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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 
REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequen111tial impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and 

date. 34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, 

Issue 8, pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on 

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 

6 (§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Marcus B. Simon, 

Chair; Russet W. Perry, Vice Chair; Katrina E. Callsen; Nicole 

Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Michael 

Mullin; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Managing 

Editor; Erin Comerford, Regulations Analyst. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4007.06/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4006/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4006/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4031/


PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 
This schedule is available on the Virginia Register of Regulations website (http://register.dls.virginia.gov). 

Volume 40, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 15, 2024  

1918 

PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2024 through August 2025 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

40:25 July 10, 2024 July 29, 2024 

40:26 July 24, 2024 August 12, 2024 

41:1 August 7, 2024 August 26, 2024 

41:2 August 21, 2024 September 9, 2024 

41:3 September 4, 2024 September 23, 2024 

41:4 September 18, 2024 October 7, 2024 

41:5 October 2, 2024 October 21, 2024 

41:6 October 16, 2024 November 4, 2024 

41:7 October 30, 2024 November 18, 2024 

41:8 November 13, 2024 December 2, 2024 

41:9 November 26, 2024 (Tuesday) December 16, 2024 

41:10 December 11, 2024 December 30, 2024 

41:11 December 23, 2024 (Monday) January 13, 2025 

41:12 January 8, 2025 January 27, 2025 

41:13 January 22, 2025 February 10, 2025 

41:14 February 5, 2025 February 24, 2025 

41:15 February 19, 2025 March 10, 2025 

41:16 March 5, 2025 March 24, 2025 

41:17 March 19, 2025 April 7, 2025 

41:18 April 2, 2025 April 21, 2025 

41:19 April 16, 2025 May 5, 2025 

41:20 April 30, 2025 May 19, 2025 

41:21 May 14, 2025 June 2, 2025 

41:22 May 28, 2025 June 16, 2025 

41:23 June 11, 2025 June 30, 2025 

41:24 June 25, 2025 July 14, 2025 

41:25 July 9, 2025 July 28, 2025 

41:26 July 23, 2025 August 11, 2025 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-830. Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Area Designation and Management 

Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15:69 and 62.1-44.15:72 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: David W. Schnare. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: On March 11, 2024, the 

Department of Environmental Quality received David W. 

Schnare's petition to the State Water Control Board. The 

petitioner requested the board establish by policy or rule a 

position on:  

"1. Whether an Exception Review Committee established 

under the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act must only 

recognize a Resource Protection Area buffer measured from a 

nontidal wetland in which the geographic extents of the 

nontidal wetland was determined independent of federal 

jurisdictional determinations made under the Federal Clean 

Water Act, or studies intended to support such jurisdictional 

determinations, and addresses all elements identified in 

9VAC25-830-40 and relevant local ordinances; and 

2. Whether an applicant for an exception under Fairfax County 

Ordinance § 118-6-1 can rely on the Atlantic and Gulf Coastal 

Plain Manual methodologies in order to determine the 

existence of a nontidal wetland as defined under 33 CFR 328.3 

Fairfax County Ordinance § 118-1-6(q), to wit, the presence or 

absence of a prevalence of vegetation typically adapted for life 

in saturated soil conditions under normal circumstances; and 

3. Requested the board amend 9VAC25-830-40 to read: 

"Nontidal wetlands" means those wetlands lands other than 

tidal wetlands that are inundated or saturated by surface or 

ground water at a frequency and duration sufficient to support, 

and that under normal circumstances do support, a prevalence 

of vegetation typically adapted for life in saturated soil 

conditions, as defined by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency pursuant to § 404 of the federal Clean Water Act in 33 

CFR 328.3b. whose hydrophytic vegetation indicators, hydric 

soil indicators, and wetland hydrology indicators reveal the 

subject land is a wetland as described in the Regional 

Supplement to the Corps of Engineers Wetland Delineation 

Manual: Eastern Mountains and Piedmont Region (ERDC/EL 

TR-12-9) or the Regional Supplement to the Corps of 

Engineers Wetland Delineation Manual: Atlantic and Gulf 

Coastal Plain Region (ERDC/EL TR-10-20) or later versions 

thereof." 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At the State Water Control 

Board's June 25, 2024, meeting, the board unanimously voted 

to deny the petitioner's request for rulemaking. The board's 

decision was based on the following: 

Regarding requests 1 and 2 in the petition, this request is not 

of a nature for action by the board pursuant to § 2.2-4007 of 

the Code of Virginia and 9VAC25-11-60 as the request does 

not relate to establishing or amending a regulation. This 

request is best addressed through guidance and technical 

assistance as provided by the Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ). 

Regarding request 3 in the petition, this request is of a nature 

for consideration by the board. However, the requested 

amended definition of nontidal wetlands in 9VAC25-830-40 

would create an improper, inconsistent, and unnecessary 

revision to the definition. 

The proposed definition would be inconsistent with the 

definition of wetlands under State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The Code of Virginia 

provides a specific narrative definition of wetlands that is 

consistent with the definition provided for in Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Area Designation and Management Regulations 

(9VAC25-830). 

Additionally, the proposed definition would be inconsistent 

with the mirroring narrative definition of nontidal wetlands 

under Virginia Water Protection Permit Program Regulation 

(9VAC25-210). Ensuring continuity between these definitions 

is essential given the interplay of these programs, particularly 

as 9VAC25-830 and the Bay Act program defer to the 

9VAC25-210 requirements, including the technical framework 

and guidance, for a wetland delineation. Thus, any proper 

consideration of a revision to definition of nontidal wetlands 

should not occur within 9VAC25-830. 

The United States Supreme Court's Sackett v. Environmental 

Protection Agency decision did not involve or change Virginia 

law and under the Clean Water Act did not change the 

definition of wetlands. In its post-Sackett rulemaking, the 

Environmental Protection Agency did not change the 

definition of wetlands. The definition has remained unchanged 

since the original promulgation in 1986. Thus, Sackett does not 

compel a regulatory amendment or change the way wetlands 

are delineated within the Commonwealth including under 

9VAC25-830. 

Also, while practically, the proposed definition in the petition 

does include technical considerations for delineating wetlands, 

such language would potentially create an inappropriate 

narrowing of the definition of wetlands and such definition 

includes language and references that are best identified in 

guidance and technical manuals. The 1987 Manual and 

accompanying Regional Supplements do provide additional 

technical guidance for delineation and should be utilized in 

making such delineation but are not a proper source for 

determining the legal definition of a nontidal wetland. 
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Agency Contact: Justin Williams, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-

1125, or email justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-38; Filed March 19, 2024, 1:24 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 

Certification Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Patrick Jeffers. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation and 

the Board for Contractors amend subdivision 11 of 18VAC50-

30-190, which provides for prohibited acts. 

18VAC50-30-190 states, in part: 

"Any of the following are cause for disciplinary action: 

11. Where the regulant has been convicted or found guilty, 

after initial licensure or certification, regardless of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of any felony or of a 

misdemeanor involving lying, cheating or stealing, sexual 

offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, physical injury, or 

relating to the practice of the profession, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed. Any 

pleas of guilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record of 

a conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where 

convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

guilt;" 

The petitioner requests that the term "sexual offense" in the 

prohibited act be stricken. 

The petitioner contends that subdivision 11 of 18VAC50-30-

190 invites the board to apply § 54.1-204 B of the Code of 

Virginia in a manner that exceeds the board's police power 

under §§ 54.1-100 and 54.1-201 A 5 of the Code of Virginia 

by allowing the board to divest tradesman applicants with 

certain criminal convictions of their fundamental right to 

pursue and practice their occupations of choice absent the 

board's legitimate protective need to prevent them from 

perpetrating deceptive or misleading trade practices or to 

ensure their continuing trade competency in contravention of 

the Constitution of the United States, the Constitution of 

Virginia, and federal and state statutory and common law. 

The petition provides additional legal argument regarding the 

bases upon which the prohibited act exceeds the board's police 

power. 

A copy of the petition is available from the agency. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The regulation cited in the 

petition, 18VAC50-30-190, provides for a prohibited act that 

applies to regulants who have been convicted of any felony or 

of certain misdemeanors after receiving a license. Based on a 

review of the petition, it appears the intention of the petitioner 

was to address the board's requirement that, pursuant to 

18VAC50-30-30, individuals must disclose any felony 

convictions and any non-marijuana misdemeanor convictions 

at the time application is made. It further appears the petition 

addresses the board's legal authority to refuse issuance of a 

license to applicants for licensure rather than the board's 

authority to discipline a licensee. 

Section 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia provides that a person 

shall not be refused a license to practice, pursue, or engage in 

any regulated occupation or profession solely because of a 

prior criminal conviction, unless the conviction directly relates 

to the occupation or profession for which the license is sought. 

This section of the Code of Virginia also sets forth criteria the 

board must consider when determining whether a criminal 

conviction directly relates to an occupation or profession. 

These include the nature and seriousness of the crime; the 

relationship of the crime to the ability, capacity, or fitness 

required to perform the duties and discharge the 

responsibilities of the occupation; and the extent to which the 

occupation or profession might offer an opportunity to engage 

in further criminal activity of the same type. 

The statutes and regulations of the board provide for the 

protection of the health, safety, and welfare of the public. 

Removing the provision in the regulation that requires an 

applicant to disclose any felony convictions and non-marijuana 

misdemeanor convictions, including sexual offense 

convictions, does not fulfill the board's obligation to provide 

these protections. Considering this, along with public 

comments received in response to the petition, the board denies 

the petitioner's request. 

Agency Contact: Cameron Parris, Regulatory Operations 

Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-9183, or email 

cameron.parris@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-37; Filed March 26, 2024, 8:09 a.m. 

mailto:justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:Cameron.Parris@dpor.virginia.gov
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BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Assisted Living Facility Administrators. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Sandy Rosenblatt. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators amend 18VAC95-

30-170 B to allow assisted living providers with multiple 

locations within a 30-minute average one-way distance with a 

combined capacity of 20 residents to be an eligible training 

facility for an assisted living facility administrator-in-training 

program or for an internship. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Board of Long-Term 

Care Administrators discussed the petition in detail at the June 

18, 2024, meeting and decided to take no action on the petition. 

The board is currently engaging stakeholders through a 

workgroup on assisted living facilities administrators-in-

training training programs and plans to introduce the topic of 

bed capacity restrictions on training locations at the board's 

next meeting. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 

367-4595, or email corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-36; Filed February 20, 2024, 11:25 a.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Tamara Peterson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Counseling amend 18VAC115-20-52 D to require 

supervisors to report the total hours of residency and evaluate 

an applicant's competency within a set timeframe. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on July 15, 2024. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which 

opens July 15, 2024, and closes August 14, 2024. The Board 

of Counseling will consider the petition and all comments in 

support or opposition at the next meeting after the close of 

public comment. That meeting is currently scheduled for 

October 4, 2024. The petitioner will be notified of the board's 

decision after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 14, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR24-35; Filed June 18, 2024, 9:54 a.m. 

mailto:corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulations are undergoing a periodic 

review and small business impact review: 8VAC20-310, Rules 

Governing Instructions Concerning Drugs and Substance 

Abuse; 8VAC20-320, Regulations Governing Physical and 

Health Education; 8VAC20-360, Regulations Governing 

General Educational Development Certificates; 8VAC20-

530, Regulations Governing Criteria to Identify Toxic Art 

Materials; Labeling; Use in Elementary Grades 

Prohibited; and 8VAC20-565, Regulations for the 

Protection of Students As Participants in Human Research. 

The review of these regulations will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review 

is to determine whether each regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to these regulations, 

including whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 15, 2024, and ends August 

5, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Dentistry conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 18VAC60-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained as is. The board is publishing its report of 

findings dated June 21, 2024, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because the regulation sets forth procedures 

for participation of the public in the development of board 

regulations. Additionally, this regulation is required by statute, 

and the board has no discretion not to maintain this regulation. 

The board has reviewed this regulation and determined that it 

is clearly written and understandable. 

This regulation is based on model regulations provided by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. The Department of 

Planning and Budget has not updated these model regulations; 

therefore, the board has not adopted any changes to the 

regulation. 

The board is required to maintain this regulation. There have 

been no complaints received related to this regulation, which 

is not complex. The regulation does not overlap with any other 

law. This regulation has not changed since approximately 

2017. The board will alter this regulation if and when the 

Department of Planning and Budget recommends changes to 

the model regulations. 

Contact Information: Jamie Sacksteder, Executive Director, 

Board of Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4581, FAX (804) 698-4266, 

or email jamie.sacksteder@dhp.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

22VAC40-90, Regulation for Background Checks for 

Assisted Living Facilities and Adult Day Care Centers, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended. The board 

is publishing its report of findings dated June 21, 2024, to 

support this decision. 

The regulation establishes the minimum requirements for 

background checks for assisted living facilities (ALF) and 

adult day centers (ADC) staff, which enables residents, 

participants, relatives and legal representatives, licensing 

inspectors, and other citizens of the Commonwealth to be 

knowledgeable of these requirements. The regulation, which is 

clearly written and easily understandable, is necessary to 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:jamie.sacksteder@dhp.virginia.gov
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interpret the law and protect the health, safety, and welfare of 

ALF residents and ADC participants. 

The board recommends amending the regulation for technical 

and clarification purposes and to reduce regulatory burdens. 

No comments were received during the public comment 

period. The regulation is not complex and does not duplicate 

or conflict with any federal or state law or regulation. The 

regulation will be amended in August 2024 to reflect revisions 

to the Code of Virginia. The regulation now needs to be 

amended in order to be updated for technical and clarification 

purposes and to reduce regulatory burdens. The amendments 

should have no economic impact on small businesses, as 

background checks are already required in the Code of 

Virginia. 

Contact Information: Samantha Fogt, Licensing Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 5600 Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, telephone (804) 845-0308, or email 

samantha.fogt@dss.virginia.gov. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/4024/PeriodicReview/samantha.fogt@dss.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

FAIR HOUSING BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Fair Housing Board intends to 

consider amending 18VAC62-20, Fair Housing Certification 

Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

undertake a general review of the regulation in accordance with 

the regulatory reduction goal of Executive Directive Number 

One (2022). The regulation provides for the education-based 

certification of persons subject to the Virginia Fair Housing 

Law (§ 36-96.1 of the Code of Virginia) who are in the 

business of selling or renting dwellings, except for those 

individuals who are licensed by the Real Estate Board. The 

regulation also provides for the approval of proprietary schools 

and fair housing courses. The goals of the action include (i) 

reviewing discretionary requirements imposed on regulated 

parties to determine whether such requirements impose 

burdens that are not necessary to protect the public health, 

safety, and welfare or are not necessary to effectively 

administer the licensure program; (ii) ensuring the regulation 

conforms to current Virginia law and meets applicable federal 

requirements, is organized, clear, and understandable, and 

provides minimal burdens on regulants while still protecting 

the public; and (iii) ensuring the regulation reflects current 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

procedures and policies, along with any other changes 

determined to be necessary and appropriate. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 14, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Anika Coleman, Executive Director, Fair 

Housing Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, 

or email fairhousing@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7820; Filed June 26, 2024, 11:28 a.m. 

mailto:fairhousing@dpor.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Emergency Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-90. Campaign Finance and 

Political Advertisements (adding 1VAC20-90-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 24.2-103 and 24.2-956 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: June 28, 2024, through December 27, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Ashley Coles, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Elections, Washington Building, 

1100 Bank Street, First Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-8933, or email 

ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 A of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Board of Elections determined that these changes are 

necessitated by an emergency situation, consulted with the 

Attorney General, and received approval from the Governor 

to promulgate emergency regulations to address the 

emergency. 

The purpose of the action is to, pursuant to Chapter 557 

of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, guarantee that disclosure 

statements on certain political print media advertisements 

are displayed in a conspicuous manner and are 

proportionate to the size of the advertisement. The 

mandating statute allows a delayed effective date for the 

requirements of July 1, 2024, which requires emergency 

action in order to meet. The board is providing a further 

delayed enforcement of the new advertising standards 

until January 1, 2025. The requirements in the action are 

consistent with federal print media advertisement 

requirements established by the Federal Election 

Commission under 11 CFR § 110.11. 

The action requires a disclosure statement on a political 

advertisement to (i) be a sufficient font size to be clearly 

readable by the recipient of the communication; (ii) be 

contained in a printed box set apart from the other 

contents of the communication; and (iii) have a 

reasonable degree of color contrast with the 

advertisement background. 

1VAC20-90-40. Disclosure statement requirements; print 

media advertisements.  

A. The following standards apply to print media 

advertisements under §§ 24.2-956 and 24.2-956.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

B. Any disclosure statement required under either § 24.2-956 

or 24.2-956.1 of the Code of Virginia must be presented in a 

clear and conspicuous manner to give the reader notice of the 

candidate, candidate campaign committee, person, or political 

committee who paid for and, where required, who authorized 

the communication. A disclosure statement is not clear and 

conspicuous if it is difficult to read or if the placement is easily 

overlooked. 

C. The disclosure statement must be of sufficient type size to 

be clearly readable by the recipient of the communication. A 

disclosure statement in 12-point type size satisfies the 

requirements of this subsection when it is used for signs, 

posters, flyers, newspapers, magazines, or other printed 

materials that measure no more than 24 inches by 36 inches. 

D. The disclosure statement must be contained in a printed 

box set apart from the other contents of the communication. 

E. The disclosure statement must be printed with a reasonable 

degree of color contrast between the background and the 

disclosure statement. A disclosure statement satisfies the color 

contrast requirement of this subsection if it is printed in black 

text on a white background or if the degree of color contrast 

between the background and the text of the disclosure 

statement is no less than the color contrast between the 

background and the largest text used in the communication. 

F. The disclosure statement need not appear on the front or 

cover page of the communication as long as it appears within 

the communication, except on communications, such as 

billboards, that contain only a front face. 

G. A communication that would require a disclosure 

statement, if distributed separately, that is included in a 

package of materials, must contain the required disclosure 

statement. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6850; Filed June 18, 2024, 6:35 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-90. Campaign Finance and 

Political Advertisements (adding 1VAC20-90-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 20, 2024 - 1 p.m. - General Assembly Building, 

201 North Ninth Street, Third Floor, Senate Room A, 

Richmond, VA 23219. 

mailto:ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov
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Public Comment Deadline: September 13, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Ashley Coles, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Elections, Washington Building, 1100 Bank 

Street, First Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

8933, or email ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

State Board of Elections to make rules and regulations and 

issue instructions to promote the proper administration of 

election law. Section 24.2-956 of the Code of Virginia provides 

requirements for print media advertisements sponsored by a 

candidate campaign committee.   

Purpose: This regulation sets standards for the disclosure 

statements on print advertisements sponsored by a candidate 

campaign committee or by a person or political committee 

other than the candidate campaign committee. Print 

advertisements from these parties must have disclosure 

statements that are clear and conspicuous. 

Substance: This regulatory action seeks to establish 

requirements for disclosure statements to ensure they are clear 

and conspicuous. These requirements include that (i) a 

disclaimer must be a sufficient font size to be clearly readable 

by the recipient of the communication. For an advertisement 

that is 24 x 36 inches or smaller, 12-point font size meets this 

requirement; (ii) a disclosure statement must be contained in a 

printed box set apart from the other contents of the 

communication; and (iii) a disclosure statement must have a 

reasonable degree of color contrast with the advertisement's 

background. Parties can meet this requirement by placing black 

print on a white background or if the degree of contrast 

between a disclosure statement and an advertisement's 

background is no less than the contrast between the 

background and the largest text on the advertisement. 

Issues: An advantage of the regulation to the public is that 

disclosure statements on printed campaign materials will be 

more visible and will allow voters to see more clearly who has 

paid for the material. This regulation provides a clearer 

standard for the public from which to make a complaint. A 

disadvantage of the regulation for candidates for public offices, 

who are also members of the public, is that disclosure 

statements will need to be updated on printed campaign 

materials, which may be a financial burden to candidates and 

campaigns as older printed campaign materials will either need 

to be altered or discarded. The promulgation of this regulation 

will give more guardrails and instructions to candidates and 

their campaigns regarding the requirements for printed 

campaign material disclosure statements. 

An advantage of the regulation for general registrars and local 

electoral boards, representatives of the Commonwealth, is that 

local election officials will have a clearer rule for disclosure 

statements on printed campaign materials. When a candidate 

or voter comes to the general registrar's office to ask about 

disclosure statements, general registrars will have a clear 

answer and be able to direct that person to a specific regulation 

with specific rules. An advantage of the regulation for the 

Department of Elections is that the department will have a 

clearer standard for print media disclosure statements when 

deciding whether a candidate or campaign has violated the 

requirements of Stand By Your Ad. A potential disadvantage 

of the regulation for the department is that it may increase the 

number of complaints received from the public. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 557 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly,2 the 

State Board of Elections (board) proposes to establish 

disclosure standards for political campaign advertisements for 

statewide and local offices that are proportionate to the size of 

the print media. 

Background. This regulation governs election campaign 

finances and political advertisements for the General 

Assembly as well as local and constitutional offices. In 2020, 

Chapter 557 repealed the requirement that print media 

disclosures be displayed in a minimum font size of seven-point 

and tasked the board with establishing new standards that such 

disclosures be displayed instead in a font size proportionate to 

the size of the advertisement. According to § 24.2-955.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, "Print media" means billboards, cards, 

newspapers, newspaper inserts, magazines, printed material 

disseminated through the mail, pamphlets, fliers, bumper 

stickers, periodicals, websites, electronic mail, nonvideo or 

nonaudio messages placed or promoted for a fee on an online 

platform, yard signs, and outdoor advertising facilities. If a 

single print media advertisement consists of multiple pages, 

folds, or faces, the disclosure requirement of this section 

applies only to one page, fold, or face. Also, the print media 

subject to the proposed standards include advertisements 

sponsored by a candidate, a candidate campaign committee, a 

person, or a political committee. The legislative mandate 

requires such standards to be promulgated no later than July 1, 

2021, with enforcement delayed until January 1, 2024. 

However, print media advertisements paid for or distributed 

prior to July 1, 2024, will not be subject to the standards 

established by this action as per the mandate. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Generally, the proposed 

language requires that the disclaimer must be a sufficient font 

size to be clearly readable by the recipient of the 

communication. For an advertisement that is 24 x 36 inches or 

smaller, the board proposes that 12-point font size meets this 

requirement; that the disclosure statement must be contained in 

a printed box set apart from the other contents of the 

communication; and that the disclosure statement must have a 

reasonable degree of color contrast with the advertisement's 

mailto:ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov
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background. According to the board, these proposed standards 

are consistent with federal print media advertisement 

requirements established under 11 CFR § 110.11. 

The primary benefit of the proposal is that disclosure 

statements would be more visible and allow voters to see more 

clearly who has paid for the material, thereby improving the 

accessibility of the information. The standards should also be 

helpful for the Department of Elections staff and local election 

officials to inform candidates about what is expected and 

where that information can be found. In addition, the standards 

should help when determining whether a candidate or a 

campaign has violated the requirements. 

On the other hand, since the proposed size of the disclosure 

statement would be proportional to the size of the 

advertisement, and previously the Code of Virginia specified a 

minimum font size of seven-point, it is more than likely some 

of the printed materials that exist now would be out of 

compliance with the proposed standards. In order to 

accommodate campaigns with such existing materials, the 

legislation allows the use of printed media paid or distributed 

before July 1, 2024, providing a six-month grace period given 

the delayed enforcement date of January 1, 2024. However, the 

proposed standards are unlikely to be finalized before that time 

and some campaigns may not have enough time to adjust their 

print materials to bring them into compliance. To address that 

possibility, the board states it will consider extending the 

exemption period until the effective date of the regulation to 

ensure due process for individuals obtaining materials after 

July 1, 2024, but before the requirements are promulgated and 

published, provided there is a record of when the materials 

were produced to ensure that there is evidence that print 

materials were, in fact, paid for or distributed before the 

deadline. Thus, depending on the board's discretion, it appears 

the campaigns may be expected to comply with the proposed 

standards when they become final, if that time is after July 1, 

2024. It is worth noting that even if the board delays the 

exemption period to the publication date of the final regulation, 

campaigns would lose the six-month grace period the 

legislation provided. 

It is common for printed materials to be used from campaign 

to campaign, especially in the case of incumbents or primary 

election winners who go on to run in the general election. Thus, 

there is the possibility that some print materials that could have 

been used previously would require a design adjustment if they 

have not yet been printed, and some existing materials already 

printed may have to be discarded if the campaign cannot 

produce evidence for a compliant payment or distribution date 

acceptable to the board. If the board provides an extension until 

the proposed action becomes final, the print materials paid for 

or distributed after July 1, 2024, but before the regulation 

becomes final, could be used and that flexibility would allow 

campaigns to avoid otherwise potential costs. However, 

without the six-month grace period envisioned by the 

legislation, some campaigns may continue to pay for or 

distribute some non-compliant print materials beyond the 

publication of the final standards due to shorter notice. To the 

extent this happens, such campaigns may have to dispose, 

reprint, or fix such materials, to make them compliant if 

possible. 

For example, if a mistake is found on smaller materials such as 

signs or pamphlets, campaigns would often make stickers to be 

placed on the printed material to correct the mistake. This 

approach could be used to add a compliant disclosure statement 

to some of the existing non-compliant print materials. In such 

cases, the compliance cost would be relatively smaller. 

According to the board, 500 sheets of white sticker labels, with 

10 labels per sheet or 5,000 labels total, costs on average $60. 

In other cases, an easy fix may not be feasible, and costs vary 

based on the type, quality, and amount of materials. For 

instance, one corrugated plastic 18 x 24 sign costs on average 

$25. Poly bag campaign signs of the same size are cheaper and 

are easier to buy in bulk. Doorhangers cost on average $200 

for a bulk order of 500. A large billboard can cost several 

thousand dollars per billboard and the cost would increase 

based on the amount of time the billboard remains. 

In addition to possible re-printing costs, violation of the 

disclosure standards is subject to a $100 fine for first-time 

violations and a $300 fine thereafter for statewide and General 

Assembly offices; and a $50 fine for first-time violations and 

$100 fine thereafter for local or constitutional offices. 

According to the board, a total of $3,175 in fees were collected 

in 2022 from such violations. While there is no data to assess 

if the proposed changes would add to the violations or reduce 

them, the loss of a six-month grace period would increase the 

likelihood of a campaign facing such a fine. 

In summary, provided the board extends the exemption period 

beyond July 1, 2024, until the proposed standards become final 

so that campaigns are not found out of compliance as of that 

date, and thus have some time to bring their print materials in 

compliance with the regulation, some of the potential 

compliance costs resulting from the destruction of otherwise 

usable print materials would be avoided. However, if the board 

does not extend the exemption period for an additional six 

months as intended by the General Assembly, the materials 

that may have to be destroyed during the six months after the 

final regulation becomes effective would represent a cost to the 

campaigns that results from this regulatory action rather than 

the legislation.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The board reports that 

the proposed disclosure standards would currently affect 3,200 

committees. However, the number of committees can increase 

to about 5,000 during heavy years such as in 2023 when both 

houses of the General Assembly were on the ballot as well as 

many local offices. No entity appears to be disproportionately 

affected. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.3 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 
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exceed the costs for all entities combined.4 As noted, the cost 

of any print material that would have to be destroyed during 

the six months after the final regulation becomes effective 

would represent a cost to the campaigns on account of this 

regulatory action, which would be an adverse impact on 

campaigns. However, currently it is not known whether the 

board would or would not allow such a grace period. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities7 Affected.8 According to the board, the likely impact 

on localities is that general registrars and local electoral boards 

would be able to quickly cite a regulation for print media to 

candidates and voters who have questions about disclosure 

statements. Thus, the proposal does not introduce costs for 

local governments, nor does it disproportionately affect them. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effects 

on the use and value of private property nor on real estate 

development costs are expected. 

_____________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%2Bful%2BCHAP0557. 

3 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

4 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

6 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

8 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Elections concurs with the economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments require a disclosure statement 

on a political advertisement to (i) be a sufficient font size 

to be clearly readable by the recipient of the 

communication; (ii) be contained in a printed box set 

apart from the other contents of the communication; and 

(iii) have a reasonable degree of color contrast with the 

advertisement background. 

1VAC20-90-40. Disclosure statement requirements; print 

media advertisements.  

A. The following standards apply to print media 

advertisements under §§ 24.2-956 and 24.2-956.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

B. Any disclosure statement required under either § 24.2-956 

or 24.2-956.1 of the Code of Virginia must be presented in a 

clear and conspicuous manner to give the reader notice of the 

candidate, candidate campaign committee, person, or political 

committee who paid for and, where required, who authorized 

the communication. A disclosure statement is not clear and 

conspicuous if it is difficult to read or if the placement is easily 

overlooked. 

C. The disclosure statement must be of sufficient type size to be 

clearly readable by the recipient of the communication. A 

disclosure statement in 12-point type size satisfies the 

requirements of this subsection when it is used for signs, posters, 

flyers, newspapers, magazines, or other printed materials that 

measure no more than 24 inches by 36 inches. 

D. The disclosure statement must be contained in a printed box 

set apart from the other contents of the communication. 

E. The disclosure statement must be printed with a reasonable 

degree of color contrast between the background and the 

disclosure statement. A disclosure statement satisfies the color 

contrast requirement of this subsection if it is printed in black text 

on a white background or if the degree of color contrast between 

the background and the text of the disclosure statement is no less 

than the color contrast between the background and the largest text 

used in the communication. 

F. The disclosure statement need not appear on the front or cover 

page of the communication as long as it appears within the 

communication, except on communications, such as billboards, 

that contain only a front face. 

G. A communication that would require a disclosure statement, 

if distributed separately, that is included in a package of materials, 

must contain the required disclosure statement. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6850; Filed June 24, 2024, 11:25 a.m. 

https://www.vec.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/vecb29eng%20Revised.pdf
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DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of General Services 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-41. Regulation for the 

Certification of Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water 

(amending 1VAC30-41-55). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-1102 and 2.2-1105 of the Code of 

Virginia; 42 USC § 300f et seq. 

Effective Date: August 14, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 

Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update to July 1, 2023, the 

incorporation by reference of 40 CFR Part 141 and 40 CFR 

Part 143; and (ii) incorporate by reference alternative test 

methods as published in 89 FR 5780 through 5794 on 

January 30, 2024, and corrected in 89 FR 7624 through 

7625 on February 5, 2024.  

1VAC30-41-55. Incorporation by reference - Code of 

Federal Regulations federal regulations. 

A. The sampling, analytical methodology, and laboratory 

certification requirements of 40 CFR 141 and 40 CFR 143 in 

effect as of July 1, 2018 2023, are incorporated by reference 

into this chapter. 

B. The alternative test methods published at 89 FR 5780 

through 5794 on January 30, 2024, and the corrections to those 

alternative test methods published at 89 FR 7624 through 7625 

on February 5, 2024, are incorporated by reference into this 

chapter. 

C. The specific sampling, analytical methodology, and 

laboratory certification requirements incorporated by reference 

are listed as follows by category for information purposes: 

1. Inorganic chemistry: 40 CFR 141.23, 40 CFR 141.89, and 

40 CFR 141.131. 

2. Organic chemistry: 40 CFR 141.24 and 40 CFR 141.131. 

3. Microbiology: 40 CFR 141.21, 40 CFR 141.74, 40 CFR 

141.174, 40 CFR 141.402(c)(2), 40 CFR 141.704, 40 CFR 

141.705, and 40 CFR 141.852. 40 CFR 136.3(a) for E. coli 

requirements under 40 CFR 141.704. 

4. Radiochemistry: 40 CFR 141.25. 

5. Alternative testing methods: 40 CFR Part 141, Subpart C, 

Appendix A. 

6. Test methods specified for secondary maximum 

contaminant levels: 40 CFR 143.4. 

C. D. The exceptions to the requirements for laboratory 

certification in 40 CFR 141.28, 40 CFR 141.74(a), 40 CFR 

141.89(a)(1), 40 CFR 141.131(b)(3), and 40 CFR 

141.131(c)(3) are incorporated by reference into this chapter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7825; Filed June 21, 2024, 2:15 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-280. Virginia Grade Standards 

for Slaughter and Feeder Lambs (repealing 2VAC5-280-

10, 2VAC5-280-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-4302 of the Code of Virginia 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 14, 2024. 

Effective Date: August 29, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Tracy Fitzsimmons, Program Manager, 

Livestock Marketing Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (540) 209-9143, FAX (540) 432-1357, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email tracy.fitzsimmons@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-4302 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services to adopt 

regulations governing the voluntary use of grades for 

agricultural products that will indicate quality, condition, and 

other characteristics. 

Purpose: When the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (VDACS) receives a request from industry 

to evaluate lamb, the agency uses the United States Department 

of Agriculture's (USDA's) grading standards to do so. As such, 

the department has determined that the regulation is no longer 

needed. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: No 

mandate prompted the repeal of this regulation. The regulation 

establishes criteria by which to evaluate lambs; however, 

mailto:@rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov
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VDACS now uses standards adopted by USDA to evaluate 

lambs. As such, the department has determined that this 

regulation is no longer needed. The repeal of this regulation is 

expected to be noncontroversial. When the department 

contacted industry stakeholders during the summer of 2023 to 

inquire into whether the industry would have concerns with the 

repeal of this regulation, industry stakeholders did not present 

any concerns to the department. 

Substance: This regulatory action will repeal Virginia Grade 

Standards for Slaughter and Feeder Lambs, which establishes 

criteria by which to evaluate the quality of slaughter and feeder 

lambs. 

Issues: As the industry no longer relies on this regulation, the 

repeal of this regulation does not advantage or disadvantage 

the public. There is an advantage to VDACS to repeal this 

regulation, as the department will no longer need to maintain 

or review this unused regulatory text. The repeal of this 

regulation does not disadvantage the department. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services proposes to repeal Virginia Grade 

Standards for Slaughter and Feeder Lambs (2VAC5-280) in its 

entirety. 

