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THE VIRGINIA REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published
quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and
as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register.
In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations,
executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on
regulations.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal
regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act
(8 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first
publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to
the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an
opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed
regulation.

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days.
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary
to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and
easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar
of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published
in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the
60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation.

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing
committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the
promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia
Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection,
the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative
body, and the Governor.

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of
the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in
the Virginia Register.

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to
or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General
Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members
of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the
Virginia Register.

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may
require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on
the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06
of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit
additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30
days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency
determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact.

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption
period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless
(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the
expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his
authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the
Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and
the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days
from publication of the readopted action.

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any
time before the regulation becomes final.

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations
deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the
Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the
date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the
process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1.

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt
emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal
regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its
enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of
Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in
duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances
noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website
at register.dls.virgina.gov.

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the
Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations,
the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires.

STATEMENT

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined
carefully.

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8
VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763
through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on
December 11, 2017.

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair;
James A. Leftwich, Jr., Vice-Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk;
Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven
Popps; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade; Wren
M. Williams.

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne
Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst;
Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations
Staff Assistant.
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES

This schedule is available on the Virginia Register of Regulations website (http://register.dls.virginia.gov).

Volume: Issue

39:22
39:23
39:24
39:25
39:26
40:1
40:2
40:3
40:4
40:5
40:6
40:7
40:8
40:9
40:10
40:11
40:12
40:13
40:14
40:15
40:16
40:17
40:18
40:19
40:20
40:21
40:22
40:23

June 2023 through July 2024

Material Submitted By Noon*

Will Be Published On

May 31, 2023

June 14, 2023

June 28, 2023

July 12, 2023

July 26, 2023
August 9, 2023
August 23, 2023
September 6, 2023
September 20, 2023
October 4, 2023
October 18, 2023
November 1, 2023
November 14, 2023 (Tuesday)
November 29, 2023
December 13, 2023
December 27, 2023
January 10, 2024
January 24, 2024
February 7, 2024
February 21, 2024
March 6, 2024
March 20, 2024
April 3, 2024

April 17, 2024
May 1, 2024

May 15, 2024

May 29, 2024

June 12, 2024

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified.

June 19, 2023

July 3, 2023

July 17, 2023

July 31, 2023
August 14, 2023
August 28, 2023
September 11, 2023
September 25, 2023
October 9, 2023
October 23, 2023
November 6, 2023
November 20, 2023
December 4, 2023
December 18, 2023
January 1, 2024
January 15, 2024
January 29, 2024
February 12, 2024
February 26, 2024
March 11, 2024
March 25, 2024
April 8, 2024

April 22, 2024
May 6, 2024

May 20, 2024

June 3, 2024

June 17, 2024

July 1, 2024
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT
STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

Initial Agency Notice
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality Standards.
Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia.
Name of Petitioner: Clintwood JOD, LLC.

Nature of Petitioner's Request: On April 25, 2023, Clintwood
JOD, LLC (CJOD) petitioned the State Water Control Board
to promulgate a site-specific aquatic life ambient criterion for
selenium. Specifically, CJOD formally requests that the board
amend the existing surface water quality criteria for selenium
to allow a special standard (9VAC25-260-310) incorporating
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Recommended
Agquatic Life Ambient Water Quality Criterion for Selenium in
Freshwater, as published in 81 FR 45285-45287 (July 13,
2016) and revised in August 2021. CJOD requests that the
special standard be applicable to the following tributaries to
Knox Creek: Race Fork, Pounding Mill Creek, Right Fork of
Lester Fork, and Abner Fork. The reaches included in this
petition fall within Knox Creek, a sub-watershed of the Tug
Fork watershed that encompasses approximately 97.8 square
miles of Buchanan County (19% of the county). The Virginia
portion of the Knox Creek watershed makes up 6.2% of the
Tug Fork watershed, with the remainder downstream in
Kentucky and West Virginia.

CJOD currently holds and operates 15 surface and deep-
mining permits in the Commonwealth of Virginia under the
Virginia Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regulations
(4VAC25-130). Each of these operations is also authorized
under a National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System
permit issued by Virginia Department of Energy's Mined Land
Repurposing Division with oversight by EPA. Six of CJOD's
operations are currently permitted to discharge into the reaches
defined in this petition, one of which is currently under a
schedule of compliance for selenium. As these mining
operations are permitted activities that generate its primary
source of revenue, CJOD has an interest in the requested
action.

CJOD's need for the proposed amendment is directly related to
the continuation of its mining operations. Virginia's current
water quality criteria for selenium are over 30 years old. EPA's
recommended criteria reflect the latest scientific knowledge
and provide a more updated method of evaluating selenium
impacts to surface waters.

Additional considerations when evaluating the requested
amendment are standards associated with downstream waters.
The most downstream reach requested for consideration is
Race Fork. The confluence of Race Fork and Knox Creek is
approximately 3.9 stream miles from Kentucky and 11.8
stream miles from West Virginia. Both Kentucky and West

Virginia have established aquatic life ambient water quality
criteria that were modeled after EPA's recommended criterion.
If the petition is found to be reasonable, CJOD asks that the
Department of Environmental Quality support utilizing EPA's
criterion with any implementation guidance modeled after the
approved West Virginia guidance to provide consistency with
the remainder of the watershed as that guidance has been
reviewed and approved by EPA Region 3.

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: A 21-day public
comment period is being announced in the Virginia Register of
Regulations. Upon completion of the public comment period,
the State Water Control Board will consider the petition at a
future meeting and decide whether or not to move forward with
the rulemaking.

Public Comment Deadline: June 26, 2023.

Agency Contact: David Whitehurst, Department of
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400,
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 774-
9180, or email david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. PFR23-29; Filed May 4, 2023, 2:36 p.m.

* L 4

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF MEDICINE

Initial Agency Notice

Title of Requlation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing
the Practice of Physician Assistants.

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Name of Petitioner: Jonathan Williams, Virginia Academy of
Physician Assistants.

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the
Board of Medicine amend subdivision 1 of 18VAC85-50-110
to state that the patient care team physician or podiatrist shall
provide appropriate consultation or collaboration for complex
clinical cases and patient emergencies as noted in the written
or electronic practice agreement for the patient evaluation
process.

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for
rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of
Regulations on June 5, 2023. The petition will also be
published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at
www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which
will open on June 5, 2023, and will close on July 5, 2023. The
board will consider the petition and all comments in support or
opposition at the next meeting after the close of public
comment, currently scheduled for August 4, 2023. The
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Petitions for Rulemaking

petitioner will be notified of the board's decision after that
meeting.

Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico,
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, or email
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR23-31; Filed May 12, 2023, 4:16 p.m.

Initial Agency Notice

Title of Requlation: 18VACB85-50. Regulations Governing
the Practice of Physician Assistants.

Statutory Authority: 8 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Name of Petitioner: Jonathan Williams, Virginia Academy of
Physician Assistants.

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the
Board of Medicine amend 18VAC85-50-160 A to remove the
requirement that the patient care team physician's name be
included on any prescription for Schedule I1-V drugs.

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for
rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of
Regulations on June 5, 2023. The petition will also be
published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at
www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which
will open on June 5, 2023, and will close on July 5, 2023. The
board will consider the petition and all comments in support or
opposition at the next meeting after the close of public
comment, currently scheduled for August 4, 2023. The
petitioner will be notified of the board's decision after that
meeting.

Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico,
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, or email
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. PFR23-32; Filed May 12, 2023, 4:18 p.m.

Initial Agency Notice

Title of Requlation: 18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing
the Practice of Radiologic Technology.

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Name of Petitioner: Jeffrey LaPole.

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the
Board of Medicine amend 18VAC85-101-92 to permit remote
supervision of radiologist assistants for minimally invasive
procedures and diagnostic imaging.

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for
rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of

Regulations on June 5, 2023. The petition will also be
published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at
www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which
will open on June 5, 2023, and will close on July 5, 2023. The
board will consider the petition and all comments in support or
opposition at the next meeting after the close of public
comment, currently scheduled for August 4, 2023. The
petitioner will be notified of the board's decision after that
meeting.

Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico,
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, or email
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR23-30; Filed May 8, 2023, 9:12 a.m.
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE
STATE MILK COMMISSION

Report of Findings

Pursuant to 88 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of
Virginia, the State Milk Commission conducted a periodic
review and a small business impact review of 2VAC15-20,
Regulations for the Control and Supervision of Virginia's
Milk Industry, and determined that this regulation should be
retained as is. The commission is publishing its report of
findings dated October 4, 2022, to support this decision.

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health,
safety, and welfare in that it ensures that Virginians will have
an adequate supply of milk and that farmers receive a fair price
for their milk. The regulation is clearly written and easily
understandable.

The commission has determined that the regulation should stay
in effect without change because it is necessary to adequately
maintain a stable milk market and is effective in its current
format. No changes to agency or industry practices have
occurred that would necessitate any modifications.

The Southeastern United States, including Virginia, is not
considered ideal for dairying due to the summer heat and
humidity. The regulation provides for some incentive for dairy
farms, many of which are small businesses, to continue to
operate within the state, as the regulation allows for farms that
own milk quota to be paid an amount greater than the price
established by the federal government.

There have been no complaints from the public concerning the
regulation. The regulation is not unnecessarily complex. There
is no overlap with the federal or state law or regulations. The
commission has determined that no changes have occurred in
the area affected by this regulation since the last periodic
review that would make it necessary to amend or repeal the
regulation. The commission has determined that the current
version of the regulation is consistent with current industry
practices and is the least burdensome and least intrusive
alternative.

Contact Information: Crafton Wilkes, Administrator, State
Milk Commission, Oliver Hill Building, 102 Governor Street,
Room 206, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2013,
or email crafton.wilkes@vdacs.virginia.gov.

* *

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT
VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD

Agency Notice

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and 8§ 2.2-4007.1 and
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is
undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact
review: 9VAC20-130, Solid Waste Planning and Recycling
Regulations. The review of this regulation will be guided by
the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a
periodic review is to determine whether this regulation should
be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public
comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this
regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for
the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the
economical performance of important governmental functions;
(if) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a
manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law;
and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable.

Public comment period begins June 5, 2023, and ends June 26,
2023.

Comments must include the commenter's name and address
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted
on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the
Virginia Register of Regulations.

Contact Information: Sanjay Thirunagari, Programs Manager,
Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street,
Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 659-1532.

* L 4

TITLE 12. HEALTH

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES

Report of Findings

Pursuant to 88 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of
Virginia, the State Board of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services conducted a periodic review and a
small business impact review of 12VAC35-250, Peer
Recovery Specialists, and determined that this regulation
should be retained as is. The board is publishing its report of
findings dated March 20, 2023, to support this decision.

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health,
safety, and welfare. The regulation provides administrative
structure for Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services (DBHDS) qualifications, education,
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Periodic Reviews and Small Business Impact Reviews

and experience for peer recovery specialists to ensure that
individuals providing peer recovery services in Virginia’s
public system of behavioral health services demonstrate a
baseline of practical knowledge. The availability of peer
recovery specialist services was expanded through the Virginia
Medicaid Addiction and Recovery Treatment Services new
substance use disorder benefit. Peer support resources are an
integral component of community integration, wellness,
resiliency, and recovery.

Comprehensive behavioral health is essential to population
health and cost containment. Behavioral health issues add to
medical care costs and individuals with mental illness or
substance use disorders or co-occurring mental illness and
substance use disorders have higher medical care costs as much
as those without them. Peer recovery services help decrease
reliance on institutions and increase focus on community
services. The services also facilitate integration of behavioral
health and primary care, as well as housing, employment,
schools, and social services.

The regulation is clearly written and understandable as
evidenced by the number of persons who have followed the
requirements to become Peer Recovery Specialists in Virginia.
The board has decided to retain the regulation as is. Since the
emergency regulation took effect, 1,155 of peers have become
peer recovery specialists. The language was designed to work
seamlessly with related regulations from the Department of
Medical Assistance Services and the Department of Health
Professions; this has proven to be a successful structure.

No comments were received concerning the regulation during
the periodic review. The regulation makes clear who shall be
deemed a peer recovery specialist in Virginia. The regulation
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law
or regulation.

This is the first periodic review since the regulation became
effective. Technology, economic conditions, and other factors
have not changed in the area affected by the regulation. The
board's decision, consistent with applicable law, will minimize
the economic impact of this regulation on small businesses in
Virginia. Retaining the regulation as established on March 6,
2019, will ensure continuity for providers. Any change to the
current regulation could result in an economic impact as
providers would be responsible for ensuring that peer recovery
specialists meet the qualifications established in the regulation.
Therefore, the decision to retain the regulation as currently
written minimizes costs to small businesses.

Contact Information: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of
Regulatory Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank
Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-
2252.

* *

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES
STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Agency Notice

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and 8§ 2.2-4007.1 and
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is
undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact
review: 22VAC40-400, Funding Limitations for the
Refugee Resettlement Program. The review of this
regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order
19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review is to determine
whether this regulation should be repealed, amended, or
retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the
review of any issue relating to this regulation, including
whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of
public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical
performance of important governmental functions; (ii)
minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a
manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law;
and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable.

Public comment period begins June 5, 2023, and ends June 26,
2023.

Comments must include the commenter's name and address
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted
on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the
Virginia Register of Regulations.

Contact Information: Seyoum Berhe, State Refugee
Coordinator, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7927.
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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL
RESOURCES

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when
promulgating regulations regarding the management of
wildlife.

Title of Reqgulation. 4VAC15-20. Definitions and
Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-66,
4VAC15-20-130).

Statutory Authority: 88 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

May 25, 2023 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources,
7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia
23228.

Public Comment Deadline: May 24, 2023.

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife
Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park
Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email
cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov.

Summary:

Pursuant to Chapters 33 and 34 of the 2022 Acts of
Assembly, one of the proposed amendments removes the
requirement for a permit to use a department-owned boat
access site. Additional proposed amendments update the
version of the Federal Endangered and Threatened
Species List incorporated by reference into the regulation
and update the Virginia-specific list of endangered and
threatened species by removing the sickle darter and
Atlantic pigtoe mussel, which are now included on the
federal list.

4VAC15-20-66. Admittance, parking, or other use fee at
certain department-owned and department-managed
facilities.

A. Pursuant to the authority of the board under subdivision 14
of § 29.1-103 (24} of the Code of Virginia and in accordance
with § 29.1-113 of the Code of Virginia, a daily fee of $3.00 or
an annual fee equal to the price of an annual basic state resident
fishing or hunting license is established for admittance,
parking, or other use at department-owned or department-

managed lands;—beat-launch-sites; and public fishing lakes.
Such fee shall not apply to (i) any person holding a valid
hunting, trapping, or fishing license; or a current certificate of
boat registration issued by the department; (ii) persons 16 years

of age or younger or (|||) any—peesenwhat&a—passenger—mhut

the use of department owned boat ramps.

B. Any person violating this section may be assessed a civil
penalty of $50 in lieu of any criminal penalty.

C. The director may waive fees for any person, group, or
organization whenever such action is deemed to be in the
department's interest. Any or all facilities may be closed by the
director without notice due to an emergency or natural disaster.
Full refunds or credits may be issued whenever the closure
prevents any use of the facility during the term of the permit.
Partial refunds of fees may be made in the interest of providing
better customer service.

D. The director may allow deviations from established fees in
the form of discounts or special promotions for the purpose of
stimulating visitation and use of departmental facilities.

4VAC15-20-130. Endangered and threatened species;
adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated.

A. The board hereby adopts the Federal Endangered and
Threatened Species List, Endangered Species Act of December
28,1973 (16 USC 8§ 1531-1543), as amended as of AprH-36;
2021 December 28, 2022, and declares all species listed
thereon to be endangered or threatened species in the
Commonwealth. Pursuant to subdivision 12 of § 29.1-103 of
the Code of Virginia, the director of the department is hereby
delegated authority to propose adoption of modifications and
amendments to the Federal Endangered and Threatened
Species List in accordance with the procedures of §8§ 29.1-501
and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia.

