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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act (§ 

2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 

2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Marcus B. Simon, chair; 

Russet W. Perry, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Katrina E. Callsen; 

Nicole Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. 

Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Managing Editor; Erin 

Comerford, Regulations Analyst. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2024 through June 2025 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

40:21 May 15, 2024 June 3, 2024 

40:22 May 29, 2024 June 17, 2024 

40:23 June 12, 2024 July 1, 2024 

40:24 June 26, 2024 July 15, 2024 

40:25 July 10, 2024 July 29, 2024 

40:26 July 24, 2024 August 12, 2024 

41:1 August 7, 2024 August 26, 2024 

41:2 August 21, 2024 September 9, 2024 

41:3 September 4, 2024 September 23, 2024 

41:4 September 18, 2024 October 7, 2024 

41:5 October 2, 2024 October 21, 2024 

41:6 October 16, 2024 November 4, 2024 

41:7 October 30, 2024 November 18, 2024 

41:8 November 13, 2024 December 2, 2024 

41:9 November 26, 2024 (Tuesday) December 16, 2024 

41:10 December 11, 2024 December 30, 2024 

41:11 December 23, 2024 (Monday) January 13, 2025 

41:12 January 8, 2025 January 27, 2025 

41:13 January 22, 2025 February 10, 2025 

41:14 February 5, 2025 February 24, 2025 

41:15 February 19, 2025 March 10, 2025 

41:16 March 5, 2025 March 24, 2025 

41:17 March 19, 2025 April 7, 2025 

41:18 April 2, 2025 April 21, 2025 

41:19 April 16, 2025 May 5, 2025 

41:20 April 30, 2025 May 19, 2025 

41:21 May 14, 2025 June 2, 2025 

41:22 May 28, 2025 June 16, 2025 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1270. Pertaining to Atlantic 

Menhaden. 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Chesapeake Legal Alliance (David Reed) 

and Southern Maryland Recreational Fishing Organization. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: A petition for rulemaking has 

been requested by the petitioners for the following: 

1. Enact a moratorium in the Chesapeake Bay: Set a 

precautionary moratorium on purse seine landings by the 

menhaden reduction fleet within the Chesapeake Bay. 

2. Require no less than 40% of harvest from federal waters. Set 

a limit of no more than 60% of current purse seine menhaden 

landings within Virginia waters (approximately 94,000 metric 

tons). 

3. Codify a one-mile shoreline buffer: Establish a permanent 

one-nautical-mile shoreline buffer along Virginia's shoreline 

prohibiting the use of menhaden purse seines. 

4. Fund and implement a menhaden population study: 

Implement and enhance the Atlantic Menhaden Research 

proposal to investigate localized depletion and its impacts on 

the Chesapeake Bay (Virginia Institute of Marine Science, 

October 1, 2023). 

5. Establish proper industry oversight: Require increased 

vessel and landings monitoring and reporting to ensure 

compliance and reduce bycatch and impacts on Chesapeake 

Bay habitats. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Marine Resources 

Commission, following an evaluation of staff analysis and 

public comment, denies the petition for rulemaking. 

There was consensus among staff, the petitioner, and public 

comment that additional scientific research is imperative to 

ascertain the ramifications of Atlantic menhaden fisheries 

removals on the Chesapeake Bay ecosystem. 

The commission issued a directive to staff, in consultation with 

the Menhaden Management Advisory Committee, to 

undertake the following tasks: 

1. Conduct a reassessment of the one-mile shoreline buffer, 

which entails the prohibition of menhaden purse seine fishery. 

2. Examine the possibility of reducing the duration of days 

allocated for purse seine fishing activity within the Chesapeake 

Bay. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or 

email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-23; Filed December 21, 2023, 4:44 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Bernard Curry. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Counseling amend 18VAC115-20-52 C to allow 

licensed clinical social workers to provide supervision to 

residents in professional counseling. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At the board's meeting on 

April 19, 2024, the board voted to take no action on the 

petition. If the board permitted licensed clinical social workers 

(LCSWs) to supervise residents in counseling, the board would 

have no jurisdiction to discipline the LCSW supervisor in the 

event a violation of law occurred. Additionally, access to 

technology-assisted supervision has increased the availability 

of supervisors for residents in counseling. Technology-assisted 

supervision was not in existence at the time licensees of other 

boards were previously permitted to supervise counseling 

residents. Finally, the board believes that residents in 

counseling would be better served by supervision from a 

licensed professional counselor given the differences in the 

disciplines of licensed professional counseling and licensed 

clinical social work. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-28; Filed February 20, 2024, 12:01 p.m. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulation is undergoing a periodic 

review and small business impact review: 2VAC5-370, Rules 

and Regulations for Enforcement of the Virginia Animal 

Remedies Law. The review of this regulation will be guided 

by the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of 

a periodic review is to determine whether the regulation should 

be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for 

the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 20, 2024, and ends June 

10, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: David Gianino, Program Manager, 

Office of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TDD 

(800) 828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulation is undergoing a periodic 

review and small business impact review: 22VAC40-90, 

Regulation for Background Checks for Assisted Living 

Facilities and Adult Day Care Centers. The review of this 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review is to determine 

whether the regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to this regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 20, 2024, and ends June 

10, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Samantha Fogt, Licensing Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 5600 Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, telephone (804) 845-0308, or email 

samantha.fogt@dss.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

22VAC40-221, Additional Daily Supervision Rate 

Structure, and determined that this regulation should be 

amended. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

April 24, 2024, to support this decision. 

The regulation is essential to protect the health, safety, and 

welfare of citizens because it provides standards for local 

departments of social services (LDSS) to determine the 

amounts of additional daily supervision (ADS) payments for 

foster and adoptive parents as well as prospective relative 

custodians who meet the criteria for kinship guardianship 

assistance. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The board recommends the regulation be amended. A periodic 

review of 22VAC40-221 revealed inconsistencies in how the 

Department of Social Services uses the terms "Enhanced 

Maintenance" and "ADS," as they are interchangeable. To 

provide clarity and promote statewide consistency, the 

department will use the term ADS when referencing a payment 

determined by the Uniform Rate Assessment Tool (URAT). In 

addition, language should be added to require that ADS be 

offered to all foster, adoptive, and kinship families regardless 

of their status of therapeutic or nontherapeutic and to amend 

the timeframe for the readministration of the URAT from three 

to six months for the purpose of determining ADS payments 

for adoption assistance. Language should be added to 

incorporate Virginia's kinship guardianship assistance 

program. Lastly, all references to the Child and Family 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4020/PeriodicReview/david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4020/PeriodicReview/samantha.fogt@dss.virginia.gov
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Services Manual must be removed to make this chapter 

consistent with other chapters of regulation. 

No complaints or comments were received during the review. 

The regulation does not duplicate or conflict with any federal 

or state law. The regulation has no impact on small business as 

it does not include any language that prescribes limitations or 

requirements on small business. The regulation was last 

reviewed in 2018, and no changes in technology or other 

factors impact the regulation.  

Contact Information: Lora Smith Hughes, Foster Care Program 

Manager, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7538, or email 

lora.smith@dss.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

22VAC40-730, Investigation of Child Abuse and Neglect in 

Out of Family Complaints, and determined that this 

regulation should be amended. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated April 24, 2024, to support this 

decision. 

The regulation is essential to protect the health, safety, and 

welfare of citizens because it governs the investigation of child 

abuse and neglect in out of family (OOF) settings. The 

regulation increases collaboration with other regulatory 

agencies to conduct joint child abuse and neglect investigations 

and helps reduce child abuse and neglect in OOF settings. 

The board recommends the regulation be amended to be 

consistent with 22VAC40-705, the Code of Virginia, and 

applicable federal law. In addition, the board proposes simple 

amendments to the existing regulation for the purpose of clarity 

and reformatting of information to conform to the Virginia 

Administrative Code style requirements. 

No complaints or comments were received during the review. 

The regulation does not duplicate or conflict with any federal 

or state law. The regulation has no impact on small business as 

it does not include any language that prescribes limitations or 

requirements on small business. The regulation was last 

reviewed in 2018, and no changes in technology or other 

factors impact the regulation. 

Contact Information: Shannon Hartung, Child Protective 

Services Program Manager, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

629-7125, FAX (804) 726-7499, or email 

shannon.hartung1@dss.virginia.gov. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4020/PeriodicReview/lora.smith@dss.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4020/PeriodicReview/shannon.hartung1@dss.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 

consider amending 18VAC60-21, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to fulfill the requirements of Chapter 413 of the 2023 Acts 

of Assembly and, pursuant to Item 301 C of Chapter 1 of the 

2023 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, make the regulatory 

provisions effective within 280 days of the enactment of 

Chapter 413. The amendments create training requirements for 

dentists to administer botulinum toxin injections for cosmetic 

purposes and provide that an oral and maxillofacial surgeon 

may, after certification based on the applicant's education, 

training, and experience, administer dermal fillers.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 3, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jamie Sacksteder, Executive Director, Board 

of Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4581, FAX (804) 698-4266, or 

email jamie.sacksteder@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7739; Filed May 6, 2024, 8:58 a.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to consider 

amending 18VAC90-19, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Nursing; 18VAC90-25, Regulations Governing 

Certified Nurse Aides; 18VAC90-27, Regulations for 

Nursing Education Programs; 18VAC90-30, Regulations 

Governing the Licensure of Advanced Practice Registered 

Nurses; 18VAC90-50, Regulations Governing the 

Licensure of Massage Therapists; 18VAC90-60, 

Regulations Governing the Registration of Medication 

Aides; and 18VAC90-70, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Licensed Certified Midwives. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to amend regulations to ensure the board 

obtains sufficient operating funds for future years pursuant to 

§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. Under the current fee 

structure, the board would carry a negative balance of 

$2,189,284 in Fiscal Year 2025. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, RN, Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-4455, 

or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7893; Filed April 30, 2024, 7:16 p.m. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Real Estate Appraiser Board intends 

to consider amending 18VAC130-20, Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to undertake a general review of the regulation in 

accordance with the regulatory reduction goal of Executive 

Directive Number One (2022). The regulation provides for the 

licensure of real estate appraisers and approval of appraisal 

educational offerings. The goals of the action include (i) 

reviewing discretionary requirements imposed on regulated 

parties to determine whether such requirements impose 

burdens that are not necessary to protect the public health, 

safety, and welfare or are not necessary to effectively 

administer the licensure program; (ii) ensuring the regulation 

conforms to current Virginia law and meets applicable federal 

requirements, is organized, clear, and understandable, and 

provides minimal burdens on regulants while still protecting 

the public; and (iii) ensuring the regulation reflects current 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

procedures and policies, along with any other changes 

determined to be necessary and appropriate.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Anika Coleman, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 

826-8863, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7855; Filed May 1, 2024, 10:00 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Real Estate Appraiser Board intends 

to consider amending 18VAC130-30, Appraisal 

Management Company Regulations. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to undertake a general review of the 

regulation in accordance with the regulatory reduction goal of 

Executive Directive Number One (2022). The regulation 

provides for the licensure of appraisal management companies. 

The goals of the action include (i) reviewing discretionary 

requirements imposed on regulated parties to determine 

mailto:jamie.sacksteder@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov
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whether such requirements impose burdens that are not 

necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare or 

are not necessary to effectively administer the licensure 

program; (ii) ensuring the regulation conforms to current 

Virginia law and meets applicable federal requirements, is 

organized, clear, and understandable, and provides minimal 

burdens on regulants while still protecting the public; and (iii) 

ensuring the regulation reflects current Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation procedures and 

policies, along with any other changes determined to be 

necessary and appropriate. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Anika Coleman, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 

826-8863, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7821; Filed May 1, 2024, 9:59 a.m. 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Real Estate Board intends to consider 

amending 18VAC135-20, Virginia Real Estate Board 

Licensing Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is 

to undertake a general review of the regulation in accordance 

with the regulatory reduction goal of Executive Directive 

Number One (2022). The regulation provides for the licensure 

of real estate brokers, real estate salespersons, real estate firms, 

and business entities. The regulation also provides for the 

certification of real estate schools, prelicense education 

instructors, and courses. The goals of the action include (i) 

reviewing discretionary requirements imposed on regulated 

parties to determine whether such requirements impose 

burdens that are not necessary to protect the public health, 

safety, and welfare or are not necessary to effectively 

administer the licensure program; (ii) ensuring the regulation 

conforms to current Virginia law and meets applicable federal 

requirements, is organized, clear, and understandable, and 

provides minimal burdens on regulants while still protecting 

the public; and (iii) ensuring the regulation reflects current 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

procedures and policies, along with any other changes 

determined to be necessary and appropriate. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2105 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Anika Coleman, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, or 

email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7813; Filed May 1, 2024, 10:01 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Real Estate Board intends to consider 

amending 18VAC135-50, Fair Housing Regulations. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to undertake a general review 

of the regulation in accordance with the regulatory reduction 

goal of Executive Directive Number One (2022). The 

regulation provides the board's interpretation of the coverage 

of the Virginia Fair Housing Law (§ 36-96.1 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia) regarding discrimination related to the sale or 

rental of dwellings, the related provision of services, the 

availability of residential real estate-related transactions, or 

any other discriminatory conduct prohibited by the Virginia 

Fair Housing Law. The regulation also provides for the 

investigation and conciliation of complaints regarding 

violations of the Virginia Fair Housing Law. The goals of the 

action include (i) reviewing discretionary requirements 

imposed on regulated parties to determine whether such 

requirements impose burdens that are not necessary to protect 

the public health, safety, and welfare or are not necessary to 

effectively administer the licensure program; (ii) ensuring the 

regulation conforms to current Virginia law and meets 

applicable federal requirements, is organized, clear, and 

understandable, and provides minimal burdens on regulants 

while still protecting the public; and (iii) ensuring the 

regulation reflects current Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation procedures and policies, along with 

any other changes determined to be necessary and appropriate. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 36-96.8 and 54.1-2105 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Anika Coleman, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, or 

email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7841; Filed May 1, 2024, 10:00 a.m. 

mailto:reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov
mailto:reboard@dpor.virginia.gov
mailto:reboard@dpor.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 3.2-703 of the 

Code of Virginia, which exempts quarantine to prevent or 

retard the spread of a pest into, within, or from the 

Commonwealth. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-315. Virginia Imported Fire 

Ant Quarantine for Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law 

(amending 2VAC5-315-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-703 and 3.2-704 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 

Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Background: Once established, the imported fire ant has the 

potential to spread to noninfested areas, either through natural 

means or through the movement of infested articles (artificial 

spread). The imported fire ant quarantine is intended to prevent 

the artificial spread of this pest. Under the terms of the quarantine, 

articles at risk for transporting imported fire ants (regulated 

articles) are prohibited from moving out of the quarantined area 

unless certified as free of imported fire ant. Imported fire ant free 

certification can be obtained through (i) inspections conducted by 

the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 

or (ii) compliance agreements between businesses and VDACS, 

which stipulate steps businesses must take to ensure regulated 

articles transported out of the quarantine are free of imported fire 

ants. 

Expansion of the regulated area became necessary after recent 

surveys conducted by VDACS indicated that imported fire ant 

populations had become established in the Counties of Charlotte, 

Dinwiddie, Halifax, Lunenburg, and Sussex and eradication was 

no longer feasible. Expansion of the quarantined area is intended 

to prevent the artificial spread of the imported fire ant from 

infested areas of the Commonwealth to noninfested areas, thereby 

reducing the impact of the imported fire ant on citizens and  

businesses and protecting public health and welfare in noninfested 

areas. 

Summary: 

The amendments expand the Virginia Imported Fire Ant 

Quarantine for Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law 

(2VAC5-315) to include the Counties of Charlotte, 

Dinwiddie, Halifax, Lunenburg, and Sussex. 

2VAC5-315-50. Regulated areas. 

The following areas in Virginia are quarantined for imported 

fire ant: 

The entire counties of: 

Brunswick 

Charlotte 

Dinwiddie 

Greensville 

Halifax 

Isle of Wight 

James City 

Lunenburg 

Mecklenburg 

Southampton 

Sussex 

York 

The entire cities of: 

Chesapeake 

Emporia 

Franklin 

Hampton 

Newport News 

Norfolk 

Poquoson 

Portsmouth 

Suffolk 

Virginia Beach 

Williamsburg 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7431; Filed April 25, 2024, 11:40 a.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––– 
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TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE AND 
CANNABIS CONTROL 

VIRGINIA ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
AUTHORITY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions (amending 

3VAC5-70-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103, 4.1-111, and 4.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2024. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2024. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 

Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Basis: Section 4.1-101 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority. Section 4.1-

103 of the Code of Virginia enumerates the powers of the 

Board of Directors of the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority, which includes the authority to adopt regulations 

and to do all acts necessary or advisable to carry out the 

purposes of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia; specifically, § 

4.1-103 (i) states that the board may delegate or assign any 

duty or task to be performed by the authority to any officer or 

employee of the authority; (ii) permits the board to promulgate 

regulations; and (iii) establishes authority for the board to 

collect fees for all permits as set forth in the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), including fees associated with applications for such 

permits. Section 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

board with the authority to adopt reasonable regulations to 

carry out the provisions of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act 

and to amend or repeal such regulations. 

Purpose: The amendments are essential to protecting the 

health, safety, and welfare of citizens because those interests 

are protected through consistent application of regulations and 

practices, and the amendments achieve consistency between 

current practices and the text of the regulation. Inconsistencies 

between the regulation and actual practices have the potential 

to create confusion in the regulated community, and these 

amendments are intended to prevent any confusion. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial because § 4.1-

103 of the Code of Virginia states that the board has the 

authority to establish and collect fees for all permits as set forth 

in the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act, and permittees have 

been paying this fee already. Additionally, this revision 

ensures the regulation aligns with the practice that has already 

been implemented. 

Substance: The amendments add language that states 

applicants for industrial permits will be charged a fee 

established by the authority. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth is that the regulation will be consistent with 

the current authority practice. There are no disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board of Directors 

(board) proposes to replace the dollar amounts for two fees (the 

application fee, and the permit fee for industrial use of alcohol) 

with the phrase that the fees are "in an amount established by 

the authority." 

Background. Until May of 2022, the application fee for an 

industrial alcohol permit was $10 and the yearly permit fee was 

an additional $10 ($20 total) for orders in excess of 110 

gallons; for lesser volumes the amounts were $5 for the 

application fee and $5 for the permit fee ($10 total). The 

industrial permit is required for shipment and transportation of 

alcohol or other alcoholic beverages from the authority to the 

purchaser. This type of permit is needed for the use of alcohol 

or alcoholic beverages for industrial purposes, scientific 

research or analysis, manufacturing of articles under § 4.1-200 

of the Code of Virginia, and for use in a hospital or home for 

the aged. 

The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority) issued a General Notice in April 2022 informing 

stakeholders of the new amounts of various application and 

permit fees.2 Among other fee adjustments, the general notice 

indicated that effective May 1, 2022, the authority would 

charge a $50 application fee and a $50 permit fee ($100 total) 

for all industrial permits regardless of the volume. The notice 

included a 21-day public comment period. The authority did 

not receive any comments and the permit fees went into effect 

on May 1, 2022. 

The authority states that it held several stakeholder meetings to 

discuss license reform (which included the implementation of 

new permit fees and increases to existing permit fees). These 

meetings were open and held over several months. According 

to the authority, it received overwhelming support from the 

stakeholders for the increase in licensing fees and existing 

permit fees as well as the creation of permit fees for permits 

that did not previously have a fee. The authority relates that 

stakeholders found these fees to be fair and appropriate given 

mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com
mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com
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the fees were directly tied to the amount of time and effort put 

into the investigation and regulation of permittees that is 

required of the authority's Bureau of Law Enforcement. 

This regulatory change is being proposed to remove the dollar 

amounts of fees from the regulation that applies specifically to 

the industrial permits and to insert language that the fees are 

"in an amount established by the authority" so that the 

regulatory text comports with current practice following the 

authority's implementation of these new fees on May 1, 2022. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The $10 and $5.00 fees in the 

text of the regulation were established in November 1986 and 

were not updated until May of 2022. The fee amounts adjusted 

for inflation since November 1986 are $27.10 and $13.55 

respectively for the $10 and the $5.00 amounts.3 The inflation 

adjusted total (application fee plus the permit fee) fees equate 

to $54.20 for orders in excess of 110 gallons and $27.10 for 

lesser amounts as of February 2023. Thus, the current total 

industrial permit fee amount of $100 is 85% higher than the 

inflation-adjusted amount for larger orders and 269% higher 

than the inflation-adjusted total fee for smaller orders. It 

appears the current fees should be sufficient to cover increases 

in administrative and enforcement costs if such costs grew at 

the same rate as inflation. At the current fee levels, the 

authority expects to collect $13,900 per year from the 139 

applications it estimates would be received. In essence, the 

adjustment aspect of fees would help the authority recover a 

larger portion of the increase in administrative and 

enforcement costs that likely occurred since 1986 and the 

applicants would be required to contribute more to such costs 

involved in application review, issuance, and enforcement of 

industrial permits. 

An additional aspect of the proposed changes is removal of the 

dollar amount of fees from the text of the regulation and 

replacing this with a process where fee amounts are established 

by the authority outside of the regulatory process. This change 

would allow the authority to make fee adjustments more 

expeditiously by effectuating them through a General Notice 

and accompanying comment period (as is currently done) or 

without any notice if the authority chooses not to provide a 

general notice of such a change. In contrast, if the fee amounts 

were in the regulation, any adjustment to the fees would be 

expected to follow the steps required by the Administrative 

Process Act (APA). Generally speaking, under an APA-

compliant process there are one or more regulatory stages that 

offer the public and any stakeholders an opportunity to provide 

a comment to which the authority is required to respond to and 

take into consideration in the rulemaking. In this sense, 

removing the fees from the regulation would decrease the 

amount of time the authority must spend when adjusting the 

fees, but at the same time may decrease the opportunity for the 

stakeholders and especially potential applicants to provide 

input and possibly object to such adjustments. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments primarily affect industrial permit applicants. The 

authority expects 139 such applications per year. The current 

fees reflect a larger (inflation-adjusted) percentage increase 

(269% vs 85%) for permits involving fewer than 110 gallons 

compared to permits involving more than 110 gallons. Other 

than that, none of the applicants appear to be 

disproportionately affected. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.4 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted, the 

proposal would take the dollar amounts of industrial permit 

fees out of the regulation and would instead insert language to 

the effect of "the fee amounts established by the authority" 

which is currently done through a general notice. Depending 

upon whether the authority continues to use a General Notice 

to announce such changes, this aspect of the change may limit 

the opportunities available to the stakeholders and especially 

to the permittees to provide input for the fee adjustments or 

object to such adjustments compared to the opportunities 

required to be provided by the APA. Additionally, this change 

would indirectly incorporate the fee increases occurred 

effective May 1, 2022. Thus, an adverse impact on industrial 

permit applicants is indicated. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 The Authority does not track 

which of the affected licensees would qualify as a small 

business. However, a review of the list of active industrial 

permit holders provided by the Authority suggests some permit 

holders may be small businesses. 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The small businesses involved with the industrial alcohol 

permit fee would likely be industrial, manufacturing, research 

and analysis, and medically oriented businesses. There is no 

specific number of businesses that proposed amendments 

affect. 

Costs and Other Effects. To the extent any of the industrial 

permit applicants are small businesses, the proposed 

amendments may adversely affect them by potentially limiting 

their ability to participate in the fee adjustment process to the 

same degree as would be required under an APA-compliant 

process, as well as due to higher fees effectuated by this 

proposal. Thus, an adverse impact on small businesses appears 

to be indicated. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

alternative method that would minimize the adverse impact of 

adjusting fee amounts outside the regulation would be to keep 

the fee amounts in the regulation so that all the opportunities 

afforded by the APA in determining and establishing fee 

amounts would be available to entities who need to obtain 

permits from the Authority pursuant to this regulation. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionally affect any particular locality and do not 

introduce costs for local governments. 
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Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to be significant enough to affect total 

employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected in light of 

the fact that the higher fees are already implemented effective 

May 1, 2022. Similarly, no impact on real estate development 

costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=2386. 

3 https://www.bls.gov/data/inflation_calculator.htm. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

6If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

8Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (VA 

ABC) concurs with the Department of Planning and Budget's 

(DPB) economic analysis; however, the authority takes 

exception to the discussion of the Administrative Process Act 

(APA) rules included in the section titled "Benefits and Costs." 

Not only is that discussion irrelevant, but it is prejudicial to the 

authority and fails to take into account, or even mention, the 

relevant portions of the Code of Virginia that exempt fees 

associated with permits from the APA. 

Chapter 1113 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly amended § 4.1-

103 of the Code of Virginia. The chapter established, among 

other things, that VA ABC has the inherent authority to 

establish and collect fees for all permits set forth in the ABC 

Act, including fees associated with applications for such 

permits. DPB's economic impact analysis includes 

considerable discussion about an "APA-compliant process" 

that includes various opportunities for public comment but 

fails to discuss that VA ABC permit fees are not subject to 

those APA requirements despite the numerous references to 

the changes in § 4.1-103 mentioned in the ABC background 

statement and in various conversations between the economic 

analyst and VA ABC's regulatory coordinator to that effect. 

The economic analyst further speculates that VA ABC's 

exercise of its authority pursuant to the Code of Virginia to 

establish and collect permit fees without going through the 

APA process "may limit the opportunities available to the 

stakeholders and especially to the permittees to provide input 

for the fee adjustments or object to such adjustments compared 

to the opportunities required to be provided by the APA," 

despite the fact that when VA ABC did seek public input 

regarding the changes in permit fees, the authority received 

zero comments and has not received any objections to the 

industrial permit fees since they were adopted. Furthermore, 

despite being provided with spreadsheets from VA ABC that 

indicate there has not been any indication of a decrease in 

industrial permits issued since the implementation of the fees, 

the economic analyst again speculates an "adverse impact on 

industrial permit applicants." 

DPB's economic impact analysis is a five-page document that 

includes one paragraph that actually discusses the costs 

associated with the proposed amendment and the rest 

consisting primarily of the analyst's thoughts as to why VA 

ABC should follow APA requirements that are not applicable 

to this matter. VA ABC objects to the portions of the economic 

impact analysis that consist of the irrelevant portions of the 

APA and objects to those portions used in consideration in 

determining whether or not the promulgation of the regulatory 

amendment may proceed. 

Summary: 

The amendments state in regulation the current fee for 

industrial permits. 

3VAC5-70-60. Alcoholic beverages for hospitals, industrial 

and manufacturing users; permits; fees; storage; 

suspension or revocation. 

A. The board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority) may issue a yearly permit authorizing the shipment 

and transportation direct to the permittee of orders placed by 

the board authority for alcohol or other alcoholic beverages for 

any of the following purposes: 

1. For industrial purposes pursuant to a permit issued under 

3VAC5-70-200; 

2. For scientific research or analysis; 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=2386
https://www.bls.gov/data/inflation_calculator.htm
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3. For manufacturing articles allowed to be manufactured 

under the provisions of § 4.1-200 of the Code of Virginia; or 

4. For use in a hospital or home for the aged (alcohol only). 

Upon receipt of alcohol or other alcoholic beverages, one 

copy of the bill of lading or shipping invoice, accurately 

reflecting the date received and complete and accurate records 

of the transaction, shall be forwarded to the board authority by 

the permittee. 

The application for such permits shall be on forms provided 

by the board authority. 

B. Applications for alcohol shall be accompanied by a fee of 

$10, where the order is in excess of 110 gallons during a 

calendar year, or a fee of $5.00 for lesser amounts an 

application fee in the amount of $50 and permit fee in the 

amount of $50. Applications for other alcoholic beverages 

shall be accompanied by a fee of 5.0% of the delivered cost to 

the place designated by the permittee. No fee shall be charged 

to agencies of the United States or of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia or eleemosynary institutions. 

C. A person obtaining a permit under this section shall: 

1. Store such alcohol or alcoholic beverages in a secure place 

upon the premises designated in the application separate and 

apart from any other articles kept on such premises; 

2. Maintain accurate records of receipts and withdrawals of 

alcohol and alcoholic beverages at the permittee's place of 

business for a period of two years; and 

3. Furnish to the board authority, within 10 days after the 

end of the calendar year for which he the person was 

designated a permittee, a statement setting forth the amount 

of alcohol or alcoholic beverages on hand at the beginning 

of the previous calendar year, the amount purchased during 

the year, the amount withdrawn during the year, and the 

amount on hand at the end of the year. 

D. The board authority may refuse to designate a person as a 

permittee if it shall have the authority has reasonable cause to 

believe either that the alcohol or alcoholic beverages would be 

used for an unlawful purpose, or that any cause exists under 

§ 4.1-222 of the Code of Virginia for which the board authority 

might refuse to grant the applicant any license. 

E. The board authority may suspend or revoke the designation 

as a permittee if it shall have the authority has reasonable cause 

to believe that the permittee has used or allowed to be used any 

alcohol or alcoholic beverages obtained under the provisions 

of this section for any purpose other than those permitted under 

the Code of Virginia, or that the permittee has done any other 

act for which the board authority might suspend or revoke a 

license under § 4.1-225 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The board authority and its special agents shall have free 

access during reasonable hours to all places of storage and records 

required to be kept pursuant to this section for the purpose of 

inspection and examining such place and such records. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7464; Filed April 29, 2024, 4:15 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND  
STATE UNIVERSITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Virginia Polytechnic Institute and 

State University is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 6 

of the Code of Virginia, which exempts educational 

institutions operated by the Commonwealth. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC105-11. Parking and Traffic 

(repealing 8VAC105-11-10 through 8VAC105-11-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-1301 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Suzanne Griffin, Chief Compliance Officer, 

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 300 Turner 

Street Northwest, Blacksburg, VA 24061, telephone (540) 

231-9619, or email srgriffin@vt.edu. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action repeals Virginia Polytechnic 

Institute and State University parking regulation, Parking 

and Traffic (8VAC105-11), entirely.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7701; Filed April 30, 2024, 5:02 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-210. Virginia Water 

Protection Permit Program Regulation (amending 

9VAC25-210-300, 9VAC25-210-340). 

9VAC25-610. Groundwater Withdrawal Regulations 

(amending 9VAC25-610-10, 9VAC25-610-100). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 401 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 10, 2024 - 11 a.m. - Bank of America Building, Third 

Floor Conference Room, 1111 East Main Street, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2024. 

mailto:srgriffin@vt.edu
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Agency Contact: Eric Seavey, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 754-6250, or email 

eric.seavey@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 62.1-44.15:22 of the Code of Virginia requires 

each application for a Virginia Water Protection Permit for 

surface water withdrawal to include a water auditing plan and 

a leak detection and repair plan and provides for the State 

Water Control Board to (i) promulgate regulations that 

establish requirements for such plans, (ii) approve such plans, 

and (iii) incorporate such plans by reference as a condition in 

the Virginia Water Protection Permit. 

Section 62.1-262 of the Code of Virginia requires each 

application for a groundwater withdrawal permit, except as 

provided in § 62.1-260, 62.1-261, or 62.1-266 of the Code of 

Virginia, to include a water conservation and management 

plan, which must include (i) the use of water-saving plumbing 

as provided under the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63); (ii) a water-loss reduction program; (iii) a 

water-use education program; (iv) a water auditing plan that 

complies with requirements established by the board in 

regulations; (v) a leak detection and repair plan that complies 

with requirements established by the board in regulations; and 

(vi) mandatory reductions during water-shortage emergencies, 

including, where appropriate, ordinances prohibiting waste of 

water generally and providing for mandatory water-use 

restrictions, with penalties, during water-shortage 

emergencies. The section requires the board to approve any 

plan that meets the necessary requirements and incorporate 

each approved plan by reference as a condition in the 

groundwater withdrawal permit. 

Purpose: The provisions of Chapter 100 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, have an effective date of 30 days 

after the adoption by the board of the regulations to implement 

the provisions of the act. The development of these 

amendments will provide for the efficient use and conservation 

of surface water and groundwater resources for future uses and 

are necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of 

citizens. There are significant water losses by permitted water 

withdrawal users that lack adequate water auditing and leak 

detection and repair plans. Requiring enforceable water 

auditing and leak detection and repair plans achieves greater 

long-term conservation and sustainability of finite water 

resources. 

Substance: Amendments to 9VAC25-210 and 9VAC25-610 

include requirements for (i) water auditing plans and (ii) leak 

detection and repair plans, as well as amendments to conform 

the regulation to the requirements in § 62.1-44.15:22 A 2 of the 

Code of Virginia, as amended by Chapter 100 of the 2021 Acts 

of Assembly, Special Session I. 

Issues: Advantages of the proposed regulatory change for the 

public, including private citizens or businesses, include water 

loss audit plan and leak detection and repair plan requirements 

for groundwater and surface water withdrawals that will 

provide for the efficient use and conservation of the resource. 

Water audit plans that capture water loss in a system will be 

used to inform leak detection and repair plans, thereby 

promoting efficiency and addressing needs for infrastructure 

upgrades before catastrophic leaks occur. Requiring individual 

groundwater withdrawal permits and surface water withdrawal 

permits to include these plans will help ensure that both 

sources of water are conserved for future uses, which is 

necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens. 

Potential disadvantages of the proposed regulatory change for 

the public, including private citizens or businesses, could 

include the need to install meters where they do not currently 

exist in water systems, the need to hire consultants to conduct 

water audits, increased time spent on the water withdrawal 

application process, and time spent reporting water audit 

results and updating leak detection and repair plans that are 

informed by the audit results. 

Advantages to the agency and the Commonwealth include the 

potential to effectively track the amount of water loss occurring 

in water withdrawal systems, which will enhance water supply 

planning efforts. Potential disadvantages could be increased 

staff time spent reviewing water loss audit plans and leak 

detection and repair plans. 

Advantages to the regulated community, including public 

water supply, commercial and industrial users, and agricultural 

users, are consistent requirements for all permitted users to 

address water loss and the need for leak detection and repair. 

The intent of the water audit process, in addition to addressing 

water loss, is to inform the leak detection and repair plan, 

which will be updated to address current and future 

infrastructure repairs. This requirement ensures an ongoing 

cycle of information gathering and plan updating, which will 

achieve greater long-term conservation of the resource. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 100 of the 2021 Special Session I Acts of 

Assembly,2 the State Water Control Board (board) proposes to 

require applications for groundwater and surface water 

withdrawal permits to include (i) a water audit plan and (ii) a 

leak detection and repair plan. 

Background. This action applies to new and renewing 

groundwater and surface water withdrawal permits. The types 

of entities and uses involved with such permits include 

municipalities (e.g., drinking water), agricultural (e.g., water 

for feedstock, plant irrigation), commercial, industrial, mining 

(e.g., pulp and paper manufacturing), and hydro, fossil fuel, or 

nuclear power generation (e.g., reactor cooling). According to 

mailto:eric.seavey@deq.virginia.gov
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the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), Virginia's 

water resources are under increasing pressure because of 

population growth, economic development, and climate 

change. In 2017, significant groundwater withdrawal permit 

reductions were made in order to maintain a long-term supply 

of coastal groundwater. Both surface water and groundwater 

resources are constrained in various locations around the 

Commonwealth, and a number of executive and legislative 

reports have recommended additional actions to be taken 

including addressing preventable water losses. 

The American Water Works Association (AWWA) is the 

primary national water supplier's organization. At the time of 

these recommendations relating to water losses were made, 

they developed a manual for members on best practices for 

addressing water loss that set a standard of no more than a 10% 

loss in public or private water supply systems. Over the 

intervening years, the manual was updated and revised because 

of the diversity of water supply systems and a concern related 

to a one-size fits all standard. Though the 10% standard does 

not fit well into all types of water systems, DEQ believes that 

it is a reasonable aspirational goal because any loss represents 

water resource waste, lost revenue for the water producer, 

unrealized economic development, and reduced pollution 

assimilation capacity. However, DEQ reports that data in local 

water supply plans indicates that many localities are not 

achieving industry standards for water loss. Some localities 

could not account for as much as 25% of their treated potable 

water supply. This loss represents unrealized local revenue and 

can be due to leaks in the distribution system, within the 

individual customer's system, or a problem with metering. In 

addition to wasting money to treat water that never reaches a 

beneficial use or a paying customer, inefficient use of water 

strains limited natural resources for other economic uses. 

In order to promote overall water efficiency by minimizing 

water losses, Chapter 100 of the 2021 Acts of the Assembly, 

Special Session I, directs the board to establish requirements in 

regulation for groundwater and surface water withdrawal 

permit holders to submit (i) a water audit plan and (ii) a leak 

detection and repair plan. A water audit is simply a review of 

records and data that traces the flow of water from its 

withdrawal through distribution and application to the 

beneficial use. The water audit identifies if a user has a water 

loss problem. A leak detection and repair plan describes how a 

system will identify the location of leaks over time and how 

they intend to address them. The regulation does not require 

that all identified leaks be repaired during the permit term. The 

legislation further directs that once approved both plans be 

incorporated by reference as a condition of the permit. 

Currently, the Groundwater Withdrawal Regulation (9VAC25-

610) contains an application requirement to submit a water 

conservation and management plan that includes a water loss 

reduction program. Similarly, the Virginia Water Protection 

Permit Program Regulation (9VAC25-210), which applies to 

permitted surface water withdrawals, currently contains 

requirements to provide information on existing water 

conservation measures and projected demand with and without 

conservation measures. The mandated audit plan and leak 

detection and repair plan would be supplemental and bolster 

these existing requirements. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The water loss audit and leak 

detection and repair plans are required when a permit 

application is submitted for a new permit or one that is due for 

renewal, and the data collected pursuant to the plans are to be 

reported every three years. Generally, the term of the water 

withdrawal permits is fifteen years absent unique 

circumstances. Thus, the incorporation of the plans into every 

single permit would likely take many years to implement. 

The AWWA water loss audit software is the audit 

methodology recommended by DEQ and is free to use. 

According to DEQ, input provided by the members of the 

regulatory advisory panel indicated that the estimated cost for 

agricultural, municipal, and power generation users to conduct 

a water loss audit every three years and submit a report of the 

results of the audits is about $5,000 (every three years) for 

agricultural use permits, about $75,000 for municipal permits 

(total over a 15-year permit term), and potentially as much as 

$200,000 for a nuclear power plant (total over a 15-year permit 

term). These costs include the initial development of the plan, 

data collection, installing meters if needed, periodic plan 

updates, and reporting of the results. Moreover, if a 

municipality hires an outside entity such as a consultant, the 

cost estimate is about $20,000 per year in such cases. Similarly, 

DEQ provided a rough estimate for the leak detection and 

repair plan of $5,000 (every three years) for agricultural use 

permits, about $40,000 to $50,000 (total over a 15-year permit 

term) for municipal permits, and potentially as much as 

$300,000 for a nuclear power provider (total over a 15-year 

permit term). Based on these estimates, the annualized (i.e., per 

permit per year) cost by type of entity are $8,333 to $9,000 for 

municipalities that use in-house resources, $28,000 to $28,667 

for municipalities that hire an outside consultant, $3,334 for 

agricultural users, and $33,333 for power providers. The cost 

estimates for other uses such as commercial and industrial are 

not available.3 However, these costs are relatively small 

compared to the value of water being processed by users. For 

example, withdrawals reported to DEQ in 2021 averaged 

approximately 4.809 million gallons per day (MGD) per 

facility, as calculated based on total reported withdrawals of 

5.66 billion gallons per day (BGD) divided by 1,177 reporting 

facilities. This total volume includes cooling water 

withdrawals at nuclear and fossil fuel power generation 

facilities, which make up 77% of the total, and are largely non-

consumptive use. Excluding power generation, reported 

withdrawals in 2021 averaged approximately 1.101 MGD per 

facility, as calculated based on total withdrawals of 1.27 BGD 

divided by 1,153 reporting facilities. According to a survey,4 

2021 residential rates ranged from $0.00759 to $0.013357 per 

gallon. Therefore, assuming 1 MGD withdrawal priced at 

$0.01 per gallon, the total economic value of residential use 

would be approximately $3.7 million per facility per year in 
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2021 dollars.5 This example illustrates the relative magnitude, 

but is not intended to suggest that municipal water customers 

are only residential. In fact, many of the larger municipal 

systems also have significant business customers in addition to 

their residential customers and assess a variety of rates. These 

systems set rates based on the cost of withdrawing, treating, 

pumping, and maintaining all the necessary infrastructure, 

which are the primary drivers of the rates per gallon. Perhaps 

because the compliance costs of this mandate are relatively 

small, DEQ anticipates implementation of the requirement to 

include water audit plans and leak detection and repair plans in 

applications for water withdrawal permits would have a 

minimal economic impact on affected entities. 

With the above calculations in mind, DEQ notes that the 

legislation directed the Board to require that water audit plans 

and leak detection and repair plans be incorporated in water 

conservation and management plans, which are a required to 

be submitted to obtain a groundwater withdrawal permit. As 

currently written, for each type of entity, water conservation 

and management plans require a water loss reduction program 

which includes requirements for an audit of the total amount of 

groundwater used in the system and implementation of a leak 

detection and repair program within one year of permit 

issuance. The proposed amendments to the groundwater 

withdrawal regulations revise the water conservation and 

management plan water audit and leak detection and repair 

requirements to be consistent with the amendments to the 

surface water regulation. Current groundwater permittees 

should already have some form of water audit and leak 

detection repair plan in place as part of their water conservation 

and management plans. Thus, DEQ anticipates that this fact 

will result in reduced costs to these permittees, but the amount 

is likely to be specific to each permittee. In addition to the costs 

noted, DEQ would be expending its administrative resources 

to review submitted plans, updates, and results. The General 

Assembly did not provide funding for these additional 

responsibilities. Thus, such administrative costs would be 

absorbed within DEQ's existing resources. Moreover, 

additional compliance costs for permittees include performing 

the needed repairs once leaks are identified. However, the plan 

does not have to show that all identified leaks be repaired 

during the permit term. Depending on the characteristics and 

the timing of the leaks, the magnitude of such costs may vary 

greatly and could be imminent or may be years into the future. 

It is worth noting that this regulation involves water usage 

directly and electric generation indirectly, both of whose 

demand properties exhibit a unique characteristic. Generally, 

studies in the United States indicate that demand for fresh 

water is relatively insensitive to changes in price or rate, and 

thus consumption does not respond to changes in prices or rates 

to the same degree as less sensitive goods or services.6 The 

price insensitive demand is a characteristic associated with 

essential goods as opposed to non-essential or luxury goods. 

This suggests households do not vary their consumption of 

municipal water by much in response to changes in rates. 

Similarly, demand for water for agricultural, manufacturing, 

industrial, and power generation uses are relatively price 

insensitive. For example, an existing nuclear power generator 

has to have access to water for cooling regardless of the cost. 

Thus, the likely response from the affected permittees is to 

incur additional compliance costs and continue operations 

rather than cease their activities at least in the short term. 

Further, in markets that exhibit such a characteristic, it is 

usually easier for a supplier to pass on costs to its customers. 

Therefore, it is likely that most of the additional compliance 

costs associated with the mandated plans would be passed on 

to the end users by the affected municipal water treatment 

plants (to the extent that value of water saved is less than the 

cost of repairs) and electric power generators.7, 8 In contrast, 

the ability of farmers, manufacturers, and commercial or 

industrial corporations to pass on the additional costs to their 

customers would depend on the consumer demand 

characteristics of their own products, and how sensitive they 

are to changes in prices or rates. On the other hand, several 

benefits could be expected from the mandated plans. The 

benefits to permittees and their customers include: reduced 

waste (avoiding costs of treatment and pumping costs that for 

water that does not reach the end user); improved operational 

efficiency; lowered water system operational costs; reduced 

potential for contamination, extended life of facilities; reduced 

potential property damage and water system liability; reduced 

water outage events, etc. The broader benefits include: 

increased knowledge about the distribution system which can 

be used to respond more quickly to emergencies; increased 

firefighting capability; more efficient use of existing capacity 

and delayed capacity expansion; long-term conservation and 

sustainability of finite water resources; helping identify needs 

for infrastructure upgrades before catastrophic leaks occur; and 

enhancing local and regional water supply planning efforts, 

etc. Of special note is the fact that while the water audit plan 

and the leak detection and repair plan would introduce costs to 

the permittees and other entities involved as discussed above, 

this regulatory action is explicitly required by the second 

enactment clause of Chapter 100 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I. Thus, the costs and benefits 

discussed above cannot be directly attributed to the regulation. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. This regulation 

primarily applies to groundwater and surface water withdrawal 

permittees. Out of approximately 370 active groundwater 

withdrawal permits, there are 165 municipal, 72 agricultural, 

68 commercial, 24 industrial, 33 irrigation, three 

manufacturing, one nuclear power, and four fossil fuel plant 

permittees. Out of approximately 114 active Virginia water 

protection surface water withdrawal permits, there are 55 

municipal, two agricultural, 26 commercial, nine fossil fuel 

power, eight hydropower, four irrigation, one manufacturing, 

seven mining, and two nuclear power permittees. Included in 

these entities are four state entities: the Department of 

Corrections facilities and State Parks (Department of 

Conservation and Recreation) have active water withdrawal 
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permits; the Department of Veterans Services and the Virginia 

Institute of Marine Sciences also currently have water 

withdrawal permits. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.9 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted above, the 

proposal to require a water audit plan and a leak detection and 

repair plan is mandated by the legislation. This regulation by 

itself does not create the compliance costs associated with the 

mandated plans. Thus, no adverse impact from the regulation 

itself is indicated. 

Small Businesses10 Affected.11 DEQ believes that majority of 

the permittees likely are not small businesses. In addition, the 

proposed amendments are driven by legislation and therefore 

the proposed regulatory changes by themselves do not appear 

to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities12 Affected.13 Some permit holders are counties, 

cities, and incorporated towns. Out of approximately 370 

active groundwater withdrawal permits, there are 165 

municipal permittees. Out of approximately 114 active 

Virginia water protection surface water withdrawal permits, 

there are 55 municipal permittees. However, the compliance 

costs associated with the required plans cannot be directly 

attributed to this regulation as they are mandated by the 

legislation. Thus, the proposed regulatory changes do not 

introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are legislatively driven. Thus, the proposed changes do not 

appear to affect total employment by themselves. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Similarly, no 

effect on the use and value of private property or the real estate 

development costs from changes in regulatory requirements 

are expected because the changes are mandated by statute. 

_____________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212+ful+CHAP0100. 

3 There are currently approximately 370 active groundwater withdrawal 

permits: 165 municipal, 72 agricultural, 68 commercial, 27 industrial, 33 

irrigation, and five power generation. There are currently approximately 114 

surface water withdrawal permits: 55 municipal, six agricultural, 26 

commercial, eight industrial, and 19 power generation. For groundwater, the 

irrigation component represents watering of common areas mostly in an 

institutional setting, high school and college ball fields, landscaping in 

residential areas, parks, etc. 

4 https://daa.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/11/2021-Water-and-Wastewater-

Report-1.pdf. 

5 $0.01x1,000,000 gallons multiplied by 365 days equals $3,650,000. 

6 https://naes.agnt.unr.edu/PMS/Pubs/2018-3559.pdf. 

7 Studies also show that demand for electricity is insensitive to price changes 

in the short run. See for example 

https://www.iaee.org/en/publications/init2.aspx?id=0. 

8 Electricity rates are regulated in Virginia, but production costs are a factor in 

rate adjustments. 

9Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

10Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

11If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

12"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

13Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Environmental Quality has reviewed the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 100 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, and as required by the third enactment 

clause of Chapter 100 to make the first enactment clause 

of Chapter 100 effective, the proposed amendments 

require that any application for a permit to withdraw 

surface water as provided in 9VAC25-210 or groundwater 

as provided in 9VAC25-610 include (i) a water auditing 

plan and (ii) a leak detection plan. 