Background. The Virginia Grade Standards for Slaughter and 

Feeder Lambs contain criteria by which the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 

formally used to evaluate lambs. However, VDACS now uses 

standards adopted by the U.S. Department of Agriculture 

(USDA) to evaluate lambs.2 The evaluation of lambs is an 

optional service provided by the agency. The agency has 

determined that it is not necessary for these voluntary standards 

to have the force of law, and thus now proposes their repeal. 

Links to the USDA standards are available on the VDACS 

website.3 

VDACS grades sheep and lambs monthly at one market and 

seasonally at two other markets. Additionally, the agency 

receives requests to grade sheep or lambs at special events, 

including established days on which producers may bring 

lambs to sell at a buying station as well as Future Farmers of 

America or 4-H Market Animal Shows. VDACS receives 

approximately 15 of these types of requests a year.  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. VDACS contacted industry 

stakeholders during the summer of 2023 to inquire into 

whether the industry would have concerns with the repeal of 

this regulation. The stakeholders did not present any concerns 

to the agency. Additionally, repealing the regulation would not 

affect what occurs in practice. Thus, the repeal of this 

regulation would not likely have a substantive impact beyond 

reducing the likelihood that the public may be misled 

concerning the standards in use.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As described, the 

repeal of the regulation would not likely have a substantive 

impact. If anyone would be affected, it would be sheep farmers 

and livestock markets. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.4 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined.5 As described, the 

repeal of the regulation would not likely increase cost or reduce 

benefit for any entity. Thus, no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses6 Affected.7 The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities8 Affected.9 The Counties of Augusta, Rockingham, 

Washington, and Highland are among the areas of the 

Commonwealth with the largest inventory of sheep and lambs. 

Nevertheless, as described, the repeal of the regulation would 

not likely have substantive impact. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

repeal of the regulation does not appear to affect the use and 

value of private property or real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See https://www.ams.usda.gov/grades-standards/slaughter-lambs-yearlings-

and-sheep-grades-and-standards. 

3 See https://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/markets-and-finance-market-news-

livestock-grading.shtml. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

5 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

https://www.ams.usda.gov/grades-standards/slaughter-lambs-yearlings-and-sheep-grades-and-standards
https://www.ams.usda.gov/grades-standards/slaughter-lambs-yearlings-and-sheep-grades-and-standards
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6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

7 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

8 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

9 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services concurs 

with the economic impact analysis prepared by the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal Virginia Grade Standards for 

Slaughter and Feeder Lambs (2VAC5-280) as the regulation 

has been determined to be unnecessary because the agency 

relies on federal lamb grading standards. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7705; Filed June 18, 2024, 12:03 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-290. Breeder Sheep Grade 

Standards (repealing 2VAC5-290-10 through 2VAC5-290-

50). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-4302 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 14, 2024. 

Effective Date: August 29, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Tracy Fitzsimmons, Program Manager, 

Livestock Marketing Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (540) 209-9143, FAX (540) 432-1357, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email tracy.fitzsimmons@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-4302 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services to adopt 

regulations governing the voluntary use of grades for 

agricultural products that will indicate quality, condition, and 

other characteristics. 

Purpose: As the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (VDACS) has not received a request from 

industry to evaluate breeder sheep in recent years, VDACS has 

determined that this regulation is no longer needed. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: No 

mandate prompted the repeal of this regulation. The regulation 

establishes criteria by which to appraise breeding stock's 

suitability for breeding purposes and the desirability of their 

progeny; however, VDACS has not received a request from 

industry to evaluate breeder sheep in recent years. As such, the 

department has determined that this regulation is no longer 

needed. The repeal of this regulation is expected to be 

noncontroversial. When the department contacted sheep 

industry stakeholders during the summer of 2023 to inquire 

into whether the industry would have concerns with the repeal 

of this regulation, sheep industry stakeholders did not present 

any concerns to the department. 

Substance: This regulatory action will repeal Breeder Sheep 

Grade Standards, which establishes criteria by which to 

appraise breeding stock's suitability for breeding purposes and 

the desirability of their progeny. 

Issues: As the industry no longer relies on this regulation, the 

repeal of this regulation does not advantage or disadvantage 

the public. There is an advantage to VDACS to repeal this 

regulation, as the department will no longer need to maintain 

or review this unused regulatory text. The repeal of this 

regulation does not disadvantage the department. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services proposes to repeal Breeder Sheep Grade 

Standards (2VAC5-290) in its entirety. 

Background. The Breeder Sheep Grade Standards establish 

criteria by which the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (VDACS) is to appraise breeding stock's 

suitability for breeding purposes and the desirability of their 

progeny. The appraisal service is not required. VDACS has not 

received a request from industry to evaluate breeder sheep in 

recent years. As such, the agency has determined that the 

regulation is no longer needed.  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. VDACS contacted sheep 

industry stakeholders during the summer of 2023 to inquire 

into whether the industry would have concerns with the repeal 

of this regulation. Sheep industry stakeholders did not present 

any concerns to the agency. Thus, the repeal of this regulation 

would not likely have a substantive impact.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As described, the 

repeal of the regulation would not likely have a substantive 

impact. If anyone would be affected, it would be sheep 

farmers.2 
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The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse 

impact may result from the proposed regulation.3 An adverse 

impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs 

for all entities combined.4 As described, the repeal of the 

regulation would not likely increase cost or reduce benefit for any 

entity. Thus, no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The Counties of Augusta, Rockingham, 

Washington, and Highland are among the areas of the 

Commonwealth with the largest inventory of sheep. Nevertheless, 

as described, the repeal of the regulation would not likely have 

substantive impact. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

repeal of the regulation does not appear to affect the use and value 

of private property or real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 The number of sheep farmers was not provided by the agency. 

3 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

4 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

6 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

8 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services concurs 

with the economic impact analysis prepared by the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal Breeder Sheep Grade Standards 

(2VAC5-290) because the department has not received a 

request from industry to evaluate breeder sheep in recent 

years.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7706; Filed June 18, 2024, 12:23 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-140. Pertaining to 

Identification of Crab Pots, Peeler Pots, Eel Pots, and Fish 

Pots (amending 4VAC20-140-15, 4VAC20-140-25). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify the height required for identifying 

information on crab and eel pot buoys. 

4VAC20-140-15. Identification of eel pots. 

Any person owning or using an eel pot, for which a 

commercial license is prescribed by law, shall display his that 

person's Marine Resources Commission identification number 

preceded by the letter "E" on each floating buoy or stake 

attached to each such eel pot, in a legible and visible manner 

and in figures of not smaller than one inch in height. 
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4VAC20-140-25. Identification of crab pots and peeler 

pots. 

A. Any person placing, setting, or fishing crab pots in 

Virginia waters, for which a commercial license is prescribed 

by law, shall display his that person's Marine Resources 

Commission identification number, preceded by the letter "C," 

on each floating buoy or stake attached to each such crab pot, 

in a legible and visible manner and in figures of not smaller 

than one inch in height. 

B. Any person placing, setting, or fishing peeler pots in 

Virginia waters, for which a commercial license is prescribed 

by law, shall display his that person's Marine Resources 

Commission identification number, preceded by the letter "P," 

on each floating buoy or stake attached to each such peeler pot, 

in a legible and visible manner and in figures of not smaller 

than one inch in height. 

C. Except as provided in subsection D of this section, it shall 

be unlawful for any person to place numbers or letters on any 

crab pot or peeler pot buoy or stake that is in addition to the 

identification requirement described in subsection A or B of 

this section. 

D. Any person who is legally licensed to crab pot or peeler pot 

in North Carolina or Maryland waters may also display 

identification required by those jurisdictions on the buoys or 

stakes attached to those crab pots or peeler pots while that person 

is placing, setting, or fishing those crab pots or peeler pots in 

Virginia waters. 

E. Any identification shall be legally assigned or registered to 

that person, as described in subsection D of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7937; Filed June 25, 2024, 2:15 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Blue Crab 

Fishery (amending 4VAC20-270-20, 4VAC20-270-30, 

4VAC20-270-40, 4VAC20-270-51, 4VAC20-270-55). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) establish management measures, 

including season and bushel limits, for the 2024-2025 

commercial crab fisheries and (ii) adjust the daily time 

limits for commercial harvest. 

4VAC20-270-20. Sunday prohibition and limited exception 

for possession of male hard crabs. 

It shall be unlawful to take or catch harvest crabs for 

commercial purposes on Sunday. This section shall not apply 

to the baiting and setting of any hard crab pot or peeler pot, the 

harvest of peeler crabs by crab traps or peeler pots, or to the 

working of floats, pens, or onshore facilities for soft crab 

shedding operations. Any person licensed to harvest peeler 

crabs by peeler pot may harvest one bushel of male crabs from 

his peeler pots on Sunday strictly for the purpose of baiting his 

that person's peeler pots, and such crabs may not be sold. 

4VAC20-270-30. Daily time limits for commercial harvest. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person licensed to catch and 

sell crabs taken by hard crab pot or peeler pot to take and 

harvest crabs from any hard crab pot or peeler pot, or to 

retrieve, bait, or set any hard crab pot or peeler pot, except 

during the lawful daily time periods described in subsections 

A, B, C, and D of this section. The lawful daily time periods 

for the commercial harvesting of crabs by hard crab pot or 

peeler pot shall be from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. during the lawful 

seasons, as described in 4VAC20-270-40 A, except as 

described in subsections B, C, and D of this section. The lawful 

daily time periods for the commercial harvesting of crabs by 

hard crab pot or peeler pot shall be from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. during 

the months of May, June, July, and August, as described in 

4VAC20-270-40 A, except as specified in subsections B, C, 

and D of this section. Hard crab pots or peeler pots already on 

board a boat at the end of the lawful daily time period, as 

defined in subsections A, B, and C of this section, may be set 

immediately following the end of lawful daily time period to 

one hour after the lawful daily time period ends except between 

3 a.m. to 5 p.m. during the lawful season as described in 

4VAC20-270-40 A. 

B. Any licensed hard crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who 

provides an opinion and supporting documentation from an 

attending physician to the commissioner of an existing medical 

condition that prevents him from adhering to the daily time 

limit established in subsection A of this section may be 

permitted by the commissioner or his designee to take and 

harvest crabs from his hard crab pot or peeler pot, or to retrieve, 

bait, or set his hard crab pot or peeler pot during an alternate 

eight-hour daily time limit. That alternative eight-hour daily 

time limit will be prescribed by the commissioner or his 

designee in accordance with the medical condition that forms 

a basis for the exception to the daily time limit as described in 

subsection A of this section. 

Nothing in this regulation shall prohibit any licensed hard 

crab pot or peeler pot fisherman, who has been granted an 

exception to the eight-hour work schedule, on a medical basis, 

from using another licensed hard crab pot or peeler pot 

fisherman as a mate; provided, however, during the designated 

alternate work hours, only the hard crab pots or peeler pots of 

the fisherman receiving the exception shall be fished. Further, 
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it shall be unlawful for the licensed crab fisherman, who has 

been granted an exception, or his mate, who is a licensed hard 

crab pot or peeler pot fisherman, to fish, set, retrieve, or bait, 

during the alternate work hours, any hard crab pot or peeler pot 

that is not owned and licensed by the fisherman granted the 

exception. 

C. Any licensed hard crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who 

requests and obtains an alternate eight-hour daily time limit 

permit shall be authorized to take and harvest crabs from his 

hard crab pot or peeler pot or to retrieve, bait, or set his hard 

crab pot or peeler pot one hour earlier than described in 

subsection A of this section, only for the months of June, July, 

August, and September. During the months of March, April, 

May, October, and November, the lawful daily time period 

described in subsection A of this section applies to any hard 

crab pot or peeler pot licensee. The alternate lawful daily time 

periods for the commercial harvesting of crabs by hard crab pot 

or peeler pot shall be from 4 a.m. to 12 noon from June 1 

through August 31 and from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. from September 

1 through September 30. Licensed hard crab pot or peeler pot 

fishermen must apply for this permit on an annual basis and 

shall adhere to the alternate daily time limit from the day the 

permit is issued through September 30, as well as subdivisions 

1, 2, and 3 of this subsection. 

1. It shall be unlawful for two or more licensed hard crab pot 

or peeler pot fishermen, or their agents, to crab aboard the 

same vessel if their authorized eight-hour daily time limits 

are not identical. 

2. Requests for an alternate eight-hour time limit permit shall 

be submitted to the Marine Resources Commission annually 

and prior to May 15. Requests submitted on or after May 15 

will not be considered. 

3. Once any legal hard crab pot or peeler pot licensee obtains 

an alternate eight-hour daily time limit permit, that permittee 

shall be legally bound by the alternate eight-hour daily time 

limit as described in this subsection. 

D. B. The lawful daily time periods for the commercial 

harvest of crabs by hard crab pot or peeler pot may be rescinded 

by the Commissioner of Marine Resources when the 

commissioner determines that a pending weather event is 

sufficient cause for the removal of hard crab pots from the tidal 

waters of the Commonwealth. 

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits. 

A. In 2023 2024, the lawful season for the commercial harvest 

of crabs by hard crab pot shall be March 17 through December 

16. In 2024 2025, the lawful season for the commercial harvest 

of crabs by hard crab pot shall be March 17 through November 

30. For all other lawful commercial gear used to harvest crabs, 

as described in 4VAC20-1040, the lawful seasons for the 

harvest of crabs shall be April 15 through October 15. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 

possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 

season as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to knowingly 

place, set, fish, or leave any hard crab pot in any tidal waters 

of Virginia from December 17, 2023 2024, through March 16, 

2024 2025. It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly 

place, set, fish, or leave any lawful commercial gear used to 

harvest crabs, except any hard crab pot or any gear as described 

in 4VAC20-460-25, in any tidal waters of Virginia from 

October 16, 2023 2024, through April 14, 2024 2025. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

number of fish pots in excess of 10% of the amount allowed by 

the gear license limit, up to a maximum of 30 fish pots per 

vessel, when any person on that vessel has set any crab pots. 

1. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots set in those 

Virginia waters located upriver of the following boundary 

lines: 

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 

connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 

mouth of College Creek. 

b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the Route 

33 bridges at West Point. 

c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 

the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel pots 

as described in 4VAC20-500. 

3. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots constructed of 

a mesh less than one-inch square or hexagonal mesh. 

4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 

harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 

amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 

three bushels of crabs. 

B. From July 5, 2023 2024, through October 31, 2023 2024, 

and May 16, 2024 2025, through July 4, 2024 2025, any 

commercial fisherman registration licensee legally licensed for 

any hard crab pot license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, 

shall be limited to the following maximum daily harvest and 

possession limits for any of the following hard crab pot license 

categories: 

1. 10 bushels, or three barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 14 bushels, or four barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 18 bushels, or six barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 170 

crab pots. 
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4. 29 bushels, or nine barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 47 bushels, or 15 barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From November 1, 2023 2024, through December 16, 

2023 2024, and March 17, 2024 2025, through May 15, 2024 

2025, any commercial fisherman registration licensee legally 

licensed for any hard crab pot license, as described in 

4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to the following maximum 

daily harvest and possession limits for any of the following 

crab pot license categories: 

1. Eight bushels, or two barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 11 bushels, or three barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 14 bushels, or four barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 170 crab pots. 

4. 22 bushels, or seven barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 36 bushels, or 12 barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 425 

crab pots. 

D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 

board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 

limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 

limit, as described in subsections B and C of this section, and 

that daily limit shall correspond to the highest harvest and 

possession limit of only one licensee on board that vessel. 

E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 

licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 

possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab pot 

licensees licensee or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot 

licensee's name, address, commercial fisherman registration 

license number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of crabs 

to be sold. 

F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful daily 

bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this section, that 

excess quantity of crabs shall be returned immediately to the water 

by the licensee who possess possesses that excess over lawful 

daily harvest or possession limit. The refusal to return crabs, in 

excess of any lawful daily harvest or possession limit, to the water 

shall constitute a separate violation of this chapter. 

G. When any person on board any boat or vessel possesses a crab 

pot license, it shall be unlawful for that person or any other person 

aboard that boat or vessel to possess a seafood buyer's boat license 

and buy any crabs on any day. 

4VAC20-270-55. Minimum size limits. 

A. From March 17 the beginning of the season as described in 

4VAC20-270-40 through July 15, it shall be unlawful for any 

person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for sale more than 10 

peeler crabs, per United States standard bushel, or 5.0% of peeler 

crabs in any other container, that measure less than 3-1/4 inches 

across the shell from tip to tip of the longest spikes. From July 16 

through November 30 the end of the season as described in 

4VAC20-270-40, it shall be unlawful for any person to harvest, 

possess, sell, or offer for sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United 

States standard bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other 

container, that measure less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell from 

tip to tip of the longest spikes, except as described in subsections 

B and C of this section. 

B. From July 16 through November 30 the end of the season as 

described in 4VAC20-270-40, it shall be unlawful for any person 

to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for sale more than 10 peeler crabs, 

per United States standard bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any 

other container, that are harvested from waters on the ocean side 

of Accomack and Northampton Counties and measure less than 3-

1/4 inches across the shell from tip to tip of the longest spikes, 

except as described in subsection C of this section. 

C. In the enforcement of these peeler crab minimum size limits 

aboard a vessel, the marine police officer shall select a single 

container of peeler crabs of his the officer's choosing to determine 

if the contents of that container violate the minimum size and 

tolerance described in this section. If the officer determines the 

contents of the container are in violation, then the officer shall 

return all peeler crabs on board the vessel to the water alive. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, harvest, 

possess, sell or offer for sale, or to destroy in any manner, any soft 

crab that measures less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell from tip 

to tip of the longest spikes. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7938; Filed June 25, 2024, 2:16 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1140. Prohibition of Crab 

Dredging in Virginia Waters (repealing 4VAC20-1140-10, 

4VAC20-1140-20, 4VAC20-1140-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, 

Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX (757) 

247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal Prohibition of Crab Dredging in 

Virginia Waters (4VAC20-1140) to allow the harvest of blue 

crabs from the winter commercial crab dredge fishing season 

in accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7936; Filed June 25, 2024, 2:14 p.m. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1270. Pertaining to Atlantic 

Menhaden (amending 4VAC20-1270-40, 4VAC20-1270-

60). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 30, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 391 D of Chapter 2 of the 2024 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments establish a 

quota and license transfer system for the menhaden purse 

seine bait sector. 

4VAC20-1270-40. Purse seine menhaden bait sector; 

limited entry criteria; individual transferable quota 

system; and season. 

A. To qualify for limited entry to the purse seine menhaden 

bait sector, the person or entity shall fulfill one of the following 

requirements: 

1. Have held a purse seine license in 2011 and landed 

menhaden in Virginia in 2009, 2010, and 2011, while using 

purse seine gear to harvest menhaden in one of those three 

years; and 

2. Provide Have provided the Marine Resources 

Commission (commission) receipts and landings reports or 

other requested reports as proof of landings and gear usage 

to demonstrate that the criteria described in subdivision 1 of 

this subsection have been met; or 

3. Have received a valid transfer of purse seine menhaden 

bait sector quota pursuant to subsection C of this section. 

B. The commission shall establish an individual transferable 

quota (ITQ) system for each purse seine menhaden bait 

licensee who meets the limited entry requirements in 

subsection A of this section. The quota for this sector will be 

allocated according to each qualified licensee's rounded ITQ 

holder's individual percentage share of the average of the 2007 

through 2011 menhaden landings 2023 purse seine menhaden 

bait sector quota. 

C. Each licensee qualified under the ITQ system may transfer 

quota to another licensee's ITQ upon approval of the 

commissioner. Any person or entity with an individual 

percentage share of the purse seine menhaden bait sector quota, 

as provided in subsection B of this section, may transfer purse 

seine menhaden bait sector quota to any person or entity. The 

transfer of purse seine menhaden bait sector quota by 

permanent percentage shareholders may be temporarily, within 

the same year only, or permanently transferred and shall be 

documented on a form provided by the commission, notarized 

by a lawful notary public, and approved by the Commissioner 

of Marine Resources (commissioner) or the commissioner's 

designee. Temporary percentage shareholders are not eligible 

to transfer purse seine menhaden bait sector quota to another 

entity or person except back to the original permanent 

shareholder the quota was received from. 

D. Any person or entity with an individual percentage share 

of the purse seine menhaden bait sector quota, temporary or 

permanent, shall purchase a current Purse Seine Menhaden 

Bait Sector License before harvesting any purse seine 

menhaden bait sector quota. Only a person or entity with an 

individual percentage share of purse seine menhaden bait 

sector quota may purchase a Purse Seine Menhaden Bait Sector 

License. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person or entity without an 

individual share of the purse seine menhaden bait sector quota 

and a current Purse Seine Menhaden Bait Sector License to 

harvest any menhaden by purse seine for bait. It shall be 

unlawful for any Purse Seine Menhaden Bait Sector Licensee 

to harvest any menhaden from the purse seine menhaden bait 

sector once that licensee no longer possesses any unused purse 

seine menhaden bait sector quota for that year. 

F. The season for vessels with a gross weight of less than 70 

tons that use purse seine nets to take or catch menhaden for 

purposes other than use as fish meal or oil shall be from the 

first Monday in March up to, but not including, the first 

Monday in May. 

4VAC20-1270-60. Reporting requirements by menhaden 

fishery sector. 

A. Each licensee of any purse seine vessel who harvests 

menhaden shall complete a Captain's Daily Fishing Report on 

each non-weekend or non-holiday day that either purse seine 

sector is open for harvest. The Captain's Daily Fishing Report 

is produced by the National Marine Fisheries Service and 

provides preliminary estimates of harvest. Pursuant to § 28.2-

204 of the Code of Virginia, those same licensees shall submit 

to the Marine Resources Commission (commission) the 

Captain's Daily Fishing Reports in addition to summarized 

weekly harvest reports that include vessel name and exact 

weight of menhaden landed, in pounds, by Wednesday of the 

following week. 

1. Any menhaden landed by a limited entry purse seine 

menhaden bait licensee at a qualified menhaden processing 

factory, as indicated on the mandatory daily landings 

reports, shall be attributed to the purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector quota. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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2. Once 97% of either purse seine sector's quota is projected 

and announced to have been taken, each licensee of that 

purse seine sector shall provide daily harvest totals to the 

commission's Interactive Voice Recording System. 

B. The non-purse seine menhaden bait sector shall submit 

daily reports according to the schedule and reporting 

requirements established by 4VAC20-610. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7923; Filed June 25, 2024, 2:17 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Effective Date 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality Standards 

(amending 9VAC25-260-50, 9VAC25-260-140, 9VAC25-

260-185, 9VAC25-260-187, 9VAC25-260-310, 9VAC25-

260-390, 9VAC25-260-400, 9VAC25-260-410, 9VAC25-

260-420, 9VAC25-260-440, 9VAC25-260-470, 9VAC25-

260-500. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR Part 131. 

On August 25, 2022, the State Water Control Board adopted 

revisions to the Water Quality Standards in 9VAC25-260-50, 

9VAC25-260-140, 9VAC25-260-185, 9VAC25-260-187, 

9VAC25-260-310, 9VAC25-260-390, 9VAC25-260-400, 

9VAC25-260-410, 9VAC25-260-420, 9VAC25-260-440, 

9VAC25-260-470, and 9VAC25-260-500. These revisions 

relate to water quality criteria, use designations, 

antidegradation, and other policies related to water quality. The 

amendments were published in final form on December 19, 

2022, Volume 39, Issue 9 of the Virginia Register to be 

effective upon filing notice of U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) approval with the Registrar of Regulations. The 

State Water Control Board has previously received a letter 

from Catherine A. Libertz, EPA Region III Water Division 

Director, dated April 14, 2023, approving all of the 

amendments except for an amendment to 9VAC25-260-140 B 

for freshwater aluminum criteria for the protection of aquatic 

life. These specific amendments, excluding the amendments 

relating to freshwater aluminum criteria, became effective on 

April 18, 2023. 

By letter dated June 24, 2024, EPA has notified the State Water 

Control Board that it has completed its obligations under § 7 

of the Endangered Species Act (16 USC § 1536) with respect 

to the freshwater aluminum criteria. EPA has approved the 

amendment in 9VAC25-260-140 B for freshwater aluminum. 

Notification of EPA's approval has been provided to the 

Registrar of Regulations, and the effective date for the 

amendments to 9VAC25-260-140 B for freshwater aluminum 

is June 26, 2024. 

Copies are available online at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/ 

our-programs/water/water-quality/standards, by calling 804-

774-9180, or by written request or email request to the agency 

contact. 

Effective Date: June 26, 2024. 

Agency Contact: David Whitehurst, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 774-

9180, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6555; Filed June 26, 2024, 11:00 a.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-875. Virginia Erosion and 

Stormwater Management Regulation. 

Agency Contact: Rebeccah Rochet, Deputy Director, Division 

of Water Permitting, Department of Environmental Quality, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 801-

2950, or email rebeccah.rochet@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-875) 

EPA Application Form 1 General Information NPDES 

Permitting Program (rev. 3/2019) 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities (VAR10) Registration Statement 2019 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities (VAR10) Registration Statement 2024 

(rev. 3/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7930; Filed June 21, 2024, 10:44 a.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-880. General VPDES Permit 

for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 

Activities. 

https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10507
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=10507
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-quality/standards
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-quality/standards
mailto:david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:rebeccah.rochet@deq.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/EPA%20Application%20Form%201%20General%20Information%20NPDES%20Permitting%20Program-20231122161810.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/EPA%20Application%20Form%201%20General%20Information%20NPDES%20Permitting%20Program-20231122161810.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Registration%20Stat-20240524100447.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Registration%20Stat-20240524100447.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Registration%20Stat-20240524100447.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Registration%20Stat-20240524100447.pdf
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Agency Contact: Rebeccah Rochet, Deputy Director, Division 

of Water Permitting, Department of Environmental Quality, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 801-

2950, or email rebeccah.rochet@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-880) 

Annual Standards & Specification (AS&S) Entity 

Information Sheet (rev. 4/2019) 

Construction Activity Operator Permit Fee Form 2019 (rev. 

4/2019) 

Notice of Termination 2019 (rev. 4/2019) 

Registration Statement 2019 (rev. 11/2020) 

Transfer of Ownership Agreement 2019 (rev. 4/2019) 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities (VAR10) Notice of Termination 2024 

(rev. 5/2024) 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities (VAR10) Permit Fee Form 2024 (rev. 

5/2024) 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities (VAR10) Registration Statement 2024 

(rev. 3/2024) 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities (VAR10) Transfer of Ownership 

Agreement 2024 (Rev 5/2024) 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality Standards and 

Specification (S&S) Entity Information Sheet (rev. 5/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7981; Filed June 24, 2024, 12:57 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with a 

hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, 

Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Funeral Services. 

Agency Contact: Matt Novak, Policy and Economic Analyst, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 914-0907, or email 

matthew.novak@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC65-20) 

Checklist, Instructions, and Application for a Funeral License 

by Examination or Endorsement (rev. 4/2024) 

Funeral Service Licensee Reinstatement Application (rev. 

3/2023) 

Funeral Service Reinstatement Application (rev. 6/2024) 

Application for Reactivation (Inactive to Active) of Funeral 

Service, Funeral Director, or Embalmer License (rev. 1/2024) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia Funeral License (rev. 

11/2019) 

Checklist and Instructions for Courtesy Card Application 

(rev. 3/2023) 

Checklist and Instructions for Surface Transportation and 

Removal Service Registration Application (rev. 3/2023) 

Crematory Registration Application (rev. 8/2023) 

Checklist and Instructions for Continuing Education 

Providers (rev. 3/2021) 

Instructions for Completing the Continuing Education 

Summary Form for the Virginia Board of Funeral Directors 

and Embalmers (rev. 8/2016) 

Instructions for Continuing Education Providers Adding 

Additional Courses (rev. 3/2021) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 7/2020) 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 

7/2012) 

Funeral Service New Establishment Application (rev. 

3/2023) 

Funeral Service Establishment/Branch Application (rev. 

3/2023) 

Funeral Service Branch Establishment Application (rev. 

3/2023) 

Funeral Service Establishment/Branch Change Application 

(rev. 3/2023) 

Funeral Establishment or Branch Change of Manager 

Application (rev. 3/2023) 

Request for Reinspection due to Structural Change to 

Preparation Room (rev. 7/2020) 

Waiver of Full-Time Manager (rev. 3/2023) 

mailto:rebeccah.rochet@deq.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20NOT%20form_052024-20240624124701.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20NOT%20form_052024-20240624124701.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20NOT%20form_052024-20240624124701.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20NOT%20form_052024-20240624124701.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Permit%20Fee%20Form_052024-20240624124741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Permit%20Fee%20Form_052024-20240624124741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Permit%20Fee%20Form_052024-20240624124741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Permit%20Fee%20Form_052024-20240624124741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Registration%20Stat-20240624124843.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Registration%20Stat-20240624124843.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Registration%20Stat-20240624124843.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Registration%20Stat-20240624124843.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Transfer%20of%20Ownership_052024-20240624124937.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Transfer%20of%20Ownership_052024-20240624124937.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Transfer%20of%20Ownership_052024-20240624124937.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20CGP%20Transfer%20of%20Ownership_052024-20240624124937.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20S&S%20Entity%20Form_052024-20240624125027.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/2024%20S&S%20Entity%20Form_052024-20240624125027.pdf
mailto:matthew.novak@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralLicense_ApplicationExamAndEndorsement_2024%2005-20240528142922.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralLicense_ApplicationExamAndEndorsement_2024%2005-20240528142922.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_Funeral%20Services_Reinstatement_Application_2024%2006-20240618141032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_Application%20for%20Reactivation_Inactive%20to%20Active_202401-20240120081353.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_Application%20for%20Reactivation_Inactive%20to%20Active_202401-20240120081353.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Verif_VA-20210104103943.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Verif_VA-20210104103943.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_CourtesyCardApplication_032023-20230315154206.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_CourtesyCardApplication_032023-20230315154206.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_SurfaceTransportationandRemovalServices_032023-20230315155236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_SurfaceTransportationandRemovalServices_032023-20230315155236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_CrematoryApplication_082023%201-20230822112334.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_CEProviders_2021-20210421120741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_CEProviders_2021-20210421120741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CESummary-20210104110108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CESummary-20210104110108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CESummary-20210104110108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CE_Adding_2021-20210421120928.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CE_Adding_2021-20210421120928.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CE_VolunteerPractice-20210104110514.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CE_VolunteerPractice-20210104110514.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/ContComp_Activity-20210104110618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/ContComp_Activity-20210104110618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_NewEstablishmentApplication_032023-20230315155103.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_NewEstablishmentApplication_032023-20230315155103.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchApplication_032023-20230315154551.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchApplication_032023-20230315154551.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_BranchEstablishmentApplication_032023-20230315154745.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_BranchEstablishmentApplication_032023-20230315154745.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchChangeApplication_032023-20230315154903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchChangeApplication_032023-20230315154903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchChangeOfManager_032023-20230315155011.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchChangeOfManager_032023-20230315155011.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Reinspection-20210104112416.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Reinspection-20210104112416.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_WaiverofFull-TimeManager_032023-20230315155337.pdf
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Funeral Service Establishment Reinstatement Application 

(rev. 3/2023) 

Courtesy Card Reinstatement Application (rev. 3/2023) 

Surface Transportation and Removal Services Reinstatement 

Application (rev. 3/2023) 

Presentation Request Form (rev. 7/2020) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 2/2016) 

Appendix I. General Price List (rev. 10/2019) 

Appendix II. Casket Price List, Outer Burial Container Price 

List (rev. 10/2019) 

Appendix III. Itemized Statement of Funeral Goods and 

Services Selected (rev. 10/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7979; Filed June 18, 2024, 2:15 p.m. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-15. Regulations Governing 

Delegation to an Agency Subordinate (amending 

18VAC85-15-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 14, 2024. 

Effective Date: August 29, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 915-0382, 

or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Medicine are promulgated 

under § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which authorizes 

health regulatory boards to promulgate regulations that are 

reasonable and necessary to effectively administer the 

regulatory system. 

Purpose: The board does not discipline practitioners for 

defaulting on federal-guaranteed or state-guaranteed 

educational loans or work-conditional scholarship or grants. 

Therefore, this provision is not needed to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is expected to be noncontroversial and is appropriate for 

the fast-track rulemaking process because the amendment 

eliminates an unused portion of the regulation. 

Substance: The regulatory action removes the ability of the 

board to delegate cases to an agency subordinate related to 

default on a federal-guaranteed or state-guaranteed educational 

loan or on a work-conditional scholarship or grant. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. There are no primary advantages or disadvantages 

to the agency or the Commonwealth.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (board) proposes to remove defaulting on 

an educational loan as a type of case for which it may delegate 

to an agency subordinate the authority to conduct an informal 

fact-finding proceeding.  

