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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. Leftwich, Jr., Vice-Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven 

Popps; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade; Wren 

M. Williams. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Senior Regulations 

Analyst. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

January 2024 through January 2025 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

40:11 December 27, 2023 January 15, 2024 

40:12 January 10, 2024 January 29, 2024 

40:13 January 24, 2024 February 12, 2024 

40:14 February 7, 2024 February 26, 2024 

40:15 February 21, 2024 March 11, 2024 

40:16 March 6, 2024 March 25, 2024 

40:17 March 20, 2024 April 8, 2024 

40:18 April 3, 2024 April 22, 2024 

40:19 April 17, 2024 May 6, 2024 

40:20 May 1, 2024 May 20, 2024 

40:21 May 15, 2024 June 3, 2024 

40:22 May 29, 2024 June 17, 2024 

40:23 June 12, 2024 July 1, 2024 

40:24 June 26, 2024 July 15, 2024 

40:25 July 10, 2024 July 29, 2024 

40:26 July 24, 2024 August 12, 2024 

41:1 August 7, 2024 August 26, 2024 

41:2 August 21, 2024 September 9, 2024 

41:3 September 4, 2024 September 23, 2024 

41:4 September 18, 2024 October 7, 2024 

41:5 October 2, 2024 October 21, 2024 

41:6 October 16, 2024 November 4, 2024 

41:7 October 30, 2024 November 18, 2024 

41:8 November 13, 2024 December 2, 2024 

41:9 November 27, 2024 December 16, 2024 

41:10 December 11, 2024 December 30, 2024 

41:11 December 25, 2024 January 13, 2025 

41:12 January 8, 2025 January 27, 2025 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5. None specified. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 3.2-109 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Animal partisan. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services promulgate 

regulations setting minimum standards of care for the 

transportation, handling, and lairage of poultry prior to 

slaughter within the Commonwealth. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Board of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services voted to deny the petitioner's request 

for rulemaking for the following reasons: 

Many of the concerns and recommendations put forth by the 

petitioner are already addressed through the poultry industry's 

implementation of audited welfare standards adopted by the 

National Chicken Council, the National Turkey Federation, 

and the United Egg Producers. Maintaining the health and 

well-being of flocks is a priority for the poultry industry in 

order to deliver the best products and practices that meet 

consumers' expectations. 

In addition, Virginia already has enacted robust animal welfare 

laws that subject perpetrators of animal cruelty to criminal 

prosecution. Prosecution for criminal animal cruelty addresses 

many of the petitioner's concerns for inhumane handling of 

poultry during transport and lairage. 

Finally, promulgating the regulations that the petitioner 

suggests would negatively impact interstate commerce 

between Virginia and the poultry industries of neighboring 

states, such as West Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, and North 

Carolina. Because these neighboring states have not 

promulgated similar regulations to those suggested by the 

petitioner, adopting such regulations in Virginia would disrupt 

the ease of doing business across state lines. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture And 

Consumer Services, Oliver Hill Building, 102 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA, 23219, telephone (804) 786-4560, or email 

carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-21; Filed December 7, 2023, 2:39 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-31. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 

Regulation. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Andy Cortez. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: On July 12, 2023, the 

Department of Environmental Quality received Andy Cortez's 

petition to the State Water Control Board to regulate 

commercial fishing vessel pump water as a point source 

pollutant due to vacuum pump water containing dissolved 

organic matter, including nitrogen, phosphorous, suspended 

solids, and high biochemical oxygen demand (BOD). The 

petitioner asserts that the discharge is not in compliance with 

§ 62.1-44.2 or 62.1-44.5.9 A 1 3 of the Code of Virginia or 

9VAC25-31-50 A 1 or A 2 and formally requests that the board 

amend the existing Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) Permit Regulations (9VAC25-31) or 

develop a new regulation. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At the November 30, 2023, 

meeting of the State Water Control Board, staff presented the 

board with information on the petition and a summary of the 

comments received on the petition during the public comment 

period. The petition states that vacuum pumps are used to 

transfer netted fish and seawater from a waterbody into a 

hopper on the ship, the water is discharged overboard from the 

hopper via a pipe, and the fish are emptied into the hold of the 

ship. There is no addition of any pollutant or combination of 

pollutants to surface waters through the discharge of the 

vacuum pump water; therefore, discharges would not be 

considered a discharge of a pollutant per federal law and the 

Virginia Pollution Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31). This is consistent with the 

ruling in the North Carolina Coastal Fisheries Reform Group 

v. Capt. Gaston LLC et al. (76 F.4th 291 (4th Cir. 2023)) where 

returning bycatch to the ocean was not considered a discharge 

of a pollutant. The board voted to not initiate a rulemaking in 

response to the petition. 

Agency Contact: Joseph Bryan, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA, 23218, telephone (804) 659-2659, or email 

joseph.bryan@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No PFR24-20; Filed December 4, 2023, 1:03 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

mailto:Carolynn.Bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:joseph.bryan@deq.virginia.gov
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TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND 
 MOTOR VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-60. Ignition Interlock 

Program Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "Under 2.2-4007 I submit the 

following petition including attached documents: 

July 2012: VASAP Interlock Inception. Paradoxically, the 

Virginia interlock performance standard was set as "alcohol 

specific", and the design standard was set as the fuel cell. 

(24VAC35-60-70 "the machines shall be specific to alcohol", 

24VAC35-60-20 "Alcohol is defined as ethanol (C2H5OH)") 

August 2020: Virginia Townhall Form: TH-02 "Section 

24VAC35-60-70(F)(3) removes the reference to ignition 

interlocks being "alcohol specific" to prevent the public from 

assuming the device only detects ethanol to the exclusion of 

other types of alcohol." 

January 2021: Virginia Townhall, Form: TH-03: "VASAP 

recognizes that ignition interlocks can detect alcohols other 

than ethanol…" 

March 2021: VASAP removes Virginia's interlock 

performance standard: "The term "alcohol specific" is being 

deleted to remove any suggested claim that interlocks will only 

detect ethanol", Virginia Register of Regulations Volume 37, 

Issue 14, p 

December 2021: Minutes of Quarterly VASAP Meeting, Chief 

Legislative Officer for Lifesafer, "Mr. Ken Denton clarified 

that ignition interlocks are screening devices unlike 

evidentiary breath alcohol machines..." 

I submit the addition of the following verbiage to the end of 

24VAC35-60-70(F)(5): "Under no circumstance shall ignition 

interlock test results be used as evidence of noncompliance." 

An ignition interlock device (IID) "prevents a motor vehicle 

ignition from starting if a driver's blood alcohol content 

exceeds .02%." (§18.2-270.1) If the IID test result is under 

.02% BrAC, the car is allowed to start. If the IID test result is 

over .02% BrAC, the car's engine will not start. This is the 

breadth and scope of the ignition interlock; it either allows the 

driver to start the car or it doesn't. 

The IID fulfills the intent of the law, in its limited capacity as 

a preliminary breath test (PBT) for ethanol, by locking the 

ignition when a certain level of alcohol is detected. The only 

function of the device is to either lock the car's ignition or allow 

it to start. That is the punishment, and interlock installation is 

the compliance. This device will always stop the drunk driver 

from starting the car. 

VASAP has criminalized a screening device by using IID 

readings as evidence of noncompliance. Chief Legislative 

Officer for Lifesafer "Mr. Ken Denton clarified that ignition 

interlocks are screening devices unlike evidentiary breath 

alcohol machines..." (12/2021 VASAP Quarterly Meeting 

minutes) 

VASAP's IID program was based on the false premise that IID 

devices detect only alcohol. This is not true, as they detect 

many hydroxyl compounds, aka "alcohols". Sober people can 

receive failed readings for all sorts of causes, beyond their 

control, due to sources other than consumed alcohol. Routine 

metabolic processes and biomarkers for disease are just a few 

causes of sober failed readings. 

Virginia Townhall August 2020 states: "Section 24VAC35-60-

70(F)(3) removes the reference to ignition interlock being 

"alcohol specific" to prevent the public from assuming the 

device only detects ethanol to the exclusion of other types of 

alcohol." In January 2021 it was revealed on the same public 

forum that "VASAP recognizes that ignition interlocks can 

detect alcohols other than ethanol...The term "alcohol specific" 

is being deleted to remove any suggested claim that ignition 

interlocks will only detect ethanol". 

In March of 2021, the law was changed to be even more 

deceptive. The required performance standard of being 

"alcohol specific" was removed, and the law now implies 

interlocks react to and measure only ethanol, neither of which 

is true.  

It's also very important to understand that just because an 

interlock is calibrated for ethanol doesn't mean it can't detect 

other compounds at failing levels. In this case, being properly 

calibrated merely means that when ethanol is detected, the 

reading will be accurate. It doesn't mean the instrument detects 

only ethanol. 

These devices are being grossly misused but the solution is 

simple and cost effective. No IID readings can be used as 

evidence against someone. Interlocks are not rolling 

breathalyzers that have the capability of determining alcohol 

consumption. They interlock with the ignition if one or more 

hydroxyl compounds are detected; their function ceases once 

the ignition is on.  

These instruments detect many compounds, that's why they're 

just screening devices for alcohol. VASAP has removed the 

standard for IIDs to be "alcohol specific" because the fuel cell 

cannot meet it, yet they are still holding Virginians to that 

standard, and this is unethical. Interlock readings cannot be 

used as evidence of noncompliance. 

The VASAP IID User Agreement requires users to sign a 

document stating "Breath tests above the fail point...are 
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considered violations", yet VASAP now understands it cannot 

be assumed a failed reading is due to ethanol. 

Fuel cells are very sensitive to and very accurate for hydroxyls. 

They will lock the car every time a breath sample over .02% 

BrAC is registered, but IIDs can never determine which 

compound(s) within the alcohol family are being detected. Fuel 

cells can’t qualify compounds, therefore can’t quantify 

compounds. 

In 2021, according to FOIA, there were 7,889 IIDs installed in 

Virginia. During this same timeframe, according to the 2021 

VASAP Annual Executive Summary, there were 6,843 

requests for secondary interlock reviews. This is an 86% 

failure rate. In 2022 there were 7,474 IIDs installed (FOIA) and 

6,378 secondary reviews. (2022 VASAP Annual Executive 

Summary) This is an 85% failure rate. 

These statistics are astronomically high and unacceptable, any 

way you interpret them. Either you have thousands of people 

trying to drive drunk with an interlock, which is bad, or you 

have thousands of fails for non-consumed alcohol, which is 

bad. 

The fuel cell has extremely limited capability, and an interlock 

can only be used according to the law; as a screening lockout 

device. VASAP has been going above and beyond the law to 

keep people on the interlock in perpetuity by using failed 

readings as evidence. 

The readings from this instrument do not qualify as an 

evidential breath test (EBT) because it's just a PBT. VASAP 

should never restart anyone's 6 month interlock time based on 

a failed IID reading because it can, knowingly, be a false 

positive for ethanol. 

Interlocks can only be installed for a predetermined length of 

time because failed readings are expected with a non-alcohol 

specific device, and now VASAP admits the interlock is non-

alcohol specific. They quietly changed the law to reflect this, 

but are still penalizing people for failed IID readings they know 

can be generated from many compounds other than drinking 

alcohol. 

VASAP has monetized the interlock requirement by 

criminalizing readings from a screening device. This entire 

program is based on the DUI catching, alcohol-specific fallacy 

when the ignition interlock is just a DUI preventing lockout 

device that should be installed only for a predetermined 

duration. 

Humbly submitted, 

Cynthia Hites" 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: During its December 8, 

2023, meeting, the Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety 

Action Program denied this petition, taking no action for the 

following reason: 

The petitioner's recommendation to add the language "under 

no circumstance shall ignition interlock test results be used as 

evidence of non-compliance" to 24VAC35-60-70 F 5 

contradicts § 18.2-270.1 of the Code of Virginia, which 

requires a minimum of six consecutive months without 

alcohol-related violations of the interlock requirements. 

In addition, the petitioner's recommendation contradicts 

multiple court orders throughout the Commonwealth requiring 

alcohol-related events, on an ignition interlock device, to be 

returned to the court as violations. 

Agency Contact: Christopher Morris, Special Programs 

Coordinator, Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety 

Action Program, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 801, Richmond, 

VA, 23219, telephone (804) 786-5895, or email 

chris.morris@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-22; Filed December 11, 2023, 9:13 a.m. 

mailto:Chris.Morris@vasap.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulation is undergoing a periodic 

review and a small business impact review: 1VAC50-11, 

Public Participation Guidelines. The review of this 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review is to determine 

whether this regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to this regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins January 1, 2024, and ends 

January 22, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: LeGrand Northcutt, Senior Policy 

Analyst, Department of Housing and Community 

Development, Main Street Center, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 310-7151, or email 

legrand.northcutt@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commission on Local Government conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

1VAC50-20, Organization and Regulations of Procedure, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained as is. 

The commission is publishing its report of findings dated 

November 3, 2023, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary to uniformly and effectively 

govern the process by which the commission considers cases 

and proceedings. The commission will retain the regulation 

without amendment. There was no public comment regarding 

changes to the regulation. 

The regulation is not overly complex. The regulation does not 

overlap state law or regulation and includes specific reference 

to the Code of Virginia where applicable. The regulation was 

last evaluated in 2017. 

Contact Information: LeGrand Northcutt, Senior Policy 

Analyst, Department of Housing and Community 

Development, Main Street Center, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 310-7151, or email 

legrand.northcutt@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Criminal Justice Services Board will conduct a 

periodic review and a small business impact review on 

6VAC20-160, Regulations Relating to the Court-Appointed 

Special Advocate Program (CASA). The Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action, which is published in this issue of the 

Register, serves as the notice of announcement of the reviews. 

Contact information: Kristi Shalton, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-7801, or email 

kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home 

Inspectors conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 18VAC15-11, Public Participation 

Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained as is. The board is publishing its report of findings 

dated December 8, 2023, to support this decision. 

The board's public participation guidelines mirror the 

Department of Planning and Budget's (DPB's) model public 

participation guidelines. The guidelines, having the status of a 

regulation, are necessary to promote public involvement in the 

development, amendment, or repeal of regulations. Further, the 

regulation is clearly written and understandable. 

On November 30, 2023, the board voted to retain this 

regulation without amendment. The regulation continues to 

mirror the model public participation guidelines from DPB. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/legrand.northcutt@dhcd.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/legrand.northcutt@dhcd.virginia.gov
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There is a continued need for this regulation because it 

promotes public involvement in the development, amendment, 

or repeal of the regulations of the board. The board did not 

receive any comments or complaints during the public 

comment period. The regulation is not complex. The regulation 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any other federal 

or state laws or regulations. The regulation was last evaluated 

in 2019 and does not rely on technology, economic conditions, 

or any other factors due to the nature of public participation. 

This regulation outlines the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall as 

the mechanism for notification, registration, and meeting 

procedures for public participation. The board determined that 

this regulation has no economic impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Tanya Pettus, Administrator, Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-1795, 

FAX (866) 350-5354, or email alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home 

Inspectors conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 18VAC15-20, Virginia Asbestos Licensing 

Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained as is. The board is publishing its report of findings 

dated December 8, 2023, to support this decision. 

The regulation contains the requirements for (i) obtaining a 

license or training program accreditation, (ii) renewal of 

licenses and accreditations, (iii) standards of professional 

conduct to ensure competence and integrity of all regulants, 

and (iv) administering the regulatory program in accordance 

with Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 5 (§ 54.1-500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The regulation is 

necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare and is clearly written and understandable. 

On November 30, 2023, the board voted to retain the regulation 

without amendment. In accordance with the Governor's 

Executive Directive Number One (2022), the board is currently 

undertaking a separate action to perform a comprehensive line-

by-line review of this regulation. 

Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia mandates the board 

promulgate regulations. The continued need for the regulation 

is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 

the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 

board provides protection to the safety and welfare of the 

citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only those 

individuals who and firms that meet specific criteria set forth 

in the statutes and regulations are eligible for licensure as an 

(i) asbestos worker, (ii) asbestos supervisor, (iii) asbestos 

inspector, (iv) asbestos management planner, (v) asbestos 

project designer, (vi) asbestos project monitor, (vii) asbestos 

contractor, or (viii) asbestos analytical laboratory; or approval 

as an accredited asbestos training program. The board is also 

tasked with ensuring that the board's regulants meet standards 

of practice that are set forth in the regulation. 

There were no comments or complaints received during the 

public comment period. The regulation is clearly written, 

easily understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most recent 

periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2019. Currently, 

the board is conducting a comprehensive review of the 

regulation. 

Contact Information: Tanya Pettus, Administrator, Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-1795, 

FAX (866) 350-5354, or email alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home 

Inspectors conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 18VAC15-30, Virginia Lead-Based Paint 

Activities Regulations, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained as is. The board is publishing its report of 

findings dated December 8, 2023, to support this decision. 

The regulation contains the requirements for (i) obtaining a 

license or training program accreditation, (ii) renewal of 

licenses and accreditations, (iii) standards of professional 

conduct to ensure competence and integrity of all regulants, 

and (iv) administering the regulatory program in accordance 

with Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 5 (§ 54.1-500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The regulation is 

necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare and is clearly written and understandable. 

On November 30, 2023, the board voted to retain the regulation 

without"" amendment. In accordance with the Governor's 

Executive Directive Number One (2022), the board is currently 

undertaking a separate action to perform a comprehensive line-

by-line review of this regulation. 

Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia mandates the board 

promulgate regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 

established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove the 

current public protections provided by the regulation. The board 

provides protection to the safety and welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth by ensuring that only those individuals and firms 

that meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations 

are eligible for licensure as a (i) lead worker, (ii) lead project 

designer, (iii) lead supervisor, (iv) lead inspector, (v) lead risk 

assessor, or (vi) lead contractor; or approval as an accredited lead 

training program. The board is also tasked with ensuring that the 

board's regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth in 

the regulation. The regulation is clearly written, easily 

understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

federal or state law or regulation. The most recent periodic review 

of the regulation occurred in 2019. Currently, the board is 

conducting a comprehensive review of the regulation. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/alhi@dpor.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/alhi@dpor.virginia.gov
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Contact Information: Tanya Pettus, Administrator, Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-1795, 

FAX (866) 350-5354, or email alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home 

Inspectors conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 18VAC15-40, Home Inspector Licensing 

Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained as is. The board is publishing its report of findings 

dated December 8, 2023, to support this decision. 

The regulation contains the requirements for (i) obtaining a 

license or approval as an education course, (ii) renewal of 

licenses, (iii) standards of professional conduct to ensure 

competence and integrity of all regulants, and (iv) 

administering the regulatory program in accordance with 

Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 5 (§ 54.1-500 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The regulation is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare and is 

clearly written and understandable. 

On November 30, 2023, the board voted to retain the regulation 

without amendment. In accordance with the Governor's 

Executive Directive Number One (2022), the board is currently 

undertaking a separate action to perform a comprehensive line-

by-line review of this regulation. 

Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia mandates the board 

promulgate regulations. The continued need for the regulation 

is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 

the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 

board provides protection to the safety and welfare of the 

citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only those 

individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes 

and regulations are eligible to receive (i) a license as a home 

inspector; and (ii) designation for the new residential structure 

(NRS) specialty; and that training providers are appropriately 

qualified to provide pre-license education courses; NRS 

training modules; and NRS continuing professional education. 

The board is also tasked with ensuring that the board's 

regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth in the 

regulation. 

The regulation is clearly written and easily understandable and 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law 

or regulation. The most recent periodic review of the regulation 

occurred in 2019. Currently, the board is conducting a 

comprehensive review of the regulation. 

Contact Information: Tanya Pettus, Administrator, Board for 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-1795, 

FAX (866) 350-5354, or email alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

CEMETERY BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Cemetery Board conducted a periodic review and 

a small business impact review of 18VAC47-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained as is. The board is publishing its report of 

findings dated December 13, 2023, to support this decision. 

The board's public participation guidelines mirror the 

Department of Planning and Budget's (DPB's) model public 

participation guidelines. The guidelines, having the status of a 

regulation, are necessary to promote public involvement in the 

development, amendment, or repeal of regulations. Further, the 

regulation is clearly written and understandable. 

On September 6, 2023, the board voted to retain this regulation 

without amendment. The regulation continues to mirror the 

model public participation guidelines from DPB. 

There is a continued need for this regulation because the 

regulation promotes public involvement in the development, 

amendment, or repeal of the regulations of the board. The 

board did not receive any comments or complaints during the 

public comment period. The regulation is not complex. The 

regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any 

other federal or state laws or regulations. The regulation was 

last evaluated in 2019 and does not rely on technology, 

economic conditions, or any other factors due to the nature of 

public participation. This regulation outlines the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall as the mechanism for notification, 

registration, and meeting procedures for public participation. 

