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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequen111tial impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at https://register.dls.virginia.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and 

date. 34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, 

Issue 8, pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on 

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to 

Article 6 (§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: Marcus B. Simon, 

Chair; Russet W. Perry, Vice Chair; Katrina E. Callsen; Nicole 

Cheuk; Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Michael 

Mullin; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven Popps; Charles S. Sharp; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Managing 

Editor; Erin Comerford, Regulations Analyst 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4007.06/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4012.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
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https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4006/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

January 2025 through February 2026 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

41:12 January 8, 2025 January 27, 2025 

41:13 January 22, 2025 February 10, 2025 

41:14 February 5, 2025 February 24, 2025 

41:15 February 19, 2025 March 10, 2025 

41:16 March 5, 2025 March 24, 2025 

41:17 March 19, 2025 April 7, 2025 

41:18 April 2, 2025 April 21, 2025 

41:19 April 16, 2025 May 5, 2025 

41:20 April 30, 2025 May 19, 2025 

41:21 May 14, 2025 June 2, 2025 

41:22 May 28, 2025 June 16, 2025 

41:23 June 11, 2025 June 30, 2025 

41:24 June 25, 2025 July 14, 2025 

41:25 July 9, 2025 July 28, 2025 

41:26 July 23, 2025 August 11, 2025 

42:1 August 6, 2025 August 25, 2025 

42:2 August 20, 2025 September 8, 2025 

42:3 September 3, 2025 September 22, 2025 

42:4 September 17, 2025 October 6, 2025 

42:5 October 1, 2025 October 20, 2025 

42:6 October 15, 2025 November 3, 2025 

42:7 October 29, 2025 November 17, 2025 

42:8 November 10, 2025 (Monday) December 1, 2025 

42:9 November 24, 2025 (Monday) December 15, 2025 

42:10 December 9, 2025 (Tuesday) December 29, 2025 

42:11 December 22, 2025 (Monday) January 12, 2026 

42:12 January 6, 2026 (Tuesday) January 26, 2026 

42:13 January 21, 2026 February 9, 2026 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1270. Pertaining to Atlantic 

Menhaden. 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Chesapeake Legal Alliance and Southern 

Maryland Recreational Fishing Organization. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioners request that the 

Marine Resources Commission (i) impose an immediate 

moratorium on reduction fishing for menhaden within the 

Chesapeake Bay or reduce all purse seine fishing within the 

Chesapeake Bay to 10% of the current total allowable landings, 

thereby preserving the bait-fishery, to remain in place until 

completion and peer review of the ongoing Atlantic States Marine 

Fisheries Commission single-species and ecological reference 

point benchmark stock assessments; (ii) limit purse seine fishing 

in state waters to no more than 25% of Virginia's current total 

allowable landings (approximately 39,000 metric tons of the 

156,600 metric tons allotted to the reduction fishery), with the 

remaining harvest to be taken outside of Virginia waters (i.e., 

federal waters). This limit should remain in force until appropriate 

estimates of menhaden seasonal stocks within the Chesapeake Bay 

and a clear understanding of the effects of their removals are 

available; (iii) create a permanent one-nautical-mile purse seine 

exclusion zone along Virginia's entire shoreline to minimize 

localized depletion, user conflicts, habitat damage, and bycatch; 

(iv) formally request funds from the General Assembly to expand 

the Virginia Institute of Marine Science Research Planning 

proposal to study the impacts of reduction fishing on the 

Chesapeake Bay ecosystem, with at least 50% of costs to be 

covered by the industry; and (v) require comprehensive 

monitoring and public reporting of the reduction fishery, including 

electronic reporting and vessel monitoring. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for rulemaking 

will be published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on January 

13, 2025. The petition will also be published on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive 

public comment, which opens January 13, 2025, and closes February 

3, 2025. Following receipt of comments on the petition, the Marine 

Resources Commission will review the petition.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 3, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Zachary Widgeon, Director of Communications, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 414-0713, or email 

zachary.widgeon@mrc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-24; Filed December 20, 2024, 2:52 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Assistants. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: American Medical Technologists. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Dentistry amend 18VAC60-30-80 to recognize the 

Dental Assisting Radiography Exam given by American 

Medical Technologists as a qualifying pathway for 

certification to place or expose dental x-ray film. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its December 13, 2024, 

meeting, the Board of Dentistry voted to take no action on the 

petition and refer the issue to the regulatory committee for 

further study and review. 

Agency Contact: Jamie Sacksteder, Executive Director, Board 

of Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4581, or email 

jamie.sacksteder@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-07; Filed September 17, 2024, 1:09 p.m. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Ashley Pressman. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators amend 18VAC95-

20-380 to allow overseers of training facilities to serve as 

preceptors even if the potential preceptor has not served as the 

administrator of record for a minimum of two of the past three 

years prior to registration. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition for 

rulemaking will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on January 13, 2025. The petition will also be 

published on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment, which 

opens January 13, 2025, and closes February 12, 2025. The 

board will consider the petition and all comments in support or 

opposition at the next meeting after the close of public 

comment. Currently that meeting is scheduled for March 11, 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:zachary.widgeon@mrc.virginia.gov
mailto:jamie.sacksteder@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
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2025. The petitioner will be notified of the board's decision 

after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 

367-4595, or email corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-22; Filed December 14, 2024, 3:40 p.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Alexander Lagos Choquecahua. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests that the 

Board of Social Work amend 18VAC140-20-50 A to permit a 

supervisee who has received approval to obtain supervision 

hours but has not begun supervision to pause the four-year 

timeframe to obtain supervision until the supervisee is ready to 

begin earning supervision hours. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: During its December 20, 

2024, meeting, the Board of Social Work voted to deny the 

petition for rulemaking and send the issue to the regulatory 

committee for further study and review. The board is interested 

in this topic and wants to consider the scope of potential 

amendments broadly to allow for other changes to be made as 

necessary. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4441, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR25-14; Filed October 15, 2024, 3:22 p.m. 

mailto:corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulations are undergoing a periodic 

review and small business impact review: 12VAC35-12, 

Public Participation Guidelines; 12VAC35-210, 

Regulations to Govern Temporary Leave from State 

Facilities; and 12VAC35-240, Eugenics Sterilization 

Compensation Program. The review of these regulations will 

be guided by the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The 

purpose of a periodic review is to determine whether these 

regulations should be repealed, amended, or retained in their 

current forms. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to these regulations, including whether each 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins January 13, 2025, and ends 

February 13, 2025. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) in order to receive a response to the 

comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Susan Puglisi, Regulatory Research 

Specialist, Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of 

Behavioral Health And Developmental Services, 1220 Bank 

Street, Room 411, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 385-

6549, FAX (804) 371-4609, TDD (804) 371-8977, or email 

susan.puglisi@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND  
REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following regulation is undergoing a periodic 

review and small business impact review: 22VAC30-11, 

Public Participation Guidelines. The review of this regulation 

will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The 

purpose of a periodic review is to determine whether the 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current 

form. Public comment is sought on the review of any issue relating 

to this regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; and 

(iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins January 13, 2025, and ends 

February 3, 2025. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) in order to receive a response to the comment 

from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of both 

reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Analyst 

and Regulatory Coordinator, Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, 

VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7093, FAX (804) 662-7663, or 

email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, 

the State Board of Social Services conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 22VAC40-100, Minimum 

Standards for Licensed Child Caring Institutions, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended. The board is 

publishing its report of findings dated December 11, 2024, to 

support this decision. 

The regulation provides the requirements for the protection of 

health, safety, and welfare of children and youth receiving 

services from child welfare agencies. The regulation is clearly 

written and easy to understand. 

The department recommends amending the regulation for 

technical and clarification purposes and to reduce regulatory 

requirements pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022). This 

regulation is necessary for the health, safety, and welfare of 

children placed in child caring institutions. Comments received 

reflect that this regulation should be retained. The regulation does 

not duplicate or conflict with federal or state law. The regulation 

was last reviewed in 2016, and there are no changes in technology, 

economic conditions, or other factors that affect the regulation. 

The amendments will have minimal to no impact on small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Alisa Foley, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-

7138, or email a.foley@dss.virginia.gov. 

mailto:susan.puglisi@dbhds.virginia.gov
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
mailto:a.foley@dss.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Department of Environmental 

Quality intends to consider amending 9VAC15-40, Small 

Renewable Energy Projects (Wind) Permit by Rule; 

9VAC15-60, Small Renewable Energy Projects (Solar) 

Permit by Rule; 9VAC15-70, Small Renewable Energy 

Projects (Combustion) Permit by Rule; and 9VAC15-100, 

Small Energy Storage Facilities Permit by Rule. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to amend the regulations to 

increase fees assessed for permits by rule. The fees assessed by 

these regulations for wind, solar, and combustion small 

renewable energy projects were last modified over 10 years 

ago, and the fees for small energy storage facilities were last 

modified in 2022. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1197.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Susan Tripp, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 664-3470, or email 

susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8145; Filed December 16, 2024, 12:36 p.m. 

mailto:@susan.tripp@deq.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE AND 
CANNABIS CONTROL 

VIRGINIA ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
AUTHORITY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-30. Tied-House (amending 

3VAC5-30-10 through 3VAC5-30-90; adding 3VAC5-30-

100). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 12, 2025. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 

Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) align the regulation with current 

industry practices, (ii) conform the regulation to the Code of 

Virginia, (iii) improve clarity, and (iv) remove redundant 

and obsolete language. Changes to the proposed regulation 

are nonsubstantive and include clarifications about product 

exchanges for quality control purposes and payments to the 

authority for any purchase or series of purchases at 

government stores by licensees. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

3VAC5-30-10. Rotation and exchange of stocks of retailers 

by wholesalers; permitted and prohibited acts. 

A. Permitted acts. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, 

brokers, or wholesalers, or their representatives, may perform, 

except on Sundays in jurisdictions where local ordinances 

restrict Sunday sales of alcoholic beverages, the following 

services for a retailer upon consent, which may be a continuing 

consent, of the retailer: 

1. Rotate, repack, and rearrange alcoholic beverages in a 

display (e.g., shelves, coolers, cold boxes, and the like, and 

floor displays in a sales area); 

2. Restock alcoholic beverages; 

3. Rotate, repack, rearrange, and add to his the retailer's own 

stocks of alcoholic beverages in a storeroom space assigned 

to him the individual by the retailer; 

4. Transfer alcoholic beverages between storerooms, 

between displays, and between storerooms and displays; and 

5. Create or build original displays using alcoholic beverages 

only. 

B. Prohibited acts. A No manufacturer, importer, bottler, 

broker, or wholesaler, or its representative, may not: 

1. Alter or disturb in any way the merchandise sold by 

another manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler, whether in a display, sales area, or storeroom, 

except in the following cases: 

a. When the products of one manufacturer, importer, 

bottler, broker, or wholesaler have been erroneously 

placed in the area previously assigned by the retailer to 

another manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler; or 

b. When a floor display area previously assigned by a 

retailer to one manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler has been reassigned by the retailer to another 

manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler; 

2. Mark or affix retail prices to products other than those sold 

by the manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler 

to the retailer; or 

3. Sell or offer to sell alcoholic beverages to a retailer with 

the privilege of return, except for ordinary and usual 

commercial reasons as set forth below in this subdivision: 

a. Products defective at the time of delivery may be 

replaced; 

b. Products erroneously delivered may be replaced or 

money refunded; 

c. Products of for which a manufacturer or importer 

discontinues production or importation may be returned 

and money refunded if no lawful exchange under 

subdivision 3 g of this subsection is available and if prior 

written approval is provided by the board Virginia 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority); 

d. Resalable draft beer may be returned and money 

refunded; 

e. Products in the possession of a retail licensee whose 

license is terminated by operation of law, voluntary 

surrender, or order of the board authority may be returned 

mailto:@latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com
mailto:@latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com
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and money refunded upon permit issued written approval 

by the board authority; 

f. Products which that have been condemned and deemed 

a threat to public safety or are not permitted to be sold in 

this the Commonwealth may be replaced or money 

refunded upon permit issued written approval by the board 

authority; or 

g. Alcoholic beverages may be exchanged on an identical 

quantity and brand basis for quality control purposes. 

Where production of the product has been discontinued, 

the distributor may exchange the [ discontinued ] product 

for [ quality control purposes with ] a product from the 

same manufacturer on an identical quantity and 

comparable wholesale price basis. Any such exchange 

shall be documented by the word "exchange" on the proper 

invoice. 

3VAC5-30-20. Restrictions upon employment; exceptions. 

No retail licensee shall employ in any capacity in his at the 

licensed business any person engaged or employed in the 

manufacturing, bottling, or wholesaling of alcoholic 

beverages; nor shall any licensed manufacturer, bottler, or 

wholesaler employ in any capacity in his at the licensed 

business any person engaged or employed in the retailing of 

alcoholic beverages. 

This section shall not apply to banquet licensees, farm winery 

licensees, or off-premises winery licensees, nor shall this 

section apply in any situation in which the manufacturer, 

bottler, or wholesaler does not sell or otherwise furnish, 

directly or indirectly, alcoholic beverages or other merchandise 

to the retailer. 

3VAC5-30-30. Payment and recordkeeping requirements 

for certain transactions. 

A. Sales of wine or beer between wholesale and retail 

licensees of the authority shall be for cash paid and collected 

at the time of or prior to delivery, except where payment is to 

be made by electronic fund funds transfer as provided in this 

section. Each invoice covering such a sale or any other sale 

shall be signed by the purchaser at the time of delivery and 

shall specify the manner of payment. 

B. "Cash," as used in this section, shall include (i) legal tender 

of the United States, (ii) a money order issued by a duly 

licensed firm authorized to engage in such business in the 

Commonwealth, (iii) a valid check drawn upon a bank account 

in the name of the licensee or permittee or in the trade name of 

the licensee or permittee making the purchase, or (iv) an 

electronic fund funds transfer, initiated by a wholesaler 

pursuant to subsection D of this section, from a bank account 

in the name or trade name of the retail licensee making a 

purchase from a wholesaler or the authority. 

C. If a check, money order, or electronic fund funds transfer 

is used, the following provisions apply: 

1. If only alcoholic beverage merchandise is being sold, the 

amount of the checks, money orders, or electronic fund 

funds transfers shall be no larger than the purchase price of 

the alcoholic beverages; and 

2. If nonalcoholic merchandise is also sold to the retailer, the 

check, money order, or electronic fund funds transfer may 

be in an amount no larger than the total purchase price of the 

alcoholic beverages and nonalcoholic beverage 

merchandise. If a separate invoice is used for the 

nonalcoholic merchandise, a copy of it shall be attached to 

the copies of the alcoholic beverage invoices that are 

retained in the records of the wholesaler and the retailer. If a 

single invoice is used for both the alcoholic beverages and 

nonalcoholic beverage merchandise, the alcoholic beverage 

items shall be separately identified and totaled. 

D. If an electronic fund funds transfer is used for payment by 

a licensed retailer or a permittee for any purchase from a 

wholesaler or the authority, the following provisions shall 

apply: 

1. Prior to an electronic fund funds transfer, the retail 

licensee shall enter into a written agreement with the 

wholesaler specifying the terms and conditions for an 

electronic fund funds transfer in payment for the delivery of 

wine or beer to that retail licensee. The electronic fund funds 

transfer shall be initiated by the wholesaler no later than one 

business day after delivery, and the wholesaler's account 

shall be credited by the retailer's bank no later than the 

following business day. The electronic fund funds transfer 

agreement shall incorporate the requirements of this 

subdivision, but this subdivision shall not preclude an 

agreement with more restrictive provisions. For purposes of 

this subdivision, the term "business day" shall mean a 

business day of the respective bank; 

2. The wholesaler must generate an invoice covering the sale 

of wine or beer and shall specify that payment is to be made 

by electronic fund funds transfer. Each invoice must be 

signed by the purchaser at the time of delivery; and 

3. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to require 

that any licensee must accept payment by electronic fund 

funds transfer. 

E. Wholesalers shall maintain on their licensed premises 

records of all invalid checks received from retail licensees for 

the payment of wine or beer, as well as any stop payment order, 

insufficient fund report, or any other incomplete electronic 

fund funds transfer reported by the retailer's bank in response 

to a wholesaler initiated wholesaler-initiated electronic fund 

funds transfer from the retailer's bank account. Further, 

wholesalers shall report to the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Authority (authority) any invalid checks or incomplete 

electronic fund funds transfer reports received in payment of 

wine or beer when either (i) any such invalid check or 

incomplete electronic fund funds transfer is not satisfied by the 
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retailer within seven days after notice of the invalid check or a 

report of the incomplete electronic fund funds transfer is 

received by the wholesaler, or (ii) the wholesaler has received, 

whether satisfied or not, either more than one such invalid 

check from any single retail licensee or received more than one 

incomplete electronic fund funds transfer report from the bank 

of any single retail licensee, or any combination of the two, 

within a period of 180 days. Such reports shall be upon a form 

provided by the authority and in accordance with the 

instructions set forth in such form. 

F. Payments to the authority for the following items shall be 

for cash, as defined in subsection B of this section: 

1. State license taxes and application fees; 

2. Wine taxes and excise taxes on beer and wine coolers; 

3. Solicitors' permit fees and temporary permit fees; 

4. Registration and certification fees, and the markup or 

profit on cider, collected pursuant to these [ authority 

regulations this chapter ]; 

5. Civil penalties or charges and costs imposed on licensees 

and permittees by the board authority; and 

6. Forms provided to licensees and permittees at cost by the 

board authority. 

Provided however, payments Payments to the authority may 

be made directly through the authority's licensing system 

software. 

[ G. With respect to payments to the authority for any 

purchase or series of purchases at government stores by 

licensees, such payments shall be for cash, as defined in 

subsection B of this section, credit card, or debit card and 

comply with the provisions in § 4.1-119 H of the Code of 

Virginia. ]  

3VAC5-30-40. Deposits on containers required; records; 

redemption of deposits; exceptions. 

A. Wholesalers shall collect a deposit in cash, at or prior to 

the time of delivery of any beer sold to a retail licensee, the 

following minimum deposit charges on containers: for bottles; 

cardboard, fiber, or composition cases; kegs; and tapping 

equipment, cooling tubs, and cold plates for use by consumers. 

Bottles having a capacity of not more than 12 oz $.02 

Bottles having a capacity of more than 12 oz. but 

not more than 32 oz 

$.04 

Cardboard, fibre or composition cases other than 

for 1 1/8 -or 2 1/4-gallon kegs 

$.02 

Cardboard, fibre or composition cases for 1 1/8- or 

2 1/4-gallon kegs 

$.50 

Kegs, 1 1/8-gallon $1.75 

Kegs, 2 1/4-gallon $3.50 

Kegs, 1/4-barrel $4.00 

Kegs, 1/2-barrel $6.00 

Keg covers, 1/4-barrel $4.00 

Keg covers, 1/2-barrel $6.00 

Tapping equipment for use by consumers $10.00 

Cooling tubs for use by consumers $5.00 

Cold plates for use by consumers $15.00 

[ Wholesalers A wholesaler ] shall charge the same deposit 

fee for all of the wholesaler's retailers. 

B. The sales ticket or invoice shall reflect the deposit charge 

and shall be preserved as a part of the licensee's records. 

C. Deposits shall be refunded upon the return of containers in 

good condition. 

D. Deposits shall not be required on containers sold as 

nonreturnable items. 

3VAC5-30-50. Solicitation of licensees by wine and beer 

solicitor salesmen salespersons or representatives. 

A. A permit is not required to solicit or promote wine or beer 

to wholesale or retail licensees, including mixed beverage 

licensees, by a wine or beer solicitor salesman salesperson who 

represents any winery, brewery, wholesaler, or importer 

licensed in this the Commonwealth engaged in the sale of wine 

and beer. Further, a permit is not required to sell (, which shall 

include the solicitation or receipt of orders), wine or beer to 

wholesale or retail licensees, including mixed beverage 

licensees, by a wine or beer solicitor salesman salesperson who 

represents any winery, brewery, or wholesaler licensed in this 

the Commonwealth engaged in the sale of wine and beer. 

B. A permit is required to solicit or promote wine or beer to 

wholesale or retail licensees, including mixed beverage 

licensees, by a wine or beer solicitor salesman salesperson or 

representative of any out-of-state wholesaler engaged in the 

sale of wine or beer. A permit under this section shall not 

authorize the sale of wine by the permittee, the direct 

solicitation or receipt of orders for wine, or the negotiation of 

any contract or contract terms for the sale of wine unless such 

sale, receipt, or negotiations are conducted in the presence of a 

licensed Virginia wholesaler or importer or such Virginia 

wholesaler's or importer's solicitor salesman salesperson or 

representative. In order to obtain a permit, a person shall: 

1. Register Shall register with the board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority) by filing an 

application on such forms as prescribed by the board 

authority; and 
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2. Be Shall be 18 years old of age or older to solicit or 

promote the sale of wine or beer, and; may not be employed 

at the same time by an out-of-state wholesaler engaged in the 

sale of wine or beer and by a licensee to solicit the sale of or 

sell wine or beer,; and shall not be in violation of 3VAC5-

30-20. 

C. Each permit shall expire yearly on June 30 unless sooner 

suspended or revoked by the board authority. 

D. Solicitation and promotion under this regulation chapter 

may include educational programs regarding wine or beer for 

mixed beverage licensees, but shall not include the promotion 

of, or educational programs related to, spirits or the use thereof 

of spirits in mixed drinks unless a spirits solicitor's permit has 

been obtained in addition to a solicitor's permit. 

E. For the purposes of this regulation chapter, the soliciting 

or promoting of wine or beer shall be distinguished from the 

sale of such products, the direct solicitation, or receipt of orders 

for alcoholic beverages or the negotiation of any contract or 

contract terms for the sale of alcoholic beverages. This 

regulation chapter shall not be deemed to regulate the 

representative of a manufacturer, importer, or wholesaler from 

merely calling on retail licensees to check on market 

conditions, the freshness of products on the shelf or in stock, 

the percentage or nature of display space, or the collection of 

similar information where solicitation or product promotion is 

not involved. 

3VAC5-30-60. Inducements to retailers; beer and wine 

alcohol tapping equipment; bottle or can openers; spirits 

back-bar pedestals; banquet licensees; paper, cardboard 

or plastic advertising materials; clip-ons and table tents; 

sanctions and penalties. 

A. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or 

wholesaler, of alcoholic beverages or its representative, [ of 

such manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler ] 

may sell, rent, lend, buy for, or give to any retailer, without 

regard to the value thereof, the following: 

1. Draft beer or wine Alcoholic beverage knobs, containing 

advertising matter, which shall include the brand name and 

may further include only trademarks, housemarks, and 

slogans and shall not include any illuminating devices or be 

otherwise adorned with mechanical devices which that are 

not essential in the dispensing of draft beer or wine; and 

2. Clip-ons and table tents; and 

3. Tapping equipment, defined as all the parts of the 

mechanical system required for dispensing draft beer in a 

normal manner from the carbon dioxide gas pressure tank 

through the beer faucet, excluding the following: 

a. The carbonic acid gas in containers, except that such gas 

may be sold only at the reasonable open market price in 

the locality where sold; 

b. Gas pressure gauges (, which may be sold at cost); 

c. Draft arms or standards; 

d. Draft boxes; 

e. Refrigeration equipment or components thereof; and 

f. Carbon dioxide filters, which may be provided and 

installed without cost. 

Further, a manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler may sell, rent, 

or lend to any retailer, for use only by a purchaser of draft beer 

in kegs or barrels from such retailer, whatever tapping 

equipment may be necessary for the purchaser to extract such 

draft beer from its container. 

B. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler, 

or their representatives, representative [ of such manufacturers, 

importers, bottlers, brokers, or wholesalers ] may sell to any 

retailer and install in the any retailer's establishment dispensing 

accessories (, such as standards, faucets, rods, vents, taps, tap 

standards, hoses, cold plates, washers, couplings, gas gauges, 

vent tongues, shanks, and check valves), and carbon dioxide 

(and other gases used in dispensing equipment) at a price not 

less than the cost of the industry member who initially 

purchased them, and if the price is collected within 30 days of 

the date of sale. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or 

wholesalers of alcoholic beverages or the representatives of 

such manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or 

wholesalers may clean and service, either for free or for 

compensation, coils and other similar equipment used in 

dispensing alcoholic beverages and may sell solutions or 

compounds for cleaning alcoholic beverage glasses, provided 

the reasonable open market price is charged. 

C. Any beer tapping equipment may be converted for wine 

tapping by the beer wholesaler who originally placed the 

equipment on the premises of the retail licensee, provided that 

such beer wholesaler is also a wine wholesaler licensee. 

Moreover, at the time such equipment is converted for wine 

tapping, it shall be sold, or have previously been sold, to the 

retail licensee at a price not less than the initial purchase price 

paid by such wholesaler. 

D. Any manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler of wine or beer 

alcoholic beverages may sell or give to any retailer, bottle or 

can openers upon which advertising matter regarding alcoholic 

beverages may appear is displayed, provided the wholesale 

value of any such openers given to a retailer by any individual 

manufacturer, bottler or wholesaler does not exceed $20. 

Openers in excess of $20 in wholesale value may be sold, 

provided the reasonable open market price is charged therefor. 

E. Any manufacturer of spirits may sell, lend, buy for, or give 

to any retail licensee, without regard to the value thereof, back-

bar pedestals to be used on the retail premises and upon which 

advertising matter regarding spirits may appear. 

F. Manufacturers of alcoholic beverages and their authorized 

vendors or wholesalers of wine or beer may sell at the 

reasonable wholesale price to banquet licensees glasses or 
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paper or plastic cups upon which advertising matter regarding 

alcoholic beverages may appear. 

G. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or wholesalers 

of alcoholic beverages, or their representatives, may not 

provide point-of-sale advertising for any alcoholic beverage or 

any nonalcoholic beer or nonalcoholic wine to retail licensees 

except in accordance with 3VAC5-30-80. Manufacturers, 

importers, bottlers, brokers, and wholesalers, or their 

representatives, may provide advertising materials to any retail 

licensee that have been customized for that retail licensee 

(including the name, logo, address, and website of the retail 

licensee) provided that such advertising materials must: 

1. Comply with all other applicable regulations of the board; 

2. Be for interior use only; 

3. Contain references to the alcoholic beverage products or 

brands offered for sale by the manufacturer, bottler, or 

wholesaler providing such materials and to no other 

products; and 

4. Be made available to all retail licensees. 

H. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler 

of wine, beer, or spirits, or its representatives, may sell, lend, 

buy for, or give to any retail licensee clip-ons and table tents. 

I. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler 

of alcoholic beverages, or their representatives, may clean and 

service, either free or for compensation, coils and other like 

equipment used in dispensing alcoholic beverages, and may 

sell solutions or compounds for cleaning alcoholic beverage 

glasses, provided the reasonable open market price is charged. 

J. F. Any manufacturer, importer, bottler, or wholesaler of 

alcoholic beverages licensed in this the Commonwealth may 

sell ice to retail licensees, provided the reasonable open market 

price is charged. 

K. Any licensee of the board, including any manufacturer, 

bottler, importer, broker as defined in § 4.1-216 A of the Code 

of Virginia, wholesaler, or retailer who violates, attempts to 

violate, solicits any person to violate or consents to any 

violation of this section shall be subject to the sanctions and 

penalties as provided in § 4.1-328 of the Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-30-70. Routine business entertainment; definition; 

permitted activities; conditions. 

A. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit a wholesaler, 

manufacturer, importer, or broker of alcoholic beverages 

licensed in the Commonwealth from providing a retail licensee 

"routine business entertainment" which is defined as those 

activities enumerated in subsection B of this section. 

B. Permitted activities are: 

1. Meals and beverages; 

2. Concerts, theatre and arts entertainment; 

3. Sports participation and entertainment; 

4. Entertainment at charitable events; 

5. Private parties; and 

6. Local transportation in order to attend one or more of the 

activities permitted by this subsection. 

C. B. The following conditions apply: 

1. Such routine business entertainment shall be provided 

without a corresponding obligation on the part of the retail 

licensee to purchase alcoholic beverages or to provide any 

other benefit to such wholesaler or manufacturer or to 

exclude from sale the products of any other wholesaler or 

manufacturer; 

2. Wholesaler or manufacturer personnel shall accompany 

the personnel of the retail licensee during such business 

entertainment; 

3. Except as is inherent in the definition of routine business 

entertainment as contained herein, nothing Nothing in this 

regulation chapter shall be construed to authorize the 

providing of property or any other thing of value to retail 

licensees; 

4. No more than $400 may be spent per 24-hour period on 

any employee of any retail licensee, including a self-

employed sole proprietor, or, if the licensee is a partnership, 

or on any partner or employee thereof of the partnership, or 

if the licensee is a corporation, on any corporate officer, 

director, shareholder of 10% or more of the stock, or other 

employee, such as a buyer. Expenditures attributable to the 

spouse of any such employee, partnership, or stockholder, 

and the like, shall not be included within the foregoing 

restrictions of this subdivision; 

5. No person enumerated in subdivision 4 of this subsection 

may be entertained more than six times by a wholesaler and 

six times by a manufacturer per calendar year; 

6. Wholesale licensees and manufacturers shall keep 

complete and accurate records for a period of three years of 

all expenses incurred in the entertainment of retail licensees. 

These records shall indicate the date and amount of each 

expenditure, the type of entertainment activity, and the retail 

licensee entertained; and 

7. This section shall not apply to personal friends of 

manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or wholesalers 

as provided for in 3VAC5-70-100. 

3VAC5-30-80. Advertising materials that may be provided 

to retailers by manufacturers, importers, bottlers, or 

wholesalers. 

A. There shall be no cooperative advertising as between a 

producer, manufacturer, bottler, importer, or wholesaler and a 

retailer of alcoholic beverages, except as may be authorized by 

regulation pursuant to § 4.1-216 of the Code of Virginia. The 
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term "cooperative advertising" shall mean the payment or 

credit, directly or indirectly, by any manufacturer, bottler, 

importer, or wholesaler, whether licensed in this the 

Commonwealth or not, to a retailer for all or any portion of 

advertising done by the retailer. 

B. Manufacturers or their authorized vendors as defined in 

§ 4.1-216.1 of the Code of Virginia and wholesalers of 

alcoholic beverages may sell, lend, buy for, or give to retailers 

any nonilluminated advertising materials made of paper, 

cardboard, canvas, rubber, foam, or plastic, provided the 

advertising materials have a wholesale value of $40 or less per 

item. Advertising material referring to any brand or 

manufacturer of spirits may only be provided to mixed 

beverage licensees and may not be provided by beer and wine 

wholesalers, or their employees, unless [ they hold those 

wholesalers or their employees hold ] a spirits solicitor's 

permit. 

C. Manufacturers, bottlers, or wholesalers may supply to 

retailers napkins, placemats, and coasters that contain (i) a 

reference to the name of a brand of nonalcoholic beer or 

nonalcoholic wine, or (ii) a message relating solely to and 

promoting moderation and responsible drinking, which 

message may contain the name, logo, and address of the 

sponsoring manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler, provided such 

recognition is subordinate to the message. 

D. Any manufacturer, including any vendor authorized by 

any such manufacturer, whether or not licensed in the 

Commonwealth, may sell service items bearing alcoholic 

brand references to on-premises retail licensees. Such retail 

licensee may display the service items on the premises of his 

the licensed establishment. Each such retail licensee 

purchasing such service items shall retain a copy of the 

evidence of his the payment to the manufacturer or authorized 

vendor for a period of not less than two years from the date of 

each sale of the service items. As used in this subdivision, 

"service items" means articles of tangible personal property 

normally used by the employees of on-premises licensees to 

serve alcoholic beverages to customers, including, but not 

limited to, glasses, napkins, buckets, and coasters. 

E. Alcoholic beverage "neckers," recipe booklets, brochures 

relating to the alcoholic beverage manufacturing process, 

vineyard, brewery, and distillery geography, and or history of 

an alcoholic beverage manufacturing area, and point-of-sale 

entry blanks relating to contests and sweepstakes may be 

provided by manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or 

wholesalers to retail licensees for use on retail premises, if such 

items are offered to all retail licensees equally, and the 

manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler has 

obtained the consent, which may be a continuing consent, of 

each retailer or his the retailer's representative. Wholesale 

licensees in the Commonwealth may not put entry blanks on 

the package. Solicitors holding permits under the provisions of 

3VAC5-60-80 may provide point-of-sale entry blanks relating 

to contests and sweepstakes to mixed beverage licensees for 

use on the premises if such items are offered to all mixed 

beverage licensees equally, and the solicitor has obtained the 

consent, which may be a continuous consent, of each mixed 

beverage licensee or his the licensee's representative. 

F. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or wholesalers, 

or their representatives, may supply refund coupons if they the 

coupons are supplied, displayed, and used in accordance with 

3VAC5-20-90. 

G. No manufacturer, bottler, wholesaler, or importer of 

alcoholic beverages, whether licensed in this the 

Commonwealth or not, may directly or indirectly sell, rent, 

lend, buy for, or give to any retailer any advertising materials, 

decorations, or furnishings under any circumstances otherwise 

prohibited by law, nor may any retailer induce, attempt to 

induce, or consent to any such supplier of alcoholic beverages 

furnishing such retailer any such advertising. 

H. Any advertising materials provided for herein, which in 

this section that may have been obtained by any retail licensee 

from any manufacturer, bottler, broker, importer, or wholesaler 

of alcoholic beverages, may be installed in the interior of the 

licensed establishment by any such industry member or their 

the industry member's representatives using any normal and 

customary installation materials. With the consent of the retail 

licensee, which consent may be a continuing consent, 

manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or wholesalers, or 

their representatives, may mark or affix retail prices on these 

materials. 

I. Every retail licensee who obtains any point-of-sale 

advertising shall keep a complete, accurate, and separate 

record of all such material obtained. Such records shall show 

(i) the name and address of the person from whom the material 

was obtained; (ii) the date furnished; (iii) the item furnished; 

and (iv) the price charged therefore. All such records, invoices, 

and accounts shall be kept by each such licensee at the place 

designated in the license for a period of two years and shall be 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the or 

its the board's special agents during reasonable hours. 

J. No alcoholic beverage manufacturer, importer, or 

wholesale licensee may sell, rent, lend, buy for, or give to any 

retail licensee any outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising, any 

billboard placements for such advertising, or in any other way 

confer on any retail licensee anything of value that constitutes 

outdoor alcoholic beverage advertising. 

K. No alcoholic beverage manufacturer, importer, or 

wholesale licensee may engage in cooperative advertising, as 

defined in this section, on behalf of any retail licensee. 

L. Manufacturers of alcoholic beverages and [ manufacturer-

authorized their authorized ] vendors or wholesalers of wine or 

beer may sell at the reasonable wholesale price to banquet 

licensees [ glasses or glass ], paper [ , ] or plastic cups upon 
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which advertising matter regarding alcoholic beverages may 

appear. 

M. No manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler 

of alcoholic beverages or representative of such manufacturer, 

importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler may provide point-of-

sale advertising for any alcoholic beverage or any nonalcoholic 

beer or nonalcoholic wine to retail licensees, except in 

accordance with this section. Manufacturers, importers, 

bottlers, brokers, and wholesalers or representatives of such 

manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, or wholesalers 

may provide advertising materials to any retail licensee that 

have been customized for that retail licensee, including the 

name, logo, address, and website of the retail licensee, 

provided that such advertising materials must: 

1. Comply with all other applicable regulations of the [ board 

authority ]; 

2. Be for interior use only; 

3. Contain references to the alcoholic beverage products or 

brands offered for sale by the manufacturer, bottler, or 

wholesaler providing such materials and to no other 

products; and 

4. Be made available to all retail licensees. 

3VAC5-30-90. Price discrimination; inducements. 

A. No wholesale wine or beer licensee shall discriminate in 

price of alcoholic beverages between different retail 

purchasers, except where the difference in price charged by 

such wholesale licensee is due to: 

1. Acceptance or rejection by a retail purchaser of terms or 

conditions affecting a price offer, including a quantity 

discount, as long as such terms or conditions are offered on 

an equal basis to all retailers; 

2. A bona fide difference in the cost of sale or delivery; or 

3. The wholesale licensee charging a lower price in good 

faith to meet an equally low price charged by a competing 

wholesale licensee on a brand and package of like grade and 

quality. 