Background. In accordance with subdivision 10 of § 54.1-2400 

of the Code of Virginia,2 the board may delegate an informal 

fact-finding proceeding to an agency subordinate upon 

determination that probable cause exists that a practitioner may 

be subject to a disciplinary action. The current regulation states 

that the following six types of cases may be delegated to an 

agency subordinate: 

1. The practitioner profile system; 

2. Continuing competency; 

3. Advertising; 

4. Compliance with board orders; 

5. Default on a federal or state-guaranteed educational loan or 

on a work-conditional scholarship or grant for the cost of a 

health professional education; or 

6. Failure to provide medical records. 

The board proposes to remove subdivision 5. This change is in 

response to a 2022 periodic review3 and the provisions of 

Chapter 170 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which limited the 

ability of certain agencies to take action regarding a 

practitioner's license solely on the basis of such a default.4 

According to the Department of Health Professions (DHP), 

current agency staff (including those who have been there more 

than 20 years) are not aware of the board having ever taken 

disciplinary action for loan default in practice. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. As described, the board does not 

in practice discipline practitioners for defaulting on loans of 

any kind. Therefore, removing the provision on defaulting 

would have no impact in practice. It may be moderately 

beneficial in that readers of the regulation would not be misled 

into thinking that the board did discipline practitioners for 

defaulting on loans.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment affects readers of the regulation and DHP staff. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.5 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentReinstatementApplication_032023-20230315155546.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentReinstatementApplication_032023-20230315155546.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_CourtesyCardReinstatementApplication_032023-20230315155456.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_SurfaceTransportationandRemovalServices_ReinstatementApplication_032023-20230315155947.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_SurfaceTransportationandRemovalServices_ReinstatementApplication_032023-20230315155947.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Presentation_2020-20210421121111.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Name_Address_2016-20210421121134.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6410/1036f006410~11.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3886b006212~219.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3886b006212~219.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=915b2006212~229.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=915b2006212~229.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
mailto:@erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
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or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As the proposal does 

not increase cost or reduce revenue, no adverse impact is 

indicated. 

Small Businesses6 Affected.7 The proposed amendment does 

not adversely affect small businesses.  

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed amendment does not 

disproportionately affect any locality or affect costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendment does not affect the use and value of private 

property or real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2400/. 

3 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2146. 

4 See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-

bin/legp604.exe?ses=181&typ=bil&val=ch170. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

7 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

8 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

9 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the ability of the board to delegate 

a case to an agency subordinate that is related to default on 

a federal-guaranteed or state-guaranteed educational loan 

or work-conditional scholarship or grant for the cost of a 

health professional education. 

18VAC85-15-20. Criteria for delegation. 

Cases that may be delegated to an agency subordinate shall 

be limited to those involving: 

1. The practitioner profile system; 

2. Continuing competency; 

3. Advertising; 

4. Compliance with board orders; or 

5. Default on a federal or state-guaranteed educational loan 

or on a work-conditional scholarship or grant for the cost of 

a health professional education; or 

6. Failure to provide medical records. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7376; Filed June 25, 2024, 3:57 p.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology (amending 18VAC125-20-54, 

18VAC125-20-65). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 14, 2024. 

Effective Date: August 29, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Psychology are 

promulgated under § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

authorizes health regulatory boards to promulgate regulations 

that are reasonable and necessary to effectively administer the 

regulatory system. 

Purpose: The impetus for this action is the board's desire to 

ensure more individuals can apply for licensure as a clinical 

psychologist in Virginia. This increases the number of 

available psychologists in the Commonwealth, which protects 

the public health, safety, and welfare. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2400/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2146
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=181&typ=bil&val=ch170
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=181&typ=bil&val=ch170
mailto:@jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action should be noncontroversial because it reduces barriers 

to licensure. 

Substance: These amendments allow school psychologists who 

have obtained a doctorate to obtain a license in clinical 

psychology in Virginia. Additionally, the changes allow a 

resident studying school psychology to be supervised by a 

clinical psychologist. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is a potentially 

increased workforce of clinical psychologists. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no primary advantages 

or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Psychology (board) proposes to make two 

discretionary amendments that would reduce barriers to 

licensure as a clinical psychologist or school psychologist in 

Virginia. 

Background. A 2022 report by the Virginia Health Care 

Foundation highlighted the ways in which the COVID-19 

pandemic exacerbated the shortage of behavioral health 

services in the Commonwealth.2 The Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) reports that this Board (like other 

behavioral health boards) is trying to reduce barriers to 

licensure while ensuring that licensed professionals are 

adequately trained for the level of services they provide. At its 

September 2022 meeting, the board's Regulatory Committee 

recommended amending the regulations to allow a doctoral-

level school psychologist to be licensed as a clinical 

psychologist to reduce barriers to licensure for that profession.3 

In addition, the board discussed the need to change the 

regulations to allow for individuals seeking licensure as a 

school psychologist to be supervised by a clinical psychologist. 

The regulation provides for three licensure categories (clinical, 

applied, and school psychologists) and each category has 

different requirements. Currently, the regulation requires 

clinical psychologists to hold a doctorate in clinical or 

counseling psychology, and school psychologists to hold either 

a master's degree in school psychology or a master's degree 

from a psychology program that meets certain criteria listed in 

section 56 of 18VAC125-20. DHP reports that some school 

psychologists obtain a doctorate in school psychology, and that 

the doctoral-level programs in clinical, counseling, and school 

psychology provide very similar training. Accordingly, the 

board seeks to allow individuals with a doctorate in school 

psychology to become licensed as clinical psychologists. 

Specifically, the board proposes to amend section 54 

(Education requirements for clinical psychologists) to include 

school psychology under the requirement that an applicant 

shall "hold a doctorate in clinical or counseling psychology 

from a professional psychology program" that meets the 

accreditation requirements specified in that section.4 The 

proposed amendments would also include school psychology 

in the educational programs specified in subsection D of that 

section. 

Further, the board proposes to amend 18VAC125-20-65 

(Residency) so that a resident seeking licensure as a school 

psychologist may be supervised by a clinical psychologist. 

This would partially relax the current requirement that 

supervisors be licensed to practice in the same licensure 

category in which the resident is seeking licensure, and 

increase flexibility for candidates seeking a school 

psychologist license. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Starting June 23, 2028, the 

proposed changes would also benefit individuals with 

doctorates in school psychology by allowing them to become 

licensed as clinical psychologists. In the interim, this proposed 

change would benefit individuals for whom obtaining a 

doctorate in school psychology would be easier than obtaining 

a doctorate in clinical or counseling psychology (which may 

vary depending on their master's degree and the programs 

available to them) by providing them with a pathway to 

licensure as a clinical psychologist once they complete their 

doctorate. The proposed changes would also benefit 

individuals currently seeking licensure as school psychologists 

by providing more flexibility in finding acceptable supervisors 

to meet their residency requirement. Lastly, employers of 

licensed clinical and school psychologists as well as the 

patients they serve would benefit to the extent that the 

proposed changes increase the supply of licensed 

professionals. Educational institutions that meet the 

accreditation requirements of this regulation and provide 

doctoral programs in school psychology may also benefit to the 

extent that the proposed changes result in an increase in 

enrollment. The proposed amendments would not create any 

new net costs.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments would directly benefit both licensed school 

psychologists with doctorates and residents seeking licensure 

in school psychology. As of June 30, 2023, there were 103 

licensed school psychologists and 27 residents in school 

psychology.5 VDH does not collect data on the number of 

licensed school psychologists with doctorates in their field. A 

2022 DHP report shows that 50% of licensed clinical 

psychologists primarily engage in private practice, and that the 

other 50% are employed by various health care and behavioral 

health care facilities.6 These facilities would benefit to the 

extent that new licensees with doctorates in school psychology 

and new residents in those programs seek employment. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.7 An 
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adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As described, the 

proposed changes would not create any new net costs. Thus, an 

adverse impact is not indicated. 

Small Businesses8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments are 

not expected to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities10 Affected.11 The proposed amendments neither 

appear to disproportionately affect any particular localities nor 

introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are not likely to have a substantive impact on total 

employment; however, the number of licensed clinical and 

school psychologists and their employment would likely 

increase. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. By reducing 

the barriers to becoming a clinical psychologist, the proposed 

regulation may increase the supply of clinical psychologists, 

which could lower hiring costs for private firms that employ 

them. Thus, the value of some such firms may moderately 

increase. The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See this 2022 report from the Virginia Health Care Foundation: 

https://www.vhcf.org/2022/01/19/new-assessment-finds-alarming-shortage-

of-virginia-licensed-behavioral-health-professionals-and-outlines-attainable-

solutions/. 

3 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=meeting\31\32900\Min

utes_DHP_ 32900_v2.pdf. 

4 This provision would have a delayed effective date of June 23, 2028, which 

was added to this section in a 2021 regulatory action. See 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4897. 

5 Source: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2023Q4/04CurrentLicense

Count Q4FY2023.pdf.  

6 See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0810CP

2022.pdf. 

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

8 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 

9 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

10 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

11 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Psychology concurs with the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. The 

board would like to clarify, however, that the three types of 

psychology licenses in the Commonwealth are dictated by 

§ 54.1-3606 of the Code of Virginia. The regulation mirrors 

statute, producing the three required license types. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow (i) school psychologists who have 

obtained a doctorate to obtain a license in clinical 

psychology in Virginia and (ii) a resident studying school 

psychology to be supervised by a clinical psychologist. 

18VAC125-20-54. Education requirements for clinical 

psychologists. 

A. Beginning June 23, 2028, an applicant shall hold a 

doctorate in clinical or, counseling, or school psychology from 

a professional psychology program in a regionally accredited 

university that was accredited at the time the applicant 

graduated from the program by the APA, CPA, or an 

accrediting body acceptable to the board. Graduates of 

programs that are not within the United States or Canada shall 

provide documentation from an acceptable credential 

evaluation service that provides information verifying that the 

program is substantially equivalent to an APA-accredited 

program. 

B. Prior to June 23, 2028, an applicant shall either hold a 

doctorate from an accredited program, as specified in 

subsection A of this section, or shall hold a doctorate from a 

professional psychology program that documents that the 

program offers education and training that prepares individuals 

for the practice of clinical psychology as defined in § 54.1-

3600 of the Code of Virginia and meets the following criteria: 

1. The program is within an institution of higher education 

accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education or publicly recognized by the 

Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada as a 

member in good standing. Graduates of programs that are 

https://www.vhcf.org/2022/01/19/new-assessment-finds-alarming-shortage-of-virginia-licensed-behavioral-health-professionals-and-outlines-attainable-solutions/
https://www.vhcf.org/2022/01/19/new-assessment-finds-alarming-shortage-of-virginia-licensed-behavioral-health-professionals-and-outlines-attainable-solutions/
https://www.vhcf.org/2022/01/19/new-assessment-finds-alarming-shortage-of-virginia-licensed-behavioral-health-professionals-and-outlines-attainable-solutions/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=meeting/31/32900/Minutes_DHP_%2032900_v2.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=meeting/31/32900/Minutes_DHP_%2032900_v2.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/%20ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4897
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2023Q4/04CurrentLicenseCount%20Q4FY2023.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2023Q4/04CurrentLicenseCount%20Q4FY2023.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0810CP2022.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0810CP2022.pdf
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not within the United States or Canada must provide 

documentation from an acceptable credential evaluation 

service that provides information that allows the board to 

determine if the program meets the requirements set forth in 

this chapter. 

2. The program shall be recognizable as an organized entity 

within the institution. 

3. The program shall be an integrated, organized sequence 

of study with an identifiable psychology faculty and a 

psychologist directly responsible for the program and shall 

have an identifiable body of students who are matriculated 

in that program for a degree. The faculty shall be accessible 

to students and provide them with guidance and supervision. 

The faculty shall provide appropriate professional role 

models and engage in actions that promote the student's 

acquisition of knowledge, skills, and competencies 

consistent with the program's training goals. 

4. The program shall encompass a minimum of three 

academic years of full-time graduate study or the equivalent 

thereof. 

5. The program shall include a general core curriculum 

containing a minimum of three or more graduate semester 

hours or five or more graduate quarter hours in each of the 

following substantive content areas: 

a. Biological bases of behavior (e.g., physiological 

psychology, comparative psychology, neuropsychology, 

sensation and perception, health psychology, 

pharmacology, neuroanatomy). 

b. Cognitive-affective bases of behavior (e.g., learning 

theory, cognition, motivation, emotion). 

c. Social bases of behavior (e.g., social psychology, group 

processes, organizational and systems theory, community 

and preventive psychology, multicultural issues). 

d. Psychological measurement. 

e. Research methodology. 

f. Techniques of data analysis. 

g. Professional standards and ethics. 

6. The program shall include a minimum of at least three or 

more graduate semester credit hours or five or more graduate 

quarter hours in each of the following clinical psychology 

content areas: 

a. Individual differences in behavior (e.g., personality 

theory, cultural difference and diversity). 

b. Human development (e.g., child, adolescent, geriatric 

psychology). 

c. Dysfunctional behavior, abnormal behavior, or 

psychopathology. 

d. Theories and methods of intellectual assessment and 

diagnosis. 

e. Theories and methods of personality assessment and 

diagnosis, including its practical application. 

f. Effective interventions and evaluating the efficacy of 

interventions. 

C. Applicants shall submit documentation of having 

successfully completed practicum experiences involving 

assessment, diagnosis, and psychological interventions. The 

practicum experiences shall include a minimum of nine 

graduate semester hours or 15 or more graduate quarter hours 

or equivalent in appropriate settings to ensure a wide range of 

supervised training and educational experiences. 

D. An applicant shall graduate from an educational program 

in clinical, counseling, or school psychology that includes an 

appropriate emphasis on and experience in the diagnosis and 

treatment of persons with moderate to severe mental disorders. 

E. Candidates for clinical psychologist licensure shall have 

successfully completed an internship in a program that is either 

accredited by APA or CPA, or is a member of APPIC, or the 

Association of State and Provincial Psychology 

Boards/National Register of Health Service Psychologists, or 

one that meets equivalent standards. If the internship was 

obtained in an educational program outside of the United States 

or Canada, a credentialing service approved by the board shall 

verify equivalency to an internship in an APA-accredited 

program. 

F. An applicant for a clinical license may fulfill the residency 

requirement of 1,500 hours, or some part thereof, as required 

for licensure in 18VAC125-20-65, in the doctoral practicum 

supervised experience, which occurs prior to the internship, 

and that meets the following standards: 

1. The supervised professional experience shall be part of an 

organized sequence of training within the applicant's 

doctoral program that meets the criteria specified in this 

section. 

2. The supervised experience shall include face-to-face 

direct client services, service-related activities, and 

supporting activities. 

a. "Face-to-face direct client services" means treatment or 

intervention, assessment, and interviewing of clients. 

b. "Service-related activities" means scoring, reporting or 

treatment note writing, and consultation related to face-to-

face direct services. 

c. "Supporting activities" means time spent under 

supervision of face-to-face direct services and service-

related activities provided onsite on site or in the trainee's 

academic department, as well as didactic experiences, 

such as laboratories or seminars, directly related to such 

services or activities. 

3. In order for pre-doctoral practicum hours to fulfill all or 

part of the residency requirement, the following shall apply: 
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a. Not less than one-quarter of the hours shall be spent in 

providing face-to-face direct client services; 

b. Not less than one-half of the hours shall be in a 

combination of face-to-face direct service hours and hours 

spent in service-related activities; and 

c. The remainder of the hours may be spent in a 

combination of face-to-face direct services, service-

related activities, and supporting activities. 

4. A minimum of one hour of individual face-to-face 

supervision shall be provided for every eight hours of 

supervised professional experience spent in direct client 

contact and service-related activities. 

5. Two hours of group supervision with up to five practicum 

students may be substituted for one hour of individual 

supervision. In no case shall the hours of individual 

supervision be less than one-half of the total hours of 

supervision. 

6. The hours of pre-doctoral supervised experience reported 

by an applicant shall be certified by the program's director 

of clinical training on a form provided by the board. 

7. If the supervised experience hours completed in a series 

of practicum experiences do not total 1,500 hours or if a 

candidate is deficient in any of the categories of hours, a 

candidate shall fulfill the remainder of the hours by meeting 

requirements specified in 18VAC125-20-65. 

18VAC125-20-65. Residency. 

A. Candidates for clinical or school psychologist licensure 

shall have successfully completed a residency consisting of a 

minimum of 1,500 hours of supervised experience in the 

delivery of clinical or school psychology services acceptable 

to the board. 

1. For clinical psychology candidates, the hours of 

supervised practicum experiences in a doctoral program may 

be counted toward the residency hours, as specified in 

18VAC125-20-54. Hours acquired during the required 

internship shall not be counted toward the 1,500 residency 

hours. If the supervised experience hours completed in a 

practicum do not total 1,500 hours or if a candidate is 

deficient in any of the categories of hours, a candidate may 

fulfill the remainder of the hours by meeting requirements 

specified in subsection B of this section. 

2. School psychologist candidates shall complete all the 

residency requirements after receipt of their final school 

psychology degree. 

B. Residency requirements. 

1. Candidates for clinical or school psychologist licensure 

shall have successfully completed a residency consisting of 

a minimum of 1,500 hours in a period of not less than 12 

months and not to exceed three years of supervised 

experience in the delivery of clinical or school psychology 

services acceptable to the board, or the applicant may 

request approval to extend a residency if there were 

extenuating circumstances that precluded completion within 

three years. 

2. Supervised experience obtained in Virginia without prior 

written board approval will not be accepted toward 

licensure. Candidates shall not begin the residency until after 

completion of the required degree as set forth in 18VAC125-

20-54 or 18VAC125-20-56. 

3. In order to have the residency accepted for licensure, an 

individual who proposes to obtain supervised post-degree 

experience in Virginia shall register with the board prior to 

the onset of such supervision by submission of: 

a. A supervisory contract along with the application 

package; 

b. The registration of supervision fee set forth in 

18VAC125-20-30; and 

c. An official transcript documenting completion of 

educational requirements as set forth in 18VAC125-20-54 

or 18VAC125-20-56 as applicable. 

4. If board approval was required for supervised experience 

obtained in another United States jurisdiction or Canada in 

which residency hours were obtained, a candidate shall 

provide evidence of board approval from such jurisdiction. 

5. There shall be a minimum of two hours of individual 

supervision per 40 hours of supervised experience. Group 

supervision of up to five residents may be substituted for one 

of the two hours on the basis that two hours of group 

supervision equals one hour of individual supervision, but in 

no case shall the resident receive less than one hour of 

individual supervision per 40 hours. 

6. Supervision shall be provided by a psychologist who 

holds a current, unrestricted license in the jurisdiction in 

which supervision is being provided and who is licensed to 

practice in the licensure category in which the resident is 

seeking licensure; however, a resident seeking licensure as a 

school psychologist may be supervised by a clinical 

psychologist. 

7. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for activities 

beyond the supervisor's demonstrable areas of competence 

nor for activities for which the applicant has not had 

appropriate education and training. 

8. The supervising psychologist shall maintain records of 

supervision performed and shall regularly review and co-

sign case notes written by the supervised resident during the 

residency period. At the end of the residency training period, 

the supervisor shall submit to the board a written evaluation 

of the applicant's performance. 

9. The board may consider special requests in the event that 

the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 
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geography or disability that limits the resident's access to 

qualified supervisors. 

C. Residents shall not refer to or identify themselves as 

clinical psychologists or school psychologists, independently 

solicit clients, bill directly for services, or in any way represent 

themselves as licensed psychologists. Notwithstanding, this 

does not preclude supervisors or employing institutions from 

billing for the services of an appropriately identified resident. 

During the residency period, residents shall use their names, 

the initials of their degree, and the title "Resident in 

Psychology" in the licensure category in which licensure is 

sought. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7374; Filed June 25, 2024, 3:51 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, or 

police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-165. Regulations Relating to 

Standards and Specifications for Purple Warning Lights 

Used by Vehicles Leading or Escorting Funeral 

Processions (adding 19VAC30-165-15; repealing 

19VAC30-165-20 through 19VAC30-165-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 46.2-1005 and 46.2-1025 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 14, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Lieutenant Thomas Lambert, Director, Office 

of Legal Affairs, Department of State Police, Virginia State 

Police Headquarters, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, Suite 1200, 

Chesterfield, VA 232358, telephone (804) 674-6722, FAX 

(804) 968-0322, or email tom.lambert@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove requirements that funeral 

directors determine the chromaticity boundaries for the 

color of purple warning lights used by vehicles leading or 

escorting funeral processions and (ii) add a requirement 

that purple warning lights be warranted, marked, or 

otherwise certified by the manufacturer, seller, or installer 

as being in compliance with the applicable Society of 

Automotive Engineers color specification standards.  

19VAC30-165-15. Requirements.  

Purple warning lights as described in § 46.2-1025 C of the 

Code of Virginia must be warranted, marked, or otherwise 

certified by the manufacturer, seller, or installer as being in 

compliance with the applicable SAE color specification 

standards. 

19VAC30-165-20. Purpose. (Repealed.) 

The purpose of this standard is to establish specifications for 

warning lights used by vehicles escorting funeral processions 

and define the chromaticity boundaries for the color purple.  

19VAC30-165-30. Performance requirements. (Repealed.) 

Purple warning lights as described in this chapter must (i) 

meet all criteria as set forth for single color optical warning 

devices in SAE Recommended Practice J845 for Class 2 

warning lamps with a minimum flash of that specified for the 

color red; (ii) meet all criteria as set forth for single color 

gaseous discharge warning lamps in SAE Recommended 

Practice J1318 for Class 2 warning lamps with a minimum 

flash of that specified for the color red; or (iii) meet all criteria 

of SAE Recommended Practice J595 with a minimum candela-

luminous intensity of that specified for the color red.  

19VAC30-165-40. Color definition (purple). (Repealed.) 

The fundamental requirements of color are expressed as 

chromaticity coordinates according to the CIE (1931) standard 

colorimetric system. The purple color of light emitted from this 

device shall fall within the following boundaries:  

x =.25 (blue boundary)  

x =.33 (red boundary)  

y =.18 (white boundary).  

19VAC30-165-50. Approval process. (Repealed.) 

An application for approval of a specific manufacturer's 

model of warning light shall be directed to the Safety Officer, 

Department of State Police, 491 Southlake Boulevard, 

Richmond, Virginia 23236. Such requests must include a 

sample of the device, a laboratory report prepared by a test 

facility independent of the device's manufacturer that certifies 

the device has been tested and found to meet the requirements 

of this chapter, and a fee of $150.  

Upon review of the application for approval and laboratory 

results, the applicant will be notified in writing of the 

department's findings.  

Devices found to meet the requirements of this chapter will 

be added to the Approved Equipment List and distributed to 

official inspection stations.  

19VAC30-165-60. Proof of compliance. (Repealed.) 

The device shall be prominently and permanently marked 

with the manufacturer's name or trademark and model 

mailto:@tom.lambert@vsp.virginia.gov
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designation. Such markings must be visible for inspection 

without dismantling the device when properly installed.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(19VAC30-165) 

Society of Automotive Engineers Standard J595, January 

1990.  

Society of Automotive Engineers Standard J845, March 

1992.  

Society of Automotive Engineers Standard J1318, May 1998.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7919; Filed June 18, 2024, 9:22 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with (i) § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency 

discretion is involved and (ii) § 2.2-4006 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that consist only of 

changes in style or form or corrections of technical errors. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-61. Standards and 

Regulations for Licensed Adult Day Care Centers 

(amending 22VAC40-61-10, 22VAC40-61-20, 22VAC40-

61-60, 22VAC40-61-100, 22VAC40-61-110, 22VAC40-61-

130, 22VAC40-61-170, 22VAC40-61-260, 22VAC40-61-

300, 22VAC40-61-340, 22VAC40-61-510). 

22VAC40-73. Standards for Licensed Assisted Living 

Facilities (amending 22VAC40-73-10, 22VAC40-73-40, 

22VAC40-73-110, 22VAC40-73-280, 22VAC40-73-490). 

22VAC40-80. General Procedures and Information for 

Licensure (amending 22VAC40-80-10, 22VAC40-80-30, 

22VAC40-80-60, 22VAC40-80-130, 22VAC40-80-180, 

22VAC40-80-340, 22VAC40-80-390). 

22VAC40-90. Regulation for Background Checks for 

Assisted Living Facilities and Adult Day Care Centers 

(amending 22VAC40-90-10, 22VAC40-90-20, 22VAC40-

90-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1733 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 14, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Samantha Fogt, Licensing Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 5600 Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, telephone (804) 845-0308, or email 

samantha.fogt@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 37 and 150 of the 2024 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments rename "adult day care centers" 

to "adult day centers." 

Chapter 61 

Standards and Regulations for Licensed Adult Day Care 

Centers 

22VAC40-61-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder control, 

eating, and feeding. A person's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining required 

care needs and necessary services. 

"Administer medication" means to open a container of 

medicine or to remove the ordered dosage and to give it to the 

participant for whom it is ordered in such a manner as is 

ordered or is appropriate. 

"Adult" means any person 18 years of age or older. 

"Adult day care center" or "center" means any facility that is 

either operated for profit or that desires licensure and that 

provides supplementary care and protection during only a part 

of the day to four or more adults who are aged, or infirm, or 

disabled adults who have disabilities and who reside 

elsewhere, except (i) a facility or portion of a facility licensed 

by the State Board of Health or the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services and (ii) the home or 

residence of an individual who cares for only persons related 

to him the individual by blood or marriage. Included in this 

definition are any two or more places, establishments, or 

institutions owned, operated, or controlled by a single entity 

and providing such supplementary care and protection to a 

combined total of four or more adults who are aged, or infirm, 

or disabled adults who have disabilities. 

"Advance directive" means (i) a witnessed written document, 

voluntarily executed by the declarant in accordance with the 

requirements of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) a 

witnessed oral statement, made by the declarant subsequent to 

the time he the declarant is diagnosed as suffering from a 

terminal condition and in accordance with the provisions of 

§ 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Ambulatory" means the condition of a participant who is 

physically and mentally capable of self-preservation by 

evacuating in response to an emergency to a refuge area as 

mailto:@samantha.fogt@dss.virginia.gov
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described in 13VAC5-63, the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code, without the assistance of another person, or 

from the structure itself without the assistance of another 

person if there is no such refuge area within the structure, even 

if such participant may require the assistance of a wheelchair, 

walker, cane, prosthetic device, or a single verbal command to 

evacuate. 

"Business entity" means an individual or sole proprietor, 

association, partnership, limited liability company, business 

trust, corporation, public agency, or religious organization. 

"Chapter" or "this chapter" means these regulations, that is, 

Standards and Regulations for Licensed Adult Day Care 

Centers, 22VAC40-61, unless noted otherwise. 

"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug that 

is used for discipline or convenience and not required to treat 

the participant's medical symptoms or symptoms from mental 

illness or intellectual disability and that prohibits an individual 

from reaching his the participant's highest level of functioning. 

"Communicable disease" means an illness that spreads from 

one person to another or from an animal to a person. 

"CPR" means cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Dietary supplement" means a product intended for ingestion 

that supplements the diet, is labeled as a dietary supplement, is 

not represented as a sole item of a meal or diet, and contains a 

dietary ingredient, for example, vitamins, minerals, amino 

acid, herbs or other botanicals, dietary substances (such as 

enzymes), and concentrates, metabolites, constituents, 

extracts, or combinations of the preceding types of ingredients. 

"Dietary supplements" may be found in many forms, such as 

tablets, capsules, liquids, or bars. 

"Direct care staff" means supervisors, assistants, aides, or 

other staff of a center who assist participants in the 

performance of personal care or ADLs. 

"Director" means the qualified person who has been 

delegated responsibility for the programmatic and 

administrative functions of the adult day care center. 

"Electronic record" means a record created, generated, sent, 

communicated, received, or stored by electronic means. 

"Electronic signature" means an electronic sound, symbol, or 

process attached to or logically associated with a record and 

executed or adopted by a person with the intent to sign the 

record. 

"Good character and reputation" means findings have been 

established that the individual (i) maintains business or 

professional and community relationships that are 

characterized by honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and 

dependability and (ii) has a history or pattern of behavior that 

demonstrates the individual is suitable and able to administer a 

program for the care, supervision, and protection of adults. 

"Legal representative" means a person legally responsible for 

representing or standing in the place of the participant for the 

conduct of his the participant's affairs. "Legal representative" 

may include a guardian, conservator, attorney-in-fact under 

durable power of attorney, trustee, or other person expressly 

named by a court of competent jurisdiction or the participant 

as his the participant's agent in a legal document that specifies 

the scope of the representative's authority to act. A legal 

representative may only represent or stand in the place of a 

participant for the function for which he the legal 

representative has legal authority to act. A participant is 

presumed competent and is responsible for making all health 

care, personal care, financial, and other personal decisions that 

affect his the participant's life unless a representative with legal 

authority has been appointed by a court of competent 

jurisdiction or has been appointed by the participant in a 

properly executed and signed document. A participant may 

have different legal representatives for different functions. For 

any given standard, the term "legal representative" applies 

solely to the legal representative with the authority to act in 

regard to the function relevant to that particular standard. 

"Licensed health care professional" means any health care 

professional currently licensed by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to practice within the scope of his that health care 

professional's profession, such as a nurse practitioner, 

registered nurse, licensed practical nurse (nurses may be 

licensed or hold multistate licensure pursuant to § 54.1-3000 

of the Code of Virginia), clinical social worker, dentist, 

occupational therapist, pharmacist, physical therapist, 

physician, physician assistant, psychologist, and speech-

language pathologist. Responsibilities of physicians referenced 

in this chapter may be implemented by nurse practitioners or 

physician assistants in accordance with their protocols or 

practice agreements with their supervising physicians and in 

accordance with the law. 

"Licensee" means the business entity to whom a license is 

issued and who is legally responsible for compliance with the 

laws and regulations related to the center. A license may not be 

issued in the name of more than one business entity. 

"Mandated reporter" means a person specified in § 63.2-1606 

of the Code of Virginia who is required to report matters giving 

reason to suspect abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an adult. 

"Mental impairment" means a disability that reduces an 

individual's ability to reason logically, make appropriate 

decisions, or engage in purposeful behavior. 

"Nonambulatory" means the condition of a participant who 

by reason of physical or mental impairment is not capable of 

self-preservation without the assistance of another person. 

"Participant" means an adult who takes part in the program of 

care and receives services from the center. 
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"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical or 

mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or adjacent 

to the participant's body that the participant cannot remove 

easily, which restricts freedom of movement or access to his 

the participant's body. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine in any of the 50 states or the 

District of Columbia. 

"Qualified" means having appropriate training and 

experience commensurate with assigned responsibilities, or if 

referring to a professional, possessing an appropriate degree or 

having documented equivalent education, training, or 

experience. 

"Significant change" means a change in a participant's 

condition that is expected to last longer than 30 days. 

"Significant change" does not include short-term changes that 

resolve with or without intervention, a short-term acute illness 

or episodic event, or a well-established, predictive, cyclic 

pattern of clinical signs and symptoms associated with a 

previously diagnosed condition where an appropriate course of 

treatment is in progress. 

"Staff" or "staff person" means personnel working at a center 

who are compensated or have a financial interest in the center, 

regardless of role, service, age, function, or duration of 

employment at the center. "Staff" or "staff person" also 

includes those individuals hired through a contract with the 

center to provide services for the center. 

"Standard precautions" means a set of basic infection 

prevention practices intended to prevent transmission of 

infectious diseases from one person to another. These practices 

are applied to every person at every contact to assure that 

transmission of disease does not occur. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at the center who is 

not compensated. "Volunteer" does not include a person who, 

either as an individual or as part of an organization, is only 

present at or facilitates group activities on an occasional basis 

or for special events. 

22VAC40-61-20. Requirements of law and applicability. 

A. Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code 

of Virginia includes requirements of law relating to licensure, 

including licensure of adult day care centers. 

B. This chapter applies to adult day care centers as defined in 

§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia and in 22VAC40-61-10. 

C. All programs, processes, plans, policies, or procedures 

required by this chapter must be in writing and must be 

implemented. 

22VAC40-61-60. Requirements for licensee. 

A. The licensee shall ensure compliance with all regulations 

for licensed adult day care centers and terms of the license 

issued by the department; with relevant federal, state, or local 

laws; with other relevant regulations; and with the center's own 

policies and procedures. 

B. The licensee shall: 

1. Be of good character and reputation; 

2. Protect the physical and mental well-being of the 

participants; 

3. Keep such records and make such reports as required by 

this chapter for licensed adult day care centers. Such records 

and reports may be inspected by the department's 

representative at any reasonable time in order to determine 

compliance with this chapter; 

4. Meet the qualifications of the director if he the licensee 

assumes those duties; 

5. Act in accordance with General Procedures and 

Information for Licensure (22VAC40-80); 

6. Ensure that the current license is posted in the center in a 

place conspicuous to the participants and the public; and 

7. Be responsible for the overall planning of the program and 

services to be provided by the center, including the 

following: 

a. Develop and keep current a statement of the purpose and 

scope of the services to be provided by the center, a 

description of adults who may be accepted into the 

program as well as those whom the program cannot serve, 

and policies and procedures under which the center will 

operate. 

b. Appoint and identify in writing a qualified director to 

be responsible for the day-to-day operation and 

management of the center. When the business entity is an 

individual who serves as the director, this shall also be 

noted in writing. 

c. Provide an adequate number of qualified staff capable 

of carrying out the operation of the program and to 

develop a staffing plan that includes a staffing schedule. 

d. Develop policies and procedures for the selection and 

supervision of volunteers. 

e. Develop a written organizational chart indicating chain 

of command. 

f. Make certain that when it is time to discard records, the 

records are disposed of in a manner that ensures 

confidentiality. 

22VAC40-61-100. General qualifications. 

All staff members shall: 

1. Be of good character and reputation; 

2. Be competent, qualified, and capable of carrying out 

assigned responsibilities; 
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3. Be considerate, understanding, and respectful of the 

rights, dignity, and sensitivities of persons who are aged, or 

infirm, and disabled or who have disabilities; 

4. Be clean and well groomed; 

5. Be able to speak, read, understand, and write in English as 

necessary to carry out their job responsibilities; 

6. Be able to understand and apply the standards in this 

chapter as they relate to their respective responsibilities; and 

7. Meet the requirements specified in the Regulation for 

Background Checks for Assisted Living Facilities and Adult 

Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90). 

22VAC40-61-110. Staff orientation and initial training. 