The board determined that this regulation has no economic 

impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Stephen Kirschner, Deputy Director for 

Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 

826-8863, or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Cemetery Board conducted a periodic review and 

a small business impact review of 18VAC47-20, Cemetery 

Board Rules and Regulations, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained as is. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated December 12, 2023, to support this 

decision. 

The regulation contains the requirements for (i) obtaining a 

license and registration, (ii) renewal of licenses and 

registrations and standards of practice and conduct, (iii) 

ensuring competence and integrity of all regulants, and (iv) 

administering the regulatory program in accordance with 

Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/alhi@dpor.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/alhi@dpor.virginia.gov
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of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The regulation is 

necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare and is clearly written and understandable. 

On September 6, 2023, the board voted to retain the regulation 

without amendment. In accordance with the Governor's 

Executive Directive Number One (2022), the board is currently 

undertaking a separate action to perform a comprehensive line-

by-line review of this regulation. 

Sections 54.1-201 and 54.1-2313 of the Code of Virginia 

mandate the board promulgate regulations. The continued need 

for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 

regulation would remove the current public protections 

provided by the regulation. The board provides protection to 

the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by 

ensuring that only those individuals who and companies that 

meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations 

are eligible to receive a cemetery company license, including 

the minimum qualifications for compliance agents and 

designees and for the registration of sales personnel. The board 

is also tasked with ensuring that the board's regulants meet 

standards of practice that are set forth in the regulation, 

including those related to perpetual care and preneed trust fund 

and bonding requirements and preneed burial contracts. 

There were no comments or complaints received during the 

public comment period. The regulation is clearly written, 

easily understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most recent 

periodic review of the regulation occurred in 2019. Currently, 

the board is conducting a comprehensive review of the 

regulation. 

Contact Information: Stephen Kirschner, Deputy Director for 

Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 

826-8863, or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board for Contractors conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 18VAC50-11, 

Public Participation Guidelines, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained as is. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated December 4, 2023, to support this 

decision. 

The board's public participation guidelines mirror the 

Department of Planning and Budget's (DPB's) model public 

participation guidelines. The guidelines, having the status of a 

regulation, are necessary to promote public involvement in the 

development, amendment, or repeal of regulations. Further, the 

regulation is clearly written and understandable. 

On September 19, 2023, the board voted to retain this 

regulation without amendment. The regulation continues to 

mirror the model public participation guidelines from DPB. 

There is a continued need for this regulation because it 

promotes public involvement in the development, amendment, 

or repeal of the regulations of the board. The board did not 

receive any comments or complaints during the public 

comment period. The regulation is not complex. The regulation 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any other federal 

or state laws or regulations. The regulation was last evaluated 

in 2019 and does not rely on technology, economic conditions, 

or any other factors due to the nature of public participation. 

This regulation outlines the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall as 

the mechanism for notification, registration, and meeting 

procedures for public participation. The board determined that 

this regulation has no economic impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Marjorie King, Executive Director, 

Board for Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, or email 

contractor@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board for Contractors conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 18VAC50-22, 

Board for Contractors Regulations, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained as is. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated November 28, 2023, to support this 

decision. 

The regulation contains the requirements for obtaining a 

license or training provider course approval, renewal, and 

reinstatement of licenses, standards of practice and conduct, 

and prelicense education to ensure competence and integrity of 

all licensees and to administer the regulatory program in 

accordance with Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 11 (§ 54.1-

1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The 

regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare and is clearly written and understandable. 

On September 19, 2023, the board voted to retain the 

regulation without amendment. In accordance with the 

Governor's Executive Directive Number One (2022), the board 

is currently undertaking a separate action to perform a 

comprehensive line-by-line review of this regulation. 

Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia mandates the board 

promulgate regulations. The continued need for the regulation 

is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 

the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 

board provides protection to the safety and welfare of the 

citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only those 

individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes 

and regulations are eligible to receive contractor license. The 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov
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board is also tasked with ensuring that the board's regulants 

meet standards of practice that are set forth in the regulation. 

There were no comments or complaints received during the 

public comment period. The regulation is clearly written and 

easily understandable and does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The most recent periodic review occurred in 2019. The board 

is currently conducting a comprehensive review of the 

regulation in accordance with Executive Directive Number 

One (2022). 

Contact Information: Marjorie King, Executive Director, 

Board for Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, or email 

contractor@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board for Contractors conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 18VAC50-30, 

Individual License and Certification Regulations, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained as is. The 

board is publishing its report of findings dated November 28, 

2023, to support this decision. 

The regulation contains the requirements for obtaining a 

license, certification, or training provider course approval, 

renewal, and reinstatement of licenses, standards of practice 

and conduct, and prelicense education to ensure competence 

and integrity of all licensees and to administer the regulatory 

program in accordance with Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 

11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare and is clearly written and understandable. 

On September 19, 2023, the board voted to retain the 

regulation without amendment. In accordance with the 

Governor's Executive Directive Number One (2022), the board 

is currently undertaking a separate action to perform a 

comprehensive line-by-line review of this regulation. 

Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia mandates the board 

promulgate regulations. The continued need for the regulation 

is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 

the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 

board provides protection to the safety and welfare of the 

citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only those 

individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes 

and regulations are eligible to receive contractor license. The 

board is also tasked with ensuring that the board's regulants 

meet standards of practice that are set forth in the regulations. 

One comment was received during the public comment period. 

The commenter suggested that the regulation should remain 

the same as the existing regulation has served the 

Commonwealth well. The board elected to retain the regulation 

in its current form, with the acknowledgment that such 

decision does not prevent the board from initiating action to 

review or amend the regulation in the future. 

The regulation is clearly written and easily understandable and 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law 

or regulation. The most recent periodic review occurred in 

2019. The board is currently conducting a comprehensive 

review of the regulation in accordance with Executive 

Directive Number One (2022). 

Contact Information: Marjorie King, Executive Director, 

Board for Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, or email 

contractor@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation (DPOR) conducted a periodic review and a small 

business impact review of 18VAC120-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained as is. The department is publishing its report 

of findings dated December 5, 2023, to support this decision. 

DPOR's public participation guidelines mirror the Department 

of Planning and Budget's (DPB's) model public participation 

guidelines. The guidelines, having the status of a regulation, 

are necessary to promote public involvement in the 

development, amendment, or repeal of regulations. Further, the 

regulation is clearly written and understandable. 

On November 30, 2023, the Director of DPOR made the 

decision to retain this regulation without amendment. The 

regulation continues to mirror the model public participation 

guidelines from DPB. 

There is a continued need for this regulation because the 

regulation promotes public involvement in the development, 

amendment, or repeal of the regulations of DPOR. DPOR did not 

receive any comments or complaints during the public comment 

period. The regulation is not complex. The regulation does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any other federal or state laws 

or regulations. The regulation was last evaluated in 2019 and does 

not rely on technology, economic conditions, or any other factors 

due to the nature of public participation. This regulation outlines 

the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall as the mechanism for 

notification, registration, and meeting procedures for public 

participation. DPOR determined that this regulation has no 

economic impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Joseph C. Haughwout, Jr., Regulatory 

Affairs Manager, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8566, or email 

joseph.haughwout@dpor.virginia.gov. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/contractor@dpor.virginia.gov
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Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation (DPOR) conducted a periodic review and a small 

business impact review of 18VAC120-30, Regulations 

Governing Polygraph Examiners, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained as is. The department is 

publishing its report of findings dated December 5, 2023, to 

support this decision. 

The regulation contains the requirements for obtaining a 

license, renewal and reinstatement of licenses, standards of 

practice and conduct, and approval of polygraphy schools to 

ensure competence and integrity of all licensees and to 

effectively administer the regulatory program in accordance 

with Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 18 (§ 54.1-1800 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The regulation is 

necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare and is clearly written and understandable. 

On November 30, 2023, the Director of DPOR made the 

decision to retain the regulation without amendment. In 

accordance with the Governor's Executive Directive Number 

One (2022), DPOR is currently undertaking a separate action 

to perform a comprehensive line-by-line review of this 

regulation. 

Sections 54.1-201 and 54.1802.1 of the Code of Virginia 

mandate DPOR promulgate regulations. The continued need 

for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 

regulation would remove the current public protections 

provided by the regulation. DPOR provides protection to the 

safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by 

ensuring that only those individuals who meet specific criteria 

set forth in statutes and regulations are eligible to receive a 

polygraph examiner license or to register as a polygraph 

examiner intern. DPOR is also tasked with ensuring that 

DPOR's regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth 

in the regulation. 

There were no comments or complaints received during the 

public comment period. The regulation is clearly written and 

easily understandable and does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The most recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 

2019. Currently, DPOR is conducting a comprehensive review 

of the regulation. 

Contact Information: Marjorie King, Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

2785, or email polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation (DPOR) conducted a periodic review and a small 

business impact review of 18VAC120-40, Virginia 

Professional Boxing and Wrestling Events Regulations, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained as is. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated December 

5, 2023, to support this decision. 

The regulation contains the requirements for (i) obtaining a 

license, (ii) standards of professional conduct, (iii) ensuring 

competence and integrity of all licensees, and (iv) 

administering the regulatory program in accordance with 

Chapters 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.) and 8 (§ 54.1-800 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The regulation is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare and is 

clearly written and understandable. 

On October 12, 2023, the Boxing, Martial Arts, and 

Professional Wrestling Advisory Board voted to recommend 

the regulation be retained without amendment. The board 

advises the Director of DPOR on matters relating to boxing, 

martial arts, and professional wrestling events in the 

Commonwealth. 

On November 30, 2023, the Director of DPOR made the 

decision to retain the regulation without amendment. In 

accordance with the Governor's Executive Directive Number 

One (2022), DPOR is currently undertaking a separate action 

to perform a comprehensive line-by-line review of this 

regulation. 

Sections 54.1-201 and 54.1-831 of the Code of Virginia 

mandate DPOR promulgate regulations. The continued need 

for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 

regulation would remove the current public protections 

provided by the regulation. DPOR provides protection to the 

safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by 

ensuring that only those individuals who meet specific criteria 

set forth in statutes and regulations are eligible to be licensed. 

DPOR is also tasked with ensuring that DPOR's regulants meet 

standards of practice that are set forth in the regulation. 

The comment received during the public comment period 

pertained to the deregulation of professional wrestling, which 

would require a change in statute. The regulation is clearly 

written and easily understandable and does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The most recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 

2019. Currently, DPOR is conducting a comprehensive review 

of the regulation. 

Contact Information: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8514, FAX (804) 527-4294, or email 

boxing@dpor.virginia.gov. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/boxing@dpor.virginia.gov


Periodic Reviews and Small Business Impact Reviews 

Volume 40, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations  January 1, 2024  

910 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Psychology conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 18VAC125-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained as is. The board is publishing its report of 

findings dated December 5, 2023, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because the regulation sets forth procedures 

for participation of the public in the development of board 

regulations. Additionally, the regulation is required by statute, 

and the board has no discretion not to maintain this regulation. 

The Board of Psychology has reviewed this regulation and 

determined that the regulation is clearly written and 

understandable. 

The board voted to retain the regulation without amendment. 

Public participation guidelines language is only changed when 

the Department of Planning and Budget has new model 

regulations for all agencies to adopt, which it does not. As a 

result, no changes are necessary. 

The board is required to maintain this regulation, therefore 

there is a continued need. There have been no complaints 

received related to this regulation, which is not complex. The 

regulation does not overlap with any other law. This regulation 

has not changed since approximately 2017. The regulation is a 

model regulation provided by the Department of Planning and 

Budget, however, and the board will alter the regulation if and 

when the Department of Planning and Budget recommends 

changes to the model regulation. 

Contact Information: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board 

of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA, 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4441, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulation is undergoing a periodic 

review and a small business impact review: 22VAC40-61, 

Standards and Regulations for Licensed Adult Day Care 

Centers. The review of this regulation will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a 

periodic review is to determine whether this regulation should 

be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for 

the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins January 1, 2024, and ends 

January 22, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Cynthia Carneal Heflin, Program 

Consultant, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7140, or 

email cynthia.carneal@dss.virginia.gov.

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/PeriodicReview/cynthia.carneal@dss.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 

intends to consider amending 6VAC20-160, Regulations 

Relating to the Court-Appointed Special Advocate 

Program (CASA). The purpose of the proposed action is to 

modify and update the requirements for the Court-Appointed 

Special Advocate Program. The intention of this regulatory 

action is to make technical amendments, eliminate unnecessary 

requirements, and update and clarify language. Substantive 

changes are being considered to training and volunteer 

requirements to eliminate unnecessary or overly burdensome 

requirements. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the board is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be terminated, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-151 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Kristi Shalton, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 Bank Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-7801, or email 

kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7720; Filed November 30, 2023, 7:00 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends to 

consider repealing 8VAC20-780, Standards for Licensed 

Child Day Centers, and promulgating 8VAC20-781, 

Standards for Licensed Child Day Centers. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to address the regulation's structure and 

format and provide clarification where burdensome and 

confusing language makes it difficult for the public to 

accurately interpret the regulation. Repeal of the existing 

regulation and adoption of a new regulation will allow greater 

flexibility to adjust the structure, format, and language of the 

current regulation; remove requirements found in the Code of 

Virginia; and incorporate updates to address changing national 

health and safety guidelines and practices, as well as pursuant 

to the Executive Order 19 (2022) while preserving protection 

of the health, safety, and welfare of children in care in 

programs regulated by the Department of Education. A 

comprehensive, yearlong review of the regulation using a 

workgroup made up of key stakeholders, including multiple 

child day center leaders and practitioners, resulted in the 

regulation intended to replace the regulation transferred to the 

Department of Education from the Department of Social 

Services pursuant to Chapters 860 and 861 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-289.046 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

750-8750, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7610; Filed December 13, 2023, 11:50 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, 

and Home Inspectors intends to consider amending 18VAC15-

30, Virginia Lead-Based Paint Activities Regulations. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to undertake a general review 

of the regulation in accordance with the regulatory reduction 

goal of Executive Directive Number One (2022). The 

regulation provides for the licensure of lead abatement 

workers, lead project designers, lead abatement supervisors, 

lead inspectors, lead risk assessors, lead contractors, and the 

accreditation of lead training programs. The goals of the action 

include (i) reviewing discretionary requirements imposed on 

regulated parties to determine whether such requirements 

impose burdens that are not necessary to protect the public 

mailto:kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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health, safety, and welfare; or are not necessary to effectively 

administer the licensure program; (ii) ensuring the regulation 

conforms to current Virginia law and meets applicable federal 

requirements, is organized, clear, and understandable, and 

provides minimal burdens on regulants while still protecting 

the public; and (iii) making sure the regulation reflects current 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

procedures and policies, along with any other changes 

determined to be necessary and appropriate.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Tanya Pettus, Administrator, Virginia Board 

for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

0362, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7743; Filed December 4, 2023, 8:07 a.m.

mailto:alhi@dpor.virginia.gov
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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-770. Piankatank River 

Management Area (repealing 4VAC20-770-10 through 

4VAC20-770-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In response to Executive Order 19 (2022) and Executive 

Directive One (2022), the amendments repeal Piankatank 

River Management Area (4VAC20-770). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7751; Filed December 5, 2023, 1:12 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-780. Patent Tong Restrictions 

(repealing 4VAC20-780-10 through 4VAC20-780-70). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In response to Executive Order 19 (2022) and Executive 

Directive One (2022), the amendments repeal Patent Tong 

Restrictions (4VAC20-780). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7752; Filed December 5, 2023, 1:12 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-790. Open Public Oyster 

Rocks, Pocomoke Sound (repealing 4VAC20-790-10 

through 4VAC20-790-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In response to Executive Order 19 (2022) and Executive 

Directive One (2022), the amendments repeal Open 

Public Oyster Rocks, Pocomoke Sound (4VAC20-790). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7753; Filed December 5, 2023, 1:28 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-810. Opening of John East 

Turn and Poynter Rocks and Closing Beaseley Bay Rock 

and Deep Creek Channel, Buoy No. 7 (repealing 4VAC20-

810-10 through 4VAC20-810-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

In response to Executive Order 19 (2022) and Executive 

Directive One (2022), the amendments repeal Opening of 

John East Turn and Poynter Rocks and Closing Beaseley 

Bay Rock and Deep Creek Channel, Buoy No. 7 (4VAC20-

810). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7754; Filed December 5, 2023, 1:30 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-830. A Change in the Oyster 

Cull Size for Oysters Harvested from Russ Rock, 

Rappahannock River (repealing 4VAC20-830-10 through 

4VAC20-830-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In response to Executive Order 19 (2022) and Executive 

Directive One (2022), the amendments repeal A Change 

in the Oyster Cull Size for Oysters Harvested from Russ 

Rock, Rappahannock River (4VAC20-830). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7755; Filed December 5, 2023, 1:16 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-850. Expansion of the Jail 

Island Clean Cull Area (repealing 4VAC20-850-10 through 

4VAC20-850-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In response to Executive Order 19 (2022) and Executive 

Directive One (2022), the amendments repeal Expansion 

of the Jail Island Clean Cull Area (4VAC20-850). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7756; Filed December 5, 2023, 1:16 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-860. A Change in the Oyster 

Cull Size for Oysters Harvested from Little Carters Rock, 

Rappahannock River (repealing 4VAC20-860-10 through 

4VAC20-860-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 31, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In response to Executive Order 19 (2022) and Executive 

Directive One (2022), the amendments repeal A Change 

in the Oyster Cull Size for Oysters Harvested from Little 

Carters Rock, Rappahannock River (4VAC20-860). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7757; Filed December 5, 2023, 1:17 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-70. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Licensed Certified Midwives (adding 

18VAC90-70-10 through 18VAC90-70-260). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.04 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 31, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-4455, 

or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 200 and 201 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, this action establishes a new 

regulation to license and provide practice requirements for 

certified midwives. Section 54.1-2957.04 of the Code of 

Virginia specifies the credential that will be considered as 

qualification for licensure and renewal, the requirement for 

a practice agreement, and the prescriptive authority for the 

profession. The new regulation establishes requirements 

similar to other licensed professions for a fee structure, 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
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renewal or reinstatement, continuing competency, and 

standards of practice. 

Pursuant to Chapter 191 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly, the 

one change to the proposed regulation allows for an agency 

subordinate to hear informal cases involving nonroutine 

applications to practice. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Chapter 70 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Certified 

Midwives 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC90-70-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acute pain" means pain that occurs within the normal course 

of a disease or condition or as the result of surgery for which 

controlled substances containing an opioid may be prescribed 

for no more than three months.  

"Approved program" means a midwifery education program 

that is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for 

Midwifery Education or its successor. 

"Boards" means the Virginia Board of Nursing and the 

Virginia Board of Medicine. 

"Chronic pain" means nonmalignant pain that goes beyond 

the normal course of a disease or condition for which 

controlled substances containing an opioid may be prescribed 

for a period greater than three months. 

"Committee" means the Committee of the Joint Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine. 

"Licensed certified midwife" means an advanced practice 

midwife who is jointly licensed by the Boards of Nursing and 

Medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2957.04 of the Code of Virginia. 

"MME" means morphine milligram equivalent.  

"Practice agreement" means a written or electronic statement, 

jointly developed by the consulting licensed physician and the 

licensed certified midwife, that describes the availability of the 

physician for routine and urgent consultation on patient care. 

"Prescription Monitoring Program" means the electronic 

system within the Department of Health Professions that 

monitors the dispensing of certain controlled substances. 

18VAC90-70-20. Delegation of authority.  

A. The boards hereby delegate to the Executive Director of 

the Virginia Board of Nursing the authority to issue the initial 

licensure and the biennial renewal of such licensure to those 

persons who meet the requirements set forth in this chapter and 

to grant extensions or exemptions for compliance with 

continuing competency requirements as set forth in 18VAC90-

70-90 E and F. Questions of eligibility shall be referred to the 

Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine. 

B. All records and files related to the licensure of licensed 

certified midwives shall be maintained in the office of the 

Virginia Board of Nursing. 

18VAC90-70-30. Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing 

and Medicine.  

A. The Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and 

Medicine, appointed pursuant to 18VAC90-30-30 and 

consisting of three members appointed from the Board of 

Medicine and three members appointed from the Board of 

Nursing, shall administer this chapter.  

B. In accordance with 18VAC90-30-30, the committee may, 

in its discretion, appoint an advisory committee. The advisory 

committee shall include practitioners specified in 18VAC90-

30-30. 