B. In addition to the provisions of subsection A of this section,
the following species are declared endangered or threatened in
this Commonwealth; and are afforded the protection provided
by Article 6 (§ 29.1-563 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of
the Code of Virginia:

1. Fish:

Endangered:
Dace, Clinch Chrosomus sp. cf. saylori
Dace, Tennessee Phoxinus tennesseensis
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Darter, sharphead

Etheostoma acuticeps

Endangered:

Darter, variegate

Etheostoma variatum

Plover, Wilson's

Charadrius wilsonia

Sunfish, blackbanded

Enneacanthus chaetodon

Rail, black

Laterallus jamaicensis

Threatened:

Woodpecker, red-cockaded

Dryobates borealis

Darter, Carolina

Etheostoma collis

Wren, Bewick's

Thryomanes bewickii

Darter, golden

Etheostoma denoncourti

Threatened:

Darter, greenfin

Etheostoma chlorobranchium

Falcon, peregrine

Falco peregrinus

Dartersickle

- liamsi

Shrike, loggerhead

Lanius ludovicianus

Darter, western sand

Ammocrypta clara

Sparrow, Bachman's

Aimophila aestivalis

Madtom, orangefin

Noturus gilberti

Sparrow, Henslow's

Ammodramus henslowii

Paddlefish Polyodon spathula Tern, gull-billed Sterna nilotica
Shiner, emerald Notropis atherinoides 5. Mammals:
Shiner, steelcolor Cyprinella whipplei Endangered:

Shiner, whitemouth

Notropis alborus

2. Amphibians:

Bat, Rafinesque's eastern
big-eared

Corynorhinus rafinesquii
macrotis

Endangered:

Bat, little brown

Myotis lucifugus

Salamander, eastern tiger

Ambystoma tigrinum

Bat, tri-colored

Perimyotis subflavus

Threatened:

Hare, snowshoe

Lepus americanus

Salamander, Mabee's

Ambystoma mabeei

Shrew, American water

Sorex palustris

3. Reptiles:

Endangered:

Rattlesnake, canebrake
(Coastal Plain population of
timber rattlesnake)

Crotalus horridus

Turtle, bog

Glyptemys muhlenbergii

Turtle, eastern chicken

Deirochelys reticularia

Vole, rock Microtus chrotorrhinus
6. Mollusks:

Endangered:
Coil, rubble Helicodiscus lirellus
Coil, shaggy Helicodiscus diadema
Deertoe Truncilla truncata

Threatened:

Elephantear

Elliptio crassidens

Lizard, eastern glass

Ophisaurus ventralis

Elimia, spider

Elimia arachnoidea

Turtle, wood

Glyptemys insculpta

Floater, brook

Alasmidonta varicosa

4. Birds:

Ghostsnail, thankless

Holsingeria unthanksensis
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Heelsplitter, Tennessee

Lasmigona holstonia

Riversnail, spiny

lofluvialis

Lilliput, purple

Toxolasma lividus

Sandshell, black

Ligumia recta

Mussel, slippershell

Alasmidonta viridis

Supercoil, brown

Paravitrea septadens

Pigtoe, Ohio

Pleurobema cordatum

7. Arthropods:

Pigtoe, pyramid

Pleurobema rubrum

Threatened:

Springsnail, Appalachian

Fontigens bottimeri

Amphipod, Madison Cave

Stygobromus stegerorum

Springsnail (no common
name)

Fontigens morrisoni

Pseudotremia, Ellett Valley

Pseudotremia cavernarum

Supercoil, spirit

Paravitrea hera

Xystodesmid, Laurel Creek

Sigmoria whiteheadi

Threatened:

C. It shall be unlawful to take,

transport, process, sell, or offer

Floater, green

Lasmigona subviridis

law.

for sale within the Commonwealth any threatened or
endangered species of fish or wildlife except as authorized by

Papershell, fragile Leptodea fragilis D. The incidental take of certain species may occur in certain
- - ] ] circumstances and with the implementation of certain
: conservation practices as described in this subsection:
Pimpleback Quadrula pustulosa
Pistolgrip Tritogonia verrucosa
Expected
Species | Location | Allowable Circumstances Required Conservation Measures Incidental
Take
Little | Statewide | Human health risk — need for Between May 15 and August 31, no exclusion of bats Little to no
brown removal of individual animals from maternity colonies, except for human health direct
bat from human-habited structures. | concerns. lethal
Tri- Department-permitted nuisance wildlife control taking
colored operator with department-recognized certification in expected.
bat techniques associated with removal of bats.
Use of exclusion devices that allow individual animals
to escape.
Manual collection of individual animals incapable of
sustaining themselves; transport to a willing and
appropriately permitted wildlife rehabilitator.
Public safety or property Hibernacula: no tree removal, use of prescribed fire, or | Little to no
damage risk — need for tree other land management action within a 250-foot radius | direct
removal, application of buffer area from December 1 through April 30. lethal
prescribed fire, or other land Between September 1 and November 30, increase the taking
management actions affecting buffer to a 1/4-mile radius with the following expected.
known roosts; removal of conditions: for timber harvests greater than 20 acres,
animals from known roosts. retain snags and wolf trees (if not presenting public
safety or property risk) and small tree groups up to 15
trees of 3-inch diameter at breast height (dbh) or
greater, one tree group per 20 acres. Otherwise,
document the need (public safety, property damage
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risk) for tree removal during this period and verify that
no known roost trees exist in the buffer area. Tree
removal and prescribed fire are permitted outside of
these dates.

Known roost trees: no tree removal, use of prescribed
fire, or other land management action within a 150-foot
radius buffer area from June 1 through July 31, if
possible. Otherwise, document public safety or property
damage risk.

Department-permitted nuisance wildlife control
operator with department-recognized certification in
techniques associated with removal of bats.

Use of exclusion devices that allow individual animals
to escape.

Manual collection of individual animals incapable of
sustaining themselves; transport to a willing and
appropriately permitted wildlife rehabilitator.

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, April 2022,
Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources

toral | and Tl | Animal_Speci ‘
May-7-2019

Federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species as of
December 8, 2022

VAR. Doc. No. R23-7525; Filed May 15, 2023, 10:34 a.m.

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when
promulgating regulations regarding the management of
wildlife.

Title _of Requlation: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General
(amending 4VAC15-40-195, 4VAC15-40-276, 4VAC15-40-
285).
Statutory Authority: 88 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of
Virginia.
Public Hearing Information:

May 25, 2023 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources,

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia
23228.

Public Comment Deadline: May 24, 2023.

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife
Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park
Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email
cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) update trap visitation
requirements to incorporate current remote camera
monitoring technology; (ii) clarify and expand the parts of
legally harvested turkeys that may be offered for sale; and
(iii) clarify that feeding of deer is prohibited within
incorporated cities and towns located within any county
designated by the department to be within 25 miles of a
confirmed detection of Chronic Wasting Disease.

4VAC15-40-195. Visiting traps, generally; visiting
completely submerged, body-gripping traps; use of remote
trap check systems.

A. Except as provided in subsections B and C of this section,
it shall be unlawful to fail to visit all traps once each day and
remove all animals caught.

B. Body-gripping traps that are completely submerged by
water must be visited at least once every 72 hours.

C. Remote trap checking systems may be used in lieu of a
physical trap visit when such systems (i) have a control unit or
remote camera that reports trap status to a centralized
application database at least once every 24 hours; (ii) have
notification—alarms—thatreport provide notifications of trap
closures or activity at the trap site and system health issues
within one hour of detection via email and or text-based
messaging systems; and (iii) have on-demand controlunit
testing capabilities for determining trap-status; signal strength;
and battery condition via remote system check-in. If the control
unit reports a trap closure or the camera sends a photo with an
animal in a trap, the user is required to physically visit the trap
within 24 hours of the time the trap was reported closed or the
photo was received. If the control unit or camera fails to report
its current status within a 24-hour check-in period or reports a
system health issue, the user is required to physically check the
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trap within 24 hours of the last time-an-open-trap-signal-was

received communication with the device.

4VAC15-40-276. Sale of wild turkey and small game
animals and parts.

It shall be lawful for any person to purchase or sell skins,
pelts, skulls, bones, teeth, claws, feet, spurs, tails, hair,
feathers, taxidermy mounts, and other nonmeat parts of legally
taken and possessed rabbits, squirrels, bobwhite quail, ruffed
grouse, and pheasants, and wild turkey.

4VAC15-40-285. Unauthorized feeding of cervids.

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to place or distribute
food, salt, minerals, or similar substances to feed or attract
cervids (i) at any time in the Counties (including the cities and
towns within) of Buchanan, Dickenson, Wise, and in any
county (including the cities and towns within) designated by
the department within 25 miles of a confirmed detection of
Chronic Wasting Disease; (ii) during any deer or elk season
within any county, city, or town that allows deer or elk hunting;
and (iii) from September 1 through the first Saturday in
January, both dates inclusive, elsewhere in the
Commonwealth.

B. Any food, salt, minerals, or similar substances placed or
distributed to feed or attract cervids prior to September 1 must
be completely removed by September 1, and any area where
food, salt, minerals, or similar substances were placed or
distributed to feed or attract cervids shall be considered to be
baited for 10 days following the complete removal of the items
listed in this subsection.

C. Upon written notification by department personnel, no
person shall continue to place or distribute any food, salt,
mineral, or similar substances for any purpose if the placement
of these materials results in the attraction of or feeding of
cervids. After such notification, such person shall be in
violation of this section if the placing, distribution, or presence
of such food, salt, minerals, or similar substances continues.

D. No part of this regulation shall be construed to restrict bona
fide agronomic plantings (including wildlife food plots), bona
fide distribution of food to livestock, or wildlife management
activities conducted or authorized by the department.

VAR. Doc. No. R23-7526; Filed May 4, 2023, 4:00 p.m.

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to 8 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when
promulgating regulations regarding the management of
wildlife.

Titles of Regulations: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General
(adding 4VAC15-40-290; repealing 4VAC15-40-300).

4VAC15-50. Game:
4VAC15-50-91).

4VAC15-70. Game: Bobcat (repealing 4VAC15-70-70).

4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 4VAC15-90-500,
4VAC15-90-510; repealing 4VAC15-90-231, 4VAC15-90-
241).

4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey (repealing 4VAC15-240-81,
4VAC15-240-91).

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of

Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:
May 25, 2023 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources,
7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia
23228.

Public Comment Deadline: May 24, 2023.

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife
Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park
Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email
cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) combine reporting
requirements for a successful bear, deer, elk, or turkey kill
into a new, single regulatory section, 4VAC15-40-290; (ii)
repeal the eight sections that previously contained these
requirements; (iii) establish the requirements for
reporting the harvest of gray foxes and bobcat and include
those requirements in 4VAC15-40-290; and (iv) update
the harvest reporting for elk hunting inside and outside the
Elk Management Zone to reference 4VAC15-40-290.

4VAC15-40-290. Validating tags and reporting bear, deer,
elk, turkey, and bobcat.

Bear (repealing 4VAC15-50-81,

A. If a hunter holds a license or permit to kill a bear, deer, elk,
or turkey, the following apply:

1. The hunter killing a bear, deer, elk, or turkey shall, before
removing the carcass from the place of Kkill, validate an
appropriate tag on the hunter's special license for hunting
bear, special license for hunting deer and turkey, special elk
hunting license, bonus deer permit, or special permit by
completely removing the designated notch area from the
paper tag or by electronically notching a tag and reporting
the bear, deer, elk, or turkey using the department's mobile
harvest reporting application. Place of Kill shall be defined
as the location where the animal or bird is first reduced to
possession. It shall be unlawful for any person to validate
(i.e., notch) a paper tag prior to the killing of a bear, deer,
elk, or turkey. A paper tag that is mistakenly validated (i.e.,
notched) prior to the killing of a bear, deer, elk, or turkey
must be immediately voided by the licensee or permittee by
writing in ink the word "VOID" on the line provided on the
license or special permit tag. All electronically notched tags
are permanent and cannot be voided.
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2. Upon Kkilling a bear, deer, elk, or turkey and validating

D. Any hunter or trapper who Kills a gray fox shall report the

(i.e., notching) a paper license tag, bonus deer permit, or

kill within 24 hours through the department's electronic harvest

special permit, as provided in subsection A of this section,

reporting system. At such time, the person reporting the Kill

the hunter shall, upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at

will be furnished with a confirmation number. The hunter or

the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever occurs

trapper shall immediately record this confirmation number in a

first, and without unnecessary delay, report the kill through

location where it can later be retrieved to prove compliance

the department's electronic harvest reporting system. At such

with the reporting requirements. Any gray fox received by a

time, the person making the report will be given a

taxidermist for mounting or tanning shall have written

confirmation number. The successful hunter shall then

documentation securely attached to the carcass that includes

immediately record the confirmation number in ink on the

the full name of the hunter or trapper, date of Kill, and the

line provided on the paper tag that has been validated (i.e.,

harvest confirmation number.

notched) in the field.

3. After the harvest of a bear, deer, elk, or turkey is reported,

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity
of the sex of any bear, deer, elk, or turkey killed until the

no written documentation is required as long as the hunter

harvest is reported as required by this section. Successful

who Killed the animal or bird is in possession of the carcass.

hunters may dismember the carcass to pack it out from the

If the reported carcass is left unattended or transferred to the

place of kill as long as they do not destroy the identity of the

possession of another individual, written documentation that

sex and all parts of the carcass are present when the animal or

includes the successful hunter's full name, the date the

bird is reported.

animal or bird was Killed, and the confirmation number must
be created and kept in possession with the carcass until the
carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, this
written documentation _must be securely attached to the
carcass.

B. If a hunter is exempt from license requirements or holds a
license authorization number as prescribed by § 29.1-301,
29.1-327, or 29.1-339 of the Code of Virginia and has killed a
bear, deer, elk, or turkey, the hunter shall upon vehicle
transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting
hours, whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay,
report the Kill through the department's electronic harvest
reporting system. At such time, the person making the report

F. Processed carcass parts of a bear, deer, elk, or turkey Killed
legally in Virginia may be transported. However, upon request
of any authorized law-enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or
written information necessary to properly establish legal
possession must be furnished immediately.

G. Upon killing a bear, deer, elk, or turkey within an area
designated by the department for disease management and on
days designated by the department, the hunter shall present the
carcass at or submit carcass parts or samples as directed by the
department to a location designated by the department for the
purposes of disease surveillance or biological monitoring.

H. A premolar tooth must be removed by the hunter after

will be given a confirmation number. The hunter shall

reporting the harvest of a bear through the department's

immediately create written documentation, including the

electronic_harvest reporting system. The premolar shall be

hunter's full name, the date the animal or bird was killed, and

placed in an envelope furnished by the department and labeled

the confirmation number. This written documentation must be

with the hunter's full name, confirmation number, date of Kill,

kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is

and the sex of the harvested bear. This envelope with the

processed. If the carcass is transferred to the possession of

premolar and accompanying information must be mailed or

another individual, the written documentation must be

delivered to the department no later than 14 days after the close

transferred with the carcass to the individual and kept in

of the bear harvest season.

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the
carcass is left unattended, this written documentation must be
securely attached to the carcass.

C. Any hunter or trapper who Kills a bobcat shall report the

I. Any bear, deer, elk, or turkey found in possession of any
person that has not been reported as required by this section
shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as
provided by law.

Kill within 24 hours through the department's electronic harvest
reporting system. At such time, the person reporting the Kill
will be furnished with a confirmation number. The hunter or
trapper shall immediately record this confirmation number in a
location where it can later be retrieved to prove compliance
with the reporting requirements or to request a department seal.
Any bobcat received by a taxidermist for mounting or tanning
shall have written documentation securely attached to the
carcass that includes the full name of the hunter or trapper, date
of kill, and the harvest confirmation number.

J. It shall be unlawful to provide false statements or record
false information when tagging or reporting the harvest of any
wild animal or bird to the department, any agent of the
department, or any taxidermist.

4VAC15-40-300.  Falsifying—harvest—information
prohibited- (Repealed.)

H-shall-be-unlawfulto-provide false-statements-orrecord false
inf ) ing. King. et
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4VAC15-50-81. Validating—tags—and-reperting—bear—and Bt-shall-be-unlawful-forany-person-to-destroy-the-identity
teeth%ubmmsm%y—heensee%pemuﬁe& (Repealed ) eﬁhe%e*e#an%beamqued—unlessﬂammnhemens&tagter

the-license-tag—AH-electronicaly-notched-tags-arepermanent 4VAC15-50-91. Reporting-bear-and-tooth-submission-by
ided. - ) holdi
license-authorization-number- (Repealed.)
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4VAC15-90-231. Validating—tags—and-—reporting—deer—by
licensee-or-permittee: (Repealed.) F-Any-deerfound-in-the-possession-of-any-person-without-a

4VAC15-90-241. Reporting-deer-by persons-exempt-from
i ; holdi f horizati

Aumber: (Repealed.)
_ " | . commli
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4VAC15-90-500. Elk hunting outside the EIk Management
Zone.

A. Open season. Except as otherwise provided by 4VAC15-
90-510, it shall be lawful to hunt elk of either sex during (i) the
general firearms deer seasons as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-10
and 4VAC15-90-23, (ii) the special archery seasons as
prescribed by 4VAC15-90-70, and (iii) the special
muzzleloading seasons as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-80 with
bag limits as prescribed in 4VAC15-90-90.

B. Upon killing an elk. Any licensed or permitted hunter shall
validate a tag on that hunter's special license for hunting deer
and turkey or bonus deer permit and check the elk in
accordance with 4\AC15-90-231 4VAC15-40-290. Upon

receiving a confirmation number, the hunter must call the
department to schedule an inspection of the carcass and the site
of kill for the collection of biological samples.

C. Checking elk by persons exempt from license
requirements or holding a license authorization number. Upon
killing an elk, any person (i) exempt from license requirement
as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) issued
a complimentary license as prescribed in § 29.1-339 of the
Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent license issued
pursuant to § 29.1-301 E of the Code of Virginia, or (iv)
holding a Virginia license authorization number issued by a
telephone or electronic media agent pursuant to § 29.1-327 B
of the Code of Virginia shall check the elk in accordance with
NACIE-90-241  4VAC15-40-290. Upon receiving a
confirmation number, the hunter must call the department to
schedule an inspection of the carcass and the site of kill for the
collection of biological samples.

4VAC15-90-510. Elk hunting within the Elk Management
Zone.

A. It shall be lawful to hunt elk within the EIk Management
Zone from the second Saturday in October through the
following Friday, both dates inclusive.

B. The seasonal bag limit for elk shall be one per season as
prescribed on the special elk hunting license. The department
shall determine the number and type of special elk hunting
licenses distributed within a season and license year.

C. Except as provided in 4VAC15-90-540 or 4VAC15-90-
550 individuals selected to purchase a special elk hunting
license shall not be eligible to receive a subsequent special elk
hunting license for a period of three years.

D. All licensed elk hunters and persons accompanying elk
hunters are required to wear or display a blaze color as
described in § 29.1-530.1 of the Code of Virginia.

E. Upon killing an elk, any licensed hunter shall validate the
tag on the hunter's special elk hunting license and report the elk
in accordance with procedures outlined in 4\VAC15-90-231
4VAC15-40-290. Upon receiving a confirmation number, the
hunter must call the department to schedule an inspection of
the carcass and the site of kill for the collection of biological
samples.

4VAC15-240-81. Validating-tags-and-reporting-turkey by
licensee: (Repealed.)
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VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7528; Filed May 4, 2023, 3:58 p.m.

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to 8§ 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when
promulgating regulations regarding the management of
wildlife.

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending
4VAC15-50-11).

Statutory Authority: §8 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of

Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:
May 25, 2023 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources,
7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia
23228.

Public Comment Deadline: May 24, 2023.

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife
Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park
Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email
cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The proposed amendments eliminate the early three-day
general firearms season for bear in 26 northern and
western counties where bear populations have declined
and increase the general firearms season from three weeks
to five weeks for 35 counties in southern and eastern
Virginia where bear populations have been increasing.

4VAC15-50-11. Open season; generally.

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bears in the following localities,
including the cities and towns therein, during the following
5easons:

Location Season

Accomack County | Closed
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Albemarle County

Monday-follewing-the-last-Saturday
in-September-and-fortwo-days
following:-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Bland County

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Alleghany County

MendayteHowing-the last Saturday
in-September-and-fortwo-days
following:-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Botetourt County

Monday-feHowingthetast Saturday
in-September-andfor-two-days
following;-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Amelia County

Monday nearest December 2 and-fer

19-days-follewing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Brunswick County

Monday nearest December 2 and-fer

19-days-following through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Ambherst County

Monday-following-the-last Saturday

in-September-and-fortwo-days
following:and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Buchanan County

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Appomattox
County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-fellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Buckingham
County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 daysfellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Arlington County

Meonday-following-thelast-Saturday
n-Septemberand-fortwo-days
following:-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Campbell County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 daysfellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Caroline County

Fourth Monday in November
through the first Saturday in January,
both dates inclusive.