A. Prior to working directly with participants, all staff shall 

receive training in: 

1. Participant rights and responsibilities; 

2. Their individual responsibilities in the event of fire, 

including the location and operation of any fire 

extinguishers, fire alarm boxes, and approved exits; 

3. Their individual responsibilities in the event of illness or 

injuries, including the location and use of the first aid kit and 

emergency supplies; 

4. Their individual responsibilities in the event of 

emergencies, such as a lost or missing participant, severe 

weather, and loss of utilities; 

5. Infection control; 

6. Requirements and procedures for detecting and reporting 

suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of participants and 

for the mandated reporters, the consequences for failing to 

make a required report (§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of 

Virginia); and 

7. Confidential treatment of personal information about 

participants and their families. 

B. Staff who work with participants shall receive training in 

the following areas or topics no later than three weeks after 

their starting date of employment; part-time staff shall receive 

the training no later than six weeks after their starting date of 

employment. The areas or topics to be covered in the staff 

training shall include: 

1. The purpose and goals of the adult day care center; 

2. The policies and procedures of the center as they relate to 

the staff member's responsibilities; 

3. Required compliance with regulations for adult day care 

centers as it relates to their duties and responsibilities; 

4. The physical, emotional, and cognitive needs of the 

center's population; 

5. The current participants' strengths and preferences, their 

individualized plans of care, and their service needs and 

supports; 

6. The schedule of activities; 

7. Behavioral interventions, behavior acceptance and 

accommodation, and behavior management techniques; 

8. Interdisciplinary team approach; 

9. Implementation of advance directives and Do Not 

Resuscitate Orders; 

10. Risk management; and 

11. The needs of participants' family members or caregivers. 

C. A supervisor or designated trained staff shall be on the 

premises and closely oversee the individual's work with 

participants until training required in subsection B of this 

section is complete. 

22VAC40-61-130. Director. 

A. The director, or a designated assistant director who meets 

the qualifications of the director, shall be responsible for the 

center's program and day-to-day operations of the center and 

shall be present at least 51% of the center's weekly hours of 

operation. The responsibilities of the director shall include the 

following areas: 

1. The content of the program offered to the participants in 

care. 

2. Programmatic functions, including orientation, training, 

and scheduling of all staff. 

3. Management of the supervision provided to all staff. 

4. Assignment of a sufficient number of qualified staff to 

meet the participants' needs for: 

a. Adequate nutrition; 

b. Health supervision and maintenance; 

c. Personal care; 

d. Socialization, recreation, activities, and stimulation; 

and 

e. Supervision, safety, and protection. 

5. The duties and responsibilities required by this chapter. 

B. The director shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. Be at least 21 years of age. 

2. Have completed, at a minimum, a bachelor's degree from 

an accredited college or university and two years of 

experience working with older adults or persons with 

disabilities. This may be paid full-time employment or its 

equivalent in part-time employment, volunteer work, or 

internship. The following qualifications are also acceptable 

for the director: 
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a. Current licensure as a nursing home administrator or 

assisted living facility administrator from the Board of 

Long-Term Care Administrators; or 

b. Current licensure in Virginia as a registered nurse. The 

requirement for two years of experience working with 

older adults or persons with disabilities also must be met. 

c. An exception to subdivisions 2 a and 2 b of this 

subsection is made for any person continuously employed 

in an adult day care center licensed prior to July 1, 2000, 

as either a director or assistant director who has completed 

at least 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours of 

postsecondary education from an accredited college or 

institution and has completed at least two years years' 

experience working with older adults or persons with 

disabilities. This may be paid full-time employment or its 

equivalent in part-time employment or in volunteer work. 

3. The director shall demonstrate knowledge, skills, and 

abilities in the administration and management of the adult 

day care program, including (i) knowledge and 

understanding of the population being served by the center, 

(ii) supervisory and interpersonal skills, (iii) ability to plan 

and implement the program, and (iv) knowledge of financial 

management sufficient to ensure program development and 

continuity. 

C. The director shall complete 24 hours of continuing 

education training annually to maintain and develop skills. At 

least two of the required hours of training shall focus on 

infection control and prevention. When adults with mental 

impairments participate at the center, at least four of the 

required hours shall focus on topics related to participants' 

mental impairments. This training shall be in addition to first 

aid, CPR, orientation, or initial or refresher medication aide 

training. Documentation of attendance shall be retained at the 

center and shall include type of training, name of the entity that 

provided the training, and date and number of hours of training. 

22VAC40-61-170. Volunteers. 

A. Individuals who volunteer at the center shall: 

1. Have qualifications appropriate to the services they 

render; and 

2. Be subject to laws and regulations governing confidential 

treatment of personal information. 

B. No volunteer shall be permitted to serve in an adult day 

care center without the permission or unless under the 

supervision of a person who has received a criminal record 

clearance pursuant to § 63.2-1720 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Duties and responsibilities of all volunteers shall be clearly 

defined in writing. 

D. At least one staff member shall be assigned responsibility 

for overall selection, supervision, and orientation of 

volunteers. 

E. All volunteers shall be under the supervision of a 

designated staff person when participants are present. 

F. Prior to beginning volunteer service, all volunteers shall 

attend an orientation, including information on their duties and 

responsibilities, participant rights, confidentiality, emergency 

procedures, infection control, the name of their supervisor, and 

reporting requirements. All volunteers shall sign and date a 

statement that they have received and understood this 

information. 

G. Volunteers may be counted in the staff-to-participant ratio 

if both of the following criteria are met: 

1. These volunteers meet the qualifications and training 

requirements for staff; and 

2. For each volunteer, there shall be at least one staff also 

counted in the staff-to-participant ratio. 

22VAC40-61-260. Physical examinations and report. 

A. Within the 30 days preceding admission, a participant shall 

have a physical examination by a licensed physician. 

B. The report of the required physical examination shall be 

on file at the center and shall include: 

1. The person's name, date of birth, address, and telephone 

number. 

2. The date of the physical examination. 

3. Height, weight, and blood pressure. 

4. Significant medical history. 

5. General physical condition, including a systems review as 

is medically indicated. 

6. All diagnoses and significant medical problems. 

7. Any known allergies and description of the person's 

reactions. 

8. Any recommendations for care, including: 

a. A list of all medications, including dosages, route, and 

frequency of administration; 

b. Any special diet or any food intolerances; 

c. Any therapy, treatments, or procedures the individual is 

undergoing or should receive and by whom; and 

d. Any restrictions or limitations on physical activities or 

program participation. 

9. The participant shall obtain an evaluation by a qualified 

licensed practitioner that who completes an assessment for 

tuberculosis (TB) in a communicable form no earlier than 30 

days before admission. The evaluation for tuberculosis shall 

be consistent with the TB risk assessment as published by 

the Virginia Department of Health, with additional testing, 

singly or in combination, as deemed necessary. 

Documentation of the TB evaluation is required, which 
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includes the information contained on the form "Report of 

Tuberculosis Screening" recommended by the Virginia 

Department of Health. The form shall be signed by the 

qualified licensed practitioner who performs the evaluation. 

10. A statement that specifies whether the individual is 

considered to be ambulatory or nonambulatory. 

11. A statement that specifies whether the individual is or is 

not capable of self-administering medication. 

12. The signature of the examining physician or his the 

physician's designee. 

C. Subsequent medical evaluations. 

1. Each participant shall annually submit a report of physical 

examination by a physician, including the information 

required in subdivisions B 1 through B 8 and B 10, B 11, and 

B 12 of this section. 

2. At the request of the licensee or director of the center or 

the Department of Social Services, a report of examination 

by a physician shall be obtained when there are indications 

that the center can no longer provide appropriate or safe care 

because of changes in the participant's physical or mental 

health. The written report of the physical examination shall 

be: 

a. Dated; 

b. Signed by a physician or the physician's designee; and 

c. Used in evaluating the participant's continued suitability 

for adult day care services. 

D. Subsequent evaluations for tuberculosis. 

1. Any participant who comes in contact with a known case 

of infectious tuberculosis shall be screened as deemed 

appropriate in consultation with the local health department. 

2. Any participant who develops respiratory symptoms of 

three or more weeks duration shall be evaluated immediately 

for the presence of infectious tuberculosis. Any such 

participant shall not be allowed to return to the program until 

a physician has determined that the individual is free of 

infectious tuberculosis. 

3. If a participant develops an active case of tuberculosis, the 

center shall report this information to the local health 

department. 

22VAC40-61-300. Medication management. 

A. The center shall have, keep current, and implement a plan 

for medication management. The center's medication 

management plan shall address procedures for administering 

medication and shall include: 

1. Standard operating procedures and any general 

restrictions specific to the center; 

2. Methods to ensure an understanding of the responsibilities 

associated with medication management, including the 

following: 

a. Determining that staff who are responsible for 

administering medications meet the qualification 

requirements of subdivisions E 7 a and E 7 b of this 

section; 

b. Ensuring that staff who are responsible for 

administering medications are trained on requirements of 

the center's medication management plan; and 

c. Ensuring that staff who are responsible for 

administering medications are adequately supervised, 

including periodic direct observation of medication 

administration. Supervision shall be provided by (i) an 

individual employed by the center who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications or 

(ii) the director who has successfully completed a training 

program as required in subdivisions E 7 a and E 7 b of this 

section. 

3. Methods to ensure that authorizations for the 

administration of medications are current; 

4. Methods to secure and maintain supplies of each 

participant's prescription medications and any over-the-

counter drugs and supplements in a timely manner to avoid 

missed dosages; 

5. Methods for verifying that medication orders have been 

accurately transcribed to medication administration records 

(MARs), including within 24 hours of receipt of a new order 

or a change in an order; 

6. Methods for monitoring medication administration and 

the effective use of the MARs for documentation; 

7. Methods to ensure that participants do not receive 

medications or dietary supplements to which they have 

known allergies; 

8. Methods to ensure accurate accounting for all controlled 

substances whenever received by center staff, returned to 

participant, or whenever assigned medication administration 

staff changes; 

9. Procedures for proper disposal of medication; and 

10. Procedures for preventing, detecting, and investigating 

suspected or reported drug diversion. 

B. The center shall have readily accessible as reference 

materials for medication aides, at least one pharmacy reference 

book, drug guide, or medication handbook for nurses that is no 

more than two years old. 

C. Prescription and nonprescription medications, including 

sample medications, shall be given to a participant according 

to the center's medication policies and only with written or 

verbal authorization from the physician or prescriber, or the 

physician's authorized agent. For the purposes of this section, 
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an "authorized agent" means an employee of the physician who 

is under his the physician's immediate and personal 

supervision. Verbal orders shall be reviewed and signed by the 

physician or prescriber within 10 working days. 

D. The center shall maintain a list of all medications, 

including those taken at home and at the center, for each 

participant. The center shall attempt to verify and update the 

list of center-administered medications with the prescribing 

health care professional at least twice a year. Unsuccessful 

attempts to verify shall be documented. 

E. The following standards shall apply when medications are 

administered to participants at the adult day care center: 

1. All medication shall be in the original container with the 

prescription label or direction label attached and legible. 

Sample medications shall remain in the original packaging, 

labeled by a physician or other prescriber or pharmacist with 

the participant's name, the name of the medication, the 

strength, dosage, and route and frequency of administration, 

until administered. 

2. All medication shall be labeled with the participant's 

name, the name of the medication, the strength and dosage 

amount, the route of administration, and the frequency of 

administration. 

3. The medication shall be kept in a locked compartment or 

area, not accessible to participants. The locked compartment 

or area shall be free from direct sunlight and high 

temperatures and free from dampness and shall remain 

darkened when closed. 

4. The area in which the medication is prepared shall have 

sufficient light so that the labels can be read accurately and 

the correct dosage can be clearly determined. 

5. Medication shall be refrigerated, if required. When 

medication is stored in a refrigerator used for food, the 

medications shall be stored together in a locked container in 

a clearly defined area. If a refrigerator is used for medication 

only, it is permissible to store dietary supplements and foods 

and liquids used for medication administration. 

6. Unless it is contrary to the center's policy, a participant 

may take his the participant's own medication, provided that: 

a. A physician has deemed the participant capable of 

administering self-administering medication to himself; 

b. The physician has given written authorization for the 

participant to self-administer his the participant's 

medication; and 

c. Medications are kept in a safe manner inaccessible to 

other participants. 

7. When the center staff administers medications to 

participants, the following standards shall apply: 

a. Each staff person who administers medication shall be 

authorized by § 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia. All 

staff responsible for medication administration shall: 

(1) Be licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to 

administer medications; 

(2) Be a registered medication aide; 

(3) Successfully complete a training program approved by 

the Board of Nursing and accepted for use in adult day 

care centers; or 

(4) Successfully complete a training program approved by 

the Board of Nursing for the registration of medication 

aides that consists of 68 hours of student instruction and 

training. 

b. All staff who administer medications, except those 

licensed by the Commonwealth, shall complete, on an 

annual basis, four hours of medication management 

refresher training on topics specific to the administration 

of medications in the adult day care center setting. 

c. Medications shall remain in the original or pharmacy 

issued container until administered to the participant by 

the qualified medication staff. All medications shall be 

removed from the pharmacy container and be 

administered by the same qualified person within one hour 

of the individual's scheduled dosing time. 

d. Documentation shall be maintained on the MAR of all 

medications, including prescription, nonprescription, and 

sample medication, administered to a participant while at 

the center. This documentation shall become part of the 

participant's permanent record and shall include: 

(1) Name of participant; 

(2) All known allergies; 

(3) Diagnosis, condition, or specific indications for which 

the medication is prescribed; 

(4) Date medication prescribed; 

(5) Drug product name; 

(6) Dosage and strength of medication; 

(7) Route of administration; 

(8) Frequency of administration; 

(9) Date and time given and initials of staff administering 

the medication; 

(10) Date the medication is discontinued or changed; 

(11) Any medication errors or omissions; 

(12) Notation of any adverse effects or unusual reactions 

that occur; and 

(13) The name, signature, and initials of all staff 

administering medications. A master list may be used in 

lieu of this documentation on individual MARs. 

F. In the event of an adverse drug reaction or a medication 

error, the following applies: 
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1. Action shall be taken as directed by a physician, 

pharmacist, or a poison control center; 

2. The participant's physician and family member or other 

legal representative shall be notified as soon as possible. If 

not contrary to immediate medical needs of the participant, 

the participant shall also be notified of the error; and 

3. Medication administration staff shall document actions 

taken in the participant's record. 

G. The use of PRN (as needed) medications is prohibited 

unless one or more of the following conditions exist: 

1. The participant is capable of determining when 

medication is needed; 

2. A licensed health care professional administers the 

medication; 

3. The participant's physician has provided detailed written 

instructions, including symptoms that might indicate the 

need for the medication, exact dosage, exact timeframes the 

medication is to be given in a 24-hour period, and directions 

for what to do if symptoms persist; or 

4. The center staff has telephoned the participant's physician 

prior to administering the medication and explained the 

symptoms and received a documented verbal order that 

includes the information in subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

H. Any physician ordered physician-ordered treatment 

provided by staff shall be documented and shall be within the 

staff's scope of practice. 

22VAC40-61-340. Food service. 

A. Meals and snacks shall be provided by the center. The 

center shall (i) prepare the food, (ii) have the food catered, or 

(iii) utilize a contract food service. 

B. When any portion of an adult day care center is subject to 

inspection by the Virginia Department of Health, the center 

shall be in compliance with those regulations, as evidenced by 

an initial and subsequent annual report from the Virginia 

Department of Health. The report shall be retained at the center 

for a period of at least two years. 

C. If a catering service or contract food service is used, the 

service shall be approved by the local health department. The 

center shall be responsible for monitoring continued 

compliance by obtaining a copy of the Virginia Department of 

Health approval. 

D. The center shall encourage, but not require, participants to 

eat the meals and snacks provided by the center. If a participant 

brings food from home, the food shall be labeled with the 

participant's name, dated, and stored appropriately until meal 

or snack time. The fact that the participant brought food does 

not relieve the center of its responsibility to provide meals and 

snacks. 

E. A minimum of 45 minutes shall be allowed for each 

participant to complete a meal. If a participant needs additional 

time to finish his the meal due to special needs, such additional 

time shall be provided. 

22VAC40-61-510. Fire safety: compliance with state 

regulations and local fire ordinances. 

A. The center shall comply with the Virginia Statewide Fire 

Prevention Code (13VAC5-51) as determined by at least an 

annual inspection by the appropriate fire official. Reports of 

the inspections shall be retained at the center for at least two 

years. 

B. An adult day care center shall comply with any local fire 

ordinance. 

22VAC40-73-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder control, 

eating, and eating/feeding feeding. A person's degree of 

independence in performing these activities is a part of 

determining appropriate level of care and services. 

"Administer medication" means to open a container of 

medicine or to remove the ordered dosage and to give it to the 

resident for whom it is ordered. 

"Administrator" means the licensee or a person designated by 

the licensee who is responsible for the general administration 

and management of an assisted living facility and who oversees 

the day-to-day operation of the facility, including compliance 

with all regulations for licensed assisted living facilities. 

"Admission" means the date a person actually becomes a 

resident of the assisted living facility and is physically present 

at the facility. 

"Advance directive" means, as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the 

Code of Virginia, (i) a witnessed written document, voluntarily 

executed by the declarant in accordance with the requirements 

of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) a witnessed oral 

statement, made by the declarant subsequent to the time he the 

declarant is diagnosed as suffering from a terminal condition 

and in accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-2983 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Ambulatory" means the condition of a resident who is 

physically and mentally capable of self-preservation by 

evacuating in response to an emergency to a refuge area as 

defined by 13VAC5-63, the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code, without the assistance of another person, or 

from the structure itself without the assistance of another 

person if there is no such refuge area within the structure, even 

if such resident may require the assistance of a wheelchair, 
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walker, cane, prosthetic device, or a single verbal command to 

evacuate. 

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by an 

assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 

mental impairments and require at least moderate assistance 

with the activities of daily living. Included in this level of 

service are individuals who are dependent in behavior pattern 

(i.e., abusive, aggressive, disruptive) as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument. 

"Assisted living facility" means, as defined in § 63.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia, any congregate residential setting that 

provides or coordinates personal and health care services, 24-

hour supervision, and assistance (scheduled and unscheduled) 

for the maintenance or care of four or more adults who are 

aged, or infirm, or disabled who have disabilities and who are 

cared for in a primarily residential setting, except (i) a facility 

or portion of a facility licensed by the State Board of Health or 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, but including any portion of such facility not so 

licensed; (ii) the home or residence of an individual who cares 

for or maintains only persons related to him that individual by 

blood or marriage; (iii) a facility or portion of a facility serving 

individuals who are infirm or disabled persons who have 

disabilities between the ages of 18 and 21 years, or 22 years if 

enrolled in an educational program for the handicapped 

individuals with disabilities pursuant to § 22.1-214 of the Code 

of Virginia, when such facility is licensed by the department as 

a children's residential facility under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 

et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, but including any 

portion of the facility not so licensed; and (iv) any housing 

project for persons individuals who are 62 years of age or older 

or the disabled individuals with disabilities that provides no 

more than basic coordination of care services and is funded by 

the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, by 

the U.S. Department of Agriculture, or by the Virginia Housing 

Development Authority. Included in this definition are any two 

or more places, establishments, or institutions owned or 

operated by a single entity and providing maintenance or care 

to a combined total of four or more adults who are aged, or 

infirm, or disabled adults who have disabilities. Maintenance 

or care means the protection, general supervision, and 

oversight of the physical and mental well-being of an 

individual who is aged, or infirm, or disabled individual who 

has a disability. 

"Attorney-in-fact" means strictly, one who is designated to 

transact business for another: a legal agent. 

"Behavioral health authority" means the organization, 

appointed by and accountable to the governing body of the city 

or county that established it, that provides mental health, 

developmental, and substance abuse services through its own 

staff or through contracts with other organizations and 

providers. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services. 

"Building" means a structure with exterior walls under one 

roof. 

"Cardiopulmonary resuscitation" or "CPR" means an 

emergency procedure consisting of external cardiac massage 

and artificial respiration; the first treatment for a person who 

has collapsed, has no pulse, and has stopped breathing; and 

attempts to restore circulation of the blood and prevent death 

or brain damage due to lack of oxygen. 

"Case management" means multiple functions designed to 

link clients to appropriate services. Case management may 

include a variety of common components such as initial 

screening of needs, comprehensive assessment of needs, 

development and implementation of a plan of care, service 

monitoring, and client follow-up. 

"Case manager" means an employee of a public human 

services agency who is qualified and designated to develop and 

coordinate plans of care. 

"Chapter" or "this chapter" means these regulations, that is, 

Standards for Licensed Assisted Living Facilities, 22VAC40-

73, unless noted otherwise. 

"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug that 

is used for discipline or convenience and not required to treat 

the resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from mental 

illness or intellectual disability and that prohibits the resident 

from reaching his the resident's highest level of functioning. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his the commissioner's designee, or authorized representative. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means a public body 

established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of Virginia that 

provides mental health, developmental, and substance abuse 

programs and services within the political subdivision or 

political subdivisions participating on the board. 

"Companion services" means assistance provided to residents 

in such areas as transportation, meal preparation, shopping, 

light housekeeping, companionship, and household 

management. 

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 

incapacitated person and, where the context plainly indicates, 

includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary conservator." 

The term includes (i) a local or regional program designated by 

the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services as a 

public conservator pursuant to Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of 

Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) any local 

or regional tax-exempt charitable organization established 

pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code to 

provide conservatorial services to incapacitated persons. Such 

tax-exempt charitable organization shall not be a provider of 

direct services to the incapacitated person. If a tax-exempt 

charitable organization has been designated by the Department 
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for Aging and Rehabilitative Services as a public conservator, 

it may also serve as a conservator for other individuals. 

"Continuous licensed nursing care" means around-the-clock 

observation, assessment, monitoring, supervision, or provision 

of medical treatments provided by a licensed nurse. Individuals 

requiring continuous licensed nursing care may include: 

1. Individuals who have a medical instability due to 

complexities created by multiple, interrelated medical 

conditions; or 

2. Individuals with a health care condition with a high 

potential for medical instability. 

"Days" means calendar days unless noted otherwise. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 

designee of the Virginia Department of Social Services, acting 

as an authorized agent of the Commissioner of Social Services. 

"Dietary supplement" means a product intended for ingestion 

that supplements the diet, is labeled as a dietary supplement, is 

not represented as a sole item of a meal or diet, and contains a 

dietary ingredient or ingredients, (e.g., vitamins, minerals, 

amino acids, herbs or other botanicals, dietary substances (such 

as enzymes), and concentrates, metabolites, constituents, 

extracts, or combinations of the preceding types of 

ingredients). Dietary supplements may be found in many 

forms, such as tablets, capsules, liquids, or bars. 

"Direct care staff" means supervisors, assistants, aides, or 

other staff of a facility who assist residents in the performance 

of personal care or daily living activities. 

"Discharge" means the movement of a resident out of the 

assisted living facility. 

"Electronic record" means a record created, generated, sent, 

communicated, received, or stored by electronic means. 

"Electronic signature" means an electronic sound, symbol, or 

process attached to or logically associated with a record and 

executed or adopted by a person with the intent to sign the 

record. 

"Emergency placement" means the temporary status of an 

individual in an assisted living facility when the person's health 

and safety would be jeopardized by denying entry into the 

facility until the requirements for admission have been met. 

"Emergency restraint" means a restraint used when the 

resident's behavior is unmanageable to the degree an 

immediate and serious danger is presented to the health and 

safety of the resident or others. 

"General supervision and oversight" means assuming 

responsibility for the well-being of residents, either directly or 

through contracted agents. 

"Guardian" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for the personal affairs of an incapacitated person, 

including responsibility for making decisions regarding the 

person's support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education, 

therapeutic treatment, and, if not inconsistent with an order of 

involuntary admission, residence. Where the context plainly 

indicates, the term includes a "limited guardian" or a 

"temporary guardian." The term includes (i) a local or regional 

program designated by the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services as a public guardian pursuant to Article 

6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of the Code 

of Virginia or (ii) any local or regional tax-exempt charitable 

organization established pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of the Internal 

Revenue Code to provide guardian services to incapacitated 

persons. Such tax-exempt charitable organization shall not be 

a provider of direct services to the incapacitated person. If a 

tax-exempt charitable organization has been designated by the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services as a public 

guardian, it may also serve as a guardian for other individuals. 

"Habilitative service" means activities to advance a normal 

sequence of motor skills, movement, and self-care abilities or 

to prevent avoidable additional deformity or dysfunction. 

"Health care provider" means a person, corporation, facility, 

or institution licensed by this the Commonwealth to provide 

health care or professional services, including a physician or 

hospital, dentist, pharmacist, registered or licensed practical 

nurse, optometrist, podiatrist, chiropractor, physical therapist, 

physical therapy assistant, clinical psychologist, or health 

maintenance organization. 

"Household member" means any person domiciled in an 

assisted living facility other than residents or staff. 

"Imminent physical threat or danger" means clear and present 

risk of sustaining or inflicting serious or life threatening life-

threatening injuries. 

"Independent clinical psychologist" means a clinical 

psychologist who is chosen by the resident of the assisted 

living facility and who has no financial interest in the assisted 

living facility, directly or indirectly, as an owner, officer, or 

employee or as an independent contractor with the facility. 

"Independent living status" means that the resident is assessed 

as capable of performing all activities of daily living and 

instrumental activities of daily living for himself 

independently without requiring the assistance of another 

person and is assessed as capable of taking medications 

without the assistance of another person. If the policy of a 

facility dictates that medications are administered or 

distributed centrally without regard for the residents' capacity, 

this policy shall not be considered in determining independent 

status. 

"Independent physician" means a physician who is chosen by 

the resident of the assisted living facility and who has no 

financial interest in the assisted living facility, directly or 
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indirectly, as an owner, officer, or employee or as an 

independent contractor with the facility. 

"Individualized service plan" or "ISP" means the written 

description of actions to be taken by the licensee, including 

coordination with other services providers, to meet the 

assessed needs of the resident. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 

money. A person's degree of independence in performing these 

activities is a part of determining appropriate level of care and 

services. 

"Intellectual disability" means disability, originating before 

the age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) 

significantly subaverage intellectual functioning as 

demonstrated by performance on a standardized measure of 

intellectual functioning, administered in conformity with 

accepted professional practice, that is at least two standard 

deviations below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in 

adaptive behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and 

practical adaptive skills. 

"Intermittent intravenous therapy" means therapy provided 

by a licensed health care professional at medically predictable 

intervals for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 

basis. 

"Legal representative" means a person legally responsible for 

representing or standing in the place of the resident for the 

conduct of his the resident's affairs. This may include a 

guardian, conservator, attorney-in-fact under durable power of 

attorney ("durable power of attorney" defines the type of legal 

instrument used to name the attorney-in-fact and does not 

change the meaning of attorney-in-fact), trustee, or other 

person expressly named by a court of competent jurisdiction or 

the resident as his the resident's agent in a legal document that 

specifies the scope of the representative's authority to act. A 

legal representative may only represent or stand in the place of 

a resident for the function or functions for which he the legal 

representative has legal authority to act. A resident is presumed 

competent and is responsible for making all health care, 

personal care, financial, and other personal decisions that 

affect his the resident's life unless a representative with legal 

authority has been appointed by a court of competent 

jurisdiction or has been appointed by the resident in a properly 

executed and signed document. A resident may have different 

legal representatives for different functions. For any given 

standard, the term "legal representative" applies solely to the 

legal representative with the authority to act in regard to the 

function or functions relevant to that particular standard. 

"Licensed health care professional" means any health care 

professional currently licensed by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia to practice within the scope of his that health care 

professional's profession, such as a nurse practitioner, 

registered nurse, licensed practical nurse (nurses may be 

licensed or hold multistate licensure pursuant to § 54.1-3000 

of the Code of Virginia), clinical social worker, dentist, 

occupational therapist, pharmacist, physical therapist, 

physician, physician assistant, psychologist, and speech-

language pathologist. Responsibilities of physicians referenced 

in this chapter may be implemented by nurse practitioners or 

physician assistants in accordance with their protocols or 

practice agreements with their supervising physicians and in 

accordance with the law. 

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, 

corporation, company, or public agency to whom the license is 

issued. 

"Manager" means a designated person who serves as a 

manager pursuant to 22VAC40-73-170 and 22VAC40-73-180. 

"Mandated reporter" means persons specified in § 63.2-1606 

of the Code of Virginia who are required to report matters 

giving reason to suspect abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an 

adult. 

"Maximum physical assistance" means that an individual has 

a rating of total dependence in four or more of the seven 

activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. An individual who can participate in 

any way with performance of the activity is not considered to 

be totally dependent. 

"Medical/orthopedic restraint" means the use of a medical or 

orthopedic support device that has the effect of restricting the 

resident's freedom of movement or access to his the resident's 

body for the purpose of improving the resident's stability, 

physical functioning, or mobility. 

"Medication aide" means a staff person who has current 

registration with the Virginia Board of Nursing to administer 

drugs that would otherwise be self-administered to residents in 

an assisted living facility in accordance with the Regulations 

Governing the Registration of Medication Aides (18VAC90-

60). This definition also includes a staff person who is an 

applicant for registration as a medication aide in accordance 

with subdivision 2 of 22VAC40-73-670. 

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, emotion, 

perception, or orientation that significantly impairs judgment, 

behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to address 

basic life necessities and requires care and treatment for the 

health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the safety of 

others. 

"Mental impairment" means a disability that reduces an 

individual's ability to reason logically, make appropriate 

decisions, or engage in purposeful behavior. 

"Minimal assistance" means dependency in only one activity 

of daily living or dependency in one or more of the 

instrumental activities of daily living as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument. 
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"Moderate assistance" means dependency in two or more of 

the activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. 

"Nonambulatory" means the condition of a resident who by 

reason of physical or mental impairment is not capable of self-

preservation without the assistance of another person. 

"Nonemergency restraint" means a restraint used for the 

purpose of providing support to a physically weakened 

resident. 

"Physical impairment" means a condition of a bodily or 

sensory nature that reduces an individual's ability to function 

or to perform activities. 

"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical or 

mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or adjacent 

to the resident's body that the resident cannot remove easily, 

which restricts freedom of movement or access to his the 

resident's body. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine in any of the 50 states or the 

District of Columbia. 

"Premises" means a building or group of buildings, under one 

license, together with the land or grounds on which located. 

"Prescriber" means a practitioner who is authorized pursuant 

to §§ 54.1-3303 and 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia to issue 

a prescription. 

"Private duty personnel" means an individual hired, either 

directly or through a licensed home care organization, by a 

resident, family member, legal representative, or similar entity 

to provide one-on-one services to the resident, such as a private 

duty nurse, home attendant, personal aide, or companion. 

Private duty personnel are not hired by the facility, either 

directly or through a contract. 

"Private pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is not eligible for an auxiliary grant. 

"Psychopharmacologic drug" means any drug prescribed or 

administered with the intent of controlling mood, mental 

status, or behavior. Psychopharmacologic drugs include not 

only the obvious drug classes, such as antipsychotic, 

antidepressants, and the antianxiety/hypnotic class, but any 

drug that is prescribed or administered with the intent of 

controlling mood, mental status, or behavior, regardless of the 

manner in which it is marketed by the manufacturers and 

regardless of labeling or other approvals by the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration. 

"Public pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 

facility is eligible for an auxiliary grant. 

"Qualified" means having appropriate training and 

experience commensurate with assigned responsibilities, or if 

referring to a professional, possessing an appropriate degree or 

having documented equivalent education, training, or 

experience. There are specific definitions for "qualified 

assessor" and "qualified mental health professional" in this 

section. 

"Qualified assessor" means an individual who is authorized 

to perform an assessment, reassessment, or change in level of 

care for an applicant to or resident of an assisted living facility. 

For public pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an employee 

of a public human services agency trained in the completion of 

the uniform assessment instrument (UAI). For private pay 

individuals, a qualified assessor is an employee of the assisted 

living facility trained in the completion of the UAI or an 

independent private physician or a qualified assessor for public 

pay individuals. 

"Qualified mental health professional" means a behavioral 

health professional who is trained and experienced in 

providing psychiatric or mental health services to individuals 

who have a psychiatric diagnosis, including (i) a physician 

licensed in Virginia; (ii) a psychologist: an individual with a 

master's degree in psychology from a college or university 

accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. Secretary 

of Education, with at least one year of clinical experience; (iii) 

a social worker: an individual with at least a master's degree in 

human services or related field (e.g., social work, psychology, 

psychiatric rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, vocational 

rehabilitation, or human services counseling) from a college or 

university accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. 

Secretary of Education, with at least one year of clinical 

experience providing direct services to persons with a 

diagnosis of mental illness; (iv) a registered psychiatric 

rehabilitation provider (RPRP) registered with the 

International Association of Psychosocial Rehabilitation 

Services (IAPSRS); (v) a clinical nurse specialist or psychiatric 

nurse practitioner licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

with at least one year of clinical experience working in a 

mental health treatment facility or agency; (vi) any other 

licensed mental health professional; or (vii) any other person 

deemed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services as having qualifications equivalent to 

those described in this definition. Any unlicensed person who 

meets the requirements contained in this definition shall either 

be under the supervision of a licensed mental health 

professional or employed by an agency or organization 

licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Rehabilitative services" means activities that are ordered by 

a physician or other qualified health care professional that are 

provided by a rehabilitative therapist (e.g., physical therapist, 

occupational therapist, or speech-language pathologist). These 

activities may be necessary when a resident has demonstrated 

a change in his the resident's capabilities and are provided to 

restore or improve his the resident's level of functioning. 
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"Resident" means any adult residing in an assisted living 

facility for the purpose of receiving maintenance or care. The 

definition of resident also includes adults residing in an 

assisted living facility who have independent living status. 