9VAC25-210-300. Definitions for surface water 

withdrawals. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings: 

"Affected stream reach" means the portion of a surface water 

body beginning at the location of a withdrawal and ending at a 

point where effects of the withdrawal are not reasonably 

expected to adversely affect beneficial uses. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?212+ful+CHAP0100
https://daa.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/11/2021-Water-and-Wastewater-Report-1.pdf
https://daa.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/11/2021-Water-and-Wastewater-Report-1.pdf
https://naes.agnt.unr.edu/PMS/Pubs/2018-3559.pdf
https://www.iaee.org/en/publications/init2.aspx?id=0
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"Agricultural surface water withdrawal" means a withdrawal 

of surface water in Virginia or from the Potomac River for the 

purpose of agricultural, silvicultural, horticultural, or 

aquacultural operations. Agricultural surface water 

withdrawals include withdrawals for turf farm operations, but 

do not include withdrawals for landscaping activities, or turf 

installment and maintenance associated with landscaping 

activities. 

"Consumptive use" means any use of water withdrawn from 

a surface water other than a nonconsumptive use. 

"Drought" means the declaration of a drought stage by the 

Virginia Drought Coordinator or the Governor of Virginia for 

a particular area or locality within Virginia. Drought stage 

declarations include watch, warning, and emergency, 

depending upon severity, as defined by the Virginia Drought 

Assessment and Response Plan dated March 28, 2003. 

"Drought of record" means the time period during which the 

most severe drought conditions occurred for a particular area 

or location, as indicated by the available hydrologic and 

meteorologic data. 

"Emergency Virginia Water Protection Permit" means a 

Virginia Water Protection Permit issued pursuant to § 62.1-

44.15:22 C of the Code of Virginia authorizing a new or 

increased surface water withdrawal to address insufficient 

public drinking water supplies that are caused by a drought and 

may result in a substantial threat to human health or public 

safety. 

"Human consumption" means the use of water to support 

human survival and health, including drinking, bathing, 

showering, cooking, dishwashing, and maintaining hygiene. 

"Instream flow" means the existing volume of water flowing 

in a stream or water body, including any seasonal variations of 

water levels and flow. 

"Intake structure" means any portion of a surface water 

withdrawal system used to withdraw surface water that is 

located within the surface water, such as, but not limited to, a 

pipe, culvert, hose, tube, or screen. 

"Major river basin" means the Potomac-Shenandoah River 

Basin, the Rappahannock River Basin, the York River Basin, 

the James River Basin, the Chowan River Basin, the Roanoke 

River Basin, the New River Basin, or the Tennessee-Big Sandy 

River Basin. 

"Nonconsumptive use" means the use of water withdrawn 

from a surface water in such a manner that it is returned to the 

surface water without substantial diminution in quantity at or 

near the point from which it was taken and would not result in 

or exacerbate low flow conditions. 

"Potomac River Low Flow Allocation Agreement" means the 

agreement among the United States of America, the State of 

Maryland, the Commonwealth of Virginia, the District of 

Columbia, the Washington Suburban Sanitation Commission, 

and the Fairfax County Water Authority dated January 11, 

1978, consented to by the United States Congress in § 181 of 

the Water Resources Development Act of 1976, Public Law 

94-587, as modified on April 22, 1986. 

"Public water supply" means a withdrawal of surface water in 

Virginia or from the Potomac River for the production of 

drinking water, distributed to the general public for the purpose 

of, but not limited to, domestic use. 

"Public water supply emergency" means a substantial threat 

to public health or safety due to insufficient public drinking 

water supplies caused by drought. 

"Section for Cooperative Water Supply Operations on the 

Potomac" means a section of the Interstate Commission on the 

Potomac River Basin designated by the Water Supply 

Coordination Agreement as responsible for coordination of 

water resources during times of low flow in the Potomac River. 

"Surface water withdrawal" means a removal or diversion of 

surface water in Virginia or from the Potomac River for 

consumptive or nonconsumptive use thereby altering the 

instream flow or hydrologic regime of the surface water. 

Projects that do not alter the instream flow or that alter the 

instream flow but whose sole purpose is flood control or 

stormwater management are not included in this definition. 

"Surface water withdrawal system" means any device or 

combination of devices used to withdraw surface water such 

as, but not limited to, a machine, pump, culvert, hose, tube, 

screen, or fabricated concrete or metal structure. 

"Variance" means a mechanism that allows temporary waiver 

of the generally applicable withdrawal limitation requirements 

or instream flow conditions of a VWP permit during a drought. 

"Water loss" means the difference between the estimated or 

measured volume of water withdrawn and the estimated or 

measured volume applied to the beneficial use. 

"Water loss audit" means the review of records and data that 

traces the flow of water from its withdrawal through 

distribution and application to the beneficial use. 

"Water Supply Coordination Agreement" means the 

agreement among the United States of America, the Fairfax 

County Water Authority, the Washington Suburban Sanitary 

Commission, the District of Columbia, and the Interstate 

Commission on the Potomac River Basin, dated July 22, 1982, 

which establishes agreement among the suppliers to operate 

their respective water supply systems in a coordinated manner 

and which outlines operating rules and procedures for reducing 

impacts of severe droughts in the Potomac River Basin. 

"Water supply plan" means a document developed in 

compliance with 9VAC25-780. 
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9VAC25-210-340. Application requirements for surface 

water withdrawals. 

A. Persons proposing to initiate a new or expanded surface 

water withdrawal not excluded from requirements of this 

chapter by 9VAC25-210-310, proposing to reapply for a 

current permitted withdrawal, or a Federal Energy Regulatory 

Commission (FERC) license or relicense associated with a 

surface water withdrawal, shall apply for a VWP permit. 

B. In addition to informational requirements of 9VAC25-210-

80 B and if applicable, 9VAC25-210-80 C, applications for 

surface water withdrawals or a FERC license or relicense 

associated with a surface water withdrawal shall include: 

1. As part of identifying the project purpose, a narrative 

describing the water supply issues that form the basis of the 

proposed project purpose. 

2. The drainage area, the average annual flow and the median 

monthly flows at the withdrawal point, and historical low 

flows, if available. 

3. The average daily withdrawal; the maximum daily, 

monthly, annual, and instantaneous withdrawals; and 

information on the variability of the demand by season. If 

the project has multiple intake structures, provide for each 

individual intake structure and the cumulative volumes for 

the entire surface water withdrawal system. 

4. The monthly consumptive use volume in million gallons 

and the average daily return flow in million gallons per day 

of the proposed project and the location of the return flow, 

including the latitude and longitude and the drainage area in 

square miles at the discharge point. 

5. Information on flow dependent beneficial uses along the 

affected stream reach. For projects that propose a transfer of 

water resources from a major river basin to another major 

river basin, this analysis should include both the source and 

receiving basins. 

a. Evaluation of the flow dependent instream and 

offstream beneficial uses. Instream beneficial uses 

include, but are not limited to, the protection of fish and 

wildlife habitat, maintenance of waste assimilation, 

recreation, navigation, and cultural and aesthetic values. 

Offstream beneficial uses include, but are not limited to, 

domestic (including public water supply), agricultural, 

electric power generation, and commercial and industrial 

uses. 

b. The aquatic life, including species and habitat 

requirements. 

c. How the proposed withdrawal will alter flows. 

6. Information on the proposed use of and need for the 

surface water and information on how demand for surface 

water was determined (e.g., per capita use, population 

growth rates, new uses, changes to service areas, and if 

applicable, acreage irrigated and evapotranspiration effects). 

If during the water supply planning process, the need for the 

withdrawal was established, the applicant may submit the 

planning process information, provided that the submittal 

addresses all requirements of 9VAC25-210-360. The 

department shall deem such a submittal as meeting the 

requirements of this subsection. For surface water 

withdrawals for public water supply, see also 9VAC25-780-

100 and 9VAC25-780-130. 

7. Information describing the intake structure, to include 

intake screen mesh size and intake velocity. 

8. For withdrawals proposed from an impoundment, the 

following: 

a. Description of the flow or release control structures, 

including the minimum rate of flow, in cubic feet per 

second, size and capacity of the structure, and the 

mechanism to control the release. 

b. Surface area in acres, maximum depth in feet, normal 

pool elevation, total storage capacity, and unusable 

storage volume in acre-feet. 

c. The stage-storage relationship. For example, the volume 

of water in the impoundment at varying stages of water 

depth. 

9. Whether the proposed surface water withdrawal is 

addressed in the water supply plan that covers the area in 

which the withdrawal is proposed to be located. If the 

proposed withdrawal is included, provide a discussion as to 

how the proposed withdrawal is addressed in the water 

supply plan, specifically in terms of projected demand, 

analysis of alternatives, and water conservation measures. If 

all or a portion of the withdrawn water will be transferred to 

an area not covered by the plan, the discussion shall also 

include the water supply plan for the area of the receiving 

watershed. 

10. An alternatives analysis for the proposed surface water 

withdrawal, including at a minimum, the criteria in 

9VAC25-210-360. 

11. For new or expanded surface water withdrawals 

proposing to withdraw 90 million gallons a month or greater, 

a summary of the steps taken to seek public input as required 

by 9VAC25-210-320 and an identification of the issues 

raised during the course of the public information meeting 

process. 

12. For new or expanded surface water withdrawals that 

involve a transfer of water between major river basins that 

may impact a river basin in another state, a plan describing 

procedures to notify potentially affected persons, both in and 

outside of Virginia, of the proposed project. 

13. For surface water withdrawals, other than for public 

water supply, information to demonstrate that alternate 

sources of water supply are available to support the 
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operation of the facility during times of reduced instream 

flow. 

14. For surface water withdrawals for public water supply, a 

water auditing plan for an annual water loss audit in 

accordance with the American Water Works Association 

(AWWA) methodology for water loss auditing using the 

most recent version of the AWWA Water Audit Software or 

another methodology approved by the department that 

estimates water loss. 

a. A water loss audit using an approved methodology shall 

be conducted annually. The requirement to conduct an 

annual water loss audit shall begin upon permit issuance. 

By the end of the first year of the permit term, the 

permittee shall submit documentation to the department 

that the water loss audit has been initiated. This 

documentation shall include activities completed during 

the first year of the permit term. 

b. The applicant shall report the results of the annual water 

loss audits in a report submitted at a minimum of every 

three years. 

15. For surface water withdrawals for public water supply, a 

leak detection and repair plan shall be submitted. The leak 

detection and repair plan shall indicate how its 

implementation will be informed by the results of the annual 

water loss audit process and shall be updated during each 

new permit term. The plan shall include: 

a. A description of how the water loss audit results are 

expected to inform prioritization of actions to address 

water loss; 

b. Where practicable, a process for the identification of 

equipment needs to quantify and reduce water loss; 

c. Where practicable, a schedule for inspection of 

equipment and distribution systems for actual water 

losses; and 

d. In the report required by subdivision B 14 b of this 

section, a description of the plan's effectiveness in 

addressing water loss, including revisions to those 

elements of the leak detection and repair plan that can be 

improved over the short and long term. 

16. For surface water withdrawals for commercial and 

industrial users, a water auditing plan for a water loss audit 

to be conducted beginning in the first three years of the 

permit term. The plan shall include a description of the 

methodology used to determine the water loss for the 

operation and the quantity of water used throughout the 

facility. 

a. A water audit using this methodology shall be 

conducted once every three years. The requirement to 

conduct a water loss audit shall begin upon permit 

issuance. The permittee shall submit documentation to 

include activities completed during the first three years of 

the permit term. 

b. The applicant shall conduct a water loss audit and report 

the results of the water loss audits in a report submitted 

every three years. 

17. For surface water withdrawals for commercial and 

industrial users, a leak detection and repair plan shall be 

submitted. The leak detection and repair plan shall indicate 

how its implementation will be informed by the results of the 

water loss audit process and shall be updated during each 

new permit term. The plan shall include: 

a. A description of how the water audit results are 

expected to inform prioritization of actions to address 

water loss; 

b. Where practicable, a process for the identification of 

equipment needs to quantify and reduce water loss; 

c. Where practicable, a schedule for inspection of 

equipment and piping systems for actual water losses; and 

d. In the report required by subdivision B 16 b of this 

section, a description of the leak detection and repair plan's 

effectiveness in addressing water loss, including revisions 

to those elements of the leak detection and repair plan that 

can be improved over the short and long term. 

18. For surface water withdrawals for agricultural users, a 

water auditing plan for an annual water loss audit that shall 

be conducted annually or periodically based on agricultural 

management plans or irrigation management plans, 

including the anticipated crop rotation schedule or livestock 

growth stages. The water auditing plan shall include an 

estimate of water loss for the agricultural operation and a 

description of the methodology used to determine the 

quantity of water used throughout the agricultural operation. 

a. A water audit using this methodology shall be 

conducted. The requirement to conduct a water loss audit 

shall begin upon permit issuance. By the end of the first 

year of the permit term, the permittee shall submit 

documentation to the department that the water loss audit 

has been initiated. This documentation shall include 

activities completed during the first year of the permit 

term. 

b. The applicant shall report the results of the water loss 

audit in a report submitted at a minimum every three years. 

19. For surface water withdrawals for agricultural users, a 

leak detection and repair plan shall be submitted. The leak 

detection and repair plan shall indicate how its 

implementation will be informed by the results of the water 

loss audit process and shall be updated during each new 

permit term. The plan shall include: 

a. A description of how the water audit results are 

expected to inform prioritization of actions to address 

water loss; 

b. Where practicable, a schedule for inspection of 

equipment and distribution systems for actual water 

losses; and 
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c. In the report required by subdivision B 18 b of this 

section, a description of the leak detection and repair plan's 

effectiveness in addressing water loss, including revisions 

to those elements of the leak detection and repair plan that 

can be improved over the short and long term. 

C. Applications for an Emergency Virginia Water Protection 

Permit. 

1. Applications for an Emergency Virginia Water Protection 

Permit to address a public water supply emergency shall 

include the information noted in subdivisions 1 a through 1 

o of this subsection. The JPA may be used for emergency 

application purposes, provided that all of the information in 

subdivisions 1 a through 1 o of this subsection is included: 

a. The applicant's legal name, mailing address, telephone 

number, and if applicable, fax number and electronic mail 

email address; 

b. If different from applicant, name, mailing address, 

telephone number, and if applicable, fax number and 

electronic mail email address of property owner; 

c. If applicable, authorized agent's name, mailing address, 

telephone number, and if applicable, fax number and 

electronic mail email address; 

d. Name of water body or water bodies, or receiving 

waters, as applicable; 

e. Name of the city or county where the project occurs; 

f. Signed and dated signature page (electronic submittals 

containing the original signature page, such as that 

contained in a scanned document file are acceptable); 

g. Permit application fee in accordance with 9VAC25-20; 

h. The drainage area, the average annual flow and the 

median monthly flows at the withdrawal point, and 

historical low flows, if available; 

i. Information on the aquatic life along the affected stream 

reach, including species and habitat requirements; 

j. Recent and current water use, including monthly water 

use in the previous calendar year and weekly water use in 

the previous six months prior to the application. The 

application shall identify the sources of such water and 

also identify any water purchased from other water 

suppliers; 

k. A description of the severity of the public water supply 

emergency, including (i) for reservoirs, an estimate of 

days of remaining supply at current rates of use and 

replenishment; (ii) for wells, current production; and (iii) 

for intakes, current streamflow; 

l. A description of mandatory water conservation 

measures taken or imposed by the applicant and the dates 

when the measures were implemented; for the purposes of 

obtaining an Emergency Virginia Water Protection 

Permit, mandatory water conservation measures shall 

include, but not be limited to, the prohibition of lawn and 

landscape watering, vehicle washing, watering of 

recreation fields, refilling of swimming pools, and 

washing of paved surfaces; 

m. An estimate of water savings realized by implementing 

mandatory water conservation measures; 

n. Documentation that the applicant has exhausted all 

management actions that would minimize the threat to 

public welfare, safety, and health and will avoid the need 

to obtain an emergency permit, and that are consistent with 

existing permit limitations; and 

o. Any other information that demonstrates that the 

condition is a substantial threat to public health or safety. 

2. Within 14 days after the issuance of an Emergency 

Virginia Water Protection Permit, the permit holder shall 

apply for a VWP permit under the other provisions of this 

chapter. 

9VAC25-610-10. Definitions. 

Unless a different meaning is required by the context, the 

following terms as used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings: 

"Act" means the Ground Water Management Act of 1992, 

Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Adverse impact" means reductions in groundwater levels or 

changes in groundwater quality that limit the ability of any 

existing groundwater user lawfully withdrawing or authorized 

to withdraw groundwater at the time of permit or special 

exception issuance to continue to withdraw the quantity and 

quality of groundwater required by the existing use. Existing 

groundwater users include all those persons who have been 

granted a groundwater withdrawal permit subject to this 

chapter and all other persons who are excluded from permit 

requirements by 9VAC25-610-50. 

"Agricultural use" means utilizing groundwater for the 

purpose of agricultural, silvicultural, horticultural, or 

aquacultural operations. Agricultural use includes withdrawals 

for turf farm operations, but does not include withdrawals for 

landscaping activities or turf installment and maintenance 

associated with landscaping activities. 

"Applicant" means a person filing an application to initiate or 

enlarge a groundwater withdrawal in a groundwater 

management area. 

"Area of impact" means the areal extent of each aquifer where 

more than one foot of drawdown is predicted to occur due to a 

proposed withdrawal. 

"Beneficial use" includes domestic (including public water 

supply), agricultural, commercial, and industrial uses. 

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. When used 

outside the context of the promulgation of regulations, 
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including regulations to establish general permits, "board" 

means the Department of Environmental Quality. 

"Consumptive use" means the withdrawal of groundwater, 

without recycle of said waters to their source of origin. 

"Controversial permit" means a water permitting action for 

which a public hearing has been granted pursuant to 9VAC25-

610-270 and 9VAC25-610-275. 

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Draft permit" means a prepared document indicating the 

department's tentative decision relative to a permit action. 

"General permit" means a groundwater withdrawal permit 

authorizing the withdrawal of groundwater in a groundwater 

management area under specified conditions, including the 

size of the withdrawal or the aquifer or confining unit from 

which the withdrawal is to be made. 

"Geophysical investigation" means any hydrogeologic 

evaluation to define the hydrogeologic framework of an area 

or determine the hydrogeologic properties of any aquifer or 

confining unit to the extent that withdrawals associated with 

such investigations do not result in unmitigated adverse 

impacts to existing groundwater users. Geophysical 

investigations include pump tests and aquifer tests. 

"Groundwater" means any water, except capillary moisture, 

beneath the land surface in the zone of saturation or beneath 

the bed of any stream, lake, reservoir, or other body of surface 

water wholly or partially within the boundaries of this 

Commonwealth, whatever the subsurface geologic structure in 

which such water stands, flows, percolates, or otherwise 

occurs. 

"Human consumption" means the use of water to support 

human survival and health, including drinking, bathing, 

showering, cooking, dishwashing, and maintaining hygiene. 

"Instream beneficial uses" means uses including the 

protection of fish and wildlife resources and habitat, 

maintenance of waste assimilation, recreation, navigation, and 

cultural and aesthetic values. The preservation of instream 

flows for purposes of the protection of navigation, maintenance 

of waste assimilation capacity, the protection of fish and 

wildlife resources and habitat, recreation, and cultural and 

aesthetic values is an instream beneficial use of Virginia's 

waters. 

"Mitigate" means to take actions necessary to assure ensure 

that all existing groundwater users at the time of issuance of a 

permit or special exception who experience adverse impacts 

continue to have access to the amount and quality of 

groundwater needed for existing uses. 

"Permit" means a groundwater withdrawal permit issued 

under the Ground Water Management Act of 1992 permitting 

the withdrawal of a specified quantity of groundwater under 

specified conditions in a groundwater management area. 

"Permittee" means a person that currently has an effective 

groundwater withdrawal permit issued under the Ground 

Water Act of 1992. 

"Person" means any and all persons, including individuals, 

firms, partnerships, associations, public or private institutions, 

municipalities or political subdivisions, governmental 

agencies, or private or public corporations organized under the 

laws of this Commonwealth or any other state or country. 

"Practicable" means available and capable of being done after 

taking into consideration cost, existing technology, and 

logistics in light of overall project purposes. 

"Private well" means, as defined in § 32.1-176.3 of the Code 

of Virginia, any water well constructed for a person on land 

that is owned or leased by that person and is usually intended 

for household, groundwater source heat pump, agricultural use, 

industrial use, or other nonpublic water well. 

"Public hearing" means a fact finding fact-finding proceeding 

held to afford interested persons an opportunity to submit 

factual data, views, and comments to the department. 

"Public water supply" means a system that provides water for 

human consumption through pipes or other constructed 

conveyances to at least 15 service connections or serves an 

average of at least 25 people for at least 60 days a year. A 

public water supply may be publicly or privately owned. 

"Salt water intrusion" means the encroachment of saline 

waters in any aquifer that creates adverse impacts to existing 

groundwater users or is counter to the public interest. 

"Special exception" means a document issued by the 

department for withdrawal of groundwater in unusual 

situations where requiring the user to obtain a groundwater 

withdrawal permit would be contrary to the purpose of the 

Ground Water Management Act of 1992. Special exceptions 

allow the withdrawal of a specified quantity of groundwater 

under specified conditions in a groundwater management area. 

"Supplemental drought relief well" means a well permitted to 

withdraw a specified amount of groundwater to meet human 

consumption needs during declared drought conditions after 

mandatory water use restrictions have been implemented. 

"Surface water" means all state waters that are not 

groundwater as groundwater is defined in § 62.1-255 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Surface water and groundwater conjunctive use system" 

means an integrated water supply system wherein surface 

water is the primary source and groundwater is a supplemental 

source that is used to augment the surface water source when 

the surface water source is not able to produce the amount of 
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water necessary to support the annual water demands of the 

system. 

"Surficial aquifer" means the upper surface of a zone of 

saturation, where the body of groundwater is not confined by 

an overlying impermeable zone. 

"Water loss" means the difference between the estimated or 

measured volume of water withdrawn and the estimated or 

measured volume applied to the beneficial use. 

"Water loss audit" means the review of records and data that 

traces the flow of water from its withdrawal through 

distribution and application to the beneficial use. 

"Water well systems provider" means any individual who is 

certified by the Board for Contractors in accordance with § 

54.1-1128 et seq. of the Code of Virginia and who is engaged 

in drilling, installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells, 

water well pumps, ground source heat exchangers, and other 

equipment associated with the construction, removal, or repair 

of water wells, water well systems, and ground source heat 

pump exchangers to the point of connection to the ground 

source heat pump. 

"Well" means any artificial opening or artificially altered 

natural opening, however made, by which groundwater is 

sought or through which groundwater flows under natural 

pressure or is intended to be withdrawn. 

"Withdrawal system" means (i) one or more wells or 

withdrawal points located on the same or contiguous properties 

under common ownership for which the withdrawal is applied 

to the same beneficial use or (ii) two or more connected wells 

or withdrawal points that are under common ownership but are 

not necessarily located on contiguous properties. 

9VAC25-610-100. Water conservation and management 

plans. 

A. Any application to initiate a new withdrawal or expand an 

existing withdrawal in any groundwater management area or 

the reapplication at the end of a permit cycle for all permits 

shall require a water conservation and management plan before 

the application or reapplication is considered complete. The 

department shall review all water conservation and 

management plans and assure ensure that such plans contain 

all elements required in subsection B of this section. The 

approved plan shall become an enforceable part of the 

approved permit. 

B. A water conservation and management plan is an 

operational plan to be referenced and implemented by the 

permittee. Water conservation and management plans shall be 

consistent with local and regional water supply plans in the 

applicant's geographic area developed as required by 9VAC25-

780. The water conservation and management plan shall be 

specific to the type of water use and include the following: 

1. For municipal and nonmunicipal public water supplies a 

public water supply, the required water conservation and 

management plan shall include: 

a. Where practicable, the plan should require use of water-

saving equipment and processes for all water users 

including technological, procedural, or programmatic 

improvements to the facilities and processes to decrease 

the amount of water withdrawn or to decrease water 

demand. The goal of these requirements is to assure the 

most efficient use of groundwater. Information on the 

water-saving alternatives examined and the water savings 

associated with the alternatives shall be provided. Water 

conservation and management plans shall discuss high 

volume water consumption by users on the system and 

where conservation measures have previously been 

implemented and shall be applied. Also, where 

appropriate, the use of water-saving fixtures in new and 

renovated plumbing as provided in the Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63) shall be identified in the 

plan; A water auditing plan for an annual water loss audit 

in accordance with the American Water Works 

Association (AWWA) methodology for water loss 

auditing, using the most recent version of the AWWA 

Water Audit Software or another methodology approved 

by the department that estimates water loss. 

(1) A water loss audit using an approved methodology 

shall be conducted annually. The requirement to conduct 

an annual water loss audit shall begin upon permit 

issuance. By the end of the first year of the permit term, 

the permittee shall submit documentation to the 

department that the water loss audit has been initiated. 

This documentation shall include activities completed 

during the first year of the permit term. 

(2) The applicant shall report the results of the annual 

water loss audits in a report submitted at a minimum every 

three years. The report shall also include any revisions to 

the water auditing plan over the short and long term. 

b. A water loss reduction program, which defines the 

applicant's leak detection and repair program. The water 

loss reduction program plan shall include requirements for 

an audit of the total amount of groundwater used in the 

distribution system and operational processes during the 

first two years of the permit cycle. Implementation of a be 

submitted as a component of the water conservation and 

management plan. The leak detection and repair program 

plan shall be required within one year of the date the 

permit is issued. The program shall include a schedule for 

inspection of equipment and piping for leaks; indicate how 

its implementation will be informed by the results of the 

annual water loss audit process and shall be updated 

during each new permit term. The plan shall include: 

(1) A description of how the water loss audit results are 

expected to inform prioritization of actions to address 

water loss; 
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(2) Where practicable, a process for the identification of 

equipment needs to quantify and reduce water loss; 

(3) Where practicable, a schedule for inspection of 

equipment and distribution systems for actual water 

losses; and 

(4) In the report required by subdivision 1 a (2) of this 

subsection, a description of the leak detection and repair 

plan's effectiveness in addressing water loss, including 

revisions to those elements of the leak detection and repair 

plan that can be improved over the short and long term. 

c. Other components of a water conservation and 

management plan include: 

(1) A water use education program that contains 

requirements for the education of water users and training 

of employees controlling water consuming processes to 

assure ensure that water conservation principles are well 

known by the users of the resource. The program shall 

include a schedule for information distribution and the 

type of materials used; 

d. (2) An evaluation of water reuse options and assurances 

that water shall be reused in all instances where reuse is 

practicable. Potential for expansion of the existing reuse 

practices or adoption of additional reuse practices shall 

also be included; and 

e. (3) Where practicable, a requirement for the use of 

water-saving equipment and processes for all water users, 

including technological, procedural, or programmatic 

improvements to the facilities and processes to decrease 

the amount of water withdrawn or to decrease water 

demand. Information on the water-saving alternatives 

examined and the water savings associated with the 

alternatives shall be provided. Water conservation and 

management plans shall discuss high volume water 

consumption by users on the system and where 

conservation measures have previously been implemented 

and shall be applied. Where appropriate, the use of water-

saving fixtures in new and renovated plumbing, as 

provided in the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63), shall also be identified in the plan; 

and 

(4) Requirements for mandatory water use reductions 

during water shortage emergencies declared by the local 

governing body or water authority consistent with §§ 15.2-

923 and 15.2-924 of the Code of Virginia. This shall 

include, where appropriate, ordinances in municipal 

systems prohibiting the waste of water generally and 

requirements providing for mandatory water use 

restrictions in accordance with drought response and 

contingency ordinances implemented to comply with 

9VAC25-780-120 during water shortage emergencies. 

The water conservation and management plan shall also 

contain requirements for mandatory water use restrictions 

during water shortage emergencies that restricts or 

prohibits all nonessential uses such as lawn watering, car 

washing, and similar nonessential residential, industrial, 

and commercial uses for the duration of the water shortage 

emergency. Penalties for failure to comply with 

mandatory water use restrictions shall be included in 

municipal system plans. 

2. For nonpublic water supply applicants - a commercial and 

industrial users user, the required water conservation and 

management plan shall include: 

a. Where applicable, the plan should require use of water-

saving equipment and processes for all water users 

including technological, procedural, or programmatic 

improvements to the facilities and processes to decrease 

the amount of water withdrawn or to decrease water 

demand. The goal of these requirements is to assure the 

most efficient use of groundwater. Information on the 

water-saving alternatives examined and the water savings 

associated with the alternatives shall be provided. Also, 

where appropriate, the use of water-saving fixtures in new 

and renovated plumbing as provided in the Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) shall be identified 

in the plan; A water auditing plan for a water loss audit to 

be conducted beginning in the first three years of the 

permit term. The plan shall include a description of the 

methodology used to estimate the water loss for the 

operation and the quantity of water used throughout the 

facility. 

(1) A water loss audit using this methodology shall be 

conducted once every three years. The requirement to 

conduct a water loss audit shall begin upon permit 

issuance. Documentation shall include activities 

completed during the first three years of the permit term. 

(2) The applicant shall conduct a water loss audit and 

report the results of the water loss audit in a report 

submitted every three years. 

b. A water loss reduction program, which defines the 

applicant's leak detection and repair program. The water 

loss reduction program plan shall include requirements for 

an audit of the total amount of groundwater used in the 

distribution system and operational processes during the 

first two years of the permit cycle. Implementation of a be 

submitted as a component of the water conservation and 

management plan. The leak detection and repair program 

shall be required within one year of the date the permit is 

issued plan shall indicate how its implementation will be 

informed by the results of the water loss audit process and 

shall be updated during each new permit term. The 

program plan shall include a schedule for inspection of 

equipment and piping for leaks;: 

(1) A description of how the water loss audit results are 

expected to inform prioritization of actions to address 

water loss; 

(2) Where practicable, a process for the identification of 

equipment needs to quantify and reduce water loss; 
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(3) Where practicable, a schedule for inspection of 

equipment and piping systems for actual water losses; 

(4) Where practicable, a requirement for use of water-

saving equipment and processes including technological, 

procedural, or programmatic improvements to the 

facilities and processes to decrease the amount of water 

withdrawn or to decrease water demand. The goal of these 

requirements is to ensure the most efficient use of 

groundwater. Information on the water-saving alternatives 

examined and the water savings associated with the 

alternatives shall be provided. Water conservation and 

management plans shall discuss high volume water 

processes in the facility and where conservation measures 

have previously been implemented and shall be applied. 

Where appropriate, the use of water-saving fixtures in new 

and renovated plumbing, as provided in the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code, shall also be identified 

in the plan; and 

(5) In the report required by subdivision 2 a (2) of this 

subsection, a description of the plan's effectiveness in 

addressing water loss, including revisions to those 

elements of the water conservation and management plan 

that can be improved over the short and long term. 

c. Other components of a water conservation and 

management plan include: 

(1) A water use education program that contains 

requirements for the education of water users and training 

of employees controlling water consuming processes to 

assure ensure that water conservation principles are well 

known by the users of the resource. The program shall 

include a schedule for information distribution and the 

type of materials used; 

d. (2) An evaluation of water reuse options and assurances 

that water shall be reused in all instances where reuse is 

practicable. Potential for expansion of the existing reuse 

practices or adoption of additional reuse practices shall 

also be included; and 

e. (3) Where practicable, actions to encourage or provide 

incentives for the use of water-saving fixtures in new and 

renovated plumbing, as provided under the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code, shall be identified in 

the plan; and 

(4) Requirements for complying with mandatory water use 

reductions during water shortage emergencies declared by 

the local governing body or water authority in accordance 

with §§ 15.2-923 and 15.2-924 of the Code of Virginia. 

This shall include, where appropriate, ordinances 

prohibiting the waste of water generally and requirements 

providing for mandatory water use restrictions in 

accordance with drought response and contingency 

ordinances implemented to comply with 9VAC25-780-

120 during water shortage emergencies. The water 

conservation and management plan shall also contain 

requirements for mandatory water use restrictions during 

water shortage emergencies that restricts or prohibits all 

nonessential uses such as lawn watering, car washing, and 

similar nonessential industrial and commercial uses for the 

duration of the water shortage emergency. 

3. For nonpublic water supply applicants - an agricultural 

users user, the required water conservation and management 

plan shall include: 

a. Requirements for the use of water-saving plumbing and 

processes to decrease the amount of water withdrawn or to 

decrease water demand. Plans submitted for the use of 

groundwater for irrigation shall identify the specific type 

of irrigation system that will be utilized, the efficiency 

rating of the irrigation system in comparison to less 

efficient systems, the irrigation schedule used to minimize 

water demand, and the crop watering requirements. 

Multiple types of irrigation methods may be addressed in 

the plan. For livestock watering operations, plans shall 

include livestock watering requirements (per head) and 

processes to minimize waste of water. These requirements 

shall assure that the most practicable use is made of 

groundwater. If these options are not implemented in the 

plan, information on the water-saving alternatives 

examined and the water savings associated with the 

alternatives shall be provided; A water auditing plan for 

an annual water loss audit that shall be conducted annually 

or periodically based on agricultural management plans or 

irrigation management plans, including the anticipated 

crop rotation schedule or livestock growth stages. The 

water auditing plan shall include an estimate of water loss 

for the agricultural operation and a description of the 

methodology used to determine the quantity of water used 

throughout the agricultural operation. 

(1) A water loss audit using this methodology shall be 

conducted. The requirement to conduct a water loss audit 

shall begin upon permit issuance. By the end of the first 

year of the permit term, the permittee shall submit 

documentation to the department that the water loss audit 

has been initiated. This documentation shall include 

activities completed during the first year of the permit 

term. 

(2) The applicant shall report the results of the water loss 

audit in a report submitted at a minimum every three years. 

b. A water loss reduction program, which defines the 

applicant's leak detection and repair program. The water 

loss reduction program plan shall include requirements for 

an audit of the total amount of groundwater used in the 

distribution system and operational processes during the 

first two years of the permit cycle. Implementation of a be 

submitted as a component of the water conservation and 

management plan. The leak detection and repair program 

plan shall be required within one year of the date the 

permit is issued. The program shall include a schedule for 

inspection of equipment and piping for leaks;: 
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(1) A description of how the water loss audit results are 

expected to inform prioritization of actions to address 

water loss; 

(2) For plans submitted for the use of groundwater for 

irrigation, identification of the specific type of irrigation 

system that will be utilized, the efficiency rating of the 

irrigation system in comparison to less efficient systems, 

the irrigation management methods used to minimize 

water demand, and the anticipated crop watering 

requirements. Multiple types of irrigation methods may be 

addressed in the plan. For livestock watering operations, 

plans shall include livestock watering requirements (per 

head) and processes to minimize waste of water. If these 

options are not implemented in the plan, information on 

the water-saving alternatives examined and the water 

savings associated with the alternatives shall be provided; 

(3) Where practicable, a schedule for inspection of 

equipment and distribution systems for water loss; 

(4) Where practicable, the use of water-saving equipment 

and processes, including technological, procedural, or 

programmatic improvements to the facilities and 

processes to decrease the amount of water withdrawn or to 

decrease water loss. The goal of these requirements is to 

ensure the most efficient use of groundwater. Information 

on the water-saving alternatives examined and the water 

savings associated with the alternatives should be 

provided. Water conservation and management plans shall 

discuss high volume water consumption by processes in 

the agricultural operation and where conservation 

measures have previously been implemented and shall be 

applied. Where practicable, the use of water-saving 

fixtures in new and renovated plumbing, as provided in the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, shall also be 

identified in the plan; and 

(5) In the report required by subdivision 3 a (2) of this 

subsection, a description of the leak detection and repair 

plan's effectiveness in addressing water loss, including 

revisions to those elements of the leak detection and repair 

plan that can be improved over the short and long term. 

c. Other components of a water conservation and 

management plan include: 

(1) A water use education program that contains 

requirements for the training of employees controlling 

water consuming processes to assure ensure that water 

conservation principles are well known by the users of the 

resource. The program shall include a schedule for 

training employees. This requirement may be met through 

training employees on water use requirements contained 

in irrigation management plans or livestock management 

plans; 

d. (2) An evaluation of potential water reuse options and 

assurances that water shall be reused in all instances where 

reuse is practicable and not prohibited by other regulatory 

programs;. Potential for expansion of the existing reuse 

practices or adoption of additional reuse practices shall 

also be included; and 

e. (3) Requirements for mandatory water use reductions 

during water shortage emergencies and compliance with 

ordinances prohibiting the waste of water generally. This 

shall include requirements providing for mandatory water 

use restrictions in accordance with drought response and 

contingency ordinances implemented to comply with 

9VAC25-780-120 during water shortage emergencies. f.; 

and 

(4) The permittee may submit portions of Agricultural 

Management Plans or Irrigation Management Plans 

developed to comply with requirements of federal or state 

laws, regulations, or guidelines to demonstrate the 

requirements of subdivisions B 3 a through d B 3 c (3) of 

this section are being achieved. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6942; Filed April 30, 2024, 8:57 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-219. Prescription Drug Price 

Transparency Regulation (adding 12VAC5-219-10 

through 12VAC5-219-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-23.4 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

On April 8, 2024, the Governor approved Chapter 727 of the 

2024 Acts of Assembly, extending the expiration date of the 

emergency regulation for 12VAC5-219 "until the 

promulgation of final regulations". Therefore, the emergency 

regulation is continued in effect. On January 17, 2022, 

emergency amendments to 12VAC5-219 went into effect to 

ensure that health carriers, pharmacy benefits managers, drug 

wholesale distributors, and drug manufacturers submit to the 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) information regarding 

prescription drug prices, which VDH is required to make 

publicly available. The emergency regulation was promulgated 

pursuant to Chapter 304 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, Special 

Session I. The proposed regulation is under review by the 

Secretary of Health and Human Resources (Day 482). Once it 

is approved by the Executive Branch, it will be submitted for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. Upon 

publication, a 60-day public comment period will begin. After 

that closes, VDH will develop and submit a final regulation to 

make the emergency regulation permanent. VDH is working to 

complete the standard regulatory process to make the 

regulation permanent as quickly as possible, but the regulatory 

process is not complete, and the emergency regulation expired 

January 15, 2024 (find the extension pursuant to § 2.2-4011 D 
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of the Code of Virginia published 39:15 VA.R. 2065 March 

13, 2024). The emergency regulation was published in 38:11 

VA.R. 1000-1010 January 17, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Michael Sarkissian, Director, Data and 

Quality, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7416, FAX (804) 

864-7022, or email vdh_oim_regulations@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6828; Filed April 29, 2024, 2:30 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(amending 12VAC30-120-900 through 12VAC30-120-945; 

repealing 12VAC30-120-1700 through 12VAC30-120-

1770). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: June 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal the Technology Assisted Waiver 

and establish Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus 

(CCC Plus) for individuals previously served under the 

Elderly and Disabled with Consumer Direction and the 

Technology Assistance Waivers. CCC Plus will operate 

under a fully integrated model across the full continuum 

of care that includes physical health, behavioral health, 

and community-based and institutional services and have 

very few carved out services. The new waiver includes 

definitions, waiver description and legal authority for the 

waiver, individual eligibility requirements, covered 

services, respite coverage in children's residential 

facilities, general requirements for home and community-

based participating providers, participation standards, 

and payment for services. Some specific provisions 

include (i) language for overtime for consumer-directed 

attendants as required by Item 313 ZZZZ of the 2021 

Appropriation Act; (ii) a reduction to four hours for the 

employment earnings disregard criteria as required by 

Item 313 QQQQ of the 2021 Appropriation Act; (iii) a 

limit of 16 hours per day for a single aide, attendant, or 

nurse to provide personal care or respite services to an 

individual; and (iv) changes from a state fiscal year to a 

calendar year regarding respite, assistive technology, and 

environmental modification services. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Part IX 

Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Commonwealth 

Coordinated Care Plus Waiver 

12VAC30-120-900. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating/feeding eating or feeding. An individual's degree of 

independence in performing these activities is a part of 

determining appropriate level of care and service needs. 

"Adult" means an individual who is 21 years of age or older. 

"Adult day health care" or "ADHC" means long-term 

maintenance or supportive services offered by a DMAS-

enrolled community-based day care program providing a 

program licensed by the Virginia Department of Social 

Services (VDSS) as an adult day care center (ADCC) and 

authorized as a Medicaid-enrolled provider meeting home and 

community-based services (HCBS) settings rules that provides 

a variety of health, therapeutic, and social services designed to 

meet the specialized needs of those waiver individuals who are 

elderly or who have a disability and who are at risk of 

placement in a nursing facility (NF). The program shall be 

licensed by the Virginia Department of Social Services 

(VDSS) as an adult day care center (ADCC). The services 

offered by the center shall be required by the waiver individual 

in order to permit the individual to remain in his home rather 

than entering a nursing facility. ADHC can also refer to the 

center where this service is provided. 

"Adult protective services" or "APS" means the same as 

defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency-directed model of service" means a model of service 

delivery where an agency is responsible for providing direct 

support staff, for maintaining individuals' records, and for 

scheduling the dates and times of the direct support staff's 

presence in the individuals' homes for personal and respite 

care. 

"Americans with Disabilities Act" or "ADA" means the 

United States Code pursuant to 42 USC § 12101 et seq.  

"Agency provider" means a public or private organization or 

entity that holds a Medicaid provider agreement and furnishes 

services to individuals using its own employees or 

subcontractors. 

"Annually" means a period of time covering 365 consecutive 

calendar days or 366 consecutive days in the case of leap years. 

https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10610
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10610
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10022
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10022
mailto:vdh_oim_regulations@vdh.virginia.gov
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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"Appeal" means the process used to challenge actions 

regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement provided by 

Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 [ et seq. ] and 12VAC30-

20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560 12VAC30-20-570. 

"Applicant" means an individual or representative on the 

individual's behalf who has applied for or is in the process of 

applying for and is awaiting a determination of eligibility for 

admission to the CCC Plus Program Waiver. 

"Assess" means to evaluate an applicant's or an individual's 

condition, including functional status (i.e., an individual's 

degree of dependence in performing ADLs or IADLs), current 

medical status, psycho-social history, and environment. 

Information is collected from the applicant or individual, 

applicant's or individual's representative, family, and medical 

professionals as well as the assessor's observation of the 

applicant or individual.  

"Assessment" means one or more processes that are used to 

obtain information about an individual, including the 

individual's condition, personal goals and preferences, 

functional limitations, health status, financial status, and other 

factors that are relevant to the determination of eligibility for 

service. An assessment is required for the authorization of and 

provision of services and for the development of the plan of 

care. 

"Assistive technology" or "AT" means specialized medical 

equipment and supplies including those devices, controls, or 

appliances specified in the plan of care but not available under 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance that (i) enable waiver 

individuals who are participating in the Money Follows the 

Person demonstration program pursuant to Part XX 

(12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.) to increase their abilities to 

perform activities of daily living or ADLs or IADLs and to 

perceive, control, or communicate with the environment in 

which they the individuals live, or that (ii) are necessary to the 

proper functioning of the specialized equipment. 

"Backup caregiver" means a secondary person who assumes 

the role of providing direct care to and support of the waiver 

individual in instances of emergencies and in the absence of 

the primary caregiver who is unable to care for the individual. 

The backup caregiver shall perform the duties needed by the 

waiver individual without compensation and shall be trained in 

the skilled needs and technologies required by the waiver 

individual. The backup caregiver shall be identified in the 

waiver individual's records. 

"Backup plan" means a secondary network of supports to 

perform the duties needed by the waiver individual to ensure 

the individual's health, safety, and welfare should the paid 

caregiver be unable to provide such services. All waiver 

individuals are required to have a backup plan prior to 

initiation of services and ongoing, which shall be documented 

in the waiver individual's records. Those listed in the backup 

plan shall be trained in the skilled needs and technologies 

required by the waiver individual. 

"Barrier crime" means those crimes as defined at § 32.1-

162.9:1 § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of Virginia that would 

prohibit either the employment or the continuation of 

employment if a person is found, through a Virginia State 

Police criminal record check, to have been convicted of such a 

crime. 

"Care coordinator" means a professional from one of the 

state's contracted managed care organizations who assists 

assigned individuals enrolled in the CCC Plus integrated care 

initiative [ by performing care management as defined in 

12VAC30-121-20 using a team-based, person-centered 

approach to effectively manage an individual's medical, social, 

and behavioral conditions ]. 

[ "CD" means consumer-directed. ] 

"CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services, which is the unit of the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services that administers the Medicare and 

Medicaid programs. 

"Child protective services" or "CPS" means the same as 

defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Cognitive impairment" means a severe deficit in mental 

capability that affects a waiver individual's areas of functioning 

such as thought processes, problem solving, judgment, 

memory, or comprehension that interferes with such things as 

reality orientation, ability to care for self, ability to recognize 

danger to self or others, or impulse control. 

"Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus Program" or "CCC 

Plus" means the DMAS mandatory integrated care initiative 

for certain qualifying Medicaid members, including members 

who are dually eligible for Medicare and Medicaid and 

members receiving long-term services and supports (LTSS). 

The CCC Plus Program includes members who receive 

services through nursing facility (NF) care, specialized care 

NF, or long-stay hospitals, or from one of the four DMAS 

home and community-based services (HCBS) § 1915(c) 

waivers. Not all individuals in the CCC Plus Program will 

qualify for the CCC Plus Waiver. 

"Community-based team" or "CBT" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-60-301. 

"Congregate living arrangement" means a living arrangement 

in which three or fewer waiver individuals live in the same 

household and share receipt of health care services from the 

same provider. 

"Congregate PDN" means skilled in-home nursing provided 

to three or fewer waiver individuals in the individuals' primary 

residence or a group setting.  

"Consumer-directed attendant" means a person who provides, 

via the consumer-directed model of services, personal care, 
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companion services, or respite care, or any combination of 

these three two services, and who is also exempt from workers' 

compensation. 

"Consumer-directed (CD) model of service" or "CD" means 

the model of service delivery for which the individual enrolled 

in the waiver or the individual's employer of record, as 

appropriate, is responsible for hiring, training, supervising, and 

firing of the attendant or attendants who render the services 

that are reimbursed by DMAS. 

"Consumer-directed services facilitator," "CD services 

facilitator," or "facilitator" means the DMAS-enrolled provider 

who is responsible for supporting the individual and 

family/caregiver by ensuring the development and monitoring 

of the consumer-directed services plan of care, providing 

attendant management training, and completing ongoing 

review activities as required by DMAS for consumer-directed 

personal care and respite services.  

"DARS" means the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services. 

"Critical incident" means any incident that threatens or 

impacts the well-being of a waiver individual. Critical 

incidents shall include the following incidents: medication 

errors, severe injury or fall, theft, suspected mental or physical 

abuse or neglect, financial exploitation, and death. 

"Day" means, for the purposes of reimbursement, a 24-hour 

period beginning at 12 a.m. and ending at 11:59 p.m. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Direct marketing" means any of the following: (i) 

conducting either directly or indirectly door-to-door, 

telephonic, or other "cold call" marketing of services at 

residences and provider sites; (ii) using direct mailing; (iii) 

paying "finders fees"; (iv) offering financial incentives, 

rewards, gifts, or special opportunities to eligible individuals 

or family/caregivers, family, or caregivers as inducements to 

use a provider's services; (v) providing continuous, periodic 

marketing activities to the same prospective individual or 

family/caregiver, family, or caregiver, for example, monthly, 

quarterly, or annual giveaways as inducements to use a 

provider's services; or (vi) engaging in marketing activities that 

offer potential customers rebates or discounts in conjunction 

with the use of a provider's services or other benefits as a 

means of influencing the individual's or family/caregiver's, 

family's, or caregiver's use of a provider's services. 

"Direct medical benefit" means services or supplies that are 

proper and needed for the diagnosis or treatment of a medical 

condition; are provided for the diagnosis, direct care, and 

treatment of the condition; and meet the standards of 

professional medical practice. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services. 

"DMAS staff" means persons employed by the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services. 

"Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver" or 

"EDCD Waiver" means the CMS-approved waiver that covers 

a range of community support services offered to waiver 

individuals who are elderly or who have a disability who would 

otherwise require a nursing facility level of care.  

