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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. Leftwich, Jr., Vice-Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven 

Popps; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade; Wren 

M. Williams. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Senior Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2023 through November 2024 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

40:6 October 18, 2023 November 6, 2023 

40:7 November 1, 2023 November 20, 2023 

40:8 November 14, 2023 December 4, 2023 

40:9 November 29, 2023 December 18, 2023 

40:10 December 13, 2023 January 1, 2024 

40:11 December 27, 2023 January 15, 2024 

40:12 January 10, 2024 January 29, 2024 

40:13 January 24, 2024 February 12, 2024 

40:14 February 7, 2024 February 26, 2024 

40:15 February 21, 2024 March 11, 2024 

40:16 March 6, 2024 March 25, 2024 

40:17 March 20, 2024 April 8, 2024 

40:18 April 3, 2024 April 22, 2024 

40:19 April 17, 2024 May 6, 2024 

40:20 May 1, 2024 May 20, 2024 

40:21 May 15, 2024 June 3, 2024 

40:22 May 29, 2024 June 17, 2024 

40:23 June 12, 2024 July 1, 2024 

40:24 June 26, 2024 July 15, 2024 

40:25 July 10, 2024 July 29, 2024 

40:26 July 24, 2024 August 12, 2024 

41:1 August 7, 2024 August 26, 2024 

41:2 August 21, 2024 September 9, 2024 

41:3 September 4, 2024 September 23, 2024 

41:4 September 18, 2024 October 7, 2024 

41:5 October 2, 2024 October 21, 2024 

41:6 October 16, 2024 November 4, 2024 

41:7 October 30, 2024 November 18, 2024 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Water Control Board conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 9VAC25-580, 

Underground Storage Tanks: Technical Standards and 

Corrective Action Requirements, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained as is. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated July 25, 2023, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 

welfare. This regulation contains technical standards that set 

forth compliance (i) requirements designed to prevent and 

reduce the number of releases of petroleum and hazardous 

substances from underground storage tanks (USTs), (ii) 

measures to quickly detect any releases from USTs, and (iii) 

measures to ensure cleanup of contamination from releases 

from USTs. This regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. The regulation is effective and is being 

retained as is without making changes. The regulation 

continues to be needed to protect human health and the 

environment.  

Two comments were received during the public comment 

period for the periodic review. The Department of 

Environmental Quality's response is provided in the public 

comment forum of the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall.  

The regulation is complex and technical in nature and is based 

on federal regulatory language. The regulation incorporates 

both federal requirements for USTs and state building code 

requirements for USTs. By maintaining consistency with the 

federal UST and state building code requirements, confusion 

within the regulated community is minimized.  

This regulation was last amended in 2022 to accommodate a 

change in the statute transferring certain authorities from the 

State Water Control Board to the Department of 

Environmental Quality. The regulation is consistent with 

current federal requirements applicable to USTs. The 

regulation is written to be only as stringent as the federal UST 

requirements that sought to minimize where possible the 

economic impact of regulations on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Renee T. Hooper, Tank Regulatory 

Programs Manager, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1352, or email 

renee.hooper@deq.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Water Control Board conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 9VAC25-590, 

Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Financial 

Responsibility Requirements, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained as is. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated July 1, 2023, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 

welfare. This regulation contains methods owners and 

operators may utilize to demonstrate financial assurance and 

includes the use of the Virginia Petroleum Storage Tank Fund. 

The regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. 

The regulation continues to be needed to protect the human 

health and the environment and is being retained without 

changes. No comments were received during the public 

comment period for the periodic review.  

The regulation is complex and technical in nature due to the 

fact the regulation addresses financial assurance requirements 

for underground storage tanks (USTs) and the various 

mechanisms that may be used to demonstrate financial 

assurance. Virginia's regulation is similar to the federal 

regulation concerning the financial assurance mechanisms 

available to owners and operators; however, the state 

regulation provides an additional financial assurance 

mechanism not mentioned in the federal regulation and allows 

owners and operators the ability to use the Virginia Petroleum 

Storage Tank Fund to assist owners and operators with 

demonstrating financial assurance.  

This regulation was last amended in 2022 to accommodate a 

statutory change. The regulation is consistent with current 

federal requirements applicable to USTs. The regulation, as 

currently written, minimizes the impact on small businesses, 

and Virginia's regulation is less obtrusive on small 

governments than the applicable federal regulation. 

Contact Information: Renee T. Hooper, Tank Regulatory 

Programs Manager, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1352, or email 

renee.hooper@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 12VAC5-115, Virginia Immunization Information 

System. The review of this regulation will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a 

periodic review is to determine whether this regulation should 

be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

mailto:renee.hooper@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:renee.hooper@deq.virginia.gov
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regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for 

the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins October 23, 2023, and ends 

November 13, 2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Karen Mask, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Office of Epidemiology, Virginia Department of Health, James 

Madison Building, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 654-9351, or email 

karen.mask@vdh.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 18VAC95-11, Public Participation Guidelines. The 

review of this regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review 

is to determine whether this regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to this regulation, 

including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins October 23, 2023, and ends 

November 13, 2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 

367-4595, or email corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulation is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 18VAC110-11, Public Participation Guidelines. The 

review of this regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review 

is to determine whether this regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to this regulation, 

including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins October 23, 2023, and ends 

November 13, 2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, or email 

caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

mailto:karen.mask@vdh.virginia.gov
mailto:corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-50, Amount, 

Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services, 

and 12VAC30-80, Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rate; Other Types of Care. Pursuant to Items MM(1) 

and MM(2) of Chapter 1 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly, Special 

Session I, the purpose of the proposed action is to (i) adjust 

medical necessity criteria for Medicaid-funded private duty 

nursing services, including changes to services covered, provider 

qualifications, medical necessity criteria, and rates and rate 

methodologies for private duty nursing; and (ii) clarify that private 

duty nursing services are not covered unless an individual receives 

services under an Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and 

Treatment Services or a § 1915(c) Waiver. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia, 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 22, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6862; Filed October 5, 2023, 2:47 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to consider 

amending 18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing the Practice 

of Pharmacy. The purpose of the proposed action is to conform 

the regulation to requirements of Chapter 628 of the 2022 Acts of 

Assembly related to work environments for pharmacy personnel 

that protect the health, safety, and welfare of patients. The 

proposed amendments will ensure (i) that the decisions of the 

pharmacist are not overridden by the pharmacy permit holder, 

including staffing decisions and the decision of whether pharmacy 

staff can safely provide vaccines at a given time; (ii) that pharmacy 

permit holders provide sufficient staffing levels to avoid 

interference with a pharmacist's ability to practice with reasonable 

competence and safety; (iii) that a pharmacist and pharmacy 

personnel are provided with proper and functioning equipment; 

(iv) pharmacists and pharmacy staff are not burdened with 

external factors that may inhibit the ability to provide services to 

the public; (v) staff are properly trained to provide the services 

with which they are tasked; (vi) pharmacists are provided 

appropriate breaks while maintaining drug stock integrity and 

providing required consultation services to the public; (vii) ensure 

pharmacists are provided adequate time to perform professional 

duties; and (viii) the establishment of a reporting mechanism for 

staffing concerns. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 22, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7342; Filed September 29, 2023, 8:04 a.m. 

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS, 
WETLAND PROFESSIONALS, AND GEOLOGISTS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board for Professional Soil 

Scientists, Wetland Professionals, and Geologists intends to 

consider amending 18VAC145-30, Regulations Governing 

Certified Professional Wetland Delineators. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to undertake a general review of the 

regulation in accordance with the regulatory reduction goal of 

Executive Directive Number One (2022). The review will 

consider whether requirements ensure the regulation compliments 

current Virginia law and meets applicable federal requirements; is 

organized, clear, and understandable; provides minimal burdens 

on regulants while still protecting the public; and reflects current 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

procedures and policies. The board will consider any other 

changes determined to be necessary and appropriate. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2203 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 22, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, 

and Geologists, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 527-4294, 

or email soilscientist@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7618; Filed September 26, 2023, 4:13 p.m. 

mailto:meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:soilscientist@dpor.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF FORESTRY 

Action Withdrawn 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC10-30. Virginia State Forests 

Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1101 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Department of Forestry has WITHDRAWN the regulatory 

action for 4VAC10-30, Virginia State Forests Regulations, 

which was published as a Notice of Intended Regulatory 

Action in 29:23 VA.R. 2732 July 15, 2013, then published 

again in 29:26 VA.R. 3668 August 26, 2013, to extend the 

public comment period. The purpose of the proposed action 

was to (i) ensure that the regulation represents the current uses 

of state forests, (ii) ensure a safe environment for the public, 

and (iii) provide a meaningful recreational experience for 

users, in concert with the normal operational business practices 

of the state forests. This action is being withdrawn because of 

the long amount of time that has elapsed since the Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action was published, and the department 

is no longer pursuing this action. 

Agency Contact: Amanda Davis, Policy Planning Manager III, 

Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive, #800, 

Charlottesville, VA 22903, telephone (804) 664-7301, or email 

amanda.davis@dof.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3756; Filed October 3, 2023, 3:42 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-23. Licensure Regulations for 

School Personnel (amending 8VAC20-23-50, 8VAC20-23-

720). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-298.1 and 22.1-299 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 22, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

225-2540, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the regulation to the following 

legislation adopted during the 2023 Session of the General 

Assembly: 

Chapter 748, which provides that when the State Board of 

Education extends a three-year provisional license issued 

to a teacher working in a school division, the teacher must 

have from the division superintendent (i) a 

recommendation for such extension and (ii) satisfactory 

performance evaluations for such teacher for each year 

during the original three-year provisional license that 

such teacher was actually employed and received a filed 

performance evaluation; and 

Chapter 771, which allows if a court reverses the finding 

of abuse or neglect against a teacher who has had a 

founded complaint of child abuse or neglect and whose 

license the board has revoked and that individual applies 

for reinstatement, the board must consider and act upon 

the application for reinstatement within 90 days of 

submission. 

8VAC20-23-50. Types of licenses; dating licenses. 

A. The following types of licenses are available: 

1. Provisional License. The Provisional License is a 

nonrenewable license valid for a period not to exceed three 

years issued to an individual who has allowable deficiencies 

for full licensure as set forth in this chapter. The Provisional 

License will be issued for a three-year validity period, with 

the exception of the Provisional (Career Switcher) License 

that will initially be issued for a one-year validity period and 

the Provisional Teach For America License issued for a two-

year validity period. Individuals shall complete all 

requirements for licensure, including passing all licensure 

assessments, for a renewable license within the validity 

period of the Provisional License. The individual shall have 

a minimum of an earned baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university, with the 

https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3644
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3865
mailto:amanda.davis@dof.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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exception of those individuals seeking the Technical 

Professional License. 

The Virginia Board of Education shall extend for at least one 

additional year, but for no more than two additional years, 

the three-year provisional license of a teacher upon receiving 

from the division superintendent (i) a recommendation for 

such extension and (ii) satisfactory performance evaluations 

for such teacher for each year during the original three-year 

provisional license that such teacher was actually employed 

and received a filed performance evaluation. 

The Virginia Board of Education shall extend for at least one 

additional year, but for no more than two additional years, 

the three-year provisional license of a teacher employed at a 

public school; an accredited nonpublic private elementary, 

middle, or high school; or a school for students with 

disabilities that is licensed pursuant to Chapter 16 (§ 22.1-

319 et seq.) of Title 22.1 of the Code of Virginia upon 

receiving from the division superintendent or school 

administrator of such a school (i) a recommendation for such 

extension and (ii) satisfactory performance evaluations for 

such teacher for each year of the original three-year 

provisional license. If a teacher employed in the 

Commonwealth under a provisional license is activated or 

deployed for military service within a school year (July 1 

through June 30), an additional year shall be added to the 

teacher's provisional license for each school year or portion 

thereof during which the teacher is activated or deployed. 

The additional year shall be granted the year following the 

return of the teacher from deployment or activation. 

The Virginia Board of Education shall issue a license to an 

individual seeking initial licensure who has not completed 

professional assessments as prescribed by the board if such 

individual (i) holds a provisional license that will expire 

within three months; (ii) is employed by a school board; (iii) 

is recommended for licensure by the division 

superintendent; (iv) has attempted, unsuccessfully, to obtain 

a qualifying score on the professional assessments as 

prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education; (v) has 

received an evaluation rating of proficient or above on the 

performance standards for each year of the provisional 

license, and such evaluation was conducted in a manner 

consistent with the Guidelines for Uniform Performance 

Standards and Evaluation Criteria for Teachers, Principals, 

and Superintendents; and (vi) meets all other requirements 

for initial licensure. 

2. Collegiate Professional License. The Collegiate 

Professional License is a 10-year, renewable license 

available to an individual who has satisfied all requirements 

for licensure, including an earned baccalaureate degree from 

a regionally accredited college or university and the 

professional teacher's assessments prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education. 

3. Postgraduate Professional License. The Postgraduate 

Professional License is a 10-year, renewable license 

available to an individual who has qualified for the 

Collegiate Professional License and who holds an 

appropriate earned graduate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university. 

4. Technical Professional License. The Technical 

Professional License is a 10-year, renewable license 

available to a person who has graduated from a public or an 

accredited nonpublic high school or possesses a Virginia 

Board of Education-approved high school equivalency 

credential; has exhibited academic proficiency, skills in 

literacy and communication, technical competency, and 

successful occupational experience; has completed nine 

semester hours of specialized professional studies credit 

from a regionally accredited college or university; and has 

completed one year of successful, full-time teaching 

experience in a public school or accredited nonpublic school 

in the area of endorsement. The nine semester hours of 

professional studies coursework shall include three semester 

hours of human development and learning, three semester 

hours of curriculum and instruction, and three semester 

hours of applications of instructional technology or 

classroom and behavior management. Individuals who seek 

a Technical Professional License may substitute the 

successful completion of an intensive, job-embedded, three-

year program of professional development submitted by a 

Virginia employing educational agency and preapproved by 

the Department of Education for the nine semester hours of 

professional studies required. The Technical Professional 

License is issued at the recommendation of a Virginia 

employing educational agency in the areas of career and 

technical education, educational technology, and military 

science. Individuals seeking an endorsement to teach 

military science shall have the appropriate credentials issued 

by the United States military. Individuals holding a 

Technical Professional License may teach a military science 

leadership class with either the appropriate credentials 

issued by the United States military or (for non-Junior 

Reserve Officers' Training Corps) a recommendation from a 

Virginia employing educational agency. The employing 

Virginia educational agency shall ensure the credentials 

issued by the United States military are active during the 

period the individual is teaching. In addition to 

demonstrating competency in the endorsement area sought, 

the individual shall: 

a. Hold a valid license issued by the appropriate Virginia 

board for those program areas requiring a license and a 

minimum of two years of successful experience at the 

journeyman level or an equivalent. The employing 

Virginia educational agency shall ensure that the valid 

license issued by the appropriate Virginia board for the 

occupational program area is active during the period the 

individual is teaching; 
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b. Have completed a registered apprenticeship program 

and two years of successful experience at the journeyman 

level or an equivalent level in the trade; or 

c. Have four years of successful work experience at the 

management or supervisory level or equivalent or have a 

combination of four years of training and successful work 

experience at the management or supervisory level or 

equivalent. 

Individuals holding the Technical Professional License who 

seek the Collegiate Professional or Postgraduate 

Professional License shall meet the requirements of the 

respective licenses. 

5. School Manager License. The School Manager License is 

a 10-year, renewable license intended to provide for the 

differentiation of administrative responsibilities in a school 

setting. A school manager is licensed to administer 

noninstructional responsibilities in an educational setting. A 

school manager is restricted from evaluating teachers, 

supervising instruction, developing and evaluating 

curriculum, and serving as a school's student disciplinarian. 

The license is available to a candidate who holds a 

baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college or 

university, has three years of successful managerial 

experience, and is recommended for the license by a 

Virginia school division superintendent. 

6. Pupil Personnel Services License. The Pupil Personnel 

Services License is a 10-year, renewable license available to 

an individual who has earned an appropriate graduate degree 

from a regionally accredited college or university with an 

endorsement for school counselor, school psychologist, 

school social worker, or vocational evaluator. This license 

does not require teaching experience, unless otherwise 

outlined under the specific endorsement's requirements. 

7. Division Superintendent License. The Division 

Superintendent License is a 10-year, renewable license 

available to an individual who has completed an earned 

master's degree from a regionally accredited college or 

university and meets the requirements specified in 8VAC20-

23-630. The individual's name shall be listed on the Virginia 

Board of Education's list of eligible division 

superintendents. 

8. International Educator License. The International 

Educator License provides a five-year cultural exchange 

opportunity for Virginia students and international teachers. 

The International Educator License is a professional 

teaching license issued for no more than five years to an 

exchange teacher with citizenship in a nation other than the 

United States of America who is employed as a teacher in a 

Virginia public or accredited nonpublic school. To be issued 

the five-year, nonrenewable International Educator License, 

an individual serving as a cultural exchange teacher in 

Virginia shall: 

a. Be employed by a Virginia public or an accredited 

nonpublic school; 

b. Hold non-United States citizenship and be a 

nonpermanent resident; and 

c. Meet the following requirements as verified by a state-

approved, federally-designated Exchange Visitor Program 

(22 CFR Part 62): 

(1) Be proficient in written and spoken English; 

(2) Demonstrate competence in the appropriate academic 

subject area by meeting the credential requirements for a 

qualified teacher in the exchange country; 

(3) Hold the United States equivalent of a baccalaureate 

degree or higher as determined by an approved credential 

evaluation agency; and 

(4) Complete at least two years of successful full-time 

teaching experience that enables the educator to fulfill a 

similar assignment in his the educator's home country or 

is comparable to those requirements for Virginia teachers. 

If an individual meets requirements of subdivisions 8 a, 8 b, 

8 c (1), 8 c (2), and 8 c (3) of this subsection and has 

completed at least one year, but less than two years, of 

successful full-time teaching experience that would enable 

the educator to fulfill a similar assignment in his the 

educator's home country or is comparable to those 

requirements for Virginia teachers, the International 

Educator License will be issued for three years with an 

option to extend the nonrenewable International Educator 

License for the additional two years upon passing all teacher 

assessments prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education 

and a recommendation of the Virginia employing school 

division or accredited nonpublic school. 

Individuals who have been issued an International Educator 

License who seek a 10-year, renewable license shall meet all 

licensure and endorsement requirements, including passing 

applicable assessments prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

9. Online Teacher License. The Online Teacher License is a 

10-year, renewable license valid only for teaching online 

courses. Teachers who hold a five-year or 10-year renewable 

license issued by the Virginia Board of Education may teach 

online courses for which they are properly endorsed and do 

not need to seek this license. 

a. In order to be issued an Online Teacher License, the 

individual shall meet the requirements for an endorsement 

in a content (teaching) area and professional studies and 

achieve qualifying scores on professional teacher's 

assessments as prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. In addition, the individual shall complete a 

three-semester-hour course in online instructional 

procedures. 

Online instructional procedures: Three semester hours. 

Skills in this area shall contribute to an understanding of 
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the principles of online learning and online instructional 

strategies and the application of skills and the ability to use 

the Internet for teaching, learning, and management; 

design, deliver, and support instruction in an online 

environment; adapt strategies for a variety of course 

models, such as synchronous and asynchronous; select, 

adapt, and create rich multimedia for instruction; adapt 

individualized education program requirements to online 

course practices, as appropriate; use data to meet 

individual student's needs; and employ innovative 

teaching strategies in an online environment. 

Demonstrated proficiency of advanced skills in the 

following areas shall be addressed: use of communication 

technologies to interact with and engage students, parents, 

and mentors; use of education technologies; management 

of instructional activities in a technology-mediated 

environment; and nontraditional content delivery 

methods. 

b. Online teaching experience is not acceptable to meet the 

full-time teaching experience for other license types, such 

as a Division Superintendent License, or for 

endorsements, such as for the reading specialist, school 

counselor, or administration and supervision 

endorsements. The Online Teacher License may be issued 

if requirements have been met as one of the following 

licenses to individuals teaching only online courses: 

(1) Online Teacher (Postgraduate Professional) License - 

a 10-year, renewable license available to an individual 

who has qualified for the Online Teacher (Collegiate 

Professional) License and who holds an appropriate 

earned graduate degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university. 

(2) Online Teacher (Collegiate Professional) License - a 

10-year, renewable teaching license available to an 

individual who has satisfied all requirements for licensure, 

including an earned baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university, endorsement 

and professional studies requirements, and passed the 

professional teacher's assessments prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education, or 

(3) Online Teacher (Technical Professional) License - a 

10-year, renewable teaching license available to an 

individual who has graduated from a public or an 

accredited nonpublic high school or possesses a Virginia 

Board of Education-approved high school equivalency 

credential; has exhibited academic proficiency, technical 

competency, and occupational experience; and meets the 

requirements specified in subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

An individual seeking an Online Teacher (Technical 

Professional) License shall be recommended for the 

license by a Virginia public school, a Virginia accredited 

nonpublic school, or an accredited virtual school program. 

c. A nonrenewable Online Teacher (Provisional) License 

may be issued for a period not to exceed three years to an 

individual who has allowable deficiencies for full 

licensure as set forth in 8VAC20-23-90 B. The Online 

(Provisional) License will be issued for three years. The 

individual shall have a minimum of an earned 

baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college 

or university, with the exception of those individuals 

seeking the Technical Professional License. Individuals 

shall complete all requirements for a renewable Online 

Teacher License within the validity period of the license. 

10. Teach For America License. The Teach For America 

License is a two-year provisional license. 

a. This provisional license is available to any participant 

in Teach For America, a nationwide nonprofit 

organization focused on closing the achievement gaps 

between students in high-income and low-income areas, 

who submits an application and meets the following 

requirements: 

(1) Holds, at minimum, a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited institution of higher education; 

(2) Has met the requirements prescribed by the Virginia 

Board of Education for all endorsements sought or has met 

the qualifying scores on the content area assessment 

prescribed by the board for the endorsements sought; 

(3) Possesses good moral character according to criteria 

developed by the Virginia Board of Education; 

(4) Has been offered and has accepted placement in Teach 

For America; 

(5) Has successfully completed preservice training and is 

participating in the professional development 

requirements of Teach For America, including teaching 

frameworks, curricula, lesson planning, instructional 

delivery, classroom management, assessment and 

evaluation of student progress, classroom diversity, and 

literacy development; 

(6) Has an offer of employment from a local school board 

to teach in a public elementary or secondary school in the 

Commonwealth or a preschool program that receives state 

funds pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-199.1 of the Code 

of Virginia; and 

(7) Receives a recommendation from the employing 

school division for a Teach For America License in the 

endorsement area in which the individual seeks to be 

licensed. 

b. In addition to the criteria set forth in subdivision 10 a of 

this subsection, any individual who seeks an endorsement 

in early childhood, early/primary, or elementary education 

shall either (i) agree to complete such coursework in the 

teaching of language and literacy as may be prescribed by 

the Virginia Board of Education pursuant to 8VAC20-23-

130 during the first year of employment or (ii) achieve a 

passing score on a reading instructional assessment 

prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education. 
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c. Teachers issued a Teach For America provisional 

license shall not be eligible for continuing contract status 

while employed under the authority of a Teach For 

America license and shall be subject to the probationary 

terms of employment specified in § 22.1-303 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

d. The Virginia Board of Education may extend any Teach 

For America License for one additional year upon request 

of the employing school division, provided that no Teach 

For America License shall exceed a total of three years in 

length. 

e. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 

upon completion of at least two years of full-time teaching 

experience in a public elementary or secondary school in 

the Commonwealth or a preschool program that receives 

state funds pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-199.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, an individual holding a Teach For 

America License shall be eligible to receive a renewable 

license if the individual has (i) achieved satisfactory scores 

on all professional teacher assessments required by the 

Virginia Board of Education and (ii) received satisfactory 

evaluations at the conclusion of each year of employment. 

f. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 

the Virginia Board of Education shall issue a Teach For 

America License to any individual who (i) has completed 

two years of successful teaching in the Teach For America 

program in another state, (ii) is not eligible to receive a 

renewable license, and (iii) meets the criteria set forth in 

subdivision 10 a of this subsection. 

11. Career and Technical Education License. The Career and 

Technical Education License is a three-year license. 

a. This license is available to qualified individuals to 

teach, either full time or part time, high school career and 

technical education courses in specific subject areas. 

b. The three-year license is issued to teach high school 

career and technical education courses in a specific subject 

area to an individual who: 

(1) Submits an application to the Virginia Board of 

Education, in the form prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education, that includes a recommendation for such a 

license from the local school board; 

(2) Meets certain basic conditions for licensure as 

prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education; 

(3) Meets one of the following requirements: 

(a) Holds, at a minimum, a baccalaureate degree from a 

regionally accredited institution of higher education and 

has completed coursework in the career and technical 

education subject area in which the individual seeks to 

teach, 

(b) Holds the required professional license in the specific 

career and technical education subject area in which the 

individual seeks to teach, where applicable, or 

(c) Holds an industry certification credential, as that term 

is defined in § 22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia, in the 

specific career and technical education subject area in 

which the individual seeks to teach; 

(4) Has at least four years of full-time work experience or 

its equivalent in the specific career and technical education 

subject area in which the individual seeks to teach; and 

(5) If appropriate, has obtained qualifying scores on the 

communication and literacy professional teacher's 

assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education. 

c. The employing school board shall assign a mentor to 

supervise an individual issued a three-year license 

pursuant to this section during the individual's first two 

years of teaching. 

d. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision A 11 e of 

this section, any individual issued a three-year license 

pursuant to this section may be granted subsequent three-

year extensions of such license by the Virginia Board of 

Education upon recommendation of the local school 

board. 

e. Any individual issued a three-year license pursuant to 

this section who completes (i) nine semester hours of 

specialized professional studies credit from a regionally 

accredited institution of higher education or (ii) an 

alternative course of professional studies proposed by the 

local school board and approved by the Virginia 

Department of Education shall be granted a three-year 

extension of such license by the board and may be granted 

subsequent three-year extensions of such license by the 

board upon recommendation of the local school board. 

Any such specialized professional studies credit or 

alternative course of professional studies may be 

completed through distance learning programs and shall 

include human growth and development; curriculum, 

instructional, and technology procedures; and classroom 

and behavior management. 

f. No three-year license issued by the board pursuant to 

this section shall be deemed a provisional license or a 

renewable license, as those terms are defined in § 22.1-

298.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

g. Individuals issued a three-year license pursuant to this 

section shall not be eligible for continuing contract status 

while teaching under such license and shall be subject to 

the probationary terms of employment specified in § 22.1-

303 of the Code of Virginia. 

h. The provisions of this section and of Virginia Board of 

Education regulations governing the denial, suspension, 

cancellation, revocation, and reinstatement of licensure 

shall apply to three-year licenses. 

12. One-Year High School License. The One-Year High 

School License is for individuals seeking licensure through 

an alternate route. The license is a renewable, one-year 
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license issued to teach in public high schools for individuals 

who: 

a. Received a graduate degree from a regionally accredited 

institution of higher education; 

b. Completed at least 30 credit hours of teaching 

experience as an instructor at a regionally accredited 

institution of higher education; 

c. Received qualifying scores on the professional teacher's 

assessments prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education, including the communication and literacy 

assessment and the content-area assessment for the 

endorsement sought; and 

d. Met the following requirements: 

(1) Complete study in child abuse recognition and 

intervention in accordance with curriculum guidelines 

developed by the Virginia Board of Education in 

consultation with the Department of Social Services that 

are relevant to the specific teacher licensure route; and 

(2) Provide evidence of completion of certification or 

training in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and the use of automated external 

defibrillators. The certification or training program shall 

be (i) based on the current national evidence-based 

emergency cardiovascular care guidelines for 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of an 

automated external defibrillator, such as a program 

developed by the American Heart Association or the 

American Red Cross and (ii) include hands-on practice of 

the skills necessary to perform cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation. The Virginia Board of Education shall 

provide a waiver for this requirement for any person with 

a disability whose disability prohibits such person from 

completing the certification or training. 

