Activity will count for a maximum of 18 

hours. Dissertation credit may only be counted once. 

c. Clinical supervision/consultation. Activity will count 

for a maximum of 10 six hours. Continuing competency 

can only be granted for clinical supervision/consultation 

received on a regular basis with a set agenda. Continuing 

competency cannot be granted for supervision that you 

provide to others. 

d. Leadership. Activity will count for a maximum of eight 

hours. The following leadership positions are acceptable 

for continuing competency credit: officers of state or 

national counseling organization; editor or reviewer of 

professional counseling journals; member of state 

counseling licensure/certification licensure or certification 

board; member of a national counselor certification board; 

member of a national ethics disciplinary review committee 

rendering licenses; active member of a counseling 

committee producing a substantial written product; chair 

of a major counseling conference or convention; other 

leadership positions with justifiable professional learning 

experiences. The leadership positions must take place for 

a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure. 

e. Practice related programs. Activity will count up to a 

maximum of eight hours. The board may allow up to eight 

contact hours of continuing competency as long as the 

regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 

justification of how the activity assists him the regulant in 

his the direct service of his the regulant's clients. Examples 

include language courses, software training, medical 

topics, etc. 

18VAC115-50-97. Documenting compliance with 

continuing competency requirements. 

A. All licensees are required to maintain original 

documentation for a period of two years following renewal. 

B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may 

conduct a random audit of licensees to verify compliance with 

the requirement for that renewal period. 

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as 

follows: 

1. To document completion of formal organized learning 

activities, licensee shall provide: 

a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 

b. Certificates of participation. 

2. Documentation of home study shall be made by 

identification of the source material studied, summary of 

content, and a signed affidavit attesting to completion of the 

home study. 

3. Documentation of individual professional activities shall 

be by one of the following: 

a. Certificates of participation; 

b. Proof of presentations made; 

c. Reprints of publications; 

d. Letters from educational institutions or agencies 

approving continuing education programs; 

e. Official notification from the association that sponsored 

the item writing workshop or continuing education 

program; or 

f. Documentation of attendance at formal staffing shall be 

or participation in clinical supervision/consultation by 

signed affidavit attestation on a form provided by the 

board. 

D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

18VAC115-50-100. Late renewal, reinstatement. 

A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within 

one year after its expiration date by paying the late fee 

prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20 as well as the license fee 

prescribed for the period the license was not renewed and 

providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing 

competency requirements. 

B. A person seeking reinstatement of a marriage and family 

therapy license one year or more after its expiration date must: 

1. Apply for reinstatement and pay the reinstatement fee; 

2. Submit documentation verification of any mental health 

license he holds or has held in another jurisdiction, if 

applicable; 

3. Submit evidence regarding the continued ability to 

perform the functions within the scope of practice of the 

license if required by the board to demonstrate competency; 

and 

4. Provide evidence of having met all applicable continuing 

competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 

hours obtained within the four years immediately preceding 

application for reinstatement; and 
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5. Provide a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data 

Bank. 

C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive marriage and 

family license shall submit (i) the renewal fee for active 

licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure 

renewal and (ii) documentation of continued competency 

hours equal to the number of years the license has been 

inactive, not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours, obtained 

within the four years immediately preceding application for 

reinstatement. The board may require additional evidence 

regarding the person's continued ability to perform the 

functions within the scope of practice of the license. 

D. A person who fails to renew a resident license after one 

year or more and wishes to resume his residency within the six-

year limitation from the date of initial issuance of a resident 

license shall (i) apply for reinstatement; (ii) pay the initial 

licensure fee for a resident in counseling; and (iii) provide 

evidence of having met continuing competency requirements 

not to exceed a maximum of 12 hours. The board may require 

the applicant for reinstatement to submit evidence regarding 

the continued ability to perform the functions within the scope 

of practice of the resident license.  

18VAC115-50-110. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public's health, safety, and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Regardless of the 

delivery method, whether in person, by phone or electronically, 

these standards shall apply to the practice of marriage and 

family therapy. 

B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the public 

and does not endanger the public health, safety, or welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience, 

and appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new marriage and family therapy 

information, concepts, applications, and practices that are 

necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 

services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the client 

is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements for 

the continuation of treatment for clients, when necessary, 

following termination of a counseling relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform client of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the client is not 

compromised in any experimentation or research involving 

those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is initiated 

and throughout the counseling process as necessary. Provide 

clients with accurate information regarding the implications 

of diagnosis, the intended use of tests and reports, fees, and 

billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable, 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider professional, and if 

so, refrain from providing services to the client without 

having an informed consent discussion with the client and 

having been granted communication privileges with the 

other professional document efforts to coordinate care; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the U.S. Department of Education, or credentials granted 

by a national certifying agency, and that are counseling in 

nature; 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in a 

manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive, including 

compliance with 18VAC115-50-60 regarding requirements 

for representation to the public by residents in marriage and 

family therapy; and 

14. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age; 

15. Make appropriate referrals based on the interests of the 

client; and 

16. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 
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law or is beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed or registered 

by the board shall: 

1. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 

or electronic clinical records for each client to include 

treatment dates and identifying information to substantiate 

diagnosis and treatment plan, client progress, and 

termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release client records to others only with 

clients' expressed written consent or that of their legally 

authorized representative in accordance with § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from clients 

or their legally authorized representative before (i) 

videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third party 

observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records and 

clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 

presentations; and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the date of termination of the 

counseling relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have transferred to another mental health 

service provider or given to the client or his legally 

authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual or multiple relationships, persons licensed 

or registered by the board shall: 

1. Avoid dual or multiple relationships with clients that 

could impair professional judgment or increase the risk of 

harm to clients. Examples of such relationships include 

familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or close 

personal relationships with clients. Marriage and family 

therapists shall take appropriate professional precautions 

when a dual or multiple relationship cannot be avoided, such 

as informed consent, consultation, supervision, and 

documentation to ensure that judgment is not impaired and 

no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or sexual 

intimacies with clients or those included in a collateral 

relationship with the client and also not counsel persons with 

whom they have had a sexual intimacy or romantic 

relationship. Marriage and family therapists shall not engage 

in romantic relationships or sexual intimacies with former 

clients within a minimum of five years after terminating the 

counseling relationship. Marriage and family therapists who 

engage in such relationship or intimacy after five years 

following termination shall have the responsibility to 

examine and document thoroughly that such relations do not 

have an exploitive nature, based on factors such as duration 

of counseling, amount of time since counseling, termination 

circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, or 

adverse impact on the client. A client's consent to, initiation 

of or participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 

marriage and family therapist does not change the nature of 

the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any romantic relationships or sexual 

relationship or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee person under supervision or 

student. Marriage and family therapists shall avoid any 

nonsexual dual relationship with a supervisee person under 

supervision or student in which there is a risk of exploitation 

or potential harm to the supervisee person under supervision 

or student or the potential for interference with the 

supervisor's professional judgment; and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed or registered by this board shall report to 

the board known or suspected violations of the laws and 

regulations governing the practice of marriage and family 

therapy. 

F. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall advise 

their clients of their right to report to the Department of Health 

Professions any information of which the licensee may become 

aware in his professional capacity indicating that there is a 

reasonable probability that a person licensed or certified as a 

mental health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, 

fraudulent or unprofessional conduct as defined by the 

pertinent licensing statutes and regulations. 

18VAC115-50-120. Disciplinary action. 

A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend, deny issuance or 

removal of a license, or registration or take other disciplinary 

action may be taken in accordance with the following: 

1. Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in violating 

any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to 
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the practice of marriage and family therapy, or any provision 

of this chapter; 

2. Procurement of Procuring, attempting to procure, or 

maintaining a license, including submission of an 

application or supervisory forms, or registration by fraud or 

misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it 

a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients or the 

general public or if one is unable to practice marriage and 

family therapy with reasonable skill and safety to clients by 

reason of illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, 

chemicals, or other type of material or result of any mental 

or physical condition; 

4. Demonstrating an inability to practice marriage and 

family therapy with reasonable skill and safety to clients by 

reason of illness or substance misuse or as a result of any 

mental, emotional, or physical condition; 

5. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely to 

cause injury to a client or clients; 

5. 6. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable 

areas of competency; 

6. 7. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of 

any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 

marriage and family therapy, or any part or portion of this 

chapter; 

7. 8. Failure to comply with the continued competency 

requirements set forth in this chapter; or 

8. 9. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public; 

10. Knowingly allowing persons under supervision to 

jeopardize client safety or provide care to clients outside of 

such person's scope of practice or area of responsibility; 

11. Having an action taken against a health or mental health 

license, certification, registration, or application in Virginia 

or other jurisdiction; 

12. Failing to cooperate with an employee of the Department 

of Health Professions in the conduct of an investigation; or 

13. Failing to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia, or abuse of 

aged or incapacitated adults as required in § 63.2-1606 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license, the 

licensee may petition the board for reinstatement upon good 

cause shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having 

been obtained that would alter the determination reached. 

18VAC115-60-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

"Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner" 

"Substance abuse" 

"Substance abuse treatment" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Ancillary services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure as 

a substance abuse treatment practitioner. 

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs. 

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 

satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 

requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by the 

board to sit for its examinations. 

"Clinical substance abuse treatment services" means 

activities such as assessment, diagnosis, treatment planning, 

and treatment implementation. 

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 

Marriage and Family Therapy Education. 

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 

licensure is not required to engage in the practice of substance 

abuse treatment according to the conditions set forth in § 54.1-

3501 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

substance abuse treatment services for a client or the use of 

visual, real-time, interactive, secured technology for delivery 

of such services. 

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 

provided by a qualified supervisor. 

"Internship" means a formal academic course from a 

regionally accredited university in which supervised, practical 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1477 

experience is obtained in a clinical setting in the application of 

counseling principles, methods and techniques. 

"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province, or 

country that has granted a professional certificate or license to 

practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold oneself 

out as a practitioner of that profession. 

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting that does not meet the 

conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure to 

engage in the practice of substance abuse treatment as set forth 

in § 54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education responsible for accrediting senior postsecondary 

institutions. 

"Residency" means a postgraduate, supervised, clinical 

experience. 

"Resident" means an individual who has a supervisory 

contract and has been issued a temporary license by the board 

to provide clinical services in substance abuse treatment under 

supervision. 

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual or 

group consultation, guidance, and instruction with respect to 

the clinical skills and competencies of the person supervised. 

"Supervisory contract" means an agreement that outlines the 

expectations and responsibilities of the supervisor and resident 

in accordance with regulations of the board. 

18VAC115-60-20. Fees required by the board. 

A. The board has established the following fees applicable to 

licensure as a substance abuse treatment practitioner or 

resident in substance abuse treatment: 

Application and initial licensure as a 

resident in substance abuse treatment 

$65 

Pre-review of education only $75 

Initial licensure by examination: 

Processing and initial licensure as a 

substance abuse treatment practitioner 

$175 

Initial licensure by endorsement: 

Processing and initial licensure as a 

substance abuse treatment practitioner 

$175 

Active annual license renewal for a 

substance abuse treatment practitioner 

$130 

Inactive annual license renewal for a 

substance abuse treatment practitioner 

$65 

Annual renewal for a resident in 

substance abuse treatment 

$30 

Duplicate license $10 

Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction 

$30 

Late renewal for a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner 

$45 

Late renewal for a resident in substance 

abuse treatment 

$10 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license of a 

substance abuse treatment practitioner 

$200 

Reinstatement of a lapsed resident license $75 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate 

$25 

Returned check or dishonored credit or 

debit card 

$50 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$600 

B. All fees are nonrefundable. 

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as 

determined by the board. 

18VAC115-60-40. Application for licensure by 

examination. 

Every applicant for licensure by examination by the board 

shall: 

1. Meet the degree program, coursework, and experience 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-60-60, 18VAC115-

60-70, and 18VAC115-60-80; 

2. Pass the examination required for initial licensure as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-90; 

3. Submit the following items to the board: 

a. A completed application; 

b. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 

completion of the degree program and coursework 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-60-60 and 

18VAC115-60-70. Transcripts previously submitted for 

board approval of a resident license do not have to be 

resubmitted unless additional coursework was 

subsequently obtained; 

c. Verification of supervision forms documenting 

fulfillment of the residency requirements of 18VAC115-

60-80 and copies of all required evaluation forms, 

including verification of current licensure of the 

supervisor of any portion of the residency occurred in 

another jurisdiction; 

d. Documentation Verification of any other mental health 

or health professional license or certificate ever held in 

another jurisdiction; 
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e. The application processing and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20; and 

f. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and 

4. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license or, certificate, or 

registration held in Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The 

board will consider history of disciplinary action on a case-

by-case basis. 

18VAC115-60-50. Prerequisites for licensure by 

endorsement. 

Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit: 

1. A completed application; 

2. The application processing and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20; 

3. Verification of all mental health or health professional 

licenses or, certificates, or registrations ever held in any 

other jurisdiction. In order to qualify for endorsement, the 

applicant shall have no unresolved disciplinary action 

against a license or, certificate, or registration. The board 

will consider history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case 

basis; 

4. Further documentation of one of the following: 

a. A current license for the independent practice of 

substance abuse treatment license or addiction counseling 

in good standing in another jurisdiction obtained by 

meeting requirements substantially equivalent to those set 

forth in this chapter; or 

b. A mental health license in good standing from Virginia 

or another United States jurisdiction in a category 

acceptable to the board that required completion of a 

master's degree in mental health to include 60 graduate 

semester hours in mental health as documented by an 

official transcript; and 

(1) Board-recognized national certification in substance 

abuse treatment or addiction counseling; 

(2) If the master's degree was in substance abuse 

treatment, two years of the applicant shall have post-

licensure experience in providing substance abuse 

treatment or addiction counseling in 24 out of the past 60 

months immediately preceding the submission of the 

application to the board; 

(3) If the master's degree was not in substance abuse 

treatment or addiction counseling, five two years of post-

licensure experience in substance abuse treatment or 

addiction counseling plus 12 credit hours of didactic 

training in the substance abuse treatment competencies set 

forth in 18VAC115-60-70 C as documented by an official 

transcript; or 

(4) Current substance abuse counselor certification in 

Virginia in good standing or a Virginia substance abuse 

treatment specialty licensure designation with two years 

of post-licensure or certification substance abuse 

treatment or addiction counseling experience; or  

c. Documentation of education and supervised experience 

that met the requirements of the jurisdiction in which he 

was initially licensed as verified by an official transcript 

and a certified copy of the original application materials 

and evidence of post-licensure clinical practice for 24 of 

the last 60 months immediately preceding his licensure 

application in Virginia. Clinical practice shall mean the 

rendering of direct clinical substance abuse treatment 

services or clinical supervision of such services; 

5. Verification of a passing score on a substance abuse the 

licensure examination as established by the jurisdiction in 

which licensure was obtained. The examination is waived 

for an applicant who holds a current and unrestricted license 

as a professional counselor within the Commonwealth of 

Virginia prescribed in 18VAC115-60-90, or if the applicant 

is licensed in another jurisdiction, a licensing examination 

deemed to be substantially equivalent by the board; 

6. An affidavit attestation of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of substance 

abuse treatment in Virginia; and 

7. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

18VAC115-60-60. Degree program requirements. 

A. The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree from 

a program that prepares individuals to practice substance abuse 

treatment, addiction counseling, or a related counseling 

discipline as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia 

from a college or university accredited by a regional 

accrediting agency that meets the following criteria: 

1. There must be a sequence of academic study with the 

expressed intent to prepare counselors as documented by the 

institution; 

2. There must be an identifiable counselor training faculty 

and an identifiable body of students who complete that 

sequence of academic study; and 

3. The academic unit must have clear authority and primary 

responsibility for the core and specialty areas. 

B. Programs that are approved by CACREP as programs in 

addictions counseling are recognized as meeting the 

requirements of subsection A of this section. 

C. Graduates of programs that are not within the United States 

or Canada shall provide documentation from an acceptable 

credential evaluation service that provides information that 

allows the board to determine if the program meets the 

requirements set forth in this chapter. 
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18VAC115-60-70. Coursework requirements. 

A. The applicant shall have successfully completed 60 

semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate study. 

B. The applicant shall have completed: 

1. The requirements for a degree in a program accredited by 

CACREP in addiction counseling or any other specialty 

approved by the board; or 

2. The applicant shall have successfully completed 60 

semester hours or 90 quarter hours of graduate study in a 

general core curriculum containing a minimum of three 

semester hours or 4.0 quarter hours in each of the areas 

identified in this section: 

1. a. Professional identity, function and ethics; 

2. b. Theories of counseling and psychotherapy; 

3. c. Counseling and psychotherapy techniques; 

4. d. Group counseling and psychotherapy, theories and 

techniques; 

5. e. Appraisal, evaluation and diagnostic procedures; 

6. f. Abnormal behavior and psychopathology; 

7. g. Multicultural counseling, theories and techniques; 

8. h. Research; and 

9. i. Marriage and family systems theory. 

C. B. The applicant shall also have completed 12 graduate 

semester credit hours or 18 graduate quarter hours in the 

following substance abuse treatment competencies. Evidence 

of current certification as a master addictions counselor may 

be used to verify completion of the required graduate hours 

specified in this subsection. 

1. Assessment, appraisal, evaluation and diagnosis specific 

to substance abuse use disorder; 

2. Treatment planning models, client case management, 

interventions and treatments to include relapse prevention, 

referral process, step models and documentation process; 

3. Understanding addictions: The biochemical, 

sociocultural, and psychological factors of substance use and 

abuse; 

4. Addictions and special populations including, but not 

limited to, adolescents, women, ethnic groups and the 

elderly; and 

5. Client and community education. 

D. C. The applicant shall have completed a supervised 

internship of 600 hours as a formal academic course to include 

240 hours of direct face-to-face client contact, of which 200 

hours shall be in addiction counseling or treating substance 

abuse-specific treatment problems use disorder. Only 

internship hours earned after completion of 30 graduate 

semester hours may be counted towards residency hours. If the 

academic course was less than 600 hours, the board may 

approve completion of up to 100 of the 600 hours and up to 40 

of the 240 hours of face-to-face client contact to be added to 

the hours required for residency. 

E. One course may satisfy study in more than one content area 

set forth in subsections B and C of this section.  

F. If the applicant holds a current, unrestricted license as a 

professional counselor, clinical psychologist, or clinical social 

worker, the board may accept evidence of successful 

completion of 60 semester hours or 90 quarter hours of 

graduate study, including the hours specified in subsection C 

of this section. 

18VAC115-60-80. Resident license and requirements for a 

residency. 

A. Licensure. Applicants for a temporary resident license in 

substance abuse treatment shall: 

1. Apply for licensure on a form provided by the board to 

include the following: (i) verification of a supervisory 

contract, (ii) the name and licensure number of the 

supervisor and location for the supervised practice, and (iii) 

an attestation that the applicant will be providing substance 

abuse treatment services; 

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree that meets the requirements specified in 

18VAC115-60-60 to include completion of the coursework 

and internship requirement specified in 18VAC115-60-70; 

3. Pay the registration fee; 

4. Submit a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and 

5. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license, certificate, or 

registration in Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board 

will consider the history of disciplinary action on a case-by-

case basis. 

B. Applicants who are beginning their residencies in exempt 

settings shall register supervision with the board to assure 

acceptability at the time of application. 

C. Residency requirements. 

1. The applicant for licensure as a substance abuse treatment 

practitioner shall have completed no fewer than 3,400 hours 

in a supervised residency in substance abuse treatment with 

various populations, clinical problems and theoretical 

approaches in the following areas: 

a. Clinical evaluation; 

b. Treatment planning, documentation, and 

implementation; 

c. Referral and service coordination; 
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d. Individual and group counseling and case management; 

e. Client family and community education; and 

f. Professional and ethical responsibility. 

2. The residency shall include a minimum of 200 hours of 

in-person supervision between supervisor and resident 

occurring at a minimum of one hour and a maximum of four 

hours per 40 hours of work experience during the period of 

the residency. 

a. No more than half of these hours may be satisfied with 

group supervision. 

b. One hour of group supervision will be deemed 

equivalent to one hour of individual supervision. 

c. Supervision that is not concurrent with a residency will 

not be accepted, nor will residency hours be accrued in the 

absence of approved supervision. 

d. For the purpose of meeting the 200-hour supervision 

requirement, in-person supervision may include the use of 

technology that maintains client confidentiality and 

provides real-time, visual contact between the supervisor 

and the resident. 

e. Up to 20 hours of the supervision received during the 

supervised internship may be counted towards the 200 

hours of in-person supervision if the supervision was 

provided by a licensed professional counselor. 

3. The residency shall include at least 2,000 hours of face-

to-face client contact in providing clinical services with at 

least 1,000 of those hours providing substance abuse 

treatment services or addiction counseling with individuals, 

families, or groups of individuals suffering from the effects 

of substance abuse or dependence people with substance use 

disorder. The remaining hours (1,400 of the 3,400) may be 

spent in the performance of ancillary services. 

4. A graduate level degree internship in excess of 600 hours, 

which is completed in a program that meets the requirements 

set forth in 18VAC115-60-70, may count for up to an 

additional 300 hours towards the requirements of a 

residency. 

