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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequen111tial impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures 

to be followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that 

Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia be examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and 

date. 34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, 

Issue 8, pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on 

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Marcus B. Simon, 

Chair; Russet W. Perry, Vice Chair; Katrina E. Callsen; Nicole 

Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Michael 

Mullin; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Managing 

Editor; Erin Comerford, Regulations Analyst. 
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https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4006/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4031/


PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 
This schedule is available on the Virginia Register of Regulations website (http://register.dls.virginia.gov). 

Volume 41, Issue 3  Virginia Register of Regulations  September 23, 2024  

432 

PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

September 2024 through October 2025 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

41:3 September 4, 2024 September 23, 2024 

41:4 September 17, 2024 (Tuesday) October 7, 2024 

41:5 October 2, 2024 October 21, 2024 

41:6 October 16, 2024 November 4, 2024 

41:7 October 30, 2024 November 18, 2024 

41:8 November 13, 2024 December 2, 2024 

41:9 November 26, 2024 (Tuesday) December 16, 2024 

41:10 December 11, 2024 December 30, 2024 

41:11 December 23, 2024 (Monday) January 13, 2025 

41:12 January 8, 2025 January 27, 2025 

41:13 January 22, 2025 February 10, 2025 

41:14 February 5, 2025 February 24, 2025 

41:15 February 19, 2025 March 10, 2025 

41:16 March 5, 2025 March 24, 2025 

41:17 March 19, 2025 April 7, 2025 

41:18 April 2, 2025 April 21, 2025 

41:19 April 16, 2025 May 5, 2025 

41:20 April 30, 2025 May 19, 2025 

41:21 May 14, 2025 June 2, 2025 

41:22 May 28, 2025 June 16, 2025 

41:23 June 11, 2025 June 30, 2025 

41:24 June 25, 2025 July 14, 2025 

41:25 July 9, 2025 July 28, 2025 

41:26 July 23, 2025 August 11, 2025 

42:1 August 6, 2025 August 25, 2025 

42:2 August 20, 2025 September 8, 2025 

42:3 September 3, 2025 September 22, 2025 

42:4 September 17, 2025 October 6, 2025 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Marriage and Family Therapy. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: James Honeycutt. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Counseling amend 18VAC115-20-52 C 3 and 

18VAC115-50-60 C 3 to allow previous clinical experience 

obtained by a licensed professional counselor or licensed 

marriage and family therapist who is also a licensed 

psychologist, licensed clinical social worker, or psychiatrist to 

satisfy the requirements for two years of post-licensure clinical 

experience. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on September 23, 2024. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which 

opens September 23, 2024, and closes October 23, 2024. The 

board will consider the petition and all comments in support or 

opposition at the next meeting after the close of public 

comment, currently scheduled for January 24, 2025. The 

petitioner will be notified of the board's decision after that 

meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 23, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-05; Filed August 26, 2024, 8:42 a.m. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulations are undergoing a periodic 

review and small business impact review: 8VAC20-40, 

Regulations Governing Educational Services for Gifted 

Students; 8VAC20-70, Regulations Governing Pupil 

Transportation; 8VAC20-100, Regulations Governing 

Literary Loan Applications in Virginia; 8VAC20-120, 

Regulations Governing Career and Technical Education; 

and 8VAC20-281, Regulations Governing Jointly Owned 

and Operated Schools and Jointly Operated Programs. The 

review of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review 

is to determine whether the regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to this regulation, 

including whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins September 23, 2024, and ends 

October 14, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response to 

the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of both 

reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-110, 

Regulations Governing Pupil Accounting Records, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended. The board 

is publishing its report of findings dated May 7, 2024, to 

support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare. The regulation is required by statute and 

seeks to address the recording of student attendance, 

enrollment, and withdrawal, which benefits society in 

numerous ways. While the regulation is clearly written and 

easily understandable, it would benefit from additional 

definitions and updates to its terminology. The regulation is 

consistent with statutory requirements, but certain 

amendments are needed to ensure that current terminology is 

being used. 

There is a continued need for the regulation due to the statutory 

mandate. The Department of Education is not aware of any 

complaints regarding this regulation and received no 

comments during the periodic review. This regulation is 

slightly complex, but not so it cannot be understood by 

regulated parties. There is overlap between this regulatory 

chapter and 8VAC20-730. The extent of any further overlap, 

duplication, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation 

is not apparent at this time. The promulgation of 8VAC20-110 

occurred in 1988. 8VAC20-110-20, 8VAC20-110-60, and 

8VAC20-110-140 were repealed in 2001. It appears that the 

rest of the chapter has not been revised since it was 

promulgated in 1988. Certain amendments to this regulation 

are warranted. These amendments are (i) adding definitions for 

"pupil accounting system," "excused absence," and 

"unexcused absence"; (ii) deleting "civil defense alert"; (iii) 

revising "COE" to "CTE"; and (iv) revising "days" to "teaching 

days," where appropriate. 

There is little to no economic impact on small businesses 

resulting from this regulation. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-250, 

Regulations Governing the Testing of Sight and Hearing of 

Pupils, and determined that this regulation should be amended. 

The board is publishing its report of findings dated May 7, 

2024, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare in that it seeks to ensure that any defects in 

hearing or vision is detected in students, and that parents are 

notified of any defect that is discovered. The regulation is 

clearly written and easily understandable. 

The regulation will be repealed and its content shifted to 

8VAC20-690, as both chapters share the same end users. 

The regulation is required by the Code of Virginia, thus 

demonstrating a continued need for it. There are no known 

complaints or comments concerning the regulation. There are 

no known conflicts with federal or state law or regulations. The 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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regulation was last amended in 2021. The agency's decision to 

combine the chapter with 8VAC20-690 will not have any 

impact on small business. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-290, 

Regulations Governing School Lunch Sale of Food Items, 

and determined that this regulation should be repealed. The 

board is publishing its report of findings dated May 9, 2024, to 

support this decision. 

This regulation is no longer necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare since it is outdated. One 

comment was received during the periodic review, the 

substance of which was outside the scope of the periodic 

review. The regulation is not overly complex. The regulation 

does not appear to have been amended since it became 

effective on September 1, 1980, and contains references to 

outdated law and terminology. The agency's decision to repeal 

the regulation will have minimal impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 18VAC110-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained as is. The board is publishing its report of 

findings dated August 30, 2024, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because the regulation sets forth procedures 

for participation of the public in the development of board 

regulations. Additionally, this regulation is required by statute, 

and the board has no discretion not to maintain this regulation. The 

board has reviewed this regulation and determined that it is clearly 

written and understandable. 

The board has decided to retain the regulation as is. The regulation 

is based upon model regulations provided by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. The Department of Planning and Budget has 

not updated its model regulations; therefore, the board has not 

adopted any changes to the regulation. 

The board is required to maintain this regulation; therefore, there 

is a continued need for it. There have been no complaints received 

related to this regulation, which is not complex. The regulation 

does not overlap with any other law and has not changed since 

approximately 2017. The board will alter the regulation if and 

when the Department of Planning and Budget recommends 

changes to the model regulations. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, or email 

caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Social Work conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 18VAC140-11, 

Public Participation Guidelines, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained as is. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated August 30, 2024, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because the regulation sets forth procedures 

for participation of the public in the development of board 

regulations. Additionally, this regulation is required by statute, 

and the board has no discretion not to maintain this regulation. The 

board has reviewed this regulation and determined that it is clearly 

written and understandable. 

The board has decided to retain the regulation as is. The regulation 

is based upon model regulations provided by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. The Department of Planning and Budget has 

not updated its model regulations; therefore, the board has not 

adopted any changes to the regulation. 

The board is required to maintain this regulation; therefore, there 

is a continued need for it. There have been no complaints received 

related to this regulation, which is not complex. The regulation 

does not overlap with any other law and has not changed since 

approximately 2017. The board will alter the regulation if and 

when the Department of Planning and Budget recommends 

changes to the model regulations. 

Contact Information: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board 

of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4441, FAX (804) 977-9915, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 

consider amending 9VAC25-32, Virginia Pollution 

Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to establish procedures for addressing 

administrative, staging, signage, and additional onsite and 

alternative storage site requirements when routine and onsite 

storage facility capacity and holding times are anticipated to be 

exceeded in order to provide permittees a way to plan in 

advance with regulatory certainty for alternative storage and 

handling solutions when extreme weather conditions result in 

long periods of time when biosolids cannot be land-applied. 

The amendments are mandated by Chapter 209 of the 2024 

Acts of Assembly. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 23, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jeanette Ruiz, Regulatory Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 494-9636, or email 

jeanette.ruiz@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8036; Filed September 4, 2024, 9:19 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers intends to consider amending 18VAC65-20, 

Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers; 18VAC65-30, Regulations for Preneed 

Funeral Planning; and 18VAC65-40, Regulations for the 

Funeral Service Intern Program. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to undertake a general review of the 

regulation in accordance with the regulatory reduction goal of 

Executive Order 19 (2022). The board reviewed the regulations 

and identified potential reductions, which may be made 

without impacting the health, safety, or welfare of citizens. 

These include (i) eliminating the restriction on reinstatement 

of expired licenses and registrations; (ii) increasing the type of 

documents that can be provided to the board for approval of 

continuing education; (iii) removing redundant language 

regarding documentation of compliance with continuing 

education requirements; (iv) removing date restrictions 

regarding when an establishment or crematory must apply for 

a license or registration; (v) updating references where 

appropriate to the state rules and regulations examination; (vi) 

allowing a funeral director to apply for license by endorsement 

by demonstrating active practice in another jurisdiction if the 

applicant did not receive education that meets Virginia's 

regulatory requirement for education; (vii) clarifying that 

crematories must follow requirements regarding refrigeration; 

(viii) reorganizing the list of requirements for internships and 

applications; and (ix) allowing the board discretion to deny a 

supervisor registration in certain circumstances rather than 

require that the board deny the supervisor registration. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 23, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7556; Filed August 22, 2024, 9:23 a.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Psychology intends to 

consider amending 18VAC125-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to amend the regulation following the receipt and 

consideration of a petition for rulemaking. The board voted to 

grant the petition and initiate rulemaking to accept evidence of 

retired licenses of psychology in other jurisdictions and make 

additional changes to licensure by endorsement requirements 

as well to reduce the burden on applicants.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3605 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 23, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-12; Filed August 22, 2024, 10:48 a.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Veterans 

Services is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 24 of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes the department when 

promulgating regulations pursuant to § 58.2-3219.7 or 58.1-

3219.11 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC80-10. 100% Disabled Veteran 

Real Property Tax Exemption (amending 1VAC80-10-90). 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-3219.7 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 23, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Steven Combs, Deputy Commissioner, 

Department of Veterans Services, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-0294, or email steven.combs@dvs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove a limitation period regarding 

when veterans are eligible for a refund of paid real 

property tax that conflicts with § 58.1-3219.5 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

1VAC80-10-90. Application. 

A. A veteran claiming the real property tax exemption shall 

file with the Commissioner of the Revenue, or other assessing 

official, in the veteran's respective locality: 

1. A summary of benefits letter issued by the VA, or its 

successor agency, indicating that the veteran has a 100% 

service-connected, permanent, and total disability; 

2. An affidavit or application on a form provided by the 

locality that: 

a. Sets forth the name of the veteran and the name of the 

spouse, if any, also occupying the real property; 

b. Indicates whether the real property is jointly owned by 

two spouses; and 

c. Certifies that the real property is occupied as the 

veteran's principal place of residence; and 

3. Proof of residence occupancy acceptable to the applicable 

locality, such as a valid Virginia driver's license or other 

proof of residency acceptable to the locality. 

B. A surviving spouse of a veteran claiming the real property 

tax exemption shall file with the Commissioner of the 

Revenue, or other assessing official, in the surviving spouse's 

respective locality: 

1. A summary of benefits letter issued by the VA, or its 

successor agency, indicating that the veteran had a 100% 

service-connected, permanent, and total disability; 

2. An affidavit or application on a form provided by the 

locality that: 

a. Sets forth the name of the deceased veteran and the 

name of the spouse; 

b. Indicates whether the real property is jointly owned by 

the two spouses; and 

c. Certifies that the real property is occupied as the 

surviving spouse's principal place of residence; 

3. Proof of residence occupancy acceptable to the applicable 

locality, such as a valid Virginia driver's license, or other 

proof of residency acceptable to the locality; 

4. Death certification to confirm veteran's date of death is on 

or after January 1, 2011; and 

5. A certificate of marriage from the appropriate state office 

of records. 

C. The veteran or surviving spouse may complete the local 

tax exemption application before receipt of the VA Summary 

of Benefits letter. The Commissioner of Revenue, or other 

assessing official, shall ensure that the veteran is aware the 

application is not complete without the required VA letter. 

When the application is complete, the assessing official shall 

inform the veteran or surviving spouse by mail whether or not 

the application is approved, the veteran or surviving spouse is 

exempt from the real property tax, and if exempted, the amount 

of the exemption. 

D. The veteran or surviving spouse shall be required to re-file 

the application and notify the previous jurisdiction, required by 

this section only, if the principal place of residence changes. 

E. While there is no deadline to apply for the exemption, the 

Commissioner of the Revenue, or assessing official, may only 

correct and refund (without interest) the past assessments of an 

initially qualified applicant for no more than the current tax 

year, plus up to three prior tax years after January 1, 2011. 

F. E. No county, city, or town shall be liable for any interest 

on any refund due to the veteran or surviving spouse for taxes 

paid prior to the filing of the application required by § 58.1-

3219.6 of the Code of Virginia. 
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G. F. In the determination of the exemption, no locality may 

implement income or asset limitations or a deadline for 

application. 

H. G. This chapter does not prohibit the locality's ability to 

require an annual confirmation of continued residence from the 

qualifying veteran or surviving spouse. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7933; Filed September 3, 2024, 5:05 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks 

(amending 4VAC20-490-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments move the oceanic whitetip shark from the 

commercially and recreationally permitted shark species 

lists to the commercially and recreationally prohibited 

shark species lists. 

4VAC20-490-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Agent" means any person who possesses the Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear license, or fishing 

permit of a registered commercial fisherman in order to fish that 

commercial fisherman's gear or sell that commercial fisherman's 

harvest. 

"Annual quota" means Virginia's 10.795% share of the annual 

coastwide commercial spiny dogfish quota managed by the 

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. 

"Carcass length" means that length measured in a straight line 

from the anterior edge of the first dorsal fin to the posterior end of 

the shark carcass. 

"Circle Hook" means a non-offset, non-stainless steel hook with 

the point turned sharply and straight back toward the shank. 

"COLREGS Line" means the COLREGS Demarcation Line, as 

defined in the Code of Federal Regulations (33 CFR 80.510 

Chesapeake Bay Entrance, VA). 

"Commercial shark fisherman" means any commercial 

fisherman permitted to land or possess sharks (excluding spiny 

dogfish) that has landed and sold one pound of shark or more 

(excludes spiny dogfish) in that calendar year (January 1 through 

December 31). 

"Commercially permitted aggregated large coastal shark" means 

any of the following species: 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 

Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna 

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier 

"Commercially permitted hammerhead shark" means any of the 

following species: 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

"Commercially permitted nonblacknose small coastal shark" 

means any of the following species: 

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 

Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

"Commercially permitted pelagic shark" means any of the 

following species: 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

"Commercially prohibited shark" means any of the following 

species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 

Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 
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Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Control rule" means a time-certain date, past, present, or future, 

used to establish participation in a limited entry fishery and may 

or may not include specific past harvest amounts. 

"Dressed weight" means the result from processing a fish by 

removal of head, viscera, and fins, but does not include removal 

of the backbone, halving, quartering, or otherwise further reducing 

the carcass. 

"Finning" means removing the fins and returning the remainder 

of the shark to the sea. 

"Fork length" means the length of a fish measured from the most 

forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, to the fork 

of the tail along the midline, using a straight-line measure, not 

measured over the curve of the body. 

"Large mesh gill net" means any gill net with a stretched mesh 

of greater than five inches. 

"Longline" means any fishing gear that is set horizontally, either 

anchored, floating, or attached to a vessel, and that consists of a 

mainline or groundline, greater than 1,000 feet in length, with 

multiple leaders (gangions) and hooks, whether retrieved by hand 

or mechanical means. 

"Movable gill net" means any gill net other than a staked gill net. 

"Permitted commercial gear" means rod and reel, handlines, 

shark shortlines, small mesh gill nets, large mesh gill nets, pound 

nets, and weirs. 

"Recreational shore angler" means a person neither fishing from 

a vessel nor transported to or from a fishing location by a vessel. 

"Recreational vessel angler" means a person fishing from a 

vessel or transported to or from a fishing location by a vessel. 

"Recreationally permitted shark" means any of the following 

species: 

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 

Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 

Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Smooth dogfish, Mustelus canis 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna 

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier 

"Recreationally prohibited shark" means any of the following 

species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 

Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 

Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 3  Virginia Register of Regulations  September 23, 2024  

440 

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Research only shark" means any of the following species: 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

"Shark shortline" means a fish trotline that is set horizontally, 

either anchored, floating, or attached to a vessel, and that consists 

of a mainline or groundline, 1,000 feet in length or less, with 

multiple leaders (gangions) and no more than 50 corrodible circle 

hooks, whether retrieved by hand or mechanical means. 

"Small mesh gill net" means any gill net with a stretched mesh 

of equal to or less than five inches. 

"Smooth dogfish" means any shark of the species Mustelus 

canis. Smooth dogfish are also known as "smoothhound shark." 

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's head 

that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Spiny dogfish" means any shark of the species Squalus 

acanthias. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7976; Filed August 27, 2024, 4:45 p.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––– 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-23. Licensure Regulations for 

School Personnel (amending 8VAC20-23-10, 8VAC20-23-

100, 8VAC20-23-270). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16, 22.1-253.13:2, and 22.1-

298.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 25, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 642 and 672 of the 2024 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments (i) establish universal 

licensure by reciprocity as a category of teacher 

licensure; (ii) allow a division superintendent, rather than 

the board, to issue a career and technical education 

teacher a provisional license to allow time for the teacher 

to attain the industry credential required by law; and (iii) 

require the Department of Education to compile, publicly 

post on its website, and update as necessary data on 

teacher licensure standards and requirements for each 

state for the purposes of facilitating the determination of 

the compatibility of out-of-state teacher licenses with 

requirements for teacher licensure by reciprocity in the 

Commonwealth. 

8VAC20-23-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings indicated unless the context clearly 

implies otherwise: 

"Accredited institution" means an institution of higher 

education accredited by a regional accrediting agency 

recognized by the United States U.S. Department of Education. 

"Accredited virtual school or program" means a virtual school 

or program accredited by one of the accrediting agencies 

recognized by the Virginia Department of Education. School 

divisions operating as multi-division online providers may be 

deemed as meeting accreditation requirements if a majority of 

their schools are fully accredited by the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

"Alternate route to licensure" means a nontraditional route to 

licensure available to individuals who meet the criteria 

specified in guidelines developed by the board or 8VAC20-23-

90. 

"Approved program" means a professional education 

program recognized as meeting state standards for the content 

and operation of such programs so that graduates of the 

program will be eligible for state licensure. The Virginia Board 

of Education has the authority to approve programs in Virginia. 

"Cancellation" means the withdrawal of a license following 

the voluntary return of the license by the license holder. 

"Career and Technical Education License" means a three-year 

license available to qualified individuals to teach, either full 

time or part time, high school career and technical education 

courses in specific subject areas who meet requirements set 

forth in this chapter. Individuals issued a three-year Career and 

Technical Education License shall not be eligible for 
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continuing contract status while teaching under such license 

and shall be subject to the probationary terms of employment 

specified in § 22.1-303 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Certified program provider" means a provider certified by 

the Virginia Department of Education to provide preparation 

and training for applicants seeking the Provisional License 

specified in 8VAC20-23-90. 

"Career and Technical Education or Dual Enrollment 

License" means a three-year license to solely teach career and 

technical education courses or dual enrollment courses at 

public high schools in the Commonwealth issued to any 

individual who (i) is employed as an instructor by an institution 

of higher education that is accredited by a nationally 

recognized regional accreditation body, (ii) is teaching in the 

specific career and technical education or dual enrollment 

subject area at such institution in which the individual seeks to 

teach at a public school, and (iii) complies with the 

requirements set forth in subdivisions D 1 and D 3 of § 22.1-

298.1 of the Code of Virginia. The Virginia Board of 

Education shall require any such instructor to maintain 

continuous employment in such position at the institution of 

higher education as a condition of continued license. The 

provisions of this regulation shall expire on July 1, 2021, 

however, any license issued pursuant to the act prior to July 1, 

2021, shall remain in effect for three years from the date it was 

issued unless such license is revoked by the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

"Collegiate Professional License" means a 10-year, 

renewable teaching license available to an individual who has 

satisfied all requirements for licensure set forth in this chapter, 

including an earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and the professional teacher's 

assessments prescribed by the Virginia Board of Education. 

"Denial" means the refusal to grant a license. 

"Division Superintendent License" means a 10-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has 

completed an earned master's degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university and meets the requirements 

specified in 8VAC20-23-630. The individual's name shall be 

listed on the Virginia Board of Education's list of eligible 

division superintendents. 

"Experiential learning" means a process of applying for an 

initial license through the alternate route as prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education and meeting the criteria specified 

in 8VAC20-23-90 E to be eligible to request experiential 

learning credits in lieu of the coursework for the endorsement 

(teaching) content area. 

"Industry certification credential" means an active career and 

technical education credential that is earned by successfully 

completing a Virginia Board of Education-approved industry 

certification examination, being issued a professional license 

in the Commonwealth, or successfully completing an 

occupational competency examination. 

"International Educator License" means a professional 

teaching license issued for no more than five years to an 

exchange teacher with citizenship in a nation other than the 

United States of America who meets requirements by a state-

approved, federally-designated Exchange Visitor Program and 

who is employed as a teacher in a Virginia public school or an 

accredited nonpublic school. 

"Licensure by reciprocity" means a process used to issue a 

license to an individual coming into Virginia from another state 

when that individual meets certain conditions specified in this 

chapter. 

"Mentor" means a classroom teacher hired by the local school 

division who has achieved continuing contract status or other 

instructional personnel including retired teachers who meet 

local mentor selection criteria. The mentor should work in the 

same building as the beginning teacher or be instructional 

personnel who is assigned solely as a mentor. A mentor should 

be assigned a limited number of teachers at any time. 

Instructional personnel who are not assigned solely as mentors 

should not be assigned to more than four teachers at any time. 

Mentors guide teachers in the program through 

demonstrations, observations, and consultations. 

"One-Year High School License" means a license valid for 

one-year one year and renewable thereafter in one-year 

increments to teach in public high schools for individuals who 

have met requirements for such license as set forth in this 

chapter. 

"Online Teacher License" means a 10-year, renewable license 

valid only for teaching online courses. Teachers who hold a 

five-year or 10-year renewable license issued by the Virginia 

Board of Education may teach online courses for which they 

are properly endorsed and do not need to seek this license. 

"Postgraduate Professional License" means a 10-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has qualified 

for the Collegiate Professional License and who holds an 

appropriate earned graduate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university. 

"Professional studies" means courses and other learning 

experiences designed to prepare individuals in the areas of 

human development and learning, curriculum and instruction, 

assessment of and for learning, classroom and behavior 

management, foundations of education and the teaching 

profession, language and literacy, and supervised clinical 

experiences. 

"Professional teacher assessment" means those tests or other 

requirements mandated for licensure as prescribed by the 

Virginia Board of Education. 

"Provisional License" means a nonrenewable license valid for 

a specified period of time not to exceed three years issued to 
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an individual who has allowable deficiencies for full licensure 

as set forth in this chapter. 

"Pupil Personnel Services License" means a 10-year, 

renewable license available to an individual who has earned an 

appropriate graduate degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university with an endorsement as a school 

counselor, school psychologist, school social worker, or 

vocational evaluator. This license does not require teaching 

experience unless otherwise outlined under the specific 

endorsement's requirements. 