The license may be renewed for one year by the 

submission of an application for renewal and verification 

from the division superintendent that the individual 

received a satisfactory performance evaluation. 

13. Career and Technical Education or Dual Enrollment 

License. The Career and Technical Education or Dual 

Enrollment License is a three-year license to solely teach 

career and technical education courses or dual enrollment 

courses at public high schools in the Commonwealth issued 

to any individual who (i) is employed as an instructor by an 

institution of higher education that is accredited by a 

nationally recognized regional accreditation body, (ii) is 

teaching in the specific career and technical education or 

dual enrollment subject area at such institution in which the 

individual seeks to teach at a public school, and (iii) 

complies with the requirements set forth in subdivisions D 1 

and D 3 of § 22.1-298.1 of the Code of Virginia. The 

Virginia Board of Education shall require any such 

instructor to maintain continuous employment in such 

position at the institution of higher education as a condition 

of continued licensure. Subsections E and F of 8VAC20-23-

40 shall expire on July 1, 2021, however, any license issued 

pursuant to this chapter prior to July 1, 2021, shall remain in 

effect for three years from the date the license was issued 

unless such license is revoked by the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

B. All licenses will be effective from July 1 in the school year 

in which the application is made. An employing Virginia 

public school division, agency, or accredited nonpublic school 

is required to notify employees in writing at the time of 

employment of the need to meet appropriate assessment 

requirements for licensure. 

8VAC20-23-720. Revocation. 

A. A license issued by the Virginia Board of Education may 

be revoked for the following reasons: 

1. Obtaining or attempting to obtain a license by fraudulent 

means or through misrepresentation of material facts; 

2. Falsification of school records, documents, statistics, or 

reports; 

3. Conviction of any felony; 

4. Conviction of any misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude; 

5. Conviction of any misdemeanor involving a student or 

minor; 

6. Conviction of any misdemeanor involving drugs (not 

alcohol); 

7. Conduct with direct and detrimental effect on the health, 

welfare, discipline, or morale of a student or minor; 

8. Misapplication of or failure to account for school funds or 

other school properties with which the licensee has been 

entrusted; 

9. Acts related to secure mandatory tests as specified in 

subsection A of § 22.1-292.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

10. Knowingly and willfully with the intent to compromise 

the outcome of an athletic competition procure, sell, or 

administer anabolic steroids or cause such drugs to be 

procured, sold, or administered to a student who is a member 

of a school athletic team, or fail to report the use of such 

drugs by a student to the school principal and division 

superintendent as required by clause (iii) of subsection A of 

§ 22.1-279.3:1 of the Code of Virginia. Any person whose 

license is suspended or revoked by the board pursuant to this 

section shall be ineligible for three school years for 

employment in the public schools of the Commonwealth; 

11. Revocation, suspension, surrender, cancellation, 

invalidation, or denial of, or other adverse action against, a 

teaching, administrator, pupil personnel services, or other 

education-related certificate or license by another state, 
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territory, or country; or denial of an application for any such 

certificate or license; 

12. Founded case of child abuse or neglect after all 

administrative appeals have been exhausted; 

13. Notification of dismissal or resignation pursuant to 

subsection F of § 22.1-313 of the Code of Virginia; or 

14. Other good and just cause in the best interest of the 

public schools of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. The Virginia Board of Education shall revoke the license 

of any person for whom it has received a notice of dismissal or 

resignation pursuant to subsection F of § 22.1-313 of the Code 

of Virginia and, in the case of a person who is the subject of a 

founded complaint of child abuse or neglect, after all rights to 

any administrative appeal provided by § 63.2-1526 of the Code 

of Virginia have been exhausted. In the case of a teacher who 

is the subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect 

and whose license has been revoked pursuant to this 

subsection, in the event that a court reverses such finding of 

abuse or neglect and the individual submits to the department 

an application for the reinstatement of the individual's license 

as a teacher, the board shall consider and act upon such 

application no later than 90 days after the date of submission. 

C. Procedures. 

1. A complaint may be filed by anyone, but it shall be the 

duty of a division superintendent, principal, or other 

responsible school employee to file a complaint in any case 

in which he has knowledge that a basis for the revocation of 

a license exists, as set forth in subsection A of this section. 

The person making the complaint shall submit the complaint 

in writing to the appropriate division superintendent. If the 

subject of the complaint is the division superintendent, the 

person making the complaint may submit the complaint to 

the chair of the local school board. 

2. Upon receipt of the complaint against the holder of a 

license, a division superintendent or his duly authorized 

representative shall conduct an immediate and thorough 

investigation of any complaint alleging that a license holder 

has engaged in conduct that may form the basis for the 

revocation of his the license holder's license. If, on the basis 

of such investigation, the division superintendent finds the 

complaint to be without merit, he the division superintendent 

shall so notify the complaining party or parties in writing and 

then close his file on the matter. This action shall be final 

unless the local school board, on its own motion, votes to 

proceed to a hearing on the complaint. 

D. Petition for revocation. Upon completing an investigation, 

should the division superintendent or local school board 

conclude that there is reasonable cause to believe that the 

license holder has engaged in conduct that forms the basis for 

revocation of a license, the license holder shall be notified of 

the complaint by a written petition for revocation of a license 

signed by the division superintendent. A copy of such petition 

shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the 

license holder's last known address. The school board shall 

proceed to a hearing on such petition for revocation within 90 

days of the mailing of a copy of the petition to the license 

holder, unless the license holder requests the cancellation of 

his license in accordance with this chapter; and the school 

board shall provide a copy of the investigative file and such 

petition for revocation to the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction at the time that the hearing is scheduled. 

E. Form of petition. The petition for the revocation of a 

license shall set forth: 

1. The name and last known address of the person against 

whom the petition is being filed; 

2. The type of license and the license number held by the 

person against whom the petition is being filed; 

3. The basis for revocation and the specific underlying 

alleged actions; 

4. A statement of rights of the person against whom the 

petition is being filed. The statement of rights shall notify 

the person that any adverse action against a license, 

including revocation, will be reported to the division 

superintendents in Virginia and, through a national 

clearinghouse, to chief state school officers of the other 

states and territories of the United States. The statement also 

shall include notification to the person of the right to cancel 

the license if he the person chooses not to contest the 

allegations in the petition. The statement shall notify the 

individual that he the individual shall receive a notice of 

cancellation that will include the statement: "The license 

holder voluntarily returned the license in response to a 

petition for revocation." The individual also shall be notified 

that the cancellation of the license will be reported to 

division superintendents in Virginia and, through a national 

clearinghouse, to chief state school officers of the other 

states and territories of the United States; and 

5. Any other pertinent information. 

F. Filing of petition. The original petition shall be entered in 

the files of the local school board where the license holder is 

or was last employed. 

G. Response to petition. The license holder shall present his 

the license holder's written answer to the petition, if any, within 

14 days of delivery or attempted delivery of the petition as 

certified by the United States Postal Service. 

1. If the license holder does not wish to contest the 

allegations in the petition, he the license holder may request 

cancellation of the license by submitting a written, signed 

statement requesting cancellation in response to a petition 

for revocation. The division superintendent shall forward the 

request for cancellation along with the petition for 

revocation to the Superintendent of Public Instruction within 



Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 5  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 23, 2023  

287 

14 days of receipt. The Superintendent of Public Instruction 

shall cancel the license and send a notice of cancellation to 

the person by certified mail within 14 days of receipt of the 

request for cancellation. 

2. If the license holder files a written answer admitting or 

denying the allegations in the petition or fails to file a written 

answer within 14 days of delivery or attempted delivery of 

the petition, as certified by the United States Postal Service, 

the local school board shall proceed to a hearing as described 

in subsection D of this section and subdivision 3 of this 

subsection; and within 90 days of mailing the petition to the 

license holder and provide the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction a copy of the petition and investigative file at the 

time the local school board hearing is scheduled. The local 

school board shall provide a hearing at the time and place of 

its regular meeting or at such other reasonable time and place 

it may specify. The license holder or his the license holder's 

representative, if any, shall be given at least 14 days' notice 

of the hearing. 

3. At the hearing, the local school board shall receive the 

recommendation of the division superintendent and then 

either deny the petition or recommend license revocation or 

suspension. A decision to deny the petition shall be final, 

except as specified in subsection H of this section, and the 

investigative file on the petition shall be closed and 

maintained as a separate file. Any record or material relating 

to the allegations in the petition shall be placed in the 

investigative file. Should the local school board recommend 

the revocation or suspension of a license, the division 

superintendent shall forward the recommendation, petition, 

and investigative file to the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction within 14 days. 

H. Revocation on motion of the Virginia Board of Education. 

The Virginia Board of Education reserves the right to act 

directly to revoke a license when the Virginia Board of 

Education has reasonable cause to believe that subsection A of 

this section is applicable. The Superintendent of Public 

Instruction may send a petition for revocation to the license 

holder as provided by subsection E of this section. The license 

holder shall have the opportunity to present his the license 

holder's written answer, if any, to the petition within 14 days 

of delivery or attempted delivery of the petition, as certified by 

the United States Postal Service. 

1. If the license holder does not wish to contest the 

allegations in the petition, he the license holder may request 

the cancellation of the license by submitting a written, 

signed statement requesting cancellation in response to a 

petition for revocation. The Superintendent of Public 

Instruction shall cancel the license and send a notice of 

cancellation to the person by certified mail within 14 day of 

receipt of the request for cancellation. 

2. If the license holder files a written answer admitting the 

allegations in the petition or fails to file a written answer 

within 14 days of delivery or attempted delivery of the 

petition, as certified by the United States Postal Service, the 

petition shall be forwarded to the Virginia Board of 

Education for action. No revocation will be ordered without 

the involved license holder being given the opportunity to 

appear at a hearing specified in 8VAC20-23-780 C. 

3. If the license holder timely files his the license holder's 

written answer denying the allegations in the petition, the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction shall schedule a hearing 

with the investigative panel provided in 8VAC20-23-780 A. 

The license holder or his the license holder's representative, 

if any, shall be given at least 14 days' notice of the hearing. 

The investigative panel shall take action on the petition as 

specified in 8VAC20-23-780 A. No revocation will be 

ordered without the involved license holder being given the 

opportunity to appear at a hearing specified in 8VAC20-23-

780 C. 

I. Reinstatement of license. A license that has been revoked 

may be reinstated by the Virginia Board of Education after five 

years if the board is satisfied that reinstatement is in the best 

interest of the public schools of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. The individual seeking reinstatement shall submit a 

written request and completed application to the board. 

Notification to all appropriate parties will be communicated in 

writing by the Virginia Department of Education. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7577; Filed September 28, 2023, 5:56 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-81. Regulations Governing 

Special Education Programs for Children with Disabilities 

in Virginia (amending 8VAC20-81-60, 8VAC20-81-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-214 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 22, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

225-2540, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 4 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments provide that local educational agencies may 

shorten the deadline of 65 business days from the date of 

receipt of referral for a reevaluation of a child to 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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determine eligibility for special education and related 

services. 

8VAC20-81-60. Referral for initial evaluation. 

A. All children, aged two to 21, inclusive, whether enrolled 

in public school or not, who are suspected of having a 

disability, shall be referred to the special education 

administrator or designee, who shall initiate the process of 

determining eligibility for special education and related 

services. 

1. Referrals may be made by any source including school 

staff, a parent(s) parent, the Virginia Department of 

Education, any other state agency, other individuals, or a 

school-based team in accordance with 8VAC20-81-50 D 5 

b. (34 CFR 300.301(b)) 

2. The referring party shall inform the special education 

administrator or designee of why an evaluation is requested 

and efforts that have been made to address the concerns. The 

referral may be made in oral or written form. 

3. Upon receipt of the referral for initial evaluation for the 

provision of special education and related services to a child 

suspected of having a disability, from a source other than the 

school-based team, the special education administrator or 

designee shall: 

a. Initiate the initial evaluation procedures under 

subsection B of this section; 

b. Refer the child to the school-based team to review and 

respond to the request under 8VAC20-81-50 D 3 b (2); or 

c. Deny the request, and provide prior written notice in 

accordance with 8VAC20-81-170. 

B. Procedures for referral for initial evaluation. 

1. The special education administrator, or designee, shall: 

a. Record the date the referral was received, reason for 

referral, and names of the person or agency making the 

referral; 

b. Implement procedures for maintaining the 

confidentiality of all data; 

c. Provide written notice and procedural safeguards to 

inform the parent(s) parents in the parents' native language 

or primary mode of communication, unless it is clearly not 

feasible to do so, about: 

(1) The referral for evaluation; 

(2) The purpose of the evaluation; and 

(3) Parental rights with respect to evaluation and other 

procedural safeguards; 

d. Inform the parent(s) parents of the procedures for the 

determination of needed evaluation data and request any 

evaluation information the parent(s) parents may have on 

the child; 

e. Secure informed consent from the parent(s) parents for 

the evaluation; 

f. Ensure that all evaluations consist of procedures that: 

(1) Gather relevant functional, developmental, and 

academic information about the child to determine if the 

child is a child with a disability; and 

(2) Are sufficiently comprehensive to identify all of the 

child's special education and related services needs, and 

educational needs; and 

g. Ensure that all evaluations are completed and that 

decisions about eligibility are made within 65 business 

days of the receipt of the referral by the special education 

administrator or designee, including if the special 

education administrator or designee routes the referral to 

the school-based committee for review and action. Local 

school divisions may shorten the deadline of 65 business 

days from the date of receipt of referral for an initial 

evaluation of a child to determine eligibility for special 

education and related services. The time frame timeframe 

shall not apply to the local school division if: (34 CFR 

300.301(d) and (e)) 

(1) The parent(s) parent of the child repeatedly fails or 

refuses to produce the child for the evaluation; or 

(2) If the child enrolls in a school served by the local 

school division after the required 65 business days has 

begun and prior to a determination by the child's previous 

local school division as to whether the child is a child with 

a disability. This exception only applies if the local school 

division is making sufficient progress to ensure a prompt 

completion of the evaluation, and the parent(s) parents and 

the local school division where the child is enrolled in 

school agree to a specific time when the evaluation will be 

completed. 

h. The parent and eligibility group may agree in writing to 

extend the 65-day timeline to obtain additional data that 

cannot be obtained within the 65 business days. Local 

school divisions may shorten the deadline of 65 business 

days from the date of receipt of referral for an initial 

evaluation of a child to determine eligibility for special 

education and related services. (34 CFR 300.300(a), 

34 CFR 300.309(c)) 

i. If the decision is to not evaluate, prior written notice, in 

accordance with 8VAC20-81-170, shall be given to the 

parent(s) parent, including the parent's right to appeal the 

decision through due process hearing procedures. 

(34 CFR 300.507) 

2. Parental consent requirements. (34 CFR 300.300) 

a. Parental consent is not required before reviewing 

existing data as part of an evaluation or administering a 

test or other evaluation that is administered to all children, 

unless parental consent is required before administration 

to all children. 
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b. Parental consent for initial evaluation shall not be 

construed as consent for initial provision of special 

education and related services. 

c. The local school division shall make reasonable efforts 

to obtain parental consent for an initial evaluation to 

determine whether the child is a child with a disability. 

d. For initial evaluations only, if the child is a ward of the 

state and is not residing with the child's parent, the local 

school division is not required to obtain parental consent 

to determine whether the child is a child with a disability 

if: 

(1) Despite reasonable efforts to do so, the local school 

division cannot discover the whereabouts of the parent of 

the child; 

(2) The rights of the parents of the child have been 

terminated in accordance with Virginia law; or 

(3) The rights of the parent to make educational decisions 

have been subrogated by a judge in accordance with 

Virginia law and consent for an initial evaluation has been 

given by an individual appointed by the judge to represent 

the child. 

The local school division shall then proceed with 

evaluating the child without finalizing the appointment of 

a surrogate parent. 

e. If the parent does not provide consent for the initial 

evaluation, or fails to respond to a request to provide 

consent, the local school division may, but is not required 

to, use the dispute resolution options of mediation or due 

process to pursue the initial evaluation of the child. The 

local school division does not violate its obligation under 

child find or other free appropriate public education 

provisions if it declines to pursue the evaluation. 

f. If a parent of a child who is home-instructed or home-

tutored, or who is placed in a private school by the 

parent(s) parent at the parent's own expense, does not 

provide consent for initial evaluation, or the parent fails to 

respond to a request to provide consent, the local school 

division may not use mediation or due process to pursue 

the initial evaluation. 

8VAC20-81-70. Evaluation and reevaluation. 

A. Each local educational agency shall establish procedures 

for the evaluation and reevaluation of referrals of children in 

accordance with the provisions of this section. (34 CFR 

300.122) 

B. Determination of needed evaluation data for initial 

evaluation or reevaluation. (34 CFR 300.305 and 34 CFR 

300.507) 

1. Review of existing evaluation data. A group that is 

comprised of the same individuals as an IEP team and other 

qualified professionals, as appropriate, shall: 

a. Review existing evaluation data on the child, including: 

(1) Evaluations and information provided by the parent(s) 

parents of the child; 

(2) Current classroom-based, local, or state assessments 

and classroom-based observations; and 

(3) Observations by teachers and related services 

providers; and 

b. On the basis of that review and input from the child's 

parent(s) parents, identify what additional data, if any, are 

needed to determine: 

(1) Whether the child is, or continues to be, a child with a 

disability; 

(2) The present educational needs of the child; 

(3) The child's present level of academic achievement and 

related developmental needs; 

(4) Whether the child needs or continues to need special 

education and related services; and 

(5) Whether any additions or modifications to the special 

education and related services are needed to enable the 

child to meet the measurable annual goals set out in the 

IEP of the child and to participate, as appropriate, in the 

general education curriculum. 

2. Conduct of review. The group completing the review may 

conduct its review without a meeting. The local educational 

agency shall provide notice to ensure that the parent(s) 

parent has the opportunity to participate in the review. If 

there is a meeting, the local educational agency shall provide 

notice of the meeting early enough to ensure that the 

parent(s) parents will have an opportunity to participate. The 

notice shall meet the requirements of 8VAC20-81-110 E 2 a. 

3. Need for additional data. The local educational agency 

shall administer tests and other evaluation materials as may 

be needed to produce the data identified in this subsection. 

4. Requirements if additional data are not needed: 

a. If the team and other qualified professionals, as 

appropriate, determine that no additional data are needed 

to determine whether the child continues to be a child with 

a disability and to determine the child's educational needs, 

the local educational agency shall provide the child's 

parent(s) parents with prior written notice, including 

information regarding: 

(1) The determination and the reasons for it; and 

(2) The right of the parent(s) parents to request an 

evaluation to determine whether the child continues to be 

a child with a disability and to determine the child's 

educational needs. 

b. The local educational agency is not required to conduct 

the evaluation to gather additional information to 

determine whether the child continues to have a disability 

and to determine the child's educational needs, unless the 

child's parent(s) parent requests the evaluation for these 

specific purposes. 
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c. The child's parent(s) parent has the right to resolve a 

dispute through mediation or due process as described in 

this chapter. 

d. This process shall be considered the evaluation if no 

additional data are needed. 

5. If the team determines not to evaluate a child suspected of 

a disability, prior written notice, in accordance with 

8VAC20-81-170, shall be given to the parent(s) parent, 

including the parent's rights to appeal the decision through 

due process proceedings. 

C. The local educational agency shall establish policies and 

procedures to ensure that the following requirements are met. 

(§ 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia; 34 CFR 300.304 and 

34 CFR 300.310) 

1. Assessments and other evaluation materials used to assess 

a child under this chapter are: 

a. Selected and administered so as not to be discriminatory 

on a racial or cultural basis; 

b. Provided and administered in the child's native language 

and in the form most likely to yield accurate information 

on what the child knows and can do academically, 

developmentally, and functionally, unless it is clearly not 

feasible to do so; 

c. Used for the purposes for which the assessments or 

measures are valid and reliable; and 

d. Administered by trained and knowledgeable personnel 

in accordance with the instructions provided by the 

producer of the assessments. 

2. Materials and procedures used to assess a child with 

limited English proficiency are selected and administered to 

ensure that they measure the extent to which the child has a 

disability and needs special education, rather than measuring 

the child's English language skills. 

3. A variety of assessment tools and strategies are used to 

gather relevant functional, developmental, and academic 

information about the child, including information provided 

by the parent(s) parents, and information related to enabling 

the child to be involved in and progress in the general 

curriculum (or for a preschool child, to participate in 

appropriate activities), that may assist in determining 

whether the child is a child with a disability and the content 

of the child's IEP. 

4. The assessment tools and strategies used provide relevant 

information that directly assists persons in determining the 

educational needs of the child. 

5. If an assessment is not conducted under standard 

conditions, a description of the extent to which it varied from 

standard conditions (e.g., the qualifications of the person 

administering the test or the method of test administration) 

shall be included in the evaluation report. 

6. Any nonstandardized assessment administered by 

qualified personnel may be used to assist in determining 

whether the child is a child with a disability and the contents 

of the child's IEP. 

7. Assessments and other evaluation materials include those 

tailored to assess specific areas of educational need and not 

merely those that are designed to provide a single general 

intelligence quotient. 

8. Assessments are selected and administered so as to best 

ensure that if an assessment is administered to a child with 

impaired sensory, motor, or communication skills, the 

assessment results accurately reflect the child's aptitude or 

achievement level or whatever other factors the test purports 

to measure rather than reflecting the child's impaired 

sensory, motor, or communication skills (except where those 

skills are the factors that the test purports to measure). 

9. The evaluation is sufficiently comprehensive to identify 

all of the child's special education and related services needs, 

whether or not commonly linked to the disability category in 

which the child has been classified. 

10. Technically sound instruments are used that may assess 

the relative contribution of cognitive and behavioral factors, 

in addition to physical or developmental factors. 

11. No single measure or assessment is used as the sole 

criterion for determining whether a child is a child with a 

disability and for determining an appropriate educational 

program for a child. 

12. If the evaluation requires assessments in more than one 

area relating to the suspected disability, a group of persons, 

including at least one teacher or other specialist with 

knowledge in the area of the suspected disability, shall 

complete the assessments. 

13. For a child suspected of having a specific learning 

disability, the evaluation shall include an observation of 

academic performance in the regular classroom by at least 

one team member other than the child's regular teacher. In 

the case of a child of less than school age or out of school, a 

team member shall observe the child in an environment 

appropriate for a child of that age. 

14. Each child is assessed by a qualified professional in all 

areas relating to the suspected disability, including, if 

appropriate, health, vision, hearing, social and emotional 

status, general intelligence, academic performance, 

communicative status, motor abilities, and adaptive 

behavior. This may include educational, medical, 

sociocultural, psychological, or developmental assessments. 

a. The hearing of each child suspected of having a 

disability shall be screened during the eligibility process 

prior to initial determination of eligibility for special 

education and related services. 
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b. A complete audiological assessment, including tests 

that will assess inner and middle ear functioning, shall be 

performed on each child who is hearing impaired or deaf 

or who fails two hearing screening tests. 

D. The evaluation report(s) report shall be available to the 

parent(s) parents no later than two business days before the 

meeting to determine eligibility. (34 CFR 300.306(a)(2)) 

1. A written copy of the evaluation report(s) report shall be 

provided to the parent(s) parents prior to or at the meeting 

where the eligibility group reviews the evaluation report(s) 

report or immediately following the meeting, but no later 

than 10 days after the meeting. 

2. The evaluation report(s) report shall be provided to the 

parent(s) parent at no cost. 

E. Assessments of children with disabilities or suspected of 

having a disability who transfer from one local educational 

agency to another local educational agency in the same school 

year shall be coordinated with those children's prior and 

subsequent schools, as necessary and as expeditiously as 

possible, consistent with 8VAC20-81-60 B 1 g, to ensure 

prompt completion of full evaluations. (34 CFR 300.304(c)(5)) 

F. Reevaluation. 

1. A reevaluation shall be conducted: (34 CFR 300.303(a) 

and (b)(2)) 

a. If the local educational agency determines that the 

child's educational or related services needs, including 

improved academic achievement and functional 

performance, warrants a reevaluation; 

b. If the child's parent(s) parent or teacher requests a 

reevaluation; or 

c. At least once every three years, unless the parent and 

local educational agency agree that a reevaluation is 

unnecessary. 

2. The local educational agency shall not conduct a 

reevaluation more than once a year unless the parent(s) 

parent and the local educational agency agree otherwise. If 

the local educational agency does not agree with the parent's 

request for a reevaluation, the local educational agency shall 

provide the parent(s) parent with prior written notice in 

accordance with 8VAC20-81-170. (34 CFR 300.303(b)(1)) 

3. The local educational agency shall conduct a reevaluation 

in accordance with the requirements of subsection B of this 

section. (34 CFR 300.305) 

G. Parental consent for reevaluation. (34 CFR 300.300(c) and 

(d)) 

1. Informed parental consent is required before conducting 

any reevaluation of a child with a disability. 

a. If the local educational agency can demonstrate that it 

has taken reasonable measures to obtain consent and the 

child's parent(s) parent has failed to respond, the local 

educational agency shall proceed as if consent has been 

given by the parent(s) parent. Reasonable measures 

include providing notice to the parent(s) parents in writing 

(or by telephone or in person with proper documentation). 

b. If the parent(s) parent refuses consent, the local 

educational agency may continue to pursue those 

evaluations by using due process or mediation procedures. 

The local educational agency does not violate its 

obligation under this chapter if it declines to pursue the 

reevaluation. 

2. Parental consent is not required before: 

a. Review of existing data as part of an evaluation or 

reevaluation; 

b. A teacher's or related service provider's observations or 

ongoing classroom evaluations; or 

c. Administering a test or other evaluation that is 

administered to all children unless, before administration 

of that test or evaluation, consent is required of parents of 

all children. 

3. If a parent of a child who is home-instructed or home-

tutored, or who is placed in a private school by the parents 

at their the parents' own expense, does not provide consent 

for reevaluation, or the parent(s) parent fails to respond to a 

request to provide consent, the local educational agency may 

not use mediation or due process to pursue the reevaluation. 

In this instance, the local school division is not required to 

consider the child as eligible for equitable services under the 

provisions of 8VAC20-81-150 for parentally placed 

students. 

H. Timelines for reevaluations. 

1. The reevaluation process, including eligibility 

determination, shall be initiated in sufficient time to 

complete the process prior to the third anniversary of the 

date eligibility was last determined. 

2. If a reevaluation is conducted for purposes other than the 

child's triennial, the reevaluation process, including 

eligibility determination, shall be completed in 65 business 

days of the receipt of the referral by the special education 

administrator or designee for the evaluation. Local school 

divisions may shorten the deadline of 65 business days from 

the date of receipt of referral for a reevaluation of a child to 

determine eligibility for special education and related 

services. 

3. The parent and eligibility group may agree in writing to 

extend the 65-day timeline to obtain additional data that 

cannot be obtained within the 65 business days. Local school 

divisions may shorten the deadline of 65 business days from 

the date of receipt of referral for a reevaluation of a child to 

determine eligibility for special education and related 

services. 
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I. The local educational agency is not required to evaluate a 

child with a disability who graduates with a standard diploma 

or advanced studies diploma. Since graduation is a change in 

placement, the local educational agency is required to provide 

the parent with prior written notice in accordance with 

8VAC20-81-170. (34 CFR 300.305(e)(2)) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7575; Filed September 28, 2023, 5:56 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-131. Regulations Establishing 

Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 

(amending 8VAC20-131-420). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 22, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

225-2540, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 7 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow the State Board of Education to waive 

certain graduation requirements and award a high school 

diploma upon the request of the parent of any high school 

senior who died in good standing prior to graduation 

during the student's senior year. 

8VAC20-131-420. Waivers and alternative accreditation 

plans. 

A. Except as specified in this section, the board may grant, 

for a period of up to five years, a waiver of requirements of this 

chapter that are not mandated by state or federal law or 

designed to promote health or safety. The board may grant all 

or a portion of the request for a waiver and designate conditions 

as appropriate. Waivers of requirements in 8VAC20-131-30, 

8VAC20-131-50, 8VAC20-131-51, 8VAC20-131-70, and 

8VAC20-131-370 through 8VAC20-131-430 shall not be 

granted, and no waiver may be approved for a program that 

violates the Standards of Quality. 