18VAC90-70-40. Fees.  

Fees required in connection with the licensure of certified 

midwives are: 

1. Application $125 

2. Biennial licensure renewal $80 

3. Late renewal $25 

4. Reinstatement of licensure $150 

5. Verification of licensure to another 

jurisdiction 

$35 

6. Duplicate license $15 

7. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

8. Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card 

$50 

9. Reinstatement of suspended or 

revoked license 

$200 
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Part II 

Licensure 

18VAC90-70-50. Licensure generally.  

A. No person shall perform services as a certified midwife in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia except as prescribed in this 

chapter and when licensed by the Boards of Nursing and 

Medicine. 

B. The boards shall license applicants who meet the 

qualifications for licensure as set forth in 18VAC90-70-60 or 

18VAC90-70-70. 

18VAC90-70-60. Qualifications for initial licensure.  

An applicant for initial licensure as a licensed certified 

midwife shall: 

1. Submit evidence of a graduate degree in midwifery from 

an approved program; 

2. Submit evidence of current certification as a certified 

midwife by the American Midwifery Certification Board; 

3. File the required application; and 

4. Pay the application fee prescribed in 18VAC90-70-40. 

18VAC90-70-70. Qualifications for licensure by 

endorsement.  

An applicant for licensure by endorsement as a licensed 

certified midwife shall: 

1. Provide verification of a license as a certified midwife in 

another United States jurisdiction with a license in good 

standing or, if lapsed, eligible for reinstatement; 

2. Submit evidence of current certification as a certified 

midwife by the American Midwifery Certification Board; 

3. File the required application; and 

4. Pay the application fee prescribed in 18VAC90-70-40. 

18VAC90-70-80. Renewal of licensure.  

A. Licensure of a licensed certified midwife shall be renewed 

biennially. 

B. The renewal notice of the license shall be sent to the last 

known address of record of each licensed certified midwife. 

Failure to receive the renewal notice shall not relieve the 

licensee of the responsibility for renewing the license by the 

expiration date. 

C. The licensed certified midwife shall attest to current 

certification as a certified midwife by the American Midwifery 

Certification Board and submit the license renewal fee 

prescribed in 18VAC90-70-40. 

D. The license shall automatically lapse if the licensee fails to 

renew by the expiration date. Any person practicing as a 

certified midwife during the time a license has lapsed shall be 

subject to disciplinary actions by the boards. 

18VAC90-70-90. Continuing competency requirements.  

A. In order to renew a license biennially, a licensed certified 

midwife shall hold a current certification as a certified midwife 

by the American Midwifery Certification Board. 

B. A licensed certified midwife shall obtain a total of eight 

hours of continuing education in pharmacology or 

pharmacotherapeutics for each biennium. 

C. The licensed certified midwife shall retain evidence of 

compliance with this section and all supporting documentation 

for a period of four years following the renewal period for 

which the records apply. 

D. The boards shall periodically conduct a random audit of at 

least 1.0% of their licensed certified midwives to determine 

compliance. The licensed certified midwives selected for the 

audit shall provide the evidence of compliance and supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

E. The boards may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

submitted prior to the renewal date. 

F. The boards may delegate to the committee the authority to 

grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing education 

requirements in subsection B of this section for circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters. 

18VAC90-70-100. Reinstatement of license.  

A. A licensed certified midwife whose license has lapsed may 

be reinstated within one renewal period by payment of the 

current renewal fee and the late renewal fee.  

B. An applicant for reinstatement of license lapsed for more 

than one renewal period shall:  

1. File the required application and reinstatement fee; and 

2. Provide evidence of current professional competency 

consisting of: 

a. Current certification by the American Midwifery 

Certification Board; 

b. Continuing education hours completed during the 

period in which the license was lapsed, equal to the 

number required for licensure renewal during that period, 

not to exceed 120 hours; or  

c. If applicable, a current, unrestricted license as a certified 

midwife in another jurisdiction. 

C. An applicant for reinstatement of a license following 

suspension or revocation shall:  
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1. Petition for reinstatement and pay the reinstatement fee; 

and 

2. Present evidence that he is competent to resume practice 

as a licensed certified midwife in Virginia, to include: 

a. Current certification by the American Midwifery 

Certification Board; and 

b. Continuing education hours taken during the period in 

which the license was suspended or revoked, equal to the 

number required for licensure during that period, not to 

exceed 120 hours.  

The committee shall act on the petition pursuant to the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000, et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

Part III 

Practice of Licensed Certified Midwives 

18VAC90-70-110. Practice of licensed certified midwives.  

A. All licensed certified midwives shall practice in 

accordance with a written or electronic practice agreement as 

defined in 18VAC90-70-10.  

B. The written or electronic practice agreement shall include 

provisions for the availability of the physician for routine and 

urgent consultation on patient care. 

C. The practice agreement shall be maintained by the licensed 

certified midwife and provided to the boards upon request. For 

licensed certified midwives providing care to patients within a 

hospital or health care system, the practice agreement may be 

included as part of documents delineating the licensed certified 

midwife's clinical privileges or the electronic or written 

delineation of duties and responsibilities; however, the 

licensed certified midwife shall be responsible for providing a 

copy to the boards upon request. 

D. The practice of licensed certified midwives shall be 

consistent with the standards of care for the profession. 

E. The licensed certified midwife shall include on each 

prescription issued or dispensed the licensed certified 

midwife's signature and Drug Enforcement Administration 

(DEA) number, when applicable.  

F. The licensed certified midwife shall disclose to patients at 

the initial encounter that the licensed certified midwife is a 

licensed certified midwife. Such disclosure may be included on 

a prescription or may be given in writing to the patient. 

G. A licensed certified midwife who provides health care 

services to a patient outside of a hospital or birthing center shall 

disclose to that patient, when appropriate, information on 

health risks associated with births outside of a hospital or 

birthing center, including to risks associated with vaginal 

births after a prior cesarean section, breech births, births by 

women experiencing high-risk pregnancies, and births 

involving multiple gestation.  

H. The licensed certified midwife shall disclose, upon request 

of a patient or a patient's legal representative, the name of the 

consulting physician, and information regarding how to 

contact the consulting physician. 

Part IV 

Prescribing 

18VAC90-70-120. Prescribing for self or family.  

A. Treating or prescribing shall be based on a bona fide 

practitioner-patient relationship, and prescribing shall meet the 

criteria set forth in § 54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. A licensed certified midwife shall not prescribe a 

controlled substance to himself or a family member, other than 

Schedule VI as defined in § 54.1-3455 of the Code of Virginia, 

unless the prescribing occurs in an emergency situation or in 

isolated settings where there is no other qualified practitioner 

available to the patient, or it is for a single episode of an acute 

illness through one prescribed course of medication. 

C. When treating or prescribing for self or family, the licensed 

certified midwife shall maintain a patient record documenting 

compliance with statutory criteria for a bona fide practitioner-

patient relationship. 

18VAC90-70-130. Waiver for electronic prescribing.  

A. A prescription for a controlled substance that contains an 

opioid shall be issued as an electronic prescription consistent 

with § 54.1-3408.02 of the Code of Virginia, unless the 

prescription qualifies for an exemption as set forth in § 54.1-

3408.02 C. 

B. Upon written request, the boards may grant a one-time 

waiver of the requirement of subsection A of this section for a 

period not to exceed one year, due to demonstrated economic 

hardship, technological limitations that are not reasonably 

within the control of the prescriber, or other exceptional 

circumstances demonstrated by the prescriber. 

Part V 

Management of Acute Pain 

18VAC90-70-140. Evaluation of the patient for acute pain.  

A. The requirements of this part shall not apply to: 

1. The treatment of acute pain related to (i) cancer, (ii) sickle 

cell, (iii) a patient in hospice care, or (iv) a patient in 

palliative care; 

2. The treatment of acute pain during an inpatient hospital 

admission or in a nursing home or an assisted living facility 

that uses a sole source pharmacy; or 

3. A patient enrolled in a clinical trial as authorized by state 

or federal law.  

B. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain shall 

be given consideration prior to treatment with opioids. If an 

opioid is considered necessary for the treatment of acute pain, 
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the practitioner shall give a short-acting opioid in the lowest 

effective dose for the fewest possible days.  

C. Prior to initiating treatment with a controlled substance 

containing an opioid for a complaint of acute pain, the 

prescriber shall perform a history and physical examination 

appropriate to the complaint, query the Prescription 

Monitoring Program as set forth in § 54.1-2522.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, and conduct an assessment of the patient's history 

and risk of substance misuse as a part of the initial evaluation. 

18VAC90-70-150. Treatment of acute pain with opioids.  

A. Initiation of opioid treatment for patients with acute pain 

shall be with short-acting opioids. 

1. A prescriber providing treatment for a patient with acute 

pain shall not prescribe a controlled substance containing an 

opioid in a quantity that exceeds a seven-day supply as 

determined by the manufacturer's directions for use, unless 

extenuating circumstances are clearly documented in the 

medical record. This shall also apply to prescriptions of a 

controlled substance containing an opioid upon discharge 

from an emergency department. 

2. An opioid prescribed as part of treatment for a surgical 

procedure shall be for no more than 14 consecutive days in 

accordance with manufacturer's direction and within the 

immediate perioperative period, unless extenuating 

circumstances are clearly documented in the medical record. 

B. Initiation of opioid treatment for all patients shall include 

the following: 

1. The practitioner shall carefully consider and document in 

the medical record the reasons to exceed 50 MME per day.  

2. Prior to exceeding 120 MME per day, the practitioner 

shall document in the medical record the reasonable 

justification for such doses or refer to or consult with a pain 

management specialist.  

3. Naloxone shall be prescribed for any patient when risk 

factors of prior overdose, substance misuse, doses in excess 

of 120 MME per day, or concomitant benzodiazepine are 

present.  

C. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when opioids are 

used with benzodiazepines, sedative hypnotics, carisoprodol, 

and tramadol (an atypical opioid), the prescriber shall only co-

prescribe these substances when there are extenuating 

circumstances and shall document in the medical record a 

tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible effective doses if 

these medications are prescribed. 

D. Buprenorphine is not indicated for acute pain in the 

outpatient setting, except when a prescriber who has obtained 

a U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 

Administration (SAMHSA) waiver is treating pain in a patient 

whose primary diagnosis is the disease of addiction. 

18VAC90-70-160. Medical records for acute pain.  

The medical record shall include a description of the pain, a 

presumptive diagnosis for the origin of the pain, an 

examination appropriate to the complaint, a treatment plan, and 

the medication prescribed or administered to include the date, 

type, dosage, and quantity prescribed or administered. 

Part VI 

Management of Chronic Pain 

18VAC90-70-170. Evaluation of the chronic pain patient.  

A. The requirements of this part shall not apply to: 

1. The treatment of chronic pain related to (i) cancer, (ii) 

sickle cell, (iii) a patient in hospice care, or (iv) a patient in 

palliative care; 

2. The treatment of chronic pain during an inpatient hospital 

admission or in a nursing home or an assisted living facility 

that uses a sole source pharmacy; or 

3. A patient enrolled in a clinical trial as authorized by state 

or federal law. 

B. Prior to initiating management of chronic pain with a 

controlled substance containing an opioid, a medical history 

and physical examination, to include a mental status 

examination, shall be performed and documented in the 

medical record, including: 

1. The nature and intensity of the pain; 

2. Current and past treatments for pain; 

3. Underlying or coexisting diseases or conditions; 

4. The effect of the pain on physical and psychological 

function, quality of life, and activities of daily living; 

5. Psychiatric, addiction, and substance misuse histories of 

the patient and any family history of addiction or substance 

misuse;  

6. A urine drug screen or serum medication level;  

7. A query of the Prescription Monitoring Program as set 

forth in § 54.1-2522.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

8. An assessment of the patient's history and risk of 

substance misuse; and 

9. A request for prior applicable records. 

C. Prior to initiating opioid analgesia for chronic pain, the 

practitioner shall discuss with the patient the known risks and 

benefits of opioid therapy and the responsibilities of the patient 

during treatment to include securely storing the drug and 

properly disposing of any unwanted or unused drugs. The 

practitioner shall also discuss with the patient an exit strategy 

for the discontinuation of opioids in the event they are not 

effective. 
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18VAC90-70-180. Treatment of chronic pain with opioids.  

A. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain shall 

be given consideration prior to treatment with opioids. 

B. In initiating opioid treatment for all patients, the 

practitioner shall: 

1. Carefully consider and document in the medical record the 

reasons to exceed 50 MME per day;  

2. Prior to exceeding 120 MME per day, the practitioner 

shall document in the medical record the reasonable 

justification for such doses or refer to or consult with a pain 

management specialist; 

3. Prescribe naloxone for any patient when risk factors of 

prior overdose, substance misuse, doses in excess of 120 

MME per day, or concomitant benzodiazepine are present; 

and 

4. Document the rationale to continue opioid therapy every 

three months. 

C. Buprenorphine mono-product in tablet form shall not be 

prescribed for chronic pain. 

D. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when opioids, 

including buprenorphine, are given with other opioids, 

benzodiazepines, sedative hypnotics, carisoprodol, and 

tramadol (an atypical opioid), the prescriber shall only co-

prescribe these substances when there are extenuating 

circumstances and shall document in the medical record a 

tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible effective doses if 

these medications are prescribed. 

E. The practitioner shall regularly evaluate for opioid use 

disorder and shall initiate specific treatment for opioid use 

disorder, consult with an appropriate health care provider, or 

refer the patient for evaluation for treatment if indicated. 

18VAC90-70-190. Treatment plan for chronic pain.  

A. The medical record shall include a treatment plan that 

states measures to be used to determine progress in treatment, 

including pain relief and improved physical and psychosocial 

function, quality of life, and daily activities. 

B. The treatment plan shall include further diagnostic 

evaluations and other treatment modalities or rehabilitation 

that may be necessary depending on the etiology of the pain 

and the extent to which the pain is associated with physical and 

psychosocial impairment. 

C. The prescriber shall record in the medical records the 

presence or absence of any indicators for medication misuse or 

diversion and take appropriate action. 

18VAC90-70-200. Informed consent and agreement to 

treatment of chronic pain.  

A. The practitioner shall document in the medical record 

informed consent, to include risks, benefits, and alternative 

approaches, prior to the initiation of opioids for chronic pain. 

B. There shall be a written treatment agreement, signed by the 

patient, in the medical record that addresses the parameters of 

treatment, including those behaviors that will result in referral 

to a higher level of care, cessation of treatment, or dismissal 

from care. 

C. The treatment agreement shall include notice that the 

practitioner will query and receive reports from the 

Prescription Monitoring Program and permission for the 

practitioner to: 

1. Obtain urine drug screen or serum medication levels, 

when requested; and 

2. Consult with other prescribers or dispensing pharmacists 

for the patient. 

D. Expected outcomes shall be documented in the medical 

record, including improvement in pain relief and function or 

simply in pain relief. Limitations and side effects of chronic 

opioid therapy shall be documented in the medical record. 

18VAC90-70-210. Opioid therapy for chronic pain.  

A. The practitioner shall review the course of pain treatment 

and any new information about the etiology of the pain or the 

patient's state of health at least every three months. 

B. Continuation of treatment with opioids shall be supported 

by documentation of continued benefit from the prescribing. If 

the patient's progress is unsatisfactory, the practitioner shall 

assess the appropriateness of continued use of the current 

treatment plan and consider the use of other therapeutic 

modalities. 

C. Practitioners shall check the Prescription Monitoring 

Program at least every three months after the initiation of 

treatment.  

D. The practitioner shall order and review a urine drug screen 

or serum medication levels at the initiation of chronic pain 

management and thereafter randomly at the discretion of the 

practitioner but at least once a year. 

E. The practitioner shall regularly evaluate for opioid use 

disorder and shall initiate specific treatment for opioid use 

disorder, consult with an appropriate health care provider, or 

refer the patient for evaluation for treatment if indicated. 

18VAC90-70-220. Additional consultation.  

A. When necessary to achieve treatment goals, the prescriber 

shall refer the patient for additional evaluation and treatment. 
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B. When a practitioner makes the diagnosis of opioid use 

disorder, treatment for opioid use disorder shall be initiated or 

the patient shall be referred for evaluation and treatment. 

18VAC90-70-230. Medical records.  

The prescriber shall keep current, accurate, and complete 

records in an accessible manner and readily available for 

review to include: 

1. The medical history and physical examination; 

2. Past medical history; 

3. Applicable records from prior treatment providers or any 

documentation of attempts to obtain those records; 

4. Diagnostic, therapeutic, and laboratory results; 

5. Evaluations and consultations; 

6. Treatment goals; 

7. Discussion of risks and benefits; 

8. Informed consent and agreement for treatment; 

9. Treatments; 

10. Medications, including date, type, dosage and quantity 

prescribed, and refills; 

11. Patient instructions; and  

12. Periodic reviews. 

Part VII 

Disciplinary Provisions 

18VAC90-70-240. Grounds for disciplinary action against 

the license of a certified midwife.  

The boards may deny licensure or relicensure, revoke or 

suspend the license, or place on probation, censure, reprimand, 

or impose a monetary penalty on a licensed certified midwife 

for the following unprofessional conduct: 

1. Has had licensure to practice midwifery in this 

Commonwealth or in another jurisdiction revoked or 

suspended or otherwise disciplined; 

2. Has directly or indirectly held himself out or represented 

himself to the public as a physician or is able to, or will 

practice independently of a physician; 

3. Has performed procedures or techniques that are outside 

the scope of practice as a licensed certified midwife and for 

which the licensed certified midwife is not trained and 

individually competent; 

4. Has violated or cooperated in the violation of the laws or 

regulations governing the practice of medicine, nursing, or 

certified midwifery; 

5. Has become unable to practice with reasonable skill and 

safety as the result of physical or mental illness or the exces-

sive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other 

type of material;  

6. Has violated or cooperated with others in violating or 

attempting to violate any law or regulation, state or federal, 

relating to the possession, use, dispensing, administration, or 

distribution of drugs; 

7. Has failed to comply with continuing competency 

requirements as set forth in 18VAC90-70-90; 

8. Has willfully or negligently breached the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a patient. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful; 

9. Has engaged in unauthorized use or disclosure of 

confidential information received from the Prescription 

Monitoring Program; or 

10. Has practiced as a licensed certified midwife during a 

time when the practitioner's certification as a certified 

midwife by the American Midwifery Certification Board has 

lapsed. 

18VAC90-70-250. Hearings.  

A. The provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) shall govern proceedings 

on questions of violation of 18VAC90-70-240.  

B. The Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and 

Medicine shall conduct all proceedings prescribed in this 

chapter and shall take action on behalf of the boards. 

18VAC90-70-260. Delegation of proceedings.  

A. Decision to delegate. In accordance with subdivision 10 of 

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, the committee may 

delegate an informal fact-finding proceeding to an agency 

subordinate [ upon determination that probable cause exists 

that a licensed certified midwife may be subject to a 

disciplinary action ]. 

B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that involve intentional or 

negligent conduct that caused serious injury or harm to a 

patient may not be delegated to an agency subordinate, except 

as may be approved by the chair of the committee. 

C. Criteria for an agency subordinate. 

1. An agency subordinate authorized by the committee to 

conduct an informal fact-finding proceeding may include 

current or past board members, professional staff, or other 

persons deemed knowledgeable by virtue of their training 

and experience in administrative proceedings involving the 

regulation and discipline of health professionals. 



Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 10 Virginia Register of Regulations  January 1, 2024  

921 

2. The Executive Director of the Board of Nursing shall 

maintain a list of appropriately qualified persons to whom 

an informal fact-finding proceeding may be delegated. 

3. The committee may delegate to the executive director the 

selection of the agency subordinate who is deemed 

appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding based on the 

qualifications of the subordinate and the type of case being 

heard. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(18VAC90-70) 

Standards for the Practice of Midwifery, revised 2011, 

American College of Nurse-Midwives 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7056; Filed December 1, 2023, 9:19 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts amendments to regulations of the board to 

schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to subsection 

D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 31, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments place three compounds into Schedule I 

of the Drug Control Act. The added compounds will 

remain in effect for 18 months or until the compounds are 

placed in Schedule I by action of the General Assembly. 