Where such difference in price charged to any such retail 

purchaser does occur, the [ board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Authority (authority) ] may ask for and the wholesale 

licensee shall furnish written substantiation for the price 

difference. 

B. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, wholesale 

wine licensees may differentiate in the pricing between retail 

purchasers with on-premises and off-premises privileges. 

However, there shall be no discrimination in pricing among 

retail licensee purchasers with on-premises privileges and no 

discrimination in pricing among retail licensee purchasers with 

off-premises privileges, unless the conditions in subsection A 

of this section are present. Price differentiations shall be 

subject to the following provisions: 

1. The wholesale price provided for differentiation to a 

retailer with on-premises and off-premises privileges shall 

be based on which privilege generates the majority of the 

business revenue.  

2. Licensees with on-premises and off-premises privileges 

who choose to accept price differentiations from [ their ] 

wholesalers shall provide those wholesalers with a written 

statement declaring which privilege generates the majority 

of their business revenue. 

3. Wholesalers will be responsible for maintaining those 

statements as well as indicating on [ the ] sales invoices 

which privilege the retailer has designated as their major 

revenue generator. 

4. Upon request, wholesalers and retailers shall provide the 

[ board authority ] with written substantiation for any price 

differentiation. 

C. No person holding a license authorizing the sale of 

alcoholic beverages at retail shall knowingly induce or receive 

a discrimination in price prohibited by this section. 

3VAC5-30-100. Novelties and specialties.  

Distribution of novelty and specialty items, including wearing 

apparel bearing alcoholic beverage advertising, shall be subject 

to the following limitations and conditions: 

1. Items not in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be 

given away. No manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, 

wholesaler, or representative of such manufacturer, 

importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler may give such items 

to patrons on the premises of retail licensees; however, a 

manufacturer or the manufacturer's authorized 

representative, other than wholesalers, conducting tastings 

pursuant to the provisions of § 4.1-201.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, may give no more than one such item to each 

consumer provided a sample of alcoholic beverages during 

the tasting event; 

2. Items bearing moderation and responsible drinking 

messages may be displayed by the licensee and the licensee's 

employees on the licensed premises and given to patrons on 

such premises as long as any references to any alcoholic 

beverage manufacturer or the alcoholic beverage 

manufacturer's brands are subordinate in type size and 

quantity of text to such moderation message; 

3. Items in excess of $10 in wholesale value may be donated 

by distilleries, wineries, and breweries only to participants 

or entrants in connection with the sponsorship of 

conservation and environmental programs, professional, 

semi-professional, or amateur athletic and sporting events 

subject to the limitations of 3VAC5-20-100, and for events 

of a charitable or cultural nature; 
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4. Items may be sold by mail upon request or over the 

counter at retail establishments customarily engaged in the 

sale of novelties and specialties, provided the items are sold 

at the reasonable open market price in the localities where 

sold; 

5. Wearing apparel shall be in adult sizes; 

6. Point-of-sale order blanks relating to novelty and specialty 

items may be provided by beer and wine wholesalers to retail 

licensees for use on the retail licensee's premises if done for 

all retail licensees equally and after obtaining the consent, 

which may be a continuing consent, of each retailer or the 

retailer's representative. Wholesalers may not be involved in 

the redemption process; and 

7. Novelty and specialty items bearing alcoholic beverage 

advertising may not be distributed to persons younger than 

the legal drinking age. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7509; Filed December 12, 2024, 10:14 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-40. Requirements for Product 

Approval (amending 3VAC5-40-10, 3VAC5-40-20, 

3VAC5-40-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 12, 2025. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 

Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add that the Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority) may withhold 

approval of any wine or beer label that is an imitation of a 

spirits product or is a complete facsimile of a spirits product, 

excluding low-alcohol beverage coolers; (ii) add that the 

authority may withhold approval of any wine or beer label 

that is not clearly distinguishable from a nonalcoholic 

product or that minimizes, fails to identify, or disguises the 

product's alcoholic contents; (iii) remove current language 

that states that the authority may withhold approval of any 

wine or beer label that implies or indicates that the product 

is government endorsed; (iv) update "minor" to "underage 

person"; and (v) reflect current nomenclature, repeal text 

that is duplicative of the Code of Virginia, and add clarifying 

language. Changes to the proposed regulation include (a) 

providing for a rebuttal presumption of approval if the label 

has federal approval; (b) revising previously proposed 

language for labels that utilize imagery from a spirits 

product; (c) addressing labeling of alcoholic brands of 

nonalcoholic products; and (d) ensuring athletes in labels 

are at least 21 years of age. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

3VAC5-40-10. Spirits; labels, definitions and standards of 

identity. 

Spirits sold in the Commonwealth shall conform with 

regulations adopted by the appropriate federal agency, relating 

to labels, definitions, standards of identity, and standards of 

fill. In addition, the prior approval of the board Virginia 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) must be 

obtained as to the spirits, containers, and labels. The board 

authority may request a copy of the federal certificate of label 

approval before a product is approved for sale. 

Subsequent sales under an approved label shall conform to 

the analysis of the spirits originally approved by the board, 

authority and shall be packaged in approved types and sizes of 

containers. 

3VAC5-40-20. Wine and beer; qualifying procedures; 

disqualifying factors; samples; exceptions. 

A. Except as provided in subsection F of this section, all wine 

and beer sold in the Commonwealth shall be first approved by 

the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority) as to content, container, and label. 

1. All wine and beer sold in this the Commonwealth shall 

conform with regulations adopted by the appropriate federal 

agency, relating to labels, definitions, and standards of 

identity. An application acceptable to the board authority or 

on a form prescribed by the board authority describing the 

merchandise shall be submitted for each new brand and type 

of wine or beer offered for sale in the Commonwealth. 

Applicants shall submit a copy of the approval of the label 

by such federal agency. A registration fee in such an amount 

as may be established by the board authority shall be 

included with each application. 

2. A gift package containing wine or beer for which label 

approval has been granted may be sold without additional 

approval by the board authority. 

B. While not limited thereto, the board shall withhold 

approval of any wine if the alcoholic content exceeds 21% by 

volume. 

C. While not limited thereto, the board B. [ The There shall 

be a rebuttable presumption that any label that has obtained 

prior approval by the appropriate federal agency may be 

approved by the authority; however, the ] authority may 

withhold approval of any label if it has reasonable cause to 

believe the container or label: 

1. Which implies or indicates that the product contains 

spirits; 
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2. Which contains the word "fortified" or implies that the 

contents contain spirits, except that the composition and 

alcoholic content may be shown if required by regulations of 

an appropriate federal agency; 

3. Which contains 1. Contains any obscene subject matter or 

illustration; 

4. Which contains subject matter designed 2. Contains a 

design or statement that is likely to induce minors underage 

persons to drink, or is suggestive of the intoxicating effect of 

wine or beer; 5.Which contains targets underage persons; 

3. Suggests the intoxicating effect of wine or beer; 

5. Which contains 4. Contains any design or statement which 

that is likely to mislead the consumer; 

5. [ Is an imitation of a spirits product or is a complete 

facsimile of a spirits product, excluding products defined as 

"low alcohol beverage coolers" in § 4.1-100 of the Code of 

Virginia Except as provided in this subsection, containers of 

wine or beer, or any labels on such containers, or any carton, 

case, or individual covering of such containers, used for sale 

at retail, or any written, printed, graphic, or other material 

accompanying such containers to the consumer, must 

contain no statement, design, device, or representation that 

tends to create a false or misleading impression that the wine 

or beer contains distilled spirits or is a distilled spirits 

product. This subdivision does not prohibit:  

a. A truthful and accurate statement of alcohol content; 

b. The use of a brand name or imagery of a distilled spirits 

product, provided that in the authority's determination the 

label in its totality does not create a misleading or 

confusing impression as to the identity and composition of 

the product; 

c. The use of a cocktail name as a brand name, provided 

that the overall labeling does not present a misleading 

impression about the identity or composition of the 

product; or  

d. The use of truthful and accurate statements about the 

production of the product as part of a statement of 

composition or otherwise, as long as such statements do 

not create a misleading impression as to the identity or 

composition of the product ]; 

6. Which implies [ Implies or indicates that the product is 

government (federal, state, or local) endorsed ]; or 

[ 7. ] Is not clearly distinguishable from a nonalcoholic 

product or minimizes, fails to identify, or disguises the 

product's alcoholic contents. The authority shall take into 

account: 

a. The number, location, size, and clarity of references to 

the alcohol content on the label; 

b. Whether the labeling or container emphasizes features 

that are more commonly associated with nonalcoholic 

consumable products;  

c. Any and all differences between the product's container 

or label and the nonalcoholic product, including color 

palette, font type, imagery, placement of words, images or 

descriptions, and backgrounds; and 

d. Any other relevant factor, including whether the 

nonalcoholic product is clearly marketed as a nonalcoholic 

beverage alternative to an alcoholic beverage product; or  

[ 7. 8. ] Which implies Implies that the product enhances 

athletic prowess or includes any reference to any athlete, 

former athlete, or athletic team except that references to 

athletes or athletic teams shall be allowed to the extent such 

references are permitted in point-of-sale advertising 

pursuant to 3VAC5-20-10 depicts any athlete consuming or 

about to consume alcohol prior to or while engaged in an 

athletic activity; [ uses the name, image, or likeness of an 

athlete younger than 21 years of age; ] or depicts an athlete 

consuming alcohol while the athlete is operating or about to 

operate a motor vehicle or other machinery. 

C. In analyzing products and labels for approval, the authority 

may consider the totality of the product label and packaging 

and consider any other relevant factors. 

D. A person holding a license as a winery, farm winery, 

brewery, or a wine or beer wholesaler shall, upon request, 

furnish the board authority without compensation a reasonable 

quantity of such brand sold by him the person for chemical 

analysis. 

E. Any wine or beer sold only by direct shipment to 

consumers by holders of wine or beer shippers' licenses shall 

be approved upon compliance with subdivision A 1 of this 

section. 

F. If the board authority has not approved a wine or beer for 

sale within 30 days after receipt by the board authority of a 

complete application and registration fee, the wine or beer may 

be sold in the Commonwealth pending a decision from the 

board authority on the application. If the application for 

approval is rejected, the manufacturer or importer shall 

discontinue sales of the rejected product upon notice from the 

board authority. Any wholesale or retail licensee may continue 

sales until any inventory on hand at the time of notice from the 

board authority is depleted. 

3VAC5-40-30. Wine and beer containers; sizes and types; 

on-premises and off-premises limitations; cooler-

dispensers; novel containers; carafes and decanters. 

A. Wine and beer may be sold at retail only in or from the 

original containers of the sizes that have been approved by the 

appropriate federal agency, except that farm winery licensees 

may conduct barrel tastings at the winery, at which samples of 

wine not yet bottled may be sold to visitors to the winery. Each 
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farm winery conducting a barrel tasting shall measure the wine 

withdrawn for the tasting, maintain full and complete records, 

and remit the taxes imposed by § 4.1-234 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. Wine sold for on-premises consumption shall not be 

removed from the licensed premises except in the original 

container with closure. Beer dispensed for on-premises 

consumption shall not be removed from authorized areas upon 

the premises. No wine or beer shall be sold for off-premises 

consumption in any container upon which the original closure 

has been broken, except for (i) a growler; or (ii) wine or beer 

sold for off-premises consumption by on-premises licensees 

that are not in the manufacturer's original sealed container, 

which shall (a) be enclosed in a container that has no straw 

holes or other openings and is sealed in a manner that allows a 

person to readily discern whether the container has been 

opened or tampered with subsequent to its original closure; (b) 

display the name of the licensee from which the wine or beer 

was purchased; (c) be clearly marked with the phrase "contains 

alcoholic beverages"; and (d) have a maximum volume of 16 

ounces per beverage. A "growler" is defined as a resealable 

container made of glass, ceramic, metal, or other materials 

approved by the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (authority) as well as resealable containers approved 

by the board authority. 

1. Beer and cider may be sold for off-premises consumption 

by persons licensed to sell beer and cider for off-premises 

consumption in growlers with a maximum capacity of 128 

fluid ounces or, if in metric size containers, four liters. 

2. Wine may be sold for off-premises consumption in 

growlers with a maximum capacity of 64 fluid ounces or, for 

metric size containers, two liters. Wine sold in growlers may 

only be sold by persons licensed to sell wine for both on-

premises and off-premises consumption and by gourmet 

shop licensees. Wine sold by gourmet shop licensees shall 

be labeled with the (i) manufacturer's name or trade name, 

(ii) place of production, (iii) net contents in fluid ounces, and 

(iv) name and address of the retailer. 

3. Retail licensees licensed to sell wine and beer for both on-

premises and off-premises consumption and gourmet shop 

licensees licensed for off-premises consumption may sell 

wine and beer in sealed containers made of metal or other 

materials approved by the board authority with a maximum 

capacity of 32 fluid ounces or, if in metric size containers, 

one liter, provided that the alcoholic beverages are placed in 

the container following an order from the consumer. 

C. Novel or unusual containers are prohibited except upon 

special permit issued by the board authority. In determining 

whether a container is novel or unusual, the board authority 

may consider, but is not limited to, the following factors: (i) 

nature and composition of the container;, (ii) length of time it 

has been employed for the purpose;, (iii) the extent to which it 

is designed or suitable for those uses;, (iv) the extent to which 

the container is a humorous representation;, and (v) whether 

the container is dutiable for any other purpose under customs 

laws and regulations. 

D. Wine may be served for on-premises consumption in 

carafes or decanters not exceeding 52 fluid ounces (1.5 liters) 

in capacity. Beer may be served for on-premises consumption 

in pitchers not exceeding 80 fluid ounces in capacity. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7511; Filed December 12, 2024, 10:14 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 

(amending 3VAC5-50-10 through 3VAC5-50-150, 3VAC5-

50-170 through 3VAC5-50-220, 3VAC5-50-240, 3VAC5-

50-250, 3VAC5-50-260). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 12, 2025. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 

Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow licensees to serve an entire 

container of spirits if the container contains 12.6 ounces or 

less and the alcohol by value content is 15% or less; (ii) add 

the word "grain" before "alcohol" in reference to prohibited 

sales of mixed beverages; (iii) add limitations on mixed 

beverage licensees that serve flights of samples so that the 

licensees are limited to no more than five mixed beverages, 

and each shall contain no more than one ounce of distilled 

spirits; (iv) limit the number of times a nonmember may 

frequent a club, require nonmembers to be accompanied by 

club members, and make it a violation if the club occupancy 

consists of a number of nonmembers that exceeds the 

number of club members; (v) include a provision that a 

nonmember attending a member-sponsored private function 

is not to be counted as a guest with respect to the club guest 

restrictions; (vi) clarify language; and (vii) remove 

redundant or duplicative language. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

3VAC5-50-10. Restrictions upon sale and consumption of 

alcoholic beverages. 

A. Except as may be otherwise permitted under subdivision 7 

of § 4.1-200 of the Code of Virginia, no licensee shall sell to 

or allow the consumption of any alcoholic beverage to a on the 

licensed premises by any person whom he shall know, the 

licensee knows or have has reason at the time to believe, is: 
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1. Under the age of Younger than 21 years of age; 

2. Intoxicated; or 

3. An interdicted person. 

B. No licensee shall allow the consumption of any alcoholic 

beverage upon his licensed premises by any person to whom 

such alcoholic beverage may not lawfully be sold under this 

section. 

3VAC5-50-20. Determination of legal age of purchaser. 

A. In determining whether a licensee, or his the licensee's 

employee or agent, has reason to believe that a purchaser is not 

of legal age, the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority will consider, but is not limited to, the following 

factors: 

1. Whether an ordinary and prudent person would have 

reason to doubt that the purchaser is of legal age based on 

the general appearance, facial characteristics, behavior, and 

manner of the purchaser; and 

2. Whether the seller demanded, was shown, and acted in 

good faith in reliance upon bona fide evidence of legal age, 

as defined herein in subsection B of this section, and that 

evidence contained a photograph and physical description 

consistent with the appearance of the purchaser. 

B. Such bona fide evidence of legal age shall include a valid 

motor vehicle driver's license issued by any state of the United 

States or the District of Columbia, armed forces identification 

card, United States passport or foreign government visa, valid 

special identification card issued by the Virginia Department 

of Motor Vehicles, or any valid identification issued by any 

other federal or state government agency, excluding student 

university and college identification cards, provided such 

identification shall contain a photograph and signature of the 

subject, with the subject's height and the subject's date of birth. 

C. It shall be incumbent upon the licensee, or his the licensee's 

employee or agent, to scrutinize carefully the identification, if 

presented, and determine it to be authentic and in proper order. 

Identification which that has been altered so as to be apparent 

to observation or has expired shall be deemed not in proper 

order. 

3VAC5-50-30. Restricted hours; exceptions. 

A. The hours during which licensees shall not sell or permit 

to be consumed upon their licensed premises any wine, beer, 

or mixed beverages shall be as follows: 

1. In localities where the sale of mixed beverages has been 

authorized: 

a. For on-premises sale and consumption: 2 a.m. to 6 a.m. 

b. For off-premises sale: 12 a.m. to 6 a.m. 

2. In all other localities: 12 a.m. to 6 a.m. for on-premises 

sales and consumption and off-premises sales, except that on 

New Year's Eve the licensees shall have an additional hour 

in which to exercise the on-premises privileges of their 

licenses. 

B. Exceptions to restricted hours are: 

1. Club licensees: No restrictions at any time; 

2. Individual licensees whose hours have been more 

stringently restricted by the board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority shall comply with such 

requirements; and 

3. Licensees in the City of Danville are prohibited from 

selling wine and beer for off-premises consumption between 

the hours of 1 a.m. and 6 a.m. Mixed beverage casino 

licensees. 

3VAC5-50-40. Designated managers of licensees; 

appointment generally; disapproval by board the 

authority; restrictions upon employment. 

A. Each retail licensee, except a licensed individual who is on 

the premises, shall have a designated manager able to 

understand and communicate in the English language in a 

reasonably satisfactory manner present and in actual charge of 

the business being conducted under the license at any time the 

licensed establishment is kept open for business, whether or 

not the privileges of the license are being exercised. The 

designated manager must be able to understand and 

communicate in the English language in a reasonably 

satisfactory manner. The name of the retail licensee's 

designated manager of every retail licensee shall be kept posted 

in a conspicuous place in the establishment, in letters not less 

than one inch in size, during the time he the designated 

manager is in charge. 

The posting of the name of a designated manager shall qualify 

such person to act in that capacity until disapproved by the 

board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority). 

B. The board authority reserves the right to disapprove any 

person as a designated manager if it shall have reasonable 

cause to believe that any cause condition exists which that 

would justify the board authority in refusing to issue such 

person a license, or that in suspending or revoking a license 

granted to such person has committed any act that would 

justify the board in suspending or revoking a license. 

Before disapproving a designated manager, the board 

authority shall accord him such designated manager the same 

notice, and opportunity to be heard, and follow the same 

administrative procedures accorded a licensee cited for a 

violation of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. No licensee of the board authority shall knowingly permit 

a person under younger than 21 years of age, nor one who has 

been disapproved by the board authority within the preceding 
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12 months, to act as designated manager of his the licensee's 

business. 

D. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 4.1-225 (1) (i) A 1 h 

of the Code of Virginia, the board authority will not take action 

to suspend or revoke a retail license if a licensee knowingly 

employs a person who has been convicted in any court of a 

felony or of any crime or offense involving moral turpitude, 

except in the following two categories: 

1. The board authority may suspend or revoke a license if a 

licensee knowingly employs in the business conducted under 

such license, as agent, servant, or employee, in a position 

that is involved in the selling or serving of alcoholic 

beverages to customers, any person who has been convicted 

of a felony violation of the laws of the Commonwealth 

prohibiting the manufacture, sale, distribution, use, or 

possession of controlled substances, imitation controlled 

substances, counterfeit controlled substances, marijuana 

cannabis, or synthetic cannabinoids; driving under the 

influence of alcohol or other self-administered intoxicants; 

or a similar offense under the laws of any state, or the United 

States; or 

2. The board authority may suspend or revoke a license if a 

licensee knowingly employs in the business conducted under 

such license, as agent, servant, or employee, in a position 

that is involved in the creation or maintenance of records 

required to be kept by the licensee under the provisions of 

Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia or board authority 

regulations, or in the preparation or filing of any tax return 

or report required under Title 4.1 or Title 58.1 of the Code 

of Virginia or board authority regulations, any person who 

has been convicted of a felony violation of the laws of the 

Commonwealth prohibiting robbery, burglary, larceny, 

embezzlement, computer crimes, forgery, false pretenses, 

issuing bad checks, false representations to obtain property 

or credit, credit card forgery or fraud, or money laundering, 

or a similar offense under the laws of any state, or the United 

States. 

E. If a retail licensee wishes to employ a person whose 

employment would be covered by subdivision D 1 or D 2 of 

this section, or who has violated the laws of the 

Commonwealth, of any other state, or of the United States, 

applicable to the manufacture, transportation, possession, use, 

or sale of alcoholic beverages, the licensee may (i) 

immediately employ the individual if the offenses occurred 

more than five years preceding the date of employment or (ii) 

apply to the board authority for approval of such employment 

if the offense occurred within five years preceding the date of 

employment. The board authority will cause the Bureau of Law 

Enforcement Operations to conduct an investigation into the 

suitability of the person for employment and recommend 

approval or disapproval. Before disapproving the employment 

of a person, the board authority shall accord him the person the 

same notice, opportunity to be heard, and follow the same 

administrative procedures accorded a licensee cited for a 

violation of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-50-50. Restrictions upon employment of minors. 

No person licensed to sell alcoholic beverages at retail shall 

permit any employee under the age of younger than 18 years 

of age to sell, serve, or dispense in any manner any alcoholic 

beverage in his the licensed establishment for on-premises 

consumption, nor shall such person permit any employee under 

the age of younger than 21 years of age to prepare or mix 

alcoholic beverages in the capacity of a bartender. "Bartender" 

is defined as a person who sells, serves, or dispenses alcoholic 

beverages for on-premises consumption at a counter, as 

defined in 3VAC5-50-110, and does not include a person 

employed to serve food and drink to patrons at tables as defined 

in that section. However, a person who is 18 years of age or 

older may sell or serve beer for on-premises consumption at a 

counter in an establishment that sells beer only, or may sell or 

serve wine for on-premises consumption in an establishment 

that sells wine only. 

3VAC5-50-60. Mixed beverage licensees generally; sales of 

spirits in closed containers; suspension of purchase 

privileges. 

A. No mixed beverage restaurant or carrier licensee shall: 

1. Serve as one drink the entire contents of a container of 

spirits in its original container for on-premises or off-

premises consumption except (i) as provided by subsections 

C, D, and E of this section; or (ii) if the container of spirits 

contains [ 16 12.6 ] ounces or less and the alcohol by volume 

content is 15% or less. 

2. Sell any mixed beverage to which grain alcohol has been 

added. 

B. No mixed beverage restaurant licensee shall: 

1. Allow to be kept upon the licensed premises any container 

of alcoholic beverages of a type authorized to be purchased 

under his the license that does not bear the required mixed 

beverage stamp imprinted with his the license number and 

purchase report number to be kept on the licensed premises. 

2. Use in the preparation of a mixed beverage any alcoholic 

beverage not purchased from the board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority) or a wholesale wine 

licensee. 

3. Fail to obliterate the mixed beverage stamp immediately 

when any container of spirits is emptied. 

4. Allow any patron to possess more than two drinks of 

mixed beverages at any one time, except that a mixed 

beverage licensee may sell to a patron who may lawfully 

purchase mixed beverages a flight of (i) distilled spirits 

products consisting of samples of not more than five 

different spirits products or (ii) no more than five mixed 

beverages. Each distilled spirits product shall contain no 
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more than one-half ounce of distilled spirits and each mixed 

beverage shall contain no more than one ounce of distilled 

spirits. 

C. If a restaurant for which a mixed beverage restaurant 

license has been issued under § 4.1-206.3 of the Code of 

Virginia is located on the premises of a hotel or motel, whether 

the hotel or motel be under the same or different ownership, 

sales of mixed beverages, including sales of spirits packaged 

in original closed containers purchased from the board, as well 

as authority and other alcoholic beverages, for consumption in 

bedrooms and private rooms of such hotel or motel, may be 

made by the licensee subject to the following conditions in 

addition to other applicable laws: 

1. Spirits sold by the drink as mixed beverages or in original 

closed containers must have been purchased under the mixed 

beverage restaurant license upon purchase forms provided 

by the board authority; 

2. Delivery of sales of mixed beverages and spirits in 

original closed containers shall be made only in to the 

bedroom of the registered guest or to the sponsoring group 

in the private room of a scheduled function. This section 

shall not be construed to prohibit a licensee catering a 

scheduled private function from delivering mixed beverage 

drinks to guests in attendance at such function; 

3. Receipts from the sale of mixed beverages and spirits sold 

in original closed containers, as well as other alcoholic 

beverages, shall be included in the gross receipts from sales 

of all such merchandise made by the licensee; and 

4. Complete and accurate records of sales of mixed 

beverages and sales of spirits in original closed containers to 

registered guests in bedrooms and to sponsors of scheduled 

private functions in private rooms shall be kept separate and 

apart from records of all mixed beverage sales. 

D. Carrier licensees may serve miniatures not in excess of two 

fluid ounces or 50 milliliters, in their original containers, for 

on-premises consumption. 

E. A mixed beverage restaurant may serve as one drink the 

entire contents of a container of soju in its original container 

for on-premises consumption under the following conditions: 

1. The container may be no larger than 375 milliliters. 

2. Each container of soju served must be served for 

consumption by at least two patrons legally eligible to 

consume alcoholic beverages. 

F. A mixed beverage restaurant licensee may infuse, store, 

and sell flavored distilled spirits under the following 

circumstances: 

1. If infused in the original spirits container, the mixed 

beverage stamp must remain affixed to the bottle. 

2. If infused in a container other than the original spirits 

container, the substitute container, which shall not exceed 20 

liters in volume, will be labeled with the following 

information: 

a. Date of infusion; 

b. Brand of spirits; and 

c. Amount of spirits used. 

3. Accurate records must be kept by the mixed beverage 

licensee as to the spirits used in any spirits infusion process. 

4. Licensees infusing distilled spirits shall comply with all 

applicable state and federal food safety regulations. 

G. Mixed beverage licensees may premix containers of 

sangria and other mixed beverages and serve such alcoholic 

beverages in pitchers subject to the following limitations: 

1. Pitchers of mixed beverages may only be sold in 

containers with a maximum capacity of 32 fluid ounces or 

one liter if the container is in metric size containing a spirits 

product mixed with nonalcoholic beverages. 

2. A pitcher of mixed beverages may only be served to two 

or more patrons. A licensee shall not allow any two patrons 

to possess more than one pitcher at any one time. 

3. Containers of premixed sangria and other mixed 

beverages must be labeled as to the type of mixed beverage 

and the quantities of the products used to produce the mixed 

beverage. 

4. Containers of premixed mixed beverages to be served by 

tapping equipment may not contain more than 20 liters in 

volume and must be labeled as to the type of mixed beverage 

and the brand and quantities of the spirits products used to 

produce the mixed beverage. 

H. The board authority may suspend the privilege of a mixed 

beverage licensee to purchase spirits from the board authority 

upon such licensee's failure to submit any records or other 

documents necessary to verify the licensee's compliance with 

applicable minimum food sale requirements within 30 days of 

the date such records or documents are due. 

3VAC5-50-70. Restrictions on construction, arrangement 

and lighting of licensed premises; inspections; obstruction; 

"reasonable hours". 

A. The construction, arrangement, and illumination of the 

dining areas and designated areas and the seating arrangements 

therein of a licensed establishment shall be such as to permit 

ready access and reasonable observation by law-enforcement 

officers and by special agents of the board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority). The interior lighting 

shall be sufficient to permit ready discernment of the 

appearance and conduct of patrons in all portions of such areas. 

B. The board authority and its special agents shall be allowed 

free access during reasonable hours to every place in the 
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Commonwealth where alcoholic beverages are manufactured, 

bottled, stored, offered for sale, or sold, for the purpose of 

examining and inspecting such place. 

C. In addition to special agents, other law-enforcement 

officers in the performance of their official duties shall be 

allowed free access to any retail licensed establishment for the 

purpose of observation of activities on those licensed premises 

during reasonable hours. 

D. Any person who by use of threats, force, or intimidation or 

otherwise impedes or obstructs any special agent or other law-

enforcement officer in the performance of his the agent's or 

officer's official duties from entering or remaining upon any 

licensed establishment shall be guilty of a violation of this 

[ regulation chapter ] and shall be subject to the penalty 

prescribed by § 4.1-349 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. For the purposes of this regulation, the term "reasonable 

hours" shall be deemed to include all business hours of 

operation and any other time at which there exists any 

indication of activity upon the licensed premises. 

3VAC5-50-80. Entreating, urging, or enticing patrons to 

purchase overconsume prohibited. 

No retail licensee shall entreat, urge, or entice any patron of 

his the establishment to purchase overconsume any alcoholic 

beverage;, nor shall such licensee allow any other person to so 

entreat, urge, or entice a patron upon his the licensed premises. 

Entreating, urging or enticing shall include, but not be limited 

to, placing alcoholic beverages in containers of ice which are 

visible, located in public display areas and available to patrons 

of retail establishments for off-premises sales, except for farm 

winery licensees operating at a remote location in connection 

with a wine festival. Knowledge by a manager or employee of 

the licensee of a violation of this section shall be imputed to 

the licensee. 

This section shall not be construed to prohibit the taking of 

orders in the regular course of business, the purchase of a drink 

by one patron for another patron as a matter of normal social 

intercourse, nor advertising in accordance with regulations of 

the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority. 

3VAC5-50-90. Storage of alcoholic beverages generally; 

permits for storage; exception. 

A. Alcoholic beverages shall not be stored at any premises 

other than those described in the license, except upon a permit 

issued by the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority. 

B. The licensee shall maintain at all times as a part of the 

records required by 3VAC5-70-90, an accurate inventory 

reflecting additions to and withdrawals of stock. Withdrawals 

shall specify: 

1. The name of the person making the withdrawal who shall 

be the licensee or his the licensee's duly authorized agent or 

servant; 

2. The amount withdrawn; and 

3. The place to which transferred. 

C. Draft beer may be stored without permit by a wholesaler 

at a place licensed to do a warehousing business in the 

Commonwealth. 

3VAC5-50-100. Definitions and qualifications for retail off-

premises wine and beer licenses and off-premises beer.... 

A. Retail off-premises wine and beer licenses as described in 

§ 4.1-206.3 C 1 of the Code of Virginia, excluding gourmet 

shops, may be issued to persons operating the following types 

of those establishments, provided the total monthly sales and 

inventory (cost) of the required commodities listed in the 

definitions are not less than those shown: 

1. "Delicatessen." An establishment which sells a variety of 

prepared foods or foods requiring little preparation such as 

cheeses, salads, cooked meats and related condiments: 

Monthly sales......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost)....................................................... $2,000 

2. "Drugstore." An establishment selling medicines prepared 

by a licensed pharmacist according to prescription and other 

medicines and articles of home and general use: 

Monthly sales.......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost)....................................................... $2,000 

3. "Grocery store." An establishment that sells food and 

other items intended for human consumption, including a 

variety of ingredients commonly used in the preparation of 

meals: 

Monthly sales.......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost)....................................................... $2,000 

4. "Convenience grocery store." An establishment that has 

an enclosed room in a permanent structure where stock is 

displayed and offered for sale, and maintains an inventory of 

edible items intended for human consumption, consisting of 

a variety of such items of the type normally sold in grocery 

stores: 

Monthly sales.......................................................... $2,000 

Inventory (cost)....................................................... $2,000 

In regard to both grocery stores and convenience grocery 

stores, "edible items" shall mean such items normally used 

in the preparation of meals, including liquids. 

5. B. "Gourmet shop." An establishment provided with 

adequate inventory, shelving, and storage facilities where, in 

consideration of payment, substantial amounts of domestic and 

imported wines and beers of various types and sizes and related 
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products, such as cheese and gourmet foods, are habitually 

furnished to persons: 

Monthly sales.......................................................... $1,000 

Inventory (cost)....................................................... $1,000 

B. C. The board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (authority) may grant a license to an establishment 

not meeting the qualifying figures in subsections A and B of 

this section, provided it affirmatively appears that there is a 

substantial public demand for such an establishment and that 

public convenience will be promoted by the issuance of the 

license. 

C. The board in D. When determining the eligibility of an 

establishment for a license, the authority shall give 

consideration to, but shall not be limited to, the following: 

1. The extent to which sales of required commodities are 

secondary or merely incidental to sales of all products sold 

in such establishment; 

2. The extent to which a variety of edible items of the types 

normally found in grocery stores are sold; and 

3. The extent to which such establishment is constructed, 

arranged, or illuminated to allow reasonable observation of 

the age and sobriety of purchasers of alcoholic beverages. 

D. E. Notwithstanding the above subsections A through D of 

this section, the board authority may issue a temporary license 

for any of [ the ] above retail operations licenses listed in § 4.1-

206.3 C 1 of the Code of Virginia. Such licenses may be issued 

only after application has been filed in accordance with § 4.1-

230 of the Code of Virginia and in cases where the sole 

objection to issuance of a license is that the establishment will 

not be qualified in terms of the sale of food or edible items. If 

a temporary license is issued, the board authority shall conduct 

an audit of the business after a reasonable period of operation 

not to exceed 180 days. Should the business be qualified, the 

license applied for may be issued. If the business is not 

qualified, the application will become the subject of a hearing 

if the applicant so desires. No further temporary license shall 

be issued to the applicant or to any other person with respect to 

that establishment for a period of one year from the expiration 

and, once the application becomes the subject of a hearing, no 

temporary license may be issued. 

3VAC5-50-110. Definitions and qualifications for retail on-

premises and on-premises and off-premises licenses 

generally; mixed beverage licensee requirements; 

exceptions; temporary licenses. 

A. The following definitions shall apply to retail licensees 

with on-premises consumption privileges and mixed beverage 

licensees where appropriate: 

1. "Bona fide, full-service restaurant" means an established 

place of business where meals are regularly sold to persons 

and that has adequate facilities and sufficient employees for 

cooking, preparing, and serving such meals for consumption 

at tables in dining areas on the premises. 

2. "Counter" means a long, narrow surface with stools or 

chairs along one side for the patrons, behind which 

refreshments or meals are prepared and served. 

3. "Designated area" means a room or an area in which a 

licensee may exercise the privilege of his the license, the 

location, equipment, and facilities of which room or area 

have been approved by the board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority). The facilities shall 

be such that patrons may purchase food prepared on the 

premises for consumption on the premises at substantially 

all times that alcoholic beverages are offered for sale therein. 

4. "Dining area" means a public room or area in which meals 

are regularly sold at substantially all hours that alcoholic 

beverages are offered for sale therein. 

5. "Meal" means a selection of foods for one individual, 

served and eaten especially at one of the customary, regular 

occasions for taking food during the day, such as breakfast, 

lunch, or dinner, that consists of at least one main dish of 

meat, fish, poultry, legumes, nuts, seeds, eggs, or other 

protein sources, accompanied by vegetable, fruit, grain, or 

starch products. 

6. "Table" means an article of furniture supported by one or 

more vertical legs or similar supports and having a flat 

horizontal surface suitable for the service of meals, not 

immediately adjacent to the area where refreshments or 

meals are prepared. 

