Vol. 28 Iss. 25 - August 13, 2012

Chapter 50
Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Nursing is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is involved. The Board of Nursing will receive, consider, and respond to petitions from any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-50. Regulations Governing the Certification of Massage Therapists (amending 18VAC90-50-40).

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: September 12, 2012.

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Sutie 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4515, FAX (804) 527-4455, or email


The amendment adds the Licensing Examination of the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards as an acceptable examination for initial certification and deletes the requirement that an exam acceptable to the board leads to national certification. The amendments conform the regulation to changes in the Code of Virginia enacted by Chapter 764 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly.

Part II
Requirements for Certification

18VAC90-50-40. Initial certification.

A. An applicant seeking initial certification shall submit a completed application and required fee and verification of meeting the requirements of § 54.1-3029 A of the Code of Virginia as follows:

1. Is at least 18 years old;

2. Has successfully completed a minimum of 500 hours of training from a massage therapy program certified or approved by the State Council of Higher Education or an agency in another state, the District of Columbia or a United States territory that approves educational programs, notwithstanding the provisions of § 22.1-320 of the Code of Virginia;

3. Has passed the National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, the National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage, the Licensing Examination of the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards, or an exam deemed acceptable to the board leading to national certification; and

4. Has not committed any acts or omissions that would be grounds for disciplinary action or denial of certification as set forth in § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC90-50-90.

B. No application for certification under provisions of § 54.1-3029 B of the Code of Virginia shall be considered unless submitted prior to July 1, 1998.

C. An applicant who has been licensed or certified in another country and who, in the opinion of the board, meets the educational requirements shall take and pass the national certifying examination as required in subsection A of this section in order to become certified.

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3341; Filed July 25, 2012, 9:05 a.m.