Adults present in an assisted living facility for part of the day 

for the purpose of receiving day care services are also 

considered residents. 

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided by 

an assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 

mental impairments and require only minimal assistance with 

the activities of daily living. Included in this level of service 

are individuals who are dependent in medication 

administration as documented on the uniform assessment 

instrument, although they may not require minimal assistance 

with the activities of daily living. This definition includes the 

services provided by the facility to individuals who are 

assessed as capable of maintaining themselves in an 

independent living status. 

"Respite care" means services provided in an assisted living 

facility for the maintenance or care of adults who are aged, or 

infirm, or disabled adults who have a disability for a temporary 

period of time or temporary periods of time that are regular or 

intermittent. Facilities offering this type of care are subject to 

this chapter. 

"Restorative care" means activities designed to assist the 

resident in reaching or maintaining his the resident's level of 

potential. These activities are not required to be provided by a 

rehabilitative therapist and may include activities such as range 

of motion, assistance with ambulation, positioning, assistance 

and instruction in the activities of daily living, psychosocial 

skills training, and reorientation and reality orientation. 

"Restraint" means either "physical restraint" or "chemical 

restraint" as these terms are defined in this section. 

"Safe, secure environment" means a self-contained special 

care unit for residents with serious cognitive impairments due 

to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of dementia who cannot 

recognize danger or protect their own safety and welfare. There 

may be one or more self-contained special care units in a 

facility or the whole facility may be a special care unit. Nothing 

in this definition limits or contravenes the privacy protections 

set forth in § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Sanitizing" means treating in such a way to remove bacteria 

and viruses through using a disinfectant solution (e.g., bleach 

solution or commercial chemical disinfectant) or physical 

agent (e.g., heat). 

"Serious cognitive impairment" means severe deficit in 

mental capability of a chronic, enduring, or long-term nature 

that affects areas such as thought processes, problem-solving, 

judgment, memory, and comprehension and that interferes 

with such things as reality orientation, ability to care for self, 

ability to recognize danger to self or others, and impulse 

control. Such cognitive impairment is not due to (i) acute or 

episodic conditions, nor (ii) conditions arising from treatable 

metabolic or chemical imbalances, or caused by (iii) reactions 

to medication or toxic substances. For the purposes of this 

chapter, serious cognitive impairment means that an individual 

cannot recognize danger or protect his the individual's own 

safety and welfare. 

"Significant change" means a change in a resident's condition 

that is expected to last longer than 30 days. It does not include 

short-term changes that resolve with or without intervention, a 

short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a well-

established, predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs and 

symptoms associated with a previously diagnosed condition 

where an appropriate course of treatment is in progress. 

"Skilled nursing treatment" means a service ordered by a 

physician or other prescriber that is provided by and within the 

scope of practice of a licensed nurse. 

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 

curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 

interventions. These interventions break down complex 

objectives for role performance into simpler components, 

including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 

learning and competency. 

"Staff" or "staff person" means personnel working at a facility 

who are compensated or have a financial interest in the facility, 

regardless of role, service, age, function, or duration of 

employment at the facility. "Staff" or "staff person" also 

includes those individuals hired through a contract with the 

facility to provide services for the facility. 

"Substance abuse" means the use of drugs enumerated in the 

Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), without a compelling medical reason, or alcohol that 

(i) results in psychological or physiological dependence or 

danger to self or others as a function of continued and 

compulsive use or (ii) results in mental, emotional, or physical 

impairment that causes socially dysfunctional or socially 

disordering behavior; and (iii) because of such substance 

abuse, requires care and treatment for the health of the 

individual. This care and treatment may include counseling, 

rehabilitation, or medical or psychiatric care. All 

determinations of whether a compelling medical reason exists 

shall be made by a physician or other qualified medical 

personnel. 

"Systems review" means a physical examination of the body 

to determine if the person is experiencing problems or distress, 

including cardiovascular system, respiratory system, 

gastrointestinal system, urinary system, endocrine system, 

musculoskeletal system, nervous system, sensory system, and 

the skin. 

"Transfer" means movement of a resident to a different 

assigned living area within the same licensed facility. 
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"Trustee" means one who stands in a fiduciary or confidential 

relation to another; especially, one who, having legal title to 

property, holds it in trust for the benefit of another and owes a 

fiduciary duty to that beneficiary. 

"Uniform assessment instrument" or "UAI" means the 

department designated department-designated assessment 

form. There is an alternate version of the form that may be used 

for private pay residents. Social and financial information that 

is not relevant because of the resident's payment status is not 

included on the private pay version of the form. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at an assisted living 

facility who is not compensated. An exception to this definition 

is a person who, either as an individual or as part of an 

organization, is only present at or facilitates group activities on 

an occasional basis or for special events. 

22VAC40-73-40. Licensee. 

A. The licensee shall ensure compliance with all regulations 

for licensed assisted living facilities and terms of the license 

issued by the department; with relevant federal, state, and local 

laws; with other relevant regulations; and with the facility's 

own policies and procedures. 

B. The licensee shall: 

1. Give evidence of financial responsibility and solvency. 

2. Be of good character and reputation in accordance with 

§ 63.2-1702 of the Code of Virginia. Character and 

reputation investigation includes background checks as 

required by § 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. Meet the requirements specified in the Regulation for 

Background Checks for Assisted Living Facilities and Adult 

Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90). 

4. Act in accordance with General Procedures and 

Information for Licensure (22VAC40-80). 

5. Protect the physical and mental well-being of residents. 

6. Exercise general supervision over the affairs of the 

licensed facility and establish policies and procedures 

concerning its operation in conformance with applicable 

law, this chapter, and the welfare of the residents. 

7. Ensure that he the licensee, his the licensee's agents, the 

facility administrator, or facility staff or the relatives of any 

of these persons shall not act as, seek to become, or become 

the conservator or guardian of any resident unless 

specifically so appointed by a court of competent 

jurisdiction pursuant to Article 1 (§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) of 

Chapter 20 of Title 64.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

8. Ensure that the current license is posted in the facility in a 

place conspicuous to the residents and the public. 

9. Ensure that the facility keeps and maintains at the facility 

records, reports, plans, schedules, and other information as 

required by this chapter for licensed assisted living facilities. 

10. Ensure that any document required by this chapter to be 

posted shall be in at least 12-point type or equivalent size, 

unless otherwise specified. 

11. Make certain that when it is time to discard records, they 

are disposed of in a manner that ensures confidentiality. 

12. Ensure that at all times the department's representative is 

afforded reasonable opportunity to inspect all of the facility's 

buildings, books, and records and to interview agents, 

employees, residents, and any person under its custody, 

control, direction, or supervision as specified in § 63.2-1706 

of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Upon initial application for an assisted living facility 

license, any person applying to operate such a facility who has 

not previously owned or managed or does not currently own or 

manage a licensed assisted living facility shall be required to 

undergo training by the commissioner. Training for such 

owners and currently employed administrators shall be 

required at the time of initial application for licensure. In all 

cases, such training shall be completed prior to the granting of 

any initial license. 

1. The commissioner may also approve training programs 

provided by other entities and allow owners or 

administrators to attend such approved training programs in 

lieu of training by the commissioner. 

2. The commissioner may, at his the commissioner's 

discretion, also approve for licensure applicants who meet 

requisite experience criteria as established by the board. 

3. The training programs shall focus on the health and safety 

regulations and resident rights as they pertain to assisted 

living facilities and shall be completed by the owner or 

administrator prior to the granting of an initial license. 

4. The commissioner may, at his the commissioner's 

discretion, issue a license conditioned upon the completion 

by the owner or administrator of the required training. 

D. The licensee shall notify in writing the regional licensing 

office of intent to sell or voluntarily close the facility. The 

following shall apply: 

1. No less than 60 days prior to the planned sale date or 

closure, the licensee shall notify the regional licensing 

office, residents, and as relevant, legal representatives, case 

managers, assessors, eligibility workers, and designated 

contact persons of the intended sale or closure of the facility 

and the date for such. 

Exception: If plans are made at such time that 60-day notice 

is not possible, the licensee shall notify the regional 

licensing office, the residents, legal representatives, case 

managers, assessors, eligibility workers, and designated 
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contact persons as soon as the intent to sell or close the 

facility is known. 

2. If the facility is to be sold, at the time of notification 

specified in subdivision 1 of this subsection, the licensee 

shall explain to each resident, his the resident's legal 

representative, case manager, assessor, and at least one 

designated contact person that the resident can choose 

whether to stay or relocate, unless the new licensee specifies 

relocation. If a resident chooses to stay, there must be a new 

resident agreement between the resident and the new 

licensee that meets the specifications of 22VAC40-73-390. 

3. The licensee shall provide updates regarding the closure 

or sale of the facility to the regional licensing office, as 

requested. 

22VAC40-73-110. Staff general qualifications. 

All staff shall: 

1. Be considerate and respectful of the rights, dignity, and 

sensitivities of persons who are aged, or infirm, or disabled 

who have disabilities; 

2. Be able to speak, read, understand, and write in English as 

necessary to carry out their job responsibilities; and 

3. Meet the requirements specified in the Regulation for 

Background Checks for Assisted Living Facilities and Adult 

Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90). 

22VAC40-73-280. Staffing. 

A. The assisted living facility shall have staff adequate in 

knowledge, skills, and abilities and sufficient in numbers to 

provide services to attain and maintain the physical, mental, 

and psychosocial well-being of each resident as determined by 

resident assessments and individualized service plans, and to 

ensure compliance with this chapter. 

B. The assisted living facility shall maintain a written plan 

that specifies the number and type of direct care staff required 

to meet the day-to-day, routine direct care needs and any 

identified special needs for the residents in care. This plan shall 

be directly related to actual resident acuity levels and 

individualized care needs. 

C. An adequate number of staff persons shall be on the 

premises at all times to implement the approved fire and 

emergency evacuation plan. 

D. At least one direct care staff member shall be awake and 

on duty at all times in each building when at least one resident 

is present. 

Exception: For a facility licensed for residential living care 

only, in buildings that house 19 or fewer residents, the staff 

member on duty does not have to be awake during the night 

if (i) none of the residents have care needs that require a staff 

member awake at night and (ii) the facility ensures 

compliance with the requirements of 22VAC40-73-930 C. 

E. No employee shall be permitted to work in a position that 

involves direct contact with a resident until a background 

check has been received as required in the Regulation for 

Background Checks for Assisted Living Facilities and Adult 

Day Care Centers (22VAC40-90), unless such person works 

under the direct supervision of another employee for whom a 

background check has been completed in accordance with the 

requirements of the background check regulation (22VAC40-

90). 

22VAC40-73-490. Health care oversight. 

A. Each assisted living facility shall retain a licensed health 

care professional who has at least two years of experience as a 

health care professional in an adult residential facility, adult 

day care center, acute care facility, nursing home, or licensed 

home care or hospice organization, either by direct 

employment or on a contractual basis, to provide on-site health 

care oversight. 

1. For residents who meet the criteria for residential living 

care: 

a. The licensed health care professional, practicing within 

the scope of his the health care professional's profession, 

shall provide health care oversight at least every six 

months, or more often if indicated, based on his the health 

care professional's professional judgment of the 

seriousness of a resident's needs or the stability of a 

resident's condition; or 

b. If the facility employs a licensed health care 

professional who is on site on a full-time basis, a licensed 

health care professional, practicing within the scope of his 

the health care professional's profession, shall provide 

health care oversight at least annually, or more often if 

indicated, based on his the health care professional's 

professional judgment of the seriousness of a resident's 

needs or stability of a resident's condition. 

2. For residents who meet the criteria for assisted living care: 

a. The licensed health care professional, practicing within 

the scope of his the health care professional's profession, 

shall provide health care oversight at least every three 

months, or more often if indicated, based on his the health 

care professional's professional judgment of the 

seriousness of a resident's needs or stability of a resident's 

condition; or 

b. If the facility employs a licensed health care 

professional who is on site on a full-time basis, a licensed 

health care professional, practicing within the scope of his 

the health care professional's profession, shall provide 

health care oversight at least every six months, or more 

often if indicated, based on his the health care 

professional's professional judgment of the seriousness of 

a resident's needs or stability of a resident's condition. 

3. All residents shall be included at least annually in health 

care oversight. 
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B. While on site, as specified in subsection A of this section, 

the licensed health care professional shall provide health care 

oversight of the following and make recommendations for 

change as needed: 

1. Ascertain whether a resident's service plan appropriately 

addresses the current health care needs of the resident. 

2. Monitor direct care staff performance of health-related 

activities. 

3. Evaluate the need for staff training. 

4. Provide consultation and technical assistance to staff as 

needed. 

5. Review documentation regarding health care services, 

including medication and treatment records, to assess that 

whether services are being provided in accordance with 

physicians' or other prescribers' orders. 

6. Monitor conformance to the facility's medication 

management plan and the maintenance of required 

medication reference materials. 

7. Evaluate the ability of residents who self-administer 

medications to continue to safely do so. 

8. Observe infection control measures and consistency with 

the infection control program of the facility. 

C. For all restrained residents, onsite health care oversight 

shall be provided by a licensed health care professional at least 

every three months and include the following: 

1. The licensed health care professional shall be, at a 

minimum, a registered nurse who meets the experience 

requirements in subdivision A of this section. 

2. The licensed health care professional shall review the 

current condition and the records of restrained residents to 

assess the appropriateness of the restraint and progress 

toward its reduction or elimination. 

3. The licensed health care professional providing the 

oversight for this subdivision shall also provide the oversight 

for subdivisions B 1 through B 8 of this section for restrained 

residents. 

4. The oversight provided shall be a holistic review of the 

physical, emotional, and mental health of the resident and 

identification of any unmet needs. 

5. The oversight shall include review of physician's orders 

for restraints to determine whether orders are no older than 

three months, as required by 22VAC40-73-710 E 2. 

6. The oversight shall include an evaluation of whether 

direct care staff have received the restraint training required 

by 22VAC40-73-270 and whether the facility is meeting the 

requirements of 22VAC40-73-710 regarding the use of 

restraints. 

7. The licensed health care professional shall make 

recommendations for change as needed. 

D. The licensed health care professional who provided the 

health care oversight shall certify that the requirements of 

subsection B and, if applicable, C of this section were met, 

including the dates of the health care oversight. The specific 

residents for whom the oversight was provided must be 

identified. The administrator shall be advised of the findings of 

the health care oversight and any recommendations. All of the 

requirements of this subsection shall be (i) in writing, (ii) 

signed and dated by the health care professional, (iii) provided 

to the administrator within 10 days of the completion of the 

oversight, and (iv) maintained in the facility files for at least 

two years, with any specific recommendations regarding a 

particular resident also maintained in the resident's record. 

E. Action taken in response to the recommendations noted in 

subsection D of this section shall be documented in the 

resident's record if resident specific, and if otherwise, in the 

facility files. 

22VAC40-80-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative hearing" means a hearing that is conducted 

pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the Administrative Process Act. 

"Adult care facility" means a licensed assisted living facility 

or adult day care center. 

"Adverse action" means any case where the department either 

gives notice of revocation or refuses to issue a license for an 

assisted living facility, adult day care center, or child welfare 

agency or imposes another administrative sanction pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1709 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Aggrieved party" means an applicant or licensee who has 

requested an appeal in accordance with instructions provided 

after the department has given written notice of the imposition 

of an administrative sanction or adverse action for an assisted 

living facility, adult day care center, or child welfare agency. 

"Allowable variance" means permission is granted by the 

department to a licensee or applicant for licensure to meet the 

intent of a standard by some means other than as specified by 

the standard when the applicant or licensee has demonstrated 

that (i) the implementation of a standard would impose a 

substantial financial or programmatic hardship and (ii) the 

variance would not adversely affect the safety and well-being 

of persons in care. 

"Applicant" means the person, corporation, partnership, 

association, limited liability company, or public agency that 

has applied for a license to operate or maintain an assisted 

living facility, adult day care center, or child welfare agency. 

For a child welfare agency, the "person who operates or 
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maintains a child welfare agency" means any individual; 

corporation; partnership; association; limited liability 

company; local government; state agency, including any 

department, institution, authority, instrumentality, board, or 

other administrative agency of the Commonwealth; or other 

legal or commercial entity that operates or maintains a child 

welfare agency. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services. 

"Child welfare agency" means a child-placing agency, 

children's residential facility, child-caring institution, or 

independent foster home. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department 

of Social Services. 

"Complaint" means an accusation that a facility that is subject 

to licensure is operating without a license or that a licensed 

facility is not in compliance with licensing standards or law. 

"Conditional license" means a license that may be issued to a 

new facility to operate in order to permit the applicant to 

demonstrate compliance with specified standards. 

"Consent agreement" means an agreement between the 

licensee and the department that the licensee will perform 

specific actions for the purpose of correcting violations to 

come into compliance with standards or statutes. 

"Day" means a calendar day unless otherwise specified. 

"Denial" means the act of refusing to grant a license after 

receipt of an initial or renewal application. 

"Department" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Early compliance" means that the licensee has demonstrated 

full compliance with requirements, allowing the department to 

replace a provisional or conditional license with a regular 

license. 

"Functional design" means the design features of building and 

grounds not regulated by the Building Code, necessary for 

particular activities and operations of a facility subject to 

licensure by the Department of Social Services. 

"Good character and reputation" means findings have been 

established and knowledgeable, reasonable, and objective 

people agree that the individual (i) maintains business or 

professional, family, and community relationships that are 

characterized by honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and 

dependability; and (ii) has a history or pattern of behavior that 

demonstrates the individual is suitable and able to administer a 

program for the care, supervision, and protection of children or 

adults. Relatives by blood or marriage and persons who are not 

knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent acquaintances, 

may not be considered objective references. 

"Hearing" means agency processes other than those 

informational or factual inquiries of an informal nature 

provided in §§ 2.2-4007 and 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia 

and includes only (i) opportunity for private parties to submit 

factual proofs in formal proceedings as provided in § 2.2-4009 

of the Code of Virginia in connection with the making of 

regulations or (ii) a similar right of private parties of public 

agencies as provided in § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia in 

connection with case decisions. 

"Hearing coordinator" means the person designated by the 

Department of Social Services to perform certain 

administrative functions involved in setting up and carrying 

out the hearings concerning adverse action on a license for an 

assisted living facility, adult day care center, or child welfare 

agency, as set out herein in this chapter. 

"Hearing officer" means an attorney selected from a list 

maintained by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court 

in accordance with § 2.2-4024 of the Code of Virginia to 

preside at hearings concerning adverse action on a license for 

an assisted living facility, adult day care center, or child 

welfare agency. 

"Informal conference" means the informal fact-finding 

procedures available pursuant to §§ 2.2-4019 and 2.2-4021 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Licensee" means the person, corporation, partnership, 

association, limited liability company, or public agency to 

whom a license is issued and who is legally responsible for 

compliance with the regulations and statutory requirements 

related to the operation or maintenance of the assisted living 

facility, adult day care center, or child welfare agency. For a 

child welfare agency, the "person who operates or maintains a 

child welfare agency" means any individual; corporation; 

partnership; association; limited liability company; local 

government; state agency, including any department, 

institution, authority, instrumentality, board, or other 

administrative agency of the Commonwealth; or other legal or 

commercial entity that operates or maintains a child welfare 

agency. 

"Probationary status" means placing a licensee on notice that 

the facility or agency is substantially out of compliance with 

the terms of its license and the health, safety, and well-being 

of persons in care are at risk. Probationary status is a precursor 

to more serious action such as revocation, denial, or injunctive 

action unless immediate corrective action occurs. 

"Provisional license" means a license that may be issued upon 

expiration of a regular license when the licensee is temporarily 

unable to substantially comply with the requirements of the law 

and regulations. 

"Recommended findings of fact and recommended decision" 

means the report prepared by the hearing officer upon evidence 

presented in the administrative hearing based on the applicable 

laws and regulations under which the department operates. 

"Regular license" means a license that is issued for 12 months 

or more as provided in Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 
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63.2 of the Code of Virginia to a facility determined to be in 

substantial compliance with applicable standards and 

regulations. The actual duration of the licensure period is stated 

on the license. 

"Revocation" means the act of terminating a license during its 

effective dates because of findings of serious noncompliance. 

"Special order" means an order imposing an administrative 

sanction issued to any party licensed pursuant to Title 63.2 of 

the Code of Virginia by the commissioner that has a stated 

duration of not more than 12 months. A special order shall be 

considered a case decision as defined in § 2.2-4001 of the Code 

of Virginia. The 12-month period begins 30 days after 

notification of the issuance of a special order or at the 

conclusion of all appeal steps. 

"Substantial compliance" means that while there may be 

noncompliance with one or more standards that represents 

minimal risk, compliance clearly and obviously exists with 

most of the standards as a whole. 

22VAC40-80-30. Responsibility of the department. 

Through the administration of the licensing program, the 

Department of Social Services assumes responsibility to 

ensure that licensed facilities and agencies provide children 

and adults with at least a minimum level of care in accordance 

with regulations prescribed by the State Board of Social 

Services. The department also has the responsibility to 

investigate allegations of illegal operations and to initiate 

action to suppress illegal operations. The Virginia Code 

requires the State Board of Social Services to adopt regulations 

for the licensure of the following categories of facilities and 

agencies: 

1. Adult day-care day centers; 

2. Assisted living facilities; 

3. Private child placing agencies; 

4. Child caring institutions; and 

5. Independent foster homes. 

22VAC40-80-60. General. 

A. A license to operate a facility or agency is issued to a 

specific person or organization to provide out-of-home care to 

children or adults. An organization may be a partnership, 

association, corporation, limited liability company, or public 

entity. 

B. Pursuant to § 63.2-1712 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person, officer, or member of a governing board of any 

association or corporation that operates an assisted living 

facility, adult day care center, or child welfare agency shall be 

guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor if he the individual: 

1. Interferes with any representative of the commissioner in 

the discharge of his licensing duties; 

2. Makes to the commissioner or any representative of the 

commissioner any report or statement with respect to the 

operation of any assisted living facility, adult day care 

center, or child welfare agency that is known by such person 

to be false or untrue; 

3. Operates or engages in the conduct of these facilities 

without first obtaining a license as required or after such 

license has been revoked, suspended, or has expired and not 

been renewed; or 

4. Operates or engages in the conduct of one of these 

facilities serving more persons than the maximum stipulated 

in the license. 

C. When a licensee plans to close or sell a facility, the licensee 

shall notify the appropriate licensing office at least 60 days 

prior to the anticipated closure or sale date. When the facility 

closes or the sale is finalized, the license shall be returned to 

the appropriate licensing office. 

22VAC40-80-130. Provider support services. 

A. The programmatic regulations require both general and 

specific training in various subject areas. The department 

provides preapplication consultation, ongoing technical 

assistance and consultation, and formal training sessions. The 

department's licensing representatives will provide assistance 

to any person seeking information about obtaining a license 

and information about initial and ongoing training 

requirements. 

B. Applicants for licensure shall complete a prelicensure 

orientation program that focuses on health and safety 

standards, and residents' rights where applicable, offered 

through or approved by the department. The commissioner 

may, at his the commissioner's discretion, waive the orientation 

requirement or issue a license conditioned upon the owner's or 

administrator's completion of the required training. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following persons are exempt from the 

requirements of prelicensure training: 

1. An applicant who has previously owned or managed a 

facility in satisfactory compliance with regulations; and 

2. Applicants for adult day care centers and child welfare 

agencies if notified by the department that such training is 

unavailable. 

22VAC40-80-180. Determination of continued compliance 

(renewal and monitoring inspections). 

A. In order to determine continued compliance with standards 

during the effective dates of the license, the department's 

licensing representative will make announced and 

unannounced inspections of the facility or agency during the 

hours of its operation. The licensee is responsible for 

correcting any areas of noncompliance found during renewal 

or monitoring inspections. 
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B. All licensed child welfare agencies shall be inspected at 

least twice a year. At least one unannounced inspection of each 

licensed facility shall be made each year. 

C. Adult day care centers issued a license for a period of six 

months shall be inspected at least two times during the six-

month period, and at least one of those inspections shall be 

unannounced. Adult day care centers issued a license for a 

period of one year shall be inspected at least three times each 

year, and at least two of those inspections shall be 

unannounced. Adult day care centers issued a license for a 

period of two years shall be inspected at least two times each 

year, and at least one of those inspections shall be 

unannounced. Adult day care centers issued a license for a 

period of three years shall be inspected at least one time each 

year, and that inspection shall be unannounced. 

D. Assisted living facilities issued a license for a period of six 

months shall be inspected at least two times during the six-

month period, and at least one of those inspections shall be 

unannounced. 

E. Assisted living facilities issued a license for a period of 

one, two, or three years shall be: 

1. Inspected at least once each year, and that inspection shall 

be unannounced; and 

2. Inspected as needed based on compliance with applicable 

laws and regulations. 

F. The department's representative may also make such 

inspections of any homes or facilities that are approved by the 

licensee for the placement or care of children as one of the 

licensed services of the agency. 

G. For any licensed assisted living facility, adult day care 

center, or child welfare agency, the department may conduct 

such other announced or unannounced inspections as are 

considered appropriate. 

NOTE: When necessary to respond to excessive workloads or 

to give priority to higher risk situations, the department may 

use its discretion to increase or decrease the frequency of 

announced and unannounced inspections made to licensed 

facilities during the year. 

22VAC40-80-340. Administrative sanctions. 

The commissioner may impose administrative sanctions or 

initiate court proceedings, severally or jointly, when 

appropriate in order to ensure prompt correction of violations 

involving noncompliance with state law or regulation in 

assisted living facilities, adult day care centers, and child 

welfare agencies as discovered through any inspection or 

investigation conducted by the Department of Social Services, 

the Virginia Department of Health, the Virginia Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, or by state and 

local building or fire prevention officials. These administrative 

sanctions include: 

1. Petitioning the court to appoint a receiver for any assisted 

living facility or adult day care center; 

2. Revoking or denying renewal of a license for any assisted 

living facility or adult day care center that fails to comply 

with the limitations and standards set forth in its license for 

a violation that adversely affects, or is an immediate and 

substantial threat to, the health, safety, or welfare of 

residents, or for permitting, aiding, or abetting the 

commission of any illegal act in an adult care facility; 

3. Revoking or denying renewal of a license for any child 

welfare agency that fails to comply with the limitations and 

standards set forth in its license; 

4. Requiring an assisted living facility to contract with an 

individual licensed by the Board of Long-Term Care 

Administrators to administer, manage, or operate the facility 

on an interim basis if the commissioner receives information 

from any source indicating immediate and substantial risk of 

harm to residents. This action shall be an attempt to bring the 

facility into compliance with all relevant requirements of 

law, regulation, or any plan of correction approved by the 

commissioner. The contract shall be negotiated in 

accordance with the provisions of § 63.2-1709 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

5. Issuing a notice of summary suspension of the license to 

operate an assisted living facility pursuant to proceedings set 

forth in § 63.2-1709 C of the Code of Virginia or pursuant 

to proceedings set forth in § 63.2-1710.1 of the Code of 

Virginia for assisted living facilities operated by agencies of 

the Commonwealth in conjunction with any proceedings for 

revocation, denial, or other action when conditions or 

practices exist that pose an immediate and substantial threat 

to the health, safety, and welfare of residents; 

6. Issuing a notice of summary suspension of the license to 

operate a child welfare agency pursuant to proceedings set 

forth in § 63.2-1709.1 C of the Code of Virginia or pursuant 

to proceedings set forth in § 63.2-1710.1 for child welfare 

agencies operated by an agency of the Commonwealth in 

conjunction with any proceedings for revocation, denial, or 

other action, when conditions or practices exist in the child 

welfare agency that pose an immediate and substantial threat 

to the health, safety, and welfare of children receiving care; 

and 

7. Imposing administrative sanctions through the issuance of 

a special order as provided in § 63.2-1709.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. These include: 

a. Placing a licensee on probation upon finding that the 

licensee is substantially out of compliance with the terms 

of the license and that the health and safety of residents, 

participants, or children are at risk; 

b. Reducing the licensed capacity or prohibiting new 

admissions when the commissioner has determined that 

the licensee cannot make necessary corrections to achieve 
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compliance with the regulations except by a temporary 

restriction of its scope of service; 

c. Mandating training for the licensee or licensee's 

employees, with any costs to be borne by the licensee, 

when the commissioner has determined that the lack of 

such training has led directly to violations of regulations; 

d. Assessing civil penalties of not more than $500 per 

inspection upon finding that the licensee of an adult day 

care center or child welfare agency is substantially out of 

compliance with the terms of its license and the health and 

safety of residents, participants, or children are at risk; 

e. Assessing a civil penalty for each day an assisted living 

facility is or was out of compliance with the terms of its 

license and the health, safety, and welfare of residents are 

at risk. The aggregate amount of such civil penalties shall 

not exceed $10,000 in any 12-month period. Criteria for 

imposition of civil penalties and amounts, expressed in 

ranges, are developed by the board and are based upon the 

severity, pervasiveness, duration, and degree of risk to the 

health, safety, or welfare of residents. Such civil penalties 

shall be applied by the commissioner in a consistent 

manner; 

f. Requiring licensees to contact parents, guardians, or 

other responsible persons in writing regarding health and 

safety violations; and 

g. Preventing licensees who are substantially out of 

compliance with the licensure terms or in violation of the 

regulations from receiving public funds. 

22VAC40-80-390. Scope. 

The appeal process as set forth in this part shall apply 

whenever the Department of Social Services takes adverse 

action on a license for an assisted living facility, adult day care 

center or child welfare agency. Therefore, whenever the 

department either revokes or refuses to issue or renew a license 

or imposes any other sanction for an assisted living facility, 

adult day care center, or child welfare agency, the procedures 

specified in this part to produce a case decision shall be 

initiated. 

Chapter 90 

Regulation for Background Checks for Assisted Living 

Facilities and Adult Day Care Centers 

22VAC40-90-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in conjunction 

with this chapter shall have the following meanings: 

"Applicant for licensure" means the entity applying for 

approval as a licensed assisted living facility. An applicant may 

be an individual, association, partnership, limited liability 

company, corporation, or public agency. 

"Barrier crimes" means certain crimes that automatically bar 

individuals convicted of same from employment at a licensed 

assisted living facility or adult day care center and that 

automatically bar licensure of applicants convicted of same 

from assisted living facility licensure. These crimes, as 

specified by § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of Virginia, are a felony 

violation of § 16.1-253.2; any violation of § 18.2-31, 18.2-32, 

18.2-32.1, 18.2-32.2, 18.2-33, 18.2-35, 18.2-36, 18.2-36.1, 

18.2-36.2, 18.2-41, or 18.2-42; any felony violation of § 18.2-

46.2, 18.2-46.3, 18.2-46.3:1, or 18.2-46.3:3; any violation of 

§ 18.2-46.5, 18.2-46.6, or 18.2-46.7; any violation of 

subsection A or B of § 18.2-47; any violation of § 18.2-48, 

18.2-49, or 18.2-50.3; any violation of § 18.2-51, 18.2-51.1, 

18.2-51.2, 18.2-51.3, 18.2-51.4, 18.2-51.5, 18.2-51.6, 18.2-52, 

18.2-52.1, 18.2-53, 18.2-53.1, 18.2-54.1, 18.2-54.2, 18.2-55, 

18.2-55.1, 18.2-56, 18.2-56.1, 18.2-56.2, 18.2-57, 18.2-57.01, 

18.2-57.02, 18.2-57.2, 18.2-58, 18.2-58.1, 18.2-59, 18.2-60, or 

18.2-60.1; any felony violation of § 18.2-60.3 or 18.2-60.4; any 

violation of § 18.2-61, 18.2-63, 18.2-64.1, 18.2-64.2, 18.2-

67.1, 18.2-67.2, 18.2-67.3, 18.2-67.4, 18.2-67.4:1, 18.2-67.4:2, 

18.2-67.5, 18.2-67.5:1, 18.2-67.5:2, 18.2-67.5:3, 18.2-77, 

18.2-79, 18.2-80, 18.2-81, 18.2-82, 18.2-83, 18.2-84, 18.2-85, 

18.2-86, 18.2-87, 18.2-87.1, or 18.2-88; any felony violation 

of § 18.2-279, 18.2-280, 18.2-281, 18.2-282, 18.2-282.1, 18.2-

286.1, or 18.2-287.2; any violation of § 18.2-289, 18.2-290, 

18.2-300, 18.2-308.4, or 18.2-314; any felony violation of 

§ 18.2-346; any violation of § 18.2-355, 18.2-356, 18.2-357, or 

18.2-357.1; any violation of subsection B of § 18.2-361; any 

violation of § 18.2-366, 18.2-369, 18.2-370, 18.2-370.1, 18.2-

370.2, 18.2-370.3, 18.2-370.4, 18.2-370.5, 18.2-370.6, 18.2-

371.1, 18.2-374.1, 18.2-374.1:1, 18.2-374.3, 18.2-374.4, 18.2-

379, 18.2-386.1, or 18.2-386.2; any felony violation of § 18.2-

405 or 18.2-406; any violation of § 18.2-408, 18.2-413, 18.2-

414, 18.2-423, 18.2-423.01, 18.2-423.1, 18.2-423.2, 18.2-

433.2, 18.2-472.1, 18.2-474.1, 18.2-477, 18.2-477.1, 18.2-

477.2, 18.2-478, 18.2-479, 18.2-480, 18.2-481, 18.2-484, 18.2-

485, 37.2-917, or 53.1-203; or any substantially similar offense 

under the laws of another jurisdiction. A licensed assisted 

living facility or adult day care center may hire an applicant or 

continue to employ a person convicted of one misdemeanor 

barrier crime not involving abuse or neglect, or any 

substantially similar offense under the laws of another 

jurisdiction, if five years have elapsed following the 

conviction. 

