Vol. 29 Iss. 7 - December 03, 2012

Chapter 330
Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia, which authorizes the board to quarantine areas within the Commonwealth to prevent or retard the spread of a pest into, within, or from the Commonwealth and § 3.2-704 of the Code of Virginia, which provides that the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services shall prohibit the importation of any regulated article from any locality of other states, territories, or countries, into the Commonwealth.

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-330. Rules and Regulations for Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law - Virginia Gypsy Moth Quarantine (amending 2VAC5-330-30).

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-701 and 3.2-704 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: November 14, 2012.

Agency Contact: Erin Williams, Policy and Planning Coordinator, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1308, FAX (804) 371-7479, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email


The amendment extends the regulated areas under the Virginia Gypsy Moth Quarantine due to the detection of adult, larvae, or other life stages of the gypsy moth in an area not currently under regulation. The current regulation area is changed by the addition of Tazewell County. All other parts of the Virginia Gypsy Moth Quarantine will remain unchanged. An amendment also corrects the citation for the federal Gypsy Moth Quarantine.

2VAC5-330-30. Regulated areas.

A. Any area of another state or the District of Columbia, whether designated high risk or low risk, in which gypsy moth is known to occur and is so geographically described and regulated by the United States Department of Agriculture under the Gypsy Moth and Browntail Moth Quarantine No. 45, (7 USC §§ 1520dd, 150ee, 162) federal Gypsy Moth Quarantine (7 CFR Part 301 Subpart - Gypsy Moth) or under a state gypsy moth quarantine or other state legislation.

B. The following areas in Virginia:

1. The entire counties of: Accomack, Albemarle, Alleghany, Amelia, Amherst, Appomattox, Arlington, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, Caroline, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Clarke, Craig, Culpeper, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, Giles, Gloucester, Goochland, Greene, Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Highland, Isle of Wight, James City, King George, King and Queen, King William, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Lunenburg, Madison, Mathews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, Montgomery, Nelson, New Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, Page, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince William, Pulaski, Rappahannock, Richmond, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Shenandoah, Southampton, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, Sussex, Tazewell, Warren, Westmoreland, and York.

2. The entire independent cities of: Alexandria, Bedford, Buena Vista, Charlottesville, Chesapeake, Clifton Forge, Colonial Heights, Covington, Danville, Emporia, Fairfax City, Falls Church, Franklin, Fredericksburg, Hampton, Harrisonburg, Hopewell, Lexington, Lynchburg, Manassas, Manassas Park, Newport News, Norfolk, Petersburg, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Radford, Richmond, Roanoke, Salem, Staunton, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, Waynesboro, Williamsburg, and Winchester.

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3484; Filed November 14, 2012, 4:52 p.m.