B. Waivers of some of the requirements of this chapter may 

be granted by the board based on submission of a request from 

the division superintendent and chairman of the local school 

board. The request shall include documentation of the 

justification and need for the waiver. In no event shall waivers 

be granted to the requirements of Part III (8VAC20-131-30 et 

seq.) of this chapter except that the board may provide for the 

waiver of certain graduation requirements and the subsequent 

award of a high school diploma in 8VAC20-131-50 and 

8VAC20-131-51 upon (i) the board's initiative or; (ii) the 

request of a local school board on a case-by-case basis; or (iii) 

upon the request of the parent of any high school senior who 

died in good standing prior to graduation during the student's 

senior year. Such waivers shall be granted only for good cause 

and shall be considered on a case-by-case basis. The board 

shall develop guidelines for implementing this chapter. 

Any student with a disability whose Individualized Education 

Program (IEP) or 504 Plan documents that the student cannot 

successfully complete training in emergency first aid, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation, or the use of automated 

external defibrillators, including hands-on practice of the skills 

necessary to perform cardiopulmonary resuscitation, as 

required for graduation in 8VAC20-31-50 B 2 and C 2 and 

8VAC20-131-51 B 2 and C 2 shall be granted a waiver from 

this graduation requirement. 

C. Waivers for innovative or school experimental programs. 

With the approval of the local school board, schools seeking to 

implement experimental or innovative programs, or both, that 

are not consistent with this chapter shall submit a waiver 

request to the board for evaluation and approval prior to 

implementation. The request must include the following: 

1. Purpose and objectives of the experimental or innovative 

programs; 

2. Description and duration of the programs; 

3. Anticipated outcomes; 

4. Number of students affected; 

5. Evaluation procedures; and 

6. Mechanisms for measuring goals, objectives, and student 

academic achievement. 

D. Alternative accreditation plans. Subject to the provisions 

of subsection B of this section, the governing school board of 

special purpose schools such as those provided for in § 22.1-

26 of the Code of Virginia, Governor's schools, special 

education schools, alternative schools, or career and technical 

schools that serve as the student's school of principal 

enrollment may seek approval of an alternative accreditation 

plan from the board. Schools offering alternative education 

programs, schools with a graduation cohort of 50 or fewer 

students as defined by the graduation rate formula adopted by 

the board may request that the board approve an alternative 

accreditation plan to meet the graduation and completion index 

benchmark. Special purpose schools with alternative 

accreditation plans shall be evaluated on standards appropriate 

to the programs offered in the school and approved by the 

board prior to August 1 of the school year for which approval 

is requested. Any student graduating from a special purpose 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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school with a Standard Diploma or an Advanced Studies 

Diploma must meet the requirements prescribed in 8VAC20-

131-50 or 8VAC20-131-51. 

As set forth in the Standards of Quality and according to 

department procedures, any school board may request the 

board for release from state regulations or, on behalf of one or 

more of its schools, for approval of an Individual School 

Accreditation Plan for the evaluation of the performance of one 

or more of its schools as authorized for schools enumerated in 

this subsection, based on special circumstances. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7576; Filed September 28, 2023, 5:57 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Action Withdrawn 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-140. Regulation for Emissions 

Trading Programs. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1308 and 10.1-1322.3 of the Code 

of Virginia; Clean Air Act (42 USC § 7401 et seq.); 40 CFR 

Part 51. 

The State Air Pollution Control Board has WITHDRAWN the 

regulatory action for 9VAC5-140, Regulation for Emissions 

Trading Programs, which was published as a Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action in 21:22 VA.R. 2990 July 11, 

2005. The purpose of the proposed action was to establish 

requirements to reduce SOx and NOx emissions in order to 

eliminate their significant contribution to nonattainment or 

interference with maintenance of the national ambient air 

quality standards in downwind states and to protect Virginia's 

air quality and its natural resources. This action is being 

withdrawn because of the long amount of time that has elapsed 

since the last stage's publication, and the board is no longer 

pursuing this action.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-

1973, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-558; Filed September 28, 2023, 12:10 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Pursuant to 1VAC7-10-60, the 

Registrar of Regulations is updating certain regulations of the 

State Air Pollution Control Board to remove an obsolete fax 

number in the Virginia Administrative Code. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-210. Regulation for Dispute 

Resolution. 

9VAC5-510. Nonmetallic Mineral Processing General 

Permit. 

Effective Date: October 23, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Rachael Harrell, Board Coordinator, Policy 

Division, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main St, Richmond VA 23219, telephone (804) 801-2932, or 

email rachael.harrell@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to 1VAC7-10-60, the fax number for the 

Department of Environmental Quality is removed from 

regulation text as it has been eliminated by the 

department. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7698; Filed September 28, 2023, 11:17 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Action Withdrawn 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC15-50. Small Renewable Offshore 

Wind Energy Projects Permit Regulation. 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1197.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Department of Environmental Quality has WITHDRAWN 

the regulatory action for 9VAC15-50, Small Renewable 

Offshore Wind Energy Projects Permit Regulation, which 

was published as a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

26:24 VA.R. 2783 August 2, 2010. The purpose of the 

proposed action was to establish a permit by rule for small 

offshore wind renewable energy projects. This action is being 

withdrawn because of the long amount of time that has elapsed 

since the last stage's publication, and the department is no 

longer pursuing this action. 

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R10-2505; Filed September 28, 2023, 12:07 p.m. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

3, which excludes regulations that consist only of changes in 

style or form or corrections of technical errors. The board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC20-70. Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer and 

Treatment Facilities (amending 9VAC20-70-10, 9VAC20-

70-50, 9VAC20-70-70, 9VAC20-70-75, 9VAC20-70-90, 

9VAC20-70-290). 

https://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol21/iss22/v21i22.pdf
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol21/iss22/v21i22.pdf
mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:RACHAEL.HARRELL@DEQ.VIRGINIA.GOV
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=1277
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 5  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 23, 2023 

294 

9VAC20-90. Solid Waste Management Permit Action Fees 

and Annual Fees (amending 9VAC20-90-10, 9VAC20-90-

50, 9VAC20-90-70, 9VAC20-90-90, 9VAC20-90-110, 

9VAC20-90-120). 

9VAC20-130. Solid Waste Planning and Recycling 

Regulations (amending 9VAC20-130-10). 

9VAC20-170. Transportation of Solid and Medical Wastes 

on State Waters (amending 9VAC20-170-10, 9VAC20-170-

40). 

Statutory Authority: 

§§ 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1410 of the Code of Virginia 

(9VAC20-70-10, 9VAC20-70-50, 9VAC20-70-70, 9VAC20-

70-75, 9VAC20-70-90). 

§§ 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1410 of the Code of Virginia; 

§§ 1008(a)(3), 2002, and 4004(a) of the Resource 

Conservation and Recovery Act; 40 CFR Part 258 (9VAC20-

70-290). 

§ 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia (9VAC20-90-10, 

9VAC20-90-50, 9VAC20-90-70, 9VAC20-90-90, 9VAC20-

90-110, 9VAC20-90-120). 

§§ 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1411 of the Code of Virginia; 42 USC 

§ 6942(b), 40 CFR Parts 255 and 256 (9VAC20-130-10).  

§§ 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1454.1 of the Code of Virginia 

(9VAC20-170-10, 9VAC20-170-40). 

Effective Date: November 22, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Priscilla F. Rohrer, Guidance and Regulation 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 217-7074, or 

email priscilla.rohrer@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-121) became effective March 15, 2023. These 

technical amendments update citations to 9VAC20-121 in 

applicable waste management regulations.  

9VAC20-70-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abandoned facility" means any inactive solid waste 

management facility that has not met closure and post-closure 

care requirements. 

"Active life" means the period of operation beginning with 

the initial receipt of solid waste and ending at the completion 

of closure activities required by the Solid Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-81). Active life does not include the 

post-closure care monitoring period. 

"Anniversary date" means the date of issuance of a financial 

mechanism. 

"Assets" means all existing and all probable future economic 

benefits obtained or controlled by a particular entity. 

"Authority" means an authority created under the provisions 

of the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act, Chapter 51 

(§ 15.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia, or, 

if any such authority shall be abolished, the board, body, or 

commission succeeding to the principal functions thereof or to 

whom the powers given by the Virginia Water and Waste 

Authorities Act to such authority shall be given by law. 

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board. 

"Cash plus marketable securities" means all the cash plus 

marketable securities held on the last day of a fiscal year, 

excluding cash and marketable securities designed to satisfy 

past obligations such as pensions. 

"Closed facility" means a solid waste management facility 

that has been properly secured in accordance with the 

requirements of the Solid Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-81), the Regulated Medical Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-120) (9VAC20-121), or the 

Transportation of Solid and Medical Wastes on State Waters 

Regulations (9VAC20-170). A closed facility may be 

undergoing post-closure care. 

"Closure" means the act of securing a solid waste 

management facility pursuant to the requirements of this 

chapter and any other applicable solid waste management 

standards. 

"Commercial transporter" means any person who transports 

for the purpose of commercial carriage of solid wastes or 

regulated medical wastes as cargo. 

"Corrective action" means all actions necessary to mitigate 

the public health or environmental threat from a release to the 

environment of solid waste or constituents of solid waste from 

an operating, abandoned, or closed solid waste management 

facility and to restore the environmental conditions as required. 

"Current annual inflation factor" means the annual inflation 

factor derived from the most recent Implicit Price Deflator for 

Gross National Product published by the U.S. Department of 

Commerce in its Survey of Current Business. 

"Current assets" means cash or other assets or resources 

commonly identified as those which are reasonably expected 

to be realized in cash or sold or consumed during the normal 

operating cycle of the business. 

"Current closure cost estimate" means the most recent of the 

estimates prepared in accordance with the requirements of 

9VAC20-70-111. 

"Current dollars" means the figure represented by the total of 

the cost estimate multiplied by the current annual inflation 

factor. 

mailto:priscilla.rohrer@deq.virginia.gov
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"Current liabilities" means obligations whose liquidation is 

reasonably expected to require the use of existing resources 

properly classifiable as current assets or the creation of other 

current liabilities. 

"Current post-closure cost estimate" means the most recent of 

the estimates prepared in accordance with the requirements of 

9VAC20-70-112. 

"Current year expenses for closure" means expenditures 

documented by the facility during the previous fiscal year for 

construction-related activities associated with closing the 

facility. Expenses for closure must be detailed and identified in 

an approved closure plan. 

"Debt service" means the amount of principal and interest due 

on a loan in a given time period, typically the current year. 

"Deficit" means total annual revenues less total annual 

expenditures. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Disposal" means the discharge, deposit, injection, dumping, 

spilling, leaking or placing of any solid waste into or on any 

land or water so that such solid waste or any constituent thereof 

may enter the environment or be emitted into the air or 

discharged into any waters. 

"Facility" means any solid waste management facility unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise. The term "facility" 

includes transfer stations. 

"Federal agency" means any department, agency, or other 

instrumentality of the federal government, any independent 

agency, or establishment of the federal government including 

any government corporation and the Government Printing 

Office. 

"Governmental unit" means any department, institution or 

commission of the Commonwealth and any public corporate 

instrumentality thereof, and any district, and shall include local 

governments. 

"Groundwater" means any water, except capillary moisture or 

unsaturated zone moisture, beneath the land surface in the zone 

of saturation or beneath the bed of any stream, lake, reservoir 

or other body of surface water within the boundaries of this 

Commonwealth, whatever may be the subsurface geologic 

structure in which such water stands, flows, percolates or 

otherwise occurs. 

"Hazardous waste" means a "hazardous waste" as defined by 

the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-60). 

"Landfill" means a sanitary landfill, an industrial waste 

landfill, or a construction/demolition/debris landfill as defined 

by the Solid Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-81). 

"Leachate" means a liquid that has passed through or emerged 

from solid waste and that contains soluble, suspended, or 

miscible materials from such waste. Leachate and any material 

with which it is mixed is solid waste; except that leachate that 

is pumped from a collection tank for transportation for disposal 

in an off-site facility is regulated as septage, and leachate 

discharged into a wastewater collection system is regulated as 

industrial wastewater. 

"Liabilities" means probable future sacrifices of economic 

benefits arising from present obligations to transfer assets or 

provide services to other entities in the future as a result of past 

transactions or events. 

"Local government" means a county, city or town or any 

authority, commission, or district created by one or more 

counties, cities or towns. 

"Net working capital" means current assets minus current 

liabilities. 

"Net worth" means total assets minus total liabilities and is 

equivalent to owner's equity. 

"Operator" means the person responsible for the overall 

operation and site management of a solid waste management 

facility. 

"Owner" means a person who owns a solid waste 

management facility or part of a solid waste management 

facility. For the purposes of this chapter, all individuals, 

corporations, companies, partnerships, societies or 

associations, and any federal agency or governmental unit of 

the Commonwealth having any title or interest in any solid 

waste management facility or the services or facilities to be 

rendered thereby shall be considered an owner. 

"Parent corporation" means a corporation that directly owns 

at least 50% of the voting stock of the corporation that is the 

facility owner or operator; the latter corporation is deemed a 

"subsidiary" of the parent corporation. 

"Permit" means the written permission of the director to own, 

operate, modify, or construct a solid waste management 

facility. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation or 

any other legal entity. 

"Post-closure care" means the requirements placed upon an 

owner or operator of a solid waste disposal facility after closure 

to ensure environmental and public health and safety are 

protected for a specified number of years after closure. 

"Receiving facility" means a facility, vessel or operation that 

receives solid wastes or regulated medical wastes transported, 
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loaded or unloaded upon the navigable waters of the 

Commonwealth, to the extent allowable under state law, by a 

commercial transporter. A receiving facility is considered as a 

solid waste management facility. A facility that receives solid 

waste from a ship, barge or other vessel and is regulated under 

§ 10.1-1454.1 of the Code of Virginia shall be considered a 

transfer facility for purposes of this chapter. 

"Regulated medical waste" means solid waste so defined by 

the Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-120) (9VAC20-121) as promulgated by the Virginia 

Waste Management Board. 

"Sanitary landfill" means an engineered land burial facility 

for the disposal of solid waste which is so located, designed, 

constructed and operated to contain and isolate the solid waste 

so that it does not pose a substantial present or potential hazard 

to human health or the environment. 

"Signature" means the name of a person written with his own 

hand. 

"Site" means all land and structures, other appurtenances, and 

improvements thereon used for treating, storing, and disposing 

of solid waste. This term includes adjacent land within the 

property boundary used for utility systems such as repair, 

storage, shipping or processing areas, or other areas incident to 

the management of solid waste. 

"Solid waste" means any of those materials defined as "solid 

waste" in the Virginia Waste Management Act and the Solid 

Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-81). 

"Solid waste disposal facility" means a solid waste 

management facility at which solid waste will remain after 

closure. 

"Solid waste management facility (SWMF)" means a site 

used for planned treating, storing, or disposing of solid waste. 

A facility may consist of several treatment, storage, or disposal 

units. 

"Storage" means the holding of waste, at the end of which the 

waste is treated, disposed, or stored elsewhere. 

"Substantial business relationship" means the extent of a 

business relationship necessary under applicable Virginia law 

to make a guarantee contract incident to that relationship valid 

and enforceable. A "substantial business relationship" shall 

arise from a pattern of recent and on-going business 

transactions, in addition to the guarantee itself, such that a 

currently existing business relationship between the guarantor 

and the owner or operator is demonstrated to the satisfaction of 

the director. 

"Tangible net worth" means the tangible assets that remain 

after deducting liabilities; such assets would not include 

intangibles such as goodwill and rights to patents or royalties. 

"Total expenditures" means all expenditures excluding 

capital outlays and debt repayment. 

"Total revenue" means revenue from all taxes and fees but 

does not include the proceeds from borrowing or asset sales, 

excluding revenue from funds managed on behalf of a specific 

third party. 

"Transfer station" means any solid waste storage or collection 

facility at which solid waste is transferred from collection 

vehicles to haulage vehicles for transportation to a central solid 

waste management facility for disposal, incineration or 

resource recovery. 

"Treatment" means any method, technique, or process, 

including incineration or neutralization, designed to change the 

physical, chemical, or biological character or composition of 

any waste to neutralize it or render it less hazardous or 

nonhazardous, safer for transport, or more amenable to use, 

reuse, reclamation or recovery. 

"Unit" means a discrete area of land used for the management 

of solid waste. 

9VAC20-70-50. Applicability of chapter. 

A. This chapter applies to all persons who own, operate, or 

allow the following permitted or unpermitted facilities to be 

operated on their property: 

1. Solid waste treatment, transfer and disposal facilities 

regulated under the Virginia Solid Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-81); 

2. Vegetative waste management facilities regulated under 

the Solid Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-81); 

3. Medical waste treatment, transfer or disposal facilities 

regulated under the Regulated Medical Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-120) (9VAC20-121); or 

4. Receiving facilities as defined herein. 

B. Exemptions. 

1. Owners or operators of facilities who are federal or state 

government entities whose debts and liabilities are the debts 

or liabilities of the United States or the Commonwealth, are 

exempt from this chapter; 

2. Owners and operators of facilities conditionally exempt 

under 9VAC20-81-95 of the Solid Waste Management 

Regulations are exempt from this chapter so long as they 

meet the conditions of the exemption; 

3. Owners and operators of facilities that manage solely 

wastes excluded or conditionally exempt under 9VAC20-

81-95 of the Solid Waste Management Regulations are 

exempt from this chapter; 

4. Owners or operators of facilities conditionally exempt 

under 9VAC20-120-120 9VAC20-121-90 D or 9VAC20-

121-300 E or excluded under 9VAC20-120-130 9VAC20-

121-90 C of the Regulated Medical Waste Management 
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Regulations (9VAC20-120) (9VAC20-121) are exempt 

from this chapter; 

5. Owners and operators of yard waste composting facilities 

exempt under 9VAC20-81-95 of the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations are exempt from this chapter; and 

6. Owners and operators of hazardous waste management 

units regulated under the Virginia Hazardous Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-60) are exempt from 

this chapter as far as such units are concerned. 

C. Owners and operators of facilities or units that treat or 

dispose of wastes which are exempted from the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-60) are 

subject to these regulations unless also exempted herein. 

D. Facilities with separate ownership and operation. If 

separate, nonexempt persons own and operate a facility subject 

to this chapter, the owner and operator shall be jointly and 

severally liable for meeting the requirements of this chapter. If 

either the owner or operator is exempt, as provided in 

9VAC20-70-50 B, then the other person shall be liable for 

meeting the requirements of this chapter. If both the owner and 

the operator are exempt, as provided in 9VAC20-70-50 B, then 

the requirements of this chapter are not applicable to that 

facility. 

E. Exemptions for facilities owned and operated by local 

governments. 

1. Closed facilities. Owners and operators of facilities who 

are local governmental entities or regional authorities that 

have completed closure by October 9, 1994, are exempt from 

all the requirements of this chapter, provided they: 

a. Have (i) disposed of less than 100 tons per day of solid 

waste during a representative period prior to October 9, 

1993; (ii) disposed of less than 100 tons per day of solid 

waste each month between October 9, 1993, and April 9, 

1994; (iii) ceased to accept solid waste prior to April 9, 

1994; and (iv) whose units are not on the National Priority 

List as found in Appendix B to 40 CFR Part 300; or 

b. Have (i) disposed of more than 100 tons per day of solid 

waste prior to October 9, 1993, and (ii) ceased to accept 

solid waste prior to that date. 

2. All other facilities. Owners and operators of facilities who 

are local governmental entities or regional authorities that 

are not exempt under subdivision 1 of this subsection are 

subject to the requirements of this chapter. 

9VAC20-70-70. Suspensions and revocations. 

The director may revoke, suspend, or amend any permit for 

cause as set in § 10.1-1409 of the Code of Virginia and as 

provided for in 9VAC20-81-570 and 9VAC20-81-600 of the 

Solid Waste Management Regulations, 9VAC20-120-790 

9VAC20-121-310 and 9VAC20-120-810 9VAC20-121-320 of 

the Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations, and 

any other applicable regulations. Failure to provide or maintain 

adequate financial assurance in accordance with these 

regulations shall be a basis for revocation of such facility 

permit. Failure to provide or maintain adequate financial 

assurance in accordance with this chapter, taken with other 

relevant facts and circumstances, may be a basis for summary 

suspension of such facility permit pending a hearing to amend 

or revoke the permit, or to issue any other appropriate order. 

9VAC20-70-75. Forfeitures. 

Forfeiture of any financial obligation imposed pursuant to this 

chapter shall not relieve any owner or operator of a solid waste 

management facility from any obligations to comply with 

provisions of the Solid Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-81) or the Regulated Medical Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-120) (9VAC20-121), and any other 

applicable regulations or any other legal obligations for the 

consequences of abandonment of any facility. 

9VAC20-70-90. Closure, post-closure care and corrective 

action requirements. 

A. The owner or operator shall close his facility in a manner 

that minimizes the need for further maintenance; and controls, 

minimizes or eliminates, to the extent necessary to protect 

human health and the environment, the post-closure escape of 

uncontrolled leachate, surface runoff, or waste decomposition 

products to the groundwater, surface water, or to the 

atmosphere. The owner or operator shall close his facility in 

accordance with all applicable regulations. 

The closure standards applicable to the solid waste 

management facilities are described in 9VAC20-81-160, 

9VAC20-81-360, and 9VAC20-81-370 of the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations. The closure requirements 

applicable to the regulated medical waste facilities are 

specified in 9VAC20-120-290 9VAC20-121-290 of the 

Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations. 

B. Following closure of each solid waste disposal unit, the 

owner or operator shall conduct post-closure care in 

accordance with the requirements of 9VAC20-81-170 of the 

Solid Waste Management Regulations, as applicable. 

C. The owner or operator shall institute a corrective action 

program when required to do so by 9VAC20-81-45 or 

9VAC20-81-260 of the Solid Waste Management Regulations, 

as applicable. 

D. During any re-examination of a determination of the 

amount of financial assurance required, the owner or operator 

of a landfill facility not closed in accordance with 9VAC20-81 

shall demonstrate financial assurance by using one or more of 

the approved mechanisms listed in Article 4 (9VAC20-70-140 

et seq.) of this part for the lesser of the following: 

1. The amount requested by the director; or 

2. The following default amounts: 
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a. $200,000 per acre of fill for sanitary landfills; or 

b. $150,000 per acre of fill for construction demolition 

debris landfills and industrial landfills. 

9VAC20-70-290. Wording of financial mechanisms. 

A. Wording of trust agreements. 

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses deleted.) 

TRUST AGREEMENT 

Trust agreement, the "Agreement," entered into as of (date) 

by and between (name of the owner or operator), a (State) 

(corporation, partnership, association, proprietorship), the 

"Grantor," and (name of corporate trustee), a (State 

corporation) (national bank), the "Trustee." 

Whereas, the Virginia Waste Management Board has 

established certain regulations applicable to the Grantor, 

requiring that the owner or operator of a (solid) (regulated 

medical) (yard) waste (transfer station) (receiving) 

(management) facility must provide assurance that funds will 

be available when needed for (closure, post-closure care, or 

corrective action) of the facility, 

Whereas, the Grantor has elected to establish a trust to 

provide (all or part of) such financial assurance for the facility 

identified herein, 

Whereas, the Grantor, acting through its duly authorized 

officers, has selected the Trustee to be the trustee under this 

agreement, and the Trustee is willing to act as trustee, 

Now, therefore, the Grantor and the Trustee agree as follows: 

Section 1. Definitions. As used in this Agreement: 

A. The term "fiduciary" means any person who exercises any 

power of control, management, or disposition or renders 

investment advice for a fee or other compensation, direct or 

indirect, with respect to any moneys or other property of this 

trust fund, or has any authority or responsibility to do so, or 

who has any authority or responsibility in the administration 

of this trust fund. 

B. The term "Grantor" means the owner or operator who 

enters into this Agreement and any successors or assigns of 

the Grantor. 

C. The term "Trustee" means the Trustee who enters into this 

Agreement and any successor Trustee. 

Section 2. Identification of Facility and Cost Estimates. This 

Agreement pertains to facility(ies) and cost estimates 

identified on attached Schedule A. 

(NOTE: On Schedule A, for each facility list, as applicable, 

the permit number, name, address, and the current closure, 

post-closure, corrective action cost estimates, or portions 

thereof, for which financial assurance is demonstrated by this 

Agreement.) 

Section 3. Establishment of Fund. The Grantor and the 

Trustee hereby establish a trust fund, the "Fund," for the benefit 

of the Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth 

of Virginia. The Grantor and the Trustee intend that no third 

party have access to the Fund except as herein provided. The 

Fund is established initially as property consisting of cash or 

securities, which are acceptable to the Trustee, described in 

Schedule B attached hereto. Such property and any other 

property subsequently transferred to the Trustee is referred to 

as the fund, together with all earnings and profits thereon, less 

any payments or distributions made by the Trustee pursuant to 

this Agreement. The Fund will be held by the Trustee, IN 

TRUST, as hereinafter provided. The Trustee undertakes no 

responsibility for the amount or adequacy of, nor any duty to 

collect from the Grantor, any payments to discharge any 

liabilities of the Grantor established by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia's Department of Environmental Quality. 

Section 4. Payment for (Closure, Post-Closure Care, or 

Corrective Action). The Trustee will make such payments from 

the Fund as the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia will direct, in writing, to provide 

for the payment of the costs of (closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action) of the facility covered by this Agreement. 

The Trustee will reimburse the Grantor or other persons as 

specified by the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia, from the Fund for (closure, post-

closure care, corrective action) expenditures in such amounts 

as the Department of Environmental Quality will direct, in 

writing. In addition, the Trustee will refund to the Grantor such 

amounts as the Department of Environmental Quality specifies 

in writing. Upon refund, such funds will no longer constitute 

part of the Fund as defined herein. 

Section 5. Payments Comprising the Fund. Payments made to 

the Trustee for the fund will consist of cash or securities 

acceptable to the Trustee. 

Section 6. Trustee Management. The Trustee will invest and 

reinvest the principal and income of the Fund and keep the 

Fund invested as a single fund, without distinction between 

principal and income, in accordance with investment 

guidelines and objectives communicated in writing to the 

Trustee from time to time by the Grantor, subject, however, to 

the provisions of this Section. In investing, reinvesting, 

exchanging, selling and managing the Fund, the Trustee or any 

other fiduciary will discharge his duties with respect to the trust 

fund solely in the interest of the beneficiary and with the care, 

skill, prudence, and diligence under the circumstances then 

prevailing which persons of prudence, acting in a like capacity 

and familiar with such matters, would use in the conduct of any 

enterprise of a like character and with like aims; except that: 

A. Securities or other obligations of the Grantor, or any other 

owner or operator of the facility, or any of their affiliates as 

defined in the Investment Company Act of 1940, as 

amended, 15 USC § 80a-2(a), will not be acquired or held, 
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unless they are securities or other obligations of the federal 

or a state government; 

B. The Trustee is authorized to invest the Fund in time or 

demand deposits of the Trustee, to the extent insured by an 

agency of the federal or state government; and 

C. The Trustee is authorized to hold cash awaiting 

investment or distribution uninvested for a reasonable time 

and without liability for the payment of interest thereon. 

Section 7. Commingling and Investment. The Trustee is 

expressly authorized in its discretion: 

A. To transfer from time to time any or all of the assets of 

the Fund to any common, commingled or collective trust 

fund created by the Trustee in which the Fund is eligible to 

participate subject to all of the provisions thereof, to be 

commingled with the assets of other trusts participating 

herein. To the extent of the equitable share of the Fund in 

any such commingled trust, such commingled trust will be 

part of the Fund; and 

B. To purchase shares in any investment company registered 

under the Investment Company Act of 1940, 15 USC § 80a-

1 et seq., of one which may be created, managed, 

underwritten, or to which investment advice is rendered or 

the shares of which are sold by the Trustee. The Trustees 

may vote such shares in its discretion. 