"Durable medical equipment and supplies" or "DME" means 

those items prescribed by the attending physician, generally 

recognized by the medical community as serving a diagnostic 

or therapeutic purpose to assist the waiver individual in the 

completion of everyday activities, and as being a medically 

necessary element of the service plan without regard to 

whether those items are covered by the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance. 

"Early periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment" or 

"EPSDT" means the benefit program administered by DMAS 

for individuals younger than 21 years of age in accordance with 

the definition set forth at 42 CFR 440.40 (b) and the 

requirements of 42 CFR 441, Subpart B.  

"Employer of record" or "EOR" means the person who 

performs the functions of the employer in the consumer-

directed model of service delivery. The EOR may be the 

individual enrolled in the waiver, a family member, caregiver, 

or another person. 

"Enrollment" means the process where an individual has been 

determined to meet the financial and categorical eligibility 

requirements for a Medicaid program or service, and the 

approving entity has verified the availability of services for the 

individual requesting waiver enrollment and services. 

"Environmental modifications" or "EM" means physical 

adaptations to an individual's primary home residence or 

primary vehicle or work site, when the work site modification 

exceeds reasonable accommodation requirements of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (42 USC § 1201 et seq.), 

which that are necessary to ensure the individual's health and, 

safety or, and welfare or that enable functioning the individual 

to function with greater independence and shall be of direct 

medical or remedial benefit to individuals who are 

participating in the Money Follows the Person demonstration 

program pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.) the 

individual. Such physical adaptations shall not be authorized 

for Medicaid payment when the adaptation is being used to 

bring a substandard dwelling up to minimum habitation 

standards. 

"Fiscal/employer agent" or "F/EA" means a state agency or 

other entity as determined by DMAS that meets the 

requirements of 42 CFR 441.484 and the Virginia Public 

Procurement Act, § 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. 

"Guardian" means a person appointed by a court to manage 

the personal affairs of an incapacitated individual pursuant to 
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Chapter 20 (§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) of Title 64.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Health, safety, and welfare standard" means, for the 

purposes of this waiver, that an individual's right to receive an 

EDCD a CCC Plus Waiver service is dependent on a 

determination that the waiver individual needs the service 

based on appropriate assessment criteria and a written plan of 

care, including having a backup plan of care, that demonstrates 

medical necessity and that services can be safely provided in 

the community or through the model of care selected by the 

individual. 

"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 

services" means the range of community support services 

approved by the CMS pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social 

Security Act to be offered to individuals as an alternative to 

institutionalization. 

"Individual" or "waiver individual" means the person who has 

applied for and been approved to receive these waiver services.  

"Institution" means a nursing facility, specialized care 

nursing facility, or long-stay hospital. Individuals who receive 

enrollment in the CCC Plus Waiver are deemed to meet the 

level of care necessary for residence in one of these institutions 

or are anticipated to need to be in one of these institutions 

within the next 30 days without the services of the waiver. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, and 

laundry. An individual's degree of independence in performing 

these activities is a part of determining appropriate service 

needs. 

"Level of care" or "LOC" means the specification of the 

minimum amount of assistance an individual requires in order 

to receive services in an institutional setting under the State 

Plan or to receive waiver services. 

"License" means proof of official or legal permission issued 

by the government for an entity or person to perform an activity 

or service such that, in the absence of an official license, the 

entity or person is debarred from performing the activity or 

service. 

"Licensed Practical Nurse" or "LPN" means a person who is 

licensed or holds multi-state licensure to practice nursing 

pursuant to Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Live-in caregiver" means a personal caregiver who resides 

in the same household as the individual who is receiving 

waiver services.  

"Local department of social services" or "LDSS" means the 

entity established under § 63.2-324 of the Code of Virginia by 

the governing city or county in the Commonwealth. 

"Long-term care services and supports" or "LTC" "LTSS" 

means a variety of services that help individuals with health or 

personal care needs and activities of daily living over a period 

of time. Long-term care can be provided in the home, in the 

community, or in various types of facilities, including nursing 

facilities and assisted living facilities. 

"LTSS screening" means the process to (i) evaluate the 

functional, nursing, and social supports of individuals referred 

for screening for certain long-term care services and supports 

requiring nursing facility eligibility; (ii) assist individuals in 

determining what specific services the individual needs; (iii) 

evaluate whether a service or a combination of existing 

community services are available to meet an individual's 

needs; and (iv) provide a list to individuals of appropriate 

providers for Medicaid-funded nursing facility or home and 

community-based care for those individuals who meet nursing 

facility level of care.  

"LTSS screening team" means the entity contracted with 

DMAS that is responsible for performing the screening process 

pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means the same as 

the definition of this term in 42 CFR 438.2 [ . ] 

"Medicaid Long-Term Care (LTC) Services and Supports 

Communication Form" or "DMAS-225" means the form used 

by the long-term care provider to report information about 

changes in an individual's eligibility and financial 

circumstances. 

"Medically necessary" means those services or specialized 

medical equipment or supplies that are covered for 

reimbursement under either the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance or in a waiver program that are reasonable, proper, 

and necessary for the treatment of an illness, injury, or deficit; 

are provided for direct care of the condition or to maintain or 

improve the functioning of a malformed body part; and meet 

the standards of good professional medical practice as 

determined by DMAS. 

"Medication monitoring" means an electronic device, which 

is only available in conjunction with Personal Emergency 

Response Systems personal emergency response systems, that 

enables certain waiver individuals who are at risk of 

institutionalization to be reminded reminds an individual to 

take their medications at the correct dosages and times. 

"Money Follows the Person" or "MFP" means the 

demonstration program, as set out in 12VAC30-120-2000 and 

12VAC30-120-2010.  

"Minor child" means an individual who is younger than 18 

years of age. 

"Monitoring" means the ongoing oversight of the provision 

of waiver and other services to determine that they are 

furnished according to the waiver individual's plan of care and 

effectively meet the individual's needs, thereby [ assuring 

ensuring ] the individual's health, safety, and welfare. 

Monitoring activities may include telephone contact; 
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observation; interviewing the individual or the trained 

individual representative, as appropriate, in person or by 

telephone; or interviewing service providers. 

"Nurse supervisor" means a registered nurse (RN) or licensed 

professional nurse (LPN) hired or contracted by an agency to 

provide the supervisory responsibilities as outlined in the 

waiver to the agency's staff who perform personal care or 

respite care services to waiver individuals. 

"Participating provider" or "provider" means an entity that 

meets the standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and 

has a current, signed provider participation agreement, 

including managed care organizations, with DMAS or a 

managed care organization that has a signed contract with 

DMAS. 

"Patient pay amount" means the portion of the individual's 

income that must be paid as his the individual's share of the 

long-term care services and supports and is calculated by the 

local department of social services based on the individual's 

documented monthly income and permitted deductions. 

"Personal care agency" means a participating provider that 

provides personal care services.  

"Person-centered planning" means a fundamental process that 

focuses on what is important to and for an individual and the 

needs and preferences of the individual to create a plan of care. 

"Personal care aide" or "aide" means a person employed by 

an agency who provides personal care or unskilled respite 

services. The aide shall have successfully completed an 

educational curriculum of at least 40 hours of study related to 

the needs of individuals who are either elderly or who have 

disabilities as further set out in 12VAC30-120-935. Such 

successful completion may be evidenced by the existence of a 

certificate of completion issued by the training entity, which is 

provided to DMAS during provider audits, issued by the 

training entity. 

"Personal care attendant," or "attendant," or "PCA" means a 

person who provides personal care or respite services that are 

directed by a consumer, family member/caregiver, or an 

employer of record under the CD model of service delivery. 

"Personal care services" or "PC services" means a range of 

support services necessary to enable the waiver individual to 

remain at or return home rather than enter a nursing facility and 

that includes assistance with activities of daily living (ADLs), 

instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs) ADLs or 

IADLs, access to the community, self-administration of 

medication, or other medical needs, supervision, and the 

monitoring of health status and physical condition. Personal 

care services shall be provided by aides, within the scope of 

their licenses/certificates, as appropriate, under through the 

agency-directed model or by personal care attendants under the 

CD consumer-directed model of service delivery. Personal 

care services shall be provided by aides or attendants within 

the scope of their licenses or certifications, as appropriate. 

"Personal emergency response system" or "PERS" means an 

electronic device and monitoring service that enables certain 

waiver individuals, who are at least 14 years of age, and at risk 

of institutionalization to secure help in an emergency. PERS 

services shall be limited to those waiver individuals who live 

alone or who are alone for significant parts of the day and who 

have no regular caregiver for extended periods of time. 

"PERS provider" means a certified home health or a personal 

care agency, a durable medical equipment provider, a hospital, 

or a PERS manufacturer that has the responsibility to furnish, 

install, maintain, test, monitor, and service PERS equipment, 

direct services (i.e., installation, equipment maintenance, and 

services calls), and PERS monitoring. PERS providers may 

also provide medication monitoring. 

"Plan of care" or "POC" means the written plan developed 

collaboratively by the waiver individual and the waiver 

individual's family/caregiver family or caregiver, as 

appropriate, and the provider related solely to the specific 

services necessary for the individual to remain in the 

community while ensuring his the individual's health, safety, 

and welfare. 

"Preadmission screening" means the process to (i) evaluate 

the functional, nursing, and social supports of individuals 

referred for preadmission screening for certain long-term care 

services requiring NF eligibility; (ii) assist individuals in 

determining what specific services the individual needs; (iii) 

evaluate whether a service or a combination of existing 

community services are available to meet individual needs; and 

(iv) provide a list to individuals of appropriate providers for 

Medicaid-funded nursing facility or home and community-

based care for those individuals who meet nursing facility level 

of care.  

"Preadmission Screening Team" means the entity contracted 

with DMAS that is responsible for performing preadmission 

screening pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Primary caregiver" means the person who consistently 

assumes the primary role of providing direct care and support 

of the waiver individual to live successfully in the community 

without receiving compensation for providing such care. Such 

person's name, if applicable, shall be documented by the RN or 

services facilitator in the waiver individual's record. Waiver 

individuals are not required to have a primary caregiver in 

order to participate in the EDCD waiver. 

"Private duty nursing services" or "PDN" means skilled in-

home nursing services listed in the POC that are (i) not 

otherwise covered under the State Plan for Medical Assistance 

home health benefit; (ii) required to prevent 

institutionalization; or (iii) provided within the scope of the 

Commonwealth's Nurse Practice Act (Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia) and Drug Control 
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Act [ ( ] Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia). 

"Provider agreement" means the contract between DMAS and 

a participating provider under which the provider agrees to 

furnish services to Medicaid-eligible individuals in compliance 

with state and federal statutes and regulations and Medicaid 

contract requirements.  

"Registered nurse" or "RN" means a person who is licensed 

or who holds multi-state licensure privilege pursuant to 

Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia to practice nursing. 

"Respite care agency" means a participating provider that 

renders respite services.  

"Respite services" means services provided to waiver 

individuals who are unable to care for themselves that are 

furnished on a short-term basis because of the absence of or 

need for the relief of the unpaid primary caregiver who 

normally provides the care. 

"Service authorization" or "Srv Auth" means the process of 

approving either a service for the individual. The process of 

approving is done by DMAS, its service authorization 

contractor, or DMAS-designated entity, for the purposes of 

reimbursement for a service for the individual before it is 

rendered or reimbursed an MCO. 

"Service authorization contractor" means DMAS or the entity 

that has been contracted by DMAS, including an MCO, to 

perform service authorization for medically necessary 

Medicaid covered home and community-based services. 

"Services facilitation" means a service that assists the waiver 

individual (or family/caregiver family, caregiver, or EOR, as 

appropriate) in arranging for, directing, training, and managing 

services provided through the consumer-directed model of 

service. 

"Services facilitator" means a DMAS-enrolled provider, a 

DMAS-designated entity, or a person who is employed or 

contracted by a DMAS-enrolled services facilitator that is 

responsible for supporting the individual and the individual's 

family/caregiver or EOR, as appropriate, by ensuring the 

development and monitoring of the CD services plans of care, 

providing employee management training, and completing 

ongoing review activities as required by DMAS for consumer-

directed personal care and respite services. Services facilitator 

shall be deemed to mean the same thing as consumer-directed 

services facilitator. 

"Skilled private duty nursing services" or "skilled PDN" 

means skilled in-home nursing services listed in the POC that 

are (i) not otherwise covered under the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance home health benefit; (ii) required to prevent 

institutionalization; and (iii) provided within the scope of the 

Commonwealth's Nurse Practice Act (Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia) and Drug Control 

Act (Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia). 

"Skilled respite services" means temporary skilled nursing 

services that are provided to waiver individuals who need such 

services and that are performed by a an LPN or RN for the 

relief of the unpaid primary caregiver who normally provides 

the care. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "State Plan" means the 

Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 

identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 

limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 

provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Transition coordinator" means the person defined in 

12VAC30-120-2000 who facilitates MFP transition. 

"Transition services" means set-up expenses for individuals 

as defined at 12VAC30-120-2010. 

"Unpaid primary caregiver" means the primary person who 

consistently assumes the primary role of providing direct care 

and support of the waiver individual to live successfully in the 

community without receiving compensation for providing such 

care. 

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"VDSS" means the Virginia Department of Social Services. 

"Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means 

the standardized multidimensional comprehensive assessment 

that is completed by the Preadmission Screening Team or 

approved hospital discharge planner screening entity that 

assesses an individual's physical health, mental health, and 

psycho/social psychosocial and functional abilities to 

determine if the individual meets the nursing facility level of 

care. 

"Waiver individual" or "individual" means the person who 

has applied for and been approved to receive these waiver 

services.  

"Weekly" means a span of time covering seven consecutive 

calendar days. 

12VAC30-120-905. Waiver description and legal authority. 

A. The Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction 

(EDCD) Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus (CCC Plus) 

Waiver operates under the authority of § 1915 (c) of the Social 

Security Act and 42 CFR 430.25(b), which permit the waiver 

of certain State Plan requirements. These federal statutory and 

regulatory provisions permit the establishment of Medicaid 

waivers to afford the states with greater flexibility to devise 

different approaches to the provision of long-term care (LTC) 

services and supports. Under this § 1915(c) waiver, DMAS 

waives § 1902(a)(10)(B) and (C) of the Social Security Act 

related to comparability of services. 
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B. This waiver provides Medicaid individuals who are elderly 

or who have a disability with supportive services to enable 

such individuals to remain in their communities thereby 

avoiding institutionalization. CCC Plus Waiver services shall 

be covered only for Medicaid-eligible individuals who have 

been determined eligible to require the level of care provided 

in either a nursing facility, specialized care nursing facility, or 

long-stay hospital. These services shall be the critical service 

necessary to delay or avoid the individual's placement in an 

appropriate facility. 

C. Federal waiver requirements provide that the current 

aggregate average cost of care fiscal year expenditures under 

this waiver shall not exceed the average per capita expenditures 

in the aggregate for the level of care (LOC) provided in a 

nursing facility (NF), specialized care nursing facility, or long-

stay hospital under the State Plan that would have been 

provided had the waiver not been granted. 

D. DMAS shall be the single state agency authority, pursuant 

to 42 CFR 431.10, responsible for the processing and payment 

of claims for the services covered in this waiver and for 

obtaining federal financial participation from CMS. 

E. Payments for EDCD CCC Plus Waiver services shall not 

be provided to any financial institution or entity located outside 

of the United States pursuant to § 1902(a)(80) of the Social 

Security Act. Payments for EDCD CCC Plus Waiver services 

furnished in another state shall be (i) provided for an individual 

who meets the requirements of 42 CFR 431.52 and (ii) limited 

to the same service limitations that exist when services are 

rendered within the Commonwealth's political boundaries. 

Waiver services shall not be furnished to covered for 

Medicaid-eligible individuals who are inpatients of a hospital, 

nursing facility (NF), intermediate care facility for individuals 

with intellectual disabilities (ICF/IID), inpatient rehabilitation 

facility rehabilitation hospitals, assisted living facility licensed 

by VDSS that serves five or more individuals persons, long-

stay hospitals, specialized care nursing facilities, adult foster 

homes, or a group home homes licensed by DBHDS. 

F. An individual shall not be simultaneously enrolled in more 

than one waiver program but may be listed on the waiting list 

for another waiver program as long as criteria are met for both 

waiver programs. 

G. DMAS shall be responsible for assuring appropriate 

placement of the individual in home and community-based 

waiver services and shall have the authority to terminate such 

services for the individual for the reasons set out below. the 

following: 

1. Waiver services shall not be reimbursed until the provider 

is enrolled and the individual eligibility process is complete. 

Placing individuals in appropriate services that are home and 

community based; 

2. DMAS payment for services under this waiver shall be 

considered payment in full and no balance billing by the 

provider to the waiver individual, family/caregiver, 

employer of record (EOR), or any other family member of 

the waiver individual shall be permitted. Providing 

reimbursement for waiver services only after the provider is 

enrolled and the individual's eligibility process is complete; 

3. Additional voluntary payments or gifts from family 

members shall not be accepted by providers of services. 4. 

DMAS shall not duplicate Not duplicating services that are 

required as a reasonable accommodation as a part of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131 through 

12165) or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794). 

EDCD services shall not be authorized if another entity is 

required to provide the services, (e.g., schools, insurance) 

because these waiver services shall not duplicate payment 

for services available through other programs or funding 

streams CCC Plus Waiver services shall not be authorized if 

another entity is required to provide the services (e.g., 

schools, insurance) because these waiver services shall not 

duplicate payment for services available through other 

programs or funding streams; and 

4. Ensuring providers meet the following requirements:  

a. Providers shall consider DMAS payment for services 

under this waiver as payment in full and no balance billing 

from the provider to the individual, any family member, 

caregiver, or the employer of record (EOR) of the waiver 

individual shall be permitted; and  

b. Additional voluntary payments or gifts from family 

members shall not be accepted by providers of services. 

H. In the case of termination of home and community-based 

waiver services by DMAS, individuals shall be notified of their 

appeal rights pursuant to 12VAC30-110. DMAS, or the 

designated Srv Auth service authorization contractor, or 

managed care organization shall have the responsibility and the 

authority to terminate the receipt of home and community-

based care services by waiver enrollment for the waiver 

individual for any of the following reasons. Individuals shall 

be notified of their appeal rights pursuant to 12VAC30-110: 

1. The home and community-based care waiver services are 

no longer the critical alternative to prevent or delay 

institutional placement within 30 days; 

2. The waiver individual is no longer eligible for Medicaid; 

3. The waiver individual no longer meets the NF LOC 

criteria required for the waiver; 

4. The waiver individual's environment in the community 

does not provide for his the individual's health, safety, or 

welfare; 

5. The waiver individual does not have a backup plan for 

services in the event the provider is unable to provide 

services; or 
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6. Any other circumstances (including hospitalization) that 

cause services to cease or be interrupted for more than 30 

consecutive calendar days. In such cases, such individuals 

shall be referred back to the local department of social 

services for redetermination of their Medicaid eligibility. 

12VAC30-120-920. Individual eligibility requirements. 

A. Home and community-based waiver services shall be 

available through a § 1915(c) waiver of the Social Security Act 

waiver for the following Medicaid-eligible individuals who 

have been determined to be eligible for waiver services and to 

require the level of care provided in a nursing facility (NF), 

long-stay hospital, or specialized care nursing facility: 

1. Individuals who are elderly as defined by § 1614 of the 

Social Security Act; or 

2. Individuals who have a disability as defined by § 1614 of 

the Social Security Act. 

B. The Commonwealth has elected to cover low-income 

families with children as described in § 1931 of the Social 

Security Act; aged, blind, or disabled individuals who are 

eligible under 42 CFR 435.121; optional categorically needy 

individuals who are aged and disabled who have incomes at 

80% of the federal poverty level; the special home and 

community-based waiver group under 42 CFR 435.217; and 

the medically needy groups specified in 42 CFR 435.320, 

435.322, 435.324, and 435.330. 

1. Under this waiver, the coverage groups authorized under 

§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VI) of the Social Security Act shall be 

considered as if they the individual were institutionalized in 

a NF, specialized care NF, or long-stay hospital for the 

purpose of applying institutional deeming rules. All 

individuals in the waiver must meet the financial and 

nonfinancial Medicaid eligibility criteria and meet the 

institutional level of care (LOC) criteria. The deeming rules 

are applied to waiver eligible individuals as if the individual 

were residing in an institution or would require that level of 

care. 

2. Virginia shall reduce its payment for home and 

community-based services provided to an individual who is 

eligible for Medicaid services under 42 CFR 435.217 by that 

amount of the waiver individual's total income (including 

amounts disregarded in determining financial eligibility) 

that remains after allowable deductions for personal 

maintenance needs, deductions for other dependents, and 

medical needs have been made, according to the guidelines 

in 42 CFR 435.735 and § 1915(c)(3) of the Social Security 

Act as amended by the Consolidated Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act of 1986. DMAS shall reduce its payment 

for home and community-based waiver services by the 

amount that remains after the following deductions: 

a. For waiver individuals to whom § 1924(d) applies 

(Virginia waives the requirement for comparability 

pursuant to § 1902(a)(10)(B)), deduct the following in the 

respective order: 

(1) An amount for the maintenance needs of the waiver 

individual that is equal to 165% of the SSI income limit 

for one individual. Working individuals have a greater 

need due to expenses of employment; therefore, an 

additional amount of income shall be deducted. Earned 

income shall be deducted within the following limits: (i) 

for waiver individuals employed 20 hours or more per 

week, earned income shall be disregarded up to a 

maximum of both earned and unearned income up to 

300% of SSI and (ii) for waiver individuals employed at 

least eight four but less than 20 hours per week, earned 

income shall be disregarded up to a maximum of both 

earned and unearned income up to 200% of SSI. However, 

in no case shall the total amount of income (both earned 

and unearned) that is disregarded for maintenance exceed 

300% of SSI. If the waiver individual requires a guardian 

or conservator who charges a fee, the fee, not to exceed an 

amount greater than 5.0% of the waiver individual's total 

monthly income, is added to the maintenance needs 

allowance. However, in no case shall the total amount of 

the maintenance needs allowance (basic allowance plus 

earned income allowance plus guardianship fees) for the 

individual exceed 300% of SSI; 

(2) For a waiver individual with only a spouse at home, 

the community spousal income allowance is determined in 

accordance with § 1924(d) of the Social Security Act; 

(3) For an individual with a family at home, an additional 

amount for the maintenance needs of the family is 

determined in accordance with § 1924(d) of the Social 

Security Act; and 

(4) Amounts for incurred expenses for medical or remedial 

care that are not subject to payment by a third party, 

including Medicare and other health insurance premiums, 

deductibles, or coinsurance charges and necessary medical 

or remedial care recognized under the state law but not 

covered under the State Plan. 

b. For waiver individuals to whom § 1924(d) of the Social 

Security Act does not apply, deduct the following in the 

respective order: 

(1) An amount for the maintenance needs of the waiver 

individual that is equal to 165% of the SSI income limit 

for one individual. Working individuals have a greater 

need due to expenses of employment; therefore, an 

additional amount of income shall be deducted. Earned 

income shall be deducted within the following limits: (i) 

for waiver individuals employed 20 hours or more, earned 

income shall be disregarded up to a maximum of 300% of 

SSI and (ii) for waiver individuals employed at least eight 

four but less than 20 hours, earned income shall be 

disregarded up to a maximum of 200% of SSI. However, 

in no case shall the total amount of income (both earned 

and unearned) that is disregarded for maintenance exceed 
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300% of SSI. If the individual requires a guardian or 

conservator who charges a fee, the fee, not to exceed an 

amount greater than 5.0% of the individual's total monthly 

income, is added to the maintenance needs allowance. 

However, in no case shall the total amount of the 

maintenance needs allowance (basic allowance plus 

earned income allowance plus guardianship fees) for the 

individual exceed 300% of SSI; 

(2) For an individual with a family at home, an additional 

amount for the maintenance needs of the family that shall 

be equal to the medically needy income standard for a 

family of the same size; and 

(3) Amounts for incurred expenses for medical or remedial 

care that are not subject to payment by a third party 

including Medicare and other health insurance premiums, 

deductibles, or coinsurance charges and necessary medical 

or remedial care recognized under state law but not 

covered under the State Plan. 

C. Assessment and authorization of home and community-

based waiver services. 

1. To ensure that Virginia's home and community-based 

waiver programs serve only Medicaid eligible individuals 

who would otherwise be placed supported in a NF, 

specialized care NF, or long-stay hospital, home and 

community-based waiver services shall be considered only 

for individuals who are eligible for admission within 30 

calendar days to a NF one of these institutions. Home and 

community-based waiver services shall be the critical 

service to enable the individual to remain at home and in the 

community rather than being placed in a NF an institution. 

2. The individual's eligibility for home and community-

based waiver services shall be determined by the 

Preadmission Screening Team or DMAS-enrolled hospital 

provider LTSS screening team after completion of a 

thorough assessment of the individual's needs and available 

support. If an individual meets NF criteria and in the absence 

of community-based services, is at risk of NF placement 

within 30 days, the individual is determined eligible based 

on the procedures outlined in 12VAC30-60-303, the 

Preadmission Screening Team or DMAS-enrolled hospital 

provider LTSS screening team shall provide the individual 

and family/caregiver family or caregiver with the choice of 

EDCD CCC Plus Waiver services, other appropriate 

services, NF institutional placement, or Program of All 

Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) enrollment for people 

55 years of age or older, where available. 

3. The Preadmission Screening Team or DMAS-enrolled 

hospital provider LTSS screening team shall explore 

alternative settings or services to provide the care needed by 

the individual. If Medicaid-funded home and community-

based care waiver services are selected by the individual and 

when such services are determined to be the critical services 

necessary to delay or avoid NF placement, the Preadmission 

Screening Team or DMAS-enrolled hospital provider LTSS 

screening team shall initiate referrals for such services. 

4. Medicaid shall not pay for any home and community-

based care waiver services delivered prior to the date the 

individual establishing establishes Medicaid financial 

eligibility and prior to the date of the preadmission LTSS 

screening by the Preadmission Screening Team or DMAS-

enrolled hospital provider and with the physician physician's 

signature on the Medicaid Funded Long-Term Care Services 

Authorization Form (DMAS-96). 

5. Before Medicaid shall assume payment responsibility of 

home and community-based services, service authorization 

must be obtained from DMAS or the DMAS designated Srv 

Auth contractor, in accordance with DMAS policy, service 

authorization contractor for all services requiring service 

authorization. Providers shall submit all required 

information to DMAS or the designated Srv Auth contractor 

service authorization contractor within 10 business days of 

initiating care or within 10 business days of receiving 

verification of Medicaid financial eligibility from the local 

department of social services. If the provider submits all 

required information to DMAS or the designated Srv Auth 

contractor service authorization contractor within 10 

business days of initiating care, services may be authorized 

beginning from the date the provider initiated services but 

not preceding the date of the physician's signature on the 

[ DMAS 96 DMAS-96 ] form. If the provider does not 

submit all required information to DMAS or the designated 

Srv Auth contractor service authorization contractor within 

10 business days of initiating care, the services may be 

authorized beginning with the date all required information 

was received by DMAS or the designated Srv Auth 

contractor service authorization contractor, but in no event 

preceding the date of the physician's signature on the 

DMAS-96 form. 

6. Once waiver eligibility has been determined by the 

Preadmission Screening Team or DMAS-enrolled hospital 

provider LTSS screening team and referrals have been 

initiated, the provider or MCO shall submit a Medicaid LTC 

LTSS Communication Form (DMAS-225) to the local 

department of social services to determine financial 

eligibility for the waiver program and any patient pay 

responsibilities. If the waiver individual who is receiving 

EDCD Waiver services has a patient pay amount, a provider 

shall use the electronic patient pay process for the required 

monthly monitoring of relevant changes. Local departments 

of social services shall enter data regarding a waiver 

individual's patient pay amount obligation into the Medicaid 

Management Information System (MMIS) DMAS system of 

record at the time action is taken on behalf of the individual 

either as a result of an application for LTC services LTSS, 

redetermination of financial eligibility, or reported change 

or changes in a waiver individual's situation. Procedures for 

the verification of a waiver individual's patient pay 
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obligation are available in the appropriate Medicaid provider 

manual. 

7. After the provider or MCO has received notification via 

the DMAS-225 process by the local department of social 

services and enrollment confirmation from DMAS or the 

designated Srv Auth contractor service authorization 

contractor, the provider shall inform the individual or 

family/caregiver, family, or caregiver so that services may 

be initiated. 

8. The provider or MCO shall be responsible for notifying 

the local department of social services via the DMAS-225 

when there is an interruption of services for 30 consecutive 

calendar days or upon discharge or transfer from the 

provider's services. 

9. Home and community-based care services shall not be 

offered or provided to any individual who resides in a NF, 

an ICF/IID, a hospital, an assisted living facility licensed by 

VDSS that serves five or more individuals, or a group home 

licensed by DBHDS. Transition coordination and transition 

services may be available to individuals residing in some 

settings as approved by CMS through the Money Follows 

the Person demonstration program.  

10. 9. Certain home and community-based services shall not 

be available to individuals residing in an assisted living 

facility licensed by VDSS that serves four or fewer 

individuals. These services are: respite, PERS, ADHC, 

environmental modifications and transition services. 

Personal care services shall be covered for individuals living 

in these facilities but shall be limited to personal care not to 

exceed five hours per day. Personal care services shall be 

authorized based on the waiver individual's documented 

need for care over and above that which is provided by the 

assisted living facility. 

11. 10. Individuals who are receiving Auxiliary Grants shall 

not be eligible for EDCD CCC Plus Waiver enrollment or 

services. 

11. All individuals shall have a backup plan prior to 

initiating services and ongoing in cases of emergency or 

should the provider be unable to render services as needed. 

This backup plan shall be shared with the provider at the 

onset of services and updated with the provider as necessary. 

12. Individuals who are receiving PDN waiver services shall 

have a trained primary caregiver who accepts responsibility 

for the individual's health, safety, and welfare. This primary 

caregiver shall be responsible for all hours not provided by 

an RN or an LPN. The name of the trained primary caregiver 

shall be documented in the provider's records.  

D. Waiver individual responsibilities under the consumer-

directed (CD) model. 

1. The individual shall be authorized for CD services and the 

EOR employer of record (EOR) shall successfully complete 

consumer employee management training performed by the 

CD services facilitator before the waiver individual/EOR 

individual or EOR shall be permitted to hire a personal care 

attendant for Medicaid reimbursement. Any services 

rendered by an attendant prior to dates authorized by 

Medicaid shall not be eligible for reimbursement by 

Medicaid. Individuals who are eligible for CD services shall 

have the capability to hire and train their own personal care 

attendants and supervise the attendants' performance 

including, but not limited to, creating and maintaining 

complete and accurate timesheets work shift entries. 

Individuals may have The EOR may be the individual or a 

family member, caregiver, or another person serve as the 

EOR designated by the individual to serve on their the 

individual's behalf. 

2. The person who serves as the EOR on behalf of the waiver 

individual shall not be permitted to be (i) the paid attendant 

for respite services or personal care services or (ii) the 

services facilitator. 

3. Individuals will acknowledge that they will shall not 

knowingly continue to accept CD personal care services 

when the service is no longer appropriate or necessary for 

their care needs and shall inform the services facilitator. If 

CD services continue after services have been terminated by 

DMAS or the designated Srv Auth contractor service 

authorization contractor, the waiver individual shall be held 

liable for attendant compensation. 

4. Individuals The individual or EOR, as appropriate, shall 

notify the CD services facilitator of all hospitalizations and 

admission to any rehabilitation facility, rehabilitation 

hospital unit, or NF, specialized care NF, or long-stay 

hospital as soon as possible. Failure to do so may result in 

the waiver individual being liable for employee 

compensation. 

E. Waiver individuals' rights and responsibilities. DMAS 

shall ensure that: 

1. Each waiver individual shall receive, and the provider 

shall provide, the necessary care and services, to the extent 

of provider availability, to attain or maintain the highest 

practicable physical, mental, and psycho-social well-being, 

in accordance with the person-centered planning of the 

individual's comprehensive assessment and plan of care 

(POC). 

2. Waiver individuals shall have the right to participate in 

the development of the plan of care and to receive services 

from the provider with reasonable accommodation of the 

individual's needs and preferences except when DMAS 

makes a determination that the health, safety, or welfare of 

the waiver individual or other individuals would be 

endangered.  

3. All waiver individuals shall have the right to: 
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a. Voice grievances to the provider or provider staff 

without discrimination or reprisal. Such grievances 

include those with respect to treatment that has or has not 

been furnished;  

b. Prompt efforts by the provider or staff, as appropriate, 

to resolve any grievances the waiver individual may have;  

c. Be free from verbal, sexual, physical, and mental abuse, 

neglect, exploitation, and misappropriation of property;  

d. Be treated with respect and with due consideration for 

the individual's dignity and privacy;  

e. Be free from any physical or chemical restraints or 

seclusion of any form that may be used as a means of 

coercion, discipline, convenience, or retaliation and that 

are not required to treat the individual's medical 

symptoms;  

f. The privacy and confidentiality of the individual's 

medical and clinical records; and 

g. Receive information, such as a handbook or provider 

directory, in a manner and format that may be easily 

understood (i.e., in prevalent non-English languages and 

using translation services) and that is readily accessible in 

accordance with the standards specified in 42 CFR 438.10. 

4. The waiver individual if legally competent, the waiver 

individual's legal guardian, or the parent of the minor child 

shall have the right to: 

a. Choose whether the individual wishes to receive home 

and community-based care waiver services instead of 

institutionalization in accordance with the assessed needs 

of the individual. The LTSS screening team or MCO shall 

inform the individual of all available waiver service 

providers in the community in which the waiver individual 

resides. The waiver individual shall have the option of 

selecting the provider and services of the individual's 

choice. Individuals enrolled in the CCC Plus Program 

shall have the option of selecting a provider in the MCO's 

contracted network and services of the individual's choice. 

This choice must be documented in the individual's 

medical record;  

b. Choose a primary care physician in the community in 

which the individual resides; 

c. Be fully informed in advance about the waiver POC and 

treatment needs as well as any changes in that care or 

treatment that may affect the individual's well-being;  

d. Participate in the care planning process, choice, and 

scheduling of providers and services; and 

e. Be provided care with privacy, dignity, and respect at 

all times.  

12VAC30-120-924. Covered services; limits on covered 

services. 

A. Covered services in the EDCD CCC Plus Waiver shall 

include are as follows: adult day health care,; personal care 

(both consumer-directed and agency-directed),; respite 

services (both consumer-directed and agency-directed),; PERS 

services, PERS including medication monitoring, limited; 

services facilitation; private duty nursing; assistive technology, 

limited; environmental modifications, transition coordination,; 

and transition services. 

1. The services covered in this waiver shall be appropriate 

and medically necessary to maintain the individual in the 

community in order to prevent institutionalization and shall 

be cost effective in the aggregate as compared to the 

alternative NF institutional placement. 

2. EDCD CCC Plus Waiver services shall not be authorized 

if another entity is required to provide the services (e.g., 

schools, insurance). Waiver services shall not duplicate 

services available through other programs or funding 

streams. 

3. Assistive technology and environmental modification 

services shall be available only to those EDCD Waiver 

individuals who are also participants in the Money Follows 

the Person (MFP) demonstration program pursuant to Part 

XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.).  

4. 3. An individual receiving EDCD CCC Plus Waiver 

services who is also getting hospice care may receive 

Medicaid-covered personal care (agency-directed and 

consumer-directed), respite care (agency-directed and 

consumer-directed), services facilitation, private duty 

nursing, adult day health care, transition services, transition 

coordination, and PERS services, regardless of whether the 

hospice provider receives reimbursement from Medicare or 

Medicaid for the services covered under the hospice benefit. 

Such dual waiver/hospice individuals shall only be able to 

receive assistive technology and environmental 

modifications if they are also participants in the MFP 

demonstration program. 

5. 4. Agency-directed and consumer-directed personal care 

services and respite care services shall be subject to the 

electronic visit verification requirements set out in 

12VAC30-60-65. 

B. Voluntary or involuntary disenrollment Disenrollment 

from consumer-directed services. In either voluntary or 

involuntary disenrollment situations, the waiver individual 

shall be permitted to select an agency from which to receive 

his offered agency-directed personal care and respite services 

from a provider of the waiver individual's choice. 

1. A waiver individual may be found to be ineligible for CD 

services by either the Preadmission Screening Team, 

DMAS-enrolled hospital provider LTSS screening team, 

DMAS, its designated agent, or the CD services facilitator. 

An individual may not begin or continue to receive CD 

services if there are circumstances where the waiver 

individual's health, safety, or welfare cannot be assured, 

including: 
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a. It is determined that the waiver individual cannot be 

complete the duties of the EOR and no one else is able to 

assume this role; 

b. The waiver individual cannot ensure his own health, 

safety, or welfare or develop an emergency backup plan 

that will ensure his health, safety, or welfare; or 

c. The waiver individual has medication or skilled nursing 

needs or medical or behavioral conditions that cannot be 

met through CD services or other services. 

2. The waiver individual may be involuntarily disenrolled 

from consumer direction if he the individual or the EOR, as 

appropriate, is consistently unable to retain or manage the 

attendant as may be demonstrated by, but not necessarily 

limited to, a pattern of serious discrepancies with the 

attendant's timesheets work shift entries or noncompliance 

with CD EOR requirements. 

3. In situations where either (i) the waiver individual's 

health, safety, or welfare cannot be assured or (ii) attendant 

timesheet work shift entry discrepancies are known, the 

services facilitator shall assist as requested with the waiver 

individual's transfer to agency-directed services as follows: 

a. Verify that essential training has been provided to the 

waiver individual or EOR; 

b. Document, in the waiver individual's case record, the 

conditions creating the necessity for the involuntary 

disenrollment and actions taken by the services facilitator; 

c. Discuss with the waiver individual or the EOR, as 

appropriate, the agency-directed option that is available 

and the actions needed to arrange for such services and 

offer choice of potential providers [ ,; ] and 

d. Provide written notice to the waiver individual of the 

right to appeal such involuntary termination of consumer 

direction. Such notice shall be given at least 10 calendar 

days prior to the effective date of this change. In cases 

when the individual's or the provider personnel's safety 

may be in jeopardy, the 10 calendar days days' notice shall 

not apply. 

C. Adult day health care (ADHC) services. ADHC services 

shall only be offered to waiver individuals who meet 

preadmission LTSS screening criteria as established in 

12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 12VAC30-60-313 

and for whom ADHC services shall be an appropriate and 

medically necessary alternative to institutional care. ADHC 

services may be offered to individuals in a VDSS-licensed 

adult day care center (ADCC) congregate setting. ADHC may 

be offered either as the sole home and community-based care 

waiver service or in conjunction with personal care (either 

agency-directed or consumer-directed), respite care (either 

agency-directed or consumer-directed), or [ personal 

emergency response system (PERS) PERS ]. A multi-

disciplinary approach to developing, implementing, and 

evaluating each waiver individual's POC shall be essential to 

quality ADHC services. 

1. ADHC services shall be designed to prevent 

institutionalization by providing waiver individuals with 

health care services, maintenance of their the individual's 

physical and mental conditions, and coordination of 

rehabilitation services in a congregate daytime setting and 

shall be tailored to their each individual's unique needs. The 

minimum range of services that shall be made available to 

every waiver individual shall be: assistance with ADLs, 

nursing services, coordination of rehabilitation services, 

nutrition, social services, recreation, and socialization 

services. 

a. Assistance with ADLs shall include supervision of the 

waiver individual and assistance with management of the 

individual's POC. 

b. Nursing services shall include the periodic evaluation, 

at least every 90 days, of the waiver individual's nursing 

needs; provision of indicated nursing care and treatment; 

responsibility for monitoring, recording, and 

administering prescribed medications; supervision of the 

waiver individual in self-administered medication; 

support of families in their home care efforts for the 

waiver individuals through education and counseling; and 

helping families identify and appropriately utilize health 

care resources. Periodic evaluations may occur more 

frequently than every 90 days if indicated by the 

individual's changing condition. Nursing services shall 

also include the general supervision of provider staff, who 

are certified through the Board of Nursing, in medication 

management and administering medications. 

c. Coordination and implementation of rehabilitation 

services to ensure the waiver individual receives all 

rehabilitative services deemed necessary to improve or 

maintain independent functioning, to include physical 

therapy, occupational therapy, and speech therapy. 

d. Nutrition services shall be provided to include one meal 

or more meals per day that meets the daily nutritional 

requirements pursuant to [ 22VAC40-60-800 22VAC40-

61-360 ]. Special diets and nutrition counseling shall be 

provided as required or requested by the waiver 

individuals individual. 

e. Recreation and social activities shall be provided that 

are suited to the needs of the waiver individuals and shall 

be designed to encourage physical exercise, prevent 

physical and mental deterioration, and stimulate social 

interaction. 

f. ADHC coordination shall involve implementing the 

waiver individuals' POCs, updating such plans, recording 

30-day progress notes, and reviewing the waiver 

individuals' daily logs each week. 

2. Limits on covered ADHC services. 
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a. A day of ADHC services shall be defined as a minimum 

of six hours. 

b. ADCCs ADHCs that do not employ professional 

nursing staff on site shall not be permitted to admit waiver 

individuals who require skilled nursing care to their 

centers. Examples of skilled nursing care may include: (i) 

tube feedings; (ii) Foley catheter irrigations; (iii) sterile 

dressing changing; or (iv) any other procedures that 

require sterile technique. The ADCC shall not permit its 

aide employees to perform skilled nursing procedures. 

c. At any time that the center is no longer able to provide 

reliable, continuous care to any of the center's waiver 

individuals for the number of hours per day or days per 

week as contained in the individuals' POCs, then the 

center shall contact the waiver individuals or their family 

or caregivers, family, caregivers, or MCO care 

coordinators, as appropriate, to initiate other care 

arrangements for these individuals. The center may either 

subcontract with another ADCC or may transfer the 

waiver individual to another ADCC. The center may 

discharge waiver individuals from the center's services but 

not from the waiver. Written notice of discharge shall be 

provided, with the specific reason or reasons for discharge, 

at least 10 calendar days prior to the effective date of the 

discharge. In cases when the individual's or the center 

personnel's safety may be [ in ] jeopardy, the 10 calendar 

[ days days' ] notice shall not apply. 

d. ADHC services shall not be provided, for the purpose 

of Medicaid reimbursement, to individuals who reside in 

NFs, ICFs/IID nursing facilities, intermediate care 

facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities, 

hospitals, assisted living facilities that are licensed by 

VDSS, or group homes that are licensed by DBHDS. 

D. Agency-directed personal care services. Agency-directed 

personal care services shall only be offered to persons who 

meet the preadmission LTSS screening criteria at 12VAC30-

60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 12VAC30-60-313 and for 

whom it shall be an appropriate alternative to institutional care. 

Agency-directed personal care services shall be comprised of 

hands-on care of either a supportive or health-related nature 

and shall include assistance with ADLs, access to the 

community, assistance with medications in accordance with 

VDH licensing requirements or other medical needs, 

supervision, and the monitoring of health status and physical 

condition. Where the individual requires assistance with 

ADLs, and when specified in the POC, such supportive 

services may include assistance with IADLs. This service shall 

not include skilled nursing services with the exception of 

skilled nursing tasks (e.g., catheterization) that may be 

delegated pursuant to Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 [ VI V ] 

(18VAC90-19-240 through 18VAC90-20-460) 18VAC90-19-

280) of 18VAC90-20 18VAC90-19. Agency-directed personal 

care services may be provided in a home or community setting 

to enable an individual to maintain the health status and 

functional skills necessary to live in the community or 

participate in community activities. Personal care may be 

offered either as the sole home and community-based care 

waiver service or in conjunction with adult day health care, 

respite care (agency-directed or consumer-directed), or PERS. 

The provider shall document, in the individual's medical 

record, the waiver individual's choice of the agency-directed 

model. 

1. Criteria. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver 

individual shall have met the NF LOC criteria as set out in 

12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 12VAC30-60-313 

as documented on the UAI assessment form, and for whom 

it shall be an appropriate alternative to institutional care. 

a. A waiver individual may receive both CD and agency-

directed personal care services if the individual meets the 

criteria. Hours received by the individual who is receiving 

both CD and agency-directed services shall not exceed the 

total number of hours that would be needed if the waiver 

individual were receiving personal care services through a 

single delivery model. 

b. CD and agency-directed services shall not be 

simultaneously provided but may be provided sequentially 

or alternately from each other. 

c. The individual or family or caregiver, family, or 

caregiver shall have a backup plan or caregiver for the 

provision of services in the event the agency is unable to 

provide an aide. 

2. Limits on covered agency-directed personal care services. 

a. DMAS shall not duplicate services that are required as 

a reasonable accommodation as a part of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131 through 12165) 

or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794). 

b. DMAS or its contractor shall reimburse for services 

delivered, consistent with the approved POC, for personal 

care that the personal care aide provides to the waiver 

individual to assist him while he is at work or 

postsecondary school or both. 

(1) DMAS or the designated Srv Auth service 

authorization contractor shall review the waiver 

individual's needs and the complexity of the disability, as 

applicable, when determining the services that are 

provided to him the individual in the workplace or 

postsecondary school or both. 

(2) DMAS shall not pay for the personal care aide to assist 

the enrolled waiver individual with any functions or tasks 

related to the individual completing his a job or 

postsecondary school functions or for supervision time 

during either work or postsecondary school or both. 

c. Supervision services shall only be authorized to ensure 

the health, safety, or welfare of the waiver individual who 

cannot be left alone at any time or is unable to call for help 

in case of an emergency, and when there is no one else 
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competent adult in the home competent and able to call for 

help in case of an emergency. 

d. There shall be a maximum limit of eight hours per 24-

hour day for supervision services. Supervision services 

shall be documented in the POC as needed by the 

individual. 

e. Agency-directed personal care services shall be limited 

to 56 hours of services per week for 52 weeks per year. 

Individual exceptions Exceptions may be granted based on 

criteria established by DMAS set forth in 12VAC30-120-

927. 

f. Electronic visit verification requirements set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these agency-directed 

respite care services. 

g. Due to the complex medical needs of waiver individuals 

requiring PDN services and the need for 24-hour 

supervision, the trained primary caregiver shall be present 

in the home and shall render the required skilled services 

during the entire time that the aide is providing unskilled 

care. 

E. Agency-directed respite care services. Agency-directed 

respite care services shall only be offered to waiver individuals 

who meet the preadmission LTSS screening criteria at 

12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 12VAC30-60-313 

and for whom it shall be an appropriate alternative to 

institutional care. Agency-directed respite care services may be 

either skilled nursing respite or unskilled care and shall be 

comprised of hands-on care of either a supportive or health-

related nature and may include assistance with ADLs, access 

to the community, assistance with medications in accordance 

with VDH licensing requirements or other medical needs, 

supervision, and monitoring health status and physical 

condition. Skilled respite care shall include skilled nursing care 

ordered on the physician-certified POC.  

1. Respite care shall only be offered to individuals who have 

an unpaid primary caregiver who requires temporary relief 

to avoid institutionalization of the waiver individual. Respite 

care services may be provided in the individual's home or 

other community settings. Respite shall also be provided in 

children's residential facilities in accordance with 

12VAC30-120-925. 

2. When the individual requires assistance with ADLs, and 

where such assistance is specified in the waiver individual's 

POC, such supportive services may also include assistance 

with IADLs. 

3. The unskilled care portion of this Unskilled respite service 

shall not include skilled nursing services with the exception 

of skilled nursing tasks (e.g., catheterization) that may be 

delegated pursuant to Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 [ VI V ] 

(18VAC90-19-240 through 18VAC90-20-460) 18VAC90-

19-280) of 18VAC90-20 18VAC90-19. 