Augusta County

Monday-follewing-the-last Saturday
in-September-and-fortwo-days
following:-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Carroll County

Monday nearest December 2 through
the first Saturday in January, both
dates inclusive.

Bath County

Menday-foHowingthedast-Saturday

-Septemberand-fortwo-days
following:and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Charles City
County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-following through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Charlotte County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-following through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Bedford County

Monday-foHlewing-the-last Saturday
in-September-and-fortwo-days
following:-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Chesapeake (City
of)

October 1 through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Chesterfield County

Fourth Monday in November
through the first Saturday in January,
both dates inclusive.

Volume 39, Issue 21

Virginia Register of Regulations

June 5, 2023

2545




Regulations

Clarke County

Monday-follewing-the-last-Saturday
in-September-and-for-two-days
following:-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Franklin County

Monday nearest December 2 through
the first Saturday in January, both
dates inclusive.

Craig County

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Frederick County

Monday-feHowingthetast Saturday
in-September-and-for-two-days
following;-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Culpeper County

Fourth Monday in November
through the first Saturday in January,
both dates inclusive.

Giles County

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Cumberland County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-fellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Gloucester County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-following through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Dickenson County

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Goochland County

Fourth Monday in November
through the first Saturday in January,
both dates inclusive.

Dinwiddie County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 daysfellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Grayson County

Monday nearest December 2 through
the first Saturday in January, both
dates inclusive.

Essex County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-fellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Greene County

Moeonday-foeHewing-thedast-Saturday

n-Septemberand-fortwo-days
following;—and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Fairfax County

Menday-following-the-last-Saturday
in-September-and-for-two-days
following:-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Greensville County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 daysfellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Fauquier County

Monday-following-the-last- Saturday

in-September-and-fortwo-days
following:and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Halifax County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-following through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Hanover County

Fourth Monday in November
through the first Saturday in January,
both dates inclusive.

Floyd County

Monday nearest December 2 through
the first Saturday in January, both
dates inclusive.

Henrico County

Fourth Monday in November
through the first Saturday in January,
both dates inclusive.

Fluvanna County

Fourth Monday in November
through the first Saturday in January,
both dates inclusive.

Henry County

Monday nearest December 2 through
the first Saturday in January, both
dates inclusive.
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Highland County

Monday-follewing-the-last-Saturday
in-September-and-fortwo-days
following:-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Madison County

Monday-Tollowing-the-last-Saturday
in-September-and-fortwo-days
following;-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Isle of Wight
County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19-daysfellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Mathews County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-following through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

James City County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19-days-fellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Mecklenburg
County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19-days-following through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

King and Queen
County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-fellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Middlesex County

Monday nearest December 2 and-fer

19 days-following through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

Montgomery
County
(southeast of 1-81)

Monday nearest December 2 through
the first Saturday in January, both
dates inclusive.

King George 19 days-fellewing through the first
County Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.
Monday nearest December 2 and-for
King William 19 daysfellowing through the first
County Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Montgomery
County (northwest
of 1-81)

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Lancaster County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 daysfellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Lee County

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Nelson County

Monday-foeHewing-thedast-Saturday

n-Septemberand-fortwo-days
following:—and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Loudoun County

Monday-follewing-the last Saturday
in-September-and-fortwo-days
following:-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Monday nearest December 2 and-for
19 days-following through the first

New Kent County Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Northampton Closed

County

Louisa County

Fourth Monday in November
through the first Saturday in January,
both dates inclusive.

Northumberland
County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-following through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Lunenburg County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19-days-fellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Nottoway County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-folowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.
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Orange County

Fourth Monday in November
through the first Saturday in January,
both dates inclusive.

Richmond County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-following through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

both dates inclusive.

Prince Edward
County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-fellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

MendaytoHowing-the last Saturday
in-September-and-fortwo-days Monday following the last Saturday
Page County following:;-and-the The fourth in September and for two days
Monday in November through the Roanoke County following; and the fourth Monday in
first Saturday in January, both dates November through the first Saturday
inclusive. in January, both dates inclusive.
Monday nearest December 2 through Monday-following-the-last-Saturday
Patrick County the first Saturday in January, both in-September-and-fortwo-days
dates inclusive. Rockbridge County following;and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the
Monday nearest December 2 and—fe; first Saturday in January, both dates
Pittsylvania County o days IG.HQ“' g through the first inclusive.
Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive. Meonday-followingthe-last-Saturday
- in-September-and-for-two-days
Fourth Monday in November ; following:-and-the
Powhatan County | through the first Saturday in January, Egﬁl:]lt;gham Monday ih Novem%t;?glrjtgh the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Prince George
County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 daysfellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Russell County

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Prince William
County

MondayfoHowingthelast Saturday
n-Septemberand-fortwe-days
following;-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the
first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Scott County

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Pulaski County
(southeast of 1-81)

Monday nearest December 2 through
the first Saturday in January, both
dates inclusive.

Shenandoah County

Monday-following-the-last Saturday
in-September-and-for-two-days
following;and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Pulaski County
(northwest of 1-81)

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Smyth County
(southeast of 1-81)

Monday nearest December 2 through
the first Saturday in January, both
dates inclusive.

Rappahannock
County

Monday-folowing-the-last-Saturday
in-September-and-fortwo-days
follewing;-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Smyth County
(northwest of 1-81)

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Southampton
County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-folowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.
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Spotsylvania
County

Fourth Monday in November
through the first Saturday in January,
both dates inclusive.

Stafford County

MendaytoHowing-the last Saturday
in-September-and-fortwo-days
following:-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the

first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

Suffolk (City of)

October 1 through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Surry County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 daysfellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Sussex County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 days-fellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Tazewell County

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Virginia Beach
(City of)

October 1 through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Wise County

Monday nearest December 2 through
the first Saturday in January, both
dates inclusive.

Wythe County
(southeast of 1-81)

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Monday nearest December 2 and-fer

19 days-following through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

Wythe County
(northwest of 1-81)

York County

B. Notwithstanding provisions of subsection A of this section,
bears may be hunted from the first Saturday in October through
the first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the
incorporated limits of any town or city that allows bear
hunting.

VAR. Doc. No. R23-7533; Filed May 4, 2023, 4:00 p.m.

Proposed Regulation

Warren County

MondayfoHowingthelast Saturday
n-Septemberand-fortwe-days
following;-and-the The fourth
Monday in November through the
first Saturday in January, both dates
inclusive.

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when
promulgating regulations regarding the management of
wildlife.

Washington County
(southeast of 1-81)

Monday nearest December 2 through
the first Saturday in January, both
dates inclusive.

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending
4VAC15-90-10, 4VAC15-90-80, 4VAC15-90-89, 4VAC15-
90-90, 4VAC15-90-91, 4VAC15-90-530, 4VAC15-90-540).

Statutory Authority: 88 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:

Washington County
(northwest of 1-81)

Monday following the last Saturday
in September and for two days
following; and the fourth Monday in
November through the first Saturday
in January, both dates inclusive.

Westmoreland
County

Monday nearest December 2 and-for

19 daysfellowing through the first
Saturday in January, both dates

inclusive.

May 25, 2023 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources,
7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia
23228.

Public Comment Deadline: May 24, 2023.

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife
Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park
Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email
cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The proposed amendments (i) increase deer hunting
opportunities, increase the number of days when
antlerless deer can be harvested, or require hunters to
harvest antlerless deer before harvesting multiple
antlered deer in an effort to reduce deer population levels
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and address the spread of Chronic Wasting Disease
(CWD) in certain localities; (ii) expand department
flexibility in timing the elk hunt lottery to capitalize on
additional elk population data in determining the annual
allocation of special elk hunting licenses for the EIk
Management Zone; and (iii) award landowners who
participate in the EIk Landowner License Program points
that can be used to secure a special elk hunting license for

their lands.

4VAC15-90-10. Open season; generally.

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer in the following localities,
including the cities and towns therein, during the following

seasons, all dates inclusive.

Appomattox County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Arlington County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Locality

Season

Accomack County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Arlington County (antlerless
deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Albemarle County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and

Alleghany County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Augusta County for 14 consecutive days
following
Saturday prior to the third
Bath County Monday in November and

for 14 consecutive days
following

Amelia County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Bedford County (except on
national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 28 consecutive days
following

Ambherst County (west of
Business U.S. 29 from the
James River to its intersection
with U.S. 29 just south of the
Town of Amherst continuing
north on U.S. 29 to the Tye
River, except on national
forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 28 consecutive days
following

Bedford County (national
forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Ambherst County (national
forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Bedford County (private

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October

lands and antlerless deer

and the Sunday following

only)

the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Ambherst County (east of
Business U.S. 29, as defined
above)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Bland County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Botetourt County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following
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Brunswick County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Charlotte County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Buchanan County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Chesapeake (City of)

October 1 through
November 30

Buckingham County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Chesterfield County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Campbell County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Clarke County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Caroline County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Carroll County (private
lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 28 consecutive days
following

Clarke County (antlerless
deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Carroll County (public
lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Craig County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Carroll County (private lands
and antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Culpeper County (except
Chester F. Phelps Wildlife
Management Area)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Culpeper County (Chester F.
Phelps Wildlife Management
Area)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to

First Saturday-in-September Culpeper County (private the first Saturday in October
. through-the-Friday-priorte lands and antlerless deer and the Sunday following
Garroll County _(ellsease thefirst-Saturday-in-Octeber only) the first Saturday in January
focus zones defined by the and-the-Sunday-following through the last Sunday in
department-antlerless deer the-first Saturday--January March
enly) through-the-last Sunday-in —  Senterbor
Mareh . -
: . Culpeper-County-(disease through-the Friday. prior {0
Saturday prior to the third focus zones defined-by the the-firstSaturday-in-October
. Monday in November and-the-Sunday-folowing
Charles City County through the first Saturday in ) the-firstSaturday--Jdanuary
January through-the-last-Sunday-in
Mareh
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Cumberland County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Floyd County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 28 consecutive days
following

Dickenson County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Dinwiddie County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Floyd County (antlerless
deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Essex County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Fairfax County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Fairfax County (antlerless
deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Fluvanna County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Franklin County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 28 consecutive days
following

Fauquier County (except
Chester F. Phelps Wildlife
Management Area)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Frederick County (non-
national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Fauquier County (Chester F.
Phelps Wildlife Management
Area)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Frederick County (national
forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Fauquier County (private
lands and antlerless deer

only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Frederick County (non-
national-forest lands
antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Giles County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Gloucester County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January
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Goochland County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

King George County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Grayson County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

King William County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Greene County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Lancaster County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Greensville County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Lee County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Halifax County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Loudoun County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Hanover County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Henrico County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Henry County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 28 consecutive days
following

Highland County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Isle of Wight County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

James City County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

King and Queen County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Loudoun County (antlerless
deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Louisa County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Lunenburg County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Madison County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Madison County (private
lands and antlerless deer

only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March
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Nelson County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November

Mathews County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

(east of Route 151) through the first Saturday in
January
Saturday prior to the third
New Kent County Monday in November

through the first Saturday in
January

Mecklenburg County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Northampton County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Middlesex County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Northumberland County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Montgomery County (non-
national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 28 consecutive days
following

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November

Montgomery County
(national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Nottoway County through the first Saturday in
January
Saturday prior to the third
Orange County Monday in November

through the first Saturday in
January

Montgomery County (non-
national forest lands and
antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Orange County (private
lands and antlerless deer

only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Nelson County
(west of Route 151, except
on national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 28 consecutive days
following

Page County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Nelson County (national
forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Page County (non-national
forest lands and antlerless
deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March
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Pulaski County (national
forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Patrick County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 28 consecutive days
following

Pulaski County (non-
national forest lands and
antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Pittsylvania County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Powhatan County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Prince Edward County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Rappahannock County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Prince George County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Prince William County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Rappahannock County
(private lands and antlerless
deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Prince William County
(antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Pulaski County (except on
New River Unit of the
Radford Army Ammunition
Plant adjacent to the Town
of Dublin and national forest
lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 28 consecutive days
following

Richmond County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Roanoke County (private

lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 28 consecutive days

following

Pulaski County (New River
Unit of the Radford Army
Ammunition Plant adjacent
to the Town of Dublin)

Saturday prior to the second
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Roanoke County (public
lands)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following
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Rockbridge County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Suffolk (City of)
(west of Dismal Swamp
Line)

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Rockingham County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Surry County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Russell County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Sussex County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Scott County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Tazewell County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Shenandoah County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Virginia Beach (City of)

October 1 through
November 30

Shenandoah County (non-
national forest lands
antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Warren County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Smyth County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Warren (non-national forest
lands antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September
through the Friday prior to
the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following
the first Saturday in January
through the last Sunday in
March

Southampton County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Washington County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Spotsylvania County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Westmoreland County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Stafford County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November
through the first Saturday in
January

Wise County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following

Suffolk (City of)
(east of Dismal Swamp
Line)

October 1 through
November 30

Wythe County

Saturday prior to the third
Monday in November and
for 14 consecutive days
following
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Saturday prior to the third 3. On national forest lands in Frederick County; and

York County Monday in November 4. In the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal
through the first Saturday in Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach.
January

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early
First Saturday in September special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge
through the Friday prior to Mountains unless otherwise noted in this subsection:

the first Saturday in October
and the Sunday following

York County (private lands
and antlerless deer only)

1. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday
the first Saturday in January only of the early special muzzleloading season on state forest
through the last Sunday in lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee _State Park),
March department-owned lands (except on Merrimac Farm
— Wildlife Management Area), and Philpott Reservoir.

B. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, east-of 2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days

the—Blue—Ridge—Mountains deer may be hunted from the during the early special muzzleloading season on national

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the ]
incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer ~ D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday

hunting. only during the early special muzzleloading season west of the
o . . . Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted in this
C. E)eee{apas—p%ewded—méubseenenﬂ&eﬂkus&eenen—wespef subsection.

1. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early

i i ithi i imi special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd Counties
any—eity—or—townthataHowsdeer—hunting In_addition to and on private lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll,
provisions of subsection A of this section, antlerless deer may Frederick, Grayson, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Roanoke,
be taken from the first Saturday in September through the Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 731), Scott, Smyth,
Friday prior to the first Saturday in October and the Sunday Shenandoah, Warren, and Wythe Counties.

followinq the first Satprdav_in Janyar_v throuqhthe last Sunday 2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days
in March, both dates inclusive, within any disease focus zone during the early special muzzleloading season in Buchanan;
designated by the department. County; on federal and—department-managed lands in
4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. Dickenson; Lee—RusselFazewel—and-Wise-Counties-and
County; on department-owned land in Russell County; on
A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special national forest lands in Alleghany, Bland, Craig, Frederick,
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the Giles, Grayson, Lee, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski,
Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, and Warren, and Wise
Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates Counties—and; on national forest and department-owned
inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting lands in Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, Carroll, Highland (except
with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the Highland ~ Wildlife Management Area), Roanoke,
Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Rockbridge, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, and Wythe
Line), and Virginia Beach. Counties and; on Channels State Forest, Grayson Highlands
B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special State Park, Hungry Mother State Parks; and on private lands
muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 21 west of Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham County.
consecutive days immediately prior to and on the first Saturday £ Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of
in January: the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed

1. In all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge 1N this subsection:

Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national forest
lands in Frederick County);

2. East of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the Counties
(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of
Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection
with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing
north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, Franklin,
Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), and Patrick;

1. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the
entire late special muzzleloading season in the Counties
(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of
Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection
with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing
north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national forest
lands), Bedford (except on national forest lands), Floyd,
Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151, except on
national forest lands), and Patrick and on private lands in
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Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Craig, Giles, Grayson,
Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Roanoke, Rockingham (east of
Routes 613 and 731), Scott, Smyth, Shenandoah, Warren,
and Wythe Counties.

2. Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only during
the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, Bath,
Dickensen; Highland, Lee, Russell, Tazewell, and Wise
Counties and; on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford,
Bland, Craig, Frederick, Giles, Grayson, Montgomery,
Nelson, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, and
Warren Countiesyand; on national forest and department-
owned lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Roanoke,
Rockbridge, Smyth, Washington, and Wythe Counties; and
on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham
County, Channels State Forest, Grayson Highlands State
Park, and Hungry Mother State Park.

3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days
during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan
County.

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the
special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits
of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer
hunting except in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and
Virginia Beach.

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any
special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except
that tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of
Virginia may be used.

H. Muzzleloading guns, for the purpose of this section,
include:

1. Single shot muzzleloading rifles .40 caliber or larger,
firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger
projectile) where the projectile is loaded from the muzzle;

2. Muzzleloading shotguns (one or more barrels) not larger
than 10 gauge where the projectiles are loaded from the
muzzle;

3. Muzzleloading pistols (one or more barrels) .45 caliber or
larger, firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber
or larger projectile) per barrel where the propellant and
projectile are loaded from the muzzle;

4. Muzzleloading revolvers .45 caliber or larger, firing a
single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger
projectile) per cylinder where the propellant and projectile
are loaded from the forward end of the cylinder.

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any
firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a
muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season.

4\VVAC15-90-89. Earn a buck.

A. For the purposes of this section, the term "license year"
means the period between July 1 and June 30 of the following
year.

B. Within a license year and within in each individual county
listed in this subsection, a hunter must have taken at least one
antlerless deer on private lands in that county before taking a
second antlered deer on private lands in that county. In those
counties listed in this subsection east of the Blue Ridge
Mountains, a hunter must have taken at least two antlerless
deer on private lands in that county before taking a third
antlered deer on private lands in that county.

The counties subject to the provisions of this subsection are

Accomack, Albemarle, Amherst (west of Route 29), Augusta,
Bedford, Botetourt, Carroll, Clarke, Culpeper, Fauquier,
Floyd, Franklin, Frederick, Grayson, Greene, Hanover,
Henrico, James City, Madison, Montgomery, Orange, Page,
Prince George, Pulaski, Rappahannock, Roanoke,
Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 731), Shenandoah,
Stafford, Warren, and Wythe, and York.

B- C. Within a license year and within each individual county
listed in this subsection, a hunter must have taken at least twe
one antlerless deer in that county before taking a second
antlered deer in that county. A hunter must also have taken at
least three two antlerless deer in that county before taking a
third antlered deer in that county.

The counties subject to the provisions of this subsection are
Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William (except on
Department of Defense lands).