Section 8. Express Powers of Trustee. Without in any way 

limiting the powers and discretions conferred upon the Trustee 

by the other provisions of this Agreement or by law, the 

Trustee is expressly authorized and empowered: 

A. To sell, exchange, convey, transfer or otherwise dispose 

of any property held by it, by private contract or at public 

auction. No person dealing with the Trustee will be bound to 

see to the application of the purchase money or to inquire 

into the validity or expediency of any such sale or other 

dispositions; 

B. To make, execute, acknowledge and deliver any and all 

documents of transfer and conveyance and any and all other 

instruments that may be necessary or appropriate to carry out 

the powers herein granted; 

C. To register any securities held in the fund in its own name 

or in the name of a nominee and to hold any security in 

bearer form or in book entry, or to combine certificates 

representing such securities with certificates of the same 

issue held by the Trustee in other fiduciary capacities, or to 

deposit or arrange for the deposit of such securities in a 

qualified central depository even though, when so deposited, 

such securities may be merged and held in bulk in the name 

of the nominee of such depository with other securities 

deposited therein by another person, or to deposit or arrange 

for the deposit of any securities issued by the United State 

government, or any agency or instrumentality thereof with a 

Federal Reserve Bank, but the books and records of the 

Trustee will at all times show that all such securities are part 

of the Fund; 

D. To deposit any cash in the fund in interest-bearing 

accounts maintained or savings certificates issued by the 

Trustee, in its separate corporate capacity, or in any other 

banking institution affiliated with the Trustee, to the extent 

insured by an agency of the Federal or State government; 

and 

E. To compromise or otherwise adjust all claims in favor of 

or against the Fund. 

Section 9. Taxes and Expenses. All taxes of any kind that may 

be assessed or levied against or in respect of the Fund and all 

brokerage commissions incurred by the Fund will be paid from 

the Fund. All other expenses incurred by the Trustee in 

connection with the administration of this Trust, including fees 

for legal services rendered to the Trustee, the compensation of 

the Trustee to the extent not paid directly by the Grantor, and 

all other proper charges and disbursements of the Trustee will 

be paid from the Fund. 

Section 10. Annual Valuation. The Trustee will annually, at 

the end of the month coincident with or preceding the 

anniversary date of establishment of the Fund, furnish the 

Grantor and to the director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, a statement confirming 

the value of the Trust. Any securities in the Fund will be valued 

at market value as of no more than 30 days prior to the date of 

the statement. The failure of the Grantor to object in writing to 

the Trustee within 90 days after the statement has been 

furnished to the Grantor and the director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia will 

constitute a conclusively binding assent by the Grantor, barring 

the Grantor from asserting any claim or liability against the 

Trustee with respect to matters disclosed in the statement. 

Section 11. Advice of Counsel. The Trustee may from time to 

time consult with counsel, who may be counsel to the Grantor, 

with respect to any question arising as to the construction of 

this Agreement or any action to be taken hereunder. The 

Trustee will be fully protected, to the extent permitted by law, 

in acting upon the advice of counsel. 

Section 12. Trustee Compensation. The Trustee will be 

entitled to reasonable compensation for its services as agreed 

upon in writing from time to time with the Grantor. 

Section 13. Successor Trustee. The Trustee may resign or the 

Grantor may replace the Trustee, but such resignation or 

replacement shall not be effective until the Grantor has 

appointed a successor trustee and this successor accepts the 

appointment. The successor trustee shall have the same powers 

and duties as those conferred upon the Trustee hereunder. 

Upon acceptance of the appointment by the successor trustee, 

the Trustee will assign, transfer and pay over to the successor 

trustee the funds and properties then constituting the Fund. If 

for any reason the grantor cannot or does not act in the event 



Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 5  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 23, 2023 

300 

of the resignation of the Trustee, the Trustee may apply to a 

court of competent jurisdiction for the appointment of a 

successor trustee or for instructions. The successor trustee and 

the date on which he assumes administration of the trust will 

be specified in writing and sent to the Grantor, the director of 

the Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia, and the present trustees by certified mail 10 days 

before such change becomes effective. Any expenses incurred 

by the Trustee as a result of any of the acts contemplated by 

this section will be paid as provided in Part IX. 

Section 14. Instructions to the Trustee. All orders, requests 

and instructions by the Grantor to the Trustee will be in 

writing, signed by such persons as are designated in the 

attached Exhibit A or such other designees as the grantor may 

designate by amendment to Exhibit A. The Trustee will be 

fully protected in acting without inquiry in accordance with the 

Grantor's orders, requests and instructions. All orders, 

requests, and instructions by the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, to the 

Trustee will be in writing, signed by the Director and the 

Trustee will act and will be fully protected in acting in 

accordance with such orders, requests and instructions. The 

Trustee will have the right to assume, in the absence of written 

notice to the contrary, that no event constituting a change or a 

termination of the authority of any person to act on behalf of 

the Grantor or the Commonwealth of Virginia's Department of 

Environmental Quality hereunder has occurred. The Trustee 

will have no duty to act in the absence of such orders, requests 

and instructions from the Grantor and/or the Commonwealth 

of Virginia's Department of Environmental Quality, except as 

provided for herein. 

Section 15. Notice of Nonpayment. The Trustee will notify 

the Grantor and the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, by 

certified mail within 10 days following the expiration of the 

30-day period after the anniversary of the establishment of the 

Trust, if no payment is received from the Grantor during that 

period. After the pay-in period is completed, the Trustee is not 

required to send a notice of nonpayment. 

Section 16. Amendment of Agreement. This Agreement may 

be amended by an instrument in writing executed by the 

Grantor, the Trustee, and the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, or by the 

Trustee and the Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, if the Grantor ceases to 

exist. 

Section 17. Irrevocability and Termination. Subject to the 

right of the parties to amend this Agreement as provided in 

Section 16, this Trust will be irrevocable and will continue 

until terminated at the written agreement of the Grantor, the 

Trustee, and the Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, or by the Trustee and the 

Director if the Grantor ceases to exist. Upon termination of the 

Trust, all remaining trust property, less final trust 

administration expenses, will be delivered to the Grantor. 

Section 18. Immunity and Indemnification. The Trustee will 

not incur personal liability of any nature in connection with any 

act or omission, made in good faith, in the administration of 

this Trust, or in carrying out any directions by the Grantor or 

the Director of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia, issued in accordance with this 

Agreement. The Trustee will be indemnified and saved 

harmless by the Grantor or from the Trust Fund, or both, from 

and against any personal liability to which the Trustee may be 

subjected by reason of any act or conduct in its official 

capacity, including all expenses reasonably incurred in its 

defense in the event the Grantor fails to provide such defense. 

Section 19. Choice of Law. This Agreement will be 

administered, construed and enforced according to the laws of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Section 20. Interpretation. As used in the Agreement, words 

in the singular include the plural and words in the plural 

include the singular. The descriptive headings for each section 

of this Agreement will not affect the interpretation of the legal 

efficacy of this Agreement. 

In witness whereof the parties have caused this Agreement to 

be executed by their respective officers duly authorized and 

their corporate seals to be hereunto affixed and attested as of 

the date first above written. The parties below certify that the 

wording of this Agreement is identical to the wording specified 

in 9VAC20-70-290 A of the Financial Assurance Regulations 

for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer and Treatment Facilities, as 

such regulations were constituted on the date shown 

immediately below. 

(Signature of Grantor) 

 

By: (Title) (Date) 

Attest: 

 

(Title) (Date) 

(Seal) 

 

(Signature of Trustee) 

 

By 

 

Attest: 

 

(Title) 

 

(Seal) (Date) 

Certification of Acknowledgment: 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

STATE OF __________ 

CITY/COUNTY OF __________ 
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On this date, before me personally came (owner or operator) 

to me known, who being by me duly sworn, did depose and say 

that she/he resides at (address), that she/he is (title) of 

(corporation), the corporation described in and which executed 

the above instrument; that she/he knows the seal of said 

corporation; that the seal affixed to such instrument is such 

corporate seal; that it was so affixed by order of the Board of 

Directors of said corporation, and that she/he signed her/his 

name thereto by like order. 

(Signature of Notary Public) 

B. Wording of surety bond guaranteeing performance or 

payment. 

(NOTE: instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses deleted.) 

PERFORMANCE OR PAYMENT BOND 

Date bond executed: __________ 

Effective date: __________ 

Principal: (legal name and business address) _____________ 

Type of organization: (insert "individual," "joint venture," 

"partnership," or "corporation") _____________ 

State of incorporation: __________ 

Surety: (name and business address) _____________ 

Name, address, permit number, if any, and (closure, post-

closure care, or corrective action) cost estimate for the  

facility: _____________ 

Penal sum of bond: $________ 

Surety's bond number: __________ 

Know all men by these present, That we, the Principal and 

Surety hereto are firmly bound to the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, 

(hereinafter called the Department) in the above penal sum for 

the payment of which we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, 

administrators, successors and assigns, jointly and severally; 

provided that, where the Surety(ies) are corporations acting as 

co-sureties, we, the Sureties, bind ourselves in such sum 

"jointly and severally" only for the purpose of allowing a joint 

action or actions against any or all of us, and for all other 

purposes each Surety binds itself, jointly and severally with the 

Principal, for the payment of each sum only as is set forth 

opposite the name of such Surety, but if no limit of liability is 

indicated, the limit of liability shall be the full amount of the 

penal sum. 

Whereas, said Principal is required to have a permit from the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia, in order to own or operate the (solid, regulated 

medical, yard) waste management facility identified above, 

and 

Whereas, said Principal is required to provide financial 

assurance for (closure, post-closure care, corrective action) of 

the facility as a condition of the permit or an order issued by 

the department, 

Now, therefore the conditions of this obligation are such that 

if the Principal shall faithfully perform (closure, post-closure 

care, corrective action), whenever required to do so, of the 

facility identified above in accordance with the order or the 

(closure, post-closure care, corrective action) plan submitted to 

receive said permit and other requirements of said permit as 

such plan and permit may be amended or renewed pursuant to 

all applicable laws, statutes, rules, and regulations, as such 

laws, statutes, rules, and regulations may be amended, 

Or, if the Principal shall faithfully perform (closure, post-

closure care, corrective action) following an order to begin 

(closure, post-closure care, corrective action) issued by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia's Department of Environmental 

Quality or by a court, or following a notice of termination of 

the permit, 

Or, if the Principal shall provide alternate financial assurance 

as specified in the Department's regulations and obtain the 

director's written approval of such assurance, within 90 days of 

the date notice of cancellation is received by the Director of the 

Department of Environmental Quality from the Surety, then 

this obligation will be null and void, otherwise it is to remain 

in full force and effect for the life of the management facility 

identified above. 

The Surety shall become liable on this bond obligation only 

when the Principal has failed to fulfill the conditions described 

above. Upon notification by the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, that the 

Principal has been found in violation of the requirements of the 

Department's regulations, the Surety must either perform 

(closure, post-closure care, corrective action) in accordance 

with the approved plan and other permit requirements or forfeit 

the (closure, post-closure care, corrective action) amount 

guaranteed for the facility to the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Upon notification by the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, that the 

Principal has been found in violation of an order to begin 

(closure, post-closure care, corrective action), the Surety must 

either perform (closure, post-closure care, corrective action) in 

accordance with the order or forfeit the amount of the (closure, 

post-closure care, corrective action) guaranteed for the facility 

to the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

The Surety hereby waives notification of amendments to the 

(closure, post-closure care, corrective action) plans, orders, 

permit, applicable laws, statutes, rules, and regulations and 

agrees that such amendments shall in no way alleviate its 

obligation on this bond. 

For purposes of this bond, (closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action) shall be deemed to have been completed 
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when the Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, determines that the 

conditions of the approved plan have been met. 

The liability of the Surety shall not be discharged by any 

payment or succession of payments hereunder, unless and until 

such payment or payments shall amount in the aggregate to the 

penal sum of the bond, but the obligation of the Surety hereunder 

shall not exceed the amount of said penal sum unless the Director 

of the Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia, should prevail in an action to enforce the terms of this 

bond. In this event, the Surety shall pay, in addition to the penal 

sum due under the terms of the bond, all interest accrued from the 

date the Director of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia, first ordered the Surety to perform. 

The accrued interest shall be calculated at the judgment rate of 

interest pursuant to § 6.2-302 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Surety may cancel the bond by sending written notice of 

cancellation to the owner or operator and to the Director of the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia, provided, however, that cancellation cannot occur (1) 

during the 120 days beginning on the date of receipt of the notice 

of cancellation by the director as shown on the signed return 

receipt; or (2) while an enforcement action is pending. 

The Principal may terminate this bond by sending written notice 

to the Surety, provided, however, that no such notice shall become 

effective until the Surety receives written authorization for 

termination of the bond by the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia. 

In witness whereof, the Principal and Surety have executed this 

Performance Bond and have affixed their seals on the date set forth 

above. 

The persons whose signatures appear below hereby certify 

that they are authorized to execute this surety bond on behalf 

of the Principal and Surety and I hereby certify that the 

wording of this surety bond is identical to the wording 

specified in 9VAC20-70-290 B of the Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment 

Facilities as such regulations were constituted on the date 

shown immediately below. 

Principal 

Signature(s): __________ 

Name(s) and Title(s): (typed)__________ 

Corporate Surety 

Name and Address: __________ 

State of Incorporation: __________ 

Liability Limit: $___ 

Signature(s): __________ 

Name(s) and Title(s): (typed)__________ 

Corporate Seal: 

C. Wording of irrevocable standby letter of credit. 

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses deleted.) 

IRREVOCABLE STANDBY LETTER OF CREDIT 

Director 

Department of Environmental Quality 

P.O. Box 1105 

Richmond, Virginia 23218 

Dear (Sir or Madam): 

We hereby establish our Irrevocable Letter of Credit No...... 

in your favor at the request and for the account of (owner's or 

operator's name and address) up to the aggregate amount of (in 

words) U.S. dollars $____, available upon presentation of 

1. Your sight draft, bearing reference to this letter of credit 

No ____ together with 

2. Your signed statement declaring that the amount of the 

draft is payable pursuant to regulations issued under the 

authority of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

The following amounts are included in the amount of this 

letter of credit: (Insert the facility permit number, if any, name 

and address, and the closure, post-closure care, corrective 

action cost estimate, or portions thereof, for which financial 

assurance is demonstrated by this letter of credit.) 

This letter of credit is effective as of (date) and will expire on 

(date at least one year later), but such expiration date will be 

automatically extended for a period of (at least one year) on 

(date) and on each successive expiration date, unless, at least 

120 days before the current expiration date, we notify you and 

(owner or operator's name) by certified mail that we decide not 

to extend the Letter of Credit beyond the current expiration 

date. In the event you are so notified, unused portion of the 

credit will be available upon presentation of your sight draft 

for 120 days after the date of receipt by you as shown on the 

signed return receipt or while a compliance procedure is 

pending, whichever is later. 

Whenever this letter of credit is drawn on under and in 

compliance with the terms of this credit, we will duly honor 

such draft upon presentation to us, and we will pay to you the 

amount of the draft promptly and directly. 

I hereby certify that I am authorized to execute this letter of 

credit on behalf of (issuing institution) and I hereby certify that 

the wording of this letter of credit is identical to the wording 

specified in 9VAC20-70-290 C of the Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment 

Facilities as such regulations were constituted on the date 

shown immediately below. 
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Attest: 

(Print name and title of official of issuing institution) (Date) 

(Signature) (Date) 

This credit is subject to (insert "the most recent edition of the 

Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits, 

published by the International Chamber of Commerce," of "the 

Uniform Commercial Code.") 

D. Assignment of certificate of deposit account. 

City _______________________ ____________, 20___ 

FOR VALUE RECEIVED, the undersigned assigns all right, 

title and interest to the Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, and its successors and 

assigns the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality the 

principal amount of the instrument, including all monies 

deposited now or in the future to that instrument, indicated 

below: 

() If checked here, this assignment includes all interest now 

and hereafter accrued. 

Certificate of Deposit Account No. 

_____________________ 

This assignment is given as security to the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality in the amount of 

_______________________ Dollars ($_____________). 

Continuing Assignment. This assignment shall continue to 

remain in effect for all subsequent terms of the automatically 

renewable certificate of deposit. 

Assignment of Document. The undersigned also assigns any 

certificate or other document evidencing ownership to the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

Additional Security. This assignment shall secure the payment of 

any financial obligation of the (name of owner/operator) to the 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality for ("closure" 

"post closure care" "corrective action") at the (facility name and 

permit number) located (physical address) 

Application of Funds. The undersigned agrees that all or any part 

of the funds of the indicated account or instrument may be applied 

to the payment of any and all financial assurance obligations of 

(name of owner/operator) to the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality for ("closure" "post closure care" 

"corrective action") at the (facility name and address). The 

undersigned authorizes the Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality to withdraw any principal amount on deposit in the 

indicated account or instrument including any interest, if 

indicated, and to apply it in the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality's discretion to fund ("closure" "post 

closure care" "corrective action") at the (facility name) or in the 

event of (owner or operator's) failure to comply with the Virginia 

Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, 

Transfer, and Treatment Facilities, 9VAC20-70. The undersigned 

agrees that the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 

may withdraw any principal and/or interest from the indicated 

account or instrument without demand or notice. (The 

undersigned) agrees to assume any and all loss of penalty due to 

federal regulations concerning the early withdrawal of funds. Any 

partial withdrawal of principal or interest shall not release this 

assignment. 

The party or parties to this Assignment set their hand or seals, or 

if corporate, has caused this assignment to be signed in its 

corporate name by its duly authorized officers and its seal to be 

affixed by authority of its Board of Directors the day and year 

above written.  

SEAL 

(Owner) 

 

(print owner's name) 

 

 

SEAL 

(Owner) 

 

(print owner's name) 

 

THE FOLLOWING SECTION IS TO BE COMPLETED BY 

THE BRANCH OR LENDING OFFICE: 

The signature(s) as shown above compare correctly with the 

name(s) as shown on record as owner(s) of the Certificate of 

Deposit indicated above. The above assignment has been 

properly recorded by placing a hold in the amount of $ 

_______________________ for the benefit of the Department 

of Environmental Quality. 

() If checked here, the accrued interest on the Certificate of 

Deposit indicated above has been maintained to capitalize 

versus being mailed by check or transferred to a deposit 

account. 

(Signature) 

 

(Date) 

(print name) 

  

(Title) 

  

E. Wording of certificate of insurance. 

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses deleted.) 

CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE 

Name and Address of Insurer (herein called the  

"Insurer"): __________ 

_____________ 

Name and Address of Insured (herein called the  

"Insured"): __________ 

_____________ 

_____________ 
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Facilities Covered: (List for each facility: Permit number (if 

applicable), name, address and the amount of insurance for 

closure, post-closure care, or corrective action. (These amounts 

for all facilities covered shall total the face amount shown 

below.)) 

Face Amount: $___ 

Policy Number: __________ 

Effective Date: __________ 

The Insurer hereby certifies that it has issued to the Insured 

the policy of insurance identified above to provide financial 

assurance for (insert "closure," "post-closure care," "corrective 

action") for the facilities identified above. The Insurer further 

warrants that such policy conforms in all respects with the 

requirements of 9VAC20-70-190 of the Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment 

Facilities ("Regulations") (9VAC20-70), as such regulations 

were constituted on the date shown immediately below. It is 

agreed that any provision of the policy inconsistent with such 

regulations is hereby amended to eliminate such inconsistency. 

Whenever requested by the Director, the Insurer agrees to 

furnish to the Director a duplicate original of the policy listed 

above, including all endorsements thereon. 

I hereby certify that the wording of this certificate is identical 

to the wording specified in 9VAC20-70-290 E of the Financial 

Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and 

Treatment Facilities as such regulations were constituted on 

the date shown immediately below. 

(Authorized signature for Insurer) 

(Name of person signing) 

(Title of person signing) 

Signature of witness or notary: 

(Date) 

F. Wording of letter from chief financial officer. 

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses removed.) 

Director 

Department of Environmental Quality 

P.O. Box 1105 

Richmond, Virginia 23218 

Dear (Sir, Madam): 

I am the chief financial officer of (name and address of firm). 

This letter is in support of this firm's use of the financial test to 

demonstrate financial assurance, as specified in 9VAC20-70-

200 of the Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste 

Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment Facilities (9VAC20-70) 

("Regulations"). 

(Fill out the following four paragraphs regarding solid waste, 

regulated medical waste, yard waste composting, hazardous 

waste, underground injection (regulated under the federal 

program in 40 CFR Part 144, or its equivalent in other states), 

petroleum underground storage (9VAC25-590), above ground 

storage facilities (9VAC25-640) and PCB storage (regulated 

under 40 CFR Part 761) facilities and associated cost estimates. 

If your firm has no facilities that belong in a particular 

paragraph, write "None" in the space indicated. For each 

facility, include its name, address, permit number, if any, and 

current closure, post-closure care, corrective action or any 

other environmental obligation cost estimates. Identify each 

cost estimate as to whether it is for closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action or other environmental obligation.) 

1. This firm is the owner or operator of the following 

facilities for which financial assurance is demonstrated 

through the corporate test specified in 9VAC20-70-200 or 

its equivalent in other applicable regulations. The current 

cost estimates covered by the test are shown for each facility: 

2. This firm guarantees, through the corporate guarantee 

specified in 9VAC20-70-220, the financial assurance for the 

following facilities owned or operated by subsidiaries of this 

firm. The current cost estimates so guaranteed are shown for 

each facility: 

3. This firm, as owner or operator or guarantor, is 

demonstrating financial assurance for the following facilities 

through the use of a financial test. The current cost estimates 

covered by such a test are shown for each facility: 

4. This firm is the owner or operator of the following waste 

management facilities for which financial assurance is not 

demonstrated through the financial test or any other financial 

assurance mechanism. The current cost estimates for the 

facilities which are not covered by such financial assurance 

are shown for each facility: 

This firm (insert "is required" or "is not required") to file a 

Form 10K with the Securities and Exchange Commission 

(SEC) for the latest fiscal year. 

The fiscal year of this firm ends on (month, day). The figures 

for the following items marked with an asterisk are derived 

from this firm's independently audited, year-end financial 

statements for the latest completed fiscal year, ended (date). 

1) Sum of current 

closure, post-closure 

care, corrective 

action or other 

environmental 

obligations cost 

estimates (total of all 

cost estimates shown 

in the four 

paragraphs above.) 

 

$_______________ 
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2) Tangible net 

worth* 

 

$_______________ 

3) Total assets 

located in the United 

States* 

 

$_______________ 

 

YES NO 

 

Line 2 exceeds line 1 

by at least $10 

million? 

____ ____ 

 

Line 3 exceeds line 1 

by at least $10 

million? 

____ ____ 

 

(Fill in Alternative I if the criteria of 9VAC20-70-200 1 a (1) 

are used. Fill in Alternative II if the criteria of 9VAC20-70-200 

1 a (2) are used. Fill in Alternative III if the criteria of 

9VAC20-70-200 1 a (3) are used.) 

ALTERNATIVE I 

Current bond rating of this firm's senior unsubordinated debt 

and name of rating service 

Date of issuance of bond 

Date of maturity of bond 

ALTERNATIVE II 

4) Total liabilities* (if any portion of 

the closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action or other 

environmental obligations cost 

estimates is included in total 

liabilities, you may deduct the 

amount of that portion from this line 

and add that amount to line 5.) $_______________ 

5) Net worth* $_______________ 

Is line 4 divided by line 

5 less than 1.5? 
YES NO  

 

ALTERNATIVE III 

6) Total liabilities* 

 

$_______________ 

7) The sum of net 

income plus 

depreciation, depletion, 

and amortization minus 

$10 million* 

 

$_______________ 

Is line 7 divided by line 

6 less than 0.1? 

YES NO 

 

I hereby certify that the wording of this letter is identical to 

the wording in 9VAC20-70-290 F of the Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment 

Facilities as such regulations were constituted on the date 

shown immediately below. 

(Signature) 

(Name) 

(Title) 

(Date) 

G. Wording of the local government letter from chief 

financial officer. 

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses deleted.) 

LETTER FROM CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER 

I am the chief financial officer of (insert: name and address 

of local government owner or operator, or guarantor). This 

letter is in support of the use of the financial test to demonstrate 

financial responsibility for ("closure care" "post-closure care" 

"corrective action costs") arising from operating a solid waste 

management facility. 

The following facilities are assured by this financial test: (List 

for each facility: the name and address of the facility, the 

permit number, the closure, post-closure and/or corrective 

action costs, whichever applicable, for each facility covered by 

this instrument). 

This owner's or operator's financial statements were prepared 

in conformity with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles 

for governments and have been audited by ("an independent 

certified public accountant" "Auditor of Public Accounts"). 

The owner or operator has not received an adverse opinion or 

a disclaimer of opinion from ("an independent certified public 

accountant" "Auditor of Public Accounts") on its financial 

statements for the latest completed fiscal year. 

This owner or operator is not currently in default on any 

outstanding general obligation bond. Any outstanding issues of 

general obligation, if rated, have a Moody's rating of Aaa, Aa, 

A, or Baa or a Standard and Poor's rating of AAA, AA, A or 

BBB; if rated by both firms, the bonds have a Moody's rating 

of Aaa, Aa, A or Baa and a Standard and Poor's rating of AAA, 

AA, A, or BBB. 

The fiscal year of this owner or operator ends on (month, 

day). The figures for the following items marked with the 

asterisk are derived from this owner's or operator's 

independently audited, year-end financial statements for the 

latest completed fiscal year ended (date). 

(Please complete Alternative I or Alternative II.) 
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(Fill in Alternative I if the criteria in 9VAC20-70-210 1 a (1) 

are used. Fill in Alternative II if the criteria of 9VAC20-70-210 

1 a (2) are used.) 

ALTERNATIVE I - BOND RATING TEST 

The details of the issue date, maturity, outstanding amount, 

bond rating, and bond rating agency of all outstanding general 

obligation bond issues that are being used by (name of local 

government owner or operator, or guarantor) to demonstrate 

financial responsibility are as follows: (complete table): 

Issue 

Date 

Maturity 

Date 

Outstanding 

Amount 

Bond 

Rating 

Rating 

Agency 

_______

_ 

_______

_ 

__________

_ 

_____

_ 

__________

__ 

_______

_ 

_______

_ 

__________

_ 

_____

_ 

__________

__ 

_______

_ 

_______

_ 

__________

_ 

_____

_ 

__________

__ 

_______

_ 

_______

_ 

__________

_ 

_____

_ 

__________

__ 

_______

_ 

_______

_ 

__________

_ 

_____

_ 

__________

__ 

_______

_ 

_______

_ 

__________

_ 

_____

_ 

__________

__ 

Any outstanding issues of general obligation bonds, if rated, 

have a Moody's rating of Aaa, Aa, A, or Baa or a Standard and 

Poor's rating of AAA, AA, A or BBB; if rated by both firms, 

the bonds have a Moody's rating of Aaa, Aa, A or Baa and a 

Standard and Poor's rating of AAA, AA, A or BBB. 

1) Sum of current closure, post-

closure and corrective action 

cost estimates (total of all cost 

estimates listed above) $_______________ 

*2) Operating Deficit 
  

(a) latest completed fiscal 

year (insert year) 

$_______________ 

 

(b) previous fiscal year (insert 

year) 

$_______________ 

*3) Total Revenue 
  

(a) latest completed fiscal 

year (insert year) 

$_______________ 

 

(b) previous fiscal year (insert 

year) 

$_______________ 

4) Other self-insured 

environmental costs 
  

(a) Amount of aggregate 

underground injection control 

systems financial assurance 

insured by a financial test 

under 40 CFR 144.62 $_______________ 
 

(b) Amount of annual 

underground storage tank 

aggregate coverage insured by 

a financial test under 40 CFR 

Part 280 and 9VAC25-590 $_______________ 
 

(c) Amount of aggregate costs 

associated with PCB storage 

facilities insured by a 

financial test under 40 CFR 

Part 761 $_______________ 
 

(d) Amount of annual 

aggregate hazardous waste 

financial assurance insured by 

a financial test under 40 CFR 

Parts 264 and 265 and 

9VAC20-60 $_______________ 
 

(e) Total of lines 4(a) through 

4(d) 

$_______________ 

 

YES NO  

5) Is (line 2a / line 

3a) < 0.05? 