5. The residency shall be completed in not less than 21 

months or more than four six years from the start of the 

residency. Residents who began a residency before August 

24, 2016, shall complete the residency by August 24, 2020 

2022. An individual who does not complete the residency 

after four years shall submit evidence to the board showing 

why the supervised experience should be allowed to 

continue. A resident shall meet the renewal requirements of 

subsection C of 18VAC115-60-110 in order to maintain a 

license in current, active status. 

6. The board may consider special requests in the event that 

the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability that limits the resident's access to 

qualified supervision. 

7. Residents may not call themselves substance abuse 

treatment practitioners, directly bill for services rendered, or 

in any way represent themselves as independent, 

autonomous practitioners or substance abuse treatment 

practitioners. During the residency, residents shall use their 

names and the initials of their degree, their resident license 

number, and the title "Resident in Substance Abuse 

Treatment" in all written communications. Clients shall be 

informed in writing that the resident does not have authority 

for independent practice and is under supervision and shall 

provide the board-approved supervisor's name, professional 

address, and telephone number. 

8. Residents shall not engage in practice under supervision 

in any areas for which they have not had appropriate 

education. 

9. Residency hours that are approved by the licensing board 

in another United States jurisdiction and that meet are 

completed in that jurisdiction shall be accepted if those hours 

are consistent with the requirements of this section shall be 

accepted subsection. 

D. Supervisory qualifications. 

1. A person who provides supervision for a resident in 

substance abuse treatment shall hold an active, unrestricted 

license as a professional counselor or substance abuse 

treatment practitioner in the jurisdiction where the 

supervision is being provided. Supervisors who are marriage 

and family therapists, school psychologists, clinical 

psychologists, clinical social workers, clinical nurse 

specialists, or psychiatrists and have been approved to 

provide supervision may continue to do so until August 24, 

2017. 

2. All supervisors shall document two years post-licensure 

substance abuse treatment experience and at least 100 hours 

of didactic instruction in substance abuse treatment. 

Supervisors must document a three-credit-hour course in 

supervision, a 4.0-quarter-hour course in supervision, or at 

least 20 hours of continuing education in supervision offered 

by a provider approved under 18VAC115-60-116. 

E. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 

resident compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 

prohibited. 

2. The supervisor of a resident shall assume full 

responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident 

specified within the supervisory contract for the duration 

until completion or termination of the residency, regardless 

of whether the supervisor is onsite or offsite at the location 

where services are provided by the resident. 

3. The supervisor is accountable for the resident's 

compliance with residency requirements of this section. 
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4. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period. 

The supervisor shall maintain copies of supervisory 

contracts, quarterly reports, and the verification of 

supervision forms evaluating an applicant's competency for 

five years after termination or completion of supervision. 

4. 5. The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency 

to the board and shall evaluate the applicant's competency in 

the six areas stated in subdivision C 1 of this section. 

F. Documentation of supervision. Applicants shall document 

successful completion of their residency on the Verification of 

Supervision form at the time of application. Applicants must 

receive a satisfactory competency evaluation on each item on 

the evaluation sheet. 

18VAC115-60-90. General examination requirements; 

time limits. 

A. Every applicant for licensure as a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner by examination shall pass a written 

examination as prescribed by the board. Such applicant is 

required to pass the prescribed examination within six years 

from the date of initial issuance of a resident license by the 

board. 

B. Every applicant for licensure as a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner by endorsement shall have passed a 

substance abuse examination deemed by the board to be 

substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination. 

C. The examination is waived for an applicant who holds a 

current and unrestricted license as a professional counselor 

issued by the board. 

D. The board shall establish a passing score on the written 

examination. 

E. D. A resident shall remain in a residency practicing under 

supervision until the resident has passed the licensure 

examination and been granted a license as a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner. 

18VAC115-60-116. Continuing competency activity 

criteria. 

A. Continuing competency activities must focus on 

increasing knowledge or skills in one or more of the following 

areas: 

1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral 

science professions; 

2. Counseling theory; 

3. Human growth and development; 

4. Social and cultural foundations; 

5. The helping relationship; 

6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling; 

7. Lifestyle and career development; 

8. Appraisal of individuals; 

9. Research and evaluation; 

10. Professional orientation; 

11. Clinical supervision; 

12. Marriage and family therapy; or 

13. Addictions. 

B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall 

be one of the following types: 

1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. 

Activities may be counted at their full hour value. Hours 

shall be obtained from one or a combination of the following 

board-approved, mental health-related activities: 

a. Regionally accredited university-or college-level 

academic courses in a behavioral health discipline. 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 

or colleges. 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by federal, state, or local 

governmental agencies or licensed health facilities and 

licensed hospitals. 

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 

behavioral health field offered by an individual or 

organization that has been certified or approved by one of 

the following: 

(1) The International Association of Marriage and Family 

Counselors and its state affiliates. 

(2) The American Association for Marriage and Family 

Therapy and its state affiliates. 

(3) The American Association of State Counseling 

Boards. 

(4) The American Counseling Association and its state and 

local affiliates. 

(5) The American Psychological Association and its state 

affiliates. 

(6) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification. 

(7) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction 

Professionals, and its state and local affiliates. 

(8) National Association of Social Workers. 

(9) The National Board for Certified Counselors. 

(10) A national behavioral health organization or 

certification body. 

(11) Individuals or organizations that have been approved 

as continuing competency sponsors by the American 

Association of State Counseling Boards or a counseling 

board in another state. 
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2. Individual professional activities. 

a. Publication/presentation/new Publication, presentation, 

or new program development. 

(1) Publication of articles. Activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. Publication activities are limited 

to articles in refereed journals or a chapter in an edited 

book. 

(2) Publication of books. Activity will count for a 

maximum of 18 hours. 

(3) Presentations. Activity will count for a maximum of 

eight hours. The same presentations may be used only 

once in a two-year period. Only actual presentation time 

may be counted. 

(4) New program development. Activity will count for a 

maximum of eight hours. New program development 

includes a new course, seminar, or workshop. New 

courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or 

university courses. 

(5) Attendance at board meetings or disciplinary 

proceedings. Activity shall count for actual time of 

meeting or proceeding for a maximum of two hours during 

one renewal period. 

b. Dissertation. Activity will count for a maximum of 18 

hours. Dissertation credit may only be counted once. 

c. Clinical supervision/consultation. Activity will count 

for a maximum of 10 six hours. Continuing competency 

can only be granted for clinical supervision/consultation 

received on a regular basis with a set agenda. Continuing 

competency cannot be granted for supervision that you 

provide to others. 

d. Leadership. Activity will count for a maximum of eight 

hours. The following leadership positions are acceptable 

for continuing competency credit: officers of state or 

national counseling organization; editor or reviewer of 

professional counseling journals; member of state 

counseling licensure/certification licensure or certification 

board; member of a national counselor certification board; 

member of a national ethics disciplinary review committee 

rendering licenses; active member of a counseling 

committee producing a substantial written product; chair 

of a major counseling conference or convention; other 

leadership positions with justifiable professional learning 

experiences. The leadership positions must take place for 

a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure. 

e. Practice related programs. Activity will count up to a 

maximum of eight hours. The board may allow up to eight 

contact hours of continuing competency as long as the 

regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 

justification of how the activity assists him the regulant in 

his the direct service of his the regulant's clients. Examples 

include language courses, software training, medical 

topics, etc. 

18VAC115-60-117. Documenting compliance with 

continuing competency requirements. 

A. All licensees are required to maintain original 

documentation for a period of two years following renewal. 

B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may 

conduct a random audit of licensees to verify compliance with 

the requirement for that renewal period. 

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as 

follows: 

1. To document completion of formal organized learning 

activities, licensee shall provide: 

a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 

b. Certificates of participation. 

2. Documentation of home study shall be made by 

identification of the source material studied, summary of 

content, and a signed affidavit attesting to completion of the 

home study. 

3. Documentation of individual professional activities shall 

be by one of the following: 

a. Certificates of participation; 

b. Proof of presentations made; 

c. Reprints of publications; 

d. Letters from educational institutions or agencies 

approving continuing education programs; 

e. Official notification from the association that sponsored 

the item writing workshop or continuing education 

program; or 

f. Documentation of attendance at formal staffing or 

participation in clinical supervision/consultation shall be 

by signed affidavit attestation on a form provided by the 

board. 

D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

18VAC115-60-120. Late renewal; reinstatement. 

A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within 

one year after its expiration date by paying the late renewal fee 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20, as well as the license fee 

prescribed for the year the license was not renewed and 

providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing 

competency requirements. 

B. A person who fails to renew a substance abuse treatment 

practitioner license after one year or more and wishes to 

resume practice shall (i) apply for reinstatement,; (ii) pay the 

reinstatement fee for a lapsed license,; (iii) submit verification 

of any mental health license he the person holds or has held in 

another jurisdiction, if applicable,; (iv) provide a current report 

from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

National Practitioner Data Bank; and (v) provide evidence of 
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having met all applicable continuing competency requirements 

not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours obtained within the four 

years immediately preceding application for reinstatement. 

The board may require the applicant for reinstatement to 

submit evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the 

functions within the scope of practice of the license. 

C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive substance abuse 

treatment practitioner license shall submit (i) the renewal fee 

for active licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive 

licensure renewal; (ii) documentation of continued 

competency hours equal to the number of years the license has 

been inactive not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours obtained 

within the four years immediately preceding application for 

reactivation; and (iii) verification of any mental health license 

he holds or has held in another jurisdiction, if applicable. The 

board may require the applicant for reactivation to submit 

evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the 

functions within the scope of practice of the license. 

D. A person who fails to renew a resident license after one 

year or more and wishes to resume his residency within the six-

year limitation from the date of initial issuance of a resident 

license shall (i) apply for reinstatement; (ii) pay the initial 

licensure fee for a resident in substance abuse treatment; and 

(iii) provide evidence of having met continuing competency 

requirements not to exceed a maximum of 12 hours. The board 

may require the applicant for reinstatement to submit evidence 

regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within 

the scope of practice of the resident license.  

18VAC115-60-130. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Regardless of the 

delivery method, whether in person, by phone or electronically, 

these standards shall apply to the practice of substance abuse 

treatment. 

B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the public 

and does not endanger the public health, safety, or welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience and 

appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new substance abuse treatment 

information, concepts, application, and practices that are 

necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 

services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the client 

is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements for 

the continuation of treatment for clients, when necessary, 

following termination of a counseling relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no way 

compromised in any experimentation or research involving 

those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is initiated 

and throughout the counseling process as necessary. Provide 

clients with accurate information regarding the implications 

of diagnosis, the intended use of tests and reports, fees, and 

billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable, 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider professional, and if 

so, refrain from providing services to the client without 

having an informed consent discussion with the client and 

having been granted communication privileges with the 

other professional document efforts to coordinate care; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the U.S. Department of Education, or credentials granted 

by a national certifying agency, and that are counseling in 

nature; 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in a 

manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive, including 

compliance with 18VAC115-60-80 regarding requirements 

for representation to the public by residents in counseling; 

and 

14. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age; 

15. Make appropriate referrals based on the interests of the 

client; and 
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16. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or is beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed or registered 

by the board shall: 

1. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 

or electronic clinical records for each client to include 

treatment dates and identifying information to substantiate 

diagnosis and treatment plan, client progress, and 

termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 

expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 

representative in accordance with § 32.1-127.1:03 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

4. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the date of termination of the 

substance abuse treatment relationship with the following 

exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client; and 

5. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from clients 

or their legally authorized representative before (i) 

videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third party 

observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records and 

clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 

presentations. 

D. In regard to dual or multiple relationships, persons licensed 

or registered by the board shall: 

1. Avoid dual or multiple relationships with clients that 

could impair professional judgment or increase the risk of 

harm to clients. Examples of such relationships include 

familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or close 

personal relationships with clients. Counselors shall take 

appropriate professional precautions when a dual 

relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 

consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 

judgment is not impaired and no exploitation or neglect 

occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or sexual 

intimacies with clients or those included in a collateral 

relationship with the client and not counsel persons with 

whom they have had a romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacy. Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners 

shall not engage in romantic relationships or sexual 

intimacies with former clients within a minimum of five 

years after terminating the counseling relationship. Licensed 

substance abuse treatment practitioners who engage in such 

relationship or intimacy after five years following 

termination shall have the responsibility to examine and 

document thoroughly that such relations do not have an 

exploitive nature, based on factors such as duration of 

counseling, amount of time since counseling, termination 

circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, or 

adverse impact on the client. A client's consent to, initiation 

of or participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner does not 

change the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory 

prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any sexual intimacy or romantic 

relationship or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee person under supervision or 

student. Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners 

shall avoid any nonsexual dual relationship with a 

supervisee person under supervision or student in which 

there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm to the 

supervisee person under supervision or the potential for 

interference with the supervisor's professional judgment; 

and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed or registered by this board shall report to 

the board known or suspected violations of the laws and 

regulations governing the practice of substance abuse 

treatment. 

F. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall advise 

their clients of their right to report to the Department of Health 

Professions any information of which the licensee may become 

aware in his professional capacity indicating that there is a 

reasonable probability that a person licensed or certified as a 

mental health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, 

fraudulent or unprofessional conduct as defined by the 

pertinent licensing statutes and regulations. 
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18VAC115-60-140. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 

probation, reprimand, censure, or denial of renewal of 

license or registration. 

A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend, deny issuance or 

renewal of a license, or take other disciplinary action may be 

taken in accord with the following: 

1. Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in violating 

any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to 

the practice of substance abuse treatment, or any provision 

of this chapter; 

2. Procurement of Procuring, attempting to procure, or 

maintaining a license, including submission of an 

application or supervisory forms, or registration by fraud or 

misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it 

a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients or to the 

public, or if one is unable to practice substance abuse 

treatment with reasonable skill and safety to clients by 

reason of illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, 

chemicals, or other type of material or result of any mental 

or physical condition; 

4. Demonstrating an inability to practice substance abuse 

treatment with reasonable skill and safety to clients by 

reason of illness or substance misuse or as a result of any 

mental, emotional, or physical condition; 

5. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely to 

cause injury to a client; 

5. 6. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable 

areas of competency; 

6. 7. Failure to comply with the continued competency 

requirements set forth in this chapter; 

7. 8. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of 

any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 

licensed substance abuse therapy treatment, or any part or 

portion of this chapter; or 

8. 9. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public; 

10. Knowingly allowing persons under supervision to 

jeopardize client safety or provide care to clients outside of 

such person's scope of practice or area of responsibility; 

11. Having an action taken against a health or mental health 

license, certification, registration, or application in Virginia 

or other jurisdiction; 

12. Failing to cooperate with an employee of the Department 

of Health Professions in the conduct of an investigation; or 

13. Failing to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia, or abuse of 

aged or incapacitated adults as required in § 63.2-1606 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license the 

licensee may petition the board for reinstatement upon good 

cause shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having 

been obtained that would alter the determination reached. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5799; Filed January 1, 2022, 3:50 p.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-45, 

18VAC140-20-110, 18VAC140-20-150). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

March 3, 2022 - noon - Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor, Board 

Room 2, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, 

or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Social Work the authority to promulgate regulations 

to administer the regulatory system. The specific authority of 

the Board of Social Work is found in § 54.1-3705 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Purpose: The amendments to the standards of practice are 

intended to address a situation in which a practitioner's action 

may be clearly unprofessional and detrimental to the welfare 

of a client, but the board does not have specific grounds to take 

some disciplinary action. Amendments will ensure that the 

board can take action as necessary to protect the health and 

safety of the public. 

Substance: The board proposes the following amendments: (i) 

to eliminate all requirements for either supervised experience 

or active practice in another jurisdiction for licensure by 

endorsement for a licensed bachelor social worker, licensed 

master social worker, or licensed clinical social worker; (ii) to 

eliminate requirements for a person whose license has been 

lapsed for 10 or more years to provide evidence of either active 

practice in another jurisdiction or in an exempt setting, or 

supervised practice of no less than 360 hours in a 12-month 

period in order to reinstate or reactive a license; and (iii) to 

specify in the standards of practice that persons licensed by the 

board shall not engage in physical contact with a client when 

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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there is a likelihood of psychological harm to the client and 

shall not sexually harass a client. 

Issues: The advantages to the public are (i) less restrictive 

requirements for licensure by endorsement may result in an 

increase in the number of licensed social workers who can 

provide services in the Commonwealth; and (ii) more explicit 

rules on unprofessional conduct will provide greater protection 

for clients of social workers. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. There are no specific advantages or disadvantages to 

the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Social Work (Board) proposes discretionary changes 

to: 1) eliminate a specified requirement for licensure by 

endorsement, 2) eliminate a specified requirement for 

reinstatement or reactivation of licensure for a person whose 

license has been lapsed or inactive for 10 or more years, and 3) 

specify that persons licensed by the Board who are in dual 

relationships with a client shall not engage in physical contact 

with a client when there is a likelihood of psychological harm 

to the client nor shall they sexually harass a client. 

Background. 

Licensure Levels. Pursuant to § 54.1-3700 of the Code of 

Virginia,1 a licensed clinical social worker (LCSW) is a 

licensed social worker who, by education and experience, is 

professionally qualified at the autonomous practice level to 

provide direct diagnostic, preventive and treatment services 

where functioning is threatened or affected by social and 

psychological stress or health impairment. A licensed master's 

social worker (LMSW) is a licensed social worker who 

engages in the practice of social work and provides non-

clinical, generalist services, including staff supervision and 

management. A licensed baccalaureate social worker (LBSW) 

is a licensed social worker who engages in the practice of social 

work under the supervision of a master's social worker and 

provides basic generalist services, including casework 

management and supportive services and consultation and 

education. 

Licensure by Endorsement. Under the current regulation, 

18VAC140-20-45 states that every applicant for licensure by 

endorsement shall submit: 

"1. A completed application and the application fee 

prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30. 

2. Documentation of active social work licensure in good 

standing obtained by standards required for licensure in 

another jurisdiction as verified by the out-of-state 

licensing agency. Licensure in the other jurisdiction shall 

be of a comparable type as the licensure that the applicant 

is seeking in Virginia. 

3. Verification of a passing score on a Board-approved 

national exam at the level for which the applicant is 

seeking licensure in Virginia. 

4. Documentation of any other health or mental health 

licensure or certification, if applicable. 

5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB). 

6. Verification of: 

a. Active practice at the level for which the applicant is 

seeking licensure in another United States jurisdiction for 

24 out of the past 60 months; 

b. Active practice in an exempt setting at the level for 

which the applicant is seeking licensure for 24 out of the 

past 60 months; or 

c. Evidence of supervised experience requirements 

substantially equivalent to those outlined in 18VAC140-

20-50 A 2 and A 3. 

7. Certification that the applicant is not the respondent in 

any pending or unresolved Board action in another 

jurisdiction or in a malpractice claim." 

As part of this regulatory change, the Board now proposes to 

eliminate the sixth required submission (i.e., verification).  

Reinstatement and Reactivation. Under the current regulation, 

18VAC140-20-110 indicates that (a) individuals applying for 

license reinstatement whose license has been lapsed for 10 or 

more years and (b) individuals applying for license reactivation 

who have been inactive for 10 or more years shall, among other 

requirements, provide evidence of competency to practice by 

documenting: 

1. Active practice in another United States jurisdiction for 

at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately 

preceding application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out 

of the past 60 months immediately preceding application; 

or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 

360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 

reinstatement of licensure in Virginia. The supervised 

practice shall include a minimum of 60 hours of face-to-

face direct client contact and nine hours of face-to-face 

supervision. 

The Board now proposes to wholly eliminate this requirement 

to provide evidence of competency to practice. Other 

requirements do remain.2 

Professional Conduct. Section 18VAC140-20-150 subsection 

D specifies requirements for licensees in regard to dual 

relationships. According to the National Association of Social 

Workers Code of Ethics, from which this language was taken, 

"Dual or multiple relationships occur when social workers 

relate to clients in more than one relationship, whether 

professional, social, or business. Dual or multiple relationships 

can occur simultaneously or consecutively."3 The Board 

proposes to add that licensees who are in a dual relationship 

with a client shall: 
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"6. Not engage in physical contact with a client when there 

is a likelihood of psychological harm to the client. Social 

workers who engage in physical contact are responsible 

for setting clear and culturally sensitive boundaries. 

7. Not sexually harass clients. Sexual harassment includes 

sexual advances; sexual solicitation; requests for sexual 

favors; and other verbal written, electronic, or physical 

contact of a sexual nature." 

Based upon its placement in the dual relationship section of the 

regulation (18VAC140-20-150, subsection D), and not 

elsewhere in the regulation, it appears that this proposed 

additional language would only apply to social workers who 

are in dual relationships, and not to other types of client 

interactions or relationships. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs 

Licensure by Endorsement. In 2020, the Board issued 377 

LCSW, 81 LMSW, and 6 LBSW licenses by endorsement.4 So 

far in 2021, the Board has issued 456 LCSW, 91 LMSW, and 

12 LBSW licenses by endorsement.5 The proposal to eliminate 

the requirement of verification of active practice or supervised 

experience for licensure by endorsement applicants would 

likely increase these numbers somewhat going forward by 

increasing the number of individuals who qualify for licensure 

by endorsement. This would be beneficial for such applicants, 

as well as employers in the Commonwealth looking to hire 

fully-licensed social workers.  