"Renewable license" means a license issued by the Virginia 

Board of Education for 10 years, unless otherwise specified, to 

an individual who meets all requirements specified in this 

chapter. 

"Reprimand" means a written admonishment of a license 

holder that does not result in the withdrawal of a license. 

"Revocation" means the withdrawal of a license. 

"School Manager License" means a 10-year, renewable 

license intended to provide for a differentiation of 

administrative responsibilities in a school setting. A school 

manager is licensed to administer noninstructional 

responsibilities in an educational setting. A school manager is 

restricted from evaluating teachers, supervising instruction, 

developing and evaluating curriculum, and serving as a 

school's student disciplinarian. The license is available to a 

candidate who holds a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university; has three years of successful 

managerial experience; and is recommended for the license by 

a Virginia school division superintendent. 

"Suspension" means the temporary withdrawal of a license. 

"Technical Professional License" means a 10-year, renewable 

license available to an individual who has graduated from a 

public or accredited nonpublic high school (or possesses a 

Virginia Board of Education-approved high school 

equivalency credential); has exhibited academic proficiency, 

technical competency, and successful occupational experience; 

and meets the requirements specified in 8VAC20-23-50 A 4. 

"Teach For America License" means a two-year provisional 

license available to an individual who is a participant in Teach 

For America and meets the requirements specified in 8VAC20-

23-50. 

"Universal licensure by reciprocity" means the issuance of a 

license as a teacher in the Commonwealth to any individual 

who holds a valid out-of-state teaching license with full 

credentials and without deficiencies that has been in force and 

in use by the individual as an employed teacher in a nonvirtual 

classroom setting at a public or private elementary or 

secondary school for at least three years prior to and is in force 

at the time the department receives the individual's application 

for license as a teacher in the Commonwealth. 

8VAC20-23-100. Conditions for licensure for out-of-state 

candidates by reciprocity. 

A. An individual coming into Virginia from any state may 

qualify for a Virginia teaching license with comparable 

endorsement areas if the individual (i) has completed a state-

approved teacher preparation program through a regionally 

accredited four-year college or university or (ii) holds a valid 

out-of-state teaching license (full credential without 

deficiencies) that shall be in force at the time the application 

for a Virginia license is made. An individual shall meet 

licensure requirements set forth in the Code of Virginia. An 

individual seeking licensure shall establish a file in the Virginia 

Department of Education by submitting a complete application 

packet that includes official student transcripts. Unless 

exempted by the criteria in this chapter, professional teacher's 

assessment requirements prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education shall be satisfied. 

B. An individual coming into Virginia will qualify for a 

Virginia teaching license with comparable endorsement areas 

if the individual holds an active national certification from the 

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) 

or a nationally recognized certification program approved by 

the Virginia Board of Education. 

C. Licensure by reciprocity is provided for any spouse of an 

active duty or reserve member of the Armed Forces of the 

United States or a member of the Virginia National Guard who 

has obtained a valid out-of-state license, with full credentials 

and without deficiencies, that is in force at the time the 

application for a Virginia license is received by the Virginia 

Department of Education. Each such individual shall establish 

a file in the Virginia Department of Education by submitting a 

complete application packet, which shall include official 

student transcripts and an official copy of the military 

permanent assignment orders of the individual's spouse. No 

service requirements or licensing assessments shall be required 

for any such individual. The Virginia Department of Education 

shall determine and communicate such individual's eligibility 

for licensure by reciprocity within 15 business days of receipt 

of the complete application packet. 

D. Licensure Universal licensure by reciprocity is shall be 

provided for individuals any individual who have obtained 

holds a valid out-of-state teaching license, with full credentials 

and without deficiencies, that is has been in force for at least 

three years prior to and is in force at the time the of application 

for a Virginia license is received by the Virginia Department 

of Education. Each such individual shall establish a file in the 

Virginia Department of Education by submitting a complete 

application packet, which shall include official student 

transcripts. No service requirements or licensing assessments 

shall be required for any such individual. No service 

requirements or licensing assessments shall be required for any 

such individual who applies for universal licensure by 

reciprocity. Any individual who applies for universal licensure 
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by reciprocity shall provide a copy of the individual's out-of-

state teaching license that meets the criteria set forth in this 

subsection. Any such individual shall be subject to the 

provisions of §§ 22.1-296.2 and 22.1-296.4 of the Code of 

Virginia. The department shall prioritize applications for 

universal licensure by reciprocity. 

E. For licensure by reciprocity, applicants may submit third-

party employment verification forms. 

F. For licensure by reciprocity, the board shall grant special 

consideration to individuals who have successfully completed 

a program offered by a provider that is accredited by the 

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation. 

8VAC20-23-270. Career and technical education – 

technology education. 

Endorsement requirements. The candidate shall have: 

1. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university and graduated from an approved teacher 

preparation program in technology education; or 

2. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university and completed a major in technology 

education or 33 semester hours in technology education 

distributed in the following areas: 

a. The nature of technology. Experiences shall include those 

that promote an understanding of the characteristics, scope, 

and core concepts of physical, biological, and informational 

technologies, the relationships among these technologies, and 

their connections to other science, technology, engineering, 

and mathematics (STEM) fields: 6 six semester hours; 

b. Technology and society. Experiences shall include those 

that develop a working knowledge of the cultural, social, 

economic, and political effects of technology, its effect on the 

environment, and the role of society in the history, 

development, and use of physical, biological, and 

informational technologies: 3 three semester hours; 

c. Engineering. Experiences shall include those that 

develop comprehension of the attributes of technological 

design, inclusive of constraints, optimization, predictive 

analysis, problem solving, critical thinking, technical 

writing, and integrative mathematics and science: 6 six 

semester hours; 

d. Abilities for a technological world. Experiences shall 

include those that develop the capacity to utilize the design 

process, to use and maintain technological products and 

systems, and to assess their impact: 9 nine semester hours; 

and 

e. The designed world. Experiences shall include those 

that promote an understanding of current and emerging 

physical, biological, and informational technologies: 9 

nine semester hours; or 

3. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university with a major in one of the 

following fields of study: architecture, design, engineering, 

engineering technology, industrial technology, or physics 

and completed a minimum of 15 semester hours of 

technology education content coursework, including at least 

3 three semester hours in each of the following areas: 

a. The nature of technology; 

b. Technology and society; 

c. Engineering; 

d. Abilities for a technological world; and 

e. The designed world. 

If an individual is seeking an initial license in the 

Commonwealth with an endorsement in the area of career and 

technical education, an industry certification credential as 

defined in 8VAC20-23-10 in the area in which the teacher 

seeks endorsement is required. If a teacher seeking an initial 

license in the Commonwealth has not attained an industry 

certification credential in the area in which the teacher seeks 

endorsement, the Virginia Board of Education division 

superintendent may, upon request of the employing school 

division or educational agency, issue the teacher a provisional 

license to allow time for the teacher to attain such credential. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7928; Filed September 4, 2024, 9:03 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Forms 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-121. Regulated Medical Waste 

Management Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Jenny Poland, Solid Waste Permit 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 901 

Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153, telephone (540) 759-9840, 

or email jenny.poland@deq.virginia.gov. 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (9VAC20-121) 

Solid Waste Management Facility Permit Applicant's 

Disclosure Statement (Cover Sheet), DEQ Form DISC 01 (rev. 

9/2020) 

Solid Waste Management Facility Permit Applicant's 

Disclosure Statement - Key Personnel Statement, DEQ Form 

DISC 02 (rev. 9/2020) 

mailto:@jenny.poland@deq.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-01-20220105140830.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-01-20220105140830.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-01-20220105140830.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-02-20220105142057.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-02-20220105142057.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/DEQ%20Form%20DISC-02-20220105142057.pdf
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Local Government Certification Request, DEQ Form CERT 

01 (rev. 8/2018) 

Regulated Medical Waste Management Facility Permit by 

Rule Form, DEQ Form RMW PBR (rev. 3/2023) 

Application for Evaluation and Approval of Regulated 

Medical Waste Treatment Technology, DEQ Form RMWTP 

01 (rev. 3/2023) 

Application for Evaluation and Approval of Regulated 

Medical Waste Treatment Technology, DEQ Form RMWTP 

01 (rev. 8/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8052; Filed August 29, 2024, 3:42 p.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––– 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and 

Scope of Selected Services (amending 12VAC30-130-5020, 

12VAC30-130-5050, 12VAC30-130-5060, 12VAC30-130-

5090, 12VAC30-130-5100, 12VAC30-130-5120 through 

12VAC30-130-5150). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: October 23, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, TDD 

(800) 343-0634, or email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Background: Section 1262 of the federal Consolidated 

Appropriations Act of 2023 made substantial regulatory 

changes to remove barriers and promote access to evidence-

based treatment of substance use disorders, including 

removing a requirement that practitioners obtain a special 

federal waiver, the DATA-Waiver or X-Waiver, to prescribe 

buprenorphine for the treatment of opioid use disorder. To 

conform to this federal rule change, the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services submitted a state plan amendment (SPA) 

to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services that 

removed the X-Waiver requirement. The SPA was approved 

on September 21, 2023. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow providers who have a current 

license to practice and prescribe and a Drug Enforcement 

Administration registration authorizing the prescribing of 

Schedule III drugs to prescribe buprenorphine for the 

treatment of opioid use disorder without the federal X-

Waiver. 

12VAC30-130-5020. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abstinence" means the intentional and consistent restraint 

from the pathological pursuit of reward or relief, or both, that 

involves the use of substances. 

"Addiction" means a primary, chronic disease of brain 

reward, motivation, memory, and related circuitry. Addiction 

is defined as the inability to consistently abstain, impairment 

in behavioral control, persistence of cravings, diminished 

recognition of significant problems with one's behaviors and 

interpersonal relationships, and a dysfunctional emotional 

response. Like other chronic diseases, addiction often involves 

cycles of relapse and remission. Without treatment or 

engagement in recovery activities, addiction is progressive and 

can result in disability or premature death. 

"Addiction-credentialed physician" means a physician who 

holds a board certification in addiction medicine from the 

American Board of Addiction Medicine, a subspecialty board 

certification in addition to certification in psychiatry from the 

American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, or subspecialty 

board certification in addiction medicine from the American 

Osteopathic Association. DMAS also recognizes physicians 

with the DATA 2000 buprenorphine waiver and physicians 

treating addiction who have specialty training or experience in 

addiction medicine or addiction psychiatry. If treating 

adolescents, "addiction-credentialed physician" means an 

addiction-credentialed physician who also has experience and 

specialty training with adolescent medicine. 

"Adherence" means the individual receiving treatment has 

demonstrated his ability to cooperate with, follow, and take 

personal responsibility for the implementation of his treatment 

plans. 

"Adolescent" means an individual from 12 years of age to 20 

years of age. 

"Allied health professional" means counselor aides or group 

living workers who meet the DBHDS licensing requirements 

for unlicensed staff in residential settings. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/Local%20Government%20Certification%20Request-20220105142258.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/Local%20Government%20Certification%20Request-20220105142258.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/RMW%20PBR%20App%20Form_03-2023-20220105142528-20240712135930.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/RMW%20PBR%20App%20Form_03-2023-20220105142528-20240712135930.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/Petition%20for%20Eval%20and%20Approval%20August%202024-20240829152759.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/Petition%20for%20Eval%20and%20Approval%20August%202024-20240829152759.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC20/forms/Petition%20for%20Eval%20and%20Approval%20August%202024-20240829152759.pdf
mailto:@meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
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"ARTS" means addiction and recovery treatment services. 

"ARTS care coordinator" means an employee of DMAS, its 

contractor, or an MCO who is a licensed practitioner of the 

healing arts, including a physician or medical director, licensed 

clinical psychologist, licensed clinical social worker, licensed 

professional counselor, licensed substance abuse treatment 

practitioner, licensed marriage and family therapist, nurse 

practitioner, or registered nurse with two years of clinical 

experience in the treatment of substance use disorders. The 

ARTS care coordinator performs independent assessments of 

requests for all ARTS intensive outpatient programs (ASAM 

Level 2.1); partial hospitalization programs (ASAM Level 

2.5); residential treatment services (ASAM Levels 3.1, 3.3, 

3.5, and 3.7); and inpatient services (ASAM Levels 3.7 and 

4.0). 

"ASAM" means the American Society of Addiction 

Medicine. 

"ASAM criteria" means the six different life areas used by the 

ASAM Patient Placement Criteria to develop a holistic 

biopsychosocial assessment of an individual that is used for 

service planning, level of care, and length of stay treatment 

decisions. 

"BHA" means behavioral health authority. 

"Biomedical" means biological or physical aspects of a 

member's condition that require assessment and services that 

are delivered by appropriately credentialed medical staff, who 

are available to assess and treat co-occurring biomedical 

disorders that may be the result of, or independent of, a 

substance use disorder. 

"Buprenorphine-waivered practitioner" means a health care 

provider licensed under Virginia law and registered with the 

Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) to prescribe 

Schedule III, IV, or V medications for treatment of pain. More 

specifically, a buprenorphine-waivered physician has obtained 

the buprenorphine waiver through the Drug Addiction 

Treatment Act of 2000 (DATA 2000), while a buprenorphine-

waivered nurse practitioner or physician assistant has obtained 

the buprenorphine waiver through DATA 2000. A 

buprenorphine-waivered practitioner meets all federal and 

state requirements and is supervised by or works in 

collaboration with a qualifying physician in accordance with 

the applicable regulatory board. In accordance with § 54.1-

2957 of the Code of Virginia, a nurse practitioner may practice 

without a written or electronic practice agreement with a 

qualifying physician. All buprenorphine-waivered 

practitioners have a DEA-X number to prescribe 

buprenorphine for the treatment of opioid use disorder. 

"Care coordination" means collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers who are involved 

with an individual's health care to assist in improving the care 

of the individual. This includes e-consultations from primary 

care providers to specialists. 

"Certified substance abuse counselor" or "CSAC" means the 

same as that term is defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Certified substance abuse counseling assistant" or "CSAC-

A" means the same as that term is defined in § 54.1-3507.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Certified substance abuse counselor-supervisee" means an 

individual who has completed the educational requirements 

described in clause (i) of § 54.1-3507.1 C of the Code of 

Virginia, but who has not completed the practice hours 

described in clause (ii) of § 54.1-3507.1 C of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Child" means an individual from birth up to 12 years of age. 

"Clinical experience" means, for the purpose of these ARTS 

requirements, practical experience in providing direct services 

to individuals with diagnoses of substance use disorder. 

Clinical experience shall include supervised internships, 

supervised practicums, or supervised field experience. Clinical 

experience shall not include unsupervised internships, 

unsupervised practicums, and unsupervised field experience. 

"Counseling" means the same as that term is defined in § 

54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Credentialed addiction treatment professional" or "CATP" 

means an individual licensed or registered with the appropriate 

board in the following roles: (i) an addiction-credentialed 

physician or physician with experience or training in addiction 

medicine; (ii) physician extenders with experience or training 

in addiction medicine; (iii) a licensed psychiatrist; (iv) a 

licensed clinical psychologist; (v) a licensed clinical social 

worker; (vi) a licensed professional counselor; (vii) a certified 

psychiatric clinical nurse specialist; (viii) a licensed 

psychiatric nurse practitioner; (ix) a licensed marriage and 

family therapist; (x) a licensed substance abuse treatment 

practitioner; (xi) a resident who is under the supervision of a 

licensed professional counselor (18VAC115-20-10), licensed 

marriage and family therapist (18VAC115-50-10), or licensed 

substance abuse treatment practitioner (18VAC115-60-10) and 

is registered with the Virginia Board of Counseling; (xii) a 

resident in psychology who is under supervision of a licensed 

clinical psychologist and is registered with the Virginia Board 

of Psychology (18VAC125-20-10); or (xiii) a supervisee in 

social work who is under the supervision of a licensed clinical 

social worker and is registered with the Virginia Board of 

Social Work (18VAC140-20-10). 

"CSB" means community services board. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services consistent with Chapter 3 (§ 37.2-300 

et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"DEA" means Drug Enforcement Administration. 
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"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and its contractors consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-

323 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Evidence-based" means an empirically-supported 

empirically supported clinical practice or intervention with a 

proven ability to produce positive outcomes. 

"Face-to-face" means encounters that occur in person or 

through telemedicine. 

"FQHC" means federally qualified health center. 

"Individual" means the patient, client, beneficiary, or member 

who receives services set out in 12VAC30-130-5000 et seq. 

These terms are used interchangeably. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means an initial and 

comprehensive treatment plan that is regularly updated and 

specific to an individual's unique treatment needs as identified 

in the assessment. An ISP contains an individual's treatment or 

training needs, the individual's goals and measureable 

measurable objectives to meet the identified needs, services to 

be provided with the recommended frequency to accomplish 

the measurable goals and objectives, and an individualized 

discharge plan that describes transition to other appropriate 

services. An individual is included in the development of the 

ISP, and the ISP is signed by the individual. If the individual is 

a minor, the ISP is also signed by the individual's parent or 

legal guardian. An ISP includes documentation if the 

individual is a minor child or an adult who lacks legal capacity 

and is unable or unwilling to sign the ISP. 

"Induction phase" means the medically monitored initiation 

of buprenorphine, buprenorphine and naloxone, naltrexone, or 

methadone treatment performed in a qualified practitioner's 

office or licensed OTP. The goal of the induction phase is to 

find the individual's ideal dose of buprenorphine, 

buprenorphine and naloxone, naltrexone, or methadone. The 

ideal dose minimizes both side effects and drug craving. 

"Licensed practical nurse" means a professional who is 

licensed by the Commonwealth as a practical nurse or holds a 

multistate licensure privilege to practice practical nursing 

according to 18VAC90-19-80. 

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an 

organization that offers managed care health insurance plans 

(MCHIP), as defined by § 38.2-5800 of the Code of Virginia, 

which means an arrangement for the delivery of health care in 

which a health carrier undertakes to provide, arrange for, pay 

for, or reimburse any of the costs of health care services for a 

covered person on a prepaid or insured basis that (i) contains 

one or more incentive arrangements, including any 

credentialing requirements intended to influence the cost or 

level of health care services between the health carrier and one 

or more providers with respect to the delivery of health care 

services and (ii) requires or creates benefit payment differential 

incentives for covered persons to use providers that are directly 

or indirectly managed, owned, under contract with, or 

employed by the health carrier. 

"Medication assisted treatment" or "MAT" means the same as 

that term is defined in 42 CFR 8.2. 

"Multidimensional assessment" or "assessment" means the 

individualized, person-centered biopsychosocial assessment 

performed face-to-face, in which the provider obtains 

comprehensive information from the individual, and family 

members and significant others as needed, including history of 

the present illness; family history; developmental history; 

alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use or addictive behavior 

history; personal or social history; legal history; psychiatric 

history; medical history; spiritual history as appropriate; 

review of systems; mental status exam; physical examination; 

formulation and diagnoses; survey of assets, vulnerabilities, 

and supports; and treatment recommendations. The ASAM 

multidimensional assessment is a theoretical framework for 

this individualized, person-centered assessment that includes 

the following dimensions: (i) acute intoxication or likelihood 

of withdrawal, or both; (ii) medical conditions and 

complications, both historical and current; (iii) emotional, 

behavioral, or cognitive status and any identified issues; (iv) an 

individual's readiness to change; (v) risks for relapse or 

continued use; and (vi) home environment. The level of care 

determination, ISP, and recovery strategies development may 

be based upon this multidimensional assessment. 

"Opioid" means any psychoactive chemical that resembles 

morphine in pharmacological effects, including opiates and 

synthetic or semisynthetic agents that exert their effects by 

binding to highly selective receptors in the brain where 

morphine and endogenous opioids affect their actions. 

"Opioid treatment program" or "OTP" means the same as that 

term is defined in 42 CFR 8.2. 

"Opioid treatment services" or "OTS" means preferred office-

based opioid treatment (OBOT) and OTPs that encompass a 

variety of pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatment 

modalities, including substance use disorder counseling and 

psychotherapy. 

"Overdose" means the inadvertent or deliberate consumption 

of a dose of a chemical substance much larger than either 

habitually used by the individual or ordinarily used for 

treatment of an illness that is likely to result in a serious toxic 

reaction or death. 

"Physician extenders" means licensed nurse practitioners as 

defined in § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia and licensed 

physician assistants as defined in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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"Preferred office-based opioid treatment" or "preferred 

OBOT" means addiction treatment services for individuals 

with a primary opioid use disorder provided by buprenorphine-

waivered practitioners physicians and physician extenders who 

have a current DEA registration authorizing the prescribing of 

scheduled drugs, including Schedule III drugs, working in 

collaboration with CATPs providing psychotherapy and 

substance use disorder counseling in public and private 

practice settings. 

"Program of assertive community treatment" or "PACT" 

means the same as that term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 

aimed at helping individuals who have a substance use disorder 

or mental illness and their family members or caregivers to 

access clear and concise information about substance use 

disorders or mental illness and (ii) a way of accessing and 

learning strategies to deal with substance use disorders or 

mental illness and its effects in order to design effective 

treatment plans and strategies. 

"Psychotherapy" or "therapy" means the use of psychological 

methods in a professional relationship to assist a person to 

acquire great human effectiveness or to modify feelings, 

conditions, attitudes, and behaviors that are emotionally, 

intellectually, or socially ineffectual or maladaptive. 

"Recovery" means a process of sustained effort that addresses 

the biological, psychological, social, and spiritual disturbances 

inherent in addiction and consistently pursues abstinence, 

behavior control, dealing with cravings, recognizing problems 

in one's behaviors and interpersonal relationships, and more 

effective coping with emotional responses leading to reversal 

of negative, self-defeating internal processes and behaviors 

and allowing healing of relationships with self and others. The 

concepts of humility, acceptance, and surrender are useful in 

this process. 

"Registered nurse" or "RN" means the same as "professional 

nurse" is defined in § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Relapse" means a process in which an individual who has 

established abstinence or sobriety experiences recurrence of 

signs and symptoms of active addiction, often including 

resumption of the pathological pursuit of reward or relief 

through the use of substances and other behaviors often leading 

to disengagement from recovery activities. Relapse can be 

triggered by exposure to (i) rewarding substances and 

behaviors, (ii) environmental cues to use, and (iii) emotional 

stressors that trigger heightened activity in brain stress circuits. 

The event of using or acting out is the latter part of the process, 

which can be prevented by early intervention. 

"RHC" means rural health clinic. 

"SBIRT" means screening, brief intervention, and referral to 

treatment. SBIRT services are an evidence-based and 

community-based practice designed to identify, reduce, and 

prevent problematic substance use disorders. 

"Service authorization" means the process to approve specific 

services for an enrolled Medicaid, FAMIS Plus, or FAMIS 

individual by DMAS or its contractor, or an MCO prior to 

service delivery and reimbursement in order to validate that the 

service requested is medically necessary and meets DMAS and 

DMAS contractor criteria for reimbursement. Service 

authorization does not guarantee payment for the service. 

"Substance use care coordinator" means staff in an OTP or 

preferred OBOT setting who have: 

1. At least a bachelor's degree in one of the following fields: 

social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 

sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, or human 

services counseling, and at least either (i) one year of 

substance use disorder related direct experience or training 

or a combination of experience or training in providing 

services to individuals with a diagnosis of substance use 

disorder or (ii) a minimum of one year of clinical experience 

or training in working with individuals with co-occurring 

diagnoses of substance use disorder and mental illness; or 

2. Licensure by the Commonwealth as a registered nurse 

with at least either (i) one year of direct experience or 

training or a combination of experience and training in 

providing services to individuals with a diagnosis of 

substance use disorder or (ii) a minimum of one year of 

clinical experience or training or a combination of 

experience and training in working with individuals with co-

occurring diagnoses of substance use disorder and mental 

illness; or 

3. Certification as a CSAC or a CSAC-A. 

"Substance use case management" means the same as set out 

in 12VAC30-50-491. 