4. Skilled respite care services.  

a. This service shall be provided by skilled nursing staff 

licensed to practice in the Commonwealth under the direct 

supervision of a licensed, certified, or accredited home 

health agency with which DMAS has a provider 

agreement to provide PDN. Direct supervision means that 

the supervising RN is immediately accessible by 

telephone to the RN, LPN, or personal care aide who is 

delivering waiver-covered services to individuals. 

b. Skilled respite care services shall be comprised of both 

skilled and hands-on care of either a supportive or health-

related nature and may include all skilled nursing care as 

ordered on the physician-certified POC, assistance with 

ADLs or IADLs, administration of medications or other 

medical needs, and monitoring of the health status and 

physical condition of individuals. 

c. When skilled respite services are offered in conjunction 

with PDN, the same individual record may be used with a 

separate section for skilled respite services 

documentation. This documentation must be clearly 

labeled as distinct from PDN services. 

d. Individuals who reside in the same house shall be 

permitted to share skilled respite care service providers. 

The same limits on this service in the congregate setting 

(480 hours per calendar year per household) shall apply 

regardless of the type of waiver. 

5. Limits on service. 

a. The unit of service shall be one hour. Respite care 

services shall be limited to 480 hours per individual per 

state fiscal calendar year, to be service authorized. If an 

individual changes waiver programs, this same maximum 

number of respite hours shall apply. No additional respite 

hours beyond the 480 maximum limit shall be approved 

for payment for individuals, even those who change 

waiver programs. Additionally, individuals who are 

receiving respite services in this waiver through both the 

agency-directed and CD models shall not exceed 480 

hours per state fiscal calendar year combined. 

b. If agency-directed respite care service is the only 

service received by the waiver individual, it must be 

received at least as often as every 30 days. If this service 

is not required at this minimal level of frequency, then the 

provider agency or MCO shall notify the local department 

of social services for its redetermination of eligibility for 

the waiver individual. 

c. The individual or, family, or caregiver shall have a 

backup plan or caregiver for the provision of services in 

the event the agency is unable to provide an aide. 

d. Electronic visit verification requirements set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these agency-directed 

respite care services. 

F. Services facilitation for consumer-directed services. 

Consumer-directed personal care and respite care services 

shall only be offered to persons waiver individuals who meet 



Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 20  Virginia Register of Regulations  May 20, 2024  

1714 

the preadmission LTSS screening criteria at 12VAC30-60-303 

and 12VAC30-60-307 12VAC30-60-313 and for whom there 

shall be appropriate alternatives to institutional care. 

1. Individuals who choose CD services shall receive support 

from a DMAS-enrolled CD services facilitator or a provider 

designated by the managed care organization as required in 

conjunction with CD services. The services facilitator shall 

document the waiver individual's choice of the CD model 

and whether there is a need for another person to serve as the 

EOR on behalf of the individual. The CD services facilitator 

shall be responsible for assessing the waiver individual's 

particular needs for a requested CD service, assisting in the 

development of the POC, providing training to the EOR on 

his the EOR's responsibilities as an employer, and for 

providing ongoing support of the CD services. 

2. Individuals who are eligible for CD services shall have, or 

have an EOR who has, the capability to hire and, to train, 

and to fire the personal care attendant or attendants and 

supervise the attendant's performance, including approving 

the attendant's timesheets work shift entries. 

a. If a waiver individual is unwilling or unable to direct his 

the individual's own care or is younger than 18 years of 

age, family, a caregiver, or a designated person shall serve 

as the EOR on behalf of the waiver individual in order to 

perform these supervisory and work shift entry approval 

functions. 

b. Specific employer duties shall include checking 

references of personal care attendants and determining 

that personal care attendants meet qualifications. 

3. The individual or family or caregiver, family, or caregiver 

shall have a backup plan or caregiver for the provision of 

services in case the attendant does not show up for work as 

scheduled or terminates employment without prior notice. 

4. The CD services facilitator shall not be the waiver 

individual, a CD attendant, a provider of other Medicaid-

covered services, the spouse of the waiver individual, the 

natural, adoptive, step, or foster parent or other legal 

guardian of the waiver individual who is a minor child, or 

the EOR who is employing the CD attendant. 

5. DMAS or the MCO shall either provide for fiscal 

employer/agent fiscal/employer agent services or contract 

for the services of a fiscal employer/agent fiscal/employer 

agent for CD services. The fiscal employer/agent 

fiscal/employer agent shall be reimbursed by DMAS or the 

DMAS contractor (if the fiscal/employer agent service is 

contracted) to perform certain tasks as an agent for the EOR. 

The fiscal employer/agent fiscal/employer agent shall 

handle responsibilities for the waiver individual, including 

payroll, employment taxes, and background checks for 

attendants. The fiscal employer/agent fiscal/employer agent 

shall seek and obtain all necessary authorizations and 

approvals of the Internal Revenue Service in order to fulfill 

all of these duties. 

G. Consumer-directed personal care services. CD personal 

care services shall be comprised of hands-on care of either a 

supportive or health-related nature and shall include assistance 

with ADLs and may include assistance with ADLs, access to 

the community, monitoring of self-administered medications 

or other medical needs, supervision, and the monitoring of 

health status and physical condition. Where the waiver 

individual requires assistance with ADLs, and when specified 

in the POC, such supportive services may include assistance 

with IADLs. This service shall not include skilled nursing 

services with the exception of skilled nursing tasks (e.g., 

catheterization) that may be delegated pursuant to Part VIII 

(18VAC90-20-420 through 18VAC90-20-460) of 18VAC 90-

20 [ VI V ] (18VAC90-19-240 through 18VAC90-19-280) of 

18VAC90-19 and as permitted by Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. CD personal care 

services may be provided in a home or community setting to 

enable an individual to maintain the health status and 

functional skills necessary to live in the community or 

participate in community activities. Personal care may be 

offered either as the sole home and community-based waiver 

service or in conjunction with adult day health care, respite 

care (agency-directed or consumer-directed), or PERS. 

1. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver individual 

shall have met the NF LOC criteria as set out in 12VAC30-

60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 12VAC30-60-313 as 

documented on the UAI assessment instrument, and for 

whom it shall be an appropriate alternative to institutional 

care. 

a. A waiver individual may receive both CD and agency-

directed personal care services if the individual meets the 

criteria. Hours received by the waiver individual who is 

receiving both CD and agency-directed services shall not 

exceed the total number of hours that would be otherwise 

authorized had the individual chosen to receive personal 

care services through a single delivery model. 

b. CD and agency-directed services shall not be 

simultaneously provided but may be provided sequentially 

or alternately from each other. 

2. Limits on covered CD personal care services. 

a. DMAS shall not duplicate services that are required as 

a reasonable accommodation as a part of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131 through 12165) 

or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794). 

b. There shall be a limit of eight hours per 24-hour day for 

supervision services included in the POC. Supervision 

services shall be authorized to ensure the health, safety, or 

welfare of the waiver individual who cannot be left alone 

at any time or is unable to call for help in case of an 

emergency, and when there is no one else in the home who 
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is competent and other competent adult able to call for 

help in case of an emergency. 

c. Consumer-directed personal care services shall be 

limited to 56 hours of services per week for 52 weeks per 

year. Individual exceptions Exceptions may be granted 

based on criteria established by DMAS set forth in 

12VAC30-120-927. 

d. Electronic visit verification requirements as set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these CD personal care 

services. 

e. Due to the complex medical needs of waiver individuals 

requiring PDN services and the need for 24-hour 

supervision, the trained primary caregiver shall be present 

in the home and shall render the required skilled services 

during the entire time that the attendant is providing 

unskilled care. 

3. CD personal care services at work or school shall be 

limited as follows: 

a. DMAS or its contractor shall reimburse for services 

delivered, consistent with the approved POC, for CD 

personal care that the attendant provides to the waiver 

individual to assist him while he is at work or 

postsecondary school or both. 

b. DMAS or the designated Srv Auth contractor service 

authorization contractor shall review the waiver 

individual's needs and the complexity of the disability, as 

applicable, when determining the services that will be 

provided to him the individual in the workplace or 

postsecondary school or both. 

c. DMAS shall not pay for the personal care attendant to 

assist the waiver individual with any functions or tasks 

related to the individual completing his a job or 

postsecondary school functions or for supervision time 

during work or postsecondary school or both. 

H. Consumer-directed respite care services. CD respite care 

services are unskilled care and shall be comprised of hands-on 

care of either a supportive or health-related nature and may 

include assistance with ADLs, access to the community, 

monitoring of self-administration of medications or other 

medical needs, supervision, monitoring health status and 

physical condition, and personal care services in a work 

environment. 

1. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver individual 

shall have met the NF LOC criteria as set out in 12VAC30-

60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 12VAC30-60-313 as 

documented on the UAI assessment instrument form, and for 

whom it shall be an appropriate alternative to institutional 

care. 

2. CD respite care services shall only be offered to 

individuals who have an unpaid primary caregiver who 

requires temporary relief to avoid institutionalization of the 

waiver individual. This service shall be provided in the 

waiver individual's home or other community settings. 

3. When the waiver individual requires assistance with 

ADLs, and where such assistance is specified in the 

individual's POC, such supportive services may also include 

assistance with IADLs. 

4. Electronic visit verification requirements as set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these CD respite care 

services. 

5. Limits on covered CD respite care services. 

a. The unit of service shall be one hour. Respite care 

services shall be limited to 480 hours per waiver 

individual per state fiscal calendar year. If a waiver 

individual changes waiver programs, this same maximum 

number of respite hours shall apply. No additional respite 

hours beyond the 480 maximum limit shall be approved 

for payment. Individuals who are receiving respite care 

services in this waiver through both the agency-directed 

and CD models shall not exceed 480 hours per state fiscal 

calendar year combined. 

b. CD respite care services shall not include skilled 

nursing services with the exception of skilled nursing tasks 

(e.g., catheterization) that may be delegated pursuant to 

Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 [ VI V ] (18VAC90-19-240 

through 18VAC90-20-460) 18VAC90-19-280) of 

18VAC90-20 18VAC90-19 and as permitted by Chapter 

30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia). 

c. If consumer-directed respite care service is the only 

service received by the waiver individual, it shall be 

received at least as often as every 30 days. If this service 

is not required at this minimal level of frequency, then the 

services facilitator or MCO shall refer the waiver 

individual to the local department of social services for its 

redetermination of Medicaid eligibility for the waiver 

individual. 

I. Personal emergency response system (PERS). 

1. Service description. PERS is a service that monitors 

waiver individual the individual's safety in the home and 

provides access to emergency assistance for medical or 

environmental emergencies through the provision of a two-

way voice communication system that dials a 24-hour 

response or monitoring center upon activation and via the 

individual's home telephone line or system. PERS may also 

include medication monitoring devices. 

a. PERS may shall be authorized only when there is no one 

else other competent adult in the home with the waiver 

individual who is competent or continuously available to 

call for help in an emergency or when the individual is in 

imminent danger individual's health, safety, and welfare 

cannot be ensured. 
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b. The use of PERS equipment shall not relieve the 

primary or backup caregiver of his the caregiver's 

responsibilities. 

c. Service units and service limitations. 

(1) PERS shall be limited to waiver individuals who are 

ages 14 years and older who also either live alone or are 

alone for significant parts of the day and who have no 

regular caregiver for extended periods of time. PERS shall 

only be provided in conjunction with receipt of personal 

care services (either agency-directed or consumer-

directed), respite services (either agency-directed or 

consumer-directed), or adult day health care. A waiver 

individual shall not receive PERS if he the individual has 

a cognitive impairment as defined in 12VAC30-120-900. 

(2) A unit of service shall include administrative costs, 

time, labor, and supplies associated with the installation, 

maintenance, monitoring, and adjustments of the PERS. A 

unit of service shall be the one-month rental price set by 

DMAS in its fee schedule. The one-time installation of the 

unit shall include installation, account activation, 

individual and family or caregiver instruction, and 

subsequent removal of PERS equipment when it is no 

longer needed. 

(3) PERS services shall be capable of being activated by a 

remote wireless device and shall be connected to the 

waiver individual's telephone line or system. The PERS 

console unit must provide hands-free voice-to-voice 

communication with the response center. The activating 

device must be (i) waterproof, (ii) able to automatically 

transmit to the response center an activator low battery 

alert signal prior to the battery losing power, (iii) able to 

be worn by the waiver individual, and (iv) automatically 

reset by the response center after each activation, thereby 

ensuring that subsequent signals can be transmitted 

without requiring manual resetting by the waiver 

individual. 

(4) All PERS equipment shall be approved by the Federal 

Communications Commission and meet the Underwriters' 

Laboratories, Inc. (UL) safety standard. 

(5) Medication monitoring units shall be physician 

ordered. In order to be approved to receive the medication 

monitoring service, a waiver individual shall also receive 

PERS services. Physician orders shall be maintained in the 

waiver individual's record. In cases where the medical 

monitoring unit must be filled by the provider, the person 

who is filling the unit shall be either an RN or an LPN. 

The units may be filled as frequently as a minimum of 

every 14 days. There must be documentation of this action 

in the waiver individual's record. 

J. Transition coordination and transition services. Transition 

coordination and transition services, as defined at 12VAC30-

120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-2010, provide for applicants 

individuals to move from institutional placements or licensed 

or certified provider-operated living arrangements to private 

homes or other qualified settings. The applicant's individual's 

transition from an institution to the community shall be 

coordinated by the facility's discharge planning team. The 

discharge planner shall coordinate with the transition 

coordinator to ensure that EDCD CCC Plus Waiver eligibility 

criteria shall be met. 

1. Transition coordination and transition services shall be 

authorized by DMAS or its designated agent in order for 

reimbursement to occur. 

2. For the purposes of transition services, an institution must 

meet the requirements as specified by CMS in the Money 

Follows the Person demonstration program at 

http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/comp2/F109-

171.html#ft262 To qualify for the service, the waiver 

individual shall be discharged after 90 consecutive days of 

residence from an institution, intermediate care facility for 

individuals with intellectual disabilities, institution for 

mental disease, or psychiatric residential treatment facility. 

3. Transition coordination shall be authorized for a 

maximum of 12 consecutive months upon discharge from an 

institutional placement and shall be initiated within 30 days 

of discharge from the institution. 

4. 3. Transition coordination and transition services shall be 

provided in conjunction with personal care (agency-directed 

or consumer-directed), respite care (agency-directed or 

consumer-directed), private duty nursing, or adult day health 

care services. 

4. Transition services may be provided by DMAS enrolled 

area agencies on aging, centers for independent living, and 

local departments of social services.  

K. Assistive technology (AT). 

1. Service description. Assistive technology (AT), as defined 

in 12VAC30-120-900, shall only be available to waiver 

individuals who are participating in the MFP program 

pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.) be 

portable and shall be authorized per calendar year. AT 

services are the specialized medical equipment and supplies, 

including those devices, controls, or appliances, specified in 

the individual's plan of care, but that are not available under 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance, that enable a waiver 

individual to increase the individual's ability to perform 

ADLs or IADLs or to perceive, control, or communicate 

with the environment in which the individual lives. 

2. In order to qualify for these services, the individual shall 

have a demonstrated need for specialized medical equipment 

and supplies for remedial or direct medical benefit primarily 

in an individual's primary home, primary vehicle used by the 

individual, community activity setting, or day program to 

specifically serve to improve the individual's personal 

functioning. This shall encompass those items not otherwise 
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covered under the State Plan for Medical Assistance. AT 

shall be covered in the least expensive, most cost-effective 

manner. 

3. AT services shall be available for a waiver individual who 

has a demonstrated need for equipment for remedial or direct 

medical benefit. This service includes ancillary supplies and 

equipment necessary for the proper functioning of such 

items. 

4. Service units and service limitations. 

a. All requests for AT shall be made by the transition 

coordinator to DMAS or the Srv Auth contractor. The cost 

for AT shall not be carried over from one calendar year to 

the next. Each item must be service authorized by either 

DMAS or the DMAS designated service authorization 

contractor for each calendar year. 

b. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for all 

AT covered procedure codes (combined total of AT items 

and labor related to these items) shall be $5,000 per 

calendar year for individuals an individual regardless of 

waiver, or regardless of whether the individual changes 

waiver programs, for which AT is approved. The service 

unit shall always be one, for the total cost of all AT being 

requested for a specific timeframe. 

c. AT may be provided in the individual's home or 

community setting. 

d. AT shall not be approved for purposes of convenience 

of the caregiver or provider or restraint of the individual, 

recreation or leisure, educational purposes, or diversion 

activities. 

e. AT shall be carried out in the least expensive manner 

possible to achieve the goal required for the individual's 

health, safety, and welfare. AT shall be reimbursed in a 

manner that is reasonable and customary not to exceed the 

provider's usual and customary charges to the general 

public. 

e. f. An independent, professional consultation shall be 

obtained from a qualified professional who is 

knowledgeable of that item for each AT request prior to 

approval by the Srv Auth service authorization contractor 

or managed care organization and may include training on 

such AT by the qualified professional. The consultation 

shall not be performed by the provider of AT to the 

individual. 

f. g. All AT shall be prior authorized by DMAS, the Srv 

Auth designated service authorization contractor, or 

managed care organization prior to billing or providing 

services to the individual. 

g. Excluded shall be items h. Items that are reasonable 

accommodation requirements, for example, of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act, the Virginians with 

Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), 

or the Rehabilitation Act (20 USC § 794) or that are 

required to be provided through other funding sources 

shall be excluded from Medicaid coverage. DMAS shall 

not duplicate services that are required as a reasonable 

accommodation as a part of the Americans with 

Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131 through 12165), 

Virginians with Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia), or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 

USC § 794). 

h. i. AT services or equipment shall not be rented but shall 

be purchased. 

j. Shipping, freight, or delivery charges shall not be 

billable to DMAS or the waiver individual, as such 

charges are considered noncovered items. 

(1) All products shall be delivered, demonstrated, and 

installed and in working order prior to submitting any 

claim for them to Medicaid. 

(2) The date of service on the claim shall be within the 

service authorization approval dates, which may be prior 

to the delivery date as long as the initiation of services 

commenced during the approved dates.  

(3) The service authorization shall not be modified to 

accommodate delays in product deliveries. In such 

situations, the provider must seek a new service 

authorization. 

(4) When two or more waiver individuals live in the same 

home or congregate living arrangement, the AT shall be 

shared to the extent practicable consistent with the type of 

AT and the needs of the individuals as documented in their 

POCs. There shall be no duplication of AT in the same 

house when such product can be used for a communal 

purpose. 

k. Assistive technology shall not be available to 

individuals younger than 21 years of age through the CCC 

Plus Waiver. Assistive technology for individuals younger 

than 21 shall be accessed through the EPSDT benefit. 

l. AT exclusions. 

(1) Medicaid shall not reimburse for any AT devices or 

services that may have been rendered prior to 

authorization from DMAS or the designated service 

authorization contractor. 

(2) Providers that supply AT for the waiver individual may 

not perform assessments, consultations, or write 

specifications for that individual. Any request for a change 

in cost (either an increase or a decrease) requires 

justification and supporting documentation of medical 

need and service authorization by DMAS or the 

designated service authorization contractor. The vendor 

shall receive a copy of the professional evaluation in order 

to purchase the items recommended by the professional. If 

a change is necessary, the vendor shall notify the assessor 

to ensure the changed items meet the individual's needs. 
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(3) All equipment or supplies already covered by a service 

provided for in the State Plan shall not be purchased under 

the waiver as AT. Such examples include: 

(a) Specialized medical equipment, durable or nondurable 

medical equipment, ancillary equipment, and supplies 

necessary for life support; 

(b) Adaptive devices, appliances, and controls that enable 

an individual to be more independent in areas of personal 

care and ADLs or IADLs; and  

(c) Equipment and devices that enable an individual to 

communicate more effectively. 

L. Environmental modifications (EM). 

1. Service description. Environmental modifications (EM), 

as defined herein, shall only be available to waiver 

individuals who are participating in the MFP program 

pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.). 

Adaptations shall be consist of adaptations documented in 

the waiver individual's POC and may include the installation 

of nonportable ramps and grab-bars, widening of doorways, 

modification of bathroom facilities, or installation of 

specialized electrical and plumbing systems that are 

necessary to accommodate the medical equipment and 

supplies that are necessary for the health, safety, and welfare 

of the waiver individual. Excluded are those adaptations or 

improvements to the home that are of general utility and are 

not of direct medical or remedial benefit to the individual, 

such as carpeting, flooring, roof repairs, central air 

conditioning, or decks. Adaptations that add to the total 

square footage of the home shall be excluded from this 

benefit, except when necessary to complete an authorized 

adaptation, as determined by DMAS or its designated agent. 

All services shall be provided in the individual's primary 

home in accordance with applicable state or local building 

codes. All modifications must shall be prior authorized by 

the Srv Auth service authorization contractor or managed 

care organization. Modifications may only be made to a 

vehicle if it is the primary vehicle being used by the waiver 

individual. This service does not include the purchase or 

lease of vehicles. This service shall not include general 

repairs to a residence or vehicle. 

2. In order to qualify for these services, the waiver individual 

shall have a demonstrated need for modifications of a 

remedial or direct medical benefit offered in his the 

individual's primary home or primary vehicle used by the 

waiver individual to ensure his the individual's health, 

welfare, or safety or specifically to improve the individual's 

personal functioning. Modifications may include a generator 

for a waiver individual who is dependent on mechanical 

ventilation for 24 hours a day and when the generator is used 

to support the medical equipment and supplies necessary for 

the individual's welfare. This service shall encompass those 

items not otherwise covered in the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance or through another program. EM shall be covered 

in the least expensive, most cost-effective manner. 

3. Service units and service limitations. 

a. All requests for EM shall be made by the MFP transition 

coordinator to DMAS or the Srv Auth contractor. 

b. a. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for 

all EM covered procedure codes (combined total of EM 

items and labor related to these items) shall be $5,000 per 

calendar year for individuals an individual regardless of 

waiver, or regardless of whether the individual changes 

waiver programs, for which EM is approved. Unexpended 

portions of this maximum amount shall not be 

accumulated across one or more years to be expended in a 

later year. The service unit shall always be one, for the 

total cost of all EM being requested for a specific 

timeframe. 

c. b. All EM shall be authorized by the Srv Auth contractor 

DMAS or the DMAS designated service authorization 

contractor prior to billing or providing services to the 

individual. 

d. c. Modifications shall not be used to bring a substandard 

dwelling up to minimum habitation standards. Also 

excluded shall be modifications that are reasonable 

accommodation requirements of the Americans with 

Disabilities Act, the Virginians with Disabilities Act 

(§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and the 

Rehabilitation Act (20 USC§ § 794). 

e. Transition coordinators shall, upon completion of each 

modification, meet face-to-face with the waiver individual 

and his family or caregiver, as appropriate, to ensure that 

the modification is completed satisfactorily and is able to 

be used by the individual. 

f. d. EM shall not be approved for purposes of convenience 

of the caregiver or provider or restraint of the waiver 

individual. 

e. Only the actual cost of material and labor is reimbursed. 

There shall be no additional markup. 

f. EM shall be carried out in the least expensive manner 

possible to achieve the goal required for the individual's 

health, safety, and welfare.  

g. All services shall be provided in the individual's 

primary residence in accordance with applicable state or 

local building codes and appropriate permits or building 

inspections, which shall be provided to DMAS or the 

DMAS contractor.  

h. Proposed modifications that are to be made to rental 

properties shall have prior written approval of the 

property's owner. Modifications to rental properties shall 

only be valid if it is an independently operated rental 

facility with no direct or indirect ties to any other Medicaid 

service provider.  
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i. Modifications may be made to a vehicle if it is the 

primary vehicle used by the individual. This service shall 

not include the purchase of, lease of, or the general repair 

of vehicles. Repairs of modifications that have been 

reimbursed by DMAS shall be covered. 

j. The EM provider shall ensure that all work and products 

are delivered, installed, and in good working order prior to 

seeking reimbursement from DMAS. The date of service 

on this provider's claim shall be within the service 

authorization approval dates, which may be prior to the 

completion date as long as the work commenced during 

the approval dates. The service authorization shall not be 

modified to accommodate installation delays. All requests 

for cost changes (either increases or decreases) shall be 

submitted to DMAS or the DMAS-designated service 

authorization contractor for revision to the previously 

issued service authorization and shall include justification 

and supporting documentation of medical needs. 

k. DMAS shall not duplicate services that are required as 

a reasonable accommodation as a part of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131 through 12165), 

the Virginians with Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia), or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 

USC § 794). 

4. EM exclusions. 

a. There shall be no duplication of previous EM services 

within the same residence such as multiple nonportable 

wheelchair ramps or previous modifications to the same 

room.  

b. Adaptations or improvements to the primary home that 

shall be excluded are of general utility and are not of direct 

medical or remedial benefit to the waiver individual, such 

as, but not limited to, carpeting; flooring; roof repairs; 

central air conditioning or heating; general maintenance 

and repairs to a home; additions or maintenance of decks 

or fences; maintenance, replacement, or addition of 

sidewalks, driveways, or carports; or adaptations that only 

increase the total square footage of the home. 

c. EM shall not be covered by Medicaid for general leisure 

or diversion items, items that are recreational in nature, 

items for educational purposes, or items that may be used 

as an outlet for adaptive or maladaptive behavioral issues. 

Such noncovered items may include swing sets, 

playhouses, climbing walls, trampolines, protective 

matting or ground cover, sporting equipment, hot tubs, or 

exercise equipment, such as special bicycles or tricycles.  

d. EM shall not be covered by Medicaid if payment for 

such modifications can be made through the Fair Housing 

Act (42 USC § 3601 et seq.), the Virginia Fair Housing 

Law (§ 36-96.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) or the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (42 USC § 12101 et seq.). 

e. EM shall not include the costs of removal or disposal, 

or any other costs, of previously installed modifications, 

whether paid for by DMAS or any other source. 

f. Providers who supply EM to a waiver individual shall 

not perform assessments, consultations, or write EM 

specifications for such individuals [ . ] 

g. EM shall not cover payment for modifications or items 

that can be made through other Medicaid services, such as 

durable medical equipment. 

M. Private duty nursing. PDN, for a single individual and 

individuals residing in the same home, as defined in 

12VAC30-120-900, shall be provided for individuals who 

have serious medical conditions or complex health care needs. 

To receive this service, an individual must require specific 

skilled and continuous nursing care on a regularly scheduled or 

intermittent basis performed by an RN or an LPN. Once waiver 

eligibility has been determined by the LTSS screening team 

and a determination that the individual requires ongoing skilled 

nursing care has been made, then the PDN hours shall be 

authorized by DMAS or the DMAS designated service 

authorization contractor.  

1. PDN services shall be rendered according to a POC 

authorized by DMAS or the DMAS designated service 

authorization contractor and shall have been certified by a 

physician as medically necessary to enable the individual to 

remain at home. 

2. No reimbursement shall be provided by DMAS for either 

RN or LPN services without signed physician orders that 

specifically identify skilled nursing tasks to be performed for 

the individual. 

3. Limits placed on the amount of PDN that will be approved 

for reimbursement shall be consistent with the individual's 

support needs and medical necessity but shall not exceed 112 

hours per week. The maximum PDN hours authorized per 

week for individuals shall be based on their technology and 

documented medical necessity justification.  

4. For individuals, whether living separately or in a 

congregate setting, PDN shall be reimbursed up to a 

maximum 112 hours per week (Sunday through Saturday) 

per waiver individual living in the household.  

5. The individual shall be determined to need a medical 

device and ongoing skilled nursing care when such 

individual meets Category A or all eight criteria in Category 

B: 

a. Category A. Individuals who depend on mechanical 

ventilators; or 

b. Category B. Individuals who have a complex 

tracheostomy as defined by: 

(1) Tracheostomy with the potential for weaning off of it, 

or documentation of attempts to wean, with subsequent 

inability to wean; 
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(2) Nebulizer treatments ordered at least four times a day 

or nebulizer treatments followed by chest physiotherapy 

provided by a nurse or respiratory therapist at least four 

times a day; 

(3) Pulse oximetry monitoring at least every shift due to 

unstable oxygen saturation levels; 

(4) Respiratory assessment and documentation every shift 

by a licensed respiratory therapist or nurse; 

(5) Oxygen therapy with documented usage under a 

physician's order; 

(6) Daily tracheostomy care; 

(7) Tracheostomy suctioning under a physician's order; 

and 

(8) At risk of requiring subsequent mechanical ventilation. 

6. PDN shall not be available to individuals younger than 21 

years of age as a waiver service. PDN for individuals 

younger than 21 shall be accessed through the EPSDT 

benefit. 

7. PDN services may include consultation and training for 

the primary caregiver. 

8. The provider shall be responsible for notifying the LDSS, 

the service authorization contractor, and the managed care 

organization should the primary residence of the individual 

be changed, should the individual be hospitalized, should the 

individual die, or should the individual be absent from the 

Commonwealth for 48 hours or more. 

9. Exclusions from DMAS coverage of PDN: 

a. PDN hours shall not be reimbursed while the individual 

is receiving emergency care or during emergency 

transport of the individual to emergency care facilities. 

The RN or LPN shall not transport the waiver individual 

to emergency care facilities. 

b. PDN services may be ordered but shall not be provided 

simultaneously with skilled respite care or personal care 

services. These services may be provided sequentially or 

alternately from each other. 

c. Providers shall not bill prior to receiving the physician's 

dated signature on the individual's POC for services 

provided and DMAS or DMAS designated service 

authorization contractor's authorization or determination 

of PDN hours. 

d. Time spent transporting the waiver individual shall not 

be reimbursed by DMAS. 

e. DMAS shall not reimburse for PDN services through 

the CCC Plus Waiver and PDN services through the 

EPSDT benefit at the same time. 

10. Congregate PDN. 

a. If more than one waiver individual resides in the home, 

the same waiver provider shall be chosen to provide all 

PDN services for all waiver individuals in the home. 

b. Only one nurse shall be authorized to care for no more 

than two waiver individuals in such arrangements. In 

instances when three waiver individuals share a home, 

nursing ratios shall be determined by DMAS or its 

designated agent based on the needs of all the individuals 

who are living together. These congregate PDN hours 

shall be at the same scheduled shifts. 

c. The unpaid primary caregiver shall be shared and shall 

be responsible for providing all care needs when a private 

duty nurse is not available.  

12VAC30-120-925. Respite coverage in children's 

residential facilities. 

A. Individuals with special needs who are enrolled in the 

EDCD Waiver and who have a diagnosis of intellectual 

disability (ID) or developmental disability (DD) shall be 

eligible to receive respite services in children's residential 

facilities that are licensed for respite services for children with 

ID or DD. 

B. These respite services shall be covered consistent with the 

requirements of 12VAC30-120-924, 12VAC30-120-930, and 

12VAC30-120-935, whichever is in effect at the time of 

service delivery. with the following exceptions: 

1. An assessment by the nurse supervisor shall be conducted 

at the onset of each use of respite in the children's residential 

facility;  

2. Documentation of each utilization of respite in a children's 

residential facility will document the arrival and departure 

times of the individual instead of the arrival and departure 

times of each staff member; and 

3. The nurse supervisor shall review the utilization of respite 

services in the children's residential facility. The nurse 

supervisor shall not be required to conduct the supervisory 

visit in the home of the waiver individual. 

12VAC30-120-927. Exception criteria for personal care 

services. 

DMAS shall apply the following criteria to individuals who 

request approval of personal care hours in excess of the 

maximum allowed 56 hours per week. In order to qualify for 

personal care hours in excess of 56 hours per week, the waiver 

individual shall: 

1. Presently have a minimum level of care of B (the waiver 

individual has a composite activities of daily living (ADL) 

score between seven and 12 and has a medical nursing need) 

or C (the waiver individual has a composite ADL score of 

nine or higher and has a skilled medical nursing need). 

2. In addition to meeting the requirements set out in 

subdivision 1 of this section, the individual shall have at least 

one of the following: 

a. Documentation of dependencies in all of the following 

activities of daily living: bathing, dressing, transferring, 
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toileting, and eating/feeding eating or feeding, as defined 

by the current preadmission LTSS screening criteria 

(12VAC30-60-303) (submitted to the service 

authorization contractor via DMAS-99); 

b. Documentation of dependencies in both behavior and 

orientation as defined by the current preadmission LTSS 

screening criteria (12VAC30-60-303) (submitted to the 

service authorization contractor via DMAS-99); or 

c. Documentation from the local department of social 

services that the individual has an open case (as described 

in subdivisions 2 c (1) and 2 c (2) of this subdivision 2 

section) with either Adult Protective Services adult 

protective services (APS) or Child Protective Services 

child protective services (CPS) and is therefore in need of 

additional services beyond the maximum allowed 56 

hours per week. Documentation can be in the form of a 

phone log contact or any other documentation supplied 

(submitted to the service authorization contractor via 

attestation). 

(1) For APS, an open case is defined as a substantiated 

APS case with a disposition of needs protective services 

and the adult accepts the needed services. 

(2) For CPS, an open case is defined as being open to CPS 

investigation if it is both founded by the investigation and 

the completed family assessment documents the case with 

moderate or high risk. 

12VAC30-120-930. General requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers. 

A. The following agency-directed services shall be provided 

through an agency that is either (i) licensed by VDH, (ii) 

certified by VDH under provisions of Title XVIII or Title XIX 

of the Social Security Act, or (iii) accredited either by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Health Care Organizations 

(JCAHO) or by the Community Health Accreditation Program 

(CHAP) established by the National League of Nursing for 

Medicaid participation: personal care, respite care, PDN, 

skilled respite care, and congregate PDN. The provider shall 

make available verification of its license, certification, or 

accreditation upon request. 

B. Requests for participation shall be screened by DMAS or 

the designated DMAS contractor to determine whether the 

provider applicant meets the requirements for participation, as 

set out forth in the provider agreement, and demonstrates the 

abilities to perform, at a minimum, the following activities: 

1. Screen all new and existing employees and contractors to 

determine whether any are excluded from eligibility for 

payment from federal health care programs, including 

Medicaid (i.e., via the United States Department of Health 

and Human Services Office of Inspector General List of 

Excluded Individuals or Entities (LEIE) website). 

Immediately report in writing to DMAS any exclusion 

information discovered to: DMAS, ATTN: Program 

Integrity/Exclusions, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, or email to 

providerexclusions@dmas.virginia.gov; 

2. Immediately notify DMAS in writing of any change in the 

information that the provider previously submitted to 

DMAS; 

3. Except for waiver individuals who are subject to the 

DMAS Client Medical Management program Part VIII 

(12VAC30-130-800 et seq.) of 12VAC30-130 or are 

enrolled in a Medicaid managed care program, ensure 

Ensure freedom of choice to individuals in seeking services 

from any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or other 

provider qualified and enrolled in Medicaid at the time of 

delivery to perform the services service required and 

participating in the Medicaid Program at the time the 

services are performed, except for waiver individuals who 

are subject to the DMAS Client Medical Management 

program as set out in Part [ VIII XIII ] of [ 12VAC30 

12VAC30-130 ] or are enrolled in a Medicaid managed care 

organization; 

4. Ensure the individual's freedom to refuse medical care, 

treatment, and services; 

5. Accept referrals for services only when staff is available 

to initiate and perform such services on an ongoing basis; 

6. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 

compliance with Title VI (42 USC § 2000d et seq.) of the 

Civil Rights Act of 1964 which prohibits discrimination on 

the grounds of race, color, religion, or national origin; the 

Virginians with Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia); § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 

USC § 794), which prohibits discrimination on the basis of 

a disability; and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 

(42 USC § 12101 et seq.), which provides comprehensive 

civil rights protections to individuals with disabilities in the 

areas of employment, public accommodations, state and 

local government services, and telecommunications; 

7. Provide services and supplies to individuals of the same 

quality and in the same mode of delivery as are provided to 

the general public; 

8. Submit charges to DMAS, the MCO, or the DMAS-

designated service authorization contractor for the provision 

of services and supplies to individuals in amounts not to 

exceed the provider's usual and customary charges to the 

general public and accept as payment in full the amount 

established by DMAS payment methodology beginning with 

the individual's authorization date for the waiver services; 

9. Use only DMAS-designated forms for service 

documentation, except when otherwise permitted. The 

provider shall not alter the DMAS forms in any manner 

without prior written approval from DMAS; 

providerexclusions@dmas.virginia.gov
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10. Use DMAS-designated billing forms for submission of 

charges; 

11. Perform no type of direct marketing activities to 

Medicaid individuals; 

12. Maintain and retain business and professional records 

sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, scope, 

and details of the services provided. 

a. In all instances of forms required to be in records, all 

documents shall have original notes, dates, and signatures. 

Copied, re-dated, and photocopied forms, notes and 

signatures are prohibited. Signatures shall not be dated 

prior to the last date of rendered services for the 

appropriate form being used. 

b. In general, such records shall be retained for a period of 

at least six years from the last date of service or as 

provided by applicable federal and state laws, whichever 

period is longer. However, if an audit is initiated within 

the required retention period, the records shall be retained 

until the audit is completed and every exception resolved. 

Records of minors shall be kept for a period of at least six 

years after such minor has reached 18 years of age. 

b. c. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply 

even if the provider discontinues operation. DMAS shall 

be notified in writing of the storage location and 

procedures for obtaining records for review should the 

need arise. The location, agent, or trustee shall be within 

the Commonwealth; 

13. Furnish information on the request of and in the form 

requested to DMAS, or its contractors, the Attorney General 

of Virginia or their authorized representatives, federal 

personnel, and the state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. The 

Commonwealth's right of access to provider agencies and 

records shall survive any termination of the provider 

agreement; 

14. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 

beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 

any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 

business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, or 

other legal entities providing any form of health care 

services to recipients of Medicaid; 

15. Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.300 et seq., § 32.1-325.3 of the 

Code of Virginia, and the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act (HIPAA), safeguard and hold 

confidential all information associated with an applicant or 

enrollee or individual that could disclose the applicant's, 

enrollee's, or individual's identity of the applicant, enrollee, 

or individual. Access to information concerning the 

applicant, enrollee, or individual shall be restricted to 

persons or agency representatives who are subject to the 

standards of confidentiality that are consistent with that of 

the agency and any such access must be in accordance with 

the provisions found in 42 CFR 431.306 and 12VAC30-20-

90; 

16. When ownership of the provider changes, notify DMAS 

in writing at least 15 calendar days before the date of change; 

17. Pursuant to §§ 63.2-100, 63.2-1509, and 63.2-1606 of 

the Code of Virginia, if a participating provider or the 

provider's staff knows or suspects that a home and 

community-based waiver services individual is being 

abused, neglected, or exploited, the party having knowledge 

or suspicion of the abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall report 

this immediately from first knowledge or suspicion of such 

knowledge to the local department of social services adult or 

child protective services worker department as applicable or 

to the toll-free, 24-hour hotline as described on the local 

department of social services' website. Employers shall 

ensure and document that their staff is aware of this 

requirement; 

a. The party having knowledge or suspicion of abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation shall also report this immediately 

to DMAS, or its authorized contractor separately as a 

critical incident. The provider shall ensure that in such 

instances of suspected or known abuse, neglect, and 

exploitation that DMAS, or its authorized contractor are 

informed after notifying adult or child protective services 

and will document the date and time of report. 

b. If a participating provider or the provider's staff knows 

or suspects that a waiver individual has incurred a critical 

incident that does not include suspected or known abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation, the party having knowledge or 

suspicion of the critical incident shall report this 

immediately to DMAS or the DMAS-designated 

contractor. Employers shall ensure and document that 

their staff is aware of this requirement and maintain copies 

of all records of reported critical incidents in the 

individual's file. 

18. In addition to compliance with the general conditions 

and requirements, adhere to the conditions of participation 

outlined in the individual provider's participation 

agreements, in the applicable DMAS provider manual, and 

in other DMAS laws, regulations, and policies. DMAS shall 

conduct ongoing monitoring of compliance with provider 

participation standards and DMAS policies. A provider's 

noncompliance with DMAS policies and procedures may 

result in a retraction of Medicaid payment or termination of 

the provider agreement, or both; 

19. Meet minimum qualifications of staff. 

a. For reasons of Medicaid individuals' safety and welfare, 

all employees shall have a satisfactory work record, as 

evidenced by at least two references from prior job 

experience, including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation of incapacitated or older adults or children. In 

instances of employees who have worked for only one 

employer, such employees shall be permitted to provide 
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one appropriate employment reference and one 

appropriate personal reference including no evidence of 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation of incapacitated or older 

adults or children. 

b. Criminal record checks for both employees and 

volunteers conducted by the Virginia State Police. Proof 

that these checks were performed with satisfactory results 

shall be available for review by DMAS staff or its 

designated agent who are authorized by the agency to 

review these files. DMAS shall not reimburse the provider 

for any services provided by an employee or volunteer 

who has been convicted of committing a barrier crime as 

defined in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Providers shall be responsible for complying with § 32.1-

162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia regarding criminal record 

checks. Provider staff shall not be reimbursed for services 

provided to the waiver individual effective on the date and 

thereafter that the criminal record check confirms the 

provider's staff person or volunteer was convicted of a 

barrier crime. Pursuant to 42 CFR 441.302 and 42 CFR 

441.352, within 30 calendar days of employment, the staff 

or volunteer shall obtain an original criminal record 

clearance with respect to convictions for offenses 

specified in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of Virginia or an 

original criminal history record from the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange.  

(1) DMAS shall not reimburse a provider for services 

provided by a staff member or volunteer who works in a 

position that involves direct contact with a waiver 

individual until an original criminal record clearance or 

original criminal history record has been received. DMAS 

shall reimburse services provided by such staff member or 

volunteer during only the first 30 calendar days of 

employment if the provider can produce documented 

evidence that such person worked only under the direct 

supervision of another staff member or volunteer for 

whom a background check was completed in accordance 

with the requirements of this section. If an original 

criminal record clearance or original criminal history 

record is not received within the first 30 calendar days of 

employment, DMAS shall not reimburse the provider for 

services provided by such employee on the 31st calendar 

day through the date on which the provider receives an 

original criminal record clearance or an original criminal 

history record. 

(2) DMAS shall not reimburse a provider for services 

provided by a staff member or volunteer who has been 

convicted of any offense set forth in clause (i) of the 

definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of 

Virginia unless all of the following conditions are met: (i) 

the offense was punishable as a misdemeanor; (ii) the staff 

member or volunteer has been convicted of only one such 

offense; (iii) the offense did not involve abuse or neglect; 

and (iv) at least five years have elapsed since the 

conviction. 

c. The staff or volunteer shall provide the hiring facility 

with a sworn statement or affirmation disclosing any 

criminal convictions or any pending criminal charges, 

whether within or outside of the Commonwealth. 

d. Provider staff and volunteers shall not be debarred, 

suspended, or otherwise excluded from participating in 

federal health care programs, as listed on the federal List 

of Excluded Individuals/Entities (LEIE) database at 

https://oig.hhs.gov. 

c. e. Provider staff and volunteers who serve waiver 

individuals who are minor children shall also be screened 

through the VDSS Child Protective Services (CPS) 

Central Registry. Provider staff and volunteers shall not be 

reimbursed for services provided to the waiver individual 

effective on the date and thereafter that the VDSS CPS 

Central Registry check confirms the provider's staff 

person or volunteer has a finding. 

20. Comply with the electronic visit verification 

requirements set out in 12VAC30-60-65. 

21. Providers shall comply with requirements for person-

centered planning and home and community-based settings 

as described in 42 CFR 441.301. As part of the person-

centered planning process, providers shall discuss the 

available services to the individual to meet the individual's 

needs and shall not perform services that are not identified 

or agreed upon in the person-centered plan. 

B. C. DMAS shall terminate the provider's Medicaid provider 

agreement pursuant to § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia and 

as may be required for federal financial participation. A 

provider who has been convicted of a felony, or who has 

otherwise pled guilty to a felony, in Virginia or in any other of 

the 50 states, the District of Columbia, or the U.S. territories 

shall within 30 days of such conviction notify DMAS of this 

conviction and relinquish its provider agreement. Such 

provider agreement terminations, subject to applicable appeal 

rights, shall conform to § 32.1-325 D and E of the Code of 

Virginia and Part XII (12VAC30-20-500 et seq.) of 12VAC30-

20. 

C. For DMAS to approve provider agreements with home D. 

Home and community-based waiver services providers, shall 

meet the following standards shall be met: 

1. Staffing, financial solvency, disclosure of ownership, and 

ensuring comparability of services requirements as specified 

in the applicable provider manual; 

2. The ability to document and to maintain waiver 

individuals' case records in accordance with state and federal 

requirements; 

3. Compliance with all applicable laws, regulations, and 

policies pertaining to EDCD CCC Plus Waiver services. 

D. E. The waiver individual shall have the option of selecting 

the a Medicaid-enrolled provider of his choice from among 

https://oig.hhs.gov/
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those providers who are approved and who that can 

appropriately meet his the individual's needs. 

E. F. A participating provider may voluntarily terminate his 

its participation in Medicaid by providing 30 days' written 

notification to DMAS. 

F. G. Except as otherwise provided by state or federal law, 

DMAS may terminate at will a provider's participation 

agreement on 30 days' written notice as specified in the DMAS 

participation agreement. DMAS may immediately terminate a 

provider's participation agreement if the provider is no longer 

eligible to participate in the Medicaid program. Such action 

precludes further payment by DMAS for services provided to 

individuals on or after the date specified in the termination 

notice. 

G. H. The provider or the managed care organization shall be 

responsible for completing the DMAS-225 form. The provider 

shall to notify the designated Srv Auth service authorization 

contractor, as appropriate, and the local department of social 

services, in writing, when any of the following events occur. 

Furthermore, it shall be the responsibility of the designated Srv 

Auth contractor to also update DMAS, as requested, when any 

of the following events occur:  

1. Home and community-based waiver services are 

implemented started; 

2. A waiver individual dies; 

3. A waiver individual is discharged from the provider's 

EDCD CCC Plus Waiver services; 

4. Any other events (including hospitalization) that cause 

home and community-based waiver services to cease or be 

interrupted for more than 30 consecutive calendar days; or 

5. The initial selection by the waiver individual or family or 

caregiver of a provider to provide services, or a change by 

the waiver individual or family or caregiver of a provider, if 

it affects the individual's patient pay amount Changes in the 

individual's status that may affect the individual's patient pay 

amount or financial Medicaid eligibility. 

H. I. Changes or termination of services. 

1. The provider may decrease the amount of authorized care 

if the revised POC is appropriate and based on the medical 

needs of the waiver individual. The participating provider 

shall collaborate with the waiver individual or the family, 

caregiver, or EOR, or both as appropriate, to develop the 

new POC and calculate the new hours of service delivery. 

The provider shall discuss the decrease in care with the 

waiver individual or family, caregiver, or EOR, document 

the conversation in the waiver individual's record, and notify 

the designated Srv Auth service authorization contractor. 

The Srv Auth service authorization contractor shall process 

the decrease request and the waiver individual shall be 

notified of the change by letter. This letter shall clearly state 

the waiver individual's right to appeal this change. 

2. If a change in the waiver individual's condition 

necessitates an increase in care, the participating provider 

shall assess the need for the increase and, collaborate with 

the waiver individual and family, caregiver, or EOR, and 

MCO care coordinator as appropriate, to develop a POC for 

services to meet the changed needs. The provider may 

implement the increase in personal care or respite care hours 

without prior to approval from DMAS, or the designated Srv 

Auth service authorization contractor, if the amount of 

services does not exceed the total amount established by 

DMAS as the maximum for the level of care designated for 

that individual on the plan of care. 

3. Any increase to a waiver individual's POC that exceeds 

the number of hours allowed for that individual's level of 

care or any change in the waiver individual's level of care 

shall be authorized by DMAS or the designated Srv Auth 

service authorization contractor prior to the increase and be 

accompanied by adequate documentation justifying the 

increase. 

4. In an emergency situation when [ either ] the health, 

safety, or welfare of the waiver individual or provider 

personnel is endangered, [ or both, ] the provider shall notify 

DMAS, or the designated Srv Auth contractor, shall be 

notified service authorization contractor in writing prior to 

discontinuing services. The provider shall give written 

notification to the waiver individual discontinuing services. 