Licensure by endorsement would still require: a) 

documentation of active social work licensure6 in good 

standing in another jurisdiction as verified by the out-of-state 

licensing agency, b) verification of a passing score on a Board-

approved national exam at the level for which the applicant is 

seeking licensure in Virginia, c) a current report from the 

NPDB, and d) certification that the applicant is not the 

respondent in any pending or unresolved Board action in 

another jurisdiction or in a malpractice claim. The Board 

believes that these remaining requirements are sufficient 

evidence of competency and good practice for candidates to be 

licensed by endorsement from another U.S. jurisdiction.7  

Reinstatement and Reactivation. In 2020, the Board reinstated 

29 LCSW, 3 LMSW, and 0 LBSW licenses.8 So far in in 2021, 

the Board has reinstated 31 LCSW, 7 LMSW, and 0 LBSW 

licenses.9 Data on reactivated licenses is not available. The 

proposal to eliminate the requirement of documentation of 

active practice or supervised experience for reinstatement or 

reactivation applicants whose license has been lapsed or 

inactive for 10 or more years would likely increase these 

numbers somewhat going forward by increasing the number of 

individuals who qualify for reinstatement or reactivation. This 

would be beneficial for such applicants, as well as employers 

in the Commonwealth looking to hire fully-licensed social 

workers. 

Such a social worker reactivating would still be required to 

provide documentation of continued competency hours equal 

to the number of years the license has been inactive, not to 

exceed four years. Such a social worker reinstating would still 

be required to provide: a) documentation of having completed 

all applicable continued competency hours equal to the number 

of years the license has lapsed, not to exceed four years, b) 

documentation of any other health or mental health licensure 

or certification held in another United States jurisdiction, if 

applicable, and c) a current report from the NPDB. 

Additionally, the regulation does not require active practice to 

renew a full current license. Thus, the Board believes the 

remaining requirements are sufficient evidence of competency 

for an applicant to have their license reinstated or reactivated. 

Professional Conduct. According to the Department of Health 

Professions, the proposed language specifying that persons 

licensed by the Board who are engaged in dual relationships 

with clients shall not engage in physical contact with a client 

when there is a likelihood of psychological harm to the client 

and shall not sexually harass a client, are added to address 

situations that have been reported to the Board in complaints 

filed by clients. In making a determination of probable cause 

to move forward with a disciplinary proceeding, Board 

members did not believe there were clear standards on which a 

case could be made. The proposed additions would address 

conduct that the Board believes is unprofessional and harmful 

to clients. To the extent that the proposed additional language 

helps enable the Board to properly discipline inappropriate 

behavior by licensees, it would be beneficial. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments potentially affect the 8,006 LCSWs, 966 

LMSWs, and 31 LBSWs licensed in the Commonwealth, as 

well as entities that employ social workers. According to 

survey data from a July 2020 report (the most recent available) 

from the Virginia Healthcare Workforce Data Center,10 the 

primary employers of LCSWs in the Commonwealth are 

distributed as follows: 

Establishment Type Percentage 

Private Practice, Solo 16% 

Private Practice, Group 13% 

Mental Health Facility, Outpatient 13% 

Community Services Board 10% 

School (Providing Care to Clients) 7% 

Hospital, General 7% 

Community-Based Clinic or Health 

Center 

7% 

Hospital, Psychiatric 3% 
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Residential Mental Health/Substance 

Abuse Facility 

2% 

Administrative or Regulatory 2% 

Academic Institution (Teaching Health 

Professions Students) 

2% 

Other Practice Setting 17% 

Categorized by sector, the report presents the types of 

employers of LCSWs in Virginia as follows: 

Sector Percentage 

For-Profit 48% 

Non-Profit 21% 

State/Local Government 22% 

Veterans Administration 4% 

U.S. Military 3% 

Other Federal Government 1% 

Similar data are not available for LBSWs and LMSWs. 

The proposed amendments do not appear to adversely affect 

employers of social workers. 

Small Businesses11 Affected. The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. The Board has 

not provided any information regarding the specific number of 

employers that are independent practitioners (small 

businesses). 

Localities12 Affected.13 Local governments that are having 

difficulty finding enough qualified social workers to employ 

may be particularly affected by the proposed elimination of 

specified requirements for licensure by endorsement and 

reinstatement or reactivation of licensure for a person whose 

license has been lapsed or inactive for 10 or more years. The 

proposed amendments do not appear to introduce costs for 

local governments. The Board has not provided any 

information regarding how many employers are local 

government agencies or entities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed elimination 

of specified requirements for licensure by endorsement and 

reinstatement or reactivation of licensure for a person whose 

license has been lapsed or inactive for 10 or more years may 

moderately increase the number of individuals who become 

licensed social workers in the Commonwealth. More licensed 

social workers would likely result in more individuals 

employed as social workers in Virginia. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

elimination of specified requirements for licensure by 

endorsement and reinstatement or reactivation of licensure for 

a person whose license has been lapsed or inactive for 10 or 

more years may moderately increase the supply of licensed 

social workers. This may moderately reduce the cost to firms 

of hiring social workers, which may in turn have a small 

positive impact on their value. 

The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

________________________________ 
1See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3700/ 
2See discussion in the Estimated Benefits and Costs section, Reinstatement and 

Reactivation subsection. 
3 See Section 1.06 Conflicts of Interest, under Ethical Standards at 

https://www.socialworkers.org/About/Ethics/Code-of-Ethics/Code-of-Ethics-

English  

4Source: Department of Health Professions 
5Ibid 

6"Active social work licensure" means that the license is active, but does not 

necessarily mean that the license holder has been practicing actively. 
7Source: Department of Health Professions 

8Ibid 
9Ibid 

10See 
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0904LCSW2

020.pdf 

11Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

12"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
13§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Social Work concurs with the economic impact analysis 

(EIA) of the Department of Planning and Budget with one 

exception. On page 3, the EIA states that the prohibition on 

physical contact with a client when there is a likelihood of 

psychological harm or sexually harassment of a client would 

only apply to social workers who are in dual relationships. It 

would be the opinion of the board that those behaviors would 

constitute a "dual relationship" that is inappropriate and 

unethical and possibly grounds for disciplinary action. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) eliminate all requirements 

for either supervised experience or active practice in 

another jurisdiction for licensure by endorsement for a 

licensed bachelor social worker, licensed master social 

worker, or licensed clinical social worker; (ii) eliminate 

requirements for a person whose license has been lapsed 

for 10 or more years to provide evidence of either active 

practice in another jurisdiction or in an exempt setting or 

supervised practice of no less than 360 hours in a 12-

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3700/
https://www.socialworkers.org/About/Ethics/Code-of-Ethics/Code-of-Ethics-English
https://www.socialworkers.org/About/Ethics/Code-of-Ethics/Code-of-Ethics-English
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0904LCSW2020.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0904LCSW2020.pdf


Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1489 

month period in order to reinstate or reactive a license; 

and (iii) specify in the standards of practice that persons 

licensed by the board shall not engage in physical contact 

with a client when there is a likelihood of psychological 

harm to the client and shall not sexually harass a client. 

18VAC140-20-45. Requirements for licensure by 

endorsement. 

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit 

in one package: 

1. A completed application and the application fee 

prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30. 

2. Documentation of active social work licensure in good 

standing obtained by standards required for licensure in 

another jurisdiction as verified by the out-of-state licensing 

agency. Licensure in the other jurisdiction shall be of a 

comparable type as the licensure that the applicant is seeking 

in Virginia. 

3. Verification of a passing score on a board-approved 

national exam at the level for which the applicant is seeking 

licensure in Virginia. 

4. Documentation of any other health or mental health 

licensure or certification, if applicable. 

5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

6. Verification of: 

a. Active practice at the level for which the applicant is 

seeking licensure in another United States jurisdiction for 

24 out of the past 60 months;  

b. Active practice in an exempt setting at the level for 

which the applicant is seeking licensure for 24 out of the 

past 60 months; or  

c. Evidence of supervised experience requirements 

substantially equivalent to those outlined in 18VAC140-

20-50 A 2 and A 3. 

7. Certification that the applicant is not the respondent in any 

pending or unresolved board action in another jurisdiction or 

in a malpractice claim. 

B. If an applicant for licensure by endorsement has not passed 

a board-approved national examination at the level for which 

the applicant is seeking licensure in Virginia, the board may 

approve the applicant to sit for such examination. 

18VAC140-20-110. Late renewal; reinstatement; 

reactivation. 

A. An LBSW, LMSW, or clinical social worker whose 

license has expired may renew that license within one year 

after its expiration date by: 

1. Providing evidence of having met all applicable 

continuing education requirements. 

2. Paying the penalty for late renewal and the renewal fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30. 

B. An LBSW, LMSW, or clinical social worker who fails to 

renew the license after one year and who wishes to resume 

practice shall apply for reinstatement and pay the reinstatement 

fee, which shall consist of the application processing fee and 

the penalty fee for late renewal, as set forth in 18VAC140-20-

30. An applicant for reinstatement shall also provide: 

1. Documentation of having completed all applicable 

continued competency hours equal to the number of years 

the license has lapsed, not to exceed four years; 

2. Documentation of any other health or mental health 

licensure or certification held in another United States 

jurisdiction, if applicable; and 

3. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank. 

C. In addition to requirements set forth in subsection B of this 

section, an applicant for reinstatement whose license has been 

lapsed for 10 or more years shall also provide evidence of 

competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another United States jurisdiction for at 

least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding 

application;  

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of 

the past 60 months immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 360 

hours in the 12 months immediately preceding reinstatement 

of licensure in Virginia. The supervised practice shall 

include a minimum of 60 hours of face-to-face direct client 

contact and nine hours of face-to-face supervision. 

D. An LBSW, LMSW, or clinical social worker wishing to 

reactivate an inactive license shall submit the difference 

between the renewal fee for active licensure and the fee for 

inactive licensure renewal and document completion of 

continued competency hours equal to the number of years the 

license has been inactive, not to exceed four years. An 

applicant for reactivation who has been inactive for 10 or more 

years shall also provide evidence of competency to practice by 

documenting: 

1. Active practice in another United States jurisdiction for at 

least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding 

application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of 

the past 60 months immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 360 

hours in the 12 months immediately preceding reactivation 

of licensure in Virginia. The supervised practice shall 

include a minimum of 60 hours of face-to-face direct client 

contact and nine hours of face-to-face supervision. 
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18VAC140-20-150. Professional conduct. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Regardless of the 

delivery method, whether in person, by telephone, or 

electronically, these standards shall apply to the practice of 

social work. 

B. Persons licensed as LBSWs, LMSWs, and clinical social 

workers shall: 

1. Be able to justify all services rendered to or on behalf of 

clients as necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes. 

2. Provide for continuation of care when services must be 

interrupted or terminated. 

3. Practice only within the competency areas for which they 

are qualified by education and experience. 

4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of social work. 

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services. 

6. Ensure that clients are aware of fees and billing 

arrangements before rendering services. 

7. Inform clients of potential risks and benefits of services 

and the limitations on confidentiality and ensure that clients 

have provided informed written consent to treatment. 

8. Keep confidential their therapeutic relationships with 

clients and disclose client records to others only with written 

consent of the client, with the following exceptions: (i) when 

the client is a danger to self or others; or (ii) as required by 

law. 

9. When advertising their services to the public, ensure that 

such advertising is neither fraudulent nor misleading. 

10. As treatment requires and with the written consent of the 

client, collaborate with other health or mental health 

providers concurrently providing services to the client. 

11. Refrain from undertaking any activity in which one's 

personal problems are likely to lead to inadequate or harmful 

services. 

12. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

13. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

C. In regard to client records, persons licensed by the board 

shall comply with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of 

Virginia on health records privacy and shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include identifying information and assessment that 

substantiates diagnosis and treatment plans. Each record 

shall include a diagnosis and treatment plan, progress notes 

for each case activity, information received from all 

collaborative contacts and the treatment implications of that 

information, and the termination process and summary. 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality. 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 

expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 

representative or as mandated by law. 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from clients 

or their legally authorized representative before (i) 

videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third-party 

observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records and 

clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 

presentations. 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of six years or as 

otherwise required by law from the date of termination of the 

therapeutic relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for six years after attaining the age of majority 

or 10 years following termination, whichever comes later. 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time. 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health professional or have been given to the client or his 

the client's legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Not engage in a dual relationship with a client or a 

supervisee that could impair professional judgment or 

increase the risk of exploitation or harm to the client or 

supervisee. (Examples of such a relationship include 

familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or a close 

personal relationship with a client or supervisee.) Social 

workers shall take appropriate professional precautions 

when a dual relationship cannot be avoided, such as 

informed consent, consultation, supervision, and 

documentation to ensure that judgment is not impaired and 

no exploitation occurs. 

2. Not have any type of romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacies with a client or those included in collateral 

therapeutic services, and not provide services to those 

persons with whom they have had a romantic or sexual 

relationship. Social workers shall not engage in romantic 

relationship or sexual intimacies with a former client within 
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a minimum of five years after terminating the professional 

relationship. Social workers who engage in such a 

relationship after five years following termination shall have 

the responsibility to examine and document thoroughly that 

such a relationship did not have an exploitive nature, based 

on factors such as duration of therapy, amount of time since 

therapy, termination circumstances, client's personal history 

and mental status, adverse impact on the client. A client's 

consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior 

or involvement with a social worker does not change the 

nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition. 

3. Not engage in any romantic or sexual relationship or 

establish a therapeutic relationship with a current supervisee 

or student. Social workers shall avoid any nonsexual dual 

relationship with a supervisee or student in which there is a 

risk of exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or 

student, or the potential for interference with the supervisor's 

professional judgment. 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

5. Not engage in a personal relationship with a former client 

in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm or if 

the former client continues to relate to the social worker in 

his the social worker's professional capacity. 

6. Not engage in physical contact with a client when there is 

a likelihood of psychological harm to the client. Social 

workers who engage in physical contact are responsible for 

setting clear and culturally sensitive boundaries.  

7. Not sexually harass clients. Sexual harassment includes 

sexual advances; sexual solicitation; requests for sexual 

favors; and other verbal written, electronic, or physical 

contact of a sexual nature. 

E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health provider is or may be 

guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, persons licensed by the board shall advise 

their clients of their right to report such misconduct to the 

Department of Health Professions in accordance with § 54.1-

2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6341; Filed December 30, 2021, 2:42 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-120. Adult Services 

Approved Providers (amending 22VAC30-120-10 through 

22VAC30-120-160). 

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Paige L. McCleary, Adult Services Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7605, or email paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 51.5-145 of the Code of Virginia gives the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) the 

responsibility for the planning and oversight of adult services 

including homemaker, chore, and companion services. These 

services are to be delivered by the local department of social 

services (LDSS) as set out in Article 1 (§ 63.2-1600 et seq.) of 

Chapter 16 of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia and pursuant 

to regulations and subject to the oversight of the Commissioner 

of DARS. In addition, § 63.2-1601 of the Code of Virginia 

gives the Commissioner of DARS the authority over 

regulations related to the recruitment and approval for the 

provision of adult foster care services. Finally, § 51.5-131 of 

the Code of Virginia authorizes the Commissioner of the 

DARS to promulgate regulations necessary to carry out the 

provisions of the laws of the Commonwealth administered by 

DARS. 

Purpose: This regulation will amend relevant content that 

describes the standards a local provider must meet in order to 

be approved by LDSS. The standards ensure that an adult's 

health and safety remain a primary focus when services are 

provided to older adults and individuals with disabilities. Many 

services provided by LDSS approved homemaker, chore, 

companion, and adult foster care providers promote the well-

being of adults by strengthening the support systems, including 

family supports, that enable adults to live in community-based 

settings for as long as possible. This regulatory action will 

ensure that the regulation content is clearly written. Clarity in 

regulation content is essential to ensuring that the individual's 

health and safety needs are most appropriately met. 

Substance: Proposed changes include clarifying definitions 

and other regulation text as well as amending content that is 

obsolete or inconsistent. There is some content regarding the 

adult foster care providers' need to ensure that weapons are not 

accessible to adults receiving care, which is more stringent 

than federal law and must be amended. Regulatory content has 

been carefully analyzed to ensure requirements adequately 

mailto:paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov
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address the safety of the adult who is receiving services, while 

also balancing the adult's right to self-determination. Person-

centered language has been incorporated throughout the 

regulation. Other revisions to the regulation included 

comments made by regulatory workgroup members. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendments to 

the public is to clarify language that was unclear, inconsistent, 

or outdated, and an advantage to the agency is that amendments 

to the regulation clarify, but do not increase, LDSS staff 

responsibilities with regard to approving and monitoring 

providers. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) 

proposes changes to an existing regulation governing providers 

who are approved by a local department of social services 

(LDSS) to provide adult services to a client of the LDSS. The 

changes would: 1) require an LDSS to evaluate an individual's 

application to be a provider when an adult recipient requests 

that individual be his/her provider, 2) raise the minimum age 

to be a chore and companion service provider, and to be an 

assistant to an in-home provider, from 16 to 18, and 3) clarify 

content that is unclear, inconsistent, or obsolete. 

Background. This regulation establishes standards for 

individuals operating as LDSS approved providers or who are 

interested in becoming one for services provided to adults, 

such as homemaker, chore, companion services, and adult 

foster care (AFC). The applicability of this regulation is limited 

to individual providers serving three or fewer adult clients of 

the LDSS.1 Also, AFC is an optional program that a locality 

can chose to provide, and fewer than 20 localities currently 

provide AFC to their residents. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Currently, LDSS are not 

required to accept new applications to be an adult services 

provider "when the local department has a sufficient number 

of providers for that service to meet the population needs." 

DARS proposes to require LDSS to evaluate a new application 

when an adult recipient identifies an individual whom they 

want to act as his/her provider. This change may increase the 

number of evaluations an LDSS must perform and may add to 

their costs in terms of staff time it takes to make an approval 

decision. On the other hand, this change will benefit the adult 

recipient by making it possible to receive services from his/her 

own preferred individual. In other words, this change will 

bolster the adult's choice in providers. 

DARS also proposes to establish the minimum age to be a 

provider at 18 for all providers and provider assistants. Current 

language allows 16-year olds to be either a chore and 

companion service provider or an assistant to an in-home 

provider as long as he or she is competent to provide the 

service. The proposed change appears to be more stringent than 

the current age standard, but DARS is not aware of any 

providers who are less than 18 years old and currently 

approved by a LDSS. If in fact there are no approved providers 

or provider assistants who are less than 18 years old, this 

change would not have any adverse impact on any providers, 

but help ensure that the approved providers are mature and 

reduce potential risk to their client's health and safety. 

The remaining changes to this regulation are clarifications in 

nature and address LDSS ability to grant a variance for a 

conviction of a barrier crime, criminal record background 

checks, use of restraints, presence of firearms in the provider 

home, etc. None of the changes in this category are expected 

to create any significant economic impact other than improving 

the clarity of the regulatory requirements for these issues and 

eliminating language that appears to conflict with state laws. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments to the regulation apply to individuals who are 

currently operating as LDSS-approved providers or may wish 

to become approved providers. DARS estimates that 3,000 to 

4,000 adults receive in-home services and 60 individuals 

receive AFC from providers subject to this regulation. These 

regulations do not affect businesses, such as home care 

agencies, that are regulated by other state agencies. There are 

120 LDSS statewide. 

Localities2 Affected.3 The proposed amendments should not 

affect any locality more than others. The proposed 

amendments may introduce some administrative costs for local 

departments if and when they have to evaluate an individual to 

be a provider when specifically requested by an adult recipient. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would not affect the use and value of private 

property. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.4 The proposed 

amendments do not appear to adversely affect small 

businesses. 

_________________________________ 
1Providers serving more than three adults are licensed through or regulated by 

the Department of Health or the Department of Social Services. 
2"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
3§ 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia defines "particularly affected" as 

bearing disproportionate material impact. 
4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services raises no 

issues with the economic impact analysis performed by the 

Virginia Department of Planning and Budget. 
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Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) require a local department 

of social services to evaluate an individual's application 

to be a provider when an adult recipient requests that 

individual be that individual's provider; (ii) raise the 

minimum age to be a chore and companion service 

provider and to be an assistant to an in-home provider to 

18 years of age; and (iii) clarify content, eliminate 

inconsistency within the regulation, remove obsolete text, 

and update text to use person-centered language. 

22VAC30-120-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder control 

and eating/feeding. A person's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is part of determining the 

appropriate level of care and services. 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or over older, 

or younger than 18 if legally emancipated. 

"Adult abuse" means the willful infliction of physical pain, 

injury or mental anguish or unreasonable confinement of an 

adult as defined in § 63.2-1603. 

"Adult day services provider" means a provider who gives 

personal supervision for up to three adults for part of a day. 

The provider promotes social, physical and emotional well-

being through companionship, self-education, and satisfying 

leisure activities. Adult day services that are provided for more 

than three adults require licensure by the Virginia Department 

of Social Services.  

