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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequen111tial impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at https://register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures 

to be followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that 

Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia be examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and 

date. 34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, 

Issue 8, pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on 

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Marcus B. Simon, 

Chair; Russet W. Perry, Vice Chair; Katrina E. Callsen; Nicole 

Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Michael 

Mullin; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Managing 

Editor; Erin Comerford, Regulations Analyst. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4007.06/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
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https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2024 through November 2025 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

41:6 October 16, 2024 November 4, 2024 

41:7 October 30, 2024 November 18, 2024 

41:8 November 13, 2024 December 2, 2024 

41:9 November 26, 2024 (Tuesday) December 16, 2024 

41:10 December 11, 2024 December 30, 2024 

41:11 December 23, 2024 (Monday) January 13, 2025 

41:12 January 8, 2025 January 27, 2025 

41:13 January 22, 2025 February 10, 2025 

41:14 February 5, 2025 February 24, 2025 

41:15 February 19, 2025 March 10, 2025 

41:16 March 5, 2025 March 24, 2025 

41:17 March 19, 2025 April 7, 2025 

41:18 April 2, 2025 April 21, 2025 

41:19 April 16, 2025 May 5, 2025 

41:20 April 30, 2025 May 19, 2025 

41:21 May 14, 2025 June 2, 2025 

41:22 May 28, 2025 June 16, 2025 

41:23 June 11, 2025 June 30, 2025 

41:24 June 25, 2025 July 14, 2025 

41:25 July 9, 2025 July 28, 2025 

41:26 July 23, 2025 August 11, 2025 

42:1 August 6, 2025 August 25, 2025 

42:2 August 20, 2025 September 8, 2025 

42:3 September 3, 2025 September 22, 2025 

42:4 September 17, 2025 October 6, 2025 

42:5 October 1, 2025 October 20, 2025 

42:6 October 15, 2025 November 3, 2025 

42:7 October 29, 2025 November 17, 2025 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5. None specified. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 10.1-1308 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Robert Hodson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: On September 30, 2024, the 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) received Robert 

Hodson's petition to initiate a new regulation governing ocean-

class passenger cruise ships. Specifically, this petition requests 

that DEQ and the Commonwealth develop a regulation for 

cruise ships in Virginia waters as follows: (i) mandate the use 

of low-sulfur fuel; (ii) ban the use of exhaust gas cleaning 

systems (open-loop scrubbers); (iii) require the use of shore 

power; (iv) restrict the dumping of graywater, blackwater, and 

other environmentally detrimental waste products; and (v) 

require incident reporting and independent monitoring to 

ensure compliance. 

A copy of the full petition is available from the agency contact. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: A 21-day public 

comment period is being announced in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. Upon completion of the public comment period, 

the Air Pollution Control Board will consider the petition at a 

future meeting and decide whether to move forward with the 

rulemaking. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 11, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-

1973, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-10; Filed October 1, 2024, 3:43 p.m. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25. None specified. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 2.1-44.33 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Robert Hodson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: On September 30, 2024, the 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) received Robert 

Hodson's petition to initiate a new regulation governing ocean-

class passenger cruise ships. Specifically, this petition requests 

that DEQ and the Commonwealth develop a regulation for 

cruise ships in Virginia waters as follows: (i) mandate the use 

of low-sulfur fuel; (ii) ban the use of exhaust gas cleaning 

systems (open-loop scrubbers); (iii) require the use of shore 

power; (iv) restrict the dumping of graywater, blackwater, and 

other environmentally detrimental waste products; and (v) 

require incident reporting and independent monitoring to 

ensure compliance. 

A copy of the full petition is available from the agency contact. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: A 21-day public 

comment period is being announced in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. Upon completion of the public comment period, 

the State Water Control Board will consider the petition at a 

future meeting and decide whether to move forward with the 

rulemaking. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 11, 2024. 

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 350-

2743, or email william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-11; Filed October 1, 2024, 3:44 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Assistants. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: American Medical Technologists. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Dentistry amend 18VAC60-30-80 to recognize the 

Dental Assisting Radiography Exam given by American 

Medical Technologists as a qualifying pathway for 

certification to place or expose dental x-ray film. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on October 21, 2024. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall to receive 

public comment, which opens October 21, 2024, and closes 

November 20, 2024. The board will consider the petition and 

all comments in support or opposition at the next meeting after 

the close of public comment. that meeting is currently 

scheduled for December 13, 2024. The petitioner will be 

notified of the board's decision after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:william.norris@deq.virginia.gov
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Agency Contact: Jamie Sacksteder, Executive Director, Board 

of Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4581, or email 

jamie.sacksteder@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-07; Filed September 17, 2024, 1:09 p.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jenna Pagano. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Counseling amend 18VAC115-20-40 to exempt 

licensed marriage and family counselors from passing the 

National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination or 

National Counselor Examination to apply for licensure as a 

professional counselor and accept passage of the National 

Marriage and Family Therapy Examination for those 

applicants. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on October 21, 2024. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall to receive 

public comment, which opens October 21, 2024, and closes 

November 20, 2024. The board will consider the petition and 

all comments in support or opposition at the next meeting after 

the close of public comment. That meeting is currently 

scheduled for January 24, 2025. The petitioner will be notified 

of the board's decision after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-08; Filed September 24, 2024, 3:09 p.m. 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jenna Pagano. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Counseling amend 18VAC115-20-40 and 

18VAC115-20-51 to create a pathway for licensed marriage 

and family therapists to obtain licensure as a professional 

counselor similar to the pathway provided for licensed 

professional counselors to obtain licensure as a marriage and 

family therapist. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on October 21, 2024. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall to receive 

public comment, which opens October 21, 2024, and closes 

November 20, 2024. The board will consider the petition and 

all comments in support or opposition at the next meeting after 

the close of public comment. That meeting is currently 

scheduled for January 24, 2025. The petitioner will be notified 

of the board's decision after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA, 

23233 telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-09; Filed September 24, 2024, 3:15 p.m. 

mailto:jamie.sacksteder@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-370, Rules and Regulations for 

Enforcement of the Virginia Animal Remedies Law, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained as is. The 

board is publishing its report of findings dated July 11, 2024, 

to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because the requirements in this regulation 

are needed to administer the provisions of the Animal 

Remedies Law (§ 3.2-4900 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

The regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. 

The board recommends that the regulation stay in effect 

without change. The provisions of this regulation establish 

general requirements that are consistent with current industry 

practices and that are not unnecessarily burdensome. The board 

has determined that this regulation is not unnecessarily 

complex and that the regulation does not have an economic 

impact on small businesses. This regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The board has determined that no change in the animal remedy 

industry has occurred since the board's previous periodic 

review of this regulation that would necessitate the amendment 

or repeal of this regulation. 

Contact Information: David Gianino, Program Manager, 

Office of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TDD 

(800) 828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-310, 

Rules Governing Instructions Concerning Drugs and 

Substance Abuse, and determined that this regulation should 

be amended. The board is publishing its report of findings 

dated September 26, 2024, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare as the regulation establishes and 

encourages drug prevention programs and counseling for 

students, families, and school personnel. It is clearly written 

and easily understandable. The regulation should be amended 

for clarity and concision, and the board should consider 

moving the regulation's underlying requirements to 8VAC20-

720. There is a continued need for substance abuse education 

and prevention, as well as counseling, in public schools. No 

comments were received during the periodic review, and the 

board is unaware of any complaints concerning the regulation. 

There does not appear to be any significant overlap between 

this regulation and state or federal law. The regulation has not 

been amended since it was promulgated in 1980. There is little 

to no expected impact on small businesses resulting from this 

decision. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-320, 

Regulations Governing Physical and Health Education, and 

determined that this regulation should be repealed. The board 

is publishing its report of findings dated September 26, 2024, 

to support this decision. 

This regulation is not necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare; therefore, the regulation will be 

repealed. There is not a continued need for the regulation. The 

board received no comments during the periodic review and is 

not aware of any complaints concerning the regulation. The 

regulation is not overly complex. This regulation overlaps with 

the state law because subsection B of § 22.1-253.13:1 of the 

Code of Virginia requires the board to promulgate health and 

physical education Standards of Learning. The regulation has 

not been amended since it was promulgated in 1995, and it still 

reflects outdated terminology such as "curriculum guides." The 

board's decision is expected to have no impact on small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-565, 

mailto:david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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Regulations for the Protection of Students as Participants 

in Human Research, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained as is. The board is publishing its report of 

findings dated September 26, 2024, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare. It is clearly written and easily 

understandable. The regulation will be retained as is. There is 

a continued need for the regulation. The board did not receive 

any comments during the periodic review and is not aware of 

any complaints concerning the regulation. The regulation is not 

overly complex. The regulation overlaps with Chapter 5.1 

(§ 32.1-162.16 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The extent of any further overlap with federal or state laws and 

regulations is currently unknown. The regulation has not been 

amended since it was promulgated in 1995. The board's 

decision is expected to have no impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-730, 

Regulations Governing the Collection and Reporting of 

Truancy-Related Data and Student Attendance Policies, 
and determined that this regulation should be repealed. The 

board is publishing its report of findings dated September 26, 

2024, to support this decision. 

There is not a continued need for this regulation. The 

regulation is not necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare. The regulation conflicts and overlaps with 

§ 22.1-258 of the Code of Virginia. The regulation also 

overlaps with 8VAC20-110. The provisions of 8VAC20-730-

30 and the definitions for "excused absence," "instructional 

school day," "truancy," and "unexcused absence" will be 

moved to 8VAC20-720. The board is currently unaware of any 

complaints or comments concerning the regulation. The extent 

of any overlap with federal law is unknown. The regulation 

was last amended in 2021. The board's decision is not expected 

to have any economic impact on small business. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-

4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulations are 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact review: 

9VAC25-660, Virginia Water Protection General Permit for 

Impacts Less Than One-Half Acre; 9VAC25-670, Virginia 

Water Protection General Permit for Facilities and Activities 

of Utility and Public Service Companies Regulated by the 

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission or the State 

Corporation Commission and Other Utility Line Activities; 

9VAC25-680, Virginia Water Protection General Permit for 

Linear Transportation Projects; and 9VAC25-690, Virginia 

Water Protection General Permit for Impacts from 

Development and Certain Mining Activities. The Notices of 

Intended Regulatory Action to amend 9VAC25-660, 9VAC25-

670, 9VAC25-680 and 9VAC25-690, which are published in this 

issue of the Virginia Register, serve as the agency notices of 

announcement. 

Agency Contact: Dave Davis, Office of Wetland and Stream 

Protection, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

698-4105, or email vwppublicnotices@deq.virginia.gov. 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, 

the following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and small 

business impact review: 9VAC25-900, Certification of 

Nonpoint Source Nutrient Credits. The review of this regulation 

will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The 

purpose of a periodic review is to determine whether the 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current 

form. Public comment is sought on the review of any issue relating 

to this regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; and 

(iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins October 21, 2024, and ends 

November 11, 2024. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response to 

the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of both 

reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Derick Winn, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 965-4875, or email 

derick.winn@deq.virginia.gov. 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends to 

consider amending 8VAC20-671, Regulations Governing 

the Operation of Private Day Schools for Students with 

Disabilities and Educational Programs Offered in Group 

Homes and Residential Facilities in the Commonwealth. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to meet the mandate 

required by Item 130 H Chapter 1 of the 2023 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I to align the requirements for use 

of restraint and seclusion for private special education day 

schools with those for public schools. Proposed amendments 

being considered include (i) adding definitions; (ii) 

standardizing requirements related to the use of seclusion and 

application of restraints with those enforced at public schools; 

and (iii) altering reporting requirements on the use of seclusion 

and application of restraints.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-321 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Regulatory and Legal 

Coordinator, Department of Education, James Monroe 

Building, 25th Floor, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7025; Filed September 30, 2024, 9:36 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management Board 

intends to consider amending 9VAC20-81, Solid Waste 

Management Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to amend the current open burning allowances to 

provide conditions allowing the offsite open burning of 

vegetative waste when it is impractical or unsafe to destroy 

such waste at the site of generation or at a permitted solid waste 

landfill and add definitions for "impractical or unsafe" and 

other terms to accommodate the new regulatory conditions. 

These amendments are required pursuant to Chapter 235 of the 

2024 Acts of Assembly. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC § 6941 et seq.; 40 CFR Part 258. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Rebecca Rathe, Regulatory Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early Road, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 830-7241, or email 

rebecca.rathe@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8041; Filed September 17, 2024, 3:14 p.m. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 

consider amending 9VAC25-660, Virginia Water Protection 

General Permit for Impacts Less Than One-Half Acre. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to reissue the Virginia Water 

Protection General Permit for Impacts Less Than One-Half Acre 

authorized by the regulation that is expiring on August 1, 2026, 

and extend it for another 10-year term. The general permit is a 

streamlined permitting approach for impacts to the surface waters. 

The proposed action provides efficiency to the permit coverage 

process for activities having minor impacts to state surface waters, 

simplifies permit issuance procedures, and makes clarifying 

amendments for improved understanding of regulatory provisions 

and permit processes. Amendments being considered will provide 

clarity in provisions related to coverage expiration, transition, and 

continuation; correct citations and typographical errors; update 

forms and reference documents; and clarify administrative 

procedures. Specifically, the board is considering amendments 

related to transitioning between the expiring general permit and 

the next consecutive general permit.  

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

agency is conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of this regulation to determine whether this regulation 

should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. 

Public comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to 

this regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed action 

after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; § 401 

of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Dave Davis, Office of Wetland and Stream 

Protection, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 698-4105, or email vwppublicnotices@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8056; Filed September 17, 2024, 3:08 p.m. 

mailto:@jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 

consider amending 9VAC25-670, Virginia Water Protection 

General Permit for Facilities and Activities of Utility and 

Public Service Companies Regulated by the Federal 

Energy Regulatory Commission or the State Corporation 

Commission and Other Utility Line Activities. The purpose 

of the proposed action is to reissue the Virginia Water 

Protection General Permit for Facilities and Activities of 

Utility and Public Service Companies Regulated by the Federal 

Energy Regulatory Commission or the State Corporation 

Commission and Other Utility Line Activities authorized by 

the regulation that is expiring on August 1, 2026, and extend it 

for another 10-year term. The general permit is a streamlined 

permitting approach for impacts to the surface waters. The 

proposed action provides efficiency to the permit coverage 

process for activities having minor impacts to state surface 

waters, simplifies permit issuance procedures, and makes 

clarifying amendments for improved understanding of 

regulatory provisions and permit processes. Amendments 

being considered will provide clarity in provisions related to 

coverage expiration, transition, and continuation; correct 

citations and typographical errors; update forms and reference 

documents; and clarify administrative procedures. 

Specifically, the board is considering amendments related to 

transitioning between the expiring general permit and the next 

consecutive general permit. The general permit covers the 

construction and maintenance of utility lines.  

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 401 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Dave Davis, Office of Wetland and Stream 

Protection, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 698-4105, or email vwppublicnotices@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8057; Filed September 17, 2024, 3:10 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 

consider amending 9VAC25-680, Virginia Water Protection 

General Permit for Linear Transportation Projects. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to reissue the Virginia Water 

Protection General Permit for Linear Transportation Projects 

authorized by the regulation that is expiring on August 1, 2026, 

and extend it for another 10-year term. The general permit is a 

streamlined permitting approach for impacts to the surface 

waters. The proposed action provides efficiency to the permit 

coverage process for activities having minor impacts to state 

surface waters, simplifies permit issuance procedures, and 

makes clarifying amendments for improved understanding of 

regulatory provisions and permit processes. Amendments 

being considered will provide clarity in provisions related to 

coverage expiration, transition, and continuation; correct 

citations and typographical errors; update forms and reference 

documents; and clarify administrative procedures. 

Specifically, the board is considering amendments related to 

transitioning between the expiring general permit and the next 

consecutive general permit. The general permit covers the 

construction and maintenance of Virginia Department of 

Transportation or other linear transportation projects. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 401 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Dave Davis, Office of Wetland and Stream 

Protection, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 698-4105, or email vwppublicnotices@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8058; Filed September 17, 2024, 3:11 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 

consider amending 9VAC25-690, Virginia Water Protection 

General Permit for Impacts from Development and 

Certain Mining Activities. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to reissue the Virginia Water Protection General 

mailto:vwppublicnotices@deq.virginia.gov
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Permit for Impacts from Development and Certain Mining 

Activities authorized by the regulation that is expiring on 

August 1, 2026, and extend it for another 10-year term. The 

general permit is a streamlined permitting approach for 

impacts to the surface waters. The proposed action provides 

efficiency to the permit coverage process for activities having 

minor impacts to state surface waters, simplifies permit 

issuance procedures, and makes clarifying amendments for 

improved understanding of regulatory provisions and permit 

processes. Amendments being considered will provide clarity 

in provisions related to coverage expiration, transition, and 

continuation; correct citations and typographical errors; update 

forms and reference documents; and clarify administrative 

procedures. Specifically, the board is considering amendments 

related to transitioning between the expiring general permit 

and the next consecutive general permit. The general permit 

covers the construction and maintenance of development 

activities and to activities directly associated with aggregate 

mining hard rock and mineral mining and surface coal, natural 

gas, and coalbed methane gas mining as authorized by the 

Virginia Department of Energy. 

In addition, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

the agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 401 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Dave Davis, Office of Wetland and Stream 

Protection, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 698-4105, or email vwppublicnotices@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8059; Filed September 17, 2024, 3:11 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Department of Labor and Industry 

intends to consider promulgating 16VAC15-70, Local 

Government Union Requirements and Employee 

Protections. The purpose of the proposed action is to permit 

counties, cities, and towns to adopt local ordinances 

authorizing them to (i) recognize any labor union or other 

employee association as a bargaining agent of any public 

officers or employees, except for Constitutional officers and 

employees, and including public school employees, and (ii) 

collectively bargain or enter into any collective bargaining 

contract with any such union or association or its agents with 

respect to any matter relating to the association or the 

employment of its members. This action is required pursuant 

to Chapter 1209 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-2.1 and 40.1-57.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Cristin Bernhardt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Hearing Legal Services Office, Department of Labor and 

Industry, 6606 West Broad Street, Suite 500, Richmond, VA 

23230, telephone (804) 786-2392, or email 

cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8060; Filed October 1, 2024, 11:21 a.m. 

mailto:vwppublicnotices@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC5-20. Standards for Classification 

of Real Estate As Devoted to Open Space Use under the 

Virginia Land Use Assessment Law (amending 4VAC5-20-

10, 4VAC5-20-30, 4VAC5-20-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-104 and 58.1-3230 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 5, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning Director, 

Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main 

Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

4378, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation to prescribe rules 

and regulations necessary or incidental to the performance of 

duties or execution of powers conferred by law. The director 

of the department is required to prescribe uniform standards for 

"real estate devoted to open-space use" pursuant to the 

authority set out in § 58.3240 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The proposed amendments correct references to the 

Code of Virginia and sections of the regulation, bringing the 

standard for minimum acreage into compliance with the 

changes made to statute. This regulatory action does not impact 

public health or safety; however, general public welfare is 

protected when regulations are promulgated in compliance 

with statutory requirements. Additionally, commissioners of 

the revenue, local assessing officers, and individual 

landowners will all benefit from standards that are clear and 

consistent. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is expected to be noncontroversial and, therefore, 

appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process because it 

brings the chapter into conformance with current statutory 

language, amends incorrect references, and corrects outdated 

information. 

Substance: Pursuant to a periodic review, the amendments 

change the minimum two-acre requirement to reflect current 

statutory language allowing for a minimum of one-quarter of 

an acre, update incorrect references, and correct outdated 

information. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth is that the regulation will be consistent with 

the current statutory language and provide accurate 

information and references. There are no disadvantages to the 

public or Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to a 2023 periodic review of this regulation,2 the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) proposes 

to update (i) references to the Code of Virginia and sections of 

the regulation and (ii) the minimum acreage required to be 

considered as open space. 

Background. This regulation establishes standards to classify 

real estate as devoted to open space use under the Virginia 

Land Use Assessment Law. Following a periodic review of this 

regulation, DCR identified incorrect references to the Code of 

Virginia and sections of the regulation. DCR also identified 

that the standard for minimum acreage was outdated as it did 

not reflect amendments made by Chapter 475 of the 2002 Acts 

of the General Assembly; accordingly, the minimum acreage 

for open space would be reduced from two acres to one-quarter 

of an acre.3 The proposed action would correct the incorrect 

references and the outdated minimum acreage standard to 

comport with the law. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed changes to this 

regulation would correct erroneous and outdated text and as 

such is expected to eliminate potential confusion that may be 

created by the current text. No other economic effect is 

expected. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. This regulation applies 

to property owners that wish to designate land as open use in 

localities that adopted an ordinance for the Land-Use 

Assessment Program with the Open-Space Category. DCR 

does not have data on the number of applications as this is 

addressed by each locality individually. No landowner appears 
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to be disproportionately affected. The Code of Virginia 

requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result 

from the proposed regulation.4 An adverse impact is indicated 

if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for 

any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined.5 As noted, the proposal would correct text and as 

such does not indicate an adverse impact on any entity. 

Small Businesses6 Affected.7 The proposed repeal of the 

regulation would not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities8 Affected.9 This regulation does not apply to all 

localities. It only applies to localities that adopted an ordinance 

for a Land-Use Assessment Program with the Open-Space 

Category. Currently, there are 46 counties and 10 cities that 

adopted such an ordinance: the cities of Alexandria, Buena 

Vista, Chesapeake, Fredericksburg, Harrisonburg, Lynchburg, 

Petersburg, Portsmouth, Radford, Virginia Beach; and the 

counties of Albemarle, Alleghany, Amelia, Amherst, Augusta, 

Botetourt, Campbell, Caroline, Chesterfield, Clarke, 

Cumberland, Essex, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, 

Giles, Greene, Hanover, Henrico, King George, King William, 

Loudoun, Louisa, Madison, Middlesex, New Kent, 

Northumberland, Nottoway, Page, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, 

Prince George, Prince William, Richmond, Roanoke, 

Rockbridge, Rockingham, Shenandoah, Smyth, Southampton, 

Spotsylvania, Tazewell, Warren, Washington, and 

Westmoreland. No adverse impact on these participating 

localities is indicated. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property nor on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2366. 

3 https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-

bin/legp604.exe?021+ful+CHAP0475&021+ful+CHAP0475. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

5 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

7 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

8 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

9 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Virginia 

Department of Conservation and Recreation generally concurs 

with the economic impact analysis prepared by the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to a periodic review, the amendments bring the 

regulation into conformance with current statutory 

language, update incorrect references, and correct 

outdated information. 

4VAC5-20-10. General standards. 

To qualify as an open-space use, real estate must meet the 

requirements of both this section and the specific standards 

contained in 4VAC5-30-20 of this chapter 4VAC5-20-20. The 

general standards are as follows: 

A. Consistency with land use plan. 

1. The open-space use of the property must be consistent 

with the land use plan of the county, city, or town which 

that has been made and adopted officially in accordance 

with Article 4, Chapter 11, 22 (§ 15.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 

15.1 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. A land use consistent with the land use plan means a use 

that is consistent with areas or land use zones depicted on 

a map that is part of the land use plan, or that directly 

supports or is generally consistent with stated land uses, 

natural resources conservation, or historic preservation 

objectives, goals, or standards of the land use plan. 

3. A property that is subject to a recorded perpetual 

conservation, historic, or open-space easement held by 

any public body, or is part of an agricultural, a forestal, or 

an agricultural and forestal district approved by local 

government, shall be considered to be consistent with the 

land use plan. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2366
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B. Minimum acreage. 

1. Except as provided in subdivision B 2 of this section 

subsection, real estate devoted to open-space use shall 

consist of a minimum of five acres. 

2. If the governing body of any county, city, or town has 

so prescribed by ordinance, real estate devoted to open 

space shall consist of a minimum of two acres one quarter 

of an acre when the real estate is: 

a. Adjacent to a scenic river, a scenic highway, a Virginia 

byway, or public property listed in the approved State 

Comprehensive Outdoor Recreation Plan, also known as 

the Virginia Outdoors Plan (the Virginia Outdoors Plan 

can be obtained from the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation at 203 Governor Street, Suite 302 600 East 

Main Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219); or 

b. Located in a county, city, or town having a density of 

population greater than 5,000 per square mile. 

C. Other requirements. Real estate devoted to open-space 

use shall be: 

1. Within an agricultural, a forestal, or an agricultural and 

forestal district entered into pursuant to Chapter 36 43 

(§ 15.2-4300 et seq.) of Title 15.1 15.2 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

2. Subject to a recorded perpetual easement that is held by 

a public body and that promotes the open-space use 

classification as defined in § 58.1-3230 of the Code of 

Virginia; or 

3. Subject to a recorded commitment entered into by the 

landowner with the governing body in accordance with 

4VAC5-30-30 of this chapter 4VAC5-20-30. 

D. Opinions. In determining whether a property meets the 

general and specific standards for open-space use, the local 

assessing officer may request an opinion from the Director 

of the Department of Conservation and Recreation under the 

provisions of 4VAC5-30-40 of this chapter 4VAC5-20-40. 

4VAC5-20-30. Standards for written commitments by 

landowners to preserve open-space land use. 

The written commitment entered into by landowners for the 

local governing body to preserve open-space land use, pursuant 

to subdivision 3 of § 58.1-3233 of the Code of Virginia, shall 

conform substantially to the following form of agreement: 

OPEN-SPACE USE AGREEMENT 

This Agreement, made this..... day of..... 19 20... 

between......................., hereafter called the Owner, and the 

(County, City, or Town) of......................, a political 

subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, hereinafter 

called the (County, City, or Town), recites and provides as 

follows: 

RECITALS 

1. The Owner is the owner of certain real estate, described 

below, hereinafter called the Property; and 

2. The (County, City, or Town) is the local governing body 

having real estate tax jurisdiction over the Property; and 

3. The (County, City, or Town) has determined: 

A. That it is in the public interest that the Property should 

be provided or preserved for (Insert one or more of the 

following uses: park or recreational purposes; 

conservation of land; conservation of (Insert description 

of other natural resource); an historic area; a scenic area; 

assisting in the shaping of the character, direction and 

timing of community development; or other use which that 

serves the public interest by the preservation of open-

space land as provided in the land use plan.); and 

B. That the Property meets the applicable criteria for real 

estate devoted to open-space use as prescribed in Article 4 

(§ 58.1-3229 58.1-3230 et seq.) of Chapter 32 of Title 58.1 

of the Code of Virginia, and the standards for classifying 

such real estate prescribed by the Director of the Virginia 

Department of Conservation and Recreation; and 

C. That the provisions of this agreement meet the 

requirements and standards prescribed under § 58.1-3233 

of the Code of Virginia for recorded commitments by 

landowners not to change an open-space use to a 

nonqualifying use; and 

4. The Owner is willing to make a written recorded 

commitment to preserve and protect the open-space uses of 

the Property during the term of this agreement in order for 

the Property to be taxed on the basis of a use assessment and 

the Owner has submitted an application for such taxation to 

the assessing officer of the (County, City, or Town) pursuant 

to § 58.1-3234 of the Code of Virginia and (citation of local 

ordinance); and 

5. The (County, City, or Town) is willing to extend the tax 

for the Property on the basis of a use assessment 

commencing with the next succeeding tax year and 

continuing for the term of this agreement, in consideration 

of the Owner's commitment to preserve and protect the open-

space uses of the property, and on the condition that the 

Owner's application is satisfactory and that all other 

requirements of Article 4, Chapter 32, Title 58.1 of the Code 

of Virginia and (citation of local ordinance) are complied 

with. 

NOW THEREFORE, in consideration of the recitals and the 

mutual benefits, covenants, and terms herein contained, the 

parties hereby covenant and agree as follows: 

1. This agreement shall apply to all of the following 

described real estate: (Insert property description) 

2. The Owner agrees that during the term of this agreement: 
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A. There shall be no change in the use or uses of the 

Property that exist as of the date of this agreement to any 

use that would not qualify as an open-space use. 

B. There shall be no display of billboards, signs, or other 

advertisements on the property, except to (i) state solely 

the name of the Owner and the address of the Property;, 

(ii) advertise the sale or lease of the Property;, (iii) 

advertise the sale of goods or services produced pursuant 

to the permitted use of the Property;, or (iv) provide 

warnings. No sign shall exceed four feet by four feet. 

C. There shall be no construction, placement, or 

maintenance of any structure on the Property unless such 

structure is either: 

(1) on On the Property as of the date of this agreement; or 

(2) related Related to and compatible with the open-space 

uses of the Property which this agreement is intended to 

protect or provide for. 

D. There shall be no accumulations of trash, garbage, 

ashes, waste, junk, abandoned property, or other unsightly 

or offensive material on the Property. 

E. There shall be no filling, excavating, mining, drilling, 

removal of topsoil, sand, gravel, rock, minerals, or other 

materials which that alters the topography of the Property, 

except as required in the construction of permissible 

buildings, structures, and features under this agreement. 

F. There shall be no construction or placement of fences, 

screens, hedges, walls, or other similar barriers which that 

materially obstruct the public's view of scenic areas of the 

Property. 

G. There shall be no removal or destruction of trees, 

shrubs, plants, and other vegetation, except that the Owner 

may: 

(1) engage Engage in agricultural, horticultural, or 

silvicultural activities, provided that there shall be no 

cutting of trees, other than selective cutting and salvage of 

dead or dying trees, within 100 feet of a scenic river, a 

scenic highway, a Virginia Byway, or public property 

listed in the approved State Comprehensive Outdoor 

Recreation Plan (Virginia Outdoors Plan); and 

(2) remove Remove vegetation which that constitutes a 

safety, a health, or an ecological hazard.* 

H. There shall be no alteration or manipulation of natural 

water courses, shores, marshes, swamps, wetlands, or 

other water bodies, nor any activities or uses which that 

adversely affect water quality, level, or flow.* 

I. On areas of the Property that are being provided or 

preserved for conservation of land, floodways, or other 

natural resources, or that are to be left in a relatively 

natural or underdeveloped state, there shall be no 

operation of dune buggies, all-terrain vehicles, 

motorcycles, motorbikes, snowmobiles, or other motor 

vehicles, except to the extent necessary to inspect, protect, 

or preserve the area. 

J. There shall be no industrial or commercial activities 

conducted on the Property, except for the continuation of 

agricultural, horticultural, or silvicultural activities; or 

activities that are conducted in a residence or an associated 

outbuilding such as a garage, smokehouse, small shop, or 

similar structure which that is permitted on the property. 

K. There shall be no separation or split-off of lots, pieces, 

or parcels from the Property. The Property may be sold or 

transferred during the term of this agreement only as the 

same entire parcel that is the subject of this agreement; 

provided, however, that the Owner may grant to a public 

body or bodies open-space, conservation, or historic 

preservation easements which that apply to all or part of 

the Property. 

3. This agreement shall be effective upon acceptance by the 

(County, City, or Town); provided, however, that the real 

estate tax for the Property shall not be extended on the basis 

of its use value until the next succeeding tax year following 

timely application by the Owner for use assessment and 

taxation in accordance with (citation of applicable local 

ordinance). Thereafter, this agreement shall remain in effect 

for a term of (Insert a period of not less than 4 four nor more 

than 10) consecutive tax years. 

4. Nothing contained herein shall be construed as giving to 

the public a right to enter upon or to use the Property or any 

portion thereof, except as the Owner may otherwise allow, 

consistent with the provisions of this agreement. 

5. The (County, City, or Town) shall have the right at all 

reasonable times to enter the Property to determine whether 

the Owner is complying with the provisions of this 

agreement. 

6. Nothing in this agreement shall be construed to create in 

the public or any member thereof a right to maintain a suit 

for any damages against the Owner for any violation of this 

agreement. 

7. Nothing in this agreement shall be construed to permit the 

Owner to conduct any activity or to build or maintain any 

improvement which that is otherwise prohibited by law. 

8. If any provision of this agreement is determined to be 

invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the remainder 

of the agreement shall not be affected thereby. 

9. The provisions of this agreement shall run with the land 

and be binding upon the parties, their and any successors, 

assigns, personal representatives, and heirs of the parties. 

10. Words of one gender used herein shall include the other 

gender, and words in the singular shall include words in the 

plural, whenever the sense requires. 
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11. This agreement may be terminated in the manner 

provided in § 15.1-1513 § 15.2-4314 of the Code of Virginia 

for withdrawal of land from an agricultural, a forestal, or an 

agricultural and forestal district. 

12. Upon termination of this agreement, the Property shall 

thereafter be assessed and taxed at its fair market value, 

regardless of its actual use, unless the (County, City, or 

Town) determines otherwise in accordance with applicable 

law. 

13. Upon execution of this agreement, it shall be recorded 

with the record of land titles in the Clerk's Office of the 

Circuit Court of....................., Virginia, at the Owner's 

expense. 

14. NOTICE: WHEN THE OPEN-SPACE USE OR USES 

BY WHICH THE PROPERTY QUALIFIED FOR 

ASSESSMENT AND TAXATION ON THE BASIS OF 

USE CHANGES TO A NONQUALIFYING USE OR 

USES, OR WHEN THE ZONING FOR THE PROPERTY 

CHANGES TO A MORE INTENSIVE USE AT THE 

REQUEST OF THE OWNER, THE PROPERTY, OR 

SUCH PORTION OF THE PROPERTY WHICH THAT 

NO LONGER QUALIFIES, SHALL BE SUBJECT TO 

ROLL-BACK TAXES IN ACCORDANCE WITH § 58.1-

3237 OF THE CODE OF VIRGINIA. THE OWNER 

SHALL BE SUBJECT TO ALL OF THE OBLIGATIONS 

AND LIABILITIES OF SAID CODE SECTION. 

....................... (SEAL) 

Owner 

(Name of City, County, or Town) 

by........................ 

(Acknowledgments) 

*Paragraphs H and I must be included in agreements for 

properties which that are to be provided or preserved for 

natural areas left in undeveloped states, including 

floodways. These paragraphs are unnecessary for 

agreements for other types of land uses, such as for a park 

or a farm use. 

4VAC5-20-40. Opinions. 

In cases of uncertainty, the local assessing officer may request 

an opinion from the Director of the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation as to whether a particular 

property meets the criteria for open-space classification. The 

procedure for obtaining such an opinion is as follows: 

A. 1. The local assessing officer shall address a letter to the 

Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 

Governor St., Suite 302 600 East Main Street, 24th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, describing the particular use and 

situation and requesting an opinion as to whether it qualifies 

as an open space for the purpose of use value taxation. Such 

letter should be accompanied by exhibits, such as land use 

maps, subdivision plats, open-space deeds or easements, 

applicable agricultural, forestal, historic district or other 

ordinances, if any, topographic maps, and photographs, 

sufficient to explain the situation adequately. The director 

may request additional information if needed. 

B. 2. The director may hold a hearing at which the applicant 

and others may present additional information. 

C. 3. The director will issue an opinion as quickly as possible 

after all necessary information has been received and any 

hearing completed. An appeal from any opinion which that 

does not comport with the standards set forth herein may be 

taken as provided by § 58.1-3240 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7678; Filed September 25, 2024, 1:08 p.m. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to Restrictions 

on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-20, 4VAC20-

720-40, 4VAC20-720-60, 4VAC20-720-85). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish (i) the 2024-2025 areas of 

public oyster harvest, (ii) public oyster harvest season 

dates and limits for areas and per gear type, and (iii) 

oyster resource conservation measures. 

4VAC20-720-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Aid to navigation" means any public or private day beacon, 

lighted channel marker, channel buoy, lighted channel buoy, or 

lighthouse that may be at, or adjacent to, any latitude and 

longitude used in area descriptions. 

"Beasley Bay Area" means that portion of Pocomoke and 

Tangier Sound Rotation Area 2 in the Pocomoke Sound east of 

a line that begins at a point located off the north end of Russell 

Island at Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 

46.9955932' W.; thence northerly to an end at Long Point at 

Latitude 37° '53.8568300' N., Longitude 75° 45.3632100' W. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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"California Rock Area" means that portion of Pocomoke and 

Tangier Sound Rotation Area 2 in the Tangier Sound south of 

a line that begins at a point located approximately 1.6 miles 

east of East Point Marsh at Latitude 37° 50.4093779' N., 

Longitude 75° 56.5165564' W.; thence due east to an end at a 

point at Latitude 37° 50.4093779' N., Longitude 75° 

53.6926361' W. 

"Clean culled oyster" means any oyster taken from natural 

public beds, rocks, or shoals that is three inches or greater in 

shell length. 

"Coan River Area" means the Public Grounds within the 

Coan River consisting of Public Grounds 77 and 78 of 

Northumberland County described as: 

Public Ground 77 of Northumberland County is located near 

the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point 

approximately 2,300 feet northeast of Honest Point and 

1,300 feet southwest of Travis Point, said point being Corner 

1, located at Latitude 37° 59.5257207' N., Longitude 76° 

27.8810639' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

37° 59.3710259' N., Longitude 76° 27.9962148' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 59.2953830' N., 

Longitude 76° 28.0468953' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 37° 59.3350863' N., Longitude 76° 

28.0968837' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 

37° 59.3965161' N., Longitude 76° 28.0287342' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37° 59.4758507' N., 

Longitude 76° 28.1112280' W.; thence north-northwesterly 

to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 59.5079401' N., Longitude 76° 

28.1230058' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 8, Latitude 

37° 59.5579153' N., Longitude 76° 27.9889429' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 78 of Northumberland County is located near 

the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point 

approximately 3,420 feet southeast of Travis Point and 3,260 

feet northwest of Great Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 59.4822275' N., Longitude 76° 

27.1878637' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

37° 59.3824046' N., Longitude 76° 27.1088650' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 59.2283287' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.8632901' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 37° 59.4368502' N., Longitude 76° 

27.6868001' W.; thence continuing northeasterly to Corner 

5, Latitude 37° 59.5949216' N., Longitude 76° 27.5399436' 

W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the 

point of beginning. 

"Corrotoman Hand Tong Area" means all public grounds in 

that area of the Corrotoman River and its tributaries north of a 

line beginning at Bar Point at Latitude 37° 41.65256000' N., 

Longitude 76° 28.66195000' W.; thence easterly to Black 

Stump Point at Latitude 37° 41.7360900' N., Longitude 76° 

28.1212200' W. 

"Deep Rock Area" means all public grounds and unassigned 

grounds, in that area of the Chesapeake Bay near Gwynn 

Island, beginning at Cherry Point at the western-most point of 

the eastern headland of Kibble Pond located at Latitude 37° 

30.9802148' N., Longitude 76° 17.6764393' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the Piankatank River, Flashing Green Channel 

Light "3", Latitude 37° 32.3671325' N., Longitude 76° 

16.7038334' W.; thence east-southeasterly to the 

Rappahannock River Entrance Lighted Buoy G"1R", Latitude 

37° 32.2712833' N., Longitude 76° 11.4813666' W.; thence 

southwesterly to the southern-most point of Sandy Point, the 

northern headland of "The Hole in the Wall", Latitude 37° 

28.1475258' N., Longitude 76° 15.8185670' W.; thence 

northwesterly along the Chesapeake Bay mean low water line 

of the barrier islands of Milford Haven, connecting headland 

to headland at their eastern-most points, and of Gwynn Island 

to the western-most point of the eastern headland of Kibble 

Pond on Cherry Point, said point being the point of beginning. 

"Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area" or 

"DWS" means that area in the James River near Mulberry 

Island, beginning at a point approximately 530 feet west of 

Deep Water Shoal Light, said point being Corner 1, located at 

Latitude 37° 08.9433287' N., Longitude 76° 38.3213007' W.; 

thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 09.5734380' N., 

Longitude 76° 37.8300582' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 3, Latitude 37° 08.9265524' N., Longitude 76° 

37.0574269' W.; thence westerly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

08.4466039 N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 08.4491489' N., 

Longitude 76° 38.0215553' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 

1, said corner being the point of beginning. 

"Great Wicomico River Hand Tong Area" means that area of 

the Great Wicomico River known as Haynie Point, Sandy 

Point, and Shell Bar. 

Haynie Point consists of the area bounded by a line 

beginning at a point located at Latitude 37° 49.7907323' N., 

Longitude 76° 18.6294277' W.; thence northeasterly to a 

point located at Latitude 37° 49.8578592' N., Longitude 76° 

18.5570328' W.; thence southeasterly to a point located at 

Latitude 37° 49.7892242' N., Longitude 76° 18.5140118' 

W.; thence southwesterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

49.7380000' N., Longitude 76° 18.5672041' W.; thence 

northwesterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 49.7907323' 

N., Longitude 76° 18.6294277' W., being the point of 

beginning, containing 4.64 acres.  

Sandy Point consists of the area bounded by a line beginning 

at a point located at Latitude 37° 49.2576829' N., Longitude 

76° 18.7547649' W.; thence northeasterly to a point located 

at Latitude 37° 49.2832242' N., Longitude 76° 18.6559957' 

W.; thence northeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

49.3541620' N., Longitude 76° 18.4765658' W.; thence 

southerly to a point located at Latitude 37° 49.2917724' N., 

Longitude 76° 18.4583880' W.; thence southwesterly to a 
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point located at Latitude 37° 49.2335757' N., Longitude 76° 

18.6003145' W.; thence southwesterly to a point located at 

Latitude 37° 49.2166701' N., Longitude 76° 18.7332435' 

W.; thence northwesterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

49.2576829' N., Longitude 76° 18.7547649' W., being the 

point of beginning, containing 11.71 acres. 

Shell Bar consists of the area bounded by a line beginning at 

a point located at Latitude 37° 49.4334037' N., Longitude 

76° 18.9831193' W.; thence northeasterly to a point located 

at Latitude 37° 49.5165040' N., Longitude 76° 18.9165237' 

W.; thence southeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

49.3666408' N., Longitude 76° 18.7164965' W.; thence 

southwesterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 49.3169571' 

N., Longitude 76° 18.8165540' W.; thence northwesterly to 

a point located at Latitude 37° 49.3499945' N., Longitude 

76° 18.9166098' W.; thence northwesterly to a point located 

at Latitude 37° 49.4334037' N., Longitude 76° 18.9831193' 

W, being the point of beginning, containing 17.67 acres. 

"Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 1" means all public 

grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the Great 

Wicomico River, Ingram Bay, and the Chesapeake Bay, 

beginning at a point on Sandy Point, Latitude 37° 49.3269652' 

N., Longitude 76° 18.3821766' W.; thence easterly to the 

southern-most point of Cockrell Point, Latitude 37° 

49.2664838' N., Longitude 76° 17.3454434' W.; thence 

easterly following the mean low water line of Cockrell Point to 

a point on the boundary of Public Ground 115 at Cash Point, 

Latitude 37° 49.2695619' N., Longitude 76° 17.2804046' W.; 

thence southeasterly to the gazebo on the pier head at Fleeton 

Point, Latitude 37° 48.7855824' N., Longitude 76° 

16.9609311' W.; thence southeasterly to the Great Wicomico 

River Light; Latitude 37° 48.2078167' N., Longitude 76° 

15.9799333' W.; thence westerly to a point on the offshore end 

of the southern jetty at the entrance to Towles Creek, Latitude 

37° 48.3743771' N., Longitude 76° 17.9600320' W.; thence 

northerly crossing the entrance to Towles Creek at the offshore 

ends of the jetties and continuing along the mean low water 

line to Bussel Point, Latitude 37° 48.6879208' N., Longitude 

76° 18.4670860' W.; thence northwesterly to the northern 

headland of Cranes Creek, Latitude 37° 48.8329168' N., 

Longitude 76° 18.7308073' W.; thence following the mean low 

water line northerly to a point on Sandy Point, Latitude 37° 

49.3269652' N., Longitude 76° 18.3821766' W., said point 

being the point of beginning. 

"Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 2" means all public 

grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the Great 

Wicomico River, Ingram Bay, and the Chesapeake Bay, 

beginning at a point on Great Wicomico River Light, Latitude 

37° 48.2078167' N., Longitude 76° 15.9799333' W.; thence 

due south to a point due east of the southern-most point of 

Dameron Marsh, Latitude 37° 46.6610003' N., Longitude 76° 

16.0570007' W.; thence due west to the southern-most point of 

Dameron Marsh, Latitude 37° 46.6609070' N., Longitude 76° 

17.2670707' W.; thence along the mean low water line of 

Dameron Marsh, north and west to Garden Point, Latitude 37° 

47.2519872' N., Longitude 76° 18.4028142' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Windmill Point, Latitude 37° 47.5194547' N., 

Longitude 76° 18.7132194' W.; thence northerly along the 

mean low water line to the western headland of Harveys Creek, 

Latitude 37° 47.7923573' N., Longitude 76° 18.6881450' W.; 

thence east-southeasterly to the eastern headland of Harveys 

Creek, Latitude 37° 47.7826936' N., Longitude 76° 

18.5469879' W.; thence northerly along the mean low water 

line to a point on the offshore end of the southern jetty at the 

entrance to Towles Creek, Latitude 37° 48.3743771' N., 

Longitude 76° 17.9600320' W.; thence easterly to Great 

Wicomico River Light, Latitude 37° 48.2078167' N., 

Longitude 76° 15.9799333' W., said point being the point of 

beginning. 

"Hand scrape" means any device or instrument with a 

catching bar having an inside measurement of no more than 22 

inches, which is used or usable for the purpose of extracting or 

removing shellfish from a water bottom or the bed of a body of 

water. 

"Hand tong" or "ordinary tong" means any pincers, nippers, 

tongs, or similar device used in catching oysters, which 

consists of two shafts or handles attached to opposable and 

complementary pincers, baskets, or containers operated 

entirely by hand, from the surface of the water and has no 

external or internal power source. 

"Hurleys Rock Area" means that portion of Pocomoke and 

Tangier Sound Rotation Area 1 in the Tangier Sound north of 

a line beginning at a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, 

located at Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 75° 

53.9739600' W., thence due west to an end at a point at 

Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 76° 00.0687800' W. 

"Indian Creek Area" means all public grounds and unassigned 

grounds in that area of Indian Creek and its tributaries in 

Northumberland and Lancaster Counties between a line 

beginning at a point on the shore on the south side of the creek 

located at Latitude 37° 041.4021100' N., Longitude 76° 

20.7493600' W.; thence in a straight line to a point on shore on 

the north side of the creek located at Latitude 37° 041.4999200' 

N., Longitude 76° 20.5974400' W.; thence southeasterly to a 

line beginning on the south shore of the mouth of the creek 

located at Latitude 37° 041.2975900' N., Longitude 76° 

19.5082500' W.; thence in a straight line to a point on shore on 

the north side of the mouth of the creek located at Latitude 37° 

041.0934000' N., Longitude 76° 18.7589400' W. 

"James River Area 1" means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds, in that area of the James River, beginning 

at the Flashing Green Channel Light #5, located at Latitude 37° 

02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333' W.; thence 

southeasterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light #3, located 

at Latitude 37° 01.7124500' N., Longitude 76° 31.8210667' 

W.; thence southeasterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light 

#1, located at Latitude 37° 00.7666667' N., Longitude 76° 
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29.9083333' W.; thence southeasterly to the northeast corner 

of the western draw span pier of the James River Bridge (U.S. 

Route 17), Latitude 37° 00.1524824' N., Longitude 76° 

28.1581984' W.; thence southwesterly along the upstream side 

of the James River Bridge to the mean low water line; thence 

northwesterly along the mean low water line, crossing Kings 

Creek at the headlands and continuing along the mean low 

water line to a point on the shore at Rainbow Farm Point in line 

with VMRC Markers "STH" and "SMT," located at Latitude 

37° 00.1965862' N., Longitude 76° 34.0712010' W.; thence 

north-northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "STH," Latitude 37° 

00.9815328' N., Longitude 76° 33.5955842' W.; thence to a 

VMRC Marker "SMT," at Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N., 

Longitude 76° 33.3887351' W.; thence to the Flashing Green 

Channel Light #5, at Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 

76° 32.7785333' W., said point being the point of beginning. 

"James River Area 2" means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds, in that area of the James River, beginning 

at the Flashing Green Channel Light #5, located at Latitude 37° 

02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333' W.; thence 

northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "NMT," Latitude 37° 

02.7740540' N., Longitude 76° 32.0960864' W.; thence to a 

VMRC Marker "NTH" located at Latitude 37° 03.2030055' N., 

Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.; thence to a point on the north 

shore of the river at Blunt (Blount) Point, said point being in 

line with VMRC Markers "NMT" and "NTH" and located at 

Latitude 37° 03.3805862' N., Longitude 76° 31.1444562' W.; 

thence southeasterly along the mean low water line to the 

upstream side of the James River Bridge (U.S. Route 17); 

thence westerly along the James River Bridge to the northeast 

corner of the western draw span pier, Latitude 37° 00.1524824' 

N., Longitude 76° 28.1581984' W.; thence northwesterly to the 

Flashing Green Channel Light #1, located at Latitude 37° 

00.7666667' N., Longitude 76° 29.9083333' W.; thence 

northwesterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light #3, located 

at Latitude 37° 01.7124500' N., Longitude 76° 31.8210667' 

W.; thence northwesterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light 

#5, located at Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 

32.7785333' W., said point being the point of beginning. 

"James River Area 3" means those public grounds of Isle of 

Wight County and Nansemond County (City of Suffolk) 

located in the James River and Nansemond River west of the 

Monitor Merrimac Memorial Bridge Tunnel (Route I-664), 

northeast of the Mills E. Godwin, Jr. Bridge (U.S. Route 17) 

on the Nansemond River, and south of the James River Bridge 

(U.S. Route 17). 

"James River Seed Area" means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds in that area of the James River and its 

tributaries with a southeastern boundary beginning at a point 

on the shore on the south side of the river at Rainbow Farm 

Point in Isle of Wight County located at Latitude 37° 

00.1965862' N., Longitude 76° 34.0712010' W.; thence north-

northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "STH," Latitude 37° 

00.9815328 N., Longitude 76° 33.5955842' W.; thence to a 

VMRC Marker "SMT," at Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N., 

Longitude 76° 33.3887351' W.; thence to the Flashing Green 

Channel Light #5, at Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 

76° 32.7785333' W.; thence northeasterly to a VMRC Marker 

"NMT," Latitude 37° 02.7740540' N., Longitude 76° 

32.0960864' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker "NTH" located at 

Latitude 37° 03.2030055' N., Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.; 

thence to a point on the north shore of the river at Blunt 

(Blount) Point, in the City of Newport News, located at 

Latitude 37° 03.3805862' N., Longitude 76° 31.1444562' W.; 

the northern boundary, being a straight line, beginning at a 

point on the shore on the east side of the river in the City of 

Newport News, at Latitude 37° 08.4458787' N., Longitude 76° 

37.2855533' W.; thence westerly to the southeast corner of the 

Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, Latitude 

37° 08.4466039' N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; thence 

westerly to the southwest corner of the Deep Water Shoal State 

Replenishment Seed Area, Latitude 37° 08.4490472' N., 

Longitude 76° 38.0215554' W.; thence westerly to a point on 

the shore on the west side of the river at the mouth of Lawnes 

Creek in Isle of Wight County, Latitude 37° 08.4582990' N., 

Longitude 76° 40.2816023' W. 

"Larsons Bay Area" means all public grounds in that area of 

Larsons Bay in the Rappahannock River, beginning at Cherry 

Point at Latitude 37° 37.6554400' N., Longitude 76° 

24.1203200' W.; thence south east to the southern-most corner 

of the house on Mosquito Point at Latitude 37° 36.5230000' 

N., Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence following the 

ordinary mean low water line in a northwesterly direction to 

Cherry Point, said point being the point of beginning. 

"Latitude and longitude" means values that are based upon a 

geodetic reference system of the North American Datum of 

1983 (NAD83). When latitude and longitude are used in any 

area description, in conjunction with any physical landmark, to 

include aids to navigation, the latitude and longitude value is 

the legal point defining the boundary. 

"Little Wicomico River" means that area of the Little 

Wicomico River inside of Public Ground 43 of 

Northumberland County, located in the Little Wicomico River 

near Bridge Creek, beginning at a point approximately 150 feet 

north of Peachtree Point, said point being Corner 1, located at 

Latitude 37° 53.2910650' N., Longitude 76° 16.7312926' W.; 

thence southwesterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 53.2601877' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.8662408' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 

3, Latitude 37° 53.2678470' N., Longitude 76° 16.8902408' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 53.3113148' 

N., Longitude 76° 16.8211543' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning. 

"Middle Ground" means all public grounds in the area of the 

Corrotoman River between a line beginning at Ball Point at 

Latitude 37° 40.65133000' N., Longitude 76° 28.4440000' W.; 

thence easterly to a point at the western side of the mouth of 

Taylor Creek at Latitude 37° 40.97331000' N., Longitude 76° 
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27.59471000' W.; upstream to a line from Bar Point at Latitude 

37° 41.65256000' N., Longitude 76° 28.66195000' W.; thence 

easterly to Black Stump Point at Latitude 37° 41.7360900' N., 

Longitude 76° 28.1212200' W. 

"Milford Haven" means all public grounds and unassigned 

grounds in that area of Milford Haven and its tributaries bound 

on the west by a line from a point on the southernmost point of 

land of the north shore of Milford Haven being near the end of 

State Route 634, Latitude 37° 29.5971' N., Longitude 76° 

18.1822' W.; thence south-southeasterly to a point on the 

northeast corner of the pier head of the long pier being on the 

south shore of Milford Haven immediately west of the Sea 

Farms Inc. facility, Latitude 37° 29.3546' N., Longitude 76° 

18.1323' W.; thence following the east side of the pier to the 

shore and bound on the east by a line from a point on the shore 

at the western headland of the wash formerly Hills Creek, 

Latitude 37° 29.0278' N., Longitude 76° 16.3834' W.; thence 

easterly to a point on the north shore of Sandy Point near 

Latitude 37° 29.0017' N., Longitude 76° 16.1640' W.; thence 

following the shore of the east side of Sandy Point to a point 

on the shoreline at Latitude 37° 28.6233' N., Longitude 76° 

15.8605' W.; thence in a line south-southeasterly to a point on 

the breakwater at Haven Beach, Latitude 37° 26.2006' N., 

Longitude 76° 15.1257' W. 

"Mobjack Bay Area" means that area of Mobjack Bay 

consisting of Public Ground 2 of Mathews County (Pultz Bar) 

and Public Ground 25 of Gloucester County (Tow Stake) 

described as: 

Public Ground 2 of Mathews County, known as Pultz Bar, is 

located in Mobjack Bay, beginning at a point approximately 

5,420 feet south of Minter Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 21.2500000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.3700000' W.; thence easterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 

21.2700000' N., Longitude 76° 20.9600000' W.; thence 

southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 21.0200000' N., 

Longitude 76° 20.9400000' W.; thence westerly to Corner 4, 

Latitude 37° 21.0500000' N., Longitude 76° 21.3300000' 

W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point 

of beginning. 

Public Ground 25 of Gloucester County, known as Tow 

Stake, is located in Mobjack Bay, near the mouth of the 

Severn River, beginning at a point approximately 2,880 feet 

east-northeast of Tow Stake Point, said point being Corner 

1, located at Latitude 37° 20.3883888' N., Longitude 76° 

23.5883836' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

37° 30.5910482' N., Longitude 76° 23.2372184' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 20.3786971' N., 

Longitude 76° 22.7241180' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 37° 19.8616759' N., Longitude 76° 

23.5914937' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 5, Latitude 

37° 20.0284019' N., Longitude 76° 23.7717423' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

"Nomini Creek Area" means that area of Nomini Creek inside 

of Public Grounds 26 and 28 of Westmoreland County. 

Public Ground 26 of Westmoreland County is located in 

Nomini Creek, north of Beales Wharf and east of Barnes 

Point, beginning at a point approximately 1,400 feet north of 

Barnes Point, said point being Corner 1, located at Latitude 

38° 07.2690219' N., Longitude 76° 42.6784210' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 38° 07.0924060' N., 

Longitude 76° 42.4745767' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 3, Latitude 38° 06.8394053' N., Longitude 76° 

42.6704025' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 

38° 06.8743004' N., Longitude 76° 42.7552151' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 38° 07.0569717' N., 

Longitude 76° 42.5603535' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 28 of Westmoreland County is located at the 

mouth of Nomini Creek, beginning at a point approximately 

50 feet west of White Oak Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 38° 07.6429987' N., Longitude 76° 

43.0337082' W.; thence south-southeasterly to Corner 2, 

Latitude 38° 07.2987193' N., Longitude 76° 43.1101420' 

W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 

07.7029267' N., Longitude 76° 43.3337762' W.; thence west 

to the mean low water line, Latitude 38° 07.7031535' N., 

Longitude 76° 43.3378345' W.; thence northerly and 

westerly along the mean low water line of Nomini Creek to 

a point southwest of Cedar Island, Latitude 38° 07.8986449' 

N., Longitude 76° 43.6329097' W.; thence northeasterly to a 

point on the mean low water line at the southern-most point 

of Cedar Island, Latitude 38° 07.8986449' N., Longitude 76° 

43.6329097' W.; thence following the mean low water line 

of the southern and eastern sides of Cedar Island to a point, 

Latitude 38° 08.0164430' N., Longitude 76° 43.4773169' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 38° 

08.0712849' N., Longitude 76° 43.4416606' W.; thence 

northeasterly to a point on the northern headland of Nomini 

Creek at the mean low water line, said point being Corner 5, 

Latitude 38° 08.2729626' N., Longitude 76° 43.3105315' 

W.; thence following the mean low water line of White Point 

to a point northwest of Snake Island, Corner 6, Latitude 38° 

08.4066960' N., Longitude 76° 42.9105565' W.; thence 

southeast, crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to a point 

on the mean low water line of Snake Island, Corner 7, 

Latitude 38° 08.3698254' N., Longitude 76° 42.8939656' 

W.; thence southeasterly following the mean low water line 

of Snake Island to Corner 8, Latitude 38° 08.2333798' N., 

Longitude 76° 42.7778877' W.; thence south-southwesterly, 

crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to Corner 9, Latitude 

38° 08.2134371' N., Longitude 76° 42.7886409' W.; thence 

southeasterly to a point on the mean low water line of the 

southern headland of Buckner Creek, Corner 10, Latitude 

38° 08.1956281' N., Longitude 76° 42.7679625' W.; thence 

southwesterly following the mean low water line of Nomini 

Creek, crossing the mouth of an unnamed cove at the 
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narrowest point between the headlands and continuing to 

follow the mean low water line to a point on White Oak 

Point, Latitude 38° 07.6428228' N., Longitude 76° 

43.0233530' W.; thence west to Corner 1, said point being 

the point of beginning. 

"Oyster" means any shellfish of the species Crassostrea 

virginica. 

"Oyster dredge" means any device having a maximum weight 

of 150 pounds with attachments, maximum width of 50 inches, 

and maximum tooth length of four inches. 

"Oyster patent tong" means any patent tong not exceeding 

100 pounds in gross weight, including any attachment other 

than rope and with the teeth not to exceed four inches in length. 

"Oyster resource user fee" means a fee that must be paid each 

calendar year by anyone who grows, harvests, shucks, packs, 

or ships oysters for commercial purposes. 

"Piankatank River Area" means that area in the Piankatank 

River known as Burton Point bounded by a line beginning at a 

point located at Latitude 37° 30.8149992' N., Longitude 76° 

19.8179990' W.; thence northeasterly to a point located at 

Latitude 37° 30.9333442' N., Longitude 76° 19.7333318' W.; 

thence southeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

30.8832475' N., Longitude 76° 19.5827984' W.; thence 

southeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 30.8335420' N., 

Longitude 76° 19.3835660' W.; thence southwesterly to a point 

located at Latitude 37° 30.6867440' N., Longitude 76° 

19.5250181' W.; thence northwesterly to a point located at 

Latitude 37° 30.7700556' N., Longitude 76° 19.7721907' W.; 

thence northwesterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

30.8149992' N., Longitude 76° 19.8179990' W., being the 

point of beginning, containing 38.99 acres.  