B. Wine and beer. Retail on-premises or on-premises and off-

premises licenses may be granted to persons operating the 

following types of establishments, provided that meals or other 

foods are regularly sold at substantially all hours that wine and 

beer are offered for sale and the total monthly food sales for 

consumption in dining areas and other designated areas on the 

premises are not less than those shown: 

1. "Boat" (on premises only). A common carrier of 

passengers for which a certificate as a sight-seeing carrier by 

boat, or a special or charter party by boat has been issued by 

the State Corporation Commission, habitually serving food 

on the boat: 

Monthly sales..........................................................$2,000 

2. "Restaurant." A bona fide dining establishment with 

special space and accommodation where, in consideration of 

payment, meals with entrees or other foods prepared on the 

premises are regularly sold: 

Monthly sales..........................................................$2,000 

3. "Hotel." Any duly licensed establishment, provided with 

special space and accommodation, where, in consideration 

of payment, meals and other food prepared on the premises 
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and lodging are habitually furnished to persons and which 

has four or more bedrooms: 

Monthly sales..........................................................$2,000 

In regard to both restaurants and hotels, at least $1,000 of the 

required monthly sales must be in the form of meals. 

4. "Gourmet Oyster House." Any duly licensed 

establishment, located on the premises of a commercial 

marina and permitted by the [ Virginia ] Department of 

Health to serve oysters and other fresh seafood for 

consumption on the premises, where the licensee also offers 

to the public events for the purpose of featuring oysters and 

other seafood products: 

Monthly sales of oysters and other seafood….....$1,000 

$2,000 

C. Mixed beverage licenses. Mixed beverage restaurant 

licenses may be granted to persons operating bona fide, full-

service restaurants. 

1. Service of food in a bona fide, full-service restaurant shall 

consist of serving the food to the table on plates or 

appropriate dinnerware, accompanied by appropriate 

tableware. The board authority may approve the issuance of 

a mixed beverage restaurant license to a buffet restaurant if 

(i) both alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverage service is 

provided at the table and (ii) actual sales show that the 

requirements of subdivision D 2 of this section subsection 

are met. 

2. Monthly sales of food prepared on the premises of a mixed 

beverage restaurant licensee shall not be less than $4,000, of 

which at least $2,000 shall be in the form of meals. 

3. A mixed beverage restaurant licensee must have at least 

as many seats at tables as at counters. 

4. A mixed beverage restaurant licensee shall have food, 

cooked or prepared on the licensed premises, available for 

on-premises consumption until at least 30 minutes prior to 

an establishment's closing. Such food shall be available in 

all areas of the licensed premises in which spirits are sold or 

served. This provision shall not apply to mixed beverage 

casino licensees. 

D. The board authority may grant a license to an 

establishment not meeting the qualifying figures in this 

section, provided that the establishment otherwise is qualified 

under the applicable provisions of the Code of Virginia and this 

section, if it affirmatively appears that there is a substantial 

public demand for such an establishment and that the public 

convenience will be promoted by the issuance of the license. 

E. Notwithstanding subsections A through D of this section, 

the board authority may issue a temporary license for any of 

the retail operations in subsections A through D of this section. 

Such licenses may be issued only after application has been 

filed in accordance with § 4.1-230 of the Code of Virginia, and 

in cases where the sole objection to issuance of a license is that 

the establishment will not be qualified in terms of the sale of 

food or edible items. If a temporary license is issued, the board 

authority shall conduct an audit of the business after a 

reasonable period of operation not to exceed 180 days. Should 

the business be qualified, the license applied for may be issued. 

If the business is not qualified, the application will become the 

subject of a hearing if the applicant so desires. No further 

temporary license shall be issued to the applicant or to any 

other person with respect to the establishment for a period of 

one year from expiration and, once the application becomes the 

subject of a hearing, no temporary license may be issued. 

F. An outside terrace or patio, the location, equipment, and 

facilities of which have been approved by the board authority, 

may be approved as a "dining area" or as a "designated area" 

in the discretion of the board authority. 

G. Limited mixed beverage licenses may be granted to 

persons operating restaurants as defined in § 4.1-100 of the 

Code of Virginia, provided that food is regularly sold at 

substantially all hours that alcoholic beverages are offered for 

sale, and the total monthly food sales of food cooked or 

prepared on the premises for consumption in dining areas and 

other designated areas on the premises are not less than $2,000. 

H. Wine may be served for on-premises consumption in 

carafes or decanters not exceeding 52 fluid ounces (1.5 liters) 

in capacity. Beer may be served for on-premises consumption 

in pitchers not exceeding 80 fluid ounces in capacity. 

3VAC5-50-130. Clubs; applications; qualifications; 

reciprocal arrangements; changes; financial statements. 

A. Each applicant for a club license shall furnish the 

following information: 

1. A certified copy of the charter, articles of association, or 

constitution; 

2. A copy of the bylaws; 

3. A list of the officers and directors showing names, 

addresses, ages, and business employment; 

4. The average current number of members for the preceding 

12 months. Only natural persons may be members of clubs; 

and 

5. A financial statement for the latest calendar or fiscal year 

of the club, and a brief summary of the financial condition 

as of the end of the month next preceding the date of 

application. 

B. In determining whether an applicant qualifies under the 

statutory definition of a club, as well as whether a club license 

should be suspended or revoked, the board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority) will consider, but is 

not limited to, the following factors: 

1. The club's purposes and its compliance with the purposes; 
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2. The club's qualification for tax exempt tax-exempt status 

from federal and state income taxes; and 

3. The club's permitted use of club premises by nonmembers, 

including reciprocal arrangements. 

C. The club shall limit nonmember use of club premises 

according to this section and shall notify the board authority 

each time the club premises are used in accordance with 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. The notice shall be received 

by the board authority at least two business days in advance of 

any such event. 

1. A licensed club may (i) hold public events at the licensed 

premises, such events allowing nonmembers to attend and 

participate in the event at the licensed premises; or (ii) allow 

its premises to be used by organizations or groups who 

obtain banquet or banquet special events licenses. The total 

number of such events in both categories may not exceed 24 

per calendar year. 

2. The number of times a nonmember may patronize a club 

as a guest of any member during any given period of time 

should be stipulated in the bylaws of the club. The licensee 

shall limit the number of times a nonmember may visit the 

club and require the nonmember to be accompanied by a 

club member. If at any time club occupancy consists of more 

nonmembers than club members, it shall be deemed a 

violation of this chapter unless it is a public event pursuant 

to this section. In the case of a homeowner's association, 

unlimited guest visitations may be allowed as long as the 

guest is accompanied by an association member. 

3. A member of a licensed club may sponsor private 

functions on club premises for an organization or group of 

which he the club member is also a member, such attendees 

being guests of the sponsoring club member. A nonmember 

attending a member-sponsored private function shall not be 

counted as a guest with respect to the club's guest 

restrictions. 

3. Additionally, there 4. There shall be no limitation on the 

numbers of times a licensed club may allow its premises to 

be used by organizations or groups if alcoholic beverages are 

not served at such functions. 

D. Persons who are resident members of other clubs located 

at least 100 miles from the club licensed by the board authority 

(the "host club") and who are accorded privileges in the host 

club by reason of bona fide, prearranged reciprocal 

arrangements between the host club and such clubs shall be 

considered guests of the host club and deemed to have 

members' member privileges with respect to the use of its 

facilities. The reciprocal arrangements shall be set out in a 

written agreement and approved by the board authority prior to 

the exercise of the privileges thereunder of the agreement. 

The mileage limitations of this subsection notwithstanding, 

members of private, nonprofit clubs or private clubs operated 

for profit located in separate cities which that are licensed by 

the board authority to operate mixed beverage restaurants on 

their respective premises and which that have written 

agreements approved by the board authority for reciprocal 

dining privileges may be considered guests of the host club and 

deemed to have members' member privileges with respect to 

its dining facilities. 

E. Any change in the officers and directors of a club shall be 

reported to the board authority within 30 days, and a certified 

copy of any change in the charter, articles of association, or by-

laws bylaws shall be furnished to the board authority within 30 

days thereafter. 

F. Each club licensee shall prepare and sign an annual 

financial statement on forms prescribed by the board authority. 

The statement may be on a calendar year or fiscal year basis, 

but shall be consistent with any established tax year of the club. 

The statement must be prepared and available for inspection on 

the club premises no later than 120 days next following the last 

day of the respective calendar or fiscal year, and each such 

statement must be maintained on the premises for a period of 

three consecutive years. In addition, each club holding a mixed 

beverage license shall be required to prepare and timely submit 

the mixed beverage annual review report required by 3VAC5-

70-90 D. 

3VAC5-50-140. Prohibited conduct on licensed premises. 

A. The following conduct upon any licensed premises is 

prohibited: 

1. The real or simulated display of any portion of the 

genitals, pubic hair, or buttocks, or any portion of the breast 

below the top of the areola, by any employee, or by any other 

person;, except that when entertainers are on a platform or 

stage and reasonably separated from the patrons of the 

establishment, they shall be in conformity with subdivision 

2 of this subsection; 

2. The real or simulated display of any portion of the 

genitals, pubic hair, or anus by an entertainer, or any portion 

of the areola of the breast of a female entertainer. When not 

on a platform or stage and reasonably separate from the 

patrons of the establishment, entertainers shall be in 

conformity with subdivision 1 of this subsection; 

3. Any real or simulated act of sexual intercourse, sodomy, 

masturbation, flagellation, or any other sexual act prohibited 

by law, by any person, whether an entertainer or not; or 

4. The fondling or caressing by any person, whether an 

entertainer or not, of his the person's own or of another's 

breast, genitals, or buttocks. 

As used in this section, the term "reasonably separated" shall 

mean that no portion of the body of an entertainer may come 

in contact with any portion of the body of a patron. 
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B. No mixed beverage licensee shall permit any person 

connected with the licensed business in any capacity to enter 

or remain on the premises with less than a fully-opaque fully 

opaque covering of the genitals, pubic hair, or buttocks, or any 

portion of the breast below the top of the areola. For the 

purposes of this subsection, "connected with the licensed 

business" shall mean: (i) any owner, partner, member, 

manager, agent, or employee of the licensed business; (ii) any 

entertainer or other contractor with the licensed business; or 

(iii) any participant in any contest, display, or other event 

conducted by or at the invitation of the licensed business. 

C. The provisions of this section shall not apply to persons 

operating theaters, concert halls, art centers, museums, or 

similar establishments that are primarily devoted to the arts or 

theatrical performances, when the performances that are 

presented are expressing matters of serious literary, artistic, 

scientific, or political value. 

3VAC5-50-150. Off-premises deliveries on licensed retail 

premises; "drive through" establishments. 

No person holding a license which that authorizes the licensee 

to sell wine or beer at retail for consumption off the premises 

shall deliver such wine or beer to a person on the licensed 

premises other than in the licensed establishment. Deliveries of 

such merchandise to persons through windows, apertures, or 

similar openings at "drive through" or similar establishments, 

whether the persons are in vehicles or otherwise, shall not be 

construed to have been made in the establishments. No sale or 

delivery of such merchandise shall be made to a person who is 

seated in a vehicle. Notwithstanding any provision of law to 

the contrary, such deliveries may be made to (i) a person's 

vehicle if located in a designated parking area of the licensee's 

premises where such person has electronically ordered beer, 

wine, or farm wine in advance of the delivery; or (ii) such other 

locations as may be permitted by board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority regulation. 

3VAC5-50-170. Caterer's license; qualifications; 

privileges; restrictions and conditions. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-206.3 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, the 

board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority) may grant a caterer's license to any person: 

1. Engaged on a regular basis in the business of providing 

food and beverages to persons for service at private 

gatherings, or at special events as defined in § 4.1-100 of the 

Code of Virginia or as provided in § 4.1-206.3 A 3 of the 

Code of Virginia, and 

2. With an established place of business with catering gross 

sales average of averaging at least $4,000 per month and 

who has complied with the requirements of the local 

governing body concerning sanitation, health, construction, 

or equipment and who has obtained all local permits or 

licenses which that may be required to conduct such a 

catering business. 

B. The license authorizes the following privileges: 

1. The purchase of spirits, vermouth, and wine produced by 

farm wineries from the board authority; 

2. The purchase of wine and cider from licensed wholesalers 

or farm wineries or the purchase of beer from licensed 

wholesalers; 

3. The retail sale of alcoholic beverages to persons who 

sponsor the private gatherings or special events described in 

subsection A of this section or directly to persons in 

attendance at such events. No banquet or mixed beverage 

special events license is required in either case; and 

4. The storage of alcoholic beverages purchased by the 

caterer at the established and approved place of business. 

C. In addition to other applicable statutes and regulations of 

the board authority, the following restrictions and conditions 

apply to persons licensed as caterers: 

1. Alcoholic beverages may be sold only for on-premises 

consumption to persons in attendance at the gathering or 

event; 

2. The records required to be kept by 3VAC5-70-90 shall be 

maintained by caterers. If the caterer also holds other 

alcoholic beverage licenses, he the caterer shall maintain the 

records relating to his the caterer's business separately from 

the records relating to any other license. Additionally, the 

records shall include the date, time, and place of the event 

and the name and address of the sponsoring person or group 

of each event catered; 

3. The annual gross receipts from the sale of food cooked 

and prepared for service at gatherings and events referred to 

in this regulation chapter, and nonalcoholic beverages 

served there shall amount to at least 45% of the gross 

receipts from the sale of mixed beverages and food; 

4. The caterer shall notify the board authority in writing at 

least 24 hours in advance of any events to be catered under 

his the license. For events to be catered on Saturday, Sunday, 

or holidays on which the board's authority's offices are 

closed, such notice shall be given by close of the last 

business day prior to the event. The notice shall include the 

date, time, location, and address of the event and the name 

of the sponsoring person, group, corporation, or association; 

5. Persons in attendance at a private event at which alcoholic 

beverages are served but not sold under the caterer's license 

may keep and consume their own lawfully acquired 

alcoholic beverages; 

6. The private gathering referred to in subsection A above of 

this section shall be a social function which that is attended 

only by persons who are specifically and individually invited 

by the sponsoring person or organization, not by the caterer; 
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7. The licensee shall insure ensure that all functions at which 

alcoholic beverages are sold are ones which that qualify for 

a banquet license, for a special event license, or a mixed 

beverage special events license. Licensees are entitled to all 

services and equipment now available under a banquet 

license from wholesalers; 

8. A photocopy of the caterer's license must be present at all 

events at which the privileges of the license are exercised; 

and 

9. The caterer's license shall be considered a retail license for 

purposes of § 4.1-216 of the Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-50-180. Volunteer fire departments or volunteer 

rescue squads; banquet facility licenses; restrictions and 

conditions. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-206.3 D 2 b of the Code of Virginia, the 

board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority) may grant banquet facility licenses to volunteer fire 

departments and volunteer rescue squads: 

1. Providing volunteer fire or rescue squad services; 

2. Having as its premises a fire or rescue squad station 

regularly occupied by such fire department or rescue squad; 

and 

3. Being duly recognized by the governing body of the city, 

county, or town in which it is located. 

B. The license authorizes the following privileges: 

The consumption of legally acquired alcoholic beverages on 

the premises of the licensee or on premises other than such fire 

or rescue squad station which are occupied and under the 

control of the licensee while the privilege of its license is being 

exercised, by any person, association, corporation or other 

entity, including the fire department or rescue squad, and bona 

fide members and guests thereof, otherwise eligible for a 

banquet license and entitled to such privilege for a private 

affair or special event. 

C. B. In addition to other applicable statutes and regulations 

of the board authority, the following restrictions and conditions 

apply to persons holding such banquet facility licenses: 

1. Alcoholic beverages cannot be sold or purchased by the 

licensee; 

2. Alcoholic beverages cannot be sold or charged for in any 

way by the person, association, corporation or other entity 

permitted to use the premises; 

3. The private affair referred to in subsection B shall be a 

social function which is attended only by persons who are 

members of the association, corporation or other entity, 

including the fire department or rescue squad, and their bona 

fide guests; 

4. 1. The volunteer fire department or rescue squad shall 

notify the board authority in writing at least two calendar 

days in advance of any affair or event at which the license 

will be used away from the fire department or rescue squad 

station. The notice shall include the date, time, location, and 

address of the event and the identity of the group, and the 

affair or event. Such records of off-site affairs and events 

should be maintained at the fire department or rescue squad 

station for a period of two years; 

5. 2. A photocopy of the banquet facility license shall be 

present at all affairs or events at which the privileges of the 

license are exercised away from the fire or rescue squad 

station; and 

6. 3. The fire department or rescue squad shall comply with 

the requirements of the local governing body concerning 

sanitation, health, construction, or equipment and shall 

obtain all local permits or licenses which that may be 

required to exercise the privilege privileges of its license. 

3VAC5-50-190. Bed and breakfast licenses; restrictions 

and conditions. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-206.3 A 9 of the Code of Virginia, the 

board may grant a bed and breakfast license to any person who 

operates an establishment consisting of: 

1. No more than 15 bedrooms available for rent; 

2. Offering to the public, for compensation, transitory 

lodging or sleeping accommodations; and 

3. Offering at least one meal per day, which may but need 

not be breakfast, to each person to whom overnight lodging 

is provided. 

B. In addition to other applicable statutes and regulations of 

the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, the 

following restrictions and conditions apply to persons licensed 

as bed and breakfast establishments: 

1. Alcoholic beverages served under the privileges conferred 

by the license must be purchased from a government store, 

wine or beer wholesaler, or farm winery; 

2. Alcoholic beverages may be served for on-premises 

consumption to persons who are registered, overnight guests 

and are of legal age to consume alcoholic beverages; 

3. Lodging, meals, and service of alcoholic beverages shall 

be provided at one general price and no additional charges, 

premiums, or surcharges shall be exacted for the service of 

alcoholic beverages; 

4. Alcoholic beverages may be served in dining areas, 

private guest rooms, and other designated areas, including 

outside terraces or patios; 

5. The bed and breakfast establishment, upon request or 

order of lodgers making overnight reservations, may 

purchase and have available for the lodger upon arrival, any 
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alcoholic beverages so ordered, provided that no premium or 

surcharge above the purchase price of the alcoholic 

beverages may be exacted from the consumer for this 

accommodation purchase; 

6. Alcoholic beverages purchased under the license may not 

be commingled or stored with the private stock of alcoholic 

beverages belonging to owners of the bed and breakfast 

establishment; and 

7. The bed and breakfast establishment shall maintain 

complete and accurate records of the purchases of alcoholic 

beverages and provide sufficient evidence that at least one 

meal per day is offered to persons to whom overnight 

lodging is provided. 

3VAC5-50-200. Gift shops; wine and beer off-premises 

licenses; conditions; records; inspections. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-206.3 C 1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

board may grant retail wine and beer off-premises licenses to 

gift shops. Such gift shop may be located (i) on the premises 

or grounds of a government registered national, state or local 

historic building or site or (ii) within the premises of a 

museum. 

B. The following restrictions and conditions apply to gift shop 

licensees: 

1. A gift shop shall be defined as any bona fide retail store 

selling, predominately, (i) floral arrangements or handmade 

arts and crafts, which may include a combination of gifts, 

books, souvenirs, specialty items, collectibles, or other 

original and handmade products; and (ii) which is open to 

the public on a regular basis in a permanent structure where 

stock is displayed and offered for sale and which has 

facilities to properly secure any stock of wine or beer. 

2. The board shall consider the purpose, characteristics, 

nature, and operation of the applicant establishment in 

determining whether it shall be considered a gift shop within 

the meaning of this section. 

3. 1. Gift shop licenses, pursuant to this regulation, shall be 

granted only to persons who have places of business which 

that have been in operation for no less than 12 continuous 

months next preceding the filing of the application. 

4. 2. Gift shop licenses shall authorize the licensees to sell 

wine and beer, which that have been purchased from and 

received at the establishment from farm winery or wholesale 

licensees, to sell such alcoholic beverages unchilled only 

within the interior premises of the gift shop in closed 

containers for off-premises consumption, and to deliver or 

ship the same to purchasers thereof in accordance with Title 

4.1 of the Code of Virginia and regulations of the board 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority). 

5. 3. In granting licenses under this regulation chapter, the 

board authority may impose restrictions and conditions upon 

purchases and sales of wine and beer in accordance with this 

regulation chapter or as may be deemed reasonable by the 

board authority to ensure that the distribution of alcoholic 

beverages is orderly [ , and ] lawful [ , ] and only incidental 

to the principal business of the licensee. In no event may the 

sale of such alcoholic beverages exceed 25% of total annual 

gross sales at the establishment. 

6. 4. Every person licensed to sell alcoholic beverages under 

this regulation chapter shall comply with 3VAC5-70-90. 

3VAC5-50-210. Manner of compensation of employees of 

retail licensees. 

Employees of a retail licensee shall not receive compensation 

based directly, in whole or in part, upon the volume of 

alcoholic beverages sales only; provided, however, that in the 

case of retail wine and beer or beer only licensees, nothing in 

this section shall be construed to prohibit a bona fide 

compensation plan based upon the total volume of sales of the 

business, including receipts from the sale of alcoholic 

beverages. 

3VAC5-50-220. Interests in the businesses of licensees. 

Persons to whom licenses have been issued shall not allow 

any other person to receive a percentage of the income of the 

licensed business or have any beneficial interest in such 

business; provided, however, that nothing in this section shall 

be construed to prohibit: 

1. The payment by the licensee of a franchise fee based in 

whole or in part upon a percentage of the entire gross 

receipts of the business conducted upon the licensed 

premises, where such is reasonable as compared to 

prevailing franchise fees of similar businesses; 

2. Where the licensed business is conducted upon leased 

premises, and the lease when construed as a whole does not 

constitute a shift or device to evade the requirements of this 

section: 

a. The payment of rent based in whole or in part upon a 

percentage of the entire gross receipts of the business, 

where such rent is reasonable as compared to prevailing 

rentals of similar businesses; and 

b. The landlord from imposing standards relating to the 

conduct of the business upon the leased premises, where 

such standards are reasonable as compared to prevailing 

standards in leases of similar businesses and do not 

unreasonably restrict the control of the licensee over the 

sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages; or 

3. The payment by the licensee of a management fee based 

in whole or in part upon a percentage of the entire gross 

receipts of the business conducted under the license where 

the licensee has contracted with a management company or 

promoter to perform operational duties on behalf of the 

licensee, provided that: 
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a. All payments to any management company or promoter 

are less than 10% in aggregate of the gross receipts of the 

business conducted under the license; and 

b. The licensee provides the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Authority (authority) a copy of the contract 

between the licensee and the management company or 

promoter that identifies the management company or 

promoter as an agent of the licensee for the purposes of 

exercising the privileges of the license and holds the 

licensee liable for any violations of the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 of the Code of Virginia) 

or authority regulation committed by the management 

company or promoter. 

3VAC5-50-240. Alcoholic energy drinks beverage displays. 

A. "Alcoholic energy drink" means an alcoholic beverage that 

contains caffeine or other stimulants. 

B. Any establishment licensed to sell beer or wine for off-

premises consumption shall display alcoholic energy drinks for 

sale immediately adjacent to other alcoholic beverage 

products, and not immediately adjacent to any nonalcoholic 

beverages. 

Any establishment licensed to sell beer or wine for off-

premises consumption and that displays beer and wine for sale 

outside of a clearly discernible location reserved for alcoholic 

beverage products shall (i) place no [ such ] alcoholic 

beverages immediately adjacent to any nonalcoholic beverages 

containing the same or similar brand name, logo, or packaging 

and (ii) install additional signage on the shelving or the floor 

display to indicate that the product is an alcoholic beverage. 

Such signage shall be clearly visible to consumers and of 

sufficient size to notify the consumer of the alcohol contents of 

the product. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the sale and 

display of nonalcoholic beer or wine in the same display or 

near similarly branded alcoholic beer or wine products. 

3VAC5-50-250. Confectionery; definition; restrictions; 

labeling. 

A. "Confectionery" means baked goods and candies having 

an alcohol content not more than 5.0% by volume. 

B. Any alcohol contained in such confectionery shall not be 

in liquid form at the time such confectionery is sold. Such 

alcohol shall be fully integrated or blended into the 

confectionery product. 

C. Any such confectionery shall only be sold to those 

individuals who can lawfully consume alcohol. 

D. Subsections A, B, and C of this section shall only apply to 

licenses issued pursuant to § 4.1-206.3 C 3 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

E. Any establishment licensed to sell confectioneries for off-

premises consumption shall properly label the product with 

such label, including: 

1. Notice that the product contains alcohol; 

2. Notice that the product can only be consumed off 

premises; and 

3. Warning that the product should not be consumed by 

anyone younger than 21 years of age. 

3VAC5-50-260. Marketplace license; qualifications; 

application. 

A. The following words and terms, when used in this section, 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

1. "Bona fide customer" means a patron of the business 

enterprise that is seeking to obtain the goods or services of 

the licensee. 

2. "Personalized experience" means goods or services 

catered to the specifications of an individual or event. 

B. The marketplace license is a retail license. A premises 

described in an application for a marketplace license shall be 

subject to any regulations and requirements that apply to 

licensed premises upon which alcoholic beverages may be sold 

at retail for on-premises consumption. The employees who are 

involved in the marketplace licensee's service of 

complimentary alcoholic beverages shall be subject to the 

regulations and requirements that apply to employees of 

licensed establishments selling wine or beer at retail. A 

marketplace licensee's alcoholic beverage control manager 

shall be subject to the same regulations and requirements as 

designated managers of licensed establishments selling wine or 

beer at retail. 

C. Marketplace licensees shall be subject to all requirements 

of 3VAC5-70-90 that apply to licensed premises upon which 

beer or wine may be sold at retail. In addition, every 

marketplace licensee shall keep complete, accurate, and 

separate records of the complimentary service of alcoholic 

beverages. Such records shall include accurate accounts of 

daily service of alcoholic beverages, by the drink, showing the 

kinds and quantities of alcoholic beverages served. 

D. In addition to the requirements in § 4.1-206.3 E of the 

Code of Virginia, the Board of Directors of the Virginia 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority may also consider other 

requirements for licensure that the Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority may deem appropriate to protect 

the public health, safety, and welfare based on a review of the 

application and determinations of the Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority, Bureau of Law Enforcement 

during the investigation of the applicant. 

E. Any person licensed pursuant to § 4.1-206 A 9, A 11, A 

12, A 14, A 18, or A 19 of the Code of Virginia prior to July 1, 

2021, that wishes to maintain licensure after December 31, 

2021, shall apply for a marketplace license on or before July 1, 

2021. If the licensee fails to apply for a marketplace license, 
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the licensee shall be authorized to continue to operate under 

such license until the expiration of its original term. 

F. Any person licensed pursuant to § 4.1-206 A 9, A 11, A 

12, A 14, A 18, or A 19 of the Code of Virginia prior to July 1, 

2021, whose license expires prior to December 31, 2021, and 

wishes to renew the license, may renew the license for another 

year and shall be authorized to continue to operate under such 

license until the expiration of that term. At least 60 days prior 

to the expiration of that term, the licensee shall apply for a 

marketplace license if the licensee wishes to maintain licensure 

following the expiration of the renewed license. 

G. Any persons not currently licensed may apply for issuance 

of a license pursuant to § 4.1-206 A 9, A 11, A 12, A 14, A 18, 

or A 19 of the Code of Virginia on or before December 31, 

2021. If such license is issued, the licensee shall be authorized 

to continue to operate under such license until the expiration of 

that term. At least 60 days prior to the expiration of that term, 

the licensee shall apply for a marketplace license if the licensee 

wishes to maintain licensure following the expiration of the 

issued license. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7512; Filed December 12, 2024, 10:15 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-60. Manufacturers and 

Wholesalers Operations (amending 3VAC5-60-10 through 

3VAC5-60-50, 3VAC5-60-70, 3VAC5-60-100; repealing 

3VAC5-60-60, 3VAC5-60-80, 3VAC5-60-90). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 26, 2025. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 

Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) rearrange requirements into the 

appropriate sections; (ii) remove references to "retail off-

premises" wineries that now have off-premises privileges; 

(iii) increase the amount of indemnifying bond required of 

wholesale wine licensees to $10,000; (iv) add terms; and (v) 

repeal unnecessary requirements. Changes to the proposed 

regulation are nonsubstantive and include clarifying sample 

sizes and clarifying violations regarding failure to pay 

monthly taxes or to submit monthly reports. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

3VAC5-60-10. Solicitor salesmen salespersons; records; 

employment restrictions; wine and beer importer licenses; 

conditions for exercise of license privileges; suspension or 

revocation of permits. 

A. A solicitor salesman salesperson employed by any out-of-

state wholesaler to solicit the sale of or sell wine or beer shall 

keep complete and accurate records for a period of two years, 

reflecting all expenses incurred by him the salesperson in 

connection with the solicitation of the sale of his the 

salesperson's employer's products and shall, upon request, 

furnish the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (authority) with a certified copy of such records. 

B. A solicitor salesman salesperson must be 18 years old of 

age or older to solicit the sale of wine or beer and may not be 

employed at the same time by an out-of-state wholesaler and 

by a licensee to solicit the sale of or sell wine or beer. 

C. The board may suspend or revoke the permit of a solicitor 

salesman if it shall have reasonable cause to believe that any 

cause exists which would justify the board in refusing to issue 

such person a license, or that such person has violated any 

provision of this section or committed any other act that would 

justify the board in suspending or revoking a license. 

Before suspending or revoking such permit, the board shall 

accord the solicitor salesman the same notice, opportunity to 

be heard, and follow the same administrative procedures 

accorded a licensee cited for a violation of Title 4.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

C. The authority shall approve such forms as are necessary to 

facilitate compliance with § 4.1-218 of the Code of Virginia. 

Any document executed by or on behalf of brand owners for 

the purpose of designating wine or beer importer licensees as 

the authorized representative of such brand owner must be 

signed by a person authorized by the brand owner to do so. If 

such person is not an employee of the brand owner, then such 

document must be accompanied by a written power of attorney 

that provides that the person executing the document on behalf 

of the brand owner is the attorney-in-fact of the brand owner 

and has full power and authority from the brand owner to 

execute the required statements on the brand owner's behalf. 

The authority may approve a limited power of attorney form to 

effectuate provisions of this subsection. 

D. When filing the list required by § 4.1-218 of the Code of 

Virginia of all wholesale licensees authorized by a wine or beer 

importer to distribute brands of wine or beer in the 

Commonwealth, wine and beer importer licensees shall 

comply with the provisions of the Wine and Beer Franchise 

Acts (Chapters 4 (§ 4.1-400 et seq.) and 5 (§ 4.1-500 et seq.) 

of the Code of Virginia) pertaining to designations of primary 

areas of responsibility in the case of wholesale wine licensees 

and designation of sales territories in the case of wholesale beer 

licensees. 

E. In the event that, subsequent to the filing of [ a the ] brand 

owner's authorization for a licensed importer to import any 

brand of wine or beer, the importer makes arrangements to sell 
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and deliver or ship additional brands of wine or beer into the 

Commonwealth, the privileges of the importer's license shall 

not extend to such additional brands until the licensee complies 

with the requirements of § 4.1-218 of the Code of Virginia and 

this section in relation to each such additional brand. Likewise, 

if [ a the ] brand owner who has previously authorized a 

licensed importer to import one or more of its brands of wine 

or beer into the Commonwealth should subsequently withdraw 

from the importer its authority to import such brand, it shall be 

incumbent upon such importer to make a supplemental filing 

of its brand owner authorizing documents indicating the 

deletion of any such brands of wine or beer. 

F. The provisions of subsections A through E of this section 

shall not impair contracts in existence or entered into prior to 

July 1, 1991, between a licensed importer and the licensed 

importer's supplier or brand owner. 

G. Solicitation of a mixed beverage licensee [ for such 

purpose ] other than by a permittee of the authority and in the 

manner authorized by this section shall be prohibited. 

H. Permits for mixed beverage solicitor salesperson. 

1. No person shall solicit a mixed beverage licensee unless 

such person has been issued a permit. To obtain a permit, a 

person shall: 

a. Register with the authority by filing an application on 

such forms as prescribed by the authority; 

b. Pay the fee in advance; 

c. Submit with the application a letter of authorization 

from the manufacturer, brand owner, or a duly designated 

United States agent of each specific brand of spirits that 

the permittee is authorized to represent on behalf of the 

manufacturer or brand owner in the Commonwealth; and 

d. Be [ an individual ] at least 21 years of age. 

2. Each permit shall expire yearly on June 30, unless sooner 

suspended or revoked by the authority. 

3. A permit issued pursuant to this chapter shall authorize 

the permittee to solicit or promote only the brand of spirits 

that the permittee has been issued written authorization to 

represent on behalf of the manufacturer, brand owner, or a 

duly designated United States agent and provided that a 

letter of authorization from the manufacturer or brand owner 

to the permittee specifying the brand such permittee is 

authorized to represent shall be on file with the authority. 

Until written authorization or a letter of authorization, in a 

form authorized by the authority, is received and filed with 

the authority for a particular brand of spirits, there shall be 

no solicitation or promotion of such product by the 

permittee. Further, no amendment, withdrawal, or 

revocation, in whole or in part, of a letter of authorization on 

file with the authority shall be effective as against the 

authority until written notice is received and filed with the 

authority and, until the authority receives such notice, the 

permittee shall be deemed to be the authorized 

representative of the manufacturer or brand owner for the 

brand specified on the most current authorization on file with 

the authority. 

I. Records for mixed beverage solicitor salespersons. A 

permittee shall keep complete and accurate records of the 

permittee's solicitation of any mixed beverage licensee for a 

period of two years, reflecting all expenses incurred by the 

permittee in connection with the solicitation of the sale of the 

permittee's employer's products and shall, upon request, 

furnish the authority with a copy of such records. 

J. Permitted activities for mixed beverage solicitor 

salespersons. Solicitation by a permittee shall be limited to the 

permittee's authorized brand; may include contact, meetings 

with, or programs for the benefit of mixed beverage licensees 

and employees of the [ licensee licensees ] on the licensed 

premises; and, in conjunction with solicitation, a permittee 

may: 

1. Directly or indirectly distribute written educational 

material, up to one item per retailer and one item per 

employee per visit, that may not be displayed on the licensed 

premises; distribute novelty and specialty items bearing 

spirits advertising not in excess of $10 in wholesale value in 

quantities equal to the number of employees of the retail 

establishment present at the time the items are delivered; and 

provide film or video presentations of spirits that are 

essentially educational to licensees and [ their ] employees 

only and that are not for display or viewing by customers; 

2. Provide to a mixed beverage licensee sample servings 

from containers of spirits and furnish one unopened sample 

container no larger than 375 milliliters [ (or 750 milliliters if 

the product is not marketed in a 375 milliliter container) ] of 

each brand being promoted by the permittee and not sold by 

the licensee. [ Such containers and Both the ] sample 

[ containers container used for serving and the unopened 

furnished container ] shall be purchased at a government 

store and bear the permittee's permit number and the word 

"sample" in reasonable sized lettering on the container [ or 

sample container label; further. Further ], the spirits 

container [ used for serving ] shall remain the property of the 

permittee and may not be left with the licensee [ , and any 

sample containers. Any unopened container ] left with the 

licensee [ pursuant to this subsection ] shall not be sold by 

the licensee; 

3. Promote the permittee's authorized brands of spirits at 

conventions, trade association meetings, or similar 

gatherings of organizations, a majority of whose 

membership consists of mixed beverage licensees or spirits 

representatives for the benefit of [ their ] members and 

guests, and shall be limited to: 

a. Sample servings from containers of spirits purchased 

from government stores when the spirits donated are 

intended for consumption during the gathering; 
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b. Displays of spirits in closed containers bearing the word 

"sample" in lettering of reasonable size and informational 

signs, provided such merchandise is not sold or given 

away, except as permitted in this section; 

c. Distribution of informational brochures, pamphlets, and 

the like, relating to spirits; 

d. Distribution of novelty and specialty items bearing 

spirits advertising not in excess of $10 in wholesale value; 

e. Film or video presentations of spirits that are essentially 

educational; 

f. Displays at the event of the brands being promoted by 

the permittee; 

g. Rental of display booth space if the rental fee is the same 

as paid by all exhibitors at the event; 

h. Provision of [ its own ] hospitality that is independent 

from activities sponsored by the association or 

organization holding the event; 

i. Purchase of tickets to functions and payment of 

registration fees if the payments or fees are the same as 

paid by all attendees, participants, or exhibitors at the 

event; and 

j. Payment for advertisements in programs or brochures 

issued by the association or organization holding the event 

if the total payments made for all such advertisements do 

not exceed $300 per year for any association or 

organization holding the event; or 

4. Provide or offer to provide point-of-sale advertising 

material to licensees as provided in 3VAC5-20-20 or 

3VAC5-30-80. 