"Adult exploitation" means the illegal, unauthorized, 

improper, or fraudulent use of an adult as defined in § 63.2-

1603 or his funds, property, benefits, resources, or other assets 

for another's profit, benefit, or advantage, including a caregiver 

or person serving in a fiduciary capacity, or that deprives the 

adult of his rightful use of or access to such fund, property, 

benefits resources, or other assets. "Adult exploitation" 

includes (i) an intentional breach of a fiduciary obligation to an 

adult to his detriment or an intentional failure to use the 

financial resources of an adult in a manner that results in the 

neglect of such adult; (ii) the acquisition, possession, or control 

of an adult's financial resources or property through the use of 

undue influence, coercion, or duress; and (iii) forcing or 

coercing an adult to pay for goods or services or perform 

services against his will for another's profit, benefit, or 

advantage if the adult did not agree or was tricked, misled, or 

defrauded into agreeing, to pay for such goods or services or 

perform such services. 

"Adult foster care" means room and board, supervision, and 

special services to an adult who has a physical or mental 

condition or an emotional or behavioral problem. Adult foster 

care may be provided by a single provider for up to three 

adults. 

"Adult foster care provider" means a provider who gives 

room and board, supervision, and special services in his the 

provider's own home for up to three adults who are unable to 

remain in their own homes because of to an adult with a 

physical or mental condition or an emotional or behavioral 

problem. Adult foster care may be provided by a single 

provider for up to three adults. Care provided for more than 

three adults requires licensure as an assisted living facility by 

the Virginia Department of Social Services. 

"Adult neglect" means that an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 

is living under such circumstances that he is not able to provide 

for himself or is not being provided services necessary to 

maintain his physical and mental health and that the failure to 

receive such necessary services impairs or threatens to impair 

his well-being. However, no adult shall be considered 

neglected solely on the basis that such adult is receiving 

religious nonmedical treatment or religious nonmedical 

nursing care in lieu of medical care, provided that such 

treatment or care is performed in good faith and in accordance 

with the religious practices of the adult, and there is a written 

or oral expression of consent by that adult. 

"Adult services" means services that are provided to adults 60 

years of age and older and to adults 18 years of age and older 

who are impaired.  

"Assistant" means any individual who is responsible to assist 

an adult services approved provider in caring for adult clients 

adults. Assistants must shall meet the same requirements as the 

provider standards set forth in this chapter. 

"Chore provider" means a provider who performs nonroutine, 

heavy home maintenance tasks for adult clients unable to 

perform such tasks for themselves. Chore services include 

adults, including minor repair work on furniture and appliances 

in the adult's home; carrying coal, wood and, or water; 

chopping wood; removing snow; yard maintenance; and 

painting. 

"Client" means any adult who needs supervision and/or 

services and seeks assistance in meeting those needs from a 

local department of social services. 

"Companion provider" means a provider who assists adult 

clients unable to care for themselves without assistance and 

where there is no one available to provide the needed services 

without cost in adults with activities such as light 

housekeeping, companionship, shopping, meal preparation, 

transportation, household management activities of daily 

living (ADLs) laundry, money management, and ADLs.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. 
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"Home-based services" means companion, chore, and 

homemaker services that allow individuals to attain or 

maintain self-care and are likely to prevent or reduce 

dependency. 

"Health care professional" means a physician or other health 

care practitioner licensed, accredited, or certified to perform 

specific health care services consistent with the laws of the 

Commonwealth. 

"Homemaker services provider" means a provider who gives 

instruction in or, where appropriate, performs activities such as 

personal care, home household management, household 

maintenance, nutrition, consumer or hygiene education. 

"In-home provider" means an individual who provides care in 

the home of the adult client needing supervision and/or 

services. In-home providers include are companion, chore, and 

homemaker providers. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping/light housework light 

housekeeping, shopping for personal items, money 

management, laundry, or using the telephone, and home 

maintenance. An adult client's adult's degree of independence 

in performing these activities is part of determining the 

appropriate level of care and services an adult's service needs. 

"Local board" means the local board of social services 

representing one or more counties or cities. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in this Commonwealth. 

"Local department-approved provider" means a provider that 

is not subject to licensure by the Virginia Department of Health 

or the Virginia Department of Social Services and is approved 

by a local department of social services to provide in-home or 

adult foster care services to clients adults. 

"Out-of-home provider" means an individual who provides 

care in the individual's own home to adult clients who enter the 

home for purposes of receiving needed supervision and/or 

services.  

"Personal care services" means the provision of nonskilled 

services to the adult including assistance in the activities of 

daily living ADLs, and may include instrumental activities of 

daily living related to the needs of the adult client IADLs, to 

maintain the adult client's health and safety safely in their the 

adult's home. 

"Personal toiletries" means hygiene items provided to the 

individual by the adult foster care provider, including 

deodorant, razor, shaving cream, shampoo, soap, toothbrush, 

and toothpaste. 

"Responsible person" means an individual designated by or 

for an adult client who is authorized by state law to make 

decisions concerning the adult client and/or and to receive 

information about the adult client. 

"Significant change" means a change in an adult's condition 

that is expected to last longer than 30 calendar days. It does not 

include short-term changes that resolve with or without 

intervention, a short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a 

well-established, predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs and 

symptoms associated with a previously diagnosed condition 

for which an appropriate course of treatment is in progress. 

22VAC30-120-20. Local department-approved providers. 

A. This regulation applies to providers approved by a local 

department department-approved providers and does shall not 

apply to facilities or organizations licensed or regulated by a 

licensing or regulatory agency the Virginia Department of 

Health or the Virginia Department of Social Services. A local 

department shall not approve a provider that does not meet the 

standards set out forth in this regulation chapter. 

B. This regulation chapter is applicable to the following 

providers: 

1. Out-of-home providers including: a. Adult day services 

providers; b. Adult foster care providers; and 

2. In-home providers including: a. Chore providers; b. 

Companion providers;c. Homemaker providers. 

C. The local department is not required to accept provider 

applications for any type of service when the local department 

has a sufficient number of approved providers for that service 

to meet the client population needs or, does not offer the type 

of service, or chooses to contract with an agency or 

organization licensed or regulated by the Virginia Department 

of Health or the Virginia Department of Social Services to 

provide in-home providers. However, if the local department 

approves its own providers and the adult identifies an 

individual to be a provider, the local department shall initiate 

the approval process for that individual as long as the service 

is offered by that locality. The individual identified by the adult 

shall meet the standards set forth in this chapter. 

D. Prior to approving an out-of-home adult foster care 

provider located in another that is not approved by the local 

department in the whose jurisdiction the provider is located, 

the local department wanting to approve the provider shall seek 

written permission from the local department in the jurisdiction 

where the adult foster care provider will provide services is 

located. 

E. Local departments may use an approved in-home or adult 

foster care provider from another jurisdiction without 

performing another approval study initiating the approval 

process when the local department obtains written permission 

and a copy of the approval documents from the local 

department that conducted the approval study approved the in-

home or adult foster care provider. 
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22VAC30-120-30. Standards for providers and other 

persons. 

A. Age requirements include: 

1. All local department-approved adult services homemaker 

providers shall be at least 18 years of age. 

2. All local department-approved adult services chore and 

companion providers shall be at least 16 years of age. If the 

local department chooses to approve a chore or companion 

provider who is at least 16 years of age but less than 18 years 

of age, the local department must determine that the provider 

is competent and able to provide the service Any assistant to 

a local department-approved provider shall be at least 18 

years of age. 

3. Any assistant to a local department-approved in-home 

provider for adult services shall be at least 16 years of age.  

B. Criminal record background checks and additional 

requirements include: 

1. The provider and any assistant, the spouse of the provider, 

or other adult household members who come in contact with 

adults in care shall identify any criminal convictions and 

consent to a criminal record search. An individual applying 

to become an in-home or adult foster care provider shall 

identify any criminal convictions and consent to a criminal 

record search. The local department shall obtain criminal 

history record information from the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange of any individual the local department is 

considering approving as an in-home or adult foster care 

provider. The local department may also obtain a criminal 

records search on all adult household members residing in 

the home of an individual the local department is considering 

approving as an adult foster care provider. A new criminal 

record background check shall be required at the time of 

provider renewal. 

2. Convictions of any offense set forth in clause (i) of the 

definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of 

Virginia shall prohibit a any provider, the assistant, spouse 

of the provider, or other adult household members who come 

in contact with adults in care to receive approval as a 

provider individual from being approved as a local-

department approved provider. In addition, if the provider 

or, for adult foster care and adult day services, the assistant, 

spouse of the provider, or other adult household members 

who come in contact with adults in care, has been convicted 

of any other felony or misdemeanor that, in the judgment of 

the local department jeopardizes the safety or proper care of 

adults, the provider shall be prohibited from being approved 

as a provider of services to adults. 

3. Conviction of any offense set forth in clause (i) of the 

definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of 

Virginia will result in the revocation of the in-home or adult 

foster care provider's approval unless an allowable variance 

is granted by the local department. The local department 

shall terminate the provision of services by an in-home 

provider or the adult shall be removed from the adult foster 

care home immediately if any adult in the home has been 

convicted of any offense set forth in clause (i) of the 

definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

4. When the provider and any assistant, and for adult foster 

care, spouse of the provider, or other adult household 

members who come in contact with adults in care, has been 

convicted of a felony or misdemeanor not listed in clause (i) 

of the definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 of the 

Code of Virginia, the local department may approve the 

provider if the local department determines that the 

conviction does not jeopardize the safety or proper care of 

the adult. If approval as a local department-approved 

provider is denied because of information obtained through 

a Central Criminal Records Exchange search, the local 

department, upon request, shall provide a copy of the 

information obtained to the individual who is the subject of 

the search. Except as provided by law, further dissemination 

of the criminal history record information is prohibited.  

C. Interview, references, and employment history 

requirements include: 

1. The provider shall participate in interviews with the local 

department. 

2. The provider shall provide at least two references from 

persons who have knowledge of the provider's ability, skill, 

or experience in the provision of services and who shall not 

be related to the provider. 

3. The provider shall provide information on the provider's 

employment history. 

4. The local department shall use the interviews, references, 

and employment history to assess that the provider is: 

a. Knowledgeable of and physically and mentally capable 

of providing the necessary care for adults; 

b. Able to sustain positive and constructive relationships 

with adults in care, and to relate to adults with respect, 

courtesy, and understanding; 

c. Capable of handling emergencies with dependability 

and good judgment; and 

d. Able to communicate and follow instructions 

sufficiently to ensure adequate care, safety and protection 

for adults. 

5. For adult foster care and adult day services providers, at 

least one interview shall occur in the home where the care is 

to be provided. All adult household members shall be 

interviewed to ensure that they understand the demands and 

expectations of the care to be provided. 
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6. For homemaker providers, the local department shall 

further use the interview, references, and employment 

history to assess that the provider has knowledge, skills, and 

ability, as appropriate, in: 

a. Home management and household maintenance; 

b. The types of personal care of the elderly older adults or 

adults with a disability permitted by regulation; 

c. Nutrition education and meal planning and preparation, 

including special diets; and 

d. Personal hygiene and consumer education. 

7. For adult foster care providers, the local department shall 

further use the interview, references, and employment 

history to assess that the provider has sufficient financial 

income or resources to meet the basic needs of his own 

family and has the knowledge, skills, and abilities to care for 

adults, including, but not limited to: 

a. Provision of a furnished room in the home that meets 

applicable zoning, building, and fire safety codes. 

b. Housekeeping services based on the needs of the adult 

in care. 

c. Nutritionally balanced meals and snacks, including 

extra portions and special diets as necessary. 

d. Provision of clean bed linens and towels at least once a 

week and as needed by the adult. 

e. Assistance with personal hygiene including bathing, 

dressing, oral hygiene, hair grooming and shampooing, 

care of clothing, shaving, care of toenails and fingernails, 

arranging for haircuts as needed, care of needs associated 

with menstruation or occasional bladder or bowel 

incontinence. 

f. Provision of generic personal toiletries including soap 

and toilet paper. 

g. Assistance with the following: care of personal 

possessions, care of personal funds if requested by the 

adult and adult foster care home's policy permits it, use of 

telephone, arranging transportation, obtaining necessary 

personal items and clothing, making and keeping 

appointments, and correspondence. 

h. Securing health care and transportation when needed for 

medical treatment. 

i. Providing social and recreational activities as required 

by the local department and consistent with licensing 

regulations. 

j. General supervision for safety. 

D. Training requirements include: 

1. The local department shall provide basic orientation to 

any approved provider. 

2. The provider shall attend any orientation and training 

required by the local department. The provider shall bear the 

cost of any required training unless the local department 

subsidizes the cost for all local department-approved 

providers. 

E. Medical requirements include: 

1. The in-home provider; for out-of-home care, the an 

assistant;, the provider's spouse; adult foster care provider, 

and all other adult household members in the adult foster 

care home who come in contact with adults in receiving care 

shall submit a statement from the local health department or 

licensed physician a health care professional that he the 

individual submitting the statement is believed to be free of 

tuberculosis in a communicable form. 

2. The provider and assistant shall submit the results of a 

physical and mental health examination when requested by 

the local department. 

F. All local department-approved adult foster care providers 

shall keep notify the local department informed within one 

business day of changes in the household composition that may 

affect approval of the provider. 

G. The provider shall have the capability to fully perform the 

requirements of the position, have the moral and business 

integrity and reliability to ensure good faith performance and 

be determined by the local department to meet the 

requirements of the position. 

H. Any provider who causes the local department to make an 

improper payment by withholding information or providing 

false information may shall be required to repay the amount of 

the improper payment. Failure to repay any improper payment 

shall result in a referral for criminal or civil prosecution. 

22VAC30-120-40. Standards for of care for adult services 

for local department-approved providers. 

A. The provider shall provide care that does not discriminate 

on the basis of race, ethnicity, sex, national origin, age, 

religion, disability, or impairment. 

B. Supervision requirements include: 

1. The provider shall have a plan for seeking assistance from 

police, firefighters the fire department, and medical 

professionals in an emergency. 

2. A responsible adult or an approved assistant shall always 

be available to provide appropriate care for the adult in case 

of an emergency. 

3. If extended absence of the provider is required, the local 

department shall approve any substitute arrangements the 

provider wishes to make The adult foster care provider shall 

inform the local department prior to an extended absence. 

An extended absence shall be defined as greater than one 

calendar day. Each adult foster care provider shall identify 

to the local department a substitute provider who will 

provide care during the adult foster care provider's extended 
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absence. Each substitute provider shall also meet the 

standards set forth in this chapter. 

4. The provider shall ensure that adequate care and 

supervision are provided to adults in care each adult and that 

the adult's health, safety, and well-being are protected. 

5. The provider shall notify the local department within 24 

hours of any significant changes in the adult's mental or 

physical condition. 

C. The following standards apply to food provided to adult 

clients adults by adult day services and adult foster care 

providers: 

1. Adults in care shall receive nutritionally balanced meals 

and snacks appropriate to the length of time in care each day 

and, the daily nutritional needs of each adult, and the time of 

day care is provided. 

2. Adults in care shall receive special diets if prescribed by 

a licensed physician health care professional or in 

accordance with religious or ethnic requirements, the adult's 

preferences, or other special needs. 

3. Adequate drinking water shall be available at all times. 

D. Requirements for transportation of adults include: 

1. If the provider and, for out-of home services, the assistant; 

spouse of the provider; volunteer; or any other agent 

involved in the day-to-day operation of the adult day 

services or adult foster care transports adults in care, the As 

part of the service, only the approved provider or the person 

providing the or assistant shall provide transportation for the 

adult and shall have a valid driver's license and automobile 

liability insurance. When the approved provider or assistant 

is unable to provide transportation for the adult, the 

approved provider shall coordinate and assist the adult in 

obtaining backup transportation.  

2. The vehicle used to transport adults shall have a valid 

license and inspection sticker. 

3. Providers or the person who transports adults in care must 

The vehicle operator shall ensure that all passengers use 

safety belts in accordance with requirements of Virginia law. 

E. Requirements for medical care include: 

1. The provider shall have the name, address, and telephone 

number of each adult's physician health care professional 

and responsible person easily accessible. 

2. The provider shall be able to meet the identified needs of 

the adult as assessed by the local department before 

accepting the adult for care and in order to continue 

providing services or continuing to provide services to the 

adult. 

3. The adult foster care provider shall not administer 

medications. The adult foster care and adult day services 

provider shall: 

a. Ensure that the adult receives prescription drugs 

medications only in accordance with an order signed by a 

licensed physician or authentic prescription label the 

prescription label and, with the adult's responsible person's 

written consent, as appropriate applicable; 

b. Document all medications taken by adults in care, 

including over-the-counter medications; 

c. Ensure that the adult in care receives nonprescription 

drugs over the counter medications only with the adult's or 

the adult's responsible person's written consent, as 

required applicable; 

d. Keep medications separate from food except those 

items that must be refrigerated; 

e. Report all major injuries to and accidents experienced 

by the adult to the local department and the adult's 

responsible person immediately; 

f. Have authorization for emergency medical care for each 

adult in care; and 

g. Have first aid supplies easily accessible in case of 

accidents. 

4. Admission or retention continued residence of adults in an 

adult foster care home is prohibited when the adult's care 

needs cannot be met by the provider as determined by the 

assessment of by the adult services worker local department 

or by the adult's physician health care professional. 

F. The adult day services and adult foster care provider shall 

provide recreational and other planned activities appropriate to 

the needs, interests, and abilities of the adults in care. 

G. All providers of adult services shall immediately report 

any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of any adult in 

care to the local department or to the 24-hour toll-free hotline 

(hotline number: 888-83-ADULT). Providers covered by this 

regulation are mandatory reporters in accordance with § 63.2-

1606 of the Code of Virginia. Failure to report could result in 

the imposition of civil penalties. 

H. The adult foster care provider shall ensure that adults in 

care have adequate, properly fitting, and seasonal clothing and 

that all clothing is properly laundered or cleaned and altered or 

repaired as necessary. 

22VAC30-120-50. Standards for the home of the adult 

foster care or adult day services provider. 

A. Physical accommodations requirements include: 

1. The home shall have appropriate space and furnishings for 

each adult receiving care in the home to include, including: 

a. Space to keep clothing and other personal belongings; 

b. Accessible and adequate basin and toilet facilities; 
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c. Comfortable sleeping or napping furnishings; 

d. For adults unable to use stairs unassisted, sleeping space 

on the first floor of the home; 

e. Adequate space for recreational activities; and 

f. Sufficient space and equipment for food preparation, 

service, and proper storage. 

2. All rooms used by adults shall be heated in winter, dry, 

and well-ventilated. 

3. All doors and windows used for ventilation shall be 

appropriately screened. 

4. Rooms used by adults in care shall have adequate lighting 

for activities and the comfort of adults. 

5. The provider and any adult in care shall have access to a 

working telephone in the home shall have a working 

telephone that the adult shall be permitted to use. 

6. The home shall be in compliance with all local ordinances. 

7. Additional standards for adult foster care include: 

a. No more than two adults shall share a sleeping room 

unless they request, or if applicable, each adult's 

responsible person requests and consent consents in 

writing to sharing such a sleeping arrangement. 

b. There shall be space in the household for privacy 

outside of the sleeping rooms for the adult to entertain 

visitors and talk privately. 

c. There shall be at least one toilet, one basin, and one tub 

or shower for every five persons residing in the home. 

B. Home safety requirements include: 

1. The home and grounds shall be free from litter and debris 

and present no hazard to the safety of the adults receiving 

care safety hazards. 

2. The provider shall permit a fire inspection of the home by 

appropriate authorities if conditions indicate a need for 

approval and the local department requests it. 

3. The provider shall have a written emergency plan that 

includes, but is not limited to, fire or natural disaster and 

rehearse the plan at least twice a year and natural disasters. 

The provider shall rehearse the plan at least twice per year 

and review the plan with each new adult placed in admitted 

to the home. The written plan shall be provided to the local 

department upon request. 

4. Attics or basements used by adults in care shall have two 

emergency exits. One of the emergency exits shall lead 

directly outside and may be a door or an escapable window. 

The provider shall ensure the adult is able to evacuate all 

living spaces safely during an emergency. The provider shall 

include emergency evacuation procedures in the written 

emergency plan and shall consider the adult's ability to 

ambulate during an emergency. 

5. Possession of any weapons, including firearms, in the 

home shall be in compliance with federal, state, and local 

laws and ordinances. The provider shall store all weapons, 

firearms, and ammunition in a locked cabinet with safety 

mechanisms activated. The key or combination to the 

cabinet shall not be accessible to the adult in care. Any glass 

cabinets used to store any weapons, including firearms, shall 

be shatterproof owned by the provider or other household 

members in a manner that prohibits access by the adult. If 

the provider permits an adult to possess weapons, firearms, 

or ammunition in the home, the provider shall have a written 

policy detailing such permissions, and the provider shall 

require the adult to safely store all weapons, firearms, or 

ammunition. The provider may have a written policy 

prohibiting all weapons, firearms, and ammunition in the 

home, and the provider may choose not to accept into care 

an adult if the adult possesses weapons, firearms, or 

ammunition. 