"Piankatank River Hand Tong Area" means that area in the 

Piankatank River known as Palace Bar bounded by a line 

beginning at a point located at Latitude 37° 31.6366756' N., 

Longitude 76° 22.2999953' W.; thence northernly to a point 

located at Latitude 37° 31.7574943' N., Longitude 76° 

22.2966779' W.; thence northeasterly to a point located at 

Latitude 37° 31.8291757' N., Longitude 76° 22.2483355' W.; 

thence southeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

31.8166854' N., Longitude 76° 22.1433377' W.; thence 

southeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 31.7500276' N., 

Longitude 76° 22.0166809' W.; thence southeasterly to a point 

located at Latitude 37° 31.6000121' N., Longitude 76° 

21.9166733' W.; thence westerly to a point located at Latitude 

37° 31.6199872' N., Longitude 76° 22.1500353' W.; thence 

westerly to a point located at Latitude 37° 31.6366756' N., 

Longitude 76° 22.2999953' W., being the point of beginning, 

containing 38.53 acres.  

"Pocomoke Sound Area" means that area of Pocomoke Sound 

inside of Public Ground 9 and Public Ground 10 11 of 

Accomack County. 

Public Ground 11 of Accomack County consists of the area 

bounded by a line beginning at a point located at Latitude 

37° 54.2242247' N., Longitude 75° 46.8458531' W.; thence 

northeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 54.7717652' 

N., Longitude 75° 46.2306934' W.; thence southeasterly to 

a point located at Latitude 37° 54.7655487' N., Longitude 

75° 46.2246266' W.; thence northeasterly to a point located 

at Latitude 37° 55.1625018' N., Longitude 75° 45.7462838' 

W.; thence northwesterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

55.1713750' N., Longitude 75° 45.7562587' W.; thence 

northeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 55.4058815' 

N., Longitude 75° 45.4541658' W.; thence northeasterly to a 

point located at Latitude 37° 55.5742129' N., Longitude 75° 

44.8291700' W.; thence northeasterly to a point located at 

Latitude 37° 55.5923356' N., Longitude 75° 44.7851143' 

W.; thence northeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

55.6009795' N., Longitude 75° 44.7641422' W.; thence 

southeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 55.5842236' 

N., 75° 44.7554991' W.; thence southeasterly to a point 

located at Latitude 37° 55.5265366' N., Longitude 75° 

44.6897855' W.; thence northeasterly to a point located at 

Latitude 37° 55.6926202' N., Longitude 75° 44.3730212' 

W.; thence northwesterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

55.7414951' N., Longitude 75° 44.4228784' W.; thence 

northeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 55.8075338' 

N., Longitude 75° 44.2624885' W.; thence southernly to a 

point located at Latitude 37° 55.6345499' N., Longitude 75° 

44.2772024 W.; thence southwesterly to a point located at 

Latitude 37° 55.5620352' N., Longitude 75° 44.4066645' 

W.; thence southeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

55.4972479' N., Longitude 75° 44.3397091' W.; thence 

northeasterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 55.5576916' 

N., Longitude 75° 44.2459142' W.; thence southeasterly to 

a point located at Latitude 37° 55.4242118' N., Longitude 

75° 44.1791595' W.; thence southeasterly to a point located 

at Latitude 37° 55.3575442' N., Longitude 75° 43.9958019' 

W.; thence southwesterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

54.8742193' N., Longitude 75° 44.7625058' W.; thence 

southernly to a point located at Latitude 37° 54.4075648' N., 

Longitude 75° 44.5291567' W.; thence southeasterly to a 

point located at Latitude 37° 54.0909029' N., Longitude 75° 

44.2291560' W.; thence southwesterly to a point located at 

Latitude 37° 54.0075735' N., Longitude 75° 44.4791578' 

W.; thence northwesterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

54.1075697' N., Longitude 75° 44.5958138' W.; thence 

westerly to a point located at Latitude 37° 54.0909049' N., 

Longitude 75° 45.1291836' W.; thence northwesterly to a 

point located at Latitude 37° 54.1909062' N., Longitude 75° 

45.2291611' W.; thence northwesterly to a point located at 

Latitude 37° 54.3242309' N., Longitude 75° 45.6624951' 

W.; thence southwesterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 

54.3075702' N., Longitude 75° 45.7458522' W.; thence 

southwesterly to a point located at Latitude 37° 53.8075670' 

N., Longitude 75° 46.7292265' W.; thence northernly to a 

point located at Latitude 37° 54.2242247' N., Longitude 75° 
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46.8458531' W., being the point of beginning, containing 

1650.39 acres.  

"Pocomoke Sound Hand Tong Area" means that area of 

Pocomoke Sound inside of Public Ground 9 and Public Ground 

10 of Accomack County. 

Public Ground 9 of Accomack County is located in the 

Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound 

approximately 1.06 nautical miles north-northeast of the 

northern-most point of North End Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 57.2711566' N., Longitude 

75° 42.2870790' W. (NAD83); thence east-northeasterly 

along the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 2, Latitude 

37° 57.2896577' N., Longitude 75° 41.9790727' W.; thence 

southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 57.2574850' N., 

Longitude 75° 41.9790730' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 37° 57.2288700' N., Longitude 75° 

42.0077287' W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 5, 

Latitude 37° 57.2034533' N., Longitude 75° 42.1511250' 

W.; thence south-southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37° 

57.0940590' N., Longitude 75° 42.1935214' W.; thence 

south-southeasterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 57.0551726' 

N., Longitude 75° 42.1814457' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 8, Latitude 37° 56.9408327' N., Longitude 75° 

42.2957912' W.; thence south-southwesterly to Corner 9, 

Latitude 37° 56.6574947' N., Longitude 75° 42.3790819' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 10, Latitude 37° 

56.5790952' N., Longitude 75° 42.5228752' W.; thence 

west-southwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 56.5712564' 

N., Longitude 75° 42.5915437' W.; thence south-

southeasterly to Corner 12, Latitude 37° 56.5441067' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.5869894' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 13, Latitude 37° 56.4575045' N., Longitude 75° 

42.7458050' W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 14, 

Latitude 37° 56.2575123' N., Longitude 75° 43.3791097' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 15, Latitude 37° 

55.7408688' N., Longitude 75° 43.7957804' W.; thence 

westerly to Corner 16, Latitude 37° 55.7575327' N., 

Longitude 75° 43.9458298' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 17, Latitude 37° 55.8908661' N., Longitude 75° 

44.1291309' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 18, 

Latitude 37° 55.9908639' N., Longitude 75° 44.0791266' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 19, Latitude 37° 

56.1241858' N., Longitude 75° 43.8791328' W.; thence 

north-northeasterly to Corner 20, Latitude 37° 56.4075136' 

N., Longitude 75° 43.7291361' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 21, Latitude 37° 56.8241664' N., Longitude 75° 

43.2624601' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 22, 

Latitude 37° 57.0706006' N., Longitude 75° 43.1480402' 

W.; thence east-northeasterly along the Maryland-Virginia 

state line to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 10 of Accomack County is located in the 

Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound 

approximately 2.3 nautical miles westerly of the northern-

most point of North End Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 56.4741881' N., Longitude 75° 

45.7051676' W. (NAD83); thence east-northeasterly along 

the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 

56.9261140' N., Longitude 75° 43.7679786' W.; thence 

south-southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 56.1241948' 

N., Longitude 75° 44.3624962' W.; thence west-

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 56.0820561' N., 

Longitude 75° 44.5826292' W.; thence northerly to Corner 

5, Latitude 37° 56.1377309' N., Longitude 75° 44.5817745' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37° 

56.1259751' N., Longitude 75° 44.6226859' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 56.1039335' N., 

Longitude 75° 44.6692334' W.; thence southerly to Corner 

8, Latitude 37° 56.0643616' N., Longitude 75° 44.6750106' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 

55.9742005' N., Longitude 75° 45.1458109' W.; thence 

west-northwesterly to Corner 10, Latitude 37° 56.0741973' 

N., Longitude 75° 45.8958329' W.; thence north-

northwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 56.2565760' N., 

Longitude 75° 46.0000557' W.; thence northeasterly along 

the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Management Area" or 

"PTSMA" means the area as defined in § 28.2-524 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1" means all 

public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the 

PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a line 

beginning at a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, 

located at Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 75° 

53.9739600' W.; thence south to the house on Great Fox Island, 

Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; 

thence westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 53.3633500' N., 

Longitude 75° 56.5589600' W.; thence south to a point, 

Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude 75° 56.4883600' W.; 

thence easterly to the north end of Watts Island, Latitude 37° 

48.7757800' N., Longitude 75° 53.5994100' W.; thence 

northerly to the house on Great Fox Island, Latitude 37° 

53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Pocomoke Sound Shoal Flashing Light Red 

"8", Latitude 37° 52.4583300' N., Longitude 75° 49.4000000' 

W.; thence southeasterly to Messongo Creek Entrance Buoy 

Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 52.1000000' N., Longitude 75° 

47.8083300' W.; thence southeast to Guilford Flats Junction 

Light Flashing 2+1 Red "GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300' N., 

Longitude 75° 46.6416700' W.; thence southerly to a point on 

a line from Guilford Flats Junction Light to the northern-most 

point of Russell Island, where said line intersects the PTSMA 

boundary, Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 

46.9955932' W.; thence clockwise following the PTSMA 
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boundary to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, said 

point being the point of beginning. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2" means all 

public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the 

PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a line 

beginning at the house on Great Fox Island, located at Latitude 

37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; thence 

southerly to the north end of Watts Island, Latitude 37° 

48.7757800' N., Longitude 75° 53.5994100' W.; thence 

westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude 

75° 56.4883600' W.; thence northerly to a point, Latitude 37° 

53.3633500' N., Longitude 75° 56.5589600' W.; thence 

easterly to the house on Great Fox Island, said house being the 

point of beginning. Also, Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds 

Rotation Area 2 shall include all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds in the PTSMA in Pocomoke Sound 

bounded by a line beginning at a point on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 75° 

53.9739600' W.; thence following the PTSMA boundary 

clockwise to a point on the line from the northern-most point 

of Russell Island to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 2+1 

Red "GF", where said line intersects the PTSMA boundary, 

Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 46.9955932' W.; 

thence northerly to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 2+1 

Red "GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300' N., Longitude 75° 

46.6416700' W.; thence northwesterly to Messongo Creek 

Entrance Buoy Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 52.1000000' N., 

Longitude 75° 47.8083300' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Pocomoke Sound Shoal Flashing Light Red "8", Latitude 37° 

52.4583300' N., Longitude 75° 49.4000000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to the house on Great Fox Island, Latitude 37° 

53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; thence 

northerly to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, said 

point being the point of beginning. 

"Public oyster ground" means all those grounds defined in § 

28.2-551 of the Code of Virginia or by any other acts of the 

General Assembly pertaining to those grounds, all those 

grounds set aside by court order, and all those grounds set aside 

by order of the Marine Resources Commission, and may be 

redefined by any of these legal authorities. 

"Rappahannock River Area 7" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream by 

a line from Rogue Point, located at Latitude 37° 40.0400000' 

N., Longitude 76° 32.2530000' W.; thence west-northwesterly 

to Flashing Red Buoy "8", Latitude 37° 40.1580000' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.9390000' W.; thence southwesterly to Balls 

Point, Latitude 37° 39.3550000' N., Longitude 76° 

34.4440000' W.; and bounded upstream by a line from 

Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000' N., Longitude 76° 

37.3250000' W.; thence southeasterly to Monaskon Point, 

Latitude 37° 44.0630000' N., Longitude 76° 34.1080000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Area 8" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream by 

a line from Monaskon Point, located at Latitude 37° 

44.0630000' N., Longitude 76° 34.1080000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000' 

N., Longitude 76° 37.3250000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

a line from Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000' N., 

Longitude 76° 40.8350000' W.; thence north-northwesterly to 

Sharps Point, Latitude 37° 49.3640000' N., Longitude 76° 

42.0870000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Area 9" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream by 

a line from Sharps Point, located at Latitude 37° 49.3640000' 

N., Longitude 76° 42.0870000' W.; thence south-southeasterly 

to Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000' N., Longitude 76° 

40.8350000' W.; and bounded upstream by the Thomas J. 

Downing Bridge (U.S. Route 360). 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River and 

Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line offshore and across the 

mouth of the Rappahannock River from a point on the mean 

low water line of Windmill Point, located at Latitude 37° 

36.8200000' N., Longitude 76° 16.9460000' W.; thence 

southeast to Windmill Point Light, Latitude 37° 35.7930000' 

N., Longitude 76° 14.1800000' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Stingray Point Light, Latitude 37° 33.6730000' N., Longitude 

76° 16.3620000' W.; thence westerly to a point on the mean 

low water line of Stingray Point, Latitude 37° 33.6920000' N., 

Longitude 76° 17.9860000' W.; and bounded upstream by a 

line from the mean low water line west of Broad Creek, 

Latitude 37° 33.9520000' N., Longitude 76° 19.3090000' W.; 

thence northeasterly to a VMRC Buoy on the Baylor line, 

Latitude 37° 34.5310000' N., Longitude 76° 19.1430000' W.; 

thence northeasterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 

34.6830000' N., Longitude 76° 19.1000000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 35.0170000' N., 

Longitude 76° 19.4500000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Sturgeon Bar Light "7R", Latitude 37° 35.1500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 19.7330000' W.; thence continuing 

northwesterly to Mosquito Point Light "8R", Latitude 37° 

36.1000000' N., Longitude 76° 21.3000000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to the southern-most corner of the house on 

Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.5950000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded 

downstream by a line from the southern-most corner of the 

house on Mosquito Point, located at Latitude 37° 36.5230000' 

N., Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence southeast to 

Mosquito Point Light "8R", Latitude 37° 36.1000000' N., 

Longitude 76° 21.3000000' W.; thence continuing 

southeasterly to Sturgeon Bar Beacon "7R", Latitude 37° 

35.1500000' N., Longitude 76° 19.7330000' W.; thence west-

southwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.9330000' N., 

Longitude 76° 21.0500000' W.; thence southwesterly to a 

VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.8830000' N., Longitude 76° 
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21.1000000' W.; thence southwesterly to a pier west of 

Hunting Creek at Grinels, Latitude 37° 34.4360000' N., 

Longitude 76° 26.2880000' W.; and bounded on the upstream 

by a line from Mill Creek Channel Marker "4", Latitude 37° 

35.0830000' N., Longitude 76° 26.9500000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Mill Creek Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37° 

35.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.5670000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the southern-most corner of the house on 

Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.5950000'0 W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning 

from the north channel fender at the Robert O. Norris, Jr. 

Bridge, located at Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 

25.3450000' W.; thence southeast to the southern-most corner 

of the house on Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., 

Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence southwest to Mill Creek 

Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37° 35.4830000' N., Longitude 

76° 24.5670000' W.; thence southwesterly to Mill Creek 

Channel Marker "4", Latitude 37° 35.0830000' N., Longitude 

76° 24.9500000' W.; thence northeasterly to Parrotts Creek 

Channel Marker "1", Latitude 37° 36.0330000' N., Longitude 

76° 25.4170000' W.; thence northerly to VMRC Buoy, 

Latitude 37° 36.3330000' N., Longitude 76° 25.2000000' W.; 

thence northerly to the north channel fender of the Robert O. 

Norris, Jr. Bridge, said point being the point of beginning. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 4" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, Corrotoman 

River, and Carter Creek, beginning at the White Stone end of 

the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State Route 3), located at 

Latitude 37° 38.1290000' N., Longitude 76° 24.7220000' W.; 

thence along said bridge to the north channel fender, Latitude 

37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 25.3450000' W.; thence 

westerly to the VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000' 

N., Longitude 76° 30.0280000' W.; thence northerly to Old 

House Point, Latitude 37° 39.1390000' N., Longitude 76° 

29.6850000' W.; thence northeasterly to Ball Point, Latitude 

37° 41.6600000' N., Longitude 76° 28.6320000' W.; thence 

southeasterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar – North", 

Latitude 37° 40.3000000' N., Longitude 76° 28.5000000' W.; 

thence southwesterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar – 

South", Latitude 37° 40.1670000' N., Longitude 76° 

28.5830000' W.; thence southeasterly to a duck blind west of 

Corrotoman Point, Latitude 37° 39.8760000' N., Longitude 76° 

28.4200000' W.; thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "543", 

Latitude 37° 39.2670000' N., Longitude 76° 27.8500000' W.; 

thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-West", Latitude 

37° 38.8830000' N., Longitude 76° 27.6830000' W.; thence 

southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-East", Latitude 37° 

38.8330000' N., Longitude 76° 27.5670000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Orchard Point, Latitude 37° 38.9240000' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.1260000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning at 

the Greys Point end of the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State 

Route 3), located at Latitude 37° 36.8330000' N., Longitude 

76° 25.9990000' W.; thence northeasterly along the bridge to 

the north channel fender, Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N., 

Longitude 76° 25.3450000' W.; thence west-northwesterly to 

VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000' N., Longitude 

76° 30.0280000' W.; thence westerly to Buoy "R6", Latitude 

37° 38.0330000' N., Longitude 76° 30.2830000' W.; thence 

south to the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, Latitude 37° 

36.6580000' N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning on 

the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, located at Latitude 37° 

36.6580000' N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000' W.; thence north 

to Buoy "R6", Latitude 37° 38.0330000' N., Longitude 76° 

30.2830000' W.; thence northwesterly to VMRC White House 

Sanctuary Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.1500000' N., Longitude 76° 

30.5330000' W.; thence northwesterly to VMRC Towles Point 

Area Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.8330000' N., Longitude 76° 

31.5360000' W.; thence northwesterly to Flashing Red Buoy 

"8" off Rogue Point, Latitude 37° 40.1580000' N., Longitude 

76° 32.9390000' W.; thence southwesterly to Balls Point, 

Latitude 37° 39.3550000' N., Longitude 76° 34.4440000' W. 

"Seed oyster" means any oyster taken by any person from 

natural beds, rocks, or shoals that is more than 30 days from 

harvest for human consumption. 

"Unassigned ground" means all grounds not assigned 

pursuant to §§ 28.2-600 through 28.2-633 of the Code of 

Virginia, established pursuant to § 28.2-551 of the Code of 

Virginia, or set aside by court order, or those grounds set aside 

by declarations or regulation by the Marine Resources 

Commission, and may be redefined by any of these legal 

authorities. 

"Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area" means all 

public grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the 

Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line, beginning at a point 

approximately 300 feet east of the mean low water line of the 

Chesapeake Bay and approximately 1,230 feet southwest of the 

end of the southern-most stone jetty at the mouth of the Little 

Wicomico River, said point being Corner 1, Latitude 37° 

53.1811193' N., Longitude 76° 14.1740146' W.; thence east-

southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 52.9050025' N., 

Longitude 76° 11.9357257' W.; thence easterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 52.9076552' N., Longitude 76° 11.6098145' W.; 

thence southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 52.8684955' N., 

Longitude 76° 11.6402444' W.; thence east-southeasterly to 

Corner 5, Latitude 37° 52.7924853' N., Longitude 76° 

11.0253352' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 

37° 49.4327736' N., Longitude 76° 13.2409959' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 50.0560555' N., 

Longitude 76° 15.0023234' W.; thence north-northeasterly to 

Corner 8, Latitude 37° 50.5581183' N., Longitude 76° 

14.8772805' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 9, 
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Latitude 37° 52.0260950' N., Longitude 76° 14.5768550' W.; 

thence northeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

"Yeocomico River Area" means that area of the North West 

Yeocomico River, inside Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland 

County, and those areas of the South Yeocomico River inside 

Public Grounds 100, 102, 104, 107, and 112 of 

Northumberland County described as: 

Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland County is located in the 

North West Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,455 feet northeast of Crow Bar and 1,850 

feet northwest of White Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 38° 02.7468214' N., Longitude 76° 

33.0775726' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

38° 02.7397202' N., Longitude 76° 33.0186286' W.; thence 

southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 02.6021644' N., 

Longitude 76° 33.0234175' W.; thence westerly to Corner 4, 

Latitude 38° 02.6006669' N., Longitude 76° 33.0824799' 

W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point 

of beginning. 

Public Ground 100 of Northumberland County is located in 

the South Yeocomico River, beginning at said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 38° 00.2292779' N., Longitude 

76° 32.2244222' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 2, 

Latitude 38° 00.2183904' N., Longitude 76° 32.2488009' 

W.; thence westerly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 00.2156893' 

N., Longitude 76° 32.3156220' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 38° 00.4024997' N., Longitude 76° 

32.3338888' W.; thence continuing northeasterly to Corner 

5, Latitude 38° 00.5806170' N., Longitude 76° 32.1957546' 

W.; thence continuing easterly to Corner 6, Latitude 38° 

00.5798424' N., Longitude 76° 31.9506788' W., thence 

continuing southeasterly to Corner 7, Latitude 38° 

00.5076459' N., Longitude 76° 31.9387425' W.; thence 

heading along the mean low water southwesterly to Corner 

1, said corner being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 102 of Northumberland County is located in 

the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 630 feet south of Mundy Point and 1,745 feet 

southwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 38° 01.2138059' N., Longitude 76° 

32.5577201' W.; thence east-northeasterly to Corner 2, 

Latitude 38° 01.2268644' N., Longitude 76° 32.4497849' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 

01.1091209' N., Longitude 76° 32.5591101' W.; thence 

northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 104 of Northumberland County is located in 

the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 670 feet north of Walker Point and 1,900 feet 

northwest of Palmer Point, said point being Corner 1, located 

at Latitude 38° 00.8841841' N., Longitude 76° 32.6106215' 

W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 38° 

00.8609163' N., Longitude 76° 32.5296302' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 00.6693092' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.4161866' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 38° 00.6418466' N., Longitude 76° 

32.5394849' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 107 of Northumberland County is located in 

the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,000 feet southwest of Barn Point and 1,300 

feet northwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being Corner 

1, located at Longitude 38° 01.1389367' N., Latitude 76° 

32.3425617' W.; thence east-southeasterly to Corner 2, 

Latitude 38° 01.4106421' N., Longitude 76° 32.1077962' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 

01.2717197' N., Longitude 76° 32.2917989' W.; thence 

north-northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point 

of beginning. 

Public Ground 112 of Northumberland County is located in 

the Yeocomico River, beginning at said point being Corner 

1, located at Latitude 38° 01.8449428' N., Longitude 76° 

32.2191877' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

38° 01.8783929' N., Longitude 76° 31.9970988' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 01.7997003' N., 76° 

31.9569302' W.; thence continuing southeasterly to Corner 

4, Latitude 38° 01.6848729' N., Longitude 76° 31.5931801' 

W.; thence southerly to Corner 5, Latitude 38° 01.5760153' 

N., 76° 31.5931801' W.; thence westerly to Corner 6, 

Latitude 38° 01.6860521' N., Longitude 76° 32.2820100' 

W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point 

of beginning. 

"York River Hand Tong Area" means that area of the York 

River consisting of a portion of Public Ground 31 of 

Gloucester County (Aberdeen Rock), Public Ground 901 of 

Gloucester, and King and Queen Counties and that portion of 

Public Ground 4 of King and Queen County that is in waters 

approved by the Virginia Department of Health for the harvest 

of Shellfish (Bell Rock) described as: 

Public Ground 31 of Gloucester County, known as Aberdeen 

Rock, is that portion of Public Ground between a line from 

Upper York River Green Channel Marker 9, Latitude 37° 

19.35986' N., Longitude 76° 35.99789' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Gum Point, Latitude 37° 19.74276' N., 

Longitude 76° 35.49063' W.; upstream to a line from the 

Flashing Yellow VIMS Data Buoy "CB," Latitude 37° 

20.4670000' N., Longitude 76° 37.4830000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the inshore end of the wharf at Clay Bank. 

Public Ground 901 of Gloucester and King and Queen 

Counties is located in the York River at the mouth of the 

Propotank River, beginning at said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 26.0291178' N., Longitude 76° 

42.4769473' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

37° 26.1502199' N., Longitude 76° 42.5504403' W.; thence 

continuing northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 
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26.2593188' N., Longitude 76° 42.5639668' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 26.0537949' N., 

Longitude 76° 42.3217587' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 5, Latitude 37° 26.0023548' N., Longitude 76° 

42.4076221' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 4 of King and Queen County, known as Bell 

Rock, is located in the York River, beginning at said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 29.1377467' N., 

Longitude 76° 45.0390139' W.; thence southerly to Corner 

2, Latitude 37° 29.0456979' N., Longitude 76° 45.0642131' 

W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 

29.5582048' N., Longitude 76° 45.8484481' W.; thence 

continuing northwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

29.8480848' N., Longitude 76° 46.5362330' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 30.0087805' N., 

Longitude 76° 46.3513889' W.; thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37° 29.6554103' N., 

Longitude 76° 45.5620462' W., thence continuing 

southeasterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 29.1838193' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.8908342' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 8, Latitude 37° 29.1094227' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.7985114' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 28.9796379' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.6726329' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 10, Latitude 37° 28.7771294' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.5058580' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 28.6286905' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.4140389' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 12, Latitude 37° 28.4745509' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.3267558' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 13, Latitude 37° 28.4379124' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.2964890' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 14, Latitude 37° 28.3255929' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.2037875' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 15, Latitude 37° 28.2389865' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.1706101' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 16, Latitude 37° 28.2157560' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.1552324' W., thence westerly to Corner 

17, Latitude 37° 28.1396622' N., Longitude 76° 44.3698473' 

W., thence northerly to Corner 18, Latitude 37° 28.7398061' 

N., Longitude 76° 44.7807027' W., thence continue 

northerly to Corner 19, Latitude 37° 28.8838652' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.8818391' W., thence easterly to Corner 20, 

Latitude 37° 28.9140411' N., Longitude 76° 44.8163514' W. 

thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point 

of beginning. 

"York River Rotation Area 1" means all public grounds in the 

York River, within Gloucester County, between a line from 

Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker "8", Latitude 

37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth of Cedar 

Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude 76° 

33.8216000' W.; upstream to a line from the Upper York River 

Green Channel Marker 9, Latitude 37° 19.35986' N., 

Longitude 76° 35.99789' W.; thence northeasterly to Gum 

Point, Latitude 37° 19.7427600' N., Longitude 76° 

35.4906300' W. 

"York River Rotation Area 2" means all public grounds in the 

York River, within Gloucester County, from the George P. 

Coleman Memorial Bridge (U.S. Route 17), upstream to a line 

from Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker "8", 

Latitude 37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166' W.; 

thence northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth of 

Cedar Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude 

76° 33.8216000' W. 

4VAC20-720-40. Open oyster harvest season, harvest 

areas, and harvest limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters from 

public and unassigned grounds, except within the dates and 

areas and with the harvest gears set forth in this section. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest clean cull oysters from the 

public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds, except within 

the seasons and areas and with the harvest gears as described 

in Table 1 in this subsection. 

It shall be unlawful to exceed the daily individual bushel 

harvest limit or the daily vessel bushel limit of clean cull 

oysters in Table 1 in this subsection. 

Table 1 

Clean Cull Oyster Harvest Area, Harvest Dates, Harvest Gear, and Daily Bushel Limits 

Harvest Area Harvest Dates Harvest Gear 

Daily 

Individual 

Bushel Limit 

Daily Vessel 

Bushel Limit 

Great Wicomico River 

Rotation Area 1 

December 1, 2023 January 1, 2025, 

through January 31, 2024, and 

February 15, 2024, through 

February 29, 2024 2025 

Hand Scrape 8 16 
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Great Wicomico River 

Rotation Area 2 

December 1, 2024, through 

December 31, 2024 
Hand Scrape 8 16 

James River Area 1 and,  

2, and 3 

October 15, 2023 16, 2024, through 

February 29, 2024, and March 16, 

2024 through March 31, 2024 2025 

Hand Scrape 8 16 

James River 

Area 3 

November 1, 2023, through March 

15, 2024 
Hand Scrape 8 16 

Middle Ground 

November 1, 2023, through 

November 15, 2023 March 1, 2025, 

through March 14, 2025 

Hand Scrape 8 16 

Mobjack Bay Area 
February 1, 2025, through  

February 28, 2025 
Hand Scrape 8 16 

Piankatank River Area 
March 1, 2025, through  

March 14, 2025 
Hand Scrape 8 16 

Pocomoke Sound Area 

Public Ground 11 

November 1, 2024, through 

November 15, 2024 and February 

1, 2025, through February 14, 2025 

Hand Scrape 8 16 

Rappahannock River 

Rotation Area 1 
March 1, 2024, through March 15, 2024 Hand Scrape 8 16 

Rappahannock River 

Area 8 7 

January 1, 2024, through February 

14, 2024 December 1, 2024, 

through December 31, 2024 

Hand Scrape 8 16 

Rappahannock River 

Area 7 8 

December 1, 2023, through 

December 31, 2023 January 1, 

2025, through January 31, 2025 

Hand Scrape 8 16 

Rappahannock River 

Rotation Area 2 3 

February 15, 2024 1, 2025, through 

February 29, 2024 March 14, 2025 
Hand Scrape 8 16 

Rappahannock River 

Rotation Area 6 5 

November 1, 2023 October 16, 

2024, through November 30, 2023 

2024 

Hand Scrape 8 16 

Upper Chesapeake Bay - 

Blackberry Hangs Area 

February 1, 2024 2025, through 

February 29, 2024 March 14, 2025 
Hand Scrape 8 16 

York River Rotation  

Area 1 

November 1, 2023, through 

November 30, 2023, and February 

15, 2024, through February 29, 

2024 January 1, 2025, through 

January 31, 2025 

Hand Scrape 8 16 

York River Rotation 

Area 2 

February 1, 2025, through March 

14, 2025 
Hand Scrape 8 16 

Coan River Area 
October 1, 2023 2024, through 

December 31, 2023 2024 
Hand Tong 14 28 
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Corrotoman Hand Tong 

Area 

October 1, 2023 2024, through 

March 31, 2024 2025 
Hand Tong 14 28 

Indian Creek 
March October 1, 2024, through 

March 31, 2024 2025 
Hand Tong 14 28 

James River Area 1 

 and 2 

March 1, 2024, through March 15, 

2024, and April 1, 2024, through 

April 30, 2024 

Hand Tong 14 28 

James River 

Area 3 

March 16, 2024, through  

April 30, 2024 
Hand Tong 14 28 

Great Wicomico River 

Hand Tong Area 

October 1, 2024, through December 

31, 2024 
Hand Tong 14 28 

James River Seed Area, 

including the James River 

Seed Area, including the 

Deep Water Shoal State 

Replenishment Seed Area 

October 1, 2023, through 

May 31, 2024 2024, through  

May 30, 2025 

Hand Tong 14 28 

Little Wicomico River 
October 1, 2023 2024, through 

December 31, 2023 2024 
Hand Tong 14 28 

Milford Haven 

November December 1, 2023 2024, 

through March 31, 2024 February 

28, 2025 

Hand Tong 14 28 

Nomini Creek Area 
October 1, 2023 2024, through 

December 31, 2023 2024 
Hand Tong 14 28 

Piankatank River Hand 

Tong Area 

March 1, 2025, through March 14, 

2025 
Hand Tong 14 28 

Pocomoke Sound Area 

Public Ground 11 

November 16, 2024, through 

January 31, 2025, and February 15, 

2025, through March 31, 2025 

Hand Tong 14 28 

Pocomoke Sound Hand 

Tong Area Public 

Ground 9 and 10 

November 1, 2023 2024, through 

March 31, 2024 2025 
Hand Tong 14 28 

Rappahannock River  

Area 7 

October 1, 2024, through 

November 30, 2024, and January 1, 

2025, through March 31, 2025 

Hand Tong 14 28 

Rappahannock River  

Area 8 

October 1, 2024, through December 

31, 2024, and February 1, 2025, 

through March 31, 2025 

Hand Tong 14 28 

Rappahannock River  

Area 9 

October 1, 2023 2024, through 

March 31, 2024 2025 
Hand Tong 14 28 

Yeocomico River Area 
October 1, 2023 2024, through 

December 31, 2023 2024 
Hand Tong 14 28 
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York River Hand Tong 

Area 

November 1, 2023 October 16, 2024, 

through March 31, 2024 14, 2025 
Hand Tong 14 28 

York River Rotation  

Area 1 

October 1, 2023, through October 31, 

2023, and December 1, 2023, through 

February 15, 2024, and March 

November 1, 2024, through March 

December 31, 2024, and February 1, 

2025, through March 31, 2025 

Hand Tong 14 28 

York River Rotation  

Area 2 

November 1, 2024, through  

January 31, 2025 
Hand Tong 14 28 

Beasley Bay Hurleys 

Rock Area 

March 1, 2024 2025, through 

March 15, 2024 14, 2025 
Oyster Dredge 8 16 

California Rock Area 
November 15, 2023, through 

November 30, 2023 
Oyster Dredge 8 16 

Pocomoke Sound 

Rotation Area 1 2 

December 1, 2023 November 16, 

2024, through February 29,  

2024 14, 2025 

Oyster Dredge 8 16 

Tangier Sound Rotation  

Area 1 2 

December 1, 2023 2024, through 

March 15, 2024 February 28, 2025 
Oyster Dredge 8 16 

Larsons Bay Area 

December 1, 2023, through 

February 29, 2024 October 1, 2024, 

through December 31, 2024 

Patent Tong 8 16 

Deep Rock Area 
November 1, 2023 2024, through 

March 31, 2024 2025 
Patent Tong 8 16 

Rappahannock River 

Rotation Area 1 

October 15, 2023 October 1, 2024, 

through February 29, 2024 

December 31, 2024 

Patent Tong 8 16 

Seaside Eastern Shore 
November 1, 2023 2024, through 

March 31, 2024 April 30, 2025 

By Hand or Hand 

Tong 
14 28 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest seed oysters from the public 

oyster grounds or unassigned grounds, except within the dates 

and areas and with the harvest gears described in Table 2 in 

this subsection. 

Table 2. 

Seed Oyster Harvest Area, Harvest Dates, 

 and Harvest Gear 

Harvest Area Harvest Dates 
Harvest 

Gear 

James River Seed Area, 

including the Deep Water 

Shoal State Replenishment 

Seed Area 

October 1, 2023 

2024, through May 

31, 2024 2025 

Hand 

Tong 

D. In the Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Areas, it 

shall be unlawful to possess on board any vessel more than 250 

hard clams. 

E. It shall be unlawful to possess any blue crabs on board any 

vessel with an oyster scrape or oyster dredge. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any person or vessel to harvest clean 

cull oysters with more than one gear type in any single day 

from the public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds in the 

waters of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

4VAC20-720-60. Day and time limit. 

A. It shall be unlawful to take, catch, or possess oysters on 

Saturday and Sunday from the public oyster grounds or 

unassigned grounds in the waters of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia for commercial purposes, except that this provision 
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shall not apply to any person harvesting no more than one 

bushel per day by hand or ordinary tong for household use only 

during the season when the public oyster grounds or 

unassigned grounds are legally open for harvest. 

B. It shall be unlawful to do any of the following from the 

harvest areas described in Table 1 or Table 2 of 4VAC20-720-

40: 

1. Harvest or attempt to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or 

after sunset. 

2. For any vessel to leave the dock until one hour before 

sunrise or return to the dock after sunset if the vessel has an 

oyster dredge or hand scrape aboard. 

3. From October 1, 2023, through October 31, 2023, for any 

person to harvest or attempt to harvest clean cull oysters 

after 11 a.m. and from May 1 through May 30, to harvest or 

attempt to harvest clean cull oysters after 10 a.m. 

4. Beginning November 1, 2023, for any person to harvest 

or attempt to harvest clean cull oysters after noon with patent 

tongs, hand scrapes, or oyster dredges. 

5. Beginning November 1, 2023, for For any person to 

harvest or attempt to harvest oysters after 2 p.m. with hand 

tongs. 

In addition, it shall be unlawful for any vessel to leave the 

dock until one hour before sunrise or return to the dock after 

sunset if the vessel has an oyster dredge or hand scrape aboard. 

4VAC20-720-85. James River seed quota and monitoring. 

A. An oyster seed harvest quota of 90,000 bushels of seed is 

established for the James River Seed Area, including the Deep 

Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area. Once it has been 

projected and announced that the quota of seed has been 

attained, it shall be unlawful for any person to harvest seed 

oysters from these areas. 

B. Of the 90,000-bushel seed quota described in subsection A 

of this section, no more than 30,000 bushels of this quota may 

be harvested from October 1 through December 31. However, 

if it is projected and announced that 30,000 bushels of seed 

have been harvested before December 31, it shall be unlawful 

for any person to harvest seed oysters from that date forward 

until January 1. 

C. Of the 90,000-bushel seed quota described in subsection A 

of this section, no more than 60,000 bushels of this quota may 

be harvested from January 1 through May 31. 

D. Any person harvesting or landing oyster seed from the 

James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal State 

Replenishment Seed Area, shall report monthly on forms 

provided by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission all 

harvest of seed oysters. Reporting requirements shall consist of 

that person's Commercial Fisherman Registration License 

number, daily number of bushels of seed oysters harvested, 

harvest rock location, planting location (any lease numbers), 

and buyer name. 

E. D. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting seed oysters 

from the James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area, to fail to contact the Virginia 

Marine Resources Commission Interactive-Voice-Response 

(IVR) System within 24 hours of harvest or landing and provide 

daily harvest records accurately quantifying and legibly 

describing that day's seed harvest from the James River Seed Area, 

including the Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area. 

All records shall be submitted within 24 hours of harvest or 

landing through the Online Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

Program Web Application and shall provide that person's name, 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License number, time, date, 

daily number of bushels of seed oysters harvested, harvest rock 

location, planting location (any lease numbers), and buyer name, 

and any other harvest reporting information required by law. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7977; Filed September 19, 2024, 2:49 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-740. Pertaining to the 

Snagging or Towing of Fish (amending 4VAC20-740-15, 

4VAC20-740-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow recreational anglers to snag 

Atlantic menhaden and mullet species in the Mugel genus, 

which includes white mullet, striped mullet, and flathead 

grey mullet.  

4VAC20-740-15. Definition Definitions. 

The following word words or term terms when used in this 

chapter shall have the following meaning meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise. 

"Mugel genus" means white mullet, striped mullet, and 

flathead grey mullet. 

"Snagging" means the act of intentionally hooking or 

attempting to hook a fish in any part of its body other than its 

mouth using a fishing line, hook, or other device. 

"Towing of fish" means tethering a fish by any method behind 

the vessel while the engine is running and in gear. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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4VAC20-740-20. Snagging prohibited. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to take or to attempt to take 

any finfish by means of snagging other than Atlantic menhaden 

and species in the Mugel genus. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8004; Filed September 24, 2024, 2:29 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-23. Licensure Regulations for 

School Personnel (amending 8VAC20-23-90). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-298 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

750-8750, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 183 of the 2024 Acts of the Assembly, 

the amendments (i) clarify that the alternate route 

licensure program for a teaching endorsement in special 

education via a Provisional (Career Switcher) License is 

just that: an alternative and does not supplant, eliminate, 

or otherwise alter the Provisional (Special Education) 

License option and (ii) require each individual pursuing 

an endorsement in special education via the Provisional 

(Career Switcher) License to complete at least 60% of 

specific requirements as part of Level I preparation and 

complete the remaining requirements as part of Level II 

and Level III preparation. 

8VAC20-23-90. Alternate routes to licensure. 

A. Career switcher alternate route to licensure for career 

professionals - Provisional (Career Switcher) License. An 

alternate route is available to career switchers who seek 

teaching endorsements preK through grade 12 with the 

exception of For those applicants seeking a teaching 

endorsement in special education, this option does not supplant 

subsection C of this section but provides an additional pathway 

to a provisional license. 

1. An individual seeking a Provisional (Career Switcher) 

License through the career switcher program shall meet the 

following prerequisite requirements: 

a. An application process; 

b. An earned baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university; 

c. The completion of requirements for an endorsement in 

a teaching area or the equivalent through verifiable 

experience or academic study; 

d. At least three years of successful full-time work 

experience or its equivalent; and 

e. Virginia qualifying scores on the professional teacher's 

assessments as prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

2. The Provisional (Career Switcher) License is awarded at 

the end of Level I preparation for an initial validity period of 

one school year. All components of the career switcher 

alternate route for career professionals shall be completed by 

the candidate. 

3. The Level I requirements shall be completed during the 

course of a single year and may be offered through a variety 

of delivery systems, including distance learning programs. If 

an employing agency recommends extending the 

Provisional (Career Switcher) License for a second year, the 

candidate will enter Level III of the program. Career 

switcher programs shall submit program documentation as 

set forth by the Virginia Department of Education for review 

and be certified every seven years by the Virginia 

Department of Education. 

a. Level I preparation. Intensive Level I preparation 

includes a minimum of 180 clock hours of instruction, 

including field experience. This phase includes human 

development and learning; curriculum and instruction, 

including technology; language and literacy; specific 

course content relating to the Virginia Standards of 

Learning; foundations of education and the teaching 

profession; classroom and behavior management; and 

assessment of and for learning. 

b. Level II preparation during first year of employment. 

(1) Candidate seeks employment in Virginia with the one-

year Provisional (Career Switcher) License. 

(2) Continued Level II preparation during the first year of 

employment with a minimum of five seminars that expand 

the intensive preparation requirements listed in 

subdivision 3 a of this subsection. The five seminars will 

include a minimum of 20 cumulative instructional hours. 

A variety of instructional delivery techniques will be 

utilized to implement the seminars. 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 5  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 21, 2024  

630 

(3) One year of successful, full-time teaching experience 

in a Virginia public or accredited nonpublic school under 

a one-year Provisional (Career Switcher) License. A 

trained mentor shall be assigned to assist the candidate 

during the first year of employment. Responsibilities of 

the mentor include the following: 

(a) Collaborate with the beginning teacher in the 

development and implementation of an individualized 

professional development plan; 

(b) Observe, assess, coach, and provide opportunities for 

constructive feedback, including strategies for self-

reflection; 

(c) Share resources and materials; 

(d) Share best instructional, assessment, and 

organizational practices; classroom and behavior 

management strategies; and techniques for promoting 

varied and effective methods of communication with and 

among students; and 

(e) Provide general support and direction regarding school 

policies and procedures. 

(4) Upon successful completion of the Levels I and II 

preparation requirements of the career switcher alternate 

route to licensure program and submission of a 

recommendation from the employing Virginia educational 

agency, the candidate will be eligible to apply for a 10-

year, renewable license. Renewal requirements for the 

regular license will be subject to current regulations of the 

Virginia Board of Education. 

c. Level III preparation, if required. 

(1) Post preparation, if required, will be conducted by the 

employing Virginia educational agency to address the 

areas where improvement is needed as identified in the 

candidate's professional improvement plan; and 

(2) Upon successful completion of Levels I, II, and, if 

required, Level III of the career switcher alternate route to 

licensure program and submission of a recommendation 

from the employing Virginia educational agency, the 

candidate will be eligible to receive a 10-year renewable 

license. 

4. Verification of program completion will be documented 

by the certified program provider and the division 

superintendent or designee. 

5. Certified providers implementing a career switcher 

program may charge a fee for participation in the program. 

6. Each individual pursuing a Provisional (Career Switcher) 

License who seeks an endorsement in special education (i) 

shall complete at least 60% of the requirements set forth in 

8VAC20-543-500 as part of Level I preparation and (ii) shall 

complete the remaining requirements set forth in 8VAC20-

543-500 as part of Level II and Level III preparation. 

B. An alternate route is available to individuals employed by 

a Virginia educational agency who seek teaching 

endorsements preK through grade 12. The employing Virginia 

educational agency may request a nonrenewable Provisional 

License on behalf of the individual if the individual has 

completed an allowable portion of professional studies and 

endorsement requirements. An employed teacher may 

demonstrate meeting the teaching endorsement requirements 

by passing a rigorous academic subject test for endorsements 

in which a test is prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. This testing option does not apply to individuals (i) 

who are seeking an early/primary education preK-3 or 

elementary education preK-6 endorsement, special education 

endorsements, or a reading specialist endorsement or (ii) who 

hold a Technical Professional License, Vocational Evaluator 

License, Pupil Personnel Services License, School Manager 

License, or Division Superintendent License. This route also is 

available to individuals who are employed by a Virginia public 

school, a Virginia accredited nonpublic school, or an 

accredited virtual school or program and who are seeking the 

Online Teacher License that is issued to teachers who teach 

only online courses. The Provisional License will be issued for 

a validity period not to exceed three years. The Provisional 

License is a nonrenewable teaching license valid for a period 

not to exceed three years. Individuals shall complete all 

licensure requirements to become eligible for the 10-year, 

renewable license. 

1. An individual seeking a license through this alternate 

route shall have met the following requirements: 

a. Entered the teaching field through the alternate route to 

licensure upon the recommendation of the employing 

Virginia educational agency. For the Online Teacher 

Provisional License, individuals shall be employed by a 

Virginia public school division, a Virginia accredited 

nonpublic school, or an accredited virtual school or 

program; 

b. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university with the exception of 

individuals seeking the Technical Professional License; 

c. Have met requirements for the endorsement area; and 

d. Need to complete an allowable portion of professional 

studies and licensure requirements. 

2. The professional studies requirements for the appropriate 

level of endorsement sought shall be completed. A Virginia 

educational agency may submit to the Superintendent of 

Public Instruction for approval an alternate program to meet 

the professional studies requirements. The alternate program 

shall include training such as seminar, internship, or 

coursework in human development and learning; curriculum 

and instruction, including technology; assessment of and for 

learning; classroom and behavior management; foundations 

of education and the teaching profession, including legal 

status of teachers and students, federal and state laws, and 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 5  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 21, 2024  

631 

teacher evaluation as prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education's guidelines for performance standards and 

evaluation criteria established pursuant to § 22.1-253.13:5 B 

of the Code of Virginia and language and literacy. 

3. One year of successful, full-time teaching experience in 

the appropriate teaching area in a Virginia public or an 

accredited nonpublic school shall be completed. For the 

Online Teacher License only, one year of successful online 

teaching experience in the endorsement area in a public 

school division, an accredited nonpublic school, or an 

accredited virtual school or program may be accepted in lieu 

of the supervised teaching experience. A fully licensed 

experienced teacher shall be available in the school building 

to assist the beginning teacher employed through the 

alternate route. 

C. Alternate route in special education. The Provisional 

(Special Education) License is a nonrenewable teaching 

license issued for a validity period not to exceed three years to 

an individual employed as a special education teacher in a 

public school or a nonpublic school in Virginia who does not 

hold the appropriate special education endorsement. The 

Provisional (Special Education) License will be issued only 

with endorsements in special education. The Provisional 

License is a nonrenewable teaching license valid for a period 

not to exceed three years. This alternate route to special 

education endorsement is not applicable to individuals seeking 

the Online Teacher License. To be issued the Provisional 

(Special Education) License through this alternate route, an 

individual shall: 

1. Be employed by a Virginia public or accredited nonpublic 

school as a special education teacher and have the 

recommendation of the employing educational agency; 

2. Have earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university; 

3. Have an assigned mentor with an active Virginia teaching 

license with an endorsement in special education; and 

4. Have a planned program of study in the assigned 

endorsement area, make progress toward meeting the 

endorsement requirements each of the three years of the 

license, and have completed at least three semester hours of 

coursework in the competencies of foundations for 

educating students with disabilities and have an 

understanding and application of the legal aspects and 

regulatory requirements associated with identification, 

education, and evaluation of students with disabilities. A 

survey course integrating these competencies would satisfy 

this requirement. 

The Provisional (Special Education) License issued through 

this alternate route shall not be issued without the completion 

of these prerequisites. 

D. Alternate programs at institutions of higher education or 

Virginia school divisions. Alternate programs developed by 

institutions of higher education (i) recognize the unique 

strengths of prospective teachers from nontraditional 

backgrounds and (ii) prepare these individuals to meet the 

same standards that are established for others who are granted 

a license through an alternate route. 

E. Experiential learning. Individuals applying for an initial 

teaching license through the alternate route as prescribed by 

the Virginia Board of Education shall meet the following 

criteria to be eligible to request that experiential learning 

satisfy the coursework for the endorsement (teaching) content 

area: 

1. Have earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university; 

2. Have at least three years of documented successful full-

time work experience that may include specialized training 

related to the endorsement sought; and 

3. Have met the Virginia qualifying score on the content 

knowledge assessment prescribed by the Virginia Board of 

Education. 

Experiential learning does not apply to individuals seeking 

special education and preK-3 and preK-6 endorsements or 

endorsements in which there is no Virginia Board of 

Education-prescribed content or subject assessment. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8025; Filed September 17, 2024, 2:03 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-790. Child Care Program 

(amending 8VAC20-790-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-289.046 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

750-8750, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 286 of the 2024 Acts of the Assembly, 

the amendments codify a provision that any family who 

receives public assistance through Medicaid or the 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, 

Infants, and Children shall be deemed to categorically 

satisfy income eligibility requirements to receive 

assistance through the Child Care Subsidy Program.  

8VAC20-790-40. Case management. 

A. Applicants for child care subsidy and services must be at 

least 18 years of age unless they are an emancipated minor. 

B. Applicants are required to sign an application, to provide 

verification of identity, and to cooperate with an assessment by 

the local department of social services. 

C. At initial eligibility determination, a family with a child 

experiencing homelessness that cannot provide the required 

documentation may be conditionally approved for services for 

a period not to exceed 90 days. The final eligibility 

determination shall be completed once the 90 days has expired 

or full documentation is provided. Any No payments made 

prior to the final eligibility determination shall not be 

considered an error or improper payment. Families with a child 

experiencing homelessness shall receive priority placement on 

the waiting list, if applicable. 

D. Consumer education, including education on the selection 

and monitoring of quality child care and how to access 

information regarding their the selected vendor as to the (i) 

health and safety requirements met by the vendor;, (ii) 

licensing or regulatory requirements met by the vendor;, (iii) 

date the vendor was last inspected and any history of 

violations;, and (iv) any voluntary quality standards met by the 

vendor, must be provided to parents to assist them the parents 

in gaining needed information about the availability of child 

care services and providers. Parents must also be provided 

information on how to obtain a developmental screening for 

their a child. 

E. The department shall establish scales for determining 

financial eligibility for the income eligible child care subsidy 

program categories in subdivision 2 of 8VAC20-790-30. 

1. Any family that receives public assistance through 

Medicaid or the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for 

Women, Infants, and Children shall be deemed to 

categorically satisfy income eligibility requirements to 

receive assistance under this chapter. 

2. Recipients in the TANF child care program category shall 

be considered income eligible based on their receipt of 

TANF; the local department shall not be required to verify 

their income. 

2. 3. At initial eligibility determination, income eligibility 

shall be determined by measuring the family's countable 

income and size against the percentage of the federal poverty 

guidelines for their the family's locality. The family's income 

cannot exceed 85% of the state median income. 

3. 4. At redetermination, if a recipient family's countable 

income exceeds the initial eligibility limit, they the family 

shall be considered income eligible until their its countable 

income meets or exceeds the exit eligibility limit established 

by the department. The family's income cannot exceed 85% 

of the state median income. 

F. Families receiving child care subsidy and services shall be 

required to pay a copayment unless their the family's gross 

monthly income is at or below the federal poverty guidelines. 

The copayment amount will be based on a scale set out in the 

current Child Care and Development Fund Plan for Virginia. 

Copayments may be increased at redetermination and during 

graduated phase out if the family's countable income exceeds 

the initial eligibility limit but is below the exit eligibility limit. 

Local departments shall be required to act on changes reported 

by the family that would reduce the family's copayment during 

the 12-month eligibility period. 

G. Income to be counted in determining income eligibility 

includes all earned and unearned income received by the 

family except the following: 

1. Supplemental Security Income; 

2. TANF benefits; 

3. Transitional payments of $50 per month to former VIEW 

participants; 

4. Diversionary assistance payments; 

5. General relief; 

6. SNAP benefits; 

7. Value of U.S. Department of Agriculture donated food; 

8. Benefits received under Title VII, Nutrition Program for 

the Elderly of the Older Americans Act of 1965; 

9. Value of supplemental food assistance under the Child 

Nutrition Act of 1996 and lunches provided under National 

School Lunch Act; 

10. Earnings of a child younger than the age of 18 years of 

age; 

11. Earned income tax credit; 

12. Lump sum child support arrears payments; 

13. Scholarships, loans, or grants for education, except any 

portion specified for child care; 

14. Basic allowance for housing for military personnel living 

on base; 

15. Clothing maintenance allowance for military personnel; 

16. Payments received by AmeriCorps volunteers; 

17. Tax refunds; 

18. Lump sum insurance payments; 
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19. Monetary gifts for one-time occasions or normal annual 

occasions; 

20. Payments made by non-financially responsible third 

parties for household obligations, unless payment is made in 

lieu of wages; 

21. Loans or money borrowed; 

22. Money received from sale of property; 

23. Earnings less than $25 a month; 

24. Capital gains; 

25. Withdrawals of bank deposits; 

26. GI Bill benefits; 

27. Reimbursements, such as for mileage; 

28. Foreign government restitution payments to Holocaust 

survivors; 

29. Payments from the Agent Orange Settlement Fund or 

any other fund established for settlement of Agent Orange 

product liability litigation; and 

30. Monetary benefits provided to the children of Vietnam 

Veterans as described in 38 USC § 1823(c). 

The amount of wages subject to garnishment and the amount 

of child support paid to another household shall be deducted 

from the family's income. 

H. The eligibility period for TANF (nonVIEW), transitional 

child care, Fee Program, and Head Start begins with the 

effective date of the approval of the child care subsidy and 

services application. The eligibility period for VIEW and 

SNAPET participants begins with the date of referral from the 

VIEW or SNAPET program. 

I. Recipients will be eligible for child care subsidy and 

services for a minimum of 12-months before eligibility is 

redetermined, unless: 

1. Their The recipient's countable income exceeds 85% of 

state median income. Temporary increases in income will 

not affect eligibility or family copayments, including 

monthly income fluctuations, which that when taken in 

isolation, may incorrectly indicate that a recipient's income 

exceeds 85% of state median income. 

2. There is a finding that the recipient committed an 

intentional program violation. 

3. The recipient is no longer a resident of Virginia. 

4. The recipient requests that their the child care subsidy and 

services case be closed. 

5. The recipient is a family of a child experiencing 

homelessness that was approved as conditionally eligible 

and failed to provide necessary documentation to the local 

department within 90 days, or the recipient is determined 

ineligible after full documentation is provided. 

J. Recipients will retain eligibility despite any change in 

residency within the state. 

K. Recipients will retain eligibility despite any eligible child 

turning 13 years of age during the 12-month eligibility period. 

L. The beginning date of service payment for TANF 

(nonVIEW), transitional child care, Fee Program, and Head 

Start participants may begin with the date the applicant is 

determined eligible and a vendor approved by the department 

is selected. The beginning date of service payment for VIEW 

or SNAPET participants may begin with the date of referral 

from the VIEW or SNAPET program if the applicant is 

determined eligible and a vendor approved by the department 

is selected. 

1. Eligibility must be determined within 30 days of receipt 

of a signed application or referral from VIEW or SNAPET 

by the local department. 

2. Payment cannot be made to any provider prior to the 

effective date of their the provider's approval by the 

department as a vendor. 

M. Eligibility will be redetermined in the final month of the 

12-month eligibility period described in subsection I of this 

section, at which time the recipient will be contacted in order 

to have all eligibility criteria be reevaluated. The local 

department's contact with the recipient should not unduly 

disrupt a parent's work schedule. Recipients shall not be 

required to appear in person for eligibility redetermination. 

N. Child care case managers shall prepare a written service 

plan for each child care case with the applicant or recipient. 

The service plan shall state the activities and responsibilities of 

the local department and the parent in the provision of child 

care services. The VIEW Activity and Service Plan will serve 

as the service plan for parents active in VIEW. If the parents 

are SNAPET participants, the SNAPET Plan of Participation 

will serve as the service plan. 

O. Recipients shall be required to: 

1. Report to the local department the following changes 

within 10 calendar days of the change: 

a. Countable income that exceeds 85% of the state median 

income. 

b. Recipient is no longer a resident of Virginia or the 

county in which they are the recipient is receiving 

services. 

2. Pay all fees owed to the vendor not paid for under the 

Child Care Subsidy Program or reimbursements owed to the 

local department; failure to do so may result in case closure 

at redetermination. 
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3. Reimburse the local department for any overpayment 

made as a result of fraud, intentional program violation, or 

an inadvertent household error. 

The local department shall inform recipients of child care 

subsidy and services of these responsibilities. 

P. Adequate documentation supporting the reasons for 

termination must be filed in the case record. 

Q. When sufficient funds are not available, local departments 

of social services must screen applicants for potential 

eligibility and place them the applicants on the department's 

waiting list unless the family declines placement. 

R. Applicants and recipients will be afforded due process 

through timely written notices of any action determining or 

affecting their eligibility for services or copayment amount. 

Such written notice shall include the reason for the action and 

the notice of appeal rights and procedures, including the right 

to a fair hearing if the applicant or recipient is aggrieved by the 

local department's action or failure to act on an application. If 

a recipient requests an appeal prior to the effective date of any 

proposed action and if the continuation of services is requested 

by the parent, child care services will continue until a decision 

is rendered by a hearing officer. If the decision of the local 

department is upheld by the hearing officer, the recipient must 

repay the amount of services paid during the appeal process. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7969; Filed September 17, 2024, 2:08 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-790. Sewage Collection and 

Treatment Regulations (adding 9VAC25-790-985). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.19 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Morgan Emanuel, Regulatory and Guidance 

Analyst, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 494-9635, or 

email morgan.emanuel@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Water Control Board adopted the Sewage 

Collection and Treatment Regulations under the authority 

provided by § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia, and § 62.1-

4419 of the Code of Virginia requires that before an owner may 

erect, construct, open, expand, or operate a sewerage system or 

sewage treatment works that will have a potential discharge or 

actual discharge to state waters, the owner must file with the 

board an application for a certificate in scope and detail 

satisfactory to the board. 

Purpose: This regulatory action is essential to protecting the 

water quality in the Commonwealth of Virginia, which is 

essential to the health, safety, and welfare of Virginia citizens 

and is needed in order to establish appropriate and necessary 

reporting requirements for all septic systems or other onsite 

sewage disposal systems located in the Chesapeake Bay 

Watershed that are taken offline and connected to sewage 

collection systems. Additionally, this action is essential in 

supporting the Commonwealth Chesapeake Bay Total 

Maximum Daily Load Phase III Watershed Implementation 

Plan. The addition of this reporting requirement will ensure a 

more accurate count of nutrient reductions resulting from 

septic systems connected to sewer, which will assist with 

tracking the Commonwealth's progress toward water quality 

goals, including Chesapeake Bay watershed restoration goals. 

Substance: This action amends the Sewage Collection and 

Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790) to include a 

requirement for permitted sewage treatment works located 

within the Chesapeake Bay Watershed to report all septic 

systems or other onsite sewage disposal systems taken offline 

and connected to sewerage systems. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed regulatory 

action is the implementation of a reporting requirement for all 

septic systems or other onsite sewage disposal systems located 

within the Chesapeake Bay watershed taken offline and 

connected to sewerage collection systems. Including this 

requirement provides the Department of Environmental 

Quality with more accurate information to track water quality 

goals. The regulation includes language to limit the 

requirement to the best of the permittee's knowledge, thus the 

implementation of this requirement can largely be 

accomplished using existing resources and will impose a 

minimal financial burden. This will aid in protecting state 

waters, while limiting both the time and resources required to 

gather the required data, as well as preventing the regulation 

from creating compliance issues or being punitive to 

permittees. This is an advantage for the public, the regulated 

community, and the Commonwealth. Potential disadvantages 

would be limited to an increase on staff resources. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Water Control Board (board) proposes to amend the 

Sewage Collection and Treatment (SCAT) Regulations to add 

a requirement that would ensure a more accurate count of 

nutrient reductions. Adding this requirement would implement 

mailto:morgan.emanuel@deq.virginia.gov
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one item in the Commonwealth's overall plan to restore the 

Chesapeake Bay. 