K. Prohibited activities. A mixed beverage solicitor 

salesperson permittee shall not: 

1. Sell spirits to any licensee, solicit or receive orders for 

spirits from any licensee, provide or offer to provide cash 

discounts or cash rebates to any licensee, or negotiate any 

contract or contract terms for the sale of spirits with a 

licensee; 

2. Discount or offer to discount any merchandise or other 

alcoholic beverages as an inducement to sell or offer to sell 

spirits to licensees; 

3. Provide or offer to provide gifts, entertainment, or other 

forms of gratuity to licensees, except that a permittee may 

provide a licensee "routine business entertainment," as 

defined in 3VAC5-30-70, subject to the same conditions and 

limitations that apply to wholesalers and manufacturers 

under 3VAC5-30-70; 

4. Provide or offer to provide any equipment, furniture, 

fixtures, property, or other thing of value to licensees, except 

as permitted by this regulation; 

5. Purchase or deliver spirits or other alcoholic beverages for 

or to licensees or provide any services as inducements to 

licensees, except that this provision shall not preclude the 

sale or delivery of wine or beer by a licensed wholesaler; 

6. Be [ employed, ] directly or indirectly [ employed, ] in the 

manufacturing, bottling, importing, or wholesaling of spirits 

and simultaneously be employed by a retail licensee; 

7. Solicit licensees on any premises other than on the 

licensee's licensed premises or at conventions, trade 

association meetings, or similar gatherings as permitted in 

subdivision D 3 of this section; 

8. Solicit or promote any brand of spirits without having on 

file with the authority a letter from the manufacturer or brand 

owner authorizing the permittee to represent such brand in 

the Commonwealth; or 

9. Engage in solicitation of spirits other than as authorized 

by law. 

L. Refusal, suspension, or revocation of permits. 

1. The authority may refuse, suspend, or revoke a permit if 

it has reasonable cause to believe that any cause exists that 

would justify the authority in refusing to issue such person a 

license or that such person has violated any provision of this 

section or committed any other act that would justify the 

authority in suspending or revoking a license. 

2. Before refusing, suspending, or revoking such permit, the 

authority shall follow the same administrative procedures 

accorded an applicant or licensee under the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) and regulations of the authority. 

3VAC5-60-20. Wines; purchase orders generally; 

wholesale wine licensees. 

A. Purchases of wine between the board, Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority) licensees or persons 

outside the Commonwealth shall be executed only on order 

forms prescribed by the board authority and provided at cost if 

supplied by the department authority. 

B. Wholesale wine licensees shall comply with the following 

procedures: 

1. Purchase orders. A copy of each purchase order for wine 

and a copy of any change in such order shall be forwarded 

to the board authority by the wholesale wine licensee at the 

time the order is placed or changed. Upon receipt of 

shipment, one copy of such purchase order shall be 

forwarded to the board authority by the licensee reflecting 

accurately reflecting the date received and any changes. In 

lieu of forwarding copies of purchase orders to the board 

authority, a wholesale licensee may submit a report to the 

board authority monthly, in a format approved by the board 

authority, of all purchase orders for the previous month. The 

report must be submitted to the board authority on or before 

the 15th day of the succeeding month. 
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2. Sales in the Commonwealth. Separate invoices shall be 

used for all nontaxed wine sales in the Commonwealth and 

a copy of each such invoice shall be furnished to the board 

authority upon completion of the sale. In lieu of forwarding 

copies of invoices to the board authority, a wholesale 

licensee may submit a report to the board authority monthly, 

in a format approved by the board authority, of all invoices 

for the previous month. The report must be submitted to the 

board authority on or before the 15th day of the succeeding 

month. 

3. Out-of-state sales. Separate sales invoices shall be used 

for wine sold outside the Commonwealth and a copy of each 

such invoice shall be furnished to the board authority upon 

completion of the sale. In lieu of forwarding copies of 

invoices to the board authority, a wholesale licensee may 

submit a report to the board authority monthly, in a format 

approved by the board, of all invoices for the previous 

month. The report must be submitted to the board authority 

on or before the 15th day of the succeeding month. 

4. Peddling. A maximum of two cases or 24 bottles of wine 

may be peddled to retail licensees during an invoiced 

delivery, provided that the wholesale wine licensee provides 

a revised purchase order indicating the additional wine 

peddled during the transaction. 

5. Repossession. Repossession of wine sold to a retailer shall 

be accomplished on forms prescribed by the board authority 

and provided at cost if supplied by the board authority, and 

in compliance with the instructions on the forms. 

6. Reports to the board authority. Each month wholesale 

wine licensees shall, on forms or an electronic system 

prescribed by the board authority and in accordance with the 

instructions set forth therein in this section, report to the 

board authority the purchases and sales made during the 

preceding month, and the amount of state wine tax collected 

from retailers pursuant to §§ 4.1-234 and 4.1-235 of the 

Code of Virginia. Each wholesale wine licensee shall, on 

forms or an electronic system prescribed by the board 

authority, on a quarterly basis indicate the quantity of wine 

on hand at the close of business on the last day of the last 

month of the preceding quarter based on actual physical 

inventory by brands. Reports shall be accompanied by 

remittance for the amount of taxes collected, less any 

refunds, replacements, or adjustments and shall be 

postmarked or submitted electronically no later than the 15th 

of the month, or if the 15th is not a business day falls on a 

Saturday, Sunday, or state or federal holiday, the next 

business day thereafter. 

3VAC5-60-25. Winery, farm winery, and brewery licenses; 

reports. 

A. On or before the 15th day of each month, each winery, and 

farm winery licensee, or on or before the 10th day of each 

month each brewery licensee shall, on forms or an electronic 

system prescribed by the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Authority (authority) and in accordance with the 

instructions set forth therein in this chapter, file a report with 

the board authority of sales made in the previous calendar 

month. Tax payment in accordance with § 4.1-234 or 4.1-236 

of the Code of Virginia shall be made with the submission of 

this report. 

B. On or before the 10th day of each month, each brewery 

licensee shall, on forms or an electronic system prescribed by 

the authority and in accordance with the instructions set forth 

in this chapter, file a report with the authority of sales made in 

the previous calendar month. Tax payment in accordance with 

§ [ 4.1-234 or ] 4.1-236 [ or 4.1-239 ] of the Code of Virginia 

shall be made with the submission of this report. 

3VAC5-60-30. Procedures for retail off-premises winery 

licenses; purchase orders; segregation, identification, and 

storage. 

A. Wine offered for sale by a retail off-premises winery 

licensee shall be procured on order forms prescribed by the 

board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority) and provided at cost if supplied by the board 

authority. The order shall be accompanied by the correct 

amount of state wine tax levied by § 4.1-234 of the Code of 

Virginia, due the Commonwealth in cash, as defined in 

3VAC5-30-30. 

B. Wine procured for sale at retail shall be segregated from 

all other wine and stored only at a location on the premises 

approved by the board authority. The licensee shall place his 

the licensee's license number and the date of the order on each 

container of wine so stored for sale at retail. Only wine 

acquired, segregated, and identified as herein required per the 

requirements of this section may be offered for sale at retail. 

3VAC5-60-40. Indemnifying bond required of wholesale 

wine licenses. 

No wholesale wine license shall be issued unless there shall 

be on file with the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (authority) an indemnifying bond running to the 

Commonwealth in the penalty of $2,500 $10,000, with the 

licensee as principal and some good and responsible surety 

company authorized to transact business in the Commonwealth 

as surety, conditioned upon the faithful compliance with 

requirements of Title 4.1 the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act 

(§ 4.1-100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and the regulations 

of the board authority. 

A wholesale wine licensee may request in writing a waiver of 

the surety and the bond by the board authority for good cause 

shown. If the waiver is granted, the board authority may 

withdraw such waiver of surety and bond at any time for good 

cause. 
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3VAC5-60-50. Records required of distillers, winery 

licensees, and farm winery licensees; procedures for 

distilling for another; farm wineries. 

A person holding a distiller's, winery, or a farm winery license 

shall comply with the following procedures: 

1. Records. Complete and accurate records shall be kept at 

the licensee's place of business for a period of two years, 

which records shall be available during reasonable hours for 

inspection by any member of the board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority) or its special agents. 

Such records shall include the following information: 

a. The amount in liters and alcoholic content of each type 

of alcoholic beverage manufactured during each calendar 

month; 

b. The amount of alcoholic beverages on hand at the end 

of each calendar month; 

c. Withdrawals of alcoholic beverages for sale to the board 

authority or licensees; 

d. Withdrawals of alcoholic beverages for shipment 

outside of the Commonwealth, showing: 

(1) Name and address of consignee; 

(2) Date of shipment; and 

(3) Alcoholic content, brand name, type of beverage, size 

of container, and quantity of shipment; 

e. Purchases of cider or wine, including: 

(1) Date of purchase; 

(2) Name and address of vendor; 

(3) Amount of purchase readily calculable in liters; and 

(4) Amount of consideration paid; and 

f. A distiller employed to distill any alcoholic beverage 

shall include in his the distiller's records the name and 

address of his the distiller's employer for such purpose, the 

amount of grain, fruit products, or other substances 

delivered by such employer, the type, amount in liters, and 

alcoholic content of alcoholic beverage distilled 

therefrom, the place where stored, and the date of the 

transaction. 

2. Distillation for another. A distiller manufacturing spirits 

for another person shall: 

a. At all times during distillation keep segregated and 

identifiable the grain, fruit, fruit products, or other 

substances furnished by the owner thereof of those items; 

b. Keep the alcoholic beverages distilled for such person 

segregated in containers bearing the date of distillation, 

the name of the owner, the amount in liters, and the type 

and alcoholic content of each container; and 

c. Release the alcoholic beverages so distilled to the 

custody of the owner, or otherwise, only upon a written 

permit issued by the board authority. 

3. Farm wineries. A farm winery shall keep complete, 

accurate, and separate records of fresh fruits or other 

agricultural products grown or produced elsewhere and 

obtained for the purpose of manufacturing wine. Each farm 

winery must comply with the provisions of § 4.1-219 of the 

Code of Virginia for its applicable class of winery license 

relating to production of fresh fruits or other agricultural 

products. As provided in § 4.1-219, the board authority, 

upon petition by the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, may grant a waiver from the production 

requirements. 

3VAC5-60-60. Wine or beer importer licenses; conditions 

for exercise of license privileges. (Repealed.) 

A. In addition to complying with the requirements of § 4.1-

206.1 of the Code of Virginia, pertaining to wine and beer 

importer licenses, holders of wine and beer importer licenses 

must comply with § 4.1-218 in order to exercise the privileges 

of such licenses. The board shall approve such forms as are 

necessary to facilitate compliance with § 4.1-218. Any 

document executed by, or on behalf of, brand owners for the 

purpose of designating wine or beer importer licensees as the 

authorized representative of such brand owner must be signed 

by a person authorized by the brand owner to do so. If such 

person is not an employee of the brand owner, then such 

document must be accompanied by a written power of attorney 

which provides that the person executing the document on 

behalf of the brand owner is the attorney-in-fact of the brand 

owner and has full power and authority from the brand owner 

to execute the required statements on its behalf. The board may 

approve a limited power of attorney form in order to effectuate 

the aforesaid provision. 

B. When filing the list required by § 4.1-218 of the Code of 

Virginia of all wholesale licensees authorized by a wine or beer 

importer to distribute brands of wine or beer in the 

Commonwealth, wine and beer importer licensees shall 

comply with the provisions of the Wine and Beer Franchise 

Acts pertaining to designations of primary areas of 

responsibility in the case of wholesale wine licensees and 

designation of sales territories in the case of wholesale beer 

licensees. 

C. In the event that, subsequent to the filing of the brand 

owner's authorization for a licensed importer to import any 

brand of wine or beer, the importer makes arrangements to sell 

and deliver or ship additional brands of wine or beer into this 

Commonwealth, the privileges of its license shall not extend to 

such additional brands until the licensee complies with the 

requirements of § 4.1-218 of the Code of Virginia and this 

section in relation to each such additional brand. Likewise, if 

the brand owner who has previously authorized a licensed 

importer to import one or more of its brands of wine or beer 

into this Commonwealth should, subsequent thereto, withdraw 

from the importer its authority to import such brand, it shall be 

incumbent upon such importer to make a supplemental filing 
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of its brand owner authorizing documents indicating the 

deletion of any such brands of wine or beer. 

D. The foregoing provisions of this regulation shall not impair 

contracts in existence or entered into prior to July 1, 1991, 

between the licensed importer and its supplier or brand owner. 

3VAC5-60-70. Excise taxes; beer and wine coolers. 

A. Indemnifying bond required of manufacturers, bottlers, or 

wholesalers of beer and wine coolers. 

1. No license shall be issued to a manufacturer, bottler, or 

wholesaler of beer or wine coolers unless there shall be on 

file with the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (authority), on a form approved or authorized by 

the board authority, an indemnifying bond running to the 

Commonwealth in the penalty of not less than $1,000 or 

more than $100,000, with the licensee as principal and some 

good and responsible surety company authorized to transact 

business in the Commonwealth as surety, conditioned upon 

the payment of the tax imposed by § 4.1-236 of the Code of 

Virginia and in accordance with the provisions thereof and 

§ 4.1-239 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. A manufacturer, bottler, or wholesaler of beer or wine 

coolers may request in writing a waiver of the surety and the 

bond by the board authority. The board authority may 

withdraw such waiver at any time for failure to comply with 

§§ 4.1-236 and 4.1-239 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Shipment of beer and wine coolers to installations of the 

armed forces. 

1. Installations of the United States Armed Forces shall 

include, but not be limited to, all United States Army, Navy, 

Air Force, Marine, Coast Guard, Department of Defense, 

and Veteran Administration bases, forts, reservations, 

depots, or other facilities. 

2. The direct shipment of beer and wine coolers from points 

outside the geographical confines of the Commonwealth to 

installations of the United States Armed Forces located 

within the geographical confines of the Commonwealth for 

resale on such installations shall be prohibited. Beer and 

wine coolers must be shipped to duly licensed Virginia 

wholesalers who may deliver the same to such installations, 

but the sale of such beer and wine coolers so delivered shall 

be exempt from the excise tax on beer and wine coolers only 

if the sale thereof meets the exemption requirements of 

§ 4.1-236 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Filing of monthly report and payment of tax falling due on 

Saturday, Sunday, or legal state or federal holiday; filing or 

payment by mail. 

1. When the last day on which a monthly report may be filed 

or a tax may be paid without penalty or interest falls on a 

Saturday, Sunday, or legal state or federal holiday, then any 

report required by § 4.1-239 of the Code of Virginia may be 

filed or such payment may be made without penalty or 

interest on the next succeeding business day. 

2. When remittance of a monthly report or a tax payment is 

made by mail, receipt of such report or payment by the 

person with whom such report is required to be filed or to 

whom such payment is required to be made, in a sealed 

envelope bearing a postmark on or before midnight of the 

day such report is required to be filed or such payment made 

without penalty or interest, shall constitute filing and 

payment as if such report had been filed or such payment 

made before the close of business on the last day on which 

such report may be filed or such tax may be paid without 

penalty or interest. 

D. Rate of interest. Unless otherwise specifically provided, 

interest on omitted taxes and refunds under the excise tax 

provisions of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

computed in the same manner specified in § 58.1-15 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-60-80. Solicitation of mixed beverage licensees by 

representatives of manufacturers, etc., of spirits. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Generally. This section applies to the solicitation, directly 

or indirectly, of a mixed beverage licensee to sell or offer for 

sale spirits. Solicitation of a mixed beverage licensee for such 

purpose other than by a permittee of the board and in the 

manner authorized by this section shall be prohibited. 

B. Permits. 

1. No person shall solicit a mixed beverage licensee unless 

he has been issued a permit. To obtain a permit, a person 

shall: 

a. Register with the board by filing an application on such 

forms as prescribed by the board; 

b. Pay in advance the fee; 

c. Submit with the application a letter of authorization 

from the manufacturer, brand owner or its duly designated 

United States agent, of each specific brand or brands of 

spirits which the permittee is authorized to represent on 

behalf of the manufacturer or brand owner in the 

Commonwealth; and 

d. Be an individual at least 21 years of age. 

2. Each permit shall expire yearly on June 30, unless sooner 

suspended or revoked by the board. 

3. A permit hereunder shall authorize the permittee to solicit 

or promote only the brand or brands of spirits for which the 

permittee has been issued written authorization to represent 

on behalf of the manufacturer, brand owner, or its duly 

designated United States agent and provided that a letter of 

authorization from the manufacturer or brand owner to the 

permittee specifying the brand or brands he is authorized to 

represent shall be on file with the board. Until written 
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authorization or a letter of authorization, in a form 

authorized by the board, is received and filed with the board 

for a particular brand or brands of spirits, there shall be no 

solicitation or promotion of such product by the permittee. 

Further, no amendment, withdrawal or revocation, in whole 

or in part, of a letter of authorization on file with the board 

shall be effective as against the board until written notice is 

received and filed with the board, and, until the board 

receives such notice, the permittee shall be deemed to be the 

authorized representative of the manufacturer or brand 

owner for the brand or brands specified on the most current 

authorization on file with the board. 

C. Records. A permittee shall keep complete and accurate 

records of his solicitation of any mixed beverage licensee for a 

period of two years, reflecting all expenses incurred by him in 

connection with the solicitation of the sale of his employer's 

products and shall, upon request, furnish the board with a copy 

of such records. 

D. Permitted activities. Solicitation by a permittee shall be 

limited to his authorized brand or brands, may include contact, 

meetings with, or programs for the benefit of mixed beverage 

licensees and employees thereof on the licensed premises, and 

in conjunction with solicitation, a permittee may: 

1. Distribute directly or indirectly written educational 

material (one item per retailer and one item per employee, 

per visit) which may not be displayed on the licensed 

premises; distribute novelty and specialty items bearing 

spirits advertising not in excess of $10 in wholesale value (in 

quantities equal to the number of employees of the retail 

establishment present at the time the items are delivered); 

and provide film or video presentations of spirits which are 

essentially educational to licensees and their employees only 

and are not for display or viewing by customers; 

2. Provide to a mixed beverage licensee sample servings 

from containers of spirits and furnish one, unopened, sample 

container no larger than 375 milliliters of each brand being 

promoted by the permittee and not sold by the licensee; such 

containers and sample containers shall be purchased at a 

government store and bear the permittee's permit number 

and the word "sample" in reasonable sized lettering on the 

container or sample container label; further, the spirits 

container shall remain the property of the permittee and may 

not be left with the licensee, and any sample containers left 

with the licensee shall not be sold by the licensee; 

3. Promote his authorized brands of spirits at conventions, 

trade association meetings, or similar gatherings of 

organizations, a majority of whose membership consists of 

mixed beverage licensees or spirits representatives for the 

benefit of their members and guests, and shall be limited as 

follows: 

a. To sample servings from containers of spirits purchased 

from government stores when the spirits donated are 

intended for consumption during the gathering; 

b. To displays of spirits in closed containers bearing the 

word "sample" in lettering of reasonable size and 

informational signs provided such merchandise is not sold 

or given away except as permitted in this section; 

c. To distribution of informational brochures, pamphlets 

and the like, relating to spirits; 

d. To distribution of novelty and specialty items bearing 

spirits advertising not in excess of $10 in wholesale value; 

e. To film or video presentations of spirits which are 

essentially educational; 

f. To display at the event the brands being promoted by the 

permittee; 

g. To rent display booth space if the rental fee is the same 

as paid by all exhibitors at the event; 

h. To provide its own hospitality, which is independent 

from activities sponsored by the association or 

organization holding the event; 

i. To purchase tickets to functions and pay registration fees 

if the payments or fees are the same as paid by all 

attendees, participants, or exhibitors at the event; and 

j. To make payments for advertisements in programs or 

brochures issued by the association or organization 

holding the event if the total payments made for all such 

advertisements do not exceed $300 per year for any 

association or organization holding the event; or 

4. Provide or offer to provide point-of-sale advertising 

material to licensees as provided in 3VAC5-20-20 or 

3VAC5-30-80. 

E. Prohibited activities. A permittee shall not: 

1. Sell spirits to any licensee, solicit or receive orders for 

spirits from any licensee, provide or offer to provide cash 

discounts or cash rebates to any licensee, or to negotiate any 

contract or contract terms for the sale of spirits with a 

licensee; 

2. Discount or offer to discount any merchandise or other 

alcoholic beverages as an inducement to sell or offer to sell 

spirits to licensees; 

3. Provide or offer to provide gifts, entertainment or other 

forms of gratuity to licensees except that a permittee may 

provide a licensee "routine business entertainment," as 

defined in 3VAC5-30-70, subject to the same conditions and 

limitations that apply to wholesalers and manufacturers 

under that section; 

4. Provide or offer to provide any equipment, furniture, 

fixtures, property or other thing of value to licensees except 

as permitted by this regulation; 

5. Purchase or deliver spirits or other alcoholic beverages for 

or to licensees or provide any services as inducements to 

licensees, except that this provision shall not preclude the 

sale or delivery of wine or beer by a licensed wholesaler; 
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6. Be employed directly or indirectly in the manufacturing, 

bottling, importing or wholesaling of spirits and 

simultaneously be employed by a retail licensee; 

7. Solicit licensees on any premises other than on their 

licensed premises or at conventions, trade association 

meetings or similar gatherings as permitted in subdivision D 

3 of this section; 

8. Solicit or promote any brand or brands of spirits without 

having on file with the board a letter from the manufacturer 

or brand owner authorizing the permittee to represent such 

brand or brands in the Commonwealth; or 

9. Engage in solicitation of spirits other than as authorized 

by law. 

F. Refusal, suspension or revocation of permits. 

1. The board may refuse, suspend, or revoke a permit if it 

shall have reasonable cause to believe that any cause exists 

that would justify the board in refusing to issue such person 

a license, or that such person has violated any provision of 

this section or committed any other act that would justify the 

board in suspending or revoking a license. 

2. Before refusing, suspending, or revoking such permit, the 

board shall follow the same administrative procedures 

accorded an applicant or licensee under Title 4.1 of the Code 

of Virginia and regulations of the board. 

3VAC5-60-90. Sunday deliveries by wholesalers 

prohibited; exceptions. (Repealed.) 

Persons licensed to sell alcoholic beverages at wholesale shall 

make no delivery to retail purchasers on Sunday, except to 

boats sailing for a port of call outside of the Commonwealth, 

or to banquet licensees.  

3VAC5-60-100. Employees Certain employees of 

manufacturers and wholesalers; approval by the Virginia 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority. 

If a person licensed as a manufacturer, importer, or 

wholesaler of alcoholic beverages wishes to employ a person 

who has committed an act that would justify the board Virginia 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) in 

suspending or revoking a license under subdivision 1 i h of 

§ 4.1-225 of the Code of Virginia, the licensee may apply to 

the board authority for approval of such employment. The 

board will cause the Bureau of Law Enforcement Operations 

to conduct an investigation into the suitability of the person for 

employment and recommend approval or disapproval. Before 

disapproving the employment of a person, the board authority 

shall accord him the person the same notice and opportunity to 

be heard and follow the same administrative procedures 

accorded a licensee cited for a violation of Title 4.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7513; Filed December 12, 2024, 10:51 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions (amending 

3VAC5-70-10 through 3VAC5-70-40, 3VAC5-70-70 

through 3VAC5-70-130, 3VAC5-70-150, 3VAC5-70-160 

through 3VAC5-70-250; repealing 3VAC5-70-140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 26, 2025. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 7450 

Freight Way, Mechanicsville, VA 23116, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove redundant and duplicative 

language; (ii) revise and add definitions; (iii) increase 

license suspension periods or civil penalties for any licensee 

when a first-time offender chooses to settle a violation; (iv) 

allow first-time offenders more time to settle violations; (v) 

no longer allow a waiver of penalties for three types of 

serious offenses; (vi) add new restrictions on the use of grain 

alcohol; (vii) extend the time period during which a winery, 

brewery, bottler, or importer is not allowed to increase 

prices following a notification to the wholesaler; (viii) 

require monthly rather than quarterly activity reports from 

wine and beer shippers and Internet retail licensees; (ix) no 

longer require delivery permittees or licensees with a 

delivery privilege to file a report of activity if no sales or 

deliveries were made in the preceding 12 months; (x) add 

language stating that records kept by all licensees must be 

available for inspection "any time the licensee is open to the 

public"; and (xi) update references and language for clarity. 

Changes to the proposed regulation include creating an 

exception that allows for the transporting of lawfully 

acquired samples of alcoholic beverages not meant for 

consumption or resale within, into, or through the 

Commonwealth to federally or state-certified laboratories.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

3VAC5-70-10. Transportation of alcoholic beverages; 

noncommercial permits; commercial carrier permits; 

refusal, suspension or revocation of permits; exceptions; 

out-of-state limitation not affected. 

A. The transportation within or through this the 

Commonwealth of alcoholic beverages lawfully purchased 

within this the Commonwealth is prohibited, except upon a 

permit issued by the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Authority (authority), when in excess of the following 

limits: 

1. Wine and beer. No limitation. 

mailto:@latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com
mailto:@latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com
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2. Alcoholic beverages other than those described in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. Three gallons. 

The transportation within, into, or through this the 

Commonwealth of alcoholic beverages lawfully purchased 

outside of this the Commonwealth is prohibited, except upon a 

permit issued by the board authority, when in excess of the 

following limits: 

Alcoholic beverages, including wine and beer. Three gallons. 

If satisfied that the proposed transportation is otherwise 

lawful, the board authority shall issue a transportation permit, 

which shall accompany the alcoholic beverages at all times to 

the final destination. 

B. Commercial carriers desiring to engage regularly in the 

transportation of alcoholic beverages within, into, or through 

this the Commonwealth shall, except as hereinafter noted in 

this subsection, obtain a transportation permit from the board 

authority or otherwise possess acceptable documentation as 

required by the following provisions. 

A transportation permit may be obtained by filing an 

application in writing upon forms furnished by the board 

authority. If satisfied that the proposed transportation is 

otherwise lawful, the board authority shall issue a 

transportation permit. Such permit shall not be transferable and 

shall authorize the carrier to engage in the regular 

transportation of alcoholic beverages upon condition that there 

shall accompany each such transporting vehicle a bill of lading 

or other memorandum describing the alcoholic beverages 

being transported and showing the names and addresses of the 

consignor and consignee, who shall be lawfully entitled to 

make and to receive the shipment. Such a The bill of lading or 

other memorandum may serve as a transportation permit so 

long as it is made available for inspection to special agents of 

the board authority or any law-enforcement officer upon 

request. 

C. The board authority may refuse, suspend, or revoke a 

carrier's transportation permit, including the use of a bill of 

lading or other memorandum as a transportation permit as 

provided in subsection B of this section, if it shall have 

reasonable cause to believe that alcoholic beverages have been 

illegally transported by such carrier or that such carrier has 

violated any condition of a permit for any reason that it may 

refuse to issue, suspend, or revoke a license. Before refusing, 

suspending, or revoking such permit, the board authority shall 

accord the carrier involved the same notice and opportunity to 

be heard and follow the same administrative procedures 

accorded an applicant or licensee under Title 4.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

D. There shall be exempt from the requirements of this 

section This section shall not apply to the following: 

1. Common carriers by water engaged in transporting 

lawfully acquired alcoholic beverages for a lawful consignor 

to a lawful consignee; 

2. Persons transporting wine, beer, or cider, or spirits 

purchased from the board authority or a licensee; 

3. Persons transporting alcoholic beverages that may be 

manufactured and sold without a license; 

4. A licensee transporting lawfully acquired alcoholic 

beverages he the licensee is authorized to sell in a vehicle 

owned or leased by the licensee; 

5. Persons transporting alcoholic beverages to the board 

authority, or to licensees, provided that a bill of lading or a 

complete and accurate memorandum accompanies the 

shipment, and provided further, in the case of the licensee, 

that the merchandise is such as his merchandise that the 

license entitles him the licensee to sell; 

6. Persons transporting alcoholic beverages as a part of their 

official duties as federal, state, or municipal officers or 

employees; and 

7. Persons transporting lawfully acquired alcoholic 

beverages in a passenger vehicle, other than those alcoholic 

beverages referred to in subdivisions D 2 and D 3 of this 

section, provided the same that the alcoholic beverages are 

in the possession of the bona fide owners thereof and that no 

occupant of the vehicle possesses any alcoholic beverages in 

excess of the maximum limitations set forth in subsection A 

of this section. 

[ 8. Persons transporting lawfully acquired samples of 

alcoholic beverages not meant for consumption or resale 

within, into, or through the Commonwealth to federally or 

state-certified laboratories. ]  

E. This section shall not be construed to alter the one-gallon 

(four liters if any part is in a metric-sized container) three-

gallon limitation upon alcoholic beverages that may be brought 

into the Commonwealth pursuant to § 4.1-310 E 4.1-311 B of 

the Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-70-20. Procedures for handling cider; authorized 

licensees; containers; labels; markup; age limits. 

A. The procedures established by regulations of the board 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) for 

the handling of wine having an alcoholic content of not more 

than 14% by volume shall, with the necessary change of detail, 

be applicable to the handling of cider, subject to the following 

exceptions and modifications. 

B. Licensees authorized to sell beer and wine, or either, at 

retail are hereby approved by the board for the sale of cider and 

such sales shall be made only in accordance with the age limits 

set forth in this section. 
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C. Containers of cider containing less than 7.0% alcohol by 

volume may be sold in any containers that comply with federal 

regulations for wine and beer provided such containers are 

labeled in accordance with board regulations. Cider containing 

7.0% or more alcohol by volume may be sold in any containers 

that comply with federal regulations for wine, provided the 

containers are labeled in accordance with board regulations. 

D. B. If the label of the product is subject to approval by the 

federal government, a copy of the federal label approval shall 

be provided to the board authority. 

E. C. The markup or profit charged by the board shall be $.08 

per liter or fractional part thereof. 

F. Persons must be 21 years of age or older to purchase or 

possess cider. 

G. D. The provisions of subsection A and subdivision B 4 of 

3VAC5-60-20 shall not be applicable to the sale of cider by 

wholesale wine licensees to retail licensees of the board 

authority. 

3VAC5-70-30. Sacramental wine; purchase orders; 

permits; applications for permits; use of sacramental wine. 

A. Purchase orders for sacramental wine shall be on separate 

order forms prescribed by the board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority) and provided at cost if 

supplied by the board authority. 

B. Sales for sacramental purposes shall be only upon permits 

issued by the board authority without cost and on which the 

name of the wholesaler authorized to make the sale is 

designated. 

C. Requests for permits by a religious congregation shall be 

in writing, and executed by an officer of the congregation, and 

shall designate the quantity of wine and the name of the 

wholesaler from whom the wine shall be purchased. 

D. Wine purchased for sacramental purposes by a religious 

congregation shall not be used for any other purpose. 

3VAC5-70-40. Alcoholic beverages for culinary purposes; 

permits; purchases; restrictions. 

A. The board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority) may issue a culinary permit to a person operating 

an establishment where food is prepared on the premises. The 

board authority may refuse to issue or may suspend or revoke 

such a permit for any reason that it may refuse to issue, 

suspend, or revoke a license. 

B. Spirits shall be purchased from government stores. Wine 

and beer may be purchased from retail licensees when the 

permittee does not hold any retail on- or off-premises licenses. 

A permittee possessing a retail on- or off-premises license must 

purchase its wine and beer from wholesale licensees. However, 

a permittee who only has an on- or on- and off-premises beer 

license may purchase its wine from a retail licensee. 

C. Permittees shall keep complete and accurate records of 

their purchases of alcoholic beverages at the permittee's place 

of business for two years. The records shall be available for 

inspection and copying by any member of the board or its 

special agents during reasonable hours. 

D. Alcoholic beverages purchased for culinary purposes shall 

not be sold or used for any other purpose. They and shall be 

stored at the permittee's place of business, separate and apart 

from all other commodities. 

3VAC5-70-70. Permits for persons having alcoholic 

beverages distilled; limitations. 

A. Any person who contracts with or engages a licensed 

distiller to manufacture spirits from grain fruit, fruit products, 

or other substances grown or lawfully produced by such person 

shall obtain a board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (authority) permit before withdrawing the spirits 

from the distillery's premises. The permit shall accompany the 

shipment at all times. The application for the permit shall 

include the following: 

1. The name, address, and license number, if any, of the 

consignee; 

2. The kind and quantity in gallons of alcoholic beverages; 

and 

3. The name of the company employed to transport the 

shipment. 

B. Permits shall be issued only for (i) spirits shipments to the 

board authority, (ii) sales and shipments to a lawful consignee 

outside the Commonwealth under a bona fide written contract, 

or (iii) shipments of spirits samples to the person growing or 

producing the substance [ being ] distilled. Samples shall be 

packaged in containers of 375 or 750 milliliters and the words 

"Sample-Not for Sale" shall be printed in letters of reasonable 

size on the label. 

3VAC5-70-90. Records to be kept by licensees generally; 

additional requirements for certain retailers; "sale" and 

"sell" defined; gross receipts; reports. 

A. All licensees shall keep complete, accurate, and separate 

records for a period of two years. The records shall be available 

for inspection and copying by any member of the board 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) or 

its special agents during reasonable hours. Licensees may use 

microfilm, microfiche, disks, or other any available 

technologies for the storage of their records, and may store 

them off site, provided the records so stored are readily subject 

to retrieval and made available for viewing on a screen or in 

hard copy by the board authority or its special agents at the 

licensed premises between the hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. or 

any time the licensee is open to the public. At any other time 

of day, if the licensee's records are not available for inspection, 

the licensee shall provide the records to a special agent of the 
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board authority within 24 hours after a request is made to 

inspect the records. 

The board authority and its special agents shall be allowed 

free access during reasonable hours to every place in the 

Commonwealth where alcoholic beverages are manufactured, 

bottled, stored, offered for sale, or sold, for the purpose of 

examining and inspecting all records, invoices, and accounts 

[ therein ]. 

"Reasonable hours" shall be deemed to include all business 

hours of operation and any other time at which there exists any 

indication of activity upon the licensed premises. 

B. All licensed manufacturers, bottlers, or wholesalers of 

alcoholic beverages shall keep a complete, accurate, and 

separate record of all alcoholic beverages manufactured, 

bottled, purchased, sold, or shipped by him the licensee. Such 

records shall show the quantities of all such alcoholic 

beverages manufactured, bottled, purchased, sold, or shipped 

by him the licensee; the dates of all sales, purchases, deliveries, 

or shipments; the names and addresses of all persons to or from 

whom such sales, purchases, deliveries, or shipments are made; 

the quantities and kinds of alcoholic beverages sold and 

delivered or shipped and the prices charged therefor for the 

alcoholic beverages, and the taxes applicable thereto to the 

alcoholic beverages, if any. Every manufacturer and 

wholesaler, at the time of delivering alcoholic beverages to any 

person, shall also prepare a duplicate invoice showing the date 

of delivery, the quantity and value of each delivery, and the 

name of the purchaser to whom the delivery is made. 

C. Every retail licensee shall keep complete, accurate, and 

separate records, including invoices, of the purchases and sales 

of alcoholic beverages, food, and other merchandise. The 

records of alcoholic beverages shall be kept separate and apart 

from other records and shall include all purchases thereof of 

the alcoholic beverages, the dates of such purchases, the kinds 

and quantities of alcoholic beverages purchased, the prices 

charged therefor for the alcoholic beverages, and the names 

and addresses of the persons from whom purchased. 

Additionally, each retail licensee shall keep accurate accounts 

of daily sales, showing quantities of alcoholic beverages, food, 

and other merchandising sold and the prices charged therefor 

for such items. 