6. The provider shall protect adults from household pets that 

may be a health or safety hazard. Household pets shall be 

inoculated as required by state or local ordinances. 

Documentation of inoculations shall be made available upon 

local department request. 

7. The provider shall keep cleaning supplies and other toxic 

substances stored away from food and out of the reach of 

adults in receiving care who are mentally incapacitated. 

8. The provider shall provide and maintain at least one 

approved, properly installed, and operable battery-operated 

smoke detector, at a minimum, in each sleeping area and on 

each additional floor. Existing installations that have been 

approved by the state or local fire marshal are exempted 

from this requirement. 

C. Sanitation requirements include: 

1. The provider shall permit an inspection of the home's 

private water supply and sewage disposal system by the local 

health department if conditions indicate a need for approval 

and the local department requests it. 

2. The home and grounds shall be free of garbage, debris, 

insects, and rodents that would present a hazard to the health 

of the adult in care adults. 

D. Capacity standards include: 

1. The provider shall not exceed the maximum allowable 

capacity for the type of care provided and approved by the 

local department. 

2. The adult day services provider shall not accept more than 

three adults in the home at any one time. A provider who has 

more than three adults receiving day services shall be 

licensed by the Department of Social Services. 

3. The adult foster care provider shall not accept more than 

three adults for the purpose of receiving room, board, 
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supervision, or special services, regardless of relationship of 

any adult to the provider. A provider who accepts more than 

three adults for these purposes shall be licensed as an 

assisted living facility by the Department of Social Services. 

E. The adult foster care provider shall display the Adult 

Protective Services hotline number and the toll free number of 

the State Long-term Care Ombudsman in a manner and method 

accessible to adults in the home. 

22VAC30-120-60. Record requirements for adult foster 

care and adult day services providers. 

A. The provider shall maintain written, legible, and current 

information on each adult in receiving care. 

B. Information on the adult in care shall include: 

1. Identifying The adult's identifying information on the 

adult in care; 

2. Name, address, and home and work telephone numbers of 

the adult's responsible persons; 

3. Name and telephone number of person to be called in an 

emergency when if the adult's responsible person cannot be 

reached; 

4. Name, address, and home and work telephone numbers of 

persons authorized to pick up transport the adult in care; 

5. Name of persons not authorized to call or visit the adult in 

care; 

6. Date of admission and discharge of the adult in care; 

7. Daily attendance records, where applicable. Daily 

attendance records are required for adult day services; 

8. Medical Pertinent medical information pertinent to the 

health care of the adult in care; 

9. 8. Correspondence related to the adult in care as well as 

other written adult information about the adult provided by 

the local department; and 

10. 9. Placement agreement between the provider and the 

adult and his the adult's responsible person, where if 

applicable. 

C. Adult All records are confidential and shall not be shared 

without the approval of the adult in care or the adult's 

responsible person, except as required under federal and state 

law. 

D. The local department and its representatives shall have 

access to all records. 

E. The department and its representative shall have access to 

all records. 

22VAC30-120-70. Approval period. 

The approval period for a provider all providers may be up to 

24 months when the provider meets the standards. In the case 

of adult day services and adult foster care, the home shall also 

meet the standards. 

22VAC30-120-80. Allowable variance. 

A. The grant or denial of a variance is within the discretion of 

the local department. The provider may request an allowable a 

variance on a standard if the variance does not jeopardize the 

safety and proper care of the any adult or prospective adult 

receiving care or violate federal, state, or local law and the 

local department approves the request. 

B. The local department shall consult with the state adult 

services consultant prior to granting an allowable variance The 

allowable variance, if granted by the local department, shall be 

documented in writing with a copy maintained by the local 

department and the provider. 

C. The allowable variance shall be in writing with a copy 

maintained by the local department and the provider The local 

department and the provider shall develop a plan to meet the 

applicable standard for which the allowable variance has been 

granted. 

D. The local department and the provider shall develop a plan 

to meet the applicable standard for which the allowable 

variance has been granted The variance shall be requested by 

the provider, and if granted by the local department, issued 

prior to the approval of the provider or at the time of the 

provider's renewal. 

E. The allowable variance shall be requested and granted by 

the local department, prior to the approval of the provider or at 

the time of the provider's renewal. 

22VAC30-120-90. Emergency approval. 

A. Emergency approval of a provider may be granted under 

the following conditions: 

1. The court orders emergency placement; or 

2. The adult or his the adult's responsible person requests 

placement or service in an emergency. 

B. A representative of For emergency approval of an adult 

foster care provider, the local department shall visit the 

provider's home prior to the emergency placement to ensure 

that minimum safety standards are evident and that the 

provider is capable of providing the care prior to the 

emergency placement of the adult in adult foster care or adult 

day services for the adult. 

C. For emergency approval of an in-home provider, the 

representative of the local department shall interview the 

provider to ensure that the emergency provider is capable of 

providing the needed services. 

D. Emergency approval of a provider shall not exceed 30 

calendar days. 
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E. The provider must shall meet all applicable standards if 

services shall are to be provided beyond the 30-day emergency 

approval or if the emergency approval is extended beyond 30 

days. 

22VAC30-120-100. Provider monitoring. 

A. For adult day services or adult foster care providers, the 

local department representative shall visit the home of the 

provider as often as necessary, but at least semi-annually to 

monitor the performance of the provider. 

B. For home-based care in-home providers, the local 

department representative shall interview the provider face-to-

face as often as necessary, but at least semi-annually, to 

monitor the performance of the provider. At least one 

monitoring visit shall occur in the home of each adult who is 

receiving care. 

C. Provider monitoring shall include interviews with adults 

receiving care from the provider. 

D. The adult in care or his the adult's responsible person shall 

have access to all provider monitoring reports completed by 

the local department for that specific adult and that adult's 

provider upon request. 

22VAC30-120-110. Renewal process. 

The local department shall reapprove the provider prior to the 

end of the approval period if the provider continues to meet the 

standards, and if the local department continues to offer this 

service. In the case of adult day services or adult foster care 

providers, the home also shall continue to meet the standards. 

22VAC30-120-120. Inability to meet standards. 

A. If the provider cannot meet the standards for adult services 

approved providers set forth in this chapter, the local 

department shall grant provisional approval, suspend approval, 

or revoke approval depending on the duration and nature of 

noncompliance. 

B. The local department may grant provisional approval if 

noncompliance with the standards set forth in this chapter does 

not jeopardize the safety or proper care of the adults in care. 

Provisional approval shall not exceed three months 90 calendar 

days. 

C. The local department may suspend approval if 

noncompliance with the standards set forth in this chapter may 

jeopardize the safety and proper care of the adults in care 

adults. Suspension shall not exceed three months 90 calendar 

days. During the suspension, the provider can give no shall not 

provide care to adults referred by the local department 

receiving services arranged by the local department. 

D. If the provider is found to be out of compliance with the 

standards set forth herein and in this chapter cannot meet 

standards within three months 90 calendar days, and a variance 

is not granted, the approval shall be revoked. 

E. The local department shall immediately revoke its 

approval if noncompliance with the standards set forth in this 

chapter jeopardizes the health, safety, and proper care of the 

adults in care. Adults in adult foster care and adult day services 

shall be removed within five calendar days from the date of the 

decision. The local department shall terminate services and 

find alternative services for all affected adults who are 

receiving adult foster care no later than five calendar days from 

the date of the local department's revocation decision. For in-

home providers, the local department shall find alternative 

services for the adult no later than 30 calendar days from the 

date of the local department's revocation decision. 

F. The decision to grant provisional approval, suspend 

approval or revoke approval shall be in writing with the 

effective date of the decision noted. 

22VAC30-120-130. Relocation of out-of-home adult foster 

care provider. 

A. If the out-of-home provider moves adult foster care 

provider relocates within the locality, the local department 

approving the provider shall determine continued compliance 

with standards related to the home as soon as possible, but no 

later than 30 calendar days after relocation, to avoid disruption 

of services to the adult in receiving care. 

B. If an out-of-home provider moves outside of the locality 

that approved the provider, the local department in the new 

place of residence may accept the provider approval of the 

initial local department based upon the recommendation of the 

initial local department or may initiate the approval process 

itself If the adult foster care provider relocates within the 

Commonwealth to a locality other than the locality that 

originally approved the adult foster care provider, the local 

department that originally approved the adult foster care 

provider (original local department) shall notify the local 

department in the new locality (new local department) of the 

relocation. If the new local department offers adult foster care 

services, the new local department may accept the adult foster 

care provider approval from the original local department 

based upon the recommendation of the original local 

department or the new local department may initiate an 

approval process. If the new local department does not offer 

adult foster care services, the original local department shall 

request written permission from the new local department for 

the adult foster care provider to continue to provide adult foster 

care services for the original local department. 

22VAC30-120-140. Right to review. 

A. The provider shall have the right to request that the 

decision of the local department be reviewed by the local 

director of social services the local department. 

B. The provider must request the review within 10 calendar 

days from the effective date of the notice of action local 

department's decision. 
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C. All written findings and actions of the local department or 

its director, including the decision of the local department 

director at the conclusion of the review, are final and shall not 

be (i) appealable to the Commissioner of the Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services or (ii) considered a final 

agency action for purposes of judicial review pursuant to the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

22VAC30-120-150. Rights of adults in receiving care. 

A. Adults in the receiving care of from local department-

approved providers shall have the rights and responsibilities 

specified in this section. The provisions of this section shall not 

be construed to restrict or abridge any right that any adult has 

under the law. The provider shall establish policies and 

procedures to ensure that adults in care or the adult's 

responsible person are aware of and understand the following 

rights: described in subsection B of this section. The adult and, 

if appropriate, the adult's responsible person shall acknowledge 

in writing receipt of this information, which shall be filed in 

the adult's record. 

B. Adults receiving care from local department-approved 

providers shall have the right: 

1. To be fully informed, prior to the beginning of the 

provision of services, (i) of his rights and of all rules and 

expectations governing his conduct and responsibilities; the 

adult and, if appropriate, his responsible persons shall 

acknowledge, in writing, receipt of this information, which 

shall be filed in his record and (ii) charges, if any, for the 

services to be provided; 

2. To be fully informed, prior to the beginning of the 

provision of services, of services available and of related 

charges, if any; this shall be reflected by the adult's written 

acknowledgment of having been so informed, which shall be 

filed in his record free from adult abuse, neglect, and 

exploitation; to be free from forced isolation, threats, or 

other degrading or demeaning acts against him; and to be 

treated with courtesy, respect, and consideration as a person 

of worth, sensitivity, and dignity; 

3. Unless a conservator of such person has been appointed, 

to be free to manage his personal finances and funds; to be 

entitled to access to personal account statements reflecting 

financial transactions made; and, when receiving adult foster 

care, to be given at least a quarterly accounting of financial 

transactions made on his behalf To be free to voice 

grievances and recommend changes in policies and services 

without fear of reprisal; 

4. To be afforded confidential treatment of his personal 

affairs and records and to approve or refuse their release to 

any individual outside the home except as otherwise 

provided in law and except in case of his transfer to another 

setting when services may need to be transferred to another 

provider; 

5. When receiving adult foster care or adult day services, to 

be transferred or discharged only when provided with a 

statement of reasons, or for nonpayment for his stay, and to 

be given advance notice of at least 30 days; upon notice of 

discharge or upon giving reasonable advance notice of his 

desire to move, the adult shall be afforded reasonable 

assistance to ensure an orderly transfer or discharge; such 

actions shall be documented in his record; the local 

department that made the placement shall be given advance 

notice of at least 30 days for any transfer or discharge To be 

encouraged to function at his highest mental, emotional, 

physical, and social potential; 

6. An adult receiving adult foster care or adult day services 

may be discharged immediately if his physical or mental 

health conditions or his behavior places himself or others at 

risk of serious bodily harm or injury; the discharge must be 

to a setting that will ensure the protection of the adult's 

health, safety and welfare; the local department that made 

the placement must be notified of the emergency discharge 

as soon as practicable but no later than 24 hours after the 

emergency discharge To be afforded the opportunity to 

participate in the planning of his program of care and 

medical treatment and the right to refuse medical treatment 

unless there has been a court adjudication of incapacity;  

7. In the event a medical condition should arise while he is 

under the care of the provider, to be afforded the opportunity 

to participate in the planning of his program or care and 

medical treatment and the right to refuse treatment; To be 

afforded privacy including: 

a. In the care of his personal needs except when assistance 

may be needed; 

b. In any medical examination or health-related 

consultations that the adult may have; 

c. In any communications; and 

d. During visitation with other persons; and 

8. When receiving care from an adult foster care or adult day 

services provider, to not be required to perform services for 

the home except as voluntarily contracted pursuant to an 

agreement for services that states the terms of consideration 

or remuneration and is documented in writing and retained 

in his record; To be free of physical, mechanical, or chemical 

restraints. 

9. To be free to select health care services from reasonably 

available resources;  

10. To be free from mental, emotional, physical, sexual, and 

financial abuse or exploitation; to be free from forced 

isolation, threats, or other degrading or demeaning acts 

against him; and, when receiving care from an adult foster 

care or adult day services provider, to not have his known 

needs neglected or ignored by the provider; 
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11. To be treated with courtesy, respect, and consideration 

as a person of worth, sensitivity, and dignity; 

12. To be free to voice grievances and recommend changes 

in policies and services, free of coercion, discrimination, 

threats, or reprisal; 

13. When receiving care from an out-of-home local 

department-approved provider, to be permitted to retain and 

use his personal clothing and possessions as space permits 

unless to do so would infringe upon rights of other adults; 

14. To be encouraged to function at his highest mental, 

emotional, physical, and social potential; 

15. To receive and send uncensored, unopened mail; 

16. To refuse medication unless there has been a court 

finding of incapacity; 

17. To choose which services are included in the service 

agreement and to receive all physician-prescribed 

treatments. Adults also have the right to refuse services, if 

doing so does not endanger the health or safety of other 

adults;  

18. To be free of physical, mechanical or chemical restraint 

except in the following situations and with appropriate 

safeguards, including training for the provider on the use of 

restraints: 

a. As necessary to respond to unmanageable behavior in 

an emergency situation that threatens the immediate safety 

of the adult or others; and 

b. As medically necessary, as authorized in writing by a 

physician, to provide physical support to a weakened 

adult; 

19. To be free of prescription drugs except where medically 

necessary, specifically prescribed, and supervised by the 

attending physician; 

20. To be accorded respect for ordinary privacy in every 

aspect of daily living, including but not limited to the 

following: 

a. In the care of his personal needs except as assistance 

may be needed; 

b. In any medical examination or health-related 

consultations that the adult may have at the home; 

c. In communications, in writing, or by telephone; 

d. During visitations with other persons; 

e. When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, in 

the adult's room or portion thereof; adults shall be 

permitted to have guests or other adults in their rooms 

unless to do so would infringe upon the rights of other 

adults; staff shall not enter an adult's room without making 

their presence known except in an emergency or in 

accordance with safety oversight requirements included in 

regulations administered by the Commissioner for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services; and 

f. When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, in 

visits with his spouse; if both are adults of the home they 

are permitted, but not required, to share a room unless 

otherwise provided in the adult's agreements; and 

21. Is permitted to meet with and participate in activities of 

social, faith-based, and community groups at his discretion 

unless medically contraindicated as documented by his 

physician in his medical record. 

B. If the adult is unable to fully understand and exercise the 

rights and responsibilities contained in this section, the local 

department shall require that a responsible person, of the 

adult's choice when possible, designated in writing in the 

adult's record, be made aware of each item in this section and 

the decisions that affect the adult or relate to specific items in 

this section; an adult shall be assumed capable of 

understanding and exercising these rights unless a physician 

determines otherwise and documents the reasons for such 

determination in the adult's record. 

C. The out-of-home provider shall make available in an easily 

accessible place a copy of these rights and responsibilities and 

shall include in them the name and telephone number of the 

Adult Protective Services Hotline as well as the toll-free 

telephone number for the Virginia Long-Term Care 

Ombudsman Program and any state ombudsman program 

serving the area.  

D. The out-of-home provider shall make its policies and 

procedures for implementing this section available and 

accessible to adults, relatives, agencies, and the general public. 

E. Each out-of-home provider shall provide appropriate staff 

training to implement each adult's rights included in this 

section. 

F. Adults in care have the right to be fully informed in 

advance about recommended care and treatment and of any 

recommended changes in that care or treatment. 

G. Adults in care have the right to freedom from searches of 

personal belongings without the adult or responsible person's 

permission, unless the care provider has reason to suspect that 

the adult possesses items that are illegal or prohibited in the 

out-of-home provider setting and the adult is present during the 

search.  

H. When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, adults 

have the right to be notified before the adult's room or 

roommate is changed. 

I. When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, adults 

have the right to communicate privately and without restriction 

with any other adult who does not object to the 

communications. 
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C. In addition to the rights described in subsection B of this 

section, adults receiving care from an adult foster care provider 

shall have the following additional rights: 

1. To be free to manage his personal finances and funds, to 

be entitled to access personal account statements reflecting 

financial transactions made, and to be given at least a 

quarterly accounting of financial transactions made on his 

behalf, unless a conservator has been appointed by a court to 

manage the adult's financial affairs; 

2. To be permitted to retain and use personal clothing and 

possession as space permits, unless to do so would infringe 

upon the rights of other adults; 

3. To be permitted to have guests in the adult's room or 

portion thereof, unless to do so would infringe upon the 

rights of other adults; 

4. To have the adult foster care provider only enter the room 

after the provider makes his presence known except in a case 

of emergency or pursuant to oversight as required in this 

chapter; 

5. To be permitted but not required to share a room with a 

spouse also residing in the home; 

6. To be permitted to participate in social, faith-based, and 

other community activities at the adult's discretion, unless 

contraindicated as documented by the adult's health care 

professional; 

7. To be notified before the adult's room or roommate is 

changed; 

8. To be free from searches of personal belongings without 

the adult's or the adult's responsible person's permission, 

unless the adult foster care provider has reason to suspect 

that the adult possesses items that are illegal or prohibited in 

the provider's home and the adult or the adult's responsible 

person is present during the search; 

9. To be discharged only when the provider gives the adult, 

the adult's responsible person, and the local department that 

made the placement a 30 calendar day written notice stating 

the reason for discharge;  

10. To be afforded reasonable assistance to ensure an orderly 

discharge upon notice of discharge or upon the adult giving 

notice of his desire to move; and 

11. To not be required to perform services in the home 

except as voluntarily contracted pursuant to an agreement 

for the service provision that states the terms of 

consideration  

D. The adult foster care provider shall ensure that any 

assistants providing care also understand and uphold the rights 

included in this section. 

22VAC30-120-160. Responsibilities of adults in adult foster 

care or adult day services. 

A. Adults in receiving care shall follow the rules of the 

provider unless these rules are in violation of adults' an adult's 

rights. 

B. Adults in receiving care, or the local department when 

appropriate or the adult's responsible person, if applicable, 

shall give a two-week two weeks written notice of the intent to 

leave the placement. 

C. Adults in receiving care or the adult's responsible person, 

if applicable, shall notify providers if there are changes in the 

adult's health status. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5298; Filed December 30, 2021, 1:06 p.m. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-901. Community Services 

Block Grant Program (amending 22VAC40-901-10, 

22VAC40-901-50, 22VAC40-901-60, 22VAC40-901-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-5402 and 63.2-217 of the Code of 

Virginia; 42 USC § 9909. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 17, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Matt Fitzgerald, Community Service 

Program Manager, Department of Social Services, 801 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7088, 

FAX (800) 726-7088, or email 

matt.fitzgerald@dss.virgnia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

State Board of Social Services to promulgate regulations 

necessary to carry out Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. The 

regulatory changes are promulgated under Department of 

Social Services authority as the designated Community Action 

Act agency, as set out in § 2.2-5401 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: This chapter sets parameters for evaluation, 

recommendation, and designation of community action 

agencies. The rationale for the changes is aligning sections for 

uniformity and clarity and removing provisions not appropriate 

for a regulation. The Community Services Block Grant 

(CSBG) Program provides services that are essential to protect 

the welfare of citizens, and the chapter sets out clear 

framework for administration of the program. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

rulemaking is considered noncontroversial for two reasons. 

One, the main changes were deemed by the Office of Attorney 

General (OAG) to be an alignment to all of the other language 

that required final approval by the Secretary and Governor, and 

to the Virginia Community Action Act (which lists the 

mailto:matt.fitzgerald@dss.virgnia.gov
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Secretary and Governor in the process for expansion approval). 

Although 22VAC40-901-50 did not previously detail the 

requirement for approval beyond the department level, which 

was the process being followed, as the expansion of an existing 

agency into a service area does require the modification of 

funding allocation and changing of a designation letter to 

include the localities served. Second, the other changes were 

removals of language OAG deemed better for guidance than 

regulation, as it included some criteria for review that wasn't 

required, but more helpful. 