"Central Criminal Records Exchange" means the information 

system containing conviction data of those crimes committed in 

Virginia, maintained by the Department of State Police, through 

which the criminal history record request form is processed. 

"Criminal history record request" means the Department of State 

Police form used to authorize the State Police to generate a 

criminal history record report on an individual. 

"Criminal history record report" means either the criminal record 

clearance or the criminal history record issued by the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange, Department of State Police. The 

criminal record clearance provides conviction data only related to 

barrier crimes; the criminal history record discloses all known 

conviction data. 
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"Employee" means compensated personnel working at a facility 

regardless of role, service, age, function, or duration of 

employment at the facility. Employee also includes those 

individuals hired through a contract to provide services for the 

facility. 

"Facility" means an assisted living facility or adult day care 

center subject to licensure by the Department of Social Services. 

"Sworn statement or affirmation" means a document to be 

completed, signed, and submitted for licensure or employment. 

The document discloses the licensure applicant's or 

employment applicant's criminal convictions and pending 

criminal charges that occurred within or outside the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. For applicants for licensure as an 

assisted living facility, the document also discloses whether or 

not the applicant has been the subject of a founded complaint 

of child abuse or neglect within or outside the Commonwealth 

of Virginia. This is required as specified in §§ 63.2-1720 and 

63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-90-20. Legal base and applicability. 

A. Sections 63.2-1702 and 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia 

require all applicants for licensure as assisted living facilities 

to undergo background checks consisting of a sworn statement 

or affirmation and criminal history record check. If the 

applicant is an individual, he the individual must undergo a 

background check. If the applicant is an association, 

partnership, limited liability company, corporation, or public 

agency, the officers and agents of the applicant must undergo 

background checks. 

B. Section 63.2-1720 of the Code of Virginia requires all 

employees of assisted living facilities and adult day care 

centers, as defined by § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, to 

obtain a criminal history record report from the Department of 

State Police. 

C. Section 63.2-1720 of the Code of Virginia requires all 

applicants for employment at assisted living facilities and adult 

day care centers to provide the hiring facility with a sworn 

statement or affirmation. 

D. No volunteer shall be permitted to serve in a licensed 

assisted living facility or licensed adult day care center without 

the permission or under the supervision of a person who has 

received a clearance pursuant to § 63.2-1720 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

22VAC40-90-40. General requirements. 

A. The applicant for licensure shall submit a criminal history 

record report upon application for licensure as an assisted 

living facility. 

B. The criminal history record report shall be obtained on or 

prior to the 30th day of employment for each employee. 

C. Any person required by this chapter to obtain a criminal 

history record report shall be ineligible for employment if the 

report contains convictions of the barrier crimes. 

D. If a criminal history record is requested, it shall be the 

responsibility of the licensee to ensure that the employee has 

not been convicted of any of the barrier crimes. 

E. Criminal history record reports shall be kept confidential. 

Reports on employees shall only be received by the facility 

administrator, licensee, board president, or their designee. 

F. A criminal history record report issued by the State Police 

shall not be accepted by the facility if the report is dated more 

than 90 days prior to the date of employment. 

G. Any applicant denied licensure as an assisted living facility 

or employment at an assisted living facility or adult day care 

center because of convictions appearing on his the applicant's 

criminal history record report shall be provided a copy of the 

report by the licensing authority or the hiring facility. 

H. A facility shall not continue to employ any person who has 

a conviction of any of the barrier crimes. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7849; Filed June 18, 2024, 8:59 a.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-675. Personnel Policies for 

Local Departments of Social Services. 

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017, or email 

karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (22VAC40-675) 

Classification and Compensation Self-Analysis Form for 

Local Departments of Social Services, 032-10-0175-00-eng 

(rev. 9/2015) 

Human Resource Policy Record, 032-10-0162-04-eng (rev. 

10/2015) 

Jurisdiction Wide Self-Analysis Form, 032-10-0165-03-eng 

(rev. 9/2015) 

Local Policy Request Form, 032-10-0161-06-eng (rev. 

9/2015) 

Classification and Compensation Self-Analysis Form for 

Local Departments of Social Services, 032-10-0175-00-eng 

(rev. 7/2024) 

mailto:karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/2024%20Form%20Revision%20-%20Final%20Classification%20&%20Compensation%20SA%20for%20LDSS-20240620140742.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/2024%20Form%20Revision%20-%20Final%20Classification%20&%20Compensation%20SA%20for%20LDSS-20240620140742.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/2024%20Form%20Revision%20-%20Final%20Classification%20&%20Compensation%20SA%20for%20LDSS-20240620140742.pdf
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Human Resources Policy Record, 032-10-0162-04-eng (rev. 

7/2024) 

Jurisdiction-Wide Self-Analysis Form, 032-10-0165-03-eng 

(rev. 7/2024) 

Local Policy Request Form, 032-10-0161-06-eng (rev. 

7/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7980; Filed June 26, 2024, 9:19 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 23VAC10-20. General Provisions 

Applicable to All Taxes Administered by the Department 

of Taxation (amending 23VAC10-20-60; repealing 

23VAC10-20-30). 

23VAC10-110. Individual Income Tax (amending 

23VAC10-110-130, 23VAC10-110-142, 23VAC10-110-143; 

repealing 23VAC10-110-144, 23VAC10-110-250, 

23VAC10-110-280). 

23VAC10-115. Fiduciary Income Tax (repealing 

23VAC10-115-10, 23VAC10-115-40, 23VAC10-115-50, 

23VAC10-115-90, 23VAC10-115-151, 23VAC10-115-153). 

23VAC10-120. Corporation Income Tax (repealing 

23VAC10-120-70). 

23VAC10-210. Retail Sales and Use Tax (repealing 

23VAC10-210-32, 23VAC10-210-130, 23VAC10-210-220, 

23VAC10-210-352, 23VAC10-210-353, 23VAC10-210-390, 

23VAC10-210-485, 23VAC10-210-500, 23VAC10-210-590, 

23VAC10-210-595, 23VAC10-210-650, 23VAC10-210-720, 

23VAC10-210-766, 23VAC10-210-770, 23VAC10-210-790, 

23VAC10-210-810, 23VAC10-210-900, 23VAC10-210-970, 

23VAC10-210-1070, 23VAC10-210-1071, 23VAC10-210-

2020, 23VAC10-210-2050, 23VAC10-210-4030). 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 13, 2024. 

Effective Date: September 28, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Lead Policy Analyst, Department 

of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 23261-7185, 

telephone (804) 371-2299, FAX (804) 371-2355, or email 

joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Tax Commissioner to issue regulations relating to the 

interpretation and enforcement of the laws governing taxes 

administered by the Department of Taxation. The authority for 

the current regulatory action is discretionary. 

Purpose: The agency has identified numerous sections that 

may be repealed or amended to reduce the number of 

requirements imposed in regulation. Some of these sections 

address statutes that have been amended or repealed. Other 

sections address statutes that are clear and unambiguous and 

do not need any regulatory interpretation. Other sections are 

duplicative of other regulation sections. Repeal of the 

regulatory provisions does not reflect a change in existing 

departmental policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: There is 

no mandate associated with this action. Rather, it is prompted 

by Executive Order 19 (June 30, 2022), which requires 

executive branch agencies to achieve a 25% reduction of their 

regulatory requirements. The Department of Taxation has 

identified numerous regulation sections that may be repealed 

or amended to reduce the number of requirements it imposes 

in its regulations. As the provisions repealed are no longer 

necessary, this rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial 

and therefore appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process. 

Substance: The amendments repeal selected provisions of the 

agency's chapters on General Provisions Applicable to All 

Taxes Administered by the Department of Taxation, Individual 

Income Tax, Fiduciary Income Tax, Corporation Income Tax, 

and Retail Sales and Use Tax to reduce the number of 

requirements imposed in regulation. Provisions are being 

repealed because the provisions (i) address statutes that have 

been repealed; (ii) address statutes that are clear and 

unambiguous and do not need regulatory interpretation; and 

(iii) are duplicative of other sections. Repeal of these 

provisions does not reflect a change in existing departmental 

policy. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action to the 

public is that it will reduce the number of requirements in 

regulation. The primary advantage to the Department of 

Taxation is that the agency will no longer need to maintain the 

provisions being repealed. As these provisions and the 

requirements imposed are unnecessary, their repeal will result 

in no disadvantage to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of Executive Directive One (2022)2 the Department of 

Taxation has adopted a fast-track regulatory action to amend 

five regulations: the General Provisions Applicable to All 

Taxes Administered By the Department of Taxation, the 

Individual Income Tax, the Fiduciary Income Tax, the 

Corporation Income Tax, and the Retail Sales and Use Tax. In 

total, the action would update and retain four sections and 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/2024%20Form%20Revision%20-%20Final%20HR%20Policy%20Record-20240625150241.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/2024%20Form%20Revision%20-%20Final%20HR%20Policy%20Record-20240625150241.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/2024%20Form%20Revision%20-%20Final%20Jurisdiction-Wide%20SA%20for%20LDSS-2024-20240626090911.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/2024%20Form%20Revision%20-%20Final%20Jurisdiction-Wide%20SA%20for%20LDSS-2024-20240626090911.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/Final%20Policy%20Request%20Form%20(2024)-20240626091437.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/Final%20Policy%20Request%20Form%20(2024)-20240626091437.pdf
mailto:@joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov
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repeal thirty-four sections that are either outdated or repetitive 

of tax provisions in the Code of Virginia. 

Background. The Department of Taxation reports that these 

regulations are typically used by tax attorneys who are either 

helping clients plan for their tax liabilities or appeal an audit 

finding, and that taxpayers and tax preparers are typically only 

relying on the forms and instructions used to pay taxes or 

prepare tax returns. Thus, the agency's intent in reviewing the 

current regulation was to remove provisions that were 

outdated, and thus confusing, and provisions that mainly 

served to explain requirements in statute. Further, the 

regulation for Retail Sales and Use Tax contains numerous 

industry-specific provisions that the agency believes are either 

nearly obsolete (such as 23VAC10-210-970 governing 

microfilm/microfiche documents) or that follow the general 

rule for either retail sales or service providers and no longer 

need to be the subject of their own separate sections of the 

regulation. The proposed changes for each of the five 

regulations are briefly summarized below. 

23VAC10-20 General Provisions Applicable to All Taxes 

Administered by the Department of Taxation: 23VAC10-20-

30, pertaining to the filing of tax returns or payment of taxes 

by mail, is being repealed in its entirety because it paraphrases 

§ 58.1-9 of the Code of Virginia.3 23VAC10-20-60, pertaining 

to the interest rates for late payments, currently contains 

interest rates for years up to December 1984. The Department 

of Taxation reports that these interest rates are now 

communicated to the public via a quarterly bulletin,4 and do 

not need to be updated in the regulation. This section would 

retain language noting that Virginia uses the nominal interest 

rate established by Internal Revenue Code § 6621 would be 

retained, and that Virginia applies simple interest computations 

without compounding. The agency also proposes to add a 

reference to § 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia, which pertains 

to the rate of interest.5 

23VAC10-110 Individual Income Tax: 23VAC10-110-130, 

pertaining to exemptions and exclusions, would be retained in 

part. The Department of Taxation notes that the filing 

thresholds in the current subsection A are outdated and that 

they are frequently updated by the General Assembly; thus, 

subsection A would be repealed entirely, and subsection B 

would be repealed in part such that only the item pertaining to 

part-year residents would be retained. The remaining items, 

which pertain to nonresidents and military personnel, would 

also be retained. A reference to Virginia Code § 58.1-321 

would be added to the parenthetical note at the end of the 

section.6 23VAC10-110-142, pertaining to subtractions from 

Virginia taxable income, would also be retained in part. 

Subsections that would be removed are either outdated or 

redundant to § 58.1-322.02 of the Code of Virginia; a reference 

to this section of statute would be added.7 For example, the 

subsection governing WIN (Work Incentive) or targeted jobs 

tax credit would be repealed because it was replaced by the 

Work Opportunity Credit in 2017; the language pertaining to 

this subtraction can be found in § 58.1-322.02 of the Code of 

Virginia.8 This section would retain subsections pertaining to 

(i) interest or dividends on U.S. bonds or similar securities, (ii) 

interest or dividends on pass-through entities, and (iii) Social 

Security and Railroad Retirement benefits. 23VAC10-110-

143, governing deductions from Virginia taxable income 

would largely be repealed as most provisions are also in Code 

§ 58.1-322.03; a reference to this statute would be added.9 Two 

subsections would be retained, as follows: (i) subdivision 1, 

pertaining itemized deductions would be replaced with a 

statement that says, "For the purposes of computing the amount 

of reduction required to federal itemized deductions for income 

taxes imposed by Virginia or any other taxing jurisdiction, the 

term any other taxing jurisdiction includes any other state, any 

locality, and any foreign country"; (ii) subdivision 2, pertaining 

to the standard deduction, would be replaced with a definition 

of the term "earned income" and a statement that "this rule 

applies to dependents younger than age 19 years and full-time 

students who are eligible to be claimed on their parents return." 

23VAC10-110-144 (modifications and adjustments), 

23VAC10-110-250 (special cases in which nonresidents are 

not required to file a Virginia return), and 23VAC10-110-280 

(nongame wildlife voluntary contribution) would be repealed 

as they are either outdated or repetitive of statute.10 

23VAC10-115 Fiduciary Income Tax: 23VAC10-115-10 

(definitions), 23VAC10-115-40 (Virginia taxable income of a 

resident estate or trust), 23VAC10-115-50 (Virginia taxable 

income of a nonresident estate or trust), 23VAC10-115-90 

(other credits), 23VAC10-115-151 (amendments of 

declaration), and 23VAC10-115-153 (other payment dates) 

would all be repealed as they are either outdated or repetitive 

of statute.11 

23VAC10-120 Corporate Income Tax: 23VAC10-120-70, 

pertaining to the imposition of tax for corporations would be 

repealed in its entirety, because it paraphrases § 58.1-400 of 

the Code of Virginia.12 

23VAC10-210 Retail Sales and Use Tax: A majority of these 

sections describe what would or would not be considered 

taxable for specific service industries that are broadly covered 

under 23VAC10-210-4040 (services).13 23VAC10-210-500 

(dentists, dental laboratories, and dental supply houses), 

23VAC10-210-595 (financial institutions), 23VAC10-210-

650 (furniture and storage warehousemen), 23VAC10-210-

770 (interior decorators), 23VAC10-210-790 (kennels, stables, 

and pet shops), 23VAC10-210-810 (laundries and dry 

cleaners), and 23VAC10-210-2050 (photographs, photostats, 

and blueprints) would all be repealed as they are covered by 

the section governing services. 23VAC10-210-32 (adult care 

facilities) and 23VAC10-210-720 (hospitals and nursing 

homes) would be repealed as they refer to exemptions that have 

already been repealed.14 23VAC10-210-130 (artists and art 

dealers) would be repealed because it mainly states that sales 

of objects of art are sales of tangible personal property.15 

Similarly, 23VAC10-210-390 (consignments) and 23VAC10-

210-2020 (peddlers and street vendors) would be repealed 

because they state the basic principle of sales tax that goods are 
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subject to the tax when sold by a dealer.16 23VAC10-210-220 

(tax brackets) would be repealed. This section provides a 

breakdown of tax amounts for very small transactions, which 

used to be printed and used as a reference by retail merchants 

and has been made redundant by point-of-sale terminals. 

23VAC10-210-352 and 23VAC10-210-353 (commercial 

watermen) are covered by § 58.1-609.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, which pertains to agricultural exemptions and by 

58.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia, which covers 

Virginia watercraft sales and use tax.17 23VAC10-210-590 

(feed making) is also covered by agricultural exemptions in 

§ 58.1-609.2 of the Code of Virginia. 23VAC10-210-485 (the 

dealer's compensation or discount) would be repealed as it 

reflects obsolete statute, which has been superseded by Item 3-

5.06 of the budget.18 23VAC10-210-766 (the Innovative 

Technology Authority) would be repealed because it was 

merged into the Innovation and Entrepreneurship Investment 

Authority (IEIA) in 2009 and was then replaced by the Virginia 

Innovation Partnership Authority (VIPA) in 2020.19 

23VAC10-210-900 (machinists, foundrymen, and pattern 

makers) would be repealed as it is repetitive of § 58.1-609.3 of 

the Code of Virginia.20 23VAC10-210-970 (microfilm and 

microfiche copies of documents) would be repealed because 

the technology is largely obsolete. 23VAC10-210-1070 and 

23VAC10-210-1071 (nonprofit organizations) would be 

repealed because the statutory section it referenced was 

repealed and replaced with § 58.1-609.11 of the Code of 

Virginia.21 Lastly, 23VAC10-210-4030 (seeds and seedlings) 

would be repealed because it is repetitive of 23VAC10-210-

50, which would be retained.22 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

primarily serve to meet the regulatory reduction requirements, 

by removing obsolete or redundant requirements; these 

changes would thereby benefit readers of the regulation by 

enhancing the clarity of the regulation.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As mentioned 

previously, the proposed amendments primarily affect tax 

attorneys who rely on the regulations, along with statute, to 

advise their clients. The Department of Taxation has confirmed 

that this action does not make any substantive changes to state 

tax policy and would not result in anyone owing either more or 

less money to the state. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.23 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined.24 Because the 

proposed amendments serve to only clarify and update the 

regulatory text, and would not result in any increased tax 

liability, an adverse impact is not indicated.  

Small Businesses25 Affected.26 The proposed amendments 

would not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities27 Affected.28 No locality would be 

disproportionately affected. Local governments would not 

incur new costs. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

does not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to affect the value of private 

property. Real estate development costs would not be affected. 

_____________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 ED One, which was issued on January 15, 2022, directs executive branch 

agencies "to initiate regulatory processes to reduce by at least 25% the number 

of regulations not mandated by federal or state statute." See 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-

virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf. ED One was subsequently 

amended and reenacted by Executive Order 19 (2022) to "require a 25% 

reduction in regulatory requirements instead of a reduction in regulations." See 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-

Agency-Regulations.pdf. 

3 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter0/section58.1-9/. 

4 See https://www.tax.virginia.gov/tax-bulletins. 

5 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter0/section58.1-15/. 

6 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-321/. 

7 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-

322.02/. 

8 The specific statutory provisions corresponding to each subsection that would 

be repealed can be found on pages 8-9 of the Agency Background Document 

(ABD): https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=75 

\6353\10169\AgencyStatement_TAX_10169_v3.pdf. 

9 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-

322.03/. 

10 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-315/, 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/ 58.1-342/, and subsection B in 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/ title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-344.3/, 

respectively. (Also in ABD, p. 9.) 

11 See ABD, pp. 9-10 for the corresponding Code citations. 

12 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-400/. 

13 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title23/agency10/chapter210/sec

tion4040/. 

14 See ABD, pp. 10-13 for specific citations for this and other sections in this 

regulation that would be repealed. 

15 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-

603/#v2/. 

16 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-612/. 

17 See item 4 under https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/secti

on58.1-609.2/ and https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-1400/, 

respectively. 

18 The budget language most recently appears in the introduced budget. See 

https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2024/1/HB30/Introduced/3/3-5.06/. 

19 See ABD, p. 11. 

20 See item 2 (i) in https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/sectio

n58.1-609.3/.  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-Agency-Regulations.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-Agency-Regulations.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter0/section58.1-9/
https://www.tax.virginia.gov/tax-bulletins
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter0/section58.1-15/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-321/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-322.02/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-322.02/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=75/6353/10169/AgencyStatement_TAX_10169_v3.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=75/6353/10169/AgencyStatement_TAX_10169_v3.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-322.03/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-322.03/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-315/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-342/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-344.3/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter3/section58.1-400/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title23/agency10/chapter210/section4040/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title23/agency10/chapter210/section4040/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-603/#v2/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-603/#v2/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-612/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-609.2/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-609.2/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-1400/
https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2024/1/HB30/Introduced/3/3-5.06/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-609.3/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-609.3/
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21 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-

609.11/. 

22 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title23/agency10/chapter210/sec

tion50/. 

23 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

24 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

25 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

26 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

27 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

28 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Taxation agrees with the Department of 

Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove language that provides 

regulatory interpretation of statute that is clear and 

unambiguous, (ii) remove language that is duplicative of 

other regulatory text, and (iii) update language to address 

statutes that have been amended or repealed.  

23VAC10-20-30. Filing of tax returns or payment of taxes 

by mail. (Repealed.) 

A. Generally.  

1. When remittance of a tax return or a tax payment is made 

by mail, receipt of the return or payment by the person with 

whom the return is required to be filed or the payment is 

required to be made shall constitute timely filing or payment, 

provided that (a) the tax return or tax payment is received in 

a sealed envelope with sufficient postage; and (b) the 

envelope bears a postmark on or before midnight of the day 

the return is required to be filed or the payment be made 

without penalty or interest.  

2. Returns mailed with insufficient postage shall not be 

deemed filed until actually received or remailed with 

adequate postage.  

B. Definitions.  

1. Person. The term "person" includes, but is not limited to, 

a Commissioner of the Revenue, a Director of Finance or the 

Department of Taxation.  

2. Postmark. A "postmark" means the United States Post Office 

cancellation mark stamped upon the envelope. A mark made by 

a postage meter under control of a person other than the U.S. 

Post Office is not a postmark.  

C. Example. Taxpayer X is required to file a sales tax return on 

February 20, which falls on a Saturday. Monday, February 22, is 

a legal holiday (Washington's birthday). The Department of 

Taxation receives the return on Friday, February 26 in a sealed 

envelope bearing a postmark of February 23 (Tuesday). No 

interest or penalties for late filing or late payment will be assessed.  

23VAC10-20-60. Rate of interest. 

A. In general. 1. Unless otherwise specifically provided, interest 

on omitted taxes, taxes paid after the date prescribed for payment, 

assessments and refunds shall be computed at a rate equal to the 

rate of interest established pursuant to § 6621 of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1954, as amended. 2. Separate computations 

shall be made for each period during which the interest rate differs 

from the current rate by multiplying the deficiency or 

overpayment outstanding during each period by the rate of interest 

applicable to that period. 3. The Internal Revenue Code requires 

that interest accruing after December 31, 1982 be compounded 

daily. Although Virginia uses the nominal interest rate established 

pursuant to IRC § 6621, Virginia applies simple interest 

computations without compounding. 

4. The rates of interest applicable to deficiencies and 

overpayments under this section and prior law are as follows:  

Prior to July 1, 1976 6% 
 

July 1, 1976 through January 31, 1978 7% 
 

February 1, 1980 through January 31, 

1980 

6% 

 

February 1, 1980 through January 31, 

1982 

12% 

 

February 1, 1982 through December 31, 

1982 

20% 

 

January 1, 1983 through June 30, 1983 16% 
 

July 1, 1983 through December 31, 1984 11% 

5. B. Interest is computed by excluding the due date and 

including the date of payment in the number of days. For example, 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-609.11/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title58.1/chapter6/section58.1-609.11/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title23/agency10/chapter210/section50/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title23/agency10/chapter210/section50/
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interest on $100 tax due June 20, 1983, and paid July 10, 1983, 

would be computed as follows: 

June 21 through June 30 = 10 days at 16% 

 10 
x 0.16 = 0.004383 

 365 

July 1 through July 10 = 10 days at 11% 

 10 
x 0.11 = 0.003013 

 365 

Total Interest Factor 0.007396 x $100 = $0.74 interest 

Note that June 20, the due date, is not counted, and that July 

10 and all intervening days are counted. 

B. § 6621. The text of IRC § 6621 as amended through 

December 31, 1983 is set forth below: 

IRC Section 6621. Determination of rate of interest. 

a. In general. The annual rate established under this 

section shall be such adjusted rate as is established by the 

Secretary under subsection (b). 

b. Adjustment of interest rate. 

1. Establishment of adjusted rate. If the adjusted prime rate 

charged by banks (rounded to the nearest full percent) 

(A) during the 6-month period ending on September 30 of 

any calendar year, or 

(B) during the 6-month period ending on March 31 of any 

calendar year, differs from the interest rate in effect under 

this section on either such date, respectively, then the 

Secretary shall establish, within 15 days after the close of 

the applicable 6-month period, an adjusted rate of interest 

equal to such adjusted prime rate. 

2. Effective date of adjustment. Any adjusted rate of 

interest established under paragraph (1) shall become 

effective: 

(A) on January 1 of the succeeding year in the case of an 

adjustment attributable to paragraph (1)(A), and 

(B) on July 1 of the same year in the case of an adjustment 

attributable to paragraph (1)(B). 

c. Definition of prime rate. For purposes of subsection (b), 

the term "adjusted prime rate charged by banks" means the 

average predominant prime rate quoted by commercial 

banks to large businesses, as determined by the Board of 

Governors of the Federal Reserve System. 

C. See § 58.15 of the Code of Virginia for provisions defining 

rates of interest and methods to determine interest and 

additions to tax. 

23VAC10-110-130. Exemptions and exclusions. 

A. Generally. No tax is imposed upon any individual whose 

Virginia adjusted gross income, as defined in subsection B, for 

the taxable year is less than $3,000; nor is any tax imposed 

upon any individual and spouse whose combined Virginia 

adjusted gross income is less than $3,000. Persons who are not 

subject to the tax are not required to file a return; however, if 

any state income tax has been withheld, a return must be filed 

to obtain a refund. B. Virginia adjusted gross income, 

defined.1. Generally. As used in this regulation, "Virginia 

adjusted gross income" means FAGI for the taxable year plus 

the additions set forth in § 58.1-322(B) of the Code of Virginia, 

and less the subtractions set forth in § 58.1-322(C) of the Code 

of Virginia and the additional $400 deduction for taxpayers age 

65 and over. Example: A taxpayer, age 67, has FAGI for 

taxable year 1983 of $3,200 ($2,000 in wage income and 

$1,200 in interest and dividends). The taxpayer had an 

additional $150 in interest which is exempt from federal but 

not exempt from state tax. Since the taxpayer is over 65 years 

of age, he qualifies for the additional $400 deduction. 

Therefore, his Virginia adjusted gross income is $2,950 

($3,200 (FAGI) plus $150 (taxable interest) less $400 

(additional deduction)). Virginia adjusted gross income 

includes both earned and unearned income. The itemized and 

standard deductions, child care deduction and personal 

exemption amounts, except as noted above, may not be 

subtracted from FAGI in computing Virginia adjusted gross 

income.2. Part-year residents. The Virginia adjusted gross 

income of a part-year resident is computed only with respect to 

income derived during his the resident's period of residence in 

Virginia determined in the manner prescribed in 23VAC10-

110-40 B. 

3. B. Nonresidents. The Virginia adjusted gross income of a 

nonresident is computed as though such person had been a 

resident of Virginia during the full taxable year. 

C. Military personnel. 

1. Military pay. Armed forces personnel who are not 

domiciliary residents of Virginia and who maintain no place 

of abode within the State Commonwealth are not subject to 

Virginia income tax on compensation received from armed 

forces service. However, a member of the armed forces who 

is a domiciliary resident of Virginia is subject to tax on his 

income in the same manner as any other resident. 

2. Other income. Pursuant to the Soldiers' and Sailors' Relief 

Act (50 USC § 574), compensation for military or naval 

service of any person residing in Virginia solely by reason 

of compliance with military or naval orders is not subject to 

income taxation in Virginia, unless such person is a 

domiciliary resident of this state the Commonwealth. 

Similarly, military personnel who are domiciliary residents 

of Virginia do not attain a domicile elsewhere solely by 

virtue of their presence without the state in compliance with 

military or naval orders. Therefore, a Virginia resident who 

enters military service is subject to Virginia income tax on 

all of his taxable income, regardless of where the resident is 

stationed. 
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However, members of the armed forces who derive income 

from Virginia sources, excluding compensation for military 

or naval service, are subject to Virginia tax on such income 

in the same manner as any nonresident. For example, the 

compensation derived by an armed forces member from a 

part-time job is subject to Virginia income tax on such 

compensation. Similarly, a member of the armed forces may 

subject himself to taxation in Virginia by acquiring a new 

legal domicile herein. 

3. Spouse of armed forces member. The residency status of 

a spouse of a member of the armed forces, who is not a 

member of the armed forces, shall be determined without 

regard to this section. 

(D. See § 58.15 of the Code of Virginia for provisions 

defining rates of interest and methods to determine interest and 

additions to tax. See also 23VAC10-110-30 B 3 for Domicile 

Generally. See also 23VAC10-110-190 B for allocation of 

deductions and exemptions between resident and nonresident 

spouses.) 

23VAC10-110-142. Virginia taxable income; subtractions. 

A. To the extent included in FAGI, the items enumerated 

below shall be subtracted from FAGI in determining Virginia 

taxable income. If an item was partially excluded or deducted 

in determining FAGI, it shall be subtracted from FAGI only to 

the extent included therein. If an item has already been 

excluded from Virginia taxable income, it shall not be 

subtracted again pursuant to this section. 

1. Interest or dividends on obligations of the United States 

or Virginia. 

a. "Obligation" means a debt obligation or security issued 

by the United States or any authority, commission, or 

instrumentality of the United States or by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or any of its political 

subdivisions, which obligation or security is issued in the 

exercise of the borrowing power of the United States or 

Virginia and is backed by the full faith and credit of the 

United States or Virginia. 

b. Guarantees by the United States or Virginia of 

obligations of private individuals or corporations are 

merely contingent obligations of the United States or 

Virginia even though the guarantees may be backed by the 

full faith and credit of the United States or Virginia. The 

obligation does not become an obligation of the United 

States or Virginia because of the guarantee and interest 

and dividends paid on such guaranteed obligations do not 

qualify for the subtraction unless specifically exempted by 

statute. 

c. Specific statutory exemptions exist for certain securities 

issued by particular federal or Virginia agencies or 

political subdivisions. If a federal or Virginia statute 

exempts from state taxation the interest or dividends on 

specific securities of a particular agency or political 

subdivision, then such interest or dividends qualify for the 

subtraction. 

d. Repurchase agreements are usually obligations issued 

by financial institutions which that are secured by U.S. 

obligations exempt from Virginia income taxation under 

subdivisions 1 a and c of this section. In such cases, the 

interest paid by the financial institutions to purchasers of 

repurchase agreements does not qualify for the 

subtraction. Repurchase agreements issued following 

current commercial practice will invariably be regarded as 

obligations of the issuing financial institution. However, if 

the purchaser is regarded as the true owner of the 

underlying exempt obligation, the interest will qualify for 

the subtraction even though collected by the seller and 

distributed to the purchaser. Any claim of such ownership 

must be substantiated by a taxpayer claiming a 

subtraction. 

e. Interest received from regulated investment companies. 

Interest on exempt obligations received by a regulated 

investment company and passed through to the 

stockholders in qualifying distributions, as defined in IRC 

§ 852, will retain its exempt status in the hands of the 

shareholders. If a shareholder receives a distribution 

which that includes interest from both exempt and non-

exempt obligations, all distributions will be deemed 

taxable unless the shareholder can substantiate the exempt 

portion of the distributions. Any individual requiring 

advice as to the taxable status of distributions from any 

regulated investment company should contact such 

company. Due to the turnover in investments held by such 

companies and the commingling of interest from exempt 

and non-exempt obligations, the Department cannot 

render such advice. 

f. Expenses. The subtraction for interest on exempt 

obligations must be reduced by any expenses attributable 

to such interest and by interest or indebtedness incurred or 

continued to purchase or carry exempt obligations 

pursuant to IRC § 265. 

2. Interest or dividends from pass-through entities. 

a. Under federal law, certain income received by a 

partnership, estate, trust, or regulated investment company 

(pass-through entity) and distributed to a partner, 

beneficiary, or shareholder (recipient) retains the same 

character in the hands of the recipient. If a pass-through 

entity receives interest or dividends on U.S. or Virginia 

obligations which that is distributed to the recipients in a 

manner that the distributions retain their character in the 

hands of the recipients under federal law, then such 

interest or dividends may be subtracted by the recipients 

in computing Virginia taxable income. 

b. A pass-through entity may invest in several types of 

securities, some of which are U.S. or Virginia obligations. 

When taxable income is commingled with exempt income 

all income is presumed taxable unless the portion of 
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income which is exempt from Virginia income tax can be 

determined with reasonable certainty and substantiated. 

The determination must be made for each distribution to 

each shareholder. For example, if distributions are made 

monthly, then the determination must be made monthly. 

As a practical matter, only pass-through entities which that 

invest exclusively in U.S. or Virginia obligations, or 

which that have extremely stable investment portfolios, 

will be likely to make such determinations. 

c. Examples: 

(1) ABC Fund, a regulated investment company, invests 

exclusively in U.S. Treasury notes and bills, which are 

exempt from state taxation under 31 USC § 3124. All 

distributions are considered to be interest on U.S. 

obligations and may be subtracted by the recipient. 

(2) Va. Fund, a regulated investment company, invests 

exclusively in obligations of Virginia and its political 

subdivisions. Distributions are considered to be interest on 

Virginia obligations and qualify for the subtraction to the 

extent that such distributions are included in the recipient's 

federal taxable income. 

(3) XYZ Fund, a regulated investment company, invests 

in a variety of securities, including obligations of the U.S., 

Virginia, other states, corporations, and financial 

institutions (repurchase agreements). Due to the 

commingling of taxable and exempt income, the turnover 

in XYZ Fund's investments and the fluctuation in a 

shareholder's investment in XYZ Fund, all distributions 

are considered taxable income and do not qualify for the 

subtraction unless XYZ Fund determines the portion of 

distributions which that is interest and dividends from U.S. 

and Virginia obligations for each distribution to each 

shareholder. Note that any portion of XYZ Fund's 

distributions which that are excluded from federal taxable 

income as interest on obligations of other states must be 

added to Virginia taxable income. 