Background. On Dec. 29, 2010, the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) established the Chesapeake Bay 

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL), a comprehensive 

cleanup plan to guide federal, state and local actions as their 

communities clean up the Chesapeake Bay and the connected 

streams, creeks and rivers.2 In Virginia, the TMDL calls for a 

20.5% reduction in nitrogen, 25.2% reduction in phosphorus 

and 20.8% reduction in sediment delivered to the bay; this will 

be accomplished by having best management practices in place 

by 2025. The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

reports that Watershed Implementation Plans (WIPs) are 

roadmaps for attaining the Chesapeake Bay TMDL that were 

agreed to be developed and implemented in three phases. Thus, 

the Chesapeake Bay TMDL Phase III WIP, which was 

completed in 2019, represents the Commonwealth's final plan 

to achieve nutrient and sediment reductions needed to restore 

the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries.3 Initiative 53 of 

the Chesapeake Bay TMDL Phase III WIP states that, "the 

Commonwealth will initiate a regulatory action to amend the 

existing Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 

(9VAC25-790-10 et seq.) to include a reporting requirement 

for all septic systems (or other on-site sewage disposal 

systems) taken off-line and connected to sewage collection 

systems."4 Accordingly, the board proposes to add a 

requirement that every permitted sewage treatment works 

within the Chesapeake Bay Watershed shall report, to the best 

of their knowledge, the number of onsite sewage systems that 

were taken off-line and connected to sewerage systems that 

convey sewage to their facility during each calendar year by 

February 1 of the following year. DEQ reports that the 

proposed language is intended to encourage tracking and 

reporting without being punitive, and that the phrase "to the 

best of their knowledge" provides some flexibility to the 

regulants. It should also be noted that onsite sewage systems 

are permitted by the Virginia Department of Health; therefore, 

DEQ does not directly have data on onsite sewage systems that 

are discontinued. Further, DEQ reports that sewage treatment 

works have been upgraded to improve nutrient removal 

capability and are subject to discharge limitations through the 

department's Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) permit program. Thus, implementing this change 

would ensure a more accurate count of nutrient reductions that 

result from diverting sewage from septic tanks and other onsite 

sewage systems to central sewage treatment works. Lastly, 

DEQ reports that there is no overarching state-level policy to 

divert onsite sewage systems toward permanent connections to 

sewage treatment works and that property owners typically 

choose to do so when continuing to maintain and operate an 

onsite sewage system becomes too financially burdensome. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. DEQ reports that there are 316 

sewage treatment works in the 96 localities that fall within the 

Chesapeake Bay watershed in Virginia. DEQ anticipates that 

the sewage treatment works, which have VPDES permits, will 

report the required data (to the best of their knowledge) 

annually via email or letter. DEQ has not created any specific 

reporting tool, leaving it to the treatment works to determine 

how best to collect, maintain, and report the number of new 

connections they receive as a result of an onsite sewage system 

being taken offline. DEQ does not anticipate that collecting 

and reporting this information will have any significant cost for 

the permittees. Further, some treatment works may already be 

collecting this data and would only incur the relatively small 

additional cost of reporting the data to DEQ. The benefits of 

the proposed amendment would be to more accurately measure 

any reductions in nutrient loads in the Chesapeake Bay that 

result from the diversion of sewage from septic tanks and other 

on-site sewage systems to treatment works. This would further 

benefit Virginia to the extent that it contributes to the overall 

progress being made towards the Chesapeake Bay TMDLs, 

and the resulting beneficial outcomes in terms of water quality, 

watershed management, sustainable fisheries, habitat 

conservation, and climate resiliency. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As mentioned 

previously, the proposed amendment would primarily affect 

the 316 sewage treatment works that fall within the 

Chesapeake Bay watershed in Virginia. Of these, 107 sewage 

treatment works are privately owned; these licensees include 

residential communities, private schools, retreat and 

conference centers, hotels, camps, and campgrounds. The 

other 209 sewage treatment works are publicly owned; these 

licensees include localities, correctional facilities operated by 

the Department of Corrections or the Department of Juvenile 

Justice, rest stops operated by the Virginia Department of 

Transportation, and certain public schools and colleges. The 

proposed amendment would create a new reporting 

requirement for sewage treatment works in the Chesapeake 

Bay watershed, which would require some initial planning for 

administrators of those treatment works and ongoing annual 

reporting. However, given the flexibility in implementation 

and the relatively low frequency of the report, these costs are 

unlikely to be significant. The Code of Virginia requires DPB 

to assess whether an adverse impact may result from the 

proposed regulation.5 An adverse impact is indicated if there is 

any increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for any 

entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined.6 Although the proposed amendment would create a 

new requirement for the regulated entities, with a small 

implementation cost, the proposal is mandated by Virginia's 

Phase III WIP. Thus, an adverse economic impact is not 

indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.8 Types and Estimated Number of 

Small Businesses Affected: Some of the 107 privately owned 

sewage treatment works affected by the proposed requirement 

may be small businesses; however, the number of small 

businesses that would be affected is unknown since the VPDES 

permit system does not collect this information. Costs and 

Other Effects: Affected sewage treatment works that are small 

businesses may face small costs associated with collecting, 
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maintaining and reporting the required information to DEQ. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact: There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments would affect 

local governments that operate publicly owned sewage treatment 

works in the Chesapeake Bay watershed to the extent that they 

may be indirectly responsible for ensuring that the treatment 

works comply with the new reporting requirements. The 

Chesapeake Bay watershed covers 96 localities in Virginia: 

Accomack, Northampton, Augusta, Bath, Highland, Rockbridge, 

Rockingham, Buena Vista, Harrisonburg City, Lexington City, 

Staunton City, Waynesboro City, Amelia, Buckingham, 

Cumberland, Nottoway, Prince Edward, Dinwiddie, Prince 

George, Colonial Heights City, Hopewell City, Petersburg City, 

Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Fredericksburg 

City, Isle Of Wight, James City, Surry, York, Chesapeake City, 

Hampton City, Newport News City, Norfolk City, Poquoson City, 

Portsmouth City, Suffolk City, Virginia Beach City, Williamsburg 

City, Essex, Gloucester, King And Queen, King William, 

Mathews, Middlesex, Giles, Montgomery, Lancaster, 

Northumberland, Richmond, Westmoreland, Clarke, Frederick, 

Page, Shenandoah, Warren, Winchester City, Arlington, Fairfax, 

Loudoun, Prince William, Alexandria, Fairfax City, Falls Church 

City, Manassas City, Manassas Park City, Culpeper, Fauquier, 

Madison, Orange, Rappahannock, Amherst, Appomattox, 

Bedford, Campbell, Lynchburg City, Charles City, Chesterfield, 

Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, Powhatan, Richmond 

City, Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, Roanoke, Covington City, 

Albemarle, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, Nelson, and Charlottesville 

City. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments are 

not expected to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would not substantively affect the value of private 

property. Real estate development costs would not be affected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See https://www.deq.virginia.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/5441/638

154486040700000. 

3 See https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/chesapeake-

bay/phase-iii-wip. 

4 See page 80 in https://www.deq.virginia.gov/home/showpublisheddocumen

t/4481/ 638428104627430000. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

8 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

9 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

10 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Environmental Quality has reviewed the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

As mandated by the Commonwealth Chesapeake Bay 

Total Maximum Daily Load Phase III Water Improvement 

Plan, the proposed amendment adds a requirement for 

permitted sewage treatment works located within the 

Chesapeake Bay Watershed to report all septic systems or 

other onsite sewage disposal systems taken offline and 

connected to sewerage systems to ensure a more accurate 

count of nutrient reductions that result from directing 

sewage from individual septic systems and other onsite 

sewage disposal systems to a centralized sewage 

treatment works. 

9VAC25-790-985. Onsite sewage systems connected to 

sewerage systems.  

On or before February 1, annually, every permitted sewage 

treatment works within the Chesapeake Bay Watershed shall 

report to the department, to the best of the permitted sewage 

treatment works' knowledge, the number of onsite sewage 

systems taken offline and connected to sewerage systems that 

convey sewage to the permitted sewage treatment works' 

facility during the previous calendar year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7661; Filed September 20, 2024, 12:58 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-635. Rainwater Harvesting 

System Regulations (adding 12VAC5-635-10 through 

12VAC5-635-370). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-248.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Julie Henderson, Director, Environmental 

Health Services, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23235, telephone (804) 864-7455, FAX 

(804) 864-7475, TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

julie.henderson@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 817 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, the 

action establishes the Rainwater Harvesting System 

Regulation (12VAC5-635), a new regulation to provide 

standards for the use of rainwater harvesting systems, 

including systems that collect rainwater for human 

consumption. The regulation establishes the relationship 

with the statutes and regulations applicable to other 

agencies to avoid duplication of regulatory oversight for 

both nonpotable and potable uses of harvested rainwater 

for users below the threshold of qualifying as a 

waterworks. The regulation also establishes 

administrative processes for permitting, inspecting, and 

issuing construction and operation permits for intended 

potable rainwater harvesting systems, along with 

appropriate exemptions from the regulation (e.g., rain 

barrels are exempt). Rainwater harvesting systems are 

divided into four tiers of end use. The highest tier includes 

potable water and requires the greatest level of treatment 

and oversight. The specified end use determines the 

minimum design, construction, and ongoing operation 

and maintenance standards for each system. The 

regulation requires permits to construct and operate a 

rainwater harvesting system for potable use. Nonpotable 

systems will be documented in a registry but will not be 

subject to permitting. 

The regulation includes the following substantive 

provisions: (i) definitions as necessary for consistency 

with the Code of Virginia and other regulations related to 

rainwater harvesting and water reuse, stormwater, the 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (USBC), and current 

industry standards; (ii) criteria to acknowledge nationally 

recognized standards and certifications for approval of 

rainwater harvesting components and certification of 

persons involved in the design, installation, inspection, 

repair, and maintenance of rainwater harvesting systems; 

(iii) standards for rainwater harvesting performance 

objectives; (iv) a requirement that rainwater system 

components meet national lead-free standards; (v) 

standards for rainwater harvesting collection parameters, 

drought response, rainwater harvesting conveyance 

systems, rainwater prefiltration, harvested rainwater 

storage, and cross-connection and backflow prevention; 

(vi) pump and filtration and disinfection and other 

treatment parameters; (vii) water quality parameters for 

systems used for human consumption; (vii) inspection, 

operation, and maintenance requirements for rainwater 

harvesting systems; (ix) system permit requirements; and 

(x) alternate compliance pathways for rainwater to be 

used both for human consumption and not for human 

consumption applications. 

Changes to the proposed regulation (i) reduce testing 

requirements to inorganic primary Environmental Protection 

Agency drinking water standards for antimony, arsenic, 

asbestos, barium, beryllium, cadmium, chromium, copper, 

cyanide, fluoride, lead, mercury, nitrate, nitrite, selenium, 

and thallium; (ii) remove the testing requirement for 

protozoan cysts and cryptosporidium; (iii) provide for the 

sizing of rainwater harvesting systems consistent with current 

knowledge of residential water use rates while maintaining 

continuity of water supply; and (iv) eliminate the requirement 

for owners to notify the Virginia Department of Health of a 

change of ownership for a Tier 1, 2, or 3 end use rainwater 

harvesting system. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Chapter 635 

Rainwater Harvesting System Regulations 

Part I 

General Framework 

12VAC5-635-10. Definitions.  

The following words, terms, and abbreviations, when used in 

this chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Agent" means a legally authorized representative of the 

owner. 

"ANSI" means the American National Standards Institute. 

"ASSE" means the American Society of Sanitary 

Engineering. 

[ "Board" means the State Board of Health. 

"Backflow" means (i) the flow of water, other liquids, 

mixtures, or substances into the distribution system of a pure 

water system from one or more sources other than its intended 

source or (ii) the reversal of the normal direction of flow. ]  

mailto:julie.henderson@vdh.virginia.gov
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"Cistern" means a water storage tank connected to a plumbing 

system or irrigation system. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner or the 

commissioner's designee. 

"Contaminant" means an objectionable or hazardous 

physical, chemical, biological, or radiological substance or 

matter in water. 

"Conveyance system" or "roof drainage system" means the 

portion of a rainwater harvesting system that directs collected 

rainwater to the point of untreated rainwater storage, including 

gutters, downspouts, roof drains, and connectors. 

[ "Cross-connection" means any physical connection or 

arrangement between two otherwise separate piping systems 

whereby there exists the possibility for flow from one system 

to the other, with the direction of flow depending on the 

pressure differential between the two systems. ]  

"Debris excluder" means a screen or other device installed in 

the gutter or downspout system to prevent the accumulation of 

leaves, needles, or other debris in the rainwater harvesting 

system. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"Designer" means a person who is employed or contracted by 

an owner to design a rainwater harvesting system and holds 

certification as a designer pursuant to 12VAC5-635-270 C. 

Owners may be certified to become designers. 

"Disinfection" means a process that inactivates or destroys 

pathogenic organisms in water by use of a disinfectant. A 

disinfectant is any chemical and physical agent, including 

chlorine, chlorine dioxide, chloramines, ozone, and ultraviolet 

light, added to water in any part of the treatment or distribution 

process for the purpose of killing or inactivating pathogenic 

organisms. 

"Distribution system" means piping and other components 

carrying water from a rainwater harvesting system to the point 

of use. 

"End use" means the use of water from a rainwater harvesting 

system. 

"End use tier" means a categorization applied to a rainwater 

harvesting system based on potable or nonpotable water 

quality; end use; and potential for human contact, including 

ingestion, inhalation, and skin contact. 

"Filtration" means a process for removing particulate matter 

from water by passage through porous media. 

"First flush" means a method for the removal of sediment and 

debris from the collection surface by diverting initial rainfall 

from entry into the storage unit. 

"Harvested rainwater" means water from precipitation, 

including snowmelt, that falls on an elevated roof not subject 

to pedestrian access and is directed through gutters and 

downspouts to a storage tank prior to contact with the ground. 

"Human consumption" means drinking, food preparation, 

dishwashing, bathing, showering, hand washing, teeth 

brushing, and maintaining oral hygiene. 

"Installer" means the service provider responsible for 

installation of a rainwater harvesting system in accordance 

with the construction permit. 

"Local health department" means the department established 

in each city and county in accordance with § 32.1-30 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Log reduction" means the removal of organisms expressed 

on a logarithmic scale. For example, a 99.9% is a 3-log 

removal; whereas a 99.99% is a 4-log removal. 

"Log reduction target" means a level of log removal assigned 

to an end use tier. 

"Maintenance" means performing adjustments to equipment 

and controls and in-kind replacement of normal wear and tear 

parts such as light bulbs, fuses, filters, pumps, motors, 

conveyance subsystem components, or other like components. 

Maintenance includes pumping the tanks or cleaning the 

system components, including tanks, on a periodic basis. 

Maintenance shall not include replacement of water storage 

units or work requiring a construction permit and an installer. 

"Nonpotable water" means water not classified as pure water. 

"NSF" means NSF International, formerly known as the 

National Sanitation Foundation. NSF collaborates with ANSI 

and Canadian authorities on drinking water standards 

development. "NSF/ANSI/CAN" is the abbreviation for that 

collaboration. 

"Operation and maintenance manual" means the set of 

materials and documentation maintained by an owner 

containing the instructions and information required by 

12VAC5-635-350. 

"Operator" means a person employed or contracted by an 

owner to operate and maintain a rainwater harvesting system 

and holding certification as a designer, installer, or inspector as 

described in 12VAC5-635-270 C. Owners may be certified to 

become operators. 

"Owner" means any person, individual, corporation, 

partnership, association, cooperative, limited liability 

company, trust, joint venture, government, political 

subdivision, or any other legal or commercial entity and any 

successor, representative, agent, or instrumentality thereof, 

who owns, leases, or proposes to own or lease a rainwater 

harvesting system. 

"Point of use" means a point in a domestic water system 

nearest to a water-consuming plumbing fixture where water is 

used. 
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"Potable water" or "pure water" means water fit for human 

consumption that (i) is sanitary and normally free of minerals, 

organic substances, and toxic agents in excess of reasonable 

amounts; (ii) is adequate in quantity and quality for the 

minimum health requirements of the persons served; and (iii) 

conforms to potable water standards defined in the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

"Precipitation" means water that has precipitated from the 

atmosphere, including rain, snow, sleet, hail, mist, fog, and 

dew. 

"Rainwater harvesting system" means a water system for 

collecting, storing, potentially treating, and distributing 

rainwater for an end use. 

"Screen" means a filtration device constructed of corrosion-

resistant wire or other approved mesh, having openings in 

determined sizes. 

"Secondary water supply" means an alternate source of water 

that serves a rainwater harvesting system for the purpose of 

continuity of water supply. 

"Service connection" means the point of delivery of water 

from a rainwater harvesting system to the distribution system 

of a user. In the case of a building having multiple independent 

tenants, each independent tenant is considered a service 

connection for the purpose of this chapter, regardless of 

distribution system configuration. In general, a service 

connection is a single residential unit or commercial space. 

"Stormwater" means precipitation that is discharged across 

the land surface or through conveyances to one or more 

waterways and that may include stormwater runoff, snow melt 

runoff, and surface runoff and drainage. 

"Treatment" means the use of physical, biological, or 

chemical means to make water suitable for the intended use. 

"Treatment system" or "water treatment system" means the 

equipment and components used to achieve treatment of 

rainwater, most commonly filtration and disinfection. 

"USBC" means the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (§ 36-97 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

[ "Variance" means a conditional waiver of a specific 

regulation that is granted to a specific owner relating to a 

specific situation or facility and may be for a specified time 

period. ]  

"Water storage unit" means a cistern or tank used as the 

central storage component of the rainwater harvesting system 

prior to treatment. 

"Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 

human consumption to at least 15 service connections or 25 or 

more individuals for at least 60 days out of the year. 

"Written operational record" means the official record of the 

maintenance and operations of a rainwater harvesting system 

that contains the items required [ pursuant to in ] 12VAC5-635-

330 C. 

12VAC5-635-20. Applicability of regulation.  

A. This chapter does not apply to rainwater harvesting 

systems installed, altered, or rehabilitated prior to [ (insert the 

effective date of this chapter) November 20, 2024, ] unless the 

rainwater harvesting system is altered or rehabilitated after 

[ (insert the effective date of this chapter) November 20, 

2024 ]. 

B. The following are excluded from the requirements of this 

chapter. 

1. Rain barrels (individual containers of up to 100 gallon 

capacity used to collect and temporarily store rainwater 

solely for Tier 1 end use); 

2. Rainwater harvesting systems that serve as a source for a 

waterworks as regulated by [ 12VAC5-590 the Waterworks 

Regulations (12VAC5-590) ]; 

3. Rainwater harvesting systems for Tier 1, 2, or 3 end use 

conducted for an agricultural operation as defined by § 3.2-

300 of the Code of Virginia; and 

4. Stormwater reclamation and reuse systems authorized by 

the Department of Environmental Quality in accordance 

with regulations adopted pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:28 of the 

Code of Virginia, including stormwater reclamation and 

reuse systems that may reclaim combined stormwater and 

harvested rainwater. 

12VAC5-635-30. Relationship to Virginia Sewage 

Handling and Disposal Regulations.  

This chapter supersedes 12VAC5-610-1170 of the Virginia 

Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations, which addresses 

cisterns, in cases where a cistern is used solely as a component 

of a rainwater harvesting system subject to the requirements of 

this chapter. 

12VAC5-635-40. Relationship to the State Water Control 

Board.  

This chapter addresses the standards for the collection and use 

of that portion of stormwater not regulated in accordance with 

9VAC25-31, 9VAC25-32, 9VAC25-151, 9VAC25-840, 

9VAC25-870, 9VAC25-880, and 9VAC25-890. 

12VAC5-635-50. Relationship to the Uniform Statewide 

Building Code.  

A. This chapter is independent of and in addition to the 

requirements of the USBC in accordance with § 36-98 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

B. All persons required to obtain a rainwater harvesting 

system installation permit for a system for Tier 4 end use shall 

furnish a copy of the installation permit to the local building 

official when making application for a building permit.  
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C. The applicant for a rainwater harvesting system for Tier 4 

end use shall furnish the local building official with a copy of 

the operating permit demonstrating the potable water supply 

has been inspected, sampled, and approved by the local health 

department.  

12VAC5-635-60. Right of entry and inspections.  

In accordance with § 32.1-25 of the Code of Virginia, the 

commissioner or a designee shall have the right to enter any 

property to ensure compliance with this chapter. 

Part II 

Procedural Requirements 

12VAC5-635-70. End use tiers for rainwater harvesting 

systems.  

The end use tier categorization of harvested rainwater is based 

on water quality, intended end uses, and associated potential 

for human contact through ingestion, inhalation, and skin 

contact. The examples of common-use applications are not 

intended to represent all possible applications. Where end use 

applications are not listed, or are subject to interpretation, the 

application shall be categorized based on the highest numbered 

applicable end use tier description. The end use tiers are as 

follows: 

1. Tier 1. Low exposure end use: Nonpotable water use 

where humans will rarely come into contact with the treated 

rainwater due to the nature of the installation that limits 

direct or indirect contact under normal operation. Examples 

include trap primers, restricted access spray irrigation, 

surface and subsurface irrigation, and ice rinks. In this 

context, restricted access spray irrigation means spray 

irrigation in fenced or remote locations where human 

visitation is controlled or prevented. 

2. Tier 2. Medium exposure end use: Nonpotable water use 

where human contact with treated rainwater is indirect or 

limited. Examples include toilet and urinal flushing, clothes 

washing, [ HVAC heating, ventilation, and air conditioning 

systems, ] evaporative cooling, and rooftop thermal cooling. 

3. Tier 3. High exposure end use: Nonpotable water use 

where human contact with treated rainwater is direct. 

Examples include hose bibs, pressure washing, firefighting 

or protection and fire suppression, decorative fountains, 

vehicle washing, and nonrestricted spray irrigation. 

4. Tier 4. Potable water end use: Intended for human 

consumption. 

12VAC5-635-80. Reserved.  

12VAC5-635-90. Permits for rainwater harvesting 

systems; general.  

A. No person may install, alter, or rehabilitate or allow the 

installation, alteration, or rehabilitation of a rainwater 

harvesting system intended for Tier 4 end use without a written 

construction permit from the commissioner.  

B. [ The commissioner may impose conditions on the 

issuance of a permit and no rainwater harvesting system 

intended for Tier 4 end use may be installed or modified in 

violation of those conditions. 

C. ] Unless suspended or revoked pursuant to 12VAC5-635-

190, [ permits a construction permit ] for a [ Tier 4 ] rainwater 

harvesting system [ intended for Tier 4 end use ] shall be valid 

for a period of 36 months from the date of issuance. 

[ D. C. ] An owner may install and operate a rainwater 

harvesting [ systems system ] intended for Tier 1, 2, or 3 end 

use without a permit. The owner of a Tier 1, 2, or 3 end use 

rainwater harvesting system shall file a registration form with 

the department within 30 [ calendar ] days of the following: 

1. Installing a rainwater harvesting system; [ or ]  

2. [ Change The permanent discontinuation ] of [ ownership 

use ] of a rainwater harvesting system [ ; or such that 

harvested rainwater is not used for any purpose. ]  

[ 3. Permanently closing a rainwater harvesting system. ] 

12VAC5-635-100. Application procedures for a 

construction permit for a rainwater harvesting system for 

Tier 4 end use.  

A. The owner of a proposed rainwater harvesting system shall 

sign and submit a written permit application to the local health 

department for the locality where the proposed rainwater 

harvesting system would be located [ on an application form 

provided by the local health department, ] that contains the 

following information: 

1. The [ property ] owner's name, address, and telephone 

number; 

2. The applicant's name, address, and telephone number (if 

different from the [ property ] owner's); 

3. A statement signed by the [ property ] owner or agent 

granting the department access to the site to conduct a 

sanitary survey if underground water storage is proposed and 

to inspect the rainwater harvesting system after it is installed; 

and 

4. Plans for the proposed rainwater harvesting system, 

including specifications, design criteria, manufacturer's 

literature, a proposed schematic, a general layout of any 

underground water storage, [ formal additional written ] 

plans for multiple service connection systems, the operation 

and maintenance manual required pursuant to 12VAC5-635-

350, and other supporting information or data the [ local 

health ] department [ or commissioner ] may request. 

C. If underground storage of harvested rainwater is proposed, 

a general layout shall be provided [ and shall include that 

includes ] topography, elevations, contour lines, [ and ] 
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existing or proposed streets [ and all and identifies the 

following conditions located within 100 feet horizontally of the 

proposed water storage units: ] potential sources of 

contamination, bodies of water, ditches, buildings, springs, 

[ above ground aboveground ] cisterns, and wells. 

D. If the proposed rainwater harvesting system will provide 

Tier-4 end use water to multiple service connections, the 

applicant shall include a [ formal ] plan as follows: 

1. The plan shall have a cover sheet with suitable title 

showing the name of the owner, date the plan was prepared, 

and the name of the licensed individual by or under whom 

the plans were prepared. The cover sheet and each 

subsequent page shall bear the same general title and each 

shall be numbered. Appropriate subtitles shall be included 

on individual sheets. 

2. The plan shall be [ clear and legible and ] prepared to a 

scale that will permit necessary information to be [ plainly ] 

shown [ clearly and legibly ]. 

3. The plan shall consist of plan views, elevations, sections, 

and supplementary views that together with the 

specifications and general layouts provide the working 

information for the contract and construction of the proposed 

rainwater harvesting system, including dimensions and 

relative elevations of structures, the location and outline 

form of equipment, the location and size of piping, water 

levels, ground elevations, and erosion control abatement 

facilities. 

4. The plan shall include the technical specifications for the 

construction of the rainwater harvesting system and all 

appurtenances. The specifications shall include all 

construction information not shown on the drawings, which 

is necessary to inform the [ builder installer ] in detail of the 

design requirements as to the quality of material 

workmanship and fabrication of the project; the type, size, 

strength, operating characteristics, and rating of equipment 

and materials used in the construction and operation of the 

rainwater harvesting system; allowable infiltration, 

machinery, valves, piping, and jointing of pipe, electrical 

apparatus, wiring, and meters; operating tools and 

construction materials; miscellaneous appurtenances; 

chemicals when used; and instructions for testing materials 

and equipment as necessary to meet design standards and 

operating test for the complete works and component units. 

E. An application shall be deemed complete upon receipt by 

the local health department of a signed and dated application 

[ on the approved application form ]. 

12VAC5-635-110. Issuance of a construction permit.  

The commissioner shall issue [ a ] construction permit to the 

owner no later than 60 [ calendar ] days after receipt of a 

complete application if: 

1. [ According to the information on the application form, 

the The ] proposed rainwater harvesting system is compliant 

with this chapter and other applicable laws, ordinances, and 

regulations; and 

2. The owner has obtained the easements pursuant to this 

chapter and [ attached provided ] the documentation of the 

easement [ to with ] the application. 

12VAC5-635-120. Denial of a construction permit.  

If the commissioner determines that the proposed rainwater 

harvesting system [ is inadequate, ] does not comply with this 

chapter [ , ] or that the installation and operation of the system 

would create an actual or potential health hazard or nuisance, 

the commissioner shall deny the construction permit 

application and notify the owner in writing no later than 60 

[ calendar ] days after receipt of the complete application with 

the basis for the denial. The notification shall also state that the 

owner has the right to appeal the denial in accordance with 

12VAC5-635-190. 

12VAC5-635-130. Revision of approved plans.  

A. The rainwater harvesting system designer with the consent 

of the owner may make certain design changes to a proposed 

rainwater harvesting system for which a valid construction 

permit has been issued without prior approval from the 

department if: 

1. The design change does not change the design flow, the 

proposed filtration means and standard, the proposed 

disinfection means and standard, or the log reduction targets; 

2. The changed design for the rainwater harvesting system 

complies with applicable statutes, codes, and regulations; 

3. The designer provides the department with complete 

documentation, including a list of changes and revised 

specifications, calculations, and drawings as part of a revised 

design package; and  

4. The designer and owner ensure that design changes are 

communicated to the installer of the rainwater harvesting 

system. 

B. The commissioner may suspend or revoke a construction 

permit if a design change made to the proposed rainwater 

harvesting system does not comply with this chapter. If the 

commissioner revokes the construction permit, the owner must 

submit a new application before continuing with the 

installation of the rainwater harvesting system. 

C. The commissioner shall review changes made to the 

rainwater harvesting system before issuing an operation permit 

pursuant to 12VAC5-635-170.  

12VAC5-635-140. Installation inspection and correction.  

A. Upon completion of the installation, alteration, or 

rehabilitation of a [ Tier 4 ] rainwater harvesting system 

[ intended for Tier 4 end use ]: 
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1. The owner or agent shall submit to the local health 

department a statement signed by the installer certifying that 

the rainwater harvesting system was installed, altered, or 

rehabilitated in accordance with the construction permit and 

that the rainwater harvesting system complies with 

applicable state and local regulations, ordinances, and laws; 

2. The designer shall thoroughly inspect the system 

installation to determine whether the installation was 

completed [ substantially ] in accordance with the approved 

evaluation and design, including any revisions made 

pursuant to 12VAC5-635-130; and 

3. The designer shall submit to the local health department a 

signed inspection report stating that the installation was 

completed [ substantially ] in accordance with the approved 

evaluation and design revised only in accordance with the 

provisions of 12VAC5-635-130. 

B. If the designer observes deficiencies during the inspection, 

the designer shall note the deficiencies in the [ designer's ] 

inspection report and include [ with the report ] a plan of 

correction that includes the specific corrective actions that will 

be taken to bring the rainwater harvesting system into 

compliance with this chapter, the date on which the corrective 

actions [ are to will ] be completed, and the date [ on which ] 

the designer will perform a follow-up inspection of the 

corrected rainwater harvesting system. 

C. After the follow-up inspection, the designer shall submit a 

signed inspection report to the local health department [ stating 

affirming ] whether the corrective actions have been taken and 

whether the rainwater harvesting system is [ at that time ] 

installed in compliance with the approved evaluation and 

design. 

[ D. If the owner does not ensure completion of the corrective 

actions or the rainwater harvesting system is otherwise not able 

to operate in compliance with this chapter, the commissioner 

shall not issue an operation permit and may suspend or revoke 

the construction permit pursuant to 12VAC5-635-190. ] 

12VAC5-635-150. Requirement for an easement.  

A. If a rainwater harvesting system or a portion of the 

rainwater harvesting system is proposed to be installed on 

property other than the owner's, the owner must obtain an 

easement in perpetuity of sufficient area to permit access to 

install, maintain, and operate the rainwater harvesting system 

components from the appropriate property owner and record 

the easement with the clerk of the circuit court before issuance 

of a construction permit. 

B. The owner shall submit legal documentation of recordation 

of the easement or a signed statement that the easement will be 

recorded within 45 [ calendar ] days to the appropriate local 

health department with the application for a construction 

permit. 

C. If the owner does not obtain, properly record, and submit 

documentation of the easement, the owner may not install or 

operate the rainwater harvesting system on the property for 

which the easement was denied. 

12VAC5-635-160. Land records.  

A. Before the commissioner may issue an operation permit 

for a [ Tier 4 ] rainwater harvesting system [ for Tier 4 end 

use ], the owner must: 

1. Record an instrument describing applicable annual water 

quality testing and maintenance requirements for each 

component of the rainwater harvesting system in the land 

records of the circuit court having jurisdiction over the site 

of the rainwater harvesting system; and 

2. Submit to the local health department legal documentation 

indicating that the instrument has been duly recorded in the 

land records. 

B. The instrument recorded pursuant to this section shall be 

transferred with the title to the property upon the sale or other 

transfer of the property in which the rainwater harvesting 

system is located. 

12VAC5-635-170. Issuance of operation permit.  

A. No [ Tier 4 ] rainwater harvesting system [ intended for 

Tier 4 end use ] may be operated, except for the purposes of 

testing the system, until the commissioner has issued an 

operation permit to the owner. 

B. If the owner has complied with the requirements of 

12VAC5-635-140, 12VAC5-635-160, and this section, the 

commissioner shall issue to the owner a [ Tier 4 end use ] 

permit to operate the rainwater harvesting system [ intended 

for Tier 4 end use ]. 

C. The issuance of an operation permit does not denote or 

imply a warranty or guarantee by the department that the 

rainwater harvesting system will function for any specified 

period of time. The owner shall maintain, repair, or replace a 

rainwater harvesting system that ceases to operate as defined 

in the operation permit and operation and maintenance manual. 

12VAC5-635-180. Variances.  

A. In accordance with § 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia and 

this chapter, the commissioner may grant a variance to a 

requirement of this chapter. [ A variance is a conditional 

waiver of a specific requirement that is granted to a specific 

owner relating to a specific situation or facility and may be for 

a specified time period. ]  

B. The commissioner may grant a variance if an investigation 

reveals that, in the opinion of the commissioner, a hardship 

imposed by a requirement within this chapter, including [ an ] 

economic [ hardship ], outweighs the benefits that may be 

received by the public and that granting the [ a ] variance does 
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not subject the public to unreasonable health risks or 

environmental pollution. 

C. The owner shall submit a signed, written application for a 

variance to the appropriate local health department. The 

application shall include: 

1. A citation to the section to which a variance is requested; 

2. The nature and duration of the variance requested; 

3. Any relevant analytical results including results of 

relevant tests conducted pursuant to the requirements of this 

chapter; 

4. The specific hardship created by the requirement to which 

a variance is requested; 

5. Statements or evidence that establishes that the public 

health or welfare and the environment would not be 

adversely affected if the variance were granted; 

6. Suggested conditions that might be imposed on the 

granting of a variance that would limit the detrimental 

impact on the public health and welfare; 

7. Other information believed pertinent by the applicant; and 

8. Other information the local health department or 

commissioner may require. 

D. In the evaluation of a variance application, the 

commissioner shall consider:  

1. The effect that the variance would have on the 

construction, location, or operation of the rainwater 

harvesting system; 

2. The cost and other economic considerations imposed by 

the requirement to which the variance is sought; 

3. The effect that such a variance would have on protection 

of the public health or welfare and the environment; 

4. Relevant analytical results including results of relevant 

tests conducted pursuant to the requirements of this chapter; 

and 

5. Information or materials on the application for a variance 

submitted per this section. 

E. The commissioner shall not recognize as a hardship the 

cost to correct an error created by a design change initiated by 

the owner or designer for which approval by the department 

was required pursuant to 12VAC5-635-130 but was not 

obtained. 

F. [ The commissioner may deny any applicant for a variance 

by sending a written denial notice to the applicant that states 

the reasons for the rejection. ] If the commissioner [ proposes 

to deny a variance request submitted pursuant to this section, 

the commissioner shall notify the owner of the proposed denial 

within 60 calendar days of receipt of the variance request and 

provide denies the variance, the owner shall be provided with ] 

an opportunity for an informal fact-finding [ conference 

proceeding ] as provided in § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. 

[ Following this opportunity for an informal fact-finding 

conference the commissioner may deny an application for a 

variance by sending a written denial notice to the owner that 

states the reasons for the denial. ]  

G. If the commissioner proposes to grant a variance request 

submitted pursuant to this section, the commissioner shall 

notify the owner in writing of the decision within 60 calendar 

days of receipt of the variance request. The notice shall identify 

the requirement to which the variance is granted, the rainwater 

harvesting system covered, the period of time for which the 

variance will be effective, and the conditions imposed pursuant 

to issuing the variance. 

H. [ The owner shall attach a physical copy of the variance to 

the permit.  

I. ] Unless otherwise stated in the terms or conditions of the 

variance, the variance shall be transferred with the permit if the 

owner of a rainwater harvesting system sells or otherwise 

transfers ownership of the rainwater harvesting system to a 

new owner. 

[ J. I. ] If a permit is revoked or suspended, variances attached 

to it shall also be revoked or suspended.  

12VAC5-635-190. Enforcements, notices, informal 

conferences, appeals.  

A. Rainwater harvesting systems shall be installed, operated, 

and maintained in compliance with the requirements as set 

forth in this chapter. The commissioner may enforce this 

chapter through the means lawfully available pursuant to Title 

32.1 of the Code of Virginia, and nothing in this chapter shall 

be construed as preventing the commissioner from making 

efforts to obtain compliance through warning, conference, or 

other appropriate enforcement means. 

B. The commissioner may deny a permit application or 

suspend or revoke a permit issued pursuant to this chapter if: 

1. The permit holder fails to comply with this chapter, 

applicable law, or a condition imposed on the permit; or 

2. The commissioner is made aware that: 

a. The facts upon which the approval of a construction 

permit was based were knowingly and willfully 

misrepresented; or 

b. The installation or operation of the proposed rainwater 

harvesting system could create a substantial or imminent 

public health or environmental hazard. 

C. The commissioner shall notify the owner of a notice of 

suspension in writing via certified mail or via hand delivery. 

Immediately upon receipt of a notice of suspension, the owner 

shall cease operation of the rainwater harvesting system. 
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D. The owner of a permitted rainwater harvesting system 

shall ensure the continuity of water supply to persons who use 

the rainwater harvesting system's treated water for human 

consumption. If the owner demonstrates to the satisfaction of 

the commissioner that ceasing the operation of a permitted 

rainwater harvesting system would endanger the health of the 

persons who use the rainwater harvesting system's finished 

water, the commissioner may issue a variance to the 

requirement to cease operation pursuant to 12VAC5-635-180. 

E. Within 10 [ working ] days of receipt of a notice of denial 

of an application or suspension of a permit, the owner may 

request an informal conference in accordance with § 2.2-4019 

of the Code of Virginia. The owner must file the request for an 

informal conference in writing with the local health department 

within the locality that the rainwater harvesting system is 

located. If a request for an informal conference is not filed 

within 10 working days, the denial or suspension is sustained. 

F. Within 10 [ working ] days of receipt of a notice of denial, 

suspension, or intent to revoke, the owner shall submit to the 

appropriate local health department a plan of correction that 

includes: 

1. The specific corrective actions that will be taken to 

address the reasons for denial, suspension, or revocation and 

bring the rainwater harvesting system into compliance with 

this chapter and other applicable requirements; 

2. The date on which the corrective actions are expected to 

be completed; and 

3. If the rainwater harvesting system is in operation, an 

application for a construction permit for alteration, repair, or 

rehabilitation of the rainwater harvesting system pursuant to 

12VAC5-635-100. 

G. Within 10 [ working ] days of the receipt of the plan of 

correction, the department shall: 

1. Notify the owner in writing if any item is determined to 

be unacceptable; and 

2. Act on an application for a construction permit to perform 

repairs pursuant to this section. 

H. If the owner does not submit a plan of correction or request 

an informal conference within 10 working days, the 

department shall notify the owner in writing that the 

application for a permit is denied or that the permit is deemed 

suspended or revoked. 

I. The department shall arrange for an informal conference to 

be held within seven working days of receipt of a request for 

an informal conference pursuant to this section. 

J. The commissioner may end a suspension and reinstate a 

permit at any time if the conditions under which the permit was 

suspended have changed or no longer exist. 

K. The owner must reapply for a permit in order to continue 

installing or operating a rainwater harvesting system for which 

the permit has been revoked. 

[ L. A plan of correction implemented pursuant to this section 

shall be attached to the operation permit for the rainwater 

harvesting system. ]  

Part III 

Design and Installation 

12VAC5-635-200. [ Cross connection Cross-connection ] 

abatement.  

[ A. "Cross connection" means a physical connection or 

arrangement between two otherwise separate piping systems 

whereby there exists the possibility for flow from one system 

to the other, with the direction of flow depending on the 

pressure differential between the two systems. 

B. ] No rainwater harvesting system may be installed, 

operated, or allowed on any premises where [ cross connection 

cross-connection ] to a waterworks or a private well exists, 

unless the [ cross connections cross-connections ] are abated or 

controlled by means including [ cross connection cross-

connection ] control and backflow prevention in accordance 

with the USBC. Where [ cross connection cross-connection ] 

to a waterworks exists, the [ cross connection cross-

connection ] shall be abated or controlled to the satisfaction of 

the waterworks. 

12VAC5-635-210. Backflow prevention.  

A. [ "Backflow" means (i) the flow of water, other liquids, 

mixtures, or substances into the distribution system of a pure 

water system from one or more sources other than its intended 

source; or (ii) the reversal of the normal direction of flow. 

B. ] A rainwater harvesting system shall be designed, 

installed, and maintained to prevent contamination of 

secondary water supplies by backflow. Backflow prevention 

shall be achieved by one or more of the following: 

1. Backflow elimination methods, including air gap 

separation or physical disconnection; 

2. Backflow prevention assemblies, including the reduced 

pressure principle, double check valve, and pressure vacuum 

breaker assemblies; or 

3. If backflow prevention is not generally required to 

withstand continuous pressure over 12 hours or to control 

high hazards, a backflow prevention device, including 

atmospheric type vacuum breakers and dual check valve 

devices. 

[ C. B. ] Backflow prevention assemblies and backflow 

prevention devices shall be suitable to the application and shall 

conform to the USBC. 
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12VAC5-635-220. Water storage unit location.  

A. An underground water storage unit for a rainwater 

harvesting system shall be sited with appropriate consideration 

given to distance from potential contamination sources, 

vulnerability to known or suspected natural risks (e.g., 

flooding and sink holes), potential for interference with 

utilities, and safety. 

B. If the rainwater harvesting system will include an 

underground installation of a water storage unit, the designer 

shall conduct a sanitary survey, including investigation of 

obvious sources of toxic or dangerous substances within 200 

feet of the water storage unit. Sources of contamination may 

include items listed in Table 1. The minimum separation 

distance between an underground water storage unit and 

sources of contamination shall comply with the minimum 

distances shown in Table 1. 

TABLE 1 

Separation distance between underground water storage 

unit and potential source of contamination 

Potential Source of Contamination 

Separation 

Distance 

(feet) 

Active or permitted septic tank, holding 

tank, pump tank, aerobic unit, house 

sewer line, sewer line, sewer main, 

sewerage system 

50 

Active or permitted drainfield, including 

reserve drainfield 
50 

Permanently abandoned onsite sewage 

disposal system 
35 

Petroleum storage tank, drum, tote, or 

other container (underground) 
100 

Petroleum storage tank, drum, tote, or 

other container (aboveground) 
50 

C. An aboveground water storage unit shall be installed on a 

sturdy and level foundation or platform with adequate drainage 

capable of bearing the weight of the unit at capacity. If multiple 

storage units are connected, compliant fittings must be used 

and installed in a manner that provides adequate flexibility to 

allow for unit settlement or movement. 

D. A water storage unit and associated pipes and pipe fittings 

and appurtenances to be installed in locations subject to direct 

sunlight shall be constructed of materials stable under 

ultraviolet light exposure anticipated over the life of the 

system. 

E. A water storage unit shall be supported and restrained to 

prevent lateral movement. Support and restraint devices may 

not be placed in a manner that will obstruct access for cleaning 

and maintenance. 

F. A water storage unit subject to a shallow water table shall 

be ballasted or otherwise secured to prevent floatation or lateral 

movement. The unit shall be designed to withstand structural 

stresses of hydrostatic pressure and buoyancy. If partially 

buried, design shall include provision to withstand the weight 

of backfill. 

G. A water storage unit subject to vehicular traffic shall be 

installed in accordance with manufacturer's installation 

instructions and the USBC. 

H. A water storage unit shall have at least one access opening 

to allow inspection and cleaning of the unit interior. The access 

opening shall be located to facilitate pumping and servicing of 

inlets and outlets. The access opening shall be locked or 

otherwise secured to prevent unauthorized access and shall be 

located at a finished grade such that surface water ponding 

does not occur under annual precipitation extreme conditions. 

I. A water storage unit shall be fitted with an overflow 

discharge system with the following requirements: 

1. Overflow is not less than the capacity of the inlets; 

2. Unit overflow pipes are protected from insects and 

vermin; 

3. Piping associated with unit overflow discharge water 

away from the unit and in accordance with the USBC; 

4. Discharge of unit overflow is directed to prevent 

hazardous conditions; 

5. No shutoff valves are incorporated into discharge piping; 

6. Cleanouts are provided on overflow piping in accordance 

with the USBC; 

7. If connected to storm drainage systems, the storm 

drainage systems have a means to prevent backflow; and 

8. Overflows are not directed to onsite sewage systems or 

sanitary sewers. 

J. A water storage unit shall be fitted with a vent pipe having 

a minimum 38.1 mm diameter protected with 1.5 mm mesh to 

prevent the entry of vermin and particulates. 

12VAC5-635-230. Materials and equipment.  

A. Materials and equipment used in rainwater harvesting 

systems shall be labeled to demonstrate compliance with 

applicable NSF 61 and NSF P151 standards, as appropriate. 

B. Collection surfaces shall comply with the following 

requirements: 

1. Collection roofing are composed of non-toxic materials; 

2. Paint used on surfaces used for collection of rainwater for 

potable purposes is labeled to be certified to 
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NSF/ANSI/CAN Standard 61-2020 or P151 and applied per 

the manufacturer's installation instructions; 

3. Lead-based, chromium-based, or zinc-based paints are not 

used; 

4. Galvanized metal is not used; 

5. Flat roof products are labeled as meeting NSF Protocol 

P151; 

6. Equipment and appliances mounted on collection surfaces 

have a means of preventing the introduction of contaminants 

into the rainwater harvesting system; 

7. Equipment and appliances containing toxic fluids or other 

potentially harmful substances are not installed on collection 

surfaces or in locations where a release of contained 

substances will flow by gravity to collection surfaces; and 

8. Materials used for collection surfaces conform to end use 

tier criteria pursuant to Table 2. 

TABLE 2. 

Collection Surface Materials 

Roofing Material (including 

flashing) 

Acceptable for End 

Use Tier 

Asbestos cement Not acceptable for 

any end use 

Asphalt 1, 2, 3, 4 

Asphalt felt and bituminous and tar 

membranes 

1, 2, 3 

Ceramic 1, 2, 3, 4 

Clay 1, 2, 3, 4 

Concrete 1, 2, 3, 4 

Copper 1, 2, 3 

Fiberglass 1, 2, 3, 4 

Glass 1, 2, 3, 4 

Polyethylene membrane 1, 2, 3, 4 

Polymer and acrylic 1, 2, 3 

Rubber/Butyl/EPDM membrane 1, 2, 3 

Steel, coated 1, 2, 3, 4 

Steel, stainless 1, 2, 3, 4 

Tin 1, 2, 3, 4 

Wood, untreated 1, 2, 3 

Wood, treated 1, 2, 3 

PVC 1, 2, 3, 4 

TPO 1, 2, 3 

Public pedestrian accessible roofs 1, 2, 3 

Vegetated roofs 1, 2, 3 

Pedestrian and parking surfaces 

(rooftop) 

1, 2, 3 

C. The conveyance system shall be protected to prevent the 

entrance of vermin. Inlets, debris excluders, filters, first-flush 

diverters, cleanouts, and conveyance system components 

requiring service shall be accessible. To convey captured 

rainwater, rainwater harvesting systems shall use drainage 

piping suitable for use with plumbing drainage or pressure 

systems. Conveyance system materials shall be labeled to 

demonstrate compliance with NSF/ANSI/CAN Standard 61-

2020. 

D. A cistern or water storage unit, liners, coatings, pipes, pipe 

fittings, and appurtenances shall be labeled to demonstrate 

compliance with the applicable requirements of NSF 61/ 

ANSI/CAN Standard 61-2020 and NSF 372. The water storage 

unit shall be manufactured from previously unused materials, 

and no cistern or storage unit previously used to store anything 

other than water may be incorporated into a rainwater 

harvesting system. The water storage unit may be installed 

either above or below grade and provided a means for 

emptying and cleaning. If gravity drainage is not possible, a 

provision for pumping water from the unit shall be provided. 

E. Water contained in an aboveground water storage unit shall 

be protected from direct sunlight through the use of opaque, 

ultraviolet-resistant materials or a sun barrier. 

F. An underground water storage unit shall be installed in 

compliance with U.S. Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration Standard 1926 Subpart P and shall be provided 

with manhole risers a minimum of six inches above 

surrounding grade. 

G. Pump and pump components shall be capable of delivering 

a minimum of 15 pounds per square inch in gauge residual 

pressure at the highest and most remote outlet served. 

Maximum pressure should not exceed 80 pounds per square 

inch in gauge. 

H. Water piping, fittings, and related system components 

shall be appropriate for use in accordance with the USBC. 

Where plastic piping is exposed to sunlight, it shall be 
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protected by a factory applied protective coating or painted 

with compatible latex paint. 

12VAC5-635-240. Design and installation.  

A. The rainwater harvesting system shall be designed, 

installed, operated, and maintained to prevent contamination of 

water supplies and distribution piping. 

B. Rainwater harvesting system components shall be 

protected from external contamination and entry by insects and 

vermin. 

C. The rainwater harvesting system shall be sited and 

designed to produce and store water under local site conditions 

that include: 

1. Excessive heat; 

2. Freezing; 

3. Flooding; and 

4. Sunlight exposure. 

D. The owner shall control access to rainwater harvesting 

system components to minimize unauthorized access. 

E. Gutters, downspouts, and conveyance systems leading to 

the water storage unit shall be fitted with a screen or debris 

excluder to prevent the accumulation of leaves, needles, or 

other debris into the water storage tank or cistern. 

F. Vegetation above roofs and gutters shall be removed to 

reduce organic matter falling on and decomposing in rainwater 

collection surfaces and conveyances, and to reduce or remove 

locations for animals to introduce contaminants. 

G. Rainwater shall pass through a prefiltration system prior to 

entering the water storage unit or cistern. Appropriate 

prefiltration devices include a gutter screen, inline filters, and 

vortex filters to reduce organic matter, debris, and particulates 

from entering and accumulating in the bottom of the unit or 

cistern. Prefiltration devices without a self-cleaning design 

shall incorporate a corrosion resistant debris screen having 

openings no larger than 0.15 cm. 

H. A first flush device shall be used to remove accumulated 

debris from the collection surface before rainwater is 

introduced to the water storage unit. First flush diverters shall: 

1. Be placed after prefiltration; 

2. Operate automatically and not rely on mechanically 

operated valves or devices; 

3. Discharge diverted rainwater in a manner consistent with 

local stormwater runoff requirements so as not to cause 

damage to a property or erosion; and 

4. Be readily accessible for maintenance. 

I. Inlets and outlets on the water storage unit shall be installed 

and supported in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions. Water storage units, including units used in series, 

shall each be fitted as follows: 

1. Rainwater inlets to a water storage unit shall be arranged 

to minimize turbulent flow by means of a calming device 

such as a return bend elbow pointed upward at least 10 cm 

above the bottom of the tank. 

2. Outlets shall be positioned, and floating collared offtakes 

shall be used below the top water level in the unit to draw 

water from the cleanest strata of the unit. 

3. Overflow outlets or flap valves shall be protected with a 

screen having openings no greater than 1.5 mm to prevent 

entrance of insects or vermin into the unit. 

4. The vent shall be minimum 38.1 mm diameter and be 

protected with mesh having openings no greater than 1.5 mm 

to prevent entrance of vermin and particulates. 

5. Rainwater outlets and pump suction shall be located at 

least 100 mm above the bottom of the unit. If a floating pump 

is used, it shall draw water from below the water surface. 

6. Pipe penetrations through unit walls shall be watertight 

and shall comply with the USBC. Pipe penetrations shall not 

prevent access to the unit for inspection or cleaning. 

J. A rainwater harvesting system shall be equipped with 

filtration systems conforming to the standards specified in 

12VAC5-635-250 and 12VAC5-635-340 and shall: 

1. Be installed in accordance with the USBC; 

2. Be accessible for inspection and maintenance; 

3. Provide indication when servicing or replacement is due; 

and 

4. Incorporate shutoff valves immediately upstream and 

downstream to allow for isolation during maintenance. 

K. A rainwater harvesting system shall be equipped with 

disinfection systems that: 

1. Conform with the standards specified in 12VAC5-635-

260 and 12VAC5-635-340; and 

2. Are designed and installed in accordance with the 

manufacturer's instructions and the USBC. 

L. A rainwater harvesting system for Tier 3 and Tier 4 end 

use shall be equipped with a fail-safe system for disinfection 

systems, with alerts and alarms as follows: 

1. Alerts shall be provided for critical control points 

identified in the operation and maintenance manual to 

indicate when the rainwater harvesting system is operating 

outside design parameters but not causing a hazard to health 

or safety or damage to system components.  

2. Alerts shall have a visible output and may have an audible 

output. 
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3. Alarms shall be provided for critical control points 

identified in the operation and maintenance manual to 

indicate when the rainwater harvesting system is operating 

outside the design parameters and potentially causing a 

hazard to health or safety or damage to system components.  

4. Alarms shall have visible and audible outputs. 

5. A remote alarm of an alert system using electronic 

communication shall be used to notify the operator that the 

system has failed or that failure is imminent. 

M. Separation shall be maintained between potable and 

nonpotable distribution systems by means of color coded and 

labeled piping and [ cross connection cross-connection ] 

control in accordance with the USBC. 

N. Controls for rainwater harvesting systems supplying water 

for fire sprinkler systems or standpipes shall comply with the 

Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code Act (§ 27-94 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia). 

O. If a rainwater harvesting system is [ applied to installed 

in ] any building, facility, or residence, it shall be so indicated 

as follows: 

1. Fixtures not specifically treated for potable water use shall 

be labeled for nonpotable use in accordance with the USBC. 

2. Fixtures not subject to the USBC and not specifically 

treated for potable water use shall be prominently labeled 

"CAUTION: NONPOTABLE WATER – DO NOT 

DRINK" and "ATTENCIÓN: AGUA NO-POTABLE – NO 

BEBER." Labels shall be indelibly printed on a tag or sign 

constructed of a corrosion resistant, waterproof material 

permanently mounted in a visible location. The letters of the 

labels and markings shall be at least 0.5 inches in height and 

shall be of a color that contrasts with the background on 

which they are printed. In addition to the required words, a 

pictograph consistent with the following shall appear in the 

tag or sign: 

 

12VAC5-635-250. Filtration.  

A. The owner shall ensure that harvested rainwater for Tier 2, 

Tier 3, and Tier 4 end uses is filtered. 

B. Filtration is not required for Tier 2 end use water used 

outdoors. 

C. If ultraviolet disinfection is used, particulate filtration 

systems shall be located downstream of the water storage tank 

and upstream of the ultraviolet system. 

D. If ozone or chemical based disinfection is used, particulate 

filtration systems shall be installed downstream of the 

disinfection equipment. Filtration shall be installed as required 

for the disinfection system and in accordance with 

manufacturer's installation requirements. 

E. Filters shall be sized to extend service time and shall be 

labeled to demonstrate compliance with NSF 42 for the 

reduction of taste or odor or shall be labeled to demonstrate 

compliance with NSF 53 for organic and cyst removal based 

on the end use tier. 

12VAC5-635-260. Disinfection.  

A. The owner shall ensure that harvested rainwater intended 

for Tier 2, 3, or 4 end use is disinfected and that water meeting 

the quality standards in 12VAC5-635-310 is delivered to the 

point of use. 

B. The owner shall ensure that disinfection systems are 

designed and installed in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions and the USBC. 

C. If a rainwater harvesting system requires a disinfection 

system pursuant to this section, the owner shall use one of the 

following acceptable methods: 

1. An ultraviolet (UV) disinfection system that (i) treats 

water for distribution downstream of the water storage unit 

and upstream of the point of use; (ii) is sized based on the 

required dose, taking into consideration the design flow and 

minimum UV transmittance required to achieve the end use 

tier standard; and (iii) for Tier 4 end use, is labeled to be 

certified to Class A of NSF 55; 

2. An ozone disinfection system that maintains adequate 

contact time based on end use tier and off-gasses to a safe 

environment; or 

3. A chemical system that: 

a. Has means to measure and control the disinfection and 

oxidation levels to achieve the performance requirements 

in 12VAC5-635-310; 

b. Uses chemical feed pumps that are controlled to prevent 

operation unless there is flow through the system; 

c. Is labeled to be certified to provide the required log 

reductions for protozoa and bacteria pursuant to NSF 53 

or is labeled to be certified to provide the required log 
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reductions for protozoa and bacteria pursuant NSF/ANSI 

419-2018; 

d. Uses chemicals that are labeled to demonstrate 

compliance with NSF/ANSI/CAN Standard 60-2020 if 

water is provided for Tier 4 end use; and 

e. Maintains a chlorine residual of at least 0.5 mg/L and 

control disinfection byproducts if untreated harvested 

rainwater is stored at temperatures higher than 77°F and 

chlorine disinfection is used. 

D. A rainwater harvesting system for end use in a single-

family home shall only use ultraviolet or ozone disinfection 

methods. 

E. The department may approve other disinfection methods 

on a case-by-case basis. 

12VAC5-635-270. General certification.  

A. Premanufactured treatment systems and equipment and 

materials used to assemble treatment systems that are not 

premanufactured shall be labeled to demonstrate that the 

systems, equipment, and materials comply with NSF 

standards, as follows: 

1. NSF/ANSI 53-2020 for point-of-entry or point-of-use 

filtration systems; 

2. NSF/ANSI 55-2020 for ultraviolet disinfection systems; 

3. NSF/ANSI/CAN 60-2020 for water treatment chemicals; 

4. NSF/ANSI/CAN 61-2020 for protective barrier materials, 

joining and sealing materials, mechanical devices, plumbing 

devices, pipes, hoses, pipe fittings, process media, and 

nonmetallic potable water materials; and 

5. NSF/ANSI 350-2020 and NSF/ANSI/CAN 350.1-2017 

for material, design, construction, and performance 

requirements for reuse water. 

B. Harvested rainwater is not reuse water. However, 

NSF/ANSI 350-2020 and NSF/ANSI/CAN 350.1-2017 

establish baseline standards suitable for equipment and 

materials used in the design, installation, and operation of 

rainwater harvesting systems. 

C. A person providing design, installation, or inspection of 

rainwater harvesting systems shall be certified by the 

American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) as follows: 

1. Rainwater Harvesting System Designers shall maintain 

ASSE 21120 Rainwater Catchment Systems Designer 

certification. 

2. Rainwater Harvesting System Installers shall maintain 

ASSE 21110 Rainwater Catchment Systems Installer 

certification. 

3. Rainwater Harvesting System Inspectors shall maintain 

ASSE 21130 Rainwater and Stormwater Catchment Systems 

Inspector certification. 

12VAC5-635-280. Temporary removal from service.  

If a rainwater harvesting system is seasonally or temporarily 

removed from service, the owner or operator shall: 

1. Lock out or disable piping connected to a waterworks; 

2. Secure water storage units from unauthorized access; 

3. Divert inlet piping as necessary; and 

4. Disconnect electrical power. 

Part VI 

Performance Requirements 

12VAC5-635-290. Performance requirements; general.  

A. The owner shall ensure that a rainwater harvesting system 

operates in compliance with the following performance 

requirements: 

1. For a rainwater harvesting system designed to supply 

water for Tier 2, 3, or 4 end use, the owner or operator shall 

conduct treatment using a combination of filtration and 

disinfection technologies to the minimum standards 

described in 12VAC5-635-310. 