Substance: This regulatory change clarifies and aligns 

regulations that detail the process for evaluation, 

recommendation, and designation of a community action 

agency. The amendments ensure that language in 22VAC40-

901-50, 22VAC40-901-60, and 22VAC40-901-70 align with 

22VAC40-901-80. Specifically, language was modified in 

22VAC40-901-50 to make clear that the department evaluates 

and makes a recommendation to the Secretary of Health and 

Human Resources, for preparation of a recommendation to the 

Governor for designation. Beyond this language alignment, the 

remaining changes were to remove two statements that 

strongly encouraged those seeking designation to pursue 

technical assistance prior to seeking designation. These items 

were removed, as they are more guidance than regulation. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is having a 

regulation that is uniform and aligned with statute and 

consistent and that does not include nonregulatory guidance. 

The primary advantage to the agency is also uniformity and 

alignment, in evaluating requests for designation. There are no 

disadvantages to the action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to a periodic review, and recommendations by the 

Office of the Attorney General (OAG), the State Board of 

Social Services (Board) proposes to make a number of changes 

in order to align sections of the regulation that detail the 

process for evaluation, recommendation, and designation of a 

community action agency (CAA) with the Code of Virginia 

(Code). 

Background. CAAs are local organizations with the mission of 

reducing poverty through locally-designed and delivered 

programs and services that are targeted to the specific needs of 

the community. CAAs receive funding from the federal 

Community Services Block Grant (CSBG) and General 

Assembly appropriations.1 22VAC40-901 sets out the 

framework for the allocation formula, expansion of CAA 

service areas, designation of community agencies and 

localities as CAAs, and the process for evaluating requests for 

designation. 

During a periodic review initiated in May 2019, the OAG 

identified and recommended a number of changes that would 

align the regulation with Code §2.2-5400 et al (Community 

Action Act) that the Board seeks to implement through this 

action.2 Specifically, in 22VAC40-901-50, Expansion of a 

community action agency service area, the Board proposes to 

add language saying the department is responsible for 

evaluating and making recommendations to the Governor on 

any request for the designation of an existing community 

action agency in a previously unserved locality. Upon 

completion of this evaluation, the department will forward to 

the Secretary of Health and Human Resources a 

recommendation on what action the Governor should take 

regarding designation of the existing community action 

agency. If the Governor designates the existing community 

action agency in the locality, the locality will be added to the 

service area of the existing community action agency. This 

language reflects the current process, since the expansion of an 

existing CAA into a new service area requires the modification 

of funding allocation and the changing of a Designation letter 

to include the localities served. 

Further, the Board proposes to simplify and clarify the 

requirements contained in 22VAC40-901-50, Expansion of a 

community action agency service area, 22VAC40-901-60, 

Designation of a community organization as a community 

action agency and 22VAC40-901-70, Designation of a locality 

or group of localities as a community action agency. The 

proposed changes in language would serve to align these 

sections with the Community Action Act and more accurately 

reflect the process currently being followed by the Department 

of Social Services (DSS).3 

Lastly, the Board seeks to remove two statements that 

"strongly encouraged" organizations and localities seeking 

designation to pursue technical assistance from DSS. This 

language was deemed better for guidance than regulation by 

the OAG, as it included some criteria for review that was not 

required.4 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. To the extent that the proposed 

changes serve to clarify the process for evaluation, 

recommendation, and designation of a community action 

agency, readers of the regulation including current and new 

CAAs would likely benefit from greater clarity and alignment 

with the Code. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. There are currently 28 

local CAAs and three statewide CAAs. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to affect businesses since most 

CAAs are either public entities or private nonprofits. 

Small Businesses5 Affected. The proposed amendment would 

not affect small businesses. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendment would not 

affect local governments. DSS has indicated that the following 

localities are currently unserved by a local CAA: Chesterfield, 

Colonial Heights, Harrisonburg, Henrico, Highland, Loudon, 

Poquoson, Rockingham, Winchester, and York. If the 

proposed changes lead to any of these localities being served 

by a CAA, then that locality would benefit from the proposed 

changes. 
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Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would not affect employment by DSS, its local departments, or 

by CAAs. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to affect the use and value of private 

property. Real estate development costs are not affected. 

________________________________ 
1The CSBG was enacted under the CSBG Act in 1981 and authorizes block 

grants to states. It is administered by the Office of Community Services within 
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. States are required to pass 

through 90% of their block grant allotments to CAAs, and may keep up to five 

percent of allotments for administrative costs. The remainder is used for 

statewide activities. See https://www.vacap.org/who-we-are/. 
2See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1799. 

3This includes adding a definition of low-income person in Section 10 that is 

identical to the definition in the Code. 

4See the Agency Background Document 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=73\5694\9220\AgencyState

ment_DSS_9220_v6.pdf. 
5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services reviewed the economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

and has no comments. 

Summary: 

The amendments align regulation text found in 22VAC40-

901-50, 22VAC40-901-60, and 22VAC40-901-70 with 

that found in 22VAC40-901-80. The amendments detail 

the process for evaluation, recommendation, and 

designation of a community action agency, including (i) 

clarifying that the Department of Social Services 

evaluates and makes a recommendation for designation to 

the Secretary of Health and Human Resources for 

preparation of a recommendation to the Governor and (ii) 

removing two statements (nonregulatory in nature) that 

strongly encouraged organizations and localities seeking 

designation to pursue technical assistance from the 

department. 

22VAC40-901-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Community action agency" means a local subdivision of the 

Commonwealth, a combination of political subdivisions, a 

separate public agency, or a private, nonprofit agency that has 

the authority under its applicable charter or laws to receive 

funds to support community action activities and other 

appropriate measures designed to identify and deal with the 

causes of poverty in the Commonwealth, and that is designated 

as a community action agency by federal law, federal 

regulations, or the Governor. 

"Community action statewide organization" means 

community action programs, organized on a statewide basis, to 

enhance the capability of community action agencies. 

"Community organization" means a private nonprofit 

organization, including faith-based organizations. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Local share" means cash or in-kind goods and services 

donated to community action agencies or community action 

statewide organizations to carry out their responsibilities. 

"Locality" means a county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Low-income person" means a person who is a member of a 

household with a gross annual income equal to or less than 

125% of the poverty standard accepted by the federal agency 

designated to establish poverty guidelines. 

22VAC40-901-50. Expansion of community action agency 

service area. 

A. A locality that is not served by a designated community 

action agency may reach an agreement develop a request with 

an existing community action agency for the provision of 

services in that locality. The locality and the community action 

agency may submit a proposal to the department that includes 

plans for the expansion of services into the locality and a 

provision describing how the locality will be represented on 

the board of the community action agency. Upon department 

approval of the proposal, the governing body of the locality 

may adopt a resolution designating the community action 

agency as their community action agency and forward this 

resolution to the Department of Social Services. In adopting 

the resolution, the governing body must have allowed the 

opportunity for public comment. Upon receipt of the 

resolution, the locality will be included in the community 

action agency's service area. The request will include: 

1. A description of the way in which the locality will be 

represented on the board of the existing community action 

agency. 

2. A resolution adopted by the locality requesting the 

designation of the existing community action agency as the 

community action agency for the locality. In adopting the 

resolution, the governing body must have allowed the 

opportunity for public comment.  

3. A description of the existing community action agency's 

history of successfully providing a variety of services to low-

income individuals. Examples would include operating four 

or more programs aimed at various segments of the low-

https://www.vacap.org/who-we-are/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1799
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=73/5694/9220/AgencyStatement_DSS_9220_v6.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=73/5694/9220/AgencyStatement_DSS_9220_v6.pdf
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income population and can include community and 

economic development.  

4. Documentation that the low-income population in the 

proposed designated service area is large enough to justify 

funding a variety of programs.  

5. Documentation that demonstrates the financial stability of 

the existing community action agency.  

6. The detailed financial procedures that demonstrate how 

the existing community action agency meets generally 

accepted accounting principles (GAAP). 

7. The existing community action agency plan for providing 

Community Services Block Grant funded services within the 

proposed service area. This plan must be developed with 

input from a variety of sources, including the low-income 

population of the proposed service area. 

B. The department is responsible for evaluating and making 

recommendations to the Governor on any request for the 

designation of an existing community action agency in a 

previously unserved locality. Upon completion of this 

evaluation, the department will forward to the Secretary of 

Health and Human Resources a recommendation on what 

action the Governor should take regarding designation of the 

existing community action agency. If the Governor designates 

the existing community action agency in the locality, the 

locality will be added to the service area of the existing 

community action agency. 

22VAC40-901-60. Designation of a community 

organization as a community action agency. 

A. To be designated as a community action agency, a 

community organization's purpose shall include working for 

the reduction of poverty and the revitalization of low-income 

communities through the identification of local needs and the 

provision of a broad range of services to meet those needs. The 

organization must have the recommendation of the governing 

body of the localities to be served, must be financially viable, 

and must meet administrative standards, financial management 

standards, and other requirements established by federal and 

state laws and regulations. In order for the department to 

support the designation of a community organization to 

become a community action agency, the following conditions 

should exist: 

1. The organization's governing board must meet, or be in 

the process of changing to meet, the requirements of federal 

and state law related to community action agency boards. 

2. Each locality in the proposed service area must have 

approved a resolution recommending the designation of the 

organization as a community action agency. In adopting the 

resolution, the governing body must have allowed the 

opportunity for public comment. 

3. The organization and its management should have a 

history of successfully providing a variety of services to low-

income individuals. Examples would include operating four 

or more programs aimed at various segments of the low-

income population. This can include community and 

economic development. Services currently being provided 

by the community organization should not be limited to a 

single segment of the population. 

4. The low-income population in the proposed designated 

service area should be large enough to justify funding a 

variety of programs. 

5. The organization should be financially stable must be able 

to demonstrate financial stability. This would include 

funding from a variety of federal and/or state sources as well 

as private and/or local government funding. The 

organization should have a sufficient reserve of unrestricted 

funds to avoid cash flow problems; for example, a reserve 

equal to or exceeding three months' operating expenses. 

6. The organization must have financial procedures in place 

to meet Generally Accepted Accounting Principles generally 

accepted accounting principles (GAAP). This would 

normally be supported by a review of prior independent 

audits. 

7. The organization must have developed a plan for 

providing Community Services Block Grant funded services 

within the proposed service area. This plan must have been 

be developed with input from a variety of sources including 

the low-income population of the proposed service area. 

B. A community organization wishing to be designated as a 

community action agency must submit a written request to the 

department. The request must include documentation verifying 

that all of the criteria listed in this section are met. Any 

community organization wishing to become a community 

action agency is strongly encouraged to contact the department 

and request technical assistance in this process. The request 

will be evaluated per 22VAC40-901-80. 

22VAC40-901-70. Designation of a locality or group of 

localities as a community action agency. 

If no existing community action agency or other community 

organization is willing and able to provide services, a locality 

or group of localities can request that the department designate 

recommend one or more localities for designation as a 

community action agency. Any locality or group of localities 

wishing to become a community action agency are strongly 

encouraged to contact the department and request technical 

assistance in this process. This request must include the 

following documentation: 

1. A description of the efforts made to obtain services 

through an existing community action agency or a 

community organization that could have been designated as 

a community action agency. 
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2. A resolution adopted by the locality or each of a group of 

localities requesting that it be designated as a community 

action agency. In adopting the resolution, the governing 

body or bodies must have allowed the opportunity for public 

comment. 

3. A resolution adopted by the locality or each of a group of 

localities establishing a community action board that meets 

the requirements of federal and state law related to public 

community action agencies. 

4. A plan for providing CSBG-funded services within the 

proposed service area. This plan must have been be 

developed with input from a variety of sources including the 

low-income population of the proposed service area. 

The request submitted to the department will be evaluated per 

22VAC40-901-80. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6591; Filed January 3, 2022, 12:30 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-920. Appeals of Financial 

Sanctions for Local Departments of Social Services (adding 

22VAC40-920-10 through 22VAC40-920-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.1-217 of the Code of Virginia; 2 CFR 

200.341. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Torsheba Givens, Manager, Local 

Reimbursement Unit, Department of Social Services, 801 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7298, 

or email torsheba.givens@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation establishes procedures for local departments 

of social services to appeal a financial recovery levied by the 

Virginia Department of Social Services. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

Chapter 920 

Appeals of Financial Sanctions for Local Departments of 

Social Services 

22VAC40-920-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or his authorized representative. 

[ "Disallowed costs" means those charges to a program that 

the department determines to be unallowable, in accordance 

with applicable state and federal statutes, regulations, or 

policy. ] 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Notification of a recovery" means any report, letter, email, 

or other type of communication describing the noncompliance 

action or recovery.  

[ "Recovery" means the repayment by the local department of 

a disallowed cost in a manner prescribed by the department, in 

accordance with applicable state and federal statutes, 

regulations, or policy. ] 

22VAC40-920-20. Objections to notifications of recovery.  

A local department that wants to appeal a notification of 

recovery shall: 

1. Within [ 15 21 ] calendar days of issuance of a notification 

of a recovery, provide written notice to the commissioner of 

its objection to the recovery; and 

2. Within [ 15 21 ] calendar days of filing its notice of 

objection with the commissioner, submit all relevant 

additional information, documentation, or other pertinent 

data to the commissioner supporting its appeal of the 

recovery [ , termination action, ] or the disallowed costs. 

22VAC40-920-30. Dismissal; burden of proof.  

A. If the local department fails to appeal the recovery within 

the timeframe specified in 22VAC40-920-20, the right to 

appeal is lost. 

B. The local department has the burden of proof to provide 

additional information that would reduce or remove the 

recovery.  

C. If the local department fails to timely file a notice of appeal 

or fails to timely provide additional information for appealing 

the recovery, the requirements of the recovery shall become 

effective 30 calendar days from the date of issuance of the 

notification of a recovery. 

22VAC40-920-40. Final decision by the commissioner.  

A. [ The commissioner shall provide an opportunity for a 

hearing, reasonable notice of which shall be given in writing to 

the local department. All hearings and meetings related to 

appeals shall be held in the Richmond, Virginia, area If the 

local department timely files a notice of appeal, the 

commissioner shall provide an opportunity for a hearing at a 

time, date, location, and in a manner to be determined by the 

commissioner. A written notice of the hearing shall be given to 

the local department at least five calendar days before the 

hearing. ] 

1. The local department is entitled to be represented by 

counsel at all hearings and meetings related to appeals.  

2. The local department will forfeit its right to further its 

appeal if it fails to show for the hearing, unless the 

mailto:torsheba.givens@dss.virginia.gov
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commissioner approves the local department's request to 

reschedule the hearing. 

B. The commissioner shall issue a final decision within 60 [ 

calendar ] days following the date the local department filed its 

objection with the commissioner. The final decision shall be 

based on the commissioner's review of the recovery details in 

addition to the evidence, information, and documentation 

provided by the local department pertaining to the recovery 

being appealed. The final decision shall be made in accordance 

with all applicable laws, regulations, and policies. 

C. The final decision of the commissioner is (i) final, (ii) 

binding, and (iii) not subject to judicial review. 

D. The local department shall implement the decision within 

30 [ calendar ] days of the date of the final decision. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4569; Filed January 10, 2022, 11:45 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 

a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 

necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or 

the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. 

The Commonwealth Transportation Board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-151. Land Use Permit 

Regulations (amending 24VAC30-151-710). 

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Policy Division, Virginia Department of 

Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 225-4700, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 387 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, the amendment updates a reference to the 

Code of Virginia where a section cited was repealed. 

24VAC30-151-710. Fees. 

A. Single use permit. A nonrefundable application fee shall 

be charged to offset the cost of reviewing and processing the 

permit application and inspecting the project work, in 

accordance with the requirements in this subsection: 

1. The application fee for a single permit is $100. 

2. Additive costs shall be applied as indicated in this 

subdivision. The district administrator's designee will 

determine the total permit fees using the following schedule: 

Activity Fee 

Private Entrances none 

Commercial Entrance $150 for first entrance 

$50 for each additional 

entrance 

Street Connection $150 for first connection 

$50 for each additional 

connection 

Temporary Logging 

Entrance 

$10 for each entrance 

Temporary Construction 

Entrance 

$10 for each entrance 

Turn Lane $10 per 100 linear feet 

Crossover $500 per crossover 

Traffic Signal $1,000 per signal 

installation 

Reconstruction of Roadway $10 per 100 linear feet 

Curb and Gutter $10 per 100 linear feet 

Sidewalk $10 per 100 linear feet 

Tree Trimming (for outdoor 

advertising) 

in accordance with § 33.2-

1221 of the Code of 

Virginia 

Tree Trimming (all other 

activities) 

$10 per acre or 100 feet of 

frontage 

Landscaping $10 per acre or 100 feet of 

frontage 

Storm Sewer $10 per 100 linear feet 

Box Culvert or Bridge $5 per linear foot of 

attachment 

Drop Inlet $10 per inlet 

Paved Ditch $10 per 100 linear feet 

Under Drain or Cross Drain $10 per crossing 

Above-ground Structure 

(including poles, pedestals, 

fire hydrants, towers, etc.) 

$10 per structure 

Pole Attachment $10 per structure 

Span Guy $10 per crossing 

Additive Guy and Anchor $10 per guy and anchor 

mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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Underground Utility - 

Parallel 

$10 per 100 linear feet 

Overhead or Underground 

Crossing 

$10 per crossing 

Excavation Charge 

(including Test Bores and 

Emergency Opening) 

$10 per opening 

Two Month Commuter Lot 

Mobile Food Vending 

(available in Planning 

District 8 only) (weekdays 

and weekends) 

$150 

Single Weekend Commuter 

Lot Mobile Food Vending 

(available in Planning 

District 8 only) (per 

weekend) 

$10 

3. Time extensions for active permits shall incur a monetary

charge equal to one-half the application fee charged to the

initial permit. Expired permits may be reinstated; however,

fees for reinstatement of expired permits shall equal the

application fee. Notwithstanding 24VAC30-151-80,

commuter lot mobile food vending permits may not be

extended or reinstated.

4. If a permit is cancelled prior to the beginning of the

permitted activity, the application fee and one-half of the

additive fee will be retained as compensation for costs

incurred by VDOT during plan review.

5. The district administrator's designee may establish an

account to track plan review and inspection costs and may

bill the permittee not more often than every 30 calendar

days. If an account is established for these costs, the

permittee shall be responsible for the nonrefundable

application fee and the billed costs. When actual costs are

billed, the district administrator's designee shall waive the

additive fees in subdivision 2 of this subsection.

B. Districtwide permits. Districtwide permits, as defined in

24VAC30-151-30, are valid for a period of two years. The 

biennial fee for a districtwide permit for utilities and logging 

operations is $750 per district. The biennial fee for a 

districtwide permit for surveying is $200 per district. The 

central office permit manager may exercise discretion in 

combining requests for multijurisdictional districtwide 

permits. 

C. Miscellaneous permit fees. To connect the facility to the

transmission grid pipeline, the operator of a nonutility 

renewable energy facility that produces not more than two 

megawatts of electricity from a renewable energy source, not 

more than 5,000 mmBtus/hour of steam from a renewable 

energy source, or landfill gas from a solid waste management 

facility, shall remit to VDOT a one-time permit fee of $1,500 

per mile as full compensation for the use of the right-of-way in 

accordance with § 67-1103 § 56-617 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. No-fee permits. The following permits shall be issued at

no cost to the applicant: 

1. In-place permits as defined in 24VAC30-151-30 and

24VAC30-151-390.

2. Prior-rights permits as defined in 24VAC30-151-30 and

24VAC30-151-390.

3. As-built permits as defined in 24VAC30-151-30.

4. Springs and wells as defined in 24VAC30-151-280.

5. Crest stage gauges and water level recorders as defined in

24VAC30-151-500.

6. Filming for movies as defined in 24VAC30-151-520.

7. Roadside memorials as defined in 24VAC30-151-550.

8. No loitering signs as defined in 24VAC30-151-570.

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7052; Filed January 6, 2022, 9:53 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation 

Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 4 of the Code of 

Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to grants of state 

or federal funds or property. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-451. Airport Access Fund 

Policy (repealing 24VAC30-451-10, 24VAC30-451-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.2-210 and 33.2-1509 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Regulator Coordinator, 

Policy Division, Department of Transportation, 1401 East 

Broad Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 225-4700, or email

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

Summary: 

The action repeals Airport Access Fund Policy 

(24VAC30-451). The Commonwealth Transportation 

Board has adopted a policy for the Airport Access 

Program, and the department has developed a guidance 

document consistent with that policy to provide additional 

details for the program, which provides sufficient 

guidance without the need for a regulation. Because the 

enabling legislation does not specifically require 

regulation, the regulation is being repealed.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7053; Filed January 6, 2022, 10:20 a.m. 
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Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER ONE (2022) 

Ending the Use of Inherently Divisive Concepts, 
Including Critical Race Theory, and Restoring 

Excellence in K-12 Public Education in the 
Commonwealth 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

issue this Executive Order to ensure excellence in K-12 public 

education in the Commonwealth by taking the first step on Day 

One to end the use of inherently divisive concepts, including 

Critical Race Theory, and to raise academic standards. 

Importance of the Initiative 

The future of the Commonwealth of Virginia is chiefly 

dependent on the education of our children. Education has life-

shaping power, and our educational system should instill in 

Virginia students a love for lifelong learning to ensure that they 

become their own best teachers. We must enable our students 

to take risks, to think differently, to imagine, and to see 

conversations regarding art, science, and history as a place 

where they have a voice. 