3. Pension and retirement income. Income received by 

officers or employees of the Commonwealth, its political 

subdivisions or agencies as a pension or retirement income 

shall be subtracted from FAGI in determining Virginia 

taxable income to the extent that such income is specifically 

exempted from state taxation by law. Income specifically 

exempt from state taxation includes that received pursuant 

to provisions of the Virginia Retirement System, the Judicial 

Retirement System (§ 51.1-300 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia and prior law), State Police Officers Retirement 

System (§ 51.1-200 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and the 

special retirement system for officers and employees of 

counties, cities and towns (§ 51.1-800 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

Qualified retirement income or pensions, as defined above, 

received by the retiree or his surviving spouse may be 

subtracted to the extent included in FAGI. No person 

claiming a deduction pursuant to this section may also claim 

the retirement income tax credit set forth in 23VAC10-110-

200 nor may such person claim the disability income 

exclusion set forth in subdivision 4 of this section. 

4. Disability income. Federal law (IRC § 37) allows retired 

individuals who are under age 65 and who qualified for 

retirement on the basis of a permanent and total disability a 

credit against federal tax liability for a specified percentage 

amount of a disability income base. Persons who qualify for 

such federal credit may deduct from FAGI in computing 

Virginia taxable income the amount on which the federal 

credit is based. This credit base amount to be deducted is 

limited to the amount actually allowed in computing the 

federal credit. Example follows: 

Example: For the taxable year beginning January 1, 1984, 

Taxpayer A, a disabled retired single individual has FAGI of 

$12,500. Under federal law A is entitled to a 15% disability 

credit based upon a base of $5,000 less ½ of the amount by 

which FAGI exceeds $7,500. Since A's FAGI exceeds 

$7,500 by $5,000, his credit base for computing the federal 

credit is $5,000 (initial credit base)--½ X 5,000 (amount by 

which FAGI exceeds $7,500) or $2,500. Thus A may deduct 

$2,500 from FAGI in computing Virginia taxable income. 

No person claiming a deduction pursuant to this section may 

also claim the retirement income tax credit set forth in 

23VAC10-110-200 nor may such person claim a state or 

local retirement subtraction as set forth in subdivision 3 of 

this section. 

5. Social Security and Railroad Retirement benefits. The 

amount of any Social Security benefits received under Title 

II of the Social Security Act (Old Age and Survivors 

Disability Insurance) and any other benefits included in 

FAGI solely by virtue of IRC § 86 shall be subtracted from 

FAGI in computing Virginia taxable income. "Other 

benefits" under IRC § 86 includes Tier 1 Railroad 

Retirement benefits and workers' compensation to the extent 

that it reduces OASDI benefits. Tier 2 Railroad Retirement 

benefits shall be subtracted from FAGI in computing 

Virginia taxable income by virtue of the Railroad Retirement 

Act. 

6. Income tax refunds. The amount of any income tax refund 

or credit for overpayment of income tax to Virginia or any 

other taxing jurisdiction shall be deducted from FAGI to the 

extent included therein. For purposes of determining 

Virginia taxable income, the amount of federally allowable 

itemized deductions is reduced by the amount of income tax 

imposed by Virginia or other taxing jurisdictions. (See 

subdivision 1 of 23VAC10-110-143.) Therefore, any 

refunds or credits for overpayments of such taxes which are 

required, by federal law, to be included in FAGI, may be 

deducted in computing Virginia taxable income. 
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7. WIN or targeted jobs tax credit. Federal law permits 

employers to claim an income tax credit based upon certain 

wages paid under IRC §§ 40 and 44B. If such credit is 

elected, IRC § 280C bars the deduction of the wages on 

which such credit is based. To the extent such wages were 

not deducted from FAGI, they shall be subtracted therefrom 

in the computation of Virginia taxable income. 

8. Foreign source income. 

a. Generally. Foreign source income as defined in 

23VAC10-110-30 shall be subtracted from FAGI, to the 

extent included therein, in determining Virginia taxable 

income. 

b. Earned income. Federal law allows individual taxpayers 

to exclude in the computation of FAGI a portion of earned 

income from foreign sources. To the extent that this 

exclusion is elected, such earned income will similarly be 

excluded from Virginia taxable income. However, if a 

taxpayer does not elect, or is not eligible to elect, to 

exclude foreign source income from FAGI, he may not 

deduct such income from FAGI in computing Virginia 

taxable income. 

c. Taxes paid to foreign country. Federal law generally 

allows an individual who has paid or accrued foreign 

income tax to elect to either treat such tax as a deduction 

from FAGI or to apply such taxes as a credit against 

federal tax liability. If a taxpayer elects to treat foreign 

taxes as a deduction from FAGI, his allowable itemized 

deductions will be reduced by such amount in computing 

Virginia taxable income. (See subdivision 1 of 23VAC10-

110-143.) 

9. Qualified agricultural contributions. 

a. Generally. The amount of any qualified agricultural 

contribution shall be subtracted from FAGI in determining 

Virginia taxable income. 

b. Qualified contributions. Contributions that qualify for 

subtraction from FAGI are contributions of agricultural 

products made between January 1, 1985, and December 

31, 1987, by an individual who is engaged in the trade or 

business of growing or raising such products. Thus, 

contributions of agricultural products by an individual 

who is not engaged in the business of farming (for 

instance, contributions of goods raised in a family garden) 

do not qualify for subtraction. 

To be subtractible, a contribution must be made to an 

organization exempt from federal income taxation under 

IRC § 501(c)(3) and must meet the following (i) the 

product contributed must be fit for human consumption; 

i.e. edible; (ii) the use of the product by the donee must be 

related to the purpose tests: or function for which the 

donee was granted exemption under IRC § 501(c)(3) (for 

instance, contributions of crops to a foundation organized 

for scientific or literary purposes would not qualify, but 

contributions of crops to a nonprofit food bank would 

qualify); (iii) the contribution is not made in exchange for 

money, property or service; and (iv) the donor must obtain 

from the donee a written statement representing that the 

donee's use and disposition of the product will be in 

accordance with its charitable mission. Such written 

statements also must list the type and quantity or volume 

of products contributed, state that the products donated are 

fit for human consumption, and state the use to which the 

donations will be put. Such written statements must be 

filed with the taxpayer's income tax return when the 

subtraction for qualified agricultural contributions is 

claimed. 

To be subtractible from FAGI under the above tests, the 

donee must make use of the agricultural products donated 

to it consistent with the purpose for which it was granted 

exemption under IRC § 501(c)(3). Therefore, 

contributions of crops to a charitable organization which 

provides food to the needy would qualify. However, 

contributions of crops to an organization that does not 

itself provides food to the needy would not qualify, even 

if the donee in turn contributes the crops to an organization 

that provides food to the needy. 

c. Agricultural product. Crops are the only agricultural 

products eligible for subtraction when donated. Thus, the 

subtraction is limited to contributions of products of the 

soil and does not include contributions of animal products. 

d. Computation of subtraction. The subtraction for 

qualified agricultural contributions is equal to the lowest 

wholesale market price in the nearest regional market of 

the type of products donated during the months in which 

donations are made. For the purpose of determining the 

lowest wholesale market price for a particular product, a 

taxpayer must use the lowest wholesale market price, 

regardless of grade or quality, published in the month of 

contribution by the U.S. Department of Agriculture 

Market News Service on Fruits, Vegetables, Ornamentals, 

and Specialty Crops for the regional market nearest the 

taxpayer's place of business. 

e. Limitation on subtraction. The subtraction for qualified 

agricultural contributions shall be reduced by the amount 

of any other charitable deductions relating to qualified 

agricultural contributions if the deductions are claimed on 

the donor's federal return for the taxable year in which the 

contribution is made, or if the deductions are eligible for 

carryover to subsequent taxable years under IRC § 170. 

For example, a farmer who itemizes deductions for federal 

and state income tax purposes and who claims a charitable 

deduction of qualified agricultural products on his federal 

return must reduce his Virginia subtraction for qualified 

agricultural contributions by the amount of his federal 

charitable deduction for the same products. If the farmer's 

total charitable contributions of qualified agricultural 

products exceed the deduction ceiling set by federal law 

and the farmer is eligible to carryover deductions to 
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subsequent years, the farmer must also subtract the 

deductions eligible for carryover from the value of his 

qualified agricultural contributions. 

Example: Farmer contributes fifty 50-pound sacks of 

round white potatoes to a local nonprofit food bank. The 

farmer's basis in the contributed property is $10, of which 

he claims $5 as a charitable contribution on his 1986 

federal and state income tax returns and will carryover $5 

as a charitable deduction on his 1987 federal and state 

income tax returns. During the month in which the 

contribution was made, the lowest wholesale market price 

for a 50-pound sack of round white potatoes published by 

the U.S. Department of Agriculture Market News Service 

in the regional market nearest the farmer's place of 

business was $2. The farmer's deduction for his qualified 

agricultural contribution would be computed as follows: 
 

Units contributed 50 
 

Lowest wholesale market price of unit/mx x $2 
  

$100  

Charitable deduction claimed on 

contribution 

(5) 

 

Charitable deduction carried over (5) 
 

Deduction for qualified agricultural 

contribution 

$90 

B. See § 58.1-322.02 of the Code of Virginia for provisions 

defining computation of subtractions in figuring Virginia 

taxable income. 

23VAC10-110-143. Virginia taxable income; deductions. 

The following items shall be deducted in determining 

Virginia taxable income. 

1. Itemized deductions. a. Generally. Any taxpayer who 

itemizes his deductions for federal income tax purposes must 

also itemize deductions for Virginia income tax purposes. 

The federally allowable amount of itemized deductions 

(prior to the subtraction of the federal zero bracket amount) 

shall be subtracted from FAGI in determining Virginia 

taxable income, but must be reduced by any amount claimed 

as a deduction for income taxes paid to Virginia or any other 

state, locality, foreign country, or other taxing jurisdiction. 

(See subdivision 6 of 23VAC10-110-142.) b. Additional 

deduction for charitable mileage. The amount of itemized 

deductions allowed for federal income tax purposes shall be 

increased to allow a deduction for Virginia purposes of 18 

cents per mile for charitable contribution transportation. The 

additional Virginia deduction is allowed only with respect to 

transportation expenses allowed under IRC § 170 and only 

to the extent that such expenses are actually deducted for 

federal purposes. The amount of charitable mileage 

expenses claimed for federal purposes is increased to result 

in a deduction of 18 cents per mile for Virginia purposes. If 

a person elects to compute the federal deduction based upon 

actual expenses, the increased Virginia deduction is 

computed by converting expenses to a per mile amount and 

adding to that an amount sufficient to equal 18 cents per 

mile. The amount of the addition is the additional Virginia 

deduction. Example 1: Taxpayer A uses his automobile for 

charitable purposes and determines annual expenses 

(gasoline, oil, etc.) attributable to charitable usage to be 

$500, which is deducted as a charitable contribution for 

federal tax purposes. A drove his automobile 4,350 miles in 

incurring the $500 in expenses, which results in a per mile 

cost of 11.5 cents. Therefore A is entitled to an additional 

Virginia deduction of $282.75 computed as follows: ($.18 - 

$.115) = $.065 X 4,350 = $282.75 If the standard federal 

mileage rate for charitable mileage is used, the amount of the 

Virginia addition is the difference between the standard rate 

and 18 cents per mile. Example 2: Taxpayer B is entitled to 

deduct expenses attributable to 5,555 miles of automobile 

use as a charitable contribution. B utilizes the standard 

mileage rate (9¢ per mile for taxable year 1983) and 

therefore is allowed a federal deduction of $500. B is entitled 

to an additional Virginia deduction of $500 computed as 

follows: ($.18 - $.09) = $.09 X 5,555 = $500. 

2. Standard deduction. a. Generally. Any taxpayer who does 

not itemize deductions for federal purposes must claim the 

standard deduction in the computation of Virginia taxable 

income. The amount of the standard deduction for a single 

individual or a married couple filing jointly shall be fifteen 

percent (15%) of federal adjusted gross income not to exceed 

$2,000; except as set forth in c below, the standard deduction 

shall not be less than $1,300. In the case of a married 

individual filing a separate return or separately on a 

combined return, the standard deduction shall not exceed 

$1,000 or be less than $650. b. Lump sum distribution. When 

any taxpayer has received a lump sum distribution from a 

qualified retirement plan and, under the provisions of IRC 

§ 402, has elected to use the special ten-year averaging 

method for the computation of federal tax on the 

distribution, then for purposes of computing the standard 

deduction FAGI shall be increased by any amount of the 

distribution which has not been included in FAGI. c. 

Dependents. Any individual who may be claimed as a 

dependent on another taxpayer's return may compute the 

standard deduction only with respect to earned income. As 

used in this section the term "earned income" shall mean 

wages, salaries or professional fees and other amounts 

received as compensation for professional services actually 

rendered, but does not include that part of the compensation 

derived by the taxpayer for personal services rendered by 

him to a corporation which represents a distribution of 

earnings or profits rather than a reasonable allowance as 

compensation for the personal services actually rendered. 

This rule applies to dependents under age 19 and full-time 

students who are eligible to be claimed on their parents, 
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return even though the parents do not actually take the 

exemption. 

3. Exemptions. There shall be deducted from FAGI $600 for 

each personal exemption allowed to the taxpayer for federal 

income tax purposes. For each exemption allowed to the 

taxpayer under the provisions of IRC § 151(c), there shall be 

deducted an additional $400. IRC § 151(c) allows an 

additional deduction for an individual who is at least 65 

years of age during the taxable year. In the case of a husband 

and wife filing a joint return, each may claim the additional 

exemption if both are at least 65 years of age during the 

taxable year. This additional exemption may not be claimed 

for dependents even though such dependents may meet the 

age requirement. (Note: For purposes of qualifying for the 

additional federal exemption under IRC § 151(c), a person 

is deemed to be 65 years of age on the day before his 

birthday. For example, a person who is 65 on January 1, 

1985 may claim the additional exemption for taxable year 

1984.) 

4. Child and dependent care. Effective for taxable years 

beginning on and after January l, 1982, the amount of 

employment-related expenses allowed for computing the 

federal child and dependent care credit (IRC § 44A) may be 

subtracted from FAGI in computing Virginia taxable 

income. The amount of employment-related expenses which 

may be subtracted is limited to that amount actually used in 

computing the federal credit. Such amount will be limited by 

the restrictions of IRC § 44A, including the maximum 

amount of expenses allowable in computing the federal 

credit and earned income limitations. This subtraction will 

further be limited to only expenses which qualify for federal 

credit. For example, if federal law places a ceiling on 

expenditures for purposes of computing the federal credit 

such ceiling will similarly limit the Virginia deduction. 

The actual amount of the federal child and dependent care 

credit claimed has no bearing upon this deduction; only the 

base for computing the federal credit is relevant. 

A. For provisions defining the computation of deductions 

from Virginia taxable income see § 58.1-322.03 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. For the purposes of computing the amount of reduction 

required to federal itemized deductions for income taxes 

imposed by Virginia or any other taxing jurisdiction, the term 

"any other taxing jurisdiction" includes any other state, any 

locality, and any foreign country. 

C. For the purposes of the Virginia standard deduction, the 

term "earned income" shall mean wages, salaries or 

professional fees, and other amounts received as compensation 

for professional services actually rendered, but does not 

include that part of the compensation derived by the taxpayer 

for personal services rendered by the taxpayer to a corporation 

that represents a distribution of earnings or profits rather than 

a reasonable allowance as compensation for the personal 

services actually rendered. This rule applies to dependents 

younger than 19 years of age and full-time students who are 

eligible to be claimed on their parent's return. 

23VAC10-110-144. Virginia taxable income; modifications 

and adjustments. (Repealed.) 

The modifications set forth in § 58.1-315 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be added or subtracted, whichever is applicable, 

in determining Virginia taxable income. (See also 23VAC10-

110-110.)  

23VAC10-110-250. Special cases in which nonresident not 

required to file Virginia return. (Repealed.) 

A. Commuters. A nonresident who did not maintain a place 

of abode in Virginia at any time during the taxable year and 

who commuted on a daily basis to employment in Virginia 

from his residence outside this state is not required to file a 

Virginia income tax return nor is he liable for the payment of 

tax to Virginia provided that all of the following conditions are 

met:  

1. His only income from Virginia sources is from salaries 

and wages;  

2. His salaries and wages from Virginia sources are subject 

to taxation by his state of residence;  

3. Such taxpayer's state of residence imposes an income tax 

substantially similar to Virginia's, i.e., a net income tax;  

4. The tax laws of the taxpayer's state of residence allow a 

credit against the tax liability of a Virginia resident to such 

state which is substantially similar to that accorded by 

Virginia as defined in 23VAC10-110-220 through 

23VAC10-110-222; and  

5. The tax laws of the taxpayer's state of residence accord 

Virginia residents commuting to work in such state on a 

daily basis the same relief from filing a return as provided 

herein for nonresidents of Virginia.  

As of the adoption date of these regulations, residents of 

Kentucky, Maryland, West Virginia and the District of 

Columbia may qualify for a filing exclusion under the 

provisions of this section. Residents of these states who have 

Virginia income tax withheld on salary and wages earned in 

Virginia and who would otherwise qualify for the filing 

exclusion may obtain a refund of Virginia tax withheld by 

filing Form 763S, Special Nonresident Claim for Individual 

Income Tax.  

B. Reciprocal agreements. The Department of Taxation may 

enter into reciprocal agreements with other states to relieve 

residents of such state from filing a return or paying tax to 

Virginia on compensation paid herein. Under such reciprocal 

agreements, Virginia residents will similarly be relieved from 

filing and payment requirements in the reciprocating state. For 



Regulations 

Volume 40, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 15, 2024  

1977 

taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 1982, such an 

agreement is in effect with Pennsylvania.  

23VAC10-110-280. Nongame wildlife voluntary 

contribution. (Repealed.) 

Any individual who is eligible for a state income tax refund 

may elect to designate that all or a portion of such refund be 

used for the conservation and management of endangered 

species and other nongame wildlife. Such election will reduce 

the amount of refund which the individual will receive by an 

amount equal to that which is designated for contribution to the 

nongame wildlife fund.  

The amount designated for contribution pursuant to this 

section must be in whole dollars, i.e., no fractional portions of 

a dollar may be designated, unless the entire refund is 

contributed.  

If a husband and wife elect to file separately on a combined 

return (Filing Status #4), they may not designate separate 

contributions but must instead designate a joint contribution as 

they mutually agree. For purposes of this section, the term 

"non-game wildlife" shall include protected wildlife, 

endangered and threatened wildlife, aquatic wildlife, 

specialized habitat wildlife both terrestrial and aquatic, and 

mollusks, crustaceans, and other invertebrates under the 

jurisdiction of the Board of Game and Inland Fisheries.  

23VAC10-115-10. Definitions. (Repealed.) 

For the purpose of this chapter and unless otherwise required 

by the context:  

"Accumulation distribution" has the meaning set forth in U.S. 

Treasury Reg. § 1.665(b)-1A(a).  

"Income and deductions from Virginia sources" includes:  

1. Items of income, gain, loss and deduction attributable to:  

a. The ownership of any interest in real or tangible 

personal property in Virginia; or  

b. A business, trade, profession or occupation carried on 

in Virginia.  

2. Income from intangible personal property, including 

annuities, dividends, interest, royalties and gains from the 

disposition of intangible personal property to the extent that 

such income is from property employed by the taxpayer in a 

business, trade, profession, or occupation carried on in 

Virginia.  

"Nonresident estate or trust" means an estate or trust which is 

not a resident estate or trust.  

"Resident estate or trust" means:  

1. The estate of a decedent who at his death was domiciled 

in Virginia,  

2. A trust created by will of a decedent who at his death was 

domiciled in Virginia,  

3. A trust created by, or consisting of property of a person 

domiciled in Virginia, or  

4. A trust or estate which is being administered in Virginia. 

A trust or estate is "being administered in Virginia" if, for 

example, its assets are located in Virginia, its fiduciary is a 

resident of Virginia, or it is under the supervision of a 

Virginia court.  

"Trust" or "estate" means a trust or estate, or a fiduciary 

thereof, which is required to file a fiduciary income tax return 

under the laws of the United States.  

"Virginia fiduciary adjustment" means the net amount of the 

applicable modifications described in § 58.1-322 of the Code 

of Virginia and regulations promulgated thereunder (including 

subsection E thereof if the estate or trust is a beneficiary of 

another estate or trust) which relate to items of income, gain, 

loss or deduction of an estate or trust. The fiduciary adjustment 

shall not include the modification in subsection D of § 58.1-

322 of the Code of Virginia and regulations promulgated 

thereunder, except that the amount of state income taxes 

excluded from federal taxable income shall be included. For 

example, the Estate of Frederick Jones received $1,750 of 

interest from obligations of the State of Massachusetts (not 

subject to federal income tax), $5,400 in interest from U.S. 

Treasury obligations (not subject to Virginia income tax), $875 

in Virginia income tax (permitted as a federal, but not state, 

itemized deduction) and $3,250 in other itemized deductions 

deducted on the federal return. The Virginia fiduciary 

adjustment is a subtraction of $2,775, computed as follows in 

accordance with § 58.1-322 B and C of the Code of Virginia:  

Add 

 

Massachusetts obligations $1,750 

Virginia income tax 875  
2,625 

Subtract 

 

U.S. Treasury obligations (5,400)  
($2,775) 

23VAC10-115-40. Virginia taxable income of a resident 

estate or trust. (Repealed.) 

A. The Virginia taxable income of a resident estate or trust 

means its federal taxable income for the taxable year to which 

there shall be added or subtracted, as the case may be, the share 

of the estate or trust in the Virginia fiduciary adjustment 

determined under subsection B.  

B. The respective shares of an estate or trust and its 

beneficiaries (including, solely for the purpose of this 

allocation, nonresident beneficiaries) in the Virginia fiduciary 

adjustment shall be in proportion to their respective shares of 

distributable net income of the estate or trust. If the estate or 

trust has no distributable net income for the taxable year, the 

share of each beneficiary in the Virginia fiduciary adjustment 

shall be in proportion to his share of the estate or trust income 
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for such year, under local law or the governing instrument, 

which is required to be distributed currently and any other 

amounts of such income distributed in such year. Any balance 

of the Virginia fiduciary adjustment shall be allocated to the 

estate or trust.  

Example 1: The Estate of Jane Doe has federal taxable 

income of $36,000 for calendar year 1983 and its Virginia 

fiduciary adjustment is a subtraction of $6,000. The Estate has 

three beneficiaries, two of whom are Virginia residents and the 

third who is a resident of Maryland. Each beneficiary has a 1/4 

share of distributable net income of the Estate. In calendar year 

1983 the Estate distributes $27,000 (3/4 times $36,000). Each 

beneficiary is entitled to subtract $1,500 (1/4 of the $6,000 

Virginia fiduciary adjustment) from his federal adjusted gross 

income. The $1,500 balance of the adjustment is allocated to 

the Estate, yielding Virginia taxable income of $7,500 

($36,000 minus $27,000 distribution minus $1,500 

adjustment).  

Example 2: Trust X has no distributable net income and no 

federal taxable income for calendar year 1982. The Virginia 

fiduciary adjustment is $15,000, comprised of excess cost 

recovery under § 58.1-322 B 6 of the Code of Virginia. The 

trust instrument provides that all income shall be distributed 

currently, in the following percentages: 50% to A, 30% to B 

and 20% to C. All of the adjustment ($7,500 to A, $4,500 to B 

and $3,000 to C) is accordingly allocated to the beneficiaries 

and the trust's Virginia taxable income is $0.  

23VAC10-115-50. Virginia taxable income of a nonresident 

estate or trust. (Repealed.) 

A. The Virginia taxable income of a nonresident estate or trust 

shall be its share of income, gain, loss and deduction 

attributable to Virginia sources as determined under 

23VAC10-115-60 increased or reduced, as the case may be, 

by:  

1. The amount derived from or connected with Virginia 

sources of any income, gain, loss and deduction recognized 

for federal income tax purposes but excluded from the 

computation of distributable net income of the estate or trust; 

and  

2. The net amount of any modifications as provided for in 

§ 58.1-322 of the Code of Virginia and regulations 

promulgated thereunder (not including subsection D thereof) 

with respect to the income or gain referred to in A 1 of this 

section.  

B. Example: Nonresident Trust Z owned rental property in 

Virginia. It disposed of the property and recognized a short-

term capital gain of $10,000. The trust instrument provides that 

capital gains are allocable to corpus and are not paid, credited 

or required to be distributed to any beneficiary during the 

taxable year. Under federal law, the capital gain is excluded 

from the computation of distributable net income and, 

accordingly, must be added to the trust's share of income from 

Virginia sources. If the share of nonresident Trust Z in income, 

gain, loss and deduction attributable to Virginia sources is 

$45,000, the Virginia taxable income of Trust Z would be 

$55,000 ($45,000 + $10,000).  

23VAC10-115-90. Other credits. (Repealed.) 

A. Virginia Neighborhood Assistance Act credit. A tax credit 

is provided under the Virginia Neighborhood Assistance Act 

for businesses which invest in approved neighborhood 

assistance projects designed to benefit low income individuals. 

The Act is administered by the Virginia Department of Social 

Services, which should be contacted for additional 

information. To claim the credit, fiduciaries or beneficiaries 

must attach to their respective income tax returns a copy of a 

statement from the Department of Social Services certifying 

the credit. A statement from the fiduciary should also be 

attached specifying the amount of the business credit 

applicable to each beneficiary.  

B. Urban Enterprise Zone credit. A tax credit is provided 

under the Virginia Urban Enterprise Zone Act to qualified 

business firms which derive income from conducting business 

in an urban enterprise zone. The Act is administered by the 

Virginia Department of Housing and Community 

Development, which should be contacted for additional 

information.  

To claim the credit, fiduciaries or beneficiaries must attach to 

their respective income tax returns a copy of a certificate of 

qualification to receive state tax incentives issued by the 

Department of Housing and Community Development. A 

statement from the fiduciary should also be attached specifying 

the amount of credit applicable to each beneficiary. Form 301, 

Urban Enterprise Zone Credit, must be attached to the 

fiduciary income tax return.  

23VAC10-115-151. Amendments of declaration. 

(Repealed.) 

If any amendment of a declaration is filed, the remaining 

installments, if any, shall be ratably increased or decreased (as 

the case may be) to reflect any increase or decrease in the 

estimated tax by reason of such amendment. If any amendment 

is made after September 15 of the taxable year, any increase in 

the estimated tax by reason thereof shall be paid at the time of 

making such amendment.  

23VAC10-115-153. Other payment dates. (Repealed.) 

A. Fiscal year. If the estate or trust has a taxable year other 

than a calendar year then the payments shall be due on the 

fifteenth day of the fourth, sixth, or ninth month of the taxable 

year or on the fifteenth day of the first month of the succeeding 

taxable year, as appropriate.  

B. Installments or entire estimated tax paid in advance. A 

fiduciary may elect to pay any installment of the estimated tax 

before the date prescribed for its payment. A fiduciary may 

also elect to file a declaration of estimated tax in the closing 
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days of a calendar year for the taxable year about to begin, and 

may pay in full the amount of the estimated tax for such taxable 

year at the time the declaration is filed.  

23VAC10-120-70. Imposition of tax. (Repealed.) 

A tax at the rate of six percent is imposed on the Virginia 

taxable income of every corporation organized under Virginia 

law and every foreign corporation having income from 

Virginia sources, as defined in 23VAC10-120-20, regardless 

of whether or not such foreign corporation has registered with 

the State Corporation Commission and obtained a certificate of 

authority to transact business in Virginia.  

23VAC10-210-32. Adult care facilities. (Repealed.) 

A. The following words and terms, when used in this section, 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Adult care residence" means an adult care residence often 

referred to as a "home for adults" and defined in § 63.1-172 of 

the Code of Virginia as any public or private place, 

establishment, or institution operated or maintained for the 

maintenance or care of four or more adults who are aged, 

infirm, or disabled and who are cared for in a primarily 

residential setting, except (i) a facility or portion of a facility 

licensed by the State Board of Health or the Department of 

Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 

Services, but including any portion of such facility not so 

licensed, and (ii) the home or residence of an individual who 

cares for or maintains only persons related to him by blood or 

marriage, and (iii) a facility or portion of a facility serving 

infirm or disabled persons between the ages of 18 and 21, or 

22 if enrolled in an education program for the handicapped 

pursuant to § 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia, when such 

facility is licensed by the Virginia Department of Social 

Services as a child-caring institution under Chapter 10 (§ 63.1-

195 et seq.) of Title 63.1 of the Code of Virginia, but including 

any portion of the facility not so licensed. Included in this 

definition are any two or more places, establishments or 

institutions owned or operated by a single entity and providing 

maintenance or care to a combined total of four or more aged, 

infirm or disabled adults.  

"Adult day care center" means an adult day care center as 

defined in § 63.1-194.1 of the Code of Virginia as a facility 

which provides supplementary care and protection during part 

of the day only to four or more aged, infirm, or disabled adults 

who reside elsewhere, except (i) a facility or portion of a 

facility licensed by the State Board of Health or the 

Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 

Substance Abuse Services, and (ii) the home or residence of an 

individual who cares for only persons related to him by blood 

or marriage.  

B. Purchases of tangible personal property by nonprofit adult 

care residences and nonprofit adult day care centers licensed 

by the Department of Social Services are exempt from the tax. 

Purchases of tangible personal property by all other adult care 

residences and adult day care centers, whether conducted for 

profit or not, are taxable unless otherwise exempt. If a vendor 

fails to collect the tax from a nonexempt entity, the entity must 

remit the tax to the department as provided in 23VAC10-210-

6030.  

Any adult care residence or adult day care center, whether for 

profit or nonprofit, which engages in selling tangible personal 

property shall register as a dealer and collect and remit the tax 

to the department. For example, sales of meals to residents or 

day care attendees for which a separate charge is made and to 

nonresidents are taxable. However, meals furnished in 

connection with services provided in caring for persons and the 

cost price of which are included as a part of the charge for such 

services are nontaxable. Purchases of tangible personal 

property for subsequent resale may be made exempt from the 

tax under a certificate of exemption, Form ST-10.  

Charges for the care and maintenance of persons by adult care 

residences and adult day care centers are not taxable.  

23VAC10-210-130. Artists and art dealers. (Repealed.) 

A. Generally. Sales of objects of art, including paintings, 

sculptures and models, are sales of tangible personal property. 

The total charge for the property, including any labor or other 

components of such charge, is subject to tax.  

B. Sales by prisoners. The tax does not apply to sales by 

prisoners confined in state correctional facilities of artistic 

products personally made by such prisoners.  

23VAC10-210-220. Brackets for collection of the tax. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The rate of the sales and use tax is 5.3%, which is 

comprised of a 4.3% state tax and a 1.0% local tax applicable 

throughout Virginia. (See 23VAC10-210-6040 through 

23VAC10-210-6043 for special tax rate and provisions 

applicable to sales through vending machines.) An additional 

state sales and use tax is imposed in the Northern Virginia and 

Hampton Roads Regions at the rate of 0.7%. The total rate of 

the state and local sales and use tax is 6.0% in localities that 

fall within these regions (4.3% state, 0.7% regional, and 1.0% 

local). For definitions of the "Hampton Roads Region" and the 

"Northern Virginia Region" see 23VAC10-210-2070. 

The bracket system is used to eliminate fractions of $.01 and 

must be used to compute the tax on transactions of $5.00 or 

less. On transactions over $5.00, the tax is computed at a 

straight 5.3% (6.0% in the Hampton Roads and Northern 

Virginia Regions), with one half cent or more treated as $.01. 

Any dealer who collects the tax in accordance with the bracket 

system set forth herein shall not be deemed to have over 

collected the tax. For over collection of the tax generally, see 

23VAC10-210-340 D. 

B. The bracket system does not relieve the dealer from the 

liability to pay an amount equal to 5.3% (6.0% in the Hampton 
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Roads and Northern Virginia Regions) of his gross taxable 

sales. However, if the dealer can prove to the department that 

more than 85% of the gross taxable sales for the period were 

from individual sales of $.10 or less (and that he was unable to 

adjust his prices in such manner as to prevent the economic 

incidence of the sales tax from falling on him), the department 

will determine the proper tax liability of the dealer based on 

the portion of gross taxable sales that came from sales of $.11 

or more. Any dealer who may claim this exception must file 

with each return a separate statement explaining his claim in 

detail for consideration by the department. 

C. Below is the bracket system for the combined state and 

local tax of 5.3% on transactions of $5.00 or less: 

Sales Price Tax Due 

0.01 to 0.09 0 

0.10 to 0.28  0.01 

0.29 to 0.47  0.02 

0.48 to 0.66  0.03 

0.67 to 0.84  0.04 

0.85 to 1.03  0.05 

1.04 to 1.22  0.06 

1.23 to 1.41  0.07 

1.42 to 1.60  0.08 

1.61 to 1.79  0.09 

1.80 to 1.98  0.10 

1.99 to 2.16  0.11 

2.17 to 2.35  0.12 

2.36 to 2.54 0.13 

2.55 to 2.73  0.14 

2.74 to 2.92  0.15 

2.93 to 3.11  0.16 

3.12 to 3.30  0.17 

3.31 to 3.49  0.18 

3.50 to 3.67  0.19 

3.68 to 3.86  0.20 

3.87 to 4.05  0.21 

4.06 to 4.24  0.22 

4.25 to 4.43  0.23 

4.44 to 4.62  0.24 

4.63 to 4.81  0.25 

4.82 to 4.99 0.26 

5.00 0.27 

For differential rate on fuels for domestic consumption, see 

23VAC10-210-630.  