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. N,N-diethyl-2-[5-nitro-2-(4-

propoxybenzyl)-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl]ethanamine (other 

name: Protonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 

salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(cyclohexylamino)butan-1-one 

(other names: Cybutylone, N-cyclohexyl Butylone), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

3. Compounds expected to have depressant properties. 8-

bromo-6-(2-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-

[1,2,4]triazolo[4,3-a][1,4]benzodiazepine (other names: 

Clobromazolam, Phenazolam), its salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

4. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. 5-bromo-N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-

1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-5Br-

INACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-5-bromo-

1-butylindazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-5'Br-

BUTINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until July 31, 2024, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. 2-methyl-N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-

phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl]butanamide (other name: 2-

methyl butyryl fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 

salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

a. 1-(7-methoxy-1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)propan-2-amine 

(other names: 5-methoxy-3,4-

methylenedioxyamphetamine, 3-methoxy MDA, 

MMDA), its salts, isomers (optical, position, and 

geometric), and salts of isomers whenever the existence of 

such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

b. 1-[1-(3-chlorophenyl)cyclohexyl]-piperidine (other 

names: 3-Chloro Phencyclidine, 3Cl-PCP, 3-chloro PCP), 

its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the 

http://www.midwife.org/acnm/files/acnmlibrarydata/uploadfilename/000000000051/standards_for_practice_of_midwifery_sept_2011.pdf
http://www.midwife.org/acnm/files/acnmlibrarydata/uploadfilename/000000000051/standards_for_practice_of_midwifery_sept_2011.pdf
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Compound expected to have depressant properties. 7-

bromo-5-phenyl-1,3-dihydro-1,4-benzodiazepin-2-one 

(other names: Desalkylgidazepam, Bromonordiazepam), its 

salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

4. Compound classified as a cannabimimetic agent. Methyl 

N-[(5-bromo-1H-indazol-3-yl)carbonyl]-3-methyl-valinate 

(other name: MDMB-5Br-INACA), its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until October 12, 2024, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioids: 

a. 2-(4-isopropoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1-[2-(pyrrolidin-1-

yl)ethyl]-1H-benzo[d]imidazole (other name: N-

Pyrrolidino Isotonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 5-nitro-2-(4-propoxybenzyl)-1-[2-(pyrrolidin-1-

yl)ethyl]-1H-benzo[d]imidazole (other names: N-

Pyrrolidino Protonitazene, Protonitazepyne), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

c. N-phenyl-N-(1-propionyl-4-piperidinyl)-propanamide 

(other name: N-propionyl Norfentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

2. Synthetic compounds. 

a. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-

yl)pentanamide (other names: para-fluoro valeryl 

fentanyl, para-fluoro pentanoyl fentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-

yl]acetamide (other name: para-fluoroacetyl fentanyl), its 

isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 

and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

a. 1-[1-(3-fluorophenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 

names: 3-fluoro Phencyclidine, 3F-PCP), its salts, isomers 

(optical, position, and geometric), and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 2-(ethylamino)-2-(2-fluorophenyl)-cyclohexanone 

(other names: 2-fluoro-2-oxo PCE, 2-fluoro NENDCK), 

its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

4. Compounds expected to have depressive properties: 

a. 6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo[4,3-

a][1,4]benzodiazepine (other names: 4'-chloro 

Deschloroalprazolam, 4'Cl-Deschloroalprazolam), its 

salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

b. 7-chloro-5-(2-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-3H-1,4-

benzodiazepin-2-one (other names: Diclazepam, 2-

Chlorodiazepam), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

5. Central nervous system stimulant. 2-(3-chlorophenyl)-3-

methylmorpholine (other name: 3-chlorophenmetrazine), its 

salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until March 27, 2025, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid.  

a. N-ethyl-2-[5-nitro-2-[(4-propan-2-

yloxyphenyl)methyl]benzimidazol-1-yl]ethanamine 

(other name: N-desethyl Isotonitazene), its isomers, esters, 

ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 
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b. 7-[(3-chloro-6-methyl-5,5-dioxo-11H-

benzo[c][2,1]benzothiazepin-11-yl)amino]heptanoic acid 

(other name: Tianeptine), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation.  

2. Cannabimimetic agent. Ethyl-3,3-dimethyl-2-[(1-(pent-4-

enylindazole-3-carbonyl)amino]butanoate (other name: 

EDMB-4en-PINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until July 31, 2025, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7665; Filed December 8, 2023, 1:17 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, or 

police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-70. Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Regulations (amending 19VAC30-70-9, 

19VAC30-70-9.1, 19VAC30-70-10, 19VAC30-70-20, 

19VAC30-70-40, 19VAC30-70-80, 19VAC30-70-150, 

19VAC30-70-160, 19VAC30-70-190, 19VAC30-70-290, 

19VAC30-70-530, 19VAC30-70-560, 19VAC30-70-570; 

repealing 19VAC30-70-330). 

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Captain Sean Stewart, Safety Officer, 

Department of State Police, P.O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA 

23261, telephone (804) 278-5300, or email 

sean.stewart@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Executive Directive One (2022) and Executive 

Order 19 (2022), the amendments make technical 

corrections to the Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection 

Regulations (19VAC30-70). Specifically, the amendments 

(i) allow practical experience in combination with 

mirroring a certified inspector to suffice as adequate 

training; (ii) remove a requirement for an applicant to 

visit a test site, eliminate certain forms and routing, and 

allow the supervising trooper to issue an inspector's 

license directly; (iii) eliminate the second mandatory 

annual shipment of supplies to inspection stations, 

allowing stations to order additional supplies as often as 

necessary; (iv) treat out-of-state vehicles the same as 

Virginia vehicles for inspection purposes; (v) streamline 

the process for inspection stations to process and submits 

fees collected and due; (vi) clarify brake pad and brake 

lining requirements; (vii) streamline requirements 

relating to lamps located on the rear of a vehicle; (viii) 

remove the requirement to inspect unapproved lights that 

remain unlighted during the inspection and are not wired 

into a required lighting system, eliminate the inspection of 

emergency vehicle lights, and clarify which types of light 

covers and lenses are permissible; (ix) remove an 

unnecessary reference to a center, high mount, stop light; 

(x) remove the failure for airbag readiness light and shift 

focus to the condition of the actual airbag; (xi) eliminate 

a requirement for certain fender mounted lamps and 

reduce requirements for trucks equipped with camper 

shells; and (xii) clarify that lighting equipment must 

comply with requirements in the Code of Virginia.  

19VAC30-70-9. Inspector requirements. 

A. The inspection of motor vehicles required by this chapter 

shall be made only by those individuals who are certified and 

licensed as safety inspectors by the Department of State Police. 

The procedures outlined in this section are applicable to the 

processing of applications for initial certification, 

reclassification of safety inspector's licenses, and reinstatement 

of suspended or revoked safety inspector's licenses. 

B. All certified inspectors shall be at least 18 years of age and 

meet the following qualifications: 

1. A minimum of one year of practical experience as an 

automotive mechanic or (six months of practical experience 

as an automotive mechanic combined with an additional and 

separate six months of mirroring a certified state inspector 

shall suffice as practical experience), or 

2. Satisfactorily completed a training program in the field of 

automotive mechanics approved by the Superintendent of 

State Police. 

A person who has met either of the practical experience 

requirements in repairing motorcycles may be certified to 

inspect motorcycles only. A person who meets practical 

experience requirements in repairing trailers may be certified 

to inspect trailers only. 

C. Each mechanic entering the inspection program is required 

to satisfactorily pass a written and practical examination 

exhibiting knowledge of the inspection procedures. 

D. Each certified inspector shall possess a valid Virginia 

driver's license with the following exceptions: 

mailto:sean.stewart@vsp.virginia.gov
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1. An inspector who is a resident of an adjoining state 

holding a valid driver's license in that state and who 

commutes regularly to work in Virginia; or 

2. A member of the armed forces of the United States on 

active duty, or a dependent or spouse thereof, who holds a 

driver's license from his the inspector's home state. 

E. An inspector whose driver's license is suspended or 

revoked, including the seven-day administrative suspension 

for an arrest for driving under the influence (DUI), must 

immediately notify the station's supervising trooper or the local 

Safety Division Area Office of the suspension or revocation. 

The suspension or revocation of an inspector's driver's license 

shall automatically act as a suspension of his the inspector's 

privilege to inspect motor vehicles until such suspension or 

revocation is terminated, and the reinstatement has been made 

by the Superintendent of State Police. 

F. Each licensed safety inspector must have a valid safety 

inspector's license in his the inspector's possession at all times 

while conducting inspections. 

G. Each safety inspector with a valid safety inspector's license 

need only present such valid license to his the inspector's new 

employer to commence participation in the program at a new 

place of employment. Management of the inspection station is 

required to notify the Safety Division when a safety inspector 

begins or ends employment. This notification may be handled 

by contacting the inspection station's supervising trooper by 

telephone. 

H. In the event the safety inspector's license becomes 

mutilated, lost, or stolen, the inspector must notify the 

Department of State Police immediately to request a duplicate 

using the Safety Inspector Notification Form. All required 

information shall be printed legibly and completely. An 

inspector who is not employed, writes "Inactive" in the station 

name block. 

In those cases where notification is being made due to an 

address change, it is necessary to complete the Safety Inspector 

Notification Form and submit it to the Safety Division 

Headquarters. The inspector's information will be updated 

within the MVIP database by the Inspector Files Clerk. 

NOTE: The Safety Inspector Notification Form can be 

downloaded from the Virginia State Police website under the 

Vehicle Safety Inspection link. 

NOTE: Safety inspector licenses are only generated and 

distributed for initial certifications, renewals, name changes, 

and mutilated, lost, or stolen licenses. Inspectors submitting a 

change of address notification are not issued a new license. 

I. An inspector must notify the station's supervising trooper 

or Safety Division Area Office within 72 hours of an arrest for 

a criminal offense or the institution of a civil action. 

J. Requirements for safety inspector applicants with a specific 

learning disability. 

1. Applicants must furnish documentation from the 

particular school division where the applicant was classified 

as having a learning disability. The specific learning 

disability must be clearly identified. 

2. Once the learning disability has been documented, and if 

applicable, the applicant will be allowed to test with the 

written exam being orally presented. 

3. The station management, where the applicant is employed 

or to be employed, must agree to have someone present 

during the hours the employee is conducting inspections to 

assist with the reading of the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Manual when necessary during the initial three-

year certification period. If the inspector changes stations 

within the first three-year period, it is the inspector's 

responsibility to notify station management of his the 

inspector's disability and this requirement. 

19VAC30-70-9.1. Inspector certification. 

A. Upon request, the Safety Inspector Application (Form SP-

170B) and Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167) 

are provided online via the Virginia State Police website to 

individuals desiring appointment as certified safety inspectors. 

1. The application package includes instructions to help 

guide the applicant through the process. 

2. Applicants may be certified in any of the following classes 

after completing the necessary requirements and the 

appropriate examinations: 

a. Class A: May inspect any motor vehicle, motorcycle, or 

trailer. 

b. Class B: May inspect trailers only. 

c. Class C: May inspect motorcycles only. 

B. Applicants should immediately prepare for the written 

examination by studying the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Manual in its entirety. 

1. When sufficiently prepared for the examination, the 

applicant should visit a testing site in his area to complete 

the appropriate examination. 

2. 1. The applicant must present his the applicant's 

completed application in accordance with the provisions 

established in 19VAC30-70-9.2. 

3. 2. If the applicant's driver's license is expired, suspended, 

or revoked, the applicant will be advised, and the application 

destroyed. The applicant may reapply after his the 

applicant's driver's license is reinstated. 

C. The Class A inspector examination consists of five 

sections containing 20 questions each. A minimum score of 

75% must be attained for each section. The Classes B and C 
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inspector examinations will consist of 50 questions each. A 

minimum score of 74% must be attained. If the applicant fails 

the test, failure is noted at the end of Section I on the Form SP-

170B with the word "failed" and the date. The application is 

returned to the applicant. Applicants failing to attain the 

minimum score are not allowed to test again for 30 days. 

Applicants failing a second or subsequent examination are not 

allowed to test again for six months. 

D. The Safety Inspector Application (Form SP-170B) and 

Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167) for 

applicants who achieve a minimum score or greater is 

forwarded to Safety Division Headquarters. 

1. The applicant's record is checked against safety inspector 

and Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) files. 

2. Inspection and criminal record information along with the 

applicant's driver transcript is forwarded with the application 

to the appropriate Safety Division Area Office for 

investigation. 

3. A credit check is performed to determine that the applicant 

associated with the inspection program is in compliance with 

any judgment order or is meeting all financial obligations, or 

both. 

E. A background investigation is conducted consisting of the 

following: 

1. Verification that the applicant is at least 18 years of age. 

2. Verification that the applicant has not less than one year's 

practical experience employed as an automotive technician 

repairing vehicles for the public, or (six months of practical 

experience as an automotive mechanic combined with an 

additional and separate six months of mirroring a certified 

state inspector, shall suffice as practical experience) or has 

satisfactorily completed a training program in the field of 

automotive mechanics approved by the Department of State 

Police. The following training programs in the field of 

automotive mechanics have been approved as a substitute 

for the one year's practical experience requirement: 

a. The two-year associate degree or diploma programs in 

automotive technology offered by the Virginia 

Community College System consisting of the following 

minimum curriculum: 

(1) Automotive Electrical Systems - three semester hours. 

(2) Braking Systems - three semester hours. 

(3) Emissions Control Systems - three semester hours. 

(4) Suspension and Steering Systems - three semester 

hours. 

(5) Vehicle Safety Inspection - two semester hours. 

b. The 1,080-hour Career Technical Automotive Services 

Technology Program, offered by the Office of Career 

Technical Education, State Department of Education, in 

the various technical schools located throughout Virginia 

or be certified by the National Institute for Automotive 

Service Excellence (ASE), or both. 

(1) Upon the successful completion of this course, 

including a practical test as defined in this section, the 

student must complete a Safety Inspector Application 

(Form SP-170B) and a Criminal History Record Request 

(Form SP-167), pass a written test as defined in subsection 

C of this section, and submit to a background investigation 

as defined in this subsection. Upon successful completion 

of these requirements, the student, if 18 years of age, is 

certified as a safety inspector and issued a safety inspector 

license. 

(2) If the student scores less than 75% on any part of the 

examination, the application will be returned to the 

certifying trooper. Students scoring less than 75% on any 

part of the examination may retest at the certifying 

trooper's next recertification testing date, but not sooner 

than 30 days from the date of the last examination. If the 

student passes the test at this time and is at least 18 years 

of age, he the student is issued a safety inspector license. 

Upon the student's 18th birthday, providing he the student 

still meets all of the requirements, the student will be 

issued a safety inspector license. 

(3) Students failing the second written examination are not 

allowed to test again for six months. In order to retest the 

student must be at least 18 years of age and must complete 

the application process set forth for original certification. 

c. The 1,500-hour Course #1 entitled "Auto-Diesel 

Technician Course" offered by the Nashville Auto Diesel 

College, Inc., 1524 Gallatin Road, Nashville, Tennessee 

37206. 

3. A determination of the applicant's mechanical ability 

through interviews with employers and customers. 

4. A review of the applicant's current driving record on file 

with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is utilized in 

determining applicant's suitability for certification. 

5. Determination of the character and reputation of the 

applicant through previous associates, employers, and 

records. 

6. Determination of the applicant's attitude toward the 

inspection program and receptiveness to State Police 

supervision through personal interview. 

7. The investigating trooper shall administer a practical 

examination to determine the applicant's ability to conduct a 

safety inspection. The applicant will conduct a complete 

inspection, including the use of the optical headlight aimer. 

This shall be conducted at the applicant's station of 

employment. If the applicant is not employed at a certified 

inspection station, the applicant may make arrangement with 

one to conduct practical testing. 
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F. Any applicant whose application is voluntarily withdrawn 

may not reapply sooner than six months from the date of the 

withdrawal. Any applicant whose application is denied may 

not reapply sooner than 12 months from the date of the letter 

notifying the denial. 

G. When a safety inspector is certified, the bottom of the 

Form SP-170B is completed by the certifying trooper. The 

classification for which the safety inspector is being certified 

and the date of certification must be entered by the trooper on 

the bottom of the Form SP-170B. The Form SP-170B shall 

then be forwarded to the Safety Division Area Office. 

H. Upon certification, the supervising trooper fills out the 

temporary inspector's license in triplicate, providing the 

original (white copy) to the inspector, forwarding the canary 

copy to Safety Division Headquarters, and retaining the pink 

copy at the Safety Division Area Office for six months. Once 

the safety inspector has been issued the license, he is eligible 

to begin inspecting shall issue the inspector's license. 

I. All safety inspector licenses shall be valid for a period of 

three years. 

19VAC30-70-10. Official inspection station requirements. 

A. Official inspection stations, except private appointments, 

shall be open at least eight hours of each normal business day 

and shall be able to perform inspections 12 months throughout 

the year, except during illness of limited duration or normal 

vacation. 

1. Normal business hours, Monday through Friday, are 

defined as an eight-hour period of time between 8 a.m. and 

6 p.m. 

2. Stations are not prohibited from performing inspections at 

times other than during normal business hours. 

3. A station that advertises inspections beyond normal 

business hours shall be able to perform such inspections. 

4. If a station desires to maintain business hours that are 

different from those defined in this section, written 

permission must be obtained from the safety officer and a 

sign setting forth the inspection hours must be posted 

conspicuously at the station where it can be observed by a 

person desiring to have a vehicle inspected. 

5. Stations seeking to participate on a part-time basis, due to 

not having a full-time inspector available during normal 

business hours, shall be available for inspections for a 

minimum of 20 hours per week and shall notify their 

supervising trooper of the following items to have 

documented in their files: 

a. Hours of operation the station will be conducting safety 

inspections. 

b. Intended methods of notifying the public what hours 

inspections are available. 

c. Name of the inspector who will be designated for part-

time hours of operation. 

d. Time period established for ownership to find and 

employ a full-time inspector. 

B. At least one full-time safety inspector (stations in 

compliance with subdivision A 5 of this section excluded), to 

perform inspections and one inspection lane meeting the 

minimum requirements shall be available for inspection at all 

times during the normal business day. All inspections must be 

made only at the locations and in the inspection lane approved 

by the Department of State Police. All stations shall have other 

lanes, bays, or areas in which repairs can be made so the 

inspection lane can remain available. 

The designated inspection areas, including any location 

where customers are permitted to enter when submitting 

vehicles for inspection, must be kept clean and free from 

excessive dirt, grease, and loose materials. If requested, 

customers presenting vehicles for inspection shall be allowed 

to observe the inspection process from a safe location 

designated by the station. 

C. Inspection station facilities must be properly maintained 

and must present a businesslike appearance to the general 

public. Property adjacent to the inspection station that is owned 

or controlled by the station must be free of debris, litter, used 

parts and junk vehicles. Vehicles properly contained within 

fenced storage areas shall be deemed to comply with this 

requirement. 

D. Official inspection stations may, at their discretion, accept 

vehicles on a first-come, first-served basis or by prescheduled 

appointments for the safety inspection of a motor vehicle 

pursuant to § 46.2-1157 of the Code of Virginia. Appointments 

shall be made for those motorists that are required by 

subdivision A 12 of § 46.2-1158.01 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Safety inspectors, managers who supervise inspection 

activities, and business owners, through participation in the 

Official Motor Vehicle Inspection Program, are 

representatives of the Department of State Police and should 

conduct themselves in a manner to avoid controversy in 

dealing with customers presenting vehicles for inspection. The 

use of profanity or verbal abuse directed at customers 

presenting their vehicles for inspection will be grounds for 

suspension from participation in the inspection program and 

will be considered a Class IV offense as set forth in 19VAC30-

70-6. Controversy that cannot be calmly resolved by the safety 

inspector, managers, and owners should be referred to the 

supervising trooper for handling. 

F. The "Certificate of Appointment" must be framed under 

glass or clear plastic and posted in the customer waiting area 

where it can be observed and read by a person submitting a 

vehicle for inspection. 

Inspection stations must have garage liability insurance in the 

amount of at least $500,000 with an approved surplus lines 
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carrier or insurance company licensed to write such insurance 

in this Commonwealth. This requirement shall not apply to 

inspection stations that only inspect their company-owned, 

government-owned, or leased vehicles. 

G. The required "Official Inspection Procedure" sheet and the 

"Direct Inquiries" sheet furnished to each station must both be 

framed under glass or clear plastic and posted conspicuously 

in the customer waiting area where they can be observed and 

read by a person submitting a vehicle for inspection. 

H. The poster designating the station as an official inspection 

station shall be posted in a prominent location, outside or 

visible outside the station, to alert passersby that inspection 

services are available. Private inspection stations shall not 

display an outside poster. 