An advance written notification period set out below shall 

not be required. If appropriate, local department of social 

services adult or child protective services, as may be 

appropriate, shall be notified immediately. Appeal rights 

shall be afforded to the waiver individual. 

5. In a nonemergency situation, when neither the health, 

safety, nor welfare of the waiver individual or provider 

personnel is endangered, the participating provider shall 

give the waiver individual at least 10 calendar days' written 

notification (plus three days for mail transit for a total of 13 

calendar days from the letter's date) of the intent to 

discontinue services. The notification letter shall provide the 

reasons for and the effective date the provider will be 

discontinuing services. Appeal rights shall be afforded to the 

waiver individual.  

I. J. Staff education and training requirements. 

1. RNs shall (i) be currently licensed to practice in the 

Commonwealth as an RN, or shall hold multi-state licensure 

privilege pursuant to Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; (ii) have at least one year 

of related clinical nursing experience, which may include 

work in an acute care hospital, public health clinic, home 

health agency, rehabilitation hospital, or NF nursing facility, 

specialized care nursing facility, or long-stay hospital or as 
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an LPN who worked for at least one year in one of these 

settings; and (iii) submit to a criminal records check meet the 

requirements of subdivision A 19 of this section regarding 

criminal record checks and consent to a search of the VDSS 

Child Protective Services Central Registry if the waiver 

individual is a minor child. The RN shall not be compensated 

for services provided to the waiver individual if this record 

check verifies that the RN has been convicted of a barrier 

crime described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or 

if the RN has a founded complaint confirmed by the VDSS 

Child Protective Services Central Registry. 

2. LPNs shall work under supervision as set out in 

18VAC90-20-37 18VAC90-19-70. LPNs shall (i) be 

currently licensed to practice in the Commonwealth as an 

LPN, or shall hold multi-state licensure privilege pursuant to 

Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia; (ii) [ shall ] have at least one year of related clinical 

nursing experience, which may include work in an acute care 

hospital, public health clinic, home health agency, 

rehabilitation hospital, or NF, specialized care NF, or long-

stay hospital. The LPN shall meet the qualifications and 

skills, prior to being assigned to care for the waiver 

individual, that are required by the individual's POC; and 

(iii) submit to a criminal records check meet the 

requirements of subdivision A 19 of this section regarding 

criminal record checks and consent to a search of the VDSS 

Child Protective Services Central Registry if the waiver 

individual is a minor child. The LPN shall not be 

compensated for services provided to the waiver individual 

if this record check verifies that the LPN has been convicted 

of a barrier crime described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia or if the LPN has a founded complaint confirmed 

by the VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry. 

3. All RNs and LPNs who provide PDN services shall have 

either (i) at least six months of related clinical experience as 

documented in their work history, which may include work 

in acute care hospitals, long-stay hospitals, rehabilitation 

hospitals, or specialized care nursing facilities, or (ii) 

completed a provider training program related to the care 

and technology needs of the assigned waiver individual. 

a. Training programs established by providers shall 

include, at a minimum, the following: 

(1) Trainers (either RNs or respiratory therapists) shall 

have at least six months hands-on successful experience in 

the areas in which the trainer provides training, such as 

ventilators, tracheostomies, peg tubes, and nasogastric 

tubes.  

(2) Training shall include classroom time as well as direct 

hands-on demonstration of mastery by the trainee of the 

specialized skills required to work with individuals who 

have technology dependencies. 

(3) The training program shall include the following 

subject areas as they relate to the care to be provided by 

the nurse: (i) human anatomy and physiology, (ii) 

medications frequently used by technology dependent 

individuals, (iii) emergency management, and (iv) the 

operation of the relevant equipment. 

(4) Providers shall ensure a nurse's competency and 

mastery of the skills necessary to care successfully for a 

waiver individual prior to assignment. Documentation of 

successful completion of such training course and mastery 

of the specialized skills required to work with individuals 

who have technology dependencies shall be maintained in 

the provider's personnel records. This documentation shall 

be provided to DMAS upon request. 

b. The RN supervisor for nurses providing PDN shall be 

currently licensed to practice nursing in the 

Commonwealth and have at least one year of related 

clinical nursing experience, which may include work in an 

acute care hospital, long-stay hospital, rehabilitation 

hospital, or specialized care nursing facility.  

3. 4. Personal care aides who are employed by personal care 

agencies that are licensed by VDH shall meet the 

requirements of 12VAC5-381. In addition, personal care 

aides shall also receive annually a minimum of 12 

documented hours of agency-provided training in the 

performance of these services. 

4. 5. Personal care aides who are employed by personal care 

agencies that are not licensed by the VDH shall have 

completed an educational curriculum of at least 40 hours of 

study related to the needs of individuals who are either 

elderly or who have disabilities, as ensured by the provider 

prior to being assigned to the care of an individual, and shall 

have the required skills and training to perform the services 

as specified in the waiver individual's POC and related 

supporting documentation. 

a. Personal care aides' required initial (that is, at the onset 

of employment) training, as further detailed in the 

applicable provider manual, shall be met in one of the 

following ways: (i) registration with the Board of Nursing 

as a certified nurse aide; (ii) graduation from an approved 

educational curriculum as listed by the Board of Nursing; 

or (iii) completion of the provider's educational 

curriculum, which must be a minimum of 40 hours in 

duration, as taught by an RN who meets the same 

requirements as the RN listed in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection. 

b. In addition, personal care aides shall also be required to 

receive annually a minimum of 12 documented hours of 

agency-provided training in the performance of these 

services, which shall be documented in the aide's record. 

5. 6. Personal care aides shall: 

a. Be at least 18 years of age or older; 
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b. Be able to read and write English to the degree 

necessary to perform the expected tasks and create and 

maintain the required documentation; 

c. Be physically able to perform the required tasks and 

have the required skills to perform services as specified in 

the waiver individual's supporting documentation; 

d. Have a valid social security number that has been issued 

to the personal care aide by the Social Security 

Administration; 

e. Submit to a criminal records check Meet the 

requirements of subdivision A 19 of this section regarding 

criminal record checks and, if the waiver individual is a 

minor, consent to a search of the VDSS Child Protective 

Services Central Registry. The aide shall not be 

compensated for services provided to the waiver 

individual effective the date in which the record check 

verifies that the aide has been convicted of barrier crimes 

described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or if 

the aide has a founded complaint confirmed by the VDSS 

Child Protective Services Central Registry;  

f. Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS EDCD 

CCC Plus Waiver requirements; and 

g. Receive tuberculosis (TB) screening as specified in the 

criteria used by the VDH. 

6. 7. Consumer-directed personal care attendants shall: 

a. Be 18 years of age or older; 

b. Be able to read and write in English to the degree 

necessary to perform the tasks expected and create and 

maintain the required documentation; 

c. Be physically able to perform the required tasks and 

have the required skills to perform consumer-directed 

services as specified in the waiver individual's supporting 

documentation; 

d. Have a valid social security number that has been issued 

to the personal care attendant by the Social Security 

Administration; 

e. Submit to a criminal records check Meet the 

requirements of subdivision A 19 of this section and, if the 

waiver individual is a minor, consent to a search of the 

VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry. The 

attendant shall not be compensated for services provided 

to the waiver individual effective the date in which the 

record check verifies that the attendant has been convicted 

of barrier crimes described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code 

of Virginia or if the attendant has a founded complaint 

confirmed by the VDSS Child Protective Services Central 

Registry;  

f. Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS EDCD 

CCC Plus Waiver requirements; 

g. Receive tuberculosis (TB) screening as specified in the 

criteria used by the VDH; and 

h. Be willing to attend training at the individual's or family 

or caregiver's request of the individual, family, caregiver, 

or EOR. 

12VAC30-120-935. Participation standards for specific 

covered services. 

A. The personal care providers, respite care providers, ADHC 

providers, private duty nursing providers, and CD services 

facilitators shall develop an individualized POC that addresses 

the waiver individual's service needs. Such plan shall be 

developed in collaboration with the waiver individual or the 

individual's family/caregiver/EOR, family, caregiver, or EOR, 

as appropriate. 

B. DMAS shall not reimburse for any waiver services 

rendered to waiver individuals when either (i) the spouse of the 

waiver individual or (ii) the natural, adoptive, step, or foster 

parent or other legal guardian of the minor child waiver 

individual is the one providing the service. 

1. Payment shall not be made for personal care or respite 

services furnished by other family members living under the 

same roof as the waiver individual unless there is objective 

written documentation as to why no other person or provider 

is available to render the service. The nurse supervisor or 

services facilitator shall initially make the determination and 

document it fully in the individual's record. 

2. Payment shall not be made for AT, EM, transition 

services, or services facilitation services furnished by other 

family members living under the same roof as the waiver 

individual receiving services. 

3. Payment shall not be made for PDN services furnished by 

other family members, legal guardians of the waiver 

individual, or other persons living under the same roof as the 

waiver individual receiving the service. 

4. Family members who are approved to be reimbursed for 

providing personal care or respite care services shall meet 

the same qualifications as all other personal care aides or CD 

attendants. 

5. Payment shall not be made for respite care services if the 

primary caregiver, as identified in the records, receives 

payment for providing personal care services to the 

individual. Providers shall document the primary caregiver 

and whether the caregiver is paid or unpaid in the 

individual's record prior to requesting respite care service 

authorization.  

B. C. Agency providers shall employ appropriately licensed 

professional staff who can provide the covered waiver services 

required by the waiver individuals individual. Providers shall 

require that the supervising RN/LPN RN or LPN be available 

by phone at all times that the LPN/attendant and consumer-

directed services facilitators, as appropriate, are LPN or aide is 

providing services to the waiver individual. 
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C. Agency staff (RN, LPNs, or aides) or CD attendants shall 

not be reimbursed by DMAS for services rendered to waiver 

individuals when the agency staff or the CD attendant is either 

(i) the spouse of the waiver individual; or (ii) the parent 

(biological, adoptive, legal guardian) or other legal guardian of 

the minor child waiver individual.  

1. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by other 

family members living under the same roof as the individual 

enrolled in the waiver receiving services unless there is 

objective written documentation completed by the 

consumer-directed services facilitator as to why no other 

provider is available to render the personal services. The 

consumer-directed services facilitator shall initially make 

this determination and document it fully in the individual's 

record. 

2. Family members who are approved to be reimbursed for 

providing personal services shall meet the same 

qualifications as all other CD attendants.  

D. Agency staff (RNs, LPNs, or aides) or CD attendants shall 

only be reimbursed by DMAS for services if they are 

physically present with the waiver individual and are awake to 

perform the services outlined in the individual's plan of care.  

E. A single agency-directed aide, consumer-directed 

attendant, RN, or LPN who provides personal care or respite 

services shall be reimbursed at a maximum limit of 16 hours 

per day for services rendered to an individual in order to ensure 

the health and safety of the individual receiving these services. 

F. Failure to provide the required services, conduct the 

required reviews, and meet the documentation standards as 

stated in this section may shall result in DMAS charging 

audited providers with returning overpayments and requiring 

the return of the overpaid funds to DMAS. 

E. G. In addition to meeting the general conditions and 

requirements, home and community-based services 

participating providers shall also meet the following 

requirements: 

1. ADHC services provider. In order to provide these home 

and community-based services, the adult day care health 

center (ADCC) (ADHC) shall: 

a. Make Hold a license with VDSS for adult day care 

center (ADCC) and make available a copy of the current 

VDSS license for DMAS review and verification purposes 

prior to the provider applicant's enrollment as a Medicaid 

provider; 

b. Adhere to the ADCC standards of VDSS as defined in 

22VAC40-60 including provision of activities for waiver 

individuals; Meet and maintain compliance with 

provisions of home and community-based rules as detailed 

in the provider agreement and as described in 42 CFR 

441.301; and 

c. Employ the following: 

(1) A director who shall be responsible for overall 

management of the center's programs and employees 

pursuant to [ 22VAC40-60-320 22VAC40-61-130 ]. The 

director shall be the provider provider's contact person for 

DMAS and the designated Srv Auth service authorization 

contractor and shall be responsible for responding to 

communication from DMAS and the designated Srv Auth 

service authorization contractor. The director shall be 

responsible for ensuring the development of the POCs for 

waiver individuals. The director shall assign either 

himself, the activities director if there is one, RN, or 

therapist a staff member to act as the care ADHC 

coordinator for each waiver individual and shall document 

in the individual's medical record the identity of the care 

ADHC coordinator in each individual's record. The 

ADHC coordinator can be the director, the activities 

director, RN, or therapist. The care ADHC coordinator 

shall be responsible for management of the waiver 

individual's POC and for its review with the program aides 

and any other staff, as necessary. 

(2) A RN who shall be responsible for administering to 

and monitoring the health needs of waiver individuals. 

The RN may also contract with the center. The RN shall 

be responsible for the planning and implementation of the 

POC involving multiple services where specialized health 

care knowledge may be needed. The RN shall be present 

a minimum of eight hours each month at the center. 

DMAS may require the RN's presence at the center for 

more than this minimum standard depending on the 

number of waiver individuals who are in attendance and 

according to the medical and nursing needs of the waiver 

individuals who attend the center. Although DMAS does 

not require that the RN be a full-time staff position, there 

shall be a RN available, either in person or by telephone, 

to the center's waiver individuals and staff during all times 

that the center is in operation. The RN shall be responsible 

for: 

(a) Providing periodic evaluation, at least every 90 days, 

of the nursing needs of each waiver individual at least 

every 90 days or sooner when there is a change in the 

individual's ADHC level of care needs; 

(b) Providing the nursing care and treatment as 

documented in the waiver individual's POC; and 

(c) Monitoring, recording, and administering of prescribed 

medications or supervising the waiver individual in self-

administered medication. 

(3) Personal care aides who shall be responsible for overall 

care of waiver individuals such as assistance with ADLs, 

social/recreational social or recreational activities, and 

other health and therapeutic-related activities. Each 

program aide hired by the provider shall be screened to 

ensure compliance with training and skill mastery 

qualifications required by DMAS. The aide shall, at a 

minimum, have the following qualifications: 
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(a) Be 18 years of age or older; 

(b) Be able to read and write in English to the degree 

necessary to perform the tasks expected and create and 

maintain the required waiver individual documentation of 

services rendered; 

(c) Be physically able to perform the work and have the 

skills required to perform the tasks required in the waiver 

individual's POC; 

(d) Have a valid social security number issued to the 

program aide by the Social Security Administration; 

(e) Have satisfactorily completed an educational 

curriculum as set out in clauses (i), (ii), and (iii) of this 

subdivision E 1 c 3 (e). Documentation of successful 

completion shall be maintained in the aide's personnel file 

and be available for review by DMAS staff. Prior to 

assigning a program aide to a waiver individual, the center 

shall ensure that the aide has either (i) registered with the 

Board of Nursing as a certified nurse aide; (ii) graduated 

from an approved educational curriculum as listed by the 

Board of Nursing; or (iii) completed the provider's 

educational curriculum, at least 40 hours in duration, as 

taught by an RN who is licensed in the Commonwealth or 

who holds a multi-state licensing privilege. 

(4) An activities director who shall be responsible for 

directing recreational and social activities for the ADHC 

recipients. The director, at a minimum, shall have the 

following qualifications: 

(a) A minimum of 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours 

of post-secondary education from an accredited college or 

university with a degree in recreational therapy, 

occupational therapy, or a related field such as art, music, 

or physical education, and 

(b) Have one year of related experience, which may 

include work in an acute care hospital, rehabilitation 

hospital, or nursing home, or have completed a course of 

study including the prescribed internship in occupation, 

physical, or recreational therapy or music, dance, art 

therapy, or physical education. 

(5) The ADHC coordinator who shall coordinate, pursuant 

to [ 22VAC40-60-695 22VAC40-61-280 ], the delivery of 

the activities and services as prescribed in the waiver 

individual's POC and keep such plans updated, record 30-

day progress notes concerning each waiver individual, and 

review the waiver individual's daily records each week. If 

a waiver individual's condition changes more frequently, 

more frequent reviews and recording of progress notes 

shall be required to reflect the individual's changing 

condition. Copied or re-dated notes are not acceptable. 

2. d. Recreation and social activities responsibilities. The 

center shall provide planned recreational and social 

activities suited to the waiver individual's needs and 

interests and designed to encourage physical exercise, 

prevent deterioration of each waiver individual's 

condition, and stimulate social interaction. 

3. e. The ADHC shall allow the care coordinator, DMAS, 

or the managed care organization to meet with waiver 

individuals to complete the annual individual experience 

survey, as required in the provisions of 42 CFR 441.301.  

f. The center shall maintain all records of each Medicaid 

individual. These records shall be reviewed periodically 

by DMAS staff or its designated agent who is authorized 

by DMAS to review these files. At a minimum, these 

records shall contain, but shall not necessarily be limited 

to: 

a. (1) DMAS required forms as specified in the center's 

provider-appropriate guidance documents; 

b. (2) Interdisciplinary POCs developed, in collaboration 

with the waiver individual or family/caregiver, family, or 

caregiver, or both as may be appropriate, by the center's 

director, RN, and therapist, as may be appropriate, and any 

other relevant support persons; 

c. (3) Documentation of interdisciplinary staff meetings 

that shall be held at least every three months to reassess 

each waiver individual and, evaluate the adequacy of the 

POC, and make any necessary revisions; 

d. (4) At a minimum, 30-day goal-oriented progress notes 

recorded by the designated ADHC care coordinator. If a 

waiver individual's condition and treatment POC changes 

more often, progress notes shall be written more 

frequently than every 30 days (copied or re-dated notes are 

not acceptable); 

e. (5) The daily record of services provided shall contain 

the specific services delivered by center staff. The record 

shall also contain the arrival and departure times of the 

waiver individual and shall be signed weekly by either the 

director, activities director, RN, or therapist employed by 

the center. The record shall be completed on a daily basis, 

neither before nor after the date of services delivery. At 

least once a week, a staff member shall chart significant 

comments regarding care given to the waiver individual. 

If the staff member writing comments is different from the 

staff signing the weekly record, that staff member shall 

sign the weekly comments. A copy of this record shall be 

given weekly to the waiver individual or family/caregiver, 

family, or caregiver, and it shall also be maintained in the 

waiver individual-specific individual's medical record; 

and 

f. (6) All contacts shall be documented in the waiver 

individual's medical record, including correspondence 

made to and from the individual with family/caregivers 

family, caregivers, physicians, DMAS, the designated Srv 

Auth service authorization contractor, formal and informal 

services providers, and all other professionals related to 

the waiver individual's Medicaid services or medical care. 
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F. 2. Agency-directed personal care services. The personal 

care provider agency shall hire or contract with and directly 

supervise a RN who provides ongoing supervision of all 

personal care aides and LPNs. LPNs may supervise, 

pursuant to their licenses, personal care aides based upon RN 

assessment of the waiver individual's health, safety, and 

welfare needs. 

1. a. The RN supervisor shall make an initial home 

assessment visit on or before the start of care for all 

individuals admitted to personal care, when a waiver 

individual is readmitted after being discharged from 

services, or if he the individual is transferred from another 

provider, ADHC, or from a CD services program other 

waiver service. 

2. b. Within 30 days after the initial home assessment visit, 

the RN supervisor shall visit the individual and the 

individual's family or caregiver, as appropriate, to monitor 

the plan of care, to reassess the individual's needs, and to 

determine if the services rendered are adequate to ensure 

the health, safety, and welfare of the individual.  

c. During a home visit, the RN supervisor shall evaluate, 

at least every 90 days, the LPN supervisor's performance 

and the waiver individual's needs to ensure the LPN 

supervisor's abilities to function competently and shall 

provide training as necessary. This shall be documented in 

the waiver individual's record. A reassessment of the 

individual's needs and review of the POC shall be 

performed and documented during these visits. 

3. d. The RN/LPN nurse supervisor shall also make 

supervisory visits based on the assessment and evaluation 

of the care needs of waiver individuals as often as needed 

and as defined in this subdivision to ensure both quality 

and appropriateness of services. 

a. (1) The personal care provider agency shall have the 

responsibility of determining when supervisory visits are 

appropriate for the waiver individual's health, safety, and 

welfare. Supervisory visits shall be at least every 90 days. 

This determination must be documented in the waiver 

individual's records record by the RN on the initial 

assessment and in the ongoing assessment records. 

b. (2) If DMAS determines that the waiver individual's 

health, safety, or welfare is in jeopardy, DMAS may 

require the provider's RN or LPN nurse supervisor to 

supervise the personal care aides more frequently than 

once every 90 days. These visits shall be conducted at this 

designated increased frequency until DMAS determines 

that the waiver individual's health, safety, or welfare is no 

longer in jeopardy. This shall be documented by the 

provider and entered into the individual's record. 

c. (3) During visits to the waiver individual's home, the 

RN/LPN nurse supervisor shall observe, evaluate, and 

document the adequacy and appropriateness of personal 

care services with regard to the individual's current 

functioning status and, medical needs, and social needs. 

The personal care aide's record shall be reviewed and the 

waiver individual's or family's/caregiver's, or both, The 

nurse supervisor shall review the record of the aide or LPN 

and discuss with the individual, family, or caregiver the 

satisfaction with the type and amount of services 

discussed. 

d. (4) If the supervising RN/LPN nurse supervisor must be 

delayed in conducting the regular supervisory visit, such 

delay shall be documented in the waiver individual's 

record with the reasons for the delay. Such supervisory 

visits shall be conducted within 15 calendar days of the 

waiver individual's first availability. 

e. (5) A RN/LPN nurse supervisor shall be available to the 

personal care aide for conferences pertaining to waiver 

individuals being served by the aide. 

(1) (a) The RN/LPN nurse supervisor shall be available to 

the aide by telephone at all times that the aide is providing 

services to waiver individuals. 

(2) (b) The RN/LPN nurse supervisor shall evaluate the 

personal care aide's performance and the waiver 

individual's needs to identify any insufficiencies in the 

personal care aide's abilities to function competently and 

shall provide training as indicated. This shall be 

documented in the waiver individual's record. 

f. (6) Licensed practical nurses (LPNs). As permitted by 

his the license, the LPN may supervise personal care aides. 

To ensure both quality and appropriateness of services, the 

LPN supervisor shall make supervisory visits of the aides 

as often as needed, but no fewer visits than provided in a 

waiver individual's POC as developed by the RN in 

collaboration with the individual and the individual's 

family/caregivers family or caregivers, or both, as 

appropriate. 

(1) (a) During visits to the waiver individual's home, a 

LPN-supervisor shall observe, evaluate, and document the 

adequacy and appropriateness of personal care services, 

the individual's current functioning status, medical needs 

and social needs. The personal care aide's record shall be 

reviewed and the waiver individual's or family/caregiver's, 

family's, or caregiver's, or both, satisfaction with the type 

and amount of services discussed. 

(2) (b) The LPN supervisor shall evaluate the personal 

care aide's performance and the waiver individual's needs 

to identify any insufficiencies in the aide's abilities to 

function competently and shall provide training as 

required to resolve the insufficiencies. This shall be 

documented in the waiver individual's record and reported 

to the RN supervisor. 

(3) (c) An LPN supervisor shall be available to personal 

care aides for conferences pertaining to waiver individuals 

being served by them. 

g. (7) Personal care aides. The agency provider may 

employ and the RN/LPN nurse supervisor shall directly 
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supervise personal care aides who provide direct care to 

waiver individuals. Each aide hired to provide personal 

care shall be evaluated by the provider agency to ensure 

compliance with qualifications and skills required by 

DMAS pursuant to 12VAC30-120-930. 

4. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by 

family members or caregivers who are living under the same 

roof as the waiver individual receiving services, unless there 

is objective written documentation as to why no other 

provider or aide is available to provide the care. The provider 

shall initially make this determination and document it fully 

in the waiver individual's record.  

5. e. Required documentation for a waiver individual's 

records. The provider shall maintain all records for each 

individual receiving personal care services. These records 

shall be separate from those of non-home and community-

based care waiver services, such as companion or home 

health services. These records shall be reviewed 

periodically by DMAS or its designated agent. At a 

minimum, the record shall contain: 

a. (1) All personal care aides' records (DMAS-90) to 

include (i) the specific services delivered to the waiver 

individual by the aide; (ii) the personal care aide's actual 

daily arrival and departure times; (iii) the aide's weekly 

comments or observations about the waiver individual, 

including observations of the individual's physical and 

emotional condition, daily activities, and responses to 

services rendered; and (iv) any other information 

appropriate and relevant to the waiver individual's care 

and need for services. 

b. (2) The personal care aide's and individual's or 

responsible caregiver's signatures, including the date, shall 

be recorded on these records verifying that personal care 

services have been rendered during the week of the service 

delivery. 

(1) (a) An employee of the provider shall not sign for the 

waiver individual unless he that employee is a family 

member or unpaid caregiver of the waiver individual. 

(2) (b) Signatures, times, and dates shall not be placed on 

the personal care aide record earlier than the last day of the 

week in which services were provided nor later no more 

than seven calendar days from the date of the last service. 

G. 3. Agency-directed respite care services. 

1. a. To be approved as a respite care provider with 

DMAS, the respite care agency provider shall: 

a. (1) Employ or contract with and directly supervise either 

a RN or LPN, or both, who will provide ongoing 

supervision of all respite care aides/LPNs aides or LPNs, 

as appropriate. A RN shall provide supervision to all direct 

care and supervisory LPNs. 

(1) (a) When respite care services are received on a routine 

basis, the minimum acceptable frequency of the required 

RN/LPN nurse supervisor's visits shall not exceed every 

90 days, based on the initial assessment. If a waiver 

individual is also receiving personal care or private duty 

nursing services, the respite care RN/LPN nurse 

supervisory visit may coincide with the personal care 

RN/LPN nurse supervisory visits. However, the RN/LPN 

nurse supervisor shall document supervision of respite 

care separately from the personal care documentation. For 

this purpose, the same individual record may be used with 

a separate section for respite care documentation. 

(2) (b) When respite care services are not received on a 

routine basis but are episodic in nature, a RN/LPN nurse 

supervisor shall conduct the home supervisory visit with 

the aide/LPN aide or LPN on or before the start of care. 

The RN/LPN RN or LPN shall review the utilization of 

respite services either every six months or upon the use of 

half of the approved respite hours, whichever comes first. 

If a waiver individual is also receiving personal care 

services from the same provider, the respite care RN/LPN 

nurse supervisory visit may coincide with the personal 

care RN/LPN nurse supervisory visit. 

(3) (c) During visits to the waiver individual's home, the 

RN/LPN nurse supervisor shall observe, evaluate, and 

document the adequacy and appropriateness of respite 

care services to the waiver individual's current functioning 

status and, medical needs, and social needs. The 

aide's/LPN's record shall be reviewed along with the 

waiver individual's or family's/caregiver's, or both, The 

nurse supervisor shall review the record of the aide or LPN 

and discuss with the individual, family, or caregiver the 

satisfaction with the type and amount of services 

discussed. 

(4) (d) Should the required RN/LPN nurse supervisory 

visit be delayed, the reason for the delay shall be 

documented in the waiver individual's record. This visit 

shall be completed within 15 days of the waiver 

individual's first availability. 

b. (2) Employ or contract with aides to provide respite care 

services who shall meet the same education and training 

requirements as personal care aides. 

c. Not hire respite care aides for DMAS reimbursement for 

services that are rendered to waiver individuals when the 

aide is either (i) the spouse of the waiver individual or (ii) 

the parent (biological, adoptive, legal guardian) or other 

guardian of the minor child waiver individual. 

d. (3) Employ an a LPN or RN to perform skilled respite 

care services when skilled respite services are offered. 

Such services shall be reimbursed by DMAS under the 

following circumstances: 

(1) (a) The waiver individual shall have a documented 

need for routine skilled respite care that cannot be 

provided by unlicensed personnel, such as an aide. These 

waiver individuals would typically require a skilled level 

of care involving, for example but not necessarily limited 
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to, ventilators for assistance with breathing or either 

nasogastric or gastrostomy feedings; 

(2) (b) No other person in the waiver individual's support 

system is willing and able to supply the skilled component 

of the individual's care during the unpaid primary 

caregiver's absence; and 

(3) (c) The waiver individual is unable to receive skilled 

nursing visits from any other source that could provide the 

skilled care usually given by the unpaid primary caregiver. 

e. (4) Document in the waiver individual's record the 

circumstances that require the provision of skilled respite 

services by an LPN or RN. At the time of the LPN's or 

RN's service, the LPN or RN shall also provide all of the 

skilled respite services normally provided by an aide. 

2. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by other 

family members or caregivers who are living under the same 

roof as the waiver individual receiving services unless there 

is objective written documentation as to why no other 

provider or aide is available to provide the care. The provider 

shall initially make this determination and document it fully 

in the waiver individual's record. 

3. b. Required documentation for a waiver individual's 

records. The provider shall maintain all records for each 

waiver individual receiving respite services. These records 

shall be separate clearly labeled and maintained separately 

from those of non-home and community-based care waiver 

services, such as companion or home health services. These 

records shall be reviewed periodically either by the DMAS 

staff or a contracted entity who is authorized by DMAS to 

review these files records. At a minimum these records shall 

contain: 

a. (1) Forms as specified in the DMAS guidance 

documents. 

b. (2) All respite care LPN/aide LPN, RN, or aide records 

shall contain: 

(1) (a) The specific services delivered to the waiver 

individual by the LPN/aide LPN, RN, or aide; 

(2) (b) The respite care LPN's/aide's LPN's, RN's, or aide's 

daily arrival and departure times; 

(3) (c) Comments or observations recorded weekly about 

the waiver individual. LPN/aide LPN, RN, or aide 

comments shall include observation of the waiver 

individual's physical, medical, and emotional condition, 

daily activities, the individual's response to services 

rendered, and documentation of vital signs if taken as part 

of the POC. 

c. All (3) Skilled respite care LPN or RN records (DMAS-

90A), which may be documented on the DMAS 90-A, 

shall be reviewed and signed by the supervising RN and 

shall contain: 

(1) (a) The signatures of the skilled respite care LPN/aide's 

LPN or RN and waiver [ individual's individual ] or 

responsible family/caregiver's signatures family or 

caregiver, including the date, verifying that skilled respite 

care services have been rendered during the week of 

service delivery as documented in the record. 

(2) (b) An employee of the provider shall not sign for the 

waiver individual unless he the employee is a family 

member or unpaid caregiver of the waiver individual. 

(3) (c) Signatures, times, and dates shall not be placed on 

the skilled respite care LPN/aide LPN or aide record 

earlier than the last day of the week in which services were 

provided. Nor shall signatures be placed on the respite care 

LPN/aide LPN or aide records later than seven calendar 

days from the date of the last service. 

H. 4. Consumer-directed (CD) services facilitation for 

personal care and respite services. 

1. a. Any services rendered by attendants prior to dates 

authorized by DMAS or the service authorization 

contractor shall not be eligible for Medicaid 

reimbursement and shall be the responsibility of the 

waiver individual. 

2. b. If the services facilitator is not an RN, then the 

services facilitator shall inform the primary health care 

provider for the individual who is enrolled in the waiver 

that services are being provided within 30 days from the 

start of such services and request consultation with the 

primary health care provider, as needed. This shall be done 

after the services facilitator secures written permission 

from the individual to contact the primary health care 

provider. The documentation of this written permission to 

contact the primary health care provider shall be retained 

in the individual's medical record. All contacts with the 

primary health care provider shall be documented in the 

individual's medical record. 

3. c. The consumer-directed services facilitator, whether 

employed or contracted by a DMAS enrolled services 

facilitator, or any staff or volunteer of the services 

facilitator providing direct service to Medicaid individuals 

shall meet the following qualifications: 

a. (1) To be enrolled as a Medicaid consumer-directed 

services facilitator and maintain provider status, the 

consumer-directed services facilitator shall have sufficient 

knowledge, skills, and abilities to perform the activities 

required of such providers. In addition, the consumer-

directed services facilitator shall have the ability to 

maintain and retain business and professional records 

sufficient to fully and accurately document the nature, 

scope, and details of the services provided. 

b. (2) Effective January 11, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators and volunteers providing direct 

service to Medicaid individuals shall: 

(1) (a) Have a satisfactory work record as evidenced by at 

least two references from prior job experiences from any 

human services work; such references shall not include 
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any experience with no evidence of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation of incapacitated or older adults or persons 

with disabilities or children; (2) Submit to a criminal 

background check being conducted. The results of such 

check shall contain no record of conviction of barrier 

crimes as set forth in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Proof that the criminal record check was 

conducted shall be maintained in the record of the services 

facilitator. In accordance with 12VAC30-80-130, DMAS 

shall not reimburse the provider for any services provided 

by a services facilitator who has been convicted of 

committing a barrier crime as set forth in § 32.1-162.9:1 

of the Code of Virginia;(3) Submit to a search of the 

VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry that 

results in no founded complaint; and (4). In instances of 

employees who have worked for only one employer, such 

employees shall be permitted to provide one appropriate 

employment reference and one appropriate personal 

reference, including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation of incapacitated or older adults or children. 

(b) Within 30 calendar days of employment, the services 

facilitator, staff, or volunteer shall obtain an original 

criminal record clearance with respect to convictions for 

offenses specified in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of Virginia 

or an original criminal history record from the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange. The staff or volunteer shall 

also submit to a screening through the VDSS Child 

Protective Services (CPS) Central Registry if serving a 

waiver individual who is a minor child. Provider staff and 

volunteers shall not be reimbursed for services provided 

to the waiver individual effective on the date and 

thereafter that the VDSS CPS Central Registry check 

confirms the provider's staff person or volunteer has a 

finding. 

(i) DMAS shall not reimburse a provider for services 

provided by a staff or volunteer who works in a position 

that involves direct contact with a waiver individual until 

an original criminal record clearance or original criminal 

history record has been received. DMAS shall reimburse 

services provided by such a staff person during only the 

first 30 calendar days of employment if the provider can 

produce documented evidence that such person worked 

only under the direct supervision of another staff person 

for whom a background check was completed in 

accordance with the requirements of this section. If an 

original criminal record clearance or original criminal 

history record is not received within the first 30 calendar 

days of employment, DMAS shall not reimburse the 

provider for services provided by such staff or volunteer 

on the 31st calendar day through the date on which the 

provider receives an original criminal record clearance or 

an original criminal history record. 

(ii) DMAS shall not reimburse a provider for services 

provided by a staff or volunteer who has been convicted 

of any offense set forth in clause (i) of the definition of 

barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of Virginia 

unless all of the following conditions are met: (i) the 

offense was punishable as a misdemeanor; (ii) the staff or 

volunteer has been convicted of only one such offense; 

(iii) the offense did not involve abuse or neglect; and (iv) 

at least five years have elapsed since the conviction. 

(c) The staff or volunteer shall provide the hiring entity 

with a sworn statement or affirmation disclosing any 

criminal convictions or any pending criminal charges, 

whether within or outside of the Commonwealth. 

(d) Not be debarred, suspended, or otherwise excluded 

from participating in federal health care programs, as 

listed on the federal List of Excluded Individuals/Entities 

(LEIE) database at http://oig.hhs.gov/exclusions/ 

exclusions_list.asp https://www.oig.hhs.gov. 

c. The services facilitator shall not be compensated for 

services provided to the individual enrolled in the waiver 

effective on the date in which the record check verifies that 

the services facilitator (i) has been convicted of barrier 

crimes described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia, (ii) has a founded complaint confirmed by the 

VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry, or (iii) 

is found to be listed on LEIE.  

d. (3) Effective January 11, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators shall possess the required degree and 

experience, as follows: 

(1) (a) Prior to initial enrollment by the department DMAS 

as a consumer-directed services facilitator or being hired 

by a Medicaid-enrolled services facilitator provider, all 

new applicants shall possess, at a minimum, either (i) an 

associate's degree from an accredited college in a health or 

human services field or be a registered nurse currently 

licensed to practice in the Commonwealth and possess a 

minimum of two years of satisfactory direct care 

experience supporting individuals with disabilities or 

older adults; or (ii) a bachelor's degree in a non-health or 

human services field and possess a minimum of three 

years of satisfactory direct care experience supporting 

individuals with disabilities or older adults. 

(2) (b) Persons who are consumer-directed services 

facilitators prior to January 11, 2016, shall not be required 

to meet the degree and experience requirements of 

subdivision [ 3 d (1) 4 c (3) (a) ] of this subsection unless 

required to submit a new application to be a consumer-

directed services facilitator after January 11, 2016. 

e. (4) Effective April 10, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators shall complete required training and 

competency assessments. Satisfactory competency 

assessment results shall be kept in the service facilitator's 

record. All new services [ facilitator facilitators shall 

complete ] training and pass the corresponding 

competency assessment with a score of at least 80% in 

order to begin and to continue being reimbursed for or 

https://www.oig.hhs.gov/
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working with waiver individuals for the purpose of 

reimbursement for services through this waiver. 

(1) All new consumer-directed consumer directed services 

facilitators shall complete the DMAS-approved 

consumer-directed services facilitator training and pass 

the corresponding competency assessment with a score of 

at least 80% prior to being approved as a consumer-

directed services facilitator or being reimbursed for 

working with waiver individuals. 

(2) Persons who are consumer-directed services 

facilitators prior to January 11, 2016, shall be required to 

complete the DMAS-approved consumer-directed 

services facilitator training and pass the corresponding 

competency assessment with a score of at least 80% in 

order to continue being reimbursed for or working with 

waiver individuals for the purpose of Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

f. Failure to satisfy the competency assessment 

requirements and meet all other requirements shall result 

in a retraction of Medicaid payment or the termination of 

the provider agreement, or both. 

g. Failure to satisfy the competency assessment 

requirements and meet all other requirements may also 

result in the termination of a CD services facilitator 

employed by or contracted with a Medicaid enrolled 

services facilitator provider. 

h. (5) As a component of the renewal of the Medicaid 

provider agreement, all CD services facilitators shall pass 

the competency assessment every five years and achieve a 

score of at least 80%. 

i. (6) The consumer-directed services facilitator shall have 

access to a computer with Internet access that meets the 

security standards of Subpart C of 45 CFR Part 164 for the 

electronic exchange of information. Electronic exchange 

of information shall include, for example, checking 

individual eligibility, submission of service 

authorizations, submission of information to the fiscal 

employer agent, and billing for services. 

j. (7) The consumer-directed services facilitator must 

possess a combination of work experience and relevant 

education that indicates possession of the following 

knowledge, skills, and abilities. Such knowledge, skills, 

and abilities must be documented on the consumer-

directed services facilitator's application form, found in 

supporting documentation, or be observed during a job 

interview. Observations during the interview must be 

documented. The knowledge, skills, and abilities include: 

(1) (a) Knowledge of: 

(a) (i) Types of functional limitations and health problems 

that may occur in older adults or individuals with 

disabilities or older adults, as well as strategies to reduce 

limitations and health problems; 

(b) (ii) Physical care that may be required by older adults 

or individuals with disabilities or older adults, such as 

transferring, bathing techniques, bowel and bladder care, 

and the approximate time those activities normally take; 

(c) (iii) Equipment and environmental modifications that 

may be required by older adults or individuals with 

disabilities or older adults that reduce the need for human 

help and improve safety; 

(d) (iv) Various long-term care program requirements, 

including nursing facility institutional and assisted living 

facility placement criteria, Medicaid waiver services, and 

other federal, state, and local resources that provide 

personal care and respite services; 

(e) Elderly or Disabled with Consumer-Direction Waiver 

requirements, as well as the administrative duties for 

which the services facilitator will be responsible;  

(v) CCC Plus Waiver requirements, as well as the 

administrative duties for which the services facilitator will 

be responsible; 

(f) (vi) How to conduct assessments (including 

environmental, psychosocial, health, and functional 

factors) and their uses in services planning; 

(g) (vii) Interviewing techniques; 

(h) (viii) The individual's right to make decisions about, 

direct the provisions of, and control his one's own 

consumer-directed services, including hiring, training, 

managing, approving the time sheets work shift entries of, 

and firing of an aide attendant; 

(i) (ix) The principles of human behavior and interpersonal 

relationships; and 

(j) (x) General principles of record documentation. 

(2) (b) Skills in: 

(a) (i) Negotiating with individuals, family/caregivers, 

family, caregivers, and service providers; 

(b) (ii) Assessing, supporting, observing, recording, and 

reporting behaviors; 

(c) (iii) Identifying, developing, or providing services to 

individuals who are older adults or individuals with 

disabilities or older adults; and 

(d) (iv) Identifying services within the established services 

system to meet the individual's needs. 

(3) (c) Abilities to: 

(a) (i) Report findings of the assessment or onsite visit, 

either in writing or an alternative format for individuals 

who have visual or hearing impairments; 

(b) (ii) Demonstrate a positive regard for individuals and 

their families; 

(c) (iii) Be persistent and remain objective; 

(d) (iv) Work independently, performing job position 

duties under general supervision; 
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(e) (v) Communicate effectively orally and in writing; and 

(f) (vi) Develop a rapport and communicate with 

individuals from diverse cultural backgrounds. 

(8). Failure to satisfy the competency assessment 

requirements and meet all other requirements shall result 

in a retraction of Medicaid payment or the termination of 

the provider agreement, or both. 

4. d. Initiation of services and service monitoring. 

a. For (1) Upon entry into consumer-directed model of 

service services, the consumer-directed services facilitator 

shall make an initial comprehensive home visit at the 

primary residence of the individual to collaborate with the 

individual or the individual's family/caregiver family or 

caregiver, as appropriate, to identify the individual's 

needs, assist in the development of the plan of care with 

the waiver individual and individual's family/caregiver 

family or caregiver, as appropriate, and provide EOR 

management training within seven days of the initial visit. 

The initial comprehensive home visit shall be conducted 

only once upon the individual's entry into consumer-

directed services. If the individual changes, either 

voluntarily or involuntarily, the consumer-directed 

services facilitator, The individual shall receive one 

comprehensive visit per lifetime. If the individual changes 

service facilitators, the new consumer-directed services 

facilitator shall complete a reassessment visit in lieu of a 

comprehensive visit. b. After the initial comprehensive 

The EOR management training shall be limited to one visit 

per EOR. 

(2) Within 30 days after the initial comprehensive visit, 

the services facilitator shall visit the individual and the 

individual's family or caregiver, as appropriate, to monitor 

the plan of care, to reassess the individual's needs, and to 

determine if the services rendered are adequate to ensure 

the health, safety, and welfare of the individual. During 

this visit, the services facilitator, individual, EOR, and 

family or caregiver, as appropriate, shall agree to the 

frequency of routine visits, which shall be conducted at 

least every 90 days but no more frequently than every 30 

days. The agreement shall be documented in the service 

facilitator's records. 

(3) During the routine visit, the services facilitator shall 

continue to monitor the plan of care on an as-needed basis, 

but in no event less frequently than every 90 days for 

personal care, and shall conduct face-to-face meetings 

with the individual and may include the family/caregiver 

EOR, family, or caregiver. The services facilitator shall 

review the utilization of consumer-directed respite 

services, either every six months or upon the use of half of 

the approved respite services hours, whichever comes 

first, and shall conduct a face-to-face meeting with the 

individual and may include the family/caregiver. Such 

monitoring reviews visits shall be documented in the 

individual's medical record. 

c. (4) When respite is the sole service provided, the 

services facilitator shall review the utilization of 

consumer-directed respite services, either every six 

months or upon the use of half of the approved respite 

services hours, whichever comes first, and shall conduct a 

face-to-face meeting with the individual and may include 

the family or caregiver, as appropriate. Such visits shall be 

documented in the individual's record.  

(5) Every six months, the services facilitator shall conduct 

a face-to-face reassessment visit with the individual and 

EOR, family, or caregiver, as appropriate. During the visit, 

the services facilitator shall review the individual's current 

functional and support status, review all services the 

individual receives, including the existing plan of care, 

discuss the individual's and EOR's satisfaction with 

services, update the plan of care as necessary, and submit 

new service authorization requests for personal care hours 

and other waiver services if necessary. The services 

facilitator shall not conduct a routine visit and 

reassessment visit during the same visit but shall submit 

reimbursement for only a reassessment visit.  

(6) During all visits with the individual, the services 

facilitator shall observe, evaluate, and consult with the 

individual/EOR individual or EOR and may include the 

family/caregiver, and family or caregiver to document the 

adequacy and appropriateness of consumer-directed 

services with regard to the individual's current 

functioning, cognitive status, and medical and social 

needs. The consumer-directed services facilitator's written 

summary of the visit shall include at a minimum: 

(1) (a) Discussion with the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR, family, caregiver, or EOR, as 

appropriate, concerning whether the service is adequate to 

meet the waiver individual's needs; 

(2) (b) Any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation and 

to whom it was reported; 

(3) (c) Any special tasks performed by the consumer-

directed attendant and the consumer-directed attendant's 

qualifications to perform these tasks; 

(4) (d) The individual's or family/caregiver's/EOR's, 

family's, caregiver's, or EOR's satisfaction with the 

service; 

(5) (e) Any hospitalization or change in medical condition, 

functioning, or cognitive status; and 

(6) (f) The presence or absence of the consumer-directed 

attendant in the home during the consumer-directed 

services facilitator's visit [ ; ] and [ ; ]  

(g) The appropriateness of the EOR to fulfill the 

responsibilities of the role. 

(7) The services facilitator shall provide follow-up 

management training to the individual or EOR, as 

appropriate, under the following circumstances: 
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(a) The training shall be requested by the individual or 

EOR. Training shall not be provided at the request of the 

services facilitator, family, caregiver, or attendant; 

(b) The training shall be limited to the role and 

responsibilities of the EOR. Training shall not include 

duties that are to be performed by the attendant; 

(c) The training shall be provided in a face-to-face visit; 

and 

(d) The services facilitator shall utilize the management 

training service to reimburse for tuberculosis screening, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation training, and influenza 

immunization for the attendant at the request of the EOR. 

Requests for reimbursement shall be limited to the exact 

cost of the activity. Documentation of the cost and receipt 

of such activities shall be maintained in the individual's 

record.  

5. e. DMAS, its designated contractor, or the 

fiscal/employer agent shall request a criminal record 

check and a check of the VDSS Child Protective Services 

Central Registry if the waiver individual is a minor child, 

in accordance with 12VAC30-120-930, pertaining to the 

consumer-directed attendant on behalf of the waiver 

individual and report findings of these records checks to 

the EOR. 

6. f. The consumer-directed services facilitator shall 

review and verify copies of [ timesheets ] during the face-

to-face visits work shift entries to ensure that the hours 

approved in the plan of care are being provided and are not 

exceeded. If discrepancies are identified, the consumer-

directed services facilitator shall discuss these with the 

individual or EOR to resolve discrepancies and shall 

notify the fiscal/employer agent. The consumer-directed 

services facilitator shall also review the individual's plan 

of care to ensure that the individual's needs are being met. 

Failure to conduct such reviews and verifications of 

timesheets work shift entries and maintain the 

documentation of these reviews shall result in a recovery 

by DMAS of payments made in accordance with 

12VAC30-80-130. 

7. g. The services facilitator shall maintain records of each 

individual that he serves served. At a minimum, these 

records shall contain: 

a. (1) Results of the initial comprehensive home visit 

completed prior to or on the date services are initiated and 

subsequent reassessments and changes to the supporting 

documentation; 

b. (2) The personal care plan of care. Such plans shall be 

reviewed by the provider every 90 days, annually, and 

more often as needed, and modified as appropriate. The 

respite services plan of care shall be included in the record 

and shall be reviewed by the provider every six months or 

when half of the approved respite service hours have been 

used whichever comes first. For the annual review and in 

cases where either the personal care or respite care plan of 

care is modified, the plan of care shall be reviewed with 

the individual, the family/caregiver family or caregiver, 

and EOR, as appropriate; 

c. (3) The consumer-directed services facilitator's dated 

notes documenting any contacts with the individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR, family, caregiver, or EOR and 

visits to the individual (copied or re-dated notes are not 

acceptable); 

d. (4) All contacts, including correspondence, made to and 

from the individual, EOR, family/caregiver, family or 

caregiver, physicians, DMAS, the designated service 

authorization contractor, MCO, formal and informal 

services provider, and all other professionals related to the 

individual's Medicaid services or medical care; 

e. (5) All employer management training provided to the 

individual or EOR to include, for example, (i) the 

individual's or EOR's receipt of training on their the 

individual's or EOR's responsibilities for the accuracy of 

the consumer-directed attendant's timesheets work shift 

entries and (ii) the availability of the Consumer-Directed 

Waiver Services Employer of Record Manual available at 

www.dmas.virginia.gov http://dmas.virginia.gov; 

f. (6) All documents signed by the individual or EOR, as 

appropriate, that acknowledge the responsibilities as the 

employer; and 

g. (7) The DMAS required forms as specified in the 

agency's waiver-specific guidance document DMAS 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus Waiver Manual. 