D. This subsection contains the bracket system for the 

combined state, regional, and local tax of 6.0% in the Hampton 

Roads and Northern Virginia Regions on transactions of $5.00 

or less: 

Sales Price Tax Due 

0.00 to 0.08 0 

0.09 to 0.24  0.01 

0.25 to 0.41  0.02 

0.42 to 0.58  0.03 

0.59 to 0.74  0.04 

0.75 to 0.91  0.05 

0.92 to 1.08  0.06 

1.09 to 1.24  0.07 

1.25 to 1.41  0.08 

1.42 to 1.58  0.09 

1.59 to 1.74  0.10 

1.75 to 1.91 0.11 

1.92 to 2.08  0.12 

2.09 to 2.24 0.13 

2.25 to 2.41  0.14 

2.42 to 2.58  0.15 

2.59 to 2.74  0.16 

2.75 to 2.91  0.17 

2.92 to 3.08  0.18 

3.09 to 3.24  0.19 

3.25 to 3.41  0.20 

3.42 to 3.58  0.21 

3.59 to 3.74  0.22 

3.75 to 3.91  0.23 

3.92 to 4.08  0.24 

4.09 to 4.24  0.25 
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4.25 to 4.41 0.26 

4.42 to 4.58 0.27 

4.59 to 4.74 0.28 

4.75 to 4.91 0.29 

4.92 to 5.00 0.30 

23VAC10-210-352. Commercial watermen; typical taxable 

items. (Repealed.) 

A commercial waterman's purchase of the following items is 

taxable since they are not directly used in commercial fishing 

activities:  

1. Boat marking letters;  

2. Cooking utensils;  

3. Deck brooms;  

4. Fuel for cooking or space heating aboard vessels;  

5. Flashlight and batteries;  

6. Hand held radios and other communication devices not 

permanently affixed to a boat;  

7. Life preservers;  

8. Maps;  

9. Tools used to repair equipment;  

10. Any other tangible personal property purchased for family 

or personal use or not purchased for use in extracting seafood 

from waters for commercial purposes.  

23VAC10-210-353. Commercial waterman; taxation of 

certain vessels. (Repealed.) 

Certain vessels are subject to the watercraft sales and use tax 

despite the fact that they may be exempt from the retail sales 

and use tax pursuant to this regulation. See Chapter 14 (§ 58.1-

1400 et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 

regulations thereunder.  

23VAC10-210-390. Consignments. (Repealed.) 

Tangible personal property consigned, delivered or entrusted 

to a dealer for the purpose of sale is taxable at the time of sale 

at retail. The tax must be collected in accordance with the 

definition of sales price in 23VAC10-210-4000 with no 

deduction for the amount of any consignment commission.  

23VAC10-210-485. Dealer's compensation or discount. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Generally. As compensation for accounting for and paying 

the state tax, a dealer is allowed a discount of 0.8%, 1.2%, or 

1.6%, depending on the volume of monthly taxable sales, of 

the first 3.0% of the state tax due in the form of a deduction, 

provided the amount due was not delinquent at the time of 

payment. No compensation is allowed on the remainder of the 

state sales tax or on the local tax. Dealers must compute the 

discount without regard to the number of certificates of 

registration that they hold (see subsection C of this section).  

To compute the dealer's discount, a dealer (other than a 

vending machine dealer) would multiply the 4.3% state tax 

listed on his return by:  

1. 0.01116 if monthly taxable sales are less than $62,501; or  

2. 0.00837 if monthly sales are at least $62,501 but are less 

than $208,001; or  

3. 0.00558 if monthly taxable sales equal or exceed 

$208,001.  

Any dealer whose average monthly sales tax liability exceeds 

$20,000 is not eligible for the discount. No dealer discount is 

allowed on the 0.7% regional tax imposed in the Hampton 

Roads and Northern Virginia Regions. For definitions of the 

"Hampton Roads Region" and the "Northern Virginia Region" 

see 23VAC10-210-2070. 

Examples:  

Dealer A who makes taxable sales of $10,000 during the 

month would report state and local tax of $530 ($430 state 

tax and $100 local tax), from which he would retain a 

dealer's discount of $4.80, provided that his return is timely 

filed and the state and local tax is timely paid. The $4.80 

discount is computed by multiplying the 4.3% state tax 

($430) by 0.01116 since the dealer's monthly taxable sales 

volume is less than $62,501.  

Dealer B who makes taxable sales of $250,000 during the 

month would report state and local tax of $13,250 ($10,750 

state tax and $2,500 local tax), from which he would retain 

a dealer's discount of $55.99 provided that his return is 

timely filed and the state and local tax is timely paid. The 

$55.99 discount is computed by multiplying the 4.3% state 

tax ($10,750) by 0.00558 since the dealer's monthly taxable 

sales volume is greater than $208,001.  

B. Vending machine sales. In the case of a vending machine 

dealer who pays combined state and local tax at the rate of 

6.3% on his wholesale purchases for resale, the dealer's 

discount would be computed by multiplying the 5.3% state tax 

listed on his return by:  

1. 0.01208 if monthly taxable sales are less than $62,501; or  

2. 0.00906 if monthly taxable sales are at least $62,501 but 

are less than $208,001; or  

3. 0.00604 if monthly taxable sales equal or exceed 

$208,001.  

Examples:  

Vending machine dealer A with $15,000 in wholesale 

purchases for resale during the month would report state and 
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local tax of $945 ($795 state tax and $150 local tax), from 

which he would retain a dealer's discount of $9.60, provided 

that his return is timely filed and the state and local tax is 

timely paid. The $9.60 discount is computed by multiplying 

the 5.3% state tax ($795) by 0.01208 since the dealer's 

monthly taxable sales volume is less than $62,501.  

Vending machine dealer B with $200,000 in wholesale 

purchases for resale during the month would report state and 

local tax of $12,600 ($10,600 state tax and $2,000 local tax), 

from which he would retain a dealer's discount of $96.04, 

provided that his return is timely filed and the state and local 

tax is timely paid. The $96.04 discount is computed by 

multiplying the 5.3% state tax ($10,000) by 0.00906 since 

the dealer's monthly taxable sales volume is at least $62,501 

but is less than $208,001.  

C. Multiple registrations. Dealers holding two or more 

certificates of registration must compute the dealer's discount 

based upon taxable sales from all business locations. This 

requirement applies to dealers filing consolidated returns and 

those filing separate returns for each business location.  

Example:  

Dealer C holds separate certificates of registration for five 

business locations. Each location has monthly taxable sales 

of less than $62,501, but total taxable sales for all five 

locations are $300,000 for the month. Because total taxable 

sales exceed $208,001, the dealer's discount is computed 

using the 0.00558 discount rate.  

Dealers with multistate business locations must compute the 

discount based upon taxable sales from all business locations 

in Virginia and on Virginia taxable sales from out-of-state 

business locations.  

Example:  

Dealer A, with business locations in Virginia, also has 

business locations in other states, all of which are registered 

for collection and remittance of the tax. The out-of-state 

business locations sell goods to Virginia customers located 

in Virginia. The total monthly taxable sales for all Dealer A's 

Virginia business locations are $200,000, and the total 

Virginia taxable sales from Dealer A's out-of-state business 

locations are $100,000. Because total taxable sales exceed 

$208,001, the dealer's discount is computed using the 

0.00558 discount rate.  

The department will perform a reconciliation, on an annual 

basis or more frequently, of dealers holding multiple 

certificates of registration in order to ensure that the dealer's 

discount is computed properly by those dealers.  

D. Quarterly filers. Dealers filing quarterly returns may 

determine the appropriate dealer's discount rate by dividing 

their quarterly taxable sales by 3.  

Example:  

Dealer D has quarterly taxable sales of $100,000. His average 

monthly taxable sales for the quarter ($100,000 ÷ 3) are 

$33,333.33. Because his average monthly taxable sales are less 

than $62,501, Dealer D would compute the dealer's discount 

using the 0.01116 rate.  

E. Refund requests. Any amount of tax refunded by the 

department to a dealer will be reduced by any dealer's discount 

claimed on the transaction to which the refund relates. For 

example, if a dealer sells an item for $1,000, timely files a 

return reporting the $53 tax on the transaction and claims the 

discount, the amount refunded would be $52.52 ($53 less 

0.01116 of the $43 state tax = $50 - 0.48 = $52.52) (assuming 

the dealer's taxable sales during the month of the sale were less 

than $62,501).  

For extensions, see 23VAC10-210-550; for penalties and 

interest, see 23VAC10-210-2030 through 23VAC10-210-

2032.  

23VAC10-210-500. Dentists, dental laboratories, and 

dental supply houses. (Repealed.) 

A. Dentists are deemed to be providing professional services 

and charges for their services are not subject to the tax. 

Similarly, dentists are deemed to be the consumers of all 

tangible personal property purchased for use in their practice 

except controlled drugs which may be purchased exempt from 

the tax.  

The tax applies to sales to a dentist by a dental laboratory or 

supplier of dentures, plates, braces and similar prosthetic 

devices, or the component parts thereof, unless such dentures, 

braces, etc. are purchased on behalf of a specific patient. If 

such items are purchased in bulk and then dispensed to a 

particular patient, the original purchase will be subject to the 

tax even if the items withdrawn from the bulk inventory are 

modified for a specific patient. The tax does not apply to 

charges by the dentist to the patient for such dentures, plates, 

braces, etc.  

The tax applies to sales to a dentist of furnishings, equipment, 

tools and all other dental supplies of any type.  

B. Dental laboratories engaged in the production of dentures 

and the prosthetic items are deemed to be industrial 

manufacturers and qualify for the exemption set out in 

23VAC10-210-920. Dental laboratories making sales of 

tangible personal property to dentists must collect and pay the 

tax on all charges for such property without deduction for labor 

or other expenses.  

C. Dental supply houses are those businesses primarily 

engaged in selling fixtures, equipment, instruments, materials 

and supplies to both dentists and dental laboratories. Dental 

supply houses must collect and pay the tax on retail sales of 

tangible personal property to dentists, dental laboratories, and 

other users unless a properly executed certificate of exemption 

is furnished by the purchaser.  
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23VAC10-210-590. Feed making. (Repealed.) 

When used directly in making feed for sale or resale, the tax 

does not apply to the following items:  

1. Machinery, tools, or repair parts;  

2. Cereal grains and other feed ingredients;  

3. Fuel, power, or energy; or  

4. Supplies.  

Feed ingredients include drugs, vitamins, minerals, 

nonprotein nitrogen, supplements, and additives. Tangible 

personal property used in administration, distribution, or 

indirectly in feed making, such as in heating and illumination 

of a building, is subject to the tax.  

23VAC10-210-595. Financial institutions. (Repealed.) 

A. Purchases. The tax applies to purchases of tangible 

personal property by all national, state and local banks, savings 

and loan associations, and loan and finance companies. 

B. Sales. When any bank, savings and loan association, or 

loan and finance company engages in selling, leasing or renting 

tangible personal property to consumers or users, it must 

register as a dealer and collect and pay the tax to the 

Department of Taxation. The tax applies to all sales even if the 

property has been repossessed or obtained by default of the 

borrower. 

The rental of safe deposit boxes does not qualify as the rental 

of tangible personal property and is not subject to the tax. For 

trustees, see 23VAC10-210-6010. 

23VAC10-210-650. Furniture and storage warehousemen. 

(Repealed.) 

Furniture and storage warehousemen are primarily engaged 

in the business of moving, storing, packing and delivering 

tangible personal property belonging to other people. These 

activities are services and are not subject to tax. The tax does 

apply, however, to crating, boxing, packing materials, etc., 

purchased by warehousemen for use in the performance of 

such services. Warehousemen are also required to collect and 

pay the tax on retail sales of furniture or other tangible personal 

property.  

An operator of a furniture and storage warehouse who is also 

engaged in business as a common carrier of property by motor 

vehicle is not entitled to any exemption under 23VAC10-210-

370 (common carrier of property) on purchases made for the 

conduct or operation of the business of storage.  

23VAC10-210-720. Hospitals and nursing homes. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Hospitals and nursing homes conducted for profit. A 

hospital or nursing home is primarily engaged in the business 

of selling services and is a user or consumer of all tangible 

personal property purchased for use or consumption in 

connection with its operations. Each is required to pay the tax 

to its vendor at the time of purchase.  

B. Hospitals and licensed nursing homes conducted not for 

profit. The tax does not apply to sales of tangible personal 

property to such hospitals or licensed nursing homes, for use 

or consumption by them, and paid for out of their own funds.  

C. Hospitals and nursing homes (conducted for profit and not 

for profit.) When any hospital or nursing home, through any 

division or department, engages in selling tangible personal 

property, it must register as a dealer and collect and pay the 

tax.  

For sales of medicines, drugs and certain other enumerated 

items of tangible personal property sold on prescriptions of 

licensed physicians or dentists, 23VAC10-210-940.  

D. Clinics. Unless a clinic is an integral part of a hospital 

conducted not for profit or is itself licensed as a hospital under 

the provisions of § 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia and 

conducted not for profit, sales to such a clinic are taxable.  

E. Hospital cooperatives and hospital corporation conducted 

not for profit. The tax does not apply to sales of tangible 

personal property to hospital cooperatives or hospital 

corporations conducted not for profit when organized and 

operated for the sole purpose of providing services exclusively 

to hospitals conducted not for profit.  

F. Homes for adults conducted not for profit. Effective July 

1, 1980, the tax does not apply to sales of tangible personal 

property to homes for adults as defined by § 63.1-172 of the 

Code of Virginia conducted not for profit. The tax applies to 

sales of tangible personal property to all other homes for adults 

whether conducted for profit or not.  

23VAC10-210-766. Innovative Technology Authority. 

(Repealed.) 

The Innovative Technology Authority is exempt from the 

sales and use tax under § 9-262 of the Code of Virginia on all 

of its purchases, leases or rentals of tangible personal property. 

The application of the tax generally to political subdivisions 

such as the Innovative Technology Authority is set forth in 

23VAC10-210-690 through 23VAC10-210-694. In addition, 

all tangible personal property purchased, leased or rented by a 

nonprofit college or university in conjunction with research 

sponsored, encouraged or inspired by the Innovative 

Technology Authority or the Center for Innovative 

Technology is exempt from the tax pursuant to 23VAC10-210-

4020.  

Effective July 1, 1986, tangible personal property withdrawn 

from inventory for donation to the Innovative Technology 

Authority, Center for Innovative Technology, or nonprofit 

colleges or universities is not taxable to the donor pursuant to 

§ 58.1-609.8(5) of the Code of Virginia.  
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For additional information on the manufacturing exemptions, 

see 23VAC10-210-920; for the research exemption, see 

23VAC10-210-3070 through 23VAC10-210-3074; for the 

"true object" test, see 23VAC10-210-4040.  

23VAC10-210-770. Interior decorators. (Repealed.) 

The tax does not apply to an interior decorator's charges for 

services. When a decorator goes beyond the rendition of 

services and sells tangible personal property, the decorator 

must register as a dealer and collect and pay the tax on retail 

sales. When a decorator makes a lump sum charge for services 

and furnishes tangible personal property, the tax applies to the 

total charge, unless the charge for services is billed separately 

from the tangible personal property.  

23VAC10-210-790. Kennels, stables and pet shops. 

(Repealed.) 

The tax does not apply to charges for keeping pets. Operators 

of kennels, stables and pet shops are required to pay the tax on 

purchases of tangible personal property used in their 

operations. Sales of pets are subject to the tax. The sale or 

rental of riding horses is also subject to the tax.  

23VAC10-210-810. Laundries and dry cleaners. 

(Repealed.) 

The tax applies to all tangible personal property purchased by 

laundries and dry cleaners for use in providing services. This 

includes machinery, equipment, repair parts, materials and 

supplies. Services rendered by these operators are not taxable. 

However, when the operators go beyond the rendition of 

services and sell clothing or other articles of tangible personal 

property, they must register as dealers and collect and pay the 

applicable tax.  

The tax does not apply to receipts from coin operated laundry 

and dry cleaning devices. The tax does apply to all tangible 

personal property purchased by coin operated laundries for use 

in providing services, including machinery, equipment, repair 

parts, materials and supplies. For linen supply operations, see 

23VAC10-210-860.  

23VAC10-210-900. Machinists, foundrymen and pattern 

makers. (Repealed.) 

The tax applies to dies, castings, patterns, tools, machinery 

and other tangible personal property made by machinists, 

foundrymen and pattern makers. However, if such items are 

purchased by an industrial manufacturer, processor, etc., for 

direct use in manufacturing, etc., or pursuant to any other 

exemption, the purchase may be made under a certificate of 

exemption. (For manufacturers, processors, etc., see 

23VAC10-210-920.)  

When machinists, foundrymen, etc., perform fabrication, the 

total charge for such fabrication is subject to the tax. For 

example, if a machinist takes customer-supplied metal piping 

and cuts threads into such piping, he has fabricated a new item 

and the total charge is subject to the tax.  

Machinists, foundrymen and pattern makers engaged in 

making or fabricating tangible personal property for sale or 

resale may qualify for exemption as an industrial manufacturer 

or processor. (See 23VAC10-210-920.)  

23VAC10-210-970. Microfilm and microfiche copies of 

documents. (Repealed.) 

Sales of microfilm and microfiche copies of documents and 

other printed or other graphic matter are taxable as sales of 

tangible personal property. A retailer of microfilm or 

microfiche copies should collect sales tax on the total sales 

price of furnishing the microfilm or microfiche to the 

customer, even though a separate charge for services may have 

been billed to the customer. Also, where the customer furnishes 

the microfilm or microfiche to be used in copying documents, 

the sales tax would apply to the charge for making the copies.  

The retailer may purchase raw materials and supplies that 

become component parts of the finished product under the 

resale certificate of exemption. Also, if the retailer orders 

reproductions of microfilm or microfiche that he has produced, 

on a customer's behalf (i.e., for resale to a customer), he may 

purchase them under a resale certificate of exemption; 

however, he must collect sales tax from the customer 

purchasing such reproductions.  

23VAC10-210-1070. Nonprofit organizations; criteria for 

exemption. (Repealed.) 

A. The Tax Commissioner has no authority to grant an 

exemption from the retail sales and use tax to a nonprofit 

organization. Only the General Assembly can enact legislation 

which will grant exemption from the tax.  

The General Assembly has not enacted a general exemption 

from the retail sales and use tax for nonprofit organizations. 

The only nonprofit organizations exempt from the tax are those 

specifically set forth in §§ 58.1-608.1 and 58.1-609.1 through 

58.1-609.13 of the Code of Virginia. These organizations are 

typically exempt from federal and state income taxes and serve 

educational, medical, civic, religious, charitable or cultural 

purposes. However, the vast majority of nonprofit 

organizations which are exempt from federal and state income 

taxes are not exempt from the Virginia retail sales and use tax 

because they do not qualify for a sales and use tax exemption 

set out in the Code of Virginia.  

If a nonprofit organization is not exempt by Virginia statute 

from tax on the purchase of tangible personal property or 

taxable services, it must pay tax on those purchases used or 

consumed in its operations. If a supplier of the nonprofit 

organization is not registered to collect the tax or if the supplier 

is a registered dealer who fails to collect the tax, the nonprofit 

organization must report and pay the use tax on a Consumer's 

Use Tax Return, Form ST-7.  
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If a nonprofit organization regularly engages in selling 

tangible personal property, it is required to register as a dealer 

and collect and remit to the department the tax on retail sales 

unless it is specifically exempt by statute from collecting the 

tax.  

B. Strict construction of the exemption. As indicated in 

23VAC10-210-540, when determining which organizations 

qualify for exemption from the tax, the department is bound by 

court decisions to strictly construe laws granting the tax 

exemption. This means that a nonprofit organization must meet 

all of the requirements specified in the law in order to qualify 

for an exemption. For example, subdivision 15 of § 58.1-609.4 

of the Code of Virginia exempts:  

From July 1, 1991, through June 30, 1996, tangible personal 

property purchased for use or consumption by a nonprofit 

organization exempt from taxation under § 501(c)(3) of the 

Internal Revenue Code and organized exclusively to combat 

illiteracy by tutoring and training adults and by increasing 

community awareness of the illiteracy problem within the 

metropolitan Richmond area.  

Under strict construction of the statute, to meet the criteria 

established for this exemption, an organization must (i) 

purchase tangible personal property during the period July 1, 

1991, to June 30, 1996, (ii) have a § 501 (c)(3) designation 

from the Internal Revenue Service, (iii) be organized for the 

sole purpose of combating illiteracy in adults, and (iv) conduct 

operations in the metropolitan Richmond area. Organizations 

that provide programs to combat illiteracy as part of a larger 

operation do not qualify for this exemption. In addition, similar 

organizations created solely to combat illiteracy, but operating 

outside the metropolitan Richmond area, would not qualify for 

this exemption. Lastly, when an exemption "sunsets," it 

typically applies to a specific period and expires after a certain 

date. Purchases before or after that period are taxable. 

Therefore, in the example above, purchases made before July 

1, 1991, or after June 30, 1996, would be taxable.  

23VAC10-210-1071. Nonprofit organizations; exempt 

transactions. (Repealed.) 

A. The exemptions that have been granted by the General 

Assembly typically apply only to the use or consumption of 

tangible personal property by an organization. When an 

exemption is limited solely to the use or consumption of 

tangible personal property, the organization generally will be 

subject to the tax on purchases of meals and lodging, which are 

considered taxable services. In limited situations, the General 

Assembly has granted broader exemptions to certain 

organizations so as to exempt taxable services, such as meals 

and lodging, and sales of tangible personal property.  

When a nonprofit organization is exempt from paying the tax 

on the purchase of tangible personal property or services, it 

should furnish to its supplier a properly completed exemption 

certificate, either Form ST-13 or ST-13A. If such nonprofit 

organization is not making taxable sales as a registered dealer 

or is not required to register for consumer use tax, it will 

usually not have a Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax 

registration number. In this instance, there is no requirement to 

place a registration number on the exemption certificate when 

making purchases. Instead, "Not Applicable" should be placed 

on the Certificate of Exemption where the registration number 

is required.  

If the nonprofit organization does not have an exemption 

certificate but has received a ruling letter from the department 

stating that it is exempt by statute, then this letter may be 

furnished to suppliers instead of the exemption certificate in 

order to verify that the purchase is exempt from the tax.  

B. According to 23VAC10-210-4040, meals and lodging are 

considered taxable services rather than tangible personal 

property. In order to make an exempt purchase of meals and 

lodging, an organization's exemption must contain specific 

language which exempts the purchase of services. An example 

of this language is found in subdivision 4 of § 58.1-609.4 of 

the Code of Virginia, which exempts:  

Tangible personal property and services purchased by an 

educational institution doing business in the Commonwealth 

which (i) admits regularly enrolled high school and college 

students and (ii) provides a face-to- face educational 

experience in American government, a program which leads 

towards the successful completion of United States history, 

civics, and problems in democracy courses in high school, or 

which is acceptable for full credit towards an undergraduate or 

graduate level college degree, provided such institution is 

conducted not for profit.  

Therefore, nonprofit organizations are subject to the sales tax 

on meals and lodging unless their respective statutes 

specifically exempt services.  

C. If an organization is regularly engaged in selling tangible 

personal property, it is not required to collect the tax if the 

organization's exemption contains specific language 

exempting these sales. An example of this language is found in 

subdivision 14 of § 58.1-609.8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts:  

. . .tangible personal property purchased for use or 

consumption, or to be sold at retail, by any nonsectarian youth 

organization exempt from taxation under § 501(c)(3) of the 

Internal Revenue Code which is organized for the purposes of 

the character development and citizenship training of its 

members using the methods now in common use by Girl Scout 

or Boy Scout organizations in Virginia.  

23VAC10-210-2020. Peddlers and street vendors. 

(Repealed.) 

Any person engaged in the retail selling of tangible personal 

property, whether through stores, from private residences, 

from trucks or wagons, by house-to-house canvass, or in any 
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other manner, is required to file an application for a Certificate 

of Registration and to collect and pay the tax due the state.  

A vendor of tangible personal property at retail, who peddles 

property in Virginia from his place of business outside the 

state, is required to register as a dealer for each county and city 

in which he peddles, and to collect and pay the state and local 

tax on all sales.  

The Department of Taxation may decline to issue a Certificate 

of Registration to certain peddlers, street vendors and others 

who sell at retail from other than an established place of 

business, because of the transient nature of their business. The 

department may require vendors selling to such persons to 

collect the tax on the sale of property to them. Any person who 

questions whether he must register as a dealer should apply in 

writing to the department for a ruling. A ruling may also be 

requested by a vendor selling to such persons.  

23VAC10-210-2050. Photographs, photostats, blueprints, 

etc. (Repealed.) 

A. Sales. The tax applies to sales of photographs, portraits, 

prints, slides from camera film, photostats, blueprints, frames, 

camera film, etc. The tax does not apply to charges for 

developing films (including movie films) and coloring or 

tinting photographs.  

The tax is applicable to the total charge to the customer for a 

photograph, slide, etc., including, but not limited to, charges 

for labor, photocomposition, setting design, photography time, 

and any other components of the charge, regardless of whether 

such components are separately stated.  

The tax also applies to the total charge for aerial photographs, 

security photographs, audio-visual films, and similar items 

produced under a contractual agreement which includes design 

time and similar labor charges.  

B. Purchases. Chemicals, paper and other materials that 

become a component part of the finished photograph or other 

print for sale may be purchased under a resale certificate of 

exemption. Purchases of cameras, equipment and other 

tangible personal property by commercial photographers and 

others for use or consumption are taxable.  

For industrial processing, see 23VAC10-210-920.  

23VAC10-210-4030. Seeds and seedlings. (Repealed.) 

The tax does not apply to sales of seeds and seedlings to a 

person who plants them in soil for growing agricultural 

products for market.  

The tax applies to purchases of seeds and seedlings for use on 

lawns, golf courses, or in residential, commercial or other 

beautification projects.  

For agricultural production of trees, see 23VAC10-210-50.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7737; Filed June 18, 2024, 4:47 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Title of Document: Virginia Board of Accountancy 

Enforcement Processes. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 14, 2024. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Kelli Yoder, Communications Coordinator, 

Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, 

Henrico, VA 23233, or email kelli.yoder@boa.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Chapter 2 of Baby Care Manual. 

Chapter 4 of Baby Care Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 14, 2024. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2024. 

 

Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: Virginia Stormwater Management 

Handbook, Version 1.1. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 14, 2024. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Rebecca Rochet, Deputy Director, Water 

Permitting Division, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 801-2950, or email 

swmguidance@deq.virginia.gov. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for deletion and the listed agencies have opened up a 30-day public 

comment period. The listed agencies had previously identified these documents as certified guidance documents, pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of 

a guidance document to view the deleted document and comment. This information is also available on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Document: Guidance for X-ray Machine Operators. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 14, 2024. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Cameron Rose, Deputy Director, Office of 

Radiological Health, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7090, or email cameron.rose@vdh.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, 

and Treatment Inpatient Services Supplement. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 14, 2024. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy Division Director, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, or 

email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/226/GDoc_BOA_7128_20240422.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/226/GDoc_BOA_7128_20240422.pdf
mailto:kelli.yoder@boa.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7232_20240520.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7337_20240606.pdf
mailto:meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_7347_20240624.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_7347_20240624.pdf
mailto:swmguidance@deq.virginia.gov
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=5432
mailto:cameron.rose@vdh.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7333_20240531.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7333_20240531.pdf
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Public Comment Notice: Round 5 Community Flood 
Preparedness Fund Draft Manual 

The Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) is 

accepting public comments for the Round 5 Community Flood 

Preparedness Fund (CFPF) draft manual. The purpose of this 

manual is to provide guidance regarding the policies, criteria, 

conditions, and procedures for determining project eligibility 

and awarding grants and loans from the Virginia Community 

Flood Preparedness Fund to local governments per §§ 10.1-

603.25 and 10.1-603.29 of the Code of Virginia and as required 

by the Clean Energy and Community Flood Preparedness Act. 

The comment draft of the Round 5 Manual uses the text of the 

previous manual from round four, with minor updates to 

account for recent legislative changes. Given the success of 

this prior round, and general stakeholder understanding of how 

the CFPF functions under the Round 4 Manual, DCR believes 

that it will function as a useful baseline for interested parties to 

submit comments. 

In addition to general feedback, DCR encourages stakeholders 

to provide comments on (i) definitions; (ii) eligible activities; 

(iii) periods of performance for the various activities supported 

by the CFPF, and in particular whether a five-year period of 

performance may be appropriate for capacity building, 

resilience plan implementation, and projects; (iv) match 

requirements and scoring; and (v) the availability of both short-

term and long-term loans for projects. 

After reviewing public comment and making any necessary 

and appropriate amendments, the official manual will be 

published to the DCR website. DCR intends to host at least one 

public meeting, which may be virtual, during the comment 

period to solicit feedback from interested parties. 

Contact Information: Angela Davis, Division Director, 

Floodplain Management, Department of Conservation and 

Recreation, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-6135, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

angela.davis@dcr.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY 

Virginia Energy Receives $2.6 Million Gas and Oil 
Methane Mitigation Grant to Reduce Methane 

Emissions in Virginia 

Big Stone Gap, VA - Methane emissions will be lower in 

Virginia thanks to a new program to plug natural gas wells that 

are considered marginal producers. The Department of Energy 

(Virginia Energy) received $2,643,702 for the Methane 

Emissions Reduction Program. Virginia Energy's Gas and Oil 

program will oversee the grant. 

"This funding will help provide Virginia operators with funds 

to close these natural gas wells and reclaim the site," said 

Director of Gas and Oil Phil Skorupa. "We hope to plug several 

of these wells over the next few years, stopping the potential 

for methane entering the atmosphere." 

The program is funded by the National Energy Technology 

Laboratory under the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and 

in partnership with the Environmental Protection Agency. 

U.S. DOE funding is designated for wells producing less than 

90,000 cubic feet of gas daily. Operators will apply to Virginia 

Energy for the funding to plug or permanently seal wells. Once 

the well is plugged, the site will be reclaimed to prevent any 

potential environmental impacts. 

The average well in Virginia produces around 30,000 cubic 

feet of natural gas each day. It costs $25,000 to $75,000 to plug 

a natural gas well, depending on well bore depth and producing 

formations. 

Operators interested in applying for funding should visit the 

Virginia Energy website at https://www.energy.virginia.gov/. 

Plugging operations are expected to begin in late 2024. 

Methane emissions eliminated through this project will be 

reported on the Virginia Energy website. 

Contact Information: Sarah Gilmer, Board and Permitting 

Specialist, Department of Energy, 2405 Mountain Empire 

Road, Big Stone Gap, VA 23219, telephone (276) 415-9700, 

FAX (276) 415-9671, TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

sarah.gilmer@energy.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Wythe County Solar Project LLC Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy (Energy Storage) - Wythe 

County 

Wythe County Solar Project LLC has provided the Department 

of Environmental Quality (DEQ) a notice of intent to submit 

the necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (energy storage) in Wythe County 

pursuant to 9VAC15-100. The project name is Wythe BESS 

(DEQ project number RE0000316), the owner is Wythe 

County Solar Project LLC, and the project developer is RWE 

Clean Energy. 

The location of the project is 0 Payne Town Road, Max 

Meadows, VA 24360, east of Interstate 77 and has a centroid 

of latitude 36.874274, longitude -80.825090. The project will 

have a maximum storage capacity of 52.2 megawatts 

alternating current on approximately 12 acres. As proposed, 

the project will include the utilization of approximately 64 

battery cell module containers. 

https://www.dcr.virginia.gov/dam-safety-and-floodplains/document/Round-5-2024-CFPF-Manual-draft.pdf
https://www.dcr.virginia.gov/dam-safety-and-floodplains/document/Round-5-2024-CFPF-Manual-draft.pdf
mailto:angela.davis@dcr.virginia.gov.
https://www.energy.virginia.gov/
mailto:sarah.gilmer@energy.virginia.gov
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Contact Information: Amber Foster, Renewable Energy Permit 

by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

774-8474, or email amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Purdy Brothers 
Trucking, LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Purdy Brothers Trucking, 

LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations in Smyth County. The proposed order is available 

from the DEQ contact listed or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov 

/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact 

will accept comments by email or postal mail from July 15, 

2024, through August 14, 2024. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 

Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 

24210, or email jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Rayaanik Inc. 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Rayaanik Inc. for 

violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations in 

Southampton County. The proposed order is available from the 

DEQ contact listed or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/ 

permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact 

will accept comments by email or postal mail from July 15, 

2024, through August 14, 2024. 

Contact Information: Russell Deppe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23462, telephone (757) 

647-8060, or email russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Wythe County 
Solar Project LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Wythe County Solar 

Project LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations in Wythe County. The proposed order is available 

from the DEQ contact listed or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov 

/permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact 

will accept comments by email or postal mail from July 15, 

2024, through August 14, 2024. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 

Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 

24210, or email jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Gary Lewis 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Gary Lewis for violations 

of the State Water Control Law and regulations at the Empire 

Mobile Home Park sewage treatment plant in Scott County. 

The proposed order is available from the DEQ contact listed or 

at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/ 

enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact will accept comments 

by email or postal mail from July 15, 2024, through August 14, 

2024. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 

Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 

24210, or email jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information 
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Errata 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105 Rules and Regulations 

for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

Publication: 40:22 VA.R. 1824-1851; June 17, 2024 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1826, 12VAC35-105-20, definition of "Community-

based crisis stabilization" 

line 8, after "may include" insert "mobile crisis response," 

line 24, after "support system" delete "during the periods" and 

after "(i)" insert "as part of an initial mobile crisis response; (ii) 

during the period" 

line 26, after "level of care;" replace "(ii)" with "(iii)" 

line 28, after "for access; or" replace "(iii) with "(iv)" 

Page 1830, 12VAC35-105-20, definition of "Mobile crisis 

response" 

line 1, after "means a" insert "type of community-based crisis 

stabilization" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7796; Filed June 26, 2024, 4:17 p.m. 


