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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 
REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequen111tial impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at https://register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures 

to be followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that 

Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia be examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and 

date. 34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, 

Issue 8, pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on 

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Marcus B. Simon, 

Chair; Russet W. Perry, Vice Chair; Katrina E. Callsen; Nicole 

Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Michael 

Mullin; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Managing 

Editor; Erin Comerford, Regulations Analyst. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4007.06/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2024 through December 2025 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

41:8 November 13, 2024 December 2, 2024 

41:9 November 26, 2024 (Tuesday) December 16, 2024 

41:10 December 11, 2024 December 30, 2024 

41:11 December 23, 2024 (Monday) January 13, 2025 

41:12 January 8, 2025 January 27, 2025 

41:13 January 22, 2025 February 10, 2025 

41:14 February 5, 2025 February 24, 2025 

41:15 February 19, 2025 March 10, 2025 

41:16 March 5, 2025 March 24, 2025 

41:17 March 19, 2025 April 7, 2025 

41:18 April 2, 2025 April 21, 2025 

41:19 April 16, 2025 May 5, 2025 

41:20 April 30, 2025 May 19, 2025 

41:21 May 14, 2025 June 2, 2025 

41:22 May 28, 2025 June 16, 2025 

41:23 June 11, 2025 June 30, 2025 

41:24 June 25, 2025 July 14, 2025 

41:25 July 9, 2025 July 28, 2025 

41:26 July 23, 2025 August 11, 2025 

42:1 August 6, 2025 August 25, 2025 

42:2 August 20, 2025 September 8, 2025 

42:3 September 3, 2025 September 22, 2025 

42:4 September 17, 2025 October 6, 2025 

42:5 October 1, 2025 October 20, 2025 

42:6 October 15, 2025 November 3, 2025 

42:7 October 29, 2025 November 17, 2025 

42:8 November 10, 2025 (Monday) December 1, 2025 

42:9 November 24, 2025 (Monday) December 15, 2025 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3500 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Marva Michelle Baskerville. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Counseling revise 18VAC115-20-70 to establish a 

pathway for licensed substance abuse treatment providers 

(LSATPs) to become licensed professional counselors (LPCs). 

A similar pathway exists for LPCs to become LSATPs without 

an examination under 18VAC115-60-90 C. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on November 18, 2024. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which 

opens November 18, 2024, and closes December 18, 2024. The 

board will consider the petition and all comments in support or 

opposition at the next meeting after the close of public 

comment. That meeting is currently scheduled for January 24, 

2025. The petitioner will be notified of the board's decision 

after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-15; Filed October 16, 2024, 4:06 p.m. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-360, 

Regulations Governing General Educational Development 

Certificates, and determined that this regulation should be 

repealed. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

October 24, 2024, to support this decision. 

This regulation is no longer necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare because it is outdated. The 

board is required by Virginia statute to promulgate regulations 

allowing for adult education and for the testing of high school 

equivalency, thus creating a continued need for regulation 

concerning the subject matter area. The regular no-cost 

procurement process ensures that the approved assessments 

and testing protocols remain compliant with board guidance 

and the credential retains its rigorous value. However, the 

statutory and regulatory framework has evolved since this 

regulation was promulgated, and the regulation is now out of 

date. The nature or existence of any complaints is unknown, 

and no comments were received during the periodic review. 

The regulation was last revised in 2005, and it no longer 

reflects current statutory framework. The board's decision does 

not impact small business. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-530, 

Regulations Governing Criteria to Identify Toxic Art 

Materials; Labeling; Use in Elementary Grades 

Prohibited, and determined that this regulation should be 

amended. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

October 24, 2024, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare. The board must require school divisions to 

evaluate all art materials used in schools and identify those that 

are toxic. All materials used in the public schools that meet the 

criteria as toxic shall be so labeled and the use of such art 

materials shall be prohibited in kindergarten through grade 

five. 

The periodic review found that this regulation overlaps, 

duplicates, and conflicts with federal law in several instances. 

The periodic review also found that this regulation does not 

reflect changes made within the Labeling of Hazardous Art 

Materials Act (LHAMA), 15 USC § 1277 (P.L. 100-695, 

enacted November 18, 1988), which provided that the 

requirements for the labeling of art materials set forth in the 

version of the standard of the American Society for Testing and 

Materials (ASTM) designated D-4236 that is in effect on 

November 18, 1988 shall be deemed to be a regulation issued 

by the Consumer Product Safety Commission under § 3(b) of 

the Federal Hazardous Substances Act, 15 USC § 1262(b). 16 

CFR 1500 now includes the requirements of ASTM D-4236 in 

16 CFR 1500.14(b)(8)(i), along with other requirements made 

applicable to art materials by LHAMA. The substance of the 

requirements specified in LHAMA became effective on 

November 18, 1990. As a result, the regulation could be 

significantly shortened by defaulting to the federal 

requirements. 

The board will consider consolidating 8VAC20-720 for 

efficiency. There is a continued need for this regulation. The 

board has not received any complaints or comments 

concerning the regulation. While the regulation is not overly 

complex, it overlaps and duplicates federal law in several 

instances. The regulation has not been revised since it was 

originally promulgated in 1988. 

Contact Information: Jim Chapman, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 750-8750, or email 

jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Health conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 12VAC5-215, 

Rules and Regulations Governing Health Data Reporting, 

and determined that this regulation should be amended. The 

board is publishing its report of findings dated July 1, 2024, to 

support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth. The 

establishment of effective health care data analysis and 

reporting initiatives is essential to improving the quality and 

efficiency of health care, fostering competition among health 

care providers, and increasing consumer choice with regard to 

health care services in the Commonwealth. Accurate and 

mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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valuable health care data can best be identified by 

representatives of state government and the consumer, 

provider, insurance, and business communities. 

This regulation is clearly written and understandable. The 

board will amend the regulation to align with the current 

practices regarding specifications for health care institutions, 

filing requirements, due dates, fee structure, and financial 

information that is periodically published and disseminated 

regarding health data. The board will also incorporate the 

provisions of Methodology to Measure Efficiency and 

Productivity of Health Care Institutions (12VAC5-216), into 

this regulation. Additionally, amendments that reduce 

regulatory requirements will be considered where possible. 

There is a continued need for the regulation as the board is 

required to administer the health care data reporting initiatives. 

The board has not received complaints or comments 

concerning this regulation but has identified the need to amend 

this regulation to maintain an accurate and robust health care 

data system. The regulation does not conflict with state law or 

regulation. The regulation requires a comprehensive review to 

reflect changes in the health care industry, technology, and 

economic conditions. 

Contact Information: Kindall Bundy, Policy Analyst, Virginia 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 986-5270, FAX (804) 864-7022, or 

email kindall.bundy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Health conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 12VAC5-216, 

Methodology to Measure Efficiency and Productivity of 

Health Care Institutions, and determined that this regulation 

should be repealed. The board is publishing its report of 

findings dated July 1, 2024, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth. The 

establishment of effective health care data analysis and 

reporting initiatives is essential to improving the quality and 

efficiency of health care, fostering competition among health 

care providers, and increasing consumer choice with regard to 

health care services in the Commonwealth. Accurate and 

valuable health care data can best be identified by 

representatives of state government and the consumer, 

provider, insurance, and business communities. As written, the 

regulation is not clear or easily understandable. Outdated 

regulatory language and technical deficiencies have been 

identified and should be addressed through regulatory action. 

The board is recommending that the regulation be repealed, 

and the provisions be incorporated into Rules and Regulations 

Governing Health Data Reporting (12VAC5-215). After 

review, the need for several significant amendments to the 

provisions of the regulation have been identified. Repealing 

this regulation is necessary to better align regulatory 

requirements with current practice, to overhaul existing 

regulatory language to conform to the form and style 

requirements of the Virginia Administrative Code, and to 

identify opportunities for regulatory reduction while 

continuing to fulfill the board's statutory mandate to protect the 

citizens of the Commonwealth. The board believes that 

repealing the regulation and incorporating its provisions into 

12VAC5-215 will be more efficient and effective than 

amending the current chapter. 

This regulation is necessary for the board to provide members 

of the public and health service purchasers vital information to 

identify the most efficient and productive health care 

providers. No complaints or comments have been received 

concerning the regulation. The regulation does not conflict 

with any known federal or state law or regulation. Regulations 

are evaluated on an ongoing basis, and this regulation was last 

amended in September 2012 as a result of periodic review. The 

board does not anticipate that repealing the regulation will have 

an adverse economic impact on small businesses in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Contact Information: Kindall Bundy, Policy Analyst, Virginia 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 986-5270, FAX (804) 864-7022, or 

email kindall.bundy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Health conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 12VAC5-217, 

Regulations of the Patient Level Data System, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended. The board 

is publishing its report of findings dated October 17, 2024, to 

support this decision. 

This action is being used to conform this regulation to the 

provision of Chapter 552 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, Item 307(D1). The advantage to the public 

and the Commonwealth is that the regulation will be in 

compliance with legislative changes enacted by the 2021 

General Assembly and will provide helpful information 

regarding inpatient psychiatric admissions. There are no 

disadvantages to individual private citizens or businesses not 

subject to the regulation, the agency, or the Commonwealth. 

The primary disadvantages to the regulated community are the 

projected costs of implementing the requirements of the 

regulation and additional workflows required to complete the 

new fields. 

The board will amend this regulation to better align with 

current practice, update existing regulatory language to 

conform to the form and style requirements of the Virginia 

Registrar of Regulations, and identify opportunities for 

regulatory reduction, while continuing to fulfill the board's 

mailto:kindall.bundy@vdh.virginia.gov
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statutory mandate to protect the citizens of the Commonwealth. 

This regulatory action is the least burdensome method 

identified to conform the regulation to statute. 

The proposed amendments will conform the regulation to 

current practice and therefore may have an impact on affected 

entities. All Virginia-licensed hospitals are required to submit 

acute discharges. There is a cost for hospitals associated with 

submitting this data. Hospitals incur internal costs and may 

incur vendor costs as well as costs from Virginia Health 

Information for data processing if the submission does not 

meet a 95% accuracy rate. There are approximately 102 

licensed hospitals in the Commonwealth some of which are 

independently owned (private) and operated with less than 500 

full-time employees having a gross annual sales of less than $6 

million. 

Contact Information: Kindall Bundy, Policy Analyst, Virginia 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 986-5270, FAX (804) 864-7022, or 

email kindall.bundy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Health conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 12VAC5-220, 

Virginia Medical Care Facilities Certificate of Public Need 

Rules and Regulations, and determined that this regulation 

should be repealed and replaced. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated August 9, 2024, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because the Certificate of Public Need 

(COPN) program ensures that the health care marketplace in 

Virginia is not saturated with unneeded medical care facilities, 

services, or equipment, that charity care is being provided to 

indigent persons, that new medical care facilities, services, and 

equipment are encouraged in geographic areas not served or 

not sufficiently served by existing medical facilities, and that 

there is public input regarding proposed changes to new or 

existing health care services in a community. The regulation is 

fairly complex due to the subject matter and will require 

revisions in form and style to make it more easily 

understandable. 

The board will repeal and replace this regulation to incorporate 

various statutory and legislative mandates that have been 

omitted from previous actions, to conform to the form and style 

requirements of the Virginia Administrative Code, and to 

consider opportunities for regulatory reduction where possible. 

There is a continued need for this regulation as the board is 

mandated to regulate the COPN program in Virginia. The 

nature of many of the comments received were generally 

focused on the perceived burdens of the COPN program and 

that it is out of date. The regulation is complex and difficult to 

read, making the choice to repeal and replace the least 

burdensome regulatory pathway to update the regulation. The 

regulation does not conflict with federal law or regulation, 

though it currently does not meet all state mandates, which 

prompted the board to decide repeal and replace it. The 

regulation has been incrementally amended as changes to the 

Code of Virginia occurred; however, more comprehensive 

changes to the regulation are needed. During the most recent 

licensure renewal period, 14 general hospitals, 37 outpatient 

surgical hospitals, and 110 nursing homes self-reported that 

they meet the definition of "small business"; given that some 

self-reported small businesses are part of larger health systems 

or corporations, the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) is 

unable to ensure the validity of the self-reported data. VDH is 

unable to quantify how many physician offices qualify as small 

businesses due to lack of available data, self-reported or 

otherwise. The board was not able to identify any alternatives 

for small businesses that would be more equitable while still 

protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the public and has 

put forth thoughtful consideration about the burdens of the 

regulatory requirements that have a cost. 

Contact Information: Val Hornsby, Policy Planning Specialist, 

Office of Licensure and Certification, Virginia Department of 

Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-2102, or email val.hornsby@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Health conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 12VAC5-391, 

Regulations for the Licensure of Hospice, and determined 

that this regulation should be amended. The board is publishing 

its report of findings dated August 7, 2024, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because it requires hospices to meet 

minimum standards for personnel, clinical and nonclinical 

services, treatment of patients, and facility safety. These 

standards protect members of the public who utilize hospice 

services. Improvements are needed to achieve greater clarity 

and readability of the regulation. Additionally, updates are 

needed to the regulation to include current clinical and industry 

practices. The board will amend the regulation to conform to 

the form and style requirements of the Virginia Administrative 

Code, update provisions to include current clinical and 

industry practices, and consider opportunities for regulatory 

reduction where possible. 

There is a continued need for the regulation as the board is 

required by § 32.1-162.5 of the Code of Virginia to promulgate 

regulations governing the hospices. The board received one 

comment concerning the regulation from the public. The 

regulation is of moderate complexity, which is not an 

unexpected outcome given the overall complexity of the health 
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care industry. The regulation does not conflict with federal or 

state law or regulation. There are 80 licensed hospices in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, 35 of which have self-reported 

that they are small businesses. The Virginia Department of 

Health does not validate whether these self-reports are 

accurate. All licensed hospices in the Commonwealth are 

federally certified, so even in the absence of state hospice 

regulations, these hospices would have to comply with federal 

requirements, which are as strict as or stricter than the those of 

the Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Val Hornsby, Policy Planning Specialist, 

Office of Licensure and Certification, Virginia Department of 

Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-2102, or email val.hornsby@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Health conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 12VAC5-405, 

Rules Governing Private Review Agents, and determined 

that this regulation should be amended. The board is publishing 

its report of findings dated August 9, 2024, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because it establishes the process by which 

private review agents conduct utilization review. The 

regulation requires updates to the form and style in order to 

make the language clear and understandable. The board will 

amend the regulation to conform to the form and style 

requirements of the Virginia Administrative Code and consider 

opportunities for regulatory reduction where possible. 

There is a continued need for the regulation as the board is 

mandated to regulate private review agents. The board did not 

receive any comments concerning the regulation during the 

public comment period. The regulation is neither complex nor 

overlaps, duplicates, or conflicts with federal or state law or 

regulation. The regulation was last reviewed in 2015 and has 

not been updated since its promulgation in 1999. The board is 

not aware of any private review agents that would meet the 

definition of a small business. 

Contact Information: Val Hornsby, Policy Planning Specialist, 

Office of Licensure and Certification, Virginia Department of 

Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-2102, or email val.hornsby@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Health conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 12VAC5-407, 

Procedures for the Submission of Health Maintenance 

Organization Quality of Care Performance Information, 

and determined that this regulation should be amended. The 

board is publishing its report of findings dated July 1, 2024, to 

support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth. The 

establishment of effective health care data analysis and 

reporting initiatives is essential to improving the quality and 

efficiency of health care, fostering competition among health 

care providers, and increasing consumer choice with regard to 

health care services in the Commonwealth. Accurate and 

valuable health care data can best be identified by 

representatives of state government and the consumer, 

provider, insurance, and business communities. 

The board will amend the regulation to make format and style 

changes, update code references, align provisions of the 

chapter with current practices and procedures, add clarifying 

language, and remove any unnecessary, duplicative, or 

nonregulatory language. This regulation does not overlap or 

duplicate a federal or state law or regulation. The regulation 

was last reviewed on May 8, 2013. The proposed amendments 

will conform the regulation to current practice and therefore 

will not have an impact on small business entities. 

Contact Information: Kindall Bundy, Policy Analyst, Virginia 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 986-5270, FAX (804) 864-7022, or 

email kindall.bundy@vdh.virginia.gov. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-675. Regulations Governing 

Pesticide Fees Charged by the Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services (amending 2VAC5-675-30, 

2VAC5-675-40, 2VAC5-675-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Nicole Wilkins, Program Manager, Office of 

Pesticide Services, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 371-2283, TDD (800) 828-1120, 

or email nicole.wilkins@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy board. 

Section 3.2-3906 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 

to adopt regulations establishing a fee structure for licensure, 

registration, and certification to defray the costs of 

implementing the Virginia Pesticide Control Act. 

Purpose: The department has determined that current fees 

provide more than adequate funding for implementation of the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 

pesticide program. The fees prescribed in 2VAC5-675 are 

utilized to operate VDACS pesticide programs, which protect 

human health and the environment by ensuring the proper use 

of pesticides used to control pests that adversely affect crops, 

structures, health, and domestic animals. VDACS is able to 

ensure compliance with all applicable laws and regulations 

related to the use of pesticides, thereby protecting human 

health, while lowering the fees for commercial applicator 

certifications, pesticide business licenses, and registered 

technician certifications, which will support the economic 

welfare of the businesses currently responsible for paying these 

fees. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed amendments lower the fees for commercial 

applicator certifications, pesticide business licenses, and 

registered technician certifications and, as such, are expected 

to be noncontroversial and appropriate for the fast-track 

rulemaking process. 

Substance: The proposed amendments will lower the fees for 

(i) commercial applicator certifications from $100 to $25, (ii) 

commercial applicator certification reexaminations from $100 

to $25, (iii) additional categories or subcategories for 

commercial applicator certifications from $35 to $25, (iv) 

registered technician certifications from $50 to $25, (v) 

registered technician certification reexaminations from $50 to 

$25, and (vi) annual pesticide business licenses from $150 to 

$75. 

Issues: The proposed regulatory action is advantageous to the 

public and to the regulated industry because the proposed 

action will reduce the costs to pesticide applicators and 

pesticide businesses while allowing the VDACS pesticide 

program to continue protecting public health and the 

environment. Lowering the pesticide applicator fees and 

business license fees does not add any additional regulatory 

requirements for pesticide applicators or pesticide businesses. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (board) proposes 

to reduce fees for commercial applicators,2 registered 

technicians,3 and pesticide businesses. 

Background. According to the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS), the proposed 

amendments would align the pesticide-related fees that 

VDACS collects with its costs to administer the pesticide 

program. The current fees and the board's proposed fees are in 

the following table: 

Fee Description Current 

Fee 

Proposed 

Fee 

Commercial applicator 

certificate initial fee 

$100 $25 

Commercial applicator 

reexamination 

$100 $25 
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Commercial applicator 

additional category 

$35 $25 

Registered technician certificate 

initial fee 

$50 $25 

Registered technician 

reexamination 

$50 $25 

Business license annual fee $150 $75 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Pesticide businesses, 

commercial applicators, and registered technicians would 

benefit from the lower fees. VDACS estimates that the lower 

fees would result in an annual reduction of $450,750 in 

revenue. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments would affect the 3,000 licensed pesticide 

businesses and 22,600 certified pesticide applicators, including 

both commercial applicators and registered technicians, in the 

Commonwealth.4 VDACS estimates that the vast majority of 

the licensed businesses are small businesses. The Code of 

Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact 

may result from the proposed regulation.5 An adverse impact 

is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs 

for all entities combined.6 As the proposal neither increases net 

costs nor reduces net benefit, no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments may 

disproportionately affect agriculturally oriented localities. The 

proposal does not increase costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

lower fees would very moderately increase the value of 

pesticide businesses. The proposed amendments do not affect 

real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 Section 3.2-3900 of the Code of Virginia defines "commercial applicator" as 

"any person who has completed the requirements for certification to use or 

supervise the use of any pesticide for any purpose or on any property other 

than as provided in the definition of private applicator." 

3 Section 3.2-3900 of the Code of Virginia defines "registered technician" as 

"an individual who has satisfactorily completed the Board requirements for 

certification to apply general use pesticides, and to apply restricted use 

pesticides while under the direct supervision of a certified commercial 

applicator. Registered technicians render services similar to those of a certified 

commercial applicator, but have not completed all the requirements to be 

eligible for certification as a commercial applicator." 

4 Data source: VDACS. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

8 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

9 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

10 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services concurs 

with the economic impact analysis prepared by the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments lower the fees for commercial applicator 

certifications, pesticide business licenses, and registered 

technician certifications.  

2VAC5-675-30. Commercial applicator certificate fee. 

Any person applying for a certificate as a commercial 

applicator shall pay to the department an initial nonrefundable 

certificate fee of $100 $25. All certificates shall expire on June 

30 in the second year after issuance unless suspended or 

revoked for cause. A certificate not suspended or revoked for 

cause will be renewed upon receipt of an application for 

renewal submitted by June 30. If the certificate is not renewed 

within 60 days following the expiration of the certificate, then 

such certificate holder shall be required to take another 

examination. The fee for this reexamination or for any 

commercial applicator reexamination pursuant to subsection C 
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of § 3.2-3930 of the Code of Virginia shall be $100 $25 and 

shall be nonrefundable. Any person applying to add a category 

or subcategory to his a certificate shall pay to the department a 

nonrefundable fee of $35 $25. Federal, state, and local 

government employees certified to use, or supervise the use of, 

pesticides in government programs shall be exempt from any 

certification fees. 

2VAC5-675-40. Registered technician certificate fee. 

Any person applying for a certificate as a registered 

technician shall pay to the department an initial nonrefundable 

certificate fee of $50 $25. All certificates shall expire on June 

30 in the second year after issuance unless suspended or 

revoked for cause. A certificate not suspended or revoked for 

cause will be renewed upon receipt of an application for 

renewal submitted by June 30. If the certificate is not renewed 

within 60 days following the expiration of the certificate, then 

such certificate holder shall be required to take another 

examination. The fee for this reexamination pursuant to 

subsection C of § 3.2-3930 of the Code of Virginia shall be $50 

$25 and shall be nonrefundable. Federal, state, and local 

government employees certified to use pesticides in 

government programs shall be exempt from any certification 

fees. 

2VAC5-675-50. Business license fee. 

Any pesticide business that distributes, stores, sells, 

recommends for use, mixes, or applies pesticides shall pay a 

nonrefundable annual pesticide business licensing fee of $150 

$75 for each location or outlet that it operates. All business 

licenses will expire at midnight on March 31 of each year 

unless suspended or revoked for cause. If a business license is 

not suspended or revoked for cause, it will be renewed upon 

payment of the annual fee. If any person operating as a 

pesticide business fails to apply for renewal of a pesticide 

business license by COB March 31, the applicant, as a 

condition of renewal, shall pay a late license fee of 20% of the 

licensing fee in addition to that fee. Merchants of limited 

quantities of nonrestricted use pesticides, including grocery 

stores, convenience stores, drug stores, veterinarians, and other 

businesses that sell pesticides primarily for limited household 

use, shall be exempt from the business license requirement. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following the 

listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be viewed 

at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 

Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (2VAC5-675) 

Application for New Pesticide Product Registration/Additional 

Registration and Additional Information and Instructions, 

VDACS-07208 (rev. 7/2019) 

Application for Virginia Pesticide Business License to sell, 

distribute, store, apply, or recommend pesticides for use, VDACS-

07209 (rev. 7/2019) 

Application for Reciprocal Pesticide Applicator 

Certificate/Commercial Pesticide Applicator Categories, 

VDACS-07210 (rev. 7/2019) 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification 

Application/Eligibility Requirements for Commercial Applicator 

Certification, VDACS-07211 (rev. 7/2019) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Application/General Training 

Requirements for Registered Technicians, VDACS-07212A (rev. 

7/2019) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Request for Authorization to 

Take Pesticide Applicator Examination, VDACS-07212B (rev. 

7/2019) 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization to 

Take Pesticide Applicator Examination/Commercial Pesticide 

Applicator Categories, VDACS-07218 (rev. 7/2019) 

Application for Reciprocal Pesticide Applicator Certificate and 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Categories, VDACS-07210 (eff. 

1/2025) 

Application for Renewal of Pesticide Business License, 

VDACS-07209-B (eff. 1/2025) 

Application for Virginia Pesticide Business License to Sell, 

Distribute, Store, Apply, or Recommend Pesticides for Use, 

VDACS-07209-A (eff. 1/2025) 

Applicator Change of Information (eff. 1/2025) 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification Application and 

Eligibility Requirements for Commercial Applicator 

Certification, VDACS-07211 (eff. 1/2025) 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization to 

Take Pesticide Applicator Examination and Commercial Pesticide 

Applicator Categories, VDACS-07218 (eff. 1/2025) 

Instructions for Completing the Application for Commercial 

Pesticide Applicator Certification (eff. 1/2025) 

Instructions for Completing the Application for Registered 

Technician Certification (eff. 1/2025) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Application and General 

Training Requirements for Registered Technicians, VDACS-

07212A (eff. 1/2025) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Request for Authorization to 

Take Pesticide Applicator Examination, VDACS-07212B (eff. 

1/2025) 

Request to Take the Virginia Pesticide Business License 

Examination (eff. 1/2025) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7815; Filed October 29, 2024, 3:49 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/d17e4006080~108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/d17e4006080~108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/d17e4006080~108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07210_Reciprocal%20Cert%20App%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025102230.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07210_Reciprocal%20Cert%20App%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025102230.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07210_Reciprocal%20Cert%20App%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025102230.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/Business%20License%20Renewal%20(System%20Generated)%20Updated%20Fee_2025_10-24-2024-20241025103831.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/Business%20License%20Renewal%20(System%20Generated)%20Updated%20Fee_2025_10-24-2024-20241025103831.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07209_BusLicAppl_2025%20(Fee%20Update)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025102158.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07209_BusLicAppl_2025%20(Fee%20Update)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025102158.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07209_BusLicAppl_2025%20(Fee%20Update)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025102158.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/Applicator%20Change%20of%20Information%20Form%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025103740.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07211_Commercial%20A%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025102258.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07211_Commercial%20A%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025102258.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07211_Commercial%20A%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025102258.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07218_Commercial%20B%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241029153113.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07218_Commercial%20B%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241029153113.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07218_Commercial%20B%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241029153113.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/CommInstructions%20(Update%20Fees)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025103931.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/CommInstructions%20(Update%20Fees)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025103931.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/Registered%20Tech%20Instructions%20(New%20Fees)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025104013.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/Registered%20Tech%20Instructions%20(New%20Fees)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025104013.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07212_A_Registered%20Tech%20A%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025103646.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07212_A_Registered%20Tech%20A%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025103646.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07212_A_Registered%20Tech%20A%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025103646.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07212_B_Registered%20Tech%20B%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025103700.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07212_B_Registered%20Tech%20B%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025103700.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/07212_B_Registered%20Tech%20B%20(Updated%20Fee)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025103700.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/Bus%20Exam%20Test%20Appl%20(Fee%20Update)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025103810.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/Bus%20Exam%20Test%20Appl%20(Fee%20Update)%202025_10-24-2024-20241025103810.pdf
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TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE AND 
CANNABIS CONTROL 

BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE VIRGINIA 
CANNABIS CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Directors of the 

Virginia Cannabis Control Authority is claiming an exemption 

from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 4.1-

1602 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts adoption of 

regulations if prior to adoption, the board publishes a notice of 

opportunity to comment in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and posts the action on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall. Such notice of opportunity to comment shall 

contain (i) a summary of the proposed regulation; (ii) the text 

of the proposed regulation; and (iii) the name, address, and 

telephone number of the agency contact person responsible for 

receiving public comments. Such notice shall be made at least 

60 days in advance of the last date prescribed in such notice for 

submittals of public comment. 

Titles of Regulations: 3VAC10-20. Medical Cannabis 

Program Fees (amending 3VAC10-20-10). 

3VAC10-30. Applications, Licenses, Permits, and 

Registrations (amending 3VAC10-30-10, 3VAC10-30-30, 

3VAC10-30-40, 3VAC10-30-50, 3VAC10-30-70, 3VAC10-

30-100 through 3VAC10-30-140, 3VAC10-30-160). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-601, 4.1-604, and 4.1-606 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 17, 2024. 

Follow the link here to enter a comment on the proposed 

regulation. 

Agency Contact: Jake Shuford, Legislative and Regulatory 

Manager, Virginia Cannabis Control Authority, 333 East 

Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 873-

9038, or email jake.shuford@cca.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 812 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly and 

Chapter 732 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly, the proposed 

amendments update the application procedures for 

pharmaceutical processor permits to reflect updated 

business standards and practices, specify when 

pharmaceutical processor operations commence, and add 

requirements for additional cultivation facilities. 

Proposed amendments also update definitions and clarify 

other regulatory requirements.  

3VAC10-20-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in the Cannabis 

Control Act (§ 4.1-600 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 

following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have 

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Board" means the Board of Directors of the Virginia 

Cannabis Control Authority. 

"Cannabis cultivation facility" means a location at which the 

board has authorized a pharmaceutical processor to cultivate 

cannabis plants pursuant to § 4.1-1602 of the Code of Virginia 

and the requirements of 3VAC10-30-160. 

"Certification" means a written statement, consistent with 

requirements of § 4.1-1601 of the Code of Virginia, issued by 

a practitioner for the use of cannabis products for treatment of 

or to alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or 

disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use. 

"Medical cannabis facility" means a pharmaceutical 

processor, cannabis dispensing facility, or cannabis cultivation 

facility. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge whose name is on the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

application for a permit that has been issued and who shall have 

oversight of the processor's dispensing area or cannabis 

dispensing facility. 

"Production" or "produce" means the manufacture, planting, 

preparation, cultivation, growing, harvesting, propagation, 

conversion, or processing of marijuana for the creation of 

usable cannabis, botanical cannabis, or a cannabis product 

derived thereof, (i) directly or indirectly by extraction from 

substances of natural origin, (ii) independently by means of 

chemical synthesis, or (iii) by a combination of extraction and 

chemical synthesis. "Production" or "produce" includes any 

packaging or repackaging of the substance or labeling or 

relabeling of its container. 

"Qualifying patient" means a Virginia resident who has 

received from a practitioner, as defined in § 4.1-1600 of the 

Code of Virginia, a written certification for the use of cannabis 

products for treatment of or to alleviate the symptoms of any 

diagnosed condition or disease. 

"Registration" means an identification card or other document 

issued by the board that identifies a person as a qualifying 

patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent that has 

voluntarily registered with the board. 

"Resident" means a person whose principal place of residence 

is within the Commonwealth as evidenced by a federal or state 

income tax return or a current Virginia driver's license an 

individual who resides within the geographical boundaries of 

the Commonwealth. If a person is a minor, residency may be 

established by evidence of Virginia residency by a parent or 

legal guardian. 

"Responsible party" means the person designated on the 

pharmaceutical processor application who shall have oversight 

https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/comments.cfm?GeneralNoticeid=2973
mailto:jake.shuford@cca.virginia.gov
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of the cultivation and production areas of the pharmaceutical 

processor. 

3VAC10-30-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in the Cannabis 

Control Act (§ 4.1-600 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 

following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have 

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"90-day supply" means the amount of cannabis products 

reasonably necessary to ensure an uninterrupted availability of 

supply for a 90-day period for patients with either included on 

a valid, unexpired written certification issued by a practitioner 

for the use of cannabis products or established by a pharmacist 

during initial consultation. 

"Board" means the Board of Directors of the Cannabis 

Control Authority. 

"Cannabis cultivation facility" means a location at which the 

board has authorized a pharmaceutical processor to cultivate 

cannabis plants pursuant to § 4.1-1602 of the Code of Virginia 

and the requirements of 3VAC10-30-160. 

"Certification" means a written statement, consistent with 

requirements of § 4.1-1601 of the Code of Virginia, issued by 

a practitioner for the use of cannabis products for treatment of 

or to alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or 

disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use. 

"Daycare" means a "child day center" or "family day home" 

as defined in § 22.1-289.02 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Electronic tracking system" means an electronic radio-

frequency identification (RFID) seed-to-sale tracking system 

that tracks the cannabis from either the seed or immature plant 

stage until the cannabis product is sold to a patient, parent, 

legal guardian, or registered agent or until the cannabis, 

including the seeds, parts of plants, and extracts, are destroyed. 

The electronic tracking system shall include, at a minimum, a 

central inventory management system and standard and ad hoc 

reporting functions as required by the board and shall be 

capable of otherwise satisfying required recordkeeping. 

"Material owner" means (i) for a publicly traded entity, voting 

rights that entitle a person to individually elect or appoint one 

or more of the members of the board of directors or other 

governing board or the ownership or beneficial holding of 

5.0% or more of the securities of the publicly traded entity and 

(ii) for a privately held entity, the ownership of any security or 

beneficial interest in the entity. 

"Medical cannabis facility" means a pharmaceutical 

processor, cannabis dispensing facility, or cannabis cultivation 

facility. 

"On duty" means that a pharmacist, the responsible party, or 

a person who is qualified to provide supervision in accordance 

with 3VAC10-30-90 is on the premises at the address of the 

permitted pharmaceutical processor and is available as needed. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge whose name is on the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

application for a permit that has been issued and who shall have 

oversight of the processor's dispensing area or cannabis 

dispensing facility. 

"Production" or "produce" means the manufacture, planting, 

preparation, cultivation, growing, harvesting, propagation, 

conversion, or processing of marijuana for the creation of 

usable cannabis, botanical cannabis, or a cannabis product 

derived thereof, (i) directly or indirectly by extraction from 

substances of natural origin, (ii) independently by means of 

chemical synthesis, or (iii) by a combination of extraction and 

chemical synthesis. "Production" or "produce" includes any 

packaging or repackaging of the substance or labeling or 

relabeling of its container. 

"Qualifying patient" means a Virginia resident who has 

received from a practitioner, as defined in § 4.1-1600 of the 

Code of Virginia, a written certification for the use of cannabis 

products for treatment of or to alleviate the symptoms of any 

diagnosed condition or disease. 

"Registration" means an identification card or other document 

issued by the board that identifies a person as a qualifying 

patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent that has 

voluntarily registered with the board. 

"Resident" means a person whose principal place of residence 

is within the Commonwealth as evidenced by a federal or state 

income tax return or a current Virginia driver's license an 

individual who resides within the geographical boundaries of 

the Commonwealth. If a person is a minor, residency may be 

established by evidence of Virginia residency by a parent or 

legal guardian. 

"Responsible party" means the person designated on the 

pharmaceutical processor application who shall have oversight 

of the cultivation and production areas of the pharmaceutical 

processor. 

"School" means (i) any public school from kindergarten 

through grade 12 operated under the authority of any locality 

within the Commonwealth, (ii) any private or religious school 

that offers instruction at any level or grade from kindergarten 

through grade 12, and (iii) any private or religious nursery 

school or preschool or any private or religious childcare center 

required to be licensed by the Commonwealth. 

"Temporary residency" means a person does not maintain a 

principal place of residence within Virginia but resides in 

Virginia on a temporary basis as evidenced by documentation 

substantiating such temporary residence. 
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3VAC10-30-30. Requirements for practitioner issuing a 

certification. 

A. Prior to issuing a certification for cannabis products for 

any diagnosed condition or disease, the practitioner shall meet 

the requirements of § 4.1-1601 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. A practitioner issuing a certification shall: 

1. Conduct an assessment and evaluation of the patient in 

order to develop a treatment plan for diagnose the patient, 

which or confirm another medical provider's diagnosis. This 

shall include an examination of the patient and the patient's 

medical history, prescription history, and current medical 

condition; 

2. Diagnose Develop a treatment plan for the patient; 

3. Be of the opinion that the potential benefits of cannabis 

products would likely outweigh the health risks of such use 

to the qualifying patient; 

4. Authorize on the written certification the use of botanical 

cannabis for a minor patient if the practitioner determines 

such use is consistent with the standard of care to dispense 

botanical cannabis to a minor. If not specifically included on 

the initial written certification, authorization for botanical 

cannabis may be communicated verbally or in writing to the 

pharmacist at the time of dispensing; 

5. Explain proper administration and the potential risks and 

benefits of the cannabis product to the qualifying patient, 

and if the qualifying patient lacks legal capacity, to a parent 

or legal guardian prior to issuing the written certification; 

6. Be available or ensure that another practitioner, as defined 

in § 4.1-1600 of the Code of Virginia, is available to provide 

follow-up care and treatment to the qualifying patient, 

including physical examinations, to determine the efficacy 

of cannabis products for treating the diagnosed condition or 

disease; 

7. Comply with generally accepted standards of medical 

practice, except to the extent such standards would counsel 

against certifying a qualifying patient for cannabis products; 

8. Maintain medical records in accordance with 18VAC85-

20-26 for all patients for whom the practitioner has issued a 

certification; and 

9. Access or direct the practitioner's delegate to access the 

Virginia Prescription Monitoring Program of the 

Department of Health Professions for the purpose of 

determining which, if any, covered substances have been 

dispensed to the patient. 

C. The practitioner shall use the practitioner's professional 

judgment to determine the manner and frequency of patient 

care and evaluation, which may include the use of 

telemedicine, provided that the use of telemedicine: 

1. Includes the delivery of patient care through real-time 

interactive audio-visual technology; 

2. Conforms to the standard of care expected for in-person 

care; and 

3. Transmits information in a manner that protects patient 

confidentiality. 

D. A practitioner shall not delegate the responsibility of 

diagnosing a patient or determining whether a patient should 

be issued a certification. Employees under the direct 

supervision of the practitioner may assist with preparing a 

certification, so long as the final certification is approved and 

signed by the practitioner before it is issued to the patient. 

E. The practitioner shall provide instructions for the use of 

cannabis products to the patient, parent, or guardian, as 

applicable, and shall also securely transmit such instructions to 

the permitted pharmaceutical processor. 

F. Upon request, a practitioner shall make a copy of medical 

records available to an agent of the Board of Medicine or Board 

of Pharmacy for the purpose of enabling the board to ensure 

compliance with the law and regulations or to investigate a 

possible violation. 

G. If the authority determines that a practitioner has violated, 

attempted to violate, solicited any person to violate, or 

consented to any violation of this chapter, the authority may 

restrict that practitioner's ability to issue written certifications 

for patients in the future or report information to the applicable 

licensing board. 

3VAC10-30-40. Prohibited practices for practitioners. 

A. A practitioner who issues certifications shall not: 

1. Directly or indirectly accept, solicit, or receive anything 

of value from any person associated with a pharmaceutical 

processor or provider of paraphernalia, excluding 

information on products or educational materials on the 

benefits and risks of cannabis products; 

2. Offer a discount or any other thing of value to a qualifying 

patient, parent, guardian, or registered agent based on the 

patient's agreement or decision to use a particular 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis product; 

3. Examine a qualifying patient for purposes of diagnosing 

the condition or disease at a location where medical cannabis 

products are dispensed or produced; or 

4. Directly or indirectly benefit from a patient obtaining a 

certification. Such prohibition shall not prohibit a 

practitioner from charging an appropriate fee for the patient 

visit. 

B. A practitioner who issues certifications and such 

practitioner's coworker, employee, spouse, parent, or child 

shall not have a direct or indirect financial interest in a 

pharmaceutical processor, a cannabis dispensing facility, or 
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any other entity that may benefit from a qualifying patient's 

acquisition, purchase, or use of cannabis products, including 

any formal or informal agreement whereby a pharmaceutical 

processor or other person provides compensation if the 

practitioner issues a certification for a qualifying patient or 

steers a qualifying patient to a specific pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis product. 

C. A practitioner shall not issue a certification for himself or 

for family members, employees, or coworkers. 

D. A practitioner shall not provide product samples 

containing cannabis other than those approved by the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration. 

3VAC10-30-50. Registration of a patient, parent, legal 

guardian, or registered agent. 

A. A qualifying patient, or a parent or legal guardian of a 

minor or vulnerable adult, for whom a practitioner has issued 

a certification may voluntarily request registration in 

accordance with this section. For issuance of a registration, the 

following items shall be submitted: 

1. A copy of the certification issued by a practitioner; 

2. Proof of residency of the qualifying patient and proof of 

residency of a parent or legal guardian, if applicable, such as 

a government-issued identification card or tax receipt or 

proof of temporary residency, if applicable, such as a current 

academic identification card from a Virginia institution of 

higher learning, rental agreement, utility bill, or attestation 

on a form in a manner prescribed by the board that contains 

information sufficient to document temporary residency in 

Virginia; 

3. Proof of identity of the qualifying patient, and if the 

patient is a minor, proof of identity of the parent or legal 

guardian in the form of a government-issued identification 

card; 

4. Proof of the qualifying patient's age in the form of a birth 

certificate or other government-issued identification; 

5. Payment of the appropriate fees; and 

6. Such other information as the board may require to 

determine the applicant's suitability for registration or to 

protect public health and safety. 

B. A patient or the patient's parent or legal guardian may 

choose a registered agent to receive cannabis products on 

behalf of the patient. An individual may serve as a registered 

agent for no more than two patients. For a voluntary 

registration application to be approved, the following shall be 

submitted: 

1. The name, address, and birth date of each patient for 

whom the individual intends to act as a registered agent; 

2. A copy of the written certification issued to the patient for 

the use of cannabis products for treatment of or to alleviate 

the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease; 

3. Proof of identity in the form of a copy of a government-

issued identification card; 

4. Payment of the applicable fee; and 

5. Such other information as the board may require to 

determine the applicant's suitability for registration or to 

protect public health and safety. 

C. A qualifying patient shall not be issued a written 

certification by more than one practitioner during a given time 

period. 

3VAC10-30-70. Reporting requirements for practitioners, 

patients, parents, legal guardians, or registered agents. 

A. A practitioner shall report to the board, in a manner 

prescribed by the board, the death of a patient or a change in 

status of a patient for whom the practitioner has issued a 

certification if such change affects the patient's continued 

eligibility to use cannabis products or the practitioner's 

inability to continue treating the patient. A practitioner shall 

report such death, change of status, or inability to continue 

treatment not more than 15 days after the practitioner becomes 

aware of such fact. 

B. A patient, parent, or legal guardian who has been issued a 

registration shall notify the board of any change in the 

information provided to the board not later than 15 days after 

such change. The patient, parent, or legal guardian shall report 

changes that include a change in name, address, contact 

information, medical status of the patient, or change of the 

certifying practitioner. The patient, parent, or legal guardian 

shall report such changes on a form in a manner prescribed by 

the board. 

C. A registered agent who has been issued a registration shall 

notify the board of any change in the information provided to 

the board not later than 15 days after such change, to include 

including a change in the identifying information of the patient 

for whom the registered agent is serving as a registered agent. 

D. If a patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent 

notifies the board of any change that results in information on 

the registration of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent being inaccurate, the board shall issue a 

replacement registration. Upon receipt of a new registration, 

the qualifying patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent shall destroy in a nonrecoverable manner the registration 

that was replaced. 

E. If a patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent 

becomes aware of the loss, theft, or destruction of the 

registration of such patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent, the registrant shall notify the board not later than five 

business days after becoming aware of the loss, theft, or 
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destruction and submit the fee for a replacement registration. 

The board shall issue a replacement registration upon receiving 

the applicable fee, provided the applicant continues to satisfy 

the requirements of law and regulation. 

3VAC10-30-100. Publication of notice for submission of 

open applications. 

A. The board When there is an available pharmaceutical 

processor permit, the authority shall publish a notice of open 

applications for pharmaceutical processor permits. 

1. Such notice shall include information on how to obtain 

and complete an application, the required fees, the criteria 

for issuance of a permit, and the deadline for receipt of 

applications. 

2. The criteria set forth in the notice of open applications 

shall include the following: 

a. Any history of disciplinary action imposed by a state or 

federal regulatory agency; 

b. The applicant's ability to maintain adequate control 

against the diversion, theft, and loss of the cannabis, 

including the seeds, any parts, or extracts of the cannabis 

plants or the cannabis products; 

c. The applicant's ability to maintain the knowledge, 

understanding, judgment, procedures, security controls, 

and ethics to ensure optimal safety and accuracy in the 

dispensing and sale of cannabis products; and  

d. The extent to which the applicant or any of the 

applicant's pharmaceutical processor material owners 

have a financial interest in another license, permit, 

registrant, or applicant.  

B. The board shall have the right to amend the notice of open 

applications prior to the deadline for submitting to submit an 

application. Such amended notice shall be published in the 

same manner as the original notice of open applications. 

C. The board shall have the right to cancel a notice of open 

applications prior to the award of a pharmaceutical processor 

permit. 

3VAC10-30-110. Application process for pharmaceutical 

processor permits Initial application and award of 

conditional approval. 

A. The application process for permits shall occur in the 

following three stages: submission of initial application, award 

of conditional approval, and grant of a pharmaceutical 

processor permit. 

B. A. Submission of initial application. 

1. A pharmaceutical processor permit applicant shall submit 

the required application fee and all requested application 

materials with the following information and 

documentation, including: 

a. The name and address of the applicant and the 

applicant's owners; 

b. The location within the health service area established 

by the State Board of Health that is to be operated under 

such where the applicant intends to operate the 

pharmaceutical processor permit; and 

c. Detailed information regarding the applicant's financial 

position indicating all assets, liabilities, income, and net 

worth to demonstrate the financial capacity of the 

applicant to build and operate a facility to cultivate 

cannabis plants intended only for the production and 

dispensing of cannabis products pursuant to §§ 4.1-1602 

and 4.1-1603 of the Code of Virginia, which may include 

evidence of an escrow account, letter of credit, or 

performance surety bond;. 

d. Details regarding the applicant's plans for security to 

maintain adequate control against the diversion, theft, or 

loss of the cannabis plants and the cannabis products; 

e. Documents sufficient to establish that the applicant is 

authorized to conduct business in Virginia and that all 

applicable state and local building, fire, and zoning 

requirements and local ordinances are met or will be met 

prior to issuance of a permit; 

f. Information necessary for the board to conduct a 

criminal background check on the applicant; 

g. Information about any previous or current involvement 

in the medical cannabis industry; 

h. Whether the applicant has ever applied for a permit or 

registration related to medical cannabis in any state, and if 

so, the status of that application, permit, or registration, to 

include any disciplinary action taken by any state on the 

permit, the registration, or an associated license; 

i. Any business and marketing plans related to the 

operation of the pharmaceutical processor or the sale of 

cannabis products; 

j. Text and graphic materials showing the exterior 

appearance of the proposed pharmaceutical processor; 

k. A blueprint of the proposed pharmaceutical processor 

that shall show and identify (i) the square footage of each 

area of the facility; (ii) the location of all safes or vaults 

used to store the cannabis plants and products; (iii) the 

location of all areas that may contain cannabis plants or 

cannabis products; (iv) the placement of walls, partitions, 

and counters; and (v) all areas of ingress and egress; 

l. Documents related to any compassionate need program 

the pharmaceutical processor intends to offer; 

m. Information about the applicant's expertise in 

agriculture and other production techniques required to 

produce cannabis products and to safely dispense such 

products; and 
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n. Such other documents and information required by the 

board to determine the applicant's suitability for 

permitting or to protect public health and safety. 

2. An applicant may only submit one application for a 

pharmaceutical processor permit in response to any notice of 

open applications issued by the authority unless the 

applicant meets the following criteria: 

a. Each application identifies a separate and distinct 

physical address where the applicant intends to operate a 

pharmaceutical processor permit; and 

b. Each application contains documentation of separate 

and distinct capital to support the operations of the 

proposed pharmaceutical processor.  

3. In the event any information contained in the application 

or accompanying documents changes after being submitted 

to the board, the applicant shall immediately notify the board 

authority in writing and provide corrected information in a 

timely manner so as not to disrupt the permit selection 

process. 

3. The board shall conduct criminal background checks on 

applicants and may verify information contained in each 

application and accompanying documentation in order to 

assess the applicant's ability to operate a pharmaceutical 

processor. 

B. Identification of qualified applicants. 

1. Following the deadline for receipt of applications, the 

authority shall identify qualified applicants by evaluating 

each complete and timely submitted application based on 

compliance with requirements set forth in notice of open 

applications. 

a. When circumstances warrant, the authority may verify 

information contained in an application and 

accompanying documentation in order to assess the 

applicant's ability to operate a pharmaceutical processor. 

b. The authority shall disqualify any applicant who: 

(1) Fails to submit an application by the published 

deadline;  

(2) Fails to pay all applicable fees;  

(3) Fails to timely notify the board of any changes or 

corrected information; or 

(4) Fails to cooperate with any authority inquiries or 

investigations related to an application or accompanying 

documentation. 

C. Award of conditional approval. 

1. Following review, the board shall notify applicants of 

denial or conditional approval. The decision of the board not 

to grant conditional approval to an applicant shall be final. 

2. In the event the authority determines there is more than 

one qualified applicant, the authority may hold a lottery or 

similar process to select the applicant to award conditional 

approval for a pharmaceutical processor. 

3. In the event the board determines that there are no 

qualified applicants to award conditional approval for a 

pharmaceutical processor permit in a health service area, the 

board may republish, in accordance with 3VAC10-30-100, 

a notice of open applications for pharmaceutical processor 

permits. 

D. No person who has been convicted of a felony under the 

Code of Virginia or another jurisdiction within the last five 

years shall have a 5.0% or greater ownership, be employed by, 

or act as an agent of a pharmaceutical processor. 

3VAC10-30-120. Conditional approval. 

A. Following the deadline for receipt of applications, the 

board shall evaluate each complete and timely submitted 

application and may grant award of conditional approval on a 

competitive basis based on compliance with requirements set 

forth in 3VAC10-30-110, the selected applicant shall submit 

information necessary for the board to conduct a criminal 

background check on the selected applicant's material owners. 

No person who has been convicted of a felony under the Code 

of Virginia or another jurisdiction within the last five years 

shall be a material owner of, be employed by, or act as an agent 

of a pharmaceutical processor. 

B. The board shall consider, but is not limited to, the 

following criteria in evaluating pharmaceutical processor 

permit applications: 

1. The results of the criminal background checks required in 

3VAC10-30-110 B 3 or any history of disciplinary action 

imposed by a state or federal regulatory agency; 

2. The location for the proposed pharmaceutical processor, 

which shall not be within 1,000 feet of a school or daycare; 

3. The applicant's ability to maintain adequate control 

against the diversion, theft, and loss of the cannabis, to 

include the seeds, any parts, or extracts of the cannabis 

plants or the cannabis products; 

4. The applicant's ability to maintain the knowledge, 

understanding, judgment, procedures, security controls, and 

ethics to ensure optimal safety and accuracy in the 

dispensing and sale of cannabis products; 

5. The extent to which the applicant or any of the applicant's 

pharmaceutical processor owners have a financial interest in 

another license, permit, registrant, or applicant; and 

6. Any other reason provided by state or federal statute or 

regulation that is not inconsistent with the law and 

regulations regarding pharmaceutical processors. 

B. Upon request of the authority, the selected applicant shall 

provide additional information or documents.  
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C. The board may disqualify any revoke conditional approval 

if the authority determines the selected applicant who: 

1. Submits an incomplete, false, inaccurate, or misleading 

application information or documentation; 

2. Fails to submit an application by the published deadline 

cooperate in any investigation conducted by the authority; 

3. Fails to pay all applicable fees; or secure property to 

operate the proposed pharmaceutical processor at a location 

that is more than 1,000 feet from a school or daycare; 

4. Is in violation of § 4.1-1602 K of the Code of Virginia 

based on the results of criminal background checks of the 

selected applicant's material owners; or 

5. Fails to comply with all requirements for a pharmaceutical 

processor. 

D. Following review, the board shall notify applicants of 

denial or conditional approval. The decision of the board not 

to grant conditional approval to an applicant shall be final. 

E. D. If granted conditional approval, an applicant shall have 

one year from date of notification to complete all requirements 

for issuance of a permit, to include including employment of a 

PIC, responsible party, and other personnel necessary for 

operation of a pharmaceutical processor, construction or 

remodeling of a facility, installation of equipment, and 

securing local zoning approval. 

E. In the event conditional approval is rescinded pursuant to 

this section, the board may award conditional approval for a 

pharmaceutical processor permit by selecting from among the 

qualified applicants who applied for the pharmaceutical 

processor permit or publishing a new notice of open 

applications. 

3VAC10-30-130. Granting of a pharmaceutical processor 

permit. 

A. The board may issue a pharmaceutical processor permit 

when all requirements of the board have been met, to include 

including: 

1. Designation of a PIC and responsible party; 

2. Evidence of criminal background checks for all 

employees and delivery agents of the pharmaceutical 

processor to ensure compliance with § 4.1-1602 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

3. Evidence of utilization of an electronic tracking system; 

and 

4. A satisfactory inspection of the facility conducted by 

agents of the board. 

B. The board shall not award a permit until the 

pharmaceutical processor has corrected any deficiency 

identified by inspectors, and if warranted, the facility has been 

satisfactorily reinspected. 

C. Before the board issues any permit, the applicant shall 

attest to compliance with all state and local laws and 

ordinances. 

D. A pharmaceutical processor permit shall not be issued to 

any person to operate from a private dwelling or residence. 

D. E. If an applicant has been awarded a pharmaceutical 

processor permit and has not commenced operation of such 

facility within 180 days of being notified of the issuance of a 

pharmaceutical processor permit, the board may rescind such 

permit, unless such delay was caused by circumstances beyond 

the control of the permit holder. 

E. F. A pharmaceutical processor shall be deemed to have 

commenced operation if cannabis plants are under cultivation 

by the processor in accordance with the approved application 

or the processor has received cannabis products from another 

pharmaceutical processor holding a permit issued by the board. 

G. Once the pharmaceutical processor has commenced 

operation, it shall inform the authority of its normal hours of 

operation. 

F. H. In the event a permit is rescinded pursuant to this 

section, the board may award conditional approval for a 

pharmaceutical processor permit by selecting from among the 

qualified applicants who applied for the pharmaceutical 

processor permit subject to rescission. If no other qualified 

applicant who applied for such pharmaceutical processor 

permit satisfied the criteria for awarding a permit, the board 

shall publish in accordance with this section a notice of open 

applications for a pharmaceutical processor permit in 

accordance with 3VAC10-30-100. 

G. I. Once the board issues a permit is issued, a processor may 

begin cultivation of cultivating cannabis, and the receiving 

cannabis through wholesale distribution. The responsible party 

or a person who is qualified to provide supervision in 

accordance with 3VAC10-30-90 shall be present during hours 

of operation to ensure the safety, security, and integrity of the 

cannabis. Once cannabis has been placed in the dispensing area 

of the pharmaceutical processor, a pharmacist shall be present 

during hours of operation to ensure the safety, security, and 

integrity of the cannabis. The responsible party shall ensure 

security measures are adequate to protect the cannabis in the 

cultivation and production area from diversion at all times, and 

the PIC shall have concurrent responsibility for preventing 

diversion from the dispensing area. If there is a change in the 

designated opening date, the pharmaceutical processor shall 

notify the board office, and a pharmacist or the responsible 

party shall continue to be on site on a daily basis.  

3VAC10-30-140. Application for and granting of a permit 

for a cannabis dispensing facility. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-1602 of the Code of Virginia, the board 

may issue up to five cannabis dispensing facility permits for 

each health service area. A permit may be issued to a facility 
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that is owned, at least in part, by the pharmaceutical processor 

located in that health service area for the dispensing of 

cannabis products that have been cultivated and produced on 

the premises of a pharmaceutical processor. Each cannabis 

dispensing facility shall be located within the same health 

service area as the pharmaceutical processor. 

B. A separate application and fee for each cannabis 

dispensing facility permit shall be submitted to the board, 

along with the following information and documentation: 

1. The name and address of the facility, which shall not be 

within 1,000 feet of a school or daycare; 

2. The name and address of the facility's material owners 

with 5.0% or greater ownership; 

3. Name and signature of pharmacist-in-charge practicing at 

the facility; 

4. Details regarding the applicant's plans for security to 

maintain adequate control against the diversion, theft, or loss 

of cannabis products; and 

5. Information necessary for the board to conduct a criminal 

background check on the facility material owners with 5.0% 

or greater ownership. 

C. Prior to issuing the permit, an agent of the board shall 

perform an inspection of the facility. The permit shall not be 

awarded until any deficiency identified by inspectors has been 

corrected and the facility has been satisfactorily reinspected if 

warranted. 

D. A cannabis dispensing facility shall comply with all state 

and local laws and ordinances. 

E. A cannabis dispensing facility permit shall not be issued to 

any person to operate from a private dwelling or residence. 

F. No person who has been convicted of a felony under the 

laws of the Commonwealth or another jurisdiction within the 

last five years shall be employed by or act as an agent of a 

cannabis dispensing facility. 

G. If the cannabis dispensing facility is not operational within 

90 days from the date the permit is issued, the board shall 

rescind the permit unless an extension is granted for good 

cause shown. 

H. A cannabis dispensing facility shall be deemed to have 

commenced operation if it is in receipt of cannabis products 

from a pharmaceutical processor. 

I. Once the facility is in possession of cannabis products, a 

pharmacist shall be on site at all times during the declared 

hours of operation. 

3VAC10-30-160. Application for and granting of 

authorization for a cannabis cultivation facility. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-1602 of the Code of Virginia, the board 

may authorize a pharmaceutical processor to establish one 

cannabis cultivation facility. The cannabis cultivation facility 

shall be located within the same health service area as the 

pharmaceutical processor. 

B. A separate application and fee for a cannabis cultivation 

facility shall be submitted to the board, along with the 

following information and documentation: 

1. The name and address of the facility, which shall not be 

within 1,000 feet of a school or daycare; 

2. The name and address of the facility's owners with 5.0% 

or greater ownership; 

3. 2. Details regarding the applicant's plans for security to 

maintain adequate control against the diversion, theft, or loss 

of cannabis; and 

4. Information necessary for the board to conduct a criminal 

background check on the facilities' owners with 5.0% or 

greater ownership. 

3. The distance of the proposed additional cannabis 

cultivation location from the pharmaceutical processor;  

4. Details regarding access to a secure transportation 

network between the proposed additional cannabis 

cultivation location and the pharmaceutical processor;  

5. The economic viability of the additional cannabis 

cultivation at the proposed location; and 

6. Any demonstrated demand for additional cannabis 

cultivation. 

C. Prior to authorizing a cannabis cultivation facility, an agent 

of the board shall perform an inspection of the facility. If 

inspectors identify any deficiency, the board shall not authorize 

a cannabis cultivation facility until the pharmaceutical 

processor has corrected any deficiency identified and the 

facility has been satisfactorily reinspected, if warranted. 

D. A cannabis cultivation facility shall comply with all state 

and local laws and ordinances. 

E. A cannabis cultivation facility authorization shall not be 

issued to any person to operate from a private dwelling or 

residence. 

F. No person who has been convicted of a felony under the 

laws of the Commonwealth or another jurisdiction within the 

last five years shall be employed by or act as an agent of a 

cannabis cultivation facility. 

G. If the cannabis cultivation facility is not operational within 

180 days from the date the authorization is issued, the board 

shall rescind the authorization unless an extension is granted 

for good cause shown. 

H. A cannabis cultivation facility shall be deemed to have 

commenced operation if cannabis plants are under cultivation 

by the processor in accordance with the approved application. 
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I. Once the board has authorized a cannabis cultivation 

facility, a pharmaceutical processor may begin cultivation of 

cannabis, and the responsible party or a person who is qualified 

to provide supervision in accordance with this section shall be 

present during hours of operation to ensure the safety, security, 

and integrity of the cannabis. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8122; Filed October 24, 2024, 4:38 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Directors of the 

Virginia Cannabis Control Authority is claiming an exemption 

from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 4.1-

1602 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts adoption of 

regulations if prior to adoption, the board publishes a notice of 

opportunity to comment in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and posts the action on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall. Such notice of opportunity to comment shall 

contain (i) a summary of the proposed regulation; (ii) the text 

of the proposed regulation; and (iii) the name, address, and 

telephone number of the agency contact person responsible for 

receiving public comments. Such notice shall be made at least 

60 days in advance of the last date prescribed in such notice for 

submittals of public comment. 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC10-40. Regulated Operations 

(amending 3VAC10-40-10 through 3VAC10-40-60, 

3VAC10-40-100, 3VAC10-40-120 through 3VAC10-40-

170, 3VAC10-40-190, 3VAC10-40-210; adding 3VAC10-

40-230 through 3VAC10-40-280). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-601, 4.1-604, and 4.1-606 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 16, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jake Shuford, Legislative and Regulatory 

Manager, Virginia Cannabis Control Authority, 333 East 

Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 873-

9038, or email jake.shuford@cca.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add definitions; (ii) prohibit permittees 

from endorsing practitioners; (iii) codify the current 

practice of permittees using electronic tracking; and (iv) 

establish public health and safety standards for the 

transportation and delivery of medical cannabis, including 

vehicle inspections, global positioning system (GPS) 

tracking, and incident and accident protocols. 

3VAC10-40-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in the Cannabis 

Control Act (§ 4.1-600 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 

following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have 

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Batch" means a quantity of (i) cannabis oil from a production 

lot or (ii) harvested botanical cannabis product that is identified 

by a batch number or other unique identifier. 

"Board" means the Board of Directors of the Cannabis 

Control Authority. 

"Cannabis cultivation facility" means a location at which the 

board has authorized a pharmaceutical processor to cultivate 

cannabis plants pursuant to § 4.1-1602 of the Code of Virginia 

and the requirements of 3VAC10-30-160. 

"Cannabis product advertising" means the act of providing 

consideration for the publication, dissemination, solicitation, 

or circulation of visual, oral, or written communication through 

any means to directly induce any person to patronize a 

particular pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility or to purchase particular approved cannabis products. 

Advertising includes marketing. 

"Certification" means a written statement, consistent with 

requirements of § 4.1-1601 of the Code of Virginia, issued by 

a practitioner for the use of cannabis products for treatment of 

or to alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or 

disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use. 

"Cartoon" means any drawing, sketch, computer-generated 

illustration, or other depiction of an object, person, animal, 

creature, or any similar caricature that meets any of the 

following criteria: 

1. The use of comically exaggerated features; 

2. The attribution of human characteristics to animals, plants, 

or other objects; 

3. The attribution of animal, plant, or other object 

characteristics to humans; or 

4. The attribution of unnatural or extra-human abilities. 

"Companion" means a person who provides fellowship and 

protection for an elderly person or person with an illness, 

injury, or disability who requires assistance with self-care. 

"Endorse" means declaring public approval, support, or 

recommendation of a practitioner, including sharing 

information online and hosting or facilitating events that would 

promote a particular practitioner's services above others. 

Patient education events are permissible provided the event (i) 

is clearly focused on patient education and (ii) offers 

information about multiple practitioners without favor or 

emphasis on a particular practitioner. 

"Immediate container" means a container that is in direct 

contact with cannabis or a cannabis product or, if a wrapper is 

in direct contact with the cannabis or the cannabis product, 

with the wrapper. 

"Medical cannabis facility" means a pharmaceutical 

processor, cannabis dispensing facility, or cannabis cultivation 

facility. 

mailto:@jake.shuford@cca.virginia.gov
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"On duty" means that a pharmacist, the responsible party, or 

a person who is qualified to provide supervision in accordance 

with 3VAC10-30-90 is on the premises at the address of the 

permitted pharmaceutical processor and is available as needed. 

"Package" or "packaging" means any inner or outer container 

or covering. 

"Perpetual inventory" means an ongoing system for recording 

quantities of cannabis products received, dispensed, or 

otherwise distributed by a cannabis dispensing facility. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge whose name is on the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

application for a permit that has been issued and who shall have 

oversight of the processor's dispensing area or cannabis 

dispensing facility. 

"Production" or "produce" means the manufacture, planting, 

preparation, cultivation, growing, harvesting, propagation, 

conversion, or processing of marijuana for the creation of 

usable cannabis, botanical cannabis, or a cannabis product 

derived thereof, (i) directly or indirectly by extraction from 

substances of natural origin, (ii) independently by means of 

chemical synthesis, or (iii) by a combination of extraction and 

chemical synthesis. "Production" or "produce" includes any 

packaging or repackaging of the substance or labeling or 

relabeling of its container. 

"Qualifying patient" means a Virginia resident who has 

received from a practitioner, as defined in § 4.1-1600 of the 

Code of Virginia, a written certification for the use of cannabis 

products for treatment of or to alleviate the symptoms of any 

diagnosed condition or disease. 

"Registered cannabis product" means cannabis flower, 

concentrated cannabis, cannabis extracts, and products that are 

infused with cannabis or an extract thereof intended for use or 

consumption by humans and approved by the board. 

"Registration" means an identification card or other document 

issued by the board that identifies a person as a qualifying 

patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent that has 

voluntarily registered with the board. 

"Responsible party" means the person designated on the 

pharmaceutical processor application who shall have oversight 

of the cultivation and production areas of the pharmaceutical 

processor. 

3VAC10-40-20. General provisions. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall only sell cannabis products in a child-resistant, secure, 

and light-resistant container. Upon a written request from the 

patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent, the product 

may be dispensed in a non-child-resistant container so long as 

all labeling is maintained with the product. 

B. Only a pharmacist may dispense cannabis products to 

patients or parents or legal guardians of patients who are 

minors or vulnerable adults, or to a registered agent. A 

pharmacy technician who meets the requirements of 3VAC10-

30-90 C D may assist, under the direct supervision of a 

pharmacist, in the dispensing and selling of cannabis products. 

C. The PIC, pharmacist, responsible party, or person who is 

qualified to provide supervision in accordance with 3VAC10-

30-90 on duty shall restrict access to the pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility to: 

1. A person whose responsibilities necessitate access to the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility and 

then for only as long as necessary to perform the person's job 

duties; or 

2. A person who is a patient, parent, legal guardian, 

registered agent, or a companion of the patient, in which case 

such person shall not be permitted behind the service counter 

or in other areas where cannabis plants, extracts, or cannabis 

products are stored. 

D. A pharmacist, pharmacy technician, or an employee of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility who 

has routine access to confidential patient data and who has 

signed a patient data confidentiality agreement with the 

processor or dispensing facility may determine eligibility for 

access to the processor or facility by verifying through a 

verification source recognized by the board that the registration 

of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent is 

current. 

E. All pharmacists and pharmacy technicians shall, at all 

times while at the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility, have their current license or registration 

available for inspection by the board or the board's agent. 

F. While inside the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility, all employees shall wear name tags or 

similar forms of identification that clearly identify them, 

including their position at the pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility. 

G. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall be open for patients, parents, legal guardians, or 

registered agents to purchase cannabis products for a minimum 

of 35 hours a week, except as otherwise authorized by the 

board. 

H. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

that closes the dispensing area during its normal hours of 

operation shall implement procedures to notify patients, 

parents, legal guardians, and registered agents of when the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility will 

resume normal hours of operation. Such procedures may 

include telephone system messages and conspicuously posted 

signs. If the cultivation, production, or dispensing area of the 

pharmaceutical processor or if a cannabis dispensing facility is 

or will be closed during its normal hours of operation for longer 

than two business days, the pharmaceutical processor or 
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cannabis dispensing facility shall immediately notify the 

board. 

I. A pharmacist shall counsel patients, parents, legal 

guardians, and registered agents, if applicable, regarding the 

use of cannabis products. Such counseling shall include 

information related to safe techniques for proper use and 

storage of cannabis products and for disposal of the products 

in a manner that renders them nonrecoverable. 

J. I. The medical cannabis facility shall establish, implement, 

and adhere to a written alcohol-free, drug-free, and smoke-free 

workplace policy that shall be available to the board or the 

board's agent upon request. 

3VAC10-40-30. Facility prohibitions. 

A. No pharmaceutical processor shall: 

1. Cultivate cannabis plants or produce or dispense cannabis 

products in any place except the approved facility at the 

address of record on the application for the pharmaceutical 

processor permit; 

2. Sell, deliver, transport, or distribute cannabis, including 

cannabis products, to any other facility except for wholesale 

distribution pursuant to 3VAC10-40-50; 

3. Produce or manufacture cannabis products for use outside 

of Virginia; or 

4. Provide cannabis products samples; 

5. Endorse or promote a practitioner; or 

6. Provide anything of value, directly or indirectly, to a 

practitioner. 

B. No cannabis dispensing facility shall: 

1. Dispense cannabis products in any place except the 

approved facility at the address of record on the application 

for the cannabis dispensing facility permit; 

2. Sell, deliver, transport, or distribute cannabis products to 

any other facility, except for wholesale distribution pursuant 

to 3VAC10-40-50; or 

3. Provide cannabis product samples. 

C. No cannabis cultivation facility shall: 

1. Sell, deliver, transport, or distribute cannabis to any other 

facility, except for the pharmaceutical processor that 

established the cannabis cultivation facility; 

2. Produce, manufacture, or dispense cannabis products; or 

3. Provide cannabis samples. 

D. When a pharmacist is not on the premises and directly 

supervising the activity within the dispensing area of the 

pharmaceutical processor or a cannabis dispensing facility: 

1. The dispensing area shall not be open or in operation; 

2. No person shall be in the dispensing area unless all 

cannabis products are contained in a vault or other similar 

container to which only the pharmacist has access controls; 

and 

3. The dispensing area shall be closed and properly secured. 

E. Employee access to secured areas designated for 

cultivation and production, as authorized by the responsible 

party pursuant to § 4.1-1602 of the Code of Virginia, is 

permissible when a pharmacist is not on the premises. 

F. No pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall sell anything other than cannabis products except 

for devices for administration of dispensed products or hemp-

based CBD products. 

G. Except as provided in subsections H and I of this section, 

no person other than a medical cannabis facility employee, a 

patient, parent, legal guardian, registered agent, or a 

companion of a patient shall be allowed on the premises of a 

processor or facility. 

H. Laboratory staff may enter a pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis cultivation facility for the sole purpose of identifying 

and collecting cannabis or cannabis products samples to 

conduct laboratory tests. 

I. A medical cannabis facility may submit a written request 

for entry by other persons to the board or the board's authorized 

representative. 

J. An employee of a business that is contracted by a 

pharmaceutical processor may be allowed on the premises of 

the processor to perform the employee's duties (e.g. security, 

cleaning, electrical, plumbing) without requesting board 

authorization. The pharmaceutical processor should apply the 

requirements for visitor access found in subsection K of this 

section to the contracted employee. 

K. All persons who the board or the board’s representative 

has authorized in writing to enter the medical cannabis facility 

shall obtain a visitor identification badge from a medical 

cannabis facility employee prior to entering the processor or 

facility. 

1. An employee shall escort and monitor an authorized 

visitor at all times the visitor is in the medical cannabis 

facility. 

2. The visitor identification badge shall remain visible at all 

times the visitor is in the medical cannabis facility, and the 

visitor shall return the visitor identification badge to an 

employee upon exiting the medical cannabis facility. 

3. All visitors shall log in and out. The medical cannabis 

facility shall maintain the visitor log that shall include the 

date, time, and purpose of the visit and be available to the 

board. 
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4. If an emergency requires the presence of a visitor and 

makes it impractical for the medical cannabis facility to 

obtain prior authorization from the board, the medical 

cannabis facility shall provide written notice to the board as 

soon as practicable after the onset of the emergency. Such 

notice shall include the name and company affiliation of the 

visitor, the purpose of the visit, and the date and time of the 

visit. A medical cannabis facility shall monitor the visitor 

and maintain a log of such visit as required by this 

subsection. 

L. No cannabis products shall be sold, dispensed, or 

distributed via a delivery service or any other manner outside 

of a pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility; 

however, a parent, legal guardian, or registered agent or an 

agent of the processor or cannabis dispensing facility may 

deliver cannabis products to the patient or in accordance with 

3VAC10-50-80 A. 

M. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection G of this 

section, an agent of the board or local law enforcement or other 

federal, state, or local government officials may enter any area 

of a medical cannabis facility if necessary to perform such 

individual's governmental duties. 

3VAC10-40-40. Reserved Electronic tracking. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor must implement and 

maintain an electronic tracking system as prescribed by the 

authority.  

B. A pharmaceutical processor shall identify, monitor, and 

track all cannabis through a unique identifier assigned at seed 

acquisition or plant propagation.  

C. A pharmaceutical processor shall maintain a record of all 

cannabis through cultivation and processing until transferred, 

distributed to qualifying patients, parents, legal guardians, or 

registered agents, or otherwise disposed of according to 

3VAC10-50-110.  

Part II 

Cannabis Production, Wholesale Distribution, and Inventory 

3VAC10-40-50. Wholesale distribution of cannabis 

products, bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and usable 

cannabis. 

A. Cannabis oil, cannabis products, botanical cannabis, and 

usable cannabis from a batch that have passed the tests required 

in 3VAC10-60-20 G and H and are packaged and labeled for 

sale with an appropriate expiration date in accordance with 

3VAC10-60-20 may be wholesale distributed between 

pharmaceutical processors, between a pharmaceutical 

processor and a cannabis dispensing facility, and between 

cannabis dispensing facilities. 

B. Bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis 

that have not been packaged for sale and have not passed the 

tests required in 3VAC10-60-20 G and H and do not bear an 

appropriate expiration date may be wholesale distributed 

between pharmaceutical processors. Prior to distribution, the 

bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis shall 

be labeled in compliance with 3VAC10-70-30. 

C. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

engaged in wholesale distribution of cannabis products shall 

create a record of the transaction that shows (i) the date of 

distribution; (ii) the names and addresses of the processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility distributing the product and the 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility receiving the product; 

(iii) the kind and quantity of product being distributed; and (iv) 

the batch and lot identifying information to include harvest 

date, including testing date, processing or manufacturing date, 

and expiration date. The record of the transaction shall be 

maintained by the distributing pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility with its records of distribution, 

and a copy of the record shall be provided to and maintained 

by the processor or facility receiving the product in its records 

of receipt. Such records shall be maintained by each processor 

or facility for three years in compliance with 3VAC10-40-200. 

D. A pharmaceutical processor engaged in wholesale 

distribution of bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and 

usable cannabis shall create a record of the transaction. 

1. The record of the transaction shall show (i) the date of 

distribution; (ii) the names and addresses of the processor 

distributing the bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and 

usable cannabis and the processor receiving the bulk 

cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis; (iii) 

the quantity or weight of the cannabis oil, botanical 

cannabis, or usable cannabis in each container; (iv) the 

quantity of each type of container being distributed; (v) the 

identification of the contents of each container, including a 

brief description of the type or form of cannabis oil, 

botanical cannabis, or usable cannabis and the strain name, 

as appropriate; (vi) the lot or batch number or unique 

identifier so as to facilitate any warnings or recalls the board 

or pharmaceutical processor deem appropriate; and (vii) the 

dates of harvest and packaging. 

2. The record of the transaction shall be maintained by the 

distributing pharmaceutical processor with its records of 

distribution, and a copy of the record shall be provided to 

and maintained by the processor receiving the product in its 

records of receipt. 

3. Such records shall be maintained by each processor for 

three years in compliance with 3VAC10-40-200. 

E. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

engaged in the wholesale distribution of cannabis products 

shall provide the receiving processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility with a copy of the lab results for the distributed product 

or electronic access to the information that can be shared upon 

request to patients, parents, legal guardians, registered agents, 
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practitioners who have certified qualifying patients, or an agent 

of the board. 

F. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

engaged in the wholesale distribution of cannabis products and 

pharmaceutical processors engaged in the wholesale 

distribution of bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and 

usable cannabis shall store and handle the items and maintain 

policies and procedures that include a process for executing or 

responding to mandatory and voluntary recalls in a manner that 

complies with 3VAC10-40-210. 

G. If a pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility participating in wholesale distribution uses an 

electronic system for the storage and retrieval of records 

related to distribution, the pharmaceutical processor shall use 

a system that is compliant with 3VAC10-40-200. 

3VAC10-40-60. Inventory requirements. 

A. Each Upon commencing operation, each medical cannabis 

facility prior to commencing business shall: 1. Conduct 

conduct an initial comprehensive inventory of all cannabis 

plants, including the seeds, parts of plants, extracts, and 

cannabis products, at the facility. If a facility commences 

business with no cannabis or cannabis products on hand, the 

pharmacist or responsible party shall record this fact as the 

initial inventory. 

2. Establish ongoing inventory controls and procedures for 

the conduct of inventory reviews and comprehensive 

inventories of all cannabis plants, including the seeds, parts 

of plants, extracts, and cannabis products, that shall enable 

the facility to detect any diversion, theft, or loss in a timely 

manner. 

B. Each medical cannabis facility shall establish ongoing 

inventory controls and procedures to conduct inventory 

reviews and comprehensive inventories of all cannabis plants, 

including the seeds, parts of plants, extracts, and cannabis 

products, that shall enable the facility to detect any diversion, 

theft, or loss in a timely manner. 

C. For all inventories conducted by a medical cannabis 

facility: 

1. The responsible party shall ensure all required inventories 

are performed in the cultivation and production areas, and 

the PIC shall ensure all required inventories are performed 

in the dispensing area. 

2. The inventory shall be conducted by a pharmacist, 

pharmacy technician, responsible party, or person 

authorized by the responsible party who provides 

supervision of cultivation or production-related activities. 

3. The inventories shall include, at a minimum, the date of 

the inventory, a summary of the inventory findings, and the 

name, signature, and title of the person who conducted the 

inventory. 

C. D. Upon commencing business operation, each 

pharmaceutical processor shall conduct a weekly inventory of 

all cannabis plants, including the seeds, parts of plants, and 

cannabis products in stock, that shall comply with the 

requirements of subsection B C of this section. 

D. E. Upon commencing business operation, each cannabis 

dispensing facility shall maintain a perpetual inventory of all 

cannabis products received and dispensed that accurately 

indicates the physical count of each cannabis product on hand 

at the time of performing the inventory. The perpetual 

inventory shall include a reconciliation of each cannabis 

product at least monthly with a written explanation for any 

difference between the physical count and the theoretical 

count. 

E. F. Upon commencing business operation, each cannabis 

cultivation facility shall conduct a weekly inventory of all 

cannabis plants, including the seeds and parts of plants, in 

stock that shall comply with the requirements of subsection B 

C of this section. 

F. G. The record of all cannabis products sold, dispensed, or 

otherwise disposed of shall show the date of sale or disposition; 

the name of the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility; the name and address of the patient, parent, 

legal guardian, or registered agent to whom the cannabis 

product was sold; the kind and quantity of cannabis product 

sold or disposed of; and the method of disposal. 

G. H. A complete and accurate record of all cannabis plants, 

including the seeds, parts of plants, and cannabis products on 

hand, shall be prepared annually on the anniversary of the 

initial inventory or such other date that the PIC or responsible 

party may choose, so long as it is not more than one year 

following the prior year's inventory. 

H. I. All inventories, procedures, and other documents 

required by this section shall be maintained on the premises 

and made available to the board or its agent. 

I. J. Inventory records shall be maintained for three years 

from the date the inventory was taken. 

J. K. Whenever a person authorized to enforce state or federal 

law for the purpose of investigation or as evidence removes 

any sample or record, such person shall tender a receipt in lieu 

thereof and the receipt shall be kept for a period of at least three 

years. 

3VAC10-40-100. Employee training. 

A. All employees of a medical cannabis facility shall 

complete training prior to the employee commencing work at 

the medical cannabis facility. At a minimum, the training shall 

be in the following areas: 

1. The proper use of security measures and controls that have 

been adopted for the prevention of diversion, theft, or loss of 
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cannabis, to include including the seeds, any parts or extracts 

of the cannabis plants, and cannabis products; 

2. Procedures and instructions for responding to an 

emergency; 

3. Professional conduct, ethics, and state and federal 

statutes and regulations regarding patient confidentiality; 

and 

4. Developments in the field of the medical use of cannabis 

products. 

B. The PIC and the responsible party shall ensure the 

continued competency of all employees, in the respective areas 

for which they have oversight, through continuing in-service 

training that is provided at least annually, is designed to 

supplement initial training, and includes any guidance 

specified by the board. 

C. The PIC and the responsible party shall be responsible for 

maintaining a written record documenting the initial and 

continuing training of all their respective employees that shall 

contain: 

1. The name of the person receiving the training; 

2. The dates of the training; 

3. A general description of the topics covered; 

4. The name of the person supervising the training; and 

5. The signatures of the person receiving the training and the 

PIC or the responsible party. 

D. When a change of PIC or responsible party for the medical 

cannabis facility occurs, the new PIC or responsible party shall 

review the training record and sign it, indicating that the new 

PIC or responsible party understands its contents. 

E. A medical cannabis facility shall maintain the record 

documenting the employee training and make it available in 

accordance with regulations. 

3VAC10-40-120. Responsibilities of the responsible party. 

A. A person may only serve as the responsible party for one 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis cultivation facility at any 

one time. The responsible party shall be employed full time in 

a managerial position at the location of the pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis cultivation facility and shall be actively 

engaged in daily operations of the processor during normal 

hours of operation. 

B. The responsible party shall be aware of and knowledgeable 

about all policies and procedures pertaining to the operations 

of the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis cultivation 

facility. 

C. The responsible party shall ensure compliance with all 

security measures to protect the cannabis within the cultivation 

and production areas from diversion at all times and ensure that 

cultivation and production is performed in a safe and compliant 

manner and free of adulteration and misbranding. 

D. The responsible party shall be responsible for ensuring 

that: 

1. All employees practicing in the cultivation and production 

areas are properly trained; 

2. All record retention requirements are met; 

3. All requirements are met for the physical security of the 

cannabis, to include including the seeds, any parts or extracts 

of the cannabis plants, and the cannabis products within the 

cultivation and production area; and 

4. Any other required filings or notifications regarding the 

cultivation and production areas are made on behalf of the 

processor as set forth in this chapter. 

E. When the responsible party ceases practice at a 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis cultivation facility or no 

longer wishes to be designated as the responsible party, the 

responsible party shall immediately return the pharmaceutical 

processor permit to notify the board indicating and indicate the 

effective date on which the responsible party ceased or will 

cease to be the responsible party. 

F. The outgoing responsible party shall have the opportunity 

to take a complete and accurate inventory of all cannabis, to 

include plants, extracts, or cannabis products on hand in the 

cultivation and production areas, on the date he ceases to be 

the responsible party unless the owner submits written notice 

to the board showing good cause as to why this opportunity 

should not be allowed. 

G. F. A responsible party who is absent from practice a 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis cultivation facility for 

more than 30 consecutive days shall be deemed to no longer be 

the responsible party. If the responsible party knows of an 

upcoming absence of longer than 30 days, the responsible party 

shall be responsible for notifying the board and returning the 

permit. For unanticipated absences by the responsible party 

that exceed 15 days with no known return date within the next 

15 days, the permit holder shall immediately notify the board 

and shall obtain a new responsible party. 

H. An application for a permit designating the new 

responsible party shall be filed with the required fee within 14 

days of the original date of resignation or termination of the 

responsible party in a manner provided by the board. G. If the 

responsible party resigns or otherwise ceases employment, the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis cultivation facility shall 

submit a change of responsible party application designating 

the new responsible party within 14 days of the former 

responsible party's resignation or termination date. It shall be 

unlawful for a pharmaceutical processor to operate without a 

new permit responsible party designated past the 14-day 

deadline unless the board receives a request for an extension 

prior to the deadline. The chair of the board, or the chair's 
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designee, authority may grant an extension for up to an 

additional 14 days for good cause shown. 

3VAC10-40-130. Responsibilities of the PIC. 

A. The PIC of a pharmaceutical processor shall not serve as 

PIC of any other medical cannabis facility at any one time. A 

processor shall employ the PIC at the pharmaceutical processor 

for at least 35 hours per week, except as otherwise authorized 

by the board. A person may serve simultaneously as the PIC 

for no more than two cannabis dispensing facilities located 

within the same health service area at any one time. 

B. The PIC or the pharmacist on duty shall control all aspects 

of the practice in the dispensing area of the pharmaceutical 

processor or in a cannabis dispensing facility. Any decision 

overriding such control of the PIC or other pharmacist on duty 

may be grounds for disciplinary action against the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

permit. 

C. The PIC of a pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility shall be responsible for ensuring that: 

1. Pharmacy technicians are registered and properly trained; 

2. All record retention requirements pertaining to the 

dispensing area are met; 

3. All requirements for the physical security of the cannabis 

products are met; 

4. The pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility has appropriate pharmaceutical reference materials 

to ensure that cannabis products can be properly dispensed; 

5. The following items are conspicuously posted in the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility in 

a location and in a manner so as to be clearly and readily 

identifiable to patients, parents, legal guardians, or 

registered agents: 

a. Pharmaceutical processor permit or cannabis dispensing 

facility permit; 

b. Licenses for all pharmacists practicing at the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility; 

and 

c. The price of all cannabis products offered by the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility; 

and 

6. Any other required filings or notifications are made on 

behalf of the dispensing area of the pharmaceutical 

processor or the dispensing facility as set forth in this 

chapter. 

D. When the PIC ceases practice at a pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility or no longer wishes 

to be designated as PIC, the PIC shall immediately return the 

permit to the board indicating the effective date on which the 

PIC ceased to be the PIC. 

E. An outgoing PIC shall have the opportunity to take a 

complete and accurate inventory of all cannabis products on 

hand in the dispensing area of the pharmaceutical processor or 

the dispensing facility on the date the PIC ceases to be the PIC, 

unless the owner submits written notice to the board showing 

good cause as to why this opportunity should not be allowed. 

F. E. A PIC who is absent from practice for more than 30 

consecutive days shall be deemed to no longer be the PIC. If 

the PIC knows of an upcoming absence of longer than 30 days, 

the PIC shall be responsible for notifying the board and 

returning the permit. For unanticipated absences by the PIC 

that exceed 15 days with no known return date within the next 

15 days, the permit holder shall immediately notify the board 

and shall obtain a new PIC. 

G. An application for a permit designating the new PIC shall 

be filed with the required fee within 14 days of the original date 

of resignation or termination of the PIC on a form provided by 

the board F. If the PIC resigns or otherwise ceases 

employment, the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility shall submit a change of PIC application 

within 14 days of the PIC's resignation or termination date. It 

shall be unlawful for a pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility to operate without a new permit PIC 

designated past the 14-day deadline unless the board receives 

a request for an extension prior to the deadline. The executive 

director for the board authority may grant an extension for up 

to an additional 14 days for good cause shown. 

3VAC10-40-140. Security requirements. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall initially cultivate only 

the number of cannabis plants necessary to produce cannabis 

products for the number of patients anticipated within the first 

nine months of operation. Thereafter, the processor shall not 

maintain cannabis product in excess of the quantity required 

for normal, efficient operation. 

B. At no time shall a cannabis dispensing facility maintain 

cannabis products in excess of the quantity required for 

normal, efficient operation. 

C. A medical cannabis facility shall properly secure cannabis 

plants, seeds, parts of plants, extracts, and cannabis products. 

To secure these items, a medical cannabis facility shall: 

1. Maintain all cannabis plants, seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, and cannabis products in a secure area or location 

accessible only by the minimum number of authorized 

employees essential for efficient operation; 

2. Store all cut parts of cannabis plants, extracts, or cannabis 

products in an approved safe or approved vault within the 

medical cannabis facility and not sell cannabis products 

when the regulated cannabis facility is closed; 

3. Keep all approved safes, approved vaults, or any other 

approved equipment or areas used for the production, 

cultivation, harvesting, processing, manufacturing, or 
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storage of cannabis products securely locked or protected 

from entry, except for the actual time required to remove or 

replace the cannabis, seeds, parts of plants, extracts, or 

cannabis products; 

4. Keep all locks and security equipment in good working 

order; 

5. Restrict access to keys or codes to all safes, approved 

vaults, or other approved equipment or areas in the 

dispensing area to pharmacists practicing at the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility; 

6. Restrict access to keys or codes to all safes, approved 

vaults, or other approved equipment or areas in the 

cultivation and production areas to the responsible party and 

to those authorized by the responsible party. The responsible 

party shall authorize access to pharmacists practicing in the 

processor or persons supervising cultivation-related or 

production-related activities at the processor; and 

7. Not allow keys to be left in the locks or otherwise 

accessible to persons not authorized by the PIC or 

responsible party. 