E: D. Within a license year and within any city or town,
except the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach,
a hunter must have taken at least one antlerless deer in that city
or town before taking a second antlered deer in that city or
town. In those cities and towns east of the Blue Ridge
Mountains, a hunter must have taken at least two antlerless
deer in that city or town before taking a third antlered deer in
that city or town.

F- E. The Earn A Buck Program does not apply to the Cities
of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach.
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4VAC15-90-90. Bag limit, bonus deer permits and special
antlerless provision for youth hunters.

A. The bag limit for deer east of the Blue Ridge Mountains
(except on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and
Nelson Counties) is two per day, six per license year, three of
which must be antlerless unless otherwise noted in this
subsection.

1. The daily bag limit for deer is unlimited in the Counties,
including the cities and towns within, of Arlington, Fairfax,
Loudoun, and Prince William and in all the cities and towns
that allow deer hunting (except in the Cities of Chesapeake,
Suffolk, and Virginia Beach).

2. Only one deer per day may be taken on national forest,
department-owned, and department-managed lands.

3. Only one elk per day may be taken.

B. The bag limit for deer west of the Blue Ridge Mountains
and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson
Counties is two per day, five per license year, three of which
must be antlerless unless otherwise noted in this subsection.

1. The daily bag limit for deer is unlimited in all the cities
and towns that allow deer hunting.

2. Only one deer per day may be taken on national forest,
department-owned, and department-managed lands.

3. If a deer hunter kills two antlered bucks in a license year
in Alleghany, Augusta; Bath, Highland, or Rockbridge
County, at least one of the antlered bucks must have at least
four antler points, one inch or longer, on one side of the
antlers. This subdivision shall not apply to any county
designated by the department within 25 miles of a confirmed
detection of Chronic Wasting Disease.

4. Only one elk per day may be taken.

C. Except as noted in subsection E of this section, antlerless
deer may be taken only during designated either-sex deer
hunting days during the special archery seasons, special
muzzleloading seasons, and the general firearms season.

D. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on private land in
counties and cities where deer hunting is permitted (except
Buchanan, Dickenson, and Wise Counties) during the special
archery seasons, special muzzleloading seasons, and the
general firearms season. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on
public lands, including state parks, state forests, national
wildlife refuges, and military areas—ete-, as authorized by the
managing agency. Unless otherwise posted or authorized in
writing for wildlife management areas by the department, or
for national forest lands by the U.S. Forest Service, the use of
bonus permits is prohibited on department-owned and national
forest lands. Bonus deer permits shall be valid for antlerless
deer only. Deer taken on bonus permits shall count against the
daily bag limit but are in addition to the seasonal bag limit.

E. Deer hunters 15 years of age and younger, including those
exempt from purchasing a hunting license and holders of an
apprentice hunting license, when in compliance with all
applicable laws and license requirements, may take one
antlerless deer per license year on days other than designated
either-sex deer hunting days during the special muzzleloading
seasons or the general firearms season in all counties.

4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer
hunting days.

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either sex
may be taken within:

Accomack County: full season.
Albemarle County: full season.

Alleghany County: the second Saturday and the last day.
-National forest lands: the last day.

Amelia County: the second and third Saturdays and the last

13 days.
-Amelia WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six days.

Ambherst County (east of Business U.S. 29 from the James
River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town
of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River):
the second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days.

Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James
River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town
of Ambherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River):
full season.

-National forest lands: the last day.
Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six days.

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and
third Saturdays.

-Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the
last 29 days.
Arlington County: full season.

Augusta County: full season.
-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day.

Bath County: the second Saturday and the last day.
-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day.

Bedford County: full season.
-National forest lands: the last day.

Bland County: the second Saturday and the last day two
days.
-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
day two days.
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Botetourt County: full season.
-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day.

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six days.

Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days.
Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.

Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six days.

-Horsepen Lake WMA: the second and third Saturdays
and the last six days.

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and
third Saturdays.

-Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the
last 29 days.

Campbell County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): the
second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days.

Campbell County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad): full
season.

Caroline County: the second and third Saturdays and the last
six days.
-Mattaponi WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six days.
Carroll County: full season.
-National forest and department-owned lands: the second
Saturday and the last day.
Charles City County: full season.

-Chickahominy WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-
sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be
taken.

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the last
six days.
Chesapeake (City of): the-second-and-third Saturdays-and-the
fast-13-days full season.
-Cavalier WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the
last 13 days.

Chesterfield County: the-second-and-third-Saturdays-and-the
fast-13-days full season.

Clarke County: full season.

Craig County: full season.
-National forest and department-owned lands: the second
Saturday and the last day two days.

Culpeper County: full season.
-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday.

Cumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last 13 days.

-Cumberland State Forest: the second and third Saturdays.

Dickenson County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.

Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six days.

Essex County: the second and third Saturdays and the last
six days.

Fairfax County: full season.

Fauquier County: full season.

-G. Richard Thompson WMA: the second and third
Saturdays and the last 13 days.

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday.
Floyd County: full season.
Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last 29
days.
-Hardware River WMA: the second and third Saturdays
and the last 13 days.
Franklin County: full season.

-Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six
days.

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and
the last six days.

Frederick County: full season.
-National forest lands: the last day.

Giles County: full season.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
day two days.

Gloucester County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six 13 days.

Goochland County: full season.

Grayson County: full season.

-National forest lands and Grayson Highlands State Park:
the last day.

Greene County: full season.

Greensville County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six days.

Halifax County: the second and third Saturdays and the last
13 days.

Hanover County: full season.
Henrico County: full season.

Henry County: the second and third Saturdays and the last
13 days.
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-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and
Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six
days.

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and
the last six days.

Highland County: the second Saturday and the last day.
-National forest lands: the last day.
-Department-owned lands: the second Saturday and the
last day.

Isle of Wight County: full season.

-Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-sex
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be
taken.

James City County: full season.

King and Queen County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last 13 days.

King George County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last 43 29 days.

King William County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last 13 days.

Lancaster County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last 43 29 days.
Lee County: the second Saturday and the last two days.

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-sex
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be
taken.

Loudoun County: full season.

Louisa County: the second and third Saturdays and the last
29 days.

Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six days.
Madison County: full season.
-Rapidan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the
last 13 days.

Mathews County: the second and third Saturdays and the last
six days.
Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last six days.
-Dick Cross WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six days.

Middlesex County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six days.
Montgomery County: full season.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
day.

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second and third
Saturdays and the last 29 days.

-James River WMA and Tye River WMA: the second
Saturday and the last six days.

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season.
-National forest lands: the last day.

New Kent County: full season.
Northampton County: full season.

Northumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last 43 29 days.

Nottoway County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last six 13 days.

Orange County: full season.

Page County: full season.

-National forest lands: the last day.
Patrick County: the second and third Saturdays and the last
13 days.

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and
Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six
days.

Pittsylvania County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): the
second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days.
-White Oak Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and the
last three days.

Pittsylvania County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad):
full season.
Powhatan County: full season.
-Powhatan WMA.: the second and third Saturdays and the
last 13 days.
Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last six days.

-Briery Creek WMA: the second and third Saturdays and
the last six days.

-Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the
last 29 days.

-Prince Edward State Forest: the second and third
Saturdays.

Prince George County: full season.
Prince William County: full season.

Pulaski County: full season.

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last
day.

Rappahannock County: full season.
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Richmond County: the second and third Saturdays and the
last 43 29 days.
Roanoke County: full season.

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day.
Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last two
days.

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day.

Rockingham County: full season.
-National forest lands: the last day.
-Private lands west of Routes 613 and 731: the second
Saturday and the last day.

Russell County: the second Saturday and the last two days.
-Department-owned lands and the Channels State Forest:
the last day.

Scott County: the second Saturday and the last six days.
-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-sex
days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be
taken.

Shenandoah County: full season.

-National forest lands: the last day.

Smyth County: full season.
-National forest lands, department-owned lands, and
Hungry Mother State Park: the last day.

Southampton County: full season.

Spotsylvania County: full season.
-Oakley Forest WMA: the second and third Saturdays and
the last 13 days.

Stafford County: full season.
third-Saturdays-and-thelast- 13-days:
Suffolk {west-ofthe Dismal-Swamp-Line): full season.

Surry County: full season.

-Carlisle and Stewart Tracts of the Hog Island WMA:
antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with
antlers above the hairline may be taken.

Sussex County: full season.
-Big Woods WMA (ineluding-the-Parkers Branch-Tract),
Flippo-Gentry WMA, and Big Woods State Forest: the
second—and—third—Saturdays—and-—thetast-six—days full

season.

Tazewell County: the second Saturday and the last two days.
-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day.

Virginia Beach (City of): the-second-and-third-Saturdays-and
the-last-13-days full season.

Warren County: full season.
-National forest lands: the last day.

Washington County: the second Saturday and the last six
days.

-National forest lands, department-owned lands, and the
Channels State Forest: the last day.

Westmoreland County: the second and third Saturdays and
the last 43 29 days.

Wise County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only
deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken.

Wythe County: full season.

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second
Saturday and the last day two days.

York County: full season.

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, deer
of either sex may be taken full season during the general
firearms deer season within the incorporated limits of any city
or town, state park, national wildlife refuge, or military
installation that allows deer hunting or within any common
interest community participating in the special urban archery
season according to provisions of 4VAC15-90-70.

4VAC15-90-530. Special elk hunting license, random
drawing license program.

A. The dates for the annual application period to enter the
random drawing for a special elk hunting license shall be

February-1to-March-30-both-dates-inclusive—unless-extended
by-the-director published by the department annually and shall
be no less than 30 days in duration. Individuals selected for
special elk hunting licenses via the random drawing wiH shall
be notified by-May-30 no less than 60 days prior to the start of
the elk hunt, and special elk hunting licenses must be
purchased from the department within 30 days of notification.

B. To enter the random drawing for a special elk hunting
license, applicants shall:

1. Complete the application for a special elk hunting license
as provided by the department.

2. Pay a nonrefundable application fee.
3. Apply only once for each random drawing.

C. Nonresidents shall not comprise more than 10%, or one
drawn applicant, whichever is greater, of all drawn applicants
in any application pool for the random drawing license
program.

D. Applicants who physically reside within the EIk
Management Zone shall comprise no less than 10%, or a
minimum of one, whichever is greater, of all drawn applicants
in any application pool for the random drawing license
program.
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E. A special elk hunting license awarded through the Random
Drawing License Program shall not be transferable.

F. An applicant drawn for a special elk hunting license may
be rejected if it is determined that the applicant has been
convicted of two or more wildlife violations within three years
prior to the last date of the application period. In determining
an applicant's eligibility, the director shall take into account the
nature and severity of the violations.

G. The department will award unclaimed special elk hunting
licenses to alternates who are drawn during the initial
application and draw period in the order that the alternates are
drawn.

4VAC15-90-540. Special elk hunting license, Landowner
License Program.

A. Upon receipt of a valid Landowner License Program
application from a landowner within the Elk Management
Zone, the director or the director's designee shall verify the
application materials and have sole discretion in enrolling the
property in the Landowner License Program. Apphications
must-bereceived-orpostmarked-byJuly—1each-year to-be

ligiblefor - i I
calendaryear The application deadline shall be published by

the department annually no less than 30 days prior to the
deadline.

B. A valid Landowner License Program application shall
include:

1. Landowner's name, home address, telephone number, and
address of the property to be enrolled in the program.

2. A recorded survey or other legal documentation certifying
that the acreage and ownership of the property to be enrolled

3. Original signature of the landowner.

4. Only a single application per license year, per landowner.

C. Landowners enrolled in the Landowner License Program
maintain the right to limit access to certain areas of the property

for safety or privacy reasonsyprovided-a-minimum-of 50-acres
are—open—to—elk—hunting. Areas of limited access must be

outlined in the initial application. Enrollment in the Landowner
License Program does not preclude or limit in any way the
landowner from allowing other hunting or other hunters on the
property.

D. The department shall determine and make available to the
public a program guidance document outlining how
landowners enrolled in the Landowner License Program shall
accrue points toward a special elk hunting license, the number
of points necessary to be awarded such license, a list of criteria
by which applications and associated properties will be
evaluated for enrollment in the program, and other program
requirements. The program guidance document will be

published annually no less than 30 days prior to June-2 the
application deadline.

E. Landowners who accrue the necessary number of points,
as defined in the program guidance document, on an enrolled
property may request-one-either-sex-special-elichunting ticense
from-the-department enter a landowner lottery for a special elk
hunting license. A-—requestfor-a-special-elk-hunting-ticense

must-be-submittedpriorto-Juby-intheyear the Heenseiste
be-used: Once a-regquest-for a special elk hunting license is
made,—tandowners—ose awarded through the lottery, the
landowner loses all accrued points. There is no time limit over
which a landowner is required to accrue license points.
Landowners shall not combine points from separate enrolled
properties.

F. Landowners enrolled in the Landowner License Program
shall not subdivide contiguous properties under the same
ownership into multiple, smaller parcels for the purposes of
this program.

G. License points cannot be sold or traded. License points are
nontransferable if the property changes ownership, except that
if the property is inherited from parents, grandparents, or
children, resident or nonresident, license points may be
transferred. The department may request documentation to
certify the relationship between seller and purchaser as well as
a copy of bill of sale.

H. Landowners receiving a special elk hunting license shall
comply with all of the requirements established in this section
as well as 4VAC15-90-510, 4VAC15-90-520, and § 29.1-
305.01 of the Code of Virginia. Landowners who fail to
comply with this chapter may forfeit any accrued license points
and may not be eligible to accrue new license points.

I. A special elk hunting license awarded to the landowner
shall only be used on the property enrolled with the department
in the Landowner License Program.

J. A landowner may transfer the special elk hunting license to
any person eligible to hunt in Virginia. The special elk hunting
license may not be sold. Transfer of the special elk hunting
license must be reported to the department no less than one
month prior to the opening day of the elk hunting season during
the year in which the special elk hunting license is reguested
awarded. To report a transfer to the department, the landowner
shall provide the department with the hunter's:

1. Name;

2. Department customer identification number;
3. Address; and

4. Telephone number.

K. A landowner shall not charge a fee for hunters to hunt elk
on properties enrolled in the Landowner License Program
except as described in the program guidance document.
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L. A special elk hunting license transferee may be rejected if
it is determined that the transferee has been convicted of two
or more wildlife violations, within three years prior to the last
date of the application period. In determining the transferee's
eligibility, the director shall take into account the nature and
severity of the violations.

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7535; Filed May 4, 2023, 4:01 p.m.

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to 8 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when
promulgating regulations regarding the management of
wildlife.

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-110. Game: Fox (amending
4VAC15-110-20, 4VAC15-110-80; adding 4VAC15-110-25,
4VAC15-110-35).

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of

Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:
May 25, 2023 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources,
7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia
23228.

Public Comment Deadline: May 24, 2023.

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife
Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park
Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email
cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) separate the gray fox and
red fox hunting seasons and reduce the gray fox hunting
season; and (ii) establish a daily bag limit for gray foxes
and require a gray fox be causing damage to property or
pose a threat to human health or safety before a
landowner may kill or have a gray fox on the landowner's
property killed.

4VAC15-110-20. Hunting with firearms—Open; open
season for red fox.

Except as otherwise provided by-locallegistationand with the
specific exceptions provided in-the-sections-appearing in this
chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt red foxes with firearms from
November 1 through the last day in February, both dates
inclusive.

4VAC15-110-25. Hunting with firearms; open season for
gray fox.

Except as otherwise provided with the specific exceptions
provided in this chapter, it shall be lawful to hunt gray foxes
with firearms from January 1 through the last day in February,
both dates inclusive.

4VAC15-110-35. Bag limit.

The bag limit for hunting gray fox shall be one per hunting
party, individual or organized, taken between noon of one day
and noon the following day.

4VAC15-110-80. Killing by landowner.

A landowner may kill or have killed red foxes at any time on
his—own the landowner's land. Provided further that a
landowner may Kill or have Killed gray foxes at any time on the
landowner's land, but only when a gray fox is causing damage
to crops or property or is posing a threat to human health or

safety.

VAR. Doc. No. R23-7531; Filed May 15, 2023, 10:34 a.m.

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to 8§ 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when
promulgating regulations regarding the management of
wildlife.

Title of Requlation. 4VAC15-230. Game:

(amending 4VAC15-230-60).

Statutory Authority: 88§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of

Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:
May 25, 2023 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources,
7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia
23228.

Public Comment Deadline: May 24, 2023.

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife
Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park
Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email
cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The proposed amendment adds Henry County to the list of
counties where fox squirrels may be hunted.

4VAC15-230-60. Fox squirrel. Open season; first Saturday
in September through January 31.

Squirrel

It shall be lawful to hunt fox squirrel from the first Saturday
in September through January 31, both dates inclusive, in the
counties Counties of Albemarle, Alleghany, Augusta, Bath,
Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Buchanan, Carroll, Clarke, Craig,
Culpeper, Dickenson, Fauquier, Floyd, Franklin, Frederick,
Giles, Grayson, Greene, Henry, Highland, Lee, Loudoun,
Madison, Montgomery, Orange, Page, Patrick, Prince William,
Pulaski, Rappahannock, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Rockingham,
Russell, Scott, Shenandoah, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington,
Warren, Wise, and Wythe.

VAR. Doc. No. R23-7522; Filed May 4, 2023, 4:02 p.m.
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Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to 8 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when
promulgating regulations regarding the management of
wildlife.

Title of Requlation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey (amending
4VAC15-240-31, 4VAC15-240-32,  4VAC15-240-40,
4VAC15-240-51).

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of

Virginia.

Public Hearing Information:
May 25, 2023 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources,
7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia
23228.

Public Comment Deadline: May 24, 2023.

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife
Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park
Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email
cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The proposed amendments (i) shift Charles City County
from the four-week fall turkey season to the six-week fall
turkey season as turkey populations in that county are able
to support additional hunting; and (ii) remove the one bird
per weekend bag limit for the spring and fall turkey youth
and apprentice hunter weekends.

4VAC15-240-31. Open season; certain counties and areas;
four-week season.

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys 14 days immediately before
the Saturday prior to the first Monday in November, on
Thanksgiving Day and the day before, and on the Monday
closest to December 2 and for 12 days following in the
Counties of Accomack, Amelia, Charles—City. Dinwiddie,
Gloucester, Greensville, Isle of Wight, James City, Mathews,
Middlesex, New Kent, Northampton, Powhatan, Prince
George, Southampton, Surry, Sussex, and York (except on
Camp Peary) and the City of Suffolk.

4VAC15-240-32. Open season; certain counties and areas;
six week season.