I. Each official inspection station shall display a list with the 

names and license expiration dates of each active inspector 

associated to the station within the Motor Vehicle Inspection 

Program (MVIP) system, adjacent to the certificate of 

appointment. All inspectors listed must be actively employed 

by the station. 

J. Important -- Any change in name, ownership, or location 

of any official inspection station cancels the appointment of 

that station, and the Department of State Police must be 

notified immediately. The department shall be notified when 

an official inspection station discontinues operation. 

K. All inspection supplies, inspection binders and manual, 

unused stickers, duplicates of certificates issued, bulletins, and 

other forms are the property of the Department of State Police 

and must be safeguarded against loss. 

L. Inspection supplies issued to an inspection station can be 

used only by that station and are not to be loaned or reissued to 

any other station. 

1. Stations must maintain a sufficient supply of approval 

stickers, trailer and motorcycle approval stickers, rejection 

stickers, and inserts. When reordering supplies, station 

owners or managers shall request sufficient supplies to 

sustain their business for at least six months. However, it is 

realized that some stations will not be able to comply with 

the six-month requirement since there is a maximum of 100 

books per order limit. Also, when ordering supplies, the 

following information should be considered so the station 

does not order an excessive amount of supplies: each book 

of approval stickers contains 25 stickers, the rejection book 

contains 50 stickers, the month inserts are packaged in strips 

of 50 each, and trailer and motorcycle decals are five per 

strip. 

Stations receive biannual (November/May) supply 

shipments each year. The first supply shipment (November) 

includes car/truck approval stickers, car/truck month inserts, 

and trailer/motorcycle year inserts. The second supply 

shipment (May) contains car/truck approval stickers and 

car/truck month inserts. Supply amounts for each shipment 

are calculated upon the stations current and previous year 

inspection trends. 

Stations are responsible for maintaining an adequate supply 

of inspections supplies to operate efficiently and without 

delay; therefore, after stations receive the biannual first 

shipment of the calendar year, additional supplies can shall 

be ordered through the MVIP station account. 

2. Inspection stations that exhaust any type of their supplies, 

such as approval stickers, trailer and motorcycle approval 

stickers, rejection stickers, or inserts shall immediately stop 

all inspection operations and contact their supervising 

trooper or the nearest Safety Division Area Office. 

M. All losses of stickers must be reported immediately to the 

supervising inspection trooper or the nearest Safety Division 

Area Office. 

N. Every precaution against the loss of stickers must be taken. 

If the loss occurs through carelessness or neglect, a suspension 

of the station may result. 

O. The Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual 

must be kept at or near the point of inspection for ready 

reference. Additional manuals, bulletins, regulations, and lists 

of approved equipment must also be available at all times. All 

reference materials may be kept in written or electronic form. 

Revisions to the Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual will 

be sent to each station electronically through the MVIP system. 

Station management shall be responsible to see that each safety 

inspector is familiar with all bulletins and manual revisions and 

shall be required to furnish evidence to the department that all 

bulletins and manual revisions have been reviewed by each 

licensed inspector. 

A copy of the diagram drawn by the investigating trooper, 

showing the approved inspection lane or lanes, will be 

maintained for review and kept available with the station's 

inspection supplies. 

P. Private appointment may be made of company stations or 

government stations that own and operate a minimum of 20 

vehicles and they may inspect only company-owned or 

government-owned vehicles respectively. When authorized by 

the department, they may inspect vehicles of a wholly-owned 

subsidiary or leased vehicles. 

1. A private station may perform inspections during each 

month of the year or may elect to inspect only during certain 

designated months. 

2. A private station not electing to inspect vehicles every 

month of the year that finds it necessary to inspect a vehicle 

during a month other than those selected for inspection may 

issue a sticker to the vehicle from the nearest past inspection 

month. 
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Q. All official inspection station owners, managers, and 

certified safety inspectors shall comply with the Virginia 

inspection laws and the inspection rules and regulations and 

will adhere to all instructions given by the supervising trooper 

or the Safety Division. Reports of violations will be 

investigated and, if found to be valid, may result in the 

suspension of the station, suspension of the inspector, possible 

court action, or other appropriate action, or any combination of 

these actions. Repeated violations or serious violations may 

result in a revocation of the inspector or station appointment, 

or both, by the superintendent. 

R. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection 

program for a criminal offense of a nature that would tend to 

immediately reflect upon the integrity and reputation of the 

Department of State Police may be grounds for an inactive station 

status until final court disposition. Any finding other than acquittal 

may result in a suspension or revocation of the station's 

appointment. 

S. When a station has been suspended or revoked, it must release 

to an employee of the Department of State Police all inspection 

supplies, posters, and papers including the certificate of 

appointment. Failure to do so is a violation of § 46.2-1172 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

T. The authority of the superintendent to suspend the designation 

or appointment of an official inspection station as provided in § 

46.2-1163 of the Code of Virginia, or to suspend the certification 

of an inspector designated to perform inspections at an official 

inspection station, and, in keeping with the provisions of § 46.2-

1166 of the Code of Virginia, is hereby delegated to any of the 

following supervisory ranks of the Department of State Police: 

Lieutenant Colonel, Major, Captain, Lieutenant, First Sergeant, 

and Sergeant. 

U. Each station must purchase and keep in proper operating 

condition the following equipment: computer, printer, internet 

connection, paper hole punch, black ball point pen or pens or black 

marker or markers, sticker scraper with replacement razor blades, 

tire tread depth gauge, amp meter, headlight and auxiliary lamp 

adjustment tools, 12-inch ruler, 25-foot measuring tape, torque 

wrench or torque sticks, brake pads/shoes/disc/drum measuring 

device, dial indicator, micrometer, pry bars, roller jack (at least 4-

ton), and an approved type optical headlight aiming device. Each 

station that requests an additional inspection lane that is not in 

close proximity to the originally approved inspection lane must 

purchase an additional approved headlight machine for each lane 

that meets the minimum requirements. Stations are required to 

have one of the following headlight aiming devices: Hopkins 

Vision1, Hopkins Vision 100, American Aimers Vision 100, 

American Aimers Vision 2 Pro, or the Symtech (former L.E.T.), 

DVA-6, HBA-5, PLA-11, and PLA-12. This shall not apply to 

"trailer-only" inspection stations. 

19VAC30-70-20. General inspection requirements. 

A. Each official inspection station must inspect every vehicle 

presented for inspection as prescribed by this chapter, either 

approving or rejecting it. Inspections will not be performed unless 

requested. 

1. Dealers' vehicles and out-of-state vehicles shall be inspected 

according to these standards when submitted for inspection. 

The dealer's name rather than the license number shall be shown 

on the rear of the approval or rejection sticker. 

2. Out-of-state vehicles may be inspected, but shall not be 

approved unless they meet the requirements of the Official 

Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. 

3. 2. When a vehicle is presented for inspection, the previous 

approval sticker, if any, on the vehicle shall be removed and 

destroyed before any inspection is conducted (except a rejection 

sticker). For purposes of the safety inspection program, 

"destroyed" shall mean that the previous inspection sticker will 

be disposed of in a manner so it cannot be reused or placed on 

another vehicle's windshield. After removing the inspection 

sticker, the safety inspector who is to perform the inspection 

must drive the vehicle into an approved inspection lane unless 

the safety inspector is not qualified to operate the vehicle. 

During the operation of the vehicle, the safety inspector must 

make application of the service and parking brakes and check 

for conditions as set forth in the Service Brake Section of the 

Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual applicable to 

the vehicle being inspected. 

WARNING: No razor blades or similar devices should be 

used to remove stickers from "Securiflex," "Anti-Lacerative," 

or "Inner Shield" type windshield. These windshields are 

identified as AS-14. Any questions concerning removal 

should be directed to the nearest Safety Division Area Office. 

B. Each inspection shall be a complete, uninterrupted inspection 

and shall include a check of all applicable items in the Official 

Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. All repair tools and 

testing equipment required prior to a station's appointment shall 

be properly maintained and available for use during each 

inspection. 

C. The term "inspection" as used in this chapter shall not include 

repairs or adjustments. Repairs or adjustments necessary to bring 

the vehicle in conformity with this chapter may be made by 

agreement between the owner and such station or whatever repair 

shop the owner may select. When requested to do so by the person 

submitting a vehicle for inspection, any repairs or adjustments 

necessary to bring the vehicle into compliance with the inspection 

program rules and regulations shall be made by the inspection 

station performing the inspection. The inspection station 

management may utilize the option of subcontracting the repairs 

or adjustments provided the application filed for the station 

appointment reflected that such repairs or adjustments will be 

subcontracted. 

D. Each vehicle that meets the requirements as set forth in this 

chapter shall be issued an approval sticker. Those vehicles that do 

not meet the inspection requirements shall be issued a rejection 

sticker. Any trailer required to be inspected under the provisions 

of the Code of Virginia may, only if the size or configuration of 

the trailer and the size and configuration of the facilities of the 

inspection station prevent the trailer from being inspected inside 

the inspection station, be inspected outside the inspection station. 

The location on the outside of an inspection station where trailers 
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may be inspected shall be approved by the Department of State 

Police and shown on the station diagram. 

E. Inspections may be made when it is raining or snowing. Care 

must be exercised when making inspections in inclement weather. 

Vehicles covered with ice, snow, mud, or other debris to the extent 

that required parts cannot be inspected, may be refused inspection 

until the operator removes such debris. 

F. A certified safety inspector shall be prohibited from 

conducting safety inspection examinations on any vehicle 

registered to himself. This restriction shall also apply to vehicles 

registered outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

19VAC30-70-40. Fees. 

A. Before the inspection of a vehicle begins, the vehicle 

owner or operator must be informed there is a regulated fee 

pursuant to § 46.2-1167 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The maximum inspection fees effective July 1, 2019, are 

as follows: 

$51 for each inspection of any (i) tractor truck, (ii) truck 

that has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds or 

more, or (iii) motor vehicle that is used to transport 

passengers and has a seating capacity of more than 15 

passengers, including the driver. 

$12 for each inspection of any motorcycle and autocycle. 

$16 for each inspection of any other vehicle, including 

trailers and motor homes. 

1. Inspection fees will result in inspection stations retaining 

and forwarding $.70 to the Department of State Police to 

support the department's costs in administering the Motor 

Vehicle Inspection Program (MVIP). Collection of these 

fees will be billed quarterly to each station on April 15, July 

15, October 15, and January 15 of each year. 

Tractor Trucks 

Trucks that have a gross vehicle weight 

rating of 26,000 pounds or more 

Buses that seat more than 15 passengers 

(including the driver) 

$.50 per 

inspection 

Cars 

Pickup Trucks/Trucks 

Recreational Motor Homes 

Trailers 

$.70 per 

inspection 

Motorcycles 

Autocycles 

$2.00 per 

inspection 

2. After the appropriate fee has been determined for each 

station, an invoice is uploaded to each station's MVIP billing 

account. The procedures for mailing payments are outlined 

in this subdivision as follows: 

a. Print the invoice from the MVIP station account. 

b. Prepare a check, cashier's check, or money order made 

payable to the Department of State Police for the amount 

indicated on the invoice and include the station number 

within the memo section of the check. 

c. Prepare an envelope with the following information: 

Department of State Police - Safety Division, P.O. Box 

27472, Richmond, Virginia 23261. 

d. Mail the check and invoice to the address listed in 

subdivision 2 c of this subsection. 

3. The, an invoice is uploaded to each station's billing 

account, the station has 30 days in which to mail in the 

processing fee to submit payment by logging in to their 

respective eReceivables billing account. In the event a check 

does not clear the bank for any reason, a $50 fee will be 

assessed the station. Also, under 19VAC30-70-5, a returned 

check will be a Class III offense and administrative actions 

may be held against the station's record. Once the station has 

been contacted by the Department of State Police regarding 

a returned check, it will have 15 days to respond. If the 

returned check dispute is not settled in this period of time, 

administrative or legal sanctions, or both, may be taken 

against the station and, in addition, any requests for supplies 

will not be honored until the dispute has been settled. 

NOTE: Late fees will be handled in accordance with §§ 2.2-

4805 and 6.2-302 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. If a rejected vehicle is not submitted to the same station 

within the validity period of the rejection sticker or is 

submitted to another official inspection station, a complete 

inspection must be performed and a charge of $51 may be 

made for inspection of tractor trucks, trucks that have a gross 

vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds or more, and buses that 

seat more than 15 passengers, including the driver. A charge of 

$20 may be made for each inspection performed on any other 

vehicle to include recreational motor homes and trailers. A 

charge of $12 may be made for each motorcycle and autocycle 

inspection. 

NOTE: The truck inspection fee does not pertain to any 

trailer. 

D. A charge of $1.00 may be made for reinspection of a 

vehicle rejected by the same station during the 15-day validity 

of the rejection sticker. 

E. Inspection stations shall not charge an additional fee to 

those customers who drop off their vehicles for a state 

inspection. This is a violation of § 46.2-1167 of the Code of 

Virginia unless the station charges a "storage fee" for all 

services and repairs and not just for inspections. 

19VAC30-70-80. Service brakes. 

A. The inspector, as a minimum, must drive all vehicles into 

the inspection lane and test both service and parking brakes. 
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B. A minimum of two wheels, one front and one rear, must 

be inspected on each passenger and multipurpose vehicle with 

a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds gross vehicle 

weight rating (GVWR) or less at the time of inspection, except 

those listed in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection. 

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with wheels that do not 

allow visual access to the braking system, the inspected wheels 

shall be removed. 

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with drum brakes, the wheel 

and drum shall be removed for inspection. 

1. Motorcycles. 

2. A new model vehicle is defined as a vehicle that has not 

been titled or leased and is less than one year old, measured 

from October 1 as of each year; if such motor vehicle does 

not have a model year, such measurement shall be made 

from the date of manufacture. 

3. Trucks with floating axles that require seal replacement 

upon removal of rear wheels. The inspection receipt 

(approval and rejection) shall be marked to reflect which 

wheels were pulled. 

Warning: If wheels are removed to inspect brakes, lug nuts 

must be torqued to the manufacturer's specifications to 

prevent damage to disc rotors. The use of an impact wrench 

may exceed the manufacturer's specifications and damage 

disc rotors. 

C. If any braking problem is detected, the inspector may test 

drive or require a test drive of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with brakes or any brake has been 

disconnected, rendered inoperative, or improperly installed. 

Trailers having an actual gross weight of less than 3,000 

pounds are not required to be equipped with brakes; 

however, if brakes are installed, these vehicles must be 

inspected. 

Brake System Failure Indicator Lamp 

2. Passenger vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1968, are 

not equipped with a red brake failure warning lamp or warning 

lamp does not light with parking brake applied when ignition 

key is turned to the start position, except for anti-lock system. 

The red brake failure warning lamp should light when the 

ignition key is turned to the start position; on some imports it 

may be checked when the emergency brake is applied or other 

factory installed test button. (DO NOT reject if only the amber 

ABS/anti-lock brake lamp is on.) With the engine running and 

parking brake released, the red brake failure warning lamp 

should go off, except for vehicles equipped with anti-lock 

system. If so, apply service brake for 10 seconds and if the red 

brake failure warning lamp lights again the system is defective. 

Also, if the warning lamp light does not come on when there is 

a leak or the warning lamp light is not functioning properly, the 

system is defective and shall be rejected. NOTE: This 

subdivision does not apply to vehicles registered as street rods 

nor does it imply that the red brake failure warning lamp needs 

to light when the emergency brake is set. There are many 

vehicles that are not factory equipped with an emergency brake 

indicator light. 

Note: Vehicles equipped with a brake pad wear indicator 

warning light shall not constitute an automatic rejection for the 

vehicle submitted for a safety inspection. Each vehicle 

manufacturer has determined an appropriate level to activate the 

brake pad wear indicator warning light; therefore, it shall be the 

responsibility of the inspector to confirm whether or not the 

brake pads have exceeded the established tolerance of 2/32 of 

an inch. 

Brake Linings and Disc Pads 

3. Riveted Bonded, molded, or riveted linings or disc pads 

are worn to less than 2/32 of an inch in thickness at any point 

(not to include manufactured slots) or over the rivet heads. 

4. Bonded or molded linings or disc pads are worn to less 

than 2/32 of an inch in thickness at any point, not to include 

manufactured slots. 

5. 4. Wire in wire-backed lining is visible in friction surface. 

6. 5. Snap-on brake linings are loose. 

7. 6. Any lining is broken or cracked so that the lining or 

parts of the lining are not firmly attached to the shoe or has 

cracks on the friction surface extending to the open edge. 

8. 7. Grease or other contamination is present on the linings, 

drums, or rotors. 

9. 8. Rivets in riveted linings are loose or missing. 

10. 9. Any lining or pad is misaligned or does not make full 

contact with the drum or rotor, with the exception of minor 

scoring caused by debris, provided it does not affect braking 

efficiency. 

11. 10. Any foreign material or debris caught between a 

drum or rotor and the brake pad. 

Brake Drums and Discs 

NOTE: The inspector shall ensure that the minimum 

measurements in subdivisions subdivision D 3 and D 4 of 

this section are obtained. 

12. 11. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are worn or 

scored to the extent that their machining would result in a 

failure to meet manufacturer's specifications. Use the 

specification stamped on the rotor or drum if available. 

13. 12. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are scored to the 

extent that the braking surface is reduced to the point that the 

braking efficiency is adversely affected. This does not apply 

to minor scoring caused by debris. 

NOTE: A number of vehicles on the market are equipped with 

a lock nut to hold the rear brake drum in place. Manufacturers 
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recommend replacement of these lock nuts after each removal 

to prevent failure of the component. If the customer is advised 

up front, then the wholesale cost of the replacement nut may be 

charged to the customer. 

NOTE: The proper method to remove the rear brake assembly 

on the 2000 Ford Focus is to remove the four bolts from the 

opposite side of the assembly. Removal otherwise may damage 

the outside grease cap and incur a cost to replace. 

14. 13. Brake drums or discs have any external crack or cracks 

more than one half the width of the friction surface of the drum 

or disc. NOTE: Do not confuse short hairline heat cracks with 

flexural cracks. 

Mechanical Linkage 

15. 14. Cables are frayed or frozen. 

16. 15. Mechanical parts missing, broken, badly worn, or 

misaligned. 

E. Hydraulic. 

NOTE: Some motor vehicles, beginning with 1976 models, have 

a hydraulic power system that serves both the power-assisted 

brakes and power-assisted steering system. Some vehicles, 

beginning with 1985 models, have an integrated hydraulic 

actuation and anti-lock brake unit using only brake fluid. 

1. Brake hydraulic system. Inspector should check the brake 

hydraulic system in the following manner: test vehicle in a 

standing position; apply moderate pressure to the brake pedal 

for 10 seconds. Brake pedal height must be maintained. On 

vehicles equipped with power-assisted systems, the engine 

should be running. 

2. Hydraulic system operation. Stop engine, then depress brake 

pedal several times to eliminate all pressure. Depress pedal with 

a light foot-force (30 pounds). While maintaining this force on 

the pedal, start engine and observe if pedal moves slightly when 

engine starts. 

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move slightly as engine is 

started while force is on brake pedal. 

 

3. Condition of hydraulic booster power brake system. 

Inspect system for fluid level and leaks. 

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the reservoir; if 

there are broken, kinked, or restricted fluid lines or hoses; if 

there is any leakage of fluid at the pump, steering gear or 

brake booster, or any of the lines or hoses in the system; or if 

belts are frayed, cracked, or excessively worn. 

4. Integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock system operation. 

With the ignition key in the off position, depress brake pedal a 

minimum of 25 times to deplete all residual stored pressure in 

the accumulator. Depress pedal with a light foot-force (25 

pounds). Place ignition key in the on position and allow 60 

seconds for the brake warning light to go out and the electric 

pump to shut off. 

Reject vehicle if the brake pedal does not move down slightly 

as the pump builds pressure or if the brake and anti-lock 

warning lights remain on longer than 60 seconds. 

NOTE: The inspection of the ABS light is only for an 

integrated system that is an earlier system. The newer system 

that has the nonintegrated systems does not need to be 

checked. If the ABS system malfunctions on the newer 

system, the brake systems are still functional. 

 

5. Condition of integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock system 

with electronic pump. With the system fully charged, inspect 

system for fluid level and leaks. 

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the reservoir; if 

there are broken, kinked, or restricted fluid lines or hoses; or 

if there is any leakage of fluid at the pump or brake booster, 

or any of the lines or hoses in the system. 

6. Vacuum system operation. Stop engine then depress brake 

pedal several times to eliminate all vacuum in the system. 

Depress pedal with a light foot-force (25 pounds). While 

maintaining this force on the pedal, start engine and observe if 

pedal moves down slightly when engine starts. 