D. The PIC or responsible party may designate employees, 

other than a pharmacist or person supervising cultivation-

related or production-related activities at the processor, to have 

the ability to unlock a secured area to gain entrance to perform 

required job duties, but only during hours of operation of the 

processor or dispensing facility. At no time shall these 

employees have access to the security system. 

E. The regulated cannabis facility shall have an adequate 

security system to prevent and detect diversion, theft, or loss 

of cannabis seeds, plants, extracts, or cannabis products. A 

failure notification system and a back-up alarm system with an 

ability to remain operational during a power outage shall be 

installed in each pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility. The installation and the operation of the 

system shall meet accepted alarm industry standards, subject 

to the following conditions: 

1. The system shall include a sound, microwave, 

photoelectric, ultrasonic, or other generally accepted and 

suitable device; 

2. The system shall be monitored in accordance with 

accepted industry standards, be maintained in operating 

order, have an auxiliary source of power, and be capable of 

sending an alarm signal to the monitoring entity when 

breached if the communication line is not operational; 

3. The system shall fully protect the entire processor or 

facility and shall be capable of detecting any failure in the 

system when activated; 

4. The system shall include a duress alarm, a panic alarm, 

and an automatic voice dialer; 

5. Access to the alarm system for the dispensing area of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall be restricted to the pharmacists working at the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility, 

and the system shall be activated whenever the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility is 

closed for business; and 

6. Access to the alarm system in a cannabis cultivation 

facility or areas of a pharmaceutical processor that are 

designated for cultivation and production shall be restricted 

to the responsible party and to those authorized by the 

responsible party who shall be the pharmacists practicing at 

the pharmaceutical processor or person supervising 

cultivation-related or production-related activities. 

F. A medical cannabis facility shall keep the outside 

perimeter of the premises well lit. 

G. A medical cannabis facility shall have video cameras in all 

areas that may contain cannabis plants, seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, or cannabis products and at all points of entry and exit, 

which shall be appropriate for the normal lighting conditions 

of the area under surveillance. 

1. The medical cannabis facility shall direct cameras at all 

approved safes, approved vaults, dispensing areas, or 

cannabis products sales areas, and any other area where 

cannabis plants, seeds, extracts, or cannabis products are 

being produced, harvested, manufactured, stored, or 

handled. At entry and exit points, the medical cannabis 

facility shall angle cameras so as to allow for the capture of 

clear and certain identification of any person entering or 

exiting the facility; 

2. The video system shall have: 

a. A failure notification system that provides an audible, 

text, or visual notification of any failure in the surveillance 

system. The failure notification system shall provide an 

alert to the medical cannabis facility within five minutes 

of the failure, either by telephone, email, or text message; 

b. The ability to immediately produce a clear color still 

photo that is a minimum of 9600 dpi from any camera 

image, live or recorded; 

c. A date and time stamp embedded on all recordings. The 

date and time shall be synchronized and set correctly and 

shall not significantly obscure the picture; and 

d. The ability to remain operational during a power outage; 

3. All video recordings shall allow for the exporting of still 

images in an industry standard image format. Exported video 

shall have the ability to be archived in a proprietary format 

that ensures authentication of the video and guarantees that 

no alteration of the recorded image has taken place. 

Exported video shall also have the ability to be saved in an 

industry standard file format that can be played on a standard 

computer operating system. A medical cannabis facility 
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shall erase all recordings prior to disposal or sale of the 

facility; and 

4. The medical cannabis facility shall make 24-hour 

recordings from all video cameras available for immediate 

viewing by the board or the board's agent upon request and 

shall retain the recordings for at least 30 days. If a medical 

cannabis facility is aware of a pending criminal, civil, or 

administrative investigation or legal proceeding for which a 

recording may contain relevant information, the medical 

cannabis facility shall retain an unaltered copy of the 

recording until the investigation or proceeding is closed or 

the entity conducting the investigation or proceeding notifies 

the medical cannabis facility PIC or responsible party that it 

is not necessary to retain the recording. 

H. The medical cannabis facility shall maintain all security 

system equipment and recordings in a secure location so as to 

prevent theft, loss, destruction, or alterations. All security 

equipment shall be maintained in good working order and shall 

be tested at least every six months. The pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall keep all onsite 

surveillance rooms locked and shall not use such rooms for any 

other function. 

I. A medical cannabis facility shall limit access to 

surveillance areas to persons who are essential to surveillance 

operations, law-enforcement agencies, security system service 

employees, the board or the board's agent, and others when 

approved by the board. A medical cannabis facility shall make 

available a current list of authorized employees and security 

system service employees who have access to the surveillance 

room of the processor or facility. 

J. If diversion, theft, or loss of cannabis plants, seeds, parts of 

plants, extracts, or cannabis products has occurred from a 

medical cannabis facility, the board may require additional 

safeguards to ensure the security of the products. 

3VAC10-40-150. Reportable events. 

A. Upon A medical cannabis facility shall immediately notify 

appropriate law-enforcement authorities and the board upon 

becoming aware of (i) diversion any of the following: 

1. Diversion, theft, loss, or discrepancies identified during 

inventory; 

(ii) unauthorized 2. Unauthorized destruction of any cannabis 

products; or 

(iii) any 3. Any loss or unauthorized alteration of records 

related to cannabis products or qualifying patients, a 

pharmacist, responsible party, or medical cannabis facility 

shall immediately notify appropriate law-enforcement 

authorities and the board. 

B. A pharmacist, responsible party, or medical cannabis 

facility shall provide the notice required by subsection A of this 

section to the board by way of a signed statement that details 

the circumstances of the event, including an accurate inventory 

of the quantity and registered cannabis product names of 

cannabis product diverted, stolen, lost, destroyed, or damaged 

and confirmation that the local law-enforcement authorities 

were notified. A pharmacist, responsible party, or medical 

cannabis facility shall make such notice no later than 24 hours 

after discovery of the event. 

C. A pharmacist, responsible party, or medical cannabis 

facility shall notify the board no later than the next business 

day, followed by written notification no later than 10 business 

days, of any of the following: 

1. An alarm activation or other event that requires a response 

by public safety personnel; 

2. A breach of security; or 

3. The failure of the security alarm system due to a loss of 

electrical support or mechanical malfunction that is expected 

to last longer than eight hours; and 4. Corrective measures 

taken, if any. 

D. In addition to the notice required by subsection C of this 

section, the medical cannabis facility shall provide written 

notification to the board no later than 10 business days that 

details the circumstances of the event and identifies corrective 

measures taken, if any. 

E. A pharmacist, responsible party, pharmaceutical processor, 

or cannabis dispensing facility shall immediately notify the 

board of an employee convicted of a felony. 

F. A medical cannabis facility shall immediately notify the 

board upon becoming aware or having reasonable suspicion of 

a violation of any provision of 3VAC10-30-30 or 3VAC10-30-

40. 

3VAC10-40-160. General provisions. 

A medical cannabis facility may engage in marketing 

activities related to products, the medical cannabis program, 

the pharmaceutical processor company, and related 

communications, except those marketing activities that: 

1. Include false or misleading statements; 

2. Promote excessive consumption; 

3. Depict a person younger than 21 years of age consuming 

cannabis; 

4. Include any image designed or likely to appeal to minors, 

specifically including cartoons, toys, animals, fruit, children, 

or any other likeness to images, character, or phrases that are 

popularly used to advertise to children; 

5. Depict products or product packaging or labeling that 

bears reasonable resemblance to any product legally 

available for consumption as a candy or that promotes 

cannabis consumption; or 
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6. Contain any seal, flag, crest, coat of arms, or other insignia 

that is likely to mislead patients or the general public to 

believe that the cannabis product has been endorsed, made, 

or used by the Commonwealth of Virginia or any of its 

representatives except where specifically authorized. 

3VAC10-40-170. Prohibited practices. 

A. A medical cannabis facility shall not advertise (i) through 

any means unless at least 85% of the audience is reasonably 

expected to be 18 years of age or older, as determined by 

reliable, up-to-date audience composition data or (ii) on 

television or the radio at any time outside of regular school 

hours for elementary and secondary schools. 

B. Advertising shall not: 

1. Display cannabis products or images of products where 

the advertisement is visible to members of the public from 

any street, sidewalk, park, or other public place; and or 

2. Include coupons, giveaways of free cannabis products, or 

distribution of merchandise that displays anything other than 

the facility name and contact information. 

C. No outdoor cannabis product advertising shall be placed 

within 1,000 500 feet of (i) a school or daycare;, (ii) a public 

or private playground or similar recreational or child-centered 

facility;, or (iii) a substance use disorder treatment facility. 

D. Signs placed on the property of a medical cannabis facility 

shall not: 

1. Display imagery of cannabis or the use of cannabis or 

utilize long luminous gas-discharge tubes that contain 

rarefied neon or other gases; or 

2. Draw undue attention to the facility, but may be designed 

to assist patients, parents, legal guardians, and registered 

agents to find the medical cannabis facility; or 

3. Be illuminated during nonbusiness hours. 

E. A medical cannabis facility shall not advertise at any 

sporting event or use any billboard advertisements. 

F. No cannabis product advertising shall be on or in a public 

transit vehicle, public transit shelter, bus stop, taxi stand, 

transportation waiting area, train station, airport, or any similar 

transit-related location. 

G. No advertising shall be conducted through the marketing 

of free promotional items, including gifts and "free" or 

"donated" cannabis.  

3VAC10-40-190. Advertising requirements. 

A. Advertising must accurately and legibly identify the 

medical cannabis facility responsible for its content and 

include a statement that cannabis products are for use by 

patients only. 

B. Any advertisement for cannabis products that is related to 

the benefits, safety, or efficacy, including therapeutic or 

medical claims, shall: 

1. Be supported by substantial, current clinical evidence or 

data; and 

2. Include information on side effects or risks associated 

with the use of cannabis. 

B. C. Any website or social media site owned, managed, or 

operated by a medical cannabis facility shall employ a neutral 

age-screening mechanism that verifies that the user is at least 

18 years of age, including by using an age-gate, age-screen, or 

age verification mechanism. 

C. D. All outdoor signage must comply with local or state 

requirements. 

Part V 

Records, Storage, and Administration Transportation 

3VAC10-40-210. Storage and handling requirements. 

A. A medical cannabis facility shall: 

1. Have storage areas that provide adequate lighting, 

ventilation, sanitation, space, equipment, and security 

conditions for the cultivation of cannabis and the production 

and dispensing of cannabis products; 

2. Have storage areas with temperature and humidity 

maintained in the following ranges: 

Room or Phase Temperature Humidity 

Mother room 65 - 85° F 50% - 75% 

Nursery phase 65 - 85° F 50% - 75% 

Vegetation phase 65 - 85° F 50% - 75% 

Flower/harvest phase 65 - 85° F 40% - 75% 

Drying/extraction 

rooms 

< 75° F 40% - 75% 

3. 2. Store cannabis plants, seeds, parts of plants, extracts, 

including cannabis products, that are outdated, damaged, 

deteriorated, misbranded, adulterated, or whose containers 

or packaging have been opened or breached, in a separate 

quarantined storage area until such cannabis plants, seeds, 

parts of plants, extracts, or cannabis products are destroyed; 

4. 3. Be maintained in a clean, sanitary, and orderly 

condition; and 

5. 4. Be free from infestation by insects, rodents, birds, or 

vermin of any kind. 

B. A medical cannabis facility shall compartmentalize all 

areas in the facility based on function and shall restrict access 

between compartments. 
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C. The pharmaceutical processor or cannabis cultivation 

facility shall establish, maintain, and comply with written 

policies and procedures regarding best practices for the secure 

and proper cultivation of cannabis and production of cannabis 

products. These shall include policies and procedures that: 

1. Restrict movement between compartments; 

2. Provide for different colored identification cards for 

employees based on the compartment to which the 

employees are assigned at a given time so as to ensure that 

only employees necessary for a particular function have 

access to that compartment of the facility; 

3. Require pocketless clothing for all employees working in 

an area containing cannabis plants, seeds, and extracts, 

including cannabis oil and cannabis products; and 

4. 3. Document the chain of custody of all cannabis plants, 

parts of plants, seeds, extracts, and cannabis products. 

D. A cannabis dispensing facility shall establish, maintain, 

and comply with written policies and procedures regarding 

best practices for the secure and proper dispensing of cannabis 

products, including a requirement for pocketless clothing for 

all facility employees working in an area containing cannabis 

products. 

E. The PIC or responsible party of a medical cannabis facility 

shall establish, maintain, and comply with written policies and 

procedures for the cultivation, production, security, storage, 

and inventory of cannabis, including the seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, and cannabis products, as applicable. Such policies 

and procedures shall include methods for identifying, 

recording, and reporting diversion, theft, or loss and for 

correcting all errors and inaccuracies in inventories. Medical 

cannabis facilities shall include in their written policies and 

procedures a process for: 

1. Handling mandatory and voluntary recalls of cannabis 

products and bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and 

usable cannabis distributed or received via wholesale 

distribution. The process shall be adequate to deal with 

recalls due to any action initiated at the request of the board 

and any voluntary action by the pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis dispensing facility to (i) remove defective or 

potentially defective cannabis products from the market or 

(ii) promote public health and safety by replacing existing 

cannabis products with improved products or packaging; 

2. Preparing for, protecting against, and handling any crises 

that affect the security or operation of any facility in the 

event of labor strike, fire, flood, or other natural disaster, or 

other situations of local, state, or national emergency; 

3. Ensuring that any outdated, damaged, deteriorated, 

misbranded, or adulterated cannabis, including seeds, parts 

of plants, extracts, and cannabis products, is segregated from 

all other cannabis, seeds, parts of plants, extracts, and 

cannabis products and destroyed. This procedure shall 

provide for written documentation of the cannabis, including 

seeds, parts of plants, extracts, and cannabis product 

disposition; and 

4. Ensuring the oldest stock of cannabis, including seeds, 

parts of plants, extracts, and cannabis products are used first. 

The procedure may permit deviation from this requirement 

if such deviation is temporary and appropriate. 

F. The pharmaceutical processor or cannabis cultivation 

facility shall store: 

1. Store all cannabis, including seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, and cannabis products, in the process of production, 

transfer, or analysis in such a manner as to prevent diversion, 

theft, or loss; 

shall make 2. Make cannabis, including the seeds, parts of 

plants, extracts, and cannabis products, accessible only to the 

minimum number of specifically authorized employees 

essential for efficient operation; and 

shall return 3. Return such items to their secure location 

immediately after completion of the production, transfer, or 

analysis process or at the end of the scheduled business day. 

G. If a production process cannot be completed at the end of 

a working day, the pharmacist, responsible party, or other 

person authorized by the responsible party to supervise 

cultivation and production at the pharmaceutical processor or 

cannabis cultivation facility shall securely lock the processing 

area or tanks, vessels, bins, or bulk containers containing 

cannabis, including the seeds, parts of plants, extracts, and 

cannabis products, inside an area or building that affords 

adequate security. 

G. H. The cannabis dispensing facility shall store all cannabis 

products in such a manner as to prevent diversion, theft, or loss; 

shall make cannabis products accessible only to the minimum 

number of specifically authorized employees essential for 

efficient operation; and shall return the cannabis products to 

their secure location at the completion of the dispensing or at 

end of the scheduled business day. 

3VAC10-40-230. Cannabis delivery and transportation 

general requirements.  

A. Prior to transporting medical cannabis to another medical 

cannabis facility or offering cannabis delivery to patients, a 

medical cannabis facility shall submit the following items to 

the authority:  

1. A list of the employees authorized to transport or deliver 

cannabis, along with a copy of each authorized employee's 

valid driver license; and  

2. For each transport or delivery vehicle:  

a. License plate number, vehicle identification number, 

make, and model;  
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b. An attestation that the vehicle is properly registered and 

insured; 

c. A description of the locked, safe, and secure storage 

compartments in the vehicle; and 

d. A description of the security system, form of secure 

communication, global positioning system (GPS) 

monitoring device, and any other equipment or system 

required pursuant to 3VAC10-40-240.  

B. A medical cannabis facility shall provide written notice to 

the authority, along with the documentation required in 

subsection A of this section, in the event the facility adds or 

removes a transport or delivery vehicle or an authorized 

employee.  

C. No medical cannabis facility shall advertise, offer, or 

commence delivery or transport operations prior to receiving 

written approval from the authority.  

3VAC10-40-240. Vehicle security.  

A. All transport or delivery vehicles shall be properly 

registered with the Commonwealth and be insured in the 

Commonwealth. Medical cannabis facilities shall maintain 

registration and insurance documents and provide the 

documents to the authority and law-enforcement officials upon 

request.  

B. A transport or delivery vehicle shall bear no marking or 

outward appearance, including brand or company names, that 

would indicate to a reasonable person that the vehicle is used 

to transport cannabis.  

C. At all times during the transportation of cannabis, a 

transport or delivery vehicle shall be equipped with the 

following functioning features:  

1. Heating and air conditioning systems sufficient for 

maintaining appropriate temperatures for the storage of 

cannabis during transport in accordance with 

recommendations provided by the originating medical 

cannabis facility to protect the quality and integrity of the 

cannabis; 

2. A locked, safe, and secure storage compartment where 

cannabis will be stored during transport that is (i) a secured 

part of the vehicle, (ii) not easily removed, and (iii) not 

visible from the outside of the vehicle;  

3. A global positioning system (GPS) monitoring device that 

is secured to the vehicle in a manner not easily removed and 

able to remain powered on when the transport vehicle is not 

running, the information from which shall be maintained in 

accordance with 3VAC10-40-260; 

4. A secure form of communication between the transporting 

agent and the transporting facility, and any originating 

facility if required by 3VAC10-40-260 G, at all times during 

the transportation of cannabis. Secure forms of 

communication shall include a two-way digital or analog 

radio, cellular telephone, and satellite telephone, taking into 

consideration the functionality of the communication device 

within the geographic area of the transport; and 

5. An adequate vehicle security system to prevent 

adulteration, diversion, theft, and loss of cannabis, including 

an audible alarm system. 

D. Access to transport vehicle security equipment and 

records shall be limited to (i) persons that are essential to 

security operations, (ii) law-enforcement agencies, (iii) 

security system service employees, (iv) the authority, and (v) 

other persons approved by the authority. A transporting 

facility shall maintain a current list of all individuals that have 

access to any transport vehicle security equipment and 

records. 

E. The authority may inspect a transport or delivery vehicle 

as well as its equipment, including security systems, forms of 

secure communication, and GPS monitoring devices at any 

time without prior notice. If the authority determines that the 

transport or delivery vehicle does not satisfy the requirements 

of this section, or that such transport or delivery vehicle 

requires additional security measures to address public health 

and safety concerns, the medical cannabis facility shall not 

use the transport vehicle until such time as it receives a 

satisfactory inspection from the authority.  

3VAC10-40-250. Manifests.  

A. Prior to transporting cannabis between medical cannabis 

facilities or from a medical cannabis facility to a testing 

laboratory:  

1. The originating facility shall prepare a transport manifest 

on a form and in a manner prescribed by the authority, 

itemizing all cannabis to be transported. A separate copy of 

the transport manifest shall be provided to the transporting 

employee to accompany the itemized cannabis at all times 

during transport.  

2. The originating facility shall securely transmit a copy of 

the transport manifest to the receiving facility at least 24 

hours prior to transport.  

3. An authorized transportation employee shall review the 

transport manifest prepared by the originating facility and 

confirm that it accurately describes the type and quantity of 

cannabis in the transport vehicle to be transported by the 

transporting employee, in the aggregate and for each 

delivery.  

B. Prior to delivering cannabis to a qualifying patient, parent, 

legal guardian, or registered agent:  

1. The pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility shall prepare a delivery manifest on a form and in a 

manner prescribed by the authority, itemizing all cannabis to 

be delivered. A separate copy of the delivery manifest shall 
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be provided to the delivery employee to accompany the 

itemized cannabis at all times during transport.  

2. The delivery employee shall review the delivery manifest 

prepared by the medical cannabis facility and confirm that it 

includes sufficient identifying information for each patient, 

parent, legal guardian, or registered agent, including name 

and day and month of birth.  

C. No transport vehicle shall carry any cannabis for which a 

manifest has not been provided, and all cannabis shall be 

packaged in sealed, labeled, and tamper-resistant packaging at 

all times. 

3VAC10-40-260. Transportation of cannabis.  

A. A transporting employee shall remain with the transport 

vehicle at all times that the vehicle contains cannabis, provided 

that if there is only one transporting employee, the transporting 

employee may leave the vehicle, which shall be securely 

locked, only for:  

1. Delivering or transferring cannabis to a qualifying patient, 

parent, legal guardian, registered agent, or medical cannabis 

facility; 

2. Meals, when the transport lasts more than three hours 

round trip; 

3. Rest periods required by law; 

4. Refueling; or 

5. Exigent circumstances, including collisions, traffic stops, 

mechanical breakdowns, weather emergencies, or medical 

emergencies.  

B. A transporting employee shall carry transportation 

credentials at all times during the transportation of cannabis 

and display such credentials to the appropriate persons at the 

originating facility prior to each instance of transportation of 

cannabis, and to any law-enforcement official or authorized 

authority representative upon request. For purposes of this 

section, "transportation credentials" shall mean the 

transporting employee's valid driver's license, a copy of the 

medical cannabis facility's permit, and all transport or delivery 

manifests for cannabis contained in the transport vehicle.  

C. A transporting facility shall inspect and test all security 

systems, secure communications, and global positioning 

system (GPS) monitoring devices of each transport vehicle at 

least once per day of use, prior to the transport vehicle's first 

departure. The individual conducting the inspection on behalf 

of the transporting facility shall create a signed record of the 

inspection that includes (i) the name of the individual, (ii) the 

vehicle identification number of the transport vehicle, (iii) the 

date of inspection, and (iv) the status of all inspected systems, 

equipment, and devices. The transporting facility shall 

maintain all inspection records.  

D. No transport vehicle shall transport cannabis unless every 

security system, form of secure communication, and GPS 

monitoring device is in good working order and functioning 

properly.  

E. If any security system, form of secure communication, or 

GPS monitoring device fails during the transportation of 

cannabis, the transporting employee shall immediately notify 

the transporting facility and all impacted originating facilities 

of the specific failure and return directly to the transporting 

facility or originating facility. Such transport vehicle shall not 

resume transportation of cannabis until all systems resume full 

functioning capacity.  

F. The transporting facility shall create a confidential delivery 

schedule within 24 hours of the transport and only provide the 

transporting employee with a copy of such confidential 

delivery schedule immediately prior to departure.  

G. A transporting employee shall communicate with the 

transporting facility upon arriving at and departing from each 

scheduled delivery location.  

H. A transporting employee shall strictly adhere to the 

delivery schedule provided by the transporting facility and not 

make any unscheduled stops. In the case of an emergency 

unscheduled stop, the transport vehicle shall remain securely 

locked, and the transporting employee shall verbally 

communicate with the transporting facility, describing the 

reason for the emergency unscheduled stop, the location and 

the duration of the emergency unscheduled stop, any activities 

of the transporting employee, and the identities and activities 

of any persons interacting with the transport vehicle or the 

transporting employee. The transporting facility shall maintain 

a record of any communications related to an unscheduled 

stop.  

I. For a period of not less than 90 days, a transporting facility 

shall maintain a record of the GPS information of each of its 

transport vehicles for the entire duration of any transportation 

of cannabis and make such information available to the 

authority upon request. A transporting facility may contract 

with the GPS provider or similar service provider to conduct 

GPS monitoring, provided that any such third-party GPS 

monitor shall comply with all applicable state and federal laws 

regarding patient confidentiality.  

J. A transporting employee shall return any undeliverable 

cannabis to the respective originating facility directly after the 

last scheduled delivery.  

K. No cannabis shall be stored in a transport vehicle after the 

facility's hours of operation, and in no event longer than 24 

hours, unless the vehicle is contained within an enclosed, 

secure part of the facility.  

L. A transporting facility shall report to the authority and local 

law enforcement any transport vehicle accidents, transport 

vehicle theft, cannabis diversion, loss, or adulteration, and any 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 7  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 18, 2024  

788 

other event deemed by the authority to be a reportable event in 

connection with the transportation of cannabis within 24 hours 

of such event being discovered. 

3VAC10-40-270. Delivery to qualifying patients, parents, 

legal guardians, and registered agents.  

A. Medical cannabis facilities offering delivery shall require 

each qualifying patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent that purchases cannabis for delivery to provide the 

medical cannabis facility with the full legal name, date of birth, 

address, email address, and telephone number of the qualifying 

patient and, if applicable, the legal name, date of birth, and 

address of the parent, legal guardian, or registered agent.  

B. For each delivery of cannabis to a qualifying patient, 

parent, legal guardian, or registered agent, a transporting 

employee shall confirm from a valid driver's license or other 

valid, government-issued photographic identification that the 

identity of the individual accepting the cannabis delivery is the 

same as the individual that ordered the cannabis and confirm 

the qualifying patient's registration number.  

C. If the identity, age, or registration of the individual 

accepting the cannabis delivery remains in question after 

presentation of the required documentation, the transporting 

employee shall (i) immediately alert the originating facility and 

(ii) return the cannabis to the originating facility directly after 

the last scheduled delivery.  

D. Medical cannabis may only be delivered to a residence in 

Virginia. "Residence" means a dwelling such as a house, 

apartment, nursing home, or retirement center. It does not 

include a dormitory, hotel, motel, bed and breakfast, or other 

commercial business.  

E. Medical cannabis may only be delivered between the hours 

of 6 a.m. and midnight. 

3VAC10-40-280. Delivery and transportation incident 

notification.  

A. A pharmaceutical processor transporting or delivering 

medical cannabis must report any traffic stop, breakdown, 

collision, or unscheduled stop lasting more than two hours to 

the authority with 24 hours.  

B. An originating facility's authorized employees shall make 

a good faith effort to contact the authority if exigent 

circumstances require removal of cannabis or cannabis 

products from the vehicle prior to arrival at the destination 

listed on the transport manifest. Authorized employees shall 

make a good faith effort to protect the shipment from diversion.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8121; Filed October 28, 2024, 5:19 p.m. 

 

 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Directors of the 

Virginia Cannabis Control Authority is claiming an exemption 

from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 4.1-

1602 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts adoption of 

regulations if prior to adoption, the board publishes a notice of 

opportunity to comment in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and posts the action on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall. Such notice of opportunity to comment shall 

contain (i) a summary of the proposed regulation; (ii) the text 

of the proposed regulation; and (iii) the name, address, and 

telephone number of the agency contact person responsible for 

receiving public comments. Such notice shall be made at least 

60 days in advance of the last date prescribed in such notice for 

submittals of public comment. 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC10-50. Cannabis Products 

(amending 3VAC10-50-10, 3VAC10-50-50 through 

3VAC10-50-80, 3VAC10-50-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-601, 4.1-604, and 4.1-606 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 16, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jake Shuford, Legislative and Regulatory 

Manager, Virginia Cannabis Control Authority, 333 East 

Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 873-

9038, or email jake.shuford@cca.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) adopt a common practice in the industry 

of restricting non-cannabinoid additives that could increase 

the potency, toxicity, or addictive properties of cannabis to 

protect patients and the integrity of medicinal cannabis 

products; (ii) codify a list of previously approved chemicals 

for use in the cultivation, extraction, production, or 

manufacturing of cannabis products to avoid potential 

patient exposure to harmful chemicals; and (iii) ensure 

patients are offered the opportunity to consult with a 

pharmacist or pharmacy technician during the patient's 

initial visit to a dispensary. Other amendments relocate 

certain provisions within the medical cannabis program 

regulations and remove the redundant requirement for a 

pharmacist or pharmacy technician to physically witness 

certain actions that are required to be conducted under 

video surveillance. 

3VAC10-50-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in the Cannabis 

Control Act (§ 4.1-600 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 

following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have 

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

mailto:@jake.shuford@cca.virginia.gov
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"90-day supply" means the amount of cannabis products 

reasonably necessary to ensure an uninterrupted availability of 

supply for a 90-day period for patients with either included on 

a valid, unexpired written certification issued by a practitioner 

for the use of cannabis products or established by a pharmacist 

during initial consultation. 

"Batch" means a quantity of (i) cannabis oil from a production 

lot or (ii) harvested botanical cannabis product that is identified 

by a batch number or other unique identifier. 

"Board" means the Board of Directors of the Cannabis 

Control Authority. 

"Certification" means a written statement, consistent with 

requirements of § 4.1-1601 of the Code of Virginia, issued by 

a practitioner for the use of cannabis products for treatment of 

or to alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or 

disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use. 

"Dispensing error" means one or more of the following was 

discovered after the final verification by the pharmacist, 

regardless of whether the patient received the product: 

1. Variation from the intended product to be dispensed, 

including: 

a. Incorrect product; 

b. Incorrect product strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; 

d. Incorrect patient; or 

e. Inadequate or incorrect packaging, labeling, or 

directions. 

2. Failure to exercise professional judgment in identifying 

and managing: 

a. Known therapeutic duplication; 

b. Known drug-disease contraindications; 

c. Known drug-drug interactions; 

d. Incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug treatment; 

e. Known drug-allergy interactions; 

f. A clinically significant, avoidable delay in therapy; or 

g. Any other significant, actual, or potential problem with 

a patient's drug therapy. 

3. Delivery of a cannabis product to the incorrect patient. 

4. An act or omission relating to the dispensing of cannabis 

product that results in, or may reasonably be expected to 

result in, injury to or death of a patient or results in any 

detrimental change to the medical treatment for the patient. 

"Medical cannabis facility" means a pharmaceutical 

processor, cannabis dispensing facility, or cannabis cultivation 

facility. 

"On duty" means that a pharmacist, the responsible party, or 

a person who is qualified to provide supervision in accordance 

with 3VAC10-30-90 is on the premises at the address of the 

permitted pharmaceutical processor and is available as needed. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge whose name is on the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

application for a permit that has been issued and who shall have 

oversight of the processor's dispensing area or cannabis 

dispensing facility. 

"Production" or "produce" means the manufacture, planting, 

preparation, cultivation, growing, harvesting, propagation, 

conversion, or processing of marijuana for the creation of 

usable cannabis, botanical cannabis, or a cannabis product 

derived thereof, (i) directly or indirectly by extraction from 

substances of natural origin, (ii) independently by means of 

chemical synthesis, or (iii) by a combination of extraction and 

chemical synthesis. "Production" or "produce" includes any 

packaging or repackaging of the substance or labeling or 

relabeling of its container. 

"Qualifying patient" means a Virginia resident who has 

received from a practitioner, as defined in § 4.1-1600 of the 

Code of Virginia, a written certification for the use of cannabis 

products for treatment of or to alleviate the symptoms of any 

diagnosed condition or disease. 

"Registration" means an identification card or other document 

issued by the board that identifies a person as a qualifying 

patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent that has 

voluntarily registered with the board. 

"Responsible party" means the person designated on the 

pharmaceutical processor application who shall have oversight 

of the cultivation and production areas of the pharmaceutical 

processor. 

3VAC10-50-50. Cultivation and production of cannabis 

products. 

A. No cannabis products shall have had pesticide chemicals 

or petroleum-based solvents, except for hydrocarbon-based 

solvents described in this chapter, used during the cultivation, 

extraction, production, or manufacturing process, except that 

the board may authorize the use of pesticide chemicals for 

purposes of addressing an infestation that could result in a 

catastrophic loss of cannabis crops. 

B. No cannabis product shall contain any of the following:  

1. Any regulated drug or controlled substance other than 

cannabis.  

2. Non-cannabinoid additives that are psychotropic or would 

increase the potency, toxicity, or addictive properties of 

cannabis, including alcohol, caffeine, and nicotine. This 

prohibition shall not apply to the combination of cannabis 

with sugar or a product in which caffeine is naturally 

occurring, such as chocolate. 

C. Cultivation methods for cannabis plants, extraction 

methods used to produce the cannabis products, and the 
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manufacturing of cannabis products shall be performed in a 

manner deemed safe and effective based on current standards 

or scientific literature. 

1. The cultivation, extraction, production, and 

manufacturing of cannabis products may include the use of 

hydrocarbon-based solvents as described in 3VAC10-50-60. 

2. The cultivation, extraction, production, and 

manufacturing of cannabis products may include any other 

generally accepted technology, provided that: 

a. The pharmaceutical processor complies with any 

applicable requirements contained in 3VAC10-50-60 

regarding flammable solvents as defined in that section; 

b. The pharmaceutical processor complies with any 

licensing, permitting, and general safety laws or 

regulations of any state or federal agency that governs the 

technology and the use of such technology; and 

c. The pharmaceutical processor maintains sole 

responsibility for any adverse outcomes or violations of 

state or federal laws or regulations caused by such use. 

C. D. Any cannabis plant, seed, parts of plant, extract, or 

cannabis products not in compliance with this section shall be 

deemed adulterated. 

D. E. A pharmaceutical processor may acquire industrial 

hemp extract, including isolates and distillates, for the purpose 

of formulating such extracts into allowable dosages of 

cannabis products provided: 

1. The pharmaceutical processor acquires the extracts from 

industrial hemp extract processed in Virginia and in 

compliance with state or federal law from a registered 

industrial hemp dealer or processor; 

2. The extracts from industrial hemp acquired by a 

pharmaceutical processor is subject to the same third-party 

testing requirements applicable to cannabis plant extract as 

verified by testing performed by a laboratory located in 

Virginia and in compliance with state law; and 

3. The industrial hemp dealer or processor provides such 

third-party testing results to the pharmaceutical processor 

before extracts from industrial hemp are acquired. 

E. F. A pharmaceutical processor acquiring industrial hemp 

extract shall ensure receipt of a record of the transaction that 

shows the date of distribution, the names and addresses of the 

registered industrial hemp dealer or processor distributing the 

product and the pharmaceutical processor receiving the 

product, and the kind and quantity of product being distributed. 

The record of the transaction shall be maintained by the 

pharmaceutical processor with its records of receipt. Such 

records shall be maintained by each pharmaceutical processor 

for three years. 

F. G. A pharmaceutical processor shall maintain policies and 

procedures for the proper storage and handling of industrial 

hemp extracts, to include including a process for executing or 

responding to mandatory and voluntary recalls in a manner that 

complies with 3VAC10-40-210. 

G. H. No cannabis oil intended to be vaporized or inhaled 

shall contain vitamin E acetate. 

3VAC10-50-60. Use of hydrocarbon-based solvents or 

other flammable solvents. 

A. The following words and phrases used in this section have 

the following meaning: 

1. "Closed-loop system" means machinery in which volatile 

hydrocarbon substances are self-contained without the loss 

or escape of those substances. 

2. "Flammable solvent" means a liquid that has a flash point 

below 100 degrees Fahrenheit. Flammable solvents include 

hydrocarbon-based solvents. 

3. "Hydrocarbon-based solvent" means a type of solvent 

composed of hydrogen and carbon compounds, such as N-

butane, isobutene, propane, or any isomer or combination 

thereof. 

B. Hydrocarbon-based solvents may be used in the 

cultivation, extraction, production, or manufacturing of 

cannabis products provided that: 

1. A pharmaceutical processor complies with all 

requirements in this section. 

2. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall comply with all regulations regarding use of 

hydrocarbon-based solvents in general industrial use as 

promulgated by the Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration and published in 29 CFR 1910 or any 

subsequent regulation governing such use, including 

regulations governing: 

a. Ventilation requirements; 

b. Air contaminants; and 

c. Hazard communication. 

3. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall comply with any requirements issued by the 

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry regarding use of 

hydrocarbon-based solvents. 

4. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall comply with any requirements issued by the 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality regarding 

use of hydrocarbon-based solvents promulgated. 

5. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents maintains sole responsibility for any adverse 

outcomes or violations of state or federal laws or regulations 

caused by such use. 

6. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall ensure that all equipment, counters, and 
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surfaces used in the cultivation, extraction, production, or 

manufacturing of cannabis products are food-grade and do 

not react adversely with any hydrocarbon solvent used. All 

counters and surface areas shall be constructed in a manner 

that reduces the potential development of microbials, molds, 

and fungi and can be easily cleaned. 

7. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall ensure that any room in which hydrocarbon-

based solvents will be used contains an emergency eye-wash 

station. 

8. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall ensure that a professional grade, closed-loop 

extraction system capable of recovering solvent is used in 

the cultivation, extraction, production, or manufacturing of 

cannabis products. 

a. Closed-loop extraction systems must be commercially 

manufactured and bear a permanently affixed and visible 

serial number. 

b. A pharmaceutical processor using a closed-loop 

extraction system must obtain certification from a licensed 

engineer that certifies that the system was commercially 

manufactured, is safe for its intended use, and is built to 

codes of recognized and generally accepted good 

engineering practices, such as the following: (i) the 

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME); (ii) 

American National Standards Institute (ANSI); (iii) 

Underwriters Laboratories (UL); or (iv) the American 

Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). 

c. The certification must contain the signature and stamp 

of a professional engineer and include the serial number 

of the extraction unit certified. 

9. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall obtain a safety data sheet for each 

hydrocarbon-based solvent used and store such data sheet on 

the premises. All such records shall be subject to inspection 

by the board. 

10. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall develop standard operating procedures, good 

manufacturing practices, and a training plan prior to using 

such solvents. Standard operating procedures shall 

specifically address: 

a. Safe and proper handling and use of hydrocarbon-based 

solvents; 

b. Safe and proper operation of machinery and equipment; 

c. Adequate cleaning and maintenance of machinery and 

equipment; 

d. Incident reporting for any instances where the operator 

does not follow the stated standard operating procedures 

that identifies (i) the operator's name; (ii) the date and time 

of the incident; (iii) the supervising employees to which 

whom the incident report will be sent; and (iv) an incident 

summary that includes whether any cannabis products or 

other substances escaped from the closed-loop system, the 

amount of escaped material, whether the material was 

destroyed, and how the incident was resolved; and 

e. Safe and proper disposal of waste created during 

processes using hydrocarbon-based solvents. 

11. A pharmaceutical processor using hydrocarbon-based 

solvents shall ensure that any person using such solvents in 

a closed-loop system: 

a. Is fully trained on how to use the system; 

b. Has direct access to applicable material safety data 

sheets; and 

c. Handles and stores the solvents safely. 

C. If a pharmaceutical processor intends to use a flammable 

solvent, then a designated industrial hygienist or professional 

engineer that is not an employee of the pharmaceutical 

processor must: 

1. Establish a maximum amount of flammable solvents and 

other flammable materials that may be stored within the 

pharmaceutical processor facility in accordance with 

applicable laws and regulations; 

2. Determine what type of electrical equipment must be 

installed within the room in which flammable solvents are to 

be stored in accordance with applicable laws and 

regulations; 

3. Determine whether a gas monitoring system must be 

installed within the room in which flammable solvents are to 

be used or stored, and if required, the system's specifications 

in accordance with applicable laws and regulations; 

4. Determine whether a fire suppression system must be 

installed within the room in which the flammable solvents 

are to be used or stored, and if required, the system's 

specifications in accordance with applicable laws and 

regulations; and 

5. Determine whether a fume vent hood or exhaust system 

must be installed within the room in which a flammable 

solvent will be used, and if required, the system's 

specifications in accordance with applicable laws and 

regulations. 

D. If a pharmaceutical processor makes a material change to 

its use of flammable solvents in any part of the manufacturing 

process, a designated industrial hygienist or professional 

engineer who is not an employee of the pharmaceutical 

processor must recertify the standard operating procedures for 

use of flammable solvents determined under subsection C of 

this section. 

E. A pharmaceutical processor shall maintain copies of all 

reports generated by or received from the designated industrial 

hygienist or professional engineer for inspection by the board. 
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F. A pharmaceutical processor shall not store more 

flammable solvents onsite that on site than exceeds the 

maximum amount allowable as identified by the designated 

industrial hygienist or professional engineer. 

G. A pharmaceutical processor shall ensure that all 

appropriate safety and sanitary equipment, including personal 

protective equipment, is provided to and appropriately used by 

each employee handling a flammable solvent. 

H. The board shall approve chemicals for use as hydrocarbon 

or other flammable solvents in the cultivation, extraction, 

production, or manufacturing of cannabis products based on 

availability of testing for residual material of individual 

solvents. Approved chemicals include:  

1. Ethanol; 

2. Ethyl acetate; 

3. Ethyl ether; 

4. Heptane; 

5. Hexane; 

6. Pentane; 

7. 2-propanol (IPA); 

8. Butane; and 

9. Propane. 

The board recognizes butane and propane as Class 3 solvents 

with a permissible daily exposure of 50 mg per day. 

3VAC10-50-70. Registration of products. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall assign a product name to 

each product of cannabis. The pharmaceutical processor shall 

register each cannabis product name with the board in a 

manner prescribed by the board prior to any dispensing and 

shall associate each registered cannabis product name with a 

specific laboratory test that includes the total cannabidiol 

(CBD) and total tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), a terpenes 

profile, and a list of all active ingredients, including: 

1. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

2. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

3. Cannabidiols (CBD); and 

4. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA). 

For botanical cannabis products, only the total cannabidiol 

(CBD) and total tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) are required. 

B. A pharmaceutical processor shall not label two products 

with the same registered cannabis product name unless the 

laboratory test results for each product indicate that the level 

of each listed active ingredient varies by no more than 15%. 

However, in cases where (i) the total tetrahydrocannabinol 

(THC) concentration is less than five milligrams per dose, the 

concentration of THC shall be within 0.5 milligrams per dose 

and (ii) the total cannabidiol (CBD) concentration is less than 

five milligrams per dose, the concentration of total CBD shall 

be within 0.5 milligrams per dose. 

C. The board shall not register any cannabis product name 

that: 

1. Is identical to or confusingly similar to the name of an 

existing commercially available product; 

2. Is identical to or confusingly similar to the name of an 

unlawful product or substance; 

3. Is confusingly similar to the registered cannabis product 

name of a previously approved cannabis product; 

4. Is obscene or indecent; 

5. May encourage the use of marijuana or cannabis products 

for recreational purposes; 

6. May encourage the use of cannabis products for a disease 

or condition other than the disease or condition the 

practitioner intended to treat; 

7. Is customarily associated with persons younger than the 

age of 18 years of age; or 

8. Is related to the benefits, safety, or efficacy of the cannabis 

product unless supported by substantial evidence or 

substantial clinical data. 

3VAC10-50-80. Dispensing of cannabis products. 

A. A pharmacist in good faith may dispense cannabis 

products to any patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered 

agent as indicated on the written certification. 

1. Prior to the initial dispensing of cannabis products 

pursuant to each written certification, the pharmacist or 

pharmacy technician at the location of the pharmaceutical 

processor or cannabis dispensing facility shall view: 

a. Offer patients, parents, legal guardians, and registered 

agents the opportunity to consult with a pharmacist 

regarding the use of cannabis products, including 

information related to safe techniques for proper use and 

storage of cannabis products and for disposal of the 

products in a manner that renders them nonrecoverable; 

b. View in person or by audiovisual means a current photo 

identification of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent. The pharmacist or pharmacy technician 

shall verify; and 

c. Verify in the Virginia Prescription Monitoring Program 

of the Department of Health Professions or other program 

recognized by the board that any registrations, if 

applicable, are current, the written certification has not 

expired, is valid and the date and quantity of the last 

dispensing of cannabis products to the patient. 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 7  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 18, 2024  

793 

2. A pharmacist or pharmacy technician employed by the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

shall make a paper or electronic copy of the current written 

certification that provides an exact image of the document 

that is clearly legible and shall maintain it on site or by 

electronic means for two years. The pharmaceutical 

processor and cannabis dispensing facility shall also provide 

an electronic copy of the written certification to the board. 

3. Prior to any subsequent dispensing, the pharmacist or 

pharmacy technician shall verify that the written 

certification on file has not expired. An employee or delivery 

agent shall view a current photo identification and current 

registration of the patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent and shall maintain record of such viewing 

in accordance with policies and procedures of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility. 

B. A pharmacist may dispense a portion of a patient's 90-day 

supply of cannabis product. The pharmacist may dispense the 

remaining portion of the 90-day supply of cannabis products at 

any time except that no patient, parent, legal guardian, or 

registered agent shall receive more than a 90-day supply of 

cannabis products for a patient in a 90-day period from any 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility. A 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility may 

dispense more than one cannabis product to a patient at one 

time. However, no more than four ounces of botanical cannabis 

shall be dispensed for each 30-day period for which botanical 

cannabis is dispensed. In determining the appropriate amount 

of cannabis product to be dispensed to a patient, a pharmacist 

shall consider all cannabis products dispensed and adjust the 

amount dispensed accordingly. 

C. A dispensing record shall be maintained for three years 

from the date of dispensing, and the pharmacist or pharmacy 

technician under the direct supervision of the pharmacist shall 

affix a label to the container of cannabis product that contains: 

according to 3VAC10-70-40. 

1. A serial number assigned to the dispensing of the product; 

2. The cannabis product name that was registered with the 

board pursuant to 3VAC10-50-70 and its strength; 

3. The serial number assigned to the product during 

production; 

4. The date of dispensing the cannabis product; 

5. The quantity of cannabis products dispensed; 

6. A terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, 

including: 

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

c. Cannabidiol (CBD); and 

d. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA); 

For botanical cannabis products, only the total cannabidiol 

(CBD) and total tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) are required; 

7. A pass rating based on the laboratory's microbiological, 

mycotoxins, heavy metals, residual solvents, pesticide 

chemical residue analysis, and for botanical cannabis, the 

water activity and moisture content analysis; 

8. The name of the patient; 

9. The name of the certifying practitioner; 

10. Directions for use as may be included in the practitioner's 

written certification or otherwise provided by the 

practitioner; 

11. For botanical cannabis, the amount recommended by the 

practitioner or dispensing pharmacist; 

12. The name or initials of the dispensing pharmacist; 

13. Name, address, and telephone number of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility; 

14. Any necessary cautionary statement; 

15. A prominently printed expiration date based on stability 

testing; and 

16. The pharmaceutical processor's or cannabis dispensing 

facility's recommended conditions of use and storage that 

can be read and understood by the ordinary individual. 

D. The label shall be exempt from containing the items listed 

in subdivisions C 6, C 7, and C 15 of this section if the items 

are included on the batch label as required in 3VAC10-70-20 

and are clearly visible to the patient. 

E. A pharmaceutical processor shall not label cannabis 

products as "organic" unless the cannabis plants have been 

organically grown and the cannabis oil products have been 

produced, processed, manufactured, and certified to be 

consistent with organic standards in compliance with 7 CFR 

Part 205. 

F. The cannabis products shall be dispensed in child-resistant 

packaging, except as provided in 3VAC10-40-20 A. A package 

shall be deemed child-resistant if it satisfies the standard for 

"special packaging" as set forth in the Poison Prevention 

Packaging Act of 1970 Regulations, 16 CFR 1700.1(b)(4). 

G. No person except a pharmacist or a pharmacy technician 

operating under the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall 

alter, deface, or remove any label so affixed. 

H. D. A pharmacist shall be responsible for verifying the 

accuracy of the dispensed product in all respects prior to 

dispensing and shall document that each verification has been 

performed. 

I. E. A pharmacist shall document a patient's self-assessment 

of the effects of cannabis products in treating the patient's 

diagnosed condition or disease or the symptoms thereof. 
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J. F. If the authorization for botanical cannabis for a minor is 

communicated verbally or in writing to the pharmacist at the 

time of dispensing, the pharmacist shall also document such 

authorization. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis 

dispensing facility shall maintain such documentation in 

writing or electronically for three years from the date of 

dispensing and such documentation shall be made available in 

accordance with regulation. 

K. G. A pharmacist shall exercise professional judgment to 

determine whether to dispense cannabis products to a patient, 

parent, legal guardian, or registered agent if the pharmacist 

suspects that dispensing cannabis products to the patient, 

parent, legal guardian, or registered agent may have negative 

health or safety consequences for the patient or the public. 

3VAC10-50-110. Disposal of cannabis products. 

A. To mitigate the risk of diversion, a pharmaceutical 

processor shall routinely and promptly dispose of undesired, 

excess, unauthorized, obsolete, adulterated, misbranded, or 

deteriorated green waste, extracts, and cannabis products, as 

applicable. Green waste includes cannabis plants, seeds, and 

parts of plants. Green waste shall be weighed, ground, and 

combined with a minimum of 51% non-cannabis waste to 

render the mixture inactive and unrecognizable. Once rendered 

unrecognizable, green waste shall be considered agricultural 

waste and may be disposed of accordingly. 

B. The destruction and disposal of green waste, extracts, and 

cannabis products, as applicable, shall be witnessed by a 

pharmacist or the responsible party of the medical cannabis 

facility and shall be conducted under video surveillance. The 

persons destroying and disposing of the green waste, extracts, 

or cannabis products shall maintain and make available a 

separate record of each occurrence of destruction and disposal 

indicating: 

1. The date and time of destruction and disposal; 

2. The manner of destruction and disposal; 

3. The name and quantity of cannabis product and green 

waste destroyed and disposed of; and 

4. The signatures of the persons destroying and disposing of 

the green waste, extracts, or cannabis products. 

C. Disposal of green waste may be by incineration, inert 

composting, or any other means of disposal or destruction. 

D. A pharmaceutical processor may sell or otherwise 

distribute inert composted green waste. 

E. The record of destruction and disposal shall be maintained 

at the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility 

for three years from the date of destruction and disposal. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8120; Filed October 28, 2024, 5:20 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Directors of the 

Virginia Cannabis Control Authority is claiming an exemption 

from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 4.1-

1602 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts adoption of 

regulations if prior to adoption, the board publishes a notice of 

opportunity to comment in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and posts the action on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall. Such notice of opportunity to comment shall 

contain (i) a summary of the proposed regulation; (ii) the text 

of the proposed regulation; and (iii) the name, address, and 

telephone number of the agency contact person responsible for 

receiving public comments. Such notice shall be made at least 

60 days in advance of the last date prescribed in such notice for 

submittals of public comment. 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC10-60. Testing of Cannabis 

Products (amending 3VAC10-60-10, 3VAC10-60-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-601, 4.1-604, and 4.1-606 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 16, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jake Shuford, Legislative and Regulatory 

Manager, Virginia Cannabis Control Authority, 333 East 

Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 873-

9038, or email jake.shuford@cca.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify and implement § 4.1-1602 D of 

the Code of Virginia, which addresses independent 

laboratory testing standards and requires certain cannabis 

products to be homogenized for laboratory testing; (ii) 

clarify the standards for microbiological, mycotoxin, and 

residual solvent testing standards by specifying the 

applicable part of a document incorporated by reference 

and, where possible, including standards in the regulation 

rather than referring to external documents; and (iii) 

pursuant to Chapter 732 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly, 

extend the expiration of cannabis products from six months 

to 12 months. 

3VAC10-60-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in the Cannabis 

Control Act (§ 4.1-600 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 

following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have 

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Batch" means a quantity of (i) cannabis oil from a production 

lot or (ii) harvested botanical cannabis product that is identified 

by a batch number or other unique identifier. 

"Board" means the Board of Directors of the Cannabis 

Control Authority. 

mailto:@jake.shuford@cca.virginia.gov
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"Cannabis cultivation facility" means a location at which the 

board has authorized a pharmaceutical processor to cultivate 

cannabis plants pursuant to § 4.1-1602 of the Code of Virginia 

and the requirements of 3VAC10-30-160. 

"ISO/IEC 17025" means the general requirements specified 

by the joint technical committee of the International 

Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International 

Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) for the competence of 

testing and calibration laboratories. 

"Medical cannabis facility" means a pharmaceutical 

processor, cannabis dispensing facility, or cannabis cultivation 

facility. 

"Production" or "produce" means the manufacture, planting, 

preparation, cultivation, growing, harvesting, propagation, 

conversion, or processing of marijuana for the creation of 

usable cannabis, botanical cannabis, or a cannabis product 

derived thereof (i) directly or indirectly by extraction from 

substances of natural origin; (ii) independently by means of 

chemical synthesis; or (iii) by a combination of extraction and 

chemical synthesis. "Production" or "produce" includes any 

packaging or repackaging of the substance or labeling or 

relabeling of its container. 

"Qualifying patient" means a Virginia resident who has 

received from a practitioner, as defined in § 4.1-1600 of the 

Code of Virginia, a written certification for the use of cannabis 

products for treatment of or to alleviate the symptoms of any 

diagnosed condition or disease. 

3VAC10-60-20. Laboratory requirements. 

A. No pharmaceutical processor or cannabis cultivation 

facility shall utilize a laboratory to handle, test, or analyze 

cannabis products unless such laboratory: 

1. Is independent from all other persons involved in the 

cannabis industry in Virginia, which shall mean that no 

person with a direct or indirect interest in the laboratory shall 

have a direct or indirect financial interest in a pharmacist, 

pharmaceutical processor, cannabis dispensing facility, 

certifying practitioner, or any other entity that may benefit 

from the production, manufacture, dispensing, sale, 

purchase, or use of cannabis products; 

2. Has employed at least one person to oversee and be 

responsible for the laboratory testing who has earned from a 

college or university accredited by a national or regional 

certifying authority at least (i) a master's level degree in 

chemical or biological sciences and a minimum of two years 

of post-degree laboratory experience or (ii) a bachelor's 

degree in chemical or biological sciences and a minimum of 

four years of post-degree laboratory experience; 

3. Has obtained a controlled substances registration 

certificate pursuant to § 54.1-3423 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizing the testing of cannabis products; 

4. Has provided proof to the board of accreditation in testing 

and calibration in accordance with the most current version 

of the International Standard for Organization and the 

ISO/IEC 17025 or proof that the laboratory has applied for 

accreditation in testing and calibration in the most current 

version of ISO/IEC 17025. Any testing and calibration 

method utilized to perform a cannabis-related analysis for 

pharmaceutical processors shall be in accordance with the 

laboratory's ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation. The accrediting 

body shall be recognized by International Laboratory 

Accreditation Cooperation. 

a. A laboratory applying for authorization to provide 

cannabis-related analytical tests for pharmaceutical 

processors shall receive ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation 

within two years from the date the laboratory applied for 

ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation. A laboratory may request, 

and the board may grant for good cause shown, additional 

time for the laboratory to receive ISO/IEC 17025 

accreditation. 

b. A laboratory shall send proof of ISO/IEC 17025 

accreditation to the board for cannabis-related analytical 

test methods for pharmaceutical processors for which it 

has received ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation no later than 

five business days after the date in which the accreditation 

was received. 

c. A laboratory may use nonaccredited analytical test 

methods so long as the laboratory has commenced an 

application for ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation for analytical 

test methods for cannabis-related analysis for 

pharmaceutical processors. No laboratory shall use 

nonaccredited analytical test methods for cannabis-related 

analysis for pharmaceutical processors if it has applied for 

and has not received ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation within 

two years. The laboratory may request, and the board may 

grant for good cause shown, additional time for the 

laboratory to utilize nonaccredited analytical test methods 

for cannabis-related analysis. 

d. At such time that a laboratory loses its ISO/IEC 17025 

accreditation for any cannabis-related analytical test 

methods for pharmaceutical processors, it shall inform the 

board within 24 hours. The laboratory shall immediately 

stop handling, testing, or analyzing cannabis for 

pharmaceutical processors; and 

5. Complies with a transportation protocol for transporting 

cannabis or cannabis products to or from itself or to or from 

pharmaceutical processors. 

B. After processing and before dispensing the cannabis oil 

product, a pharmaceutical processor shall make a sample 

available from each homogenized batch of product for a 

laboratory to (i) test for microbiological contaminants, 

mycotoxins, heavy metals, residual solvents, and pesticide 

chemical residue; and (ii) conduct an active ingredient analysis 

and terpenes profile. Each laboratory shall determine a valid 
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sample size for testing, which may vary due to sample matrix, 

analytical method, and laboratory-specific procedures. A 

minimum sample size of 0.5% of individual units for 

dispensing or distribution from each homogenized batch of 

cannabis oil is required to achieve a representative sample for 

analysis. Laboratories shall perform a visual inspection for 

homogeneity and reject heterogeneous samples. 

C. A pharmaceutical processor or cannabis cultivation facility 

shall make a sample available from each harvest batch of 

botanical cannabis product to (i) test for microbiological 

contaminants, mycotoxins, heavy metals, pesticide chemical 

residue, water activity, and moisture content and (ii) conduct 

an active ingredient analysis and terpenes profile. In 

determining the minimum sample size for testing from each 

batch of botanical cannabis, the The certified testing laboratory 

may determine the minimum sample size for testing from each 

batch. The sample must be representative of the entire batch to 

include selection from various points in the batch lot and be of 

sufficient sample size to allow for analysis of all required tests. 

D. From the time that a batch of cannabis product has been 

sampled for testing until the laboratory provides the results 

from its tests and analysis, the pharmaceutical processor shall 

segregate and withhold from use the entire batch, except the 

samples that have been removed by the laboratory for testing. 

During this period of segregation, the pharmaceutical 

processor shall maintain the batch in a secure, cool, and dry 

location so as to prevent the batch from becoming 

contaminated or losing its efficacy. 

E. Under no circumstances shall a pharmaceutical processor 

or cannabis dispensing facility sell a cannabis product prior to 

the time that the laboratory has completed its testing and 

analysis and provided a certificate of analysis to the 

pharmaceutical processor. 

F. The processor shall require the laboratory to immediately 

return or properly dispose of any cannabis products and 

materials upon the completion of any testing, use, or research. 

G. A sample of cannabis oil product shall pass the 

microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy metal, or residual solvent 

test based on the standards set forth in this subsection, the. The 

batch may be remediated with further processing. 

1. For purposes of the microbiological test, a cannabis oil 

sample shall be deemed to have passed if it satisfies the 

standards set forth in Table 1 of Section 1111 of the United 

States Pharmacopeia. 

2. For purposes of the mycotoxin test, a sample of cannabis 

oil product shall be deemed to have passed if it meets the 

following standards: the sum of aflatoxins B1, B2, G1, and 

G2 and ochratoxin A is less than 20 parts per billion. 

Test Specification 

 

Aflatoxin B1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin B2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Ochratoxin A <20 ug/kg of Substance 

3. For purposes of the heavy metal test, a sample of cannabis 

oil product shall be deemed to have passed if it meets the 

following standards: 

Metal Limits - parts per million 

(ppm) 

Arsenic <10 ppm 

Cadmium <4.1 ppm 

Lead <10 ppm 

Mercury <2 ppm 

4. For purposes of the pesticide chemical residue test, a 

sample of cannabis oil product shall be deemed to have 

passed if it satisfies the most stringent acceptable standard 

for a pesticide chemical residue in any food item as set forth 

in Subpart C of the federal Environmental Protection 

Agency's regulations for Tolerances and Exemptions for 

Pesticide Chemical Residues in Food (40 CFR Part 180). 

5. For purposes of the active ingredient analysis, a sample of 

the cannabis oil product shall be tested for: 

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

c. Cannabidiols (CBD); and 

d. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA). 

6. For the purposes of the residual solvent test, a sample of 

the cannabis oil product shall be deemed to have passed if it 

meets the standards and limits recommended by the 

American Herbal Pharmacopia for Cannabis Inflorescence 

the sample contains 290 parts per million or less of hexane 

and 5,000 parts per million or less of the other solvents 

approved under 3VAC10-50-60 H. 

H. A sample of botanical cannabis product shall pass the 

microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy metal, water activity, or 

moisture content test based on the standards set forth in this 

subsection. 

1. For purposes of the microbiological test, a botanical 

cannabis sample shall be deemed to have passed if it satisfies 

the standards set forth in the most current American Herbal 

Pharmacopoeia Cannabis Inflorescence Standards of 

Identity, Analysis, and Quality Control. 

2. For purposes of the mycotoxin test, a sample of botanical 

cannabis shall be deemed to have passed if it meets the 
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following standards: the sum of aflatoxins B1, B2, G1, and 

G2 and ochratoxin A is less than 20 parts per billion. 

Test Specification 

Aflatoxin B1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin B2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Ochratoxin A <20 ug/kg of Substance 

3. For purposes of the heavy metal test, a sample of botanical 

cannabis shall be deemed to have passed if it meets the 

following standards: 

Metal Limits - parts per million (ppm) 

Arsenic <10 ppm 

Cadmium <4.1 ppm 

Lead <10 ppm 

Mercury <2 ppm 

4. For purposes of the pesticide chemical residue test, a 

sample of botanical cannabis shall be deemed to have passed 

if it satisfies the most stringent acceptable standard for a 

pesticide chemical residue in any food item as set forth in 

Subpart C of the federal Environmental Protection Agency's 

regulations for Tolerances and Exemptions for Pesticide 

Chemical Residues in Food (40 CFR Part 180). 

5. For purposes of the active ingredient analysis, a sample of 

the botanical cannabis shall be tested for: 

a. Total tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); and 

b. Total cannabidiol (CBD). 

6. For the purposes of water activity and moisture content 

for botanical cannabis, the botanical cannabis shall be 

deemed to have passed if the water activity rate does not 

exceed 0.65Aw and the moisture content does not exceed 

15%. 

I. If a sample of cannabis product passes the required tests 

listed in subsections G and H of this section, the entire batch 

may be utilized by the processor for immediate packaging and 

labeling for sale. An expiration date shall be assigned to the 

product that is based upon validated stability testing that 

addresses product stability when opened and the shelf-life shelf 

life for unopened products, except stability testing shall not be 

required for cannabis products if an expiration date of six 12 

months or less from the date of the cannabis product 

registration approval is signed. 

J. The processor shall require the laboratory to file with the 

board an electronic copy of each laboratory test result for any 

batch that does not pass the required tests listed in subsections 

G and H of this section at the same time that it transmits those 

results to the pharmaceutical processor. In addition, the 

laboratory shall maintain the laboratory test results and make 

them available to the board or an agent of the board. 

K. Each medical cannabis facility shall have such laboratory 

results available upon request to patients, parents, legal 

guardians, registered agents, practitioners who have certified 

qualifying patients, the board, or an agent of the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8119; Filed October 28, 2024, 5:21 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Directors of the 

Virginia Cannabis Control Authority is claiming an exemption 

from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 4.1-

1602 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts adoption of 

regulations if prior to adoption, the board publishes a notice of 

opportunity to comment in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and posts the action on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall. Such notice of opportunity to comment shall 

contain (i) a summary of the proposed regulation; (ii) the text 

of the proposed regulation; and (iii) the name, address, and 

telephone number of the agency contact person responsible for 

receiving public comments. Such notice shall be made at least 

60 days in advance of the last date prescribed in such notice for 

submittals of public comment. 

Titles of Regulations: 3VAC10-70. Labeling and Packaging 

(amending 3VAC10-70-10, 3VAC10-70-20, 3VAC10-70-

30; adding 3VAC10-70-40, 3VAC10-70-50). 

3VAC10-80. Enforcement (amending 3VAC10-80-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-601, 4.1-604, and 4.1-606 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 16, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jake Shuford, Legislative and Regulatory 

Manager, Virginia Cannabis Control Authority, 333 East 

Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 873-

9038, or email jake.shuford@cca.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) define "universal symbol" and require 

the symbol to be included on the package of cannabis 

products as is customary in other medical cannabis 

programs; (ii) increase product transparency for patients by 

adding or specifying labeling requirements such as product 

descriptions and use instructions, child and safety warnings, 

and information required on the immediate container; and 

(iii) pursuant to Chapter 732 of the 2024 Acts of 

Assembly,extend the expiration date of cannabis products 

from six months to 12 months.  
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3VAC10-70-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in the Cannabis 

Control Act (§ 4.1-600 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 

following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have 

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Batch" means a quantity of (i) cannabis oil from a production 

lot or (ii) harvested botanical cannabis product that is identified 

by a batch number or other unique identifier. 

"Board" means the Board of Directors of the Cannabis 

Control Authority. 

"Production" or "produce" means the manufacture, planting, 

preparation, cultivation, growing, harvesting, propagation, 

conversion, or processing of marijuana for the creation of 

usable cannabis, botanical cannabis, or a cannabis product 

derived thereof (i) directly or indirectly by extraction from 

substances of natural origin; (ii) independently by means of 

chemical synthesis; or (iii) by a combination of extraction and 

chemical synthesis. "Production" or "produce" includes any 

packaging or repackaging of the substance or labeling or 

relabeling of its container. 

"Universal symbol" means the image established by the 

authority and made available on the authority's website 

indicating that the package contains medical cannabis. 

3VAC10-70-20. Labeling of batch of cannabis products. 

A. Cannabis products produced as a batch shall not be 

adulterated Each container and layer of packaging containing 

cannabis shall prominently display the universal symbol. 

B. Cannabis products produced as a batch shall be: 

1. Unadulterated; 

2. Processed, packaged, and labeled according to the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration's Current Good 

Manufacturing Practice in Manufacturing, Packaging, 

Labeling, or Holding Operations for Dietary Supplements 

(21 CFR Part 111); and 

2. 3. Labeled with: 

a. The name and address of the pharmaceutical processor; 

b. The cannabis product name that was registered with the 

board pursuant to 18VAC110-20-285 § 4.1-1603.2 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

c. A description of the product's purpose and instructions 

for use;  

d. Child and safety warnings, as approved by the authority, 

in a conspicuous font;  

e. A unique serial number that matches the product with 

the pharmaceutical processor batch and lot number, 

including the cultivator and manufacturer if produced 

from bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, or usable 

cannabis obtained through distribution from another 

pharmaceutical processor, so as to facilitate any warnings 

or recalls the board or pharmaceutical processor deem 

appropriate; 

d. f. The date of testing and packaging; 

e. g. For products produced from bulk cannabis oil, 

botanical cannabis, or usable cannabis obtained through 

distribution from another pharmaceutical processor, the 

name and address of the testing laboratory; 

f. h. The expiration date, which shall be six 12 months or 

less from the date of the cannabis product registration 

approval, unless supported by stability testing; 

g. i. The quantity of cannabis products contained in the 

batch; 

h. j. A terpenes profile and a list of all active and inactive 

ingredients, including: 

(1) Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

(2) Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

(3) Cannabidiol (CBD); and 

(4) Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA); 

i. For botanical cannabis products, list of only total 

cannabidiol (CBD) and total tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

j. k. For cannabis oil products, pass or fail rating based on 

the laboratory's microbiological, mycotoxins, heavy 

metals, residual solvents, and pesticide chemical residue 

analysis; and 

k. l. For botanical cannabis products, a pass or fail rating 

based on the laboratory's microbiological, mycotoxins, 

heavy metals, pesticide chemical residue analysis, water 

activity, and moisture content. 

C. If the immediate container is too small, then an outer layer 

of packaging shall include the requirements of subdivision B 3 

of this section and the immediate container shall include: 

1. Pharmaceutical processor name, telephone number, and 

email or website; 

2. The cannabis product name that was registered with the 

board pursuant to § 4.1-1603.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. The serial number assigned to the product during 

production; 

4. A prominently printed expiration date; 

5. The quantity of cannabis products by weight, volume, or 

count and weight; and 

6. A list of all active ingredients, including:  

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC);  

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A);  

c. Cannabidiol (CBD); and  

d. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA). 
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D. Labels may be accordion, expandable, extendable, or 

layered to permit labeling of containers of any manner of size 

or shape.  

E. Cannabis vaporizer cartridges shall bear a universal 

symbol no smaller than one-quarter-inch wide by one-quarter-

inch high that is engraved, printed, or affixed with a sticker.  

F. No pharmaceutical processor shall label cannabis products 

as "organic" unless the cannabis plants have been organically 

grown and the cannabis oil products have been produced, 

processed, manufactured, and certified to be consistent with 

organic standards in compliance with 7 CFR Part 205.  

3VAC10-70-30. Labeling of bulk cannabis oil, botanical 

cannabis, and usable cannabis. 

A. Bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis 

shall not be adulterated. 

B. Bulk cannabis oil, botanical cannabis, and usable 

cannabis produced for wholesale distribution shall be: 

1. Processed, packaged, and labeled according to the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration's Current Good 

Manufacturing Practice in Manufacturing, Packaging, 

Labeling, or Holding Operations for Dietary Supplements 

(21 CFR Part 111), except as exempted in this section; 

2. Packaged in a tamper-evident container; and 

3. Labeled with: 

a. The name and addresses of the pharmaceutical 

processor distributing the product and the pharmaceutical 

processor receiving the product; 

b. The quantity or weight of the cannabis oil, botanical 

cannabis, or usable cannabis in the container; 

c. Identification of the contents of the container, including 

a brief description of the type or form of cannabis oil, 

botanical cannabis, or usable cannabis and the strain name, 

as appropriate; 

d. The prominent statement "Not Packaged for Final 

Sale"; 

e. A unique serial number that will match a cannabis 

product with the cultivator and manufacturer and lot or 

batch number so as to facilitate any warnings or recalls the 

board or pharmaceutical processor deem appropriate; and 

f. The dates date of harvest and packaging and, for 

botanical cannabis, the date of harvest. 

C. Cannabis products produced from bulk cannabis oil, 

botanical cannabis, and usable cannabis shall comply with all 

laboratory testing and labeling requirements prior to 

dispensing. 

3VAC10-70-40. Dispensing label requirements.  

A. The pharmacist or pharmacy technician under the direct 

supervision of the pharmacist shall affix a label, in a manner 

provided by the board, to each cannabis product, including:  

1. A serial number assigned to the dispensing of the 

product;  

2. The cannabis product name that was registered with the 

board pursuant to 3VAC10-50-70 and its strength;  

3. The serial number assigned to the product during 

production;  

4. The date of dispensing the cannabis product;  

5. The quantity of cannabis products dispensed;  

6. A terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, 

including:  

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC);  

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A);  

c. Cannabidiol (CBD); and  

d. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA);  

7. A pass rating based on the laboratory's microbiological, 

mycotoxins, heavy metals, residual solvents, and pesticide 

chemical residue analysis and, for botanical cannabis, the 

water activity and moisture content analysis;  

8. The name of the patient;  

9. The name of the certifying practitioner;  

10. Directions for use as may be provided by the 

practitioner, on the written certification or otherwise, or the 

dispensing pharmacist;  

11. For botanical cannabis, the amount recommended by 

the practitioner or dispensing pharmacist;  

12. The name or initials of the dispensing pharmacist;  

13. The name, address, and telephone number of the 

pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing facility;  

14. Any necessary cautionary statement;  

15. A prominently printed expiration date; and  

16. The recommended conditions of use and storage from 

the pharmaceutical processor or cannabis dispensing 

facility that can be read and understood by the ordinary 

individual.  

B. The label shall be exempt from containing the items 

listed in subdivisions A 6, A 7, and A 15 of this section if the 

items are included on the batch label as required in 3VAC10-

70-20 and are clearly visible to the patient.  

C. No person, except a pharmacist or a pharmacy technician 

operating under the direct supervision of a pharmacist, shall 

alter, deface, or remove any label so affixed.  
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3VAC10-70-50. Medical cannabis packaging 

requirements.  

A. Packaging shall be child-resistant, except as provided in 

3VAC10-40-20 A, tamper-resistant, and light-resistant based 

on the following standards:  

1. A package shall be deemed child-resistant if it satisfies the 

standard for "special packaging" as set forth in the Poison 

Prevention Packaging Act of 1970 Regulations, 16 CFR 

1700.1(b)(4). A pharmaceutical processor shall maintain a 

copy of the certificate showing that any packaging 

containing medical cannabis is child-resistant and complies 

with the requirements of 16 CFR 1700.15 and 16 CFR 

1700.25;  

2. A package shall be deemed tamper-resistant if it has one 

or more indicators or barriers to entry that would preclude 

its contents from being accessed or adulterated without 

indicating to a reasonable person that the package was 

breached; and  

3. A package shall be deemed light-resistant if it is entirely 

and uniformly opaque and protects the whole of its contents 

from the effects of light.  

B. No packaging shall (i) bear any reasonable resemblance to 

a trademarked, characteristic, or product-specialized 

packaging of any commercially available candy, snack, baked 

good, or beverage or (ii) be visually similar to packaging used 

for any good that is marketed to an audience reasonably 

expected to be younger than 21 years of age.  

3VAC10-80-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in the Cannabis 

Control Act (§ 4.1-600 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 

following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have 

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Board" means the Board of Directors of the Cannabis 

Control Authority. 

"Certification" means a written statement, consistent with 

requirements of § 4.1-1601 of the Code of Virginia, issued by 

a practitioner for the use of cannabis products for treatment of 

or to alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or 

disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use. 

"Medical cannabis facility" means a pharmaceutical 

processor, cannabis dispensing facility, or cannabis cultivation 

facility. 

"Qualifying patient" means a Virginia resident who has 

received from a practitioner, as defined in § 4.1-1600 of the 

Code of Virginia, a written certification for the use of cannabis 

products for treatment of or to alleviate the symptoms of any 

diagnosed condition or disease. 

"Registration" means an identification card or other document 

issued by the board that identifies a person as a qualifying 

patient, parent, legal guardian, or registered agent that has 

voluntarily registered with the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8118; Filed October 28, 2024, 5:22 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Blue Crab 

Fishery (adding 4VAC20-270-57). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 

96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, FAX 

(757) 247-2002, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments close the winter crab dredge fishery 

season from December 1, 2024, through March 31, 2025. 

4VAC20-270-57. Crab dredge fishery.  

In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of the Code 

of Virginia, the crab dredging season of December 1, 2024, 

through March 31, 2025, is closed, and it shall be unlawful to 

use a dredge for catching crabs from the waters of the 

Commonwealth during that season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8110; Filed October 28, 2024, 3:06 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Energy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-31. Reclamation Regulations 

for Mineral Mining (amending 4VAC25-31-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.2-103 and 45.2-1202 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Larry Corkey, Policy and Planning Manager, 

Department of Energy, 1100 Bank Street, Eighth Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone (804) 692-3239, or 

email larry.corkey@energy.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 224 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments update rules regarding the construction or 

expansion of farm ponds when the farm pond is being 

increased beyond a one-time occurrence.  

4VAC25-31-70. Exemptions. 

A. These regulations shall not apply to: 

1. Excavation or grading when conducted solely to aid on-

site farming or construction. Such exemption shall not be 

construed to limit a landowner in a one-time construction or 

expansion of a farm pond for agricultural irrigation or 

provision of water for livestock to beneficially reuse the soil 

or sand, provided that such pond construction or expansion 

project (i) is a one-time activity on that parcel of land, (ii) is 

completed within six months, (iii) results in a pond that is 

less than three acres in total, and (iv) has all necessary 

permits and local approvals in place before such activity 

begins; 

2. Mining of coal, unless the coal is mined incidental to the 

mining of minerals; 

3. Searching, prospecting, exploring, or investigating for 

minerals by drilling; and 

4. Excavation or grading when conducted by an agency or 

governmental unit of the Commonwealth, local government, 

or the federal government using government employees. 

B. The surface extraction of minerals shall not constitute 

mineral mining unless: 

1. The mineral is extracted for its unique or intrinsic 

characteristics; or: 

2. The mineral requires processing prior to its intended use. 

C. When considering whether an operation is exempt, the 

director shall consider the length of time or duration of the 

activity, whether it is a one-time activity, and whether all 

necessary permits and approvals are in place before the activity 

begins. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8024; Filed October 22, 2024, 9:29 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Energy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 4VAC25-31. Reclamation Regulations 

for Mineral Mining (amending 4VAC25-31-360). 

4VAC25-40. Safety and Health Regulations for Mineral 

Mining (adding 4VAC25-40-389). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.2-103 and 45.2-1202 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Larry Corkey, Policy and Planning Manager, 

Department of Energy, 1100 Bank Street, Eighth Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone (804) 692-3239, or 

email larry.corkey@energy.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 135 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments prohibit use of cyanide or cyanide compound 

in mineral mining or processing operations.  

4VAC25-31-360. Operation and reclamation. 

A. Mining operations shall be conducted to minimize adverse 

effects on the environment and facilitate integration of 

reclamation with mining operations according to the special 

requirements of individual mineral types and the approved 

operation, drainage, and reclamation plans. Mining shall be 

conducted to minimize the acreage that is disturbed, and 

reclamation shall be conducted simultaneously with mining to 

the extent feasible. No mining operation shall use cyanide or a 

cyanide compound in any mineral mining or processing 

operation. 

B. Open pit mining of unconsolidated material shall be 

performed in such a way that extraction and reclamation are 

conducted simultaneously. 

C. Mining activities shall be conducted so that the impact on 

water quality and quantity are minimized. Mining below the 

water table shall be done in accordance with the mining plan 

under 4VAC25-31-130. 

D. Permanent lakes or ponds created by mining shall be equal 

to or greater than four feet deep, or otherwise constructed in a 

manner acceptable to the director. 

E. Excavation shall be done in such a manner as to keep storm 

drainage flowing toward sediment control structures. 

Diversions shall be used to minimize storm runoff over 

disturbed areas. 

mailto:larry.corkey@energy.virginia.gov
mailto:larry.corkey@energy.virginia.gov
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F. The mining operation shall be planned to enhance the 

appearance to the public during mining and to achieve 

simultaneous and final reclamation. 

G. At the completion of mining, all entrances to underground 

mines shall be closed or secured and the surface area reclaimed 

in accordance with the mineral mining plan. 

H. Reclamation shall be completed to allow the post-mining 

land use to be implemented. After reclamation, the post mining 

land use shall be achievable and compatible with surrounding 

land use. All necessary permits and approvals for the post-

mining land use shall be obtained prior to implementation. 

4VAC25-40-389. Prohibition on cyanide.  

No miner or other person shall use cyanide or a cyanide 

compound in any mineral mining or processing operation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8026; Filed October 22, 2024, 9:30 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulation provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Water Control Board is 

also claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3 of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that consist only of changes in style 

or form or corrections of technical errors. The board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-31. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit Regulation 

(amending 9VAC25-31-25). 

9VAC25-32. Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit 

Regulation (amending 9VAC25-32-25). 

9VAC25-110. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit Regulation for Domestic 

Sewage Discharges of Less Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons 

Per Day (amending 9VAC25-110-15). 

9VAC25-115. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit Regulation for Seafood 

Processing Facilities (amending 9VAC25-115-15). 

9VAC25-120. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit Regulation for 

Discharges from Groundwater Remediation of 

Contaminated Sites, Dewatering Activities of 

Contaminated Sites, and Hydrostatic Tests (amending 

9VAC25-120-15). 

9VAC25-151. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit Regulation for 

Discharges of Stormwater Associated with Industrial 

Activity (amending 9VAC25-151-15). 

9VAC25-190. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit Regulation for 

Nonmetallic Mineral Mining (amending 9VAC25-190-15). 

9VAC25-193. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit Regulation for Concrete 

Products Facilities (amending 9VAC25-193-15). 

9VAC25-194. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit Regulation for Vehicle 

Wash Facilities and Laundry Facilities (amending 

9VAC25-194-15). 

9VAC25-196. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit for Noncontact Cooling 

Water Discharges of 50,000 Gallons Per Day or Less 

(amending 9VAC25-196-15). 

9VAC25-210. Virginia Water Protection Permit Program 

Regulation (amending 9VAC25-210-90). 

9VAC25-610. Groundwater Withdrawal Regulations 

(amending 9VAC25-610-130). 

9VAC25-630. Virginia Pollution Abatement Regulation 

and General Permit for Poultry Waste Management 

(amending 9VAC25-630-50). 

9VAC25-660. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 

for Impacts Less Than One-Half Acre (amending 9VAC25-

660-100). 

9VAC25-670. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 

for Facilities and Activities of Utility and Public Service 

Companies Regulated by the Federal Energy Regulatory 

Commission or the State Corporation Commission and 

Other Utility Line Activities (amending 9VAC25-670-100). 

9VAC25-680. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 

for Linear Transportation Projects (amending 9VAC25-

680-100). 

9VAC25-690. Virginia Water Protection General Permit 

for Impacts from Development and Certain Mining 

Activities (amending 9VAC25-690-100). 

9VAC25-790. Sewage Collection and Treatment 

Regulations (amending 9VAC25-790-210). 

9VAC25-800. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit Regulation for 

Discharges Resulting from the Application of Pesticides to 

Surface Waters (amending 9VAC25-800-15). 

9VAC25-820. General Virginia Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (VPDES) Watershed Permit 

Regulation for Total Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus 
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Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the Chesapeake Bay 

Watershed in Virginia (amending 9VAC25-820-15). 

9VAC25-860. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System General Permit Regulation for Potable Water 

Treatment Plants (amending 9VAC25-860-15). 

9VAC25-875. Virginia Erosion and Stormwater 

Management Regulation (amending 9VAC25-875-30). 

9VAC25-880. General VPDES Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Construction Activities (amending 

9VAC25-880-15). 

9VAC25-890. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer 

Systems (MS4s) (amending 9VAC25-890-15). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2024. 

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 350-

2743, or email william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Background: The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA) finalized changes to its test procedures required by 

industries and municipalities when analyzing the chemical, 

physical, and biological properties of wastewater and other 

environmental samples for reporting under the EPA National 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permit 

Program. The Clean Water Act (CWA) (33 USC § 1342) 

requires EPA to promulgate these test procedures (analytical 

methods) for analysis of pollutants. EPA anticipated that these 

changes would provide increased flexibility for the regulated 

community in meeting monitoring requirements while 

improving data quality. In addition, this update to the CWA 

methods incorporated technological advances in analytical 

technology. Section 402 of the Clean Water Act authorizes 

states to administer the NPDES Permit Program under state 

law. The Commonwealth of Virginia received such 

authorization in 1975 under the terms of a Memorandum of 

Understanding with EPA and operates the Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System Program, and Virginia 

regulations need to maintain consistency with the federal 

regulations. 

Summary: 

The amendments update 25 State Water Control Board 

regulations to incorporate the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency Methods Update Rule amendments, 

effective June 17, 2024, by bringing references to 40 CFR 

Part 136 up to date with the requirements published July 

1, 2024.  

9VAC25-31-25. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced and incorporated in this 

chapter, that regulation shall be as it exists and has been 

published in the July 1, 2023, update; however, references to 

40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as published in the July 1, 

2024, update. 

9VAC25-32-25. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced and incorporated in this 

chapter, that regulation shall be as it exists and has been 

published in the July 1, 2023, update; however, references to 

40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as published in the July 1, 

2024, update. 

9VAC25-110-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced and incorporated herein in 

this chapter, that regulation shall be as it exists and has been 

published as of July 1, 2021; however, references to 40 CFR 

Part 136 are incorporated as published in the July 1, 2024, 

update. 

9VAC25-115-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced or adopted in this chapter and 

incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it exists 

and has been published as of July 1, 2020; however, references 

to 40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as published in the July 1, 

2024, update. 

9VAC25-120-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) is referenced or adopted in this 

chapter and incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be 

as it exists and has been published as of July 1, 2022; however, 

references to 40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as published in 

the July 1, 2024, update. 

9VAC25-151-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced and incorporated into this 

chapter, that regulation shall be as it exists and has been 

published as of July 1, 2023; however, references to 40 CFR 

Part 136 are incorporated as published in the July 1, 2024, 

update. 

mailto:william.norris@deq.virginia.gov
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9VAC25-190-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced or adopted in this chapter and 

incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it exists 

and has been published as of July 1, 2023; however, references 

to 40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as published in the July 1, 

2024, update. 

9VAC25-193-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced or adopted in this chapter and 

incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it exists 

and has been published as of July 1, 2022; however, references 

to 40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as published in the July 1, 

2024, update. 

9VAC25-194-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) is referenced or adopted in this 

chapter and incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be 

as it exists and has been published as of July 1, 2021; however, 

references to 40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as published in 

the July 1, 2024, update. 

9VAC25-196-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced or adopted in this chapter and 

incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it exists 

and has been published as of July 1, 2022; however, references 

to 40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as published in the July 1, 

2024, update. 

9VAC25-210-90. Conditions applicable to all VWP 

permits. 

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions and limitations of the VWP permit. Nothing in this 

chapter shall be construed to relieve the permittee of the duty 

to comply with all applicable federal and state statutes, 

regulations, toxic standards, and prohibitions. Any VWP 

permit violation or noncompliance is a violation of the Clean 

Water Act and State Water Control Law and is grounds for 

enforcement action, VWP permit termination, VWP permit 

revocation, VWP permit modification, or denial of an 

application for a VWP permit extension or reissuance. 

B. Duty to cease or confine activity. It shall not be a defense 

for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for which a VWP 

permit has been granted in order to maintain compliance with 

the conditions of the VWP permit. 

C. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any impacts in violation of the 

VWP permit that may have a reasonable likelihood of 

adversely affecting human health or the environment. 

D. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, the 

permittee shall allow the department or any duly authorized 

agent of the department, at reasonable times and under 

reasonable circumstances, to conduct the actions listed in this 

section. For the purpose of this section, the time for inspection 

shall be deemed reasonable during regular business hours. 

Nothing contained herein shall make an inspection time 

unreasonable during an emergency. 

1. Enter upon permittee's property, public or private, and 

have access to, inspect and copy any records that must be 

kept as part of the VWP permit conditions; 

2. Inspect any facilities, operations or practices (including 

monitoring and control equipment) regulated or required 

under the VWP permit; and 

3. Sample or monitor any substance, parameter, or activity 

for the purpose of ensuring compliance with the conditions 

of the VWP permit or as otherwise authorized by law. 

E. Duty to provide information. Plans, maps, conceptual 

reports, and other relevant information shall be submitted as 

required by the department prior to commencing construction. 

F. Monitoring and records requirements. 

1. Monitoring of parameters, other than pollutants, shall be 

conducted according to approved analytical methods as 

specified in the VWP permit. Analysis of pollutants will be 

conducted according to 40 CFR Part 136 as published in the 

40 CFR July 1, 2023 2024, update. 

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart or electronic recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the VWP permit, and records of all data 

used to complete the application for the VWP permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of permit 

expiration. This period may be extended by request of the 

department at any time. 

4. Records of monitoring information shall include as 

appropriate: 

a. The date, exact place and time of sampling or 

measurements; 
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b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date and time the analyses were performed; 

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 

information such as observations, readings, calculations, 

and bench data used; 

f. The results of such analyses; and 

g. Chain of custody documentation. 

G. Duty to reapply. Any permittee desiring to continue a 

previously permitted activity after the expiration date of the 

VWP permit shall apply for and obtain a new permit or, if 

applicable, shall request an extension in accordance with 

9VAC25-210-180. 

9VAC25-610-130. Conditions applicable to all 

groundwater permits. 

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of the permit. Nothing in this chapter shall be 

construed to relieve the groundwater withdrawal permit holder 

of the duty to comply with all applicable federal and state 

statutes and prohibitions. At a minimum, a person must obtain 

a well construction permit or a well site approval letter from 

the Virginia Department of Health prior to the construction of 

any well for any withdrawal authorized by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Any permit violation is a violation of 

the law and is grounds for enforcement action, permit 

termination, revocation, modification, or denial of a permit 

application. 

B. Duty to cease or confine activity. It shall not be a defense 

for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for which a permit 

has been granted in order to maintain compliance with the 

conditions of the permit. 

C. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to: 

1. Avoid all adverse impacts to lawful groundwater users 

that could result from the withdrawal; and 

2. Where impacts cannot be avoided, provide mitigation of 

the adverse impact as described in 9VAC25-610-110 D 3 g. 

D. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, the 

permittee shall allow the department or any duly authorized 

agent of the department, at reasonable times and under 

reasonable circumstances, to conduct actions listed in this 

section. For the purpose of this section, the time for inspection 

shall be deemed reasonable during regular business hours. 

Nothing contained herein shall make an inspection time 

unreasonable during an emergency. 

1. Entry upon any permittee's property, public or private, and 

have access to, inspect and copy any records that must be 

kept as part of the permit conditions; 

2. Inspect any facilities, operations, or practices (including 

monitoring and control equipment) regulated or required 

under the permit; and 

3. Sample or monitor any substance, parameter, or activity 

for the purpose of ensuring compliance with the conditions 

of the permit or as otherwise authorized by law. 

E. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish to 

the department, within a reasonable time, any information that 

the department may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying or revoking, reissuing, or terminating the permit 

or to determine compliance with the permit. The permittee 

shall also furnish to the department, upon request, copies of 

records required to be kept by the permittee. 

F. Monitoring and records requirements. 

1. Monitoring of parameters, other than pollutants, shall be 

conducted according to approved analytical methods as 

specified in the permit. Analysis of pollutants will be conducted 

according to 40 CFR Part 136 as published in the 40 CFR July 

1, 2023 2024, update. 

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance records 

and all original strip chart or electronic recordings for 

continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all reports 

required by the permit, and records of all data used to complete 

the application for the permit, for a period of at least three years 

from the date of the expiration of a granted permit. This period 

may be extended by request of the department at any time. 

4. Records of monitoring information shall include as 

appropriate: 

a. The date, exact place and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The name of the individuals who performed the sampling 

or measurements; 

c. The date the analyses were performed; 

d. The name of the individuals who performed the analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 

information such as observations, readings, calculations, and 

bench data used; 

f. The results of such analyses; and 

g. Chain of custody documentation. 

G. Permit action. 

1. A permit may be modified or revoked as set forth in Part VI 

(9VAC25-610-290 et seq.) of this chapter. 

2. If a permittee files a request for permit modification or 

revocation, or files a notification of planned changes, or 
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anticipated noncompliance, the permit terms and conditions 

shall remain effective until the department makes a final case 

decision. This provision shall not be used to extend the 

expiration date of the effective permit. 

3. Permits may be modified or revoked upon the request of the 

permittee, or upon department initiative, to reflect the 

requirements of any changes in the statutes or regulations. 

9VAC25-630-50. Contents of the general permit. 

Any poultry grower, poultry waste end-user, or poultry waste 

broker whose registration statement is accepted by the board will 

receive the following general permit and shall comply with the 

requirements therein and be subject to the VPA Permit Regulation, 

9VAC25-32. 

General Permit No. VPG2 

Effective Date: February 17, 2021 

Expiration Date: February 16, 2031 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR POULTRY WASTE 

MANAGEMENT 

AUTHORIZATION TO MANAGE POLLUTANTS UNDER 

THE VIRGINIA POLLUTION ABATEMENT PROGRAM 

AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the State Water Control 

Law (§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and State Water 

Control Board regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of 

confined poultry feeding operations having 200 or more animal 

units, poultry waste end-users, and poultry waste brokers are 

authorized to manage pollutants within the boundaries of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, except where board regulations 

prohibit such activities. 

The authorized pollutant management activities shall be in 

accordance with the registration statement and supporting 

documents submitted to the Department of Environmental 

Quality, this cover page, and Part I—Pollutant Management and 

Monitoring Requirements for Confined Poultry Feeding 

Operations and Part II—Conditions Applicable to All VPA 

Permits and Part III—Pollutant Management and Monitoring 

Requirements for Poultry Waste End-Users and Poultry Waste 

Brokers, as set forth herein. 

Part I  

Pollutant Management and Monitoring Requirements for 

Confined Poultry Feeding Operations 

A. Pollutant management authorization and monitoring 

requirements. 

1. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 

under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to manage pollutants 

at the location or locations identified in the registration 

statement and the facility's approved nutrient management plan. 

2. If poultry waste is land applied, it shall be applied at the rates 

specified in the facility's approved nutrient management plan. 

3. Soil at the land application sites shall be monitored as 

specified in the following table. Additional soils monitoring 

may be required in the facility's approved nutrient management 

plan. 

SOILS MONITORING 

PARAMETE

RS 

LIMITATIO

NS 

UNIT

S 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

Frequen

cy 

Sample 

Type 

pH NL SU 
1/3 

years 

Composi

te * 

Phosphorus NL 

ppm 

or 

lbs/ac 

1/3 

years 

Composi

te * 

Potash NL 

ppm 

or 

lbs/ac 

1/3 

years 

Composi

te * 

Calcium NL 

ppm 

or 

lbs/ac 

1/3 

years 

Composi

te * 

Magnesium NL 

ppm 

or 

lbs/ac 

1/3 

years 

Composi

te * 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

SU = Standard Units 

*Specific sampling requirements are found in the facility's 

approved nutrient management plan. 

4. Poultry waste shall be monitored as specified below. 

Additional waste monitoring may be required in the facility's 

approved nutrient management plan. 

WASTE MONITORING 

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

Total Kjeldahl Nitrogen NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Ammonia Nitrogen NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Total Phosphorus NL * 1/3 years Composite 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 7  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 18, 2024  

807 

Total Potassium NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Moisture Content NL % 1/3 years Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

*Parameters for waste may be reported as a percent, as lbs/ton or lbs/1000 gallons, or as ppm where appropriate. 

5. Analysis of soil and waste shall be according to methods 

specified in the facility's approved nutrient management 

plan. 

6. All monitoring data required by Part I A shall be 

maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Reporting 

of results to the department is not required; however, the 

monitoring results shall be made available to department 

personnel upon request. 

B. Site design, storage, and operation requirements. 

1. The confined poultry feeding operation shall be designed 

and operated to (i) prevent point source discharges of 

pollutants to state waters except in the case of a storm event 

greater than the 25-year, 24-hour storm and (ii) provide 

adequate waste storage capacity to accommodate periods 

when the ground is ice covered, snow covered or saturated, 

periods when land application of nutrients should not occur 

due to limited or nonexistent crop nutrient uptake, and 

periods when physical limitations prohibit the land 

application of waste. 

2. Poultry waste shall be stored according to the nutrient 

management plan and in a manner that prevents contact with 

surface water and ground water. Poultry waste that is 

stockpiled outside of the growing house for more than 14 

days shall be kept in a facility or at a site that provides 

adequate storage. Adequate storage shall, at a minimum, 

include the following: 

a. Poultry waste shall be covered to protect it from 

precipitation and wind; 

b. Storm water shall not run onto or under the stored 

poultry waste; 

c. A minimum of two feet of separation distance to the 

seasonal high water table or an impermeable barrier shall 

be used under the stored poultry waste. All poultry waste 

storage facilities that use an impermeable barrier shall 

maintain a minimum of one foot of separation between the 

seasonal high water table and the impermeable barrier. 

Impermeable barriers must be constructed of at least 12 

inches of compacted clay, at least four inches of reinforced 

concrete, or another material of similar structural integrity 

that has a minimum permeability rating of 0.0014 inches 

per hour (1X10-6 centimeters per second); and 

d. For poultry waste that is not stored under roof, the 

storage site must be at least: 

(1) 100 feet from any surface water, intermittent drainage, 

wells, sinkholes, rock outcrops, and springs; and 

(2) 200 feet from any occupied dwellings not on the 

permittee's property, unless the occupant of the dwelling 

signs a waiver of the storage site. 

3. Poultry waste storage facilities constructed after 

December 1, 2000, shall not be located within a 100-year 

floodplain unless the poultry grower has no land outside the 

floodplain on which to construct the facility and the facility 

is constructed so that the poultry waste is stored above the 

100-year flood elevation or otherwise protected from 

floodwaters through the construction of berms or similar 

best management flood control structures. New, expanded, 

or replacement poultry growing houses that are constructed 

after December 1, 2000, shall not be located within a 100-

year floodplain unless they are part of an existing, ongoing 

confined poultry feeding operation and are constructed so 

that the poultry and poultry litter are housed above the 100-

year flood elevation or otherwise protected from floodwaters 

through construction of berms or similar best management 

flood control structures. For the purposes of determining the 

100-year floodplain, a Federal Emergency Management 

Agency (FEMA) Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM), a 

FEMA Letter of Map Amendment (LOMA), or a FEMA 

Letter of Map Revision (LOMR) shall be used. 

4. The permittee shall operate and manage the facility so that 

impervious surfaces such as concrete end pads or load-out 

pads and surrounding areas and ventilation outlets are kept 

clean of poultry waste. 

5. When the poultry waste storage facility is no longer 

needed, the permittee shall close it in a manner that (i) 

minimizes the need for further maintenance and (ii) controls, 

minimizes, or eliminates, to the extent necessary to protect 

human health and the environment, the postclosure escape 

of uncontrolled leachate, surface runoff, or waste 

decomposition products to the ground water, surface water, 

or the atmosphere. At closure, the permittee shall remove all 

poultry waste residue from the waste storage facility. At 

waste storage facilities without permanent covers and 

impermeable ground barriers, all residual poultry waste shall 

be removed from the surface below the stockpile when the 

poultry waste is taken out of storage. Removed waste 

materials shall be utilized according to the NMP. 

C. Poultry waste transfer and utilization requirements. 
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1. Poultry waste may be transferred from a permitted poultry 

grower to another person without identifying the fields 

where such waste will be utilized in the permitted poultry 

grower's approved nutrient management plan if the 

following conditions are met: 

a. When a poultry grower transfers to another person more 

than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day period, the 

poultry grower shall provide that person with: 

(1) Grower name, address, and permit number; 

(2) A copy of the most recent nutrient analysis of the 

poultry waste; and 

(3) A fact sheet. 

b. When a poultry grower transfers to another person more 

than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day period, the 

poultry grower shall keep a record of the following: 

(1) The recipient name and address; 

(2) The amount of poultry waste received by the person; 

(3) The date of the transaction; 

(4) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and 

(5) The signed waste transfer records form acknowledging 

the receipt of the following: 

(a) The waste; 

(b) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and 

(c) A fact sheet. 

c. When a poultry grower transfers to another person more 

than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day period, and 

the recipient of the waste is someone other than a broker, 

the poultry grower shall keep a record of the following: 

(1) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize the 

waste (i.e., nearest town or city, county, and zip code); and 

(2) The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 

recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 

site. 

2. Poultry growers shall maintain the records required by 

Part I C 1 for at least three years after the transaction and 

shall make them available to department personnel upon 

request. 

3. Transfer records reporting requirements. The grower shall 

submit the records required by Part I C 1 in accordance with 

the timing outlined in Part I C 3 a and b. 

a. Beginning February 17, 2022, upon request by the 

department, the grower shall submit the records in a 

format and method determined by the department. 

b. Beginning February 17, 2023, the grower shall submit 

to the department, annually, the records for the preceding 

state fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) no later than 

September 15. 

4. Poultry waste generated by this facility shall not be 

applied to fields owned by or under the operational control 

of either the poultry grower or a legal entity in which the 

poultry grower has an ownership interest unless the fields 

are included in the facility's approved nutrient management 

plan. 

5. The poultry grower shall implement a nutrient 

management plan (NMP) developed by a certified nutrient 

management planner in accordance with § 10.1-104.2 of the 

Code of Virginia and approved by the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation and maintain the plan on site. 

The terms of the NMP shall be enforceable through this 

permit. The NMP shall contain at a minimum the following 

information: 

a. Site map indicating the location of the waste storage 

facilities and the fields where waste generated by this 

facility will be applied by the poultry grower. The location 

of fields as identified in Part I C 4 shall also be included; 

b. Site evaluation and assessment of soil types and 

potential productivities; 

c. Nutrient management sampling including soil and waste 

monitoring; 

d. Storage and land area requirements for the grower's 

poultry waste management activities; 

e. Calculation of waste application rates; and 

f. Waste application schedules. 

6. Nitrogen application rates contained in the NMP shall be 

established in accordance with 4VAC50-85-140 A 2. The 

application of poultry waste shall be managed to minimize 

runoff, leachate, and volatilization losses, and reduce 

adverse water quality impacts from nitrogen. 

7. Phosphorus application rates contained in the NMP shall 

be established in accordance with 4VAC50-85-140 A 2. The 

application of poultry waste shall be managed to minimize 

runoff and leaching and reduce adverse water quality 

impacts from phosphorous. 

8. The timing of land application of poultry waste shall be 

according to the schedule contained in the NMP, except that 

no waste may be applied to ice covered or snow covered 

ground or to soils that are saturated. Poultry waste may be 

applied to frozen ground within the NMP scheduled times 

only under the following conditions: 

a. Slopes are not greater than 6.0%; 

b. A minimum of a 200-foot vegetative or adequate crop 

residue buffer is maintained between the application area 

and all surface water courses; 

c. Only those soils characterized by USDA as "well 

drained" with good infiltration are used; and 

d. At least 60% uniform cover by vegetation or crop 

residue is present in order to reduce surface runoff and the 

potential for leaching of nutrients to ground water. 
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9. In cases where poultry waste storage is threatened by 

emergencies such as fire or flood or where these conditions 

are imminent, poultry waste can be land applied outside of 

the spreading schedule outlined in the grower's NMP. If this 

occurs, the poultry grower shall document the land 

application information in accordance with Part I C 11 and 

notify the department in accordance with Part II H. 

10. Poultry waste shall not be land applied within buffer 

zones. Buffer zones at waste application sites shall, at a 

minimum, be maintained as follows: 

a. Distance from occupied dwellings not on the permittee's 

property: 200 feet (unless the occupant of the dwelling 

signs a waiver of the buffer zone); 

b. Distance from water supply wells or springs: 100 feet; 

c. Distance from surface water courses: 100 feet (without 

a permanent vegetated buffer) or 35 feet (if a permanent 

vegetated buffer exists). 

Other site-specific conservation practices may be 

approved by the department that will provide pollutant 

reductions equivalent or better than the reductions that 

would be achieved by the 100-foot buffer; 

d. Distance from rock outcropping (except limestone): 25 

feet; 

e. Distance from limestone outcroppings: 50 feet; and 

f. Waste shall not be applied in such a manner that it would 

discharge to sinkholes that may exist in the area. 

11. The following records shall be maintained: 

a. The identification of the land application field sites 

where the waste is utilized or stored; 

b. The application rate; 

c. The application dates; and 

d. What crops have been planted. 

These records shall be maintained on site for a period of 

three years after recorded application is made and shall be 

made available to department personnel upon request. 

D. Other special conditions. 

1. Each poultry grower covered by this general permit shall 

complete a training program offered or approved by the 

department within one year of filing the registration 

statement for general permit coverage. All permitted poultry 

growers shall complete a training program at least once 

every five years. 

2. Confined poultry feeding operations that use disposal pits 

for routine disposal of daily mortalities shall not be covered 

under this general permit. The use of a disposal pit for 

routine disposal of daily poultry mortalities by a permittee 

shall be a violation of this permit. This prohibition does not 

apply to the emergency disposal of dead poultry done 

according to regulations adopted pursuant to § 3.2-6002 of 

the Code of Virginia or Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of 

Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Part II  

Conditions Applicable to all VPA Permits 

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

listed under 40 CFR Part 136, as published in the 40 CFR 

July 1, 2024, update, unless otherwise specified in this 

permit. 

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements. 

B. Records. 

1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The dates analyses were performed; 

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used, with 

supporting information such as observations, readings, 

calculations and bench data; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous 

monitoring instrumentation, copies of all reports required by 

this permit, and records of all data used to complete the 

application for this permit for a period of at least three years 

from the date of the sample, measurement, report or 

application. This period of retention may be extended by 

request of the board at any time. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. If reporting is required by 

Part I or Part III of this general permit, the permittee shall 

follow the requirements of this subsection. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after the monitoring takes place, unless another 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 

regional office. 

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on forms provided or 

specified by the department. 
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3. If the permittee monitors the pollutant management 

activity, at a sampling location specified in this permit, for 

any pollutant more frequently than required by the permit 

using approved analytical methods, the permittee shall 

report the results of this monitoring on the monitoring report. 

4. If the permittee monitors the pollutant management 

activity, at a sampling location specified in this permit, for 

any pollutant that is not required to be monitored by the 

permit, and uses approved analytical methods, the permittee 

shall report the results with the monitoring report. 

5. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

which the director may request to determine whether cause 

exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

this permit, or to determine compliance with this permit. The 

permittee shall also furnish to the department, upon request, 

copies of records required to be kept by the permittee. Plans, 

specifications, maps, conceptual reports, and other relevant 

information shall be submitted as requested by the director 

prior to commencing construction. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental to 

the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the use of 

such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, or for 

recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

discharges or causes or allows (i) a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious 

substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or 

(ii) a discharge that may reasonably be expected to enter state 

waters in violation of Part II F shall notify the department of 

the discharge immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but 

in no case later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written 

report of the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge. The 

written report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue; 

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and 

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the immediate 

reporting requirements of other regulations are exempted from 

this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or upset 

should occur from a treatment works and the discharge enters 

or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee shall 

promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the department 

by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. This 

notification shall provide all available details of the incident, 

including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the known 

number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the report to 

writing and shall submit it to the department within five days 

of discovery of the discharge in accordance with Part II I 2. 

Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but are not 

limited to any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the treatment 

works; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 

noncompliance which may adversely affect state waters or may 

endanger public health. 

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from the 

time the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. The 

following shall be included as information which shall be 

reported within 24 hours under this paragraph: 

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and 

b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters. 

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain: 

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 
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b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and 

times, and, if the noncompliance has not been corrected, 

the anticipated time it is expected to continue; and 

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent 

reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the oral 

report has been received within 24 hours and no adverse 

impact on state waters has been reported. 

3. The permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance 

not reported under Part II I 1 or 2 in writing at the time the 

next monitoring reports are submitted. The reports shall 

contain the information listed in Part II I 2. 

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required in 

Part II F, G, and H may be made to the department's regional 

office. For reports outside normal working hours, leave a 

message and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting 

requirement. For emergencies, the Virginia Department of 

Emergency Management maintains a 24-hour telephone 

service at 1-800-468-8892. 

J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the design or operation of the pollutant management 

activity. 

2. The permittee shall give at least 10 days advance notice to 

the department of any planned changes in the permitted 

facility or activity that may result in noncompliance with 

permit requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Applications. All permit applications shall be signed as 

follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

employing more than 250 persons or having gross annual 

sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in second-

quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents has 

been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance 

with corporate procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits, and other 

information requested by the board shall be signed by a 

person described in Part II K 1, or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 

representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, or a position of equivalent responsibility. 

A duly authorized representative may thus be either a 

named individual or any individual occupying a named 

position; and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part II 

K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual or 

position has responsibility for the overall operation of the 

facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 

Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to or 

together with any reports, or information to be signed by an 

authorized representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: "I certify 

under penalty of law that this document and all attachments 

were prepared under my direction or supervision in 

accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified 

personnel properly gather and evaluate the information 

submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or persons 

who manage the system, or those persons directly 

responsible for gathering the information, the information 

submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant 

penalties for submitting false information, including the 

possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing 

violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this general permit and 9VAC25-630. Any 

noncompliance with the general permit or 9VAC25-630 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-

44 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Permit noncompliance is 

grounds for enforcement action; for permit termination, 

revocation and reissuance, or modification; or denial of a 

permit renewal application. Compliance with a permit during 

its term constitutes compliance, for purposes of enforcement, 

with the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). 
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M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of this 

permit, the permittee shall apply for and obtain a new permit. 

All permittees with a currently effective permit shall submit a 

new application at least 30 days before the expiration date of 

the existing permit unless permission for a later date has been 

granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 

applications to be submitted later than the expiration date of 

the existing permit. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private 

property or invasion of personal rights, or any infringement of 

federal, state, or local law or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve the 

permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the federal Clean Water 

Act. Except as provided in permit conditions on bypassing 

(Part II U), and upset (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall 

be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall be 

responsible for the proper operation and maintenance of all 

treatment works, systems and controls which are installed or 

used to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit. 

Proper operation and maintenance includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any pollutant management 

activity in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not be 

a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would 

have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 

order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this 

permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. Prohibition. "Bypass" means intentional diversion of 

waste streams from any portion of a treatment works. A 

bypass of the treatment works is prohibited except as 

provided herein. 

2. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance of 

the need for a bypass, he shall notify the department 

promptly at least 10 days prior to the bypass. After 

considering its adverse effects, the board may approve an 

anticipated bypass if: 

a. The bypass will be unavoidable to prevent loss of 

human life, personal injury, or severe property damage. 

"Severe property damage" means substantial physical 

damage to property, damage to the treatment facilities that 

causes them to become inoperable, or substantial and 

permanent loss of natural resources which can reasonably 

be expected to occur in the absence of a bypass. "Severe 

property damage" does not mean economic loss caused by 

delays in production; and 

b. There are no feasible alternatives to bypass such as the 

use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of untreated 

waste, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. However, if bypass occurs during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance and in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment the permittee could have installed adequate 

backup equipment to prevent such bypass, this exclusion 

shall not apply as a defense. 

3. Unplanned bypass. If an unplanned bypass occurs, the 

permittee shall notify the department as soon as possible, but 

in no case later than 24 hours, and shall take steps to halt the 

bypass as early as possible. This notification will be a 

condition for defense to an enforcement action that an 

unplanned bypass met the conditions in Part II U 2 a and b 

and in light of the information reasonably available to the 

permittee at the time of the bypass. 

V. Upset. A permittee may claim an upset as an affirmative 

defense to an action brought for noncompliance. In any 

enforcement proceedings a permittee shall have the burden of 

proof to establish the occurrence of any upset. In order to 

establish an affirmative defense of upset, the permittee shall 

present properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs or 

other relevant evidence that shows: 

1. That an upset occurred and that the cause can be 

identified; 

2. That the permitted facility was at the time being operated 

efficiently and in compliance with proper operation and 

maintenance procedures; 

3. That the 24-hour reporting requirements to the department 

were met; and 
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4. That the permittee took all reasonable steps to minimize 

or correct any adverse impact on state waters resulting from 

noncompliance with the permit. 

W. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, 

any duly authorized agent of the board may, at reasonable 

times and under reasonable circumstances: 

1. Enter upon any public or private property on which the 

pollutant management activities that are governed by this 

permit are located and have access to records required by 

this permit; 

2. Have access to, inspect and copy any records that must be 

kept as part of permit conditions; 

3. Inspect any facility's equipment (including monitoring 

and control equipment) practices or operations regulated or 

required under the permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any 

locations for the purpose of assuring permit compliance or 

as otherwise authorized by the State Water Control Law (§ 

62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 

whenever the facility is involved in managing pollutants. 

Nothing contained herein shall make an inspection 

unreasonable during an emergency. 

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 

reissued, or terminated for cause upon the request of the 

permittee or interested persons, or upon the board's initiative. 

If a permittee files a request for a permit modification, 

revocation, or termination, or files a notification of planned 

changes, or anticipated noncompliance, the permit terms and 

conditions shall remain effective until the request is acted upon 

by the board. This provision shall not be used to extend the 

expiration date of the effective VPA permit. 

Y. Transfer of permits. 

1. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 

notice to the department. The board may require 

modification or revocation and reissuance of the permit to 

change the name of the permittee and to incorporate such 

other requirements as may be necessary. Except as provided 

in Part II Y 2, a permit may be transferred by the permittee 

to a new owner or operator only if the permit has been 

modified to reflect the transfer or has been revoked and 

reissued to the new owner or operator. 

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, this permit 

shall be automatically transferred to a new permittee if: 

a. The current permittee notifies the department within 30 

days of the transfer of the title to the facility or property; 

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and 

c. The board does not, within the 30-day time period, 

notify the existing permittee and the proposed new 

permittee of its intent to modify or revoke and reissue the 

permit. If the board notice is not received, the transfer is 

effective on the date specified in the agreement mentioned 

in Part II Y 2 b. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable 

and, if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, the 

application of such provision to other circumstances and the 

remainder of this permit shall not be affected thereby. 

Part III  

Pollutant Management and Monitoring Requirements for 

Poultry Waste End-Users and Poultry Brokers 

A. Pollutant management authorization and monitoring 

requirements. 

1. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage 

under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to manage 

pollutants at the location or locations identified in the 

registration statement and the permittee's approved nutrient 

management plan. 

2. If poultry waste is land applied on land under the 

permittee's operational control, it shall be applied at the rates 

specified in the permittee's approved nutrient management 

plan. 

3. Soil at the land application sites shall be monitored as 

specified in the following table. Additional soils monitoring 

may be required in the permittee's approved nutrient 

management plan. 
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SOILS MONITORING 

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

pH NL SU 1/3 years Composite * 

Phosphorus NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

Potash NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

Calcium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

Magnesium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

SU = Standard Units 

*Specific sampling requirements are outlined in the permittee's approved nutrient management plan. 

4. Poultry waste shall be monitored as specified in the following table. Additional waste monitoring may be required in the 

permittee's approved nutrient management plan. 

WASTE MONITORING 

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

Total Kjeldahl 

Nitrogen 
NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Ammonia Nitrogen NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Total Phosphorus NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Total Potassium NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Moisture Content NL % 1/3 years Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

*Parameters for waste may be reported as a percent, as lbs/ton or lbs/1000 gallons, or as ppm where appropriate. 

5. If waste from two or more poultry waste sources is 

commingled or stored then a sample that best represents the 

waste shall be used to calculate the nutrients available in the 

poultry waste for land application and shall be provided to 

the end-user of the waste. 

6. Analysis of soil and waste shall be according to methods 

specified in the permittee's approved nutrient management 

plan. 

7. All monitoring data required by Part III A shall be 

maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Reporting 

of results to the department is not required; however, the 

monitoring results shall be made available to department 

personnel upon request. 

B. Site design, storage, and operation requirements. 

1. Poultry waste storage facilities shall be designed and 

operated to (i) prevent point source discharges of pollutants 

to state waters except in the case of a storm event greater 

than the 25-year, 24-hour storm and (ii) provide adequate 

waste storage capacity to accommodate periods when the 

ground is ice covered, snow covered or saturated, periods 

when land application of nutrients should not occur due to 

limited or nonexistent crop nutrient uptake, and periods 

when physical limitations prohibit the land application of 

waste. 

2. Poultry waste shall be stored according to the approved 

nutrient management plan and in a manner that prevents 

contact with surface water and ground water. Poultry waste 

that is stockpiled outside for more than 14 days shall be kept 

in a facility or at a site that provides adequate storage. 
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Adequate storage shall, at a minimum, include the 

following: 

a. Poultry waste shall be covered to protect it from 

precipitation and wind; 

b. Storm water shall not run onto or under the stored 

poultry waste; 

c. A minimum of two feet of separation distance to the 

seasonal high water table or an impermeable barrier shall 

be used under the stored poultry waste. All poultry waste 

storage facilities that use an impermeable barrier shall 

maintain a minimum of one foot of separation between the 

seasonal high water table and the impermeable barrier. 

Impermeable barriers must be constructed of at least 12 

inches of compacted clay, at least four inches of reinforced 

concrete, or another material of similar structural integrity 

that has a minimum permeability rating of 0.0014 inches 

per hour (1X10-6 centimeters per second); and 

d. For poultry waste that is not stored under roof, the 

storage site must be at least: 

(1) 100 feet from any surface water, intermittent drainage, 

wells, sinkholes, rock outcrops, and springs; and 

(2) 200 feet from any occupied dwellings not on the 

permittee's property (unless the occupant of the dwelling 

signs a waiver of the storage site). 

3. Poultry waste storage facilities constructed after 

December 1, 2000, shall not be located within a 100-year 

floodplain unless there is no land available outside the 

floodplain on which to construct the facility and the facility 

is constructed so that the poultry waste is stored above the 

100-year flood elevation or otherwise protected from 

floodwaters through the construction of berms or similar 

best management flood control structures. For the purposes 

of determining the 100-year floodplain, a Federal 

Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Flood Insurance 

Rate Map (FIRM), a FEMA Letter of Map Amendment 

(LOMA), or a FEMA Letter of Map Revision (LOMR) shall 

be used. 

4. The permittee shall operate and manage the facility so that 

impervious surfaces such as concrete end pads or load-out 

pads and surrounding areas and ventilation outlets are kept 

clean of poultry waste. 

5. When the poultry waste storage facility is no longer 

needed, the permittee shall close it in a manner that (i) 

minimizes the need for further maintenance and (ii) controls, 

minimizes, or eliminates, to the extent necessary to protect 

human health and the environment, the postclosure escape 

of uncontrolled leachate, surface runoff, or waste 

decomposition products to the ground water, surface water, 

or the atmosphere. At closure, the permittee shall remove all 

poultry waste residue from the waste storage facility. At 

waste storage facilities without permanent covers and 

impermeable ground barriers, all residual poultry waste shall 

be removed from the surface below the stockpile when the 

poultry waste is taken out of storage. Removed waste 

materials shall be utilized according to the NMP. 

C. Poultry waste transfer and utilization requirements. 

1. When a poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker 

receives, possesses, or has control over more than 10 tons of 

transferred poultry waste in any 365-day period, he shall 

provide the person from whom he received the poultry waste 

with: 

a. The end-user or broker name, address, and permit 

number; 

b. If the recipient of the poultry waste is an end-user, then 

he shall also provide the person from whom he received 

the poultry waste the following information: 

(1) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize the 

waste (i.e., nearest town or city, county and zip code); 

(2) The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 

recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 

site; and 

c. Written acknowledgement of receipt of: 

(1) The waste; 

(2) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and 

(3) The fact sheet. 

If the person receiving the waste is a poultry waste broker, 

then he shall also certify in writing that he will provide a 

copy of the nutrient analysis and fact sheet to each end user 

to whom he transfers poultry waste. 

2. When a poultry waste broker transfers or hauls poultry 

waste to other persons, he shall provide the person who 

received the poultry waste with: 

a. Broker name, address, and permit number; 

b. The nutrient analysis of the waste; and 

c. A fact sheet. 

3. When a poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker is 

a recipient of more than 10 tons of transferred poultry waste 

in any 365-day period, the poultry waste end-user or poultry 

waste broker shall keep a record regarding the transferred 

poultry waste: 

a. The following items shall be recorded regarding the 

source of the transferred poultry waste: 

(1) The source name and address; 

(2) The amount of poultry waste received from the source; 

and 

(3) The date the poultry waste was acquired. 

b. The following items shall be recorded regarding the 

recipient of the transferred poultry waste: 

(1) The recipient name and address; 

(2) The amount of poultry waste received by the person; 
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(3) The date of the transaction; 

(4) The nutrient content of the waste; 

(5) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize the 

waste (i.e., nearest town or city, county, and zip code); 

(6) The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 

recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 

site; and 

(7) The signed waste transfer records form acknowledging 

the receipt of the following: 

(a) The waste; 

(b) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and 

(c) A fact sheet. 

4. End-users or brokers shall maintain the records required 

by Part III C 3 for at least three years after the transaction 

and make them available to department personnel upon 

request. 

5. Transfer records reporting requirements. The end-users 

and brokers shall submit the records required by Part III C 3 

in accordance with the timing outlined in Part III C 5 a and 

5 b. 

a. Beginning February 17, 2022, upon request by the 

department, the end-users and brokers shall submit the 

records in a format and method determined by the 

department. 

b. Beginning February 17, 2023, the end-users and brokers 

shall submit to the department, annually, the records for 

the preceding state fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) no 

later than September 15. 

6. If poultry waste is also generated by this facility it shall 

not be applied to fields owned by or under the operational 

control of either the permittee or a legal entity in which the 

permittee has an ownership interest unless the fields are 

included in the permittee's approved nutrient management 

plan. 

7. The permittee shall implement a nutrient management 

plan (NMP) developed by a certified nutrient management 

planner in accordance with § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and approved by the Department of Conservation 

and Recreation and maintain the plan on site. The terms of 

the NMP shall be enforceable through this permit. The NMP 

shall contain at a minimum the following information: 

a. Site map indicating the location of the waste storage 

facilities and the fields where waste will be applied by the 

permittee. The location of fields as identified in Part III C 

6 shall also be included; 

b. Site evaluation and assessment of soil types and 

potential productivities; 

c. Nutrient management sampling including soil and waste 

monitoring; 

d. Storage and land area requirements for the permittee's 

poultry waste management activities; 

e. Calculation of waste application rates; and 

f. Waste application schedules. 

8. Nitrogen application rates contained in the NMP shall be 

established in accordance with 4VAC50-85-140 A 2. The 

application of poultry waste shall be managed to minimize 

runoff, leachate, and volatilization losses, and reduce 

adverse water quality impacts from nitrogen. 

9. Phosphorus application rates contained in the NMP shall 

be established in accordance with 4VAC50-85-140 A 2. The 

application of poultry waste shall be managed to minimize 

runoff and leaching and reduce adverse water quality 

impacts from phosphorous. 

10. The timing of land application of poultry waste shall be 

according to the schedule contained in the NMP, except that 

no waste may be applied to ice covered or snow covered 

ground or to soils that are saturated. Poultry waste may be 

applied to frozen ground within the NMP scheduled times 

only under the following conditions: 

a. Slopes are not greater than 6.0%; 

b. A minimum of a 200-foot vegetative or adequate crop 

residue buffer is maintained between the application area 

and all surface water courses; 

c. Only those soils characterized by USDA as "well 

drained" with good infiltration are used; and 

d. At least 60% uniform cover by vegetation or crop 

residue is present in order to reduce surface runoff and the 

potential for leaching of nutrients to ground water. 

11. In cases where poultry waste storage is threatened by 

emergencies such as fire or flood or where these conditions 

are imminent, poultry waste can be land applied outside of 

the spreading schedule outlined in the permittee's NMP. If 

this occurs, the permittee shall document the land 

application information in accordance with Part III C 13 and 

notify the department in accordance with Part II H. 

12. Poultry waste shall not be land applied within buffer 

zones. Buffer zones at waste application sites shall, at a 

minimum, be maintained as follows: 

a. Distance from occupied dwellings not on the permittee's 

property: 200 feet (unless the occupant of the dwelling 

signs a waiver of the buffer zone); 

b. Distance from water supply wells or springs: 100 feet; 

c. Distance from surface water courses: 100 feet (without 

a permanent vegetated buffer) or 35 feet (if a permanent 

vegetated buffer exists). Other site-specific conservation 

practices may be approved by the department that will 

provide pollutant reductions equivalent or better than the 

reductions that would be achieved by the 100-foot buffer; 
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d. Distance from rock outcropping (except limestone): 25 

feet; 

e. Distance from limestone outcroppings: 50 feet; and 

f. Waste shall not be applied in such a manner that it would 

discharge to sinkholes that may exist in the area. 

13. The following records shall be maintained: 

a. The identification of the land application field sites 

where the waste is utilized or stored; 

b. The application rate; 

c. The application dates; and 

d. What crops have been planted. 

These records shall be maintained on site for a period of 

three years after recorded application is made and shall be 

made available to department personnel upon request. 

D. Other special conditions. 

1. Each poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker 

covered by this general permit shall complete a training 

program offered or approved by the department within one 

year of filing the registration statement for general permit 

coverage. All permitted poultry waste end-users or permitted 

poultry waste brokers shall complete a training program at 

least once every five years. 

2. Poultry feeding operations that use disposal pits for 

routine disposal of daily mortalities shall not be covered 

under this general permit. The use of a disposal pit for 

routine disposal of daily poultry mortalities by a permittee 

shall be a violation of this permit. This prohibition does not 

apply to the emergency disposal of dead poultry done 

according to regulations adopted pursuant to § 3.2-6002 of 

the Code of Virginia or Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of 

Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-660-100. VWP general permit. 

VWP GENERAL PERMIT NO. WP1 FOR IMPACTS LESS 

THAN ONE-HALF ACRE UNDER THE VIRGINIA 

WATER PROTECTION PERMIT AND THE VIRGINIA 

STATE WATER CONTROL LAW 

Effective date: August 2, 2016 

Expiration date: August 1, 2026 

In compliance with § 401 of the Clean Water Act, as amended 

(33 USC § 1341) and the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, the board has determined 

that there is a reasonable assurance that this VWP general 

permit, if complied with, will protect instream beneficial uses, 

will not violate applicable water quality standards, and will not 

cause or contribute to a significant impairment of state waters 

or fish and wildlife resources. In issuing this VWP general 

permit, the board has not taken into consideration the structural 

stability of any proposed activities. 

The permanent or temporary impact of less than one-half acre 

of nontidal wetlands or open water and up to 300 linear feet of 

nontidal stream bed shall be subject to the provisions of the 

VWP general permit set forth herein; any requirements in 

coverage granted under this VWP general permit; the Clean 

Water Act, as amended; and the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant to it. 

Part I. 

Special Conditions. 

A. Authorized activities. 

1. The activities authorized by this chapter shall not cause 

more than the permanent or temporary impacts to less than 

one-half acre of nontidal wetlands or open water and up to 

300 linear feet of nontidal stream bed. Additional permit 

requirements as stipulated by the department in the coverage 

letter, if any, shall be enforceable conditions of this permit. 

2. Any changes to the authorized permanent impacts to 

surface waters shall require a notice of planned change in 

accordance with 9VAC25-660-80. An application or request 

for modification to coverage or another VWP permit 

application may be required. 

3. Any changes to the authorized temporary impacts to 

surface waters shall require written notification to and 

approval from the Department of Environmental Quality in 

accordance with 9VAC25-660-80 prior to initiating the 

impacts and restoration to preexisting conditions in 

accordance with the conditions of this permit. 

4. Modification to compensation requirements may be 

approved at the request of the permittee when a decrease in 

the amount of authorized surface waters impacts occurs, 

provided that the adjusted compensation meets the initial 

compensation goals. 

B. Overall conditions. 

1. The activities authorized by this VWP general permit shall 

be executed in a manner so as to minimize adverse impacts 

on instream beneficial uses as defined in § 62.1-10 (b) of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. No activity may substantially disrupt the movement of 

aquatic life indigenous to the water body, including those 

species that normally migrate through the area, unless the 

primary purpose of the activity is to impound water. Pipes 

and culverts placed in streams must be installed to maintain 

low flow conditions and shall be countersunk at both inlet 

and outlet ends of the pipe or culvert, unless otherwise 

specifically approved by the Department of Environmental 

Quality on a case-by-case basis, and as follows: The 

requirement to countersink does not apply to extensions or 

maintenance of existing pipes and culverts that are not 

countersunk, floodplain pipes and culverts being placed 

above ordinary high water, pipes and culverts being placed 

on bedrock, or pipes and culverts required to be placed on 
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slopes 5.0% or greater. Bedrock encountered during 

construction must be identified and approved in advance of 

a design change where the countersunk condition cannot be 

met. Pipes and culverts 24 inches or less in diameter shall be 

countersunk three inches below the natural stream bed 

elevations, and pipes and culverts greater than 24 inches 

shall be countersunk at least six inches below the natural 

stream bed elevations. Hydraulic capacity shall be 

determined based on the reduced capacity due to the 

countersunk position. In all stream crossings appropriate 

measures shall be implemented to minimize any disruption 

of aquatic life movement. 

3. Wet or uncured concrete shall be prohibited from entry 

into flowing surface waters, unless the area is contained 

within a cofferdam and the work is performed in the dry or 

unless otherwise approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Excess or waste concrete shall not 

be disposed of in flowing surface waters or washed into 

flowing surface waters. 

4. All fill material shall be clean and free of contaminants in 

toxic concentrations or amounts in accordance with all 

applicable laws and regulations. 

5. Erosion and sedimentation controls shall be designed in 

accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. These controls shall be 

placed prior to clearing and grading and maintained in good 

working order to minimize impacts to state waters. These 

controls shall remain in place until the area is stabilized and 

shall then be removed. 

6. Exposed slopes and streambanks shall be stabilized 

immediately upon completion of work in each permitted 

impact area. All denuded areas shall be properly stabilized 

in accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment 

Control Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

7. All construction, construction access (e.g., cofferdams, 

sheetpiling, and causeways) and demolition activities 

associated with the project shall be accomplished in a 

manner that minimizes construction or waste materials from 

entering surface waters to the maximum extent practicable, 

unless authorized by this VWP general permit. 

8. No machinery may enter flowing waters, unless 

authorized by this VWP general permit or approved prior to 

entry by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

9. Heavy equipment in temporarily impacted wetland areas 

shall be placed on mats, geotextile fabric, or other suitable 

material to minimize soil disturbance to the maximum extent 

practicable. Equipment and materials shall be removed 

immediately upon completion of work. 

10. All nonimpacted surface waters and compensatory 

mitigation areas within 50 feet of authorized activities and 

within the project or right-of-way limits shall be clearly 

flagged or marked for the life of the construction activity at 

that location to preclude unauthorized disturbances to these 

surface waters and compensatory mitigation areas during 

construction. The permittee shall notify contractors that no 

activities are to occur in these marked surface waters. 

11. Temporary disturbances to surface waters during 

construction shall be avoided and minimized to the 

maximum extent practicable. All temporarily disturbed 

wetland areas shall be restored to preexisting conditions 

within 30 days of completing work at each respective 

temporary impact area, which shall include reestablishing 

preconstruction elevations and contours with topsoil from 

the impact area where practicable and planting or seeding 

with appropriate wetland vegetation according to cover type 

(i.e., emergent, scrub-shrub, or forested). The permittee shall 

take all appropriate measures to promote and maintain 

revegetation of temporarily disturbed wetland areas with 

wetland vegetation through the second year post-

disturbance. All temporarily impacted streams and 

streambanks shall be restored to their preconstruction 

elevations and contours with topsoil from the impact area 

where practicable within 30 days following the construction 

at that stream segment. Streambanks shall be seeded or 

planted with the same vegetation cover type originally 

present, including any necessary, supplemental erosion 

control grasses. Invasive species identified on the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Virginia 

Invasive Plant Species List shall not be used to the maximum 

extent practicable or without prior approval from the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

12. Materials (including fill, construction debris, and 

excavated and woody materials) temporarily stockpiled in 

wetlands shall be placed on mats or geotextile fabric, 

immediately stabilized to prevent entry into state waters, 

managed such that leachate does not enter state waters, and 

completely removed within 30 days following completion of 

that construction activity. Disturbed areas shall be returned 

to preconstruction elevations and contours with topsoil from 

the impact area where practicable; restored within 30 days 

following removal of the stockpile; and restored with the 

same vegetation cover type originally present, including any 

necessary, supplemental erosion control grasses. Invasive 

species identified on the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation's Virginia Invasive Plant Species List shall not be 

used to the maximum extent practicable or without prior 

approval from the Department of Environmental Quality. 

13. Continuous flow of perennial springs shall be maintained 

by the installation of spring boxes, french drains, or other 

similar structures. 

14. The permittee shall employ measures to prevent spills of 

fuels or lubricants into state waters. 

15. The permittee shall conduct his activities in accordance 

with the time-of-year restrictions recommended by the 
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Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources, the Virginia 

Marine Resources Commission, or other interested and 

affected agencies, as contained, when applicable, in a 

Department of Environmental Quality VWP general permit 

coverage letter, and shall ensure that all contractors are 

aware of the time-of-year restrictions imposed. 

16. Water quality standards shall not be violated as a result 

of the construction activities. 

17. If stream channelization or relocation is required, all 

work in surface waters shall be done in the dry, unless 

otherwise authorized by the Department of Environmental 

Quality, and all flows shall be diverted around the 

channelization or relocation area until the new channel is 

stabilized. This work shall be accomplished by leaving a 

plug at the inlet and outlet ends of the new channel during 

excavation. Once the new channel has been stabilized, flow 

shall be routed into the new channel by first removing the 

downstream plug and then the upstream plug. The rerouted 

stream flow must be fully established before construction 

activities in the old stream channel can begin. 

C. Road crossings. 

1. Access roads and associated bridges, pipes, and culverts 

shall be constructed to minimize the adverse effects on 

surface waters to the maximum extent practicable. Access 

roads constructed above preconstruction elevations and 

contours in surface waters must be bridged, piped, or 

culverted to maintain surface flows. 

2. Installation of road crossings shall occur in the dry via the 

implementation of cofferdams, sheetpiling, stream 

diversions, or other similar structures. 

D. Utility lines. 

1. All utility line work in surface waters shall be performed 

in a manner that minimizes disturbance, and the area must 

be returned to its preconstruction elevations and contours 

with topsoil from the impact area where practicable and 

restored within 30 days of completing work in the area, 

unless otherwise authorized by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Restoration shall be the seeding or 

planting of the same vegetation cover type originally 

present, including any necessary, supplemental erosion 

control grasses. Invasive species identified on the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Virginia 

Invasive Plant Species List shall not be used to the maximum 

extent practicable or without prior approval from the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

2. Material resulting from trench excavation may be 

temporarily sidecast into wetlands not to exceed a total of 90 

days, provided the material is not placed in a manner such 

that it is dispersed by currents or other forces. 

3. The trench for a utility line cannot be constructed in a 

manner that drains wetlands (e.g., backfilling with extensive 

gravel layers creating a french drain effect). For example, 

utility lines may be backfilled with clay blocks to ensure that 

the trench does not drain surface waters through which the 

utility line is installed. 

E. Stream modification and stream bank protection. 

1. Riprap bank stabilization shall be of an appropriate size 

and design in accordance with the Virginia Erosion and 

Sediment Control Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

2. Riprap apron for all outfalls shall be designed in 

accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

3. For stream bank protection activities, the structure and 

backfill shall be placed as close to the stream bank as 

practicable. No material shall be placed in excess of the 

minimum necessary for erosion protection. 

4. All stream bank protection control structures shall be 

located to eliminate or minimize impacts to vegetated 

wetlands to the maximum extent practicable. 

5. Asphalt and materials containing asphalt or other toxic 

substances shall not be used in the construction of 

submerged sills or breakwaters. 

6. Redistribution of existing stream substrate for the purpose 

of erosion control is prohibited. 

7. No material removed from the stream bottom shall be 

disposed of in surface waters, unless otherwise authorized 

by this VWP general permit. 

F. Stormwater management facilities. 

1. Stormwater management facilities shall be installed in 

accordance with best management practices and watershed 

protection techniques (e.g., vegetated buffers, siting 

considerations to minimize adverse effects to aquatic 

resources, bioengineering methods incorporated into the 

facility design to benefit water quality and minimize adverse 

effects to aquatic resources) that provide for long-term 

aquatic resources protection and enhancement, to the 

maximum extent practicable. 

2. Compensation for unavoidable impacts shall not be 

allowed within maintenance areas of stormwater 

management facilities. 

3. Maintenance activities within stormwater management 

facilities shall not require additional permit coverage or 

compensation, provided that the maintenance activities do 

not exceed the original contours of the facility, as approved 

and constructed, and are accomplished in designated 

maintenance areas as indicated in the facility maintenance or 

design plan or when unavailable, an alternative plan 

approved by the Department of Environmental Quality. 
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Part II. 

Construction and Compensation Requirements, Monitoring, 

and Reporting. 

A. Minimum compensation requirements. 

1. The permittee shall provide any required compensation 

for impacts in accordance with the conditions in this VWP 

general permit, the coverage letter, and the chapter 

promulgating the general permit. 

2. Compensation options that may be considered under this 

VWP general permit include the purchase of mitigation bank 

credits or the purchase of in-lieu fee program credits with a 

primary service area that covers the impact site in 

accordance with § 62.1-44.15:23 of the Code of Virginia, 

9VAC25-660-70, and the associated provisions of 9VAC25-

210-116. 

3. The final compensation plan shall be submitted to and 

approved by the department prior to a construction activity 

in permitted impacts areas. The department shall review and 

provide written comments on the final plan within 30 days 

of receipt or it shall be deemed approved. The final plan as 

approved by the department shall be an enforceable 

requirement of any coverage under this VWP general permit. 

Deviations from the approved final plan shall be submitted 

and approved in advance by the department. 

B. Impact site construction monitoring. 

1. Construction activities authorized by this permit that are 

within impact areas shall be monitored and documented. The 

monitoring shall consist of: 

a. Preconstruction photographs taken at each impact area 

prior to initiation of activities within impact areas. 

Photographs remain on the project site and shall depict the 

impact area and the nonimpacted surface waters 

immediately adjacent to and downgradient of each impact 

area. Each photograph shall be labeled to include the 

following information: permit number, impact area 

number, date and time of the photograph, name of the 

person taking the photograph, photograph orientation, and 

photograph subject description. 

b. Site inspections shall be conducted by the permittee or 

the permittee's qualified designee once every calendar 

month during activities within impact areas. Monthly 

inspections shall be conducted in the following areas: all 

authorized permanent and temporary impact areas; all 

avoided surface waters, including wetlands, stream 

channels, and open water; surface water areas within 50 

feet of any land disturbing activity and within the project 

or right-of-way limits; and all on-site permanent 

preservation areas required under this permit. 

Observations shall be recorded on the inspection form 

provided by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

The form shall be completed in its entirety for each 

monthly inspection and shall be kept on site and made 

available for review by the Department of Environmental 

Quality staff upon request during normal business hours. 

Inspections are not required during periods of no activity 

within impact areas. 

2. Monitoring of water quality parameters shall be conducted 

during permanent relocation of perennial streams through 

new channels in the manner noted in this subdivision. The 

permittee shall report violations of water quality standards 

to the Department of Environmental Quality in accordance 

with the procedures in 9VAC25-660-100 Part II C. 

Corrective measures and additional monitoring may be 

required if water quality standards are not met. Reporting 

shall not be required if water quality standards are not 

violated. 

a. A sampling station shall be located upstream and 

immediately downstream of the relocated channel. 

b. Temperature, pH, and dissolved oxygen (D.O.) 

measurements shall be taken every 30 minutes for at least 

two hours at each station prior to opening the new 

channels and immediately before opening new channels. 

c. Temperature, pH, and D.O. readings shall be taken after 

opening the channels and every 30 minutes for at least 

three hours at each station. 

C. Reporting. 

1. Written communications required by this VWP general 

permit shall be submitted to the appropriate Department of 

Environmental Quality office. The VWP general permit 

tracking number shall be included on all correspondence. 

2. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the start of construction activities 

at the first authorized impact area. 

3. A construction status update form provided by the 

Department of Environmental Quality shall be completed 

and submitted to the Department of Environmental Quality 

twice per year for the duration of coverage under a VWP 

general permit. Forms completed in June shall be submitted 

by or on July 10, and forms completed in December shall be 

submitted by or on January 10. The form shall include 

reference to the VWP permit tracking number and one of the 

following statements for each authorized surface water 

impact location: 

a. Construction activities have not yet started; 

b. Construction activities have started; 

c. Construction activities have started but are currently 

inactive; or 

d. Construction activities are complete. 

4. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing within 30 days following the completion 

of all activities in all authorized impact areas. 
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5. The permittee shall notify the Department of 

Environmental Quality in writing when unusual or 

potentially complex conditions are encountered that require 

debris removal or involve a potentially toxic substance. 

Measures to remove the obstruction, material, or toxic 

substance or to change the location of a structure are 

prohibited until approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

6. The permittee shall report fish kills or spills of oil or fuel 

immediately upon discovery. If spills or fish kills occur 

between the hours of 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through 

Friday, the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality regional office shall be notified; otherwise, the 

Department of Emergency Management shall be notified at 

1-800-468-8892. 

7. Violations of state water quality standards shall be 

reported to the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality office no later than the end of the business day 

following discovery. 

8. The permittee shall notify the Department of 

Environmental Quality no later than the end of the third 

business day following the discovery of additional impacts 

to surface waters, including wetlands, stream channels, and 

open water that are not authorized by the Department of 

Environmental Quality or to any required preservation areas. 

The notification shall include photographs, estimated 

acreage or linear footage of impacts, and a description of the 

impacts. 

9. Submittals required by this VWP general permit shall 

contain the following signed certification statement: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or 

persons who manage the system, or those persons directly 

responsible for gathering the information, the information 

submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant 

penalties for submitting false information, including the 

possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing violation." 

Part III. 

Conditions Applicable to All VWP General Permits. 

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions, limitations, and other requirements of the VWP 

general permit; any requirements in coverage granted under 

this VWP general permit; the Clean Water Act, as amended; 

and the State Water Control Law and regulations adopted 

pursuant to it. Any VWP general permit violation or 

noncompliance is a violation of the Clean Water Act and State 

Water Control Law and is grounds for (i) enforcement action, 

(ii) VWP general permit coverage termination for cause, (iii) 

VWP general permit coverage revocation, (iv) denial of 

application for coverage, or (v) denial of an application for a 

modification to VWP general permit coverage. Nothing in this 

VWP general permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee 

of the duty to comply with all applicable federal and state 

statutes, regulations, and toxic standards and prohibitions. 

B. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent impacts in violation of the VWP 

general permit that may have a reasonable likelihood of 

adversely affecting human health or the environment. 

C. Reopener. This VWP general permit may be reopened to 

modify its conditions when the circumstances on which the 

previous VWP general permit was based have materially and 

substantially changed, or special studies conducted by the 

department or the permittee show material and substantial 

change since the time the VWP general permit was issued and 

thereby constitute cause for revoking and reissuing the VWP 

general permit. 

D. Compliance with state and federal law. Compliance with 

this VWP general permit constitutes compliance with the VWP 

permit requirements of the State Water Control Law. Nothing 

in this VWP general permit shall be construed to preclude the 

institution of any legal action under or relieve the permittee 

from any responsibilities, liabilities, or other penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under the authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

E. Property rights. Coverage under this VWP general permit 

does not convey property rights in either real or personal 

property or any exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize 

injury to private property, any invasion of personal property 

rights, or any infringement of federal, state, or local laws or 

regulations. 

F. Severability. The provisions of this VWP general permit 

are severable. 

G. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, the 

permittee shall allow the department or any duly authorized 

agent of the department, at reasonable times and under 

reasonable circumstances, to enter upon the permittee's 

property, public or private, and have access to inspect and copy 

any records that must be kept as part of the VWP general 

permit conditions; to inspect any facilities, operations, or 

practices (including monitoring and control equipment) 

regulated or required under the VWP general permit; and to 

sample or monitor any substance, parameter, or activity for the 

purpose of ensuring compliance with the conditions of the 

VWP general permit or as otherwise authorized by law. For the 

purpose of this section, the time for inspection shall be deemed 

reasonable during regular business hours. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection time unreasonable during an 

emergency. 

H. Transferability of VWP general permit coverage. VWP 

general permit coverage may be transferred to another 
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permittee when all of the criteria listed in this subsection are 

met. On the date of the VWP general permit coverage transfer, 

the transferred VWP general permit coverage shall be as fully 

effective as if it had been granted directly to the new permittee. 

1. The current permittee notifies the department of the 

proposed transfer of the general permit coverage and 

provides a written agreement between the current and new 

permittees containing a specific date of transfer of VWP 

general permit responsibility, coverage, and liability to the 

new permittee, or that the current permittee will retain such 

responsibility, coverage, or liability, including liability for 

compliance with the requirements of enforcement activities 

related to the authorized activity. 

2. The department does not within 15 days notify the current 

and new permittees of the board's intent to modify or revoke 

and reissue the VWP general permit. 

I. Notice of planned change. VWP general permit coverage 

may be modified subsequent to issuance in accordance with 

9VAC25-660-80. 

J. VWP general permit coverage termination for cause. VWP 

general permit coverage is subject to termination for cause by 

the department after public notice and opportunity for a hearing 

in accordance with 9VAC25-210-180. Reasons for termination 

for cause are as follows: 

1. Noncompliance by the permittee with any provision of 

this chapter, any condition of the VWP general permit, or 

any requirement in general permit coverage; 

2. The permittee's failure in the application or during the 

process of granting VWP general permit coverage to 

disclose fully all relevant facts or the permittee's 

misrepresentation of any relevant facts at any time; 

3. The permittee's violation of a special or judicial order; 

4. A determination by the department that the authorized 

activity endangers human health or the environment and can 

be regulated to acceptable levels by a modification to the 

VWP general permit coverage or a termination; 

5. A change in any condition that requires either a temporary 

or permanent reduction or elimination of any activity 

controlled by the VWP general permit; or 

6. A determination that the authorized activity has ceased 

and that the compensation for unavoidable adverse impacts 

has been successfully completed. 

K. The department may terminate VWP general permit 

coverage without cause when the permittee is no longer a legal 

entity due to death or dissolution or when a company is no 

longer authorized to conduct business in the Commonwealth. 

The termination shall be effective 30 days after notice of the 

proposed termination is sent to the last known address of the 

permittee or registered agent, unless the permittee objects 

within that time. If the permittee does object during that period, 

the department shall follow the applicable procedures for 

termination under 9VAC25-210-180 and § 62.1-44.15:25 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

L. VWP general permit coverage termination by consent. The 

permittee shall submit a request for termination by consent 

within 30 days of completing or canceling all authorized 

activities requiring notification under 9VAC25-660-50 A and 

all compensatory mitigation requirements. When submitted for 

project completion, the request for termination by consent shall 

constitute a notice of project completion in accordance with 

9VAC25-210-130 F. The director may accept this termination 

of coverage on behalf of the department. The permittee shall 

submit the following information: 

1. Name, mailing address, and telephone number; 

2. Name and location of the activity; 

3. The VWP general permit tracking number; and 

4. One of the following certifications: 

a. For project completion: 

"I certify under penalty of law that all activities and any 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage have been 

completed. I understand that by submitting this notice of 

termination I am no longer authorized to perform activities 

in surface waters in accordance with the VWP general 

permit and general permit coverage, and that performing 

activities in surface waters is unlawful where the activity 

is not authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage." 

b. For project cancellation: 

"I certify under penalty of law that the activities and any 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage will not occur. 

I understand that by submitting this notice of termination 

I am no longer authorized to perform activities in surface 

waters in accordance with the VWP general permit and 

general permit coverage, and that performing activities in 

surface waters is unlawful where the activity is not 

authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage, nor does it allow me to resume 

the authorized activities without reapplication and 

coverage." 

c. For events beyond permittee control, the permittee shall 

provide a detailed explanation of the events, to be 

approved by the Department of Environmental Quality, 

and the following certification statement: 
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"I certify under penalty of law that the activities or the 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage have changed 

as the result of events beyond my control (see attached). I 

understand that by submitting this notice of termination I 

am no longer authorized to perform activities in surface 

waters in accordance with the VWP general permit and 

general permit coverage, and that performing activities in 

surface waters is unlawful where the activity is not 

authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage, nor does it allow me to resume 

the authorized activities without reapplication and 

coverage." 

M. Civil and criminal liability. Nothing in this VWP general 

permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and 

criminal penalties for noncompliance. 

N. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

VWP general permit shall be construed to preclude the 

institution of legal action or relieve the permittee from any 

responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee 

is or may be subject under § 311 of the Clean Water Act or 

§§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the State Water 

Control Law. 

O. Duty to cease or confine activity. It shall not be a defense 

for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for which VWP 

general permit coverage has been granted in order to maintain 

compliance with the conditions of the VWP general permit or 

coverage. 

P. Duty to provide information. 

1. The permittee shall furnish to the department information 

that the department may request to determine whether cause 

exists for modifying, revoking, or terminating VWP permit 

coverage or to determine compliance with the VWP general 

permit or general permit coverage. The permittee shall also 

furnish to the department, upon request, copies of records 

required to be kept by the permittee. 

2. Plans, maps, conceptual reports, and other relevant 

information shall be submitted as required by the department 

prior to commencing construction. 

Q. Monitoring and records requirements. 

1. Monitoring of parameters, other than pollutants, shall be 

conducted according to approved analytical methods as 

specified in the VWP general permit. Analysis of pollutants 

will be conducted according to 40 CFR Part 136 as published 

in the July 1, 2023 2024, update, Guidelines Establishing 

Test Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants. 

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart or electronic recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the VWP general permit, and records of 

all data used to complete the application for coverage under 

the VWP general permit, for a period of at least three years 

from the date of general permit expiration. This period may 

be extended by request of the department at any time. 

4. Records of monitoring information shall include, as 

appropriate: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date and time the analyses were performed; 

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 

information such as observations, readings, calculations, 

and bench data used; 

f. The results of such analyses; and 

g. Chain of custody documentation. 

R. Unauthorized discharge of pollutants. Except in 

compliance with this VWP general permit, it shall be unlawful 

for the permittee to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; 

2. Excavate in a wetland; 

3. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of state waters and make them detrimental to the 

public health, to animal or aquatic life, or to the uses of such 

waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses; or 

4. On and after October 1, 2001, conduct the following 

activities in a wetland: 

a. New activities to cause draining that significantly alter 

or degrade existing wetland acreage or functions; 

b. Filling or dumping; 

c. Permanent flooding or impounding; or 

d. New activities that cause significant alteration or 

degradation of existing wetland acreage or functions. 

S. Duty to reapply. Any permittee desiring to continue a 

previously authorized activity after the expiration date of the 

VWP general permit shall comply with the provisions in 

9VAC25-660-27. 
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9VAC25-670-100. VWP general permit. 

VWP GENERAL PERMIT NO. WP2 FOR FACILITIES 

AND ACTIVITIES OF UTILITIES AND PUBLIC 

SERVICE COMPANIES REGULATED BY THE 

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION OR 

THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION AND 

OTHER UTILITY LINE ACTIVITIES UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA WATER PROTECTION PERMIT AND THE 

VIRGINIA STATE WATER CONTROL LAW 

Effective date: August 2, 2016 

Expiration date: August 1, 2026 

In compliance with § 401 of the Clean Water Act, as amended 

(33 USC § 1341) and the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, the board has determined 

that there is a reasonable assurance that this VWP general 

permit, if complied with, will protect instream beneficial uses, 

will not violate applicable water quality standards, and will not 

cause or contribute to a significant impairment of surface 

waters or fish and wildlife resources. In issuing this VWP 

general permit, the board has not taken into consideration the 

structural stability of any proposed activities. 

The permanent or temporary impact of up to one acre of 

nontidal wetlands or open water and up to 1,500 linear feet of 

nontidal stream bed shall be subject to the provisions of the 

VWP general permit set forth herein; any requirements in 

coverage granted under this VWP general permit; the Clean 

Water Act, as amended; and the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant to it. 

Part I. 

Special Conditions. 

A. Authorized activities. 

1. The activities authorized by this chapter shall not cause 

more than the permanent or temporary impacts of up to one 

acre of nontidal wetlands or open water and up to 1,500 

linear feet of nontidal stream bed. Additional permit 

requirements as stipulated by the department in the coverage 

letter, if any, shall be enforceable conditions of this permit. 

2. Any changes to the authorized permanent impacts to 

surface waters shall require a notice of planned change in 

accordance with 9VAC25-670-80. An application or request 

for modification to coverage or another VWP permit 

application may be required. 

3. Any changes to the authorized temporary impacts to 

surface waters shall require written notification to and 

approval from the Department of Environmental Quality in 

accordance with 9VAC25-670-80 prior to initiating the 

impacts and restoration to preexisting conditions in 

accordance with the conditions of this permit. 

4. Modification to compensation requirements may be 

approved at the request of the permittee when a decrease in 

the amount of authorized surface waters impacts occurs, 

provided that the adjusted compensation meets the initial 

compensation goals. 

B. Overall conditions. 

1. The activities authorized by this VWP general permit shall 

be executed in a manner so as to minimize adverse impacts 

on instream beneficial uses as defined in § 62.1-10 (b) of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. No activity may substantially disrupt the movement of 

aquatic life indigenous to the water body, including those 

species that normally migrate through the area, unless the 

primary purpose of the activity is to impound water. Pipes 

and culverts placed in streams must be installed to maintain 

low flow conditions and shall be countersunk at both inlet 

and outlet ends of the pipe or culvert, unless otherwise 

specifically approved by the Department of Environmental 

Quality on a case-by-case basis, and as follows: The 

requirement to countersink does not apply to extensions or 

maintenance of existing pipes and culverts that are not 

countersunk, floodplain pipes and culverts being placed 

above ordinary high water, pipes and culverts being placed 

on bedrock, or pipes and culverts required to be placed on 

slopes 5.0% or greater. Bedrock encountered during 

construction must be identified and approved in advance of 

a design change where the countersunk condition cannot be 

met. Pipes and culverts 24 inches or less in diameter shall be 

countersunk three inches below the natural stream bed 

elevations, and pipes and culverts greater than 24 inches 

shall be countersunk at least six inches below the natural 

stream bed elevations. Hydraulic capacity shall be 

determined based on the reduced capacity due to the 

countersunk position. In all stream crossings appropriate 

measures shall be implemented to minimize any disruption 

of aquatic life movement. 

3. Wet or uncured concrete shall be prohibited from entry 

into flowing surface waters, unless the area is contained 

within a cofferdam and the work is performed in the dry or 

unless otherwise approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Excess or waste concrete shall not 

be disposed of in flowing surface waters or washed into 

flowing surface waters. 

4. All fill material shall be clean and free of contaminants in 

toxic concentrations or amounts in accordance with all 

applicable laws and regulations. 

5. Erosion and sedimentation controls shall be designed in 

accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. These controls shall be 

placed prior to clearing and grading and maintained in good 

working order to minimize impacts to state waters. These 

controls shall remain in place until the area is stabilized and 

shall then be removed. 

6. Exposed slopes and streambanks shall be stabilized 

immediately upon completion of work in each permitted 
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area. All denuded areas shall be properly stabilized in 

accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

7. All construction, construction access (e.g., cofferdams, 

sheetpiling, and causeways) and demolition activities 

associated with the project shall be accomplished in such a 

manner that minimizes construction or waste materials from 

entering surface waters to the maximum extent practicable, 

unless authorized by this VWP general permit. 

8. No machinery may enter flowing waters, unless 

authorized by this VWP general permit or approved prior to 

entry by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

9. Heavy equipment in temporarily impacted wetland areas 

shall be placed on mats, geotextile fabric, or other suitable 

material, to minimize soil disturbance to the maximum 

extent practicable. Equipment and materials shall be 

removed immediately upon completion of work. 

10. All nonimpacted surface waters and compensatory 

mitigation areas within 50 feet of authorized activities and 

within the project or right-of-way limits shall be clearly 

flagged or marked for the life of the construction activity at 

that location to preclude any unauthorized disturbances to 

these surface waters and compensatory mitigation areas 

during construction. The permittee shall notify contractors 

that no activities are to occur in these marked surface waters. 

11. Temporary disturbances to surface waters during 

construction shall be avoided and minimized to the 

maximum extent practicable. All temporarily disturbed 

wetland areas shall be restored to preexisting conditions 

within 30 days of completing work at each respective 

temporary impact area, which shall include reestablishing 

preconstruction elevations and contours with topsoil from 

the impact area where practicable and planting or seeding 

with appropriate wetland vegetation according to cover type 

(i.e., emergent, scrub-shrub, or forested). The permittee shall 

take all appropriate measures to promote and maintain 

revegetation of temporarily disturbed wetland areas with 

wetland vegetation through the second year post-

disturbance. All temporarily impacted streams and 

streambanks shall be restored to their preconstruction 

elevations and contours with topsoil from the impact area 

where practicable within 30 days following the construction 

at that stream segment. Streambanks shall be seeded or 

planted with the same vegetation cover type originally 

present, including any necessary, supplemental erosion 

control grasses. Invasive species identified on the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Virginia 

Invasive Plant Species List shall not be used to the maximum 

extent practicable or without prior approval from the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

12. Materials (including fill, construction debris, and 

excavated and woody materials) temporarily stockpiled in 

wetlands shall be placed on mats or geotextile fabric, 

immediately stabilized to prevent entry into state waters, 

managed such that leachate does not enter state waters, and 

completely removed within 30 days following completion of 

that construction activity. Disturbed areas shall be returned 

to preconstruction elevations and contours with topsoil from 

the impact areas where practicable; restored within 30 days 

following removal of the stockpile; and restored with the 

same vegetation cover type originally present, including any 

necessary, supplemental erosion control grasses. Invasive 

species identified on the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation's Virginia Invasive Plant Species List shall not be 

used to the maximum extent practicable or without prior 

approval from the Department of Environmental Quality. 

13. Continuous flow of perennial springs shall be maintained 

by the installation of spring boxes, french drains, or other 

similar structures. 

14. The permittee shall employ measures to prevent spills of 

fuels or lubricants into state waters. 

15. The permittee shall conduct his activities in accordance 

with the time-of-year restrictions recommended by the 

Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources, the Virginia 

Marine Resources Commission, or other interested and 

affected agencies, as contained, when applicable, in a 

Department of Environmental Quality VWP general permit 

coverage letter, and shall ensure that all contractors are 

aware of the time-of-year restrictions imposed. 

16. Water quality standards shall not be violated as a result 

of the construction activities. 

17. If stream channelization or relocation is required, all 

work in surface waters shall be done in the dry, unless 

otherwise authorized by the Department of Environmental 

Quality, and all flows shall be diverted around the 

channelization or relocation area until the new channel is 

stabilized. This work shall be accomplished by leaving a 

plug at the inlet and outlet ends of the new channel during 

excavation. Once the new channel has been stabilized, flow 

shall be routed into the new channel by first removing the 

downstream plug and then the upstream plug. The rerouted 

steam flow must be fully established before construction 

activities in the old stream channel can begin. 

C. Road crossings. 

1. Access roads and associated bridges, pipes, and culverts 

shall be constructed to minimize the adverse effects on 

surface waters to the maximum extent practicable. Access 

roads constructed above preconstruction elevations and 

contours in surface waters must be bridged, piped, or 

culverted to maintain surface flows. 

2. Installation of road crossings shall occur in the dry via the 

implementation of cofferdams, sheetpiling, stream 

diversions, or similar structures. 
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D. Utility lines. 

1. All utility line work in surface waters shall be performed 

in a manner that minimizes disturbance, and the area must 

be returned to its preconstruction elevations and contours 

with topsoil from the impact area where practicable and 

restored within 30 days of completing work in the area, 

unless otherwise authorized by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Restoration shall be the seeding or 

planting of the same vegetation cover type originally 

present, including any necessary, supplemental erosion 

control grasses. Invasive species identified on the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Virginia 

Invasive Plant Species List shall not be used to the maximum 

extent practicable or without prior approval from the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

2. Material resulting from trench excavation may be 

temporarily sidecast into wetlands, not to exceed 90 days, 

provided the material is not placed in a manner such that it 

is dispersed by currents or other forces. 

3. The trench for a utility line cannot be constructed in a 

manner that drains wetlands (e.g., backfilling with extensive 

gravel layers creating a trench drain effect.). For example, 

utility lines may be backfilled with clay blocks to ensure that 

the trench does not drain surface waters through which the 

utility line is installed. 

E. Stream modification and stream bank protection. 

1. Riprap bank stabilization shall be of an appropriate size 

and design in accordance with the Virginia Erosion and 

Sediment Control Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

2. Riprap apron for all outfalls shall be designed in 

accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

3. For stream bank protection activities, the structure and 

backfill shall be placed as close to the stream bank as 

practicable. No material shall be placed in excess of the 

minimum necessary for erosion protection. 

4. All stream bank protection structures shall be located to 

eliminate or minimize impacts to vegetated wetlands to the 

maximum extent practicable. 

5. Asphalt and materials containing asphalt or other toxic 

substances shall not be used in the construction of 

submerged sills or breakwaters. 

6. Redistribution of existing stream substrate for the purpose 

of erosion control is prohibited. 

7. No material removed from the stream bottom shall be 

disposed of in surface waters, unless otherwise authorized 

by this VWP general permit. 

Part II. 

Construction and Compensation Requirements, Monitoring, 

and Reporting. 

A. Minimum compensation requirements. 

1. The permittee shall provide any required compensation 

for impacts in accordance with the conditions in this VWP 

general permit, the coverage letter, and the chapter 

promulgating the general permit. For all compensation that 

requires a protective mechanism, including preservation of 

surface waters or buffers, the permittee shall record the 

approved protective mechanism in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-owned 

lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted to the 

Department of Environmental Quality prior to commencing 

impacts in surface waters. 

2. Compensation options that may be considered under this 

VWP general permit shall meet the criteria in § 62.1-

44.15:23 of the Code of Virginia, 9VAC25-210-116, and 

9VAC25-670-70. 

3. The permittee-responsible compensation site or sites 

depicted in the conceptual compensation plan submitted 

with the application shall constitute the compensation site. 

A site change may require a modification to coverage. 

4. For compensation involving the purchase of mitigation 

bank credits or the purchase of in-lieu fee program credits, 

the permittee shall not initiate work in permitted impact 

areas until documentation of the mitigation bank credit 

purchase or of the in-lieu fee program credit purchase has 

been submitted to and received by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

5. The final compensation plan shall be submitted to and 

approved by the department prior to a construction activity 

in permitted impact areas. The department shall review and 

provide written comments on the final plan within 30 days 

of receipt or it shall be deemed approved. The final plan as 

approved by the department shall be an enforceable 

requirement of any coverage under this VWP general permit. 

Deviations from the approved final plan shall be submitted 

and approved in advance by the department. 

a. The final permittee-responsible wetlands compensation 

plan shall include: 

(1) The complete information on all components of the 

conceptual compensation plan. 

(2) A summary of the type and acreage of existing wetland 

impacts anticipated during the construction of the 

compensation site and the proposed compensation for 

these impacts; a site access plan; a monitoring plan, 

including proposed success criteria, monitoring goals, and 

the location of photo-monitoring stations, monitoring 

wells, vegetation sampling points, and reference wetlands 

or streams, if available; an abatement and control plan for 
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undesirable plant species; an erosion and sedimentation 

control plan; a construction schedule; and the final 

protective mechanism for the protection of the 

compensation site or sites, including all surface waters and 

buffer areas within its boundaries. 

(3) The approved protective mechanism. The protective 

mechanism shall be recorded in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-

owned lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted 

to the Department of Environmental Quality prior to 

commencing impacts in surface waters. 

b. The final permittee-responsible stream compensation 

plan shall include: 

(1) The complete information on all components of the 

conceptual compensation plan. 

(2) An evaluation, discussion, and plan drawing or 

drawings of existing conditions on the proposed 

compensation stream, including the identification of 

functional and physical deficiencies for which the 

measures are proposed, and summary of geomorphologic 

measurements (e.g., stream width, entrenchment ratio, 

width-depth ratio, sinuosity, slope, substrate, etc.); a site 

access plan; a monitoring plan, including a monitoring and 

reporting schedule, monitoring design and methodologies 

for success, proposed success criteria, location of photo-

monitoring stations, vegetation sampling points, survey 

points, bank pins, scour chains, and reference streams; an 

abatement and control plan for undesirable plant species; 

an erosion and sedimentation control plan, if appropriate; 

a construction schedule; a plan-view drawing depicting 

the pattern and all compensation measures being 

employed; a profile drawing; cross-sectional drawing or 

drawings of the proposed compensation stream; and the 

final protective mechanism for the protection of the 

compensation site or sites, including all surface waters and 

buffer areas within its boundaries. 

(3) The approved protective mechanism. The protective 

mechanism shall be recorded in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-

owned lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted 

to the Department of Environmental Quality prior to 

commencing impacts in surface waters. 

6. The following criteria shall apply to permittee-responsible 

wetland or stream compensation: 

a. The vegetation used shall be native species common to 

the area, shall be suitable for growth in local wetland or 

riparian conditions, and shall be from areas within the 

same or adjacent U.S. Department of Agriculture Plant 

Hardiness Zone or Natural Resources Conservation 

Service Land Resource Region as that of the project site. 

Planting of woody plants shall occur when vegetation is 

normally dormant, unless otherwise approved in the final 

wetlands or stream compensation plan or plans. 

b. All work in permitted impact areas shall cease if 

compensation site construction has not commenced within 

180 days of commencement of project construction, 

unless otherwise authorized by the department. 

c. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the initiation of construction 

activities at the compensation site. 

d. Point sources of stormwater runoff shall be prohibited 

from entering a wetland compensation site prior to 

treatment by appropriate best management practices. 

Appropriate best management practices may include 

sediment traps, grassed waterways, vegetated filter strips, 

debris screens, oil and grease separators, or forebays. 

e. The success of the compensation shall be based on 

meeting the success criteria established in the approved 

final compensation plan. 

f. If the wetland or stream compensation area fails to meet 

the specified success criteria in a particular monitoring 

year, other than the final monitoring year, the reasons for 

this failure shall be determined and a corrective action 

plan shall be submitted to the Department of 

Environmental Quality for approval with or before that 

year's monitoring report. The corrective action plan shall 

contain at a minimum the proposed actions, a schedule for 

those actions, and a monitoring plan, and shall be 

implemented by the permittee in accordance with the 

approved schedule. Should significant changes be 

necessary to ensure success, the required monitoring cycle 

shall begin again, with monitoring year one being the year 

that the changes are complete, as confirmed by the 

Department of Environmental Quality. If the wetland or 

stream compensation area fails to meet the specified 

success criteria by the final monitoring year or if the 

wetland or stream compensation area has not met the 

stated restoration goals, reasons for this failure shall be 

determined and a corrective action plan, including 

proposed actions, a schedule, and a monitoring plan, shall 

be submitted with the final year monitoring report for 

Department of Environmental Quality approval. 

Corrective action shall be implemented by the permittee 

in accordance with the approved schedule. Annual 

monitoring shall be required to continue until two 

sequential, annual reports indicate that all criteria have 

been successfully satisfied and the site has met the overall 

restoration goals (e.g., that corrective actions were 

successful). 

g. The surveyed wetland boundary for the compensation 

site shall be based on the results of the hydrology, soils, 

and vegetation monitoring data and shall be shown on the 

site plan. Calculation of total wetland acreage shall be 

based on that boundary at the end of the monitoring cycle. 

Data shall be submitted by December 31 of the final 

monitoring year. 
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h. Herbicides or algicides shall not be used in or 

immediately adjacent to the compensation site or sites 

without prior authorization by the department. All 

vegetation removal shall be done by manual means, unless 

authorized by the Department of Environmental Quality in 

advance. 

B. Impact site construction monitoring. 

1. Construction activities authorized by this permit that are 

within impact areas shall be monitored and documented. The 

monitoring shall consist of: 

a. Preconstruction photographs taken at each impact area 

prior to initiation of activities within impact areas. 

Photographs shall remain on the project site and depict the 

impact area and the nonimpacted surface waters 

immediately adjacent to and downgradient of each impact 

area. Each photograph shall be labeled to include the 

following information: permit number, impact area 

number, date and time of the photograph, name of the 

person taking the photograph, photograph orientation, and 

photograph subject description. 

b. Site inspections shall be conducted by the permittee or 

the permittee's qualified designee once every calendar 

month during activities within impact areas. Monthly 

inspections shall be conducted in the following areas: all 

authorized permanent and temporary impact areas; all 

avoided surface waters, including wetlands, stream 

channels, and open water; surface water areas within 50 

feet of any land disturbing activity and within the project 

or right-of-way limits; and all on-site permanent 

preservation areas required under this permit. 

Observations shall be recorded on the inspection form 

provided by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

The form shall be completed in its entirety for each 

monthly inspection and shall be kept on site and made 

available for review by the Department of Environmental 

Quality staff upon request during normal business hours. 

Inspections are not required during periods of no activity 

within impact areas. 

2. Monitoring of water quality parameters shall be conducted 

during permanent relocation of perennial streams through 

new channels in the manner noted in this subdivision. The 

permittee shall report violations of water quality standards 

to the Department of Environmental Quality in accordance 

with the procedures in 9VAC25-670-100 Part II E. 

Corrective measures and additional monitoring may be 

required if water quality standards are not met. Reporting 

shall not be required if water quality standards are not 

violated. 

a. A sampling station shall be located upstream and 

immediately downstream of the relocated channel. 

b. Temperature, pH, and dissolved oxygen (D.O.) 

measurements shall be taken every 30 minutes for at least 

two hours at each station prior to opening the new 

channels and immediately before opening new channels. 

c. Temperature, pH, and D.O. readings shall be taken after 

opening the channels and every 30 minutes for at least 

three hours at each station. 

C. Permittee-responsible wetland compensation site 

monitoring. 

1. An as-built ground survey, or an aerial survey provided 

by a firm specializing in aerial surveys, shall be conducted 

for the entire compensation site or sites, including invert 

elevations for all water elevation control structures and spot 

elevations throughout the site or sites. Aerial surveys shall 

include the variation from actual ground conditions, such as 

+/- 0.2 feet. Either type of survey shall be certified by a 

licensed surveyor or by a registered professional engineer to 

conform to the design plans. The survey shall be submitted 

within 60 days of completing compensation site 

construction. Changes or deviations in the as-built survey or 

aerial survey shall be shown on the survey and explained in 

writing. 

2. Photographs shall be taken at the compensation site or 

sites from the permanent markers identified in the final 

compensation plan, and established to ensure that the same 

locations and view directions at the site or sites are 

monitored in each monitoring period. These photographs 

shall be taken after the initial planting and at a time specified 

in the final compensation plan during every monitoring year. 

3. Compensation site monitoring shall begin on the first day 

of the first complete growing season (monitoring year one) 

after wetland compensation site construction activities, 

including planting, have been completed. Monitoring shall 

be required for monitoring years one, two, three, and five, 

unless otherwise approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. In all cases, if all success criteria 

have not been met in the fifth monitoring year, then 

monitoring shall be required for each consecutive year until 

two annual sequential reports indicate that all criteria have 

been successfully satisfied. 

4. The establishment of wetland hydrology shall be 

measured during the growing season, with the location and 

number of monitoring wells, and frequency of monitoring 

for each site, set forth in the final monitoring plan. 

Hydrology monitoring well data shall be accompanied by 

precipitation data, including rainfall amounts, either from on 

site, or from the closest weather station. Once the wetland 

hydrology success criteria have been satisfied for a 

particular monitoring year, weekly monitoring may be 

discontinued for the remainder of that monitoring year 

following Department of Environmental Quality approval. 

After a period of three monitoring years, the permittee may 

request that hydrology monitoring be discontinued, 

providing that adequate hydrology has been established and 

maintained. Hydrology monitoring shall not be discontinued 
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without written approval from the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

5. The presence of hydric soils or soils under hydric 

conditions shall be evaluated in accordance with the final 

compensation plan. 

6. The establishment of wetland vegetation shall be in 

accordance with the final compensation plan. Monitoring 

shall take place in August, September, or October during the 

growing season of each monitoring year, unless authorized 

in the monitoring plan. 

7. The presence of undesirable plant species shall be 

documented. 

8. All wetland compensation monitoring reports shall be 

submitted in accordance with 9VAC25-670-100 Part II E 6. 

D. Permittee-responsible stream compensation and 

monitoring. 

1. Riparian buffer restoration activities shall be detailed in 

the final compensation plan and shall include, as 

appropriate, the planting of a variety of native species 

currently growing in the site area, including appropriate seed 

mixtures and woody species that are bare root, balled, or 

burlapped. A minimum buffer width of 50 feet, measured 

from the top of the stream bank at bankfull elevation 

landward on both sides of the stream, shall be required where 

practical. 

2. The installation of root wads, vanes, and other instream 

structures, shaping of the stream banks, and channel 

relocation shall be completed in the dry whenever 

practicable. 

3. Livestock access to the stream and designated riparian 

buffer shall be limited to the greatest extent practicable. 

4. Stream channel restoration activities shall be conducted in 

the dry or during low flow conditions. When site conditions 

prohibit access from the streambank or upon prior 

authorization from the Department of Environmental 

Quality, heavy equipment may be authorized for use within 

the stream channel. 

5. Photographs shall be taken at the compensation site from 

the vicinity of the permanent photo-monitoring stations 

identified in the final compensation plan. The photograph 

orientation shall remain constant during all monitoring 

events. At a minimum, photographs shall be taken from the 

center of the stream, facing downstream, with a sufficient 

number of photographs to view the entire length of the 

restoration site. Photographs shall document the completed 

restoration conditions. Photographs shall be taken prior to 

site activities, during instream and riparian compensation 

construction activities, within one week of completion of 

activities, and during at least one day of each monitoring 

year to depict restored conditions. 

6. An as-built ground survey, or an aerial survey provided 

by a firm specializing in aerial surveys, shall be conducted 

for the entire compensation site or sites. Aerial surveys shall 

include the variation from actual ground conditions, such as 

+/- 0.2 feet. The survey shall be certified by the licensed 

surveyor or by a registered, professional engineer to conform 

to the design plans. The survey shall be submitted within 60 

days of completing compensation site construction. Changes 

or deviations from the final compensation plans in the as-

built survey or aerial survey shall be shown on the survey 

and explained in writing. 

7. Compensation site monitoring shall begin on day one of 

the first complete growing season (monitoring year one) 

after stream compensation site construction activities, 

including planting, have been completed. Monitoring shall 

be required for monitoring years one and two, unless 

otherwise approved by the Department of Environmental 

Quality. In all cases, if all success criteria have not been met 

in the final monitoring year, then monitoring shall be 

required for each consecutive year until two annual 

sequential reports indicate that all criteria have been 

successfully satisfied. 

8. All stream compensation site monitoring reports shall be 

submitted in accordance with 9VAC25-670-100 Part II E 6. 

E. Reporting. 

1. Written communications required by this VWP general 

permit shall be submitted to the appropriate Department of 

Environmental Quality office. The VWP general permit 

tracking number shall be included on all correspondence. 

2. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the start of construction activities 

at the first permitted impact area. 

3. A construction status update form provided by the 

Department of Environmental Quality shall be completed 

and submitted to the Department of Environmental Quality 

twice per year for the duration of coverage under a VWP 

general permit. Forms completed in June shall be submitted 

by or on July 10, and forms completed in December shall be 

submitted by or on January 10. The form shall include 

reference to the VWP permit tracking number and one of the 

following statements for each authorized surface water 

impact location: 

a. Construction activities have not yet started; 

b. Construction activities have started; 

c. Construction activities have started but are currently 

inactive; or 

d. Construction activities are complete. 

4. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing within 30 days following the completion 

of all activities in all authorized impact areas. 
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5. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the initiation of activities at the 

permittee-responsible compensation site. The notification 

shall include a projected schedule of activities and 

construction completion. 

6. All permittee-responsible compensation site monitoring 

reports shall be submitted annually by December 31, with 

the exception of the last year, in which case the report shall 

be submitted at least 60 days prior to the expiration of the 

general permit, unless otherwise approved by the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

a. All wetland compensation site monitoring reports shall 

include, as applicable, the following: 

(1) General description of the site, including a site location 

map identifying photo-monitoring stations, vegetative and 

soil monitoring stations, monitoring wells, and wetland 

zones. 

(2) Summary of activities completed during the 

monitoring year, including alterations or maintenance 

conducted at the site. 

(3) Description of monitoring methods. 

(4) Analysis of all hydrology information, including 

monitoring well data, precipitation data, and gauging data 

from streams or other open water areas, as set forth in the 

final compensation plan. 

(5) Evaluation of hydric soils or soils under hydric 

conditions, as appropriate. 

(6) Analysis of all vegetative community information, 

including woody and herbaceous species, both planted and 

volunteers, as set forth in the final compensation plan. 

(7) Photographs labeled with the permit number, the name 

of the compensation site, the photo-monitoring station 

number, the photograph orientation, the date and time of 

the photograph, the name of the person taking the 

photograph, and a brief description of the photograph 

subject. This information shall be provided as a separate 

attachment to each photograph, if necessary. Photographs 

taken after the initial planting shall be included in the first 

monitoring report after planting is complete. 

(8) Discussion of wildlife or signs of wildlife observed at 

the compensation site. 

(9) Comparison of site conditions from the previous 

monitoring year and reference site. 

(10) Discussion of corrective measures or maintenance 

activities to control undesirable species, to repair damaged 

water control devices, or to replace damaged planted 

vegetation. 

(11) Corrective action plan that includes proposed actions, 

a schedule, and monitoring plan. 

b. All stream compensation site monitoring reports shall 

include, as applicable, the following: 

(1) General description of the site, including a site location 

map identifying photo-monitoring stations and monitoring 

stations. 

(2) Summary of activities completed during the 

monitoring year, including alterations or maintenance 

conducted at the site. 

(3) Description of monitoring methods. 

(4) Evaluation and discussion of the monitoring results in 

relation to the success criteria and overall goals of 

compensation. 

(5) Photographs shall be labeled with the permit number, 

the name of the compensation site, the photo-monitoring 

station number, the photograph orientation, the date and 

time of the photograph, the name of the person taking the 

photograph, and a brief description of the photograph 

subject. Photographs taken prior to compensation site 

construction activities, during instream and riparian 

restoration activities, and within one week of completion 

of activities shall be included in the first monitoring report. 