2. If a rainwater harvesting system provides water for 

multiple end uses and treatment is not separated by end use, 

the highest treatment standard shall apply for all uses. 

3. If a rainwater harvesting system provides water for 

multiple end uses and treatment is separated by end use, 

connection to distribution for each end use shall comply with 

the USBC. 

[ 4. B. ] The designer of [ water treatment systems a rainwater 

harvesting system ] shall consider the [ following factors:  

1. The ] anticipated harvested rainwater characteristics and 

flow, including consideration of extremes of precipitation 

patterns. Excess precipitation not captured for storage shall 

be discharged as runoff. Insufficient precipitation that does 

not allow a rainwater harvesting system permitted for Tier 2, 

3, or 4 end use to maintain sufficient storage shall be 

managed as described in 12VAC5-635-300. 

[ 5. The designer of a rainwater harvesting system shall 

allow for the 2. The ] prevention of potentially harmful 

precipitation, such as that which could incorporate 

particulates from fires, from being captured and contained in 

the system. 

[ 6. The designer of a rainwater harvesting system shall 

incorporate 3. The selection and sizing of ] components of 

sufficient structural integrity to minimize the potential of 

physical harm to humans and animals. 

[ B. The designer shall size 4. The sizing of ] the system in 

recognition of both the available collection area and number 

of users of the harvested rainwater. [ A The designer of a 

Tier 4 ] rainwater harvesting system [ designed to supply 
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water for Tier 3 end use for a residence ] shall [ be capable 

of providing 150 gallons per bedroom per day. If Tier 4 end 

use will not include residential use, the designer shall 

provide calculations supporting the anticipated demand. size 

the system pursuant to the following criteria: 

a. A demand of 100 gallons per bedroom per day for 

residential systems using either a private well or public 

water for continuity of water supply pursuant to 12VAC5-

635-300 C. 

b. A demand of 150 gallons per bedroom per day for 

residential systems using hauled water for continuity of 

water supply pursuant to 12VAC5-635-300 C. 

c. For nonresidential systems, the designer shall provide 

calculations supporting the anticipated demand. ] 

12VAC5-635-300. Continuity of water supply.  

A. "Continuity of water supply" means that a continuous 

supply of water can be provided to a distribution system 

supplied by a rainwater harvesting system in the event of 

insufficient precipitation or other circumstances affecting the 

supply of harvested rainwater. 

B. If a rainwater harvesting system serves as a secondary 

supply for a distribution system and the primary supply is a 

waterworks, the rainwater harvesting system shall be an 

auxiliary water system pursuant to the requirements of the 

USBC and 12VAC5-590. 

C. If a rainwater harvesting system serves as a primary supply 

for a distribution system for a Tier 2, 3, or 4 end use, the owner 

shall provide a secondary water supply by a waterworks, a 

Class III private well, or commercially hauled water meeting 

pure water standards. 

D. The owner shall supply a secondary water supply from a 

waterworks or private well by a means to refill the water 

storage unit or a bypass that provides water directly to the 

distribution system. 

E. The owner may only use commercially hauled water to 

refill a water storage unit prior to filtration and treatment. 

F. When water from a secondary water supply is added to a 

water storage unit, the owner shall ensure that the water is 

introduced through a reverse pressure principle backflow 

device or an air gap pursuant to the USBC. 

12VAC5-635-310. Water quality standards.  

A. The owner shall perform initial water quality testing before 

the use of water from the rainwater harvesting system and 

subsequent water quality sampling and testing consistent with the 

schedule in 12VAC5-635-320 and in accordance with the 

operation and maintenance manual requirements of this chapter. 

B. The owner shall: 

1. Flush the system at least once with treated harvested 

rainwater before water quality testing and discharge the flush 

water as wastewater; 

2. Collect samples for water quality testing from a point-of-use 

outlet intended for regular use, such as a kitchen sink; 

3. Collect first draw samples of one liter for lead testing; 

4. Ensure that water quality samples are analyzed by a 

laboratory certified by the Division of Consolidated Laboratory 

Services for drinking water samples; and 

5. Ensure that the water is tested in accordance with the 

minimum performance criteria in Tables 3 and 4 and, at 

minimum, for total coliform or E. coli present, total nitrate and 

nitrite content, [ protozoan cysts, cryptosporidium, ] pH, and 

lead content. 

TABLE 3 

Minimum Performance Requirements 

Application Log Reduction Target 

End 

Use 

Tier 

Category 

Potential 

for 

Human 

Contact 

Example Use Viruses Bacteria Protozoa pH 

1 Nonpotable Low  

Trap primers 

Spray irrigation (restricted access) 

Surface and subsurface irrigation 

Ice rinks 

0* 0 0 [ na N/A ] 

2 Nonpotable Medium 

Toilet and urinal flushing 

Clothes washing 

HVAC evaporative cooling 

Rooftop thermal cooling 

0* 2 log 2 log [ na N/A ] 
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3 Nonpotable High  

Hose bibs 

Pressure washing 

Decorative fountains 

Vehicle washing 

Spray irrigation (nonrestricted 

access) 

Firefighting or protection and fire 

suppression 

0* 3 log 3 log [ na N/A ] 

4 Potable  High Human consumption 0* 6 log 6 log 7-10.5 

* It is unlikely that human infectious viruses are present in harvested rainwater. However, if underground water storage tanks are used where 

there is a potential for sewage contamination or surface water infiltration, a 4-log reduction for viruses shall be required. 

TABLE 4 

Requirements for Tier 4 Potable Water 

Design Standards 

Filtration 5 µm 

Disinfection 40 mi/cm2 and labeled certified to Class A of NSF/ANSI 55 

Water Quality Parameters 

Turbidity <0.3 NTU 

Lead <15 µg/L 

Nitrates <10 µg/L 

C. Before the commissioner issues an operation permit for a rainwater harvesting system intended for Tier 4 use, the owner must 

document that the treated harvested rainwater has been tested and meets primary [ and secondary ] U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency drinking water standards [ (inorganic), the tests listed in subdivision B 5 of this section, and the tests listed in Table 4 ]. If a 

primary drinking water standard [ or design standard ] is exceeded, the owner may provide additional treatment to address the exceedance 

and shall resample the treated harvest rainwater to ensure compliance with [ the primary drinking water standard this subsection. Testing 

for inorganic primary drinking water standards shall not be required for subsequent monitoring unless specified in the operation and 

maintenance manual prepared pursuant to 12VAC5-635-350. ] 

D. The owner shall conduct water quality sampling and monitoring in accordance with the procedures approved under 40 CFR Part 

136 or alternative methods approved by the department, unless other procedures have been specified in this chapter. 

E. The designer shall identify the rainwater harvesting system's water quality sampling points, which shall be downstream of the 

treatment steps and upstream of the point of use. If total residual chlorine is used to measure compliance in a system using chlorine 

disinfection, the sampling point must be downstream of the chlorine contact tank. If ultraviolet (UV) disinfection is used, the owner 

may not use water samples collected upstream of UV disinfection units for dosage adjustment for the purposes of water quality testing 

pursuant to this section. 

Part V 

Operation and Maintenance Requirements 

12VAC5-635-320. Operator requirements; frequency of inspection.  

A. The owner of a rainwater harvesting system shall ensure that the rainwater harvesting system is inspected by an operator in 

accordance with Table 5. 
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TABLE 5 

Minimum operator visit frequency for rainwater harvesting systems 

End Use Tier Initial Inspection Regular Inspection Schedule 

1 
Prior to the system entering 

service 
As needed 

2, 3 
Prior to the system entering 

service 

Every 12 months while structure is occupied. If system only 

provides water for outdoor use, then as needed 

4 (single service 

connection) 

Condition of issuance of 

operation permit 
Every 180 [ calendar ] days while structure is occupied* 

4 (multiple service 

connections) 

Condition of issuance of 

operation permit 

Every 90 [ calendar ] days while any connection serves an 

occupied structure* 

*If a structure is vacant longer than the regular inspection cycle in Table 5, an operator shall inspect the rainwater harvesting 

system prior to the structure becoming reoccupied. 

B. The operator shall collect water quality samples from a 

rainwater harvesting system pursuant to 12VAC5-635-300 

during the initial and regular inspections by the operator. 

12VAC5-635-330. Operation and maintenance; operator's 

responsibility.  

A. The operator of the rainwater harvesting system shall be 

certified as a designer, installer, or inspector pursuant to 

12VAC5-635-270 C. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude the 

owner from being an operator if they are appropriately 

certified. 

B. When the operator performs an inspection of the rainwater 

harvesting system, the operator shall perform the assessments 

required by this chapter through visual or other observations 

and through laboratory or other tests as required and may use 

additional observation methods or tests that the operator deems 

appropriate. 

C. The operator shall maintain a written operational record 

for each rainwater harvesting system for which the operator is 

responsible that contains, at minimum, the following items: 

1. Results of testing and sampling; 

2. Information regarding reportable incidents, including the 

corrective action required and taken; 

3. Maintenance, corrective actions, and repair activities that 

are performed for purposes other than a reportable incident; 

and 

4. Recommendations for repair and replacement of system 

components. 

D. If the owner of a rainwater harvesting system is not the 

operator, the operator shall provide an updated copy of the 

written operational record to the owner each time it is updated 

and shall document the dates the copies are given to the owner 

in the written operational record. The operator shall also make 

an accurate, up-to-date copy of the written operational record 

available to the department upon request. 

E. When performing activities pursuant to an inspection 

required by this chapter, the operator is responsible for the 

entire rainwater harvesting system, including treatment 

components, collection area components, and associated 

piping. 

F. The operator shall follow the procedures and instructions 

provided in the approved operation and maintenance manual 

for the rainwater harvesting system. 

12VAC5-635-340. Operation and maintenance; owner's 

responsibilities.  

The owner shall: 

1. Ensure the rainwater harvesting system is operated and 

maintained by a qualified operator; 

2. Ensure that the operator performs the required duties; 

3. Maintain a copy of the written operational record provided 

by the operator on the property where the rainwater 

harvesting system is located, make the written operational 

record available to the department upon request, and make a 

reasonable effort to transfer the written operational record to 

the subsequent owner; 

4. Follow the approved operation and maintenance manual 

and keep a copy of the operation and maintenance manual 

for the rainwater harvesting system on the property where 

the system is located, make the operation and maintenance 

manual available to the department upon request, and make 

a reasonable effort to transfer the operation and maintenance 

manual to the subsequent owner; 
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5. Comply with applicable rainwater harvesting system 

requirements contained in this chapter; and 

6. If applicable, inform users of the system of reportable 

incidents. 

12VAC5-635-350. Operation and maintenance manual.  

A. The owner and operator shall maintain and operate a 

rainwater harvesting system in accordance with the approved 

operation and maintenance manual. 

B. The manual shall be easily understandable to the owner 

and operator and include, at minimum, the following items: 

1. Basic identifying information for the rainwater harvesting 

system, including the location and intended end use; 

2. Basic information regarding the rainwater harvesting 

system design, including treatment unit capacity, a list of 

components in the system, a schematic of the system, 

sampling locations, and contact information for replacement 

parts for each unit; 

3. A list of control functions and how to use them; 

4. Operation, maintenance, sampling, inspection, and 

reporting schedules for the rainwater harvesting system; 

5. The design limits of the rainwater harvesting system 

design and how to operate the system within those design 

limits; 

6. Technical information, including: 

a. Catchment area dimensions; 

b. Roofing materials and sealants; 

c. Vertical conveyance materials; 

d. Water storage unit information including volume, size 

dimensions, whether the unit is covered or uncovered, 

whether the unit is above or below ground, construction 

materials, and location; 

e. Prefiltration information, including type of prefiltration 

used, quantity, filtration particle size, and location; 

f. Pump system information including the brand, make, 

model, capacity and heads, and horsepower; 

g. Disinfection system information, including the brand, 

make, model, parts numbers, date of manufacture, and 

date of installation for each component; 

h. Additional manufacturer's instructions, such as 

schematics and diagrams provided with components of the 

rainwater harvesting system; and 

i. Water quality verification procedures, frequency, 

parameters, sampling locations, records policies and 

procedures, and a sample written operational record entry 

form; 

7. Inspection and maintenance procedures, to include (i) the 

procedures for inspecting and cleaning water storage tanks 

and piping and (ii) periodic [ cross connection cross-

connection ] inspection; and 

8. Other information deemed necessary or appropriate by the 

designer. 

C. The operation and maintenance manual for a [ Tier 4 ] 

rainwater harvesting system [ intended for Tier 4 end use ] shall 

also contain the following: 

1. A list of water quality monitoring requirements, including 

sample locations, tests to be performed, testing methods, and 

the applicable water quality standard; 

2. Provisions for the determination of temporary or 

emergency alternate water supply, the conditions under 

which an alternate water supply is required, the procedures 

for ensuring continuity of water supply, when bottled water 

should be used, and the conditions that require boil water 

practices for cooking and drinking; 

3. Criteria for ensuring the continuity of water supply, to 

include (i) a low capacity alarm for water storage; (ii) bypass 

protocol, including backflow and [ cross connection cross-

connection ] prevention; and (iii) applicable reporting 

criteria; 

4. Provisions for documenting the easement and land records 

requirements of this chapter; and 

5. Identification of what incidents qualify as a reportable 

incident and the appropriate response, including: 

a. An alarm event lasting more than 24 hours; 

b. An alarm event that reoccurs following corrective 

action; 

c. Failure to achieve one or more performance 

requirements; 

d. Failure to achieve one or more quality standards; 

e. Replacement of a major component of the system, 

including electric and electronic components; and 

f. Actual or suspected contamination. 

D. If the operation and maintenance manual includes 

requirements for operation, maintenance, sampling, or 

inspection schedules that exceed the minimum requirements of 

this chapter, the designer shall determine the additional 

requirements based on the proposed end use of the harvested 

rainwater, design flow and unit treatment processes of the 

rainwater harvesting system, and other factors. 

E. The operation and maintenance manual shall include 

regional, local, and site-specific water concerns. 

12VAC5-635-360. Inspection requirements.  

A. During an inspection, the operator shall review and 

evaluate the operation of the rainwater harvesting system, 

perform routine maintenance, make adjustments, and replace 

worn or dysfunctional components with functionally 
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equivalent parts such that the system can reasonably be 

expected to return to normal operation. 

B. If a [ Tier 4 ] rainwater harvesting system [ permitted for 

Tier 4 end use ] is not functioning as designed or in accordance 

with the performance requirements of this chapter and, in the 

operator's professional judgment, cannot be reasonably 

expected to return to normal operation through routine 

operation and maintenance, the operator shall report 

immediately to the owner the remediation efforts necessary to 

return the rainwater harvesting system to normal operation, 

including recommendation for temporary or emergency 

alternate water supply, if the system does not provide water 

acceptable for human consumption. 

12VAC5-635-370. Inspection reports.  

A. For an inspection conducted for a rainwater harvesting 

system intended for Tier 2 or 3 end use, the operator shall 

document the observations and findings of the inspection and 

provide documentation to the department if requested by the 

department. 

B. For an inspection conducted for a [ Tier 4 ] rainwater 

harvesting system [ permitted for Tier 4 end use ], the operator 

shall file an inspection report [ , on a form approved by the 

department, ] with the local health department in the locality 

where the rainwater harvesting system is located. The report 

shall be filed no later than 45 calendar days following the date 

on which the inspection occurred and shall include the 

following minimum elements: 

1. The name and certification number of the operator; 

2. The date and time of the inspection; 

3. The purpose of the inspection, such as required inspection, 

follow-up, or reportable incident; 

4. A summary stating: 

a. Whether the rainwater harvesting system is functioning 

as designed and in accordance with the performance 

requirements of this chapter; 

b. Whether the operator believes the rainwater harvesting 

system will return to normal operation after providing 

maintenance; or 

c. If the rainwater harvesting system is not functioning as 

designed or in accordance with the performance 

requirements of this chapter, (i) the actions required to 

return the rainwater harvesting system to normal 

operation, including provisions for a temporary alternate 

water supply, if applicable; and (ii) that the owner has 

been advised that failure to take action to return the system 

to normal operation represents a risk to public health and 

may subject the owner to enforcement action from the 

department; 

5. Maintenance performed or adjustments made, including 

parts replaced; 

6. The results of field measurements, water quality sampling, 

and observations; 

7. The name of the laboratory that analyzed samples; and 

8. A statement certifying the date the operator provided a 

written copy of the report to the owner. 

C. If actions are required by the owner to return [ the a Tier 

4 ] rainwater harvesting system to normal operation or provide 

a temporary alternate water supply or the operator has 

identified that failure to repair the rainwater harvesting system 

may result in a hazard to public health or the environment, the 

operator shall file the report summary with the local health 

department within 24 hours of the inspection. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC5-635) 

Commonwealth of Virginia Application for Tier 4 End Use 

Rainwater Harvesting System (eff. 4/2022) 

[ Commonwealth of Virginia Inspection Report: Tier 4 End 

Use Rainwater Harvesting System (eff. 4/2022) ] 

Registration for Rainwater Harvesting System: Tier 1, 2, or 3 

End Use (eff. 4/2022) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6687; Filed September 23, 2024, 4:14 p.m. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 

for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (amending 12VAC35-

105-20; adding 12VAC35-105-1830 through 12VAC35-

105-1870). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-302 and 37.2-400 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 5, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Susan H. Puglisi, Regulatory Research 

Specialist, Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, 1220 Bank 

Street, Fourth Floor South, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Rainwater%20Harvesting%20System%20Application-20230920170409.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Rainwater%20Harvesting%20System%20Application-20230920170409.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Registration%20for%20Rainwater%20Harvesting%20System%20Form-20230920170559.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/Registration%20for%20Rainwater%20Harvesting%20System%20Form-20230920170559.pdf
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(804) 371-8043, FAX (804) 371-4609, TDD (804) 371-8977, 

or email susan.puglisi@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

board to adopt regulations necessary to carry out the provisions 

of Title 37.2 and other laws of the Commonwealth 

administered by the commissioner and the department and 

authorizes the department to ensure the development of long-

range programs and plans for mental health, developmental, 

and substance abuse services provided by the department, 

community services boards, and behavioral health authorities. 

Purpose: The amendments are intended to make maintenance 

or detoxification treatments more widely available while 

ensuring that safeguards are in place to reduce the likelihood 

of diversion. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is deemed noncontroversial because the action 

integrates existing federal regulations into the regulation due 

to provider interest in supplying these mobile medication-

assisted treatment (mobile MAT) services. The integration of 

the federal rules within the regulation will increase 

transparency and set administrative expectations for this 

service. The action was requested by the provider community. 

Substance: The amendments detail under what circumstances 

mobile components of medication-assisted treatment programs 

would be able to transport and dispense controlled substances 

away from registered locations within the same state as the 

medication-assisted treatment programs. The amendments set 

forth requirements for security, recordkeeping, reporting, and 

inventory for those mobile components. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the enhanced 

ability for medication-assisted treatment programs to provide 

an expanded resource to those seeking and in need of substance 

use disorder treatment. There are no known disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantages to the agency and the 

Commonwealth are more substance use services and resources 

at a time when opioid involved deaths are increasing across the 

country. There are no known disadvantages of this action to the 

agency or Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

(board) proposes to amend this regulation to incorporate a 2021 

federal rule pertaining to narcotic treatment programs with 

mobile components. The proposed amendments would allow 

currently licensed narcotic treatment programs, which are also 

called medication-assisted treatment (MAT) programs, to 

voluntarily deploy mobile units with oversight from the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

(DBHDS). 

Background. In June 2021, the federal Drug Enforcement 

Administration (DEA) published a final rule permitting DEA 

registrants who are authorized to dispense methadone for 

opioid use disorder to voluntarily add a "mobile component" 

to their existing registrants.2 Although the federal regulation is 

already in effect, and licensed MAT providers are already 

registered with the DEA, adding a "mobile component" 

requires a significant investment to retrofit a vehicle to meet 

the requirements in the federal rule. DBHDS reports that MAT 

providers in Virginia requested the board to incorporate mobile 

units as a voluntary option within the regulation so that they 

were explicitly authorized by both state and federal law, thus 

ensuring that their investment in the mobile unit was protected 

and that they were not operating in a legal grey area. 

Consequently, the agency seeks to amend the state regulation 

to align with the federal requirements. The proposed changes 

are designed to "make maintenance or detoxification 

treatments more widely available, while ensuring that 

safeguards are in place to reduce the likelihood of diversion."3 

The most substantive requirements regarding security, 

recordkeeping, reporting, and inventory are identical to the 

requirements in the federal regulation. Section 20 (Definitions) 

would be amended to add a definition for "mobile medication-

assisted treatment program" or "mobile MAT program." 

12VAC35-105-1830 would be newly added to state that each 

mobile MAT program shall operate as a component of a 

licensed MAT location and be listed on the provider license 

addendum. This requirement would operationalize the federal 

requirement that providers operating mobile MATs must have 

an existing brick-and-mortar location with a DEA registration 

number. 12VAC35-105-1840 would be newly added to list the 

physical security control requirements for mobile MAT 

programs and storage areas.4 These requirements include 

installing a safe and limiting access to the controlled substance 

storage areas within the vehicle. 12VAC35-105-1850 would 

also be newly added to list the other security controls for 

mobile MATs.5 These requirements pertain to proper dosage, 

where individuals seeking treatment should wait, and 

restrictions on provider personnel. 12VAC35-105-1860 would 

be newly added to establish the record-keeping requirements 

for mobile MATs.6 Lastly, 12VAC35-105-1870 would be 

newly added to exempt mobile MATs from meeting the 

physical plant requirements in this regulation since those 

requirements are intended for licensed entities with physical 

locations and would simply not apply to mobile units. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

would benefit MAT providers and the individuals receiving 

services. The amendments are intended to encourage MAT 

providers to invest in mobile units by providing legal 

recognition and ensuring that they would not be operating in a 

legal grey area. The deployment of mobile units would make 

MAT more accessible to individuals with opioid misuse 

mailto:@susan.puglisi@dbhds.virginia.gov
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disorder, thereby reducing drug overdoses and addressing the 

opioid crisis in Virginia.7 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments would primarily benefit currently licensed MAT 

providers as well as providers seeking MAT licensure by 

providing the legal authority to deploy mobile MAT units at the 

state level. DBHDS reports that there are currently 41 licensed 

MAT providers and that one of them is already building a mobile 

unit. An adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net 

cost or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined.8 Because the proposed 

amendments create a voluntary option, and thus do not require any 

investments or actions by MAT providers, any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net benefit would be made by the provider at the 

provider's discretion. Given that the changes would not directly 

require any action be taken by providers unless they choose to 

deploy a mobile unit, an adverse impact is not indicated. 

Small Businesses9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments would 

not adversely affect small businesses. MAT providers that are 

small businesses would benefit from being able to operate a 

mobile unit. 

Localities11 Affected.12 The proposed amendments would 

particularly benefit localities that receive additional opioid 

treatment via mobile MAT programs once this regulation becomes 

effective. The proposed amendments would not create new costs 

for any local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would slightly increase the employment of providers who would 

staff the mobile MAT units. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The value of 

licensed MATs that are private companies would increase if they 

invest in a mobile MAT unit that generates additional revenue. 

Real estate development costs would not be affected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See Registration Requirements for Narcotic Treatment Programs with Mobile 

Components: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2021-06-28/pdf/ 

2021-13519.pdf. 

3 ABD, page 2. 

4 The federal physical security control requirements are within 21 CFR Section 

1301.72 (a)(1) and (e): https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-II/part-

1301/subject-group-ECFRa7ff8142033a7a2/section-1301.72. 

5 The federal security control requirements are within 21 CFR 

1301.74(j)(k)(l)(m) and (n): https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-

II/part-1301/subject-group-ECFRa7ff8142033a7a2/section-1301.74. 

6 The federal record requirements are within 21 CFR 1304.24: 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-II/part-1304/subject-group-

ECFRed220d26113f6a5/section-1304.24. 

7 See https://curbthecrisis.com/ and https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drug-

overdose-data/. 

8 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

9 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

10 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

11 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

12 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

published a final rule permitting DEA registrants who are 

authorized to dispense methadone for opioid use disorder 

to add a mobile component to existing registrants. The 

amendments integrate these federal regulations into the 

regulation due to provider interest in supplying these 

mobile medication-assisted treatment services.  

12VAC35-105-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abuse" means, as defined by § 37.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia, any act or failure to act by an employee or other 

person responsible for the care of an individual in a facility or 

program operated, licensed, or funded by the department, 

excluding those operated by the Virginia Department of 

Corrections, that was performed or was failed to be performed 

knowingly, recklessly, or intentionally, and that caused or 

might have caused physical or psychological harm, injury, or 

death to an individual receiving care or treatment for mental 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2021-06-28/pdf/2021-13519.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2021-06-28/pdf/2021-13519.pdf
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-II/part-1301/subject-group-ECFRa7ff8142033a7a2/section-1301.72
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-II/part-1301/subject-group-ECFRa7ff8142033a7a2/section-1301.72
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-II/part-1301/subject-group-ECFRa7ff8142033a7a2/section-1301.74
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-II/part-1301/subject-group-ECFRa7ff8142033a7a2/section-1301.74
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-II/part-1304/subject-group-ECFRed220d26113f6a5/section-1304.24
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-II/part-1304/subject-group-ECFRed220d26113f6a5/section-1304.24
https://curbthecrisis.com/%20and%20https:/www.vdh.virginia.gov/drug-overdose-data/
https://curbthecrisis.com/%20and%20https:/www.vdh.virginia.gov/drug-overdose-data/
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illness, developmental disabilities, or substance abuse. 

Examples of abuse include acts such as: 

1. Rape, sexual assault, or other criminal sexual behavior; 

2. Assault or battery; 

3. Use of language that demeans, threatens, intimidates, or 

humiliates the individual; 

4. Misuse or misappropriation of the individual's assets, 

goods, or property; 

5. Use of excessive force when placing an individual in 

physical or mechanical restraint; 

6. Use of physical or mechanical restraints on an individual 

that is not in compliance with federal and state laws, 

regulations, and policies, professional accepted standards of 

practice, or the individual's individualized services plan; or 

7. Use of more restrictive or intensive services or denial of 

services to punish an individual or that is not consistent with 

the individual's individualized services plan. 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

activities and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 

grooming, hygiene, feeding, and eating. An individual's degree 

of independence in performing these activities is part of 

determining the appropriate level of care and services. 

"Addiction" means a primary, chronic disease of brain 

reward, motivation, memory, and related circuitry. Addiction 

is defined as the inability to consistently abstain, impairment 

in behavioral control, persistence of cravings, diminished 

recognition of significant problems with one's behaviors and 

interpersonal relationships, and a dysfunctional emotional 

response. Like other chronic diseases, addiction often involves 

cycles of relapse and remission. Without treatment or 

engagement in recovery activities, addiction is progressive and 

can result in disability or premature death. 

"Admission" means the process of acceptance into a service 

as defined by the provider's policies. 

"Allied health professional" means a professional who is 

involved with the delivery of health or related services 

pertaining to the identification, evaluation, and prevention of 

diseases and disorders, such as a certified substance abuse 

counselor, certified substance abuse counseling assistant, peer 

recovery support specialist, certified nurse aide, or 

occupational therapist. 

"ASAM" means the American Society of Addiction 

Medicine. 

"Assertive community treatment service" or "ACT" means a 

self-contained interdisciplinary community-based team of 

medical, behavioral health, and rehabilitation professionals 

who use a team approach to meet the needs of an individual 

with severe and persistent mental illness. ACT teams: 

1. Provide person-centered services addressing the breadth 

of an individual's needs, helping the individual achieve his 

personal goals; 

2. Serve as the primary provider of all the services that an 

individual receiving ACT services needs; 

3. Maintain a high frequency and intensity of community-

based contacts; 

4. Maintain a very low individual-to-staff ratio; 

5. Offer varying levels of care for all individuals receiving 

ACT services and appropriately adjust service levels 

according to each individual's needs over time; 

6. Assist individuals in advancing toward personal goals 

with a focus on enhancing community integration and 

regaining valued roles, such as worker, family member, 

resident, spouse, tenant, or friend; 

7. Carry out planned assertive engagement techniques, 

including rapport-building strategies, facilitating meeting 

basic needs, and motivational interviewing techniques; 

8. Monitor the individual's mental status and provide needed 

supports in a manner consistent with the individual's level of 

need and functioning; 

9. Deliver all services according to a recovery-based 

philosophy of care; and 

10. Promote self-determination, respect for the individual 

receiving ACT as an individual in such individual's own 

right, and engage peers in promoting recovery and regaining 

meaningful roles and relationships in the community. 

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by law 

or 12VAC35-115 to authorize the disclosure of information or 

consent to treatment and services or participation in human 

research. 

"Behavior intervention" means those principles and methods 

employed by a provider to help an individual receiving services 

to achieve a positive outcome and to address challenging 

behavior in a constructive and safe manner. Behavior 

intervention principles and methods shall be employed in 

accordance with the individualized services plan and written 

policies and procedures governing service expectations, 

treatment goals, safety, and security. 

"Behavioral treatment plan," "functional plan," or "behavioral 

support plan" means any set of documented procedures that are 

an integral part of the individualized services plan and are 

developed on the basis of a systematic data collection, such as 

a functional assessment, for the purpose of assisting 

individuals to achieve the following: 

1. Improved behavioral functioning and effectiveness; 

2. Alleviation of symptoms of psychopathology; or 

3. Reduction of challenging behaviors. 
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"Board" or "state board" means, as defined by § 37.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia, the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. The board has statutory 

responsibility for adopting regulations that may be necessary 

to carry out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia 

and other laws of the Commonwealth administered by the 

commissioner or the department. 

"Brain injury" means any injury to the brain that occurs after 

birth that is acquired through traumatic or nontraumatic insults. 

Nontraumatic insults may include anoxia, hypoxia, aneurysm, 

toxic exposure, encephalopathy, surgical interventions, tumor, 

and stroke. Brain injury does not include hereditary, 

congenital, or degenerative brain disorders or injuries induced 

by birth trauma. 

"Care," "treatment," or "support" means the individually 

planned therapeutic interventions that conform to current 

acceptable professional practice and that are intended to 

improve or maintain functioning of an individual receiving 

services delivered by a provider. 

"Case management service" or "support coordination service" 

means services that can include assistance to individuals and 

their family members in accessing needed services that are 

responsive to the individual's needs. Case management 

services include identifying potential users of the service; 

assessing needs and planning services; linking the individual 

to services and supports; assisting the individual directly to 

locate, develop, or obtain needed services and resources; 

coordinating services with other providers; enhancing 

community integration; making collateral contacts; monitoring 

service delivery; discharge planning; and advocating for 

individuals in response to their changing needs. "Case 

management service" does not include assistance in which the 

only function is maintaining service waiting lists or 

periodically contacting or tracking individuals to determine 

potential service needs. 

"Clinical experience" means providing direct services to 

individuals with mental illness or the provision of direct 

geriatric services or special education services. Experience 

may include supervised internships, practicums, and field 

experience. 

"Clinically managed high-intensity residential care" or "Level 

of care 3.5" means a substance use treatment program that 

offers 24-hour supportive treatment of individuals with 

significant psychological and social problems by credentialed 

addiction treatment professionals in an interdisciplinary 

treatment approach. A clinically managed high-intensity 

residential care program provides treatment to individuals who 

present with significant challenges, such as physical, sexual, or 

emotional trauma; past criminal or antisocial behaviors, with a 

risk of continued criminal behavior; an extensive history of 

treatment; inadequate anger management skills; extreme 

impulsivity; and antisocial value system. 

"Clinically managed low-intensity residential care" or "Level 

of care 3.1" means providing an ongoing therapeutic 

environment for individuals requiring some structured support 

in which treatment is directed toward applying recovery skills; 

preventing relapse; improving emotional functioning; 

promoting personal responsibility; reintegrating the individual 

into work, education, and family environments; and 

strengthening and developing adaptive skills that may not have 

been achieved or have been diminished during the individual's 

active addiction. A clinically managed low-intensity 

residential care program also provides treatment for 

individuals suffering from chronic, long-term alcoholism or 

drug addiction and affords an extended period of time to 

establish sound recovery and a solid support system. 

"Clinically managed population specific high-intensity 

residential services" or "Level of care 3.3" means a substance 

use treatment program that provides a structured recovery 

environment in combination with high-intensity clinical 

services provided in a manner to meet the functional 

limitations of individuals. The functional limitations of 

individuals who are placed within this level of care are 

primarily cognitive and can be either temporary or permanent. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Community-based crisis stabilization" means services that 

are short term and designed to support an individual and the 

individual's natural support system following contact with an 

initial crisis response service or as a diversion to a higher level 

of care. Providers deliver community-based crisis stabilization 

services in an individual's natural environment and provide 

referrals and linkage to other community-based services at the 

appropriate level of care. Interventions may include mobile 

crisis response, brief therapeutic and skill-building 

interventions, engagement of natural supports, interventions to 

integrate natural supports in the de-escalation and stabilization 

of the crisis, and coordination of follow-up services. 

Coordination of specialized services to address the needs of co-

occurring developmental disabilities and substance use 

disorders are also available through this service. Services 

include advocacy and networking to provide linkages and 

referrals to appropriate community-based services and assist 

the individual and the individual's family or caregiver in 

accessing other benefits or assistance programs for which the 

individual may be eligible. Community-based crisis 

stabilization is a non-center, community-based service. The 

goal of community-based crisis stabilization services is to 

stabilize the individual within the community and support the 

individual or the individual's support system (i) as part of an 

initial mobile crisis response; (ii) during the period between an 

initial mobile crisis response and entry into an established 

follow-up service at the appropriate level of care; (iii) as a 

transitional step-down from a higher level of care if the next 

level of care service is identified but not immediately available 

for access; or (iv) as a diversion to a higher level of care. 
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"Community gero-psychiatric residential services" means 24-

hour care provided to individuals with mental illness, 

behavioral problems, and concomitant health problems who 

are usually 65 years of age or older in a geriatric setting that is 

less intensive than a psychiatric hospital but more intensive 

than a nursing home or group home. Services include 

assessment and individualized services planning by an 

interdisciplinary services team, intense supervision, 

psychiatric care, behavioral treatment planning and behavior 

interventions, nursing, and other health-related services. 

"Complaint" means an allegation of a violation of this chapter 

or a provider's policies and procedures related to this chapter. 

"Conveyance" means a motor vehicle that serves as the 

mobile component of a mobile MAT program.  

"Co-occurring disorders" means the presence of more than 

one and often several of the following disorders that are 

identified independently of one another and are not simply a 

cluster of symptoms resulting from a single disorder: mental 

illness, a developmental disability, substance abuse (substance 

use disorders), or brain injury. 

"Co-occurring services" means individually planned 

therapeutic treatment that addresses in an integrated concurrent 

manner the service needs of individuals who have co-occurring 

disorders. 

"Corrective action plan" means the provider's pledged 

corrective action in response to cited areas of noncompliance 

documented by the regulatory authority. 

"Correctional facility" means a facility operated under the 

management and control of the Virginia Department of 

Corrections. 

"Credentialed addiction treatment professional" means a 

person who possesses one of the following credentials issued 

by the appropriate health regulatory board: (i) an addiction-

credentialed physician or physician with experience or training 

in addiction medicine; (ii) a licensed nurse practitioner or a 

licensed physician assistant with experience or training in 

addiction medicine; (iii) a licensed psychiatrist; (iv) a licensed 

clinical psychologist; (v) a licensed clinical social worker; (vi) 

a licensed professional counselor; (vii) a licensed nurse 

practitioner with experience or training in psychiatry or mental 

health; (viii) a licensed marriage and family therapist; (ix) a 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner; (x) a resident 

who is under the supervision of a licensed professional 

counselor (18VAC115-20-10), licensed marriage and family 

therapist (18VAC115-50-10), or licensed substance abuse 

treatment practitioner (18VAC115-60-10) and is registered 

with the Virginia Board of Counseling; (xi) a resident in 

psychology who is under supervision of a licensed clinical 

psychologist and is registered with the Virginia Board of 

Psychology (18VAC125-20-10); or (xii) a supervisee in social 

work who is under the supervision of a licensed clinical social 

worker and is registered with the Virginia Board of Social 

Work (18VAC140-20-10). 

"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation often 

developing suddenly or rapidly that produces acute, 

heightened, emotional, mental, physical, medical, or 

behavioral distress. 

"Crisis education and prevention plan" or "CEPP" means a 

department-approved, individualized, client-specific 

document that provides a concise, clear, and realistic set of 

supportive interventions to prevent or de-escalate a crisis and 

assist an individual who may be experiencing a behavioral loss 

of control. The goal of the CEPP is to identify problems that 

have arisen in the past or are emergent in order to map out 

strategies that offer tools for the natural support system to 

assist the individual in addressing and de-escalating problems 

in a healthy way and provide teaching skills that the individual 

can apply independently. 

"Crisis planning team" means the team who is consulted to 

plan the individual's safety plan or crisis ISP. The crisis 

planning team consists, at a minimum, of the individual 

receiving services, the individual's legal guardian or authorized 

representative, and a member of the provider's crisis staff. The 

crisis planning team may include the individual's support 

coordinator, case manager, the individual's family, or other 

identified persons, as desired by the individual, such as the 

individual's family of choice. 

"Crisis receiving center," "CRC," or "23-hour crisis 

stabilization" means a community-based, nonhospital facility 

providing short-term assessment, observation, and crisis 

stabilization services for up to 23 hours. This service is 

accessible 24 hours per day, seven days per week, 365 days per 

year, and is indicated when an individual requires a safe 

environment for initial assessment and intervention. This 

service includes a thorough assessment of an individual's 

behavioral health crisis, psychosocial needs, and supports in 

order to determine the least restrictive environment most 

appropriate for stabilization. Key service functions include 

rapid assessment, crisis intervention, de-escalation, short-term 

stabilization, and appropriate referrals for ongoing care. This 

distinct service may be co-located with other services such as 

crisis stabilization units. 

"Crisis stabilization" means direct, intensive nonresidential or 

residential care and treatment to nonhospitalized individuals 

experiencing an acute crisis that may jeopardize their current 

community living situation. Crisis stabilization is intended to 

avert hospitalization or rehospitalization; provide normative 

environments with a high assurance of safety and security for 

crisis intervention; stabilize individuals in crisis; and mobilize 

the resources of the community support system, family 

members, and others for ongoing rehabilitation and recovery. 

"Crisis stabilization unit," "CSU," or "residential crisis 

stabilization unit" is a community-based, short-term residential 
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treatment unit. CSUs serve as primary alternatives to inpatient 

hospitalization for individuals who are in need of a safe, secure 

environment for assessment and crisis treatment. CSUs also 

serve as a step-down option from psychiatric inpatient 

hospitalization and function to stabilize and reintegrate 

individuals who meet medical necessity criteria back into their 

communities. 

"Day support service" means structured programs of training, 

assistance, and specialized supervision in the acquisition, 

retention, or improvement of self-help, socialization, and 

adaptive skills for adults with a developmental disability 

provided to groups or individuals in nonresidential 

community-based settings. Day support services may provide 

opportunities for peer interaction and community integration 

and are designed to enhance the following: self-care and 

hygiene, eating, toileting, task learning, community resource 

utilization, environmental and behavioral skills, social skills, 

medication management, prevocational skills, and 

transportation skills. The term "day support service" does not 

include services in which the primary function is to provide 

employment-related services, general educational services, or 

general recreational services. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"Developmental disability" means a severe, chronic disability 

of an individual that (i) is attributable to a mental or physical 

impairment or a combination of mental and physical 

impairments other than a sole diagnosis of mental illness; (ii) 

is manifested before the individual reaches 22 years of age; (iii) 

is likely to continue indefinitely; (iv) results in substantial 

functional limitations in three or more of the following areas 

of major life activity: self-care, receptive and expressive 

language, learning, mobility, self-direction, capacity for 

independent living, or economic self-sufficiency; and (v) 

reflects the individual's need for a combination and sequence 

of special interdisciplinary or generic services, individualized 

supports, or other forms of assistance that are of lifelong or 

extended duration and are individually planned and 

coordinated. An individual from birth to nine years of age, 

inclusive, who has a substantial developmental delay or 

specific congenital or acquired condition may be considered to 

have a developmental disability without meeting three or more 

of the criteria described in clauses (i) through (v) if the 

individual without services and supports has a high probability 

of meeting those criteria later in life. 

"Developmental services" means planned, individualized, 

and person-centered services and supports provided to 

individuals with developmental disabilities for the purpose of 

enabling these individuals to increase their self-determination 

and independence, obtain employment, participate fully in all 

aspects of community life, advocate for themselves, and 

achieve their fullest potential to the greatest extent possible. 

"Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders" or 

"DSM" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental 

Disorders, 5th Edition, DSM-5, of the American Psychiatric 

Association. 

"Direct care position" means any position that includes 

responsibility for (i) treatment, case management, health, 

safety, development, or well-being of an individual receiving 

services or (ii) immediately supervising a person in a position 

with this responsibility. 

"Discharge" means the process by which the individual's 

active involvement with a service is terminated by the 

provider, individual, or individual's authorized representative. 

"Discharge plan" means the written plan that establishes the 

criteria for an individual's discharge from a service and 

identifies and coordinates delivery of any services needed after 

discharge. 

"Dispense" means to deliver a drug to an ultimate user by or 

pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the 

prescribing and administering, packaging, labeling, or 

compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that 

delivery (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Emergency service" means unscheduled and sometimes 

scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, and referral 

assistance provided over the telephone or face-to-face, if 

indicated, available 24 hours a day and seven days per week. 

Emergency services also may include walk-ins, home visits, 

jail interventions, and preadmission screening activities 

associated with the judicial process. 

"Group home or community residential service" means a 

congregate service providing 24-hour supervision in a 

community-based home having eight or fewer residents. 

Services include supervision, supports, counseling, and 

training in activities of daily living for individuals whose 

individualized services plan identifies the need for the specific 

types of services available in this setting. 

"HCBS Waiver" means a Medicaid Home and Community 

Based Services Waiver. 

"Home and noncenter based" means that a service is provided 

in the individual's home or other noncenter-based setting. This 

includes noncenter-based day support, supportive in-home, 

and intensive in-home services. 

"Individual" or "individual receiving services" means a 

current direct recipient of public or private mental health, 

developmental, or substance abuse treatment, rehabilitation, or 

habilitation services and includes the terms "consumer," 

"patient," "resident," "recipient," or "client". When the term is 

used in this chapter, the requirement applies to every individual 

receiving licensed services from the provider. 

"Individualized services plan" or "ISP" means a 

comprehensive and regularly updated written plan that 
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describes the individual's needs, the measurable goals and 

objectives to address those needs, and strategies to reach the 

individual's goals. An ISP is person-centered, empowers the 

individual, and is designed to meet the needs and preferences 

of the individual. The ISP is developed through a partnership 

between the individual and the provider and includes an 

individual's treatment plan, habilitation plan, person-centered 

plan, or plan of care, which are all considered individualized 

service plans. 

"Informed choice" means a decision made after considering 

options based on adequate and accurate information and 

knowledge. These options are developed through collaboration 

with the individual and the individual's authorized 

representative, as applicable, and the provider with the intent 

of empowering the individual and the individual's authorized 

representative to make decisions that will lead to positive 

service outcomes. 

"Informed consent" means the voluntary written agreement of 

an individual or that individual's authorized representative to 

surgery, electroconvulsive treatment, use of psychotropic 

medications, or any other treatment or service that poses a risk 

of harm greater than that ordinarily encountered in daily life or 

for participation in human research. To be voluntary, informed 

consent must be given freely and without undue inducement; 

any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress; or any form of 

constraint or coercion. 

"Initial assessment" means an assessment conducted prior to 

or at admission to determine whether the individual meets the 

service's admission criteria; what the individual's immediate 

service, health, and safety needs are; and whether the provider 

has the capability and staffing to provide the needed services. 

"Inpatient psychiatric service" means intensive 24-hour 

medical, nursing, and treatment services provided to 

individuals with mental illness or substance abuse (substance 

use disorders) in a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code 

of Virginia or in a special unit of a hospital. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 

money. A person's degree of independence in performing these 

activities is part of determining appropriate level of care and 

services. 

"Intellectual disability" means a disability originating before 

18 years of age, characterized concurrently by (i) significant 

subaverage intellectual functioning as demonstrated by 

performance on a standardized measure of intellectual 

functioning administered in conformity with accepted 

professional practice that is at least two standard deviations 

below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in adaptive 

behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and practical 

adaptive skills. 

"Intensity of service" means the number, type, and frequency 

of staff interventions and other services provided during 

treatment at a particular level of care. 

"Intensive in-home service" means family preservation 

interventions for children and adolescents who have or are at 

risk of serious emotional disturbance, including individuals 

who also have a diagnosis of developmental disability. 

Intensive in-home service is usually time-limited and is 

provided typically in the residence of an individual who is at 

risk of being moved to out-of-home placement or who is being 

transitioned back home from an out-of-home placement. The 

service includes 24-hour per day emergency response; crisis 

treatment; individual and family counseling; life, parenting, 

and communication skills; and case management and 

coordination with other services. 

"Intermediate care facility/individuals with intellectual 

disability" or "ICF/IID" means a facility or distinct part of a 

facility certified by the Virginia Department of Health as 

meeting the federal certification regulations for an 

intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual 

disability and persons with related conditions and that 

addresses the total needs of the residents, which include 

physical, intellectual, social, emotional, and habilitation, 

providing active treatment as defined in 42 CFR 435.1010 and 

42 CFR 483.440. 

"Investigation" means a detailed inquiry or systematic 

examination of the operations of a provider or its services 

regarding an alleged violation of regulations or law. An 

investigation may be undertaken as a result of a complaint, an 

incident report, or other information that comes to the attention 

of the department. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means a 

physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed professional 

counselor, licensed clinical social worker, licensed substance 

abuse treatment practitioner, licensed marriage and family 

therapist, certified psychiatric clinical nurse specialist, licensed 

behavior analyst, or licensed psychiatric/mental health nurse 

practitioner. 

"Location" means a place where services are or could be 

provided. 

"Mandatory outpatient treatment order" means an order 

issued by a court pursuant to § 37.2-817 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Medical detoxification" means a service provided in a 

hospital or other 24-hour care facility under the supervision of 

medical personnel using medication to systematically 

eliminate or reduce the presence of alcohol or other drugs in 

the individual's body. 

"Medical evaluation" means the process of assessing an 

individual's health status that includes a medical history and a 
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physical examination of an individual conducted by a licensed 

medical practitioner operating within the scope of his license. 

"Medically managed intensive inpatient service" or "Level of 

care 4.0" means an organized service delivered in an inpatient 

setting, including an acute care general hospital, psychiatric 

unit in a general hospital, or a freestanding psychiatric hospital. 

This service is appropriate for individuals whose acute 

biomedical and emotional, behavioral, and cognitive problems 

are so severe that they require primary medical and nursing 

care. Services at this level of care are managed by a physician 

who is responsible for diagnosis, treatment, and treatment plan 

decisions in collaboration with the individual. 

"Medically monitored intensive inpatient treatment" or 

"Level of care 3.7" means a substance use treatment program 

that provides 24-hour care in a facility under the supervision of 

medical personnel. The care provided includes directed 

evaluation, observation, medical monitoring, and addiction 

treatment in an inpatient setting. The care provided may 

include the use of medication to address the effects of 

substance use. This service is appropriate for an individual 

whose subacute biomedical, emotional, behavioral, or 

cognitive problems are so severe that they require inpatient 

treatment but who does not need the full resources of an acute 

care general hospital or a medically managed intensive 

inpatient treatment program. 

"Medication" means prescribed or over-the-counter drugs or 

both. 

"Medication administration" means the legally permitted 

direct application of medications, as enumerated by § 54.1-

3408 of the Code of Virginia, by injection, inhalation, 

ingestion, or any other means to an individual receiving 

services by (i) persons legally permitted to administer 

medications or (ii) the individual at the direction and in the 

presence of persons legally permitted to administer 

medications. 

"Medication assisted Medication-assisted opioid treatment" 

or "opioid treatment service" means an intervention of 

administering or dispensing of medications, such as 

methadone, buprenorphine, or naltrexone approved by the 

federal Food and Drug Administration for the purpose of 

treating opioid use disorder. 

"Medication assisted Medication-assisted treatment" or 

"MAT" means the use of U.S. Food and Drug Administration 

approved medications in combination with counseling and 

behavioral therapies to provide treatment of substance use 

disorders. Medication assisted Medication-assisted treatment 

includes medications for opioid use disorder as well as 

medications for treatment of alcohol use disorder. 

"Medication error" means an error in administering a 

medication to an individual and includes when any of the 

following occur: (i) the wrong medication is given to an 

individual, (ii) the wrong individual is given the medication, 

(iii) the wrong dosage is given to an individual, (iv) medication 

is given to an individual at the wrong time or not at all, or (v) 

the wrong method is used to give the medication to the 

individual. 

"Medication storage" means any area where medications are 

maintained by the provider, including a locked cabinet, locked 

room, or locked box. 

"Mental Health Community Support Service" or "MCHSS" 

means the provision of recovery-oriented services to 

individuals with long-term, severe mental illness. MHCSS 

includes skills training and assistance in accessing and 

effectively utilizing services and supports that are essential to 

meeting the needs identified in the individualized services plan 

and development of environmental supports necessary to 

sustain active community living as independently as possible. 

MHCSS may be provided in any setting in which the 

individual's needs can be addressed, skills training applied, and 

recovery experienced. 

"Mental health intensive outpatient service" means a 

structured program of skilled treatment services focused on 

maintaining and improving functional abilities through a time-

limited, interdisciplinary approach to treatment. This service is 

provided over a period of time for individuals requiring more 

intensive services than an outpatient service can provide and 

may include individual, family, or group counseling or 

psychotherapy; skill development and psychoeducational 

activities; certified peer support services; medication 

management; and psychological assessment or testing. 

"Mental health outpatient service" means treatment provided 

to individuals on an hourly schedule, on an individual, group, 

or family basis, and usually in a clinic or similar facility or in 

another location. Mental health outpatient services may 

include diagnosis and evaluation, screening and intake, 

counseling, psychotherapy, behavior management, 

psychological testing and assessment, laboratory, and other 

ancillary services, medical services, and medication services. 

Mental health outpatient service specifically includes: 

1. Mental health services operated by a community services 

board or a behavioral health authority established pursuant 

to Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et 

seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Mental health services contracted by a community 

services board or a behavioral health authority established 

pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 

(§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; or 

3. Mental health services that are owned, operated, or 

controlled by a corporation organized pursuant to the 

provisions of either Chapter 9 (§ 13.1-601 et seq.) or Chapter 

10 (§ 13.1-801 et seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Mental health partial hospitalization service" means time-

limited active treatment interventions that are more intensive 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 5  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 21, 2024  

663 

than outpatient services, designed to stabilize and ameliorate 

acute symptoms and serve as an alternative to inpatient 

hospitalization or to reduce the length of a hospital stay. Partial 

hospitalization is provided through a minimum of 20 hours per 

week of skilled treatment services focused on individuals who 

require intensive, highly coordinated, structured, and 

interdisciplinary ambulatory treatment within a stable 

environment that is of greater intensity than intensive 

outpatient, but of lesser intensity than inpatient. 

"Mental illness" means, as defined by § 37.2-100 of the Code 

of Virginia, a disorder of thought, mood, emotion, perception, 

or orientation that significantly impairs judgment, behavior, 

capacity to recognize reality, or ability to address basic life 

necessities and requires care and treatment for the health, 

safety, or recovery of the individual or for the safety of others. 

"Missing" means a circumstance in which an individual is not 

physically present when and where he should be and his 

absence cannot be accounted for or explained by his 

supervision needs or pattern of behavior. 

"Mobile crisis response" means a type of community-based 

crisis stabilization service that is available 24 hours per day, 

seven days per week, 365 days per year to provide rapid 

response, assessment, and early intervention to individuals 

experiencing a behavioral health crisis. Services are deployed 

in real time to the location of the individual experiencing a 

behavioral health crisis. The purpose of this service is to (i) de-

escalate the behavioral health crisis and prevent harm to the 

individual or others; (ii) assist in the prevention of the 

individual's acute exacerbation of symptoms; (iii) develop an 

immediate plan to maintain safety; and (iv) coordinate care and 

linking to appropriate treatment services to meet the needs of 

the individual. 

"Mobile medication-assisted treatment program" or "mobile 

MAT program" means a MAT operating from a motor vehicle 

or conveyance that serves as a mobile component to a licensed 

MAT location registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement 

Administration as required by 21 CFR 1301.11 et seq.  

"Motivational enhancement" means a person-centered 

approach that is collaborative, employs strategies to strengthen 

motivation for change, increases engagement in substance use 

services, resolves ambivalence about changing substance use 

behaviors, and supports individuals to set goals to change their 

substance use. 

"Neglect" means, as defined by § 37.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia, the failure by a person or a program or facility 

operated, licensed, or funded by the department, excluding 

those operated by the Department of Corrections, responsible 

for providing services to do so, including nourishment, 

treatment, care, goods, or services necessary to the health, 

safety, or welfare of an individual receiving care or treatment 

for mental illness, developmental disabilities, or substance 

abuse. 

"Neurobehavioral services" means the assessment, 

evaluation, and treatment of cognitive, perceptual, behavioral, 

and other impairments caused by brain injury that affect an 

individual's ability to function successfully in the community. 

"Office of Human Rights" means the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services Office of 

Human Rights. 

"Person-centered" means focusing on the needs and 

preferences of the individual; empowering and supporting the 

individual in defining the direction for his life; and promoting 

self-determination, community involvement, and recovery. 

"Provider" means, as defined by § 37.2-403 of the Code of 

Virginia, any person, entity, or organization, excluding an 

agency of the federal government by whatever name or 

designation, that delivers (i) services to individuals with 

mental illness, developmental disabilities, or substance abuse 

(substance use disorders) or (ii) residential services for 

individuals with brain injury. The person, entity, or 

organization shall include a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 

of the Code of Virginia, community services board, behavioral 

health authority, private provider, and any other similar or 

related person, entity, or organization. It shall not include any 

individual practitioner who holds a license issued by a health 

regulatory board of the Department of Health Professions or 

who is exempt from licensing pursuant to §§ 54.1-2901, 54.1-

3001, 54.1-3501, 54.1-3601, and 54.1-3701 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Psychosocial rehabilitation service" means a program of two 

or more consecutive hours per day provided to groups of adults 

in a nonresidential setting. Individuals must demonstrate a 

clinical need for the service arising from a condition due to 

mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results in 

significant functional impairments in major life activities. This 

service provides education to teach the individual about mental 

illness, substance abuse, and appropriate medication to avoid 

complication and relapse and opportunities to learn and use 

independent skills and to enhance social and interpersonal 

skills within a consistent program structure and environment. 

Psychosocial rehabilitation includes skills training, peer 

support, vocational rehabilitation, and community resource 

development oriented toward empowerment, recovery, and 

competency. 

"Qualified developmental disability professional" or "QDDP" 

means a person who possesses at least one year of documented 

experience working directly with individuals who have a 

developmental disability and who possesses one of the 

following credentials: (i) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy 

licensed in Virginia, (ii) a registered nurse licensed in Virginia, 

(iii) a licensed occupational therapist, or (iv) completion of at 

least a bachelor's degree in a human services field, including 

sociology, social work, special education, rehabilitation 

counseling, or psychology. 
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"Qualified mental health professional" or "QMHP" means a 

person who by education and experience is professionally 

qualified and registered by the Board of Counseling in 

accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide collaborative 

mental health services for adults or children. A QMHP does 

not engage in independent or autonomous practice. A QMHP 

provides services as an employee or independent contractor of 

the department or a provider licensed by the department. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means a person who by education and experience is 

professionally qualified and registered with the Board of 

Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide 

collaborative mental health services for adults. A QMHP-A 

provides services as an employee or independent contractor of 

the department or a provider licensed by the department. A 

QMHP-A may be an occupational therapist who by education 

and experience is professionally qualified and registered with 

the Board of Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means a person who by education and experience is 

professionally qualified and registered with the Board of 

Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide 

collaborative mental health services for children. A QMHP-C 

provides services as an employee or independent contractor of 

the department or a provider licensed by the department. A 

QMHP-C may be an occupational therapist who by education 

and experience is professionally qualified and registered with 

the Board of Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80. 

"Qualified mental health professional-trainee" or "QMHP-T" 

means a person receiving supervised training in order to 

qualify as a QMHP in accordance with 18VAC115-80 and who 

is registered with the Board of Counseling. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means a person who meets at least one of the following criteria: 

(i) is registered with the United States Psychiatric Association 

(USPRA) as an Associate Psychiatric Rehabilitation Provider 

(APRP); (ii) has an associate degree in a related field (social 

work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, sociology, 

counseling, vocational rehabilitation, human services 

counseling) and at least one year of experience providing direct 

services to individuals with a diagnosis of mental illness; (iii) 

is licensed as an occupational therapy assistant, and supervised 

by a licensed occupational therapist, with at least one year of 

experience providing direct services to individuals with a 

diagnosis of mental illness; or (iv) has a minimum of 90 hours 

classroom training and 12 weeks of experience under the direct 

personal supervision of a QMHP-A providing services to 

individuals with mental illness and at least one year of 

experience, including the 12 weeks of supervised experience. 

"Quality improvement plan" means a detailed work plan 

developed by a provider that defines steps the provider will 

take to review the quality of services it provides and to manage 

initiatives to improve quality. A quality improvement plan 

consists of systematic and continuous actions that lead to 

measurable improvement in the services, supports, and health 

status of the individuals receiving services. 

"Recovery" means a journey of healing and transformation 

enabling an individual with a mental illness to live a 

meaningful life in a community of his choice while striving to 

achieve his full potential. For individuals with substance abuse 

(substance use disorders), recovery is an incremental process 

leading to positive social change and a full return to biological, 

psychological, and social functioning. For individuals with a 

developmental disability, the concept of recovery does not 

apply in the sense that individuals with a developmental 

disability will need supports throughout their entire lives 

although these may change over time. With supports, 

individuals with a developmental disability are capable of 

living lives that are fulfilling and satisfying and that bring 

meaning to themselves and others they know. 

"REACH crisis therapeutic home" or "REACH CTH" means 

a residential home with crisis stabilization REACH service for 

individuals with a developmental disability and who are 

experiencing a mental health or behavior crisis. 

"REACH mobile crisis response" means a REACH service 

that provides mobile crisis response for individuals with a 

developmental disability and who are experiencing a mental 

health or behavior crisis. 

"Referral" means the process of directing an applicant or an 

individual to a provider or service that is designed to provide 

the assistance needed. 

"Regional education assessment crisis services habilitation" 

or "REACH" means the statewide crisis system of care that is 

designed to meet the crisis support needs of individuals who 

have a developmental disability and are experiencing mental 

health or behavior crisis events that put the individuals at risk 

for homelessness, incarceration, hospitalization, or danger to 

self or others. 

"Residential" or "residential service" means providing 24-

hour support in conjunction with care and treatment or a 

training program in a setting other than a hospital or training 

center. Residential services provide a range of living 

arrangements from highly structured and intensively 

supervised to relatively independent and requiring a modest 

amount of staff support and monitoring. Residential services 

include residential treatment, group homes, supervised living, 

community gero-psychiatric residential, ICF/IID, sponsored 

residential homes, medical and social detoxification, and 

neurobehavioral services. 

