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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequen111tial impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at https://register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and 

date. 34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, 

Issue 8, pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on 

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Marcus B. Simon, 

Chair; Russet W. Perry, Vice Chair; Katrina E. Callsen; Nicole 

Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Michael 

Mullin; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Managing 

Editor; Erin Comerford, Regulations Analyst 

 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4007.06/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://register.dls.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4006/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4006/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4031/


PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 
This schedule is available on the Virginia Register of Regulations website (http://register.dls.virginia.gov). 

Volume 41, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations  December 16, 2024 

1000 

PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2024 through January 2026 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

41:10 December 11, 2024 December 30, 2024 

41:11 December 23, 2024 (Monday) January 13, 2025 

41:12 January 8, 2025 January 27, 2025 

41:13 January 22, 2025 February 10, 2025 
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41:20 April 30, 2025 May 19, 2025 

41:21 May 14, 2025 June 2, 2025 

41:22 May 28, 2025 June 16, 2025 

41:23 June 11, 2025 June 30, 2025 

41:24 June 25, 2025 July 14, 2025 

41:25 July 9, 2025 July 28, 2025 

41:26 July 23, 2025 August 11, 2025 

42:1 August 6, 2025 August 25, 2025 

42:2 August 20, 2025 September 8, 2025 

42:3 September 3, 2025 September 22, 2025 

42:4 September 17, 2025 October 6, 2025 

42:5 October 1, 2025 October 20, 2025 

42:6 October 15, 2025 November 3, 2025 

42:7 October 29, 2025 November 17, 2025 

42:8 November 10, 2025 (Monday) December 1, 2025 

42:9 November 24, 2025 (Monday) December 15, 2025 

42:10 December 9, 2025 (Tuesday) December 29, 2025 

42:11 December 22, 2025 (Monday) January 12, 2026 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5. None specified. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 10.1-1308 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Robert Hodson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: On September 30, 2024, the 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) received Robert 

Hodson's petition to initiate a new regulation on ocean-class 

passenger cruise ships. Specifically, this petition requests that 

DEQ and the Commonwealth develop a regulation for cruise 

ships in Virginia waters as follows: (i) mandate the use of low-

sulphur fuel; (ii) ban the use of exhaust gas cleaning systems 

(open-loop scrubbers); (iii) require the use of shore power; (iv) 

restrict the dumping of graywater, blackwater, and other 

environmentally detrimental waste products; and (v) require 

incident reporting and independent monitoring to ensure 

compliance. 

A copy of the full petition is available from the agency contact. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At the November 21, 2024, 

meeting of the State Air Pollution Control Board, staff 

presented the board with information on the petition and a 

summary of the comments received on the petition during the 

public comment period. The board voted to not initiate a 

rulemaking in response to the petition. The rationale for 

denying the petition is as follows: 

With respect to petition items one through three and item five: 

1. The board is limited by § 10.1-1307 B of the Code of 

Virginia to regulating motor vehicles with respect to a Low and 

Zero Emissions Vehicle program, or an inspection and 

maintenance program governing on-road motor vehicles in the 

northern Virginia ozone nonattainment area. The board has no 

jurisdiction over off-shore mobile sources, such as cruise ships. 

Even if state law did allow the board to adopt such regulations, 

the board would be prohibited from doing so by 42 USC § 

7543(e)(1) of the federal Clean Air Act, which prohibits states 

from adopting certain standards for controlling emissions from 

new non-road vehicles and engines. 

2. Cruise ships are subject to international law and treaty, and 

changes to pollution controls should be pursued through those 

venues. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

participates on the United States delegation to the International 

Maritime Organization (IMO), which is part of the United 

Nations. The Marine Environment Protection Committee is a 

group of member states within IMO that works on the 

prevention of marine pollution. The global marine 

environment standards are contained in the International 

Convention on the Prevention of Pollution from Ships treaty, 

also known as MARPOL. Annex VI to MARPOL defines 

engine and ship requirements related to air pollution. The 

board has no legal ability to override these existing legal 

requirements. 

3. Even if the board had the authority to regulate cruise ships, 

it would not be able to complete the work to develop a 

regulation until various international and federal efforts had 

been conducted; see, for example: https://www.epa.gov/ 

regulations-emissions-vehicles-and-engines/epa-collaboration-

international-air-pollution-0. 

4. Neither the board nor the Department of Environmental 

Quality have the ability to ensure compliance with any such 

program. 

5. Low-sulfur fuel is already required through the MARPOL 

treaty. Annex VI to MARPOL allows the use of exhaust gas 

cleaning systems (scrubbers) as an alternative method of 

compliance with the marine fuel sulfur limit. 

6. Shore power is generally used by vessels with moderate 

power requirements, typically less than 50 to 100 kilowatts. 

These vessels are capable of making use of normal grid voltage 

and frequency and replace the energy from the generators with 

the shore power. To serve larger vessels with shore power, 

dedicated and relatively costly installations are required, both 

on land and on board the vessels. This may include upgrading 

the grid capacity, frequency converters and complex high 

power connectors. Consequently, relatively few vessels and 

ports are capable of making use of shore power, and any related 

benefits may not outweigh the costs. 

With respect to item four: The board does not have the legal 

authority under the State Air Pollution Control Law (§ 10.0-

1300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) to regulate water quality. 

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA, 23218, telephone (804) 659-

1973, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-17; Filed October 01, 2024, 3:43 p.m. 

https://www.epa.gov/regulations-emissions-vehicles-and-engines/epa-collaboration-international-air-pollution-0
https://www.epa.gov/regulations-emissions-vehicles-and-engines/epa-collaboration-international-air-pollution-0
https://www.epa.gov/regulations-emissions-vehicles-and-engines/epa-collaboration-international-air-pollution-0
mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Health conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 12VAC5-67, 

Advance Health Care Directive Registry, and determined 

that this regulation should be amended. The board is publishing 

its report of findings dated July 1, 2024, to support this 

decision. 

The board will amend this regulation to conform it to 

provisions of Article 9 (§ 54.1-2994 et seq.) of Chapter 29 of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that clarify the document 

types that may be stored in the Advance Healthcare Directive 

Registry and state when a provider may access documents in 

the Advance Healthcare Directive Registry. 

The advantage to the public and the Commonwealth is that the 

regulation will be in compliance with legislative changes 

enacted by the 2021 General Assembly and will provide 

helpful information regarding advance health care directive 

registration. There are no disadvantages to individual private 

citizens or businesses not subject to the regulation, the agency, 

or the Commonwealth. 

The Advance Healthcare Directive Registry regulation is 

necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth. The 

establishment of effective health care data analysis and 

reporting initiatives is essential to improving the quality and 

efficiency of health care, fostering competition among health 

care providers, and increasing consumer choice with regard to 

health care services in the Commonwealth. The regulation is 

mostly clearly written and understandable. It requires some 

clarifying language with regard to allowable documentation 

and provider access to the registry. 

The board will amend the regulation to better align the chapter 

with current practice, update existing regulatory language to 

conform to the form and style requirements of the Virginia 

Administrative Code, consider opportunities for regulatory 

reduction, and amend the chapter to clarify advance care 

planning documentation that may be stored in the Advance 

Healthcare Directory Registry and who may access the 

documentation. 

There is a continued need for these regulations as the board is 

required to make available an Advance Healthcare Directive 

Registry. The board has received neither complaints nor 

comments concerning this regulation. The regulatory language 

contained in this chapter is not complex. The regulation does 

not conflict with state law or regulation. The regulation 

requires a comprehensive review to reflect changes in the 

health care industry, technology, and economic conditions. 

Contact Information: Kindall Bundy, Policy Analyst, Virginia 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 986-5270, or email 

kindall.bundy@vdh.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

22VAC40-293, Locality Groupings, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The board is 

publishing its report of findings dated October 30, 2024, to 

support this decision. 

This regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. 

The Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 

program and regulation are essential to protecting the welfare 

of vulnerable citizens. The regulation is necessary because it 

provides a mechanism for a locality to switch grouping when 

there is evidence to support that need. This regulation will 

protect families by allowing them access to greater resources 

in certain situations. This regulation establishes criteria using 

data that is easily obtainable and readily available. This results 

in a system that is more equitable to families across the 

Commonwealth. 

This regulation continues to be necessary and should stay in 

effect without change. Without the regulation, there would be 

no means of reviewing or changing the TANF payment level 

for a specific locality. Since this regulation has been in effect, 

12 localities have switched to higher paying locality groupings, 

directly benefiting the citizens of those areas. 

No comments have been received in the past concerning this 

regulation. This regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with any federal or state law or regulation. While 

economic conditions as well as local cost of living standards 

continue to change, this regulation provides a means for a 

locality to change locality groupings as a result of such 

changes. This regulation was last reviewed in 2020. It has no 

impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Mark Golden, Temporary Assistance for 

Needy Families Program Manager, Department of Social 

Services, 5600 Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone 

(804) 726-7385, or email mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

mailto:kindall.bundy@vdh.virginia.gov
mailto:mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov


Periodic Reviews and Small Business Impact Reviews 

Volume 41, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations  December 16, 2024 

1003 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulation is undergoing a periodic 

review and a small business impact review: 22VAC40-675, 

Personnel Policies for Local Departments of Social 

Services. The review will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 19 (2022). The purpose of this review is to 

determine whether this regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to this regulation, 

including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins December 16, 2024, and ends 

January 6, 2025. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Leighann Smigielski, Senior Human 

Resources Policy Analyst, Department of Social Services, 

5600 Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 726-

7059, or email r.leighann.smigielski@dss.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

22VAC40-685, Virginia Energy Assistance Program - 

Home Energy Assistance Program, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated October 

16, 2024, to support this decision. 

The Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP) protects the 

welfare of eligible citizens of the Commonwealth by providing 

funding to augment the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance 

Program (LIHEAP), which provides critical heating, cooling, 

and crisis assistance that ensures the safety, health, and welfare 

of Virginia's low-income citizens. This regulation is necessary 

to provide a framework for the program. The regulation is clear 

and concise and written in a manner easily understood. 

The regulation should be retained without changes at this time 

to ensure that procedures regarding current program 

administration and fund disbursement are in place. The 

regulation grants authority to the Department of Social 

Services to receive and disburse HEAP funds. These funds are 

used to supplement the LIHEAP federal funding used to offer 

and administer the Energy Assistance Program (EAP). In 

addition, HEAP funds may be used to leverage additional 

federal funds. 

The department did not receive any complaints or comments 

during the public comment period. Because this regulation 

makes revenue available to over 400 vendors, the impact of the 

regulation on small business is positive. The regulation 

provides eligible EAP vendors, which includes vendors from 

the small business community, access to revenue made 

available through the federally funded LIHEAP. The 

regulation is not complex and does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with other federal or state laws or regulations. The last 

evaluation of this regulation occurred in 2019. Business 

entities that provide EAP goods and services are eligible to 

participate as vendors in the EAP. Payments to vendors are 

determined by their respective products, self-designated 

service areas and by customer selection. There is no need to 

amend or repeal the regulation to minimize the economic 

impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Denise Surber, Interim Program 

Manager, Department of Social Services, 5600 Cox Road, 

Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 726-7386, or email 

denise.t.surber@dss.virginia.gov. 

mailto:r.leighann.smigielski@dss.virginia.gov
mailto:denise.t.surber@dss.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 

consider amending 12VAC5-501, Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Construction and Maintenance of Migrant 

Labor Camps. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 

the regulation following a periodic review to ensure there is an 

effective regulatory program governing living quarters for 

migrant agricultural workers within the Commonwealth. The 

regulation has not undergone a comprehensive review since its 

promulgation over 20 years ago. This action proposes to (i) 

remove outdated information; (ii) add and amend text to reflect 

best practices and the latest science from industry, academia, 

public health experts, and other stakeholders; (iii) clarify 

regulatory and enforcement standards; and (iv) include any 

additional amendments deemed necessary in response to 

public comment or input from industry and subject matter 

experts. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-211 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 15, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Kristin Marie Clay, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Office of Environmental Health Services, Virginia Department 

of Health, 109 Governor Street, Fifth Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 864-7474, or email 

kristin.clay@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7480; Filed November 15, 2024, 1:58 p.m. 

mailto:kristin.clay@vdh.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-390. Rules and Regulations for 

the Enforcement of the Virginia Seed Law (adding 2VAC5-

390-190). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-4001 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 14, 2025. 

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 

Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy board 

with the authority to adopt regulations in accordance with the 

provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. Section 3.2-

4001 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to establish 

standards, such as minimum germination rates, for agricultural, 

vegetable, flower, tree and shrub, and lawn and turf seeds; 

mixtures of such seeds; and screenings sold in the 

Commonwealth. 

Purpose: Over the past several years, Virginia's cotton growers 

have reported that planted cotton seed has had low germination 

rates. Low germination can negatively impact plant density and 

lead to a reduction in the yield of harvested cotton. The 

establishment of a minimum germination rate ensures that 

cotton seed meets or exceeds a minimum germination standard 

so that proper plant population density in the field can be 

achieved and maximum production realized. Without an 

established minimum cotton seed germination rate, cotton seed 

with substandard germination rates can be sold in the 

Commonwealth, thereby negatively impacting Virginia's 

cotton producers. Cotton seed sold in many cotton producing 

states in the Southeastern United States currently have 

regulations establishing a minimum germination rate. In most 

of these states, the minimum germination rate for cotton seed 

is 60% to 70%. 

The proposed amendments protect the economic welfare of 

Virginia's cotton farmers by ensuring that cotton farmers are 

purchasing cotton seed that meets or exceeds an established 

minimum germination rate. The Code of Virginia currently 

requires the germination rate of each seed product sold in 

Virginia to be listed on the product's label; however, not all 

seed products have a minimum germination rate established in 

the regulation. Thus, cotton seed can currently be sold in 

Virginia at any germination rate, so long as that rate appears 

on the product's label and is accurate. Establishing a minimum 

germination rate for cotton seed will ensure that the cotton seed 

offered for sale in Virginia meets or exceeds 60%, thereby 

enabling Virginia's cotton growers to maximize cotton yield 

and profit. 

Substance: The proposed amendments establish a minimum 

germination rate of 60% for cotton seed sold in Virginia. In 

addition, the proposed amendments allow cotton seed that does 

not meet the labeled germination rate for that seed to be 

relabeled and sold with the correct germination rate, as 

determined by germination tests conducted by the Department 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services Seed Laboratory, 

provided such germination rate is 60% or higher. 

Issues: The primary advantages of the proposed amendments 

will be for Virginia cotton growers, most of whom are small 

businesses, as the proposed amendments will ensure that the 

cotton seeds that cotton growers purchase will meet or exceed 

a minimum germination standard, which will increase the 

grower plant population density and production. The proposed 

amendments would only disadvantage cotton seed sellers who 

offer for sale cotton seeds that fall below the minimum 

germination rate. The department does not expect requiring a 

minimum germination rate of 60% to appreciably change 

cotton seed seller business operations or production costs. 

Under the proposed amendments, cotton seed with mislabeled 

germination rates above 60% may be relabeled and sold with 

the correct germination rate, which would advantage both 

sellers and buyers. The proposed amendments have no 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth as the department already 

has the capacity to sample and conduct germination tests on 

agricultural seed sold in Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (board) proposes 
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to (i) establish that cotton seeds sold in the Commonwealth 

must have a germination rate of at least 60% and (ii) state that 

cotton seed that tests below the germination rate stated on the 

label can be sold, provided that the tested germination rate is 

at least 60% and the seed is relabeled to indicate the actual 

germination rate. 

Background. Section 3.2-4008 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

germination rate of each seed product sold in Virginia to be listed 

on the product's label.2 According to the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS), Virginia cotton 

growers voiced concerns to the agency that they believe that the 

cotton seed that they are buying and planting is germinating at a 

substandard rate or that it is germinating at a rate below that which 

is labeled on the seed packaging. Virginia cotton growers also 

expressed their concern that most other cotton-growing states in 

the Southeastern United States require minimum germination 

rates for cotton, which may result in the offering for sale in 

Virginia of cotton seed that failed to meet the minimum 

germination requirements in those other states. In most of these 

states, the minimum germination rate for cotton seed is 60% to 

70%. VDACS determined that the most appropriate means of 

addressing these concerns is utilizing the regulatory process to 

establish a minimum germination rate for cotton seed sold in 

Virginia. To determine if seed is in violation of the labeled 

germination rate, VDACS inspectors take samples of the seed 

when the seed is in a seed dealer's warehouse and before it has 

been distributed to farmers. The sample is submitted to the 

VDACS Seed Laboratory for analysis. Seed analysis for 

germination can take several weeks as laboratory staff complete 

the grow out germination tests. Once the germination tests are 

complete, seed that is in violation of the labeled germination rate 

and has not been distributed to growers is placed under stop sale. 

Such seed may be relabeled by the seed manufacturer with the new 

germination rate and sold or the seed can be returned to the seed 

manufacturer. Thus, stating in the regulation that cotton seeds that 

test below the germination rate stated on the label can be sold if 

the seeds are relabeled to indicate the actual germination rate 

reflects current policy, with the exception that seeds with true 

germination rates below 60% may no longer be sold under the 

proposed regulation. Though seed companies may sell cotton 

seeds that test below the germination rate stated on the label if the 

seeds are relabeled to indicate the actual germination rate, there is 

a penalty for selling seed at a germination rate below the labeled 

rate. The penalty assessment for variance from label guarantee is 

equivalent to one percent of the amount of money the person from 

whom the sample was taken receives from the sale of the seed or 

$100 (whichever is greater) on each lot of seed or portion found 

in violation.3 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The fine for selling cotton seeds 

that germinate at below the rate stated on the label is small and is 

not likely on its own to deter seed companies. Purchasing and 

planting seeds that have lower than anticipated germination is 

costly for cotton growers in that less cotton is produced than 

expected. The proposal to not allow the relabeling and sale of 

seeds that VDACS Seed Laboratory analysis indicates has 

germination below 60% disincentivizes seed sellers from selling 

substandard seeds in Virginia. Thus, cotton growers in Virginia 

may benefit. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the approximate 245 cotton producers in 

Virginia, as well as the five cotton seed companies selling 

cotton seed in the Commonwealth.4 According to VDACS, all 

five cotton seed companies are based out of state. The agency 

estimates that all Virginia cotton producers are small 

businesses, but is unable to determine if the cotton seed 

companies are small businesses. The Code of Virginia requires 

DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result from the 

proposed regulation.5 An adverse impact is indicated if there is 

any increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for any entity 

based in the Commonwealth, even if the benefits exceed the 

costs for all entities combined.6 As no Virginia-based entity is 

specifically expected to have an increase in net cost or 

reduction in net benefit due to the proposed amendments,7 no 

adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect Virginia small businesses. 

Localities10 Affected.11 The proposed amendments particularly 

affect the cotton-growing regions of Virginia, in particular the 

Cities of Chesapeake and Suffolk and the Counties of 

Accomack, Brunswick, Charles City, Dinwiddie, Greensville, 

Henrico, Isle of Wight, New Kent, Northampton, Prince 

George, Southampton, Surry, and Sussex.12 No costs for local 

governments are expected. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear likely to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposal 

may lead to more consistent, higher yielding cotton, which 

could increase the value of some cotton growing businesses. 

The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter40/section3.2-4008/. 

3 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter40/section3.2-4014/. 

4 Data source: VDACS. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter40/section3.2-4008/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter40/section3.2-4014/
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for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

7 It is possible that a Virginia cotton grower may wish to purchase seeds with 

below 60% germination rate if they are priced well below higher germinating 

seeds, but no such individual is specifically known, and the agency has 

indicated that at least most growers support the amendments. No objections 

were received at the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action stage. 

8 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

9 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

10 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

11 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

12 Source: VDACS. 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services concurs 

with the economic impact analysis prepared by the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) establish a minimum 

germination rate of 60% for cotton seed sold in Virginia and 

(ii) allow cotton seed that does not meet the labeled 

germination rate for that seed to be relabeled and sold 

labeled with the correct germination rate, as determined by 

germination tests conducted by the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services Seed Laboratory, 

provided such germination rate is 60% or higher. 

2VAC5-390-190. Minimum germination standard for 

cotton seed.  

A. Cotton for agricultural seed, as defined in § 3.2-4000 of 

the Code of Virginia, shall have a 60% minimum germination.  

B. A licensee may relabel and distribute, sell, or offer for sale 

cotton for agricultural seed that is labeled in violation of § 3.2-

4008 C 9 of the Code of Virginia if such seed is relabeled with 

the germination rate determined by the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7135; Filed November 18, 2024, 3:30 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 5. CORPORATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 5VAC5-30. Uniform Commercial Code 

Filing Rules (amending 5VAC5-30-20 through 5VAC5-30-

70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Bernard Logan, Clerk of the Commission, 

State Corporation Commission, 1300 East Main Street, P.O. 

Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9834, 

or email bernard.logan@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments require that Uniform Commercial Code 

(UCC) records shall only be communicated to the Clerk of 

the Virginia State Corporation Commission by the 

electronic delivery method provided by the clerk, unless in 

the case of hardship or other good cause, in which case 

the clerk may, at the clerk's discretion, allow for the 

communication of a UCC record by a method other than 

electronic filing. The amendments include additional 

process revisions to update the regulation. 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 15, 2024 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

CASE NO. CLK-2024-00005 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting Revisions 

to Uniform Commercial Code Filing Rules 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

On August 20, 2024, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") entered an Order Establishing Proceeding 

("August 20, 2024 Order") regarding a proposal by the Office 

of the Clerk ("Clerk") to amend Title 5, Chapter 30 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code ("Chapter 30")1 of the 

Commission's rules governing the filing and handling of 

Uniform Commercial Code ("UCC") records in the Clerk's 

Office of the Commission pursuant to Title 8.9A of the Code 

of Virginia ("Proposed Amendments"). 

The Clerk has recommended amendments to Chapter 30 that 

will require that UCC records shall only be tendered to the 

Clerk by the electronic delivery method provided by the Clerk, 

unless in the case of hardship or other good cause, in which 

case the Clerk may, at its discretion, allow for the 

communication of a UCC record by a method other than 

electronic filing. Additionally, the amendments include further 

process revisions to update the rules. 

The Order Establishing Proceeding and the proposed 

amendments to Chapter 30 were posted on the Commission's 

mailto:@bernard.logan@scc.virginia.gov
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website, provided to all interested persons, and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations on September 9, 2024. The 

Order Establishing Proceeding invited any interested persons 

to participate and required that any comments or requests for a 

hearing on the proposed amendments to Chapter 30 be 

submitted in writing on or before October 11, 2024. The 

Commission did not receive any comments or requests for a 

hearing. However, the Commission is aware that there were 

non-substantive differences between the Proposed 

Amendments set forth in the Order Establishing Proceeding 

and the version published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. These differences were due to a clerical error. The 

Final Rule adopted herein is consistent with the version 

published by the Commission in its August 20, 2024 Order.2 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter, 

concludes that the attached amendments to Chapter 30 should 

be adopted effective January 1, 2025.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT:  

(1) The amendments to Chapter 30, which are attached hereto 

and made a part hereof, are hereby ADOPTED effective 

January 1, 2025. 

(2) The Clerk shall provide notice of the adopted amendments 

to Chapter 30 to any interested persons as the Clerk may 

designate. 

(3) The Commission's Office of General Counsel shall provide 

a copy of this Order and the adopted amendments to Chapter 

30 to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) Interested persons may download unofficial copies of this 

Order and the adopted amendments to Chapter 30 from the 

Commission's website: scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-

Information. 

(5) This case is dismissed. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of the 

Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 

Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, Division of 

Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219-3424, MBrowder@oag.state.va.us; and a copy 

shall be delivered to the Commission's Office of General 

Counsel. 

____________________________ 

1 Available at: https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title5/agency5/ 

chapter30/.  

2 The blackline of the adopted amendments to Chapter 30 appended hereto 

includes reconciliations of the different versions of the Proposed Amendments 

resulting from the clerical error explained above. 

5VAC5-30-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Amendment" means a UCC record that amends the 

information contained in a financing statement. Amendments 

also include (i) assignments and (ii) continuation and 

termination statements. 

"Assignment" means an amendment that assigns all or a part 

of a secured party's power to authorize an amendment to a 

financing statement. 

"Continuation statement" shall have the meaning prescribed 

by § 8.9A-102(a)(27) of the Code of Virginia. 

"File number" shall have the meaning prescribed by § 8.9A-

102(a)(36) of the Code of Virginia. 

"Filing office" means the Clerk's Office of the State 

Corporation Commission. 

"Filing officer" means the Clerk of the State Corporation 

Commission. 

"Filing officer statement" means a statement entered into the 

UCC information management system to explain an action by 

the filing office. 

"Financing statement" shall have the meaning prescribed by 

§ 8.9A-102(a)(39) of the Code of Virginia. 

"Individual" means a natural person, living or deceased. 

"Information statement" means a UCC record that indicates a 

financing statement is inaccurate or wrongfully filed. 

"Initial financing statement" means a UCC record containing 

the information required to be in an initial financing statement 

and that causes the filing office to establish the initial record of 

existence of a financing statement. 

"Organization" means a legal person that is not an individual. 

"Personal identifiable information" shall have the meaning 

prescribed by § 12.1-19 B of the Code of Virginia. 

"Remitter" means a person who delivers a UCC record to the 

filing office for filing, whether the person is a filer or an agent 

of a filer responsible for delivering the UCC record for filing. 

"Remitter" does not include a person responsible merely for 

the delivery of the UCC record to the filing office, such as the 

postal service or a courier service but does include a service 

provider who acts as a filer's representative in the filing 

process. 

"Secured party of record" shall have the meaning prescribed 

by § 8.9A-511 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Termination statement" shall have the meaning prescribed 

by § 8.9A-102(a)(80) of the Code of Virginia. 

"Through date" means the most recent date that all 

submissions for a specified day have been indexed in the UCC 

information management system. 

"UCC" means the Uniform Commercial Code - Secured 

Transactions (§ 8.9A-101 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8014/22/5VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/8014/22/5VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title5/agency5/chapter30/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title5/agency5/chapter30/
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"UCC information management system" means the 

information management system used by the filing office to 

store, index, and retrieve information relating to financing 

statements. 

"UCC record" means an initial financing statement, an 

amendment, and an information or a filing officer statement, 

and shall not be deemed to refer exclusively to paper or paper-

based writings. 

5VAC5-30-30. General filing and search requirements. 

A. UCC records may be delivered to shall only be [ tendered 

for filing at communicated to ] the filing office for filing as 

follows: 1. By personal delivery, at the filing office street 

address; 2. By courier delivery, at the filing office street 

address; 3. By postal delivery, to the filing office mailing 

address; or 4. B by electronic delivery method provided and 

authorized by the filing office. 

B. The filing time for a UCC record delivered to the filing 

office for filing by personal or courier delivery is the time the 

UCC record is date-and-time stamped by the filing office even 

though the UCC record may not yet have been accepted for 

filing and may be subsequently rejected. The filing time for a 

UCC record delivered to the filing office for filing by postal 

delivery is the next close of business following the time of 

delivery (even though the UCC record may not yet have been 

accepted for filing and may be subsequently rejected). A UCC 

record delivered to the filing office for filing after regular 

business hours or on a day the filing office is not open for 

business will have a filing time of the close of business on the 

next day the filing office is open for business. The filing time 

for a UCC record delivered to the filing office for filing by 

authorized electronic delivery method is the date and time the 

UCC information management system receives the UCC 

record and determines that all the required elements of the 

transmission have been received in the required format. 

C. In the case of hardship or other good cause, the filing office 

may, at its discretion, allow for the communication of a UCC 

record by a method [ of communication ] other than electronic 

filing. [ Hardship delivery may only occur after the The ] filer 

[ has received prior must receive ] approval from the filing 

office [ prior to communicating a UCC record by a method 

other than electronic filing ]. The filing office will determine 

the policy and procedure used to accept and process a UCC 

record [ under a hardship request in these circumstances ]. 

D. UCC search requests may be delivered to the filing office 

by personal, courier, or postal delivery, or by electronic 

delivery method provided and authorized by the filing office. 

5VAC5-30-40. Forms, fees, Fees and payments. 

A. Forms. 1. The filing office shall only accept forms for 

UCC records that conform to the requirements of this chapter. 

2. The forms approved by the International Association of 

Commercial Administrators as they appear on the filing 

office's website (http://www.scc.virginia.gov/clk/uccfile.aspx) 

shall be accepted. 3. The filing office may approve other forms 

for acceptance, including additional forms approved by the 

International Association of Commercial Administrators. B. 

Fees. Filing fees and fees for services provided under this 

chapter are as follows: 

1. The fee for filing and indexing a UCC record is $20. 

2. The fee for submitting a UCC search request is $7.00. 

3. There is no fee for furnishing a paper copy of a UCC 

record of 25 or fewer pages. The fee for furnishing a paper 

copy of a UCC record that exceeds 25 pages is $10.00. For 

certifying a copy, the fee for the certificate and affixing 

thereto the seal of the commission or a facsimile thereof is 

$6.00. 

C. Methods of payment. B. Filing fees and fees for services 

provided under this chapter may be paid by the following 

methods: 

1. Payment by debit or credit card of a type approved by the 

filing office and cash shall be accepted if paid in person at 

the filing office. 

2. Personal check, cashier's check and money order made 

payable to the State Corporation Commission or Treasurer 

of Virginia shall be accepted for payment if drawn on a bank 

acceptable to the filing office or if the drawer is acceptable 

to the filing office. 

3. 1. Payment by debit or credit card of a type approved by 

the filing office shall be accepted for the filing or submission 

of a document delivered to the filing office for filing by 

authorized electronic delivery method. 

4. 2. The filing office may accept payment via electronic 

funds under National Automated Clearing House 

Association (NACHA) rules from remitters who have 

entered into appropriate NACHA-approved arrangements 

for such transfers and who authorize the relevant transfer 

pursuant to such arrangements and rules. 

C. Fees for services provided under this chapter may be paid 

by the following methods:  

1. Payment by debit or credit card of a type approved by the 

filing office for services requested by authorized electronic 

delivery method or in person at the filing office.  

2. Personal check, cashier's check, and money order made 

payable to the State Corporation Commission or Treasurer 

of Virginia shall be accepted for services requested by 

personal, courier, or postal delivery, or in person at the filing 

office, if drawn on a bank acceptable to the filing office or if 

the drawer is acceptable to the filing office.  

D. Overpayment and underpayment policies In case of 

hardship or other good cause, the filing office may allow for 

the payment of fees by an alternate method of payment. 
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[ Hardship or other good cause Such ] payment may only occur 

after the filer has received prior approval from the filing office. 

1. E. The filing office shall notify the remitter of the amount 

of any overpayment exceeding $24.99 and send the remitter the 

appropriate procedure and form for requesting a refund. The 

filing office shall refund an overpayment of $24.99 or less only 

upon the written request of the remitter. A request for a refund 

shall be delivered to the filing office within 12 months from 

the date of payment. 

2. F. Upon receipt of a [ hardship or other good cause ] UCC 

record with an insufficient filing fee, the filing office shall 

return the UCC record to the remitter with a notice stating the 

deficiency and may retain the filing fee. 

E. Uncollected filing fee payment. G. A filing may be voided 

by the filing office if the filing fee payment that is submitted 

by the remitter is dishonored, declined, refused, reversed, 

charged back to the commission, returned to the commission 

unpaid, or otherwise rejected for any reason by a financial 

institution or other third party, and after notice from the filing 

office, the remitter fails to submit a valid payment for the filing 

fee and any penalties. 

F. Federal liens. H. A notice of lien, certificate and other 

notice affecting a federal tax lien or other federal lien presented 

to the filing office pursuant to the provisions of the Uniform 

Federal Lien Registration Act (§ 55-142.1 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia) shall be treated as the most analogous UCC record 

unless the Uniform Federal Lien Registration Act or federal 

law provides otherwise. 

5VAC5-30-50. Acceptance and refusal of UCC records; 

continuation statements. 

A. The duties and responsibilities of the filing office with 

respect to the administration of the UCC are ministerial. In 

accepting for filing or refusing to file a UCC record pursuant 

to this chapter, the filing office does none of the following: 

1. Determine the legal sufficiency or insufficiency of a UCC 

record; 

2. Determine that a security interest in collateral exists or 

does not exist; 

3. Determine that information in the UCC record is correct 

or incorrect, in whole or in part; or 

4. Create a presumption that information in the UCC record 

is correct or incorrect, in whole or in part. 

B. The first day on which a continuation statement may be 

filed is the day of the month corresponding to the date upon 

which the related financing statement would lapse in the sixth 

month preceding the month in which the financing statement 

would lapse. If there is no such corresponding date, the first 

day on which a continuation statement may be filed is the last 

day of the sixth month preceding the month in which the 

financing statement would lapse. The last day on which a 

continuation statement may be filed is the date upon which the 

financing statement lapses. If the lapse date falls on a Saturday, 

Sunday, or other day on which the filing office is not open, then 

the last day on which a continuation statement may be filed, if 

delivered to the filing office for filing by personal, courier, or 

postal delivery, is the last day the filing office is open prior to 

the lapse date. An authorized electronic delivery method may 

be available to file a continuation statement on a Saturday, 

Sunday, or other day on which the filing office is not open. The 

relevant anniversary for a February 29 filing date shall be 

March 1 in the fifth or 30th year following the date of filing. 

C. Except as provided in 5VAC5-30-40 D, if the filing office 

finds grounds to refuse a UCC record for filing, including those 

set forth in § 8.9A-516 (b) of the Code of Virginia, the filing 

office shall return the UCC record to the remitter and may 

retain the filing fee. 

D. Nothing in this chapter shall prevent the filing office from 

communicating to a filer or a remitter that the filing office 

noticed apparent potential defects in a UCC record, whether or 

not it was filed or refused for filing. However, the filing office 

is under no obligation to do so and may not, in fact, have the 

resources to identify potential defects. The responsibility for 

the legal effectiveness of filing rests with filers and remitters 

and the filing office bears no responsibility for such 

effectiveness. 

E. The filing office may act in accordance with § 12.1-19 B 

of the Code of Virginia with respect to submissions that 

contain personal identifiable information. 

F. If it is determined that the filing office refused to accept a 

UCC record in error, the filing office shall file the UCC record 

with the filing date and time that were assigned, based on the 

method of delivery, by the filing office after the record was 

originally delivered to the filing office for filing. The filing 

office shall also file a filing officer statement that states the 

effective date and time of filing, which shall be the date and 

time the UCC record was originally delivered to the filing 

office for filing. 

5VAC5-30-60. Filing and data entry procedures. 

A. The filing office may correct errors made by its personnel 

in the UCC information management system at any time. The 

filing office shall file a filing officer statement in the UCC 

information management system identifying the UCC record 

to which it relates, the date of the correction or other action 

taken, and an explanation of the corrective or other action 

taken. The filing officer statement shall be preserved as long as 

the UCC record of the initial financing statement is preserved 

in the UCC information management system. 

B. An error by a filer or remitter is the responsibility of that 

person. It can be corrected by filing an amendment or it can be 

disclosed by filing an information statement pursuant to § 

8.9A-518 of the Code of Virginia. 
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C. 1. A UCC record delivered to the filing office for filing 

shall designate whether a name is a name of an individual or 

an organization. If the name is that of an individual, the 

surname, first personal name, additional name or names, and 

any suffix shall be given. 2. Organization names are entered 

into the UCC information management system exactly as set 

forth in the UCC record, even if it appears that multiple names 

are set forth in the UCC record or if it appears that the name of 

an individual has been included in the field designated for an 

organization name. 3. The filing office will only accept forms 

that designate separate fields for individual and organization 

names and separate fields for the surname, first personal name, 

additional name or names, and any suffix. Such forms diminish 

the possibility of filing office error and help assure that filers' 

expectations are met. However, the inclusion of names in an 

incorrect field or the failure to transmit names accurately to the 

filing office may cause a financing statement to be ineffective. 

Only names entered in a designated name field through the 

system-to-system transfer method will be recorded as a name 

in the UCC information management system. This applies to 

all parties associated with a UCC record.  

D. The filing office shall take no action upon receipt of a 

notification, formal or informal, of a bankruptcy proceeding 

involving a debtor included in the UCC information 

management system. 

5VAC5-30-70. Search requests and reports. 

A. The filing office maintains for public inspection a 

searchable index for all UCC records. The index shall provide 

for the retrieval of all filed UCC records by the name of the 

debtor and by the file number of the initial financing statement. 

B. Search requests shall be made only by electronic delivery 

method provided and authorized by the filing office or on the 

Information Request form (Form UCC11) and shall include: 

1. The name of the debtor to be searched, specifying whether 

the debtor is an individual or organization. A search request 

will be processed using the exact name provided by the 

requestor. 

2. The name and address of the person to whom the search 

report is to be sent. 

3. Payment of the appropriate fee, which shall be made by a 

method set forth in this chapter. 

C. Search requests may include: 

1. A request that copies of UCC records found in the search 

be included with the search report,; and 

2. Instructions For requests made by personal, courier, or 

postal delivery, instructions on the mode of delivery desired, 

if other than by postal delivery, which shall be followed if 

the desired mode is acceptable to the filing office. 

D. Search results are produced by the application of standardized 

search logic to the name presented to the filing office. The 

following criteria apply to searches: 

1. There is no limit to the number of matches that may be 

returned in response to the search request. 

2. No distinction is made between upper and lower case letters. 

3. Punctuation marks and accents are disregarded. 

4. "Noise words" are limited to "an," "and," "for," "of," and 

"the." The word "the" is disregarded. Other noise words 

appearing anywhere except at the beginning of an organization 

name are disregarded. Certain business words are modified to a 

standard abbreviation: company to "co," corporation to "corp," 

limited to "ltd," incorporated to "inc." 

5. All spaces are disregarded. 

6. After using the preceding criteria to modify the name to be 

searched, the search will reveal names of debtors that are 

contained in unlapsed or all initial financing statements in an 

alphabetical list. 

E. Reports created in response to a search request shall include 

the following: 

1. The date and time the report was generated. 

2. Identification of the name searched. 

3. The through date as of the date and time the report was 

generated. 

4. For an organization, the name as it appears after application 

of the standardized search logic. 

5. Identification of each unlapsed initial financing statement or 

all initial financing statements filed on or prior to the report date 

and time corresponding to the search criteria, by name of 

debtor, by file number, and by file date and file time. 

6. For each initial financing statement on the report, a listing of 

all related UCC records filed by the filing office on or prior to 

the report date. 

7. Copies of all UCC records revealed by the search and 

requested by the requestor. 

F. The filing office may provide access to the searchable index 

via the Internet that produces search results beyond exact name 

matches. Search results obtained via the Internet shall not 

constitute an official search and will not be certified by the filing 

office. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following the 

listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be viewed 

at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 

Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 
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FORMS (5VAC5-30) 

UCC Financing Statement, Form UCC1 (rev. 4/11). 

UCC Financing Statement Addendum, Form UCC1Ad (rev. 

4/11). 

UCC Financing Statement Additional Party, Form UCC1AP 

(rev. 8/11). 

UCC Financing Statement Amendment, Form UCC3 (rev. 

4/11). 

UCC Financing Statement Amendment Addendum, Form 

UCC3Ad (rev. 4/11). 

UCC Financing Statement Amendment Additional Party, 

Form UCC3AP (rev. 8/11). 

UCC Information Statement, Form UCC5 (rev. 7/12). 

UCC Information Request, Form UCC11 (rev. 7/12). 