(6) Discussion of alterations, maintenance, or major storm 

events resulting in significant change in stream profile or 

cross section, and corrective actions conducted at the 

stream compensation site. 

(7) Documentation of undesirable plant species and 

summary of abatement and control measures. 

(8) Summary of wildlife or signs of wildlife observed at 

the compensation site. 

(9) Comparison of site conditions from the previous 

monitoring year and reference site, and as-built survey, if 

applicable. 

(10) Corrective action plan that includes proposed actions, 

a schedule and monitoring plan. 

(11) Additional submittals that were approved by the 

Department of Environmental Quality in the final 

compensation plan. 

7. The permittee shall notify the Department of 

Environmental Quality in writing when unusual or 

potentially complex conditions are encountered that require 

debris removal or involve potentially toxic substance. 

Measures to remove the obstruction, material, or toxic 

substance or to change the location of a structure are 

prohibited until approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

8. The permittee shall report fish kills or spills of oil or fuel 

immediately upon discovery. If spills or fish kills occur 

between the hours of 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through 

Friday, the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality regional office shall be notified; otherwise, the 

Department of Emergency Management shall be notified at 

1-800-468-8892. 
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9. Violations of state water quality standards shall be 

reported to the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality office no later than the end of the business day 

following discovery. 

10. The permittee shall notify the Department of 

Environmental Quality no later than the end of the third 

business day following the discovery of additional impacts 

to surface waters, including wetlands, stream channels, and 

open water that are not authorized by the Department of 

Environmental Quality or to any required preservation areas. 

The notification shall include photographs, estimated 

acreage or linear footage of impacts, and a description of the 

impacts. 

11. Submittals required by this VWP general permit shall 

contain the following signed certification statement: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or 

persons who manage the system, or those persons directly 

responsible for gathering the information, the information 

submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant 

penalties for submitting false information, including the 

possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing violation." 

Part III. 

Conditions Applicable to All VWP General Permits. 

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions, limitations, and other requirements of the VWP 

general permit; any requirements in coverage granted under 

this VWP general permit; the Clean Water Act, as amended; 

and the State Water Control Law and regulations adopted 

pursuant to it. Any VWP general permit violation or 

noncompliance is a violation of the Clean Water Act and State 

Water Control Law and is grounds for (i) enforcement action, 

(ii) VWP general permit coverage termination for cause, (iii) 

VWP general permit coverage revocation, (iv) denial of 

application for coverage, or (v) denial of an application for a 

modification to VWP general permit coverage. Nothing in this 

VWP general permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee 

of the duty to comply with all applicable federal and state 

statutes, regulations, and toxic standards and prohibitions. 

B. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent impacts in violation of the VWP 

general permit that may have a reasonable likelihood of 

adversely affecting human health or the environment. 

C. Reopener. This VWP general permit may be reopened to 

modify its conditions when the circumstances on which the 

previous VWP general permit was based have materially and 

substantially changed, or special studies conducted by the 

department or the permittee show material and substantial 

change since the time the VWP general permit was issued and 

thereby constitute cause for revoking and reissuing the VWP 

general permit. 

D. Compliance with state and federal law. Compliance with 

this VWP general permit constitutes compliance with the VWP 

permit requirements of the State Water Control Law. Nothing 

in this VWP general permit shall be construed to preclude the 

institution of any legal action under or relieve the permittee 

from any responsibilities, liabilities, or other penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under the authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

E. Property rights. The issuance of this VWP general permit 

does not convey property rights in either real or personal 

property or any exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize 

injury to private property, any invasion of personal property 

rights, or any infringement of federal, state, or local laws or 

regulations. 

F. Severability. The provisions of this VWP general permit 

are severable. 

G. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, the 

permittee shall allow the department or any duly authorized 

agent of the department, at reasonable times and under 

reasonable circumstances, to enter upon the permittee's 

property, public or private, and have access to inspect and copy 

any records that must be kept as part of the VWP general 

permit conditions; to inspect any facilities, operations, or 

practices (including monitoring and control equipment) 

regulated or required under the VWP general permit; and to 

sample or monitor any substance, parameter, or activity for the 

purpose of ensuring compliance with the conditions of the 

VWP general permit or as otherwise authorized by law. For the 

purpose of this section, the time for inspection shall be deemed 

reasonable during regular business hours. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection time unreasonable during an 

emergency. 

H. Transferability of VWP general permit coverage. VWP 

general permit coverage may be transferred to another 

permittee when all of the criteria listed in this subsection are 

met. On the date of the VWP general permit coverage transfer, 

the transferred VWP general permit coverage shall be as fully 

effective as if it had been granted directly to the new permittee. 

1. The current permittee notifies the department of the 

proposed transfer of the general permit coverage and 

provides a written agreement between the current and new 

permittees containing a specific date of transfer of VWP 

general permit responsibility, coverage, and liability to the 

new permittee, or that the current permittee will retain such 

responsibility, coverage, or liability, including liability for 

compliance with the requirements of enforcement activities 

related to the authorized activity. 
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2. The department does not within the 15 days notify the 

current and new permittees of the board's intent to modify or 

revoke and reissue the VWP general permit. 

I. Notice of planned change. VWP general permit coverage 

may be modified subsequent to issuance in accordance with 

9VAC25-670-80. 

J. VWP general permit coverage termination for cause. VWP 

general permit coverage is subject to termination for cause by 

the department after public notice and opportunity for a hearing 

in accordance with 9VAC25-210-180. Reasons for termination 

for cause are as follows: 

1. Noncompliance by the permittee with any provision of 

this chapter, any condition of the VWP general permit, or 

any requirement in general permit coverage; 

2. The permittee's failure in the application or during the 

process of granting VWP general permit coverage to 

disclose fully all relevant facts or the permittee's 

misrepresentation of any relevant facts at any time; 

3. The permittee's violation of a special or judicial order; 

4. A determination by the department that the authorized 

activity endangers human health or the environment and can 

be regulated to acceptable levels by a modification to the 

VWP general permit coverage or a termination; 

5. A change in any condition that requires either a temporary 

or permanent reduction or elimination of any activity 

controlled by the VWP general permit; or 

6. A determination that the authorized activity has ceased 

and that the compensation for unavoidable adverse impacts 

has been successfully completed. 

K. The department may terminate VWP general permit 

coverage without cause when the permittee is no longer a legal 

entity due to death or dissolution or when a company is no 

longer authorized to conduct business in the Commonwealth. 

The termination shall be effective 30 days after notice of the 

proposed termination is sent to the last known address of the 

permittee or registered agent, unless the permittee objects 

within that time. If the permittee does object during that period, 

the department shall follow the applicable procedures for 

termination under 9VAC25-210-180 and § 62.1-44.15:25 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

L. VWP general permit coverage termination by consent. The 

permittee shall submit a request for termination by consent 

within 30 days of completing or canceling all authorized 

activities requiring notification under 9VAC25-670-50 A and 

all compensatory mitigation requirements. When submitted for 

project completion, the request for termination by consent shall 

constitute a notice of project completion in accordance with 

9VAC25-210-130 F. The director may accept this termination 

of coverage on behalf of the department. The permittee shall 

submit the following information: 

1. Name, mailing address, and telephone number; 

2. Name and location of the activity; 

3. The VWP general permit tracking number; and 

4. One of the following certifications: 

a. For project completion: 

"I certify under penalty of law that all activities and any 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage have been 

completed. I understand that by submitting this notice of 

termination I am no longer authorized to perform activities 

in surface waters in accordance with the VWP general 

permit and general permit coverage, and that performing 

activities in surface waters is unlawful where the activity 

is not authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage." 

b. For project cancellation: 

"I certify under penalty of law that the activities and any 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage will not occur. 

I understand that by submitting this notice of termination 

I am no longer authorized to perform activities in surface 

waters in accordance with the VWP general permit and 

general permit coverage, and that performing activities in 

surface waters is unlawful where the activity is not 

authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage, nor does it allow me to resume 

the authorized activities without reapplication and 

coverage." 

c. For events beyond permittee control, the permittee shall 

provide a detailed explanation of the events, to be 

approved by the Department of Environmental Quality, 

and the following certification statement: 

"I certify under penalty of law that the activities or the 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage have changed 

as the result of events beyond my control (see attached). I 

understand that by submitting this notice of termination I 

am no longer authorized to perform activities in surface 

waters in accordance with the VWP general permit and 

general permit coverage, and that performing activities in 

surface waters is unlawful where the activity is not 

authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage, nor does it allow me to resume 
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the authorized activities without reapplication and 

coverage." 

M. Civil and criminal liability. Nothing in this VWP general 

permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and 

criminal penalties for noncompliance. 

N. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

VWP general permit shall be construed to preclude the 

institution of legal action or relieve the permittee from any 

responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee 

is or may be subject under § 311 of the Clean Water Act or 

§§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the State Water 

Control Law. 

O. Duty to cease or confine activity. It shall not be a defense 

for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for which VWP 

general permit coverage has been granted in order to maintain 

compliance with the conditions of the VWP general permit or 

coverage. 

P. Duty to provide information. 

1. The permittee shall furnish to the department any 

information that the department may request to determine 

whether cause exists for modifying, revoking, or terminating 

VWP permit coverage or to determine compliance with the 

VWP general permit or general permit coverage. The 

permittee shall also furnish to the department, upon request, 

copies of records required to be kept by the permittee. 

2. Plans, maps, conceptual reports, and other relevant 

information shall be submitted as required by the department 

prior to commencing construction. 

Q. Monitoring and records requirements. 

1. Monitoring of parameters, other than pollutants, shall be 

conducted according to approved analytical methods as 

specified in the VWP general permit. Analysis of pollutants 

will be conducted according to 40 CFR Part 136 as published 

in the July 1, 2023 2024, update, Guidelines Establishing 

Test Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants. 

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart or electronic recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the VWP general permit, and records of 

all data used to complete the application for coverage under 

the VWP general permit, for a period of at least three years 

from the date of general permit expiration. This period may 

be extended by request of the department at any time. 

4. Records of monitoring information shall include, as 

appropriate: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date and time the analyses were performed; 

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 

information such as observations, readings, calculations, 

and bench data used; 

f. The results of such analyses; and 

g. Chain of custody documentation. 

R. Unauthorized discharge of pollutants. Except in 

compliance with this VWP general permit, it shall be unlawful 

for the permittee to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; 

2. Excavate in a wetland; 

3. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of state waters and make them detrimental to the 

public health, to animal or aquatic life, or to the uses of such 

waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses; or 

4. On and after October 1, 2001, conduct the following 

activities in a wetland: 

a. New activities to cause draining that significantly alters 

or degrades existing wetland acreage or functions; 

b. Filling or dumping; 

c. Permanent flooding or impounding; or 

d. New activities that cause significant alteration or 

degradation of existing wetland acreage or functions. 

S. Duty to reapply. Any permittee desiring to continue a 

previously authorized activity after the expiration date of the 

VWP general permit shall comply with the provisions in 

9VAC25-670-27. 

9VAC25-680-100. VWP general permit. 

VWP GENERAL PERMIT NO. WP3 FOR LINEAR 

TRANSPORTATION PROJECTS UNDER THE VIRGINIA 

WATER PROTECTION PERMIT AND THE VIRGINIA 

STATE WATER CONTROL LAW 

Effective date: August 2, 2016 

Expiration date: August 1, 2026 

In compliance with § 401 of the Clean Water Act, as amended 

(33 USC § 1341) and the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, the board has determined 

that there is a reasonable assurance that this VWP general 

permit, if complied with, will protect instream beneficial uses, 

will not violate applicable water quality standards, and will not 
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cause or contribute to a significant impairment of state waters 

or fish and wildlife resources. In issuing this VWP general 

permit, the board has not taken into consideration the structural 

stability of any proposed activities. 

The permanent or temporary impact of up to two acres of 

nontidal wetlands or open water and up to 1,500 linear feet of 

nontidal stream bed shall be subject to the provisions of the 

VWP general permit set forth herein; any requirements in 

coverage granted under this VWP general permit; the Clean 

Water Act, as amended; and the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant to it. 

Part I. 

Special Conditions. 

A. Authorized activities. 

1. The activities authorized by this chapter shall not cause 

more than the permanent or temporary impacts of up to two 

acres of nontidal wetlands or open water and up to 1,500 

linear feet of nontidal stream bed. Additional permit 

requirements as stipulated by the department in the coverage 

letter, if any, shall be enforceable conditions of this permit. 

2. Any changes to the authorized permanent impacts to 

surface waters shall require a notice of planned change in 

accordance with 9VAC25-680-80. An application or request 

for modification to coverage or another VWP permit 

application may be required. 

3. Any changes to the authorized temporary impacts to 

surface waters shall require written notification to and 

approval from the Department of Environmental Quality in 

accordance with 9VAC25-680-80 prior to initiating the 

impacts and restoration to preexisting conditions in 

accordance with the conditions of this permit. 

4. Modification to compensation requirements may be 

approved at the request of the permittee when a decrease in 

the amount of authorized surface waters impacts occurs, 

provided that the adjusted compensation meets the initial 

compensation goals. 

B. Overall conditions. 

1. The activities authorized by this VWP general permit shall 

be executed in a manner so as to minimize adverse impacts 

on instream beneficial uses as defined in § 62.1-10 (b) of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. No activity may substantially disrupt the movement of 

aquatic life indigenous to the water body, including those 

species that normally migrate through the area, unless the 

primary purpose of the activity is to impound water. Pipes 

and culverts placed in streams must be installed to maintain 

low flow conditions and shall be countersunk at both inlet 

and outlet ends of the pipe or culvert, unless specifically 

approved by the Department of Environmental Quality on a 

case-by-case basis and as follows: The requirement to 

countersink does not apply to extensions or maintenance of 

existing pipes and culverts that are not countersunk, 

floodplain pipe and culverts being placed above ordinary 

high water, pipes and culverts being placed on bedrock, or 

pipes or culverts required to be placed on slopes 5.0% or 

greater. Bedrock encountered during construction must be 

identified and approved in advance of a design change where 

the countersunk condition cannot be met. Pipes and culverts 

24 inches or less in diameter shall be countersunk three 

inches below the natural stream bed elevations, and pipes 

and culverts greater than 24 inches shall be countersunk at 

least six inches below the natural stream bed elevations. 

Hydraulic capacity shall be determined based on the reduced 

capacity due to the countersunk position. In all stream 

crossings appropriate measures shall be implemented to 

minimize any disruption of aquatic life movement. 

3. Wet or uncured concrete shall be prohibited from entry 

into flowing surface waters, unless the area is contained 

within a cofferdam and the work is performed in the dry or 

unless otherwise approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Excess or waste concrete shall not 

be disposed of in flowing surface waters or washed into 

flowing surface waters. 

4. All fill material shall be clean and free of contaminants in 

toxic concentrations or amounts in accordance with all 

applicable laws and regulations. 

5. Erosion and sedimentation controls shall be designed in 

accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. These controls shall be 

placed prior to clearing and grading and maintained in good 

working order to minimize impacts to state waters. These 

controls shall remain in place until the area is stabilized and 

shall then be removed. 

6. Exposed slopes and streambanks shall be stabilized 

immediately upon completion of work in each permitted 

impact area. All denuded areas shall be properly stabilized 

in accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment 

Control Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

7. All construction, construction access (e.g., cofferdams, 

sheetpiling, and causeways) and demolition activities 

associated with the project shall be accomplished in a 

manner that minimizes construction or waste materials from 

entering surface waters to the maximum extent practicable, 

unless authorized by this VWP general permit. 

8. No machinery may enter flowing waters, unless 

authorized by this VWP general permit or approved prior to 

entry by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

9. Heavy equipment in temporarily impacted wetland areas 

shall be placed on mats, geotextile fabric, or other suitable 

material, to minimize soil disturbance to the maximum 

extent practicable. Equipment and materials shall be 

removed immediately upon completion of work. 
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10. All nonimpacted surface waters and compensatory 

mitigation areas within 50 feet of authorized activities and 

within the project or right-of-way limits shall be clearly 

flagged or marked for the life of the construction activity at 

that location to preclude unauthorized disturbances to these 

surface waters and compensatory mitigation areas during 

construction. The permittee shall notify contractors that no 

activities are to occur in these marked surface waters. 

11. Temporary disturbances to surface waters during 

construction shall be avoided and minimized to the 

maximum extent practicable. All temporarily disturbed 

wetland areas shall be restored to preexisting conditions 

within 30 days of completing work at each respective 

temporary impact area, which shall include reestablishing 

preconstruction elevations and contours with topsoil from 

the impact area where practicable and planting or seeding 

with appropriate wetland vegetation according to cover type 

(i.e., emergent, scrub-shrub, or forested). The permittee shall 

take all appropriate measures to promote and maintain 

revegetation of temporarily disturbed wetland areas with 

wetland vegetation through the second year post-

disturbance. All temporarily impacted streams and 

streambanks shall be restored to their preconstruction 

elevations and contours with topsoil from the impact area 

where practicable within 30 days following the construction 

at that stream segment. Streambanks shall be seeded or 

planted with the same vegetation cover type originally 

present, including any necessary, supplemental erosion 

control grasses. Invasive species identified on the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Virginia 

Invasive Plant Species List shall not be used to the maximum 

extent practicable or without prior approval from the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

12. Materials (including fill, construction debris, and 

excavated and woody materials) temporarily stockpiled in 

wetlands shall be placed on mats or geotextile fabric, 

immediately stabilized to prevent entry into state waters, 

managed such that leachate does not enter state waters, and 

completely removed within 30 days following completion of 

that construction activity. Disturbed areas shall be returned 

to preconstruction elevations and contours with topsoil from 

the impact area where practicable; restored within 30 days 

following removal of the stockpile; and restored with the 

same vegetation cover type originally present, including any 

necessary supplemental erosion control grasses. Invasive 

species identified on the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation's Virginia Invasive Plant Species List shall not be 

used to the maximum extent practicable or without prior 

approval from the Department of Environmental Quality. 

13. Continuous flow of perennial springs shall be maintained 

by the installation of spring boxes, french drains, or other 

similar structures. 

14. The permittee shall employ measures to prevent spills of 

fuels or lubricants into state waters. 

15. The permittee shall conduct his activities in accordance 

with the time-of-year restrictions recommended by the 

Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources, the Virginia 

Marine Resources Commission, or other interested and 

affected agencies, as contained, when applicable, in 

Department of Environmental Quality VWP general permit 

coverage, and shall ensure that all contractors are aware of 

the time-of-year restrictions imposed. 

16. Water quality standards shall not be violated as a result 

of the construction activities. 

17. If stream channelization or relocation is required, all 

work in surface waters shall be done in the dry, unless 

otherwise authorized by the Department of Environmental 

Quality, and all flows shall be diverted around the 

channelization or relocation area until the new channel is 

stabilized. This work shall be accomplished by leaving a 

plug at the inlet and outlet ends of the new channel during 

excavation. Once the new channel has been stabilized, flow 

shall be routed into the new channel by first removing the 

downstream plug and then the upstream plug. The rerouted 

stream flow must be fully established before construction 

activities in the old stream channel can begin. 

C. Road crossings. 

1. Access roads and associated bridges, pipes, and culverts 

shall be constructed to minimize the adverse effects on 

surface waters to the maximum extent practicable. Access 

roads constructed above preconstruction elevations and 

contours in surface waters must be bridged, piped, or 

culverted to maintain surface flows. 

2. Installation of road crossings shall occur in the dry via the 

implementation of cofferdams, sheetpiling, stream 

diversions, or similar structures. 

D. Utility lines. 

1. All utility line work in surface waters shall be performed 

in a manner that minimizes disturbance, and the area must 

be returned to its preconstruction elevations and contours 

with topsoil from the impact area where practicable and 

restored within 30 days of completing work in the area, 

unless otherwise authorized by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Restoration shall be the seeding or 

planting of the same vegetation cover type originally 

present, including any necessary supplemental erosion 

control grasses. Invasive species identified on the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Virginia 

Invasive Plant Species List shall not be used to the maximum 

extent practicable or without prior approval from the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

2. Material resulting from trench excavation may be 

temporarily sidecast into wetlands not to exceed a total of 90 
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days, provided the material is not placed in a manner such 

that it is dispersed by currents or other forces. 

3. The trench for a utility line cannot be constructed in a 

manner that drains wetlands (e.g., backfilling with extensive 

gravel layers creating a french drain effect). For example, 

utility lines may be backfilled with clay blocks to ensure that 

the trench does not drain surface waters through which the 

utility line is installed. 

E. Stream modification and stream bank protection. 

1. Riprap bank stabilization shall be of an appropriate size 

and design in accordance with the Virginia Erosion and 

Sediment Control Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

2. Riprap aprons for all outfalls shall be designed in 

accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

3. For bank protection activities, the structure and backfill 

shall be placed as close to the stream bank as practicable. No 

material shall be placed in excess of the minimum necessary 

for erosion protection. 

4. All stream bank protection structures shall be located to 

eliminate or minimize impacts to vegetated wetlands to the 

maximum extent practicable. 

5. Asphalt and materials containing asphalt or other toxic 

substances shall not be used in the construction of 

submerged sills or breakwaters. 

6. Redistribution of existing stream substrate for the purpose 

of erosion control is prohibited. 

7. No material removed from the stream bottom shall be 

disposed of in surface waters, unless otherwise authorized 

by this VWP general permit. 

F. Dredging. 

1. Dredging depths shall be determined and authorized 

according to the proposed use and controlling depths outside 

the area to be dredged. 

2. Dredging shall be accomplished in a manner that 

minimizes disturbance of the bottom and minimizes 

turbidity levels in the water column. 

3. If evidence of impaired water quality, such as a fish kill, 

is observed during the dredging, dredging operations shall 

cease, and the Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified immediately. 

4. Barges used for the transportation of dredge material shall 

be filled in such a manner to prevent the overflow of dredged 

materials. 

5. Double handling of dredged material in state waters shall 

not be permitted. 

6. For navigation channels the following shall apply: 

a. A buffer of four times the depth of the dredge cut shall 

be maintained between the bottom edge of the design 

channel and the channelward limit of wetlands, or a buffer 

of 15 feet shall be maintained from the dredged cut and the 

channelward edge of wetlands, whichever is greater. This 

landward limit of buffer shall be flagged and inspected 

prior to construction. 

b. Side slope cuts of the dredging area shall not exceed a 

two-horizontal-to-one-vertical slope to prevent slumping 

of material into the dredged area. 

7. A dredged material management plan for the designated 

upland disposal site shall be submitted and approved 30 days 

prior to initial dredging activity. 

8. Pipeline outfalls and spillways shall be located at opposite 

ends of the dewatering area to allow for maximum retention 

and settling time. Filter fabric shall be used to line the 

dewatering area and to cover the outfall pipe to further 

reduce sedimentation to state waters. 

9. The dredge material dewatering area shall be of adequate 

size to contain the dredge material and to allow for adequate 

dewatering and settling out of sediment prior to discharge 

back into state waters. 

10. The dredge material dewatering area shall utilize an 

earthen berm or straw bales covered with filter fabric along 

the edge of the area to contain the dredged material, filter 

bags, or other similar filtering practices, any of which shall 

be properly stabilized prior to placing the dredged material 

within the containment area. 

11. Overtopping of the dredge material containment berms 

with dredge materials shall be strictly prohibited. 

G. Stormwater management facilities. 

1. Stormwater management facilities shall be installed in 

accordance with best management practices and watershed 

protection techniques (e.g., vegetated buffers, siting 

considerations to minimize adverse effects to aquatic 

resources, bioengineering methods incorporated into the 

facility design to benefit water quality and minimize adverse 

effects to aquatic resources) that provide for long-term 

aquatic resources protection and enhancement, to the 

maximum extent practicable. 

2. Compensation for unavoidable impacts shall not be 

allowed within maintenance areas of stormwater 

management facilities. 

3. Maintenance activities within stormwater management 

facilities shall not require additional permit coverage or 

compensation, provided that the maintenance activities do 

not exceed the original contours of the facility, as approved 

and constructed, and is accomplished in designated 

maintenance areas as indicated in the facility maintenance or 

design plan or when unavailable, an alternative plan 

approved by the Department of Environmental Quality. 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 7  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 18, 2024  

837 

Part II. 

Construction and Compensation Requirements, Monitoring 

and Reporting. 

A. Minimum compensation requirements. 

1. The permittee shall provide any required compensation 

for impacts in accordance with the conditions in this VWP 

general permit, the coverage letter, and the chapter 

promulgating the general permit. For all compensation that 

requires a protective mechanism, including preservation of 

surface waters or buffers, the permittee shall record the 

approved protective mechanism in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-owned 

lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted to the 

Department of Environmental Quality prior to commencing 

impacts in surface waters. 

2. Compensation options that may be considered under this 

VWP general permit shall meet the criteria in § 62.1-

44.15:23 of the Code of Virginia, 9VAC25-210-116, and 

9VAC25-680-70. 

3. The permittee-responsible compensation site or sites 

depicted in the conceptual compensation plan submitted 

with the application shall constitute the compensation site. 

A site change may require a modification to coverage. 

4. For compensation involving the purchase of mitigation 

bank credits or the purchase of in-lieu fee program credits, 

the permittee shall not initiate work in permitted impact 

areas until documentation of the mitigation bank credit 

purchase or of the in-lieu fee program credit purchase has 

been submitted to and received by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

5. The final compensatory mitigation plan shall be submitted 

to and approved by the department prior to a construction 

activity in permitted impact areas. The department shall 

review and provide written comments on the final plan 

within 30 days of receipt or it shall be deemed approved. The 

final plan as approved by the department shall be an 

enforceable requirement of any coverage under this VWP 

general permit. Deviations from the approved final plan shall 

be submitted and approved in advance by the department. 

a. The final permittee-responsible wetlands compensation 

plan shall include: 

(1) The complete information on all components of the 

conceptual compensation plan. 

(2) A summary of the type and acreage of existing wetland 

impacts anticipated during the construction of the 

compensation site and the proposed compensation for 

these impacts; a site access plan; a monitoring plan, 

including proposed success criteria, monitoring goals, and 

the location of photo-monitoring stations, monitoring 

wells, vegetation sampling points, and reference wetlands 

or streams, if available; an abatement and control plan for 

undesirable plant species; an erosion and sedimentation 

control plan; a construction schedule; and the final 

protective mechanism for the protection of the 

compensation site or sites, including all surface waters and 

buffer areas within its boundaries. 

(3) The approved protective mechanism. The protective 

mechanism shall be recorded in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-

owned lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted 

to the Department of Environmental Quality prior to 

commencing impacts in surface waters. 

b. The final permittee-responsible stream compensation 

plan shall include: 

(1) The complete information on all components of the 

conceptual compensation plan. 

(2) An evaluation, discussion, and plan drawing or 

drawings of existing conditions on the proposed 

compensation stream, including the identification of 

functional and physical deficiencies for which the 

measures are proposed, and summary of geomorphologic 

measurements (e.g., stream width, entrenchment ratio, 

width-depth ratio, sinuosity, slope, substrate, etc.); a site 

access plan; a monitoring plan, including a monitoring and 

reporting schedule, monitoring design and methodologies 

for success, proposed success criteria, location of photo-

monitoring stations, vegetation sampling points, survey 

points, bank pins, scour chains, and reference streams; an 

abatement and control plan for undesirable plant species; 

an erosion and sedimentation control plan, if appropriate; 

a construction schedule; a plan-view drawing depicting 

the pattern and all compensation measures being 

employed; a profile drawing; cross-sectional drawing or 

drawings of the proposed compensation stream; and the 

final protective mechanism for the protection of the 

compensation site or sites, including all surface waters and 

buffer areas within its boundaries. 

(3) The approved protective mechanism. The protective 

mechanism shall be recorded in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-

owned lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted 

to the Department of Environmental Quality prior to 

commencing impacts in surface waters. 

6. The following criteria shall apply to permittee-responsible 

wetland or stream compensation: 

a. The vegetation used shall be native species common to 

the area, shall be suitable for growth in local wetland or 

riparian conditions, and shall be from areas within the 

same or adjacent U.S. Department of Agriculture Plant 

Hardiness Zone or Natural Resources Conservation 

Service Land Resource Region as that of the project site. 

Planting of woody plants shall occur when vegetation is 

normally dormant, unless otherwise approved in the final 

wetlands or stream compensation plan or plans. 
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b. All work in permitted impact areas shall cease if 

compensation site construction has not commenced within 

180 days of commencement of project construction, 

unless otherwise authorized by the department. 

c. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the initiation of construction 

activities at the compensation site. 

d. Point sources of stormwater runoff shall be prohibited 

from entering a wetland compensation site prior to 

treatment by appropriate best management practices. 

Appropriate best management practices may include 

sediment traps, grassed waterways, vegetated filter strips, 

debris screens, oil and grease separators, or forebays. 

e. The success of the compensation shall be based on 

meeting the success criteria established in the approved 

final compensation plan. 

f. If the wetland or stream compensation area fails to meet 

the specified success criteria in a particular monitoring 

year, other than the final monitoring year, the reasons for 

this failure shall be determined and a corrective action 

plan shall be submitted to the Department of 

Environmental Quality for approval with or before that 

year's monitoring report. The corrective action plan shall 

contain at minimum the proposed actions, a schedule for 

those actions, and a monitoring plan, and shall be 

implemented by the permittee in accordance with the 

approved schedule. Should significant changes be 

necessary to ensure success, the required monitoring cycle 

shall begin again, with monitoring year one being the year 

that the changes are complete as confirmed by the 

Department of Environmental Quality. If the wetland or 

stream compensation area fails to meet the specified 

success criteria by the final monitoring year or if the 

wetland or stream compensation area has not met the 

stated restoration goals, reasons for this failure shall be 

determined and a corrective action plan, including 

proposed actions, a schedule, and a monitoring plan, shall 

be submitted with the final year monitoring report for the 

Department of Environmental Quality approval. 

Corrective action shall be implemented by the permittee 

in accordance with the approved schedule. Annual 

monitoring shall be required to continue until two 

sequential, annual reports indicate that all criteria have 

been successfully satisfied and the site has met the overall 

restoration goals (e.g., that corrective actions were 

successful). 

g. The surveyed wetland boundary for the compensation 

site shall be based on the results of the hydrology, soils, 

and vegetation monitoring data and shall be shown on the 

site plan. Calculation of total wetland acreage shall be 

based on that boundary at the end of the monitoring cycle. 

Data shall be submitted by December 31 of the final 

monitoring year. 

h. Herbicides or algicides shall not be used in or 

immediately adjacent to the compensation site or sites 

without prior authorization by the department. All 

vegetation removal shall be done by manual means only, 

unless authorized by the Department of Environmental 

Quality in advance. 

B. Impact site construction monitoring. 

1. Construction activities authorized by this permit that are 

within impact areas shall be monitored and documented. The 

monitoring shall consist of: 

a. Preconstruction photographs taken at each impact area 

prior to initiation of activities within impact areas. 

Photographs shall remain on the project site and depict the 

impact area and the nonimpacted surface waters 

immediately adjacent to and downgradient of each impact 

area. Each photograph shall be labeled to include the 

following information: permit number, impact area 

number, date and time of the photograph, name of the 

person taking the photograph, photograph orientation, and 

photograph subject description. 

b. Site inspections shall be conducted by the permittee or 

the permittee's qualified designee once every calendar 

month during activities within impact areas. Monthly 

inspections shall be conducted in the following areas: all 

authorized permanent and temporary impact areas; all 

avoided surface waters, including wetlands, stream 

channels, and open water; surface water areas within 50 

feet of any land disturbing activity and within the project 

or right-of-way limits; and all on-site permanent 

preservation areas required under this permit. 

Observations shall be recorded on the inspection form 

provided by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

The form shall be completed in its entirety for each 

monthly inspection and shall be kept on site and made 

available for review by the Department of Environmental 

Quality staff upon request during normal business hours. 

Inspections are not required during periods of no activity 

within impact areas. 

2. Monitoring of water quality parameters shall be conducted 

during permanent relocation of perennial streams through 

new channels in the manner noted in this subdivision. The 

permittee shall report violations of water quality standards 

to the Department of Environmental Quality in accordance 

with the procedures in 9VAC25-680-100 Part II E. 

Corrective measures and additional monitoring may be 

required if water quality standards are not met. Reporting 

shall not be required if water quality standards are not 

violated. 

a. A sampling station shall be located upstream and 

immediately downstream of the relocated channel. 

b. Temperature, pH, and dissolved oxygen (D.O.) 

measurements shall be taken every 30 minutes for at least 
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two hours at each station prior to opening the new 

channels and immediately before opening new channels. 

c. Temperature, pH, and D.O. readings shall be taken after 

opening the channels and every 30 minutes for at least 

three hours at each station. 

C. Permittee-responsible wetland compensation site 

monitoring. 

1. An as-built ground survey, or an aerial survey provided 

by a firm specializing in aerial surveys, shall be conducted 

for the entire compensation site or sites, including invert 

elevations for all water elevation control structures and spot 

elevations throughout the site or sites. Aerial surveys shall 

include the variation from actual ground conditions, such as 

+/- 0.2 feet. Either type of survey shall be certified by a 

licensed surveyor or by a registered professional engineer to 

conform to the design plans. The survey shall be submitted 

within 60 days of completing compensation site 

construction. Changes or deviations in the as-built survey or 

aerial survey shall be shown on the survey and explained in 

writing. 

2. Photographs shall be taken at the compensation site or 

sites from the permanent markers identified in the final 

compensation plan, and established to ensure that the same 

locations and view directions at the site or sites are 

monitored in each monitoring period. These photographs 

shall be taken after the initial planting and at a time specified 

in the final compensation plan during every monitoring year. 

3. Compensation site monitoring shall begin on the first day 

of the first complete growing season (monitoring year one) 

after wetland compensation site construction activities, 

including planting, have been completed. Monitoring shall 

be required for monitoring years one, two, three, and five, 

unless otherwise approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. In all cases, if all success criteria 

have not been met in the final monitoring year, then 

monitoring shall be required for each consecutive year until 

two annual sequential reports indicate that all criteria have 

been successfully satisfied. 

4. The establishment of wetland hydrology shall be 

measured weekly during the growing season, with the 

location and number of monitoring wells, and frequency of 

monitoring for each site, set forth in the final monitoring 

plan. Hydrology monitoring well data shall be accompanied 

by precipitation data, including rainfall amounts, either from 

on site or from the closest weather station. Once the wetland 

hydrology success criteria have been satisfied for a 

particular monitoring year, monitoring may be discontinued 

for the remainder of that monitoring year following 

Department of Environmental Quality approval. After a 

period of three monitoring years, the permittee may request 

that hydrology monitoring be discontinued, providing that 

adequate hydrology has been established and maintained. 

Hydrology monitoring shall not be discontinued without 

written approval from the Department of Environmental 

Quality. 

5. The presence of hydric soils or soils under hydric 

conditions shall be evaluated in accordance with the final 

compensation plan. 

6. The establishment of wetland vegetation shall be in 

accordance with the final compensation plan. Monitoring 

shall take place in August, September, or October during the 

growing season of each monitoring year, unless otherwise 

authorized in the monitoring plan. 

7. The presence of undesirable plant species shall be 

documented. 

8. All wetland compensation monitoring reports shall be 

submitted in accordance with 9VAC25-680-100 Part II E 6. 

D. Permittee-responsible stream compensation and 

monitoring. 

1. Riparian buffer restoration activities shall be detailed in 

the final compensation plan and shall include, as 

appropriate, the planting of a variety of native species 

currently growing in the site area, including appropriate seed 

mixtures and woody species that are bare root, balled, or 

burlapped. A minimum buffer width of 50 feet, measured 

from the top of the stream bank at bankfull elevation 

landward on both sides of the stream, shall be required where 

practical. 

2. The installation of root wads, vanes, and other instream 

structures, shaping of the stream banks and channel 

relocation shall be completed in the dry whenever 

practicable. 

3. Livestock access to the stream and designated riparian 

buffer shall be limited to the greatest extent practicable. 

4. Stream channel restoration activities shall be conducted in 

the dry or during low flow conditions. When site conditions 

prohibit access from the streambank or upon prior 

authorization from the Department of Environmental 

Quality, heavy equipment may be authorized for use within 

the stream channel. 

5. Photographs shall be taken at the compensation site from 

the vicinity of the permanent photo-monitoring stations 

identified in the final compensation plan. The photograph 

orientation shall remain constant during all monitoring 

events. At a minimum, photographs shall be taken from the 

center of the stream, facing downstream, with a sufficient 

number of photographs to view the entire length of the 

restoration site. Photographs shall document the completed 

restoration conditions. Photographs shall be taken prior to 

site activities, during instream and riparian compensation 

construction activities, within one week of completion of 

activities, and during at least one day of each monitoring 

year to depict restored conditions. 
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6. An as-built ground survey, or an aerial survey provided 

by a firm specializing in aerial surveys, shall be conducted 

for the entire compensation site or sites. Aerial surveys shall 

include the variation from actual ground conditions, such as 

+/- 0.2 feet. The survey shall be certified by the licensed 

surveyor or by a registered, professional engineer to conform 

to the design plans. The survey shall be submitted within 60 

days of completing compensation site construction. Changes 

or deviations from the final compensation plans in the as-

built survey or aerial survey shall be shown on the survey 

and explained in writing. 

7. Compensation site monitoring shall begin on day one of 

the first complete growing season (monitoring year one) 

after stream compensation site constructions activities, 

including planting, have been completed. Monitoring shall 

be required for monitoring years one and two, unless 

otherwise approved by the Department of Environmental 

Quality. In all cases, if all success criteria have not been met 

in the final monitoring year, then monitoring shall be 

required for each consecutive year until two annual 

sequential reports indicate that all criteria have been 

successfully satisfied. 

8. All stream compensation site monitoring reports shall be 

submitted in accordance with 9VAC25-680-100 Part II E 6. 

E. Reporting. 

1. Written communications required by this VWP general 

permit shall be submitted to the appropriate Department of 

Environmental Quality office. The VWP general permit 

tracking number shall be included on all correspondence. 

2. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the start of construction activities 

at the first permitted impact area. 

3. A construction status update form provided by the 

Department of Environmental Quality shall be completed 

and submitted to the Department of Environmental Quality 

twice per year for the duration of coverage under a VWP 

general permit. Forms completed in June shall be submitted 

by or on July 10, and forms completed in December shall be 

submitted by or on January 10. The form shall include 

reference to the VWP permit tracking number and one of the 

following statements for each authorized surface water 

impact location: 

a. Construction activities have not yet started; 

b. Construction activities have started; 

c. Construction activities have started but are currently 

inactive; or 

d. Construction activities are complete. 

4. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing within 30 days following the completion 

of all activities in all authorized impact areas. 

5. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the initiation of activities at the 

permittee-responsible compensation site. The notification 

shall include a projected schedule of activities and 

construction completion. 

6. All permittee-responsible compensation site monitoring 

reports shall be submitted annually by December 31, with 

the exception of the last year, in which case the report shall 

be submitted at least 60 days prior to the expiration of the 

general permit, unless otherwise approved by the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

a. All wetland compensation site monitoring reports shall 

include, as applicable, the following: 

(1) General description of the site including a site location 

map identifying photo-monitoring stations, vegetative and 

soil monitoring stations, monitoring wells, and wetland 

zones. 

(2) Summary of activities completed during the 

monitoring year, including alterations or maintenance 

conducted at the site. 

(3) Description of monitoring methods. 

(4) Analysis of all hydrology information, including 

monitoring well data, precipitation data, and gauging data 

from streams or other open water areas, as set forth in the 

final compensation plan. 

(5) Evaluation of hydric soils or soils under hydric 

conditions, as appropriate. 

(6) Analysis of all vegetative community information, 

including woody and herbaceous species, both planted and 

volunteers, as set forth in the final compensation plan. 

(7) Photographs labeled with the permit number, the name 

of the compensation site, the photo-monitoring station 

number, the photograph orientation, the date and time of 

the photograph, the name of the person taking the 

photograph, and a brief description of the photograph 

subject. This information shall be provided as a separate 

attachment to each photograph, if necessary. Photographs 

taken after the initial planting shall be included in the first 

monitoring report after planting is complete. 

(8) Discussion of wildlife or signs of wildlife observed at 

the compensation site. 

(9) Comparison of site conditions from the previous 

monitoring year and reference site. 

(10) Discussion of corrective measures or maintenance 

activities to control undesirable species, to repair damaged 

water control devices, or to replace damaged planted 

vegetation. 

(11) Corrective action plan that includes proposed actions, 

a schedule, and monitoring plan. 

b. All stream compensation site monitoring reports shall 

include, as applicable, the following: 
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(1) General description of the site including a site location 

map identifying photo-monitoring stations and monitoring 

stations. 

(2) Summary of activities completed during the 

monitoring year, including alterations or maintenance 

conducted at the site. 

(3) Description of monitoring methods. 

(4) Evaluation and discussion of the monitoring results in 

relation to the success criteria and overall goals of 

compensation. 

(5) Photographs shall be labeled with the permit number, 

the name of the compensation site, the photo-monitoring 

station number, the photograph orientation, the date and 

time of the photograph, the name of the person taking the 

photograph, and a brief description of the photograph 

subject. Photographs taken prior to compensation site 

construction activities, during instream and riparian 

restoration activities, and within one week of completion 

of activities shall be included in the first monitoring report. 

(6) Discussion of alterations, maintenance, or major storm 

events resulting in significant change in stream profile or 

cross section, and corrective actions conducted at the 

stream compensation site. 

(7) Documentation of undesirable plant species and 

summary of abatement and control measures. 

(8) Summary of wildlife or signs of wildlife observed at 

the compensation site. 

(9) Comparison of site conditions from the previous 

monitoring year and reference site, and as-built survey, if 

applicable. 

(10) Corrective action plan that includes proposed actions, 

a schedule and monitoring plan. 

(11) Additional submittals that were approved by the 

Department of Environmental Quality in the final 

compensation plan. 

7. The permittee shall notify the Department of 

Environmental Quality in writing when unusual or 

potentially complex conditions are encountered that require 

debris removal or involve potentially toxic substance. 

Measures to remove the obstruction, material, or toxic 

substance or to change the location of a structure are 

prohibited until approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

8. The permittee shall report fish kills or spills of oil or fuel 

immediately upon discovery. If spills or fish kills occur 

between the hours of 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through 

Friday, the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality regional office shall be notified; otherwise, the 

Department of Emergency Management shall be notified at 

1-800-468-8892. 

9. Violations of state water quality standards shall be 

reported to the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality office no later than the end of the business day 

following discovery. 

10. The permittee shall notify the Department of 

Environmental Quality no later than the end of the third 

business day following the discovery of additional impacts 

to surface waters including wetlands, stream channels, and 

open water that are not authorized by the Department of 

Environmental Quality or to any required preservation areas. 

The notification shall include photographs, estimated 

acreage or linear footage of impacts, and a description of the 

impacts. 

11. Submittals required by this VWP general permit shall 

contain the following signed certification statement: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or 

persons who manage the system, or those persons directly 

responsible for gathering the information, the information 

submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant 

penalties for submitting false information, including the 

possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing violation." 

Part III. 

Conditions Applicable to All VWP General Permits. 

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions, limitations, and other requirements of the VWP 

general permit; any requirements in coverage granted under 

this VWP general permit; the Clean Water Act, as amended; 

and the State Water Control Law and regulations adopted 

pursuant to it. Any VWP general permit violation or 

noncompliance is a violation of the Clean Water Act and State 

Water Control Law and is grounds for (i) enforcement action, 

(ii) VWP general permit coverage termination for cause, (iii) 

VWP general permit coverage revocation, (iv) denial of 

application for coverage, or (v) denial of an application for a 

modification to VWP general permit coverage. Nothing in this 

VWP general permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee 

of the duty to comply with all applicable federal and state 

statutes, regulations, and toxic standards and prohibitions. 

B. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent impacts in violation of the VWP 

general permit that may have a reasonable likelihood of 

adversely affecting human health or the environment. 

C. Reopener. This VWP general permit may be reopened to 

modify its conditions when the circumstances on which the 

previous VWP general permit was based have materially and 

substantially changed, or special studies conducted by the 

department or the permittee show material and substantial 
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change since the time the VWP general permit was issued and 

thereby constitute cause for revoking and reissuing the VWP 

general permit. 

D. Compliance with state and federal law. Compliance with 

this VWP general permit constitutes compliance with the VWP 

permit requirements of the State Water Control Law. Nothing 

in this VWP general permit shall be construed to preclude the 

institution of any legal action under or relieve the permittee 

from any responsibilities, liabilities, or other penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under the authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

E. Property rights. The issuance of this VWP general permit 

does not convey property rights in either real or personal 

property or any exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize 

injury to private property, any invasion of personal property 

rights, or any infringement of federal, state, or local laws or 

regulations. 

F. Severability. The provisions of this VWP general permit 

are severable. 

G. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, the 

permittee shall allow the department or any duly authorized 

agent of the department, at reasonable times and under 

reasonable circumstances, to enter upon the permittee's 

property, public or private, and have access to inspect and copy 

any records that must be kept as part of the VWP general 

permit conditions; to inspect any facilities, operations, or 

practices (including monitoring and control equipment) 

regulated or required under the VWP general permit; and to 

sample or monitor any substance, parameter, or activity for the 

purpose of ensuring compliance with the conditions of the 

VWP general permit or as otherwise authorized by law. For the 

purpose of this section, the time for inspection shall be deemed 

reasonable during regular business hours. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection time unreasonable during an 

emergency. 

H. Transferability of VWP general permit coverage. VWP 

general permit coverage may be transferred to another 

permittee when all of the criteria listed in this subsection are 

met. On the date of the VWP general permit coverage transfer, 

the transferred VWP general permit coverage shall be as fully 

effective as if it had been granted directly to the new permittee. 

1. The current permittee notifies the department of the 

proposed transfer of the general permit coverage and 

provides a written agreement between the current and new 

permittees containing a specific date of transfer of VWP 

general permit responsibility, coverage, and liability to the 

new permittee, or that the current permittee will retain such 

responsibility, coverage, or liability, including liability for 

compliance with the requirements of enforcement activities 

related to the authorized activity. 

2. The department does not within 15 days notify the current 

and new permittees of the board's intent to modify or revoke 

and reissue the VWP general permit. 

I. Notice of planned change. VWP general permit coverage 

may be modified subsequent to issuance in accordance with 

9VAC25-680-80. 

J. VWP general permit coverage termination for cause. VWP 

general permit coverage is subject to termination for cause by 

the department after public notice and opportunity for a hearing 

in accordance with 9VAC25-210-180. Reasons for termination 

for cause are as follows: 

1. Noncompliance by the permittee with any provision of 

this chapter, any condition of the VWP general permit, or 

any requirement in general permit coverage; 

2. The permittee's failure in the application or during the 

process of granting VWP general permit coverage to 

disclose fully all relevant facts or the permittee's 

misrepresentation of any relevant facts at any time; 

3. The permittee's violation of a special or judicial order; 

4. A determination by the department that the authorized 

activity endangers human health or the environment and can 

be regulated to acceptable levels by a modification to VWP 

general permit coverage or a termination; 

5. A change in any condition that requires either a temporary 

or permanent reduction or elimination of any activity 

controlled by the VWP general permit; or 

6. A determination that the authorized activity has ceased 

and that the compensation for unavoidable adverse impacts 

has been successfully completed. 

K. The department may terminate VWP general permit 

coverage without cause when the permittee is no longer a legal 

entity due to death or dissolution or when a company is no 

longer authorized to conduct business in the Commonwealth. 

The termination shall be effective 30 days after notice of the 

proposed termination is sent to the last known address of the 

permittee or registered agent, unless the permittee objects 

within that time. If the permittee does object during that period, 

the department shall follow the applicable procedures for 

termination under 9VAC25-210-180 and § 62.1-44.15:25 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

L. VWP general permit coverage termination by consent. The 

permittee shall submit a request for termination by consent 

within 30 days of completing or canceling all authorized 

activities requiring notification under 9VAC25-680-50 A and 

all compensatory mitigation requirements. When submitted for 

project completion, the request for termination by consent shall 

constitute a notice of project completion in accordance with 

9VAC25-210-130 F. The director may accept this termination 

of coverage on behalf of the department. The permittee shall 

submit the following information: 
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1. Name, mailing address, and telephone number; 

2. Name and location of the activity; 

3. The VWP general permit tracking number; and 

4. One of the following certifications: 

a. For project completion: 

"I certify under penalty of law that all activities and any 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage have been 

completed. I understand that by submitting this notice of 

termination I am no longer authorized to perform activities 

in surface waters in accordance with the VWP general 

permit and general permit coverage, and that performing 

activities in surface waters is unlawful where the activity 

is not authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit coverage." 

b. For project cancellation: 

"I certify under penalty of law that the activities and any 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage will not occur. 

I understand that by submitting this notice of termination 

I am no longer authorized to perform activities in surface 

waters in accordance with the VWP general permit and 

general permit coverage, and that performing activities in 

surface waters is unlawful where the activity is not 

authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage, nor does it allow me to resume 

the authorized activities without reapplication and 

coverage." 

c. For events beyond permittee control, the permittee shall 

provide a detailed explanation of the events, to be 

approved by the Department of Environmental Quality, 

and the following certification statement: 

"I certify under penalty of law that the activities or the 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage have changed 

as the result of events beyond my control (see attached). I 

understand that by submitting this notice of termination I 

am no longer authorized to perform activities in surface 

waters in accordance with the VWP general permit and 

general permit coverage, and that performing activities in 

surface waters is unlawful where the activity is not 

authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit authorization or coverage, nor does it allow 

me to resume the authorized activities without 

reapplication and coverage." 

M. Civil and criminal liability. Nothing in this VWP general 

permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and 

criminal penalties for noncompliance. 

N. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

VWP general permit shall be construed to preclude the 

institution of legal action or relieve the permittee from any 

responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee 

is or may be subject under § 311 of the Clean Water Act or 

§§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the State Water 

Control Law. 

O. Duty to cease or confine activity. It shall not be a defense 

for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for which VWP 

general permit coverage has been granted in order to maintain 

compliance with the conditions of the VWP general permit or 

coverage. 

P. Duty to provide information. 

1. The permittee shall furnish to the department any 

information that the department may request to determine 

whether cause exists for modifying, revoking, or terminating 

VWP permit coverage or to determine compliance with the 

VWP general permit or general permit coverage. The 

permittee shall also furnish to the department, upon request, 

copies of records required to be kept by the permittee. 

2. Plans, maps, conceptual reports, and other relevant 

information shall be submitted as required by the department 

prior to commencing construction. 

Q. Monitoring and records requirements. 

1. Monitoring of parameters, other than pollutants, shall be 

conducted according to approved analytical methods as 

specified in the VWP general permit. Analysis of pollutants 

will be conducted according to 40 CFR Part 136 as published 

in the July 1, 2023 2024, update, Guidelines Establishing 

Test Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants. 

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart or electronic recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the VWP general permit, and records of 

all data used to complete the application for coverage under 

the VWP general permit, for a period of at least three years 

from the date of general permit expiration. This period may 

be extended by request of the department at any time. 

4. Records of monitoring information shall include, as 

appropriate: 
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a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date and time the analyses were performed; 

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 

information such as observations, readings, calculations, 

and bench data used; 

f. The results of such analyses; and 

g. Chain of custody documentation. 

R. Unauthorized discharge of pollutants. Except in 

compliance with this VWP general permit, it shall be unlawful 

for the permittee to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; 

2. Excavate in a wetland; 

3. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of state waters and make them detrimental to the 

public health, to animal or aquatic life, or to the uses of such 

waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses; or 

4. On and after August 1, 2001, for linear transportation 

projects of the Virginia Department of Transportation, or on 

and after October 1, 2001, for all other projects, conduct the 

following activities in a wetland: 

a. New activities to cause draining that significantly alters 

or degrades existing wetland acreage or functions; 

b. Filling or dumping; 

c. Permanent flooding or impounding; or 

d. New activities that cause significant alteration or 

degradation of existing wetland acreage or functions. 

S. Duty to reapply. Any permittee desiring to continue a 

previously authorized activity after the expiration date of the 

VWP general permit shall comply with the provisions in 

9VAC25-680-27. 

9VAC25-690-100. VWP general permit. 

VWP GENERAL PERMIT NO. WP4 FOR IMPACTS 

FROM DEVELOPMENT AND CERTAIN MINING 

ACTIVITIES UNDER THE VIRGINIA WATER 

PROTECTION PERMIT AND THE VIRGINIA STATE 

WATER CONTROL LAW 

Effective date: August 2, 2016 

Expiration date: August 1, 2026 

In compliance with § 401 of the Clean Water Act, as amended 

(33 USC § 1341) and the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, the board has determined 

that there is a reasonable assurance that this VWP general 

permit, if complied with, will protect instream beneficial uses, 

will not violate applicable water quality standards, and will not 

cause or contribute to a significant impairment of state waters 

or fish and wildlife resources. In issuing this VWP general 

permit, the board has not taken into consideration the structural 

stability of any proposed activities. 

The permanent or temporary impact of up to two acres of 

nontidal wetlands or open water and up to 1,500 linear feet of 

nontidal stream bed shall be subject to the provisions of the 

VWP general permit set forth herein; any requirements in 

coverage granted under this general permit; the Clean Water 

Act, as amended; and the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant to it. 

Part I. 

Special Conditions. 

A. Authorized activities. 

1. The activities authorized by this chapter shall not cause 

more than the permanent or temporary impacts of up to two 

acres of nontidal wetlands or open water and up to 1,500 

linear feet of nontidal stream bed. Additional permit 

requirements as stipulated by the department in the coverage 

letter, if any, shall be enforceable conditions of this permit. 

2. Any changes to the authorized permanent impacts to 

surface waters shall require a notice of planned change in 

accordance with 9VAC25-690-80. An application or request 

for modification to coverage or another VWP permit 

application may be required. 

3. Any changes to the authorized temporary impacts to 

surface waters shall require written notification to and 

approval from the Department of Environmental Quality in 

accordance with 9VAC25-690-80 prior to initiating the 

impacts and restoration to preexisting conditions in 

accordance with the conditions of this permit. 

4. Modification to compensation requirements may be 

approved at the request of the permittee when a decrease in 

the amount of authorized surface waters impacts occurs, 

provided that the adjusted compensation meets the initial 

compensation goals. 

B. Overall conditions. 

1. The activities authorized by this VWP general permit shall 

be executed in a manner so as to minimize adverse impacts 

on instream beneficial uses as defined in § 62.1-10 (b) of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. No activity may substantially disrupt the movement of 

aquatic life indigenous to the water body, including those 

species that normally migrate through the area, unless the 

primary purpose of the activity is to impound water. Pipes 

and culverts placed in streams must be installed to maintain 

low flow conditions and shall be countersunk at both inlet 
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and outlet ends of the pipe or culvert, unless otherwise 

specifically approved by the Department of Environmental 

Quality on a case-by-case basis, and as follows: The 

requirement to countersink does not apply to extensions or 

maintenance of existing pipes and culverts that are not 

countersunk, floodplain pipes and culverts being placed 

above ordinary high water, pipes and culverts being placed 

on bedrock, or pipes and culverts required to be placed on 

slopes 5.0% or greater. Bedrock encountered during 

construction must be identified and approved in advance of 

a design change where the countersunk condition cannot be 

met. Pipes and culverts 24 inches or less in diameter shall be 

countersunk three inches below the natural stream bed 

elevations, and pipes and culverts greater than 24 inches 

shall be countersunk at least six inches below the natural 

stream bed elevations. Hydraulic capacity shall be 

determined based on the reduced capacity due to the 

countersunk position. In all stream crossings appropriate 

measures shall be implemented to minimize any disruption 

of aquatic life movement. 

3. Wet or uncured concrete shall be prohibited from entry 

into flowing surface waters, unless the area is contained 

within a cofferdam and the work is performed in the dry or 

unless otherwise approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Excess or waste concrete shall not 

be disposed of in flowing surface waters or washed into 

flowing surface waters. 

4. All fill material shall be clean and free of contaminants in 

toxic concentrations or amounts in accordance with all 

applicable laws and regulations. 

5. Erosion and sedimentation controls shall be designed in 

accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Handbook, Third Edition, 1992, or for mining activities 

covered by this general permit, the standards issued by the 

Virginia Department of Energy that are effective as those in 

the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Handbook, Third 

Edition, 1992. These controls shall be placed prior to 

clearing and grading and maintained in good working order 

to minimize impacts to state waters. These controls shall 

remain in place until the area is stabilized and shall then be 

removed. 

6. Exposed slopes and streambanks shall be stabilized 

immediately upon completion of work in each permitted 

impact area. All denuded areas shall be properly stabilized 

in accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment 

Control Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

7. All construction, construction access (e.g., cofferdams, 

sheetpiling, and causeways) and demolition activities 

associated with the project shall be accomplished in a 

manner that minimizes construction or waste materials from 

entering surface waters to the maximum extent practicable, 

unless authorized by this VWP general permit. 

8. No machinery may enter flowing waters, unless 

authorized by this VWP general permit or approved prior to 

entry by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

9. Heavy equipment in temporarily-impacted wetland areas 

shall be placed on mats, geotextile fabric, or other suitable 

material to minimize soil disturbance to the maximum extent 

practicable. Equipment and materials shall be removed 

immediately upon completion of work. 

10. All nonimpacted surface waters and compensatory 

mitigation areas within 50 feet of authorized activities and 

within the project or right-of-way limits shall be clearly 

flagged or marked for the life of the construction activity at 

that location to preclude unauthorized disturbances to these 

surface waters and compensatory mitigation areas during 

construction. The permittee shall notify contractors that no 

activities are to occur in these marked surface waters. 

11. Temporary disturbances to surface waters during 

construction shall be avoided and minimized to the 

maximum extent practicable. All temporarily disturbed 

wetland areas shall be restored to preexisting conditions 

within 30 days of completing work at each respective 

temporary impact area, which shall include reestablishing 

preconstruction elevations and contours with topsoil from 

the impact area where practicable and planting or seeding 

with appropriate wetland vegetation according to cover type 

(i.e., emergent, scrub-shrub, or forested). The permittee shall 

take all appropriate measures to promote and maintain 

revegetation of temporarily disturbed wetland areas with 

wetland vegetation through the second year post-

disturbance. All temporarily impacted streams and 

streambanks shall be restored to their preconstruction 

elevations and contours with topsoil from the impact area 

where practicable within 30 days following the construction 

at that stream segment. Streambanks shall be seeded or 

planted with the same vegetation cover type originally 

present, including any necessary supplemental erosion 

control grasses. Invasive species identified on the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Virginia 

Invasive Plant Species List shall not be used to the maximum 

extent practicable or without prior approval from the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

12. Materials (including fill, construction debris, and 

excavated and woody materials) temporarily stockpiled in 

wetlands shall be placed on mats or geotextile fabric, 

immediately stabilized to prevent entry into state waters, 

managed such that leachate does not enter state waters, and 

completely removed within 30 days following completion of 

that construction activity. Disturbed areas shall be returned 

to preconstruction elevations and contours with topsoil from 

the impact area where practicable; restored within 30 days 

following removal of the stockpile; and restored with the 

same vegetation cover type originally present, including any 

necessary supplemental erosion control grasses. Invasive 
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species identified on the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation's Virginia Invasive Plant Species List shall not be 

used to the maximum extent practicable or without prior 

approval from the Department of Environmental Quality. 

13. Continuous flow of perennial springs shall be maintained 

by the installation of spring boxes, french drains, or other 

similar structures. 

14. The permittee shall employ measures to prevent spills of 

fuels or lubricants into state waters. 

15. The permittee shall conduct activities in accordance with 

the time-of-year restrictions recommended by the Virginia 

Department of Wildlife Resources, the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission, or other interested and affected 

agencies, as contained, when applicable, in Department of 

Environmental Quality VWP general permit coverage, and 

shall ensure that all contractors are aware of the time-of-year 

restrictions imposed. 

16. Water quality standards shall not be violated as a result 

of the construction activities. 

17. If stream channelization or relocation is required, all 

work in surface waters shall be done in the dry, unless 

otherwise authorized by the Department of Environmental 

Quality, and all flows shall be diverted around the 

channelization or relocation area until the new channel is 

stabilized. This work shall be accomplished by leaving a 

plug at the inlet and outlet ends of the new channel during 

excavation. Once the new channel has been stabilized, flow 

shall be routed into the new channel by first removing the 

downstream plug and then the upstream plug. The rerouted 

stream flow must be fully established before construction 

activities in the old stream channel can begin. 

C. Road crossings. 

1. Access roads and associated bridges, pipes, and culverts 

shall be constructed to minimize the adverse effects on 

surface waters to the maximum extent practicable. Access 

roads constructed above preconstruction elevations and 

contours in surface waters must be bridged, piped, or 

culverted to maintain surface flows. 

2. Installation of road crossings shall occur in the dry via the 

implementation of cofferdams, sheetpiling, stream 

diversions, or similar structures. 

D. Utility lines. 

1. All utility line work in surface waters shall be performed 

in a manner that minimizes disturbance, and the area must 

be returned to its preconstruction elevations and contours 

with topsoil from the impact area where practicable and 

restored within 30 days of completing work in the area, 

unless otherwise authorized the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Restoration shall be the seeding of 

planting of the same vegetation cover type originally 

present, including any necessary supplemental erosion 

control grasses. Invasive specifies identified on the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Virginia 

Invasive Plant Species List shall not be used to the maximum 

extent practicable or without prior approval from the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

2. Material resulting from trench excavation may be 

temporarily sidecast into wetlands not to exceed a total of 90 

days, provided the material is not placed in a manner such 

that it is dispersed by currents or other forces. 

3. The trench for a utility line cannot be constructed in a 

manner that drains wetlands (e.g., backfilling with extensive 

gravel layers creating a french drain effect.). For example, 

utility lines may be backfilled with clay blocks to ensure that 

the trench does not drain surface waters through which the 

utility line is installed. 

E. Stream modification and stream bank protection. 

1. Riprap bank stabilization shall be of an appropriate size 

and design in accordance with the Virginia Erosion and 

Sediment Control Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

2. Riprap apron for all outfalls shall be designed in 

accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

3. For stream bank protection activities, the structure and 

backfill shall be placed as close to the stream bank as 

practicable. No material shall be placed in excess of the 

minimum necessary for erosion protection. 

4. All stream bank protection structures shall be located to 

eliminate or minimize impacts to vegetated wetlands to the 

maximum extent practicable. 

5. Asphalt and materials containing asphalt or other toxic 

substances shall not be used in the construction of 

submerged sills or breakwaters. 

6. Redistribution of existing stream substrate for the purpose 

of erosion control is prohibited. 

7. No material removed from the stream bottom shall be 

disposed of in surface waters, unless otherwise authorized 

by this VWP general permit. 

F. Dredging. 

1. Dredging depths shall be determined and authorized 

according to the proposed use and controlling depths outside 

the area to be dredged. 

2. Dredging shall be accomplished in a manner that 

minimizes disturbance of the bottom and minimizes 

turbidity levels in the water column. 

3. If evidence of impaired water quality, such as a fish kill, 

is observed during the dredging, dredging operations shall 
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cease, and the Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified immediately. 

4. Barges used for the transportation of dredge material shall 

be filled in such a manner to prevent the overflow of dredged 

materials. 

5. Double handling of dredged material in state waters shall 

not be permitted. 

6. For navigation channels the following shall apply: 

a. A buffer of four times the depth of the dredge cut shall 

be maintained between the bottom edge of the design 

channel and the channelward limit of wetlands, or a buffer 

of 15 feet shall be maintained from the dredged cut and the 

channelward edge of wetlands, whichever is greater. This 

landward limit of buffer shall be flagged and inspected 

prior to construction. 

b. Side slope cuts of the dredging area shall not exceed a 

two-horizontal-to-one-vertical slope to prevent slumping 

of material into the dredged area. 

7. A dredged material management plan for the designated 

upland disposal site shall be submitted and approved 30 days 

prior to initial dredging activity. 

8. Pipeline outfalls and spillways shall be located at opposite 

ends of the dewatering area to allow for maximum retention 

and settling time. Filter fabric shall be used to line the 

dewatering area and to cover the outfall pipe to further 

reduce sedimentation to state waters. 

9. The dredge material dewatering area shall be of adequate 

size to contain the dredge material and to allow for adequate 

dewatering and settling out of sediment prior to discharge 

back into state waters. 

10. The dredge material dewatering area shall utilize an 

earthen berm or straw bales covered with filter fabric along 

the edge of the area to contain the dredged material, filter 

bags, or other similar filtering practices, any of which shall 

be properly stabilized prior to placing the dredged material 

within the containment area. 

11. Overtopping of the dredge material containment berms 

with dredge materials shall be strictly prohibited. 

G. Stormwater management facilities. 

1. Stormwater management facilities shall be installed in 

accordance with best management practices and watershed 

protection techniques (e.g., vegetated buffers, siting 

considerations to minimize adverse effects to aquatic 

resources, bioengineering methods incorporated into the 

facility design to benefit water quality and minimize adverse 

effects to aquatic resources) that provide for long-term 

aquatic resources protection and enhancement, to the 

maximum extent practicable. 

2. Compensation for unavoidable impacts shall not be 

allowed within maintenance areas of stormwater 

management facilities. 

3. Maintenance activities within stormwater management 

facilities shall not require additional permit coverage or 

compensation provided that the maintenance activities do 

not exceed the original contours of the facility, as approved 

and constructed, and is accomplished in designated 

maintenance areas as indicated in the facility maintenance or 

design plan or when unavailable, an alternative plan 

approved by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

Part II. 

Construction and Compensation Requirements, Monitoring, 

and Reporting. 

A. Minimum compensation requirements. 

1. The permittee shall provide any required compensation 

for impacts in accordance with the conditions in this VWP 

general permit, the coverage letter, and the chapter 

promulgating the general permit. For all compensation that 

requires a protective mechanism, including preservation of 

surface waters or buffers, the permittee shall record the 

approved protective mechanism in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-owned 

lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted to the 

Department of Environmental Quality prior to commencing 

impacts in surface waters. 

2. Compensation options that may be considered under this 

VWP general permit shall meet the criteria in § 62.1-

44.15:23 of the Code of Virginia, 9VAC25-210-116, and 

9VAC25-690-70. 

3. The permittee-responsible compensation site or sites 

depicted in the conceptual compensation plan submitted 

with the application shall constitute the compensation site. 

A site change may require a modification to coverage. 

4. For compensation involving the purchase of mitigation 

bank credits or the purchase of in-lieu fee program credits, 

the permittee shall not initiate work in permitted impact 

areas until documentation of the mitigation bank credit 

purchase or of the in-lieu fee program credit purchase has 

been submitted to and received by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

5. The final compensation plan shall be submitted to and 

approved by the department prior to a construction activity 

in permitted impact areas. The department shall review and 

provide written comments on the final plan within 30 days 

of receipt or it shall be deemed approved. The final plan as 

approved by the department shall be an enforceable 

requirement of any coverage under this VWP general permit. 

Deviations from the approved final plan shall be submitted 

and approved in advance by the department. 
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a. The final permittee-responsible wetlands compensation 

plan shall include: 

(1) The complete information on all components of the 

conceptual compensation plan. 

(2) A summary of the type and acreage of existing wetland 

impacts anticipated during the construction of the 

compensation site and the proposed compensation for 

these impacts; a site access plan; a monitoring plan, 

including proposed success criteria, monitoring goals, and 

the location of photo-monitoring stations, monitoring 

wells, vegetation sampling points, and reference wetlands 

or streams, if available; an abatement and control plan for 

undesirable plant species; an erosion and sedimentation 

control plan; a construction schedule; and the final 

protective mechanism for the compensation site or sites, 

including all surface waters and buffer areas within its 

boundaries. 

(3) The approved protective mechanism. The protective 

mechanism shall be recorded in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-

owned lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted 

to the Department of Environmental Quality prior to 

commencing impacts in surface waters. 

b. The final permittee-responsible stream compensation 

plan shall include: 

(1) The complete information on all components of the 

conceptual compensation plan. 

(2) An evaluation, discussion, and plan drawing or 

drawings of existing conditions on the proposed 

compensation stream, including the identification of 

functional and physical deficiencies for which the 

measures are proposed, and summary of geomorphologic 

measurements (e.g., stream width, entrenchment ratio, 

width-depth ratio, sinuosity, slope, substrate, etc.); a site 

access plan; a monitoring plan, including a monitoring and 

reporting schedule, monitoring design and methodologies 

for success, proposed success criteria, location of photo-

monitoring stations, vegetation sampling points, survey 

points, bank pins, scour chains, and reference streams; an 

abatement and control plan for undesirable plant species; 

an erosion and sedimentation control plan, if appropriate; 

a construction schedule; a plan-view drawing depicting 

the pattern and all compensation measures being 

employed; a profile drawing; cross-sectional drawing or 

drawings of the proposed compensation stream; and the 

final protective mechanism for the protection of the 

compensation site or sites, including all surface waters and 

buffer areas within its boundaries. 

(3) The approved protective mechanism. The protective 

mechanism shall be recorded in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-

owned lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted 

to the Department of Environmental Quality prior to 

commencing impacts in surface waters. 

6. The following criteria shall apply to permittee-responsible 

wetland or stream compensation: 

a. The vegetation used shall be native species common to 

the area, shall be suitable for growth in local wetland or 

riparian conditions, and shall be from areas within the 

same or adjacent U.S. Department of Agriculture Plant 

Hardiness Zone or Natural Resources Conservation 

Service Land Resource Region as that of the project site. 

Planting of woody plants shall occur when vegetation is 

normally dormant, unless otherwise approved in the final 

wetlands or stream compensation plan or plans. 

b. All work in permitted impact areas shall cease if 

compensation site construction has not commenced within 

180 days of commencement of project construction, 

unless otherwise authorized by the department. 

c. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the initiation of construction 

activities at the compensation site. 

d. Point sources of stormwater runoff shall be prohibited 

from entering a wetland compensation site prior to 

treatment by appropriate best management practices. 

Appropriate best management practices may include 

sediment traps, grassed waterways, vegetated filter strips, 

debris screens, oil and grease separators, or forebays. 

e. The success of the compensation shall be based on 

meeting the success criteria established in the approved 

final compensation plan. 

f. If the wetland or stream compensation area fails to meet 

the specified success criteria in a particular monitoring 

year, other than the final monitoring year, the reasons for 

this failure shall be determined, and a corrective action 

plan shall be submitted to the Department of 

Environmental Quality for approval with or before that 

year's monitoring report. The corrective action plan shall 

contain at minimum the proposed actions, a schedule for 

those actions, and a monitoring plan, and shall be 

implemented by the permittee in accordance with the 

approved schedule. Should significant changes be 

necessary to ensure success, the required monitoring cycle 

shall begin again, with monitoring year one being the year 

that the changes are complete, as confirmed by the 

Department of Environmental Quality. If the wetland or 

stream compensation area fails to meet the specified 

success criteria by the final monitoring year or if the 

wetland or stream compensation area has not met the 

stated restoration goals, reasons for this failure shall be 

determined and a corrective action plan, including 

proposed actions, a schedule, and a monitoring plan, shall 

be submitted with the final year monitoring report for 

Department of Environmental Quality approval. 

Corrective action shall be implemented by the permittee 

in accordance with the approved schedule. Annual 

monitoring shall be required to continue until two 

sequential, annual reports indicate that all criteria have 
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been successfully satisfied and the site has met the overall 

restoration goals (e.g., that corrective actions were 

successful). 

g. The surveyed wetland boundary for the wetlands 

compensation site shall be based on the results of the 

hydrology, soils, and vegetation monitoring data and shall 

be shown on the site plan. Calculation of total wetland 

acreage shall be based on that boundary at the end of the 

monitoring cycle. Data shall be submitted by December 

31 of the final monitoring year. 

h. Herbicides or algicides shall not be used in or 

immediately adjacent to the wetlands or stream 

compensation site or sites without prior authorization by 

the department. All vegetation removal shall be done by 

manual means, unless authorized by the Department of 

Environmental Quality in advance. 

B. Impact site construction monitoring. 

1. Construction activities authorized by this permit that are 

within impact areas shall be monitored and documented. The 

monitoring shall consist of: 

a. Preconstruction photographs taken at each impact area 

prior to initiation of activities within impact areas. 

Photographs shall remain on the project site and depict the 

impact area and the nonimpacted surface waters 

immediately adjacent to and downgradient of each impact 

area. Each photograph shall be labeled to include the 

following information: permit number, impact area 

number, date and time of the photograph, name of the 

person taking the photograph, photograph orientation, and 

photograph subject description. 

b. Site inspections shall be conducted by the permittee or 

the permittee's qualified designee once every calendar 

month during activities within impact areas. Monthly 

inspections shall be conducted in the following areas: all 

authorized permanent and temporary impact areas; all 

avoided surface waters, including wetlands, stream 

channels, and open water; surface water areas within 50 

feet of any land disturbing activity and within the project 

or right-of-way limits; and all on-site permanent 

preservation areas required under this permit. 

Observations shall be recorded on the inspection form 

provided by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

The form shall be completed in its entirety for each 

monthly inspection and shall be kept on site and made 

available for review by the Department of Environmental 

Quality staff upon request during normal business hours. 

Inspections are not required during periods of no activity 

within impact areas. 

2. Monitoring of water quality parameters shall be conducted 

during permanent relocation of perennial streams through 

new channels in the manner noted in this subdivision. The 

permittee shall report violations of water quality standards 

to the Department of Environmental Quality in accordance 

with the procedures in 9VAC25-690-100 Part II E. 

Corrective measures and additional monitoring may be 

required if water quality standards are not met. Reporting 

shall not be required if water quality standards are not 

violated. 

a. A sampling station shall be located upstream and 

immediately downstream of the relocated channel. 

b. Temperature, pH, and dissolved oxygen (D.O.) 

measurements shall be taken every 30 minutes for at least 

two hours at each station prior to opening the new 

channels and immediately before opening new channels. 

c. Temperature, pH, and D.O. readings shall be taken after 

opening the channels and every 30 minutes for at least 

three hours at each station. 

C. Permittee-responsible wetland compensation site 

monitoring. 

1. An as-built ground survey, or an aerial survey provided 

by a firm specializing in aerial surveys, shall be conducted 

for the entire compensation site or sites, including invert 

elevations for all water elevation control structures and spot 

elevations throughout the site or sites. Aerial surveys shall 

include the variation from actual ground conditions, such as 

+/- 0.2 feet. Either type of survey shall be certified by a 

licensed surveyor or by a registered professional engineer to 

conform to the design plans. The survey shall be submitted 

within 60 days of completing compensation site 

construction. Changes or deviations in the as-built survey or 

aerial survey shall be shown on the survey and explained in 

writing. 

2. Photographs shall be taken at the compensation site or 

sites from the permanent markers identified in the final 

compensation plan, and established to ensure that the same 

locations and view directions at the site or sites are 

monitored in each monitoring period. These photographs 

shall be taken after the initial planting and at a time specified 

in the final compensation plan during every monitoring year. 

3. Compensation site monitoring shall begin on day one of 

the first complete growing season (monitoring year one) 

after wetland compensation site construction activities, 

including planting, have been completed. Monitoring shall 

be required for monitoring years one, two, three, and five, 

unless otherwise approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. In all cases, if all success criteria 

have not been met in the final monitoring year, then 

monitoring shall be required for each consecutive year until 

two annual sequential reports indicate that all criteria have 

been successfully satisfied. 

4. The establishment of wetland hydrology shall be 

measured during the growing season, with the location and 

number of monitoring wells, and frequency of monitoring 

for each site, set forth in the final monitoring plan. 

Hydrology monitoring well data shall be accompanied by 
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precipitation data, including rainfall amounts either from on 

site or from the closest weather station. Once the wetland 

hydrology success criteria have been satisfied for a 

particular monitoring year, monitoring may be discontinued 

for the remainder of that monitoring year following 

Department of Environmental Quality approval. After a 

period of three monitoring years, the permittee may request 

that hydrology monitoring be discontinued, providing that 

adequate hydrology has been established and maintained. 

Hydrology monitoring shall not be discontinued without 

written approval from the Department of Environmental 

Quality. 

5. The presence of hydric soils or soils under hydric 

conditions shall be evaluated in accordance with the final 

compensation plan. 

6. The establishment of wetland vegetation shall be in 

accordance with the final compensation plan. Monitoring 

shall take place in August, September, or October during the 

growing season of each monitoring year, unless otherwise 

authorized in the monitoring plan. 

7. The presence of undesirable plant species shall be 

documented. 

8. All wetland compensation monitoring reports shall be 

submitted in accordance with 9VAC25-690-100 Part II E 6. 

D. Permittee-responsible stream compensation and 

monitoring. 

1. Riparian buffer restoration activities shall be detailed in 

the final compensation plan and shall include, as 

appropriate, the planting of a variety of native species 

currently growing in the site area, including appropriate seed 

mixtures and woody species that are bare root, balled, or 

burlapped. A minimum buffer width of 50 feet, measured 

from the top of the stream bank at bankfull elevation 

landward on both sides of the stream, shall be required where 

practical. 

2. The installation of root wads, vanes, and other instream 

structures, shaping of the stream banks, and channel 

relocation shall be completed in the dry whenever 

practicable. 

3. Livestock access to the stream and designated riparian 

buffer shall be limited to the greatest extent practicable. 

4. Stream channel restoration activities shall be conducted in 

the dry or during low flow conditions. When site conditions 

prohibit access from the streambank or upon prior 

authorization from the Department of Environmental 

Quality, heavy equipment may be authorized for use within 

the stream channel. 

5. Photographs shall be taken at the compensation site from 

the vicinity of the permanent photo-monitoring stations 

identified in the final compensation plan. The photograph 

orientation shall remain constant during all monitoring 

events. At a minimum, photographs shall be taken from the 

center of the stream, facing downstream, with a sufficient 

number of photographs to view the entire length of the 

restoration site. Photographs shall document the completed 

restoration conditions. Photographs shall be taken prior to 

site activities, during instream and riparian compensation 

construction activities, within one week of completion of 

activities, and during at least one day of each monitoring 

year to depict restored conditions. 

6. An as-built ground survey, or an aerial survey provided 

by a firm specializing in aerial surveys, shall be conducted 

for the entire compensation site or sites. Aerial surveys shall 

include the variation from actual ground conditions, such as 

+/- 0.2 feet. The survey shall be certified by the licensed 

surveyor or by a registered, professional engineer to conform 

to the design plans. The survey shall be submitted within 60 

days of completing compensation site construction. Changes 

or deviations from the final compensation plans in the as-

built survey or aerial survey shall be shown on the survey 

and explained in writing. 

7. Compensation site monitoring shall begin on day one of 

the first complete growing season (monitoring year one) 

after stream compensation site construction activities, 

including planting, have been completed. Monitoring shall 

be required for monitoring years one and two, unless 

otherwise approved by the Department of Environmental 

Quality. In all cases, if all success criteria have not been met 

in the final monitoring year, then monitoring shall be 

required for each consecutive year until two annual 

sequential reports indicate that all criteria have been 

successfully satisfied. 

8. All stream compensation site monitoring reports shall be 

submitted by in accordance with 9VAC25-690-100 Part II E 

6. 

E. Reporting. 

1. Written communications required by this VWP general 

permit shall be submitted to the appropriate Department of 

Environmental Quality office. The VWP general permit 

tracking number shall be included on all correspondence. 

2. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the start of construction activities 

at the first permitted impact area. 

3. A construction status update form provided by the 

Department of Environmental Quality shall be completed 

and submitted to the Department of Environmental Quality 

twice per year for the duration of coverage under a VWP 

general permit. Forms completed in June shall be submitted 

by or on July 10, and forms completed in December shall be 

submitted by or on January 10. The form shall include 

reference to the VWP permit tracking number and one of the 
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following statements for each authorized surface water 

impact location: 

a. Construction activities have not yet started; 

b. Construction activities have started; 

c. Construction activities have started but are currently 

inactive; or 

d. Construction activities are complete. 

4. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing within 30 days following the completion 

of all activities in all authorized impact areas. 

5. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the initiation of activities at the 

permittee-responsible compensation site. The notification 

shall include a projected schedule of activities and 

construction completion. 

6. All permittee-responsible compensation site monitoring 

reports shall be submitted annually by December 31, with 

the exception of the last year, in which case the report shall 

be submitted at least 60 days prior to the expiration of the 

general permit, unless otherwise approved by the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

a. All wetland compensation site monitoring reports shall 

include, as applicable, the following: 

(1) General description of the site, including a site location 

map identifying photo-monitoring stations, vegetative and 

soil monitoring stations, monitoring wells, and wetland 

zones. 

(2) Summary of activities completed during the 

monitoring year, including alterations or maintenance 

conducted at the site. 

(3) Description of monitoring methods. 

(4) Analysis of all hydrology information, including 

monitoring well data, precipitation data, and gauging data 

from streams or other open water areas, as set forth in the 

final compensation plan. 

(5) Evaluation of hydric soils or soils under hydric 

conditions, as appropriate. 

(6) Analysis of all vegetative community information, 

including woody and herbaceous species, both planted and 

volunteers, as set forth in the final compensation plan. 

(7) Photographs labeled with the permit number, the name 

of the compensation site, the photo-monitoring station 

number, the photograph orientation, the date and time of 

the photograph, the name of the person taking the 

photograph, and a brief description of the photograph 

subject. This information shall be provided as a separate 

attachment to each photograph, if necessary. Photographs 

taken after the initial planting shall be included in the first 

monitoring report after planting is complete. 

(8) Discussion of wildlife or signs of wildlife observed at 

the compensation site. 

(9) Comparison of site conditions from the previous 

monitoring year and reference site. 

(10) Discussion of corrective measures or maintenance 

activities to control undesirable species, to repair damaged 

water control devices, or to replace damaged planted 

vegetation. 

(11) Corrective action plan that includes proposed actions, 

a schedule, and monitoring plan. 

b. All stream compensation site monitoring reports shall 

include, as applicable, the following: 

(1) General description of the site, including a site location 

map identifying photo-monitoring stations and monitoring 

stations. 

(2) Summary of activities completed during the 

monitoring year, including alterations or maintenance 

conducted at the site. 

(3) Description of monitoring methods. 

(4) Evaluation and discussion of the monitoring results in 

relation to the success criteria and overall goals of 

compensation. 

(5) Photographs shall be labeled with the permit number, 

the name of the compensation site, the photo-monitoring 

station number, the photograph orientation, the date and 

time of the photograph, the name of the person taking the 

photograph, and a brief description of the photograph 

subject. Photographs taken prior to compensation site 

construction activities, during instream and riparian 

restoration activities, and within one week of completion 

of activities shall be included in the first monitoring report. 

(6) Discussion of alterations, maintenance, or major storm 

events resulting in significant change in stream profile or 

cross section, and corrective actions conducted at the 

stream compensation site. 

(7) Documentation of undesirable plant species and 

summary of abatement and control measures. 

(8) Summary of wildlife or signs of wildlife observed at 

the compensation site. 

(9) Comparison of site conditions from the previous 

monitoring year and reference site, and as-built survey, if 

applicable. 

(10) Corrective action plan that includes proposed actions, 

a schedule and monitoring plan. 

(11) Additional submittals that were approved by the 

Department of Environmental Quality in the final 

compensation plan. 

7. The permittee shall notify the Department of 

Environmental Quality in writing when unusual or 

potentially complex conditions are encountered that require 

debris removal or involve potentially toxic substance. 

Measures to remove the obstruction, material, or toxic 

substance or to change the location of a structure are 
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prohibited until approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

8. The permittee shall report fish kills or spills of oil or fuel 

immediately upon discovery. If spills or fish kills occur 

between the hours of 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through 

Friday, the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality regional office shall be notified; otherwise, the 

Department of Emergency Management shall be notified at 

1-800-468-8892. 

9. Violations of state water quality standards shall be 

reported to the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality office no later than the end of the business day 

following discovery. 

10. The permittee shall notify the Department of 

Environmental Quality no later than the end of the third 

business day following the discovery of additional impacts 

to surface waters, including wetlands, stream channels, and 

open water that are not authorized by the Department of 

Environmental Quality or to any required preservation areas. 

The notification shall include photographs, estimated 

acreage or linear footage of impacts, and a description of the 

impacts. 

11. Submittals required by this VWP general permit shall 

contain the following signed certification statement: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or 

persons who manage the system, or those persons directly 

responsible for gathering the information, the information 

submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant 

penalties for submitting false information, including the 

possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing violation." 

Part III. 

Conditions Applicable to All VWP General Permits. 

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions, limitations, and other requirements of the VWP 

general permit; any requirements in coverage granted under 

this VWP general permit; the Clean Water Act, as amended; 

and the State Water Control Law and regulations adopted 

pursuant to it. Any VWP general permit violation or 

noncompliance is a violation of the Clean Water Act and State 

Water Control Law and is grounds for (i) enforcement action, 

(ii) VWP general permit coverage termination for cause, (iii) 

VWP general permit coverage revocation, (iv) denial of 

application for coverage, or (v) denial of an application for a 

modification to VWP general permit coverage. Nothing in this 

VWP general permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee 

of the duty to comply with all applicable federal and state 

statutes, regulations, and toxic standards and prohibitions. 

B. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent impacts in violation of the VWP 

general permit that may have a reasonable likelihood of 

adversely affecting human health or the environment. 

C. Reopener. This VWP general permit may be reopened to 

modify its conditions when the circumstances on which the 

previous VWP general permit was based have materially and 

substantially changed, or special studies conducted by the 

department or the permittee show material and substantial 

change since the time the VWP general permit was issued and 

thereby constitute cause for revoking and reissuing the VWP 

general permit. 

D. Compliance with state and federal law. Compliance with 

this VWP general permit constitutes compliance with the VWP 

permit requirements of the State Water Control Law. Nothing 

in this VWP general permit shall be construed to preclude the 

institution of any legal action under or relieve the permittee 

from any responsibilities, liabilities, or other penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under the authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

E. Property rights. The issuance of this VWP general permit 

does not convey property rights in either real or personal 

property or any exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize 

injury to private property, any invasion of personal property 

rights, or any infringement of federal, state, or local laws or 

regulations. 

F. Severability. The provisions of this VWP general permit 

are severable. 

G. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credential, the 

permittee shall allow the department or any duly authorized 

agent of the department, at reasonable times and under 

reasonable circumstances, to enter upon the permittee's 

property, public or private, and have access to inspect and copy 

any records that must be kept as part of the VWP general 

permit conditions; to inspect any facilities, operations, or 

practices (including monitoring and control equipment) 

regulated or required under the VWP general permit; and to 

sample or monitor any substance, parameter, or activity for the 

purpose of ensuring compliance with the conditions of the 

VWP general permit or as otherwise authorized by law. For the 

purpose of this section, the time for inspection shall be deemed 

reasonable during regular business hours. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection time unreasonable during an 

emergency. 

H. Transferability of VWP general permit coverage. VWP 

general permit coverage may be transferred to another 

permittee when all of the criteria listed in this subsection are 

met. On the date of the VWP general permit coverage transfer, 

the transferred VWP general permit coverage shall be as fully 

effective as if it had been granted directly to the new permittee. 

1. The current permittee notifies the department of the 

proposed transfer of the general permit coverage and 
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provides a written agreement between the current and new 

permittees containing a specific date of transfer of VWP 

general permit responsibility, coverage, and liability to the 

new permittee, or that the current permittee will retain such 

responsibility, coverage, or liability, including liability for 

compliance with the requirements of enforcement activities 

related to the authorized activity. 

2. The department does not within 15 days notify the current 

and new permittees of the board's intent to modify or revoke 

and reissue the VWP general permit. 

I. Notice of planned change. VWP general permit coverage 

may be modified subsequent to issuance in accordance with 

9VAC25-690-80. 