"Residential crisis stabilization service" means (i) providing 

short-term, intensive treatment to nonhospitalized individuals 

who require multidisciplinary treatment in order to stabilize 

acute psychiatric symptoms and prevent admission to a 

psychiatric inpatient unit; (ii) providing normative 

environments with a high assurance of safety and security for 
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crisis intervention; and (iii) mobilizing the resources of the 

community support system, family members, and others for 

ongoing rehabilitation and recovery. 

"Residential treatment service" means providing an intensive 

and highly structured clinically based mental health, substance 

abuse, or neurobehavioral service for co-occurring disorders in 

a residential setting other than an inpatient service. 

"Respite care service" means providing for a short-term, time-

limited period of care of an individual for the purpose of 

providing relief to the individual's family, guardian, or regular 

caregiver. Persons providing respite care are recruited, trained, 

and supervised by a licensed provider. These services may be 

provided in a variety of settings including residential, day 

support, in-home, or a sponsored residential home. 

"Restraint" means the use of a mechanical device, 

medication, physical intervention, or hands-on hold to prevent 

an individual receiving services from moving his body to 

engage in a behavior that places him or others at imminent risk. 

There are three kinds of restraints: 

1. Mechanical restraint means the use of a mechanical device 

that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict the 

individual's freedom of movement or functioning of a limb 

or portion of an individual's body when that behavior places 

him or others at imminent risk. 

2. Pharmacological restraint means the use of a medication 

that is administered involuntarily for the emergency control 

of an individual's behavior when that individual's behavior 

places him or others at imminent risk and the administered 

medication is not a standard treatment for the individual's 

medical or psychiatric condition. 

3. Physical restraint, also referred to as manual hold, means 

the use of a physical intervention or hands-on hold to prevent 

an individual from moving his body when that individual's 

behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Restraints for behavioral purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or a mechanical device to control behavior 

or involuntarily restrict the freedom of movement of an 

individual in an instance when all of the following conditions 

are met: (i) there is an emergency; (ii) nonphysical 

interventions are not viable; and (iii) safety issues require an 

immediate response. 

"Restraints for medical purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or mechanical device to limit the mobility of 

an individual for medical, diagnostic, or surgical purposes, 

such as routine dental care or radiological procedures and 

related post-procedure care processes, when use of the restraint 

is not the accepted clinical practice for treating the individual's 

condition. 

"Restraints for protective purposes" means using a 

mechanical device to compensate for a physical or cognitive 

deficit when the individual does not have the option to remove 

the device. The device may limit an individual's movement, for 

example, bed rails or a gerichair, and prevent possible harm to 

the individual or it may create a passive barrier, such as a 

helmet to protect the individual. 

"Restriction" means anything that limits or prevents an 

individual from freely exercising his rights and privileges. 

"Risk management" means an integrated system-wide 

program to ensure the safety of individuals, employees, 

visitors, and others through identification, mitigation, early 

detection, monitoring, evaluation, and control of risks. 

"Root cause analysis" means a method of problem solving 

designed to identify the underlying causes of a problem. The 

focus of a root cause analysis is on systems, processes, and 

outcomes that require change to reduce the risk of harm. 

"Screening" means the process or procedure for determining 

whether the individual meets the minimum criteria for initial 

assessment. 

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an individual 

alone in an area secured by a door that is locked or held shut 

by a staff person, by physically blocking the door, or by any 

other physical means so that the individual cannot leave the 

area. 

"Serious incident" means any event or circumstance that 

causes or could cause harm to the health, safety, or well-being 

of an individual. The term "serious incident" includes death 

and serious injury. 

"Level I serious incident" means a serious incident that occurs 

or originates during the provision of a service or on the 

premises of the provider and does not meet the definition of a 

Level II or Level III serious incident. Level I serious incidents 

do not result in significant harm to individuals but may include 

events that result in minor injuries that do not require medical 

attention or events that have the potential to cause serious 

injury, even when no injury occurs. 

"Level II serious incident" means a serious incident that 

occurs or originates during the provision of a service or on the 

premises of the provider that results in a significant harm or 

threat to the health and safety of an individual that does not 

meet the definition of a Level III serious incident. "Level II 

serious incident" includes a significant harm or threat to the 

health or safety of others caused by an individual. Level II 

serious incidents include: 

1. A serious injury; 

2. An individual who is or was missing; 

3. An emergency room visit; 

4. An unplanned psychiatric or unplanned medical hospital 

admission of an individual receiving services other than 

licensed emergency services, except that a psychiatric 

admission in accordance with an individual's wellness plan 
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shall not constitute an unplanned admission for the purposes 

of this chapter; 

5. Choking incidents that require direct physical intervention 

by another person; 

6. Ingestion of any hazardous material; or 

7. A diagnosis of: 

a. A decubitus ulcer or an increase in severity of level of 

previously diagnosed decubitus ulcer; 

b. A bowel obstruction; or 

c. Aspiration pneumonia. 

"Level III serious incident" means a serious incident, whether 

or not the incident occurs while in the provision of a service or 

on the provider's premises, that results in: 

1. Any death of an individual; 

2. A sexual assault of an individual; or 

3. A suicide attempt by an individual admitted for services, 

other than licensed emergency services, that results in a 

hospital admission. 

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 

damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 

licensed physician, doctor of osteopathic medicine, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner. 

"Service" means, as defined by § 37.2-403 of the Code of 

Virginia, (i) planned individualized interventions intended to 

reduce or ameliorate mental illness, developmental disabilities, 

or substance abuse (substance use disorders) through care, 

treatment, training, habilitation, or other supports that are 

delivered by a provider to individuals with mental illness, 

developmental disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use 

disorders). Services include outpatient services, intensive in-

home services, medication assisted medication-assisted opioid 

treatment services, inpatient psychiatric hospitalization, 

community gero-psychiatric residential services, assertive 

community treatment and other clinical services; day support, 

day treatment, partial hospitalization, psychosocial 

rehabilitation, and habilitation services; case management 

services; and supportive residential, special school, halfway 

house, in-home services, crisis stabilization, and other 

residential services; and (ii) planned individualized 

interventions intended to reduce or ameliorate the effects of 

brain injury through care, treatment, or other supports provided 

in residential services for persons with brain injury. 

"Shall" means an obligation to act is imposed. 

"Shall not" means an obligation not to act is imposed. 

"Signed" or "signature" means a handwritten signature, an 

electronic signature, or a digital signature, as long as the signer 

showed clear intent to sign. 

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 

curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 

interventions. These interventions break down complex 

objectives for role performance into simpler components, 

including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 

learning and competency. 

"Sponsored residential home" means a service where 

providers arrange for, supervise, and provide programmatic, 

financial, and service support to families or persons (sponsors) 

providing care or treatment in their own homes for individuals 

receiving services. 

"State methadone authority" means the Virginia Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, which is 

authorized by the federal Center for Substance Abuse 

Treatment to exercise the responsibility and authority for 

governing the treatment of opiate addiction with an opioid 

drug. 

"Substance abuse (substance use disorders)" means, as 

defined by § 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, the use of drugs 

enumerated in the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et 

seq.) without a compelling medical reason or alcohol that (i) 

results in psychological or physiological dependence or danger 

to self or others as a function of continued and compulsive use 

or (ii) results in mental, emotional, or physical impairment that 

causes socially dysfunctional or socially disordering behavior; 

and (iii), because of such substance abuse, requires care and 

treatment for the health of the individual. This care and 

treatment may include counseling, rehabilitation, or medical or 

psychiatric care. 

"Substance abuse intensive outpatient service" or "Level of 

care 2.1" means structured treatment provided to individuals 

who require more intensive services than is normally provided 

in an outpatient service but do not require inpatient services. 

Treatment consists primarily of counseling and education 

about addiction-related and mental health challenges delivered 

a minimum of nine to 19 hours of services per week for adults 

or six to 19 hours of services per week for children and 

adolescents. Within this level of care an individual's needs for 

psychiatric and medical services are generally addressed 

through consultation and referrals. 

"Substance abuse outpatient service" or "Level of care 1.0" 

means a center-based substance abuse treatment delivered to 

individuals for fewer than nine hours of service per week for 

adults or fewer than six hours per week for adolescents on an 

individual, group, or family basis. Substance abuse outpatient 

services may include diagnosis and evaluation, screening and 

intake, counseling, psychotherapy, behavior management, 

psychological testing and assessment, laboratory and other 

ancillary services, medical services, and medication services. 

Substance abuse outpatient service includes substance abuse 

services or an office practice that provides professionally 

directed aftercare, individual, and other addiction services to 

individuals according to a predetermined regular schedule of 
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fewer than nine contact hours a week. Substance abuse 

outpatient service also includes: 

1. Substance abuse services operated by a community 

services board or a behavioral health authority established 

pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 

(§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Substance abuse services contracted by a community 

services board or a behavioral health authority established 

pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 

(§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; or 

3. Substance abuse services that are owned, operated, or 

controlled by a corporation organized pursuant to the 

provisions of either Chapter 9 (§ 13.1-601 et seq.) or Chapter 

10 (§ 13.1-801 et seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Substance abuse partial hospitalization services" or "Level 

of care 2.5" means a short-term, nonresidential substance use 

treatment program provided for a minimum of 20 hours a week 

that uses multidisciplinary staff and is provided for individuals 

who require a more intensive treatment experience than 

intensive outpatient treatment but who do not require 

residential treatment. This level of care is designed to offer 

highly structured intensive treatment to those individuals 

whose condition is sufficiently stable so as not to require 24-

hour-per-day monitoring and care, but whose illness has 

progressed so as to require consistent near-daily treatment 

intervention. 

"Suicide attempt" means a nonfatal, self-directed, potentially 

injurious behavior with an intent to die as a result of the 

behavior regardless of whether it results in injury. 

"Supervised living residential service" means the provision of 

significant direct supervision and community support services 

to individuals living in apartments or other residential settings. 

These services differ from supportive in-home service because 

the provider assumes responsibility for management of the 

physical environment of the residence, and staff supervision 

and monitoring are daily and available on a 24-hour basis. 

Services are provided based on the needs of the individual in 

areas such as food preparation, housekeeping, medication 

administration, personal hygiene, treatment, counseling, and 

budgeting. 

"Supportive in-home service" (formerly supportive 

residential) means the provision of community support 

services and other structured services to assist individuals, to 

strengthen individual skills, and that provide environmental 

supports necessary to attain and sustain independent 

community residential living. Services include drop-in or 

friendly-visitor support and counseling to more intensive 

support, monitoring, training, in-home support, respite care, 

and family support services. Services are based on the needs of 

the individual and include training and assistance. These 

services normally do not involve overnight care by the 

provider; however, due to the flexible nature of these services, 

overnight care may be provided on an occasional basis. 

"Systemic deficiency" means violations of regulations 

documented by the department that demonstrate multiple or 

repeat defects in the operation of one or more services. 

"Telehealth" shall have the same meaning as "telehealth 

services" in § 32.1-122.03:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

“Telemedicine" shall have the same meaning as 

"telemedicine services" in § 38.2-3418.16 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Therapeutic day treatment for children and adolescents" 

means a treatment program that serves (i) children and 

adolescents from birth through 17 years of age and under 

certain circumstances up to 21 years of age with serious 

emotional disturbances, substance use, or co-occurring 

disorders or (ii) children from birth through seven years of age 

who are at risk of serious emotional disturbance, in order to 

combine psychotherapeutic interventions with education and 

mental health or substance abuse treatment. Services include: 

evaluation; medication education and management; 

opportunities to learn and use daily living skills and to enhance 

social and interpersonal skills; and individual, group, and 

family counseling. 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of an individual 

by a staff person from a source of reinforcement to a different, 

open location for a specified period of time or until the problem 

behavior has subsided to discontinue or reduce the frequency 

of problematic behavior. 

"Volunteer" means a person who, without financial 

remuneration, provides services to individuals on behalf of the 

provider. 

"Written," "writing," and "in writing" include any 

representation of words, letters, symbols, numbers, or figures, 

whether (i) printed or inscribed on a tangible medium or (ii) 

stored in an electronic or other medium and retrievable in a 

perceivable form and whether an electronic signature 

authorized by Chapter 42.1 (§ 59.1-479 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of 

the Code of Virginia is or is not affixed. 

Article 9 

Mobile Medication-Assisted Treatment Services 

12VAC35-105-1830. Application for operation of a mobile 

medication-assisted treatment program.  

Each mobile medication-assisted treatment program shall 

operate as a component of a licensed MAT location and shall 

be listed on the provider's license addendum.  

12VAC35-105-1840. Physical security controls; mobile 

MAT programs; storage areas.  

A. For any conveyance operated as a mobile MAT program, 

a safe must be installed and used to store narcotic drugs in 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 5  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 21, 2024  

668 

Schedules II through V for the purpose of maintenance or 

detoxification treatment, when not located at the provider's 

U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registered 

location. The safe shall:  

1. Have the following specifications or the equivalent: 30 

man-minutes against surreptitious entry, 10 man-minutes 

against forced entry, 20 man-hours against lock 

manipulation, and 20 man-hours against radiological 

techniques; 

2. If it weighs less than 750 pounds, be bolted or cemented 

to the floor or wall in such a way that it cannot be readily 

removed; and  

3. Be equipped with an alarm system that, upon attempted 

unauthorized entry, shall transmit a signal directly to a 

central protection company or a local or state police agency 

that has a legal duty to respond or a 24-hour control station 

operated by the DEA registrant.  

B. The controlled substance storage areas shall be accessible 

only to an absolute minimum number of specifically 

authorized employees. When it is necessary for employee 

maintenance personnel, nonemployee maintenance personnel, 

business guests, or visitors to be present in or pass through 

controlled substance storage areas, the registrant shall provide 

for adequate observation of the area by an employee 

specifically authorized in writing.  

C. The storage area for controlled substances in a mobile 

MAT program shall not be accessible from outside of the 

vehicle.  

D. Personnel transporting the controlled substances on behalf 

of the mobile MAT program are required to retain control over 

all controlled substances when transferring the controlled 

substances between the DEA registered location and the 

conveyance, while en route to and from the dispensing 

locations, and when dispensing at the dispensing location. At 

all other times during transportation, all controlled substances 

shall be properly secured in the safe.  

E. Upon completion of the operation of the mobile MAT 

program on a given day, the conveyance shall be immediately 

returned to the DEA registered location, and all controlled 

substances shall be removed from the conveyance and secured 

within the DEA registered location. After the conveyance has 

returned to the DEA registered location and the controlled 

substances have been removed, the conveyance may be parked 

until its next use at the DEA registered location or in any 

secure, fenced-in area once the local DEA office has been 

notified of the location of the secure, fenced-in area.  

F. All mobile MAT programs shall establish a standard 

written operating procedure to ensure, if the mobile MAT 

program becomes inoperable, that all controlled substances on 

the inoperable conveyance are accounted for, removed from 

the inoperable conveyance, and secured at the DEA registered 

location.  

G. With regard to the requirement within subsection E of this 

section, a mobile MAT program may apply to the DEA for an 

exception to this requirement. The application for such an 

exception must be submitted to the DEA in accordance with 21 

CFR 1307.03. If the DEA grants an exception, the provider 

shall be permitted to operate in accordance with that exception. 

The provider shall maintain a record of the exception at the 

DEA registered location and in the mobile MAT program 

conveyance.  

12VAC35-105-1850. Other security controls for mobile 

MATs.  

A. Individuals enrolled in a mobile MAT program shall wait 

in an area that is physically separated from the narcotic storage 

and dispensing area by a physical entrance, such as a door or 

other entryway. Individuals served must wait outside of a 

mobile MAT program component if that conveyance does not 

have seating or a reception area that is separated from the 

narcotic storage and dispensing area. This requirement shall be 

enforced by the provider and all provider employees.  

B. All mobile MAT programs shall comply with standards 

established by the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human 

Services respecting the quantities of narcotic drugs that may be 

provided to persons enrolled in a mobile MAT program for 

unsupervised use.  

C. Provider personnel who are authorized to dispense 

controlled substances for narcotic treatment shall ensure 

proper security measures and patient dosage. The mobile MAT 

program shall comply with U.S. Drug Enforcement 

Administration (DEA) security requirements.  

D. Any controlled substances being transported for disposal 

from the dispensing location of a mobile MAT program shall 

be secured and disposed of in compliance with 21 CFR Part 

1317 and all other applicable federal, state, tribal, and local 

laws and regulations.  

E. A conveyance used as part of a mobile MAT program may 

only be supplied with narcotic drugs by the DEA registered 

MAT that operates the conveyance. No persons permitted to 

dispense controlled substances to a mobile MAT shall:  

1. Receive controlled substances from other mobile MAT 

programs or any other entity; 

2. Deliver controlled substances to other mobile MAT 

programs or any other entity; or  

3. Conduct reverse distribution of controlled substances on 

a mobile MAT program.  
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12VAC35-105-1860. Records for mobile MATs.  

A. A provider of a mobile MAT program shall maintain 

records with the following information for each narcotic 

controlled substance:  

1. Name of substance;  

2. Strength of substance;  

3. Dosage form;  

4. Date dispensed;  

5. Adequate identification of individuals served;  

6. Amount consumed;  

7. Amount and dosage form taken home by individuals 

served; and  

8. Dispenser's initials.  

B. The records required by subsection A of this section shall 

be maintained in a dispensing log at the U.S. Drug 

Enforcement Administration (DEA) registered site of the 

mobile MAT program and shall be maintained in compliance 

with 21 CFR 1304.22 without reference to 21 CFR 1304.03.  

C. As an alternative to maintaining a paper dispensing log, a 

mobile MAT program may also use an automated or 

computerized data processing system for the storage and 

retrieval of program dispensing records if the following 

conditions are met:  

1. The automated system maintains the information required 

in subsection A of this section;  

2. The automated system has the capability of producing a 

hard copy printout of the program's dispensing records;  

3. The mobile MAT program prints a hard copy of each day's 

dispensing log, which is then initialed appropriately by each 

person who dispensed medication to individuals served;  

4. The automated system is approved by DEA;  

5. The mobile MAT program maintains an offsite back-up 

of all computer-generated program information; and  

6. The automated system is capable of producing accurate 

summary reports for both the DEA registered site of the 

mobile MAT program and any mobile MAT program for any 

timeframe selected by department personnel during an 

investigation. If these summary reports are maintained in 

hard copy form, they must be kept in a systematically 

organized file located at the DEA registered site of the 

mobile MAT program.  

D. The provider shall retain all records for a minimum of six 

years following the last patient encounter in accordance with § 

54.1-2910.4 of the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC35-105-1870. Physical plant exemption for mobile 

MATs.  

Mobile MAT program locations are exempt from physical 

plant requirements located within 12VAC35-105-260 through 

12VAC35-105-380.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7415; Filed September 26, 2024, 3:06 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC35-190. Regulations for 

Voluntary Admissions to State Training Centers (repealing 

12VAC35-190-10 through 12VAC35-190-51). 

12VAC35-200. Regulations for Emergency and Respite 

Care Admission to State Training Centers (amending 

12VAC35-200-10, 12VAC35-200-20; adding 12VAC35-

200-35, 12VAC35-200-45, 12VAC35-200-50, 12VAC35-

200-55; repealing 12VAC35-200-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-807 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 5, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building 1220 Bank Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 

371-4609, TDD (804) 371-8977, or email 

ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

to promulgate regulations that may be necessary to carry out 

the provisions of Title 37.2 and other laws of the 

Commonwealth administered by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) or its 

commissioner. 

Purpose: Even with a dramatic reduction in training center 

admissions, as long as the Commonwealth continues to 

provide training center services, a regulation is needed to 

address admission procedures. The purpose of this regulatory 

action is to bring all regulatory language pertaining to 

admissions to DBHDS training centers into one regulatory 

chapter to provide clarity and ease of use. Also, amendments 

are made to reflect current admissions practices. The 

streamlining of the regulatory language for clarity and the 

update for current practices help to ensure the health, safety, 

and welfare of individuals needing services by facilitating staff 

understanding of the processes for efficient delivery of 

services. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is noncontroversial because it is merely combining 

existing language in two chapters into one for ease of use 

regarding training center admissions. No part of the code-

mailto:@ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov
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mandated process or regulatory process is removed. There is 

only one substantive change in the hours for consideration of 

an emergency admission, and that is a reflection of current 

practice for the past several years. 

Substance: This action merges two chapters into one through 

amendments to Chapter 200 and the repeal of Chapter 190 in 

order to provide clarity and ease of use. Specifically, the 

definition of respite care is removed as any respite admissions 

only occur for situations that are emergencies, and thus are 

captured under the definition of an emergency admission. 

Current practices are reflected to demonstrate that (i) during 

the application process, the community service board (CSB) 

consults with DBHDS and makes a referral to the regional 

support team (RST) requesting an emergency meeting, and the 

CSB is expected to pursue all recommendations made by the 

RST, consulting with the department and requesting an 

emergency admission to the training center only after it is 

determined that emergency admission is still necessary; (ii) the 

response time for the department to let the CSB know if the 

admission is accepted is changed from 24 hours to 72 hours, 

which provides time for part-time psychiatric staff consultation 

with the interdisciplinary team to review all documentation and 

thoroughly evaluate the request; and (iii) the CSB shall work 

with the DBHDS community integration managers and 

training center staff to develop a discharge plan after 

emergency admission as provided in §§ 37.2-505 and 37.2-837 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this action to the public is 

that it brings all regulatory language pertaining to admissions 

to DBHDS training centers into one regulatory chapter to 

provide clarity and ease of use by individuals needing or 

receiving training center services and the authorized 

representatives of those individuals. As the action does not add 

additional burden or remove protections for individuals, there 

are no disadvantages to the public. The primary advantage to 

the Commonwealth is that the regulatory language is reflective 

of current practice and all admissions language is in one 

chapter. There are no disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of a periodic review2 and Executive Directive 1 (2022)3 

the State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (board) has adopted a fast-track rulemaking action to 

merge 12VAC35-190 into 12VAC35-200, and repeal 

12VAC35-190, in order to streamline and clarify the 

regulation; other changes would update the regulation to reflect 

current practice. 

Background. State training centers are a type of residential 

facility operated by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) that provides highly 

structured habilitation services, including life in a residential 

neighborhood, care support or training, and learning 

opportunities in areas such as employment, communication, 

language, self-care, independent living, socialization, 

recreation, leisure, music, academic skills, and motor 

development for individuals with intellectual and 

developmental disabilities. This regulatory action combines 

two existing regulatory chapters that address admissions to 

state training centers by repealing Regulations for Voluntary 

Admissions to State Training Centers (12VAC35-190) and 

amending Regulations for Emergency and Respite Care 

Admission to State Training Centers (12VAC35-200) to 

incorporate most of the language from 12VAC35-190 in order 

to streamline the regulation; other changes would update 

regulatory language to reflect current practice. DBHDS reports 

that as a result of the U.S. Department of Justice Settlement 

Agreement with Virginia,4 the expansion of intellectual and 

developmental disability waiver slots, and increased rates of 

service for private providers, respite service for nonemergent 

care has not been utilized at training centers for several years.5 

DBHDS also reports that training center admission is rarely a 

part of "emergency need" discussions due to increased 

community capacity and other improvements within the 

service system that make it easier to meet emergency 

residential needs. As a result, there was one respite or 

emergency admission to a state training facility in 2017 and 

four in 2018 (four of these five admissions in 2017-2018 were 

for the same individual); no respite or emergency admissions 

have occurred since that time.6 Further, while there used to be 

five state training centers, since April 2020 there has been only 

one training center, the Southeastern Virginia Training Center 

located in Chesapeake.7 To reflect these changes, the title of 

the combined 12VAC35-200 would be changed to 

"Regulations for Voluntary and Emergency Admission to State 

Training Centers." References to respite care (short-term relief 

for primary caregivers) would be removed from the title and 

the regulatory text because, in practice, such admissions only 

occur in emergency situations.8 12VAC35-200-20 and 

12VAC35-200-30, which address applications for respite care 

admissions and emergency admissions, respectively, would be 

substantively combined under the new 12VAC35-200-45 A. 

12VAC35-200-20 would be retitled "Requests for Admission" 

and amended to state that all (emergency and voluntary) 

requests for admission to a training center shall be processed 

through the community services board (CSB) and that the CSB 

must consult with DBHDS, make a referral to the regional 

support team (RST), and follow up on all recommendations 

made by the RST. The current text does not involve DBHDS 

and directs CSBs to consult with the RST; this change reflects 

current practice, which has evolved to direct placements 

toward the least restrictive settings that could sufficiently meet 

the individual needs. This change is reiterated for emergency 

admissions in the new 12VAC35-200-45 A and for voluntary 
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admissions under 12VAC35-200-45 B. The new 12VAC35-

200-45 A also differs from the requirements currently in 

12VAC35-200-30 by increasing the response time for DBHDS 

to notify the CSB if an emergency admission is accepted from 

"within 24 hours" to "as quickly as possible but no later than 

72 hours." DBHDS reports that this change would address the 

use of part-time psychiatric staff by providing them time to 

consult with the interdisciplinary team, review all 

documentation, and thoroughly evaluate the request. For 

instance, this change would give the training center staff 

adequate time to receive all the documentation for a request 

made on a Friday, and then make a decision by the following 

Monday. In addition, DBHDS reports that designated staff 

work closely with the CSBs to provide guidance and support 

with identifying resources needed to ensure the provision of 

appropriate care and services for individuals, including those 

who may be in need of emergency placement. That staff would 

be a part of those discussions and able to communicate with all 

stakeholders if someone was at imminent risk of harm and the 

72-hour timeframe would jeopardize health and safety. Other 

changes to 12VAC35-200 include adding a definition for the 

term "community integration manager" or "CIM" to reference 

the DBHDS central office position physically located at the 

one remaining training center. This position provides support 

and direction for all aspects of the individual's transition to the 

community including addressing identified barriers to 

discharge. 12VAC35-200-45 A would include a requirement 

that, "If for any reason a person admitted to a training center 

for emergency services is not discharged at the agreed upon 

time, the CSB shall work with the CIM and training center staff 

to develop a discharge plan as provided in §§ 37.2-505 and 

37.2-837 of the Code of Virginia." In merging 12VAC35-190 

into 12VAC35-200, a definition of "licensed professional" 

currently in 12VAC35-190 would also be added to the 

definitions in 12VAC35-200, and the requirements for 

application for voluntary admission in 12VAC35-200-21 

would be added to 12VAC35-200-45 B.9 12VAC35-200-45 B 

would contain one new requirement that the preadmission 

screening report for voluntary admission include, "A statement 

from the CSB that the appropriate arrangements are being 

made to work with the individual and the family member or 

authorized representative to continue exploring opportunities 

to discharge the individual to a less restrictive setting." Lastly, 

12VAC35-190-30 (Criteria for admission), 12VAC35-190-41 

(Requests for reconsideration of the director's determination), 

and 12VAC35-190-51 (Judicial certification) would be added 

as 12VAC35-200-35, 12VAC35-200-50, and 12VAC35-200-

55, respectively. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

would benefit families and caregivers, and their 

representatives, by streamlining the regulation, removing 

redundant language, and reflecting changes to current practice, 

which were implemented to enable placements in the least 

restrictive community settings. On the other hand, individuals 

or families seeking emergency placement at a training center 

may experience a longer wait time for a determination from the 

training center, from 24 hours to 72 hours, which could result 

in costs to them as they may have to provide more intensive or 

expensive care at home. However, such costs would be 

mitigated by CSB ability to place individuals in settings other 

than the training center, possibly sooner. This growth in the 

capacity for community placement, even for emergency and 

respite care, is evidenced by the lack of such placements at a 

training center since 2019. CSB staff could face a modest 

increase in their workload from (i) coordinating with DBHDS 

and the RST in response to a request for emergency or 

voluntary admission, (ii) working with the CIM to develop a 

discharge plan for emergency admissions who are not 

discharged at the agreed upon time, and (iii) working on 

discharging voluntary admissions to a less restrictive setting, 

as required by the additional statement to be included in the 

preadmission screening report. However, to the extent that the 

proposed changes reflect current practice, these costs are likely 

already being incurred. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As described, the 

proposed changes would primarily affect individuals and their 

caregivers seeking emergency or voluntary admission to a 

training center. The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess 

whether an adverse impact may result from the proposed 

regulation.10 An adverse impact is indicated if there is any 

increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for any entity, 

even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined.11 

Because the proposed amendments could potentially result in 

a longer wait time for emergency admission to a training 

center, which could result in costs for affected families, an 

adverse impact is indicated. However, as noted, such costs 

would be mitigated by the investments in community 

placement options that have already been made. 

Small Businesses12 Affected.13 The proposed amendments 

would not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities14 Affected.15 No locality would be 

disproportionately affected. Local governments would not 

incur new costs. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

does not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to affect the value of private 

property. Real estate development costs would not be affected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See the periodic review associated with 12VAC35-190 here: 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2076. See also the 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2076
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periodic review associated with 12VAC35-200: https://townhall.virginia.gov/ 

L/viewpreview.cfm?PRID=2077. 

3 ED 1, which was issued on January 15, 2022, directs executive branch 

agencies "to initiate regulatory processes to reduce by at least 25% the number 

of regulations not mandated by federal or state statute. See 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-

virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf. ED 1 was subsequently 

amended and reenacted by Executive Order 19 (2022) to "require a 25% 

reduction in regulatory requirements instead of a reduction in regulations." See 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-

Agency-Regulations.pdf. 

4 See https://dbhds.virginia.gov/doj-settlement-agreement/ for background 

information. 

5 See page 1 of the Economic Review Form: https://townhall.virginia.gov/ 

L/GetFile.cfm?File=65\6286\10076\ORM_EconomicImpact_DBHDS_10076

_v3.pdf. 

6 DBHDS further reports that only two emergency requests have been received 

since 2020 and they were both denied in favor of alternative placements 

because the leadership team determined that the training center was not an 

appropriate residential option to meet their care and support needs. 

7 See https://dbhds.virginia.gov/about-dbhds/facilities/. 

8 See page 3 of the Agency Background Document (ABD): 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=65\6286\10076\AgencyStat

ement_DBHDS_10076_v2.pdf. 

9 This language here would be similarly updated as for 12VAC35-200-45 A. 

to require CSBs to consult with DBHDS and make a referral to the RST, 

specifying that, "The CSB shall pursue all recommendations made by the RST. 

If it is determined that a voluntary admission is still necessary, the CSB shall 

consult with the department and request an admission to the training center." 

10 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

11 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

12 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

13 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

14 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

15 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

As a result of periodic review, the amendments (i) repeal 

Regulations for Voluntary Admissions to State Training 

Centers (12VAC35-190) and move some provisions from 

12VAC35-190 into 12VAC35-200; (ii) change the 

application process so that the community service board 

(CSB) consults with the Department of Behavioral Health 

And Developmental Services (department) and makes a 

referral to the regional support team (RST) requesting an 

emergency meeting, and the CSB is expected to pursue all 

recommendations made by the RST, consulting with the 

department and requesting an emergency admission to the 

training center only after it is determined that emergency 

admission is still necessary; (iii) increase to 72 hours the 

amount of time the department has to let the CSB know if 

the admission is accepted, which provides time for part-

time psychiatric staff, in consultation with the 

interdisciplinary team, to review all documentation and 

thoroughly evaluate the request; and (iv) require that the 

CSB work with the department's community integration 

managers and training center staff to develop a discharge 

plan after emergency admission. 

Chapter 200 

Regulations for Voluntary and Emergency and Respite Care 

Admission to State Training Centers 

12VAC35-200-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Admission" means acceptance of an individual in a training 

center. 

"Authorized representative" or "AR" means a person 

permitted by law or regulations regulation to authorize the 

disclosure of information or to consent to treatment and 

services or participation in human research. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Community integration manager" or "CIM" means the 

DBHDS Central Office position physically located at the 

training center that is responsible for coordinating the 

implementation of policies, procedures, regulations, and other 

initiatives related to ensuring that each individual residing in a 

training center is served in the most integrated setting 

appropriate to meet the individual's needs and desires. This 

position provides support and direction for all aspects of the 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewpreview.cfm?PRID=2077
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewpreview.cfm?PRID=2077
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-Agency-Regulations.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-Agency-Regulations.pdf
https://dbhds.virginia.gov/doj-settlement-agreement/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=65/6286/10076/ORM_EconomicImpact_DBHDS_10076_v3.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=65/6286/10076/ORM_EconomicImpact_DBHDS_10076_v3.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=65/6286/10076/ORM_EconomicImpact_DBHDS_10076_v3.pdf
https://dbhds.virginia.gov/about-dbhds/facilities/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=65/6286/10076/AgencyStatement_DBHDS_10076_v2.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=65/6286/10076/AgencyStatement_DBHDS_10076_v2.pdf
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individual's transition to the community, including addressing 

identified barriers to discharge. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means a public body 

established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of Virginia that 

provides mental health, developmental, and substance abuse 

services to individuals within each city and county that 

established it. For the purpose of this chapter, CSB also 

includes a behavioral health authority established pursuant to 

§ 37.2-602 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department" or "DBHDS" means the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Discharge plan" means a written plan prepared by the CSB 

providing case management, in consultation with the training 

center pursuant to §§ 37.2-505 and 37.2-837 of the Code of 

Virginia. This plan is prepared when the individual is admitted 

to the training center and documents the services to be 

provided upon discharge. 

"Emergency admission" means the temporary acceptance of 

an individual with an intellectual disability into a training 

center when immediate care is necessary and no other 

community alternatives are available. 

"Guardian" means: 

1. For minors --, an adult who is either appointed by the court 

as a legal guardian of a minor or exercises the rights and 

responsibilities of legal custody by delegation from a 

biological or adoptive parent upon provisional adoption or 

otherwise by operation of law. 

2. For adults --, a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for the personal affairs of an incapacitated adult 

under the order of appointment. The responsibilities may 

include making decisions regarding the individual's support, 

care, health, safety, habilitation, education, and therapeutic 

treatment. Refer to definition of "incapacitated person" at 

§ 64.2-2000 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Individual" means a person with an intellectual disability for 

whom services are sought. This term includes the terms 

"consumer," "patient," "resident," and "client." 

"Intellectual disability" means a disability originating before 

the age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) 

significant subaverage intellectual functioning as 

demonstrated by performance on a standardized measure of 

intellectual functioning administered in conformity with 

accepted professional practice that is at least two standard 

deviations below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in 

adaptive behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and 

practical adaptive skills. 

"Less restrictive setting" means the service location that is no 

more intrusive or restrictive of freedom than reasonably 

necessary to achieve a substantial therapeutic benefit and 

protection from harm (to self and others) based on an 

individual's needs. 

"Licensed professional" means a licensed psychologist, 

licensed professional counselor, or other individual who holds 

a valid professional license and has appropriate training in 

intellectual testing. 

"Regional support team" or "RST" means a group of 

professionals with expertise in serving individuals with 

developmental disabilities in the community appointed by the 

commissioner or the commissioner's designee who provide 

recommendations to support placement in the most integrated 

setting appropriate to an individual's needs and consistent with 

the individual's informed choice. 

"Respite care" means care provided to an individual with an 

intellectual disability on a short-term basis because of the 

emergency absence of or need to provide routine or periodic 

relief of the primary caregiver for the individual. Services are 

specifically designed to provide temporary, substitute care for 

that which is normally provided by the primary caregiver. 

"Training center" means a facility operated by the department 

that provides training, habilitation, or other individually 

focused supports to persons with intellectual disabilities. 

12VAC35-200-20. Respite care admission Requests for 

admission. 

A. Applications for respite care in Requests for admission to 

a training centers center shall be processed through the CSB 

providing case management. A parent, guardian, or authorized 

representative seeking respite care admission to a training 

center for an individual with an intellectual disability shall 

apply first to the CSB that serves the area where the individual, 

or, if the individual is a minor, where the minor's parent or 

guardian is currently residing. The CSB shall consult with the 

RST prior to preparing an application for respite care. If the 

CSB, in consultation with the RST, determines that respite care 

for the individual is not available in the community, the CSB 

shall forward an application to a training center serving 

individuals with intellectual disabilities DBHDS, make a 

referral to the RST, and follow up on all recommendations 

made by the RST. 

The application shall include: 

1. An application for services; 

2. A medical history indicating the presence of any current 

medical problems as well as the presence of any known 

communicable disease. In all cases, the application shall 

include any currently prescribed medications as well as any 

known medication allergies; 

3. A social history and current housing or living 

arrangements; 

4. A psychological evaluation that reflects the individual's 

current functioning; 
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5. A current individualized education plan for school-aged 

individuals unless the training center director or designee 

determines that sufficient information as to the individual's 

abilities and needs is included in other reports received; 

6. A vocational assessment for adults unless the training 

center director or designee determines that sufficient 

information as to the individual's abilities and needs is 

included in other reports received; 

7. A statement from the CSB that respite care is not available 

in the community for the individual; 

8. A statement from the CSB that the appropriate 

arrangements are being made to return the individual to the 

CSB within the timeframe required under this chapter; and 

9. A statement from the individual, a family member, or 

authorized representative specifically requesting services in 

the training center. 

B. Determination of eligibility for respite care services shall 

be based upon the following criteria: 

1. The individual has a diagnosis of intellectual disability 

and meets the training center's regular admission criteria; 

2. The individual's needs are such that, in the event of a need 

for temporary care, respite care would not be available in a 

less restrictive setting; and 

3. The training center has appropriate resources to meet the 

needs of the individual. 

By the end of the next working day following receipt of a 

complete application package, the training center director or 

the director's designee, in consultation with the assistant 

commissioner responsible for the training center or the 

director's designee, shall provide written notice of the director's 

decision to the CSB. This notice shall state the reasons for the 

decision. 

If it is determined that the individual is not eligible for respite 

care, the person seeking respite care may ask for 

reconsideration of the decision by submitting a written request 

for such reconsideration to the commissioner. Upon receipt of 

such request, the commissioner or designee shall notify the 

training center director, and the training center director shall 

forward the application packet and related information to the 

commissioner or designee within 48 hours. The commissioner 

or designee shall provide an opportunity for the person seeking 

respite care to submit for consideration any additional 

information or reasons as to why the admission should be 

approved. The commissioner shall render a written decision on 

the request for reconsideration within 10 days of the receipt of 

such request and notify all involved parties. The 

commissioner's decision shall be binding. 

C. Respite care shall be provided in training centers under the 

following conditions: 

1. The length of the respite care stay at the training center 

shall not exceed the limits established in § 37.2-807 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

2. Space and adequate staff coverage are available on a 

residential living area with an appropriate peer group for the 

individual and suitable resources to meet his needs; and 

3. The training center has resources to meet the individual's 

health care needs during the scheduled respite stay as 

determined by a physical examination performed by the 

training center's health service personnel at the time of the 

respite admission. 

If for any reason a person admitted for respite care is not 

discharged at the agreed upon time, the CSB shall develop an 

updated discharge plan as provided in §§ 37.2-505 and 37.2-

837 of the Code of Virginia. 

Respite shall not be used as a mechanism to circumvent the 

voluntary admissions procedures as provided in § 37.2-806 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

12VAC35-200-30. Emergency admission. (Repealed.) 

A. In the event of a change in an individual's circumstances 

necessitating immediate, short-term care for an individual with 

an intellectual disability, a parent, guardian, or authorized 

representative may request emergency admission by calling 

the CSB serving the area where the individual, or in the case 

of a minor, the minor's parent or guardian resides. Under these 

circumstances if the CSB, in consultation with the RST, 

determines that services for the individual are not available in 

the community, the CSB may request an emergency admission 

to a training center serving individuals with intellectual 

disabilities. 

The CSB shall make every effort to obtain the same case 

information required for respite admissions, as described in 

12VAC35-200-20 A, before the training center assumes 

responsibility for the care of the individual in need of 

emergency services. However, if the information is not 

available, this requirement may temporarily be waived if, and 

only if, arrangements have been made for receipt of the 

required information within 48 hours of the emergency 

admission. 

B. Acceptance for emergency admission shall be based upon 

the following criteria: 

1. A change in the individual's circumstances has occurred 

requiring immediate alternate arrangements to protect the 

individual's health and safety;  

2. The individual has a diagnosis of an intellectual disability 

and meets the training center's regular admissions criteria;  

3. All other alternate care resources in the community have 

been explored and found to be unavailable;  
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4. Space is available on a residential living area with 

appropriate resources to meet the individual's needs; 

5. The training center's health services personnel have 

determined that the individual's health care needs can be met 

by the training center's resources; and 

6. The length of the emergency stay at the training center 

shall not exceed the limits established in § 37.2-807 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

C. Within 24 hours of receiving a request for emergency 

admission, the training center director or the director's 

designee, in consultation with the assistant commissioner 

responsible for the training center or his designee, shall inform 

the CSB whether the individual is eligible for emergency 

admission and whether the training center is able to provide 

emergency services. 

If the training center is able to provide emergency services, 

arrangements shall be made to effect the admission as soon as 

possible. 

If the training center is unable to provide emergency services 

to an eligible individual, the training center director or 

designee shall provide written notice of this determination to 

the CSB and may offer in consultation with department staff to 

try to obtain emergency services from another appropriate 

facility. 

If for any reason a person admitted to a training center for 

emergency services is not discharged at the agreed upon time, 

the CSB shall develop a discharge plan as provided in §§ 37.2-

505 and 37.2-837 of the Code of Virginia. 

12VAC35-200-35. Criteria for admission.  

A. Acceptance for admission shall be based upon the 

following criteria:  

1. Receipt of a completed preadmission screening report;  

2. The individual has a diagnosis of an intellectual disability 

made by a licensed professional;  

3. All other alternate care resources in the community have 

been explored and found to be unavailable;  

4. Space is available in a residential living area with 

appropriate resources to meet the individual's needs; and 

5. The training center's health services personnel have 

determined that the individual's health care needs can be met 

by the training center's resources. 

B. If the request is for an emergency admission:  

1. There must be documentation of a change in the 

individual's circumstances requiring immediate alternate 

arrangements to protect the individual; and 

2. The length of the emergency stay at the training center 

shall not exceed the limits established in § 37.2-807 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

12VAC35-200-45. Application for admission.  

A. Application for emergency admission. 

1. In the event of a change in circumstances necessitating 

immediate, short-term care for an individual with an 

intellectual disability, a parent, guardian, or authorized 

representative may request emergency admission by 

contacting the CSB serving the area where the individual or, 

in the case of a minor, the minor's parent or guardian resides. 

The CSB shall consult with DBHDS, make a referral to the 

regional support team (RST), and request an emergency 

meeting. The CSB shall pursue all recommendations made 

by the RST. If it is determined that emergency admission is 

still necessary, the CSB shall consult with the department 

and request an emergency admission to the training center. 

2. The CSB shall make every effort to obtain the information 

required as described in subdivision 3 of this subsection 

before the training center assumes responsibility for the care 

of the individual in need of emergency services. 

3. The preadmission screening report requesting emergency 

admission shall include: 

a. An application for services; 

b. A medical history indicating the presence of any current 

medical problems as well as the presence of any known 

communicable disease. In all cases, the application shall 

include any currently prescribed medications as well as 

any known medication allergies; 

c. A social history and current housing or living 

arrangements; 

d. A psychological evaluation that reflects the individual's 

current functioning; 

e. A current individualized education plan for school-age 

individuals, unless the training center director or designee 

determines that sufficient information as to the 

individual's abilities and needs is included in other reports 

received; 

f. A vocational assessment for adults, unless the training 

center director or designee determines that sufficient 

information as to the individual's abilities and needs is 

included in other reports received; 

g. A statement from the CSB that the appropriate 

arrangements are being made to discharge the individual 

to a less restrictive setting within the timeframe required 

under this chapter; and 

h. A statement from the individual, a family member, or 

authorized representative specifically requesting services 

in the training center. 
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4. If the information in subdivision 3 of this subsection is not 

available, this requirement may be temporarily waived if 

arrangements have been made for receipt of the required 

information within 48 hours of the emergency admission. 

5. As quickly as possible but no later than 72 hours after 

receiving a request for emergency admission, the training 

center director or the director's designee shall inform the 

CSB whether the individual is eligible for emergency 

admission and whether the training center is able to provide 

emergency services. 

6. If an emergency admission is appropriate, and the training 

center is able to provide emergency services, arrangements 

shall be made to effect the admission as soon as possible. 

7. If for any reason a person admitted to a training center for 

emergency services is not discharged at the agreed upon 

time, the CSB shall work with the CIM and training center 

staff to develop a discharge plan as provided in §§ 37.2-505 

and 37.2-837 of the Code of Virginia. 

8. If an emergency admission is appropriate, and the training 

center is unable to provide emergency services to an eligible 

individual, the training center director or the training center 

director's designee shall provide written notice of this 

determination to the CSB and may offer, in consultation with 

department staff, to try to obtain emergency services from 

another appropriate facility. 

B. Application for voluntary admission. 

1. Prior to making a request for voluntary admission, the 

CSB shall consult with DBHDS and make a referral to the 

RST. The CSB shall pursue all recommendations made by 

the RST. If it is determined that a voluntary admission is still 

necessary, the CSB shall consult with the department and 

request an admission to the training center. 

2. If the CSB, after following up on all recommendations 

made by the RST, determines that the services the individual 

needs are not available in the community or the individual 

chooses to obtain services in the state training center, the 

CSB shall consult with DBHDS and forward an application 

and a preadmission screening report, pursuant to § 37.2-806 

B of the Code of Virginia, to the training center. 

3. The preadmission screening report requesting voluntary 

admission shall include: 

a. An application for services; 

b. A medical history indicating the presence of any current 

medical problems as well as the presence of any known 

communicable disease. In all cases, the application shall 

include any currently prescribed medications as well as 

any known medication allergies; 

c. A social history and current housing or living 

arrangements; 

d. A psychological evaluation that reflects the individual's 

current functioning; 

e. A current individualized education plan for school-age 

individuals, unless the training center director or designee 

determines that sufficient information as to the 

individual's abilities and needs is included in other reports 

received; 

f. A vocational assessment for adults, unless the training 

center director or designee determines that sufficient 

information as to the individual's abilities and needs is 

included in other reports received; 

g. A statement from the CSB that the appropriate 

arrangements are being made to work with the individual 

and the family member or authorized representative to 

continue exploring opportunities to discharge the 

individual to a less restrictive setting; and 

h. A statement from the individual, a family member, or 

authorized representative specifically requesting services 

in the training center. 

4. Upon the receipt of a completed preadmission screening 

report, the training center director or the director's designee 

shall determine eligibility for voluntary admission based 

upon the admissions criteria.  

5. Within 10 business days from the receipt of the completed 

preadmission screening report, the training center director or 

designee shall provide to the CSB the written decision on the 

request for voluntary admission. If the training center 

director, in consultation with the assistant commissioner 

responsible for the training center or the assistant 

commissioner's designee, finds that admission is not 

appropriate, the training center director shall state the 

reasons in a written decision and may recommend an 

alternative location for needed services. 

12VAC35-200-50. Requests for reconsideration of the 

director's determination.  

In the event that (i) the CSB making the request for admission 

or (ii) the parent, guardian, or authorized representative 

applying on behalf of an individual disagrees with the 

determination of the director, either party may request a 

reconsideration of the determination by submitting a request in 

writing to the commissioner within 10 business days of 

receiving such determination. Upon receipt of a request for 

reconsideration, the commissioner shall notify the training 

center director, and the training center director shall forward 

the preadmission screening report package and related 

information to the commissioner within 48 hours. The 

commissioner shall also provide an opportunity for the 

individual requesting reconsideration to submit for review any 

additional information or reasons why the admission should be 

approved. The commissioner shall render a written decision on 

the request for reconsideration within 30 calendar days of the 
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receipt of the request and notify all involved parties. The 

commissioner's decision shall be binding. 

12VAC35-200-55. Judicial certification.  

Upon receipt of written notification from the training center 

director that an individual is eligible for voluntary admission, 

or if the individual will not be discharged within the required 

timeframe following an emergency admission, the CSB shall 

inform the individual and the individual's parent, guardian, or 

authorized representative of this decision and assist the parent, 

guardian, or authorized representative in initiating a judicial 

proceeding pursuant to § 37.2-806 of the Code of Virginia. 

When the judge has certified that the individual is eligible for 

admission to a training center in accordance with § 37.2-806 F 

of the Code of Virginia, a date for admission to the training 

center shall be established. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7470; Filed September 17, 2024, 2:12 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

VIRGINIA MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC6-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 13VAC6-11-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 36-85.18 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 5, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jeff Brown, Director, State Building Codes 

Office, Department of Housing and Community Development, 

Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-7161, FAX (804) 371-7092, or 

email jeff.brown@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Virginia Manufactured Housing Board (board) has 

authority to promulgate regulations through § 36-85.36 of the 

Code of Virginia and amends 13VAC6-11 pursuant to § 2.2-

4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, which requires an agency, 

pursuant to its public participation guidelines, to afford 

interested persons an opportunity to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representatives when 

submitting data, views, or arguments on a regulatory action 

promulgated by the board. 

Purpose: This regulatory change is essential to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of citizens by requiring the board to 

provide an opportunity for the public to be represented by 

counsel or other representatives when submitting data, views, 

or arguments on a regulatory action promulgated by the board. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action conforms 13VAC6-11, Public Participation Guidelines, 

to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, which amended 

§ 2.2-4007.02 B of the Code of Virginia on public participation 

guidelines. This action is not expected to be controversial 

because it is mandated by statute. 

Substance: The amendment provides that interested persons 

may be accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representatives when submitting data, views, or arguments on 

a regulatory action promulgated by the board. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action for the 

public and the agency is that it provides the public with the 

opportunity to be represented by counsel or other 

representatives when submitting data, views, or arguments on 

a regulatory action promulgated by the board. There are no 

disadvantages to the public, the agency, or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of the Assembly,2 the 

Manufactured Housing Board (board) proposes to specify in 

this regulation that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative when submitting data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency. 

Background. Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of the Assembly 

added § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, Public 

participation guidelines, which states that interested persons 

also be afforded an opportunity to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative. The current 

Public Participation Guidelines state that: "In considering any 

nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory action, the agency shall 

afford interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, 

and arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency." Due 

to the legislation, the Board proposes to append "and (ii) be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative." 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Since the Code of Virginia 

already specifies that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative, the board's proposal to add this 

language to the regulation will not change the law in effect, but 

would be beneficial in that it would inform interested parties 

who read this regulation but not the statute of their legal rights 

concerning representation. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment could affect persons who read the regulation, but 
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not the statute, in that they would be better informed on legal 

rights concerning representation. The Code of Virginia 

requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result 

from the proposed regulation.3 An adverse impact is indicated 

if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for 

any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined.4 The proposal neither increases costs nor reduces 

benefit for any entity. Thus, no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 The proposed amendment does 

not adversely affect small businesses.  

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendment neither 

disproportionately affects any particular localities, nor 

introduces costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not substantively affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendment does not affect the use and value of private 

property or real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil. 

3 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

4 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

6 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

8 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Manufactured Housing Board concurs with the analysis and 

findings in the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

13VAC6-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall. 

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide copies 

of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and issues; the 

economic impact analysis of the proposed or fast-track 

regulatory action; and the agency's response to public 

comments received. 

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments. 

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows: 

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA). 

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation. 

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation. 

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation. 

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation. 

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review. 

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking. 
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C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended. 

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, he 

the Governor may require the agency to provide an additional 

30 calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia. 

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on the 

proposed regulation at least five days before final adoption of 

the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7680; Filed September 24, 2024, 1:33 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-60. Administrative 

Regulation for the Virginia Occupational Safety and 

Health Program (amending 16VAC25-60-240). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Cristin Bernhardt, Regulatory Coordinator 

and Staff Attorney, Department of Labor and Industry, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-2392, FAX (804) 786-2641, or email 

cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The federal Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration promulgated the Worker Walkaround 

Representative Designation Procedures that were 

published at 29 CFR Part 1903. The amendments (i) 

remove the requirement that the representative authorized 

by the employees to attend an inspection must be an 

employee of the employer and the listing of industrial 

hygienist and safety engineer as the two examples of 

potential third-party accompaniments and (ii) provide a 

description of the qualifications necessary for a 

compliance safety and health officer to allow the third 

party to accompany the inspection. Amendments to the 

Worker Walkaround Representative Designation 

Procedures were published on May 31, 2024. This action 

incorporates these changes into the Virginia general 

industry standards. 

16VAC25-60-240. Walkthrough. 

Walkthrough by the commissioner for the inspection of any 

workplace includes the following privileges. 

1. The commissioner shall be in charge of the inspection and, 

as part of an inspection, may question privately any 

employer, owner, operator, agent, or employee. The 

commissioner shall conduct the interviews of persons during 

the inspection or at other convenient times. The 

commissioner may take and preserve testimony, examine 

witnesses, and administer oaths as provided for in 

16VAC25-60-245. 

2. As part of an inspection, the commissioner may take or 

obtain photographs, video recordings, audio recordings, and 

samples of materials, and employ other reasonable 

investigative techniques as deemed appropriate. As used 

here, the term "employ other reasonable investigative 

techniques" includes, but is not limited to, the use of devices 

to measure employee exposures and the attachment of 

personal sampling equipment such as dosimeters, pumps, 

badges, and other devices to employees in order to monitor 

their exposures. 

3. Any employee The representative selected to authorized 

by employees may be an employee of the employer or a third 

party. When the representative authorized by the employees 

is not an employee of the employer, the representative may 

accompany the commissioner during the inspection of the 

workplace shall be an employee of the employer if, in the 

judgment of the commissioner, good cause has been shown 

why accompaniment by a third party is reasonably necessary 

to the conduct of an effective and thorough physical 

inspection of the workplace, including because of relevant 

knowledge, skills, or experience with hazards or conditions 

in the workplace or similar workplaces or language or 

communication skills. Additional employer representatives 

and employee representatives may be permitted by the 

commissioner to accompany the inspection team where the 

commissioner determines such additional persons will aid in 

the inspection. A different employer representative or 

employee representative may accompany the commissioner 

during each phase of the inspection if, in the determination 

of the commissioner, this will aid in the conduct of the 

inspection. 

4. The commissioner may limit the number of 

representatives when the inspection group would be of such 

size as to interfere with the inspection or create possible 
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safety hazards, or when the representative does not represent 

an employer or employee present in the particular area under 

inspection. 

5. In such cases as stated in subdivision 4 of this section, the 

commissioner must give each walkthrough representative 

the opportunity to advise of possible safety or health hazards 

and then proceed with the inspection without walkthrough 

representatives. Whenever the commissioner has limited the 

number of employee walkthrough representatives, a 

reasonable number of employees shall be consulted during 

the inspection concerning possible safety or health hazards. 

6. Technical personnel such as safety engineers and 

industrial hygienists or other consultants to the 

commissioner or the employer may accompany the 

commissioner if the commissioner determines that their 

presence would aid in the conduct of the inspection and 

agreement is obtained from the employer or the 

commissioner obtains an order under § 40.1-6(8)(b) of the 

Code of Virginia. All such consultants shall be bound by the 

confidentiality requirements of § 40.1-51.4:1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

7. The commissioner is authorized to dismiss from the 

inspection party at any time any person or persons whose 

conduct interferes with the inspection. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8097; Filed October 1, 2024, 11:27 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical General 

Industry Standards (amending 16VAC25-90-1910.6, 

16VAC25-90-1910.1200, Appendices A, B, C, D to 

16VAC25-90-1910.1200). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Cristin Bernhardt, Regulatory Coordinator 

and Staff Attorney, Department of Labor and Industry, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-2392, FAX (804) 786-2641, or email 

cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In a final rule, the federal Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration (OSHA) is revising the standard for the 

Hazard Communication Standard to conform to the United 

Nations' Globally Harmonized System of Classification and 

Labeling of Chemicals to provide better alignment with 

other U.S. agencies and international trading partners. The 

Globally Harmonized System is a universal and 

international standard developed by the United Nations to 

unify and standardize chemical hazard classification, 

labeling, and communication worldwide. In this regulatory 

action, the Safety and Health Codes Board is adopting this 

final rule. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 of 

the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1910 (General Industry 

Standards) is declared a document generally available to the 

public and appropriate for incorporation by reference. For this 

reason, this document will not be printed in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. A copy of this document is available 

for inspection at the Department of Labor and Industry, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219, and in the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 

General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On September 23, 2024, 

the Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's 

Final Rule for Hazard Communication Standard, as published 

in 89 FR 44354 through 89 FR 44461 on May 20, 2024, with 

an effective date of November 20, 2024. 

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the final rule for Hazard Communication Standard 

is applied to the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and 

Industry or to Virginia employers, the following federal terms 

shall be considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms 

 

VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR 

 

VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary 

 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry 

Agency 

 

Department 

July 19, 2024 

 

November 20, 2024 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8095; Filed October 1, 2024, 11:28 a.m. 

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC30-60. Procedural Regulations 

Governing the Administration of Medical Costs Peer 

Review by the Regional Peer Review Committees under the 

Virginia Workers' Compensation Act (repealing 

16VAC30-60-110 through 16VAC30-60-140). 

Statutory Authority: § 65.2-1305 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

mailto:@cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov
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Effective Date: December 5, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Reba O'Connor, Information Security 

Compliance Policy Analyst, Virginia Workers' Compensation 

Commission, 333 East Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 774-4183, or email 

reba.oconnor@workcomp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 65.2-1300 through 65.2-1310 of the Code of 

Virginia established basic parameters for peer review 

regulations and gave the Workers' Compensation Commission 

the authority to enact such regulations. Sections 65.2-1300 

through 65.2-1310 were repealed by Chapter 279 of the 2016 

Acts of Assembly. The commission has no jurisdiction to 

continue the peer review program. 

Purpose: A repeal of these regulations would benefit the 

welfare of the citizens of Virginia because this regulation no 

longer has statutory authority. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

commission has no jurisdiction to continue the peer review 

program, so this repeal should be noncontroversial. 

Substance: The amendments completely repeal the chapter. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action to the 

public, the commission, and the Commonwealth is that the end 

result will be to bring the Virginia Administrative Code into 

agreement with the Code of Virginia. There are no 

disadvantages of this action to the public, the commission, or 

the Commonwealth in implementing this regulatory action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission (commission) 

seeks to repeal the remaining four sections of 16VAC30-60, 

Procedural Regulations Governing the Administration of 

Medical Costs Peer Review by the Regional Peer Review 

Committees under the Virginia Workers' Compensation Act 

(Chapter 60), since this chapter was made obsolete by Chapters 

279 and 290 (identical) of the 2016 Acts of Assembly. 

Background. Chapter 60 was originally authorized by §§ 65.2-

1300 through 65.2-1310 of the Code of Virginia, which were 

repealed by Chapters 279 and 290 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly.2 With the repeal, the commission no longer has 

jurisdiction to continue the medical costs peer review program. 

Hence, the peer review program was disbanded in 2016. 

Accordingly, the commission seeks to repeal sections 

16VAC30-60-110, 16VAC30-60-120, 16VAC30-60-130, and 

16VAC30-60-140; all other sections were repealed in 2022.3 

In place of the medical costs peer review program, the 

legislation mandated that the commission adopt regulations 

establishing fee schedules setting the maximum pecuniary 

liability of the employer for medical services provided to an 

injured person pursuant to the Virginia Workers' 

Compensation Act in the absence of a contract under which the 

provider has agreed to accept a specified amount for the 

medical service. Such regulation (16VAC30-110) was adopted 

via an exempt action in 2018.4 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. This regulation is obsolete in 

that it pertains to a program that no longer has statutory 

authority and no longer exists. Repealing the regulation would 

be beneficial in that people who read regulations would not be 

misled into believing the program still exists. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal affects 

readers of Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission 

regulations. The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess 

whether an adverse impact may result from the proposed 

regulation.5 An adverse impact is indicated if there is any 

increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for any entity, 

even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined.6 

Since the repeal of the regulations would not increase net costs 

or affect revenues, no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.8 The proposed repeal of the 

regulation would not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed repeal of the regulation 

would not disproportionally affect any particular localities and 

would not introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation would not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

repeal of the regulations would not affect the use and value of 

private property or real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See third enactment clause of https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/ 

legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0279 and https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/ 

legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0290. 