D. In addition to the requirements of subsections A and C of 

this section, mixed beverage restaurant licensees shall keep 

records of all alcoholic beverages purchased for sale as mixed 

beverages and records of all mixed beverage sales. The 

following actions shall also be taken: 

1. On delivery of a mixed beverage restaurant license by the 

board authority, the licensee shall furnish to the board 

authority or its special agents a complete and accurate 

inventory of all alcoholic beverages currently held in 

inventory on the premises by the licensee; and 

2. Once a year, each licensee shall submit on prescribed 

forms to the board authority an annual review report. The 

report is due within 30 days after the end of the mixed 

beverage license year and shall include: 

a. A complete and accurate inventory of all alcoholic 

beverages purchased for sale as mixed beverages and held 

in inventory at the close of business at the end of the 

annual review period; 

b. An accounting of the annual purchases of food, 

nonalcoholic beverages, and alcoholic beverages, 

including alcoholic beverages purchased for sale as mixed 

beverages, and miscellaneous items; and 

c. An accounting of the monthly and annual sales of all 

merchandise specified in subdivision 2 b of this 

subsection. 

E. The terms "sale" and "sell" shall include exchange, barter 

or traffic, or delivery made otherwise than gratuitously, by any 

means whatsoever, of mixed beverages and other alcoholic 

beverages, and of meals or food. 

F. E. In determining "gross receipts from the sale of food" for 

the purposes of § 4.1-206.3 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee 

shall not include any receipts for food for which there was no 

sale, as defined in this section. Food which that is available at 

an unwritten, non-separate charge to patrons or employees 

during Happy Hours, private social gatherings, promotional 

events, or at any other time, shall not be included in the gross 

receipts. Food shall include hors d'oeuvres. 

If, in conducting its review pursuant to § 4.1-114 of the Code 

of Virginia, the board authority determines that the licensee has 

failed or refused to keep complete and accurate records of the 

amounts of mixed beverages or other alcoholic beverages sold 

at regular prices, as well as at all various reduced and increased 

prices offered by the licensee, the board authority may 

calculate the number of mixed drinks and other alcoholic 

beverage drinks sold, as determined from purchase records, 

and presume that such sales were made at the highest posted 

menu prices for such merchandise. 

G. F. Any changes in the officers, directors, or shareholders 

owning 10% or more of [ the outstanding the licensee's ] capital 

stock of a corporation if the licensee is a corporation or, if the 

licensee is a limited liability company, any changes in 

member-managers or any members owning 10% or more of the 

membership interest of the limited liability company shall be 

reported to the board authority within 30 days; provided, 

however, that corporations or their wholly owned subsidiaries 

whose corporate common stock is publicly traded and owned 

shall not be required to report changes in shareholders owning 

10% or more of the outstanding capital stock. 

H. G. All banquet and special event licensees in charge of 

public events shall report to the board authority the income and 

expenses associated with the public event on a form prescribed 

by the board authority when the licensee engages another 
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person to organize, conduct, or operate the event on behalf of 

the licensee. Reports shall be made within 90 days after the 

date of each event. "Public events" shall be deemed to include 

any event at which alcoholic beverages are sold to the general 

public and not only to personally invited guests. 

All applicants for banquet or special event licenses shall 

indicate at the time of application whether the event is open to 

the public and whether another person has been or will be 

engaged to organize, conduct, or operate the event on behalf of 

the licensee. If the applicant indicates that the event is open to 

the public and another person has been or will be engaged to 

organize, conduct, or operate the event on behalf of the 

licensee, the applicant shall attach a copy of any contract 

between the applicant and such other person to the license 

application. 

3VAC5-70-95. Proration of license tax for businesses 

destroyed by natural disaster. 

The board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

shall make refunds of the state license tax paid pursuant to 

subsection A of § 4.1-231 of the Code of Virginia to licensees 

whose place of business designated in the license is destroyed 

by an act of God, including but not limited to fire, earthquake, 

hurricane, storm, or similar natural disaster or phenomenon, 

upon the following schedule: 

If the destruction takes place within the first three months of 

the license year, 75% of the license tax shall be refunded. If the 

destruction takes place within the second three months of the 

license year, 50% of the license tax shall be refunded. If the 

destruction takes place within the third three months of the 

license year, 25% of the license tax shall be refunded. No 

refund shall be issued if the destruction takes place within the 

last three months of the license year. 

3VAC5-70-100. Gifts of alcoholic beverages generally; 

exceptions; wine and beer tastings; taxes and records. 

A. Gifts of alcoholic beverages by a licensee to any other 

person are prohibited except as otherwise provided in this 

section or as provided in §§ 4.1-119 G, 4.1-201, 4.1-201.1, 4.1-

206.3, 4.1-209, 4.1-215, 4.1-325, and 4.1-325.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. Gifts of alcoholic beverages may be made by licensees as 

follows: 

1. Personal friends. Gifts may be made to personal friends as 

a matter of normal social intercourse when in no wise way a 

shift or device to evade the provisions of this section. 

2. Samples. A representative of a wholesaler, winery, 

brewery, or importer may give a retail licensee a sample 

serving or a container not then sold by such licensee of wine 

or beer if (i) the licensee is licensed to sell such product, 

provided that in the case of containers, the container does not 

exceed 52 fluid ounces in size (1.5 liters if in a metric-sized 

container) and (ii) the label bears the word "Sample" in 

lettering of reasonable size. Such samples may not be sold. 

For good cause shown, the board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority) may authorize a 

larger sample container. Samples must be obtained from 

licensed wholesalers or purchased from retail licensees in 

the Commonwealth. 

3. Gifts by retail licensees. An on-premises retail licensee 

may give a gift of one alcoholic beverage to a patron or one 

bottle of wine to a group of two or more patrons, provided 

that such gifts are made to patrons to whom such alcoholic 

beverages may be sold. No subsequent gift shall be provided 

to the same patrons within 24 hours. 

4. Hospitality rooms; conventions. The following activities 

are permitted: 

a. A brewer or vintner may give samples of his the 

brewer's or vintner's products to visitors to his the brewer's 

or vintner's winery or brewery for consumption on 

premises only in a hospitality room approved by the board 

authority, provided the donees are persons to whom such 

products may be lawfully sold; and 

b. A manufacturer, importer, bottler, broker, or wholesaler 

may host an event at conventions of national, regional, or 

interstate associations or foundations organized and 

operated exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific, 

literary, civil affairs, educational, or national purposes 

upon the premises occupied by such licensee, or upon 

property of the licensee contiguous to such premises, or in 

a development contiguous to such premises, that is owned 

and operated by the licensee or a wholly owned subsidiary. 

5. Conventions; educational programs, including alcoholic 

beverage tastings; research; licensee associations. 

Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, and wholesalers 

may donate alcoholic beverages to: 

a. A convention, trade association, or similar gathering, 

composed of licensees and their guests, when the alcoholic 

beverages donated are intended for consumption during 

the convention; 

b. Retail licensees attending a bona fide educational 

program relating to the alcoholic beverages being given 

away; 

c. Research departments of educational institutions, or 

alcoholic research centers, for the purpose of scientific 

research on alcoholism; and 

d. Official associations of alcoholic beverage industry 

members when conducting a bona fide educational 

program concerning alcoholic beverages, with no 

promotion of a particular brand, for members and guests 

of particular groups, associations, or organizations. 

6. Conditions. Exceptions authorized by subdivisions 4 b 

and 5 of this subsection are conditioned upon the following: 
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a. That prior written notice of the activity be submitted to 

the board authority describing it and giving the date, time, 

and place of such activity; and 

b. That the activity be conducted in a room or rooms set 

aside for that purpose and be adequately supervised. 

C. Wine and beer wholesalers may participate in a wine or 

beer tasting sponsored by a gourmet shop an off-premises retail 

licensee enumerated in § 4.1-206.3 C 1 of the Code of Virginia 

for its customers and may provide educational material, oral or 

written, pertaining thereto, as well as participate in the pouring 

of such wine or beer. 

D. Any gift authorized by this section shall be subject to the 

taxes imposed on sales by Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

and complete and accurate records shall be maintained. 

3VAC5-70-110. Release of alcoholic beverages from 

customs and bonded warehouses; receipts; violations; 

limitation upon sales. 

A. Alcoholic beverages held in a United States customs 

bonded warehouse may be released therefrom for delivery to: 

1. The board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority); 

2. A person holding a license authorizing the sale of the 

alcoholic beverages at wholesale; 

3. Boats actually engaged in foreign trade or trade between 

the Atlantic and Pacific ports of the United States or trade 

between the United States and any of its possessions outside 

of the several states and the District of Columbia; or 

4. Persons for shipment outside the Commonwealth to 

someone legally entitled to receive the same alcoholic 

beverages under the laws of the state of destination. 

Releases to any other person shall be under a permit issued 

by the board authority and in accordance with the instructions 

therein set forth in such permit. 

B. A copy of the permit, if required, shall accompany the 

alcoholic beverages until delivery to the consignee. The 

consignee, or his the consignee's duly authorized 

representative, shall acknowledge receipt of delivery upon a 

copy of the permit, which receipted copy shall be returned to 

the board authority by the permittee within 10 days after 

delivery. 

C. The board authority may refuse to issue additional permits 

to a permittee who has previously violated any provision of this 

section. 

D. A maximum of six imperial gallons of alcoholic beverages 

may be sold, released, and delivered in any 30-day period to 

any member of foreign armed forces personnel. 

 

3VAC5-70-120. Approval of warehouses for storage of 

alcoholic beverages not under customs or internal revenue 

bond; segregation of merchandise; release from storage; 

records; exception. 

A. Upon the application of a person qualified under the 

provisions of § 4.1-130 of the Code of Virginia, the board 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) 

may issue a certificate of approval permit for the operation of 

a warehouse for the storage of lawfully acquired alcoholic 

beverages not under customs bond or internal revenue bond, if 

satisfied that the warehouse is physically secure. 

B. The alcoholic beverages of each owner shall be kept 

separate and apart from merchandise of any other person. 

C. Alcoholic beverages shall be released for delivery to 

persons lawfully entitled to receive the same alcoholic 

beverages only upon permit issued authorization by the board, 

authority and in accordance with the instructions therein set 

forth therein. The owner of the alcoholic beverages, or the 

owner or operator of the approved permitted warehouse as 

agent of such owner, may apply for release permits, for which 

a charge may be made by the board enter into a memorandum 

of understanding with the authority for the purpose of allowing 

them to submit out-of-bond transfer reports via email. 

D. Complete and accurate records shall be kept at the 

warehouse for a period of two years, which records shall be 

available during reasonable hours for inspection by a member 

of the board authority or its special agents. Such records shall 

include the following information as to both receipts and 

withdrawals: 

1. Name and address of owner or consignee; 

2. Date of receipt or withdrawal, as the case may be; and 

3. Type and quantity of alcoholic beverage. 

E. Alcoholic beverages stored by licensees pursuant to 

3VAC5-50-90 are excepted from the operation of this section. 

3VAC5-70-130. Special mixed beverage licenses; locations; 

special privileges; taxes on licenses. 

A. Special mixed beverage licenses may be granted to persons 

by the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority at 

places primarily engaged in the sale of meals where the place 

to be occupied (i) is owned by the government of the United 

States, or any agency thereof, (ii) is located on land used as a 

port of entry or egress to and from the United States, and (iii) 

otherwise complies with the requirements of § 7.1-21.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, which. Such licenses shall convey all of the 

privileges and be subject to all of the requirements and 

regulations pertaining to mixed beverage restaurant licensees, 

except as otherwise altered or modified herein in this chapter. 

B. "Meals" need not be "full meals," but shall at least 

constitute "light lunches," and the gross receipts from the sale 

of food and nonalcoholic beverages at such establishment shall 
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be not less than 45% of the gross receipts from the sale of 

mixed beverages and food means the same as defined in 

3VAC5-50-110 A 5. 

C. The annual tax on a special mixed beverage license shall 

be $500 and shall not be prorated; provided, however, that if 

application is made for a license of shorter duration, the tax 

thereon on a special mixed beverage license shall be $25 per 

day. 

3VAC5-70-140. Definitions and requirements for wine 

licenses; wine; wine coolers. (Repealed.) 

Wherever the term "wine" appears in this chapter, it shall 

include "wine coolers" as defined in § 4.1-100 of the Code of 

Virginia. Wine coolers shall be treated as wine for the purposes 

of the regulations, except for purposes of taxation and 

shipments from points outside the Commonwealth to 

installations of the United States armed forces located within 

the Commonwealth for resale on such installations, in 

accordance with §§ 4.1-112 and 4.1-236 of the Code of 

Virginia and 3VAC5-60-70.  

Any person licensed to manufacture, bottle or sell wine shall 

not be required to pay any additional state tax for any license 

to manufacture, bottle or sell, as the case may be, any wine 

cooler. Such person shall have the privilege to manufacture, 

bottle or sell any wine cooler under the provisions of Title 4.1 

of the Code of Virginia as long as his license remains in full 

force and effect.  

3VAC5-70-150. Wholesale alcoholic beverage sales; winery 

and brewery discounts, price-fixing; price increases; price 

discrimination; inducements. 

A. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 of the Code of Virginia 

or brewery as defined in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall 

require a wholesale licensee to discount the price at which the 

wholesaler shall sell any alcoholic beverage to persons holding 

licenses authorizing sale of such merchandise at retail. No 

winery, brewery, bottler, or wine or beer importer shall in any 

other way fix or maintain the price at which a wholesaler shall 

sell any alcoholic beverage. 

B. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 of the Code of Virginia 

or brewery as defined in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall 

increase the price charged to any person holding a wholesale 

license for alcoholic beverages, except by written notice to the 

wholesaler signed by an authorized officer or agent of the 

winery, brewery, bottler, or importer which that shall contain 

the amount and effective date of the increase. 

No increase shall take effect prior to 30 calendar days 

following the date on which the notice is postmarked; 

delivered, provided that the board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Authority (authority) may authorize such price 

increases to take effect with less than the aforesaid [ 30 ] 

calendar days' [ calendar-day 30-calendar-day ] notice if a 

winery, brewery, bottler, or importer so requests and 

demonstrates good cause [ therefor for such an expedited 

increase ]. 

The provisions of this subsection shall not apply in any case 

where the importer required to provide notice of a price 

increase and the wholesaler to whom notice is to be provided 

are the same person. 

C. No winery as defined in § 4.1-401 of the Code of Virginia 

or brewery as defined in § 4.1-500 of the Code of Virginia shall 

discriminate in price of alcoholic beverages between different 

wholesale purchasers, except where the difference in price 

charged by such winery or brewery is due to a bona fide 

difference in the cost of sale or delivery, or where a lower price 

was charged in good faith to meet an equally low price charged 

by a competing winery or brewery on a brand and package of 

like grade and quality. Where such difference in price charged 

to any such wholesaler does occur, the board authority may ask 

and the winery or brewery shall furnish written substantiation 

for the price difference. 

D. No person holding a license authorizing the sale of 

alcoholic beverages at wholesale shall knowingly induce or 

receive a discrimination in price prohibited by subsection C of 

this section. 

3VAC5-70-160. Farm wineries; percentage of Virginia 

products; other agricultural products; remote outlets. 

A. No more than 25% of the fruits, fruit juices, or other 

agricultural products used by the farm winery licensee shall be 

grown or produced outside the Commonwealth, except upon 

permission of the board authority as provided in § 4.1-219 of 

the Code of Virginia. This 25% limitation applies to the total 

production of the farm winery, not individual brands or labels. 

The term "other agricultural products," as used in this 

subsection, includes wine. 

B. The term "other agricultural products," as used in 

subsection A of this section, includes wine. 

C. A farm winery license limits retail sales to the premises of 

the winery and to five additional retail establishments that need 

not be located on the premises. These B. The five additional 

retail outlets permitted for farm winery licenses may be moved 

throughout the state as long as advance board authority 

approval is obtained for the location, equipment, and facilities 

of each remote outlet. 

3VAC5-70-170. Credit and debit cards. 

Government stores may accept credit or debit cards from 

consumers and licensees for the purchase of alcoholic beverages 

subject to the policies of the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (authority). The board authority may establish policies 

to set purchase requirements, determine the credit or debit cards 

that will be accepted, provide for the collection of related fees, 

penalties, or service charges where appropriate, establish credit 

procedures for returned merchandise, and make any other 

decisions to carry out the purpose of this chapter. 
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3VAC5-70-180. Regulation of the sale of alcoholic 

beverages in kegs and other containers; permit and 

registration; other requirements. 

A. The following definitions shall apply for purposes of this 

section: 

1. "Keg." Any container capable of holding four gallons or 

more of beer or wine and which that is designed to dispense 

beer or wine directly from the container for purposes of 

consumption; and 

2. "Registration seal." Any document, stamp, declaration, 

seal, decal, sticker, or device approved by the board which 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) 

that is designed to be affixed to kegs and which that displays 

a registration number and such other information as may be 

prescribed by the board authority. 

B. 1. No person licensed to sell wine or beer at retail for off-

premises consumption, or any officer, agent, or employee 

thereof, shall sell any such alcoholic beverage in a keg without 

having (i) registered the sale on a form prescribed by the board 

authority and (ii) affixed a registration seal on the keg at the 

time of sale;, provided, that if the purchaser takes possession 

of the keg at the premises of the wholesale licensee pursuant to 

subsection G [ of this section ], the wholesale licensee shall 

affix the registration seal. 

2. Prior to the sale of alcoholic beverages in kegs, the keg 

registration declaration and receipt form provided by the 

board authority shall be properly completed and shall 

contain: 

a. The name and address of the purchaser verified by valid 

identification as defined in 3VAC5-50-20 B; 

b. The type and number of the identification presented by 

the purchaser; 

c. A statement, signed by the purchaser, that the purchaser 

is 21 years of age or older, does not intend to allow persons 

under younger than 21 years of age to consume the 

alcoholic beverages purchased, and that the purchaser will 

not remove or obliterate the key registration tag affixed to 

the keg or allow its removal or obliteration; and 

d. The particular address or location where the keg will be 

consumed, and the date or dates on which it will be 

consumed. 

3. Where the purchaser obtains more than one keg for 

consumption at the same location and on the same date, only 

one keg registration declaration and receipt form must 

contain all required information. All other keg registration 

declaration and receipt forms for that particular transaction 

shall contain the registration number from the fully 

completed form as a reference and be signed by the 

purchaser. Such The keg registration declaration and receipt 

forms which that contain the reference number of a fully 

completed form and have been signed by the purchaser 

constitute a valid and properly completed keg registration 

and declaration receipt. 

4. The keg registration seal affixed to the keg may serve as 

the purchaser's receipt. Upon receipt of a properly registered 

keg from a consumer, the retail licensee shall remove and 

obliterate the keg registration seal from the keg and note 

such action on the keg registration declaration and receipt 

form to be retained by the retail licensee on the licensed 

premises. Kegs made of disposable packaging do not have 

to be returned to the retail licensee. The retailer shall indicate 

on the keg declaration and receipt form that the keg was not 

returnable due to its disposable packaging. 

C. For the purpose of tracing the kegs and purchaser 

responsibility, it shall be the responsibility of the seller to affix 

the properly completed and signed keg registration seal to all 

containers of four gallons or more of alcoholic beverages prior 

to the container leaving control of the seller. 

D. Except in accordance with this section, no person shall 

remove, alter, deface, or obliterate the registration seal affixed 

to a keg pursuant to this section. Throwing away empty kegs 

made of disposable packaging shall not constitute obliteration 

of the keg registration seal. If any nonlicensee is in possession 

of a keg containing alcoholic beverages, and which keg that 

does not bear the registration seal, or upon which keg the 

registration seal has been altered, defaced, or obliterated, the 

container and its contents shall be deemed to be contraband and 

subject to seizure and forfeiture. 

E. Licensees shall maintain a complete and accurate record of 

all registration forms and other documentation of the sale of 

kegs at the place of business designated in his the license for a 

period of one year. Such records shall include the registration 

seal for nondisposable kegs, which the retail licensee shall 

remove from the keg upon its return by the purchaser. 

Moreover, such records regarding keg sales shall during 

reasonable hours be open to inspection by the board authority 

or its special agents or other law-enforcement officers. 

F. Before a purchaser may take possession of a keg at the 

premises of the wholesale licensee after purchasing such keg 

from a retail licensee, the purchaser shall be required to (i) 

complete the registration of the transaction at the premises of 

the retail licensee and (ii) deliver the registration seal to the 

wholesale licensee who shall affix it to the keg; however, no 

wholesale licensee may deliver possession of any such keg to 

the purchaser until the wholesale licensee has collected 

payment from the retail licensee pursuant to 3VAC5-30-30. 

G. Except as authorized by the board authority, no person 

shall transfer possession of or give the registered keg or 

container to another person. This prohibition shall not apply, 

however, to the return of the registered container to the seller. 
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3VAC5-70-190. Waiver of banquet license tax; 

qualifications; restrictions and conditions; exceptions. 

A. Pursuant to § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia, the board 

The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority) may waive the banquet license tax for a duly 

organized not-for-profit corporation or association holding a 

nonprofit event. A "nonprofit event" means income from the 

event shall not exceed expenses for the event. Fixed costs, 

including but not limited to staff salaries, rent, utilities, and 

depreciation, shall not be included as expenses. 

B. 1. The applicant shall sign an affidavit certifying the not-

for-profit status of the corporation or association and that the 

event being held is nonprofit. 

2. The applicant may serve alcoholic beverages in any 

combination, the in an amount to be no more than that which 

equals no more than the total alcohol content by volume in 

two kegs of beer (31 gallons). 

3. The granting of a waiver is limited to two events per fiscal 

year (July 1 - through June 30) for any qualifying 

corporation or association. 

C. The board authority may issue a permit authorizing a 

variance from subdivision B 2 of this section for good cause 

shown. 

3VAC5-70-200. Grain alcohol; permits; qualifications; 

records; refusal, suspension, or revocation. 

A. The board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority) may issue a yearly permit authorizing the permittee 

to purchase grain alcohol with a proof greater than 151 at 

government stores for any of the following purposes: 

1. Industrial use; 2. Commercial use; 3. Culinary use, not to 

include the manufacturing of products intended for human 

consumption; or 

4. 2. Medical use by a federal or state board-licensed medical 

professional or hospital. 

B. The application for such permits shall be on forms 

provided by the board authority. 

C. Permits may be issued to legitimate businesses for any one 

or more of the purposes stated in subsection A of this section 

upon presentation of satisfactory evidence of the conduct of the 

business activity involved. For good cause shown, the board 

authority may issue a permit to an individual for any of the uses 

stated in subsection A of this section. 

D. A person obtaining a permit shall maintain complete and 

accurate records of all purchases for a period of two years. The 

board authority and its special agents shall have free access 

during reasonable hours to all records required to be kept 

pursuant to this section. 

E. The board authority may refuse to issue, suspend, or revoke 

a permit if the board authority has reasonable cause to believe 

that (i) the permittee would use, has used, or allowed to be used 

grain alcohol for any unlawful purpose or, (ii) any cause exists 

under § 4.1-222 of the Code of Virginia for which the board 

authority may refuse to grant the applicant any license, or (iii) 

the permittee has done any act for which the board authority 

might suspend or revoke a license under § 4.1-225 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

3VAC5-70-210. Schedule of penalties for first-offense 

violations. 

A. Any licensee charged with any violation of board Virginia 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority) regulations 

or statutes listed in this subsection, if the licensee has no other 

pending charges and has not had any substantiated violations 

of regulation or statute within the three years immediately 

preceding the date of the violation, may accept an offer by the 

authority extended in writing to enter a written waiver of 

hearing and (i) accept the period of license suspension set forth 

in this subsection for the violation, or (ii) pay the civil charge 

set forth in this subsection for the violation in lieu of 

suspension. In the case of a violation involving the sale of beer, 

wine, or mixed beverages to a person at least 18 years of age 

but younger than 21 years of age, or to an intoxicated person, 

or allowing consumption of such beverages by such person, 

any retail licensee that can demonstrate that it provided alcohol 

seller or server training certified in advance by the board 

authority to the employee responsible for such violation within 

the 12 months immediately preceding the alleged violation 

may accept the lesser period of license suspension or pay the 

lesser civil charge listed for the violation in lieu of suspension. 

Any notice of hearing served on a licensee for a violation 

covered by this section shall contain a notice of the licensee's 

options under this section. Any licensee who fails to notify the 

board of its intent to exercise one of the options provided for 

under this section within 20 days after the date of mailing of 

the notice of hearing shall be deemed to have waived the right 

to exercise such options, and the case shall proceed to hearing. 

For good cause shown, the board may, in its discretion, allow 

a licensee to exercise the options provided for under this 

section beyond the 20-day period. 

 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 11  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 13, 2025  

1342 

VIOLATION SUSPENSION 
CIVIL 

CHARGE 

 

 

SUSPENSION 

WITH CERTIFIED 

TRAINING 

 

 

CIVIL CHARGE 

WITH 

CERTIFIED 

TRAINING 

Sale of beer, wine, or mixed beverages to a 

person at least 18 years of age but younger 

than 21 years of age. 

25 days $2,500 5 15 days $1,500 $2,000 

Allowing consumption of beer, wine, or 

mixed beverages by a person at least 18 years 

of age but younger than 21 years of age. 

25 days $2,500 5 15 days $1,500 $2,000 

Aiding and abetting the purchase of alcoholic 

beverages by a person at least 18 years of age 

but younger than 21 years of age. 

10 15 days $1,250 $1,500 

  

Keeping unauthorized alcoholic beverages on 

the premises, upon which appropriate taxes 

have been paid. 

7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Allow an intoxicated person to loiter on the 

premises. 

7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Sale to an intoxicated person. 25 days $2,500 5 15 days $1,500 

Allow consumption by an intoxicated person. 25 days $2,500 5 15 days $1,500 

After hours sales or consumption of alcoholic 

beverages. 

10 days $1,250 $1,500 

  

No designated manager on premises. 7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Invalid check to wholesaler or board 

authority. 

7 10 days $500 $750 

  

Inadequate illumination. 7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

ABC license not posted. 7 10 days $750 $1,000 
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Not timely submitting report required by 

statute or regulation. 

7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Designated manager not posted. 7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Person younger than 18 years of age serving 

alcoholic beverages; younger than 21 years of 

age acting as bartender. 

7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Sale of alcoholic beverages in unauthorized 

place or manner. 

10 days $1,250 $1,500 

  

Consumption of alcoholic beverages in 

unauthorized area. 

7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Removal of alcoholic beverages from 

authorized area. 

7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Failure to obliterate mixed beverage stamps. 7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Employee on duty consuming alcoholic 

beverages. 

7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Conducting illegal happy hour. 7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Illegally advertising happy hour. 7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Unauthorized advertising. 7 10 days $750 $1,000 

  

Failure to remit state beer or wine tax (if 

deficiency has been corrected). 

10 days $1,250 $1,500 

  

Wholesaler sale of beer or wine in 

unauthorized manner. 

10 days $1,250 $1,500 

  

Wholesaler sale of beer or wine to 

unauthorized person. 

10 days $1,250 $1,500 
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B. For purposes of this section, the Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority authority will certify alcohol 

seller or server training courses that provide instruction on all 

the topics listed on the Seller/Server [ Seller or Server Seller-

Server ] Training Evaluation form. The following steps should 

be completed to submit a training program for approval: 

1. Complete the Alcohol Seller/Server [ Seller or Server 

Seller-Server ] Training Data Sheet and review the 

[ Seller/Server Seller-Server ] Training Evaluation form to 

make sure the program will meet the listed criteria; and 

2. Submit the Alcohol Seller/Server [ Seller or Server Seller-

Server ] Training Data Sheet and a copy of the proposed 

training program materials for review. Materials submitted 

should include copies of any lesson plans and instructional 

materials used in the training program. 

Requests for certification of training courses should be sent 

to:  

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 
 

Education Section Community Health and Engagement 
 

P.O. Box 27491 3250 
 

Richmond, VA 23261 Mechanicsville, VA 23116 
 

Email: education@abc.virginia.gov 

education@virginiaabc.com 

Persons in charge of any certified alcohol server training 

course shall maintain complete records of all training classes 

conducted, including the date and location of each class and 

the identity of all those successfully completing the course. 

C. For a licensee that operates more than one retail 

establishment, each such establishment shall be considered a 

separate licensee for the purpose of this section. 

3VAC5-70-220. Wine or beer shipper's licenses, Internet 

wine retailer licenses, and Internet beer retailer licenses; 

application process; common carriers; records. 

A. Any person or entity qualified for a wine and beer shipper's 

license pursuant to § 4.1-209.1 of the Code of Virginia, or an 

Internet wine and beer retailer license pursuant to subdivision 

F 2 of - § 4.1-206.3 F 2 of the Code of Virginia, must apply for 

such license by submitting form 805-52, Application for the 

Retail License Application form. In addition to the application, 

each applicant shall submit as attachments a list of all brands 

of wine or beer sought to be shipped by the applicant, along 

with the board-assigned authority-assigned code numbers for 

each brand or a copy of the label approval by the appropriate 

federal agency for any brand not previously approved for sale 

in Virginia pursuant to 3VAC5-40-20 that will be sold only 

through direct shipment to consumers. 

If the applicant is not also the brand owner of the brands listed 

in the application, the applicant shall obtain and submit with 

the application a dated letter identifying each brand, from the 

brand owner or any wholesale distributor authorized to 

distribute the brand, addressed to the Supervisor, Tax 

Management Section, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (authority), indicating the brand owner's or 

wholesale distributor's consent to the applicant's shipping the 

brand to Virginia consumers. 

The applicant shall attach (i) a photocopy of its current license 

as a winery, farm winery, brewery, or alcoholic beverage 

retailer issued by the appropriate authority for the location 

from which shipments will be made and (ii) evidence of the 

applicant's registration with the Virginia Department of 

Taxation for the collection of Virginia retail sales tax. 

B. Any brewery, winery, or farm winery that applies for a 

shipper's license or consents to the application by any other 

person, other than a retail off-premises licensee, for a license 

to ship such brewery's, winery's, or farm winery's brands of 

wine or beer shall notify all wholesale licensees that have been 

authorized to distribute such brands in Virginia that an 

application for a shipper's license has been filed. Such 

notification shall be by a dated letter to each such wholesale 

licensee, setting forth the brands that wholesaler has been 

authorized to distribute in Virginia for which a shipper's 

license has been applied. A copy of each such letter shall be 

forwarded to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, 

authority by the brewery, winery, or farm winery. 

C. Any holder of a wine and beer shipper's license or Internet 

wine and beer retailer's license may add or delete brands to be 

shipped by letter to the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, 

authority designating the brands to be added or deleted. Any 

letter adding brands shall be accompanied by any appropriate 

brand-owner consents or notices to wholesalers as required 

with an original application. 

D. Any brand owner that consents to a holder of a wine and beer 

shipper's license or Internet wine and beer retailer's license 

shipping its brands to Virginia consumers may withdraw such 

consent by a dated letter to the affected wine and beer shipper's 

licensee or Internet wine and beer retailer's licensee. Copies of all 

such withdrawals shall be forwarded by the brand owner, by 

certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Supervisor, Tax 

Management Section authority. Withdrawals shall become 

effective upon receipt of the copy by the Tax Management Section 

authority, as evidenced by the postmark on the return receipt. 

E. Wine and beer shipper's licensees and Internet wine and beer 

retailer's licensees shall maintain for two years complete and 

accurate records of all shipments made under the privileges of 

such licenses, including for each shipment: 

1. Number of containers shipped; 

2. Volume of each container shipped; 

3. Brand of each container shipped; 

4. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

5. Price charged. 
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The records required by this subsection shall be made 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the 

board authority or its special agents upon request. 

F. On or before the 15th day of each month, each wine and 

beer shipper's licensee or Internet wine and beer retailer's 

licensee shall file with the Supervisor, Tax Management 

Section, authority either in paper form or electronically as 

directed by the department authority, a report of activity for the 

previous calendar month. Such report shall include: 

1. Whether any shipments were made during the month; and 

2. If shipments were made, the following information for 

each shipment: 

a. Number of containers shipped; 

b. Volume of each container shipped; 

c. Brand of each container shipped; 

d. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

e. Price charged. 

Unless otherwise paid, payment of the appropriate beer or 

wine tax shall accompany each report. 

G. All shipments by holders of wine and beer shipper's 

licenses or Internet wine and beer retailer's licenses shall be by 

approved common carrier only. Common carriers possessing 

all necessary licenses or permits to operate as common carriers 

in Virginia may apply for approval a permit to provide 

common carriage of wine or beer, or both, shipped by holders 

of wine and beer shipper's licenses or Internet wine and beer 

retailer's licenses, by dated letter to the Supervisor, Tax 

Management Section, requesting such approval and agreeing 

to perform deliveries of beer or wine shipped, maintain 

records, and submit reports in accordance with the 

requirements of this section application. The board authority 

may refuse, suspend, or revoke approval if it shall have 

reasonable cause to believe that a carrier does not possess all 

necessary licenses or permits, that a carrier has failed to 

comply with the regulations of the board authority, or that a 

cause exists with respect to the carrier that would authorize the 

board authority to refuse, suspend, or revoke a license pursuant 

to Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. Before refusing, 

suspending, or revoking such approval, the board authority 

shall follow the same administrative procedures accorded an 

applicant or licensee under Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia 

and regulations of the board authority. 

H. When attempting to deliver wine or beer shipped by a wine 

and beer shipper's licensee or Internet wine and beer retailer's 

licensee, an approved common carrier shall require: 

1. The recipient to demonstrate, upon delivery, that the 

recipient is at least 21 years of age; and 

2. The recipient to sign an electronic or paper form or other 

acknowledgment of receipt that allows the maintenance of 

the records required by this section. 

The approved common carrier shall refuse delivery when the 

proposed recipient appears to be younger than 21 years of age 

and refuses to present valid identification. All licensees 

shipping wine or beer pursuant to this section shall affix a 

conspicuous notice in 16-point type or larger to the outside of 

each package of wine or beer shipped within or into the 

Commonwealth, in a conspicuous location stating: 

"CONTAINS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES; SIGNATURE 

OF PERSON AGED 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED 

FOR DELIVERY." Such notice shall also contain the wine and 

beer shipper's or Internet wine and beer retailer's license 

number of the shipping licensee. No approved common carrier 

shall accept for shipment any wine or beer to be shipped to 

anyone other than a licensee of the board authority unless the 

package bears the information required by this subsection. 

I. Approved common carriers shall maintain for two years 

complete and accurate records of all shipments of wine or beer 

received from and delivered for wine and beer shipper's 

licensees or Internet wine and beer retailer's licensees 

including for each shipment: 

1. Date of shipment and delivery; 

2. Number of items shipped and delivered; 

3. Weight of items shipped and delivered; 

4. Acknowledgment signed by recipient; and 

5. Names and addresses of shippers and recipients. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the 

board authority or its special agents upon request. 

J. On or before the 15th day of each January, April, July, and 

October month, each approved common carrier shall file with 

the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, authority a report of 

activity for the previous calendar quarter month. Such report 

shall include: 

1. Whether any shipments were delivered during the quarter; 

and 

2. If shipments were made, the following information for 

each shipment: 

a. Dates of each delivery; and 

b. Names and address of shippers and recipients for each 

delivery; and 

c. Weight of items shipped and delivered. 

3VAC5-70-225. Delivery permits; application process; 

records and reports; delivery requirements. 

A. Any out of state out-of-state person or entity qualified for 

a delivery permit pursuant to § 4.1-212.1 of the Code of 

Virginia must apply for such permit by submitting Form 805-

52, the Retail License Application form [ for such permit ]. The 

applicant shall attach (i) a photocopy of its current license as 
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an alcoholic beverage retailer that is authorized to sell wine or 

beer at retail for off-premises consumption, issued by the 

appropriate authority for the location from which deliveries 

will be made and (ii) evidence of the applicant's registration 

with the Virginia Department of Taxation for the collection of 

Virginia retail sales tax. 

B. Delivery permittees and licensees with delivery privileges 

pursuant to §§ 4.1-212.1 and 4.1-212.2 of the Code of Virginia 

shall maintain for two years complete and accurate records of 

all deliveries made under the privileges of such permits, 

including for each delivery: 

1. Number of containers delivered; 

2. Volume of each container delivered; 

3. Brand of each container delivered; 

4. Names and addresses of recipients; 

5. Signature of recipient; and 

6. Price charged for the wine or beer delivered. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the 

board Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority) or its special agents upon request. 