____ ____  

6) Is (line 2b / line 

3b) < 0.05? 

____ ____  

7) Is (line 1 + line 

4e) <= (line 3a x 

0.43)? 

____ ____ 
 

ALTERNATIVE II - FINANCIAL RATIO TEST 

1) Sum of current closure, post-

closure and corrective action 

cost estimates $_______________ 

*2) Operating Deficit 
  

(a) latest completed fiscal 

year (insert year) 

$_______________ 

 

(b) previous fiscal year (insert 

year) 

$_______________ 
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*3) Total Revenue 
  

(a) latest completed fiscal 

year (insert year) 

$_______________ 

 

(b) previous fiscal year (insert 

year) 

$_______________ 

4) Other self-insured 

environmental costs 
  

(a) Amount of aggregate 

underground injection control 

systems financial assurance 

insured by a financial test 

under 40 CFR 144.62 $_______________ 
 

(b) Amount of annual 

underground storage tank 

aggregate coverage insured by 

a financial test under 40 CFR 

Part 280 and 9VAC25-590 $_______________ 
 

(c) Amount of aggregate costs 

associated with PCB storage 

facilities insured by a 

financial test under 40 CFR 

Part 761 $_______________ 
 

(d) Amount of annual 

aggregate hazardous waste 

financial assurance insured by 

a financial test under 40 CFR 

Parts 264 and 265 and 

9VAC20-60 $_______________ 
 

(e) Total of lines 4(a) through 

4(d) 

$_______________ 

*5) Cash plus marketable 

securities $_______________ 

*6) Total Expenditures $_______________ 

*7) Annual Debt Service $_______________ 
 

YES NO  

8) Is (line 2a / line 

3a) < 0.05? 

____ ____  

9) Is (line 2b / line 

3b) < 0.05? 

____ ____  

10) Is (line 1 + line 

4e) <= (line 3a x 

0.43)? 

____ ____ 
 

11) Is (line 5 / line 6) 

>= 0.05? 

____ ____  

I hereby certify that the wording of this letter is identical to 

the wording in 9VAC20-70-290 G of the Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment 

Facilities as such regulations were constituted on the date 

shown immediately below. 

(Signature) 

(Name of person signing) 

(Title of person signing) 

(Date) 

H. Certification of funding. 

CERTIFICATION OF FUNDING 

I certify the following information details the current plan for 

funding closure and post closure at the solid waste 

management facilities listed below. 

Facility Permit # 

 

Source for funding closure and 

post closure 

Name of Locality or Corporation: 

_______________________________________ 

Signature 

 

Printed Name 

 

Date 

Title 

    

I. Wording of corporate guarantee. 

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses removed.) 

CORPORATE GUARANTEE 

Guarantee made this (date) by (name of guaranteeing entity), 

a business corporation organized under the laws of the state of 

(insert name of state), herein referred to as guarantor. This 

guarantee is made on behalf of the (owner or operator) of 

(business address), which is (one of the following: "our 

subsidiary"; "a subsidiary of (name and address of common 

parent corporation) of which guarantor is a subsidiary"; or "an 

entity with which the guarantor has a substantial business 

relationship, as defined in Part I of the Virginia Financial 

Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and 

Treatment Facilities (9VAC20-70)") to the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality ("Department"), 

obligee, on behalf of our subsidiary (owner or operator) of 

(business address). 

Recitals 

1. Guarantor meets or exceeds the financial test criteria in 

9VAC20-70-200 and agrees to comply with the reporting 

requirements for guarantors as specified in 9VAC20-70-220 

of the Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste 

Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment Facilities 

("Regulations"). 
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2. (Owner or operator) owns or operates the following (solid, 

regulated medical, yard) waste management facility(ies) 

covered by this guarantee: (List for each facility: name, 

address, and permit number, if any. Indicate for each 

whether guarantee is for closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action or other environmental obligations.) 

3. "Closure plans", "post-closure care plans" and "corrective 

action plans" as used below refer to the plans maintained as 

required by the Solid Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-81), or the Regulated Medical Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-120) (9VAC20-121). 

4. For value received from (owner or operator), guarantor 

guarantees to the Department that in the event that (owner or 

operator) fails to perform (insert "closure," "post-closure 

care," or "corrective action") of the above facility(ies) in 

accordance with the closure or post-closure care plans and 

other (requirements of the) permit or (the order) whenever 

required to do so, the guarantor shall do so or establish a trust 

fund as specified in 9VAC20-70-140 in the name of (owner 

or operator) in the amount of the current cost estimates. 

5. Guarantor agrees that if, at the end of any fiscal year 

before termination of this guarantee, the guarantor fails to 

meet the financial test criteria, guarantor shall send within 

90 days, by certified mail, notice to the director and to 

(owner or operator) that he intends to provide alternate 

financial assurance as specified in Article 4 of Part III of the 

Regulations, in the name of (owner or operator). Within 120 

days after the end of such fiscal year, the guarantor shall 

establish such financial assurance unless (owner or operator) 

has done so. 

6. The guarantor agrees to notify the director by certified 

mail, of a voluntary or involuntary proceeding under Title 

11 (Bankruptcy), U.S. Code, naming guarantor as debtor, 

within 10 days after commencement of the proceeding. 

7. Guarantor agrees that within 30 days after being notified 

by the director of a determination that guarantor no longer 

meets the financial test criteria or that he is disallowed from 

continuing as a guarantor of closure, post-closure care, or 

corrective action, he shall establish alternate financial 

assurance as specified in Article 4 of Part III of the 

Regulations, in the name of (owner or operator) unless 

(owner or operator) has done so. 

8. Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee 

notwithstanding any or all of the following: amendment or 

modification of the closure, post-closure or corrective action 

plan, amendment or modification of the permit, amendment 

or modification of the order, the extension or reduction of 

the time of performance of closure, post-closure, or 

corrective action or any other modification or alteration of 

an obligation of the owner or operator pursuant to the (Solid 

Waste Management Regulations or Regulated Medical 

Waste Management Regulations or § 10.1-1454.1 of the 

Code of Virginia). 

9. Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee for 

so long as (owner or operator) shall comply with the 

applicable financial assurance requirements of Article 4 of 

Part III of the Regulations for the above-listed facilities, 

except as provided in paragraph 10 of this agreement. 

10. (Insert the following language if the guarantor is (a) a 

direct or higher-tier corporate parent, or (b) a firm whose 

parent corporation is also the parent corporation of the owner 

or operator:) Guarantor may terminate this guarantee by 

sending notice by certified mail to the Director of the 

Department of Environmental Quality and to the (owner or 

operator), provided that this guarantee may not be 

terminated unless and until (the owner or operator) obtains 

and the director approves, alternate (closure, post-closure, 

corrective action) coverage complying with the 

requirements of 9VAC20-70. (Insert the following language 

if the guarantor is a firm qualifying as a guarantor due to its 

"substantial business relationship" with the owner or 

operator:) Guarantor may terminate this guarantee 120 days 

following the receipt of notification, through certified mail, 

by the director and by (the owner or operator). 

11. Guarantor agrees that if (owner or operator) fails to 

provide alternate financial assurance as specified in Article 

4 of Part III of the Regulations, and obtain written approval 

of such assurance from the director within 90 days after a 

notice of cancellation by the guarantor is received by the 

director from guarantor, guarantor shall provide such 

alternate financial assurance in the name of (owner or 

operator). 

12. Guarantor expressly waives notice of acceptance of this 

guarantee by the Department or by (owner or operator). 

Guarantor also expressly waives notice of amendments or 

modifications of the closure and/or post-closure plan and of 

amendments or modifications of the facility permit(s). 

I hereby certify that the wording of this guarantee is identical 

to the wording in 9VAC20-70-290 I of the Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment 

Facilities as such regulations were constituted on the date 

shown immediately below. 

(Name of guarantor) 

Effective date: __________ 

(Authorized signature for guarantor) __________ 

(Name of person signing) __________ 

(Title of person signing) __________ 

Signature of witness or notary: __________ 

J. Wording of local government guarantee. 
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(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses removed.) 

LOCAL GOVERNMENT GUARANTEE 

Guarantee made this (date) by (name of guaranteeing entity), 

a local government created under the laws of the state of 

Virginia, herein referred to as guarantor. This guarantee is 

made on behalf of the (owner or operator) of (address), to the 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 

("Department"), obligee. 

Recitals 

1. Guarantor meets or exceeds the financial test criteria in 

9VAC20-70-210 and agrees to comply with the reporting 

requirements for guarantors as specified in 9VAC20-70-230 

of the Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste 

Disposal, Treatment and Transfer Facilities ("Regulations"). 

2. (Owner or operator) owns or operates the following (solid, 

regulated medical, yard) waste management facility(ies) 

covered by this guarantee: (List for each facility: name, 

address, and permit number, if any. Indicate for each 

whether guarantee is for closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action or other environmental obligations.) 

3. "Closure plans" and "post-closure care plans" as used 

below refer to the plans maintained as required by the Solid 

Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-81). 

4. For value received from (owner or operator), guarantor 

guarantees to the Department that in the event that (owner or 

operator) fails to perform (insert "closure," "post-closure 

care," or "corrective action") of the above facility(ies) in 

accordance with the closure or post-closure care plans and 

other (requirements of the) permit or (the order) whenever 

required to do so, the guarantor shall do so or establish a trust 

fund as specified in 9VAC20-70-150 in the name of (owner 

or operator) in the amount of the current cost estimates. 

5. Guarantor agrees that if, at the end of any fiscal year 

before termination of this guarantee, the guarantor fails to 

meet the financial test criteria, guarantor shall send within 

90 days, by certified mail, notice to the director and to 

(owner or operator) that he intends to provide alternate 

financial assurance as specified in Article 4 of Part III of the 

Regulations, in the name of (owner or operator). Within 120 

days after the end of such fiscal year, the guarantor shall 

establish such financial assurance unless (owner or operator) 

has done so. 

6. The guarantor agrees to notify the director by certified 

mail, of a voluntary or involuntary proceeding under Title 

11 (bankruptcy), U.S. Code, naming guarantor as debtor, 

within 10 days after commencement of the proceeding. 

7. Guarantor agrees that within 30 days after being notified 

by the director of a determination that guarantor no longer 

meets the financial test criteria or that he is disallowed from 

continuing as a guarantor of closure, post-closure care, or 

corrective action, he shall establish alternate financial 

assurance as specified in Article 4 of Part III of the 

Regulations in the name of (owner or operator) unless 

(owner or operator) has done so. 

8. Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee 

notwithstanding any or all of the following: amendment or 

modification of the closure or post-closure plan, amendment or 

modification of the closure or post-closure plan, amendment or 

modification of the permit, amendment or modification of the 

order, the extension or reduction of the time of performance of 

the closure or post-closure, or any other modification or 

alteration of an obligation of the owner or operator pursuant to 

the Virginia (Solid Waste Management or Regulated Medical 

Waste Management) Regulations. 

9. Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee for so 

long as (owner or operator) shall comply with the applicable 

financial assurance requirements of Article 4 of Part III of the 

Regulations for the above-listed facilities, except as provided in 

paragraph 10 of this agreement. 

10. Guarantor may terminate this guarantee by sending notice 

by certified mail to the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality and to the (owner or operator), provided 

that this guarantee may not be terminated unless and until (the 

owner or operator) obtains and the director approves, alternate 

(closure, post-closure, corrective action,) coverage complying 

with the requirements of 9VAC20-70. 

11. Guarantor agrees that if (owner or operator) fails to provide 

alternate financial assurance as specified in Article 4 of Part III 

of the Regulations, and obtain written approval of such 

assurance from the director with 90 days after a notice of 

cancellation by the guarantor is received by the director from 

guarantor, guarantor shall provide such alternate financial 

assurance in the name of (owner or operator). 

12. Guarantor expressly waives notice of acceptance of this 

guarantee by the Department or by (owner or operator). 

Guarantor also expressly waives notice of amendments or 

modifications of the closure and/or post-closure plan and of 

amendments or modifications of the facility permit(s). 

I hereby certify that the wording of this guarantee is identical 

to the wording specified in 9VAC20-70-290 J of the Financial 

Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer and 

Treatment Facilities as such regulations were constituted on 

the date shown immediately below. 

(Name of guarantor) __________ 

Effective date: __________ 

(Authorized signature for guarantor) __________ 

(Name of person signing) __________ 

(Title of person signing) __________ 

Signature of witness or notary: __________ 
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9VAC20-90-10. Definitions. 

Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of 

Virginia defines words and terms that supplement those in this 

chapter. The Solid Waste Management Regulations, 9VAC20-

81, and the Regulated Medical Waste Management 

Regulations, 9VAC20-120 9VAC20-121, define additional 

words and terms that supplement those in the statute and this 

chapter. When the statute, as cited, and the solid waste 

management regulations, as cited, define a word or term 

differently, the definition of the statute is controlling. The 

following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have 

the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Director" means the director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Operating" means actively managing solid waste, or 

conducting closure or post closure activities. A facility will 

begin operating on the date of the approval of the certificate to 

operate (CTO) or the approval of the permit-by-rule (PBR) as 

applicable. The facility will no longer be considered operating 

upon certification of completion of closure activities or in the 

case of a disposal facility upon release from post closure 

responsibility. 

"Permit-by-rule" means provisions of the chapter stating that 

a facility or activity is deemed to have a permit if it meets the 

requirements of the provision. 

"Permitted facility" means a facility holding the written 

permission of the director to conduct solid waste management 

activities; this includes facilities operating under permit-by-

rule. 

9VAC20-90-50. Applicability of regulations. 

A. These regulations apply to all persons operating or 

proposing to operate a permitted facility for the management 

of solid waste under the provisions of: 

1. Part V (9VAC20-81-400 through 9VAC20-81-600) of the 

Solid Waste Management Regulations; 

2. Part X (9VAC20-120-680 through 9VAC20-120-830) V 

(9VAC20-121-300 through 9VAC20-121-340) of the 

Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations; or 

3. Part V (9VAC20-85-170 through 9VAC20-85-180) of the 

Coal Combustion Byproduct Regulations. 

The fees shall be assessed in accordance with Part III 

(9VAC20-90-70 through 9VAC20-90-120) of this chapter. 

B. When the director finds it necessary to amend or modify 

any permit in accordance with § 10.1-1408.1 E or § 10.1-1409 

of the Code of Virginia, 9VAC20-81-600 of the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations or Part X (9VAC20-120-680 

through 9VAC20-120-830) V (9VAC20-121-300 through 

9VAC20-121-340) of the Regulated Medical Waste 

Management Regulations, as applicable, the holder of that 

permit shall be assessed a fee in accordance with 9VAC20-90-

90 even if the director has initiated the amendment or 

modification action. 

C. When the director finds it necessary to revoke and reissue 

any permit in accordance with § 10.1-1408.1 E or § 10.1-1409 

of the Code of Virginia, 9VAC20-81-570 B 1 of the Solid 

Waste Management Regulations, or Part X (9VAC20-120-680 

through 9VAC20-120-830) V (9VAC20-121-300 through 

9VAC20-121-340) of the Regulated Medical Waste 

Management Regulations, as applicable, the holder of that 

permit shall be assessed a fee in accordance with 9VAC20-90-

80. 

D. If the director finds it necessary either to revoke and 

reissue a permit in accordance with § 10.1-1408.1 E or § 10.1-

1409 of the Code of Virginia, or 9VAC20-81-570 B 2 of the 

Solid Waste Management Regulations, the holder of that 

permit shall be assessed a fee in accordance with 9VAC20-90-

100. 

9VAC20-90-70. General. 

A. Each application for a new permit, each application for a 

modification or amendment to a permit, and each revocation 

and issuance of a permit is a separate action and shall be 

assessed a separate fee. The amount of such fees is determined 

on the basis of this Part III (9VAC20-90-70 through 9VAC20-

90-120). 

B. Right of entry, inspection and audit. Upon presentation of 

appropriate credentials and upon consent of the owner or 

operator of the facility, the director of the Virginia Department 

of Environmental Quality or his designee, in addition to the 

routine inspection of the facility provided in 9VAC20-81-50 or 

9VAC20-120-740 9VAC20-121-320 shall have the right to 

enter, inspect, and audit the records of the facility consistent 

with § 10.1-1456 of the Code of Virginia. The director may 

designate rights of entry, inspection, and audit to any 

department personnel or contractors to the department. The 

owner of operator of the facility shall provide complete and 

timely access during business hours to all equipment and 

facility records. The director shall have the right to require an 

audit of the facility's records related to the payment of annual 

fees. 

C. In addition to permit action fees listed in Tables 3.1-1, 3.1-

2, and 3.1-3 of 9VAC20-90-120, the applicant for a permit 

action shall arrange for the newspaper publication and radio 

broadcast and bear the cost of the publication and broadcast if 

required. The department shall send notification to the 

applicant that the publication and broadcast are required, and 

the notification shall include the text of the notice, dates of 

publication and broadcast, and the acceptable newspapers and 

radio stations wherein the notice may be published. The 
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department shall also require the petitioner for a variance from 

any regulation to arrange for any newspaper publication and 

radio broadcast required under the Solid Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-81) or the Regulated Medical Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-120) (9VAC20-121) and 

to bear the cost of such publication and broadcast. The 

department may arrange for the newspaper publication and 

radio broadcast listed in this subsection and require the 

applicant to remit the cost of such publication and broadcast. 

9VAC20-90-90. Applications for permit actions, 

amendment or modification. 

A. General. Facility permits issued by the director are 

typically based on the modular concept to assure completeness 

and consistency of the documents. Each facility permit may 

consist of several modules dealing with the requirements 

addressing separate topics pertinent to the specific facility. The 

modules used in the solid and regulated medical waste program 

are: 

1. The general permit conditions module (Module I) that 

contains the general conditions required for all solid or 

regulated medical waste facility permits and includes 

documents to be submitted prior to operation, documents 

that must be maintained at the facility, and a compliance 

schedule, if any. 

2. The general facility requirements module (Module II) that 

contains the listing of wastes that the facility may accept or 

a list of wastes prohibited from acceptance, an analysis plan, 

security and site access information, inspection 

requirements, personnel training requirements, special 

standards based on particular location, a preparedness and 

prevention plan, a contingency plan, closure and post-

closure cost estimates, and facility-specific financial 

assurance requirements. 

3. The separate facility modules, one for each of the different 

type of facility provided for in Parts III and IV of the Solid 

Waste Management Regulations, containing design 

requirements (e.g., liners, leachate management systems, 

aeration systems, wastewater collection systems), specific 

operating requirements (e.g., compaction and cover 

requirements, equipment, monitoring), and recordkeeping 

requirements. The following modules have been developed: 

a. Module III—Sanitary landfills; 

b. Module IV—Construction/demolition/debris landfill; 

c. Module V—Industrial landfill; 

d. Module VI—Compost facility; 

e. Module VII—Transfer station; 

f. Module VIII—Materials recovery facility; and 

g. Module IX—Energy recovery and incineration facility. 

4. All gas management plans submitted for review (Module 

III, IV, or V) will be assessed a fee as listed in Table 3.1-2 

of 9VAC20-90-120. 

5. The groundwater monitoring modules contain 

requirements for well location, installation, and 

construction, listing of monitoring parameters and 

constituents, sampling and analysis procedures, statistical 

procedures, data evaluation, recordkeeping and reporting, 

and special requirements when significant increases occur in 

monitoring parameters. Module X is designed specifically 

for Phase I or detection monitoring and Module XI for Phase 

II or assessment monitoring. If groundwater protection 

standards are being established for facilities without 

Modules X and XI, then both Modules X and XI will be 

issued for the major modification fee. However, for facilities 

with Module X already included in their permit, the major 

modification fee will be assessed to add Module XI. 

6. The closure module (Module XII), included in all permits, 

contains requirements for actions during the active life of the 

facility (updating plan), during the closure process, and after 

the closure has been performed. Facilities required to submit 

a closure plan in accordance with §§ 10.1-1410.1 and 10.1-

1410.2 A 1 of the Code of Virginia will be assessed a fee for 

Module XII as listed in Table 3.1-2 of 9VAC20-90-120. 

7. The post-closure module (Module XIII), included in solid 

waste disposal facility permits, contains requirements during 

the post-closure period and for periodic updating of the post-

closure plan. Facilities required to submit a post-closure plan 

in accordance with § 10.1-1410.2 of the Code of Virginia 

will be assessed a fee for Module XIII as listed in Table 3.1-

2 of 9VAC20-90-120. 

8. The schedule for compliance for corrective action 

(Module XIV) is used when facility groundwater monitoring 

results indicate groundwater protection standards have been 

statistically exceeded. 

9. The leachate handling module (Module XV), included in 

solid waste disposal facility permits, contains requirements 

for storage, treatment and disposal of leachate generated by 

the facility. 

10. The regulated medical waste storage or transfer module 

(Module XVI) and regulated medical waste treatment 

module (Module XVII) have been developed for facilities 

storing and/or, transferring, or treating regulated medical 

waste. 

B. Applicants for a modification or amendment of an existing 

permit will be assessed a fee associated with only those 

modules that will require changes. In situations where the 

modular concept is not employed (for example, changes 

incorporated directly into a nonmodular permit), fees will be 

assessed as appropriate for the requirements stipulated for 

modules in subsection A of this section had they been used. 

C. Applicants for a modification or amendment or subject to 

revocation and reissuance of an existing permit will be 

assessed a separate public participation fee whenever the 

modification or amendment requires a public hearing. 
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D. The fee schedules for major permit actions, amendments, 

or modifications are shown in Table 3.1-2 of 9VAC20-90-120. 

E. In no case will the fee for a modification, amendment or 

revocation and reissuance of a permit be higher than that for a 

new facility of the same type. 

9VAC20-90-110. Review of variance requests. 

Applicants requesting variances from the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-81), the Regulated 

Medical Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-120) 

(9VAC20-121), or the Coal Combustion Byproduct 

Regulations (9VAC20-85) will be assessed a fee as shown in 

Table 3.1-3 of 9VAC20-90-120. All variance requests are 

subject to base fees. Additional fees are listed for reviews of 

specific types of variance requests and are to be submitted in 

addition to base fees. Variance requests are not subject to 

public participation fees listed in Table 3.1-2 of 9VAC20-90-

120. 

9VAC20-90-120. Permit application fee schedules. 

TABLE 3.1–1. NEW OR INITIAL ISSUANCE OR 

ACTION. 

TYPE OF FACILITY FEE 

All landfills: 
 

Part A application $4,180 

Part B application $18,680 

Incineration/Energy Recovery Facility $5,880 

Transfer Station, Materials Recovery Facility, 

Regulated Medical Waste Storage or Transfer 

Facility, or Regulated Medical Waste Treatment 

Facility $4,310 

Compost Facility 
 

Facilities Processing Category I Waste $6,850 

Facilities Processing Waste Categories I, II, or 

III, or Categories III and Lower 
$10,550 

Facilities Processing Waste Categories I, II, III, 

or IV, or Categories IV and Lower 
$12,670 

Experimental Solid Waste Facility $2,090 

Permit-by-rule Initial Review and Confirmation $390 

Emergency Permit $2,310 

TABLE 3.1-2. MAJOR PERMIT ACTIONS, 

AMENDMENTS, OR MODIFICATIONS. 

TYPE OF PERMIT MODULE FEE 

Landfill Part A $4,180 

General - Module I $390 

Facility - Module II $1,310 

Landfill - Module III, IV, or V $7,050 

Design plan review $910 

Liner design review $1,960 

Leachate system review $1,310 

Gas management plan review $1,700 

Drainage plan review $910 

Cover design review $1,830 

Equipment $390 

Compost facility - Module VI $3,660 

Design plan review $650 

Liner design review $1,310 

Leachate system review $910 

Drainage plan review $650 

Equipment $390 

Transfer station - Module VII $1,180 

Material recovery facility - Module VIII $1,570 

Waste supply analysis $650 

Waste management areas $520 

Wastewater management areas $390 

Incinerator/Energy recovery facility - Module 

IX $3,000 

Waste and residue storage $910 

Operational requirements $1,570 

Waste control procedures $520 

Groundwater monitoring - Module X or XI $3,260 

Well placement $1,310 

Materials and specifications $390 

Sampling plan $1,570 

Closure - Module XII $390 
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Post-closure - Module XIII $390 

Corrective action - Module XIV $3,000 

Leachate handling Module XV $1,310 

Regulated medical waste storage or transfer 

facility - Module XVI $390 

Regulated medical waste treatment facility - 

Module XVII $390 

Permit-by-rule Modification Review and 

Confirmation $390 

Public participation (does not include costs of 

newspaper advertisements or radio broadcasts) $1,040 

TABLE 3.1-3. VARIANCE REQUESTS. 

TYPE OF VARIANCE FEE 

Base fee for all variances $390 

Supplemental fees based on variance type 
 

Exemption from classification as a solid 

waste $520 

Variance to permitting requirements 
 

Siting requirements $520 

Facility design (other than alternate liner 

design) $520 

Operational requirements -- 

Groundwater monitoring (other than 

groundwater protection standards and 

location of monitoring system) $920 

Closure requirements -- 

Post-closure requirements -- 

Groundwater Protection Standards -- 

Alternate liner system design $1,570 

Location of groundwater monitoring system $920 

9VAC20-130-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board. 

"Commercial waste" means all solid waste generated by 

establishments engaged in business operations other than 

manufacturing or construction. This category includes solid 

waste resulting from the operation of stores, markets, office 

buildings, restaurants, and shopping centers. 

"Compost" means a stabilized organic product produced by a 

controlled aerobic decomposition process in such a manner 

that the product can be handled, stored, or applied to the land 

without adversely affecting public health or the environment. 

"Composting" means the manipulation of the natural process 

of decomposition of organic materials to increase the rate of 

decomposition. 

"Construction waste" means solid waste that is produced or 

generated during construction, remodeling, or repair of 

pavements, houses, commercial buildings, and other 

structures. Construction wastes include lumber, wire, 

sheetrock, broken brick, shingles, glass, pipes, concrete, 

paving materials, and metal and plastics if the metal or plastics 

are a part of the materials of construction or empty containers 

for such materials. Paints, coatings, solvents, asbestos-

containing material, any liquid, compressed gases, or semi-

liquids and garbage are not construction wastes. 

"Debris waste" means solid waste resulting from land 

clearing operations. Debris wastes include stumps, wood, 

brush, leaves, soil, and road spoils. 

"Demolition waste" means solid waste produced by the 

destruction of structures and their foundations and includes the 

same materials as construction wastes. 

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality or his designee. For purposes of 

submissions to the director as specified in the Waste 

Management Act, submissions may be made to the department. 

"Disposal" means the discharge, deposit, injection, dumping, 

spilling, leaking or placing of any solid waste into or on any 

land or water so that such solid waste or any constituent of it 

may enter the environment or be emitted into the air or 

discharged into any waters. 

"Facility" means solid waste management facility unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise. 

"Hazardous waste" means a "hazardous waste" as defined by 

the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations, 

9VAC20-60. 

"Incineration" means the controlled combustion of solid 

waste for disposal. 

"Industrial waste" means any solid waste generated by 

manufacturing or industrial process that is not a regulated 

hazardous waste. Such waste may include waste resulting from 

the following manufacturing processes: electric power 

generation; fertilizer/agricultural chemicals; food and related 

products/byproducts; inorganic chemicals; iron and steel 

manufacturing; leather and leather products; nonferrous metals 

manufacturing/foundries; organic chemicals; plastics and 

resins manufacturing; pulp and paper industry; rubber and 
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miscellaneous plastic products; stone, glass, clay, and concrete 

products; textile manufacturing; transportation equipment; and 

water treatment. This term does not include mining waste or 

oil and gas waste. 

"Institutional waste" means all solid waste emanating from 

institutions such as, but not limited to, hospitals, nursing 

homes, orphanages, and public or private schools. It can 

include regulated medical waste from health care facilities and 

research facilities that must be managed as a regulated medical 

waste. 