3 Other sections of Chapter 60 were repealed in a previous action, effective 

December 29, 2022. See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ 

ViewAction.cfm?actionid=6015. 

4 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4963. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

mailto:reba.oconnor@workcomp.virginia.gov
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0279
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0279
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0290
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0290
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=6015
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=6015
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4963


Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 5  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 21, 2024  

682 

6 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

8 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

9 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

10 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission is in agreement 

with the economic impact analysis prepared by the Virginia 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal the remaining sections of 

Procedural Regulations Governing the Administration of 

Medical Costs Peer Review by the Regional Peer Review 

Committees under the Virginia Workers' Compensation 

Act (16VAC30-60), the statutory authority for which was 

repealed by Chapters 279 and 290 of the 2016 Acts of the 

Assembly. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8005; Filed September 19, 2024, 10:13 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC25-21. Regulations of the 

Virginia Auctioneers Board (amending 18VAC25-21-10 

through 18VAC25-21-50, 18VAC25-21-70, 18VAC25-21-

80, 18VAC25-21-90, 18VAC25-21-110, 18VAC25-21-120, 

18VAC25-21-140, 18VAC25-21-150, 18VAC25-21-170, 

18VAC25-21-180, 18VAC25-21-185, 18VAC25-21-190, 

18VAC25-21-230 through 18VAC25-21-270; repealing 

18VAC25-21-60, 18VAC25-21-100, 18VAC25-21-130, 

18VAC25-21-160, 18VAC25-21-200, 18VAC25-21-210, 

18VAC25-21-220). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-113, 54.1-201, and 54.1-602 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Auctioneers Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 

465-6206, or email auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-602 of the Code of Virginia states that the 

Auctioneers Board (board) shall have the following authority 

and responsibilities: (i) to establish regulations to obtain and 

retain licensure of auctioneers; (ii) to make all case decisions 

regarding eligibility for initial licensure and renewal; (iii) to 

fine, suspend, deny renewal or revoke for cause, as defined in 

regulation, any license; and (iv) to examine auctioneers for 

licensure. In addition, § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia 

provides that the powers and duties of regulatory boards shall 

be to establish the qualifications of applicants for certification 

or licensure by any such board, provided that all qualifications 

shall be necessary to ensure either competence or integrity to 

engage in such profession or occupation, and to promulgate 

regulations necessary to ensure continued competency, to 

prevent deceptive or misleading practices by practitioners, and 

to effectively administer the regulatory system administered by 

the regulatory board. 

Purpose: The General Assembly has charged the board with 

the responsibility for regulating individuals and firms that 

conduct or offer to conduct an auction by requiring that such 

individuals and firms obtain a license to sell at auction. The 

offering and conducting of auctions by those who lack 

sufficient expertise, competence, integrity, and financial 

responsibility poses a risk to the public health, safety, and 

welfare. Risks include (i) financial harm to consumers as the 

result of an auction that is not properly conducted and (ii) harm 

to consumers as a result of those who lack the character and 

integrity of to perform the duties of an auctioneer.  

Substance: The proposed amendments include: 

1. Revising 18VAC25-21-20 to (i) remove regulatory 

provisions, which are already established in § 54.1-603 of the 

Code of Virginia, that an applicant must complete a course of 

study at a board-approved auctioneering school and pass a 

license examination; (ii) amend entry requirements pertaining 

to prior criminal history, including providing that an applicant 

disclose (a) non-marijuana misdemeanors involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offenses, drug distribution, or physical injury 

within three years of the date of application and (b) all felony 

convictions within 10 years of the date of application, which 

reduces the look-back period for prior criminal convictions that 

may be potentially disqualifying to an applicant; and (iii) 

amend entry requirements pertaining to prior disciplinary 

mailto:@auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov
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history. The revised provisions require that an applicant be not 

found by any regulatory board or agency to have violated any 

applicable law or regulation and allow for the board to consider 

prior regulatory discipline other than discipline related to the 

practice of auctioneering. 

2. Revising 18VAC25-21-40 to (i) remove a provision that 

nonresident applicants file the irrevocable consent that service 

of process upon the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation Director is valid and binding as the 

service of process upon the applicant, which is provided for in 

§ 54.1-603 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) streamline 

provisions regarding qualifications for licensure by 

reciprocity. 

3. Revising application procedures in 18VAC25-21-50 to 

reflect current agency practice. The provisions in the section 

regarding prior criminal history and prior disciplinary action 

are revised to be consistent with proposed changes to 

18VAC25-21-20. 

4. Repealing 18VAC25-21-60, which provides for the content 

for the license examination. This change is intended to reflect 

current agency practice, as the board refers the auctioneer 

examination to a company that supplies the examination and 

does not determine the requirements of the examination. 

5. Revising 18VAC25-21-80 to remove unnecessary 

provisions regarding mailing of a renewal notice. 

6. Revising 18VAC25-21-90 to remove unnecessary 

provisions regarding the expiration of licenses. 

7. Repealing 18VAC25-21-100, which provides for 

advertising standards. The requirements in this section are 

either already provided for in § 54.1-607 of the Code of 

Virginia or are not necessary to protect the public health, 

safety, and welfare. 

8. Revising 18VAC25-21-110 to (i) require that an auction 

contract include (a) the email address and website of the 

auctioneer entering into the contract; and (b) the email address 

of the property owner; (ii) clarify the current standard 

regarding contract provisions for accounting of items sold; and 

(iii) remove an unnecessary requirement that a contract include 

a statement that an owner has read and accepted the terms of 

the contract. 

9. Repealing 18VAC25-21-130, which establishes 

requirements for display of license, as these requirements are 

not necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public. 

10. Revising 18VAC25-21-140 to (i) replace the term "clerk 

sheets" with "itemized accounting of all items auctioned" when 

detailing documents that must be provided to an owner upon 

completion of the licensee's services and (ii) incorporate 

recordkeeping requirements currently located in 18VAC25-

21-160. These requirements are revised, including to reduce 

the record retention period from four years to three years. 

11. Revising 18VAC25-21-150 to (i) reduce the restrictiveness 

of the timeframe for placing proceeds of a personal property 

auction in escrow; (ii) remove the provision that contingency 

accounts established to guarantee checks accepted on the 

owner's behalf will not be considered commingling of funds; 

(iii) remove the provision that there must be periodic 

withdrawals from an escrow account containing funds that 

ultimately belong to a licensee; and (iv) remove requirements 

for written disclosures in a contract when funds are placed in 

an interest-bearing account. 

12. Repealing 18VAC25-21-160, which provides for 

recordkeeping requirements. The requirements in this section 

are relocated to 18VAC25-21-140 and revised. 

13. Revising 18VAC25-21-180 to remove the prohibited act 

for not demonstrating reasonable care, judgment, or 

application of the licensee's knowledge and ability in the 

performance of auctioneering duties. 

14. Revising 18VAC25-21-190 to (i) incorporate the 

requirements currently in 18VAC25-21-200, 18VAC25-21-

210, and 18VAC25-21-220 and (ii) amend the qualifications 

for school instructors to reduce the stringency of the current 

requirements in the regulation. As revised, a school must 

provide the names of Virginia licensed auctioneer instructors 

and confirmation of participation in the various aspects of a 

minimum of 50 auctions. 

15. Repealing 18VAC25-21-200, 18VAC25-21-210, and 

18VAC25-21-220. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public and the regulated 

community are that this action will provide necessary updates 

and clarification; reduce regulatory burden while still 

protecting the public health, safety, and welfare; and remove 

requirements in the regulation that are not necessary to protect 

the public welfare. There are no identifiable disadvantages to 

the public. It is not anticipated that the regulatory change will 

create any substantial disadvantages to the regulated 

community. There are no identifiable disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Auctioneers Board (board) proposes to (i) limit the look-back 

period for criminal convictions that must be disclosed by the 

license applicants, (ii) allow consideration of prior regulatory 

discipline other than discipline related to the practice of 

auctioneering for licensure, (iii) remove the five-year 

experience requirement for auctioneer school instructors as 

well as the requirement that a school have five licensed 

instructors, and (iv) eliminate or revise several administrative 

requirements to reduce regulatory burdens. 
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Background. The initial impetus for this action was Executive 

Directive Number One (2022), which directs Executive Branch 

entities under the authority of the Governor to initiate 

regulatory processes to reduce by at least 25% the number of 

regulations not mandated by federal or state statute in 

consultation with the Office of the Attorney General and in a 

manner consistent with the laws of the Commonwealth. This 

regulation establishes rules for individuals and firms that 

conduct or offer to conduct an auction by requiring that such 

individuals and firms obtain a license to sell at auction. During 

the review of the regulation conducted pursuant to the 

directive, the board identified certain requirements as overly 

burdensome to regulants and unnecessary for the protection of 

the health, safety, and welfare of the public as discussed below. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The board proposes to reduce 

the look-back period for criminal convictions that must be 

disclosed to three years for any non-marijuana misdemeanors 

involving moral turpitude, sexual offenses, drug distribution, 

or physical injury and 10 years for felonies. The revised 

criminal history provisions would potentially expand the pool 

of qualified applicants by allowing additional individuals with 

a prior criminal history to qualify for licensure without 

requiring the board to review and approve the application. 

However, the board does not track such cases and does not 

have an estimate on how many applicants may qualify for 

licensure under the proposed revision. Additionally, according 

to the board, after an application is received by the board for 

an applicant with a prior criminal history it can take about six 

to eight months to have the application reviewed and 

considered before it may be approved. As a result, this change 

is expected to produce time savings for such individuals. On 

the other hand, amendments to the disciplinary action 

provisions require that an applicant be not found by any 

regulatory board or agency to have violated any applicable law 

or regulation. The expanded provisions would thereby allow 

the board to consider prior regulatory discipline other than 

discipline related to the practice of auctioneering. This change 

is more restrictive than the current requirement and may result 

in some applicants being disqualified from licensure. 

Similarly, however, data are lacking to provide an estimate on 

the number of such potential cases. 

Another proposed change would reduce the stringency of the 

qualifications for auctioneering school instructors. Currently, 

the regulation establishes that a school have at least five 

instructors who have been licensed for five years and who 

specialize in different fields of the auction business. The 

proposal would remove the five-year experience requirement 

as well as the requirement that a school have five licensed 

auctioneer instructors. This change potentially would expand 

the pool of qualified instructors, reduce staffing costs for the 

schools, and allow additional auction courses to be approved 

by the Board as the requirements for course instructors are 

reduced. 

The proposal also contains numerous administrative changes, 

including a proposed reduction in the record retention period 

from four years to three years; removal of requirements for 

individuals and firms to display licenses in a conspicuous 

location at the address of record; removal of a requirement that 

an auctioneer carry a copy of the auctioneers license on their 

person and produce the document upon request; removal of a 

requirement for an auctioneer to include the auctioneer or 

auction firm name and license number in all advertisements; 

reducing the restrictiveness of the timeframe for placing 

proceeds of a personal property auction in escrow; and removal 

of the provisions regarding mailing of the renewal notice by 

the board to the licensee. Generally, these changes are expected 

to provide small administrative cost savings to the licensees as 

well as the board. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. According to the 

board, there were 984 licensed auctioneers and 230 auctioneer 

firms as of July 1, 2023. There are also 14 board-approved 

auctioneering schools across the country, only one of which is 

in Virginia. No entity appears to be disproportionately 

affected. The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether 

an adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.2 

An adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net 

cost or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the 

benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined.3 The board 

expects an expansion of the pool of qualified applicants for the 

auctioneering license and training instructors by unknown 

amounts and some cost savings from reduced staffing 

requirements as well as the administrative burdens. Thus, no 

adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected.5 According to the board, many 

licensed business entities are likely to be business entities that 

meet the definition of "small business" in § 2.2-4007.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. In addition, many individual licensees are 

likely to be owners or employees of business entities that fall 

within the meaning of small business. However, the proposed 

amendments do not appear to adversely affect any entity, 

including small businesses. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The expansion of the pool of 

qualified auctioneering or training applicants may increase the 

supply of these entities and the reduced staffing of minimum five 

auctioneers at training schools may reduce the demand for 

instructors. However, whether such changes would have a 

material impact on total employment cannot be determined. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The anticipated 

reduction in staffing and administrative costs may have a small 

positive impact on asset values of training schools and the licensed 

businesses. No other impact on the use and value of private 

property nor on real estate development costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further, the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 
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persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

3 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

5 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

6 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

7 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Auctioneers Board concurs with the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Executive Directive One (2022), the proposed 

amendments reduce regulatory burdens while still 

protecting the public health, safety, and welfare and 

include (i) reducing the look-back period for prior 

criminal convictions and tightening other reporting 

requirements for disqualification for entry into the 

profession; (ii) removing unnecessary administrative 

requirements; (iii) reducing the record retention period to 

three years; (iv) expanding the timeframe for placing 

proceeds of a personal property auction into escrow; and 

(v) generally loosening requirements on management of 

financial accounts and education provider requirements. 

Chapter 21 

Regulations of the Virginia Auctioneers Board 

18VAC25-21-10. Definitions. 

The following word or term when used in this chapter shall 

have the following meanings meaning unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Owner" means the bona fide owner or any lawfully 

designated agent of the real or personal property being offered 

for sale; in the case of a corporation, partnership, or other 

entity, except a sole proprietorship, an authorized officer, 

director, or partner may be deemed to be "owner" of the real or 

personal property being offered for sale, provided such entity 

is licensed to do business in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

18VAC25-21-20. Licensure by examination. 

All persons or firms as defined in § 54.1-600 of the Code of 

Virginia who conduct auctions or offer their services to sell at 

auction in the Commonwealth are required to file a licensure 

application and pay the specified fee to the board. Applicants 

In addition to the requirements established in § 54.1-603 of the 

Code of Virginia, applicants for individual licensure shall must 

meet the following requirements: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age. 

2. Shall not have been previously found by any regulatory 

board or agency to have violated any applicable regulations 

or laws in the course of performing auctioneer duties or been 

convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of a 

non-marijuana misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or 

any felony, there being no appeal pending therefrom or the 

time for appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 

subdivision. A certified copy of a final order, decree or case 

decision by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful 

authority to issue such order shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such conviction or discipline. Applicants 

for licensure who do not meet requirements set forth in this 

section may be approved for licensure following 

consideration by the board in In accordance with § 54.1-204 

of the Code of Virginia., disclose the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. Non-marijuana misdemeanors involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offenses, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within three years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 10 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere will be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court will be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, at its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. Successfully complete a course of study at a school of 

auctioneering that has obtained course approval from the 

board, or an equivalent course, and has passed the Virginia 

Licensed Auctioneer's Examination administered by the 

Auctioneers Board or its designee. Not be found by any 

regulatory board or agency to have violated any applicable 
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regulation or law. A certified copy of a final order, decree, 

or case decision by a court or regulatory board or agency 

with the lawful authority to issue such order will be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

discipline. 

18VAC25-21-30. Bond required. 

All applicants shall must submit evidence that a surety bond, 

executed by a surety company authorized to do business in the 

Commonwealth and in at least the amount of $10,000, has been 

obtained. Proof of current bond must be submitted in order to 

obtain or renew the license. The bond must commence no later 

than the effective date of the license and shall must expire no 

sooner than the date of expiration of the license. 

18VAC25-21-40. License by reciprocity. 

The board may issue a license to any individual applicant 

holding a license in any state, territory, or possession of the 

United States, with whom the board has established an act of 

reciprocity, provided the requirements and standards under 

which the license was issued are substantially equivalent to 

those established by the board in 18VAC25-21-20. At the time 

of application for licensure, the applicant must be currently 

licensed in the state in which reciprocity is established with the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. The board may deny an 

application if the licensed auctioneer has been found guilty (i) 

by any regulatory board or agency to have violated any 

applicable regulations or laws in the course of performing 

auctioneering duties or (ii) by a court of any non-marijuana 

misdemeanor, other criminal offense, or material 

misrepresentation in the course of performing auctioneer 

duties. A certified copy of a final order, decree or case decision 

by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to 

issue such order shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such conviction or discipline. 

Nonresident applicants shall also file with the board an 

irrevocable consent that service of process upon the director is 

valid and binding as the service of process upon the applicant. 

18VAC25-21-50. Application. 

A. All applicants seeking licensure shall must submit a fully 

executed complete application with the appropriate fee or fees 

attached. Applicants will be notified if their the application is 

incomplete. 

Applications for licensure by examination must comply with 

the requirements of the board's designee as to the deadline for 

submission of the application to the board's designee. 

B. 1. If a For any corporation, limited liability company, or 

other entity, the application shall must include copies of the 

certificate of incorporation or certificate of organization issued 

by the Virginia State Corporation Commission, articles and 

bylaws. 

2. If a For any foreign corporation, foreign limited liability 

company, or other entity, the application shall must include 

copies of the certificate of authority to conduct business 

issued by the Virginia State Corporation Commission, which 

shall will be required in lieu of the certificates as required by 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

3. Any firm applicant shall not have been previously found 

by any regulatory board or agency to have violated any 

applicable regulations or laws in the course of performing 

auctioneer duties or been convicted or found guilty, 

regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction 

of the United States of a non-marijuana misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude or any felony, there being no 

appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A certified copy 

of a final order, decree or case decision by a court or 

regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such 

order shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or discipline. Applicants for licensure who do not 

meet requirements set forth in this section may be approved 

for licensure following consideration by the board in In 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia., any 

entity must disclose the following information regarding 

criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. Non-marijuana misdemeanors involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offenses, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within three years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 10 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere will be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court will be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, at its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. The applicant must not have been found by any regulatory 

board or agency to have violated any applicable regulation 

or law. 

C. All applications will be reviewed by the Auctioneers Board 

staff, or the board's designee, to determine eligibility for 

examination and licensure within 30 days of receipt at the 

offices of the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation or the board's designee. However, failure to review 

an application within 30 days of receipt shall not imply or 

result in the automatic approval of the application. No 

applicant will be approved for licensure unless all requirements 

of this part of this chapter are met. 

18VAC25-21-60. Examination. (Repealed.) 

The examination shall test the applicant's knowledge of the 

following: 
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1. The auction business including fundamentals of 

auctioneering, elementary principles of real estate, 

preparation of contracts, advertising, final settlement 

statements, arithmetic and percentages, and ethics. 

2. The Virginia statutes entitled Auctioneers' Licensure Act, 

Chapter 6 (§ 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia; bulk transfers, §§ 8.6A-101 through 8.6A-110 and 

8.2-328 of the Code of Virginia; sales tax laws, Title 58.1 of 

the Code of Virginia; and the regulations of the board. 

18VAC25-21-70. Fees. 

Fees are nonrefundable and shall will not be prorated. The 

following fees shall apply: 

 

1. Individual auctioneer license $25 

2. Auctioneer firm license $55 

3. Renewal for individual auctioneer's license $55 

4. Renewal for firm or corporation license $65 

5. Late renewal for an individual auctioneer's 

license 

$80 

6. Late renewal for an auction firm or corporate 

license 

$90 

7. Reinstatement of the individual auctioneer's 

license 

$105 

8. Reinstatement of the firm or corporate license $115 

The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges by an outside vendor. These contracts are 

competitively negotiated and bargained for in compliance with 

the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). The board may adjust the fee charged to 

candidates in accordance with these contracts. 

18VAC25-21-80. Notice of renewal. 

The board will mail a renewal notice to the licensee outlining 

the amount due and procedures for renewal to the last known 

mailing address of record. Failure to receive this notice shall 

not relieve the individual or firm licensee of the obligation to 

renew.  

Licenses issued under this chapter shall will be issued for a 

two-year period. Each license holder, corporation, or firm shall 

will be required to renew the license by submitting the proper 

fee made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, with verification 

of current surety bond coverage as detailed in 18VAC25-21-

30. By renewing the license, the licensee is certifying 

continued compliance with the Standards of Practice in Part IV 

(18VAC25-21-100 et seq.) and Standards of Conduct in Part V 

(18VAC25-21-180 et seq.), as well as Continuing Education 

Requirements in Part VII (18VAC25-21-230 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

18VAC25-21-90. Failure to renew. 

A. Any licensee who fails to renew a license within 30 days 

after the license expires, shall will be required to pay a late 

renewal fee. 

B. Any licensee, including individuals initially licensed 

pursuant to § 54.1-603 A of the Code of Virginia, who fails to 

renew his a license within six calendar months after the 

expiration date of the license shall will be required to apply for 

reinstatement of the license. The applicant shall must submit to 

the board a reinstatement application and fee and comply with 

the following paragraph. shall apply: 

1. If the license has been expired for six months or more, but 

less than two years, the applicant shall will be required to 

submit a reinstatement application, which shall will be 

evaluated by the board to determine if the applicant meets 

the renewal requirements. In addition, individual license 

holders applying for reinstatement are required to provide 

evidence of compliance with the continuing education 

requirements as contained in this chapter. A license that is 

reinstated shall will be deemed as having been continuous 

without interruption. Nothing in these regulations shall this 

chapter will divest the board of its authority to discipline a 

license holder for a violation of the law or regulation during 

the period of time for which the licensee was licensed. 

C. 2. If the license has been expired for two years or more, 

the applicant shall will be required to submit a new 

application and meet current entry requirements that are in 

effect as of the date the application is received by the board 

office. The applicant shall will be required to submit the 

examination fee and sit for and pass the Virginia Licensed 

Auctioneer's Examination or comply with the provisions 

contained in 18VAC25-21-40. Any auctioneering activity 

conducted between the time the previous license expired and 

the effective date of the new license shall may be considered 

unlicensed activity. 

D. The date that the complete renewal application, including 

fees and all required documentation, is received by the board 

or its agent will determine whether a license will be renewed 

without penalty or will be subject to reinstatement 

requirements. 

E. Licenses issued under this regulation shall expire 24 

months from the last day of the month in which the license was 

issued. The expiration date of the license will be included on 

the license. 

18VAC25-21-100. Advertising. (Repealed.) 

A. All advertising must be truthful. Advertising shall contain 

no false, misleading or deceptive statements, with respect to 

types or conditions of merchandise offered at auction, why 

merchandise is being sold, who has ownership, where the 
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merchandise was obtained, or the terms and conditions of the 

auction and sale.  

B. In all advertisements relating to an auction, the auctioneer's 

name and Virginia license number or the auction firm's name 

and Virginia license number shall be clearly displayed.  

18VAC25-21-110. Contracts. 

A. When a licensee agrees to conduct an auction, a contract 

shall must be drawn setting forth the particulars of the terms 

and conditions under which the auctioneer or auction firm 

received the real or personal property for auction and 

particulars for the disbursement of the proceeds. Each contract 

for auction shall include the following: 

1. a. A detailed list of the real or personal property received 

for sale with adequate descriptions of the property so that the 

personal property of material value can be readily identified. 

If a list cannot be made at the time of signing of the contract, 

and the owner of the items agrees to waive this requirement 

in writing in an addendum to the contract, then a list must be 

made a part of the contract (and attached) prior to auction of 

the real or personal property for that day; or 

b. If the auctioneer or auction firm enters into a contract to 

sell items on a consignment basis where the total value of 

all the items to be sold at any one action auction does not 

exceed $500, then the requirement contained in 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection is not applicable. 

2. The name, address, telephone number, email address, 

website, and license number of the licensee entering into the 

contract. 

3. The name, address and, telephone number, and email 

address of the property owner. 

4. The date, time, and place of the auction or auctions at 

which the real or personal property is scheduled to be 

auctioned. The and date by which the property is to be 

returned or otherwise disposed of in accordance with the 

terms of the contract if it is not sold. 

5. The fee or percentage of gross sales the auctioneer or 

auction firm will charge the owner and what services are 

included in the fee, such as preparation, travel, labor, 

advertising, and any other auction related expenses. 

6. By what date the owner is to be paid and who is 

responsible for disbursing the funds. 

7. A statement that the clerk sheets, or other evidence to 

properly account for all items sold, shall be given or made 

available for inspection by the owner on a daily basis 

indicating that the auctioneer will maintain an itemized 

accounting of all items sold on a daily basis to be made 

available upon request by the owner. 

8. The following statement above the owner's signature line: 

"I have read and accepted the terms of this contract."  

B. A legible executed copy of the contract and any 

addendums shall must be given provided to the owner at the 

time of execution. 

18VAC25-21-120. Conduct at auctions. 

No licensee shall will attempt to escalate bidding through 

false bids, or through collusion with another (shills). The 

licensee shall must not bid on the owner's behalf nor knowingly 

accept a bid made by the owner or made on the owner's behalf 

unless notice has been given that liberty for such bidding has 

been reserved. The licensee shall must neither bid on his the 

licensee's own behalf nor knowingly accept a bid made on his 

the licensee's behalf unless notice has been given that such 

bidding will be permitted. 

18VAC25-21-130. Display of license. (Repealed.) 

Auctioneers shall carry their pocket cards on their person and 

shall produce them upon request. Auction firms shall display 

their license in a conspicuous location at the address of record. 

The address of record shall not be a post office box as detailed 

in 18VAC25-21-170 C.  

18VAC25-21-140. Documentation. 

A. Upon completion of the licensee's service, each owner 

shall must be given legible copies of bills of sale, clerk sheets 

itemized accounting of all items auctioned, consignment 

sheets, settlement papers, balance sheets or, and other evidence 

to properly account for all items sold at auction. 

B. The licensee is required to maintain, for a period of three 

years from date of settlement, all items in subsection A of this 

section, the contract, and buyer records. These business records 

must be available for inspection by the board or its designees 

upon request. 

18VAC25-21-150. Escrow funds. 

A. Proceeds of a personal property auction not disbursed to 

the owner on auction day shall must be deposited in an auction 

escrow account by the licensee no later than the next banking 

day following the date of auction or sale of the goods, 

whichever occurs first. 

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection A of this 

section, proceeds that are paid via credit card, debit card, check 

card, or any other electronic funds transfer (EFT) method shall 

must be deposited into an auction escrow account upon receipt 

from the originating source. 

C. The auction escrow account shall must be used solely for 

the preservation and guarantee of auction proceeds until 

disbursed at settlement. Funds for any other purpose shall must 

not be commingled with the auction escrow account. 

Contingency accounts established to guarantee checks 

accepted on the owner's behalf shall not be considered 

commingling of funds. Moneys due to the licensee shall must 

not be withdrawn from the auction escrow account until final 

settlement is made with the owner. 
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D. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account may include 

moneys that shall will ultimately belong to the licensee for 

incidental expenses per the terms of the contract. Such moneys 

shall must be separately identified in the escrow account 

records and shall must be paid to the licensee by a check drawn 

on the escrow account when the funds become due to the 

licensee. The fact that an escrow account contains money that 

may ultimately belong to the licensee does not constitute 

"commingling of funds," provided that there are periodic 

withdrawals of said funds at intervals of not more than six 

months and that the licensee can at all times accurately identify 

the total funds in that account that belong to the licensee. 

E. On funds placed in an account bearing interest, written 

disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the time of contract 

or lease writing shall be made to the principals to the 

transaction regarding the disbursement of interest. 

F. E. Auctioneers and auction firms shall must use federally 

insured depositories in the Commonwealth of Virginia. All 

accounts, checks, and bank statements shall must be labeled 

"escrow" and the accounts shall must be designated as 

"escrow" accounts with the financial institution where such 

accounts are established. 

G. F. Proceeds due from the sale of goods other than real 

property shall must be disbursed to the owner no later than 30 

days after the date of each auction. 

H. G. Funds from a real estate auction shall must be held in 

escrow until settlement in accordance with the agreement of 

sale. 

I. H. If the owner's goods are not sold in a single auction, 

proceeds due shall must be disbursed to the owner within 30 

days after each auction for goods other than real property, or in 

accordance with the agreement of sale for the sale of real 

property. Notice must be given to the owner of tentative date 

of auction, or date of return to the owner, of the remaining 

goods. 

J. I. The balance in the escrow accounts shall must be 

sufficient at all times to account for all funds that are 

designated to be held by the licensee. A licensee shall must not 

disburse or cause to be disbursed moneys from an escrow 

account unless sufficient money is on deposit in that account 

to the credit of the individual client or property involved. 

18VAC25-21-160. Records. (Repealed.) 

The licensee is required to maintain, for a period of four years 

from the date of settlement, written records of the following: 

the contract drawn with each owner; auction records, including 

but not limited to lists of buyers and their addresses; and clerk 

sheets showing the items sold including the buyers' numbers or 

names and the selling prices and the final settlement papers. 

These business records shall be available for inspection by the 

board or its designees as deemed appropriate and necessary.  

18VAC25-21-170. Change of address. 

A. Licenses shall are not be transferable and shall must bear 

the same name and physical address as the business. Upon 

dissolution or change in the form of the business entity of an 

auction firm, the auction firm license shall will become void. 

B. A licensee shall must report all changes of address to the 

board in writing, within 30 calendar days of the change, 

whereupon the board shall will issue an amended license 

without fee for the unexpired portion of the biennial period. 

C. A post office box is acceptable only when a physical 

address is also provided. If the licensee holds more than one 

license, certificate, or registration, the licensee shall must 

inform the board of all licenses, certificates, and registrations 

affected by the address change. 

18VAC25-21-180. Discipline. 

The board has the power to fine any individual or firm 

licensee, or to suspend or revoke any license issued under the 

provisions of Chapter 6 (§ 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board pursuant to 

the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia) if it finds that: 

1. The license was obtained, renewed, or reinstated through 

fraud or misrepresentation; 

2. The licensee has been convicted or found guilty, 

regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction 

of the United States of a non-marijuana misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude or any felony, there being no 

appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Review of prior criminal convictions shall will be 

subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. A certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 

decision by a court with the lawful authority to issue such 

order shall will be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such conviction or discipline; 

3. The licensee has been found by any regulatory board, 

agency, or jurisdiction where licensed to have had a license 

or registration suspended, revoked, or surrendered in 

connection with a disciplinary action, who has to have been 

the subject of discipline in another jurisdiction, or to have 

violated any applicable regulations or laws in the course of 

performing auctioneer duties. A certified copy of a final 

order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory 

agency with the lawful authority to issue such order shall 

will be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or discipline; 

4. The licensee has not demonstrated reasonable care, 

judgment, or application of his knowledge and ability in the 

performance of auctioneering duties; 

5. 4. The licensee violated or assisted another to violate any 

provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 
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et seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.), or 6 of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, this chapter, or combined or conspired with or 

acted as agent, partner, or associate for another; or 

6. 5. The licensee fails to comply, or misrepresents any 

information pertaining to his the licensee's compliance, with 

any of the continuing education requirements as contained 

in this chapter. 

18VAC25-21-185. Cooperation with board. 

A. The licensee shall must, upon request or demand, produce 

to the board, or any of its agents, within 10 days any plan, 

document, book, record, or copy thereof in his the licensee's 

possession concerning a transaction covered by this chapter, 

and shall must cooperate in the investigation of a complaint 

filed with the board. 

B. A licensee who has direct knowledge that any individual, 

including himself the licensee, or firm may be violating any of 

these provisions, or the provisions of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et 

seq.) through 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 54.1-600 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, shall must 

immediately inform the secretary of the board in writing and 

shall must cooperate in furnishing any further information or 

assistance that may be required. 

18VAC25-21-190. Application for course approval. 

A. Schools seeking approval of their courses shall must file a 

request with the board. The request shall must include the 

following information: 

1. Name and address of the school;. 

2. Locations where classes will be held;. 

3. Length of the course and total number of hours of 

instruction;, including a minimum of 80 hours of classroom 

studies and active participation in the auction business. 

4. Subjects covered together with number of instruction 

hours assigned;. Course study must include: 

a. Auctioneering; 

b. Elementary principals of real estate, including 

brokerage; 

c. Contracts; 

d. Advertising; 

e. Sale preparation; 

f. Bid calling; 

g. Settlement statements; 

h. Ethics; and 

i. Current rules and regulations of the Auctioneers Board. 

5. Names and qualifications of instructors (area of expertise 

and experience) Virginia licensed auctioneer instructors and 

confirmation of participation in the various aspects of a 

minimum of 50 auctions. 

B. Any change in the information provided by the school to 

the board must be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of such an occurrence. 

C. Approval is subject to periodic requalification review as 

determined by the board. 

18VAC25-21-200. Requirements for course approval. 

(Repealed.) 

To receive course approval the institution must offer to 

Virginia candidates a minimum of 80 hours of classroom and 

field instruction in the conduct of auction business to include 

fundamentals of auctioneering, elementary principles of real 

estate, brokerage, contract drawing, advertising, sale 

preparation, bid calling, settlement statements, ethics and 

exposure to the current rules and regulations of the Virginia 

Auctioneers Board. There must be at least five instructors who 

have been licensed auctioneers for at least five years and who 

specialize in different fields of the auction business.  

18VAC25-21-210. Amendments and changes. (Repealed.) 

Any change in the information provided by the school to the 

board as required by 18VAC25-21-190, 18VAC25-21-200 or 

18VAC25-21-220 shall be reported to the board in writing 

within 30 days of such an occurrence.  

18VAC25-21-220. Periodic requalification for continued 

course approval. (Repealed.) 

The board may require that schools that have previously 

obtained course approval provide the board with evidence, in a 

form set forth by the board, that they continue to comply with 

the requirements of 18VAC25-21-190 and 18VAC25-21-200. 

Failure to continue to comply with the board's requirements or 

respond to such a request may result in the board withdrawing 

its approval.  

18VAC25-21-230. Application and criteria for course 

approval. 

A. Course providers seeking approval of their continuing 

education course shall must file an application with the board 

office. All continuing education course providers shall must 

obtain approval from the board office prior to offering to 

provide, or providing, a course that is advertised or represented 

as being eligible to comply with the continuing education 

provisions of this chapter. Retroactive approval of continuing 

education courses shall will not be permitted. 

Continuing education courses shall will be approved provided 

the following criteria are met: 

1. Course subjects must be related to the current practice of 

auctioneering and have defined learning objectives. 

2. At the end of the course, each attendee must be assessed 

to verify that they have the attendee has achieved the defined 

learning objectives. 
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3. The course curriculum must be consistent with the defined 

learning objectives. 

4. The method of instruction must be consistent with the 

defined learning objectives of the course. 

5. Course instructors must be competent in the subject being 

taught, either by education or experience, and in 

instructional techniques. 

6. Fifty contact minutes shall equal one continuing education 

credit hour. No credit shall will be awarded for partial 

continuing education credit hours or partial completion of 

the course. In addition, attendees who fail to demonstrate 

successful completion of the defined learning objectives of 

the course shall will not be awarded credit for the course. For 

courses in which individual segments are less than 50 

minutes, the sum of the segments shall will be totaled for 

computation of continuing education credit hours. 

7. The course provider certifies that the laws, regulations, 

and industry practices that will be taught or utilized in the 

course are up to date and that any subsequent changes in 

laws, regulations, or industry practices will be incorporated 

into the course curriculum as they occur. 

8. The course provider certifies that they it will comply with 

provisions of this chapter in administering and providing the 

approved course. 

B. Pursuant to § 54.1-603.1 A of the Code of Virginia, 

continuing education courses completed by an auctioneer 

pursuant to a requirement of the Certified Auctioneer's Institute 

or participation in the educational programs sponsored by the 

National Auctioneer's Association or Virginia Auctioneer's 

Association are approved. 

18VAC25-21-240. Administration of courses. 

A. Approved course providers shall must comply with the 

requirements of this chapter when providing approved courses. 

Failure of a course provider to comply with the board's 

requirements contained in 18VAC25-21-230 or any other 

provision of this chapter at any time after receiving approval 

from the board may result in the board withdrawing its 

approval for a course or a specific offering or offerings of the 

course. 

B. Course approval is not transferable from the course 

provider to whom it was originally issued. 

C. The approved course providers shall must award a 

certificate of completion to those attendees who successfully 

complete the course that includes the sponsor identification 

number of the course provider issued by the board office, name 

of the course, number of continuing education credit hours 

awarded, and the date of the course. Course providers shall 

must only award continuing education credit hours in the 

amount as approved. 

D. Attendance must be verified and documented at the 

beginning and end of the course and monitored during the 

course. No credit may be awarded to attendees who arrived 

late, left early, or missed a portion of the course or failed to 

accomplish the learning objectives of the course. Further, such 

individuals shall may not be awarded a certificate of 

completion by the course provider. 

E. At the end of each course, the course provider shall must 

solicit feedback from the attendees to assess the effectiveness 

of the course, course content, course curriculum, instructor, 

and method of instruction. The course provider shall must 

monitor the feedback from the attendees and make adjustments 

as warranted. 

F. All records related to an approved course must be 

maintained for four years from the date of the course and such 

records shall must be provided to the board or its duly 

authorized agents upon request. Records that must be 

maintained include, but are not limited to, time, date, and 

location of the course; course materials; course curriculum; 

instructor; instructor qualifications; learning objectives; 

assessment of attendees for verification of achievement of the 

learning objectives; end of course feedback from attendees; 

attendance rosters; and records of those attendees who 

successfully completed the course and those who did not and 

reasons why attendees noted as not successfully completing the 

course did not successfully complete the course. 

18VAC25-21-250. Continuing education requirements for 

renewal or reinstatement. 

A. Licensees whose licenses expire or who apply to reinstate 

shall be are required to comply with the continuing education 

provisions of this chapter, excluding any auctioneer licensed 

by the board for 25 years or more and who is 70 years of age 

or older at the time of license expiration pursuant to § 54.1-

603.1 A of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Licensees subject to the provisions of this section are 

required to complete at least six continuing education credit 

hours of board-approved continuing education courses for any 

license renewal or reinstatement. 

A Virginia licensee that is also licensed in another state with 

which the board shares a reciprocal agreement may use board-

approved continuing education in that state to meet the 

required six hours of continuing education for Virginia, 

provided that the reciprocal jurisdiction affords the same 

privilege to Virginia licensees. 

C. 1. Each licensee applying for renewal shall certify that he 

the licensee has met the continuing education requirements of 

this chapter. Only continuing education courses completed 

during the license period immediately prior to the expiration 

date of the license shall will be acceptable in order to renew 

the license. 
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2. Licensees shall must maintain records of completion of 

continuing education credit hours for two years from the date 

of expiration of the license for which the continuing 

education credit hours are being used to renew the license. 

Individuals shall must provide such records to the board or 

its duly authorized agents upon request. 

3. Continuing education credit hours utilized to satisfy the 

continuing education requirements to renew a license shall 

will be valid only for that renewal and shall will not be 

accepted for any subsequent renewal cycles or 

reinstatement. 

D. 1. Each individual applying for reinstatement shall must 

provide, as part of his the individual's reinstatement 

application, evidence of compliance with the continuing 

education requirements of this chapter. The completion date of 

continuing education courses submitted in support of a 

reinstatement application shall must not be more than two 

years old as of the date a complete reinstatement application is 

received by the board. 

2. Continuing education credit hours utilized to satisfy the 

continuing education requirements in order to reinstate a 

license shall will be valid only for that reinstatement and 

shall will not be accepted for any subsequent renewal cycles 

or reinstatement. 

E. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection C of this 

section, continuing education hours earned during a licensing 

renewal cycle to satisfy the continuing education requirements 

of the preceding licensing renewal cycle shall will be valid 

only for that preceding license renewal cycle and shall will not 

be accepted for any subsequent renewal cycles or 

reinstatement. 

18VAC25-21-260. Exemptions and waivers. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-603.1 A of the Code of Virginia, the 

board shall will exempt any auctioneer licensed by the board 

for 25 years or more and who is 70 years of age or older from 

the requirement to comply with the continuing education 

provisions of this chapter. 

B. Pursuant to § 54.1-603.1 B of the Code of Virginia, the 

board may grant exemptions or waive or reduce the number of 

continuing education hours required in cases of certified illness 

or undue hardship. However, such exemptions, waivers, or 

reductions shall will not relieve the individual of his the 

obligation to comply with any other requirements of this 

chapter, including but not limited to the provisions of 

18VAC25-21-80 or 18VAC25-21-90. 

18VAC25-21-270. Amendments and changes. 

Any change in the information provided by a course provider 

to the board as required by 18VAC25-21-230 A, or 18VAC25-

21-280 or change in ability to comply with the requirements of 

18VAC25-21-240 shall must be reported to the board in 

writing within 10 days of such an occurrence. In instances of 

noncompliance with the provisions of this chapter, the 

approval of the course is automatically suspended until such 

time as the course provider corrects the deficiency and notifies 

the board in writing that such deficiency has been corrected. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7468; Filed October 1, 2024, 4:04 p.m. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-10, 18VAC50-22-20, 

18VAC50-22-30, 18VAC50-22-90 through 18VAC50-22-

240, 18VAC50-22-260, 18VAC50-22-300, 18VAC50-22-

310, 18VAC50-22-320, 18VAC50-22-350; repealing 

18VAC50-22-250, 18VAC50-22-330). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 24, 2024 - 2 p.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Second Floor Conference Center, Richmond, Virginia 

23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Cameron Parris, Regulatory Operations 

Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-9183, FAX (866) 350-5354, or 

email cameron.parris@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

Board for Contractors to establish the qualifications of 

applicants for certification or licensure and promulgate 

regulations. Section 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia 

enumerates the legal authority for the board to administer the 

licensure of contractors and for the relicensure of contractors 

after license or certificate suspension or revocation. 

Purpose: The offering and performing of contracting work by 

those who lack sufficient expertise, competence, integrity, and 

financial responsibility poses a risk to the public health, safety, 

and welfare. Risks include (i) damage to property, personal 

injury, or loss of life as the result of work that is improperly 

performed; (ii) financial harm to consumers as the result of 

construction that is not properly managed or performed; and 

(iii) harm to consumers as the result of those who lack the 

character and integrity to offer and engage in contracting work. 

As mandated by the General Assembly, the board protects the 

public health, safety, and welfare, in part, by establishing 

through regulation the minimum qualifications for entry into 

the profession. 

Substance: The amendments: 

1. Revise 18VAC50-22-10 to (i) incorporate statutory terms 

from § 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia that are used in the 

regulation and (ii) provide clarification of several defined 

terms and remove terms that are not used in the regulation; 

mailto:@cameron.parris@dpor.virginia.gov
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2. Revise 18VAC50-22-20 to add "fire sprinkler contractors" 

and revise the definitions for "commercial building 

contractors," "electrical contractors," and "highway/heavy 

contractors"; 

3. Revise 18VAC50-22-30 to remove the definition of "fire 

sprinkler contracting." Several specialty services are revised to 

provide flexibility for contractors holding a "highway/heavy 

contractors" license classification to perform work covered by 

the specialty designation. Similar changes are made to other 

specialty service definitions for holders of other license 

classifications or specialty service designations; 

4. Revise 18VAC50-22-100 to remove examination fees and 

to incorporate fees associated with applications for reporting a 

change of designated employee, reporting a change of qualified 

individual, and addition of a license classification or specialty 

service, currently under 18VAC50-22-250. Clarification is 

also added regarding the imposition of Recovery Fund 

assessments; 

5. Revise 18VAC50-22-130 to provide clarification regarding 

the status of a license during the 30-day grace period associated 

with license renewals; 

6. Revise 18VAC50-22-160 to make provisions regarding 

reinstatement of licenses clearer. The revised section provides 

for when a licensee must reinstate a license, the requirements 

for reinstatement, and the period of time that a license is 

eligible for reinstatement; 

7. Revise 18VAC50-22-220 to extend, from 45 days to 60 

days, the period of time in which a regulant must report a 

change of qualified individual to the board. The requirement 

for a contractor to report a change of responsible management 

is streamlined; 

8. Repeal 18VAC50-22-250 as its provisions have been 

incorporated under 18VAC50-22-100; 

9. Revise the minimum requirements for residential 

contracting contracts in 18VAC50-22-260 to expand the 

requirement for a contractor to obtain a signed 

acknowledgment by the consumer that the consumer has been 

provided with and read the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation statement of protection available 

through the board. The requirement would no longer apply 

only to contracts resulting from a door-to-door solicitations; 

10. Revise 18VAC50-22-300 to reduce from eight hours to six 

hours the required length for a prelicense education course; 

11. Revise 18VAC50-22-310 to remove a requirement that 

student records for prelicense education courses include a 

student's social security number; and 

12. Repeal 18VAC50-22-330 to remove the requirement that 

prelicense education course certificates of approval be 

available where a course is taught. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public and regulated 

community include providing clarification to provisions of the 

regulation, ensuring the regulation complements Virginia law 

and reflects current agency procedures, and reducing 

regulatory burdens by removing requirements that are not 

necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public. There are no identifiable disadvantages to the public or 

the Commonwealth. It is not anticipated that the regulatory 

change will create any substantial disadvantages to the 

regulated community. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Contractors (board) proposes to (i) expand the scope 

of certain license classes or specialty designations; (ii) allow 

contractors for the framing specialty service to act as a prime 

contractor; (iii) expand the requirement for a contractor to 

obtain a signed acknowledgment from a residential consumer 

that he has been provided with and read the statement of 

protection available through the board to all contracts; (iv) 

reduce the required length for a prelicense education course 

from eight hours to six hours; and (v) make several 

administrative changes, including no longer requiring training 

providers to post certificates for approved pre-license courses 

at their location, extending the period of time in which a 

regulant must report a change of qualified individual to the 

board from 45 days to 60 days, and removing a requirement 

that student records for prelicense education courses include a 

student's social security number. 

Background. The initial impetus for this action is Executive 

Directive Number One (2022), which directs executive branch 

entities under the authority of the Governor "to initiate 

regulatory processes to reduce by at least 25 percent the 

number of regulations not mandated by federal or state statute, 

in consultation with the Office of the Attorney General, and in 

a manner consistent with the laws of the Commonwealth."2 

This regulation applies to those who engage or offer to engage 

in contracting work by requiring that such persons obtain a 

contractor license from the board. According to the board, 

offering and performing of contracting work by those who lack 

sufficient expertise, competence, integrity, and financial 

responsibility poses a risk to the public health, safety, and 

welfare. Risks include damage to property, personal injury, or 

loss of life as the result of work that is improperly performed; 

financial harm to consumers as the result of construction that 

is not properly managed or performed; and harm to consumers 

as the result of those who lack the character and integrity to 

offer and engage in contracting work. This regulation protects 

the public health, safety, and welfare, in part, by establishing 

the minimum qualifications for entry into contracting. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. One of the proposed changes 

would expand the scope of certain license classes or specialty 
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designations. The regulation specifies the specialty service 

each license classification or specialty designation is allowed 

to perform. The board proposes to expand the stipulated scope 

of work for five contracting classifications and specialty 

designations (the count of licenses for each classification or 

specialty is noted in parentheses), as follows: (i) allow 

highway/heavy contractors (4,514) to also perform 

environmental monitoring well contracting (96), 

environmental specialties contracting (253), masonry 

contracting (1,262), recreational facility contracting (325), 

steel erection contracting (97), and swimming pool 

construction contracting (297); (ii)·allow residential building 

contractors (22,706) to also perform farm improvement 

contracting (517); (iii) allow water well/pump contractors to 

also perform environmental monitoring well contracting (213); 

(iv) allow commercial improvement contractors (6,840) to also 

perform landscape service contracting (2,201); and (v) allow 

home improvement contractors (12,457) to also perform 

landscape service contracting (2,201). One of the main benefits 

of this change would be to permit certain contractors to 

perform other specialty services without having to pay the fees 

associated with adding a specialty service. Normally, the one-

time cost for a qualified contractor to add a specialty service 

designation not stipulated by the regulation is $195, consisting 

of an application fee of $110 and an $85 fee for the qualified 

individual specialty examination. If all of the 4,514 

highway/heavy contractors were to add all six specialty 

designations that would now be available to them, the total 

required fees would amount to $5.3 million (i.e., 4,514 

contractors multiplied by six designations multiplied by $195 

application and exam fee). While it is unlikely that all 4,514 

highway/heavy contractors would have applied to add all six 

specialty service designations to their license even if there were 

no fees, it is likely that at least some of these contractors may 

have been discouraged by the current fees. Thus, the estimated 

$5.3 million in fee savings should be considered as the 

maximum amount of fee savings this proposed change may 

generate for all 4,514 highway/heavy contractors. In contrast, 

if only 10% of the highway/heavy contractors were to add a 

single specialty designation, the fee savings would be $88,023 

(i.e., 451 multiplied by $195). Thus, the range for potential fee 

savings are quite large (i.e., $88,023 minus $5.3 million). 

Similarly, the proposed change may generate potential fee 

savings of up to $4.4 million (i.e., 22,706 multiplied by $195) 

for residential building contractors; up to $41,535 (i.e., 213 

multiplied by $195) for water well/pump contractors; up to 

$1.3 million (i.e., 6,840 multiplied by $195) for commercial 

improvement contractors; and up to $2.4 million (i.e., 12,457 

multiplied by $195) for home improvement contractors. 

Additionally, to the extent this change reduces a barrier to entry 

into the specialty services market and increases competition, it 

would have a potentially adverse effect on incumbent specialty 

service providers. Conversely, an increase in competition 

would lead to a reduction in prices that may be expected to 

benefit consumers. Another proposed change would amend the 

scope of practice for the framing subcontractor specialty 

service to allow such contractors to perform work in the 

specialty without having to be a subcontractor to a prime 

contractor. This change would allow 58 such contractors to be 

the prime contractor if they are able and interested in 

performing work in that capacity. An additional change would 

expand the requirement for residential service contractors to 

obtain a signed acknowledgment from the consumer that the 

consumer has been provided with and read the statement of 

protection available through the board. The requirement would 

no longer apply only to contracts resulting from a door-to-door 

solicitations but to all contracts for residential work. Requiring 

that each contract include a consumer's signed 

acknowledgment regarding receiving and reading a statement 

of protection may impose additional administrative costs on 

contracting firms. The board reports that both electronic and 

paper versions of contracts are used throughout the industry. 

Thus, there may be a small cost to contractor businesses and 

entities associated with paper and printing should a contract be 

delivered by such method. Notably, the statement of protection 

is made available by the board and is not a document that a 

contractor firm must develop. On the other hand, consumers 

who contract for residential contracting services that are 

provided with the statement of protection would have 

additional information and may be less likely to have a 

negative experience when contracting with a licensed 

contractor. Consumers that are knowledgeable about 

contractual transactions and requirements of licensed 

contractors may have an overall better experience when 

working with a licensed contractor, which may result in fewer 

complaints filed against licensed contractors. Another 

proposed change would reduce the required length for a 

prelicense education course from eight hours to six hours. The 

board believes it is unlikely that this proposal would reduce the 

fee for such courses, but it would provide two hours of time 

savings to the trainees as well as the trainers. The agency 

reports that information necessary to monetize the value of this 

benefit is not available. The regulatory action also proposes 

other changes that would remove an unnecessary requirement 

that certificates for approved prelicense courses be posted at 

the location where an approved course is taught; extend the 

period of time in which a regulant must report a change of 

qualified individual to the board from 45 days to 60 days; and 

remove a requirement that student records for prelicense 

education courses include a student's social security number. 

These proposed amendments would provide small 

administrative benefits to the regulants. The remaining 

changes are mainly editorial to reflect current practices, align 

the text with statute, and improve clarity in general. Notable 

among these proposed changes is the repeal of the fees 

associated with the qualified individual exam ($20), Class B 

exam ($40), and Class A exam ($60). According to the board, 

these exams have not been administered since the 1990s and 

consequently the removal of these fees is not expected to create 

an economic impact other than clarifying that these fees no 

longer apply. 
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Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments apply to contractors. As of June 1, 2024, the 

Board for Contractors licensed 33,282 Class A Contractors, 

9,260 Class B Contractors, and 12,199 Class C Contractors. 

Additionally, there are 60 Residential Building Energy Analyst 

firms currently licensed with the board. All licensed entities 

would be affected by the proposed regulatory changes. The 

Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse 

impact may result from the proposed regulation.3 An adverse 

impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or 

reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined.4 As noted, this 

action would introduce small administrative costs on 

contractors associated with obtaining a signed 

acknowledgement from consumers. However, not only are 

these costs are expected to be small, but they would also likely 

be more than offset by other changes providing administrative 

cost savings. The only adverse impact appears to be indicated 

for the incumbent specialty service contractors who would face 

additional competition as described. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 Types and Estimated Number of 

Small Businesses Affected: According to the board, contractor 

licenses are issued to entities, which undoubtedly includes 

numerous small businesses. It is reasonable to assume that all 

entities holding Class C and Class B licenses meet the 

definition of "small business" as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. This is likely the case for Residential 

Building Energy Analyst firms. It is also possible that many 

entities holding a Class A license fall into the same category. 

Costs and Other Effects: The proposed amendments include 

numerous changes some increasing administrative costs and 

some offsetting such costs. The only adverse impact appears to 

be on incumbent specialty service contractors who would face 

additional competition as described. Thus, the adverse impact 

on such contractors meeting the definition of a small business 

would be expected. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact: There 

does not appear to be a clear alternative method that both 

reduces adverse impact and meets the intended policy goals. 

Localities7 Affected.8 There are no anticipated costs to 

localities because of the regulatory changes. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

may increase the demand for labor in provision of specialty 

services whose scope is being expanded to other contractors. 

However, whether this increased demand would lead to an 

effect on total employment is not known. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Asset values 

of contractors may be positively affected from small, expected 

net savings in administrative costs and from being able to 

perform additional specialty services. On the other hand, the 

asset values of incumbent specialty service contractors that 

may face additional competition may be negatively affected. 

The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-

virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf. 

3 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

4 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

6 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

8 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Contractors concurs with the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Executive Directive One (2022), the proposed 

amendments reduce regulatory burdens while still 

protecting the public health, safety, and welfare and 

include (i) revising definitions; (ii) removing and 

consolidating fees; (iii) clarifying and streamlining 

licensing provisions; (iv) extending to 60 days the period 

of time a regulant has to report a change of qualified 

individual; (v) expanding the requirement for a contractor 

to obtain the signed acknowledgment of receipt of 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
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department statement of protection; and (vi) reducing to 

six hours the length of the required prelicense education 

course and removing requirements that the student supply 

a social security number for that education course and 

that the course provider have certificates of approval 

available on site. 

Part I 

Definitions General 

18VAC50-22-10. General definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 

chapter: 

"Board" 

"Class A contractors" 

"Class B contractors" 

"Class C contractors" 

"Contractor" 

"Department" 

"Designated employee" 

"Director" 

"Fire sprinkler contractor" 

"Owner-developer" 

"Person" 

"Value" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required by 

the context, shall have the following meanings: 

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated by 

the licensee to receive notices and correspondence from the 

board. 

"Affidavit" means a written statement of facts, made 

voluntarily, and confirmed by the oath or affirmation of the 

party making it, taken before a notary or other person having 

the authority to administer such oath or affirmation. 

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law. 

"Change order" means any modification to the original 

contract, including, but not limited to, the time to complete the 

work, change in materials, change in cost, and change in the 

scope of work. 

"Controlling financial interest" means the direct or indirect 

ownership or control of more than 50% ownership of a firm. 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Formal vocational training" means courses in the trade 

administered at an accredited educational facility or formal 

training, approved by the department board, conducted by 

trade associations, businesses, military, correspondence 

schools, or other similar training organizations. 

"Full-time employee" means an employee who spends a 

minimum of 30 hours a week carrying out the work of the 

licensed contracting business and who receives an IRS Form 

W-2 annually. 

"Helper" or "laborer" means a person who assists a licensed 

tradesman and who is not an apprentice as defined in 

18VAC50-30-10 regulant. 

"Licensee" means a firm holding a license issued by the 

Board for Contractors board to act as a contractor, as defined 

in § 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Net worth" means assets minus liabilities. For purposes of 

this chapter, assets shall Assets do not include any property 

owned as tenants by the entirety or property not titled in the 

name of the business entity. 

"Prime contractor" means a licensed contractor that performs, 

supervises, or manages the construction, removal, repair, or 

improvement of real property pursuant to the terms of a 

primary contract with the property owner/lessee. The prime 

contractor may use its own employees to perform the work or 

use the services of other properly licensed contractors. 

"Principal place of business" means the location where the 

licensee principally conducts business with the public. 

"Reciprocity" means an arrangement by which the licensees 

of two states are allowed to practice within each other's 

boundaries by mutual agreement. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed the process 

and requirements through which an expired license can be 

made valid without the licensee having to apply as a new 

applicant. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license for 

another period of time the process and requirements for 

periodically approving the continuance of a license. 

"Residential building energy analyst firm" means any 

business entity wherein a residential building energy analysis, 

as defined in § 54.1-1144 of the Code of Virginia, is offered or 

practiced. 

"Responsible management" means the principals of the 

following individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole Sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general General partnership; 
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3. The managing partners of a limited Limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation Corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited Limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both 

Association; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the 

laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name, or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervision" means providing guidance or direction of a 

delegated task or procedure by a tradesman licensed in 

accordance with Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia, being accessible to the helper or 

laborer, and periodically observing and evaluating the 

performance of the task or procedure. 

"Supervisor" means the licensed master or journeyman 

tradesman who has the responsibility to ensure that the 

installation is in accordance with the applicable provisions of 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code and provides 

supervision to helpers and laborers as defined in this chapter. 

"Temporary license" means a license issued by the board 

pursuant to § 54.1-201.1 of the Code of Virginia that authorizes 

a person to engage in the practice of contracting until such time 

as the license is issued or 45 days from the date of issuance of 

the temporary license, whichever occurs first. 

"Tenants by the entirety" means a tenancy which that is 

created between a husband and wife spouses and by which 

together they the spouses hold title to the whole with right of 

survivorship so that, upon death of either, the other takes whole 

to exclusion of the deceased's remaining heirs. 

"Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code" or "USBC" 

means building regulations comprised of those promulgated by 

the Virginia Board of Housing and Community Development 

in accordance with § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia, including 

any model codes and standards that are incorporated by 

reference and that regulate construction, reconstruction, 

alteration, conversion, repair, maintenance, or use of 

structures, and building and installation of equipment therein. 

18VAC50-22-20. Definitions of license classifications. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required by 

the context shall have the following meanings unless a 

different meaning is provided or is plainly required by the 

context: 

"Commercial building contractors" (Abbr: CBC) means those 

individuals contractors whose contracts include construction, 

remodeling, repair, improvement, removal, or demolition on 

real property owned, controlled, or leased by another person of 

commercial, industrial, institutional, governmental, and 

accessory use buildings or structures. The CBC classification 

does not provide for electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting 

services and does not allow construction, repair, or 

improvement, of dwellings and townhouses as defined in the 

USBC. 

If the CBC contractor performs specialty services other than 

those listed in this definition, all required specialty 

designations shall must be obtained. The CBC may act as a 

prime contractor and contract with subcontractors to perform 

work not permitted by the CBC license. The commercial 

building classification includes but is not limited to the 

functions carried out by the following specialties for contracts 

of commercial, institutional, governmental, and accessory use 

buildings or structures, including multi-family housing: 

Billboard/sign contracting 

Commercial improvement contracting 

Concrete contracting 

Farm improvement contracting 

Industrialized building contracting 

Landscape service contracting 

Marine facility contracting 

Masonry contracting 

Painting and wallcovering contracting 

Recreational facility contracting 

Roofing contracting 

Swimming pool contracting 

"Electrical contractors" (Abbr: ELE) means those individuals 

contractors whose contracts include the construction, 

installation, repair, maintenance, alteration, or removal of 

electrical systems. This classification provides for all work 

covered by the electrical provisions of the USBC, including 

electronic/communication service contracting (ESC) and fire 

alarm systems contracting (FAS) specialties. A firm holding an 

ELE license is responsible for meeting all applicable individual 

license and certification regulations. 