J. VWP general permit coverage termination for cause. VWP 

general permit coverage is subject to termination for cause by 

the department after public notice and opportunity for a hearing 

in accordance with 9VAC25-210-180. Reasons for termination 

for cause are as follows: 

1. Noncompliance by the permittee with any provision of 

this chapter, any condition of the VWP general permit, or 

any requirement in general permit coverage; 

2. The permittee's failure in the application or during the 

process of granting VWP general permit coverage to 

disclose fully all relevant facts or the permittee's 

misrepresentation of any relevant facts at any time; 

3. The permittee's violation of a special or judicial order; 

4. A determination by the department that the authorized 

activity endangers human health or the environment and can 

be regulated to acceptable levels by a modification to VWP 

general permit coverage or a termination; 

5. A change in any condition that requires either a temporary 

or permanent reduction or elimination of any activity 

controlled by the VWP general permit; or 

6. A determination that the authorized activity has ceased 

and that the compensation for unavoidable adverse impacts 

has been successfully completed. 

K. The department may terminate VWP general permit 

coverage without cause when the permittee is no longer a legal 

entity due to death or dissolution or when a company is no 

longer authorized to conduct business in the Commonwealth. 

The termination shall be effective 30 days after notice of the 

proposed termination is sent to the last known address of the 

permittee or registered agent, unless the permittee objects 

within that time. If the permittee does object during that period, 

the department shall follow the applicable procedures for 

termination under 9VAC25-210-180 and § 62.1-44.15:25 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

L. VWP general permit coverage termination by consent. The 

permittee shall submit a request for termination by consent 

within 30 days of completing or canceling all authorized 

activities requiring notification under 9VAC25-690-50 A and 

all compensatory mitigation requirements. When submitted for 

project completion, the request for termination by consent shall 

constitute a notice of project completion in accordance with 

9VAC25-210-130 F. The director may accept this termination 

of coverage on behalf of the department. The permittee shall 

submit the following information: 

1. Name, mailing address, and telephone number; 

2. Name and location of the activity; 

3. The VWP general permit tracking number; and 

4. One of the following certifications: 

a. For project completion: 

"I certify under penalty of law that all activities and any 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage have been 

completed. I understand that by submitting this notice of 

termination I am no longer authorized to perform activities 

in surface waters in accordance with the VWP general 

permit and general permit coverage, and that performing 

activities in surface waters is unlawful where the activity 

is not authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage." 

b. For project cancellation: 

"I certify under penalty of law that the activities and any 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage will not occur. 

I understand that by submitting this notice of termination 

I am no longer authorized to perform activities in surface 

waters in accordance with the VWP general permit and 

general permit coverage, and that performing activities in 

surface waters is unlawful where the activity is not 

authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage, nor does it allow me to resume 

the authorized activities without reapplication and 

coverage." 

c. For events beyond permittee control, the permittee shall 

provide a detailed explanation of the events, to be 

approved by the Department of Environmental Quality, 

and the following certification statement: 

"I certify under penalty of law that the activities or the 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage have changed 

as the result of events beyond my control (see attached). I 

understand that by submitting this notice of termination I 

am no longer authorized to perform activities in surface 

waters in accordance with the VWP general permit and 
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general permit coverage, and that performing activities in 

surface waters is unlawful where the activity is not 

authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage, nor does it allow me to resume 

the authorized activities without reapplication and 

coverage." 

M. Civil and criminal liability. Nothing in this VWP general 

permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and 

criminal penalties for noncompliance. 

N. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

VWP general permit shall be construed to preclude the 

institution of legal action or relieve the permittee from any 

responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee 

is or may be subject under § 311 of the Clean Water Act or 

§§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the State Water 

Control Law. 

O. Duty to cease or confine activity. It shall not be a defense 

for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for which VWP 

general permit coverage has been granted in order to maintain 

compliance with the conditions of the VWP general permit or 

coverage. 

P. Duty to provide information. 

1. The permittee shall furnish to the department any 

information that the department may request to determine 

whether cause exists for modifying, revoking, or terminating 

VWP permit coverage or to determine compliance with the 

VWP general permit or general permit coverage. The 

permittee shall also furnish to the department, upon request, 

copies of records required to be kept by the permittee. 

2. Plans, maps, conceptual reports, and other relevant 

information shall be submitted as required by the department 

prior to commencing construction. 

Q. Monitoring and records requirements. 

1. Monitoring of parameters, other than pollutants, shall be 

conducted according to approved analytical methods as 

specified in the VWP general permit. Analysis of pollutants 

will be conducted according to 40 CFR Part 136 as published 

in the July 1, 2023 2024, update, Guidelines Establishing 

Test Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants. 

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart or electronic recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the VWP general permit, and records of 

all data used to complete the application for coverage under 

the VWP general permit, for a period of at least three years 

from the date of general permit expiration. This period may 

be extended by request of the department at any time. 

4. Records of monitoring information shall include, as 

appropriate: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date and time the analyses were performed; 

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 

information such as observations, readings, calculations, 

and bench data used; 

f. The results of such analyses; and 

g. Chain of custody documentation. 

R. Unauthorized discharge of pollutants. Except in 

compliance with this VWP general permit, it shall be unlawful 

for the permittee to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; 

2. Excavate in a wetland; 

3. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of state waters and make them detrimental to the 

public health, to animal or aquatic life, or to the uses of such 

waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses; or 

4. On and after October 1, 2001, conduct the following 

activities in a wetland: 

a. New activities to cause draining that significantly alters 

or degrades existing wetland acreage or functions; 

b. Filling or dumping; 

c. Permanent flooding or impounding; or 

d. New activities that cause significant alteration or 

degradation of existing wetland acreage or functions. 

S. Duty to reapply. Any permittee desiring to continue a 

previously authorized activity after the expiration date of the 

VWP general permit shall comply with the provisions in 

9VAC25-690-27. 

9VAC25-790-210. Nonconventional methods, processes or 

equipment. 

A. Policy. The policy of the department is to encourage the 

development of any new or nonconventional methods, 

processes, and equipment that appear to have application for 

the treatment or conveyance of sewage. Sewage treatment 

methods, processes, and equipment may be subject to a special 
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permit application procedure if (i) they are not covered by the 

Manual of Practice (Part III (9VAC25-790-310 et seq.) of this 

chapter) and (ii) they are in principle, or application, deemed 

to be nonconventional. 

B. Provisional CTO. The performance reliability of 

nonconventional processes and equipment shall have been 

thoroughly demonstrated through an approved testing program 

for similar installations (loadings of 75% or more of design 

level) before they may be considered for conventional approval 

and use. Where the department approves such a testing 

program, a provisional CTO will be issued for treatment works 

in which new or nonconventional processes and equipment are 

to be evaluated. The provisional CTO will specify conditions 

related to the testing requirements and agreements necessary 

for issuance of a final CTO. The owner of the facility shall 

submit the required test results to the department according to 

an approved schedule for approval prior to issuance of a final 

CTO. It is the owner's responsibility to operate in compliance 

with requirements imposed by permits issued for the sewerage 

system or treatment works. 

C. Assurance resources. As a prerequisite to the issuance of a 

provisional CTO, the owner must furnish assurance of 

financial ability or resources available to modify, convert, or 

replace, the new or nonconventional processes or equipment in 

the event the performance reliability cannot be established over 

the period of time specified by the provisional CTO. These 

assurances may be in the form of funds placed in escrow, 

letters of credit, performance bonds, etc., which would revert 

to the facility owner if performance reliability cannot be 

established. 

D. Performance reliability testing. All procedures used in 

testing of the performance reliability shall be conducted under 

the supervision of a licensed professional engineer who shall 

attest to the accuracy of sampling and testing procedures. The 

required samples shall be tested through a qualified laboratory. 

The testing program shall provide as a minimum the following: 

1. Samples shall be collected at designated locations at a 

stated frequency and analyzed in accordance with provisions 

of the provisional CTO. The minimum testing period shall 

be 12 months under the comparable environmental and 

operational conditions for which the process and equipment 

will receive conventional approvals for any additional 

installations. 

2. All analyses shall be made in accordance with the 19th 

Edition of Standard Methods for the Examination of Water 

and Wastewater (1995) and 40 CFR Part 136 as published in 

the 40 CFR July 1, 2023 2024, update, or other approved 

analytical methods. 

E. CTC. After the area engineer evaluates the plans and 

testing data, the director can issue a CTC if the performance 

data verifies that the method, process, or equipment can 

perform reliably in accordance with the design specifications 

and the operation standards of Part II, and that the method, 

process, or equipment may be installed as conventional for 

similar site specific operation. 

F. Provisional CTO. Upon completion of construction or 

modification, a provisional CTO for a definite period of time will 

be issued for the operation of the nonconventional methods, 

processes, and equipment. Not more than one provisional CTO 

will be granted for a similar installation during the evaluation 

period. The provisional CTO shall require that: 

1. The evaluation period shall be a minimum of 12 months and 

no longer than 18 months, 

2. The holder of a provisional CTO must submit reports on 

operation during the evaluation period. The reports shall be 

prepared by either a licensed professional engineer experienced 

in the field of environmental engineering, the owner's operating 

or engineering staff, or a qualified testing firm. 

G. Final CTO. The director will issue a final CTO upon lapse of 

the provisional CTO, if, on the basis of testing during that period, 

the new or nonconventional method, process, or equipment 

demonstrates reliable performance in accordance with permit 

requirements and the operation standards of Part II. If the 

standards are not met, then the owner shall provide for 

modification of the sewerage systems or treatment works, in a 

manner that will enable those standards to be met in accordance 

with this chapter. 

9VAC25-800-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced and incorporated in this 

chapter, that regulation shall be as it exists and has been 

published as of the July 1, 2022, CFR update; however, 

references to 40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as published in 

the July 1, 2024, update. 

9VAC25-820-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced or adopted in this chapter and 

incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it exists 

and has been published as of July 1, 2014; however, references 

to 40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as published in the July 1, 

2024, update. 

9VAC25-860-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced and incorporated in this 

chapter, that regulation shall be as it exists and has been 

published as of July 1, 2022; however, references to 40 CFR 
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Part 136 are incorporated as published in the July 1, 2024, 

update. 

9VAC25-875-30. Applicability of incorporated by 

references based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the United States set 

forth in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is referenced 

and incorporated in this chapter, that regulation shall be as it 

exists and has been published in the July 1, 2022, update; 

however, references to 40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as 

published in the July 1, 2024, update. 

9VAC25-880-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the United States set 

forth in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is referenced 

and incorporated in this chapter, that regulation shall be as it 

exists and has been published in the July 1, 2022, update; 

however, references to 40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as 

published in the July 1, 2024, update. 

9VAC25-890-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced and incorporated in this 

chapter, that regulation shall be as it exists and has been 

published in the July 1, 2022, update; however, references to 

40 CFR Part 136 are incorporated as published in the July 1, 

2024, update. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7895; Filed October 30, 2024, 8:54 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Water Control Board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-875. Virginia Erosion and 

Stormwater Management Regulation (amending 9VAC25-

875-970, 9VAC25-875-980). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15:28 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Rebeccah W. Rochet, Deputy Director, 

Division of Water Permitting, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 801-2950, or email 

rebeccah.rochet@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Amendments to 40 CFR Part 122, effective July 12, 2023, 

replace the term "urbanized area" with "urban area with 

a population of 50,000 or more people as determined by 

the latest Decennial Census by the Bureau of the Census" 

due to changes made by the U.S. Census Bureau. The 

amendments conform Virginia Erosion and Stormwater 

Management Regulation (9VAC25-875) with the federal 

regulation. 

9VAC25-875-970. Small municipal separate storm sewer 

systems. 

A. Objectives of the stormwater regulations for small MS4s. 

1. Subsections A through G of this section are written in a 

"readable regulation" format that includes both rule 

requirements and guidance. The recommended guidance is 

distinguished from the regulatory requirements by putting 

the guidance in a separate subdivision headed by the word 

"Note." 

2. Under the statutory mandate in § 402(p)(6) of the Clean 

Water Act, the purpose of this portion of the stormwater 

program is to designate additional sources that need to be 

regulated to protect water quality and to establish a 

comprehensive stormwater program to regulate these 

sources. 

3. Stormwater runoff continues to harm the nation's waters. 

Runoff from lands modified by human activities can harm 

surface water resources in several ways, including by 

changing natural hydrologic patterns and by elevating 

pollutant concentrations and loadings. Stormwater runoff 

may contain or mobilize high levels of contaminants, such 

as sediment, suspended solids, nutrients, heavy metals, 

pathogens, toxins, oxygen-demanding substances, and 

floatables. 

4. The department strongly encourages partnerships and the 

watershed approach as the management framework for 

efficiently, effectively, and consistently protecting and 

restoring aquatic ecosystems and protecting public health. 

B. As an operator of a small MS4, am I regulated under the 

state's stormwater program? 

1. Unless you qualify for a waiver under subdivision 3 of this 

subsection, you are regulated if you operate a small MS4, 

including systems operated by federal, state, tribal, and local 

governments, including the Virginia Department of 

Transportation; and 

a. Your small MS4 is located in an urbanized urban area 

with a population of 50,000 or more people as determined 

by the latest decennial census by the Bureau of the Census 

(if your small MS4 is not located entirely within an 

urbanized urban area with a population of 50,000 or more 

people, only the portion that is within the urbanized urban 

area is regulated); or 

mailto:rebeccah.rochet@deq.virginia.gov
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b. You are designated by the department, including where 

the designation is pursuant to subdivisions C 3 a and b of 

this section or is based upon a petition under 9VAC25-

875-950 D. 

2. You may be the subject of a petition to the department to 

require a permit for your discharge of stormwater. If the 

department determines that you need a permit, you are 

required to comply with subsections C through E of this 

section. 

3. The department may waive the requirements otherwise 

applicable to you if you meet the criteria of subdivision 4 or 

5 of this subsection B. If you receive a waiver under this 

section, you may subsequently be required to seek coverage 

under a permit in accordance with subdivision C 1 of this 

section if circumstances change. (See also subdivision E 2 

of this section). 

4. The department may waive permit coverage if your MS4 

serves a population of less than 1,000 within the urbanized 

urban area identified in subdivision B 1 a of this section and 

you meet the following criteria: 

a. Your system is not contributing substantially to the 

pollutant loadings of a physically interconnected MS4 that 

is regulated by the department; and 

b. If you discharge any pollutants that have been identified 

as a cause of impairment of any water body to which you 

discharge, stormwater controls are not needed based on 

wasteload allocations that are part of an approved "total 

maximum daily load" (TMDL) that addresses the 

pollutants of concern. 

5. The department may waive permit coverage if your MS4 

serves a population under 10,000 and you meet the following 

criteria: 

a. The department has evaluated all surface waters, 

including small streams, tributaries, lakes, and ponds, that 

receive a discharge from your MS4; 

b. For all such waters, the department has determined that 

stormwater controls are not needed based on wasteload 

allocations that are part of an approved TMDL that 

addresses the pollutants of concern or, if a TMDL has not 

been developed or approved, an equivalent analysis that 

determines sources and allocations for the pollutants of 

concern; 

c. For the purpose of subdivision 5 of this subsection, the 

pollutants of concern include biochemical oxygen demand 

(BOD), sediment or a parameter that addresses sediment 

(such as total suspended solids, turbidity or siltation), 

pathogens, oil and grease, and any pollutant that has been 

identified as a cause of impairment of any water body that 

will receive a discharge from your MS4; and 

d. The department has determined that future discharges 

from your MS4 do not have the potential to result in 

exceedances of water quality standards, including 

impairment of designated uses or other significant water 

quality impacts, including habitat and biological impacts. 

C. If I am an operator of a regulated small MS4, how do I 

apply for a permit and when do I have to apply? 

1. If you operate a regulated small MS4 under subsection B 

of this section, you must seek coverage under a permit issued 

by the department. 

2. You must seek authorization to discharge under a general 

or individual permit, as follows: 

a. If the department has issued a general permit applicable 

to your discharge and you are seeking coverage under the 

general permit, you must submit a registration statement 

that includes the information on your best management 

practices and measurable goals required by subdivision D 

4 of this section. You may file your own registration 

statement, or you and other municipalities or 

governmental entities may jointly submit a registration 

statement. If you want to share responsibilities for meeting 

the minimum measures with other municipalities or 

governmental entities, you must submit a registration 

statement that describes which minimum measures you 

will implement and identify the entities that will 

implement the other minimum measures within the area 

served by your MS4. The general permit will explain any 

other steps necessary to obtain permit authorization. 

b. (1) If you are seeking authorization to discharge under 

an individual permit and wish to implement a program 

under subsection D of this section, you must submit an 

application to the department that includes the information 

required under 9VAC25-875-920 F and subdivision D 4 

of this section, an estimate of square mileage served by 

your small MS4, and any additional information that the 

department requests. A storm sewer map that satisfies the 

requirement of subdivision D 2 c (1) of this section will 

satisfy the map requirement in 9VAC25-875-920 F 7. 

(2) If you are seeking authorization to discharge under an 

individual permit and wish to implement a program that is 

different from the program under subsection D of this 

section, you will need to comply with the permit 

application requirements of 9VAC25-875-950 C. You 

must submit both parts of the application requirements in 

9VAC25-875-950 C 1 and 2 by March 10, 2003. You do 

not need to submit the information required by 9VAC25-

875-950 C 1 b and C 2 regarding your legal authority, 

unless you intend for the permit writer to take such 

information into account when developing your other 

permit conditions. 

(3) If allowed by the department, you and another 

regulated entity may jointly apply under either subdivision 

2 b (1) or (2) of this subsection to be state co-permittees 

under an individual permit. 

c. If your small MS4 is in the same urbanized urban area 

as a medium or large MS4 with a permit and that other 
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MS4 is willing to have you participate in that MS4's 

stormwater program, you and the other MS4 may jointly 

seek a modification of the other MS4 permit to include you 

as a limited state co-permittee. As a limited state co-

permittee, you will be responsible for compliance with the 

permit's conditions applicable to your jurisdiction. If you 

choose this option you will need to comply with the permit 

application requirements of 9VAC25-875-950, rather than 

the requirements of subsection D of this section. You do 

not need to comply with the specific application 

requirements of 9VAC25-875-950 C 1 c and d and 

9VAC25-875-950 C 2 c (discharge characterization). You 

may satisfy the requirements in 9VAC25-875-950 C 1 e 

and 2 d (identification of a management program) by 

referring to the other MS4's stormwater management 

program. 

d. NOTE: In referencing an MS4's stormwater 

management program, you should briefly describe how 

the existing plan will address discharges from your small 

MS4 or would need to be supplemented in order to 

adequately address your discharges. You should also 

explain your role in coordinating stormwater pollutant 

control activities in your MS4 and detail the resources 

available to you to accomplish the plan. 

3. If you operate a regulated small MS4: 

a. Designated under subdivision B 1 a of this section, you 

must apply for coverage under a permit or apply for a 

modification of an existing permit under subdivision 2 c 

of this subsection within 180 days of notice, unless the 

department grants a later date. 

b. Designated under subdivision B 1 b of this section, you 

must apply for coverage under a permit or apply for a 

modification of an existing permit under subdivision 2 c 

of this subsection within 180 days of notice, unless the 

department grants a later date. 

D. As an operator of a regulated small MS4, what will my 

MS4 permit require? 

1. Your MS4 permit will require at a minimum that you 

develop, implement, and enforce a stormwater management 

program designed to reduce the discharge of pollutants from 

your MS4 to the maximum extent practicable (MEP), to 

protect water quality, and to satisfy the appropriate water 

quality requirements of the Clean Water Act, the Virginia 

Erosion and Stormwater Management Act, and the State 

Water Control Law. Your stormwater management program 

must include the minimum control measures described in 

subdivision 2 of this subsection unless you apply for a permit 

under 9VAC25-875-950 C. For purposes of this section, 

narrative effluent limitations requiring implementation of 

best management practices (BMPs) are generally the most 

appropriate form of effluent limitations when designed to 

satisfy technology requirements (including reductions of 

pollutants to the maximum extent practicable) and to protect 

water quality. Implementation of best management practices 

consistent with the provisions of the stormwater 

management program required pursuant to this section and 

the provisions of the permit required pursuant to subsection 

C of this section constitutes compliance with the standard of 

reducing pollutants to the maximum extent practicable. The 

department will specify a time period of up to five years 

from the date of permit issuance for you to develop and 

implement your program. 

2. Minimum control measures. 

a. Public education and outreach on stormwater impacts. 

(1) You must implement a public education program to 

distribute educational materials to the community or 

conduct equivalent outreach activities about the impacts 

of stormwater discharges on water bodies and the steps 

that the public can take to reduce pollutants in stormwater 

runoff. 

(2) NOTE: You may use stormwater educational materials 

provided by the state, your tribe, EPA, environmental, 

public interest or trade organizations, or other MS4s. The 

public education program should inform individuals and 

households about the steps they can take to reduce 

stormwater pollution, such as ensuring proper septic 

system maintenance, ensuring the proper use and disposal 

of landscape and garden chemicals including fertilizers 

and pesticides, protecting and restoring riparian 

vegetation, and properly disposing of used motor oil or 

household hazardous wastes. The department 

recommends that the program inform individuals and 

groups how to become involved in local stream and beach 

restoration activities as well as activities that are 

coordinated by youth service and conservation corps or 

other citizen groups. The department recommends that the 

public education program be tailored, using a mix of 

locally appropriate strategies, to target specific audiences 

and communities. Examples of strategies include: 

distributing brochures or fact sheets, sponsoring speaking 

engagements before community groups, providing public 

service announcements, implementing educational 

programs targeted at school-age children, and conducting 

community-based projects such as storm drain stenciling, 

and watershed and beach cleanups. In addition, the 

department recommends that some of the materials or 

outreach programs be directed toward targeted groups of 

commercial, industrial, and institutional entities likely to 

have significant stormwater impacts. For example, 

providing information to restaurants on the impact of 

grease clogging storm drains and to garages on the impact 

of oil discharges. You are encouraged to tailor your 

outreach program to address the viewpoints and concerns 

of all communities, particularly minority and 

disadvantaged communities, as well as any special 

concerns relating to children. 

b. Public involvement/participation. 
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(1) You must, at a minimum, comply with state, tribal, and 

local public notice requirements when implementing a 

public involvement/participation program. 

(2) The department recommends that the public be 

included in developing, implementing, and reviewing 

your stormwater management program and that the public 

participation process should make efforts to reach out and 

engage all economic and ethnic groups. Opportunities for 

members of the public to participate in program 

development and implementation include serving as 

citizen representatives on a local stormwater management 

panel, attending public hearings, working as citizen 

volunteers to educate other individuals about the program, 

assisting in program coordination with other pre-existing 

programs, or participating in volunteer monitoring efforts. 

(Citizens should obtain approval where necessary for 

lawful access to monitoring sites.) 

c. Illicit discharge detection and elimination. 

(1) You must develop, implement, and enforce a program 

to detect and eliminate illicit discharges (as defined in 

9VAC25-875-850) into your small MS4. 

(2) You must: 

(a) Develop, if not already completed, a storm sewer 

system map, showing the location of all outfalls and the 

names and location of all surface waters that receive 

discharges from those outfalls; 

(b) To the extent allowable under state, tribal, or local law 

effectively prohibit, through ordinance or other regulatory 

mechanism, nonstormwater discharges into your storm 

sewer system and implement appropriate enforcement 

procedures and actions; 

(c) Develop and implement a plan to detect and address 

nonstormwater discharges, including illegal dumping, to 

your system; and 

(d) Inform public employees, businesses, and the general 

public of hazards associated with illegal discharges and 

improper disposal of waste. 

(3) You need to address the following categories of 

nonstormwater discharges or flows (i.e., illicit discharges) 

only if you identify them as significant contributors of 

pollutants to your small MS4: water line flushing, 

landscape irrigation, diverted stream flows, rising 

groundwaters, uncontaminated groundwater infiltration 

(as defined in 40 CFR 35.2005(20)), uncontaminated 

pumped groundwater, discharges from potable water 

sources, foundation drains, air conditioning condensation, 

irrigation water, springs, water from crawl space pumps, 

footing drains, lawn watering, individual residential car 

washing, flows from riparian habitats and wetlands, 

dechlorinated swimming pool discharges, and street wash 

water. (Discharges or flows from fire-fighting activities 

are excluded from the effective prohibition against 

nonstormwater and need only be addressed where they are 

identified as significant sources of pollutants to surface 

waters.) 

(4) NOTE: The department recommends that the plan to 

detect and address illicit discharges include the following 

four components: (i) procedures for locating priority areas 

likely to have illicit discharges, (ii) procedures for tracing 

the source of an illicit discharge, (iii) procedures for 

removing the source of the discharge, and (iv) procedures 

for program evaluation and assessment. The department 

recommends visually screening outfalls during dry 

weather and conducting field tests of selected pollutants as 

part of the procedures for locating priority areas. Illicit 

discharge education actions may include storm drain 

stenciling; a program to promote, publicize, and facilitate 

public reporting of illicit connections or discharges; and 

distribution of outreach materials. 

d. Construction site stormwater runoff control. 

(1) You must develop, implement, and enforce a program 

to reduce pollutants in any stormwater runoff to your small 

MS4 from construction activities that result in a land 

disturbance of greater than or equal to one acre, or equal 

to or greater than 2,500 square feet in all areas of the 

jurisdictions designated as subject to the Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Area Designation and Management 

Regulations adopted pursuant to the Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Act. Reduction of stormwater discharges 

from construction activity disturbing less than one acre 

must be included in your program if that construction 

activity is part of a larger common plan of development or 

sale that would disturb one acre or more. If the department 

waives requirements for stormwater discharges associated 

with small construction activity in accordance with the 

definition in 9VAC25-875-20, you are not required to 

develop, implement, or enforce a program to reduce 

pollutant discharges from such sites. 

(2) Your program must include the development and 

implementation of, at a minimum: 

(a) An ordinance or other regulatory mechanism to require 

erosion and sediment controls, as well as sanctions to 

ensure compliance, to the extent allowable under state, 

tribal, or local law; 

(b) Requirements for construction site operators to 

implement appropriate erosion and sediment control best 

management practices; 

(c) Requirements for construction site operators to control 

waste such as discarded building materials, concrete truck 

washout, chemicals, litter, and sanitary waste at the 

construction site that may cause adverse impacts to water 

quality; 

(d) Procedures for site plan review which incorporate 

consideration of potential water quality impacts; 

(e) Procedures for receipt and consideration of 

information submitted by the public; and 
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(f) Procedures for site inspection and enforcement of 

control measures. 

(3) NOTE: Examples of sanctions to ensure compliance 

include nonmonetary penalties, fines, bonding 

requirements, or permit denials for noncompliance. The 

department recommends that procedures for site plan 

review include the review of individual pre-construction 

site plans to ensure consistency with erosion and sediment 

control requirements. Procedures for site inspections and 

enforcement of control measures could include steps to 

identify priority sites for inspection and enforcement 

based on the nature of the construction activity, 

topography, and the characteristics of soils and receiving 

water quality. You are encouraged to provide appropriate 

educational and training measures for construction site 

operators. You may wish to require a stormwater pollution 

prevention plan for construction sites within your 

jurisdiction that discharge into your system. (See 

9VAC25-875-1030 L and subdivision E 2 of this section.) 

The department may recognize that another government 

entity may be responsible for implementing one or more 

of the minimum measures on your behalf. 

e. Post-construction stormwater management in new 

development and redevelopment. 

(1) You must develop, implement, and enforce a program 

to address stormwater runoff from new development and 

redevelopment projects that disturb greater than or equal 

to one acre, including projects less than one acre that are 

part of a larger common plan of development or sale, that 

discharge into your small MS4. Your program must ensure 

that controls are in place that would prevent or minimize 

water quality impacts. 

(2) You must: 

(a) Develop and implement strategies that include a 

combination of structural and nonstructural best 

management practices (BMPs) appropriate for your 

community; 

(b) Use an ordinance or other regulatory mechanism to 

address post-construction runoff from new development 

and redevelopment projects to the extent allowable under 

state, tribal, or local law; and 

(c) Ensure adequate long-term operation and maintenance 

of BMPs. 

(3) NOTE: If water quality impacts are considered from 

the beginning stages of a project, new development and 

potentially redevelopment provide more opportunities for 

water quality protection. The department recommends that 

the BMPs chosen be appropriate for the local community, 

minimize water quality impacts, and attempt to maintain 

pre-development runoff conditions. In choosing 

appropriate BMPs, the department encourages you to 

participate in locally based watershed planning efforts that 

attempt to involve a diverse group of stakeholders, 

including interested citizens. When developing a program 

that is consistent with this measure's intent, the department 

recommends that you adopt a planning process that 

identifies the municipality's program goals (e.g., minimize 

water quality impacts resulting from post-construction 

runoff from new development and redevelopment), 

implementation strategies (e.g., adopt a combination of 

structural and nonstructural BMPs), operation and 

maintenance policies and procedures, and enforcement 

procedures. In developing your program, you should 

consider assessing existing ordinances, policies, 

programs, and studies that address stormwater runoff 

quality. In addition to assessing these existing documents 

and programs, you should provide opportunities to the 

public to participate in the development of the program. 

Nonstructural BMPs are preventative actions that involve 

management and source controls such as: (i) policies and 

ordinances that provide requirements and standards to 

direct growth to identified areas, protect sensitive areas 

such as wetlands and riparian areas, maintain and increase 

open space (including a dedicated funding source for open 

space acquisition), provide buffers along sensitive water 

bodies, minimize impervious surfaces, and minimize 

disturbance of soils and vegetation; (ii) policies or 

ordinances that encourage infill development in higher 

density urban areas, and areas with existing infrastructure; 

(iii) education programs for developers and the public 

about project designs that minimize water quality impacts; 

and (iv) measures such as minimization of percent 

impervious area after development and minimization of 

directly connected impervious areas. Structural BMPs 

include: storage practices such as wet ponds and extended-

detention outlet structures; filtration practices such as 

grassed swales, sand filters, and filter strips; and 

infiltration practices such as infiltration basins and 

infiltration trenches. The department recommends that 

you ensure the appropriate implementation of the 

structural BMPs by considering some or all of the 

following: pre-construction review of BMP designs; 

inspections during construction to verify BMPs are built 

as designed; post-construction inspection and 

maintenance of BMPs; and penalty provisions for the 

noncompliance with design, construction, or operation 

and maintenance. Stormwater technologies are constantly 

being improved, and the department recommends that 

your requirements be responsive to these changes, 

developments, or improvements in control technologies. 

f. Pollution prevention/good housekeeping for municipal 

operations. 

(1) You must develop and implement an operation and 

maintenance program that includes a training component 

and has the ultimate goal of preventing or reducing 

pollutant runoff from municipal operations. Using training 

materials that are available from EPA, state, tribe, or other 

organizations, your program must include employee 
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training to prevent and reduce stormwater pollution from 

activities such as park and open space maintenance, fleet 

and building maintenance, new construction and land 

disturbances, and stormwater system maintenance. 

(2) NOTE: The department recommends that, at a 

minimum, you consider the following in developing your 

program: maintenance activities, maintenance schedules, 

and long-term inspection procedures for structural and 

nonstructural stormwater controls to reduce floatables and 

other pollutants discharged from your separate storm 

sewers; controls for reducing or eliminating the discharge 

of pollutants from streets, roads, highways, municipal 

parking lots, maintenance and storage yards, fleet or 

maintenance shops with outdoor storage areas, salt/sand 

storage locations and snow disposal areas operated by you, 

and waste transfer stations; procedures for properly 

disposing of waste removed from the separate storm 

sewers and areas listed above (such as dredge spoil, 

accumulated sediments, floatables, and other debris); and 

ways to ensure that new flood management projects assess 

the impacts on water quality and examine existing projects 

for incorporating additional water quality protection 

devices or practices. Operation and maintenance should be 

an integral component of all stormwater management 

programs. This measure is intended to improve the 

efficiency of these programs and require new programs 

where necessary. Properly developed and implemented 

operation and maintenance programs reduce the risk of 

water quality problems. 

3. If an existing VESMP requires you to implement one or 

more of the minimum control measures of subdivision 2 of 

this subsection, the department may include conditions in 

your permit that direct you to follow that VESMP's 

requirements rather than the requirements of subdivision 2 

of this subsection. A VESMP is a local, state, or tribal 

municipal stormwater management program that imposes, at 

a minimum, the relevant requirements of subdivision 2 of 

this subsection. 

4. a. In your permit application (either a registration 

statement for coverage under a general permit or an 

individual permit application), you must identify and submit 

to the department the following information: 

(1) The best management practices (BMPs) that you or 

another entity will implement for each of the stormwater 

minimum control measures provided in subdivision 2 of 

this subsection; 

(2) The measurable goals for each of the BMPs including, 

as appropriate, the months and years in which you will 

undertake required actions, including interim milestones 

and the frequency of the action; and 

(3) The person responsible for implementing or 

coordinating your stormwater management program. 

b. If you obtain coverage under a general permit, you are 

not required to meet any measurable goals identified in 

your registration statement in order to demonstrate 

compliance with the minimum control measures in 

subdivisions 2 c through f of this subsection unless, prior 

to submitting your registration statement, EPA or the 

department has provided or issued a menu of BMPs that 

addresses each such minimum measure. Even if no 

regulatory authority issues the menu of BMPs, however, 

you still must comply with other requirements of the 

general permit, including good faith implementation of 

BMPs designed to comply with the minimum measures. 

c. NOTE: Either EPA or the department will provide a 

menu of BMPs. You may choose BMPs from the menu or 

select others that satisfy the minimum control measures. 

5. a. You must comply with any more stringent effluent 

limitations in your permit, including permit requirements 

that modify or are in addition to the minimum control 

measures based on an approved total maximum daily load 

(TMDL) or equivalent analysis. The department may 

include such more stringent limitations based on a TMDL or 

equivalent analysis that determines such limitations are 

needed to protect water quality. 

b. NOTE: The department strongly recommends that until 

the evaluation of the stormwater program in subsection G 

of this section, no additional requirements beyond the 

minimum control measures be imposed on regulated small 

MS4s without the agreement of the operator of the 

affected small MS4, except where an approved TMDL or 

equivalent analysis provides adequate information to 

develop more specific measures to protect water quality. 

6. You must comply with other applicable permit 

requirements, standards and conditions established in the 

individual or general permit developed consistent with the 

provisions of 9VAC25-31-190 through 9VAC25-31-250, as 

appropriate. 

7. Evaluation and assessment. 

a. You must evaluate program compliance, the 

appropriateness of your identified best management 

practices, and progress towards achieving your identified 

measurable goals. The department may determine 

monitoring requirements for you in accordance with 

monitoring plans appropriate to your watershed. 

Participation in a group monitoring program is 

encouraged. 

b. You must keep records required by the permit for at 

least three years. You must submit your records to the 

department only when specifically asked to do so. You 

must make your records, including a description of your 

stormwater management program, available to the public 

at reasonable times during regular business hours (see 

9VAC25-875-900 for confidentiality provision). You may 
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assess a reasonable charge for copying. You may require 

a member of the public to provide advance notice. 

c. Unless you are relying on another entity to satisfy your 

permit obligations under subdivision E 1 of this section, 

you must submit annual reports to the department for your 

first permit term. For subsequent permit terms, you must 

submit reports in years two and four unless the department 

requires more frequent reports. As of the start date in 

Table 1 of 9VAC25-31-1020, all reports submitted in 

compliance with this subsection shall be submitted 

electronically by the owner, operator, or the duly 

authorized representative of the small MS4 to the 

department in compliance with this section and 40 CFR 

Part 3 (including, in all cases, 40 CFR Part 3 Subpart D), 

9VAC25-875-940, and Part XI (9VAC25-31-950 et seq.) 

of the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) Permit Regulation. Part XI of 9VAC25-31 is not 

intended to undo existing requirements for electronic 

reporting. Prior to this date, and independent of Part XI of 

9VAC25-31, the owner, operator, or the duly authorized 

representative of the small MS4 may be required to report 

electronically if specified by a particular permit. Your 

report must include: 

(1) The status of compliance with permit conditions, an 

assessment of the appropriateness of your identified best 

management practices and progress towards achieving 

your identified measurable goals for each of the minimum 

control measures; 

(2) Results of information collected and analyzed, 

including monitoring data, if any, during the reporting 

period; 

(3) A summary of the stormwater activities you plan to 

undertake during the next reporting cycle; 

(4) A change in any identified best management practices 

or measurable goals for any of the minimum control 

measures; and 

(5) Notice that you are relying on another governmental 

entity to satisfy some of your permit obligations (if 

applicable). 

E. As an operator of a regulated small MS4, may I share the 

responsibility to implement the minimum control measures 

with other entities? 

1. You may rely on another entity to satisfy your permit 

obligations to implement a minimum control measure if: 

a. The other entity, in fact, implements the control 

measure; 

b. The particular control measure, or component thereof, 

is at least as stringent as the corresponding permit 

requirement; and 

c. The other entity agrees to implement the control 

measure on your behalf. In the reports you must submit 

under subdivision D 7 c of this section, you must also 

specify that you rely on another entity to satisfy some of 

your permit obligations. If you are relying on another 

governmental entity regulated under the permit program 

to satisfy all of your permit obligations, including your 

obligation to file periodic reports required by subdivision 

D 7 c of this section, you must note that fact in your 

registration statement, but you are not required to file the 

periodic reports. You remain responsible for compliance 

with your permit obligations if the other entity fails to 

implement the control measure (or component thereof). 

Therefore, the department encourages you to enter into a 

legally binding agreement with that entity if you want to 

minimize any uncertainty about compliance with your 

permit. 

2. In some cases, the department may recognize, either in 

your individual permit or in a general permit, that another 

governmental entity is responsible under a permit for 

implementing one or more of the minimum control measures 

for your small MS4. Where the department does so, you are 

not required to include such minimum control measure(s) in 

your stormwater management program. Your permit may be 

reopened and modified to include the requirement to 

implement a minimum control measure if the entity fails to 

implement it. 

F. As an operator of a regulated small MS4, what happens if 

I don't comply with the application or permit requirements in 

subsections C through E of this section? Permits are 

enforceable under the Clean Water Act and the Virginia 

Erosion and Stormwater Management Act. Violators may be 

subject to the enforcement actions and penalties described in 

Clean Water Act §§ 309(b), (c), and (g) and 505 or under 

§§ 62.1-44.15:39 through 62.1-44.15:48 of the Code of 

Virginia and Article 5 of the State Water Control Law. 

Compliance with a permit issued pursuant to § 402 of the Clean 

Water Act is deemed compliance, for purposes of §§ 309 and 

505, with §§ 301, 302, 306, 307, and 403, except any standard 

imposed under § 307 for toxic pollutants injurious to human 

health. If you are covered as a state co-permittee under an 

individual permit or under a general permit by means of a joint 

registration statement, you remain subject to the enforcement 

actions and penalties for the failure to comply with the terms 

of the permit in your jurisdiction except as set forth in 

subdivision E 2 of this section. 

G. Will the small MS4 stormwater program regulations at 

subsections B through F of this section change in the future? 

EPA intends to conduct an enhanced research effort and 

compile a comprehensive evaluation of the NPDES MS4 

stormwater program. The board will reevaluate the regulations 

based on data from the EPA NPDES MS4 stormwater 

program, from research on receiving water impacts from 

stormwater, and the effectiveness of best management 

practices (BMPs), as well as other relevant information 

sources. 
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9VAC25-875-980. General permits. 

A. The department may issue a general permit in accordance 

with the following: 

1. The general permit shall be written to cover one or more 

categories or subcategories of discharges, except those 

covered by individual permits, within a geographic area. The 

area should correspond to existing geographic or political 

boundaries, such as: 

a. Designated planning areas under §§ 208 and 303 of 

CWA; 

b. Sewer districts or sewer authorities; 

c. City, county, or state political boundaries; 

d. State highway systems; 

e. Standard metropolitan statistical areas as defined by the 

Office of Management and Budget; 

f. Urbanized Urban areas with a population of 50,000 or 

more people as designated determined by the latest 

decennial census by the Bureau of the Census according 

to criteria in 30 FR 15202 (May 1, 1974); or 

g. Any other appropriate division or combination of 

boundaries. 

2. The general permit may be written to regulate one or more 

categories within the area described in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection, where the sources within a covered subcategory 

of discharges are stormwater point sources. 

3. Where sources within a specific category of dischargers 

are subject to water quality-based limits imposed pursuant to 

9VAC25-875-1030, the sources in that specific category or 

subcategory shall be subject to the same water quality-based 

effluent limitations. 

4. The general permit must clearly identify the applicable 

conditions for each category or subcategory of dischargers 

covered by the permit. 

5. The general permit may exclude specified sources or areas 

from coverage. 

B. Administration. 

1. General permits may be issued, modified, revoked and 

reissued, or terminated in accordance with applicable 

requirements of this chapter. 

2. Authorization to discharge. 

a. Except as provided in subdivisions 2 e and 2 f of this 

subsection, dischargers seeking coverage under a general 

permit shall submit to the department a written notice of 

intent to be covered by the general permit. A discharger 

who fails to submit a notice of intent in accordance with 

the terms of the permit is not authorized to discharge, 

under the terms of the general permit unless the general 

permit, in accordance with subdivision 2 e of this 

subsection, contains a provision that a notice of intent is 

not required or the department notifies a discharger (or 

treatment works treating domestic sewage) that it is 

covered by a general permit in accordance with 

subdivision 2 f of this subsection. A complete and timely 

notice of intent (NOI) to be covered in accordance with 

general permit requirements fulfills the requirements for 

permit applications for the purposes of this chapter. As of 

the start date in Table 1 of 9VAC25-31-1020, all notices 

of intent submitted in compliance with this subdivision 

shall be submitted electronically by the discharger (or 

treatment works treating domestic sewage) to the 

department in compliance with this subdivision 2 and 40 

CFR Part 3 (including, in all cases, 40 CFR Part 3 Subpart 

D), 9VAC25-875-940, and Part XI (9VAC25-31-950 et 

seq.) of the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) Permit Regulation. Part XI of 9VAC25-

31 is not intended to undo existing requirements for 

electronic reporting. Prior to this date, and independent of 

Part XI of 9VAC25-31, dischargers or treatment works 

treating domestic sewage may be required to report 

electronically if specified by a particular permit. 

b. The contents of the notice of intent shall be specified in 

the general permit and shall require the submission of 

information necessary for adequate program 

implementation, including at a minimum, the legal name 

and address of the owner or operator, the facility name and 

address, type of facility or discharges, and the receiving 

stream, and other required data elements as identified in 

Appendix A to 40 CFR Part 127 as adopted by reference 

in 9VAC25-31-1030. All notices of intent shall be signed 

in accordance with 9VAC25-875-940. 

c. General permits shall specify the deadlines for 

submitting notices of intent to be covered and the date or 

dates when a discharger is authorized to discharge under 

the permit. 

d. General permits shall specify whether a discharger that 

has submitted a complete and timely notice of intent to be 

covered in accordance with the general permit and that is 

eligible for coverage under the permit is authorized to 

discharge in accordance with the permit either upon 

receipt of the notice of intent by the department after a 

waiting period specified in the general permit on a date 

specified in the general permit or upon receipt of 

notification of inclusion by the department. Coverage may 

be terminated or revoked in accordance with subdivision 

3 of this subsection. 

e. Stormwater discharges associated with small 

construction activity may, at the discretion of the 

department, be authorized to discharge under a general 

permit without submitting a notice of intent where the 

department finds that a notice of intent requirement would 

be inappropriate. In making such a finding, the department 

shall consider the (i) type of discharge, (ii) expected nature 

of the discharge, (iii) potential for toxic and conventional 
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pollutants in the discharges, (iv) expected volume of the 

discharges, (v) other means of identifying discharges 

covered by the permit, and (vi) estimated number of 

discharges to be covered by the permit. The department 

shall provide in the public notice of the general permit the 

reasons for not requiring a notice of intent. 

f. The department may notify a discharger that it is 

covered by a general permit, even if the discharger has not 

submitted a notice of intent to be covered. A discharger so 

notified may request an individual permit under 

subdivision 3 c of this subsection. 

3. Requiring an individual permit. 

a. The department may require any discharger authorized 

by a general permit to apply for and obtain an individual 

permit. Any interested person may request the department 

to take action under this subdivision. Cases where an 

individual permit may be required include the following: 

(1) The discharger is not in compliance with the conditions 

of the general permit; 

(2) A change has occurred in the availability of 

demonstrated technology or practices for the control or 

abatement of pollutants applicable to the point source; 

(3) Effluent limitation guidelines are promulgated for 

point sources covered by the general permit; 

(4) A water quality management plan, established by the 

department pursuant to 9VAC25-720, containing 

requirements applicable to such point sources is approved; 

(5) Circumstances have changed since the time of the 

request to be covered so that the discharger is no longer 

appropriately controlled under the general permit, or either 

a temporary or permanent reduction or elimination of the 

authorized discharge is necessary; 

(6) The discharge is a significant contributor of pollutants. 

In making this determination, the department may 

consider the following factors: 

(a) The location of the discharge with respect to surface 

waters; 

(b) The size of the discharge; 

(c) The quantity and nature of the pollutants discharged to 

surface waters; and 

(d) Other relevant factors; 

b. Permits required on a case-by-case basis. 

(1) The department may determine, on a case-by-case 

basis, that certain stormwater discharges, and certain other 

facilities covered by general permits that do not generally 

require an individual permit may be required to obtain an 

individual permit because of their contributions to water 

pollution. 

(2) Whenever the department decides that an individual 

permit is required under this subsection, except as 

provided in subdivision 3 b (3) of this subsection, the 

department shall notify the discharger in writing of that 

decision and the reasons for it and shall send an 

application form with the notice. The discharger must 

apply for a permit within 60 days of notice, unless 

permission for a later date is granted by the department. 

The question whether the designation was proper will 

remain open for consideration during the public comment 

period for the draft permit and in any subsequent public 

hearing. 

(3) Prior to a case-by-case determination that an individual 

permit is required for a stormwater discharge under this 

subsection, the department may require the discharger to 

submit a permit application or other information regarding 

the discharge under the State Water Control Law and 

§ 308 of the CWA. In requiring such information, the 

department shall notify the discharger in writing and shall 

send an application form with the notice. The discharger 

must apply for a permit under 9VAC25-875-950 A 1 

within 60 days of notice or under 9VAC25-875-950 A 8 

within 180 days of notice, unless permission for a later 

date is granted by the department. The question whether 

the initial designation was proper will remain open for 

consideration during the public comment period for the 

draft permit and in any subsequent public hearing. 

c. Any owner or operator authorized by a general permit 

may request to be excluded from the coverage of the 

general permit by applying for an individual permit. The 

owner or operator shall submit an application under 

9VAC25-875-920 with reasons supporting the request. 

The request shall be processed under the applicable parts 

of this chapter. The request shall be granted by issuing of 

an individual permit if the reasons cited by the owner or 

operator are adequate to support the request. 

d. When an individual permit is issued to an owner or 

operator otherwise subject to a general permit, the 

applicability of the general permit to the individual permit 

permittee is automatically terminated on the effective date 

of the individual permit. 

e. A source excluded from a general permit solely because 

it already has an individual permit may request that the 

individual permit be revoked and that it be covered by the 

general permit. Upon revocation of the individual permit, 

the general permit shall apply to the source. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7991; Filed October 30, 2024, 8:58 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-421. Food Regulations 

(amending 12VAC5-421-3966, 12VAC5-421-3970). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 35.1-11 and 35.1-14 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Olivia McCormick, Director, Division of 

Food and General Environment, Virginia Department of 

Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 864-8146, FAX (804) 864-7475, or email 

olivia.mccormick@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 35.1-11 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

State Board of Health to make, adopt, promulgate, and enforce 

regulations necessary to protect the public health and safety, 

including the use of precautions to prevent the transmission of 

communicable diseases, hygiene, sanitation, safety, and 

physical plant management. Section 35.1-14 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the board to promulgate regulations that 

governing restaurants, including repealing or amending any 

regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection. 

Purpose: The proposed changes are intended to clear up a 

potential inaccuracy with a document that is currently 

incorporated by reference in the regulatory text but should have 

been removed per a past regulatory action, so benefits the 

public by clarifying the regulation. The availability of more 

options for regulatory enforcement informal conferences and 

administrative efficiency ensures fair and expedient 

application of the regulation, which benefits the public welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: These 

changes are not expected to be controversial because 

expanding the options for a presiding officer for informal 

conferences is expected to provide greater expediency for a 

regulant and generally provides benefit to the public as Health 

Directors may be more involved in decisions without concern 

for a potential need for future recusal. Additionally, removing 

the document incorporated by reference (DIBR) is not 

controversial, as without reference to it in the regulation, it 

currently holds no force of administrative law and is only 

potentially confusing to the public. 

Substance: The changes (i) update the requirements for who 

can preside over an informal conference or proceeding, (ii) 

clarify the allowance for the presiding officer to release 

impounded food after an informal conference, and (iii) remove 

a DIBR that has no corresponding reference in the text of the 

regulation. 

Issues: Both changes provide advantages to the public and the 

agency. The presiding officer and impoundment release 

changes allow greater flexibility to both the agency and the 

public in scheduling informal conferences, potentially 

reducing the regulatory burden on citizens and businesses, and 

the DIBR removal eliminates confusion on the part of the 

public and agency staff as it is currently not in effect. There are 

no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (board) proposes to amend the existing 

Food Regulations to (i) allow other representatives of the 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH), not just the local health 

director, to act as presiding officer over an informal conference 

or proceeding; (ii) allow presiding officers, not just the local 

health director, to affirm a hold order on food; and (iii) remove 

the name of a document from 12VAC5-421 Documents 

Incorporated by Reference that is not otherwise referenced in 

the text of the regulation. 

Background. The Food Regulations establish minimum 

sanitary standards for the operation of the Commonwealth food 

establishments,2 which include traditional restaurants, mobile 

food units, temporary food vendors, hospital and nursing 

facility food service, and school food service. Under the 

current regulation, only the local health director may preside 

over informal fact-finding conferences. The board proposes to 

amend the regulation so that other representatives of VDH may 

act as presiding officers. Upon written notice to the owner, 

permit holder, or person in charge, VDH may place a hold 

order on food that (i) originated from an unapproved source; 

(ii) may be unsafe, adulterated, or not honestly presented; or 

(iii) is not otherwise in compliance with the regulation. Food 

that is subject to the order may not be used, sold, moved from 

the food establishment, or destroyed without a written release 

of the order from the department. Under the current regulation, 

VDH may direct that food under a hold order be brought into 

compliance with this regulation, or that the food be destroyed 

or denatured, if "Following an informal fact-finding 

conference held pursuant to the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) the 

director affirms the hold order". The board proposes to change 

"director" to "department," so that representatives of the 

agency in addition to local health directors may act as the 

presiding officer who affirms the order. Pursuant to the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 of the Code of 

Virginia), an agency may incorporate a document into the text 

of the regulation by, in part, including in the regulatory text the 

mailto:olivia.mccormick@vdh.virginia.gov
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complete name of the document. When that occurs, the text of 

the document becomes part of the text of the regulation. Such 

a document is listed in the Documents Incorporated by 

Reference section of a regulation. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. According to VDH, the current 

approach of restricting the options for a presiding officer to one 

individual increases the chances of delay in scheduling. 

Additionally, at times, it may be best for local health directors 

to recuse themselves from presiding due to prior involvement 

in the case. Thus, allowing other representatives of VDH to act 

as presiding officers over informal fact-finding conferences, 

and to also affirm hold orders, may be beneficial. Additionally, 

according to the agency, "VDH Procedures for Certification 

and Standardization of Food Inspection Staff, 2017, Virginia 

Department of Health, Division of Food and Environmental 

Services, 109 Governor Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219," which is listed in 12VAC5-421-9999 Documents 

Incorporated by Reference but not otherwise referenced in the 

text of the regulation, should have been stricken in a prior 

regulatory action. The agency states that its inclusion is 

erroneous and misleading. Removing the name of this 

document from 12VAC5-421 may be beneficial in that it may 

reduce the possibility of confusion amongst readers of the 

regulation pertaining to its relevance. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments potentially affect approximately 31,000 permitted 

food establishments in the Commonwealth.3 The Code of 

Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact 

may result from the proposed regulation.4 An adverse impact 

is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs 

for all entities combined.5 As described, the proposed 

amendments neither increase costs nor reduce benefits for any 

entity. Thus, an adverse impact not indicated. 

Small Businesses6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments neither 

disproportionally affect any particular localities nor directly 

affect costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are not likely to have a substantive impact on total 

employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to have a substantive impact on the 

use and value of private property and real estate development 

costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 The regulation defines food establishment as an operation that (i) stores, 

prepares, packages, serves, vends food directly to the consumer, or otherwise 

provides food for human consumption such as a market, restaurant, satellite or 

catered feeding location, catering operation if the operation provides food 

directly to a consumer or to a conveyance used to transport people, vending 

location, conveyance used to transport people, institution, or food bank and (ii) 

relinquishes possession of a food to a consumer directly, or indirectly through 

a delivery service such as home delivery of grocery orders or restaurant takeout 

orders, or delivery service that is provided by common carriers. 

3 Data source: VDH. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

5 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

7 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

8 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

9 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Virginia 

Department of Health concurs with the Department of 

Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update the requirements for who can 

preside over an informal conference or proceeding, (ii) 

clarify the allowance for the presiding officer to release 

impounded food after an informal conference, and (iii) 

remove a document incorporated by reference that has no 

corresponding reference in the text of the regulation. 
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12VAC5-421-3966. Destroying or denaturing food. 

The department may order the permit holder to bring food 

under a hold order into compliance with this chapter or to 

destroy or denature food if: 

1. Following an informal fact-finding conference held 

pursuant to the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the director department 

affirms the hold order; or 

2. The permit holder fails to file an appeal within 10 calendar 

days of receipt of the hold order notice. 

12VAC5-421-3970. Enforcement of regulation. 

A. The department is responsible for the implementation and 

enforcement of shall implement and enforce this chapter. 

B. Pursuant to the authority granted in §§ 32.1-26 and 35.1-6 

of the Code of Virginia, the commissioner may issue orders to 

require any an owner or permit holder or other person to 

comply with the provisions of this chapter. The order may 

require the following: 

1. The immediate cessation and correction of the violation; 

2. Appropriate remedial action to ensure that the violation 

does not continue or recur; 

3. The submission of a plan to prevent future violations; 

4. The submission of an application for a variance; and 

5. Any other corrective action deemed necessary for proper 

compliance with the regulations this chapter. 

C. The commissioner may act as the agent of the board to 

enforce all effective orders and this chapter. Should any an 

owner or permit holder fail to comply with any effective order 

or this chapter, the commissioner may: 

1. Institute a proceeding to revoke the owner's or permit 

holder's permit in accordance with 12VAC5-421-3780; 

2. Request the attorney for the Commonwealth to bring a 

criminal action; 

3. Request the Attorney General to bring an action for civil 

penalty, injunction, or other appropriate remedy; or 

4. Do any combination of the above requirements listed in 

subdivisions 1, 2, or 3 of this subsection. 

D. Nothing contained in this section shall be interpreted to 

require the commissioner to issue an order prior to seeking 

enforcement of any regulations or statute through an 

injunction, mandamus, or criminal prosecution. 

E. Proceedings before the commissioner or his a designee 

shall include any of the following forms types depending on 

the nature of the controversy and the interests of the parties 

involved.: 

1. Informal fact-finding conferences. An informal fact-

finding conference proceeding, which is a meeting with a 

district or local health an informal conference between the 

department with the director presiding and the named party 

held in conformance accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

2. Adjudicatory hearing. The An adjudicatory hearing, 

which is a formal, public adjudicatory proceeding before a 

hearing officer as defined by § 2.2-4001 of the Code of 

Virginia, and held in conformance with § 2.2-4020 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC5-421) 

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence 

Evaluations, 40th Edition, 2020, U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration, Center 

for Drug Evaluation and Research, Office of Pharmaceutical 

Science, Office of General Drugs 

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2017 Revision, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration, Milk Safety Branch 

(HFS-626), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 

20740-3835 

Interstate Certified Shellfish Shippers List (updated 

monthly), published by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 

Administration, Office of Seafood (HFS-417), 5100 Paint 

Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740-3835 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the 

Control of Molluscan Shellfish, 2013 Revision, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration, Office of Seafood 

(HFS-417), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 

20740-3835 

NSF/ANSI 18-2012 Manual Food and Beverage Dispensing 

Equipment, 2012, NSF International, 789 North Dixboro 

Road, P.O. Box 130140, Ann Arbor, MI 48113-0140, 

www.nsf.org 

Standards for Accreditation of Food Protection Manager 

Certification Programs, April 2012, Conference for Food 

Protection, 30 Elliott Court, Martinsville, IN 46151-1331 

United States Standards, Grades, and Weight Classes for 

Shell Eggs, AMS-56, effective July 20, 2000, U.S. Department 

of Agriculture, Agricultural Marketing Service, Poultry 

Programs, STOP 0259, Room 3944-South, 1400 Independence 

Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20250-0259  

VDH Procedures for Certification and Standardization of Food 

Inspection Staff, 2017, Virginia Department of Health, Division 

of Food and Environmental Services, 109 Governor Street, 5th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7786; Filed October 18, 2024, 3:07 p.m. 

https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/approved-drug-products-therapeutic-equivalence-evaluations-orange-book
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/approved-drug-products-therapeutic-equivalence-evaluations-orange-book
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/approved-drug-products-therapeutic-equivalence-evaluations-orange-book
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/approved-drug-products-therapeutic-equivalence-evaluations-orange-book
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/approved-drug-products-therapeutic-equivalence-evaluations-orange-book
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38417005671~1r.pdf&typ=40&actno=005671&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38417005671~1r.pdf&typ=40&actno=005671&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38417005671~1r.pdf&typ=40&actno=005671&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38417005671~1r.pdf&typ=40&actno=005671&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38417005671~1r.pdf&typ=40&actno=005671&mime=application/pdf
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85086002701~6&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85086002701~6&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85086002701~6&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85086002701~6&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8e19004032~4&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8e19004032~4&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8e19004032~4&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
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Notice of Suspension of Effective Date 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-630. Private Well Regulations 

(amending 12VAC5-630-10, 12VAC5-630-20, 12VAC5-

630-30, 12VAC5-630-50 through 12VAC5-630-120, 

12VAC5-630-140 through 12VAC5-630-330, 12VAC5-630-

350, 12VAC5-630-360, 12VAC5-630-380 through 12VAC5-

630-430, 12VAC5-630-450, 12VAC5-630-460; adding 

12VAC5-630-331, 12VAC5-630-431; repealing 12VAC5-

630-40, 12VAC5-630-370, 12VAC5-630-440, 12VAC5-630-

470, 12VAC5-630-480). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-176.4 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to § 2.2-4015 A 4 of the 

Code of Virginia, the State Board of Health is suspending the 

effective date of certain provisions of subdivision F 6 of 

12VAC5-630-410 to address public comment received 

pursuant to Public Participation Guidelines (12VAC5-11-50). 

This regulation was adopted by the State Board of Health on 

September 22, 2022, and published in 41:4 VA.R. 531-558 

October 7, 2024. 

The State Board of Health received multiple public comments 

objecting to specific provisions in subsection F 6 of 12VAC5-

630-410. As a result, the State Health Commissioner, pursuant 

to authority in § 32.1-20 of the Code of Virginia and on behalf 

of the State Board of Health, on November 1, 2024, suspended 

the effective date of the provisions as follows: 

As published in 41:4 VA.R. 554 October 7, 2024, column 1, 

in 5VAC12-630-410 F 6 a, line 3, all text after "filled" 

in 5VAC12-630-410 F 6 c, line 1, the word "bored" and line 2, 

all text after "feet" 

5VAC12-630-410 F 6 d, entirely. 

The State Health Commissioner has readopted replacement 

text, which, once approved, will be published with an effective 

date. 

Agency Contact: Michael Capps, Legislative and Regulatory 

Coordinator, Virginia Department of Health, James Madison 

Building, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-7190, or email 

michael.capps@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5654; Filed November 6, 2024, 8:00 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-420, 12VAC30-50-430, 12VAC30-50-491). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-143, 

12VAC30-60-185). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance. Section 

32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Director of the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance 

according to the board's requirements. The federal Mental 

Health Parity regulation can be found at 42 CFR 438.910(b)(1). 

Purpose: This action protects the public health, welfare, and 

safety by ensuring compliance with federal laws and 

regulations and aligning with mental health case management 

requirements to ensure that Virginia Medicaid is able to 

continue to receive the federal match for the program and to 

ensure clarity for providers and members. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is expected to be noncontroversial because DMAS is 

aligning its regulations with the Medicaid Mental Health Parity 

Rule and clarifying existing DMAS practices. There are no 

reductions in services associated with this action. 

Substance: The amendments remove the limit on substance use 

case management for individuals in institutions for mental 

diseases (IMDs) to comply with the Medicaid Mental Health 

Parity Rule. This action aligns DMAS regulations with 42 CFR 

441.18(a)(8)(vii) and documents DMAS existing practices by 

specifying that reimbursement is allowed for mental health and 

substance use case management services for Medicaid-eligible 

individuals who are in institutions, provided that (i) the case 

management services do not duplicate other services provided 

by the institution and (ii) the case management services are 

provided to the individual 30 calendar days prior to discharge. 

For individuals 22 to 64 years of age, the amendments clarify 

that case management services rendered in the same month as 

the admission to an IMD are reimbursable as long as the case 

management services are rendered prior to the date of the 

admission or past the date of discharge from the IMD. 

Other amendments include (i) clarifying individual service 

plan review timeframes and grace periods, (ii) clarifying that 

certified substance abuse counselor-supervisees can bill for 

substance use case management services, and (iii) 

documenting existing DMAS practices. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that removing 

the limit on substance use case management for individuals in 

IMDs ensures that individuals can receive appropriate levels 

and frequency of service. The primary advantage to DMAS 

https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=11324
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=11324
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol41/iss04/v41i04.pdf#page=72
mailto:michael.capps@vdh.virginia.gov
mailto:@meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
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and the Commonwealth is that this action aligns the state 

regulations with 42 CFR 411.18(a)(8)(vii) and appropriately 

documents and clarifies current DMAS practices. There are no 

disadvantages to the public, the agency, the Commonwealth, 

or the regulated community. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS), on behalf of the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services, proposes to align the regulatory text with the federal 

rules and to make several clarifying changes to reflect current 

reimbursement practices. 

Background. On March 30, 2016, the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) issued the Medicaid Mental Health 

Parity Rule.2 The overall objective of the parity rule is to ensure 

that accessing mental health and substance use disorder 

services is no more difficult than accessing medical or surgical 

services. However, the parity rule in 42 CFR 438.910(b)(1) 

created a contradiction with the current language in DMAS 

regulations. Under the current language, substance use case 

management services are not reimbursable for individuals 

while they are residing in institutions, including institutions for 

mental disease (IMD).3 Although DMAS reports that this 

limitation has never been enforced, it must be stricken from the 

regulation for consistency with the federal rule. Additionally, 

the proposed action clarifies that reimbursement is allowed 

pursuant to 42 CFR 441.18(a)(8)(vii) for substance use and 

mental health case management services for Medicaid-eligible 

individuals who are in institutions, provided two conditions are 

met.4 The two conditions are that (ii) the case management 

services may not duplicate other services provided by the 

institution and (ii) the case management services must be 

provided to the individual 30 calendar days prior to discharge. 

For individuals 22 to 64 years of age, case management 

services that are rendered during the same month as the 

admission to an IMD are reimbursable as long as the case 

management services are rendered prior to the date of the 

admission or past the date of discharge from the IMD. 

According to DMAS, these changes clarify existing 

reimbursement practices. The remaining changes are also 

clarifications regarding the Individual Service Plan review 

timeframes and grace periods and billing by Certified 

Substance Abuse Counselor-Supervisees. These changes do 

not affect the services provided or eligibility. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. All of the proposed changes are 

consistent with reimbursement rules that have been followed 

in practice even before the federal parity rule became effective 

in 2016. Thus, no significant economic impact is expected 

other than improving the consistency of the regulatory text 

with federal rules and text accuracy and clarity. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed action 

improves consistency, accuracy, and clarity of the regulatory 

text for the public and Medicaid recipients and providers. The 

Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse 

impact may result from the proposed regulation.5 An adverse 

impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or 

reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted above, the 

proposed action is expected to have no significant economic 

impact other than improving the consistency of the regulatory 

text with federal rules and text accuracy and clarity. Thus, no 

adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses6 Affected.7 The proposed action would not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities8 Affected.9 No adverse impact on localities is 

indicated. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed action does 

not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property or real estate 

development costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2016-03-30/pdf/2016-06876.pdf. 

3 The exception to this limitation on reimbursement is that substance use case 

management may be reimbursed during the month prior to discharge to allow 

for discharge planning. This exception is limited to two one-month periods 

during a 12-month period. 

4 These conditions do not apply to individuals between the ages of 22 and 64 

years who are served in IMD, and individuals of any age who are inmates of 

public institutions. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

7 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2016-03-30/pdf/2016-06876.pdf
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and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

8 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

9 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Medical Assistance Services has reviewed the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and raises no issues with this analysis.  

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove the limit for individuals in 

institutions for mental diseases (IMDs) to only be able to 

receive substance use case management at the time of 

discharge twice in a 12-month period to comply with the 

Medicaid Mental Health Parity Rule issued by the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services on March 20, 2016; (ii) 

align the regulation with 42 CFR 441.18(a)(8)(vii) and 

document Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) practice by specifying that reimbursement is 

allowed, provided two conditions are met, for substance use 

and mental health case management services for Medicaid-

eligible individuals who are in institutions, with the 

exception of individuals between 22 and 64 years of age who 

are served in IMDs and individuals of any age who are 

inmates of public institutions; (iii) clarify individual service 

plan review timeframes and grace periods, including 

revising the time period for grace periods from "months" to 

"calendar days"; (iv) clarify that certified substance abuse 

counselor-supervisees can bill for substance use case 

management services to document DMAS current practices, 

rather than changes in practice; and (v) consolidate 

12VAC30-60-185 B and C to remove duplicative language.  

12VAC30-50-420. Case management services for seriously 

mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed children. 

A. Target Group: group for case management services for 

seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed 

children. The Medicaid eligible Medicaid-eligible individual 

shall meet the DBHDS definition for "serious mental illness," 

pursuant to 42 CFR 483.102(b)(1) or "serious emotional 

disturbance in children and adolescents." pursuant to Appendix 

A of the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) Core Services Taxonomy 7.3. 

1. An active client for case management shall mean an 

individual for whom there is a plan of care in effect which 

that requires regular direct or client-related contacts or 

communication or activity with the client, family, service 

providers, significant others, and others, including at least 

one face-to-face contact every 90 days. Billing can be 

submitted for an active client only for months in which direct 

or client-related contacts, activity, or communications occur. 

Authorization is required for Medicaid reimbursement. 

2. There shall be no maximum service limits for case 

management services. Case In accordance with 42 CFR 

441.18(a)(8)(vii), reimbursement is allowed for case 

management shall not be billed for services for Medicaid-

eligible individuals who are in institutions for mental 

disease, with the exception of individuals who are 22 years 

of age to 64 years of age and are served in institutions of 

mental diseases (IMDs) and individuals of any age who are 

inmates of public institutions. An IMD is a facility that is 

primarily engaged in the treatment of mental illness and has 

more than 16 beds in accordance with § 1905(i) of the Social 

Security Act. 

3. For individuals who are 22 years of age to 64 years of age, 

services rendered during the same month as the admission to 

the IMD are reimbursable as long as the service was 

rendered prior to the date of the admission. 

4. Case management services for individuals who are 

younger than 22 years of age or older than 64 years of age in 

an IMD may be billed 30 calendar days prior to discharge as 

long as the case management services do not duplicate other 

services provided by the institution. 

B. Services for seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally 

disturbed children will be provided to the entire state. 

C. Comparability of Services: case management services for 

seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed 

children. Services are not comparable in amount, duration, and 

or scope. Authority of § 1915(g)(1) of the Social Security Act 

is invoked to provide services without regard to the 

requirements of § 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act. 

D. Definition of Services: Mental health case management 

services for seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally 

disturbed children. Case management services assist individual 

children and adults, in accessing needed medical, psychiatric, 

social, educational, vocational, and other supports essential to 

meeting basic needs. Services to be provided include: 

1. Assessment and planning services, to include developing 

an Individual Service Plan individual service plan (ISP) 

(does not include performing medical and psychiatric 

assessment but does include referral for such assessment); 

2. Linking the individual to services and supports specified 

in the individualized service plan ISP; 

3. Assisting the individual directly for the purpose of 

locating, developing, or obtaining needed services and 

resources; 
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4. Coordinating services and service planning with other 

agencies and providers involved with the individual; 

5. Enhancing community integration by contacting other 

entities to arrange community access and involvement, 

including opportunities to learn community living skills, and 

use vocational, civic, and recreational services; 

6. Making collateral contacts with the individuals' 

individual's significant others to promote implementation of 

the service plan and community adjustment; 

7. Follow-up and monitoring to assess ongoing progress and 

to ensure services are delivered; and 

8. Education and counseling which that guides the client and 

develops a supportive relationship that promotes the service 

plan. 

E. Qualifications of Providers: providers of case management 

services for seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally 

disturbed children. 

1. Services are not comparable in amount, duration, and or 

scope. Authority of § 1915(g)(1) of the Social Security Act 

is invoked to limit case management providers for 

individuals with mental retardation a developmental 

disability and individuals with serious/chronic serious or 

chronic mental illness to the Community Services Boards 

only to enable them to provide services to 

serious/chronically mentally ill or mentally retarded 

individuals with a developmental disability or serious or 

chronic mental illness without regard to the requirements of 

§ 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act. 

2. To qualify as a provider of services through DMAS for 

rehabilitative mental health case management, the provider 

of the services must meet certain the following criteria. 

These criteria shall be: 

a. The provider must have the administrative and financial 

management capacity to meet state and federal 

requirements; 

b. The provider must have the ability to document and 

maintain individual case records in accordance with state 

and federal requirements; 

c. The services shall be in accordance with the Virginia 

Comprehensive State Plan for Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse Services; 

d. The provider must be licensed as a provider of case 

management services by the DBHDS; and 

e. Persons providing case management services must have 

knowledge of: 

(1) Services, systems, and programs available in the 

community, including primary health care, support 

services, eligibility criteria and intake processes, generic 

community resources, and mental health, mental 

retardation developmental disability, and substance abuse 

treatment programs; 

(2) The nature of serious mental illness, mental retardation 

developmental disability, and substance abuse depending 

on the population served, including clinical and 

developmental issues; 

(3) Different types of assessments, including functional 

assessments, and their uses in service planning; 

(4) Treatment modalities and intervention techniques, 

such as behavior management, independent living skills 

training, supportive counseling, family education, crisis 

intervention, discharge planning, and service 

coordination; 

(5) The service planning process and major components of 

a service plan; 

(6) The use of medications in the care or treatment of the 

population served; and 

(7) All applicable federal and state laws, state regulations, 

and local ordinances.; 

f. Persons providing case management services must have 

skills in: 

(1) Identifying and documenting an individual's needs for 

resources, services, and other supports; 

(2) Using information from assessments, evaluations, 

observation, and interviews to develop individual service 

plans ISPs; 

(3) Identifying services and resources within the 

community and established service system to meet the 

individual's needs; and documenting how resources, 

services, and natural supports, such as family, can be 

utilized to achieve an individual's personal 

habilitative/rehabilitative habilitative or rehabilitative and 

life goals; and 

(4) Coordinating the provision of services by public and 

private providers.; and 

g. Persons providing case management services must have 

abilities to: 

(1) Work as team members, maintaining effective inter- 

inter-agency and intra-agency working relationships; 

(2) Work independently, performing position duties under 

general supervision; and 

(3) Engage in and sustain ongoing relationships with 

individuals receiving services. 

3. Providers may bill Medicaid for mental health case 

management only when the services are provided by 

qualified mental health case managers. 

F. The state assures ensures that the provision of case 

management services will not restrict an individual's free 

choice of providers in violation of § 1902(a)(23) of the Social 

Security Act. 
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1. Eligible recipients will have free choice of the providers 

of case management services. 

2. Eligible recipients will have free choice of the providers 

of other medical care under the plan. 

G. Payment for case management services under the plan 

shall not duplicate payments made to public agencies or private 

entities under other program authorities for this same purpose. 

H. Case management services may not be billed concurrently 

with intensive community treatment services, treatment foster 

care case management services, or intensive in-home services 

for children and adolescents. 

12VAC30-50-430. Case management services for youth at 

risk of serious emotional disturbance. 

A. Target group: Medicaid eligible for case management 

services for youth at risk of serious emotional disturbance. 

Medicaid-eligible individuals who meet the DBHDS definition 

of youth at risk of serious emotional disturbance pursuant to 

Appendix A of the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) Core Services Taxonomy 

7.3. 

1. An active client shall mean an individual for whom there 

is a plan of care in effect which that requires regular direct 

or client-related contacts or communication or activity with 

the client, family, service providers, significant others, and 

others, including at least one face-to-face contact every 90-

days 90 days. Billing can be submitted for an active client 

only for months in which direct or client-related contacts, 

activity, or communications occur. Authorization is required 

for Medicaid reimbursement. 

2. There shall be no maximum service limits for case 

management services. Case management services must not 

be billed for individuals who are in institutions for mental 

disease diseases, except for the 30 calendar days prior to 

discharge as long as the case management services do not 

duplicate other services provided by the institution. Case 

management services must not be billed for individuals who 

are inmates of public institutions. 

B. Services for youth at risk of serious emotional disturbance 

will be provided in the entire state. 

C. Comparability of services: case management services for 

youth at risk of serious emotional disturbance. Services are not 

comparable in amount, duration, and or scope. Authority of 

§ 1915(g)(1) of the Social Security Act is invoked to provide 

services without regard to the requirements of 

§ 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act. 

D. Definition of services: Mental health case management 

services for youth at risk of serious emotional disturbance. 

Case management services assist youth at risk of serious 

emotional disturbance in accessing needed medical, 

psychiatric, social, educational, vocational, and other supports 

essential to meeting basic needs. Services to be provided 

include: 

1. Assessment and planning services, to include developing 

an Individual Service Plan individual service plan (ISP); 

2. Linking the individual directly to services and supports 

specified in the treatment/services treatment or services 

plan; 

3. Assisting the individual directly for the purpose of 

locating, developing, or obtaining needed service and 

resources; 

4. Coordinating services and service planning with other 

agencies and providers involved with the individual; 

5. Enhancing community integration by contacting other 

entities to arrange community access and involvement, 

including opportunities to learn community living skills, and 

use vocational, civic, and recreational services; 

6. Making collateral contacts, which are nontherapy 

contacts, with an individual's significant others to promote 

treatment and/or or community adjustment; 

7. Following up and monitoring to assess ongoing progress 

and ensuring services are delivered; and 

8. Education Providing education and counseling which that 

guides the client and develops a supportive relationship that 

promotes the service plan. 

E. Qualifications of providers of case management services 

for youth at risk of serious emotional disturbance. 

1. Services are not comparable in amount, duration, and or 

scope. Authority of § 1915(g)(1) of the Social Security Act 

is invoked to limit case management providers, to the 

community services boards only, to enable them to provide 

services to serious/chronically mentally ill or mentally 

retarded individuals with a developmental disability or 

serious or chronic mental illness without regard to the 

requirements of § 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act. 

To qualify as a provider of case management services to 

youth at risk of serious emotional disturbance, the provider 

of the services must meet the following criteria: 

a. The provider must meet state and federal requirements 

regarding its capacity for administrative and financial 

management; 

b. The provider must document and maintain individual 

case records in accordance with state and federal 

requirements; 

c. The provider must provide services in accordance with 

the Virginia Comprehensive State Plan for Mental Health, 

Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services; 

d. The provider must be licensed as a provider of case 

management services by the DBHDS; and 
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e. Persons providing case management services must have 

knowledge of: 

(1) Services, systems, and programs available in the 

community, including primary health care, support 

services, eligibility criteria, and intake processes, generic 

community resources, and mental health, mental 

retardation developmental disability, and substance abuse 

treatment programs; 

(2) The nature of serious mental illness, mental retardation 

and/or developmental disability, or substance abuse 

depending on the population served, including clinical and 

developmental issues; 

(3) Different types of assessments, including functional 

assessments, and their uses in service planning; 

(4) Treatment modalities and intervention techniques, 

such as behavior management, independent living skills 

training, supportive counseling, family education, crisis 

intervention, discharge planning, and service 

coordination; 

(5) The service planning process and major components of 

a service plan; 

(6) The use of medications in the care or treatment of the 

population served; and 

(7) All applicable federal and state laws, state regulations, 

and local ordinances.; 

f. Persons providing case management services must have 

skills in: 

(1) Identifying and documenting an individual's need for 

resources, services, and other supports; 

(2) Using information from assessments, evaluations, 

observation, and interviews to develop individual service 

plans ISPs; 

(3) Identifying services and resources within the 

community and established service system to meet the 

individual's needs; and documenting how resources, 

services, and natural supports, such as family, can be 

utilized to achieve an individual's personal 

habilitative/rehabilitative habilitative or rehabilitative and 

life goals; and 

(4) Coordinating the provision of services by diverse 

public and private providers.; and 

g. Persons providing case management services must have 

abilities to: 

(1) Work as team members, maintaining effective inter- 

inter-agency and intra-agency working relationships; 

(2) Work independently performing position duties under 

general supervision; and 

(3) Engage in and sustain ongoing relationships with 

individuals receiving services. 

F. Providers may bill Medicaid for mental health case 

management to youth at risk of serious emotional disturbance 

only when the services are provided by qualified mental health 

case managers. 

G. The state assures ensures that the provision of case 

management services will not restrict an individual's free 

choice of providers in violation of § 1902(a)(23) of the Social 

Security Act. 

1. Eligible recipients will have free choice of the providers 

of case management services. 

2. Eligible recipients will have free choice of the providers 

of other medical care under the plan. 

H. Payment for case management services under the plan 

must not duplicate payments made to public agencies or private 

entities under other program authorities for this same purpose. 

I. Case management may not be billed concurrently with 

intensive community treatment services, treatment foster care 

case management services, or intensive in-home services for 

children and adolescents. 

12VAC30-50-491. Substance use case management services 

for individuals who have a primary diagnosis of substance 

use disorder. 

A. Target group: for substance use case management services 

for individuals who have a primary diagnosis of substance use 

disorder. 

1. The Medicaid eligible Medicaid-eligible individual shall 

meet the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental 

Disorders (DSM-5) diagnostic criteria for a substance use 

disorder. Tobacco-related disorders or caffeine-related 

disorders and nonsubstance-related disorders shall not be 

covered. Substance use case management shall include an 

active individual service plan (ISP) that requires a minimum 

of two substance use case management service activities 

each month and at least one face-to-face contact with the 

individual at least every 90 calendar days. 

2. There shall be no maximum service limits for case 

management services. 

3. In accordance with 42 CFR 441.18(a)(8)(vii), 

reimbursement is allowed for case management services for 

Medicaid-eligible individuals who are in institutions, with 

the exception of individuals who are 22 years of age to 64 

years of age and served in institutions of mental diseases 

(IMDs) and individuals of any age who are inmates of public 

institutions. An IMD is a facility that is primarily engaged in 

the treatment of mental illness and has more than 16 beds. 

4. For individuals who are 22 years of age to 64 years of age, 

services rendered during the same month as the admission to 

the IMD are reimbursable as long as the service was 

rendered prior to the date of the admission. 

5. Case management services for individuals who are 

younger than 22 years of age or older than 64 years of age in 
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an IMD may be billed 30 calendar days prior to discharge as 

long as the case management services do not duplicate other 

services provided by the institution. 

B. Services for substance use case management for 

individuals who have a primary diagnosis of substance use 

disorder will be provided to the entire state. 

C. Comparability of services: for substance use case 

management services for individuals who have a primary 

diagnosis of substance use disorder. Services are not 

comparable in amount, duration, and or scope. Authority of § 

1915(g)(1) of the Social Security Act is invoked to provide 

services without regard to the requirements of § 

1902(a)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act. 

D. Definition of substance use case management services: for 

individuals who have a primary diagnosis of substance use 

disorder. Substance use case management services assist 

individuals and their family members in accessing needed 

medical, psychiatric, psychological, social, educational, 

vocational, recovery, and other supports essential to meeting 

the individual's basic needs. Substance use case management 

is reimbursable on a monthly basis only when the minimum 

substance use case management service activities are met. 

Substance use case management services are not reimbursable 

for individuals while they are residing in institutions, including 

institutions for mental disease, except that substance use case 

management may be reimbursed during the month prior to 

discharge to allow for discharge planning. This is limited to 

two one-month periods during a 12-month period. Tobacco-

related disorders or caffeine-related disorders and 

nonsubstance-related disorders shall not be covered. Substance 

use case management does not include maintaining service 

waiting lists or periodically contacting or tracking individuals 

to determine potential service needs. Substance use case 

management services are to be person centered, individualized, 

and culturally and linguistically appropriate to meet the 

individual's and family member's needs. 

Substance use case management service activities to be 

provided shall include: 

1. Assessing needs and planning services to include 

developing a substance use case management individual 

service plan (ISP). The ISP shall utilize accepted placement 

criteria and shall be fully completed within 30 calendar days 

of initiation of service; 

2. Enhancing community integration through increased 

opportunities for community access and involvement and 

enhancing community living skills to promote community 

adjustment, including, to the maximum extent possible, the 

use of local community resources available to the general 

public; 

3. Making collateral contacts with the individual's 

significant others with properly authorized releases to 

promote implementation of the individual's ISP and his the 

individual's community adjustment; 

4. Linking the individual to those community supports that 

are most likely to promote the personal habilitative or 

rehabilitative, recovery, and life goals of the individual as 

developed in the ISP; 

5. Assisting the individual directly to locate, develop, or 

obtain needed services, resources, and appropriate public 

benefits; 

6. Assuring Ensuring the coordination of services and 

service planning within a provider agency, with other 

providers, and with other human service agencies and 

systems, such as local health and social services 

departments; 

7. Monitoring service delivery through contacts with 

individuals receiving services and service providers and site 

and home visits to assess the quality of care and satisfaction 

of the individual; 

8. Providing follow-up instruction, education, and 

counseling to guide the individual and develop a supportive 

relationship that promotes the ISP; 

9. Advocating for individuals the individual in response to 

their the individual's changing needs, based on changes in 

the ISP; 

10. Planning for transitions in the individual's life; 

11. Knowing and monitoring the individual's health status, 

any medical condition, and medications and potential side 

effects and assisting the individual in accessing primary care 

and other medical services, as needed; and 

12. Understanding the capabilities of services to meet the 

individual's identified needs and preferences and to serve the 

individual without placing the individual, other participants, 

or staff at risk of serious harm. 

E. Qualifications of providers: of substance use case 

management services for individuals who have a primary 

diagnosis of substance use disorder. 

1. The provider of substance use case management services 

must meet the following criteria: 

a. The enrolled provider must have the administrative and 

financial management capacity to meet state and federal 

requirements; 

b. The enrolled provider must have the ability to document 

and maintain individual case records in accordance with 

state and federal requirements; and 

c. The enrolled provider must be licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) as a provider of substance abuse case 

management services. 
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2. Providers may bill Medicaid for substance use case 

management only when the services are provided by a 

professional or professionals who meet meets at least one of 

the following criteria: 

a. At least a bachelor's degree in one of the following fields 

(social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 

sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, or human 

services counseling) and has at least either (i) one year of 

substance use related use-related direct experience 

providing services to individuals with a diagnosis of 

substance use disorder or (ii) a minimum of one year of 

clinical experience working with individuals with co-

occurring diagnoses of substance use disorder and mental 

illness; 

b. Licensure by the Commonwealth as a registered nurse 

with (i) at least one year of substance use related use-

related direct experience providing services to individuals 

with a diagnosis of substance use disorder or (ii) a 

minimum of one year of clinical experience working with 

individuals with co-occurring diagnoses of substance use 

disorder and mental illness; or 

c. Certification as a Board of Counseling Certified 

Substance Abuse Counselor (CSAC), CSAC-Supervisee, 

or CSAC-Assistant under clinical supervision as defined 

in 18VAC115-30-10 et seq. 

F. The state assures ensures that the provision of substance 

use case management services will not restrict an individual's 

free choice of providers in violation of § 1902(a)(23) of the 

Social Security Act. 

1. Eligible individuals shall have free choice of the providers 

of substance use case management services. 

2. Eligible individuals shall have free choice of the providers 

of other services under the plan. 

G. Payment for substance use case management or substance 

use care coordination services under the Plan plan does not 

duplicate payments for other case management made to public 

agencies or private entities under other Title XIX program 

authorities for this same purpose. 

H. The state assures ensures that the individual will not be 

compelled to receive substance use case management services, 

condition receipt of case management services on the receipt 

of other Medicaid services, or condition receipt of other 

Medicaid services on receipt of case management services. 

I. The state assures ensures that providers of substance use 

case management service services do not exercise the agency's 

authority to authorize or deny the provision of other services 

under the plan. 

J. The state assures ensures that substance use case 

management is only provided by and reimbursed to community 

case management providers. 

K. The state assures ensures that substance use case 

management does not include the following: 

1. The direct delivery of an underlying medical, educational, 

social, or other service to which an eligible individual has 

been referred. 

2. Activities for which an individual may be eligible, that are 

integral to the administration of another nonmedical 

program, except for case management that is included in an 

individualized education program or individualized family 

service plan consistent with § 1903(c) of the Social Security 

Act. 

12VAC30-60-143. Mental health services utilization 

criteria; definitions. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context indicates otherwise: 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of either the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority, or its 

designee, who is skilled in the assessment and treatment of 

mental illness and who has completed a certification program 

approved by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS). 

"Certified prescreener assessment" means an assessment for 

crisis intervention and crisis stabilization completed by a 

certified prescreener that meets the elements of a 

comprehensive needs assessment. 

"Comprehensive needs assessment" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-50-130 and also includes individuals 

who are older than 21 years of age. 

"Emergency services" means unscheduled and sometimes 

scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, acute psychiatric 

inpatient services, and referral assistance provided over the 

telephone or face-to-face if indicated, and available 24 hours a 

day, seven days per week. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means the 

same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130 12VAC30-105-20. 

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as defined 

in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," or 

"LMHP-S" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130 12VAC35-

105-20. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 
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"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-E" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20 12VAC30-50-

130. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

B. Utilization reviews shall include determinations that 

providers meet the following requirements: 

1. The provider shall meet the federal and state requirements 

for administrative and financial management capacity. The 

provider shall obtain, prior to the delivery of services, and 

shall maintain and update periodically as the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) or its contractor 

requires, a current provider enrollment agreement for each 

Medicaid service that the provider offers. DMAS shall not 

reimburse providers who do not enter into a provider 

enrollment agreement for a service prior to offering that 

service. 

2. The provider shall document and maintain individual case 

records in accordance with state and federal requirements. 

3. The provider shall ensure eligible individuals have free 

choice of providers of mental health services and other 

medical care under the Individual Service Plan individual 

service plan (ISP). 

4. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing 

requirements as set out in 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers 

that DMAS determines have violated these marketing 

requirements shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider 

pursuant to 12VAC30-130-2000 E. Providers whose 

contracts are terminated shall be afforded the right of appeal 

pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

5. If an individual receiving community mental health 

rehabilitative services is also receiving case management 

services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or 12VAC30-50-

430, the provider shall collaborate with the case manager by 

notifying the case manager of the provision of community 

mental health rehabilitative services and sending monthly 

updates on the individual's treatment status. A discharge 

summary shall be sent to the care coordinator/case manager 

care coordinator or case manager within 30 calendar days of 

the discontinuation of services. Service providers and case 

managers who are using the same electronic health record 

for the individual shall meet requirements for delivery of the 

notification, monthly updates, and discharge summary upon 

entry of this documentation into the electronic health record. 