UCC Information Request, Form UCC11 (rev. 7/2023) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8014; Filed November 15, 2024, 4:45 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-100. Rules Relating to 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 

Correctional Officers of the Department of Corrections, 

Division of Adult Institutions (amending 6VAC20-100-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 14, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Kristi Shalton, Law Enforcement Program 

Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 

Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-7801, 

FAX (804) 786-0410, or email kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia gives the 

Criminal Justice Services Board the authority to establish the 

compulsory minimum training standards for full-time and part-

time officers of the Department of Corrections (DOC). 

Purpose: The proposed amendments are essential to protecting 

the public health, safety, and welfare of citizens of the 

Commonwealth because the proper, efficient training of 

correctional officers ensures not only the safety of incarcerated 

individuals, but also prioritizes the safety and wellbeing of the 

public at large and victims of crime. 

Substance: Substantial changes and improvements have been 

made and applied to the performance outcomes, training 

objectives, testing criteria, and lesson plan guides in each 

individual category of training. These changes will reflect 

improved and updated language and enhanced training and 

include: 

Category 1 - Security and Supervision: 

1. Revised wording of performance outcomes (POs) and 

eliminated redundancy; 

2. Changed several practical exercises to written exercises; 

3. Added several training objectives (TOs) to better reflect 

revised performance outcomes for clarity; 

4. Revised and significantly enhanced content in lesson plan 

guides (LPGs) to be taught to new officers; 

5. Added additional information and removed redundancy (i.e., 

added types of counts to the LPG of PO 1.1); 

6. Created new PO 1.4 dealing with inmate disciplinary 

procedures, new PO 1.9 to identify abnormal behavior among 

inmate population, new PO 1.10 for better identification of 

high-risk behaviors and how to handle them while maintaining 

professionalism, and new PO 1.12 identifying management of 

abnormal behaviors; 

7. Created new PO 1.8 to address and identify inmate 

employment opportunities within the correctional setting; and 

8. Created new PO 1.11 dealing with suicidal ideation, 

prevention, and intervention strategies. 

Category 2 - Communications 

1. Changed several written exercises to practical exercises; 

2. Clarified effective interpersonal verbal and nonverbal 

communication skills; 

3. Enhanced communication barriers section and elaborated for 

more effective content and measurability by creating new PO 

2.5 identifying different levels of understanding and language 

barriers among individuals within a correctional setting; 

4. Renumbered and fixed multiple technical errors (i.e. 

punctuation, spelling, etc.); and 

5. Enhanced LPGs and added additional content to be taught 

(but not necessarily to be tested). 

Category 3 - Safety 

1. Revised practical and written TOs; 

2. Amended and enhanced language in POs for better clarity 

and understanding; 

3. Removed redundancy; 

4. Revised criteria sections to better reflect POs and TOs; 

5. Renumbered entire category to fix errors; 

6. Ensured TOs utilize language that makes them measurable; 

7. Created new PO 3.4 dealing with transportation of inmates, 

new PO 3.7 for inventorying keys and locking devices, new PO 

3.14 dealing with the disbursement of unlawful assemblies, 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/5VAC5/forms/ucc-11-20240729103855.pdf
mailto:@kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov
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new PO 3.15 that addresses use of force, and new PO 3.17 for 

weapons retention; and 

8. Included less lethal force options in the new (renumbered) 

PO 3.13 that deals with identification of chemical agents. 

Category 4 - Emergency Response 

1. Revised practical and written TOs for more effective 

instruction; 

2. Amended and enhanced language in POs for better clarity 

and understanding; 

3. Ensured language used created measurability for testing and 

auditing purposes; 

4. Renumbered entire category and fixed multiple technical 

errors; 

5. Added content to LPGs for enhanced classroom teaching; 

and 

6. Created new PO 4.2 dealing with hostage situational 

awareness and survival, new PO 4.6 that teaches and tests on 

terrorism and weapons of mass destruction in the workplace, 

new PO 4.7 dealing with response to an escaped inmate, and 

new PO 4.8 that addresses active shooter response within a 

correctional setting. 

Category 5 - Conflict and Crisis Management 

1. Removed redundant and outdated language, as well as 

content that appears elsewhere in other categories; and 

2. Renumbered entire category and made the category smaller 

in content, with more training, and more efficient. 

Category 6 - Law and Legal Issues; 

1. Reworded and restructured language in POs for clarity and 

understanding of intended tasks; 

2. Reorganized written and practical exercises; 

3. Removed redundant information and testing criteria; 

4. Increased information taught on Federal Code and the 

Constitutional rights of inmates; 

5. Created new PO 6.5 to identify established federal and state 

standards for the prevention, detection, and response to sexual 

abuse, sexual assault, or harassment; and 

6. Created new PO 6.6 to identify established federal laws 

concerning the protection of religious exercise by 

institutionalized persons. 

Category 7 - Duty Assignments and Responsibilities 

1. Removed redundancy; 

2. Renumbered entire category and fixed various technical 

errors; 

3. Reorganized practical and written exercises for better 

clarity; and 

4. Created new PO 7.7 dealing with the operation of electrical 

detection equipment designed to detect contraband within a 

correctional facility, and new PO 7.8 dealing with food 

distribution procedures to inmates. 

Category 8 - Professionalism 

1. Created new PO 8.2 requiring the student to identify various 

aspects and elements of the criminal justice system, as well as 

new PO 8.3 addressing performing duties in a positive, 

professional manner; and 

2. Removed redundancy and renumbered category. 

Category 9 - BCO Firearms Training 

1. Created new PO 9.1 to address safety procedures while 

students are at the range, as well as the identification of the 

cardinal rules of firearms; 

2. Added content to LPGs; 

3. Revised wording for clarity and understanding of specific 

intent of tasks and also to ensure measurability; 

4. Revised firearms qualification courses and struck through 

the old ones; 

5. Created new PO 9.6 dealing with duty rifle, ammunition, and 

equipment, as well as new PO 9.7 dealing with department-

issued shotguns and qualification with each; 

6. Revised 9.8 to better incorporate less-lethal launchers; and 

7. Renumbered category for more efficiency and put new 

qualification courses as appendices, listed after the 

performance outcomes. 

Category 10 - Physical Fitness Training 

1. Removed outdated and redundant language and essentially 

rewrote entire the category to include much more relevant 

information; 

2. Created new PO 10.1 addressing the identification of the 

importance and benefits of establishing and maintaining 

overall physical wellness for officers, as well as new PO 10.2 

relating to physical exercise; 

3. Added additional content in LPGs to ensure all students were 

being taught the same information, especially if some are not 

familiar with specific exercises; and 

4. Created new PO 10.3 that deals with the identification of 

workplace stressors and their causes and impacts, as well as 

reduction strategies. 

Category 11 - Field Training 

1. Reduced number of field training hours to 120 for efficiency; 

2. Reworded and revised current POs and tasks to ensure 

measurability for auditing purposes; 

3. Included or added updated information in reference to 

DOC's electronic inmate record system; 

4. Added information to better address the transportation of 

inmates, to include specific populations, such as pregnant 

inmates, or those with special needs (i.e., medical illness, 

nonambulatory persons); 
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5. Revised and enhanced 11.18, which deals with weapons 

handling, in its entirety; and 

6. Renumbered, clarified content, and better organized the 

entire category. 

Issues: There are no issues or disadvantages associated with 

the regulatory change that affect individual private citizens, 

businesses, other agencies within the Commonwealth, or 

government officials. Advantages of this regulatory change 

include improved and more efficient training for new 

corrections officers employed with the DOC, with less waste 

in ammunitions in the firearms category of training and in 

unnecessary classroom time currently used to "fill time 

requirements". The primary advantages associated with this 

regulatory change are numerous in terms of safety and 

transparency to the public, especially to the victims of crime. 

In the Commonwealth, offenders who are convicted of a crime 

and sentenced to more than 12 months of incarceration 

typically become inmates of DOC. The mandated training 

incorporated in the proposed amendments assists in keeping 

the Commonwealth's citizens safe by enhancing both basic and 

field training for new officers employed with DOC. There are 

no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth by 

promulgating this new regulation, and the Criminal Justice 

Services Board voted to approve not only this action, but also 

the amendments to the standards. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Criminal Justice Services Board (board) proposes to: (i) reduce 

the minimum number of basic correctional officer training 

hours from 400 to 320, (ii) reduce the minimum number of 

field training hours from 200 to 120, and (iii) amend specific 

training requirements in a separate document incorporated by 

reference (DIBR), which is considered to be part of the 

regulatory text. 

Background. The current regulation states that correctional 

officers shall comply with the following: 

1. Successfully complete basic correctional officer training at 

a certified criminal justice training academy, external training 

location, or satellite facility, which includes receiving a 

minimum of 400 hours of department approved training in the 

following categories: 

a. Security and supervision; 

b. Communication; 

c. Safety; 

d. Emergency response; 

e. Conflict and crisis management; 

f. Law and legal; 

g. Duty assignments and responsibilities; 

h. Professionalism; 

i. Basic corrections officer firearms training; and 

j. Physical fitness training. 

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 200 hours of approved 

training in the category of field training identified in the 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field 

Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes. 

The board proposes to change the minimum of 400 hours to a 

minimum of 320 hours for basic correctional officer training 

and change the minimum of 200 hours to a minimum of 120 

hours for field training. Additionally, in the DIBR, the board 

proposes to amend the specific training requirements for the 10 

categories listed for basic correctional officer training and also 

the 11th category of field training. The training addressed by 

the proposed amendments is provided or overseen by the 

Department of Corrections Academy for Staff Development, 

which conducts all basic correctional officer training using 

DOC employees. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. By reducing the total required 

minimum number of hours of training by 160, trainees may be 

able to start work as correctional officers approximately four 

weeks sooner. To the extent that under the proposed 

requirements, correctional officers are at least as well trained 

and prepared as they are under the current requirements, the 

proposed amendments would be substantially beneficial. 

According to the Department of Criminal Justice Services 

(DCJS), the proposed requirements improve efficiency and 

effectiveness. DOC reports that the agency is facing 

unprecedented staffing shortages, with approximately 1,600 

correctional officer vacancies, and that the proposal would 

enable the vacancies to be filled more quickly.2  

In the DIBR, the board proposes to no longer require 200 

firearm practice rounds for each student, and instead move 

toward a skill-based practice format. DCJS and DOC believe 

many students would be able to show competency while 

expending a smaller amount of live ammunition. DOC expects 

this would result in about a 10% reduction in ammunition 

usage in initial training. Further, DOC estimates that with 

current pricing this would result in an approximate savings of 

$11,500 over the course of a 12-month period. According to 

DCJS, the proposed amendments would not affect the need for 

any other items, including equipment. As indicated by the 

agency background document (ABD),3 several other changes 

are being proposed throughout the DIBR. However, the 

information in the ABD is not sufficiently detailed to indicate 

whether the proposed changes constitute additions or deletions 

of existing text, or a reorganization of existing text. As a result, 

a comprehensive assessment of the total number and type of 

changes, and their potential economic impact, is not possible.  
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Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect DOC, and in particular their three training 

academies and those institutions that have a large number of 

vacancies for correctional officers. Suppliers of ammunition to 

the training academies would also be affected. An adverse 

impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or 

reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. Since the proposal 

would likely result in reduced purchases of ammunition, those 

firms that sell ammunition to DOC would likely encounter 

reduced revenue. Thus, an adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected.5 Types and Estimated Number of 

Small Businesses Affected. The proposed amendments affect 

two small firms that have contracts with DOC to provide 

ammunition.6 Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to no 

longer require 200 firearm practice rounds for each student, 

and instead move toward a skill-based practice format, would 

likely result in about $11,500 less spent on ammunition 

annually. DOC has contracts with two small firms to purchase 

its ammunition. These firms would likely together have about 

$11,500 less in sales annually.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities7 Affected.8 According to DCJS, localities with a 

DOC facility within their jurisdiction may benefit through 

enhanced training of corrections officers keeping their 

community safer. The following localities have at least one 

DOC facility: the Cities of Chesapeake and Harrisonburg and 

the Counties of Augusta, Bland, Brunswick, Buchanan, 

Buckingham, Campbell, Chesterfield, Culpeper, Fluvanna, 

Goochland, Greensville, Grayson, Halifax, Hanover, Henry, 

Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, 

Richmond, Russell, Smyth, Southampton, Stafford, Sussex, 

Tazewell, and Wise. The proposed amendments may also 

indirectly affect the localities where the three training 

academies are situated, which are the Counties of Goochland, 

Smyth, and Southampton. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to affect costs for localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. According to DCJS, the 

proposed reduction in minimum training hours is not expected 

to affect employment for trainers. As mentioned above, the 

proposal would enable trainees to start working as correctional 

officers about four weeks sooner. This would likely enable 

vacancies to be filled more quickly, and consequently more 

correctional officers would likely be working at any given 

time. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The two 

firms that sell ammunition to the training academies would 

likely encounter reduced revenue. According to DOC, though 

the reduction in ammunition purchases would be about 10% of 

that currently used in initial training, it would only represent 

about 1.0% or less of all the ammunition purchased by DOC 

from those firms,9 and the firms have large contracts that are 

used by all state-level law-enforcement entities. Thus, any 

impact on the value of the firms would be quite small. 

The proposed amendments do not appear to affect real estate 

development costs.  

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2 Source: Department of Corrections 

3 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=51\5649\9355\Agency 

Statement_DCJS_9355_v4.pdf 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

6 Data source: Virginia Employment Commission 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

8 § 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

9 Other DOC ammunition expenditure purposes include annual recertification 

training, instructor level training and duty ammunition purchases. 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Virginia 

Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) is in 

agreement with the economic impact analysis (EIA) prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB). Although 

prepared approximately three years ago in October 2021, all 

details related to the stages of basic training for new law 

corrections officer recruits is correct. DPB's assessment that 

there are no associated increases in costs is correct, and DCJS 

concurs that the changes associated with this regulatory action 

reduce the minimum number of basic correctional officer 

training hours from 400 to 320, reduce the minimum number 

of field training hours from 200 to 120, and amend training 

requirements in a separate document incorporated by reference 

(DIBR), which will replace the current version. With respect 

to the DIBR, DCJS also agrees that the proposed changes to no 

longer require 200 firearm practice rounds for each student and 

instead move toward a skill-based practice format, that the 

Department of Corrections (DOC) expects this would result in 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=51/5649/9355/AgencyStatement_DCJS_9355_v4.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=51/5649/9355/AgencyStatement_DCJS_9355_v4.pdf
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about a 10% reduction in ammunition usage in initial training. 

Further, DOC concurs that with current pricing, this would 

result in an approximate savings of $11,500 over the course of 

a 12-month period. DCJS supports DPB's assessment and is in 

agreement with the published EIA. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) reduce the minimum number 

of basic correctional officer training hours from 400 to 320, 

(ii) reduce the minimum number of field training hours from 

200 to 120, and (iii) revise training requirements in the 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Basic 

Corrections Officer Compulsory Minimum Training 

Standards and Field Training Performance Outcomes to 

enhance performance outcomes and update outdated 

language for effectiveness and efficiency in training new 

academy recruits. 

6VAC20-100-20. Compulsory minimum training 

standards. 

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 9 of § 9.1-102 of 

the Code of Virginia, the department under the direction of the 

board establishes the compulsory minimum training standards 

for full-time or part-time correctional officers of the 

Department of Corrections. 

B. Individuals hired as correctional officers as defined in § 

53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia shall meet or exceed the 

compulsory minimum training standards at a certified criminal 

justice training academy, external training location, or satellite 

facility and complete field training requirements. Correctional 

officers shall comply with the following: 

1. Successfully complete basic correctional officer training 

at a certified criminal justice training academy, external 

training location, or satellite facility, which includes 

receiving a minimum of 400 320 hours of department 

approved department-approved training in the following 

categories: 

a. Security and supervision; 

b. Communication; 

c. Safety; 

d. Emergency response; 

e. Conflict and crisis management; 

f. Law and legal issues; 

g. Duty assignments and responsibilities; 

h. Professionalism; 

i. Basic corrections officer firearms training; and 

j. Physical fitness training. 

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 200 120 hours of 

approved training in the category of field training identified 

in the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services 

Basic Corrections Officer Compulsory Minimum Training 

Standards and Field Training and On the Job Training 

Performance Outcomes, draft dated November 1, 2024, 

hereby incorporated by reference. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(6VAC20-100) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field 

Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes, 

published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal 

Justice Services (Revised January 2018) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Basic 

Corrections Officer Compulsory Minimum Training Standards 

and Field Training Performance Outcomes, draft dated 

November 1, 2024, Virginia Department of Corrections 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6569; Filed November 15, 2024, 9:23 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Virginia Waste Management 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-81. Solid Waste Management 

Regulations (amending 9VAC20-81-35, 9VAC20-81-800). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC § 6941 et seq.; 40 CFR Parts 257 and 258. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Rebecca Rathe, Regulatory Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early Road, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 830-7241, or email 

rebecca.rathe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Background: Section 2301 of the 2016 Water Infrastructure 

Improvements for the Nation (WIIN) Act amended § 4005 of 

the Resource Conservation & Recovery Act to allow states to 

develop coal combustion residuals (CCR) permit programs and 

granted the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 

authority to approve state programs or implement a federal 

permit program in nonparticipating states. Prior to this action, 

the Virginia Solid Waste Management Regulations (VSWMR) 

(9VAC20-81) was amended to incorporate EPA's 2015 

Disposal of CCR from Electric Utilities final rule and establish 

permit requirements for applicable CCR units. The VSWMR 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/6VAC20/dibr/Basic%20Corrections%20Officer%20Compulsory%20Minimum%20Training%20Standards%20and%20Field%20Training%20Performance%20Outcomes%20draft%2011-1-24-20241125155246.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/6VAC20/dibr/Basic%20Corrections%20Officer%20Compulsory%20Minimum%20Training%20Standards%20and%20Field%20Training%20Performance%20Outcomes%20draft%2011-1-24-20241125155246.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/6VAC20/dibr/Basic%20Corrections%20Officer%20Compulsory%20Minimum%20Training%20Standards%20and%20Field%20Training%20Performance%20Outcomes%20draft%2011-1-24-20241125155246.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/6VAC20/dibr/Basic%20Corrections%20Officer%20Compulsory%20Minimum%20Training%20Standards%20and%20Field%20Training%20Performance%20Outcomes%20draft%2011-1-24-20241125155246.pdf
mailto:rebecca.rathe@deq.virginia.gov
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was subsequently amended to incorporate the 2016 

amendment applicable to inactive CCR surface 

impoundments. Separately, §§ 10.1-1402.03 and 10.1-1402.04 

of the Code of Virginia define additional closure requirements 

for certain CCR units, and § 10.1-1402.05 of the Code of 

Virginia specify additional coal ash landfill requirements. 

Based on previous incorporations of the 2015 CCR Rule and 

2016 amendment, Virginia drafted a state package for EPA 

program approval to administer a CCR permit program. EPA 

review indicated that Virginia needed to incorporate additional 

CCR Rule amendments promulgated through December 2020 

to request state program approval, which is what this action is 

doing. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove an exclusion for electric 

vehicles, which was vacated by a 2018 District of 

Columbia (DC) Circuit Court ruling; (ii) update the 

citation to 40 CFR 257 to December 14, 2020; (iii) 

exclude from incorporation by reference a phrase from the 

CFR so that entities seeking approval must provide 

certifications by a professional engineer; (iv) exclude 

from incorporation by reference language from the 

federal regulation vacated by the DC Circuit Court; and 

(v) exclude a requirement limiting the height of vegetative 

growth, which was remanded back to EPA for 

reconsideration by a 2016 DC Circuit Court ruling.  

9VAC20-81-35. Applicability of chapter. 

A. This chapter applies to all persons who treat, store, 

dispose, or otherwise manage solid wastes as defined in 

9VAC20-81-95. 

B. All facilities that were permitted prior to March 15, 1993, 

and upon which solid waste has been disposed of prior to 

October 9, 1993, may continue to receive solid waste until they 

have reached their vertical design capacity or until the closure 

date established pursuant to § 10.1-1413.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, in Table 2.1, provided: 

1. The facility is in compliance with the requirements for 

liners and leachate control in effect at the time of permit 

issuance. 

2. On or before October 9, 1993, the owner or operator of 

the solid waste management facility submitted to the 

director: 

a. An acknowledgment that the owner or operator is 

familiar with state and federal law and regulations 

pertaining to solid waste management facilities operating 

after October 9, 1993, including postclosure care, 

corrective action, and financial responsibility 

requirements; 

b. A statement signed by a professional engineer that he 

has reviewed the regulations established by the 

department for solid waste management facilities, 

including the open dump criteria contained therein, that he 

has inspected the facility and examined the monitoring 

data compiled for the facility in accordance with 

applicable regulations and that, on the basis of his 

inspection and review, he has concluded: 

(1) That the facility is not an open dump; 

(2) That the facility does not pose a substantial present or 

potential hazard to human health and the environment; and 

(3) That the leachate or residues from the facility do not 

pose a threat of contamination or pollution of the air, 

surface water, or groundwater in a manner constituting an 

open dump or resulting in a substantial present or potential 

hazard to human health or the environment; and 

c. A statement signed by the owner or operator: 

(1) That the facility complies with applicable financial 

assurance regulations; and 

(2) Estimating when the facility will reach its vertical 

design capacity. 

3. Enlargement or closure of these facilities shall conform 

with the following subconditions: 

a. The facility may not be enlarged prematurely to avoid 

compliance with this chapter when such enlargement is not 

consistent with past operating practices, the permit, or 

modified operating practices to ensure good management. 

b. The facility shall not dispose of solid waste in any portion 

of a landfill disposal area that has received final cover or has 

not received waste for a period of one year, in accordance 

with 9VAC20-81-160 C. The facility shall notify the 

department, in writing, within 30 days, when an area has 

received final cover or has not received waste for a one-year 

period, in accordance with 9VAC20-81-160 C. However, a 

facility may apply for a permit, and if approved, can construct 

and operate a new cell that overlays ("piggybacks") over a 

closed area in accordance with the permit requirements of this 

chapter. 

c. The facilities subject to the restrictions in this subsection 

are listed in Table 2.1. The closure dates were established in 

Final Prioritization and Closure Schedule for HB 1205 

Disposal Areas (DEQ, September 2001). The publication of 

these tables is for the convenience of the regulated 

community and does not change established dates. Any 

facility, including, but not limited to those listed in Table 2.1, 

must cease operation if that facility meets any of the open 

dump criteria listed in 9VAC20-81-45 A 1. 

d. Those facilities assigned a closure date in accordance with 

§ 10.1-1413.2 of the Code of Virginia shall designate on a 

map, plat, diagram, or other engineered drawing, areas in 

which waste will be disposed of in accordance with Table 2.1 

until the latest cessation of waste acceptance date as listed in 

Table 2.1 is achieved. This map or plat shall be placed in the 

operating record and a copy shall be submitted upon request 

to the department in order to track the progress of closure of 

these facilities. If the facility already has provided this 

information under 9VAC20-81-160, then the facility may 

refer to that information. 
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TABLE 2.1  

Final Prioritization and Closure Schedule For House Bill (HB) 1205 Disposal Areas 

Solid Waste Permit Number and Site 

Name 
Location 

Department Regional 

Office1 

Latest Cessation of Waste 

Acceptance Date2 

429 - Fluvanna County Sanitary Landfill Fluvanna County VRO 12/31/2007 

92 - Halifax County Sanitary Landfill3 Halifax County BRRO 12/31/2007 

49 - Martinsville Landfill City of Martinsville BRRO 12/31/2007 

14 - Mecklenburg County Landfill Mecklenburg 

County 

BRRO 12/31/2007 

228 - Petersburg City Landfill3 City of Petersburg PRO 12/31/2007 

31 - South Boston Sanitary Landfill Town of South 

Boston 

BRRO 12/31/2007 

204 - Waynesboro City Landfill City of 

Waynesboro 

VRO 12/31/2007 

91 - Accomack County Landfill – 

Bobtown South 

Accomack County TRO 12/31/2012 

580 – Bethel Landfill3  City of Hampton TRO 12/31/2012 

182 - Caroline County Landfill Caroline County NVRO 12/31/2012 

149 - Fauquier County Landfill Fauquier County NVRO 12/31/2012 

405 - Greensville County Landfill Greensville County PRO 12/31/2012 

29 - Independent Hill Landfill3 Prince William 

County 

NVRO 12/31/2012 

1 - Loudoun County Sanitary Landfill Loudoun County NVRO 12/31/2012 

194 - Louisa County Sanitary Landfill Louisa County NVRO 12/31/2012 

227 - Lunenburg County Sanitary Landfill Lunenburg County BRRO 12/31/2012 

507 - Northampton County Landfill Northampton 

County 

TRO 12/31/2012 

90 - Orange County Landfill Orange County NVRO 12/31/2012 

75 - Rockbridge County Sanitary Landfill Rockbridge County VRO 12/31/2012 

23 - Scott County Landfill Scott County SWRO 12/31/2012 

587 - Shoosmith Sanitary Landfill3 Chesterfield 

County 

PRO 12/31/2012 

417 - Southeastern Public Service 

Authority Landfill3 

City of Suffolk TRO 12/31/2012 

461 - Accomack County Landfill #2 Accomack County TRO 12/31/2020 

86 - Appomattox County Sanitary 

Landfill 

Appomattox 

County 

BRRO 12/31/2020 

582 - Botetourt County Landfill3 Botetourt County BRRO 12/31/2020 

498 - Bristol City Landfill City of Bristol SWRO 12/31/2020 
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72 - Franklin County Landfill Franklin County BRRO 12/31/2020 

398 - Virginia Beach Landfill #2 – Mount 

Trashmore II3 

City of Virginia 

Beach 

TRO 12/31/2020 

Notes: 
1Department of Environmental Quality Regional Offices: 

BRRO - Blue Ridge Regional Office 

NVRO - Northern Virginia Regional Office 

PRO - Piedmont Regional Office 

SWRO - Southwest Regional Office 

TRO - Tidewater Regional Office 

VRO - Valley Regional Office 
2This date means the latest date that the disposal area must cease accepting waste. 
3A portion of these facilities operated under HB 1205 and another portion currently is compliant with Subtitle D 

requirements. 

C. Facilities are authorized to expand beyond the waste 

boundaries existing on October 9, 1993, as follows: 

1. Existing captive industrial landfills. 

a. Existing nonhazardous industrial waste facilities that 

are located on property owned or controlled by the 

generator of the waste disposed of in the facility shall 

comply with all the provisions of this chapter except as 

shown in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

b. Facility owners or operators shall not be required to 

modify their facility permit in order to expand a captive 

industrial landfill beyond the waste boundaries existing on 

October 9, 1993. Liners and leachate collection systems 

constructed beyond the waste boundaries existing on 

October 9, 1993, shall be constructed in accordance with 

the requirements in effect at the time of permit issuance. 

c. Owners or operators of facilities that are authorized 

under subdivision 1 of this subsection to accept waste for 

disposal beyond the waste boundaries existing on October 

9, 1993, shall ensure that such expanded disposal areas 

maintain setback distances applicable to such facilities in 

9VAC20-81-120. 

d. Facilities authorized for expansion in accordance with 

subdivision 1 of this subsection are limited to expansion 

to the limits of the permitted disposal area existing on 

October 9, 1993, or the facility boundary existing on 

October 9, 1993, if no discrete disposal area is defined in 

the facility permit. 

2. Other existing industrial waste landfills. 

a. Existing nonhazardous industrial waste facilities that 

are not located on property owned or controlled by the 

generator of the waste disposed of in the facility shall 

comply with all the provisions of this chapter except as 

shown in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

b. Facility owners or operators shall not be required to 

modify their facility permit in order to expand an 

industrial landfill beyond the waste boundaries existing on 

October 9, 1993. Liners and leachate collection systems 

constructed beyond the waste boundaries existing on 

October 9, 1993, shall be constructed in accordance with 

the requirements of 9VAC20-81-130. 

c. Prior to the expansion of any such facility, the owner or 

operator shall submit to the department a written notice of 

the proposed expansion at least 60 days prior to 

commencement of construction. The notice shall include 

recent groundwater monitoring data sufficient to 

determine that the facility does not pose a threat of 

contamination of groundwater in a manner constituting an 

open dump or creating a substantial present or potential 

hazard to human health or the environment (see 9VAC20-

81-45). The director shall evaluate the data included with 

the notification and may advise the owner or operator of 

any additional requirements that may be necessary to 

ensure compliance with applicable laws and prevent a 

substantial present or potential hazard to health or the 

environment. 

d. Owners or operators of facilities which that are 

authorized under subdivision 2 of this subsection to accept 

waste for disposal beyond the waste boundaries existing 

on October 9, 1993, shall ensure that such expanded 

disposal areas maintain setback distances applicable to 

such facilities in 9VAC20-81-120 and 9VAC20-81-130. 

e. Facilities authorized for expansion in accordance with 

subdivision 2 of this subsection are limited to expansion 

to the limits of the permitted disposal area existing on 

October 9, 1993, or the facility boundary existing on 

October 9, 1993, if no discrete disposal area is defined in 

the facility permit. 

3. Existing construction/demolition/debris landfills. 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations  December 16, 2024 

1020 

a. Existing facilities that accept only 

construction/demolition/debris waste shall comply with 

all the provisions of this chapter except as shown in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

b. Facility owners or operators shall not be required to 

modify their facility permit in order to expand a 

construction/demolition/debris landfill beyond the waste 

boundaries existing on October 9, 1993. Liners and 

leachate collection systems constructed beyond the waste 

boundaries existing on October 9, 1993, shall be 

constructed in accordance with the requirements of 

9VAC20-81-130. 

c. Prior to the expansion of any such facility, the owner or 

operator shall submit to the department a written notice of 

the proposed expansion at least 60 days prior to 

commencement of construction. The notice shall include 

recent groundwater monitoring data sufficient to 

determine that the facility does not pose a threat of 

contamination of groundwater in a manner constituting an 

open dump or creating a substantial present or potential 

hazard to human health or the environment (see 9VAC20-

81-45). The director shall evaluate the data included with 

the notification and may advise the owner or operator of 

any additional requirements that may be necessary to 

ensure compliance with applicable laws and prevent a 

substantial present or potential hazard to health or the 

environment. 

d. Owners or operators of facilities which that are 

authorized under subdivision 3 of this subsection to accept 

waste for disposal beyond the active portion of the landfill 

existing on October 9, 1993, shall ensure that such 

expanded disposal areas maintain setback distances 

applicable to such facilities in 9VAC20-81-120 and 

9VAC20-81-130. 

e. Facilities, or portions thereof, which have reached their 

vertical design capacity shall be closed in compliance with 

9VAC20-81-160. 

f. Facilities authorized for expansion in accordance with 

subdivision 3 of this subsection are limited to expansion 

to the permitted disposal area existing on October 9, 1993, 

or the facility boundary existing on October 9, 1993, if no 

discrete disposal area is defined in the facility permit. 

4. Facilities or units undergoing expansion in accordance 

with the partial exemptions created by subdivision 1 b, 2 b, 

or 3 b of this subsection may not receive hazardous wastes 

generated by the exempt small quantity generators, as 

defined by the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-60), for disposal on the expanded 

portions of the facility. Other wastes that require special 

handling in accordance with the requirements of Part VI 

(9VAC20-81-610 et seq.) of this chapter or that contain 

hazardous constituents that would pose a risk to health or 

environment, may only be accepted with specific approval 

by the director. 

5. Nothing in subdivisions 1 b, 2 b, and 3 b of this subsection 

shall alter any requirement for groundwater monitoring, 

financial responsibility, operator certification, closure, 

postclosure care, operation, maintenance, or corrective 

action imposed under this chapter, or impair the powers of 

the director to revoke or modify a permit pursuant to § 10.1-

1409 of the Virginia Waste Management Act or Part V 

(9VAC20-81-400 et seq.) of this chapter. 

D. An owner or operator of a previously unpermitted facility 

or unpermitted activity that managed materials previously 

exempt or excluded from this chapter shall submit a complete 

application for a solid waste management facility permit, 

permit by rule or a permit modification, as applicable, in 

accordance with Part V (9VAC20-81-400 et seq.) of this 

chapter within six months after these materials have been 

defined or identified as solid wastes. If the director finds that 

the application is complete, the owner or operator may 

continue to manage the newly defined or identified waste until 

a permit or permit modification decision has been rendered or 

until a date two years after the change in definition whichever 

occurs sooner, provided however, that in so doing he shall not 

operate or maintain an open dump, a hazard, or a nuisance. 

Owners or operators of solid waste management facilities in 

existence prior to September 24, 2003, shall now be in 

compliance with this chapter. Where conflicts exist between 

the existing facility permit and the new requirements of the 

regulations, the regulations shall supersede the permit except 

where the standards in the permit are more stringent than the 

regulation. Language in an existing permit shall not act as a 

shield to compliance with the regulation, unless a variance to 

the regulations has been approved by the director in accordance 

with the provisions of Part VII (9VAC20-81-700 et seq.) of 

this chapter. Existing facility permits will not be required to be 

updated to eliminate requirements conflicting with the 

regulation, except at the request of the director or if a permit is 

modified for another reason. However, all sanitary landfills 

and incinerators that accept waste from jurisdictions outside of 

Virginia must have submitted the materials required under 

9VAC20-81-100 E 4 by March 22, 2004. 

E. This chapter is not applicable to landfill units closed in 

accordance with regulations or permits in effect prior to 

December 21, 1988, unless releases from these closed landfills 

meet the open dump criteria found in 9VAC20-81-45, or the 

closed landfills are found to be a hazard or a nuisance under 

subdivision 21 of § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia, or a site 

where improper waste management has occurred under 

subdivision 19 of § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. Part VIII (9VAC20-81-800 et seq.) of this chapter applies 

to the following: 

1. Owners and operators of new and existing CCR landfills 

and CCR surface impoundments, including any lateral 

expansions of such units that dispose or otherwise engage in 

solid waste management of CCR generated from the 
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combustion of coal at electric utilities and independent 

power producers; 

2. Disposal units located offsite of the electric utility or 

independent power producer. Part VIII of this chapter also 

applies to any practice that does not meet the definition of a 

beneficial use of CCR; and 

3. Inactive CCR surface impoundments at active electric 

utilities or independent power producers, regardless of the 

fuel currently used at the facility to produce electricity. 

G. Part VIII of this chapter is not applicable to the following: 

1. CCR landfills that have ceased receiving CCR prior to 

October 19, 2015; 

2. Electric utilities or independent power producers that have 

ceased producing electricity prior to October 19, 2015; 

3. 2. Wastes, including fly ash, bottom ash, boiler slag, and 

flue gas desulfurization materials generated at facilities that 

are not part of an electric utility or independent power 

producer, such as manufacturing facilities, universities, and 

hospitals; 

4. 3. Fly ash, bottom ash, boiler slag, and flue gas 

desulfurization materials, generated primarily from the 

combustion of fuels (including other fossil fuels) other than 

coal, for the purpose of generating electricity unless the fuel 

burned consists of more than 50% coal on a total heat input 

or mass input basis, whichever results in the greater mass 

feed rate of coal; 

5. 4. Practices that meet the definition of a beneficial use of 

CCR; 

6. 5. CCR placement at active or abandoned underground or 

surface coal mines; or 

7. 6. Municipal solid waste landfills that receive CCR. 

9VAC20-81-800. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 257 Subpart D 

by reference - Standards for the Disposal of Coal 

Combustion Residuals in Landfills and Surface 

Impoundments. 

A. Except as otherwise provided, those regulations of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Subpart D of 40 

CFR Part 257 promulgated as of October 4, 2016 December 

14, 2020, wherein they relate to standards for the disposal of 

coal combustion residuals in landfills and surface 

impoundments, are hereby incorporated as part of the Virginia 

Solid Waste Management Regulations, 9VAC20-81. Except as 

otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 

materials, and other ancillaries that are a part of incorporated 

sections of 40 CFR Part 257 are also hereby incorporated as 

part of the Virginia Solid Waste Management Regulations. 

B. In all locations in this chapter where text from 40 CFR Part 

257 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 

modifications, and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 

text for the purpose of its incorporation into this chapter. The 

following terms, where they appear in the Code of Federal 

Regulations shall, for the purpose of this chapter, have the 

following meanings or interpretations: 

1. "Director" shall supplant the "State Director" wherever it 

appears. 

2. "Qualified professional engineer" or "engineer" means a 

"professional engineer" certified to practice in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia as defined in 9VAC20-81-10. 

3. The phrase "or approval from the Participating State 

Director" throughout 40 CFR Part 257 is not incorporated by 

reference. 

4. Notwithstanding the provisions of 9VAC20-81-800 A, the 

text of 40 CFR 257.50(e) and 40 CFR 257.90(g) is not 

incorporated into this chapter. 

5. In 40 CFR 257.73(a)(4), the phrase "not to exceed six 

inches above the slope of the dike" is not incorporated by 

reference. In 40 CFR 257.73(d)(1)(iv), 257.74(a)(4), and 

257.74(d)(1)(iv), the phrase "not to exceed six inches above 

the slope of the dike" is not incorporated by reference. 

C. Definitions in 40 CFR 257.53 are incorporated by 

reference into this part and are applicable to CCR landfills and 

CCR surface impoundments. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7944; Filed November 18, 2024, 10:09 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3 

of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

consist only of changes in style or form or corrections of 

technical errors. The board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-85. Coal Combustion 

Byproduct Regulations (amending 9VAC20-85-90). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC § 6941; 40 CFR Part 257. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Rebecca Rathe, Regulatory Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early Road, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 830-7241, or email 

rebecca.rathe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update a citation to reference the 

Virginia Erosion and Stormwater Management 

Regulation (9VAC25-875).  

mailto:rebecca.rathe@deq.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations  December 16, 2024 

1022 

9VAC20-85-90. Operations. 

The owner or operator of a fossil fuel combustion products 

site shall prepare an operation plan. At a minimum, the plan 

shall address the requirements contained in this section. 

1. Tracking of mud or fossil fuel combustion products onto 

public roads from the site shall be controlled at all times to 

minimize nuisances. 

2. The addition of any solid waste including but not limited 

to hazardous, infectious, construction, debris, demolition, 

industrial, petroleum-contaminated soil, or municipal solid 

waste to fossil fuel combustion products is prohibited. This 

prohibition does not apply to solid wastes from the 

extraction, beneficiation, and processing of ores and 

minerals conditionally exempted under 9VAC20-81-95 E 3 

of the Solid Waste Management Regulations. 

3. Fugitive dust shall be controlled at the site so it does not 

constitute nuisances or hazards. 

4. After preparing the sub-base, fossil fuel combustion 

products shall be placed uniformly and compacted to 

standards, including in situ density, compaction effort, and 

relative density as specified by a registered professional 

engineer based on the intended use of the fossil fuel 

combustion products. The placement and compaction of 

CCB on coal mine sites shall be subject to the applicable 

requirements of the Coal Surface Mining Reclamation 

Regulations, (4VAC25-130). 

5. A surface run on and runoff control program shall be 

implemented to control and reduce the infiltration of surface 

water through the fossil fuel combustion products and to 

control the runoff from the placement area to other areas and 

to surface waters. 

6. Runoff shall not be permitted to drain or discharge into 

surface waters except when in accordance with 9VAC25-10, 

of the State Water Control Board, or otherwise approved by 

the department. 