Failure to maintain all required documentation shall result 

in action by DMAS to recover payments made in 

accordance with 12VAC30-80-130. Repeated instances of 

failure to maintain documentation may result in 

cancellation of the Medicaid provider agreement. 

8. h. In instances when the individual is consistently 

unable either to hire or retain the employment of a 

personal care consumer-directed attendant to provide 

consumer-directed personal care or respite services such 

as, for example, a pattern of discrepancies with the 

consumer-directed attendant's timesheets work shift 

entries, the consumer-directed services facilitator shall 

make arrangements, after conferring with DMAS or the 

managed care organization, to have the needed services 

transferred to an agency-directed services provider of the 

individual's choice or discuss with the individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR, or both, family, caregiver, or EOR 

other service options. 

9. i. Waiver individual, family/caregiver family or 

caregiver, and EOR responsibilities. 

a. (1) The individual shall be authorized for the consumer-

directed model of service, and the EOR shall successfully 

complete EOR management training performed by the 

consumer-directed services facilitator before the 

http://dmas.virginia.gov/
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individual or EOR shall be permitted to hire a consumer-

directed attendant for Medicaid reimbursement. Any 

service that may be rendered by a consumer-directed 

attendant prior to authorization by Medicaid shall not be 

eligible for reimbursement by Medicaid. Individuals who 

are eligible for consumer-directed services shall have the 

capability to hire and train their own consumer-directed 

attendants and supervise the consumer-directed attendants' 

performances. In lieu of handling their consumer-directed 

attendants themselves, individuals may have a 

family/caregiver family or caregiver, or other designated 

person serve as the EOR on their behalf. The EOR shall 

be prohibited from also being the Medicaid-reimbursed 

consumer-directed attendant for respite or personal care or 

the services facilitator for the individual. 

b. (2) Individuals shall acknowledge that they will not 

knowingly continue to accept consumer-directed personal 

care services shall not continue when the service is no 

longer appropriate or necessary for their the individual's 

care needs and that the individual shall inform the services 

facilitator of their a change in care needs. If the consumer-

directed model of services [ continue continues ] after 

services have been terminated by DMAS or the designated 

service authorization contractor, the individual shall be 

held liable for the consumer-directed attendant 

compensation. 

c. (3) Individuals shall notify the consumer-directed 

services facilitator of all hospitalizations or admissions, 

for example, any rehabilitation facility hospital, 

rehabilitation hospital unit, or nursing facility, specialized 

care nursing facility, or long-stay hospital as consumer-

directed attendant services shall not be reimbursed during 

such admissions. Failure to do so may result in the 

individual being held liable for the consumer-directed 

employee compensation. 

I. 5. Personal emergency response systems. In addition to 

meeting the general conditions and requirements for home 

and community-based waiver services participating 

providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-930, PERS 

providers must also meet the following qualifications and 

requirements: 

1. a. A PERS provider shall be, but not necessarily be 

limited to, a personal care agency, a durable medical 

equipment provider, a licensed home health provider, or a 

PERS manufacturer. All such providers shall have the 

ability to provide PERS equipment, direct services (i.e., 

installation, equipment maintenance, and service calls), 

and PERS monitoring; 

2. b. The PERS provider shall provide an emergency 

response center with fully trained operators who are 

capable of (i) receiving signals for help from an 

individual's PERS equipment 24 hours a day, 365 or 366 

days per year, as appropriate; (ii) determining whether an 

emergency exists; and (iii) notifying an emergency 

response organization or an emergency responder that the 

PERS individual needs emergency help; 

3. c. A PERS provider shall comply with all applicable 

Virginia statutes, all applicable regulations of DMAS, and 

all other governmental agencies having jurisdiction over 

the services to be performed; 

4. d. The PERS provider shall have the primary 

responsibility to furnish, install, maintain, test, and service 

the PERS equipment, as required, to keep it fully 

operational. The provider shall replace or repair the PERS 

device within 24 hours of the waiver individual's 

notification of a malfunction of the console unit, activating 

devices, or medication monitoring unit and shall provide 

temporary equipment, as may be necessary for the waiver 

individual's health, safety, and welfare, while the original 

equipment is being repaired or replaced; 

5. e. The PERS provider shall install, consistent with the 

manufacturer's instructions, all PERS equipment into a 

waiver individual's functioning telephone line or system 

within seven days of the request of such installation unless 

there is appropriate documentation of why this timeframe 

cannot be met. The PERS provider shall furnish all 

supplies necessary to ensure that the system is installed 

and working properly. The PERS provider shall test the 

PERS device monthly, or more frequently if needed, to 

ensure that the device is fully operational; 

6. f. The PERS installation shall include local seize line 

circuitry, which guarantees that the unit shall have priority 

over the telephone connected to the console unit should 

the telephone be off the hook or in use when the unit is 

activated; 

7. g. A PERS provider shall maintain a data record for 

each waiver individual at no additional cost to DMAS or 

the waiver individual. The record shall document all of the 

following: 

a. (1) Delivery date and installation date of the PERS 

equipment; 

b. (2) Waiver individual/caregiver individual or caregiver 

signature verifying receipt of the PERS equipment; 

c. (3) Verification by a monthly test that the PERS device 

is operational and the waiver individual is still using it 

monthly or more frequently as needed; 

d. Waiver individual (4) The waiver individual's contact 

information, to be updated annually or more frequently as 

needed, as provided by the individual or the individual's 

caregiver/EOR caregiver or EOR; 

e. (5) A case log documenting the waiver individual's 

utilization of the system, all contacts, and all 

communications with the individual, caregiver/EOR 

caregiver or EOR, and responders; 

f. (6) Documentation that the waiver individual is able to 

use the PERS equipment through return demonstration; 

and 
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g. (7) Copies of all equipment checks performed on the 

PERS unit; 

8. h. The PERS provider shall have backup monitoring 

capacity in case the primary system cannot handle 

incoming emergency signals; 

9. i. The emergency response activator shall be capable of 

being activated either by breath, touch, or some other 

means and shall be usable by waiver individuals who are 

visually or hearing impaired or physically disabled. The 

emergency response communicator shall be capable of 

operating without external power during a power failure at 

the waiver individual's home for a minimum period of 24 

hours. The emergency response console unit shall also be 

able to self-disconnect and redial the backup monitoring 

site without the waiver individual resetting the system in 

the event it cannot get its signal accepted at the response 

center; 

10. j. PERS providers shall be capable of continuously 

monitoring and responding to emergencies under all 

conditions, including power failures and mechanical 

malfunctions. It shall be the PERS provider's 

responsibility to ensure that the monitoring agency and the 

monitoring agency's equipment meet the following 

requirements. The PERS provider shall be capable of 

simultaneously responding to multiple signals for help 

from the waiver individuals' PERS equipment. The PERS 

provider's equipment shall include the following: 

a. (1) A primary receiver and a backup receiver, which 

shall be independent and interchangeable; 

b. (2) A backup information retrieval system; 

c. (3) A clock printer, which shall print out the time and 

date of the emergency signal, the waiver individual's 

identification code, and the emergency code that indicates 

whether the signal is active, passive, or a responder test; 

d. (4) A backup power supply; 

e. (5) A separate telephone service; 

f. (6) A toll-free number to be used by the PERS 

equipment in order to contact the primary or backup 

response center; and 

g. (7) A telephone line monitor, which shall give visual 

and audible signals when the incoming telephone line is 

disconnected for more than 10 seconds; 

11. k. The PERS provider shall maintain detailed technical 

and operation manuals that describe PERS elements, 

including the installation, functioning, and testing of 

PERS equipment; emergency response protocols; and 

recordkeeping and reporting procedures; 

12. l. The PERS provider shall document and furnish 

within 30 days of the action taken, a written report for each 

emergency signal that results in action being taken on 

behalf of the waiver individual. This excludes test signals 

or activations made in error. This written report shall be 

furnished to (i) the personal care provider; (ii) the respite 

care provider; (iii) the CD services facilitation provider; 

(iv) in cases where the individual only receives ADHC 

services, to the ADCC provider; or (v) to the transition 

coordinator for the service in which the individual is 

enrolled; and 

13. m. The PERS provider shall obtain and keep on file a 

copy of the most recently completed DMAS-225 form. 

Until the PERS provider obtains a copy of the DMAS-225 

form, the PERS provider shall clearly document efforts to 

obtain the completed DMAS-225 form from the personal 

care provider, respite care provider, CD services 

facilitation provider, or ADCC provider. 

J. 6. Assistive technology (AT) and environmental 

modification (EM) services. AT and EM shall be provided 

only to waiver individuals who also participate in the MFP 

demonstration program by providers who have current 

provider participation agreements with DMAS. 

1. a. AT shall be rendered by providers having a current 

provider participation agreement with DMAS as durable 

medical equipment and supply providers. An independent, 

professional consultation shall be obtained, as may be 

required, from qualified professionals who are 

knowledgeable of that item for each AT request prior to 

approval by either DMAS or the Srv Auth service 

authorization contractor and may include training on such 

AT by the qualified professional. Independent, 

professional consultants shall include, but shall not 

necessarily be limited to, speech/language speech or 

language therapists, physical therapists, occupational 

therapists, physicians, behavioral therapists, certified 

rehabilitation specialists, or rehabilitation engineers. 

Providers that supply AT for a waiver individual may not 

perform assessment/consultation assessment or 

consultation, write specifications, or inspect the AT for 

that individual. Providers of services shall not be (i) 

spouses of the waiver individual or (ii) parents (biological, 

adoptive, foster, or legal guardian) of the waiver 

individual. AT shall be delivered within 60 days from the 

start date of the authorization. The AT provider shall 

ensure that the AT functions properly. 

2. b. In addition to meeting the general conditions and 

requirements for home and community-based waiver 

services participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-

120-930, as appropriate, environmental modifications 

shall be provided in accordance with all applicable state or 

local building codes by contractors who have provider 

agreements with DMAS. Providers of services shall not be 

(i) the spouse of the waiver individual or (ii) the parent 

(biological, adoptive, foster, or legal guardian) of the 

waiver individual who is a minor child. Modifications 

shall be completed within a year of the start date of the 

authorization. 
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3. c. Providers of AT and EM services shall not be 

permitted to recover equipment that has been provided to 

waiver individuals whenever the provider has been 

charged, by either DMAS or its designated service 

authorization agent, with overpayments and is therefore 

being required to return payments to DMAS. 

d. Providers of AT and EM services shall maintain in each 

individual's record all supporting documentation of the 

costs and estimates of the service. Should there be a 

change in the cost of the service, the new cost and estimate 

documentation shall also be included along with 

justification of the change in cost. 

K. Transition coordination. This service shall be provided 

consistent with 12VAC30-120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-2010. 

L. 7. Transition services. This service shall be provided 

consistent with 12VAC30-120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-

2010 Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.) of 12VAC30-

120. 

8. Private duty nursing (PDN). 

a. This service shall be provided through a home health 

agency licensed or certified by VDH for Medicaid 

participation and with which DMAS has a contract for 

either PDN or congregate PDN or both.  

b. The provider shall operate from a business office.  

c. The provider shall employ (or subcontract with) and 

directly supervise an RN or an LPN. The LPN and RN 

shall be currently licensed to practice in the 

Commonwealth. Prior to providing PDN services, the RN 

or LPN shall have either (i) at least six months of related 

clinical nursing experience or (ii) completed a provider 

training program related to the care and technology needs 

of the waiver individual as described in 12VAC30-120-

930 J 3. Regardless of whether a nurse has six months of 

experience or completes a provider training course, the 

provider agency shall be responsible for assuring all 

nurses who are assigned to an individual are competent in 

the care needs of that individual.  

d. As part of direct supervision, the RN supervisor shall 

make, at a minimum, a visit every 30 days to ensure both 

quality and appropriateness of PDN to assess the 

individual's and the family's or caregiver's satisfaction 

with the services being provided, to review the medication 

and treatments, and to update and verify that the most 

current physician signed orders are in the home record. 

(1) The waiver individual shall be present when the 

supervisory visits are made; 

(2) At least every other visit shall be in the individual's 

primary residence; 

(3) When a delay occurs in the RN supervisor's visits 

because the individual is unavailable, the reason for the 

delay shall be documented in the individual's record, and 

the visit shall occur as soon as the individual is available. 

Failure to meet this standard may result in a DMAS 

recovery of payments made; and  

(4) Additional supervisory visits may be required under 

the following circumstances: (i) at the provider's 

discretion; (ii) at the request of the individual; (iii) when a 

change in the individual's condition has occurred; (iv) any 

time the health, safety, or welfare of the individual could 

be at risk; and (v) at the request of the DMAS staff.  

e. When skilled respite services are routine in nature and 

offered in conjunction with personal care (PC) services for 

adults, the RN supervisory visit conducted for personal 

care may serve as the supervisory visit for respite services. 

However, the supervisor shall document supervision of 

skilled respite services separately. For this purpose, the 

same individual record can be used with a separate section 

clearly labeled for documentation of skilled respite 

services. 

f. For DMAS-enrolled PDN providers that also provide 

PC services, the provider shall employ or subcontract with 

and directly supervise an RN who will provide ongoing 

supervision of all personal care aides. The supervising RN 

shall be currently licensed to practice nursing in the 

Commonwealth and have at least one year of related 

clinical nursing experience, which may include work in an 

acute care hospital, long-stay hospital, rehabilitation 

hospital, nursing facility, or specialized care nursing 

facility. In addition to meeting the general conditions and 

requirements for home and community-based waiver 

services participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-

120-930 and this section [ for PDN ], [ the provision of PC 

services providers ] shall also comply with the 

requirements of [ 12VAC30-120-930 this section in the 

provision of PC services ]. 

g. The following documentation shall be maintained for 

every individual for whom DMAS-enrolled providers 

render these services: 

(1) Physicians' orders for these services shall be 

maintained in the individual's record as well as at the 

individual's primary residence. All recertifications of the 

POC shall be performed within the last five business days 

of each current 60-day period. The physician shall sign the 

recertification before Medicaid reimbursement shall 

occur; 

(2) All assessments, reassessments, and evaluations 

(including the complete LTSS screening packet or risk 

evaluations) made during the provision of services, 

including any required initial assessments by the RN 

supervisor completed prior to or on the date services are 

initiated and changes to the supporting documentation by 

the RN supervisor; 

(3) Progress notes reflecting the individual's status and, as 

appropriate, progress toward the identified goals in the 

POC (copied or re-dated notes are not acceptable); 
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(4) All related communication with the individual and the 

individual's representative, the DMAS designated agent 

for service authorization, consultants, DMAS, VDSS, 

formal and informal service providers, all required 

referrals, as appropriate, to adult protective services or 

child protective services and all other professionals 

concerning the individual; 

(5) All service authorization decisions rendered by the 

DMAS staff or the DMAS-designated service 

authorization contractor; 

(6) All POCs completed with the individual, family, or 

caregiver, as appropriate, and specific to the service being 

provided and all supporting documentation related to any 

changes in the POC; and 

(7) Notes of any verbal or nonverbal cues, motions, 

signals, or actions the individual makes to indicate distress 

or uses to call in case of an emergency. The individual, 

primary caregiver, or family, as appropriate, shall share 

this information with the RN or LPN at the onset of 

services. Documentation of these cues shall be kept in the 

individual's record and shall be reviewed periodically to 

ensure the individual is still able to perform these cues. 

12VAC30-120-945. Payment for covered services. 

A. DMAS shall not reimburse providers, either agency-

directed or consumer-directed, for any staff training required 

by these waiver regulations or any other training that may be 

required. 

B. All services provided in the EDCD CCC Plus Waiver shall 

be reimbursed at a rate established by DMAS in its agency fee 

schedule. 

1. DMAS or its contractor shall reimburse a per diem fee for 

ADHC services that shall be considered as payment in full 

for all services rendered to that waiver individual as part of 

the individual's approved ADHC plan of care. 

2. Agency personal care/respite Personal care (agency-

directed and consumer-directed), respite (agency-directed 

and consumer-directed), and PDN care services shall be 

reimbursed on an hourly basis consistent with the agency's 

fee schedule. Effective July 1, 2021, a single consumer-

directed attendant who provides personal care or respite 

services shall be reimbursed at the regular rate for up to 40 

hours per week for authorized services rendered and at one 

and a half times the regular rate for up to 16 hours per week 

beyond 40 hours. This shall not apply to consumer-directed 

attendants who are exempt from overtime requirements 

under 29 USC § 552.102 of the federal Fair Labor Standards 

Act, 29 USC § 201 et seq. 

3. Consumer-directed personal care/respite care services 

shall be reimbursed on an hourly basis consistent with the 

agency's fee schedule.  

4. 3. Transition services. The total costs of these transition 

services shall be limited to $5,000 per waiver individual per 

lifetime and shall be expended within nine months from the 

start date of authorization. Transition services shall be 

reimbursed at the actual cost of the item; no mark ups shall 

be permitted. 

5. 4. Reimbursement for assistive technology (AT) and 

environmental modification (EM) services shall be limited 

to those waiver individuals who are also participating in the 

MFP demonstration program as follows: 

a. All AT services provided in the EDCD CCC Plus 

Waiver shall be reimbursed as a service limit of one and 

up to a per member annual maximum of $5,000 per 

calendar year regardless of waiver. AT services in this 

waiver shall be reimbursed up to a per individual annual 

MFP enrollment period not to exceed 12 months. These 

limits shall apply regardless of whether the waiver 

individual remains in this waiver or changes to another 

waiver program. AT services shall be reimbursed in a 

manner that is reasonable and customary not to exceed the 

provider's usual and customary charges to the general 

public. No markups shall be permitted. 

b. All EM services provided in the EDCD CCC Plus 

Waiver shall be reimbursed per individual annual MFP 

enrollment period not to exceed 12 months as a service 

limit of one and up to a per member annual maximum of 

$5,000 per calendar year regardless of waiver. These 

limits shall apply regardless of whether the individual 

remains in this waiver or changes to another waiver 

program. All EM services shall be reimbursed at the actual 

cost of material and labor and no mark ups shall be 

permitted. 

6. DMAS shall reimburse a monthly fee for transition 

coordination consistent with the agency's fee schedule. 

7. 5. PERS monthly fee payments shall be consistent with 

the agency's fee schedule. 

C. Duplication of services. 

1. DMAS shall not duplicate services that are required as a 

reasonable accommodation as a part of the American with 

Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131 through 12165), the 

Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794), or the Virginians 

with Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

2. Payment for waiver services shall not duplicate payments 

made to public agencies or private entities under other 

program authorities for this same purpose. All private 

insurance benefits for these waiver covered waiver-covered 

services shall be exhausted before Medicaid reimbursement 

can occur as Medicaid shall be the payer of last resort. 

3. DMAS payments for EM services shall not be duplicative 

in homes where multiple waiver individuals reside. 
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Part XVII 

Home and Community-Based Services for Technology 

Assisted Individuals Waiver 

12VAC30-120-1700. Definitions. (Repealed.) 

Part XVII  

Home and Community-Based Services for Technology 

Assisted Individuals Waiver (Repealed) 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating or feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining appropriate 

level of care and service needs. 

"Adult" means an individual who is either 21 years of age or 

older. 

"Adult foster care" means room and board, supervision, and 

a locally optional program that may be provided by a single 

provider for up to three adults, each of whom has a physical or 

mental condition. The provider must be approved by the local 

department of social services for the locality in which the 

provider renders services. 

"Adult Protective Services" or "APS" means a program 

overseen by the Virginia Department of Social Services that 

investigates reports of abuse, neglect, and exploitation of 

adults 60 years of age and older and incapacitated adults 18 

years of age and older and provides services when such persons 

are found to be in need of protective services. 

"Agency provider" means a public or private organization or 

entity that holds a Medicaid provider agreement and furnishes 

services to individuals using its own employees or 

subcontractors. 

"Alternate back up facility" means the alternate facility 

placement that the technology assisted individuals must use 

when home and community-based waiver services are 

interrupted. Such facilities may be, for the purpose of this 

waiver, an intermediate care facility for the intellectually 

disabled (ICF/ID), a long-stay hospital, a specialized care 

nursing facility, or an acute care hospital when all technology 

assisted waiver criteria are met.  

"Americans with Disabilities Act" or "ADA" means the 

United States Code pursuant to 42 USC § 12101 et seq., as 

amended. 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge actions 

regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement provided by 

Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and Part XII (12VAC30-

20-500 et seq.) of 12VAC30-20. 

"Applicant" means an individual (or representative on his 

behalf) who has applied for or is in the process of applying for 

and is awaiting a determination of eligibility for admission to 

the technology assisted waiver. 

"Assess" means to evaluate an applicant's or an individual's 

condition, including functional status, current medical status, 

psychosocial history, and environment. Information is 

collected from the applicant or individual, applicant's or 

individual's representative, family, and medical professionals, 

as well as the assessor's observation of the applicant or 

individual.  

"Assessment" means one or more processes that are used to 

obtain information about an applicant, including his condition, 

personal goals and preferences, functional limitations, health 

status, financial status and other factors that are relevant to the 

determination of eligibility for services and is required for the 

authorization of and provision of services, and forms the basis 

for the development of the plan of care. 

"Assistive technology" or "AT" means specialized medical 

equipment and supplies, including those devices, controls, or 

appliances specified in the plan of care but not available under 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance, that (i) enable 

individuals to increase their abilities to perform ADLs/IADLs 

and to perceive, control, or communicate with the environment 

in which they live or (ii) are necessary for the proper 

functioning of the specialized equipment; cost effective; and 

appropriate for the individual's assessed medical needs and 

physical deficits.  

"Backup caregiver" means the secondary person who will 

assume the role of providing direct care to and support of the 

waiver individual in instances of emergencies and in the 

absence of the primary caregiver who is unable to care for the 

individual. Such secondary persons shall perform the duties 

needed by the waiver individual without compensation and 

shall be trained in the skilled needs and technologies required 

by the waiver individual. Such secondary persons must be 

identified in the waiver individual's records. 

"Barrier crime" means those crimes as defined in § 32.1-

162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia that would prohibit either the 

employment or the continuation of employment if a person is 

found, through a Virginia State Police criminal history record 

check, to have been convicted of such a crime.  

"CMS-485 Home Health Certification form" means the 

federal Home Health Service Plan form. 

"Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services" or "CMS" 

means the unit of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services that administers the Medicare and Medicaid 

programs.  

"Child Protective Services" or "CPS" means a program 

overseen by the Department of Social Services that 

investigates reports of abuse, neglect, and exploitation of 
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children younger than 18 years of age and provides services 

when persons are found to be in need of protective services.  

"Code of Federal Regulations" or "CFR" contains the 

regulations that have been officially adopted by federal 

agencies and have the force and effect of federal law. 

"Congregate living arrangement" means a living arrangement 

in which three or fewer waiver individuals live in the same 

household and share receipt of health care services from the 

same provider or providers.  

"Congregate skilled private duty nursing" means skilled in-

home nursing provided to three or fewer waiver individuals in 

the individuals' primary residence or a group setting.  

"Congregate private duty respite" means skilled respite care 

provided to three or fewer waiver individuals. This service 

shall be limited to 360 hours per calendar year per household.  

"Cost-effective" means the anticipated annual cost to 

Medicaid for technology assisted waiver services shall be less 

than or equal to the anticipated annual institutional costs to 

Medicaid for individuals receiving care in hospitals or 

specialized care nursing facilities.  

"Day" means, for the purpose of reimbursement under this 

waiver, a 24-hour period beginning at 12 a.m. and ending at 

11:59 p.m. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"Direct marketing" means one of the following: (i) 

conducting directly or indirectly door-to-door, telephonic or 

other "cold call" marketing of services at residences and 

provider sites; (ii) mailing directly; (iii) paying "finders' fees"; 

(iv) offering financial incentives, rewards, gifts, or special 

opportunities to eligible individuals and the individual's 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, as inducements to use the 

providers' services; (v) continuous, periodic marketing 

activities to the same prospective individual and the 

individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, for example, 

monthly, quarterly, or annual giveaways as inducements to use 

the providers' services; or (vi) engaging in marketing activities 

that offer potential customers rebates or discounts in 

conjunction with the use of the providers' services or other 

benefits as a means of influencing the individual and the 

individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, use of the 

providers' services. 

"Direct medical benefit" means services or supplies that are 

proper and needed for the diagnosis or treatment of a medical 

condition; are provided for the diagnosis, direct care, and 

treatment of the condition; and meet the standards of good 

professional medical practice. 

"Direct supervision" means that the supervising registered 

nurse (RN) is immediately accessible by phone to the RN, 

licensed practical nurse or personal care aide who is delivering 

waiver covered services to individuals. 

"Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies" means 

those items prescribed by the attending physician, generally 

recognized by the medical community as serving a diagnostic 

or therapeutic purpose to assist the waiver individual in the 

home environment, and as being a medically necessary 

element of the service plan without regard to whether those 

items are covered by the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 

"Eligibility determination" is the process to determine 

whether an individual meets the eligibility requirements 

specified by DMAS to receive Medicaid benefits and continues 

to be eligible as determined annually.  

"Enrolled provider" means those professional entities or 

facilities who are registered, certified, or licensed, as 

appropriate, and who are also enrolled by DMAS to render 

services to eligible waiver individuals and receive 

reimbursement for such services. 

"Enrollment" means the process where an individual has been 

determined to meet the eligibility requirements for a Medicaid 

program or service and the approving entity has verified the 

availability of services for the individual requesting waiver 

enrollment and services.  

"Environmental modifications" or "EM" means physical 

adaptations to an individual's primary residence or primary 

vehicle that are necessary to ensure the individual's health, 

safety, or welfare or that enable the individual to function with 

greater independence and without which the individual would 

require institutionalization. 

"EPSDT" means the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment program administered by DMAS for children 

younger than 21 years of age according to federal guidelines 

that prescribe preventive and treatment services for Medicaid-

eligible children as set out in 12VAC30-50-130.  

"Evaluation tool" means the tool that is used to determine the 

medical appropriateness for technology assisted waiver 

enrollment or services. Individuals younger than 21 years of 

age shall be assessed using the Technology Assisted Waiver 

Pediatric Referral Form (DMAS-109) and individuals 21 years 

of age or older shall be assessed using the Technology Assisted 

Waiver Adult Referral form (DMAS-108).  

"Freedom of choice" means the right afforded an individual 

who is determined to require a level of care specified in a 

waiver to choose (i) either institutional or home and 

community-based services provided there are available funded 

slots, (ii) providers of services, and (iii) waiver services as may 

be limited by medical necessity. 

"Functional status" means an individual's degree of 

dependence in performing ADLs/IADLs. 
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"Health, safety, and welfare standard" means that an 

individual's right to receive a waiver service is dependent on a 

DMAS determination that the waiver individual needs the 

medically necessary service based on appropriate assessment 

criteria and an approved written plan of care and that medically 

necessary services can be safely provided in the community. 

"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 

services" means the range of home and community services 

approved by the CMS pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social 

Security Act to be offered to individuals as an alternative to 

institutionalization.  

"Individual" means the person who has applied for and been 

approved to receive technology assisted waiver services. 

"Individual's representative" means a spouse, guardian, adult 

child, parent (natural, adoptive, step, or foster) of a minor child, 

or other person chosen by the member to represent him in 

matters relating to his care or to function as the member's 

primary caregiver as defined herein.  

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, and 

laundry. An individual's degree of independence in performing 

these activities is a part of determining the appropriate level of 

care and service needs. 

"Legally responsible person" means one who has a legal 

obligation under the provisions of state law to care for and 

make decisions for an individual. Legally responsible persons 

shall include the parents (natural, adoptive, or legal guardian) 

of minor children, and legally assigned caregiver relatives of 

minor children. 

"Level of care" or "LOC" means the specification of the 

minimum amount of assistance an individual must require in 

order to receive services in an institutional setting under the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance Services or to receive waiver 

services.  

"License" means proof of official or legal permission issued 

by the government for an entity or person to perform an activity 

or service. In the absence of a license that may be required by 

either statute or regulation, the entity or person shall be 

prohibited from performing the activity or service for 

reimbursement by DMAS.  

"Licensed practical nurse" or "LPN" means a person who is 

licensed or holds a multi-state licensure privilege, pursuant to 

Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, to practice practical nursing as defined.  

"Long-term care" or "LTC" means a variety of services that 

help individuals with health or personal care needs and ADLs 

over a period of time. Long-term care can be provided in the 

home, in the community, or in various types of facilities, 

including nursing facilities, long-stay hospitals, and ICF/IDs.  

"Medicaid" means the joint federal and state program to assist 

the states in furnishing medical assistance to eligible needy 

persons pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act (42 

USC § 1396 et seq.). 

"Medicaid Long Term Care Communication Form" or 

"DMAS-225" means the form used to exchange eligibility 

information of a Medicaid-eligible individual or other 

information that may affect the individual's eligibility status. 

"Medically necessary" means those services or specialized 

medical equipment or supplies that are covered for 

reimbursement under either the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance or in a waiver program that are reasonable, proper, 

and necessary for the treatment of an illness, injury, or deficit; 

are provided for direct care of the condition or to maintain or 

improve the functioning of a malformed body part; and that 

meet the standards of good professional medical practice as 

determined by DMAS. 

"Minor child" means an individual who is younger than 21 

years of age. 

"Money Follows the Person" or "MFP" means the 

demonstration program as set out in 12VAC30-120-2000 and 

12VAC30-120-2010.  

"Monitoring" means the ongoing oversight of the provision 

of waiver and other services to determine that they are 

furnished according to the waiver individual's plan of care and 

effectively meet his needs, thereby assuring his health, safety, 

and welfare. Monitoring activities may include, but shall not 

be limited to, telephone contact; observation; interviewing the 

individual or the trained individual representative, as 

appropriate, in person or by telephone; or interviewing service 

providers. 

"Participating provider" or "provider" means an entity that 

meets the standards and requirements set forth by the 

appropriate licensing or certification agencies and who has a 

current, signed provider participation agreement with DMAS. 

"Payor of last resort" means all other payment sources must 

be exhausted before enrollment in the technology assisted 

waiver and Medicaid reimbursement may occur. 

"Personal care aide" or "PCA" means an appropriately 

licensed or certified person who provides personal care 

services. 

"Personal care provider" means an enrolled provider that 

renders services that prevent or reduce institutional care by 

providing eligible waiver individuals with PCAs who provide 

personal care services.  

"Personal care (PC) services" means a range of support 

services that includes assistance with ADLs/IADLs, access to 

the community, and self-administration of medication or other 

medical needs, and the monitoring of health status and physical 

condition provided through the agency-directed model. 
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Personal care services shall be provided by PCAs within the 

scope of their licenses or certifications, as appropriate. 

"Person-centered planning" means a process, directed by the 

individual or his representative, as appropriate, that is intended 

to identify the strengths, capacities, preferences, needs, and 

desired outcomes for the individual. 

"Plan of care" or "POC" means the written plan of waiver 

services and supplies ordered and certified by the attending 

physician as being medically needed by the individual to 

ensure optimal health and safety for an extended period of time 

while the individual is living in the community. This POC shall 

be developed collaboratively by the individual or individual 

representative, as appropriate.  

"Preadmission screening" or "PAS" means the process to (i) 

evaluate the functional, nursing, and social support needs of 

applicants referred for preadmission screening; (ii) assist 

applicants in determining what specific services the applicants 

need; (iii) evaluate whether a service or a combination of 

existing community services are available to meet the 

applicants' needs; and (iv) refer applicants to the appropriate 

provider for Medicaid-funded facility or home and 

community-based care for those who meet specialized care 

nursing facility level of care. 

"Preadmission screening team" or "PAS team" means the 

entity contracted with DMAS that is responsible for 

performing preadmission screening pursuant to § 32.1-330 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Primary caregiver" means the primary person who 

consistently assumes the role of providing direct care and 

support of the individual to live successfully in the community 

without compensation for providing such care.  

"Provider agreement" means the contract between DMAS and 

a participating provider under which the provider agrees to 

furnish services to Medicaid-eligible individuals in compliance 

with state and federal statutes and regulations and Medicaid 

contract requirements.  

"Reevaluation" means the periodic but at least annual review 

of an individual's condition and service needs to determine 

whether the individual continues to meet the LOC specified for 

persons approved for waiver participation.  

"Registered nurse" or "RN" means a person who is licensed 

or holds a multi-state licensure privilege pursuant to Chapter 

30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia 

to practice professional nursing as defined.  

"Service authorization" or "serv auth" means the DMAS 

approval of a requested medical service for reimbursement 

prior to the provision of the service. Service authorizations 

shall be performed by DMAS or its service authorization 

contractor. 

"Service authorization contractor" means DMAS or the entity 

that has been contracted by DMAS to perform service 

authorization for medically necessary Medicaid reimbursed 

home and community-based services.  

"Single state agency" means the agency within state 

government that has been designated pursuant to § 1902(a)(5) 

of the Act as responsible for the administration of the State 

Plan for Medical Assistance. In Virginia, the single state 

agency is DMAS.  

"Skilled private duty nursing respite care provider" means a 

DMAS participating provider that renders services in the 

individual's designated primary care residence to offer periodic 

or routine relief for unpaid primary caregivers.  

"Skilled private duty nursing respite care services" means 

temporary skilled nursing services provided in the waiver 

individual's primary residence that are designed to relieve the 

unpaid primary caregiver on an episodic or routine basis for 

short periods or for specified longer periods of time. 

"Skilled private duty nursing services" or "skilled PDN" 

means skilled in-home nursing services listed in the POC that 

are (i) not otherwise covered under the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance Services home health benefit; (ii) required to 

prevent institutionalization; (iii) provided within the scope of 

the Commonwealth's Nurse Practice Act and Drug Control Act 

(Chapters 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, respectively); and (iv) 

provided by a licensed RN, or by an LPN under the supervision 

of an RN, to waiver members who have serious medical 

conditions or complex health care needs. Skilled nursing 

services are to be used as hands-on member care, training, 

consultation, as appropriate, and oversight of direct care staff, 

as appropriate. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "State Plan" means the 

Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 

identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 

limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 

provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Technology assisted waiver" or "tech waiver" means the 

CMS-approved waiver that provides medically necessary 

covered services to individuals who are chronically ill or 

severely impaired, having experienced loss of a vital body 

function, and who require substantial and ongoing skilled 

nursing care to avert death or further disability and whose 

illness or disability would, in the absence of services approved 

under this waiver, require their admission for a prolonged stay 

in a hospital or specialized care nursing facility. 

"Termination" means disenrollment from a waiver by DMAS 

or a DMAS-designated agent.  

"Transition services" means set-up expenses for individuals 

as defined at 12VAC30-120-2010.  
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"VDH" or "Department of Health" means the Virginia 

Department of Health. 

"VDSS" means the Virginia Department of Social Services. 

"Ventilator dependence" means that the waiver individual is 

dependent on such machines in order to sustain life or 

compensate for the loss of body function. 

"Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means 

the standardized multidimensional questionnaire that assesses 

an individual's physical health, mental health, psychosocial, 

and functional abilities to determine if the individual meets the 

nursing facility LOC.  

12VAC30-120-1705. Waiver description and legal 

authority. (Repealed.) 

A. Home and community-based waiver services shall be 

available through a § 1915(c) waiver of the Social Security 

Act. Under this waiver, DMAS has waived § 1902(a) (10) (B) 

and (C) of the Social Security Act related to comparability of 

services. 

B. Technology assisted waiver services shall be covered only 

for Medicaid-eligible individuals who have been determined 

eligible for waiver services and who also require the level of 

care provided in either long-stay hospitals or specialized care 

nursing facilities as long as age appropriate criteria are met. 

These services shall be the critical service necessary to delay 

or avoid the individual's placement in an appropriate facility. 

These waiver services shall not be covered for Medicaid-

eligible individuals who reside in, but not necessarily limited 

to, the following types of facilities: assisted living facilities, 

nursing facilities, rehabilitation hospitals, long-stay hospitals, 

skilled or intermediate care nursing facilities, Intermediate 

Care Facilities for the Intellectually Disabled, group homes 

licensed by DBHDS, general acute care hospitals, or adult 

foster care homes. 

C. An individual shall demonstrate the medical necessity for 

skilled private duty nursing services in order to be approved 

for this waiver. 

D. The cost effectiveness standard that shall be applied for 

individuals in this waiver shall be in the aggregate. 

E. Payments for tech waiver services shall not be provided to 

any financial institution or entity located outside of the United 

States pursuant to the Social Security Act § 1902(a)(80). 

Payments for tech waiver services furnished in another state 

shall (i) be provided for an individual who meets the 

requirements of 42 CFR § 431.52 and (ii) be limited to the 

same number of skilled PDN hours approved for the 

individual's home-based skilled PDN. 

F. An individual shall not simultaneously be in a managed 

care program and enrolled in this waiver. An individual shall 

not be simultaneously enrolled in more than one waiver 

program. 

G. For individuals admitted to this waiver, when their waiver 

services must be interrupted due to their primary caregiver's 

emergency unavailability, then hospitalization or placement in 

a specialized nursing facility, should a specialized care nursing 

facility bed be available, shall occur.  

H. DMAS shall be responsible for assuring appropriate 

placement of the individual in home and community-based 

waiver services and shall have the authority to terminate such 

services. 

I. No waiver services shall be reimbursed until after both the 

provider enrollment process and individual eligibility process 

have been completed. 

12VAC30-120-1710. Individual eligibility requirements; 

preadmission screening. (Repealed.) 

A. Individual eligibility requirements. 

1. The Commonwealth covers these optional categorically 

needy groups: ADC and AFDC-related individuals; SSI and 

SSA-related individuals; aged, blind, or disabled Medicaid-

eligible individuals under 42 CFR 435.121; and the home 

and community-based waiver group at 42 CFR 435.217 that 

includes individuals who are eligible under the State Plan if 

they were institutionalized.  

a. The income level used for the home and community-

based waiver group at 42 CFR 435.217 shall be 300% of 

the current Supplemental Security Income payment 

standard for one person.  

b. Medically needy Medicaid-eligible individuals shall be 

eligible if they meet the medically needy financial 

requirements for income and resources.  

2. Under this waiver, the coverage groups authorized under 

§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VI) of the Social Security Act shall be 

considered as if they were institutionalized for the purpose 

of applying institutional deeming rules. All individuals in the 

waiver must meet the financial and non-financial Medicaid 

eligibility criteria and meet the institutional LOC criteria. 

The deeming rules shall be applied to waiver eligible 

individuals as if they were residing in an institution or would 

require that level of care.  

3. An applicant for technology assisted waiver shall meet 

specialized care nursing facility criteria, including both 

medical and functional needs, and also be dependent on 

waiver services to avoid or delay facility placement and meet 

all criteria for the age appropriate assessments in order to be 

eligible for the tech waiver. Applicants shall not be enrolled 

in the tech waiver unless skilled private duty nursing (PDN) 

hours are ordered by the physician. The number of skilled 

PDN hours shall be based on the total technology and 

nursing score on the Technology Assisted Waiver Pediatric 

Referral form, DMAS-109 (when individuals are younger 

than 21 years of age). The number of skilled PDN hours for 
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adults shall be based on the Technology Assisted Waiver 

Adult Referral form (DMAS-108). 

4. Applicants who are eligible for third-party payment for 

skilled private duty nursing services shall not be eligible for 

these waiver services. If an individual or an individual's 

legally responsible party voluntarily drops any insurance 

plan that would have provided coverage of skilled private 

duty nursing services in order to become eligible for these 

waiver services within one year prior to the date waiver 

services are requested, eligibility for the waiver shall be 

denied. From the date that such insurance plan is 

discontinued, such applicants shall be barred for one year 

from reapplying for waiver services. After the passage of the 

one-year time period, the applicant may reapply to DMAS 

for admission to the tech waiver. 

5. In addition to the medical needs identified in this section, 

the Medicaid-eligible individual shall be determined to need 

substantial and ongoing skilled nursing care. The Medicaid-

eligible individual shall be required to meet a minimum 

standard on the age appropriate referral forms to be eligible 

for enrollment in the tech waiver. 

6. Medicaid-eligible individuals who entered the waiver 

prior to their 21st birthday shall, on the date of their 21st 

birthday, conform to the adult medical criteria and cost-

effectiveness standards. 

7. Every individual who applies for Medicaid-funded waiver 

services must have his Medicaid eligibility evaluated or re-

evaluated, if already Medicaid eligible, by the local DSS in 

the city or county in which he resides. This determination 

shall be completed at the same time the preadmission 

screening (PAS) team completes its evaluation (via the use 

of the Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI)) of whether 

the applicant meets waiver criteria. DMAS payment of 

waiver services shall be contingent upon the DSS 

determination that the individual is eligible for Medicaid 

services for the dates that waiver services are to be provided 

and that DMAS or the designated service authorization 

contractor has authorized waiver enrollment and has prior 

authorized the services that will be required by the 

individual.  

8. In order for an enrolled waiver individual to retain his 

enrolled status, tech waiver services must be used by the 

individual at least once every 30 days. Individuals who do 

not utilize tech waiver services at least once every 30 days 

shall be terminated from the waiver.  

9. The waiver individual shall have a trained primary 

caregiver, as defined in 12VAC30-120-1700, who accepts 

responsibility for the individual's health, safety, and welfare. 

This primary caregiver shall be responsible for all hours not 

provided by the provider agency's RN or LPN. The name of 

the trained primary caregiver shall be documented in the 

provider agency records. This trained primary caregiver 

shall also have a back up system available in emergency 

situations.  

B. Screening and community referral for authorization for 

tech waiver. Tech waiver services shall be considered only for 

individuals who are eligible for Medicaid and for admission to 

a specialized care nursing facility, ICF/ID, long-stay hospital, 

or acute care hospital when those individuals meet all the 

criteria for tech waiver admission. Such individuals, with the 

exception of those who are transferring into this tech waiver 

from a long-stay hospital, shall have been screened using the 

Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI).  

1. The screening team shall provide the individual and 

family or caregiver with the choice of tech waiver services 

or specialized care nursing facility or long-stay hospital 

placement, as appropriate, as well as the provider of those 

services from the time an individual seeks waiver 

information or application and referral. Such provision of 

choice includes the right to appeal pursuant to 12VAC30-

110 when applicable. 

2. The screening team shall explore alternative care settings 

and services to provide the care needed by the applicant 

being screened when Medicaid-funded home and 

community-based care services are determined to be the 

critical service necessary to delay or avoid facility 

placement.  

3. Individuals must be screened to determine necessity for 

nursing facility placement if the individual is currently 

financially Medicaid eligible or anticipates that he will be 

financially eligible within 180 days of the receipt of nursing 

facility care or if the individual is at risk of nursing facility 

placement.  

a. Such covered waiver services shall be critical, as 

certified by the participant's physician at the time of 

assessment, to enable the individual to remain at home and 

in the community rather than being placed in an 

institution. In order to meet criteria for tech waiver 

enrollment, the applicant requesting consideration for 

waiver enrollment must meet the level of care criteria. 

b. Individuals who are younger than 21 years of age shall 

have the Technology Assisted Waiver Pediatric Referral 

form (DMAS-109) completed and must require 

substantial and ongoing nursing care as indicated by a 

minimum score of at least 50 points to qualify for waiver 

enrollment. This individual shall require a medical device 

and ongoing skilled PDN care by meeting the categories 

described in subdivision (1), (2), or (3) below: 

(1) Applicants depending on mechanical ventilators; 

(2) Applicants requiring prolonged intravenous 

administration of nutritional substances or drugs or 

requiring ongoing peritoneal dialysis; or 
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(3) Applicants having daily dependence on other device-

based respiratory or nutritional support, including 

tracheostomy tube care, oxygen support, or tube feeding.  

c. Individuals who are 21 years of age or older shall have 

the Technology Assisted Waiver Adult Referral form 

(DMAS-108) completed and must be determined to be 

dependent on a ventilator or must meet all eight 

specialized care criteria (12VAC30-60-320) for complex 

tracheostomy care in order to qualify for waiver 

enrollment. 

4. When an applicant has been determined to meet the 

financial and waiver eligibility requirements and DMAS has 

verified the availability of the services for that individual and 

that the individual has no other payment sources for skilled 

PDN, tech waiver enrollment and entry into home and 

community-based care may occur. 

5. A PAS is considered valid for the following timeframes. 

The validity of a PAS applies to individuals who are 

screened, meet the criteria for long-term care services, but 

have not yet begun receiving services during the periods 

outlined in subdivisions 5 a through 5 f of this subsection. 

a. Zero to 180 days. Screenings are valid and do not 

require revisions or a new screening. 

b. 181 days to 12 months. Screening revisions are 

required; revisions may also be done if there is a 

significant change in an individual's medical or physical 

condition. Revisions should be entered into the ePAS 

system, per the Medicaid web portal instructions, resulting 

in a claim being generated for the screening revision. For 

the purposes of this subdivision, "Electronic preadmission 

screening" or "ePAS" means the automated system for use 

by all entities contracted by DMAS to perform 

preadmission screenings pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the 

Code of Virginia. DMAS will cover the cost of the PAS. 

c. Over 12 months. A new screening is required and 

reimbursement is made by DMAS. New screenings must 

be entered into ePAS according to the Medicaid web 

portal instructions. 

d. Break in services. When an individual starts and then 

stops services for a period of time exceeding 30 

consecutive calendar days, the PAS team will need to 

complete a revised screening prior to service resumption 

if the individual has not received any Medicaid funded 

long-term care services during the break in service 

delivery. DMAS will cover the cost of the PAS. 

e. In any other circumstances, including hospitalization, 

that cause services to cease or to be interrupted for more 

than 30 consecutive calendar days, the individuals shall be 

referred back to the local department of social services for 

redetermination of his Medicaid eligibility. The provider 

shall be responsible for notifying the local department of 

social services via the DMAS-225 form when there is an 

interruption of services for 30 consecutive calendar days 

or upon discharge from the provider's services.  

f. If the individual has been receiving ongoing services 

either through a nursing facility or a home and 

community-based service program, the screening 

timeframes do not apply. 

6. When an individual was not screened prior to admission 

to a specialized care nursing facility, or the individual 

resides in the community at the time of referral initiation to 

DMAS, the locality in which the individual resides at the 

time of discharge shall complete the preadmission screening 

prior to enrollment into the tech waiver. 

7. DMAS shall be the final determining body for enrollment 

in the tech waiver and the determination of the number of 

approved skilled PDN hours for which DMAS will pay. 

DMAS has the ultimate responsibility for authorization of 

waiver enrollment and Medicaid skilled PDN 

reimbursement for tech waiver services. 

C. Waiver individuals' rights and responsibilities. DMAS 

shall ensure that: 

1. Each waiver individual shall receive, and the provider and 

provider staff shall provide, the necessary care and services, 

to the extent of provider availability, to attain or maintain the 

highest practicable physical, mental, and psychosocial well-

being, in accordance with the individual's comprehensive 

assessment and POC. 

2. Waiver individuals shall have the right to receive services 

from the provider with reasonable accommodation of the 

individuals' needs and preferences except when DMAS 

makes a determination that the health, safety, or welfare of 

the individuals or other waiver individuals would be 

endangered.  

3. Waiver individuals formulate their own advance 

directives based on information that providers must give to 

adult waiver individuals at the time of their admissions to 

services. 