"Substance use disorder" or "SUD" means a substance-related 

addictive disorder, as defined in the DSM-5 with the exception 

of tobacco-related disorders and non-substance-related 

disorders, marked by a cluster of cognitive, behavioral, and 

physiological symptoms indicating that the individual 

continues to use, is seeking treatment for the use of, or is in 

active recovery from the use of alcohol or other drugs despite 

significant related problems. 

"Substance use disorder counseling" means the same as 

"substance abuse counseling" is defined in 18VAC115-30-10. 

"Telemedicine" means the real-time, two-way transfer of 

medical data and information using an interactive audio-video 

connection for the purposes of medical diagnosis and 

treatment. The member is located at the originating site, while 

the provider renders services from a remote location via the 

audio-video connection. Equipment utilized for telemedicine 

shall be of sufficient audio quality and visual clarity as to be 
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functionally equivalent to a face-to-face encounter for 

professional medical services. 

"Tolerance" or "tolerate" means a state of adaptation in which 

exposure to a drug induces changes that result in diminution of 

one or more of the drug's effects over time. 

"Withdrawal management" means services to assist an 

individual's withdrawal from the use of substances. 

12VAC30-130-5050. Covered services: clinic services - 

opioid treatment program services. 

A. Settings for opioid treatment program (OTP) services. The 

agency-based OTP provider shall be licensed by DBHDS and 

contracted by DMAS or its contractor or an MCO. The staffing 

requirements for OTP providers shall follow the DBHDS 

licensing requirements set forth in 12VAC35-105-925 and in 

the DBHDS guidance document entitled "Opioid Medication 

Assisted Treatment License and Oversight" (March, 2017). 

The interdisciplinary team shall include CATPs acting within 

the scope of practice in accordance to their professional 

regulatory board and state and federal requirements, including 

an addiction-credentialed physician as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5020. OTP services are allowed simultaneously for 

members in other ASAM Levels, including 1.0 through 3.7 

(excluding inpatient services). OTPs shall meet the service 

components, staff requirements, and risk management 

requirements. 

B. OTP service components. 

1. Linking the individual to psychological, medical, and 

psychiatric consultation as necessary to meet the individual's 

needs. 

2. Access to emergency medical and psychiatric care 

through connections with more intensive levels of care. 

3. Access to evaluation and ongoing primary care. 

4. Ability to conduct or arrange for appropriate laboratory 

and toxicology tests including drug screenings, using either 

urine or blood serums. 

5. Physicians who are available to evaluate and monitor (i) 

use of methadone, buprenorphine products, or naltrexone 

products and (ii) pharmacists and nurses to dispense and 

administer these medications and who follow the Board of 

Medicine guidance for treatment of individuals with 

buprenorphine for addiction. 

6. Individualized, patient-centered assessment and 

treatment. 

7. Ability to assess, order, administer, reassess, and regulate 

medication and dose levels appropriate to the individual; 

supervise withdrawal management from opioid analgesics, 

including methadone, buprenorphine products, or naltrexone 

products; and oversee and facilitate access to appropriate 

treatment for opioid use disorder. 

8. Medication for other physical and mental health illness is 

provided as needed either onsite on site or through 

collaboration with other providers. 

9. Cognitive, behavioral, and other substance use disorder-

focused psychotherapies and substance use disorder 

counseling by a CATP reflecting a variety of treatment 

approaches, provided to the individual on an individual, 

group, or family basis. CSACs and CSAC-supervisees are 

recognized to provide substance use disorder counseling in 

these settings as allowed within scopes of practice as defined 

in § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

10. Optional substance use care coordination that includes 

integrating behavioral health into primary care and specialty 

medical settings through interdisciplinary care planning and 

monitoring individual progress and tracking individual 

outcomes; supporting conversations between 

buprenorphine-waivered practitioners physicians and 

physician extenders who have a current DEA registration 

authorizing the prescribing of scheduled drugs, including 

Schedule III drugs, and behavioral health professionals to 

develop and monitor individualized treatment plans; linking 

individuals with community resources to facilitate referrals 

and respond to social service needs; and tracking and 

supporting individuals when they obtain medical, behavioral 

health, or social services outside the practice. 

11. Provision of onsite screening or the ability to refer for 

screening for infectious diseases such as human 

immunodeficiency virus, hepatitis B and C, and tuberculosis 

at treatment initiation and then at least annually or more 

often based on risk factors and the ability to provide or refer 

for treatment of infectious diseases as necessary. 

12. Onsite medication administration treatment during the 

induction phase, which must be provided by a physician, 

nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or registered nurse. 

Medication administration during the maintenance phase 

may be provided either by a registered nurse or licensed 

practical nurse. 

13. Prescription of naloxone for each member receiving 

methadone, buprenorphine products, or naltrexone products. 

14. Ability to provide pregnancy testing for women of 

childbearing age. 

15. For individuals of childbearing age, the ability to provide 

family planning services or to refer the individual for family 

planning services. 

C. OTP staff requirements. 

1. Staff requirements shall meet the licensing requirements 

of 12VAC35-105-925. The interdisciplinary team shall 

include CATPs trained in the treatment of opioid use 

disorder, including an addiction credentialed physician or 

physician extender and CATPs as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5020. OTPs may utilize CSACs and CSAC-supervisees to 
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provide substance use disorder counseling and 

psychoeducational services within their scopes of practice as 

defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of Virginia. OTPs may 

also utilize CSAC-As pursuant to § 54.1-3507.2 of the Code 

of Virginia as well as registered peer recovery specialists 

within their scopes of practice. A registered peer recovery 

specialist shall meet the definition in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. Staff shall be knowledgeable in the assessment, 

interpretation, and treatment of the biopsychosocial 

dimensions of alcohol or other substance use disorders. 

3. A physician or physician extender as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5020 shall be available during medication 

dispensing and clinical operating hours in person or by 

telephone. 

D. OTP risk management shall be clearly and adequately 

documented in each individual's record and shall include: 

1. Random drug screening, using either urine or blood 

serums, for all individuals, conducted at least eight times 

during a 12-month period as described in 12VAC35-105-

980. Definitive screenings shall only be utilized when 

clinically indicated. Outcomes of the drug screening shall be 

used to support positive patient outcomes and recovery. 

2. A check of the Virginia Prescription Monitoring Program 

prior to initiation of buprenorphine products or naltrexone 

products and at least quarterly for all individuals. 

3. Prescription of naloxone. 

4. Opioid overdose prevention education, including the 

purpose of and the administration of naloxone and the 

impact of polysubstance use. Education shall include 

discussion of the role of medication assisted treatment and 

the opportunity to reduce harm associated with 

polysubstance use. The goal is to help individuals remain in 

treatment to reduce the risk for harm. 

5. Clinically indicated infectious disease testing for diseases 

such as HIV; hepatitis A, B, and C; syphilis; and tuberculosis 

at treatment initiation and then annually or more frequently, 

depending on the clinical scenario and the patient's risk. 

Those who test positive shall be treated either onsite on site 

or through referral. 

6. For individuals without immunity to the hepatitis B virus, 

vaccination, either onsite on site or through referral, shall be 

offered. 

7. For individuals without HIV infection, pre-exposure 

prophylaxis to prevent HIV infection, either onsite on site or 

through referral, shall be offered. 

8. Pregnancy testing for women of childbearing age, and 

contraceptive services, either onsite on site or through 

referral, shall be offered. 

12VAC30-130-5060. Covered services: clinic services - 

preferred office-based addiction treatment. 

A. Preferred office-based addiction treatment (OBAT) shall 

be provided by a buprenorphine-waivered practitioner 

physician or physician extender who has a current DEA 

registration authorizing the prescribing of scheduled drugs, 

including Schedule III drugs, and may be provided in a variety 

of practice settings, including primary care clinics, outpatient 

health system clinics, psychiatry clinics, FQHCs, CSBs, 

BHAs, local health department clinics, and physician offices. 

The practitioner shall be contracted by DMAS or its contractor 

or an MCO to perform OBAT services. OBAT services shall 

meet the criteria established in this section. 

B. OBAT service components. 

1. Access to emergency medical and psychiatric care. 

2. Affiliations with more intensive levels of care such as 

intensive outpatient programs and partial hospitalization 

programs to which individuals can be referred when 

clinically indicated. 

3. Individualized, patient-centered multidimensional 

assessment and treatment. 

4. Assessing, ordering, administering, reassessing, and 

regulating medication and dose levels appropriate to the 

individual; supervising withdrawal management from 

opioid analgesics and other substances; and overseeing and 

facilitating access to appropriate treatment for substance use 

disorder. 

5. Medication for other physical and mental health disorders 

shall be provided as needed either onsite on site or through 

collaboration with other providers. 

6. Assurance that medications for opioid use disorder and 

alcohol use disorder are only dispensed onsite on site during 

the induction phase. After the induction phase, medications 

shall be prescribed to the member. 

7. Assurance that buprenorphine monoproduct is only 

prescribed in accordance with Board of Medicine rules 

related to the prescribing of buprenorphine for addiction. 

8. Cognitive, behavioral, and other substance use disorder-

focused counseling and psychotherapies, reflecting a variety 

of treatment approaches, shall be provided to the individual 

on an individual, group, or family basis and shall be 

provided by CATPs working in collaboration with the 

buprenorphine-waivered practitioner a physician or 

physician extender who has a current DEA registration 

authorizing the prescribing of scheduled drugs, including 

Schedule III drugs. These therapies can be provided via 

telemedicine as long as they meet DMAS requirements for 

an OBAT and for the use of telemedicine. Preferred OBATs 

may utilize CSACs and CSAC-supervisees to provide 

substance use disorder counseling and psychoeducational 
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services within their scope of practice as defined in § 54.1-

3507.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

9. Substance use care coordination provided, including 

interdisciplinary care planning between the buprenorphine-

waivered practitioner physicians or physician extenders who 

have a current DEA registration authorizing the prescribing 

of scheduled drugs, including Schedule III drugs, and the 

treatment team to develop and monitor individualized and 

personalized treatment plans focused on the best outcomes 

for the individual. This care coordination includes 

monitoring individual progress, tracking individual 

outcomes, linking the individual with community resources 

to facilitate referrals and respond to social service needs, and 

tracking and supporting the individual's medical, behavioral 

health, or social services received outside the practice. 

10. Provision of onsite screening or referral for screening for 

clinically indicated infectious disease testing for diseases 

such as HIV; hepatitis A, B, and C; syphilis; and tuberculosis 

at treatment initiation and then at least annually or more 

often based on risk factors and the ability to provide or refer 

for treatment of infectious diseases as necessary. 

11. Onsite medication administration treatment during the 

induction phase, which shall be provided by a physician, 

nurse practitioner, physician assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse. 

12. Ability to provide pregnancy testing for women of 

childbearing age. 

13. For individuals of childbearing age, the ability to provide 

family planning services or to refer the individual for family 

planning services. 

C. OBAT staff requirements. 

1. Buprenorphine-waivered practitioners Physicians or 

physician extenders who have a current DEA registration 

authorizing the prescribing of scheduled drugs, including 

Schedule III drugs, are required. 

2. CATPs are required and shall work in collaboration with 

the buprenorphine-waivered practitioner a physician or 

physician extender who has a current DEA registration 

authorizing the prescribing of scheduled drugs, including 

Schedule III drugs. This collaboration can be in person or 

via telemedicine as long as it meets the department's 

requirements for the OBAT setting and for telemedicine. 

CSACs, CSAC-supervisees, and CSAC-As are also 

recognized in the preferred OBAT setting as well as 

registered peer recovery specialists. A registered peer 

recovery specialist shall meet the definition in § 54.1-3500 

of the Code of Virginia. 

D. OBAT risk management shall be documented in each 

individual's record and shall include: 

1. Random drug screening, using either urine or blood 

serums, for all individuals, conducted at a minimum of eight 

times per year. Drug screenings include presumptive and 

definitive screenings and shall be accurately interpreted. 

Definitive screenings shall only be utilized when clinically 

indicated. Outcomes of the drug screening shall be used to 

support positive patient outcomes and recovery. 

2. A check of the Virginia Prescription Monitoring Program 

prior to initiation of buprenorphine products or naltrexone 

products and at least quarterly for all individuals thereafter. 

3. Prescription of naloxone. 

4. Overdose prevention education, including the purpose of 

and the administration of naloxone and the impact of 

polysubstance use. Education shall include discussion of the 

role of medication assisted treatment and the opportunity to 

reduce harm associated with polysubstance use. The goal is 

to help individuals remain in treatment to reduce the risk for 

harm. 

5. Periodic monitoring of unused medication and opened 

medication wrapper counts when clinically indicated. 

6. Clinically indicated infectious disease testing for diseases 

such as HIV; hepatitis A, B, and C; syphilis; and tuberculosis 

at treatment initiation and then annually or more frequently, 

depending on the clinical scenario and the patient's risk. 

Those individuals who test positive shall be treated either 

onsite on site or through referral. 

7. For individuals without immunity to the hepatitis B virus, 

vaccination either onsite on site or through referral. 

8. For patients without HIV infection, pre-exposure 

prophylaxis to prevent HIV infection shall be offered either 

onsite on site or through referral. 

9. Women of child-bearing age shall be tested for pregnancy 

and shall be offered contraceptive services either onsite on 

site or through referral. 

12VAC30-130-5090. Covered services: community based 

services - intensive outpatient services (ASAM Level 2.1). 

A. Intensive outpatient services (ASAM Level 2.1) shall be a 

structured program of skilled treatment services for adults, 

children, and adolescents delivering a minimum of three 

service hours per service day for adults to achieve an average 

of nine to 19 hours of services per week and a minimum of two 

service hours per service day for children and adolescents to 

achieve an average of six to 19 hours of services per week. 

Withdrawal management services may be provided as 

necessary. The following service components shall be 

provided weekly as directed by the ISP for reimbursement: 

1. Medical, psychological, psychiatric, laboratory, and 

toxicology services, which are available through 

consultation or referral. 
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2. Psychiatric and other individualized treatment planning. 

3. Individual, family, and group psychotherapy, substance 

use disorder counseling, medication management, and 

psychoeducation. 

4. Medication assisted treatment that is provided onsite on 

site or through referral. 

5. Occupational and recreational therapies, motivational 

interviewing, enhancement, and engagement strategies to 

inspire an individual's motivation to change behaviors. 

6. Psychiatric and medical consultation, which shall be 

available within 24 hours of the requested consult by 

telephone and preferably within 72 hours of the requested 

consult in person or via telemedicine. 

7. Psychopharmacological consultation. 

8. Addiction medication management and 24-hour crisis 

services. 

9. Medical, psychological, psychiatric, laboratory, and 

toxicology services. 

B. Intensive outpatient services (ASAM Level 2.1) shall be 

provided by agency-based providers that shall be licensed by 

DBHDS as a substance abuse intensive outpatient service for 

adults, children, and adolescents and contracted with DMAS 

or its contractor or an MCO to provide this service. Intensive 

outpatient service providers shall meet the ASAM Level 2.1 

service components and staff requirements as follows: 

1. Interdisciplinary team of CATPs shall be required. ASAM 

Level 2.1 may utilize CSACs or CSAC-supervisees to 

provide substance use disorder counseling and 

psychoeducational services within their scopes of practice as 

defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Generalist physicians or physicians with experience in 

addiction medicine are permitted to provide general medical 

evaluations and concurrent or integrated general medical 

care. 

3. Physicians and physician extenders who have a current 

DEA registration authorizing the prescribing of scheduled 

drugs, including Schedule III drugs, who are either 

employed by or contracted with the agency or through 

referral arrangements with the agency and who shall have a 

DEA-X number to prescribe buprenorphine. 

4. Staff who shall be cross-trained to understand signs and 

symptoms of psychiatric disorders and be able to understand 

and explain the uses of psychotropic medications and 

understand interactions with substance use and other 

addictive disorders. 

5. Emergency services, which shall be available, when 

necessary, by telephone 24 hours per day and seven days per 

week when the treatment program is not in session. 

6. Direct affiliation with, or close coordination through 

referrals to, higher and lower levels of care and supportive 

housing services. 

C. Intensive outpatient services (ASAM Level 2.1) co-

occurring enhanced programs. 

1. Co-occurring capable programs offer these therapies and 

support systems in intensive outpatient services described in 

this section to individuals with co-occurring addictive and 

psychiatric disorders who are able to tolerate and benefit 

from a planned program of therapies. 

2. Individuals who are not able to benefit from a full program 

of therapies will be offered enhanced program services to 

match the intensity of hours in ASAM Level 2.1, including 

substance use case management, program of assertive 

community treatment (PACT), medication management, 

and psychotherapy. 

12VAC30-130-5100. Covered services: community based 

care - partial hospitalization services (ASAM Level 2.5). 

A. Partial hospitalization services (ASAM Level 2.5) 

components. Partial hospitalization services components shall 

include the following, as defined in the ISP and provided on a 

weekly basis: 

1. Individualized treatment planning. 

2. A minimum of 20 hours per week and at least five service 

hours per service day of skilled treatment services with a 

planned format, including individual and group 

psychotherapy, substance use disorder counseling, 

medication management, education groups, occupational 

and recreational therapy, and other therapies. Withdrawal 

management services may be provided as necessary. Time 

not spent in skilled, clinically intensive treatment is not 

billable. 

3. Family psychotherapy and substance use disorder 

counseling involving family members, guardians, or 

significant others in the assessment, treatment, and 

continuing care of the individual. 

4. Motivational interviewing, enhancement, and engagement 

strategies. 

5. Medication assisted treatment that is provided onsite on 

site or through referral. 

B. Partial hospitalization services (ASAM Level 2.5). The 

substance use partial hospitalization service provider shall be 

licensed by DBHDS as a substance abuse partial 

hospitalization program or substance abuse or mental health 

partial hospitalization program and contracted with DMAS or 

its contractor or an MCO. Partial hospitalization service 

providers shall meet the ASAM Level 2.5 support systems and 

staff requirements as follows: 
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1. Interdisciplinary team comprised of CATPs, which shall 

include an addiction-credentialed physician or physician 

with experience in addiction medicine, or physician 

extenders as defined in 12VAC30-130-5020. ASAM Level 

2.5 may utilize CSACs or CSAC-supervisees to provide 

substance use disorder counseling and psychoeducational 

services within their scopes of practice as defined in § 54.1-

3507.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Physicians shall have specialty training or experience, or 

both, in addiction medicine or addiction psychiatry. 

Physicians who treat adolescents shall have experience with 

adolescent medicine. 

3. Physicians and physician extenders who have a current 

DEA registration authorizing the prescribing of scheduled 

drugs, including Schedule III drugs, who are either 

employed by or contracted with the agency and who shall 

have a DEA-X number to prescribe buprenorphine. 

4. Program staff shall be cross-trained to understand signs 

and symptoms of mental illness and be able to understand 

and explain the uses of psychotropic medications and 

understand interactions with substance use and other 

addictive disorders. 

5. Medical, psychological, psychiatric, laboratory, and 

toxicology services that are available by consult or referral. 

6. Psychiatric and medical formal agreements to provide 

medical consult within eight hours of the requested consult 

by telephone or within 48 hours in person or via 

telemedicine. 

7. Emergency services are available 24-hours 24 hours a day 

and seven days a week. 

8. Direct affiliation with or close coordination through 

referrals to higher and lower levels of care and supportive 

housing services. 

C. Partial hospitalization services (ASAM Level 2.5) co-

occurring enhanced programs shall offer: 

1. Therapies and support systems as described in this section 

to individuals with co-occurring addictive and psychiatric 

disorders who are able to tolerate and benefit from a full 

program of therapies. Other individuals who are not able to 

benefit from a full program of therapies (who are severely or 

chronically mentally ill) will be offered enhanced program 

services to constitute intensity of hours in ASAM Level 2.5, 

including substance use case management, PACT, 

medication management, and psychotherapy. 

2. Psychiatric services as appropriate to meet the individual's 

mental health condition. Services may be available by 

telephone and onsite on site, or closely coordinated offsite 

off site, or via telemedicine within a shorter time than in a 

co-occurring capable program. 

3. Clinical leadership and oversight and, at a minimum, 

capacity to consult with an addiction psychiatrist via 

telephone, via telemedicine, or in person. 

4. CATPs with experience assessing and treating co-

occurring mental illness. 

12VAC30-130-5120. Covered services: clinically managed 

population - specific high intensity residential service 

(ASAM Level 3.3). 

A. Clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service (ASAM Level 3.3). The facility-based 

provider shall be licensed by DBHDS as (i) a supervised 

residential treatment service for adults; (ii) a substance abuse 

residential treatment service for adults; (iii) a substance abuse 

residential treatment service for women with children; (iv) a 

substance abuse and mental health residential treatment service 

for adults that has substance abuse listed on its license or within 

the "licensed as" statement or be a Level C (psychiatric 

residential treatment facility) service provider; or (v) a "mental 

health residential-children" provider that has substance abuse 

listed on its license or within the "licensed as" statements. All 

providers shall be contracted by DMAS or its contractor or an 

MCO. ASAM Level 3.3 settings do not include sober houses, 

boarding houses, or group homes where treatment services are 

not provided. Residential treatment service providers for 

clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service (ASAM Level 3.3) shall meet the service 

components and staff requirements in this section. 

B. Clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service (ASAM Level 3.3) service components. 

1. Clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service components shall include: 

a. Access to a consulting physician or physician extender 

who is either employed by or contracted with the agency 

or through referral arrangements with the agency and who 

has a DEA-X number to prescribe buprenorphine and who 

has a current DEA registration authorizing the prescribing 

of scheduled drugs, including Schedule III drugs, and 

emergency services 24 hours a day and seven days a week; 

b. Arrangements for higher and lower levels of care; 

c. Arrangements for laboratory and toxicology services 

appropriate to the severity of need; and 

d. Arrangements for addiction pharmacotherapy, 

including medication assisted treatment that is provided 

onsite on site or through referral. 

2. The following therapies shall be provided as directed by 

the ISP for reimbursement: 

a. Clinically-directed Clinically directed treatment to 

facilitate recovery skills, relapse prevention, and 

emotional coping strategies. Services shall promote 

personal responsibility and reintegration of the individual 
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into the network systems of work, education, and family 

life; 

b. Addiction pharmacotherapy, including medication 

assisted treatment that is provided onsite on site or through 

referral; 

c. Drug screening, using either urine or blood serums; 

d. A range of cognitive and behavioral psychotherapies 

administered individually and in family and group settings 

as appropriate to the individual's needs to assist the 

individual in initial involvement or re-engagement in 

regular productive daily activity; 

e. Substance use disorder counseling and psychoeducation 

activities provided individually or in family and group 

settings to promote recovery; 

f. Recreational therapy, art, music, physical therapy, and 

vocational rehabilitation; 

g. Motivational enhancement and engagement strategies; 

h. Regular monitoring of the individual's medication 

adherence; 

i. Recovery support services; 

j. Services for the individual's family and significant 

others, as appropriate to advance the individual's treatment 

goals and objectives identified in the ISP; 

k. Education on benefits of medication assisted treatment 

and referral to treatment as necessary; and 

l. Withdrawal management services may be provided as 

necessary. 

C. Clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service (ASAM Level 3.3) staff requirements. 

1. The interdisciplinary team shall include CATPs and allied 

health professionals in an interdisciplinary team. ASAM 

Level 3.3 may utilize CSACs or CSAC-supervisees to 

provide substance use disorder counseling and 

psychoeducational services within their scopes of practice as 

defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Staff shall provide awake 24-hour onsite supervision. The 

provider's staffing plan must be in compliance with DBHDS 

licensing regulations for staffing plans set forth in 

12VAC35-46-870 and 12VAC35-105-590. 

3. Clinical or credentialed staff shall be experienced and 

knowledgeable about the biopsychosocial dimensions and 

treatment of substance use disorders and who are available 

onsite on site or by telephone 24 hours per day. Licensed 

clinical staff shall be able to identify acute psychiatric 

conditions and decompensation. 