7. Fossil fuel combustion products site development shall be 

in accordance with the Erosion and Sediment Control 

Regulations, 9VAC25-840, Virginia Erosion and 

Stormwater Management Regulation (9VAC25-875) or the 

Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regulations, (4VAC25-

130,) as applicable. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7926; Filed November 18, 2024, 2:16 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Virginia Waste Management 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-110. Regulations Governing 

the Transportation of Hazardous Materials (amending 

9VAC20-110-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1450 and 44-146.30 of the Code 

of Virginia; 49 USC §§ 5123, 5124, and 5125; 49 CFR Parts 

107, 170 through 180, 383, and 390 through 397. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Rebecca Rathe, Regulatory Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early Road, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 830-7241, or email 

rebecca.rathe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the regulation to incorporate by 

reference the amendments to Title 49 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations as published on October 1, 2024. 

9VAC20-110-110. Compliance. 

Every person who transports or offers for transportation 

hazardous materials within or through the Commonwealth of 

Virginia shall comply with the federal regulations governing 

the transportation of hazardous materials promulgated by the 

U.S. Secretary of Transportation with amendments 

promulgated as of October 1, 2022 2024, pursuant to the 

Hazardous Materials Transportation Act, and located at Title 

49 of the Code of Federal Regulations as set forth below and 

which are incorporated in these regulations by reference: 

1. Special Permits. 49 CFR Part 107, Subpart B. 

2. Registration of Cargo Tank and Cargo Tank Motor 

Vehicle Manufacturers, Assemblers, Repairers, Inspectors, 

Testers, and Design Certifying Engineers in 49 CFR Part 

107, Subpart F. 

3. Registration of Persons Who Offer or Transport 

Hazardous Materials in 49 CFR Part 107, Subpart G. 

4. Hazardous Materials Regulations in 49 CFR Parts 171 

through 177. 

5. Specifications for Packagings in 49 CFR Part 178. 

6. Specifications for Tank Cars in 49 CFR Part 179. 

mailto:rebecca.rathe@deq.virginia.gov
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7. Continuing Qualification and Maintenance of Packagings 

in 49 CFR Part 180. 

8. Motor Carrier Safety Regulations in 49 CFR Parts 390 

through 397. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7899; Filed November 18, 2024, 9:57 a.m. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Withdrawal of Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-875. Virginia Erosion and 

Stormwater Management Regulation (amending 9VAC25-

875-70, 9VAC25-875-250, 9VAC25-875-280, 9VAC25-875-

300, 9VAC25-875-370, 9VAC25-875-470, 9VAC25-875-

490, 9VAC25-875-500, 9VAC25-875-550, 9VAC25-875-

560, 9VAC25-875-850). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15:28 and 62.1-44.52 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that the State Water Control Board has 

WITHDRAWN the regulatory action for 9VAC25-875, 

Virginia Erosion and Stormwater Management 

Regulation, which was published as a Fast-Track regulation in 

41:4 VA.R. 518-531 October 7, 2024. This action completed 

Executive Branch review and was published for public 

comment as a fast-track rulemaking action. The board will be 

following up with revised regulatory language and another 

fast-track rulemaking stage in the near future but is 

withdrawing this action on November 18, 2024, due to an issue 

with the regulatory language. 

Agency Contact: Rebeccah W. Rochet, P.E., Deputy Director, 

Division of Water Permitting, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 801-2950, or email 

rebeccah.rochet@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7961; Filed November 18, 2024, 11:35 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-260. Certified Recovery 

Residences. 

Agency Contact: Susan Puglisi, Regulatory Research 

Specialist, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, Room 411, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 385-6549, FAX (804) 

371-4609, or email susan.puglisi@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC35-260) 

Application for a DBHDS Certified Recovery Residence, 

Office of Recovery Service Form (rev. 4/2024) 

Application for a DBHDS Certified Recovery Residence, 

Office of Recovery Service Form (rev. 11/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8173; Filed November 22, 2024, 10:30 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-70. Common Interest 

Community Ombudsman Regulations (amending 

18VAC48-70-10 through 18VAC48-70-50, 18VAC48-70-

70, 18VAC48-70-90, 18VAC48-70-100, 18VAC48-70-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2349 and 54.1-2354.4 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 8, 2025 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, Second Floor 

Conference Center, Board Room 3, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 14, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Anika Coleman, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 

FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2354.4 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

Common Interest Community Board to establish by regulation 

a requirement that each association shall establish reasonable 

procedures for the resolution of written complaints from the 

members of the association and other citizens. 

Purpose: As mandated by the General Assembly, the proposed 

amendments protect the public welfare, in part, by establishing 

and clarifying the (i) requirements for an association complaint 

procedure; (ii) requirements for development, adoption, and 

distribution of the complaint procedure; (iii) requirements for 

retention of records of association complaints; (iv) procedure 

for the filing of a notice of final adverse decision (NFAD) with 

https://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=11322
mailto:@rebeccah.rochet@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:susan.puglisi@dbhds.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC35/forms/Application%20for%20a%20Certified%20Recovery%20Residence,%20Office%20of%20Recovery%20Services%20Form.eff.4.2024.Corrected-20241121162329.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC35/forms/Application%20for%20a%20Certified%20Recovery%20Residence,%20Office%20of%20Recovery%20Services%20Form.eff.4.2024.Corrected-20241121162329.pdf
mailto:@cic@dpor.virginia.gov
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the Office of the Check-In, Check-Out (CICO) and review of 

an NFAD by the CICO; and (v) provisions for a final 

determination made by the CICO regarding an NFAD. 

Substance: The proposed amendments include: 

1. 18VAC48-70-10 is revised to incorporate statutory terms 

from §§ 54.1-2345, 54.1-2354.1, and 55.1-2307 of the Code of 

Virginia. The section is also revised to add the term "common 

interest community laws and regulations" and to clarify the 

meaning of other defined terms. The section is further revised 

to remove provisions that establish regulatory requirements 

and replace defined terms for which a statutory definition is 

incorporated by reference. 

2. 18VAC48-70-50 is revised to (i) incorporate requirements 

pertaining to the association compliant procedure that are 

currently in the definition for "association complaint 

procedure" in 18VAC48-70-10; (ii) update provisions 

regarding delivery of notices to a complainant to state that such 

notices must be hand delivered, mailed, or delivered by third-

party courier, with proof of delivery. Currently, the regulation 

requires that such notices must be either hand delivered or 

mailed by registered or certified mail; (iii) increase from seven 

to 14 days the time period for an association to provide a 

complainant with written acknowledgment of receiving the 

complaint following the association's receipt of the complaint; 

and (iii) provide that notice of the date, time, and location 

where the association complaint will be considered by the 

association be provided to the complainant at least 14 days 

prior to consideration, unless otherwise agreed to in writing. 

Currently, the regulation provides that notice be given "within 

a reasonable time." 

3. 18VAC48-70-90 is revised to (i) remove the requirement 

that the NFAD include applicable association governing 

documents and (ii) to relocate a provision that establishes the 

date of a final adverse decision from the definition of "adverse 

decision" in 18VAC48-70-10. 

4. 18VAC48-70-100 is revised to incorporate provisions from 

an existing board guidance document regarding consideration 

of requests to waive or refund NFAD filing fees. 

5. Clarifying changes are made to 18VAC48-70-110 to provide 

that (i) an NFAD is not complete and will not be reviewed until 

the NFAD filing fee has been received or a waiver of the fee 

has been granted and (ii) information that was not part of a final 

adverse decision will not be considered in the review of the 

NFAD. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the public and regulated 

community include providing clarification to provisions of the 

regulation, ensuring the regulation complements Virginia law 

and reflects current agency procedures, and reducing 

regulatory burdens. There are no identifiable disadvantages to 

the public or the Commonwealth. It is not anticipated that the 

regulatory change will create any substantial disadvantages to 

the regulated community. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Common Interest Community Board (board) proposes to 

amend the Common Interest Community Ombudsman 

Regulations to update and clarify the provisions of the 

regulation and ensure that it conforms to statute. This action 

proposes changes to (i) requirements for an association 

complaint procedure, (ii) requirements for filing a notice of 

final adverse decision, and (iii) provisions regarding the waiver 

of filing fees. 

Background. This regulation addresses common interest 

communities (CICs), which are defined in statute as "real estate 

subject to a declaration containing lots, at least some of which 

are residential or occupied for recreational purposes, and 

common areas to which a person, by virtue of the person's 

ownership of a lot subject to that declaration, is a member of 

the association and is obligated to pay assessments of common 

expenses."2 Examples of CICs include condominiums, 

cooperatives, retirement communities, and some townhomes. 

Each CIC has an association that represents its property 

owners. This regulation, which was originally promulgated in 

July 2012, requires associations to "have a written process for 

resolving association complaints from members and citizens."3 

It outlines the minimum requirements for an association 

complaint procedure, to include the process for consideration 

of a complaint by the association, and notification to the 

complainant of the association's final determination on the 

complaint. To the extent that a final determination of the 

association does not result in the cure or corrective action 

sought by the complainant, it is considered an "adverse 

decision" or "final adverse decision" as defined in the 

regulation. 18VAC48-90 allows complainants who are 

dissatisfied with the adverse decision to file a notice of final 

adverse decision in writing on forms provided by the Office of 

the CIC Ombudsman at the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation (DPOR). As part of their submission, 

they must submit a $25 filing fee. The CIC board proposes to 

increase the time the association has to provide written 

acknowledgment of its receipt of a complaint (to 14 days from 

seven days) and add that notice of the meeting where a 

complaint will be considered must be provided at least 14 days 

before it is held, unless otherwise agreed to in writing. 

Currently, the regulation just requires notice of the meeting 

"within a reasonable time" before it is held. Lastly, the Health 

and Human Services Poverty Guidelines would be used to 

determine whether the $25 filing fee for the notice of final 

adverse decision can be waived by the board.4 The board also 

seeks to make a number of clarifying edits. 
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Estimated Benefits and Costs: The proposed amendments 

largely serve to clarify and update the regulation and are not 

expected to create new costs. CIC associations could benefit 

from having 14 rather than seven days to provide written 

acknowledgement of a complaint, and complainants would 

likely benefit from the requirement that they be notified of a 

meeting at least 14 days before it is held. While the board is 

currently authorized to waive the $25 filing fee if it would 

cause undue financial hardship to the complainant, specifying 

that such determinations would be based on the federal poverty 

guidelines would enhance clarity and transparency. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments would affect the 6,983 registered CIC 

associations and 152 licensed CIC management companies and 

could indirectly affect all the residents of CICs to the extent 

that they need to go through the complaint procedure. The 

Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse 

impact may result from the proposed regulation.5 An adverse 

impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or 

reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined.6 As the proposed 

amendments neither increase net costs nor reduce net benefits, 

no adverse impact is indicated.  

Small Businesses7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. To the extent that small businesses 

pay for the practitioner licensure fees, their costs would 

increase commensurately with the proposed increases. Small 

businesses that operate training programs would face higher 

costs due to the increase in training program fees. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments do not affect 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments neither affect the use and value of private 

property nor real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter23.3/section54.1-

2345/.  

3 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=2956. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

6 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

8 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

9 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

10 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Common Interest Community Board concurs with the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

Pursuant to Executive Directive One (2022) and Executive 

Order 19 (2022), the proposed amendments primarily 

consolidate and clarify the regulation. Additionally, 

substantive proposed changes (i) increase the time an 

association has to provide written acknowledgment of its 

receipt of a complaint to 14 days; (ii) add that notice of 

the meeting where a complaint will be considered must be 

provided at least 14 days before the meeting is held; and 

(iii) include the Health and Human Services Poverty 

Guidelines as the mechanism for determining whether the 

$25 filing fee for the notice of final adverse decision can 

be waived by the board. 

18VAC48-70-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-2345 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 

chapter: 

Association 

Board 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter23.3/section54.1-2345/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter23.3/section54.1-2345/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=2956
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Common interest community 

Common interest community manager 

Declaration 

Governing board 

Lot 

B. Section 54.1-2354.1 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

definition of the following term as used in this chapter: 

Director 

C. Section 55.1-1900 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definition of the following term as used in this chapter: 

Condominium instruments 

D. Section 55.1-2307 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms as used in this chapter: 

Governing documents 

Resale certificate 

E. The following words, terms, and phrases, when used in this 

chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise. a different meaning is provided or 

is plainly required by context: 

"Adverse decision" or "final adverse decision" means the 

final determination decision issued by an association pursuant 

to an association complaint procedure that is opposite of, or 

does not provide for, either wholly or in part, the cure or 

corrective action sought by the complainant. Such decision 

means all avenues for internal appeal under the association 

complaint procedure have been exhausted. The date of the final 

adverse decision shall be the date of the notice issued pursuant 

to subdivisions 8 and 9 of 18VAC48-70-50. 

"Association complaint" means a written complaint filed by a 

member of the association or a citizen pursuant to an 

association complaint procedure. An association complaint 

shall must concern a matter regarding the an action, inaction, 

or decision by the association, governing board, or managing 

agent, or association inconsistent that is in conflict with 

applicable common interest community laws and or 

regulations. 

"Association complaint procedure" means the written process 

adopted by an association to receive and consider association 

complaints from members and citizens. The complaint 

procedure shall include contact information for the Office of 

the Common Interest Community Ombudsman in accordance 

with § 54.1-2354.4 of the Code of Virginia. An appeal process, 

if applicable, shall be set out in an association complaint 

procedure adopted by the association, including relevant 

timeframes for filing the request for appeal. If no appeal 

process is available, the association complaint procedure shall 

indicate that no appeal process is available and that the 

rendered decision is final. 

"Association governing documents" means collectively the 

applicable organizational documents, including the current and 

effective (i) articles of incorporation, declaration, and bylaws 

of a property owners' association, (ii) condominium 

instruments of a condominium, and (iii) declaration and 

bylaws of a real estate cooperative, all as may be amended 

from time to time. Association governing documents also 

include, to the extent in existence, resolutions, rules and 

regulations, or other guidelines governing association member 

conduct and association governance. 

"Common interest community laws or regulations" means 

Chapter 23.3 (§ 54.1-2345 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia; Chapter 18 (§ 55.1-1800 et seq.), 19 (§ 55.1-1900 et 

seq.), 20 (§ 55.1-2000 et seq.), or 21 (§ 55.1-2100 et seq.) of 

Title 55.1 of the Code of Virginia; or the regulations of the 

board.  

"Complainant" means an association member or citizen who 

makes a written complaint pursuant to an association 

complaint procedure. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

"Record of complaint" means all documents, correspondence, 

and other materials related to a decision made pursuant to an 

association complaint procedure. 

18VAC48-70-20. Submission of documentation. 

Any documentation required to be filed with or provided to 

the board, director, or Office of the Common Interest 

Community Ombudsman pursuant to this chapter and Article 

2 (§ 54.1-2354.1 et seq.) of Chapter 23.3 of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall must be filed with or provided to the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

18VAC48-70-30. Requirement for association to develop 

an association complaint procedure. 

In accordance with § 54.1-2354.4 of the Code of Virginia, 

each association shall will have a written process for resolving 

association complaints from members and citizens. The 

association complaint procedure or form shall will conform 

with the requirements set forth in § 54.1-2354.4 of the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter, as well as the association governing 

documents, which shall must not be in conflict with § 54.1-

2354.4 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

18VAC48-70-40. Establishment and adoption of written 

association complaint procedure. 

A. Associations filing an initial application for registration 

pursuant to § 55.1-1835, 55.1-1980, or 55.1-2182 of the Code 

of Virginia must certify that an association complaint 

procedure has been established and adopted at as of the date of 

registering or within 90 days of registering with the board. 

B. An association that has been delinquent in registering the 

association and filing its required annual reports is still 
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required to have an established and adopted written association 

complaint procedure. At the time such an association files an 

application for registration, it must certify that an association 

complaint procedure has been established and adopted by the 

governing board. 

C. The association shall will certify with each annual report 

filing that the association complaint procedure has been 

adopted and is in effect. 

18VAC48-70-50. Association complaint procedure 

requirements. 

The association complaint procedure shall must be in writing 

and shall include the following provisions in addition to any 

specific requirements contained in the association's governing 

documents that do not conflict with § 54.1-2354.4 of the Code 

of Virginia or the requirements of this chapter. 

1. The association complaint must be in writing. 

2. A sample of the form, if any, on which the association 

complaint must be filed shall will be provided upon request. 

3. The association complaint procedure shall must include 

the process by which complaints shall be are delivered to the 

association. 

4. The association complaint procedure must include contact 

information for the Office of the Common Interest 

Community Ombudsman in accordance with § 54.1-2354.4 

of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The association shall must provide written 

acknowledgment of receipt of the association complaint to 

the complainant within seven 14 days of receipt. Such The 

acknowledgment shall will be hand delivered or, mailed by 

registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, or 

delivered by third-party courier, with proof of delivery to the 

complainant at the address provided, or if consistent with 

established association procedure, by electronic means, 

unless prohibited by the governing documents, provided the 

sender association retains sufficient proof of the electronic 

delivery. 

5. 6. Any specific documentation that must be provided with 

the association complaint shall must be clearly described in 

the association complaint procedure. In addition, to the 

extent the complainant has knowledge of the law or 

regulation applicable to the complaint, the complainant shall 

will provide that reference, as well as the requested action or 

resolution. 

6. 7. The association shall must have a reasonable, efficient, 

and timely method for identifying and requesting any 

additional information from the complainant that is 

necessary for the complainant to provide in order to continue 

processing the association complaint. The association shall 

will establish a reasonable timeframe for responding to and 

for the disposition of the association complaint if the request 

for information is not received within the required 

timeframe. 

7. 8. Notice of the date, time, and location that the matter 

will be considered shall will be hand delivered or, mailed by 

registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, or 

delivered by third-party courier, with proof of delivery to the 

complainant at the address provided or, if consistent with 

established association procedure, delivered by electronic 

means, unless prohibited by the governing documents, 

provided the sender association retains sufficient proof of 

the electronic delivery, within a reasonable time at least 14 

days, unless otherwise agreed to in writing, prior to 

consideration as established by the association complaint 

procedure. 

8. 9. After the final determination is made, the written notice 

of final determination shall will be hand delivered or, mailed 

by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, or 

delivered by third-party courier, with proof of delivery, to 

the complainant at the address provided or, if consistent with 

established association procedure, delivered by electronic 

means, unless prohibited by the governing documents, 

provided the sender association retains sufficient proof of 

the electronic delivery, within seven days. 

9. 10. The notice of final determination shall must be dated 

as of the date of issuance and include specific citations to 

applicable association governing documents, common 

interest community laws, or regulations that led to the final 

determination, as well as the registration number of the 

association. If applicable, the name and license number of 

the common interest community manager shall must also be 

provided. 

10. 11. The notice of final determination shall must include 

the complainant's right to file a Notice notice of Final 

Adverse Decision final adverse decision with the Common 

Interest Community Board via the Common Interest 

Community Ombudsman and the applicable contact 

information. 

12. An appeal process, if applicable, must be set out in an 

association complaint procedure, including relevant 

timeframes for filing the request for appeal. If no appeal 

process is available, the association complaint procedure 

must indicate that no appeal process is available and that the 

rendered decision is final. 

18VAC48-70-70. Maintenance of association record of 

complaint. 

A. A record of each association complaint filed with the 

association shall must be maintained in accordance with § 

54.1-2354.4 A 1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Unless otherwise specified by the director or his the 

director's designee, the association shall must provide to the 

director or his the director's designee, within 14 days of receipt 
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of the request, any document, book, or record concerning the 

association complaint. The director or his the director's 

designee may extend such timeframe upon a showing of 

extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery within 14 days 

of receiving the request. 

18VAC48-70-90. Filing of notice of final adverse decision. 

A complainant may file a notice of final adverse decision in 

accordance with § 54.1-2354.4 B of the Code of Virginia 

concerning any final adverse decision that has been issued by 

an association in accordance with this chapter. 

1. The notice shall must be filed within 30 days of the date 

of the final adverse decision. 

2. The notice shall must be in writing on forms provided by 

the Office of the Common Interest Community 

Ombudsman. Such The forms shall request will include the 

following information: 

a. Name and contact information of complainant; 

b. Name, address, and contact information of association; 

c. Applicable association governing documents; and 

d. c. Date of final adverse decision. The date of final 

adverse decision will be the date of the notice issued 

pursuant to subdivisions 8 and 9 of 18VAC48-70-50. 

3. The notice shall must include a copy of the association 

complaint, the final adverse decision, reference to the laws 

and regulations the final adverse decision may have violated, 

any supporting documentation related to that accompanied 

the final adverse decision, and a copy of the association 

complaint procedure. 

4. The notice shall must be accompanied by a $25 filing fee 

or a request for waiver pursuant to 18VAC48-70-100. 

18VAC48-70-100. Waiver of filing fee. 

A. In accordance with § 54.1-2354.4 B of the Code of 

Virginia, the board may, for good cause shown, waive or 

refund the filing fee upon a finding that payment of the filing 

fee will cause undue financial hardship for the complainant. 

B. The board will use the current U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services (HHS) Poverty Guidelines to establish the 

threshold for whether a filing fee will be waived or refunded 

as a result of financial hardship. The HHS Poverty Guidelines, 

as updated annually in the Federal Register, are available at 

https://aspe.hhs.gov/topics/poverty-economic-

mobility/poverty-guidelines. 

C. In order to determine whether the complainant requesting 

the waiver or refund of the filing fee is at or below the HHS 

Poverty Guidelines, the complainant must submit to the board 

supporting documentation satisfactory that provides proof of 

income. 

D. A waiver or refund of the filing fee will be granted if proof 

of income submitted is at or below the then-current HHS 

Poverty Guidelines. 

18VAC48-70-110. Review of final adverse decision. 

A. Upon receipt of the notice of final adverse decision from 

the complainant, along with the filing fee or a board-approved 

waiver of filing fee, the Office of the Common Interest 

Community Ombudsman shall will provide written 

acknowledgment of receipt of the notice to the complainant 

and shall will provide a copy of the written notice to the 

governing board and, if applicable, the common interest 

community manager of the association that made the final 

adverse decision. The notice of adverse decision is not 

complete and will not be reviewed until the filing fee has been 

received or a waiver of filing fee has been granted by the board. 

B. In accordance with § 54.1-2354.4 C of the Code of 

Virginia, additional information may be requested from the 

association that made the final adverse decision. Upon request, 

the association shall will provide such information to the 

Office of the Common Interest Community Ombudsman 

within a reasonable time. 

C. Information that was not part of the final adverse decision 

will not be considered. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7579; Filed November 20, 2024, 3:43 p.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-19-30). 

18VAC90-25. Regulations Governing Certified Nurse 

Aides (amending 18VAC90-25-16). 

18VAC90-27. Regulations for Nursing Education 

Programs (amending 18VAC90-27-20). 

18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (amending 

18VAC90-30-50). 

18VAC90-50. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Massage Therapists (amending 18VAC90-50-30). 

18VAC90-60. Regulations Governing the Registration of 

Medication Aides (amending 18VAC90-60-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 28, 2025 - 9:05 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, Suite 201, Board Room 2, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Henrico, VA 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 14, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Claire Morris, RN, Executive Director, Board 

of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

https://aspe.hhs.gov/topics/poverty-economic-mobility/poverty-guidelines
https://aspe.hhs.gov/topics/poverty-economic-mobility/poverty-guidelines
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23233, telephone (804) 367-4665, or email 

claire.morris@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Nursing are promulgated 

under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia, which provides the board the authority to promulgate 

regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). In addition, the 

board is obligated by § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia to 

adjust fees to cover operating costs. 

Purpose: The board last instituted a fee increase in 2011. The 

previous fee increase prior to that was between 2004 and 2006, 

depending on the license type. The board instituted a one-time 

fee reduction in 2017 as required by the Callahan Act (§ 54.1-

113 of the Code of Virginia). It is important to note that the 

one-time fee reduction resulted in a decreased revenue of 

$2,395,212 that would have helped the board cushion the 

current negative trend. Amendments to operation changes 

affecting available funds include: a 44% increase in licensees 

since 2003 (2003: 163,453; Q1 2024: 235,045); a 160% 

increase in employees of the board since 2003 (2003: 30; 2023: 

78); a 5.0% increase in salary due to mandatory retirement 

system contributions; 42% increase in investigations since 

2013; 27% increase in cases received since 2013; 37% increase 

in allocated enforcement costs since 2018; 110% increase in 

administrative proceedings division allocated costs; and a 49% 

increase in information technology costs. 

The Board of Nursing also faces a unique issue related to the 

maintenance of the certified nurse aide (CNA) registry. The 

federal government requires the board to maintain the CNA 

registry, but limits what can be charged to CNAs in terms of 

fees. The board receives allowed reimbursements from the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services for maintenance of 

the registry, but the expenditures of the registry far outstrip the 

reimbursements. For example, in fiscal year (FY) 2024, the 

expenditures for 11 months up to May 2024 were $2.918 

million and expected to be over $3 million for the entire fiscal 

year but allowed reimbursements will be only $556,722. 

Without adequate revenue to support inspections of nursing 

programs, licensing, and disciplinary functions, work to 

protect the public by regulating, licensing, and disciplining the 

nursing workforce under the board will slow. This will deprive 

the citizens of the Commonwealth of safe and necessary 

nursing services. Additionally, should inadequate revenue 

cause a backlog of disciplinary cases, public health and safety 

may be at risk by allowing practitioners who are actively 

committing violations of regulations or unprofessional conduct 

to continue practicing unencumbered for months while 

awaiting review and adjudication of disciplinary matters. The 

estimated FY 2025 cash balance, reflecting a projected revenue 

of $15,041,686 and expenditures of $20,095,428, will be -

$2,548,279. The estimated FY 2026 cash balance, reflecting a 

projected revenue of $15,252,269 and expenditures of 

$20,895,868, will be -$8,191,878. 

Substance: To address the deficit in board funding, the board 

will increase fees for most categories of practitioners and 

programs that the board regulates by 65% to 70%. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the continued 

licensing and disciplining of health care professionals by the 

board. There are no disadvantages to the public because the 

board is a special fund agency that is not funded by the general 

public. There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Nursing (board) is proposing to amend six regulations 

to increase fees for its licensed professions in order to comply 

with § 54.1-113 B of the Code of Virginia (the Callahan Act).2 

Background. The Callahan Act requires the Department of 

Health Professions (DHP) and its boards to revise fees in 

situations in which expenses allocated to the board for the past 

biennium are more than 10% greater or less than moneys 

collected on behalf of the board.3 DHP reports that over the 

2022-2024 biennium, the board's total expenditures were 

$35,973,319 and total revenues were $29,625,358. Since the 

expenses exceed the revenues by 21%, these numbers would 

appear to satisfy the requirements of the Callahan Act, 

suggesting that a fee increase is necessary. DHP also reports 

that that the board is not currently in a deficit, with a cash 

balance of $2,480,785 at the end of fiscal year (FY) 2024. 

However, the board is projected to have a deficit of roughly 

$2.5 million by the end of the current fiscal year and a deficit 

of roughly $8 million by the close of FY 2026.4 

DHP reports that the fees for this board were last increased in 

20115 and that there was also a one-time reduction in renewal 

fees in 2017.6 DHP reports that since the last fee increase, the 

board has experienced an increase in salaries (enacted by the 

General Assembly) as well as increases in infrastructure costs 

such as those attributed to technology and real estate. In 

addition, DHP reports that the number of licensees under this 

board has increased by 44% over the last 20 years; as a result, 

the number of disciplinary cases and investigations and the 

allocated costs from enforcement and administrative 

proceedings have also increased. Lastly, the federal 

government requires the board to maintain the Certified Nurse 

Aide (CNA) registry but limits the fees that can be charged to 

CNAs.7 DHP reports that the expenditures for the registry were 

over $3 million in FY 2024. 

To prevent the anticipated deficit, the board proposes to 

increase fees for most categories of practitioners and programs 

by 65% to 70%. Incidental fees, such as those for late renewal 
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or reinstatement, would be increased by a greater percentage 

than fees that are required for all licensees. Further, some 

licensees, such as Advanced Practice Registered Nurses 

(APRNs), would face a higher percentage fee increase to 

reflect their higher earning potential, whereas Licensed 

Massage Therapists (LMTs) would face a higher percentage 

fee increase because the profession generates a higher number 

of more complex disciplinary cases that take up more board 

member and staff time.8 The board does not propose to increase 

fees for Licensed Certified Midwives as they are a newly added 

license category and there are only six licensees as of June 

2024. The proposed fee increases, which are listed in the 

following table, are expected to generate approximately $10 

million in additional revenue per year. Lastly, the board 

proposes to (i) add a new criminal background check 

administrative fee of $25 in the nursing regulation (18VAC90-

19) and massage therapists regulation (18VAC90-50), (ii) 

repeal a $35 verification of license fee for nurses (18VAC90-

19) since licenses can now be verified online at no cost, and 

(iii) repeal a $35 fee for a transcript of all or part of 

applicant/licensee records in the massage therapists regulation 

(18VAC90-50). 

FEE TYPE 
CURRENT 

FEE 
PROPOSED FEE DOLLAR CHANGE 

PERCENTAGE 

CHANGE 

Nursing, 18VAC90-19 

Registered Nurse (RN) licensure by exam $190 $315 $125 65.79% 

RN licensure by endorsement $190 $315 $125 65.79% 

Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) licensure by 

exam 
$170 $280 $11 64.71% 

LPN licensure by endorsement $170 $280 $110 64.71% 

Reapply for licensure by exam $50 $85 $35 70.00% 

RN biennial renewal $140 $230 $90 64.29% 

RN biennial inactive renewal $70 $115 $45 64.29% 

LPN biennial renewal $120 $200 $80 66.67% 

LPN biennial inactive renewal $60 $100 $40 66.67% 

RN late renewal $50 $115 $65 130.00% 

RN late inactive renewal $25 $60 $35 140.00% 

LPN late renewal $40 $90 $50 125.00% 

LPN late inactive renewal $20 $45 $25 125.00% 

RN reinstate lapsed license $225 $450 $225 100.00% 

LPN reinstate lapsed license $200 $400 $200 100.00% 

Reinstate suspended/revoked $300 $600 $300 100.00% 

Duplicate license $15 $30 $15 100.00% 

Replacement wall certificate $25 $50 $25 100.00% 

Educational transcript $35 $70 $35 100.00% 

Certified Nurse Aides, 18VAC90-16 

Annual renewal $30 $35 $5 16.67% 

Advanced CNA certification $25 $30 $5 20.00% 

Advanced CNA renewal $20 $25 $5 25.00% 

Reinstatement of Advanced CNA certification $30 $35 $5 16.67% 

Nursing Education Programs, 18VAC90-27 

Program approval $1,650 $2,475 $825 50.00% 
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Survey visit $2,200 $3,300 $1,100 50.00% 

Site visit $1,500 $2,250 $750 50.00% 

Advanced Practice Registered Nurses, 18VAC90-30 

Application fee $125 $250 $125 100.00% 

Biennial renewal $80 $130 $50 62.50% 

Late renewal $25 $100 $75 300.00% 

Reinstatement $150 $300 $150 100.00% 

Duplicate license $15 $30 $15 100.00% 

Duplicate wall certificate $25 $50 $25 100.00% 

Reinstate suspended/revoked $200 $400 $200 100.00% 

Autonomous practice attestation $100 $200 $100 100.00% 

Massage therapists, 18VAC90-50 

Application/initial licensure $140 $280 $140 100.00% 

Biennial renewal $95 $190 $95 100.00% 

Late renewal $30 $70 $40 133.33% 

Reinstatement $150 $300 $150 100.00% 

Reinstate suspended/revoked $200 $400 $200 100.00% 

Duplicate license $15 $30 $15 100.00% 

Replacement wall certificate $25 $50 $25 100.00% 

Medication Aides, 18VAC90-60 

Program approval application $500 $875 $375 75.00% 

Registration application $50 $80 $30 60.00% 

Annual renewal $30 $50 $20 66.67% 

Late renewal $15 $35 $20 133.33% 

Reinstatement $90 $180 $90 100.00% 

Duplicate registration $15 $30 $15 100.00% 

Reinstate suspended/revoked $120 $240 $120 100.00% 

Estimated Benefits and Costs: The proposed fee increases 

would increase costs for current and prospective nurses (RNs 

and LPNs), CNAs, APRNs, LMTs, medication aides, as well 

as nursing education programs and medication aide training 

programs. The increased fees would allow the board to remain 

financially solvent and continue to provide oversight for these 

professions, including issuing licenses, conducting 

inspections, investigating complaints, and implementing any 

disciplinary actions. This in turn would maintain public 

confidence in these professionals and protect public safety 

from unscrupulous actors. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As mentioned previously, 

the proposed fee increases would increase costs for current and 

prospective nurses (RNs and LPNs), CNAs, APRNs, LMTs, 

medication aides, as well as nursing education programs and 

medication aide training programs. At the close of FY 2024, the 

board reported having 27,063 LPNs and 122,291 RNs; 51,552 

CNAs and 50 Advanced CNAs; 20,988 APRNs; 8,263 LMTs; 

7,377 medication aides; 40 practical schools of nursing and 67 

professional schools of nursing, and 215 medication aide training 

programs.9 The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether 

an adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.10 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or 

reduction in net benefit for any entity, even if the benefits exceed 

the costs for all entities combined.11 Since the proposed 

amendments would increase costs, an adverse impact is indicated 

for the various nursing professionals and the training programs 

that would face higher fees. 
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Small Businesses12 Affected.13 Types and Estimated Number 

of Small Businesses Affected. Since the board licenses 

individuals and not firms, no data on the number of affected 

small firms are available. Small businesses that employ RNs, 

LPNs, CNAs, APRNs, or medication aides may be indirectly 

affected if they pay for their employee license renewal fees. 

However, many of the LMTs may be self-employed or sole 

proprietors or employed by small businesses such as spas. 

Some nursing education and medication aide training 

programs may meet the definition of small businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. To the extent that small businesses 

pay for the practitioner licensure fees, their costs would 

increase commensurately with the proposed increases. Small 

businesses that operate training programs would face higher 

costs due to the increase in training program fees. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities14 Affected.15 The proposed amendments do not 

appear to disproportionally affect any locality in particular or 

affect costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would not be expected to affect employment prospects or entry 

into the profession for RNs, LPNs, CNAs, APRNs, LMTs, or 

medication aides. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

fee increases would increase costs for private nursing 

education programs and medication aide training programs. 

Potentially, this may result in a modest decrease in their value. 

The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-113/. 

3 It should be noted that the Callahan Act does not specify whether moneys 

collected on behalf of the board refers only to the revenues in the immediately 

preceding biennium or if it also includes the cash balance from the biennium 

prior to that.. 

4 See page 3 of the Agency Background Document (ABD) 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=27\6414\10416\AgencyStat

ement_DHP_10416_v1.pdf. 

5 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=3110. 

6 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4772. 

7 See https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-G/part-483/ 

subpart-D/section-483.156. 

8 See pages 8-14 of the ABD for details regarding the rationale for fee increases 

for each chapter. 

9 Source: DHP. See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2024Q4/ 

04CurrentLicenseCountQ4FY2024.pdf. 

10 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

11 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

12 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

13 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

14 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

15 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Nursing concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia, the 

proposed amendments raise fees charged by the Board of 

Nursing to ensure the board obtains sufficient operating 

funds for fiscal years 2025 and 2026. 

18VAC90-19-30. Fees. 

A. Fees required by the board are: 

1. Application for licensure by 

examination - RN 
$190 $315 

2. Application for licensure by 

endorsement - RN 
$190 $315 

3. Application for licensure by 

examination - LPN 
$170 $280 

4. Application for licensure by 

endorsement - LPN 
$170 $280 

5. Reapplication for licensure by 

examination 
$50 $85 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-113/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=27/6414/10416/AgencyStatement_DHP_10416_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=27/6414/10416/AgencyStatement_DHP_10416_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=3110
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4772
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-G/part-483/subpart-D/section-483.156
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-G/part-483/subpart-D/section-483.156
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2024Q4/04CurrentLicenseCountQ4FY2024.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2024Q4/04CurrentLicenseCountQ4FY2024.pdf


Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations  December 16, 2024 

1033 

6. Biennial licensure renewal - RN $140 $230 

7. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - 

RN 
$70 $115 

8. Biennial licensure renewal - LPN $120 $200 

9. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - 

LPN 
$60 $100 

10. Late renewal - RN $50 $115 

11. Late renewal - RN inactive $25 $60 

12. Late renewal - LPN $40 $90 

13. Late renewal - LPN inactive $20 $45 

14. Reinstatement of lapsed license - 

RN 
$225 $450 

15. Reinstatement of lapsed license - 

LPN 
$200 $400 

16. Reinstatement of suspended or 

revoked license or registration 
$300 $600 

17. Duplicate license $15 $30 

18. Replacement wall certificate $25 $50 

19. Verification of license $35 

20. Transcript of all or part of applicant 

or licensee records 

21. 19. Educational transcript - closed 

programs 

$35 $70 

20. Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card 
$50 

22. Application for CNS registration $130 

23. Biennial renewal of CNS 

registration 
$80 

24. Reinstatement of lapsed CNS 

registration 
$125 

25. Verification of CNS registration to 

another jurisdiction 
$35 

26. Late renewal of CNS registration $35 

21. Criminal background check 

administrative fee 
$25 

B. For renewal of licensure or registration from July 1, 2017, 

through June 30, 2019, the following fees shall be in effect: 

1. Biennial licensure renewal - RN $105 

2. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - RN $52 

3. Biennial licensure renewal - LPN $90 

4. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - LPN $45 

5. Biennial renewal of CNS registration $60 

18VAC90-25-16. Fees. 

A. The following fees shall apply: 

1. Annual renewal for certified nurse aide $30 $35 

2. Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card 
$50 

3. Application for certification as an advanced 

certified nurse aide 
$25 $30 

4. Renewal of advanced certified nurse aide 

certification 
$20 $25 

5. Reinstatement of advanced certified nurse 

aide certification 
$30 $35 

B. Fees shall not be refunded once submitted. 

18VAC90-27-20. Fees. 

Fees required by the board are: 

1. Application for approval of a nursing 

education program. 

$1,650 

$2,475 

2. Survey visit for nursing education program. 
$2,200 

$3,300 

3. Site visit for NCLEX passage rate for 

nursing education program. 

$1,500 

$2,250 

4. Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card 
$50 

18VAC90-30-50. Fees. 

A. Fees required in connection with the licensure of advanced 

practice registered nurses are: 

1. Application $125 $250 

2. Biennial licensure renewal $80 $130 

3. Late renewal $25 $100 
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4. Reinstatement of licensure $150 $300 

5. Verification of licensure to another 

jurisdiction 
$35 

6. 5. Duplicate license $15 $30 

7. 6. Duplicate wall certificate $25 $50 

8. 7. Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card 
$50 

9. 8. Reinstatement of suspended or revoked 

license 

$200 

$400 

10. 9. Autonomous practice attestation 
$100 

$200 

B. For renewal of licensure from July 1, 2017, through June 

30, 2019, the following fee shall be in effect: 

Biennial renewal $60 

18VAC90-50-30. Fees. 

A. Fees listed in this section shall be payable to the Treasurer 

of Virginia and shall not be refunded unless otherwise 

provided. 

B. Fees required by the board are: 

1. Application and initial licensure $140 $280 

2. Biennial renewal $95 $190 

3. Late renewal $30 $70 

4. Reinstatement of licensure $150 $300 

5. Reinstatement after suspension or 

revocation 
$200 $400 

6. Duplicate license $15 $30 

7. Replacement wall certificate $25 $50 

8. Verification of licensure $35 

9. Transcript of all or part of applicant/licensee 

records 
$35 

10. 8. Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card 
$50 

9. Criminal background check administrative 

fee 
$25 

C. For renewal of licensure from July 1, 2017, through June 

30, 2019, the following fee shall be in effect: 

Biennial renewal $71 

18VAC90-60-30. Fees. 