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys 14 days immediately before
the Saturday prior to the first Monday in November; on
Thanksgiving Day and the day before; on the Monday nearest
December 2 and for 12 days following, both dates inclusive;
and on the second Saturday in January and for 14 days
following in the Counties of Amherst, Appomattox,
Brunswick, Buchanan, Buckingham, Campbell, Charles City,
Charlotte, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Floyd, Fluvanna,
Frederick, Goochland, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry,
Louisa, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Orange, Patrick,

Pittsylvania, Prince Edward, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania,
Tazewell, and Warren.

4VAC15-240-40. Open season; spring season for bearded
turkeys.

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be
lawful to hunt bearded turkeys from the second Saturday in
April and for 35 days following, both dates inclusive, from 1/2
hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon prevailing time during the
first 16 days and from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset during
the last 20 days of the spring season.

B. Turkey hunters 15 years of age and younger and holders of
an apprentice hunting license may hunt on the first Saturday in
April and the following calendar day from 1/2 hour before
sunrise to sunset, when in compliance with applicable license
requirements and when accompanied and directly supervised
by an adult who has a valid Virginia hunting license on his
person or an adult who is exempt from purchasing a hunting
license. Adult hunters accompanying youth hunters or
apprentice license holders on these days may assist with calling
but they shall not carry or discharge weapons. Yeuth—and

! | lirmi .
turkey-per-hunter:

C. Upon receipt of an application from an officer or other
designated official representative of any nonprofit organization
that has support for sportsmen with impaired mobility as one
of its mission statements, the director may issue a permit to an
officer or representative of the organization that allows
sportsmen with impaired mobility to hunt bearded wild turkeys
from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset from the 10th through
16th days of the spring season. Such authorization shall be
valid only when hunting during an authorized event. All
participants shall be in compliance with all requirements of law
and regulation that apply during the spring season, and bearded
turkeys killed during these events shall count toward daily and
annual bag limits.

D. Bearded turkeys may be hunted by calling.

E. It shall be unlawful to use dogs or organized drives for the
purpose of hunting.

F. It shall be unlawful to use or have in possession any shot
larger than number 2 fine shot when hunting turkeys with a
shotgun.

4VAC15-240-51. Youth and apprentice hunter fall turkey
hunting weekend.

In counties, cities, and areas with a fall turkey season, hunters
15 years of age and younger and holders of an apprentice
hunting license may hunt turkey on the second Saturday in
October and the following calendar day when in compliance
with applicable license requirements and when accompanied
and directly supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia
hunting license on his person or is exempt from purchasing a
hunting license. Adult hunters accompanying youth hunters or
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apprentice license holders on these days may assist with calling
turkey but they shall not carry or discharge weapons. ¥euth

. I limited . kend
one-turkey-per-hunter

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7534; Filed May 4, 2023, 4:03 p.m.

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to 8§ 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when
promulgating regulations regarding the management of
wildlife.

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-260. Game: Waterfowl and
Waterfowl Blinds (amending 4VAC15-260-120; adding
4VAC15-260-85, 4VAC15-260-86; repealing 4VAC15-260-
60 through 4VAC15-260-80).

Statutory Authority: 88 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of
Virginia.
Public Hearing Information:

May 25, 2023 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources,

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia
23228.

Public Comment Deadline: May 24, 2023.

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife
Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park
Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email
cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) prohibit licensing of non-
riparian, stationary waterfowl blinds in public waters
adjacent to wildlife management areas and wildlife
conservation sites as well as the James River, Plum Tree
Island, Occoguan Bay, and Featherstone National
Wildlife Refuges; and (ii) clarify the boundaries of the
special sea duck area to enhance understanding by
hunters and law-enforcement officers as to when hunters
are allowed to chase and retrieve injured sea ducks.

4VAC15-260-60. Blinds—adjacent—to—Chickahominy

Wildlife-Management-Area. (Repealed.)

No-hecense-shal-be-issued-forstationary-waterfowl-blinds-on
. ckahomi iver in_Charl )

; ) . Ldlif
Area:

4VAC15-260-70. Blinds—on—-GameFarm—Marsh-\Wildlife
Management-Area: (Repealed.)

4VAC15-260-75. Blinds—adjacent—to—the \Ware Creek
MA#dHeuManagement—A%ear (Regealed )

Management—Aﬁeen (Repealed.)

4VVAC15-260-85. Non-riparian stationary blinds adjacent

to certain department-owned properties.

A. Non-riparian stationary waterfowl blinds shall not be
erected or licensed on the shores or in the public waters
adjacent to any department wildlife management area or
wildlife conservation site.

B. Subject to 4VAC15-40-100, 4VAC15-40-110, 4VAC15-
40-130, 4VAC15-260-90, and 4VAC15-260-115, floating
waterfowl blinds shall be permitted on the public waters
adjacent to any department wildlife _management area or
wildlife conservation site. Additionally, as permitted in 8 29.1-
351 of the Code of Virginia, the distance restrictions for
licenses for waterfowl blinds and for hunting waterfowl in
8§ 29.1-340 through 29.1-351.1 of the Code of Virginia shall
not apply to floating waterfow! blinds being used on the public
waters adjacent to any department wildlife management area
or wildlife conservation site.

C. For purposes of this chapter, "adjacent waters" means all
water from mean low tide to 600 yards offshore.

D. Any person who holds a 2022-2023 non-riparian
stationary waterfowl blind license in the areas specified in
subsection A of this section is permitted to renew that person's
license for each of that person's blinds for the 2023-2024
waterfowl hunting seasons. In any case, licenses for these
blinds will expire no later than August 15, 2024. Per § 29.1-
347 of the Code of Virginia, blind structures must be removed
when the license expires or when the license holder no longer
intends to use the blind, whichever occurs first.
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E. This section shall not abridge the privileges prescribed for
a landowner and a landowner's lessee and a permittee in
8§ 29.1-344 and 29.1-347 of the Code of Virginia.

F. This chapter shall not apply to the blinds and public waters
in the City of Virginia Beach.

4VAC15-260-86. Non-riparian stationary blinds adjacent
to select national wildlife refuges.

A. Non-riparian stationary waterfowl blinds shall not be
erected or licensed on the shores of or in the public waters
adjacent to designated national wildlife refuges identified in
this subsection:

1. James River National Wildlife Refuge;
2. Plum Tree Island National Wildlife Refuge;
3. Occoquan Bay National Wildlife Refuge; or
4. Featherstone National Wildlife Refuge.

B. Floating waterfowl blinds shall be permitted on the public
waters adjacent to the specified refuges. Additionally, as
permitted in 8 29.1-351 of the Code of Virginia, the distance
restrictions in licenses for waterfowl blinds and for hunting
waterfowl in 88 29.1-340 through 29.1-351.1 of the Code of
Virginia shall not apply to floating waterfowl blinds being used
on the public waters adjacent to the specific refuges.

C. For purposes of this chapter, "adjacent waters" means all
water from mean low tide to 600 yards offshore.

D. Any person who holds a 2022-2023 non-riparian
stationary waterfowl blind license in the areas specified in
subsection A of this section is permitted to renew that person's
license for each of that person's blinds for the 2023-2024 and
2024-2025 waterfowl hunting seasons. In any case, licenses for
these blinds will expire no later than August 15, 2025. Per
8§ 29.1-347 of the Code of Virginia, blind structures must be
removed when the license expires or when the license holder
no longer intends to use the blind, whichever occurs first.

E. This section shall not abridge the privileges prescribed for
a landowner and a landowner's lessees and a permittee in
8§ 29.1-344 and 29.1-347 of the Code of Virginia.

4VAC15-260-120. Special sea duck seasen area.

delineated as follows:

Fhese-waters—at-a-distance-greaterthan-800-yardsfrom-any
shore—island-or-emergentvegetationin-the-felowing-area: The
ocean waters of Virginia, the tidal waters of Northampton and
Accomack eeunties Counties up to the first highway bridge,
and the Chesapeake Bay and each of its tributaries up to the

first highway bridge. Back Bay and its tributaries are not
included in the special sea duck hunting area.

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7532; Filed May 4, 2023, 4:04 p.m.

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which
provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to
supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the
Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.)
of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-390. Watercraft: Safe and
Reasonable Operation of Vessels (amending 4VAC15-390-
10, 4VAC15-390-85; repealing 4VAC15-390-11 through
4VAC15-390-70, 4VAC15-390-90 through 4VAC15-390-
130).
Statutory Authority: 88 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of
Virginia.
Public Hearing Information:
May 25, 2023 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources,
7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia
23228.

Public Comment Deadline: May 24, 2023.

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife
Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park
Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email
cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The proposed amendments replace regulatory text
containing requirements for safe and reasonable
operation of vessels, including navigation of vessels in
diverse situations such as approaching and overtaking
other vessels and when an operator's vision is obscured,
with a citation incorporating federal requirements for the
same provisions at 33 CFR Parts 83, 84, and 86.

4VAC15-390-10. Applicability.

The following sections in this chapter apply to the operation
of "vessels" as defined in § 29.1-700 of the Code of Virginia
on all waters within the Commonwealth,—beth—public—and
private. Vessels complying with the international—+rules—of
navigation Inland Navigation Rules, 33 CFR Parts 83, 84, and
86, as established by the U.S. Coast Guard are considered to be
in compliance with the requirements of this chapter.

4VAC15-390-11. Definitions: (Repealed.)
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4VAC15-390-20. Motorboats-approaching-head-and-head-
(Repealed.)
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4VAC15-390-50.  Respeonsibility—between—vessels:  4VAC15-390-60. Sailing-vessels-approaching-one-another:

(Repealed.) (Repealed.)
o II € epﬁmate of E; otorboat-urderway—shallkeep—his ”.I e Itwe_salllltg ..Iels_s_els,ale appﬁ oachis gl gllel aRotRe! sﬁe Ias
way-of-the-other-as-follows:
1-A-vessel-notundercommand:
Y - - - !
Z-f-vessehrestricted-in-its-ability-to-maneuver which-hasthe-wind-on-the portside-shall- keep-out-of the-way
. | in fishi . I ial £ 1 her.
fishing-apparatus-thatrestricts-maneuverability;and 2 W : ide. |
i I |: . !
B—The-operater-ota-sathng-vessehunderway-shat-keep-his
vessel-out-ofthe-way-of S-—For-the purpose .gl G see_tlel the-wi d.‘“’a'd side S |aI_I b_e
1-A-vessel-notundercommand: . it : . | |t i
4 [l
3-A-vessel-engaged-infishing-with-nets-or-othercommercial  4VAC15-390-70. Buty—ofvessel-required-toeep—outof

fishing-apparatus-that-restricts-maneuverability- way-duty-of ethervessel- (Repealed.)

3—-a-vessel- with-the-wind-on-the left side sees-a-vessel-to ~ 4VAC15-390-85. Operators to give right-of-way and
rvindward M . an atermine—with—certainty  reduce speed.

Every motorboat, when approaching or passing within 200

Fightsideitshall-keep-outofthe-way-of the-other- feet of any law-enforcement vessel or emergency services
Forthepurposeof-this-section,the-windward—(upwind)-side vessel that is displaying flashing blue e, red, or public safety
hall be deemed-to-be the sid hosite ha which-the  lights shall slow to no wake speed so that the effect of the wake
does not disturb the activities of law-enforcement personnel or
emergency services personnel. Where the operator of a
motorboat fails to comply with the provisions of this section
and such failure endangers the life or limb of any person or
endangers or damages vessels, the operator shall be guilty of a
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Class 3 misdemeanor. Upon conviction, the operator shall
additionally be required to complete and pass a National
Association of State Boating Law Administrators approved
safe boating course as required in § 29.1-746 of the Code of
Virginia.

4VAC15-390-90. Buty-where-operator's-vision-obscured:
(Repealed.)

4VAC15-390-120. Regulations—not-to-exonerate-operator
from-neglect: (Repealed.)

Nothing-in-this-chapter-shal-exonerate-the-operator-of any

4VAC15-390-130. Standard—whistle—and—hern—signals:
(Repealed.)

4VAC15-390-100.
(Repealed.)

4VAC15-390-110. Departure—from—regulations—to—avoid
immediate-danger- (Repealed.)
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shalnot-be-obligatedto-carrya—whistleor bell-as—required  specifications the Navigation Rules found in 33 CFR Parts 83,
i i 84, and 86 as established by the U.S. Coast Guard.

4VAC15-420-20. Definitions: (Repealed.)

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7537; Filed May 4, 2023, 4:04 p.m.

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, which
provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to
supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the
Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et seq.)
of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Title of Requlation: 4VAC15-420. Watercraft: Navigation
Lights and Shapes (amending 4VAC15-420-10; repealing
4VAC15-420-20 through 4VAC15-420-110).

Statutory Authority: 8§ 29.1-701, and 29.1-735 of the Code of
Virginia.
Public Hearing Information:

May 25, 2023 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources,

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia
23228.

Public Comment Deadline: May 24, 2023.

Agency Contact: Cale Godfrey, Assistant Director, Wildlife
Division, Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park
Drive, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 308-4210, or email
cale.godfrey@dwr.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The proposed amendments replace regulatory text
containing requirements for navigation lights for various
vessels with a citation incorporating federal requirements
for the same provisions at 33 CFR Parts 83, 84, and 86.

4VAC15-420-10. Application.

The navigation lights requirements in this chapter shall be
complied with in all weather and from sunset to sunrise on the
public waters of the Commonwealth. During such times no
other lights shall be exhibited, except such lights as cannot be
mistaken for the lights specified in this chapter or do not impair
their visibility or distinctive character, or interfere with the
keeping of a proper lookout. The lights prescribed by this
chapter shall, if carried, also be exhibited from sunrise to
sunset in restricted visibility and may be exhibited in all other
circumstances when it is deemed necessary. The lights
specified in this chapter shall comply with U-S—Ceast-Guard
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tubes—gmmnung—ra#s—mﬂatable—teys—and—srmnapdewees 4VAC15-420-40.  Power-driven—vessels—underway.
routinely-used-as-water toys-orswimming-aids. (Repealed.)
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_Sidelights: 4VAC15-420-60. Sailing—vessels—underway—and—vessels
S g. under-oars: (Repealed.)

4VAC15-420-70. Messels—fishing—with—apparatus—that

each-othershal-be lighted-as-one-vessel-or-objeet; restricts maneuverability. (Repealed.)

4-A-diamend-shape-at-or-nearthe-aftermostextremity-of-the A—A-vessel-engagedin—fishing-with-nets—trawls—or—other

last-vessel-or-object-beingtowed:-and f-islq.iqg apparatus that restricts-mane v!sl:alsil';t-jr (as-defined-in
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4VAC15-420-80. Messels-not undercommand-orrestricted
in-their-ability to-maneuver- (Repealed.)

_ " ! rod li . icalli
best-be-seen:

can-bestbe-seenand

0 j y j i H
3 ”II. EII '.“EEIE'I Ilg' “way tlle:_g e “at.“ Ell.EE“g. ts ane—a 4VAC15-420-90. Piotvessels: (Repealed.)

ll' ’ "E IG' e E'Ie _lastl IEE."E two-all I'QE e I'gl;ES' a-vertical
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4VAC15-420-100. Ancheored-vessels—and-vessels-aground-
(Repealed.)

4VAC15-420-110. Seaplanes: (Repealed.)

Where s “;I&SHSE*.SIE. foi a.saasm e E.;.E;EI thit ||g_|l;5 ane
X EHEEIE of ;I E.EI & EiE.EE IIE“”EE oF 1A IEI.E POSHIORS EIEEEHIEIEE II

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7538; Filed May 4, 2023, 4:05 p.m.

* *

TITLE 8. EDUCATION
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Emergency Regulation
Title of Requlation: 8VAC20-23. Licensure Regulations for
School Personnel (adding 8VAC20-23-51).
Statutory Authority: 8§ 22.1-298.1 and 22.1-299 of the Code
of Virginia.
Effective Dates: May 19, 2023, through November 18, 2024,
Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations,
Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North
14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
225-2540, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov.

Preamble:

Section 2.2-4011 A of the Code of Virginia states that
regulations that an agency finds are necessitated by an
emergency situation may be adopted upon consultation
with the Attorney General, which approval shall be
granted only after the agency has submitted a request
stating in writing the nature of the emergency, and the
necessity for such action shall be at the sole discretion of
the Governor.

The Commonwealth is facing a crisis of 15,500 teachers
and school personnel whose licenses are set to expire on
June 30, 2023. Due to license processing delays with
Teacher Education and Licensure (TEAL), these
applications may not be processed in a timely manner.
This leaves thousands of teachers and school personnel
who may not be able to practice their professions; school
divisions across the Commonwealth without adequate
staffing; and ultimately children who could be left without
adequate instruction or guidance for the 2023-2024
school year. The primary issue is that TEAL is currently
unable to process the current number of renewals, which
jeopardizes the licenses of teachers and school personnel
across the Commonwealth. Student scores on the
Standards of Learning and other national assessments,
such as the National Assessment of Educational Progress
(NAEP), show that student academic progress has
suffered significantly over the past few years. Students
cannot be subjected to further hindrances or interruptions
to their education.

On May 11, 2023, at an emergency meeting, the State
Board of Education adopted the emergency action, which
extends until June 30, 2024, any renewable license
identified in 8VAC20-23-50 that is held by a person as of
May 11, 2023, and set to expire on June 30, 2023.

8VAC?20-23-51. Extension of renewable licenses until June
30, 2024.

A. Every renewable license identified in 8VAC20-23-50 that
is (i) held by any person as of May 11, 2023, and (ii) set to
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expire on June 30, 2023, shall continue in effect until June 30,
2024, or until final administrative action is taken by the State
Board of Education (board), or the State Superintendent of
Public Instruction (superintendent) acting under authorization
from the board, whichever first occurs. Any such final
administrative action to grant the renewal shall be deemed to
take effect on July 1, 2023.

B. Before final administrative action on an application, the
superintendent shall be permitted to offer applicants covered
under this section until June 30, 2024, the opportunity to
complete any educational or training elements necessary for
the license being sought.

C. This extension shall not prolong any license beyond any
maximum period authorized by statute.

D. Nothing in this section shall affect the authority of the
board to deny, revoke, cancel, or suspend such license in
accordance with this chapter or other provision of law.

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7566; Filed May 17, 2023, 8:00 a.m.

L 4 L 4

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT
STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

Forms

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Contractors is
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of
Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards
served by the Department of Professional and Occupational
Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that
are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and
applicants. The board will receive, consider, and respond to
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to
reconsideration or revision.