4. Substance use case management is included in this level 

of care. 

5. Appropriately credentialed medical staff shall be available 

to assess and treat co-occurring biomedical disorders and to 

monitor the individual's administration of prescribed 

medications. 

D. Clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service co-occurring enhanced programs, as 

required by ASAM. 

1. Appropriate psychiatric services, including medication 

evaluation and laboratory services, shall be provided onsite 

on site or through a closely coordinated offsite provider, as 

appropriate to the severity and urgency of the individual's 

mental condition. 

2. CATPs shall be available to assess and treat co-occurring 

substance use and mental illness using specialized training 

in behavior management techniques. 

3. Credentialed addiction treatment professionals shall be 

cross-trained in addiction and mental health to understand 

the signs and symptoms of mental illness and be able to 

provide education to the individual on the interactions with 

substance use and psychotropic medications. 

12VAC30-130-5130. Covered services: clinically managed 

high intensity residential services (adult) and clinically 

managed medium intensity residential services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.5). 

A. Clinically managed high intensity residential services 

(adult) and clinically managed medium intensity residential 

services (adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.5) settings for services. 

The facility based residential treatment service provider 

(ASAM Level 3.5) shall be licensed as (i) a substance abuse 

residential treatment service for adults or children, (ii) a 

psychiatric unit that has substance abuse listed on its license or 

within the "licensed as" statements, (iii) a substance abuse 

residential treatment service for women with children, (iv) a 

substance abuse and mental health residential treatment service 

for adults and children that has substance abuse listed on its 

license or within the "licensed as" statements, (v) a Level C 

(psychiatric residential treatment facility) provider, or (vi) a 

"mental health residential-children" provider that has 

substance abuse on its license or within the "licensed as" 

statements and shall be contracted by DMAS or its contractor 

or an MCO. Residential treatment providers (ASAM Level 

3.5) shall meet the service components and staff requirements 

in this section. 

B. Clinically managed high intensity residential services 

(adult) and clinically managed medium intensity residential 

services (adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.5) service components. 

1. These residential treatment services, as required by 

ASAM, include: 

a. Telephone or in-person consultation with a physician or 

physician extender who shall be available to perform 

required physician services. Emergency services shall be 

available 24 hours per day and seven days per week; 
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b. Arrangements for more and less intensive levels of care 

and other services such as sheltered workshops, literacy 

training, and adult education; 

c. Arrangements for needed procedures, including 

medical, psychiatric, psychological, laboratory, and 

toxicology services appropriate to the severity of need; 

and 

d. Arrangements for addiction pharmacotherapy, 

including medication assisted treatment that is provided 

onsite on site or through referral. 

2. The following therapies shall be provided as directed by 

the ISP for reimbursement: 

a. Clinically directed treatment to facilitate recovery skills, 

relapse prevention, and emotional coping strategies. 

Services shall promote personal responsibility and 

reintegration of the individual into the network systems of 

work, education, and family life. Activities shall be 

designed to stabilize and maintain substance use disorder 

symptoms and apply recovery skills and may include 

relapse prevention, interpersonal choice exploration, and 

development of social networks in support of recovery. 

b. Range of cognitive, behavioral psychotherapies, and 

substance use disorder counseling administered 

individually and in family and group settings to assist the 

individual in initial involvement or re-engagement in 

regular productive daily activities, including education on 

medication management, addiction pharmacotherapy, and 

education skill building groups to enhance the individual's 

understanding of substance use and mental illness. 

c. Psychoeducational activities. 

d. Addiction pharmacotherapy and drug screening. 

e. Recreational therapy, art, music, physical therapy, and 

vocational rehabilitation. 

f. Motivational enhancements and engagement strategies. 

g. Monitoring of the adherence to prescribed medications 

and over-the-counter medications and supplements. 

h. Daily scheduled professional services and 

interdisciplinary assessments and treatment designed to 

develop and apply recovery skills. 

i. Services for family and significant others, as 

appropriate, to advance the individual's treatment goals 

and objectives identified in the ISP. 

j. Withdrawal management services may be provided as 

necessary. 

C. Clinically managed high intensity residential services 

(adult) and clinically managed medium intensity residential 

services (adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.5) staff requirements. 

1. The interdisciplinary team shall include CATPs, 

physicians, or physician extenders and allied health 

professionals. Physicians and physician extenders who have 

a current DEA registration authorizing the prescribing of 

scheduled drugs, including Schedule III drugs, and who are 

either employed by or contracted with the agency or through 

referral arrangements with the agency and who shall have a 

DEA-X number to prescribe buprenorphine. ASAM Level 

3.5 may utilize CSACs or CSAC-supervisees to provide 

substance use disorder counseling and psychoeducational 

services within their scopes of practice as defined in § 54.1-

3507.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Staff shall provide awake 24-hour onsite supervision. The 

provider's staffing plan must be in compliance with DBHDS 

licensing regulations for staffing plans set forth in 

12VAC35-46-870 and 12VAC35-105-590. 

3. Clinical staff who are experienced in and knowledgeable 

about the biopsychosocial dimensions and treatment of 

substance use disorders. Clinical staff shall be able to 

identify acute psychiatric conditions and decompensations. 

4. Substance use case management shall be provided in this 

level of care. 

5. Appropriately credentialed medical staff shall be available 

onsite on site or by telephone 24 hours per day, seven days 

per week to assess and treat co-occurring biological and 

physiological disorders and to monitor the individual's 

administration of medications in accordance with a 

physician's prescription. 

D. Clinically managed high intensity residential services 

(adult) and clinically managed medium intensity residential 

services (adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.5) co-occurring 

enhanced programs as required by ASAM. 

1. Psychiatric services, medication evaluation, and 

laboratory services shall be provided. Such services shall be 

available by telephone within eight hours of requested 

service and onsite on site or via telemedicine, or closely 

coordinated with an offsite provider within 24 hours of 

requested service, as appropriate to the severity and urgency 

of the individual's mental and physical condition. 

2. Staff shall be CATPs who are able to assess and treat co-

occurring substance use and psychiatric disorders. 

3. Planned clinical activities shall be required and shall be 

designed to stabilize and maintain the individual's mental 

health problems and psychiatric symptoms. 

4. Medication education and management shall be provided. 

12VAC30-130-5140. Covered services: medically 

monitored intensive inpatient services (adult) and 

medically monitored high intensity inpatient services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.7). 

A. Medically monitored intensive inpatient services (adult) 

and medically monitored high intensity inpatient services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.7) settings for services. The 

facility-based provider of ASAM Level 3.7 services shall be 

licensed by DBHDS as (i) a freestanding psychiatric hospital 
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or inpatient psychiatric unit with a DBHDS medical 

detoxification license or managed withdrawal license; (ii) a 

residential crisis stabilization unit with a DBHDS medical 

detoxification license or managed withdrawal license; (iii) a 

substance abuse residential treatment service for women with 

children with a DBHDS managed withdrawal license; (iv) a 

Level C (psychiatric residential treatment facility) provider; 

(v) a "mental health residential-children" provider with a 

substance abuse residential license and a DBHDS managed 

withdrawal license; (vi) a "managed withdrawal-medical detox 

adult residential treatment" provider; or (vii) a "medical detox-

chemical dependency unit" for adults and shall be contracted 

by DMAS or its contractor or the MCO. ASAM Level 3.7 

providers shall meet the service components and staff 

requirements in this section. 

B. Medically monitored intensive inpatient services (adult) 

and medically monitored high intensity inpatient services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.7) service components. The 

following therapies shall be provided as directed by the ISP for 

reimbursement: 

1. Daily clinical services provided by an interdisciplinary 

team to involve appropriate medical and nursing services, as 

well as individual, group, and family activity services. 

Activities may include pharmacological, including 

medication assisted treatment that is provided onsite on site 

or through referral; withdrawal management; cognitive-

behavioral; and other psychotherapies and substance use 

disorder counseling administered on an individual or group 

basis and modified to meet the individual's level of 

understanding and assist in the individual's recovery. 

2. Counseling and clinical monitoring to facilitate re-

involvement in regular productive daily activities and 

successful re-integration into family living if applicable. 

3. Psychoeducational activities. 

4. Random drug screens to monitor use and strengthen 

recovery and treatment gains. 

5. Regular medication monitoring. 

6. Planned clinical activities to enhance understanding of 

substance use disorders. 

7. Health education associated with the course of addiction 

and other potential health related risk factors, including 

tuberculosis, human immunodeficiency virus, hepatitis B 

and C, and other sexually transmitted infections. 

8. Evidence based practices, such as motivational 

interviewing to address an individual's readiness to change, 

designed to facilitate understanding of the relationship of the 

substance use disorder and life impacts. 

9. Daily treatments to manage acute symptoms of 

biomedical substance use or mental illness. 

10. Services to family and significant others as appropriate 

to advance the individual's treatment goals and objectives 

identified in the ISP. 

11. Physician monitoring, nursing care, and observation 

shall be available. A physician shall be available to assess 

the individual in person or via telemedicine within 24 hours 

of admission and thereafter as medically necessary. 

12. A licensed and registered nurse who shall conduct an 

alcohol or other drug-focused nursing assessment upon 

admission. A licensed registered nurse or licensed practical 

nurse shall be responsible for monitoring the individual's 

progress and for medication administration duties. 

13. Additional medical specialty consultation; 

psychological, laboratory, and toxicology services shall be 

available onsite on site, either through consultation or 

referral. 

14. Coordination of necessary services shall be available 

onsite on site or through referral to a closely coordinated 

offsite provider to transition the individual to lower levels of 

care. 

15. Psychiatric services shall be available onsite on site or 

through consultation or referral to a closely coordinated 

offsite provider when a presenting problem could be 

attended to at a later time. Such services shall be available 

within eight hours of requested service by telephone or 

within 24 hours of requested service in person or via 

telemedicine. 

C. Medically monitored intensive inpatient services (adult) 

and medically monitored high intensity inpatient services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.7) staff requirements. 

1. The interdisciplinary team shall include CATPs and 

addiction-credentialed physicians or physicians with 

experience in addiction medicine to assess, treat, and obtain 

and interpret information regarding the individual's 

psychiatric and substance use disorders. Physicians and 

physician extenders who have a current DEA registration 

authorizing the prescribing of scheduled drugs, including 

Schedule III drugs, and who are either employed by or 

contracted with the agency or through referral arrangements 

with the agency and who shall have a DEA-X number for 

prescribing buprenorphine. ASAM Level 3.7 may utilize 

CSACs or CSAC-supervisees to provide substance use 

disorder counseling and psychoeducational services within 

their scopes of practice as defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. Clinical staff shall be knowledgeable about the biological 

and psychosocial dimensions of substance use disorders and 

mental illnesses and their treatment. Clinical staff shall be 

able to identify acute psychiatric conditions, symptom 

increase or escalation, and decompensation. 
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3. Clinical staff shall be able to provide a planned regimen 

of 24-hour professionally directed evaluation, care, and 

treatment, including the administration of prescribed 

medications. 

4. An addiction-credentialed physician or physician with 

experience in addiction medicine shall oversee the treatment 

process and assure ensure quality of care. Licensed 

physicians shall perform physical examinations for all 

individuals who are admitted. Staff shall supervise addiction 

pharmacotherapy integrated with psychosocial therapies. 

The professional may be a physician or a psychiatrist, or a 

physician extender as defined in 12VAC30-130-5020 if 

knowledgeable about addiction treatment. 

D. Medically monitored intensive inpatient services (adult) 

and medically monitored high intensity inpatient services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.7) co-occurring enhanced 

programs as required by ASAM. 

1. Appropriate psychiatric services, medication evaluation, 

and laboratory services shall be available. 

2. A psychiatrist assessment of the individual shall occur 

within four hours of admission by telephone and within 24 

hours following admission in person or via telemedicine, or 

sooner, as appropriate to the individual's behavioral health 

condition, and thereafter as medically necessary. 

3. A behavioral health-focused assessment at the time of 

admission shall be performed by a registered nurse or 

licensed mental health clinician. A licensed registered nurse 

or licensed practical nurse supervised by a registered nurse 

shall be responsible for monitoring the individual's progress 

and administering or monitoring the individual's self-

administration of medications. 

4. Psychiatrists and CATPs who are able to assess and treat 

co-occurring psychiatric disorders and who have specialized 

training in the behavior management techniques and 

evidenced-based practices shall be available. 

5. Access to an addiction-credentialed physician shall be 

available along with access to either a psychiatrist, a 

certified addiction psychiatrist, or a psychiatrist with 

experience in addiction medicine. 

6. CATPs shall have experience and training in addiction 

and mental health to understand the signs and symptoms of 

mental illness and be able to provide education to the 

individual on the interaction of substance use and 

psychotropic medications. 

7. Planned clinical activities shall be offered and designed to 

promote stabilization and maintenance of the individual's 

behavioral health needs, recovery, and psychiatric 

symptoms. 

8. Medication education and management shall be offered. 

12VAC30-130-5150. Covered services: medically managed 

intensive inpatient services (ASAM Level 4.0). 

A. Medically managed intensive inpatient services (ASAM 

Level 4.0) settings for services. Acute care hospitals licensed 

by the Virginia Department of Health shall be the designated 

setting for medically managed intensive inpatient treatment 

and shall offer medically directed acute withdrawal 

management and related treatment designed to alleviate acute 

emotional, behavioral, cognitive, or biomedical distress 

resulting from, or occurring with, an individual's use of alcohol 

and other drugs. Such service settings shall offer medically 

directed acute withdrawal management and related treatment 

designed to alleviate acute emotional, behavioral, cognitive, or 

biomedical distress, or all of these, resulting from, or co-

occurring with, an individual's use of alcohol or other drugs, 

with the exception of tobacco-related disorders, caffeine-

related disorders or dependence or non-substance-related 

disorders. 

B. Medically managed intensive inpatient services (ASAM 

Level 4.0) service components. 

1. The service components of medically managed intensive 

inpatient services shall be: 

a. An evaluation or analysis of substance use disorders 

shall be provided, including the diagnosis of substance use 

disorders and the assessment of treatment needs for 

medically necessary services. 

b. Observation and monitoring the individual's course of 

withdrawal shall be provided. This shall be conducted as 

frequently as deemed appropriate for the individual and 

the level of care the individual is receiving. This may 

include, for example, observation of the individual's health 

status. 

c. Medication services, including the prescription or 

administration related to substance use disorder treatment 

services or the assessment of the side effects or results of 

that medication, conducted by appropriate licensed staff 

who provide such services within their scope of practice 

or license. 

2. The following therapies shall be provided for 

reimbursement: 

a. Daily clinical services provided by an interdisciplinary 

team to stabilize acute addictive or psychiatric symptoms. 

Activities shall include pharmacological, cognitive-

behavioral, and other psychotherapies or substance use 

disorder counseling administered on an individual or 

group basis and modified to meet the individual's level of 

understanding. For individuals with a severe biomedical 

disorder, physical health interventions are available to 

supplement addiction treatment. For the individual who 

has less stable psychiatric symptoms, ASAM Level 4.0 co-

occurring capable programs offer individualized treatment 

activities designed to monitor the individual's mental 
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health and to address the interaction of the mental health 

programs and substance use disorders. 

b. Health education services. 

c. Planned clinical interventions that are designed to 

enhance the individual's understanding and acceptance of 

illness of addiction and the recovery process. 

d. Services for the individual's family, guardian, or 

significant other, as appropriate, to advance the 

individual's treatment and recovery goals and objectives 

identified in the ISP. 

e. This level of care offers 24-hour nursing care and daily 

physician care for severe, unstable problems in any of the 

following ASAM dimensions: (i) acute intoxication or 

withdrawal potential; (ii) biomedical conditions and 

complications; and (iii) emotional, behavioral, or 

cognitive conditions and complications. 

f. Discharge services shall be the process to prepare the 

individual for referral into another level of care, post 

treatment return or reentry into the community, or the 

linkage of the individual to essential community 

treatment, housing, recovery, and human services. 

C. Medically managed intensive inpatient services (ASAM 

Level 4.0) staff requirements. 

1. An interdisciplinary staff of appropriately credentialed 

clinical staff including, for example, addiction-credentialed 

physicians or physicians with experience in addiction 

medicine, licensed nurse practitioners, licensed physician 

assistants, registered nurses, licensed professional 

counselors, licensed clinical psychologists, or licensed 

clinical social workers who assess and treat individuals with 

severe substance use disorders or addicted individuals with 

concomitant acute biomedical, emotional, or behavioral 

disorders. Physicians and physician extenders who have a 

current DEA registration authorizing the prescribing of 

scheduled drugs, including Schedule III drugs, and who are 

either employed by or contracted through the agency or 

through referral arrangements with the agency and who shall 

have a DEA-X number to prescribe buprenorphine. 

2. Medical management by physicians and primary nursing 

care shall be available 24 hours per day and counseling 

services shall be available 16 hours per day. 

D. Medically managed intensive inpatient services (ASAM 

Level 4.0) co-occurring enhanced programs. These programs 

shall be provided by appropriately licensed or registered 

credentialed mental health professionals who assess and treat 

the individual's co-occurring mental illness and are 

knowledgeable about the biological and psychosocial 

dimensions of psychiatric disorders and his treatment. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7772; Filed September 4, 2024, 7:32 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC65-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Funeral Services. 

18VAC65-40. Regulations for the Funeral Service 

Internship Program. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23238, telephone (804) 367-

4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC65-20) 

Checklist, Instructions, and Application for a Funeral License 

by Examination or Endorsement (rev. 4/2024) 

Funeral Service Reinstatement Application (rev. 6/2024) 

Application for Reactivation (Inactive to Active) of Funeral 

Service, Funeral Director, or Embalmer License (rev. 1/2024) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia Funeral License (rev. 

11/2019) 

Checklist and Instructions for Courtesy Card Application 

(rev. 3/2023) 

Checklist and Instructions for Surface Transportation and 

Removal Service Registration Application (rev. 3/2023) 

Crematory Registration Application (rev. 8/2023) 

Crematory Reinstatement Application (rev. 8/2024) 

Checklist and Instructions for Continuing Education 

Providers (rev. 3/2021) 

Instructions for Completing the Continuing Education 

Summary Form for the Virginia Board of Funeral Directors 

and Embalmers (rev. 8/2016) 

Instructions for Continuing Education Providers Adding 

Additional Courses (rev. 3/2021) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 7/2020) 

mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralLicense_ApplicationExamAndEndorsement_2024%2005-20240528142922.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralLicense_ApplicationExamAndEndorsement_2024%2005-20240528142922.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_Funeral%20Services_Reinstatement_Application_2024%2006-20240618141032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_Application%20for%20Reactivation_Inactive%20to%20Active_202401-20240120081353.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_Application%20for%20Reactivation_Inactive%20to%20Active_202401-20240120081353.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Verif_VA-20210104103943.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Verif_VA-20210104103943.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_CourtesyCardApplication_032023-20230315154206.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_CourtesyCardApplication_032023-20230315154206.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_SurfaceTransportationandRemovalServices_032023-20230315155236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_SurfaceTransportationandRemovalServices_032023-20230315155236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_CrematoryApplication_082023%201-20230822112334.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_CrematoryReinstatementApplication_082024-20240829154704.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_CEProviders_2021-20210421120741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_CEProviders_2021-20210421120741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CESummary-20210104110108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CESummary-20210104110108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CESummary-20210104110108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CE_Adding_2021-20210421120928.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CE_Adding_2021-20210421120928.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CE_VolunteerPractice-20210104110514.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CE_VolunteerPractice-20210104110514.pdf
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Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 

7/2012) 

Funeral Service New Establishment Application (rev. 

3/2023) 

Funeral Service Establishment/Branch Application (rev. 

3/2023) 

Funeral Service Branch Establishment Application (rev. 

3/2023) 

Funeral Service Establishment/Branch Change Application 

(rev. 3/2023) 

Funeral Establishment or Branch Change of Manager 

Application (rev. 3/2023) 

Request for Reinspection due to Structural Change to 

Preparation Room (rev. 7/2020) 

Waiver of Full-Time Manager (rev. 3/2023) 

Funeral Service Establishment Reinstatement Application 

(rev. 3/2023) 

Courtesy Card Reinstatement Application (rev. 3/2023) 

Surface Transportation and Removal Services Reinstatement 

Application (rev. 3/2023) 

Funeral Service Establishment Reinstatement Application 

(rev. 8/2024) 

Courtesy Card Reinstatement Application (rev. 8/2024) 

Surface Transportation and Removal Services Reinstatement 

Application (rev. 8/2024) 

Presentation Request Form (rev. 7/2020) 

Name or Address Change Form (rev. 2/2016) 

Appendix I. General Price List (rev. 10/2019) 

Appendix II. Casket Price List, Outer Burial Container Price 

List (rev. 10/2019) 

Appendix III. Itemized Statement of Funeral Goods and 

Services Selected (rev. 10/2019) 

FORMS (18VAC65-40) 

Funeral Supervisor Registration Application (rev. 3/2023) 

Funeral Change of Supervisor Application (rev. 3/2023) 

Checklist, Instructions, and Registration Application for 

Funeral Service Internship Program (rev. 4/2024) 

Checklist, Instructions, and Registration Application for 

Funeral Directing Internship Program (rev. 4/2024) 

Checklist, Instructions, and Registration Application for 

Funeral Embalming Internship Program (rev. 4/2024) 

First 1000 Hour Funeral Service Internship Report – Funeral 

Directing (rev.1/2021) 

Second 1000 Hour Funeral Service Internship Report – 

Funeral Directing (rev. 1/2021) 

Funeral Service Internship Report of Final Completion – 

Funeral Directing (rev. 1/2021) 

First 1000 Hour Embalming Internship Report (rev. 1/2021) 

Second 1000 Hour Embalming Internship Report (rev. 

1/2021) 

Embalming Internship Report of Final Completion (rev. 

1/2021) 

Funeral Intern Reinstatement Application (rev. 3/2023) 

Funeral Intern Reinstatement Application (rev. 8/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8055; Filed August 29, 2024, 3:50 p.m. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators (amending 

18VAC95-20-80, 18VAC95-20-130, 18VAC95-20-175, 

18VAC95-20-180, 18VAC95-20-220, 18VAC95-20-230, 

18VAC95-20-300, 18VAC95-20-440; adding 18VAC95-20-

201). 

18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Assisted Living Facility Administrators (amending 

18VAC95-30-40, 18VAC95-30-70, 18VAC95-30-80, 

18VAC95-30-130, 18VAC95-30-140, 18VAC95-30-200; 

adding 18VAC95-30-91). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 25, 2024 - 10 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Hearing Room Five, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Henrico, Virginia 23238. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 22, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233-1463, telephone 

(804) 367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia establishes 

the general powers and duties of health regulatory boards, 

including the responsibility to promulgate regulations that are 

reasonable and necessary. 

Purpose: The proposed amendments are necessary to public 

health, safety, and welfare because they ensure that an 

adequate number of available nursing home administrators and 

assisted living facility administrators maintain licensure status 

with the Commonwealth. 