A. The following fees shall apply: 

1. Application for program approval $500 $875 

2. Application for registration as a medication 

aide 
$50 $80 

3. Annual renewal for medication aide $30 $50 

4. Late renewal $15 $35 

5. Reinstatement of registration $90 $180 

6. Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card 
$50 

7. Duplicate registration $15 $30 

8. Reinstatement following suspension, 

mandatory suspension, or revocation 
$120 $240 

B. Fees shall not be refunded once submitted. 

C. The fee for the state examination shall be paid directly to 

the examination service contracted by the board for its 

administration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7893; Filed November 17, 2024, 7:58 p.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-90. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Art Therapy (adding 18VAC115-90-10 

through 18VAC115-90-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, and 54.1-3503 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 24, 2025 - 10:05 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Board Room Two, 

Second Floor Conference Center, Henrico, VA 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 14, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Board of Counseling to promulgate regulations to administer 

the regulatory system. Section 54.1-3503 of the Code of 

Virginia provides the board the authority to regulate the 

practice of counseling, substance abuse treatment, art therapy, 

and marriage and family therapy. 

Purpose: The board has adopted regulations to establish 

qualifications for education, examination, and experience that 

will ensure minimal competency for issuance or renewal of 

licensure as an art therapist to protect the health and safety of 

mailto:@jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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clients or patients who receive art therapy services. Provisions 

are also necessary to ensure there are standards for 

confidentiality, patient records, dual relationships, and 

informed consent to protect public health and safety. 

Substance: The board adopted requirements for a fee structure, 

renewal or reinstatement, continuing competency, supervision 

of persons in training, and standards of practice for art therapy 

licensure similar to other licensed professions. The 

amendments (i) set forth the requirements for licensure as an 

art therapist or art therapy associate, (ii) provide for 

appropriate application and renewal fees, and (iii) include 

requirements for licensure renewal and continuing education. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 

proposed amendments ensure competency and accountability 

by having persons who use the title of art therapist licensed by 

the board. Additionally, as a licensed mental health 

professional, an art therapist may be reimbursed by third-party 

payers for services provided. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented below represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. Summary of the Proposed Amendments to 

Regulation 

As required by Chapter 301 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly,2 the 

Board of Counseling (board) proposes to promulgate a new 

regulation governing the practice of art therapy. 

Background. In 2018, the Board of Health Professions 

assembled a regulatory research committee that conducted a 

study titled "Study into the Need to Regulate Art Therapists in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia" on behalf of the Virginia Art 

Therapy Association.3 The major findings of the study are: 

1. Art therapy is an integrative mental health and human 

services profession. Art therapists are educated in 

psychotherapeutic principles as specifically trained in the use 

of art media to provide counseling to individuals, families and 

groups. 

2. Art therapy is categorically different than "art in therapy." 

Art in therapy is a therapeutic modality leveraging the creative 

process as a growth-producing experience. 

3. Art therapy practices pose an inherent risk of harm to the 

patient. Individuals practicing art therapy without the proper 

skills, level education, supervision, and ethical standards pose 

a risk, especially to vulnerable patients who may have 

difficulty with verbal communication. 

4. Art therapists practice autonomously as well as under 

supervision. 

5. Art therapists are educated at the master's degree level and 

must sit for a national board certification exam to obtain the 

Registered Art Therapist (ATR) credential. 

6. Seven states license art therapists as a distinct profession; 

five states provide for licensure of art therapists under a related 

profession's license; and four state recognize art therapists to 

enable state hiring and/or to provide title protection. 

7. The number of art therapists in Virginia is undetermined at 

this time. 

8. There is a need for art therapists in Virginia. 

Subsequently, Chapter 301 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly was 

enacted and became the legislative mandate for this action. The 

board now proposes to establish the requirements for licensure 

as an art therapist and art therapist associate, continuing 

education requirements, standards of practice, disciplinary 

actions for violations of the standards of practice, and a fee 

structure to cover the program's operating expenses at the 

Department of Health Professions (DHP). 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Art therapy was practiced in 

Virginia before the legislative mandate became effective. 

However, the legislation created title protection for "art 

therapists" and "art therapy associates" and prohibited the 

practice of "art therapy unless the person is licensed by the 

board." The legislation and the regulation would affect 

individuals who previously practiced art therapy differently 

depending on the credentials and related licenses they may 

possess. Specific job positions for art therapy generally have 

not existed in Virginia because they did not require a license, 

because reimbursement for art therapists was not available 

from health insurance companies, or both. Instead, individuals 

have practiced art therapy as part of another job for which they 

qualified based on other skills. For example, the report noted 

that a teacher used art therapy with students, a licensed 

professional counselor used art therapy with patients, and 

another individual used art therapy when working with the 

elderly and persons with dementia (a job the person held based 

on other credentials). A driving force behind the study appears 

to be similarly placed individuals, who have a certification, 

education, or a license from another jurisdiction in art therapy. 

The study and the testimony to the research committee 

highlight the difficulty such individuals have experienced 

finding employment in Virginia. These individuals, who would 

meet the proposed standards because they already possess a 

certification, education, or a license from another jurisdiction, 

are the ones that stand to gain the most from the proposed 

regulation as they would likely have an easier time finding jobs 

in Virginia; they may also be able to complement their 

compensation due to the new license. A second group that 

would appear to benefit consists of those who were already 

practicing art therapy and would be able to continue practicing 

based on a related license that had art therapy within its scope 

of practice. These individuals, who lacked a specific license for 

art therapy, include some licensed professional counselors and 

licensed marriage and family therapists. The legislation and the 
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regulation would allow them to continue practicing art therapy 

under the umbrella of their existing licenses. However, they 

would be prohibited from calling themselves "art therapists" 

unless they also obtain the separate art therapist license.4 The 

impact on such individuals appears to be limited to the impact 

of not being able to use the title of "art therapist." If they wish 

to use the title of "art therapist," they would have to obtain the 

new license. The last group consists of those individuals who 

lack the credentials for a Virginia art therapy license or a 

qualifying art therapy license from another jurisdiction. These 

individuals would have to not only cease any practice of art 

therapy, but also cease using the titles "art therapist" and "art 

therapy associate." If they wish, they can obtain an art therapy 

or art therapy associate license by fulfilling the proposed 

credentials. The cost of meeting the proposed standards for 

these individuals would likely be proportional to how much 

more education and experience they need to qualify for a 

Virginia license. 

The proposed regulation allows licensure as an art therapist by 

endorsement as well as licensure by examination. The 

endorsement route requires a current, unrestricted art therapy 

license issued from another United States jurisdiction, an 

attestation of having read and understood the regulations and 

laws governing the practice of art therapy in Virginia, and 

either (i) current Board-Certified Registered Art Therapist 

(ATR-BC) certification from the Art Therapy Credentials 

Board, Inc. (ATCB) or (ii) documentation of passage of the 

examination of the ATCB and evidence of autonomous, 

clinical practice in art therapy for 24 of the last 60 months 

immediately preceding licensure application in Virginia. In the 

licensure by examination route, the proposed regulation 

requires credentialing from ATCB as an ATR-BC for the art 

therapist license and Registered Art Therapist (ATR) or a 

Provisional Registered Art Therapist (ATR-P) for the art 

therapy associate license. The proposal heavily relies on 

various credentials (i.e., ATR-BC, ATR, and ATR-P) all from 

ATCB. ATCB is an independent company and as such is free 

to establish or modify from time to time its own standards for 

its own credentials and its fees for exams, periodic renewals, 

or registration. This would produce some risk for the 

Commonwealth as decisions made by this independent 

company would effectively become Virginia administrative 

law without any oversight or approval from the 

Commonwealth. ATCB's education, experience, and 

supervision standards are complex.5 At a high level, they 

appear to require at least master's level of degree or higher in 

art therapy with certain accreditation or master's degree or 

higher with concentration in certain areas, a minimum of 1,000 

hours of post-education or more of direct client contact using 

art therapy, and a minimum of 100 hours or more of supervised 

practicum. From an ordinal perspective, it appears those who 

have a master's degree in art therapy would likely meet ATCB 

criteria most readily, followed by those who have a 

psychology-related license that includes art therapy within its 

scope of practice, and then those that have a psychology-

related license but where art therapy does not fall within their 

scope of practice. The proposed regulation also requires a 

minimum of 20 hours of continuing education for each annual 

licensure renewal. Similarly, maintaining the ATCB 

credentials also requires 100 hours of continuing education 

over its five-year renewal cycle independently from this 

regulation.6 The regulation recognizes continuing education 

credits earned for maintaining ATCB credentials. Thus, 

continuing education required by this regulation and ATCB are 

allowed to overlap. In addition to costs associated with 

education, experience, supervision, and continuing 

competency, the license applicants would be required to pay 

fees to DHP. These fees would be used to pay administrative 

costs associated with the proposed program. The 

administrative costs would include staff time for application 

processing, issuance of licenses, disciplinary hearings and 

actions, postal costs, office supplies, etc. The proposed fee 

structure is as follows: initial application processing and 

licensure as an art therapist ($175); initial application 

processing and licensure as an art therapy associate ($65); 

active annual license renewal as an art therapist ($130); 

inactive annual license renewal as an art therapist ($65); late 

renewal ($45); duplicate license ($10); verification of licensure 

to another jurisdiction ($30); reinstatement of a lapsed license 

($200); replacement of or additional wall certificate ($25); 

returned check or dishonored credit card or debit card ($50); 

reinstatement following revocation or suspension ($600). DHP 

estimates that the number of persons seeking licensure in this 

program will initially be fewer than 200 that would translate to 

less than $6,000 in total collected from annual renewal fees. 

This regulation is also expected to encourage educational 

institutions to start new degree programs or increase the 

number of courses offered specific to art therapy. The study 

notes that there are two master's degree programs in Virginia: 

one at George Washington University's Columbian College of 

Arts and Sciences - Art Therapy Master's Degree Program in 

Alexandria offering three options (a Master's in Art Therapy, 

with a thesis option; a Master's in Art Therapy Practice; and a 

combined Bachelor of Arts/Masters of Arts in Art Therapy) 

enrolling approximately 20 students per year; and another at 

Eastern Virginia Medical Schools Art Therapy & Counseling 

Program in Norfolk offering a Post Master's program with 

enrollment of 34 students in the 2016-2017 school year. At one 

end of the spectrum, for someone who is just starting and who 

has no background in psychology, the proposed education and 

experience requirements for a license in art therapy would 

undoubtedly impose significant compliance costs. At the other 

end of the spectrum, there appears to be individuals who meet 

all the proposed requirements and who only need to apply and 

pay the associated fees. Regardless of the magnitude of 

compliance costs, the individual choosing to obtain a license in 

art therapy thereby indicates that the expected benefits exceed 

the expected costs.  

In addition, the legislation (and thus the regulation) impose a 

ban on practice of art therapy by individuals who are not 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations  December 16, 2024 

1037 

licensed. As a consequence, individuals who have an education 

and background in art therapy but not a license to practice it 

(such as a teacher or a nursing home employee), would no 

longer be allowed to practice art therapy at all. The rationale 

for such a ban in the legislation is unclear, but the "Study into 

the Need to Regulate Art Therapists in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia" includes the statement that "Art therapy practices 

pose an inherent risk of harm to the patient. Individuals 

practicing art therapy without the proper skills, level education, 

supervision and ethical standards pose a risk, especially to 

vulnerable patients who may have difficulty with verbal 

communication." The study's discussion of harm states that 

"Untrained providers of art therapy can cause potential harm to 

their clients' emotional wellbeing," but the study does not 

provide any additional information on how these harms may 

occur. The study also notes potential physical risks to the 

subject, observing that while art therapists overall do not use 

dangerous equipment, there are "basic art tools, such as paint 

and glue, which contain toxic chemicals that could cause harm 

should they be inhaled or ingested, scissors which have sharp 

edges capable of causing cuts or punctures, and objects such as 

clay, if thrown, could be considered potentially dangers." 

These risks, however, would seem to apply to any setting in 

which art supplies are available. Moreover, the study does not 

provide any evidence that harms actually occur, noting that 

"Information regarding disciplinary action against art 

therapists was not readily accessible." The lack of evidence of 

harm to patients in this case is unusual compared to most other 

regulations from health boards, but as noted above this ban 

results from the legislative mandate. As discussed, the main 

driving force for licensure of art therapy is employment 

considerations for those who have a license from another 

jurisdiction, or who have completed a degree program but are 

experiencing difficulty finding a job. The trade-off is between 

expanding employment opportunities for those who meet the 

proposed credentials and reducing the beneficial practice of art 

therapy by those who are able to provide these services but who 

are not licensed. Perhaps this unintended trade-off may be 

mitigated by allowing uncompensated practice of art therapy 

by individuals whose scope of education and experience 

include art therapy. There does not seem to be much of a health 

and safety risk for allowing a schoolteacher or a nursing home 

employee with some education and experience in art therapy 

to utilize it, given the lack of documented evidence of harm. 

However, such a flexibility would require legislative action 

given the language of the current statute. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The legislation and this 

regulation affect individuals who would be practicing art therapy 

in the future and those who were practicing art therapy prior to 

2020. According to DHP, when the Board of Health Professions 

conducted its study of the need for licensure of art therapists, the 

American Association of Art Therapists reported 131 professional 

members and 37 student members located in Virginia. DHP 

estimates that the number of persons seeking licensure will 

initially be fewer than 200. The number of those who were 

practicing art therapy prior to 2020 and who would not seek 

licensure is unknown. The Code of Virginia requires DPB to 

assess whether an adverse impact may result from the proposed 

regulation.7 An adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase 

in net cost or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the 

benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined. As discussed, 

individuals who were practicing art therapy prior to 2020 would 

have to cease their practice unless they obtain a license. For some 

individuals, particularly for those who have relatively lower costs 

in obtaining licensure, the costs may be outweighed by the 

increased possibility that their services would be reimbursed by 

health insurance. For others, particularly those who have relatively 

higher costs in obtaining licensure, the costs would likely 

outweigh the benefits. Because there is the potential for an 

increase in net cost or reduction in net revenue for any entity, an 

adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses8 Affected.9 No data are available to 

determine if any of the individuals who were practicing art 

therapy prior to 2020 were associated with a small business. 

Localities10 Affected.11 The proposed regulation neither 

disproportionately affects particular localities nor introduces 

costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed licensure of 

art therapists may encourage individuals licensed in other 

jurisdictions to take jobs in Virginia and may cause those who 

meet the criteria to be licensed to secure better jobs. However, 

some individuals who had been practicing art therapy without 

a license may not be able to maintain their employment in that 

capacity. Thus, the net impact on total employment and on 

underemployment is uncertain. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

regulation does not appear to directly affect the use and value 

of private property or real estate development costs. 

____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP0301&201+ful+ 

CHAP0301. 

3 https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/studies/ArtTherapist_ 

2018.pdf. 

4 Legislation specifically states "Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit a person 

licensed, certified, or registered by a health regulatory board from using the 

modalities of art media if such modalities are within his scope of practice." 

5 https://www.atcb.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/ATR_ApplicationHand 

book-2021-FINAL-1-2.pdf; https://www.atcb.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/ 

03/ATRProvisional_ApplicationHandbook-2021-FINAL-1-1.pdf; 

https://www.atcb.org/board-certified-registered-art-therapist-atr-bc/ 

6 https://www.atcb.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/Recertification-Stan 

dards-final-2021-1.pdf. 

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0301&201%20ful%20CHAP0301
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0301&201%20ful%20CHAP0301
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/studies/ArtTherapist_2018.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/studies/ArtTherapist_2018.pdf
https://www.atcb.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/ATR_ApplicationHandbook-2021-FINAL-1-2.pdf
https://www.atcb.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/ATR_ApplicationHandbook-2021-FINAL-1-2.pdf
https://www.atcb.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/ATRProvisional_ApplicationHandbook-2021-FINAL-1-1.pdf
https://www.atcb.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/ATRProvisional_ApplicationHandbook-2021-FINAL-1-1.pdf
https://www.atcb.org/board-certified-registered-art-therapist-atr-bc/
https://www.atcb.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/Recertification-Standards-final-2021-1.pdf
https://www.atcb.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/Recertification-Standards-final-2021-1.pdf
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locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

8 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

9 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

10 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

11 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Counseling mostly concurs with the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. The 

board would like to make two clarifications. First, there is an 

implication in the analysis that art could not be used in certain 

settings, such as schools or in working with the elderly, unless 

the individual facilitating the use of art held a license as an art 

therapist. Under § 54.1-3516 of the Code of Virginia, an 

individual cannot practice art therapy without a license. Art, 

however, can be used in schools, assisted living facilities, and 

other locations without incorporating art therapy or requiring a 

license to practice art therapy. Second, the analysis states that 

art therapists can receive continuing education to satisfy 

licensure renewal requirements from the Art Therapy 

Credentials Board (ATCB). While that is true, the ATCB is far 

from the only body the board recognizes to provide continuing 

education for art therapists. Proposed 18VAC115-90-90 lists 

15 organizations that the board recognizes as providers of 

continuing education for art therapists. 

Summary: 

The proposed action establishes regulations governing the 

practice of art therapy pursuant to Chapter 301 of the 2020 

Acts of Assembly, which specifies the credentials of the Art 

Therapy Credentials Board that was adopted as 

qualification for licensure as an art therapist and as an art 

therapy associate. The proposed amendments (i) set forth the 

requirements for licensure as an art therapist or art therapy 

associate, (ii) provide for appropriate application and 

renewal fees, (iii) include requirements for licensure 

renewal and continuing education, and (iv) provide for 

supervision of persons in training. 

Chapter 90 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Art Therapy 

18VAC115-90-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

"Art therapist" 

"Art therapy" 

"Art therapy associate" 

"Board"  

"Counseling"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure as 

an art therapist or art therapy associate.  

"ATCB" means the Art Therapy Credentials Board Inc. 

"ATR" means a Registered Art Therapist, a credential issued 

by the ATCB after meeting established educational standards, 

successful completion of advanced specific graduate-level 

education in art therapy, and supervised post-graduate art 

therapy experience. 

"ATR-BC" means a Board-Certified Registered Art 

Therapist, a credential issued by the ATCB after meeting the 

requirements for the ATR credential and passing a national 

examination. 

"ATR-P" means a Provisional Registered Art Therapist, a 

credential issued by the ATCB after meeting the established 

educational standards, successful completion of advanced 

specific graduate-level education in art therapy, and practicing 

art therapy under an approved supervisor. 

18VAC115-90-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable to 

licensure as an art therapist or art therapy associate: 

Initial licensure as an art therapist: Application 

processing and initial licensure 
$175 

Initial licensure as an art therapy associate: 

Application processing and initial licensure 
$65 

Active annual license renewal as an art 

therapist 
$130 

Inactive annual license renewal as an art 

therapist 
$65 

Late renewal $45 
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Duplicate license $10 

Verification of licensure to another jurisdiction $30 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license $200 

Replacement of or additional wall certificate $25 

Returned check or dishonored credit card or 

debit card 
$50 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 
$600 

B. All fees are nonrefundable. 

18VAC115-90-30. Prerequisites for licensure as an art 

therapist and art therapist associate.  

A. Every applicant for licensure shall submit to the board: 

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing fee and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-90-20; 

3. Verification of any other mental health or health 

professional license, registration, or certificate ever held in 

Virginia or another jurisdiction; and 

4. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

B. An applicant shall have no unresolved disciplinary action 

against a mental health or health professional license, 

certificate, or registration held in Virginia or in another United 

States jurisdiction. The board will consider history of 

disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis.  

18VAC115-90-40. Requirements for licensure.  

In addition to the prerequisites set forth in 18VAC115-90-30: 

1. Each applicant for licensure by examination as an art 

therapist shall submit to the board evidence of a current 

ATR-BC certification from the ATCB. 

2. Each applicant for licensure by endorsement as an art 

therapist shall submit to the board: 

a. Verification of a current, unrestricted art therapy license 

issued from another United States jurisdiction or, if lapsed, 

evidence that the license is eligible for reinstatement; 

b. An attestation of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of art therapy 

in Virginia; and 

c. Either: 

(1) Current ATR-BC certification from the ATCB; or 

(2) Documentation of passage of the examination of the 

ATCB and evidence of autonomous, clinical practice in art 

therapy, as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia, 

for 24 of the last 60 months immediately preceding 

licensure application in Virginia. Clinical practice shall 

mean the rendering of direct clinical art therapy services, 

clinical supervision of clinical art therapy services, or 

teaching graduate-level courses in art therapy. 

3. Each applicant for licensure as an art therapy associate 

shall submit to the board evidence of a current registration 

as an ATR or an ATR-P from the ATCB. 

18VAC115-90-50. Requirements for Practice as an Art 

Therapy Associate.  

A. No art therapy associate shall call himself a licensed art 

therapist, directly bill for services rendered, or in any way 

represent himself as an independent, autonomous practitioner. 

Art therapy associates shall use the title of "art therapy 

associate" in all written communications. Clients shall be 

informed in writing that the art therapy associate does not have 

the authority for independent practice, is practicing under 

supervision, and shall be provided the supervisor's name, 

professional address, and telephone number.  

B. No art therapy associate shall engage in practice under 

supervision in an area for which the art therapy associate has 

not had the appropriate education or training.  

18VAC115-90-60. General examination requirements; 

schedules; time limits.  

A. Each applicant for initial licensure by examination by the 

board as an art therapist shall pass the Art Therapy Credentials 

Board examination prescribed by the ATCB. 

B. An applicant is required to pass the prescribed examination 

and obtain registration as an ATR-BC no later than five years 

from the date of initial issuance by the board of an art therapy 

associate license, unless the board has granted an extension of 

the art therapy associate license. 

C. An art therapy associate who has not met the requirements 

for licensure as an art therapist within five years of issuance of 

licensure as an art therapy associate may submit an application 

for extension of licensure to the board. Such application shall 

include:  

1. A plan for completing the requirement to obtain licensure 

as an art therapist; 

2. Documentation of compliance with the continuing 

education requirements; 

3. Documentation of compliance with requirements related 

to supervision; and 

4. A letter of recommendation from the clinical supervisor 

of record. 

An extension of an associate art therapy license shall be valid 

for a period of two years.  
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18VAC115-90-70. Annual renewal of licensure.  

A. Each art therapist who intends to continue active practice 

shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year: 

1. A completed form for renewal of the license on which the 

art therapist attests to compliance with the continuing 

competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and 

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-90-20. 

B. An art therapist who wishes to place a license in an inactive 

status may do so upon payment of the inactive renewal fee as 

established in 18VAC115-90-20. No person shall practice art 

therapy in Virginia unless that person holds a current active 

license. A licensee who has selected an inactive status may 

become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set 

forth in subsection C of 18VAC115-90-110. 

C. The license of an art therapy associate shall expire after 

five years from initial licensure unless an extension is granted 

as indicated in subsection C of 18VAC115-90-60.  

D. Licensees shall notify the board of a change in the address 

of record or the public address if different from the address of 

record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal notice from 

the board shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal 

requirement. 

E. Practicing with an expired license is prohibited and may 

constitute grounds for disciplinary action. 

18VAC115-90-80. Continued competency requirements for 

renewal of a license.  

A. Art therapists shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each 

annual licensure renewal. A minimum of two of these hours 

shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of 

practice, or laws governing behavioral science professions in 

Virginia.  

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing competency 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing competency requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing competency requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

D. An art therapist who holds another license issued by a 

Virginia health regulatory board shall not be required to obtain 

more than 20 total continuing education hours in order to 

renew an art therapy license, except that at least 10 of the 

required hours of continuing education shall be specifically 

related to art therapy. 

E. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through the delivery of art therapy 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals 

receiving health services through a local health department or 

a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for three hours of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. 

F. An art therapist who was licensed by examination is 

exempt from meeting continuing competency requirements for 

the first renewal following initial licensure. 

18VAC115-90-90. Continuing competency activity criteria.  

A. Hours of continuing competency activity for an art 

therapist shall be approved if the hours meet the continued 

education requirements for recertification as an ATR-BC. 

B. Additionally, continuing competency activity for an art 

therapist shall be approved if the activities are workshops, 

seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field 

offered by an individual or organization that has been certified 

or approved by one of the following: 

1. The International Association of Marriage and Family 

Counselors and its state affiliates; 

2. The American Association for Marriage and Family 

Therapy and its state affiliates; 

3. The American Association of State Counseling Boards; 

4. The American Counseling Association and its state and 

local affiliates; 

5. The American Psychological Association and its state 

affiliates; 

6. The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification; 

7. NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, 

and its state and local affiliates; 

8. National Association of Social Workers; 

9. National Board for Certified Counselors; 

10. A national behavioral health organization or certification 

body; 

11. Individuals or organizations that have been approved as 

continuing competency sponsors by the American 

Association of State Counseling Boards or a counseling 

board in another state; 

12. The American Association of Pastoral Counselors; 

13. The American Art Therapy Association and its state 

affiliates; 

14. The Art Therapy Credentials Board; or 

15. The International Expressive Arts Therapy Association. 
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18VAC115-90-100. Documenting compliance with 

continuing competency requirements.  

A. Art therapists are required to maintain original 

documentation for a period of two years following renewal.  

B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may 

conduct a random audit of art therapists to verify compliance 

with the requirement for that renewal period. 

C. Upon request, an art therapist shall provide documentation 

as follows: 

1. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 

2. Certificates of participation. 

D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

18VAC115-90-110. Late renewal; reactivation or 

reinstatement.  

A. An art therapist whose license has expired may renew the 

license within one year after its expiration date by paying the 

late fee prescribed in 18VAC115-90-20 and the license 

renewal fee prescribed for the year the license was not 

renewed and providing evidence of having met all applicable 

continuing competency requirements.  

B. An art therapist who fails to renew a license after one or 

more years and wishes to resume practice shall apply for 

reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, 

submit verification of any mental health license the art 

therapist holds or has held in another jurisdiction, if 

applicable, and provide evidence of having met all applicable 

continuing competency requirements, not to exceed a 

maximum of 80 hours. The board may require the applicant 

for reinstatement to submit evidence regarding the continued 

ability to perform the functions within the scope of practice of 

the license. 

C. An art therapist wishing to reactivate an inactive license 

shall submit (i) the renewal fee for active licensure minus any 

fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal; (ii) 

documentation of continued competency hours equal to the 

number of years the license has been inactive, not to exceed a 

maximum of 80 hours; and (iii) verification of any mental 

health license the art therapist holds or has held in another 

jurisdiction, if applicable. The board may require the 

applicant for reactivation to submit evidence regarding the 

continued ability to perform the functions within the scope of 

practice of the license. 

18VAC115-90-120. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guides in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Regardless of the 

delivery method, whether in person, by telephone, or 

electronically, these standards shall apply to the practice of art 

therapy. 

B. Each person licensed by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the public 

and does not endanger the public health, safety, or welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of the licensee's 

competence, based on education, training, supervised 

experience, and appropriate professional experience, and 

represent education, training, and experience accurately to 

clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new art therapy information, concepts, 

applications, and practices that are necessary to providing 

appropriate, effective, professional services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

therapeutic relationship when it becomes clear that the client 

is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements for 

the continuation of treatment for clients, when necessary, 

following termination of a therapeutic relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability;  

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of clients is in no way 

compromised in any experimentation or research involving 

those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed, the limitations of confidentiality, 

and other pertinent information when art therapy is initiated 

and throughout the therapeutic process as necessary. Provide 

clients with accurate information regarding the implications 

of diagnosis, the intended use of tests and reports, fees, and 

billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable, 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 

from providing services to the client without having an 

informed consent discussion with the client and having been 
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granted communication privileges with the other 

professional; 

12. Use only in connection with the licensee's practice as a 

mental health professional those educational and 

professional degrees or titles that (i) have been earned at a 

college or university accredited by an accrediting agency 

recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, (ii) are 

credentials granted by a national certifying agency, and (iii) 

are art therapy in nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in a 

manner that is not false, misleading, or deceptive. 

C. In regard to client records, persons licensed by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client, to include treatment dates and identifying 

information, to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, 

client progress, and termination. Client records include 

artwork or any visual production produced by the client 

during clinical sessions; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with the client's 

expressed written consent or that of the client's legally 

authorized representative or as otherwise permitted or 

required by law; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials, including artwork or any visual 

production produced by the client during clinical sessions, 

by obtaining informed consent from the client or the client's 

legally authorized representative before (i) videotaping; (ii) 

audio recording; (iii) permitting third-party observation; or 

(iv) using identifiable client records and clinical materials in 

teaching, writing, or public presentations; and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the date of termination of the 

art therapy relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years of age) or 10 years following 

termination, whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client or the client's 

legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 

professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to clients. 

Examples of such relationships include familial, social, 

financial, business, bartering, or close personal relationships 

with clients. Art therapists shall take appropriate 

professional precautions when a dual relationship cannot be 

avoided, such as informed consent, consultation, 

supervision, and documentation to ensure that judgment is 

not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or sexual 

intimacies with clients or those included in a collateral 

relationship with the client and not provide therapy to 

persons with whom the licensee has had a romantic 

relationship or sexual intimacy. Art therapists shall not 

engage in romantic relationships or sexual intimacies with 

former clients within a minimum of five years after 

terminating the art therapy relationship. Art therapists who 

engage in such relationship or intimacy after five years 

following termination shall have the responsibility to 

examine and document thoroughly that such relations do not 

have an exploitative nature, based on factors such as 

duration of art therapy, amount of time since art therapy, 

termination circumstances, client's personal history and 

mental status, or adverse impact on the client. A client's 

consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior 

or involvement with an art therapist neither changes the 

nature of the conduct nor lifts the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacy or establish an art therapy or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee or student. Licensed art 

therapists shall avoid any nonsexual dual relationship with a 

supervisee or student in which there is a risk of exploitation 

or potential harm to the supervisee or student or the potential 

for interference with the supervisor's professional judgment; 

and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 

known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of art therapy. 

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise clients of the 

licensee's right to report to the Department of Health 

Professions any information of which the licensee may become 

aware in the licensee's professional capacity indicating that 

there is a reasonable probability that a person licensed or 

certified as a mental health service provider, as defined in § 

54.1-2400.1 of the Code of Virginia, may have engaged in 

unethical, fraudulent, or unprofessional conduct as defined by 

the pertinent licensing statutes and regulations. 
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18VAC115-90-130. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 

probation, reprimand, or denial of license.  

A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend, or deny issuance 

or renewal of a license or to take disciplinary action may be 

taken in accordance with the following: 

1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude or a violation of or aid to another in violating 

any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to 

the practice of art therapy, or any provision of this chapter; 

2. Procuring, attempting to procure, or maintaining a license 

by fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting practice in such a manner as to make it a 

danger to the health and welfare of one's clients or to the 

public or inability to practice art therapy with reasonable 

skill and safety to clients by reason of illness; abusive use of 

alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or other type of 

material; or as the result of any mental or physical condition;  

4. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely to 

cause injury to any client; 

5. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas 

of competency; 

6. Failure to comply with the continued competency 

requirements set forth in this chapter; 

7. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of any 

provision of any statute applicable to the practice of art 

therapy or any part or portion of this chapter; or  

8. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or harm 

the public. 

B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license, the 

licensee may petition the board for reinstatement upon good cause 

shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having been 

obtained that would alter the determination reached. 

18VAC115-90-140. Reinstatement following disciplinary 

action.  

A. Any person whose license has been suspended or who has 

been denied reinstatement by board order, having met the terms of 

the order, may submit a new application and fee for reinstatement 

of licensure. 

B. The board in its discretion may, after an administrative 

proceeding, grant the reinstatement sought in subsection A of this 

section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6583; Filed November 17, 2024, 7:25 p.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Music Therapy (adding 18VAC140-30-10 

through 18VAC140-30-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3709.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 20, 2024 - 10:05 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Board Room 3, Second 

Floor Conference Center, Henrico, VA 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 14, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4441, FAX (804) 977-9915, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Board of Social Work promulgates regulations 

under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia, which authorizes the board to promulgate regulations 

to administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-3709.2 of the 

Code of Virginia provides the board the authority to adopt 

regulations governing the practice of music therapy, upon 

consultation with the Advisory Board on Music Therapy. 

Purpose: The regulation establishes qualifications for 

education, examination, and experience that will ensure 

minimal competency for issuance or renewal of licensure as 

music therapists to protect the health and safety of clients or 

patients who receive music therapy services. The proposed 

amendments ensure there are standards for confidentiality, 

patient records, dual relationships, and informed consent to 

protect public health and safety. 

Substance: The proposed amendments are similar to other 

licensed professions in regard to fee structure, renewal or 

reinstatement, continuing competency, supervision of persons 

in training, and standards of practice. The proposed 

amendments (i) set forth the educational, clinical training, and 

examination requirements for licensure to practice music 

therapy; (ii) provide for appropriate application and renewal 

fees; and (iii) include requirements for licensure renewal and 

continuing education. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 

proposed amendments ensure competency and accountability 

by having persons who use the title of music therapist licensed 

by the board. Additionally, as a licensed mental health 

professional, a music therapist may be reimbursed by third-

party payors for services provided. Other licensed mental 

health practitioners who are trained in the therapeutic use of 

music may use the modality, provided they do not call 

themselves music therapists or claim to be practicing music 

therapy. There are no disadvantages to the public. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

mailto:@jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1  

As required by Chapters 103 and 233 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly,2 which are identical, the Board of Social Work 

(board) proposes to promulgate a new regulation governing the 

practice of music therapy. 

Background. Chapter 680 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly3 

directed the Board of Health Professions to "evaluate whether 

music therapists and the practice of music therapy should be 

regulated and the degree of regulation to be imposed," and 

further required that the evaluation be submitted to the relevant 

General Assembly committees by November 1, 2019. The 

Board of Health Professions assembled a regulatory research 

committee that conducted the study titled "Study into the Need 

to Regulate Music Therapists in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia."4 The major findings of the study are: 

1. Music therapy is the clinical and evidence-based use of 

music interventions to accomplish individualized goals within 

a therapeutic relationship by a credentialed professional who 

has completed an approved music therapy program. 

2. Not all music in a health care setting is music therapy. 

Clinical music therapy is the only professional, research-based 

discipline that actively supplies supportive science to the 

creative, emotional, and energizing experiences of music for 

treatment and educational goals. 

3. Music therapists work with vulnerable populations, 

individuals with intellectual or emotional disabilities, or 

persons coping with physical, mental, or terminal health 

diagnoses. Potential for harm exists when nonqualified 

individuals provide inappropriate applications of music 

therapy interventions that could cause emotional harm. 

4. Music therapists practice autonomously as well as under 

supervision. 

5. Music therapists are bachelor's degree level trained and must 

sit for a national board certification exam to obtain the Music 

Therapist-Board Certified (MT-BC) credential, which is 

necessary for professional practice. 

6. Five states license music therapists, one state provides title 

certification, and two states require registration. 

7. There are approximately 227 music therapists who hold the 

MT-BC credential in Virginia. 

8. There is a need for music therapists in Virginia. 

Subsequently, Chapters 103 and 233 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly were enacted and became the legislative mandate for 

this action. Chapters 103 and 233 also established an advisory 

board on Music Therapy (advisory board) to assist the board in 

formulating regulations related to the practice of music 

therapy. The board now proposes to establish the requirements 

for licensure as a music therapist, continuing education 

requirements, standards of practice, disciplinary actions for 

violations of the standards of practice, and a fee structure to 

cover the program's operating expenses at the Department of 

Health Professions (DHP). 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Music therapy was practiced in 

Virginia before the legislative mandate became effective. 

However, the legislation created title protection for "music 

therapists" and prohibits a person from engaging "in the 

practice of music therapy unless he is licensed by the board." 

The legislation and the regulation would affect individuals who 

previously practiced music therapy differently depending on 

the credentials they possess and whether they qualify for one 

of the exceptions in the legislation. Generally speaking, music 

therapy specific jobs would not be as abundant or pay as well 

without a required license. Thus, individuals who would meet 

the proposed standards, because they already possess a 

certification and education in music therapy, are the ones that 

stand to gain the most from the proposed regulation as they 

would likely have an easier time finding jobs in Virginia; they 

may also be able to increase their compensation due to the new 

license. A second group that would appear to be affected 

consists of those who were already practicing music therapy 

and would be able to continue practicing based on the 

exceptions in the legislation. These exceptions include (i) the 

practice of music therapy by a student pursuing a course of 

study in music therapy if such practice constitutes part of the 

student's course of study and is adequately supervised or (ii) a 

licensed health care provider, other professional registered, 

certified, or licensed in the Commonwealth, or any person 

whose training and national certification attests to his 

preparation and ability to practice his certified profession or 

occupation from engaging in the full scope of his practice, 

including the use of music incidental to his practice, provided 

that he does not represent himself as a music therapist. The 

impact on such individuals appears to be limited to the impact 

of not being able to use the title of "music therapist." If they 

wish to use the title of "music therapist," they would have to 

obtain the new license. The last group consists of those 

individuals who lack the credentials for a Virginia music 

therapy license and who do not fall under the listed exceptions. 

These individuals would have to not only cease any practice of 

music therapy, but also cease using the title "music therapist." 

If they wish, they can obtain a music therapy license by 

fulfilling the proposed credentials. The cost of meeting the 

proposed standards for these individuals would likely be 

proportional to the extent of education and experience they 

would need to qualify for a Virginia license. The legislation 

mandated that "the board shall consider requirements for board 

certification offered by the Certification Board for Music 

Therapists or any successor organization." While not mandated 

to do so, the advisory board concurred that the credential cited 

in the legislation is the best measure of minimal competency 
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for the profession because it requires a national board 

certification examination. The advisory board also concurred 

that graduation from a music therapy program accredited by 

the American Music Therapy Association (AMTA) should be 

a requirement for licensure because it includes 1,200 hours of 

clinical training, including a supervised internship. 

Consequently, the proposed regulation would require Music 

Therapist-Board Certification (MT-BC), a credential issued by 

the Certification Board for Music Therapists (CBMT) after 

completing the academic and clinical training requirements of 

the AMTA and passing a national examination. 

The proposal heavily relies on the MT-BC credential from 

CBMT and on the academic and clinical training requirements 

of the AMTA. CBMT and AMTA are independent entities and 

as such are free to establish or modify from time to time their 

own standards for their own credentials and their fees for 

exams, periodic renewals, or registration. This would produce 

some risk for the Commonwealth as decisions made by these 

independent entities would effectively become Virginia 

administrative law without any oversight or approval from the 

Commonwealth. The proposed regulation also requires a 

minimum of 20 hours of continuing education for each annual 

licensure renewal. Similarly, maintaining the CBMT credential 

also requires 100 hours of continuing education over its five-

year renewal cycle independently from this regulation.5 The 

regulation recognizes continuing education credits earned for 

maintaining CBMT credentials. Thus, continuing education 

required by this regulation and CBMT are allowed to overlap. 

In addition to costs associated with education, experience, and 

continuing competency, the licensure applicants would be 

required to pay fees to DHP. These fees would be used to pay 

administrative costs associated with the proposed program. 