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not
being published; however, online users of this issue of the
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a
form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available
from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-800. Virginia Pollutant
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit
Regulation for Discharges Resulting from the Application
of Pesticides to Surface Waters.

Agency Contact: Peter Sherman, Department of
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218,
telephone (804) 659-2666, or email
peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov.

FORMS (9VAC25-800)
. iscl |

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors
Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-140, 18VAC50-22-
170).

18VAC50-30. Individual License and Certification
Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-120, 18VAC50-30-
130).

Statutory Authority: 88§ 54.1-201, 54.1-1102, and 54.1-1146 of
the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: September 1, 2023.

Agency Contact: Marjorie King, Executive Director, Board for
Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA
23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or
email contractor@dpor.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The amendments extend a temporary reduction in renewal
and reinstatement fees for certain board licenses and
certifications renewed or reinstated on or before August
31, 2025.

18VAC50-22-140. Renewal fees.

Each check or money order should be made payable to the
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are
nonrefundable.

In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument
for payment of a fee required by statute or regulation is not
honored by the bank or financial institution named, the
applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient
to cover the original fee, plus an additional processing charge
set by the department:

{rev-—2019) Fee Type When Due Amount Due
Pesticide Discharge Management Plan (PDMP) - VAG-87 with renewal
(rev. 4/2023) Class C renewal application $195
VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7565; Filed May 12, 2023, 3:28 p.m. ith |
Class B renewal with renewa $225
4 'S application
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Class A renewal with Te”e.Wa' $240
application

Residential

Building Energy with renewal $195

Analyst Firm application

renewal

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or its
agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for
renewal or must apply for reinstatement.

For renewal fees received on or before August 31, 2023 2025,
the fees shall be $230 $150 for a Class C renewal, $160 $175
for a Class B renewal, $175 $200 for a Class A renewal and
$130 $150 for a Residential Building Energy Analyst Firm
renewal.

18VAC50-22-170. Reinstatement fees.

Each check or money order should be made payable to the
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are
nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or
similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or
regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution
named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees
sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional

processing charge set by the department:
Fee Type When Due Amount Due
Class C with reinstatement
- A $405*
reinstatement application
Class B with reinstatement
- - $460*
reinstatement application
Class A with reinstatement
- - $490*
reinstatement application
Residential
Building Energy with reinstatement $405*
Analyst Firm application
reinstatement
*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140.

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or its
agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for
reinstatement or must apply for a new license and meet the
entry requirements in place at the time of that application. In
order to ensure that licensees are qualified to practice as
contractors, no reinstatement will be permitted once two years
from the expiration date of the license have passed.

For reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 2023
2025, the fees shall be $330 $360 for Class C reinstatement,
$390 $410 for Class B reinstatement, and-$420 $450 for Class

A reinstatement, and $360 for a Residential Building Energy
Analyst Firm. These fees include the renewal fee listed in
18VAC50-22-140.

18VAC50-30-120. Renewal.

A. Licenses issued under this chapter to electricians, gas
fitters, HVAC tradesmen, or plumbers shall expire three years
from the last day of the month in which they were issued as
indicated on the license.

B. All other licenses and certification cards issued under this
chapter shall expire two years from the last day of the month
in which they were issued as indicated on the license or
certification card.

C. Effective with all licenses issued or renewed after
December 31, 2007, as a condition of renewal or reinstatement
and pursuant to 8 54.1-1133 of the Code of Virginia, all
individuals holding tradesman licenses with the trade
designations of plumbing, electrical, and heating ventilation
and cooling shall be required to satisfactorily complete three
hours of continuing education for each designation, and
individuals holding licenses as liquefied petroleum gas fitters
and natural gas fitter providers, one hour of continuing
education, relating to the applicable building code, from a
provider approved by the board in accordance with the
provisions of this chapter. An inactive tradesman is not
required to meet the continuing education requirements as a
condition of renewal.

D. Certified elevator mechanics and certified accessibility
mechanics, as a condition of renewal or reinstatement and
pursuant to § 54.1-1143 of the Code of Virginia, shall be
required to satisfactorily complete eight hours of continuing
education relating to the provisions of the Virginia Uniform
Statewide Building Code pertaining to elevators, escalators,
and related conveyances. This continuing education will be
from a provider approved by the board in accordance with the
provisions of this chapter.

E. Certified water well systems providers, as a condition of
renewal or reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1129.1 B of
the Code of Virginia, shall be required to satisfactorily
complete eight hours of continuing education in the specialty
of technical aspects of water well construction, applicable
statutory and regulatory provisions, and business practices
related to water well construction from a provider approved by
the board in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

F. Certified automatic fire sprinkler inspectors, as a condition
of renewal and pursuant to § 54.1-1148 of the Code of Virginia,
shall be required to satisfactorily complete eight hours of
continuing education relating to changes and knowledge of the
Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51). No
renewal will be permitted once 30 days from the expiration
date have passed. After that date, the applicant must apply for
a new certification and meet the current entry requirements.
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G. Renewal fees are as follows:

Tradesman license $135
Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $90
Natural gas fitter provider license $90
Backflow prevention device worker certification $90
Elevator mechanic certification $90
Certified accessibility mechanic $90
Certified automatic fire sprinkler inspector $90
Water well systems provider certification $90
Residential building energy analyst license $90

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.

Tradesman license renewal fees received on or before August
31, 2023 2025, shall be $90 $100. For all other renewal fees
received on or before August 31, 2023 2025, the fee shall be
$65 $70.

H. The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant
outlining procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this notice,
however, shall not relieve the regulant of the obligation to
renew. If the regulant fails to receive the renewal notice, a
photocopy of the tradesman license or backflow prevention
device worker certification card may be submitted with the
required fee as an application for renewal within 30 days of the
expiration date.

I. The date on which the renewal fee is received by the
department or its agent will determine whether the regulant is
eligible for renewal or required to apply for reinstatement.

J. The board may deny renewal of a tradesman license or a
backflow prevention device worker certification card for the
same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or discipline a
regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal any such action by
the board under the Virginia Administrative Process Act
(8 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

K. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty,
reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order
or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services
provided by the department such as, but not limited to, renewal,
reinstatement, processing of a new application, or exam
administration.

L. Residential building energy analysts, as a condition of
renewal or reinstatement, shall provide documentation of
continued membership, in good standing, of a certifying
organization approved by the board and proof of insurance as
required in 18VAC50-30-40 | 4.

18VAC50-30-130. Reinstatement.

A. Should the Department of Professional and Occupational
Regulation fail to receive the renewal application or fees within

30 days of the expiration date, the regulant will be required to
apply for reinstatement of the license or certification card.

B. Reinstatement fees are as follows:

Tradesman license $185*
Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $140*
Natural gas fitter provider license $140*
Backflow prevention device worker $140*
certification

Elevator mechanic certification $140*
Certified accessibility mechanic $140*
Water well systems provider certification $140*
Residential building energy analyst license $140*
*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-30-120.

All fees required by the board are nonrefundable and shall not
be prorated.

Tradesman license reinstatement fees received on or before
August 31, 2023 2025, shall be $140 $150. For all other
reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 2623 2025,
the fee shall be $115 $120. This fee includes the renewal fee
listed in 18VAC50-30-120.

C. Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements
of 18VAC50-30-30.

D. The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the
department or its agent will determine whether the license or
certification card is reinstated or a new application is required.

E. In order to ensure that license or certification card holders
are qualified to practice as tradesmen, gas fitters, liquefied
petroleum gas fitters, natural gas fitter providers, backflow
prevention device workers, elevator mechanics, water well
systems providers, or residential building energy analysts, no
reinstatement will be permitted once two years from the
expiration date has passed. After that date the applicant must
apply for a new license or certification card and meet the then
current entry requirements.

F. Any tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, or natural
gas fitter provider activity conducted subsequent to the
expiration of the license may constitute unlicensed activity and
may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of
Virginia. Further, any person who holds himself out as a
certified backflow prevention device worker, as defined in
8§ 54.1-1128 of the Code of Virginia, or as a certified elevator
mechanic or certified accessibility mechanic, as defined in
§ 54.1-1140 of the Code of Virginia, or as a water well systems
provider as defined in § 54.1-1129.1 of the Code of Virginia,
without the appropriate certification, may be subject to
prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Any
activity related to the operating integrity of an elevator,

Volume 39, Issue 21

Virginia Register of Regulations

June 5, 2023

2578



Regulations

escalator, or related conveyance, conducted subsequent to the
expiration of an elevator mechanic certification may constitute
illegal activity and may be subject to prosecution under Title
54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Any individual who completes a
residential building energy analysis, as defined in § 54.1-1144
of the Code of Virginia, subsequent to the expiration of a
residential building energy analyst license may have engaged
inillegal activity and may be subject to prosecution under Title
54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

G. The board may deny reinstatement of a license or
certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial
issuance or to discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to
appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia
Administrative Process Act (8§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of
Virginia).

H. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty,
reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order
or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services
provided by the department, such as, but not limited to,
renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or
exam administration.

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7500; Filed May 12, 2023, 9:27 a.m.
BOARD OF MEDICINE

Proposed Regulation

Title of Requlation: 18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing
the Practice of Occupational Therapy (amending
18VAC85-80-10, 18VACB85-80-26, 18VAC85-80-70,
18VAC85-80-71).

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Hearing Information:

June 22, 2023 - 8:35 a.m. - Department of Health
Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond,
Virginia 23233-1463

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2023.

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director,
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico,
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 527-4429,
or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov.

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority
of 8 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the
Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations to
administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-2956.7:1 of the
Code of Virginia creates the Occupational Therapy
Interjurisdictional Compact.

Purpose: The proposed regulation, which is almost identical to
the emergency regulation, is necessary to comply with Chapter
242 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, that
requires Virginia to participate in the Occupational Therapy
Interjurisdictional Compact. Additionally, the amendment to
define "practitioner” to include occupational therapists and

occupational therapy assistants practicing in Virginia pursuant
to a compact privilege is essential to ensure that those who are
clinically practicing on patients or clients in Virginia are
accountable to the same standards of care as any occupational
therapist or occupational therapy assistant holding a Virginia
license. Otherwise, occupational therapy services for Virginia
citizens provided by persons practicing through the
Occupational Therapy Interjurisdictional Compact would
potentially be harmful to public health, safety, or welfare.

Substance: Amendments to the regulation include (i) adding
definitions consistent with the Occupational Therapy
Interjurisdictional Compact; (ii) setting the fee for a compact
privilege to practice in Virginia; and (iii) specifying that
renewal of the compact privilege is based on adherence to the
compact rules for continued competency.

Issues: The advantage to the public is guarantee that
occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants
practicing Virginia through the Occupational Therapy
Interjurisdictional Compact will be held to the same standards
of conduct as Virginia licensees. There are no disadvantages to
the public. There are no specific advantages or disadvantages
to the agency.

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed
the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance
with 8§ 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and
Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis
presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic
impacts.!

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the
result of a 2021 legislative mandate, the Board of Medicine
(Board) proposes to make permanent an emergency regulation
that facilitates the state's membership in the Occupational
Therapy Interjurisdictional Licensure Compact (Compact).
The emergency regulation is scheduled to expire on June 30,
2023.2

Background. Chapter 242 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly,
Special Session 1,° entered the Commonwealth into the
Compact. Under the Compact, Occupational Therapists (OTs)
and Occupational Therapy Assistants (OTAs) who are licensed
in good standing in a Compact member state may practice in
other Compact member states via a "compact privilege." The
Occupational Therapy Compact Commission (Commission),
which is comprised of representatives from the member states,
creates rules concerning the Compact that affect member
states. Chapter 242 defines "rule" as a regulation promulgated
by the Commission that has the force of law.

The Commission held their inaugural meeting on August 3 and
4 and has yet to create any rules. The Department of Health
Professions (DHP) states that the Compact does not anticipate
that member states will be able to issue compact privileges
until late 2023 at the earliest.
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The Board's proposed amendments to the regulation are as
follows: (i) Adding definitions for compact,* compact
privilege®, and practitioner; (ii) Specifying that "The fee for
issuance of a compact privilege or the biennial renewal of such
privilege shall be $75 for an occupational therapist and $40 for
an occupational therapy assistant"; (iii) Stating that; "In order
to renew a compact privilege to practice in Virginia, the holder
shall comply with the rules adopted by the Occupational
Therapy Compact Commission in effect at the time of the
renewal"; and (iv) Changing "practitioner" to "licensee" in the
section on continued competency requirements.

"Practitioner” is defined as "an occupational therapist or
occupational therapy assistant licensed in Virginia or an
occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant
practicing in Virginia with a compact privilege." The Board is
proposing to change “practitioner” to “licensee" in the
continued competency requirements section since Virginia's
continued competency requirements would not apply to OTs
and OTAs practicing in Virginia with a compact privilege.
Those individuals would need to follow the continued
competency requirements in the state where they are licensed.

The following states are current participants in the Compact:
Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, lowa,
Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, New
Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Utah,
Tennessee, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin,
and Wyoming.

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Currently, OTs and OTAs must
be licensed in each state in which they practice. As stated
above, the Compact rules have yet to be issued. Chapter 242
does state the following: "The purpose of this Compact is to
facilitate interstate practice of occupational therapy with the
goal of improving public access to occupational therapy
services." So presumably the rules will make it easier or less
expensive to gain compact privilege in a non-home state than
to gain or renew licensure in that non-home state. The Board's
proposed fees for compact privileges are lower than the fees
charged by the Board for initial licensure and license renewal

looking to hire OTs or OTAs. Some Virginia-based OTs and
OTAs and their employers may also benefit if it is easier or less
expensive to gain compact privilege than licensure in other
Compact states, so that clients can be served in those other
states. This would be particularly true for those that are near
the border with one of the Commonwealth's neighboring states,
all of which are Compact states.®

More OTs and OTAs offering their services in Virginia would
create greater competition for jobs. According to survey data
from two Virginia Healthcare Workforce Data Center reports
(workforce reports) published in March 2021, 9.0% of OTs and
12% of OTAs in the Commonwealth experienced involuntary
unemployment in the previous year.” Thus, some OTs and
OTAs may be worse off if membership in the Compact
increases the supply of occupational therapy services in
Virginia without a commensurate increase in demand.

According to DHP, there are 1,050 OTs and 221 OTAs who
are licensed in Virginia but who have out-of-state addresses.
The agency does not have data on how many of these
individuals are licensed in other states. For those that are
licensed in other Compact states, obtaining the compact
privilege in the Commonwealth rather than renewing their
Virginia license would save the OTs $60 and the OTAs $30. If
all 1,050 OTs and 221 OTAs were licensed in other Compact
states, and chose to obtain the compact privilege rather than
renew their Virginia license, revenue for the Board would
decrease by $69,630. The Board's expenses may decrease as
well though, since continued competency requirements would
no longer need to be checked for these individuals.
Additionally, as of July 31 the Board had a cash balance of
over $10 million; consequently, this potential loss of revenue
could be absorbed in the current budget for the foreseeable
future.

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. There are a total of
4,919 OTs and 1,797 OTAs licensed in Virginia.” According
to survey data from the workforce report on OTs, the primary
type of employers of OTs in the Commonwealth are distributed
as follows:

see table). .
( ) Establishment Type Percentage
OTs OTAs
. General Hospital, Inpatient Department 15%
Initial Licensure $130 $70 P P P ’
- - - o
Biennial License Renewal $135 $70 Skilled Nursing Facility 14%
Initial Compact Privilege $75 $40 K-12 School System 13%
Biennial Compact Privilege $75 $40 Home Health Care 13%
Renewal
To the extent that the rules and fees are set so that it is | Rehabilitation Facility, Outpatient Clinic 9%
substantially easier or less expensive to gain compact privilege - - .
in Virginia than licensure, more OTs and OTAs who are | Private Practice, Group %
licensed in other states may begin to offer their services in the
Commonwealth. This would be beneficial for Virginia Rehabilitation Facility, Residential/Inpatient 7%
consumers of occupational therapy services and employers
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General Hospital, Outpatient Department 5%
Assisted Living or Continuing Care Facility 4%
Academic Institution 3%
Private Practice, Solo 3%
Mental Health, Inpatient 1%
Other 7%

According to survey data from the workforce report on OTAS,
the primary type of employers of OTAs in the Commonwealth
are distributed as follows:

Establishment Type Percentage
Skilled Nursing Facility 40%
Home Health Care 15%
Assisted Living or Continuing Care Facility 9%
K-12 School System 8%
Rehabilitation Facility, Residential/Inpatient 8%
General Hospital, Inpatient Department 5%
Rehabilitation Facility, Outpatient Clinic 4%
Private Practice, Group 3%
Private Practice, Solo 1%
Academic Institution 1%
General Hospital, Outpatient Department 1%
Mental Health, Inpatient 1%
Other 4%

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an
adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.® An
adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost
or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits
exceed the costs for all entities combined. Participation in the
Compact enables OTs and OTAs licensed in Virginia to
practice in other states. It also may increase the supply of OTs
and OTAs who can practice in the Commonwealth, which
brings more competition for jobs within Virginia. The
increased competition resulting from the Compact may make
it more difficult for some OTs and OTAs to find employment
or preferred employment within the state. As stated, the
workforce surveys found that 9.0% of OTs and 12% of OTAs
experienced involuntary unemployment in the previous year.
So some OTs and OTAs may be worse off. Participation in the
Compact results from the legislation, and not the proposed

amendments to the regulation. Thus, no adverse impact is
indicated for the proposed amendments to the regulation.

Small Businesses'® Affected.™ Types and Estimated Number
of Small Businesses Affected. The Board regulates individual
practitioners, but not their employers. Thus, data on the
number of small businesses affected is not available. The types
of businesses that are potentially affected and may qualify as
small are described in the tables.

Costs and Other Effects. Some small providers of occupational
therapy services may be worse off through increased
competition from firms based out of state. Others may be better
off through increased access to out-of-state clients.

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. As the
Compact is required by statute, there is no alternative method
that reduces adverse impact.

Localities!? Affected.®® Virginia's decision to join the Compact
may particularly affect localities bordering or otherwise near
neighboring states, all of which are Compact members. Costs
are not introduced for local governments.

Projected Impact on Employment. Joining the Compact may
increase the supply of OTs and OTAs that could practice in the
Commonwealth. This may lead to more OTs and OTAs
working in Virginia.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the extent
that the supply of OTs and OTAs increases in the
Commonwealth, hiring costs for employers may decrease. This
would commensurately increase the value of the employing
firms. The proposed amendments do not affect real estate
development costs.