4. All waiver individuals shall have the right to: 

a. Voice grievances to the provider or provider staff 

without discrimination or reprisal. Such grievances 

include those with respect to treatment that has been 

furnished or has not been furnished;  

b. Prompt efforts by the provider or staff, as appropriate, 

to resolve any grievances the waiver individual may have;  

c. Be free from verbal, sexual, physical, and mental abuse, 

neglect, exploitation, and misappropriation of property;  

d. Be free from any physical or chemical restraints of any 

form that may be used as a means of coercion, discipline, 

convenience, or retaliation and that are not required to 

treat the individual's medical symptoms; and 
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e. Their personal privacy and confidentiality of their 

personal and clinical records. 

5. Waiver individuals shall be provided by their health care 

providers, at the time of their admission to this waiver, with 

written information regarding their rights to participate in 

medical care decisions, including the right to accept or 

refuse medical treatment and the right to formulate advance 

directives.  

6. The legally competent waiver individual, the waiver 

individual's legal guardian, or the parent (natural, adoptive 

or foster) of the minor child shall have the right to: 

a. Choose whether the individual wishes to receive home 

and community-based care waiver services instead of 

institutionalization in accordance with the assessed needs 

of the individual. The PAS team shall inform the 

individual of all available waiver service providers in the 

community in which the waiver individual resides. The 

tech waiver individual shall have the option of selecting 

the provider and services of his choice. This choice must 

be documented in the individual's medical record; 

b. Choose his own primary care physician in the 

community in which he lives; 

c. Be fully informed in advance about the waiver POC and 

treatment needs as well as any changes in that care or 

treatment that may affect the individual's well-being; and  

d. Participate in the care planning process, choice, and 

scheduling of providers and services. 

12VAC30-120-1720. Covered services; limits; changes to or 

termination of services. (Repealed.) 

A. Coverage statement.  

1. These waiver services shall be medically necessary, cost-

effective as compared to the costs of institutionalization, and 

necessary to maintain the individual safely in the community 

and prevent institutionalization. 

2. Services shall be provided only to those individuals whose 

service needs are consistent with the service description and 

for which providers are available who have adequate and 

appropriate staffing to meet the needs of the individuals to 

be served. 

3. All services covered through this waiver shall be rendered 

according to the individuals' POCs that have been certified 

by physicians as medically necessary and also reviewed by 

DMAS to enable the waiver enrolled individuals to remain 

at home or in the community.  

4. Providers shall be required to refund payments received 

to DMAS if they (i) are found during any review to have 

billed Medicaid contrary to policy, (ii) have failed to 

maintain records to support their claims for services, or (iii) 

have billed for medically unnecessary services. 

5. DMAS shall perform service authorization for skilled 

PDN services, PC for adults, and transition services. DMAS 

or the service authorization contractor shall perform service 

authorization for skilled private duty respite services, AT 

services and EM services.  

6. When a particular service requires service authorization, 

reimbursement shall not be made until the service 

authorization is secured from either DMAS or the DMAS-

designated service authorization contractor. 

B. Covered services. Covered services shall include: skilled 

PDN; skilled private duty respite care; personal care only for 

adults, assistive technology; environmental modifications; and 

transition services only for individuals needing to move from 

a designated institution into the community or for waiver 

individuals who have already moved from an institution within 

30 days of their transition. Coverage shall not be provided for 

these services for individuals who reside in any facilities 

enumerated in 12VAC30-120-1705. Skilled PDN shall be a 

required service. If an individual has no medical necessity for 

skilled PDN, he shall not be admitted to this waiver. All other 

services provided in this waiver shall be provided in 

conjunction with the provision of skilled PDN.  

1. Skilled PDN, for a single individual and congregate group 

settings, as defined in 12VAC30-120-1700, shall be 

provided for waiver enrolled individuals who have serious 

medical conditions or complex health care needs. To receive 

this service, the individuals must require specific skilled and 

continuous nursing care on a regularly scheduled or 

intermittent basis performed by an RN or an LPN. Upon 

completion of the required screening and required 

assessments and a determination that the individual requires 

substantial and ongoing skilled nursing care and waiver 

enrollment then the PDN hours shall be authorized by the 

DMAS staff.  

a. PDN services shall be rendered according to a POC 

authorized by DMAS and shall have been certified by a 

physician as medically necessary to enable the individual 

to remain at home. 

b. No reimbursement shall be provided by DMAS for 

either RN or LPN services without signed physician orders 

that specifically identify skilled nursing tasks to be 

performed for the individual. 

c. Limits placed on the amount of PDN that will be 

approved for reimbursement shall be consistent with the 

individual's age-appropriate technology assisted waiver 

referral form (DMAS-108 or DMAS-109) and medical 

necessity. Except for a minor individual's care during his 

first 15 days following initial enrollment into this waiver, 

in no instances shall the individual's POC or ongoing 

multiple POCs result in coverage of more than 112 hours 

of skilled PDN per week (Sunday through Saturday). The 

maximum number of approved hours authorized per week 

for minor children shall be based on their total approved 
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points documented on the Technology Assisted Waiver 

Pediatric Referral form (DMAS-109). The maximum 

skilled PDN hours authorized per week for adult 

individuals shall be based on their technology and medical 

necessity justification documented on the Technology 

Assisted Waiver Adult Referral form (DMAS-108).  

(1) The number of skilled PDN hours for minor 

individuals shall be based on the total technology and 

nursing score on the Technology Assisted Waiver 

Pediatric Referral form (DMAS-109) and updated by the 

DMAS staff when changes occur and with annual waiver 

eligibility redetermination by DMAS. 

(2) Once the minor individual's composite score (total 

score) is derived, a LOC is designated for the individual 

as a Level A, B, or C. This LOC designation determines 

the maximum number of hours per week of skilled PDN 

that DMAS may allocate for a pediatric individual. Any 

hours beyond the approved maximum for such individual's 

LOC shall be medically necessary and service authorized 

by DMAS. Any POC submitted without approval for 

hours beyond the approved maximum for any particular 

LOC will only be entered for the approved maximum for 

that LOC. 

(3) The results of the scoring assessment determine the 

maximum amount of hours available and authorization 

shall occur as follows: 

(a) 50 – 56 points = 70 hours per week. 

(b) 57 – 79 points = 84 hours per week. 

(c) 80 points or greater = 112 hours per week. 

(4) For minor individuals, whether living separately or in 

a congregate setting, during the first 15 calendar days after 

such individuals' initial admission to the waiver, skilled 

PDN may be covered for up to 24-hours per day, if 

required and appropriate to assist the family in adjustment 

to the care associated with technology assistance. After 

these first 15 calendar days, skilled PDN shall be 

reimbursed up to the maximum allowable hours per week 

based on the individual's total technology and nursing 

scores and provided that the aggregate cost-effectiveness 

standard is not exceeded for the individual's care. 

(5) When reimbursement is to be made for skilled PDN 

services to be provided in schools, the nurse shall be in the 

same room as the waiver individual for the hours of skilled 

PDN care billed. When an individual receives skilled PDN 

while attending school, the total skilled PDN hours shall 

not exceed the authorized number of hours under his 

nursing score category on the Technology Assisted 

Waiver Pediatric Referral form (DMAS-109). 

(6) For adult individuals, whether living separately or in a 

congregate setting, skilled PDN shall be reimbursed up to 

a maximum of 112 hours per week (Sunday through 

Saturday) per tech waiver individual living in the 

household based on the individual's technology and 

medical justification and provided that the aggregate cost-

effectiveness standard is not exceeded for the individual's 

care. 

(7) The adult individual shall be determined to need a 

medical device and ongoing skilled nursing care when 

such individual meets Category A or all eight criteria in 

Category B: 

(a) Category A. Individuals who depend on mechanical 

ventilators; or 

(b) Category B. Individuals who have a complex 

tracheostomy as defined by: 

(i) Tracheostomy with the potential for weaning off of it, 

or documentation of attempts to wean, with subsequent 

inability to wean; 

(ii) Nebulizer treatments ordered at least four times a day 

or nebulizer treatments followed by chest physiotherapy 

provided by a nurse or respiratory therapist at least four 

times a day; 

(iii) Pulse oximetry monitoring at least every shift due to 

unstable oxygen saturation levels; 

(iv) Respiratory assessment and documentation every shift 

by a licensed respiratory therapist or nurse; 

(v) Have a physician's order for oxygen therapy with 

documented usage; 

(vi) Receives tracheostomy care at least daily; 

(vii) Has a physician's order for tracheostomy suctioning; 

and 

(viii) Deemed at risk to require subsequent mechanical 

ventilation. 

(8) Skilled PDN services shall be available to individuals 

in their primary residence with some community 

integration (e.g., medical appointments and school) 

permitted.  

(9) Skilled PDN services may include consultation and 

training for the primary caregiver. 

d. The provider shall be responsible for notifying DMAS 

should the primary residence of the individual be changed, 

should the individual be hospitalized, should the 

individual die, or should the individual be out of the 

Commonwealth for 48 hours or more. 

e. Exclusions from DMAS' coverage of skilled PDN: 

(1) This service shall not be authorized when intermittent 

skilled nursing visits could be satisfactorily utilized while 

protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the individual. 

(2) Skilled PDN hours shall not be reimbursed while the 

individual is receiving emergency care or during 

emergency transport of the individual to such facilities. 

The RN or LPN shall not transport the waiver individual 

to such facilities. 
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(3) Skilled PDN services may be ordered but shall not be 

provided simultaneously with PDN respite care or 

personal care services as described in this section. 

(4) Parents (natural, adoptive, legal guardians), spouses, 

siblings, grandparents, grandchildren, adult children, other 

legal guardians, or any person living under the same roof 

with the individual shall not provide skilled PDN services 

for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement for the waiver 

individual.  

(5) Providers shall not bill prior to receiving the 

physician's dated signature on the individual's POC for 

services provided and the DMAS staff's 

authorization/determination of skilled PDN hours. 

(6) Time spent driving the waiver individual shall not be 

reimbursed by DMAS. 

f. Congregate skilled PDN. 

(1) If more than one waiver individual will reside in the 

home, the same waiver provider or providers shall be 

chosen to provide all skilled PDN services for all waiver 

individuals in the home. 

(2) Only one nurse shall be authorized to care for no more 

than two waiver individuals in such arrangements. In 

instances when three waiver individuals share a home, 

nursing ratios shall be determined by DMAS or its 

designated agent based on the needs of all the individuals 

who are living together. These congregate skilled PDN 

hours shall be at the same scheduled shifts. 

(3) The primary caregiver shall be shared and shall be 

responsible for providing all care needs when a private 

duty nurse is not available. 

(4) DMAS shall not reimburse for skilled PDN services 

through the tech waiver and skilled PDN services through 

the EPSDT benefit for the same individual at the same 

time.  

2. Skilled private duty respite care services. Skilled private 

duty respite care services may be covered for a maximum of 

360 hours per calendar year for individuals who are qualified 

for tech waiver services and regardless of whether the waiver 

individual changes waivers and whose primary caregiver 

requires temporary or intermittent relief from the burden of 

caregiving. 

a. This service shall be provided by skilled nursing staff 

licensed to practice in the Commonwealth under the direct 

supervision of a licensed, certified, or accredited home 

health agency and with which DMAS has a provider 

agreement to provide skilled PDN. 

b. Skilled private duty respite care services shall be 

comprised of both skilled and hands-on care of either a 

supportive or health-related nature and includes (i) all 

skilled nursing care as ordered on the physician-certified 

POC, (ii) assistance with ADLs and IADLs, (iii) 

administration of medications or other medical needs, and 

(iv) monitoring of the health status and physical condition 

of the individual or individuals. 

c. When skilled private duty respite services are offered in 

conjunction with skilled PDN, the same individual record 

may be used with a separate section for skilled private duty 

respite services documentation.  

d. Individuals who are living in congregate arrangements 

shall be permitted to share skilled private duty respite care 

service providers. The same limits on this service in the 

congregate setting (360 hours per calendar year per 

household) shall apply. 

e. Skilled private duty respite care services shall be 

provided in the individual's primary residence as is 

designated upon admission to the waiver. 

3. Assistive technology (AT) services. Assistive technology, 

as defined in 12VAC30-120-1700, devices shall be portable 

and shall be authorized per calendar year. 

a. AT services shall be available for enrolled waiver 

individuals who are receiving skilled PDN. AT services 

are the specialized medical equipment and supplies, 

including those devices, controls, or appliances, specified 

in the individual's plan of care, but that are not available 

under the State Plan for Medical Assistance, that enable 

waiver individuals to increase their abilities to perform 

ADLs/IADLs, or to perceive, control, or communicate 

with the environment in which they live. This service 

includes ancillary supplies and equipment necessary to the 

proper functioning of such items. 

b. An independent, professional consultation shall be 

obtained from qualified professionals who are 

knowledgeable of that item for each AT request prior to 

approval by DMAS or the designated service 

authorization contractor. Individual professional 

consultants include speech/language therapists, physical 

therapists, occupational therapists, physicians, certified 

rehabilitation engineers or rehabilitation specialists. A 

prescription shall not meet the standard of an assessment.  

c. In order to qualify for these services, the individual must 

have a demonstrated need for equipment for remedial or 

direct medical benefit primarily in the individual's primary 

residence or primary vehicle to specifically serve to 

improve the individual's personal functioning. 

d. AT shall be covered in the least expensive, most cost-

effective manner. The cost of AT services shall be 

included in the total cost of waiver services. 

e. Service units and service limitations. AT equipment and 

supplies shall not be rented but shall be purchased through 

a Medicaid-enrolled durable medical equipment provider. 

(1) The service unit is always one, for the total cost of all 

AT being requested for a specific timeframe. The 

maximum Medicaid-funded expenditure per individual for 

all AT covered procedure codes combined shall be $5,000 

per individual per calendar year. 
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(2) The cost for AT shall not be carried over from one 

calendar year to the next. Each item must be service 

authorized by either DMAS or the DMAS designated 

contractor for each calendar year. 

(3) Unexpended portions of the maximum amount shall 

not be accumulated across one or more calendar years to 

be expended in a later year. 

(4) Shipping/freight/delivery charges are not billable to 

DMAS or the waiver individual, as such charges are 

considered noncovered items. 

(5) All products must be delivered, demonstrated, installed 

and in working order prior to submitting any claim for 

them to Medicaid. 

(6) The date of service on the claim shall be within the 

service authorization approval dates, which may be prior 

to the delivery date as long as the initiation of services 

commenced during the approved dates.  

(7) The service authorization shall not be modified to 

accommodate delays in product deliveries. In such 

situations, new service authorizations must be sought by 

the provider. 

(8) When two or more waiver individuals live in the same 

home or congregate living arrangement, the AT shall be 

shared to the extent practicable consistent with the type of 

AT. 

f. AT exclusions. 

(1) Medicaid shall not reimburse for any AT devices or 

services that may have been rendered prior to 

authorization from DMAS or the designated service 

authorization contractor. 

(2) Providers of AT shall not be spouses, parents (natural, 

adoptive, or foster), or stepparents of the individual who 

is receiving waiver services. Providers that supply AT for 

the waiver individual may not perform 

assessments/consultation or write specifications for that 

individual. Any request for a change in cost (either an 

increase or a decrease) requires justification and 

supporting documentation of medical need and service 

authorization by DMAS or the designated service 

authorization contractor. The vendor shall receive a copy 

of the professional evaluation in order to purchase the 

items recommended by the professional. If a change is 

necessary then the vendor shall notify the assessor to 

ensure the changed items meet the individual's needs. 

(3) All equipment or supplies already covered by the State 

Plan shall not be purchased under the waiver as AT. Such 

examples include: 

(a) Specialized medical equipment, durable or nondurable 

medical equipment (DME), ancillary equipment, and 

supplies necessary for life support; 

(b) Adaptive devices, appliances, and controls that enable 

an individual to be more independent in areas of personal 

care and ADLs/IADLs; and  

(c) Equipment and devices that enable an individual to 

communicate more effectively.  

(4) AT services shall not be approved for purposes of the 

convenience of the caregiver, restraint of the individual, 

recreation or leisure, educational purposes, or diversion 

activities. Examples of these types of items shall be listed 

in DMAS guidance documents. 

4. Environmental modifications services shall be covered as 

defined in 12VAC30-120-1700. Medicaid reimbursement 

shall not occur before service authorization of EM services 

is completed by DMAS or the DMAS-designated service 

authorization contractor. EM services shall entail limited 

physical adaptations to preexisting structures and shall not 

include new additions to an existing structure that simply 

increase the structure's square footage. 

a. In order to qualify for EM services, the individual shall 

have a demonstrated need for modifications of a remedial 

nature or medical benefit to the primary residence to 

specifically improve the individual's personal functioning. 

Such modifications may include, but shall not necessarily 

be limited to, the installation of ramps and grab-bars, 

widening of doorways and other adaptations to 

accommodate wheelchairs, modification of bathroom 

facilities to accommodate wheelchairs (but not strictly for 

cosmetic purposes), or installation of specialized electrical 

and plumbing systems required to accommodate the 

medical equipment and supplies that are necessary for the 

individual's welfare. Modifications may include a 

generator for waiver individuals who are dependent on 

mechanical ventilation for 24 hours a day and when the 

generator is used to support the medical equipment and 

supplies necessary for the individual's welfare. 

b. EM shall be available costing up to a maximum amount 

of $5,000 per calendar year regardless of waiver for 

individuals who are receiving skilled PDN services.  

c. Costs for EM shall not be carried over from one calendar 

year to the next year. Each item shall be service authorized 

by DMAS or the DMAS-designated agent for each 

calendar year. Unexpended portions of this maximum 

amount shall not be accumulated across one or more years 

to be expended in a later year. 

d. When two or more waiver individuals live in the same 

home or congregate living arrangement, the EM shall be 

shared to the extent practicable consistent with the type of 

requested modification. 

e. Only the actual cost of material and labor is reimbursed. 

There shall be no additional markup. 

f. EM shall be carried out in the most cost-effective 

manner possible to achieve the goal required for the 

individual's health, safety, and welfare. The cost of EM 
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waiver services shall be included in the individual's costs 

of all other waiver services, which shall not exceed the 

total annual cost for placement in an institution. 

g. All services shall be provided in the individual's 

primary residence in accordance with applicable state or 

local building codes and appropriate permits or building 

inspections, which shall be provided to DMAS or the 

DMAS contractor.  

h. Proposed modifications that are to be made to rental 

properties must have prior written approval of the 

property's owner. Modifications to rental properties shall 

only be valid if it is an independently operated rental 

facility with no direct or indirect ties to any other Medicaid 

service provider.  

i. Modifications may be made to a vehicle if it is the 

primary vehicle used by the individual. This service shall 

not include the purchase of or the general repair of 

vehicles. Repairs of modifications that have been 

reimbursed by DMAS shall be covered.  

j. The EM provider shall ensure that all work and products 

are delivered, installed, and in good working order prior to 

seeking reimbursement from DMAS. The date of service 

on this provider's claim shall be within the service 

authorization approval dates, which may be prior to the 

completion date as long as the work commenced during 

the approval dates. The service authorization shall not be 

modified to accommodate installation delays. All requests 

for cost changes (either increases or decreases) shall be 

submitted to DMAS or the DMAS-designated service 

authorization contractor for revision to the previously 

issued service authorization and shall include justification 

and supporting documentation of medical needs.  

k. EM exclusions. 

(1) There shall be no duplication of previous EM services 

within the same residence such as (i) multiple wheelchair 

ramps or (ii) previous modifications to the same room. 

There shall be no duplication of EM within the same plan 

year.  

(2) Adaptations or improvements to the primary home that 

shall be excluded are of general utility and are not of direct 

medical or remedial benefit to the waiver individual, such 

as, but not necessarily limited to, carpeting, flooring, roof 

repairs, central air conditioning or heating, general 

maintenance and repairs to a home, additions or 

maintenance of decks, maintenance/replacement or 

addition of sidewalks, driveways, carports, or adaptations 

that only increase the total square footage of the home. 

(3) EM shall not be covered by Medicaid for general 

leisure or diversion items or those items that are 

recreational in nature or those items that may be used as 

an outlet for adaptive/maladaptive behavioral issues. Such 

noncovered items may include, but shall not necessarily 

be limited to, swing sets, playhouses, climbing walls, 

trampolines, protective matting or ground cover, sporting 

equipment or exercise equipment, such as special bicycles 

or tricycles.  

(4) EM shall not be approved for Medicaid coverage when 

the waiver individual resides in a residential provider's 

facility program, such as sponsored homes and congregate 

residential and supported living settings. EM shall not be 

covered by Medicaid if, for example, the Fair Housing Act 

(42 USC § 3601 et seq.), the Virginia Fair Housing Law 

(§ 36-96.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) or the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (42 USC § 12101 et seq.) 

requires the modification and the payment for such 

modifications are to be made by a third party. 

(5) EM shall not include the costs of removal or disposal, 

or any other costs, of previously installed modifications, 

whether paid for by DMAS or any other source. 

(6) Providers of EM shall not be the waiver individual's 

spouse, parent (natural, adoptive, legal guardians), other 

legal guardians, or conservator. Providers who supply EM 

to waiver individuals shall not perform 

assessments/consultations or write EM specifications for 

such individuals. 

5. Personal care (PC) services as defined in 12VAC30-120-

1700, shall be covered for individuals older than 21 years of 

age who have a demonstrated need for assistance with ADLs 

and IADLs and who have a trained primary caregiver for 

skilled PDN interventions during portions of their day. PC 

services shall be rendered by a provider who has a DMAS 

provider agreement to provide PC, home health care, or 

skilled PDN. Due to the complex medical needs of this 

waiver population and the need for 24-hour supervision, the 

trained primary caregiver shall be present in the home and 

rendering the required skilled services during the entire time 

that the PCA is providing nonskilled care.  

a. PC services are either of a supportive or health-related 

nature and include assistance with ADLs/IADLs, 

community access (such as, but not necessarily limited to, 

going to medical appointments), monitoring of self-

administration of medication or other medical needs, and 

monitoring of health status and physical condition. In 

order to receive PC, the individual must require assistance 

with ADLs/IADLs. When specified in the POC, PC 

services may also include assistance with IADLs to 

include making or changing beds, and cleaning areas used 

by the individual. Assistance with IADLs must be 

essential to the health and welfare of the individual, rather 

than the individual's representative, as applicable. 

(1) The unit of service for PC services shall be one hour. 

The hours that may be authorized by DMAS or the 

designated service authorization contractor shall be based 

on the individual's need as documented in the individual's 

POC and assessed on the Technology Assisted Waiver 

Adult Aide Plan of Care (DMAS-97 T). 
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(2) Supervision of the waiver individual shall not be 

covered as part of the tech waiver personal care service. 

(3) Individuals may have skilled PDN, PC, and skilled 

private duty nursing respite care in their plans of care but 

shall not be authorized to receive these services 

simultaneously. 

b. PC services shall not include either practical or 

professional nursing services or those practices regulated 

in Chapters 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, as 

appropriate, with the exception of skilled nursing tasks 

that may be delegated in accordance with Part VIII 

(18VAC90-20-420 et seq.). The PCA may perform ADL 

functions such as assistance to the primary caregiver but 

shall not perform any nursing duties or roles except as 

permitted by Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 et seq.). At a 

minimum, the staff providing PC must have been certified 

through coursework as either PCAs or home health aides. 

c. DMAS will pay for any PC services that the PCA gives 

to individuals to assist them in preparing for school or 

when they return home. DMAS shall not pay for the PCA 

to assist the individual with any functions related to the 

individual completing post-secondary school functions or 

for supervision time during school. 

d. PC exclusions. 

(1) Time spent driving the waiver individual shall not be 

reimbursed. 

(2) Regardless of the combination of skilled PDN and PC 

hours, the total combined number of hours that shall be 

reimbursed by DMAS in a week shall not exceed 112 

hours. 

(3) The consumer-directed services model shall not be 

covered for any services provided in the tech waiver. 

(4) Spouses, parents (natural, adoptive, legal guardians), 

siblings, grandparents, grandchildren, adult children, other 

legal guardians, or any person living under the same roof 

with the individual shall not provide PC services for the 

purpose of Medicaid reimbursement for the waiver 

individual.  

6. Transition services shall be covered two ways: (i) as 

defined at 12VAC30-120-1700 to provide for applicants to 

move from institutional placements to community private 

homes and shall be service authorized by DMAS or the 

designated service authorization contractor in order for 

reimbursement to occur, and (ii) for applicants who have 

already moved from an institution to the community within 

30 days of their transition. The applicant's transition from an 

institution to the community shall be coordinated by the 

facility's discharge planning team. The discharge planner 

shall coordinate with the DMAS staff to ensure that 

technology assisted waiver eligibility criteria shall be met. 

a. Transition services shall be service authorized by 

DMAS or its designated service authorization contractor 

in order for reimbursement to occur.  

b. For the purposes of transition funding for the 

technology assisted waiver, an institution means an 

ICF/ID, a specialized care nursing facility or a long-stay 

hospital as defined at 42 CFR 435.1009. Transition 

funding shall not be available for individuals who have 

been admitted to an acute care hospital. 

C. Changes to services or termination of services. 

1. DMAS or its designated agent shall have the final 

authority to approve or deny a requested change to an 

individual's skilled PDN and PC hours. Any request for an 

increase to an individual's skilled PDN or PC hours that 

exceeds the number of hours allowed for that individual's 

LOC shall be service authorized by DMAS staff and 

accompanied by adequate documentation justifying the 

increase. 

a. The provider may decrease the amount of authorized 

care if the revised skilled PDN hours are appropriate and 

based on the needs of the individual. The provider agency 

shall work with the DMAS staff for coordination and final 

approval of any decrease in service delivery. A revised 

tech waiver skilled PDN authorization shall be completed 

by DMAS for final authorization and forwarded to the 

provider agency. 

b. The provider shall be responsible for documenting in 

writing the physician's verbal orders and for inclusion of 

the changes on the recertification POC in accordance with 

the DMAS skilled private duty nursing authorization. The 

provider agency's RN supervisor, who is responsible for 

supervising the individual's care, shall use a person-

centered approach in discussing the change in care with 

the individual and the individual's representative to 

include documentation in the individual's record. The 

DMAS staff or the DMAS designated service 

authorization contractor shall notify in writing the 

individual or the individual's representative of the change.  

c. The provider shall be responsible for submitting the 

DMAS-225 form to the local department of social services 

when the following situations occur: (i) when Medicaid 

eligibility status changes; (ii) when the individual's level 

of care changes; (iii) when the individual is admitted to or 

discharged from an institution, a home and community-

based waiver, or a provider agency's care; (iv) the 

individual dies; or (v) any other information that causes a 

change in the individual's eligibility status or patient pay 

amounts. 

2. At any time the individual no longer meets LOC criteria 

for the waiver, termination of waiver enrollment shall be 

initiated by DMAS staff who is assigned to the individual. 

In such instances, DMAS shall forward the DMAS-225 form 

to the local department of social services.  
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3. In an emergency situation when the health, safety, or 

welfare of the provider staff is endangered, the provider 

agency may immediately initiate discharge of the individual 

and contact the DMAS staff. The provider must issue written 

notification containing the reasons for and the effective date 

of the termination of services. The written notification 

period in subdivision 4 of this subsection shall not be 

required. Other entities (e.g., licensing authorities, APS, 

CPS) shall also be notified as appropriate. A copy of this 

letter shall be forwarded to the DMAS staff within five 

business days of the letter's date. 

4. In a nonemergency situation (i.e., when the health, safety, 

or welfare of the waiver individual or provider personnel is 

not endangered), the provider shall provide the individual 

and the individual's representative 14 calendar days' written 

notification (plus three days to allow for mail transmission) 

of the intent to discharge the individual from agency 

services. Written notification shall provide the reasons for 

and the effective date of the termination of services as well 

as the individual's appeal rights. A copy of the written 

notification shall also be forwarded to the DMAS staff 

within five business days of the date of the notification. 

5. Individuals who no longer meet the tech waiver criteria as 

certified by the physician for either children or adults shall 

be terminated from the waiver. In such cases, a reduction in 

skilled PDN hours may occur that shall not exceed two 

weeks in duration as long as such skilled PDN was 

previously approved in the individual's POC. The agency 

provider of skilled PDN for such individuals shall document 

with DMAS the decrease in skilled PDN hours and prepare 

for cessation of skilled PDN hours and waiver services.  

6. When a waiver individual, regardless of age, requires 

admission to a specialized care nursing facility or long-stay 

hospital, the individual shall be discharged from waiver 

services while he is in the specialized care nursing facility or 

long-stay hospital. Readmission to waiver services may 

resume once the individual has been discharged from the 

specialized care nursing facility or long-stay hospital as long 

as the waiver eligibility and medical necessity criteria 

continue to be met. For individuals 21 years of age and older, 

the individual shall follow the criteria for specialized care 

nursing facility admission. For individuals who are younger 

than 21 years of age, the individual shall follow the criteria 

for long-stay hospital admissions as well as the age 

appropriate criteria. 

7. When a waiver individual, regardless of age, requires 

admission to an acute care hospital for 30 days or more, the 

individual shall be discharged from waiver services. When 

such hospitalization exceeds 30 days and upon hospital 

discharge, readmission to waiver services is required. Such 

readmission requires reassessment by the discharge team 

and a determination that the individual continues to meet 

Medicaid eligibility, level of care criteria and medical 

criteria on the DMAS-108 or DMAS-109 form, as 

appropriate. If these criteria are met, the individual shall be 

readmitted to waiver services. For adults, ages 21 years and 

older, the individual shall meet the criteria for specialized 

care admissions. For children, younger than 21 years of age, 

the individual shall meet the criteria for long-stay hospital 

admissions and the age appropriate criteria. 

8. Waiver individuals, regardless of age, who require 

admission to any type of acute care facility for less than 30 

days shall, upon discharge from such acute care facility, be 

eligible for waiver services as long as all other requirements 

continue to be met.  

12VAC30-120-1730. General requirements for 

participating providers. (Repealed.) 

A. All agency providers shall sign the appropriate technology 

assisted waiver provider agreement in order to bill and receive 

Medicaid payment for services rendered. Requests for provider 

enrollment shall be reviewed by DMAS to determine whether 

the provider applicant meets the requirements for Medicaid 

participation and demonstrates the abilities to perform, at a 

minimum, the following activities: 

1. Be able to render the medically necessary services 

required by the waiver individuals. Accept referrals for 

services only when staff is available and qualified to initiate 

and perform the required services on an ongoing basis.  

2. Assure the individual's freedom to reject medical care and 

treatment. 

3. Assure freedom of choice to individuals in seeking 

medical care from any institution, pharmacy, or practitioner 

qualified to perform the service or services that may be 

required and participating in the Medicaid program at the 

time the service or services are performed. 

4. Actively involve the individual and the authorized 

representative, as applicable, in the assessment of needs, 

strengths, goals, preferences, and abilities and incorporate 

this information into the person-centered planning process. 

A provider shall protect and promote the rights of each 

individual for whom he is providing services and shall 

provide for each of the following individual rights: 

a. The individual's rights are exercised by the person 

appointed under state law to act on the individual's behalf 

in the case of an individual adjudged incompetent under 

the laws of the Commonwealth by a court of competent 

jurisdiction. 

b. The individual, who has not been adjudged incompetent 

by the state court, may designate any legal-surrogate in 

accordance with state law to exercise the individual's 

rights to the extent provided by state law. 

c. The individual shall have the right to receive services 

from the provider with reasonable accommodation of 

individual needs and preferences, except when the health 
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or safety of the individual or other waiver individuals 

would be endangered. 

5. Perform a criminal background check on all employees, 

including the business owner, who may have any contact or 

provide services to the waiver individual. Such record 

checks shall be performed by the Virginia State Police for 

the Commonwealth. When the Medicaid individual is a 

minor child, searches shall also be made of the Virginia CPS 

Central Registry. 

a. Provider documentation of the results of these searches 

must be made available upon request of DMAS or its 

authorized representatives. Persons convicted of having 

committed barrier crimes as defined in § 32.1-162.9:1 of 

the Code of Virginia shall not render services to waiver 

individuals for the purposes of seeking Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

b. Persons having founded dispositions in the CPS Central 

Registry at DSS shall not be permitted to render services 

to children in this waiver and seek Medicaid 

reimbursement. Medicaid reimbursement shall not be 

made for providers' employees who have findings with the 

Virginia Board of Nursing of the Department of Health 

Professions concerning abuse, neglect, or mistreatment of 

individuals or misappropriation of their property. 

6. Screen all new and existing employees and contractors to 

determine whether any of them have been excluded from 

participation in federal programs. Search the HHS-OIG List 

of Excluded Individuals and Entities (LEIE) website 

monthly by name for employees, contractors and entities to 

validate the eligibility of such persons and entities for federal 

programs.  

a. Immediately report to DMAS any exclusion 

information identified. 

b. Such information shall be sent in writing and shall 

include the individual or business name, provider 

identification number (if applicable), and what, if any, 

action has been taken to date.  

c. Such information shall be sent to: DMAS, ATTN: 

Program Integrity/Exclusions, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 

1300, Richmond, VA 23219 or emailed to 

providerexclusion@dmas.virginia.gov. 

7. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 

compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as 

amended (42 USC § 2000 et seq.), which prohibits 

discrimination on the grounds of race, color, religion, or 

national origin; the Virginians with Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-

1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); § 504 of the Rehabilitation 

Act of 1973, as amended (29 USC § 794), which prohibits 

discrimination on the basis of a disability; and the ADA of 

1990, as amended (42 USC § 12101 et seq.), which provides 

comprehensive civil rights protections to individuals with 

disabilities. 

8. Report all suspected violations, pursuant to § 63.2-100, 

§§ 63.2-1508 through 63.2-1513, and § 63.2-1606 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia, involving mistreatment, neglect, or 

abuse, including injuries of an unknown source, and 

misappropriation of individual property to either CPS, APS, 

or other officials in accordance with state law. Providers 

shall also train their staff in recognizing all types of such 

injuries and how to report them to the appropriate 

authorities. Providers shall ensure that all employees are 

aware of the requirements to immediately report such 

suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation to APS, CPS or 

human rights, as appropriate. 

9. Notify DMAS or its designated agent immediately, in 

writing, of any change in the information that the provider 

previously submitted to DMAS. When ownership of the 

provider changes, notify DMAS at least 15 calendar days 

before the date of such a change.  

10. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 

compliance of the same quality and in the same mode of 

delivery as are provided to the general public. Submit 

charges to DMAS for the provision of services and supplies 

to individuals in amounts not to exceed the provider's usual 

and customary charges to the general public. 

11. Accept as payment in full the amount established and 

reimbursed by DMAS' payment methodology beginning 

with individuals' authorization dates for the waiver services. 

The provider shall not attempt to collect from the individual 

or the individual's responsible relative or relatives any 

amount the provider may consider a balance due amount or 

an uncovered amount. Providers shall not collect balance 

due amounts from individuals or individuals' responsible 

relatives even if such persons are willing to pay such 

amounts. Providers shall not bill DMAS, individuals or their 

responsible relatives for broken or missed appointments.  

12. Collect all applicable patient pay amounts pursuant to 

12VAC30-40-20, 12VAC30-40-30, 12VAC30-40-40, 

12VAC30-40-50, and 12VAC30-40-60. 

13. Use only DMAS-designated forms for service 

documentation. The provider shall not alter the required 

DMAS forms in any manner unless DMAS' approval is 

obtained prior to using the altered forms. 

14. Not perform any type of direct-marketing activities to 

Medicaid individuals. 

15. Furnish access to the records of individuals who are 

receiving Medicaid services and furnish information, on 

request and in the form requested, to DMAS or its designated 

agent or agents, the Attorney General of Virginia or his 

authorized representatives, the state Medicaid Fraud Control 

Unit, the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman and any other 

authorized state and federal personnel. The 

Commonwealth's right of access to individuals receiving 
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services and to provider agencies and records shall survive 

any termination of the provider agreement. 

16. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 

beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 

any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 

and business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, 

institutions, or other legal entities providing any form of 

services to participants of Medicaid. 

17. Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.300 et seq. and § 32.1-325.3 of 

the Code of Virginia, all information associated with a 

waiver applicant or individual that could disclose the 

individual's identity is confidential and shall be safeguarded. 

Access to information concerning waiver applicants or 

individuals shall be restricted to persons or agency 

representatives who are subject to the standards of 

confidentiality that are consistent with that of the agency, 

and any such access must be in accordance with the 

provisions found in 12VAC30-20-90. 

18. Meet staffing, financial solvency, disclosure of 

ownership, assurance of comparability of services 

requirements, and other requirements as specified in the 

provider's written program participation agreement with 

DMAS. 

19. Maintain and retain business and professional records 

sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, scope, 

and details of the services provided fully and accurately with 

documentation necessary to support services billed. Failure 

to meet this requirement may result in DMAS' recovery of 

expenditures resulting from claims payment.  

20. Maintain a medical record for each individual who is 

receiving waiver services. Failure to meet this requirement 

may result in DMAS recovering expenditures made for 

claims paid that are not adequately supported by the 

provider's documentation. 

21. Retain business and professional records at least six 

years from the last date of service or as provided by 

applicable federal and state laws, whichever period is longer. 

However, if an audit is initiated within the required retention 

period, the records shall be retained until the audit is 

completed and every exception resolved. Policies regarding 

retention of records shall apply even if the provider 

discontinues operation. DMAS shall be notified in writing of 

the storage location and procedures for obtaining records for 

review should the need arise. The location, agent, or trustee 

shall be within the Commonwealth. 

22. Retain records of minors for at least six years after such 

minors have reached 21 years of age. 

23. Ensure that all documentation in the individual's record 

is completed, signed, and dated with the name or names of 

the person or persons providing the service and the 

appropriate title, dated with month, day, and year, and in 

accordance with accepted professional practice. This 

documentation shall include the nurses' or PCAs', as 

appropriate, arrival and departure times for each shift that is 

worked. 

24. Begin PDN services for which it expects reimbursement 

only when the admission packet is received and DMAS' 

authorization for skilled PDN services has been given. This 

authorization shall include the enrollment date that shall be 

issued by DMAS staff. It shall be the provider agency's 

responsibility to review and ensure the receipt of a complete 

and accurate screening packet. 

25. Ensure that there is a backup caregiver who accepts 

responsibility for the oversight and care of the individual in 

order to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of the 

individual when the primary caregiver is ill, incapacitated, 

or using PDN respite. Documentation in the medical record 

shall include this backup caregiver's name and phone 

number. 

26. Notify the DMAS staff every time the waiver 

individual's primary residence changes. 

27. Ensure that minimum qualifications of provider staff are 

met as follows: 

a. All RN and LPN employees shall have a satisfactory 

work record, as evidenced by at least two references from 

prior job experiences. In lieu of this requirement for 

personal care aides only, employees who have worked for 

only one employer shall be permitted to provide two 

personal references. Providers who are not able to obtain 

previous job references about personal care aides shall 

retain written documentation showing their good faith 

efforts to obtain such references in the new employee's 

work record.  

b. Staff and agencies shall meet any certifications, 

licensure, or registration, as applicable and as required by 

applicable state law. Staff qualifications shall be 

documented and maintained for review by DMAS or its 

designated agent. All additional provider requirements as 

may be required under a specific waiver service in this part 

shall also be met. 

c. All RNs and LPNs providing skilled PDN services shall 

be currently licensed to practice nursing in the 

Commonwealth. The LPN shall be under the direct 

supervision of an RN. 

d. All RNs and LPNs who provide skilled PDN services 

shall have either (i) at least six months of related clinical 

experience as documented in their history, which may 

include work in acute care hospitals, long-stay hospitals, 

rehabilitation hospitals, or specialized care nursing 

facilities, or (ii) completed a provider training program 

related to the care and technology needs of the assigned 

tech waiver individual. 
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e. Training programs established by providers shall 

include, at a minimum, the following: 

(1) Trainers (either RNs or respiratory therapists) shall 

have at least six months hands-on experience in the areas 

in which they provide training, such as ventilators, 

tracheostomies, peg tubes, and nasogastric tubes.  

(2) Training shall include classroom time as well as direct 

hands-on demonstration of mastery of the specialized 

skills required to work with individuals in the technology 

assisted waiver by the trainee. 

(3) The training program shall include the following 

subject areas as they relate to the care to be provided by 

the tech waiver nurse: (i) human anatomy and physiology, 

(ii) medications frequently used by technology dependent 

individuals, (iii) emergency management, and (iv) the 

operation of the relevant equipment. 

(4) Providers shall assure the competency and mastery of 

the skills necessary to care for tech waiver individuals by 

the nurses prior to assigning them to a tech waiver 

individual. Documentation of successful completion of 

such training course and mastery of the specialized skills 

required to work with individuals in the technology 

assisted waiver shall be maintained in the provider's 

personnel records. This documentation shall be provided 

to DMAS upon request. 

f. The RN supervisor shall be currently licensed to practice 

nursing in the Commonwealth and have at least one year 

of related clinical nursing experience, which may include 

work in an acute care hospital, long-stay hospital, 

rehabilitation hospital, or specialized care nursing facility. 

B. DMAS shall have the authority to require the submission 

of any other medical documentation or information as may be 

required to complete a decision for a waiver individual's 

eligibility, waiver enrollment, or coverage for services. 

1. Review of individual-specific documentation shall be 

conducted by DMAS or its designated agent. This 

documentation shall contain, up to and including the last 

date of service, all of the following, as may be appropriate 

for the service rendered: 

a. All supporting documentation, including physicians' 

orders, from any provider rendering waiver services for 

the individual; 

b. All assessments, reassessments, and evaluations 

(including the complete UAI screening packet or risk 

evaluations) made during the provision of services, 

including any required initial assessments by the RN 

supervisor completed prior to or on the date services are 

initiated and changes to the supporting documentation by 

the RN supervisor; 

c. Progress notes reflecting individual's status and, as 

appropriate, progress toward the identified goals on the 

POC; 

d. All related communication with the individual and the 

family/caregiver, the designated agent for service 

authorization, consultants, DMAS, DSS, formal and 

informal service providers, referral to APS or CPS and all 

other professionals concerning the individual, as 

appropriate; 

e. Service authorization decisions performed by the 

DMAS staff or the DMAS-designated service 

authorization contractor; 

f. All POCs completed for the individual and specific to 

the service being provided and all supporting 

documentation related to any changes in the POCs; and 

g. Attendance logs documenting the date and times 

services were rendered, the amount and type of services 

rendered and the dated professional signature with title. 

2. Review of provider participation standards and renewal of 

provider agreements. DMAS shall be responsible for 

ensuring continued adherence to provider participation 

standards by conducting ongoing monitoring of compliance. 

a. DMAS shall recertify each provider for agreement 

renewal, contingent upon the provider's timely license 

renewal, to provide home and community-based waiver 

services. 

b. A provider's noncompliance with DMAS policies and 

procedures, as required in the provider agreement, may 

result in a written request from DMAS for a corrective 

action plan that details the steps the provider shall take and 

the length of time required to achieve full compliance with 

the corrective action plan that shall correct the cited 

deficiencies. 

c. A provider that has been convicted of a felony, or who 

has otherwise pled guilty to a felony, in Virginia or in any 

other of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, or the U.S. 

territories must, within 30 days of such conviction, notify 

DMAS of this conviction and relinquish its provider 

agreement. Upon such notice, DMAS shall immediately 

terminate the provider's Medicaid provider agreement 

pursuant to § 32.1-325 D of the Code of Virginia and as 

may be required for federal financial participation. Such 

provider agreement terminations shall be immediate and 

conform to § 32.1-325 E of the Code of Virginia.  

d. Providers shall not be reimbursed for services that may 

be rendered between the conviction of a felony and the 

provider's notification to DMAS of the conviction.  

e. Except as otherwise provided by applicable state or 

federal law, the Medicaid provider agreement may be 

terminated at will on 30 days' written notice. The 

agreement may be terminated if DMAS determines that 

the provider poses a threat to the health, safety, or welfare 

of any individual enrolled in a DMAS administered 

program. 
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12VAC30-120-1740. Participation standards for provision 

of services. (Repealed.) 

A. Skilled PDN, skilled PDN respite, and PC services. DMAS 

or its designated agent shall periodically review and audit 

providers' records for these services for conformance to 

regulations and policies, and concurrence with claims that have 

been submitted for payment. When an individual is receiving 

multiple services, the records for all services shall be separated 

from those of non-home and community-based care services, 

such as companion or home health services. The following 

documentation shall be maintained for every individual for 

whom DMAS-enrolled providers render these services: 

1. Physicians' orders for these services shall be maintained 

in the individual's record as well as at the individual's 

primary residence. All recertifications of the POC shall be 

performed within the last five business days of each current 

60-day period. The physician shall sign the recertification 

before Medicaid reimbursement shall occur; 

2. All assessments, reassessments, and evaluations 

(including the complete UAI screening packet or risk 

evaluations) made during the provision of services, 

including any required initial assessments by the RN 

supervisor completed prior to or on the date services are 

initiated and changes to the supporting documentation by the 

RN supervisor; 

3. Progress notes reflecting the individual's status and, as 

appropriate, progress toward the identified goals on the 

POC; 

4. All related communication with the individual and the 

individual's representative, the DMAS designated agent for 

service authorization, consultants, DMAS, DSS, formal and 

informal service providers, all required referrals, as 

appropriate, to APS or CPS and all other professionals 

concerning the individual; 

5. All service authorization decisions rendered by the DMAS 

staff or the DMAS-designated service authorization 

contractor; 

6. All POCs completed with the individual, or 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, and specific to the service 

being provided and all supporting documentation related to 

any changes in the POC; 

7. Attendance logs documenting the date and times services 

were rendered, the amount and type of services rendered and 

the dated signatures of the professionals who rendered the 

specified care, with the professionals' titles. Copies of all 

nurses' records shall be subject to review by either state or 

federal Medicaid representatives or both. Any required 

nurses' visit notes, PCA notes, and all dated contacts with 

service providers and during supervisory visits to the 

individual's home and shall include: 

a. The private duty nurse's or PCA's daily visit note with 

arrival and departure times; 

b. The RN, LPN, or PCA daily observations, care, and 

services that have been rendered, observations concerning 

the individual's physical and emotional condition, daily 

activities and the individual's response to service delivery; 

and 

c. Observations about any other services, such as and not 

limited to meals-on-wheels, companion services, and 

home health services, that the participant may be receiving 

shall be recorded in these notes;  

8. Provider's HIPAA release of information form; 

9. All Long Term Care Communication forms (DMAS-225); 

10. Documentation of rejection or refusal of services and 

potential outcomes resulting from the refusal of services 

communicated to the individual or the individual's 

representative; 

11. Documentation of all inpatient hospital or specialized 

care nursing facility admissions to include service 

interruption dates, the reason for the hospital or specialized 

care nursing facility admission, the name of the facility or 

facilities and primary caregiver notification when applicable 

including all communication to DMAS; 

12. The RN, LPN, or PCA's and individual's, or individual's 

representative's weekly or daily, as appropriate, signatures, 

including the date, to verify that services have been rendered 

during that week as documented in the record. For records 

requiring weekly signatures, such signatures, times, and 

dates shall be placed on these records no earlier than the last 

day of the week in which services were provided and no later 

than seven calendar days from the date of the last service. 

An employee providing services to the tech waiver 

individual cannot sign for the individual. If the individual is 

unable to sign the nurses' records, it shall be documented in 

the record how the nurses' records will be signed or who will 

sign in the individual's place. An employee of the provider 

shall not sign for the individual unless he is a family member 

of the individual or legal guardian of the individual;  

13. Contact notes or progress notes reflecting the 

individual's status; and 

14. Any other documentation to support that services 

provided are appropriate and necessary to maintain the 

individual in the home and in the community.  