Substance: This proposed action was initiated to implement 

changes targeted toward regulatory reduction as specified in 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/ContComp_Activity-20210104110618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/ContComp_Activity-20210104110618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_NewEstablishmentApplication_032023-20230315155103.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_NewEstablishmentApplication_032023-20230315155103.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchApplication_032023-20230315154551.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchApplication_032023-20230315154551.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_BranchEstablishmentApplication_032023-20230315154745.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_BranchEstablishmentApplication_032023-20230315154745.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchChangeApplication_032023-20230315154903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchChangeApplication_032023-20230315154903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchChangeOfManager_032023-20230315155011.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_EstablishmentBranchChangeOfManager_032023-20230315155011.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Reinspection-20210104112416.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Reinspection-20210104112416.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_WaiverofFull-TimeManager_032023-20230315155337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/EstablishmentReinstatementApplication_082024-20240829154332.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/EstablishmentReinstatementApplication_082024-20240829154332.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_CourtesyCardReinstatementApplication_082024_use%20this%20one-20240829154913.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/SurfaceTransportRemoval_Reinstatement_082024-20240829154451.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/SurfaceTransportRemoval_Reinstatement_082024-20240829154451.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Presentation_2020-20210421121111.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Name_Address_2016-20210421121134.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6410/1036f006410~11.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3886b006212~219.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3886b006212~219.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=915b2006212~229.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=915b2006212~229.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralSupervisorRegistrationApplication_032023-20230315160751.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralChangeofSupervisorApplication_032023-20230315160355.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralService_InternshipProgramApplication_2024%2005-20240528143316.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralService_InternshipProgramApplication_2024%2005-20240528143316.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralDirecting_InternshipProgramApplication_2024%2005-20240528143231.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralDirecting_InternshipProgramApplication_2024%2005-20240528143231.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralEmbalming_InternshipProgramApplication_2024%2005-20240528143345.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralEmbalming_InternshipProgramApplication_2024%2005-20240528143345.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingFirst%201000_2021-20210421122212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingFirst%201000_2021-20210421122212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingSecond%201000_2021-20210421122236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingSecond%201000_2021-20210421122236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingFinal%201000_2021-20210421122318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/DirectingFinal%201000_2021-20210421122318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Embalming_First1000_2021-20210421123039.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Embalming_Second1000_2021-20210421123054.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Embalming_Second1000_2021-20210421123054.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Embalming_Final%201000_2021-20210421122524.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Embalming_Final%201000_2021-20210421122524.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FDE_FuneralIntern_ReinstatementApplication_082024-20240829154133.pdf
mailto:@corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov
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Executive Order 19 (2022). Amendments include (i) creating a 

pathway for inactive licensure for nursing home administrators 

and assisted living facility administrators in new sections 

18VAC95-20-201 and 18VAC95-30-91; (ii) eliminating 

requirements for attestations of compliance with existing laws 

from application and renewal requirements throughout both 

chapters; (iii) removing requirements for all documents in an 

application for licensure to be submitted at the same time 

throughout both chapters; and (iv) removing requirements to 

obtain new preceptors within 60 days upon interruption of a 

preceptor program in 18VAC95-20-440 and 18VAC95-30-

200. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that this action 

reduces regulatory burden by eliminating needless attestations 

and requirements, and there are no disadvantages to the public. 

There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

response to Executive Order 19 (2022) and Executive 

Directive 1 (2022), the Board of Long-Term Care 

Administrators (board) proposes to remove some discretionary 

requirements and add an option for licensees to maintain an 

inactive license in the regulations governing nursing home and 

assisted living facility (ALF) administrators. 

Background. Executive Directive Number One (2022) directs 

Executive Branch entities under the authority of the Governor 

"to initiate regulatory processes to reduce by at least 25% the 

number of regulations not mandated by federal or state statute, 

in consultation with the Office of the Attorney General, and in 

a manner consistent with the laws of the Commonwealth."2 

Accordingly, the board seeks to make a number of 

amendments that would increase flexibility and reduce burdens 

for the regulated community. Most of the proposed changes are 

identical in the two chapters, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Nursing Home Administrators (18VAC95-20) and 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Assisted Living Facility 

Administrators (18VAC95-30). The most significant changes 

are summarized. 

Adding inactive licensure status: Both chapters currently 

require licensees to renew a license or preceptor registration by 

March 31 of each year. New sections 18VAC95-20-201 and 

18VAC95-30-91 would be added in each chapter, respectively, 

to allow current licensees to convert a license to inactive status 

when renewing the license. Both proposed sections contain 

identical stipulations that would (i) prohibit inactive licensees 

from performing any act requiring a license or registering to 

serve as a preceptor and (ii) exempt inactive licensees from 

meeting continuing education requirements, unless they 

choose to reactivate their license. Both proposed sections 

would allow inactive licensees to reactivate a license by (i) 

paying the difference between the inactive license fee and the 

active license fee for the year that the license is being 

reactivated and (ii) completing the continuing competency 

hours required for the period in which the license has been 

inactive, not to exceed three years.3 The proposed continuing 

competency requirement for reactivating the license is 

identical to the current requirement for license reinstatement. 

However, the board reports that other requirements for license 

reinstatement, such as an investigation by the Enforcement 

division, would not apply for license reactivation. Thus, the 

option to hold an inactive license for any period of time would 

provide greater flexibility to licensees who may want to 

temporarily step away from active professional practice or who 

are employed in roles that do not require an active license. 

The sections on required fees in both chapters (18VAC95-20-

80 and 18VAC95-30-40, respectively) would also be 

identically amended to add a $150 fee for inactive license 

renewal and a $35 fee for inactive license late renewal. For 

comparison, the current license renewal fee is $315 and the late 

renewal fee is $110. The board reports that these fees were set 

by comparing inactive license renewal fees among other 

boards and determining a comparable amount.4 

Removing discretionary requirements: The board proposes to 

make the following changes to reduce the regulatory burden on 

licensees: Remove a requirement that licensees provide the 

"signature of an authorized representative of the approved 

sponsor" for evidence of attendance for continuing education. 

The board reports that virtual continuing education offerings 

have made this requirement outdated and onerous. Add "as 

documented in the NAB [National Association of Long-Term 

Care Administrator Boards] continuing education registry" as 

an option for licensees to demonstrate completion of 

continuing education requirements if they are contacted for an 

audit. The board notes that this information can be easily 

verified in the online registry, which removes the burden of 

providing this documentation from licensees. Remove a 

requirement that applicants for licensure as nursing home 

administrators who have completed an "administrator-in-

training" program complete the board's Domains of Practice 

form. This requirement is duplicative as the applicants for 

complete the form during training. Remove a requirement for 

"an attestation that he has read and understands and will remain 

current with the applicable Virginia laws and regulations" for 

each profession in each chapter, respectively. The board 

reports that this attestation is now a standard part of the 

application form. Remove a requirement that all parts of the 

application package be submitted at the same time. Board staff 

cannot act on a license until all parts of the package are 

received, so the timing of each component does not matter. 

Remove a requirement that an administrator-in-training whose 

program is interrupted because the registered preceptor is 
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unable to serve must obtain a new registered preceptor within 

60 days. The board deems this timeline to be arbitrary and 

unnecessarily burdensome. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

would benefit currently licensed nursing home administrators 

and ALF administrators, as well as those seeking to pursue 

licensure in those professions, by allowing for inactive 

licensure, thereby increasing flexibility, and by removing a 

number of requirements, mainly relating to the application 

process and the continuing education requirements. As 

mentioned previously, the process to reactivate an inactive 

license would be less rigorous than the process to reinstate a 

license that had expired, which could include an investigation 

by the Enforcement division. Although new fees would be 

added for renewing a license under inactive status, those fees 

would only apply if licensees chose to renew a license under 

that status and would be lower than the normal license renewal 

fee. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The Department of 

Health Professions reports that as of December 2023, the board 

had 2,159 licensees. As mentioned previously, currently 

licensed professionals as well as those seeking licensure in the 

future, would benefit from the increased flexibility and reduced 

requirements. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.5 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined.6 As noted, the 

proposal serves to reduce the regulatory burden on licensees. 

Thus, no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments 

would not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments would 

neither affect any locality in particular nor create new costs for 

any local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would not affect the value of private property. 

Real estate development costs would not be affected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-

virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf. 

3 The current continuing education requirement is 20 hours per year, so inactive 

licensees seeking to reactivate would have to complete a maximum of 60 hours 

of continuing education. 

4 See Agency Background Document (ABD), pages 8 and 10: 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=28\6189\10113\Agency 

Statement_DHP_10113_v1.pdf. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

8 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

9 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

10 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Long-Term Care Administrators concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) create a pathway for 

inactive licensure for nursing home administrators and 

assisted living facility administrators; (ii) eliminate 

requirements for attestations of compliance with existing 

laws from application and renewal requirements; (iii) 

remove requirements for all documents in an application 

for licensure to be submitted at the same time; and (iv) 

remove requirements to obtain new preceptors within 60 

days upon interruption of a preceptor program. 

18VAC95-20-80. Required fees. 

The applicant or licensee shall submit all fees in this section 

that apply: 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=28/6189/10113/AgencyStatement_DHP_10113_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=28/6189/10113/AgencyStatement_DHP_10113_v1.pdf
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1. AIT program application $215 

2. Preceptor application $65 

3. Licensure application $315 

4. Verification of licensure requests from other 

states 

$35 

5. Nursing home administrator license renewal $315 

6. Inactive nursing home administrator license 

renewal 
$150 

7. Preceptor renewal $65 

7. Penalty 8. Fee for nursing home administrator 

late renewal 

$110 

8. Penalty 9. Fee for preceptor late renewal $25 

9. 10. Fee for late inactive licensure renewal $35 

11. Nursing home administrator reinstatement $435 

10. 12. Preceptor reinstatement $105 

11. 13. Duplicate license $25 

12. 14. Duplicate wall certificates $40 

13. 15. Reinstatement after disciplinary action $1,000 

18VAC95-20-130. Additional fee information. 

A. There shall be a fee of $50 for a returned check or a 

dishonored credit card or debit card. 

B. Fees shall not be refunded once submitted. 

C. Examination fees are to be paid directly to the service 

contracted by the board to administer or entity that administers 

the examinations. 

Part II 

Renewals and, Reinstatements, and Inactive Licenses 

18VAC95-20-175. Continuing education requirements. 

A. In order to renew a nursing home administrator license, an 

applicant shall attest on his the renewal application to 

completion of 20 hours of approved continuing education for 

each renewal year. 

1. Up to 10 of the 20 hours may be obtained through Internet 

or self-study courses and up to 10 continuing education 

hours in excess of the number required may be transferred 

or credited to the next renewal year. 

2. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. 

3. At least two hours of continuing education for each 

renewal year shall relate to the care of residents with mental 

or cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease and 

dementia. 

4. A licensee who serves as the registered preceptor in an 

approved AIT or Assisted Living Facility AIT program may 

receive one hour of continuing education credit for each 

week of training up to a maximum of 10 hours of self-study 

course credit for each renewal year. 

5. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements and considered in compliance on the 

first renewal date following initial licensure. 

B. In order for continuing education to be approved by the 

board, it shall (i) be related to health care administration and 

shall be approved or offered by NAB, an accredited institution, 

or a government agency or (ii) as provided in subdivision A 2 

of this section. 

C. Documentation of continuing education. 

1. The licensee shall retain in the licensee's personal files for 

a period of three renewal years complete documentation of 

continuing education, including evidence of attendance or 

participation as provided by the approved sponsor for each 

course taken. 

2. Evidence of attendance shall be an original document 

provided by the approved sponsor and shall include: 

a. Date the course was taken; 

b. Hours of attendance or participation; and 

c. Participant's name; and 

d. Signature of an authorized representative of the 

approved sponsor. 

3. If contacted for an audit, the licensee shall forward to the 

board by the date requested a signed affidavit of completion 

on forms provided by the board and evidence of attendance 

or participation as provided by the approved sponsor or as 

documented in the NAB continuing education registry. 

D. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an 

exemption for all or part of the continuing education 

requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the 

administrator, such as a certified illness, a temporary disability, 

mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 

The request for an extension shall be received in writing and 

granted by the board prior to the renewal date. 
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18VAC95-20-180. Late renewal. 

A. A person who fails to renew his a license or preceptor 

registration by the expiration date shall may, within one year 

of the initial expiration date: 

1. Return the renewal notice or request renewal in writing to 

the board; and 

2. Submit the applicable renewal fee and late fee. 

B. The documents required in subsection A of this section 

shall be received in the board office within one year of the 

initial expiration date. Postmarks shall not be considered. 

18VAC95-20-201. Inactive licensure.  

A. A nursing home administrator who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a request for 

inactive status on the renewal application and submission of 

the required renewal fee, be issued an inactive license. 

1. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 

act requiring a license to practice nursing home 

administration or registration to serve as a preceptor in 

Virginia. 

2. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 

meet continuing education requirements, except as may be 

required for reactivation in subsection B of this section. 

B. A nursing home administrator who holds an inactive 

license may reactivate a license by: 

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 

inactive license and that of an active license for the year in 

which the license is being reactivated; and 

2. Providing proof of completion of the number of 

continuing competency hours required for the period in 

which the license has been inactive, not to exceed three 

years. 

18VAC95-20-220. Qualifications for initial licensure. 

One of the following sets of qualifications is required for 

licensure as a nursing home administrator: 

1. Degree and practical experience. The applicant shall (i) 

hold a baccalaureate or higher degree in a health care-related 

field that meets the requirements of 18VAC95-20-221 from 

an accredited institution;, (ii) have completed not less than a 

320-hour internship that addresses the Domains of Practice 

as specified in 18VAC95-20-390 in a licensed nursing home 

as part of the degree program under the supervision of a 

preceptor;, and (iii) have received a passing grade on the 

national examination; 

2. Certificate program. The applicant shall (i) hold a 

baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited college or 

university, (ii) successfully complete a program with a 

minimum of 21 semester hours study in a health care-related 

field that meets the requirements of 18VAC95-20-221 from 

an accredited institution, (iii) successfully complete not less 

than a 400-hour internship that addresses the Domains of 

Practice as specified in 18VAC95-20-390 in a licensed 

nursing home as part of the certificate program under the 

supervision of a preceptor, and (iv) have received a passing 

grade on the national examination; 

3. Administrator-in-training program. The applicant shall 

have (i) successfully completed an AIT program that meets 

the requirements of Part IV (18VAC95-20-300 et seq.) of 

this chapter, and (ii) received a passing grade on the national 

examination, and (iii) completed the Domains of Practice 

form required by the board; or 

4. Health Services Executive (HSE) credential. The 

applicant shall provide evidence that he the applicant has 

met the minimum education, experience, and examination 

standards established by NAB for qualification as a Health 

Services Executive. 

18VAC95-20-230. Application package. 

A. An application for licensure shall be submitted after the 

applicant completes the qualifications for licensure. 

B. An individual seeking licensure as a nursing home 

administrator or registration as a preceptor shall submit: 

1. A completed application as provided by the board; 

2. Additional documentation as may be required by the 

board to determine eligibility of the applicant; 

3. The applicable fee; and 

4. An attestation that he has read and understands and will 

remain current with the applicable Virginia laws and 

regulations relating to the administration of nursing homes; 

and 5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB). 

C. With the exception of school transcripts, examination 

scores, the NPDB report, employer verifications, and 

verifications from other state boards, all parts of the application 

package shall be submitted at the same time. An incomplete 

package shall be retained by the board for one year, after which 

time the application shall be destroyed and a new application 

and fee shall be required. 

18VAC95-20-300. Administrator-in-training 

qualifications. 

A. To be approved as an administrator-in-training, a person 

shall: 

1. Have received a passing grade on a total of 60 semester 

hours of education from an accredited institution; 

2. Obtain a registered preceptor to provide training; 

3. Submit the fee prescribed in 18VAC95-20-80; 
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4. Submit the application and Domains of Practice form 

provided by the board; and 

5. Submit additional documentation as may be necessary to 

determine eligibility of the applicant and the number of 

hours required for the AIT program. 

B. With the exception of school transcripts, all required parts 

of the application package shall be submitted at the same time. 

An incomplete package shall be retained by the board for one 

year after which time the application shall be destroyed and a 

new application and fee shall be required. 

18VAC95-20-440. Interruption of program. 

A. If the program is interrupted because the registered 

preceptor is unable to serve, the AIT shall notify the board 

within five working days and shall obtain a new preceptor who 

is registered with the board within 60 days. 

B. Credit for training shall resume when a new preceptor is 

obtained and approved by the board. 

C. If an alternate training plan is developed, it shall be 

submitted to the board for approval before the AIT resumes 

training. 

18VAC95-30-40. Required fees. 

A. The applicant or licensee shall submit all fees in this 

subsection that apply: 

1. ALF AIT program application $215 

2. Preceptor application $65 

3. Licensure application $315 

4. Verification of licensure requests from other 

states 

$35 

5. Assisted living facility administrator license 

renewal 

$315 

6. Inactive license renewal $150 

7. Preceptor renewal $65 

7. Penalty 8. Fee for assisted living facility 

administrator late renewal 

$110 

8. Penalty 9. Fee for preceptor late renewal $25 

10. Fee for inactive license late renewal $35 

9. 11. Assisted living facility administrator 

reinstatement 

$435 

10. 12. Preceptor reinstatement $105 

11. 13. Duplicate license $25 

12. 14. Duplicate wall certificates $40 

13. 15. Returned check or dishonored credit 

card or debit card 

$50 

14. 16. Reinstatement after disciplinary action $1,000 

B. Fees shall not be refunded once submitted. 

C. Examination fees are to be paid directly to the service 

contracted by the board to administer or entity that administers 

the examination. 

Part II 

Renewals and, Reinstatements, and Inactive Licenses 

18VAC95-30-70. Continuing education requirements. 

A. In order to renew an assisted living administrator license, 

an applicant shall attest on the applicant's renewal application 

to completion of 20 hours of approved continuing education 

for each renewal year. 

1. Up to 10 of the 20 hours may be obtained through Internet 

or self-study courses and up to 10 continuing education 

hours in excess of the number required may be transferred 

or credited to the next renewal year. 

2. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. 

3. At least two hours of continuing education for each 

renewal year shall relate to the care of residents with mental 

or cognitive impairments, including Alzheimer's disease and 

dementia. 

4. A licensee who serves as the registered preceptor in an 

approved ALF AIT program may receive one hour of 

continuing education credit for each week of training up to a 

maximum of 10 hours of self-study course credit for each 

renewal year. 

5. A licensee is exempt from completing continuing 

education requirements for the first renewal following initial 

licensure in Virginia. 

B. In order for continuing education to be approved by the 

board, it shall (i) be related to the Domains of Practice for 

residential care/assisted care or assisted living and approved or 

offered by NAB, an accredited educational institution, or a 

governmental agency or (ii) be as provided in subdivision A 2 

of this section. 

C. Documentation of continuing education. 

1. The licensee shall retain in his the licensee's personal files 

for a period of three renewal years complete documentation 

of continuing education including evidence of attendance or 
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participation as provided by the approved sponsor for each 

course taken. 

2. Evidence of attendance shall be an original document 

provided by the approved sponsor and shall include: 

a. Date the course was taken; 

b. Hours of attendance or participation; and 

c. Participant's name; and 

d. Signature of an authorized representative of the 

approved sponsor. 

3. If contacted for an audit, the licensee shall forward to the 

board by the date requested a signed affidavit of completion 

on forms provided by the board and evidence of attendance 

or participation as provided by the approved sponsor or as 

documented in the NAB continuing education registry. 

D. The board may grant an extension of up to one year or an 

exemption for all or part of the continuing education 

requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the 

administrator, such as a certified illness, a temporary disability, 

mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 

The request for an extension shall be submitted in writing and 

granted by the board prior to the renewal date. 

18VAC95-30-80. Late renewal. 

A. A person who fails to renew his a license or preceptor 

registration by the expiration date shall may, within one year 

of the initial expiration date: 

1. Submit the renewal notice or request renewal by mail to 

the board; 

2. Submit the applicable renewal fee and penalty fee; 

3. Provide evidence as may be necessary to establish 

eligibility for renewal. 

B. The documents required in subsection A of this section 

shall be received in the board office within one year of the 

initial expiration date. Postmarks shall not be considered. 

18VAC95-30-91. Inactive licensure.  

A. An assisted living facility administrator who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a request 

for inactive status on the renewal application and submission 

of the required renewal fee, be issued an inactive license. 

1. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 

act requiring a license to practice assisted living facility 

administration or registration to serve as a preceptor in 

Virginia. 

2. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 

meet continuing education requirements, except as may be 

required for reactivation in subsection B of this section. 

B. An assisted living facility administrator who holds an 

inactive license may reactivate such license by: 

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 

inactive license and that of an active license for the year in 

which the license is being reactivated; and 

2. Providing proof of completion of the number of 

continuing competency hours required for the period in 

which the license has been inactive, not to exceed three 

years. 

18VAC95-30-130. Application package. 

A. An application for licensure shall be submitted after the 

applicant completes the qualifications for licensure. 

B. An individual seeking licensure as an assisted living 

facility administrator or registration as a preceptor shall 

submit: 

1. A completed application as provided by the board; 

2. Additional documentation as may be required by the 

board to determine eligibility of the applicant, to include the 

most recent survey report if the applicant has been serving 

as an acting administrator of a facility; 

3. The applicable fee; and 

4. An attestation that he has read and understands and will 

remain current with the applicable Virginia laws and the 

regulations relating to assisted living facilities; and 5. A 

current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

C. With the exception of school transcripts, examination 

scores, the NPDB report, employer verifications, and 

verifications from other state boards, all parts of the application 

package shall be submitted at the same time. An incomplete 

package shall be retained by the board for one year, after which 

time the application shall be destroyed and a new application 

and fee shall be required. 

18VAC95-30-140. Training qualifications. 

A. To be approved as an ALF administrator-in-training, a 

person shall: 

1. Meet the requirements of 18VAC95-30-100 A 1; 

2. Obtain a registered preceptor to provide training; 

3. Submit the application and Domains of Practice form 

provided by the board and the fee prescribed in 18VAC95-

30-40; and 

4. Submit additional documentation as may be necessary to 

determine eligibility of the applicant and the number of 

hours required for the ALF AIT program. 

B. With the exception of school transcripts, all required parts 

of the application package shall be submitted at the same time. 

An incomplete package shall be retained by the board for one 

year after which time the application shall be destroyed and a 

new application and fee shall be required. 
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18VAC95-30-200. Interruption or termination of program. 

A. If the program is interrupted because the registered 

preceptor is unable to serve, the trainee shall notify the board 

within 10 working days and shall obtain a new preceptor who 

is registered with the board within 60 days. 

1. Credit for training shall resume when a new preceptor is 

obtained and approved by the board. 

2. If an alternate training plan is developed, it shall be 

submitted to the board for approval before the trainee 

resumes training. 

B. If the training program is terminated prior to completion, 

the trainee and the preceptor shall each submit a written 

explanation of the causes of program termination to the board 

within 10 business days. The preceptor shall also submit all 

required monthly progress reports completed prior to 

termination within 10 business days. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7641; Filed August 22, 2024, 2:58 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators. 

18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Assisted Living Facility Administrators. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23238, telephone (804) 367-

4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC95-20) 

Checklist and Instructions for Nursing Home Administrator 

Application for Initial Licensure (rev. 3/2023) 

Checklist and Instructions for Nursing Home Administrator 

Application by Endorsement (rev. 3/2023) 

Nursing Home Administrator Reinstatement Application 

(rev. 1/2024) 

Nursing Home Administrator Reinstatement Application 

(rev. 8/2024) 

Checklist and Instructions for Nursing Home Administrator-

in-Training (rev. 3/2023) 

Nursing Home Administrator-in-Training Notice of Change 

of Status or Discontinuance (rev. 7/2020) 

Nursing Home Administrator Preceptor Application (rev. 