The administrative costs would include staff time for 

application processing, issuance of licenses, disciplinary 

hearings and actions, postal costs, office supplies, etc. The 

proposed fee structure is as follows: initial application 

processing and licensure as a music therapist ($100); active 

annual license renewal ($55); inactive annual license renewal 

($30); late renewal ($20); duplicate license ($15); verification 

of licensure to another jurisdiction ($25); reinstatement of a 

lapsed license ($120); replacement of or additional wall 

certificate ($25); returned check or dishonored credit card or 

debit card ($50); reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension ($500). DHP estimates that the number of persons 

seeking licensure in this program would initially be fewer than 

300, which would translate to less than $16,500 in total 

collected from annual renewal fees. To the extent that 

educational institutions respond to the new license, this 

regulation may encourage educational institutions to start new 

degree programs or increase the number of courses offered 

specific to music therapy. The study notes that there are two 

universities in Virginia, Radford University and Shenandoah 

University, that offer bachelor's level and master's level music 

therapy training. Both are accredited and approved by the 

AMTA. At one end of the spectrum, for someone who is just 

starting and who has no background in music therapy, the 

proposed education and experience requirements for a license 

in music therapy would undoubtedly impose significant 

compliance costs. At the other end of the spectrum, there may 

be individuals who meet all the proposed requirements and 

who only need to apply and pay the associated fees. Regardless 

of the magnitude of compliance costs, the individual choosing 

to obtain a license in music therapy thereby indicates that the 

expected benefits exceed the expected costs. The "Study into 

the Need to Regulate Music Therapists in the Commonwealth 

of Virginia" includes the statement that "Music therapists do 

not utilize dangerous equipment while performing within their 

practice guidelines. They do, however, work with vulnerable 

populations, individuals with intellectual or emotional 

disabilities, and persons coping with physical, mental or 

terminal health diagnosis. The potential for harm exists if a 

nonqualified individual provides inappropriate applications of 

music therapy interventions that could cause emotional harm." 

It is notable that the study asserts the potential for emotional 

harm, but it does not provide any additional information on 

how these harms may occur. Also notable is the absence of any 

assertion that physical harm may occur, perhaps because music 

therapists do not utilize dangerous equipment. The lack of 

evidence of harm to patients in this case is unusual compared 

to most other regulations from health boards, but as noted, the 

regulation of music therapy results from the legislative 

mandate. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The legislation and this 

regulation affect individuals who would be practicing music 

therapy in the future and those who were practicing music therapy 

prior to 2020. According to DHP, when the Board of Health 

Professions conducted its study of the need for licensure of music 

therapists, the CBMT reported 227 professional members located 

in Virginia. DHP estimates that the number of persons seeking 

licensure will initially be fewer than 300. The number of those 

who were practicing music therapy prior to 2020 and who would 

not seek licensure is unknown. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an adverse 

impact may result from the proposed regulation.6 An adverse 

impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs 

for all entities combined. As discussed, individuals who were 

practicing music therapy prior to 2020 would have to cease their 

practice unless they obtain a license or fall under one of the 

exceptions. For some individuals, particularly for those who have 

relatively lower costs in obtaining licensure, the costs may be 

outweighed by the increased possibility that their services would 

be reimbursed by health insurance. For others, particularly those 

who have relatively higher costs in obtaining licensure, the costs 

would likely outweigh the benefits. Because there is the potential 

for an increase in net cost or reduction in net revenue for some 

entities an adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected.8 No data are available to 

determine if any of the individuals who were practicing music 

therapy prior to 2020 were associated with a small business. 
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Localities9 Affected10. The proposed regulation neither 

disproportionately affects particular localities nor introduces 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed licensure of 

music therapists may allow those who meet the licensure 

criteria to secure better jobs. However, some individuals who 

had been practicing music therapy without a license may not 

be able to maintain their employment in that capacity. Thus, 

the net impact on employment is uncertain. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

regulation does not appear to directly affect the use and value 

of private property or real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP0103; https://lis. 

virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+ful+CHAP0233. 

3 https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0680. 

4 https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/studies/Music_Ther 

apy.pdf. 

5 https://www.cbmt.org/certificants/recertification/. 

6 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

7 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

8 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

9 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

10 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Social Work concurs with the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed action establishes regulations governing the 

practice of music pursuant to Chapters 103 and 233 of the 

2020 Acts of Assembly, which require the board to adopt 

regulations establishing a regulatory structure to license 

music therapists in the Commonwealth and establish an 

advisory board to assist the board in this process. The 

proposed regulations provide for (i) licensure requirements, 

(ii) a fee structure, (iii) renewal or reinstatement of a 

license, (iv) continuing competency, (v) supervision of 

persons in training, and (vi) standards of practice. 

Chapter 30 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Music Therapy 

18VAC140-30-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in §§ 54.1-3700 and 

54.1-3709.1 of the Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

"Music therapist" 

"Music therapy" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure as 

a music therapist. 

"CBMT" means the Certification Board for Music Therapists. 

"MT-BC" means a Music Therapist-Board Certified, a 

credential issued by the CBMT after completing the academic 

and clinical training requirements of the American Music 

Therapy Association and passing a national examination.  

18VAC140-30-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable to 

licensure as a music therapist: 

Initial licensure: Application processing and 

initial licensure 
$100 

Active annual license renewal $55 

Inactive annual license renewal $30 

Late renewal $20 

Duplicate license $15 

Verification of licensure to another jurisdiction $25 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0103
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0233
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0233
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%20ful%20CHAP0680
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/studies/Music_Therapy.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/studies/Music_Therapy.pdf
https://www.cbmt.org/certificants/recertification/
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Reinstatement of a lapsed license $120 

Replacement of or additional wall certificate $25 

Returned check or dishonored credit card or 

debit card 
$50 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 
$500 

B. All fees are nonrefundable. 

18VAC140-30-30. Prerequisites for licensure as a music 

therapist.  

A. Every applicant for licensure shall submit to the board: 

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing fee and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC140-30-20; 

3. Verification of any other mental health or health 

professional license, registration, or certificate ever held in 

Virginia or another jurisdiction; and 

4. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank. 

B. An applicant shall have no unresolved disciplinary action 

against a mental health or health professional license, 

certificate, or registration held in Virginia or in another United 

States jurisdiction. The board will consider history of 

disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis. 

18VAC140-30-40. Requirements for licensure.  

In addition to prerequisites as set forth in 18VAC140-30-30, 

every applicant for licensure shall submit to the board: 

1. Evidence of the current certification as an MT-BC granted 

by the CBMT or its successor organization, as approved by 

the board; and  

2. An attestation of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of music therapy 

in Virginia. 

18VAC140-30-50. Annual renewal of licensure.  

A. Every licensed music therapist who intends to continue 

active practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 

of each year: 

1. A completed form for renewal of the license on which the 

licensee attests to compliance with the continuing education 

requirements prescribed in this chapter; and 

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC140-30-20.  

B. A licensed music therapist who wishes to place a license 

in an inactive status may do so upon payment of the inactive 

renewal fee as established in 18VAC140-30-20. No person 

shall practice music therapy in Virginia unless the person holds 

a current active license. A licensee who has selected an inactive 

status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation 

requirements set forth in subsection C of 18VAC140-30-80. 

C. Licensees shall notify the board of a change in the address 

of record or the public address if different from the address of 

record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal notice from 

the board shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal 

requirement.  

D. Practicing with an expired license is prohibited and may 

constitute grounds for disciplinary action. 

18VAC140-30-60. Continuing education requirements for 

renewal of a license.  

A. For annual licensure renewal, a music therapist shall either 

hold a current credential as an MT-BC or be required to have 

completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing education 

within the past 12 months. A minimum of three of these hours 

every five years shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, 

standards of practice, or laws governing behavioral science 

professions in Virginia. 

B. Hours of continuing education activity for a music 

therapist shall be approved if the hours meet the continued 

education requirements for recertification as an MT-BC. 

C. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing education requirement.  

D. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters.  

E. A music therapist who holds another license, certification, 

or registration issued by a Virginia health regulatory board may 

use up to 10 continuing education hours earned to satisfy the 

renewal requirements of that profession to satisfy the 20 total 

continuing education hours required to renew a music therapy 

license. 

F. Up to two hours of the 20 hours required for annual renewal 

may be satisfied through delivery of music therapy services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of those 

services. One hour of continuing education may be credited for 

three hours of providing such volunteer services, as 

documented by the health department or free clinic. 

G. A licensed music therapist is exempt from meeting 

continuing education requirements for the first renewal 

following initial licensure in Virginia. 
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18VAC140-30-70. Documenting compliance with 

continuing education requirements.  

A. All licensees are required to maintain original 

documentation for a period of two years following renewal.  

B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may 

conduct a random audit of licensees to verify compliance with 

the requirement for that renewal period. 

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as 

follows: 

1. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 

2. Certificates of participation. 

D. Continuing education hours required by a disciplinary 

order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

18VAC140-30-80. Late renewal; reactivation or 

reinstatement.  

A. A person whose license has expired may renew the 

license within one year after its expiration date by paying the 

late fee prescribed in 18VAC140-30-20 as well as the license 

renewal fee prescribed for the year the license was not 

renewed and providing evidence of having met all applicable 

continuing education requirements.  

B. A person who fails to renew a license after one year or 

more and wishes to resume practice shall apply for 

reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, 

submit verification of any mental health or health 

professional license the person holds or has held in another 

jurisdiction, if applicable, and provide evidence of having met 

all applicable continuing education requirements to satisfy the 

hours necessary for the number of years the license has been 

lapsed, not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours, or evidence of 

current certification as an MT-BC. The board may require the 

applicant for reinstatement to submit evidence regarding the 

continued ability to perform the functions within the scope of 

practice of the license. 

C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall 

submit (i) the renewal fee for active licensure minus any fee 

already paid for inactive licensure renewal; (ii) 

documentation of continued education hours to satisfy the 

hours necessary for the number of years the license has been 

inactive, not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours, or evidence 

of current certification as an MT-BC; and (iii) verification of 

any mental health or health professional license the person 

holds or has held in another jurisdiction, if applicable. The 

board may require the applicant for reactivation to submit 

evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the 

functions within the scope of practice of the license. 

18VAC140-30-90. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Regardless of the 

delivery method, whether in person, by telephone or 

electronically, these standards shall apply to the practice of 

music therapy. 

B. Each person licensed as music therapists shall: 

1. Be able to justify all services rendered to or on behalf of 

clients as necessary for therapeutic purposes. 

2. Provide for continuation of care when services must be 

interrupted or terminated. 

3. Practice only within the competency areas for which the 

licensee is qualified by education and experience. 

4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of music 

therapy. 

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services. 

6. Ensure that clients are aware of fees and billing 

arrangements before rendering services. 

7. Inform clients of potential risks and benefits of services 

and the limitations on confidentiality and ensure that clients 

have provided informed written consent to treatment. 

8. Keep confidential therapeutic relationships with clients 

and disclose client records to others only with written 

consent of the client, with the following exceptions: (i) when 

the client is a danger to self or others; or (ii) as required by 

law. 

9. When advertising services to the public, ensure that such 

advertising is neither fraudulent nor misleading. 

10. As treatment requires and with the written consent of the 

client, collaborate with other health or mental health 

providers concurrently providing services to the client. 

11. Refrain from undertaking any activity in which a 

licensee's personal problems are likely to lead to inadequate 

or harmful services. 

12. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

13. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

C. In regard to client records, music therapists shall comply 

with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia on 

health records privacy and shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include identifying information and assessment that 

substantiates treatment plans. Each record shall include a 
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treatment plan, progress notes for each case activity, 

information received from all collaborative contacts and the 

treatment implications of that information, and the 

termination process and summary. 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality. 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 

expressed written consent or that of the client's legally 

authorized representative or as mandated or permitted by 

law. 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining written consent from a client 

or a client's legally authorized representative before (i) 

video-recording, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third-

party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 

and clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 

presentations. 

5. For a music therapist practicing in an institution or 

school setting, follow the recordkeeping policies of the 

institution or school. For a music therapist practicing in a 

noninstitutional setting, maintain records for a minimum of 

six years or as otherwise required by law from the date of 

termination of the therapeutic relationship with the 

following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for six years after attaining the age of majority 

or 10 years following termination, whichever comes later. 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time. 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health professional or have been given to the client or his 

legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, music therapists shall: 

1. Not engage in a dual relationship with a client or a 

supervisee that could impair professional judgment or 

increase the risk of exploitation or harm to the client or 

supervisee. (Examples of such a relationship include 

familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or a close 

personal relationship with a client or supervisee.) Music 

therapists shall take appropriate professional precautions 

when a dual relationship cannot be avoided, such as 

informed consent, consultation, supervision, and 

documentation to ensure that judgment is not impaired and 

no exploitation occurs. 

2. Not have any type of romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacies with a client or those included in collateral 

therapeutic services, and not provide services to those 

persons with whom they have had a romantic or sexual 

relationship. Music therapists shall not engage in romantic 

relationship or sexual intimacies with a former client within 

a minimum of five years after terminating the professional 

relationship. Music therapists who engage in such a 

relationship after five years following termination shall have 

the responsibility to examine and document thoroughly that 

such a relationship did not have an exploitative nature, based 

on factors such as duration of therapy, amount of time since 

therapy, termination circumstances, client's personal history 

and mental status, or an adverse impact on the client. A 

client's consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual 

behavior or involvement with a music therapist neither 

changes the nature of the conduct nor lifts the regulatory 

prohibition. 

3. Not engage in any romantic or sexual relationship or 

establish a therapeutic relationship with a current supervisee 

or student. Music therapists shall avoid any nonsexual dual 

relationship with a supervisee or student in which there is a 

risk of exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or 

student, or the potential for interference with the supervisor's 

professional judgment. 

4. Not engage in a personal relationship with a former client 

in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm or if 

the former client continues to relate to the music therapist in 

the music therapist's professional capacity. 

E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health provider is or may be 

guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, a person licensed by the board shall 

advise the licensee's clients of the licensee's right to report such 

misconduct to the Department of Health Professions in 

accordance with § 54.1-2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC140-30-100. Grounds for disciplinary action or 

denial of issuance of a license.  

The board may refuse to issue a license to an applicant or 

reprimand, impose a monetary penalty, place on probation, 

impose such terms as the board may designate, suspend for a 

stated period of time or indefinitely, or revoke a license for one 

or more of the following grounds: 

1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude; 

2. Procuring, attempting to procure, or maintaining a license 

by fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting a practice in such a manner so as to make the 

practice a danger to the health and welfare of the person's 

clients or to the public. In the event a question arises 

concerning the continued competence of a licensee, the 

board will consider evidence of continuing education. 

4. Being unable to practice music therapy with reasonable 

skill and safety to clients by reason of illness; excessive use 

of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other type of 

material; or as a result of any mental or physical condition; 
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5. Conducting a practice in a manner contrary to the 

standards of ethics of music therapy or in violation of 

18VAC140-30-90; 

6. Performing functions outside the board-licensed area of 

competency; 

7. Failure to comply with the continued education 

requirements set forth in 18VAC140-30-60 or maintaining 

documentation as set forth in 18VAC140-30-70; or 

8. Violating or aiding and abetting another to violate any 

statute applicable to the practice of music therapy or any 

provision of this chapter. 

18VAC140-30-110. Reinstatement following disciplinary 

action.  

Any person whose license has been suspended, revoked, or 

denied renewal by the board under the provisions of 

18VAC140-30-100 shall, in order to be eligible for 

reinstatement, (i) submit a new application to the board for a 

license, (ii) pay the appropriate reinstatement fee, and (iii) 

submit any other credentials as prescribed by the board. After 

a hearing, the board may, at the board's discretion, grant the 

reinstatement.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6888; Filed November 17, 2024, 8:04 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-305. Rules for Electricity and 

Natural Gas Submetering and for Energy Allocation 

Equipment (amending 20VAC5-305-10, 20VAC5-305-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-245.3 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Mike Cizenski, Deputy Director, Public 

Utility Regulation Division, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9441, email mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 557 of the 2024 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed amendments make regulatory text clear that 

residential and nonresidential unit owners shall be 

considered tenants for purposes of rules for electricity and 

natural gas submetering and for energy allocation 

equipment. 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 18, 2024 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

CASE NO. PUR-2024-00186 

Ex Parte: In the matter of amending regulations  

governing gas and electric submetering of tenants 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING 

The Rules for Electricity and Natural Gas Submetering and for 

Energy Allocation Equipment, 20VAC5-305-10 et seq. 

("Submetering Rules"), adopted by the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") pursuant to § 56-245.3 of the 

Code of Virginia ("Code"), establish requirements for owners 

using submetering and energy allocation equipment to measure 

and fairly allocate the costs of electric or gas to tenants of 

residential, commercial, or mixed-use properties.  

Chapter 557 (House Bill 1376) of the 2024 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly ("Chapter 557") added the following language to 

Code § 56-245.3 to make clear that residential and non-

residential unit owners shall be considered tenants for purposes 

of the Submetering Rules: 

D. For the purposes of rules promulgated pursuant to this 

section, billing requirements and all other rules related to 

submetering or energy allocation equipment use by tenants of 

an apartment house, office building, shopping center, or 

campground shall apply to residential and nonresidential unit 

owners. 

The Commission Staff ("Staff") has advised the Commission 

that, given this change, the current Submetering Rules must be 

revised to reflect the change set forth in Chapter 557. To 

initiate this proceeding, Staff has prepared proposed 

amendments to Rules 20VAC5-305-10 and 20VAC5-305-20 

of the Submetering Rules ("Proposed Amendments"), which 

are appended to this order.  

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, is of the opinion and finds that a proceeding should 

be established to consider amending the Submetering Rules in 

keeping with the expanded definition of "tenant" in Chapter 

557. 

The Commission finds that notice of Staff's Proposed 

Amendments should be given to potentially interested persons, 

and that interested persons, whether or not they received direct 

notice from Staff, should be provided an opportunity to file 

written comments or request a hearing on the Proposed 

Amendments. The Commission further finds that a copy of the 

Proposed Amendments should be sent to the Office of the 

mailto:mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov
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Registrar for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations.  

To promote administrative efficiency and timely service of 

filings upon participants, the Commission will, among other 

things, direct the electronic filing of comments and pleadings 

unless they contain confidential information, and require 

electronic service on participants in this proceeding. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This case is docketed as Case No. PUR-2024-00186. 

(2) All comments or other documents and pleadings filed in 

this matter shall be submitted electronically to the extent 

authorized by Rule 5VAC5-20-150, Copies and format, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure.1 Confidential 

and Extraordinarily Sensitive Information shall not be 

submitted electronically and shall comply with Rule 5VAC5-

20-170, Confidential information, of the Rules of Practice. 

Any person seeking to hand deliver and physically file or 

submit any pleading or other document shall contact the 

Clerk's Office Document Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to 

arrange the delivery. 

(3) Pursuant to 5VAC5-20-140, Filing and service, of the Rules 

of Practice, the Commission directs that service on participants 

and Staff in this matter shall be accomplished by electronic 

means. Concerning Confidential or Extraordinarily Sensitive 

Information, participants and Staff are instructed to work 

together to agree upon the manner in which documents 

containing such information shall be served upon one another, 

to the extent practicable, in an electronically protected manner, 

even if such information is unable to be filed in the Office of 

the Clerk, so that no participant or Staff is impeded from 

participating in this matter.  

(4) The Commission's Office of General Counsel shall forward 

a copy of this Order Establishing Proceeding to the Registrar 

of Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

(5) An electronic copy of the Proposed Amendments may be 

obtained by submitting a request to Michael A. Cizenski, 

Deputy Director in the Commission's Division of Public Utility 

Regulation at the following email address: 

mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov. An electronic copy of the 

Proposed Amendments can also be found at the Division of 

Public Utility Regulation's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking. Interested persons may 

also download unofficial copies of the Order and the Proposed 

Amendments from the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(6) Within ten (10) business days hereof, Staff shall provide 

copies of this Order by electronic transmission, or when 

electronic transmission is not possible, by mail, to individuals, 

organizations, and companies who have been identified by 

Staff as potentially being interested in this proceeding. 

(7) On or before January 13, 2025, any interested person may 

comment on or request a hearing on the Proposed Amendments 

by following the instructions found on the Commission's 

website: sscc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-

Comments. Those unable, as a practical matter, to submit 

comments electronically may file such comments by U.S. mail 

to the Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o 

Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 

23218-2118. All comments shall refer to Case No. PUR-2024-

00186. Individuals should be specific in their comments on the 

Proposed Amendments and should address only those issues 

pertaining to the amendment of Code § 56-245.3 pursuant to 

Chapter 557. Issues outside the scope of addressing this 

amendment will not be open for consideration. Any request for 

hearing shall state with specificity why the issues raised in the 

request for hearing cannot be adequately addressed in written 

comments. If a sufficient request for hearing is not received, 

the Commission may consider the matter and enter an order 

based upon the comments, documents or other pleadings filed 

in this proceeding.  

(8) On or before February 28, 2025, Staff shall file with the 

Clerk of the Commission a report on or a response to any 

comments or requests for hearing submitted to the Commission 

on the Proposed Amendments.  

(9) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of the 

Commission to all persons on the official Service List in this 

matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

_____________________________ 
1 5VAC5-20-10 et seq. ("Rules of Practice"). 

20VAC5-305-10. Definitions. 

Certain words as used in this chapter shall be understood to 

have the following meaning: 

"Apartment house" means a building or buildings with the 

primary purpose of residential occupancy containing more 

than two dwelling units, all of which are rented primarily for 

nontransient use, with rental paid at intervals of one week or 

longer. Apartment house includes residential condominiums 

and cooperatives whether rented or owner-occupied. 

"Building" means all of the individual units served through 

the same utility-owned meter within an apartment house, office 

building, or shopping center as defined in this section. 

"Campground" means and includes but is not limited to a 

travel trailer camp, recreation camp, family campground, 

camping resort, camping community, or any other area, place, 

parcel, or tract of land, by whatever name called, on which 

three or more campsites are occupied or intended for 

occupancy, or facilities are established or maintained, wholly 

or in part, for the accommodation of camping units for periods 

of overnight or longer, whether the use of the campsites and 

facilities is granted gratuitously, or by rental fee, lease, or 

conditional sale, or by covenants, restrictions, and easements. 

"Campground" does not include a summer camp, migrant labor 

mailto:mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov
scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
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camp, or park for mobile homes as defined in §§ 32.1-203 and 

35.1-1 of the Code of Virginia, or a construction camp, storage 

area for unoccupied camping units, or property upon which the 

individual owner may choose to camp and not be prohibited or 

encumbered by covenants, restrictions, and conditions from 

providing sanitary facilities within the individual owner's 

property lines. 

"Campsite" means and includes any plot of ground within a 

campground used or intended for occupation by the camping 

unit. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission of 

Virginia. 

"Dwelling" means a room or rooms suitable for occupancy as 

a residence containing kitchen and bathroom facilities. 

"Energy allocation equipment" means any device, other than 

submetering equipment, used to determine approximate 

electric or natural gas usage for any dwelling unit, 

nonresidential rental unit, or campsite within an apartment 

house, office building, shopping center, or campground. 

"Energy unit" means the billing units for energy delivered to 

the master-metered customer. For electricity, the units are 

generally kilowatt hours (Kwh). For natural gas, the units are 

generally therms, but may be dekatherms (Dth), cubic feet (cf), 

hundreds of cubic feet (Ccf), or thousands of cubic feet (Mcf). 

"Master meter" means a meter used to measure for billing 

purposes, all electric or natural gas usage of an apartment 

house, office building, shopping center, or campground, 

including common areas, common facilities, and dwelling or 

rental units therein. 

"Month" or "monthly" means the period between two 

consecutive meter readings, either actual or estimated, at 

approximately 30-day intervals. 

"Nonresidential rental unit" means a room or rooms in which 

retail or commercial services, clerical work, or professional 

duties are carried out. 

"Office building" means a building or buildings containing 

more than two rental units which that are rented primarily for 

retail, commercial, or professional use, with rental paid at 

intervals of one month or longer. Office buildings can include 

residential and nonresidential unit owners. 

"Owner" means any owner, operator, or manager of an 

apartment house, office building, shopping center, or 

campground engaged in electrical or natural gas submetering 

or the use of energy allocation equipment. 

"Owner-paid areas" means those areas for which the owner 

bears financial responsibility for energy costs, which include 

but are not limited to areas outside individual residential or 

nonresidential units or in owner-occupied or - shared areas 

such as maintenance shops, vacant units, meeting units, 

meeting rooms, offices, swimming pools, laundry rooms, or 

model apartments. 

"Shopping center" means a building or buildings containing 

more than two stores which that are rented primarily for 

commercial, retail, or professional use. Shopping centers can 

include residential and nonresidential unit owners. 

"Submeter" means electric energy or natural gas 

measurement device used in submetering. 

"Submetering" means dwelling or rental unit electrical or 

natural gas direct remetering performed by the owner to 

measure the tenant's electrical or natural gas usage and to 

render a bill for such usage. 

"Submetering equipment" means equipment used to measure 

actual electricity or natural gas usage in any dwelling unit, 

nonresidential rental unit, or campsite when such equipment is 

not owned or controlled by the electric or natural gas utility 

serving the apartment house, office building, shopping center, 

or campground in which the dwelling unit, nonresidential 

rental unit, or campsite is located. 

"Tenant" means the occupant or occupants or residential or 

nonresidential unit owner of a submetered dwelling, rental 

unit, or campsite. 

"Utility" means the supplier of electric service or natural gas 

service to a master meter. 

20VAC5-305-20. General requirements. 

Residential and nonresidential unit owners shall be 

considered tenants for billing requirements and all other rules 

in this chapter related to submetering or energy allocation 

equipment. 

Submetering or energy allocation equipment may not be used 

in any dwelling unit unless all dwelling units in the apartment 

house utilize such equipment to the extent permitted by the 

physical facilities. 

Any individual nonresidential rental unit, store, or 

campground may utilize submetering or energy allocation 

equipment, provided the rental agreement or lease between the 

owner and the tenant clearly states that the nonresidential rental 

unit, store, or campsite is or will be using submetering or 

energy allocation equipment. 

All rental agreements and leases between the owner and the 

tenants shall clearly state that the dwelling unit, nonresidential 

rental unit, or campsite utilizes submetering or energy 

allocation equipment, that the basis of bills for electric or 

natural gas consumption will be rendered based on readings of 

such equipment, and that any disputes relating to the amount 

of the tenant's bill and the accuracy of the equipment will be 

between the tenant and the owner. Where applicable, the 

provisions of the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act 

(§ 55-248.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) will govern the 

landlord-tenant relationship concerning the use of submetering 
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or energy allocation equipment on all related issues other than 

those covered by these rules. 

Each owner shall be responsible for providing, installing, 

sealing (if necessary), and maintaining all submetering or 

energy allocation equipment necessary for the measurement or 

allocation of the costs for electrical energy or natural gas 

consumed by tenants. 

Any electric submeter installed will be of a type and class to 

register properly the electrical consumption of the dwelling 

unit, nonresidential rental unit, or campsite, and such meter 

will meet the standards of the American National Standards 

Institute, Inc., Standard C12.1-2008 Code for Electricity 

Metering (ANSI C12.1). 

Any natural gas submeter installed will be of a type and class 

to register properly the natural gas consumption of the 

dwelling, nonresidential rental unit, or campsite, and such 

meter will meet the standards of the American National 

Standard Institute Standards ANSI B109.1 (2000) and B109.2 

(2000) for Diaphragm Type Gas Displacement Meters and 

ANSI B109.3 (2000) for Rotary Type Gas Displacement 

Meters (hereafter, ANSI B109). 

Any energy allocation equipment installed will be of a type 

and class appropriate to the heating, ventilation, and air 

conditioning (HVAC) system of the apartment house, office 

building, shopping center, or campground and used in 

accordance with the manufacturer's installation specifications 

and procedures for such energy allocation equipment. 

Any owner installing submetering or energy allocation 

equipment shall notify the commission and the utility 

providing electric or natural gas service to the apartment house, 

office building, shopping center, or campground in writing 

within 90 days of completion of such installation that the 

equipment has been installed and shall give the name of the 

apartment house, office building, shopping center, or 

campground; number of dwelling units, nonresidential rental 

units, or campsites in the project; location; mailing address of 

the owner; the approximate date of installation of the 

equipment; and the type, manufacturer, and model number of 

such equipment. 

Natural gas submetering and energy allocation equipment, 

including related piping and materials, for which the owner is 

responsible shall be installed, operated, and maintained by the 

owner in conformity with all municipal, state, and federal 

requirements, including but not limited to § 56-257.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, and with the 2006 edition of the National 

Fuel Gas Code. 

No building or buildings which qualify that qualifies as an 

apartment house, office building, or shopping center shall be 

excluded from this chapter because the apartment house, office 

building, or shopping center contains a mixture of dwelling 

units and nonresidential rental units. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8108; Filed November 19, 2024, 9:26 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-340. Rules Governing Shared 

Solar Program (amending 20VAC5-340-10 through 

20VAC5-340-90, 20VAC5-340-110; adding 20VAC5-340-

65; repealing 20VAC5-340-100). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-594.3 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Matthew Unger, Senior Analyst, Division of 

Public Utility Regulation, State Corporation Commission, P.O. 

Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9849, 
FAX (804) 371-9350, or email matthew.unger@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action implements Chapters 715, 716, 763, and 765 

of the 2024 Acts of Assembly and (i) extends the existing 

program to customers of a Phase I Utility, (ii) increases 

the caps on participation by customers of a Phase II 

Utility, and (iii) requires the commission to recalculate the 

minimum bill that prescribes the amount a participating 

customer must pay the utility each month after accounting 

for any bill credits. 

Changes to the proposed regulation modify the definition 

of "substantial completion" and require a Phase II Utility 

to notify the commission when 90% of the part one 

aggregate shared solar capacity has been subscribed and 

the related project construction is substantially complete.  

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 25, 2024 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2024-00122 

Ex Parte: In the matter of amending regulations 

governing shared solar programs 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

The Regulations Governing Shared Solar Program, 20VAC5-

340-10 et seq. ("Shared Solar Rules"), adopted by the State 

Corporation Commission ("Commission") pursuant to Code § 

56-594.3, establish the requirements for customers of Virginia 

Electric and Power Company d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia 

("Dominion") to participate in shared solar projects.1 The 

Shared Solar Rules include, inter alia, requirements for 

licensing and registration of subscriber organizations, billing 

and payment, and dispute resolution. 

Chapters 715, 716, 763 and 765 of the Virginia Acts of 

Assembly, 2024 Session (collectively, "2024 Shared Solar 

Legislation") amended Code § 56-594.3 and enacted new Code 

mailto:@matthew.unger@scc.virginia.gov
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§ 56-594.4, effective July 1, 2024. The 2024 Shared Solar 

Legislation modified certain statutory provisions applicable to 

Dominion's shared solar program and directed the 

establishment of a similar program for customers of 

Appalachian Power Company ("APCo"). Additionally, the 

2024 Shared Solar Legislation directs the Commission to 

recalculate the minimum bill that prescribes the amount a 

participating customer must pay to the utility each month after 

accounting for any bill credits. 

In consideration of the 2024 Shared Solar Legislation, the 

Commission established this proceeding on August 8, 2024. 

Commission Staff ("Staff") proposed amendments to the 

Shared Solar Rules ("Proposed Amendments"). Interested 

persons were provided an opportunity to file written comments 

on, propose modifications or supplements to, or request a 

hearing on the Proposed Amendments on or before September 

26, 2024. Staff was required to file a report on or response to 

any comments, proposals, or requests for hearing submitted to 

the Commission on the Proposed Amendments on or before 

October 10, 2024. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the matter,2 

is of the opinion and finds that a Final Rule should be adopted. 

The Commission appreciates the time and thought that went 

into the many comments received. While the Commission has 

fully considered the record, it will only address herein the 

primary issues they raised and how they are considered in the 

appended Final Rule.3 

The Commission first wishes to echo Staff's observation that 

the 2024 Shared Solar Legislation is designed to get these 

shared solar projects online, rather than simply hold a spot in 

the queue.4 To accomplish this, Staff's Proposed Amendments, 

among other things, proposed a definition of "substantial 

completion" in 20VAC5-340-20 and suggested corresponding 

revisions in 20VAC5-340-40 to avoid what one commenter 

accurately described as "queue squatting."5 

Substantial Completion 

The Proposed Amendments included this definition: 

"Substantial Completion" means all requirements for 

interconnection with the electric transmission or 

distribution system have been met and it is signified by a 

letter from the utility authorizing the shared solar facility 

to interconnect, energize, and operate. The utility must 

provide this letter to the shared solar facility as soon as 

reasonably practical, but no later than 30 days after final 

interconnection. 

Additionally, the Proposed Amendments revised the 

timeframes in 20VAC5-340-40 E applicable to projects in the 

queue by tying them to substantial completion rather than 

mechanical completion as follows: 

E. If a project approved January 1, 2025 or after fails to 

reach mechanical substantial completion within 24 

months of the date it was awarded capacity, the utility 

shall remove the project from the program queue unless 

the subscriber organization of the project provides to the 

utility an additional deposit of $275 per kW to maintain its 

position within the program queue. If, after paying the 

additional deposit, the project still fails to reach 

mechanical substantial completion within an additional 

124 months, the utility shall remove the project from the 

program queue. 

Some commenters expressed concern that this framework 

would: (1) unfairly "change the game" for developers currently 

in the queue by shortening the applicable timeframes;6 and (2) 

possibly penalize developers for things beyond their control if 

the utility does not act expeditiously to provide a letter from 

the utility authorizing the shared solar facility to interconnect, 

energize, and operate after final interconnection.7 These 

commenters expressed a preference for maintaining the two 

separate standards, one tying to substantial completion and one 

tying to mechanical completion, to address these concerns. 

Instead, the Commission will: (1) use "substantial completion" 

as a benchmark; (2) define the term so as to contemplate 

validation by the utility that the project may be interconnected 

but not require "final interconnection;" (3) provide an 

additional year to developers in the program queue as of 

January 1, 2025 and earlier; and (4) provide for tolling of the 

time in the queue if the utility must delay proceeding with the 

interconnection for reasons beyond the utility's control.8 

Specifically, as compared to the Proposed Amendment 

definition, the Final Rule states: 

"Substantial Completion" means all requirements for 

interconnection with the electric transmission or 

distribution system have been met by the shared solar 

facility and it is signified by a letter or comparable written 

document from the utility authorizing signifying that the 

shared solar facility has been constructed consistent with 

applicable standards for to interconnection, energize, and 

operate. The utility must provide this letter to the shared 

solar facility as soon as reasonably practical, but no later 

than 30 days after the Commissioning Test, as set forth in 

20VAC5-314-90, or comparable project milestone final 

interconnection. 

Further, 20VAC5-340-40 E in the Final Rule now provides: 

E. If a project approved January 1, 2025 or after fails to 

reach mechanical substantial completion within 24 

months of the date it was awarded capacity, the utility 

shall remove the project from the program queue unless 

the subscriber organization of the project provides to the 

utility an additional deposit of $75 per kW to maintain its 

position within the program queue. If, after paying the 

additional deposit, the project still fails to reach 

mechanical substantial completion within an additional 

912 months, the utility shall remove the project from the 

program queue. However, if the subscriber organization 

notifies the utility that it is prepared to proceed with 

Commissioning Tests, as set forth in 20VAC5-314-90, or 

comparable project milestone, and the utility must delay 
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proceeding with the interconnection for reasons beyond 

the utility's control, the time periods above and in 

subsection -40 E 1 are tolled until the utility is able to 

proceed with the interconnection.  

1. If projects approved prior to January 1, 2025, fail to 

reach substantial completion within 36 months of the date 

it was awarded capacity, the utility shall remove the 

project from the program queue unless the subscriber 

organization of the project provides to the utility an 

additional deposit of $25 per kW to maintain its position 

within the program queue for up to an additional 12 

months.  

Opening Up Additional Capacity 

Commenters expressed concern that the Proposed 

Amendments did not provide enough specificity as to the 

process for how up to 150 megawatts of additional capacity 

will be made available in Dominion's service territory.9 To 

address this, the Final Rule includes a new 20VAC5-340-40 G, 

which requires Dominion to notify the Commission when 90% 

of the part one aggregate capacity has been subscribed and the 

related project construction is substantially complete. 

Additionally, 20VAC5-340-40 F now requires that the 

anticipated or achieved substantial completion date for these 

projects will be provided in the publicly available information 

maintained on the Company's website. 

Minimum Bill10 

In response to comments requesting further detail as to how the 

minimum bill will be quantified, the Final Rule explicitly 

recognizes that avoided costs, among other things already 

identified in 20VAC5-340-80, should be considered in the 

Commission's determination of costs and benefits. However, 

the Commission declines to further limit the factors it may 

consider at this time. Given the nascent stages of shared solar 

development and implementation of this program, the 

Commission will instead fully investigate these factual issues, 

as required by law, in the context of a fully litigated 

proceeding. 

More specifically, Chapter 715 of the Shared Solar Legislation 

directed this Commission to initiate a proceeding to recalculate 

the minimum bill consistent with additional factors prescribed 

therein. Chapter 715 further prescribes when these proceedings 

must occur for the Commonwealth's two largest utilities, APCo 

and Dominion. As required by Va. Code § 56-594 E, the 

Commission is currently conducting a net metering proceeding 

for APCo in Case No. PUR-2024-00161. Within 30 days of the 

final order in such proceeding, the Commission will initiate the 

required separate proceeding to establish APCo's minimum 

bill. The Commission will similarly conduct a net metering 

proceeding for Dominion pursuant to the same statute in 2025. 

Within 30 days of the final order in Dominion's net metering 

proceeding, the Commission will initiate a separate proceeding 

to establish Dominion's own minimum bill. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission's Rules Governing Shared Solar Program, 

20VAC5-340-10 et seq. are amended as shown in Attachment 

A to this Order and shall become effective on January 1, 2025.  

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources shall 

forward a copy of this Order to the Office of the Registrar for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(3) An electronic copy of this Order with Attachment A shall 

be made available on the Division of Public Utility 

Regulation's section of the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking. 

(4) On or before December 31, 2024, Dominion and APCo shall 

file in this docket, with the Clerk of the Commission, any revised 

tariff provisions necessary to implement the regulations adopted 

herein and shall also provide a copy of the document containing 

the revised tariff provisions with the Commission's Division of 

Public Utility Regulation. The Clerk of the Commission need not 

distribute copies but shall make such filings available for public 

inspection in the Clerk's Office and post them on the 

Commission's website at: scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-

lnformation. 

(5) This docket shall remain open to receive the filings from 

electric utilities pursuant to Ordering Paragraph (4).  

(6) The Motions of the Coalition for Community Solar Access 

and Summit Ridge Energy, LLC are denied. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of the 

Commission to all persons on the official Service List in this 

matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

_____________________________ 
1 Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, ExParte: 

In the matter of establishing regulations for a shared solar program pursuant to 

§ 56-594.3 of the Code of Virginia, Case No. PUR-2020-00125, 2020 S.C.C. 

Ann. Rept. 574, Order Adopting Rules (Dec. 23, 2020). 

2 The Commission has fully considered the evidence and arguments in the 

record. See also Board of Supervisors of Loudoun County v. State Corp. 

Comm'n, 292 Va. 444, 454 n.10 (2016) ("We note that even in the absence of 

this representation by the Commission, pursuant to our governing standard of 

review, the Commission's decision comes to us with a presumption that it 

considered all of the evidence of record.") (citation omitted). 