"Integrated waste management plan" means a governmental 

plan that considers all elements of waste management during 

generation, collection, transportation, treatment, storage, 

disposal, and litter control and selects the appropriate methods 

of providing necessary control and services for effective and 

efficient management of all wastes. An "integrated waste 

management plan" must provide for source reduction, reuse 

and recycling within the jurisdiction and the proper funding 

and management of waste management programs. 

"Jurisdiction" means a local governing body; city, county or 

town; or any independent entity, such as a federal or state 

agency, which join with local governing bodies to develop a 

waste management plan. 

"Landfill" means a sanitary landfill, an industrial waste 

landfill, or a construction/demolition/debris landfill (as these 

terms are defined in the Solid Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-81)). 

"Litter" means all waste material disposable packages or 

containers, but not including the wastes of the primary 

processes of mining, logging, farming, or manufacturing. 

"Market" means interim or end destinations for the recyclable 

materials, including a materials recovery facility. 

"Market conditions" means business and system related 

issues used to determine if materials can be targeted, collected, 

and delivered to an interim or end market in an efficient 

manner. Issues may include the cost of collection, storage and 

preparation or both; the cost of transportation; accessible 

volumes of materials targeted for recycling; market value of 

materials targeted for collection/recycling; and distance to 

viable markets. 

"Materials recovery facility" means, for the purpose of this 

regulation, a facility for the collection, processing, and 

marketing of recyclable materials including metal, paper, 

plastics, and glass. 

"Mulch" means woody waste consisting of stumps, trees, 

limbs, branches, bark, leaves, and other clean wood waste that 

has undergone size reduction by grinding, shredding, or 

chipping, and is distributed to the general public for 

landscaping purposes or other horticultural uses, except 

composting as defined and regulated under the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-81). 

"Municipal solid waste" or "MSW" means waste that is 

normally composed of residential, commercial, and 

institutional solid waste and residues derived from the 

combustion of these wastes. 

"Nonmunicipal solid waste material" means waste that is not 

normally composed of residential, commercial, and 

institutional solid waste and residues derived from the 

combustion of these wastes. 

"Permit" means the written permission of the director to own, 

operate, or construct a solid waste management facility. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation, or 

any other legal entity. 

"Principal recyclable materials" or "PRMs" means paper, 

metal, plastic, glass, commingled, yard waste, wood, textiles, 

tires, used oil, used oil filters, used antifreeze, batteries, 

electronics, or material as may be approved by the director. 

Commingled materials refers to single stream collections of 

recyclables where sorting is done at a materials recovery 

facility. 

"Recycling" means the process of separating a given waste 

material from the waste stream and processing it so that it may 

be used again as a raw material for a product, which may or 

may not be similar to the original product. For the purpose of 

this chapter, recycling shall not include processes that only 

involve size reduction. 

"Recycling residue" means the (i) nonmetallic substances, 

including plastic, rubber, and insulation, which remain after a 

shredder has separated for purposes of recycling the ferrous 

and nonferrous metal from a motor vehicle, appliance, or other 

discarded metallic item and (ii) organic waste remaining after 

removal of metals, glass, plastics, and paper that are to be 

recycled as part of a resource recovery process for municipal 

solid waste resulting in the production of a refuse derived fuel. 

"Regional boundary" means the boundary defining an area of 

land that will be a unit for the purpose of developing a waste 

management plan and is established in accordance with 

9VAC20-130-92 through 9VAC20-130-100. 

"Regulated medical waste" means solid wastes so defined by 

the Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-120) (9VAC20-121) as promulgated by the Virginia 

Waste Management Board. 

"Residential waste" means any waste material, including 

garbage, trash, and refuse, derived from households. 

Households include single and multiple residences, hotels and 

motels, bunkhouses, ranger stations, crew quarters, 

campgrounds, picnic grounds, and day-use recreation areas. 

Residential wastes do not include sanitary waste in septic tanks 

(septage) that is regulated by other state agencies. 
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"Resource recovery system" means a solid waste 

management system that provides for collection, separation, 

recycling, and recovery of energy or solid wastes, including 

disposal of nonrecoverable waste residues. 

"Reuse" means the process of separating a given solid waste 

material from the waste stream and using it, without processing 

or changing its form, other than size reduction, for the same or 

another end use. 

"Sanitary landfill" means an engineered land burial facility 

for the disposal of household waste, which is so located, 

designed, constructed, and operated to contain and isolate the 

waste so that it does not pose a substantial present or potential 

hazard to human health or the environment. A sanitary landfill 

also may receive other types of solid wastes, such as 

commercial solid waste, nonhazardous sludge, hazardous 

waste from very small quantity generators, construction 

demolition debris, and nonhazardous industrial solid waste. 

"Site" means all land and structures, other appurtenances, and 

improvements on them used for treating, storing, and disposing 

of solid waste. This term includes adjacent land within the 

facility boundary used for the utility systems such as repair, 

storage, shipping or processing areas, or other areas incident to 

the management of solid waste. (Note: This term includes all 

sites whether they are planned and managed facilities or open 

dumps.) 

"Sludge" means any solid, semisolid, or liquid waste 

generated from a public, municipal, commercial, or industrial 

wastewater treatment plant, water supply treatment plant, or air 

pollution control facility. 

"Solid waste" means any of those materials defined as "solid 

waste" in the Solid Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-

81). 

"Solid waste management plan" means a plan submitted by a 

solid waste planning unit in accordance with the requirements 

of this chapter. 

"Solid waste planning unit" means each region or locality that 

submits a solid waste management plan. 

"Solid waste management facility" means a site used for 

planned treating, storing, or disposing of solid waste. A facility 

may consist of several treatment, storage, or disposal units. 

"Source reduction" means any action that reduces or 

eliminates the generation of waste at the source, usually within 

a process. Source reduction measures include process 

modifications, feedstock substitutions, improvements in 

feedstock purity, improvements in housekeeping and 

management practices, increases in the efficiency of 

machinery, and recycling within a process. Source reduction 

minimizes the material that must be managed by waste disposal 

or nondisposal options by creating less waste. "Source 

reduction" is also called "waste prevention," "waste 

minimization," or "waste reduction." 

"Source separation" means separation of recyclable materials 

by the waste generator of materials that are collected for use, 

reuse, reclamation, or recycling. 

"Tons" means 2,000 pounds. 

"Transfer station" means any solid waste storage or collection 

facility at which solid waste is transferred from collection 

vehicles to haulage vehicles for transportation to a central solid 

waste management facility for disposal, incineration, or 

resource recovery. 

"Vegetative waste" means decomposable materials generated 

by yard and lawn care or land-clearing activities and includes, 

but is not limited to, leaves, grass trimmings, and woody 

wastes such as shrub and tree prunings, bark, limbs, roots, and 

stumps. For more detail see the Solid Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-81). 

"Waste exchange" means any system to identify sources of 

wastes with potential for use, reuse, recycling, or reclamation 

and to facilitate its acquisition by persons who reuse, recycle, 

or reclaim it, with a provision for maintaining confidentiality 

of trade secrets. 

"Yard waste" means decomposable waste materials generated 

by yard and lawn care and includes leaves, grass trimmings, 

brush, wood chips, and shrub and tree trimmings. Yard waste 

shall not include roots or stumps that exceed six inches in 

diameter. 

9VAC20-170-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Affiliated company" means (i) any company that directly or 

indirectly owns, controls, or holds, with power to vote, 10% or 

more of the outstanding voting securities of a pure captive 

insurer or (ii) any company of which 10% or more of the voting 

securities are directly or indirectly owned, controlled, or held, 

with power to vote, by a parent, subsidiary, or associated 

company. 

"Anniversary date" means the date of issuance of a financial 

mechanism. 

"Applicant" means any and all persons seeking or holding a 

permit required under this chapter. 

"Associated company" means any company in the same 

corporate system with a pure captive insurer. 

"Association captive insurer" means any insurer transacting 

the business of insurance and reinsurance only on risks, 

hazards, and liabilities of the members of an insurance 

association. 

"Beneficial use" means both instream and offstream uses of 

state waters. Instream beneficial uses include, but are not 

limited to, the protection of fish and wildlife habitat, 
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maintenance of waste assimilation, recreation, navigation, and 

cultural and aesthetic values. Offstream beneficial uses 

include, but are not limited to, domestic (including public 

water supply), agricultural, electric power generation, 

commercial and industrial uses. Public water supply uses for 

human consumption shall be considered the highest priority. 

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board. 

"Bodily injury" means the death or injury of any person 

incident to a waste deposit from a vessel, but not including any 

death, disablement, or injuries covered by workers' 

compensation, disability benefits or unemployment 

compensation law or other similar law. Bodily injury may 

include payment of medical, hospital, surgical, and funeral 

expenses arising out of the death or injury of any person. This 

term shall not include those liabilities that, consistent with 

standard insurance industry practices, are excluded from 

coverage in liability insurance policies for bodily injury. 

"Captive insurer" means any pure captive insurer or any 

association captive insurer. 

"Certificant" means an owner or operator who has been issued 

a Certificate of Financial Responsibility under this chapter. 

"Certificate applicant" means an owner or operator who has 

applied for a Certificate of Financial Responsibility or for the 

renewal of a Certificate of Financial Responsibility under this 

chapter. 

"Certificate of Financial Responsibility" or "certificate" 

means a Certificate of Financial Responsibility issued under 

Part VI (9VAC20-170-270 et seq.) of this chapter, unless 

otherwise indicated. 

"Certified copy" means a legible copy certified as accurate by 

a notary public or other person authorized to take oaths in the 

United States. 

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations. 

"Charter by demise" means to hire for exclusive use through 

a lease. 

"Closure" means the act of securing a solid waste 

management facility pursuant to the requirements of this 

chapter. 

"Commercial transport" means transportation for the 

purposes of commercial carriage of solid wastes or regulated 

medical wastes as cargo. 

"Commercial transporter" means any person who transports 

for the purposes of commercial carriage of solid wastes or 

regulated medical wastes as cargo. 

"Construction demolition debris waste" or "CDD waste" 

means solid waste that is produced or generated during 

construction or destruction, remodeling, or repair of 

pavements, houses, commercial buildings, their foundations 

and other structures. Construction demolition debris wastes 

include, but are not limited to lumber, wire, sheetrock, broken 

brick, shingles, glass, pipes, concrete, paving materials, and 

metal and plastics if the metal or plastics are a part of the 

materials of construction or empty containers for such 

materials. Paints, coatings, solvents, asbestos, any liquid, 

compressed gases or semi-liquids and garbage are not 

construction demolition debris wastes. 

"Container" means any watertight structure that meets the 

provisions of this chapter. 

"Containment and cleanup" means abatement, containment, 

removal and disposal of solid wastes or regulated medical 

wastes that have been deposited to state waters or adjoining 

shorelines, and the restoration of the environment to its 

existing state prior to a deposit of the wastes. 

"Demise charterer" means a person with whom the owner of 

the vessel enters into a demise charter. The charterer takes over 

all possession and control of the vessel from the owner of the 

vessel and becomes subject to the duties and responsibilities of 

ownership. The charterer is also responsible for directing the 

operations of the vessel and providing the master and crew. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Destination facility" means a facility that treats, disposes of, 

or recycles solid wastes or regulated medical wastes in 

accordance with applicable federal and state regulations. 

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality or an authorized representative. 

"Disclosure statement" means a sworn statement or 

affirmation, in such form as may be required by the director, 

which includes: 

1. The full name and business address of all key personnel; 

2. The full name and business address of any entity, other 

than a natural person, that collects, transports, treats, stores, 

or disposes of solid waste or hazardous waste in which any 

key personnel holds an equity interest of 5.0% or more; 

3. A description of the business experience of all key 

personnel listed in the disclosure statement; 

4. A listing of all permits or licenses required for the 

collection, transportation, treatment, storage or disposal of 

solid waste or hazardous waste issued to or held by any key 

personnel within the past 10 years; 

5. A listing and explanation of any notices of violation, 

prosecutions, administrative orders (whether by consent or 

otherwise), license or permit suspensions or revocations, or 

enforcement actions of any sort by any state, federal or local 

authority, within the past 10 years, that are pending or have 

concluded with a finding of violation or entry of a consent 

agreement, regarding an allegation of civil or criminal 

violation of any law, regulation or requirement relating to 
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the collection, transportation, treatment, storage or disposal 

of solid waste or hazardous waste by any key personnel, and 

an itemized list of all convictions within 10 years of key 

personnel of any of the following crimes punishable as 

felonies under the laws of the Commonwealth or the 

equivalent thereof under the laws of any other jurisdiction: 

murder; kidnapping; gambling; robbery; bribery; extortion; 

criminal usury; arson; burglary; theft and related crimes; 

forgery and fraudulent practices; fraud in the offering, sale, 

or purchase of securities; alteration of motor vehicle 

identification numbers; unlawful manufacture, purchase, use 

or transfer of firearms; unlawful possession or use of 

destructive devices or explosives; violation of the Drug 

Control Act, Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia; racketeering; or violation of 

antitrust laws; 

6. A listing of all agencies outside the Commonwealth that 

have regulatory responsibility over the applicant or have 

issued any environmental permit or license to the applicant 

within the past 10 years in connection with the applicant's 

collection, transportation, treatment, storage, or disposal of 

solid waste or hazardous waste; 

7. Any other information about the applicant and the key 

personnel that the director may require that reasonably 

relates to the qualifications and abilities of the key personnel 

or the applicant to lawfully and competently operate a solid 

waste management facility in Virginia; and 

8. The full name and business address of any member of the 

local governing body or planning commission in which the 

solid waste management facility is located or proposed to be 

located, who holds an equity interest in the facility. 

"Existing facility" means any receiving facility that is 

constructed prior to July 2, 2003. 

"Generator" means any person, by site, whose act or process 

produces solid wastes or regulated medical wastes, or whose 

act first causes solid wastes or regulated medical wastes to 

become subject to this chapter. 

"Insurance association" means any group of individuals, 

corporations, partnerships, associations, or governmental units 

or agencies whose members collectively own, control, or hold 

with power to vote all of the outstanding voting securities of 

an association captive insurer. 

"Key personnel" means the applicant itself and any person 

employed by the applicant in a managerial capacity, or 

empowered to make discretionary decisions, with respect to the 

solid waste or hazardous waste operations of the applicant in 

Virginia, but shall not include employees exclusively engaged 

in the physical or mechanical collection, transportation, 

treatment, storage, or disposal of solid or hazardous waste and 

such other employees as the director may designate by 

regulation. If the applicant has not previously conducted solid 

waste or hazardous waste operations in Virginia, the term also 

includes any officer, director, partner of the applicant, or any 

holder of 5.0% or more of the equity or debt of the applicant. 

If any holder of 5.0% or more of the equity or debt of the 

applicant or of any key personnel is not a natural person, the 

term includes all key personnel of that entity, provided that 

where such entity is a chartered lending institution or a 

reporting company under the Federal Security and Exchange 

Act of 1934, the term does not include key personnel of such 

entity. Provided further that the term means the chief executive 

officer of any agency of the United States or of any agency or 

political subdivision of the Commonwealth, and all key 

personnel of any person, other than a natural person, that 

operates a landfill or other facility for the disposal, treatment 

or storage of nonhazardous solid waste under contract with or 

for one of those governmental entities. 

"Leachate" means a liquid that has passed through or emerged 

from solid waste or regulated medical waste and contains 

soluble, suspended, or miscible materials from such waste. 

Leachate and any material with which it is mixed is solid 

waste; except that leachate that is pumped from a collection 

tank for transportation to disposal in an off-site facility is 

regulated as septage, and leachate discharged into a wastewater 

collection system is regulated as industrial wastewater. 

"Load Line Certificate" means a certificate issued by the 

American Bureau of Shipping (ABS) or other similarly 

qualified organizations authorized by the Secretary of 

Transportation (U.S. Department of Transportation) to the 

owner of the vessel, in accordance with 46 USC Chapter 51. 

"Manifest" means the shipping document originated and 

signed by the generator in accordance with the provisions of 

this chapter. For transportation of regulated medical wastes, 

the hazardous materials shipping paper requirements under 

49 CFR Part 172 Subpart C may be reflected in the manifest. 

"Medical waste" or "regulated medical waste" means solid 

wastes defined to be regulated medical wastes by Part III II of 

the Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-120) (9VAC20-121). Solid waste packaged as 

regulated medical waste is regulated medical waste. Medical 

wastes that have been sterilized, treated or incinerated in 

accordance with the Regulated Medical Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-120) (9VAC20-121) are no longer 

considered as regulated medical waste. 

"Navigable waters of the Commonwealth" means state water 

being used or susceptible of being used, in its natural and 

ordinary condition, as a highway for commerce, on which trade 

and travel are or may be conducted in the customary modes of 

trade and travel on water. 

"New facility" means any receiving facility that is constructed 

on or after July 2, 2003. 

"Odors" means any emissions that cause an odor 

objectionable to individuals of ordinary sensibility. 
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"Operator" means, in the case of a receiving facility, any 

person responsible for the overall operation of a receiving 

facility that handles solid wastes or regulated medical wastes. 

In the case of a vessel, it means any person who operates, 

charters by demise, rents or otherwise exercises control over or 

responsibility for a vessel. 

"Owner" means, in the case of a receiving facility, any person 

who owns a receiving facility or part of a receiving facility that 

handles solid wastes or regulated medical wastes as cargo for 

hire. In the case of a vessel, it means any person who owns a 

vessel or a part of a vessel that transports solid wastes or 

regulated medical wastes as cargo for hire. 

"Parent" means a corporation, partnership, governmental unit or 

agency, or individual who directly or indirectly owns, controls or 

holds, with power to vote, more than 50% of the outstanding 

voting securities of a pure captive insurer. 

"Permit by rule" means provisions including public participation 

of this chapter stating that a facility or activity is deemed to have 

a permit if it meets the requirements of the provision. 

"Person" means an individual, trust, firm, joint stock company, 

corporation including a government corporation, partnership, 

association, any state or agency thereof, municipality, county, 

town, commission, political subdivision of a state, any interstate 

body, consortium, joint venture, commercial entity, the 

government of the United States or any unit or agency thereof. 

"Property damage" means the loss or destruction of, or damage 

to, the property of any third party including any loss, damage or 

expense incident to a waste deposit from a vessel. This term shall 

not include those liabilities that, consistent with standard 

insurance industry practices, are excluded from coverage in 

liability insurance policies for property damage. 

"Provider of financial responsibility" means an entity that 

provides financial responsibility to an owner and operator of a 

vessel transporting solid wastes or regulated medical wastes 

through one of the mechanisms listed in 9VAC20-170-310, 

including a financial institution, surety, or issuer of a letter of 

credit. 

"Public vessel" means a vessel that is owned or demise chartered 

and operated by the United States government or a government of 

a foreign country and that is not engaged in commercial service. 

"Pure captive insurer" means any insurer transacting the business 

of insurance and reinsurance only on risks, hazards, and liabilities 

of its parent, subsidiary companies of its parent, and associated 

and affiliated companies. 

"Receiving facility" means a facility, vessel or operation that 

loads or off-loads solid wastes or regulated medical wastes 

transported upon the navigable waters of the Commonwealth by a 

commercial transporter. 

"Solid waste" means any garbage, refuse, sludge and other 

discarded material, including solid, liquid, semisolid or contained 

gaseous material, resulting from industrial, commercial, mining 

and agricultural operations, or community activities but does not 

include (i) materials regulated as hazardous wastes under the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-

60); (ii) scrap metal, dredged material, recyclable construction 

demolition debris being transported directly to a processing 

facility for recycling or reuse and source-separated recyclables; 

(iii) solid or dissolved material in domestic sewage; (iv) solid or 

dissolved material in irrigation return flows or in industrial 

discharges that are sources subject to a permit from the State 

Water Control Board; or (v) source, special nuclear, or byproduct 

material as defined by the Federal Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as 

amended. 

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under the 

ground, wholly or partially within or bordering the 

Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction. 

"Subsidiary company" means any corporation of which 50% or 

more of the outstanding voting securities are directly or indirectly 

owned, controlled, or held, with power to vote, by a parent or by 

a company that is a subsidiary of the parent. 

"Surface water" means any water in the Commonwealth, except 

ground water as defined in § 62.1-255 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Transport" or "transportation" means any movement of solid 

wastes or regulated medical wastes, and any packing, loading, 

unloading or storage incidental thereto. 

"USC" means the U.S. Code. 

"Vehicle" means any motor vehicle, rolling stock or other 

artificial contrivance for transport whether self-propelled or 

otherwise, except vessels. 

"Vessel" includes every description of watercraft or other 

contrivance used as a means of transporting on water, whether 

self-propelled or otherwise, and shall include barges and tugs. 

"Waste deposit" or "deposit of waste" means any solid waste or 

regulated medical waste from a vessel or a receiving facility that 

is placed, discharged, spilled, dropped, or leaked into state waters 

or adjoining shorelines. 

9VAC20-170-40. Relationship to other regulations. 

A. The Solid Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-81) 

prescribe requirements for the solid waste management facilities 

in general. While a facility utilized to receive solid wastes or 

regulated medical wastes transported, loaded, or unloaded upon 

the navigable waters of the Commonwealth, to the extent 

allowable under state law, by a commercial transporter is a solid 

waste management facility, this chapter herein prescribes specific 

requirements, including siting, design/construction, operation, and 

permitting, for this type of facilities. If there is any overlapping 

requirement between these two regulations, whichever is more 

stringent shall apply. 

B. The Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-120) (9VAC20-121) address special needs for 

regulated medical waste management. A facility utilized to 

receive regulated medical waste transported, loaded, or 

unloaded upon the navigable waters of the Commonwealth, to 

the extent allowable under state law, by a commercial 
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transporter is a regulated medical waste facility and it must 

conform to any applicable sections of the Regulated Medical 

Waste Management Regulations adopted by the board. If there 

is any overlapping requirement between these two regulations, 

whichever is more stringent shall apply. 

C. This chapter does not exempt any receiving facility from 

obtaining a Virginia Water Protection Permit as required by the 

Virginia Water Protection Permit Program Regulation 

(9VAC25-210), whenever it is applicable. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7628; Filed October 3, 2023, 2:00 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Action Withdrawn 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-60. Participants. 

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Virginia Racing Commission has WITHDRAWN the 

regulatory action for 11VAC10-60, Participants, which was 

published as a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 25:25 

VA.R. 4372 August 17, 2009, then withdrawn in 26:25 VA.R. 

2814 August 16, 2010. The purpose of the proposed action was to 

allow the Virginia Racing Commission to collect a higher fee for 

permits issued to the participants of horse racing. This action is 

being withdrawn because of the long amount of time that has 

elapsed since withdrawing the Notice of Intended Regulatory 

Action, and the commission is no longer pursuing this action. 

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman Road, Suite 

201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 

email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R09-1942; Filed September 30, 2023, 5:49 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-408. Certificate of Quality 

Assurance of Managed Care Health Insurance Plan 

Licensees (amending 12VAC5-408-170). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-137.3 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 22, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Rebekah Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

401, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2157, or email 

rebekah.allen@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 376 and 377 of the 2023 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments require carriers to establish 

protocols for processing new provider credentialing 

applications and to reimburse new provider applicants for 

health care services provided to covered persons during 

the period when their completed credentialing application 

is pending, including (i) carrier notification to the 

applicant when the application is received; (ii) approval 

or denial of the application within 60 days of receiving a 

completed application; (iii) adjudication and payment for 

claims for services rendered during the pending 

application period no later than 40 days after the new 

provider applicant is credentialed and contracted; and 

(iv) reimbursement at the in-network rate. These protocols 

and procedures only apply if a contractual relationship 

exists between the carrier and the new provider applicant 

or entity for whom the new provider applicant is employed 

or engaged, and, beginning January 1, 2024, a new 

provider applicant's application is deemed complete 

within 30 days of the carrier receiving the application, 

unless the carrier has provided notice that the application 

is not complete. 

12VAC5-408-170. Provider credentialing and 

recredentialing. 

A. The MCHIP licensee shall establish and maintain a 

comprehensive credentialing verification program to ensure its 

providers meet the minimum standards of professional 

licensure or certification. Written supporting documentation 

for providers who have completed their residency or 

fellowship requirements for their specialty area more than 12 

months prior to the credentialing decision shall include: 

1. Current valid license and history of licensure or 

certification; 

2. Status of hospital privileges, if applicable; 

3. Valid DEA certificate, if applicable; 

4. Information from the National Practitioner Data Bank, as 

available; 

5. Education and training, including post graduate training, 

if applicable; 

https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=1771
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=1771
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=1249
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=1249
mailto:kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov
mailto:rebekah.allen@vdh.virginia.gov
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6. Specialty board certification status, if applicable; 

7. Practice or work history covering at least the past five 

years; and 

8. Current, adequate malpractice insurance and malpractice 

history of at least the past five years. 

B. The MCHIP licensee may grant provisional credentialing 

for providers who have completed their residency or 

fellowship requirements for their specialty area within 12 

months prior to the credentialing decision. Written supporting 

documentation necessary to provisionally credential a 

practitioner shall include: 

1. Primary source verification of a current, valid license to 

practice prior to granting the provisional status; 

2. Written confirmation of the past five years of malpractice 

claims or settlements, or both, from the malpractice carrier 

or the results of the National Practitioner Data Bank query 

prior to granting provisional status; and 

3. A completed application and signed attestation. 

C. Providers provisionally credentialed may remain so for 60 

calendar days. 

D. Policies for credentialing and recredentialing shall include: 

1. Criteria used to credential and recredential; 

2. Process used to make credentialing and recredentialing 

decisions; 

3. Type of providers, including network providers, covered 

under the credentialing and recredentialing policies; 

4. Process for notifying providers of information obtained 

that varies substantially from the information provided by 

the provider; 

5. Process for receiving input from participating providers to 

make recommendations regarding the credentialing and 

recredentialing process; and 

6. A requirement that the MCHIP licensee notify the 

applicant within 60 calendar days of receipt of an application 

if information is missing or if there are other deficiencies in 

the application. The MCHIP licensee shall complete the 

credentialing process within 90 calendar days of the receipt 

of all such information requested by the MCHIP licensee or, 

if information is not requested from the applicant, within 120 

calendar days of receipt of an application. If there is a 

contractual relationship between the MCHIP licensee and 

the applicant or entity for whom the applicant is employed 

or engaged, the timeframes for notification that the 

application is not complete and completion of the 

credentialing process shall be in accordance with the 

protocols and procedures established by the MCHIP licensee 

under subsection O of this section. The department may 

impose administrative sanctions upon an MCHIP licensee 

for failure to complete the credentialing process as provided 

herein in this section if it the department finds that such 

failure occurs with such frequency as to constitute a general 

business practice. 

The policies shall be made available to participating providers 

and applicants upon written request. 

E. A provider fully credentialed by an MCHIP licensee, who 

changes his place of employment or his nonMCHIP licensee 

employer, shall, if within 60 calendar days of such change and 

if practicing within the same specialty, continue to be 

credentialed by that MCHIP licensee upon receipt by the 

MCHIP licensee of the following: 

1. The effective date of the change; 

2. The new tax ID number and copy of W-9, as applicable; 

3. The name of the new practice, contact person, address, 

and telephone and fax numbers; and 

4. Other such information as may materially differ from the 

most recently completed credentialing application submitted 

by the provider to the MCHIP licensee. 

This provision shall not apply if the provider's prior place of 

employment or employer had been delegated credentialing 

responsibility by the MCHIP licensee. 

Nothing in this section shall be construed to require an 

MCHIP licensee to contract or recontract with a provider. 

F. The providers shall be recredentialed at least every three 

years. Recredentialing documentation shall include: 

1. Current valid license or certification; 

2. Status of hospital privileges, if applicable; 

3. Current valid DEA registration, if applicable; 

4. Specialty board eligibility or certification status, if 

applicable; 

5. Data from covered person complaints and the results of 

quality reviews, utilization management reviews, and 

covered persons satisfaction surveys, as applicable; and 

6. Current, adequate malpractice insurance and history of 

malpractice claims and professional liability claims resulting 

in settlements or judgments. 