1/2024) 

Preceptor Reinstatement Application (rev. 1/2024) 

Preceptor Reinstatement Application (rev. 8/2024) 

Monthly Report of Nursing Home Administrator-in-Training 

(rev. 12/2022) 

Nursing Home Administrator-in-Training Documentation of 

Completion Form (rev. 12/2022) 

Proposed Administrator-in-Training Program Training Plan 

Domains of Practice (rev. 12/2022) 

Continuing Education Affidavit of Completion for Nursing 

Home Administrators (rev. 12/2022) 

Continued Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 7/2020) 

FORMS (18VAC95-30) 

Checklist and Instructions for Assisted Living Facility 

Administrator Application for Licensure (rev. 3/2023) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrators Education and 

Experience Matrix (rev. 12/2022) 

Monthly Report of Assisted Living Facility Administrator-in-

Training (rev. 12/2022) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator-in-Training 

Documentation of Completion Form (rev. 12/2022) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator-in-Training Notice of 

Change of Status or Discontinuance (rev. 7/2020) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator Preceptor Application 

(rev. 1/2024) 

Proposed AIT Program Training Plan Domains of Practice 

(rev. 12/2022) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator Reinstatement 

Application (rev. 1/2024) 

Preceptor Reinstatement Application (rev. 1/2024) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator Reinstatement 

Application (rev. 8/2024) 

Preceptor Reinstatement Application (rev. 8/2024) 

Checklist and Instructions for Assisted Living Facility 

Administrator-in-Training (rev. 3/2023) 

Checklist and Instructions for Acting Assisted Living Facility 

Administrator-in-Training (rev. 3/2023) 

Continuing Education Affidavit of Completion for Assisted 

Living Facility Administrators (rev. 12/2022) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 7/2020) 

mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA_Initial_App_032023-20230316104313.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA_Initial_App_032023-20230316104313.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA_Endorsement_App_032023-20230316104219.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA_Endorsement_App_032023-20230316104219.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA%20and%20ALFA_Reinstatement_App_082024-20240829153056.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA%20and%20ALFA_Reinstatement_App_082024-20240829153056.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA_AIT_App_032023-20230316103542.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA_AIT_App_032023-20230316103542.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/NoticeofChange_Discontinue-20201229170305.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/NoticeofChange_Discontinue-20201229170305.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA_Preceptor_App_012024-20240130142705.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA_Preceptor_App_012024-20240130142705.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_Preceptor_Reinstatement_App_082024-20240829153141.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Monthly%20Report%20of%20Nursing%20Home%20Administrator-in-Training-20221228133427-20221228165108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Monthly%20Report%20of%20Nursing%20Home%20Administrator-in-Training-20221228133427-20221228165108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Nursing%20Home%20Administrator-in-Training%20Documentation%20of%20Completion%20Form-20221228133618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Nursing%20Home%20Administrator-in-Training%20Documentation%20of%20Completion%20Form-20221228133618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Proposed%20AIT%20Program%20Training%20Plan%20Domains%20of%20Practice-20221228134032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Proposed%20AIT%20Program%20Training%20Plan%20Domains%20of%20Practice-20221228134032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/ContinuingEducationAffidavitofCompletion_122022-20221228133138.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/ContinuingEducationAffidavitofCompletion_122022-20221228133138.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/CE_VolunteerPracticeLTCA-20201229170600.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/CE_VolunteerPracticeLTCA-20201229170600.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_ALFA_Licensure_App_032023-20230316110036.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_ALFA_Licensure_App_032023-20230316110036.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Assisted%20Living%20Facility%20Administrators%20Education%20and%20Experience%20Matrix-20221228135127.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Assisted%20Living%20Facility%20Administrators%20Education%20and%20Experience%20Matrix-20221228135127.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Monthly%20Report%20for%20Assisted%20Living%20Facility%20Administrators-in-Training-20221228135750%20(1)-20221228161759.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Monthly%20Report%20for%20Assisted%20Living%20Facility%20Administrators-in-Training-20221228135750%20(1)-20221228161759.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Assisted%20Living%20Facility%20Administrator-in-Training%20Documentation%20of%20Completion%20Form-20221228135022.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Assisted%20Living%20Facility%20Administrator-in-Training%20Documentation%20of%20Completion%20Form-20221228135022.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Change_Discontinuance-20210104150253.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Change_Discontinuance-20210104150253.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_ALFA_Preceptor_App_012024-20240130143156.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_ALFA_Preceptor_App_012024-20240130143156.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Proposed%20AIT%20Program%20Training%20Plan%20Domains%20of%20Practice-20221228134032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Proposed%20AIT%20Program%20Training%20Plan%20Domains%20of%20Practice-20221228134032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA%20and%20ALFA_Reinstatement_App_082024-20240829153323.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_NHA%20and%20ALFA_Reinstatement_App_082024-20240829153323.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_Preceptor_Reinstatement_App_082024-20240829153141.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_ALFA_AIT_App_032023-20230316105533.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_ALFA_AIT_App_032023-20230316105533.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_ALFA_Acting_AIT_App_032023-20230316105421.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/LTCA_ALFA_Acting_AIT_App_032023-20230316105421.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/ContinuingEducationAffidavitofCompletion_122022-20221228135606.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/ContinuingEducationAffidavitofCompletion_122022-20221228135606.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/CE_VolunteerPractice-20210104150531.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/CE_VolunteerPractice-20210104150531.pdf
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Name/Address Change Form (rev. 1/2021) 

Request for Verification of Virginia Long-Term Care 

Administrators License (rev. 11/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8054; Filed August 29, 2024, 3:34 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322, 

18VAC110-20-323). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 23, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove from regulatory text compounds 

placed in Schedules I, II, IV, and V of the Drug Control 

Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) by 

Chapters 62 and 228 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly. 

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. N,N-diethyl-2-[5-nitro-2-(4-propoxy 

benzyl)-1H-benzimidazol-1-yl]ethanamine (other name: 

Protonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and 

salts is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(cyclohexylamino)butan-1-one 

(other names: Cybutylone, N-cyclohexyl Butylone), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

3. Compounds expected to have depressant properties. 8-

bromo-6-(2-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo 

[4,3-a][1,4]benzodiazepine (other names: Clobromazolam, 

Phenazolam), its salts, isomers (optical, position, and 

geometric), and salts of isomers whenever the existence of 

such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

4. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. 5-bromo-N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-

1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-5Br-

INACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-5-bromo-

1-butylindazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-5'Br-

BUTINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until July 31, 2024, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. 2-methyl-N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-

phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl]butanamide (other name: 2-

methyl butyryl fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 

salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

a. 1-(7-methoxy-1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)propan-2-amine 

(other names: 5-methoxy-3,4-methylenedioxyampheta 

mine, 3-methoxy MDA, MMDA), its salts, isomers 

(optical, position, and geometric), and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 1-[1-(3-chlorophenyl)cyclohexyl]-piperidine (other 

names: 3-Chloro Phencyclidine, 3Cl-PCP, 3-chloro PCP), 

its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Compound expected to have depressant properties. 7-

bromo-5-phenyl-1,3-dihydro-1,4-benzodiazepin-2-one 

(other names: Desalkylgidazepam, Bromonordiazepam), its 

salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

4. Compound classified as a cannabimimetic agent. Methyl 

N-[(5-bromo-1H-indazol-3-yl)carbonyl]-3-methyl-valinate 

(other name: MDMB-5Br-INACA), its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until October 12, 2024, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/NameAddressChange_Form-20210108140053.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Request_VA_Verif-20210104150617.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Request_VA_Verif-20210104150617.pdf
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioids. 

a. 2-(4-isopropoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1-[2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl) 

ethyl]-1H-benzo[d]imidazole (other name: N-Pyrro lidino 

Isotonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 

and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 5-nitro-2-(4-propoxybenzyl)-1-[2-(pyrrolidin-1-yl) 

ethyl]-1H-benzo[d]imidazole (other names: N-Pyrro 

lidino Protonitazene, Protonitazepyne), its isomers, esters, 

ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

c. N-phenyl-N-(1-propionyl-4-piperidinyl)-propanamide 

(other name: N-propionyl Norfentanyl), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

2. Synthetic compounds. 

a. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)pent 

anamide (other names: para-fluoro valeryl fentanyl, para-

fluoro pentanoyl fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 

and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-

yl]acetamide (other name: para-fluoroacetyl fentanyl), its 

isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 

and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

a. 1-[1-(3-fluorophenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 

names: 3-fluoro Phencyclidine, 3F-PCP), its salts, isomers 

(optical, position, and geometric), and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 2-(ethylamino)-2-(2-fluorophenyl)-cyclohexanone 

(other names: 2-fluoro-2-oxo PCE, 2-fluoro NENDCK), 

its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

4. Compounds expected to have depressive properties: 

a. 6-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo[4,3-a] 

[1,4]benzodiazepine (other names: 4'-chloro 

Deschloroalprazolam, 4'Cl-Deschloroalprazolam), its 

salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

b. 7-chloro-5-(2-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-3H-1,4-benzo 

diazepin-2-one (other names: Diclazepam, 2-Chloro 

diazepam), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

5. Central nervous system stimulant. 2-(3-chlorophenyl)-3-

methylmorpholine (other name: 3-chlorophenmetrazine), its 

salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until March 27, 2025, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

D. A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. 

a. N-ethyl-2-[5-nitro-2-[(4-propan-2-yloxyphenyl) methyl] 

benzimidazol-1-yl]ethanamine (other name: N-desethyl 

Isotonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers and 

salts is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. 7-[(3-chloro-6-methyl-5,5-dioxo-11H-benzo[c][2,1] 

benzothiazepin-11-yl)amino]heptanoic acid (other name: 

Tianeptine), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 

and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. Cannabimimetic agent. Ethyl-3,3-dimethyl-2-[(1-(pent-4-

enylindazole-3-carbonyl)amino]butanoate (other name: 

EDMB-4en-PINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until July 31, 2025, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

E. B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following 

compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 3  Virginia Register of Regulations  September 23, 2024  

468 

1. 1-(3,5-Dimethoxy-4-propoxyphenyl)-2-propanamine 

(other names: 4-propoxy-3,5-DMA, 3C-P, 1-(3,5-

Dimethoxy-4-propoxyphenyl)propan-2-amine), its salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

2. 2-(5-methoxy-1H-indol-3-yl)ethanamine (other names: 5-

methoxytryptamine, 5-MeOT), its salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until August 28, 2025, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

18VAC110-20-323. Scheduling for conformity with federal 

law or rule. 

Pursuant to subsection E of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia and in order to conform the Drug Control Act to recent 

scheduling changes enacted in federal law or rule, the board: 

1. Adds MT-45 (1-cyclohexyl-4-(1,2-diphenyl 

ethyl)piperazine) to Schedule I; 

2. Adds Dronabinol ((-)-delta-9-trans tetrahydrocannabinol) 

in an oral solution in a drug product approved for marketing 

by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration to Schedule II; 

3. Deletes naldemedine from Schedule II; 

4. Deletes naloxegol and 6β-naltrexol from Schedule II; 

5. Replaces 4-anilino-N-phenethyl-4-piperidine (CASRN 

21409-26-7) in Schedule II with 4-anilino-N-

phenethylpiperidine (ANPP); 

6. Adds 4-methyl-5-(4-methylphenyl)-4,5-dihydro-1,3-

oxazol-2-amine (4,4'-Dimethylaminorex, 4,4'-DMAR) to 

Schedule I; 

7. Adds 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-N-(2-phenylpropan-2-yl) 

pyrrolo[2,3-b]pyridine-3-carboxamide (5F-CUMYL-

P7AICA) to Schedule I; 

8. Adds ethyl N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl] 

carbamate (fentanyl carbamate) to Schedule I; 

9. Adds N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-

4-yl]prop-2-enamide (ortho-fluoroacryl fentanyl) to 

Schedule I; 

10. Adds N-(2-fluorophenyl)-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenyl 

ethyl)piperidin-4-yl]propanamide (ortho-fluoroisobutyryl 

fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

11. Adds N-(4-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl) 

piperidin-4-yl]furan-2-carboxamide (para-fluoro furanyl 

fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

12. Adds N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-[2-(2-fluorophenyl) 

ethyl]piperidin-4-yl]propanamide (2'-fluoro ortho-

fluorofentanyl; 2'-fluoro 2-fluorofentanyl) to Schedule I; 

13. Adds N-[1-[2-(4-methylphenyl)ethyl]piperidin-4-yl]-N-

phenylacetamide (4'-methyl acetyl fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

14. Adds N,3-diphenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl] 

propanamide (β'-phenyl fentanyl; beta'-phenyl fentanyl; 3-

phenylpropanoyl fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

15. Adds N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylpropyl)piperidin-4-yl] 

propanamide (β-methyl fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

16. Adds N-(2-fluorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl) 

piperidin-4-yl]butanamide (ortho-fluorobutyryl fentanyl; 2-

fluorobutyryl fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

17. Adds N-(2-methylphenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl) 

piperidin-4-yl]acetamide (ortho-methyl acetylfentanyl; 2-

methyl acetylfentanyl) to Schedule I; 

18. Adds 2-methoxy-N-(2-methylphenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenyl 

ethyl)piperidin-4-yl]acetamide (ortho-methyl 

methoxyacetylfentanyl; 2-methyl methoxyacetyl fentanyl) 

to Schedule I; 

19. Adds N-(4-methylphenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl) 

piperidin-4-yl]propanamide (para-methylfentanyl; 4-

methylfentanyl) to Schedule I; 

20. Adds N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)piperidin-4-yl] 
thiophene-2-carboxamide (thiophene fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

21. Adds N-(4-chlorophenyl)-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenyl 

ethyl)piperidin-4-yl]propanamide (para-chloroisobutyryl 

fentanyl) to Schedule I; 

22. Adds 24. 2-[2-[(4-butoxyphenyl)methyl]-5-nitro 

benzimidazol-1-yl]-N,N-diethylethanamine (Butonitazene) 

to Schedule I; 

23. Adds N,N-diethyl-2-[2-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-5-

nitrobenzimidazol-1-yl] ethanamine (Flunitazene) to 

Schedule I; 

24. Adds Oliceridine to Schedule II; 

25. 24. Deletes Samidorphan from Schedule II; 

26. Adds Remimazolam to Schedule IV; 

27. Adds Serdexmethylphenidate to Schedule IV; 

28. Adds Lemborexant to Schedule IV; 

29. Adds Daridorexant to Schedule IV; 

30. Adds Ganaxolone to Schedule V; 

31. 25. Adds N-methyl-1-(thiophen-2-yl)propan-2-amine 

(other name: methiopropamine) to Schedule I; 
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32. 26. Adds N-phenyl-N′-(3-(1-phenylpropan-2-yl)-1,2,3-

oxadiazol-3-ium-5-yl)carbamimidate (other name: meso 

carb) to Schedule I; 

33. 27. Adds 1-methoxy-3-[4-(2-methoxy-2-phenylethyl) 

piperazin-1-yl]-1-phenylpropan-2-ol (other name: zipeprol) 

to Schedule I; 

34. 28. Adds 7-[(10,11-dihydro-5H-dibenzo[a,d] 

cyclohepten-5-yl)amino]heptanoic acid (other name: 

amineptine) to Schedule I; 35. Deletes Fenfluramine from 

Schedule IV; and 

36. 29. Adds zuranolone to Schedule IV. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7941; Filed August 22, 2024, 10:55 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Forms 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23238, telephone (804) 367-

4688, or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC112-20) 

Application for Licensure by Examination to Practice 

Physical Therapy (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice 

Physical Therapy (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Reinstatement to Practice Physical Therapy 

(rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Reinstatement after Disciplinary Action to 

Practice Physical Therapy (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Reinstatement to Practice Physical Therapy 

(rev. 8/2024) 

Application for Reinstatement after Disciplinary Action to 

Practice Physical Therapy (rev. 8/2024) 

Application for Traineeship to Practice Physical Therapy 

Statement of Authorization (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Unlicensed Graduate Traineeship to Practice 

Physical Therapy Statement of Authorization (rev. 8/2023) 

Completion Form for 320-hour Traineeship to Practice 

Physical Therapy (rev. 8/2023) 

Verification of Physical Therapy Education for Graduates of 

Approved Programs Only (rev. 8/2023) 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 

8/2023) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Direct Access Certification (rev. 8/2023) 

Direct Access Patient Attestation and Medical Release Form 

(rev. 7/2023) 

Physical Therapy Name/Address Change Form (rev. 8/2023) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia Physical Therapy 

License (rev. 8/2023) 

Application for Reactivation (Inactive to Active) to Practice 

Physical Therapy (rev. 8/2023) 

Out-of-State Practitioner Reporting Form (rev. 7/2023) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8053; Filed August 29, 2024, 3:28 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 21VAC5-110. Retail Franchising Act 

Rules (amending 21VAC5-110-20 through 21VAC5-110-

55, 21VAC5-110-65, 21VAC5-110-75). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-572 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 15, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jude Richnafsky, Manager of Examinations 

and Securities and Retail Franchising, Division of Securities 

and Retail Franchising, State Corporation Commission, Tyler 

Building, Ninth Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9883, or email 

jude.richnafsky@scc.virginia.gov. 

mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Licensure%20by%20Examination%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829135236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Licensure%20by%20Examination%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829135236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Licensure%20by%20Endorsement%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829135327.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Licensure%20by%20Endorsement%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829135327.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reinstatement%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082024-20240829152539.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reinstatement%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082024-20240829152539.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reinstatement%20After%20Disciplinary%20Action%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082024-20240829152611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reinstatement%20After%20Disciplinary%20Action%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082024-20240829152611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy%20Statement%20of%20Authorization_082023-20230829135723.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy%20Statement%20of%20Authorization_082023-20230829135723.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Unlicensed%20Graduate%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy%20Statement%20of%20Authorization_082023-20230829135846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Unlicensed%20Graduate%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy%20Statement%20of%20Authorization_082023-20230829135846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Completion%20Form%20for%20320-Hour%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829140146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Completion%20Form%20for%20320-Hour%20Traineeship%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829140146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Verification%20of%20Physical%20Therapy%20Education%20for%20Graduates%20of%20Approved%20Programs%20Only_082023-20230829140251.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Verification%20of%20Physical%20Therapy%20Education%20for%20Graduates%20of%20Approved%20Programs%20Only_082023-20230829140251.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_ContinuedCompetencyActivityandAssessmentForm_082023-20230829140359.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_ContinuedCompetencyActivityandAssessmentForm_082023-20230829140359.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Continuing%20Education%20CE%20Credit%20Form%20for%20Volunteer%20Practice_082023-20230829140508.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Continuing%20Education%20CE%20Credit%20Form%20for%20Volunteer%20Practice_082023-20230829140508.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Direct%20Access%20Certification_082023-20230829140558.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Direct%20Access%20Patient%20Attestation%20and%20Medical%20Release%20Form_072023-20230829140735.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Direct%20Access%20Patient%20Attestation%20and%20Medical%20Release%20Form_072023-20230829140735.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_NameAddressChangeForm_082023-20230829140903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Request%20for%20Verification%20of%20a%20Virginia%20Physical%20Therapy%20License_082023-20230829140954.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Request%20for%20Verification%20of%20a%20Virginia%20Physical%20Therapy%20License_082023-20230829140954.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reactivation_Inactive%20to%20Active_%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829141134.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Application%20for%20Reactivation_Inactive%20to%20Active_%20to%20Practice%20Physical%20Therapy_082023-20230829141134.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/DHP_Out-of-StateTemporaryPractitionerReportingForm_SB317_July%202023_PhysicalTherapy-20230829141041.pdf
mailto:@jude.richnafsky@scc.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) require the use of a new 

form for applications for registration of a franchise; (ii) 

require that the submission of registration, amendment, 

and renewal applications shall only be tendered to the 

State Corporation Commission by the electronic delivery 

method provided by the Division of Securities and Retail 

Franchising, unless in the case of hardship or other good 

cause; (iii) provide clarification that an opening balance 

sheet provided by a start-up franchisor as part of its 

financial statements must be prepared in accordance with 

generally accepted accounting principles; and (iv) in lieu 

of escrow or deferral of initial franchising fees, allow 

acceptance of a surety bond as a form of financial 

assurance for franchisors that are insolvent as defined in 

§ 13.1-562 of the Code of Virginia. 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 3, 2024 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2024-00032 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Adopting Revisions to the Rules 

Governing the Virginia Retail Franchising Act 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides, in 

relevant part, that "[i]n the administration and enforcement of 

all laws within its jurisdiction, the [State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission")] shall have the power to 

promulgate rules and regulations[.]" Section 13.1-572 of the 

Virginia Retail Franchising Act ("Franchising Act"), § 13.1-

557 et seq. of the Code, provides that the Commission shall 

have authority to make, amend and rescind such rules and 

forms as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of 

Chapter 8 of Title 13.1 of the Code. The rules issued by the 

Commission pursuant to § 13.1-572 of the Code ("Rules") are 

set forth in Title 21, Chapter 110 of the Virginia Administrative 

Code ("Chapter 110").1 

The Division of Securities and Retail Franchising ("Division") 

has submitted to the Commission proposed revisions to 

Chapter 110 to: (i) require the use of a new form titled 

"Certification of Deferred Franchise Fee" ("Form L"); (ii) 

require that the submission of registration, amendment and 

renewal applications shall only be tendered to the Commission 

by the electronic delivery method provided by the Division, 

unless in the case of hardship or other good cause, in which 

case the Commission may, at its discretion, allow for the 

submission of a registration, amendment or renewal 

application by a method other than electronic filing; (iii) 

provide clarification that an opening balance sheet provided by 

a start-up franchisor as part of its financial statements must be 

prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting 

principles; and (iv) in lieu of escrow or deferral of initial 

franchising fees, allow acceptance of a surety bond as a form 

of financial assurance for franchisors that are insolvent as 

defined in § 13.1-562 A 2 of the Franchising Act. Collectively, 

these are referred to as the "Proposed Revisions." 

The Division has recommended to the Commission that the 

Proposed Revisions should be considered for adoption, and 

Form L should be approved for use, with an effective date of 

January 1, 2025. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this matter, 

is of the opinion and finds that a proceeding should be 

established to consider revising the Rules. To initiate this 

proceeding, the Division has prepared the Proposed Revisions 

and Form L, which are appended to this Order Establishing 

Proceeding ("Order"). The Commission finds that notice of the 

Proposed Revisions and Form L should be given to the public, 

and that interested persons should be provided an opportunity 

to file written comments on, propose modifications or 

supplements to, or request a hearing on the Proposed Revisions 

and Form L for adoption with a proposed effective date of 

January 1, 2025. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

This case is docketed and assigned Case No. SEC-2024-

00032. 

(2) All comments and other documents and pleadings filed in 

this matter shall be submitted electronically to the extent 

authorized by Rule 5VAC5-20-150, Copies and format, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure.2 Confidential 

and Extraordinarily Sensitive Information shall not be 

submitted electronically and shall comply with Rule 5VAC5-

20-170, Confidential information, of the Rules of Practice. 

Any person seeking to hand deliver and physically file or 

submit any pleading or other document shall contact the 

Clerk's Office Document Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to 

arrange the delivery. 

(3) On or before October 15, 2024, any interested person may 

comment on, propose modifications or supplements to, or 

request a hearing on the Proposed Revisions and/or Form L by 

following the instructions on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments. 

Those unable, as a practical matter, to submit such documents 

electronically may file such comments by U.S. mail to the 

Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 23218-2118. All documents 

shall refer to Case No. SEC-2024-00032. Any request for 

hearing shall state why a hearing is necessary and why the 

issues raised in the request for hearing cannot be addressed 

adequately in written comments. 

(4) The Division shall file its response to any comments filed 

pursuant to Ordering Paragraph 3 on or before November 12, 

2024. 

(5) If a sufficient request for hearing is not received, the 

Commission may consider the matter and enter an order based 

upon the comments, documents or other pleadings filed in this 

proceeding. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/7836/22/21VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
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(6) The Division shall provide notice of this Order to any 

interested persons as the Division may designate. 

(7) The Commission's Office of General Counsel shall provide 

a copy of this Order, together with the Proposed Revisions and 

Form L, to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(8) Interested persons may download unofficial copies of the 

Order, the Proposed Revisions and Form L, from the 

Commission's website: scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-

Information. 

(9) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission 

to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney General, 

at MBrowder@oag.state.va.us, Office of the Attorney General, 

Division of Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219-3424; and the Commission's Office 

of General Counsel and the Director of Securities and Retail 

Franchising. 

_____________________________ 
121VAC5-110-10 et seq. Retail Franchising Act Rules. 

25VAC5-20-10 et seq. State Corporation Commission Rules of Practice and 

Procedure ("Rules of Practice"). 

21VAC5-110-20. Preliminary statement. 