3 In addition to the revisions discussed herein, the Final Rule also modifies 

20VAC5-340-40 C to replace "low-income subscription requirements" with 

"low-income subscription plan" in order to be consistent with the existing 

definition contained in 20 VAC 5-340-20. 

4 Staff Report at 5. For example, this is evidenced in the 2024 Shared Solar 

Legislation's requirement that the Commission find that at least 90 percent of 

Dominion's Phase I is "substantially complete" before expanding the program. 

Code § 56-594.3 E. 

5 Apex Comments at 6. 

6 See Shared Solar Advocates Comments at 26-28; Dimension Energy 

Comments at 6-7; Summit Ridge Energy, LLC Comments at 8-9; Appalachian 

Voices Comments at 7-8; Nexamp Comments at 1-2. 

7 See Shared Solar Advocates Comments at 26; Dimension Energy Comments 

at 4; Summit Ridge Energy, LLC Comments at 9; Appalachian Voices 

Comments at 6; Apex Clean Energy Comments at 3-4. 

8 On October 29, 2024, the Coalition for Community Solar Access and Summit 

Ridge Energy, LLC each filed motions for leave to file comments in response 

to the Staff Report, requesting that the Commission not retroactively change 

the framework set forth in 20 VAC 5-340-40. In addition, Apex Clean Energy 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/7988/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-lnformation
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/7988/22/20VAC5/scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-lnformation
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and RWE Clean Energy each filed letters in support of the motions. As we 

have revised this language in the Final Rule to address developers' concerns, 

which were raised previously over the course of this proceeding, we will deny 

these motions as moot. 

9 Comments of Senator Scott A. Surovell at 2; Comments of Delegate Richard 

C. Sullivan, Jr. at 2. 

10 The Commission notes that the 2024 Shared Solar Legislation requires the 

Commission to initiate proceedings to set and/or revise the minimum bill no 

later than 30 days after our final orders in the net metering proceedings 

required by Code § 56-594. APCo's net metering proceeding is ongoing in 

Case No. PUR-2024-00161. Dominion's case will be initiated by a filing to be 

made on or before May 1, 2025. 

20VAC5-340-10. Applicability. 

A. This chapter is promulgated pursuant to § §§ 56-594.3 and 

56-594.4 of the Code of Virginia. The provisions of this 

chapter apply to Phase I Utilities, Phase II Utilities, subscriber 

organizations, and subscribers. The provisions of this chapter 

govern the development of shared solar facilities and 

participation in the shared solar program. 

B. The maximum cumulative size For a Phase I Utility, the 

maximum aggregate capacity of the shared solar program shall 

be 50 megawatts or 6.0% of peak load, whichever is less. 

C. For a Phase II Utility, part one aggregate capacity of the 

shared solar program initially shall not exceed 150 be 200 

megawatts, at least 30% of which must be comprised of low-

income customers. The program shall be expanded as part two 

by 50 up to 150 megawatts upon qualification of satisfying the 

30% requirement of low-income participation a State 

Corporation Commission determination [ in response to a 

notification filed consistent with 20VAC5-340-40 G ] that at 

least 90% of the part one aggregate capacity has been 

subscribed and that project construction is substantially 

complete. In part two of the shared solar program, no more than 

51% of up to 75 megawatts of aggregated capacity shall serve 

low-income customers. 

C. D. Any shared solar facility may colocate on the same 

parcel of land as another shared solar facility only if such 

facilities are owned by the same entity and do not exceed an 

accumulative maximum capacity of 5,000 kilowatts among all 

such facilities. Such facilities will also be responsible for any 

special interconnection arrangements with the utility. 

D. E. Customers participating in this program shall remain in 

their the customer's present customer class but may not 

participate in the multi-family solar program, pursuant to 

Chapters 1187, 1188, 1189, and 1239 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, or the net metering program, pursuant to 20VAC5-

315, while participating in this program. 

E. Each utility F. A Phase I Utility must file any tariffs, 

agreements, or forms necessary for implementation of the 

program within 60 days of the utility's full implementation of 

a new customer information platform or by July 1, 2023, 

whichever occurs first, to process customer subscriptions 

2025. A Phase II Utility must file updated tariffs, agreements, 

or forms necessary for implementation of the program by 

December 1, 2025. Subscriber organizations may apply for 

licenses, register projects, interact with potential customers, 

and otherwise develop shared solar projects beginning in 2021. 

F. G. The provisions of this chapter shall be deemed not to 

prohibit the Phase I Utility or Phase II Utility, in emergency 

situations, from taking actions it is otherwise authorized to take 

that are necessary to ensure public safety and reliability of the 

distribution system. The commission State Corporation 

Commission, upon a claim of inappropriate action or its own 

motion, may investigate and take such corrective actions as 

may be appropriate. 

G. H. A request for a waiver of any of the provisions in this 

chapter shall be considered by the State Corporation 

Commission on a case-by-case basis and may be granted upon 

such terms and conditions as the State Corporation 

Commission may impose require. 

20VAC5-340-20. Definitions. 

The following terms when used in this chapter shall have the 

following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Administrative cost" means the reasonable incremental cost 

to the investor-owned utility to process subscriber bills for the 

program. 

"Affordable housing provider" means any multi-family 

residential housing project that is one or more of the following: 

1. A federal, state, or local financing program requiring that 

the real estate remains subject to land use restriction and 

rental housing affordability covenants that limit allowable 

rents charged to individuals or families; 

2. A federal low-income housing tax credit project, as 

defined in § 42 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986; 

3. A project funded with federal grants made to states for 

low-income housing tax credits under § 1602 of the 

American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009; 

4. A rental assistance demonstration public housing 

conversion under the federal Consolidated and Further 

Continuing Appropriations Act of 2020; or 

5. Affordable housing meeting the applicable requirements 

of another federal, state, or local program. 

"Applicable bill credit rate" means the dollar-per-kilowatt-

hour rate used to calculate the subscriber's bill credit. 

"Bill credit" means the monetary value of the electricity, in 

kilowatt-hours, generated by the shared solar facility allocated 

to a subscriber to offset that subscriber's electricity bill. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Dual-use agricultural facility" means agricultural production 

and electricity production from solar photovoltaic panels 

occurring simultaneously on the same property. 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations  December 16, 2024 

1057 

"Gross bill" means the amount that a customer would pay to 

the utility based on the customer's monthly energy 

consumption before any bill credits are applied. 

"Incremental cost" means any cost directly caused by the 

implementation of the shared solar program that would not 

have occurred absent the implementation of the shared solar 

program. 

"Low-income customer" means any person or household 

whose income is no more than 80% of the median income of 

the locality in which the customer resides. The median income 

of the locality is determined by the U.S. Department of 

Housing and Urban Development. 

"Low-income service organization" means a nonresidential 

customer of an investor-owned utility whose primary purpose 

is to serve low-income individuals and households. 

"Low-income shared solar facility" means a shared solar 

facility at least 30% of the capacity of which is subscribed by 

low-income customers or low-income service organizations. 

"Low-income subscription plan" means a plan submitted to 

the commission by an applicant providing a commitment for 

low-income subscription and demonstrating the ability to 

subscribe low-income customers. 

"Minimum bill" means a dollar per month amount determined 

by the commission under § 56-594.3 D of the Code of Virginia 

that subscribers are a subscriber is required to pay, at a 

minimum, on their the subscriber's utility bill each month after 

accounting for any bill credits. 

"Net bill" means the resulting amount a customer must pay 

the utility after deducting the bill credit from the customer's 

monthly gross bill.  

"Non-ministerial permit" permits" means all necessary 

governmental permits and approvals to construct the project 

(other than ministerial permits, such as electrical and building 

permits), notwithstanding any pending legal challenges to one 

or more permits or approvals. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 

private legal entity, and the Commonwealth or any 

municipality. 

"Phase I Utility" has the same meaning as provided in 

subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Phase II Utility" has the same meaning as provided in 

subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"REC" means a Renewable Energy Certificate originating 

from a renewable energy [ portfolio ] standard eligible source 

as defined in subdivision C of § 56-585.5 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Shared solar facility" means a facility that: 

1. Generates electricity by means of a solar photovoltaic 

device with a nameplate capacity rating that does not exceed 

5,000 kilowatts of alternating current; 

2. Is located in the service territory of an investor-owned 

electric utility interconnected with the distribution system of 

a Phase I Utility or Phase II Utility in the Commonwealth; 

3. Is connected to the electric distribution grid serving the 

Commonwealth Has at least three subscribers; 

4. Has at least three subscribers; 40% of its capacity 

subscribed by customers with subscriptions of 25 kilowatts 

or less; and  

5. Has at least 40% of its capacity subscribed by customers 

with subscriptions of 25 kilowatts or less; and 

6. 5. Is located on a single parcel of land. 

"Shared solar program" or "program" means the program 

created through this chapter to allow for the development of 

shared solar facilities. 

"Subscriber" means a retail customer of a utility that (i) owns 

one or more subscriptions of a shared solar facility that is 

interconnected with the utility and (ii) receives service in the 

service territory of the same utility in whose service territory 

the shared solar facility is located interconnected. 

"Subscriber organization" means any for-profit or nonprofit 

entity that owns or operates one or more shared solar facilities. 

A subscriber organization shall not be considered a utility 

solely as a result of its ownership or operation of a shared solar 

facility. A subscriber organization licensed with the 

commission, unless otherwise exempt or granted a waiver from 

the commission, shall be eligible to own or operate shared solar 

facilities in more than one investor-owned utility service 

territory. A Phase I Utility or Phase II Utility shall not be a 

subscriber organization. 

"Subscribed" means, in relation to a subscription, that a 

subscriber has made initial payments or provided a deposit to 

the owner of a shared solar facility for such subscription. 

"Subscription" means a contract or other agreement between 

a subscriber and the owner of a shared solar facility. A 

subscription shall be sized such that the estimated bill credits 

do not exceed the subscriber's average annual bill for the 

customer account to which the subscription is attributed. 

"Substantial completion" means all requirements for 

interconnection with the electric transmission or distribution 

system have been met [ . Substantial completion by the shared 

solar facility and ] is signified by a letter [ or comparable 

written document ] from the utility [ authorizing signifying 

that ] the shared solar facility [ to interconnect, energize, and 

operate has been constructed consistent with applicable 

standards for interconnection. ] The utility must provide this 

letter to the shared solar facility as soon as reasonably practical, 

but no later than 30 days after [ final interconnection the 
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commissioning test, as set forth in 20VAC5-314-90, or 

comparable project milestone. ] 

"Utility" means a the respective Phase I Utility or Phase II 

Utility. 

20VAC5-340-30. Licensing of subscriber organizations. 

A. Each entity seeking to conduct business as a subscriber 

organization, unless otherwise exempt or granted a waiver 

from the commission, shall obtain a license from the 

commission prior to commencing business operations. Each 

entity applying for a license to conduct business as a subscriber 

organization shall file an application with the clerk of the 

commission and contemporaneously provide a copy of the 

application to the utility. Applications for licensure shall be 

filed by the legal entity with control of, or prospective control 

of, shared solar projects rather than each individual project 

needing a separate license. If the applicant becomes aware of 

any material changes to any information while the application 

is still pending, the applicant shall inform the commission 

within 10 calendar days. Applications shall include the 

following information: 

1. Legal name of the applicant, as well as any trade names. 

2. Physical business addresses and telephone numbers of the 

applicant's principal office and all offices in Virginia. 

3. A description of the applicant's authorized business 

structure, identifying the state authorizing such structure and 

the associated date (e.g., if incorporated, the state and date 

of incorporation; if a limited liability company, the state 

issuing the certificate of organization and the date of 

issuance). 

4. Name and business address of all principal corporate 

officers and directors, partners, and limited liability 

company (LLC) members, as appropriate. 

5. If a foreign corporation, a copy of the applicant's 

authorization to conduct business in Virginia from the 

commission or if a domestic corporation, a copy of the 

certificate of incorporation from the commission. 

6. A list of the states in which the applicant and the 

applicant's affiliates conduct business related to participation 

in a shared solar program, the names under which such 

business is conducted, and a description of the business 

conducted. 

7. The applicant shall disclose if it is an affiliate of the 

incumbent utility. If it is, it shall further provide a 

description of internal controls the applicant has designed to 

ensure that it the applicant and its employees, contractors, 

and agents that are engaged in the (i) merchant: 

a. Merchant, operations, transmission, or reliability 

functions of the electric generation systems; or 

(ii) customer b. Customer service, sales, marketing, 

metering, accounting, or billing functions, do not receive 

information from the utility or from entities that provide 

similar functions for or on behalf of the utility as would 

give the affiliated subscriber organization an undue 

advantage over nonaffiliated subscriber organizations. 

8. Name, title, and address of the applicant's registered agent 

in Virginia for service of process. 

9. Name, title, address, telephone number, and email address 

of the applicant's liaison with the commission. 

10. Sufficient information to demonstrate, for purposes of 

licensure with the commission, financial fitness 

commensurate with the services proposed to be provided. 

Applicant shall submit the following information related to 

general financial fitness: 

a. If available, proof of a minimum bond rating or other 

senior debt of at least "BBB-" or an equivalent rating by a 

major rating agency, or a guarantee with a guarantor 

possessing a credit rating of "BBB-" or higher from a 

major rating agency. If not available, other evidence that 

will demonstrate the applicant's financial responsibility. 

b. If available, the applicant's audited balance sheet, 

income and cash flow statements for the most recent fiscal 

year, or published financial information such as the most 

recent Securities and Exchange Commission forms 10-K 

and 10-Q. If not available, other financial information for 

the applicant or any other entity that provide financial 

resources to the applicant may be provided. 

c. If applicable, information to demonstrate that the 

applicant is a bona fide nonprofit entity. The information 

provided shall establish that the applicant (i) has the status 

of a tax-exempt organization under § 501(C)(3) of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1986; (ii) conducts its the 

applicant's activities in a manner that serves public or 

charitable purposes rather than commercial purposes; (iii) 

will apply for qualification of projects that serve primarily 

or exclusively low-income customers; and (iv) was not 

created for the purpose of avoiding the financial fitness 

requirements or otherwise under the control of a for profit 

entity. 

11. Sufficient information to demonstrate technical fitness 

commensurate with the service to be provided, to include: 

a. A description of the applicant's experience developing 

solar facilities and engaging as a subscriber organization 

or other relevant services. Provide a discussion of the 

applicant's qualifications, including a summary of other 

projects developed and managed by the applicant with 

location, status, and operational history. 

b. The names and a description of the managerial and 

technical experience of each principal officer and 

appropriate senior management person with direct 

responsibility for the business operations conducted in 

Virginia. Include a description of their the person's 
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experience related to developing solar facilities and 

providing shared solar services. 

c. Billing service options the applicant intends to offer and 

a description of the applicant's billing capability, including 

a description of any related experience. 

d. A copy of the applicant's dispute resolution procedure, 

including the business website, email address, mailing 

address, and toll-free number for the customer service 

department. 

12. A copy of the applicant's dispute resolution procedure, 

including the toll-free number for the customer service 

department. 

13. 12. A copy of the applicant's proposed standard 

agreement it plans to use with prospective subscribers. 

14. 13. A $250 registration fee payable to the commission. 

15. 14. The following information related to the applicant's 

fitness to operate as a subscriber organization: 

a. Disclosure of any (i) civil, criminal, or regulatory 

sanctions or penalties imposed or in place within the 

previous five years against the applicant, any of its the 

applicant's affiliates, or any officer, director, partner, or 

member of an LLC or any of its the LLC's affiliates, 

pursuant to any state or federal law or regulation; and (ii) 

felony convictions within the previous five years that 

relate to the business of the company or to an affiliate 

thereof, of any officer, director, partner, or member of an 

LLC. 

b. Disclosure of whether any application for license or 

authority to conduct a similar type of business as it the 

applicant proposes to offer in Virginia has ever been 

denied, and whether any license or authority issued to it 

the applicant or an affiliate has ever been suspended or 

revoked and whether other sanctions have been imposed. 

16. 15. A copy of the applicant's low-income subscription 

plan, as applicable. 

B. An officer with appropriate authority shall attest that all 

information supplied on the application for licensure is true and 

correct and that, if a license is granted, the applicant will abide 

by all applicable laws of the Commonwealth and regulations 

of the commission. 

C. Any application that fails to provide all required 

information in this section shall be regarded as incomplete. No 

action shall be taken on any application until deemed complete 

and filed. 

D. Upon receipt of an application for a license to conduct 

business as a subscriber organization, the commission shall 

enter an order providing notice to appropriate persons and an 

opportunity for comments on the application. The commission 

shall issue a license to conduct business as a subscriber 

organization upon finding the applicant satisfies the 

requirements established by this chapter. 

E. A license granted pursuant to this chapter is valid until 

revoked or suspended by the commission after providing due 

notice and an opportunity for a hearing, or until the subscriber 

organization abandons its license. 

F. Commission approval Approval of the commission is 

required for transfer or assignment of a license issued under 

this section to any third party. The commission may condition 

its approval on any terms it determines appropriate to protect 

customers. 

20VAC5-340-40. Registration with the utility. 

A. Subscriber organizations, that are licensed or otherwise, 

exempted, or granted a waiver from the commission consistent 

with 20VAC5-340-30 shall register each proposed shared solar 

facility with the utility by entering into an agreement 

containing information as prescribed in this section. B. A 

subscriber organization shall provide: 

1. Providing proof of licensure, exemption, or waiver by 

the commission, as applicable. 

C. A subscriber organization shall submit 2. Submitting to 

the utility the full name of the subscriber organization, 

address, and type of entity (e.g. partnership, corporation, 

etc.). 

D. Subscriber organizations shall provide 3. Providing the 

identity of the shared solar facility participating in the 

shared solar program, including an address of record and 

a copy of the executed interconnection agreement Small 

[ Generation Generator ] Interconnection Agreement or an 

Interconnection Service Agreement [ as defined by the 

regional transmission operator ] for the shared solar 

facility. Subscriber organizations also shall state the 

amount of capacity for the facility, meeting or exceeding 

the minimum of 30%, including any percentage that will 

be subscribed by low-income subscribers and provide 

proof that non-ministerial permits have been obtained for 

the shared solar facility. Subscriber organizations shall 

also state the facility's anticipated substantial completion 

date. 

E. 4. For a low-income shared solar facility, the subscriber 

organization shall provide a copy of its low-income 

subscription plan, as applicable. 

F. Subscriber organizations and the utility shall exchange 

5. Providing the names, telephone numbers, and email 

addresses of appropriate internal points of contact to 

address operational, business coordination, and customer 

account issues, and the names and addresses of their 

registered agents in Virginia. 

G. 6. In the event a license granted under 20VAC5-340-

30 is transferred to another entity with approval from the 

commission, the subscriber organization must notify the 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations  December 16, 2024 

1060 

utility within five business days of approval by the 

commission. 

H. The utility may require 7. Providing reasonable 

financial security from the subscriber organization if 

required by the utility to safeguard the utility and its 

customers from the reasonably expected net financial 

impact due to the nonperformance of the subscriber 

organization. The amount of such financial security shall 

be commensurate with the level of risk assumed by the 

utility [ but shall not be greater than $50 per kilowatt (kW) 

alternating current ]. Such financial security may include 

a letter of credit, a deposit in an escrow account, a 

prepayment arrangement, a surety bond, or other 

arrangements that may be mutually agreed upon by the 

utility and the subscriber organization. I. Subscriber 

organizations deemed bona fide nonprofits shall be 

exempt from [ the $50 per kilowatt alternating current 

any ] security deposit or [ surety ] bond. 

B. The utility shall provide to the subscriber organization the 

names, telephone numbers, and email addresses of appropriate 

internal points of contact to address operational, business 

coordination, and customer account issues. 

C. The utility shall notify the subscriber organization within 

30 days after the subscriber organization submits a shared solar 

facility registration to the utility whether the shared solar 

facility has been awarded capacity in the program queue or 

placed on a waiting list. When awarded capacity in the program 

queue, [ if required by the utility, ] the subscriber organization 

shall pay to the utility a security deposit or [ surety ] bond, 

[ whichever the subscriber organization chooses, ] in [ the an ] 

amount [ determined by the utility ] of [ up to ] $50 per 

[ kilowatt (kW) kW ] of alternating-current (AC) rated capacity 

of the shared solar facility within 10 days. This deposit 

Security deposits shall be held by the utility in an interest-

bearing account. Deposits shall be returned in full, including 

interest, upon commercial operation of the shared solar facility 

and demonstration that [ the subscriber organization has 

satisfied its ] low-income subscription [ requirements have 

been met plan commitments ]. As program capacity is 

awarded, the utility shall ensure that the cumulative capacity 

of such projects meets or exceeds 30% of project capacity (or 

savings equivalent) for low-income customers as demonstrated 

by approved low-income subscription plans. Subscriber 

organizations deemed bona fide nonprofits shall be exempt 

from the $50 per kW alternating current (AC) utility deposit. 

J. D. Shared solar facility meter requirements. A shared solar 

facility must have a utility-provided meter capable of 

measuring output of the facility on a 30-minute interval basis.  

1. The shared solar facility's meter shall not be located 

behind another utility customer account.  

2. Costs of installation, maintenance, and reading of the 

meter shall be billed to the subscriber organization.  

E. If a project [ approved January 1, 2025, or later ] fails to 

reach mechanical substantial completion within 24 months of 

the date it the project was awarded capacity, the utility shall 

remove the project from the program queue unless the 

subscriber organization of the project provides to the utility an 

additional deposit of $25 $75 per kW to maintain its position 

within the program queue. If, after paying the additional 

deposit, the project still fails to reach mechanical substantial 

completion within an additional 12 [ four nine ] months, the 

utility shall remove the project from the program queue. 

[ However, if the subscriber organization notifies the utility 

that the subscriber organization is prepared to proceed with the 

commissioning tests, as set forth in 20VAC5-314-90, or 

comparable project milestone, and the utility must delay 

proceeding with the interconnection for reasons beyond the 

utility's control, the time periods in this subsection will be 

tolled until the utility is able to proceed with the 

interconnection. 

If a project approved prior to January 1, 2025, fails to reach 

substantial completion within 36 months of the date it was 

awarded capacity, the utility shall remove the project from the 

program queue unless the subscriber organization of the 

project provides to the utility an additional deposit of $25 per 

kW to maintain its position within the program queue for an 

additional 12 months. ] 

K. F. The utility shall maintain, on a publicly available 

website, a list of projects accepted into the program queue and 

those projects that are on the wait list. This project list shall 

rank projects primarily by the date of the awarded capacity and 

secondarily by the date of a fully executed interconnection 

agreement. The utility shall update the list within two business 

days of any change to the projects in the program queue. The 

list shall include project applicant name, project location, the 

alternating current capacity rating of the project, the date the 

application was accepted into the program queue, and whether 

the project is a low-income shared solar facility. L. [ either ] 

the date [ the project is anticipated to reach substantial 

completion or the date ] the project reached substantial 

completion. 

1. For each accepted project in the program queue, the 

project list shall rank projects primarily by the date of the 

awarded capacity and secondarily by the date of anticipated 

substantial completion. [ Any subscriber organization with a 

project in the program queue shall notify the utility within 

10 days of any reduction in a project's anticipated installed 

AC capacity or its ability to achieve the anticipated 

substantial completion date. ] The utility shall update the list 

within two business days of any change to the [ primary 

project dates date of awarded capacity ] in the program 

queue, and within 14 business days of any change to the 

[ secondary project ] date [ of substantial completion ]. 

2. For each wait-listed project in the program queue, the list 

shall rank projects by the date the project was placed on the 
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wait list. [ For a Phase II Utility's program, a single project 

may have some portion of its capacity allocated to the 

utility's part one aggregate capacity and the remaining 

portion allocated to the utility's part two aggregate 

capacity. ]  

G. [ Once 90% of the part one aggregate capacity for a Phase 

II Utility has been subscribed and the related project 

construction is substantially complete, the Phase II Utility shall 

file a notification of this occurrence with the commission. 

H. ] Any project on the wait list that is moved off the wait list 

and receives a capacity award in the program queue shall have 

10 business days to make the required deposit of $50 per kW 

of alternating-current rated capacity to retain the project's 

award. 

M. [ H. I. ] As part of its public program queue, the utility 

shall monitor and report the amount of capacity that has been 

allocated to low-income customers, which also shall be 

published on the utility's website. Upon qualification of 45 

megawatts (MW) of alternating current (AC) of capacity 

committed to low-income subscribers as demonstrated by the 

approved low-income subscription plans of projects that have 

secured capacity in the program, the utility shall submit a 

request to the commission to release an additional 50 MW of 

capacity for the program, which Capacity shall be released 

without undue delay and allocated first to projects on the wait 

list and, if capacity remains, to new applicants on a first-come, 

first-served basis following the registration requirements and 

process set forth in this section. 

[ I. J. ] Certain shared solar program projects shall be entitled 

to receive incentives, as established by the Virginia 

Department of Energy, when they are located on rooftops, 

brownfields, or landfills; are dual-use agricultural facilities; or 

meet the definition of another category established by the 

Department of Energy. 

20VAC5-340-50. Marketing and enrollment. 

A. A subscriber organization shall not conduct any marketing 

activities related to participation in the shared solar program 

until after the subscriber organization (i) receives: 

1. Receives a license, exemption, or waiver from the 

commission; and 

(ii) has 2. Has begun registration with the utility, as set forth 

in 20VAC5-340-40. 

B. A subscriber organization shall not enroll subscribers until 

after the earlier of when the utility's customer information 

system is operating or July 1, 2023, and the project receives the 

executed Small Generator Interconnection Agreement 

pursuant to 20VAC5-314-40 through 20VAC5-314-70 and any 

other applicable local and state permits for the shared solar 

facility. the project receives the executed Small Generator 

Interconnection Agreement pursuant to 20VAC5-314-40 

through 20VAC5-314-70, [ non-ministerial permits, and any 

ministerial all required ] permits for the shared solar facility, 

and: 

1. For a Phase I Utility, after July 1, 2025; or  

2. For a Phase II Utility, after July 1, 2023. 

C. A subscriber organization shall not use credit checks as a 

means to establish the eligibility of a residential customer to 

become a subscriber. 

D. A subscriber organization is prohibited from credit 

reporting and charging early termination fees for any low-

income customer receiving service from a Phase II Utility. 

E. A subscriber organization shall maintain adequate records 

allowing it to verify the customer's enrollment authorization. 

Authorization shall be in the form of a written contract with 

affirmed written signature, electronic signature, or recorded 

verbal affirmation. The subscriber organization shall maintain 

a copy of the contract for at least one year after the date of 

expiration. Such enrollment contracts shall be provided within 

five business days to the customer, the utility, or the 

commission staff upon request. 

E. F. A subscriber organization shall provide accurate and 

understandable information in any advertisements, 

solicitations, marketing materials, or customer service 

contracts. All such materials shall, in a manner that is not 

misleading, include a statement that price for the subscription 

does not include charges to be billed by the utility. 

F. G. A subscriber organization shall provide to prospective 

subscribers, prior to executing a written contract, consumer 

disclosure information and a description of how the shared 

solar program will function. Such description shall include 

explanations of the respective roles of the subscriber 

organization and the utility, and a detailed description of how 

customers will be billed, frequency of contract reviews, and 

methods of continued customer education and engagement. 

G. H. Subscriber contracts shall include, at a minimum, the 

following information: 

1. Contract price expressed in per kilowatt-hour, or if price 

is not easily specified, an explanation of how the 

subscription price will be calculated. 

2. Size of the subscriber subscription. The contract must 

address modification of subscriptions in the event a shared 

solar facility underperforms during a period. 

3. Length of the contract. 

4. Provisions for terminating the contract, including any 

termination fees. 

5. Location of the shared solar facility. 

6. Size of the shared solar facility. 

7. Description of billing terms and conditions. 
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8. List of applicable fees, including start up fees, 

cancellation fees, late payment fees, and fees for returned 

payments for insufficient funds. 

9. Clear descriptions of the responsibilities of the subscriber 

organization and the utility, consistent with this chapter. 

10. Toll-free number and address for complaints and 

inquiries. 

11. A clear statement that (i) the: 

a. The maximum size of the subscriber's subscription shall 

not exceed their estimated annual usage; 

(ii) each b. Each customer may [ only participate in one 

shared solar facility or one multi-family solar facility; and 

own one or more subscriptions of a shared solar facility; 

c. A shared solar subscriber may not also participate in a 

multi-family solar facility; and ] 

(iii) a [ c. d. ] A net metering customer may not participate 

in this program. 

12. In a conspicuous location, confirmation of the customer's 

authorization for the utility and subscriber organization to 

exchange, at a minimum, the following billing information: 

a. Customer name; 

b. Billing address and premise address; 

c. Utility account number; and 

d. Share solar subscription information, including, at a 

minimum: 

(1) Pricing; 

(2) Subscription size; 

(3) Contract start date and length; and 

(4) Terms of subscription. 

13. In a conspicuous location, signatures confirming the 

customer's request to enroll and the approximate date the 

enrollment will be effective. 

H. I. Upon a subscriber's request, the subscriber organization 

may transfer the subscription to a new address under the 

existing contract without restriction provided the new address 

is also located in the utility's service territory. An existing 

subscriber may transfer the subscription to a new subscriber so 

long as the new subscriber meets applicable requirements 

established by the utility and subscriber organizations that exist 

at the time of transfer. The subscriber organization must 

provide the utility with updated billing information set forth in 

subdivision F H 12 of this section. 

I. J. The subscriber organization shall provide to the utility, in 

a format acceptable to the utility, an initial list of subscribers 

enrolled in the shared solar facility and their subscription 

information at least 60 days prior to the shared solar facility 

supplying service to any customer. 

J. K. In the event multiple enrollment requests are submitted 

for the same customer, the utility shall process the request with 

the earliest dated contract and shall notify the customer within 

five business days of receipt of the enrollment request of such 

enrollment. The utility shall only terminate enrollment with 

sufficient proof of termination presented by either the customer 

or the subscriber organization. 

K. L. At least 60 days prior to the termination or abandonment 

of a shared solar facility, a subscriber organization must 

provide advanced written notice to the customer, the utility, 

and the commission. 

L. M. A subscriber organization shall safeguard adequately 

safeguard all customer information and shall not disclose such 

information unless the customer authorizes disclosure or 

unless the information to be disclosed is already in the public 

domain. This provision, however, shall not restrict the 

disclosure of credit and payment information as permitted 

currently or required by federal and state statutes. 

M. A subscriber may remain subscribed to the program even 

if the subscriber moves to another location within the utility's 

territory and may transfer the subscription to a new subscriber 

so long as the new subscriber meets applicable requirements 

established by the utility and subscriber organizations that exist 

at the time of transfer. N. Phase I Utility low-income customer 

net financial savings. The subscriber organization must ensure 

net financial savings of at least 10% relative to the subscription 

fee throughout the life of the subscription for a low-income 

customer. Any contract not meeting the 10% minimum on an 

annual basis must have the financial savings difference 

returned to the low-income customer in a lump sum payment.  

20VAC5-340-60. Billing Phase I Utility: billing and 

payment. 

A. Subscriber organizations shall provide subscriber 

information to the utility as follows: 

1. Subscriber organizations must provide, on a monthly basis 

and in a standard electronic format and pursuant to this 

chapter, a subscriber list indicating the kilowatt-hours of 

generation attributable to each of the subscribers 

participating in a shared solar facility in accordance with the 

subscriber's portion of the output of the shared solar facility. 

2. Subscriber lists may be updated monthly to reflect 

canceling subscribers and to add new subscribers. 

3. Monthly subscriber information must be provided by the 

fifth business day of the month. 

4. Data transfer protocols for exchange of data between the 

subscriber organization and the utility shall be established to 

include: 

a. Data components; 

b. Data format; 

c. Timing of monthly data exchanges; 
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d. Encryption level; and 

e. Channel of data submission. 

B. A subscriber organization may offer separate billing or 

consolidated billing service (net crediting) in which the utility 

will be the billing party to the customer shall separately bill the 

subscriber for any applicable portion of the shared solar 

subscription fee. 

1. Where a subscriber organization chooses to use 

consolidated billing, the subscriber organization's marketing 

materials and contracts must identify clearly that the utility 

may charge a net crediting fee not to exceed 1.0% of the bill 

credit value. 

2. Where a subscriber organization chooses to use net 

crediting, any shared solar subscription fees charged via the 

net crediting model shall be set to ensure that subscribers do 

not pay more in subscription fees than they receive in bill 

credits. 

3. All billing of the customer shall occur and comply with 

the utility's normal billing and credit cycles. 

C. Credits to subscriber's subscriber bills shall occur within 

two billing cycles following the cycle during which the energy 

was generated by the shared solar facility. 

D. Each The utility shall, on a monthly basis and in a 

standardized electronic format, provide the subscriber 

organization a report indicating the total value of bill credits 

generated by the shared solar facility in the prior month, as well 

as the amount of the bill credit applied to each subscriber. 

E. Failure Except for low-income customers, failure of a 

subscriber to pay any regulated charges shall subject the 

subscriber to the same credit consequences set forth in the 

utility's commission-approved terms and conditions of service, 

including the potential requirement to post a security or 

disconnection of service. The utility shall advise provide a 

notice of intent to terminate service to the subscriber directly 

of any pending disconnection action for nonpayment, 

consistent with current the utility's practice, separate as found 

in its approved tariff and 20VAC5-330, and this notice will 

occur separately from the customer bill. Such notice The bill 

shall clearly identify clearly the amount that must be paid and 

the date by which such amount must be received and provide 

instructions for direct payment to the utility to avoid 

disconnection. A subscriber may not be disconnected for 

nonpayment of unregulated service charges. 

F. Bill credits. 

1. Bill credits shall be for a particular calendar month, 

regardless of the billing period or billing cycle of the 

individual customer's account. 

2. Bill credits shall be calculated by multiplying the 

subscriber's portion of the kilowatt-hour electricity 

production from the shared solar facility by the applicable 

bill credit rate for the subscriber. Any portion of a bill credit 

that exceeds the subscriber's monthly bill, minus the 

minimum bill, shall be carried over and applied to 

subsequent bills until the earlier of when the credit is 

satisfied or up to 12 months. 

3. In the event that all of the electricity generated by a shared 

solar facility is not allocated to subscribers in a given month, 

a subscriber organization may accumulate bill credits. The 

subscriber organization shall provide the utility allocation 

instructions for distributing excess bill credits to subscribers 

on an annual basis. 

4. The commission shall establish the yearly applicable bill 

credit rate for the subscriber's residential, commercial, or 

industrial rate class. 

5. The utility shall provide bill credits to a shared solar 

facility's subscribers for not less than 25 years from the date 

the shared solar facility becomes commercially operational. 

6. The bill credits associated with the shared solar program 

shall be applied through the utility's fuel factor. 

G. Minimum bill. 1. In a proceeding, as prescribed in 

20VAC5-340-80, the commission will a determine the specific 

costs and formula to determine the minimum bill for program 

participants. 

2. Low-income customers shall be exempt from the 

minimum bill. Costs associated with such customers' 

participation shall be recovered by the utility in a manner to 

be determined by the commission in the proceeding set forth 

in 20VAC5-340-80. 

H. Net crediting. 

1. Net crediting functionality shall be part of any new 

customer information platform approved by the 

commission. 

2. Under net crediting, the utility shall include the shared 

solar subscription fee on the customer's utility bill and 

provide the customer with a net credit equivalent to the total 

bill credit value for that generation period minus the shared 

solar subscription fee as set by the subscriber organization. 

3. The net crediting fee shall not exceed 1.0% of the bill 

credit value. 

4. Net crediting shall be optional for subscriber 

organizations, and any shared solar subscription fees 

charged via the net crediting model shall be set to ensure that 

subscribers do not pay more in subscription fees than they 

receive in bill credits. 

I. Shared solar facility requirements. A shared solar facility 

must have a utility-provided meter capable of measuring 

output of the facility on a 30-minute interval basis. 

1. The shared solar facility's meter shall not be located 

behind another utility customer account. 
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2. Costs of installation, maintenance, and reading of the 

meter shall be billed to the subscriber organization. 

H. Termination fees and credit reporting. Early termination 

fees and credit reporting are prohibited for any low-income 

customer.  

I. Environmental attributes associated with a shared solar 

facility, including renewable energy [ credits certificates ] or 

RECs. 

1. Any renewable energy certificates associated with a 

shared solar facility shall be distributed to a Phase I Utility 

to be retired for compliance with such Phase I Utility's 

renewable portfolio standard obligations pursuant to § 56-

585.5 C of the Code of Virginia. [ Any contract between a 

subscriber organization and a participating customer must 

make clear that all RECs associated with a shared solar 

facility belong to the Phase I Utility only for compliance 

with such Phase I Utility's renewable portfolio standard 

obligation pursuant to § 56-585.5 C of the Code of 

Virginia. ] 

2. As directed by § 56-594.4 B 7 of the Code of Virginia, 

mandatory distribution or transfer to the utility of the 

previous calendar year's RECs, ending December 31, shall 

take place prior to the annual report filing date for FERC 

Form 1 as defined in 18 CFR [ § ] 141.1. 

20VAC5-340-65. Phase II Utility: billing and payment.  

A. Subscriber organizations shall provide subscriber 

information to the utility as follows: 

1. Subscriber organizations must provide, on a monthly basis 

and in a standard electronic format and pursuant to this 

chapter, a subscriber list indicating the kilowatt-hours of 

generation attributable to each of the subscribers 

participating in a shared solar facility in accordance with the 

subscriber's portion of the output of the shared solar facility. 

2. Subscriber lists may be updated monthly to reflect 

canceling subscribers and to add new subscribers. 

3. Monthly subscriber information must be provided by the 

fifth business day of the month. 

4. Data transfer protocols for exchange of data between the 

subscriber organization and the utility shall be established to 

include: 

a. Data components; 

b. Data format; 

c. Timing of monthly data exchanges; 

d. Encryption level; and 

e. Channel of data submission. 

B. A subscriber organization may offer separate billing of its 

subscription fees or choose to use the utility's consolidated 

billing service. 

C. Consolidated billing will reflect net crediting, as set forth 

in subsection I of this section, and the utility will be the billing 

party to the customer. 

1. Where a subscriber organization chooses to use 

consolidated billing, the subscriber organization's marketing 

materials and contracts must identify clearly that the utility 

may charge a net crediting fee not to exceed 1.0% of the bill 

credit value. 

2. Where a subscriber organization chooses to use net 

crediting, any shared solar subscription fees charged via the 

net crediting model shall be set to ensure that subscribers do 

not pay more in subscription fees than they receive in bill 

credits. 

3. All billing of the customer shall occur and comply with 

the utility's normal billing and credit cycles. 

D. Credits to subscriber bills shall occur within two billing 

cycles following the cycle during which the energy was 

generated by the shared solar facility. 

E. The utility shall, on a monthly basis and in a standardized 

electronic format, provide the subscriber organization a report 

indicating the total value of bill credits generated by the shared 

solar facility in the prior month, as well as the amount of the 

bill credit applied to each subscriber. 