1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed
amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the
projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of
persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and
(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.

2See https://townhall.virginia.gov/I/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9367
3See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212%2Bful%2BCHAP0242

“"Compact" is defined as "the Occupational Therapy Interjurisdictional
Licensure Compact.”

S"Compact privilege" is defined as "the definition of the term in § 54.1-
2956.7:1 of the Code of Virginia." There it is defined as "the authorization,
which is equivalent to a license, granted by a remote state to allow a licensee
from another member state to practice as an occupational therapist or practice
as an occupational therapy assistant in the remote state under its laws and rules.
The practice of occupational therapy occurs in the member state where the
patient/client is located at the time of the patient/client encounter.”

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The
Board of Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget.
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Summary:

Pursuant to Chapter 242 of the 2021 Acts of the Assembly,
Special Session I, which mandates membership of the
Commonwealth of Virginia in the Occupational Therapy
Interjurisdictional Compact, the proposed amendments (i)
add definitions consistent with the compact; (ii) set the fee
for a compact privilege to practice in Virginia; and (iii)
specify that renewal of the privilege is based on adherence
to compact rules for continued competency.

18VAC85-80-10. Definitions.

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the
Code of Virginia:

"Board"
"Occupational therapy assistant”
"Practice of occupational therapy"

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"ACOTE" means the Accreditation Council for Occupational
Therapy Education.

"Active practice” means a minimum of 160 hours of
professional practice as an occupational therapist or an
occupational therapy assistant within the 24-month period
immediately preceding renewal or application for licensure, if
previously licensed or certified in another jurisdiction. The
active practice of occupational therapy may include
supervisory, administrative, educational, or consultative
activities or responsibilities for the delivery of such services.

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board of Occupational
Therapy.

"Compact" means the Occupational Therapy

Interjurisdictional Licensure Compact.

"Compact privilege" means the same as the definition of the
term in § 54.1-2956.7:1 of the Code of Virginia.

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in continued
learning activity.

"NBCOT" means the National Board for Certification in
Occupational Therapy, under which the national examination
for certification is developed and implemented.

"National examination" means the examination prescribed by
NBCOT for certification as an occupational therapist or an
occupational therapy assistant and approved for licensure in
Virginia.

"Occupational therapy personnel” means appropriately
trained individuals who provide occupational therapy services
under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist.

"Practitioner” means _an__occupational therapist _or
occupational therapy assistant licensed in Virginia or an

occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant

practicing in Virginia with a compact privilege.

18VAC85-80-26. Fees.
A. The following fees have been established by the board:

1. The initial fee for the occupational therapist license shall
be $130; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be
$70.

2. The fee for reinstatement of the occupational therapist
license that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be
$180; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be $90.

3. The fee for active license renewal for an occupational
therapist shall be $135; for an occupational therapy assistant,
it shall be $70. The fees for inactive license renewal shall be
$70 for an occupational therapist and $35 for an
occupational therapy assistant. Renewals shall be due in the
birth month of the licensee in each even-numbered year. For
2020, the fee for renewal of an active license as an
occupational therapist shall be $108; for an occupational
therapy assistant, it shall be $54. For renewal of an inactive
license in 2020, the fees shall be $54 for an occupational
therapist and $28 for an occupational therapy assistant.

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal
application within one renewal cycle shall be $50 for an
occupational therapist and $30 for an occupational therapy
assistant.

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to
another jurisdiction for a license shall be $10.

6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-
2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.

7. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored
credit card or debit card shall be $50.

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of a
restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the licensee's
birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure
shall be $15 for each renewal cycle.

10. The fee for issuance of a compact privilege or the
biennial renewal of such privilege shall be $75 for an
occupational therapist and $40 for an occupational therapy
assistant.

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board
shall not be refundable.
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18VACB85-80-70. Biennial renewal of licensure.

A. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy
assistant shall renew his license biennially during his birth
month in each even-numbered year by:

1. Paying to the board the renewal fee prescribed in
18VAC85-80-26;

2. Indicating that he has been engaged in the active practice
of occupational therapy as defined in 18VAC85-80-10; and

3. Attesting to completion of continued competency
requirements as prescribed in 18VAC85-80-71.

B. An occupational therapist or an occupational therapy
assistant whose license has not been renewed by the first day
of the month following the month in which renewal is required
shall pay an additional fee as prescribed in 18VAC85-80-26.

C. In order to renew a compact privilege to practice in
Virginia, the holder shall comply with the rules adopted by the
Occupational Therapy Compact Commission in effect at the
time of the renewal.

18VAC85-80-71. Continued competency requirements for
renewal of an active license.

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a
practitioner licensee shall complete at least 20 contact hours of
continuing learning activities as follows:

1. A minimum of 10 of the 20 hours shall be in Type 1
activities, which shall consist of an organized program of
study, classroom experience, or similar educational
experience that is related to a licensee's current or anticipated
roles and responsibilities in occupational therapy and
approved or provided by one of the following organizations
or any of its components:

a. Virginia Occupational Therapy Association;
b. American Occupational Therapy Association;

c. National Board for Certification in Occupational
Therapy;

d. Local, state, or federal government agency;
e. Regionally accredited college or university;

f. Health care organization accredited by a national
accrediting organization granted authority by the Centers
for Medicare and Medicaid Services to assure compliance
with Medicare conditions of participation; or

g. An American Medical Association Category 1
Continuing Medical Education program.

2. No more than 10 of the 20 hours may be Type 2 activities,
which may include consultation with another therapist,
independent reading or research, preparation for a
presentation, or other such experiences that promote
continued learning. Up to two of the Type 2 continuing
education hours may be satisfied through delivery of

occupational therapy services, without compensation, to
low-income individuals receiving services through a local
health department or a free clinic organized in whole or
primarily for the delivery of health services. One hour of
continuing education may be credited for three hours of
providing such volunteer services as documented by the
health department or free clinic.

B. A practitioner licensee shall be exempt from the continuing
competency requirements for the first biennial renewal
following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.

C. The practitioner licensee shall retain in his the licensee's
records all supporting documentation for a period of six years
following the renewal of an active license.

D. The board shall periodically conduct a representative
random audit of its active licensees to determine compliance.
The practitioners licensees selected for the audit shall provide
all supporting documentation within 30 days of receiving
notification of the audit.

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject the
licensee to disciplinary action by the board.

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for
continuing competency requirements for up to one year for
good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee
prior to the renewal date.

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the
licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military
service, or officially declared disasters.

VAR. Doc. No. R22-6878; Filed May 15, 2023, 9:23 a.m.
BOARD OF PHARMACY

Forms

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the
regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not
being published; however, online users of this issue of the
Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a
form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available
from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.

Titles of Reqgulations: 18VAC110-21. Regulations
Governing the Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration
of Pharmacy Technicians.

18VAC110-30. Regulations for Practitioners of the Healing
Arts to Sell Controlled Substances.

18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing Pharmaceutical
Processors.

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Department of Health
Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA
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23233, telephone (804) email
erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov.

FORMS (18VAC110-21)

367-4688, or

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Examination

(rev. 3/2023)

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Endorsement

(rev. 3/2023)

Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a Pharmacist
License (rev. 3/2023)

Instructions for Reinstating a Pharmacy Technician
Registration (rev. 4/2023)

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Technician (eff.
6/2021)

"plpl.'ea. t'gg'ﬁ fo !eglslna_tlel as aF . Il_te_elgugse _ 5' a;; ;'aG;’

Application for Registration as a Limited-Use Pharmacy
Technician for use exclusively in a free clinic (rev. 3/2023)

Application for Approval of an Innovative (PILOT) Program
(rev. 6/2021)

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program
(rev. 10/2020)

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Preceptors (rev.
7/2020)

Application for Approval of ACPE Accredited Pharmacy
School Course(s) for Continuing Education Credit (rev.
6/2020)

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev.
4/2018)

Application for Volunteer Practice by a Pharmacist (rev.
4/2018)

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer
Practice (rev. 4/2018)

FORMS (18VAC110-30)

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration
Certificate (rev. 10/2020)

Controlled Substances Registration Inspection Report (rev.
1/2020)

Apphicatior :9' 2 I=|ee|_| se-to Segufﬁ_gg !E' e; !Ie;d Substancesby-a

Application for a License to Sell Controlled Substances by a

Affidavit for Limited-use Pharmacy Technician (rev. 5/2018)

Application for Approval of Pharmacy Technician Training
Program (rev. 10/2020)

Application for Regqistration as a Pharmacy Technician
Trainee (rev. 3/2023)

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern (rev.

3/2023)

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern for
Graduates of a Foreign College of Pharmacy (rev. 3/2023)

Affidavit of Practical Experience as a Pharmacy Intern (rev.
3/2019)

Name Change Form for Individuals (rev. 3/2018)

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education Program
(rev. 10/2020)

Practitioner of the Healing Arts (rev. 3/2023)

Application for Limited Use Facility Dispensing Permit for
Nonprofit (rev. 1/2021)

Limited Use Practitioner Dispensing License for Nonprofit
(rev. 1/2021)

FORMS (18VAC110-60)
Registration of Cannabis Products (rev. 9/2021)

Application for Registration as a Practitioner for Medical
Cannabis (rev. 5/2023)

Application for Registration as a Patient for Cannabis Oil
(rev. 3/2021)

Application for Registration as a Parent/Guardian for
Cannabis Oil (rev. 3/2021)

Application for Registration as a Registered Agent for
Cannabis Oil (rev. 3/2021)

How to Register with the Board as a Patient, Parent or Legal
Guardian (rev. 7/2020)

Application for a Pharmaceutical Processor Permit (rev.
9/2021)

Practitioner Reporting Requirements (eff. 6/2019)
Registration of CBD or THC-A Oil Products (eff. 6/2019)
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https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0202%20Pharmacist%20app%20by%20Exam%203-2023-20230508150710.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0202%20Pharmacist%20app%20by%20Exam%203-2023-20230508150710.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0202%20Pharmacist%20app%20by%20Endorsement%203-2023-20230508150558.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0202%20Pharmacist%20app%20by%20Endorsement%203-2023-20230508150558.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0202%20Reinstatement-Reactivate%20Pharmacist%20App%203-2023-20230508150909.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0202%20Reinstatement-Reactivate%20Pharmacist%20App%203-2023-20230508150909.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0230%20Reinstatement%20Pharmacy%20Technician%20App%203-2023-20230414151728.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0230%20Reinstatement%20Pharmacy%20Technician%20App%203-2023-20230414151728.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Phar_Technician_2021-20210624154142.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Phar_Technician_2021-20210624154142.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0231%20Limited-Use%20Pharmacy%20Technician%20Application%203-2023-20230508151624.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0231%20Limited-Use%20Pharmacy%20Technician%20Application%203-2023-20230508151624.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Aff_FreeClinicDir-20210113204932.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PT_TrainingApp-20210113205044.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PT_TrainingApp-20210113205044.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0245%20Pharmacy%20Technician%20Trainee%203-2023-20230508151719.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0245%20Pharmacy%20Technician%20Trainee%203-2023-20230508151719.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0203%20Pharmacy%20Intern%20Application%203-2023-20230508151202.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0203%20Pharmacy%20Intern%20Application%203-2023-20230508151202.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0203%20Foreign%20Grad%20Intern%20Application%203-2023-20230508151040.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0203%20Foreign%20Grad%20Intern%20Application%203-2023-20230508151040.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb24004673~309.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb24004673~309.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5946f004673~318.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/App_CEProgram_2021-20210902211150.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/App_CEProgram_2021-20210902211150.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgram_2021-20210902211008.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgram_2021-20210902211008.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210113205357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210113205357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CECredit-20210113205411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CECredit-20210113205411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Vol_Prac_Sponsor-20210113205611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Vol_Prac_Sponsor-20210113205611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Volunt_App_Pharm-20210113205627.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Volunt_App_Pharm-20210113205627.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=114d3004673~368.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=114d3004673~368.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg-20210116202337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg-20210116202337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/InspectionReport-20210116202357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/InspectionReport-20210116202357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0213%20PSD%20Practitioner%20App%203-2023-20230508151904.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0213%20PSD%20Practitioner%20App%203-2023-20230508151904.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/LimitedUse_NonProfit_2021-20210902211924.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/LimitedUse_NonProfit_2021-20210902211924.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/LimitedUse_PractitionerNonprofit_2021-20210902212105.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/LimitedUse_PractitionerNonprofit_2021-20210902212105.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Registration_Cannabis_2021-20210902202812.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0241%20Practitioner%20Medical%20Cannabis%20Application%205-2023-20230508152234.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0241%20Practitioner%20Medical%20Cannabis%20Application%205-2023-20230508152234.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Patient%20Cannabis-20210406110811.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Patient%20Cannabis-20210406110811.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Parent%20Cannabis-20210406110920.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Parent%20Cannabis-20210406110920.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Agent%20Cannabis-20210406111013.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Agent%20Cannabis-20210406111013.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/HowToPatientRegistration-20210113210109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/HowToPatientRegistration-20210113210109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/2021_PharmProcessorPermit-20210918184453.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/2021_PharmProcessorPermit-20210918184453.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91500004878~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3140004878~4).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf

Regulations

Pharmaceutical Processor & Dispensing Facility Inspection
Report (rev. 3/2021)

Application for Registration as a Registered Agent (eff.
12/2019)

Request for Visitor Approval (eff. 5/2020)
VAR. Doc. No. R23-7307; Filed May 8, 2023, 3:25 p.m.
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https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ProcessorInspectionReport-20210322101226.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ProcessorInspectionReport-20210322101226.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b19f0006378~3l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006378&mime=application/pdf

GOVERNOR

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 26 (2023)

Crushing the Fentanyl Epidemic: Strengthening
Virginia's Interdiction and Enforcement Response to
Fentanyl Crisis

Importance of the Initiative

Fentanyl poisoning has devastated families and communities
across the nation and in Virginia. The Commonwealth must do
more to combat this deadly fentanyl poisoning crisis.

Fentanyl is a synthetic opioid that is approximately fifty times
more potent than heroin and one hundred times stronger than
morphine. The number of fentanyl overdose deaths in the
Commonwealth has grown over 20-fold since 2013, with 1,951
Virginians killed by fentanyl in 2022. Since 2020, more
Virginians have died from fatal drug overdoses than motor
vehicle and gun-related deaths combined. Drug overdose is the
leading cause of unnatural death in Virginia.

The scope of the problem has not only grown over the past
decade, but the communities hit hardest have also changed.
Historically, white males regularly had the highest rates of fatal
opioid overdoses in Virginia. In 2019, however, black males
had the highest rate of fatal opioid overdoses in the
Commonwealth. From the latest available data, in 2022 black
males fatally overdosed on fentanyl 1.9 times as often as white
males (rate of 60.4 and 31.4 per 100,000, respectively). More
must be done to reach these communities and connect them to
a pathway to recovery and renewal.

To combat this scourge on Virginia's families and
communities, | am directing executive branch agencies to enact
a first-of-its-kind comprehensive fentanyl strategy as part of
the Right Help, Right Now behavioral health transformation to
(1) enhance public safety measures to counteract activity by
illicit drug manufacturers and distributors; (2) invest in and
enhance prevention and recovery efforts (3) educate our
communities for action to address fentanyl and opioid abuse
and overdoses; (4) expand access to evidence-based
treatments; and (5) comprehensively organize our government
to transform and strengthen Virginia's response to the fentanyl
opioid crisis.

The fentanyl epidemic is a national security concern, a public
safety issue, and a serious public health emergency. According
to the United States Drug Enforcement Administration, the
highest amounts of fentanyl come into the United States from
China, through Mexico and Canada. That is why Virginia
should raise penalties for manufacturers and dealers who work
with Chinese and Mexican drug cartels.

Overdoses are not limited to adults. Illicit drug manufacturers
and dealers target children with "rainbow fentanyl," which are
bright-colored pills resembling candy. We must protect our
children from the deadly dangers of fentanyl. Enhancing our
public safety capabilities will enable local law enforcement to

put resources in the right places for more effective interdiction.
We must also expand access to naloxone—the opioid reversal
treatment—in schools, re-evaluate how we care for children
who have lost a family member from a drug overdose, and
educate our communities about the dangers of fentanyl as well
as how to respond to an overdose.

Fentanyl overdoses and deaths have become far too familiar in
Virginia and throughout the country. The measures in this
Executive Order are significant steps to reduce the occurrence
of fentanyl overdoses and deaths in the Commonwealth.
Through this comprehensive strategy, together we will
overcome the poison that has taken too many lives.

Directive

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me as the
Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth, and pursuant
to Article V of the Constitution and the laws of Virginia, |
hereby order the following:

Prevention and Treatment

1. I direct the Secretary of Health and Human Resources to
assign a Special Advisor to the Governor on Opioid Response
within 90 days of the date of this order to assist in the
Commonwealth's coordinated efforts. Such efforts include
collecting data across the Commonwealth and researching
effective and proven methods to combat the fentanyl crisis in
Virginia.

2. | direct the Department of General Services, in coordination
with Virginia Department of Health, to issue a Request for
Proposals for naloxone hydrochloride nasal spray kits, and
other items as needed, within 60 days of the date of this order,
to secure a steady, affordable supply across Virginia. | further
direct that other government entities (e.g., counties) can use
any such contract to purchase a steady supply of naloxone and
enhance our economies of scale as a purchasing collective in
our region.

3. I direct the Department of Health to develop a cost-effective
plan to utilize and fund wastewater surveillance to detect the
frequency, potency, and occurrences of fentanyl use in specific
locations. This plan shall include a response strategy that
includes increased naloxone distribution, targeted public
awareness campaigns, and other cost effective strategies to
reduce fentanyl's prevalence in those communities where
surveillance warrants increased response. The plan shall be
sent to the Secretary of Health and Human Resources within
120 days of the date of this order.

4. | direct the Department of Social Services to develop a plan
to offer wrap-around services and treatments to those taking
care of children whose parents have passed away from a drug
overdose to reduce the trauma of losing a parent to an overdose
within 120 days of the date of this order.
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Public Safety and Drug Interdiction

5. | direct the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland
Security to assign a Special Advisor to the Governor on Opioid
Interdiction within 90 days of the date of this order.

6. | direct the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland
Security, in coordination with the Virginia State Police, to
develop a strategic plan for law enforcement agencies across
the Commonwealth serving jurisdictions with high numbers of
overdose deaths to combat illicit trafficking and the sale of
fentanyl in the Commonwealth within 120 days of the date of
this order. These efforts should include interdiction
technologies and strategies, as well as investigative equipment
and activities needed to support the apprehension of illicit
fentanyl, and any additional strategies needed for jurisdictions
with high numbers of overdose deaths.