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move down slightly as engine 

is started while force is on the brake pedal. In full vacuum-

equipped vehicles, there is insufficient vacuum reserve for 

one full service brake application after engine is stopped. 
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7. Condition of vacuum booster power brake system. Reject 

vehicle if there are collapsed, cracked, broken, badly chafed, 

or improperly supported hoses and tubes, loose or broken 

hose clamps. 

F. Inspect for and reject if: 

General Specifications - Hydraulic Brakes 

1. There is any leakage in the master cylinder, wheel 

cylinders, or brake calipers. When checking for leakage in 

rear wheel cylinders, do not disturb the dust boot. 

NOTE: Do not reject for the common dust ball formed on 

wheel cylinders or for wetness that may have spread to the 

backing plate unless it has contaminated the linings or drums 

as specified in subdivision D 8 of this section. Consumers 

should be advised of this wear so that they will be aware that 

repair may be needed before their next inspection. This may 

not warrant an immediate repair considering the dual valve 

master cylinder. 

2. Fluid level in master cylinder is below the proper level for 

the particular vehicle. 

3. There is any evidence of a caliper sticking or binding. 

Electric Brake System 

4. Trailers show an amperage value more than 20% above or 

30% below the brake manufacturer's maximum current 

rating for each brake. 

5. Amp meter shows no reading or indicator is not steady on 

application and release of brake controller. 

6. Any terminal connections are loose or dirty; wires are 

broken, frayed, or unsupported; any single conductor 

nonstranded wires below the size recommended by the brake 

manufacturers are installed. 

7. Electrical trailer brakes do not apply automatically when 

the breakaway safety switch is operated. 

8. Breakaway braking devices are missing or inoperative; 

cable is frayed or broken. 

General Specifications 

9. Absence of braking action on any wheel required to have 

brakes. 

10. There is any leakage in any hydraulic, air, or vacuum 

lines; hoses have any cracks, crimps, or restrictions or are 

abraded, exposing inner fabric; tubing or connections leak or 

are crimped, restricted, cracked, or broken; or any valves 

leak or are inoperative. 

a. Reject the vehicle if the brake hoses or tubing are 

stretched or extended and do not allow for suspension 

movement. 

b. Brake tubing and hoses must be: 

(1) Long and flexible enough to accommodate without 

damage all normal motions of the parts to which they are 

attached; 

(2) Secured against chaffing, kinking, or other mechanical 

damage; and 

(3) Installed in a manner that prevents them from 

contacting the vehicle's exhaust system or any other 

source of high temperatures. 

11. Any hydraulic brake tubing has been repaired using a 

compression fitting. 

12. Brakes are not equalized so as to stop the vehicle on a 

straight line. 

13. There is less than 1/5 reserve in actuator travel of the 

service brake when fully applied on all hydraulic, 

mechanical, or power-assisted hydraulic braking systems. 

14. When tested on dry, hard, approximately level road free 

from loose material, at a speed of 20 miles per hour without 

leaving a 12-foot wide lane, results in excess of the 

following distances are obtained: 

(When in doubt about a vehicle's stopping ability, the 

inspector shall conduct a road test.) 

a. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 

tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) four wheel 

brakes - 25 feet. 

b. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 

tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) two wheel 

brakes - 45 feet. 

c. All combinations of vehicles - 40 feet. 

19VAC30-70-150. Rear lamps: tail lamp; license plate 

lamps; and rear lamp combinations. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with a rear (tail lamp) or rear lamp 

combination of an approved type or light assembly does not 

work as designed by the manufacturer. 

2. The vehicle is equipped with more than one rear lamp, if 

all are not in operating condition. 

3. The vehicle is not equipped with a license plate lamp that 

emits a white light. The license plate lamp may be a separate 

lamp or part of a combination rear lamp. 

4. License plate is not illuminated by a license plate lamp 

that emits a white light. 

5. 3. Lens on rear lamps, or lens area in combination rear 

lamps (tail lamps), are not red. LED (light-emitting diode) 

lights with a clear lens are acceptable. Vehicles equipped 

with multiple LED lights (not filament-burning bulbs) will 

pass a safety inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights 

are burning. 
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NOTE: Replacement tail lamps, commonly sold as "clear" 

tail lamps or "Euro-Tail" lamps, will not pass inspection if 

the red lamps are replaced with clear ones. 

6. 4. Lens has piece broken from it or does not fit properly. 

The lens may have one or more cracks provided an off-color 

light does not project through the crack or cracks. Taping or 

gluing cracks or pieces is not permitted. 

7. 5. Filament in all rear (tail) lamps does not burn when 

headlamp switch is turned on to any position, or if lamps do 

not provide a red light visible to the rear through an approved 

red lens as annotated in subdivision 1 of this section. If it is 

a rear lamp combination incorporated with a wraparound 

side-marker light, then the side-marker lens must be red and 

not a clear lens with a red bulb. If the bulb, socket, and 

wiring are removed from the side-marker lamps, then they 

will not be considered during the inspection. 

8. 6. Rear (tail) lamp is not mounted near extreme rear of 

vehicle. Dump trucks and other specially constructed 

vehicles may mount the rear lamp at a point other than on 

the extreme rear, provided such rear lamp is clearly visible 

from the rear, and further provided that a red reflector of an 

approved type is mounted on the extreme rear. In unusual 

cases, the rear lamp may be mounted on the cab. Reject if 

the lamp is hidden by a bolster or other part of the body or 

frame, is not mounted securely, or if the lamp does not make 

a good electrical contact. 

9. 7. The vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic covers, 

any other materials that are not original equipment, or any 

colored material placed on or in front of rear lamps, license 

plate lamps, and rear lamp combinations. 

10. 8. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: Every trailer shall carry at the rear two red tail lights 

of a type approved by the superintendent. 

19VAC30-70-160. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 

driving; fog; spot and warning. 

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 

types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 

driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or clear 

lens (SAE-F) and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-F2), spot 

lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W, W2, W3), and 

daytime running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

NOTE: Any light or lighting device not defined or otherwise 

authorized in 19VAC30-70-140 through 19VAC30-70-200 

that is installed on a vehicle shall not be considered for 

inspection as long as it remains unlit during the inspection and 

is not wired to activate with any required lighting system in 

this chapter.  

B. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp warning 

system of two red and two amber warning lamps of an 

approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of such vehicle. 

1. School buses may also be equipped with roof-mounted 

flashing white or amber warning lamps of an approved type 

(SAE-W2). 

2. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses may 

be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 

octagonal sign which that meets FMVSS specifications 

(Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 571). 

The stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be equipped 

with two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

C. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 

vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 

(SAE-R). 

D. C. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps, 

may be lighted at any time to provide general illumination 

ahead of the vehicle. An approved headlamp assembly that 

contains bulbs for both high and low beams within the same 

housing shall be considered one headlamp. 

E. Approved type (SAE-W) (i) blue; (ii) blue and red; (iii) 

blue and white; or (iv) red, white, and blue lights are permitted 

on Department of Corrections vehicles designated by the 

Director of the Department of Corrections and any law-

enforcement vehicle. Law-enforcement vehicles may also be 

equipped with steady-burning blue or red warning lights of 

types approved by the superintendent. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only on 

the four corners, on law-enforcement vehicles, Department 

of Corrections, fire apparatus, government-owned vehicle 

operated on official business by a local fire chief or other 

local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, ambulance, or any 

other emergency medical vehicles. These lights shall also 

have primary warning lights installed. 

2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 

installed in the headlamp assemblies, side marker lights, tail 

lights or parking lights. The strobe itself must be clear and 

the lens color must continue to be the same type and color as 

originally approved. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 

white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 

department vehicles, including publicly-owned state forest 

warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue vehicle used for 

emergency calls, local department of emergency 

management, animal warden vehicles, school buses and 

vehicles used by security personnel at the Newport News 

Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, Bassett-Walker, 

Incorporated, the Tultex Corporation, the Winchester 

Medical Center, or the National Aeronautics and Space 

Administration's Wallops Flight Facility. 
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4. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red lights or 

red and white combination lights of an approved type (SAE-

W) may be installed on one vehicle owned by any member 

of a fire department, volunteer fire company or volunteer 

rescue squad, any ambulance driver employed by a 

privately-owned ambulance service, and any police 

chaplain. 

F. Vehicles mentioned in subsection E of this section 

permitted to be equipped with flashing, blinking or alternating 

(i) blue; (ii) blue and red; (iii) blue and white; or (iv) red, white, 

and blue emergency lights (except vehicles owned by any 

member of a fire department, volunteer fire company, 

volunteer rescue squad or any ambulance driver employed by 

a privately-owned ambulance service) may be equipped with 

the means to flash their headlamps when their emergency 

warning lamps are activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 

or lower beam to flash but not both. 

2. The headlamp system includes a switch or device which 

prevents flashing of headlamps when headlamps are 

required to be lighted pursuant to current statute. 

3. Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 

County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 

function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

G. Any firefighting vehicle, ambulance, rescue or life-saving 

vehicle, Virginia Department of Transportation vehicle, or tow 

truck may be equipped with clear auxiliary lamps which shall 

be used exclusively for lighting emergency scenes. Such lamps 

shall be of a type permitted by the superintendent. Any 

government-owned police vehicle may be equipped with clear 

auxiliary lamps of a type approved by the superintendent. 

H. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 

in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or utilities 

on or along public highways and vehicles used for the principal 

purpose of removing hazardous or polluting substances from 

the state waters or drainage areas on or along public highways. 

Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used for servicing 

automatic teller machines, refuse collection vehicles, hi-rail 

vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or escorting over-

dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or manufactured 

housing units by authority of highway hauling permit. 

1. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on fire apparatus, 

government-owned vehicles operated on official business by 

a local fire chief or other local fire official, rescue squad 

vehicles, ambulances, and any other emergency medical 

vehicles to be equipped with alternating blinking or flashing 

red, or red and white secondary lights mounted inside the 

vehicle's tail lights or marker lights. 

2. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles owned and used 

by municipal safety officers in the performance of their 

official duties, businesses providing security services and 

vehicles used to collect and deliver the United States mail, 

vehicles used by law-enforcement personnel in the 

enforcement of laws governing motor vehicle parking, 

government-owned law-enforcement vehicles provided the 

lights are used for giving directional warning, and vehicles 

used to provide escort for funeral processions. Directional 

warning lights shall not be utilized while in motion. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace cars, 

security vehicles, or firefighting vehicles by any speedway 

or motor vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating light may be mounted on the rear of any vehicle 

used to transport petroleum products. The light must be 

wired through the reverse gear circuit and activate in 

conjunction with the back-up lights and audible alarm. 

5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 

permitted on vehicles used by police, firefighting, or rescue 

personnel as command centers at the scene of incidents. 

Such lights shall not be activated while the vehicle is 

operating upon the highway. 

6. Approved type (SAE-W) colored warning lights may be 

used by dealers or businesses engaged in the sale of fire, 

emergency medical services, or law-enforcement vehicles. 

They may, for demonstration purposes, equip such vehicles 

with colored warning lights. 

I. D. Inspectors shall rely on Article 3 (§ 46.2-1010 et seq.) of 

Chapter 10 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia to determine 

if a vehicle should be allowed to have such lighting (such as 

emergency vehicles or dealer demo vehicles). 

E. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Auxiliary lamp is being used for a purpose other than for 

which it is manufactured or previously approved by the 

superintendent as defined in subsection A of this section. 

2. Auxiliary lamp does not have a clear lens. 

3. Any reflector in such auxiliary lamp device is not clear. 

EXCEPTIONS: An auxiliary lighting device that is both 

covered and unlit shall not be considered for inspection. An 

auxiliary lighting device that has a clear lens, has clear 

reflectors, and is unlit shall not be considered for inspection. 

Fog and driving lamps mounted below the level of the 

regular headlamps must be checked for aim as outlined in 

subdivisions I 12 h and 13 f of this section if not covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed as 

original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum foil 

or similar materials. 
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4. 2. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp (SAE-W) 

that is not of an approved type or has been altered. 

Reject if the vehicle 3. Vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or 

plastic covers, any other materials that are not original 

equipment or any colored material placed on or in front of 

any auxiliary lamps: backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot, or 

warning lamps. 

5. 4. Motor vehicles may be equipped with more than two 

fog or auxiliary lights; however, only two of these types of 

lights can be illuminated at any time. Reject a vehicle 

equipped with a headlamp mounted or used as an auxiliary 

lamp. 

6. 5. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does 

not function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been 

modified by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit 

will be considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not 

be considered in inspection.) 

7. 6. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign, 

except commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as public 

carriers, taxicabs, and privately-owned passenger cars used 

for home delivery of commercially prepared food. 

Commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as public 

carriers, and taxicabs may be equipped with vacant and 

destination signs and one steady burning white light for the 

nighttime illumination of external advertising. Privately-

owned passenger cars used for home delivery of 

commercially prepared food may be equipped with one 

steady burning white light for the nighttime illumination of 

a sign identifying the business delivering the food. Do not 

reject approved identification lights. 

8. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be 

burned together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

9. 7. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces 

is not permitted. 

10. 8. Backup lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Required lamps are not of an approved type (SAE-R) or 

a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or 

pieces is not permitted; 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED (light-emitting diode) 

lights with a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved 

type. For those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple 

LED light (not filament-burning bulbs), they will pass 

inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning; 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear. Vehicles 

manufactured without backup lamps may be wired into an 

independent circuit. 

f. Any backup lamps do not emit white light. 

11. 9. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if 

installed they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Required lamps are not of an approved type (SAE-K) or 

a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or 

pieces is not permitted; 

d. The color of the light and lens is other than clear or 

amber; 

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn 

signals. 

12. 10. Driving lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with 

the four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp 

system; 

b. Driving lamps are not of an approved type or have been 

altered; 

c. The color of the lamp is other than white or the lens is 

not clear; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project through 

the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not 

permitted; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective; 

f. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the 

regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent 

excessive vibration; 

g. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn only 

when the high beams of the regular headlamps are 

activated; 

h. Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the hot 

spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot is 

directly ahead of the lamp. 
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NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 

allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical adjustment. 

13. 11. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle may be equipped with more than two fog 

lamps; however, not more than two fog lamps can be 

illuminated at any time; 

b. The lens or light is other than clear or amber. Fog lamps 

may have black-end bulbs or small metal caps over the end 

of the bulb; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project through 

the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not 

permitted; 

d. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

e. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 

headlamps, or is not mounted firmly; 

f. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the 

following instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered 

in subsection A of this section. They must burn through 

the tail light circuit even if on a separate switch. If installed 

on a vehicle with a four-headlamp system, or a vehicle 

equipped with driving lamps, they must be wired into the 

low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the 

high intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and 

the left edge of the high intensity zone is set at the vertical 

centerline. (Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 

allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical adjustment. 

14. 12. Spot lamps are not required; however, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps; 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (SAE-O) or a lamp 

has been altered; 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear or light is 

not white; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project through 

the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not 

permitted; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

15. 13. Daytime running lamps (DRLs) are not required. 

However, if installed they must operate and be inspected. 

DRLs must be installed in pairs. 

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light 

circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs if not an 

approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL"; 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs; 

c. More than one pair of lamps is used and designated as 

DRLs; 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to 

the center of the lamp; or 

e. The color is other than white to amber; 

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any 

"on" position. 

NOTE: Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or 

hazard lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or hazard 

lamp is activated and then reactivate when the turn signal or 

hazard lamp deactivates. 

19VAC30-70-190. Signal device (intention to stop or turn), 

hazard lights, stop lamp. 

A. Any motor vehicle may be equipped with a switch that will 

permit all turn signal lamps to flash simultaneously. 

B. Supplemental turn signals, properly wired into the turn 

signal circuit, may be installed. These may be either approved 

type turn signals or clearance lamps. 

C. Single face lamps are permissible on the front, except 

tractor units shall be equipped with two-faced lamps mounted 

on the front fenders or on or near the front of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Motor vehicle, or trailer, except an antique vehicle not 

originally equipped with a stop lamp, is not equipped with at 

least two brake lights of an approved type (DOT or SAE-S) 

that automatically exhibits a red or amber light to the rear 

when the brake pedal is actuated. 

2. Every passenger car manufactured for the 1986 or 

subsequent model year and multipurpose passenger vehicle, 

truck, or bus whose overall width is less than 80 inches, 

manufactured September 1, 1993, and subsequent model 

year is not equipped with a supplemental center high mount 

stop lamp of an approved type (DOT or SAE-U, U1 or U2) 

mounted at the vertical centerline of the vehicle which 

functions only in cooperation with the vehicle's stop lamps, 

brake lights, and hazard lights. Any other vehicle on which 

a supplemental center high mount stop lamp is mounted shall 
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have the lamp mounted at the vertical center line of the 

vehicle. The lamps shall be of an approved type and shall 

function only in conjunction with the stop lamps. The high 

mount stop lamp must be steady burning and not wired to 

flash with turn signals or other wig-wag device. 

"Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle 

that is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and (ii) 

constructed either on a truck chassis or with special features 

for occasional off-road use. 

NOTE: Camper shells or rear spoilers that obscure the 

original manufacturer's high mount stop lamp must be 

equipped with a center high mount stop lamp in good 

working order. 

NOTE: The original manufacturer's center high mount stop 

lamp will not be considered for inspection if it is obscured 

by a camper shell or rear spoiler that is equipped with a 

center high mount stop lamp of an approved type. 

NOTE: Multipurpose passenger vehicles with an overall 

width of 80 or more inches or GVWR of 10,000 pounds or 

more are not required to be equipped with a center high 

mount stop light. 

NOTE: No sticker or other foreign material shall be affixed 

to the vehicle in such a manner so as to obscure the center 

high mount stop lamp. 

3. Proper signals do not go on with each throw of the switch 

or if stop signals do not go on with slightest pressure on the 

brake pedal. Turn signals may flash, however stop signals 

may not flash except when the vehicle is equipped with a 

brake warning system or device which will cause the brake 

lights to flash when the vehicle is in motion but committed 

to an emergency or panic stop. 

4. Motor vehicle was manufactured after January 1, 1955, 

and is not equipped with approved signaling devices (SAE-

I). 

5. Vehicle is not equipped with a turn signal if such signal is 

not working properly or does not continue to function in the 

same manner as when it was originally manufactured. (The 

turn signal switch shall lock in place when positioned for a 

left turn or a right turn, and the turn signal indicators must 

function. Do not reject a vehicle if the self-canceling 

mechanism in the switch does not function when the steering 

wheel is rotated.). 

6. Switch is not convenient to the driver and not of an 

approved type. 

7. Any vehicle so constructed so as to prevent the operator 

from making a hand and arm signal, if such vehicle is not 

equipped with an approved type signaling device. 

8. Turn signal lens is not clear or amber to the front, or red 

or amber to the rear. Lens or bulb color has been altered or 

modified. If the turn signal lens is clear, then the bulb shall 

be amber. 

NOTE: The pink color lens found on 1998 and 1999 Honda 

Accords emit the proper color light (amber) when the lamp 

is activated. There may be other manufacturers using the 

same configuration and are not in violation of the Federal 

Motor Vehicle Safety Standards. 

9. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or filaments 

do not burn. 

NOTE: LED (light-emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 

are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles that 

are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament-

burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 

of the diode lights are burning. 

10. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not 

permitted. 

11. The hazard warning signal operating unit does not 

operate independently of the ignition or equivalent switch 

and when activated cause all turn signals to flash 

simultaneously. 

NOTE: They are deemed not to be installed if none of the 

lights burn or flash when the switch is activated and the 

hazard warning signal flasher unit has been removed. 

12. Device is not mounted near the rear for rear signals or 

near the front for front signals (except supplemental turn 

signals) or if the signal is hidden by a bolster or other part of 

body chassis. 

13. All "Class A" signals are not mounted at least three feet 

apart. (This does not apply to the combination rear signal 

device.) However, signal lamps that are mounted as far apart 

as practical inside and at the rear of the frame so as to be 

properly visible will meet inspection requirements. 

14. Any vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic covers, 

any other materials that are not original equipment or any 

colored material placed on or in front of the signal device 

(intention to stop or turn), hazard lights, or stop lamp. 

19VAC30-70-290. Seat belts; definitions. 

A. Definitions: 

"Bus" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed to 

carry more than 10 persons. 

"Designated seating position" means any plain view (looking 

down from the top) location intended by the manufacturer to 

provide seating accommodations while the vehicle is in motion, 

except auxiliary seating accommodations as temporary or folding 

jump seats. 