6. The provider shall determine who the primary care 

provider is and inform him the primary care provider of the 

individual's receipt of community mental health 

rehabilitative services. The documentation shall include who 

was contacted, when the contact occurred, and what 

information was transmitted. 

7. Prior to admission, an appropriate comprehensive needs 

assessment shall be conducted by the licensed mental health 

professional (LMHP), LMHP-S, LMHP-R, or LMHP-RP. 

The comprehensive needs assessment shall include 

documented history of the severity, intensity, and duration 

of mental health care problems and issues. and all of the 

following elements: (i) the presenting issue or reason for 

referral; (ii) mental health history or history of 

hospitalizations; (iii) previous interventions by providers 

and timeframes and response to treatment; (iv) medical 

profile; (v) developmental history, including history of 

abuse, if appropriate; (vi) educational or vocational status; 

(vii) current living situation and family history and 

relationships; (viii) legal status,; (ix) drug and alcohol 

profile; (x) resources and strengths; (xi) mental status exam 

and profile; (xii) diagnosis; (xiii) professional summary and 

clinical formulation; (xiv) recommended care and treatment 

goals; and (xv) the dated signature of the LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee LMHP-S, LMHP-resident LMHP-R, or LMHP-

RP. 

a. A single comprehensive needs assessment shall be used 

to document the medical necessity for one or more 

community mental health rehabilitative service provided 

by the same DBHDS licensed DBHDS-licensed agency. 

b. The comprehensive needs assessment shall be: 

completed face to face and signed by the LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S; include all required elements 

as defined in 12VAC30-50-130; describe how each 

recommended community mental health rehabilitative 

service is medically necessary; and be reviewed and 

updated at a minimum of annually or as the individual's 

needs change. 

c. The comprehensive needs assessment shall be reviewed 

and updated by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S within 31 days if there is a clinical indication 

based on the medical, psychiatric, or behavioral symptoms 

of the individual. 

d. An LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S shall 

conduct an annual face to face face-to-face review and 

update of the comprehensive needs assessment that 

includes: a review of the comprehensive needs 

assessment; any necessary updates to the 15 required 

elements of the comprehensive needs assessment to reflect 

the individual's current level of functioning; an updated 

description of how the individual meets medical necessity 

criteria for all recommended services; and a 

contemporaneously dated signature of the LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. 

e. The comprehensive needs assessment is outdated if any 

of the following occurs: an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

or LMHP-S has not completed the annual review and 

update; within the past 31 calendar days, the provider has 

not provided a community mental health rehabilitative 

service or a case management activity (as defined in 
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12VAC30-50-420 or 12VAC30-50-430) as recommended 

by the comprehensive needs assessment,; or, within the 

past 31 days, the comprehensive needs assessment has not 

been updated to reflect a change in the individual's current 

level of functioning. 

f. If the comprehensive needs assessment is outdated, a 

new comprehensive needs assessment is required prior to 

resuming a community mental health rehabilitative 

service that lapsed for more than 31 calendar days. If the 

comprehensive needs update is not outdated, it must, at a 

minimum, be updated to document the medical necessity 

for a community mental health rehabilitative service that 

lapsed for more than 31 calendar days. 

g. Providers shall only bill under the community mental 

health rehabilitative service assessment codes for the 

initial comprehensive needs assessment and for 

comprehensive needs assessments that replace an outdated 

assessment. Providers of multiple community mental 

health rehabilitative services shall only bill one 

community mental health rehabilitative service 

assessment code per individual. 

h. Claims for services that are based upon comprehensive 

needs assessments that are incomplete, outdated, or 

missing shall not be reimbursed. 

i. For crisis intervention and crisis stabilization services, a 

certified prescreener assessment may be used in place of 

the comprehensive needs assessment. 

8. The provider shall include the individual and the 

family/caregiver family or caregiver, as may be appropriate, 

in the development of the ISP. To the extent that the 

individual's condition requires assistance for participation, 

assistance shall be provided. The ISP shall be updated 

annually or as the needs and progress of the individual 

changes. An ISP that is not updated either annually or as the 

treatment interventions based on the needs and progress of 

the individual change shall be considered outdated. An ISP 

that does not include all required elements specified in 

12VAC30-50-226 shall be considered incomplete. Claims 

for services that are based upon ISPs that are incomplete, 

outdated, or missing shall not be reimbursed. All ISPs shall 

be completed, signed, and contemporaneously dated by the 

appropriate professional for the service, who is preparing the 

ISP within a maximum of 30 days of the date of the 

completed assessment unless otherwise specified. A youth's 

ISP shall also be signed by the parent or legal guardian and 

the adult individual shall sign his own. If the individual is 

unwilling to sign the ISP, then the service provider shall 

document the clinical or other reasons why the individual 

was not able or willing to sign the ISP. Signatures shall be 

obtained unless there is a clinical reason that renders the 

individual unable to sign the ISP. 

a. Every three months, the appropriate professional for the 

service shall review the ISP, modify the ISP as 

appropriate, and update the ISP, and all of these activities 

shall occur with the individual in a manner in which the 

individual may participate in the process. The ISP shall be 

rewritten at least annually. 

b. The goals, objectives, and strategies of the ISP shall be 

updated to reflect any change or changes in the 

individual's progress and treatment needs as well as any 

newly-identified newly identified problems. 

c. Documentation of ISP review shall be added to the 

individual's medical record no later than 15 days from the 

calendar date of the review as evidenced by the dated 

signatures of the appropriate professional for the service 

and the individual. 

9. Progress notes shall include, at a minimum, the name of 

the service rendered, the date of the service rendered, the 

signature and credentials of the person who rendered the 

service, the setting in which the service was rendered, and 

the amount of time or units or hours required to deliver the 

service. The content of each progress note shall corroborate 

the units or hours billed. Progress notes shall be documented 

for each service that is billed. 

10. Services described in this section shall be rendered 

consistent with the definitions, service limits, and 

requirements described in this section and in 12VAC30-50-

226. 

C. Day treatment/partial treatment or partial hospitalization 

services shall be provided following a comprehensive needs 

assessment completed by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S. An ISP, as defined in 12VAC30-50-226, shall be 

fully completed, signed, and dated by either the LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, the QMHP-A, QMHP-E, or 

QMHP-C and reviewed or approved by the LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S within 30 days of service initiation. 

1. The enrolled provider of day treatment/partial treatment 

or partial hospitalization shall be licensed by DBHDS as 

providers a provider of day treatment services. 

2. Services shall only be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, a QMHP-A, a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, 

or a qualified paraprofessional under the supervision of a 

QMHP-A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. 

3. The program shall operate a minimum of two continuous 

hours in a 24-hour period. 

4. Individuals shall be discharged from this service when 

other less intensive services may achieve or maintain 

psychiatric stabilization. 

D. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be provided to 

those individuals who have experienced long-term or repeated 

psychiatric hospitalization, or who experience difficulty in 

activities of daily living and interpersonal skills, or whose 

support system is limited or nonexistent, or who are unable to 

function in the community without intensive intervention or 
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when long-term services are needed to maintain the individual 

in the community. 

1. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be provided 

following a comprehensive needs assessment that clearly 

documents the need for services. The comprehensive needs 

assessment shall be completed by either an LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. An ISP shall be completed by 

either the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, or the 

QMHP-A, QMHP-E, or QMHP-C and be reviewed or 

approved by either an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S within 30 calendar days of service initiation. At 

least every three months, the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

LMHP-S, the QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E must 

review, modify as appropriate, and update the ISP. 

2. Psychosocial rehabilitation services of any individual that 

continue for more than six months shall be reviewed by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who shall 

document the continued need for the service. The ISP shall 

be rewritten at least annually. 

3. The enrolled provider of psychosocial rehabilitation 

services shall be licensed by DBHDS as a provider of 

psychosocial rehabilitation services. 

4. Psychosocial rehabilitation services may be provided by 

an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, 

QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or a qualified paraprofessional under 

the supervision of a QMHP-A, a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or 

an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. 

5. The program shall operate a minimum of two continuous 

hours in a 24-hour period. 

6. Time allocated for field trips may be used to calculate time 

and units if the goal is to provide training in an integrated 

setting, and to increase the individual's understanding or 

ability to access community resources. 

E. Initiation of crisis intervention services shall be indicated 

following a comprehensive needs assessment completed by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, or a certified 

prescreener assessment that documents a marked reduction in 

the individual's psychiatric, adaptive, or behavioral functioning 

or an extreme increase in personal distress. In order to receive 

reimbursement, providers shall register this service with 

DMAS or its contractor within one business day of the 

completion of the comprehensive needs assessment to avoid 

duplication of services and to ensure informed care 

coordination. 

1. The crisis intervention services provider shall be licensed 

as a provider of emergency services by DBHDS. 

2. Client-related activities provided in association with a 

face-to-face contact are reimbursable. 

3. An individual service plan (ISP) shall not be required for 

newly admitted individuals to receive this service. Inclusion 

of crisis intervention as a service on the ISP shall not be 

required for the service to be provided on an emergency 

basis. 

4. For individuals receiving scheduled, short-term 

counseling as part of the crisis intervention service, an ISP 

shall be developed or revised to reflect the short-term 

counseling goals by the fourth face-to-face contact. 

5. Reimbursement shall be provided for short-term crisis 

counseling contacts occurring within a 30-day period from 

the time of the first face-to-face crisis contact. There are no 

restrictions (regarding number of contacts or a given time 

period to be covered) for reimbursement for unscheduled 

crisis contacts. 

6. Crisis intervention services may be provided to eligible 

individuals outside of the clinic and reimbursed, provided 

the provision of out-of-clinic services is clinically or 

programmatically appropriate. Travel by staff to provide 

out-of-clinic services shall not be reimbursable. Crisis 

intervention may involve contacts with the family or 

significant others. If other clinic services are billed at the 

same time as crisis intervention, documentation must clearly 

support the separation of the services with distinct treatment 

goals. 

7. An LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S shall 

conduct a comprehensive needs assessment, or a certified 

prescreener shall conduct a face-to-face comprehensive 

assessment that documents the need for and the anticipated 

duration of the crisis service. 

8. Crisis intervention shall be provided by either an LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, or a certified prescreener. 

9. For an admission to a freestanding inpatient psychiatric 

facility for individuals younger than age 21 years of age, 

federal regulations (42 CFR 441.152) require certification of 

the admission by an independent team. The independent 

team must include mental health professionals, including a 

physician. These preadmission screenings cannot be billed 

unless the requirement for an independent team certification, 

with a physician's signature, is met. 

10. Services shall be documented through daily notes and a 

daily log of time spent in the delivery of services. 

F. Case management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 

(Case management services for seriously mentally ill adults 

and emotionally disturbed children) or 12VAC30-50-430 

(Case management services for youth at risk of serious 

emotional disturbance). 

1. Reimbursement shall be provided only for "active" case 

management clients, as defined. An active client for case 

management shall mean an individual for whom there is an 

ISP in effect that requires regular direct or client-related 

contacts or activity or communication with the individuals 

or families, significant others, service providers, and others, 
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including a minimum of one face-to-face individual contact 

within a 90-day period. Billing can be submitted only for 

months in which direct or client-related contacts, activity, or 

communications occur. 

2. The Medicaid eligible Medicaid-eligible individual shall 

meet the DBHDS criteria of serious mental illness, serious 

emotional disturbance in children and adolescents, or youth 

at risk of serious emotional disturbance. 

3. There shall be no maximum service limits for case 

management services. Case management shall not be billed 

for persons in institutions for mental disease. 

4. Reimbursement is allowed for case management services 

for Medicaid-eligible individuals who are in institutions 

pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 and 12VAC30-50-430. 

5. The ISP shall document the need for case management 

and be fully completed within 30 calendar days of initiation 

of the service. The case manager shall review the ISP at least 

every three months 90 calendar days. The review will be due 

by the last day of the third month following the month in 

which the last review was completed. A grace period will be 

granted up to the last day of the fourth month following the 

month of the last review. When the review was completed in 

a grace period, the next subsequent review shall be 

scheduled three months from the month the review was due 

and not the date of actual review. 5. Such reviews shall be 

documented in the individual's medical record. 

6. Reviews will be due by the end of the month following 

the 90th calendar day from when the last review was 

completed. If needed, a grace period will be granted up to 

the last day of the next month. If the review was completed 

in a grace period, the next subsequent review shall be 

required within 90 calendar days from when the review was 

due and not the date of the actual review.  

7. The ISP shall also be updated at least annually. 

6. 8. The provider of case management services shall be 

licensed by DBHDS as a provider of case management 

services. 

G. Intensive community treatment (ICT). 

1. A comprehensive needs assessment that documents 

eligibility and the need for this service shall be completed by 

either the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S prior 

to the initiation of services. The comprehensive needs 

assessment documentation shall be maintained in the 

individual's records. 

2. An individual service plan ISP, based on the needs as 

determined by the comprehensive needs assessment, must be 

initiated at the time of admission and must be fully 

developed by either the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E and approved 

by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S within 30 

days of the initiation of services. 

3. ICT may be billed if the individual is brought to the 

facility by ICT staff to see the psychiatrist. Documentation 

must be present in the individual's record to support this 

intervention. 

4. The enrolled ICT provider shall be licensed by the 

DBHDS as a provider of intensive community services or as 

a program of assertive community treatment, and must 

provide and make available emergency services 24-hours 24 

hours per day, seven days per week, 365 days per year, either 

directly or on call. 

5. ICT services must be documented through a daily log of 

time spent in the delivery of services and a description of the 

activities/services activities or services provided. There 

must also be at least a weekly note documenting progress or 

lack of progress toward goals and objectives as outlined on 

the ISP. 

H. Crisis stabilization services. 

1. This service shall be initiated following a face-to-face 

comprehensive needs assessment by either an LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, or an assessment 

completed by a certified prescreener that documents the 

need for crisis stabilization services. 

2. In order to receive reimbursement, providers shall register 

this service with DMAS or its contractor within one business 

day of the completion of the provider's assessment to avoid 

duplication of services and to ensure informed care 

coordination. 

3. The Individual Service Plan (ISP) must be developed or 

revised within three calendar days of admission to this 

service. The LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, 

certified prescreener, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E 

shall develop the ISP. 

4. Room and board, custodial care, and general supervision 

are not components of this service. 

5. Clinic option services are not billable at the same time 

crisis stabilization services are provided, with the exception 

of clinic visits for medication management. Medication 

management visits may be billed at the same time that crisis 

stabilization services are provided, but documentation must 

clearly support the separation of the services with distinct 

treatment goals. 

6. Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate a 

clinical necessity for the service arising from a condition due 

to an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature which puts the 

individual at risk of psychiatric hospitalization. 

7. Providers of residential crisis stabilization shall be 

licensed by DBHDS as providers of residential or 

nonresidential crisis stabilization services. Providers of 
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community-based crisis stabilization shall be licensed by 

DBHDS as providers of mental health nonresidential crisis 

stabilization. 

I. Mental health skill-building services (MHSS) as defined in 

12VAC30-50-226 B 6. 

1. At admission, an appropriate face-to-face comprehensive 

needs assessment must be conducted, documented, signed, 

and dated by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. 

Providers shall be reimbursed one unit for each intake 

utilizing the appropriate billing code. Services of any 

individual that continue more than six months shall be 

reviewed by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S 

who shall document the continued need for the service in the 

individual's medical record. 

2. The primary mental health diagnosis shall be documented 

as part of the comprehensive needs assessment by the 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S performing the 

comprehensive needs assessment. 

3. The LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, 

QMHP-C, or QMHP-E shall complete, sign, and date the 

ISP within 30 days of the admission to this service. The ISP 

shall include documentation of how many days per week and 

how many hours per week are required to carry out the goals 

in the ISP. The total time billed for the week shall not exceed 

the frequency established in the individual's ISP. The ISP 

shall indicate the dated signature of the LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E 

and the individual. The ISP shall indicate the specific 

training and services to be provided, the goals and objectives 

to be accomplished, and criteria for discharge as part of a 

discharge plan that includes the projected length of service. 

If the individual refuses to sign the ISP, this shall be noted 

in the individual's medical record documentation. 

4. Every three months, the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E shall review 

with the individual in a manner in which he the individual 

may participate with the process, modify as appropriate, and 

update the ISP. The ISP must be rewritten at least annually. 

a. The goals, objectives, and strategies of the ISP shall be 

updated to reflect any change or changes in the 

individual's progress and treatment needs as well as any 

newly identified problem. 

b. Documentation of this review shall be added to the 

individual's medical record no later than 15 calendar days 

from the date of the review, as evidenced by the dated 

signatures of the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, 

QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E and the individual. 

5. The ISP shall include discharge goals that will enable the 

individual to achieve and maintain community stability and 

independence. The ISP shall fully support the need for 

interventions over the length of the period of service 

requested from the service authorization contractor. 

6. Reauthorizations for service shall only be granted if the 

provider demonstrates to either DMAS or the service 

authorization contractor that the individual is benefitting 

from the service as evidenced by updates and modifications 

to the ISP that demonstrate progress toward ISP goals and 

objectives. 

7. If the provider knows or has reason to know of the 

individual's nonadherence to a regimen of prescribed 

medication, medication adherence shall be a goal in the 

individual's ISP. If the care is delivered by the qualified 

paraprofessional, the supervising LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, or QMHP-C shall be informed of 

any nonadherence to the prescribed medication regimen. 

The LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, or 

QMHP-C shall coordinate care with the prescribing 

physician regarding any concerns about medication 

nonadherence (, provided that the individual has consented 

to such sharing of information). The provider shall document 

the following minimum elements of the contact between the 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, or 

QMHP-C and the prescribing physician: 

a. Name and title of caller; 

b. Name and title of professional who was called; 

c. Name of organization that for which the prescribing 

professional works for; 

d. Date and time of call; 

e. Reason for the care coordination call; 

f. Description of the medication regimen issue or issues to 

be discussed; and 

g. Whether or not there was a resolution of the medication 

regimen issue or issues. 

8. Discharge summaries shall be prepared by providers a 

provider for all of the individuals in their the provider's care. 

Documentation of prior psychiatric services history shall be 

maintained in the individual's mental health skill-building 

services medical record. 

9. Documentation of prior psychiatric services history shall 

be maintained in the individual's mental health skill-building 

services medical record. The provider shall document 

evidence of the individual's prior psychiatric services 

history, as required by 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 b (3) and 

12VAC30-50-226 B 6 c (4), by contacting the prior provider 

or providers of such health care services after obtaining 

written consent from the individual. Documentation of 

telephone contacts with the prior provider shall include the 

following minimum elements: 

a. Name and title of caller; 

b. Name and title of professional who was called; 

c. Name of organization that for which the professional 

works for; 

d. Date and time of call; 
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e. Specific placement provided; 

f. Type of treatment previously provided; 

g. Name of treatment provider; and 

h. Dates of previous treatment. 

Discharge summaries from prior providers that clearly 

indicate (i) the type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of 

the treatment previously provided, and (iii) the name of the 

treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet this 

requirement. Family member statements shall not suffice to 

meet this requirement. 

10. The provider shall document evidence of the psychiatric 

medication history, as required by 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 b 

(4) and 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 c (5), by maintaining a 

photocopy of prescription information from a prescription 

bottle or by contacting the current or previous prescribing 

provider of health care services or pharmacy after obtaining 

written consent from the individual. Prescription lists or 

medical records, including discharge summaries, obtained 

from the pharmacy or current or previous prescribing 

provider of health care services that contain (i) the name of 

the prescribing physician, (ii) the name of the medication 

with dosage and frequency, and (iii) the date of the 

prescription shall be sufficient to meet these criteria. Family 

member statements shall not suffice to meet this 

requirement. 

11. In the absence of such documentation, the current 

provider shall document all contacts (i.e., telephone, faxes, 

electronic communication) with the pharmacy or provider of 

health care services with the following minimum elements: 

(i) name and title of caller, (ii) name and title of prior 

professional who was called, (iii) name of organization that 

for whom the professional works for, (iv) date and time of 

call, (v) specific prescription confirmed, (vi) name of 

prescribing physician, (vii) name of medication, and (viii) 

date of prescription. 

12. Only direct face-to-face contacts and services to an 

individual shall be reimbursable. 

13. Any services provided to the individual that are strictly 

academic in nature shall not be billable. These include, but 

are not limited to, such basic educational programs as 

instruction or tutoring in reading, science, mathematics, or 

GED. 

14. Any services provided to individuals that are strictly 

vocational in nature shall not be billable. However, support 

activities and activities directly related to assisting an 

individual to cope with a mental illness to the degree 

necessary to develop appropriate behaviors for operating in 

an overall work environment shall be billable. 

15. Room and board, custodial care, and general supervision 

are not components of this service. 

16. Provider qualifications. The enrolled provider of mental 

health skill-building services must be licensed by DBHDS 

as a provider of mental health community support ( as 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20). Individuals employed or 

contracted by the provider to provide mental health skill-

building services must have training in the characteristics of 

mental illness and appropriate interventions, training 

strategies, and support methods for persons with mental 

illness and functional limitations. Mental health skill-

building services shall be provided by either an LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, a QMHP-A, a QMHP-C, a 

QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. The LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

LMHP-S, QMHP-A, or QMHP-C will supervise the care 

weekly if delivered by the QMHP-E or QPPMH. 

Documentation of supervision shall be maintained in the 

mental health skill-building services record. 

17. Mental health skill-building services shall be 

documented through a daily log of time involved in the 

delivery of services and a minimum of a weekly summary 

note of services provided. The provider shall clearly 

document services provided to detail what occurred during 

the entire amount of the time billed. 

18. If mental health skill-building services are provided in a 

therapeutic group home or assisted living facility, effective 

July 1, 2014, there shall be a yearly limit of up to 416 units 

per fiscal year and a weekly limit of up to eight units per 

week, with at least half of each week's services provided 

outside of the group home or assisted living facility. There 

shall be a daily limit of a maximum of two units. Prior to 

July 1, 2014, the previous limits shall apply. DMAS or its 

contractor may authorize additional units of mental health 

skill-building services that exceed this limit based on 

documented medical necessity. The ISP shall not include 

activities that contradict or duplicate those in the treatment 

plan established by the group home or assisted living 

facility. The provider shall attempt to coordinate mental 

health skill-building services with the treatment plan 

established by the group home or assisted living facility and 

shall document all coordination activities in the medical 

record. 

19. Limits and exclusions. 

a. Therapeutic group home and assisted living facility 

providers shall not serve as the mental health skill-

building services provider for individuals residing in the 

provider's respective facility. Individuals residing in 

facilities may, however, receive MHSS from another 

MHSS agency not affiliated with the owner of the facility 

in which they reside. 

b. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed for individuals who are receiving in-home 

residential services or congregate residential services 

through the Intellectual Disability Waiver or Individual 

and Family Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver. 
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c. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed for individuals who are also receiving 

independent living skills services, the Department of 

Social Services independent living program (22VAC40-

151), independent living services (22VAC40-131 and 

22VAC40-151), or independent living arrangement 

(22VAC40-131) or any Comprehensive Services Act-

funded independent living skills programs. 

d. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who are receiving treatment foster 

care (12VAC30-130-900 et seq.). 

e. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who reside in intermediate care 

facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities or 

hospitals. 

f. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who reside in nursing facilities, 

except for up to 60 days prior to discharge. If the 

individual has not been discharged from the nursing 

facility during the 60-day period of services, mental health 

skill-building services shall be terminated and no further 

service authorizations shall be available to the individual 

unless a provider can demonstrate and document that 

mental health skill-building services are necessary. Such 

documentation shall include facts demonstrating a change 

in the individual's circumstances and a new plan for 

discharge requiring up to 60 days of mental health skill-

building services. 

g. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available for residents of psychiatric residential treatment 

centers, except for the assessment code H0032 (modifier 

U8) in the seven days immediately prior to discharge. 

h. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed if personal care services or attendant care 

services are being received simultaneously, unless 

justification is provided regarding why this is necessary in 

the individual's mental health skill-building services 

record. Medical record documentation shall fully 

substantiate the need for services when personal care or 

attendant care services are being provided. This applies to 

individuals who are receiving additional services through 

the Intellectual Disability Waiver (12VAC30-120-1000 et 

seq.), Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 

Support Waiver (12VAC30-120-700 et seq.) 

Developmental Disability Waivers (12VAC30-122), the 

Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus Waiver 

(12VAC30-120-900 et seq.), and EPSDT services 

(12VAC30-50-130). 

i. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

duplicative of other services. Providers have a 

responsibility to ensure that if an individual is receiving 

additional therapeutic services that there will be 

coordination of services by either the LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E 

to avoid duplication of services. 

j. Individuals who have organic disorders, such as 

delirium, dementia, or other cognitive disorders not 

elsewhere classified, will be prohibited from receiving 

mental health skill-building services unless their 

physicians issue the individual's physician issues a signed 

and dated statement indicating that the individuals can 

individual could benefit from this service. 

k. Individuals who are not diagnosed with a serious mental 

health disorder but who have personality disorders or other 

mental health disorders, or both, that may lead to chronic 

disability, will not be excluded from the mental health 

skill-building services eligibility criteria, provided that the 

individual has a primary mental health diagnosis from the 

list included in 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 b (1) or 12VAC30-

50-226 B 6 c (2) and that the provider can document and 

describe how the individual is expected to actively 

participate in and benefit from mental health support 

services. 

J. Except as noted in subdivision I 18 of this section and in 

12VAC30-50-226 B 6 e, the limits described in this section and 

in 12VAC30-50-226 shall apply to all service authorization 

requests submitted to either DMAS or the behavioral health 

services agency as of July 27, 2016. As of July 27, 2016, all 

annual limits, weekly limits, daily limits, and reimbursement 

for services shall apply to all services described in 12VAC30-

50-226 regardless of the date upon which service authorization 

was obtained. 

12VAC30-60-185. Utilization review of substance use case 

management. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Face-to-face" means the same as that term is defined in 

12VAC30-130-5020. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the term 

is defined in 12VAC30-130-5020. 

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation 

that contains the unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is also 

signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's 

professional staff who have prepared the notes and are part of 

the minimum documentation requirements that convey the 

individual's status, staff intervention, and as appropriate, the 

individual's progress or lack of progress toward goals and 

objectives in the ISP. The progress notes shall also include, at 

a minimum, the name of the service rendered, the date of the 

service rendered, the signature and credentials of the person 

who rendered the service, the setting in which the service was 

rendered, and the amount of time or units or hours required to 

deliver the service. The content of each progress note shall 
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corroborate the time or units billed for each rendered service. 

Progress notes shall be documented for each service that is 

billed. 

"Register" or "registration" means notifying the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) or its contractor that 

an individual will be receiving services that do not require 

service authorization, such as outpatient services for substance 

use disorders or substance use case management. 

B. Utilization review: substance use case management 

services. 

1. The Medicaid-enrolled individual shall have a substance 

use disorder diagnosis based on nationally recognized 

criteria. Tobacco-related disorders or caffeine-related 

disorders and non-substance-related disorders shall not be 

covered. 

2. Reimbursement shall be provided only for "active" case 

management. An active client for substance use case 

management shall mean an individual for whom there is a 

current substance use ISP in effect that requires a minimum 

of two distinct substance use case management activities 

being performed each calendar month and, at a minimum, 

one face-to-face client contact at least every 90-calendar-day 

period. 

3. Billing can be submitted for an active recipient only for 

months in which a minimum of two distinct substance use 

case management activities are performed. 

4. An ISP shall be completed within 30 calendar days of 

initiation of this service with the individual in a person-

centered manner and shall document the need for active 

substance use case management before such case 

management services can be billed. The ISP shall require a 

minimum of two distinct substance use case management 

activities being performed each calendar month and a 

minimum of one face-to-face client contact at least every 90 

calendar days. The substance use case manager shall review 

the ISP with the individual at least every 90 calendar days 

for the purpose of evaluating and updating the individual's 

progress toward meeting the individualized service plan 

objectives. Such reviews shall be documented in the 

individual's medical record. 

5. Reviews will be due by the end of month following the 

90th calendar day from when the last review was completed. 

If needed, a grace period will be granted up to the last day of 

the next month. If the review was completed in a grace 

period, the next subsequent review shall be required within 

90 calendar days from when the review was due and not the 

date of the actual review. 

6. The ISP shall be reviewed with the individual present, and 

the outcome of the review shall be documented in the 

individual's medical record. 

C. Utilization review: substance use case management 

services. 

1. Utilization review general requirements. Utilization 

reviews shall be conducted by DMAS or its designated 

contractor. Reimbursement shall be provided only when 

there is an active ISP, a minimum of two distinct substance 

use case management activities are performed each calendar 

month, and there is a minimum of one face-to-face client 

contact at least every 90-calendar-day period. Billing can be 

submitted only for months in which a minimum of two 

distinct substance use case management activities are 

performed within the calendar month. 

2. 7. In order to receive reimbursement, providers shall 

register this service with the managed care organization or 

the DMAS contractor, as required, within one business day 

of service initiation to avoid duplication of services and to 

ensure informed and seamless care coordination between 

substance use treatment and substance use case management 

providers. 

3. The Medicaid-eligible individual shall meet the nationally 

recognized criteria for a substance use disorder with the 

exception of tobacco-related disorders or caffeine-related 

disorders and non-substance-related disorders. 

4. Substance use case management shall not be billed for 

individuals in institutions for mental disease, except during 

the month prior to discharge to allow for discharge planning, 

limited to two months within a 12-month period. 8. 

Substance use case management shall not be billed 

concurrently with any other type of Medicaid reimbursed 

case management and care coordination. 

5. The ISP, as defined in 12VAC30-130-5020, shall 

document the need for substance use case management and 

be fully completed within 30 calendar days of initiation of 

the service, and the substance use case manager shall review 

the ISP at least every 90 calendar days. Such reviews shall 

be documented in the individual's medical record. If needed, 

a grace period will be granted following the date of the last 

review. When the review is completed in a grace period, the 

next subsequent review shall be scheduled 90 calendar days 

from the date the review was initially due and not the date of 

actual review. 

6. 9. The ISP shall be updated and documented in the 

individual's medical record at least annually and as an 

individual's needs change. 

7. 10. The provider of substance use case management 

services shall be licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services as a provider of 

substance use case management and credentialed by the 

DMAS contractor or the managed care organization as a 

provider of substance use case management services. 
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8. 11. Progress notes, as defined in subsection A of this 

section, shall be required to disclose the extent of services 

provided and corroborate the units billed. 

12. Reimbursement is allowed for case management services 

for Medicaid-eligible individuals who are in institutions 

pursuant to 12VAC30-50-491. 

13. Utilization reviews shall be conducted by DMAS or its 

designated contractor. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7024; Filed October 21, 2024, 12:38 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-21. Regulations Governing 

Prescribing of Opioids and Buprenorphine (amending 

18VAC85-21-20, 18VAC85-21-21, 18VAC85-21-30, 

18VAC85-21-40, 18VAC85-21-60, 18VAC85-21-70, 

18VAC85-21-80, 18VAC85-21-100, 18VAC85-21-130 

through 18VAC85-21-160; adding 18VAC85-21-23). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2928.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 750-3912, FAX (804) 915-0382, 

or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the board are promulgated under the 

general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

specifically states that the general powers and duties of health 

regulatory boards shall be to promulgate regulations. Section 

54.1-2928.2 directs the Board of Medicine to promulgate 

regulations governing the prescribing of opioids and 

buprenorphine. 

Purpose: The regulation is necessary to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of patients because the regulation guides 

practitioners in the use of opioids and buprenorphine, which 

are addictive and often abused drugs. Similarly, the failure to 

appropriately prescribe these medications to the pain 

management or opioid use disorder populations can harm the 

public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial because the 

board has received comments for several years of the need for 

these changes. Additionally, the board convened a regulatory 

advisory panel of 12 stakeholders from a variety of 

backgrounds to provide assistance in drafting these changes. 

These amendments have been the subject of substantial public 

participation. 

Substance: These amendments (i) add other FDA-approved 

opioid reversal agents where "naloxone" is currently used; (ii) 

change references to addiction treatment to opioid use 

disorder; (iii) update prescribing guidelines based on patient 

population or type of pain treated; (iv) clarify tapering; (v) 

include subacute pain as a pain management category along 

with acute and chronic; (vi) remove references to the Substance 

Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) 

waiver to prescribe buprenorphine, as that is no longer issued 

by SAMHSA or required for buprenorphine prescribing; (vii) 

clarify the use of telemedicine for prescription of opioids; and 

(viii) increase the recommended quantity for initial 

prescription of opioids. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is updated 

guidelines for practitioners regarding prescription of opioids 

and buprenorphine. There are no disadvantages to the public. 

There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (board) proposes to update these 

regulations to incorporate the latest Clinical Practice Guideline 

for Prescribing Opioids for Pain issued by the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention (CDC); several other 

discretionary changes based on the feedback and information 

received by the board; and editorial changes to improve clarity 

and remove obsolete references. 

Background. These regulations govern prescribing of opioids 

and buprenorphine for pain by practitioners. Prescribing of 

these controlled substances was significantly amended in 2018 

pursuant to a mandate by the General Assembly.2 According to 

the Department of Health Professions (DHP), medical research 

and CDC guidelines surrounding opioid and buprenorphine 

prescribing have changed since that time, and the CDC issued 

new guidelines in late 2022.3 The proposed action would 

mainly incorporate the revised guidelines but also make other 

discretionary changes based on the feedback and information 

received by the board, as well as editorial changes to improve 

clarity and remove obsolete references. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The descriptions, rationales, and 

anticipated effects of the proposed changes are provided 

mailto:@erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
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below. Changes that are prompted by the new CDC guidelines 

are indicated as "CDC," while other changes (those not 

prompted by the CDC guidelines) are indicated as "non-CDC." 

Allow the use of other opioid reversal agents in addition to 

Naloxone if they are approved by the Federal Drug 

Administration (FDA) (non-CDC). According to the board, 

this change is in response to the expected approval by FDA of 

opioid reversal agents (also known as antagonists) other than 

naloxone, which should soon be available to practitioners and 

the public. This change would still allow naloxone to be used 

but would also allow use of new opioid reversal agents as they 

become available. This change would benefit the makers of the 

new opioid reversal agents as they would have immediate 

access to the Virginia market under this change. Conversely, 

however, the incumbent maker of naloxone, currently a de 

facto monopoly in Virginia, would no longer be sheltered from 

competition by this regulation. This would benefit consumers 

because a monopoly can command higher prices at the expense 

of consumers by controlling supply. Additionally, the 

practitioner ability to prescribe other opioid reversal agents if 

indicated would be possible and patients would have 

immediate access to any such new drugs. In essence, this 

change would remove a barrier to entry into the Virginia's 

market for opioid reversal agents. Several changes would 

remove or revise the limits on opioid-related drugs and expand 

the use of buprenorphine. One change in this category would 

increase the seven-day opioid prescription supply limit to 14 

days for acute and subacute pain (CDC) and remove the 

limitation that practitioners must follow the manufacturer's 

directions for use (non-CDC). The board reports that the seven-

day limitation is too restrictive in practice, and that the use of 

opioids for off-label uses may not need to be, and sometimes 

should not be, in accordance with manufacturer directions. 

Practitioners and patients would likely benefit from this change 

in terms of a decrease in the need to write prescriptions and the 

associated trips to the pharmacy, and perhaps fewer doctor 

visits as well. Practitioners and patients would likely also 

benefit from the ability to diverge from manufacturer 

directions when needed. Another change would remove the 

daily limits on buprenorphine, which are currently eight 

milligrams when starting therapy and 24 milligrams after the 

initial stages of therapy (CDC). This change is intended to 

allow practitioners to make clinical decisions based on the 

patient that presents before them rather than be limited to a set 

dosage amount for initial and ongoing therapy. Like the 

previous change, this would provide more flexibility to the 

practitioners when needed, and patients who need a higher 

dosage of buprenorphine would also be accommodated. A third 

set of changes would also allow buprenorphine treatment of a 

patient who has psychiatric comorbidities and is not stable 

(non-CDC). The board determined that excluding these 

patients from buprenorphine treatment was unnecessarily 

limiting. Many patients who need treatment for opioid use 

disorder may present with psychiatric comorbidities, but those 

comorbidities are resolved with successful treatment for opioid 

use disorder. In addition, according to the board, psychiatric 

comorbidities can be exacerbated by opioid use disorder, in 

which case it is proper to initiate treatment for both conditions 

simultaneously. With this change, practitioners would have 

buprenorphine treatment as an option for patients with 

psychiatric comorbidities. Thus, both practitioners and 

affected patients are likely to benefit from this change. 

Several changes would provide some administrative relief to 

practitioners. The changes in this group would reduce the 

administrative burden on practitioners as the documentation 

requirements would be lessened and specific action would no 

longer be required in certain instances. One of these changes 

would remove the requirement that providers document the 

rationale for prescribing doses between 16 and 24 milligrams 

of buprenorphine per day (CDC). Currently, a practitioner may 

prescribe up to 24 milligrams per day, but when the dosage is 

over 16 milligrams certain documentation of the rationale is 

required. This change is a direct result of removing the daily 

limits on buprenorphine, as discussed. Another change would 

no longer require a practitioner to document absence of any 

indicators for medication misuse or diversion and subsequently 

take appropriate action when misuse or diversion is indicated 

(non-CDC). Currently, practitioners are required to record and 

take appropriate action not only when indicators of misuse or 

diversion are present, but also when they are absent. Under this 

change, practitioners would be required to document and take 

appropriate action only when indicators are present and take 

appropriate action as part of the standard of care. The board 

rationale is that in other disciplines of medicine, practitioners 

are not required to document the absence of symptoms, and it 

is viewed as unnecessarily burdensome and stigmatizing to 

include the requirement in these regulations. The regulation 

would also be amended to remove the requirement that a 

prescriber "take appropriate action" upon documenting the 

presence of indicators of medication misuse or diversion. This 

requirement placed practitioners in a difficult position when 

working with vulnerable populations, and the board states that 

it is additionally difficult to enforce. The proposal would also 

change the requirement that a practitioner "assure that [relapse 

prevention strategies] are addressed by" a mental health service 

provider to "document referral to" a mental health services 

provider (CDC). The board believes that practitioners have no 

way to "assure" strategies are addressed by another health 

professional. Documentation of a referral to a mental health 

service provider is a reasonable requirement that is attainable 

for prescribers. Additionally, the regulatory advisory panel and 

the board felt that the limitation of a referral to only certain 

mental health providers was unnecessarily limiting. This is 

particularly true in the current environment, in which it is 

difficult to obtain appointments with any mental health 

practitioner. Several proposed changes would add new 

requirements or limit existing options. One such change would 

newly require the practitioner to taper an opioid if the treatment 

plan includes opioid tapering (non-CDC). This change requires 

that no opioid patient should have their treatment stopped 
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without the use of a tapering plan and documentation of 

extenuating circumstances. The board states that this is a direct 

result of complaints and communications it has received 

regarding practitioners who stop opioid treatment without 

tapering, which results in severe consequences for patients. 

The board does, however, recognize that extenuating 

circumstances may exist, such as if the practitioner receives 

evidence in the form of drug tests that indicate the patient is 

not taking the drugs as prescribed. In that example, the patient 

may be providing drugs to third parties or selling the 

medication, and continuing to provide prescription medication 

under such conditions would be inadvisable. Accordingly, 

tapering would not be required if extenuating circumstances 

exist and are documented. This change would help spare 

patients from severe withdrawal symptoms when appropriate, 

while balancing the need to address drug diversion. 

Practitioners would also be required to take specific steps to 

address potential misuse (i.e., using the lowest effective dose, 

scheduling frequent office visits, performing pill counts, and 

checking the Prescription Monitoring Program) to reduce 

chances of buprenorphine misuse, in addition to diversion 

(non-CDC). Currently, practitioners are required to take 

certain steps to reduce the chances of diversion, and the 

proposal would also require that those steps be taken in order 

to reduce the chances of misuse. According to the board, this 

change is intended to utilize the tools used to prevent diversion 

to also prevent misuse. This change is expected to help prevent 

misuse and benefit patients. Another change in this group 

would require practitioners to include liver function tests if 

clinically indicated when performing and documenting an 

assessment of the patient (non-CDC). The board proposes this 

change because it feels that liver function tests are an important 

component of assessing the risk of medication assisted 

treatment for any practitioner. Under this change, patients will 

be screened for liver function, thereby increasing the ability to 

diagnose liver problems and address patient safety and health 

when clinically indicated. However, any such additional tests 

would also add to the cost of treatment, which some patients 

may be responsible for, depending on the extent and nature of 

their insurance coverage. An additional change would remove 

the allowance that pregnant women may be treated with the 

buprenorphine mono product (CDC). According to the board, 

the latest CDC guidelines state that buprenorphine or 

methadone is the preferred treatment for pregnant women, not 

the buprenorphine mono-product. Therefore, this limitation 

and reference would be deleted. The board also notes that if a 

mother needs an exemption to take the mono-product, it can 

still be prescribed under the existing 3.0% rule, and that this 

change would improve patient safety. 

Significant clarifying changes (non-CDC). The board also 

proposes to make several clarifying changes. First, to be 

consistent with CDC guidelines, the definition of "acute pain" 

would be revised and a definition for "subacute pain" would be 

added. Also, certain changes in descriptions of categories 

would be made for consistency with CDC guidelines and 

current terminology. The board states that changes in 

descriptions of type of pain, such as acute or subacute, do not 

affect practitioners since they can already prescribe for these 

categories. So, for example, the changes do not newly "allow" 

opioid prescriptions for subacute pain, because practitioners 

can already prescribe for any pain by virtue of having a license. 

Additionally, patients can already receive opioids for any type 

of pain. Thus, there would be no change in practice. Other 

clarifying changes would remove obsolete references to the 

SAMHSA (federal Substance Abuse and Mental Health 

Services Administration) waiver, known as "X-waivers," to 

prescribe buprenorphine, as that waiver is no longer issued by 

SAMHSA. Lastly, the board would add language stating that 

DMAS (Department of Medical Assistance Services) members 

should not pay for services involving prescription of an opioid 

for pain management related to opioid use disorder. This 

change incorporates the 2018 DMAS rule4 addressing cases 

where some members have been asked by providers for cash 

or other items of monetary value in exchange for Medicaid-

covered substance use disorder services. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments mainly affect individual practitioners that 

prescribe opioids and buprenorphine as part of pain 

management, opioid use disorder treatment, or surgery, as well 

as their patients. DHP has no data regarding the number of 

practitioners that prescribe opioids for these purposes. As of 

March 31, 2023, DHP reported a total of 53,127 prescribers 

under the board (42,132 medical doctors, 4,941 doctors of 

osteopathy, and 6,054 physician assistants). The board believes 

practitioners affected by the regulatory amendments would 

likely be a minority of those numbers. No practitioners or 

patients appear to be disproportionately affected. 

The Code of Virginia requires the DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.5 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted, all but one 

of the changes (i.e., the cost of newly required liver function 

screening) are expected to benefit patients based on the 

rationales provided or explained by the board. The cost of liver 

screening does not appear to outweigh the benefits to patients. 

Similarly, the new administrative requirements to prescribers 

do not appear to outweigh the benefits to them from many other 

changes. Thus, an adverse impact on patients or prescribers is 

not indicated. 

However, the proposed changes would replace a reference to 

naloxone by name and would instead use generic "FDA-

approved opioid reversal agents." This change would expose 

the maker of naloxone to competition from new and upcoming 

substitute drugs. Thus, an adverse impact on the incumbent 

maker of naloxone is indicated. 

Small Businesses6 Affected.7 The proposed changes do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 
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Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments neither 

introduce costs for localities nor disproportionately affect 

them. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to directly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. As 

mentioned, one of the proposed amendments would eliminate 

language protecting the maker of naloxone from competition 

when and if other substitute drugs are approved by the FDA. 

Thus, the asset value of that incumbent company may be 

negatively affected when that occurs. No other significant 

effect on the use and value of private property nor on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8216. 

3 https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/rr/rr7103a1.htm. 

4 https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/1332/virginia-medicaid-providers-

cannot-charge-cash-to-medicaid-enrolled-members-for-covered-substance-

use-disorder-treatment.pdf. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

7 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

8 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

9 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments reflect changes in medical research and 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidelines 

surrounding opioid and buprenorphine prescribing, 

including (i) replacing "naloxone" with "other federal 

Food and Drug Administration-approved opioid reversal 

agents"; (ii) replacing "addiction" with "opioid use 

disorder"; (iii) updating prescribing guidelines based on 

patient population or type of pain treated; (iv) clarifying 

tapering; (v) adding subacute pain as a pain management 

category along with acute and chronic; (vi) removing 

references to the "SAMHSA waiver" to prescribe 

buprenorphine, as that is no longer issued by the federal 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 

Administration or required for buprenorphine 

prescribing; (vii) clarifying use of telemedicine for 

prescription of opioids; and (viii) increasing the 

recommended quantity for initial prescription of opioids. 

18VAC85-21-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acute pain" means pain that occurs within the normal course 

of a disease or condition or as the result of surgery for which 

controlled substances may be prescribed for no more than three 

months of any origin that has existed less than one month. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Medicine. 

"Chronic pain" means nonmalignant pain that goes beyond 

the normal course of a disease or condition for which 

controlled substances may be prescribed for a period greater 

than three months. 

"Controlled substance" means drugs listed in The Drug 

Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) in 

Schedules II through IV. 

"DMAS" means the Virginia Department of Medical 

Assistance Services. 

"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 

"Induction phase" means the initial seven to 14 days of 

treatment with buprenorphine. 

"MME" means morphine milligram equivalent. 

"Prescription Monitoring Program" means the electronic 

system within the Department of Health Professions that 

monitors the dispensing of certain controlled substances. 

"SAMHSA" means the federal Substance Abuse and Mental 

Health Services Administration. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8216
https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/rr/rr7103a1.htm
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/1332/virginia-medicaid-providers-cannot-charge-cash-to-medicaid-enrolled-members-for-covered-substance-use-disorder-treatment.pdf
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/1332/virginia-medicaid-providers-cannot-charge-cash-to-medicaid-enrolled-members-for-covered-substance-use-disorder-treatment.pdf
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/1332/virginia-medicaid-providers-cannot-charge-cash-to-medicaid-enrolled-members-for-covered-substance-use-disorder-treatment.pdf
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"Subacute pain" means pain that has existed for one to three 

months. 

18VAC85-21-21. Electronic prescribing. 

A. Beginning July 1, 2020, a A prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid shall be issued as an 

electronic prescription consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia, unless the prescription qualifies for an 

exemption as set forth in subsection C of § 54.1-3408.02. 

B. Upon written request, the board may grant a one-time 

waiver of the requirement of subsection A of this section for a 

period not to exceed one year due to demonstrated economic 

hardship, technological limitations that are not reasonably 

within the control of the prescriber, or other exceptional 

circumstances demonstrated by the prescriber. 

18VAC85-21-23. Prohibition on payment from DMAS 

members.  

A. No practitioner shall request payment from a DMAS 

member for services involving the prescription of an opioid for 

pain management of opioid use disorder. The prohibition on 

payment shall not apply to the member's cost-sharing amounts 

set by DMAS. 

B. All practitioners shall provide written notice to DMAS 

members that the services described in subsection A of this 

section will be covered by DMAS if medical necessity criteria 

are met. 

Part II 

Management of Acute Pain and Subacute Pain 

18VAC85-21-30. Evaluation of the acute pain or subacute 

pain patient. 

A. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain shall 

be given consideration prior to treatment with opioids. If an 

opioid is considered necessary for the treatment of acute pain 

or subacute pain, the practitioner shall give a short-acting 

opioid in the lowest effective dose for the fewest possible days. 

B. Prior to initiating treatment with a controlled substance 

containing an opioid for a complaint of acute pain or subacute 

pain, the prescriber shall perform a history and physical 

examination appropriate to the complaint, query the 

Prescription Monitoring Program as set forth in § 54.1-2522.1 

of the Code of Virginia, and conduct an assessment of the 

patient's history and risk of substance misuse. 

18VAC85-21-40. Treatment of acute pain and subacute 

pain with opioids. 

A. Initiation of opioid treatment for patients with acute pain 

and subacute pain shall be with short-acting opioids.  

1. A prescriber providing treatment for acute or subacute 

pain shall not prescribe a controlled substance containing an 

opioid in a quantity that exceeds a seven-day 14-day supply 

as determined by the manufacturer's directions for use, 

unless extenuating circumstances are clearly documented in 

the medical record. This shall also apply to prescriptions of 

a controlled substance containing an opioid upon discharge 

from an emergency department.  

2. An opioid prescribed as part of treatment for a surgical 

procedure shall be for no more than 14 consecutive days in 

accordance with manufacturer's direction and within the 

immediate perioperative period, unless extenuating 

circumstances are clearly documented in the medical record. 

B. Initiation of opioid treatment for all patients shall include 

the following: 

1. The practitioner shall carefully consider and document in 

the medical record the reasons to exceed 50 MME/day. 

2. Prior to exceeding 120 MME/day, the practitioner shall 

document in the medical record the reasonable justification 

for such doses or refer to or consult with a pain management 

specialist. 

3. Naloxone An FDA-approved opioid reversal agent shall 

be prescribed for any patient when risk factors of prior 

overdose, substance misuse, doses in excess of 120 

MME/day, or concomitant benzodiazepine are present. 

C. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when opioids are 

prescribed with benzodiazepines, sedative hypnotics, 

carisoprodol, and tramadol (an atypical opioid), the prescriber 

shall only co-prescribe these substances when there are 

extenuating circumstances and shall document in the medical 

record a tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible effective 

doses if these medications are prescribed. 

D. Buprenorphine is not indicated for acute pain in the 

outpatient setting, except when a prescriber who has obtained 

a SAMHSA waiver is treating pain in a patient whose primary 

diagnosis is the disease of addiction. 

18VAC85-21-60. Evaluation of the chronic pain patient. 

A. Prior to initiating management or continuing management 

of chronic pain with a controlled substance containing an 

opioid, a medical history and physical examination, to include 

a mental status examination, shall be performed and 

documented in the medical record, including: 

1. The nature and intensity of the pain; 

2. Current and past treatments for pain; 

3. Underlying or coexisting diseases or conditions; 

4. The effect of the pain on physical and psychological 

function, quality of life, and activities of daily living; 

5. Psychiatric, addiction, and substance use disorder or 

misuse history of the patient and any family history of 

addiction or substance use disorder or misuse; 

6. A urine drug screen or serum medication level; 
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7. A query of the Prescription Monitoring Program as set 

forth in § 54.1-2522.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

8. An assessment of the patient's history and risk of 

substance misuse; and 

9. A request for prior applicable records. 

B. Prior to initiating opioid treatment for chronic pain, the 

practitioner shall discuss with the patient the known risks and 

benefits of opioid therapy and the responsibilities of the patient 

during treatment to include securely storing the drug and 

properly disposing of any unwanted or unused drugs. The 

practitioner shall also discuss with the patient an exit strategy 

for the discontinuation of opioids in the event they are not 

effective. 

18VAC85-21-70. Treatment of chronic pain with opioids. 

A. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain shall 

be given consideration prior to treatment with opioids. 

B. In initiating and treating with an opioid, the practitioner 

shall: 

1. Carefully consider and document in the medical record the 

reasons to exceed 50 MME per day; 

2. Prior to exceeding 120 MME per day, the practitioner 

shall document in the medical record the reasonable 

justification for such doses or refer to or consult with a pain 

management specialist; 

3. Prescribe naloxone an FDA-approved opioid reversal 

agent for any patient when risk factors of prior overdose, 

substance misuse, doses in excess of 120 MME per day, or 

concomitant benzodiazepine are present; and 

4. Document the rationale to continue opioid therapy every 

three months. 

C. Buprenorphine mono-product in tablet form shall not be 

prescribed for chronic pain. 

D. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when opioids, 

including buprenorphine, are given with other opioids, 

benzodiazepines, sedative hypnotics, carisoprodol, and 

tramadol (an atypical opioid), the prescriber shall only co-

prescribe these substances when there are extenuating 

circumstances and shall document in the medical record a 

tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible effective doses of 

these medications if prescribed. 

E. The practitioner (i) shall regularly evaluate the patient for 

opioid use disorder and (ii) shall initiate specific treatment for 

opioid use disorder, consult with an appropriate health care 

provider, or refer the patient for evaluation and treatment if 

indicated. 

18VAC85-21-80. Treatment plan for chronic pain. 

A. The medical record shall include a treatment plan that 

states measures to be used to determine progress in treatment, 

including pain relief and improved physical and psychosocial 

function, quality of life, and daily activities. 

B. The treatment plan shall include further diagnostic 

evaluations and other treatment modalities or rehabilitation 

that may be necessary depending on the etiology of the pain 

and the extent to which the pain is associated with physical and 

psychosocial impairment. 

C. The prescriber shall document in the medical record the 

presence or absence of any indicators for medication misuse or 

diversion and shall take appropriate action. 

18VAC85-21-100. Opioid therapy for chronic pain. 

A. The practitioner shall review the course of pain treatment 

and any new information about the etiology of the pain and the 

patient's state of health at least every three months. 

B. Continuation of treatment with opioids shall be supported 

by documentation of continued benefit from such prescribing. 

If the patient's progress is unsatisfactory, the practitioner shall 

assess the appropriateness of continued use of the current 

treatment plan and consider the use of other therapeutic 

modalities. 

C. If the treatment plan includes opioid tapering, the taper rate 

shall be individualized based on the patient's clinical situation. 

A practitioner should not abruptly stop opioid treatment 

without tapering unless the prescriber documents extenuating 

circumstances. 

D. The practitioner shall check the Prescription Monitoring 

Program at least every three months after the initiation of 

treatment. 

D. E. The practitioner shall order and review a urine drug 

screen or serum medication levels at the initiation of chronic 

pain management and thereafter randomly at the discretion of 

the practitioner but at least once a year. 

E. F. The practitioner (i) shall (i) regularly evaluate the patient 

for opioid use disorder and (ii) shall initiate specific treatment 

for opioid use disorder, consult with an appropriate health care 

provider, or refer the patient for evaluation for treatment if 

indicated. 

Part IV 

Prescribing of Buprenorphine for Addiction Treatment 

Opioid Use Disorder 

18VAC85-21-130. General provisions pertaining to 

prescribing of buprenorphine for addiction treatment 

opioid use disorder. 

A. Practitioners engaged in office-based opioid addiction 

treatment with buprenorphine shall have obtained a SAMHSA 

waiver and the appropriate U.S. Drug Enforcement 

Administration registration. 
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B. A. Practitioners shall abide by all federal and state laws 

and regulations governing the prescribing of buprenorphine for 

the treatment of opioid use disorder. 

C. B. Physician assistants and nurse practitioners who have 

obtained a SAMHSA waiver shall only prescribe 

buprenorphine for opioid addiction use disorder pursuant to a 

practice agreement with a waivered patient care team doctor of 

medicine or doctor of osteopathic medicine. 

D. C. Practitioners engaged in medication-assisted treatment 

shall either provide counseling in their practice or refer the 

patient to a mental health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-

2400.1 of the Code of Virginia, who has the education and 

experience to provide substance misuse counseling. The 

practitioner shall document provision of counseling or referral 

in the medical record. 

18VAC85-21-140. Patient assessment and treatment 

planning for addiction treatment opioid use disorder. 

A. A practitioner shall perform and document an assessment 

that includes a comprehensive medical and psychiatric history, 

substance misuse history, family history and psychosocial 

supports, appropriate physical examination, urine drug screen, 

pregnancy test for women of childbearing age and ability, a 

check of the Prescription Monitoring Program, and, when 

clinically indicated, infectious disease testing for human 

immunodeficiency virus, hepatitis B, hepatitis C, and 

tuberculosis, and liver function tests. 

B. The treatment plan shall include the practitioner's rationale 

for selecting medication-assisted treatment medications for 

opioid use disorder, patient education, written informed 

consent, how counseling will be accomplished referral for 

counseling, and a signed treatment agreement that outlines the 

responsibilities of the patient and the prescriber. 

18VAC85-21-150. Treatment with buprenorphine for 

addiction opioid use disorder. 

A. Buprenorphine without naloxone (buprenorphine mono-

product) shall not be prescribed except: 

1. When a patient is pregnant; 

2. When converting a patient from methadone or 

buprenorphine mono-product to buprenorphine containing 

naloxone for a period not to exceed seven days; 

3. In formulations other than tablet form for indications 

approved by the FDA; or 

4. For patients who have a demonstrated intolerance to 

naloxone; such prescriptions for the mono-product shall not 

exceed 3.0% of the total prescriptions for buprenorphine 

written by the prescriber, and the exception shall be clearly 

documented in the patient's medical record. 

B. Buprenorphine mono-product tablets may be administered 

directly to patients in federally licensed opioid treatment 

programs. With the exception of those conditions listed in 

subsection A of this section, only the buprenorphine product 

containing naloxone shall be prescribed or dispensed for use 

off site from the program. 

C. The evidence for the decision to use buprenorphine mono-

product shall be fully documented in the medical record. 

D. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when buprenorphine 

is prescribed with other opioids, benzodiazepines, sedative 

hypnotics, carisoprodol, and tramadol (an atypical opioid), the 

prescriber shall only co-prescribe these substances when there 

are extenuating circumstances and shall document in the 

medical record a tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible 

effective doses if these medications are prescribed. 

E. Prior to starting medication-assisted treatment medications 

for opioid use disorder, the practitioner shall perform a check 

of the Prescription Monitoring Program. 

F. During the induction phase, except for medically indicated 

circumstances as documented in the medical record, patients 

should be started on no more than eight milligrams of 

buprenorphine per day dosage shall be based on the patient's 

history and current usage, including exposure to high-potency 

opioids. The patient shall be seen evaluated by the prescriber 

at least once a week. 

G. During the stabilization phase, the prescriber shall increase 

the daily dosage of buprenorphine in safe and effective 

increments to achieve the lowest dose that avoids intoxication, 

withdrawal, or significant drug craving. 

H. Practitioners shall take steps to reduce the chances of 

buprenorphine diversion and misuse by using the lowest 

effective dose, appropriate frequency of office visits, pill 

counts, and checks of the Prescription Monitoring Program. 

The practitioner shall also require urine drug screens or serum 

medication levels at least every three months for the first year 

of treatment and at least every six months thereafter. 

I. Documentation of the rationale for prescribed doses 

exceeding 16 24 milligrams of buprenorphine per day shall be 

placed in the medical record. Dosages exceeding 24 milligrams 

of buprenorphine per day shall not be prescribed. 

J. The practitioner shall incorporate relapse prevention 

strategies into counseling or assure that they are addressed by 

document referral to a mental health service provider, as 

defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of Virginia, who has the 

education and experience to provide substance misuse 

counseling. 

18VAC85-21-160. Special populations in addiction 

treatment for opioid use disorder. 

A. Pregnant women may be treated with the buprenorphine 

mono-product, usually 16 milligrams per day or less. 
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B. A. Patients younger than the age of 16 years of age shall 

not be prescribed buprenorphine for addiction treatment unless 

such treatment is approved by the FDA. 

C. B. The progress of patients with chronic pain shall be 

assessed by reduction of pain and functional objectives that can 

be identified, quantified, and independently verified. 

D. C. Practitioners shall (i) evaluate patients with medical 

comorbidities by history, physical exam, and appropriate 

laboratory studies and (ii) be aware of interactions of 

buprenorphine with other prescribed medications. 

E. Practitioners shall not undertake buprenorphine treatment 

with a patient who has psychiatric comorbidities and is not 

stable. A patient who is determined by the prescriber to be 

psychiatrically unstable shall be referred for psychiatric 

evaluation and treatment prior to initiating medication-assisted 

treatment. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7609; Filed October 18, 2024, 8:34 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-140. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Polysomnographic Technologists 

(amending 18VAC85-140-10, 18VAC85-140-40, 18VAC85-

140-140, 18VAC85-140-150; repealing 18VAC85-140-20, 

18VAC85-140-110, 18VAC85-140-170). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.15 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 750-3912, FAX (804) 915-0382, 

or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the board are promulgated under the 

general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

specifically states that the general powers and duties of health 

regulatory boards shall be to promulgate regulations. 

Purpose: The elimination of redundant provisions and 

reduction of barriers to licensure generally protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens by ensuring a sufficient 

workforce of licensed polysomnographic technologists with a 

reduction of barriers and reduction of redundant or outdated 

requirements. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: These 

amendments are noncontroversial and appropriate for fast-

track rulemaking because the changes delete or modify 

provisions that, as currently effective, are redundant of 

statutory requirements, are not related to the practice of 

polysomnographic technology, are outdated, or are otherwise 

ineffectual. 

Substance: The changes delete redundant statutory provisions 

or useless directions in regulation, including provisions related 

to public participation regulations; restatements of statutory 

scope of practice; provisions related to handling of patient 

records that were intended to cover physicians; provisions 

related to the sale, closure, or transfer of a practice that are 

redundant of statutory provisions; revisions related to 

communications to patients; and solicitation or remuneration 

in exchange for referral. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. There are no primary advantages or disadvantages 

to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a 2022 periodic review2 and in response to Executive 

Order 19 (2022)3 (EO 19), the Board of Medicine (board) is 

proposing editorial updates to this regulation governing 

polysomnographic technologists.4 

Background. As a result of a 2022 periodic review and in order 

to reduce regulatory requirements as directed by EO 19, the 

board proposes to revise or delete language that duplicates 

statutory requirements, is not related to the practice of 

polysomnographic technology, is outdated, or is otherwise 

ineffectual. The affected regulatory language pertains to a 

reference to a public participation regulation; restatements of 

statutory scope of practice; provisions related to handling of 

patient records that were intended to cover physicians; 

provisions related to the sale, closure, or transfer of a practice 

that are redundant of statutory provisions; provisions related to 

communications to patients; and language regarding 

solicitation or remuneration in exchange for referral. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The Department of Health 

Professions states, and it so appears, that the proposed changes 

to this regulation are editorial in nature and would not affect 

the practice of polysomnographic technology. For example, 

removing duplicative or redundant references, such as to the 

public participation regulation or provisions in the Code of 

Virginia that deal with the sale, closure, or transfer of a 

practice, would not make that regulation or the Code of 

Virginia any less enforceable or applicable. However, to the 

extent that polysomnographic technologists and other 

members of the public relied upon these regulatory provisions 

to better understand the requirements that pertain to this 

profession, some lack of clarity may result. Otherwise, no 

mailto:@erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
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significant economic impact is expected to result from the 

proposed changes. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As of March 2023, 

there were 497 individuals licensed as polysomnographic 

technologists. None of the licensed professionals would be 

disproportionately affected. The Code of Virginia requires 

DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result from the 

proposed regulation.5 An adverse impact is indicated if there is 

any increase in net cost or reduction in net revenue for any 

entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. As noted, the proposed changes are editorial in 

nature and do not alter rights or obligations of 

polysomnographic technologists. Thus, no adverse impact is 

indicated. 

Small Businesses6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments apply 

throughout the Commonwealth and do not introduce costs for 

local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effect on 

the use and value of private property or the real estate 

development costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2155. 

3 https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-

Agency-Regulations.pdf. 

4 Polysomnographic technology means the process of analyzing, scoring, 

attended monitoring, and recording of physiologic data during sleep and 

wakefulness to assist in the clinical assessment and diagnosis of sleep/wake 

disorders and other disorders, syndromes, and dysfunctions that either are 

sleep related, manifest during sleep, or disrupt normal sleep/wake cycles and 

activities. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

7 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

8 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

9 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Executive Directive One (2022) and Executive 

Order 19 (2022), the amendments delete redundant statutory 

provisions or useless directions, including provisions related to 

(i) public participation regulations; (ii) restatements of 

statutory scope of practice and provisions related to handling 

of patient records that were intended to cover physicians; (iii) 

provisions related to the sale, closure, or transfer of a practice 

that are redundant of statutory provisions; (iv) provisions 

related to communications to patients; and (v) solicitation or 

remuneration in exchange for referral. 

18VAC85-140-10. Definitions. 

A. The following word and or term when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to it in § 54.1-2900 of the Code 

of Virginia: 

"Board" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2957.15 of 

the Code of Virginia: 

"Polysomnographic technology" 

"Practice of polysomnographic technology" 

C. The following words and terms term when used in this 

chapter shall have the following meanings meaning, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 

professional practice as a polysomnographic technologist 

within the 24-month period immediately preceding application 

for reinstatement or reactivation of licensure. The active 

practice of polysomnographic technology may include 

supervisory, administrative, educational, or consultative 

activities or responsibilities for the delivery of such services. 

"Advisory board" means the Advisory Board on 

Polysomnographic Technology to the Board of Medicine as 

specified in § 54.1-2957.14 of the Code of Virginia. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2155
https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-Agency-Regulations.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-Agency-Regulations.pdf
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18VAC85-140-20. Public participation. (Repealed.) 

A separate board regulation, 18VAC85-11, provides for 

involvement of the public in the development of all regulations 

of the Virginia Board of Medicine. 

18VAC85-140-40. Fees. 

The following fees are required: 

1. The application fee, payable at the time the application is 

filed, shall be $130. 

2. The biennial fee for renewal of active licensure shall be 

$135 and for renewal of inactive licensure shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the license holder's 

birth month. For 2021, the renewal fee for an active license 

shall be $108, and the renewal fee for an inactive license 

shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within one 

renewal cycle shall be $50. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for a 

period of two years or more shall be $180 and must be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

6. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

7. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $50. 

8. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

18VAC85-140-110. General responsibility. (Repealed.) 

A polysomnographic technologist shall engage in the practice 

of polysomnographic technology, as defined in § 54.1-2957.15 

of the Code of Virginia, upon receipt of written or verbal orders 

from a qualified practitioner and under qualified medical 

direction. The practice of polysomnographic technology may 

include supervisory, administrative, educational, or 

consultative activities or responsibilities for the delivery of 

such services.  

18VAC85-140-140. Patient records. 

A. A practitioner shall comply with the provisions of § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality 

and disclosure of patient records. 

B. A practitioner shall provide patient records to another 

practitioner or to the patient or his the patient's personal 

representative in a timely manner in accordance with 

provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. A practitioner shall properly manage and keep timely, 

accurate, legible, and complete patient records. 

D. A practitioner who is employed by a health care institution 

or other entity in which the individual practitioner does not 

own or maintain his own records shall maintain patient records 

in accordance with the policies and procedures of the 

employing entity. 

E. A practitioner who is self-employed or employed by an 

entity in which the individual practitioner owns and is 

responsible for patient records shall: 

1. Maintain a patient record for a minimum of six years 

following the last patient encounter with the following 

exceptions: 

a. Records of a minor child, including immunizations, 

shall be maintained until the child reaches the age of 18 

years of age or becomes emancipated, with a minimum 

time for record retention of six years from the last patient 

encounter regardless of the age of the child; 

b. Records that have previously been transferred to 

another practitioner or health care provider or provided to 

the patient or his the patient's personal representative; or 

c. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law may need to be maintained for a longer period 

of time. 

2. Post information or in some manner inform all patients 

concerning the time frame for record retention and 

destruction. Patient records shall only be destroyed in a 

manner that protects patient confidentiality, such as by 

incineration or shredding. 

3. When closing, selling, or relocating his practice, meet the 

requirements of § 54.1-2405 of the Code of Virginia for 

giving notice that copies of records can be sent to any like-

regulated provider of the patient's choice or provided to the 

patient. 

18VAC85-140-150. Practitioner-patient communication; 

termination of relationship. 

A. Communication with patients. 

1. Except as provided in § 32.1-127.1:03 F of the Code of 

Virginia, a practitioner shall accurately present information to 

a patient or his a patient's legally authorized representative in 

understandable terms and encourage participation in decisions 

regarding the patient's care. 

2. A practitioner shall not deliberately make a false or 

misleading statement regarding the practitioner's skill or the 

efficacy or value of a medication, treatment, or procedure 

provided or directed by the practitioner in the treatment of 

any disease or condition. 

3. Before an invasive procedure is performed, informed 

consent shall be obtained from the patient in accordance with 

the policies of the health care entity. Practitioners shall 

inform patients of the risks, benefits, and alternatives of the 

recommended procedure that a reasonably prudent 
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practitioner practicing polysomnographic technology in 

Virginia would tell a patient. 

a. In the instance of a minor or a patient who is incapable 

of making an informed decision on his own behalf or is 

incapable of communicating such a decision due to a 

physical or mental disorder, the legally authorized person 

available to give consent shall be informed and the consent 

documented. 

b. An exception to the requirement for consent prior to 

performance of an invasive procedure may be made in an 

emergency situation when a delay in obtaining consent 

would likely result in imminent harm to the patient. 

c. For the purposes of this provision, "invasive procedure" 

means any diagnostic or therapeutic procedure performed 

on a patient that is not part of routine, general care and for 

which the usual practice within the health care entity is to 

document specific informed consent from the patient or 

surrogate decision maker prior to proceeding. 

4. Practitioners shall adhere to requirements of § 32.1-

162.18 of the Code of Virginia for obtaining informed 

consent from patients prior to involving them as subjects in 

human research with the exception of retrospective chart 

reviews. 

B. Termination of the practitioner-patient relationship. 

1. The practitioner or the patient may terminate the 

relationship. In either case, the practitioner shall make the 

patient record available, except in situations where denial of 

access is allowed by law. 

2. A practitioner shall not terminate the relationship or make 

his services unavailable without documented notice to the 

patient that allows for a reasonable time to obtain the 

services of another practitioner. 

18VAC85-140-170. Solicitation or remuneration in 

exchange for referral. (Repealed.) 

A practitioner shall not knowingly and willfully solicit or 

receive any remuneration, directly or indirectly, in return for 

referring an individual to a facility or institution as defined in 

§ 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia or hospital as defined in § 

32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Remuneration" means compensation, received in cash or in 

kind, but shall not include any payments, business 

arrangements, or payment practices allowed by 42 USC § 1320 

a-7b(b), as amended, or any regulations promulgated thereto. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7386; Filed October 18, 2024, 8:03 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-160. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Surgical Assistants and Certification of 

Surgical Technologists (amending 18VAC85-160-40, 

18VAC85-160-60; adding 18VAC85-160-65 through 

18VAC85-160-130). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 750-3912, FAX (804) 915-0382, 

or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add definitions; (ii) conform fees for 

licensure to other professions under the board; (iii) add 

requirements for continuing competency for surgical 

assistants licensed under a grandfathering provision; (iv) 

provide for an inactive license and for reactivation or 

reinstatement of a license; (v) provide for a restricted 

volunteer license or voluntary practice by out-of-state 

practitioners; and (vi) provide for renewal of certification 

of surgical technologists, including requirements for 

continuing education. Finally, the standards of practice 

are similar to those for other licensed professions under 

its jurisdiction and a code of ethics specific to surgical 

assistants. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC85-160-40. Fees. 

A. The following fees have been established by the board: 

1. The fee for licensure as a surgical assistant shall be $130 

[ or and the fee for ] certification as a surgical technologist 

shall be $75. 

2. The fee for renewal of licensure or certification as a 

surgical assistant shall be $70 $135 and for certification as a 

surgical technologist, it shall be $70. Renewals shall be due 

in the birth month of the licensee or certificate holder in each 

even-numbered year. For 2020, the renewal fee shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $25 $50 for a 

surgical assistant and $25 for a surgical technologist. 

4. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $50. 

5. The fees for inactive license renewal shall be $70 for a 

surgical assistant and $35 for inactive certification renewal 

for a surgical technologist.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of a surgical assistant license 

that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be $180; for 

a surgical technologist certification, it shall be $90. 

7. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction for a license shall be $10. 

mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
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8. The fee for reinstatement of licensure as a surgical 

assistant pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia 

shall be $2,000. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

are not refundable. 

Part II 

Requirements for Licensure or Certification 

18VAC85-160-60. Renewal of licensure for a surgical 

assistant. 

A. A surgical assistant who was licensed based on a credential 

as a surgical assistant or surgical first assistant issued by the 

National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting 

or the National Commission for the Certification of Surgical 

Assistants or their successors shall attest that the credential is 

current at the time of renewal. 

B. A surgical assistant who was licensed based on successful 

completion of a surgical assistant training program during the 

person's service as a member of any branch of the armed forces 

of the United States or based on practice as a surgical assistant 

in the Commonwealth at any time in the six months 

immediately prior to July 1, 2020, shall attest to completion of 

38 hours of continuing education recognized by the National 

Surgical Assistant Association at the time of biennial renewal. 

18VAC85-160-65. Renewal of certification for a surgical 

technologist.  

A. A surgical technologist who was certified based on 

certification as a certified surgical technologist from the 

National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting 

or its successor shall attest that the credential is current at the 

time of renewal. 

B. A surgical technologist who was certified based on 

successful completion of a training program for surgical 

technology during the person's service as a member of any 

branch of the armed forces of the United States, or based on 

practice as a surgical technologist at any time in the six months 

prior to July 1, 2021, shall attest to completion of 30 hours of 

continuing education recognized by the Association of 

Surgical Technologists at the time of biennial renewal. 

18VAC85-160-70. Reinstatement or reactivation of 

surgical assistant licensure.  

A. A licensed surgical assistant who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a request on the 

renewal application and submission of the required fee, be 

issued an inactive license. The holder of an inactive license 

shall not be required to maintain hours of active practice or 

meet the continued competency requirements of 18VAC85-

160-60 and shall not be entitled to perform any act requiring a 

license to practice surgical assisting in Virginia. 

B. An inactive licensee may reactivate his license upon 

submission of the following: 

1. An application as required by the board; 

2. A payment of the difference between the current renewal 

fee for inactive licensure and the renewal fee for active 

licensure; and 

3. Documentation of completed continued competency 

hours as required by 18VAC85-160-60. 

C. A surgical assistant who allows his license to lapse for a 

period of two years or more and chooses to resume his practice 

shall submit a reinstatement application to the board and 

information on any practice and licensure or certification in 

other jurisdictions during the period in which the license was 

lapsed and shall pay the fee for reinstatement of licensure as 

prescribed in 18VAC85-160-40. 

D. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 

reactivation or reinstatement to any licensee who has been 

determined to have committed an act in violation of § 54.1-

2915 of the Code of Virginia or any provisions of this chapter. 

E. A surgical assistant whose license has been revoked by the 

board and who wishes to be reinstated shall make a new 

application to the board and payment of the fee for 

reinstatement of his license as prescribed in 18VAC85-160-40 

pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Part III 

Standards of Conduct 

18VAC85-160-80. Confidentiality.  

A practitioner shall not willfully or negligently breach the 

confidentiality between a practitioner and a patient. A breach 

of confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful. 

18VAC85-160-90. Patient records.  

A. Practitioners shall comply with the provisions of § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality 

and disclosure of patient records. 

B. Practitioners shall provide patient records to another 

practitioner or to the patient or the patient's personal 

representative in a timely manner and in accordance with 

provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Practitioners shall properly manage and keep timely, 

accurate, legible, and complete patient records. 

D. Practitioners who are employed by a health care institution 

or other entity in which the individual practitioner does not 

own or maintain the practitioner's own records shall maintain 

patient records in accordance with the policies and procedures 

of the employing entity. 

E. Practitioners who are self-employed or employed by an 

entity in which the individual practitioner does own and is 

responsible for patient records shall: 
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1. Maintain a patient record for a minimum of six years 

following the last patient encounter with the following 

exceptions: 

a. Records of a minor child shall be maintained until the 

child reaches the age of 18 [ years ] or becomes 

emancipated, with a minimum time for record retention of 

six years from the last patient encounter regardless of the 

age of the child; 

b. Records that have previously been transferred to 

another practitioner or health care provider or provided to 

the patient or the patient's personal representative; or 

c. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law may need to be maintained for a longer period 

of time. 

2. Post information or in some manner inform all patients 

concerning the timeframe for record retention and 

destruction. Patient records shall only be destroyed in a 

manner that protects patient confidentiality, such as by 

incineration or shredding. 

F. When a practitioner is closing, selling, or relocating his 

practice, the practitioner shall meet the requirements of § 54.1-

2405 of the Code of Virginia for giving notice that copies of 

records can be sent to any like-regulated provider of the 

patient's choice or provided to the patient. 

18VAC85-160-100. Communication with patients; 

termination of relationship.  

A. Communication with patients. 

1. Except as provided in § 32.1-127.1:03 F of the Code of 

Virginia, a practitioner shall accurately present information 

to a patient or the patient's legally authorized representative 

in understandable terms and encourage participation in 

decisions regarding the patient's care. 

2. A practitioner shall not deliberately make a false or 

misleading statement regarding the practitioner's skill or the 

efficacy or value of a treatment or procedure provided or 

directed by the practitioner in the treatment of any disease or 

condition. 

3. Practitioners shall adhere to requirements of § 32.1-

162.18 of the Code of Virginia for obtaining informed 

consent from patients prior to involving them as subjects in 

human research with the exception of retrospective chart 

reviews. 

B. Termination of the [ practitioner/patient practitioner-

patient ] relationship. 

1. The practitioner or the patient may terminate the 

relationship. In either case, the practitioner shall make the 

patient record available, except in situations where denial of 

access is allowed by law. 

2. A practitioner shall not terminate the relationship or make 

the practitioner's services unavailable without documented 

notice to the patient that allows for a reasonable time to 

obtain the services of another practitioner. 

18VAC85-160-110. Practitioner responsibility.  

A. A practitioner shall not: 

1. Perform procedures or techniques that are outside the 

scope of his practice or for which the practitioner is not 

trained and individually competent; 

2. Knowingly allow subordinates to jeopardize patient safety 

or provide patient care outside of the subordinate's scope of 

practice or the subordinate's area of responsibility. 

Practitioners shall delegate patient care only to subordinates 

who are properly trained and supervised; 

3. Engage in an egregious pattern of disruptive behavior or 

interaction in a health care setting that interferes with patient 

care or could reasonably be expected to adversely impact the 

quality of care rendered to a patient; or 

4. Exploit the practitioner-patient relationship for personal 

gain. 

B. Advocating for patient safety or improvement in patient 

care within a health care entity shall not constitute disruptive 

behavior provided the practitioner does not engage in behavior 

prohibited in subdivision A 3 of this section. 

18VAC85-160-120. Sexual contact.  

A. For purposes of § 54.1-2915 A 12 and A 19 of the Code of 

Virginia and this section, sexual contact includes sexual 

behavior or verbal or physical behavior that: 

1. May reasonably be interpreted as intended for the sexual 

arousal or gratification of the practitioner, the patient, or 

both; or 

2. May reasonably be interpreted as romantic involvement 

with a patient regardless of whether such involvement 

occurs in the professional setting or outside of it. 

B. Sexual contact with a patient. 

1. The determination of when a person is a patient for 

purposes of § 54.1-2915 A 19 of the Code of Virginia is 

made on a case-by-case basis with consideration given to the 

nature, extent, and context of the professional relationship 

between the practitioner and the person. The fact that a 

person is not actively receiving treatment or professional 

services from a practitioner is not determinative of this issue. 

A person is presumed to remain a patient until the [ patient-

practioner practitioner-patient ] relationship is terminated. 

2. The consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual 

behavior or involvement with a practitioner by a patient does 

not change the nature of the conduct nor negate the statutory 

prohibition. 

C. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a former patient 

after termination of the practitioner-patient relationship may 
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still constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a 

result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence of 

emotions derived from the professional relationship. 

D. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a key third party 

shall constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a 

result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence derived 

from the professional relationship or if the contact has had or is 

likely to have an adverse effect on patient care. For purposes of 

this section, key third party of a patient means spouse or partner, 

parent or child, guardian, or legal representative of the patient. 

E. Sexual contact between a supervisor and a trainee shall 

constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a result 

of the exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence derived from 

the professional relationship or if the contact has had or is likely 

to have an adverse effect on patient care. 

18VAC85-160-130. Refusal to provide information.  

A practitioner shall not willfully refuse to provide information or 

records as requested or required by the board or its representative 

pursuant to an investigation or to the enforcement of a statute or 

regulation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6696; Filed October 18, 2024, 8:35 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-160. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Surgical Assistants and Certification of 

Surgical Technologists (adding 18VAC85-160-75). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 750-3912, FAX (804) 915-0382, 

or email erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the board are promulgated under the 

general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

specifically states that the general powers and duties of health 

regulatory boards shall be to promulgate regulations. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to ease the burden on 

surgical technologists applying for reinstatement as a certified 

surgical technologist and to allow surgical technologists to 

elect inactive status, similar to licensed surgical assistants. 

Doing so protects the public health, safety, and welfare by 

ensuring surgical technologists have a method by which to 

reinstate a certification. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is appropriate for a fast-track rulemaking action because 

it is noncontroversial. There is unlikely to be any opposition to 

the inclusion of a standard pathway for reinstatement of 

surgical technologists. 

Substance: The amendments add 18VAC85-160-75, which 

allows a surgical technologist to request inactive status at 

renewal. The new section establishes the procedure and 

requirements for a surgical technologist requesting 

reinstatement from inactive status or from disciplinary action 

that resulted in suspension or revocation. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public are the ability for 

surgical technologists to request inactive status of certification 

and to have a defined path to reinstatement. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no primary advantages 

or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (board) proposes to add new text pertaining 

to surgical technologists (STs) regarding (i) issuance of an 

inactive certificate, (ii) reactivation of a certificate, (iii) 

reinstatement of a certificate that has lapsed for two years or 

more, and (iv) reinstatement of a certificate that has been 

revoked. 

Background. The current regulation does not include text on 

inactive certification, reactivating an inactive certificate, or 

reinstating lapsed or revoked certificates. The board proposes 

to add new text regarding these topics. 

Inactive Certificates. An active, unrestricted certificate holder 

may be issued an inactive certificate upon submission of the 

following: (i) a renewal application and (ii) the required fee. 

The proposed regulation would also note that the "holder of an 

inactive certificate shall not be entitled to perform any act 

requiring a certification to practice surgical technology in 

Virginia." 

Reactivating a Certificate. An inactive certificate holder may 

reactivate his certificate upon submission of the following: (i) 

an application as required by the board, (ii) a payment of the 

difference between the current renewal fee for inactive 

certification and the renewal fee for active certification, and 

(iii) documentation of completed continued competency hours 

as required by 18VAC85-160-65. 

Lapsed Certificates. The holder of a certificate that has lapsed 

for two years or more can reinstate their certificate upon 

submission of the following: (i) a reinstatement application, 

(ii) information on any practice and licensure or certification 

in other jurisdictions during the period in which the certificate 

was lapsed, and (iii) the required fee.2  

Revoked Certificates. For reinstating a certificate that has been 

revoked by the board, the proposal is that the ST shall (i) make 

a new application to the board and (ii) pay the fee for 

mailto:@erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 7  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 18, 2024  

898 

reinstatement of the certificate as prescribed in 18VAC85-160-

403 pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia.4 The 

proposal also includes a statement that the board reserves the 

right to deny a request for reactivation or reinstatement to any 

certificate holder who has been determined to have committed 

an act in violation of § 54.1-2915 of the Code of Virginia5 or 

any provisions of 18VAC85-160. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. 

Lapsed Certificates. According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), because the current regulation does not 

address lapsed certificates, an ST whose certificate has lapsed 

for two years or more and who wishes to resume practice must 

use the same process as an initial applicant. The application fee 

for initial certification is $75. Through a separate regulatory 

action, the board proposes to add a $90 reinstatement fee for a 

certificate that has lapsed for two years or more.6 In 

conjunction with this action, the result is that the fee to be paid 

would be $15 more than under the regulation currently in 

effect. On the other hand, according to DHP, the time to 

process a reinstatement of a lapsed certificate would be 

significantly faster than processing a new application. If this 

time savings would allow, as seems likely, an ST to return to 

practice sooner, that would very likely be worth more than $15 

to the applicant. According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor 

Statistics, the median hourly wage for STs in the 

Commonwealth is $23.15.  

Revoked Certificates. As mentioned, the current regulation 

does not address reinstating revoked certificates. Section 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia states in part that the board may 

consider an application for reinstatement upon the payment of 

a fee prescribed by the board.7 Further, that statute provides 

that the board shall conduct an investigation and review an 

application for reinstatement after revocation to determine 

whether there are causes for denial of the application. The 

burden of proof shall be on the applicant to show by clear and 

convincing evidence that the applicant is safe and competent 

to practice. Given the statutory directive to conduct an 

investigation, the cost for the board and DHP to address an 

application to reinstate a revoked certificate would likely be 

considerably more than the cost to reinstate a lapsed certificate. 

The current regulation does not state what fee the board would 

charge, but the separate regulatory action noted above would 

establish that fee as $2,000.8 The proposal to state the process 

for reinstating a revoked certificate in the regulation does not 

appear to change current practice, and thus the added clarity 

would be beneficial for readers of the regulation. 

Inactive Certificates. In both the current and proposed 

regulation, there is a late fee of $25 for paying for certification 

renewal as long as the fee is paid less than two years after it is 

due. For STs who plan to take a break from active practice for 

a period of two years to less than four years, the proposed 

inactive status may be beneficial because the total amount of 

fees paid would be less. The table below shows the total fees 

that would be paid for an ST who went into inactive status and 

applied for reactivation at different points in time, versus an ST 

who let their certificate lapse and applied for reinstatement at 

the same times. 
 

2 Years 2.5 

Years 

3 Years 3.5 

Years 

4 Years 

Reactivate $70 $70 $70 $70 $105 

Reinstate $90 $90 $90 $90 $90 

The ST who goes into inactive status pays $35 at the beginning, 

and the remainder when applying for reactivation. The ST who 

lets a certificate lapse pays nothing initially, and $90 when 

applying for reactivation. For those that discount future 

spending, it may be preferable to let the certificate lapse and 

pay nothing initially and then pay $90 in three years (for 

example), versus paying $35 initially and another $35 three 

years later. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect surgical technologists. According to DHP, 

surgical technologists typically practice in large hospital 

systems. As of June 1, 2022, there were 1,186 surgical 

technologists registered with the Commonwealth. The Code of 

Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact 

may result from the proposed regulation.9 An adverse impact 

is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs 

for all entities combined. As discussed, the proposal does not 

appear to increase net cost or reduce net revenue. Thus, an 

adverse impact is not indicated. 

Small Businesses10 Affected.11 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities12 Affected.13 The proposed amendments neither 

disproportionately affect any particular locality nor introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not appear substantively affect the use and 

value of private property. The proposal does not affect real 

estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 The fee (that is proposed in Action 5639 to be) prescribed in 18VAC85-160-

40 is $90. 

3 The fee (that is proposed in Action 5639 to be) prescribed in 18VAC85-160-

40 is $2,000. 
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4 Section 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia states that in part that "the board 

may, after three years and upon the payment of a fee prescribed by the board, 

consider an application for reinstatement of a certificate, registration, permit, 

or license in the same manner as the original certificates, registrations, permits, 

or licenses are granted; however, if a license has been revoked pursuant to 

subdivision A 19 of § 54.1-2915, the board shall not consider an application 

for reinstatement until five years have passed since revocation. A board shall 

conduct an investigation and review an application for reinstatement after 

revocation to determine whether there are causes for denial of the application. 

The burden of proof shall be on the applicant to show by clear and convincing 

evidence that he is safe and competent to practice. § 54.1-2915 states in part 

that the board may "impose a monetary penalty or terms as it may designate". 

5 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2915/. 

6 This proposed fee is in Action 5639, which at the date of this report was at 

the final stage being reviewed by the Secretary of Health and Human 

Resources. 

7 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-

2408.2/. 

8 This proposed fee is in Action 5639, which at the date of this report was at 

the final stage being reviewed by the Secretary of Health and Human 

Resources. 

9 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

10 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

11 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

12 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

13 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow certified surgical technologists to (i) 

voluntarily request inactive status and (ii) reinstate a 

certification from inactive status or from suspension or 

revocation following disciplinary action.  

18VAC85-160-75. Reinstatement or reactivation of 

surgical technologist certification.  