F. [ Except for low income customers, failure Failure ] of a 

subscriber to pay any regulated charges shall subject the 

subscriber to the same credit consequences set forth in the 

utility's commission-approved terms and conditions of service, 

including the potential requirement to post a security or 

disconnection of service. The utility shall provide a notice of 

intent to terminate service to the subscriber directly of any 

pending disconnection action for nonpayment consistent with 

the utility's practice as found in its approved tariff and 

20VAC5-330, and this notice of intent to terminate service will 

occur separately from the customer bill. The bill shall clearly 

identify the amount that must be paid and the date by which 

such amount must be received and provide instructions for 

direct payment to the utility to avoid disconnection. A 

subscriber may not be disconnected for nonpayment of 

unregulated service charges. [ Low-income customers shall not 

be subject to early termination fees or credit reporting by the 

utility or a subscriber organization. ] 

G. Bill credits. 

1. Bill credits shall be for a particular calendar month, 

regardless of the billing period or billing cycle of the 

individual customer's account. 

2. Bill credits shall be calculated by multiplying the 

subscriber's portion of the kilowatt-hour electricity 

production from the shared solar facility by the applicable 

bill credit rate for the subscriber. Any portion of a bill credit 

that exceeds the subscriber's monthly bill, minus the 

minimum bill, shall be carried over and applied to 
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subsequent bills until the earlier of when the credit is 

satisfied or up to 12 months. 

3. In the event that all of the electricity generated by a shared 

solar facility is not allocated to subscribers in a given month, 

a subscriber organization may accumulate bill credits. The 

subscriber organization shall provide the utility allocation 

instructions for distributing excess bill credits to subscribers 

on an annual basis. 

4. The commission shall establish the yearly applicable bill 

credit rate for the subscriber's residential, commercial, or 

industrial rate class. 

5. The utility shall provide bill credits to a shared solar 

facility's subscribers for not less than 25 years from the date 

the shared solar facility becomes commercially operational. 

6. The bill credits associated with the shared solar program 

shall be applied through the utility's fuel factor. 

H. Minimum bill. 

1. In a proceeding, as prescribed in 20VAC5-340-80, the 

commission will determine the specific costs and formula to 

determine the minimum bill for program participants. 

2. Low-income customers shall be exempt from the 

minimum bill. Costs associated with low-income customer 

participation shall be recovered by the utility in a manner to 

be determined by the commission in the proceeding set forth 

in 20VAC5-340-80. 

I. Net crediting. 

1. Net crediting functionality shall be part of any new 

customer information platform approved by the 

commission. 

2. Under net crediting, the utility shall include the shared 

solar subscription fee on the customer's utility bill and 

provide the customer with a net credit equivalent to the total 

bill credit value for that generation period minus the shared 

solar subscription fee as set by the subscriber organization. 

3. The net crediting fee shall not exceed 1.0% of the bill 

credit value. 

4. Net crediting shall be optional for subscriber 

organizations, and any shared solar subscription fees 

charged via the net crediting model shall be set to ensure that 

subscribers do not pay more in subscription fees than they 

receive in bill credits. 

J. Environmental attributes associated with a shared solar 

facility, including renewable energy certificates or RECs. 

1. A subscriber organization that registers a shared solar 

facility in the program within the first 200 megawatts 

alternating current of awarded capacity shall own all 

environmental attributes. At such subscriber organization's 

discretion, such environmental attributes may be distributed 

to subscribers, sold to load-serving entities with compliance 

obligations or other buyers, accumulated, or retired.  

2. For a shared solar facility registered in the program after 

the first 200 megawatts alternating current of awarded 

capacity, the registering subscriber organization shall 

transfer renewable energy certificates to a Phase II Utility to 

be retired for compliance with such Phase II Utility's 

renewable portfolio standard obligations pursuant to § 56-

858.5 C of the Code of Virginia. [ Any contract between a 

subscriber organization and a participating customer must 

make clear that all RECs associated with a shared solar 

facility belong to the Phase II Utility only for compliance 

with such Phase II Utility's renewable portfolio standard 

obligations pursuant to § 56-585.5 C of the Code of 

Virginia. ] 

3. As directed by § 56-594.3 B 7 of the Code of Virginia 

mandatory distribution or transfer to the utility of the 

previous calendar year's RECs, ending December 31, shall 

take place prior to the annual report filing date for FERC 

Form 1 as defined in 18 CFR [ § ] 141.1. 

20VAC5-340-70. Disputes. 

A. The parties agree to attempt to resolve all disputes arising 

out of the shared solar program process according to the 

provisions of this section. 

B. A subscriber organization shall establish an explicit 

dispute resolution procedure that identifies clearly identifies 

the process that shall be followed when resolving customer 

disputes. A copy of such dispute resolution procedure shall be 

provided to a customer or the commission upon request. 

C. If the dispute remains unresolved, either party may petition 

the commission to handle the dispute as a formal complaint or 

may exercise whatever rights and remedies it the party may 

have in equity or law. 

D. A subscriber organization shall furnish to customers an a 

website, email address, and mailing address and a 24-hour toll-

free telephone number for customer inquiries and complaints 

regarding services provided by the subscriber organization. 

The 24-hour toll-free telephone number shall be stated on all 

customer-billing statements and shall provide customers the 

opportunity to speak to a customer representative during 

normal business hours. Outside of normal business hours, a 

recorded message shall direct customers how to obtain 

customer assistance. 

E. A subscriber organization shall direct a customer to contact 

the utility immediately if the customer has a service 

emergency. Such direction may be given either by a customer 

service representative or by a recorded message on its the 

subscriber organization's 24-hour toll-free telephone number. 

F. A subscriber organization shall retain customer billing and 

account records and complaint records for at least three years 
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and provide copies of such records to a customer or the 

commission upon request. 

G. In the event that a customer has been referred to the utility 

by a subscriber organization, or to a subscriber organization by 

the utility, for response to an inquiry or a complaint, the party 

that is contacted second shall (i) resolve: 

1. Resolve the inquiry or complaint in a timely fashion; or 

(ii) contact 2. Contact the other party to determine 

responsibility for resolving the inquiry or complaint. 

H. In the event a subscriber organization and customer cannot 

resolve a dispute, the subscriber organization shall provide the 

customer with the toll-free number and address of the 

commission. 

20VAC5-340-80. Minimum bill composition. 

A. The commission shall convene a proceeding to determine 

any monthly administrative charge and the components of the 

minimum bill. 

With respect to the minimum bill: 

1. Each subscriber, other than a low-income customer of a 

Phase II Utility, shall pay a minimum monthly bill, which 

shall, as approved by the commission, include the costs of 

all utility infrastructure and services used to provide electric 

service and administrative costs of the shared solar program. 

The commission may modify the minimum bill over time. In 

establishing the minimum bill, the commission shall (i) 

consider further costs the commission deems relevant to 

ensure subscribing customers pay a fair share of the costs of 

providing electric services to the subscribers, and (ii) 

minimize the costs shifted to customers not in a shared solar 

program. 

2. In establishing the minimum bill for a Phase I Utility, the 

commission shall: 

a. Consider further costs the commission deems relevant 

to ensure subscribing customers pay a fair share of the 

costs of providing electric services; 

b. Minimize the costs shifted to customers not in a shared 

solar program; and  

c. Calculate the benefits of shared solar to the electric grid 

and to the Commonwealth [ , including avoided costs, ] 

and deduct such benefits from other costs. 

3. In establishing the minimum bill for a Phase II Utility, the 

commission shall:  

a. Consider further costs the commission deems relevant 

to ensure subscribing customers pay a fair share of the 

costs of providing electric services and generation 

sufficient to meet customer needs at all times;  

b. Minimize the costs shifted to customers not in a shared 

solar program; 

c. Calculate the benefits of shared solar to the electric grid 

and to the Commonwealth [ , including avoided costs, ] 

and deduct such benefits from other costs; and  

d. Exempt low-income customers from the minimum bill. 

4. The minimum bill components established as set forth in 

subdivision 1 subdivisions 2 and 3 of this subsection and 

updated as deemed necessary by the commission shall be 

limited to such costs as determined by the commission to be 

just and reasonable based on evidence provided by the 

parties to the evidentiary hearing process. Such costs must 

reflect incremental costs of the shared solar program and not 

otherwise recovered by the utility from participating 

subscribers. The following factors shall be considered by the 

commission in determining whether costs proposed by the 

utility are incremental to the shared solar program and 

eligible for inclusion in the minimum bill: 

a. The extent to which the costs are utility infrastructure 

and services used to provide electric service for the shared 

solar program; 

b. The extent to which the costs are administrative costs of 

the shared solar program; 

c. Whether including the cost in the minimum bill is 

necessary to ensure subscribing customers pay a fair share 

of the costs of providing electric services to the 

subscribers; 

d. Whether including the cost in the minimum bill will 

minimize the costs shifted to customers not in a shared 

solar program; and 

e. Whether including the cost in the minimum bill is 

otherwise consistent with the requirements of § §§ 56-

594.3 and 56-594.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. 5. The commission shall also consider how the utility will 

recover the minimum bill charges for exempt low-income 

customers. 

B. The bill credit shall be calculated in accordance with 

20VAC5-340-60 F, and § 56-594.3 C of the Code of Virginia. 

6. The commission shall explicitly set forth its findings as to 

each cost and benefit or other value used to determine the 

minimum bill. 

20VAC5-340-90. Recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements. 

A. Subscriber organizations. Prior to commercial operation of 

any shared solar facility, each subscriber organization shall 

report to the commission and the applicable utility its 

achievement of contracting with low-income customers. 

Thereafter, this report shall be updated and filed semi-annually 

with the commission by January 31 and July 31, respectively, 

of each calendar year for the previous calendar year, 

commencing in 2024. When making the annual report, the 

subscriber organization shall provide the following 

information: 
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1. Total number of subscribers and the amount of kilowatts 

subscribed to by each subscriber; 

2. Total number of low-income customers and the amount of 

kilowatts subscribed to by each low-income customer; 

3. Detailed plan for meeting its the organization's low-

income customer target in the upcoming year if the target 

was not met for the annual period covered by the report; and 

4. Certification that there is no subscriber whose 

subscription size exceeds the subscriber's average annual bill 

over the past 12 months for the customer account to which 

the subscription is attributed. 

[ The utility shall maintain a list of requests from active 

subscriber organizations associated with providing access to 

customer billing and usage data. The utility Each subscriber 

organization ] shall keep complete documentation of the 

customer's affirmative consent [ for the utility to provide to the 

subscriber organization access to the subscriber's billing and 

usage data ] and duration of consent by written or electronic 

signature [ as provided by the subscriber organization to the 

utility ]. If the affirmative consent documentation is in the form 

of a copy of the customer's contract with the subscriber 

organization, the [ utility subscriber organization ] shall 

maintain a copy of the contract for at least one year after the 

date of expiration. Such affirmative consent contracts shall be 

provided within five business days to the customer, the [ active 

subscriber organization utility ], or the commission staff upon 

request.  

The utility shall maintain a consolidated list of active 

subscriber organizations, including the number of low-income 

customers for each organization. 

Each subscriber organization shall retain a record of all 

disclosure forms, low-income customer proof of eligibility, 

and subscriber allocation lists for a period of at least three 

years. Each subscriber organization shall retain copies of 

subscriber contracts for a period of at least one year from the 

date of their expiration. Each of these documents must be made 

available immediately upon request from the commission or 

commission staff. 

A subscriber organization shall retain customer billing and 

account records and complaint records for at least three years. 

B. Affordable housing providers. Affordable housing 

providers subscribing on behalf of their low-income tenants 

shall annually, on or before January 31, commencing in 2024, 

submit a written report for the shared solar program to the 

commission staff describing how bill savings or other tangible 

benefits were provided to the tenants in the last year. The report 

shall include a detailed accounting and expense report for the 

bill savings achieved. 

C. Utility. The utility shall maintain conformance with the 

commission's Regulations Governing Interconnection of Small 

Electric Generators (20VAC5-314), and specifically, 

20VAC5-314-130. 

20VAC5-340-100. Low-income participation stakeholder 

process. (Repealed.) 

The Commission shall initiate a stakeholder process 

including low-income community representatives and 

community solar providers to facilitate low-income customer 

and low-income service organization participation in the 

program. 

20VAC5-340-110. Licensing exemption process for 

subscriber organizations. 

A. Each entity seeking to conduct business as a subscriber 

organization that provides less than a total of 500 kW AC solar 

at any one location or multiple locations shall provide notice to 

the commission prior to commencing any business operations. 

Each entity must notify the commission by electronic mail to 

PURUtilityReports@scc.virginia.gov sharedsolarproject@scc. 

virginia.gov and contemporaneously provide a copy of the 

information to the investor-owned utility. Phase I Utility or 

Phase II Utility, as applicable. If the applicant becomes aware 

of any material changes to any information within the 

application, the applicant shall inform the commission within 

10 calendar days. Notices shall include the following 

information: 

1. Legal name of the applicant, as well as any trade names. 

2. Physical business addresses and telephone numbers of the 

applicant's principal office and all offices in Virginia. 

3. A description of the applicant's authorized business 

structure. 

4. Name and business address of all principal entity officers 

and directors. 

5. If a foreign corporation, a copy of the applicant's 

authorization to conduct business in Virginia from the 

commission or if a domestic corporation, a copy of the 

certificate of incorporation from the commission. 

6. A list of the states, if any, in which the applicant and the 

applicant's affiliates conduct business related to participation 

in a multi-family shared solar program, the names under 

which such business is conducted, and a description of the 

business conducted. 

7. Name, title, and address of the applicant's registered agent 

in Virginia for service of process. 

8. Name, title, address, telephone number, and email address 

of the applicant's liaison with the commission. 

9. Sufficient information to demonstrate viability to provide 

said service to its subscribers. (i.e., location and size of the 

solar installation, expected number of subscribers, expected 

in-service date, identity of solar developer and operator, 

contract term, facility maintenance agreement, revenue 

mailto:SharedSolarProject@scc.virginia.gov
mailto:SharedSolarProject@scc.virginia.gov
mailto:SharedSolarProject@scc.virginia.gov
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source, description of facility financing, and nonprofit 

certification, etc.). 

10. A copy of the applicant's dispute resolution procedure, 

including a telephone number. 

11. A copy of the applicant's proposed standard agreement it 

plans to use with prospective subscribers. 

12. A $100 notice fee payable to the commission. 

13. Disclosure of any civil, criminal, or regulatory sanctions 

or penalties imposed or in place within the previous five 

years against the applicant. 

14. An affidavit from an appropriate officer of the applicant 

certifying that the applicant will indemnify and hold 

harmless any and all subscribers from and against claim, 

damage, loss, and expense arising out of the applicant's 

negligence or misconduct. 

15. A copy of the applicant's low-income subscription plan, 

as applicable. 

B. An officer with appropriate authority shall attest that all 

information supplied on the notice is true and correct and that 

the applicant will abide by all applicable laws of the 

Commonwealth and regulations of the commission. 

C. Notification to the commission is required for transfer or 

assignment of said services to any third party. 

D. The commission may impose conditions on any terms it 

determines are appropriate. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7988; Filed November 25, 2024, 5:11 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-705. Child Protective 

Services (amending 22VAC40-705-10, 22VAC40-705-60, 

22VAC40-705-70, 22VAC40-705-80; adding 22VAC40-

705-200). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 15, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Shannon Hartung, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7554, FAX (804) 726-7499, or email 

shannon.hartung1@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 629 and 662 and 779 and 829 of the 

2024 Acts of Assembly, the amendments (i) establish that if 

during a human trafficking assessment it is determined that 

an interview of the child by a children's advocacy center is 

needed and an interview with a children's advocacy center 

within the jurisdiction cannot be completed within 14 days, 

the local department of social services (LDSS) may facilitate 

the interview with a children's advocacy center located in 

another jurisdiction; (ii) replace "child advocacy center" 

with the term "children's advocacy center"; (iii) outline the 

process for developing a parental child safety placement 

agreement to be established voluntarily between parents, 

relative or fictive kin caregivers, and LDSS to provide 

services and supports to prevent a child's entry into foster 

care when it has been determined that the child cannot 

remain safely in the child's current home; (iv) outline the 

process for the assessment of relative or fictive kin 

caregivers to determine whether the proposed caregiver is 

qualified to care for the child, willing to have a positive and 

continuous relationship with the child, and willing to protect 

the child from abuse and neglect; (v) outline the process for 

convening an internal out-of-home staffing and a facilitated 

meeting with the family at all critical decision points to 

support the development of a family-driven plan for the 

child, family, and relative or fictive kin caregivers; (vi) 

outline the process for criminal and child welfare history 

inquiries for each adult in the proposed caregiver's 

household; and (vii) require that the LDSS visit the relative 

or fictive kin caregiver's home within two weeks of the 

parental child safety placement agreement being established 

and at least one time per month thereafter to ensure the 

home environment is safe for the child. 

22VAC40-705-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Abuser or neglector" means any person who is found to have 

committed the abuse or neglect of a child pursuant to Chapter 

15 (§ 63.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Administrative appeal rights" means the child protective 

services appeals procedures for a local level informal 

conference and a state level hearing pursuant to § 63.2-1526 of 

the Code of Virginia, under which an individual who is found 

to have committed abuse or neglect may request that the local 

department's determination or records be amended. 

mailto:@shannon.hartung1@dss.virginia.gov
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"Alternative treatment options" means treatments used to 

prevent or treat illnesses or promote health and well-being 

outside the realm of modern conventional medicine. 

"Appellant" means (i) anyone who has been found to be an 

abuser or neglector and appeals the founded disposition to the 

director of the local department of social services or to an 

administrative hearing officer and (ii) anyone who has been 

found to be an abuser or neglector and seeks judicial review of 

a decision by an administrative hearing officer. 

"Assessment" means the process by which child protective 

services workers determine a child's and family's needs. 

"Caretaker" means any individual having the responsibility of 

providing care and supervision of a child and includes the 

following: (i) a parent or other person legally responsible for 

the child's care; (ii) an individual who by law, social custom, 

expressed or implied acquiescence, collective consensus, 

agreement, or any other legally recognizable basis has an 

obligation to look after a child left in his the individual's care; 

and (iii) persons responsible by virtue of their positions of 

conferred authority. 

"Case record" means a collection of information maintained 

by a local department, including written material, letters, 

documents, audio or video recordings, photographs, film, or 

other materials, regardless of physical form, about a specific 

child protective services investigation, family, or individual. 

"Central Registry" means a subset of the child abuse and 

neglect information system and is the name index with 

identifying information of individuals named as an abuser or 

neglector in founded child abuse or neglect complaints or 

reports not currently under administrative appeal, maintained 

by the department. 

"Child abuse and neglect information system" means the 

statewide computer system that collects and maintains 

information gathered by local departments regarding incidents 

of child abuse and neglect involving parents or other 

caretakers. The computer system is composed of three parts: 

the statistical information system with nonidentifying 

information, the Central Registry of founded complaints not on 

administrative appeal, and a database that can be accessed only 

by the department and local departments that contains all 

nonpurged child protective services reports. This system is the 

official state automated system required by federal law. 

"Child protective services" means the identification, receipt, 

and immediate response to complaints and reports of alleged 

child abuse or neglect for children younger than 18 years of 

age. It also includes assessment, and arranging for and 

providing necessary protective and rehabilitative services for a 

child and the child's family when the child has been found to 

have been abused or neglected or is at risk of being abused or 

neglected. 

"Child protective services worker" means an individual who 

is qualified by virtue of education, training, and supervision 

and is employed by the local department to respond to child 

protective services complaints and reports of alleged child 

abuse or neglect. 

"Children's advocacy center" means a child-friendly facility 

that (i) enables law-enforcement, child protection, prosecution, 

mental health, medical, and victim advocacy professionals to 

work together to investigate child abuse, help children heal 

from abuse, and hold offenders accountable; (ii) has completed 

or is in the process of completing certain accreditation 

obligations and requires any forensic interview conducted at 

such facility to only be conducted by a trained child forensic 

interviewer in a multidisciplinary team collaborative effort; 

and (iii) is a member in good standing of the Children's 

Advocacy Centers of Virginia. 

"Children's Advocacy Centers of Virginia" means the 

organizing entity for children's advocacy centers in Virginia. 

"Chronically and irreversibly comatose" means a condition 

caused by injury, disease, or illness in which a patient has 

suffered a loss of consciousness with no behavioral evidence 

of self-awareness or awareness of surroundings in a learned 

manner other than reflexive activity of muscles and nerves for 

low-level conditioned response and from which to a reasonable 

degree of medical probability there can be no recovery. 

"Collateral" means a person whose personal or professional 

knowledge may help confirm or rebut the allegations of child 

abuse or neglect or whose involvement may help ensure the 

safety of the child. 

"Complaint" means any information or allegation that a child 

is an abused or neglected child as defined in § 63.2-100 of the 

Code of Virginia made orally or in writing. 

"Consultation" means the process by which the alleged abuser 

or neglector may request an informal meeting to discuss the 

investigative findings with the local department prior to the 

local department rendering a founded disposition of abuse or 

neglect against that person pursuant to § 63.2-1526 A of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Controlled substance" means a drug, substance, or marijuana 

as defined in § 18.2-247 of the Code of Virginia, including 

those terms as they are used or defined in the Drug Control Act, 

Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. The term does not include alcoholic beverages or 

tobacco as those terms are defined or used in Title 3.2 or Title 

4.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Differential response system" means the system by which 

local departments may respond to valid reports or complaints 

of child abuse or neglect by conducting either a family 

assessment or an investigation. 
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"Disposition" means the determination of whether or not 

child abuse or neglect occurred and that identifies the 

individual responsible for the abuse or neglect of the child. 

"Documentation" means information and materials, written 

or otherwise, concerning allegations, facts, and evidence. 

"Family Advocacy Program representative" means the 

individual employed by the United States Armed Forces who 

has responsibility for the program designed to address 

prevention, identification, evaluation, treatment, rehabilitation, 

follow-up, and reporting of family violence, pursuant to 

22VAC40-705-50 and 22VAC40-705-140. 

"Family assessment" means the collection of information 

necessary to determine: 

1. The immediate safety needs of the child; 

2. The protective and rehabilitative services needs of the 

child and family that will deter abuse or neglect; 

3. Risk of future harm to the child; and 

4. Alternative plans for the child's safety if protective and 

rehabilitative services are indicated and the family is unable 

or unwilling to participate in services. These arrangements 

may be made in consultation with the caretaker of the child. 

"First source" means any direct evidence establishing or 

helping to establish the existence or nonexistence of a fact. 

Indirect evidence and anonymous complaints do not constitute 

first source evidence. 

"Founded" means that a review of the facts gathered as a 

result of an investigation shows by a preponderance of the 

evidence that child abuse or neglect has occurred. A 

determination that a case is founded shall be based primarily 

on first source evidence; in no instance shall a determination 

that a case is founded be based solely on indirect evidence or 

an anonymous complaint. 

"Human trafficking assessment" means the collection of 

information necessary to determine: 

1. The immediate safety needs of the child; 

2. The protective and rehabilitative services needs of the 

child and the child's family that will deter abuse and neglect; 

and 

3. Risk of future harm to the child. 

"Identifying information" means name, social security 

number, address, race, sex, and date of birth. 

"Indirect evidence" means any statement made outside the 

presence of the child protective services worker and relayed to 

the child protective services worker as proof of the contents of 

the statement. 

"Informed opinion" means that the child has been informed 

and understands the benefits and risks, to the extent known, of 

the treatment recommended by conventional medical providers 

for the child's condition and the alternative treatment being 

considered as well as the basis of efficacy for each, or lack 

thereof. 

"Investigation" means the collection of information to 

determine: 

1. The immediate safety needs of the child; 

2. The protective and rehabilitative services needs of the 

child and family that will deter abuse or neglect; 

3. Risk of future harm to the child; 

4. Alternative plans for the child's safety if protective and 

rehabilitative services are indicated and the family is unable 

or unwilling to participate in services; 

5. Whether or not abuse or neglect has occurred; 

6. If abuse or neglect has occurred, who abused or neglected 

the child; and 

7. A finding of either founded or unfounded based on the 

facts collected during the investigation. 

"Investigative narrative" means the written account of the 

investigation contained in the child protective services case 

record. 

"Legitimate interest" means a lawful, demonstrated privilege 

to access the information as defined in § 63.2-105 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Life-threatening condition" means a condition that if left 

untreated more likely than not will result in death and for which 

the recommended medical treatments carry a probable chance 

of impairing the health of the individual or a risk of terminating 

the life of the individual. 

"Local department" means the city or county local agency of 

social services or department of public welfare in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia responsible for conducting 

investigations or family assessments of child abuse or neglect 

complaints or reports pursuant to § 63.2-1503 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Local department of jurisdiction" means the local 

department in the city or county in Virginia where the alleged 

victim child resides or in which the alleged abuse or neglect is 

believed to have occurred. If neither of these is known, then 

the local department of jurisdiction shall be the local 

department in the county or city where the abuse or neglect was 

discovered. 

"Mandated reporters" means those persons who are required 

to report suspicions of child abuse or neglect pursuant to § 

63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Monitoring" means ongoing contacts with the child, family, 

and collaterals that provide information about the child's safety 

and the family's compliance with the service plan. 
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"Multidisciplinary teams" means any organized group of 

individuals representing, but not limited to, medical, mental 

health, social work, education, legal, and law enforcement 

which that will assist local departments in the protection and 

prevention of child abuse and neglect established pursuant to § 

63.2-1503 K of the Code of Virginia. Citizen representatives 

may also be included. 

"Near fatality" means an act that, as certified by a physician, 

places the child in serious or critical condition. Serious or 

critical condition is a life-threatening condition or injury. 

"Notification" means informing designated and appropriate 

individuals of the local department's actions and the 

individual's rights. 

"Particular medical treatment" means a process or procedure 

that is recommended by conventional medical providers and 

accepted by the conventional medical community. 

"Plan of safe care" means a guide developed by service 

providers with their clients to ensure mothers and other 

caretakers of a substance-exposed infant have the necessary 

resources to safely care for the infant. The plan should address 

the needs of the child, mother, and other caretakers, as 

appropriate. 

"Preponderance of evidence" means just enough evidence to 

make it more likely than not that the asserted facts are true. 

"Preponderance of evidence" is evidence that is of greater 

weight or more convincing than the evidence offered in 

opposition. 

"Purge" means to delete or destroy any reference data and 

materials specific to subject identification contained in records 

maintained by the department and the local department 

pursuant to §§ 63.2-1513 and 63.2-1514 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Reasonable diligence" means the exercise of persistent effort 

that is justifiable and appropriate under the circumstances. 

"Report" means (i) a complaint as defined in this section or 

(ii) an official document on which information is given 

concerning abuse or neglect. 

"Response time" means the time for the local department to 

initiate an investigation or family assessment after receiving a 

valid report of suspected child abuse or neglect based upon the 

facts and circumstances presented at the time the complaint or 

report is received. 

"Safety plan" means an immediate course of action designed 

to protect a child from abuse or neglect. 

"Service plan" means a plan of action to address the service 

needs of a child or the child's family in order to protect a child 

and the child's siblings to prevent future abuse and neglect and 

to preserve the family life of the parents and children whenever 

possible. 

"Sex trafficking" means the recruitment, harboring, 

transportation, provision, obtaining, patronizing, or soliciting 

of a person for the purpose of a commercial sex act as defined 

in § 18.2-357.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"State automated system" means the "child abuse and neglect 

information system" as previously defined. 

"Sufficiently mature" is determined on a case-by-case basis 

and means that a child has no impairment of his cognitive 

ability and is of a maturity level capable of having intelligent 

views on the subject of his the child's own health condition and 

medical care. 

"Terminal condition" means a condition caused by injury, 

disease, or illness from which to a reasonable degree of 

medical probability a patient cannot recover and (i) the 

patient's death is imminent or (ii) the patient is chronically and 

irreversibly comatose. 

"Unfounded" means that a review of the facts does not show 

by a preponderance of the evidence that child abuse or neglect 

occurred. 

"Valid report or complaint" means a report or complaint of 

suspected child abuse or neglect for which the local department 

must conduct an investigation or family assessment because 

the following elements are present: 

1. The alleged victim child is younger than 18 years of age 

at the time of the complaint or report; 

2. The alleged abuser is the alleged victim child's parent or 

other caretaker or, for purposes of abuse or neglect described 

in subdivision 4 of the definition of "abused or neglected 

child" in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, an intimate 

partner of such parent or caretaker; 

3. The local department receiving the complaint or report is 

a local department of jurisdiction; and 

4. The circumstances described allege suspected child abuse 

or neglect. 

"Withholding of medically indicated treatment" means the 

failure to respond to the infant's life-threatening condition by 

providing treatment (including appropriate nutrition, 

hydration, and medication) that in the treating physician's 

reasonable medical judgment will most likely be effective in 

ameliorating or correcting all such conditions. 

22VAC40-705-60. Authorities of local departments. 

A. When responding to valid complaints or reports, local 

departments have the following authorities: 

1. To talk to any child suspected of being abused or 

neglected, or child's siblings, without the consent of and 

outside the presence of the parent or other caretaker, as set 

forth by § 63.2-1518 of the Code of Virginia. 
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2. To take or arrange for photographs and x-rays of a child 

who is the subject of a complaint without the consent of and 

outside the presence of the parent or other caretaker, as set 

forth in § 63.2-1520 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. To take a child into custody on an emergency removal 

under such circumstances as set forth in § 63.2-1517 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

a. A child protective services worker planning to take a 

child into emergency custody shall first consult with a 

supervisor. However, this requirement shall not delay 

action on the child protective services worker's part if a 

supervisor cannot be contacted and the situation requires 

immediate action. 

b. When circumstances warrant that a child be taken into 

emergency custody during a family assessment, the report 

shall be reassigned immediately as an investigation. 

c. Any person who takes a child into custody pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1517 of the Code of Virginia shall be immune from 

any civil or criminal liability in connection therewith, 

unless it is proven that such person acted in bad faith or 

with malicious intent. 

d. The local department shall have the authority to have a 

complete medical examination made of the child including 

a written medical report and, when appropriate, 

photographs and x-rays pursuant to § 63.2-1520 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

e. When a child in emergency custody is in need of 

immediate medical or surgical treatment, the local director 

of social services or his the local director's designee may 

consent to such treatment when the parent does not 

provide consent and a court order is not immediately 

obtainable. 

f. When a child is not in the local department's custody, 

the local department cannot consent to medical or surgical 

treatment of the child. 

g. When a child is removed, every effort must be made to 

obtain an emergency removal order within four hours. 

Reasons for not doing so shall be stated in the petition for 

an emergency removal order. 

h. Every effort shall be made to provide notice of the 

removal in person to the parent or guardian as soon as 

practicable. 

i. Within 30 days of removing a child from the custody of 

the parents or legal guardians, the local department shall 

exercise due diligence to identify and notify in writing all 

maternal and paternal grandparents and other adult 

relatives of the child (including any other adult relatives 

suggested by the parents) and all parents who have legal 

custody of any siblings of the child being removed and 

explain the options they have to participate in the care and 

placement of the child, subject to exceptions due to family 

or domestic violence. These notifications shall be 

documented in the state automated system. When 

notification to any of these relatives is not made, the local 

department shall document the reasons in the state 

automated system. 

4. To enter into a parental child safety placement agreement 

with a parent, guardian, or legal custodian of a child if it is 

determined that the child cannot remain safely with the 

child's parent, guardian, or legal custodian, in accordance 

with Article 7 (§ 63.2-1531 et seq.) of Chapter 15 of Title 

63.2 of the Code of Virginia and 22VAC40-705-200. 

a. A child protective services worker who determines a 

child cannot remain safely in the care of the child's parent, 

guardian, or legal custodian must first consult with a 

supervisor. However, this requirement must not delay 

action on the child protective services worker's part if a 

supervisor cannot be contacted and situation requires 

immediate action. 

b. Pursuant to § 63.2-1534 of the Code of Virginia, the 

local department must conduct a criminal history inquiry 

and child welfare history inquiry on all adults 18 years of 

age and older residing in the home of the proposed 

caregiver under a parental child safety placement 

agreement. The assessment of the criminal history inquiry 

and child welfare history inquiry must be completed in 

accordance with the provisions of 22VAC40-705-200. 

B. When responding to a complaint or report of abuse or 

neglect involving the human trafficking of a child, local 

departments may take a child into custody and maintain 

custody of the child for up to 72 hours without prior approval 

of a parent or guardian, provided that the alleged victim child 

has been identified as a victim of human trafficking as defined 

in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia; the federal Trafficking 

Victims Protection Act of 2000 (22 USC § 7102 et seq.); and 

the federal Justice for Victims of Trafficking Act of 2015 (42 

USC § 5101 et seq.) and pursuant to § 63.2-1517 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

1. After taking the child into custody, the local department 

shall notify the parent or guardian of such child as soon as 

practicable. Every effort shall be made to provide such 

notice in person. 

2. The local department shall also notify the Child-Protective 

Services Unit within the department whenever a child is 

taken into custody. 

3. When a child is taken into custody by a child-protective 

services worker of a local department pursuant to this 

subsection, that child shall be returned as soon as practicable 

to the custody of his the child's parent or guardian. However, 

the local department shall not be required to return the child 

to his the child's parent or guardian if the circumstances are 

such that continuing in his the child's place of residence or 

in the care or custody of such parent or guardian, or 

custodian or other person responsible for the child's care, 

presents an imminent danger to the child's life or health to 
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the extent that severe or irremediable injury would be likely 

to result or if the evidence of abuse is perishable or subject 

to deterioration before a hearing can be held. 

4. If the local department cannot return the child to the 

custody of his the child's parents or guardians within 72 

hours, the local department shall obtain an emergency 

removal order pursuant to § 16.1-251 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

C. When conducting a human trafficking assessment pursuant 

to § 63.2-1506.1 of the Code of Virginia, the local department 

may interview the alleged child victim or any sibling of that 

child without the consent and outside the presence of such 

child's or such child's sibling's parent, guardian, legal 

custodian, or other person standing in loco parentis, or school 

personnel. 

22VAC40-705-70. Collection of information. 

A. When conducting an investigation, the local department 

shall seek first-source information about the allegation of child 

abuse or neglect. When applicable, the local department shall 

include in the case record: police reports; depositions; 

photographs; physical, medical, and psychological reports; and 

any electronic recordings of interviews. 

B. When completing a human trafficking assessment or 

family assessment, the local department shall gather all 

relevant information in collaboration with the family, to the 

degree possible, in order to determine the child and family 

services needs related to current safety or future risk of harm 

to the child. 

If at any time during the human trafficking assessment it is 

determined that a forensic interview of the child is needed, 

such interview may be performed by a children's advocacy 

center within the jurisdiction; however, if an interview with a 

children's advocacy center within the jurisdiction cannot be 

completed within 14 days, the forensic interview may be 

conducted by a children's advocacy center located in another 

jurisdiction. 

C. All information collected for a human trafficking 

assessment, family assessment, or an investigation must be 

entered in the state automated system and maintained 

according to § 63.2-1514 for unfounded investigations, family 

assessments, or invalid reports, or according to 22VAC40-705-

130 for founded investigations. The automated record entered 

in the state automated system is the official record. When 

documentation is not available in electronic form, it must be 

maintained in the hard copy portion of the record. Any hard 

copy information, including photographs and recordings, shall 

be noted as an addendum to the official record. 

22VAC40-705-80. Family assessment and investigation 

contacts. 

A. During the course of the family assessment, the child 

protective services worker shall document in writing in the 

state automated system the following contacts and 

observations. When any of these contacts or observations is not 

made, the child protective services worker shall document in 

writing why the specific contact or observation was not made. 

1. The child protective services worker shall conduct a face-

to-face interview with and observe the alleged victim child 

within the determined response time. When a victim child is 

younger than two years of age, this contact shall be within 

24 hours of receiving the report. 

2. The child protective services worker shall conduct a face-

to-face interview with and observe all minor siblings 

residing in the home. 

3. The child protective services worker shall conduct a face-

to-face interview with and observe all other children residing 

in the home with parental permission. 

4. The child protective services worker shall conduct a face-

to-face interview with the alleged victim child's parents or 

guardians or any caretaker named in the report. 

5. The child protective services worker shall observe the 

family environment, contact pertinent collaterals, and 

review pertinent records in consultation with the family. 

B. During the course of the investigation, the child protective 

services worker shall document in writing in the state 

automated system the following contacts and observations. 

When any of these contacts or observations is not made, the 

child protective services worker shall document in writing why 

the specific contact or observation was not made. 

1. The child protective services worker shall conduct a face-

to-face interview with and observation of the alleged victim 

child within the determined response time. When a victim 

child is younger than two years of age, this contact shall be 

within 24 hours of receiving the report. If a local 

multidisciplinary team has determined that an interview of 

the child by a child children's advocacy center recognized by 

the National Children's Alliance is needed and an interview 

with a recognized child children's advocacy center within the 

jurisdiction cannot be completed within 14 days, the local 

department may facilitate the interview with a recognized 

child children's advocacy center located in another 

jurisdiction. All interviews with alleged victim children 

must be electronically recorded except when the child 

protective services worker determines that: 

a. The child's safety may be endangered by electronically 

recording his the child's statement; 

b. The age or developmental capacity of the child makes 

electronic recording impractical; 

c. The child refuses to participate in the interview if 

electronic recording occurs; 

d. In the context of a team investigation with law-

enforcement personnel, the team or team leader 

determines that electronic recording is not appropriate; or 
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e. The victim provided new information as part of a family 

assessment and it would be detrimental to reinterview the 

victim and the child protective services worker provides a 

detailed narrative of the interview in the investigation 

record. 

In the case of an interview conducted with a nonverbal child 

where none of the exceptions in this subdivision apply, it is 

appropriate to electronically record the questions being 

asked by the child protective services worker and to 

describe, either verbally or in writing, the child's responses. 

A child protective services worker shall document in detail 

in the record and discuss with supervisory personnel the 

basis for a decision not to electronically record an interview 

with the alleged victim child. 

A child protective services finding may be based on the 

written narrative of the child protective services worker in 

cases where an electronic recording is unavailable due to 

equipment failure or the exceptions in this subdivision 1. 

2. The child protective services worker shall conduct a face-

to-face interview with and observe all minor siblings 

residing in the home. 

3. The child protective services worker shall conduct a face-

to-face interview with and observe all other children residing 

in the home with parental permission. 

4. The child protective services worker shall conduct a face-

to-face interview with the alleged abuser or neglector. 

a. The child protective services worker shall inform the 

alleged abuser or neglector of his the alleged abuser or 

neglector's right to electronically record any 

communication pursuant to § 63.2-1516 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

b. If requested by the alleged abuser or neglector, the local 

department shall provide the necessary equipment in order 

to electronically record the interview and retain a copy of 

the electronic recording. 

5. The child protective services worker shall conduct a face-

to-face interview with the alleged victim child's parents or 

guardians. 

6. The child protective services worker shall observe the 

environment where the alleged victim child lives. This 

requirement may be waived in complaints or reports of child 

abuse and neglect that took place in state licensed and 

religiously exempted child day centers, regulated and 

unregulated family day homes, private and public schools, 

group residential facilities, hospitals, or institutions where 

the alleged abuser or neglector is an employee or volunteer 

at such facility. 

7. The child protective services worker shall observe the site 

where the alleged incident took place. 

8. The child protective services worker shall conduct 

interviews with collaterals who have pertinent information 

relevant to the investigation and the safety of the child. 

C. Pursuant to §§ 63.2-1505 and 63.2-1506 of the Code of 

Virginia, local departments may obtain and consider statewide 

criminal history record information from the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange and shall obtain and consider results of a 

search of the Central Registry on any individual who is the 

subject of a child abuse and neglect investigation or family 

assessment where there is evidence of child abuse or neglect 

and the local department is evaluating the safety of the home 

and whether removal is necessary to ensure the child's safety. 

