Vol. 31 Iss. 25 - August 10, 2015

Chapter 20
Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Veterinary Medicine is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of Veterinary Medicine will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 18VAC150-20-100).

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: September 9, 2015.

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email


The amendment reduces the reinstatement fee for veterinary establishments from $350 to $75.

18VAC150-20-100. Fees.

The following fees shall be in effect:

Veterinary application for licensure


Veterinary license renewal (active)


Veterinary license renewal (inactive)


Veterinary reinstatement of expired license


Veterinary license late renewal


Veterinarian reinstatement after disciplinary action


Veterinary technician application for licensure


Veterinary technician license renewal


Veterinary technician license renewal (inactive)


Veterinary technician license late renewal


Veterinary technician reinstatement of expired license


Veterinary technician reinstatement after disciplinary action


Equine dental technician initial registration


Equine dental technician registration renewal


Equine dental technician late renewal


Equine dental technician reinstatement


Initial veterinary establishment permit registration


Veterinary establishment renewal


Veterinary establishment late renewal


Veterinary establishment reinstatement

$350 $75

Veterinary establishment reinspection


Veterinary establishment -- change of location


Veterinary establishment -- change of veterinarian-in-charge


Duplicate license


Duplicate wall certificate


Returned check


Licensure verification to another jurisdiction


VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4461; Filed July 17, 2015, 11:22 a.m.