A. A certified surgical technologist who holds a current, 

unrestricted certificate in Virginia shall, upon a request on the 

renewal application and submission of the required fee, be 

issued an inactive certificate. The holder of an inactive 

certificate shall not be entitled to perform any act requiring a 

certification to practice surgical technology in Virginia. 

B. An inactive certificate holder may reactivate a certificate 

upon submission of the following: 

1. An application as required by the board; 

2. A payment of the difference between the current renewal 

fee for inactive certification and the renewal fee for active 

certification; and  

3. Documentation of completed continued competency 

hours as required by 18VAC85-160-65. 

C. A surgical technologist who allows his certificate to lapse 

for a period of two years or more and chooses to resume 

practice shall submit a reinstatement application to the board 

and information on any practice and licensure or certification 

in other jurisdictions during the period in which the certificate 

was lapsed and shall pay the fee for reinstatement of 

certification as prescribed in 18VAC85-160-40. 

D. The board reserves the right to deny a request for 

reactivation or reinstatement to any certificate holder who has 

been determined to have committed an act in violation of § 

54.1-2915 of the Code of Virginia or any provisions of this 

chapter. 

E. A surgical technologist whose certificate has been revoked 

by the board and who wishes to be reinstated shall make a new 

application to the board and payment of the fee for 

reinstatement of a certificate as prescribed in 18VAC85-160-

40 pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7236; Filed October 18, 2024, 8:17 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-110; 

adding 18VAC110-20-113). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 17, 2024 - 9:06 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Board Room 

4, Henrico, VA 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 17, 2025. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2915/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-2408.2/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-2408.2/
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Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Pharmacy are promulgated 

under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia, which authorizes health regulatory boards to 

promulgate regulations that are reasonable and necessary to 

administer effectively the regulatory system. Section 54.1-

3307 of the Code of Virginia requires the board to regulate the 

practice of pharmacy, including criteria for maintaining the 

integrity of, and public confidence in, the profession and 

improving the delivery of quality pharmaceutical services to 

the citizens of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amendments is to safeguard the 

health, safety, and welfare of patients by ensuring (i) safe 

working environments exist for pharmacists and pharmacy 

personnel, (ii) pharmacist authority and control over the 

practice of pharmacy is not usurped by the pharmacy permit 

holder, and (iii) proper breaks are provided for pharmacists 

while protecting patient safety. 

Substance: In general, the substantive provisions (i) ensure that 

the decisions of the pharmacist are not overridden by the 

pharmacy permit holder, including staffing decisions and the 

decision of whether pharmacy staff can safely provide vaccines 

at a given time; (ii) ensure that pharmacy permit holders 

provide sufficient staffing levels to avoid interference with 

pharmacist ability to practice with reasonable competence and 

safety; (iii) ensure that a pharmacist and pharmacy personnel 

are provided with proper and functioning equipment; (iv) 

ensure pharmacists and pharmacy staff are not burdened with 

external factors that may inhibit the ability to provide services 

to the public; (v) ensure staff are properly trained to provide 

the services they are tasked with; (vi) ensure pharmacists are 

provided appropriate breaks while maintaining drug stock 

integrity and providing required consultation services to the 

public; (vii) ensure pharmacists are provided adequate time to 

perform professional duties; and (viii) provide a reporting 

mechanism for staffing concerns. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the provision of 

pharmacy services in a safe and efficient manner. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no primary advantages 

or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 628 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly,2 the 

Board of Pharmacy (board) proposes to make permanent an 

emergency regulation3 related to work environment 

requirements for pharmacy personnel that protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of patients. 

Background. Chapter 628 directed the board "to adopt 

regulations related to work environment requirements for 

pharmacy personnel that protect the health, safety, and welfare 

of patients." The mandate further specified that "such 

regulations shall include provisions (i) addressing sufficient 

pharmacy staffing to prevent fatigue, distraction, or other 

conditions that interfere with a pharmacist's ability to practice 

with competence and safety; (ii) stating standards for 

uninterrupted rest periods and meal breaks for pharmacy 

personnel; (iii) stating standards that ensure adequate time for 

pharmacists to complete professional duties and 

responsibilities, including drug utilization reviews, 

immunization administration, patient counseling, and 

verification of prescription accuracy; and (iv) limiting external 

factors such as productivity or production quotas to the extent 

that such factors interfere with the ability to provide 

appropriate professional services to the public." The board 

promulgated emergency regulation effective September 29, 

2023. This action would make the emergency regulation 

permanent. Relatedly, the board notes that although the 

General Assembly, rather than the board, determined that this 

legislation required emergency regulations, the emergency is 

likely related to concern for the safety of pharmacists, 

pharmacy staff, and patients given the current health care 

climate and increased workloads for pharmacists and other 

pharmacy personnel. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The potential for conflict 

between two parties with different incentives is a common 

issue in various business settings. This issue is known as the 

"principal-agent problem" in economics. Applied to this case, 

the problem may arise when the principle (pharmacy owner), 

who seeks to maximize profit and ensure the smooth operation 

of the pharmacy, and the agent (pharmacist in charge or PIC), 

who is responsible for managing day-to-day operations may 

have different priorities or incentives. This understanding is 

consistent with the board's statement that the purpose of the 

proposed action in part is "ensuring pharmacist authority and 

control over the practice of pharmacy is not usurped by the 

pharmacy permit holder." Furthermore, the mandate's 

preferred mechanism appears to be to address such potential 

conflicts by clearly outlining the expectations and 

responsibilities of the owner and the PIC, regarding specific 

issues listed in items (i) through (iv), in the regulation. 

Generally speaking, the proposed regulatory language appears 

to be closely aligned with the mandate. Notably, the board 

proposes a form titled "Staffing Requests or Concerns"4 to be 

used by the PIC to communicate such issues to the pharmacy 

permit holder. The owner must maintain these forms on record 

for possible inspections. Thus, the proposed form is expected 

to help facilitate and ensure compliance and help improve 

working conditions for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians. 

The board believes that pharmacies may need to hire additional 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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staff if pharmacies are inadequately staffed, which would add 

to compliance costs, although such costs would be related to 

complying with basic standards of care. Additionally, the 

board expects a small administrative cost for pharmacies to 

keep staffing records on board-provided forms, but expects 

these costs to be negligible especially if an electronic version 

of the form is used. Although the mandate may introduce some 

costs for pharmacy owners and support the provision of 

pharmacy services in a safe and efficient manner, given the 

requirements in the mandate and the presence of the emergency 

regulation, this action's impact mainly consists of updating the 

Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) permanently to reflect 

what has already been implemented in practice since 

September 29, 2023. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments would affect owners of pharmacies, including 

chain pharmacies, as well as pharmacists and pharmacy 

technicians. The board has no estimate of the number of 

corporations or other entities that may be affected, since many 

hold more than one pharmacy permit. However, as of 

September 30, 2023, there were 1,751 permitted pharmacies in 

the Commonwealth. As of the same date, there were 16,606 

licensed pharmacists and 13,310 registered pharmacy 

technicians.5 No affected entity appears to be 

disproportionately affected. The Code of Virginia requires 

DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result from the 

proposed regulation.6 An adverse impact is indicated if there is 

any increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for any 

entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined.7 As noted, while the legislation may have created 

some costs for the pharmacy owners and benefits for the 

pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and patients, the proposed 

action's main impact is to permanently incorporate the rules 

that are already in effect into VAC. Thus, an adverse impact is 

not indicated. 

Small Businesses8 Affected.9 According to the board, there are 

fewer than 300 independent pharmacies in the Commonwealth 

that are most likely to be small businesses. However, the 

proposed incorporation of the existing rules permanently into 

VAC does not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities10 Affected.11 The proposed action does not create 

costs or other effects for localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed action by 

itself does not appear to affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effects 

on the use and value of private property nor on real estate costs 

is expected on account of this regulatory action by itself. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?221+ful+CHAP0628. 

3 https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9792. 

4 https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Staffing Requests or 

Concerns Form (eff. 9-2023)-20230929153548.pdf. 

5 Data source: Department of Health Professions. 

6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

7 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

8 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

9 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

10 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

11 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 628 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments add a new section addressing pharmacy 

work environments, ensuring that (i) the decisions of the 

pharmacist are not overridden by the pharmacy permit 

holder, including staffing decisions and the decision of 

whether pharmacy staff can safely provide vaccines at a 

given time; (ii) pharmacy permit holders provide sufficient 

staffing levels to avoid interference with a pharmacist's 

ability to practice with reasonable competence and safety; 

(iii) pharmacists and pharmacy personnel are provided 

with proper and functioning equipment; (iv) pharmacists 

and pharmacy staff are not burdened with external factors 

that may inhibit the ability to provide services to the 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?221+ful+CHAP0628
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9792
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Staffing%20Requests%20or%20Concerns%20Form%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230929153548.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Staffing%20Requests%20or%20Concerns%20Form%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230929153548.pdf
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public; (v) staff are properly trained to provide the 

services with which they are tasked; (vi) pharmacists are 

provided appropriate breaks while maintaining drug stock 

integrity and providing required consultation services to 

the public; (vii) pharmacists are provided adequate time 

to perform professional duties; and (viii) a reporting 

mechanism exists for staffing concerns. 

18VAC110-20-110. Pharmacy permits generally. 

A. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to a pharmacist to 

be simultaneously in charge of more than two pharmacies. 

B. Except in an emergency, a permit holder shall not require 

a pharmacist to work longer than 12 continuous hours in any 

work day and shall allow at least six hours of off-time between 

consecutive shifts. A pharmacist may, however, volunteer to 

work longer than 12 continuous hours. A pharmacist working 

longer than six continuous hours shall be allowed to take a 30-

minute break. Breaks, including uninterrupted rest periods and 

meal breaks, shall be provided consistent with 18VAC110-20-

113 B 5. 

C. The PIC or the pharmacist on duty shall control all aspects 

of the practice of pharmacy. Any decision overriding such 

control of the PIC or other pharmacist on duty shall be deemed 

the practice of pharmacy and may be grounds for disciplinary 

action against the pharmacy permit. 

D. A pharmacist shall not be eligible to serve as PIC until after 

having obtained a minimum of two years of experience 

practicing as a pharmacist in Virginia or another jurisdiction in 

the United States. The board may grant an exception to the 

minimum number of years of experience for good cause 

shown. 

E. When the PIC ceases practice at a pharmacy or no longer 

wishes to be designated as PIC, he the pharmacist shall 

immediately return the pharmacy permit to the board 

indicating the effective date on which he the pharmacist ceased 

to be the PIC. 

F. Although not required by law or regulation, an outgoing 

PIC shall have the opportunity to take a complete and accurate 

inventory of all Schedules II through V controlled substances 

on hand on the date he the pharmacist ceases to be the PIC, 

unless the owner submits written notice to the board showing 

good cause as to why this opportunity should not be allowed. 

G. A PIC who is absent from practice for more than 30 

consecutive days shall be deemed to no longer be the PIC. 

Pharmacists-in-charge having knowledge of upcoming 

absences for longer than 30 days shall be responsible for 

notifying the board and returning the permit. For unanticipated 

absences by the PIC, which that exceed 15 days with no known 

return date within the next 15 days, the owner shall 

immediately notify the board and shall obtain a new PIC. 

H. An application for a permit designating the new PIC shall 

be filed with the required fee within 14 days of the original date 

of resignation or termination of the PIC on a form provided by 

the board. It shall be unlawful for a pharmacy to operate 

without a new permit past the 14-day deadline unless the board 

receives a request for an extension prior to the deadline. The 

executive director for the board may grant an extension for up 

to an additional 14 days for good cause shown. 

I. Only one pharmacy permit shall be issued to conduct a 

pharmacy occupying the same designated prescription 

department space. A pharmacy shall not engage in any other 

activity requiring a license or permit from the board, such as 

manufacturing or wholesale-distributing, out of the same 

designated prescription department space. 

J. Before any permit is issued, the applicant shall attest to 

compliance with all federal, state, and local laws and 

ordinances. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to any 

person to operate from a private dwelling or residence after 

September 2, 2009. 

18VAC110-20-113. Pharmacy working conditions.  

A. A pharmacy permit holder shall protect the health, safety, 

and welfare of patients by consulting with the PIC or 

pharmacist on duty and other pharmacy staff to ensure patient 

care services are safely provided in compliance with applicable 

standards of patient care. A permit holder's decisions shall not 

override the control of the PIC or other pharmacist on duty 

regarding appropriate working environments for all pharmacy 

personnel necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare 

of patients.  

B. To provide a safe working environment in a pharmacy, a 

permit holder shall, at a minimum: 

1. Ensure sufficient personnel are scheduled to work at all 

times in order to prevent fatigue, distraction, or other 

conditions that interfere with a pharmacist's ability to 

practice with reasonable competence and safety. Staffing 

levels shall not be solely based on prescription volume, but 

shall consider any other requirements of pharmacy staff 

during working hours;  

2. Provide sufficient tools and equipment in good repair and 

minimize excessive distractions to support a safe workflow 

for a pharmacist to practice with reasonable competence and 

safety to address patient needs in a timely manner; 

3. Avoid the introduction of external factors, such as 

productivity or production quotas or other programs, to the 

extent that they interfere with the pharmacist's ability to 

provide appropriate professional services to the public;  

4. Ensure staff are sufficiently trained to safely and 

adequately perform assigned duties, ensure staff 

demonstrate competency, and ensure that pharmacy 

technician trainees work closely with pharmacists and 

pharmacy technicians with sufficient experience as 

determined by the PIC;  
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5. Provide appropriate opportunities for uninterrupted rest 

periods and meal breaks consistent with 18VAC110-20-110 

and the following: 

a. A pharmacy may close when a pharmacist is on break 

based on the professional judgment of the pharmacist on 

duty, provided that the pharmacy has complied with the 

14-day notice to the public pursuant to § 54.1-3434 of the 

Code of Virginia and 18VAC110-20-135; 

b. If a pharmacy does not close while the pharmacist is on 

break, the pharmacist must ensure adequate security of 

drugs by taking a break within the prescription department 

or on the premises. The pharmacist on duty must 

determine whether pharmacy technicians or pharmacy 

interns may continue to perform duties and whether the 

pharmacist is able to provide adequate supervision; and 

c. If the pharmacy remains open, only prescriptions 

verified by a pharmacist pursuant to 18VAC110-20-270 

may be dispensed when the pharmacist is on break. An 

offer to counsel any person filling a new prescription must 

be offered pursuant to § 54.1-3319 of the Code of Virginia. 

Persons who request to speak to the pharmacist shall be 

told that the pharmacist is on break and that they may wait 

to speak with the pharmacist or provide a telephone 

number for the pharmacist to contact them upon return 

from break. Pharmacists returning from break shall 

immediately attempt to contact persons who requested 

counseling and document when such counseling is 

provided; 

6. Provide adequate time for a pharmacist to complete 

professional duties and responsibilities, including:  

a. Drug utilization review;  

b. Immunization;  

c. Counseling;  

d. Verification of prescriptions;  

e. Patient testing; and  

f. All other duties required by Chapters 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et 

seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia and this chapter; and 

7. Ensure that pharmacy technicians shall never perform 

duties otherwise restricted to a pharmacist. 

C. A pharmacy permit holder shall not override the control of 

the pharmacist on duty regarding any aspects of the practice of 

pharmacy, including a pharmacist's decision not to administer 

vaccines when one pharmacist is on duty and, in the 

pharmacist's professional judgment, vaccines cannot be 

administered safely.  

D. Staffing requests or concerns as described in this section 

shall be communicated by the PIC or pharmacist on duty to the 

permit holder using the Staffing Requests or Concerns Form 

developed by the board or a form containing information 

identical to the form developed by the board, which may be 

electronic.  

1. Such forms, once completed, shall be provided to the 

immediate supervisor of the PIC or pharmacist on duty, with 

one copy maintained in the pharmacy for three years, and 

produced for inspection by the board within 48 hours of 

request.  

2. The PIC or pharmacist on duty may report any staffing 

issues directly to the board if the PIC or pharmacist on duty 

believes the situation warrants immediate board review.  

3. Under no circumstances shall a good faith report of 

staffing concerns by the PIC, pharmacist on duty, or 

notification of such issues by pharmacy personnel to the 

PIC, pharmacist on duty, or board result in workplace 

discipline against the reporting staff member.  

E. Permit holders shall review completed staffing reports and 

shall: 

1. Respond to the reporting staff member to acknowledge 

receipt of the staffing request or concern; 

2. Resolve any issues listed in a timely manner to ensure a 

safe working environment for pharmacy staff and 

appropriate medication access for patients; 

3. Document any corrective action taken, steps taken toward 

corrective action as of the time of inspection, or justification 

for inaction, which documentation shall be maintained on 

site or produced for inspection by the board within 48 hours 

of request; and  

4. Communicate corrective action taken or justification for 

inaction to the PIC or reporting pharmacist on duty.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC110-20) 

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 1/2024) 

Application for a Nonresident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 

1/2024) 

Application for a Nonresident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 4/2024) 

Application for Registration as Nonresident Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Nonresident Third-Party Logistics Provider 

Registration (rev. 4/2024) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Pharmacy%20Permit%20Application%201-2024-20240109155337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0214%20Nonresident%20Pharmacy%20App%201-2024-20240129092419.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0214%20Nonresident%20Pharmacy%20App%201-2024-20240129092419.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0219%20Nonresident%20Wholesale%20Distributor%204-2024-20240427075931.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0219%20Nonresident%20Wholesale%20Distributor%204-2024-20240427075931.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0242%20Nonresident%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%204-2024-20240427075657.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0242%20Nonresident%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%204-2024-20240427075657.pdf
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Application for Registration as a Nonresident Warehouser 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Nonresident Outsourcing Facility 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for an Outsourcing Facility Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Medical Equipment Supplier Permit (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Nonrestricted Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Wholesale Distributor Permit (rev. 4/2024) 

Application for a Permit as a Warehouser (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 4/2024) 

Application for Registration as a Nonresident Medical 

Equipment Supplier (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 8/2024) 

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 

(rev. 8/2023) 

Registration for a Pharmacy to be a Collection Site for 

Donated Drugs (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Registration for a Facility to be an Authorized Collector for 

Drug Disposal (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Reinspection of a Facility (rev. 3/2023) 

Notification of Distribution Cessation due to Suspicious 

Orders (rev. 5/2018) 

Staffing Requests or Concerns Form (eff. 9/2023) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7342; Filed October 18, 2024, 8:13 a.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology (amending 18VAC125-20-10, 

18VAC125-20-30, 18VAC125-20-41, 18VAC125-20-42, 

18VAC125-20-65, 18VAC125-20-120, 18VAC125-20-121, 

18VAC125-20-123, 18VAC125-20-150; repealing 

18VAC125-20-170). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3605 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the board are promulgated under the 

general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

specifically states that the general powers and duties of health 

regulatory boards shall be to promulgate regulations. 

Purpose: The elimination of redundant provisions and 

reduction of barriers to licensure generally protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens by ensuring a sufficient 

workforce of psychologists. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: A fast-

track rulemaking action is being used because these changes 

reduce requirements and are therefore deemed to be 

noncontroversial. 

Substance: The changes (i) delete unused defined terms and 

move defined terms used only once into the section in which 

the term is used; (ii) delete obsolete provisions, including a 

one-time fee reduction for the board; (iii) delete requirements 

that are not necessary to protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare, including requirements to attest to having read the 

laws and regulations governing licensees in Virginia and to 

attest to having read and agreed to comply with the current 

standards of practice and laws governing the practice of 

psychology in Virginia; (iv) remove requirements to conform 

to vague standards not appropriate for regulation; (v) amend 

requirements to justify services to include non-clinical 

psychology services such as forensic psychology; (vi) amend 

provisions to use active voice; and (vii) repeal requirements 

contained in statute. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. There are no primary advantages or disadvantages 

to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Psychology (board) proposes amendments for 

improved clarity and elimination of text that is either 

duplicative or obsolete. 

Background. The board proposes to amend 10 sections of the 

regulation, typically by deleting existing text. In 18VAC125-

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Outsorc_Facil_App-20210116203955.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0215%20Wholesale%20Distributor%204-2024-20240427075814.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WarehouserApp-20210116210503.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0239%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%204-2024-20240427080032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0239%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%204-2024-20240427080032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0220%20Controlled%20Substance%20Registration%20Application%208-2024-20240819122354.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0220%20Controlled%20Substance%20Registration%20Application%208-2024-20240819122354.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7e83004673~108.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0226%20Pilot%20Program%20application%208-2023-20230807111134.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0226%20Pilot%20Program%20application%208-2023-20230807111134.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Re-Inspection%20Application%203-2023-20230414152057.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Staffing%20Requests%20or%20Concerns%20Form%20(eff.%209-2023)-20230929153548.pdf
mailto:@jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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20-10, Definitions, the board proposes to delete the definition 

of "intern" and move the definition of "demonstrable areas of 

competence" to 18VAC125-20-65, Residency, where it is 

used. Obsolete language is proposed to be deleted in 

18VAC125-20-30, Fees required by the board. The existing 

text in 18VAC125-20-41, Requirements for licensure by 

examination, and 18VAC125-20-42, Prerequisites for 

licensure by endorsement, states that "Every applicant shall 

attest to having read and agreed to comply with the current 

standards of practice and laws governing the practice of 

psychology in Virginia." The board proposes to delete this 

requirement. In 18VAC125-20-120, Annual renewal of 

licensure, the board proposes to delete a duplicative sentence 

and amend language for improved clarity. To improve clarity, 

the board proposes to reword both 18VAC125-20-121, 

Continuing education course requirements for renewal of an 

active license, and 18VAC125-20-123, Documenting 

compliance with continuing education requirements. The 

existing text in 18VAC125-20-150, Standards of practice, 

states that "Psychologists respect the rights, dignity, and worth 

of all people and are mindful of individual differences." The 

board proposes to delete this sentence. In addition, the current 

text in this section states that licensees shall "Be able to justify 

all services rendered to clients as necessary for diagnostic or 

therapeutic purposes." The board proposes to replace 

"diagnostic or therapeutic purposes" with "the practice of 

psychology." Additional rewording to improve clarity and 

deleting text that is repetitious of the Code of Virginia is 

proposed as well. The board also proposes to repeal all of 

18VAC125-20-170, Reinstatement following disciplinary 

action, as it is repetitive of the Code of Virginia. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. To the extent that rewording for 

clarity makes the requirements of the regulation more easily 

understood, these proposed amendments are beneficial. 

Elimination of duplicative or obsolete language has no impact 

on requirements, but may save readers of the regulation a small 

amount of time. Eliminating the requirement that licensure 

applicants attest to having read and agreed to comply with the 

current standards of practice and laws would not likely have a 

substantive impact. Licensees are required to comply with the 

law whether they make such an attestation or not. The 

statement "Psychologists respect the rights, dignity, and worth 

of all people and are mindful of individual differences" is 

aspirational and likely too vague to be enforceable. Thus, 

removing it from the regulation should not have a substantive 

impact. The Department of Health Professions (DHP) notes 

that "diagnostic or therapeutic purposes" does not cover all 

standard parts of psychology practice. For example, it does not 

include forensic psychology.2 Thus, it is more appropriate that 

the standard of practice be that the licensee is able to justify all 

services rendered to clients as necessary for the practice of 

psychology, not just for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes. As 

far as DHP staff are aware no licensee has been disciplined for 

rendering services to clients that are standard parts of 

psychology practice, but not for diagnostic and therapeutic 

purposes. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments pertain to the 25 applied psychologists, 4,461 

clinical psychologists, 26 residents in school psychology, 392 

residents in training, 100 school psychologists, 583 school 

psychologists-limited, 439 sex offender treatment providers, 

and 79 sex offender treatment provider trainees licensed by the 

board.3 The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether 

an adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.4 

An adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net 

cost or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the 

benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined. Since none 

of the proposed amendments increase net costs or reduce net 

revenue, no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionally affect any particular localities or affect costs 

for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not substantively affect the use and value of 

private property. The proposed amendments do not affect real 

estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See page eight of the Agency Background Document: 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=31\6110\9829\AgencyState

ment_DHP_9829_v1.pdf. 

3 Data source: See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2023Q3/04Curre

ntLicenseCountQ3FY2023.pdf. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

6 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=31/6110/9829/AgencyStatement_DHP_9829_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=31/6110/9829/AgencyStatement_DHP_9829_v1.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2023Q3/04CurrentLicenseCountQ3FY2023.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2023Q3/04CurrentLicenseCountQ3FY2023.pdf
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proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

8 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Psychology concurs with the Department of Planning and 

Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Executive Directive One (2022) and Executive 

Order 19 (2022), the amendments (i) delete unused defined 

terms and move defined terms used only once into the section 

in which the term is used; (ii) delete obsolete provisions, 

including a one-time fee reduction for the board; (iii) delete 

requirements that are not necessary to protect the public 

health, safety, and welfare, including requirements to attest 

to having read the laws and regulations governing licensees 

in Virginia and to attest to having read and agreed to comply 

with the current standards of practice and laws governing 

the practice of psychology in Virginia; (iv) remove vague 

requirements not appropriate for regulation; (v) amend 

requirements to justify services to include non-clinical 

psychology services such as forensic psychology; and (vi) 

repeal requirements contained in statute. 

18VAC125-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, in addition to the words and 

terms defined in §§ 54.1-3600 and 54.1-3606.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"APA" means the American Psychological Association. 

"APPIC" means the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral 

and Internship Centers. 

"ASPPB" means the Association of State and Provincial 

Psychology Boards. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Psychology. 

"CAEP" means Council for the Accreditation of Educator 

Preparation. 

"Compact" means the Psychology Interjurisdictional 

Compact. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"CPA" means Canadian Psychological Association. 

"Demonstrable areas of competence" means those therapeutic 

and assessment methods and techniques for the populations 

served and for which one can document adequate graduate 

training, workshops, or appropriate supervised experience. 

"E.Passport" means a certificate issued by ASPPB that 

authorizes telepsychology services in a compact state. 

"Face-to-face" means in person. 

"Intern" means an individual who is enrolled in a professional 

psychology program internship. 

"Internship" means an ongoing, supervised, and organized 

practical experience obtained in an integrated training program 

identified as a psychology internship. Other supervised 

experience or on-the-job training does not constitute an 

internship. 

"IPC" means an interjurisdictional practice certificate issued 

by ASPPB that grants temporary authority to practice in a 

compact state. 

"NASP" means the National Association of School 

Psychologists. 

"Practicum" means the pre-internship clinical experience that 

is part of a graduate educational program. 

"Practicum student" means an individual who is enrolled in a 

professional psychology program and is receiving pre-

internship training and seeing clients. 

"Professional psychology program" means an integrated 

program of doctoral study in clinical or counseling psychology 

or a master's degree or higher program in school psychology 

designed to train professional psychologists to deliver services 

in psychology. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the six regional 

accrediting agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education established to accredit senior institutions of higher 

education. 

"Residency" means a post-internship, post-terminal degree, 

supervised experience approved by the board. 

"Resident" means an individual who has received a doctoral 

degree in a clinical or counseling psychology program or a 

master's degree or higher in school psychology and is 

completing a board-approved residency. 

"School psychologist-limited" means a person licensed 

pursuant to § 54.1-3606 of the Code of Virginia to provide 

school psychology services solely in public school divisions. 

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual 

consultation, guidance, and instruction with respect to the 

skills and competencies of the person supervised. 
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"Supervisor" means an individual who assumes responsibility 

for the education and training activities of a person under 

supervision and for the care of such person's clients and who 

provides supervision consistent with the training and 

experience of both the supervisor and the person under 

supervision and with the type of services being provided. 

18VAC125-20-30. Fees required by the board. 

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

Applied 

psychologists, 

Clinical 

psychologists, 

School 

psychologists 

School 

psychologists-

limited 

1. Registration of 

residency (per 

residency request) 

$50 - - 

2. Add or change 

supervisor 

$25 - - 

3. Application 

processing and 

initial licensure 

$200 $85 

4. Annual renewal 

of active license 

$140 $70 

5. Annual renewal 

of inactive license 

$70 $35 

6. Late renewal $50 $25 

7. Verification of 

license to another 

jurisdiction 

$25 $25 

8. Duplicate 

license 

$5 $5 

9. Additional or 

replacement wall 

certificate 

$15 $15 

10. Handling fee 

for returned check 

or dishonored 

credit card or debit 

card 

$50 $50 

11. Reinstatement 

of a lapsed license 

$270 $125 

12. Reinstatement 

following 

revocation or 

suspension 

$500 $500 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 

and forwarded to the board. All fees are nonrefundable. 

C. Between May 1, 2020, and June 30, 2020, the following 

renewal fees shall be in effect: 

1. For annual renewal of an active license as a clinical, 

applied, or school psychologist, it shall be $100. For an 

inactive license as a clinical, applied, or school psychologist, 

it shall be $50. 

2. For annual renewal of an active license as a school 

psychologist-limited, it shall be $50. For an inactive license 

as a school psychologist-limited, it shall be $25. 

18VAC125-20-41. Requirements for licensure by 

examination. 

A. Every applicant for licensure by examination shall: 

1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 

18VAC125-20-54, 18VAC125-20-55, or 18VAC125-20-56 

and the experience requirement prescribed in 18VAC125-

20-65 as applicable for the particular license sought; and 

2. Submit the following: 

a. A completed application on forms provided by the 

board; 

b. A completed residency agreement or documentation of 

having fulfilled the experience requirements of 

18VAC125-20-65; 

c. The application processing fee prescribed by the board; 

d. Official transcripts documenting the graduate work 

completed and the degree awarded; transcripts previously 

submitted for registration of supervision do not have to be 

resubmitted unless additional coursework was 

subsequently obtained. Applicants who are graduates of 

institutions that are not regionally accredited shall submit 

documentation from an accrediting agency acceptable to 

the board that their the applicant's education meets the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC125-20-54, 18VAC125-

20-55, or 18VAC125-20-56; 

e. A current report from the National Practitioner Data 

Bank; and 

f. Verification of any other health or mental health 

professional license, certificate, or registration ever held 

in Virginia or another jurisdiction. The applicant shall not 

have surrendered a license, certificate, or registration 

while under investigation and shall have no unresolved 

action against a license, certificate, or registration. 

B. In addition to fulfillment of the education and experience 

requirements, each applicant for licensure by examination 

must achieve a passing score on all parts of the Examination 

for Professional Practice of Psychology required at the time the 

applicant took the examination. 
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C. Every applicant shall attest to having read and agreed to 

comply with the current standards of practice and laws 

governing the practice of psychology in Virginia. 

18VAC125-20-42. Prerequisites for licensure by 

endorsement. 

Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit: 

1. A completed application; 

2. The application processing fee prescribed by the board; 

3. An attestation of having read and agreed to comply with 

the current Standards of Practice and laws governing the 

practice of psychology in Virginia; 

4. Verification of all other health and mental health 

professional licenses, certificates, or registrations ever held 

in Virginia or any jurisdiction of the United States or 

Canada. In order to qualify for endorsement, the applicant 

shall not have surrendered a license, certificate, or 

registration while under investigation and shall have no 

unresolved action against a license, certificate, or 

registration; 

5. 4. A current report from the National Practitioner Data 

Bank; and 

6. 5. Further documentation of one of the following: 

a. A current credential issued by the National Register of 

Health Service Psychologists; 

b. Current diplomate status in good standing with the 

American Board of Professional Psychology in a category 

comparable to the one in which licensure is sought; 

c. A Certificate of Professional Qualification in 

Psychology (CPQ) issued by the Association of State and 

Provincial Psychology Boards; 

d. Five years of active licensure in a category comparable 

to the one in which licensure is sought with at least 24 

months of active practice within the last 60 months 

immediately preceding licensure application; or 

e. If less than five years of active licensure or less than 24 

months of active practice within the last 60 months, 

documentation of current psychologist licensure in good 

standing obtained by standards substantially equivalent to 

the education, experience, and examination requirements 

set forth in this chapter for the category in which licensure 

is sought as verified by a certified copy of the original 

application submitted directly from the out-of-state 

licensing agency or a copy of the regulations in effect at 

the time of initial licensure and the following: (1) (i) 

Verification of a passing score on all parts of the 

Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology that 

were required at the time of original licensure; and (2) 

Official (ii) official transcripts documenting the graduate 

work completed and the degree awarded in the category in 

which licensure is sought. 

18VAC125-20-65. Residency. 

A. Candidates for clinical or school psychologist licensure 

shall have successfully completed a residency consisting of a 

minimum of 1,500 hours of supervised experience in the 

delivery of clinical or school psychology services acceptable 

to the board. 

1. For clinical psychology candidates, the hours of 

supervised practicum experiences in a doctoral program may 

be counted toward the residency hours, as specified in 

18VAC125-20-54. Hours acquired during the required 

internship shall not be counted toward the 1,500 residency 

hours. If the supervised experience hours completed in a 

practicum do not total 1,500 hours or if a candidate is 

deficient in any of the categories of hours, a candidate may 

fulfill the remainder of the hours by meeting requirements 

specified in subsection B of this section. 

2. School psychologist candidates shall complete all the 

residency requirements after receipt of their a final school 

psychology degree. 

B. Residency requirements. 

1. Candidates for clinical or school psychologist licensure 

shall have successfully completed a residency consisting of 

a minimum of 1,500 hours in a period of not less than 12 

months and not to exceed three years of supervised 

experience in the delivery of clinical or school psychology 

services acceptable to the board, or the applicant may 

request approval to extend a residency if there were 

extenuating circumstances that precluded completion within 

three years. 

2. Supervised experience obtained in Virginia without prior 

written board approval will not be accepted toward 

licensure. Candidates shall not begin the residency until after 

completion of the required degree as set forth in 18VAC125-

20-54 or 18VAC125-20-56. 

3. In order to have the residency accepted for licensure, an 

individual who proposes to obtain supervised post-degree 

experience in Virginia shall register with the board prior to 

the onset of such supervision by submission of: 

a. A supervisory contract along with the application 

package; 

b. The registration of supervision fee set forth in 

18VAC125-20-30; and 

c. An official transcript documenting completion of 

educational requirements as set forth in 18VAC125-20-54 

or 18VAC125-20-56 as applicable. 

4. If board approval was required for supervised experience 

obtained in another United States jurisdiction or Canada in 

which residency hours were obtained, a candidate shall 

provide evidence of board approval from such jurisdiction. 
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5. There shall be a minimum of two hours of individual 

supervision per 40 hours of supervised experience. Group 

supervision of up to five residents may be substituted for one 

of the two hours on the basis that two hours of group 

supervision equals one hour of individual supervision, but in 

no case shall the resident receive less than one hour of 

individual supervision per 40 hours. 

6. Supervision shall be provided by a psychologist who 

holds a current, unrestricted license in the jurisdiction in 

which supervision is being provided and who is licensed to 

practice in the licensure category in which the resident is 

seeking licensure; however, a resident seeking licensure as a 

school psychologist may be supervised by a clinical 

psychologist. 

7. The supervisor shall not neither provide supervision for 

activities beyond the supervisor's demonstrable areas of 

competence nor for activities for which the applicant has not 

had appropriate education and training. "Demonstrable areas 

of competence" means those therapeutic and assessment 

methods and techniques for the populations served and for 

which one can document adequate graduate training, 

workshops, or appropriate supervised experience. 

8. The supervising psychologist shall maintain records of 

supervision performed and shall regularly review and co-

sign case notes written by the supervised resident during the 

residency period. At the end of the residency training period, 

the supervisor shall submit to the board a written evaluation 

of the applicant's performance. 

9. The board may consider special requests in the event that 

the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability that limits the resident's access to 

qualified supervisors. 

C. Residents shall not refer to or identify themselves as 

clinical psychologists or school psychologists, independently 

solicit clients, bill directly for services, or in any way represent 

themselves as licensed psychologists. Notwithstanding, this 

This does not preclude supervisors or employing institutions 

from billing for the services of an appropriately identified 

resident. During the residency period, residents shall use their 

names, the initials of their degree, and the title "Resident in 

Psychology" in the licensure category in which licensure is 

sought. 

18VAC125-20-120. Annual renewal of licensure. 

Every license issued by the board shall expire each year on 

June 30. 

1. Every licensee who intends to continue to practice shall, 

on or before the expiration date of the license, submit to the 

board a license renewal form supplied by the board and the 

renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC125-20-30. 

2. Licensees who wish to maintain an active license shall pay 

the appropriate fee and verify on the renewal form 

compliance with the continuing education requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC125-20-121. First-time licensees by 

examination are not required to verify continuing education 

on the first renewal date following initial licensure. 

3. A. Licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of 

each year and shall: 

1. Pay the renewal fee prescribed by the board; and  

2. Verify compliance with continuing education 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC125-20-121 on the 

renewal form. A practitioner shall be exempt from the 

continuing competency requirements for the first renewal 

following the date of initial licensure by examination in 

Virginia. 

B. A licensee who wishes to place his license in inactive 

status may do so upon payment of the fee prescribed in 

18VAC125-20-30. A person with an inactive license is not 

authorized to practice; no No person shall practice psychology 

in Virginia without a current active license. An inactive 

licensee may activate a license by fulfilling the reactivation 

requirements set forth in 18VAC125-20-130. 

4. C. Failure of a licensee to receive a renewal notice and 

application forms from the board shall not excuse the licensee 

from the renewal requirement. 

18VAC125-20-121. Continuing education course 

requirements for renewal of an active license. 

A. Licensees shall be required to complete a minimum of 14 

hours of board-approved continuing education courses each 

year for annual licensure renewal. A minimum of 1.5 of these 

hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, laws, and 

regulations governing the profession of psychology, including 

the standards of practice set out in 18VAC125-20-150. A 

licensee who completes continuing education hours in excess 

of the 14 hours may carry up to seven hours of continuing 

education credit forward to meet the requirements for the next 

annual renewal cycle. 

B. For the purpose of this section, "course" means an 

organized program of study, classroom experience, or similar 

educational experience that is directly related to the practice of 

psychology and is provided by a board-approved provider that 

meets the criteria specified in 18VAC125-20-122. 

1. At least six of the required hours shall be earned in face-

to-face or real-time interactive educational experiences. 

Real-time interactive shall include a course in which the 

learner has the opportunity to interact with the presenter 

during the time of the presentation. 

2. The board may approve up to four hours per renewal cycle 

for each of the following specific educational experiences: 

a. Preparation for and presentation of a continuing 

education program, seminar, workshop, or academic 

course offered by an approved provider and directly 
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related to the practice of psychology. Hours may only be 

credited one time, regardless of the number of times the 

presentation is given, and may not be credited toward the 

face-to-face requirement. 

b. Publication of an article or book in a recognized 

publication directly related to the practice of psychology. 

Hours may only be credited one time, regardless of the 

number of times the writing is published, and may not be 

credited toward the face-to-face requirement. 

c. Serving at least six months as editor or associate editor 

of a national or international, professional, peer-reviewed 

journal directly related to the practice of psychology. 

3. Ten hours will be accepted for one or more three-credit-

hour academic courses completed at a regionally accredited 

institution of higher education that are directly related to the 

practice of psychology. 

4. The board may approve up to two hours per renewal cycle 

for membership on a state licensing board in psychology. 

C. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice in 

the category of licensure held. Continuing education courses 

for clinical psychologists shall emphasize, but not be limited 

to, the diagnosis, treatment, and care of patients with moderate 

and severe mental disorders. 

D. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing education requirement. 

E. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due 

to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the 

control of the licensee. 

F. Up to two of the 14 continuing education hours required 

for renewal may be satisfied through delivery of psychological 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving mental health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for 

the delivery of those health services as verified by the 

department or clinic. Three hours of volunteer service is 

required for one hour of continuing education credit. 

18VAC125-20-123. Documenting compliance with 

continuing education requirements. 

A. All licensees in active status are required to shall maintain 

original documentation for a period of four years. 

B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may 

conduct a random audit of licensees to verify compliance with 

the requirement for that renewal period. 

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as 

follows: 

1. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned from an 

accredited institution; or 

2. Certificates of completion from approved providers. 

D. Compliance with continuing education requirements, 

including the maintenance of records and the relevance of the 

courses to the category of licensure, is the responsibility of the 

licensee. The board may request additional information if such 

compliance is not clear from the transcripts or certificates. 

E. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary order 

shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

18VAC125-20-150. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Psychologists 

respect the rights, dignity, and worth of all people and are 

mindful of individual differences. Regardless of the delivery 

method, whether face-to-face or by use of technology, these 

practice standards shall apply to the practice of psychology. 

B. Persons regulated by the board and persons practicing in 

Virginia with an E.Passport or an IPC shall: 

1. Provide and supervise only those services and use only 

those techniques for which they are qualified by education, 

training, and appropriate experience; 

2. Delegate to persons under their supervision only those 

responsibilities such persons can be expected to perform 

competently by education, training, and experience; 

3. Maintain current competency in the areas of practices 

through continuing education, consultation, or other 

procedures consistent with current standards of scientific 

and professional knowledge; 

4. Accurately represent their areas of competence, 

education, training, experience, professional affiliations, 

credentials, and published findings to ensure that such 

statements are neither fraudulent nor misleading; 

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services. Make appropriate consultations and referrals 

consistent with the law and based on the interest of patients 

or clients; 

6. Refrain from undertaking any activity in which their 

personal problems are likely to lead to inadequate or harmful 

services; 

7. Avoid harming, exploiting, misusing influence, or 

misleading patients or clients, research participants, 

students, and others for whom they provide professional 

services and minimize harm when it is foreseeable and 

unavoidable; 
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8. Not engage in, direct, or facilitate torture, which is defined 

as any act by which severe pain or suffering, whether 

physical or mental, is intentionally inflicted on a person, or 

in any other cruel, inhuman, or degrading behavior that 

causes harm; 

9. Withdraw from, avoid, adjust, or clarify conflicting roles 

with due regard for the best interest of the affected party and 

maximal compliance with these standards; 

10. Make arrangements for another professional to deal with 

emergency needs of clients during periods of foreseeable 

absences from professional availability and provide for 

continuity of care when services must be terminated; 

11. Conduct financial responsibilities to clients in an ethical 

and honest manner by: 

a. Informing clients of fees for professional services and 

billing arrangements as soon as is feasible; 

b. Informing clients prior to the use of collection agencies 

or legal measures to collect fees and provide opportunity 

for prompt payment; 

c. Obtaining written consent for fees that deviate from the 

practitioner's usual and customary fees for services; 

d. Participating in bartering only if it is not clinically 

contraindicated and is not exploitative; and 

e. Not obtaining, attempting to obtain, or cooperating with 

others in obtaining payment for services by 

misrepresenting services provided, dates of service, or 

status of treatment; 

12. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes the practice 

of psychology; 

13. Construct, maintain, administer, interpret, and report 

testing and diagnostic services in a manner and for purposes 

that are current and appropriate; 

14. Design, conduct, and report research in accordance with 

recognized standards of scientific competence and research 

ethics. Practitioners shall adhere to requirements of § 32.1-

162.18 of the Code of Virginia for obtaining informed 

consent from patients prior to involving them as participants 

in human research, with the exception of retrospective chart 

reviews; 

15. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of psychology; 

16. Accurately inform a client or a client's legally authorized 

representative of the client's diagnoses, prognosis, and 

intended treatment or plan of care. A psychologist shall 

present information about the risks and benefits of the 

recommended treatments in understandable terms and 

encourage participation in the decisions regarding the 

patient's care. When obtaining informed consent for a 

treatment for which generally recognized techniques and 

procedures have not been established, a psychologist shall 

inform clients of the developing nature of the treatment, the 

potential risks involved, alternative treatments that may be 

available, and the voluntary nature of their participation; 

17. Clearly document at the outset of service delivery what 

party the psychologist considers to be the client and what, if 

any, responsibilities the psychologist has to all related 

parties; 

18. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, document 

efforts to coordinate care; 

19. Document the reasons for and steps taken if it becomes 

necessary to terminate a therapeutic relationship (e.g., when 

it becomes clear that the client is not benefiting from the 

relationship or when the psychologist feels endangered). 

Document assistance provided in making arrangements for 

the continuation of treatment for clients, if necessary, 

following termination of a therapeutic relationship; and 

20. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

C. In regard to confidentiality, persons regulated by the board 

shall: 

1. Keep confidential their professional relationships with 

patients or clients and disclose client information to others 

only with written consent, except as required or permitted by 

law. Psychologists shall inform clients of legal limits to 

confidentiality; 

2. Protect the confidentiality in the usage of client 

information and clinical materials by obtaining informed 

consent from the client or the client's legally authorized 

representative before (i) videotaping, (ii) audio recording, 

(iii) permitting third party observation, or (iv) using clinical 

information in teaching, writing, or public presentations; and 

3. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A disclosure that is 

required or permitted by applicable law or beyond the 

control of the practitioner shall not be considered negligent 

or willful. 

D. In regard to client records, persons regulated by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 

or electronic records for each client. For a psychologist 

practicing in an institutional setting, the recordkeeping shall 

follow the policies of the institution or public facility. For a 

psychologist practicing in a noninstitutional setting, the 

record shall include: 

a. The name of the client and other identifying 

information; 

b. The presenting problem, purpose, or diagnosis; 

c. Documentation of the fee arrangement; 
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d. The date and clinical summary of each service provided; 

e. Any test results, including raw data, or other evaluative 

results obtained; 

f. Notation and results of formal consults with other 

providers; and 

g. Any releases by the client; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality and dispose of written, 

electronic, and other records in such a manner as to ensure 

their confidentiality; and 

3. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the last date of service, with 

the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining 18 years of age; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred pursuant to § 54.1-

2405 of the Code of Virginia pertaining to closure, sale, or 

change of location of one's practice. 

E. In regard to dual relationships, persons regulated by the 

board shall: 

1. Not engage in a dual relationship with a person under 

supervision that could impair professional judgment or 

increase the risk of exploitation or harm. Psychologists shall 

take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 

relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 

consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 

judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in sexual intimacies or a romantic relationship 

with a student, supervisee, resident, intern, therapy patient, 

client, or those included in collateral therapeutic services 

(such as a parent, spouse, or significant other of the client) 

while providing professional services. For at least five years 

after cessation or termination of professional services, not 

engage in sexual intimacies or a romantic relationship with 

a therapy patient, client, or those included in collateral 

therapeutic services. Consent to, initiation of, or 

participation in sexual behavior or romantic involvement 

with a psychologist does not change the exploitative nature 

of the conduct nor lift the prohibition. Because sexual or 

romantic relationships are potentially exploitative, 

psychologists shall bear the burden of demonstrating that 

there has been no exploitation, based on factors such as 

duration of therapy, amount of time since therapy, 

termination circumstances, client's personal history and 

mental status, and adverse impact on the client; 

3. Not engage in a personal relationship with a former client 

in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm or if 

the former client continues to relate to the psychologist in 

his the psychologist's professional capacity; and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

F. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health provider is or may be 

guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, persons licensed by the board shall advise 

their clients of their right to report such misconduct to the 

Department of Health Professions in accordance with § 54.1-

2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC125-20-170. Reinstatement following disciplinary 

action. (Repealed.) 

A. Any person whose license has been revoked by the board 

under the provisions of 18VAC125-20-160 may, three years 

subsequent to such board action, submit a new application to 

the board for reinstatement of licensure. The board in its 

discretion may, after a hearing, grant the reinstatement.  

B. The applicant for such reinstatement, if approved, shall be 

licensed upon payment of the appropriate fee applicable at the 

time of reinstatement.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7373; Filed October 18, 2024, 8:02 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-309. Rules for Enforcement of 

the Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act 

(amending 20VAC5-309-190). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-265.30 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 22, 2025. 

Agency Contact: William Henry Harrison IV, Senior Counsel, 

Office of General Counsel, Public Utility Regulation, State 

Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 371-9228, or email 

william.harrison@scc.virginia.gov. 

mailto:william.harrison@scc.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

The amendments enable the implementation of new 

electronic white lining technology, which will assist in 

defining planned areas of excavation for the further 

prevention of damage to underground utility lines. 

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 22, 2024 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. URS-2024-00068 

Ex Parte: In the matter concerning a  

rulemaking proceeding to revise the Commission's Rules 

for Enforcement of the Virginia Underground Utility 

Damage  

Prevention Act, 20VAC5-309-10 et seq. 

ORDER ADOPTING RULES 

Virginia Code ("Code") § 56-265.30 directs the State 

Corporation Commission ("Commission") to enforce the 

provisions of Chapter 10.3 of Title 56, the Virginia 

Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act ("Act") and 

provides for the Commission's promulgation of rules or 

regulations necessary to implement the Commission's 

authority. The Commission's Rules for Enforcement of the 

Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act ("Damage 

Prevention Rules") are set forth in Chapter 309 of Title 20 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code.1 

The Commission's Division of Utility Railroad and Safety 

("Division") has proposed revisions to the Damage Prevention 

Rules ("Proposed Rules") to facilitate use of electronic white 

lining that may not involve aerial imagery and provided the 

following information in support. Electronic white lining is a 

method by which excavators may indicate their intended 

excavation area visually through electronic data entry. The 

purpose of this Rulemaking is to modify 20VAC5-309-190 

("Rule 190") to supplement the text-based description 

currently employed by Virginia Utility Protection Services, 

Inc. ("Va811").2 Electronic white lining will allow excavators 

to provide detailed and specific visual renderings of excavation 

areas to Va811, and ultimately to utility operators or their 

locators. In this way, the Rulemaking is intended to advance 

safety by allowing excavators to provide a more precise 

excavation area which could result in more accurate and 

efficient utility line locates. Electronic white lining is currently 

contemplated in the Commission's Damage Prevention Rules;3 

however, electronic white lining has not before been used in 

conjunction with the submission of locate requests to Va811.  

On April 23, 2024, the Commission entered an Order for 

Notice and Comment ("Procedural Order") which, among 

other things, directed that notice of the Proposed Rules be 

given to interested persons and that such interested persons and 

the Commission Staff ("Staff") be provided an opportunity to 

file written comments on, propose modifications or 

supplements to, or request a hearing on the Proposed Rules. 

The Procedural Order directed the Staff to respond to any 

comments, proposals, or requests for hearing, and to provide a 

copy of the Procedural Order to the Registrar of Regulations 

for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations.4 

Washington Gas Light Company; S&N Communications; 

Virginia 811; Mastec North America; Appalachian Power 

Company; Danville Utilities; Chesterfield County, Utilities 

Department; Brightspeed; Shentel; and the Virginia Cable 

Telecommunications Association - Broadband Association of 

Virginia; the Virginia Broadband Industry Association; and the 

Virginia, Maryland, and Delaware Association of 

Cooperatives filed comments in support of the Proposed Rules. 

On September 4, 2024, Staff filed its response to comments 

filed in this proceeding.  

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter, is 

of the opinion and finds that the proposed amendments to the 

Rules should be adopted.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission's Rules for Enforcement of the 

Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, 20VAC5-309-

10 et seq., are amended as shown in Attachment A to this Order 

and shall become effective nine months from the date of this 

Order. 

(2) A copy of these regulations as set out in Attachment A of 

this Order Adopting Regulations shall be forwarded to the 

Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(3) This case is dismissed.  

A COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission 

to all persons on the official Service List in this matter. The 

Service List is available from the Clerk of the State 

Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control Center, 1300 

E. Main Street, First Floor, Tyler Building, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. A copy shall also be sent to the Commission's 

Office of General Counsel and Division Utility and Railroad 

Safety.  

_____________________________  
1 20VAC5-309-10 et seq. 

2 Va811 is the entity certificated to operate as the single one-call notification 

center provider for the Commonwealth pursuant to Va. Code § 56-265.16:1. 

3 See 20VAC5-309-190. 

4 The Procedural Order and the proposed regulation amendments were 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations, Vol. 40 Iss. 20 (May 24, 

2024).  

20VAC5-309-190. Delineating specific location of a 

proposed excavation or demolition. 

A. Any person, as defined in § 56-265.15 of the Code of 

Virginia, submitting a locate request shall clearly describe the 

limits of the proposed excavation or demolition with sufficient 

detail to enable the operators to ascertain the location of the 

proposed excavation. The specific location of the proposed 

excavation or demolition may include: 
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1. GPS coordinates taken at a single point where work is 

planned or GPS coordinates taken to delineate a line, multi-

segment line, or polygon. When providing a single point, 

line, or multi-segment line, the person providing notice shall 

include an area measured in feet from the coordinates that 

describe the work area. If a polygon is used, the proposed 

work area shall be inside the polygon. GPS nomenclatures 

used for providing coordinates to the notification center shall 

be as approved by the advisory committee. 

2. White lining to delineate the area where excavation will 

take place. For single point excavation, the area shall be 

marked using dots, dashes, or white flags to show the 

operators the area of excavation. If utility markings are 

desired outside a white lined area, the excavator shall 

provide clear instructions, to include the distance in feet 

outside the white lined area, to the notification center. For 

continuous excavations, such as trenching and boring, the 

excavator shall mark the center line of excavation by the use 

of dots or dashes. The excavation width, in feet, shall be 

indicated on either side of the center line in legible figures 

or noted in the marking instructions given to the notification 

center. 

3. White lining performed by electronic means using aerial 

imagery. White lining performed by electronic means shall 

follow the same requirements as listed in subdivision 2 of 

this subsection. When submitting information to the 

notification center pursuant to § 56-265.17 of the Code of 

Virginia, any conflict between text-based descriptions of the 

specific location of a proposed excavation and any images 

depicting the specific location of a proposed excavation 

submitted in compliance with the notification center's 

electronic white lining standards shall be resolved in favor 

of the electronically white lined image. 

4. A reference to the two nearest intersecting streets, if 

available, or driving directions. 

B. In the event that a proposed excavation or demolition is 

planned at a single address at which there is no more than one 

structure, the area of proposed excavation or demolition may, 

if geographically feasible, be described by dividing the parcel 

or property into four quadrants from the perspective of facing 

the front of the property using the center of the structure as the 

center point of the four quadrants. If no structure exists on the 

property, the center of the parcel or property will be used as the 

center point of the four quadrants. These four quadrants shall 

be referred to as Front Left, Front Right, Rear Left, and Rear 

Right. If the proposed area consists only of Front Left and 

Front Right quadrants, the term "Front" shall be sufficient. If 

the proposed area of excavation consists only of Rear Left and 

Rear Right quadrants, the term "Rear" shall be sufficient. If the 

proposed area of excavation consists only of Front Left and 

Rear Left quadrants, the term "Left Side" shall be sufficient. If 

the proposed area of excavation consists only of Front Right 

and Rear Right quadrants, the term "Right Side" shall be 

sufficient. If the proposed area of excavation includes three out 

of the four quadrants, the entire property may be used for the 

proposed excavation or demolition. 

C. If the locate request does not contain specific location 

information, the notification center shall suspend the issuance 

of the locate request until specific location information is 

obtained, except in the case of excavations or demolitions 

performed during an emergency, as defined in § 56-265.15 of 

the Code of Virginia. The notification center shall issue the 

emergency notices with as much information as is available to 

it. 

D. The area covered under each locate request shall not 

exceed 1/3 of a mile. Locate requests with areas of proposed 

excavation located on parcels defined within the existing 

notification center mapping data and having one or more sides 

that is 1/3 of a mile or longer shall not automatically exceed 

the area covered by a single locate request. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7846; Filed October 22, 2024, 3:32 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-880. Child Support 

Enforcement Program (amending 22VAC40-880-10, 

22VAC40-880-390, 22VAC40-880-430; adding 22VAC40-

880-800, 22VAC40-880-810). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC § 651 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Matthew Gomez, Manager, Program 

Initiatives, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 24018, telephone (804) 726-7437, or 

email matthew.gomez@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia states that the 

State Board of Social Services shall adopt regulations, not in 

conflict with Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, as may be 

necessary or desirable to carry out the purpose of that title. 

Section 63.2-1901 of the Code of Virginia provides an outline 

of the duties of the department, which include "to further the 

effective and timely enforcement of such support while 

ensuring that all functions in the department are appropriate or 

necessary to comply with applicable federal law." 45 CFR 

§ 303.6 requires IV-D (child support) agencies to "maintain 

and use an effective system for: monitoring compliance with 

the support obligation (and) enforcing the support obligation 

mailto:@matthew.gomez@dss.virginia.gov
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by: taking any appropriate enforcement action." Chapter 448 

of the 2008 Acts of Assembly provides for a pilot of intensive 

case monitoring services. 

Purpose: This regulation is essential to protect the public 

health, safety, and welfare because the amendments clarify the 

use of family engagement services (FES), allowing the 

Division of Child Support Enforcement (division) to provide 

more intensive case management services for participants 

facing obstacles that hinder participant ability to maintain 

steady employment. The proposed change also sets clear public 

guidelines regarding accountability for active participation and 

compliance and clarifies how the division will provide 

consistent and equitable services. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is expected to be noncontroversial because the changes 

clarify and reflect existing FES activities, rather than changing 

those activities. 

Substance: This action (i) creates new sections to allow the 

division to establish and maintain services to assist persons 

with a duty to pay child support with needed resources to meet 

the requirements of the support obligation; (ii) defines 

supporting terms; (iii) amends sections to allow the department 

to clarify use of state and federal remedies to ensure 

compliance with a child support order; and (iv) adds "of 

process" after the word "service" in two instances. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth is that these amendments will allow the 

division to provide intensive case management services, 

referrals, and assistance to participants to help them overcome 

the challenges faced when complying with support obligations 

and leverage community and governmental agency 

partnerships to assist with increasing the frequency and amount 

of child support payments. There are no disadvantages to the 

public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (board) proposes to amend the 

Child Support Enforcement Program regulation in order to 

help establish the regulatory authority for the provision of 

Family Engagement Services (FES). 

Background. According to the Department of Social Services 

(DSS), the impetus for this proposed regulatory change is a 

board decision to ensure there is an authorizing regulation 

describing use of FES. Federal regulation 45 CFR § 303.6 

requires IV-D (child support) agencies to use appropriate and 

available enforcement methods to obtain compliance with 

child support obligations. As a component of reviewing for 

ability to pay, DSS states that there are case participants who 

may need more assistance than others in maintaining support 

order compliance. In an article for the National Child Support 

Enforcement Association, a former DSS official described the 

need for FES as follows: 

"Historically, child support collection efforts have focused on 

parents who have assets but, for a variety of reasons related to 

the complexity of their relationships with the other parent, 

refuse to pay child support as ordered. There is another 

category of parents who, until recently, have not received 

focused attention. These parents are often caught up in a 

revolving door within the child support system; they receive 

limited acknowledgment or assistance and have significant 

barriers that inhibit their ability to pay support. This population 

struggles with limited education, sketchy work histories, 

substance abuse problems, criminal records, and more. While 

some also have poor relationships with the other parent and 

don't want to pay, others would pay child support if they were 

able. For this latter group - those who would but can't pay 

conventional enforcement remedies - often result only in 

recurring penalization rather than changes to behavior, regular 

child support payments, and long-term compliance. Instead, 

these noncustodial parents are often chronically taken to court, 

found noncompliant, and jailed because there is no alternative 

solution."2 

FES activities are therefore designed to help increase the 

noncustodial parent's ability to pay child support. As indicated 

in the proposed regulation, following an administrative or 

judicial determination that such services may assist the person 

to pay child support owed, the DSS Division of Child Support 

Enforcement may provide FES activities such as "referrals to 

(i) employment services, to include employment assessment, 

employment search, and employment training; (ii) family 

services, including parenting skills, co-parenting skills, and 

relationship-building activities for parents and children; (iii) 

educational services, including GED preparation and GED 

testing; (iv) housing services, including referrals to 

organizations that operate shelters and provide subsidies; (v) 

document assistance, including referrals to organizations and 

assistance in securing vital records, driver's licenses, 

commercial driver's licenses, or other documents; (vi) social 

services, health and mental health services, and substance 

abuse services; and (vii) any other services that would assist 

the person to pay support owed." These activities may be 

offered in conjunction with, but not as a substitute for, state 

and federal enforcement remedies. In practice, DSS has 

provided FES since 2008. According to DSS, the board is 

proposing this new language upon advice of the Office of the 

Attorney General. The proposed text would not change the 

existing FES activities. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. As indicated, the proposed 

amendments reflect existing FES activities. The proposed text 

could be beneficial in that the public may become better 

informed concerning FES. 
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Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments pertain to the noncustodial parents who receive 

FES, the custodial parents who may receive greater child 

support payments due to improved employment situations for 

the noncustodial parents, the 15 FES case managers at DSS, 

and the organizations that provide the various FES services. In 

2022, 3,364 noncustodial parents received FES.3 The Code of 

Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact 

may result from the proposed regulation.4 An adverse impact is 

indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in net 

revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for 

all entities combined. As the proposed amendments reflect 

current practice, no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 As the proposed amendments 

reflect current practice, small businesses are not affected. 

Localities7 Affected.8 No localities are disproportionately 

affected. As the proposed amendments reflect current practice, 

costs for local governments are not affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment. As the proposed 

amendments reflect current practice, no impact on employment 

is anticipated. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. As the 

proposed amendments reflect current practice, no effects on the 

use and value of private property are expected. Real estate 

development costs are not affected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See https://www.ncsea.org/documents/ICMP_FINAL1.pdf. 

3 Data source: DSS. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

6 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

8 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services reviewed the economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget 

and concurs. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) create new sections to allow the 

Division of Child Support Enforcement to establish and 

maintain services to assist persons with a duty to pay child 

support with needed resources to meet the requirements of 

their support obligation; (ii) define supporting terms;(iii) 

allow the department to clarify use of state and federal 

remedies to ensure compliance with a child support order; 

and (iv) add "of process" after the word "service" in two 

instances. 

22VAC40-880-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative referral" means when a unit of the 

department or executive branch makes a referral for a parent or 

case. 

"Appeal" means a request for a review of an administrative 

action taken by the division, or an action taken to contest a 

court order. 

"Applicant" or "applicant/recipient" means a party who 

applies for and receives services from the division. 

"Application" means a written document requesting child 

support enforcement services, which the department provides 

to the individual or agency applying for services and which is 

signed by the applicant. 

"Arrearage" means unpaid child or medical support 

payments, interest, and other costs for past periods owed by a 

parent to the state or obligee. This may include unpaid spousal 

support when child support is also being enforced. 

"Bad check" means a check not honored by the bank on which 

it is drawn. 

"Case management services" means individualized services 

provided by a trained case manager. 

"Case summary" means a written statement outlining the 

actions taken by the department on a case that has been 

appealed. 

https://www.ncsea.org/documents/ICMP_FINAL1.pdf
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"Child support guideline" means a method for calculating a 

child support obligation as set out in § 20-108.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Delinquency" means an unpaid child or medical support 

obligation. The obligation may include spousal support when 

child support is also being enforced. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"District office" means a local office of the Division of Child 

Support Enforcement responsible for the operation of the child 

support enforcement program. 

"Division" means the Division of Child Support Enforcement 

of the Virginia Department of Social Services, also known as 

a IV-D agency. 

"Enforcement" means ensuring the payment of child support 

through the use of administrative or judicial means. 

"Family engagement services" means services through which 

the department identifies barriers to providing support and 

provides case management services to address those barriers. 

"Federal foster care" means foster care that is established 

under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act. This is a category 

of financial assistance paid on behalf of children who 

otherwise meet the eligibility criteria for TANF and who are in 

the custody of local social service agencies. 

"Financial statement" means the provision of financial 

information from the natural or adoptive parents. 

"Good cause" means, as it pertains to TANF applicants and 

recipients, an agency determination that the individual is not 

required to cooperate with the division in its efforts to collect 

child support. 

"Hearing officer" means an impartial person charged by the 

Commissioner of the Department of Social Services to hear 

appeals and decide if an agency followed its policy and 

procedures. 

"IV-D agency" means a governmental entity administering 

the child support enforcement program under Title IV-D of the 

Social Security Act. In Virginia the IV-D agency is the 

Division of Child Support Enforcement. 

"Locate services" means obtaining information which that is 

sufficient and necessary to take action on a child support case, 

including information concerning (i) the physical whereabouts 

of the obligor or the obligor's employer, or (ii) other sources of 

income or assets, as appropriate. Certain individuals and 

entities such as courts and other state child support 

enforcement agencies can receive locate-only services from 

the department. 

"Medicaid-only" means a category of public assistance 

whereby a family receives Medicaid but is not eligible for or 

receiving TANF. 

"Medical support services" means the establishment of a 

medical support order and the enforcement of health insurance 

coverage or, if court ordered, medical expenses. 

"Obligation" means the amount and frequency of payments 

which that the obligor is legally bound to pay as set out in a 

court or administrative support order. 

"Occupational license" means any license, certificate, 

registration, or other authorization to engage in a business, 

trade, profession, or occupation issued by the Commonwealth 

pursuant to Title 22.1, 38.2, 46.2, or 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or any other provision of law. 

"Parent" means any natural or adoptive parent; the natural or 

adoptive parent with whom the child resides; a stepparent or 

other person who has physical custody of the child and with 

whom the child resides; a local board that has legal custody of 

a child in foster care; or a responsible person who is or may be 

obligated under Virginia law for support of a dependent child 

or child's caretaker. 

"Past due support" means support payments determined under 

a court or administrative order which that have not been paid. 

"Pendency of an appeal" means the period of time after an 

administrative appeal has been made and before the final 

disposition by an administrative hearing officer, or between the 

time a party files an appeal with the court and the court renders 

a decision. 

"Putative father" means a person alleged to be the father of a 

child whose paternity has not been established. 

"Recipient" means a person or agency that has applied for or 

receives public assistance or child support enforcement 

services. 

"Recreational license" means any license, certificate, or 

registration used for the purpose of participation in games, 

sports, or hobbies, or for amusement or relaxation. 

"Referral" means when one entity or organization formally or 

informally requests action by another with respect to an item. 

"Service" or "service of process" means the delivery to or 

leaving of a child support document, in a manner prescribed by 

state statute, giving the party reasonable notice of the action 

being taken. 

"Summons" means a document notifying a parent or other 

person that he or she the parent or other person must appear at 

a time and place named in the document to provide information 

needed to pursue child support actions. 

22VAC40-880-390. Additional remedies. 

In addition to state administrative enforcement remedies, the 

department shall utilize available federal enforcement 

remedies to enforce child support obligations and collect 

accumulated support arrearages. Use of state and federal 
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enforcement remedies shall continue until the noncustodial 

parent is compliant with the support order. 

22VAC40-880-430. Validity of the appeal. 

A. The department shall determine the validity of an 

administrative appeal. 

1. The appeal must be in writing. 

2. If the appeal is personally delivered, the appeal must be 

received within 10 business days of service of process of the 

notice of the proposed action on the appellant. 

3. If mailed, the postmark must be within 10 business days 

from the date of service of process of the notice of the 

proposed action on the appellant. 

B. For appeals of federal and state tax intercepts, the appellant 

shall have 30 days to note an appeal to the department. 

22VAC40-880-800. Family engagement services.  

The division is authorized to establish programs to provide 

family engagement services to persons following an 

administrative or judicial determination that such services may 

assist the person to pay support owed. Such programs shall 

provide referrals to (i) employment services, to include 

employment assessment, employment search, and employment 

training; (ii) family services, including parenting skills, co-

parenting skills, and relationship-building activities for parents 

and children; (iii) educational services, including general 

education development (GED) preparation and GED testing; 

(iv) housing services, including referrals to organizations that 

operate shelters and provide subsidies; (v) document 

assistance, including referrals to organizations and assistance 

in securing vital records, driver's licenses, commercial driver's 

licenses, or other documents; (vi) social services, health and 

mental health services, and substance abuse services; and (vii) 

any other services that would assist the person to pay support 

owed. These services may be offered in conjunction with, but 

not as a substitute for, state and federal enforcement remedies. 

22VAC40-880-810. Family engagement services, case 

management.  

Services authorized pursuant to 22VAC40-880-800 shall 

include case management services. The case manager shall 

conduct an orientation session with a new participant and 

create a services plan within 30 days of referral. The services 

plan shall identify services, programs, and requirements 

necessary to comply with the administrative referral or court 

order. The services plan shall also provide that the 

nonparticipating party be given monthly status updates 

regarding compliance with and status of the services plan. The 

case manager shall (i) assist the participant to contact and make 

appointments with organizations offering the required services 

and programs; (ii) provide the participant with appointment 

reminders and follow up with the participant and service 

providers to determine any next steps that may be required; (iii) 

track the participant's compliance with the services plan, the 

support order, and the terms of the administrative referral or 

court order; and (iv) in cases involving court orders, provide to 

the court timely and regular reports regarding the participant's 

compliance with the services plan and with the court orders. 

During the first 90 days after an administrative referral, 

participants shall not be referred for civil contempt if they are 

substantially compliant with the services plan, whether or not 

they are paying support as ordered. Upon conclusion of this 90-

day period, participants who are substantially compliant with 

the services plan and not paying support as ordered may 

continue to participate but shall be referred for civil contempt. 

Participants who are, at any time, not substantially compliant 

with the services plan shall be referred for civil contempt. If 

after referral for civil contempt, a court orders the parent to 

continue participating in family engagement services, the 

participant must comply with the terms of the services plan and 

any additional terms of the court order. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7481; Filed October 28, 2024, 10:18 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC20-121. Virginia Driver 

Training Schools Regulations (amending 24VAC20-121-

60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 46.2-203 and 46.2-1703 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Nicholas Megibow, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-6701, FAX (804) 

367-4336, or email nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) regulations are 

promulgated under the general authority of § 46.2-203 of the 

Code of Virginia, which grants DMV statutory authority to 

promulgate regulations necessary to carry out the laws 

administered by DMV. Section 46.2-1703 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes DMV to promulgate regulations that 

include curriculum requirements, contractual arrangements 

with students, obligations to students, facilities and equipment, 

qualifications and other requirements for instructors, school 

ownership requirements, surety bond requirements, and 

financial stability of schools. 

mailto:nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov
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Purpose: This action will reduce the regulatory burden on 

driver training school businesses without detrimentally 

affecting the health, safety, or welfare of citizens of the 

Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Because 

this action would reduce the regulatory burden on driver 

training school businesses without detrimentally affecting 

citizens of the Commonwealth, DMV anticipates that the 

action will be noncontroversial and therefore appropriate for 

the fast-track rulemaking process. 

Substance: This action removes the "collect" requirement from 

subsection A, amends subsection G to eliminate duplicative 

language, and eliminates subsection H in 24VAC20-121-60. 

Issues: The advantage to the public and the Commonwealth is 

that this action removes unnecessary regulatory requirements 

from the regulation and lessen the regulatory burden on driver 

training school businesses. This action does not present any 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) proposes to eliminate 

superfluous language and a provision in the regulation that 

conflicts with the Code of Virginia. 

Background. The current and proposed regulations both 

indicate that DMV may refuse to approve any application, 

including originals or renewals, in which the owner or any 

principal of the owner, or any of the school's employees or 

instructors has been convicted of any felony. The current 

regulation includes several examples of felonies. The agency 

proposes to remove the examples. The current regulation states 

that "To avoid any conflict of interest, the department will not 

approve any Class A school license for any applicant that is 

certified by DMV as a Third Party Tester for the commercial 

driver's license (CDL) skills testing." DMV proposes to 

eliminate this language since it conflicts with amendments 

made to § 46.2-326.1 of the Code of Virginia in 2019 that 

allows some Class A driver training schools to be third-party 

testers.2 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed removal of 

language that gives examples of felonies would not have a 

substantive impact. DMV has not enforced the prohibition 

against Class A (commercial motor vehicle) school licensure 

for those who are certified by DMV as a third-party tester for 

CDL skills testing since the legislation creating the conflict 

went into effect on October 1, 2019 of the Code of Virginia.3 

Thus, the proposed elimination of the text would not affect the 

law in effect and what is enforced in practice. To the extent that 

there are some third-party testers who have been interested in 

obtaining Class A school licensure, but thought they could not 

due to the existing language, the proposed elimination of the 

text may have some positive impact in better informing of 

available opportunities, possibly leading to the addition of a 

few more commercial motor vehicle driving schools. 

Similarly, if there are possessors of Class A school licensure 

who have had interest in also becoming third-party testers but 

thought they could not due to the existing language, the 

proposed amendment may lead to a few additional third-party 

testers. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal 

potentially affects the 30 Class A licensed driver training 

schools and third-party testers for CDL skills testing.4 The 

Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse 

impact may result from the proposed regulation.5 An adverse 

impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or 

reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined.6 The proposed 

amendments neither increase costs nor reduce benefits. Thus, 

no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments neither 

disproportionally affect particular localities nor introduce costs for 

local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. There may be a moderate 

increase in employment at Class A driving schools. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposal 

may lead to the formation of a small number of additional 

commercial motor vehicle driving schools. The proposed 

amendments do not affect real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 Chapters 78 and 155 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly amended § 46.2-326.1 of 

the Code of Virginia so that certain Class A driver training schools could be 

certified as third-party testers. See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-

bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0078+hil. 

3 Ibid. 

4 Data source: DMV. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0078+hil
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0078+hil


Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 7  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 18, 2024  

920 

6 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

8 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small businesses, 

§ 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include: (1) an 

identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the proposed 

regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 

required for small businesses to comply with the proposed regulation, including the 

type of professional skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents, (3) a statement of the probable effect of the proposed regulation on 

affected small businesses, and (4) a description of any less intrusive or less costly 

alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the proposed regulation. 

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding 

that a proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint 

Commission on Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

9 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

10 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Motor Vehicles has reviewed the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove the "collect" requirement, 

eliminate duplicative language, and reduce the regulatory 

burden on driver training school businesses. 

24VAC20-121-60. School licensing requirements. 

A. Schools seeking a license shall file with the department, as 

required by these regulations this chapter, a completed 

application for a driver training school license along with any 

associated fees and other documentation required by the 

department. In addition, each school shall collect and submit 

to the department, as required by these regulations this chapter, 

the instructor applications for those instructors that they 

employ along with any associated fees and other 

documentation required by the department. 

B. The following shall accompany the school licensing 

application and shall be in addition to any other application 

requirements of the department: 

1. An application fee; 

2. A certificate of insurance; 

3. A surety bond; 

4. Instructor applications; 

5. A local business license or zoning document, or a letter 

from local authorities indicating none is required; and 

6. A national criminal records check completed within 60 

days of the application deadline for each individual 

providing instruction or otherwise employed by or managing 

the school. 

In addition., each owner or principal of the owner of a driver 

training school shall submit a national criminal records check 

with the school license application package. 

C. The application package shall be submitted to the 

department in a format prescribed by the department. All 

proper applications will be either approved or denied within 30 

business days of receipt by the department. 

D. School licenses shall be valid for a period of 12 months 

and shall display the validity period on the face of the license. 

The school license shall expire on the last day of the last valid 

month of the license period. 

E. Schools seeking a license shall file with the department 

evidence of insurance, with a company authorized to do 

business in the Commonwealth of Virginia, on all vehicles 

used by schools to provide instruction, at least in the minimum 

amounts as required by § 46.2-472 of the Code of Virginia. 

The school shall provide and maintain evidence of insurance 

coverage on a certificate of insurance in a format prescribed by 

the department. The certificate shall be filed upon application 

and at other times of the licensure period as requested by the 

department. The certificate shall stipulate the make, model, 

year, vehicle identification number, vehicle color, and license 

plate number for all vehicles and shall also stipulate that the 

department will be notified by the insurance carrier (i) 10 

calendar days before the school's insurance policy expires or 

(ii) on the same day that the policy is canceled or not 

maintained in full force. 

Schools A school shall provide to the department verification 

from their the school's insurance company in a format 

prescribed by the department that the insurance company is 

aware the vehicles are used for driver training instruction and 

are operated by student drivers. Schools shall notify the 

department of any change in liability insurance coverage not 

later than the effective date of the change. 

Each school shall provide notice to the department's driver 

training school section in a format prescribed by the 

department in the event that any motor vehicle is added to or 

deleted from the insurance policy during the coverage period. 

The notice shall include the make, model, year, vehicle 

identification number, vehicle color, and the license plate 

number. The notice shall be received by the department prior 

to using any added motor vehicle for driver education 

instruction. Failure to maintain required liability insurance for 

school vehicles or failure to comply with insurance 

certification requirements shall result in the suspension or 

revocation of the school's license or the imposition of other 

sanctions, or both, as set forth in these regulations this chapter. 
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F. All licensed schools shall file with the department a surety 

bond in the sum set by statute for Class A and Class B schools, 

payable to the Commonwealth of Virginia, issued by a 

corporation licensed to transact surety business in the 

Commonwealth. The surety bond shall be filed with each 

application and must provide coverage for the entire licensure 

period. 

G. The department may refuse to approve any application, 

including originals or renewals, in which the owner or any 

principal of the owner, or any of the school's employees or 

instructors (i) have previously been or would be subject to any 

sanctions prescribed by these regulations this chapter or (ii) has 

been convicted of a any felony, including but not limited to 

bribery, forgery, fraud or embezzlement under the laws of the 

Commonwealth or any other jurisdiction, or a conviction of 

any offense included in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 

4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia (Criminal Sexual 

Assault) or of any similar laws of any other jurisdiction, or any 

misdemeanor or felony involving: 

1. Sexual assault as established in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) 

of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Obscenity and related offenses as established in Article 5 (§ 

18.2-372 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of Title 18.2 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

3. Drugs as established in Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of 

Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Crimes of moral turpitude; 

5. Contributing to the delinquency of a minor; 

6. Taking indecent liberties with a minor; 

7. The physical or sexual abuse or neglect of a child; 

8. Similar offenses in other jurisdictions; or 

9. Other offenses, as determined by the department, which 

would impact ownership, operation, or instruction by a school. 

Any school license issued may be suspended or revoked if such 

a conviction occurs during any licensure period. 

H. To avoid any conflict of interest, the department will not 

approve any Class A school license for any applicant that is 

certified by DMV as a Third Party Tester for the commercial 

driver's license (CDL) skills testing. 

I. H. Requests to change (i) the name or address of a school 

or (ii) a school license to add to or eliminate a licensed location, 

or any other business offices, classrooms, or other instructional 

facilities during the licensure period shall be made to the 

department at least 30 days prior to such change. Such changes 

shall be subject to a processing fee, as set forth in these 

regulations this chapter, and the issuance of a modified license, 

as requested. The expiration on any modified license issued 

shall be the same as the current license. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7906; Filed October 30, 2024, 8:14 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC20-121. Virginia Driver 

Training Schools Regulations (amending 24VAC20-121-

100). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 46.2-203 and 46.2-1703 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Nicholas Megibow, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-6701, FAX (804) 

367-4336, or email nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) regulations are 

promulgated under the general authority of § 46.2-203 of the 

Code of Virginia, which grants DMV statutory authority to 

promulgate regulations necessary to carry out the laws 

administered by the DMV. Section 46.2-1703 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes DMV to promulgate regulations that 

include curriculum requirements, contractual arrangements 

with students, obligations to students, facilities and equipment, 

qualifications and other requirements for instructors, school 

ownership requirements, surety bond requirements, and 

financial stability of schools. 

Purpose: This action reduces the regulatory burden on driver 

training school businesses without detrimentally affecting the 

health, safety, or welfare of citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Because 

this action would reduce the regulatory burden on driver 

training school businesses without detrimentally affecting the 

health, safety, or welfare of citizens of the Commonwealth, 

DMV anticipates that the action will be noncontroversial and 

therefore appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process. 

Substance: This action removes certain requirements related to 

driving records found in subsection B, removes the traffic 

accident notification requirement in subsection E, amends 

subsection G to eliminate duplicative language, and removes 

the high school diploma requirement for Class A driving 

instructors from subsection I in 24VAC20-121-100. 

Issues: The advantage to the public and the Commonwealth is 

that this action would remove unnecessary regulatory 

requirements from DMV regulations and lessen the regulatory 

burden on driver training school businesses. This action does 

not present any disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

mailto:nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov
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estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) proposes to eliminate 

certain general instructor licensing requirements from the 

regulation, including the requirement for a Class A instructor 

to have a high school diploma or equivalent. 

Background. DMV proposes to remove the following 

requirements: (i) that driving records must exhibit the 

individual's name, the driver's license number, the date of 

issue, the issuing jurisdiction, the date of expiration and 

notations of any convictions, license withdrawals, suspensions, 

revocations, cancellations, disqualifications, or restrictions; (ii) 

that instructor applicants and those licensed to teach in-vehicle 

instruction must report any traffic accidents related to driving 

within 15 days; and (iii) that Class A driving instructors have 

a high school diploma or equivalent. Class A training is for 

drivers of commercial motor vehicles. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. According to DMV, the agency 

already has all of the driving record required elements 

mentioned in its computer system. Thus, eliminating the 

elements of the driving records requirement would have no 

impact beyond perhaps reducing potential confusion by 

readers of the regulation. Concerning the requirement that 

instructor applicants and licensed instructors report traffic 

accidents, the agency states that it does not need to know about 

accidents that do not result in convictions, and that it is notified 

through its systems of convictions. To the extent that instructor 

applicants and licensed instructors have been reporting this 

information, the removal of this requirement would benefit 

them in that it would save them the time involved in reporting. 

Persons without a high school diploma or equivalent who wish 

to become a Class A driving instructor would benefit from the 

proposal to no longer require the degree or its equivalent to 

gain such licensure. Specifically, these persons would save the 

time and other required resources to gain the diploma or its 

equivalent. Removing this burden may result in a small 

increase in the number of persons who gain Class A driving 

instructor licensure. To the extent that there is an increase in 

the supply of licensed Class A driving instructors, some 

commercial motor vehicle driving schools may benefit from 

increased ease in finding qualified instructors. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments potentially affect the 324 licensed driver training 

schools and their instructors, as well as applicants for driving 

instructor licensure.2 Persons without a high school diploma or 

equivalent who wish to become a Class A driving instructor 

would be particularly affected. According to DMV, all or 

almost all licensed driver training schools are small businesses. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.3 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined.4 The proposed 

amendment neither increases costs nor reduces benefits. Thus, 

no adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments neither 

disproportionally affect particular localities nor introduce costs 

for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. There may be a moderate 

increase in employed Class A driving instructors. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the extent 

that there is an increase in the supply of licensed Class A 

driving instructors, some commercial motor vehicle driving 

schools may encounter reduced hiring costs, which may 

moderately increase their value. The proposed amendments do 

not affect real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 Data source: DMV. 

3 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

4 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

6 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 7  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 18, 2024  

923 

8 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Motor Vehicles has reviewed the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove certain requirements related to 

driving records, eliminate duplicative language, and remove 

the high school diploma requirement for Class A driving 

instructors. 

24VAC20-121-100. General instructor licensing 

requirements. 

A. Individuals seeking an instructor's license shall submit, as 

required by these regulations this chapter, a completed 

application along with any associated fees and other 

appropriate documentation to the school with which they are 

the individual is employed. Schools shall be responsible for 

submitting the instructor applications, along with any 

associated fees and other appropriate documentation, to the 

department, as required by these regulations this chapter. 

Applicants seeking an original or a renewal of an instructor's 

license shall submit with their the application a national 

criminal records check completed within 60 days of the 

submission date of the application. 

B. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age and must be 

able to document with driving records at least five years of 

licensed driving experience, two years of which shall be 

experience in the United States or a territory thereof. These 

driving records must exhibit the individual's name, the driver's 

license number, the date of issue, the issuing jurisdiction, the 

date of expiration and notations of any convictions, license 

withdrawals, suspensions, revocations, cancellations, 

disqualifications or restrictions. In the event an applicant uses 

driving records from a foreign country to substantiate licensed 

driving experience, such records must be translated into 

English by an appropriate authority, as approved by the 

department, at the applicant's expense. 

C. Individuals seeking an instructor's license must be 

employed by a licensed school. No instructor shall be 

employed by more than one school unless all the schools are 

owned by the same person. Instructors employed by more than 

one school shall have an application and other appropriate 

documentation and fees submitted to the department by each 

school that employs them the individual. 

D. Individuals licensed as instructors or seeking an 

instructor's license must be able to effectively communicate in 

English in an easily understood and comprehensible manner to 

their students and the department, as determined by the 

department. 

E. Individuals seeking an instructor's license to teach in-

vehicle instruction shall hold a valid driver's license from their 

the individual's state of domicile at the time of licensing and 

throughout the entire licensure period. If such driver's licenses 

are from another state or jurisdiction, the applicant must 

provide to the department a copy of their the applicant's driving 

record from that jurisdiction with their the application and 

every three months thereafter if they receive the applicant 

receives an instructor's license. Such driving record must be 

produced within 30 days of its submission submitting the 

driving record to the department. 

All applicants for a license to teach in-vehicle instruction and 

those persons who are currently licensed to teach in-vehicle 

instruction must also provide notice to the department, in a 

format prescribed by the department, of any traffic accidents, 

convictions of traffic infractions, misdemeanors, or felonies, as 

well as any administrative actions relating to driving or any 

driver's license revocation, suspension, cancellation, 

disqualification, or other loss of driving privileges within 15 

calendar days of the conviction or administrative action, or 

within 15 calendar days of the imposition of the revocation, 

suspension, cancellation, disqualification, or other loss of 

driving privileges. 

Applicants An applicant for a license to teach in-vehicle 

instruction shall not be approved if their the applicant's current 

driving privileges are expired, suspended, revoked, cancelled 

canceled, or disqualified. Persons Any person required to 

submit to periodic medical reviews may also be denied an in-

vehicle instructor's license if, as determined by the department, 

their the person's conditions are considered to pose a threat to 

the safety, health, or welfare of driver training students or the 

public while these persons operate the person operates a motor 

vehicle. 

F. Individuals who obtain an instructor's license shall at the 

time of licensing have a driving record with no more than six 

demerit points. After licensing, instructors shall maintain a 

driving record with no more than six demerit points. If, during 

the licensure period, the driving record of such individual 

accumulates more than six demerit points based on violations 

occurring in a 12-month period, the department shall suspend 

the person's instructor license and shall notify the instructor 

and the driver training school where the instructor is employed 

of such suspension. Safe driving points shall not be used to 

reduce the accumulated demerit points. In the event that the 

driving record is from another state, the department will apply 

Virginia's equivalent demerit points to convictions noted on 

such record. 

Whenever the driver's license of such individual is suspended 

or revoked, no longer has a valid driving credential or such 

person is convicted in any court of reckless driving, driving 

under the influence, or driving while intoxicated, the 

department shall suspend the person's instructor license and 

shall notify the person and the driver training school where the 

instructor is employed of the suspension. 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 7  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 18, 2024  

924 

G. The department may refuse to approve any application, 

including originals or renewals, in which the applicant has 

been convicted of a any felony, including but not limited to 

bribery, forgery, fraud or embezzlement under the laws of the 

Commonwealth or any other jurisdiction, or a conviction of 

any offense included in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 

4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia (Criminal Sexual 

Assault) or of any similar laws of any other jurisdiction, or any 

a misdemeanor or felony conviction involving: 

1. Sexual assault as established in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et 

seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Obscenity and related offenses as established in Article 5 

(§ 18.2-372 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of Title 18.2 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

3. Drugs as established in Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of 

Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Crimes of moral turpitude; 

5. Contributing to the delinquency of a minor; 

6. Taking indecent liberties with a minor; 

7. The physical or sexual abuse or neglect of a child; 

8. Similar offenses in other jurisdictions; or 

9. Other offenses, as determined by the department, which 

that would indicate that the applicant may present a danger 

to the safety of students or the public. 

Instructor licenses may be suspended or revoked if a 

conviction for any of the offenses outlined in this subsection 

occurs during any licensure period. 

H. Instructor applicants shall not be issued a license if they 

have the applicant has a conviction of driving under the 

influence, reckless driving, refusal to submit to a breath or 

blood test under § 18.2-268.2 of the Code of Virginia, or 

vehicular or involuntary manslaughter, or of any similar 

offense from any other jurisdiction within a period of five years 

prior to the date of the application. If the applicant's driving 

privileges were revoked for any such conviction, then the five-

year period shall be measured from the license restoration date 

rather than the conviction date. Instructor licenses issued shall 

be revoked if a conviction, as outlined in this subsection, 

occurs during the licensure period. 