7. | direct the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland
Security and the Secretary of Transportation to work
collaboratively together to apply for and secure grants from the
Federal government and elsewhere to support efforts to detect
illicit fentanyl at Virginia's borders to prevent its entry into the
Commonwealth.

8. I direct the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland
Security within 90 days of the date of this order to establish a
workgroup to improve pathways for incarcerated individuals
with substance use disorders to remain drug-free when they are
released from incarceration.

Organization of Government and Data Collection

9. | direct the agencies listed below to send a plan to me to
report, in accordance with federal and state law, their data to
and work with the Virginia State Police's fusion center and to
participate in the Framework for Addiction Analysis and
Community Transformation (FAACT), a secure data-sharing
project led by the Department of Criminal Justice Services
(DCJS) in collaboration with the Office of Data Governance
and Analytics (ODGA), within 120 days of the date of this
order. This effort will create the most cohesive and timely data
on fatal and non-fatal overdoses in the Commonwealth to allow
for immediate interdiction, education, and abatement efforts in
the neighborhoods where spikes in overdoses are observed.

* Department of Health

* Department of Health Professions

* Department of Social Services

* Department of Medical Assistance Services

* Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental
Services

* Department of Corrections
* Department of Criminal Justice Services

* Department of Juvenile Justice

10. | direct the Department of Health to work with local health
departments to assist localities in establishing Overdose
Fatality Review teams in accordance with Virginia Code
§ 32.1283.7 within 180 days of this order. The teams will work
with local law enforcement and the Department of Behavioral
Health and Developmental Services to follow up on fentanyl
overdose deaths to identify the source of the drug and
recommend immediate actions to prevent further overdoses.

Effective Date of the Executive Order

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and
shall be in effect unless amended or rescinded by further
executive order or directive. Given under my hand and under
the Seal of the Commonwealth of Virginia, this 9th day of May
2023.

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public
comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov)
or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed
for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn.

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period.
Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it.
Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Title of Document: Guidelines for Disposition of Cases
Involving the Unlicensed Use of the Certified Public
Accountant Title by a Former Licensee.

Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.
Effective Date: July 6, 2023.

Agency Contact: Vasa Clarke, Regulatory Coordinator, Board
of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, Henrico, VA
23233, email vasa.clarke@boa.virginia.gov.

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES

Title of Document: Virginia Industrial Hemp Extract Intended
for Human Consumption Law Civil Penalty Matrix, Guidelines
for Enforcement.

Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.
Effective Date: July 10, 2023.

Agency Contact: Pamela Miles, Program Manager, Office of
Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone
(804) 786-8899, or email pamela.miles@vdacs.virginia.gov.

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

Title of Document: Project Review and Permit Procedures
Manual.

Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.
Effective Date: July 6, 2023.

Agency Contact: Grant Kronenberg, Director of Division of
Compliance, Enforcement, and Policy, Office of Drinking
Water, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor Street,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 629-0989, or email
grant.kronenberg@vdh.virginia.gov.

* % %

Title of Document: Acceptable Evidence of Immunity to
Varicella Virus for the Purposes of Meeting Virginia School
Enrollment Requirements.

Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.
Effective Date: July 6, 2023.

Agency Contact: Rachel Ellick, Policy Analyst, Office of
Epidemiology, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 346-6712, or
email rachel.ellick@vdh.virginia.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

Titles of Documents: In Home Support Services Guidance
Document.

Virginia Medicaid Preferred Drug List and Common Core
Formulary Changes, 90-Day Supply List Changes, U.S. Food
and Drug Administration Approval of Over-the-Counter
Naloxone, and Drug Utilization Review Board Approved Drug
Service Authorizations.

Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.
Effective Date: July 6, 2023.

Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and
Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance
Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, or email
meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Titles of Documents: Department of Motor Vehicles Seizure
and Blackout Policy.

Department of Motor Vehicles Visual Field Policy.
Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.
Effective Date: July 6, 2023.

Agency Contact: Nicholas Megibow, Senior Policy Analyst,
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street,
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https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/226/GDoc_BOA_6501_20230414.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/226/GDoc_BOA_6501_20230414.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/226/GDoc_BOA_6501_20230414.pdf
mailto:vasa.clarke@boa.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/301/GDoc_VDACS_6534_20230510.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/301/GDoc_VDACS_6534_20230510.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/301/GDoc_VDACS_6534_20230510.pdf
mailto:pamela.miles@vdacs.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_6507_20230419.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_6507_20230419.pdf
mailto:grant.kronenberg@vdh.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_6522_20230503.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_6522_20230503.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_6522_20230503.pdf
mailto:rachel.ellick@vdh.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6524_20230503.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6524_20230503.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6515_20230427.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6515_20230427.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6515_20230427.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6515_20230427.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6515_20230427.pdf
mailto:meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/DMV_Seizure_Black-out_Policy_7-1-23.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/DMV_Seizure_Black-out_Policy_7-1-23.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/DMV_Visual_Field_Policy_7-1-23.pdf

Guidance Documents

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-6701, or email
nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov.

BOARD OF PHARMACY

Title of Document: Pharmacy Inspection Deficiency Monetary
Penalty Guide.

Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.
Effective Date: July 6, 2023.

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Senior Policy Analyst,
Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone
(804) 367-4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov.

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

Title of Document: Requirement for License for Instructors in
Physical Therapy Program; Guidance on Use of Professional
Degree in Conjunction with Licensure Designation; Functional
Capacity Evaluations by Physical Therapy Assistants.

Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.
Effective Date: July 6, 2023.

Adgency Contact: Erin Barrett, Senior Policy Analyst,
Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone
(804) 367-4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov.

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Title of Document: Supportive Housing Broadcast.
Public Comment Deadline: July 5, 2023.
Effective Date: July 6, 2023.

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Room
1507, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017, or
email karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov.
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mailto:nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6493_20230330.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6493_20230330.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6539_20230511.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6539_20230511.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6539_20230511.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6539_20230511.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6517_20230427.pdf
mailto:karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov

GENERAL NOTICES

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

Proposed Revision to the State Air Quality Plan
(Rev. D22)

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality
(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a
proposed plan to attain and maintain the national ambient air
quality standards (NAAQS). The Commonwealth intends to
submit the plan as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia
State Implementation Plan (SIP) in accordance with the
requirements of § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act. The SIP
is the plan developed by the Commonwealth in order to fulfill
its responsibilities under the federal Clean Air Act to attain and
maintain the NAAQS promulgated by the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA) under the Act.

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of
whether certain regulation amendments that implement
requirements for transfer of authority and requests for certain
public hearings (Regulation Revision D22) should be
submitted as a revision to the SIP.

Public comment period: June 5, 2023, to July 5, 2023.

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a request
is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of this notice.
In order to be considered, the request must include the full
name, address, and telephone number of the person requesting
the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last day of the
comment period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any
requested public hearing will be announced in a separate
notice, and another 30-day comment period will be conducted.

Public comment stage: The regulation amendments that are
necessary to conform to Virginia statutory law are exempt from
the standard regulatory adoption process by the provisions of
8§ 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Administrative Process Act (APA). The
regulation amendments that are technical corrections are
exempt by the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 3 of the APA. The
amendments have already been adopted and are exempt from
administrative procedures for the adoption of regulations;
therefore, DEQ is accepting comment only on the issue cited
under "purpose of notice” and not on the content of the
regulation amendments.

Description of proposal: Chapter 356 of the 2022 Acts of
Assembly limits the authority of the State Air Pollution Control
Board to the issuance of regulations and transfers the board's
existing authority to issue permits, orders, and variances to
DEQ. The regulations were amended accordingly under
Regulation Revision D22; additional information is available
from the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9789.

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the
public participation requirements of federal regulations
(40 CFR 51.102). The proposal will be submitted as a revision

to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the
federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104.
Certain provisions not germane to the SIP and not being
submitted as part of the SIP revision are identified.

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email,
fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments must
include the full name, address, and telephone number of the
person commenting and be received by DEQ on the last day of
the comment period. All faxes must have a cover page that lists
the intended recipient. All materials received are part of the
public record.

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting
documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices
website at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-
regulations/public-notices/air. The documents may also be
obtained by contacting the DEQ representative listed at the end
of this notice. The public may schedule an appointment to
review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each
business day until the close of the public comment period at
the following DEQ locations:

1) Main Street Office, 22nd Floor, 1111 East Main Street,
Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4000;

2) Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street,
Abingdon, VA, telephone (540) 676-4800;

3) Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3901 Russell Drive, Salem,
VA, telephone (540) 562-6700;

4) Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg,
VA, telephone (540) 574-7800;

5) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen,
VA, telephone (804) 527-5020;

6) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown
Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800; and

7) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard,
Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000.

See the agency contact for public comments, document
requests, and additional information.

Court,

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Policy Analyst,
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105,
Richmond VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1973, FAX (804)
698-4178, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Proposed Enforcement Action for
Bluestone Farms Solar LLC

An enforcement action has been proposed for Bluestone Farm
Solar LLC for violations of State Water Control Law and
regulations at the Bluestone Farm Solar LLC facility located in
Mecklenburg County, Virginia. The proposed order is
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https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionView/3921/GeneralNotices/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9789.
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General Notices

available from the Department of Environmental Quality
contact or at  https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-
regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders.  The  staff
contact will accept written comments from June 5, 2023, to
July 6, 2023.

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement
Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont
Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or
email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov.

Proposed Enforcement Action for
Edgehill Condominium Association

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)
proposes to issue a consent special order to Edgehill
Condominium Association for alleged violation of the State
Water Control Law at 10430 Iron Mill Road, North
Chesterfield, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is
available at the DEQ office listed or online at
www.deq.virginia.gov. The agency contact will accept
comments by email or postal mail from June 5, 2023, through
July 5, 2023.

Contact Information: Jeff Reynolds, Regional Enforcement
Manager, Department of Environmental Quality, 4949-A Cox
Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 720-4754, or
email jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov.

Proposed Enforcement Action for
Empire Services Inc.

An enforcement action has been proposed for Empire Services
Inc. regarding violations of the Virginia State Water Control
Law and regulations in Suffolk, Virginia. The proposed order
is available from the Department of Environmental Quality
(DEQ) contact or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-
regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The DEQ
contact will accept written comments from June 5, 2023,
through July 5, 2023.

Contact Information: John Brandt, Enforcement Manager,
Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern
Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, FAX (804) 698-4178,
or email john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov.

Proposed Enforcement Action for Ike Yoder,
Buckingham County, Virginia

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)
proposes to issue a consent special order to lke Yoder for
alleged violation of the State Water Control Law at the
property located at 7041 Crumptown Road, Buckingham
County, Virginia (Latitude 37.3961, Longitude -78.5687). A
description of the proposed action is available at the DEQ
office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. DEQ will
accept comments by email at cara.witte@deq.virginia.gov or
postal mail at DEQ, Piedmont Regional Office (Enforcement),

4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060 from June 5, 2023,
through July 5, 2023.

Contact Information: Cara Witte, Enforcement Specialist,
Department of Environmental Quality, 4949-A Cox Road,
Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 712-4192, or email
cara.witte@deq.virginia.gov.

Springfield Farm Solar Project Notice of Intent for
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -
Hanover County

Springfield Farm Solar LLC has provided the Department of
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the
necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable
energy project (solar) in Hanover County. Springfield Farm
Solar Project will be located within the Town of Ashland,
Virginia. Latitude and longitude coordinates are 37.727792, -
77.515257.

The proposed project is an 80-megawatt alternating current
photovoltaic ground-mounted solar facility. The facility will be
constructed on approximately 938 acres of land zoned
agricultural, of which only approximately 326 acres will
consist of panels and fenced area. The site is located
approximately at 12384 Cedar Lane Ashland, Virginia. This
project will be a ground-mounted solar photovoltaic facility
utilizing single-axis tracking system. There will be a six-foot
security fence with a one-foot barbed wire fence that will
encompass the entire solar facility. Additionally, there will be
40-foot wide security access gates to allow access to the site.

Contact Information: Susan Tripp, Renewable Energy Permit
by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality,
1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)
664-3470, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email
susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov.

Sun Ridge Solar Project New Notice of Intent for
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -
Rockingham County

Sun Ridge Solar LLC via Energix Renewables, under new
ownership, has provided the Department of Environmental
Quality a new notice of intent to submit the necessary
documentation for a permit by rule (PBR) for a small
renewable energy project (solar) in Rockingham County. The
proposed Sun Ridge Solar Project will be located on two
adjoining parcels totaling approximately 564 acres on the
southern side of East Side Highway (Route 340) and east of
Ore Bank Road near the community of Lynnwood. Centroid
latitude and longitude coordinates are 38.306979, -78.751153.
The project will have up to a rated capacity of 50 megawatts
alternating current and contain approximately 380,000
photovoltaic solar panels.

Contact Information: Amber Foster, Small Renewable Energy
Permit by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental
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Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 774-8474, or email
amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov.

VA Sinai LLC Project Notice of Intent for Small
Renewable Energy Project (Solar and Storage) -
Halifax County

VA Sinai LLC, a subsidiary of Cenergy, has provided the
Department of Environmental Quality a notice of intent to
submit the necessary documentation for a hybrid renewable
energy and storage facility in Halifax County. The applicant
intends to develop, design, construct, and operate a 9.9-
megawatt alternating current solar photovoltaic generation and
five-megawatt storage facility on up to 100 acres of the project
site. The VA Sinai Project will utilize approximately 24,720
units of solar photovoltaic modules and will sell the power to
Dominion Energy. The project is located at 2101 River Road,
directly east of the intersection of River Road and Old Grubby
Road in South Boston, Virginia.

Contact Information: Amber Foster, Small Renewable Energy
Permit by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental
Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) T774-8474, or email
amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov.

Public Meeting and Opportunity for Public Comment
for a Cleanup Plan for portions of the South Fork
Holston River watershed

Purpose of Notice: The Department of Environmental Quality
(DEQ) seeks public comment on the development of a cleanup
plan for impaired waters, also known as an implementation
plan (IP), for the South Fork Holston River watershed in
Washington and Smyth Counties. These streams are listed as
impaired since monitoring data indicates that the waters do not
meet Virginia's water quality standards for bacteria for E. coli.
Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of
the State Water Control Law require DEQ to develop cleanup
studies to address pollutants responsible for causing waters to
be on Virginia's § 303(d) list of impaired waters. Once a
cleanup study is developed, § 62.1-44.19:7 of the State Water
Control Law outlines the requirements needed in a cleanup
plan to address the pollutants contained in the study.

A cleanup plan has been completed for the South Fork Holston
River watershed that identifies corrective actions needed to
improve water quality and discusses the associated costs and
environmental benefits of the actions. A summary of the plan
will be presented at the meeting. Citizens are invited to provide
comment on the plan and will learn how they can be part of
implementing the plan to improve water quality in the
watershed. Community engagement meetings to assist in
development of this cleanup plan were convened on January
25, 2023, and April 26, 2023.

Cleanup plan location: The cleanup plan addresses the
following impaired stream segments: Slemp Creek in Smyth
County downstream to its confluence with the South Fork
Holston River (3.85 miles); Cressy Creek, south of Sugar
Grove to the South Fork Holston confluence (1.63 miles);
Bishop Branch from south of Riverside to the South Fork
Holston River confluence (0.48 stream miles); Saint Clair
Creek south of St. Clair Bottom to the South Fork Holston
confluence (3.68 miles); Grosses Creek, southeast of Loves
Mill from its headwaters downstream to its confluence with the
South Fork Holston River (4.01 miles); South Fork Holston
River from the headwaters downstream to Rush Creek
confluence (42.24 miles); Whitetop Laurel Creek from Little
Laurel Creek confluence to the Green Cove confluence (3.8
miles); Whitetop Laurel Creek from Straight Branch
confluence to Laurel Creek confluence (3.19 miles); Laurel
Creek from South Fork Holston River confluence upstream to
state line near Iron Mountain (6.09 miles); and Beaverdam
Creek mainstem from the Tennessee state line, upstream to its
confluence with South Fork Holston River in Damascus (2.01
miles).

Public Meeting: Damascus Public Library, 310 Water Street,
Damascus, VA 24236 on June 22, 2023, at 6 p.m. In the event
of inclement weather, the meeting will be held on June 23,
2023, at 4 p.m. at the DEQ Southwest Regional Office, 355-A
Deadmore Street, Abingdon, Virginia.

Public comment period: June 22, 2023, to July 24, 2023.

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments orally at the public
meeting, by email, fax, or postal mail. All comments must be
received by DEQ during the comment period. Submittals must
include the name, organization represented (if any), mailing
addresses, and telephone numbers of the commenter or
requester.

Contact the agency contact for public comments, document
requests, and additional information. The public may review
the cleanup plan at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-
quality/implementation/implementation-plans-under-
development.

Contact Information: Stephanie Kreps, Department of
Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355A
Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 608-
8811, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email
stephanie.kreps@deq.virginia.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

Draft Mental Health Services Provider Manual
Chapters IV and VI and Appendix H Available for
Review and Comment

The draft Mental Health Services Provider Manual Chapters
IV and VI and Appendix H are now available on the

Volume 39, Issue 21

Virginia Register of Regulations

June 5, 2023

2592


mailto:amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/implementation/implementation-plans-under-development.
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/implementation/implementation-plans-under-development.
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/implementation/implementation-plans-under-development.
mailto:stephanie.kreps@deq.virginia.gov

General Notices

Department of Medical Assistance Services website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-
information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/  for
comment until June 10, 2023.

public

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and
Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance
Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or
email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov.

Draft Provider Manual Supplement "Brain Injury
Services Case Management" Available for Review
and Comment

The draft provider manual supplement "Brain Injury Services
Case Management” is now available on the Department of
Medical Assistance Services website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-
information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/  for
comment until June 16, 2023.

public

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and
Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance
Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or
email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov.

Draft Residential Treatment Services Provider
Manual Chapter VI Available for Review and
Comment

The draft Residential Treatment Services Provider Manual
Chapter VI is now available on the Department of Medical
Assistance Services website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-
information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/  for
comment until June 11, 2023.

public

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and
Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance
Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or
email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov.

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION

Notice to State Agencies

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810;
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov.

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov.

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed
in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations
were originally published or last supplemented in the print
version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf.

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System
(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works
closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to
coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall.
RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by
sharing pertinent regulatory information.
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