G. All information obtained in the credentialing process shall 

be subject to review and correction of any erroneous 

information by the health care provider whose credentials are 

being reviewed. Nothing in the previous sentence shall require 

an MCHIP or MCHIP licensee to disclose to a provider, or any 

other person or party, information or documents: (i) that the 

MCHIP or the MCHIP licensee, itself, develops or causes to be 

developed as part of the MCHIP's credentialing process or (ii) 

that are privileged under applicable law. The department may 
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require the MCHIP licensee to provide a copy of its 

credentialing policies. 

H. Providers shall be required by the MCHIP licensee to 

notify the MCHIP of any changes in the status of any 

credentialing criteria. 

I. The MCHIP licensee shall not refuse to initially credential 

or refuse to reverify the credentials of a health care provider 

solely because the provider treats a substantial number of 

patients who require expensive or uncompensated care. 

J. The MCHIP licensee shall have policies and procedures for 

altering the conditions of the provider's participation with the 

MCHIP licensee. The policies shall include actions to be taken 

to improve performance prior to termination and an appeals 

process for instances when the MCHIP licensee chooses to 

alter the condition of provider participation based on issues of 

quality of care or service, except in circumstances where a 

covered person's health has been jeopardized. Providers shall 

have complete and timely access to all data and information 

used by the licensee to identify or determine the need for 

altering the conditions of participation. 

K. The MCHIP licensee shall retain the right to approve new 

providers and sites based on quality issues, and to terminate or 

suspend individual providers. Termination or suspension of 

individual providers for quality of care considerations shall be 

supported by documented records of noncompliance with 

specific MCHIP expectations and requirements for providers. 

The provider shall have a prescribed system of appeal of this 

decision available to them the provider as prescribed in the 

contract between the MCHIP or its delegated service entity and 

the provider. 

L. Providers shall be informed of the appeals process. 

Profession specific providers actively participating in the 

MCHIP plan shall be included in reviewing appeals and 

making recommendations for action. 

M. The MCHIP licensee shall notify appropriate authorities 

when a provider's application or contract is suspended or 

terminated because of quality deficiencies by the health care 

provider whose credentials are being reviewed. 

N. There shall be an organized system to manage and protect 

the confidentiality of personnel files and records. Records and 

documents relating to a provider's credentialing application 

shall be retained for at least seven years. 

O. The MCHIP licensee shall establish protocols and 

procedures for processing new provider credentialing 

applications and reimbursing new provider applicants, after 

being credentialed by the MCHIP licensee, for health care 

services provided to covered persons during the period in 

which the new provider approved applicant's completed 

credentialing application was pending. At a minimum, the 

protocols and procedures shall require the following: 

1. Apply only if the new provider applicant's credentialing 

application is approved by the MCHIP licensee If the 

MCHIP licensee accepts applications through an online 

credentialing system, the MCHIP licensee shall notify a new 

provider applicant through the online credentialing system 

that the provider has submitted and attested to the 

application as notice by the carrier that the application is 

received. If the MCHIP licensee does not accept applications 

through an online credentialing system, the MCHIP licensee 

shall within 10 days of receiving an application provide 

notification to the new provider applicant either by postal 

mail or electronic mail, as selected by the applicant, that the 

application was received; 

2. Permit provider reimbursement for services rendered from 

the date the Beginning January 1, 2024, a new provider 

applicant's completed credentialing application is received 

for consideration by deemed complete within 30 days of the 

MCHIP licensee receiving the application, unless the 

MCHIP licensee has provided notice that the application is 

not complete. Notice shall be provided by electronic mail 

unless the provider applicant has selected notification by 

postal mail; 

3. Apply The MCHIP licensee shall approve or deny a new 

provider applicant credentialing application within 60 days 

of receiving a completed application; 

4. Claims submitted according to the MCHIP licensee's 

claims submittal policies for services rendered during the 

period of a pending application shall be adjudicated and paid 

no later than 40 days after the new provider applicant is 

credentialed and contracted; 

5. The protocols and procedures shall apply only if a 

contractual relationship exists between the MCHIP licensee 

and the new provider applicant or entity for whom the new 

provider applicant is employed or engaged; and 

4. Require that any 6. Any reimbursement shall be paid at 

the in-network rate that the new provider applicant would 

have received had the provider been, at the time the covered 

health care services were provided, a credentialed 

participating provider in the network for the applicable 

managed care plan. 

P. Nothing in this section shall require: 

1. Reimbursement of provider-rendered services that are not 

benefits or services covered by the MCHIP licensee's 

managed care plan. 

2. An MCHIP licensee to pay reimbursement at the 

contracted in-network rate for any covered health care 

services provided by the new provider applicant if the new 

provider applicant's credentialing application is not 

approved or the MCHIP licensee is otherwise not willing to 

contract with the new provider applicant. 
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Q. Payments made or retroactive denials of payments made 

under this section shall be governed by § 38.2-3407.15 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

R. If a payment is made by the MCHIP licensee to a new 

provider applicant or any entity that employs or engages a new 

provider applicant under this section for a covered service, the 

patient shall only be responsible for any coinsurance, 

copayments, or deductibles permitted under the insurance 

contract with the MCHIP licensee or participating provider 

agreement with the provider. 

S. A new provider applicant, in order to submit claims to the 

MCHIP licensee pursuant to this section, shall provide written 

or electronic notice to covered persons in advance of treatment 

that: 

1. The provider has submitted a credentialing application to 

the MCHIP licensee of the covered person; and 

2. The MCHIP licensee is in the process of obtaining and 

verifying the written documentation from the new provider 

applicant pursuant to subsection A of this section. 

The written or electronic notice shall conform to the 

requirements in § 38.2-3407.10:1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7505; Filed September 28, 2023, 6:15 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-30, 12VAC30-50-70, 12VAC30-50-170; 

adding 12VAC30-50-132). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rate; Other Types of Care (amending 12VAC30-

80-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia, 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: October 6, 2023, through April 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations 

in which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less 

from its enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under 

the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Pursuant to Items MM(1) and MM(2) of Chapter 1 of the 

2023 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments 

(i) adjust medical necessity criteria for Medicaid-funded 

private duty nursing services, including changes to 

services covered, provider qualifications, medical 

necessity criteria, and rates and rate methodologies for 

private duty nursing; and (ii) clarify that private duty 

nursing services are not covered unless an individual 

receives services under an Early and Periodic Screening, 

Diagnosis, and Treatment Services or a § 1915(c) Waiver. 

12VAC30-50-30. Services not provided to the categorically 

needy. 

The following services and devices are not provided to the 

categorically needy: 

1. Chiropractor services. 

2. Private duty nursing services unless an individual receives 

services under an Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, 

and Treatment Services or a § 1915(c) Waiver. 

3. Dentures. 

4. Other diagnostic and preventive services other than those 

provided elsewhere in this plan: diagnostic services 

(12VAC30-50-95). 

5. (Reserved.) 

6. Special tuberculosis related services under 

§ 1902(z)(2)(F) of the Social Security Act (the Act). 

7. Respiratory care services (in accordance with 

§ 1920(e)(9)(A) through (C) of the Act). 

8. Ambulatory prenatal care for pregnant women furnished 

during a presumptive eligibility period by a qualified 

provider (in accordance with § 1920 of the Act). 

9. Any other medical care and any type of remedial care 

recognized under state law specified by the U.S. Secretary 

of Health and Human Services: personal care services in 

recipient's home, prescribed in accordance with a plan of 

treatment and provided by a qualified person under 

supervision of a registered nurse. 

12VAC30-50-70. Services or devices not provided to the 

medically needy. 

1. Chiropractor services. 

2. Private duty nursing services unless an individual receives 

services under an Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, 

and Treatment Services or a § 1915(c) Waiver. 

3. Dentures. 

4. Diagnostic or preventive services other than those 

provided elsewhere in the State Plan. 

5. Inpatient hospital services, skilled nursing facility 

services, and intermediate care facility services for 

individuals 65 years of age or older in institutions for mental 

diseases. 

mailto:meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
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6. Intermediate care facility services (other than such 

services in an institution for mental diseases) for persons 

determined in accordance with § 1905(a)(4)(A) of the Social 

Security Act (the Act), to be in need of such care in a public 

institution, or a distinct part thereof, for persons with 

intellectual or developmental disability or related 

conditions. 

7. (Reserved.) 

8. Special tuberculosis services under § 1902(z)(2)(F) of the 

Act. 

9. Respiratory care services (in accordance with 

§ 1920(e)(9)(A) through (C) of the Act). 

10. Ambulatory prenatal care for pregnant women furnished 

during a presumptive eligibility period by a qualified 

provider (in accordance with § 1920 of the Act). 

11. Personal care services in a recipient's home, prescribed 

in accordance with a plan of treatment and provided by a 

qualified person under supervision of a registered nurse. 

12. Home and community care for functionally disabled 

elderly individuals, as defined, described and limited in 

12VAC30-50-470. 

13. Personal care services furnished to an individual who is 

not an inpatient or resident of a hospital, nursing facility, 

intermediate care facility for intellectually or 

developmentally disabled persons, or institution for mental 

disease that are (i) authorized for the individual by a 

physician in accordance with a plan of treatment, (ii) 

provided by an individual who is qualified to provide such 

services and who is not a member of the individual's family, 

and (iii) furnished in a home. 

12VAC30-50-132. Private duty nursing services under 

early and periodic screening, diagnostic, and treatment.  

A. This section applies to private duty nursing services for 

eligible individuals in fee-for-service programs. Individuals 

enrolled with managed care health plans receive private duty 

nursing services through their plans.  

B. Service description. Private duty nursing services are 

individualized, medically necessary nursing care services 

consisting of skilled interventions, assessment, monitoring, 

and teaching of those who are or will be involved in nursing 

care for the individual. Private duty nursing services under the 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment 

(EPSDT) benefit are provided when appropriate and medically 

necessary to correct and ameliorate a member's health 

conditions. As opposed to intermittent care provided under 

skilled nursing or home health nursing, private duty nursing is 

provided on a continuous or regularly scheduled basis 

according to medical necessity. Private duty nursing care 

provided can be based in the individual's home or any setting 

in which normal life activities take place. Congregate private 

duty nursing is defined as private duty nursing provided to two 

or more individuals who require private duty nursing in the 

same setting. Services are provided in accordance with 42 CFR 

440.80. 

C. Service components. Private duty nursing service is the 

management and administration of the treatment and care of an 

individual by a licensed nurse, within the scope of practice as 

outlined by the Virginia Board of Nursing. Private duty nursing 

service is not limited to: 

1. Assessments (e.g., respiratory assessment, patency of 

airway, vital signs, feeding assessment, seizure activity, 

hydration, level of consciousness, constant observation for 

comfort and pain management); 

2. Administration of treatment related to technological 

dependence (e.g., ventilator, tracheotomy, bi-level positive 

airway pressure (BiPAP), intravenous (IV) administration of 

medications and fluids, feeding pumps, nasal stints, central 

lines); 

3. Monitoring and maintaining parameters or machinery 

(e.g., oximetry, blood pressure, lab draws, end tidal CO2s, 

ventilator and tube feeding pumps); 

4. Interventions (e.g., medications, suctioning, IVs, hyper 

alimentation, enteral feeds, ostomy care, tracheostomy 

care); and 

5. Exclusions from Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) coverage of private duty nursing services 

include the following: 

a. Not custodial or personal care delivered for the purpose 

of helping with activities of daily living (ADLs), including 

dressing, feeding, bathing, or transferring from a bed to a 

chair, and that can safely and effectively be performed by 

trained nonmedical personnel; 

b. Monitoring for medically-controlled disorders as part of 

"maintenance of care"; and 

c. Respite services. 

D. Provider qualifications. 

1. Private duty nursing providers shall meet the following 

requirements: 

a. Operate from a business office; 

b. Disclose ownership, if requested; and 

c. Attest to the ability to document and maintain individual 

case records in accordance with state and federal 

requirements. 

2. Private duty nursing must be provided by a registered 

nurse (RN) or licensed practical nurse (LPN) employed by 

(or subcontracted with) and supervised by a private duty 

nursing provider enrolled with DMAS. 

a. The RN private duty nurse must possess the following 

qualifications: 
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(1) A license to practice in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia; and 

(2) A satisfactory work history as evidenced by two 

satisfactory reference checks from prior job experience, 

including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of 

incapacitated or older adults or children, recorded in the 

nurse's personnel file. If the RN has worked for a single 

employer, one satisfactory reference from a prior job 

experience and one personal reference both with no 

evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an 

incapacitated or older adults or children is acceptable, and 

the RN private duty nurse shall submit to a criminal record 

check obtained through the Virginia State Police. If the 

individual receiving services is a minor, the RN must also 

submit to a search of the Virginia Department of Social 

Services (VDSS) Child Protective (CPS) Central Registry. 

The provider shall not hire any RN with findings of barrier 

crimes identified in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia 

or founded complaints in the VDSS CPS Central Registry. 

b. A licensed practical nurse (LPN) shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) Be licensed to practice in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia; 

(2) Have a satisfactory work history as evidenced by two 

satisfactory reference checks from prior job experience, 

including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of 

incapacitated or older adults or children, recorded in the 

nurse's personnel file. If the LPN has worked for a single 

employer, one satisfactory reference from a prior job 

experience and one personal reference both with no 

evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an 

incapacitated or older adult is acceptable; and 

(3) Submit to a search of the VDSS CPS Central Registry 

if the individual receiving services is a minor child. The 

provider shall not hire any persons who have been 

convicted of barrier crimes as identified in § 32.1-162.9:1 

the Code of Virginia or has a founded complaint 

confirmed by the VDSS CPS Central Registry. 

3. The RN or LPN must have (i) a documented provider 

training program or (ii) at least six months of related clinical 

nursing experience meeting the needs of the individual to 

receive care. Regardless of whether a nurse has six months 

of experience or completes a provider training course, the 

provider agency shall be responsible for assuring all nurses 

who are assigned to an individual are competent in the care 

needs of that individual. 

4. Nursing services must be provided under the supervision 

of a licensed, registered nurse (RN supervisor) in the 

Commonwealth. 

a. RN supervisors shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) Be verified as currently licensed to practice nursing in 

the Commonwealth; 

(2) Have at least one year of verified related clinical 

nursing experience as an RN; 

(3) Clinical experience may include work in an acute care 

hospital, public health clinic, home health agency, 

rehabilitation hospital, or nursing facility; and 

(4) Have a satisfactory work history as evidenced by two 

satisfactory reference checks from prior job experience, 

including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of 

incapacitated or older adults or children, recorded in the 

nurse's personnel file. If the RN has worked for a single 

employer, one satisfactory reference from a prior job 

experience and one personal reference both with no 

evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an 

incapacitated or older adults or children is acceptable, and 

the RN supervisor shall submit to a criminal record check 

obtained through the Virginia State Police. If the 

individual receiving services is a minor, the RN supervisor 

must also submit to a search of the VDSS CPS Central 

Registry. The provider shall not hire any RN supervisor 

with findings of barrier crimes identified in § 32.1-162.9:1 

of the Code of Virginia or founded complaints in the 

VDSS CPS Central Registry. 

b. As part of direct supervision, the RN supervisor shall 

make, at a minimum, a visit every 30 days to ensure both 

quality and appropriateness of nursing services to assess 

the individual's and the individual's representative's 

satisfaction with the services being provided, to review the 

plan of care and to update and verify the most current 

physician signed orders are in the home. When a delay 

occurs in the RN supervisor's visits because the individual 

is unavailable, the reason for the delay shall be 

documented in the individual's record, and the visit shall 

occur as soon as the individual is available. Failure to meet 

this standard may result in a DMAS recovery of payments 

made. Additional supervisory visits may be required under 

the following circumstances: (i) at the provider's 

discretion; (ii) at the request of the individual when a 

change in the individual's condition has occurred; (iii) any 

time the health, safety, or welfare of the individual could 

be at risk; and (iv) at the request of the DMAS staff. The 

RN is responsible for documentation of the visit's date, 

time, and evaluation. 

c. The RN supervisor shall: 

(1) Use and foster a person centered planning team 

approach to nursing services; 

(2) Ensure choice of services is made by the individual, 

legally authorized guardian, or responsible party if a 

minor; 

(3) Ensure personal goals of the individual are respected; 

(4) Conduct the initial evaluation visit to initiate EPSDT 

private duty nursing services in the primary residence; 

(5) Regularly evaluate the individual's status and nursing 

needs and notify the primary care provider if the 
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individual no longer meets criteria for private duty 

nursing; 

(6) Complete the Plan of Care and update as necessary for 

revisions; 

(7) Ensure provision of those services requiring 

substantial and specialized nursing skill and that assigned 

nurses have the necessary licensure; 

(8) Initiate appropriate preventive and rehabilitative 

nursing procedures; 

(9) Perform an assessment, at least every 30 days (the 

monthly nursing assessment cannot be made by the nurse 

providing care in the home); RN Monthly Supervisory 

Visits shall be completed in the primary residence at least 

every other visit. Visits may be conducted at school every 

other visit if necessary; 

(10) Coordinate private duty nursing services; 

(11) Inform the physician and case manager as appropriate 

of changes in the individual's condition and needs;  

(12) Educate the individual and family or caregiver in 

meeting nursing and related goals;  

(13) Supervise and educate other personnel involved in the 

individual's care;  

(14) Ensure that required documentation is in the 

individual's agency record; 

(15) Ensure that all employees are aware of the 

requirements to report suspected abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation immediately to Adult Protective Services or 

Child Protective Services, as appropriate. A civil penalty 

may be imposed on mandated reporters who do not report 

suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation to VDSS as 

required; 

(16) Ensure services are provided in a manner that is in the 

best interest of the individual and does not endanger the 

individual's health, safety, or welfare; 

(17) Recommend staff changes when needed; 

(18) Report to DMAS or the DMAS contractor any 

unethical or incompetent practices that jeopardize public 

safety or cause a risk of harm to individuals, including 

household issues that may jeopardize the safety of the 

private duty nurse; and 

(19) Ensure that all nurses and caregivers are aware that 

timesheets must be accurate with arrival and departure 

time of the nurse and that falsifying timesheets is 

Medicaid fraud. 

d. Parents (natural, step-parent, adoptive, foster parent, or 

other legal guardian), spouses, siblings, grandparents, 

grandchildren, adult children, or any person living under 

the same roof with the individual shall not provide private 

duty nursing services for the purpose of Medicaid 

reimbursement for the individual.  

E. Service limits. Private duty nursing services are limited to 

the hours of skilled nursing care and medically-necessary 

supervision as specified in the Plan of Care signed by the 

child's physician (per §§ 54.1-2957 and 54.1-2957.02 of the 

Code of Virginia, signature by a nurse practitioner is 

acceptable in certain circumstances) and limited to the number 

of hours approved by DMAS or the DMAS contractor through 

the DMAS service authorization form (DMAS-62). 

Authorization of the number of medically necessary hours is 

based on assessing an individual's medical and support needs 

related to respiratory function, cardiovascular access and 

medications, wound care, feeding, central nervous system 

function, assessments that require the skills of a medical 

professional, toileting, and any other additional medical or 

support needs that require the skills of a licensed clinician. 

These medical and support needs are encompassed in the 

DMAS-62, and the number of hours approved will be based on 

medical needs final score, as detailed in the DMAS-62. 

Individuals younger than 21 years of age qualifying under 

EPSDT shall receive the services described in excess of any 

State Plan limit, up to 24 hours per day, if services are 

determined to be medically necessary to correct, ameliorate or 

maintain the member's health condition and are prior 

authorized by the DMAS or the DMAS contractor. 

12VAC30-50-170. Private duty nursing services. 

Private duty nursing services are not provided unless an 

individual receives services under an Early and Periodic 

Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment Services or a § 1915(c) 

Waiver. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, 4th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC30-50) 

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, UAI, Virginia 

Long-Term Care Council (1994) 

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, UAI, Virginia 

Long-Term Care Council (rev. 11/2018) 

I.V. Therapy Implementation Form, DMAS-354 (eff. 6/1998) 

Health Insurance Claim Form, Form HCFA-1500 (eff. 

12/1990) 

Certificate of Medical Necessity-Durable Medical Equipment 

and Supplies, DMAS-352 (rev. 7/2010) 

Questionnaire to Assess an Applicant's Ability to 

Independently Manage Personal Attendant Services in the CD-

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/UAI%20Assessment%20Instrustment-20220117092316-20231006132131-20231006140108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/UAI%20Assessment%20Instrustment-20220117092316-20231006132131-20231006140108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/f00a9002333~1.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/f00a9002333~1.pdf
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PAS Waiver or DD Waiver, DMAS-95 Addendum (eff. 

8/2000)  

Questionnaire to Assess an Applicant's Ability to 

Independently Manage Personal Attendant Services in the CD-

PAS Waiver or DD Waiver, DMAS-95 Addendum (eff. 

8/2005) 

DD Waiver Enrollment Request, DMAS-453 (eff. 1/2001) 

DD Waiver Consumer Service Plan, DMAS-456 (eff. 1/2001) 

DD Medicaid Waiver -- Level of Functioning Survey -- 

Summary Sheet, DMAS-458 (eff. 1/2001) 

Documentation of Recipient Choice between Institutional 

Care or Home and Community-Based Services (eff. 8/2000) 

Comprehensive Outpatient Rehab Facility Participation 

Agreement (undated; filed 11/2015) 

Rehabilitation Hospital Participation Agreement (undated; 

filed 11/2015) 

Medical Necessity Assessment and Private Duty Nursing 

Service Authorization Form (DMAS 62) 

12VAC30-80-30. Fee-for-service providers. 

A. Payment for the following services, except for physician 

services, shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule 

(12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee 

schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public). Except 

as otherwise noted in this section, state developed fee schedule 

rates are the same for both governmental and private individual 

practitioners. The state agency fee schedule is published on the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) website at 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/searchcptcodes. 

1. Physicians' services. Payment for physician services shall 

be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual charge 

(charge to the general public) except that emergency room 

services 99282-99284 with a principal diagnosis on the 

Preventable Emergency Room Diagnosis List shall be 

reimbursed the rate for 99281. The Preventable Emergency 

Room Diagnosis List shall be based on the list used for 

managed care organization clinical efficiency rate 

adjustments. 

2. Dentists' services. Dental services, dental provider 

qualifications, and dental service limits are identified in 

12VAC30-50-190. Dental services are paid based on 

procedure codes, which are listed in the agency's fee 

schedule. Except as otherwise noted, state-developed fee 

schedule rates are the same for both governmental and 

private individual practitioners. 

3. Mental health services. 

a. Professional services furnished by nonphysicians as 

described in 12VAC30-50-150. These services are 

reimbursed using current procedural technology (CPT) 

codes. The agency's fee schedule rate is based on the 

methodology as described in subsection A of this section. 

(1) Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists 

shall be reimbursed at 90% of the reimbursement rate for 

psychiatrists in subdivision A 1 of this section. 

(2) Services provided by independently enrolled licensed 

clinical social workers, licensed professional counselors, 

licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric, or licensed 

marriage and family therapists shall be reimbursed at 75% 

of the reimbursement rate for licensed clinical 

psychologists. 

b. Intensive in-home services are reimbursed on an hourly 

unit of service. The agency's rates are set as of July 1, 

2011, and are effective for services on or after that date. 

c. Therapeutic day treatment services are reimbursed 

based on the following units of service: one unit equals 

two to 2.99 hours per day; two units equals three to 4.99 

hours per day; three units equals five or more hours per 

day. No room and board is included in the rates for 

therapeutic day treatment. The agency's rates are set as of 

July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that 

date. 

d. Therapeutic group home services (formerly called level 

A and level B group home services) shall be reimbursed 

based on a daily unit of service. The agency's rates are set 

as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after 

that date. 

e. Therapeutic day treatment or partial hospitalization 

services shall be reimbursed based on the following units 

of service: one unit equals two to three hours per day; two 

units equals four to 6.99 hours per day; three units equals 

seven or more hours per day. The agency's rates are set as 

of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after 

that date. 

f. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be reimbursed 

based on the following units of service: one unit equals 

two to 3.99 hours per day; two units equals four to 6.99 

hours per day; three units equals seven or more hours per 

day. The agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are 

effective for services on or after that date. 

g. Crisis intervention services shall be reimbursed on the 

following units of service: one unit equals two to 3.99 

hours per day; two units equals four to 6.99 hours per day; 

three units equals seven or more hours per day. The 

agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective 

for services on or after that date. 

h. Intensive community treatment services shall be 

reimbursed on an hourly unit of service. The agency's rates 

are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on 

or after that date. 

i. Crisis stabilization services shall be reimbursed on an 

hourly unit of service. The agency's rates are set as of July 

1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that date. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2095%20Addendum%20(2005)-20231005170425.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2095%20Addendum%20(2005)-20231005170425.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2095%20Addendum%20(2005)-20231005170425.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2095%20Addendum%20(2005)-20231005170425.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/ea833002606~1.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/ea833002606~1.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/b98ec002606~3.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/b98ec002606~3.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2062%20-%20rev.%207.19.2021-20231006085849.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DMAS%2062%20-%20rev.%207.19.2021-20231006085849.pdf
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/searchcptcodes
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j. Independent living and recovery services (previously 

called mental health skill building services) shall be 

reimbursed based on the following units of service: one 

unit equals one to 2.99 hours per day; two units equals 

three to 4.99 hours per day. The agency's rates are set as 

of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after 

that date. 

4. Podiatry. 

5. Nurse-midwife services. 

6. Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies. 

Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"DMERC" means the Durable Medical Equipment 

Regional Carrier rate as published by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services at 

http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-

Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-

Schedule.html. 

"HCPCS" means the Healthcare Common Procedure 

Coding System, Medicare's National Level II Codes, 

HCPCS 2006 (Eighteenth edition), as published by 

Ingenix, as may be periodically updated. 

a. Obtaining prior authorization shall not guarantee 

Medicaid reimbursement for DME. 

b. The following shall be the reimbursement method used 

for DME services: 

(1) If the DME item has a DMERC rate, the 

reimbursement rate shall be the DMERC rate minus 10%. 

For dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, DME items 

subject to the Medicare competitive bidding program shall 

be reimbursed the lower of: 

(a) The current DMERC rate minus 10%; or 

(b) The average of the Medicare competitive bid rates in 

Virginia markets. 

(2) For DME items with no DMERC rate, the agency shall 

use the agency fee schedule amount. The reimbursement 

rates for DME and supplies shall be listed in the DMAS 

Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment (DME) and 

Supplies Listing and updated periodically. The agency fee 

schedule shall be available on the agency website at 

www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

(3) If a DME item has no DMERC rate or agency fee 

schedule rate, the reimbursement rate shall be the 

manufacturer's net charge to the provider, less shipping 

and handling, plus 30%. The manufacturer's net charge to 

the provider shall be the cost to the provider minus all 

available discounts to the provider. Additional 

information specific to how DME providers, including 

manufacturers who are enrolled as providers, establish and 

document their costs for DME codes that do not have 

established rates can be found in the relevant agency 

guidance document. 

c. DMAS shall have the authority to amend the agency fee 

schedule as it deems appropriate and with notice to 

providers. DMAS shall have the authority to determine 

alternate pricing, based on agency research, for any code 

that does not have a rate. 

d. Certain durable medical equipment used for intravenous 

therapy and oxygen therapy shall be bundled under 

specified procedure codes and reimbursed as determined 

by the agency. Certain services or durable medical 

equipment such as service maintenance agreements shall 

be bundled under specified procedure codes and 

reimbursed as determined by the agency. 

(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, 

administered in one day, shall be reimbursed at the 

established service day rate for the bundled durable 

medical equipment and the standard pharmacy payment, 

consistent with the ingredient cost as described in 

12VAC30-80-40, plus the pharmacy service day and 

dispensing fee. Multiple applications of the same therapy 

shall be included in one service day rate of reimbursement. 

Multiple applications of different therapies administered 

in one day shall be reimbursed for the bundled durable 

medical equipment service day rate as follows: the most 

expensive therapy shall be reimbursed at 100% of cost; the 

second and all subsequent most expensive therapies shall 

be reimbursed at 50% of cost. Multiple therapies 

administered in one day shall be reimbursed at the 

pharmacy service day rate plus 100% of every active 

therapeutic ingredient in the compound (at the lowest 

ingredient cost methodology) plus the appropriate 

pharmacy dispensing fee. 