Follow these rules for each item in franchise applications and 

disclosures in the FDD. 

The following rules shall be adhered to with respect to 

applications for registration or exemption of a franchise, and 

applications for renewal or amendment of a franchise 

registration or exemption, filed pursuant to Chapter 8 (§ 13.1-

557 et seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia. These 

applications shall be submitted to Virginia's state administrator 

either electronically or at the following address: State 

Corporation Commission, Division of Securities and Retail 

Franchising, P.O. Box 1197, 1300 East Main Street, 9th Ninth 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23218 23219. 

21VAC5-110-30. Registration application; documents to 

file; interim financial statements. 

A. An application for registration of a franchise is made by 

filing with the commission the following completed forms and 

other material: 

1. Uniform Franchise Registration Application page, Form 

A; 

2. Total Costs and Sources of Funds for Establishing New 

Franchises, Form B; 

3. Uniform Consent to Service of Process, Form C; 

4. If the applicant is a corporation or partnership, an 

authorizing resolution if the application is verified by a 

person other than the applicant's officer or general partner; 

5. Franchise Disclosure Document; 

6. Application fee (payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia"); 

and 

7. Auditor's consent (or a photocopy of the consent) to the 

use of the latest audited financial statements in the Franchise 

Disclosure Document; and 

8. Certification of Deferred Franchise Fee, Form L, if 

applicable. 

B. An application for registration shall contain: 1. One copy 

of a complete franchise registration application, including the 

Franchise Disclosure Document, on paper; 2. One copy of a 

complete franchise registration application, including the 

Franchise Disclosure Document, on a CD-ROM in PDF format 

or on other electronic media approved by the Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising; and 3. A cover letter 

containing a representation that all of the information 

contained in the electronic file is identical to the paper 

documents be submitted either electronically using a method 

specified by the commission, or by delivering a copy of the 

application on a CD-ROM in PDF format or on other electronic 

media approved by the Division of Securities and Retail 

Franchising. Electronic versions of the application, including 

the Franchise Disclosure Document, shall be text searchable. 

C. For good cause shown and at its discretion, the commission 

may allow for submission of an application for registration by 

a method of communication other than electronic filing or on 

electronic media as required in subsection B of this section. 

Such delivery may only occur after the applicant has received 

prior approval from the commission. The commission will 

determine the policy and procedure used to accept and process 

an application under such a request. 

D. If the commission's review of the application results in any 

revision to the documents submitted, the franchisor shall file a 

complete clean copy of the revised Franchise Disclosure 

Document and any other revised documents, and a black-lined 

copy of all revised pages, unless the commission directs 

otherwise. In addition to filing the complete clean Franchise 

Disclosure Document and black-lined pages on paper, a 

franchisor shall include copies on a CD-ROM in PDF format 

or on other electronic media approved by the Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising. The revised electronic file 

shall be accompanied by a transmittal letter as described in 

subdivision B 3 of this section The filing shall be submitted in 

a manner as required by subsection B of this section. 

D. The electronic version of the Franchise Disclosure 

Document shall be text searchable. 

E. If the date of the most recent audited financial statements 

in the Franchise Disclosure Document precedes the date of the 

application by more than 120 days, the Franchise Disclosure 

Document shall also include the following financial statements 

prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting 

principles: 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/7836/22/21VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/7836/22/21VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/7836/22/21VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
mailto:MBrowder@oag.state.va.us
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1. An unaudited interim balance sheet as of a date within 120 

days of the date of the application; and 

2. An unaudited interim statement of income or operations 

for the period from the most recent audited financial 

statements to the date of the interim balance sheet. 

F. The certifications made by or on behalf of the franchisor in 

Form A shall extend and apply to all documents and materials 

filed in connection with the registration application, including 

any documents or materials submitted to the commission 

subsequent to the initial filing that may be required to complete 

the registration application. 

21VAC5-110-40. Pre-effective and post-effective 

amendments to the registration. 

A. Within 30 days after the occurrence of a material change, 

the franchisor shall amend the effective registration filed at the 

commission. An amendment to an application filed either 

before or after the effective date of registration may include 

only the pages containing the information being amended if 

pagination is not disturbed. The amended pages must be black-

lined to show all additions, deletions, and other changes from 

the franchisor's previous submission. The franchisor may not 

use margin balloons or color highlights to show changes. 

B. An application to amend a franchise registration is made 

by submitting the following completed forms and other 

material: 

1. Uniform Franchise Registration Application page, Form 

A; 

2. One complete clean copy of the amended Franchise 

Disclosure Document; 

3. One complete copy of the amended Franchise Disclosure 

Document black-lined to show all additions, deletions, and 

other changes; and 

4. Application fee (payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia."). 

The fee shall accompany all post-effective amendments 

unless submitted in connection with an application for 

renewal. 

C. An application to amend a registration shall contain: 1. 

One copy of a complete franchise amendment application, 

including the amended Franchise Disclosure Document, on 

paper; 2. One copy of a complete franchise amendment 

application, including the amended Franchise Disclosure 

Document, on a CD-ROM in PDF format or on other electronic 

media approved by the Division of Securities and Retail 

Franchising; and 3. A cover letter containing a representation 

that all of the information contained in the electronic file is 

identical to the paper documents be submitted either 

electronically using a method specified by the commission or 

by delivering a copy of the application on a CD-ROM in PDF 

format or on other electronic media approved by the Division 

of Securities and Retail Franchising. Electronic versions of the 

franchise amendment application, including the amended 

Franchise Disclosure Document, shall be text searchable. 

D. For good cause shown and at its discretion, the 

commission may allow for submission of an application to 

amend a registration by a method of communication other than 

electronic filing or on electronic media as required in 

subsection C of this section. Such delivery may only occur 

after the applicant has received prior approval from the 

commission. The commission will determine the policy and 

procedure used to accept and process an application under such 

a request. 

E. If the commission's review of the application results in any 

revision to the documents submitted, the franchisor shall file a 

complete clean copy of the revised Franchise Disclosure 

Document and any other revised documents, and a black-lined 

copy of all revised pages, unless the commission directs 

otherwise. In addition to filing the complete clean Franchise 

Disclosure Document and black-lined pages on paper, a 

franchisor shall include copies on a CD-ROM in PDF format 

or on other electronic media approved by the Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising. The revised electronic file 

shall be accompanied by a transmittal letter as described in 

subdivision C 3 of this section The filing shall be submitted in 

a manner as required by subsection C of this section. 

E. The electronic version of the Franchise Disclosure 

Document shall be text searchable. 

F. The certifications made by or on behalf of the franchisor in 

Form A shall extend and apply to all documents and materials 

filed in connection with the amendment application, including 

any documents or materials submitted to the commission 

subsequent to the initial filing that may be required to complete 

the amendment application. 

21VAC5-110-50. Expiration; application to renew the 

registration; interim financial statements. 

A. A franchise registration expires at midnight on the annual 

date of the registration's effectiveness. An application to renew 

the franchise registration should be filed 30 days prior to the 

expiration date in order to prevent a lapse of registration under 

the Virginia statute. 

B. An application for renewal of a franchise registration is 

made by submitting the following completed forms and other 

material: 

1. Uniform Franchise Registration Application page, Form A; 

2. Updated Franchise Disclosure Document; 

3. One complete copy of the amended Franchise Disclosure 

Document black-lined to show all additions, deletions, and 

other changes, using no margin balloons or color highlights; 

and 

4. Application fee (payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia"); 

and 
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5. Certification of Deferred Franchise Fee, Form L, if 

applicable. 

C. An application for renewal of a franchise registration shall 

contain: 1. One copy of a complete franchise renewal 

application, including the updated Franchise Disclosure 

Document, on paper; 2. One copy of a complete franchise 

renewal application, including the updated Franchise 

Disclosure Document, on a CD-ROM in PDF format or on 

other electronic media approved by the Division of Securities 

and Retail Franchising; and 3. A cover letter containing a 

representation that all of the information contained in the 

electronic file is identical to the paper documents be submitted 

either electronically using a method specified by the 

commission or by delivering a copy of the application on a CD-

ROM in PDF format or on other electronic media approved by 

the Division of Securities and Retail Franchising. Electronic 

versions of the application for renewal, including the updated 

Franchise Disclosure Document, shall be text searchable. 

D. For good cause shown and at its discretion, the 

commission may allow for submission of an application for 

renewal by a method of communication other than electronic 

filing or on electronic media as required in subsection C of this 

section. Such delivery may only occur after the applicant has 

received prior approval from the commission. The commission 

will determine the policy and procedure used to accept and 

process an application under such a request. 

E. If the commission's review of the application results in any 

revision to the documents submitted, the franchisor shall file a 

complete clean copy of the revised Franchise Disclosure 

Document and any other revised documents, and a black-lined 

copy of all revised pages, unless the commission directs 

otherwise. In addition to filing the complete clean Franchise 

Disclosure Document and black-lined pages on paper, a 

franchisor shall include copies on a CD-ROM in PDF format 

or on other electronic media approved by the Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising. The revised electronic file 

shall be accompanied by a transmittal letter as described in 

subdivision C 3 of this section The filing shall be submitted in 

a manner as required by subsection C of this section. 

E. The electronic version of the Franchise Disclosure 

Document shall be text searchable. 

F. If the date of the most recent audited financial statements 

in the Franchise Disclosure Document precedes the date of the 

application by more than 120 days, the Franchise Disclosure 

Document shall also include the following financial statements 

prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting 

principles: 

1. An unaudited interim balance sheet as of a date within 120 

days of the date of the application; and 

2. An unaudited interim statement of income or operations 

for the period from the most recent audited financial 

statements to the date of the interim balance sheet. 

G. The certifications made by or on behalf of the franchisor 

in Form A shall extend and apply to all documents and 

materials filed in connection with the renewal application, 

including any documents or materials submitted to the 

commission subsequent to the initial filing that may be 

required to complete the renewal application. 

21VAC5-110-55. The Franchise Disclosure Document. 

A. Format. The Franchise Disclosure Document must be 

prepared in accordance with §§ 436.3 through 436.5 of the 

Federal Trade Commission Franchise Rule (16 CFR 436.3 

through 436.5), subject to the modifications set forth in 

subsections B and C of this section. 

B. Financial statements. Notwithstanding § 436.5(u)(2) of the 

Federal Trade Commission Franchise Rule (16 CFR 436.5), a 

start-up franchisor in its first partial or full fiscal year selling 

franchises shall provide an opening balance sheet, prepared in 

accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, that 

has been audited by an independent certified public accountant 

using generally accepted United States auditing standards. 

C. State cover sheets and effective dates page. The Franchise 

Disclosure Document shall include the state cover sheets and 

state effective dates page prepared in accordance with the 

requirements set forth in Part III B of the 2008 Franchise 

Registration and Disclosure Guidelines, as adopted May 19, 

2019, by the North American Securities Administrators 

Association, Inc. 

21VAC5-110-65. Escrow and, deferral, and surety bond. 

A. Escrow requirement. The commission may require a 

franchisor to escrow franchise fees and other payments made 

by a franchisee to the franchisor until the franchisor's pre-

opening obligations under the franchise agreement have been 

satisfied. The commission may require escrow at any time after 

the submission of a registration or renewal application and 

upon a finding that the grounds enumerated in clause (i) of 

subdivision A 2 of § 13.1-562 of the Virginia Retail 

Franchising Act as provided in Chapter 668 of the 2007 Acts 

of Assembly exist. 

B. Depository. Funds subject to an escrow condition shall be 

placed in a separate trust account with a national bank or a state 

chartered state-chartered bank or trust company transacting 

business in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

C. Compliance with escrow requirement. The franchisor shall 

file with the commission the following to comply with the 

commission's escrow requirement: 

1. An original, fully executed copy of the Escrow 

Agreement, Form K; 

2. A written consent from the depository agreeing to operate 

the escrow account under this regulation chapter; 

3. The name and address of the depository and the account 

number of the escrow account; 
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4. The name, address, telephone number, and email address 

of an individual or individuals at the depository who may be 

contacted by the commission regarding the escrow account; 

and 

5. An amended franchise application reflecting, in Item 5 of 

the Franchise Disclosure Document or in a Virginia 

Addendum to the Franchise Disclosure Document, that the 

commission has imposed the escrow requirement and the 

material terms of that escrow condition, including the name 

of the depository. 

D. Operation of escrow account. After the commission 

imposes an escrow requirement upon the franchisor, the 

franchisor shall: 

1. Make franchisee checks for franchise fees or other 

payments for the franchisor payable to the depository; and 

2. Deposit with the depository, within two business days of 

the receipt, the funds described in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection. 

Deposits made to the depository shall remain escrowed until 

the commission authorizes the release of the funds. 

E. Release of escrowed funds. 

1. A franchisor may apply to the commission for the release 

of escrowed funds together with any interest earned. 

2. A franchisor's application to the commission to authorize 

the release of escrowed funds to the franchisor shall be in 

writing, verified by an authorized officer of the franchisor, 

and shall contain: 

a. The franchisor's statement that all proceeds from the 

sale of franchises have been placed with the depository in 

accordance with the terms and conditions of the escrow 

requirement; 

b. The depository's statement, signed by an appropriate 

officer, setting forth the aggregate amount of escrowed 

funds deposited with the depository and the franchisor's 

account number with the depository; 

c. A list of the names and addresses of each franchisee and 

the amount held in the escrow account for the account of 

each franchisee; 

d. The amount of funds sought to be released; 

e. A written certification from the franchisee stating the 

amount of funds to be released that acknowledges that the 

franchisor has completely performed its pre-opening 

obligations under the franchise agreement, including 

providing real estate, improvements, equipment, 

inventory, training, or other items as required by the 

franchise agreement; and 

f. Other information the commission may reasonably 

require. 

3. If the commission finds that the franchisor has fulfilled its 

obligations under the franchise agreement for a specified 

franchisee, the commission shall authorize the depository to 

release to the franchisor the amount held in escrow for the 

account of the applicable franchisee. 

F. Removal of escrow requirement. The commission may 

remove the escrow requirement at any time, if: 

1. The franchisor agrees to defer franchise fees and other 

initial payments; or 

2. Based upon new information, the commission finds that 

the escrow requirement is no longer necessary and 

appropriate for the protection of prospective franchisees. 

G. Deferral of fees in place of escrow requirement. 

1. In lieu of an escrow requirement, the commission may, 

under appropriate circumstances, accept a franchisor's 

agreement to defer franchise fees and other initial payments 

owed by franchisees to the franchisor until the franchisor has 

completed its pre-opening obligations under the franchise 

agreement. 

2. The franchisor's agreement to defer franchise fees shall be 

reflected in Item 5 of the Franchise Disclosure Document or 

in a Virginia Addendum to the Franchise Disclosure 

Document. 

3. For any deferral of franchise fees, the applicant must 

submit the Certification of Deferred Franchise Fee, Form L. 

H. Surety bond. 

1. In lieu of escrow or deferral of initial franchise fees, a 

franchisor may post, upon approval by the commission, a 

surety bond as required by this subsection. 

2. The surety bond shall be: 

a. Effective as of the date of the initial registration and in 

an amount not less than the initial franchise fee, as listed 

in Item 5 of the Franchise Disclosure Document filed with 

the commission, of one franchise unit. During the 

registration period, the franchisor must maintain a surety 

bond in an amount not less than the franchise fee 

multiplied by the number of franchises in the 

Commonwealth the franchisor has signed but the 

franchisee has not yet opened; 

b. Issued by a surety company authorized to transact 

business in Virginia; 

c. Conditioned upon the completion by the franchisor of 

its obligations under the franchise agreement to provide 

real estate, improvements, equipment, inventory training, 

and other items; and 

d. As of the date of a franchise registration renewal period, 

the amount of a surety bond must be at the greater amount 

of that imposed under subdivision 2 a of this subsection. 
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3. The franchisor's agreement to a surety bond and its 

conditions shall be disclosed in Item 5 of the Franchise 

Disclosure Document or in a Virginia Addendum to the 

Franchise Disclosure Document.  

4. A copy of the effective surety bond shall be submitted to 

the commission. 

21VAC5-110-75. Exemptions. 

Any offer or sale of a franchise in a transaction that meets the 

requirements of this section is exempt from the registration 

requirement of § 13.1-560 of the Virginia Retail Franchising 

Act. 

1. Sale or transfer by existing franchisee. The sale or transfer 

of a franchise located in the Commonwealth of Virginia by 

a franchisee who is not an affiliate of the franchisor for the 

franchisee's own account is exempt if: 

a. The franchisee's entire franchise is sold or transferred, 

and the sale or transfer is not effected by or through the 

franchisor. 

b. The sale or transfer is not effected by or through a 

franchisor merely because a franchisor has a right to 

approve or disapprove the sale or transfer or requires 

payment of a reasonable transfer fee. 

2. Renewal or extension of existing franchise. The offer or 

sale of a franchise involving a renewal or extension of an 

existing franchise where there is no interruption in the 

operation of the franchised business, and there is no material 

change in the franchise relationship, is exempt. For purposes 

of this subdivision, an interruption in the franchised business 

solely for the purpose of renovating or relocating that 

business is not a material change in the franchise relationship 

or an interruption in the operation of the franchised business. 

3. Offers and sales to existing franchisees. The offer or sale 

of an additional franchise to an existing franchisee of the 

franchisor for the franchisee's own account is exempt if the 

franchise being sold is substantially the same as the franchise 

that the franchisee has operated for at least two years at the 

time of the offer or sale of the franchise, provided the prior 

sale to the franchisee was pursuant to a franchise offering 

that was registered or exempt pursuant to the requirements 

of the Virginia Retail Franchising Act and is located in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

4. Seasoned franchisor. 

a. The offer or sale of a franchise by a franchisor is 

exempt if: 

(1) The franchisor has a net equity, according to its most 

recently audited financial statements, of not less than $15 

million on a consolidated basis, or $1 million on an 

unaudited basis and is at least 80% owned by a corporation 

or entity that has a net equity, on a consolidated basis, 

according to its most recently audited financial statements, 

of not less than $15 million, and the 80% owner 

guarantees the performance of the franchisor's obligations; 

(2) The auditor's report accompanying the audited 

financial statements described in subdivision 4 a (1) of this 

section does not contain an explanatory paragraph 

expressing doubt as to the entity's ability to continue as a 

going concern; and 

(3) The franchisor or any 80% owner of the franchisor or 

the franchisor's predecessor, or any combination thereof, 

has had at least 25 franchisees conducting substantially the 

same franchise business to be offered or sold for the entire 

five-year period immediately preceding the offer or sale. 

b. The exemption set forth in this subdivision 4 may be 

claimed only if the franchisor: 

(1) Files a Form H Notice of Claim of Exemption and 

other material as set forth in subdivision 8 of this section 

no later than 10 business days before the offer or sale of 

any franchise; and 

(2) Submits financial statements demonstrating 

compliance with the conditions set forth in subdivision 4 

a (1) of this section. 

c. An initial exemption filing and any renewal filing shall 

expire after a period of one year. The franchisor shall file 

for a renewal by making an exemption filing if it intends 

to offer or sell franchises for any additional period 

annually, at least 10 business days before the expiration of 

the previously filed Notice of Claim of Exemption. 

5. Institutional franchisee. 

a. The offer or sale of a franchise to a bank, savings bank, 

savings and loan association, trust company, insurance 

company, investment company, or other financial 

institution, or to a broker-dealer is exempt when the: 

(1) Purchaser The purchaser is acting for itself or in a 

fiduciary capacity; and 

(2) Franchise The franchise is not being purchased for the 

purpose of resale to an individual not exempt under this 

regulation. 

b. The exemption set forth in subdivision 5 a of this section 

may be claimed only if the franchisor files an initial filing 

Form H, Notice of Claim of Exemption, and other material 

as set forth in subdivision 8 a of this section, at least 10 

business days before each offer or sale of each franchise. 

6. Substantial investment. 

a. The offer or sale of a franchise by a franchisor is 

exempt if: 

(1) The offer or sale is of a single unit franchise in which 

the actual minimum initial investment is in excess of $3 

million. This amount will be based on the Item 7 

requirements of the Franchise Disclosure Document; 

(2) The prospective franchisee is represented by legal 

counsel in the transaction; and 
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(3) The franchisor reasonably believes immediately before 

making the offer or sale that the prospective franchisee, 

either alone or with the prospective franchisee's 

representative or affiliates, has sufficient knowledge and 

experience such that the prospective franchisee is capable 

of evaluating the merits and risks of the prospective 

franchise investment. 

b. The exemption set forth in subdivision 6 a of this section 

may be claimed only if the franchisor: 

(1) Files a Form H, Notice of Claim of Exemption, and 

other materials as set forth in subdivision 8 of this section 

no later than 10 business days before the offer or sale of 

any franchise; and 

(2) Obtains from the prospective franchisee a signed 

certification verifying the grounds for the exemption. 

c. The exemption set forth in subdivision 6 a of this section 

applies only to the registration provisions, and not the 

disclosure provisions, of the Virginia Retail Franchising 

Act. 

d. An initial exemption filing and any renewal filing shall 

expire after a period of one year. The franchisor shall file 

for a renewal by making an exemption filing if it intends 

to offer or sell franchises for any additional period 

annually at least 10 business days before the expiration of 

the previously filed Form H, Notice of Claim of 

Exemption. 

7. Disclosure requirements. If a franchisor relies upon any of 

the exemptions set forth in subdivision 3, 4, 5, or 6 of this 

section, the franchisor shall provide a disclosure document 

complying with 21VAC5-110-55 and 21VAC5-110-95 

together with all proposed agreements relating to the sale of 

the franchise to a prospective franchisee 14 calendar days 

before the signing of the agreement or the payment of any 

consideration. 

8. Filing requirements for exemptions set forth in 

subdivisions 4, 5, and 6 of this section. 

a. Initial exemption filing. 

(1) The initial exemption period shall expire after a period 

of one year. 

(2) The franchisor files shall file an application for 

exemption of a franchise by filing with the commission no 

later than 10 business days before the offer or sale of any 

franchise, the following completed forms and other 

material: 

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H; 

(b) Uniform Consent to Service of Process, Form C; 

(c) If the applicant is a corporation or partnership, an 

authorizing resolution is required if the application is verified 

by a person other than applicant's officer or general partner; 

(d) Franchise Disclosure Document on a CD-ROM in PDF 

format or on other electronic media approved by the Division 

of Securities and Retail Franchising; 

(e) An undertaking by which it the franchisor agrees to supply 

any additional information the commission may reasonably 

request; and 

(f) Application fee of $500 (payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia). 

b. Amendment to exemption filing. 

(1) Upon the occurrence of a material change, the franchisor 

shall amend the effective exemption filed at the commission. 

(2) An application to amend a franchise exemption is made 

by submitting the following completed forms and other 

material: 

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H; 

(b) One clean copy of the amended Franchise Disclosure 

Document on a CD-ROM in PDF format or on other 

electronic media approved by the Division of Securities and 

Retail Franchising; and 

(c) Application fee of $100 (payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia). 

c. Renewal exemption filing. 

(1) A franchise exemption expires at midnight on the 

annual exemption effective date. An application to renew 

the franchise exemption shall be filed 10 days prior to the 

expiration date in order to prevent a lapse of exemption 

under the Virginia Retail Franchising Act. 

(2) An application for renewal of a franchise exemption is 

made by submitting the following completed forms and 

other material: 

(a) Notice of Claim of Exemption, Form H; 

(b) One clean copy of the Franchise Disclosure Document 

on a CD-ROM in PDF format or on other electronic media 

approved by the Division of Securities and Retail 

Franchising; and 

(c) Application fee of $250 (payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia). 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (21VAC5-110) 

FORM A, Uniform Franchise Registration Application (rev. 

7/2008) 

FORM B, Franchisor's Costs and Sources of Funds (rev. 

7/2008) 

FORM C, Uniform Consent to Service of Process (rev. 