I. Except as otherwise provided in these regulations, an An 

individual seeking an a Class B instructor's license shall have 

at least a high school diploma or equivalent. After initial 

licensure or renewal, Class A and Class B instructors shall 

attend annual training sessions provided by the department. 

These one-day training sessions shall be held in each of the 

department's regional districts every year, as deemed necessary 

by the department. 

These sessions shall include, as appropriate and necessary, 

updates on department forms, audit processes and other 

procedural changes, and new legislation that has implications 

for driver training. They also shall also include discussions 

about any issues or concerns raised by either the department or 

the licensees. 

When available, these sessions shall also offer information 

about the latest in driver training instructional techniques as 

well as other new developments in driver training in order to 

enhance overall professional training skills and abilities. 

The schedule for such training sessions shall be developed by 

the department and provided to each instructor through the 

school that employs them the instructor at least 30 days in 

advance of the scheduled sessions. The schedule also shall 

include provisions for a make-up training session for those 

licensees who could not attend the training session in their 

region. Attendance shall be mandatory and shall be at no cost 

to licensed instructors, other than those costs associated with 

travel to and from the training session, including lodging and 

meals. 

Each licensed instructor who, without valid excuse, fails to 

attend and complete a scheduled training session or a 

scheduled make-up training session shall be subject to a 

minimum 30-day license suspension, which shall not be lifted 

until the instructor has completed a special make-up training 

session. Special make-up training sessions shall be provided 

only when necessary, and instructors attending such sessions 

will be required to pay the department's cost for providing the 

special make-up training session. 

J. All instructors shall complete training on the current 

curriculum and other course work, as required and approved 

by the department, prior to instructing students. Evidence of 

such training shall be maintained by the school employing the 

instructor and provided to the department upon request. 

K. The fee for an instructor license shall be set pursuant to 

these regulations this chapter. The instructor's license period 

shall expire when the respective school license expires. At the 

discretion of the department, instructor licensing fees may be 

prorated on a monthly basis. 

L. The instructor license application package shall be 

submitted by the school employing the instructor to the 

department in a format prescribed by the department. All 

proper applications will be either approved or denied by the 

department within 30 business days of receipt from the school 

employing the instructor. 

M. All licensed instructors shall have their instructor's license 

in their possession at all times while providing instruction. 

N. Each instructor licensed by the department shall notify the 

department in a format prescribed by the department within 30 

days of establishing a new residential address. 

O. In the event that a school licensed by the department 

changes its name or address, the school shall, no later than 30 

days prior to such change (i) notify the department of the 
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school's name or address change, (ii) request revised 

instructor's licenses for the instructors it employs reflecting the 

change, and (iii) submit to the department the processing fees 

set forth in these regulations this chapter for revising and 

reissuing an instructor's license for each of its instructors. 

After receiving the processing fees, the department will revise 

and reissue the instructor's licenses, as requested, and will 

cancel the previously issued licenses. Once it receives the 

revised licenses from the department, the school shall return 

the cancelled instructor's licenses to the department. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7907; Filed October 30, 2024, 8:12 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC20-121. Virginia Driver 

Training Schools Regulations (amending 24VAC20-121-

180). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 46.2-203 and 46.2-1703 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: January 2, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Nicholas Megibow, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-6701, FAX (804) 

367-4336, or email nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) regulations are 

promulgated under the general authority of § 46.2-203 of the 

Code of Virginia, which grants DMV statutory authority to 

promulgate regulations necessary to carry out the laws 

administered by DMV. Section 46.2-1703 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes DMV to promulgate regulations that 

include curriculum requirements, contractual arrangements 

with students, obligations to students, facilities and equipment, 

qualifications and other requirements for instructors, school 

ownership requirements, surety bond requirements, and 

financial stability of schools. 

Purpose: This action reduces the regulatory burden on driver 

training school businesses without detrimentally affecting the 

health, safety, or welfare of citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Because 

this regulatory action will reduce the regulatory burden on 

driver training school businesses without detrimentally 

affecting citizens of the Commonwealth, DMV anticipates that 

the action will be noncontroversial and therefore appropriate 

for the fast-track rulemaking process. 

Substance: This action removes the requirement that the 

applicant for a Class A instructor's license must possess a valid 

Virginia nonrestricted interstate commercial driver's license, 

with the appropriate vehicle classes and endorsements for the 

type of instruction they intend to provide, for a period of least 

three years. 

Issues: The advantage to the public and the Commonwealth is 

that this action will remove unnecessary regulatory 

requirements from the regulation and lessen the regulatory 

burden on driver training school businesses. This action does 

not present any disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) proposes to remove 

from 24VAC20-121-180 Class A instructor license 

requirements one requirement and additional text that will no 

longer be applicable upon completion of a separate regulatory 

action. 

Background. Both the current and proposed regulations require 

that applicants for a Class A2 instructor's license possess a valid 

Virginia nonrestricted interstate commercial driver's license 

(CDL), with the appropriate vehicle classes and endorsements 

for the type of instruction they intend to provide. The current 

regulation also requires that the applicant must have held the 

valid Virginia nonrestricted interstate CDL for at least three 

years. However, the federal Entry Level Driver Training 

(ELDT) regulations do not have a minimum amount of time 

that the applicant must have had the interstate CDL. In order to 

be consistent with the federal regulations, DMV proposes to 

eliminate the requirement that the interstate CDL has been held 

for at least three years. The current 24VAC20-121-100 General 

instructor licensing requirements states that "Except as 

otherwise provided in these regulations, an individual seeking 

an instructor's license shall have at least a high school diploma 

or equivalent." The current 24VAC20-121-180, Class A 

instructor license requirements, states that: "Applicants for a 

Class A instructor's license who do not have a high school 

diploma may nevertheless be licensed if they provide evidence 

in a format prescribed by the department that they (i) have at 

least one year of previous Class A instructing experience or (ii) 

have successfully completed a Class A driver training course 

and a minimum of 160 hours of Class A instructor training 

provided by the hiring school." Since the federal ELDT 

regulations do not a require high school diploma or its 

equivalent for Class A driver training instructors, DMV is 

proposing to repeal that requirement in the 24VAC20-121-100, 

General instructor licensing requirements, in a separate 

regulatory action.3 With the repeal of the high school diploma 

requirement, the quoted 24VAC20-121-180 Class A instructor 

license requirements text above would be misleading and 

unnecessary. Consequently, the agency proposes to repeal it as 

well. 

mailto:nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov
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Estimated Benefits and Costs. Eliminating the requirement that 

the interstate CDL has been held for at least three years in order 

to qualify for a Class A instructor's license would likely 

increase the pool of potential candidates who could be hired as 

instructors by Class A driver training schools. To the extent 

that at least some of the schools would be interested in hiring 

instructors who have had an interstate CDL for fewer than 

three years, this proposed change could be beneficial for both 

such schools and individuals interested in becoming instructors 

who have held an interstate CDL for fewer than three years. 

Assuming that the repeal of the high school diploma or its 

equivalent requirement (via the separate regulatory action) 

becomes effective, the text starting with "Applicants for a 

Class A instructor's license who do not have a high school 

diploma may nevertheless be licensed if..." would wrongly 

imply that a high school diploma or its equivalent would be 

required for Class A instructor's license outside of the 

elucidated circumstances. Since this text would be both 

misleading and unnecessary, repealing it would be beneficial. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect future Class A instructor's license 

applicants and the 30 Class A licensed driver training schools 

in the Commonwealth that would employ them.4 According to 

DMV, all or almost all are small businesses. The Code of 

Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact 

may result from the proposed regulation.5 An adverse impact 

is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs 

for all entities combined.6 The proposed amendments neither 

increase costs nor reduce benefits. Thus, no adverse impact is 

indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments neither 

disproportionally affect particular localities nor introduce costs 

for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. To the extent that there are 

schools who have difficulty filling Class A instructor positions, 

and such schools would be interested in hiring instructors who 

have had an interstate CDL for fewer than three years, there 

may be a modest increase in the employment of Class A 

driving instructors. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the extent 

that there are schools who have difficulty filling Class A 

instructor positions, and such schools would be willing to hire 

instructors who have had an interstate CDL for fewer than 

three years, then the proposed elimination of the three-year 

requirement may enable these schools to potentially serve 

more clients, increasing their revenue and value. The proposed 

amendments do not affect real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 Class A training is for drivers of commercial motor vehicles. 

3 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=6470. 

4 Data source: DMV. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

8 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

9 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

10 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Motor Vehicles has reviewed the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove the requirement that an applicant 

for a Class A instructor's license must possess a valid 

Virginia nonrestricted interstate commercial driver's 

license, with the appropriate vehicle classes and 

endorsements for the type of instruction they intend to 

provide, for a period of least three years. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=6470
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24VAC20-121-180. Class A instructor license 

requirements. 

A. Applicants for a Class A instructor's license shall possess 

a valid Virginia nonrestricted interstate commercial driver's 

license (CDL), with the appropriate vehicle classes and 

endorsements for the type of instruction they intend the 

applicant intends to provide, and that has been held by the 

applicant for at least three years. 

Applicants for a Class A instructor's license who do not have 

a high school diploma may nevertheless be licensed if they 

provide evidence in a format prescribed by the department that 

they (i) have at least one year of previous Class A instructing 

experience or (ii) have successfully completed a Class A driver 

training course and a minimum of 160 hours of Class A 

instructor training provided by the hiring school. 

Instructor applicants shall provide with their applications 

certifications that they meet the applicant meets the physical 

requirements, and any alcohol and drug screening 

requirements for commercial drivers as specified in the federal 

motor carrier safety regulations. A copy of such certification 

shall be kept in the instructor's file maintained by the driver 

training school employing the instructor. 

If applicants for a Class A instructor's license hold a valid 

commercial driver's license (CDL) from a state other than 

Virginia at the time of licensing, they the applicant shall 

maintain a valid CDL throughout the entire licensure period 

and shall provide to the department a copy of their the 

applicant's driving record from that other state or states upon 

application and, if licensed as a Class A instructor by the 

department, on a quarterly basis thereafter. 

Those applicants for and holders of a Class A instructor's 

license shall also provide notice to the department in a format 

prescribed by the department of any conviction of traffic 

infractions, misdemeanors, or felonies, any administrative 

actions relating to driving or any driver's license revocation, 

suspension, cancellation, disqualification or other loss of 

driving privilege within 15 calendar days of the conviction or 

administrative action, or within 15 calendar days of the 

imposition of the revocation, suspension, cancellation, 

disqualification, or other loss of driving privilege. 

B. Instructors shall complete in-service instructor training 

provided by the school prior to offering student instruction. 

The requirements of such in-service instructor training shall be 

established and made available to licensed Class A schools by 

the department and shall include, but not be limited to, the 

following topic areas: 

1. Basic instructional skills; 

2. Student teaching with a mentor; 

3. Background in federal, state, and local laws and 

ordinances; 

4. Basic skills for operating commercial motor vehicles; 

5. Safe operating practices; 

6. Maintenance of commercial motor vehicles; and 

7. Safe trip planning. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7909; Filed October 30, 2024, 8:12 a.m. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-92. Secondary Street 

Acceptance Requirements (amending 24VAC30-92-10, 

24VAC30-92-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.2-210 and 33.2-334 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 18, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 

225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 425 of the 2022 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments to the Secondary Street Acceptance 

Requirements increase flexibility to connectivity elements, 

including (i) adding a definition of underground utility 

trunk easement and (ii) adding waivers and modifications 

for certain connectivity requirements. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

24VAC30-92-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in these 

regulations shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Abandonment" in all its forms means the legislative action 

reserved for and granted to the local governing body to 

extinguish the public's right to a roadway under the jurisdiction 

of the Virginia Department of Transportation pursuant to 

§§ 33.2-909 and 33.2-912 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Accessible route" means a public or private continuous, 

unobstructed, stable, firm, and slip-resistant path connecting 

all accessible elements of a facility, (which may include 

parking access aisles, curb ramps, crosswalks at vehicular 

ways, walks, ramps, and lifts), that can be approached, entered, 

and used by persons with disabilities. An accessible route shall, 

to the maximum extent feasible, coincide with the route for the 

general public. 

"ADT" means average daily traffic count (see "projected 

traffic"). 

mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 7  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 18, 2024  

928 

"Applicable former requirements" means the 2005 

Subdivision Street Requirements for developments submitted 

prior to July 1, 2009, and the 2009 edition of the Secondary 

Street Acceptance Requirements for developments submitted 

between July 1, 2009, and January 31, 2012, inclusive. 

"Best management practice" or "BMP" means schedules of 

activities; prohibitions of practices, including both structural 

and nonstructural practices; maintenance procedures; and other 

management practices to prevent or reduce the pollution of 

surface waters and groundwater systems from the impacts of 

land-disturbing activities. 

"Clear zone" means the total border area of a roadway, 

including, if any, parking lanes or planting strips, that is 

sufficiently wide for an errant vehicle to avoid a serious 

accident. (See the Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT) and its 

Appendix B (1) (the Subdivision Street Design Guide) for 

details.) 

"Commissioner" means the chief executive officer of the 

Virginia Department of Transportation or his the chief 

executive officer's designee. 

"Conceptual sketch" means a drawing of the proposed 

development showing the location of existing and proposed 

land uses, any existing and proposed transportation facilities, 

and any additional information required so that the reviewer 

can determine the appropriate functional classification of the 

proposed street or streets and verify if the connectivity 

standards have been met. 

"Cul-de-sac" means a street with only one outlet and having 

an appropriate turnaround for a safe and convenient reverse 

traffic movement. 

"Dam" means an embankment or structure intended or used 

to impound, retain, or store water, either as a permanent pond 

or as a temporary storage facility. 

"Department" or "VDOT" means the Virginia Department of 

Transportation. 

"Design speed" means a speed selected for purposes of design 

and correlation of those features of a street such as curvature, 

super elevation, and sight distance, upon which the safe 

operation of vehicles is dependent. 

"Developer" means an individual, corporation, local 

government, or registered partnership engaged in the 

subdivision, improvement, or renovation of land. 

"Discontinuance," in all its forms, means the legislative act of 

the Commonwealth Transportation Board, pursuant to § 33.2-

908 of the Code of Virginia, that determines that a road no 

longer serves public convenience warranting its maintenance 

with funds at the disposal of the department. 

"District administrator" means the department employee 

assigned the overall supervision of the departmental operations 

in one of the Commonwealth's construction districts. 

"District administrator's designee" means the department 

employee or employees designated by the district 

administrator to oversee the implementation of this regulation. 

"Drainage Manual" means the department's Drainage 

Manual, 2002. 

"Dwelling unit" means a structure or part of a structure 

containing sleeping, kitchen, and bathroom facilities that is 

suitable for occupancy as a home or residence by one or more 

persons. 

"Easement" means a grant of a right to use property of an 

owner for specific or limited purpose. 

"FAR" means floor area ratio, which is the ratio of the total 

floor area of a building or buildings on a parcel to the land area 

of the parcel where the building or buildings are is located. 

"Functional classification" means the assigned classification 

of a roadway based on the roadway's intended purpose of 

providing priority to through traffic movement and access to 

adjoining property as determined by the department, based on 

the federal system of classifying groups of roadways according 

to the character of service they are intended to provide. 

"Governing body" means the board of supervisors of the 

county, but may also mean the local governing body of a town 

or city, if appropriate, in the application of these requirements. 

"Level of service" means a qualitative measure describing 

operational conditions within a vehicular traffic stream, and 

their perception by motorists and passengers. For the purposes 

of these requirements, the applicable provisions of the 

Highway Capacity Manual, 2010 (TRB) shall serve as the basis 

for determining "levels of service." 

"Locally controlled grade separation structure" means a grade 

separation structure that does not qualify for maintenance by 

the department but was established within the right-of-way of 

a street intended for state maintenance. 

"Local official" means the representative of the governing 

body appointed to serve as its agent in matters relating to 

subdivisions and land development. 

"Multiuse trail" means a facility designed and constructed for 

the purpose of providing bicycle and pedestrian transportation, 

that is located within a dedicated public way and is anticipated 

to be maintained by an entity other than the department. 

"Municipal separate storm sewer system" or "MS4" means all 

separate storm sewers that are designated under 9VAC25-870-

380 as municipal separate storm sewer systems. 

"Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System Management 

Program" or "MS4 Program" means a management program 

covering the duration of a permit for a municipal separate 

storm sewer system that includes a comprehensive planning 

process that involves public participation and 

intergovernmental coordination, to reduce the discharge of 
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pollutants to the maximum extent practicable, to protect water 

quality, and to satisfy the appropriate water quality 

requirements of the Clean Water Act and corresponding 

regulations and the Virginia Stormwater Management Act and 

attendant regulations, using management practices, control 

techniques, and system, design, and engineering methods, and 

such other provisions that are appropriate. 

"Network addition" means a group of interconnected street 

segments and intersections shown in a plan of development 

that are connected to the state highway system. 

"Parking bay" means an off-street area for parking two or 

more vehicles that provides access to a public street. 

"Parking lane" means an area, generally seven or eight feet in 

width, adjacent to and parallel with the travel lane of a roadway 

that is used for parking vehicles. 

"Pavement Design Guide" means the Pavement Design Guide 

for Subdivision and Secondary Roads in Virginia, 2009 

(VDOT). 

"Permit Regulations" means the department's Land Use 

Permit Regulations (24VAC30-151). 

"Phased development (streets)" means the method outlined in 

24VAC30-92-80 (phased development of streets) whereby the 

acceptance of certain streets into the secondary system of state 

highways may be considered before being completely 

developed in accordance with all applicable requirements (e.g., 

two lanes of a four-lane facility are considered for acceptance 

in advance of lanes three and four being finished). 

"Plan of development" means any site plat, subdivision plan, 

preliminary subdivision plat, conceptual subdivision sketch, or 

other engineered or surveyed drawings depicting proposed 

development of land and street layout, including plans 

included with rezoning proposals. 

"Plans" means the standard drawings, including profile and 

roadway typical section, that show the location, character, 

dimensions, and details for the proposed construction of the 

street. 

"Planting strip" means a section of land between the curb face 

and the pedestrian accommodation or shared use path. 

"Plat" means the schematic representation of the land divided 

or to be divided. 

"Projected traffic" means the number of vehicles, normally 

expressed in average daily traffic (ADT), forecast to travel 

over the segment of the street involved. 

"Public street" means a street dedicated to public use and 

available to the public's unrestricted use without regard to the 

jurisdictional authority responsible for its operation and 

maintenance. 

"Requirements" means the design, construction, public 

benefit, and related administrative considerations herein 

prescribed in this chapter for the acceptance of a street for 

maintenance by the department as part of the secondary system 

of state highways. 

"Right-of-way" means the land, property, or interest therein, 

usually in a strip, acquired for or devoted to a public street 

designated to become part of the secondary system of state 

highways. 

"Roadway" means the portion of the road or street within the 

limits of construction and all structures, ditches, channels, etc., 

necessary for the correct drainage thereof. 

"Secondary system of state highways" means those public 

roads, streets, bridges, etc., established by a local governing 

body pursuant to § 33.2-705 of the Code of Virginia and 

subsequently accepted by the department for supervision and 

maintenance under the provisions of Article 3 (§ 33.2-324 et 

seq.) of Chapter 3 and Article 2 (§ 33.2-908 et seq.) of Chapter 

9 of Title 33.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Shared use path" means a facility that is designed and 

constructed according to the Road Design Manual, 2011 

(VDOT), for the purpose of providing bicycle and pedestrian 

transportation. 

"Specifications" means the department's Road and Bridge 

Specifications, 2007, revised 2011, including related 

supplemental specifications and special provisions. 

"Standards" means the applicable drawings and related 

criteria contained in the department's Road and Bridge 

Standards, 2008, revised 2011. 

"Storm sewer system" means a conveyance or system of 

conveyances and its appurtenances, including roads with 

drainage systems, municipal streets, catch basins, curbs, 

gutters, ditches, manmade channels, or and storm drains. 

"Street" means any roadway that is created as part of a plan 

of development, other subdivision of land, or is constructed by 

or at the direction of the local governing body and is a public 

way for purposes of vehicular traffic, including the entire area 

within the right-of-way. 

"Stub out" means a transportation facility (i) whose right-of-

way terminates at a parcel abutting the development,; (ii) that 

consists of a short segment that is intended to serve current and 

future development by providing continuity and connectivity 

of the public street network,; (iii) that, based on the spacing 

between the stub out and other streets or stub outs, and the 

current terrain, there is a reasonable expectation that 

connection with a future street is possible,; and (iv) that is 

constructed to the property line. 

"Subdivision" means the division of a lot, tract, or parcel into 

two or more lots, plats, sites, or other divisions of land for the 

purpose, whether immediate or future, of sale or of building 

development. Any resubdivision of a previously subdivided 

tract or parcel of land shall also be interpreted as a 
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"subdivision." The division of a lot or parcel permitted by 

§ 15.2-2244 of the Code of Virginia will not be considered a 

"subdivision" under this definition, provided no new road or 

street is thereby established. However, any further division of 

such parcels shall be considered a "subdivision." 

"Subdivision Street Design Guide" means Appendix B (1) of 

the Road Design Manual, 2011 (VDOT). 

"Swale" means a broad depression within which stormwater 

may drain during inclement weather, but that does not have a 

defined bed or banks. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" is a water quality 

term that means the sum of the individual wasteload allocations 

for point sources, load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, 

natural background loading, and a margin of safety. TMDLs 

can be expressed in terms of either mass per time, toxicity, or 

other appropriate measure. The TMDL process provides for 

point versus nonpoint source trade-offs. 

"Traveled way" means the portion of the secondary street 

designated for the movement of vehicles, exclusive of 

shoulders, parking areas, turn lanes, etc. 

"Tree well" means an opening on a sidewalk, generally 

abutting the curb, where a tree may be planted. 

"Underground utility trunk easement" means an easement for 

the accommodation of an existing underground utility trunk 

line; specifically, those lines used to carry utilities, such as 

power, fuel, information, or water, from central facilities to 

smaller distribution networks but not used for distribution of 

the utility's services to individual customers. 

"VPD" means vehicles per day. 

"VPH" means vehicles per hour. 

"Wasteload allocation" or "wasteload" or "WLA" means the 

portion of a receiving surface water's loading or assimilative 

capacity allocated to one of its existing or future point sources 

of pollution. WLAs are a type of water quality-based effluent 

limitation. 

"Watercourse" means a defined channel with bed and banks 

within which water flows, either continuously or periodically. 

24VAC30-92-60. Public benefit requirements. 

A. Public benefit. A street or network addition may only be 

accepted by the department for maintenance as part of the 

secondary system of state highways if it provides sufficient 

public benefit to justify perpetual public maintenance as 

defined by this chapter. A street shall be considered to provide 

sufficient public benefit if it meets or exceeds the public 

service, pedestrian accommodation, and connectivity 

requirements of this chapter. 

B. Public service requirements. In the event the governing 

body requests the addition of a street or network addition 

before it meets these public service provisions, the district 

administrator will review each request on an individual case 

basis and determine if the acceptance of a street prior to normal 

service requirements is justified, provided the street or network 

addition meets all other applicable requirements, including the 

connectivity requirements, of this chapter. At the request of the 

local governing body, subject to approval by the district 

administrator, the public service requirements may be reduced 

for individual streets serving state or local economic 

development projects. 

1. Individual streets. For the purpose of these requirements, 

public service may include, but is not necessarily limited to, 

streets meeting one or more of the following situations: 

a. Serves three or more occupied units with a unit being a 

single-family residence, owner-occupied apartment, 

owner-occupied residence in a qualifying manufactured 

home park, a stand-alone business, or single business 

entity occupying an individual building, or other similar 

facility. Also, streets serving manufactured home parks 

may only be considered when the land occupied by the 

manufactured home is in fee simple ownership by the 

residents of such manufactured home. 

b. Constitutes a connecting segment between other streets 

that qualify from the point of public service. 

c. Such street is a stub out. 

d. Serves as access to schools, churches, public sanitary 

landfills, transfer stations, public recreational facilities, or 

similar facilities open to public use. 

e. Serves at least 100 vehicles per day generated by an 

office building, industrial site, or other similar 

nonresidential land use in advance of the occupancy of 

three or more such units of varied proprietorship. Any 

addition under this provision shall be limited to the 

segment of a street that serves this minimum projected 

traffic and has been developed in compliance with these 

requirements. 

f. Constitutes a part of the network of streets envisioned in 

the transportation plan or element of a locality's 

comprehensive plan that, at the time of acceptance, serves 

an active traffic volume of at least 100 vehicles per day. 

2. Multifamily, townhouse, and retail shopping complexes. 

A through street that serves a multifamily building may be 

considered for maintenance as part of the secondary system 

of state highways if it is deemed by the department to 

provide a public service and provided it is well defined and 

the district administrator's designee determines that it is not 

a travel way through a parking lot. 

Entrance streets and the internal traffic circulation systems 

of retail shopping complexes qualify only if more than three 

property owners are served and the district administrator's 

designee determines that it the street or system is not a travel 

way through a parking lot. 
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3. Network additions. A network addition shall be 

considered to provide service if each street within the 

addition meets at least one of the criteria in subdivision 1 of 

this subsection. 

4. Special exceptions. There may be other sets of 

circumstances that could constitute public service. 

Consequently, any request for clarification regarding 

unclear situations should be made in writing to the district 

administrator's designee. 

C. Connectivity requirements. All streets in a development as 

shown in a plan of development shall be considered for 

acceptance into the secondary system of state highways as one 

or multiple network additions. However, streets with a 

functional classification of collector and above may be eligible 

for acceptance as individual streets. 

For the purposes of this subsection, connection shall mean a 

street connection to an adjacent property or a stub out that will 

allow for future street connection to an adjacent property. 

The connectivity requirements of this chapter shall not apply 

to the following: a frontage road or reverse frontage road as 

defined in the Access Management Regulations (24VAC-30-

73 24VAC30-73), streets petitioned for acceptance into the 

secondary system of state highways through the Rural 

Addition Program pursuant to §§ 33.2-335 and 33.2-336 of the 

Code of Virginia, or streets petitioned for acceptance into the 

secondary system of state highways through the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board's Rural Addition Policy, 

provided such streets were constructed prior to January 1, 

2012. 

1. Stub out connection standard. If a stub out or stub outs 

maintained by the department adjoin adjoins the property of 

a development with a network addition or individual street 

proposed for acceptance into the secondary system of state 

highways, such network addition or individual street must 

connect to such stub out or stub outs to be eligible for 

acceptance into the secondary system of state highways. The 

district administrator may waive this requirement if the 

existing stub out is of such design as to make such a 

connection unsafe. 

2. Multiple connections in multiple directions standard. The 

streets within a network addition may be accepted into the 

secondary system of state highways if the network addition 

provides at least two external connections, one of which 

must be to a publicly maintained highway and the other 

providing a connection to a different highway or a stub out 

to an adjoining property. Local street stub outs generally 

should not exceed 500 feet in length. If a stub out is 

constructed, the applicant shall post a sign in accordance 

with the department's standards that indicates that such stub 

out is a site for a future roadway connection. Nothing in this 

chapter shall be construed as to prohibit a stub out from 

providing service to lots within a development. The district 

administrator's designee shall waive or modify the second 

required connection of this standard if one or more of the 

following situations renders the provision of such 

connection impracticable: 

a. The adjoining property is completely built out, its state 

is such that redevelopment within 20 years is unlikely, and 

there is no stub out (either constructed or platted) to the 

property served by the network addition; 

b. The adjoining property is zoned for a use whose traffic 

is incompatible with the development being served by the 

network addition, providing provided, however, that in no 

case shall retail, residential, or office uses be considered 

incompatible with other retail, residential, or office uses; 

or 

c. There is no reasonable connection possible to adjoining 

property or adjacent highways due to a factor outside the 

control of the developer of the network addition, such as 

including the presence of conservation easements not put 

in place by the developer of the network addition, 

underground utility trunk easement not put in place by the 

developer of the network addition, water features such as 

rivers or lakes, jurisdictional wetlands, grades in excess of 

15% whose total elevation change is greater than five feet, 

limited access highways, railroads, or government 

property to which access is restricted.; or 

d. The network addition was constructed in accordance 

with an overall plan of development approved by the 

department and the locality as meeting all the 

requirements of this chapter, and the additional phase of 

the development allowing the network addition to meet 

connectivity is under construction. 

3. Additional connections standard. Network additions 

providing direct access to (i) more than 200 dwelling units 

or (ii) lots whose trip generation is expected to be over 2,000 

VPD may be accepted into the secondary system of state 

highways if the network addition provides an additional 

external connection beyond that required under subdivision 

2 of this subsection for each additional 200 dwelling units or 

2,000 VPD or portion of each over and above the initial 200 

dwelling units or 2,000 VPD. For the purposes of this 

requirement, each external connection of collector facilities 

that are is an elements element of the county's transportation 

plan and to which there is no direct lot access provided 

counts as two external connections. 

a. The district administrator's designee shall waive or 

modify this additional connections standard if one or more 

of the following situations renders the provision of such 

connection impracticable: 

a. (1) The adjoining property is completely built out, its 

state is such that redevelopment within 20 years is 

unlikely, and there is no stub out (either constructed or 

platted) to the property served by the network addition; 
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b. (2) The adjoining property is zoned for a use whose 

traffic is incompatible with the development being served 

by the network addition, providing provided, however, 

that in no case shall retail, residential, or office uses be 

considered incompatible with other retail, residential, or 

office uses; 

c. In developments with (3) The development has a 

median density of more than eight lots per acre or with a 

FAR of 0.4 or higher, where and the number of 

connections provided would be contrary to the public 

interest; [ or ] 

d. (4) There is no reasonable connection possible to 

adjoining property or adjacent highways due to a factor 

outside the control of the developer of the network 

addition, such as including the presence of conservation 

easements not put in place by the developer of the network 

addition, underground utility trunk easement not put in 

place by the developer of the network addition, water 

features such as rivers or lakes, jurisdictional wetlands, 

grades in excess of 15% whose total elevation change is 

greater than five feet, limited access highways, railroads, 

or government property to which access is restricted [ . ; 

or ] 

(5) The network addition was constructed in accordance 

with an overall plan of development approved by the 

department and the locality as meeting all the 

requirements of this chapter, and the additional phase of 

the development allowing the network addition to meet 

connectivity is under construction.  

b. The district administrator's designee may also waive or 

modify this additional connections standard if, in the 

written opinion of the applicant and locality's chief 

executive or designee, the provision of such connection is 

impracticable or unwarranted for any of the following 

reasons: (i) there are topographic constraints; (ii) the 

provision is incompatible with an existing adjoining 

development; (iii) the adjoining property is completely 

built out as envisioned in the locality's comprehensive 

plan with no expectation of redevelopment in the next 20 

years and there is no stub out (either constructed or 

platted) to the property served by the network addition; 

(iv) the connection would impact the developer's ability to 

comply with any local ordinances related to the 

preservation of open space or trees during the land 

development process, after a good faith effort to comply 

with connectivity requirements and local ordinances; (v) 

the connection would require work outside the right-of-

way (existing or proposed) or easements on an adjoining 

property outside of the control of the developer; or (vi) 

other factors as determined by the applicant and locality's 

chief executive or designee. The district administrator's 

designee shall respond to requests for such connectivity 

exceptions within 30 calendar days of receipt of a 

completed VDOT request form. 

4. Individual street standard. Streets that are not part of a 

network addition shall be accepted into the secondary 

system of state highways upon petition by the local 

governing body as long as they meet the requirements of the 

applicable design standard and one terminus of the street is 

an intersection with a roadway that is part of the existing 

publicly maintained highway network and the other terminus 

is either an intersection with a roadway that is part of the 

existing publicly maintained highway network or a stub out 

to an adjoining property. Streets considered for individual 

acceptance should be (i) streets that provide a connection 

between two existing publicly maintained streets or (ii) 

streets with a functional classification as collector or higher. 

5. Connectivity exceptions. Where the above standards for 

waiver or modification described in this section have been 

met, the connectivity requirements for a network addition 

shall be waived or modified by the district administrator's 

designee. The developer shall submit any request for 

connectivity waiver or modification to the district 

administrator's designee with a copy to the local official. The 

district administrator's designee shall respond to requests for 

connectivity exceptions within 30 calendar days of receipt 

of a request. For projects where a scoping meeting pursuant 

to the Traffic Impact Analysis Regulations (24VAC30-155) 

will be held, requests for exceptions and supporting data 

should be presented and discussed. 

6. In instances where there is potential for conflict between 

this chapter and the Access Management Regulations: Minor 

Arterials, Collectors, and Local Streets (24VAC30-73), the 

following shall apply: 

a. For streets with a functional classification of collector 

where additional connections necessary to meet the 

connectivity requirements of this chapter cannot be 

accommodated within the applicable spacing standards 

and cannot otherwise be met through connections to lower 

order roadways or stub outs, such spacing standards shall 

be modified by the district administrator's designee to 

allow for such connection. Such connection or 

connections shall be required to meet intersection sight 

distance standards specified in the Road Design Manual, 

2011 (VDOT). 

b. For streets with a functional classification of minor 

arterial where additional connections necessary to meet 

the connectivity requirements of this chapter cannot be 

accommodated within the applicable spacing standards 

and cannot otherwise be met through connections to lower 

order roadways or stub outs, the district administrator's 

designee shall, in consultation with the developer and the 

local official, either modify the applicable spacing 

standards to allow for such connection or connections, or 

modify the connectivity requirements of this chapter to 

account for the inability to make such connection. Such 

connection shall be required to meet intersection sight 
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distance as specified in the Road Design Manual, 2011 

(VDOT). 

c. For streets with a functional classification of principal 

arterial where additional connections necessary to meet 

the external connectivity requirements of this chapter 

cannot be accommodated within the applicable spacing 

standards and cannot otherwise be met through 

connections to lower order roadways or stub outs, the 

connectivity requirements shall be modified by the district 

administrator's designee to account for the inability to 

make such connection. 

7. Failure to connect. If a local government approves a 

subdivision plat for a new development that does not connect 

to a stub out or stub outs in an adjacent development and 

such development's network addition or individual street 

would meet the applicable requirements of this chapter if it 

connected to a stub out or stub outs in the adjacent 

development, the network addition or individual street may 

or may not be accepted into the secondary system of state 

highways for maintenance pursuant to the authority granted 

to the district administrators in accordance with 24VAC30-

92-100. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (24VAC30-92) 

Secondary Street Acceptance Requirements Exception Form 

(eff. 5/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7622; Filed October 30, 2024, 8:44 a.m.

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/SSAR%20Exception%20Form%20(eff.%205-2024)-20240531104956.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/24VAC30/forms/SSAR%20Exception%20Form%20(eff.%205-2024)-20240531104956.pdf
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EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER THIRTY-NINE (2024) 

Promoting Transparency and Efficiency in 
Permitting and Licensing 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the 

Commonwealth, I hereby issue this Executive Order to ensure 

our Commonwealth supports the thousands of Virginians 

applying for permits, licenses, certifications, registrations, and 

other forms of agency approval. 

Importance of the Initiative 

In 2022, I established the Office of Regulatory Management 

and the Office of Transformation to improve government 

efficacy and efficiency to further ensure Virginia is the best 

place to live, work, and raise a family. In the few years since 

then, much progress has been achieved through both offices. 

The Office of Regulatory Management (ORM), which was 

created by Executive Order (EO) 19, was tasked with 

modernizing the regulatory and permitting processes in the 

Commonwealth. Since its creation in June 2022, it has made 

great strides both in modernizing regulations in order to 

alleviate burdens on Virginia citizens and promoting 

regulatory transparency. As part of EO 19's directive to reduce 

regulatory requirements by 25%, agencies have now 

eliminated or streamlined over 50,000 regulatory requirements 

and saved Virginia citizens over $1.2 billion. ORM has also 

implemented reforms that have created a far more transparent 

regulatory process. As a result of these efforts, 100% of all 

regulatory actions (including those that otherwise are exempt 

from the Administrative Process Act) and guidance document 

changes are now posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

website and accompanied by a cost-benefit analysis. 

The Office of Transformation was directed in Executive Order 

5 to enable Secretariats and their agencies to deliver a great 

customer experience to Virginians. In less than three years, the 

Office of Transformation jump-started unprecedented 

transformation in customer service, operational streamlining 

and performance, and cross-agency program improvements. At 

the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) service centers, 

customer wait times were cut by more than 70% for the 3.5 

million Virginians who annually frequent DMV from 37 to 10 

minutes. At the Virginia Employment Commission (VEC), 

over 1.3 million unemployment work items were eliminated, 

and VEC went from being last and third from last in U.S. 

Department of Labor national timeliness rankings to top 20 in 

the two key metrics (first pay timeliness and timeliness 

payments). Through critical cross agency initiatives, the Office 

of Transformation enabled radical improvements in support for 

those with critical mental health needs (Right Help, Right 

Now) and those reentering society following incarceration 

(Stand Tall-Stay Strong-Succeed Together). 

ORM and Transformation also partnered to improve 

Virginians' experience in another critical area. From Day 1, a 

major focus of my Administration has been achieving a 

"streamlining of the regulatory/permitting approval processes 

of all agencies to achieve a substantial shortening of the time 

required for an approval [or rejection]."1 

Each year, Virginia agencies issue more than 400,000 permits, 

licenses, certifications, registrations, and other forms of agency 

approval ("approvals"). This includes over 600 different types 

of approvals. These are in addition to the almost 3 million 

traditional driver's licenses and gaming licenses issued 

annually.2 

Issuing approvals is a critical function undertaken by our state 

government. These approvals implement important safeguards 

to protect our Commonwealth's public health, safety, and 

welfare. For example: restaurant permits ensure that citizens 

are served safe and high-quality food when dining out; 

environmental permits prevent land degradation and promote 

a safe drinking water supply; professional licenses guarantee 

that teachers, nurses, contractors, and other skilled 

practitioners possess the necessary skills to undertake their 

chosen occupation. 

Unfortunately, too often we do not ensure Virginia businesses 

and residents have a great customer experience when applying 

for approvals. Receiving an approval in a timely manner can 

make the difference between success and failure. Time spent 

waiting for an approval is time that could otherwise be spent 

building houses, teaching students, or undertaking hundreds of 

other productive activities. In FY2024, it took on average 10 

days to process completed approval applications resulting in 

over 11,000 years of waiting. Reducing waiting times by 10% 

would result in Virginians waiting 1,100 years less annually. 

That freed-up time includes Virginians getting to work earlier 

with their professional licenses, development completed 

earlier for housing, and major projects achieved earlier to 

address critical infrastructure. And it would save Virginians 

millions of dollars by allowing them to undertake productive 

activities more quickly. 

In addition, the process for issuing approvals often fails to take 

advantage of 21st century technology. Many agencies still rely 

on paper processing and the approval process can often be 

opaque, with applicants unable to determine how long it will 

take to receive an approval or track the status of their 

application. This can stifle business development, result in 

lower rates of compliance, and discourage investment in our 

great Commonwealth. 

Virginia's government owes its citizens the assurance they can 

receive approvals efficiently and transparently. 

Preamble 

In January 2022, I tasked the Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) to pilot an innovative system for tracking its 

permits. The pilot system went live on December 1, 2022. 

Since that time, DEQ has partnered with five additional 

agencies and the Virginia IT Agency (VITA) to include 
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virtually all permits of public interest. This expanded tracking 

system, which is referred to as Virginia Permit Transparency 

(VPT), covers over 100,000 applications issued per year across 

six agencies (DEQ), the Department of Energy (Energy), the 

Marine Resources Commission (VMRC), the Department of 

Transportation (VDOT), the Department of Health (VDH), and 

the Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR). 

Now that these permits are available online, the participating 

agencies can turn to tracking and improving processing times. 

Over the past two years, DEQ has managed to improve its 

permit processing time by 70% using the Permitting 

Enhancement and Evaluation Platform pilot program. DEQ 

estimates that the improved processing time saves Virginia 

citizens up to $40 million per year. The other five agencies are 

now assessing their review times and looking for ways to 

expedite their processes. 

Also at the beginning of 2022, I instructed the Secretary of 

Labor and the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation (DPOR) to resolve their critical backlog in 

applications. DPOR averaged 33 business days to process 

licensing applications, with its three main boards, Contractors, 

Real Estate, and Barbers and Cosmetology, experiencing even 

longer durations. 

DPOR took a comprehensive approach to tackling this issue, 

by (1) establishing metrics and dashboards for tracking 

durations; (2) mapping each component of the application 

process and associated expected timelines; and (3) setting a 

goal of reducing average durations by 30 days by 2026. In 

addition, DPOR reorganized its teams to spur collaboration 

across license types and used a sprint structure to drive short-

term deliverables enabling the overarching goal. As of July 1, 

2024, DPOR reduced its average durations by 85% to five 

business days, with an estimated annual economic benefit to 

Virginia's economy of $179 million.3 DPOR also prioritized a 

re-platform of its licensing system to digitize application 

submissions and further automate the processing of 

applications. 

Because of these efforts and the importance of improving 

Virginians' experience with their state government, I also 

requested an inventory of all approval types across agencies, 

including annual volume of issued approvals and average 

processing times. The results of this effort highlighted the 

opportunity for further action. 

This Executive Order builds upon these efforts in four ways: 

1. It directs agencies to provide additional data on the 

approvals they issue by December 13, 2024. 

2. It directs agencies to improve the process for issuing 

approvals in up to four ways: 

a. Eliminating obsolete approvals; 

b. Including approvals involving multiple steps on VPT; 

c. Reducing approval processing times4 through 

streamlining; and 

d. Digitizing and enhancing the user experience for the 

approval application process. 

3. It directs agencies to submit their improvement plans by 

December 13, 2024. 

4. It directs agencies to report on their achievements by January 

31, 2025, and then quarterly thereafter. 

Directive 

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me as Chief 

Executive Officer of the Commonwealth and pursuant to 

Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and the laws of the 

Commonwealth, I hereby direct all relevant agencies to take 

the following actions: 

I. Report on agency approvals 

Each agency shall report the following information for each 

type of approval it issues to its relevant Secretariat and the 

Office of the Governor, through the Office of Regulatory 

Management, by December 13, 2024: 

1. The total number of applications processed annually; 

2. The average processing time for each type of approval; 

3. Any fees or charges associated with the approval; 

4. Any involvement of other federal, state, or local government 

subdivisions in the approval process, including the average 

duration of the processing time by each such government 

subdivision; 

5. A citation to the statute or regulation that mandates the 

issuance of each approval; and 

6. Information on whether the application, fee payment, and 

relevant details for each approval can be completed online. 

II. Remove obsolete and unnecessary approvals 

In FY2024, there were 87 approval types that had an annual 

volume of only one (41) or zero (46). Such approvals may no 

longer be necessary. 

All relevant agencies shall identify and catalog low-volume 

approvals and submit a report to the Office of the Governor 

through the Office of Regulatory Management. This report 

shall include (i) a recommendation as to whether each low-

volume approval should be eliminated; and (ii) an indication of 

whether the authority for each such approval is statutory, 

regulatory, or administrative. 

If an agency determines that a low-volume approval should be 

eliminated, and the authority for issuing such an approval is 

permissive (e.g., lacks a statutory or regulatory basis), the 

agency shall notify the Office of the Governor through the 

Office of Regulatory Management that the issuance of the 

approval shall cease. 
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In cases where eliminating a low-volume approval requires 

regulatory authority, the agency shall coordinate with the 

relevant Secretariat and the Office of Regulatory Management 

to initiate the regulatory reduction process as outlined in 

Executive Order 19. 

Where a low-volume approval is required by statute, the 

agency shall coordinate with the relevant Secretariat and the 

Office of the Governor, through the Office of Regulatory 

Management, to identify the necessary statutory changes and 

any additional conditions required to eliminate the approval. 

III. Publicize application, review, and approval process 

Relevant agencies shall identify and catalog approvals that 

meet the following criteria: (i) the approval process has a target 

processing time of 15 or more days; and (ii) the approval 

involves more than one procedural step (including steps inside 

or outside of the relevant agency). 

Agencies shall collaborate with VITA to validate identified 

approvals' fit with VPT and develop a work plan for 

incorporating those approvals into VPT by December 13, 

2024. All qualifying approvals shall be incorporated into VPT 

no later than April 30, 2025. 

IV. Improve processing times through operational streamlining 

All relevant agencies shall certify to the Office of the Governor 

through the Office of Regulatory Management by December 

13, 2024, that, for each approval under their purview, the 

agency has:  

Assigned an agency owner or assignee responsible for each 

type of approval; 

Mapped the process for each approval; 

Implemented a system to track application durations, either 

through a live dashboard, such as VPT, or other tracking 

mechanism; and 

Established a standardized intra-agency process for 

application review and approval. 

Agencies shall submit to the Office of the Governor through 

the Office of Regulatory Management, by December 13. 2024, 

their strategy to simplify existing approvals. This strategy shall 

include efforts to reduce complexity by: 

Reducing the number of procedural stages in the approval 

process; and 

Converting individual permits (which involve case-by-case 

evaluations and more extensive procedural requirements) to 

general permits (which are more standardized and 

streamlined), where permissible by regulatory, statutory, or 

administrative authority. 

Agencies are encouraged to prioritize these efforts for high 

impact approvals. 

V. Improve and standardize the front-end customer experience 

Agencies shall work in coordination with the Virginia 

Information Technology Agency (VITA) to enhance the 

applicant experience for all approvals by digitizing processes 

for (i) submitting applications, phasing out partially or wholly 

manual processes; (ii) processing fees digitally; and (iii) 

addressing incomplete or missing background information 

online. 

Agencies are encouraged to utilize standardized technology 

solutions to digitize the application process and facilitate 

faster, more cost-effective, and sustainable processing. 

VITA shall provide agencies with standardized offerings for 

online application submission, payment processing, and 

website modernization, where possible. 

Agencies shall collaborate with VITA to develop a strategy and 

timeline to address any identified gaps in the digitization 

process. Such a plan shall be finalized by December 13, 2024, 

and submitted to the Office of the Governor through the Office 

of Regulatory Management. 

VI. Further directive 

The Office of Regulatory Management shall provide 

standardized forms for agencies to use in reporting the required 

information. Agencies shall report on their metrics and 

achievements by January 31, 2025, and then quarterly 

thereafter to the Governor.  

The Office of Regulatory Management, in coordination with 

the relevant Secretariats, may request updated reports to ensure 

compliance with this Executive Order or any amendments 

thereto. 

VII. Definitions 

For purposes of this Executive Order: 

"Agencies" refers to all executive branch agencies, including 

agencies with regulations that have a full or partial exemption 

from either Article 1 or Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act with the exception of institutions of higher education. 

"Applicant" is the individual, entity, or any collection thereof 

submitting an application or seeking an approval. 

"Approval" refers to a permit, license, certification, 

registration, or any other instrument that a regulated party must 

obtain from an agency prior to engaging in a particular activity. 

"Average duration" means the amount of time that an agency 

takes to fully process any given approval application, measured 

as of the previous year. 

"High impact approval" means any approval that either (i) has 

an average processing duration of ten or more days and for 

which more than one hundred applications are received 

annually or (ii) has an average processing duration exceeding 

forty-five days. 
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"Low-volume approval" means any approval issued by an 

agency with five or fewer issuances per year. 

"Office of Regulatory Management" carries the same meaning 

as set forth in Executive Order 19. 

"Procedural stage" means a step in the approval process where 

a permit or license application is transferred or reviewed by an 

agency owner or designee, whether within the agency, 

involving another state agency, or an external agency, 

including federal or local government subdivisions. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by further executive order or directive. Given under my hand 

and under the Seal of the Commonwealth of Virginia this 18th 

day of October, 2024. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

______________________________ 

1 See Executive Order 19. 

2 This figure included 1.7 million DMV licenses and identification cards and 

1.1 million hunting and fishing licenses. 

3 Each business day provides around $200/day in additional income generated 

based on average income data. Multiplying $200/day by 32,000 approvals in 

FY24 by the 28-day reduction in processing times results in $179 million. 

4 Processing time defined as the time after application for approval submitted. 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FORTY (2024) 

Enhancing Coordination and Communication and 
Bolstering Wildfire Incident Command Operations 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the 

Commonwealth, I hereby issue this Executive Order to 

enhance collaboration and emergency preparedness between 

state agencies who work to keep all Virginians safe against the 

threat of wildfires around the Commonwealth. 

Importance of the Initiative 

The Commonwealth of Virginia is committed to ensuring the 

safety and protection of its citizens, natural resources, and 

property from the threat of wildfires. Effective communication 

and coordination between state agencies are crucial to 

responding to and managing wildfire incidents. To enhance the 

Commonwealth's preparedness and response coordination, it is 

essential that one state agency serves as lead for wildfire 

response and incident command operations, ensuring that all 

relevant information is centralized and communicated 

effectively. This Order provides guidance specifically related 

to managing significant wildfire activity to augment the 

operational plans outlined in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

Emergency Operations Plan (COVEOP). 

Forests cover nearly two-thirds of the lands of Virginia, over 

16 million acres. These forests provide a wide range of critical 

services and environmental benefits including protecting water 

quality, increasing ground water recharge, improving air 

quality, providing wildlife habitats, and allowing open space 

for recreation and scenic beauty that make Virginia a beautiful 

place to live, work, and raise a family. These same forests also 

provide the raw materials for Virginia's third largest industry, 

which employs over 108,000 people. 

Virginia's forests have historically been associated with fire. 

Fire was a tool used extensively by native peoples to manage 

the landscape. Since colonial times, intentional and 

unintentional fires significantly impacted the forest. Modern 

wildland firefighting has significantly decreased the extent of 

the forest burned each year. The lack of natural or historic fire 

regimes leaves forests more at risk from wildfires. 

Reintroducing beneficial fires to the forest is an important 

strategy to restore healthy ecosystems and reduce the amount 

of fuel available for wildfires. Land managers today emphasize 

the use of prescribed fire, for the multiple benefits "good fire" 

brings to the forest. Prescribed fire—setting intentional, 

controlled fires with a specific goal—is a necessary and useful 

tool to prevent dangerous wildfires and manage landscapes for 

long-term ecological health. Prescribed fire is used to promote 

many benefits, including maintaining oak and pine savannas, 

restoring wildlife habitat, controlling pests and invasive plants, 

and clearing forest brush, leaves and debris—also known as 

"fuel"—that can promote larger and more destructive 

wildfires. 

Wildfires have the potential to harm property, livelihoods, and 

human health. Unfortunately, fire-related threats are only 

increasing, as more people live in and near forests and other 

natural areas. At the same time, the number of homes being 

built within or near forests has greatly increased. The Virginia 

Department of Forestry (DOF) has identified 5,385 woodland 

home communities that are potentially at risk from wildfire. 

Annual wildfire suppression efforts are credited with 

protecting an average of more than 2,800 homes and other 

buildings with a total value protected of over $179 million each 

year. Virginia has a proud tradition of safe and aggressive 

initial attack in response to wildfire. Because of the 

coordinated efforts of DOF and the over 600 local fire 

departments across Virginia, most people are unaware of the 

hundreds of wildfires that occur every year in the 

Commonwealth. 

Over the past 20 years, on average, DOF suppressed 779 fires 

that burned 10,686 acres annually. These fires damaged or 

destroyed an average of 91 structures per year with a total 

estimated loss of $1.96 million annually. 

This year, DOF has responded to 352 fires, with 92% 

containment in the first 24-hour period. There are many more 

fires—perhaps five times as many fires—handled by local fire 
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departments, showing Virginia's network of DOF full-time and 

part-time firefighters working closely with local fire 

departments has been able to effectively handle initial attack in 

most cases. 

Two-and-a-half million acres of Virginia's forests fall under 

the management of federal agencies including the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture Forest Service, National Park 

Service, and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. The DOF 

maintains an active cooperative agreement with each of these 

agencies to allow for enhanced cooperation on all wildfires 

impacting the Commonwealth. Through this agreement, all 

wildland fire suppression agencies in Virginia share resources 

and respond in a cross-boundary approach, with a mutual 

purpose of suppressing wildfires as efficiently as possible, to 

protect life and infrastructure.  

Drought conditions during the fall of 2023 and a significant 

wind event during the spring of 2024 resulted in significant 

wildfire activity that burned 44,348 acres. This is more acres 

burned in Virginia in a six-month period than at any time in the 

last 30 years, almost five times more than the 20-year average 

for the same period. 

The need to protect life and property must be balanced with the 

need to provide for firefighter safety. Firefighters are driven by 

duty to protect lives and property and are often forced to put 

their own lives at risk to do so. The increasing prevalence of 

woodland homes that lack adequate preventative measures to 

withstand wildfire puts more firefighters in peril. Aggressive 

initial attacks help to reduce overall firefighter risk by keeping 

fires small so that fewer resources are needed. 

During significant wildfire activity, fire size and complexity 

can result in the need for greater resources and greater 

coordination. This level of response is managed through the 

Incident Management Team (IMT) approach. This 

organizational system that is now used for any large-scale 

event, was developed in response to the complexity of 

managing large wildfires. For this reason, forestry agencies 

like the DOF employ the greatest number of trained IMT staff. 

Directive 

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me as the 

Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth, and pursuant 

to Article V, §§ 1 and 7 of the Constitution of Virginia and the 

laws of the Commonwealth, I hereby direct my administration 

to implement the following measures to enhance our state's 

preparedness and response capabilities in responding to 

wildfires here in the Commonwealth of Virginia. This Order 

establishes a necessary plan for the included state agencies to 

successfully accomplish their COVEOP assigned 

responsibilities, as outlined in COVEOP Item Six, "Planning 

Assumptions." 

1. Designation of Lead Agency: 

The Virginia Department of Forestry (DOF) is hereby 

designated as the lead agency for incident command operations 

in all wildfire-related emergencies within the Commonwealth 

of Virginia. 

Va. Code § 10.1-1136 designates DOF forest wardens to 

serve as forest fire incident commander and perform other 

duties as needed in the management and suppression of 

forest fire incidents. 

DOF has a long history of working in Unified Incident 

Command with local fire services and with the state and 

federal land-holding agencies. 

DOF shall continue to support and engage in the cooperative 

agreement with the U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest 

Service, National Park Service, and the U.S. Fish and 

Wildlife Service to ensure prompt initial response while 

respecting jurisdictional authorities. 

2. Enhanced Communication During Significant Wildfire 

Activity: 

DOF shall enhance its communication strategy during 

significant wildfire activity by implementing the following 

measures: 

Routine Updates: DOF shall commit to providing three 

scheduled updates per day, including morning and evening 

briefings, and an additional midday update to relay the status 

of the wildfire, resources on scene, requested resources, and 

forecasts for containment. 

Simplified Reporting: DOF shall develop a new, simplified 

method for describing fire status, transitioning from 

traditional metrics such as percentage contained or 

controlled, and focusing instead on key factors such as 

resource deployment and expected containment timelines. 

Public and Citizen Safety Communications: DOF shall 

ensure that all impacted citizens and the general public 

receive timely updates and safety messages. This will be 

achieved by dedicating additional staff and providing 

specialized training for public information roles. 

Elected Officials Liaison: DOF shall designate a 

communications liaison for local and state elected officials, 

ensuring they receive accurate and timely information 

directly from the Unified Incident Command. 

3. Communication and Coordination: 

The Virginia Department of Emergency Management 

(VDEM), the Virginia Department of Fire Programs (VDFP), 

and other relevant state and local agencies shall coordinate 

closely with Virginia Department of Forestry (DOF) in all 

wildfire incident responses. 

All information regarding wildfire incidents, including 

situational reports, resource needs, and operational updates, 

shall be communicated to and through DOF before any request 

for additional resources is made. 
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DOF shall ensure that there is effective communication 

between the Unified Incident Command and local officials and 

emergency operations staff regarding fire status, potential 

community impacts, and resource needs. 

4. Incident Command Structure: 

DOF shall establish and maintain a clear and effective incident 

command structure for wildfire emergencies, ensuring that all 

participating agencies understand their roles and 

responsibilities. 

To ensure consistency and accuracy in public and internal 

communications, all Commonwealth entities must utilize the 

information generated by the Unified Incident Command as the 

sole source for official updates. 

5. Resource Allocation: 

All resource requests related to wildfire management must 

originate from the Unified Incident Command, which includes 

DOF, local fire departments, the Virginia Department of Fire 

Programs (VDFP), and where applicable, federal agencies. 

VDEM shall ensure that any wildfire resource requests 

submitted through the WebEOC, or changes to resource orders, 

originate from or are approved by the Unified Incident 

Command. This includes requests for logistical, operational 

and communications assistance as well as for critical wildfire 

resources such as trained wildland firefighters, brush trucks, 

and aircraft. 

DOF shall coordinate with VDEM for requests involving the 

Virginia National Guard or other logistical needs such as fuel 

or food, when appropriate. 

6. Development of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) 

to bolster firefighting capacity: 

DOF and VDFP are directed to create and formalize a 

Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) based on the 

following guidelines: 

The MOU shall establish and maintain a cooperative 

agreement to provide personnel and incident management 

resources in support of emergency incidents, with a focus on 

wildfire management. 

The MOU shall recognize DOF's statutory responsibility to 

prevent and extinguish forest fires and VDFP's role in 

providing technical expertise and support to Virginia's fire 

services. 

The agreement shall outline national level training, 

credentialing, resource sharing, and reimbursement 

processes necessary to support DOF during periods of 

elevated wildfire occurrence or other emergencies. 

Both agencies shall ensure that information flow, situational 

awareness, and logistical support are enhanced through this 

cooperative agreement, with clear roles and responsibilities 

defined for each agency to assist in coordination and 

preparedness efforts. 

7. Development of a Wildfire Annex for the Commonwealth 

of Virginia Emergency Operations Plan: 

VDEM, DOF, and VDFP shall create and formalize a Wildfire 

Annex addendum to the COVEOP within the next six months. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by further executive order or directive. Given under my hand 

and under the Seal of the Commonwealth of Virginia, this 21st 

day of October 2024. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FORTY-ONE (2024) 

Launching the Net Level Partnership to Combat 
Gangs and Gang Violence Across the 

Commonwealth 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the 

Commonwealth, I hereby issue this Executive Order to build 

on our Administration's successful efforts to combat the crisis 

of gang activity within the Commonwealth of Virginia by 

establishing a statewide gang and community violence 

prevention partnership and enforcement strategy to confront 

gang violence, drug trafficking, human trafficking, and 

violence committed with firearms, and to provide support to 

communities and victims. 

Importance of the Initiative 

National and International Criminal Organizations Drive Gang 

Violence, Drug Trafficking, Human Trafficking, and Violence 

Committed with Guns in Virginia 

Criminal street gangs are responsible for an alarming 

percentage of violent crimes committed throughout Virginia. 

There are approximately 33,000 gangs in the United States 

with over one million gang members. Gangs in the U.S. are 

responsible for approximately half of the violent crimes in 

most jurisdictions.1 National and transnational gangs extend 

their reach to nearly every corner of the Commonwealth 

including jails, prisons, and even juvenile facilities. Gangs are 

linked to assaults, homicides, brutal robberies, drive-by 

shootings, extortion, drug trafficking, prostitution, and human 

trafficking, accounting for some of the most significant threats 

to public safety in this state. Virginia law enforcement agencies 

are currently combating over 6502 identified criminal street 

gangs and criminal organizations with local, national, and 

international reach. These organizations touch almost every 

jurisdiction in the Commonwealth and leave lasting, 

devastating impacts. 

While these statistics are alarming, large national gangs such 

as MS-13, the Pagans, and associations of the Bloods and Crips 

have established a strong presence. Law enforcement is now 

dealing with the influx of Tren de Aragua, a dangerous gang 
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that originated in Venezuela and terrorized South American 

countries for several years. Tren de Aragua is known for 

murder, drug trafficking, sex crimes, extortion, and other 

violent acts.  

National-level gangs pose a significant threat to suburban areas 

because of increased connections with transnational criminal 

organizations and Drug Trafficking Organizations (DTOs). 

These relationships provide gangs with access to international 

sources of supply for illicit drugs that they commonly 

distribute in urban, suburban, and rural communities. Federal 

law enforcement officials have documented connections 

between transnational DTOs and 11 national-level street 

gangs, six national-level prison gangs, four national-level 

Organized Motorcycle Gangs, two regional-level street gangs, 

one regional-level prison gang, and three local prison gangs. 

Mexican DTOs, according to law enforcement reporting, are 

strengthening their relationships with U.S.-based street gangs, 

prison gangs, and Organized Motorcycle Gangs, involving 

them in their drug trafficking operations. Mexican DTOs 

routinely use gangs to smuggle and distribute drugs, collect 

illicit proceeds, and serve as enforcers. In addition, Mexican 

DTOs often use gang members as retail-level drug distributors, 

creating an additional layer of protection between DTO 

members and law enforcement. Law enforcement officials 

report that Mexican drug traffickers affiliated with the 

Federation, the Gulf Cartel, the Judrez Cartel, and the Tijuana 

Cartel maintain working relationships with at least 20 street 

gangs, prison gangs, and Organized Motorcycle Gangs.3 

Gangs are continuing to grow and spread their violence by 

recruiting new members. Often, these recruits are from the 

most vulnerable groups in our society who are lured into the 

gang with the promise of family and protection. Gang 

recruitment increasingly occurs at a young age, sometimes as 

young as 10 years old. 

While, overall, there has been a decrease in inmates housed 

with the Department of Corrections since 2019, there has been 

an increase in confirmed gang members within the 

Department, from 12.8% in December 2019 to 17.6% in 

August 2024. During that period, of these inmates who were 

gang members, approximately 75% of them had violent, 

serious offenses, with recent numbers jumping to nearly 80%. 

Likewise, the number of gang members on probation or parole 

having a violent offense history increased to 56% of the current 

probation or parole population.4 

Fighting Back with Operation Bold Blue Line, Operation 

Ceasefire, Operation FREE Virginia, and the VSP Human 

Trafficking Task Force 

Operation Bold Blue Line, starting in 2022, has helped 

Virginia establish a foothold in our joint efforts to combat 

gangs and the violence and drugs they bring to the 

Commonwealth. Investments, including Operation Ceasefire 

and other gang violence intervention funds, were made in 

concert with comprehensive law enforcement, prosecutorial, 

and community-based initiatives. The Virginia State Police has 

been working collaboratively with local law enforcement, 

prosecutors, and the community. 

Since these initiatives began, there has been a 34% decrease in 

murders and a 12% decrease in violent crimes in participating 

cities.5 Combined with Operation Free Virginia, these 

initiatives have helped remove over 2,000 pounds of illegal 

narcotics that would have a street value of $2.143 billion, 

including approximately 415 pounds of fentanyl. Additionally, 

more than $2.7 million is tied to the seizure of assets tied to 

illicit activity.6 Finally, these efforts have produced 

approximately 2,100 arrests thus far in 2024. While these 

efforts are a successful start, we have, by no means completed 

the mission. 

Executive Order Seven (2022), Establishing the Commission 

on Human Trafficking Prevention and Survivor Support, drove 

the establishment of the VSP's special unit on human 

trafficking. Since May 1, 2022, Virginia has opened 503 

human trafficking cases and arrested 52 individuals charged 

with 71 felonies related to human trafficking. Multiple anti-

human trafficking task forces have been created across the 

Commonwealth, combining state, local, tribal and federal 

resources to target human traffickers and those who exploit 

others. 

Protecting Young Virginians from Gang Recruitment 

In 2022, the Department of Juvenile Justice began a process of 

bolstering the identification and intervention methods for 

youth who were gang-involved. The Department implemented 

statewide standardized procedures and training, and increased 

communication with local law enforcement and members of 

the community. These changes allowed for a significant 

increase in the identification of gang-involved youth. 

Compared to previous years, there has been over an 800% 

increase in identified gang affiliation or membership. Of those 

with gang affiliation or membership, 70% committed a felony 

against a person. Identification is critical in preventing further 

violence as well as providing specific services to the youth. 

Breaking the Prison-Gang Membership Cycle with Stand Tall 

Initiative 

For inmates in the Department of Corrections, inmates in local 

and regional jails, and probationers, the Stand Tall — Stay 

Strong — Stay Connected initiative continues gang 

intervention and prevention efforts by providing pathways to 

successful re-entry, avoiding a return to a life of crime. Stand 

Tall is centered on the creation of a first in the nation, dynamic, 

proactive approach to supporting reentry success by measuring 

and acting on six key reentry success metrics: (1) gainful 

employment; (2) stable housing; (3) healthcare insurance 

coverage; (4) appropriate supervision levels; (5) necessary 

mental health treatment; and (6) necessary substance abuse 

treatment. Since April 2023, the Stand Tall initiative has 
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resulted in 3,100 more returning citizens gaining employment, 

7,100 enrolled in health care, 5,500 having appropriate 

supervision level, and 600 fewer probationers absconding (the 

first drop in 12 years). 

Taking Our Fight Against Gangs to the Next-Level 

The next-level of combating gangs brings together law 

enforcement from local, state, tribal, and federal jurisdictions 

with community partners in a coordinated, intelligence-driven, 

common-sense approach to deal with these criminal 

enterprises that threaten the safety and security of our citizens. 

Gangs must never again be allowed to operate under the cover 

of darkness in Virginia. 

The conviction of dangerous gang members, restitution for 

their victims, and other assistance for victims and communities 

has been a top public safety priority for the Commonwealth. 

We must continue to ensure the dedicated people who work 

tirelessly to combat criminal street gang activity are equipped 

with the tools necessary to win this fight. Today, I propose a 

comprehensive plan that will support the following priorities: 

Train criminal justice personnel on the identification and 

interdiction of gangs; 

Deter criminal gang activity, trafficking, and violence 

committed with firearms through investigation, arrest, and 

enhanced prosecution; 

Establish the Virginia State Police as the centralized data 

repository/warehouse for all Commonwealth gang related 

data; 

Establish a Gang Intelligence Task Force composed of 

sworn investigators and intelligence analysts from localities 

around the Commonwealth. The Task Force will work to 

identify, document, investigate and eradicate the gangs 

operating in the Commonwealth. The Task Force will 

collect and analyze statewide criminal gang and gun 

violence data, trends, and intelligence to produce strategic 

intelligence/investigative leads which will be shared with 

the localities to target the gang activity in their respective 

areas; 

Enhance anti-gang and gun awareness training for 

communities and schools; and 

Enhance support for youth intervention, prevention, 

community partnerships and mentoring programs to reduce 

criminal street gang, trafficking, and associated violence in 

Virginia communities. 

The initiatives created in this Order establish significant steps 

to make Virginia communities safer. Through this 

comprehensive approach we will enhance the already 

successful efforts in place across Virginia with structural 

coordination to drive partnership, data sharing, enforcement, 

education, prevention, and communication. 

My Administration, in partnership with the Office of the 

Attorney General and with support of federal, state, tribal, and 

local law enforcement, is committed to doing everything 

within our power to eliminate criminal gang and associated 

violence in our communities. 

Directive 

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me as the 

Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth, and pursuant 

to Article V of the Constitution and the laws of the 

Commonwealth, I hereby order the Secretary of Public Safety 

& Homeland Security to establish the Commonwealth Gang 

Prevention Partnership between the Virginia State Police, 

Department of Corrections, Department of Juvenile Justice, 

and Department of Criminal Justice Services, in collaboration 

with the Virginia Office of the Attorney General, and any other 

relevant stakeholders as identified by the initiative partners to 

carry out the following actions: 

Launching the Next-Level Partnership to Combat Gangs and 

Gang Violence in Virginia 

1. The Secretary of Public Safety & Homeland Security, in 

coordination with the Virginia State Police and the Department 

of Criminal Justice Services, shall establish a Statewide Gang 

and Violence Prevention and Enforcement Program to be 

housed in the Virginia State Police Special Investigations and 

Programs Division. The program administrator shall work with 

the Office of the Attorney General, the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services, the Department of Corrections, the 

Department of Juvenile Justice and the Virginia State Police to 

build the Statewide Gang and Violence Prevention and 

Enforcement Program. Participation of federal, local, tribal, 

and campus law enforcement agencies shall be solicited and 

encouraged to foster communication across jurisdictions. 

2. The Statewide Gang and Violence Prevention and 

Enforcement Program shall support existing gang, trafficking 

and violent crime task forces and intelligence groups, cover 

current gaps and reduce duplication of efforts, as well as 

provide intelligence support to the Governor's Gang 

Intelligence Task Force. 

3. The Secretary of Public Safety & Homeland Security shall 

designate a liaison responsible for executive level oversight of 

the established cross-agency partnerships. This executive 

liaison will be designated from one of the agencies making up 

the Gang Governance Board and will rotate every two years. 

Establishment of the Governor's Gang Intelligence Task Force 

1. I direct the Secretary of Public Safety & Homeland Security 

to establish a Gang Intelligence Task Force to be comprised of 

all State and Local Law Enforcement agencies and the Virginia 

State Police, Department of Corrections, Department of 

Juvenile Justice, the Office of the Attorney General and 

campus law enforcement agencies. Participation of Federal law 

enforcement agencies shall be solicited and encouraged to 

foster communication and interdiction across jurisdictions. 
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2. I direct the Gang Intelligence Task Force to work with local 

and federal authorities to support ongoing investigations aimed 

at identifying and combating criminal street gangs in Virginia. 

3. I direct the Gang Intelligence Task Force, in collaboration 

with the Office of the Attorney General, to leverage all 

available funding to meet local investigative and operational 

needs to combat gang violence and recruitment. 

Data Collection and Dissemination 

1. The Statewide Gang and Violence Prevention and 

Enforcement Program shall leverage all available funding and 

resources to expand and further develop statewide gang 

intelligence collection and reporting through the Virginia 

Fusion Center to enhance intervention, enforcement, and 

prosecution efforts. All available technology shall be leveraged 

for streamlining, uniformity, and compliance and for data 

gathering and dissemination. 

2, The Virginia State Police will serve as the centralized data 

repository/warehouse for all Commonwealth gang related data. 

The Virginia State Police, along with the Gang Governance 

Board, shall identify the data fields required to identify and 

track gang intelligence and related data. Local law enforcement 

agencies are required to send their gang related data to the 

Virginia State Police monthly. All information collected and 

disseminated shall be governed in accordance with established 

Virginia Criminal Information Network (VCIN) and National 

Crime Information Center (NCIC) policies, and Va. Code § 52-

48. The Department of Criminal Justice Services will track this 

data with the Virginia State Police reporting from all localities. 

3. The Department of Criminal Justice Services, Department 

of Juvenile Justice, Department of Corrections, the Virginia 

State Police, the Office of the Attorney General, and the Office 

of the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security are 

the initial members of the Gang Governance Board. Others to 

be added as necessary. 

4. The Department of Criminal Justice Services, in conjunction 

with the Gang Governance Board, shall establish and 

promulgate guidance for uniform documentation and data 

collection in the investigation of security threat groups and 

criminal gangs. 

5, The Commonwealth's Attorneys' Services Council shall 

disseminate information to all Commonwealth's Attorneys' 

Offices and the Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police and 

the Virginia Sheriffs Association, information regarding the 

victim witness programs across the Commonwealth. In 

addition, they will distribute information about the Witness 

Protection Grant Program offered by the Department of 

Criminal Justice Services, which includes a provision for 

translators and translated materials, to increase encouragement 

and support of witnesses during the prosecution of gang related 

crimes. 

Prioritization of Program Resources 

1. The Statewide Gang and Violence Prevention and 

Enforcement Program and the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, in collaboration with the Office of the Attorney 

General, shall leverage all available funding for law 

enforcement support, technology, or investigative and 

operational needs to combat gangs, human trafficking and 

violence committed with firearms in participating 

jurisdictions. Areas actively supporting this initiative who 

show an increasing presence of gang activity or risk shall have 

priority for available funding. 

2. The Department of Criminal Justice Services shall facilitate 

access to all available federal and state funding, available for 

localities, faith-based organizations, or non-profit community 

mentoring programs who desire to participate in the 

development and provision of gang violence interventions for 

youth. 

Education 

1. The Department of Corrections, the Department of Juvenile 

Justice, and the Department of Criminal Justice Services, to 

include the Office of Safer Communities, shall leverage all 

resources for education, employment and workforce 

development to communities that are highly impacted by 

gangs, human trafficking and violence. 

2. The Statewide Gang and Violence Prevention and 

Enforcement Program shall leverage all resources available to 

provide specialized and uniform gang training and expert 

certification classes for local, state, and federal law 

enforcement and corrections agencies on the investigation and 

documentation of evidence of Security Threat Groups and 

Criminal Street Gangs. 

3. The Department of Corrections and the Department of 

Juvenile Justice shall make gang, human trafficking and gun 

violence intervention programs available to incarcerated 

individuals and individuals returning to the community to 

provide exit or avoidance strategies and support. 

Prevention 

1. The Secretary of Public Safety & Homeland Security in 

conjunction with the Office of the Attorney General shall meet 

with community leaders across the Commonwealth to identify, 

prioritize, and incorporate identified community needs and 

response plans. 

2. The Statewide Gang and Violence Prevention and 

Enforcement Program, the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, the Virginia State Police, and the Gang Intelligence 

Task Force shall increase community awareness training 

through the "See Something Say Something" initiative to 

increase violence prevention and recognition in the 

community. 

3. The Department of Criminal Justice Services shall provide 

gang awareness and victimization training to victim service 
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providers, including those serving victims of human 

trafficking. 

Gang Violence Education and Prevention for Youth 

1. The Department of Criminal Justice Services and the 

Department of Social Services shall collaborate and explore 

options for the safe and appropriate handling of youth 

identified as possible victims of gangs, human trafficking, or 

violence committed with guns. 

2. The Department of Criminal Justice Services and the 

Department of Juvenile Justice shall work collaboratively with 

the Office of the Attorney General to develop and implement a 

public awareness and media campaign aimed at preventing 

youth gang involvement, human trafficking, and violence 

committed with guns. 

3. The Virginia Center for School and Campus Safety, in 

collaboration with the Office of the Attorney General's 

Virginia Rules Program and the Secretary of Education, shall 

develop age-appropriate K-12 curriculum and training on 

personal safety and violence prevention in schools and the 

community. 

Human Trafficking 

1. The Department of Criminal Justice Services shall develop 

protocols for Human Trafficking Response Teams, standards 

and guidelines for treatment programs for victims and maintain 

a list of available treatment programs and specialized services 

for victims of sex and human trafficking. The Department of 

Criminal Justice Services will work with the Office of the 

Attorney General to establish these protocols, standards and 

guidelines. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall be in effect unless amended or rescinded by further 

executive order or directive. Given under my hand and under 

the Seal of the Commonwealth of Virginia, this 23rd day of 

October 2024. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

___________________________________ 

1 See World Population Review, Gangs by State 2024, available at 

https://worldpopulationreview.com/state-rankings/gangs-by-state; 

https://storymaps.arcgis.com/stories/000d265de2a74cadala21f555b6dd3e. 

2 Department of Juvenile Justice Behavioral Investigations Unit. 

3 See National-Level Gang-Drug Trafficking Organization Corrections — 

Attorney General's Report to Congress on the Growth of Violent Street Gangs 

in Suburban Areas, available at 

https:/www.justice.gov/archive/ndic/pubs27/27612/national.htm; see also 

Drug Enforcement Administration, DEA Operation Last Mile Tracks Down 

Sinaloa and Jalisco Cartel Associates Operating Within the United States, May 

5, 2023, available at https://www.dea.gov/press-releases/2023/05/05/dea-

operation-last-mile-tracks-down-sinaloa-and-jalisco-cartel-associates. 

4 SR Inmates & Probationers/Parolees with Confirmed Gang Affiliations 

CY2019-CY2023, VADOC Research Unit, January 2024. 

5 Bold Blue Line/Ceasefire Virginia Programs Successful in Getting Violent 

Repeat Criminals Off Streets, The Roanoke Star, Oct. 18, 2024, available at 

https://www.theroanokestar.com/2024/10/18/bald-blue-line-ceasefire-

virginia-programs-successful-in-getting-violent-repeat-criminals-off-streets/. 

6 Operation FREE Virginia data as of October 21, 2024. 

 

https://worldpopulationreview.com/state-rankings/gangs-by-state
https://storymaps.arcgis.com/stories/000d265de2a74cadala21f555b6dd3e
https://www.justice.gov/archive/ndic/pubs27/27612/national.htm
https://www.dea.gov/press-releases/2023/05/05/dea-operation-last-mile-tracks-down-sinaloa-and-jalisco-cartel-associates
https://www.dea.gov/press-releases/2023/05/05/dea-operation-last-mile-tracks-down-sinaloa-and-jalisco-cartel-associates
https://www.theroanokestar.com/2024/10/18/bald-blue-line-ceasefire-virginia-programs-successful-in-getting-violent-repeat-criminals-off-streets/
https://www.theroanokestar.com/2024/10/18/bald-blue-line-ceasefire-virginia-programs-successful-in-getting-violent-repeat-criminals-off-streets/
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Adult Protective Services Manual 

Chapter 7. 

Policies and Procedures for the Protection of Human Subjects. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Analyst 

and Regulatory Coordinator, Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7093, or email 

charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND EMBALMERS 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

BOARD OF NURSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Title of Document: Reporting by Hospitals and Other Health Care 

Institutions to Report Disciplinary Actions. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 750-3912, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF LOCAL AND REGIONAL JAIL 

Title of Document: Supervision of Inmates. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Brian Flaherty, Executive Director, State 

Board of Local and Regional Jails, 6900 Atmore Drive, P.O. 

Box 26963, Richmond, VA 23261-6963, telephone (804) 762-

3207, or email brian.flaherty@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Brain Injury Services Case Management 

Supplement. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Syreeta Stewart, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 298-

3863, or email syreeta.stewart@dmas.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_7842_20241009.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_7842_20241009.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_7840_20241008.pdf
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_7812_20241003.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_7812_20241003.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/701/GDoc_DOC_7731_20240820.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/417/GuidanceDocs/brian.flaherty@vadoc.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7885_20241022.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7885_20241022.pdf
mailto:syreeta.stewart@dmas.virginia.gov
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* * * 

Title of Document: Federally Qualified Health Center Change 

in Scope Policy. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy Division Director, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, or 

email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Titles of Documents: Tariffs for Common Carriers over 

Irregular Routes. 

Tariffs and Time Schedules for Common Carriers over Regular 

Routes. 

Tariffs for Household Goods Carriers. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Nicholas Megibow, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-6701, or email 

nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program Manual - Volume V. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Michele Thomas, Supplemental Nutrition 

Assistance Program Manager, Department of Social Services, 

5600 Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 726-

7866, or email michele.thomas@dss.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: Virginia Water Protection VWP Permit 

Program Manual Supplemental Guidance. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Dave Davis, Manager, Office of Wetland and 

Stream Protection, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. 

Box 1105, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4105, or email 

vwppublicnotices@deq.virginia.gov. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for deletion and the listed agencies have opened up a 30-day public 

comment period. The listed agencies had previously identified these documents as certified guidance documents, pursuant to § 

2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

guidance document to view the deleted document and comment. This information is also available on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact. 

STATE BOARD OF LOCAL AND REGIONAL JAILS 

Titles of Documents: Board of Local and Regional Jails Policy 

Process. 

Board of Local and Regional Jails Regulations. 

Cost of Maintenance of Jails. 

Furlough, Work, Educational, and Rehabilitative Releases 

from Local Correctional Facilities. 

Local Correctional Facility Standards. 

Offender Co-Payment Program for Health Care Services. 

Offender Health Records. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Brian Flaherty, Executive Director, Board of 

Local and Regional Jails, 6900 Atmore Drive, Richmond, VA 

23225, telephone (804) 762-3207, or email 

brian.flaherty@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Titles of Documents: A Professional Development Training 

Program for VOSH Compliance and Consultation Personnel. 

Amendment to Bylaws of the Safety and Health Codes Board. 

Citation Policy for Paperwork and Written Program 

Requirement Violations. 

CSHO Inspector Medical Examination Program. 

Employer Responsibilities and Courses of Action Following a 

VOSH Inspection. 

Expedited Informal Settlement Agreement Program. 

Exposure Control Plan for VOSH Personnel with Occupational 

Exposure to Bloodborne Pathogens. 

Guidance for Employers to Mitigate the Risk of COVID-19 to 

Workers. 

Information Dissemination System for Ergonomic Inspections 

and Consultative Visits Resulting in Significant Benefits. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7887_20241023.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7887_20241023.pdf
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Tariffs-for-Common-Carriers-over-Irregular-Routes.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Tariffs-for-Common-Carriers-over-Irregular-Routes.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Tariffs-and-Time-Schedules-for-Common-Carriers-over-Regular-Routes.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Tariffs-and-Time-Schedules-for-Common-Carriers-over-Regular-Routes.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Tariffs-for-Household-Goods-Carriers.pdf
mailto:nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_7832_20241007.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_7832_20241007.pdf
mailto:michele.thomas@dss.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_7845_20241017.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_7845_20241017.pdf
mailto:vwppublicnotices@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2421
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2421
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2421
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2421
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2421
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2421
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2421
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2421
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2421
mailto:brian.flaherty@vadoc.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
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Job Safety and Health Protection Poster. 

Job Safety and Health Protection Poster - Spanish. 

Local Emphasis Programs - Development and Approval of 

Special Targeting Activities. 

OSHA Occupational Chemical Database, formerly Chemical 

Information Manual. 

OSHA Support of NIOSH "FACE" Program. 

OSHA Technical Manual OTM. 

Partnership Programs. 

Permanent Variance From §1910.178n7iii; Virginia Precast 

Corporation. 

Program Directive Development, Classification, and 

Numbering System for VOSH. 

Public Participation Guidelines for the Safety and Health 

Codes Board. 

Recordkeeping Policies and Procedures Manual RKM. 

Respiratory Protection Manual. 

Responsibilities of the Central and Regional Office Directors 

and Managers. 

State Emphasis Programs - Development, Approval, Adoption, 

and Evaluation. 

State Plan Policies and Procedures Manual through CH-5. 

State Program Requirements for Statistical Information on the 

Incidence of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses by Industry; 

on the Injured or Ill Worker; and on the Circumstances of the 

Injuries or Illnesses. 

Statewide Settlement Agreements. 

Temporary Policy Revisions to VOSH's Voluntary Protection 

Programs VPP during the COVID-19 Pandemic. 

Virginia BEST Policies and Procedures Manual. 

Virginia BUILT Policies and Procedures Manual. 

Virginia Voluntary Protection Program Policy and Procedures 

Manual. 

VOSH Closing Conference Guide - English. 

VOSH Closing Conference Guide - Spanish. 

VOSH - VADOC Challenge Pilot Policies and Procedures 

Manual. 

VOSH VPP Challenge Policies and Procedures Manual. 

VOSH Whistleblower Investigation Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Cristin Bernhardt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Hearing Legal Services Office, Department of Labor and 

Industry, 6606 West Broad Street, Suite 500, Richmond, VA 

23230, telephone (804) 786-2392, or email 

cristin.bernhardt@doli.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program Manual. 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Volume I. 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Manual Volume 

V. 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Manual - Volume 

V Updates. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Michele Thomas, Supplemental Nutrition 

Assistance Program Manager, Department of Social Services, 

5600 Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 726-

7866, or email michele.thomas@dss.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Titles of Documents: Procedure Manual for Firearms Dealers 

- March 2022. 

VCheck User's Guide. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 18, 2024. 

Effective Date: December 19, 2024. 

Agency Contact: Keenon Hook, Director, Bureau of Strategic 

Governance, Virginia State Police, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, 

North Chesterfield, VA 23235, telephone (804) 674-2081, or 

email keenon.hook@vsp.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2602
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY 

Public Comment Opportunity for Performance-
Based Regulation Tools for Investor-Owned Electric 

Utilities 

Pursuant to House Joint Resolution 30 and Senate Joint 

Resolution 47 approved by the 2024 Session of the Virginia 

General Assembly, the State Corporation Commission (SCC), 

in collaboration with the Virginia Department of Energy, shall 

conduct a study of performance-based regulation and 

alternative regulatory tools for investor-owned electric 

utilities. 

The study shall (i) evaluate the potential of performance-based 

regulatory tools and alternative regulatory tools to modernize 

the legal or regulatory framework, (ii) consider the long-term 

financial stability of investor-owned utilities, and (iii) balance 

the interests of all stakeholders for the benefit of the 

Commonwealth. 

Pursuant to the Order Establishing Proceeding for Case No. 

PUR-2024-00152 issued by the SCC on September 24, 2024, 

any interested person or entity wishing to participate in the 

stakeholder process may submit a comment for consideration 

on or before December 2, 2024. The notification shall include 

the name, address, email address, and telephone number of the 

interested person or entity. Comments may be submitted to the 

contact listed. 

Contact Information: Jonika Rathi, Research Analyst, 

Department of Energy, 1100 Bank Street, Eighth Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone (804) 692-3207, or 

email jonika.rathi@energy.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Chesapeake 
Airport Authority 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Chesapeake Airport 

Authority for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations in Chesapeake, Virginia. The proposed order is 

available from the DEQ contact listed or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/ 

enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept comments 

by email or postal mail from November 18, 2024, through 

December 18, 2024. 

Contact Information: Russell Deppe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 647-

8060, or email russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
DEPCOM Power Inc. 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for DEPCOM Power Inc. for 

violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations in 

Westmoreland County, Virginia. The proposed order is 

available from the DEQ contact listed or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/ 

enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept comments 

by email or postal mail from November 18, 2024, through 

December 18, 2024. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

telephone 804-659-2696, or email 

matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Emerald 
Construction Company 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Emerald Construction 

Company for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations in New Kent County, Virginia. The proposed order 

is available from the DEQ contact listed or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/ 

enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept comments 

by email or postal mail from October 7, 2024, through 

November 6, 2024. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

telephone 804-659-2696, or email 

matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Sentara  
Princess Anne Hospital  

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for Sentara Princess Anne 

Hospital for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations in Virginia Beach, Virginia. The proposed order is 

available from the DEQ contact listed or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/ 

enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept comments 

by email or postal mail from November 18, 2024, through 

December 18, 2024. 

Contact Information: Russell Deppe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 647-

8060, or email russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://www.scc.virginia.gov/docketsearch/DOCS/81k201!.PDF
https://scc.virginia.gov/docketsearch#caseDocs/145495
https://scc.virginia.gov/docketsearch#caseDocs/145495
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Mountain Pine Arvonia I and II Solar Project Notice 
of Intent for a Small Renewable Energy Project 

(Solar) - Buckingham County 

Mountain Pine Arvonia LLC and Mountain Pine Arvonia II 

LLC provided the Department of Environmental Quality a 

notice of intent to submit the necessary documents for a permit 

by rule for a small renewable energy project (solar) in 

Buckingham County, Virginia, pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The 

project developer is Hodson Energy. The DEQ project number 

is RE0000332. 

The project will encompass 572 acres of a 1,065-acre parcel 

between CG Woodson Road and North James Madison 

Highway with a geographic information system (GIS) centroid 

of Latitude 37.669167, Longitude -78.316011. As proposed, 

the project will have up to a rated capacity of 80 megawatts 

alternating current and use approximately 192,000 

photovoltaic panels. 

Contact Information: Matthew Snow, Small Renewable 

Energy Permit by Rule Program Specialist, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 718-9569, or email 

matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov. 

Oral Oaks Road Solar LLC Notice of Intent for a 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - 

Lunenberg County 

Oral Oaks Road Solar LLC provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Lunenberg County, Virginia, pursuant 

to 9VAC15-60. The project developer is VHB Mid-Atlantic 

Energy. The DEQ project number is RE0000333. 

The project will encompass approximately 50 acres of a 

128.24-acre parcel on the east side of Oral Oaks Road with a 

geographic information system (GIS) centroid of Latitude 

36.881518719, Longitude -78.202794408. The project as 

proposed will have up to a rated capacity of 12 megawatts 

alternating current and use approximately 27,072 photovoltaic 

modules. 

Contact Information: Matthew Snow, Small Renewable 

Energy Permit by Rule Program Specialist, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 718-9569, or email 

matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov. 

 

 

 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 
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