"Fire sprinkler contracting" (Abbr: SPR) means the 

classification that provides for the installation, repair, 

alteration, addition, testing, maintenance, inspection, 

improvement, or removal of sprinkler systems using water as 

a means of fire suppression when annexed to real property. 

This classification does not provide for the installation, repair, 

or maintenance of other types of fire suppression systems. The 

PLB classification allows for the installation of systems 

permitted to be designed in accordance with the plumbing 

provisions of the USBC. This classification may engage in the 
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installation of backflow prevention devices in the fire sprinkler 

supply main and incidental to the sprinkler system installation 

when the installer has received formal vocational training 

approved by the board that included instruction in the 

installation of backflow prevention devices. 

"Highway/heavy contractors" (Abbr: H/H) means those 

individuals contractors whose contracts include construction, 

repair, improvement, or demolition of the following: 

Bridges 

Dams 

Drainage systems 

Foundations 

Parking lots 

Public transit systems 

Railroads 

Roads 

Runways 

Streets 

Structural signs and lights 

Tanks 

The functions carried out by these contractors include but are 

not limited to the following: 

Building demolition 

Clearing 

Concrete work 

Excavating 

Grading 

Nonwater well drilling 

Paving 

Pile driving 

Road marking 

Steel erection 

These contractors also install, maintain, or dismantle the 

following: 

1. Power systems for the generation and primary and 

secondary distribution of electric current ahead of the 

customer's meter; 

2. Pumping stations and treatment plants; 

3. Telephone, telegraph, or signal systems for public 

utilities; and 

4. Water, gas, and sewer connections to residential, 

commercial, and industrial sites, subject to local ordinances. 

This classification may also install backflow prevention 

devices incidental to work in this classification when the 

installer has received formal vocational training approved by 

the board that included instruction in the installation of 

backflow prevention devices. When performing site work, this 

classification may properly abandon a Class IIIC bored/drilled 

well in accordance with Virginia Department of Health 

regulations. 

"HVAC contractors" (Abbr: HVA) means those individuals 

contractors whose work includes contracts include the 

installation, alteration, repair, or maintenance of heating 

systems, ventilating systems, cooling systems, steam and hot 

water heaters, heating systems, boilers, process piping, and 

mechanical refrigeration systems, including tanks incidental to 

the system. This classification does not provide for fire 

suppression installations, sprinkler system installations, or gas 

piping. A firm holding a an HVAC license is responsible for 

meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. This classification may install backflow 

prevention devices incidental to work in this classification. 

"Plumbing contractors" (Abbr: PLB) means those individuals 

contractors whose contracts include the installation, 

maintenance, extension, or alteration, or removal of all piping, 

fixtures, appliances, and appurtenances in connection with any 

of the following: 

Backflow prevention devices 

Boilers 

Hot water baseboard heating systems 

Hot water heaters 

Hydronic systems 

Process piping 

Public/private water supply systems within or adjacent to 

any building, structure, or conveyance 

Sanitary or storm drainage facilities 

Steam heating systems 

Storage tanks incidental to the installation of related systems 

Venting systems related to plumbing 

These contractors also install, maintain, extend, or alter the 

following: 

Liquid waste systems 

Sewerage systems 

Storm water systems 

Water supply systems 
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This classification does not provide for (i) gas piping or (ii) 

the function of fire sprinkler contracting except for sprinklers 

that are tied into the domestic water supply. A firm holding a 

PLB license is responsible for meeting all applicable individual 

license and certification regulations. The classification may 

install fire sprinkler systems permitted to be designed in 

accordance with the plumbing provisions of the USBC when 

the installer has received formal vocational training approved 

by the board that included instruction of installation of fire 

sprinkler systems. 

"Residential building contractors" (Abbr: RBC) means those 

individuals contractors whose contracts include construction, 

remodeling, repair, improvement, removal, or demolition on 

real property owned, controlled, or leased by another person of 

dwellings and townhouses, as defined in the USBC, including 

accessory buildings or structures on such property. The RBC 

classification does not provide for electrical, plumbing, 

HVAC, or gas fitting services and does not allow construction, 

removal, repair, or improvement to commercial, industrial, 

institutional, or governmental use structures outside of 

dwellings and townhouses, as defined by the USBC. 

The residential building classification includes but is not 

limited to the functions carried out by the following specialties 

for contracts of dwellings and townhouses, as defined by the 

USBC, and related accessory use buildings or structures: 

Concrete contracting 

Home improvement contracting 

Industrialized building contracting 

Landscape service contracting 

Masonry contracting 

Painting and wallcovering contracting 

Roofing contracting 

Swimming pool contracting 

"Specialty contractors" means those individuals contractors 

whose contracts are for specialty services that do not generally 

fall within the scope of any other classification within this 

chapter. 

18VAC50-22-30. Definitions of specialty services. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required by 

the context shall have the following meanings unless a 

different meaning is provided or is plainly required by the 

context: 

"Accessibility services contracting" (Abbr: ASC) means the 

service that provides for all work in connection with the 

constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, 

or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, and private 

residence elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work. This specialty does not include 

work on limited use-limited application (LULA) elevators. 

"Accessibility services contracting - LULA" (Abbr: ASL) 

means the service that provides for all work in connection with 

the constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, 

testing, or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, private 

residence elevators, and limited use-limited application 

(LULA) elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work. 

"Alternative energy system contracting" (Abbr: AES) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement, from the customer's meter, of alternative energy 

generation systems, supplemental energy systems and 

associated equipment annexed to real property. This service 

does not include the installation of emergency generators 

powered by fossil fuels. No other classification or specialty 

service provides this function. This specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions. 

"Alternative sewage disposal system contracting" (Abbr: 

ADS) means the service that provides for the installation, 

repair, improvement, or removal of a treatment works that is 

not a conventional onsite sewage system and does not result in 

a point source discharge. No other classification or specialty 

service provides this function. 

"Asbestos contracting" (Abbr: ASB) means the service that 

provides for the installation, removal, or encapsulation of 

asbestos containing materials annexed to real property. No 

other classification or specialty service provides for this 

function. 

"Asphalt paving and sealcoating contracting" (Abbr: PAV) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of asphalt paving or sealcoating, or 

both, on subdivision streets and adjacent intersections, 

driveways, parking lots, tennis courts, running tracks, and play 

areas, using materials and accessories common to the industry. 

This includes height adjustment of existing sewer manholes, 

storm drains, water valves, sewer cleanouts and drain grates, 

and all necessary excavation and grading. The H/H 

classification also provides for this function. 

"Billboard/sign contracting" (Abbr: BSC) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or 

dismantling of any billboard or structural sign permanently 

annexed to real property. H/H and CBC are the classifications 

that can perform this work except that a contractor in this 

specialty may connect or disconnect signs to existing electrical 

circuits. No trade related plumbing, electrical, or HVAC work 

is included in this function. 
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"Blast/explosive contracting" (Abbr: BEC) means the service 

that provides for the use of explosive charges for the repair, 

improvement, alteration, or demolition of any real property or 

any structure annexed to real property. No other classification 

or specialty service provides this function. 

"Commercial improvement contracting" (Abbr: CIC) means 

the service that provides for repair or improvement to 

structures not defined as dwellings and townhouses in the 

USBC. The CBC classification also provides for this function. 

The CIC specialty does not provide for the construction of new 

buildings, accessory buildings, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or 

gas work. 

"Concrete contracting" (Abbr: CEM) means the service that 

provides for all work in connection with the processing, 

proportioning, batching, mixing, conveying, and placing of 

concrete composed of materials common to the concrete 

industry. This includes finishing, coloring, curing, repairing, 

testing, sawing, grinding, grouting, placing of film barriers, 

sealing, and waterproofing. Construction and assembling of 

forms, molds, slipforms, and pans, centering, and the use of 

rebar are also included. The CBC, RBC, and H/H 

classifications also provide for this function. 

"Conventional sewage disposal system contracting" (Abbr: 

CDS) means the service that provides for the installation, 

repair, improvement, or removal of a treatment works 

consisting of one or more septic tanks with gravity, pumped, 

or siphoned conveyance to a gravity distributed subsurface 

drainfield. The ADS specialty may also perform this work. 

"Drug lab remediation contracting" (Abbr: DLR) means the 

service that provides for the cleanup, treatment, containment, 

or removal of hazardous substances at or in a property formerly 

used to manufacture methamphetamine or other drugs and may 

include demolition or disposal of structures or other property. 

No other classification or specialty provides for this function. 

"Drywall contracting" (Abbr: DRY) means the service that 

provides for the installation, taping, and finishing of drywall, 

panels and assemblies of gypsum wallboard, sheathing, and 

cementitious board, and the installation of studs made of sheet 

metal for the framing of ceilings and nonstructural partitioning. 

The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and CIC specialties 

also provide for this function. 

"Electronic/communication service contracting" (Abbr: ESC) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of electronic or communications 

systems annexed to real property including telephone wiring, 

computer cabling, sound systems, data links, data and network 

installation, television and cable TV wiring, antenna wiring, 

and fiber optics installation, all of which or other systems that 

operate at 50 volts or less. A firm holding an ESC license is 

responsible for meeting all applicable tradesman licensure 

standards. The ELE classification also provides for this 

function. 

"Elevator/escalator contracting" (Abbr: EEC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of elevators or escalators permanently annexed to 

real property. A firm holding an EEC license is responsible for 

meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for this function. 

"Environmental monitoring well contracting" (Abbr: EMW) 

means the service that provides for the construction of a well 

to monitor hazardous substances in the ground. The H/H 

classification and WWP specialty also provides for this 

function. 

"Environmental specialties contracting" (Abbr: ENV) means 

the service that provides for installation, repair, removal, or 

improvement of pollution control and remediation devices. No 

other specialty provides for this function. This specialty does 

not provide for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC 

functions. The H/H classification also provides for this 

function. 

"Equipment/machinery contracting" (Abbr: EMC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of 

equipment or machinery, including conveyors or heavy 

machinery. Boilers exempted by the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) but regulated by the 

Department of Labor and Industry are also included in this 

specialty. This specialty does not provide for any electrical, 

plumbing, process piping, or HVAC functions. 

"Farm improvement contracting" (Abbr: FIC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of a nonresidential farm building or structure, or 

nonresidential farm accessory-use structure, or additions 

thereto. The CBC and RBC classification also provides for this 

function. The FIC specialty does not provide for any electrical, 

plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions. 

"Finish carpentry contracting" (Abbr: FIN) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, and finishing of 

cabinets, sash casing, door casing, wooden flooring, 

baseboards, countertops, and other millwork. Finish carpentry 

does not include the installation of ceramic tile, marble, and 

artificial or cultured stone. The CBC and RBC classifications 

and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Fire alarm systems contracting" (Abbr: FAS) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of fire alarm systems that operate at 50 volts or 

less. The ELE classification also provides for this function. A 

firm with an FAS license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable tradesman licensure standards. 

"Fire sprinkler contracting" (Abbr: SPR) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, alteration, addition, 

testing, maintenance, inspection, improvement, or removal of 

sprinkler systems using water as a means of fire suppression 

when annexed to real property. This specialty does not provide 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 5  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 21, 2024  

701 

for the installation, repair, or maintenance of other types of fire 

suppression systems. The PLB classification allows for the 

installation of systems permitted to be designed in accordance 

with the plumbing provisions of the USBC. This specialty may 

engage in the installation of backflow prevention devices in the 

fire sprinkler supply main and incidental to the sprinkler 

system installation when the installer has received formal 

vocational training approved by the board that included 

instruction in the installation of backflow prevention devices. 

"Fire suppression contracting" (Abbr: FSP) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or 

removal of fire suppression systems including halon and other 

gas systems, dry chemical systems, and carbon dioxide 

systems annexed to real property. No other classification 

provides for this function. The FSP specialty does not provide 

for the installation, repair, or maintenance of water sprinkler 

systems. 

"Flooring and floor covering contracting" (Abbr: FLR) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials that are common in the 

flooring industry. This includes wood and wood composite 

flooring, tack strips or other products used to secure carpet, 

vinyl and linoleum, ceramic, marble, stone, and all other types 

of tile, and includes the installation or replacement of 

subflooring, leveling products, or other materials necessary to 

facilitate the installation of the flooring or floor covering. This 

does not include the installation, repair, or removal of floor 

joists or other structural components of the flooring system. 

The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and CIC specialties 

also provide for this function. 

"Framing subcontractor contractor" (Abbr: FRM) means the 

service which, while serving in the role of a subcontractor to a 

licensed prime contractor, that provides for the construction, 

removal, repair, or improvement to any framing or rough 

carpentry necessary for the construction of framed structures, 

including the installation and repair of individual components 

of framing systems. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Gas fitting contracting" (Abbr: GFC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or removal 

of gas piping and appliances annexed to real property. A firm 

holding a GFC license is responsible for meeting all applicable 

individual (tradesman) licensure regulations. 

"Glass and glazing contracting" (Abbr: GLZ) means the 

service that provides for the installation, assembly, repair, 

improvement, or removal of all makes and kinds of glass, glass 

work, mirrored glass, and glass substitute for glazing; executes 

the fabrication and glazing of frames, panels, sashes and doors; 

or installs these items in any structure. This specialty includes 

the installation of standard methods of weatherproofing, 

caulking, glazing, sealants, and adhesives. The CBC and RBC 

classifications and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for 

this function. 

"Home improvement contracting" (Abbr: HIC) means the 

service that provides for repairs or improvements to dwellings 

and townhouses as defined in the USBC or structures annexed 

to those dwellings or townhouses as defined in the USBC. The 

RBC classification also provides for this function. The HIC 

specialty does not provide for electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or 

gas fitting functions. It does not include new construction 

functions beyond the existing building structure other than 

decks, patios, driveways, and utility out buildings that do not 

require a permit per the USBC. 

"Industrialized building contracting" (Abbr: IBC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of an 

industrialized building as defined in the Virginia Industrialized 

Building Safety Regulations (13VAC5-91). This classification 

covers foundation work in accordance with the provisions of 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) 

and allows the licensee to complete internal tie-ins of 

plumbing, gas, electrical, and HVAC systems. It does not allow 

for installing additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC 

work such as installing the service meter, or installing the 

outside compressor for the HVAC system. The CBC and RBC 

classifications also provide for this function. 

"Insulation and weather stripping contracting" (Abbr: INS) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials classified as insulating 

media used for the sole purpose of temperature control or 

sound control of residential and commercial buildings. It does 

not include the insulation of mechanical equipment and 

ancillary lines and piping. The CBC and RBC classifications 

and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Landscape irrigation contracting" (Abbr: ISC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of irrigation sprinkler systems or outdoor sprinkler 

systems. The PLB and H/H classifications also provide for this 

function. This specialty may install backflow prevention 

devices incidental to work in this specialty when the installer 

has received formal vocational training approved by the board 

that included instruction in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices. 

"Landscape service contracting" (Abbr: LSC) means the 

service that provides for the alteration or improvement of a 

land area not related to any other classification or service 

activity by means of excavation, clearing, grading, 

construction of retaining walls for landscaping purposes, or 

placement of landscaping timbers. This specialty may remove 

stumps and roots below grade. The CBC, RBC, and H/H 

classifications and the CIC and HIC specialties also provide for 

this function. 

"Lead abatement contracting" (Abbr: LAC) means the service 

that provides for the removal or encapsulation of lead-

containing materials annexed to real property. No other 

classification or specialty service provides for this function, 
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except that the PLB and HVA classifications may provide this 

service incidental to work in those classifications. 

"Liquefied petroleum gas contracting" (Abbr: LPG) means 

the service that includes the installation, maintenance, 

extension, alteration, or removal of all piping, fixtures, 

appliances, and appurtenances used in transporting, storing, or 

utilizing liquefied petroleum gas. This excludes hot water 

heaters, boilers, and central heating systems that require an 

HVA or PLB license. The GFC specialty also provides for this 

function. A firm holding an LPG license is responsible for 

meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. 

"Manufactured home contracting" (Abbr: MHC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of a 

manufactured home as defined in the Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95). This classification 

does not cover foundation work; however, it does allow 

installation of piers covered under HUD regulations. It does 

allow a licensee to do internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, 

electrical, or HVAC equipment. It does not allow for installing 

additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC work such as 

installing the service meter or installing the outside compressor 

for any components of the HVAC system. No other specialty 

provides for this function. 

"Marine facility contracting" (Abbr: MCC) means the service 

that provides for the construction, repair, improvement, or 

removal of any structure the purpose of which is to provide 

access to, impede, or alter a body of surface water. The CBC 

and H/H classifications also provide for this function. The 

MCC specialty does not provide for the construction of 

accessory structures or electrical, HVAC, or plumbing 

functions. 

"Masonry contracting" (Abbr: BRK) means the service that 

includes the installation of brick, concrete block, stone, marble, 

slate, or other units and products common to the masonry 

industry, including mortarless type masonry products. This 

includes installation of grout, caulking, tuck pointing, sand 

blasting, mortar washing, parging, and cleaning and welding of 

reinforcement steel related to masonry construction. The CBC 

and, RBC, and H/H classifications and the HIC and CIC 

specialties also provide for this function. 

"Miscellaneous contracting" (Abbr: MSC) means the service 

that may fall under another classification or specialty service 

but is more limited than the functions provided by the other 

classification or specialty. This specialty is limited to a single 

activity and will be restricted to that specialty only. This 

specialty may not be used for work that would fall under the 

ELE, HVA, PLB, GFC, LPG, NGF, EEC, WWP, ASC, LAC, 

or ASB classification or specialty. Contractors applying for the 

MSC specialty will have their applications reviewed by the 

Board for Contractors. 

"Natural gas fitting provider contracting" (Abbr: NGF) means 

the service that provides for the incidental repair, testing, or 

removal of natural gas piping or fitting annexed to real 

property. This does not include new installation of gas piping 

for hot water heaters, boilers, central heating systems, or other 

natural gas equipment that requires an HVA or PLB license. 

The GFC specialty also provides for this function. A firm 

holding an NGF license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual license and certification regulations. 

"Painting and wallcovering contracting" (Abbr: PTC) means 

the service that provides for the application of materials 

common to the painting and decorating industry for protective 

or decorative purposes, the installation of surface coverings 

such as vinyls, wall papers, and cloth fabrics. This includes 

surface preparation, caulking, sanding, and cleaning 

preparatory to painting or coverings and includes both interior 

and exterior surfaces. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

the HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Radon mitigation contracting" (Abbr: RMC) means the 

service that provides for additions, repairs, or improvements to 

buildings or structures, for the purpose of mitigating or 

preventing the effects of radon gas. No electrical, plumbing, 

gas fitting, or HVAC functions are provided by this specialty. 

"Recreational facility contracting" (Abbr: RFC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, or 

improvement of any recreational facility, excluding paving and 

the construction of buildings, plumbing, electrical, and HVAC 

functions. The CBC classification and H/H classifications also 

provides for this function. 

"Refrigeration contracting" (Abbr: REF) means the service 

that provides for installation, repair, or removal of any 

refrigeration equipment (excluding HVAC equipment). No 

electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are 

provided by this specialty. This specialty is intended for those 

contractors who repair or install coolers, refrigerated 

casework, ice-making machines, drinking fountains, cold room 

equipment, and similar hermetic refrigeration equipment. The 

HVA classification also provides for this function. 

"Roofing contracting" (Abbr: ROC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, removal, or improvement 

of materials common to the industry that form a watertight, 

weather resistant surface for roofs and decks. This includes 

roofing system components when installed in conjunction with 

a roofing project, application of dampproofing or 

waterproofing, and installation of roof insulation panels and 

other roof insulation systems above roof deck. The CBC and 

RBC classifications and the HIC and CIC specialties also 

provide for this function. 

"Steel erection contracting" (Abbr: STL) means the service 

that provides for the fabrication and erection of structural steel 

shapes and plates, regardless of shape or size, to be used as 

structural members, or tanks, including any related riveting, 
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welding, and rigging. This specialty includes the fabrication, 

placement and tying of steel reinforcing bars (rods), and post-

tensioning to reinforce concrete buildings and structures. The 

CBC and, RBC, and H/H classifications and HIC and CIC 

specialties also provide for this function. 

"Swimming pool construction contracting" (Abbr: POL) 

means the service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of in-ground swimming pools. The 

CBC and, RBC, and H/H classifications and the RFC specialty 

also provide for this function. No trade related plumbing, 

electrical, backflow, or HVAC work is included in this 

specialty. 

"Tile, marble, ceramic, and terrazzo contracting" (Abbr: 

TMC) means the service that provides for the preparation, 

fabrication, construction, and installation of artificial marble, 

burned clay tile, ceramic, terrazzo, encaustic, faience, quarry, 

semi-vitreous, cementitious board, and other tile, excluding 

hollow or structural partition tile. The CBC and RBC 

classifications and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for 

this function. 

"Underground utility and excavating contracting" (Abbr: 

UUC) means the service that provides for the construction, 

repair, improvement, or removal of main sanitary sewer 

collection systems, main water distribution systems, storm 

sewer collection systems, and the continuation of utility lines 

from the main systems to a point of termination up to and 

including the meter location for the individual occupancy, 

sewer collection systems at property line, or residential or 

single-occupancy commercial properties, or on multi-

occupancy properties at manhole or wye lateral extend to an 

invert elevation as engineered to accommodate future building 

sewers, water distribution systems, or storm sewer collection 

systems at storm sewer structures water, gas, and sewer 

connections to residential, commercial, and industrial sites, 

subject to local ordinances. This specialty may install empty 

underground conduits in rights-of way, easements, platted 

rights-of-way in new site development, and sleeves for parking 

lot crossings if each conduit system does not include 

installation of any conductor wiring or connection to an 

energized electrical system. The H/H classification also 

provides for this function. 

"Vessel construction contracting" (Abbr: VCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, improvement, 

or removal of nonresidential vessels, tanks, or piping that hold 

or convey fluids other than sanitary, storm, waste, or potable 

water supplies. The H/H classification also provides for this 

function. 

"Water well/pump contracting" (Abbr: WWP) means the 

service that provides for the installation of a water well system, 

including geothermal wells, which includes construction of a 

water well to reach groundwater, as defined in § 62.1-255 of 

the Code of Virginia, and the installation of the well pump and 

tank, including pipe and wire, up to and including the point of 

connection to the plumbing and electrical systems. No other 

classification or specialty service provides for construction of 

water wells. This regulation shall not exclude the PLB, ELE, 

or HVA classification from installation of pumps and tanks. 

Note: Specialty contractors engaging in construction that 

involves the following activities or items or similar activities 

or items may fall under the CIC, HIC, and FIC specialty 

services, or they may fall under the CBC or RBC classification. 

Appliances Fences Railings 

Awnings Fiberglass Rigging 

Blinds Fireplaces Rubber linings 

Bulkheads Fireproofing Sandblasting 

Carpeting Fixtures Scaffolding 

Ceilings Grouting Screens 

Chimneys Guttering Shutters 

Chutes Interior decorating Siding 

Curtains Lubrication Skylights 

Curtain walls Metal work Storage bins and 

lockers 

Decks Millwrighting Stucco 

Doors Mirrors Vaults 

Drapes Miscellaneous 

iron 

Wall panels 

Epoxy Ornamental iron Waterproofing 

Exterior 

decoration 

Partitions Windows 

Facings Protective 

coatings 

 

18VAC50-22-90. Past due recovery fund assessments. 

No license shall will be issued to an applicant whose previous 

license or registration was suspended for nonpayment of a 

Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund assessment 

until all past-due assessments have been paid. 

18VAC50-22-100. Fees. 

Each check or money order shall must be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall will be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department: 
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Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$210 

Class B Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$345 

Class A Initial 

License 

with license 

application 
$360 

Temporary License 

with license 

application and 

applicable initial 

license fee 

$50 

Residential Building 

Energy Analyst Firm 

License 

with license 

application 
$210 

Qualified Individual 

Exam Fee 

with exam 

application 
$20 

Class B Exam Fee 

with exam 

application ($20 

per section) 

$40 

Class A Exam Fee 

with exam 

application ($20 

per section) 

$60 

Change of 

Designated 

Employee 

with change 

application 
$110 

Change of Qualified 

Individual 

with change 

application 
$110 

Addition of 

Classification or 

Specialty 

with addition 

application 
$110 

Note: A In accordance with § 54.1-1119 of the Code of 

Virginia, a $25 Recovery Fund assessment is also required 

with each initial license application, except for the residential 

building energy analyst firm license. If the applicant does not 

meet all requirements and does not become licensed, this 

assessment will be refunded. The examination fees approved 

by the board but administered by another governmental agency 

or organization shall be determined by that agency or 

organization. No Recovery Fund assessment is required for 

residential building energy analyst firm license, change of 

designated employee, change of qualified individual, or 

addition of classification or specialty. 

18VAC50-22-110. Renewal required. 

Licenses issued under this chapter shall will expire two years 

from the last day of the month in which they were issued, as 

indicated on the license. 

18VAC50-22-120. Procedures for renewal. 

The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

will mail a notice of renewal to the licensee at the last known 

address of record. Failure to receive this notice shall does not 

relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew. If the licensee 

does not receive the notice of renewal, a copy of the license 

may be substituted with the required fee. 

18VAC50-22-130. Qualifications for renewal. 

A. The license holder's completed renewal form and 

appropriate fees must be received within 30 days of the license 

expiration date in order to renew the license. Licenses are not 

valid during the 30-day grace period. Applications and fees 

received after the 30-day period will be processed in 

accordance with Part IV (18VAC50-22-160 et seq.) of this 

chapter. 

B. Applicants for renewal of a Class C license shall must 

continue to meet all of the qualifications for licensure set forth 

in 18VAC50-22-40. Applicants for renewal of a Class B 

license shall must continue to meet all of the qualifications for 

licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-50. Applicants for renewal 

of a Class A license shall must continue to meet all of the 

qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-60. 

C. Applicants for renewal of a residential building energy analyst 

firm license shall must continue to meet all of the qualifications 

for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-62 and shall submit proof 

of insurance as required in 18VAC50-22-62 C. 

18VAC50-22-140. Renewal fees. 

Each check or money order should must be made payable to 

the Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. 

In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument 

for payment of a fee required by statute or regulation is not 

honored by the bank or financial institution named, the 

applicant or regulant shall will be required to remit fees 

sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department: 

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$195 

Class B renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$225 

Class A renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$240 

Residential 

Building Energy 

Analyst Firm 

renewal 

with renewal 

application 
$195 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 5  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 21, 2024  

705 

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or its 

agent shall will determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

renewal or must apply for reinstatement. 

For renewal fees received on or before August 31, 2025, the 

fees shall will be $150 for a Class C renewal, $175 for a Class 

B renewal, $200 for a Class A renewal, and $150 for a 

Residential Building Energy Analyst Firm renewal. 

18VAC50-22-150. Board discretion to deny renewal. 

A. The board may deny renewal of a license for the same 

reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a 

licensee. The licensee has a right to appeal any such action by 

the board under the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

B. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order may result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing a new application, or exam 

administration. 

18VAC50-22-160. Reinstatement required. 

Should the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation fail to receive A. If all requirements for renewal of 

a license holder's renewal form and appropriate fees as 

specified in 18VAC50-22-130 are not completed within 30 

days of the license expiration date, the licensee shall will be 

required to reinstate the license. Applicants for reinstatement 

of a Class C license shall meet the requirements of 18VAC50-

22-130 by meeting all renewal requirements and by paying the 

reinstatement fee specified in 18VAC50-22-170. Applicants 

for reinstatement of a Class B license shall continue to meet 

the qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-50. 

Applicants for reinstatement of a Class A license shall continue 

to meet all the qualifications for licensure set forth in 

18VAC50-22-60. Applicants for reinstatement of a residential 

building energy analyst firm license shall continue to meet all 

of the qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-62 

and shall submit proof of insurance as required in 18VAC50-

22-62 C. 

B. A license may be reinstated for up to 24 months following 

the expiration date. After 24 months, the license may not be 

reinstated and the firm must meet all current entry 

requirements and apply as a new applicant. 

C. Any regulated activity conducted subsequent to the license 

expiration date may constitute unlicensed activity and be 

subject to prosecution under Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) and 

Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

18VAC50-22-170. Reinstatement fees. 

Each check or money order should must be made payable to 

the Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall will be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department: 

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C 

reinstatement 

with reinstatement 

application 
$405* 

Class B 

reinstatement 

with reinstatement 

application 
$460* 

Class A 

reinstatement 

with reinstatement 

application 
$490* 

Residential 

Building Energy 

Analyst Firm 

reinstatement 

with reinstatement 

application 
$405* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140. 

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or its 

agent shall will determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

reinstatement or must apply for a new license and meet the 

entry requirements in place at the time of that application. In 

order to ensure that licensees are qualified to practice as 

contractors, no reinstatement will be permitted once two years 

from the expiration date of the license have passed. 

For reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 2025, 

the fees shall will be $360 for Class C reinstatement, $410 for 

Class B reinstatement, $450 for Class A reinstatement, and 

$360 for a Residential Building Energy Analyst Firm. These 

fees include the renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140. 

18VAC50-22-180. Status of licensee during the period prior 

to reinstatement. 

A. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall will 

continue to have the same license number and shall be assigned 

an expiration date two years from the previous expiration date 

of the license. 

B. A contractor who reinstates his a license shall be regarded 

as having been continuously licensed without interruption. 

Therefore: 

1. The contractor shall will remain under the disciplinary 

authority of the board during this entire period and may be 

held accountable for his activities during this period. 

2. A consumer who contracts with a contractor during the 

period between the expiration of the license and the 
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reinstatement of the license shall will not be prohibited from 

making a claim on the Virginia Contractor Transaction 

Recovery Fund. 

A contractor who fails to reinstate his license shall will be 

regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the license 

forward. 

Nothing in this chapter shall will divest the board of its 

authority to discipline a contractor for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of time for which the contractor 

was licensed. 

C. A residential building energy analyst firm that reinstates 

its license shall will be regarded as having been continuously 

licensed without interruption and shall remain under the 

disciplinary authority of the board during this entire period and 

may be held accountable for its activities during this period. 

18VAC50-22-190. Board discretion to deny reinstatement. 

A. The board may deny reinstatement of a license for the same 

reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a licensee. 

The licensee has a right to appeal any such action by the board 

under the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

B. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of 

cost or other fee assessed by consent order or final order shall 

result in delaying or withholding services provided by the 

department, such as, but not limited to, renewal, reinstatement, 

processing of a new application, or exam administration. 

18VAC50-22-200. Remedial education, revocation or 

suspension; fines. 

The board may require impose remedial education, and a 

monetary penalty in accordance with § 54.1-202 A of the Code of 

Virginia or revoke or suspend a any license or fine a licensee when 

a licensee has been found to have violated or cooperated with 

others in violating any provision of the regulations of the board or 

Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any regulation of the 

board. 

18VAC50-22-210. Change of business entity requires a new 

license. 

Licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter and are 

not transferable. Whenever the legal business entity holding 

the license is dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, 

the original license becomes void and shall be returned to the 

board within 30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm shall 

must apply for a new license, on a form provided by the board, 

within 30 days of the change in the business entity. Such 

changes include but are not limited to: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

and 

3. Conversion, formation, Formation or dissolution of a 

corporation, a limited liability company, or an association or 

any other business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

18VAC50-22-220. Change of responsible management, 

designated employee, or qualified individual. 

A. Any change in the officers principals of a corporation, 

managers of a limited liability company, or officers or directors 

of an association shall must be reported to the board in writing 

within 120 days of the change. 

B. Any change of designated employee shall must be reported 

on a form provided by the board within 120 days of the change. 

The new designated employee for a Class B licensee shall must 

meet the requirements of 18VAC50-22-50 B. The new 

designated employee for a Class A licensee shall must meet the 

requirements of 18VAC50-22-60 B. More than one individual 

associated with a single firm may complete the examination 

requirements necessary for eligibility as the designated 

employee. 

C. Any change of qualified individual shall must be reported 

on a form provided by the board within 45 60 days of the 

change. The new qualified individual for a Class C licensee 

shall must meet the requirements of 18VAC50-22-40 B. The 

new qualified individual for a Class B licensee shall must meet 

the requirements of 18VAC50-22-50 C. The new qualified 

individual for a Class A licensee shall must meet the 

requirements of 18VAC50-22-60 C. 

18VAC50-22-230. Change of name or address. 

A. A licensee must operate under the name in which the 

license is issued. Any name change shall must be reported in 

writing to the board within 30 days of the change. The board 

shall will not be responsible for the licensee's failure to receive 

notices or correspondence due to the licensee's not having 

reported a change of name. 

B. Any change of the address of record or principal place of 

business shall must be reported in writing to the board within 

30 days of the change. The board shall will not be responsible 

for the licensee's failure to receive notices or correspondence 

due to the licensee's not having reported a change of address. 

18VAC50-22-240. Deletion or addition of a classification or 

specialty. 

A. A licensee wishing to delete a classification or specialty 

from its license shall must notify the board in writing. If a 

licensee has only one classification or specialty, deletion of 

that classification or specialty will result in termination of the 

license. 

B. A licensee wishing to add a classification or specialty to its 

license shall must complete a form provided by the board. A 

Class C licensee seeking an additional classification or 

specialty shall must meet the requirements of 18VAC50-22-40 
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B for the new classification or specialty. A Class B licensee 

seeking an additional classification or specialty shall must 

meet the requirements of 18VAC50-22-50 C for the new 

classification or specialty. A Class A licensee seeking an 

additional classification or specialty shall must meet the 

requirements of 18VAC50-22-60 C for the new classification 

or specialty. 

18VAC50-22-250. Fees. (Repealed.) 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees 

sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Change of 

Designated 

Employee 

with change form $110  

Change of Qualified 

Individual 
with change form $110  

Addition of 

Classification or 

Specialty 

with addition 

application 
$110  

18VAC50-22-260. Filing of charges; prohibited acts. 

A. All complaints against contractors and residential building 

energy analyst firms may be filed with the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation at any time during 

business hours, pursuant to § 54.1-1114 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. The following acts are prohibited acts: 

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions of 

Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the regulations 

of the board. 

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, reinstating, 

or maintaining a license. 

3. Failure of the responsible management, designated 

employee, or qualified individual to report to the board, in 

writing, the suspension or revocation of a contractor license 

by another state or conviction in a court of competent 

jurisdiction of a building code violation. 

4. Publishing or causing to be published any advertisement 

relating to contracting that contains an assertion, 

representation, or statement of fact that is false, deceptive, 

or misleading. 

5. Negligence or incompetence in the practice of contracting 

or residential building energy analyses. 

6. Misconduct in the practice of contracting or residential 

building energy analyses. 

7. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the practice 

of contracting by a court of competent jurisdiction or by the 

board. 

8. Failure of all those who engage in residential contracting, 

excluding subcontractors to the contracting parties and those 

who engage in routine maintenance or service contracts, to 

make use of a legible written contract clearly specifying the 

terms and conditions of the work to be performed. For the 

purposes of this chapter, residential contracting means 

construction, removal, repair, or improvements to single-

family or multiple-family residential buildings, including 

accessory-use structures as defined in § 54.1-1100 of the 

Code of Virginia. Prior to commencement of work or 

acceptance of payments, the contract shall be signed by both 

the consumer and the licensee or the licensee's agent. 

9. Failure of those engaged in residential contracting as 

defined in this chapter to comply with the terms of a written 

contract that contains the following minimum requirements: 

a. When work is to begin and the estimated completion 

date; 

b. A statement regarding total cost of the project with 

regards to the type of contract being specified: 

(1) Standard total value project: a statement of the total 

cost of the project; 

(2) Cost plus: a statement identifying the type of cost-plus 

contract, fee or percentage, and a cap that the total dollar 

amount cannot exceed; or 

(3) Time and materials: a fixed price for labor that includes 

wages, overhead, general and administrative costs, and 

cost of materials; 

c. The amounts and schedule for progress payments, 

including a specific statement on the amount of the down 

payment; 

d. A listing of specified materials and work to be 

performed, which is specifically requested by the 

consumer; 

e. A "plain-language" exculpatory clause concerning 

events beyond the control of the contractor and a statement 

explaining that delays caused by such events do not 

constitute abandonment and are not included in 

calculating timeframes for payment or performance; 

f. A statement of assurance that the contractor will comply 

with all local requirements for building permits, 

inspections, and zoning; 

g. Disclosure of the cancellation rights of the parties; 

h. For contracts resulting from a door-to-door solicitation, 

a A signed acknowledgment by the consumer that the 
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consumer has been provided with and read the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation statement of 

protection available to consumers through the Board for 

Contractors; 

i. Contractor's name, address, license number, class of 

license, and classifications or specialty services; 

j. A statement providing that any modification to the 

contract that changes the cost, materials, work to be 

performed, or estimated completion date must be in 

writing and signed by all parties; and 

k. Effective with all new contracts entered into after July 

1, 2015, a A statement notifying consumers of the 

existence of the Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery 

Fund that includes information on how to contact the 

board for claim information. 

10. Failure to make prompt delivery to the consumer before 

commencement of work of a fully executed copy of the 

contract as described in subdivisions 8 and 9 of this 

subsection for construction or contracting work. 

11. Failure of the contractor to maintain for a period of five 

years from the date of contract a complete and legible copy 

of all documents relating to that contract, including the 

contract and any addenda or change orders. 

12. Refusing or failing, upon request, to produce to the 

board, or any of its agents, any document, book, record, or 

copy of it in the licensee's possession concerning a 

transaction covered by this chapter or for which the licensee 

is required to maintain records. 

13. Failing to respond to an agent of the board or providing 

false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

investigator seeking information in the investigation of a 

complaint filed with the board against the contractor. Failing 

or refusing to claim certified mail sent to the licensee's 

address of record shall constitute a violation of this 

regulation. 

14. Abandonment, defined as the unjustified cessation of 

work under the contract for a period of 30 days or more. 

15. The intentional and unjustified failure to complete work 

contracted for or to comply with the terms in the contract. 

16. The retention or misapplication of funds paid, for which 

work is either not performed or performed only in part. 

17. Making any misrepresentation or making a false promise 

that might influence, persuade, or induce. 

18. Assisting another to violate any provision of Chapter 1 

(§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or this chapter or 

combining or conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or 

associate for another. 

19. Allowing a firm's license to be used by another. 

20. Acting as or being an ostensible licensee for undisclosed 

persons who do or will control or direct, directly or indirectly, 

the operations of the licensee's business. 

21. Action by the firm, responsible management as defined in 

this chapter, designated employee, or qualified individual to 

offer, give, or promise anything of value or benefit to any 

federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of influencing 

that employee to circumvent, in the performance of the 

employee's duties, any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or 

ordinance governing the construction industry. 

22. Where the firm, responsible management as defined in this 

chapter, designated employee, or qualified individual has been 

convicted or found guilty, after initial licensure, regardless of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction, of any felony or non-marijuana 

misdemeanor, there being no appeal pending therefrom or the 

time of appeal having elapsed. Any plea of guilty or nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of 

this subdivision. The record of a conviction received from a 

court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence of a conviction 

or finding of guilt. 

23. Failure to inform the board in writing, within 30 days, that 

the firm, a member of responsible management as defined in 

this chapter, its designated employee, or its qualified individual 

has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere or was convicted and 

found guilty of any felony or of a Class 1 misdemeanor or any 

non-marijuana misdemeanor conviction for activities carried 

out while engaged in the practice of contracting. 

24. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, or any 

state or federal governing body, including action by the Virginia 

Department of Health, which action shall be reviewed by the 

board before it takes any disciplinary action of its own. 

25. Failure to abate a violation of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). 

26. Failure of a contractor to comply with the notification 

requirements of the Virginia Underground Utility Damage 

Prevention Act, Chapter 10.3 (§ 56-265.14 et seq.) of Title 

56 of the Code of Virginia (Miss Utility). 

27. Practicing in a classification, specialty service, or class 

of license for which the contractor is not licensed. 

28. Failure to satisfy any judgments. 

29. Contracting with an unlicensed or improperly licensed 

contractor or subcontractor in the delivery of contracting 

services. 

30. Failure to honor the terms and conditions of a warranty. 

31. Failure to obtain written change orders, which are signed by 

both the consumer and the licensee or the licensee's agent, to an 

already existing contract. 

32. Failure to ensure that supervision, as defined in this chapter, 

is provided to all helpers and laborers assisting licensed 

tradesman. 
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33. Failure to obtain a building permit or applicable inspection, 

where required. 

34. Failure of a residential building energy analyst firm to 

ensure that residential building energy analyses conducted by 

the firm are consistent with the requirements set forth by the 

board, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. 

Department of Energy, or the Energy Star Program. 

35. Failure of a residential building energy analyst firm to 

maintain the general liability insurance required in 18VAC50-

22-62 C at any time while licensed by the board. 

36. Failure of a contractor holding the drug lab remediation 

specialty to ensure that remediation work conducted by the firm 

or properly licensed subcontractors is consistent with the 

guidelines set forth by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 

Virginia Department of Health, or Virginia Department of 

Forensic Science. 

37. Failure of a contractor to appropriately classify all workers 

as employees or as independent contractors as provided by law. 

18VAC50-22-300. Prelicense education courses. 

All courses offered by prelicense education providers must be 

approved by the board prior to the initial offering of the course, 

and shall cover business principles related to the standards of 

conduct found in 18VAC50-22-260 B and other applicable 

requirements of continued licensure set forth in this chapter. 

Courses must be eight six hours in length. Correspondence and 

other distance learning courses must include appropriate 

testing procedures to verify completion of the course. 

18VAC50-22-310. Requirements for prelicense education 

providers. 

A. Each provider of a prelicense education course shall must 

submit an application for course approval on a form provided 

by the board. The application shall must include but is not 

limited to: 

1. The name of the provider; 

2. Provider contact person, address, and telephone number; 

3. Course contact hours; 

4. Schedule of courses, if established, including dates, time, 

and locations; 

5. Instructor information, including name, license number(s) 

number, if applicable, and a list of other appropriate trade 

designations; 

6. Course and material fees; and 

7. Course syllabus. 

B. All providers must establish and maintain a record for each 

student. The record shall include: the student's name and 

address; social security number or Virginia DMV control 

number, if applicable; the course name and clock hours 

attended; the course syllabus or outline; the name or names of 

the instructor; the date of successful completion; and the 

board's course code. Records shall be available for inspection 

during normal business hours by authorized representatives of 

the board. Providers must maintain class records for a 

minimum of five years. 

18VAC50-22-320. Reporting of course completion. 

All prelicense education providers shall must electronically 

transmit course completion data to the board in an approved 

format within seven days of the completion of each individual 

course. The transmittal will include each student's name, social 

security number or Virginia DMV control number, if 

applicable, the date of successful completion of the course, and 

the board's course code. 

18VAC50-22-330. Posting prelicense education course 

certificates of approval. (Repealed.) 

Copies of prelicense education course certificates of approval 

must be available at the location a course is taught. 

18VAC50-22-350. Denial or withdrawal of approval. 

The board may deny or withdraw approval of any prelicense 

education provider for the following reasons: 

1. The courses being offered no longer meet the standards 

established by the board. 

2. The provider, through an agent or otherwise, advertises its 

services in a fraudulent or deceptive way. 

3. The provider, instructor, or designee of the provider 

falsifies any information relating to the application for 

approval, course information, or student records or fails to 

produce records required by the Board for Contractors 

Tradesman Regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7412; Filed September 18, 2024, 10:07 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-40, 18VAC50-22-50, 

18VAC50-22-60, 18VAC50-22-62, 18VAC50-22-65, 

18VAC50-22-66; adding 18VAC50-22-35, 18VAC50-22-

61). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 24, 2024 - 2 p.m. - Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Second Floor Conference Center, Richmond, Virginia 

23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Cameron Parris, Regulatory Operations 

Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
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23233, telephone (804) 367-9183, FAX (866) 350-5354, or 

email cameron.parris@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

Board for Contractors to establish the qualifications of 

applicants for certification or licensure and promulgate 

regulations. Section 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia 

enumerates the legal authority for the board to administer the 

licensure of contractors and for the relicensure of contractors 

after license or certificate suspension or revocation. 

Purpose: The offering and performing of contracting work by 

those who lack sufficient expertise, competence, integrity, and 

financial responsibility poses a risk to the public health, safety, 

and welfare. Risks include (i) damage to property, personal 

injury, or loss of life as the result of work that is improperly 

performed; (ii) financial harm to consumers as the result of 

construction that is not properly managed or performed; and 

(iii) harm to consumers as the result of those who lack the 

character and integrity to offer and engage in contracting work. 

As mandated by the General Assembly, the board protects the 

public health, safety, and welfare, in part, by establishing 

through regulation the minimum qualifications for entry into 

the profession. 

Substance: The amendments: 

1. Add 18VAC50-22-35 to provide for application procedures 

that reflect current agency practice and are consistent with 

application procedures for other Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) programs; 

2. Revise 18VAC50-22-40 to (i) reduce the minimum 

experience required for a qualified individual for a Class C 

contractor license from two years to one year and (ii) require 

that applicants for a Class C contractor license disclose adverse 

financial information (e.g. outstanding past-due debts or 

judgments; prior bankruptcies) for the past three years prior to 

application, as opposed to the five years prior to application; 

3. Revise 18VAC50-22-50 to (i) require that applicants for a 

Class B contractor license disclose adverse financial 

information (e.g. outstanding past-due debts or judgments; 

prior bankruptcies) for the past four years prior to application, 

as opposed to the five years prior to application; (ii) provide 

that an applicant for a Class B contractor license must verify a 

net worth or equity of $15,000 or more by submitting a 

completed financial statement with supporting documentation, 

a certified public accountant (CPA) reviewed financial 

statement, or a CPA audit; and (iii) provide that an applicant 

may obtain a $50,000 surety bond on a board-approved form 

in lieu of providing required information regarding the firm's 

financial position; 

4. Revise 18VAC50-22-60 to (i) provide that an applicant for 

a Class A contractor license must verify a net worth or equity 

of $45,000 or more by submitting a completed financial 

statement with supporting documentation, a CPA-reviewed 

financial statement, or a CPA audit and (ii) provide that an 

applicant may obtain a $50,000 surety bond on a board-

approved form in lieu of providing required information 

regarding the firm's financial position; 

5. Add 18VAC50-22-61 to (i) consolidate provisions located 

in 18VAC50-22-40, 18VAC50-22-50, and 18VAC50-22-60 

that outline the license classifications or specialty services for 

which a proposed qualified individual must meet a prerequisite 

(e.g. master tradesman license or other credential) or pass a 

board-approved examination in the classification or specialty 

service; and (ii) provide an additional pathway for a contractor 

to qualify for the alternative energy system contracting (AES) 

specialty service; 

6. Amend 18VAC50-22-40, 18VAC50-22-50, and 18VAC50-

22-60 to add language clarifying that an applicant for the 

miscellaneous (MSC) specialty service must provide evidence 

acceptable to the board of the qualified individual's experience 

in the scope of practice for which the specialty service is being 

sought. Such applications will be considered by the board in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia); and 

7. Amend provisions in 8VAC50-22-40, 18VAC50-22-50, 

18VAC50-22-60, and 18VAC50-22-62 pertaining to the 

disclosure of criminal convictions to make the regulation more 

consistent with the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia pertaining to criminal history. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public and the regulated 

community are that the amendments to the regulation will (i) 

reduce entry requirements for Class B and Class C contractor 

licenses, allowing more firms to potentially qualify for Class B 

and Class C contractor licenses while ensuring minimum 

competency and protection of the health, safety, and welfare of 

the public; (ii) provide needed updating and organization to the 

regulation; (iii) ensure the regulation reflects current agency 

practice; and (iv) ensure the regulation complements current 

Virginia law and is clearly written and understandable. No 

disadvantages to the public or regulated community have been 

identified. There are no identifiable disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

response to Executive Order 19 (2022) and Executive 

Directive 1 (2022), the Board for Contractors (board) seeks to 

amend the Board for Contractors Regulations to reduce certain 

entry requirements for firms seeking a Class C or Class B 

contractor license. The proposed changes would also clarify 

the text, conform the regulation to current Virginia law, and 

reflect current practice. 

mailto:@cameron.parris@dpor.virginia.gov
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Background. Executive Directive Number One (2022) directs 

executive branch entities under the authority of the Governor 

"to initiate regulatory processes to reduce by at least 25% the 

number of regulations not mandated by federal or state statute, 

in consultation with the Office of the Attorney General, and in 

a manner consistent with the laws of the Commonwealth."2 

Accordingly, the board proposes to make one change for Class 

C contractors that would reduce the entry requirements, and 

one change each in the requirements for Class B and Class C 

contractor licenses that would decrease the requirement for 

disclosing adverse financial history. The board also seeks to 

make a number of changes that would clarify and update the 

text and conform the regulation to statute. The most 

substantive changes are summarized. Applicants for a Class C 

contractor license are currently required to demonstrate two 

years of work experience in every classification or specialty in 

which they seek licensure (18VAC50-22-40); the board 

proposes to reduce this to one year of work experience. 

Virginia statute limits the dollar value of contracts to amounts 

ranging from $1,000 to $10,000 for Class C, with an annual 

revenue cap of $150,000.3 These statutory thresholds were 

most recently amended in 2010, and the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) reports that 

an increase in the costs of materials and labor due to inflation 

has resulted in limiting Class C contractors to very small 

projects, often categorized as "handyman" tasks, for which a 

two-year experience requirement is seen as overly restrictive. 

By reducing the work experience requirement for a Class C 

contractor license, the board seeks to incentivize unlicensed 

contractors who are currently performing handyman work or 

individuals who are currently employed by contracting firms 

and who seek to start their own contracting firms to obtain a 

license. (Contractor licenses are only issued to firms.) 

Applicants for all classes of licensure are currently required to 

submit information on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies for five years prior to application. 

This requirement would be reduced to three years for Class C 

applicants and four years for Class B applicants; it would 

remain at five years for Class A applicants. Applicants for 

Class A and Class B licenses are required to submit 

information on their financial position to demonstrate financial 

responsibility. Class A applicants are required to verify a net 

worth or equity of $45,000 (18VAC50-22-60); the 

corresponding requirement for Class B applicants is $15,000 

(18VAC50-22-50). Sections 54.1-1106 and 54.1-1108 of the 

Code of Virginia further specify (i) the acceptable 

documentation to demonstrate minimum net worth and (ii) an 

option to demonstrate financial responsibility by electing to 

obtain and maintain a bond in the amount of $50,000. Thus, 

the board seeks to amend sections 50 and 60 to incorporate 

these statutory provisions. Requirements pertaining to specific 

classifications or specialties in which applicants seek to be 

licensed, which are currently listed separately for each license 

class in 18VAC50-22-40, 18VAC50-22-50, and 18VAC50-

22-60, would be removed and consolidated in a new 

18VAC50-22-61, which would enhance clarity, and updated to 

reflect current requirements.4 Language pertaining to pleas of 

nolo contendere, which currently appear to contradict § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia, would be struck. Lastly, the board 

seeks to add a new 18VAC50-22-35 to specify the 

requirements of the application process. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Reduction in experience 

requirements for Class C contractors: This proposed change 

would benefit prospective applicants for a Class C contractor 

license by reducing the experience requirement. DPOR 

estimates that this reduction could result in a 15% to 20% 

increase in the number of Class C applicants. The board 

received 1,599 applications for Class C licenses in 2022 and 

1,522 applications in 2023. As mentioned previously, DPOR 

expects that this increase will be driven by unlicensed 

contractors who are currently providing "handyman" services 

and want to be contracted for projects within the statutory 

threshold for a Class C license (ranging from $1,000 to 

$10,000 per project, with an annual revenue cap of $150,000), 

as well as employees of contracting firms who seek to start 

their own firms. DPOR also reports that contractors often start 

at the Class C level and move up to Class B or Class A licenses 

as their business grows and they accrue experience and capital. 

Thus, reducing the entry requirements for Class C applicants 

could also gradually expand the profession overall. This 

amendment would also benefit households and commercial 

entities seeking Class C contractors. DPOR reports that the 

demand for contractor services increased during the COVID-

19 pandemic and continues to remain high. Thus, an influx of 

newly licensed contractors could make it easier and cheaper for 

consumers looking to hire contractors for small projects, 

thereby also reducing wait times for such projects to get 

contracted and completed. Lowering the barriers to entry into 

a profession typically increases competition faced by 

incumbents (those who are already licensed), making them 

worse off. However, to the extent that currently licensed Class 

C contractors are already fully booked, or facing more demand 

than they can fulfill, they are unlikely to be made worse off by 

an increase in the number of contractors. Lastly, the board 

would benefit through increased fee revenue from new Class 

C contractor license applicants ($235 per application) and from 

license renewal fees ($195 per biennium) in subsequent years. 

The board would also incur some additional costs; they would 

have to process additional license applications and may also 

have to review more complaints against Class C contractors if 

the reduction in the experience requirement results in improper 

project management or estimation. However, the increase in 

revenues is expected to exceed the increase in costs. 

Reduction in years of financial disclosure: These changes 

would benefit Class B and Class C applicants who have 

adverse financial histories either five years prior to application 

or four to five years prior to application, respectively. This 

could include outstanding, past-due debts and judgments; 

outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or past 

bankruptcies. DPOR anticipates a savings as a result of 
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conducting fewer licensing informal fact-finding conferences 

due to reduced adverse financial history reporting requirement. 

Other changes: All current prospective contractor licensees 

and readers of the regulation would benefit from the remaining 

changes, which serve to update and streamline the regulatory 

text. DPOR staff may benefit to the extent that they receive 

fewer questions about contractor license requirements. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed changes 

reduce requirements and clarify the application process, 

thereby benefiting new contractor license applicants, 

especially Class C applicants, and some Class B applicants 

with adverse financial history. The Code of Virginia requires 

DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result from the 

proposed regulation.5 An adverse impact is indicated if there is 

any increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for any 

entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined.6 The proposed amendments would not create any 

new requirements or costs; thus, an adverse economic impact 

is not indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments 

reduce requirements for obtaining a contractor license, thereby 

benefiting applicants for a Class B or Class C license. These 

firms are likely to all be small businesses as Virginia statute 

restricts the total value of contractor projects to $150,000 per 

year for Class C contractors and $750,000 per year for Class B 

contractors. 

Localities9 Affected.10 Localities that have a shortage of 

current contractors may particularly benefit from the likely 

increase in contractor licensees. The proposed amendments 

would not affect costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are not expected to affect total employment. Some contractor 

firms may see increased turnover if their employees decide to 

leave and establish their own firms as a result of this regulatory 

action. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. By reducing 

the barriers to entry, the proposed amendments would 

marginally increase the value of new private Class C contractor 

firms. Real estate development costs would not be affected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-

virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf. 

3 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter11/section54.1-

1100/. 

4 The current requirements are available on DPOR's website: 

https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/Boards/Contractors/A501-

27EXINFO.pdf. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

8 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

9 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

10 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Contractors concurs with the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments reduce certain entry 

requirements for firms seeking a Class B or Class C 

contractor license. Under the proposed amendments, a 

qualified individual for a Class C contractor license 

applicant will need one year of experience in the 

classification or specialty service for which licensure is 

sought, instead of the current requirement of two years of 

experience. For Class B and Class C contractor license 

applicants, the proposed amendments will also reduce the 

requirements for disclosure of adverse financial 

information (e.g., outstanding past-due debts or 

judgments or prior bankruptcies). Other proposed 

amendments clarify and conform the regulation to statute 

and agency practice. 

18VAC50-22-35. Application procedures.  

A. All applicants seeking licensure must submit an 

application with the appropriate fee specified in 18VAC50-22-

100. Applications must be made on forms provided by the 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/ed/ED-1-Regulatory-Reduction.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter11/section54.1-1100/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter11/section54.1-1100/
https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/Boards/Contractors/A501-27EXINFO.pdf
https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/Boards/Contractors/A501-27EXINFO.pdf
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board or the board's agent and signed by all parties outlined in 

18VAC50-22-40, 18VAC50-22-50, or 18VAC50-22-60. 

1. By submitting the application to the department, the 

applicant certifies that the applicant has read and 

understands the applicable statutes and the board's 

regulations. 

2. The receipt of an application and the deposit of the fees 

by the board do not indicate approval of the application by 

the board. 

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the applicant's qualifications and information 

disclosed on the application to confirm or amplify information 

supplied. All applications must be completed in accordance 

with the instructions contained in this section and on the 

application. Applications will not be considered complete until 

all required documents are received by the board. 

C. The applicant will be notified of receipt of initial 

application if the application is incomplete. Applicants who 

fail to complete the application process within 12 months of 

receipt of the application in the board's office must submit a 

new application. 

D. The applicant must immediately report all changes in 

information supplied with the application, if applicable, prior 

to the issuance of the license or expiration of the application. 

18VAC50-22-40. Requirements for a Class C license. 

A. A firm applying for a Class C license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. For every classification or specialty in which the firm seeks 

to be licensed, the firm shall must name a qualified individual 

who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old of age; 

2. Has a minimum of two years one year of experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he the individual is the 

qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of the 

firm; and 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties:  

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification); 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification); and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Master Water Well Systems Provider for 

Water Well/Pump Contracting. 

e. Has obtained, pursuant to the Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals Licensing Regulations (18VAC160-40), a 

master conventional onsite sewage system installer license 

for Conventional Sewage Disposal System Contracting 

and a master alternative onsite sewage system installer 

license for Alternative Sewage Disposal System 

Contracting. 

f. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for the 

miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

g. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

Has met the appropriate prerequisite and board-approved 

examination, where applicable, for any classification or 

specialty service specified in 18VAC50-22-61 or has 

completed a board-approved examination for all other 

classifications and specialty services that do not require 

other certification or licensure. For the miscellaneous 

contracting (MSC) specialty service, the applicant must 

provide documentation acceptable to the board of the 

qualified individual's experience in the scope of practice for 

which the specialty service is being sought. All such 

applications will be considered by the board in accordance 

with the provisions of §§ 2.2-4019 and 2.2-4020 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

C. The firm shall must provide information for the past five 

three years prior to application on any outstanding, past-due 

debts and judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on 

bonds; or pending or past bankruptcies. The firm and all 

members of the responsible management of the firm shall must 

submit information on any past-due debts and judgments or 

defaults on bonds directly related to the practice of contracting 

as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

D. The firm and all members of the responsible management 

of the firm shall must disclose at the time of application any 

current or previous contractor licenses held in Virginia or in 

other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on these 

licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection 

with a disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license 

in Virginia or in any other jurisdiction. 

E. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, all 

applicants shall must disclose the following information about 
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the firm, all members of the responsible management, and the 

qualified individual for the firm: 

1. All non-marijuana misdemeanor convictions within three 

years of the date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence 

of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, 

may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. A member of responsible management shall have 

successfully completed must complete a board-approved basic 

business course. 

18VAC50-22-50. Requirements for a Class B license. 

A. A firm applying for a Class B license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. A The firm shall must name a designated employee who 

meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old of age; 

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter, or is a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter; 

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required by 

§ 54.1-1108 of the Code of Virginia or has been exempted 

from the exam examination requirement in accordance with 

§ 54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and 

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the date of the exam examination. 