C. On or before the 15th day of each month, each delivery 

permittee and licensees with delivery privileges pursuant to 

§ 4.1-212.1 of the Code of Virginia shall file with the 

Supervisor, Tax Management Section, authority a report of 

activity for the previous calendar month, if any deliveries were 

made during the month for which the licensee or permittee is 

required to collect and remit excise taxes [ due to the 

authority ] pursuant to § 4.1-212.1 H of the Code of Virginia. 

Such report shall include the following information for each 

delivery: 

1. Number of containers delivered; 

2. Volume of each container delivered; 

3. Brand of each container delivered; 

4. Names and addresses of recipients; and 

5. Price charged for the wine or beer delivered. 

Unless previously paid, payment of the appropriate beer or 

wine tax imposed by § 4.1-234 or 4.1-236 of the Code of 

Virginia shall accompany each report. If no wine or beer was 

sold and delivered in any month, the permittee shall not be 

required to submit a report for that month; however, every 

permittee must submit a report no less frequently than once 

every 12 months even if no sales or deliveries have been made 

in the preceding 12 months. 

D. All deliveries by holders of delivery permits and licensees 

with delivery privileges pursuant to § 4.1-212.1 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be performed by the owner or any agent, officer, 

director, shareholder, or employee of the permittee or licensee, 

or third-party delivery licensee. 

E. No more than four cases of wine nor more than four cases 

of beer may be delivered at one time to any person, except that 

a permittee or licensee may deliver more than four cases of 

wine or more than four cases of beer if he the permittee or 

licensee notifies the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, 

authority in writing at least one business day in advance of such 

delivery. Any notice given pursuant to this section shall 

include the number of containers to be delivered, the volume 

of each container to be delivered, the brand of each container 

to be delivered, and the name and address of the intended 

recipient. 

F. When attempting to deliver wine or beer alcoholic 

beverages pursuant to a delivery permit or license privilege 

pursuant to § 4.1-212.1 of the Code of Virginia, an owner, 

agent, officer, director, shareholder, or employee of the 

permittee or licensee, or third-party delivery licensee shall 

require: 

1. The recipient to demonstrate, upon delivery, that he the 

recipient is at least 21 years of age; and 

2. The recipient to sign an electronic or paper form or other 

acknowledgment of receipt that allows the maintenance of 

the records required by this section; however, a signature 

shall not be required so long as the licensee verifies at the 

time of delivery that the recipient is 21 years of age or older; 

ensures that the recipient's bona fide identification, as 

described in 3VAC5-50-20 B, bears a photograph that 

reasonably appears to match the appearance of the recipient; 

and records the recipient's name and date of birth and the 

address to which the alcoholic beverages were delivered. 

The owner, agent, officer, director, shareholder, or employee 

of the permittee or licensee, or third-party delivery licensee 

shall refuse delivery when the proposed recipient appears to be 

under the age of younger than 21 years of age and refuses to 

present valid identifications identification. All retail permittees 

or licensees delivering wine or beer alcoholic beverages 

pursuant to this section shall affix a conspicuous notice in 16-

point type or larger to the outside of each package of wine or 

beer alcoholic beverages delivered in the Commonwealth, in a 

conspicuous location, stating: "CONTAINS ALCOHOLIC 

BEVERAGES; SIGNATURE OF RECEIPT BY PERSON 

AGED 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR 

DELIVERY." Such notice shall also contain the delivery 

permit number of the delivering permittee or license number of 

the licensee and shall be affixed to the package even if the 

product is delivered in the manufacturer's original sealed 

container. Third-party delivery licensees shall not deliver any 

alcoholic beverages that do not bear the required label. 

3VAC5-70-230. Sale of designer or vintage spirit bottles. 

A. The following definitions shall apply to designer and 

vintage bottles of spirits: 
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1. Designer: A bottle of spirits manufactured specifically as 

a departure from the manufacturer's standard trademark, 

design, or packaging; originally sold in limited quantities; 

and with a retail value in excess of $500. Each bottle shall 

be accompanied by the manufacturer's certificate of designer 

status.  

2. Vintage: A bottle of spirits wherein the product therein 

has been bottled for at least 20 years or has not been sold by 

the brand owner for a minimum of 10 years. 

3. In either instance the bottle must be (i) the original 

manufacturer's unopened bottle; (ii) neither owned by a 

distillery nor sold on behalf of a distillery, manufacturer, or 

wholesaler; and (iii) not otherwise available for purchase 

from the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

(authority). 

B. Collectors of designer or vintage bottles containing 

distilled spirits may sell them at auction under the following 

conditions: 

1. The seller shall notify the [ secretary to the board 

authority ] of the date, time, and place of the auction sale. 

2. Any bottle sold must be unopened and the manufacturer's 

seals, marks, or stamps affixed to the bottles must be intact. 

3. The auction must be conducted in accordance with the 

provisions of Chapter 6 (§ 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

4. Any purchaser at such auction must be a minimum of 21 

years of age. 

5. For two years from the date of sale, the auctioneer must 

keep records, available to the board authority upon request, 

of the name and address of each purchaser and a description 

of the alcoholic beverages purchased. 

3VAC5-70-240. Marketing portal and fulfillment 

warehouse approval process. 

A. Any holder of a wine and beer shipper's license wishing to 

use the services of a marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse, 

as defined in § 4.1-209.1 of the Code of Virginia, must use an 

approved marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse. 

Marketing portals or fulfillment warehouses licensed to 

perform such services by the state in which they are located 

may apply for approval to provide such services to holders of 

Virginia wine or beer shipper's licenses by letter to the 

Supervisor, Tax Management Section, Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority, requesting such approval 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (authority). 

Each applicant shall submit as attachments copies of all 

licenses issued by the state in which its place of business is 

located that authorize the provision of the services to be 

provided. A marketing portal shall submit as attachments 

copies of documents showing that it is properly organized as 

an agricultural cooperative in the state where it is located. The 

board authority may refuse, suspend, or revoke approval if it 

shall have has reasonable cause to believe that a marketing 

portal or fulfillment warehouse is not licensed to provide such 

services by its home state, that it has failed to comply with the 

regulations of the board authority, or that a cause exists with 

respect to the marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse that 

would authorize the board authority to refuse, suspend, or 

revoke a license pursuant to the Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Act (§ 4.1-100 et seq. of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

Before refusing, suspending, or revoking such approval, the 

board authority shall follow the same administrative 

procedures accorded an applicant or licensee under § 4.1-100 

et seq. of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Act and regulations of the board authority. 

B. Any approved marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse 

shall, prior to performing services for a wine and beer shipper's 

licensee, enter into a written contract. The contract must 

designate the marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse as the 

agent of the shipper for the purposes of complying with the 

provisions of this regulation and §§ 4.1-206.3 and 4.1-209.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. A copy of each such contract shall be 

submitted by the marketing portal or fulfillment warehouse to 

the Supervisor, Tax Management Section, Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Authority, authority prior to the commencement of 

services. 

C. Approved fulfillment warehouses shall maintain for two 

years complete and accurate records of all shipments made on 

behalf of Virginia wine and beer shippers, including for each 

shipment: 

1. Number of containers shipped; 

2. Volume of each container shipped; 

3. Brand of each container shipped; and 

4. Names and addresses of recipients. 

The records required by this subsection shall be made 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the 

board authority or its special agents upon request. 

3VAC5-70-250. Waiver of penalty for certain first-time 

violations. 

A. In accordance with subdivision E 4 of § 4.1-227 E 5 of the 

Code of Virginia, whenever the board Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (authority) finds that a charge 

against a licensee for a violation listed in this subsection is 

substantiated, the licensee has had no prior violations within 

five years immediately preceding the date of the subject 

violation, and the subject violation was not willful and 

knowing, the board shall authority may enter an order 

substantiating the violation without imposing a penalty. The 

provisions of this subsection shall apply to the following 

violations: 
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1. Keeping unauthorized alcoholic beverages on the 

premises, upon which appropriate taxes have been paid; 

2. Allowing an intoxicated person to loiter on the premises; 

3. After hours sales or consumption of alcoholic beverages; 

4. 2. No designated manager on premises; 

5. 3. Invalid check to wholesaler or board authority; 

6. 4. Inadequate illumination; 

7. 5. Not timely submitting a report required by statute or 

regulation; 

8. 6. Designated manager not posted; 

9. 7. Person less younger than 18 years of age serving 

alcoholic beverages; less younger than 21 years of age acting 

as bartender; 

10. 8. Sale of alcoholic beverages in unauthorized place or 

manner; 

11. 9. Consumption of alcoholic beverages in unauthorized 

area; 

12. 10. Removal of alcoholic beverages from authorized 

area; 

13. 11. Failure to obliterate mixed beverage stamps; 

14. 12. Employee on duty consuming alcoholic beverages; 

15. 13. Conducting illegal happy hour; 

16. 14. Illegally advertising happy hour; 

17. 15. Unauthorized advertising; 

18. 16. Failure to remit state beer/wine beer or wine tax (if 

deficiency has been corrected); and 

19. 17. Wholesaler sale of wine/beer beer or wine in 

unauthorized manner; and 

20. Wholesaler sale of wine/beer to unauthorized person. 

B. Whenever any licensee who has not had any substantiated 

violations of regulation or statute within the previous five years 

is charged with a violation, the board authority, if the facts 

found by the board authority would justify a finding that the 

charge is substantiated but is not a willful and knowing 

violation, with the consent of the licensee, may defer further 

proceedings and place the licensee on probation upon terms 

and conditions. 

As a term or condition, the board authority shall require the 

licensee to participate in or provide employees such board-

approved seller/server authority-approved seller or server or 

manager training as, in the opinion of the board authority, may 

be best suited to the needs of the licensee based upon 

consideration of the nature of the violation. 

As a condition of probation, the board authority shall require 

the licensee to (i) successfully complete the required training 

program and (ii) comply with all alcoholic beverage laws and 

regulations during the period of probation. 

Upon violation of a term or condition, the board authority 

may enter an adjudication that the charge is substantiated and 

proceed as otherwise provided. Upon fulfillment of the terms 

and conditions, the board authority shall dismiss the 

proceedings against the licensee. Dismissal under this section 

shall be without adjudication of the charge and is a 

substantiated violation only for the purposes of applying this 

section in subsequent proceedings. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, General 

Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (3VAC5-70) 

Retail License Application (rev. 7/2024) 

Order and Permit for Transportation of Alcohol (rev. 

11/2015) 

Order and Permit for Transportation of Alcoholic Beverages 

(rev. 11/2015) 

Instructions for Completion of the Mixed Beverage Annual 

Report and Inventory Report (rev. 6/2018) 

Application for Grain Alcohol Permit, #805-75 (filed 8/2021) 

Special Event License Application Addendum - Notice to 

Special Event Licenses Applicants, Form SE-1 (rev. 3/2019) 

Statement of Income and Expenses for Special Event 

Licenses (with instructions), Form SE-2 (rev. 3/2019) 

Alcohol Seller/Server Seller-Server Training Data Form and 

Evaluation Form (eff. 7/2009) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7514; Filed December 12, 2024, 10:52 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-90. Procedure for Adjusting 

Grievances (amending 8VAC20-90-10, 8VAC20-90-70). 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/documents/Retail%20License%20Application-20240709082004.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/forms/Industrial%20Tranport%20Alcohol-20210818092756-20210818111213.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/forms/Industrial%20Tranport%20Alcohol-20210818092756-20210818111213.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/forms/Industrial%20Transport%20Culinary-20210818092807-20210818111317.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/forms/Industrial%20Transport%20Culinary-20210818092807-20210818111317.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/forms/MBAR-2019-20210818092818-20210818111747.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/forms/MBAR-2019-20210818092818-20210818111747.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/forms/Grain%20Permit-20210818092828-20210818111950.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/forms/Income%20Expenses%20Addendum-20210818092842-20210818112157.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/forms/Income%20Expenses%20Addendum-20210818092842-20210818112157.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/forms/Income%20Expenses%20Addendum%20(1)-20210818092855-20210818112402.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/3VAC5/forms/Income%20Expenses%20Addendum%20(1)-20210818092855-20210818112402.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c24af001678~1&typ=40&actno=001678&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c24af001678~1&typ=40&actno=001678&mime=application/pdf
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Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-308 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 27, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

750-8750, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Board of Education's overall regulatory 

authority is found in § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. The 

board's regulatory authority over grievance procedures is 

found in § 22.1-309 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The amendments are essential to protect the public 

health, safety, or welfare as § 22.1-308 A 9 of the Code of 

Virginia requires the board to prescribe a grievance procedure 

that includes the provisions of §§ 22.1-309 through 22.1-313 

of the Code of Virginia.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial and therefore 

appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process because the 

proposed changes are required by Virginia statute and the 

agency is not exercising discretion in the changes. 

Substance: The amendments add and amend definitions and 

update the regulation to comport with legislative changes 

concerning procedures for hearings and school board 

determinations. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public, the agency, and 

the Commonwealth is that the amendments effectuate changes 

made by the Virginia General Assembly. There are no 

disadvantages to the public, the agency, or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Education (board) proposes several 

amendments to 8VAC20-90, Procedure for Adjusting 

Grievances (regulation), to reflect the current Code of Virginia. 

Changes to relevant portions of the Code of Virginia occurred 

due to Chapter 875 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly (Chapter 

875), Chapter 1137 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly (Chapter 

1137), and Chapter 477 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly (Chapter 

477). 

Background. Chapter 875 amends § 22.1-309 of the Code of 

Virginia and states that "In the event a division superintendent 

determines to recommend dismissal of any teacher, the teacher 

may request a hearing." Prior to Chapter 875, § 22.1-311 A 

stated: "Upon a timely request for a hearing pursuant to 22.1-

309, the school board or, at the option of the school board, a 

hearing officer appointed by the school board shall set a 

hearing within 15 days of the request and the teacher shall be 

given at least five days' written notice of the time and the 

place." Chapter 875 amended this to: (i) add another type of 

hearing option, (ii) remove the mandate that the hearing be set 

"within 15 days of the request," and (iii) increase the minimum 

number of days of written notice given to the teacher from five 

to 10. Consequently, this sentence in § 22.1-311 A became: 

"Upon a timely request for a hearing pursuant to 22.1-309, the 

school board or, at the option of the school board, a hearing 

officer appointed by the school board or a three-member fact-

finding panel shall set a hearing and the teacher shall be given 

at least ten days' written notice of the time and the place." 

Chapter 875 also added § 22.1-311 C, which specifies 

requirements if a three-member fact-finding panel is used. 

Among the requirements is that "The teacher and the division 

superintendent shall each select one panel member, and the two 

panel members so selected shall select an impartial hearing 

officer to serve as the chairman of the panel." The board 

proposes to amend 8VAC20-90-70 of the regulation so that it 

is consistent with the changes that occurred in Chapter 875. 

Chapters 1137 and 477. The board also proposes to amend 

8VAC20-90-10 to conform the definition of "grievance" and 

add a definition of "military status," pursuant to Chapter 1137 

and Chapter 477, respectively. Chapter 1137, in part, added 

sexual orientation and gender identity to the list of bases for 

which discrimination would give employees grievance rights. 

Chapter 477 created a new definition for "military status," 

which the board proposes to adopt in its entirety. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs: By amending the regulation to 

be consistent with statute, the law in effect would not change. 

Nevertheless, it may be beneficial in that it would inform 

interested parties who read this regulation but not the statute of 

the actual law in effect. According to the Department of 

Education (DOE), the agency is not aware of any three-

member fact finding panels having been convened since the 

2020 enactment of Chapter 875. Additionally, DOE does not 

track how many hearings occur annually. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. All the proposed 

amendments are essentially already in effect through 

legislation. The legislation potentially affects teachers who 

have been recommend for dismissal and the 131 public school 

divisions in the Commonwealth.2 The Code of Virginia 

requires DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result 

from the proposed regulation.3 An adverse impact is indicated 

if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for 

any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined.4 As the proposed amendments do not have impact 

beyond better informing the public of the law in effect, no 

adverse impact is indicated. 

mailto:@jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
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Small Businesses5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do 

not adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments neither 

disproportionately affect any particular locality nor introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not affect the use and value of private property 

or real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 Data source: DOE.  

3 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

4 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

6 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

8 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The State 

Board of Education thanks the Department of Planning and 

Budget for its thorough economic impact analysis concerning 

this action. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 875 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments permit a school board to conduct a teacher 

grievance hearing before a three-member fact-finding panel 

consisting of one member selected by the teacher, one 

member selected by the division superintendent, and an 

impartial hearing officer selected by the other two panel 

members to serve as the chairman of the panel. The school 

board continues to have the option of appointing a hearing 

officer or conducting the hearing itself. The amendments 

also remove the requirement that a teacher grievance 

hearing be set within 15 days of the request for such hearing 

and extends to 10 days the minimum period of advanced 

written notice to the teacher of the time and place of such 

hearing. Pursuant to Chapter 1137 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly and Chapters 477 and 478 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the definition of "grievance" is 

updated and a definition of "military status" is added. 

8VAC20-90-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Business day" means any day that the relevant school board 

office is open. 

"Days" means calendar days unless a different meaning is 

clearly expressed in this procedure. Whenever the last day for 

performing an act required by this procedure falls on a 

Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the act may be performed 

on the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. 

"Dismissal" means the dismissal of any teacher within the 

term of such teacher's contract. 

"Grievance" means, for the purpose of Part II (8VAC20-90-

20 et seq.), a complaint or a dispute by a teacher relating to his 

the teacher's employment, including but not necessarily limited 

to (i) disciplinary action, including dismissal; (ii) the 

application or interpretation of (a) personnel policies, (b) 

procedures, (c) rules and regulations, (d) ordinances, and (e) 

statutes; (iii) acts of reprisal against a teacher for filing or 

processing a grievance, or participating as a witness in any 

step, meeting, or hearing related to a grievance, or serving as a 

member of a fact-finding panel; or and (iv) complaints of 

discrimination on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, 

political affiliation, handicap disability, age, national origin, or 

sex, pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions, 

marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity, or military 

status. Each school board shall have the exclusive right to 

manage the affairs and operations of the school division. 

"Grievance" means, for the purposes of Part III (8VAC20-90-

60 et seq.), a complaint or a dispute involving a teacher relating 

to his employment involving dismissal. The Accordingly, the 

term "grievance" shall not include a complaint or dispute by a 

teacher relating to (i) the establishment and revision of wages 
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or salaries, position classifications, or general benefits; (ii) 

suspension of a teacher or nonrenewal of the contract of a 

teacher who has not achieved continuing contract status; (iii) 

the establishment or contents of ordinances, statutes, or 

personnel policies, procedures, rules, and regulations; (iv) 

failure to promote; (v) discharge, layoff, or suspension from 

duties because of decrease in enrollment, decrease in 

enrollment in or abolition of a particular subject, or insufficient 

funding; (vi) hiring, transfer, assignment, and retention of 

teachers within the school division; (vii) suspension from 

duties in emergencies; (viii) the methods, means, and 

personnel by which the school division's operations are to be 

carried on; or (ix) coaching or extracurricular activity 

sponsorship. While these management rights are reserved to 

the school board, failure to apply, where applicable, these the 

rules, regulations, policies, or procedures as written or 

established by the school board is grievable. 

"Hearing officer" means an impartial hearing officer from 

outside the school division who possesses some knowledge 

and expertise in public education and education law and who 

is capable of presiding over an administrative hearing. 

"Military status" means status (i) as a member of the 

uniformed forces, as defined in 10 USC § 101(a)(5), of the 

United States or a reserve component thereof named under 10 

USC § 10101, (ii) a veteran as defined in 38 USC § 101(2), or 

(iii) a dependent as defined in 50 USC § 3911(4), except that 

the support provided by the service member to the individual 

shall have been provided 180 days immediately preceding an 

alleged action that, if proven true, would constitute unlawful 

discrimination under this section instead of 180 days 

immediately preceding an application for relief under 50 USC 

Chapter 50. 

"Personnel file" means, for the purposes of Part III (8VAC20-

90-60 et seq.), any and all memoranda, entries, or other 

documents included in the teacher's file as maintained in the 

central school administration office or in any file regarding the 

teacher maintained within a school in which the teacher serves. 

"Teacher" or "teachers" means, for the purposes of Part II 

(8VAC20-90-20 et seq.), all employees of the school division 

involved in classroom instruction and all other full-time 

employees of the school division except those employees 

classified as supervising employees. "Teacher" means, for the 

purposes of Part III (8VAC20-90-60 et seq.), all regularly 

licensed professional public school personnel employed by any 

school division under a written contract as provided by § 22.1-

302 of the Code of Virginia as a teacher or as an assistant 

principal, principal, or supervisor as provided by § 22.1-294 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Shall file," "shall respond in writing," or "shall serve written 

notice" means the document is either delivered personally or is 

mailed by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, 

and postmarked within the time limits prescribed by this 

procedure to the grievant or office of the proper school board 

representative. 

"Supervisory employee" means any person having authority 

in the interest of the board State Board of Education to (i) to 

hire, transfer, suspend, layoff, recall, promote, discharge, 

assign, reward, or discipline other employees; and (ii) to direct 

other employees; or (iii) to adjust the grievance of other 

employees; or (iv) to recommend any action set forth in clause 

(i), (ii), or (iii) above of this definition; provided that the 

authority to act as set forth in clause (i), (ii), (iii), or (iv) 

requires the exercise of independent judgment and is not 

merely routine and clerical in nature. 

"Written grievance appeal" means a written or typed 

statement describing the event or action complained of, the 

date of the event or action complained of, and a concise 

description of those policies, rules, regulations, or statutes 

upon which the teacher bases his the claim. The grievant shall 

specify what he the grievant expects to obtain through use of 

the grievance procedure. A written grievance appeal shall be 

on forms prescribed by the State Board of Education and 

supplied by the local school board. 

8VAC20-90-70. Procedure for dismissals. 

A. Notice to teacher of recommendation for dismissal. 

1. In the event a division superintendent determines to 

recommend dismissal of any teacher, written notice shall be 

sent to the teacher on forms prescribed by the State Board of 

Education notifying him the teacher of the proposed 

dismissal and informing the teacher that within 10 business 

days after receiving the notice, the teacher may request a 

hearing before the school board or, at the option of the school 

board, a hearing officer appointed by the school board, as 

provided in § 22.1-311 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. During such 10-business-day period and thereafter until a 

hearing is held in accordance with the provisions herein of 

this subsection, if one is requested by the teacher, the merits 

of the recommendation of the division superintendent shall 

not be considered, discussed, or acted upon by the school 

board except as provided for herein in this subsection. 

3. At the request of the teacher, the division superintendent 

shall provide the reasons for the recommendation in writing 

or, if the teacher prefers, in a personal interview. In the event 

a teacher requests a hearing pursuant to § 22.1-311 or 22.1-

312 of the Code of Virginia, the division superintendent 

shall provide, within 10 days of the request, the teacher, or 

his the teacher's representative, with the opportunity to 

inspect and copy his the teacher's personnel file and all other 

documents relied upon in reaching the decision to 

recommend dismissal. Within 10 days of the request of the 

division superintendent, the teacher, or his the teacher's 

representative, shall provide the division superintendent 

with the opportunity to inspect and copy the documents to 

be offered in rebuttal to the decision to recommend 
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dismissal. The division superintendent and the teacher or his 

the teacher's representative shall be under a continuing duty 

to disclose and produce any additional documents identified 

later that may be used in the respective parties' cases-in-

chief. The cost of copying such documents shall be paid by 

the requesting party. 

4. Upon a timely request for a hearing, the school board or, 

at the school board's option of the school board, a hearing 

officer appointed by the school board shall set a hearing 

within 15 days of the request and the teacher shall be given 

at least five days' written notice of the time and the place of 

the hearing. 

B. Procedure for hearing. 

1. The Upon a timely request for a hearing shall be 

conducted by the pursuant to subsection A of this section, 

the school board or, at the school board's option of the school 

board, a hearing officer appointed by the school board or a 

three-member fact-finding panel shall set a hearing, and the 

teacher shall be given at least a 10-day written notice of the 

time and the place. The teacher and the division 

superintendent may be represented by legal counsel or other 

representatives. The hearing shall be private, unless the 

teacher requests a public the hearing to be public. At the 

hearing, the teacher may appear with or without a 

representative and be heard, presenting testimony of 

witnesses and other evidence. The school board or hearing 

officer, as the case may be, shall establish the rules for the 

conduct of the hearing, and such rules shall include the 

opportunity for the teacher and the division superintendent 

to make an opening statement and to present all material or 

relevant evidence, including the testimony of witnesses, and 

the right of all parties to cross-examine the witnesses. 

Witnesses may be questioned by the school board or hearing 

officer. 

2. The parties shall produce such additional evidence as the 

school board or hearing officer may deem necessary to an 

understanding and determination of the dispute. The school 

board or hearing officer shall determine the relevancy and 

materiality of the evidence offered. All evidence shall be 

taken in the presence of the school board or hearing officer 

and of the parties. Each school board may appoint an 

impartial hearing officer from outside the school division to 

conduct hearings pursuant to this section. A hearing officer 

shall not have been involved in the recommendation of 

dismissal as a witness or a representative. A hearing officer 

shall possess some knowledge and expertise in public 

education and education law and be capable of presiding 

over an administrative hearing. The hearing officer shall 

schedule and preside over such hearings and shall create a 

record or recording of such proceedings. The hearing officer 

shall make a written recommendation to the school board, a 

copy of which shall be provided to the teacher. The hearing 

officer shall transmit the recommendation and the record or 

recording of the hearing to the school board as soon as 

practicable and no more than 10 business days after the 

hearing. In the event of a hearing before a hearing officer, 

the school board may make its decision upon the record or 

recording of such hearing, pursuant to subsection C of this 

section, or the school board may elect to conduct a further 

hearing to receive additional evidence by giving written 

notice of the time and place to the teacher and the division 

superintendent within 10 business days after the board 

receives the record or recording of the initial hearing. Such 

notice shall also specify each matter to be inquired into by 

the school board. 

3. Exhibits offered by the Each school board may elect for a 

three-member fact-finding panel to conduct hearings 

pursuant to this section. The teacher or and the division 

superintendent may be received in evidence by the school 

board or shall each select one panel member, and the two 

panel members so selected shall select an impartial hearing 

officer and, when so received, shall be marked and made a 

part of the record. to serve as the chairman of the panel. The 

fact-finding panel shall schedule and preside over such 

hearings and shall create a record or recording of such 

proceedings. The fact-finding panel shall make a written 

recommendation to the school board, a copy of which shall 

be provided to the teacher. The fact-finding panel shall 

transmit the recommendation and the record or recording of 

the hearing to the school board as soon as practicable but in 

no case more than 10 business days after the hearing. In the 

event of a hearing before a fact-finding panel, the school 

board may make its decision upon the record or recording of 

such hearing, pursuant to subsection C of this section, or the 

school board may elect to conduct a further hearing to 

receive additional evidence by giving written notice of the 

time and place of the hearing to the teacher and the division 

superintendent within 10 business days after the board 

receives the record or recording of the initial hearing. Such 

notice shall also specify each matter to be inquired into by 

the school board. 

4. A stenographic record or tape recording of the 

proceedings any hearing conducted pursuant to this section 

shall be taken made. The two parties shall share the cost of 

the recording equally. The In proceedings concerning 

grievances not related to dismissal, the recording may be 

dispensed with entirely by mutual consent of the parties. In 

such proceedings, if the recording is not dispensed with, the 

two parties shall share the cost of the recording equally; if 

either party requests a transcript, that party shall bear the 

expense of its preparation. In cases of dismissal, the record 

or recording of the proceedings shall be preserved for a 

period of six months. If the school board requests that a 

transcript of the record or recording be made at any time 

prior to expiration of the six-month period, it shall be made 

and copies shall be furnished to both parties. The school 

board shall bear the expense of the transcription. 
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5. The teacher shall bear his own expenses. The school board 

shall bear the expenses of the division superintendent and 

the hearing officer.  

6. 5. Witnesses who are employees of the school board shall 

be granted release time if the hearing is held during the 

school day. The hearing shall be held at the school in which 

most witnesses work, if feasible. 

7. In the event of a hearing conducted by a hearing officer, 

the recommendation of the hearing officer shall be based 

exclusively upon the evidence presented at the hearing. 

Upon the hearing officer's own motion or upon application 

by the teacher or the division superintendent, the hearing 

officer may reopen the hearing for the purpose of hearing 

after-discovered evidence upon a finding of good cause by 

the hearing officer at any time before his recommendation is 

due. The hearing officer shall transmit his written 

recommendation and a record or recording of the hearing to 

the school board as soon as practicable and no more than 10 

business days after the hearing. 

8. In the event of a hearing by a hearing officer, the school 

board may make its decision upon the record or recording of 

such hearing or the school board may elect to conduct a 

further hearing to receive additional evidence. The school 

board must hold such further hearing as soon as practicable 

and must give written notice of the time and place of such 

further hearing to the division superintendent and the teacher 

within 10 business days after the board received the record 

or recording of the initial hearing. The notice must specify 

each matter to be inquired into by the school board. The 

school board shall determine the procedure to be followed at 

such further hearing. 

6. The school board, hearing officer, or three-member fact-

finding panel, as the case may be, shall establish the rules for 

the conduct of the hearing, and such rules shall include the 

opportunity for the teacher and the division superintendent 

to make an opening statement and to present all material or 

relevant evidence, including the testimony of witnesses, and 

the right of all parties to cross-examine the witnesses. 

Witnesses may be questioned by the school board or hearing 

officer. 

7. The parties shall produce such additional evidence as the 

school board, hearing officer, or three-member fact-finding 

panel may deem necessary to an understanding and 

determination of the dispute. The school board, hearing 

officer, or three-member fact-finding panel shall determine 

the relevancy and materiality of the evidence offered. All 

evidence shall be taken in the presence of the school board, 

hearing officer, or three-member fact-finding panel and of 

the parties.  

8. Exhibits offered by the teacher or the division 

superintendent may be received in evidence by the school 

board or hearing officer and, when so received, shall be 

marked and made a part of the record. 

C. School board determination. 

1. The school board shall retain exclusive and final authority 

over matters concerning employment and supervision of the 

school board's personnel, including dismissals and 

suspensions.  

2. In the event of a hearing before the school board, the 

school board shall give the teacher its written decision as 

soon as practicable and but in no case more than 30 days 

after the hearing. The decision of the school board shall be 

reached after considering the evidence and information 

presented at the school board hearing. 

2. 3. In the event of a hearing before a hearing officer 

followed by a further hearing by the school board pursuant 

to subdivision B 8 of this section appointed by the school 

board or a three-member fact-finding panel, the school board 

shall give the teacher its written decision as soon as 

practicable and but in no case more than 30 days after such 

further receiving the record or recording of the hearing; 

however, should there be a further hearing before the school 

board, such decision shall be furnished the teacher as soon 

as practicable but in no case more than 30 days after such 

hearing. The decision of the school board shall be reached 

after considering the record or recording of the initial 

hearing, the recommendations of the hearing officer or three-

member fact-finding panel, and the evidence and 

information presented at the further hearing before the 

school board. 

3. In the event of a hearing before a hearing officer in cases 

in which no further hearing is conducted by the school board, 

the school board shall give the teacher its written decision as 

soon as practicable and no more than 30 days after receiving 

the record or recording of the hearing. The decision of the 

school board shall be reached after considering the record or 

recording of the hearing and the recommendations of the 

hearing officer.  

4. The school board may dismiss or suspend a teacher upon 

a majority vote of a quorum of the school board. 

5. The school board's attorney, assistants, or representative, 

if he the attorney, assistants or they representative 

represented a participant in the prior proceedings; the 

grievant; the grievant's attorney or representative; and, 

notwithstanding the provisions of § 22.1-69 of the Code of 

Virginia, the superintendent shall be excluded from any 

executive session of the school board that has as its purpose 

reaching a decision on a grievance. However, immediately 

after a decision has been made and publicly announced, as 

in favor of or not in favor of the grievant, the school board's 

attorney or representative and the superintendent may join 

the school board in executive session to assist in the writing 

of the decision. 
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6. In those instances when licensed personnel are dismissed 

or resign due to a conviction of any felony, any offense 

involving the sexual molestation, physical or sexual abuse, 

or rape of a child, any offense involving drugs, or due to 

having become the subject of a founded case of child abuse 

or neglect, the local school board shall notify the State Board 

of Education within 10 business days of such dismissal or 

the acceptance of such resignation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7129; Filed December 18, 2024, 3:18 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 

North Ninth Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-381. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Home Care Organizations. 

Agency Contact: Val Hornsby, Policy Analyst, Office of 

Licensure and Certification, Virginia Department of Health, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 

875-1089, or email val.hornsby@vdh.virginia.gov 

FORMS (12VAC5-381) 

Application for Home Care Organization Licensure (rev. 

4/2021) 

Renewal Addendum for Licenses Expiring July 31, 2021 (eff. 

4/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-8181; Filed December 17, 2024, 10:55 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-10, 18VAC85-

20-26, 18VAC85-20-28, 18VAC85-20-29, 18VAC85-20-30, 

18VAC85-20-120, 18VAC85-20-140, 18VAC85-20-141, 

18VAC85-20-210, 18VAC85-20-225, 18VAC85-20-235, 

18VAC85-20-330; repealing 18VAC85-20-20, 18VAC85-

20-40, 18VAC85-20-50, 18VAC85-20-80, 18VAC85-20-90, 

18VAC85-20-285, 18VAC85-20-350, 18VAC85-20-400, 

18VAC85-20-410, 18VAC85-20-420). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 27, 2025. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Medicine are promulgated 

under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia, which provides the board the authority to promulgate 

regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). In addition, § 54.1-

2929 of the Code of Virginia prohibits any individual from 

practicing medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, or chiropractic 

without obtaining a license from the board. 

Purpose: The elimination of redundant provisions and 

reduction of barriers to licensure generally protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens by ensuring a sufficient 

workforce of medical doctors, doctors of osteopathic medicine, 

doctors of pediatric medicine, and doctors of chiropractic with 

a reduction of barriers and reduction of redundant or outdated 

requirements. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: These 

amendments are noncontroversial and appropriate for the fast-

track rulemaking process because the changes delete or modify 

provisions that are redundant of statutory requirements, 

outdated, or otherwise ineffectual. 

Substance: The amendments remove redundant statutory 

provisions or useless directions, including provisions related to 

(i) conversion therapy; (ii) public participation regulations; 

(iii) the closing or selling of a practice; (iv) repeated 

information concerning communication with patients; (v) 

advertising restrictions; (vi) recommendations for the use of 

vitamins, minerals, and supplements; (vii) prescriptions of 

anabolic steroids; (viii) solicitation or remuneration in 

exchange for referrals; (ix) the use of pharmacotherapy for 

weight loss; (x) the requirement to attest to any hours of Type 2 

continuing education; (xi) the board's requirement to 

periodically conduct random audits; (xii) regulatory language 

regarding what a practitioner may voluntarily provide on the 

practitioner profile site; (xiii) informed consent for office-

based procedures; and (xiv) requirements for mixing, diluting, 

or reconstituting drugs for administration. The amendments 

also eliminate the need for an applicant for licensure to provide 

a complete chronological record of professional activities 

mailto:@val.hornsby@vdh.virginia.gov
mailto:@william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
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beyond 10 years prior to application and reduce the 

requirements for active practice for licensure by endorsement. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is a potential 

increase in numbers of practitioners obtaining license by 

endorsement, thereby increasing the number of practitioners 

available in the Commonwealth to see patients. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no primary advantages 

or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a 2022 periodic review2 and in response to Executive 

Order 19 (2022)3 (EO 19), the Board of Medicine (board) is 

proposing to (i) eliminate a $10 registration fee for out-of-state 

volunteers; (ii) reduce the reporting timeframe for a 

chronological record of all professional activities and eliminate 

the requirements to give location, dates, and types of services 

performed on such records for licensure by endorsement 

applications; (iii) eliminate the currently required 30 hours of 

Type 2 continuing education per biennium; (iv) repeal the 

requirement that the board conduct random periodic audits of 

continuing education; (v) allow residents who have obtained 

specialized residency to obtain licensure by endorsement; (vi) 

revise the duration of active practice required for licensure by 

endorsement applicants from "five years" to "two out of the last 

five years"; and (vii) make numerous editorial changes. 