B. In addition to meeting the general conditions and 

requirements for home and community-based services 

participating providers and skilled PDN, private duty respite, 

and PC services, providers shall also meet the following 

requirements:  

1. This service shall be provided through either a home 

health agency licensed or certified by the VDH for Medicaid 
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participation and with which DMAS has a contract for either 

skilled PDN or congregate PDN or both;  

2. Demonstrate a prior successful health care delivery;  

3. Operate from a business office; and  

4. Employ (or subcontract with) and directly supervise an 

RN or an LPN. The LPN and RN shall be currently licensed 

to practice in the Commonwealth. Prior to assignment to a 

tech waiver individual, the RN or LPN shall have either (i) 

at least six months of related clinical nursing experience or 

(ii) completed a provider training program related to the care 

and technology needs of the tech waiver individual as 

described in 12VAC30-120-1730 A 27 e. Regardless of 

whether a nurse has six months of experience or completes 

a provider training course, the provider agency shall be 

responsible for assuring all nurses who are assigned to an 

individual are competent in the care needs of that individual.  

5. As part of direct supervision, the RN supervisor shall 

make, at a minimum, a visit every 30 days to ensure both 

quality and appropriateness of PDN, PDN respite services, 

and personal care services to assess the individual's and the 

individual's representative's satisfaction with the services 

being provided, to review the medication and treatments and 

to update and verify the most current physician signed orders 

are in the home.  

a. The waiver individual shall be present when the 

supervisory visits are made. 

b. At least every other visit shall be in the individual's 

primary residence. 

c. When a delay occurs in the RN supervisor's visits 

because the individual is unavailable, the reason for the 

delay shall be documented in the individual's record, and 

the visit shall occur as soon as the individual is available. 

Failure to meet this standard may result in DMAS' 

recovery of payments made.  

d. The RN supervisor may delegate personal care aide 

supervisory visits to an LPN. The provider's RN or LPN 

supervisor shall make supervisory visits at least every 90 

days. During visits to the waiver individual's home, the 

RN or LPN supervisor shall observe, evaluate, and 

document the adequacy and appropriateness of personal 

care services with regard to the individual's current 

functioning status and medical and social needs. The 

personal care aide's record shall be reviewed and the 

waiver individual's or family/caregiver's, or both, 

satisfaction with the type and amount of services 

discussed. 

e. Additional supervisory visits may be required under the 

following circumstances: (i) at the provider's discretion; 

(ii) at the request of the individual when a change in the 

individual's condition has occurred; (iii) any time the 

health, safety, or welfare of the individual could be at risk; 

and (iv) at the request of the DMAS staff.  

6. When private duty respite services are routine in nature 

and offered in conjunction with PC services for adults, the 

RN supervisory visit conducted for PC may serve as the 

supervisory visit for respite services. However, the 

supervisor shall document supervision of private duty respite 

services separately. For this purpose, the same individual 

record can be used with a separate section for private duty 

respite services documentation.  

7. For this waiver, personal care services shall only be 

agency directed and provided by a DMAS-enrolled PC 

provider to adult waiver individuals. 

a. For DMAS-enrolled skilled PDN providers that also 

provide PC services, the provider shall employ or 

subcontract with and directly supervise an RN who will 

provide ongoing supervision of all PCAs. The supervising 

RN shall be currently licensed to practice nursing in the 

Commonwealth and have at least one year of related 

clinical nursing experience, which may include work in an 

acute care hospital, long-stay hospital, rehabilitation 

hospital, or specialized care nursing facility. 

b. In addition to meeting the general conditions and 

requirements for home and community-based services 

participating providers as specified elsewhere in this part, 

the provision of PC services shall also comply with the 

requirements of 12VAC30-120-930.  

8. Skilled monthly supervisory reassessments shall be 

performed in accordance with regulations by the PDN 

agency provider. The agency RN supervisor shall complete 

the monthly assessment visit and submit the "Technology 

Assisted Waiver Supervisory Monthly Summary" form 

(DMAS-103) to DMAS for review by the sixth day of the 

month following the month when the visit occurred. 

9. Failure of the provider to ensure timely submission of the 

required assessments may result in retraction of all skilled 

PDN payments for the period of time of the delinquency. 

C. Assistive technology and environmental modification. 

1. All AT and EM services shall be provided by DMAS-

enrolled DME providers that have a DMAS provider 

agreement to provide AT or EM or both.  

2. AT and EM shall be covered in the least expensive, most 

cost-effective manner. The provider shall document and 

justify why more cost-effective solutions cannot be used. 

DMAS and the DMAS-designated service authorization 

contractor may request further documentation on the 

alternative cost-effective solutions as necessary. 

3. The provider documentation requirements for AT and EM 

shall be as follows: 

a. Written documentation setting out the medical necessity 

for these services regarding the need for service, the 

process and results of ensuring that the item is not covered 

by the State Plan as DME and supplies and that it is not 
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available from a DME provider when purchased 

elsewhere and contacts with vendors or contractors of 

service and cost; 

b. Documentation of any or all of the evaluation, design, 

labor costs or supplies by a qualified professional;  

c. Documentation of the date services are rendered and the 

amount of service needed; 

d. Any other relevant information regarding the device or 

modification; 

e. Documentation in the medical record of notification by 

the designated individual or the individual's representative 

of satisfactory completion or receipt of the service or item; 

f. Instructions regarding any warranty, repairs, 

complaints, or servicing that may be needed; and 

g. Any additional cost estimates requested by DMAS. 

7. The EM or AT provider shall maintain a copy of all 

building permits and all building inspections for 

modifications, as required by code. All instructions 

regarding any warranty, repairs, complaints, and servicing 

that may be needed and the receipt for any purchased goods 

or services. More than one cost estimate may be required. 

8. Individuals who reside in rental property shall obtain 

written permission from the property's owner before any EM 

shall be authorized by DMAS. This letter shall be 

maintained in the provider's record. 

12VAC30-120-1750. Payment for services. (Repealed.) 

A. PC services provided in the tech waiver shall be 

reimbursed at an hourly rate established by DMAS. All skilled 

PDN services and skilled PDN respite care services shall be 

reimbursed in increments of 15 minutes as a unit and shall be 

reimbursed at a rate established by DMAS. 

B. Reimbursement for AT and EM shall be as follows. 

1. All AT covered procedure codes provided in the tech 

waiver shall be reimbursed as a service limit of one and up 

to a per member annual maximum of $5,000 per calendar 

year regardless of waiver. Such service shall only be 

provided to individuals who are also receiving private duty 

nursing. 

2. All EM services shall be reimbursed up to $5,000 per 

individual per calendar regardless of waiver year as long as 

such services are not duplicative. All EM services shall be 

reimbursed at the actual cost of material and labor and no 

mark ups shall be permitted. Such service shall only be 

provided to individuals who are also receiving private duty 

nursing. 

C. Duplication of services. 

1. DMAS shall not duplicate services that are required as a 

reasonable accommodation as a part of the ADA (42 USC 

§§ 12131 through 12165), the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 

USC 791 et seq.), or the Virginians with Disabilities Act (§ 

51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

2. Payment for services under the POC shall not duplicate 

payments made to public agencies or private entities under 

other program authorities for this same purpose. All private 

insurance benefits for skilled PDN shall be exhausted before 

Medicaid reimbursement can occur as Medicaid shall be the 

payer of last resort. 

3. DMAS payments for EM shall not be duplicative in homes 

where multiple waiver individuals reside. For example, one 

waiver individual may be approved for required medically 

necessary bathroom modifications while a second waiver 

individual in the same household would be approved for a 

medically necessary access ramp but not for the same 

improvements to the same bathroom. 

D. Cost-effectiveness computations for the tech waiver shall 

be completed by DMAS upon completion of the POC for all 

individuals entering the waiver. The total annual aggregate cost 

of the waiver shall not exceed the cost of backup facility 

placement. For individuals, regardless of age, the DMAS staff 

shall ensure the anticipated cost to DMAS for the individual's 

waiver services for a 12-month period shall not exceed the 

annual average aggregate costs to DMAS for specialized 

nursing facility care for those individuals 21 years of age or 

older or for continued hospitalization for individuals younger 

than 21 years of age. 

12VAC30-120-1760. Quality management review; 

utilization reviews; level of care (LOC) reviews. 

(Repealed.) 

A. DMAS shall perform quality management reviews for the 

purpose of ensuring high quality of service delivery consistent 

with the attending physicians' orders, approved POCs, and 

service authorized services for the waiver individuals. 

Providers identified as not rendering reimbursed services 

consistent with such orders, POCs, and service authorizations 

shall be required to submit corrective action plans (CAPs) to 

DMAS for approval. Once approved, such CAPs shall be 

implemented to resolve the cited deficiencies.  

B. If the DMAS staff determines, during any review or at any 

other time, that the waiver individual no longer meets the 

aggregated cost-effectiveness standards or medical necessity 

criteria, then the DMAS staff, as appropriate, shall deny 

payment for such waiver individual. Such waiver individuals 

shall be discharged from the waiver.  

C. Securing service authorization shall not necessarily 

guarantee reimbursement pursuant to DMAS utilization review 

of waiver services. 

D. DMAS shall perform annual quality assurance reviews for 

tech waiver enrollees. Once waiver enrollment occurs, the 

Level of Care Eligibility Re-determination audits (LOCERI) 

shall be performed by DMAS. This independent electronic 
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calculation of eligibility determination is performed and 

communicated to the DMAS supervisor for tech waiver. Any 

failure for waiver eligibility requires higher level of review by 

the supervisor and may include a home visit by the DMAS 

staff. 

12VAC30-120-1770. Appeals; provider and recipient. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Providers shall have the right to appeal actions taken by 

DMAS. Provider appeals shall be considered pursuant to 

§ 32.1-325.1 of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) and DMAS regulations at 12VAC30-10-1000 and 

12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560. 

B. Individuals shall have the right to appeal actions taken by 

DMAS. Individuals' appeals shall be considered pursuant to 

12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-120-370. DMAS shall 

provide the opportunity for a fair hearing, consistent with 42 

CFR Part 431, Subpart E. 

C. The individual shall be advised in writing of such denial 

and of his right to appeal consistent with DMAS client appeals 

regulations 12VAC30-110-70 through 12VAC30-110-80.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5055; Filed April 23, 2024, 5:50 p.m. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-260. Certified Recovery 

Residences. 

Agency Contact: Alethea Lambert, Office of Recovery 

Services, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, Jefferson Building, Richmond, VA 

23218-1797, telephone (804) 371-0462, or email 

alethea.lambert@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC35-260) 

Application for a DBHDS Certified Recovery Residence, 

Office of Recovery Service Form (rev. 9/2023) 

Application for a DBHDS Certified Recovery Residence, 

Office of Recovery Service Form (rev. 4/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7890; Filed April 25, 2024, 3:26 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

VIRGINIA EMPLOYMENT COMMISSION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC5-32. Required Records and 

Reports (amending 16VAC5-32-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 60.2-111 and 60.2-115 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2024. 

Effective Date: July 4, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Ashley Ervin, Director of Policy and 

Legislative Affairs, Virginia Employment Commission, 6606 

West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 

774-2713, or email ashley.ervin@vec.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 60.2-111 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Virginia Employment Commission to adopt, amend, or rescind 

such rules and regulations as it deems necessary or suitable to 

carry out the commission's duties and powers. Section 60.2-

115 of the Code of Virginia requires the commission cooperate 

with the U.S. Department of Labor to the fullest extent 

consistent with the provisions of Title 60.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, including requiring such reports in such form and 

containing such information as the U.S. Department of Labor 

requires. 

Purpose: The notification by employers is required by federal 

law. This notification is intended to make those individuals 

who become unemployed aware of the availability of 

unemployment benefits. The notice provides information to 

potential claimants regarding the process for claiming 

unemployment benefits. The regulation will require employers 

to personally provide this information to those who are 

separated from employment, whereas the regulation currently 

only requires the information be posted within the employer's 

offices. The regulation protects the public welfare of the 

Commonwealth by informing citizens of the availability of 

Unemployment Insurance assistance. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

action is not expected to be controversial as the Virginia 

Employment Commission currently has the requirement of a 

mandatory posting for employers that explains how employees 

who have been laid off may file for unemployment insurance 

benefits. The amendments to the regulation will simply require 

employers to physically provide the same information to 

employees at the time of their separation from employment. 

Substance: The amendments require an employer to provide 

separated employees the notice providing information about 

the process for claiming unemployment benefits physically or 

via email at the time of separation from employment. 

mailto:alethea.lambert@dbhds.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC35/forms/Application%20for%20a%20Certified%20Recovery%20Residence,%20Office%20of%20Recovery%20Services%20Form.eff.4.2024-20240425151532.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC35/forms/Application%20for%20a%20Certified%20Recovery%20Residence,%20Office%20of%20Recovery%20Services%20Form.eff.4.2024-20240425151532.pdf
mailto:ashley.ervin@vec.virginia.gov
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Issues: The advantages to private citizens will be to provide 

citizens with helpful information for filing for unemployment 

benefits. The advantages to employers will be that employees 

may have more accurate and timely unemployment claims for 

determining their eligibility for benefits. The advantage to the 

agency will be to have more timely and accurate claims for 

unemployment, which could result in better decisions and 

fewer appeals regarding unemployment claims or decisions. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In order to 

comply with the federal Emergency Unemployment Insurance 

Stabilization and Access Act of 2020, the Virginia Employment 

Commission (VEC) proposes to require employers to provide a 

notification about unemployment benefits and the claim process 

to workers at the time of separation. 

Background. Currently, the Notice to Workers (form VEC-B-29)2 

must be posted at the workplace by every employer subject to 

Virginia unemployment compensation laws. The notice advises an 

employee when they are eligible for unemployment insurance 

benefits and how to apply for those benefits. The proposal would 

require employers to provide a copy of the notice to the employee 

at the time of separation from employment in addition to the 

current posting requirement at the workplace. 

According to VEC, the notification by employers is required by 

federal law. During the pandemic, the first legislation passed by 

Congress was the Families First Coronavirus Response Act. 

Within this legislation was the Emergency Unemployment 

Insurance Stabilization and Access Act of 2020, which required 

states, as a condition of the grant award, to have employers 

provide notice of unemployment services to employees at the time 

of separation from employment. This notification is intended to 

make those individuals who become unemployed aware of the 

availability of unemployment benefits and to provide information 

to potential claimants regarding the process for claiming 

unemployment benefits. In this action, VEC proposes to require 

employers to provide this information to those who are separated 

from employment. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. According to VEC, employers 

would be expected to either hand deliver or send the form 

(electronically or by mail) to the employee at the time of 

separation. VEC intends to use the current form (form VEC-B-

29), which would be available to download, free of charge, from 

the VEC website and all employers would be provided a link to 

the form. Additionally, VEC plans to include the notice of the 

requirement and the form in the new employer packets that are 

sent out when new employers register with VEC. Employers 

would not have to provide an original; a copy would be sufficient. 

The cost of compliance with the proposed requirement appears to 

be small because an existing form would be used, delivery of a 

copy to separated employees would suffice for compliance, and 

electronic delivery would be acceptable. Also, the proposed 

change has already been implemented, but there are currently no 

penalties assessed or audits conducted for failure to comply. 

The main benefit of the proposal is compliance with federal laws 

and ensuring that federal grant funding is not recouped by the 

federal government. As noted above, the provision of this notice 

is a condition of the grant award, thus failure to ensure compliance 

places the $13.4 million, which has already been paid to claimants, 

at risk of recoupment. Other benefits include an increase in the 

likelihood that separated employees would be informed about 

filing for unemployment benefits; that employers may have more 

accurate and timely unemployment claims for determining 

eligibility for benefits; and that VEC may have timelier and more 

accurate claims for unemployment, which could improve 

decision-making and reduce the number of appeals regarding 

unemployment claims or decisions. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed changes 

would require employers to provide a copy of the Notice to 

Workers (form VEC-B-29) to separated employees. Based on the 

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, VEC reports that the total number 

of separations (quits and discharges) in Virginia was 

approximately 1.9 million in 2023. No employer appears to be 

disproportionately affected. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse 

impact may result from the proposed regulation.3 An adverse 

impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs 

for all entities combined.4 As noted, the required delivery of the 

Notice to Workers is not likely to introduce significant compliance 

costs on individual employers. Thus, an adverse impact is not 

indicated. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 Although some of the affected 

employers are likely small businesses, the proposed amendments 

do not appear to adversely affect them. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do not introduce 

costs for localities nor disproportionately affect them. 

Projected Impact on Employment. As discussed, the required 

delivery of notification may result in more timely and accurate 

claims for unemployment benefits, but no direct and significant 

impact on total employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact on 

the use and value of private property or on real estate development 

costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  
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2 https://www.vec.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/vecb29eng 

Revised.pdf 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

4Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

6If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

8Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Employment Commission concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds the requirement for employers to 

provide notification to workers at the time of separation of 

the availability of unemployment compensation.  

16VAC5-32-20. Required reports. 

A. Each employer, as defined in § 60.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia, shall report to the Virginia Employment Commission 

(commission) for each calendar quarter all the information 

concerning the number of workers subject to the Virginia 

Unemployment Compensation Act (the Act) (§ 60.2-100 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia) and the total wages payable with 

respect to employment in all pay periods ending within each 

such quarter. Upon request, each such employer shall furnish 

the commission additional information revealing the wages 

earned by an individual in his the individual's employment 

during the time between the last pay period for which wages 

were paid in any quarter and the end of such quarter. 

B. Each employer shall report quarterly, not later than the last 

day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter, the 

following information in the format prescribed by the 

commission: 

1. Employer's name, address, and any registration number 

assigned to him the employer by the commission; 

2. The quarterly period covered by the report; 

3. The social security account numbers of the workers; 

4. The full legal names of workers, with surnames last; and 

5. Each worker's total wages paid for the quarter. 

Such reports shall be submitted for each calendar quarter of 

each year. 

C. An employer shall immediately notify the commission of the 

filing of any voluntary or involuntary petition in bankruptcy or 

other proceeding under the Federal Bankruptcy Code, the 

commencement of any receivership or similar proceeding, or of 

any assignment for benefit of creditors, and any order of court 

under the laws of Virginia with respect to the foregoing. 

D. Each employing unit shall make such reports as the 

commission may require and shall comply with instructions of the 

commission pertaining to the preparation and return or submission 

of such reports. 

1. Any employing unit which that becomes an employer shall 

give notice to the commission of that fact within 30 days. The 

notice shall contain the employer's name, home address, 

business address, and name of business, if any. 

2. Any employer who terminates his the employer's business for 

any reason or transfers or sells the whole or any part of his the 

employer's business or changes the name or address, or both, of 

his the employer's business, shall within 30 days of such action 

give notice of such fact in writing to the commission. The notice 

shall contain the employer's name, address, and account 

number, along with the name, address, and account number of 

any new owner or part owner. 

E. Every corporation shall file with the commission a verified list 

of its officers and registered agent. Where it is claimed that any of 

the officers are not in the corporation's employment, a complete 

statement of the reasons shall be presented with said list. 

An officer of a corporation, to be considered as being in the 

employment of a corporation, shall perform services, and these 

services shall be performed either (i) for remuneration or (ii) under 

a contract of hire. 

F. At the time of separation from employment, an employer 

shall provide a copy of the required Separation Notice to 

Workers regarding availability of unemployment 

compensation to any employee who is separated from such 

employer. Such notice shall be provided in person or 

electronically to the individual at the time of separation or 

mailed to the individual's last known address. 

https://www.vec.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/vecb29eng%20Revised.pdf
https://www.vec.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/vecb29eng%20Revised.pdf
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NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (16VAC5-32) 

Delinquent Notice-Quarterly, T-COL-001 (rev. 4/2022) 

Employer's Quarterly Tax Report, T-FC20 (rev. 8/2018) 

Voluntary Election Notice, T-COL-009 (rev. 9/2021) 

Report to Determine Liability, T-FC-27 (rev. 10/2015) 

Annual Tax Rate Notice, T-RAT-001 (rev. 12/2021) 

Combined Amended Quarterly Tax and Wage Report, FC-34 

(rev. 7/2012) 

Partial Transfer of Experience for Partial Acquisitions, T-

MRG-007 (rev. 5/2022) 

Waiver of Experience Rate Transfer, T-MRG-001 (rev. 

2/2021) 

501(c)(3) Voluntary Election Notice, T-REG-004 (rev. 

2/2021) 

Account Registration Notice, T-REG-011 (rev. 2/2022) 

Notice to Appear in Lieu of Summons, T-COL-008 (rev. 

3/2021) 

Account Update Notice, T-PRO-001 (rev. 11/2019) 

Missing Information Notice, T-PRO-002 (rev. 8/2020) 

Virginia Employment Commission Notice to Workers, VEC 

B-29 (eff. 3/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7828; Filed May 1, 2024, 9:39 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-350; 

adding 18VAC60-21-55). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: May 6, 2024, through November 5, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jamie Sacksteder, Executive Director, Board 

of Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4581, FAX (804) 698-4266, or 

email jamie.sacksteder@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations 

in which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less 

from its enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under 

the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Pursuant to Chapter 413 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly, 

and required to become effective in 280 days or less by 

Item 301 C of Chapter 1 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, the amendments (i) create training 

requirements for dentists to administer botulinum toxin 

injections for cosmetic purposes; and (ii) change 

18VAC60-21-350 B 9 to provide for "Administration of 

dermal filler".  

18VAC60-21-55. Training requirements for 

administration of botulinum toxin injections for cosmetic 

purposes.  

A. A dentist may possess and administer botulinum toxin 

injections for cosmetic purposes provided that the dentist has 

completed 12 hours of training in the subjects listed in 

subsection C of this section. Training must include a minimum 

of four hours of clinical, in-person training on at least two live 

patients, which shall include patient follow-up post-procedure. 

Eight of the 12 hours of training may be didactic and may be 

obtained online or in person. 

B. To satisfy the requirements of this section, training must 

be provided by a dental program or advanced dental education 

program accredited by CODA, the ADA or its constituent or 

branch associations, or the Academy of General Dentistry. 

C. Training to possess and administer botulinum toxin 

injections for cosmetic purposes shall include the following 

subjects: 

1. Assessing patients for use of botulinum toxin injections;  

2. Screening of patient expectations and psychological 

motivations; 

3. Diagnosis, planning, and treatment; 

4. Informed consent, including off-label use of botulinum 

toxins; 

5. Anatomy and neurophysiology of the head and neck;  

6. Indications and contraindications for the use of botulinum 

toxin injections, including off-label and approved product 

uses; 

7. Pharmacology of neurotoxins and botulinum toxins; 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-COL-001-20220527120323.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/FC20-20220527120936.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-COL-009-20220527121613.pdf
https://www.vec.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/docstore/vecportal/employer/pdf/fc_27new.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-RAT-001-20220527122244.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-FC-34-20220527122712.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-FC-34-20220527122712.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-MRG-007%20(3)-20220613121146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-MRG-007%20(3)-20220613121146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-MRG-001-20220527123046.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-MRG-001-20220527123046.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-REG-004-20220527123249.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-REG-004-20220527123249.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-REG-011-20220527123729.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-COL-008-20220527124116.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-COL-008-20220527124116.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-PRO-001-20220527124324.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/T-PRO-002-20220527124510.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/VEB%20Notice%20to%20Workers,%20B-29%20(eff.%203-2024)-20240503095627.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC5/forms/VEB%20Notice%20to%20Workers,%20B-29%20(eff.%203-2024)-20240503095627.pdf
mailto:jamie.sacksteder@dhp.virginia.gov
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8. Safety and risks associated with use of botulinum toxins, 

including the recognition and management of adverse 

reactions and complications;  

9. Preparation and administration of botulinum toxins; and 

10. Evaluation of patient outcomes. 

18VAC60-21-350. Certification to perform cosmetic 

procedures; applicability. 

A. In order for an oral and maxillofacial surgeon to perform 

aesthetic or cosmetic procedures, he the oral and maxillofacial 

surgeon shall be certified by the board pursuant to § 54.1-

2709.1 of the Code. Such certification shall only entitle the 

licensee to perform procedures above the clavicle or within the 

head and neck region of the body. 

B. Based on the applicant's education, training, and 

experience, certification may be granted to perform the 

following procedures for cosmetic treatment: 

1. Rhinoplasty and other treatment of the nose; 

2. Blepharoplasty and other treatment of the eyelid; 

3. Rhytidectomy and other treatment of facial skin wrinkles 

and sagging; 

4. Submental liposuction and other procedures to remove fat; 

5. Laser resurfacing or dermabrasion and other procedures 

to remove facial skin irregularities; 

6. Browlift (either open or endoscopic technique) and other 

procedures to remove furrows and sagging skin on the upper 

eyelid or forehead; 

7. Platysmal muscle plication and other procedures to correct 

the angle between the chin and neck; 

8. Otoplasty and other procedures to change the appearance 

of the ear; and 

9. Application of injectable medication or material for the 

purpose of treating extra-oral cosmetic conditions. 

Administration of dermal filler. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7739; Filed May 6, 2024, 8:58 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-20) 

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 1/2024) 

Application for a Non-Resident Nonresident Pharmacy 

Registration (rev. 1/2024) 

Application for a Non-Resident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Nonresident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 4/2024) 

Application for Registration as Nonresident Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Third Party Logistics 

Provider Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Nonresident Third-Party Logistics Provider 

Registration (rev. 4/2024) 

Application for Registration as a Nonresident Warehouser 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-resident Nonresident Outsourcing 

Facility Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for an Outsourcing Facility Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Medical Equipment Supplier Permit (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Non-Restricted Nonrestricted 

Manufacturer (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Wholesale Distributor Permit (rev. 4/2024) 

Application for a Permit as Warehouser (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 4/2024) 

Application for Registration as a Non-resident Nonresident 

Medical Equipment Supplier (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 10/2020) 

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 5/2018) 

mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Pharmacy%20Permit%20Application%201-2024-20240109155337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0214%20Nonresident%20Pharmacy%20App%201-2024-20240129092419.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0214%20Nonresident%20Pharmacy%20App%201-2024-20240129092419.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0219%20Nonresident%20Wholesale%20Distributor%204-2024-20240427075931.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0219%20Nonresident%20Wholesale%20Distributor%204-2024-20240427075931.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0242%20Nonresident%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%204-2024-20240427075657.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0242%20Nonresident%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%204-2024-20240427075657.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Outsorc_Facil_App-20210116203955.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0215%20Wholesale%20Distributor%204-2024-20240427075814.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WarehouserApp-20210116210503.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0239%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%204-2024-20240427080032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0239%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%204-2024-20240427080032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg_App-20210116205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg_App-20210116205525.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7e83004673~108.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
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Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 

(rev. 8/2023) 

Registration for a Pharmacy to be a Collection Site for 

Donated Drugs (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Registration for a Facility to be an Authorized Collector for 

Drug Disposal (rev. 5.2018 5/2018) 

Application for Re-inspection Reinspection of a Facility (rev. 

3/2023) 

Notification of Distribution Cessation due to Suspicious 

Orders (rev. 5/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7892; Filed April 27, 2024, 8:02 a.m. 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration of 

Pharmacy Technicians (amending 18VAC110-21-46). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3303.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

The Governor has approved the request of the Board of 

Pharmacy to extend the expiration date of the emergency 

regulation for 18VAC110-21 for six months as provided for in 

§ 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. Therefore, the 

emergency regulation is continued in effect through February 

19, 2025. This extension is required for the board to continue 

to meet the mandate of Chapters 790 and 791 of the 2022 Acts 

of Assembly, which requires the board to promulgate 

emergency regulations regarding pharmacists initiating 

treatment, building on legislation from 2020 and 2021 

allowing pharmacists to initiate treatment. The emergency 

regulation was published in 39:15 VA.R. 2068-2069 March 13, 

2023. 

Effective Date Extended Through: February 19, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 527-4472, 

or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7339; Filed April 23, 2024, 5:28 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-309. Rules for Enforcement of 

the Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act 

(amending 20VAC5-309-190). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-265.30 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: William Henry Harrison IV, Senior Counsel, 

Office of General Counsel, Public Utility Regulation, State 

Corporation Commission P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 371-9228, or email 

william.harrison@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments enable the implementation of 

new electronic white lining technology, which will assist 

in defining planned areas of excavation for the further 

prevention of damage to underground utility lines. 

AT RICHMOND, APRIL 23, 2024 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

CASE NO. URS-2024-00068 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

Ex Parte: In the matter concerning a  

rulemaking proceeding to revise the Commission's Rules 

for Enforcement of the Virginia Underground Utility 

Damage  

Prevention Act, 20VAC5-309-10 et seq.  

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT 

Virginia Code ("Code") § 56-265.30 directs the State 

Corporation Commission ("Commission") to enforce the 

provisions of Chapter 10.3 of Title 56, the Virginia 

Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act ("Act") and 

provides for the Commission's promulgation of rules or 

regulations necessary to implement the Commission's 

authority. The Commission's Rules for Enforcement of the 

Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act ("Damage 

Prevention Rules") are set forth in Chapter 309 of Title 20 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code.1  

The Commission’s Division of Utility Railroad and Safety 

("Division") has proposed revisions to the Damage Prevention 

Rules ("Proposed Rules") to facilitate use of electronic white 

lining that may not involve aerial imagery and provided the 

following information in support. Electronic white lining is a 

method by which excavators may indicate their intended 

excavation area visually through electronic data entry. The 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0226%20Pilot%20Program%20application%208-2023-20230807111134.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0226%20Pilot%20Program%20application%208-2023-20230807111134.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Re-Inspection%20Application%203-2023-20230414152057.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Re-Inspection%20Application%203-2023-20230414152057.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10605
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10605
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:william.harrison@scc.virginia.gov
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purpose of this Rulemaking is to modify 20VAC5-309-190 

("Rule 190") to supplement the text-based description 

currently employed by Virginia Utility Protection Services, 

Inc. ("Va811").2 Electronic white lining will allow excavators 

to provide detailed and specific visual renderings of excavation 

areas to Va811, and ultimately to utility operators or their 

locators. In this way, the Rulemaking is intended to advance 

safety by allowing excavators to provide a more precise 

excavation area which could result in more accurate and 

efficient utility line locates. Electronic white lining is currently 

contemplated in the Commission's Damage Prevention Rules;3 

however, electronic white lining has not before been used in 

conjunction with the submission of locate requests to Va811.  

The Division has advised the Commission that the Damage 

Prevention Advisory Committee supports the implementation 

of electronic white lining by Va811.  

The Division also explains that the Proposed Rules clarify that 

in the event that electronic white lining images conflict with 

the text-based description provided for a proposed excavation 

area, the conflict will be resolved in favor of the electronic 

white lined image. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, is of the opinion and finds that a proceeding should 

be established to adopt revisions to the Rules to allow for the 

use of electronic while lining that may not involve aerial 

imagery. Attachment A to this Order for Notice and Comment 

("Order") contains the Division's Proposed Rules. We direct 

the Staff of the Commission ("Staff") to provide notice of the 

Proposed Rules to interested persons and that they be provided 

an opportunity to file written comments on, proposed 

modifications or supplements to, or request a hearing on the 

Proposed Rules. We further find that a copy of the Proposed 

Rules should be sent to the Registrar of Regulations for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  

To promote administrative efficiency and timely service of 

filings upon participants, the Commission will, among other 

things, direct the electronic filing of comments and pleadings 

unless they contain confidential information, and require 

electronic service on participants in this proceeding. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This matter is docketed as Case No. URS-2024-00068. 

(2) All comments, pleadings or other documents filed in this 

matter should be submitted electronically to the extent 

authorized by Rule 5VAC5-20-150, Copies and format, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure ("Rules of 

Practice").4 Confidential and Extraordinarily Sensitive 

Information shall not be submitted electronically and should 

comply with 5VAC5-20-170, Confidential information, of the 

Rules of Practice. Any person seeking to hand deliver and 

physically file or submit any pleading or other document shall 

contact the Clerk's Office Document Control Center at (804) 

371-9838 to arrange the delivery. 

(3) Pursuant to 5 VAC 5-20-140, Filing and service, of the 

Rules of Practice, the Commission directs that service on 

participants and Staff in this matter shall be accomplished by 

electronic means. Concerning Confidential or Extraordinarily 

Sensitive Information, participants and Staff are instructed to 

work together to agree upon the manner in which documents 

containing such information shall be served upon one another, 

to the extent practicable, in an electronically protected manner, 

even if such information is unable to be filed in the Office of 

the Clerk, so that no participant or Staff is impeded from 

participating in this matter.  

(4) Staff shall forward an electronic copy of this Order, 

including a copy of the Proposed Rules, to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

(5) An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules may be obtained 

by submitting a request to William Henry Harrison IV, Esq., in 

the Commission's Office of General Counsel at the following 

email address: william.harrison@scc.virginia.gov. An 

electronic copy of the Proposed Rules can be found on the 

Commission's website: scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking. 

Interested persons may also download unofficial copies of the 

Order and the Proposed Rules from the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information.  

(6) Staff shall provide copies of this Order by electronic 

transmission, or when electronic transmission is not possible, 

by mail, to: individuals, organizations, and companies who 

have been identified by Staff as potentially being interested in 

this proceeding. 

(7) On or before August 19, 2024, any interested person may 

file comments or request a hearing on the Proposed Rules by 

following the instructions found on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments. 

Those unable, as a practical matter, to submit comments 

electronically, may file such comments by U.S. mail to the 

Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218-

2118. All comments shall refer to Case No. URS-2024-00068. 

Any request for hearing shall state with specificity why the 

issues raised in the request for hearing cannot be adequately 

addressed in written comments. If a sufficient request for 

hearing is not received, the Commission may consider the 

matter and enter an order based upon the papers filed herein.  

(8) On or before September 4, 2024, Staff shall file with the 

Clerk of the Commission a report on or a response to any 

comments, proposals contained therein, or requests for hearing 

submitted to the Commission on the Proposed Rules.  

(9) All documents filed in paper form with the Office of the 

Clerk of the Commission in this docket may use both sides of 

the paper. In all other respects, except as modified by this 

order, all filings shall comply fully with the requirements of 

5VAC5-20-150, Copies and format, of the Rules of Practice. 

(10) This matter is continued. 

mailto:william.harrison@scc.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/7846/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments


Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 20  Virginia Register of Regulations  May 20, 2024  

1767 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of the 

Commission to all persons on the official Service List in this 

matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

_____________________________ 

1 20VAC5-309-10 et seq. 

2 Va811 is the entity certificated to operate as the single one-call notification 

center provider for the Commonwealth pursuant to Va. Code § 56-265.16:1. 

3 See 20VAC5-309-190. 

4 5VAC5-20-10 et seq. 

20VAC5-309-190. Delineating specific location of a 

proposed excavation or demolition. 

A. Any person, as defined in § 56-265.15 of the Code of 

Virginia, submitting a locate request shall clearly describe the 

limits of the proposed excavation or demolition with sufficient 

detail to enable the operators to ascertain the location of the 

proposed excavation. The specific location of the proposed 

excavation or demolition may include: 

1. GPS coordinates taken at a single point where work is 

planned or GPS coordinates taken to delineate a line, multi-

segment line, or polygon. When providing a single point, 

line, or multi-segment line, the person providing notice shall 

include an area measured in feet from the coordinates that 

describe the work area. If a polygon is used, the proposed 

work area shall be inside the polygon. GPS nomenclatures 

used for providing coordinates to the notification center shall 

be as approved by the advisory committee. 

2. White lining to delineate the area where excavation will 

take place. For single point excavation, the area shall be 

marked using dots, dashes, or white flags to show the 

operators the area of excavation. If utility markings are 

desired outside a white lined area, the excavator shall 

provide clear instructions, to include the distance in feet 

outside the white lined area, to the notification center. For 

continuous excavations, such as trenching and boring, the 

excavator shall mark the center line of excavation by the use 

of dots or dashes. The excavation width, in feet, shall be 

indicated on either side of the center line in legible figures 

or noted in the marking instructions given to the notification 

center. 

3. White lining performed by electronic means using aerial 

imagery. White lining performed by electronic means shall 

follow the same requirements as listed in subdivision 2 of 

this subsection. When submitting information to the 

notification center pursuant to § 56-265.17 of the Code of 

Virginia, any conflict between text-based descriptions of the 

specific location of a proposed excavation and any images 

depicting the specific location of a proposed excavation 

submitted in compliance with the notification center's 

electronic white lining standards shall be resolved in favor 

of the electronically white lined image. 

4. A reference to the two nearest intersecting streets, if 

available, or driving directions. 

B. In the event that a proposed excavation or demolition is 

planned at a single address at which there is no more than one 

structure, the area of proposed excavation or demolition may, 

if geographically feasible, be described by dividing the parcel 

or property into four quadrants from the perspective of facing 

the front of the property using the center of the structure as the 

center point of the four quadrants. If no structure exists on the 

property, the center of the parcel or property will be used as the 

center point of the four quadrants. These four quadrants shall 

be referred to as Front Left, Front Right, Rear Left, and Rear 

Right. If the proposed area consists only of Front Left and 

Front Right quadrants, the term "Front" shall be sufficient. If 

the proposed area of excavation consists only of Rear Left and 

Rear Right quadrants, the term "Rear" shall be sufficient. If the 

proposed area of excavation consists only of Front Left and 

Rear Left quadrants, the term "Left Side" shall be sufficient. If 

the proposed area of excavation consists only of Front Right 

and Rear Right quadrants, the term "Right Side" shall be 

sufficient. If the proposed area of excavation includes three out 

of the four quadrants, the entire property may be used for the 

proposed excavation or demolition. 

C. If the locate request does not contain specific location 

information, the notification center shall suspend the issuance of 

the locate request until specific location information is obtained, 

except in the case of excavations or demolitions performed during 

an emergency, as defined in § 56-265.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

The notification center shall issue the emergency notices with as 

much information as is available to it. 

D. The area covered under each locate request shall not exceed 

1/3 of a mile. Locate requests with areas of proposed excavation 

located on parcels defined within the existing notification center 

mapping data and having one or more sides that is 1/3 of a mile or 

longer shall not automatically exceed the area covered by a single 

locate request. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7846; Filed April 23, 2024, 4:11 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Title of Document: Customer Vision Report. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2024. 

Effective Date: June 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Nicholas Megibow, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 367-6701, or email 

nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for deletion and the listed agencies have opened up a 30-day public comment 

period. The listed agencies had previously identified these documents as certified guidance documents, pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to 

view the deleted document and comment. This information is also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact. 

BOARD OF CONSERVATION AND RECREATION 

Titles of Documents: Bear Creek State Park Master Plan. 

Belle Isle State Park Master Plan. 

Caledon State Park Master Plan. 

Chippokes State Park Master Plan. 

Claytor Lake State Park Master Plan. 

Douthat State Park Master Plan. 

Fairy Stone State Park Master Plan. 

False Cape State Park Master Plan. 

First Landing State Park Master Plan. 

Grayson Highlands State Park Master Plan. 

High Bridge Trail State Park Master Plan. 

Holliday Lake State Park Master Plan. 

Hungry Mother State Park Master Plan. 

James River State Park Master Plan. 

Kiptopeke State Park Master Plan. 

Lake Anna State Park Master Plan. 

Leesylvania State Park Master Plan. 

Mason Neck State Park Master Plan. 

Middle Peninsula State Park Master Plan. 

Natural Bridge State Park Master Plan. 

Natural Tunnel State Park Master Plan. 

New River Trail State Park Master Plan. 

Occoneechee State Park Master Plan. 

Pocahontas State Park Master Plan. 

Powhatan State Park Master Plan. 

Raymond R. Guest, Jr. Shenandoah River State Park. 

Sailor's Creek Battlefield Historical State Park Master Plan. 

Seven Bends State Park Master Plan. 

Sky Meadows State Park Master Plan. 

Smith Mountain Lake State Park Master Plan. 

Southwest Virginia Museum Historical State Park Master Plan. 

Staunton River Battlefield State Park Master Plan. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/med-4_08-24-2023.pdf
mailto:nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
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Staunton River State Park Master Plan. 

Twin Lakes State Park Master Plan. 

Westmoreland State Park Master Plan. 

Widewater State Park Master Plan. 

Wilderness Road State Park Master Plan. 

York River State Park Master Plan. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2024. 

Effective Date: June 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning Director, 

Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main 
Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

4378, or email lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA PORT AUTHORITY 

Titles of Documents: State Travel Policy. 

Virginia Port Authority Real Estate Procedures Manual. 

Virginia Port Authority Travel Policy, Supplement. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 19, 2024. 

Effective Date: June 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Thomas Cross, Director of State and Local 

Government Affairs, Virginia Port Authority, 600 World 

Trade Center, Norfolk, VA 23510, telephone (757) 683-2128, 

or email tcross@portofvirginia.com. 

 

ANNUAL LIST 

Section 2.2-4103.1 of the Code of Virginia requires annual publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations of guidance 

document lists from state agencies. A guidance document is defined as "…any document developed by a state agency or staff 

that provides information or guidance of general applicability to the staff or public to interpret or implement statutes or the 

agency's rules or regulations..." Agencies are required to maintain a complete, current list of all guidance documents and make 

the full text of such documents available to the public. 

Generally, the format for the guidance document list is: document number (if any), title of document, date issued or last revised, 

and citation of Virginia Administrative Code regulatory authority or Code of Virginia statutory authority. Questions concerning 

documents or requests for copies of documents should be directed to the contact person listed by the agency. 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Copies of the following guidance documents may be viewed 

during regular work days from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. in the office 

of the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa 

Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia 23228, or on the 

department's website at http://www.dwr.virginia.gov. Copies 

of most documents listed may be obtained at no charge, and 

copies of larger documents may be obtained at cost as provided 

for under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. Requests 

for copies and questions regarding interpretation or 

implementation of these documents may be directed to the 

attention of the agency policy analyst and regulatory 

coordinator at the address provided or telephone (804) 367-

8341. Some of the documents are available at the links 

provided. 

Guidance Documents: 

7678, ACOE Applicants - Wildlife Scoping, 12/21/2023 

7679, ACOE Staff - Coordination with DWR Coastal Zone 

Management Act (CZMA) Consistency, 12/21/2023 

7680, ACOE Staff Wildlife Scoping, 12/21/2023 

7681, Management of Bald Eagle Nests, Concentration Areas, 

and Communal Roosts in Virginia: A Guide for Landowners, 

12/21/2023 

7682, Canebrake Rattlesnake Mitigation, 12/21/2023 

7683, DWR Staff Project Review Protocol, 12/21/2023 

7684, Fish Relocation Best Practices, 12/21/2023 

7685, DWR Henslow's Sparrow Acoustic Survey Protocols, 

12/21/2023 

7686, Surface Water Withdrawal Intake Design and Operation 

Standards, 12/21/2023 

7687, Interagency Coordination, 12/21/2023 

7688, Conservation Practices for Little Brown and Tri-Colored 

Bats, 12/21/2023 

7689, DWR Loggerhead Shrike Acoustic Survey Protocols, 

12/21/2023 

7690, Freshwater Mussel Guidelines for Virginia, 12/21/2023 

7691, Osprey Nest Management in Virginia: A Guideline for 

Landowners, 12/21/2023 

7692, Wildlife Scoping Instructions and Resource Protection 

Recommendations, 12/21/2023 

7693, Instructions for DCR Soil and Water Conservation District 

Staff, 12/21/2023 

7694, Solar Energy Facility Construction and Operation 

Recommendations, 12/21/2023 

7695, State Permit or Project Reviewers, 12/21/2023 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2407
mailto:lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2390
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/407/ToBeDeleted
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/407/ToBeDeleted
file:///C:/Users/nclemons/Downloads/tcross@portofvirginia.com
http://www.dwr.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7678
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7678
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7679
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7679
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7679
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7680
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7680
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7681
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7681
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7681
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7682
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7682
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7683
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7683
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7684
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7684
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7685
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7685
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7686
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7686
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7686
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7687
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7687
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7688
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7688
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7688
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7689
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7689
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7690
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7690
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7691
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7691
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7691
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7692
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7692
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7692
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7693
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7693
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7693
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7694
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7694
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7694
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7695
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7695
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7696, Survey Protocols for Mabees and Eastern Tiger 

Salamanders, 12/21/2023 

7697, Surveys - Expiration Times for Animals in VA, 12/21/2023 

7698, Time of Year Restrictions - Various Species, 12/21/2023 

7699, Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

- DWR Review Procedures, 12/21/2023 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7696
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7696
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7696
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7697
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7697
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7698
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7698
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7699
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7699
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=7699
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General Notices 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

State Human Rights Committee Decision on 
Variances to the Regulations to Assure the Rights 
of Individuals Receiving Services from Providers 

Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department 
of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

Notice of action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part 

VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220), of the Regulations to 

Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 

Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (12VAC35-

115),(Human Rights Regulations) is announcing a decision on 

an application for proposed variances to the Human Rights 

Regulations submitted to the State Human Rights Committee 

(SHRC). The purpose of the regulations is to ensure and protect 

the legal and human rights of individuals receiving services in 

facilities or programs operated, licensed, or funded by 

DBHDS. 

Each variance application references the specific part of the 

regulation to which a variance is needed, the proposed wording 

of the substitute rule or procedure, and the justification for a 

variance. The application also describes time limits and other 

conditions for duration and the circumstances that will end the 

applicability of the variance. 

Purpose of notice: After considering all available information, 

at the committee's meeting on April 11, 2024, the SHRC voted 

to approve the application for variances to the Human Rights 

Regulations for the DBHDS Virginia Center for Behavioral 

Rehabilitation (VCBR) for a three-year period, with annual 

updates to the SHRC. 

The committee has approved variances to procedures for 

12VAC35-115-150, General provisions; 12VAC35-115-175, 

Human rights complaint process; 12VAC35-115-180, Local 

human rights committee hearing and review procedures; 

12VAC35-115-190, Special procedures for emergency 

hearings by the LHRC; 12VAC35-115-200, Special 

procedures for LHRC reviews involving consent and 

authorization; and 12VAC35-115-210, State Human Rights 

Committee appeals procedures. 

Explanation: Prior to 2010, VCBR followed the complaint 

process outlined in the Human Rights Regulations. As the 

census of the facility grew, the volume of complaints from 

residents overburdened the local human rights committee 

(LHRC) and became a treatment distraction for residents. The 

decision was made not to utilize a different LHRC for matters 

involving VCBR due to the volume. The modified resident 

complaint process provides a similar level of review to the 

regulation sections listed in this notice. This modified 

complaint process allows for a review of complaints at a 

"Formal" level and at a "Director" level within the facility. The 

complaints coordinator of the facility meets with the resident 

at the Formal level in an attempt to resolve the issue at hand. 

At the Director level, the facility director or the facility 

director's designee reviews the complaint and attempts to 

resolve the issue at hand. If the resident is not satisfied with the 

determination or actions by the facility, the resident may 

appeal the decision to the VCBR Complaints Appeal 

Committee. This appeal committee is comprised of two 

members of the SHRC and the Director of the DBHDS Office 

of Human Rights. Having the appeal committee ensures that 

there is still a process in place for a final review by individuals 

not affiliated with the facility. 

Contact Information: Taneika Goldman, Director, Office of 

Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 

23218-1797, telephone (804) 371-0064, FAX (804) 731-1241, 

TDD (804) 371-8977, or email taneika.goldman@dbhds. 

virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Energix EPC  
US LLC, Caden Energix Axton LLC, and  

Waverly Solar LLC 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for Energix EPC US LLC, Caden 

Energix Axton LLC, and Waverly Solar LLC for violations of 

State Water Control Law and regulations in Buckingham, 

Henry, Sussex (Waverly), and Wythe Counties, Virginia. The 

proposed order is available from the DEQ contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact will accept 

written comments from May 20, 2024, to June 21, 2024. 

Contact Information: Kristen Sadtler, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, or email kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

mailto:taneika.goldman@dbhds.virginia.gov
mailto:taneika.goldman@dbhds.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:email%20kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
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regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-880. General VPDES Permit 

for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 

Activities. 

Publication: 40:16 VA.R. 1333-1358 March 25, 2024. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1340, 9VAC25-880-50 B 17, line 4, after "[ (9VAC25-

875-590)" replace "(9VAC25-870-580)" with "(9VAC25-875-

580)" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7057; Filed April 26, 2024, 11:03 a.m. 
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