7/2008) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/1c692003077~3.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/1c692003077~3.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/20d6f003077~4.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/20d6f003077~4.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/96be2003077~5.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/96be2003077~5.pdf
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FORM E, Affidavit of Compliance -- Franchise 

Amendment/Renewal Amendment or Renewal (rev. 7/2008) 

FORM F, Guarantee of Performance (rev. 3/2013) 

FORM G, Franchisor's Surety Bond (rev. 7/1999) 

FORM H, Notice of Claim of Exemption (rev. 3/2018) 

FORM K, Escrow Agreement (eff. 7/2007) 

FORM L, Certification of Deferred Franchise Fee (eff. 

1/2025) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7836; Filed September 3, 2024, 4:30 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-80. Auxiliary Grants Program. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin 

Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7093, 

FAX (804) 662-7663, or email 

charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (22VAC30-80) 

Auxiliary Grant Provider Agreement, 032-02-0747-08 (rev. 

8/2019) 

Auxiliary Grant Provider Agreement, 032-02-747-09 (rev. 

8/2024) 

Auxiliary Grant Certification, 032-02-0745-14-eng (rev. 6/2021) 

Auxiliary Grant Program Statement of Virginia Residency and 

Intent to Remain in Virginia, 032-02-0749-01-eng (rev. 5/2018) 

Auxiliary Grant Certification - Supportive Housing, 032-15-

0012-04-eng (rev. 8/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8061; Filed September 3, 2024, 2:33 p.m. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/4ef26003077~6.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/4ef26003077~6.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/ee17d003077~2.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/08a20003077~7.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/82a40005246~3n.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/461a3003077~9.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/FORM%20L-%20081424-20240814152159.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/21VAC5/forms/FORM%20L-%20081424-20240814152159.pdf
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC30/forms/Auxiliary%20Grant%20Provider%20Agreement,%20032-02-747-09%20(rev.%208-2024)-20240903154548.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC30/forms/Auxiliary%20Grant%20Provider%20Agreement,%20032-02-747-09%20(rev.%208-2024)-20240903154548.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC30/forms/Auxiliary%20Grant%20Certification,%20032-02-0745-14-eng%20(rev.%200621)-20211103112002.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC30/forms/Auxiliary%20Grant%20Certification,%20032-02-0745-14-eng%20(rev.%200621)-20211103112002.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC30/forms/AG%20Program%20Statement%20of%20Virginia%20Residency%20and%20Intent%20to%20Remain%20in%20Virginia-20211103111905.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC30/forms/AG%20Program%20Statement%20of%20Virginia%20Residency%20and%20Intent%20to%20Remain%20in%20Virginia-20211103111905.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC30/forms/Auxiliary%20Grant%20Certification%20SH,%20032-15-0012-04-eng%20(rev.%200821)-20211103111941.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC30/forms/Auxiliary%20Grant%20Certification%20SH,%20032-15-0012-04-eng%20(rev.%200821)-20211103111941.pdf
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND  
REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 

Title of Document: Guidance for the Provision of Community 

Support Services. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 23, 2024. 

Effective Date: October 24, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Analyst 

and Regulatory Coordinator, Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7093, or email 

charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: Manual for Processing Requests Pursuant 

to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 23, 2024. 

Effective Date: October 24, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Natalie Driver Womack, Freedom of 

Information Officer, Department of Environmental Quality, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 774-

1224, or email natalie.womack@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Titles of Documents: Board of Education Approved Courses to 

Satisfy Graduation Requirements for the Standard, Advanced 

Studies, and Modified Standard Diplomas in Virginia Public 

Schools. 

2024-2025 Unified Virginia Quality Birth to Five System 

Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 23, 2024. 

Effective Date: October 24, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL  
ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Chapter Four of the Durable Medical 

Equipment Manual. 

Chapter Six of the Durable Medical Equipment Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 23, 2024. 

Effective Date: October 24, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy Division Director, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, or 

email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: Application of the Erosion and Sediment 

Control Law for Localities Not Administering a Virginia 

Erosion and Stormwater Management Program and Virginia 

Erosion and Stormwater Management Act to Agricultural 

Activities in Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 23, 2024. 

Effective Date: October 24, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Rebeccah Rochet, Deputy Director, Water 

Permitting Division, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 801-2950, or email 

swmguidance@deq.virginia.gov. 
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND  
CONSUMER SERVICES 

2024 Annual Report on the Agricultural 
 Stewardship Act 

The Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

announces the availability of the annual report on the 

Agricultural Stewardship Act for the program year April 1, 

2023, through March 31, 2024. Copies of the report are 

available without charge. Email or send a written request to the 

email or physical address listed in this notice or request via 

telephone using the number provided. 

Contact Information: Nicolas Robichaud, Policy Assistant, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3538, or 

email nicolas.robichaud@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY 

Opportunity for Public Comment on Incentives for 
Shared Solar Projects 

Pursuant to Chapters 715, 716, 763, and 765 of the 2024 

General Assembly session, the Department of Energy is 

preparing a report on potential incentives for shared solar 

projects that make use of rooftops, brownfields, landfills, or 

dual-use agriculture or that meet the definition of another 

category established by the department. 

The department will be taking public comments on the subject 

of shared solar incentives through September 27, 2024. 

Commenters may submit comments on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ 

comments.cfm? GeneralNoticeid=2927. 

Contact Information: Aaron Berryhill, Solar Program 

Manager, Department of Energy, 1100 Bank Street, Eighth 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone (804) 486-2754, 

FAX (804) 692-3237, or email 

aaron.berryhill@energy.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Bell Terrace 
Developers LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Bell Terrace Developers 

LLC for violations of the Virginia Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (VPDES) Permit Regulations at the Wood 

Road Subdivision, Lynchburg, Virginia. The proposed order is 

available at the DEQ office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-

orders. The DEQ contact will accept comments by email or 

postal mail from September 23, 2024, through October 23, 

2024. 

Contact Information: Michael Puckett, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge 

Regional Office, 901 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153, 

telephone (540) 577-6719, or email 

michael.puckett@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Constructure 
Trison JV LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Constructure Trison JV 

LLC for violations of State Water Control Law and regulations 

and applicable permit at the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 

Multipurpose Building, Woodbridge, Virginia. The proposed 

order is available from the DEQ contact listed or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforce 

ment-orders. The DEQ contact will accept written comments 

from September 23, 2024, to October 23, 2024. 

Contact Information: Holly Shupe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, 

telephone (571) 866-6923, or email 

holly.shupe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Eagle Sky 
Industrial Park LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Eagle Sky Industrial Park 

LLC for violations of State Water Control Law and regulations 

in Front Royal, Virginia. The proposed order is available from 

the DEQ contact or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/ 

permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact 

will accept written comments from September 23, 2024, to 

October 22, 2024. 

Contact Information: Francesca Wright, Senior Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, or email 

francesca.wright@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Erwin 
Construction Inc. 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Erwin Construction Inc. 

for violations of State Water Control Law and regulations in 

Harrisonburg, Virginia. The proposed order is available from 

the DEQ contact or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/ 

public-notices/enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact will 

accept written comments from September 23, 2024, to 

October 22, 2024. 

Contact Information: Francesca Wright, Senior Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
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3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, or email 

francesca.wright@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Moore Excavation 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Moore Excavation for 

violations of the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) Permit Regulations at Stonegate Subdivision 

Section 3, Fincastle, Virginia. The proposed order is available 

at the DEQ office listed or online at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforce 

ment-orders. The DEQ contact will accept comments by email 

or postal mail from September 23, 2024, through October 23, 

2024. 

Contact Information: Michael Puckett, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge 

Regional Office, 901 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153, 

telephone (540) 577-6719, or email 

michael.puckett@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for R and R 
Enterprises LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for R and R Enterprises LLC 

for violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations 

in Carroll County, Virginia. The proposed order is available 

from the DEQ contact listed or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforce 

ment-orders. The DEQ contact will accept comments by email 

or postal mail from September 23, 2024, through October 23, 

2024. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 

Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 

24210, or email jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Sunshine 
Holdings LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Sunshine Holdings LLC 

for violations of State Water Control Law and regulations in 

Rockingham County, Virginia. The proposed order is available 

from the DEQ contact or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/ 

permits/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The DEQ contact 

will accept written comments from September 23, 2024, to 

October 22, 2024. 

Contact Information: Francesca Wright, Senior Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, or email 

francesca.wright@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for TC 
 Development LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for TC Development LLC for 

violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations in 

Powhatan County, Virginia. The proposed order is available 

from the DEQ contact listed or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforce 

ment-orders. The DEQ contact will accept comments by email 

or postal mail from September 23, 2024, through October 23, 

2024. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

telephone (804) 659-2696, or email 

matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Tricord 
Incorporated 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Tricord Incorporated for 

violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations in 

Locust Grove, Virginia. The proposed order is available from 

the DEQ contact listed or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/ 

permits/public-notices. The DEQ contact will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from September 24, 2024, 

through October 24, 2024. 

Contact Information: Katherine Mann, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Northern 

Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 

22193, telephone (571) 866-6095, or email 

katherine.mann@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Meeting and Opportunity for Public Comment 
for a Cleanup Plan for the Pigg River, Beaverdam 

Creek, Fryingpan Creek, and Poplar Branch in 
Franklin, Pittsylvania, and Bedford Counties 

Purpose of Notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) seeks public comment on the development of a cleanup 

plan for impaired waters, also known as an implementation 

plan (IP), for the Pigg River, Beaverdam Creek, Fryingpan 

Creek, and Poplar Branch in Franklin, Pittsylvania, and 

Bedford Counties, Virginia. These streams are listed as 

impaired since monitoring data indicates that the waters do not 

meet Virginia's water quality standards for bacteria and aquatic 

life (benthic). Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and 

§ 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to 

develop cleanup studies to address pollutants responsible for 

causing waters to be on Virginia's § 303(d) list of impaired 

waters. Once a cleanup study is developed, § 62.1-44.19:7 of 

the Code of Virginia outlines the requirements needed in a 

cleanup plan to address the pollutants contained in the study. 
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DEQ has developed a cleanup plan that identifies corrective 

actions needed to improve water quality and discusses the 

associated costs and environmental benefits of the actions in 

the Pigg River, Beaverdam Creek, Fryingpan Creek, and 

Poplar Branch watershed. A summary of the plan will be 

presented at the final public meeting. Citizens are invited to 

provide comment on the plan and will learn how they can be 

part of implementing the plan to improve water quality in the 

watershed. Community engagement meetings to assist in 

development of this cleanup plan were convened on April 18, 

2024, and June 25, 2024. 

Cleanup Plan Location: The cleanup plan addresses the 

following impaired stream segments: Pigg River, Beaverdam 

Creek, Fryingpan Creek, and Poplar Branch. The impaired 

section of the Pigg River is listed for a recreational use 

impairment (E. coli) in three different segments (1.48 mi, 1.01 

mi, and 1.94 mi). The impairment for Beaverdam Creek has 

two segments of recreational use impairments (4.98 mi and 

5.35 mi). Fryingpan Creek is impaired from its headwaters 

downstream to about 0.85 miles downstream of the Route 40 

crossing. Approximately 2.56 miles on Fryingpan Creek are 

impaired for aquatic life use, and a downstream portion is also 

impaired for E. coli. Poplar Branch is also impaired for the 

recreational use standard (E. coli) from its headwaters 

downstream to about 2.56 miles. 

Public Meeting: Franklin County Public Library, 355 Franklin 

Street, Rocky Mount, VA 24151 on September 26, 2024, at 

4:30 p.m. In the event of inclement weather, the meeting will 

be held on October 3, 2024, at the same time and location. 

Public Comment Period: September 26, 2024, to October 28, 

2024. 

How to Comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email or 

postal mail. All comments must be received by DEQ during 

the comment period. Submittals must include the name, 

organization represented (if any), mailing addresses, and 

telephone numbers of the commenter or requester. 

Information about this plan will be posted throughout the 

development process at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-
programs/water/water-quality/implementation/implementation- 
plans-under-development. 

Contact Information: Kimberly Romero, Nonpoint Source 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, Blue 

Ridge Regional Office, 901 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153, 

telephone (540) 759-9075, or email 

kimberly.romero@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Meeting and Opportunity for Public Comment 
for a Cleanup Plan for Cedar Run, Mine Run, 

Mountain Run, and the Lower Rapidan River Basin 
in Orange, Culpeper, and Spotsylvania Counties 

Purpose of Notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) seeks public comment on the development of a cleanup 

plan for impaired waters, also known as an implementation 

plan (IP), for Cedar Run, Mine Run, Mountain Run, and the 

Lower Rapidan River Basin in Orange, Culpeper, and 

Spotsylvania Counties, Virginia. These streams are listed as 

impaired since monitoring data indicates that the waters do not 

meet Virginia's water quality standards due to an exceedance 

in E. coli. Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-

44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop 

cleanup studies to address pollutants responsible for causing 

waters to be on Virginia's § 303(d) list of impaired waters. 

Once a cleanup study is developed, § 62.1-44.19:7 of the Code 

of Virginia outlines the requirements needed in a cleanup plan 

to address the pollutants contained in the study. 

A cleanup plan has been completed for Cedar Run, Mine Run, 

Mountain Run, and the Lower Rapidan River Basin that 

identifies corrective actions needed to improve water quality 

and discusses the associated costs and environmental benefits 

of the actions. A summary of the plan will be presented at the 

meeting. Citizens are invited to provide comment on the plan 

and will learn how to be part of implementing the plan to 

improve water quality in the watershed. Community 

engagement meetings to assist in development of this cleanup 

plan were convened on April 12, 2024, and June 27, 2024. 

Cleanup Plan Location: The cleanup plan addresses the 

following impaired stream segments for bacteria impairments: 

Black Walnut Run, which begins at the Route 621 crossing and 

continues downstream until the confluence with Mine Run 

(6.48 mi.); 

Brook Run, which begins at the confluence with an unnamed 

tributary to Brook Run at Route 647 and continues downstream 

until the confluence with the Rapidan River (2.51 mi.); 

Cabin Branch, which begins at the perennial headwaters of 

Cabin Branch and continues downstream to the confluence 

with Cedar Run (3.19 mi.); 

Cedar Run, which begins at the confluence with Buck Run and 

continues downstream until the confluence with Cabin Branch 

(3.54 mi.); 

Cedar Run, which begins at the confluence with Cabin Branch 

and continues downstream until the confluence with the 

Rapidan River (2.26 mi.); 

Mine Run, which begins at the confluence with Cormack Run, 

approximately 0.6 rivermiles upstream of Route 20, and 

continues downstream until the confluence with the Rapidan 

River (10.50 mi.); 

Mountain Run, which begins at the headwaters of Mountain 

Run and continues downstream until the confluence with Mill 

Run (7.46 mi.); 

Mountain Run, which begins at the confluence with Mill Run, 

approximately 0.25 rivermiles downstream of Route 617, and 
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continues downstream until the confluence with Mine Run 

(10.11 mi.); 

Potato Run, which begins at the headwaters of Potato Run and 

continues downstream until the confluence with the Rapidan 

River (6.84 mi.); 

Rapidan River, which begins at the confluence with the 

Robinson River and continues downstream until the 

confluence with an unnamed tributary to the Rapidan River at 

rivermile 36.6 (3.40 mi.); 

Rapidan River, which begins at the confluence with an 

unnamed tributary to the Rapidan River at rivermile 34.5, 

approximately 0.6 rivermiles downstream from Route 689, and 

continues downstream until the confluence with Cedar Run 

(4.66 mi.); 

Rapidan River, which begins at the boundary of the public 

water supply area, approximately 1.17 rivermiles upstream 

from the Route 3 crossing, and continues downstream to the 

confluence with Lick Branch (3.41 mi.); 

Sumerduck Run, which begins at the confluence with Dry Run 

and continues downstream until the confluence with the 

Rapidan River (6.21 mi.); and 

Wilderness Run, which begins at the confluence of North 

Wilderness Run and South Wilderness Run and continues 

downstream until the confluence with the Rapidan River (5.56 

mi.). 

Public Meeting: George Washington Carver Agricultural 

Research Center, 9432 North James Madison Highway, Rapidan, 

VA 22733 on October 3, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. In the event of 

inclement weather, the meeting will be held on October 8, 2024, 

at the same time and location. 

Public Comment Period: October 3, 2024, to November 4, 2024. 

How to Comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email or 

postal mail. All comments must be received by DEQ during the 

comment period. Submittals must include the name, organization 

represented (if any), mailing addresses, and telephone numbers of 

the commenter or requester. 

Information about this plan will be posted throughout the 

development process at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-

programs/water/water-quality/implementation/implementation-

plans-under-development. 

Contact Information: Kaitlin King, Nonpoint Source 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, Central 

Office, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 338-2430, or email 

kaitlin.king@deq.virginia.gov. 

Opportunity for Public Comment on Proposed State 
Implementation Air Quality Plan Revision 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 

Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by the 

Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under the 

federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient air 

quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA). The Commonwealth intends to 

submit the regulation amendments to EPA as a revision to the 

plan in accordance with the requirements of § 110(a) of the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

Provisions affected: The regulation of the board affected by 

this action is 9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources), 

Regulation Revision B23. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 

revision to the plan. 

Public comment period: September 23, 2024, to October 23, 

2024. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a request 

is made in writing to the contact listed. In order to be 

considered, the request must include the full name, address, 

and telephone number of the person requesting the hearing and 

be received by DEQ by the last day of the comment period. 

Notice of the date, time, and location of any requested public 

hearing will be announced in a separate notice, and another 30-

day comment period will be conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation included in this plan has 

been adopted by the State Air Pollution Control Board in 

accordance with the Code of Virginia. DEQ is accepting 

comment only on the issue cited under "purpose of notice" and 

not on the content of the regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: Virginia state agencies are required to 

review regulations periodically in order to determine whether 

they are still needed. A public review of 9VAC5-40 (Existing 

Stationary Sources), including a review of the department's 

Comprehensive Environmental Data System database showed 

that there are no longer any facilities within the state subject to 

Article 11 (9VAC5-40-1340 et seq.), Emission Standards for 

Petroleum Refinery Operations or Article 26 (9VAC5-40-3560 

et seq.), Emission Standards for Large Appliance Coating 

Application Systems. 

Article 11 was promulgated in 1972 in order to control 

emissions of criteria pollutants particulate matter, sulfur 

dioxide, and volatile organic compounds (VOCs) as well as 

hydrogen sulfide. Article 26 was also promulgated in 1972 in 

order to control emissions of VOCs. These articles were 

adopted by EPA as revisions to the Virginia SIP in Subpart VV 

of 40 CFR Part 52, and are thus federally enforceable. 

While many of the legacy 9VAC5-40 chapters still apply to 

affected facilities and continue to be an important 

underpinning to the SIP, there are no longer any petroleum 

refineries or large appliance coating application systems 

located within the state, so Articles 11 and 26 no longer serve 
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any purpose. Even if there were still affected sources in the 

state, EPA's regulations have become much more protective of 

public health and welfare since the state articles were originally 

promulgated in 1972. For example, Article 11 limits sulfur 

dioxide (SO2) emissions to a concentration of 2,000 parts per 

million by volume (ppmv). The currently effective federal 

standard limits SO2 emissions to 50 ppmv (seven-day rolling 

average) and 25 ppmv (365-day rolling average). Any new 

petroleum refining or large appliance coating facilities locating 

in Virginia will now be subject to federal New Source 

Performance Standards, National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories, and a suite of 

other permitting requirements implemented since 1972. 

A number of general provisions and state-specific 

requirements are cross-referenced in each rule, but these were 

intended for the convenience of the affected facilities, and not 

individual state requirements. DEQ also verified that there are 

no cross-references to these rules or internal sections elsewhere 

in the regulations of the board, and therefore there is no need 

to amend any other sections of the regulation. 

The articles were repealed by the State Air Pollution Control 

Board on September 13, 2023, under the authority of § 10.1-

1308 of the Code of Virginia. Because the articles have been 

repealed, they may be removed from Subpart VV. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations (40 

CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email 

and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments must 

include the full name, address, and telephone number of the 

person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last day of 

the comment period. All materials received are part of the 

public record. 

To review documents: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices 

website at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/ 

public-notices/air. The documents may also be obtained by 

contacting the DEQ contact listed. The public may schedule an 

appointment to review the documents between 8:30 am and 

4:30 pm of each business day until the close of the public 

comment period at the following DEQ locations: 

1. Main Street Office, 22nd Floor, 1111 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4000; 

2. Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA, telephone (540) 676-4800; 

3. Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3901 Russell Drive, Salem, 

VA, telephone (540) 562-6700; 

4. Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, 

VA, telephone (540) 574-7800; 

5. Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA, telephone (804) 527-5020; 

6. Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800; and 

7. Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Policy Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1973, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Public Comment Opportunity on Public Notice of 
Intent to Amend State Plan - Supplemental 

Payments to Private Hospitals for Physician 
Services 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates - Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

§ 447.205 and § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act (42 

USC § 1396a(a)(13)). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from the DMAS contact listed. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted in writing by September 27, 2024, 

and such comments are available for review at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

In accordance with the Item 288 OO 9 a through c of the 2024 

Appropriations Act, DMAS will make the following changes: 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates - Other 

Types of Care (12VAC 30-80)  

DMAS is revising the state plan to make supplemental 

payments to private hospitals and related health systems that 

intend to execute affiliation agreements with public entities 

that are capable of transferring funds to the department for 

purposes of covering the nonfederal share of the authorized 

payments. Virginia community colleges, Virginia public 

institutions of higher education, local governments, and 

instrumentalities of local government are public entities that 

are authorized to transfer funds to the department for purposes 

of covering the nonfederal share of the authorized payments. 

Such public entities would enter into an interagency agreement 

with the department for this purpose. 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/air
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/air
mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
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The department has the authority to make the supplemental 

payments to private hospitals for physician services as of July 

1, 2024. No payment shall be made without approval from 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and an 

interagency agreement with a public entity capable of 

transferring the nonfederal share of authorized payments to the 

department. The funds to be transferred must comply with 42 

CFR §§ 433.51 and 433.54. Such funds may not be paid from 

any private agreements with public entities that are in excess 

of fair market value or that alleviate preexisting financial 

burdens of such public entities. Public entities are authorized 

to use general fund dollars to accomplish this transfer. As part 

of the interagency agreements, the department shall require the 

public entities to attest to compliance with applicable CMS 

criteria. 

The department shall also require any private hospital and 

related health systems receiving payments under this section to 

attest to compliance with applicable CMS criteria. Upon 

notification by the department of any deferral or disallowance 

issued by CMS regarding the supplemental or managed care 

directed payment arrangement, the hospital provider will 

return the entire balance of the payment to the department 

within 30 days of notification. If the hospital does not return 

the entire balance of the payment to the department within the 

specified timeframe, a judgment rate of interest set forth in 

§ 6.2-302 of the Code of Virginia will be applied to the entire 

balance, regardless of whatever portion has been repaid. In 

addition, the nonfederal share of the agency's administrative 

costs directly related to administration of the programs listed, 

including staff and contractors, shall be funded by participating 

public entities. These funds shall be deposited into a special 

fund created by the comptroller and used to support the 

administrative costs associated with managing this program. 

Any funds received for this purpose but unexpended at the end 

of the fiscal year shall remain in the fund for use in accordance 

with this provision. 

The purposes to which the additional payments listed shall be 

applied include (i) increasing and enhancing access to 

outpatient care for Medicaid recipients, (ii) stabilizing and 

supporting critical health care workforce needs, and (iii) 

advancing the department's health and quality improvement 

goals. These purposes shall contain specific measurable 

outcomes that will be approved and monitored by the 

department quarterly. Payment shall be dependent on progress 

toward goal attainment on all three purposes. Participating 

organizations must submit quarterly updates and annual 

reports on programs to the department no later than October 1. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service 

expenditures is $2,255,770 in state general funds and 

$2,346,903 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2025. The 

expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service 

expenditures is $2,291,211 in state general funds and 

$2,311,462 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2026. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Division of Policy and Research, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 
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