"Front outboard designated seating positions" means those 

designated seating positions for the driver and outside front seat 
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passenger (except for trucks which have the passenger seat nearest 

the passenger side door separated from the door by a passageway 

used to access the cargo area). 

"GVWR" means Gross Vehicle Weight Rating as specified by 

the manufacturer (loaded weight of a single vehicle). 

"Multi-purpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle that 

is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and (ii) 

constructed either on a truck chassis or with special features for 

occasional off-road use. This shall include a mini-van. 

"Open-body type vehicle" means a vehicle having no occupant 

compartment top or an occupant compartment top that can be 

installed or removed by the user at his the user's convenience. 

"Passenger car" means a motor vehicle with motive power except 

a multipurpose passenger vehicle or motorcycle designed for 

carrying 10 persons or less. 

"Rear outboard front facing designated seating positions" means 

those designated seating positions for passengers in outside front 

facing seats behind the driver and front passenger seat, except any 

designated seating position adjacent to a walk-way, that is located 

between the seat and the near side of the vehicle and is designated 

to allow access to more rearward seating positions. 

"Truck" means a motor vehicle with motive power designed 

primarily for the transportation of property or special purpose 

equipment. 

B. Passive restraint system. 

1. Inflatable occupant restraint (commonly known as air 

bags). 

2. Passive belt system (automatic deployment around the 

occupant after the occupant enters the vehicle and closes the 

door). 

C. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Not of an approved type; (see approved equipment section 

for seat belts) 

2. Installation not in compliance as follows: 

a. All motor vehicle seat belt anchorages and attachment 

hardware must meet the standards and specifications set 

forth by the Society of Automotive Engineers, Inc., and 

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 209 (49 CFR 

571.209), for such anchorages and attachment hardware; 

b. Any questions concerning the proper installation of seat 

belt assemblies should be directed to the nearest Safety 

Division office. 

3. Any 1963 and subsequent model vehicle, designed and 

licensed primarily for private passenger use, is not equipped 

with adult safety lap belts for at least two front seats or a 

combination of lap belts and shoulder straps or harnesses. 

4. Any passenger car manufactured on or after January 1, 

1968, is not equipped with lap/shoulder or harness seat belt 

assemblies located at the front outboard designated seating 

positions (except in convertibles) and lap seat belt 

assemblies located at all other designated seating positions. 

5. Any convertible passenger car manufactured on or after 

January 1, 1968, does not have a lap seat belt assembly for each 

designated seating position. 

6. Any passenger car manufactured on or after December 11, 

1989, (except convertibles) not equipped with lap/shoulder seat 

belt assemblies located at all forward facing rear outboard 

designated seating positions. 

a. Any passenger car manufactured on or after September 1, 

1991, (including convertibles) is not equipped with a 

lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly located at all forward facing 

rear outboard designated seating positions. 

b. Any truck, multipurpose vehicle, or bus (except school 

buses and motor homes) with a gross vehicle weight rating 

(GVWR) of 10,000 pounds or less, manufactured on or after 

September 1, 1991, is not equipped with a lap/shoulder 

seatbelt assembly at all forward facing rear outboard 

designated seating positions. 

c. Any of the heretofore described vehicles manufactured on 

or after September 1, 1992, are not equipped with 

lap/shoulder seatbelt assembly located at all forward facing 

rear outboard designated seating positions on a readily 

removable seat. 

7. Any of the following motor vehicles manufactured on or after 

July 1, 1971, do not have a lap seat belt assembly for each 

designated seating position: 

a. Open-body type vehicles; 

b. Walk-in van type trucks; 

c. Trucks (GVWR in excess of 10,000 pounds); 

d. Multipurpose passenger vehicles (GVWR in excess of 

10,000 pounds). 

8. Any buses manufactured on or after July 1, 1971, do not have 

a lap seat belt assembly for the driver's seating position. 

9. All other motor vehicles manufactured on or after January 1, 

1976, except those for which requirements are specified in 

subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection, do not have lap/shoulder 

or harness seat belt assemblies installed for each front outboard 

designated seating position. Those vehicles originally equipped 

and sold by the manufacturer with only a lap belt installed for 

each designated seating position in compliance with Federal 

Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (49 CFR Part 571) will be 

deemed to be in compliance with this section. 

10. Any seat belt buckle, webbing, or mounting is cut, torn, 

frayed, or no longer operates properly. 

11. Any seat belt anchorage is loose, badly corroded, missing, 

or not fastened to belt. 

D. Safety belts (motorized). Enter the vehicle and close the door. 

Insert the key into the ignition and turn to the on position. A motor 

causes the shoulder belt to slide along a track (Figure 1) starting 

at the front body "A" pillar and moving rearward to its locked 

position at the "B" pillar. The seat belt warning indicator lamp 
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should illuminate with the lap belt unbuckled. When the ignition 

is turned to the off position and the door is opened, the shoulder 

belt moves forward to the "A" pillar. 

NOTE: Do not reject if the motor is inoperative and the shoulder 

belt is permanently "locked" at pillar "B." 

 

 

E. Air bag and air bag readiness light. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any defects in the air bag system are noted by the air bag 

readiness light or otherwise indicated visible or obvious; 

2. The air bag has been deployed and has not been replaced 

(and is not deactivated because of a medical or other 

exemption and a notice is posted to indicate that it has been 

deactivated); or 

3. Any part of the air bag system has been disabled or 

removed from the vehicle; or 

4. If the air bag indicator fails to light or stays on 

continuously. 

NOTE: Checking the air bag readiness light. Turn the 

ignition key to the on position; the air bag readiness light 

will indicate normal operation by lighting for six to eight 

seconds, then turning off. A system malfunction is indicated 

by the flashing or continuous illumination of the readiness 

light or failure of the light to turn on. 

NOTE: Any vehicle not originally manufactured with an air 

bag readiness light shall not be rejected for not having this 

item. 

NOTE: Airbag readiness light check is advisory only and not 

cause for rejection. Advise customer to make them aware, 

but do not reject. 

19VAC30-70-330. Motorcycle inspection. (Repealed.) 

All motorcycles shall be inspected according to the following 

sections. In cities, towns, and counties having a motorcycle 

repair shop or shops appointed as an official inspection station, 

motorcycle inspections may be performed at these places. In 

localities where no motorcycle inspection station is located, 

such inspections shall be made by any official inspection 

station provided a certified inspector observes a satisfactory 

brake test and completes the remainder of the inspection 

according to regulations.  

19VAC30-70-530. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 

driving; fog; spot and warning. 

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 

types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 

driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or clear 

lens (SAE-F) and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-F2), spot 

lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W), and daytime 

running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

1. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp 

warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps of 

an approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of such 

vehicle. 

a. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses may 

be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 

octagonal sign that meets FMVSS specifications (Federal 

Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 571). The 

stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be equipped with 

two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

b. School buses may also be equipped with roof mounted 

flashing white or amber warning lamps of an approved 

type (SAE-W2). 

2. Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic covers, 

any other materials that are not original equipment or any 

colored material placed on or in front of any auxiliary lamps, 

backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot or warning lamps. 

EXCEPTION: Any lighting device that is both covered and 

not illuminated, other than lamps required or permitted by 

this manual, shall not be considered for inspection. Fog and 

driving lamps mounted below the level of the regular 

headlights must be checked for aim as outlined in 

subdivisions K 10 i and K 11 g of this section, if not covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed as 

original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum foil 

or similar materials. 

B. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 

vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 

(SAE-R). 

C. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps may 

be lighted at any time to provide general illumination ahead of 

the vehicle. 
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D. Approved type (SAE-W) blue or blue and red lights are 

permitted on Department of Corrections vehicles designated 

by the Director of the Department of Corrections and any law-

enforcement vehicle. 

E. Approved type blue or blue and red lights as well as 

approved type hide-away or undercover strobe warning lights 

are permissible for use on Department of Corrections and any 

law-enforcement vehicles. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only on 

the four corners, on Department of Corrections and any law-

enforcement vehicles, fire apparatus, government-owned 

vehicle operated on official business by a local fire chief or 

other local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, ambulance, or 

any other emergency medical vehicles. These lights shall 

also have primary warning lights installed. 

2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 

installed in the side marker lights, tail lights or parking 

lights. The strobe itself must be clear and the lens color must 

continue to be the same type and color as originally 

approved. It will not be permissible to install the hide-away 

lights in the headlights or in the backup lights. 

F. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 

white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 

department vehicles, including publicly owned state forest 

warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue vehicle used for 

emergency calls, local Departments of Emergency 

Management, animal warden vehicles, school buses and 

vehicles used by security personnel at the Newport News 

Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, Bassett-Walker, 

Incorporated, the Tultex Corporation, the Winchester Medical 

Center, or the National Aeronautics and Space 

Administration's Wallops Flight Facility. 

G. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red or 

combination red and white lights of an approved type may be 

installed on one vehicle owned by any member of a fire 

company, volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue squad or 

any ambulance driver employed by a privately owned 

ambulance service. 

H. Vehicles mentioned in subsections D, E and F of this 

section permitted to be equipped with flashing, blinking or 

alternating red, red and white, blue, or blue and red emergency 

lights (except vehicles owned by any member of a fire 

company, volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue squad or 

an ambulance driver employed by a privately owned 

ambulance service) may be equipped with the means to flash 

their headlamps when their emergency warning lamps are 

activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 

or lower beam to flash but not both and; 

2. The headlamp system includes a sensor that prevents 

flashing of headlamps when headlamps are required to be 

lighted pursuant to current statute. 

Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 

County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 

function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

I. Any fire vehicle used exclusively for firefighting, any 

ambulance or rescue or lifesaving vehicle used for the principal 

purpose of emergency relief or any wrecker used for the 

principal purpose of towing disabled vehicles may be equipped 

with clear auxiliary lamps that shall be used exclusively for 

lighting emergency scenes. Such lamps shall be of a type 

permitted by the superintendent. Any government-owned 

police vehicle may be equipped with clear auxiliary lamps of a 

type approved by the superintendent. 

J. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 

in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or utilities 

on or along public highways and vehicles used for the principal 

purpose of removing hazardous or polluting substances from 

the state waters or drainage areas on or along public highways. 

Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used for servicing 

automatic teller machines, refuse collection vehicles, hi-rail 

vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or escorting over-

dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or manufactured 

housing units by authority of highway hauling permit. 

1. Approved type (SAE-W) amber, red, and red and white 

flashing, blinking or alternating warning lights are permitted 

on fire apparatus, ambulances, and rescue and life-saving 

vehicles, provided the lights are mounted or installed as to 

be visible from behind the vehicle. 

2. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles owned and used 

by municipal safety officers in the performance of their 

official duties, by businesses providing security services and 

vehicles used to collect and deliver the United States mail, 

vehicles used by law-enforcement personnel in the 

enforcement of laws governing motor vehicle parking, and 

government-owned law-enforcement vehicles provided the 

lights are used for giving directional warning and vehicles 

used to provide escort for funeral processions. 

3. An approved type amber flashing, blinking or alternating 

lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace cars, security 

vehicles, or firefighting vehicles by any speedway or motor 

vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating light may be mounted on the rear of any vehicle 

used to transport petroleum products. The light must be 

wired through the reverse gear circuit and activate in 

conjunction with the backup lights and audible alarm. 
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5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 

permitted on vehicles used by police, firefighting, or rescue 

personnel as command centers at the scene of incidents. 

Such lights shall not be activated while the vehicle is 

operating upon the highway. 

K. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle has an auxiliary lamp being used for a purpose 

other than that for which it was approved. 

Do not reject tractor trucks equipped with cargo lights of an 

approved type (SAE-G) that are mounted on the rear of the 

tractor cab and wired through an independent switch used to 

illuminate brake connectors and fifth-wheels for nighttime 

hookups. 

2. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp that is not of 

an approved type or has been altered. 

3. Vehicle is equipped with a combination of auxiliary lamps 

which include more than two fog lamps, or more than two 

spot lamps, or more than two driving lamps. Motor vehicles 

may be equipped with more than two fog or auxiliary lights; 

however, only two of these types of lights can be illuminated 

at any time. Reject a vehicle equipped with a headlamp 

mounted or used as an auxiliary lamp. 

NOTE: Vehicles equipped from the factory, with two 

driving lamps should not be rejected. 

4. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does not 

function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been modified 

by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit will be 

considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not be 

considered for inspection.) 

5. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign, except 

commercial motor vehicles and buses operated as public 

carriers. These vehicles may be equipped with vacant and 

destination signs and one steadily burning white light for 

illumination of external advertising. Do not reject approved 

identification lights. 

6. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be burned 

together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

7. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. 

8. Backup lamps are not required on motor vehicles less than 

26,001 pounds GVWR. However, if installed they must operate 

and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (SAE-R) or a lamp has 

been altered. 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or filaments 

do not burn. 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED (light-emitting diode) lights 

with a clear lens are acceptable, if of an approved type. For 

those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple LED light 

(not filament-burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if 

more than 50% of the diode lights are burning. 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear. Vehicles 

manufactured without backup lamps may be wired into an 

independent circuit. 

9. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (SAE-K) or a lamp has 

been altered. 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or filaments 

do not burn. 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack or cracks. 

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber. 

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn signals. 

10. Driving lamps are not required. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with the 

four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp system. 

b. A vehicle is equipped with more than two driving lamps. 

c. Driving lamps are not of an approved type (SAE-Y) or have 

been altered. 

d. The color of the lamp is other than white. 

e. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away from 

its proper position. The lens may have one or more cracks 

provided an off-color light does not project through the crack 

or cracks. 

f. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or filaments 

do not burn. 

g. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 

headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent excessive 

vibration. 

h. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn only 

when the high beams of the regular headlamps are activated. 

i. Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the hot 

spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot is 

directly ahead of the lamp. 

NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 

allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical adjustment. 

11. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed they must 

operate and be inspected. 
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Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle may be equipped with more than two fog lamps; 

however, not more than two lamps can be illuminated at any 

time. 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (SAE or DOT-F or F2) 

or a lamp has been altered. 

c. The lens is other than clear or amber. (Fog lamps may have 

black end bulbs or small metal caps over the end of the bulb.) 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away from 

its proper position. The lens may have one or more cracks 

provided an off-color light does not project through the crack 

or cracks. 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or filaments 

do not burn. 

f. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 

headlamps, or is not mounted firmly. 

g. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the following 

instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered in 

19VAC30-70-160 D. They must burn through the tail light 

circuit even if on a separate switch. If installed on a vehicle 

with a four-headlamp system or a vehicle equipped with 

driving lamps, they must be wired into the low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the high 

intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and the left 

edge of the high intensity zone is set at the vertical centerline. 

(Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical headlight 

aimer. 

(3) A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is allowed in both the 

horizontal and the vertical adjustment. 

12. Spot lamps are not required. However, if installed they must 

operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps. 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (SAE-O) or a lamp has 

been altered. 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear. 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away from 

its proper position. The lens may have one or more cracks 

provided an off-color light does not project through the crack 

or cracks. 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or filaments 

do not burn. 

13. Daytime running lamps (DRLs) are not required. However, 

if installed they must operate and be inspected. DRLs must be 

installed in pairs. 

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs is not an 

approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL." 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs. 

c. More than one pair of lamps are used and or designated as 

DRLs. 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to the 

center of the lamp. 

e. The color is other than white or amber. 

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any "on" 

position. 

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or hazard 

lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or hazard lamp is 

activated and then reactivate when the turn signal or hazard 

lamp deactivates. 

For auxiliary lamps on vehicles over 10,000 pounds, refer to 

19VAC30-70-160 as the same requirements apply. 

NOTE: Do not reject tractor trucks equipped with cargo lights 

of an approved type (SAE-G) that are mounted on the rear of 

the tractor cab and wired through an independent switch used 

to illuminate brake connectors and fifth-wheels for night time 

hook-ups. 

19VAC30-70-560. Signal device (intention to stop or turn), 

hazard lights, stop lamps. 

A. Any motor vehicle may be equipped with a switch that will 

permit all turn signal lamps to flash simultaneously. 

B. Supplemental turn signals, properly wired into the turn 

signal circuit may be installed. These may be either approved 

type turn signals or clearance lamps. 

C. Single face lamps are permissible on the front except 

tractor units shall be equipped with two-faced lamps mounted 

on the front fenders or on or near the front of the vehicle. 

D. C. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Motor vehicle or trailer, except an antique vehicle not 

originally equipped with a stop lamp, is not equipped with at 

least two stop lamps of an approved type (DOT or SAE-S) 

that automatically exhibit a light through a red or amber lens 

to the rear when the brake pedal is actuated. 

2. Proper signals do not go on with each throw of the switch 

or if stop signals do not go on with slightest pressure on the 

brake pedal. Turn signals may flash; however, stop signals 

may not flash. 

Every passenger car manufactured for the 1986 or subsequent 

model year and multipurpose passenger vehicle, truck, or bus 

whose overall width is less than 80 inches, manufactured 

September 1, 1993, and subsequent model year is not equipped 

with a supplemental center high mount stop lamp of an 

approved type (DOT or SAE-U, U1 or U2) mounted at the 

vertical centerline of the vehicle that functions only in 

cooperation with the vehicle's brake lights and hazard lights. 

Any other vehicle on which a supplemental center high mount 

stop lamp is mounted shall have the lamp mounted at the 

vertical center line of the vehicle. The lamps shall be of an 
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approved type and shall function only in conjunction with the 

stop lamps. The high mount stop lamp must be steady burning 

and not wired to flash with turn signals or other wig-wag device. 

"Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle that 

is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and (ii) 

constructed either on a truck chassis or with special features for 

occasional off-road use. 

NOTE: Camper shells or rear spoilers that obscure the original 

manufacturer's high mount stop lamp must be equipped with a 

center high mount stop lamp in good working order. 

NOTE: The original manufacturer's center high mount stop 

lamp will not be considered for inspection if it is obscured by a 

camper shell or rear spoiler that is equipped with a center high 

mount stop lamp of an approved type. 

NOTE: Multipurpose passenger vehicles with an overall width 

of 80 or more inches or GVWR of 10,000 pounds or more are 

not required to be equipped with a center high mount stop light. 

NOTE: No sticker or other foreign material shall be affixed to 

the vehicle in such a manner so as to obscure the center high 

mount stop lamp. 

3. Motor vehicle was manufactured after January 1, 1955, and 

is not equipped with approved signaling devices. 

4. Vehicle is not equipped with a turn signal if such signal is not 

working properly or does not continue to function in the same 

manner as when it was originally manufactured. (The turn 

signal switch shall lock in place when positioned for a left turn 

or a right turn, and the turn signal indicators must function. Do 

not reject a vehicle if the self-canceling mechanism in the 

switch does not function when the steering wheel is rotated.) 

5. Switch is not convenient to the driver and/or or not of an 

approved type. 

6. Any vehicle constructed so as to prevent the operator from 

making a hand and arm signal, if such vehicle is not equipped 

with an approved type signaling device. 

7. Turn signal lens is not clear or amber to the front, or red or 

amber to the rear. Lens or bulb color has been altered or 

modified. If the lens is clear, then the bulb shall be amber. 

NOTE: LED (light-emitting diode) lights with a clear lens are 

acceptable, if of an approved type. For those vehicles that are 

equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament-burning 

bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode 

lights are burning. 

8. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or filaments do 

not burn. 

9. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one or 

more cracks provided an off-color light does not project through 

the crack(s) cracks. 

NOTE: Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not allowed. 

NOTE: The hazard warning signal operating unit shall operate 

independently of the ignition or equivalent switch, and when 

activated, cause all turn signals to flash simultaneously. 

NOTE: They are deemed not to be installed if none of the lights 

burn or flash when the switch is activated and the hazard 

warning signal flasher unit has been removed. 

10. Device is not mounted near rear for rear signals, or near 

front for front signals (except supplemental turn signals) or if 

the signal is hidden by a bolster or other part of body chassis. 

A tractor truck need not be equipped with mechanical or 

electrical signal devices on the rear if it is equipped with double-

faced signal lamps mounted on the front fenders or on the sides 

near the front of the vehicle clearly visible to the rear. 

11. All "Class A" signals are not mounted at least three feet 

apart. (This does not apply to the combination rear signal 

device.) However, signal lamps that are mounted as far apart as 

practical inside and at the rear of the frame so as to be properly 

visible will meet inspection requirements. 

12. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any other 

materials that are not original equipment or any colored material 

placed on or in front of signal device (intention to stop or turn), 

hazard lights, or stop lamp. 