Background. As a result of the 2022 periodic review and in 

order to reduce regulatory requirements as directed by EO 19, 

the board proposes several amendments to generally reduce 

compliance costs by eliminating fees, reducing reporting 

requirements, reducing continuing education requirements, 

and allowing certain individuals to obtain licensure by 

endorsement. Further, other changes delete provisions that 

duplicate statutory requirements or that the board has 

determined are not useful, including provisions related to: 

conversion therapy; public participation regulations; the 

closing or selling of a practice; repeated information 

concerning communication with patients; advertising 

restrictions; recommendations for the use of vitamins, 

minerals, and supplements; prescriptions of anabolic steroids; 

provisions related to solicitation or remuneration in exchange 

for referrals; the use of pharmacotherapy for weight loss; 

regulatory language regarding what a practitioner may 

voluntarily provide on the practitioner profile site; 

consolidation of information related to informed consent for 

office-based procedures and subsequent elimination of 

redundant or extraneous language; and elimination of 

requirements for mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of drugs for 

administration. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs: One of the proposed changes 

would eliminate the $10 registration fee collected from out-of-

state practitioners volunteering in Virginia. The board states 

that the fee is so minimal and used so infrequently that its 

elimination will have virtually no effect on board funds. In 

recent history spanning over several years, this fee was 

collected no more than three times. Therefore, the elimination 

of this fee is not expected to have a significant impact on the 

board. Moreover, the elimination of this fee may encourage 

volunteering activities by out-of-state practitioners in Virginia 

should the need arise. Another change would reduce the 

reporting requirements for licensure by endorsement 

applications. The board proposes to set the timeframe to the 

previous 10 years and to eliminate such required details as 

location, dates, and types of services performed. Currently, the 

regulation requires a complete chronological record without 

referencing any timeframe and requires details such as 

location, dates, and types of services performed on such 

records. According to the board, the existing requirements are 

extraordinarily burdensome for any individual who has 

practiced for more than 10 years. An experienced physician 

who, for example, has been in practice for 30 years in many 

states could face an almost insurmountable task. The board 

feels that limiting this requirement to no more than 10 years 

prior to the application and the elimination of some of the 

specific reporting requirements would reduce this burden. As 

a result, an unknown number of future licensure by 

endorsement applicants would be provided some relief in 

administrative costs in terms of completing the application 

faster and easier than otherwise would be possible. This action 

also includes a proposal to eliminate the currently required 30 

hours of Type 2 continuing education per biennium (i.e., 15 

hours per year). Type 2 continuing education hours are earned 

from sources other than the formal continuing education 

providers, such as reading journals or talking to other 

practitioners. The board states that the requirement for Type 2 

hours is unnecessary because most practitioners would 

complete the activities that are included as Type 2 regardless 

of the requirement and most practitioners obtain far more than 

30 hours of Type 2 continuing education per renewal cycle. 

Thus, the board believes that the Type 2 continuing education 

requirement is an unnecessary and often impossible to verify 

requirement. Given that most practitioners already participate 

in activities that can be counted as Type 2 continuing 

education, and potentially more than the required amount, they 

would likely continue to do so without being required. Thus, 

this change is not expected to create a significant economic 

impact. The board also proposes to repeal the requirement that 

the board conduct random periodic audits of continuing 

education. The board reports that it has only performed one or 

two of these audits in the last two decades, and only on two 

sets of its 21 types of licensees. The board states that it does 

not have staff or the ability to conduct such audits and has not 
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for years. Since the audits have not been performed in the past, 

this change is also unlikely to create any significant economic 

impact. The board also proposes to allow residents who have 

obtained specialized residency, such as in pediatric cardiology, 

to obtain licensure by endorsement. Currently, the regulation 

requires an applicant for licensure by endorsement to have held 

an "unrestricted" license in another jurisdiction for five years 

preceding application. The board proposes to replace the word 

"unrestricted" with "active." The intent of this change is to 

allow some residents who have obtained specialized residency, 

such as in pediatric cardiology, to obtain licensure by 

endorsement. The current language would exclude such 

residents because their residency license is "restricted" to 

practice at a particular facility. This change would benefit an 

unknown number of future applicants by allowing them to 

obtain licensure by endorsement. Another proposed change 

would revise the duration of active practice required for 

licensure by endorsement applicants from "five years" after 

postgraduate training and immediately preceding application 

to "two out of the last five years." According to the board, this 

change is intended to account for individuals who may not 

have consecutive practice in the five years preceding the 

application. This would include military spouses and 

individuals who may have taken a year or more away from 

practice to care for family. The board states that this change is 

consistent with language in regulation of other boards and is 

intended to reduce the burden on endorsement applicants. 

Similarly, this change would benefit an unknown number of 

future applicants who have more than two years of active 

practice in the last five years by allowing them to obtain 

licensure by endorsement. Finally, the board states that all of 

the remaining proposed changes to this regulation are editorial 

in nature and would not affect the practice of medicine, 

osteopathic medicine, podiatry, and chiropractic. For example, 

elimination of language regarding conversion therapy, public 

participation regulations, the closing or selling of a practice, 

repeated information concerning communication with patients, 

advertising restrictions, recommendations for the use of 

vitamins, minerals, and supplements; prescriptions of anabolic 

steroids would not make this regulation any less enforceable or 

applicable because these requirements are still enforceable 

under more general regulatory provisions or under statute. 

However, to the extent that practitioners and other members of 

the public relied upon these regulatory provisions to better 

understand the requirements, some lack of clarity about these 

requirements may result. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed changes 

apply to current licensees, potential applicants by 

endorsement, and potential registrants for voluntary out of state 

licenses. The board has no data regarding any potential 

applicants by endorsement or potential registrants for 

voluntary out of state licenses. However, as of June 30, 2022, 

there were 41,926 individuals licensed as medical doctor and 

4,733 licensed as doctor of osteopathy. There were 1,775 

individuals licensed as chiropractors and 560 licensed as 

podiatrists. None of the regulants appear to be 

disproportionately affected. The Code of Virginia requires 

DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result from the 

proposed regulation.4 An adverse impact is indicated if there is 

any increase in net cost or reduction in net revenue for any 

entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. This action would in general provide some savings 

in compliance costs and allow certain individuals to apply for 

licensure by endorsement but is not anticipated to increase 

costs or reduce revenues for any entity. Thus, no adverse 

impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect any entity including small 

businesses. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments neither 

introduce costs for localities nor disproportionately affect any 

locality. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to allow 

certain individuals (i.e., applicants with specialized residency 

and applicants in active status with less than five consecutive 

year but more than two year out of the last five years) to apply 

for licensure by endorsement would likely have a positive 

impact on employment, but whether such impact would be 

significant is not known as there is no estimate on how many 

individuals may make use of this change. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

changes are expected to provide some savings in compliance 

costs in terms of reduced reporting, fees, or other costs, but the 

magnitude of any such savings and consequently on the asset 

value of affected businesses is not known. No impact on the 

use of private property or real estate development costs is 

expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2147.  

3 https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-

Agency-Regulations.pdf. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

5 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2147
https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-Agency-Regulations.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/EO-19-Development-and-Review-of-State-Agency-Regulations.pdf
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6 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

7 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

8 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board of 

Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to a periodic review and in response to Executive 

Order 19 (2022), the amendments (i) remove provisions 

related to conversion therapy; (ii) eliminate public 

participation regulations; (iii) eliminate a $10 registration 

fee for out-of-state volunteers; (iv) reduce the reporting 

timeframe for a chronological record of all professional 

activities and eliminate the requirements to give location, 

dates, and types of services performed on such records for 

licensure by endorsement applications; (v) eliminate 

provisions related to the closing and selling of a practice; 

(vi) eliminate provisions related to the use of vitamins, 

minerals, and supplements; (vii) eliminate provisions 

related to prescriptions of anabolic steroids; (viii) eliminate 

provisions related to solicitation or remuneration in 

exchange for referrals; (ix) eliminate the currently required 

30 hours of Type 2 continuing education per biennium; (x) 

repeal the requirement that the board conduct random 

periodic audits of continuing education; (xi) allow residents 

who have obtained specialized residency to obtain licensure 
by endorsement; (xii) revise the duration of active practice 

required for licensure by endorsement applicants to two of the 

past five years; (xiii) eliminate requirements for mixing, 

diluting, or reconstituting of drugs for administration; and (xiv) 

make numerous editorial changes. 

18VAC85-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall 

have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of 

Virginia: 

Board 

Healing arts 

Practice of chiropractic 

Practice of medicine or osteopathic medicine 

Practice of podiatry 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Approved institution" means any accredited school or 

college of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, or 

chiropractic located in the United States, its territories, or 

Canada. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"Principal site" means the location in a foreign country where 

teaching and clinical facilities are located. 

18VAC85-20-20. Public Participation Guidelines. 

(Repealed.) 

A separate board regulation, 18VAC85-11, entitled Public 

Participation Guidelines, provides for involvement of the 

public in the development of all regulations of the Virginia 

Board of Medicine.  

18VAC85-20-26. Patient records. 

A. Practitioners shall comply with the provisions of § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality 

and disclosure of patient records. 

B. Practitioners shall provide patient records to another 

practitioner or to the patient or the patient's personal 

representative in a timely manner in accordance with 

provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Practitioners shall properly manage patient records and 

shall maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete patient 

records. 

D. Practitioners shall maintain a patient record for a minimum 

of six years following the last patient encounter with the 

following exceptions: 

1. Records of a minor child, including immunizations, shall 

be maintained until the child reaches the age of 18 years of 

age or becomes emancipated, with a minimum time for 

record retention of six years from the last patient encounter 

regardless of the age of the child; 

2. Records that have previously been transferred to another 

practitioner or health care provider or provided to the patient 

or the patient's personal representative; or 

3. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time. 

E. Practitioners shall post information or in some manner 

inform all patients concerning the timeframe for record 

retention and destruction. Patient records shall only be 

destroyed in a manner that protects patient confidentiality, such 

as by incineration or shredding. 

F. When a practitioner is closing, selling, or relocating his 

practice, he shall meet the requirements of § 54.1-2405 of the 
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Code of Virginia for giving notice that copies of records can 

be sent to any like-regulated provider of the patient's choice or 

provided to the patient. 

18VAC85-20-28. Practitioner-patient communication; 

termination of relationship. 

A. Communication with patients. 

1. Except as provided in § 32.1-127.1:03 F of the Code of 

Virginia, a practitioner shall accurately inform a patient or 

his the patient's legally authorized representative of his the 

patient's medical diagnoses, prognosis, and prescribed 

treatment or plan of care in understandable terms. A No 

practitioner shall not deliberately make a false or misleading 

statement regarding the practitioner's skill or the efficacy or 

value of a medication, treatment, or procedure prescribed or 

directed by the practitioner in the treatment of any disease or 

condition. 

2. A practitioner shall present information relating to the 

patient's care to a patient or his legally authorized 

representative in understandable terms and encourage 

participation in the decisions regarding the patient's care. 

3. 2. Before surgery or any invasive procedure is performed, 

informed consent shall be obtained from the patient in 

accordance with the policies of the health care entity. 

Practitioners shall inform patients of the risks, benefits, and 

alternatives of the recommended surgery or invasive 

procedure that a reasonably prudent practitioner in similar 

practice in Virginia would tell a patient. 

a. In the instance of a minor or a patient who is incapable 

of making an informed decision on his the patient's own 

behalf or is incapable of communicating such a decision 

due to a physical or mental disorder, the legally authorized 

person available to give consent shall be informed and the 

consent documented. 

b. An exception to the requirement for consent prior to 

performance of surgery or an invasive procedure may be 

made in an emergency situation when a delay in obtaining 

consent would likely result in imminent harm to the 

patient. 

c. For the purposes of this provision, "invasive procedure" 

means any diagnostic or therapeutic procedure performed 

on a patient that is not part of routine, general care and for 

which the usual practice within the health care entity is to 

document specific informed consent from the patient or 

surrogate decision maker prior to proceeding. 

4. 3. Practitioners shall adhere to requirements of § 32.1-

162.18 of the Code of Virginia for obtaining informed 

consent from patients prior to involving them as subjects in 

human research with the exception of retrospective chart 

reviews. 

B. Termination of the practitioner/patient practitioner-patient 

relationship. 

1. The practitioner or the patient may terminate the 

relationship. In either case, the practitioner shall make a 

copy of the patient record available, except in situations 

where denial of access is allowed by law. 

2. Except as provided in § 54.1-2962.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, a no practitioner shall not terminate the 

relationship or make his the practitioner's services 

unavailable without documented notice to the patient that 

allows for a reasonable time to obtain the services of another 

practitioner. 

18VAC85-20-29. Practitioner responsibility. 

A. A No practitioner shall not: 

1. Knowingly allow subordinates to jeopardize patient safety 

or provide patient care outside of the subordinate's scope of 

practice or area of responsibility. Practitioners shall delegate 

patient care only to subordinates who are properly trained 

and supervised; 

2. Engage in an egregious pattern of disruptive behavior or 

an interaction in a health care setting that interferes with 

patient care or could reasonably be expected to adversely 

impact the quality of care rendered to a patient; or 

3. Exploit the practitioner and patient practitioner-patient 

relationship for personal gain; or 

4. Engage in conversion therapy with a person younger than 

18 years of age. 

B. Advocating for patient safety or improvement in patient 

care within a health care entity shall not constitute disruptive 

behavior provided the practitioner does not engage in behavior 

prohibited in by subdivision A 2 of this section. 

18VAC85-20-30. Advertising ethics. 

A. Any statement specifying a fee, whether standard, 

discounted or free, for professional services which does not 

include the cost of all related procedures, services and products 

which, to a substantial likelihood, will be necessary for the 

completion of the advertised service as it would be understood 

by an ordinarily prudent person shall be deemed to be 

deceptive or misleading, or both. Where reasonable disclosure 

of all relevant variables and considerations is made, a 

statement of a range of prices for specifically described 

services shall not be deemed to be deceptive or misleading. 

B. Advertising a discounted or free service, examination, or 

treatment and charging for any additional service, 

examination, or treatment that is performed as a result of and 

within 72 hours of the initial office visit in response to such 

advertisement is unprofessional conduct unless such 

professional services rendered are as a result of a bonafide 

emergency. This provision may not be waived by agreement of 

the patient and the practitioner. 
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C. Advertisements of discounts shall disclose the full fee that 

has been discounted. The practitioner shall maintain 

documented evidence to substantiate the discounted fees and 

shall make such information available to a consumer upon 

request. 

D. A licensee shall disclose the complete name of the 

specialty board that conferred the certification when using or 

authorizing the use of the term "board certified" or any similar 

words or phrase calculated to convey the same meaning in any 

advertising for his practice. 

E. A No licensee of the board shall not advertise information 

that is false, misleading, or deceptive. For an advertisement for 

a single practitioner, it shall be presumed that the practitioner 

is responsible and accountable for the validity and truthfulness 

of its content. For an advertisement for a practice in which 

there is more than one practitioner, the name of the practitioner 

or practitioners responsible and accountable for the content of 

the advertisement shall be documented and maintained by the 

practice for at least two years. 

F. Documentation, scientific and otherwise, supporting 

claims made in an advertisement shall be maintained and 

available for the board's review for at least two years. 

18VAC85-20-40. Vitamins, minerals and food 

supplements. (Repealed.) 

A. The recommendation or direction for the use of vitamins, 

minerals or food supplements and the rationale for that 

recommendation shall be documented by the practitioner. The 

recommendation or direction shall be based upon a reasonable 

expectation that such use will result in a favorable patient 

outcome, including preventive practices, and that a greater 

benefit will be achieved than that which can be expected 

without such use.  

B. Vitamins, minerals, or food supplements, or a combination 

of the three, shall not be sold, dispensed, recommended, 

prescribed, or suggested in doses that would be contraindicated 

based on the individual patient's overall medical condition and 

medications.  

C. The practitioner shall conform to the standards of his 

particular branch of the healing arts in the therapeutic 

application of vitamins, minerals or food supplement therapy.  

18VAC85-20-50. Anabolic steroids. (Repealed.) 

A practitioner shall not sell, prescribe, or administer anabolic 

steroids to any patient for other than accepted therapeutic 

purposes.  

18VAC85-20-80. Solicitation or remuneration in exchange 

for referral. (Repealed.) 

A practitioner shall not knowingly and willfully solicit or 

receive any remuneration, directly or indirectly, in return for 

referring an individual to a facility or institution as defined in 

§ 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, or hospital as defined in 

§ 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia.  

Remuneration shall be defined as compensation, received in 

cash or in kind, but shall not include any payments, business 

arrangements, or payment practices allowed by 42 USC 

§ 1320a-7b(b), as amended, or any regulations promulgated 

thereto.  

18VAC85-20-90. Pharmacotherapy for weight loss. 

(Repealed.) 

A. A practitioner shall not prescribe amphetamine, Schedule 

II, for the purpose of weight reduction or control.  

B. A practitioner shall not prescribe controlled substances, 

Schedules III through VI, for the purpose of weight reduction 

or control in the treatment of obesity, unless the following 

conditions are met:  

1. An appropriate history and physical examination are 

performed and recorded at the time of initiation of 

pharmacotherapy for obesity by the prescribing physician, 

and the physician reviews the results of laboratory work, as 

indicated, including testing for thyroid function;  

2. If the drug to be prescribed could adversely affect cardiac 

function, the physician shall review the results of an 

electrocardiogram performed and interpreted within 90 days 

of initial prescribing for treatment of obesity;  

3. A diet and exercise program for weight loss is prescribed 

and recorded;  

4. The patient is seen within the first 30 days following 

initiation of pharmacotherapy for weight loss by the 

prescribing physician or a licensed practitioner with 

prescriptive authority working under the supervision of the 

prescribing physician, at which time a recording shall be 

made of blood pressure, pulse, and any other tests as may be 

necessary for monitoring potential adverse effects of drug 

therapy;  

5. The treating physician shall direct the follow-up care, 

including the intervals for patient visits and the continuation 

of or any subsequent changes in pharmacotherapy. 

Continuation of prescribing for treatment of obesity shall 

occur only if the patient has continued progress toward 

achieving or maintaining a target weight and has no 

significant adverse effects from the prescribed program.  

C. If specifically authorized in his practice agreement with a 

supervising or patient care team physician, a physician 

assistant or nurse practitioner may perform the physical 

examination, review tests, and prescribe Schedules III through 

VI controlled substances for treatment of obesity, as specified 

in subsection B of this section. 

18VAC85-20-120. Prerequisites to licensure. 

Every applicant for licensure shall: 
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1. Meet the educational requirements specified in 

18VAC85-20-121 or 18VAC85-20-122 and the examination 

requirements as specified for each profession in 18VAC85-

20-140; 

2. File the complete application and appropriate fee as 

specified in 18VAC85-20-22 with the executive director of 

the board; and 

3. File the required credentials with the executive director as 

specified below in this subdivision: 

a. Graduates of an approved institution shall file: 

(1) Documentary evidence that he the applicant received a 

degree from the institution; and 

(2) A complete chronological record of all professional 

activities since graduation from professional school, 

giving location, dates, and types of services performed or 

the last 10 years, whichever is less. 

b. Graduates of an institution not approved by an 

accrediting agency recognized by the board shall file: 

(1) Documentary evidence of education as required by 

18VAC85-20-122; 

(2) A translation made and endorsed by a consul or by a 

professional translating service of all such documents not 

in the English language; and 

(3) A complete chronological record of all professional 

activities since graduation from professional school, 

giving location, dates, and types of services performed or 

the last 10 years, whichever is less. 

18VAC85-20-140. Examinations, general. 

A. The Executive Director of the Board of Medicine or his 

the executive director's designee shall review each application 

for licensure and in no case shall an applicant be licensed 

unless there is evidence that the applicant has passed an 

examination equivalent to the Virginia Board of Medicine 

examination required by the board at the time he the applicant 

was examined and meets all requirements of Part III 

(18VAC85-20-120 et seq.) of this chapter. If the executive 

director or his the executive director's designee is not fully 

satisfied that the applicant meets all applicable requirements of 

Part III of this chapter and this part, the executive director or 

his the executive director's designee shall refer the application 

to the Credentials Committee for a determination on licensure. 

B. A doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine who has 

passed the examination of the National Board of Medical 

Examiners or of the National Board of Osteopathic Medical 

Examiners, Federation Licensing Examination, or the United 

States Medical Licensing Examination, or the examination of 

the Licensing Medical Council of Canada or other such 

examinations as prescribed in § 54.1-2913.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be accepted for licensure. 

C. A doctor of podiatry who has passed the National Board of 

Podiatric Medical Examiners examination and has passed a 

clinical competence examination acceptable to the board may 

be accepted for licensure. 

D. A doctor of chiropractic who has met the requirements of 

one of the following may be accepted for licensure: 

1. An applicant who graduated after January 31, 1996, shall 

document successful completion of Parts I, II, III, and 

through IV of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners 

examination (NBCE). 

2. An applicant who graduated from January 31, 1991, to 

January 31, 1996, shall document successful completion of 

Parts I, II, and III of the National Board of Chiropractic 

Examiners examination (NBCE). 

3. An applicant who graduated from July 1, 1965, to January 

31, 1991, shall document successful completion of Parts I, 

II, and III of the NBCE, or Parts I and II of the NBCE and 

the Special Purpose Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC), 

and document evidence of licensure in another state for at 

least two years immediately preceding his application. 

4. An applicant who graduated prior to July 1, 1965, shall 

document successful completion of the SPEC, and document 

evidence of licensure in another state for at least two years 

immediately preceding his application. 

E. Applicants who sat for the United States Medical 

Licensing Examination (USMLE) or the Comprehensive 

Osteopathic Medical Licensure Examination (COMLEX-

USA) shall provide evidence of passing all steps within a 10-

year period unless the applicant is board certified in a specialty 

approved by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the 

Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists of the American Osteopathic 

Association. 

F. Applicants for licensure in podiatry shall provide evidence 

of having passed the National Board of Podiatric Medical 

Examiners Examination to be eligible to sit for the Podiatric 

Medical Licensing Examination (PMLEXIS) in Virginia. 

18VAC85-20-141. Licensure by endorsement. 

To be licensed by endorsement, an applicant shall: 

1. Hold at least one current, unrestricted active license in a 

United States jurisdiction or Canada for the five years 

immediately preceding application to the board; 

2. Have been engaged in active practice, defined as an 

average of 20 hours per week or 640 hours per year, for two 

out of the last five years after postgraduate training and 

immediately preceding application, where such practice is 

not required to be consecutive; 

3. Verify that the most recent license held in another United 

States jurisdiction or in Canada is in good standing, defined 

as current and unrestricted, or if lapsed, eligible for renewal 

or reinstatement; 

4. Hold current certification by one of the following: 
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a. American Board of Medical Specialties; 

b. Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists; 

c. American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery; 

d. American Board of Podiatric Medicine; 

e. Fellowship of Royal College of Physicians of Canada; 

f. Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons of Canada; 

or 

g. College of Family Physicians of Canada; 

5. Submit a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data 

Bank; and 

6. Have no grounds for denial based on provisions of § 54.1-

2915 of the Code of Virginia or regulations of the board nor 

any disciplinary restrictions on a current, active license. 

18VAC85-20-210. Limited licenses to foreign medical 

graduates. 

A. A physician who graduated from an institution not 

approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the board 

applying for a limited professorial license or a limited fellow 

license to practice medicine in an approved medical school or 

college in Virginia shall: 

1. Submit evidence of authorization to practice medicine in 

a foreign country. 

2. Submit evidence of a standard Educational Commission 

for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG) certificate or its 

equivalent. Such required evidence may be waived by the 

Credentials Committee or its designee based on other 

evidence of medical competency and English proficiency. 

3. Submit a recommendation from the dean of an accredited 

medical school in Virginia that the applicant is a person of 

professorial or of fellow rank whose knowledge and special 

training meet the requirements of § 54.1-2936 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

B. The limited professorial license or limited fellow license 

applies only to the practice of medicine in hospitals and 

outpatient clinics where medical students, interns, or residents 

rotate and patient care is provided by the medical school or 

college recommending the applicant. 1. The A limited 

professorial license or limited fellow license shall be valid for 

one year and may be renewed annually. Renewals shall be 

based upon the recommendation of the dean of the medical 

school and upon continued full-time service as a faculty 

member. 2. The limited fellow license shall be valid for one 

year and may be renewed not more than twice upon the 

recommendation of the dean of the medical school and upon 

continued full-time or employment as a fellow, although a 

limited fellow license may not be renewed more than twice. 

C. An individual who has practiced with a limited professorial 

license for five continuous years may have a waiver when 

applying for a full license to practice medicine in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. The limited professorial licensee 

applying for a full license shall meet the requirements of 

18VAC85-20-120 and 18VAC85-20-122. 

18VAC85-20-225. Registration for voluntary practice by 

out-of-state licenses. 

Any doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, or 

chiropractic who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia 

and who seeks registration to practice under subdivision A 27 

of § 54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis 

under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, 

nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision of health 

care to populations of underserved people shall: 

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least five business days prior to 

engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will 

not be considered; 

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 

each state in which he the applicant has held a license and a 

copy of any current license; 

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates, 

and the location of the voluntary provision of services; and 

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and 

5. 4. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 

the nonprofit organization attesting to its the nonprofit's 

compliance with provisions of subdivision A 27 of § 54.1-

2901 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC85-20-235. Continued competency requirements for 

renewal of an active license. 

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a 

practitioner shall attest to completion of at least 60 30 hours of 

continuing learning activities within the two years immediately 

preceding renewal as follows: 1. A minimum of 30 of the 60. 

The hours shall be in Type 1 activities or courses offered by an 

accredited sponsor or organization sanctioned by the 

profession. 

a. 1. Type 1 hours in chiropractic shall be clinical hours that 

are approved by a college or university accredited by the 

Council on Chiropractic Education or any other organization 

approved by the board. 

b. 2. Type 1 hours in podiatry shall be accredited by the 

American Podiatric Medical Association, the American 

Council of Certified Podiatric Physicians and Surgeons or 

any other organization approved by the board. 

2. No more than 30 of the 60 hours may be Type 2 activities 

or courses, which may or may not be approved by an 

accredited sponsor or organization but which shall be chosen 

by the licensee to address such areas as ethics, standards of 
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care, patient safety, new medical technology, and patient 

communication. 

a. Up to 15 of the Type 2 continuing education hours may 

be satisfied through delivery of services, without 

compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

services through a local health department or a free clinic 

organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of health 

services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services. 

For the purpose of continuing education credit for 

voluntary service, documentation by the health 

department or free clinic shall be acceptable. 

b. Type 2 hours may include teaching in a health care 

profession field. 

B. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia. 

C. The practitioner shall retain in his the practitioner's records 

all supporting documentation for a period of six years 

following the renewal of an active license. 

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of its 

active licensees to determine compliance. The practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit. 

E. D. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

F. E. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date. 

G. F. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters. 

H. G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for a licensee who: 

1. Is practicing solely in an uncompensated position, 

provided his the licensee's practice is under the direction of 

a physician fully licensed by the board; or 

2. Is practicing solely as a medical examiner, provided the 

licensee obtains six hours of medical examiner training per 

year provided by the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner. 

18VAC85-20-285. Voluntary information. (Repealed.) 

A. The doctor may provide names of insurance plans accepted 

or managed care plans in which he participates.  

B. The doctor may provide additional information on hours 

of continuing education earned, subspecialties obtained, and 

honors or awards received.  

18VAC85-20-330. Qualifications of providers. 

A. Doctors who utilize office-based anesthesia shall ensure 

that all medical personnel assisting in providing patient care 

are appropriately trained, qualified and supervised, are 

sufficient in numbers to provide adequate care, and maintain 

training in basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

B. All providers of office-based anesthesia shall hold the 

appropriate license and have the necessary training and skills 

to deliver the level of anesthesia being provided. 

1. Deep sedation, general anesthesia, or a major conductive 

block shall be administered by an anesthesiologist or by a 

certified registered nurse anesthetist. If a major conductive 

block is performed for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, it 

may be administered by a doctor qualified by training and 

scope of practice. 

2. Moderate sedation/conscious sedation may be 

administered by the operating doctor with the assistance of 

and monitoring by a licensed nurse, a physician assistant or 

a licensed intern or resident. 

C. Additional training. 

1. On or after December 18, 2003, the doctor who provides 

office-based anesthesia or who supervises the administration 

of anesthesia shall maintain current certification in advanced 

resuscitation techniques. 

2. Any doctor who administers office-based anesthesia 

without the use of an anesthesiologist or certified registered 

nurse anesthetist shall obtain four hours of continuing 

education in topics related to anesthesia within the 60 hours 

required each biennium for licensure renewal, which are 

subject to random audit by the board. 

D. Prior to administration, the anesthesia plan shall be 

discussed with the patient or responsible party by the health 

care practitioner administering the anesthesia or supervising 

the administration of anesthesia. Informed consent for the 

nature and objectives of the anesthesia planned shall be in 

writing and obtained from the patient or responsible party 

before the procedure is performed. Such consent shall include 

a discussion of discharge planning and what care or assistance 

the patient is expected to require after discharge. Informed 

consent shall only be obtained after a discussion of the risks, 

benefits, and alternatives, contain the name of the anesthesia 

provider, and be documented in the medical record. 

18VAC85-20-350. Informed consent. (Repealed.) 

A. Prior to administration, the anesthesia plan shall be 

discussed with the patient or responsible party by the health 

care practitioner administering the anesthesia or supervising 

the administration of anesthesia. Informed consent for the 

nature and objectives of the anesthesia planned shall be in 

writing and obtained from the patient or responsible party 

before the procedure is performed. Such consent shall include 
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a discussion of discharge planning and what care or assistance 

the patient is expected to require after discharge. Informed 

consent shall only be obtained after a discussion of the risks, 

benefits, and alternatives, contain the name of the anesthesia 

provider, and be documented in the medical record.  

B. The surgical consent forms shall be executed by the patient 

or the responsible party and shall contain a statement that the 

doctor performing the surgery is board certified or board 

eligible by one of the American Board of Medical Specialties 

boards, the Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists of the American 

Osteopathic Association, the American Board of Podiatric 

Medicine, or the American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery. 

The forms shall either list which board or contain a statement 

that doctor performing the surgery is not board certified or 

board eligible. 

C. The surgical consent forms shall indicate whether the 

surgery is elective or medically necessary. If a consent is 

obtained in an emergency, the surgical consent form shall 

indicate the nature of the emergency. 

18VAC85-20-400. Requirements for immediate-use sterile 

mixing, diluting, or reconstituting. (Repealed.) 

A. For the purposes of this chapter, the mixing, diluting, or 

reconstituting of sterile manufactured drug products when 

there is no direct contact contamination and administration 

begins within 10 hours of the completion time of preparation 

shall be considered immediate-use with the exception of drugs 

in fat emulsion for which immediate use shall be one hour. If 

manufacturers' instructions or any other accepted standard 

specifies or indicates an appropriate time between preparation 

and administration of less than 10 hours, the mixing, diluting, 

or reconstituting shall be in accordance with the lesser time. 

No direct contact contamination means that there is no 

contamination from touch, gloves, bare skin, or secretions 

from the mouth or nose. Emergency drugs used in the practice 

of anesthesiology and administration of allergens may exceed 

10 hours after completion of the preparation, provided 

administration does not exceed the specified expiration date of 

a multiple use vial and there is compliance with all other 

requirements of this section. 

B. Doctors of medicine or osteopathic medicine who engage 

in immediate-use mixing, diluting, or reconstituting shall:  

1. Utilize the practices and principles of disinfection 

techniques, aseptic manipulations and solution compatibility 

in immediate-use mixing, diluting, or reconstituting; 

2. Ensure that all personnel under their supervision who are 

involved in immediate-use mixing, diluting, or 

reconstituting are appropriately and properly trained in and 

utilize the practices and principles of disinfection 

techniques, aseptic manipulations, and solution 

compatibility; 

3. Establish and implement procedures for verification of the 

accuracy of the product that has been mixed, diluted, or 

reconstituted to include a second check performed by a 

doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine or by a physician 

assistant or a registered nurse who has been specifically 

trained pursuant to subdivision 2 of this subsection in 

immediate-use mixing, diluting, or reconstituting. Mixing, 

diluting, or reconstituting that is performed by a doctor of 

medicine or osteopathic medicine or by a specifically trained 

physician assistant or registered nurse or mixing, diluting, or 

reconstituting of vaccines does not require a second check; 

4. Provide a designated, sanitary work space and equipment 

appropriate for aseptic manipulations; 

5. Document or ensure that personnel under his supervision 

document in the patient record or other readily retrievable 

record that identifies the patient; the names of drugs mixed, 

diluted or reconstituted; and the date of administration; and 

6. Develop and maintain written policies and procedures to 

be followed in mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of sterile 

products and for the training of personnel. 

C. Any mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of drug products 

that are hazardous to personnel shall be performed consistent 

with requirements of all applicable federal and state laws and 

regulations for safety and air quality, to include but not be 

limited to those of the Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration (OSHA). For the purposes of this chapter, 

Appendix A of the National Institute for Occupational Safety 

and Health publication (NIOSH Publication No. 2004-165), 

Preventing Occupational Exposure to Antineoplastic and Other 

Hazardous Drugs in Health Care Settings is incorporated by 

reference for the list of hazardous drug products and can be 

found at www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/2004-165. 

18VAC85-20-410. Requirements for low-risk, medium-

risk, or high-risk sterile mixing, diluting, or reconstituting. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Any mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of sterile products 

that does not meet the criteria for immediate-use as set forth in 

18VAC85-20-400 A shall be defined as low-risk, medium-

risk, or high-risk compounding under the definitions of 

Chapter 797 of the U.S. Pharmacopeia (USP). 

B. Doctors of medicine or osteopathic medicine who engage 

in low-risk, medium-risk, or high-risk mixing, diluting, or 

reconstituting of sterile products shall comply with all 

applicable requirements of the USP Chapter 797. Subsequent 

changes to the USP Chapter 797 shall apply within one year of 

the official announcement by USP. 

C. A current copy, in any published format, of USP Chapter 

797 shall be maintained at the location where low-risk, 

medium-risk, or high-risk mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of 

sterile products is performed. 
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18VAC85-20-420. Responsibilities of doctors who mix, 

dilute or reconstitute drugs in their practices. (Repealed.) 

A. Doctors of medicine or osteopathic medicine who delegate 

the mixing, diluting or reconstituting of sterile drug products 

for administration retain responsibility for patient care and 

shall monitor and document any adverse responses to the 

drugs.  

B. Doctors who engage in the mixing, diluting or 

reconstituting of sterile drug products in their practices shall 

disclose this information to the board in a manner prescribed 

by the board and are subject to unannounced inspections by the 

board or its agents. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R25-7377; Filed December 18, 2024, 1:28 p.m. 

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS, 
WETLAND PROFESSIONALS, AND GEOLOGISTS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC145-40. Regulations for the 

Geology Certification Program (amending 18VAC145-40-

10, 18VAC145-40-30, 18VAC145-40-60, 18VAC145-40-70, 

18VAC145-40-83 through 18VAC145-40-100, 18VAC145-

40-120; repealing 18VAC145-40-80, 18VAC145-40-140, 

18VAC145-40-150). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 22, 2025 - 10 a.m. - Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Training 

Room 1, Richmond, VA 23233. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 14, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, 

and Geologists, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, 

or email soilscientist@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

powers and duties of regulatory boards to (i) establish the 

qualifications of applicants for certification or licensure by any 

such board, provided that all qualifications shall be necessary 

to ensure either competence or integrity to engage in such 

profession or occupation and to promulgate regulations in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq.) necessary to ensure continued competency and (ii) 

prevent deceptive or misleading practices by practitioners and 

to effectively administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: As mandated by the General Assembly, the board 

protects the public welfare, in part, by establishing through 

regulation (i) the minimum qualifications of applicants for 

certification or licensure, provided that all qualifications are 

necessary to ensure either competence or integrity to engage in 

the profession or occupation; (ii) minimum standards to ensure 

continued competency and to prevent deceptive or misleading 

practices by practitioners; and (iii) requirements to effectively 

administer the regulatory system administered by the board. 