(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy 

shall have supplies or components bundled under a service 

day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood gas 

levels. Equipment associated with respiratory therapy may 

have ancillary components bundled with the main 

component for reimbursement. The reimbursement shall 

be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or a 

total amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. 

Such respiratory equipment shall include oxygen tanks 

and tubing, ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and 

suction machines. Ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, 

and suction machines may be purchased based on the 

individual patient's medical necessity and length of need. 

(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be 

made for a combination of services, routine maintenance, 

and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a single 

reimbursement code only for equipment that is recipient 

owned. Such bundled agreements shall be reimbursed 

either monthly or in units per year based on the individual 

agreement between the DME provider and DMAS. Such 

http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html
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bundled agreements may apply to, but not necessarily be 

limited to, either respiratory equipment or apnea monitors. 

7. Local health services. 

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). The 

agency's rates for clinical laboratory services were set as of 

July 1, 2014, and are effective for services on or after that 

date. 

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory specimens, 

but do not perform laboratory analysis (limited to payment 

for handling). 

10. X-ray services. 

11. Optometry services. 

12. Reserved. 

13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost 

reimbursement for home health services is eliminated. A rate 

per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth by 

12VAC30-80-180. 

14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, 

hearing, language disorders services when rendered to 

noninstitutionalized recipients. 

15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90, except 

for services in ambulatory surgery clinics reimbursed under 

12VAC30-80-35. 

16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type I 

physicians. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified 

elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides supplemental 

payments to Type I physicians for furnished services 

provided on or after July 2, 2002. A Type I physician is a 

member of a practice group organized by or under the 

control of a state academic health system or an academic 

health system that operates under a state authority and 

includes a hospital, who has entered into contractual 

agreements for the assignment of payments in accordance 

with 42 CFR 447.10. 

b. The methodology for determining the Medicare 

equivalent of the average commercial rate is described in 

12VAC30-80-300. 

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later 

than 90 days after the end of the quarter. 

d. Effective May 1, 2017, the supplemental payment 

amount for Type I physician services shall be the 

difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 

made for physician services and 258% of Medicare rates. 

17. Supplemental payments for services provided by 

physicians at Virginia freestanding children's hospitals. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified 

elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides supplemental 

payments to Virginia freestanding children's hospital 

physicians providing services at freestanding children's 

hospitals with greater than 50% Medicaid inpatient 

utilization in state fiscal year 2009 for furnished services 

provided on or after July 1, 2011. A freestanding children's 

hospital physician is a member of a practice group (i) 

organized by or under control of a qualifying Virginia 

freestanding children's hospital, or (ii) who has entered 

into contractual agreements for provision of physician 

services at the qualifying Virginia freestanding children's 

hospital and that is designated in writing by the Virginia 

freestanding children's hospital as a practice plan for the 

quarter for which the supplemental payment is made 

subject to DMAS approval. The freestanding children's 

hospital physicians also must have entered into contractual 

agreements with the practice plan for the assignment of 

payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 

b. Effective July 1, 2015, the supplemental payment 

amount for freestanding children's hospital physician 

services shall be the difference between the Medicaid 

payments otherwise made for freestanding children's 

hospital physician services and 178% of Medicare rates as 

defined in the supplemental payment calculation for Type 

I physician services. Payments shall be made on the same 

schedule as Type I physicians. 

18. Supplemental payments for services provided by 

physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical Center. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified 

elsewhere in this chapter, the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services provides supplemental payments to 

physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical Center 

for furnished services provided on or after October 1, 

2012. A physician affiliated with Eastern Virginia 

Medical Center is a physician who is employed by a 

publicly funded medical school that is a political 

subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, who 

provides clinical services through the faculty practice plan 

affiliated with the publicly funded medical school, and 

who has entered into contractual arrangements for the 

assignment of payments in accordance with 42 CFR 

447.10. 

b. Effective November 1, 2018, the supplemental payment 

amount shall be the difference between the Medicaid 

payments otherwise made for physician services and 

145% of the Medicare rates. The methodology for 

determining the Medicare equivalent of the average 

commercial rate is described in 12VAC30-80-300. 

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly, no 

later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. 

19. Supplemental payments for services provided by 

physicians at freestanding children's hospitals serving 

children in Planning District 8. 
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a. In addition to payments for physician services specified 

elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS shall make supplemental 

payments for physicians employed at a freestanding 

children's hospital serving children in Planning District 8 

with more than 50% Medicaid inpatient utilization in 

fiscal year 2014. This applies to physician practices 

affiliated with Children's National Health System. 

b. The supplemental payment amount for qualifying 

physician services shall be the difference between the 

Medicaid payments otherwise made and 178% of 

Medicare rates but no more than $551,000 for all 

qualifying physicians. The methodology for determining 

allowable percent of Medicare rates is based on the 

Medicare equivalent of the average commercial rate 

described in this chapter. 

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later 

than 90 days after the end of the quarter. Any quarterly 

payment that would have been due prior to the approval 

date shall be made no later than 90 days after the approval 

date. 

20. Supplemental payments to nonstate government-owned 

or operated clinics. 

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified 

elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides supplemental 

payments to qualifying nonstate government-owned or 

government-operated clinics for outpatient services provided 

to Medicaid patients on or after July 2, 2002. Clinic means a 

facility that is not part of a hospital but is organized and 

operated to provide medical care to outpatients. Outpatient 

services include those furnished by or under the direction of 

a physician, dentist, or other medical professional acting 

within the scope of his license to an eligible individual. 

Effective July 1, 2005, a qualifying clinic is a clinic operated 

by a community services board. The state share for 

supplemental clinic payments will be funded by general fund 

appropriations. 

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to each 

qualifying nonstate government-owned or government-

operated clinic is determined by: 

(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference between 

the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic according to 

subdivision 20 d of this subsection and the amount otherwise 

actually paid for the services by the Medicaid program; 

(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 20 b (1) 

of this subsection for each qualifying clinic by the aggregate 

difference for all such qualifying clinics; and 

(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 20 

b (2) of this subsection by the aggregate upper payment limit 

amount for all such clinics as determined in accordance with 

42 CFR 447.321 less all payments made to such clinics other 

than under this section. 

c. Payments for furnished services made under this section 

will be made annually in a lump sum during the last quarter 

of the fiscal year. 

d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit referred 

to in subdivision 20 b (3) of this subsection, Medicaid 

payments to nonstate government-owned or government-

operated clinics will be divided by the "additional factor" 

whose calculation is described in 12VAC30-80-190 B 2 in 

regard to the state agency fee schedule for Resource Based 

Relative Value Scale. Medicaid payments will be estimated 

using payments for dates of service from the prior fiscal year 

adjusted for expected claim payments. Additional 

adjustments will be made for any program changes in 

Medicare or Medicaid payments. 

21. Personal assistance services (PAS) or personal care 

services for individuals enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In 

program described in 12VAC30-60-200 or covered under 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment 

(EPSDT), and respite services covered under EPSDT. These 

services are reimbursed in accordance with the state agency 

fee schedule described in 12VAC30-80-190. The state 

agency fee schedule is published on the DMAS website at 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov. The agency's rates, based 

upon one-hour increments, were set as of July 1, 2020, and 

shall be effective for services on and after that date. 

22. Private duty nursing services covered under EPSDT are 

reimbursed based on an hourly unit of service in accordance 

with the state agency fee schedule. The fee schedule is the same 

for both governmental and private providers and was set as of 

July 1, 2016, and shall be effective for services provided on and 

after that date. The state agency fee schedule is published on the 

DMAS website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/.  

23. Supplemental payments to state-owned or state-operated 

clinics. 

a. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2015, 

DMAS shall make supplemental payments to qualifying 

state-owned or state-operated clinics for outpatient services 

provided to Medicaid patients on or after July 1, 2015. Clinic 

means a facility that is not part of a hospital but is organized 

and operated to provide medical care to outpatients. 

Outpatient services include those furnished by or under the 

direction of a physician, dentist, or other medical professional 

acting within the scope of his license to an eligible individual. 

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to each 

qualifying state-owned or state-operated clinic is determined 

by calculating for each clinic the annual difference between 

the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic according to 

subdivision 19 b of this subsection and the amount otherwise 

actually paid for the services by the Medicaid program. 

c. Payments for furnished services made under this section 

shall be made annually in lump sum payments to each clinic. 

d. To determine the upper payment limit for each clinic 

referred to in subdivision 19 b of this subsection, the state 

payment rate schedule shall be compared to the Medicare 

resource-based relative value scale nonfacility fee schedule 

per Current Procedural Terminology code for a base period 

of claims. The base period claims shall be extracted from the 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/
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Medical Management Information System and exclude 

crossover claims. 

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the amounts 

using the same methodology used under Part A of Title XVIII, and 

take into account the room and board furnished by the facility. As 

of July 1, 2019, payments for hospice services in a nursing facility 

are 100% of the rate that would have been paid by the state under 

the plan for facility services in that facility for that individual. 

Hospice services shall be paid according to the location of the 

service delivery and not the location of the agency's home office. 

C. Effective July 1, 2019, the telehealth originating site facility 

fee shall be increased to 100% of the Medicare rate and shall 

reflect changes annually based on changes in the Medicare rate. 

Federally qualified health centers and rural health centers are 

exempt from this reimbursement change. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6862; Filed October 5, 2023, 2:47 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-110; 

adding 18VAC110-20-113). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 29, 2023, through March 28, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations 

in which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less 

from its enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under 

the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Pursuant to Chapter 628 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments add a new section addressing pharmacy 

work environments, including to ensure (i) that the 

decisions of the pharmacist are not overridden by the 

pharmacy permit holder, including staffing decisions and 

the decision of whether pharmacy staff can safely provide 

vaccines at a given time; (ii) that pharmacy permit holders 

provide sufficient staffing levels to avoid interference with 

a pharmacist's ability to practice with reasonable 

competence and safety; (iii) that a pharmacist and 

pharmacy personnel are provided with proper and 

functioning equipment; (iv) pharmacists and pharmacy 

staff are not burdened with external factors that may 

inhibit the ability to provide services to the public; (v) staff 

are properly trained to provide the services with which 

they are tasked; (vi) pharmacists are provided 

appropriate breaks while maintaining drug stock integrity 

and providing required consultation services to the 

public; (vii) pharmacists are provided adequate time to 

perform professional duties; and (viii) the existence of a 

reporting mechanism for staffing concerns. 

18VAC110-20-110. Pharmacy permits generally. 

A. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to a pharmacist to 

be simultaneously in charge of more than two pharmacies. 

B. Except in an emergency, a permit holder shall not require 

a pharmacist to work longer than 12 continuous hours in any 

work day and shall allow at least six hours of off-time between 

consecutive shifts. A pharmacist may, however, volunteer to 

work longer than 12 continuous hours. A pharmacist working 

longer than six continuous hours shall be allowed to take a 30-

minute break. Breaks, including uninterrupted rest periods and 

meal breaks, shall be provided consistent with 18VAC110-20-

113 B 5. 

C. The PIC or the pharmacist on duty shall control all aspects 

of the practice of pharmacy. Any decision overriding such 

control of the PIC or other pharmacist on duty shall be deemed 

the practice of pharmacy and may be grounds for disciplinary 

action against the pharmacy permit. 

D. A pharmacist shall not be eligible to serve as PIC until after 

having obtained a minimum of two years of experience 

practicing as a pharmacist in Virginia or another jurisdiction in 

the United States. The board may grant an exception to the 

minimum number of years of experience for good cause 

shown. 

E. When the PIC ceases practice at a pharmacy or no longer 

wishes to be designated as PIC, he the pharmacist shall 

immediately return the pharmacy permit to the board 

indicating the effective date on which he the pharmacist ceased 

to be the PIC. 

F. Although not required by law or regulation, an outgoing 

PIC shall have the opportunity to take a complete and accurate 

inventory of all Schedules II through V controlled substances 

on hand on the date he the pharmacist ceases to be the PIC, 

unless the owner submits written notice to the board showing 

good cause as to why this opportunity should not be allowed. 

G. A PIC who is absent from practice for more than 30 

consecutive days shall be deemed to no longer be the PIC. 

Pharmacists-in-charge having knowledge of upcoming 

absences for longer than 30 days shall be responsible for 

notifying the board and returning the permit. For unanticipated 

absences by the PIC, which exceed 15 days with no known 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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return date within the next 15 days, the owner shall 

immediately notify the board and shall obtain a new PIC. 

H. An application for a permit designating the new PIC shall 

be filed with the required fee within 14 days of the original date 

of resignation or termination of the PIC on a form provided by 

the board. It shall be unlawful for a pharmacy to operate 

without a new permit past the 14-day deadline unless the board 

receives a request for an extension prior to the deadline. The 

executive director for the board may grant an extension for up 

to an additional 14 days for good cause shown. 

I. Only one pharmacy permit shall be issued to conduct a 

pharmacy occupying the same designated prescription 

department space. A pharmacy shall not engage in any other 

activity requiring a license or permit from the board, such as 

manufacturing or wholesale-distributing, out of the same 

designated prescription department space. 

J. Before any permit is issued, the applicant shall attest to 

compliance with all federal, state, and local laws and 

ordinances. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to any 

person to operate from a private dwelling or residence after 

September 2, 2009. 

18VAC110-20-113. Pharmacy working conditions.  

A. A pharmacy permit holder shall protect the health, safety, 

and welfare of patients by consulting with the PIC or 

pharmacist on duty and other pharmacy staff to ensure patient 

care services are safely provided in compliance with applicable 

standards of patient care. A permit holder's decisions shall not 

override the control of the PIC or other pharmacist on duty 

regarding appropriate working environments for all pharmacy 

personnel necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare 

of patients.  

B. To provide a safe working environment in a pharmacy, a 

permit holder shall, at a minimum: 

1. Ensure sufficient personnel are scheduled to work at all 

times in order to prevent fatigue, distraction, or other 

conditions that interfere with a pharmacist's ability to 

practice with reasonable competence and safety. Staffing 

levels shall not be solely based on prescription volume, but 

shall consider any other requirements of pharmacy staff 

during working hours;  

2. Provide sufficient tools and equipment in good repair and 

minimize excessive distractions to support a safe workflow 

for a pharmacist to practice with reasonable competence and 

safety to address patient needs in a timely manner; 

3. Avoid the introduction of external factors, such as 

productivity or production quotas or other programs, to the 

extent that they interfere with the pharmacist's ability to 

provide appropriate professional services to the public;  

4. Ensure staff are sufficiently trained to safely and 

adequately perform their assigned duties, ensure staff 

demonstrate competency, and ensure that pharmacy 

technician trainees work closely with pharmacists and 

pharmacy technicians with sufficient experience as 

determined by the PIC;  

5. Provide appropriate opportunities for uninterrupted rest 

periods and meal breaks consistent with 18VAC110-20-110 

and the following: 

a. A pharmacy may close when a pharmacist is on break 

based on the professional judgment of the pharmacist on 

duty provided that the pharmacy has complied with the 14-

day notice to the public pursuant to § 54.1-3434 of the 

Code of Virginia and 18VAC110-20-135; 

b. If a pharmacy does not close while the pharmacist is on 

break, the pharmacist must ensure adequate security of 

drugs by taking a break within the prescription department 

or on the premises. The pharmacist on duty must 

determine whether pharmacy technicians or pharmacy 

interns may continue to perform duties and whether the 

pharmacist is able to provide adequate supervision; and 

c. If the pharmacy remains open, only prescriptions 

verified by a pharmacist pursuant to 18VAC110-20-270 

may be dispensed when the pharmacist is on break. An 

offer to counsel any person filling a new prescription must 

be offered pursuant to § 54.1-3319 of the Code of Virginia. 

Persons who request to speak to the pharmacist shall be 

told that the pharmacist is on break and that they may wait 

to speak with the pharmacist or provide a telephone 

number for the pharmacist to contact them upon return 

from break. Pharmacists returning from break shall 

immediately attempt to contact persons who requested 

counseling and document when such counseling is 

provided; 

6. Provide adequate time for a pharmacist to complete 

professional duties and responsibilities, including:  

a. Drug utilization review;  

b. Immunization;  

c. Counseling;  

d. Verification of prescriptions;  

e. Patient testing; and  

f. All other duties required by Chapter 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et 

seq.) and Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia and this chapter; and 

7. Ensure that pharmacy technicians shall never perform 

duties otherwise restricted to a pharmacist. 

C. A pharmacy permit holder shall not override the control of 

the pharmacist on duty regarding all aspects of the practice of 

pharmacy, including a pharmacist's decision not to administer 

vaccines when one pharmacist is on duty and, in the 

pharmacist's professional judgment, vaccines cannot be 

administered safely.  
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D. Staffing requests or concerns shall be communicated by 

the PIC or pharmacist on duty to the permit holder using a form 

developed by the board.  

1. Executed staffing forms shall be provided to the 

immediate supervisor of the PIC or pharmacist on duty, with 

one copy maintained in the pharmacy for three years, and 

produced for inspection by the board.  

2. The PIC or pharmacist on duty may report any staffing 

issues directly to the board if the PIC or pharmacist on duty 

believes the situation warrants immediate board review.  

3. Under no circumstances shall a good faith report of 

staffing concerns by the PIC, pharmacist on duty, or 

notification of such issues by pharmacy personnel to the PIC 

or pharmacist on duty result in workplace discipline against 

the reporting staff member.  

E. Permit holders shall review completed staffing reports and 

shall: 

1. Respond to reporting staff member to acknowledge 

receipt of the staffing request or concern; 

2. Resolve any issues listed in a timely manner to ensure a 

safe working environment for pharmacy staff and 

appropriate medication access for patients; 

3. Document any corrective action taken, steps taken toward 

corrective action as of the time of inspection, or justification 

for inaction, which documentation shall be maintained on 

site or produced for inspection by the board within 48 hours 

of request; and  

4. Communicate corrective action taken or justification for 

inaction to the PIC or reporting pharmacist on duty.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, 4th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC110-20) 

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-resident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as Nonresident Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Third Party Logistics 

Provider Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Nonresident Warehouser 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-resident Outsourcing Facility 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for an Outsourcing Facility Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Medical Equipment Supplier Permit (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Non-Restricted Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as Warehouser (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Non-resident Medical 

Equipment Supplier (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 10/2020) 

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 

(rev. 8/2023) 

Registration for a Pharmacy to be a Collection Site for 

Donated Drugs (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Registration for a Facility to be an Authorized Collector for 

Drug Disposal (rev. 5.2018) 

Application for Re-inspection of a Facility (rev. 3/2023) 

Notification of Distribution Cessation due to Suspicious 

Orders (rev. 5/2018) 

Staffing Requests or Concerns Form (eff. 9/2023) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7342; Filed September 29, 2023, 8:04 a.m. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacyApp-20210116203211.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_PharmApp-20210116203356.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_PharmApp-20210116203356.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_WholesaleDistr-20210116203436.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_WholesaleDistr-20210116203436.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_ThirdPartyLog-20210116203634.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_ThirdPartyLog-20210116203634.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Outsorc_Facil_App-20210116203955.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDistr_App-20210116204903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDistr_App-20210116204903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WarehouserApp-20210116210503.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ThirdPartyLogistics-20210116205028.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ThirdPartyLogistics-20210116205028.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg_App-20210116205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg_App-20210116205525.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7e83004673~108.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0226%20Pilot%20Program%20application%208-2023-20230807111134.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0226%20Pilot%20Program%20application%208-2023-20230807111134.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Re-Inspection%20Application%203-2023-20230414152057.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Staffing%20Requests%20or%20Concerns%20Form%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230929153548.pdf
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Titles of Documents: Radiation Safety Procedures for Dental 

Offices. 

Radiation Safety Procedures for General Radiography. 

Radiation Safety Procedures for Nonmedical Devices. 

Radiation Safety Procedures for Veterinary Offices. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 22, 2023. 

Effective Date: November 23, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Cameron Rose, Deputy Director, Office of 

Radiological Health, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Room 733, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 864-7090, or email cameron.rose@vdh.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Title of Document: Pharmacy Inspection Deficiency Monetary 

Penalty Guide. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 22, 2023. 

Effective Date: November 23, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov.  

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Neighborhood Assistance Program Donor 

Fact Sheet. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 22, 2023. 

Effective Date: November 23, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Wanda Stevenson, Neighborhood Assistance 

Program Manager, Department of Social Services, 801 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, (804) 726-7924, or email 

wanda.stevenson@dss.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_6641_20230921.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_6641_20230921.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_6637_20230920.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_6640_20230920.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_6639_20230920.pdf
mailto:cameron.rose@vdh.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6620_20230906.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_6620_20230906.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6642_20230921.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_6642_20230921.pdf
mailto:wanda.stevenson@dss.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY 

Public Comment Opportunity - Study on the 
Economic and Environmental Impacts of 

Eliminating Waste Coal Piles in Southwest Virginia 

Per Senate Joint Resolution 258 from the 2023 Session of the 

Virginia General Assembly, the Virginia Department of 

Energy is conducting a study on the economic and 

environmental impacts of eliminating waste coal piles in 

Southwest Virginia. The department will be examining various 

use case scenarios ranging from capping all existing waste coal 

piles in place to combusting all the material at the Virginia City 

Hybrid Energy Center or other approved facilities. Each 

scenario considered by the department shall contain an analysis 

of the direct and indirect economic and environmental benefits 

of that scenario. 

The department will be taking public comments on the study 

and the issue of waste coal piles in Southwest Virginia through 

October 27, 2023. Commenters may submit comments at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/comments.cfm?GeneralNoticei

d=2677. 

Public comment will also be accepted on October 2, 2023, at 

6 p.m. at 139 Highland Drive, Room 115, Lebanon, VA 24266. 

The public meeting for the coal mine methane evaluation that 

Virginia Department of Energy is conducting pursuant to 

Chapter 495 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly will also be taking 

place at this event. 

Contact Information Larry Corkey, Energy and Regulatory 

Program Manager, Virginia Department of Energy, 1100 Bank 

Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone (804) 

692-3239, or email larry.corkey@energy.virginia.gov. 

Public Comment Opportunity - Evaluating Policy 
Options to Encourage the Capture and Beneficial 

Use of Coal Mine Methane 

Per Chapter 495 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly, the Virginia 

Department of Energy is evaluating policy options to 

encourage the capture and beneficial use of coal mine methane. 

The evaluation will consider the environmental benefits and 

economic development potential of the capture and use of coal 

mine methane. The evaluation will include an analysis of 

federal and state policies, including tax incentives, and 

programs that incentivize the capture and beneficial use of coal 

mine methane, impediments to coal mine methane qualifying 

for carbon offset markets, and the extent to which such policies 

may result in a net reduction in methane emissions. 

The department will be taking public comments on the study 

and the issue of coal mine methane capture through October 

27, 2023. Those interested may submit comments at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/comments.cfm?GeneralNoticei

d=2678. 

Public comment will also be accepted in person on October 2, 

2023, at 6 p.m. at 139 Highland Drive, Room 115, Lebanon, 

VA 24266. The public meeting on the waste coal pile study 

that Virginia Department of Energy is conducting pursuant to 

Senate Joint Resolution 258 will also be taking place at this 

event. 

Contact Information Larry Corkey, Energy and Regulatory 

Program Manager, Virginia Department of Energy, 1100 Bank 

Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone (804) 

692-3239, or email larry.corkey@energy.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Blue Rock Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

Buckingham County 

Blue Rock Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) located in southeastern Buckingham 

County and southwestern Cumberland County. The project 

name is Blue Rock Solar; the DEQ project number is 

RE0000298. 

The project location is south of Stage Coach Road (Route 636) 

and east of South James Madison Highway (Route 15); the 

project is centered at Latitude 37.3742327, Longitude -

78.4501708. The proposed project will have a maximum 

generating capacity of 100 megawatts alternating current 

across approximately 1,127 acres. The project includes the 

utilization of approximately 237,000 photovoltaic solar 

modules affixed to a single-axis tracking system. The project 

developer is RWE Clean Energy. 

Contact Information: Amber Foster, Small Renewable Energy 

Permit By Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 774-8474, or email 

amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for HR Bristol LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for HR Bristol LLC for 

violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations at 

500 Gate City Highway, Bristol, Virginia. The proposed order 

is available from the DEQ contact listed or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforce 

ment-orders. The DEQ contact will accept comments by email 

or postal mail from October 23, 2023, through November 22, 

2023. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 

Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 

24210, or email jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/comments.cfm?GeneralNoticeid=2677
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/comments.cfm?GeneralNoticeid=2677
mailto:larry.corkey@energy.virginia.gov
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mailto:larry.corkey@energy.virginia.gov
mailto:amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
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Public Meeting and Opportunity for Public Comment 
for a Cleanup Plan for Moores and Mill Creeks in 

Rockbridge County, Virginia  

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) seeks public comment on the development of a cleanup 

plan for impaired waters, also known as an implementation 

plan, for Moores and Mill Creeks in Rockbridge County, 

Virginia. These streams are listed as impaired since monitoring 

data indicates that the waters do not meet Virginia's water 

quality standards for aquatic life (benthics). Section 303(d) of 

the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of 

Virginia requires DEQ to develop cleanup studies to address 

pollutants responsible for causing waters to be on Virginia's 

§ 303(d) list of impaired waters. Once a cleanup study is 

developed, § 62.1-44.19:7 of the Code of Virginia outlines the 

requirements needed in a cleanup plan to address the pollutants 

contained in the study. 

A cleanup plan has been completed for the Moores and Mill 

Creek watersheds that identifies corrective actions needed to 

improve water quality and discusses the associated costs and 

environmental benefits of the actions. A summary of the plan 

will be presented at the meeting. Citizens are invited to provide 

comment on the plan and will learn how they can be part of 

implementing the plan to improve water quality in the 

watershed. Community engagement meetings to assist in 

development of this cleanup plan were convened on November 

17, 2022, and May 31, 2023. 

Cleanup plan location: The cleanup plan addresses the 

following impaired stream segments: Moores Creek is located 

in northern Rockbridge County, with its headwaters just below 

the Augusta and Rockbridge County line. The impaired 

segment begins at the headwaters in Raphine and continues 

nine miles south to the confluence with South River. Mill 

Creek is located in Rockbridge County above the City of 

Lexington. The impaired segment is 9.14 miles in length. It 

begins at the headwaters of the stream south of Fairfield and 

continues to the confluence with the Maury River above 

Lexington. 

Public meeting: 150 South Main Street, Rockbridge County 

Administration Building, Board of Supervisors Meeting Room 

in Lexington, Virginia, on October 30, 2023, at 5:30 p.m. In 

the event of inclement weather, the meeting will be held on 

November 3, 2023, at the same time and location. 

Public comment period: October 30, 2023, to November 29, 

2023. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email or 

postal mail. All comments must be received by DEQ during 

the comment period. Submittals must include the name, 

organization represented (if any), mailing addresses, and 

telephone numbers of the commenter or requester. 

Contact agency staff listed for public comments, document 

requests, and additional information. The public may review 

the cleanup plan at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-

programs/water/water-quality/implementation/implementa 

tion-plans-under-development. 

Contact Information: Nesha McRae, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early 

Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 

(540) 217-7173, or email nesha.mcrae@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Rescission of Request for Applications for 
Pharmaceutical Processors - Health Service Area I 

On September 26, 2023, the Board of Pharmacy voted to 

rescind RFA No. PHR-2020-01 entitled Pharmaceutical 

Processors-Health Service Area I. This RFA was originally 

issued on September 25, 2020. The RFA for Health Service 

Area I will be conducted by the Virginia Cannabis Control 

Authority, which assumes control of the Medical Cannabis 

Program on January 1, 2024. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 

698-1810; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-quality/implementation/implementation-plans-under-development
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Errata 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-31. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 

Regulation. 

Publication: 40:4 VA.R. 187 October 9, 2023. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 187, 9VAC25-31-805 A, line 10, after "substances" 

delete "(PFAS)" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7567; Filed October 11, 2023, 9:43 a.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