ILLUSTRATIONS FOR PROPER INSTALLATION AND 

TYPE OF SIGNAL LIGHTS 

 

 

TRUCK: Front  

Permissible --  

Class A Type I  

Class A Type II 

Must show to front -  

may use two faced 

TRUCK: 

Rear 

Permissible --  

Class A Type 

I Class A 

Type II 

--or-- 

Combination 

Arrow Tail 

Stop & Signal 

TRACTOR 

TRAILER: Front 

Permissible --  

Class A Type I  

Class A Type II 

Two faced lamps - 

must show to both 

front and rear 

 

TRAILER: Rear 

Permissible 

Class A Type I 

Class A Type II 

-- or -- Combination 

Arrow Tail 

Stop & Signal 
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Class A Type I - Are lamps which indicate a change in 

direction by giving flashing warning signal (clear lens - 

amber to front; amber to red on rear) on the side toward 

which the turn will be made. 

Class A Type II - Are lamps which indicate a change in 

direction by means of illuminated arrow heads (flashing or 

steady) on the side toward which the turn will be made. 

 

19VAC30-70-570. Permissible lighting equipment. 

A. Any vehicle may be equipped with any light in accordance 

with Article 3 (§ 46.2-1010 et seq.) of Chapter 10 of Title 46.2 of 

the Code of Virginia: 

1. Running board or courtesy lamps, of not over six 

candlepower. 

2. Vacant or destination signs, if a taxicab or bus. 

3. Identification lamps of approved type (SAE-P2 or P3). 

4. 2. Interior lights. (Not more than 15 candlepower.) 

Exception: This does not apply to alternating, blinking, or 

flashing colored emergency lights mounted inside law-

enforcement vehicles or flashing shielded red or red and white 

lights, mounted inside vehicles owned or used by members of 

volunteer fire companies, volunteer rescue squads or owned or 

used by professional firefighters, or police chaplains. Also, this 

does not apply to firefighting vehicles equipped with map 

lights. 

5. 3. A motor vehicle having a GVWR of 10,001 pounds or 

more may be equipped with an illuminated bumper guide 

attached to each end of the front bumper, provided: 

a. The light thereon is amber in color and less than six 

candlepower. 

b. The light is wired to burn only in conjunction with the 

marker or clearance lamps on the vehicle. 

6. 4. Any approved lamp in good working order when used for 

the purpose for which it was approved. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-P2, P3, 

PC), or do not comply with subsection A of this section. 

2. Lamps are not installed on the permanent structure of the 

vehicle with one as far to the rear and one as far forward as 

practicable and at a location which that is not less than 15 inches 

above the road surface when measured from the center of the 

lamp. 

3. Lamps installed on the side to the rear do not project a red 

light and lamps installed on the front do not project an amber 

light. 

4. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one or 

more cracks provided no off-color light projects through the 

crack(s). 

5. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or filaments do 

not burn. 

6. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any other 

materials that are not original equipment or any colored material 

placed on or in front of permissible lighting equipment. 

NOTE: LED (light-emitting diode) lights with a clear lens are 

acceptable, if of an approved type. For those vehicles that are 

equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament-burning 

bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode 

lights are burning. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7692; Filed December 8, 2023, 1:48 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, or 

police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-101. Regulations Governing 

Purchases of Handguns within a 30-Day Period (amending 

19VAC30-101-20, 19VAC30-101-30, 19VAC30-101-40, 

19VAC30-101-70, 19VAC30-101-90; repealing 19VAC30-

101-110). 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-308.2:2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 31, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Captain Matthew T. Patterson, Criminal 

Justice Information Services Officer, Department of State 

Police, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, North Chesterfield, VA 

23235, telephone (804) 674-2023, FAX (804) 674-8531, or 

email matthew.patterson@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In response to Executive Order 19 (2022) and Executive 

Directive One (2022), the amendments (i) conform the 

firearm holding provision to the statutory five-day period 

and remove the requirement to provide the Virginia State 

Police notification by telephone; (ii) remove a 

requirement that local law enforcement process requests 

for purchases of more than one handgun in a 30-day 

period; (iii) expand the acceptable forms of identification 

that can be presented when an individual applies to 

purchase more than one handgun within 30 days; (iv) 

remove requirements for documenting a nondealer 

transfer; and (v) repeal the section allowing local law-

enforcement agencies to process requests for purchases of 

more than one handgun in a 30-day period. 

mailto:matthew.patterson@vsp.virginia.gov
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19VAC30-101-20. Notification of sale or transfer. 

A. Any dealer in firearms who completes a sale or transfer of 

a handgun without having been advised by the Department of 

State Police if the dealer's records indicate the buyer or 

transferee is prohibited from possessing or transporting a 

firearm by state or federal law, because the dealer was not so 

advised by the end of the dealer's third fifth business day, or 

was told by the State Police that a response would not be 

available by the end of the dealer's third fifth business day, 

shall notify the Department of State Police of the sale or 

transfer by telephone as soon as possible, but in no event later 

than the end of the dealer's next business day. 

B. Any dealer in firearms who requests and receives criminal 

history record information in connection with an intended sale 

or transfer of a handgun that indicates the prospective 

purchaser or transferee is not prohibited from possessing or 

transporting a firearm by state or federal law shall notify the 

Department of State Police by telephone as soon as possible, 

but in no event later than the end of the dealer's next business 

day, whenever the dealer determines that the sale or transfer 

will not be completed. 

19VAC30-101-30. Application for multiple handgun 

purchase. 

Any person desiring to purchase in excess of one handgun 

within any 30-day period shall make application under oath on 

Form SP-207, Multiple Handgun Purchase Application. The 

applicant shall deliver such application in person to (i) State 

Police Administrative Headquarters, 7700 Midlothian 

Turnpike, Richmond, Virginia; or (ii) a division headquarters 

or area office of the Department of State Police; or (iii) any 

local law-enforcement agency certified by the Department of 

State Police as its agent to receive such applications. 

19VAC30-101-40. Identification requirements. 

At the time of delivery of the application form required by 

19VAC30-101-30, the applicant shall present one form of 

identification. The form of identification shall consist of a 

photo-identification form issued by a governmental agency of 

the Commonwealth, a special identification card without a 

photograph issued pursuant to § 46.2-345.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, or a photo-identification for issued by the U.S. 

Department of Defense that was issued at least 30 days prior to 

presentation. 

19VAC30-101-70. Enhanced background check. 

A. Upon receipt of a completed application form, a division 

headquarters or area office of the Department of State Police 

or a local law-enforcement agency certified by the Department 

of State Police as its agent to receive such application shall 

transmit the application, in accordance with policies and 

procedures prescribed by the Department of State Police, to 

State Police Administrative Headquarters. Upon receipt at 

administrative headquarters, the Department of State Police 

will conduct an enhanced background check of the applicant 

and any person to whom any handgun to be purchased is to be 

transferred. This check will include a search of all available 

criminal history record information, including national, state, 

and local indices. The Department of State Police will make 

inquiry of the local law-enforcement agency having 

jurisdiction in the applicant's and any transferee's place of 

residence within the past five years as to any factors that would 

make the proposed purchase illegal under federal, state, or 

local law prior to approval of any transaction. 

B. The enhanced background check shall be conducted 

without delay and shall be completed as soon as possible after 

receipt of the application at administrative headquarters. 

However, in case of electronic failure or other circumstances 

beyond the control of the State Police, the State Police shall 

complete the enhanced background check as soon as possible 

after the circumstances causing the delay have been corrected 

or overcome. 

C. Before granting a multiple purchase certificate, the 

Department of State Police or its agents may make such inquiry 

of the applicant and others as the Department of State Police 

may deem necessary to determine that the application is bona 

fide and that the information contained in the application is true 

and accurate. The Department of State Police shall not issue a 

multiple purchase certificate until satisfied that the 

requirements of § 18.2-308.2:2 of the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter have been met. 

19VAC30-101-90. Retention of certificate. 

Upon delivery of the certificate issued pursuant to 19VAC30-

101-80, a prospective transferor may proceed to transfer the 

number and type of handguns specified in the certificate 

provided the transferor has complied with the provisions of § 

18.2-308.2:2 B of the Code of Virginia. If the transferor is a 

dealer in firearms as defined in § 54.1-4200 of the Code of 

Virginia, the certificate shall be surrendered to the transferor 

by the applicant prior to the consummation of such sale and 

shall be kept on file at the transferor's place of business for a 

period of not less than two years. If the transferor is not a dealer 

in firearms, the transferor shall attest in writing on the reverse 

of the certificate, indicating the date the transfer was 

completed, and the transferee shall return the certificate to the 

office that issued the certificate. The returned certificate shall 

then be forwarded to State Police Administrative 

Headquarters. 

19VAC30-101-110. Agents certified to receive applications 

and issue certificates. (Repealed.) 

A. Any local law-enforcement agency may request that it be 

certified as an agent for the Department of State Police to 

receive applications and issue certificates pursuant to this 

chapter. Any such request shall be in writing, directed to the 

Superintendent of State Police, and designate the particular 

individuals within the local agency who will perform these 
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duties. Only such designated individuals shall accept 

applications or issue certificates. Prior to certification of a local 

law-enforcement agency as an agent, each of its designated 

individuals must successfully complete a four-hour training 

course provided by the Department of State Police. Upon 

receipt of a request from a local law-enforcement agency and 

the successful completion of the prescribed training course by 

its designated individuals, the Superintendent of State Police 

shall certify such agency as an agent for the Department of 

State Police to receive applications and issue certificates 

pursuant to these regulations. 

B. Any agent certified as provided in subsection A of this 

section shall have the authority to receive applications and 

issue certificates pursuant to this chapter in accordance with 

policies and procedures prescribed by the Department of State 

Police. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7722; Filed November 29, 2023, 2:08 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. Online 

users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. Guidance 

documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact or 

may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 201 North Ninth Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Adult Protective Services Manual, 

Chapters 1 through 4 and 7. 

Adult Services Approved Providers, Chapter 5. 

Assisted Living Facility Private Pay Assessment Manual. 

Assisted Living Facility Public Pay Assessment Manual. 

User's Manual- Uniform Assessment Instrument. 

Work Incentives Specialist Advocate Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2024. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Analyst 

and Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7093, or email 

charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Pharmacy Manual, Appendix D. 

Pharmacy Manual, Appendix E. 

Virginia Medicaid Preferred Drug List: Common Core 

Formulary Changes, 90 Day Supply List Changes, and Drug 

Utilization Review Board Approved Drug Service 

Authorizations. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2024. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Title of Document: Requirements for Being Added to the 

Department of Motor Vehicles Driver Rehabilitation 

Specialists Listing. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 31, 2024. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Nicholas Megibow, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-6701, or email 

nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for 

deletion and the listed agencies have opened up a 30-day public 

comment period. The listed agencies had previously identified 

these documents as certified guidance documents, pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia. Online users of this issue 

of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name 

of a guidance document to view the deleted document and 

comment. This information is also available on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or 

from the agency contact. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Renal Dialysis Clinic Manual, Chapters 

2, 4, 5, and 6. 

Independent Lab Manual, Appendix C and Chapters 2, 4, 5, 

and 6. 

Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_6770_20231115.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_6770_20231115.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_6786_20231130.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_6785_20231130.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_6771_20231115.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_6783_20231129.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_6787_20231204.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/GuidanceDocs/charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6761_20231114.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6762_20231114.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6760_20231114.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6760_20231114.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6760_20231114.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_6760_20231114.pdf
file:///C:/Users/nclemons/Downloads/meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/DMV_driver_rehabilitation_specialists_listing_requirements_7-1-23.pdf
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General Notices 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Revisions to the English and Language Arts 
Standards of Learning 

The Virginia Board of Education will hold public hearings on 

the proposed revised English and Language Arts Standards of 

Learning. The Standards of Learning identify the essential 

content, processes, and skills for grade levels and subject 

courses. 

The most current information about the revision process and 

public hearing dates and locations are available on the 

Revisions to the 2017 English and Language Arts Standards of 

Learning webpage. 

For additional information about the proposed revised English 

and Language Arts Standards of Learning, contact Jill 

Nogueras by email at jill.nogueras@doe.virginia.gov. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 25th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 750-8750, or 

email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Glenwood MHC 
LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Glenwood MHC 

LLC for violations of State Water Control Law and regulations 

and applicable permit at the Glenwood Mobile Home 

Community LLC sewage treatment plant located in 

Fredericksburg, Virginia. The proposed consent order is 

available from the Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) contact or at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices. The DEQ contact will accept 

written comments from January 1, 2024, to January 31, 2024. 

Contact Information: Holly Shupe, Regional Enforcement 

Specialist Senior, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

Virginia 22193, telephone (571) 866-6923, or email 

holly.shupe@deq.virgnia.gov. 

Availability of the 2022 Fish Tissue Monitoring Data 

Purpose of Notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) announces the release of the 2022 fish tissue 

and sediment contaminant monitoring data. 

Background: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality conducts routine studies of fish tissue and bottom 

sediments in state waters to assess the human health risks for 

individuals who may consume fish, to identify impaired 

aquatic ecosystems, and to plan and track the progress of 

cleanup efforts. Results are made available to the public each 

year on the agency's website. 

In 2022, DEQ collected fish tissue samples primarily from sites 

in the watersheds of the Potomac River, Albemarle Sound, 

including Great Dismal Swamp and Currituck Sound 

tributaries, and Big Sandy River, although samples were 

collected from all of Virginia's major river basins. In addition 

to routine statewide monitoring, DEQ also conducted a special 

fish tissue monitoring study in the Dan River and Roanoke 

River to evaluate the effects of coal ash in these river systems. 

These data are also included in the release. Samples were 

analyzed for polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) and a suite of 

17 metals, including mercury. DEQ also collected bottom 

sediment samples from the Potomac River basin (32 samples), 

Albemarle Sound basin (four samples), and James River basin 

(one sample), which were analyzed for PCBs and whose results 

are included. 

2022 monitoring results are available on the agency's website 

at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-

quality/monitoring/fish-tissue-monitoring. 

Additional Information: The Virginia Department of Health 

(VDH) uses the data generated by DEQ's fish tissue monitoring 

program to determine the need for fish consumption 

advisories. More information on VDH fish consumption 

advisories is available at 

https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/environmental-health/public-

health-toxicology/fish-consumption-advisory/. 

Contacts for more information: Questions on DEQ's fish tissue 

monitoring program can be directed to Rick Browder at 

richard.browder@deq.virginia.gov, Gabriel Darkwah at 

gabriel.darkwah@deq.virginia.gov, or Andrew Kirk at 

andrew.kirk@deq.virginia.gov. Additional information is also 

available on the DEQ Water Quality Monitoring website at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/monitoring.  

Contact Information: Rick Browder, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 212-9734, or email 

richard.browder@deq.virginia.gov. 

Request for Citizen Nomination of State Surface 
Waters for Inclusion in the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality Annual Water Quality 
Monitoring Plan 

In accordance with § 62.1-44.19:5 F of the Code of Virginia, 

any person may request that a specific body of water be 

included in the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

annual water quality monitoring plan. Such requests shall 

include (i) a geographical description of the water body 

recommended for monitoring, (ii) the reason the monitoring is 

requested, and (iii) any water quality data that the petitioner 

may have collected or compiled. Each request received by 

April 30, 2024, shall be reviewed when DEQ develops the 

annual water quality monitoring plan for the following 

calendar year. DEQ will respond in writing on DEQ's approval 

or denial of each nomination by August 31, 2024. 
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All nominations with the minimum of information as outlined 

above will be accepted for review. 

Please note that private ponds, privately owned lakes, and any 

other body of water with restricted public access are not 

eligible for this nomination process. Data collected in mixing 

zones or at the discharge pipe from permitted discharges won't 

be considered for ambient water quality assessment purposes. 

Nominations can be submitted by email or postal mail to the 

contact at the end of this notice, or nominations may be hand 

delivered to the receptionist's desk at DEQ's central office at 

1111 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

Request to Include a Water Segment in DEQ's Annual 

Monitoring Plan: 

Name:  

Date: 

Mailing Address:  

Street 

City 

State 

Zip Code 

Email Address:  

Home Telephone: 

Business Telephone:  

(1) Name of the water body or water bodies proposed for 

monitoring: 

(2) Please provide a description of the upstream and 

downstream boundaries of the water bodies that show 

specifically where monitoring is proposed. Please describe the 

monitoring site locations as thoroughly as possible. A site map 

(photocopy or screenshot of an online map) is preferred. 

Latitude and longitude coordinates and descriptions of 

identifiable landmarks such as road crossings are also very 

helpful. 

(3) Monitoring objective. Please give the reason for requesting 

the monitoring and, if possible, list the types of measurements 

or sampling that you are requesting. 

(4) Attach any water quality data that you have collected or 

compiled. Include the name of the organization/entity that 

generated the data. 

Contact Information: Meighan Wisswell, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (571) 866-6494, 

or email citizenwater@deq.virginia.gov. 

 

 

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Intent to Amend Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 

Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - Noninstitutional 
Provider Reimbursement Changes 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act (42 

USC § 1396a(a)(13)). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from Meredith Lee, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, 

VA 23219, or via email at meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this 

notice publication to Meredith Lee and such comments are 

available for review at the same address. Comments may also 

be submitted, in writing, on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

public comment forum at https://townhall.virginia.gov/ 

L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; Other 

Types of Care (12VAC30-80)  

In accordance with Item 304.TTTT of Chapter 1 of the 2023 

Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, the state plan is being 

revised to increase the reimbursement rates for early 

intervention services, excluding case management, by 12.5% 

for all children younger than three years of age enrolled in early 

intervention in Virginia Medicaid. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service 

expenditures is $8,995 in state general funds and $9,445 in 

federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024. 

In accordance with Item 304. VVVV.1 of Chapter 1 of the 

2023 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, the state plan is 

being revised to increase rates by 10% for the following 

Medicaid-funded community-based services: intensive in-

home, mental health skill building, psychosocial rehabilitation, 

therapeutic day treatment, outpatient psychotherapy, and peer 

recovery support services - mental health. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service 

expenditures is $131,548 in state general funds, $9,605 in 

special funds, and $224,573 in federal funds in federal fiscal 

year 2024. 

In accordance with Item 304.VVVV.2 of Chapter 1 of the 2023 

Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, the state plan is being 

revised to increase rates by 10% for the following Medicaid-

mailto:citizenwater@deq.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4010/GeneralNotices/meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
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funded community-based services: comprehensive crisis 

services, including 23-hour crisis stabilization, community 

stabilization, crisis intervention, mobile crisis response, and 

residential crisis stabilization; assertive community treatment; 

mental health - intensive outpatient; mental health - partial 

hospitalization; family functional therapy; and multisystemic 

therapy. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service 

expenditures is $43,903 in state general funds, $8,434 in special 

funds, and $122,004 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024. 

In accordance with Item 304.WWWW of Chapter 1 of the 2023 

Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, the state plan is being revised 

to increase the rates for mental health partial hospitalization from 

a per diem rate of $250.62 to $500.00 and shall increase the rate 

for mental health intensive outpatient programs from a per diem 

of $159.20 to $250.00. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service 

expenditures is $4,118 in state general funds, $844 in special 

funds, and $11,922 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024. 

In accordance with Item 304.YYYY of Chapter 1 of the 2023 Acts 

of Assembly, Special Session I, the state plan is being revised to 

increase the rates for agency and consumer-directed personal care 

services by 5.0%. A corresponding rate increase of 5.0% will be 

provided for personal care services and for companion and respite 

services provided under home and community-based waivers, 

however, the increase is not included in this state plan amendment 

but via waiver documentation. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service 

expenditures is $1,187 in state general funds and $1,246 in federal 

funds in federal fiscal year 2024. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Intent to Amend Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 
Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - Dental Updates 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 42 

USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from Meredith Lee, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, 

VA 23219, or via email at meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this 

notice publication to Emily McClellan and such comments are 

available for review at the same address. Comments may also be 

submitted, in writing, on the Virginia Town Hall at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; Other 

Types of Care (12VAC30-80)  

In accordance with Item 304.XXXX of Chapter 1 of the 2023 Acts 

of Assembly, the state plan is being revised to (i) extend the age 

limitation for children receiving fluoride varnish from non-dental 

providers from "through age three" to "through age five"; (ii) 

remove the current limitation on the number of times a dentist can 

bill the behavioral management code when treating adults with 

disabilities; (iii) provide payment for crowns for patients who 

received root canal therapy prior to becoming a Medicaid 

beneficiary; and (iv) provide reimbursement for pretreatment 

evaluations performed by dentists treating patients requiring deep 

sedation or general anesthesia to mirror the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services guidelines. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service 

expenditures is $345,492 in state general funds and $461,486 in 

federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 

698-1810; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 
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