Political indoctrination has no place in our classrooms. The 

vast majority of learning in our schools involves imparting 

critical knowledge and skills in math, science, history, reading 

and other areas that should be non-controversial. Inherently 

divisive concepts, like Critical Race Theory and its progeny, 

instruct students to only view life through the lens of race and 

presumes that some students are consciously or unconsciously 

racist, sexist, or oppressive, and that other students are victims. 

This denies our students the opportunity to gain important 

facts, core knowledge, formulate their own opinions, and to 

think for themselves. Our children deserve far better from their 

education than to be told what to think. 

Instead, the foundation of our educational system should be 

built on teaching our students how to think for themselves. 

Virginia must renew its commitment to teaching our children 

the value of freedom of thought and diversity of ideas. We 

must equip our teachers to teach our students the entirety of our 

history – both good and bad. From the horrors of American 

slavery and segregation, and our country's treatment of Native 

Americans, to the triumph of America's Greatest Generation 

against the Nazi Empire, the heroic efforts of Americans in the 

Civil Rights Movement, and our country's defeat of the Soviet 

Union and the ills of Communism, we must provide our 

students with the facts and context necessary to understand 

these important events. Only then will we realize Dr. Martin 

Luther King Jr.'s dream that our children "will not be judged 

by the color of their skin but by the content of their character." 

The Constitution of Virginia requires that the Governor shall 

take care that the laws be faithfully executed. It further 

provides a right to be free from any governmental 

discrimination upon the basis of religious conviction, race, 

color, sex, or national origin. Critical race theory and related 

concepts are teaching our children to engage in the very 

behavior the Constitution prohibits. 

Directive 

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me as the 

Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth, and pursuant 

to Article V of the Constitution and the laws of Virginia, I 

hereby order the following: 

1. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall review all

policies within the Department of Education to identify

those that promote inherently divisive concepts. Such

policies shall be ended.

2. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall

immediately review all guidelines, websites, best practices,

and other materials produced by the Department of

Education to identify those that promote or endorse divisive

or inherently racist concepts. Such shall be removed.

3. Executive Employees shall be prohibited from directing

or otherwise compelling students to personally affirm,

adopt, or adhere to inherently divisive concepts.

4. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall review the

Department of Education's Cultural Competency Training

to determine if it or any portion promotes inherently divisive

concepts, and take action consistent with the laws of

Virginia to modify such training to end the use of inherently

divisive concepts. In addition, the Superintendent shall

make recommendations on how the Department of

Education and school division can develop and make

available to all teachers and school leaders model

professional development and training so teachers and

schools are prepared to engage students on important civics

and historical issues in a fair and unbiased manner without

imposing their own personal beliefs.

5. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall review and

revise or rescind Superintendent's Memo #050-19 to remove

reference to any inherently divisive concepts.

6. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall review all

changes made to the Commonwealth of Virginia's public

education curriculum within the last 48 months to identify

inherently divisive concepts, including concepts or ideas

related to Critical Race Theory, and initiate, through the

regular curriculum re-evaluation process, changes that will

replace them with concepts and lessons that ensure all

Virginia students are taught to respect all individuals

regardless of their race, sex, or faith.

7. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall review the

"EdEquityVA" program and end any portion that promotes

inherently divisive concepts.

8. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall end the

Virginia Math Pathways Initiative.

9. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall provide a

report to me and the Secretary of Education within 30 days

any policies, programs, training, or curricula that falls
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within the definition of inherently divisive concepts and 

within 90 days identify any necessary executive and 

legislative actions needed to end use of all inherently 

divisive concepts in public education. 

10. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall review

and immediately end the use of any portion of any

Governor's School program that promotes inherently

divisive concepts.

11. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall raise

standards in K-12 education and immediately take steps to:

a. increase the transparency and honesty of performance

measures for public elementary and secondary schools in the

Commonwealth and ensure that such measures do not

obscure or conceal disparities in performance among

student groups;

b. ensure that performance measures for public elementary

and secondary schools prioritize the attainment of grade-

level proficiency in reading and mathematics for all

students, especially in grades K-5;

c. ensure that the Commonwealth's proficiency standards on

Standards of Learning assessments in reading and

mathematics are rigorous in comparison with assessments

administered by other states and national assessments in

reading; and

d. increase the number of academic-year Governor's

Schools in the Commonwealth and maintain standards of

excellence for students in all such schools.

e. ensure that parents are empowered with open access to

information on primary instructional materials utilized in

any school and that fair and open policies are in place to

address any concerns or complaints in a timely and

respectful manner.

12. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall issue a

report to the Secretary of Education and me within 90 days

on the status of efforts to close the "achievement gap" in K-

12 education, with recommendations for additional

executive and legislative actions that should be undertaken

to ensure all students are graduating high school career and

college ready.

13. The Superintendent of Public Instruction will initiate,

through the regular curriculum re-evaluation process,

changes that ensure Virginia students are given thorough

and comprehensive education of world, United States, and

Virginia history without the influence of inherently divisive

concepts.

For the purposes of this Executive order "inherently divisive 

concepts" means advancing any ideas in violation of Title IV 

and Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, including, but not 

limited to of the following concepts (i) one race, skin color, 

ethnicity, sex, or faith is inherently superior to another race, 

skin color, ethnicity, sex, or faith; (ii) an individual, by virtue 

of his or her race, skin color, ethnicity, sex or faith, is racist, 

sexist, or oppressive, whether consciously or subconsciously, 

(iii) an individual should be discriminated against or receive

adverse treatment solely or partly because of his or her race,

skin color, ethnicity, sex or faith, (iv) members of one race,

ethnicity, sex or faith cannot and should not attempt to treat

others as individuals without respect to race, sex or faith, (v)

an individual's moral character is inherently determined by his

or her race, skin color, ethnicity, sex, or faith, (vi) an

individual, by virtue of his or her race, skin color, ethnicity,

sex, or faith, bears responsibility for actions committed in the

past by other members of the same race, ethnicity, sex or faith,

(vii) meritocracy or traits, such as a hard work ethic, are racist

or sexist or were created by a particular race to oppress another

race.

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by further executive order or directive. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 15th day of January, 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER TWO (2022) AND ORDER 

OF PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY ONE 

Reaffirming the Rights of Parents in the Upbringing, 
Education, and Care of Their Children 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

issue this Executive Order reaffirming the rights of parents in 

the upbringing, education, and care of their children. 

Importance of the Issue 

There is no greater priority than the health and welfare of 

Virginia's children. Under Virginia law, parents, not the 

government, have the fundamental right to make decisions 

concerning the care of their children. 

Recent government orders requiring virtually every child in 

Virginia wear masks virtually every moment they are in school 

have proven ineffective and impractical. They have also failed 

to keep up with rapidly changing scientific information. For 

example, the August 12, 2021 Order of the State Health 

Commissioner explicitly relates to the Delta variant and not the 

Omicron variant, which results in less severe illness. The order 

states children under the age of 12 cannot obtain vaccines. Now 

children five and older are eligible. The order also states 

vaccination rates for children that are now out of date. The 

order notes that "universal and correct mask use" helps reduce 

transmission. As parents and educators have observed, many 

children wear masks incorrectly, providing little or no health 

benefit. The masks worn by children are often ineffective 

because they are made from cloth material, and they are often 

not clean, resulting in the collection of impurities, including 

bacteria and parasites. Additionally, wearing masks for 



Governor 

Volume 38, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 31, 2022  

1512 

prolonged periods of time, such as for an entire school day, 

decreases their effectiveness. Masking may be more or less 

effective dependent on the age of the child. 

At the same time that a universal masking requirement in 

schools has provided inconsistent health benefits, the universal 

requirement has also inflicted notable harm and proven to be 

impracticable. Masks inhibit the ability of children to 

communicate, delay language development, and impede the 

growth of emotional and social skills. Some children report 

difficulty breathing and discomfort as a result of masks. Masks 

have also increased feelings of isolation, exacerbating mental 

health issues, which in many cases pose a greater health risk to 

children than COVID-19. Two years into the COVID-19 

pandemic, mask mandates in schools have proved 

demoralizing to children facing these and other difficulties. 

While the Center for Disease Control (CDC) recommends 

masks, its research has found no statistically significant link 

between mandatory masking for students and reduced 

transmission of COVID-19. And the CDC has acknowledged 

that certain masks may be ineffective due to the material from 

which they are made or how they are worn. A review of CDC, 

WHO, and other local and international health authorities' 

recommendations reveals a lack of consensus on the costs and 

benefits of mask-wearing for children in school for many of 

the reasons noted above. 

In light of the variety of circumstances confronted by students 

in the Commonwealth, parents should have the ability to 

decide whether their child should wear masks for the duration 

of the school day. This approach is consistent with the broad 

rights of parents. The Commonwealth recognizes in § 1-240.1 

of the Code of Virginia, that "a parent has a fundamental right 

to make decisions concerning the upbringing, education, and 

care of the parent's child." Permitting parents to make decisions 

on where and when to wear masks permits the 

Commonwealth's parents to make the best decision for the 

circumstances confronting each child. Parents can assess the 

risks and benefits facing their child, consult their medical 

providers, and make the best decision for their children based 

on the most up to date health information available. 

While parents of some students with conditions that increase 

the risks of COVID-19 infection might require their children 

to remained masked during the duration of the school day, 

other parents may require masks for a more limited duration, if 

at all. 

Masks are not the only method to reduce transmission of 

COVID-19. Local schools must ensure they are improving 

inspection, testing, maintenance, repair, replacement and 

upgrades of equipment to improve the indoor air quality in 

school facilities, including mechanical and non-mechanical 

heating, ventilation, and air conditioning systems, filtering, 

purification, fans, control systems and window and door repair. 

Other mitigation efforts can be made in consultation with 

health authorities. The benefit of mitigation efforts must 

always be weighed against the cost to children's overall 

wellbeing. 

Directive  

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor 

by Article V of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 of 

the Code of Virginia, by any other applicable law, and by virtue 

of the authority vested in the State Health Commissioner 

pursuant to §§ 32.1-13, 32.1-20, and 35.1-10 of the Code of 

Virginia, Executive Order Number Seventy-Nine (2021) is 

rescinded and the following is ordered: 

1. The State Health Commissioner shall terminate Order of 

Public Health Emergency Order Ten (2021). 

2. The parents of any child enrolled in a elementary or 

secondary school or a school based early childcare and 

educational program may elect for their children not to be 

subject to any mask mandate in effect at the child's school 

or educational program. 

3. No parent electing that a mask mandate should not apply 

to his or her child shall be required to provide a reason or 

make any certification concerning their child's health or 

education. 

4. A child whose parent has elected that he or she is not 

subject to a mask mandate should not be required to wear a 

mask under any policy implemented by a teacher, school, 

school district, the Department of Education, or any other 

state authority. 

5. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall rescind the 

Interim Guidance for COVID-19 Prevention in Virginia 

PreK-12 Schools, issued January 14, 2021, and updated 

October 14, 2021, and issue new guidance for COVID-19 

Prevention consistent with this Order. 

6. School districts should marshal any resources available to 

improve inspection, testing, maintenance, repair, 

replacement and upgrades of equipment to improve the 

indoor air quality in school facilities, including mechanical 

and non-mechanical heating, ventilation, and air 

conditioning systems, filtering, purification, fans, control 

systems and window and door repair. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective 12:00 a.m., Monday, 

January 24, 2022, and shall remain in full force and effect until 

amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 15th day of January, 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 
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EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER THREE (2022) 

Restoring Integrity and Confidence in the Virginia 
Parole Board and the Commonwealth's System of 

Criminal Justice 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

issue this Executive Order to restore integrity and confidence 

in the Commonwealth's System of Criminal Justice by 

terminating the current Virginia Parole Board, naming five 

highly qualified individuals to the Parole Board, directing the 

Secretary of Public Safety to perform a programmatic review 

of the Parole Board's procedures, and requesting the Attorney 

General conduct a full investigation. 

Importance of the Initiative 

Article I, Section 8-A of the Constitution of Virginia affords 

certain rights to victims of crime in the Commonwealth, 

including the right to reasonable and appropriate notice, 

information, and protection. Virginia law further requires the 

Virginia Parole Board provide notice of its decision to grant 

discretionary parole or the conditional release of an inmate. 

Virginia law and internal policy and procedure manuals govern 

the Virginia Parole Board's decisions. 

The Virginia Office of the State Inspector General ("OSIG") 

recently conducted an independent investigation into 

allegations involving the Virginia Parole Board. These 

allegations were brought forward by citizens, crime victims 

and their relatives, and elected Commonwealth's Attorneys. 

The OSIG investigation revealed some of the inmates released 

by the Virginia Parole Board had been recently denied parole 

or otherwise deemed ineligible for parole, raising questions 

about the lawfulness of the abrupt reversals of these decisions. 

The Virginia Parole Board also violated victims' rights and 

broke Virginia law by releasing multiple violent offenders 

without complying with the legally required notification to the 

victim or the prosecutor. 

To this day, the family members and victims have no answers 

as to how or why the Virginia Parole Board failed to abide by 

the laws governing its operations, and no one has been held 

accountable. 

We therefore must ensure confidence and integrity in our 

criminal justice system. Too often, victims of violent crime are 

ignored, silenced, and overlooked. Victims deserve to know 

their voices matter. In order to ensure that these mistakes never 

happen again, we must fully understand the decisions that led 

to them. 

The Parole Board's failure to uphold the laws enacted by the 

General Assembly has damaged the integrity of the 

Commonwealth's System of Criminal Justice and undermined 

the confidence of our citizens. We therefore must reform the 

Virginia Parole Board and replace the current members with 

qualified and committed public safety experts who will uphold 

the law, properly apply the policies of the Board, and restore 

confidence and integrity in our system of criminal justice. 

Directive  

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me as Chief 

Executive of the Commonwealth and pursuant to § 53.1-134 of 

the Code of Virginia, I hereby terminate the current parole 

board, and hereby appoint: 

• The Honorable Chadwick Dotson of Wise County, 

Chairman 

• Tracy Banks of the City of Charlottesville 

• Cheryl Nici-O'Connell of Chesterfield County 

• The Honorable Hank Partin, Sheriff, of Montgomery 

County 

• Carmen Williams of Chesterfield County 

Further, the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security 

is directed to perform a programmatic review of the Parole 

Board's duties, procedures, and administration. The review 

shall include, but not be limited to, increasing the transparency 

of Parole Board votes, recording reasons for granting parole, 

and reviewing the management, personnel, and operations of 

the Parole Board. 

This review shall provide recommendations for legislative, 

administrative, and policy changes that will improve the 

administration of the agency in fulfilling its solemn public 

safety mission. 

This review shall be submitted to me no later than September 

1, 2022. 

Attorney General Authorization 

By virtue of the authority vested in me by § 2.2-511 of the Code 

of Virginia, I hereby request the Attorney General to 

coordinate the prosecutorial and investigative efforts and to 

bring such cases as he may deem appropriate in order to protect 

the citizens of the Commonwealth and hold accountable any 

individuals who have violated existing law or violated the 

rights of victims of crime. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Directive shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by future executive order or directive. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 15th day of January, 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 
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EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FOUR (2022) 

Authorizing an Investigation of Loudoun County 
Public Schools by the Attorney General 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

issue this Executive Order requesting the Attorney General 

conduct a full investigation into Loudoun County Public 

Schools. 

Importance of the Issue  

In the Spring of 2021, the Loudoun County School Board and 

the administration of the Loudoun County Public Schools were 

made aware of a sexual assault that occurred in a Loudoun 

County high school. A decision was made to transfer the 

assailant to another Loudoun County high school, where the 

student was able to commit a second sexual assault. The 

Loudoun County School Board and school administrators 

withheld key details and knowingly lied to parents about the 

assaults.  

Neither the Loudoun County School Board, nor the 

administrators of the Loudoun County school system, have 

been held accountable for deceiving the very Virginians they 

serve. Virginia parents deserve answers and assurances that the 

safety of their children will never be compromised. 

Attorney General Authorization 

By virtue of the authority vested in me by § 2.2-511 of the Code 

of Virginia, I am requesting the Attorney General to initiate 

and coordinate investigative and prosecutorial efforts and to 

take such actions as he may deem appropriate in order to 

protect the citizens of the Commonwealth and hold 

accountable any individuals who have violated existing law or 

violated the rights of victims of crime. 

Effective Date  

This Executive Directive shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by future executive order or directive. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 15th day of January, 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FIVE (2022) 

Establishing the Position of Commonwealth Chief 
Transformation Officer and Initiating Review of the 

Department of Motor Vehicles and the Virginia 
Employment Commission 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

issue this Executive Order establishing the position of 

Commonwealth Chief Transformation Officer within the 

Office of the Governor, and direct him to begin his review of 

all government agencies with the Department of Motor 

Vehicles and the Virginia Employment Commission. 

Importance of the Initiative  

Virginia is fortunate to have many dedicated and hard-working 

individuals serving our Commonwealth. The workforce of our 

state government is one of our Commonwealth's greatest 

resources. However, we must constantly pursue improvements 

to the function of our government. The performance of the state 

government should be measured by the satisfaction of its 

citizens. And when government fails to meet the needs of its 

citizens, it is the duty of the Chief Executive Officer to hear 

these complaints, duly consider their merits, and produce 

speedy reforms. Sometimes, in the performance of this duty, it 

will be necessary and beneficial to utilize outside experts to 

assist state government in performing at the standards our 

citizens demand. 

The performance of two state agencies, in particular, 

underscores the necessity of our continued pursuit of 

improvement in our government. In recent years, the Virginia 

Employment Commission (VEC) and the Department of 

Motor Vehicles (DMV) have fallen short of performing at the 

high standard set by our citizens. Both agencies provide 

essential services to Virginians, and the success of their 

missions are directly dependent on their ability to serve their 

customers. 

These and other agencies require analysis to identify areas of 

improvement and ensure that our government is transparent, 

accountable, and working for the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. A team with expertise, imagination, and 

enthusiasm for delivery of services, the Commonwealth's 

operations and finances, and customer satisfaction is necessary 

to accomplish these goals. 

Directive  

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 

Article V of the Constitution of Virginia, and the Code of 

Virginia, and subject to my continuing and ultimate authority 

and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby establish the 

position of Commonwealth Chief Transformation Officer 

within the Office of the Governor. The Commonwealth Chief 

Transformation Officer will serve in the Governor's Cabinet. 

The Commonwealth Chief Transformation Officer, and such 

other employees within the Office of the Governor as so 

designated, shall comprise the Office of Transformation. 

The primary responsibilities of the Commonwealth Chief 

Transformation Officer will be to help build a culture of 

transparency, accountability, and constructive challenge across 

our government; ensure employees at all levels of government 

are reminded that our government works for the citizens of 

Virginia; drive changes improving the effectiveness and 

efficiency of our government through tracking key 

performance metrics; identify, coordinate, and lead targeted 
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transformation efforts; and all other duties and responsibilities 

as determined and assigned by the Governor. 

While the Commonwealth Chief Transformation Officer's 

work will stretch across all government, he shall begin his 

work with a review of the operations of the Virginia 

Employment Commission and the Virginia Department of 

Motor Vehicles. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by further executive order or directive. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 15th day of January, 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIX (2022) 

Reinvigorating Job Growth by Removing 
Burdensome Regulations from Virginia's Business 

Community 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

issue this Executive Order to ensure Virginia is open for 

business.  

Importance of the Initiative  

Businesses across the Commonwealth of Virginia faced 

unprecedented challenges throughout the COVID-19 

pandemic. From government mandated closures, lockdowns, 

and restrictions to supply chain disruptions to staffing 

shortages, the effects of the pandemic undoubtedly made 

running a business in Virginia more difficult. Unfortunately, 

our government contributed to these difficulties. 

The "Permanent Standard for Infectious Disease Prevention of 

the SARS-CoV-2 Virus That Causes COVID-19," as 

implemented by the Safety and Health Codes Board, is not 

having a measurable impact on preventing the spread of 

COVID-19 while presenting a significant burden on 

businesses. Overly burdensome and time-consuming training 

requirements for employees inhibit the hiring of new workers. 

Conflicting state and federal regulations cause confusion. 

Unnecessary restrictions impede daily activities. 

Further, it appears the "Permanent Standard for Infectious 

Disease Prevention of the SARS-CoV-2 Virus That Causes 

COVID-19" was not enacted consistent with the 

Administrative Process Act as required by law and, in any 

event, was adopted in a rushed process that provided limited 

opportunity for the public to review and comment on the 

proposed permanent regulations. It is critical that a standard 

such as this, which substantially impacts the lives and legal 

rights of our businesses and our citizens, be enacted through a 

process consistent with the law and the democratic principles 

fundamental to our Commonwealth. 

The Department of Labor and Industry has many important 

responsibilities in protecting the interests of Virginia's 

workers, and our government and our businesses must work 

together to combat COVID-19. 

However, regulations that do little to protect our citizens while 

imposing heavy burdens on our businesses are not in the best 

interest of our Commonwealth. This is particularly true when 

a regulation substantially impacts the legal rights our business 

and our citizens and is of questionable legality. Under these 

circumstances, to protect the rights of the citizens of our 

Commonwealth, our government should focus its limited 

resources on enforcement activities that further the interests of 

our citizens. 