The local department may also obtain a criminal record check 

and a Central Registry check on all adult household members 

residing in the home of the alleged abuser or neglector and 

where the child visits. Pursuant to § 19.2-389 of the Code of 

Virginia, local departments are authorized to receive criminal 

history information on the person who is the subject of the 

investigation as well as other adult members of the household 

for the purposes in § 63.2-1505 of the Code of Virginia. The 

results of the criminal record history search may be admitted 

into evidence if a child abuse or neglect petition is filed in 

connection with the child's removal. Local departments are 

prohibited from dissemination of this information except as 

authorized by the Code of Virginia. 

D. Pursuant to §§ 63.2-1505 and 63.2-1506 of the Code of 

Virginia, local departments must determine whether the 

subject of an investigation or family assessment has resided in 

another state within the last five years, and if he has resided in 

another state, shall request a search of the child abuse and 

neglect registry or equivalent registry maintained by such state. 

22VAC40-705-200. Parental Child Safety Placement 

Program.  

A. The local department must prevent the unnecessary entry 

of children into foster care by promoting and supporting 

placements with relatives and fictive kin. Parental child safety 

placements are protective interventions used when (i) a family 

assessment or investigation has been initiated in response to a 

valid complaint alleging that the child has been abused or 

neglected; (ii) the safety assessment conducted by the local 

department indicates that a child cannot remain safely in the 

home; and (iii) the child's parent, guardian, or legal custodian 

is in agreement with the parental child safety placement 

arrangement. The parent, guardian, or legal custodian must 

willingly agree to voluntarily place the child with a caregiver 

pursuant to a parental child safety placement agreement. 

B. This program is only available if the local department 

determines that the parent, guardian, or legal custodian can 

remedy the identified safety factors within 90 calendar days. 

C. The local department must determine that the proposed 

caregiver meets all of the following qualifications: (i) is 18 

years of age or older; (ii) is a non-parent relative or fictive kin; 
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(iii) is willing to receive and care for the child in the proposed 

caregiver's home; (iv) is willing to have a positive and 

continuous relationship with the child; (v) is willing and able 

to protect the child from abuse and neglect; (vi) is willing to 

use age-appropriate behavior management techniques; (vii) 

agrees not to use corporal punishment; and (viii) is willing to 

support the relationship and contact between the child and 

parent and the parent's efforts to remedy the safety issues. 

D. Prior to the child's placement with the proposed caregiver 

identified by the parent, the local department must conduct an 

assessment of the proposed caregiver and the caregiver's home 

where the child will be placed. The proposed caregiver 

assessment must include: 

1. Completion of a criminal history inquiry with the person 

locator tool identified by the department at 

https://www.accurint.com/ and a child welfare history 

inquiry with the child welfare information system 

established in § 63.2-1514 of the Code of Virginia on all 

individuals 18 years of age or older residing in the home. 

a. If the inquiry results in the identification of a barrier 

crime as defined in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of Virginia 

or a negative child welfare history, including any validated 

child protective services referrals or founded child 

protective services dispositions, and the local department 

continues its consideration of the proposed caregiver, the 

local department must (i) conduct a further assessment, 

which must include a discussion with the individual about 

the circumstances surrounding each conviction and 

negative child welfare history and the current status of 

disposition, sentencing, probation, or other condition; and 

(ii) conduct a supervisory review of the information 

gathered from the further assessment described in clause 

(i) of this subdivision 1 a by the local department director, 

or, if the local department director is not available, the 

assistant director, program manager, or supervisor. 

b. The results of the supervisory review and consultation 

must be documented in the child welfare information 

system. 

2. An assessment and inquiry into substance use must be 

conducted. The local department must document the 

outcome of the assessment and screening deemed necessary 

or any refusal to consent to screening. This information must 

be used to evaluate the appropriateness of the proposed 

caregiver for the child's placement and recorded in the child 

welfare information system. 

3. Completion and documentation of a visit to the home of 

the proposed caregiver to ensure the home environment is 

safe for the child, including an assessment of other children 

living in the home. The local department must complete the 

Permanency Assessment Tool form. The results must be 

used in making the best interest determination and 

documented in the child welfare information system. 

4. A written determination that the placement is in the child's 

best interest and does not pose a threat to the child's safety 

or well-being, which must be completed and documented 

prior to the child's removal from the home of origin. 

5. Written notification of the child's placement in the home 

to the Commissioner of the Department of Social Services 

and the local board within 72 hours of placement in 

circumstances when the caregiver has a barrier crime or 

founded child protective services disposition. 

6. Notification to the child's parent, guardian, or legal 

custodian if the local department determines that it is not in 

the best interest of the child to be placed with the proposed 

caregiver. The local department is prohibited by law from 

disclosing the results of any criminal or child protective 

services history, unless the proposed caregiver provides 

consent for such disclosure. 

E. The best interest determination assessment must be 

ongoing during the entire time the child is placed in the 

caregiver's home, as new information may be obtained at any 

time and must be documented in the child welfare information 

system. 

F. The local department must schedule a facilitated meeting 

with the family within seven calendar days of the child's 

placement in the caregiver's home to discuss all potential 

options for the child, family, and caregiver. If the facilitated 

meeting cannot be scheduled prior to the change in living 

arrangements, the local department must discuss the benefits, 

requirements, advantages, and disadvantages of the available 

options, including (i) the child's entry into foster care and the 

potential for the caregiver to become an approved kinship 

foster parent and (ii) financial assistance that may be available 

to the caregiver if the child remains with the caregiver under 

the Parental Child Safety Placement Program, including the 

process for accessing such financial assistance. 

Prior to the facilitated meeting with the family, the local 

department should hold an internal staffing within one business 

day of the child's placement to prepare for the facilitated 

meeting. 

G. If it is determined at the facilitated meeting that the family 

is willing to participate in the Parental Child Safety Placement 

Program, the parent, guardian or legal custodian must enter 

into a parental child safety placement agreement using the 

designated form within four calendar days of the facilitated 

meeting. The parental child safety placement agreement must: 

1. Be in writing and contain the terms outlined in § 63.2-

1533 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Include the signatures of the child's parent, guardian, or 

legal custodian, the caregiver, and the local department; 

3. Be provided to the child's parent, guardian, or legal 

custodian; and 

https://www.accurint.com/
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4. Be scanned into the child welfare information system. 

H. The local department must open an In-Home Services 

case, as defined in § 63.2-1531 of the Code of Virginia, at the 

time the parental child safety placement agreement is signed 

and keep the case open for the duration of the agreement. The 

local department must: 

1. Complete another visit to the home of the caregiver within 

two weeks of the child's placement with the caregiver and at 

least once per month thereafter to ensure the home 

environment is safe for the child; 

2. Complete routine assessments of the child's safety and 

progress made to safely return the child to the care of the 

parent, guardian, or legal custodian; and 

3. Provide services and referrals for appropriate services to 

the child, parent, guardian, or legal custodian, and the 

caregiver to promote safety, permanence, and well-being. 

I. The parental child safety placement agreement is limited to 

no more than 90 calendar days from the child's placement in 

the caregiver's home. 

J. The parental child safety placement agreement may be 

extended an additional 90 calendar days, not to exceed 180 

days total, if appropriate and mutually agreed upon by the 

caregiver, parent, and the local department, and the reasons for 

such extension must be documented. However, prior to such 

extension, the local department must complete a safety 

assessment and hold a facilitated meeting with the family to 

discuss options for the child's care and determine whether to: 

1. Return the child to the care of the parent, guardian, or legal 

custodian with the continued provision of services; 

2. Extend the parental child safety placement agreement for 

no longer than an additional 90 calendar days; or 

3. Initiate court action deemed necessary to ensure the child's 

safety, permanence, and well-being. 

K. Prior to the termination or conclusion of the parental child 

safety placement agreement, the local department must 

complete a safety assessment, which must be documented in 

the child welfare information system. 

1. If it is determined that the child can be safely returned 

home, the local department must hold a facilitated meeting 

to develop a safety plan with the child's parent, guardian, or 

legal custodian and the caregiver for the safe return of the 

child to the child's parent, guardian, or legal custodian or to 

another legal custodian. Such safety plan must be 

documented in the child welfare information system. If 

continued services are required for the child to safely return 

home, the local department must: 

a. Maintain the In-Home Services case for continued 

services with the agreement of the child's parent, guardian, 

or legal custodian; or 

b. Seek a child protective order or other appropriate court 

action to order continued services if the child's parent, 

guardian, or legal custodian does not agree to the In-Home 

Services case remaining open for continued services. 

2. If the child cannot be safely returned home, the local 

department must seek removal of the child from the child's 

parent, guardian, or legal custodian upon a petition alleging 

abuse or neglect pursuant to § 16.1-251 or 16.1-252 of the 

Code of Virginia. The local department must hold a 

facilitated meeting with the family in accordance with § 

63.2-1535 of the Code of Virginia. 

a. If temporary custody of the child is granted by the court 

to the caregiver, the local department must maintain the 

In-Home Services case to provide continued services 

pursuant to the Alternative Living Arrangement Service 

Plan developed with the family at the facilitated meeting. 

If, at the time of the disposition hearing, the child cannot 

be safely returned to the home, the local department must 

take such action as appropriate in accordance with § 63.2-

1535 of the Code of Virginia. 

b. If the court denies the removal of the child, the local 

department must seek a child protective order to provide 

continued services for the child and the child's parent, 

guardian, or legal custodian to ensure the child's safety and 

welfare. If the child protective order is granted, the case 

must remain open as an In-Home Services case. 

L. A monthly maintenance payment may be available each 

fiscal year by application to the department from allocations 

established through the Appropriations Act for the caregiver to 

take care of the child as long as there is a current parental child 

safety placement agreement or an alternative living 

arrangement agreement. Each caregiver applicant must 

provide income information for the applicant's household to 

the department that may be subject to verification. Caregivers 

with household incomes over 400% of the federal poverty level 

may claim financial hardship by written declaration in the 

application and be placed in another countable income 

category. Temporary Assistance for Needy Families money 

may be used to fund a portion of the monthly maintenance 

payment for those caregivers who qualify as a relative of the 

child, but the monthly payment remains the same whether the 

caregiver is a relative or fictive kin. The department will 

monitor the funding on a monthly basis and will prioritize the 

available funding each fiscal year as follows: 

1. Existing recipients of this financial assistance must 

continue to receive such payments unless otherwise 

ineligible or until funding is exhausted. 

2. Payments will be available on a first-come, first-served 

basis without any consideration of income unless the 

department determines that more than 50% of the available 

funding will be expended before the sixth month of the fiscal 

year. 
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3. If the department determines that more than 50% of the 

available funding will be expended before the sixth month 

of the fiscal year, subsequent caregiver households will be 

prioritized based upon the following order: (i) caregiver 

households that include an individual who receives a public 

assistance payment; (ii) caregiver households with countable 

income less than 130% of the federal poverty level; (iii) 

caregiver households with countable income less than 250% 

of the federal poverty level; (iv) caregiver households with 

countable income less than 400% of the federal poverty 

level; and (v) caregiver households with countable income 

greater than or equal to 400% of the federal poverty level. 

M. Every applicant or recipient of this financial assistance has 

the right to request a hearing before a hearing officer. No 

hearing must be granted when the funds have been expended 

for the fiscal year. An opportunity for a hearing must be 

granted to any applicant or recipient who requests a hearing if 

financial assistance is denied or is not acted upon with 

reasonable promptness, and to any applicant or recipient who 

is aggrieved by any agency action resulting in suspension, 

reduction, or termination of assistance for reasons other than 

lack of available funding. 

1. The department must provide a written notice of action to 

the caregiver of any denial or reduction action within 10 

calendar days of its decision. The notice of action will 

inform the caregiver of the following: (i) the right to a 

hearing; (ii) the method by which to obtain a hearing; and 

(iii) the right to be represented by an authorized 

representative, such as legal counsel, relative, friend, or 

other spokesman, or that caregivers may represent 

themselves. 

2. The applicant or recipient must request in writing a 

hearing within 10 calendar days after receipt of the 

department's notice of action. Within 10 calendar days of 

receipt of the applicant's written request for a hearing, the 

department must inform the caregiver of a date and time for 

the virtual hearing, which must take place within 10 calendar 

days of the notice. 

3. The department's hearing officer must render a final 

agency decision within 10 calendar days of the hearing, 

which is then subject to judicial review pursuant to the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia). 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC40-705) 

Permanency Assessment Tool 032-25-161-02 eng (eff. 

10/2024) 

Parental Child Safety Placement Agreement 032-03-0306-

01-eng (eff. 9/2024) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7974; Filed November 18, 2024, 8:40 a.m. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/Permanency%20Assessment%20Tool%20-%20PAT-20241126130903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/Permanency%20Assessment%20Tool%20-%20PAT-20241126130903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/Parental%20Child%20Safety%20Placement%20Agreement%20-%20PCSPA-20241126130313.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/Parental%20Child%20Safety%20Placement%20Agreement%20-%20PCSPA-20241126130313.pdf
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Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FORTY-THREE (2024) 

Empowering and Supporting Parents to Protect 
Their Children from Addictive Social Media and 

Establishment of the Reclaiming Childhood Task 
Force 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the 

Commonwealth, I hereby issue this Executive Order directing 

the Secretary of Health and Human Resources, Secretary of 

Education, Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security, 

Superintendent of Public Instruction, and the State Health 

Commissioner to coordinate with the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, Virginia 

Department of Health, and other relevant agencies to 

disseminate information to parents, medical professionals, and 

educators regarding the effects of cell phone usage on 

academic and mental health development and chronic health 

conditions–such as depression and anxiety–that affect 

adolescents and other school-aged children; as well as tools to 

promote healthy social media and phone usage for youth. 

In addition, I am establishing the Reclaiming Childhood Task 

Force to sustain ongoing collaboration of these efforts to 

improve youth mental health outcomes by combatting the 

dangers of addictive social media and creating opportunities 

for cultural change. 

Importance of the Initiative 

The data are clear: there is a youth mental health crisis in 

America. In 2023, 40 percent of high school students reported 

experiencing persistent feelings of sadness or hopelessness.1 

Among adolescents aged 12 to 17, nearly 20 percent had a 

major depressive episode in the past year. Twelve percent of 

adolescents have experienced suicidal ideations in the past 

year.2 Suicide is the second leading cause of death for 10 to 14-

year-olds.3 Over 30 percent of adolescents have experienced an 

anxiety disorder at some point in their lives.4 Fifty-seven 

percent of teen girls have persistent feelings of loneliness or 

hopelessness.5 Additionally, emergency room visits for 

adolescent girls with eating disorders have doubled.6 

Experts draw a connection between decline in youth mental 

health and the rise of cell phones and social media use. 

Jonathan Haidt, a leading researcher in social psychology at 

New York University, formerly at the University of Virginia, 

has extensively studied the impact of technology on 

adolescence, and argues in his 2024 book The Anxious 

Generation: How the Great Rewiring of Childhood Is Causing 

an Epidemic of Mental Illness, that the widespread adoption of 

smartphones and social media since the early 2010s has 

significantly contributed to increased rates of anxiety, 

depression, and self-harm among adolescents. Looking at the 

staggered introduction of Facebook across U.S. college 

campuses, a study in the American Economic Review showed 

a negative impact on student mental health and an increased 

likelihood that students reported experiencing impairments to 

academic performance due to poor mental health.7 Ninety 

percent of studies showed an association between screen media 

use and loss of sleep, impacting cognitive function, obesity 

rates, and academic performance.8 

Social media use among youth is essentially ubiquitous. 

According to a 2022 study by the Pew Research Center, 95 

percent of U.S. teens age 13 to 17 report using social media 9 

and 98 percent of children have at least one social media 

account by the age of 18.10 Studies by Gallup show that the 

average teen spends 33 hours a week on social media apps like 

Instagram, Snapchat, and TikTok. Forty-one percent of the 

highest frequency social media users report having poor or 

very poor mental health, but that number jumps to nearly 60 

percent for teens with low monitoring/weak relationships with 

their parents.11 

Concerns are not strictly limited to mental health outcomes. 

Kids are dying from fentanyl overdoses, often buying the 

deadly drugs on Snapchat due to its disappearing 

communications features.12 Forty-seven percent of teen girls 

have been approached online by someone they did not know, 

40 percent of kids in grades 4-8 chatted with a stranger 

online,13 and 69 percent of tweens and 91 percent of teens have 

encountered sexual content online. Fifty-nine percent of U.S. 

teens have experienced some form of bullying online.14 

As concerns over the impact of social media on the overall 

wellbeing of children and teens continues to grow, it is 

paramount that the Commonwealth provide resources and 

guidance to support families to combat social media companies 

who cause addictive behavior. 

What is also clear is that many social media technology 

companies benefit from their monetization of data collected by 

social media youth. In 2019, Google and YouTube were fined 

$170 million for allegedly collecting personal information 

from children without their parents' consent in violation of the 

Children's Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA) Rule.15 

Thirty-four attorneys general have sued Meta, the parent 

company of Instagram and Facebook, for collecting kids' 

personal information without parental consent in violation of 

federal law.16 The U.S. Department of Justice has recently sued 

TikTok for collecting personal information from children 

under 13 without their parents' knowledge.17 While these legal 

actions are encouraging, and there are opportunities at the state 

and federal level to enhance protections for youth and tools for 

parents to combat the harmful effects of social media and cell 

phone use on youth, the crisis is immediate. 

Code of Virginia § 1-240.1 affirms that parents have "a 

fundamental right to make decisions concerning the 

upbringing, education, and care of' their children. Government 

action alone will not solve the youth mental health crisis, but 

the government can and must support parents, empowering 
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them and arming them with the information they need to drive 

healthy choices for their children. 

From public schools to public health, every aspect of 

government that plays a role in the life of a child must support 

parents, including on this issue. While we acknowledge that 

technology is an integral part of society and has many positive 

impacts, including on children, parents deserve information 

and support in mitigating negative impacts on their children. 

This Executive Order activates every health and child welfare 

agency of the Commonwealth in a coordinated awareness 

campaign to make sure every Virginia parent has knowledge 

they need to protect their kids from unrestricted cell phone use 

and addictive social media, to reclaim childhood, and ensure 

that our future workforce, future military and future parents 

themselves have the best shot at living out their true purpose 

and potential. 

This Executive Order also creates the Reclaiming Childhood 

Task Force to continue this collaboration among not only 

among government agencies that impact the lives of children, 

but to partner with family, community, faith, non-profit, and 

private sector companies as well to foster outside cultural 

change, empowering parents to lead government agencies 

towards additional actions to help them combat the mainstream 

culture and ensure our children play and learn in healthy ways 

as social media companies continue to methodically create 

addictive products and games that treat future leaders as 

commodities to be monetized and not children to be nurtured. 

Directive 

Accordingly, pursuant to the authority vested in me as the 

Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth, and pursuant 

to Article V of the Constitution and the laws of the 

Commonwealth, I hereby order the Secretary of Education, the 

Secretary of Health and Human Resources, the Secretary of 

Public Safety and Homeland Security, the Superintendent of 

Public Instruction, and the State Health Commissioner, and the 

Commissioner of the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, collaborating with all relevant 

agencies, including the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS), Virginia Department of 

Health (VDH), Department of Education (VDOE), Virginia 

Department of Social Services (VDSS), Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS), Office of Children's 

Services (OCS), the Department of Health Professions (DHP), 

and Virginia Information Technology Agency (VITA), to: 

Send a coordinated dear colleague letter to pediatricians, 

family practitioners, primary care providers, and mental health 

providers, to promote screening for unhealthy internet and 

social media use in youth and provide resources to address this 

issue. 

Develop a plan for providing regional technical assistance to 

Community Services Boards (CSBs) through DBHDS that 

includes specialized training for providers to support treatment 

of behavioral health concerns linked to social media use and 

other types of problematic internet use. 

Create and disseminate a Social Media and Mental Health 

Toolkit to: (a) provide training materials, educational 

resources, and practical solutions to help children and teens 

navigate the digital world; and (b) offer educational and 

technical support for clinicians, parents, and youth to promote 

healthy social media use. DBHDS shall collaborate with the 

Virginia Foundation for Healthy Youth in the development of 

materials related to the impact of social media and screen use 

on substance use and obesity in youth. VOSS, in collaboration 

with OCS, shall provide social media safety education to foster 

youth, foster families, case workers, and Family Assessment 

Planning Team (FAPT) members. 

Launch a public health initiative and strategy related to the 

impact of social media and screen use in youth, with VDH and 

DBHDS as the lead, and with a strong emphasis on prevention 

strategies including a focus on nutrition, exercise, and other 

non-screen related activities that support wellness. 

Conduct sessions across the Commonwealth with parents, 

educators, child welfare and child mental health experts to 

gather best practices on managing social media and screen use 

among youth and inform the ongoing development of 

resources and programs to promote healthy digital habits, 

reducing mental and physical health risks, ensuring online 

safety, and reinforcing non-screen-based activities and actions 

that contribute to mental well-being and resilience. 

Further, I direct the secretaries and agency heads to establish 

the Reclaiming Childhood Task Force. The Task Force shall 

utilize existing resources that support families in reducing 

screen time and promoting digital health literacy. 

The Task Force will be convened by the Secretary of Health 

and Human Resources, and will include parents and kids from 

around Virginia, as well as pediatricians, mental health experts, 

educators, faith leaders, community leaders, private sector 

technology experts, and public safety leaders to: 

Raise awareness about the potentially harmful effects of social 

media on children's physical and mental health; 

Recognize that government cannot solve this problem alone 

and therefore must collaborate and create opportunities and 

avenues for private sector cultural change to ensure healthy 

child development; 

Convene experts and thought leaders to highlight best practices 

and approaches to improving children's mental health 

outcomes; and 

Make recommendations to the Governor and General 

Assembly on additional government solutions. 

The Reclaiming Childhood Task Force will also incorporate 

feedback from the 21 stakeholder meetings and community 

conversations already held in the Commonwealth after 
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Executive Order 33, requiring Cell Phone-Free Education, and 

complement the Secretary of Education and Department of 

Education's efforts to improve health outcomes of school-aged 

children. The Task Force will also coordinate with the 

Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security to 

incorporate public safety measures to protect children from 

dangers like fentanyl, human trafficking, and sexual predators. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by a future executive order or directive. Given under my hand 

and under the Seal of the Commonwealth of Virginia, this 21st 

day of November 2024. 

/s/ Glenn Youngkin, Governor 

____________________________ 
1 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, "Youth Risk Behavior Survey 

Data Summary & Trends Report: 2013-2023," Mental Health, DASH, CDC. 

2 Psychiatry.org - New Reports Examine Trends in Youth Mental Health. 

3 National Vital Statistics System, Mortality 2018-2022 on CDC WONDER 

Online Database, released in 2024. 

4 Any Anxiety Disorder - National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH). 

5 U.S. Teen Girls Experiencing lncreases Sadness and Violence, CDC Online 

Newsroom, CDC. 

6 Radhakrishnan L, et al. Pediatric Emergency Department Visits Associated 

with Mental Health Conditions Before and During the COVID-19 Pandemic–

United States, January 2019-January 2022. MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep 

2022;71:319-324. 

7 Social Media and Mental Health - American Economic Association. 

8 Youth screen media habits and sleep: sleep-friendly screen-behavior 

recommendations for clinicians, educators, and parents–PMC. 

9 Teens, Social Media and Technology 2022, Pew Research Center. 

10 Social Media and Teens. 

11 Parenting Mitigates Social Media-Linked Mental Health Issues; Rothwell, 

J. (2023). How Parenting and SelfControl Mediate the Link Between Social 

Media Use and Mental Health. 

12 Western District of Virginia, SnapChat Sale of Fentanyl-Laced Pills Leads 

to Federal Prison Term for Harrisonburg Man, United States Department of 

Justice. 

13 New Thorn Research Examines Youth Experiences and Attitudes about 

Online Grooming, Thorn. 

14 A Majoritv of Teens Have Experienced Some Form of Cyberbullying, Pew 

Research Center. 

15. Google and YouTube Will Pay Record $170 Million for Alleged Violations 

of Children's Privacy Law, Federal Trade Commission. 

16 Attorney General Miyares Files Lawsuit Against Meta for Harming Youth 

Mental Health Through its Social Media Platforms. 

17 Office of Public Affairs, Justice Department Sues TikTok and Parent 

Company ByteDance for Widespread Violations of Children's Privacy Laws, 

United States Department of Justice. 

https://www.cdc.gov/yrbs/dstr/pdf/YRBS-2023-Data-Summary-Trend-Report.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/yrbs/dstr/pdf/YRBS-2023-Data-Summary-Trend-Report.pdf
https://www.psychiatry.org/News-room/APA-Blogs/New-Reports-Examine-Trends-in-Youth-Mental-Health
https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/statistics/any-anxiety-disorder
https://www.cdc.gov/media/releases/2023/p0213-yrbs.html
https://www.cdc.gov/media/releases/2023/p0213-yrbs.html
https://www.aeaweb.org/content/file?id=17257
https://www.pewresearch.org/internet/2022/08/10/teens-social-media-and-technology-2022/
https://www.pewresearch.org/internet/2022/08/10/teens-social-media-and-technology-2022/
https://news.gallup.com/poll/513248/parenting-mitigates-social-media-linked-mental-health-issues.aspx
https://www.justice.gov/usao-wdva/pr/snapchat-sale-fentanyl-laced-pills-leads-federal-prison-term-harrisonburg-man
https://www.justice.gov/usao-wdva/pr/snapchat-sale-fentanyl-laced-pills-leads-federal-prison-term-harrisonburg-man
https://www.justice.gov/usao-wdva/pr/snapchat-sale-fentanyl-laced-pills-leads-federal-prison-term-harrisonburg-man
https://www.thorn.org/blog/new-thorn-research-examines-youth-experiences-and-attitudes-about-online-grooming/
https://www.thorn.org/blog/new-thorn-research-examines-youth-experiences-and-attitudes-about-online-grooming/
https://www.pewresearch.org/internet/2018/09/27/a-majority-of-teens-have-experienced-some-form-of-cyberbullying/
https://www.pewresearch.org/internet/2018/09/27/a-majority-of-teens-have-experienced-some-form-of-cyberbullying/
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2019/09/google-youtube-will-pay-record-170-million-alleged-violations-childrens-privacy-law
https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2019/09/google-youtube-will-pay-record-170-million-alleged-violations-childrens-privacy-law
https://www.oag.state.va.us/media-center/news-releases/2629-october-24-2023-attorney-general-miyares-files-lawsuit-against-meta-for-harming-youth-mental-health-through-its-social-media-platforms
https://www.oag.state.va.us/media-center/news-releases/2629-october-24-2023-attorney-general-miyares-files-lawsuit-against-meta-for-harming-youth-mental-health-through-its-social-media-platforms
https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-sues-tiktok-and-parent-company-bytedance-widespread-violations-childrens
https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-sues-tiktok-and-parent-company-bytedance-widespread-violations-childrens
https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-sues-tiktok-and-parent-company-bytedance-widespread-violations-childrens
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Title of Document: Disposition of Cases Involving Unlicensed 

Use of the CPA Title by Previously Licensed Individuals. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 15, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 16, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Alessandra Gabriel, Information and Policy 

Advisor, Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

402, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-0728, or email 

alessandra.gabriel@boa.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Virginia Public School Bus Specifications. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 15, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 16, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

750-8750, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Title of Document: Guidelines for Establishment, Use, and 

Operation of Tidal Wetland Mitigation Banks. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 15, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Randy Owen, Chief of Habitat Management, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2251, or email 

randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov. 

 

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Mental Health Services Appendix E - 

Intensive Community Based Support. 

Psychiatric Services Manual, Appendix C - Procedures 

Regarding Service Authorization. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 15, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 16, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Syreeta Stewart, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 298-

3863, or email syreeta.stewart@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Titles of Documents: Preceptorships and Externships for 

Veterinary Technician Students. 

Guidance Regarding "Chip" Clinics Outside of Approved 

Facilities. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 15, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 16, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 750-3912, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/226/GDoc_BOA_7915_20241107.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/226/GDoc_BOA_7915_20241107.pdf
mailto:alessandra.gabriel@boa.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_7810_20241002.pdf
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/402/GDoc_MRC_7911_20241031.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/402/GDoc_MRC_7911_20241031.pdf
mailto:randy.owen@mrc.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7903_20241029.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7903_20241029.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7905_20241029.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7905_20241029.pdf
mailto:syreeta.stewart@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_7922_20241113.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_7922_20241113.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_7849_20241022.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_7849_20241022.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov
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The following guidance document has been submitted for deletion and the listed agency has opened up a 30-day public comment 

period. The listed agency had previously identified this document as a certified guidance document, pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance 

document to view the deleted document and comment. This information is also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact. 

DEPARTMENT OF RAIL AND PUBLIC 
TRANSPORTATION 

Title of Document: State Management Plan. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 15, 2025. 

Effective Date: January 16, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Andrew Wright, Director of Policy, 

Communications, and Legislative Affairs, Department of Rail 

and Public Transportation, 600 East Main Street, Suite 2101, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 241-0301, or email 

andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov.

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2612
mailto:andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Public Comment Opportunity for Proposed 
Variances to the Regulations to Assure the Rights 
of Individuals Receiving Services from Providers 

Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department 
of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

Notice of action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part 

VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220), of the Regulations to 

Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 

Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (12VAC35-

115) (Human Rights Regulations), is announcing an 

opportunity for public comment on an application for proposed 

variances to the Human Rights Regulations submitted to the 

State Human Rights Committee (SHRC). The purpose of the 

regulations is to ensure and protect the legal and human rights 

of individuals receiving services in facilities or programs 

operated, licensed, or funded by DBHDS. 

Each variance application references the specific part of the 

regulation to which a variance is needed, the proposed wording 

of the substitute rule or procedure, and the justification for a 

variance. Such application also describes time limits and other 

conditions for duration and the circumstances that will end the 

applicability of the variance. After considering all available 

information, including comments, the SHRC intends to submit 

a written decision deferring, disapproving, modifying, or 

approving each variance application. All variances shall be 

approved for a specific time period. The decision and reasons 

for variance will be published in a later issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

Purpose of notice: The SHRC is seeking comment on the 

application for a proposed variance to the Human Rights 

Regulations for Youth for Tomorrow New Life Center Inc. for 

a variance to Procedures to Ensure Dignity: 

12VAC35-115-50 C 7 and C 8. 

Explanation: In order to maintain the safety and security of 

individuals (youth), the program may restrict communication 

via telephone and in-person visitation to only those names 

placed on a list generated by the parent or legal guardian and 

the individual. 

The variance will allow Youth for Tomorrow New Life Center 

Inc., to utilize an approved contact list for telephone calls and 

an approved contact list for visitation for each individual. The 

lists shall be developed by the individual's parent or legal 

guardian in order to protect the best interests of the individual. 

The individual shall be present and given the opportunity to 

participate with the parent or legal guardian in creating the 

telephone and visitation lists. 

How to comment: The SHRC accepts written comments by 

online public comment forum, email, fax, and postal mail. In 

order to be considered, comments must be received by January 

15, 2025. All information received is part of the public record. 

To review a proposal: Variance applications and any 

supporting documentation may be obtained by contacting the 

DBHDS representative listed in this notice.  

Contact Information: Taneika Goldman, Director, Office of 

Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-0064, FAX (833) 734-1241, TDD (804) 371-8977, or 

email taneika.goldman@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for New Market 
Poultry LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for New Market Poultry LLC 

for violations of State Water Control Law and regulations in 

Shenandoah County, Virginia. The proposed order is available 
from the DEQ contact or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/ 

permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact 

will accept written comments by email or postal mail from 

December 16, 2024, to January 15, 2025. 

Contact Information: Francesca Wright, Senior Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 

Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, or 

email francesca.wright@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for FiberLight of 
Virginia LLC, Brungardt Honomichl & Company P.A. 

Incorporated, and REEL Broadband LLC 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

proposing an enforcement action for FiberLight of Virginia 

LLC, Brungardt Honomichl & Company P.A. Incorporated, 

and REEL Broadband LLC for violations of State Water 

Control Law and regulations and applicable permit at the 

Leesburg to Ashburn fiber-optic conduit installation in 

Loudoun County, Virginia. The proposed order is available 

from the DEQ contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices. The 

DEQ contact will accept written comments by email or postal 

mail from December 16, 2024 to January 15, 2025. 

Contact Information: Katherine Mann, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Northern 

Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 

22193, telephone (571) 866-6095, or email 

katherine.mann@deq.virginia.gov. 

mailto:taneika.goldman@dbhds.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:francesca.wright@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices
mailto:katherine.mann@deq.virginia.gov
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Collier Solar LLC Notice of Intent for a Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) – Wise County 

Collier Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Wise County, Virginia, 

pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The developer is Holocene Energy. 

The DEQ project number is RE0000335. 

The project is located on approximately 160 acres at the end of 

Choctaw Road and on the north side of the road across from 

7364 South Fork Road, Pound, VA 24279 with a geographic 

information system (GIS) centroid of Latitude 37.095760, 

Longitude -82.634524. The project will have a maximum 

capacity of 7.50 megawatts alternating current and will utilize 

approximately 17,725 solar modules mounted to a single-axis 

tracking system and interconnected to the local distribution 

network. The maximum equipment height will be 10 feet, 

excluding typical utility poles that connect the site to the power 

grid. 

Contact Information: Matthew Snow, Small Renewable 

Energy Permit by Rule Program Specialist, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 698-4238, or email 

matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov. 

Cropp Solar LLC Notice of Intent for a Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) – Stafford County 

Cropp Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Stafford County, Virginia, 

pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The developer is Holocene Energy. 

The DEQ project number is RE0000336. 

The project is located on approximately 55 acres at 220 Skyline 

Drive, Fredericksburg, VA 22406 with a geographic 

information system (GIS) centroid of Latitude 38.481681, 

Longitude -77.594115. The project will have a maximum 

capacity of 6.75 megawatts alternating current and will utilize 

approximately 16,000 solar modules mounted to a single-axis 

tracking system and interconnected to the local distribution 

network. The maximum equipment height will be 10 feet, 

excluding typical utility poles that connect the site to the power 

grid. 

Contact Information: Matthew Snow, Small Renewable 

Energy Permit by Rule Program Specialist, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 698-4238, or email 

matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov. 

Maddens Tavern Solar LLC Notice of Intent for a 
Small Renewable Energy 

Project (Solar) – Culpeper County 

Maddens Tavern Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Culpeper County, Virginia, 

pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The developer is Holocene Energy. 

The DEQ project number is RE0000337. 

The project is located on approximately 78 acres just north of 

19224 Youngs Lane, Elkwood, VA 22718 with a geographic 

information system (GIS) centroid of Latitude 38.443514, 

Longitude -77.822796. The project will have a maximum 

capacity of 9.50 megawatts alternating current and will utilize 

approximately 22,460 solar modules mounted to a single-axis 

tracking system and interconnected to the local distribution 

network. The maximum equipment height will be 10 feet, 

excluding typical utility poles that connect the site to the power 

grid. 

Contact Information: Matthew Snow, Small Renewable 

Energy Permit by Rule Program Specialist, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 698-4238, or email 

matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov. 

Mountain Run Solar LLC Notice of Intent for a Small 
Renewable Energy 

Project (Solar) – Culpeper County 

Mountain Run Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Culpeper County, Virginia, 

pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The developer is Holocene Energy. 

The DEQ project number is RE0000338. 

The project is located on approximately 74 acres off of Swamp 

Poodle Lane, Brandy Station, VA 22714 with a geographic 

information system (GIS) centroid of Latitude 38.479637, 

Longitude -77.880628. The project will have a maximum 

capacity of 7.50 megawatts alternating current and will utilize 

approximately 17,730 solar modules mounted to a single-axis 

tracking system and interconnected to the local distribution 

network. The maximum equipment height will be 10 feet, 

excluding typical utility poles that connect the site to the power 

grid. 

Contact Information: Matthew Snow, Small Renewable 

Energy Permit by Rule Program Specialist, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 698-4238, or email 

matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov. 

mailto:matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:matthew.a.snow@deq.virginia.gov
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Availability of the 2023 Fish Tissue Monitoring Data 

Purpose of Notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) is announcing the release of the 2023 fish tissue 

and sediment contaminant monitoring data. 

Background: DEQ conducts routine studies of fish tissue and 

bottom sediments in state waters to assess the human health risks 

for individuals who may consume fish, to identify impaired 

aquatic ecosystems, and to plan and track the progress of cleanup 

efforts. Results are made available to the public each year on the 

agency’s website. The agency selects sampling stations for routine 

fish tissue monitoring based on input from the public and from 

partner agencies such as the Department of Wildlife Resources 

and the Virginia Marine Resources Commission on popular 

fishing locations. Sites from each of Virginia’s major river basins 

are sampled on a rotating basis such that each basin is sampled 

every three years, as resources allow. 

In 2023, DEQ collected fish tissue samples primarily from sites 

in the watersheds of the middle James River, Rappahannock 

River, Roanoke River, Chowan River and Albemarle Sound, 

and Big Sandy River. Samples were analyzed for 

polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), a suite of 17 metals, 

including mercury, and per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances 

(PFAS). DEQ also collected bottom sediment samples from 

the watersheds of the Rappahannock River, Roanoke River, 

Chowan River and Albemarle Sound, and Big Sandy River, 

which were analyzed for PCBs. 

2023 monitoring results for PCBs and Mercury are available 

on the agency's website at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-

programs/water/water-quality/monitoring/fish-tissue-

monitoring. 

2023 monitoring results for PFAS are available on the agency's 

PFAS Dashboard at https://experience.arcgis.com/experience/ 

8f8b1ad32de44d4ebcfbb98669296877/. 

Additional Information: The Virginia Department of Health 

(VDH) uses the data generated by DEQ's fish tissue monitoring 

program to determine the need for fish consumption 

advisories. More information on VDH fish consumption 

advisories is available at https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/ 

environmental-health/public-health-toxicology/fish-

consumption-advisory/. 

Contacts for More Information: Questions regarding DEQ's 

fish tissue monitoring program can be directed to the DEQ 

contact listed or to Gabriel Darkwah at email: 

gabriel.darkwah@deq.virginia.gov or Andrew Kirk at email:  

andrew.kirk@deq.virginia.gov. Additional information is also 

available on the DEQ Water Quality Monitoring website at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/monitoring. 

Contact Information: Richard Browder, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 212-

9734, or email richard.browder@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 

698-1810; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-quality/monitoring/fish-tissue-monitoring
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-quality/monitoring/fish-tissue-monitoring
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/our-programs/water/water-quality/monitoring/fish-tissue-monitoring
https://experience.arcgis.com/experience/8f8b1ad32de44d4ebcfbb98669296877/
https://experience.arcgis.com/experience/8f8b1ad32de44d4ebcfbb98669296877/
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/environmental-health/public-health-toxicology/fish-consumption-advisory/
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/environmental-health/public-health-toxicology/fish-consumption-advisory/
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/environmental-health/public-health-toxicology/fish-consumption-advisory/
mailto:Gabriel.Darkwah@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mandrew.kirk@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/monitoring.
mailto:richard.browder@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-630. Private Well Regulations. 

Publication: 41:7 VA.R. 868 November 18, 2024. 

Correction to Notice of Suspension of Effective Date: 

Page 868, paragraph 3, 

line 2, after "in" change "5VAC12-630-410" to "12VAC5-630-

410" 

line 3, after "in" change "5VAC12-630-410" to "12VAC5-630-

410" 

line 5, start of line, change "5VAC12-630-410" to "12VAC5-

630-410" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5654; Filed December 03, 2024, 9:26 a.m. 



 

 

 