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm seeks 

to be licensed, the firm shall must name a qualified individual 

who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old of age; 

2. Has a minimum of three years of experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he the individual is the 

qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of the 

firm; and 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties:  

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification); 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification); and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Master Water Well Systems Provider for 

Water Well/Pump Contracting. 

e. Has obtained, pursuant to the Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals Licensing Regulations (18VAC160-40), a 

master conventional onsite sewage system installer license 

for Conventional Sewage Disposal System Contracting 

and a master alternative onsite sewage system installer 

license for Alternative Sewage Disposal System 

Contracting. 

f. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for the 

miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

g. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

Has met the appropriate prerequisite and board-approved 

examination, where applicable, for any classification or 

specialty service specified in 18VAC50-22-61 or has 

completed a board-approved examination for all other 

classifications and specialty services that do not require 

other certification or licensure. For the miscellaneous 

contracting (MSC) specialty service, the applicant must 

provide documentation acceptable to the board of the 

qualified individual's experience in the scope of practice for 

which the specialty service is being sought. All such 

applications will be considered by the board in accordance 

with the provisions of §§ 2.2-4019 and 2.2-402 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

D. Each firm shall must submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state must verify a net worth or equity 

of $15,000 or more by submitting a completed financial 

statement with supporting documentation, a financial 

statement reviewed by a certified public accountant (CPA), or 

a CPA audit. In lieu of this requirement, the firm may obtain a 

$50,000 surety bond on the board's bond form. 

E. Each firm shall must provide information for the five four 

years prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts 

and judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; 

or pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 
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employee, and all members of the responsible management of 

the firm shall must submit information on any past-due debts 

and judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the 

practice of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of the 

responsible management of the firm shall must disclose at the 

time of application any current or previous substantial 

identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in 

Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions 

taken on these licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, 

fines, suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of 

the parties listed in this subsection have had a substantial 

identity of interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of 

Virginia) with any firm that has had a license suspended, 

revoked, voluntarily terminated, or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action in Virginia or any other jurisdiction. 

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, all 

applicants shall must disclose the following information about 

the firm, designated employee, all members of the responsible 

management, and the qualified individual for the firm: 

1. All non-marijuana misdemeanor convictions within three 

years of the date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence 

of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, 

may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have successfully completed must 

successfully complete a board-approved basic business course. 

18VAC50-22-60. Requirements for a Class A license. 

A. A firm applying for a Class A license shall must meet all 

of the requirements of this section. 

B. A The firm shall must name a designated employee who 

meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old of age; 

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of the 

firm as defined in this chapter; 

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required by 

§ 54.1-1106 of the Code of Virginia or has been exempted 

from the exam examination requirement in accordance with 

§ 54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and 

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the day of the exam examination. 

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm seeks 

to be licensed, the firm shall must name a qualified individual 

who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old of age; 

2. Has a minimum of five years of experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he the individual is the 

qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the firm as defined in this chapter 

or is a member of the responsible management of the firm; 

and 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties:  

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (DHCD explosive use 

certification); 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification); and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Master Water Well Systems Provider for 

Water Well/Pump Contracting. 

e. Has obtained, pursuant to the Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals Licensing Regulations (18VAC160-40), a 

master conventional onsite sewage system installer license 

for Conventional Sewage Disposal System Contracting 

and a master alternative onsite sewage system installer 

license for Alternative Sewage Disposal System 

Contracting. 

f. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for the 

miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

g. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

Has met the appropriate prerequisite and board-approved 

examination, where applicable, for any classification or 
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specialty service specified in 18VAC50-22-61 or has 

completed a board-approved examination for all other 

classifications and specialty services that do not require 

other certification or licensure. For the miscellaneous 

contracting (MSC) specialty service, the applicant must 

provide documentation acceptable to the board of the 

qualified individual's experience in the scope of practice for 

which the specialty service is being sought. All such 

applications will be considered by the board in accordance 

with the provisions of §§ 2.2-4019 and 2.2-402 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

D. Each firm shall must submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state must verify a net worth or equity 

of $45,000 by submitting a completed financial statement with 

supporting documentation, a financial statement reviewed by a 

certified public accountant (CPA), or a CPA audit. In lieu of 

this requirement, the firm may obtain a $50,000 surety bond on 

the board's bond form. 

E. The firm shall must provide information for the five years 

prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 

employee, and all members of the responsible management of 

the firm shall must submit information on any past-due debts 

and judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the 

practice of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of the 

responsible management of the firm shall must disclose at the 

time of application any current or previous substantial 

identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in 

Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions 

taken on these licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, 

fines, suspensions, revocations, or surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of 

the parties listed in this subsection have had a substantial 

identity of interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of 

Virginia) with any firm that has had a license suspended, 

revoked, voluntarily terminated, or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action in Virginia or in any other 

jurisdiction. 

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, all 

applicants shall must disclose the following information about 

the firm, all members of the responsible management, the 

designated employee, and the qualified individual for the firm: 

1. All non-marijuana misdemeanor convictions within three 

years of the date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence 

of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, 

may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have must successfully completed complete 

a board-approved basic business course. 

18VAC50-22-61. Qualifications for classifications and 

specialties.  

For the following classifications or specialty services, the 

qualified individual must meet the qualifications specified in 

this section: 

Classification or 

Specialty Service 
Prerequisites 

Board-Approved 

Examination 

Accessibility services 

contracting (ASC) 
Accessibility mechanic certification issued by the Board for Contractors No 

Accessibility services 

contracting - LULA 

(ASL) 

Accessibility mechanic certification with the LULA endorsement issued by the 

Board for Contractors 
No 

Years of experience based on class of license; or  Yes 
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Alternative energy 

system contracting 

(AES) 

Qualify and obtain the roofing contracting (ROC) specialty service by 

examination and complete the North American Board of Certified Energy 

Practitioners (NABCEP) certification or a board-approved certification 

Alternative sewage 

disposal system 

contracting (ADS) 

Master alternative onsite sewage system installer license issued by the Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals  

No 

Asbestos contracting 

(ASB) 

Asbestos supervisor's license issued by the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, 

and Home Inspectors 
No 

Blast/explosive 

contracting (BEC) 
Blaster certification issued by the Department of Fire Programs No 

Conventional sewage 

disposal system 

contracting (CDS) 

Master conventional onsite sewage system installer license issued by the Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals  

No 

Drug lab remediation 

contracting (DLR) 
Remediation course approved by the Board for Contractors No 

Electrical contractors 

(ELE) 
Master electrician tradesman license issued by the Board for Contractors No 

Elevator/Escalator 

contracting (EEC) 
Elevator mechanic certification issued by the Board for Contractors No 

Fire sprinkler 

contracting (SPR) 

National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies (NICET) - 

Sprinkler level III or higher certification; or 

No Professional engineer license issued by the Board for Architects, Professional 

Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape 

Architects 

Gas fitting 

contracting (GFC) 
Master gas fitter license issued by the Board for Contractors No 

HVAC contractors 

(HVA) 
Master HVAC tradesman license issued by the Board for Contractors No 

Lead abatement 

contracting (LAC) 

Lead abatement supervisor license issued by the Virginia Board for Asbestos, 

Lead, and Home Inspectors 
No 

Liquefied petroleum 

gas contracting 

(LPG) 

Master liquefied petroleum gas fitter license issued by the Board for 

Contractors 
No 

Manufactured home 

contracting (MHC) 

Manufactured Housing Installer Certification issued by the Department of 

Housing and Community Development 
No 
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Natural gas fitting 

provider contracting 

(NGF) 

Master natural gas fitter provider license issued by the Board for Contractors No 

Plumbing contractors 

(PLB) 
Master plumber tradesman license issued by the Board for Contractors No 

Radon mitigation 

contracting (RMC)* 

Certificate issued by National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP) or the 

National Radon Safety Board (NRSB) 

*Must also qualify and obtain one of the following by examination: 

commercial building contractors (CBC) classification, commercial 

improvement contracting (CIC) specialty service, farm improvement 

contracting (FIC) specialty service, home improvement contracting (HIC) 

specialty service, or residential building contractors (RBC) classification. 

No 

Waterwell/pump 

contracting (WWP) 
Master water well systems provider license issued by the Board for Contractors No 

18VAC50-22-62. Requirements for residential building 

energy analyst firm. 

A. An applicant for a residential building energy analyst firm 

license must meet the requirements of this section. 

B. The firm shall must name a qualified individual who meets 

all of the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old of age; 

2. Holds a current individual residential building energy 

analyst license issued by the board; and 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of the 

firm. 

C. The applicant shall must provide documentation, 

acceptable to the board, that the firm currently carries a 

minimum of $500,000 of general liability insurance from a 

company authorized to provide such insurance in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. The firm, the qualified individual, and all members of the 

responsible management of the firm shall must disclose at the 

time of application (i) any current or previous energy analyst 

or home inspection licenses held in Virginia or in other 

jurisdictions and (ii) any disciplinary actions taken on these 

licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection 

with a disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license 

in Virginia or in any other jurisdiction. 

E. The firm shall must provide information for the past five 

years prior to application on any outstanding past-due debts, 

outstanding judgments, outstanding tax obligations, defaults 

on bonds, or pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its 

qualified individual, and all members of the responsible 

management of the firm shall submit information on any past-

due debts and judgments or defaults on bonds directly related 

to the practice of residential building energy analysis as 

defined in § 54.1-1144 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, all 

applicants shall must disclose the following information about 

the firm, all members of the responsible management, and the 

qualified individual for the firm: 

1. All non-marijuana misdemeanor convictions within three 

years of the date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence 

of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, 

may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC50-22-65. Temporary licenses. 

A. A firm applying for a temporary license must meet all of the 

requirements of § 54.1-201.1 of the Code of Virginia, including 

the simultaneous submission of a completed application for 

licensure, and the provisions of this section. 

B. A firm must hold a comparable license or certificate in another 

state and provide verification of current licensure or certification 

from the other state in a format acceptable to the board. The 

license or certificate, as applicable, must be in good standing and 

have comparable qualifications to the Virginia license applied for 

by the firm. 

C. The following provisions apply to a temporary license issued 

by the board: 

1. A temporary license shall will not be renewed. 
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2. A firm shall will not be issued more than one temporary 

license. 

3. The issuance of the license shall will void the temporary 

license. 

4. If the board denies approval of the application for a license, 

the temporary license shall will be automatically suspended. 

D. Any firm continuing to practice as a contractor after a 

temporary license has expired or been suspended and who has not 

obtained a comparable license or certificate may be prosecuted 

and fined by the Commonwealth under § 54.1-111 A 1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

18VAC50-22-66. Board's disciplinary authority over 

temporary license holders. 

A. A temporary licensee shall be is subject to all laws and 

regulations of the board and shall will remain under and be subject 

to the disciplinary authority of the board during the period of 

temporary licensure. 

B. The license shall licensee will be subject to disciplinary action 

for any violations of Virginia statutes or regulations during the 

period of temporary licensure. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7429; Filed September 18, 2024, 10:00 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration of 

Pharmacy Technicians (amending 18VAC110-21-46). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3303.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 20, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 527-4472, 

or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 790 and 791 of the 2022 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments expand the conditions for 

which a pharmacist can initiate treatment. The 

amendments (i) require the pharmacist to have a bona fide 

pharmacist-patient relationship with the patient with 

whom the pharmacist initiates treatment; (ii) add nicotine 

replacement therapy and other tobacco-cessation 

therapies as drugs and therapies with which a pharmacist 

can initiate treatment for an adult 18 years of age or 

older; (iii) allow a pharmacist to initiate treatment for 

patients three years of age and older by administering 

vaccines included on the Immunization Schedule 

published by the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, vaccines for COVID-19, and tests for COVID-

19 and other coronaviruses; (iv) require practitioners to 

provide notification of initiation of treatment with a 

patient even if no method exists to send the notification 

electronically in a manner compliant with the Health 

Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (42 USC § 

1320d et seq.); and (v) require the treating pharmacist to 

obtain a patient history and, in the case of administration 

of vaccines to a minor, provide the minor's parent or 

guardian written notice that the minor should visit a 

pediatrician annually. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC110-21-46. Initiation of treatment by a pharmacist. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-3303.1 of the Code of Virginia, a 

pharmacist may initiate treatment with, dispense, or administer 

the following drugs and devices to persons 18 years of age or 

older with whom the pharmacist has a bona fide pharmacist-

patient relationship: 

1. Naloxone or other opioid antagonist, including such 

controlled paraphernalia as defined in § 54.1-3466 of the Code 

of Virginia as may be necessary to administer such naloxone or 

other opioid antagonist; 

2. Epinephrine; 

3. Injectable or self-administered hormonal contraceptives, 

provided the patient completes an assessment consistent with 

the United States Medical Eligibility Criteria for Contraceptive 

Use; 

4. Prenatal vitamins for which a prescription is required; 

5. Dietary fluoride supplements, in accordance with 

recommendations of the American Dental Association for 

prescribing of such supplements for persons whose drinking 

water has a fluoride content below the concentration 

recommended by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services; 

6. Drugs and devices as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the Code of 

Virginia, controlled paraphernalia as defined in § 54.1-3466 of 

the Code of Virginia, and other supplies and equipment 

available over the counter covered by the patient's health carrier 

when the patient's out-of-pocket cost is lower than the out-of-

pocket cost to purchase an over-the-counter equivalent of the 

same drug, device, controlled paraphernalia, or other supplies 

or equipment; 

7. Vaccines included on the Immunization Schedule 

published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

or that have a current emergency use authorization from the 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration and vaccines for 

COVID-19; 

8. Tuberculin purified protein derivative for tuberculosis 

testing; [ and ] 

9. Controlled substances for the prevention of human 

immunodeficiency virus, including controlled substances 

prescribed for pre-exposure and post-exposure prophylaxis 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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pursuant to guidelines and recommendations of the Centers 

for Disease Control and Prevention.; 

10. Nicotine replacement and other tobacco-cessation 

therapies, including controlled substances as defined in the 

Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), together with appropriate patient counseling; and 

11. Tests for COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. 

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 54.1-3303 of the Code 

of Virginia, a pharmacist may initiate treatment with, dispense, 

or administer the following drugs and devices to persons three 

years of age or older: 

1. Vaccines included on the Immunization Schedule 

published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

and vaccines for COVID-19; and 

2. Tests for COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. 

The provisions of this subsection will become effective upon 

expiration of the provisions of the federal Declaration Under 

the Public Readiness and Emergency Preparedness Act for 

Medical Countermeasures Against COVID-19 related to the 

vaccination and COVID-19 testing of minors. 

C. Pharmacists who initiate treatment with, dispense, or 

administer a drug or, device, controlled paraphernalia, or other 

supplies or equipment pursuant to subsection subsections A 

and B of this section shall: 

1. Follow the statewide protocol adopted by the board for 

each drug, device, controlled paraphernalia, or other 

supplies or equipment. 

2. Notify the patient's primary health care provider that 

treatment has been initiated with such drug, device, 

controlled paraphernalia, or other supplies or equipment or 

that such drug, device, controlled paraphernalia, or other 

supplies or equipment have been dispensed or administered 

to the patient, provided that the patient consents to such 

notification. No pharmacist shall limit the ability of 

notification to be sent to the patient's primary care provider 

by requiring use of email that is secure or compliant with the 

federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 

(42 USC § 1320d et seq.) (HIPAA). If the patient does not 

have a primary health care provider, the pharmacist shall 

counsel the patient regarding the benefits of establishing a 

relationship with a primary health care provider and, upon 

request, provide information regarding primary health care 

providers, including federally qualified health centers, free 

clinics, or local health departments serving the area in which the 

patient is located. If the pharmacist is initiating treatment with, 

dispensing, or administering injectable or self-administered 

hormonal contraceptives, the pharmacist shall counsel the 

patient regarding seeking preventative care, including (i) 

routine well-woman visits, (ii) testing for sexually transmitted 

infections, and (iii) pap smears. If the pharmacist is 

administering a vaccine pursuant to this section, the pharmacist 

shall report such administration to the Virginia Immunization 

Information System in accordance with the requirements of § 

32.1-46.01 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. Maintain a patient record for a minimum of six years 

following the last patient encounter with the following 

exceptions: 

a. Records that have previously been transferred to another 

practitioner or health care provider or provided to the 

patient or the patient's personal representative; or 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time. 

4. Perform the activities in a manner that protects patient 

confidentiality and complies with the Health Insurance 

Portability and Accountability Act, 42 USC § 1320d et seq. 

HIPAA. 

5. Obtain a history from the patient, including questioning 

the patient for any known allergies, adverse reactions, 

contraindications, or health diagnoses or conditions that 

would be adverse to the initiation of treatment, dispensing, 

or administration. 

6. If administering a vaccination to a minor pursuant to 

subdivision B 1 of this section, provide written notice to the 

minor's parent or guardian that the minor should visit a 

pediatrician annually. 

D. A pharmacist may initiate treatment with, dispense, or 

administer drugs, devices, controlled paraphernalia, and other 

supplies and equipment pursuant to this section through 

telemedicine services, as defined in § 38.2-3418.16 of the Code 

of Virginia, in compliance with [ all ] requirements of § 54.1-

3303 of the Code of Virginia and consistent with the applicable 

standard of care. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7339; Filed September 17, 2024, 4:40 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-330. Limitations on 

Disconnection of Electric and Water Service (amending 

20VAC5-330-10 through 20VAC5-330-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 12.1-12 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 2, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Mike Cizenski, Deputy Director Public 

Utility Regulation Division, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9441, or email mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 637 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed amendments (i) make the regulation applicable 

to natural gas and wastewater utilities, (ii) authorize 

nurse practitioners to certify serious medical conditions, 

and (iii) update the Serious Medical Condition 

Certification Form. 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 19, 2024 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

CASE NO. PUR-2024-00138 

Ex Parte: in the matter concerning 

limiting service terminations for utility customers 

with serious medical conditions 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING 

Chapter 637 (House Bill 275) of the 2024 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly ("2024 Act") directed the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") in an uncodified enactment to 

conduct a proceeding for the purpose of establishing 

limitations on the authority of public utilities to terminate 

service for residential electric, gas, water, and wastewater 

utility customers with serious medical conditions, stating as 

follows: 

1. § 1. That the State Corporation Commission (the 

Commission), in order to promote public health and safety, 

shall conduct a proceeding for the purpose of establishing 

limitations on the authority of public utilities and cooperatives 

that provide electric, gas, water, or wastewater services to 

terminate service to the residence of any customer who 

provides the certification of a licensed physician or a nurse 

practitioner that the customer has a serious medical condition 

or the customer resides with a family member with a serious 

medical condition. The limitations shall be consistent with the 

public interest. In the proceeding establishing such limitations, 

the Commission shall consult with the Commissioner of 

Health, the Commissioner of Social Services, the Virginia 

Poverty Law Center, the Virginia League of Social Services 

Executives, public utilities and cooperatives that provide 

electric, gas, water, or wastewater services, and any other 

persons that the Commission deems appropriate. As a part of 

the proceeding, the Commission shall adopt regulations to 

implement such limitations. The regulations shall include a 

form by which a residential utility customer with a serious 

medical condition may apply for a delay in termination of 

service as provided by this act. The Commission shall make all 

reasonable efforts to ensure that this form is as accessible as 

possible for residential electric, gas, water, and wastewater 

utility customers. The regulations shall (i) be adopted in 

accordance with the Commission's Rules of Practice and 

Procedure; (ii) be effective not later than July 1, 2025; (iii) 

establish a cost recovery mechanism under which utilities and 

cooperatives that provide electric, gas, water, or wastewater 

services shall be authorized to recover, from approved rates 

collected from other customers or other sources of revenue, 

any losses on customer accounts the balance of which is 

written off or otherwise determined to be uncollectible as the 

result of the implementation of the regulations; and (iv) define 

"serious medical condition." No later than November 1, 2026, 

and every three years thereafter, the Commission shall submit 

a report to the General Assembly on the effectiveness of the 

serious medical condition policy after implementation and 

shall include any suggested changes to improve accessibility to 

such policy for residential utility customers. 

As set forth, the 2024 Act requires the Commission to adopt 

regulations placing limitations on utility service terminations 

related to customers with serious medical conditions or when 

a customer resides with a family member with a serious 

medical condition. In that regard, the 2024 Act's provisions are 

virtually identical to Chapters 500, 662 and 673 of the 2011 

Virginia Acts of Assembly ("2011 Acts") which cumulatively 

required the Commission to adopt regulations (i) placing limits 

on the authority of investor owned electric utilities, electric 

cooperatives, and public utilities providing water service to 

terminate utility services to customers with serious medical 

conditions, or to customers with family members residing with 

them with such medical conditions, and (ii) establishing a 

mechanism by which such limitations could be implemented.1 

The Commission adopted regulations implementing the 2011 

Acts and the regulations were made effective October 31, 

2011.2 

The 2024 Act broadens the scope of the 2011 Acts to include 

natural gas3 and wastewater services as utility services to 

which such limitations on utility disconnections apply. 

Additionally, the 2024 Act newly authorizes nurse 

practitioners to certify that utility customers, or family 

members residing with utility customers, have serious medical 

conditions.4 The 2024 Act requires regulations implementing 

its provisions to be adopted by July 1, 2025. 

The 2024 Act also requires that in this proceeding, the 

Commission shall consult with the Commissioner of Health, 

the Commissioner of Social Services, the Virginia Poverty 

Law Center, the Virginia League of Social Services 

Executives, public utilities and cooperatives that provide 

electric, natural gas, water, or wastewater services, and any 

other persons that the Commission deems appropriate 

(collectively, "Designated Entities").  

mailto:mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov
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NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, is of the opinion and finds that a proceeding should 

be established to implement the 2024 Act's provisions. In light 

of the procedural history described above, the Commission 

further finds that implementing the 2024 Act may be 

accomplished in substantial part by conforming the current 

Chapter 330 Rules to the 2024 Act's provisions, i.e., by 

incorporating appropriate references to natural gas and 

wastewater utilities, and nurse practitioners as described 

above. 

At the Commission's direction, Staff has prepared proposed 

amendments to the Chapter 330 Rules ("Proposed 

Amendments") making these rules applicable to natural gas 

and wastewater utilities, and newly authorizing nurse 

practitioners to certify serious medical conditions. The 

Proposed Amendments are appended to this Order. The 

Commission finds that notice of this proceeding should be 

given to the public, and that interested persons should be 

provided an opportunity to file written comments concerning 

the provisions of the 2024 Act and the Proposed Amendments. 

Additionally, the Staff of the Commission ("Staff") shall 

transmit this Order, together with the Proposed Amendments, 

to the Designated Entities and solicit their input. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This case is docketed and assigned Case No. PUR-2024-

00138. 

(2) All comments and other documents and pleadings filed in 

this matter shall be submitted electronically to the extent 

authorized by Rule 5VAC5-20-150, Copies and format, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure.5 Confidential 

and Extraordinarily Sensitive Information shall not be 

submitted electronically and shall comply with Rule 5VAC5-

20-170, Confidential information, of the Rules of Practice. 

Any person seeking to hand deliver and physically file or 

submit any pleading or other document shall contact the 

Clerk's Office Document Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to 

arrange the delivery. 

(3) Pursuant to 5VAC5-20-140, Filing and service, of the Rules 

of Practice, the Commission directs that service on parties and 

the Staff in this matter shall be accomplished by electronic 

means. Concerning Confidential or Extraordinarily Sensitive 

Information, parties and the Staff are instructed to work 

together to agree upon the manner in which documents 

containing such information shall be served upon one another, 

to the extent practicable, in an electronically protected manner, 

even if such information is unable to be filed in the Office of 

the Clerk, so that no party or the Staff is impeded from 

preparing its case. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources shall 

forward a copy of this Order Establishing Proceeding to the 

Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(5) Within ten (10) business days hereof, Staff shall transmit 

electronically or by first-class mail copies of this Order and 

Proposed Amendments to the Designated Entities and solicit 

their input. Staff shall file with the Clerk of the Commission a 

certificate of transmission and include a list of names and 

addresses of the persons and entities to whom the Order was 

transmitted. 

(6) An electronic copy of the Proposed Amendments may be 

obtained by submitting a request to Mike Cizenski, Deputy 

Director in the Commission's Division of Public Utility 

Regulation at the following email address: 

mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov. An electronic copy of the 

Proposed Amendments can also be found at the Division of 

Public Utility Regulation's website: scc.virginia.gov/pages/ 

Rulemaking. Interested persons may also download unofficial 

copies of the Order and the Proposed Amendments from the 

Commission's website: scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-

Information. 

(7) On or before December 2, 2024, any interested person may 

comment on, or request a hearing concerning, the 2024 Act or 

the Proposed Amendments, following the instructions on the 

Commission's website: scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/ 

Submit-Public-Comments. Those unable, as a practical matter, 

to submit such documents electronically may file such 

comments by U.S. mail to the Clerk of the State Corporation 

Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 

Richmond, Virginia 23218-2118. All such documents shall 

refer to Case No. PUR-2024-00138. Individuals should be 

specific in their comments, proposals, or supplements to the 

Proposed Amendments and should address only those issues 

pertaining to the 2024 Act. Issues outside the scope of the 2024 

Act or the Proposed Amendments will not be open for 

consideration. Any request for hearing shall state with 

specificity why the issues raised in the request for hearing 

cannot be adequately addressed in written comments. If a 

sufficient request for hearing is not received, the Commission 

may consider the matter and enter an order based upon the 

comments, documents or other pleadings filed in this 

proceeding.  

(8) On or before January 17, 2025, the Staff shall file with the 

Clerk of the Commission a report on or a response to any 

comments or requests for hearing submitted to the Commission 

pursuant to this Order. 

(9) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of the 

Commission to all persons on the official Service List in this 

matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

_____________________________ 

1 Chapters 662 and 673 applied to investor-owned electric utilities and electric 

cooperatives and Chapter 500 applied to public utilities providing water 

service. 

2 See 20VAC5-330-10 et seq., Limitations on Disconnection of Electric and 

Water Service ("Chapter 330 Rules"). These regulations were adopted by the 

Commission in Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte: In re: Establishing rules providing limitations on 

disconnection of electric and water service for persons with serious medical 

mailto:___________@scc.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8028/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8028/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8028/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Informationscc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8028/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Informationscc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
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conditions, Case No. PUE-2011-00060, 2011 S.C.C. Ann. Rept. 511, Order 

Adopting Regulations (Oct. 18, 2011). 

3 For purposes of this proceeding, the Commission construes the 2024 Act’s 

reference to "gas" to encompass and mean "natural gas" utility service. 

4 The 2011 legislation required that serious medical conditions be certified by 

licensed physicians; the Chapter 330 Rules adopted in 2011 define licensed 

physicians as persons "licensed to practice medicine or osteopathic medicine 

(M.D. or D.O.)." See 20 VAC 5-330-20. 

5 5VAC5-20-10 et seq. ("Rules of Practice"). 

Chapter 330 

Limitations on Disconnection of Electric and, Water, 

Wastewater, and Natural Gas Service 

20VAC5-330-10. Applicability and scope. 

This chapter is promulgated pursuant to Chapters 500, 662, 

and 673 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly and Chapter 637 of the 

2024 Acts of Assembly. The provisions in this chapter apply 

to investor-owned electric utilities, electric cooperatives, 

natural gas utilities, and public utilities providing water or 

wastewater service. In order to promote public health and 

safety, this chapter is designed to establish reasonable 

limitations, consistent with the public interest, on the ability of 

investor-owned electric utilities, electric cooperatives, natural 

gas utilities, and public utilities providing water or wastewater 

service to terminate service consistent with §§ 44-146.29:4, 

56-245.1:3, and 56-245.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, as 

applicable, to residential customers who have a serious medical 

condition or to residential customers who reside with a family 

member with a serious medical condition and to provide such 

residential customers adequate time prior to the termination of 

electric or water service to either enter into a payment plan with 

the utility or make other arrangements for housing or medical 

care. Nothing in this chapter shall be interpreted to require an 

investor-owned electric utility, electric cooperative, natural gas 

utility, or public utility providing water or wastewater service 

to terminate service after the expiration of the timelines 

established herein in this chapter. 

Furthermore, nothing in this chapter shall be interpreted to 

prohibit an investor-owned electric utility, electric cooperative, 

natural gas utility, or public utility providing water or 

wastewater service from terminating service in the event of an 

emergency or in the event an investor-owned electric utility, 

electric cooperative, natural gas utility, or public utility 

providing water or wastewater service reasonably believes that 

theft of service or meter tampering has occurred in connection 

with the service. 

20VAC5-330-20. Definitions. 

The following terms when used in this chapter shall have the 

following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Licensed nurse practitioner" means a person licensed as a 

nurse practitioner in any of the 50 states or the District of 

Columbia. 

"Licensed physician" means a person licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine (M.D. or D.O.) in any of the 

50 states or the District of Columbia. 

"Serious medical condition" means a physical or psychiatric 

condition that requires medical intervention to prevent further 

disability, loss of function, or death. Such conditions are 

characterized by a need for ongoing medical supervision or the 

consultation of a physician or licensed nurse practitioner. A 

serious medical condition carries with it a risk to health beyond 

that experienced by the majority of children and adults in their 

day-to-day minor illnesses and injuries. Individuals with a 

serious medical condition may require administration of 

specialized treatments and may be dependent on medical 

technology such as ventilators, dialysis machines, enteral or 

parenteral nutrition support, or continuous oxygen. Medical 

interventions may include medications with special storage 

requirements, use of powered equipment, or access to water. 

"Serious Medical Condition Certification Form" means a 

written document, approved by the State Corporation 

Commission, signed by (i) a licensed physician or licensed 

nurse practitioner, (ii) the customer, and (iii) the patient or the 

patient's legal guardian or power of attorney. The Serious 

Medical Condition Certification Form shall (i) (a) identify the 

medical condition of the customer or family member who 

resides with the customer, (ii) (b) include a certification by a 

licensed physician or licensed nurse practitioner that the 

medical condition meets the definition of a serious medical 

condition, (iii) (c) identify the anticipated length of time that 

the serious medical condition will persist, and (iv) (d) identify 

any equipment prescribed or treatment required for the medical 

condition. 

20VAC5-330-30. General provisions. 

A. A request for a waiver of any of the provisions of this 

chapter shall be considered by the State Corporation 

Commission on a case-by-case basis, and may be granted upon 

such terms and conditions as the State Corporation 

Commission may impose. 

B. An investor-owned electric utility, electric cooperative, 

natural gas utility, or public utility providing water or 

wastewater service shall use the Serious Medical Condition 

Certification Form (Form SMCC) provided in English and 

Spanish on the State Corporation Commission's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/pue/rules.aspx http://www.scc. 

virginia.gov/pages/rules, unless the State Corporation 

Commission approves the use of an alternative form. 

C. An investor-owned electric utility, electric cooperative, 

natural gas utility, or public utility providing water or 

wastewater service may require a customer to provide it a new 

Serious Medical Condition Certification Form either annually 

or upon the expiration of the anticipated length of time that the 

serious medical condition will persist if such time is less than 

12 months. 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rules
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rules


Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 5  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 21, 2024  

724 

D. An investor-owned electric utility, electric cooperative, 

natural gas utility, or public utility providing water or 

wastewater service may take reasonable actions to verify the 

validity of the Serious Medical Condition Certification Form. 

Such actions include, but are not limited to, contacting (i) the 

licensed physician or licensed nurse practitioner to confirm the 

medical condition of the patient and the treatment or treatments 

associated therewith with the medical condition; (ii) the 

Virginia Department of Health Professions, or the applicable 

state's licensing board, to verify that the physician or nurse 

practitioner is a licensed physician or licensed nurse 

practitioner; or (iii) the customer to verify that the patient 

currently resides at the residence. 

E. In the event that the investor-owned electric utility, electric 

cooperative, natural gas utility, or public utility providing 

water or wastewater service is of the opinion that the 

information provided on the Serious Medical Condition 

Certification Form is invalid, or otherwise is of the opinion that 

there has been fraud or abuse of the process provided in this 

chapter, it may petition the State Corporation Commission for 

redress pursuant to 5VAC5-20-100 B, State Corporation 

Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure. 

20VAC5-330-40. Limitations on service termination to 

residential customers. 

A. Following the issuance of a notice of intent to terminate 

service pursuant to § 56-245.1:4 or 56-247.1 A 4 or A 6 of the 

Code of Virginia, and subject to the provisions of §§ 44-

146.29:4 and 56-245.1:3 of the Code of Virginia, an investor-

owned electric utility, electric cooperative, natural gas utility, 

or public utility providing water or wastewater service shall, 

upon request from a residential customer who has a Serious 

Medical Condition Certification Form filed with the utility, 

delay termination of service for a minimum of an additional 30 

calendar days beyond the expiration of the notice. 

B. Following the issuance of a notice of intent to terminate 

service pursuant to § 56-245.1:4 or 56-247.1 A 4 or A 6 of the 

Code of Virginia, and subject to the provisions of §§ 44-

146.29:4 and 56-245.1:3 of the Code of Virginia, an investor-

owned electric utility, electric cooperative, natural gas utility, 

or public utility providing water or wastewater service shall, 

upon request from a residential customer who does not have a 

Serious Medical Condition Certification Form filed with the 

utility, delay termination of service for 10 calendar days upon 

oral or written notification from a residential customer that 

such customer or a family member residing with the customer 

has a serious medical condition. The 10-calendar day delay in 

service termination shall commence on the date the investor-

owned electric utility, electric cooperative, natural gas utility, 

or public utility providing water or wastewater service receives 

notification. At the time of such notification, the investor-

owned electric utility, electric cooperative, natural gas utility, 

or public utility providing water or wastewater service shall: 

1. Advise the residential customer that service termination 

will be delayed for 10 calendar days pending receipt of the 

Serious Medical Condition Certification Form; 

2. Provide the customer access to the Serious Medical 

Condition Certification Form via its website or advise the 

consumer that access can be obtained via the State 

Corporation Commission's website; 

3. Not later than two business days after receiving 

notification, mail, email, or deliver via facsimile 

transmission a copy of the Serious Medical Condition 

Certification Form upon a request from the customer; and 

4. Not later than two business days after receiving 

notification, mail the customer a letter advising the 

customer: 

a. The date notification was received; 

b. The date that the 10-calendar day delay expires; and 

c. That upon receipt of a Serious Medical Condition 

Certification Form within the 10-calendar day time period 

provided for in this subsection, it will delay the 

termination of service 30 calendar days from the date of 

termination initially noticed. 

Upon receipt of a Serious Medical Condition Certification 

Form within the 10-calendar day time period provided for in 

this subsection, an investor-owned electric utility, electric 

cooperative, natural gas utility, or public utility providing 

water or wastewater service shall provide the 30-calendar day 

delay in termination of service required in subsection A of this 

section. An investor-owned electric utility, electric 

cooperative, natural gas utility, or public utility providing 

water or wastewater service shall not be required to provide a 

10-calendar day delay in service termination pursuant to this 

subsection more than once in a 12-month period. 

C. In the event an investor-owned electric utility, electric 

cooperative, natural gas utility, or public utility providing 

water or wastewater service has terminated service to a 

residential customer within the preceding 14 calendar days, the 

investor-owned electric utility, electric cooperative, natural gas 

utility, or public utility providing water or wastewater service 

shall promptly restore service upon (i) receipt of a Serious 

Medical Condition Certification Form, or confirmation of such 

a form on file; and (ii) a request from the customer to reconnect 

service. The investor-owned electric utility, electric 

cooperative, natural gas utility, or public utility providing 

water or wastewater service shall not be permitted to require 

any payment as a condition to reconnect; however, it may 

charge the customer, on the next monthly bill, any applicable 

reconnection fees that are on file in its State Corporation 

Commission approved tariffs and terms and conditions of 

service. Following the reconnection of service, the investor-

owned electric utility, electric cooperative, natural gas utility, 

or public utility providing water or wastewater service shall 
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delay termination of service for a minimum of 30 calendar days 

from the date it reconnects the customer. 

D. An investor-owned electric utility, electric cooperative, 

natural gas utility, or public utility providing water or 

wastewater service shall permit a residential customer to delay 

termination of service under this chapter two times within a 12-

month period. The 30-calendar day delays may be consecutive. 

Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit an investor-owned 

electric utility, electric cooperative, natural gas utility, or 

public utility providing water or wastewater service from 

providing to a customer additional delay from the termination 

of service beyond the delay required. 

E. During the delay in service termination pursuant to 

subsections A and C of this section, the investor-owned electric 

utility, electric cooperative, natural gas utility, or public utility 

providing water or wastewater service shall: 

1. In the event the investor-owned electric utility, electric 

cooperative, natural gas utility, or public utility providing 

water or wastewater service is able to establish payment 

arrangements with the customer, mail to the customer a letter 

detailing the agreement not later than three business days 

after the agreement on payment arrangements is made; or 

2. In the event the investor-owned electric utility, electric 

cooperative, natural gas utility, or public utility providing 

water or wastewater service is unable to establish payment 

arrangements with the customer, mail the customer a letter, 

not later than 10 calendar days prior to the expiration of the 

30-calendar day delay required by this chapter, advising the 

customer of (i) the date that service may be terminated and 

(ii) any payment arrangements available to the customer. 

The letter shall also advise the customer of his right to delay 

service termination pursuant to this chapter twice within a 

12-month period. 

F. The investor-owned electric utility, electric cooperative, 

natural gas utility, or public utility providing water or 

wastewater service shall (i) maintain a copy of any letters 

required under this section for a minimum of 12 months and 

(ii) provide such copies to the State Corporation Commission's 

Division of Energy Regulation upon request. 

20VAC5-330-50. Cost recovery mechanism. 

A. An investor-owned electric utility, electric cooperative, 

natural gas utility, or public utility providing water or 

wastewater service shall be permitted to recover losses on 

customer accounts resulting from the implementation of this 

chapter in the same manner as other uncollectable costs are 

recovered through rates. 

B. An investor-owned electric utility, electric cooperative, 

natural gas utility, or public utility providing water or 

wastewater service shall maintain write-offs and recoveries of 

uncollectable accounts in such a manner that would allow those 

amounts written off as a result of the implementation of this 

chapter to be separately identified. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (20VAC5-330) 

Serious Medical Condition Certification Form, Form SMCC 

(rev. 1/2017) 

Serious Medical Condition Certification Form, Form SMCC 

(rev. 8/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8028; Filed September 20, 2024, 9:08 a.m. 

  –––––––––––––––––– 

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-151. Land Use Permit 

Regulations. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne Maxwell, Director, Governance and 

Legislative Affairs, Department of Transportation, 1401 East 

Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-

1830, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (24VAC30-151) 

Land Use Permit LUP-HRIPE, Land Use Permit Application 

for Photo Enforcement of High-Risk Intersection Segments 

(eff. 8/2024) 

Land Use Permit LUP-SZSL, Land Use Permit Application 

for School Zone Speed Limit (eff. 8/2024) 

Land Use Permit LUP-SZPE, Land Use Permit Application 

for School Zone Photo Enforcement (eff. 8/2024) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/forms/SMCC%20Form%20rev.%208.24-20240814114226.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/forms/SMCC%20Form%20rev.%208.24-20240814114226.pdf
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-HRIPE,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20Photo%20Enforcement%20of%20High-Risk%20Intersection%20Segments%20(eff.%208-2024)-20240925152241.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-HRIPE,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20Photo%20Enforcement%20of%20High-Risk%20Intersection%20Segments%20(eff.%208-2024)-20240925152241.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-HRIPE,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20Photo%20Enforcement%20of%20High-Risk%20Intersection%20Segments%20(eff.%208-2024)-20240925152241.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-SZSL,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20School%20Zone%20Speed%20Limit%20(eff.%208-2024)-20240925152447.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-SZSL,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20School%20Zone%20Speed%20Limit%20(eff.%208-2024)-20240925152447.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-SZPE,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20School%20Zone%20Photo%20Enforcement%20(eff.%208-2024)-20240925152417.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-SZPE,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20School%20Zone%20Photo%20Enforcement%20(eff.%208-2024)-20240925152417.pdf
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Land Use Permit LUP-STS, Land Use Permit Application for 

Small Transit Shelter (eff. 8/2024) 

Land Use Permit LUP-LRSL, Land Use Permit Application 

for Locality Reduced Speed Limits as per § 46.2-1300 (eff. 

8/2024) 

Land Use Permit LUP-A, Land Use Permit Application (rev. 

9/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-AUA, Agricultural Use Agreement 

(rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-BMA, Land Use Permit Application - 

Building Movement (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-BMI, Building Movement - 

Investigator's Report (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-BMR, Building Movement - Route 

Certification (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-BMQ, Building Movement - 

Prequalification Questionnaire (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-BMV, Building Movement - VDOT 

Recommendation (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-CCV, Chemical Control of Vegetation 

(rev. 7/2015) 

Land Use Permit LUP-CS, Cash Surety Affidavit (rev. 

8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-CSB, Corporate Surety Bond (rev. 

8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-CUA, Commercial Use Agreement 

(rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-ESCCC, Erosion & Sediment Control 

Contractor Certification (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-IPP, Land Use Permit Application - In 

Place Utility, New Street Acceptance (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-LC, Bank Irrevocable Letter of Credit 

(rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-MFV, Local Program for the 

Temporary Occupation of Right-of-Way by Mobile Food 

Vendors, (eff. 9/2015) 

Land Use Permit LUP-OC, Open-Cut Pavement Restoration 

Requirements (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-PA, Permit Agreement for Occupation 

of Right-of-Way (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-PRU, Land Use Permit Application - 

Prior Rights Utility (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-SB, Surety Bond (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-SEA, Special Events Approvals (rev. 

8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-SEI, Special Event Information (rev. 

8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-SPG, Special Provisions - General 

(rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit LUP-WZTCC, Work Zone Traffic Control 

Certification (rev. 8/2014) 

Land Use Permit Resolution (rev. 8/2014) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8091; Filed September 20, 2024, 1:29 p.m. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-STS,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20Small%20Transit%20Shelter%20(eff.%208-2024)-20240925152346.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-STS,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20Small%20Transit%20Shelter%20(eff.%208-2024)-20240925152346.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-LRSL,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20Locality%20Reduced%20Speed%20Limits%20as%20per
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-LRSL,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20Locality%20Reduced%20Speed%20Limits%20as%20per
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/Land%20Use%20Permit%20LUP-LRSL,%20Land%20Use%20Permit%20Application%20for%20Locality%20Reduced%20Speed%20Limits%20as%20per
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/793b7004498~2.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/793b7004498~2.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/05fcd004498~3.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/05fcd004498~3.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/1a41d004498~4.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/1a41d004498~4.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/9bb55004498~5.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/9bb55004498~5.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/9bcfa004498~7.pdf
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https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/a597d004498~11.pdf
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https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/20532004498~12.pdf
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https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/6329c004498~13.pdf
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https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/1fb9a004498~14.pdf
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https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/04277004498~15.pdf
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: State Plan for Assistive Technology. 

State Plan for Independent Living. 

Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act Combined State 

Plan 2024-2027 - Vocational Rehabilitation and Senior 

Community Service Employment Program. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Analyst 

and Regulatory Coordinator, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7093, FAX 804-

662-7663, or email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: CCC+ Waiver Manual, Chapter 8 

Service Authorization. 

Durable Medical Equipment Manual, Chapter 7. 

Hospital Provider Manual Chapter 5. 

Residential Treatment Services Manual, Appendix A. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: Reduced Monitoring. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Azra Bilalagic, Training Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 584-6674, 

or email azra.bilalagic@deq.virginia.gov. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for deletion and the listed agencies have opened up a 30-day public 

comment period. The listed agencies had previously identified these documents as certified guidance documents, pursuant to § 

2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

guidance document to view the deleted document and comment. This information is also available on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND  
REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: 2020-2023 Workforce Innovation and 

Opportunity Act Combined State Plan. 

Senior Community Service Employment Program State Plan 

Modification. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Analyst 

and Regulatory Coordinator, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7093, FAX 804-

662-7663, or email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: Chain of Custody Policy and Procedures - 

Amendment 1. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_7778_20240913.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_7775_20240912.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_7774_20240912.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_7774_20240912.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_7774_20240912.pdf
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C602%5CGDoc_DMAS_7781_20240919.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C602%5CGDoc_DMAS_7781_20240919.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7794_20240920.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7808_20240925.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7737_20240823.pdf
mailto:meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_7761_20240909.pdf
mailto:azra.bilalagic@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2562
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2562
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2562
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2562
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2585
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2585
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Agency Contact: Nelson Daniel, Water Policy Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1752, or email 

nelson.daniel@deq.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Titles of Documents: Procedures for Operating State Vehicles. 

Virginia Environmental Excellence Program Operations 

Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4238, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Title of Document: Virginia Environmental Excellence 

Program Operations Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4238, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: Chain of Custody Policy and Procedures - 

Amendment 1. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Nelson Daniel, Water Policy Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1752, or email 

nelson.daniel@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD 

Titles of Documents: Conference and Education Assistance 

Grant. 

Live Fire Training Structure (Burn Building) Project Manual. 

Live Fire Training Structure Grants. 

Regional Fire Services Training Policy. 

Virginia Fire Incident Reporting Hardware Grant. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Spencer Willett, Government Affairs 

Manager, Department of Fire Programs, 1005 Technology 

Park Drive, Glen Allen, VA 23059, or email 

spencer.willett@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Titles of Documents: Easement Program Information Packet. 

Photographic Guidance for National Register Nominations in 

Virginia. 

Virginia Battlefield Preservation Fund Guidelines for 

Applications, Prioritization, and Award of Grants. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Sarah Spota, Deputy Director, Department of 

Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, Richmond, VA 

23221, or email sarah.spota@dhr.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Titles of Documents: Certified Local Government Grants 

Manual. 

Guidelines for Conducting Historic Resources Survey in 

Virginia. 

Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Guidance Documents. 

Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Financial Report Guidance 

and Templates. 

Historical African American Cemetery and Graves Fund 

Program Manual. 

State Collections Management Standards. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Sarah Spota, Deputy Director, Department of 

Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, Richmond, VA 

23221, or email sarah.spota@dhr.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Title of Document: How the Complaint Process Works. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Keenon Hook, Director, Bureau of Strategic 

Governance, Virginia State Police, P.O. Box 27472, 

Richmond, VA 23261, telephone (804) 674-2000, or email 

keenon.hook@vsp.virginia.gov. 

mailto:nelson.daniel@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2579
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2549
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2549
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2549
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2549
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2585
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2585
mailto:nelson.daniel@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2555
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2555
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2559
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2558
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2556
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2557
mailto:spencer.willett@vdfp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
mailto:sarah.spota@dhr.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2561
mailto:sarah.spota@dhr.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2351
mailto:keenon.hook@vsp.virginia.gov
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VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Title of Document: Chain of Custody Policy and Procedures - 

Amendment 1. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Nelson Daniel, Water Policy Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1752, or email 

nelson.daniel@deq.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Titles of Documents: Closure Guidance - Wood Treatment 

Facilities - Drip Pads. 

Explosives Ordnance Disposal Emergency Response 

Operations and Emergency Permits Clarification. 

Risk-Based Closure - Risk Exposure and Analysis Modeling 

System. 

Solid Waste Permit Manual. 

Waste Procedure Number 5 - Hazardous Waste Emergency 

Permits. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Samuel Jasinski, Policy Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-2655, or email 

samuel.jasinski@deq.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: Virginia Environmental Excellence 

Program Operations Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4238, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Titles of Documents: Chain of Custody Policy and Procedures 

- Amendment 1. 

Checklists for Wastewater Laboratory Inspections - 

Amendment 2. 

Checklists for Wastewater Laboratory Inspections - 

Amendment 3. 

Checklists for Wastewater Laboratory Inspections - 

Amendment 4A. 

Checklists for Wastewater Laboratory Inspections - 

Amendment 5. 

Checklists for Wastewater Laboratory Inspections - 

Amendment 6. 

Checklist for Wastewater Laboratory Inspections - 

Amendment 7. 

Checklists for Wastewater Laboratory Inspections. 

Process for Determination of Noncompliance with the General 

VPDES Permit for Storm Water Discharges Associated with 

Industrial Activity, VAR05. 

Reissuance Procedures for Virginia Pollution Abatement 

Biosolids Land Application Permits. 

Stormwater Management Model Ordinance. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Nelson Daniel, Water Policy Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-1752, or email 

nelson.daniel@deq.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Titles of Documents: Comprehensive Environmental Data 

System Tanks Compliance and Registration User Manual. 

New Underground Storage Tank Requirements Effective 

January 1, 2018. 

New Underground Storage Tank Requirements Effective 

January 1, 2021. 

Quality Assurance Project Plan, State Lead Program, Revision 

2. 

Storage Tank Program Compliance Manual Volume 4: 

Compliance Process. 

Storage Tank Program Quality Management Plan, Amendment 

3. 

Tank Ownership and Responsible Person Identification 

Changes. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Samuel Jasinski, Policy Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 659-2655, or email 

samuel.jasinski@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2585
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2585
mailto:nelson.daniel@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2569
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2569
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2570
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2570
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2571
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2571
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2578
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2572
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2572
mailto:samuel.jasinski@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2549
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2549
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2585
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2585
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2586
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2582
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2582
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2582
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2584
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2584
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2581
mailto:nelson.daniel@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2553
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2553
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2576
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2576
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2577
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2577
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2568
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2568
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2574
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2574
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2575
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2575
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2573
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2573
mailto:samuel.jasinski@deq.virginia.gov
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* * * 

Title of Document: Virginia Environmental Excellence 

Program Operations Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 20, 2024. 

Effective Date: November 21, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4238, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2549
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2549
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Aqua Virginia Inc. 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Aqua Virginia Inc. for 

violations of the State Water Control Law in Palmyra, Virginia. 

The proposed order is available from the DEQ contact listed or 

at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from October 21, 2024, 

through November 20, 2024. 

Contact Information: John Brandt, Enforcement Manager, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, or email 

john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for 9DG LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for 9DG LLC for violations 

of the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) Permit Regulations at 2500 Tyler Road Travel 

Center in Christiansburg, Virginia. The proposed order is 

available from the DEQ contact listed or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from October 21, 2024, 

through November 20, 2024. 

Contact Information: Michael Puckett, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge 

Regional Office, 901 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153, 

telephone (540) 577-6719, or email 

michael.puckett@deq.virginia.gov. 

Gateway Grid LLC Notice of Intent for a Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Energy Storage) - 

Botetourt County 

Gateway Grid LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project in Botetourt County, Virginia, pursuant to 

9VAC15-100. The project name is Gateway Grid Battery 

Storage Facility, the owner is Gateway Grid LLC, and the 

project developer is Eolian Energy. The DEQ project number 

is RE0000329. 

The location of the project is 2151 Lee Highway, Troutville, 

VA 24175, and the project has a geographic information 

system (GIS) centroid of Latitude 37.380764, Longitude -

79.905191. As proposed, the project will have a rated power 

capacity of 100 megawatts alternating current, include 

approximately 116 battery modules, and have a disturbance 

area of approximately 13.7 acres. 

Contact Information: Amber Foster, Small Renewable Energy 

Permit by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 7448474, or email 

amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov. 

Hera Solar LLC Notice of Intent for a Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Tazewell County 

Hera Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Tazewell County, Virginia, pursuant 

to 9VAC15-60. The project owner is Hera Solar LLC and the 

project developer is Energix Renewables. The DEQ project 

number is RE0000328. 

The project will encompass two parcels of approximately 720 

acres north of Lake Witten Road with a geographic information 

system (GIS) centroid of Longitude 37.170322, Latitude -

81.504903. As proposed, the project will have a maximum 

rated capacity of 20 megawatts alternating current and use 

approximately 48,000 photovoltaic panels. 

Contact Information: Amber Foster, Small Renewable Energy 

Permit by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 774-8474, or email 

amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Meeting and Opportunity for Public Comment 
- Cleanup Plan for Cedar Run, Mine Run, Mountain 
Run, and the Lower Rapidan River Basin in Orange, 

Culpeper, and Spotsylvania Counties 

Purpose of Notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) seeks public comment on the development of a cleanup 

plan for impaired waters, also known as an implementation 

plan (IP), for Cedar Run, Mine Run, Mountain Run, and the 

Lower Rapidan River Basin in Orange, Culpeper, and 

Spotsylvania Counties, Virginia. These streams are listed as 

impaired because monitoring data indicates that the waters do 

not meet Virginia's water quality standards due to an 

exceedance in E. coli. Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act 

and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to 

develop cleanup studies to address pollutants responsible for 

causing waters to be on Virginia's § 303(d) list of impaired 

waters. Once a cleanup study is developed, § 62.1-44.19:7 of 

the Code of Virginia outlines the requirements for a cleanup 

plan to address the pollutants contained in the study. 

DEQ has developed a cleanup plan for Cedar Run, Mine Run, 

Mountain Run, and the Lower Rapidan River Basin that 

identifies corrective actions needed to improve water quality 

and discusses the associated costs and environmental benefits 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:michael.puckett@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov
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of the actions. A summary of the plan will be presented at the 

public meeting. Citizens are invited to provide comment on the 

plan and will learn how to be part of implementing the plan to 

improve water quality in the watershed. Community 

engagement meetings to assist in development of this cleanup 

plan were convened on April 12, 2024, and June 27, 2024. 

Cleanup Plan Location: The cleanup plan addresses the 

following impaired stream segments for bacteria impairments: 

Black Walnut Run, which begins at the Route 621 crossing and 

continues downstream until the confluence with Mine Run 

(6.48 mi.); 

Brook Run, which begins at the confluence with an unnamed 

tributary to Brook Run at Route 647 and continues downstream 

until the confluence with the Rapidan River (2.51 mi.); 

Cabin Branch, which begins at the perennial headwaters of 

Cabin Branch and continues downstream to the confluence 

with Cedar Run (3.19 mi.); 

Cedar Run, which begins at the confluence with Cabin Branch 

and continues downstream until the confluence with the 

Rapidan River (2.26 mi.); 

Cedar Run, which begins at the confluence with Buck Run and 

continues downstream until the confluence with Cabin Branch 

(3.54 mi.); 

Mine Run, which begins at the confluence with Cormack Run, 

approximately 0.6 rivermiles upstream of Route 20, and continues 

downstream until the confluence with the Rapidan River (10.50 

mi.); 

Mountain Run, which begins at the confluence with Mill Run, 

approximately 0.25 rivermiles downstream of Route 617, and 

continues downstream until the confluence with Mine Run (10.11 

mi.); 

Mountain Run, which begins at the headwaters of Mountain Run 

and continues downstream until the confluence with Mill Run 

(7.46 mi.); 

Potato Run, which begins at the headwaters of Potato Run and 

continues downstream until the confluence with the Rapidan River 

(6.84 mi.); 

Rapidan River, which begins at the confluence with an unnamed 

tributary to the Rapidan River at rivermile 34.5, approximately 0.6 

rivermiles downstream from Route 689, and continues 

downstream until the confluence with Cedar Run (4.66 mi.); 

Rapidan River, which begins at the confluence with the 

Robinson River and continues downstream until the 

confluence with an unnamed tributary to the Rapidan River at 

rivermile 36.6 (3.40 mi.); 

Rapidan River, which begins at the boundary of the public 

water supply area, approximately 1.17 rivermiles upstream 

from the Route 3 crossing, and continues downstream to the 

confluence with Lick Branch (3.41 mi.); 

Sumerduck Run, which begins at the confluence with Dry Run 

and continues downstream until the confluence with the 

Rapidan River (6.21 mi.); and 

Wilderness Run, which begins at the confluence of North 

Wilderness Run and South Wilderness Run and continues 

downstream until the confluence with the Rapidan River (5.56 

mi.). 

Public Meeting: George Washington Carver Agricultural 

Research Center, 9432 North James Madison Highway, 

Rapidan, VA 22733 on November 18, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. In the 

event of inclement weather, the meeting will be held on 

November 21, 2024, at the same time and location. This 

meeting was initially scheduled for October 3, 2024. The 

October 3, 2024, meeting has been canceled, and the meeting 

will now occur on November 18, 2024. 

Public Comment Period: November 18, 2024, to December 18, 

2024. 

How to Comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email or 

postal mail. All comments must be received by DEQ during 

the comment period. Submittals must include the name, 

organization represented (if any), mailing addresses, and 

telephone numbers of the commenter or requester. 

Information about this plan will be posted throughout the 

development process at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-

programs/water/water-quality/implementation/ 

implementation-plans-under-development. 

Contact Information: Kaitlin King, Nonpoint Source 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, Central 

Office, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 338-2430, or email 

kaitlin.king@deq.virginia.gov. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Notice of Oyster Planting Grounds Application 

H. M. Terry Company Inc. has applied for approximately 

194.64 acres of oyster planting ground in Outlet Bay situated 

in Northampton City and Northampton County with Latitude 

N37-21.399, Longitude W75-50.982. View a map of the 

application or provide public comments at 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/public/oystergrounds/search

_applications.php using the application number 2024037 or 

contact the Marine Resources Commission Shellfish 

Management Division at (757) 247-2262. 

Send written comments to the contact listed. 

Contact Information: Savannah Longest, Shellfish 

Aquaculture Specialist, Marine Resources Commission, 380 

Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, 

telephone (757) 247-2262, FAX (757) 247-2002, or email 

savannah.longest@mrc.virginia.gov. 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-quality/implementation/implementation-plans-under-development
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-quality/implementation/implementation-plans-under-development
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-quality/implementation/implementation-plans-under-development
mailto:kaitlin.king@deq.virginia.gov
https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/public/oystergrounds/search_applications.php
https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/public/oystergrounds/search_applications.php
savannah.longest@mrc.virginia.gov
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Public Comment Opportunity on Intent to Amend 
State Plan - Supplemental Payments for Acute Care 

Hospital Chain with Level One Trauma Center 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates; In-Patient Hospital Care 

(12VAC30-70). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR § 

447.205 and § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 

§ 1396a(a)(13)). A copy of this notice is available for public 

review from the DMAS contact listed. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impacts of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted in writing by November 20, 2024, 

and such comments are available for review at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

In accordance with Item 288 OO 10 of the 2024 Appropriations 

Act, DMAS will make the following changes: 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; In-

Patient Hospital Care (12VAC30-70) 

DMAS is revising the state plan to make supplemental 

payments through an adjustment to the formula for indirect 

medical education reimbursement using managed care 

discharge days for an acute care hospital chain with a level one 

trauma center in the Tidewater Metropolitan Statistical Area in 

2020, upon the execution of affiliation agreements with public 

entities that are capable of transferring funds to DMAS for 

purposes of covering the nonfederal share of the authorized 

payments. Such public entities would enter into an interagency 

agreement with DMAS for this purpose. Public entities are 

authorized to use general fund dollars to accomplish this 

transfer. The funds to be transferred must comply with 42 CFR 

§§ 433.51 and 433.54. As part of the interagency agreements, 

DMAS shall require the public entities to attest to compliance 

with applicable Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

(CMS) criteria. DMAS shall also require any private hospital 

and related health systems receiving payments under this item 

to attest to compliance with applicable CMS criteria. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service 

expenditures is $17,200,000 in state general funds and 

$25,800,000 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2025. The 

expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service 

expenditures is $17,531,100 in state general funds and 

$25,468,900 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2026. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Division of Policy and Research, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
mailto:meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-20. Fees for Permits and 

Certificates. 

Publication: 39:5 VA.R. 604-609 October 24, 2022. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 607, 9VAC25-20-130, subdivision 4,  

line 3, after "board" change "or" to "for" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7259; Filed September 27, 2024, 11:14 a.m. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-421. Food Regulations. 

Publication: 37:18 VA.R. 2687-2738 April 26, 2021. 

Correction to Fast-Track Regulation: 

Page 2724, 12VAC5-421-2720,  

line 1, after "12VAC5-421-2720. Covering receptacles." 

Insert on next line, "Receptacles and waste handling units for 

refuse, recyclables, and returnables shall be kept covered:" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5671; Filed September 27, 2024, 1:52 p.m. 