Directive  

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, by Article 

V, Sections 1 and 7 of the Constitution of Virginia, and by 

§ 2.2-103 of the Code of Virginia, I direct the following: 

1. The Safety and Health Codes Board is to convene an 

emergency meeting of their membership to discuss whether 

there is a continued need for the "Permanent Standard for 

Infectious Disease Prevention of the SARS-CoV-2 Virus 

That Causes COVID-19." The board is directed to consider 

federal action in regard to the Occupational Safety and 

Health Administration Emergency Temporary Standard. 

The Board should report its findings to the Governor within 

30 days. 

2. The Board and the Department of Labor of Industry is 

directed to seek guidance from the Office of the Attorney 

General regarding whether the proper legal and 

administrative procedures were followed during adoption 

and promulgation of the Permanent Standards. 

3. As a matter of enforcement discretion, all Virginia 

Agencies of the Commonwealth under my authority are 

directed to focus their limited resources on enforcement 

activities that have the most impact with the least burden on 

our business and citizens. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by future executive order or directive. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 15th day of January, 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 
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EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVEN (2022) 

Establishing the Commission on Human Trafficking 
Prevention and Survivor Support 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

issue this Executive Order establishing a commission to 

prevent human trafficking and provide support to its victims. 

Importance of the Initiative 

Human trafficking is a global epidemic. Through force, fraud, 

or coercion, criminals exploit men, women, and children into 

sex trafficking and forced labor. Around the world, at any 

given moment, an estimated 24.9 million people are victims of 

this criminal exploitation. Our Commonwealth has not been 

spared from the reach of these abhorrent crimes. According to 

Polaris, a nonprofit resource and advocacy center combating 

human trafficking, there were 179 cases of trafficking and 

seventy-seven traffickers identified in Virginia in 2019 alone. 

Virginia is committed to ending the scourge of human 

trafficking. Each day, our law enforcement officers and court 

systems work to apprehend, prosecute, and bring to justice 

those responsible for the exploitation of their fellow human 

beings. The conviction of human traffickers, restitution for 

their victims, and assistance for the survivors remains a top 

public safety priority for the Commonwealth. We must remain 

proactive in our efforts and ensure the dedicated professionals 

who work tirelessly to combat human trafficking are equipped 

with the tools necessary to win this fight. 

Establishment of the Commission 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as 

Governor, under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and 

§§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, and subject to

my continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to act

in such matters, I hereby establish the Human Trafficking

Prevention and Survivor Support Commission (Commission).

Composition and Support of the Commission 

The Governor will appoint the members and chair(s) of the 

Commission; the Sex Trafficking Response Coordinator will 

also participate in the Commission. 

The Governor will select survivors of human trafficking, law 

enforcement officers, prosecutors, experts, and scholars with 

knowledge of and/or experience with human trafficking, and 

victims of human trafficking. In carrying out its duties, the 

Commission may appoint working groups as it deems 

appropriate, and may solicit participation from relevant subject 

matter experts, law enforcement, practitioners, and analysts.  

Staff support for the Commission will be provided by the 

Office of the Governor and any other agencies or offices as 

may be designated by the Governor. An estimated 250 hours 

of staff time will be required to support the work of the 

Commission. No direct costs are expected for the work of the 

Commission. 

Duties of the Commission 

The Commission will be responsible for coordinating with the 

Secretary of Public Safety, the Secretary of Education, the 

Secretary of Labor, the Office of Attorney General, as well as 

the State Coordinator and any other federal, state, local, or 

private sector entity to accomplish the following goals: 

1. Increase enforcement by:

a. Coordinating with state and local law enforcement,

Commonwealth's Attorneys, and U.S. Attorneys to increase

prosecution and seek jail time as opposed to just fines for

those who solicit prostitution;

b. Increasing targeting of illicit massage businesses by

coordinating with local law enforcement, private property

owners, regulatory boards, and increasing investigation into

tax compliance;

c. Collaborating with authorities to ensure social media and

technology companies actively fight trafficking on their

platforms;

d. Ensuring all law enforcement officers are thoroughly

trained in identifying trafficking cases and protocols for

working with victims;

2. Empower survivors by:

a. Partnering with nonprofits and the private sector to

increase the provision of resources survivors need for

mental and behavioral recovery and wellness;

b. Fostering public private partnerships to educate, train, and

empower survivors towards a career path;

c. Fostering public private partnerships to assist victims in

securing temporary and long-term housing options.

3. Enhance education by:

a. Increasing awareness of the signs of potential trafficking

and appropriate ways to intervene, including for teachers

and school officials;

b. Requiring schools to provide online safety training and

education;

c. Expanding awareness of the National Trafficking Hotline

and other resources for victims to report and receive

assistance to escape trafficking.

The Commission and its subgroups will meet upon the call of 

the Chair(s) and will issue an interim report with its findings 

and recommendations no later than September 1, 2022, and any 

additional reports and recommendations as necessary or as 

requested by the Governor. This report may also include a 

proposed framework for the continuation of the Commission's 

work. The Commission's findings and recommendations will 

be distributed to promote best practices across the 

Commonwealth. 
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Effective Date of the Executive Order  

This Executive Order shall be effective upon signing and shall 

remain in full force and effect for one year from its signing, 

unless amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 15th day of January, 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER EIGHT (2022) 

Establishing the Commission to Combat 
Antisemitism 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

issue this Executive Order establishing a commission to 

combat antisemitism in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Importance of the Initiative  

The Commonwealth of Virginia has been a pioneer for 

religious freedom since the earliest days of our nation. 

Tomorrow, January 16, 2022, will be the 236th anniversary of 

the Virginia General Assembly enacting the Virginia Statute 

for Religious Freedom; promising that no man "shall otherwise 

suffer on account of his religious opinions or belief." These 

words – as important today as when first written – remain 

enshrined in our Constitution and provide the basis of our 

enduring commitment to religious tolerance and equality. 

Our nation and our Commonwealth have seen an intolerable 

rise in antisemitism in recent years. Antisemitism, as defined 

by the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance, "is a 

certain perception of Jews, which may be expressed as hatred 

toward Jews. Rhetorical and physical manifestations of 

antisemitism are directed toward Jewish or non-Jewish 

individuals and/or their property, toward Jewish community 

institutions and religious facilities." Sadly, in 2020, Virginians 

experienced a record number of antisemitic incidents. This 

disturbing trend has brought to the forefront the necessity of a 

targeted effort to combat the rising threat of antisemitism and 

ensure all Virginians are free to live their lives without the 

threat of harassment, violence, or discrimination. Every 

manifestation of antisemitism or Holocaust denial is an affront 

to our society and will not be accepted in the Commonwealth 

of Virginia. 

Virginia must once again lead the way in ensuring religious 

freedom and equality for all citizens. We must reaffirm our 

commitment to stand against hatred and intolerance, and 

develop an actionable plan to combat antisemitism in our 

Commonwealth. A commission will help us better understand 

the scourge of antisemitism and represents a meaningful first 

step towards ensuring a Commonwealth free from antisemitic 

harassment, violence, or discrimination in the lives of Jewish 

Virginians. 

Establishment of the Commission to Combat Antisemitism  

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as 

Governor, under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and 

§§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, and subject to 

my continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to act 

in such matters, I hereby establish the Commission to Combat 

Antisemitism (Commission). 

The purpose of this Commission is to study antisemitism in the 

Commonwealth, propose actions to combat antisemitism and 

reduce the number of antisemitic incidents, as well as compile 

materials and provide assistance to Virginia's public school 

system and state institutions of higher education in relation to 

antisemitism and its connection to the Holocaust. 

The Commission shall make recommendations to the 

Governor and General Assembly with the goal of identifying 

ways to reverse increasing antisemitic incidents in the 

Commonwealth. 

Composition and Support of the Commission  

The Governor will appoint the members and Chair(s) of the 

commission. The Governor will select community and faith 

leaders, experts, and scholars with experience of and/or 

knowledge of antisemitism. 

The Governor may appoint other members at any time to carry 

out the assigned functions of the Commission. The 

Commission will have an advisory role and the members will 

serve without compensation, in accordance with § 2.2- 2100 of 

the Code of Virginia. In carrying out its duties, the 

Commission may appoint working groups as it deems 

appropriate, and may solicit participation from relevant subject 

matter experts, practitioners, and analysts. 

Staff support for the Commission will be provided by the 

Office of the Governor and any other agencies or offices as 

may be designated by the Governor. An estimated 250 hours 

of staff time will be required to support the work of the 

Commission. No direct costs are expected for the work of the 

Commission. 

Duties of the Commission  

The Commission will meet upon the call of the Chair(s) and 

will issue an interim report with its findings and 

recommendations no later than December 1, 2022, 

International Holocaust Remembrance Day, and any additional 

reports and recommendations as necessary or as requested by 

the Governor. This report may also include a proposed 

framework for the continuation of the Commission's work. The 

Commission's findings and recommendations will be 

distributed to promote best practices across the 

Commonwealth. 
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Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon signing and shall 

remain in full force and effect for one year from its signing, 

unless amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 15th day of January 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER NINE (2022) 

Protecting Ratepayers from the Rising Cost of 
Living Due to the Regional Greenhouse Gas 

Initiative 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, I hereby 

issue this Executive Order to re-evaluate Virginia's 

participation in the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative and 

immediately begin regulatory processes to end it.  

Importance of the Initiative 

Reliable and affordable access to electricity is imperative to the 

health and safety of all Virginians. Our hospitals, schools, 

businesses, and homes all rely on this essential service. And 

the unpredictable and rising cost of electricity poses a 

significant and immediate threat to our Commonwealth and its 

citizens. In 2019, alone, over 100,000 Virginian households 

required Energy Assistance with a cost of $46 million to the 

Commonwealth. 

Virginia's participation in the Regional Greenhouse Gas 

Initiative (RGGI) risks contributing to the increased cost of 

electricity for our citizens. Virginia's utilities have sold over 

$227 million in allowances in 2021 during the RGGI auctions, 

doubling the initial estimates. Those utilities are allowed to 

pass on the costs of purchasing allowances to their ratepayers. 

Under the initial bill "RGGI rider" created for Dominion 

Energy customers, typical residential customer bills were 

increased by $2.39 a month and the typical industrial customer 

bill by was raised by $1,554 per month. In a filling before the 

State Corporation Commission, Dominion Energy stated that 

RGGI will cost ratepayers between $1 billion and $1.2 billion 

over the next four years. 

Simply stated, the benefits of RGGI have not materialized, 

while the costs have skyrocketed. Re-evaluation of the 

Initiative represents a meaningful step toward alleviating this 

financial burden on the Commonwealth's businesses and 

households. Regulations must be evaluated in view of the costs 

and benefits to all Virginians. 

Directive 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as the 

Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth, and pursuant 

to Article V of the Constitution and the laws of Virginia, I 

hereby direct the Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, in coordination with the Secretary of Natural and 

Historic Resources, to take the following actions in accordance 

with the provisions and requirements of § 10.1-1300, et seq. 

and § 2.2-4000, et seq. of the Code of Virginia: 

1. Provide me a full report re-evaluating the costs and benefits

of participation in the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative Inc.

in view of all available data, within 30 days.

2. During this same period, develop a proposed emergency

regulation for the State Air Pollution Control Board's

consideration to repeal 9VAC5-140.

3. During this same period, take all necessary steps to so that

any proposed regulation to the State Air Pollution Control

Board can be immediately presented for consideration for

approval for public comment in accordance with the Board's

authority pursuant to § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

4. During this same period, notify the Regional Greenhouse

Gas Initiative Inc. (RGGI Inc.) of the review and the

Governor's intent to withdraw from RGGI, whether by

legislative or regulatory action.

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by further executive order or directive. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 15th day of January 2022. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 
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Guidance DocumentsALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Title of Document: Definitions for the words "designer" and 

"vintage" as they are used within the context of 3VAC5-70-

230 of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 Freight 

Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-4698, 

or email latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: 2021 Edition of the NGRI Manual: Guidelines 

for the Management of Individuals Found Not Guilty By Reason 

of Insanity (NGRI). 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 4th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, or email 

ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Titles of Documents: Guidance for the Development of 

Postsecondary Goals. 

Assessment Requirements for Virginia Licensure. 

Special Education and Related Services in Local and Regional 

Jails: Guidelines for Best Practice. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Regulatory and Legal 

Coordinator, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

25th Floor, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-2540, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Document: Virginia Homeless and Special Needs Housing 

Funding Guidelines, 2022-2024. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Title of Document: A Guidance Document to Supplement 

6VAC35-210, the Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 

Direct Care and Security Employees in Juvenile Correctional 

Centers. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Ken Davis, Regulatory Affairs Coordinator, 

Department of Juvenile Justice, 600 East Main Street, 20th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 807-0486, or email 

kenneth.davis@djj.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF RAIL AND PUBLIC 
TRANSPORTATION 

Title of Document: Commuter Assistance Program Strategic 

Plan Requirements and Guidance. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 2, 2022. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Andrew Wright, Senior Legislative and 

Policy Specialist, Department of Rail and Public 

Transportation, 600 East Main Street, Suite 2102, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 241-0301, or email 

andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/999/GDoc_ABC_6064_20220112.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/999/GDoc_ABC_6064_20220112.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/999/GDoc_ABC_6064_20220112.pdf
mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/720/GDoc_DBHDS_6061_20211230.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/720/GDoc_DBHDS_6061_20211230.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/720/GDoc_DBHDS_6061_20211230.pdf
mailto:ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6058_20211229.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6058_20211229.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6059_20211230.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6060_20211230.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_6060_20211230.pdf
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_6063_20220112.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_6063_20220112.pdf
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/777/GDoc_DJJ_4869_20210613.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/777/GDoc_DJJ_4869_20210613.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/777/GDoc_DJJ_4869_20210613.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/777/GDoc_DJJ_4869_20210613.pdf
mailto:Kenneth.Davis@djj.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_6062_20220111.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_6062_20220111.pdf
mailto:andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS 

Board for Branch Pilots Regulatory Review 
Committee Meeting Minutes 

The Virginia Board for Branch Pilots Regulatory Review 

Committee met on Friday, December 10, 2021, at the Virginia 

Port Authority, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk, Virginia, 

with the following members present: Aaron Anseeuw, Captain 

E. Waightstill Avery, Michael W. Coleman, Captain January

N. Collins.

Staff present for all or part of the meeting were: Mary Broz-

Vaughan, Director, Tom Payne, Deputy Director, Kathleen R. 

Nosbisch, Executive Director, Amy Goobic, Executive 

Assistant. 

Elizabeth Peay was present from the Office of the Attorney 

General. 

Members of the Audience included: Captain J.W. Whiting 

Chisman, III, and Mark Coberly, Manager, Maritime Law 

Department, Representative from Vandeventer Black. 

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 12:00 p.m. 

Public Comment Period: There were no public comments. 

Election of Chair: The floor was opened for nominations for 

Chair. Captain Avery nominated Mr. Coleman as Chair. 

Captain Collins seconded the motion. Mr. Coleman accepted 

the nomination. There were no additional nominations for 

Chair. There being none, the floor was closed for nominations. 

The motion was unanimously approved by: Messrs., Mme. and 

Captains: Anseeuw, Avery, Coleman, and Collins. By 

acclamation, Mr. Coleman was name Chair. 

Regulatory Review: Ms. Broz-Vaughan informed the 

Committee that Board regulations are required to have a 

"Periodic Review" every four years. The Board for Branch 

Pilots last conducted periodic review in 2019, with the Board 

voting to take no action ("retain as is"). Ms. Broz-Vaughan 

further stated that there have been no changes to the 

regulations, other than "exempt actions," since 2012. The 

Board formed this Committee at its last meeting to initiate a 

comprehensive regulatory review through the standard, three-

stage process. 

Mr. Coleman indicated he had concerns with the changes in 

regulatory language required by SB 1406, related to 

misdemeanor marijuana-related convictions, and that the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website indicated "Board 

Action" in the heading when no vote was taken by the Board. 

Ms. Broz-Vaughan stated that she would confer with the 

Registrar's office to determine the appropriate course of action. 

The Committee requested DPOR and the Attorney General's 

Office to provide information, including Virginia Code 

references, that requires action from the board to amend 

regulations to comply with changes to marijuana related 

offenses, and specifically what changes are required, and to 

advise of any exceptions. In addition, the Committee requested 

clarification if out-of-state marijuana related misdemeanor 

convictions can be considered; if the law specifically requires 

the board to ignore any and all misdemeanor marijuana related 

drug charges in issuance of a license; and to advise of any 

conflicts it may pose with federal law and pilot licensing. 

Lastly, the Committee discussed and requested to receive 

clarification about the board's four-year periodic review as 

required by law or executive order and this regulatory review 

process. 

The Committee determined that the exempt action changes 

made to the regulations effective December 1, 2021, were 

invalid as they were not voted on by the board. There is no 

provision in the law that initiated these changes automatically. 

The Committee requested information be sent to the board 

regarding the disposition, and which set of regulations are 

currently effective. 

Ms. Nosbisch stated that the Committee should meet again 

prior to the March 15, 2022, board meeting. A tentative date of 

February 17, 2022, was set. 

Adjourn: The meeting adjourned at 12:15 p.m. 

Contact Information: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive 

Director, Board for Branch Pilots, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX 

(866) 465-6206.

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Blue Orchard Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Carroll County 

Blue Orchard Solar LLC, has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Carroll County, Virginia. Blue 

Orchard Solar LLC will be located in Cana, Virginia where 

Bear Trail forms a portion of the western boundary and Flint 

Hill Road and Caution Tape Road traverse the central portion 

of the tract. The project is located on two parcels totaling 

approximately 96 acres with the following coordinates: 

Latitude: 36.634542, Longitude: -80.648119. The project will 

have a rated capacity of 10 megawatts alternating current and 

use approximately 26,596 photovoltaic solar panels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-

2665, FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
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Buckhorn Mountain Solar Project Notice of Intent 
for Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - 

Tazewell County 

Buckhorn Mountain Solar Project has provided the 

Department of Environmental Quality a notice of intent to 

submit the necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Tazewell County, Virginia. 

Buckhorn Mountain Solar Project will be located midway 

between the communities of Tazewell and Gratton on State 

Route 61 on one465-acre parcel with the following 

coordinates: Latitude: 37.123700, Longitude: -81.462450. The 

project will have a rated capacity of 16.5 megawatts alternating 

current and use approximately 44,680 photovoltaic solar 

panels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-

2665, FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Fairy Stone Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Patrick County 

Fairy Stone Solar LLC, has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Patrick County, Virginia. Fairy Stone 

Solar LLC will be located in the City of Stuart on two adjoining 

parcels for a total of approximately 169 acres with the 

following coordinates: Latitude: 36.628942, Longitude: -

80.242878. The project will have a rated capacity of 12 

megawatts alternating current and use approximately 33,500 

photovoltaic solar panels supported by 17 separate metal skids 

supported by driven piles. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-

2665, FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

River Trail Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Carroll County 

River Trail Solar LLC, has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Carroll County, Virginia. River Trail 

Solar LLC, will be located in the city of Galax on three 

adjoining parcels for a total of approximately 389 acres with 

the following coordinates: Latitude: 36.715243, Longitude: -

80.895323. The project will have a rated capacity of 20 

megawatts alternating current and use approximately 56,500 

photovoltaic solar panels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-

2665, FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Nursing Facility Value Based Purchasing Program 
Methodology 

In 2021, the Virginia General Assembly directed the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 

establish a nursing facility (NF) value-based purchasing (VBP) 

program designed to improve the quality of care furnished to 

Medicaid members to begin by July 1, 2022. DMAS has posted 

the document "Final DMAS SFY 2023 NF VBP Program 

Methodology" on the website to outline the program for state 

fiscal year 2023. The document can be found at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/4207/final-dmas-sfy-

2023-nf-vbp-program-methodology.pdf. 

Contact Information: Pooja Seth, Project Manager for the NF 

VBP Program, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

638-7718, or email ovbp@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Global Auto Parts Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Global Auto 

Parts Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the Global Auto Parts facility located in 

Woodford, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes 

to issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with 

the Global Auto Parts facility. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The staff 

contact will accept comments by email or postal mail from 

February 1, 2022, through March 3, 2022. 

Contact Information: Mark Miller, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

mark.miller@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Rappahannock 
Regional Solid Waste Management Board 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the 

Rappahannock Regional Solid Waste Management Board for 

violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations and 

applicable permit at the R-Board Landfill located in Stafford 

County, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/4207/final-dmas-sfy-2023-nf-vbp-program-methodology.pdf
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/4207/final-dmas-sfy-2023-nf-vbp-program-methodology.pdf
mailto:ovbp@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Mark.Miller@deq.virginia.gov
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available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The staff 

contact will accept comments by email or postal mail from 

February 1, 2022, through March 3, 2022. 

Contact Information: Jim Datko, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

james.datko@deq.virgnia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:james.datko@deq.virgnia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality Standards. 

Publication: 38:11 VA.R. 948 January 17, 2022. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 948, under "Public Hearing Information:" add 

"March 1, 2022 - 2 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, 

Harrisonburg, VA" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6555; Filed January 19, 2022, 3:44 p.m. 
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