Substance: The proposed amendments: 

1. Revise 18VAC145-40-10 to (i) incorporate relevant 

statutory definitions by reference and (ii) revise the definition 

of "related geological science degree." 

2. Revise 18VAC145-40-30 to remove a provision related to 

the renewability of certificates that are suspended or revoked 

by the board. 

3. Revise provisions regarding use of a seal by a certified 

professional geologist in 18VAC145-40-60, including 

provisions regarding the size and dimension of the seal. 

4. Revise 18VAC145-40-70 to (i) refer to the statutory 

qualifications for certification in § 54.1-2208.2 of the Code of 

Virginia; (ii) provide qualification requirements for an 

applicant to establish "ethical character"; (iii) remove 

provisions that are duplicative of statutory requirements; and 

(iv) amend other provisions related to qualifying education or 

experience. 

5. Repeal of the examination waiver provisions in 18VAC145-

40-80 as the provisions of this section are not necessary to be 

in the regulation. 

6. Revise the provisions for qualifications for the 

Fundamentals of Geology examination in 18VAC145-40-83, 

including revising provisions related to specific course 

subjects required for an individual seeking to qualify with a 

nongeological science degree. 

7. Revise the provisions for qualifications for a geologist-in-

training (GIT) designation in 18VAC145-40-85 to (i) provide 

for qualification requirements for an applicant to establish 

"ethical character"; (ii) simplify and reduce qualifying 

education requirements; (iii) remove the requirement that an 

applicant make application on a board-provided form; and (iv) 

remove unnecessary provisions regarding the authority of the 

holder of a GIT designation to practice as a certified 

professional geologist. 

8. Revise 18VAC145-40-90 to remove certain standards of 

conduct that are not necessary to protect the public health, 

safety, and welfare. 

9. Revise 18VAC145-40-100 to make requirements for 

reporting a change of name or address applicable to individuals 

holding a GIT designation. 

10. Revise 18VAC145-40-120 to replace a prohibition on 

offering consideration in seeking work with a prohibition on 

soliciting or accepting gratuities in connection with work for 

which the regulant is responsible. 

11. Repeal 18VAC145-40-140, which provides for the board's 

authority to impose regulatory discipline, as these provisions 

are duplicative of statutory provisions. 

12. Repeal 18VAC145-40-150, which provides for reissuing a 

certificate after revocation. 

mailto:@soilscientist@dpor.virginia.gov
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Issues: The primary advantages to the public and regulated 

community include providing clarification to provisions of the 

regulation, ensuring the regulation complements Virginia law 

and reflects current agency procedures, and reducing 

regulatory burdens by removing requirements that are not 

necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public. There are no identifiable disadvantages to the public or 

the Commonwealth. It is not anticipated that the regulatory 

change will create any substantial disadvantages to the 

regulated community. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's best 

estimate of the potential economic impacts as of the date of this 

analysis.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, 

and Geologists (board) proposes to (i) amend the 30 hours of 

coursework needed to be certified as a professional geologist 

to remove the requirement that the coursework be in seven 

specific geological science subjects, (ii) amend the 12 

minimum hours of geological science coursework needed to 

become a geologist-in-training to replace paleontology with 

hydrogeology, and (iii) stipulate in the regulation how an 

applicant for certification as a professional geologist may 

establish ethical character. 

Background. The initial impetus for this action was Executive 

Directive Number One (2022), which directs executive branch 

entities under the authority of the Governor to initiate 

regulatory processes to reduce by at least 25% the number of 

regulations not mandated by federal or state statute, in 

consultation with the Office of the Attorney General, and in a 

manner consistent with the laws of the Commonwealth. This 

regulation establishes rules for individuals who practice or 

offer to practice as a geologist or in a geological specialty by 

providing that such individuals may voluntarily obtain 

certification from the board as a certified geologist as evidence 

of qualification to engage in this occupation. Individuals that 

meet the requirements of certification are authorized to 

represent themselves to the public as certified geologists. 

However, a lack of certification does not prohibit the practice 

of geology. The regulation ensures that individuals who are 

certified have met the minimum standards (including 

education, experience, and examination) that have been 

established by the General Assembly and the board to practice 

as a certified geologist. In order to comply with Executive 

Directive Number One, the board primarily proposes changes 

that would repeal language that is duplicative of statute and 

nonregulatory in nature. Two other proposed changes aim to 

reduce regulatory burdens, and one proposed change would 

provide clarity on how an applicant may establish ethical 

character. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs: The main goal of this regulatory 

action is to reduce regulatory text that is either duplicative of 

statute or text that is nonregulatory in nature. In addition, two 

of the proposed changes would depart from current 

requirements. One change would remove the requirement that 

the 30 hours of required courses to sit for the fundamentals of 

geology exam (needed to apply for certification as a 

professional geologist) be in seven specific geological science 

subjects (i.e., stratigraphy, structural geology, mineralogy, 

paleontology, petrology, geomorphology, and field geology). 

Another change in this category would amend the requirements 

for persons applying to be a geologist-in-training by replacing 

paleontology with hydrogeology as one of the seven qualifying 

course subjects in at least four of which the required 12 

minimum hours of geological science courses must be 

completed. According to the board, these changes provide 

more flexibility to those who would take the fundamentals of 

geology exam and would be less stringent for those who are 

seeking geologist-in-training designation. Accordingly, more 

individuals may qualify to sit for the exam and obtain 

certification. A third change would provide details on how an 

applicant may establish that the applicant is of ethical 

character. The proposed requirements relate to disclosing prior 

convictions and disciplinary actions and reflect current 

practice. Currently, being of an ethical character is required but 

the regulation does not describe how the board makes this 

determination. Thus, the proposed change may provide clarity. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Currently, there are 

959 certified professional geologists and 84 geologists-in-

training in Virginia. No regulants appear to be 

disproportionately affected. The Code of Virginia requires 

DPB to assess whether an adverse impact may result from the 

proposed regulation.2 An adverse impact is indicated if there is 

any increase in net cost or reduction in net benefit for any 

entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined.3 The proposed changes do not represent an increase 

in net cost or reduction in net benefit for any entity. Thus, no 

adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected.5 No adverse impact on small 

businesses is expected. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments, nor do they 

disproportionately affect any locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. One of the proposed 

changes provides more flexibility to those who would take the 

fundamentals of geology exam, and another change is less 

stringent for those who is seeking geologist in training 

certification. Accordingly, more individuals may qualify to sit 

for the exam and obtain certification. However, whether the 

proposed changes have the potential to affect total employment 

is not known. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Professional 

geologist certifications are issued to individuals, not business 

entities. Thus, no direct impact on the use and value of private 

property or on real estate development costs is expected. 

_____________________________ 
1 Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 

regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 

affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property.  

2 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation.  

3 Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. As a result, DPB has adopted 

a definition of adverse impact that assesses changes in net costs and benefits 

for each affected Virginia entity that directly results from discretionary 

changes to the regulation. 

4 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million."  

5 If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

6 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur.  

7 Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, and 

Geologists concurs with the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments update (i) the definitions section; 

(ii) provisions for the expiration, renewal, and reinstatement 

of certificates; (iii) provisions for use of seal; (iv) provisions 

for qualification for certification, including qualifying 

experience and education; (v) provisions for qualifying for 

the Fundamentals of Geology examination and receiving a 

Geologist-in-Training designation; and (vi) standards of 

practice and conduct. 

18VAC145-40-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 54.1-2200 of the Code of Virginia provides 

definitions of the following terms and phrases as used in this 

chapter: 

Board 

Geologist 

Geology 

Practice of geology 

Qualified geologist 

Virginia certified professional geologist 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Board" means the Board for Professional Soil Scientists, 

Wetland Professionals, and Geologists. 

"Geological mapping" means the process of creating a map 

on which is recorded geological information, such as the 

distribution, nature, and age of relationships of rock units, in 

which surficial deposits may or may not be mapped separately, 

and the occurrence of structural features such as folds, faults, 

and joints; mineral deposits; and fossil localities. "Geological 

mapping" may indicate geologic structure by means of 

formational outcrop patterns, by conventional symbols giving 

the direction and amount of dip at certain points, or by 

structure-contour lines. 

"Geologist" means a person engaged in the practice of 

geology. 

"Geologist-in-Training (GIT)" or "GIT" means an individual 

who has completed the academic requirements specified in this 

chapter and has passed the Fundamentals of Geology 

examination, but has not met all requirements to qualify as a 

Virginia certified professional geologist. 

"Geology" means the science encompassing those principles 

methods related to (i) the earth and its history in general; (ii) 

the investigation, prediction, evaluation, and location of 

materials and structures that compose the earth; (iii) the natural 

processes that cause changes in the earth; and (iv) the 

application of knowledge of the earth, its processes, and its 

constituent rocks, minerals, liquids, gases, and other natural 

materials. 

"Practice of geology" means the performance of any 

professional service or work wherein the principles and 

methods of geology are applied, including (i) investigating, 

evaluating, and consulting; (ii) geological mapping; (iii) 

describing the natural processes that act upon the earth's 

materials; (iv) predicting the probable occurrence of natural 
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processes; and (v) inspecting, planning, and performing and 

supervising geological work in order to enhance and protect 

the health, safety, and welfare of the public and the 

environment. 

"Qualified geologist" means an uncertified person who 

possesses all the qualifications specified in § 54.1-2208.2 of 

the Code of Virginia for certification. 

"Related geological science degree" means a degree that shall 

include a degree in economic geology or petroleum geology 

includes 30 semester hours of courses in the geosciences, 

including 12 or more semester hours from at least four of the 

following disciplines: stratigraphy, structural geology, 

hydrogeology, mineralogy, petrology, geomorphology, and 

field geology. 

"Responsible charge" means the direct control and 

supervision of the practice of geology. 

"Supervision" means quality control review of all significant 

data collection, interpretation, and conclusions. 

"Virginia certified professional geologist" means a person 

who possesses all qualifications specified in this chapter for 

certification and whose competence has been attested by the 

board through certification. 

18VAC145-40-30. Expiration, renewal and fee of certificate 

holders. 

A. Certificates issued under this chapter shall expire on 

August 31 of the odd-numbered year following the date of 

issuance. Certificate holders shall be notified by mail of the fee 

and the procedure for certificate renewal at least 45 days before 

the certificate expires. Each certificate holder desiring to renew 

his a certificate shall submit the renewal notice with the 

appropriate fee before the certificate expires. 

B. There shall be a penalty fee for late renewal assessed in 

addition to the renewal fee for any certificate holder failing to 

renew the certificate within 30 days following the date of 

expiration. 

C. Failure to receive written notice from the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation does not relieve the 

regulant from the requirement to renew his the certificate. If 

the certificate holder fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy 

of the certificate may be submitted with the required fee. 

D. The date a fee is received by the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, will be 

used to determine whether a penalty fee or the requirement for 

reinstatement of a certificate is applicable. 

E. Revoked or suspended certificates are not renewable until 

reinstated by the board. 

18VAC145-40-60. Use of seal. 

A certified professional geologist may apply a rubber stamp 

or preprinted seal to final and complete cover sheets and to 

each original sheet of plans or drawings prepared or reviewed 

and approved by the regulant. The seal may be applied to the 

cover sheet of technical reports and specifications prepared or 

reviewed and approved by the regulant. 

1. All seal imprints on final documents shall be signed. 

2. Application of the seal and signature shall indicate 

acceptance of responsibility for work shown thereon. 

3. The original seal shall be two inches in diameter and 

conform in detail and size to the design illustrated below: in 

this subdivision. 

 

*The number referred to is the number, usually three or four 

digits, as shown on the wall certificate and is the license 

renewal number issued each biennium as indicated on the 

licensee's pocket card. The number will not change every two 

years, but is permanent on the seal is the last four digits of the 

certificate number. 

18VAC145-40-70. Qualifications for certification. 

A. Each In addition to the requirements in § 54.1-2208.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, each applicant for certification as a 

certified professional geologist in Virginia shall: 

1. Make application on forms provided by the board; 

2. Be of ethical character;, which may be established if the 

applicant: 

a. Has not been convicted of a non-marijuana 

misdemeanor in the last 10 years or has never been 

convicted of a felony that would render the applicant unfit 

or unsuited to engage in the occupation or profession 

applied for in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

b. Has committed no act involving dishonesty, fraud, 

misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary duty, negligence, or 

incompetence reasonably related to: 

(1). The proposed area of practice within 10 years prior to 

application for licensure, certification, or registration; or 
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(2). The area of practice related to licensure, certification, 

or registration by the board while under the authority of 

the board; 

c. Has not engaged in fraud or misrepresentation in 

connection with the application for licensure, certification, 

or registration, or related exam; 

d. Has not had a license, certification, or registration 

revoked or suspended for cause or been disciplined by the 

Commonwealth or by any other jurisdiction, or 

surrendered a license, certificate, or registration in lieu of 

disciplinary action; or 

e. Has not practiced without the required license, 

certification, or registration in the Commonwealth or in 

another jurisdiction within the five years immediately 

preceding the filing of the application for licensure, 

certification, or registration by the Commonwealth. 

3. Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited 

college or university with a major in geology, engineering 

geology, geological engineering or a related geological 

science. In the absence of one of the aforementioned 

degrees, each applicant shall provide evidence of the 

satisfactory completion of 30 semester hours (or the 

equivalent) of geological science courses including, but not 

limited to, the following subjects: 

a. Stratigraphy; 

b. Structural geology; 

c. Mineralogy; 

d. Paleontology; 

e. Petrology; 

f. Geomorphology; and 

g. Field geology. 

At least 12 semester hours must have been completed in four 

of the seven subjects listed in this subsection. 

4. Provide the board with written documentation that 

demonstrates that the courses satisfactorily completed by the 

applicant are equivalent to those required by this section. 

5. 3. Have at least seven years of geological work that shall 

include either a minimum of three years of geological work 

under the supervision of a qualified or certified professional 

geologist, or a minimum of three years of experience in 

responsible charge of geological work. The work shall 

include, but not be limited to, one or more of the following 

areas: 

a. Mineralogy. 

(1) Identify and classify major rock types. 

(2) Identify mineral assemblages. 

(3) Determine probable genesis and sequence of mineral 

assemblages. 

(4) Identify minerals on the basis of chemical 

composition. 

(5) Predict subsurface mineral characteristics on the basis 

of exposures and drillholes. 

b. Petrography/petrology Petrography or petrology. 

(1) Identify and classify major rock types. 

(2) Determine physical properties of rocks. 

(3) Determine chemical properties of rocks. 

(4) Determine types or degrees of rock alteration. 

(5) Determine suites of rock types. 

c. Geochemistry. 

(1) Establish analytical objectives and approaches. 

(2) Evaluate geochemical data. 

(3) Construct models based on results of geochemical 

analysis. 

(4) Make recommendations based upon results of 

geochemical analyses. 

d. Hydrogeology. 

(1) Design and interpret hydrologic testing programs. 

(2) Utilize chemical data to evaluate hydrogeologic 

conditions. 

(3) Apply geophysical methods to analyze hydrogeologic 

conditions. 

(4) Determine physical and chemical properties of 

aquifers and vadose zones. 

(5) Determine groundwater flow systems. 

(6) Evaluate groundwater resources. 

(7) Evaluate groundwater quality. 

(8) Design wells and drilling programs. 

(9) Develop groundwater resource management plans. 

(10) Plan and evaluate remedial action programs. 

e. Engineering geology. 

(1) Provide geological information and interpretations for 

engineering design. 

(2) Identify and evaluate potential seismic and other 

geologic hazards. 

(3) Provide geologic consultation during and after 

construction. 

(4) Develop and interpret engineering geology maps and 

sections. 

(5) Evaluate materials resources. 

(6) Define and establish site selection and evaluation 

criteria. 

(7) Design and implement field and laboratory programs. 

(8) Describe and sample soils for geologic analysis and 

materials properties testing. 

f. Mining geology. 

(1) Formulate exploration programs. 

(2) Implement field investigations on prospects. 
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(3) Perform geologic interpretations for mineral reserves. 

(4) Perform economic analyses/appraisals analyses or 

appraisals. 

(5) Provide geologic interpretations for mine development 

and production activities. 

(6) Provide geologic interpretations for mine 

abandonments, closures, or restorations. 

g. Petroleum geology. 

(1) Formulate exploration programs. 

(2) Implement field investigations on prospects. 

(3) Perform geologic interpretations of physical properties 

and hydrocarbon reserves. 

(4) Perform petroleum economic analyses/appraisals 

analyses or appraisals. 

(5) Provide geologic interpretations for development and 

production activities. 

(6) Provide geologic interpretations for abandonments, 

closures, or restorations. 

B. Each year of full-time undergraduate study in the 

geological sciences shall count as one-half year of experience 

up to a maximum of two years, and each year of full-time 

graduate study shall count as a year of experience up to a 

maximum of three years. Credit for undergraduate and 

graduate study shall in no case exceed a total of four years 

toward meeting the requirements for at least seven years of 

geological work. The board may consider in lieu of the above-

described geological work, the cumulative total of geological 

work or geological research of persons occupying research or 

post-graduate positions as well as those teaching geology 

courses at the college or university level, provided such work 

or research can be demonstrated to be of a sufficiently 

responsible nature to be equivalent to the geological work 

required above Applicants holding degrees other than those 

listed in § 54.1-2208.2 B 2 of the Code of Virginia shall 

provide the board with written documentation that 

demonstrates that the courses satisfactorily completed by the 

applicant are equivalent geological science courses. 

C. A year of full-time employment is a minimum of 1,760 

hours or 220 workdays in a 12-month period. More than 1,760 

hours or 220 workdays during a 12-month period shall not be 

considered as more than one year of full-time experience 32 

hours per week. Partial credit may be given for actual hours of 

work or workdays experience if the applicant works as a 

geologist less than full time. 

D. Each applicant shall successfully pass an appropriate 

examination approved by the board and designed to 

demonstrate that the applicant has the necessary knowledge 

and skill to exercise the responsibilities of the public practice 

of geology. 

18VAC145-40-80. Waiver of examination. (Repealed.) 

The board may waive the examination requirement for any 

applicant who makes written application, otherwise meets the 

requirements of Chapter 22 (§ 54.1-2200 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia and also meets one of the following 

conditions:  

1. Provides evidence of at least 12 years of geological work 

that includes the geological work as specified in 18VAC-

145-40-70; or  

2. Provides evidence of an unexpired certificate of 

registration, certification or license to engage in the practice 

of geology issued on the basis of comparable requirements 

by a proper authority of a state, territory or possession of the 

United States or the District of Columbia.  

18VAC145-40-83. Qualifications for the Fundamentals of 

Geology (FG) examination. 

A. The board may approve applicants to sit for the 

Fundamentals of Geology (FG) examination without having 

met the experience requirements of 18VAC145-40-70. The 

applicant shall submit an application on forms provided by the 

board, pay the fee established in 18VAC145-40-20, and satisfy 

one of the following requirements: 

1. Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited 

college or university with a major in geology, engineering 

geology, geological engineering, or a related geological 

science and provide an official college transcript that 

demonstrates satisfactory completion of the degree program. 

2. Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited 

college or university with a major other than geology, 

engineering geology, geological engineering, or a related 

geological science and have satisfactorily completed at least 

30 semester hours (or the equivalent) of geological science 

courses including, but not limited to, the following subjects: 

a. Stratigraphy; 

b. Structural geology; 

c. Mineralogy; 

d. Paleontology; 

e. Petrology; 

f. Geomorphology; and 

g. Field geology. 

At least 12 of the 30 semester hours of geological science 

courses must have been completed in four of the seven 

subjects listed in this subsection. The applicant shall provide 

an official college transcript and written documentation that 

demonstrates the courses satisfactorily completed are 

equivalent to those required by this section. 

3. Be enrolled in an undergraduate geology, engineering 

geology, geological engineering, or a related geological 

science curriculum of at least four years at an accredited 
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college or university and be within 12 months of completing 

undergraduate degree requirements. The applicant shall 

provide an official college transcript that demonstrates 

satisfactory completion of course work. 

4. Be enrolled in a graduate geology, engineering geology, 

geological engineering, or a related geological science 

curriculum at an accredited college or university and be 

within six months of completing graduate degree 

requirements. The applicant shall provide an official college 

transcript that demonstrates satisfactory completion of 

course work. 

B. Applicants must provide an official college transcript that 

demonstrates satisfactory completion of a degree program or 

course work as applicable to meet the requirements established 

in subsection A of this section. 

18VAC145-40-85. Qualifications for Geologist-in-Training 

(GIT) designation. 

A. To be eligible to obtain the GIT designation, each 

applicant shall: 

1. Make application on forms provided by the board; 

2. 1. Be of ethical character in accordance with the 

provisions of 18VAC145-40-70 A 2; 

3. 2. Have achieved a passing score on a board-approved 

Fundamentals of Geology examination; 

4. Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited 

college or university with a major in geology, engineering 

geology, geological engineering, or a related geological 

science; or 

5. 3. Hold a baccalaureate or higher degree from an 

accredited college or university with a major other than 

geology, engineering geology, geological engineering, or a 

related geological science and have satisfactorily completed 

at least 30 semester hours (or the equivalent) of geological 

science courses in courses in the geosciences, including, but 

not limited to, the following subjects 12 or more semester 

hours in at least four of the following disciplines: 

stratigraphy, structural geology, hydrogeology, mineralogy, 

paleontology, petrology, geomorphology, and field geology. 

At least 12 of the 30 semester hours of geological science 

courses must have been completed in four of the seven 

subjects listed in this subsection. 

B. Prior to obtaining the designation of GIT, an applicant who 

qualified to sit for a board-approved Fundamentals of Geology 

examination under subdivision 3 or 4 of 18VAC145-40-83 A 

3 or A 4 and passed the examination must provide an official 

college transcript that demonstrates satisfactory completion of 

the degree program. 

C. The designation of GIT will remain valid until the 

individual meets all requirements for certification as a Virginia 

certified professional geologist. 

D. The designation of GIT does not give an individual the 

authority to practice as a certified professional geologist. An 

individual may not practice as a certified professional geologist 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia until his competence has 

been attested by the board through certification. 

18VAC145-40-90. Disclosure. 

A certified professional geologist: 

1. Shall not submit any false statements or fail to disclose 

any facts requested concerning his the geologist's or 

another's application for certification. 

2. Shall not falsely or maliciously attempt to injure the 

reputation or business of another. 

3. 2. Shall not engage in any fraud, deceit, or 

misrepresentation in advertising, in soliciting, or in 

providing professional services. 

4. 3. Shall not knowingly sign, stamp, or seal any plans, 

drawings, blueprints, surveys, reports, specifications, or 

other documents not prepared or reviewed and approved by 

the certificate holder. 

5. 4. Shall make full disclosure to all parties of: 

a. Any transaction involving payments made to any person 

for the purpose of securing a contract, assignment, or 

engagement; or 

b. Any any monetary, financial, or beneficial interest he 

the geologist may have in any contract or entity providing 

goods or services, other than his professional services, to 

a project or engagement. 

6. Shall express an opinion only when it is founded on 

adequate knowledge of established facts at issue, on a 

background of technical competence in the subject matter, 

and on an honest conviction of the accuracy of the testimony 

when serving as an expert or technical witness before any 

court, commission, or other tribunal. 

7. Shall provide adequate representation of his qualifications 

and scope of responsibilities for all previous experience 

claimed when negotiating with prospective clients. 

18VAC145-40-100. Change of address or name. 

Each certified professional geologist and geologist-in-

training shall notify the board, in writing, of any change of 

address or name. This notification shall be sent to the board 

within 30 days after such change of address or name. 

18VAC145-40-120. Conflicts of interest. 

A No certified professional geologist shall not: 

1. Accept any work on any project or other professional 

engagement when a duty to a client or to the public would 

conflict with his the geologist's personal interest or the 

interest of another client, unless immediate disclosure of all 



Regulations 

Volume 41, Issue 11  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 13, 2024  

1371 

material facts of the conflict is made to each client related to 

the project or engagement. 

2. Accept compensation for services related to the same 

project or professional engagement from more than one 

party without making prior full disclosure to all parties 

involved. 

3. Offer, either directly or indirectly, any commission, 

political contribution, or other consideration in seeking work 

except to secure a salaried position through employment 

agencies Solicit or accept gratuities, directly or indirectly, 

from contractors, agents of contractors, or other parties 

dealing with a client or employer in connection with work 

for which the regulant is responsible. 

18VAC145-40-140. Grounds for suspension, revocation, or 

denial to renew or grant certification. (Repealed.) 

The board may suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew the 

certification of any geologist who, after a formal hearing as 

provided for in the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia), is found to have committed:  

1. Fraud or deceit in obtaining or renewing certification (See 

subdivision 5 of § 54.1-111 of the Code of Virginia);  

2. Any violation of Part III -- Standards of Practice and 

Conduct, other regulations of the board, or governing 

statutes of the board;  

3. An act or acts of gross negligence, incompetence, or 

misconduct in the practice of geology as a certified 

professional geologist; or  

4. Any conviction of a felony that in the opinion of the board 

would adversely affect the practice of geology.  

18VAC145-40-150. Reissuance of certificate after 

revocation. (Repealed.) 

An individual whose certificate has been revoked in 

accordance with 18VAC145-40-140 shall file a new 

application and obtain approval of the board to regain the 

certificate.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R24-7617; Filed December 19, 2024, 1:28 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Title of Document: Electronic Participation in Virginia Board 

of Accountancy Meetings. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Alessandra Gabriel, Information and Policy 

Advisor, Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

402, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-0728, or email 

alessandra.gabriel@boa.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND  
CONSUMER SERVICES 

Title of Document: Virginia Industrial Hemp Extract Intended 

for Human Consumption Law Civil Penalty Matrix. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Nikeya Thomas, Program Manager, Office of 

Hemp Enforcement, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-1382, or email nikeya.thomas@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Board of Education Approved Courses to 

Satisfy Graduation Requirements for the Standard, Advanced 

Studies, and Modified Standard Diplomas in Virginia Public 

Schools. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

750-8750, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Rehabilitation Manual, Chapter 7. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Syreeta Stewart, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 298-

3863, or email syreeta.stewart@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Title of Document: Education for Psychological Practitioner 

Applicants. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Erin Barrett, Director of Legislative and 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Health Professions, 

Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Henrico, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 750-3912, or email 

erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_7964_20241205.pdf
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_7971_20241209.pdf
mailto:syreeta.stewart@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_7962_20241204.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_7962_20241204.pdf
mailto:erin.barrett@dhp.virginia.gov


GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

Volume 41, Issue 11  Virginia Register of Regulations  January 13, 2025  

1373 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for deletion and the listed agencies have opened up a 30-day public 

comment period. The listed agencies had previously identified these documents as certified guidance documents, pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of 

a guidance document to view the deleted document and comment. This information is also available on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Titles of Documents: Guidelines for Educating Students with 

Autism Spectrum Disorders. 

Guidelines for Working with Students Who Are Deaf or Hard 

of Hearing in Virginia Public Schools. 

Models of Best Practice in the Education of Students with 

Autism Spectrum Disorders. 

Speech-Language Pathology Services in the Schools - 

Guidelines for Best Practice. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

750-8750, or email jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD 

Title of Document: Vibrant Community Initiative. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Chase Sawyer, Policy and Legislative 

Services Manager, Department of House and Community 

Development, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 310-5872, or 

email chase.sawyer@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Title of Document: Virginia Troops to Trucks. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Nicholas Megibow, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-6701, or email 

nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Title of Document: Multimodal System Design Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Andrew Wright, Director of Policy, 

Communications, and Legislative Affairs, Department of Rail and 

Public Transportation, 600 East Main Street, Suite 2102, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 241-0301, or email 

andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY 

Titles of Documents: Certification Letter. 

Collateral Change Request. 

Escrow Agent Online User Manual. 

Frequently Asked Questions. 

Letter of Credit Format. 

Monthly Listing of Qualified Banks. 

Qualified Escrow Agents. 

Security for Public Deposits Act (SPDA) Link. 

Security for Public Deposits Act (SPDA) Online User Manual. 

SPDA Collateral Requirements. 

SPDA Letter of Credit Final Agreement. 

SPDA Letter of Credit Resolution. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Bill Watt, Senior Policy Analyst, Department of 

the Treasury, James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 

Third Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 836-8523, or 

email william.watt@trs.virginia.gov. 

UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA 

Titles of Documents: Health Sciences Library Policies. 

UVA Health Policy Directory. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2025. 

Effective Date: February 13, 2025. 

Agency Contact: Connor Andrews, Director for State Government 

Relations, University of Virginia, 11 South 12th Street, Richmond, 

VA 23220, telephone (434) 297-5949, or email cba3dq@virginia.edu. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
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https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2630
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https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2644
mailto:nicholas.megibow@dmv.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2629
mailto:andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2632
mailto:william.watt@trs.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2631
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GDocForum.cfm?GDocForumID=2631
mailto:cba3dq@virginia.edu
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for A and K 
Development 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for A and K Development for violations 

of State Water Control Law and regulations and the applicable 

permit at the Twin Lake Villas Phase 1 located in Orange, 

Virginia. The proposed order (SW2023-07-NRO-001) is 

available from the DEQ contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforce

ment-actions. The DEQ contact will accept written comments 

from January 13, 2025, to February 12, 2025. 

Contact Information: Holly Shupe, Regional Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Northern 

Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 

22193, telephone (571) 866-6923, or email 

holly.shupe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Town of Chase City 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for the Town of Chase City for 

violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations at 

1328 High Street, Chase City, Virginia. The proposed order is 

available at the DEQ office listed or online at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept 

comments by email from January 13, 2025, through February 

12, 2025. 

Contact Information: Cara Witte, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 4949 Cox Road, Suite 

A, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 712-4192, or email 

cara.witte@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Dutoy Creek 
Wastewater Treatment Plant 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing an 

enforcement action for Powhatan County for violations of the 

State Water Control Law and regulations at 2040 Anderson 

Highway, Powhatan, Virginia. The proposed order is available at 

the DEQ office listed or online at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from January 13, 2025, through 

February 12, 2025. 

Contact Information: Cara Witte, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 4949 Cox Road, Suite A, 

Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 712-4192, or email 

cara.witte@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Irene Carnes 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for Irene Carnes for alleged violation of 

the State Water Control Law and regulations at 4050 Jefferson 

Park Road (Parcel No. 015-49) in Powhatan County, Virginia. 

The proposed order is available at the DEQ office listed or 

online at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from January 13, 2025, 

through February 12, 2025. 

Contact Information: Cara Witte, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 4949 Cox Road, Suite 

A, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 712-4192, or email 

cara.witte@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for King George 
County Service Authority 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for King George County Service 

Authority for violations of State Water Control Law and 

regulations and the applicable permit at the Purkins Corner 

wastewater treatment plant and Oakland Park sewage 

treatment plant facilities located in King George, Virginia. The 

proposed order is available from the DEQ contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept 

written comments from January 13, 2024, to February 12, 

2024. 

Contact Information: Katherine Mann, Regional Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Northern 

Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 

22193, telephone (571) 866-6095, or email 

katherine.mann@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for VA Express 
Holdings LLC 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is proposing 

an enforcement action for VA Express Holdings LLC for 

violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations in 

Powhatan County, Virginia. The proposed order is available 

from the DEQ contact listed or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-

notices/enforcement-actions. The DEQ contact will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from January 13, 2025, 

through February 12, 2025. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

telephone (804) 659-2696, or email 

matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 
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https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:cara.witte@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:cara.witte@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
mailto:katherine.mann@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits/public-notices/enforcement-actions
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mailto:Matthew.Richardson@DEQ.Virginia.gov
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Public Comment Opportunity for Community 
Psychiatric Support and Treatment 

As part of the Right Help, Right Now Medicaid Behavioral Health 

Services Redesign, the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) is seeking public comment on a new behavioral 

health service, Community Psychiatric Support and Treatment 

(CPST). A draft service definition for CPST is available at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/bq2i3rbd/community-

psychiatric-support-and-treatment-draft-service-definition-for-

public-comment-12-16-2024.pdf. Additional information on the 

Right Help, Right Now Medicaid Behavioral Health Services 

Redesign is available at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/benefits-services-for-providers/behavioral-

health/medicaid-behavioral-health-services-redesign/. 

Contact Information: Syreeta Stewart, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 298-

3863, FAX (804) 786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

syreeta.stewart@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Public Notice of Intent to Amend State Plan - 
Reimbursement of Tribal Providers 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to amend 

the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to provide for 

changes to the Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment 

Rate; Other Types of Care (12VAC30-80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

§ 447.205 and § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 

§ 1396a(a)(13)). A copy of this notice is available for public 

review from the DMAS contact listed. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries, on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or inquiries 

may be submitted in writing by March 14, 2025, and such 

comments are available for review at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rate; Other 

Types of Care (12VAC30-80) 

The State Plan amendment (SPA) (i) clarifies that tribal clinics 

cannot be reimbursed at the facility rate, that is, the all-inclusive 

rate (AIR) for nonclinic services, including pharmacy, dental, 

transportation, and § 1915(c) waiver services, such as personal 

care; (ii) clarifies that Tribal Federally Qualified Health Centers 

(FQHCs) cannot be reimbursed at the AIR for pharmacy, 

transportation, or § 1915(c) waiver services and that dental 

services provided by Tribal FQHCs are reimbursed through the 

Alternative Payment Methodology (APM) established in the 

Medicaid State Plan at Attachment 4.19-B, pages 4.6 to 4.7; (iii) 

clarifies the definition of the per-visit rate for purposes of 

reimbursement at the AIR, specifying that it is a bundled, all-

inclusive encounter rate and must not be unbundled and billed as 

separate encounter claims; and (iv) specifies that an Indian Health 

Service or tribal or urban Indian organization, including a Tribal 

638 facility that operates a retail pharmacy, must enroll separately 

as a pharmacy provider and that payment for pharmacy services 

shall align with an existing pharmacy payment methodology and 

shall not be at the AIR. Drugs provided as part of an outpatient 

clinic visit are included in the all-inclusive rate for the encounter. 

The SPA also makes a change needed to reflect new federal 

requirements for Medicaid reimbursement to tribal clinics, 

clarifying that these services include (i) professional services 

furnished at the clinic by or under the direction of a physician and 

(ii) services furnished outside the clinic by clinic personnel under 

the direction of a physician. 

The expected decrease in annual aggregate fee-for-service 

expenditures is $7,817,289 in state general funds and $29,477,175 

in federal fiscal year 2025. The expected decrease in annual 

aggregate fee-for-service expenditures is $10,912,457 in state 

general funds and $42,122,887 in federal funds in federal fiscal 

year 2026. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North Ninth 

Street, Fourth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 

698-1810; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their websites 

and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections 

Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing regulation 

sections that have been amended, added, or repealed in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations were 

originally published or last supplemented in the print version of 

the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/bq2i3rbd/community-psychiatric-support-and-treatment-draft-service-definition-for-public-comment-12-16-2024.pdf
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/bq2i3rbd/community-psychiatric-support-and-treatment-draft-service-definition-for-public-comment-12-16-2024.pdf
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/bq2i3rbd/community-psychiatric-support-and-treatment-draft-service-definition-for-public-comment-12-16-2024.pdf
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/benefits-services-for-providers/behavioral-health/medicaid-behavioral-health-services-redesign/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/benefits-services-for-providers/behavioral-health/medicaid-behavioral-health-services-redesign/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/benefits-services-for-providers/behavioral-health/medicaid-behavioral-health-services-redesign/
mailto:syreeta.stewart@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

VIRGINIA ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 
AUTHORITY 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-60. Manufacturers and 

Wholesalers Operations. 

Publication: 40:26 VA.R. 2090-2099 August 12, 2024. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 2099, 3VAC5-60-100, line 4, after "(authority) in" add 

"suspending or revoking a license under subdivision 1 i of §" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7513; Filed December 17, 2024, 10:39 a.m. 


